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STATE OF MINNESOTA
DEPARTMENT OF PUBL.IC SAFETY
SAINT PAUL $5158

January 13, 1977

Mr. Patrick E. Flahaven
Secretary of the Senate
Room 231 State Capitol
St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Mr. Flahaven: -

The 1976 Legislature mandated that alternative methods of registering
motor vehicles, except passenger vehicles, be studied and proposals be made
of methods which would alleviate administrative and enforcement difficulties
existing with current registration and laws. This law, Chapter 39 (Section 8),
requires the submission to the 1977 Legislature of the study's results and
a proposal for a new registration system.

The attached proposal has three parts. Part I includes eight recom-
mendations, any of which would have significant impact on registration or
enforcement procedures, but none of which should cause major concern from
Minnesota taxpayers; some of the proposals would provide more conveniences
for the taxpayers, e.g., an optional five-year registration plan for semi-
trailers. Part II includes three recommendations which would significantly
reduce administrative paperwork and law enforcement confusion. They are
segregated from Part I because of their negative impact on a relatively small
number of taxpayers whose vehicle taxes would be significantly increased.
Although these three recommendations would result in additional annual
revenues of over $4 million, those additional revenues are an accidental adjunct
to the recommendations, the main purpose of which is to reduce administrative
burden and law enforcement problems. Part III -- a discussion of optional
truck registration on a quarterly basis -- is in response to State Representative
Richard Lemke who, as Chairman of the House Transportation Committee's Sub-
committee on Highways, requested that such a proposal be addressed in the study
required by Chapter 39.

These recommendations are offered to the 1977 Legislature with the under-
standing that they provide "food for thought." Any or all of these ideas may

AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER
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z&ﬁiztrick E. Hahtwa
Jamary 13, 1977

-

be entirely acceptable, or unacceptable, to the Legislature; no objections

will be made by the Department ot Public Safety if any of tie proposals are

modified or rejected.
.V : A.

Sincerely,

ary W. Williams, Director Edward G. Novak
Motor Vehicle Division Commissioner

EGN:1cs
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STATE OF MINNESOTA
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
SAINT PAUL 55155

January 13, 1977

Mr. Edward A. Burdick

Chief Clerk

House of Representatives s
Room 211 State Capitol

St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Mr. Burdick:

The 1976 Legislature mandated that alternative methods of registering
motor vehicles, except passenger vehicles, be studied and proposals be made
of methods which would alleviate administrative and enforcement difficulties
existing with current registration and laws. This law, Chapter 39 (Section 8),
requires the submission to the 1977 Legislature of the study's results and
a proposal for a new registration system.

The attached proposal has three parts. Part I includes eight recom-
mendations, any of which would have significant impact on registration or
enforcement procedures, but none of which should cause major concern from
Minnesota taxpayers; some of the proposals would provide more conveniences
for the taxpayers, e.g., an optional five-year registration plan for semi-
trailers. Part Il includes three recommendations which would significantly
reduce administrative paperwork and law enforcement confusion. They are
segregated from Part I because of their negative impact on a relatively small
number of taxpayers whose vehicle taxes would be significantly increased.
Although these three recommendations would result in additional annual
revenues of over $4 million, those additional revenues are an accidental adjunct
to the recommendations, the main purpose of which is to reduce administrative
burden and law enforcement problems. Part IIl -- a discussion of optional
truck registration on a quarterly basis -~ is in response to State Representative
Richard Lemke who, as Chairman of the House Transportation Committee's Sub-
committee on Highways, requested that such a proposal be addressed in the study
-required by Chapter 39.

These recommendations are offered to the 1977 Legislature with the under-
standing that they provide “food for thought.” Any or all of these ideas may

AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER
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Page 2
January 13, 1977

be entirely acceptable, or unacceptable, to the Legislature; no objections
will be made by the Department of Public Safety if any of the proposals are
wodified or rejected.

. Williams, Director Edward G. Novak

Motor Vehicle Division Commissioner
EGN:1cs '
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Recommendations 1 through 8




REC.

1.

Revise the registration periods for motorcycles, recreational trailers and
Jightweight utility trailers; adjust display dates for vehicles licensed on
8 calendar-year basis. Because the monthly system of registering passenger
vehicles, implemented in 1975, has succeeded in its goal to distribute the
administrative workload more evenly throughout the year and is accepted as
workable by law enforcement agencies and the public, it is recommended that
all recreational trailers and utility trailers with a maximum registered gross
weight of 3,000 pounds be added to the monthly form of registration, and that
all motorcycles be assigned an annual registration period of March 1 through
February 28/29. This would remove approximately 500,000 vehicles from the
annual "miscellanecus" registration period, leaving approximately 600,000
vehicles to be registered between November 15 and January 28, which is recom-
mended us the new license plate display date for miscellaneous vehicles.

The shorter (24-month) miscellaneous registration period would minimize a
problem the State Patrol claims exists under the current system: That truck
owners haul heavy loads while displaying lower gross weight stickers during
the renewal period, a violation difficult to detect visually. (For example,
truck owner X operates a vehicle in 1976 registered for 33,000 pounds gross
weight. On November 15, he reduces his 1976 registered gross weight to 21,000
pounds, applies for a refund and purchases his 1977 validation stickers for
21.000 pounds but does not attach them to the vehicle plates, and continues
carrying 33,000 pounds. On March 2, he then adjusts his gross weight appli-
catiou with the state, and pays the higher taxes for 10 months, instead of
12. 1In another apparent abuse of the present system. owner X waits until
March to re-register his vehicle, although using it during January and
February, and claims that he did not use the vehicle the first two months.

He then pays only the minimum taxes for January and February and the arcurate
tax for the last 10 months of the year. During January and February he is
legally operating with the previous year's plates, so law enforcement cannot
cite him for registration law violatioms.)

With the miscellaneous fleet reduced to 660,000, the Division of Motor Vehicles
snticipates nuv problems in issuing all plates/stickers by the earlier deadline
of January 28.

It is recommended that tax amounts be amended, when necessary, so that each
tax is divisible by 12. Because of these changes, annual revenue would be
increased by a projected $600,000.

If the trailer and motorcycle renewai periods and the miscellaneous display
date are changed as recommended, the annual workload distribution would be
as follows:




The 600,000 miscellaneous vehicles to be registered in 2§ months (November 15 -
January 28) is an average of 240,000 per month, which compares favorably with
the current average monthly passenger car registration of 244,000.

This recommended change would have a start—up cost of an estimated $90,000
for computer program revisions.

We would anticipate public acceptance of the revised reglstration periods,
since trailer owners would be able to pay those annual taxes at the same

time they renew their passenger-car registrations. We have received complaints
that the public dislikes registering their vehicles at different times during
the year., In addition, the recommended change for motorcycle registration
would align registration renewal perfods with usual use periods, i.e., regis-
tration by March, use in March (during mild seasons) or April.

To implement this recommendation, we suggest the following amendments to
Chapter 168:

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.013, Subdivision 1b,
is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. [MOTORCYCLES.] On motorcycles the tax is $5 6, which
includes the surtax provided for in subdivision 14.

Section 2. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.013, Subdivision 1d,
is amended to read:

Subd. 1d. [TRAILERS.] . On trailers, the tax shall be based on total
gross weight and shall be 30 percent of the Minnesota base rate prescribed
in subdivision le, Schedule I, but in nc¢ event less than $2 3.

