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This information brief describes Minnesota laws that apply to sex offenders and 
predatory offenders. The information brief consists of two parts. The first part 
summarizes the criminal laws that prohibit unlawful sexual conduct, the criminal 
penalties that apply to these offenses, and the mandatory sentences that courts 
must impose on certain offenders. The second part describes the civil and 
regulatory laws that supplement the criminal provisions. These regulatory laws 
include the predatory offender registration law, the community notification law, 
and the law authorizing civil commitment of persons determined to be sexually 
dangerous. 
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Minnesota law classifies criminal sexual conduct into five categories: first- through fifth-degree 
criminal sexual conduct. Each degree of the crime covers a variety of behavior, with first-degree 
carrying the most severe penalties and fifth-degree the least severe. Generally speaking, the 
first-degree and third-degree crimes apply to sexual conduct involving sexual penetration of the 
victim; the second-, fourth-, and fifth-degree crimes apply to sexual conduct involving sexual 
contact with the victim without sexual penetration. 

The elements of the criminal sexual conduct crimes also vary with respect to a number of other 
issues. For example, criminal sexual conduct in the first and second degree typically apply to 
conduct involving ·personal injury to the victim; the use or threatened use of force, violence, or a 
dangerous weapon; or victims who are extremely young. Criminal sexual conduct in the third, 
fourth, and fifth degree typically address less aggravated conduct and apply to other situations in 
which the victim either did not consent to the sexual conduct, was relatively young, or was 
inc_apable of voluntarily consenting to the sexual conduct due to a particular vulnerability or due 
to the special relationship between the offender and the victim. Minn. Stat.§§ 609.342 to 609.3451. 

Appendix A contains detailed charts describing the specific elements of each degree of the 
criminal sexual conduct crimes. 

What are the criminal penalties for criminal sexual conduct? 

Criminal sexual conduct in the first, second, third, and fourth degree are felony-level offenses. 
Criminal sexual conduct in the. fifth degree is a gross misdemeanor offense; however, certain 
repeat violations of this crime are classified as felonies. Minn. Stat.§§ 609.342 to 609.3451. 

The chart on the ·following page displays the maximum statutory penalty for each degree of the 
crime and the presumptive sentence for each degree of the crime under the sentencing guidelines. 
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Name of crime Type of activity 
1st degree Sexual penetration; 
criminal sexual certain sexual contact 
conduct with victim under 13 

years old 

2n° degree Sexual contact 
criminal sexual 
conduct 

3rd degree Sexual penetration 
criminal sexual 
conduct 
4th degree Sexual contact 
criminal sexual 
conduct 
5th degree Sexual contact; 
criminal sexual certain lewd conduct 
conduct 

Maximum penalty 
provided by statute 

30 years; $40,000 fine 
; 

25 years; $35,000 fine 

15 years; $30,000 fine 

10 years; $20,000 fine 

One year; $3,000 fine 
(gross misdemeanor). 
Certain repeat 
violations punishable 
by 5 years; $10,000 fine 

Updated: October 2002 
Page 3 

Presumptive Sentencing Guidelines 
sentence (no criminal historv) 

86 months in prison for penetration; 48 
months in prison for contact with victim 
under age 13. Statutory law presumes an 
executed sentence of 144 months for all 
violations 
48 months in prison; 21 months stay.ed 
sentence for "statutory rape."* Statutory 
law presumes an executed sentence of 90 
months for crimes where the perpetrator 
uses or threatens to use force or violence, 
causes injury, uses a dangerous weapon, or 
creates significant fear on the part of the 
victim of imminent great bodily harm 
48 months in prison; 18 months stayed 
sentence for "statutory rape"* 

21 months stayed sentence; 12 months 
stayed sentence for "statutory rape"* 

Sentencing guidelines do not apply to gross 
misdemeanor violations; felony violations 
are not ranked in sentencing guidelines and 
sentencing is left to court's discretion 

* As used in this chart, "statutory rape" means a criminal sexual conduct crime that has the following elements: (1) 
sexual conduct; (2) a victim of a certain age; and, for certain crimes, either (3) a familial relationship between the 
actor and the victim; or ( 4) use of a position of authority by the actor. The term "statutory rape" is not a statutory 
term. 

What mandatory minimum ~riminal penalties apply to criminal sexual conduct offenders? 

There are a number of mandatory minimum criminal penalties that apply to certain criminal 
sexual conduct offenses. These mandatory sentencing provisions are described below. 

First-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct Offenders. The court must presume that an executed 
sentence of 144 months applies to any offender convicted of first-degree criminal sexual 
conduct. This penalty does not apply if a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise 
required or the sentencing guidelines presume a longer executed sentence. If the court sentences 
an offender in a manner other than as provided by this law, the sentence is a departure under the 
sentencing guidelines, requiring the court to make certain findings. Minn. Stat. 
§ 609.342, subd. 2. 
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Certain Second-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct Offenders. The court must presume that an 
executed sentence of 90 months applies to any offender convicted of second-degree criminal 
sexual conduct when the actor: 

• 
• 

uses or threatens use of force or violence, 
causes injury to the complainant, 

• . uses a dangerous weapon, or 
creates significant fear on the part of the complainant of imminent great bodily harm. 

The presumptive executed sentence does not apply to other second-degree criminal sexual 
conduct offenses. 

This penalty does not apply if a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise required by 
law or the sentencing guidelines presume a longer executed sentence. If the court sentences an 
offender in a manner other than as provided by this law, the sentence is a departure under the 
sentencing guidelines, requiring the court to make certain findings. Minn. Stat. § 609.343, subd. 2. 

Patterned Predatory Off enders. If the court finds that an offender who committed a 
predatory crime (as enumerated in statute) is a "patterned predatory offender," it must sentence 
the offender to not less than double the presumptive prison sentence and not more than the 
statutory maximum sentence, and must order that the offender be placed on conditional release 
for at least ten years following release from prison. The statutory maximum for the crime is 
increased to 40 years in cases where the fact finder determines at trial or at the time of the guilty 
plea that the offense was sexually motivated. The court must consider sentencing under the 
patterned predatory off ender law whenever an offender is convicted of criminal sexual conduct 
in the first or second degree. 1 Minn. Stat. § 609.108. 

Repeat or Violent Predatory Offenders. The court must impose at least a three-year prison 
sentence on a person convicted of a second sex offense within a 15-year period. The sentence 
may be stayed only if predatory offender treatment is required. Minn. Stat. § 609.109(2). 

