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Dependent Care Tax Credits 
The Minnesota dependent care credit is a refundable income tax credit equal to a 
percentage of qualifying dependent care expenses. Families with incomes above 
$31,700 do not qualify. The maximum credit is $720 for one dependent and 
$1,440 for two or more. 

The Minnesota dependent care credit is linked to the federal dependent care credit. 
The federal credit is not refundable and is available to all taxpayers, regardless of 
income level. 

In tax year 1998, 35,728 Minnesota income tax returns claimed the dependent 
care credit, for a total of $11.5 million. 
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Minnesota and the federal government provide income tax credits for dependent care 
expenses. 

The federal credit equals 30 percent of qualifying dependent care expenses for families 
with incomes of $10,000 or less. The credit percentage phases down to 20 percent for families 
with incomes over $28,000, but all families qualify, regardless of income. The maximum credit 
is $720 for one dependent and $1,440 for two or more. The federal income is nonrefundable; 
that is, it can only be used to offset federal income tax liability. Thus many low-income families 
will not receive the full credit because they have little tax liability. 

The Minnesota credit is linked to the federal credit. However, the Minnesota credit has 
different income limits and a different phase-out schedule. The Minnesota credit begins to phase 
out when income reaches $18,050, and is not available to families with incomes over $31,700. 
The maximum state credit is the same as the federal: $720 for one dependent and $1,440 for two 
or more. However, the Minnesota credit is refundable. Thus a low-income family can receive 
the maximum credit, even if the family has little or no income tax liability. 

In tax year 1998, 35,728 Minnesota income tax returns claimed the dependent care credit, 
for a total of $11.5 million. This represented 1.4 percent of all state returns in 1998. Most 
claimants were single parents: an estimated 25,000 head of household filers claimed the credit in 
1998, compared to about 10,000 married couples. 1 

Over half of the total amount of credit paid-$5.9 million-went to off set liability, with the 
balance of $5.6 million paid as refunds. About 23 percent of recipients had no liability and 
received the full credit amount as a refund. Fifty percent had liability that exceeded the credit 
amount for which they qualified. The remaining claimants had some liability but qualified for a 
credit that resulted in a refund. 
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Purpose of the Minnesota and Federal Dependent 
Care Credits 

The Minnesota dependent care credit is targeted to low- and moderate-income families, 
making it easier for them to work. 

Many low- and moderate-income taxpayers pay a significant portion of their incomes for 
dependent care. By directing the dependent care credit to taxpayers with incomes under $31,700, 
Minnesota reduces these families' cost of working. 

The authorizing statute does not assign an explicit purpose or goal to the Minnesota dependent 
care credit. However, the credit may be assumed to have at least two goals: 

• 

• 

to recognize dependent care costs as a necessary expense of working 

to encourage low- and moderate-income individuals to work 

The federal dependent care credit is available to all taxpayers, regardless of income. This 
approach recognizes dependent care expenses as a necessary expense of working. Because the 
federal credit is nonrefundable (i.e., it can only be used to offset income tax liability and does not 
benefit those without liability), it does not provide any special assistance for low- and moderate­
income individuals to enter the work force. 

The federal and state income taxes allow taxpayers to deduct most business expenses from 
taxable income. For example, a taxpayer who runs a business and has employees may deduct 
the employees' salaries. Personal or living expenses, by contrast, are not deductible. Rather, 
individuals may deduct exemption amounts for the taxpayer, spouse, and dependents, reflecting 
basic living expenses.2 The Minnesota income tax has traditionally classified child care expenses 
as nondeductible personal or living expenses. 3 However, taxpayers with young children in many 
cases must pay for their care in order to work. To allow some recognition of these "business 
expenses," taxpayers may claim both federal and state dependent care credits that partially offset 
the cost of dependent care.4 
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How the Minnesota and Federal Dependent 
Care Credits Work 

The Minnesota dependent care 
credit is tied to the federal 
dependent care credit. Both of 
these credits allow taxpayers to 
claim a percentage of qualifying 
dependent care expenses as a 
credit against income tax 
liability. The box to the right 
summarizes the history of the 
federal and state credits. The 
state credit is limited to families 
with incomes less than $31,700, 
while the federal credit is 
available to all filers, regardless 
of income level. 