Section 3. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.013, Subdivision lg,
as amended by Laws 1976, Chapter 39, Section 4, is amended to read:

Subd. lg. [RECREATIONAL VEHICLES.] Self-propelled recreational vehicles
shall be separately licensed and taxed annually on the basis of total gross
weighc at 100 percent of the Minnesota base rate prescribed in subdivision le
of this section under Schedule I, during each of the first six years of vehicle
life, but in no event lcss than $8. Towed recreational vehicles shall be
separately licensed and taxed enmumeilly on the basis of total gross weight
at 30 percent of the Minnesota base rate prescribed in subdivision le of this
section under Schedule I, but in no event less than $5 6. The annual tax on
& 8lip-in camper as defined in section 168.011, subdivision 25, sha’l be as
provided for self-propelled recreational vehicles unless such owner elects to
register such siip~-in camper as a truci. If the owner elects to register such
slip~in camper as a truck, the annual tax shall be either the tax imposed for
self propelled recreational vehicles .. the tax imposed for trucks on the
basis of gross weight in subdivision le, whichever is higher. Notwithstanding
any law to the contrary, all trailers and semitrailers taxed pursuant to this
section shall be exempt irom any wheelage tax nor or hereafter imposed by any
political subdivision or political subdivisions.

Section 4. Minnescta Statutes 1974, Section 168.017, Subdivision 1,
is smended to read:
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Subd. 1. [MONTHLY SERIES SYSTEM OF REGISTRATION FOR VEHICLES.] All
passenger automobiles, ambulances, hearses, and station wagons, towed
recreational vehicles, and trailers registered for less than 3001 pounds
total gross weiphty beginning-Apréi-15-197557 shall be registered bv the
registrar according to the monthly series system of registration prLbLtibed
by this section.

Section 5. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.09, as amended by Laws
1976, Chapter 39, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 5. Motorcycles shall be registered for a twelve-month period
commencing March 1 and ending on the last day of February for the 1981 and
succeeding registration years. To implement the provisions of this subdivision,
the registrar shall register motorcycles for a period of 14 months for the
1980 registration year.

Section 6. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.09, Subdivision 3, as
amended by Laws 1976, Chapter 39, Section 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Plates or other insignia issued for a motor vehicle vegistered
under-the-provisiens-of-section-168r187 for a calendar year shall be displayed
on such motor vehicle not later than 12:01 a.m. on Mereh-2 January 28 of the
year unless extended by the registrar for such time as may be required for
the issuance of new plates or insignia. Piates-or-other-insignia-issued-for
e-motor-vehicle-except-a-motor-vehicle-registered-under-the-provisions-ef
seectiona-168+017-0r-168+187-shalti~be-displayed-on-such-vehicle-not-ater
than-12+101-armr—on-March-2-of-the-vcar;-noer-eariter-than-12+04-e-mr~on
February-15-of-the-yerrs-uniess-otherwise-extended-by-the-registrar-for-such
peried-as-may-be-required-for-the-issuvance-of-such-new-plates-or-insigniay
Fhe-commissioner-of-pubiie-safety-shall-register-ati-motor-vehieles-with-the
exception-of-those-registered-under-sections-168+017-0vr-168+187-for-a-peried
ef-14-montho-for-the-registration-year-1978-co-inpienment-the-provisiens-ef
this-subdivisienr—-The-registration-year-for-eii-vehielen-herein-shaii-be
feom-March-1-to-the-lase-day-of-February- Sor-1975-and-succeeding-yearer

Section 7. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Saction 168.31, Subdivision 3, as
amended by Laws 1976, Chapter 39, Section 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. [PENALTIES, LIMITATIONS, FILINGS.] The penalty for failure or
delay in registering and paying the registration tax shall not be more than
one-half the annual tax and in no event more than a total of $2.50. This
subdivision does not apply to vehicles registered pursuant to seetten sections
168.017 or 168.09. An owner who files his application after March 31, and
whose vehicle has not been operated during the calendar year to the date of
application may so state to the registrar who shall then waive the penalty
for failure to re-register before January 1l. ‘The waiver of penalty does
not apply to vehicles required to be registered under sectien sections
168.017 or 168.09.

A filing with, or delivery to the Commissioner of Public Safeiy of any
application, notice, certificate or plates as required by this section shall
be construed to be within the requirements of this section if made to the
Commissioner of Public Safety or his deputy at an office maintained therefor,
or 1f deposited in the mail or with a carrier by express with postage or
carriage charge prepaid, and properly addressed to the Commissioner of Public
Safety within ten days after the transfer of ownership or other occurrence
upon which this section provides for such filing or delivery.
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Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the owner of record as of
July 1, 1976, of a towed recreational vehicle of 1500 pounds or less
registered for the calendar year 1976 or any part of it shall be entitled
to a refund of any portion of the tax paid for 1976 that is in excess of
$5. The commissioner of publi. safety shall pay these refunds in ... -
manner .provided by section 168.16 as soon as practicable after July 1, 1976.

Section 8. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] Sections 1, 5 and 7 are effective
November 15, 1979, for the 1980 registration year. Sections 2, 3, 4 and
6 are effective November 15, 1980, for the 1981 repgistration year.

Provide the option of registering semi~trailers for one- or five-year
periods, Owners of semi-trailers are charged a token $10 annual tax. It
i8 recommended that a five-year $50 tax payment option be offered, with

the present annual tax raised to $12 to serve as incentive for owners to
pay the longer-term, less-expensive tax. We project that the annual
manufacture, distribution and sale of half the current number of validation
stickers would be eliminated four years out of every five under the optional
plan. The additional revenue generated from the one-year sale of $12
validation stickers to those who d» not take advantage of the five-year
option is projected at $22,000.

To implement this recommendation, we suggest the following amendments to
Chapter 168:

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Secticn 168.013, Subdivision le,
is amended to read:

Sutd. le. [TRUCK5; TRACTORS; COMBINATIONS; EXCEPTIONS.] On all trucks
and tractors except those in this chapter defined as farm trucks, and urban
trucks, and on all truck-tractor and semi-trailer combinations except those
defined as farm combinations and urban combinations, the tax based on total
gross weight during the first six years of vehicle life shall be graduated
according to Schedule I of the Minnesota base rate prescribed in this
subdivision, but in no event less than $28, and during the seventh and
succeeding years of vehicle life the tax shall be graduated according to
Schedule II of this subdivision, but in no event less thau $17.

MINNESOTA BASE RATE

Scheduled taxes include five percent surtax provided for in Section
168.013, subdivieion 14.

10TAL GROSS
WEIGHT SCHEDULE 1 SCHEDULE 11
IN POUNDS Tax Tax

A 0o~ 1,500 $ 5.00 $ ——

B 1,501 - 3,000 9.00 —

c 3,001 - 4,500 14.00 8.00

D 4,501 - §,000 19.00 11.00




E 6,001 - 9,000 " 28.00 17.00
F 9,001 - 12,000 35.00 . 23,00

c 12,001 - 15,000 62.00 37.00 ~

H 15,001 - 18,000 86.00 52.00 B
1 18,001 - 21,000 114.00 ' 68.00

J 21,001 - 27,000 158.00 95.00

4 27,001 ~ 33,000 230.00 138.00

L 33,001 - 39,000 320.00 192.00

M 39,001 - 45,000 420.00 252.00

N 45,001 - 51,000 540.00 324.00

0 51,001 - 57,000 690.00 414.00

P 57,001 - 63,000 830.00 498.00

Q 63,001 - 69,000 970.00 582.00

R 69,001 ~ 75,000 1,050.00 630.00

For each vehicle with a gross weight in excess of 75,000 pounds the tax
shall be $36 for each ton or fraction thereof in excees of 75,000 pounds,
subject to provisions of section 168.013, subdivision 12.

