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The Minnesota Tax Handbook provides general information on
Minnesota state and local taxes.  Questions regarding the applica-
tion of a tax to the specific situation of an individual or a business
should be directed as follows:

Individual income tax and property tax refund
Minnesota Department of Revenue
Income Tax Division
Mail Station 5510
St. Paul, MN 55146-5510
(651) 296-3781 or 1-800-652-9094 (toll free)

Sales tax
Minnesota Department of Revenue
Mail Station 6340
St. Paul, MN 55146-6340
(651) 296-6181 or 1-800-657-3777 (toll free)

Corporate franchise (income) tax
Minnesota Department of Revenue
Mail Station 5100
St. Paul, MN 55146-5100
(651) 297-7000 or 1-800-366-2913 (toll free)

Hearing Impaired
TDD (651) 297-2196
Minnesota Relay Service 1-800-627-3529

(ask for 1-800-652-9094)

Information is also available from the Department of Revenue’s
web site at www.taxes.state.mn.us

Property tax
Questions for specific property should be directed to the county in
which the property is located.
Valuations and assessments: county assessor.
Tax rates and computation: county auditor.
Tax statement and payment: county treasurer.



MINNESOTA TAX HANDBOOK

A Profile of State and Local Taxes in Minnesota
2000 Edition

This handbook contains a summary of the state and local tax
system in Minnesota.  The first section provides a profile of each
state tax including tax base, rates, collection amounts, and legislative
history.  The second section profiles each local tax in a similar
manner.  The last section contains summary tables of state and
local tax collections.

The tax provisions include changes enacted in the 2000 legislative
session.

Please note:
•  collection amounts are net collections after refunds.
•  the history sections show major changes by the year

enacted, not the effective date.

The Minnesota Tax Handbook is available on the Department of
Revenue’s web site at www.taxes.state.mn.us

The Minnesota Tax Handbook may also be obtained by contacting:

Minnesota Department of Revenue
Tax Research Division
Mail Station 2230
St. Paul, MN 55146-2230
(651) 296-3425
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STATE TAXES

INCOME  AND  ESTATE  TAXES

INDIVIDUAL  lNCOME  TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 290.03

Tax Base:  Federal taxable income modified by state additions and
subtractions.

Rates and Taxable Income Brackets:  The income brackets are
adjusted annually for inflation.

Tax Year 2000
5.35% up to            7.05%          . 7.85% over

Married Joint $25,680 $25,681-$102,030 $102,030
Married Sep. $12,840 $12,841- $51,010 $51,010
Single $17,570 $17,571- $57,710 $57,710
Head of Hshld. $21,630 $21,631- $86,910 $86,910

Tax Year 2001
5.35% up to            7.05%          . 7.85% over

Married Joint $26,480 $26,481- 105,200 $105,200
Married Sep. $13,240 $13,241- 52,600 $52,600
Single $18,120 $18,121- 59,500 $59,500
Head of Hshld. $22,300 $22,301- 89,610 $89,610

Computation for tax year 2000:
Federal taxable income

plus: Minnesota additions, including:
— non-Minnesota state/municipal bond interest
— itemized deduction for state income taxes
— expenses deducted federally on income not

taxed by Minnesota
minus: Minnesota subtractions, including:

— U.S. bond interest
— dependent education expenses
— income of elderly and disabled (up to limits)
— payments by the self-employed for health

 insurance not deducted federally
— railroad retirement income

equals: Minnesota taxable income
times: graduated rates - 5.35%, 7.05%, and 7.85%
equals: Minnesota gross tax
plus: alternative minimum tax (6.4% of alternative

minimum taxable income) exceeding regular tax
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minus: nonrefundable credits, including:
— marriage credit for joint returns when both spouses

have earned, taxable pension, or taxable social
security income

— credit for income tax paid to other states
— alternative minimum tax carryover credit
— credit for long-term care insurance premiums
— credit equal to 80% of the corporate tax for

shareholders of banks electing federal S corporation
treatment

equals: tax liability
minus: refundable credits

— dependent care credit, up to $31,690 income
— working family credit (same eligibility as federal

earned income credit)
— K-12 education credit, up to $37,500 income

equals: net individual income tax payable

Special Provisions:
1. Taxpayers may assign $5 from general fund to political

parties or campaign funds.
2. Taxpayers may contribute $1 or more to the Minnesota

Nongame Wildlife Management Account by reducing their
refund or increasing their amount owed.

3. Reciprocity agreements exempt North Dakota, Wisconsin,
and Michigan residents from filing Minnesota returns on
wage and personal service income earned in this state.
Wisconsin is required to reimburse Minnesota for its net
revenue loss due to reciprocity each year.

4. In lieu of the regular income tax, nonresident entertainers pay
a tax equal to 2% of compensation received for entertainment
performed in Minnesota.

Revenue
Collections:   Income Tax  Reciprocity

F.Y. 1999 $5,305,177,000 $39,367,000
F.Y. 2000 $5,556,371,000 $46,475,000

Disposition:  State General Fund

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  An individual, trust, or estate with Minnesota
income which meets or exceeds the filing requirements.

Number of Taxpayers:  2.4 million returns filed annually.
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Due Dates:
1. Calendar year returns must be filed by April 15th.
2. Withholding of taxes on Minnesota earnings is required

of employers. Employers remit taxes withheld on a
semi-weekly, monthly, or quarterly basis.

3. Quarterly estimated tax payments for calendar year filers are
due the 15th of April, June, September, and the next January.

History of Major Changes
1933 — Enacted at graduated rates from 1% to 5%.
1937 — Rates increased; personal credits replaced exemptions.
1949 — Standard deduction of 10% to $500 maximum enacted.

— 5% surtax levied on the normal rate.
1951 — Additional personal credits enacted for blind persons

and age 65 and over.
1953 — Standard deduction maximum raised to $1,000.
1955 — Dependent education expense deduction enacted.
1957 — 5% veterans’ bonus surtax levied.
1959 — Rates increased.
1961 — Gross income redefined as federal adjusted gross

income with modifications.
— Withholding of income taxes imposed.

1967 — Rent credit and senior citizen credit enacted.
1971 — Combined return allowed for married-separate filers.

— Rates increased from 1.5%-12% to 1.6%-15%.
— Credits for pollution control equipment and nonpublic

school costs established.
— Senior citizen, rent, and personal credits increased.

1973 — Increased rent and senior citizen tax credits.
— Senior citizen property tax freeze credit enacted.

1974 — Low income and political contribution credits enacted.
— Nonpublic school credit held unconstitutional.

1975 — Additional personal credits for deaf persons.
— Rent and senior citizen credits replaced by income-

adjusted homestead credit (property tax refund).
— Low income credit levels increased.

1976 — Maximum education expense deduction increased .
1977 — Exemption for military pay repealed.

— Minimum tax on preference items imposed.
— Out-of-state income included in income.
— Dependent care credit established.
— Brackets with rates of 16%, 17%, and 18% added.
— Personal credits increased from $21 to $30 each.
— Public pension subtraction limited to $7,200.
— Senior citizen property tax freeze credit repealed.

1978 — 18% top rate repealed.
— Personal credits increased to $40.
— Homemaker and National Guard credits enacted.
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— Pension subtraction modified and extended to private
pensions.

— Low income credit levels and political contribution
credit increased.

1979 — Personal credits increased; indexed after 1980;
additional credits for quadriplegic persons.

— Maximum standard deduction increased to $2,000;
indexed after 1980.

— Low income credit levels increased.
— Income tax brackets indexed.
— 17% top rate repealed.
— Pension subtraction increased to $10,000.
— National Guard credit repealed. Subtraction of military

pay reinstated.
— Political contribution credit and property tax refund

increased.  Credits enacted for pollution control and
renewable energy expenditures.

1980 — Pension subtraction increased to $11,000.
— Low income credit levels increased.
— Dependent care credit increased.

1981 — Federal tax deduction changed to accrual basis.
— Taxable net income adjustment factor adopted.
— Capital gains exclusion of 60% enacted.
— Surtax of 7% enacted.
— Property tax refund for renters under age 65 made a

separate payment instead of an income tax credit.
1982 — Temporary surtax increased to 10%.

— Property tax refund for senior citizens made a separate
payment instead of an income tax credit.

1983 — Temporary surtax of 10% extended.
— Repealed subtraction for investment tax credit.
— Dependent care credit amounts increased.
— Pollution control credits repealed.
— Equity investment credit enacted.

1984 — Repealed 10% surtax.
— Expanded pension income subtraction.
— Increased maximum education expense deduction.
— Pollution control credits reinstated.
— Credits enacted for conservation tillage equipment and

resource recovery equipment.
— Computation of tax for nonresidents changed to

apportionment of total tax.
1985 — Required the election of married persons to file jointly

or separately to be the same as the federal. Established
a different rate schedule for married joint.  Other
provisions changed to be based on the couple’s joint
income.
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— Tax rates lowered; deductibility of federal income tax an
option (higher rates used when federal tax is deducted).

— Eliminated additions for the federal deduction for
two-earner married couples, contributions to an
individual retirement account, simplified employee
plan, or Keogh plan, and the farm loss modification.

— Eliminated the subtraction for social security benefits.
— Modified the subtraction for pension income and

restricted it to elderly and disabled persons.
— Taxable net income adjustment factor repealed.
— Repealed these credits: low income; homemaker;

residential energy; resource recovery equipment;
pollution control; conservation tillage; and equity
investment.

— Replaced minimum tax with alternative minimum tax.
1987 — Changed the starting point of the tax from federal

adjusted gross income to federal taxable income,
thereby adopting the federal standard deduction,
itemized deductions, and personal exemptions.

— Adopted changes made by the federal Tax Reform Act
of 1986, including repeal of capital gains exclusion.

— Eliminated the option to deduct federal income taxes.
— Tax rates changed.  Number of brackets reduced to four

for 1987 and two for 1988.   Schedule added for head
of household.

— Additional tax equal to 10% of the federal 5% surtax.
— Increased alternative minimum tax rate from 4% to 6%.
— Repealed: the personal credits and the Minnesota

itemized and standard deductions (replaced by federal
provisions); political contribution credit; subtractions
including pension income, military pay, and
unemployment compensation.

— Enacted a credit for elderly and disabled persons equal
to 40% of the federal credit.

1988 — Rate schedules and surtax modified.
— Subtraction enacted for income of the elderly and

disabled, up to a maximum amount based on income.
— Elderly and disabled persons credit repealed.

1989 — Dependent care credit phase-out modified; income
levels indexed, beginning in 1991.

— Alternative minimum tax credit enacted.
— Nonresident entertainer tax enacted.

1991 — Top rate kept at 8.5% rather than going down to 8%
above specified income thresholds.

— Alternative minimum tax rate increased to 7%.
— Federal changes adopted include the phaseout of the

personal exemptions and the limitation of itemized
deductions for higher-income taxpayers.
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— Working family credit enacted equal to 10% of the
federal earned income credit.

1992 — Full deduction allowed for self-employed health
insurance premiums.

1993 — Working family credit increased from 10% to 15% of
the federal earned income credit.

1994 — Adopted federal changes that increased the taxable
portion of social security, expanded the earned income
credit, and decreased the deductible portion of business
meals and entertainment expenses.

— Elderly subtraction base amounts and income thresh-
olds increased; minimum subtraction added for increase
in taxable social security benefits for 1994 to 1996.

1997 — Refundable credit enacted for 1997 only equal to 20%
of property taxes paid by homeowners and renters.

— Dependent education expense deduction extended to
nonitemizers and to expenses for tutoring and summer
school, also computer and educational software up to
$200 per family.  Maximum deduction increased.
Effective tax year 1998.

— Refundable credit enacted equal to education expenses
up to $1,000 per child, $2,000 per family, for families
with income of $33,500 or less, effective tax year 1998.
Expenses same as for the deduction except for school
tuition.

— Working family credit increased from 15% to 25% of
the federal earned income credit for taxpayers with
children, effective tax year 1998.

— Nonrefundable credit enacted for increases in cabin
property taxes for 1998 and 1999.

1998 — Refundable credit enacted for 1998 only equal to 20%
of property taxes paid by homeowners and renters,
with a maximum credit of $1,500.

— Working family credit decoupled from the federal
earned income credit, increased for some filers.

— Deduction disallowed for expenses related to income
exempt from Minnesota tax.

— Adopted federal provisions of Roth and education
IRAs, expansion of deductible IRAs, capital gain
exclusion for home sales, and deduction of student loan
interest.

— Shareholders of S corporation banks allowed to subtract
the federal tax on flow-through bank income.

1999 — Rates reduced from 6%, 8%, and 8.5% to 5.5%, 7.25%,
and 8%.

— Alternative minimum tax rate reduced from 7% to
6.5%.
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— Credit enacted for married-joint filers if both spouses
have earned income to address the “marriage penalty”
in the tax brackets.

— Working family credit increased for taxpayers with
children.

— Subtraction enacted for nonitemizers equal to 50% of
charitable contributions over $500.

— Income limit for the education credit increased to
$37,500 and the maximum credit phased out for income
from $33,500 to $37,500.

— Allow all remaining subtractions to be taken in tax year
2000 which are due to additions made in the early
1980s for IRAs, Keogh plans, public pension plans,
and ACRS.

— Conform to federal S corporation treatment for
shareholders of electing banks.  Corporate level tax
retained, but shareholders allowed credit equal to 80%
of the corporate tax.

2000 — Rates reduced from 5.5%, 7.25%, and 8% to 5.35%,
7.05%, and 7.85%.

— Alternative minimum tax rate reduced from 6.5% to
6.4%.

— Working family credit increased.
— Marriage credit modified to include taxable pension and

social security income as earned income.
— Credit enacted equal to 30% of expense to provide

transit passes to employees for use in Minnesota.
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Comparison With Other States - Tax Year 2000

California Illinois Iowa Michigan MINNESOTA New York North Dakotaa Wisconsin
Federal Tax Deduction No No Yes No No No Yes No
Standard Deduction
  Single $2,811 $1,470 $4,400b $7,500 $4,440b $7,200c

  Joint 5,622 3,630 7,350b 13,000 7,350b 12,970c

  Married Separate 2,811 1,470 3,675b 6,500 3,675b 6,160c

Personal Exemptions/Credits
  Single $75* $2,000 $40* $2,900 $2,800 0  $2,800 $600e

  Joint 150* 4,000 80* 5,800 5,600 0 5,600d 1,200e

  Dependent 285* 2,000 40* 2,900 2,800 1,000  2,800 600*
Rates 1% to 9.3% 3% on 0.36% to 8.98% 4.2% on 5.35% to 7.85% 4% to 6.85% 2.67% to 12% 4.73% to 6.75

on income over taxable on income over taxable on income over on income over on income over on income ov
 $35,826 net income $52,290 income $57,710 single $20,000 single, $50,000 $116,890 sing

$102,030 joint $40,000 joint $155,850 joi
Indexing brackets, credits, standard deduction

standard deduction brackets brackets

South Dakota and Texas do not impose personal income taxes
* Credits.  All other are exemptions.
a. Amounts shown applicable to long form only.  On short form which is used by 95% of the taxpayers, liability is 14% of adjusted federal liability.
b. Same as federal.  Higher amounts for the elderly and blind.
c. Maximums decline to zero as income increases: from $10,380 to $70,380 single; $14,570 to $80,150 married-joint; $6,920 to $38,070 married-separate.
d. North Dakota allows an additional $300 exemption if filing status is married filing joint, head of household, or surviving spouse with dependent child.
e. Wisconsin allows a $250 credit for taxpayer (and spouse on joint return) if age 65 or older.  Credit phased out above income limits.
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CORPORATION FRANCHISE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 290.02

Tax Base:  Minnesota taxable net income of the corporation.
Domestic unitary reporting method is used.

