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The Minnesota and Federal 
Dependent Care Tax Credits 

Minnesota offers a refundable dependent care income tax credit that is limited to 
people under certain income levels. Minnesota's dependent care credit is linked 
to a federal dependent care credit, which is not refundable and not tied to income. 
This information brief explains the purposes for each of the credits, how they 
work, how people can claim the credits, and how the benefits have been 
distributed. It also explains how federal legislation enacted in 2001 will expand 
the federal credit beginning in 2003. 
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Minnesota and the federal government provide income tax credits for dependent care 
expenses. 

Beginning in tax year 2003, the federal credit will equal 35 percent of qualifying dependent 
care expenses for families with incomes of $15,000 or less. The credit percentage will phase 
down to 20 percent for families with incomes over $43,000, but all families qualify, regardless of 
income. The maximum credit is $1,050 for one dependent and $2,100 for two or more. The 
federal income is nonrefundable; that is, it can only be used to offset federal income tax liability. 
Many low-income families will not receive the full credit because they have little tax liability.1 

The Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of2001 (EGTRRA 2001) expanded 
the federal credit, with the changes effective in tax year 2003. For previous tax years the federal 
credit equals 30 percent of qualifying expenses for families with incomes_of$10,000 or less, and 
phases down to 20 percent of expenses for families with incomes over $28,000. The maximum 
federal credit through tax year 2002 is $720 for one dependent, and $1,440 for two or more 
dependents. 

The Minnesota credit is linked to the federal credit. However, the maximum Minnesota 
credit is lower than the maximum federal credit, and the Minnesota credit has different income 
limits and a different phase-out schedule. The Minnesota credit begins to phase out when 
income reaches $19,210, and is not available to families with incomes over $32,860. The 
maximum state credit is fixed at the amount of the maximum federal credit before the EGTRRA 
changes: $720 for one dependent and $1,440 for two or more. Unlike the federal credit, the 
Minnesota credit is refundable. Thus a low-income family can receive the maximum credit, even 
if the family has little or no income tax liability. 

In tax year 1999, 35,893 Minnesota income tax returns claimed the .dependent care credit, 
for total credits of $11. 7 million. This represented 1.5 percent of all state returns in 1999. 
Most claimants were single parents: an estimated 26,000 head of household filers claimed the 
credit in 1999, compared to about 7,000 married couples. 2 

Just over half of the total amount of credits paid-$5.88 million-went to offset liability, 
with the balance of $5.84 million paid as refunds~ About 23 percent of recipients had no 
liability and received the full credit amount as a refund. Fifty percent had liability that exceeded 
the credit amount for which they qualified. The remaining claimants had some liability but 
qualified for a credit that resulted in a refund. 
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Purpose of the Minnesota and Federal Dependent 
Care Credits 

The Minnesota dependent care credit is targeted to low- and moderate-income families, 
making it easier for them to work. 

Many low- and moderate-income taxpayers pay a significant portion of their incomes for 
dependent care. By directing the dependent care credit to taxpayers with incomes under $32,870, 
Minnesota reduces these families' cost of working. 

The authorizing statute does not assign an explicit purpose or goal to the Minnesota dependent 
care credit. However, the credit may be assumed to have at least two goals: 

• to recognize dependent care costs as a necessary expense of working 

• to encourage low- and moderate-income individuals to work 

The federal dependent care credit is available to all taxpayers, regardless of income. This 
approach recognizes dependent care expenses as a necessary expense of working. Because the 
federal credit is nonrefundable (i.e., it can only be used to offset income tax liability and does not 
benefit those without liability), it does not provide any special assistance for low- and moderate­
income individuals to enter the work force. Most of these individuals have little or no federal 
income tax liability. 