To qualify for the dependent 
care credit, an individual must 
incur expenses related to the 
care of a dependent to hold 
employment. Under federal 
law, four basic tests must be 
satisfied to qualify for the 
dependent care credit. 
Minnesota, by using the federal 
credit amount in calculating its 
credit, also follows these rules. 

• The taxpayer must 
maintain a household that 
includes a qualified 
individual. In order to 
maintain a home, more than 
half of the cost must be 
furnished by the individual 
or married couple. For 

History of Federal and State Credits 
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example, an individual who lives with a parent and does not pay one-half or more of 
the costs of the home may not claim the dependent care credit for the care of his or her 
children. 

• Qualified individuals are dependent children under age 13 or disabled spouses or 
dependents.5 To qualify, an adult dependent must be physically or mentally unable to 
perform self-care. Dependents must satisfy five conditions specified in federal law;6 

one of these requires the taxpayer to provide at least one-half of the person's support. 
The Minnesota credit differs from federal law in disregarding payments under the Aid 
to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) program in determining whether the 
dependency support test is met. 

• The expenses must be incurred to enable the taxpayer to be gainfully employed. 
Expenses must be paid to allow the taxpayer to work or look for work. For a married 
couple, both spouses generally must work. However, a parent who is a full-time 
student is considered to be working. 

• The expenses must relate to the care of the qualified individual. In general, two 
types of expenses qualify-( 1) direct care expenses, such as day care or a nanny for a 
qualified individual, or (2) household expenses, such as a maid or cleaning service, 
when performed in conjunction with dependent care. Expenses may not exceed the 
earned income of the lower earning spouse.7 Generally, payments to a.day care center 
(those taking care of six or more children) qualify only if the center meets the 
requirements of state law. The taxpayer also must report the caregiver' s taxpayer 
identification number (generally a Social Security number) on the federal dependent 
care credit form. Credits cannot be claimed for payments made to dependents or a 
child of the taxpayer under age 19. 

Taxpayers may claim up to 30 percent of qualifying expenses for up to two dependents. 

:Both the federal and state dependent care credits allow maximum qualifying expenses of $2,400 
for one dependent and $4,800 for two or more dependents. The maximum federal credit, then, is 
$720 for one dependent and $1,440 for two or more dependents. The state credit matches the 
federal credit, making the maximum a taxpayer may receive in federal and state credits $1,440 
for one dependent and $2,880 for two dependents. 

The maximum qualifying expenses were set in 1982, and while the percentage of expenses 
allowed as a credit has been increased since then, the maximum expenses have not been adjusted 
for inflation. If they had been adjusted, the maximum would be close to $4,250 for one child and 
$8,500 for two or more children in tax year 1997. An annual survey of actual dependent care 
expenses showed a range in 1997 from $6,685 for infants.in the metro area to $4,148 for pre­
schoolers in the nonmetro; both well above the maximum allowable qualifying expense for one 
child.8 



House Research Department 
The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits 

Updated: November 2000 
Page6 

Dependent care expenses paid out of pre-tax accounts do not qualify for the credit, but do count 
against the credit maximums. Many employers allow their employees to participate in pre-tax 
accounts for dependent care expenses. Employees may set aside up to $5,000 of pre-tax income 
in these accounts to pay dependent care expenses. People who use these accounts, however, may 
only claim the dependent care credit if the amount paid through the pre-tax account is less than 
the maximum qualifying expense allowed under the credit. For example, a taxpayer who sets­
aside $2,000 in a pre-tax account and has actual dependent care costs of $3,000 for one child may 
claim a dependent care credit for $400 of qualifying expenses-the difference between the 
$2,400 maximum allowed under the credit and the $2,000 set-aside in the pre-tax account. 
Because annual dependent care expenses generally exceed the $2,400 maximum allowed under 
the credit, most taxpayers will either use a pre-tax account or claim the credit, but not qualify for 
both programs. 

Dependent care expense~ paid through the state's Basic Sliding Fee child care program, or 
through Minnesota Family Assistance Program (MFIP) child care do not qualify for either the 
federal or state dependent care tax credit. However, any amounts families are required to 
contribute as "copayments" do qualify for both credits. 

The federal credit rate phases down to 20 percent for taxpayers with incomes above 
$28,000. 