Rate:  9.8%

Major Exemptions:
· Charitable, religious, educational, and other organizations exempt

under Subchapter F of the Internal Revenue Code (unrelated
business income is taxed)

· Credit unions
· Mining subject to the occupation tax
· Insurance companies domiciled in retaliatory states
· Mutual property and casualty insurance companies with assets

less than $1.6 billion as of 12/31/89

Computation:
Federal taxable income

plus: Minnesota additions; including:
— state, local, or foreign income taxes deducted

federally
— federally-exempt interest
— net operating loss deducted federally
— federal dividend received deduction
— losses from mining subject to occupation tax
— federal capital loss deduction
— federal charitable contribution deduction
— exempt foreign trade income of a foreign sales

corporation
— federal percentage depletion deduction
— deemed dividends from foreign operating corpora-

tions
minus: Minnesota subtractions; including:

— foreign dividend gross-up
— salary expenses not deducted federally due to federal

jobs or Indian employment credits
— capital loss deduction with no carrybacks
— interest and expenses on income that is exempt

federally but taxed by the state
— cost depletion for mines, oil and gas wells, other

natural deposits, and timber
— 80% of foreign source royalties, fees, etc., received

within unitary group
— income or gains from mining subject to the occupa-

tion tax
— research expenses disallowed federally due to

claiming the federal credit
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plus or modifications to the federal accelerated cost
minus: recovery system
equals: net income
times: apportionment factor

— weighted factor of 15% of property ratio, 15% of
payroll ratio, and 70% of sales ratio (12.5%, 12.5%,
and 75%, effective 1/1/01)

— under certain conditions, separate accounting or
single sales factor can be used

equals: taxable net income
minus: Minnesota deductions

— net operating loss
— dividend received deduction
— Minnesota charitable contributions

equals: Minnesota taxable income
times: tax rate of 9.8%
equals: gross tax
minus: nonrefundable credits

— research and development credit
— alternative minimum tax carryover credit
— job training program credit
— premiums tax credit for insurance companies
— guaranty association assessments for insurance

companies
— employer transit pass credit

plus: — alternative minimum tax (5.8% of alternative
minimum taxable income) exceeding regular tax

— minimum fee*
equals: tax liability
minus: refundable enterprise zone credits
equals: net corporate tax payable

* The minimum fee is in addition to the regular or alternative
minimum tax and is determined by the sum of the corporation’s
Minnesota property, payroll, and sales:

Total Minnesota Minimum
Property, Payroll and Sales       Fee     .
Less than $   500,000 $   0
$ 500,000 -  999,999 100
1,000,000 - 4,999,999 300
5,000,000 - 9,999,999 1,000

10,000,000 - 19,999,999 2,000
20,000,000 or more 5,000

Special Provision:  A corporation may contribute $1 or more to
the Minnesota Nongame Management Account by reducing its
refund or increasing its amount owed.
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Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $777,492,000

F.Y. 2000 $800,129,000

Disposition:  State General Fund

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  Domestic and foreign corporations and financial
institutions, including national and state banks, which have nexus
in Minnesota.

Number of Taxpayers:  52,000 returns filed annually.

Due Dates:  Quarterly payments of estimated tax due by 15th day
of 3rd, 6th, 9th, and 12th months of the tax year.   Return is due
the 15th day of 3rd month after tax year, with a 7-month extension
available.

History of Major Changes
1933 — Enacted with rates graduated from 1% to 5%, and a

specific credit against income of $1,000.
1937 — 7% flat rate adopted; 6% rate after 1938.

— Property/payroll credit enacted.
1939 — Manufacturers given option of weighted apportionment.
1941 — Bank excise tax enacted at a rate of 8%.
1947 — Specific credit reduced to $500; $10 minimum tax.
1949 — 5% special surtax added; additional $5 fee imposed.
1953 — Apportionment option extended to all firms.
1955 — 1% surtax on taxable income added.
1957 — Property/payroll credit repealed.
1959 — For corporations 7.5% tax rate and 1.8% additional levy

enacted (for banks, 9.5%  and 1.9%).
1961 — 10% surtax added.
1967 — Rate increased to 11.33% for corporations and 13.64%

for banks.
1969 — Pollution control credit enacted.
1971 — Federal tax deduction eliminated.

— Rate increased to 12% for corporations.
— Feedlot pollution control credit enacted; both pollution

control credits set to expire after 1976.
1973 — Minimum tax increased to $100.

— Destination sales basis adopted for apportionment.
— Bank rate reduced to 12%.

1977 — Minimum preference tax adopted.
1979 — Pollution control equipment credit reinstated.

— Energy credit adopted.
1980 — $100 minimum tax and $500 credit repealed.
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1981 — Rate reduced to 9% (6% after 1982) on first $25,000 of
taxable income.

— Credit for increasing research activities enacted.
— Unitary method of taxation enacted.
— 60% capital gain exclusion allowed.

1982 — Research credit changed to 12.5% of qualifying expenses
(6.25% of expenses over $2 million).

1983 — Pollution control credits repealed.
— Eliminated deduction for income taxes paid to other

states.
— Enacted these credits:  technology transfer; small

business assistance office; equity investment; and
enterprise zone.

1984 — Exempted foreign source dividends and certain foreign
source royalties.

— Pollution control credits reinstated and expanded.
— Minimum preference tax and energy credit repealed.

1985 — Repealed these credits: pollution control; resource
recovery equipment; equity investment; and
conservation tillage.

1987 — Corporate income tax and bank excise tax replaced by a
corporate franchise tax.

— Rate reduced to 9.5%.
— Adopted federal taxable income as the starting point.
— Eliminated the 60% capital gains exclusion.
— Adopted federal Tax Reform Act of 1986 changes.
— Alternative minimum tax of one mill times the Minne-

sota property, payroll, and sales factors for tax years
1987, 1988, and 1989.  Replaced by minimum tax on
preference items in 1990.

— Eliminated arithmetic average option for apportionment.
— Reduced dividend received deduction and foreign source

royalty deduction.
— Repealed credits for technology transfer to small

business and contributions to small business assistance
offices.

— Research and development credit percentages reduced.
1988 — Dividend received deduction changed.

— Deduction for 35% of foreign royalties repealed.
— Deduction enacted for foreign source income (royalties,

fees, and other like income) of foreign operating
corporations of 50% for 1989 and 1990 and 80% for
1991 and after.

1989 — Unrelated business income tax imposed on exempt
organizations.

— Alternative minimum tax of 7% enacted.
— Tax on insurance companies based on current Internal

Revenue Code rather than 1936 Federal Revenue Act.
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— Exemptions enacted for: insurance companies domiciled
in retaliatory states; town and farmers’ mutual insurance
companies; and mutual property and casualty companies
with total assets less than $1.6 billion.

— Additional 20% dividend received deduction allowed in
certain situations.

1990 — Rate increased from 9.5% to 9.8%; alternative minimum
tax rate reduced from 7% to 5.8%.

— Minimum fee enacted of from $0 to $5,000 based on
Minnesota property, payroll, and sales of C
corporations, S corporations, and partnerships.

1992 — Limited liability companies treated as partnerships.
1994 — Adopted changes made by the federal Omnibus Budget

Reconciliation Act of 1993.
— Guaranty association assessments credit enacted for

insurance companies.
1997 — Limited job training credit enacted.
1998 — Small corporations exempted from alternative minimum

tax.
1999 — Sales factor in the apportionment formula increased

from 70% to 75%; property and payroll factors each
reduced from 15% to 12.5%, effective 1/1/01.

— Credit for tax paid to another state allowed in certain
situations.

2000 — Allow all remaining depreciation modifications to be
taken in tax year 2001.

— Credit enacted equal to 30% of expense to provide
transit passes to employees for use in Minnesota.

Comparison With Other States — Tax Year 2000

Income/Franchise Tax Rates
California 8.84% of net income; minimum tax of $800.

Banks:  10.84%; minimum tax of $800.
Alternative minimum tax rate is 6.65%.

Illinois 4.8% of net income plus additional 2.5% tax on
net income for personal property tax replace-
ment.  Franchise tax:  0.1% on certain capital
and surplus.  Banks:  value of shares subject to
local property tax rates.

Iowa 6% on first $25,000; 8% next $75,000; 10%
next $150,000; 12% on net income over
$250,000.  Banks: 5% of net income.  A
minimum tax may apply.

Michigan Single business tax:  2.1% of adjusted tax base



14

that includes business income, compensation
paid employees, interest payments, and
depreciation of tangible assets.  Alternative tax
for small businesses:  2% of adjusted business
income.  Local corporate income tax may be
imposed.

MINNESOTA 9.8%.  Alternative minimum tax at rate of 5.8%.
Plus minimum fee of up to $5,000 based on
Minnesota property, payroll, and sales.

New York 8% of net income, or 0.178% of capital, or the
greater from $100 to $1500 depending on the
firm’s gross payroll.  The small business rate is
7.5%.   Surcharge on all business tax liabilities in
the Metropolitan Transit Authority District.
Additional tax on subsidiary capital of .9 mill
per dollar.  Alternative minimum tax of 2.5% of
alternative net income using only a
double-weighted receipts factor.  Banks:  8.5%
on net income, $250, 3% on alternative income,
or asset-based tax at rate ranging from 1/50 to 1/
10 of one mill, whichever is greatest.

North Dakota 3% on first $3,000; 4.5% next $5,000; 6% next
$12,000; 7.5% next $10,000; 9% next $20,000;
10.5% of net income over $50,000.  Banks:  7%
of net income (includes 2% privilege tax).

South Dakota No corporate income tax.  Banks:  6% of net
income.

Texas No tax on income.  Franchise tax of 0.25% of
capital or 4.5% of net taxable earned surplus,
whichever is higher.

Wisconsin 7.9% of net income.  Recycling surcharge of 3%
of gross tax, with a minimum of $25 and a
maximum of $9,800, imposed on corporations
with gross receipts exceeding $4 million.

ESTATE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 291.01



15

Tax Base:  Maximum credit allowed against the federal estate tax
for state death taxes.

Computation:
Federal maximum credit for state death taxes

times: proportion of Minnesota gross estate to federal gross
estate

equals: estate tax payable

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $58,132,000

F.Y. 2000 $82,516,000

Disposition:  State General Fund

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Personal representative submits a return for the estate.
Return required if federal gross estate exceeds $675,000 in 2000
and 2001.

Number of Taxpayers: 2,000 returns filed annually.

Due Dates: Tax due within nine months after death.  Under certain
conditions, installment payments may be elected.

History of Major Changes
1905 — Inheritance tax adopted, with rates from 1.5% on

inheritances less than $50,000 to 5% over $100,000.
1911 — Exemptions provided ranging from $10,000 for spouse

to $100 for unrelated persons.
— Rates from 1% on inheritances less than $15,000 to 20%

on amounts over $100,000 adopted, depending on the
relationship of the heir to the decedent.

1937 — Gift tax enacted.
— Rate increased from a maximum of 20% to 60%, not

greater than 35% of value of property.
1959 — Rates changed and exemptions increased.
1976 — Homestead exemption increased from $30,000 to

$45,000.
— Optional marital exemption of 50% of the gross estate to

$250,000 adopted.  Marital exemption increased to
$60,000 and equalized between spouses.

— Exemption for minor child increased from $15,000 to
$30,000.

1979 — Inheritance and gift tax repealed and replaced with estate
tax with graduated rates from 7% to 12% of Minnesota
taxable estate, but tax not less than the federal credit for



16

*An inheritance tax is based upon the amount of property
transferred to each beneficiary and the relationship of the benefi-
ciary to the decedent; an estate tax is based on the value of the
estate being transferred.

Other Transfer Taxes:
Generation-skipping transfer tax imposed by California, Illinois,
Iowa, Michigan, New York, and Texas.

California
Illinois
Michigan
MINNESOTA
New York
North Dakota
Texas
Wisconsin

} Tax equals the state’s portion of the
maximum federal credit for state
death taxes allowed against federal
estate tax (commonly referred to as
the “pick-up tax”).

Iowa
South Dakota

Inheritance tax*  plus an estate tax to
absorb the maximum federal credit.

state death taxes.
1981 — Conformed to federal changes increasing minimum filing

requirements and providing unlimited marital deduction.
1985 — Eliminated the Minnesota rate schedule tax;  tax equal to

the Minnesota portion of the federal estate tax credit for
state taxes.

1998 — Adopted 1997 federal changes, including the phased-in
increase in filing requirements from $600,000 to $1
million in 2006.

Comparison With Other States — 2000

SALES AND EXCISE TAXES
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GENERAL SALES AND USE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 297A.02 and 297A.14

Tax Base:  Sales price of tangible personal property and specified
taxable services sold or used in Minnesota.

Rates:
General 6.5%
Liquor and beer, both on-sale and off-sale 9.0%

Additional Tax:   6.2% is imposed on the rental of a car, van, or
pickup truck for less than 29 days.

Major Exemptions:  Sales for resale in the course of business;
materials used in agricultural or industrial production;  food
products (but not prepared meals and drinks, candy, gum, and soft
drinks), clothing; prescribed drugs and medicines; analgesics;  fuels
taxed under the motor fuels excise tax;  motor vehicles subject to
the motor vehicle sales tax; residential heating fuels and water
services; certain capital equipment; and farm machinery.

Revenue
Collections: Sales and Use Tax* Motor Vehicle Rental
F.Y. 1999 $3,396,528,000 $11,075,000
F.Y. 2000 $3,715,267,000 $12,123,000

*Before reduction of $1.3 billion for the rebate in F.Y. 1999 and
 $635.6 million for the rebate in F.Y. 2000.

Disposition:  State General Fund

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  Purchasers or users of taxable goods and services.
Holders of  sales and use tax permits collect and remit the tax.
Holders of direct pay permits remit the tax directly.