-
The federal and state income taxes allow taxpayers to deduct most business expenses from 
taxable income. For example, a taxpayer who runs a business and has employees may deduct 
the employees' salaries. Personal or living expenses, by contrast, are not deductible. Rather, 
individuals may deduct exemption amounts for the taxpayer, spouse, and dependents, reflecting 
basic living expenses. 3 The Minnesota income tax has traditionally classified child care expenses 
as nondeductible personal or living expenses.4 However, taxpayers with young children in many 
cases must pay for their care in order to work. To allow some recognition of these "business 
expenses," taxpayers may claim both federal and state dependent care credits that partially offset 
the cost of dependent care. 5 



House Research Department 
The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits 

Updated: December 2001 
Page4 

How the Minnesota and Federal Depend~nt 
Care Credits Work 

The Minnesota dependent care 
credit is tied to the federal 
dependent care credit. Both of 
these credits allow taxpayers to 
claim a percentage of qualifying 
dependent care expenses as a 
credit against income tax liability. 
The box to the right summarizes 
the history of the federal and state 
credits. The state credit is limited 
to families with incomes less than 
$32,860, while the federal credit 
is available to all filers, regardless 
of income level. 

To qualify for the dependent 
care credit, an individual must 
incur expenses related to the 
care of a dependent to hold 
employment. Under federal law, 
four basic tests must be satisfied 
to qualify for the dependent care 
credit. Minnesota, by using the 
federal credit amount in 
calculating its credit, also follows 
these rules. 

• The taxpayer must maintain 
a household that includes a 
qualified individual. In 
order to maintain a home, 
more than half of the cost 
must be furnished by the 
individual oi: married couple. 
For example, an individual 
who lives with a parent and 
does not pay one-half or more 
of the costs of the home may 
not claim the dependent care 
credit for the care of his or her 
children. 

History of Federal and State Credits 

1954 Federalitemized deduction for dependent care 
e"penses ofup to $4,800 annually 

1969 Minnesota itemized deduction for depend~nt care 
expen.ses. of up to $900 

1977 Federal deduction replaced by nonrefundable credit of 
up to$480 

Minnesota deduction replaced by refundable credit.of 
. up to $300 available to filers with incom~s under 
$18,006 

1981 . Federal credifincreasedto maximmn of$1,440 
phased down for those with incomes between $10,000 
and$28,000 · · · · · · · · · 

Minnesota credit increasedto m.ax.inimn of$800 
available to filers Vlith incomes under $31,000 · 

1983 Minnesota cre.ditincreasedto$960, maximum income 
eligible lowered.to. $24~000 of:income . 

1984 Minnesota creditihcreasedto matchfede:ralmaximurn 
of$l,440 

1989 Minnesota extendsphase-outto $27;00ffofincome 

1991 Minnesota indexes phase:-out floor; phase-out starts at 
· $13,990 and ends at $27,640 

1992 · Minnesota extends credit to family day care operators 
who care for their own children 

1994 Minnesota adds young;.,child credit, available to 
married couples with a child under age one 

2003 Federal credit increases to maximumof$2,100 
phases down ·for those with incomes. between $15,000 
and $43,000 

Note: Credit and deduction maximums shown are for expenses 
for care of two or more dependents; lower maximums apply for 
one dependent. 
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• Qualified individuals are dependent children under age 13 or disabled spouses or 
dependents.6 To qualify, an adult dependent must be physically or mentally unable to 
perform self-care. Dependents must satisfy five conditions specified in federal law; 7 

one of these requires the taxpayer to provide at least one-half of the person's support. 
The Minnesota credit differs from federal law in disregarding payments under the Aid 
to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) program in determining whether the 
dependency support test is met. 

• The expenses must be incurred to enable the taxpayer to be gainfully employed. 
Expenses must be paid to allow the taxpayer to work or look for work. For a married 
couple, both spouses generally must work. However, a parent who is a full-time 
student is considered to be working. 

• The expenses must relate to the care of the qualified individual. In general, two 
types of expenses qualify-(1) direct care expenses, such as day care or a nanny for a 
qualified individual, or (2) household expenses, such as a maid or cleaning service, 
when performed in conjunction with dependent care. Expenses may not exceed the 
earned income of the lower earning spouse. 8 Generally, payments to a day care center 
( those taking care of six or more children) qualify only if the center meets the 
requirements of state law. The taxpayer also must report the caregiver's taxpayer 
identification number (generally a Social Security number) on the fed_eral dependent 
care credit form. Credits cannot be claimed for payments made to dependents or a 
child of the taxpayer under age 19. 