Provided however, that on all trucks, except those in this chapter defined
as farm trucks and urban trucks, having a gross weight in excess of 18,000
pounds but less than 27,001 pounds, the tax shall be:

{a)--For-the-registration-year-19761-70-pereent-of-the-appitcable
Seheduie-—i-or-feheduie-Ii-of-thia-subdivistons

€b) (a) For the registration year 1977, €0 percent of the applicable
Schedule I or Schedule 1I of this subdivision;

€c) (b) For the registration year 1978, 90 percent of the applicable
Schedule I or Schedule 11 of this subdivision;

€d) (c) For the registration year 1979 and thereafter, 100 percent of
the applicable Schedule I or Schedule II of this subdivision.

On vehicles having a gross weight in excess of 27,000 pounds, and used
for the transportation of livestock or unprocessed and raw fara products
shall be taxed at 90 gercent of the Minnesota base rate prescribed by this
subdivision under Schedule I during each oi the first six years of vehicle
life and during the seventh and succeeding years of vehicle 1life as taken
from Schedule II, provided the gross receipts derived from such use equal
or exceed 60 percent of the owner's total gross receipts from the operation
of such vehicle during the 12 month periocd immediately preceding the date set
by lawv for the reregistration of such vehicle. The owner shall furnish such
information as the registrar may require, including sworn statements of f{act,
and the registrar shall theieupon determine whether such owner comes within
the provisions of this paragraph.

If sn owmer has not nsed such vehicle for the transportation of livestock
or unprocessed and rav farm products wo as to be able to report gross receipts
for the 12 month period as herein set forth, he may nevertheless, apply for
registration hereunder and pay the reduced tax and the registrar shall, after
consideration of the cstablished facts, determine whether such owner is entitled
to have such registration approved.

If an owmer fails to operate under the conditions and limitations herein
set forth, he shall immediately notify the registrar of such fact and pay the

QSQ




REC. 3.

difference between the scheduled gross weight tax and the reduced tax
proportionate to the number of months remaining in the year, 1/12 of the
difference for each month or fraction thereof, beginning with the month in
which such operations were discontinued or changed.

If an owner first uses such vehicle for the transportation ol livestock
and unprocessed and raw farm products after the tax becomes due without
reduction, no adjustment or refund of tax shall be made during that calendar
year for rcasons of transporting livestock and unprocessed and raw farm
products.

All truck-tractors except those herein defined as farm and urban
truck-tractors shall be taxed 4n accord with the foregoing gross weight tax
schedule on the basis of the combined gross weight of such truck-tractor and
any semi~-trafler or semitrailers which the applicant prcposes to combine with
the truck~tractor. In addition, to guch gross weight tax imposed on the
truck-tractor, each semi-trailer shall be taxed an annual flat fee of $18 12
per year or a fee of $50 for a five-year period, whichever the applicant elects.

Each succeeding year the fee may be proratable, but in no event less than $12
per registration year. The five-year registration period does not include any
semi-trailer registered under Section 168.187.

Urban trucks include only all trucks and all truck-tractors and semi-
trailers used exclusively in transporting property within the metropolitan
area consisting of Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, Dakota, Anoka, Washington and
Carver counties, or within the corporate limits of any city or contiguous
cities or within one mile of cities of the first and second class. For the
purposes of this clause a land area ceded to the United States of America
under General Laws 1889, Chapter 57, is a statutory city. The vehicle shall
not be operated outside the metropolitan area or corporate limits of such
city or contiguous cities, or beyond one mile of cities of the first and
second class; except chat the registrar may, by special permit, authorize the
permanent removal of such vehicle from any registration area to another. The
license plates issued therefor shall be plainly marked. On urban trucks and
combinations the tax shall be based on total gross weight and shall be 30
percent of the Minnesota base rate prescribed in this subdivision under
Schedule I during each of the first six years of vehicle life, but in nro event
less than $19, and during the seventh and succeeding years of vehicle life as
taken from Schedule II, but in no event less than $11. In addition to such
gross weight tax imposed on the truck-tractor, each semitrailer shall be taxed
an annual flat fee of 30 r year or a fee of $50 for 3 five-year period,
whichever the applicant elec:a. Pruvided that on vehicles used by an
authorized local cartage carrier operating under a permit issued pursuant to
section 221.296 and whose gross transportstion revenue consist of at least
60 percent obtained solely from local cartage carriage, shall be taxed at 90
percent of the prescribed urban truck and combination rates for the life of
the vehicle during each year such vehicle is vsed, provided that the gross
revenues obtained from transportation services is obtained from local car‘’-~ge
carriage is at least 60 percent of all revcnue obtained from transportati...
services by said person; and provided further, that said tax shzll in no
event be less than $10 12.

Section 2, }SFF&G?I“R aa;g ] This act shall be effective November 15,

full Minnesota truck tlx, if the Qﬂﬁtn:er of a prorated
; nOY 25 percent over axle or registered
m; mm:m, wb&eb 1: estimated t.o increase annual state




revenue by over $140,000, is to correct an apparent oversight in present
legislation, whereby owners of commercial vehicles used exclusively in
Minnesota are subject to stricter penalty for operating over registered
gross weight than owners of vehicles registered proportionally. For
intrastate vehicles, the penalty includes revocation of registration;

for interstate vehicles, the penalty is cancellation of reciprocity
privileges, but the vehicle owner may retain in-state operating privileges.

Based on Minnesota State Patrol arrest information, it is estimated there
would be 200 violations per year resulting in the revocation of the prorate
license plates. If these vehicles were required to re-register for the full
fee and, assuming all the vehicles were registered for 75,000 pounds, the
estimated increased revenue is $136,500.

To implement this recommendation, we suggest the following amendments to
Chapter 168:

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.013, Subdivision 3,
is amended to read:

Subd. 3. [APPLICATION; CANCELLATION.] The applicant for all licenses
based on gross weight shall state in writing upon oath, among other things,
the unloaded weight of such motor vehicle or trailer and the maximum load
the applicant proposes to carry thereon, the sum of which shall constitute
the gross weight upon which the license tax shall be paid, but in no case
shall the declared gross weight upon which the tax is paid be less than
1 1/2 times the declared unloaded weight of the vehicle or trailer to be
registered, except recreational vehicles taxed under subdivision lg of this
section and school buses under subdivision 18.

The gross weight of no vehicle or trailer shall exceed the gross weight
upon which the license tax has been paid by more than four percent or 1000
pounds, whichever is greater.

The gross weight of the vehicle or trailer for which such license tax
is paid shall be iriicated by a distinctive character on the license plute
or plates except as provided in subdivision 12 of this section and the plate
or plates shall be kept clean and clearly visible at all tines.

The owner, driver, or user of a vehicle or trailer upon conviction for
transporting a gross weight in excess of the gross weight fo-: which it was
registered or for operating a vehicle with an axle weight exceeding the
maxizum lawful axle load wright shall be guilty of a misdemenor and be

subject to increased registration or re~registration accordig to the following

schedule:

1. The owner, driver or user of a motor vehicle upon cmviction for
transporting a gross weight in excess of the gross weight foc which it 1s
registered by more than four percent or 1000 pounds, whichever is greater,
but less than 23 percent or for operating or using a vehicl: or tra’ler with
an axle veight exceeding the maximum lawful axle load as providad in section
169.83 by wmore than four percent or 1000 pounds, whichever is greater, but
less than 25 percent, in addition to any penalty imposed oa him for the
wsisdemeanor shall apply to the registrar to increase the authorized gross
weight to be carried on the vehicle to a weight equal to or greater than the
gross weight of which the owmer, driver, or user was convicted of carrying,
the increase computed for the balance of the calendar year >n tlw hasis of
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1/12 of the annual tar for each month remain.ng in the calendar year
beginning with the first day of the month in which the violation occurred.