Number of Taxpayers:  230,000 permit holders.

Due Dates:  For monthly returns, 20th day of the following month.
Accelerated payment of 75% of June liability and different due
dates apply for filers required to pay by electronic funds transfer.
For quarterly returns, 20th of the month following the sales quarter.
For annual returns, February 5th, except  individual use tax is due
on April 15th.

History of Major Changes
1967 — Sales tax enacted at 3% rate.
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1971 — Rate increased to 4%.
— Motor vehicles exempted from the sales tax and made

subject to the motor vehicle excise tax.
1973 — Accessory tools exempted.
1978 — Residential heating fuel exempted.
1979 — Residential water service exempted.
1981 — Rate temporarily increased from 4% to 5%, except for

farm machinery.
— Exemption for cigarettes repealed.
— June accelerated payment enacted.

1982 — Exemptions for candy and soft drinks repealed.
— Cable TV services subjected to tax.
— Additional 5% tax imposed on on-sale liquor.
— Rate temporarily increased to 6%.

1983 — Rate permanently changed to 6%.
— Additional tax on on-sale liquor reduced to 2.5% and

extended to off-sale liquor.
— Exempted: race horses; paper and ink used to produce

publications; and construction materials and equipment
used in enterprise zones.

— Over-the-counter sales of magazines made taxable.
1984 — Rate reduced to 4% on capital equipment for new or

expanding manufacturing facilities and on special tooling.
— Mobile homes taxed at 65% of sales price.

1985 — Rate for farm machinery reduced to 2%.
— Exempted:  repair and replacement parts for farm

machinery; ticket sales and admissions to elementary and
secondary school games and activities; and certain sales
by nonprofit organizations, including fundraising.

— Repealed exemption for central office telephone
equipment.

1987 — Removed exemptions for:  nonprescribed drugs and
medicine; state government purchases; interstate
telephone service; railroad rolling stock; most club dues;
race horses; meals sold in hospital cafeterias; admission
to public recreational areas; and admission to health
clubs, tanning facilities, and similar places.

— Sales tax extended to:  parking; motor vehicle cleaning
and maintenance (not repair); pet grooming; laundry and
dry cleaning; building and residential cleaning,
maintenance, and exterminating; detective agencies,
security, burglar and fire alarm, and armored car services;
and lawn, garden, tree, and shrub services.

— Repealed reduction in sales price for federal taxes.
1988 — Exemptions enacted for: nonprescribed analgesics; and

sales to the University of Minnesota, state universities,
community colleges, technical institutes, state academies,
and the University of Minnesota hospitals.
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1989 — Sales tax extended to garbage collection and telephone
access charges imposed by hotels.

— Exemption enacted for capital equipment in new or
expanding industries (previously taxed at 4%).

— Exemption repealed for motor vehicles leased by local
governments and nonprofit organizations.

1991 — Rate temporarily increased from 6% to 6.5%
(7/1-12/31/91).  Local option sales tax for counties of
0.5% enacted (1/1/92).

— Isolated or occasional sale exemption restricted for
business property.

— Tax extended to private communications services and
pet boarding.

— Tax of $7.50 imposed on the rental of a car, van, or
pickup truck for less than 29 days.

1992 — Exemption for local governments repealed,  except for
school districts, hospitals, and nursing homes, and
certain purchases by libraries.

— Exemptions enacted for: large ships; photovoltaic
devices;  and wind energy conversion systems.

1994 — Exemptions enacted for: special tooling (previously
taxed at 4.5%); horses, other than racehorses; and used
farm machinery (7/1/94-6/30/95).

— Rate on replacement capital equipment reduced from
6.5% to 5.5% and phased down to 2%.

— Local option tax of 0.5% repealed; state rate increased by
0.5% (7/1/96).

— Additional tax on motor vehicle rentals changed to an
additional 6.2% on the rental charge.

1995 — Exemptions enacted for racehorses and used farm
machinery (7/1/95 - 6/30/96).

1996 — Exemption enacted for used farm machinery
(7/1/96-6/30/97).

— Individual purchases for personal use of $770 or less
exempted from use tax (1/1/97).

1997 — Exemptions enacted for replacement capital equipment,
previously taxed at a reduced rate (7/1/98) and materials
used in providing taxable services (7/1/99).

— Used farm machinery exemption made permanent.
1998 — Tax on new farm machinery phased out.
1999 — One-time sales tax rebate of $1.3 billion paid to

individuals equal to 71.55% of estimated sales tax paid
by size of income for 1997.

— Exempted television commercials and tangible personal
property used to produce them.

— Exempted items given as prizes in games of skill or
chance at events lasting fewer than six days.
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— Exempted nonprofit outpatient surgical centers.
2000 — One-time sales tax rebate of $635.6 million paid to

individuals equal to 29.7% of estimated sales tax paid
by size of income for 1998.

— Exemptions enacted for: state agency libraries; patent,
trademark, and copyright drawings; ski area machinery
and equipment; maple harvesting equipment and
supplies; and machinery and equipment used to
produce trees and shrubs.

— Beginning in June 2002, the accelerated payment is
reduced from 75% to 62%.

Comparison With Other States — 2000
Local Option

Rate Sales Tax
California 7.25%a Yes
Illinois 6.25% Yes
lowa 5.0% Yesb

Michigan 6.0%c No
MINNESOTA 6.5%d No
New York 4.0%e Yes
North Dakota 5.0%f Yes
South Dakota 4.0% Yes
Texas 6.25% Yes
Wisconsin 5.0% Yesg

a. Includes 1.25% state-administered sales and use tax imposed in
every county.  Additionally, one or more district taxes of
0.125% to 0.50% may apply.

b. Local sales tax may be imposed based on voter approval by
schools and/or local governments.  The rate is up to 1% per
taxing jurisdiction.

c Rate is 4% for residential electricity and heating fuels.
d. Rate is 9% for liquor and beer.  (See Local Tax Section for

specially-authorized taxes.)
e. Additional 0.25% rate imposed in some counties for the

Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District.
f. 3% on new farm machinery and mobile homes; 1.5% on used

farm machinery and repair parts; 7% on alcoholic beverages.
g. Used in 53 of 72 counties.  Stadium tax of 0.1% imposed in 5

counties, and a stadium tax of 0.5% imposed in one county.

Of the comparison states, only South Dakota does not exempt
food products.  Prescription drugs are also generally exempted in
these states.  Only Minnesota exempts clothing.
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MOTOR VEHICLE SALES TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297B.02

Tax Base:  Purchase price less value of trade-in vehicle of any
motor vehicle required to be registered in Minnesota.

Rate:  6.5%.

Flat taxes in lieu of the 6.5% tax:

• $10 for passenger cars ten years or older with value of less
than $3,000;

• $90 for collector vehicles.

Credit: Tax paid to other states, under certain conditions.

Major Exemptions:  Purchases for resale by dealers; transfers by
inheritance: and gratuitous transfers between individuals and
between joint owners.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $478,088,000

F.Y. 2000 $540,300,000

Disposition:  State General Fund.  (Effective 7/1/02, 32% to
Highway User Tax Distribution Fund).

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Who Pays:  Purchasers of motor vehicles required to be registered
in Minnesota.

Number of Taxpayers:  About 1.6 million vehicles are transferred
ownership annually.

Due Date: When ownership is transferred.

History of Major Changes
1971 — Enacted at a rate of 3%.  Rate increased from 3% to 4%

in 1971 special session.
1981 — Rate temporarily increased from 4% to 5%.
1983 — Rate increased  to 6%.

— Purchase price reduced by federal excise taxes.
1985 — Enacted a $10 tax on passenger cars at least ten years old

in lieu of the 6% tax.
1987 — Exemptions repealed for purchases by nonprofit

organizations and state and local governments.
1988 — Flat tax of $90 on collector vehicles enacted in lieu of the

6% tax.
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1991 — Rate temporarily increased from 6% to 6.5%
(7/1-12/31/91).  Local option tax for counties of 0.5%
enacted (1/1/92).

1994 — Local option tax of 0.5% repealed; state rate increased by
0.5% (7/1/96).

1997 — Exemption enacted for vehicles donated to a 501(c)(3)
organization.

1998 — Exemptions enacted for ready-mix concrete trucks and
town purchases of road maintenance vehicles.

2000 — Expanded exemption for gifts between family members
to include any gifts between individuals.

— Exempted large vans, buses, and trucks purchased by a
charitable organization for specified purposes.

Comparison With Other States - 2000
Rate

California* 7.25%-8.5%a

Illinois* 6.25%
lowa* 5.0%
Michigan* 6.0%
MINNESOTA 6.5%
New York* 4.0%b

North Dakota 5.0%
South Dakota 3.0%
Texas 6.25%
Wisconsin* 5.0%c

* Motor vehicles in these states are taxed under the general sales
and use tax.

a. Including local taxes, which vary by county.
b. Additional 0.25% rate imposed in certain counties for the

benefit of the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation
District.

c. Local tax of 0.5% imposed in 53 of 72 counties.
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MOTOR FUELS EXCISE TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 296A.07, 296A.08, and 296A.09

Tax Base:  Fuels used in highway vehicles, aircraft, boats,
snowmobiles, and all terrain vehicles.

Rates:
Highway Fuels:

Ethanol and gasoline blend-14.2¢ per gallon
Methanol and gasoline blend-11.4¢ per gallon
All other gasoline-20¢ per gallon
Liquefied petroleum gas or propane-15¢ per gallon
Liquefied natural gas-12¢ per gallon
Compressed natural gas-$1.739 per thousand cubic feet
All other special fuel (diesel)-20¢ per gallon

Aviation Fuels:  5¢ per gallon, reduced by refund based on annual
purchases.

Annual Gallons Rate After Refund
Up to 50,000 5.0¢

50,001-150,000 2.0¢
150,001-200,000 1.0¢

Over 200,000 0.5¢

Exemption:  Transit systems receiving state assistance.

Special Provision:  Motor carriers pay the road tax of 20¢ per
gallon for gasoline or special fuel used in Minnesota.

Revenue
Collections: Highway Fuels Aviation Fuels

F.Y. 1999 $576,685,000 $3,338,000
F.Y. 2000 $602,210,000 $3,939,000

Disposition:
Aviation Fuels — State Airports Fund.
Highway Fuels

Water Recreation Account 1.5%
Snowmobile Trails and Enforcement Account 0.75%
All-Terrain Vehicle Account 0.15%
Off-Road Vehicle Account 0.164%
Off-Highway Motorcycle Account 0.046%
Highway User Tax Distribution Fund Balance
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Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue.

Who Pays:  In general, distributors collect and remit the tax; in
some cases, it is the special fuel dealer or bulk purchaser.

Number of Taxpayers: About 600 distributors.

Payment Dates:  23rd day of month following purchase.

History of Major Changes
1925 — Enacted at 2¢ per gallon on highway fuel.
1929 — Increased to 3¢ per gallon.
1937 — Temporary increase to 4¢ per gallon.
1941 — Rate of 4¢ made permanent.
1945 — Aviation fuel tax enacted at 4¢ per gallon
1949 — Increased to 5¢ per gallon on highway fuel.
1963 — Increased to 6¢ per gallon.
1967 — Increased to 7¢ per gallon.
1975 — Increased to 9¢ per gallon.
1980 — Increased to 11¢ per gallon.

— Enacted 2¢ per gallon rate reduction for gasohol.
1981 — Increased to 13¢ per gallon.
1983 — Increased to 16¢ per gallon and to 17¢ (1984).

— Rate reduction for gasohol increased to 4¢.
— Enacted 8¢ per gallon rate reduction for gasohol sold to

governments and schools.
— Aviation fuel rate increased from 4¢ to 5¢.

1985 — Replaced the reduced rates for gasohol with credits to
distributors.

— Enacted an annual user permit fee on vehicles using
compressed natural gas.

1986 — Reduced the amount of the credits to distributors for
fuel-grade alcohol used to produce gasohol.

1988 — Increased from 17¢ to 20¢ per gallon, (5/1/88).
— Annual permit fees increased, extended to propane.

1991 — Annual permit fees extended to all alternate fuels.
1993 — Alternate fuel permit repealed.
1994 — Alternate fuel permit reenacted.

— Gasohol credit phased out.
1995 — Alternate fuel permit repealed and replaced by differing

rates on LPG, LNG, and CNG.
1996 — Gasohol credit for governments and schools phased out

from 80¢ to zero on 10/1/99.
1998 — Credit for rerefined waste oil repealed.
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aTax per 100 cubic feet.
bPlus 7¢ in 2000 and 9.1¢ in 2001 surcharge on diesel fuel purchased out
of state and used in California by interstate truckers.

c6¢ per gallon discount for diesel fuel for commercial licensees under
Motor Fuel Tax Act.

dTax reduced to 1.5¢ for scheduled flights.

eMethanol is 11.4¢ and ethanol is 14.2¢.
fRate after refund (based on annual purchases) is 0.5¢ ,1¢ ,or 2¢.
gLNG transport is prohibited in New York.
hFuels excise tax does not apply to aviation use in New York; rates
shown are for the separate petroleum business tax.

Comparison With Other States — 2000
Rates Per Gallon

                                                            Highway Fuel                                                     .                Aviation            .
Gasoline Diesel Gasohol LP LNG CNGa Gasoline Special Fuels

California 18¢ 18¢b 18¢ 6¢ 6¢ 7¢ 2¢ 2¢
Illinois 19¢ 21.5¢ 19¢ 19¢ 19¢ 19¢ 0¢ 0¢
Iowa 20¢ 22.5¢ 19¢ 20¢ 20¢ 16¢ 8¢ 3¢
Michigan 19¢ 21¢c 19¢ 15¢ 0¢ 0¢ 3¢d 3¢d

MINNESOTA 20¢ 20¢ 11.4¢e 15¢ 12¢ 17.39¢ 5¢f 5¢f

New York 8¢ 8¢ 8¢ 8¢ – g 8¢ 5.4¢h 5.4¢h

North Dakota 21¢ 21¢ 21¢ 21¢ 21¢ 21¢ 8¢ 8¢
South Dakota 22¢ 22¢ 20¢ 20¢ 10¢ 10¢ 6¢  4¢
Texas 20¢ 20¢ 20¢ 15¢ 15¢ 15¢ 0¢ 0¢
Wisconsin 26.4¢ 26.4¢ 26.4¢ 19.3¢ 21.1¢ 21.1¢ 6¢ 6¢
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ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 297G.03, 297G.04,

and 297G.05

Tax Base:  Distilled spirits, beer, malt beverages, wines, and
premixed alcoholic beverages manufactured or received for sale in
Minnesota.