1 In State v. Grossman, the Minnesota Supreme Court affirmed the court of appeals' reversal of a sentence 
under Minnesota's patterned predatory offender law. See, State v. Grossman, 622 N.W.2d 394 (Minn.Ct.App. 
200 I), pet.for rev. granted (Apr. 17, 2001 ). The court's reversal was based upon Apprendi v. New Jersey, in which 
the United States Supreme Court stated "[ o ]ther than the fact of a prior conviction, any fact that increases the 
penalty for a crime beyond the prescribed statutory maximum must be submitted to a jury, and proved beyond a 
reasonable doubt." See Apprendi v. New Jersey, 120 S.Ct. 2348, 2362-63 (2000). Applying Apprendi, the court of 
appeals found that two of the factors that must exist for the patterned predatory offender sentence to apply (that the 
offender is a danger to public safety and the offender needs certain long-term treatment or supervision) must be 
determined by the jury and the sentencing court, as they were in Grossman's case. 
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The court must impose a life imprisonment penalty on a person convicted of first-degree 
criminal sexual conduct if it determines that any of the following circumstances exist: 

• the person has been sentenced previously as a patterned predatory offender; 
• the person was previously convicted (before August 1, 1989) of criminal sexual conduct 

in the first, second, or third degree and was sentenced to at least twice the presumptive 
. sentence; or 

• the person has two previous convictions for criminal sexual conduct in the first, second, 
or third degree a1;1d was discharged from the sentence for the most recent prior conviction 
within the past 15 years. Minn. Stat.§ 609.109(3). 

The court must impose at least a 30-year prison sentence on a person convicted of first- or 
second-degree criminal sexual conduct involving force or violence if it determines that both of 
the following circumstances exist: 

• the crime involved an aggravating factor justifying an upward sentencing departure ( other 
than the "repeat offender" aggravating factor); and 

• the person has a previous conviction for criminal sexual conduct in the first, second, or 
third degree. 

For all of the above provisions, prior convictions "decay" (i.e., no longer count) if more than 15 
years have passed since the sentence ended. Minn. Stat. § 609.109(4). 

The court must sentence an offender to at least twice the presumptive prison sentence if the 
person was convicted of forcible or violent criminal sexual conduct in the first, second, or third 
degree and the court determines that the crime involved an aggravating factor justifying an 
upward sentencing departure. Minn. Stat.§ 609.109(6). 

Are there mandato_ry minimum fines for repeat and violent predatory offenders? 

In addition to the mandatory sentencing provisions, mandatory minimum fines apply to all 
persons convicted of criminal sexual conduct. These minimum fines are equal to 30 percent of 
the maximum fine authorized by law for the crime of conviction. The court may not waive the 
minimum fine, but may reduce it to not less than $50 or allow payment of the fine in installments 
due to the offender's indigency. In cases of indigency, the court also may order an offender to 
perform community work service in lieu of paying the fine. The court must forward 70 percent 
of the minimum fine to local programs that serve victims of sexual assault and the remainder to 
the state general fund. If there are no local programs in the court's jurisdiction, the entire 
minimum fine must be forwarded to the state general fund. Minn. Stat. § 609.101. 
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What other mandatory sentencing provisions apply to offenders convicted of criminal 
sexual conduct? 

Convicted predatory offenders also are subject to several other mandatory sentencing laws that 
are designed to minimize their recidivism risk. 

Minimum Conditional Release Term. If a court sentences a felony-level sex offender to 
prison, the court must also sentence the offender to serve a minimum period of "conditional 
release" after release from prison. The mandatory conditional release periods are five years for 
first-time offenders and ten years for repeat offenders. The ten-year conditional release period 
applies when the prior offense was a violation of Minnesota's first- through fourth-degree 
criminal sexual conduct laws or a violation of a similar law of another state or the United States. 
The conditional release period runs concurrently with the offender's supervised release term. 
Minn. Stat. § 609.109(7). 

Mandatory Predatory Offender Assessment and Treatment. The court must order a 
predatory offender treatment assessment for any person convicted of criminal sexual conduct 
( any degree), surreptitious intrusion, obscene phone calls, or indecent exposure. The court may 
waive the assessment if the offender is eligible for a presumptive prison sentence or has already 
been assessed. 

If the assessment indicates the offender is in need of and amenable to treatment, the court must 
order the offender to undergo treatment if the court places the offender on probation. Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.3452. 

DNA Analysis. The court must order persons convicted of or adjudicated for a sex offense to 
provide a biological sample for DNA analysis. This requirement also applies to persons 
convicted of other violent crimes listed in the law. If an individual was not ordered to provide 
this specimen at the time of sentencing, the offender must provide the specimen before release. 
An offender who is incarcerated for any offense who has a conviction for a prior offense 
enumerated in the law must provide a specimen before release, even if the offense for which the 
person is currently serving time is not an offense enumerated in the law. Minn. Stat.§ 609.117. 
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The predatory offender registration law requires registration of individuals who have c_ommitted 
certain crimes under Minnesota law, federal law, or the law of other states. The law also requires 
registration of certain individuals who have been civilly committed. 

Offenders Who Commit Offenses in Minnesota. An adult who is charged with and convicted 
of, or a juvenile who is petitioned for and adjudicated delinquent for, one of the following 
offenses or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances, must register under the 
law: 

• murder while committing or attempting to commit criminal sexual conduct in the first or 
second degree with force or violence; 

• kidnapping; 
• criminal sexual conduct in the first, second, third, and fourth degree and felony criminal 

sexual conduct in the fifth degree; 
• felony indecent exposure; 
• false imprisonment of a minor; 
• soliciting a minor to engage in prostitution; 
• soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct; 
• using a minor in a sexual performance; or 
• possessing pictorial representations of minors. 

An adult also must register under the law if convicted of a predatory crime under section 
609 .1082 if the offender was sentenced as a patterned predatory offender or the court found that 
the crime was part of a predatory pattern of behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. 
Minn. Stat.§ 243.16, subd. I. 

Offenders Who Commit Offenses under United States Law. An adult or juvenile must 
register if convicted of o~ adjudicated delinquent for violating a law of the United States similar 
to any of the above laws. An adult 9r juvenile also must register if convicted of or adjudicated 
delinquent for an offense pursuant to court martial for violating a law of the United States, 
including the Uniform Code of Military Justice, similar to any of the above laws. Minn. Stat. 
§ 243.166, subd. 1. 

2 Under section 609 .108, a predatory crime is a felony violation for first-, second-, or third-degree murder; 
manslaughter in the first or second degree; assault in the first, second, or third degree; simple or aggravated robbery;· 
kidnapping; false imprisonment; first-, second-, third-, or fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct; incest; witness 
tampering; arson in the first degree; or first-degree burglary. Minn. Stat. § 609.108, subd. 3. Please see pages 3-4 
for a discussion on the constitutionality of this law. 
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Offenders Who Commit Offenses in Other States. A person who was convicted in another 
state of an offense that would be a violation of one of the above laws if committed in this state 
must register if the person enters the state to reside, work, or attend school. 3 The person must 
register in Minnesota if ten years have not elapsed since the person was released from 
confinement or, if the person was not confined, since the person was convicted of the offense 
triggering registration, unless the person is subject to lifetime registration. If the person is 
subject to lifetime registration, the person must register for life. This requirement also applies to 
juvenile offenders whose cases are handled in the juvenile justice system. This ten:-year limit is 
not applicable to those subject to lifetime registration; these offenders must register for life 
regardless of when they were released from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated delinquent. 
If the offender leaves Minnesota or is no longer working or attending school in Minnesota, the 
offender is no longer subject to Minnesota's notification law. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 1. 

Individuals Civilly Committed Regardless of Whether Convicted for an Offense. A person 
must register under the law if the person was committed as a sexually dangerous person, sexual 
psychopath, or psychopathic personality under Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or a 
similar law of another state or the United States, regardless of whether the person was-convicted 
for an offense. 