If the additional registration tax computed upon that weight, plus the tax
already paid, amounts to more than the regular tax for the maximum gross
weight permitted for such vehicle under Section 169.83 that addit: ~ °

amount shall nevertheless be paid into the highway fund, but the additional
tax thus paid shall not be deemed to permit the vehicle to be operated with

a gross weight in excess of the maximum legal weight as provided by Section
169.83.  Unless the owner within 30 days after such conviction shall apply

to increase the authorized weight and pay the additional tax as bherein provided
the registrar shall revoke the registration on the vehicle and demand the
return of the registration card and plates issued by him on that registration.

2. TFhe-owner-or-driver-or-user-of-a-vehicie-or-trailer-upen-convietion
for-transporting-a-gross-weight-in-excess-of-the-gross-weight-for-which-the
vehiele-or-trailer-was-registered-by-25-percent-or-morey-or-for-operating-or
uwaing-a-vehicle-or-tratier-with-an-axie-weight-exceeding-the-mandmum-iawful
axie-locad-as-provided-in-section-169:-83-by-25-pereent-or-nores-in-addition-te
any~penalty-impesed-on-hin-for-the-miodemeanory-shali-have-the-reciproeity
priviieges-on-the~-vekéele-invelved-tf-the-same-i3-being-operated-under
reeiproctty-canceled-by-the-registrary-or-+f-the-vehicie-to-not-being
opevated-under-reciprocity;—the-certificate-of-registration-on-the-vehiele-se
eperated-shali-be-canceied-by-the-registrer-and-the-registrar-shali-demand
the-return—-eof-the-registration-certificate-and-regintration-platesy When
any motor vehicle is operated with a gross weight in excess of th;_gross
weight for which it was registered by 25 percent or more, or with a weight
exceeding any maximum lawful weight as provided in section 169.83 by 25
percent or more, the registration of the vehicle, including vehicles operated
under provisions of sections 168.181 tc 168.231, shall be deemed revoked. The
revocation of registration shall be in addition to any penalty imposed for the
nisdemeanor. The regiscrar may investigate any allegation of gross weight
violations and demand that the operator show cause why all future operating
privileges in the state should not be revoked unless the additional tax
assessed be paid.

3. When the registration on a motor vehicle, trailer or semi- vailer
has been revoked by the registrar according to the provisions of this sect’on,
such vehicle shall not be again operated on the highways of the state until
it 1is registered or re-registered as the case may be, and new plates issued,
and the registration fee therefor shall be the annual tax for the total gross
weight of the vehicle at the time of violationm.

2 registration of a motor vehicle operated under the provisions
8.181 to 168.231 is zevnked hereunder, such vehicle must be

:egiitersg or :e~t@g~gtared as_herein raqjgred and the registration tax
t on the basis of miles ttaveleé but shall be

gggggted‘gg“ggggg‘chc vehicle were used &xglusively in this state.

Section 2. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.187, Subdivision 10,
is amended to read:

Subd. 10. [FEES FOR PROPORTIONAL REGISTRATION.] (1) "Total fleet
niles” means the total number ci miles operated in 2ll states during the
preceding year by the motor vehicles in a fleet durimg such year.

(2) "In-state miles” means the total number of miles operated in this
state during the preceding year by the motor vehicles im a fleet during such

(3) The registration fees for proratable vehicles of a fleet based in
another state shall be determined as follows:




4.

(A) Divide in-state miles by total fleet miles.

(B) Determine the total amount which would be required under the laws
of this state for full registracion of each and every vehicle in the fleet, at
the regular annual or applicable fees, for the unexpired portion of the
registration year.

(C) Multiply the sum obtained under clause (3) (B) of this subdivision
by the guotient obtained under clause (3) (A) of this subdivision.

(4) The registration fees for proratable vehicles of a flret based in
this state shall be determined as follows:

(A) Divide in-state miles plus all other fleet miles not subjected to
charges in other states nor declared for other prorate agreement states by
total fleet miles.

(B) Determine the total amount which would be required under the laws
of this state for full registration of each and every vehicle in the fleet,
at the regular annual or a.plicable fees for the unexpired portion of the
registration year.

(C) Multiply the sum obtained under clause (4) (B) of this subdivision
by the quotient under clause (4) (A) of this subdivision.

(5) The provisions of this section shall constitute complete authority
for the registration of the proratable vehicles of a fleet upon a proportional
registration basis without refercnce to or applicaticn of any other statutes
of this state except as in this section or section 168.013, subdivision 3,
sub-section 3, expressly provided.

Prohibit vehicle registration renewals at the Motor Vehicle public counter
in the Transportation Building in St. Paul. To eliminate the congestion

occurring at the Transportation Building at the end of each month (for
passenger renewals) and during the miscellaneous re-registration period,

and therefore provide a shorter waiting period for customers with transfers
and other more complicated transactions, it is recommended that the public
counter no longer handle renewal registrations. These remewal registrations
are simple trarsactions requiring the exchange of money for a validation
sticker or plece and registration card. In Fiscal Year 1976, 131,646

renewal regi<traticns were handled, and, at $§1 service charge per transaction
(the currcat service charge), this recommendation would result in the loss of
approximately $150,000 in annual revenue. Some of these renewals would
undoubtedly be mailed to the Transportation Building imnstead, resulting in
continued collection of some of the service charge revenue. The remainder
of the transactions would be transferred to deputy registrars, who would
retain the service charge. This recommendation would not require a statutory
change, but we would not consider it without direction from the Legislazure.

Eliminate the "YW" class ar e_passenger vehicle plates to all station
wagons. The "YW' plate is 1ssued to apyrexnnn:ely 6,000 station wagons
vhose owners prefer truck plates to passenger plates. The owmer may select
either class, but must pay the higher of the two taxes if choosing the "YW"
plate, so no revenue would be lost or gained by the elimination of the "YW"
class. Vehicles with "YW" plates were allowed in the past to use commercial-
parking zones om city streets; through the years most ci._ies have eliminated
this privilege and the “YW" designation is consequently of no value today.
Owners of vehicles with “YW" plates may continue to attempt to park in
commercial zones, but will be issued 1llegal-parking citatious in such citfies
as Minneapolis and St. Paul. Elimination of tie "YW" plate series would
prevent this misunderstanding by the public, since all station wagons would
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be registered as passenger vehiclés. The elimination of this class also
would produce plate-manufacturing, storage and distribution time and cost
savings for the division.

To implement this recommendation, we suggest the following amendments to
Chapter 168;

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.011, Subdivision 7,
i8 amended to read:

Subd. 7. [PASSENGER AUTOMOBILE.] "Passenger automobile" means any
motor vehicle designed and used for the carrying of not more than eight ten
persons but excluding motorcyclesy and motor scooters, and but including
station-wagons. The term station-wagon includes, but is not limited to,
types of vehicles which carry the trade names of estate wagon, ranch wagon,
town and country wagon, country sedan, suburban, travelall, carryall, hatch-
back, three-door wagon, bronco, biazer, scout, jeep, jimmy, ramcharger,

trailduster, land cruiser, and land rover.

Section 2. [REPEALER.] Minnesota Statutes 1974, Sections 168.011,
Subdivision 23, and 168.013, Subdivision 17, are repealed.

Section 3. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This act is effective November 15, 1978,
for the 1979 regictration year,

REC., 6. Eliminate the "BDU" and “TC" classes, and issue "BY" plates to the buses in
these two classes. The "BDU" plate is currently issued exclusively to private
airport limousines in Duluth; only two are issued each year. The fee is $l11.

The "“TC" plate has not been issued since the 1950s; it was created for privately
owned buses operated in first-class cities. The fee is $40. It is recommended
that these two classes be combined with the "BY" class for charter buses, with
an annual tax ranging from $13 - $242, depending on the vehicle's age and
passenger-carrying capacity. The elimination of these classes would produce
glate-nunufncturins, storage and distribution time and cost savings for the

ivision.