In tax year 2003 the percentage of expenses that taxpayers may claim as a federal credit 
will increase as will the maximum qualifying expense per child. · 

Beginning in 2003, the federal dependent care credit will allow maximum qualifying expenses of 
$3,000 for one dependent and $6,000 for two or more dependents, and a maximum credit rate of 
35 percent. Before enactment ofEGTRRA 2001, the maximum federal qualifying expenses were 
$2,400 for one dependent and $4,800 for two or more dependents, and the maximum credit rate 
was 30 percent. Thus, EGTRRA 2001 will increase the maximum federal credit from $720 to 
$1,050 for one dependent and from $1,400 to $2,100 for two or more dependents. 

The state dependent care credit does not explicitly set maximum qualifying expenses or a credit 
rate, but rather allows families to claim a credit equal to the federal credit, but subject to a state 
maximum of $720 for one dependent, and $1,440 for two or more dependents. The state credit 
maximum amounts are specified in statute and equal to the maximum federal credits in effect 
prior to enactment of EGTRRA 2001. 

The maximum qualifying expenses for the federal credit have not kept pace with inflation, even 
with the increases under EGTRRA 2001. Qualifying expenses were set at $2,400 for one 
dependent, and $4,800 for two or more dependents in 1982. If they had been adjusted for 
inflation, the maximum would be over $4,000 for one dependent and over $8,000 for two or 
more dependents in 1999. An annual survey of dependent care expenses showed a range in 2000 
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from $7,020 for infants in the metro area to $3,640 for pre-schoolers in parts of nonmetro, both 
above the maximum allowable qualifying expense of $3,000 for one child.9 

Dependent care expenses paid out of pre-tax accounts do not qualify for the credit, but do count 
against the credit maximums. Many employers allow their employees to participate in pre-tax 
accounts for dependent care expenses. Employees may set aside up to $5,000 of pre-tax income 
in these accounts to pay dependent care expenses. People who use these accounts, however, may 
only claim the dependent care credit if the amount paid through the pre-tax account is less than 
the maximum qualifying expense allowed under the credit. For example, a taxpayer who sets 
aside $2,000 in a pre-tax account and has actual dependent care costs of $4,000 for one child may 
claim, beginning in 2003, a dependent care credit for $1,000 of qualifying expenses-the 
difference between the $3,000 maximum allowed under the credit and the $2,000 set-aside in the 
pre-tax account. For tax years before 2003 this taxpayer could claim a credit based on $400 of 
qualifying expenses-the difference between the $2,400 maximum in effect through 2002 and 
the $2,000 in the pre-tax account. Because annual dependent care expenses may exceed the 
maximum allowed under the credit, many taxpayers will either use a pre-tax account or claim the 
credit, but not qualify for both programs. 

Dependent care expenses paid through the state's Basic Sliding Fee child care program, or 
through Minnesota Family Assistance Program (MFIP) child care do not qualify for either the 
federal or state dependent care tax credit. However, any amounts families are required to 
contribute as "copayments" do qualify for both credits. 

The federal credit rate phases down to a minimum 20 percent of qualifying expenses. 

Through tax year 2002, the federal credit percentage begins to phase down from 30 percent when 
income exceeds $10,000. The credit phases down at the rate of one percentage point for each 
$2,000 of income over $10,000 to a minimum credit percentage of20 percent. Claimants with 
incomes of $28,000 are eligible for a minimum credit of $480 for one child, and $960 for two or 
more children. 

EGTRRA 2001 increased the income at which the federal credit begins to phase down from 
$10,000 to $15,000, and also increased the credit percentage from 30 percent to 35 percent. Both 
changes take effect in 2003. The two changes will combine to extend the credit phase-down 
range to $43,000 of income. Taxpayers with incomes over $43,000 and the new maximum 
qualifying expense of $3,000 per child will receive a minimum credit per child of $600 (20 
percent of $3,000), for up to two children. 

The 2001 Legislature conformed to federal changes under EGTRRA that will affect the 
calculation of the state credit.10 

Since the Minnesota credit equals the federal credit (subject to a state maximum and phase-out), 
some taxpayers will qualify for a larger state credit in 2003 when the federal credit rate and 
maximum qualifying expenses increase. For example, a single parent with one dependent, 
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$2,000 of expenses, and $13,000 of income currently qualifies for a state credit of $560 (28 
percent-the federal credit rate at $13,000 of income-of $2,000). When the federal credit 
increases to 35 percent in 2003 this taxpayer's Minnesota credit will increase to $700 (35 percent 
of $2,000). 