A person also must register under the law if: 

• the person was charged with or petitioned for a specific offense listed in the predatory 
offender registration law or the similar law of another state or the United States; 

• the person was found not guilty by reason of mental illness or mental deficiency after a 
trial for the offense, or found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense; and 

• the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order. 

Minn. Stat.§ 243.166, subd. I. 

Individuals Who C,ommit Other Offenses. The predatory offender registration law also 
applies to certain individuals who commit a crime against the person that may not be included 
within the scope of the predatory offender registration law. This registration requirement applies 
if the person is convicted of a crime against the person and: 

• the person was previously convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for an offense for which 
registration is currently required, but was not required to register for the offense because 
the registration requirements did not apply to the person at the time the offense was 
committed or at the time the person was released from imprisonment; or 

3 A "school" is any public or private educational institution, including any secondary school, trade or 
professional institution, or institution of higher education, that the person is enrolled in on a full-time or part-time 
basis. "Work" means employment that is full-time or part-time for a period of time exceeding 14 days or for an 
aggregate period of time exceeding 30 days during any calendar year, whether financially compensated, volunteered, 
or for the purpose of government or educational benefit. 
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• the person was previously required to register under the predatory offender registration 
law and has completed the registration requirements. 

A crime against the person is defined to mean certain crimes involving firearms by persons 
ineligible to possess firearms; first-, second-, and third-degree murder; manslaughter in the first 
and second degree; first-, second-, third-, and fifth~degree (gross misdemeanor and felony) 
assault; gross misdemeanor and felony domestic assault; use of drugs to facilitate crime; 
aggravated robbery in the first degree; kidnapping, false imprisonment; felony fifth-degree. 
criminal sexual conduct; tampering with a witness in the first degree; burglary in the first degree; 
gross misdemeanor indecent exposure; and any felony-level violation of a crime committed for 
the benefit of a gang, malicious punishment of a child, or harassment. The definition includes 
violations of these Minnesota laws and violations of similar laws of other states or the United 
States. 

Who notifies an off ender of the obligation to register under the law? 

The court must inform a person who is required to register of the duty to register and require the 
person to read and sign a form stating that the duty of the person to register under this section has 
been explained. The court also must inform the person that, if the person fails to comply with 
the registration requirements, information about the offender may be made available to the public 
through electronic, computerized, or other accessible means. The court lacks authority to .modify 
the person's duty to register. The court must forward the signed predatory offender registration 
form, the complaint, and sentencing documents to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA). 

If the court does not notify the person of the registration requirement, the assigned corrections 
agent shall notify the person of the registration requirements. If the person is required to register 
following release from civil commitment, the treatment facility shall notify the person of the 
registration requirements, obtain the required registration information, and forward the 
infonnation to the BCA. Minn. Stat.§ 243.166, subd. 2. 

The person's corrections agent, or if the person does not have an assigned corrections agent, the 
law enforcement-authority with jurisdiction in the area of the person's residence must notify the 
person of the obligation to register in another state if the person works or attends school there. 
Minn. Stat.§ 243.166, subd. 3. 

What must the initial registration include? 

The initial registration must include a written statement signed by the person giving information 
required by the BCA, a fingerprint card, and a photograph of the person taken at the time of the 
person's release from incarceration, or if the person was not incarcerated, at the time the person 
initially registered. The registration information also must include a written consent form signed 
by the person allowing a treatment facility to release information to law enforcement about the 
person's admission to, or residence in, a treatment facility. 
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An individual also must provide the following information to the corrections agent or law 
enforcement authority: 

the address of the person's primary residence; 

the addresses of all the person's secondary Minnesota residences, including all residences 
used for residential or recreational purposes; 

the addresses of all Minn.esota property owned, leased, or rented by the person; 

the addresses of all locations where the person is employed; 

the addresses of all residences where the person resides while attending school; and 

the year, model, make, license plate number, and color of all motor vehicles4 owned or 
regularly driven by the person. 

An individual must notify law enforcement at least five days before living at a new primary 
address. An individual must report the other information noted above within five days of the 
time it becomes applicable. The individual must immediately inform law enforcement when the 
information is no longer applicable. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 4a. 

The registration information for a person who is required to register due to court commitment as 
a sexually dangerous person or sexual psychopathic personality must also include the person's 
offense history and documentation of treatment received during the person's confinement. This 
document is limited to a statement of how far the person progressed in treatment during 
confinement. Minn. Stat.§ 243.166, subd. 4. 

What continuing obligations do individuals have to satisfy the requirements of the 
registration law? 

A person must continue to update his or her assigned corrections agent or the law enforcement 
agency with which he or she currently is registered of changes in living address and other 
infomrntion required to be provided. This notice must be provided at least five days before the 
person starts living at the new address. 

If the person will be living in a new state and that state has a registration requirement, he or she 
must also give written notice of the new address to the designated registration agency in the new 
state. 

A person who is required to register because of working or attending school in Minnesota must 
register with the law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction in the area where the person works 

4 Motor vehicle means "every device in, upon, or by which any person or property is or may be transported or 
drawn upon a highway, excepting devices used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks." Minn. Stat. § 169.01, 
subd. 2. Motor vehicles therefore do not include jet skis, snowmobiles, or other similar vehicles. 
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or attends school. This registration must occur within five days of beginning employment or 
school. The person must provide the address of the school or the location where he or she is 
employed. 

A person who is required to register in Minnesota who works or attends school outside of 
Minnesota must register in the state where he or she works or attends school. 

The corrections agent or law enforcement agency may require a person who is required to 
register to appear for a photograph. The agent or agency must forward the photograph to the 
BCA. Minn. Stat.§ 243.166, subd. 3. 

What ongoing attempts are made to verify that a person is still living at the address for 
which he or she is registered? 

Once each year, within 30 days of the anniversary date of the person's initial registration, the 
BCA must mail a verification form to the individual's last reported address, except for those 
offenders who are required to register due to court commitment as a sexually dangerous person 
or sexual psychopathic personality. For these offenders, the BCA must mail a verification form 
to the offender four times per year. The verification form must inform the offender that, if the 
form is not returned as required, information about the offender may be made available to the 
public. If the person has not signed a consent form for release of information by a treatment 
facility, such a form must be sent to the offender with the verification form. The person must 
mail the signed verification form back to the BCA within ten days after receipt of the form, 
stating on the form his or her current and last address. If applicable, the offender also must sign 
and return the consent form. Minn. Stat.§ 243.166, subd. 4. 

How is registration information shared among law enforcement and correctional 
agencies? 

A corrections agent or law enforcement agency receiving the initial registration documents must 
forward the registration information to the BCA. The BCA must then determine whether the 
person has registered with the law enforcement agency where the person resides. If the person 
has not registered, the BCA must send a copy of the registration to the law enforcement agency. 
Minn. Stat.§ 243.166, subd. 3. 