In conjunction with this proposal, we recommend that tie Chapter 168 definition
of "bus" be amended to be uniform with the Chapter 171 definition to alleviate
lav enforcement problems.

To implement this recommendation, we suggest the following amendments tc
Chapter 168: ‘

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.011, Subdivision 9,
is smended to read:

Subd. 9. [BUS; INTERCITY 3US.] (a) "Bus” means amy every motor vehicle
end~ueed for the carryiug of more than eight ten pereens passengers.
(b) “Intercity bus” means sny bus operating as a common carrier over
: regular routes and between fixed termini, but excluding all buses operating
" vholly within the linits of one city;~viilege-er-bereughy or wvholly within
tvo or more coantiguous citiesy-viileges—er-bereaghey or between contiguous
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c¢itiea end-vilieges-or-boroughns and a terminus outside the corporate limits
of sucl: citiesy-viiiages-er-boreughs and not more than 20 miles distant
measured along the fixed route from such corporate limits.

fection 2. Minnesota Statutes 1§7&. Section 168.013, Subdiv: *- 1f, _
is amcnded to read:

Subd. 1f. [INTERCITY BUSES.] On all intercity buses, the tax during
each of the first two years of vehicle 1life shall be based on the gross
weight of the vehicle and graduated according to the following schedule:

Grogs Weight of Vehicle Tax

Under 6,000 1bS..ccceececcccroscccconassoneeses$l25
6,000 to 8,000 1bs., inclusive.ccecseeccceness.125
8,001 to 10,000 1bs., inclusive...cceeeeeeeeee 125
10,001 to 12,000 1bs., inclusive..ccceceveceess 150
12,001 to 14,000 1lbs., inclusive..cceveeececes. 190
14,001 to 16,000 lbs., inclusive..cccccececocs. 210
16,001 tc 18,00" 1bs., inclusive..ccccecccceces 225
18,001 to 20,000 1bs., inclusive..ccececeeescces 260
20,001 to 22,000 1bs., inclusive...ccceececsee. 300
22,001 to 24,000 1bs., inclusive.cccccceccceocees 350
24,001 to 26,000 1bs., inclusive...cccccccecces. 400
26,001 to 28,000 1bs., inclusive...cccccecccsee 4.0
28,001 to 30,000 1bs., inclusive...ccccecececees 300
30,001 and oOVer...cocececvcccscscvcccsccsncnsee 350

During each the third and fourth years of vehicle life, the tax shall be
75 percent of the foregoing scheduled tax; during the fifth year of vehicle
life, the tax shall be 50 percent of the foregoing scheduled tax; during the
sixth year of vehicle life, the tax shall be 37 1/2 percent of the foregoing
scheduled tax; and during the seventh and each succeeding year of vehicle life,
the tax shall be 25 percent of the foregoing scheduled tax; provided that the
annual tax paid in any year of its life for an intercity bus shall de not less
than $175 for a vehicle of over 25 passenger seating capacity and not less
than $125 for a vehicle of 25 passenger and less seating capacity.

On all intracity buses operated by an auto transportation company in the
business of transporting persons for compensation as a common carrier and

tracity-buses nan::&iag tn ﬂi&~ﬁﬁf 2 , having a pegu&atzaa
nt igﬁc than 70,000 inhabitants, the tau ékti@ qne% ynst of vehicle life of
each bus shall be $2.
~ On all other buses the tax during each of the first three years of vehicle
1ife shall be based on the gross weight of the vehicle and graduated according
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to the following schedule: Where. the gross weight of thie venicle is 6,000
pounds or less, $25. Where the gross weight of the vehicle is more than
6,000 pounds, and not more than 8,000 pounds, the tax shall be $25 plus an
additional tax of $5 per ton for the ton or major portion in excess of
6,000 pounds. Where the gross weight of the vehicle is more than " °~°°
pounds, and not more than 20,000 pounds, the tax shall be $30 plus an
additional tax of $10 per ton for each ton or major portion in excess of
8,000 pounds. Where the gross weight of the vehicle is more than 20,000
pounds, and not more than 24,000 pounds, the tax shall be $90 plus an
additional tax of $§15 per ton for each ton or major portion in excess of
20,000 pounds. Where the gross weight of the vehicle is more than 24,000
pounds, and not more than 28,000 pounds, the tax shall be $120 plus an
additional tax of $25 per ton for each ton or major portion in excess of
24,000 pounds. Where the gross weight of the vehicle is more than 28,000
pounds, the tax shall be $170 plus an additional tax of $30 per ton for each
ton or major portion in excess of 28,000 pounds.

During each of the fourth, fifth, and sixth years of vehicle 1life, the
tax shall be 8C percent of the foregoing scheduled tax but in no event less
than $20 per vehicle.

During each of the seventh, eighth, and ninth years of vehicle life,
the tax shall be 60 percent of the foregoing scheduled tax but in no event
less than §16 per vehi:le.

During the tenth and succeeding yvears of vehicle life, the tax shall
be 40 percent of the foregoing scheduled tax but in no event less than $12
per vehicle.

Eliminate the 10 Juc; resently provided to owners of farm
ttucka having a gross weigg 1n excess of 27,000 pounds.

Given the changes in the registration statute provided by Laws 1972, Chapter
218, it appears that the 10 percent tax reduction is no longer necessary or
Justified. We therefore recomrend elimination of the 10 percent reduction.

Previoue to the irplementation of Chapter 218 for the 1976 registration year,
farm trucks were limited by statutory definition to single-unit straight
trucks. Generally this limited the maximum legal gross weight of farm vehicles
to approximately 45,000 pounds. In addition, these vehicles were taxed only
on the empty weight of the vehicle using a tax schedule established in 1949,

Chapter 218 recognized that substantial changes had been made in farm
operations and in the types of vehicles owned by farmers. Beginning with
the 1976 registration year, Chapter 218 permitted the registration of
truck-tractor semi~trailer cowbination vehicles. Even double-bottoms
could be eligible for farm class registration. Chapter 218 also continued
the cubstantial tax roductiom ior these vehicles, taxing them at 30X of
the comparable "Y" vehicle. Since farm vehicles are mo lomger restricted
to straight trucks, it seems that the 10T tax reduction for "Y" class
vehicles in excess of 27,000 pounds gross weight is no longer necessary.
These vehicles owned by farmers can be registered in the farm class and
receive a 702 tax reduction.

(It 4 Qﬂﬁinn¥§i that 42 of the vehicles eligible [664 of 16,606) ucilized
this provision of the law in 1976. In aniﬁiiug the records of 31 wvehicles
ivil ge, the revesue ”1&:* vas $2,086, the average nuamber
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of wmonths claimed was 10, and 66X of the vehicles were seven y-~ars old
or older. BRased on this sample, the estimated revenue "1luss" ror 19/6
is $44,680 for "Y" vehicles and $22,000 for "PR" class vehicles.)

The provision of the statutes which permits a 10Z reduction for c~-+~*~
urban class vehicles was initiated by Chapter 218, effective for the
1977 registration year. Urban class vehicles may be combination-type
vehicles. in addition, Chapter 218 expanded the limits of the metro
urban zone to include all of the seven-county area and set the tax rate
at 302 of the comparable "Y" class vehicle.

(1t i3 estimated that 102 of the urban class vehicle population will
request the 10X reduction privilege, [446 of 4,464 vehicles]). This
will result in a "loss” in revenue of $5,743.)

1t is recommended that the 10Z reduction be eliminated from "Y" and "PR"
class registrations for the following reasons: (1) The provision is
obsolete ar3l unnecessary since the law now permits “farm" class semis;
(2) reven: "loss” under the cur-ent system is $66,680 per year; (3) the
acuinistra e burden would be relieved; .nd (4) the Division of Motor
Vehicles has neither the expertise nor the manpower to verify afiidavits,
therefore the law is not enforceable.