The Minnesota credit fully phases out; taxpayers with incomes above around $30,000 may 
not claim the credit. 

The Minnesota phase-out begins at a higher income level than does the federal credit and uses a 
broader definition of income. 11 When Minnesota adopted the full amount of the federal credit as 
the starting point for the state credit, the legislation started the phase-out at the same income 
level-$10,000-as the federal credit. In later sessions, the Minnesota Legislature increased the 
phase-out floor and indexed it for inflation, while the federal floor remained unchanged. In tax 
year 2002, the Minnesota credit begins to phase out for those with incomes over $19,210. The 
Minnesota credit decreases by $18 ($36 if the filer claims the credit for two dependents) for each 
$350 over the income threshold, with the credit fully phased out at $32,860. 

Figure 1 shows the maximum credit amounts for married couples with two dependents and head 
of household filers with one dependent by income level. The figure takes into account that one 
must have tax liability to qualify for the federal credit, since it is not refundable. The figure 
assumes that taxpayers claim the standard deduction, the nonrefundable federal child credit, 12 and 
report the maximum allowable qualifying expenses . 

. ·~ 
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Federal and Minnesota Dependent Care Credits 
Available to Filers with Maximum Qualifying Expenses, Tax Year 2002 
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Low-income filers may claim the maximum state credit, because it is refundable. But 
because the federal credit is only available to offset net tax liability after subtracting the child 
credit (set at $600 in 2002, and scheduled to increase to $1,000 by 2010), the married couple in 
the example does not receive any federal credit until their income reaches $31,850; the head of 
household filer until income reaches $18,900. In effect, the figure shows that it is impossible for 
a head of household or married joint filer to qualify for the maximum federal credit, since the 
phase-down of the maximum credit begins at $10,000. This will remain the case after the phase­
down threshold increases to $15,000 in 2003. 13 The figure also shows the Minnesota credit fully 
phasing out at just above $30,000 of income; while the federal credit is available to all taxpayers 
regardless of income. 
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The Minnesota credit is refundable; the federal credit is not. If a filer is eligible for a 
Minnesota dependent care credit that exceeds his or her tax liability, that filer receives any "left­
over" credit as a refund. However, filers eligible for a federal dependent care credit that exceeds 
tax liability may only use the credit to offset liability; the rest is forfeited. 

Many credit recipients are low income and have little or no tax liability. In 2002, the 
standard deduction and exemption amounts ensure that a married couple with two dependents 
had no federal liability until gross income exceeds $19,850. Their next $1,200 of federal liability 
is offset by the nonrefundable $600 per child tax credit, which unlike the dependent care credit is 
not tied to any particular type of expenditure. As a result, the typical married couple with two 
dependents will not receive any benefits under the federal dependent care credit until their 
income reaches $31,850. A head ofhousehold filer with one dependent owes no tax until gross 
income exceeded $12,900. This filer will have the next $600 ofliability offset by the child credit 
and will not benefit from the dependent care credit until income reaches $18,900. Both of these 
example filers will receive a state credit, however, since the state credit is refundable. 

Since tax year 1992, Minnesota has allowed parents who operate licensed family day care 
homes to claim the dependent care credit for their own children. Parents who operate 
licensed family day care homes and care for their own children may claim the dependent care 
credit without regard to their actual out-of-pocket expenses. They may claim $2,400 of 
qualifying expenses for their own children under 16 months of age. For childr~n from 16 months 
to seven years of age, they may claim the amount they charge to care for children of the same 
age. They may not claim the credit for their own children over age seven under this provision. 

Beginning in 1994 the Minnesota dependent care credit includes a special young-child 
credit. The young-child credit allows married joint filers with a child under age one to claim a 
credit, regardless of whether they incurred dependent care expenses. These couples will be 
deemed to have paid the maximum qualifying expenses of $2,400 for the child under one, and 
will calculate their credit for that child as though they had actually paid $2,400 in expenses. This 
will provide a credit to families in which one parent stays at home and to those in which both 
parents work but who incur no out-of-pocket child expenses. Families may not claim this credit 
and the regular credit for the same child. They also may not claim more than one young-child 
credit in any year, regardless of the number of children they have under age one. 