If the taxpayer's adjusted gross income is $10,000 or less, the federal credit equals 30 percent of 
qualifying expenses. The credit percentage drops by one percentage point for each additional 
$2,000 of income ( or fraction of $2,000), up to $28,000 of income. The phase-out stops at this 
income level; all taxpayers with adjusted gross income above $28,000 qualify for a 20 percent 
credit. Thus, a taxpayer with $10,100 of income receives a 29 percent federal credit; one with 
income of $27,000, a 21 percent credit. 

The Minnesota credit fully phases out; taxpayers with incomes above around $30,000 may 
not claim the credit. 

The Minnesota phase-out begins at a higher income level than does the federal credit, and uses a 
broader definition of income. 9 When Minnesota adopted the full amount of the federal credit as 
the starting point for the state credit, the legislation started the phase-out at the same 
income-$10,000-as the federal credit. In later sessions, the Minnesota Legislature increased 
the phase-out floor and indexed it for inflation, while the federal floor remained unchanged. In 
tax year 2000, the Minnesota credit begins to phase out for those with incomes over $18,050. 
The Minnesota credit decreases by $18 ($36 if the filer claims the credit for two dependents) for 
each $350 over the income threshold, with the credit fully phased out at $31,700. 

Figure 1 shows the maximum credit amounts for married couples with two dependents and head 
of household filers with one dependent by income level. The figure takes into account that one 
must have tax liability to qualify for the federal credit, since it is not refundable. The figure 
assumes that taxpayers claim the standard deduction and report the maximum allowable 
qualifying expenses. 
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Figure 1 
Federal and Minnesota Dependent Care Credits 

Available to Filers with Maximum Qualifying Expenses 
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Low-income filers may claim the maximum state credit, because it is refundable. But 
because the federal credit is only available to offset net tax liability after subtracting the $500 
child credit, the married couple may not receive any federal credit until their income reaches 
$25,217; the head of household filer until income reaches $15,383, In effect, the figure shows 
that it is impossible for a head of household or married joint filer to qualify for the maximum 
federal credit, since the phase-out of the maximum credit begins at $10,000. 10 The figure also 
shows the Minnesota credit fully phasing out at just above $30,000 of income; while the federal 
credit is available to all taxpayers regardless of income. 
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The Minnesota credit is refundable; the federal credit is not. If a filer is eligible for a 
Minnesota dependent care credit that exceeds his or her tax liability, that filer receives any "left­
over" credit as a refund. However, filers eligible for a federal dependent care credit that exceeds 
tax liability may only use the credit to offset liability; the rest is forfeited. 

Many credit recipients are low income and have little or no tax liability. In 2000, the 
standard deduction and exemption amounts ensured that a married couple with two dependents 
had no federal liability until gross income exceeded $18,550. Their next $1,000 of federal 
liability is offset by the nonrefundable $500 per child tax credit, which unlike the dependent care 
credit is not tied to any particular type of expenditure. As a result, the typical married couple 
with two dependents will not receive any benefits under the federal dependent care credit until 
their income reaches $25,217. A head of household filer with one dependent owed no tax until 
gross income exceeded $12,050. This filer will have the next $500 of liability offset by the $500 
child credit and will not benefit from the dependent care credit until income reaches $15,383. 
Both of these example filers will receive a state credit, however, since the state credit is 
refundable. 

Since the Minnesota credit is tied to the federal credit amount, both phase-outs operate 
simultaneously. Although the Minnesota phase-out begins at $18,050, an individual with 
$18,000 of income will not qualify for the maximum credit. The federal phase-out will have 
reduced the· $720/$1,440 maximum credit (to $624/$1,248), and the maximum federal credit is 
used as the starting point in determining the state credit. 

Since tax year 1992, Minnesota has allowed parents who operate licensed family day care 
homes to claim the dependent care credit for their own children. Parents who operate 
licensed family day care homes and care for their own children may claim the dependent care 
credit without regard to their actual out-of-pocket expenses. They may claim $2,400 of 
qualifying expenses for their own children under 16 months of age. For children from 16 months 
to seven years of age, they may claim the amount they charge to care for children of the same 
age. They may not claim the credit for their own childr~n over age seven under this provision. 