It 1s recommended that the 102 reductior be eliminated from the urban class
registrations for the following reasons: (1) Revenue "loss" under the
current system is $5,743 per vear; (2) the administrative burdem would be
relieved; (3) the expanded urban zone permits cperation on 1,125 miles of
interstate and trunk highways in the metio area; and (4) the Division of
Motor Vehicles has neither the expertise nor the manpower to verify
affidavits, therefore the law is not enforceable.

To implement this recommendsrion, we suggest the folloving amendments to
Chapter 168:

BE 1T ERACTED BY THE LECIFLATULY OF THE STATE OF MINNESOT

Section 1. Minnesoto Statutes 1974, Sectien 168.01), Subdivision le,
is amended to read:

Subd. le. [TRUCKS; TRACTORS; COMBINAT: XCEPTIONS.] Cm all trucks
and tractors except hose in this chapter éetinaé as faau trucks, and urban
trucks, and on all truck~tractor and semi-trailer combinations except those
defined as farm combinations and urban combinations, the tax based on total
gxuu; weight during the first six years of vehicle life shall be graduated
ccording to Schedule I of the Mimnesota base vate prescribed ia this
auhdivaaﬁan, but in no event less the- $18, and durimg the seventh and
succeeding years of vehicle life the tax shall be graduated accordimg to
Schedule 11 of this svidivision, but in no event less tham $17.

Scheduled tazes fnclude five percent surtas provided for in Sectiom
168.01), subdivision 14,




TOTAL GROSS

WEIGHT SCHEDULE I SCHEDULE II
IN POUNDS Tax Tax
A 0- 1,500 $  5.00 — .
B 1,501 - 3,000 9.00 ————
c 3,071 - 4,500 14.00 8.00
D 4,501 - 6,000 19.00 11.00
E 6,001 - 9,000 28.00 17.00
F 9,001 - 12,0600 39.00 23.00
[ 12,001 - 15,000 62.00 37.00
H 15,001 - 18,000 86.00 52.00
1 18,001 - 21,000 114.00 68.00
J 21,001 - 27,000 158.00 95.00
K 27,001 - 33,000 230.00 138.00
L 33,001 - 39,000 320.00 192,00
M 39,001 - 45,000 420.00 252.00
N 45,001 -~ 51,000 540.00 324.00
0 51,001 - 57,000 690.00 414.00 ’
P 57,001 - 63,000 830.00 498.00
Q 63,001 ~ 69,000 970.00 582.00
R 69,001 - 75,000 - 1,050.00 630.00

For each vehicle with a gross weight in excess of 75,000 pounds the tax
shall be $36 for each ton or fraction thereof in excess of 75,000 pounds,
subject to provisions of section 168.013, subdivision 12.

Provided however, that on all trucks, except those in this chapter
defined as farm trucks and urban trucks, having a gross weight in excess of
18,000 pounds but less than 27,001 pounds, the tax shall be:

{a)—-For-che-registration-year-19765~-70-perecent-of-the-appiteable
Seheduie-I-or—-Schedule-ii-of-this~subdiviasiens

b3 (a) For the registration year 1977, 80 percent of the applicable
Schedule 1 or Schedule II of this subdivision;

4e)} (b) For the registration year 1978, 90 percent of the applicable
Schedule I or Schedule II of this subdivision;

<4} (c) For the registration year 1979 and thereafter, 100 percent of
the applicable Schedule I or Schedule II of this subdivision.

en-vehicles-having-a-groass-weight~in-excess-of-27;000-pounds;~and-used
for-the-transpertation-of-iivestock-or-unprocessed-and-raw-farm-products
shail-be-taxed-at-938-percent-oé-the-Minneasota-base-rate-prescribed-by-this
subdiviaion-under-Gehednie-i-during-each-of-the-first-asix-years-of-vehicle
it fe-and-during-the-seventh-and-succeeding-years-of-vehicle-iife-an-taken
from-Sehedule-ii;-provided-the-groas-receipta-derived-from-such-use-equal
or—e:ee¢&~60~pe!eent~e§-ehe—ownerla—eetai-gress-reee*pee-ieeu-the-opefation
of-such-vehiele-during-the—i2-menth-period-immediately-preceeding-the-date-set
by-law-for-the-reregistration-of-such-vehicier-The-owner-shali-furnish-sueh
information-an-the-vegintrar-nay-requires-inciuding-sworn-statements-of-facty




and-the-vegiastrar-shaii-thereupen-determine-whether-asuch-owner-comen-within
the-provisions-ef-this-pareagrephs’

6~ an-ovmer-hon-noet-used-auch-vehiele-for-the-transpertation-ef-iivestoek
or—unprocessed-and-rew-farm-producto-so-as-to-be-able-to-report-gross-reeeipto
for—the~i2-month-pertod-as-herein-set-forehy-he-mayy-neverthetesn, '  .y-fer
regiseration-hereunder-and-pay-the-reduced-tax-and-the-registrar-shaii;-after
euonsideration-of-che-establitshed-facts;-determine-vhether-such-owner-is-entieied
to-have-such-registration-appreveds

if-an~owner-fatis-to-operate-under-the-conditians-and-limications-herein
seenieethq—hemsnaii-inaediaeeiy-aetify—ehe—regzstrar—of-eueh-faee-and~pay~the
difference-between—the-scheduied-gross-weight-tax-and-the-redueced-tax -
propertionate-to-the-number—-of-months-remaining-in-the-year;-i£i2-of-the
difference-for-cach-menth-or-fraction-thereofs-beginning-with-the-month-in
vhich-~such-operations-were-diseontinued-or-changedr

if-an-owner-£fivat-uses~such-vehiele-for-the-transportation-of-iivesteek
and-unprecessed-and-rev-£farm-products-after-the-tax-becomes-due~witheut
reductieny-no-adjustment-or-refund-of-tax-shati-be-made-during~that-caiendar
year-for-the-reasons-of-transporeing-iivestock-and-unprecessed-and-rav-farm
preductsr

All truck-tractors except those herein defined as farm and urban truck-
tractors shall be taxed in accord with the foregoing gross weight tax schedule
on the basis of the combined gross weight of such truck-tractor and any semi-
trailer or semitrailers which the applicant proposes to combine with the truck-
tractor. In addition, to such gross weight tax imposed on the truck-tractor,
each semi-trailer shall be taxed an annual flat fee of $10.

Urban trucks include only all trucks and all truck-tractors and semi-trailers
used exclusively in transporting property within the metropolitan area consisting
of Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, Dakota, Anoka, Washington and Carver counties, or
within the corporate limits of any city or contiguous cities or within one
mile of cities of the first and second class. For the purposes of this clause
a land arez ceded to the United States of America under General Laws 1889,
Chapter 56, is a statutory city. The vehicle shall not be operated outside
the metropolitan area or corporate limits of such city or contiguous cities,
or beyond one mile of cities of the first and :econd class, except that the
~ registrar may, by special permit, authorize the permanent removal of such
vehicle from any registration area to another. The license plates issued
therefor shall be plainly marked. On urban trucks and combinations the tax
shall be based on total gross weight and shall be 30 percent of the Minnesota
base rate prescribed in this subdivision under Schedule I during each of the
first six years of vehicle life, but in no event less than $19, and during
the seventh und succeeding years of vehicle life as taken from Schedule 1I,
but in no event less than $11. In addition to such gross weight tax imposed
on the truck-tractor, each semitrailer shall be taxed an annual flat fee of
$10. Provided-that-on-vehicles-used-by-an-autherized-local-cartage—carrier
eperating-under-a-permit—iasued-pursuent-te-section-221+296-and-wheee-gress
transportalion—revenue-coensist-of-ne-lenst-60-perecent-obtained-selely-frem
fecai~-cartege-carviage;-shali-be-toxed-at-20-pereent-of-the-preseribed-urban
truck-and-combination-rates-for-the-life-of-the-vehiele-during-each-year-sueh-
vehiele~is-usedy-provided-that-the-gress-revenves-ebtained-frem-transpereatien
eervicea-in-ohtained-from-iecal-cartage-carriage-is-at-leant-60-pereent-of-ail
revenue-ebtained-from-transportetion-services-by-said-peraens-end-previded
furthery~that-said-tan-shali-én-no-event-be-lens-than-616+

Section 2. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This act 1s effective November 15, 1977,
he 1978 registration year.