The dependent care credit is an entitlement; no limit is imposed on its funding. Unlike 
some direct spending programs for dependent-related expenses, no fixed dollar appropriation or 
spending limit applies to either the federal or state dependent care credits. Filers receive the full 
credits to which they are entitled under the credit formula. 
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People claim both the federal and state credits by filing the appropriate tax forms. 

At the federal level, taxpayers must file either form 1040 ("the long form") and Schedule 2441 or 
form 1040A ("the short form") and Schedule 2 to claim the dependent care credit. They may not 
file form 1040EZ if they wish to claim the credit. Taxpayers enter qualifying expenses on either 
Schedule 2441 or Schedule 2 and then look up the credit rate in a table keyed to income. Finally, 
the taxpayer calculates the credit amount by multiplying the credit rate by the qualifying 
expenses. 

At the state level, taxpayers must file form M-1 and also complete Schedule M-lCD to claim the 
Minnesota dependent care credit. They also must attach a copy of either federal Schedule 2441 
or Schedule 2 to their state tax return. Schedule M-1 CD requires taxpayers to fill in the various 
income items used in calculating the state credit phase-out. The state credit phase-out is based 
on a broad income measure that includes federal adjusted gross income, nontaxable Social 
Security benefits, deductible payments to retirement accounts, and welfare benefits. After adding 
up these income items, the taxpayer looks up the credit amount in a table keyed to income. 
Taxpayers then compare their state credit with the federal credit computed on Schedule 2441 or 
Schedule 2, and may claim the smaller of the two as a state credit. Special instructions are 
provided for taxpayers who claim the young-child credit or who operate a licensed family day 
care home and are claiming the credit for their own children. 

Taxpayers must keep records on the amount paid for dependent care expenses and provide 
information about the caregiver. Both the federal and state tax forms require taxpayers to 
report the name and taxpayer identification number of the caregiver. The federal forms also 
require the caregiver's address. Also, taxpayers should maintain records, such as receipts or 
canceled checks, of how much they paid for dependent care expenses throughout the year. 

People who have no state income tax liability must file a tax return to claim the dependent 
care credit as a refund. Individuals with incomes below the filing thresholds generally do not 
need to file tax returns. However, if they have qualifying dependent care expenses, they must do 
so to claim the refundable credit. Claimants must complete a Minnesota tax return and either a 
federal Schedule 2441 or Schedule 2. 
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Distribution of the Benefits of the Dependent Care Credit 

Just under 36,000 filers received $11.725 million in Minnesota dependent care credits in tax 
year 1999. Figure 2 shows the percentage of returns in each county that claimed the credit 
in 1999. 

Figure 2 
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Statewide, 1.5 percent of all returns claimed the dependent care credit in 1999. Roseau County 
filers were most likely to claim the credit (3 .3 percent of filers), and the credit was least likely to 
be claimed in Lake County (0.6 percent of filers). Residents of the seven-county metro area were 
somewhat less likely to claim the credit (1.3 percent of filers) than were taxpayers in the rest of 
the state (1. 7 percent of returns), perhaps because personal income .tends to be higher in the 
metro area. 
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The availability of pre-tax dependent care accounts may affect the percentage of taxpayers who 
claim dependent care credits, since taxpayers may either use a pre-tax account to pay dependent 
care expenses or claim the credit, but not both. Employers are not required to offer pre-tax 
accounts, and they are not available to the self-employed. A 1999 survey showed that 24 percent 
of Minnesota employers offered pre-tax accounts. 14 It is probably safe to assume that larger 
companies are more likely to offer the accounts, and that larger companies are more likely to be 
located in cities than in rural areas. Figure 2 also shows cities with populations over 10,000; all 
but Bemidji and Worthington are located in counties in which fewer than 2.2 percent of returns 
claimed the credit. Counties in which an above-average percentage of returns claimed the credit 
are, in contrast, more rural. 

The average dependent care credit claimed in 1999 was for $321. Figure 3 shows the 
average dependent care credit by county. 