Beginning in 1994 the Minnesota d~pendent care credit includes a special young-child 
credit. The young-child credit allows married joint filers with a child under age one to claim a 
credit, regardless of whether they incurred dependent care expenses. These couples will be 
deemed to have paid the maximum qualifying expenses of $2,400 for the child under one, and 
will calculate their credit for that child as though they had actually paid $2,400 in expenses. This 
will provide a credit to families in which one parent stays at home and to those in which both 
parents work but who incur no out-of-pocket child expenses. Families may not claim this credit 
and the regular credit for the same child. They also may not claim more than one young-child 
credit in any year, regardless of the number of children they have under age one. 

The dependent care credit is an entitlement; no limit is imposed on its funding. Unlike 
some direct spending programs for dependent-related expenses, no fixed dollar appropriation or 
spending limit applies to either the federal or state dependent care credits. Filers receive the full 
credits to which they are entitled under the credit formula. 
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People claim both the federal and state credits by filing the appropriate tax forms. 

At the federal level, taxpayers must file either form 1040 ("the long form") and Schedule 2441 or 
form 1040A ("the short forin") and Schedule 2 to claim the dependent care credit. They may not 
file form 1040EZ if they wish to claim the credit. Taxpayers enter qualifying expenses on either 
Schedule 2441 or Schedule 2 and then look up the credit rate in a table keyed to income. · Finally, 
the taxpayer calculates the credit amount by multiplying the credit rate by the qualifying 
expenses. 

At the state level, taxpayers must file form M-1 and also complete Schedule M-lCD to claim the 
Minnesota dependent care credit. They also must attach a copy of either federal Schedule 2441 
or Schedule 2 to their state tax return. Schedule M-1 CD requires taxpayers to fill in the various 
income items used in calculating the state credit phase-out. The state credit phase-out is based 
on a broad income measure that includes federal adjusted gross income, nontaxable Social 
Security benefits, deductible payments to retirement accounts, and welfare benefits. After adding 
up these income items, the taxpayer looks up the credit amount in a table keyed to income. 
Taxpayers then compare their state credit with the federal credit computed on Schedule 2441 or 
Schedule 2, and may claim the smaller of the two as a state credit. Special instructions are 
provided £or taxpayers who claim the young-child credit or who operate a licensed family day 
care home and are claiming the credit for their own children. 

Taxpayers must keep records on the amount paid for dependent care expenses and provide 
information about the caregiver. Both the federal and state tax forms require taxpayers to 
report the name and taxpayer identification·number of the caregiver. The federal forms also 
require the caregiver' s address. Also, taxpayers should maintain records, such as receipts or 
canceled checks, of how much they paid for dependent care expenses throughout the year. 

People who have no state income tax liability must file a tax return to claim the dependent 
care credit as a refund. Individuals with incomes below the filing thresholds generally do not 
need to file tax returns. However, if they have qualifying dependent care expenses, they must do 
so to claim the refundable credit. Claimants must complete a Minnesota tax return and either a 
federal Schedule 2441 or Schedule 2. 
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Distribution of the Benefits of the Dependent Care Credit 

Just under 36,000 filers received $11.465 million in Minnesota dependent care credits in tax 
year 1998. Figure 2 shows the percentage of returns in each county that claimed the credit 
in 1998. 

Figure 2 
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Statewide, 1.4 percent of all returns claimed the dependent care credit in 1998. Roseau County 
filers were most likely to claim the credit (3.1 percent of filers), and the credit was least likely to 
be claimed in Lake County (0.6 percent of filers). Residents of the seven-county metro area were 
somewhat less likely to claim the credit than were taxpayers in the rest of the state perhaps 
because personal income tends to be higher in the metro area. Metro taxpayers claimed 45 
percent of all credits, but filed 52 percent of all tax returns. 
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The availability of pre-tax dependent care accounts may affect the percentage of taxpayers who 
claim dependent care credits, since taxpayers may either use a pre-tax account to pay dependent 
care expenses or claim the credit, but not both. Employers are not required to offer pre-tax 
accounts, and they are not available to the self-employed. A 1999 survey showed that 24 percent 
of Minnesota employers offered pre-tax accounts. 11 It is probably safe to assume that larger 
companies are more likely to offer the accounts, and that larger companies are more likely to be 
located in cities than in rural areas. Figure 2 also shows cities with populations over 10,000; all 
but Worthington are located in counties in which fewer than 2.2 percent of returns claimed the 
credit. Counties in which an above-average percentage of returns claimed the credit are, in 
contrast, more rural. 