RBC-

8.

Re-define "trailers" and "semi-trailers" in the Motor Vehicle Title,
Registration and Tax Laws and the Highway Traffic Regulation Act. The
intent of the proposed revisions in the definitions of trailer and semi-
trailer in M.S. 168.011 and M.S5. 169.01 is to more clearly differentiate

the vehicles for registration purposes. The present definitions ¢ '~ .ailer"
and "semi-trailer" are vague and difficult to interpret in individual cases,
especially if the definition of “truck-tractor” is strictly interpreted.
This results in misunderstandings between owners, Division of Motor Vehicles
personnel and enforcement authorities. If, for example, a truck-tractor is
equipped with an unloading crane, a winch or other equipment, a technical
question arises over whether the vehicle is a truck-tractor when towing a
semi~-type trailer and required to be registered as such. Since there is a
large difference in the registration fees for trucks and trailers vs. truck-
tractors and semi-trailers, there is a tendency to register such questionable
vehicles as trucks to accommodate the owner's desire to register at a lower
fee. A new truck registered as a truck-tractor and semi-trailer combination
for 75,000 pounds maximum gross weight would pay $1,060 in registration fees;
the same unit registered as a truck and trailer for 75,000 pounds maximum
gross weight would pay only $490. The Motor Vehicle Division accepts

truck and trailer registrations on the basis of the fact that the tractor
unit does not meet the requirements of the truck-tractor definition which
appeals to the vehicle owner. The trailer, however, often does meet the
legal requirements of a semi-trailer, which is a position widely held within
law enforcement circles. The representatives of enforcement agencies in this
state as well as in other states feel that, if the trailer being drawn is a
semi-trailer, the towing vehicle must be registzred as a truck-tractor
regardless of the type or design of the towing vehicle. The proposed
amendment would not affect farm vehicles if the proposed farm fee schedule
is adoptcd. The main impact of the amendment would affect "Y" class
commercial trucks used exclusively intrastate, since interstate vzhicles

are presently registered according to this proposal.

To implement this recommendation, we suggest the following amendments to
Chapter 168 and 169:

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1., Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.011, Subdivision 13,
is amended to read:

Subd. 13. ([TRAILER.] "Trailer" means any vehicle designed for carrying
property or passenger on its own structure and for being drawn by a motor
vehicle and so comstructed that less than 10 percent of its weight and that
of its load rests upon the towing vehicle but shall not include a trailer
drawm by a truck-tractor semitrailer combination.

Section 2. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.011, Subdivision 14,
is amended to read:

Subd. 14. [SEMI-TRAILER.] "Semi-trailer" means a vehicle of the
trailer type so designed and used in conjunction with a truck or truck-
tracior that (-cemnsiderabie-paret 10 percent or more of its own weight
er and that of its load rests unon and is carried by the truck or truc!
tractor and shall include a trailer drawn by a truck-tractor semitrailer
combination.
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Se~tion 3, Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 169.01, Subdivision 10,
is amended to read: '

Subd. 10. [TRAILER.] "Trailer" means every vehicle without motive
power designed for carrying persons or property and for being draw- > -~
motor vehicle and so constructed that ne-pere less than 10 percent of its
weight and that of its locad rests upon the towing vehicle.

Section 4. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 169.01, Subdivision 11,
is amended to read:

Subd. 11. [SEMI-TRAILER.] "Semi-trailer" means every vehicle without
motive power designed for carrying persons or property and for being drawm
by a motor vehicle and so constructed that seme-pare 10 percent or more of
its weight and rhat of its load rests upon or is carried by another vehicle.

Section 5. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This act shall be effective November 15,
1977, for the 1978 registration year and subsequent years.




PART 11

Recommendations 9 through 11




REC.

9.

Change the method of taxation of prorated vehicles, so that all prorated

vehicles are taxed according to Schedule I fees only. This recommendation,

estimated to raise $377,000 in annual state revenue, would affect approximately
8 percent of the Minnesota-based vehicles and 6 percent of the foreign-based
vehicles registered to operate in this state (these vehicles are over 6 years
old and currently are taxed at lower rates on Schedule I1). If Division of
Motor Vehicles, Reciprocity Section, tax calculators were to refer tc only

one tax schedule, without regarding age, calculations could be made more
quickly with less room for error. We feel the recommendation is justified

in terms of the small proportion of a2ffected vehicles vs. the streamlining

of handling procedures.

Tais proposal would eliminate tax reductions in three instances. Therefore,
the revenue estimate has three components: Component No. 1 - Minnesota-based
prorate power units are eligible for the 10 percent tax reduction of M.S.
168.013, Subdivision le.

Based on a sample of applications, it was determined that &4 percent of all
Minnesota-based power units exercise this option. It is estimated that
these 493 (4 percent of 12,326) vehicles paid $154,987 in Fiscal Year 1975.
Elimination of this registratiocn option would result in a 10 percent (or
$15,498) increase in revenue from these vehicles.

Component No. 2 - Minnesota tax schedules are reduced for vehicles seven
years old and older.

A one percent sample of Minnesota-based power units indicates that 8 percent
are seven or more years old. It is estimated that in Fiscal Year 1975 these
985 vehicles (8 percent of 12,326) paid $309,974. Requiring these vehicles
to register according to Schedule I rather than Schedule II would result in
an estimated increase in revenue of $206,649. -

Component No. 3 - Foreign-based prorate vehicles are also eligible for the R
reduced tax schedule after seven years.

A one percent sample of foreign~based prorate power units indicates that

6 percent are seven or more years old. It is estimated that in Fiscal

Year 1975 these 3,038 vehicles (6 percent of 37,893) paid $232,675. Requiring
these vehicles to register according to Schedule I rather than Schedule II
would result in an estimated increase in revenue of $155,116.

The total estimated revenue increase would be $15,498 + $206,649 + $155,1i6 =
$377,263.

To implement this recommendation, we suggest the following amendments to
Chapter 168:

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section !, Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.187, Subdivision 10,
is amended to read:

Subd. 10. [FEES FOR PROPORTIONAL REGISTRATION.} (1) "Total fleet miles"
means the total number of miles operated in all states during the preceding
year by the motor vehicles in a fleet during such year.

(2) "In-state miles" means the total number of miles cperated in this
state during the preceding year by the motor vehicles in a fleet during such year.
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(3) The registration fees for proratable vehicles of a fleet based in
another state shall be determined by computing fees in Schedule I of Section
168.013, Subd. le, and shall be determined as follows:

(A) Divide in-state miles by total fleet miles.

(B) Determine the total amount which would be required under the laws
of this state for full registration of each and every vehi:le in the fleet,
at the regular annual or applicable fees, for the unexpired portion of the
registration year using Schedule I under Section 168.013, Subd. le.

(C) Multiply the sum obtained under clause (3) (B) of this subdivision
by the quotient obtained under clause (3) (A) of this subdivision.