Figure 3 
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Seven-county metro area recipients claimed a slightly higher credit on average than those in the 
rest of the state-$352 compared to $295. The highest average credit claimed in 1999 was $379 
in Ramsey County; the lowest was $205, in Lake County. The gap between the average credit in 
the metro area and in the rest of Minnesota has narrowed considerably since 1994, when the 
average was $355 in the metro compared to $255 in the rest of the state. The two have come 
closer together due almost entirely to an increase in the average for nonmetro Minnesota. The 
difference between the two parts of the state may reflect the greater availability of pre-tax 
accounts in the metro area, 15 as well as higher child care costs in the Twin Cities. The narrowing 
of the gap reflects increased child care costs in the nonmetro area, and also may indicate a greater 
availability of pre-tax accounts throughout Minnesota in 1999 compared to 1994.16 

Single parents claim more dependent care credits than do married parents and are more 
likely to claim the credit as a refund. 

An estimated 26,000 head of household filers claimed the dependent care credit jn 1999, 
compared to about 7,000 married couples. 17 Some married couples may choose to have one 
spouse work outside the home while the other cares for their children, making them ineligible for 
the credit. Two-earner married couples may pay for dependent care, but are also more likely to 
be income-ineligible than are single parents, simply by having two paychecks rather than one. 
Because of this, married couples are more likely to receive the credit as an offset to tax liability 
rather than a refund, while head of household filers are more likely to receive the credit as a 
refund. 
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Just over half of the $11.7 million in dependent care credits paid in 1999 went to offset tax 
liability-$5.88 million-with the remaining $5.84 million paid as refunds. 

Figure 4 shows that of the 35,900 credits claimed in 1999,just about half were taken as full or 
partial refunds of liability. About 23 percent of recipients had no liability at all and received the 
full credit amounts as a refund, 27 percent had some liability but qualified for a credit that 
resulted in a refund, and the remaining 50 percent had tax liability that exceeded the credit 
amount for which they qualified. 
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Figure 4 

Minnesota Dependent Care Credit 
Recipients by Refundability of Credit, 1999 
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The Minnesota dependent care credit targets its benefits to low- and moderate-income 
families. 

Figure 5 shows that over half of all Minnesota dependent care credits go to taxpayers with gross 
incomes less than $20,000, and just under half to those with incomes between $20,000 and 
$40,000. 18 In contrast, federal credits tend to go to higher income families ( e.g., about 60 percent 
of all federal credits go to those with incomes over $50,000, with over 34 percent going to those 
with incomes between $50,000 and $75,000). Two factors explain this divergence. First, the 
federal credit is not refundable. Families whose incomes are too low for them to owe income tax 
do not receive the credit. Nonrefundability explains why almost no one with gross income under 
$10,000 can claim a federal credit. In contrast, about 12 percent of the refundable Minnesota 
credits go to families with incomes less than $10,000. Second, the federal credit phases down to 
a minimum amount, while the Minnesota credit phases out entirely. This explains why no one 
with gross income above $40,000 receives a Minnesota dependent care credit, while almost 
three-quarters of all federal credits go to filers in this moderate-to-high income range. Of the 
estimated 132,000 federal credit recipients in Minnesota, about 103,000, or almost 78 percent are 
income-ineligible for the state credit. 

Figure 5 
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1. At first review one might conclude that the increase in the credit percentage and in the income level at 
which the phase-down begins would increase the benefits of the credit to low-income families. But 
EGTRRA 2001 also implemented a 10 percent tax rate and expanded the nonrefundable child credit, 
making it unlikely for low-income families to have liability available to be offset by the dependent care 
credit. 

2. Distribution between married and head of household filers estimated from the 1999 sample of income tax 
returns prepared by the Minnesota Department of Revenue. 

3. In addition, a standard deduction or itemized deductions for certain expenses (mortgage interest, charitable 
contributions, etc.) are allowed. 

4. Between 1954 and 1976, the federal income tax allowed an itemized deduction for dependent care 
expenses. As with any itemized deduction, taxpayers claiming the standard deduction were not allowed the 
dependent care credit deduction. Minnesota also allowed a deduction for this purpose from 1969 to 1976. 
The federal and Minnesota dependent care credits replaced these deductions. 

5. This "business expense" rationale apparently was the primary justification for enactment of the federal 
dependant care credit. For example, the Senate Committee Report that accompanied the legislation 
enacting the dependent care credit cited this as a main reason for the credit and as the justification for 
eliminating features of the itemized deduction which it replaced, such as denying the deduction to those 
claiming the standard deduction and limiting it to lower income individuals. 