The average dependent care credit claimed in 1998 was for $321. Figure 3 shows the 
average dependent care credit by county. 

Figure 3 

Pl 
Ld 

D 

below average 
less than $260 

about average 
$260 to $340 

above average 
over$340 

House Research Graphics 



House Research Department 
The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits 

Updated: November 2000 
Page 12 

Seven-county metro area recipients claimed a slightly higher credit on average than those in the 
rest of the state-$347 compared to $302. The highest average credit claimed in 1998 was $387 
in Lyon County; the lowest was $215, in Big Stone County. The gap between the average credit 
in the metro area and in the rest of Minnesota has narrowed considerably since 1994, when the 
average was $355 in the metro compared to $255 in the rest of the state. The two have come 
closer together due almost entirely to an increase in the average for nonmetro Minnesota. The 
difference between the two parts of the state may reflect the greater availability of pre-tax 
accounts in the metro area, 12 as well as higher child care costs in the Twin Cities. The narrowing 
of the gap reflects increased child care costs in the nonmetro area, and also may indicate a greater 
availability of pre-tax accounts throughout Minnesota in 1998 compared to 1994.13 

Single parents claim more dependent care credits than do married parents and are more 
likely to claim the credit as a refund. 

An estimated 25,000 head of household filers claimed the dependent care credit in 1998, 
compared to about 10,000 married couples. 14 Some married couples may choose to have one 
spouse work outside the home while the other cares for their children, making them ineligible for 
the credit. Two-earner married couples may pay for dependent care, but are also more likely to 
be income-ineligible than are single parents, simply by having two paychecks rather than one. 
Because of this, married couples are more likely to receive the credit as an offset to tax liability 
rather than a refund, while head of household filers are more likely to receive the credit as a 
refund. 
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Just over half of the $11.5 million in dependent care credits paid in 1998 went to offset tax 
liability-$5.9 million-with the remaining $5.6 million paid as refunds. 

Figure 4 shows that of the 35,700 credits claimed in 1998, just about half were taken as full or 
partial refunds of liability. About 23 percent of recipients had no liability at all and received the 
full credit amounts as a refund, 26 percent had some liability but qualified for a credit that 
resulted in a refund, and the remaining 50 percent had tax liability that exceeded the credit 
amount for which they qualified. 
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Figure 4 
Minnesota Dependent Care Credit 

Recipients by Refundability of Credit, 1998 
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The Minnesota dependent care credit targets its benefits to low- and moderate-income 
families. 

Figure 5 shows that over half of all Minnesota dependent care credits go to taxpayers with gross 
incomes less than $20,000, and just under half to those with incomes between $20,000 and 
$30,000. 15 In contrast, federal credits tend to go to higher income families (e.g., about 50 percent 
of all federal credits go to those with incomes over $50,000, with over 29 percent going to those 
with incomes between $50,000 and $75,000). Two factors explain this divergence. First, the 
federal credit is not refundable. Families whose incomes are too low for them to owe income tax 
do not receive the credit. Nonrefundability explains why almost no one with gross income under 
$10,000 can claim a federal credit. In contrast, about 6 percent of the refundable Minnesota 
credits go to families with incomes less than $10,000. Second, the federal credit phases down to 
a minimum amount, while the Minnesota credit phases out entirely. This explains why no one 
with gross income above $30,000 receives a Minnesota dependent care credit, while about three­
quarters of all federal credits go to filers in this moderate-to-high income range. Of the estimated 
129,000 federal credit recipients in Minnesota, about 97,000, or almost 75 percent are income­
ineligible for the state credit. 

Figure 5 
Distribution of Federal and Minnesota Dependent 

Care Credits by Income, 1997 
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1. Distribution between married and head of household filers estimated from the 1997 sample of income tax 
returns prepared by the Minnesota Department of Revenue. 

2. In addition, a standard deduction or itemized deductions for certain expenses (mortgage interest, charitable 
contributions, etc.) are allowed. 