Rates:
Tax per Barrel

Beer:  Alcohol by Weight  of 31 Gallons 
3.2% or less $2.40
More than 3.2% $4.60

Tax 
Per Liter Per Gallon

Distilled Spirits $1.33 $5.03

Wine:  Alcohol by Volume
14% or less $.08 $.30
More than 14% to 21% .25 .95
More than 21% to 24% .48 1.82
More than 24% .93 3.52
Sparkling wine .48 1.82

Cider: 0.5% to 7% alcohol .04 .15

Credit:  Credit of $4.60 per barrel on the first 25,000 barrels
produced each year for sale within Minnesota by a small brewer
(produced less than 100,000 barrels).

Exemptions:  Wine for sacramental purposes; wine or beer made
at home; alcoholic beverages sold to food processors and pharma-
ceutical firms; beer served on the premises of a brewery at no
charge.

Special Provision:  Separate tax of 1¢ for each bottle or container
of distilled spirits and wine 200 milliliters and larger.  Tax is paid
by the wholesaler at the time of removal from inventory for sale,
delivery, or shipment.

Revenue
Collections: Distilled Spirits Beer Wine

F.Y. 1999 $40,147,000 $15,298,000 $3,373,000
F.Y. 2000 $42,692,000 $15,713,000 $3,734,000

Disposition:  State General Fund
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Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  For distilled spirits and wine, licensed manufacturers
or wholesalers.  For beer, brewers, importers, or wholesalers.

Number of Taxpayers: 120 distributors of beer; 46 distributors of
wine and distilled spirits.

Due Dates:  18th day of month following the month in which sale
is made.  Accelerated payment of 75% of June liability due 2
business days before June 30 for filers required to pay by
electronic funds transfer.

History of Major Changes
1934 — Enacted at rates of: $1 per barrel of 3.2% beer and $2 per

barrel of strong beer; 60¢ per gallon of liquor; and 10¢ to
60¢ per gallon for wine.

1937 — Liquor tax increased to $1 per gallon on liquor over 24%
alcohol.

1947 — Increased rates of tax.
1959 — Beer tax increased to $1.60 per barrel for 3.2% and $3.20

for strong beer.
— Liquor surtax of 15% imposed.

1969 — Additional tax on liquor from 4¢ to 75¢ per gallon
depending on alcoholic content.

1971 — Rates increased: distilled spirits from $2.50 to $4.53 per
gallon.  3.2% beer from $1.60 to $2 per barrel.  Strong
beer from $3.20 to $4 per barrel.  Wine tax rates
increased.

1973 — Distilled spirits tax reduced from $4.53 to $4.39.
— Minnesota brewers’ credit enacted.

1979 — Sparkling wine tax reduced from $3.08 to $1.50.
1985 — Minnesota brewers’ credit repealed.

— Small brewers’ credit enacted.
1986 — Accelerated June payment enacted.
1987 — Rates increased: distilled spirits to $5.03 per gallon; all

categories of wine; 3.2% beer to $2.40 per barrel
and strong beer to $4.60 per barrel.

1989 — Small brewers’ credit increased.
1998 — Separate tax of 15¢ per gallon enacted for cider.
2000 — Accelerated June payment repealed, effective June

2002.
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                                                                                      Comparison With Other States -  2000

Distilled Spirits Beer Per Barrel                                   Wine Per Gallon                                 .
   Per Gallon   (31 Gallons) 14% or Less More Than 14% Sparkling

California $3.30 £ 100 proof $6.20 $.20 $.20 $.30
$6.60>100 proof

Illinois $4.50 $5.74 $.73 $.73 $.73
Iowa 50% markupa $5.89 $1.75a $1.75 $1.75
Michigan 65% markup plus

12%-13.85% of priceb $6.30 $.51c $.76c $.51
MINNESOTA $5.03 $2.40 £ 3.2% $.30 $.95-$3.52 $1.82

$4.60 strong
New York $2.53 £ 24% $4.19 $.19 $.19 $.19

$6.43>24%
North Dakota $2.50 $2.48 bulk $.50c $.60c $1.00

$4.96 bottles and cans
South Dakota $3.93 $8.50 $.93 $1.45 $2.07
Texas $2.40 $6.00 $.204 $.408 $.516
Wisconsin $3.25 $2.00 $.25 $.45 $.25

a State monopoly on spirits marks up wholesale price by 50%. Low-proof (5% or less) wine and spirits taxed as beer.
b 12% rate applies to on-premise sales; 13.85% applies to off-premises sales.
c Rates change at 16% rather than 14% for Michigan and at 17% for North Dakota.
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CIGARETTE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297F.05

Tax Base:  Cigarettes sold or used in Minnesota.

Rate:  48¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes.

Credits:  Distributors receive a 1% discount on the first
$1,500,000 of stamps purchased annually and 0.6% on excess.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $175,117,000

F.Y. 2000 $174,769,000

Disposition:
Debt service on specified bonds (paid first)
Minnesota Future Resources Fund—2¢ per pack
State General Fund—Balance

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  Distributors or wholesalers of cigarettes.

Number of Taxpayers: 70 distributors

Due Dates: 18th day of the month following sale to a retailer in
Minnesota.  Accelerated payment of 75% of June liability due 2
business days before June 30 for filers required to pay by
electronic funds transfer.

History of Major Changes
1947 — Enacted at 3¢ per pack.
1949 — Increased to 4¢ per pack.
1959 — Increased to 5.5¢ per pack.
1961 — Increased to 7¢ per pack.
1963 — Increased to 8¢ per pack.
1969 — Increased to 13¢ per pack.
1971 — Increased to 18¢ per pack.
1985 — Increased to 23¢ per pack.
1986 — Accelerated June payment enacted.
1987 — Increased to 38¢ per pack.
1991 — Rate increased to 43¢ per pack.
1992 — Rate increased to 48¢ per pack.
2000 — Accelerated June payment repealed, effective June

2002.
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Comparison With Other States — 2000
Rate Per Pack of 20

California $.87
Illinois .58
lowa .36
Michigan .75
MINNESOTA .48
New York 1.11
North Dakota .44
South Dakota .33
Texas .41
Wisconsin .59

TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297F.05

Tax Base:  Tobacco products, other than cigarettes, sold or used
in Minnesota, including cigars, smoking tobacco, and chewing
tobacco.

Rate:  35% of wholesale price.

Credits:  Distributors allowed discount equal to 1.5% of tax.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $14,147,000

F.Y. 2000 $15,390,000

Disposition:  State General Fund

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  Distributors or wholesalers of products received for
sale in Minnesota.

Number of Taxpayers: 150 distributors

Due Dates:  18th day of the month following receipt of the
product in state.  Accelerated payment of 75% of June liability
due 2 business days before June 30 for filers required to pay by
electronic funds transfer.

History of Major Changes
1955 — Enacted at rate of 15% of wholesale price.
1959 — Rate increased to 20%.
1985 — Rate increased to 25%.
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1986 — Accelerated June payment enacted.
1987 — Rate increased to 35%.
2000 — Accelerated June payment repealed, effective June

2002.

Comparison With Other States — 2000
California 54.89% of wholesale price.
Illinois 18% of wholesale price.
Iowa 22% of wholesale price.
Michigan 16% of wholesale price.
MINNESOTA 35% of wholesale price.
New York 20% of wholesale price.
North Dakota 28% of wholesale price.
South Dakota 10% of wholesale price.
Texas 35.213% of factory list; variable rate on cigars.
Wisconsin 20% of manufacturer’s list price.

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297D.08

Tax Base:  Marijuana or controlled substance, as defined, that is
held, possessed, transported, transferred, sold, or offered to be sold
in violation of Minnesota laws.

Rates:
· Marijuana — $3.50 per gram or portion thereof.
· Controlled substance — $200 per gram or portion thereof.
· Controlled substance not sold by weight — $400 on each ten

dosage units, or portion thereof.

Exemption:  Pharmacists or other persons lawfully in possession
of marijuana or a controlled substance.

Credit:  Tax paid to another state or local government.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $81,000

F.Y. 2000 $50,000

Disposition:  State General Fund

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  A person who in violation of Minnesota law
manufactures, produces, ships, transports, or imports into
Minnesota or possesses more than the specified amount of
marijuana or a controlled substance.
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Number of Taxpayers:  fewer than twenty per year.

Due Dates:  Immediately upon acquisition or possession in
Minnesota.

History of Major Changes
1986 — Enacted.
1988 — Tax on dosage units not sold by weight changed.
1989 — Credit enacted for a controlled substance tax paid to

another state or local government.

Comparison With Other States — 2000

Marijuana     Controlled Substance
Per Gram Per Gram   Othera

Iowab $5.00 $250  $400/10 units
MINNESOTA $3.50 $200  $400/10 units
Texas $3.50 $200 $2,000/50 units
Wisconsinc $3.50 $200

aFor controlled substance not sold by weight, tax is based on
number of dosage units.

bAlso $750 per marijuana plant.
cAlso: $1,000 per marijuana plant; $10 per gram of hallucinogenic

mushrooms; and $1,000 per gram for material containing
LSD.

The other states do not impose a separate excise tax on marijuana
or controlled substances.
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MORTGAGE REGISTRY TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 287.035

Tax Base:  Principal debt which is secured by a mortgage of real
property in the state.

Rate:   23¢ per $100 of principal debt.

Exemptions:  Organizations exempt from the property tax.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $89,791,000
(state portion) F.Y. 2000 $72,937,000

Disposition:
    State General Fund 97%
    County Revenue Fund 3%

Administration
Agency:  Treasurer of the county in which the mortgaged land is
situated.

Who Pays:  The lender who records or registers a mortgage of real
property.

Due Date:  At or before the time of filing the mortgage for record or
registration.

History of Major Changes
1907 — Enacted at 50¢ per $100 of principal debt.
1913 — Changed to 15¢ per $100 if mortgage is for 5 years or

less; 25¢ for more than 5 years.
1945 — Changed to 15¢ per $100 on any mortgage.
1987 — Rate increased to 23¢ for each $100 of debt.
1991 — Reverse mortgages subject to tax.

Comparison With Other States — 2000
MINNESOTA 23¢ per $100 of principal debt.

New York 50¢ (plus an additional 50¢ in specified situations)
per $100 of principal debt.

The other comparison states do not have a similar tax.



34

DEED TRANSFER TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 287.21

Tax Base:  Transfer of real estate by any deed or instrument.

Rates:  $1.65 for consideration of $500 or less plus $1.65 for each
additional $500.

Major Exemptions:  Executory contracts for the sale of land;
mortgages; wills; plats; leases; cemetery lot deeds; deeds of
distribution by personal representatives;  transfers between
co-owners partitioning undivided interest in the same piece of
property;  and transfers between the parties pursuant to a decree
of marriage dissolution.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $62,945,000
(state portion) F.Y. 2000 $68,459,000

Disposition:
    State General Fund 97%
    County Revenue Fund 3%

Administration
Agency:  Treasurer of the county in which the land is situated.

Who Pays:  Any person who grants, assigns, transfers, or conveys
real estate.

Due Date:  At the time of transfer.

History of Major Changes
1961 — Enacted at $1.10 for first $1,000 of consideration and

55¢ for each additional $500.
1967 — Increased to $2.20 for first $l,000 and $1.10 for each

additional $500.
1973 — Included corporations in those subject to tax.
1987 — Rate increased to $1.65 for $500 or less and $1.65 for

each additional $500.
— Extended tax to personal property transferred as part of

total consideration.
— Eliminated exemption for state and local governments.
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Comparison With Other States - 2000
California 55¢ per $500 consideration after the first $100 at

the city or county option.  The full sales price is
subject to tax.

Illinois 50¢ per $500 consideration.

Iowa 80¢ per $500 consideration after the first $500.

Michigan $3.75 per $500 value state real estate transfer tax,
plus county tax of 55¢ per $500 if population
under 2 million, 75¢ per $500 if population 2
million or more.

MINNESOTA $1.65 for consideration of $500 or less plus $1.65
for each additional $500.

New York $2 per $500 consideration after the first $100.
For residences with consideration of $1 million or
more, an extra $5 per $500 of consideration.

South Dakota 50¢ per $500 consideration.

Wisconsin 30¢ per $100 consideration.

North Dakota and Texas do not impose a deed transfer tax.
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GAMBLING TAXES

LAWFUL GAMBLING TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297E.02

Tax Base:  Gross receipts of a licensed organization from bingo,
raffles, and paddlewheels less prizes paid out.

Rate:  8.5%

Major Exemption:  Lawful gambling if conducted by the
organization on no more than five days per year and prizes do not
exceed $50,000 per year.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $2,114,000

F.Y. 2000 $1,819,000

Disposition:  State General Fund

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  Licensed fraternal, religious, veterans, and other
nonprofit organizations.

Number of Taxpayers: 1,045 organizations

Due Date:  20th of the month.

History of Major Changes
1984 — Enacted.
1986 — Pull-tabs exempted, separate pull-tab tax imposed.
1988 — Tipboards exempted; made subject to pull-tab tax.
1998 — Rate reduced from 10% to 9.5%.
1999 — Rate reduced to 9%.
2000 — Rate reduced to 8.5%.

Comparison With Other States — 2000
Illinois 3% of gross proceeds for charitable games, 5%

of gross proceeds for bingo.
MINNESOTA 8.5% of gross receipts less prizes.
North Dakota 5% - 20% on adjusted gross proceeds.
Texas 5% of value of prizes awarded at bingo games;

3% on gross rentals of premises to conduct
bingo games.

Wisconsin 2% on bingo gross proceeds.

The other comparison states do not have similar taxes.
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PULL-TAB AND TIPBOARD TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297E.02

Tax Base:  Ideal gross of each pull-tab or tipboard deal sold by a
distributor. A “deal” is defined as each separate package, or series
of packages, consisting of one game of pull-tabs or tipboards.
“Ideal gross” is the total amount that would be received if every
ticket in the deal was sold at its face value.

Rate:  1.7%

Exemption:  Lawful gambling if conducted by an organization on
no more than five days and prizes do not exceed $50,000 per year.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $29,139,000

F.Y. 2000 $28,789,000

Disposition:  State General Fund

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue.

Who Pays:  Licensed distributors.

Number of Taxpayers: 16 distributors

Due Date:  20th of the month.

History of Major Changes
1986 — Enacted.  Separate pull-tab tax replaced the charitable

gambling tax on pull-tabs.
1988 — Tipboards made subject to the pull-tab tax.
1989 — Tax changed from 10% of ideal net to 2% of ideal gross.
1996 — Refund allowed to organizations for tax on unsold

tickets.
1998 — Rate reduced from 2% to 1.9%.
1999 — Rate reduced to 1.8%
2000 — Rate reduced to 1.7%.

Comparison With Other States — 2000
Illinois 5% of gross receipts.
MINNESOTA 1.7% of ideal gross.
North Dakota 4.5% of gross receipts.