Treating child care expenses as itemized deductions denies any beneficial tax recognition of such 
expenses to taxpayers who elect the standard deduction. The committee believes such expenses should 
be viewed as a cost of earning income for which all working taxpayers may make a claim ... 

The committee views qualified child care expenses as a cost of earning income and believes that an 
income ceiling on those entitled to the allowance has minimal revenue impact, if the allowance is in the 
form of credit. (Senate Rep. No. 94-938, 94 th Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in 1976 USCCAN 3565-66. 
The House Report contained essentially identical language.) 

6. A nondependent child may qualify, if the parent is divorced or separated, has custody, and has agreed not to 
claim the· child as a dependent, or the noncustodial parent can claim the child as a dependent. 

7. Five conditions must be satisfied to claim a person as a dependent: 
• the person must be a member of the taxpayer's household 
• the person must be a U.S. citizen or resident, or a resident of Canada or Mexico 
• the person may not file a married joint return 
• the person may not have gross income over the personal exemption amount-$3,000 in tax year 

2002--unless the person is the taxpayer's child and is under age 19 or age 24 and is a student 
• the taxpayer must provide over half of the person's support during the calendar year 

8. A full-time student with one dependent is deemed to have $200/month in earned income ($400/month for 
two or more dependents). 

9. Minnesota Department of Children, Families and Learning, CFL Announces Child Care Provider Rates and 
Registration Fees for 2000, June 21, 2000. Rates cited are the averages of 7 5th percentile rates for family 
childcare in metro and nonmetro Minnesota. 
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11. The Minnesota dependent care credit uses a broad measure of income that includes all income subject to the 
income tax plus most nontaxable cash income, such as welfare benefits, tax-exempt bond interest, workers' 
compensation benefits, and so forth. The measure does not include noncash income that is not subject to 
tax, such as employee fringe benefits, Medical Assistance, and food stamps. 

12 The federal child care credit equaled $500 per child in 2000 and previous years. It increased to $600 in 
2001 and will further increase to $700 in 2005, $800 in 2009, and $1,000 in 2010. 

13. The income at which the federal credit begins to phase down will increase from $10,000 to $15,000 in 2003 
under EGTRRA 2001. However, EGTRRA 2001 also implemented a new 10 percent rate bracket, and 
increased the nonrefundable child credit, which is calculated before the dependent care credit. Combining 
these changes with the annual adjustment for inflation of the standard deduction and the personal exemption 
results in a steady increase over time in the tax threshold, or income level at which a filer has liability. 
Increasing the income threshold for the dependent care credit phase down to $15,000 was not enough to 
catch up to the income at which most parents begin to have liability-$32,150 for a married family of four 
in 2003, and $19,100 for single parent of one. 

14. Employee Benefits Survey, Minnesota Department of Economic Security, September 1999. 

15. For the most part, parents must choose between a pre-tax account, if offered by their employer, and the 
dependent care credit. Generally, middle and upper income taxpayers receive a greater tax benefit from 
using a pre-tax account than from claiming the dependent care credit. Those with incomes in the credit 
phase-out range will tend to choose a pre-tax account if their employer offers one. This will tend to 
increase the average credit claimed by metro recipients, who are more likely have access to a pre-tax 
account. Metro residents with incomes in the phase-out range who would otherwise qualify for a small 
credit will choose a pre-tax account instead, with the credit more likely to be used by lower income parents 
who qualify for a higher credit because of the phase-out structure. Outside of the metropolitan area pre-tax 
accounts may be less available, leading parents in the credit phase-out range to claim relatively small credits 
and reduce the average credit for nonmetro Minnesota. 

16. Department of Revenue income tax samples from 1994 and 1999 ( the most recent year available) do not 
show a substantial increase in the use of pre-tax accounts. When the sample is projected to the population it 
shows the number of filers using pre-tax accounts increasing from 42,000 to 58,500 from 1994 to 1999, and 
the amount set aside increasing from about $124 million in 1994 to about $179 million in 1999. 

17. Distribution between married and head of household filers estimated from the 1999 sample of income tax 
returns prepared by the Minnesota Department of Revenue. 

18. Distribution of federal and state credits by income estimated using the 1999 sample of income tax returns 
prepared by the Minnesota Department of Revenue. 