3. Between 1954 and 1976, the federal income tax allowed an itemized deduction for dependent care 
expenses. As with any itemized deduction, taxpayers claiming the standard deduction were not allowed the 
dependent care credit deduction. Minnesota also allowed a deduction for this purpose from 1969 to 1976. 
The federal and Minnesota dependent care credits replaced these deductions. 

4. This "business expense" rationale apparently was the primary justification for enactment of the federal 
dependant care credit. For example, the Senate Committee Report that accompanied the legislation 
enacting the depenqent care credit cited this as a main reason for the credit and as the justification for 
eliminating features of the itemized deduction which it replaced, such as denying the deduction to those 
claiming the standard deduction and limiting it to lower income individuals. 

Treating child care expenses as itemized deductions denies any beneficial tax recognition of such 
expenses to taxpayers who elect the standard deduction. The committee believes such expenses 
should be viewed as a cost of earning income for which all working taxpayers may make a claim ... 

The committee views qualified child care expenses· as a cost of earning income and believes that an 
income ceiling on those entitled to the allowance has minimal revenue impact, if the allowance is in 
the form of credit. (Senate Rep. No. 94-938, 94th Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in 1976 USCCAN 3565-
66. The House Report contained essentially identical language.) 

5. A nondependent child may qualify, if the parent is divorced or separated, has custody, and has agreed not 
to claim the child as a dependent, or the noncustodial parent can claim the child as a dependent. 

6. Five conditions must be satisfied to claim a person as a dependent: 
• the person must be a member of the taxpayer's household 
• the person must be a U.S. citizen or resident, or a resident of Canada or Mexico 
• the person may not file a married joint return 
• the person may not have gross income over the personal exemption amount-$2,800 in tax year 

2000-unless the person is the taxpayer's child and is under age 19 or age 24 and is a student 
• the taxpayer must provide over half of the person's support during the calendar year 

7. A full-time student with one dependent is deemed to have $200/month in earned income ($400/month for 
two or more dependents). 

8. Minnesota Department of Children, Families and Learning, 1999 Child Care Rate Survey-75th Percentile. 
Rates cited are the averages of 75th percentile rates for metro and nonmetro Minnesota. 

9. The Minnesota dependent care credit uses a broad measure of income that includes all income. subject to 
the income tax plus most nontaxable cash income, such as welfare benefits, tax-exempt bond interest, 
workers' compensation benefits, and so forth. The measure does not include noncash income that is not 
subject to tax, such as employee fringe benefits, Medical Assistance, and food stamps. 

10. The income at which the federal credit begins to phase out ($10,000) is not adjusted for inflation, while the 
federal standard deduction and personal exemptions are adjusted annually. This has resulted in a steady 
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increase over time in the tax threshold, or income level at which a filer has liability, while the income at 
which the nonrefundable credit begins to phase out has remained fixed at $}0,000. 

11. Employee Benefits Survey, Minnesota Department of Economic Security, September 1999. 

12. For the most part, parents must choose between a pre-tax account, if offered by their employer, and the 
dependent care credit. Generally, middle and upper income taxpayers receive a greater tax benefit from 
using a pre-tax account than from claiming the dependent care credit. Those with incomes in the credit 
phase-out range will tend to choose a pre-tax account if their employer offers one. This will tend to 
increase the average credit claimed by metro recipients, who are more likely have access to a pre-tax 
account. Metro residents with incomes in the phase-out range who would otherwise qualify for a small 
credit will choose a pre-tax account instead, with the credit more likely to be used by lower income parents 
who qualify for a higher credit because of the phase-out structure. Outside of the metropolitan area pre-tax 
accounts may be less available, leading parents in the credit phase-out range to claim relatively small 
credits and reduce the average credit for nonmetro Minnesota. 

13. Department of Revenue income tax samples from 1994 and 1997 (the most recent year available) do not 
show a substantial increase in the use of pre-tax accounts. When the sample is projected to the population 
it shows the number of filers using pre-tax accounts increasing from 42,000 to 46,000 from 1994 to 1997, 
and the amount set aside increasing from about $124 million in 1994 to about $ 135 million in 1997. 

14. Distribution between married and head of household filers estimated from the 1997 sample of income tax 
returns prepared by the Minnesota Department of Revenue. 

15. Distribution of federal and state credits by income estimated using the 1997 sample of income tax returns 
prepared by the Minnesota Department of Revenue. 