The other comparison states do not impose a separate pull-tab or
tipboard tax.
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COMBINED RECEIPTS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297E.02

Tax Base:  Gross receipts from pull-tabs and tipboards.

Graduated Rate Schedule:
Fiscal Year Receipts Tax Rate
First $500,000 0%
$500,001 - $700,000 1.7%
$700,001 - $900,000 3.4%
Over $900,000 5.1%

Exemption:  Lawful gambling if conducted by the organization on
no more than five days and prizes do not exceed $50,000 per year.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $31,509,000

F.Y. 2000 $31,887,000

Disposition:  State General Fund

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue.

Who Pays:  Licensed fraternal, religious, veterans, and other
nonprofit organizations.

Number of Taxpayers: 1,590 organizations

Due Date:  20th day of the month.

History of Major Changes
1989 — Enacted, with rates of 2%, 4%, and 6%.
1998 — Rates reduced to  1.9%, 3.8% and 5.7%.
1999 — Rates reduced to 1.8%, 3.6%, and 5.4%.
2000 — Rates reduced to 1.7%, 3.4%, and 5.1%.

Comparison With Other States — 2000
Illinois Tax on riverboat gambling: graduated rates of

15% to 35% of adjusted gross receipts.
Iowa Tax on excursion boat gambling  based on

adjusted gross receipts of the licensee:
graduated rates of 5%, 10%, and 20%.  Tax on
slot machines at race tracks: graduated rates
of 5%, 10%, and 28%.

MINNESOTA Tax on pull-tab and tipboard receipts,
graduated rates of 1.7%, 3.4% and 5.1%.

The other comparison states do not impose a similar tax.
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PARI-MUTUEL TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 240.15

Tax Base:  Total amount bet in pari-mutuel horse racing pools at a
licensed racetrack.

Rates and Disposition:
State General Fund:  6% of the takeout in excess of $12 million
annually.  The takeout is 17% for straight pools; 23% for multiple
pools.

Minnesota Breeder’s Fund:  1% of the total amount bet.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $878,000

F.Y. 2000 $933,000

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Racing Commission

Who Pays:  Any licensed racetrack.

Number of Taxpayers: One racetrack

Due Date:  Within seven days of date tax was collected.

History of Major Changes
1982 — Minnesota Constitution amended to allow pari-mutuel

betting on horse races.
1983 — Tax enacted.
1988 — Changes made to the tax base and rates.
1989 — Pari-mutuel betting allowed on out-of-state horse races

televised at a licensed racetrack.
1996 — One-year exemption of first $12 million of the takeout.
1998 — Exemption of first $12 million made permanent.
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SPORTS BOOKMAKING TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297E.03

Tax Base:  Value of all bets received by a person engaged in sports
bookmaking.  Sports bookmaking (a felony) is defined in the
criminal code as intentionally receiving, recording, or forwarding
more than 5 bets within a 30-day period that total more than
$2,500 on any one or more sporting events.

Rate:  6%

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $1,000

F.Y. 2000 $0

Disposition:  State General Fund

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  Persons engaged in receiving, recording, forwarding or
accepting sports bookmaking bets.

Due Dates:  20th day of the month following sports bookmaking
activity.

History of Major Changes
1993 — Enacted.

Comparison With Other States — 2000

None of the other comparison states imposes a tax on illegal sports
bookmaking.
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GROSS EARNINGS TAXES

INSURANCE PREMIUMS TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297I.05

Tax Base:  Gross premiums less return premiums received on all
business in Minnesota.

Rates:
2.0% — Domestic and foreign companies’ premiums.
1.26% — Mutual property and casualty companies with assets

between $5 million and $1.6 billion as of 12/31/89.
1.0% — Health maintenance organizations; nonprofit health

service plan corporations; and community integrated
service networks. (Not imposed until 1/1/03.)

1.0% — Mutual property and casualty companies with assets
less than $5 million;  town and farmers’ mutual
companies.

3.0% — Surplus line agents.
0.5% — Fire marshal tax on fire premiums.
2.0% — Surcharge on fire premiums for property located in

cities of the first class.

Special Provision:  Foreign companies are subject to retaliatory
tax increase.

Major Exemptions:  fraternal benefit societies and Minnesota’s
comprehensive health association plan premiums.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $180,436,000

F.Y. 2000 $172,726,000

Disposition:
Health Care Access Fund – taxes paid by health maintenance

organizations; nonprofit health service plan corporations, and
community integrated service networks.

State General Fund – taxes paid by other companies.
(The proceeds from the tax on certain types of premiums are
paid as aids to local fire and police departments.)

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  Domestic and foreign insurance companies doing
business in Minnesota.

Number of Taxpayers: 1,300 companies
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Due Dates:  Most companies make three estimated payments on
April 1, June 1, and December 1.  Annual return due March 1 of
the following year.

History of Major Changes
1868 — 2% gross premiums tax imposed on foreign companies.
1872 — 2% tax extended to domestic companies.
1895 — Retaliatory tax provisions adopted.
1913 — Fire marshal tax of 0.375% adopted.
1934 — 2% surcharge on fire premiums enacted.
1937 — Fire marshal tax increased to 0.5%.
1953 — 5% ocean marine profits tax enacted.
1987 — Exemptions removed for domestic mutual insurance

companies, cooperative life and casualty companies, and
premiums paid to Workers’ Comprehensive Reinsurance
Association.

— Eliminated the credit for payments to the Minnesota
Comprehensive Health Association.

1988 — Tax rate for certain mutual property and casualty
insurance companies phased down to 0.5%.

1992 — Ocean marine profits tax repealed and replaced by 2%
premiums tax.

— Nonprofit health service plan corporations and health
maintenance organizations subject to 1% premiums tax,
beginning 1/1/96.

1994 — Credit enacted for guaranty association assessments.
1995 — Rate increased from 0.5% to: 1.26% for mutual property

and casualty companies with assets between $5 million
and $1.6 billion; and 1.0% for town and farmers’ mutual
companies and for mutual property and casualty
companies with less than $5 million in assets.

1997 — Exemption enacted for health maintenance organizations,
nonprofit health service plan corporations, and
community integrated service networks that meet
specified cost containment goals for 1996 and for 1997.

— For each year after 1999, the 1% premiums tax on health
maintenance organizations, nonprofit health service plan
corporations, and community integrated service networks
not imposed unless a structural deficit is forecast for the
Health Care Access Fund

2000 — Exempted health maintenance organizations, nonprofit
health service plan corporations, and community
integrated service networks for calendar years 2001 and
2002.



43

Comparison With Other States — 2000

Premiums Tax Rate

California 2.35%.

Illinois 0.4% to 3%.

Iowa 2%.

MINNESOTA See rates on previous page.

New York 0.7% to 1.0%; top rate of 0.4% or $5,000 for
captive insurers.

North Dakota 2% for life insurance, 1.75% for accident,
health, property, casualty and surplus lines of
insurance.

South Dakota 1.25% annuity tax; 2.5% premium tax; 0.5%
fire marshal tax.

Texas 1.75% for life, accident, and health insurance;
1.6%  for property and casualty insurance;
and 1.35% on title insurance.

Wisconsin 2% on casualty and foreign life insurance
companies; 2.375% on fire insurance; 0.5% on
marine insurance; 2% - 3.5% of gross income
(except interest on reserves and premiums on
annuities) for domestic life insurance compa-
nies.

Michigan has no insurance premiums tax.  Insurers pay the single
business tax at an effective rate of 1% after credits.
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HEALTH CARE PROVIDER SURCHARGES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 256.9657, 256B.19

Tax Base and Rates:
Licensed nursing homes, other than state-operated:  $625 per

licensed bed.  For county-owned nursing homes, an additional
$5,723 per licensed bed.

Hospitals:  1.56% of net patient revenues, excluding Medicare.
For Hennepin County Medical Center (HCMC) and the
University of Minnesota Hospital, an additional 1.8% of net
patient revenues excluding Medicare, plus monthly payments of
$1.5 million by HCMC and $500,000 by the University of
Minnesota Hospital.

Health maintenance organizations and community integrated
service networks:  0.6% of total premium revenues.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $120,418,000

F.Y. 2000 $123,677,000

Disposition:  State General Fund

Administration
Agency:  Department of Human Services

Who Pays:  Nursing homes, hospitals, health maintenance
organizations, community integrated service networks.

Number of Taxpayers: 420 nursing homes, 140 hospitals, and 12
health maintenance organizations.

Due Dates:  15th of each month.

History of Major Changes:
1991 — Enacted, on hospitals and nursing homes.
1992 — Tax base and rates for hospitals and nursing homes

changed.  Additional surcharge of 2% for county
hospitals in Hennepin and Ramsey.

— Surcharge extended to physicians and health mainte-
nance organizations.

1993 — Rates increased for nursing homes and hospitals.
— Additional surcharge for Ramsey County deleted.
— Surcharges for the University of Minnesota and county

nursing homes enacted.
1997 — Physician surcharge repealed.
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MINNESOTACARE TAX ON HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS,
HOSPITALS, AND SURGICAL CENTERS

Minnesota Statutes, Section 295.52, Subd. 1, 1a, and 2

Tax Base:  Gross revenues for patient services.

Rate:  1.5% for 2000 and 2001; 2% thereafter.

Major Exemptions:  Medicare payments; medical assistance
payments; general assistance medical care payments; payments
received from hospitals, surgical centers, and health care providers
subject to MinnesotaCare taxes; MinnesotaCare program pay-
ments; home health care and hospice services.

Credits:  Tax paid to another state; research credit equal to 2.5%
of qualifying expenditures.

Revenue  Hospitals and
Collections: Providers Surgical Centers

F.Y. 1999 $67,396,000 $37,407,000
F.Y. 2000 $75,089,000 $45,393,000

Disposition:  Health Care Access Fund

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  Hospital and surgical centers; and health care
providers that furnish directly to a patient or consumer medical,
surgical, optical, visual, dental, hearing, nursing services, drugs,
laboratory, diagnostic or therapeutic services, or any other goods or
services that qualify for medical assistance reimbursement.
Nursing homes and pharmacies are not included.

Number of Taxpayers: 7,600 providers; 165 hospitals and
surgical centers

Due Dates:  For providers, quarterly estimated tax payments  the
15th of April, July, October, and the following January.  For
hospitals and surgical centers, monthly estimated tax payments
on the 15th of the following month.  Annual return - March 15.

History of Major Changes
1992 — Enacted, effective 1/1/93 for hospitals and 1/1/94 for

providers.
1997 — Rate reduced from 2% to 1.5% for 1998 and 1999 and

extended to 2000 and 2001 if estimated positive balance
for the Health Care Access Fund.



46

— Medical supplies, appliances, and equipment exempted.
— Research deduction sunsetted after 1999.
— Research credit enacted, effective in 2000.

1999 — Rate set at 1.5% for 2000 and 2001; 2% thereafter.
— Exempted K-12 schools, services to nursing homes, and

exams for insurance, litigation, and employment.
2000 — Exempted payments under Federal Employees Health

Benefit Act.

MINNESOTACARE TAX ON WHOLESALE
DRUG DISTRIBUTORS

Minnesota Statutes, Section 295.52, Subd. 3 and 4

Tax Base:  Gross revenues from the sale or distribution of
prescription drugs that are delivered in Minnesota.  A use tax is
imposed on drugs received for resale or use in Minnesota by a
person other than a wholesale drug distributor.

Rate:  1.5% for 2000 and 2001; 2% thereafter.

Credit: Tax paid to another state

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $22,509,000

F.Y. 2000 $30,552,000

Disposition:  Health Care Access Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Wholesale drug distributors or other persons who
receive prescription drugs for resale or use in Minnesota.

Number of Taxpayers: 125 distributors

Due Dates:  Quarterly estimated payments - the 15th of April, July,
October, and the following January.  Annual return - March 15.

History of Major Changes
1992 — Enacted, effective 1/1/94.
1997 — Rate reduced from 2% to 1.5% for 1998 and 1999 and

extended to 2000 and 2001 if positive  balance for the
Health Care Access.

1999 — Rate set at 1.5% for 2000 and 2001; 2% thereafter.
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SEVERANCE AND TONNAGE TAXES
MINERAL TAXATION

The production tax and other taxes on minerals are found in the
Local Tax Section.

OCCUPATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.01

Tax Base:   Similar to the corporate franchise tax but starting point
is the mine value of iron ore, taconite concentrates, or direct
reduced ore mined or produced in Minnesota.  Mine value is
determined annually by the Commissioner of Revenue.  Deduc-
tions allowed only for expenses necessary to convert raw iron ore,
taconite concentrates, or other ore to marketable quality.

Rate:  9.8%.  Non-unitary provisions result in 30% apportion-
ment to Minnesota (25% starting in 2001).  Alternative minimum
tax of 5.8%.

Special Provisions:  Other provisions that differ from the
corporate franchise tax: unitary principle not applicable; percentage
depletion allowed.

Revenue
Collections: Iron Ore Taconite

F.Y. 1999 $175,000 $1,989,000
F.Y. 2000 $0 $2,292,000

Disposition:
State General Fund 50%*
Elementary and secondary schools 40%
University of Minnesota 10%

* Of this amount, an amount equal to 1.5¢ per taxable ton is
appropriated to the Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation
Board (IRRRB) for environmental development or economic
development loans or grants in Carlton and Koochiching
counties.

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue, Minerals Tax Office
in Eveleth

Who Pays:  Iron ore and taconite mining companies operating in
this state.
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Number of Taxpayers: eight companies.

Payment Date:  May 1 for the previous year.

History of Major Changes
1921 — 6% occupation tax imposed on iron ore.
1937 — Rate increased to 10%; reduced to 8% for subsequent

years.
1941 — Labor credit enacted, reducing the rate.
1947 — Rate increased to 11%; with credits rate reduced to

minimum  3.75%.
1955 — 15% surtax added.
1959 — Additional 1% tax imposed.
1964 — Taconite Amendment to the Minnesota Constitution

adopted by the voters, which restricted the total amount
of occupation, royalty, and excise taxes paid by taconite
companies.  It expired at the end of 1989.

1971 — Occupation tax on taconite 15%, after credits 6.75%.
Occupation tax on iron ore 15.5%, after credits 14%.

1984 — Reduced rate to 15% for natural iron ores.
1985 — Reduced rate on taconite and iron ore to 14% by 1987.
1987 — On ores other than taconite and iron ore, tax changed to

be same as the corporate franchise tax. Beginning in
1990, tax on taconite and iron ore changed in a similar
manner.

1989 — Tax based on the valuation of the ore.  Allowed
deductions specified.

1991 — Credit allowed for alternative minimum tax paid in a
prior year.

1995 — Tax imposed on direct reduced ore.  (No direct ore has
been produced in Minnesota to date.)