A corrections agent or law enforcement agency receiving written notification of a new living 
address must forward this information to the BCA within two business days after receipt of the 
information. The BCA must, if it has not already been done, give the new address to the law 
enforcement authority with primary jurisdiction in the community where the person will reside. 
If the person is leaving the state, the BCA must notify the registration authority in the new state 
of the new address. Minn. Stat.§ 243.166, subd. 3. 

In addition, the BCA must maintain a computerized data system of individuals who are required 
to register. This data system must indicate the time period an offender is required to register.and 
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list the offender's addresses. The information must be maintained in a manner that ensures it is 
readily available to law enforcement. Minn. Stat. § 299.093. 

When does the registration period begin? 

A person must register with the person's corrections agent as soon as the agent is assigned to him 
or her, which occurs upon release from incarceration, or if the person is not incarcerated,. at the 
time he or she is placed on some form of release. If the off ender does not have an assigned 
corrections agent or is unable to locate the assigned corrections agent, the offender must register 
with the law enforcement agency with jurisdiction in the area of the offender's residence. Minn. 
Stat. § 243.166, subd. 3. 

When does the registration period expire? 

Except for those persons subject to lifetime registration (discussed below), a person who is 
required to register is subject to the law for ten years from the time he or she initially registered 
in connection with the offense, or until the probation, supervised release, or conditional release 
period expires, whichever occurs later. For individuals who have been civilly committed, the 
ten-year registration period does not include the period of commitment. The commissioner may 
add five years to the end of.an offender's registration period if he or she fails to register a change 
in residence. 

In addition, a new ten-year registration period applies to a person subsequently incarcerated for a 
violation of supervised release, conditional release, or probation for the offense for which he or 
she is required to register or any new offense. These individuals must continue to register until 
ten years have elapsed since they were last released from incarceration, or until their probation, 
supervised release, or conditional release expires, whichever occurs later. Minn. Stat.§ 243.166, 
subd. 6. 

Who is subject to lifetime registration? 

Lifetime registration is required for three categories of individuals. 

• Recidivists. This category iQcludes a person convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 
any offense for which registration is required who has a prior conviction or adjudication 
for an offense where registration was or would have been required under the law. For the 
purpose of determining whether the person is a recidivist, the law includes an offense of 
another state or a federal offense similar to the offenses for which registration is required 
under Minnesota law. 

• Individuals Who Commit Aggravated Offenses. This category includes a person who 
commits a sexual act, including, but not limited to penetration, with a victim of any age 
through the use of force or the threat of serious violence and a person who commits a 
sexual act, including but not limited to penetration, with a victim under the age of 13, 
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regardless of whether the offense is committed under Minnesota law, federal law, or the 
law of some other state. This registration requirement applies only to adults, juveniles 
who have been certified as adult, extended jurisdiction juveniles, and juveniles who 
cause the death of a victim while committing certain criminal sexual conduct offenses. 

Sexual Predators. This category includes a person who is required to register following 
commitment as a sexual psychopathic personality or sexually dangerous person under 
Minnesota law or a similar law of another state or the United States. 

What happens if an offender is out of compliance with the registration law? 

In certain circumstances, the BCA may make information public about an offender who is out of 
compliance with the registration law. The offender must be out of compliance for 30 days or 
longer for failure to provide the addresses of his or her primary and secondary residences. If the 
offender is 16 years of age or older and out of compliance, information about him or her may be 
made available to the public through electronic, computerized, or other accessible means. The 
amount and type of information disclosed must be limited to the information necessary for the 
public to assist law enforcement in locating the offender. The BCA is immune from criminal or 
civil liability based upon the accuracy or completeness of any information made public, if the 
BCA acts in good faith. 

An offender who comes into compliance with the registration law after the BCA discloses 
information about him or her may send a written request to the BCA to request that the 
information be treated as private data. The BCA must review the request and respond. An 
offender also may challenge the accuracy or completeness of the data. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 
7a. 

What penalty applies to a person's failure to meet the registration requirements? 

A person who knowingly violates- any of the provisions of the registration law or who 
· intentionally provides false information to a corrections agent, law enforcement authority, or the 
BCA is guilty of a five-year felony. The court must commit the person to the Commissioner of 
Corrections for ·not less than one year and one day for a first offense and not less than two years 
for a subsequent offense. A prosecutor may move to have the person sentenced without regard 
to the mandatory minimum. The court may sentence the person without regard to the mandatory 
minimum on the prosecutor's motion or the court's own motion, but such a sentence is a 
departure from the sentencing guidelines. Minn. Stat.§ 243.166, subd. 5. 

How does Minnesota apply the registration law to predatory off enders from other states? 

An offender who is on probation or parole in another state and who enters the state under a 
reciprocal agreement under the interstate compact for the supervision of parolees and 
probationers may enter the state only on the condition that the offender agrees to register under 
the law while living in Minnesota. Offenders who are not on probation or parole must also 
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register under the law, but there is no tracking system for these offenders in Minnesota until they 
first register under the law. Minn. Stat.§ 243.166, subd. 9. 

How are data classified under the predatory registration law? 

In general, information obtained through the registration requirements of this section is private 
data, which means the data are not public, but are accessible to.the subject of the data. 
Exceptions exist for disclosure of data on certain individuals who are out of coII?-pliance with the 
registration law, for community notification purposes, and for the purpose of the BCA's 
maintenance of a database of registered predatory offenders. Minn. Stat. §§ 13.02, subd. 12; 243.166, 

subd. 7. The information may be used only for law enforcement purposes, and information on 
adults and juveniles may be maintained together. Minn. Stat.§ 243.166, subd. 4. 

Community Notification Law 

Which offenders are subject to the community notification law? 

All predatory offenders are subject to the community notification law. A predatory offender is a 
person who is required to register under the predatory offender registration law, except for those 
individuals who are required to register based solely on delinquency adjudications. Minn. Stat. 
§ 244.052, subd. 1(4). 

Who determines what type of community notification will take place for each offender? 

An end-of-confinement review committee is responsible for determining an offender's risk level, 
which in tum determines the level of community notification that will occur. The 
end-of-confinement review committee is a standing committee at each state correctional facility 
and at each state treatment faciiity where predatory offenders are confined. The committee is 
appointed by the Commissioner of Corrections or Human Services, as appropriate, and consists 
of the following: · 

the chief executive officer or head of the correctional or treatment facility where the 
offender is currently confined, or the person's designee; 

• a law enforcement officer; 

• a treatment professional who is trained in the assessment of predatory offenders; 

• a caseworker experienced in supervising predatory offenders; and 

• a victim services professional. 

These committee members serve two-year terms. The chief executive officer or head of the 
facility or designee acts as chair of the committee. Minn. Stat.§ 244.052, subd. 3. 
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The Commissioner of Corrections must convene the' end-of-confinement review committee at 
least 90 days before a predatory offender is released from confinement. If, however, the 
offender is received for confinement with fewer than 90 days remaining in his or her sentence, 
the offender's risk is assessed at the first regularly scheduled end-of-confinement review 
committee that meets after the committee receives the documentation necessary ~o conduct the 
risk assessment. The Commissioner of Corrections must make reasonable efforts to ensure that 
the offender's risk is assessed and a risk level is assigned or reassigned at least 30 days before 
the offender's release date. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3. 

Who else participates in the end-of-confinement review committee's risk assessment? 