1996 — Appropriation to IRRRB for Carlton and Koochiching
Counties increased from 1¢ to 1.5¢ per ton.

1999 — Sales factor in the apportionment formula increased
from 70% to 75%; property and payroll factors each
reduced from 15% to 12.5%, effective 1/1/01.
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NET PROCEEDS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.015

Tax Base:  Net proceeds from mining or extracting mineral and
energy resources in Minnesota.

Rate:  2%

Exemptions:  Sand, silica sand, gravel, building stone, crushed
rock, limestone, granite, dimension granite, dimension stone,
horticultural peat, clay, soil, iron ore, and taconite concentrates.

Revenue
Collections:  No revenues have been collected to date.

Disposition:  (based on where resources are mined)
Outside the taconite tax relief area – State General Fund
Within the taconite tax relief area:

City/town where mined/extracted 5%
Taconite municipal aid account 10%
School district where mined/extracted 10%
Qualifying group of school districts 20%
County where mined/extracted 20%
Distributed as taconite homestead credit 20%
Iron Range Resources/Rehabilitation Board 5%
NE Minnesota Economic Protection Trust Fund 5%
Taconite Environmental Protection Fund 5%

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue, Minerals Tax
Office in Eveleth

Who Pays:  Companies that mine or extract base metal, precious
metals, or energy minerals.

Number of Taxpayers: None

Payment Date:  June 15 for the previous calendar year.

History of Major Changes
1987 — Enacted, effective with calendar year 1987.
1990 — Clay exempted from the tax.

TAXES  IN  LIEU  OF  PROPERTY  TAXES
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MOTOR  VEHICLE  REGISTRATION  TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 168

Tax Base:  Motor vehicles using the public streets and highways.
For passenger cars, pickup trucks, and vans, the tax is based on
value.  Base value is the manufacturer’s sugguested retail price,
including destination charges but excluding separately-stated
options.  The percentage of base value declines with the age of the
vehicle: 100% in the 1st and 2nd years; 90% in the 3rd and 4th
years; 75% in the 5th and 6th years; 60% in the 7th year; 40% in
the 8th year; 30% in the 9th year; and 10% in the 10th year.
For trucks, tractors, trailers, and buses, the tax is based on weight
and age.

Rates: Passenger cars, pickup trucks, and vans:
$10 plus 1.25% of base value.
No maximum tax for first year of vehicle life.
Maximum tax for first renewal period: $189.
Maximum tax for subsequent renewal periods: $99.
Minimum tax: $35.
Flat tax for vehicles over ten years old: $35.

Trucks, tractors, trailers, and buses:  based on the type, weight,
and age of the vehicle and subject to a minimum tax.

Major Exemptions:  Vehicles owned by governmental units;
school buses; agricultural tractors and trailers; special mobile
equipment; vehicles used solely for carrying construction camp
equipment or attached machinery; fire apparatus; ambulances; and
vehicles not operated on highways.

Revenue
Collections F.Y. 1999 $548,007,000

F.Y. 2000 $608,112,000

Disposition:  Highway User Tax Distribution Fund

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Who Pays:  Person who registers a motor vehicle in the state.

Number of Taxpayers: 3,590,000 passenger cars, pickup trucks,
and vans; 499,500 trucks, tractors, trailers, and buses.

Due Dates:  When first registered to use the public roads and
annually thereafter upon renewal.

History of Major Changes
1911 — Enacted at $1.50 per vehicle.
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1921 — Rates based on value and weight of vehicle.
1941 — Passenger cars taxed at 2.2% of value.
1949 — Vehicles reclassified and rate schedules revised.
1955 — Rates increased by 5%.
1965 — Rate schedule modified.
1971 — Tax set on passenger vehicles at $10 plus 1.25% of base

value.
1973 — New truck rates established.
1976 — Minimums on trucks, tractors, and combinations

increased.
1989 — Depreciation schedule modified for passenger cars,

pickup trucks, and vans.
2000 — Tax on passenger cars, pickup trucks, and vans limited

to $189 for the 1st renewal period and $99 for
subsequent renewal periods.

Comparison With Other States - 2000

Passenger Cars
Tax Base Tax Rate

California Value 2% of market
value; for 2000,

tax reduced by 35%

Illinois Flat rate $78

Iowa Value and weight 1% of value
plus 40¢/100lbs.

Michigan Age, weight, and value 1984 and after:
$5 plus 0.5% of

list price based on
age; $35 minimum

MINNESOTA Value and age See page 50

New York Weight $10.25 - $56

North Dakota Weight and age $26 - $251

South Dakota Weight $20 -$40
Texas Weight $40.50 - $58.50

Over 6000 lbs:
$25 plus 60¢/100lbs

Wisconsin Flat rate $45
AIRFLIGHT  PROPERTY  TAX

Minnesota Statutes, Section 270.072
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Tax Base:  Flight property of air carriers engaging in air commerce.

Rates:  Tax rate is determined annually to yield the property tax
portion of the State Airports Fund.  Rate for taxes payable in 2000
was approximately 4.39%.

Exemption:  Commuter airlines electing to be taxed under the
aircraft registration tax.

Computation:
Value of airflight property, as determined by the
Minnesota Department of Revenue

times: Apportionment factor - average of the three factors of
tonnage of passengers and freight, equated plane hours,
and revenue ton miles

equals: Minnesota value
times: tax capacity rate:

· 40% for quiet aircraft, as defined
· 70% for other flight property
· 50% of above rates for flight property of an airline

company using primarily turboprops and that has
scheduled passenger service to three or more small or
medium sized communities.

equals: tax capacity
times: tax rate - percentage of property tax portion of the state

airports fund to total tax capacity
equals: airflight property tax.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $8,661,000

F.Y. 2000 $8,804,000

Disposition:  State Airports Fund.

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  All air carriers engaging in air commerce in Minnesota
under certificates issued by the United States Department of
Transportation.

Number of Taxpayers: 33 companies

Due Dates:  The tax is due and payable on January 1 of each year
following the levy of the tax.

History of Major Changes
1945 — Enacted, assessed at 40% of value.
1953 — Changed to 33 1/3% valuation.
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1976 — Exempted aircraft weighing less than 30,000 lbs.
1987 — Schedule of ratios replaced 33 1/3%  ratio.

— Revenue yield specified by statute rather than the
statewide average property tax mill rate.

1992 — Revenue yield changed to property tax portion of the
state airports fund.

Comparison With Other States
In general, states that tax airflight property use the average
property tax rate statewide. Iowa, New York, and North Dakota do
not impose a property tax on airflight property.  California and
Texas have local taxes on airflight property.

AIRCRAFT  REGISTRATION  TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 360.531

Tax Base:  Value of noncommercial aircraft which regularly use the
airspace over or the airports in Minnesota.   The value is the base
price, which is reduced for depreciation: 10% in the second year
and 15% for the third and each succeeding year, subject to the
minimum tax.

Rate:  1% of value.  The minimum tax is the greater of 25% of the
tax computed on the original base price or $50.  For agricultural
aircraft, as defined, the maximum tax is $500.

Exemptions:  Civil air patrol and government-owned aircraft.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $3,782,000

F.Y. 2000 $6,716,000

Disposition:  State Airports Fund

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Transportation

Who Pays:  Any person who registers noncommercial aircraft in
Minnesota.

Number of Taxpayers: 4,900 aircraft

Due Dates:  When the aircraft is first registered and annually
thereafter on July 1.
History of Major Changes
1945 — Enacted.
1957 — Exempted civil air patrol.
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1987 — Minimum tax increased from $10 to $50.
1999 — Tax on agricultural aircraft limited to $500.

Comparison With Other States — 2000

Iowa Annual fee:  generally 1% of manufacturer’s
list price in 1st year to 0.25% of list price in
4th and subsequent years.  $35 minimum and
$5,000 maximum.

Michigan Aircraft weight tax of 1¢ per pound.

MINNESOTA 1% of value, based on age.

Wisconsin Annual fee: from $30 for 2,000 lbs. or less to
$3,125 for more than 100,000 lbs.

The other comparison states do not impose a similar tax.

RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATIONS
Minnesota Statutes, Section 273.41

Tax Base:  Number of members.  The tax is in lieu of all personal
property taxes on distribution lines and their attachments and
appurtenances.

Rate:  $10 for each 100 members or portion thereof.

Revenue:
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $44,000

F.Y. 2000 $58,000

Disposition:  State General Fund

Administration:
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  Rural electric cooperative association

Number of Taxpayers: 44 cooperatives

Payment Date:  March 1 for the previous calendar year.

History of Major Changes
1939 — Enacted
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WASTE TAXES

HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATOR TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 115B.22

Tax Base:  Volume of hazardous waste generated.

Rates:
Generators That Produce Per Year

More than 2,640 gallons $500 *
264 to 2,640 gallons $200 *
10 to 264 gallons $50
10 gallons or less $0

* Or quantity tax, whichever is larger.

Quantity Tax
Hazardous waste discharged to a publicly-owned wastewater
treatment works or managed as a hazardous waste fuel or using
thermal treatment: 1.5¢ per pound of solid or 15¢ per gallon of
liquid.  Hazardous waste managed under any other method: 3¢
per pound of solid or 30¢ per gallon of liquid.

Major Exemptions:  Hazardous waste that is: destined for
recycling or incineration at an approved facility in Minnesota;
pretreated to a nonhazardous state under certain conditions; or
generated as a result of a response action.

Special Provision:  The tax is repealed on January 1, 2004.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $1,268,000

F.Y. 2000 $1,286,000

Disposition:  Environmental Fund, Environmental Response,
Compensation, and Compliance Account.

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  Generators of hazardous waste required to disclose
such generation to the Pollution Control Agency or the
metropolitan counties.

Number of Taxpayers:  9,500 filers

Due Dates:  Quarterly estimated tax payments due on the 15th of
March, June, September, and December.  Annual return due on
April 15.
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History of Major Changes
1983 — Enacted.
1984 — Exempted hazardous waste generated as residue from a

hazardous waste incineration facility.
1993 — Existing tax repealed and replaced by a new tax structure

in effect from 1994 to 2003.

METROPOLITAN SOLID WASTE LANDFILL FEE
Minnesota Statutes, Section 473.843

Tax Base:  Volume of solid waste disposed of at a solid waste
disposal facility in the seven county metropolitan area.

Rate:
If the facility weighs the waste it accepts: $6.66 per ton.
If the facility does not weigh the waste but measures the volume:
$2 per cubic yard.

Exemption:  Waste residue from recycling or energy and resource
recovery facilities at which solid waste is processed to extract,
reduce, convert to energy, or otherwise separate and prepare it for
reuse if at least 85% (by weight) of the solid waste is reduced.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $3,385,000

F.Y. 2000 $4,002,000

Disposition:
Metropolitan Landfill Abatement Account,
Environmental Fund 75%

Metropolitan Landfill Contingency
Action Trust Fund 25%

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  Operators of mixed municipal solid waste disposal
facilities in Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and
Washington counties.

Number of Taxpayers: Two facilities

Payment Date:  20th day of the month for the previous month.

History of Major Changes
1984 — Enacted.
1989 — Rate increased from 50¢ to $2 per cubic yard.
1994 — Differential rate enacted for facility that weighs the

waste it accepts.
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SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297H

Tax Base:  Sales price of mixed municipal solid waste management
services received.

Rates:
Residential generators:  9.75%.
Commercial generators:  17%.
Non-mixed-municipal solid waste: 60¢ per noncompacted cubic
yard of periodic waste collection capacity purchased by the
commercial generator.  Other rates apply to construction debris
and infectious and pathological waste.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1999 $51,062,000

F.Y. 2000 $55,428,000

Disposition:
Solid Waste Fund 50% of revenues or $22 million,

whichever is greater
General Fund Remainder

Administration
Agency:  Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays:  Purchasers of waste collection services.  Providers of
waste collection services collect and remit the tax.

Number of Taxpayers: 825 filers

Due Dates:  Same as the state sales tax.

History of Major Changes
1993 — Enacted tax on mixed municipal solid waste at $2 per

year for residential customers and 12¢ per
noncompacted cubic yard for nonresidential customers.

1994 — Rate for nonresidential customers increased from 12¢ to
60¢ per noncompacted cubic yard.

— Extended to infectious, pathological, and industrial waste
and construction debris.

1997 — Solid waste generator assessments repealed along with
the sales tax on mixed municipal solid waste and replaced
by the solid waste management tax, effective 1/1/98.
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LOCAL TAXES

PROPERTY TAXES AND
TAXES IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES

GENERAL PROPERTY TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 272.01

Tax Base:  Net tax capacity or referendum market value of real
and personal property.

Rates:  Local tax rates vary with taxing jurisdiction.

Major Exemptions:
Real property - public property used for public purposes;

educational facilities; religious and charitable institutions; Indian
lands; cemeteries; attached machinery.

Personal property - household goods; commercial and industrial
personal property; farm machinery and livestock.

Computation for tax based on net tax capacity:
Market value — determined by county assessor, except
for state-assessed property.

times: class rate(s) — determined by type of property, as listed
in table on next page.

equals: net tax capacity
times: local tax rate — aggregate of county, city or town, school

district, and any special taxing districts
equals: gross tax
minus: credits, in the following order:

— disaster credit
— power line credit
— agricultural preserves credit
— enterprise zone credit
— disparity reduction credit
— conservation tax credit
— education homestead/agricultural credit*
— taconite homestead credit
— supplemental homestead credit

equals: net tax

*For taxes payable in 2001, the education homestead credit is equal
to 83% of the general education levy, with a maximum credit per
homestead of $390.  The education agricultural credit is 70% of
the general education levy on the first $600,000 of market value
for farm homestead land and buildings and 63% on other farm
land.
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Class Rates for Major Classes of Property
Taxes Payable in 2001

Class and Type of Property Class Rate
1a Residential homestead

First $76,000 market value (MV) 1.0%
Over $76,000 MV 1.65%

1b Homestead of blind or disabled
First $32,000 MV 0.45%
Excess is Class 1a or 2a

1c Small homestead resorts 1.0%
1d Seasonal farm worker housing- same as Class 1a

2a Agricultural homestead
House, garage, and one acre - same as Class 1a
Remaining land and buildings

First $115,000 MV 0.35%
$115,000-$600,000 MV 0.8%
Over $600,000 1.2%

2b Nonhomestead agricultural land; timberland 1.2%

3a Commercial, industrial, and utility real property
First $150,000 MV 2.4%
Over $150,000 MV 3.4%
Utility personal property 3.4%

3b Employment property - same as Class 3a

4a Apartments, 4 or more units; private hospitals
In qualifying smaller cities outside the metro area 2.15%
All other 2.4%

4b Residential and farm nonhomestead, 2-3 units 1.65%
4bbNonhomestead residential or farm, 1 unit

First $76,000 MV 1.2%
Over $76,000 MV 1.65%

4c Commercial seasonal recreational residential 1.65%
Fraternity and sorority housing 1.2%
Manufactured home parks 1.65%
Noncommercial seasonal recreational residential

First $76,000 MV 1.2%
Over $76,000 MV 1.65%

4d Qualifying low-income rental housing 1.0%

5 Unmined iron ore and low-grade iron ore 3.4%
All other property
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Property Tax Refund:  A “circuit breaker” type of tax relief,
determined by the relationship of property tax (or 19% of rent)
to total household income.  Separate formulas apply to
homeowners and renters.  Maximum refund for 2000 is $510 for
homeowners and $1,190 for renters.  Total household income
from all sources cannot exceed $71,700 for homeowners and
$41,820 for renters.  Maximums and formula thresholds indexed
for inflation.

Targeting: A refund may be claimed by homeowners whose net
property tax increases by more than 12% from the previous year,
with a maximum refund of $1,000.  Both the property tax refund
and targeting are paid directly to the claimants by the state.

Revenue
Collections (millions):

Year Gross Prop.
Pay- Taxes Tax Taxes
able Levied* Credits Refund** Paid
1999 $4,929.7 $325.6 $188.6 $4.415.5
2000 $5,140.5 $461.3 $186.8 $4,492.4

* After homestead and agricultural credit aid and disparity
reduction aid.

** Includes targeting.

Disposition:  Revenue is distributed by county auditors and
treasurers to the counties, municipalities, school districts, and other
taxing authorities according to the amount each levies.

Administration
Agencies:  County assessor, county auditor, county treasurer.
Minnesota Department of Revenue — equalization of values and
valuation of state-assessed properties.

Who Pays:  Owners of property not specifically exempt.

Due Dates:  First half of real estate tax is due by May 15th.
Second half of real estate tax is due by October l5th (November
l5th for owners of agricultural land).

History of Major Changes
1860 — State Board of Equalization created to reduce inequities

of assessment.
1913 — Classification system enacted, with four classes of

property
1933 — Property classes increased from four to seven.
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1934 — Constitutional amendment authorized the limited
exemption of household goods and farm machinery.

1937 — First $4,000 of homesteads exempted for state tax.
— Additional classes of property defined.

1945 — Airflight property tax enacted.
1961 — Indian lands exempt from taxation.
1967 — Homestead credit enacted at 35% of gross tax with a

maximum credit of $250.
— Senior citizen property tax credit enacted.
— State government property tax levy eliminated.
— Livestock and agricultural machinery exempted.
— Manufacturers given option to exempt either tools and

machinery or inventories.
— Adoption of county assessor system.
— Adoption of Minnesota Agricultural Property Tax Law

(known as “green acres”).
— Farm homestead increased from 40 to 80 acres.

1969 — Taconite homestead credit enacted.
— Minnesota Open Space Property Tax law enacted.

1971 — Overall property tax levy limitation laws enacted for
school districts, counties, and municipalities.

— Business inventories and tools and machinery made
entirely exempt.

— Mobile homes taxed as personal property.
— Fiscal disparities established.

1973 — Senior citizen property tax freeze credit enacted.
— Increase in market value for residential property limited

to 5% per year.
— Manufacturing and business machinery considered as

real property (attached machinery) exempted.
1974 — Homestead credit increased to 45% of gross tax with a

maximum credit of $325.
— Farm homestead increased from 80 to 120 acres.

1975 — Limited market value for residential property replaced
with general limits on valuation increases.

— Property tax refund enacted.
— Flexible homestead base established.
— Agricultural mill rate differential increased.

1976 — Agricultural mill rate differential eliminated and replaced
with a credit at a higher rate.

1977 — Farm homestead increased from 120 to 160  acres.
— Classification ratios for homesteads reduced.
— Relief under property tax refund increased; senior

citizen property tax freeze credit repealed.
1979 — Eliminated limited market value.  Enacted two-stage

shift to estimated market value.
— Homestead credit increased to 50% of gross tax with a

maximum credit of $550.
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— Classification ratios for homestead and certain other
property reduced.

— Farm homestead increased from 160 to 240 acres.
— Agricultural mill rate credit increased.
— Enacted power line credit (effective in 1982).
— Wetlands exemption and credit enacted.
— Gross earning tax on railroads replaced with the

general property tax.
1980 — Classification ratios lowered for homestead and

certain other property.
— Homestead credit increased to 58% of gross tax with

a maximum credit of $650.
— Native prairie exemption and credit enacted.
— Targeting credit for homesteads enacted.

1981 — Classification ratios for commercial-industrial
property and certain apartment buildings reduced.

— Agricultural mill rate credit made more progressive.
1982 — Enterprise zone classification of property created.

— Reduced assessments for property damaged by a
natural disaster enacted, with state payments to
offset local revenue loss.

1983 — Homestead credit percentage reduced to 54%.
— Classification ratios for homestead property and

certain apartments changed.
— Classification ratio on commercial/industrial property

reduced.
— Additional classification ratios for enterprise zone

property created and state paid credit for enterprise
zone business enacted.

— Enacted a new property tax refund formula with new
maximums.

— Removed 240-acre limit for farm homesteads.
1984 — Classification ratio for commercial/industrial

property reduced.
— Agricultural credit increased.
— Targeting credit enacted for taxes payable in 1985.

1985 — Maximum homestead credit increased to $700.
— Agricultural credit increased, maximum repealed.

1987 — Small business property tax transition credit enacted
for 1988 only.

— Homestead classification ratios reduced.
Beginning with taxes payable in 1989:

— Replaced the homestead credit on nonagricultural
property and the agricultural credit with exemptions.
Local units of government reimbursed through
replacement aid.
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— Restructured the classification system, reducing the
number of classes and increasing the ratios.

— Repealed the native prairie and wetlands credits.
— Exempted electric power distribution lines used to

supply electricity at retail to farmers.
1988 — Homestead credit reinstated for 1989 only and

maximum increased from $700 to $725.
— Agricultural credit reinstated for 1989 only but no

longer applicable to seasonal recreational property.
— Classification ratios and mill rates replaced by tax

capacity rates applied to market value.
— “Truth in Taxation” system enacted (pay 1990).

1989 — Beginning with pay 1990, the homestead and
agricultural credits replaced by new state aids,
including school equalization aid and homestead and
agricultural credit aid (HACA).

— New class rates for 1990 and subsequent years.
— Levy limits to be repealed by 1993.
— Noncommercial seasonal recreational property

eligible for targeting refund for 1990 only.
1990 — Class rates changed for several types of property.
1991 — Class rates and brackets changed for homestead

property.  Class rates changed for commercial/
industrial, residential rental, and seasonal residential
property.

— Separate vacant land class eliminated (pay 1993).
1992 — Homestead treatment extended to dwelling occupied

by relative of the owner.
— Calculation of targeting refund modified and limited

to a maximum of $1,500.
1993 — Limited market value established for agricultural,

residential, and noncommercial seasonal recreational
residential property for 1993-1998.

— Exclusion enacted for certain improvements to older
homes for up to ten years.  After ten years, 20% of
the excluded value added in each of five years.

— Class rates reduced for certain agricultural property.
— Non-school referendum levies applied to taxable

market value.
1994 — Restrictions added to exclusion of improvements for

older homes, including market value limit of
$150,000 ($300,000 in some areas).

— For the property tax refund, increased the income
thresholds and maximum refund amounts; indexed
both.  Increased percent paid by the state.

— For targeting, reduced the percent paid by the state
from 75% to 60% and the maximum refund from
$1,500 to $1,000.
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1995 — Class rates reduced for: cabins (pay 1997);
apartments in qualifying smaller cities outside the
metropolitan area; and certain new commercial/
industrial property within transit zones.

— New operating school district referendum levies
based on referendum market value.

1996 — Class rates reduced for cabins.
— Electric power generation facilities eligible for partial

market value exclusion based on efficiency.
— Income qualifications changed for Class 1b.
— Fiscal disparities enacted for taconite tax relief area.

1997 — Class rates reduced for most types of property,
including homesteads (2nd  tier), commercial/
industrial, apartments, cabins (1st tier), and Class 5.

— Brackets changed for homesteads and commercial/
industrial property.

— New classifications created for seasonal farm worker
housing and residential nonhomestead single unit
property.

— Education homestead credit enacted equal to 32% of
the property’s general education levy, with a
maximum credit of $225 per homestead.

— Levy limitations enacted for counties and for cities
over 2,500 population for pay 1998 and 1999 only.

— One-year rebate enacted as a refundable income tax
credit for homeowners and renters equal to 20% of
property taxes paid in 1997.

— Property tax deferral program enacted for qualifying
senior citizens, beginning pay 1999.

— Limited market value program extended to 2001.
— Income tax credit for increases in cabin property

taxes, for pay 1998 and 1999 only.
— For property tax refund and rebate, rent constituting

property taxes changed to equal 18% of gross rent.
— New referendum levies applied to referendum

market value.
1998 — Class rates reduced for most types of property.

— Education homestead credit percentage increased and
maximum increased to $320 for 1999 and $335
thereafter.

— One-year rebate enacted as a refundable income tax
credit for homeowners and renters equal to 20% of
property taxes paid in 1998, with a maximum rebate
of $1,500.

— For property tax refund and rebate, rent constituting
property taxes increased from 18% to 19% of gross
rent.
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1999 — Class rates reduced for most types of property,
including homesteads (2nd tier), commercial and
industrial, apartments, and cabins.

— Brackets changed for homesteads, one-unit
nonhomestead property, and cabins.

— Bracket change for agricultural homestead land over
$115,000 market value set at $600,000 market value
rather than 320 acres.

— Education homestead credit percentage increased and
maximum credit increased to $390.

— Education agricultural credit enacted equal to 54% of
the general education levy for agricultural homestead
land and 50% for agricultural nonhomestead land and
timberland.

— Limited market value calculation modified to further
restrict annual market value increases

2000 — Education agricultural credit increased from 54% to
70% of the general education levy on the first $600,000
market value for agricultural homestead land and
buildings and from 50% to 63% on other agricultural
land.
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TREE GROWTH TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 270.36

Tax Base:  Five acres or more of forest lands used exclusively for
the growing of continuous forest crops.

Rates:  Lands growing commercial forest types are taxed at 30%
of the value of annual growth.  Temporarily nonproductive forests
are taxed at 5¢ per acre or 15¢ per acre for noncompliance with the
reforestation agreement.  Permanently nonproductive lands are
taxed at 5¢ per acre.

Credit:  For each acre of land planted and maintained with at least
500 commercial trees, the owner is eligible for an annual credit of
50¢ per acre which is applied against taxes on other lands within
the same governmental subdivision and is allowed for ten years.

Special Provisions:  The tree growth tax is in lieu of the
property tax.  The owner must apply to, and receive approval
from, the county to have qualifying forest lands come under this
tax.

Revenue
Collections: Year Payable

1999 $1,557,000
2000 $1,551,000

Disposition: Same as the property tax.

Administration
Agencies:  County auditor, county board.

Who Pays:  Those who apply for and receive county board
approval to have their forest lands so taxed.

Due Dates:  Annually at the same time as the property tax.

History of Major Changes
1957 — Enacted.
1959 — Repealed restriction that a landowner may not have

more than 10,000 acres in one county under this tax.
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AUXILIARY FOREST TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 88.50

Tax Base:  Any 35 acres or more of land that is suitable for
forestation or any wood lot containing 5 to 40 acres.

Rates:  Land tax—annual tax of 10¢ per acre.  Yield tax—40% to
10% of value of timber, the rate determined by the year of the
harvest in relation to the contract period.

Special Provisions:  This tax is in lieu of the property tax.  The
land was made an auxiliary forest upon county board approval.
When the auxiliary forest contract expires, the land automatically
qualifies for the tree growth tax.  No new auxiliary forest contracts
are allowed, or existing contracts extended, after June 30, 1974.

Revenue
Collections: Year Payable

1999 $3,000
2000 $3,000

Disposition: Same as the property tax

Administration
Agencies:  County auditor, county board.

Who Pays:  Those who received county board approval on or
before June 30, 1974.

Due Dates:  Land tax — annually by May 31.  Yield tax — at time
of harvest.

History of Major Changes
1926 — Enabling constitutional amendment adopted.
1927 — Tax imposed on any tract of forestable land less than 160

acres; woodlots between 20 and 40 acres. Land tax: 8¢
per $l assessed value.  Yield tax: 10% of marketable
timber value.

1929 — Land tax changed to 5¢ per acre.
1945 — Size of land plot changed to any 35 acres or more and

wood lots between 5 and 40 acres.  Rate changed to 6¢
per acre.

1947 — Yield tax graduated between 40% and 10%.
1957 — Land tax rate changed to 10¢ per acre.
1974 — Prohibited contracts from being issued or extended,

effective after June 30, 1974.
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CONTAMINATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 270.91

Tax Base:  Contamination value of taxable real property, which is
the amount of any market value reduction granted for the property
tax due to the presence of contaminants.

% of
Rates: Class Rate*
General rate 100.0%
Owner has in place an approved abatement

or management plan, as specified 50.0%
Neither the owner nor the operator is the

party responsible for the contaminants 25.0%
Neither the owner nor the operator is the

responsible party and an approved abatement
or management plan is in place. 12.5%

* Class rate for that property under the property tax.

Major Exemptions:  Value of contaminants for which the
requirements of a response action plan have been satisfied; value of
asbestos under certain conditions.

Revenue
Collections: Year Payable

1999 $333,000
2000 $332,000

Disposition:
Tax on property that has a response plan

Contaminated Site and Development Account,
State General Fund 95%

County (for administrative costs) 5%
Tax on property without a response plan—distributed to local
jurisdictions in the same manner as the property tax.

Administration
Agencies:  County assessor, auditor, and treasurer

Who Pays:  Owners of contaminated property.

Due Dates: Same as the general property tax.

History of Major Changes
1993 — Enacted, beginning with taxes payable in 1995.
1994 — Exempted asbestos-contaminated property that is

managed under a qualifying program.
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MINING PRODUCTION TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.24

Tax Base:  Tonnage of merchantable iron ore concentrate produced
from taconite and iron sulfides.  The tax is applied to the average
tons produced in the current year and the two previous years.

Rates:
Taconite and Iron Sulfides - $2.141 per ton for production year
1999 and $2.173 for 2000.  The rate is indexed annually.

Direct Reduced Iron  – an additional tax is imposed equal to 3¢ per
gross ton of concentrate for each 1% that the iron content exceeds
72% when dried at 212o F.  For the first two years of a plant’s
production, no tax is imposed.  The tax is 25% of the regular tax in
the third year, 50% in the fourth year, and 75% in the fifth year.