The offender receives notice and has a right to appear and present information at the meeting. In 
addition, the law enforcement agency responsible for the charge resulting in the offender's 
confinement is notified of the time and place of the meeting. The law enforcement agency may 
provide written material relevant to the offender's risk level to the chair of the committee. Minn. 
Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3. 

How does the end-of-confinement review committee determine an offender's risk level? 

The committee assesses the risk posed by an offender who is about to be released from 
confinement on a case-by-case basis. The committee has access to various data, including 
medical data, court services data, corrections data, and criminal history data. It considers various 
risk factors to determine the offender's risk of reoffending. These risk factors include: 

the seriousness of the offense should the offender reoffend, including the degree of 
likely force or harm, the degree of likely physical contact, and the age of the likely 
victim; 

• the offender's prior offense history, including the relationship of prior victims to the 
offender, the number of prior offenses or victims, the duration of the offender's prior 
offense history, the length of time since his or her last prior offense while he or she was 
at risk to commit offenses, and the offender's prior history of other antisocial .acts; 

• the offender's characteristics, including response to prior treatment efforts and history 
of substance abuse; 

• the availability of community support to the offender, including the availability and 
likelihood that he or she will be involved in therapeutic treatment, the availability of 
residential supports, familial and social relationships and the support offered from these 
relationships, and lack of education or emotional stability; 
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• whether the offender has indicated or credible evidence in the record indicates that 
the offender will reoffend if released into the community; and 

whether the off ender demonstrates a physical condition that minimizes the risk of 
reoffense, including, but not limited to, advanced age or a debilitating illness or physical 
condition. 

Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3. 

A risk assessment scale. is used to assign weights to these risk factors and to determine the risk 
level to which offenders with various risk assessment scores will be assigned. This scale was 
developed by the Commissioner of Corrections, with input by county attorneys, treatment 
professionals, law enforcement officials, and probation officers. Minn. Stat.§ 244.052, subd. 2. 

What do the various risk levels indicate? 

There are three risk levels, as follows: 

Level I offenders have a risk assessment score that indicates a low risk of reoffense. 

Level II offenders have a risk assessment score that indicates a moderate risk of 
reoffense. 

• Level III offenders have a risk assessment score that indicates a high risk of reoffense. 

Minn. Stat.§ 244.052, subd. 3. 

What type of community notification occurs for the various levels? 

The type of community notification that occurs depends on the risk level to which an offender 
has been assigned. The depth ~nd breadth of the disclosure depends upon the level of danger 
posed by the offender, his or her pattern of offending behavior, and the need of community 
members for information to enhance individual and community safety. In making the 
notification, a law enforcement agency must not disclose the identity or any identifying 
characteristics of the victims of or witnesses to the offender's offenses. 

Notification for the three levels is as follows: 

Level I Offenders. The law enforcement agency may maintain information about the offender 
within the agency and disclose it to other law enforcement agencies. The law enforcement 
agency also may disclose the information to any victims or witnesses to the offense committed 
by the offender. The agency must disclose information to victims of the offense who have 
requested disclosure. The agency also must disclose information to adult members of the 
offender's immediate household. Minn. Stat.§ 244.052, subds. 1 and 4. 
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Level II Offenders. The law enforcement agency may disclose the same information it may 
disclose on Level I offenders and it also may disclose information to agencies and groups the 
offender is likely to encounter. These agencies and groups include the staff members of public 
and private educational institutions, day care establishments, and establishments and 
organizations that primarily serve individuals likely to be victimized by the offender. The 
purpose of this notification is to secure these institutions and to protect individuals in the care of 
these institutions while they are on or near the institution's premises. The agency also may 
disclose information to individuals the agency believes are likely to be victimized by the 
offender based on the offender's pattern of offending or victim preference. Minn. Stat.§ 244.052, 
subd. 4. 

Level III Offenders. The law enforcement agency must disclose the information to the persons 
and entities who may receive notice about Level I and II offenders. In addition, the agency must 
disclose information to other members of the community whom the offender is likely to 
encounter, unless the agency determines that public safety would be compromised by the 
disclosure or that a more limited disclosure is necessary to protect the identity of the victim. 
Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 4. 

A law enforcement agency disclosing information to the public about Level III offenders must 
forward the information disclosed to the Commissioner of Corrections. The Commissioner of 
Corrections must create and maintain an Internet web site to post the information received from 
the law enforcement agency. This infom1ation must be updated in a timely manner to account 
for address changes. The information must be available during the time the offender is subject to 
notification as a Level III offender. Minn. Stat.§ 244.052, subds. 4 and 4a. 

Caveat: A law enforcement agency may not make the disclosures permitted or required for 
Level II and Level III predatory offenders if the offender is placed or resides in a residential 
facility. In these cases, notification is delayed until shortly before the offender is released from 
the residential facility. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 4. 

What language is used for the notification? City councils may adopt policies addressing when 
infomrntion disclosed under the law must be disclosed in languages in addition to English. The 
policies may designate whether the information shall be disclosed orally, in writing, or both. 
Policies may provide for different approaches based upon the prevalence of non-English 
languages in different neighborhoods. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 4. 

When does community notification occur? 

A law enforcement agency that discloses information must make a good faith effort to make the 
notification within 14 days of receiving a confirmed address from the Department of Corrections 
indicating that the offender will reside at the address listed. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 4. 
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For how long is a predatory offender subject to the community notification law? 

The community notification law applies during the entire time an offender is required to register 
under the predatory offender registration law. Minn. Stat.§ 244.052, subd. 4. (See page 12, "When 
does the registration period expire?"). 

How does the end-of-confinement review committee communicate its risk level 
determination to the offender and to law enforcement? 

The committee must prepare a risk assessment report which specifies the offender's risk level 
and the reasons for the committee's decision. The committee must give this report to the 
offender and to the law enforcement agency where the offender will reside at least 60 days 
before the offender is released from confinement. If, however, the risk assessment is delayed 
because the offender was received for confinement with fewer than 90 days remaining on his or 
her sentence, the report must be given to the offender and law enforcement as soon as it is 
available. Minn. Stat.§ 244.052, subd. 3. 

What information other than the risk level determination is communicated to law 
enforcement? 

At least 60 days before a predatory offender is released from confinement, the Department of 
Corrections or Department of Human Services must give the law enforcement agency that 
investigated the offender's crime, or where relevant, the law enforcement agency with primary 
jurisdiction where the offender was committed, all relevant information the departments have on 
the offender. This information includes information on risk factors in the offender's history. 

In addition, within five days after receiving the offender's approved release plan, the appropriate 
. · department must give the law enforcement agency with primary jurisdiction where the offender 

plans to live all relevant information the department has concerning him or her, including 
information on risk factors in the offender's history. The offender's risk level assignment must 
also be communicated with this information. If the risk level assignment was delayed because 
the offender was accepted for confinement with fewer than 90 days remaining on his or her 
sentence, the appropriate ·department must communicate this information to the law enforcement 
agency within five days of the risk level assignment or reassignment. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 5. 

Who receives notice of an offender's impending release? 

The Commissioner of Corrections must send written notice of the impending release of a 
predatory offender to the sheriff of the county and the police chief of the city in which the inmate 
will reside or in which placement will be made in a work release program. This notification 
must occur at least 60 days before release of the offender. Minn. Stat.§ 244.053, subd. 1. 

The following individuals also must be notified of an offender's impending release: 
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• the victim of the crime or a deceased victim's next of kin if the victim or next of kin 
request this notice in writing; 

• any witnesses who testified against the inmate in any court proceeding, if the witness 
requests the notice in writing; and 

• any person specified in writing by the prosecuting attorney. 

The notice &ent to the victim or victim's next of kin must inform the person of the right to 
request and receive additional information about the offender, as authorized by the community 
notification law. If the victim or witness is under the age of 16, the notice required by this 
section shall be sent to the parents or legal guardian of the child. Minn. Stat. § 244.053, subds. 1 and 
2. 

Is there a procedure for the end-of-confinement review committee to reconsider the risk 
level determination if additional information becomes available? 

Yes. Either the law enforcement agency in the area where the offender will reside or the 
offender's corrections agent may request a reassessment of the risk level. Upon such a request, 
the commissioner may reconvene the end-of-confinement review committee. In requesting such 
a reassessment, the law enforcement agency which was responsible for the charge resulting in 
confinement or the agent shall list the facts and circumstances arising after the committee's 
determination or the facts and circumstances known to law enforcement or the agent but not 
considered by the committee. The law enforcement agency or corrections agent must request the 
reassessment within 30 days of receipt of the report identifying the offender's risk level. A 
corrections agent, in consultation with the chief law enforcement officer in the area where the 
offender plans to reside, may request a review of the offender's risk level at any time if 
substantial evidence ( as described by law) exists that the offender's risk level should be reviewed 
by an end-of-confinement review committee. Upon review of the request, the committee may 
reassign an offender to a different risk level and, if he or she is assigned to a higher risk level, the 
offender has the right to seek administrative review of the decision. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3. 

What recourse does an offender have if he or she objects to the end-of-confinement review 
committee's risk level assessment? 

At the time the committee provides the offender its risk assessment report, including the risk 
level to which he or she has been assigned, the committee must inform the offender of the 
availability of administrative review of its decision. Minn. Stat.§ 244.052, subd. 3. The right to 
administrative review exists for those offenders assigned to risk Level II or III. 

An offender must seek review within 14 days ofreceiving notice of the committee's risk level 
decision by notifying the chair of the committee. Upon receiving this reque~t, the chair must 
notify the offender; the victims of the offense who have requested disclosure; the law 
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enforcement agency that investigated the crime or, where relevant, the law enforcement agency 
having primary jurisdiction where the offender was committed; the law enforcement agency with 
jurisdiction where the offender expects to reside (if the release plan has been approved by the 
Department of Corrections); and any other individu~ls the chair selects. 

A request for a review hearing does not interfere with or delay the notification process under the 
law, unless the administrative law judge orders otherwise for good cause shown. 

An offender who requests· a hearing must be given a reasonable time to prepare for the hearing. 
The hearing is conducted by an administrative law judge. The offender bears the burden of 
proving by a preponderance of the evidence that the risk assessment determination was 
erroneous. The attorney general or a designee must defend the committee's determination. The 
offender has the right to be present and be represented by counsel at the hearing, to present 
evidence, and to call and cross-examine witnesses. The judge may seal any portion of the record 
of the hearing to the extent necessary to protect the identity of a victim of or witness to the 
offense. 

After the hearing, the administrative law judge must issue a written decision upholding or 
modifying the review committee's decision. This decision must include the judge's reasons for 
the decision. The decision may be appealed to the courts through procedures set forth in the 
Administrative Procedures Act ( chapter 14 ). Minn. Stat.§ 244.052, subd. 6. 

Can a predatory offender request reassessment of his or her risk level? 

Yes. An offender may ask the committee to reassess his or her risk level after three years have 
passed since the committee's initial assessment. The offender may renew the request once every 
two years following subsequent denials. In seeking reassessment, the offender must list the facts 
and circumstances that demonstrate that he or she no longer poses the same degree of risk to the 
community. For an offender's request for a risk level reduction to be granted, the offender must 
demonstrate full compliance with supervised release conditions, completion of required post­
release programming, and full compliance with all predatory offender registration requirements. 
An offender who-is incarcerated may not request reassessment of his or her risk level. In 
addition, an offender's request for a risk level reduction will not be granted if the offender has 
been convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor offenses subsequent to the 
initial assignment of risk level. Offenders returned to prison as release violators may not request 
reassessment of risk level unless substantial evidence determines that the offender's risk to the 
public has increased. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3. 

Are there any restrictions on where Level III offenders can live? 

The end-of-confinement review committee must determine whether residency restrictions should 
be included in the conditions of a Level III offender's release based upon the offender's pattern 
of offending behavior. Minn. Stat.§ 244.052, subd. 3. In addition, the agency responsible for the 
offender's supervision must take into consideration the proximity of the offender's residence to 
that of other Level III offenders and to schools when an offender is released from confinement or 
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a residential facility and when the offender changes residence. To the extent feasible, the agency 
must mitigate the concentration of Level III offenders living in proximity to one another and 
living near schools. Minn. Stat.§ 244.052, subd. 4a. 

An owner or property manager of a hotel, motel, Ioaging establishment, or apartment building 
may not knowingly rent rooms to both Level III offenders and domestic abuse victims at the 
same time. This prohibition applies only if the owner or property manager has an agreement 
with an agency that arranges or provides shelter for domestic abuse victims. If the .owner or 
property manager discovers or is informed that a tenant is a Level III offender, the owner or 
property manager may evict the tenant. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 4a. · 

How does the community notification law apply to off enders who are released from a 
federal correctional facility or some other state's correctional facility? 

The commissioner must establish an end-of-confinement review committee to assign a risk level 
to offenders who are released from a federal correctional facility in Minnesota or from another 
state's facility when the offender intends to reside in Minnesota. The committee must make 
reasonable efforts to apply the same timelines to these cases that apply to Minnesota cases. 
Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3. 

How does the community notification law apply to off enders who enter Minnesota from 
another state following their release from confinement? 

The community notification law applies to offenders who are accepted from another state under a 
reciprocal agreement for supervision under the interstate compact. These offenders are not 
assigned a risk level, but are treated in a manner similar to how Level II offenders are treated. 
The probation or court services officer who is assigned to supervise the offender must provide 
written information of the terms and conditions of the offender's probation to: 

the victim o~ and any witnesses to the offense committed by the offender, if the victim or 
witness r~quest this disclosure; and 

the chief law enforcement officer in the area where the offender resides or intends to 
reside. 

The law enforcement officer, in consultation with the offender's probation officer, may provide 
all or part of this information to certain agencies or groups the offender is likely to encounter. 
These agencies and groups include public and private educational institutions, day care 
establishments, and establishments or organizations that primarily serve individuals likely to be 
victimized by the offender. This notice requirement does not apply while the offender resides in 
a residential facility with staff trained in the supervision of predatory offenders. Minn. Stat.§§ 
244.052., subd. 3; 244.10, subd. 2a. 
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Can someone be held civilly or criminally liable for disclosing or failing to disclose 
information under the community notification law? 