Revenue
Collections: Year Payable

 1999 $94,268,000
 2000 $93,064,000

Disposition:  The tax is distributed based on requirements and
formulas specified in state statute.  The distribution of the net tax
made in 2000 for the 1999 production year is summarized on the
next page.  (Source: Minnesota Mining Tax Guide, Minnesota
Department of Revenue, Minerals Tax Office. October 2000)

Administration
Agencies:  Minnesota Department of Revenue, Minerals Tax
Office in Eveleth — determination of liability and distribution.
Eligible counties — collection and distribution to local units. Iron
Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board — collection of its
share.

Who Pays:  Mining companies pay the production tax in lieu of the
property tax on land and structures used to mine, quarry, or
produce taconite.

Number of Taxpayers: seven companies

Due Dates:  February 24 of the following year.
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Cents per
Aid recipients Taxable Ton

Taconite Cities and Towns 4.7¢
Taconite Municipal Aid Account 15.8
School Districts 34.3
Counties 22.6
County Road and Bridge 6.0
Taconite Property Tax Relief 37.0
Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation Board 9.9
Range Association of Municipalities & Schools 0.2
Taconite Railroad Grandfather Amount 6.5
Taconite Environmental Protection Fund 28.0
N.E. Minnesota Economic Protection Fund 12.6
Taconite Economic Development Fund 16.4
School Bond Payments 11.1
Other Administrative/Economic
  Development Funds         9.0
Total 214.1¢ = $2.141

History of Major Changes
1881 — Tonnage tax of 1¢ per ton imposed on iron ore.
1897 — Tonnage tax on iron ore repealed and replaced by the

property tax.
1941 — Taconite production tax of 5¢ per ton imposed.
1959 — Production tax on semi-taconite enacted.
1967 — Copper-nickel production tax enacted.
1969 — Tax on taconite increased to 11.5¢ per ton.
1971 — Additional tax of 4¢ to 14¢ per ton imposed.
1975 — Taconite production tax increased by 39¢ per ton.
1977 — Taconite production tax increased to $1.25 per ton with

tax indexed based on the price of steel.
1984 — Index frozen for two years and converts to implicit price

deflator for production year 1987.
— Water filtration plant credit enacted.

1985 — Taconite production tax paid to the counties and the
IRRRB.

1986 — Rate reduced from $2.048 to $1.90 per ton.  Indexing of
rate suspended under certain conditions.

1987 — Rate set at $1.90 per ton for 1987 and 1988, indexed
thereafter.

— Production tax on copper-nickel repealed.
1990 — Rate set at $1.975 per ton for 1990, to be indexed

starting in 1991.
1992 — Rate set at $2.054 per taxable ton for production years

1992 and 1993.  Indexing to start in 1994.
1994 — Rate kept at $2.054 for 1994 production year.

— Lower rate enacted for direct reduced ore.
1995 — Rate kept at $2.054 for the 1995 production year.
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1996 — Increase in rate due to indexing limited to 4¢ per ton for
1996.

1997 — For direct reduced iron, additional tax of 3¢ per ton
imposed for each 1% that the iron content exceeds 72%.

— Rates applicable to direct reduced iron changed.
1998 — Rate kept at $2.141 for the 1998 production year.
1999 — Rate kept at $2.141 for the 1999 production year.
2000 — Indexing to be based on the change in gross domestic

product rather than gross national product.

SEVERED MINERAL INTERESTS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 273.165, Subd. 1

Tax Base:  Mineral interests in real estate owned separately from
the title to the surface interests in the real estate.

Rates:  Annual tax of 40¢ per acre times the fractional interest
owned.  Minimum tax of $3.20 on any mineral interest.

Exemptions:  Mineral interests taxed under other laws relating to
mineral taxation.

Revenue
Collections: Year Payable

1999 $588,000
2000 $758,000

Disposition:
Local taxing districts in the same

manner as the property tax 80%
The Indian Business Loan Account

of the Special Revenue Fund 20%

Administration
Agency:  County

Who Pays:  Owners of mineral interests which are owned
separately from the affected real estate.

Due Dates:  Annually at the same time as the property tax.

History of Major Changes
1973 — Enacted.
1994 — Tax  increased from 25¢ to 40¢ per acre; minimum tax

increased from $2 to $3.20.
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UNMINED TACONITE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.26

Tax Base:  Taconite in a forty-acre tract of land from which the
production of iron ore concentrate is less than 1,000 tons.

Rates:  Market value times the class rate of 3.4% times the local
property tax rate.  Maximum tax of $15 per acre.

Revenue
Collections: Year Payable

1999 $403,000
2000 $402,000

Disposition:  Same as the property tax.

Administration
Agency:  County

Who Pays:  Owners of taconite mineral interests.

Due Dates:  Annually at the same time as the property tax.

History of Major Changes
1941 — Enacted at $1 per acre maximum.
1977 — Increased to $10 per acre maximum.
1994 — Maximum tax increased from $10 to $15 per acre.

AGGREGATE MATERIAL PRODUCTION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.75

Tax Base:  Aggregate material removed from gravel pits or
deposits in specified counties.  Aggregate material means
nonmetallic natural mineral aggregate and includes sand, silica sand,
gravel, building stone, crushed rock, limestone, and granite.

Rates:  10¢ per cubic yard or 7¢ per ton.

Revenue
Collections: Table by county on page 73

Disposition:
County road and bridge fund 60%
City or town for roads and bridges 30%
Restoration of abandoned pits 10%
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 C.Y. 1998 C.Y. 1999
Becker $121,000 $148,000
Benton 0 0
Big Stone 80,000 72,000
Carver 58,000 63,000
Clay 179,000 192,000
Dakota 616,000 660,000
Hennepin 263,000 240,000
Kittson 30,000 23,000
LeSueur 180,000 153,000
Mahnomen 11,000 9,000
Marshall 20,000 30,000
Norman 42,000 28,000
Pennington 50,000 28,000
Polk 78,000 78,000
Pope 22,000 42,000
Ramsey 51,000 55,000
Red Lake 32,000 30,000
Scott 308,000 247,000
Sherburne 192,000 222,000
Sibley 46,000 39,000
Stearns 114,000 152,000
Washington 378,000 364,000
Wilkin        10,000 7,000
Twps. in St. Louis Co.                 0        5,000.

Total $2,881,000 $2,886,000

Administration
Agency:  County or township

Who Pays:  Those removing aggregate material from pits or
deposits in the specified counties or townships or importing
aggregate materials into those counties or townships.

Due Dates:  Quarterly.

History of Major Changes
1961-1979. Tax allowed in 7 counties by special laws.
1980 — Gave all counties the option of imposing the tax.
1982 — Uniform rate enacted, extended to all aggregate materials.
1983 — Specified 26 counties subject to tax.
1984 — Exempted certain counties.
1996 — Authorized Chisago, Murray, and Rock counties to

impose the tax  (None imposed the tax.)
1997 — Authorized Carlton, Pope, and St. Louis counties to

impose the tax.  Pope County imposed the tax; the
others did not .

— Authorized specified townships in St. Louis County to
impose the tax if the county chose not to impose it.
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LOCAL SALES TAXES

Minnesota law prohibits local governments from imposing a
sales or income tax without specific legislative authorization.
Minnesota has no local income taxes.  The table on this page and
the next page shows local sales taxes authorized by special
legislation which are currently imposed by the local government.
The total local sales tax on some transactions involves combining
two or more tax rates from the table.

Year Last
Rate Enacted Changed

General Sales Tax
Cook County   1.0% 1993 1997
Duluth   1.0% 1973 1980
Hermantown   0.5% 1996 -
Mankato  0.5% 1991 1998
Minneapolis  0.5% 1986 -
New Ulm 0.5% 1999 -
Proctor 0.5% 1999 -
Rochester  0.5% 1983 1998
St. Paul  0.5% 1993 1998
Two Harbors 0.5% 1998 -
Willmar  0.5% 1997 -
Winona 0.5% 1998 -

Lodging *
Bloomington 6.0% 1970 1990
Cook County towns Lutsen, 2.0% 1987 -

Schroeder, and Tofte
Duluth

More than 30 Rooms 5.5% 1970 1998
Other   3.0% 1970 1980

Minneapolis**
More than 50 Rooms   5.0% 1986 -
Other   3.0% 1969 -

Rochester   3.0% 1971 -
St. Cloud   5.0% 1979 1986
St. Paul

More than 50 Rooms 6.0% 1986 1991
Other   3.0% 1970 1982

Two Harbors   1.0% 1994 -
Winona   1.0% 1991 1995

* In addition, Minnesota Statutes, Section 469.190, allows
cities and towns to impose a lodging tax of up to 3%.
More than fifty cities and towns impose this tax.

** The cumulative tax cannot exceed 12%.
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Year Last
Rate Enacted Changed

Restaurant Food and Beverages
Duluth  1.5% 1977 1998
Little Falls  0.5% 1996 -
Minneapolis - Downtown   3.0% 1986 -
St. Cloud   1.0% 1986 -

Liquor & Beer (On Sale)
Bloomington   5.0% 1986 -
Minneapolis - Downtown   3.0% 1986 -
St. Cloud   1.0% 1986 -

Admissions
Bloomington

Spectator Events  3.0% 1970 -
Minneapolis  3.0% 1969 -

Amusements
Minneapolis  3.0% 1969 -

Motor Vehicle Retail Sales - Tax Per Vehicle
Mankato  $20 1991 -
Proctor $20 1999 -
Rochester  $20 1983 1992
Two Harbors $20 1998 -
Willmar  $20 1997 -
Winona $20 1998 -

Revenue
Collections:* C.Y. 1998 C.Y. 1999

Bloomington $11,236,000 $11,965,000
Duluth 12,493,000 14,109,000
Hermantown 725,000 821,000
Little Falls 54,000 57,000
Mankato 2,736,000 2,857,000
Minneapolis 42,532,000 45,847,000
Rochester 8,684,000 9,411,000
St. Cloud 1,689,000 1,884,000
St. Paul 13,448,000 13,886,000
Two Harbors 15,000 114,000
Willmar 941,000 1,166,000
Winona 51,000 982,000
Cook County        976,000       1,064,000
Total $95,580,000 $104,163,000

* Reflect collections only from taxes imposed upon special
authorization.
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LOCAL GROSS EARNINGS TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 451.07

Tax Base:  Gross earnings of utilities operating in certain cities
and counties.

Rates: Varies by city

Revenue
Collections:  Gas and electric utility companies*

C.Y. 1998 C.Y. 1999

Albert Lea $1,049,000 $1,049,000
Anoka 863,000 907,000
Coon Rapids 1,499,000 1,630,000
Duluth 938,000 938,000
Minneapolis 17,210,000 17,855,000
St. Cloud 1,423,000 1,555,000
St. Paul 15,905,000 16,270,000
Winona        740,000        626,000

$39,627,000 $40,830,000

*Cities shown are those with annual receipts over $500,000.

Disposition:  Local revenue funds.

Administration
Agency:  Local units of government.

Who Pays:  Utility companies.

Due  Dates:  Established locally.
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GREATER MINNESOTA LANDFILL
 CLEANUP FEE

Minnesota Statutes, Section 115A.923

Tax Base:  Volume of solid waste disposed of at a solid waste
disposal facility outside the seven-county metropolitan area.

Rate:  $2 per cubic yard.

Exemption:  Waste residue from recycling or energy and resource
recovery facilities at which solid waste is processed to extract,
reduce, convert to energy, or otherwise separate and prepare it for
reuse if at least 85% (by weight) of the solid waste is reduced.

Revenue
Disposition:  County or sanitary district where facility is located
or the city for a city-owned facility.  Revenue must be used for
landfill abatement purposes or costs of closure, postclosure care,
and response actions or other designated purposes.

Administration
Agency:  County, sanitary district, or city.

Who Pays:  Operators of mixed municipal solid waste disposal
facilities outside the seven-county metropolitan area charge and
remit the fee.

History of Major Changes
1989 — Enacted.
1990 — Fee remitted to local unit of government rather than

Department of Revenue.
1991 — Changed the status of the operator of a mixed

municipal solid waste disposal facility from the entity
that pays the fee to the one that charges the fee.

1995 — Exemption based on 85% of weight rather than volume.
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 MINNESOTA  STATE TAX   COLLECTIONS
NET  AFTER  REFUNDS

 Fiscal Year 2000
% of

  F.Y. 1999 Amount    Total 
(000’s) (000’s)

Individual Income $5,305,177 $5,556,371 42.90%
Income Tax Reciprocity 39,367 46,475 0.36
Corporate Franchise 777,492 800,129 6.18
Estate 58,132 82,516 0.64

General Sales & Usea 3,396,528 3,715,267 28.69
Motor Vehicle Rental 11,075 12,123 0.09
Motor Vehicle Sales Tax 478,088 540,300 4.17
Motor Fuels Excise 580,023 606,149 4.68
Alcoholic Beverage 58,818 62,139 0.48
Cigarette 175,117 174,769 1.35
Tobacco Products 14,147 15,390 0.12
Controlled Substances 81 50 b

Mortgage Registry 89,791 72,937 0.56
Deed Transfer 62,945 68,459 0.53

Lawful Gambling Taxes 62,762 62,495 0.48
Pari-mutuel 878 933 0.01
Sports Bookmaking 1 0 -

Insurance Premiums 180,436 172,726 1.33
Health Care Surcharges 120,418 123,677 0.95
MinnesotaCare Taxes 127,312 151,034 1.17

Mining Occupation 2,164 2,292 0.02

Motor Vehicle Reg. 548,007 608,112 4.70
Airflight Property 8,661 8,804 0.07
Aircraft Registration 3,782 6,716 0.05
Rural Electric Co-ops             44 58 b

Hazardous Waste 1,268 1,286 0.01
Metropolitan Landfill       3,385 4,002 0.03
Solid Waste Management      51,062 55,428     0.43

Total $12,156,961 $12,950,636 100.00%

a Before reduction for the $1.3 billion rebate in 1999 and $635.6
million rebate in 2000.

b Less than .005%
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MINNESOTA  LOCAL  TAX  COLLECTIONS

Year Payable

  1999.   2000.
(000’s) (000’s)

General Property Tax —
net after credits $4,415,500 $4,492,400

Tree growth tax 1,557 1,551
Auxiliary forest tax 3 3
Contamination tax 333 332

Taconite production tax 94,268 93,064
Severed mineral interests tax 588 758
Unmined taconite tax 403 402

Calendar Year Collections
1998  1999

(000’s) (000’s)

Aggregate materials tax $2,881 $2,886

Local Sales Taxes* $95,580 $104,163

Gross Earnings on
 Utility Companies** $39,627 $40,830

* Collections reflect only taxes imposed upon special
authorization.

** Cities with annual receipts over $500,000.
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