Generally, no. A state or local agency or official, or a private organization or individual 
authorized to act on behalf of a state or local agency or official, is not civilly or criminally liable 
for failing to disclose information as permitted by the community notification law. In addition, 
these individuals and entities are not civilly or criminally liable for disclosing information as 
permitted by the community notification law, if the information disclosed is consistent with the 
offender's conviction history. Immunity does not apply to disclosure of information relating to 
conduct for which the offender was not convicted. Minn. Stat.§ 244.052, subd. 7. 

Sexually Dangerous Persons Civil Commitment Laws 

Who may be civilly committed under this law? 

Any person who has been determined by a court to be a "sexually dangerous person" may be 
involuntarily committed under this law. Minn. Stat.§ 253B.185. 

Who comes within the definition of a sexually dangerous person? 

There are three elements to the definition of "sexually dangerous person." 

First, it must be demonstrated that the person has engaged in a course of "harmful sexual 
conduct" in the past. Sexual conduct is "harmful" if it creates a substantial likelihood of 
causing serious physical or emotional harm to another person. Certain crimes are 
presumed to cause such harm, unless proven otherwise in a particular case. For example, 
felony-level criminal sexual conduct crimes are presumed to qualify as "harmful sexual 
conduct." Additionally, a number of other violent crimes are presumed to be "harmful 
sexual conduct" when they are motivated by the person's sexual impulses or are part of a 
pattern of behavior that·has criminal sexual conduct as its goal. These crimes include 
murder, manslaughter, felony-level assault, robbery, kidnapping, false imprisonment, 
incest, witness tampering, arson, first-degree burglary of a dwelling, terroristic threats, 
and felony-level harassment and stalking. 

Second, it must be shown that the person has manifested a sexual, personality, or other 
mental disorder or dysfunction. 

Third, it must be proven that, as a result of this mental disorder or dysfunction, the person 
is likely to engage in future acts of harmful sexual conduct. 

5 Minnesota law contains a second civil commitment law applicable to sexually dangerous persons, known as 
the "psychopathic personality" commitment law. It was enacted in the 1930s and has been replaced, from a 
practical standpoint, by the sexually dangerous persons civil commitment law. It remains on the books, however, 
because there are individuals in state treatment facilities who were originally committed pursuant to the older -law 
and remain subject to that commitment. Minn. Stat. 1992, § 526.10. 
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The law does not require proof that the person is unable to control his or her sexual impulses; 
rather, it is enough to establish the likelihood of future harmful sexual conduct due to the 
person's mental disorder or dysfunction. Minn. Stat. §§ 253B.02, subds. 7 and 18c. 

Are prior criminal convictions for criminal sexual conduct or other crimes required 
before a person can be civilly committed as a sexually dangerous person? 

Prior criminal convictions are no·t required in order to civilly commit a person under this law. 
However, the standard of proof required for involuntary commitment under this law is a stringent 
one ( clear and convincing evidence) and may be difficult to meet, absent the type of strong proof 
of prior harmful sexual conduct that a prior conviction would provide. Minn. Stat. §§ 253B.02, 
subd. 18c; 253B.18, subd. 1; and 253B.185. 

Is any preliminary determination made when a sex off ender is convicted or sent to prison 
that the civil commitment law may apply? 

Minnesota law requires that when a court sentences a person for a felony-level criminal sexual 
conduct crime, the court must make a preliminary determination as to whether the civil 
commitment of the person as a sexually dangerous person would be appropriate and must include 
this determination in its sentencing order. If the court determines that such a petition would be 
appropriate, it must forward its preliminary determination and any supporting documentation to 
the county attorney. Minn. Stat. § 609.1351. 

Similarly, the Commissioner of Corrections is required to make the same type of preliminary 
determination concerning the appropriateness of civil commitment before releasing certain 
predatory offenders from state prison. This law applies when the sex offender has been 
classified by the commissioner as a "high risk" releasee under the commissioner's supervised 
release guidelines. If the commissioner determines that a petition may be appropriate, he or she 
must forward the preliminary determination, along with a summary of the written reasons for it, 
to the county attorney in the cou.nty where the offender was convicted. The law then directs the 
county attorney to proceed, under the civil commitment law, to assess the case and determine 
whether civil commitment proceedings should be initiated. Minn. Stat.§ 244.05, subd. 7. 

Who initiates civil commitment proceedings? 

A civil commitment proceeding under this law is initiated by the county attorney and is filed in 
the county where the proposed patient resides or is present. If the proposed patient is an inmate 
of a state prison, the petition may be filed in the county where the proposed patient was 
convicted. 

Alternatively, the petition may be heard by a member of a specialized statewide panel of district 
judges established by the Minnesota Supreme Court to preside over commitment proceedings of 
sexually dangerous persons. Minn. Stat. § 253B.185. 
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The hearing on the petition is a civil proceeding and is governed by the same procedures and 
rules as a proceeding to commit a person as "mentally ill and dangerous." These procedures 
include, among other things, the proposed patient's right to be represented by counsel at public 
expense, if necessary, and a requirement that the need for commitment be proven by clear and 
convincing evidence. Minn. Stat.§§ 253B.18; 253B.185. 

If a person is civilly committed under this law, where is he or she placed? 

Sexually dangerous persons are committed to the custody of the Commissioner of Human 
Services and are placed in a secure treatment facility in Moose Lake known as the Minnesota 
Sexual Psychopathic Personality Treatment Center. In order to obtain a less secure placement, 
the patient must prove, by clear and convincing evidence, that a less restrictive treatment 
program is available and is consistent with the patient's treatment needs and the requirements of 
public safety. Minn. Stat.§§ 246B.02; 253B.185, subd. 1. 

If the patient was in prison at the time of the civil commitment, the person must serve the 
criminal sentence first before being transferred to a treatment facility. If the person was civilly 
committed first and later is committed to the Commissioner of Corrections' custody due to a 
criminal conviction or probation revocation, the person must be transferred from the treatment 
facility to state prison. Minn. Stat.§ 253B.185, subd. 2. 

How long does the civil commitment last? 

During the 60-day period following the initial commitment decision by the court, the treatment 
facility prepares a treatment report and the court holds another hearing to decide whether the 
commitment decision should be made final. If the court finalizes its commitment decision at the 
review hearing, the person is committed to the Commissioner of Human Services' custody for an 
indeterminate period of time. The indeterminate commitment lasts until the person can 
demonstrate that he or she is no longer dangerous or in need of treatment. Minn. Stat.§ 253B.18. 

Who decides whether to change the terms of or end the civil commitment of a sexually 
dangerous person? 

The decision to transfer the person to a more or less secure treatment facility or to discharge a 
sexually dangerous person from civil commitment is made by a special review board panel 
appointed by the Commissioner of Human Services. The panel consists of three members who 
are experienced in the field of mental illness. One member must be a psychiatrist and one 
member must be an attorney. A patient may file a petition for transfer, discharge, or provisional 
discharge with the special review board panel after six months have elapsed since the person was 
first committed and may not file additional petitions with the board unless six months have 
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elapsed since the last petition. A number of parties are entitled to be notified of and be present at 
the hearing on the petition, including the committing court and the county attorney of the 
committing county. Following the hearing and based on factors outlined in statute and evidence 
presented at the hearing, the panel makes written findings and recommendations on the petition 
and submits them to the Commissioner of Human Services. The final decision on transfer or 
discharge rests with the commissioner. Minn. Stat.§ 253B.18, subds. 4c and 5. 
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Elements of First- and Third-Degree:Criminal Sexual Conduct Crimes 

First-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct Third~Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct 
(Minn. Stat. §. 609.342) ·(Minn. Stat.§ 609.343) 

Sexual penetration and: Sexualpenetratio~ and: 

A victim under 13 years old if the actor is more A victim under 13 years old if the actor is no more than 
than three years older than the victim ( also applies three years older than the victim** 
to certain sexual contact)** 

A victim at least 13 but younger than 16 if the actor is 
more than two years older 

A victim at least 13 but younger than 16 if the A victim at least 16 but younger than 18 if the actor is 
actor is more than four years older and uses a more than four years older and uses a position of 
position of authority to make the victim submit** authority to make the victim submit* 

Circumstances at time of act caused victim to have 
reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to 
self or others 

Actor is armed with dangerous weapon and uses or 
threatens to use it to cause victim to submit 

Actor causes personal injury to victim and either Actor uses force/coercion or actor knows or should know 
actor uses force/coercion or victim is mentally victim is mentally impaired or incapacitated/physically 
impaired or incapacitated/physically helpless helpless 

Actor is aided by accomplice and either accomplice 
uses force/coercion or accomplice is armed with 
dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use it to 
cause victim to submit 

* Consent by the victim is not a defense 
** Neither consent by the victim nor mistake as to the victim's age is a defense 
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A victim under 16 years old, the actor has a 
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Third-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct 
(Minn. Stat.§ 609.343) 

Sexual penetration and: 

.A victim at least 16 but younger than 18, the actor has 
a "significant relationship" with the victim, and any of 
the following circumstances exists: force/coercion, 
personal injury; or sexual abuse involved multiple acts 
committed over extended time perio_d** 

Actor is psychotherapist, victim is patient and act 
occurred during therapy session or during the ongoing 
therapy relationship; victim is former patient and is 
emotionally dependent on therapist; or victim is patient 
or former patient and act occurred by means of 
therapeutic deception* 

Actor accomplishes act by means of deception or false 
representation that it is for a bona fide medical 
purpose* 

Actor is or purports to be member of clergy, victim is 
not married to actor, and either act occurred during 
spiritual advice meeting or during a time when victim 
was meeting with actor on ongoing basis for spiritual 
advice* 

Actor is an employee, contract personnel, or volunteer 
of a state, county, city, or privately operated adult or 
juvenile correctional system, including, but not limited 
to, jails, prisons, detention centers, or work release 
facilities, and the complainant is a resident of a facility 
or under supervision of the correctional system* 

Actor is an agent of a special transportation services 
provider, the complainant uses the service, and the act 
occurs during or immediately before or after 
transporting the individual* 

** Neither consent by the victim nor mistake as to the victim's age is a defense 
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Elements of Second-, Fourth-, and Fifth-Degree 
Criminal Sexual Conduct Crimes 

Second-Degree Criminal Sexual Fourth-Degree Criminal Sexual Fifth-Degree Criminal Sexual 
Conduct Conduct Conduct 

(Minn. Stat.§ 609.344) (Minn. Stat.§ 609.345) (Minn. Stat.§ 609.3451) 
Sexual contact and: Sexual contact and: Sexual contact and: 

Nonconsensual sexual contact with 
any victim if the contact is not 
covered by a higher degree of the 
crime 
Masturbation or lewd exhibition of 
the genitals in the presence of a 
minor under age 16, knowing or 
having reason to know the minor 
is present 

A victim under 13 years old if the A victim under 13 years old if the 
actor is more than three years older actor is no more than thre_e years 
than the victim** older than the victim** 
A victim at least 13 but younger A victim at least 13 but younger 
than 16 if the actor is more than than 16 if the actor is more than 
four years older and uses a position four years older or uses a position of 
of authority to make the victim authority to make the victim 
submit** submit.* 

A victim at least 16 but younger 
than 18 if the actor is more than 
four years older and uses a position 
of authority to make the victim 
submit** 

Circumstances at time of act caused 
victim to have reasonable fear of 
imminent great bodily harm to self 
or others 
Actor is armed with dangerous 
weapon and uses or thre~tens to use 
it to cause victim to submit 
Actor causes personal injury to Actor uses force/coercion or actor 
victim and either actor uses knows or should know victim is 
force/coercion or victim is mentally mentally impaired or 
impaired or incapacitated/physically incapacitated/ physically helpless 
helpless 
Actor is aided by accomplice and 
either accomplice uses 
force/coercion or accomplice is 
armed with dangerous weapon and 
uses or threatens to use it to cause 
victim to submit 

* Consent by the victim is not a defense. 
** Neither consent by the victim nor mistake as to the victim's age is a defense. 
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Second-Degree Criminal Sexual Fourth,;.Degree Criminal· Sexual 
Conduct Conduct 

(Minn. Stat.§ 609.344) (Minn.· Stat.·§. 609.345) 
Sexual contact and: Sexual contact and: 

A victim under 16 years old and the A victim at least 16 but younger 
actor has a "significant than 18 and the actor has a 
relationship" with the victim** "significant relationship" with the 

victim** 
A victim under 16 years old, the A victim at least 16 but younger 
actor has a "significant than 18, the actor has a "significant 
relationship" with the victim, and relationship" with the victim, and 
any of the following circumstances any of the following circumstances 
exists: force/coercion, personal exists: force/coercion, personal 
injury, or sexual abuse involved injury, or sexual abuse involved 
multiple acts committed over multiple acts committed over 
extended time period** extended time period** 

Actor is psychotherapist, victim is 
patient and act occurred during 
therapy session or during the 
ongoing therapy relationship, victim 
is former patient and is emotionally 
dependent on therapist, or victim is 
patient or former patient and act 
occurred by means of therapeutic 
deception* 
Actor accomplishes act by means of 
deception or false representation 
that it is for a bona fide medical 
purpose* 
Actor is or purports to be member of 
clergy, victim is not married to actor, 
and either act occurred during 
spiritual advice meeting or during a 
time when victim was meeting with 
actor on ongoing basis for spiritual 
advice* 
Actor is an employee, contract 
personnel, or volunteer of a state, 
county, city, or privately operated 
adult or juvenile correctional system, 
including, but not limited to jails, 
prisons, detention centers, or work 
release facilities, and the 
complainant is a resident of a facility 
or under supervision of the 
correctional system* 
Actor is an agent of a special 
transportation services provider, the 
complainant uses the service, and the 
act occurs during or immediately 
before or after transporting the 
individual* 

* Consent by the victim is not a defense. 
** Neither consent by the victim nor mistake as to the victim's age is a defense. 
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Fifth-Degree Criminal Sexual 
Conduct 

(Minn. Stat.§ 609.3451) 
Sexual contact and: 