(4) The registration fees for proratable vehicles of a fleet based in
this state shall be determined &s follows:

(A) Divide in-state miles plus all other fleet miles not subjected to
charges in other states nor declared for other prorate agreement states by
total fleet miles.

(B) Determine the total amount which would be required under the laws
of this state for full registration of each and every vehicle in the fleet,
at the regular annual or applicable fees for the unexpired portion of the
registration year using Schedule I of Section 168.013, Subd. le.

(C) Multiply the sum obtained under clause (4) (B) of this subdivision
by the quotient under clause (4) (A) of this subdivision.

(5) The provisions of this section rhall constitute complete authority
for the registration of the proratable vehicles of a fleet upon a proportional
registration basis without reference to or application of any other statutes
of this state except as in this section expressly provided.

REC. 10. Establish a single class with a maximum gross weight of 27,600 pounds for
all farn trucks. This recommendation would provide two tax classes for farm-
use tru:ks, according to age (1 to 6, over 6 years), replacing 24 existing
classes It would also prohibit use of a farm license plate on vehicles
with re;istered gross weights exceeding 27,000 pounds and require these
vehicle:: to register in the "Y" class. It is felt that the original intent
of discounted taxes for farm vehicles was to help the small farmer in his
business; small farmers rarely operate vehicles over 27,000 pounds gross

" weight -~ these are used by large farm corporations. Under this recommendation,

the latter would pay vehicle taxes identical to those of other commercial
truck-owners. Start-up costs of $8,000 are projected to pay for computer
programming and plate/sticker revisions. Projected annual revenues are
over $3 million.

PROPOSED FARM CLASS REGISTRATICN FEES

FIRST SIX YEARS SEVENTH YEAR AND OLDER

NO. OF  ANTICIFATED NO. OF ANTIC1PATED
GROSS WEIGHT FEE VEHICLES  REVENUE FEE VEHICLES REVENUE
0 - 27,000 § 22 21,654  $476,388 $ 17 72,585 $1,233,945
27,001 ~ 33,000 230 1,820 418,600 138 6,811 939,918
33,001 - 39,000 320 626 200,320 192 2,515 482,880
39,001 - 45,000 420 1,855 779,100 252 2,337 588,924
45,601 - 51,000 540 1,028 555,120 324 672 217,728

51,001 - 57,000 690 171 117,990 414 285 117,990
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FIRST SIX YEARS SEVENTH YEAR AND OLDER

NO. OF  ANTICIPATED NO. OF  ANTICIPATED
GROSS WEIGHT FEE _ VEHICLES REVENUE _ FEE _ VEHICLES _ REVENUE
57,001 - 63,000 $ 830 26 $ 21,580 $498 k)| § i.,483
63,001 - 69,000 970 8 7,760 582 25 14,550
69,001 - 75,000 1,050 113 118,650 630 193 121,590
75,001 & over 1,176 52% _ 61,152%  756% 55% 41,580%

27,353 $2,756,660 85,509  $3,774,543

TOTAL PROJECTED REVENUE $6,531,203
TOTAL PRESERT REVENUE $3,159,736

*Estimated Average

To implement this recommendation, we suggest the following amendments to
Chapter 168:

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.013, Subdivision 1,
is amended to read:

Subd. }. [FAKM TRUCKS.] On farm trucks, the tax shall be based on total
gross weight and-sheli-be-36-percent-of-the-Minnesota-base-rate-preseribed-by
subdivision-le-under-Scheduie-i-during-each-of-the-£irat-six-years-of-vehiele
tdfey-but-tn-no-event-tess-than-610y-and-during-the-seventh-and-succeeding
years—ef-vehicie-1ife-as-taken-from-Scheduie-Ei;-but-in-no-event-iess-than
$11 not to exceed a maximum of 27,000 pounds and shall be $22 during each
of the first six years of vehicle life and during the seventh and succeeding
years of vehicle life shall be $17. In addition to such gross weight tax
iwposed on a truck-tractor or truck used as a truck-tractor, each semi-trailer
shall be taxed an annual flat fee of $10.

REC. 11. Establish a single class with a maximum gross weight of 27,000 pounds for all
urban-class vehicles. This recommendation, with projected annual revenue
increases of more than $900,000, restricts the urban-class registration to
lighter vehicles in much the same way as the previous recommendation. It
retains the original intent of the law -~ allowing discounted tax rates for
smaller urban-located delivery-type businesses whose vehicles must be
operated at slower speeds and interrupted by traffic controls, both adding
enpense to vehicle operations.

The owners of larger vehicles, which are now restricted to truck routes in
urban areas, have high-speed, non-gstop operating availabhle via our freeway
systems and do not incur the extra expenses of urban-street travel; they
do not need discounted taxes and should be taxed according to the same
rates as _all vther commercial vehicles in the state. Vehicles in excess
of 27,000 pounds woull be required to register in the "Y" class. Approxi-
mately $5,000 would be needed for computer programming to implement this
proposal.




PROPOSED URBAN CLASS REGISTRATION FEES

FIRST SIX YEARS SEVENTH YEAR AND OLDER
1 NO. OF  ANTICIPATED NO. OF ANTICIPATED
GROSS WEIGHT FEE VEHICLES __ REVENUE FEE VEHICLES REVENUE
0 - 27,000 § 45 206 $ 9,270 $ 26 347 $ 9,022
27,001 - 33,000 230 280 64,400 138 274 37,812
33,001 - 39,000 320 934 298,880 192 603 115,776
39,001 ~ 45,000 420 462 194,040 252 493 124,236
45,001 ~ 51,000 540 191 103,140 324 360 116,640
51,001 - 57,000 690 73 50,370 414 207 85,698
57,001 - 63,000 830 a7 39,010 498 79 39,342
63,001 - 69,000 970 18 17,460 582 15 B,730
69,001 - 75,000 1,050 9 9,450 630 10 6,300
TOTAL 2,220 $786,020 2,388  $543,556
POTAL PROJECTED REVENUE $1,329,576
TOTAL ESTIMATED PRESENT REVENUE $412,074

1Projectgd Gross Weight Based on Empty Weight

To implement this recommendation, we suggest the following amendment to
Chapter 168:

BE 1IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1974, Section 168.013, Subdivision le,
is amended to read:

Subd. le. [TRUCKS; TRACTORS; COMBINATIONS; EXCEPTION.] On all trucks
and tractors except those in this chapter defined as farm trucks, and urban
trucks, and on all truck-tractor and semi-~trailer combinations except those
defined as farm combinations and urban combinations, the tax based on total
gross weight durirg the first six years of vehicle life shall be graduated
according to Schedule I of the Minnesota base rate prescribed in this sub-
division, but in no event less than $28, and during the seventh and succeeding
years of vehicle life the tax shall be graduated according to Schedule II of
this subdivision, but in no event less than $17.

MINNESOTA BASE RATE

Schaduled taxes include five percent sur. ix provided for in Section
168.013, subdivision 14.

TOTAL GROSS «
WEIGHT SCHEDULE I SCHEDULE II
IN POUNDS Tax Tex

A 0- 1,500 $§ 500 0§ e——m




¢ 3,001 - 4,500 . 14,00 8.00
D 4,501 - 6,000 19.00 11.00

E 6,001 - 9,000 28.00 17.00

¥ 9,001 - 12,000 39.00 23.00 - -
¢ 12,001 - 15,000 62.00 37.00

u 15,001 - 18,000 86.00 52.00

1 18,001 - 21,000 114.00 68.00

J 21,001 - 27,000 158.00 95.00

K 27,001 - 33,000 230.00 138.00

L 33,001 - 39,000 320.00 192.00

M 39,001 - 45,000 420.00 252.00

N 45,001 - 51,000 540. 00 324.00

0 51,001 - 57,000 690.00 414.00

P 57,001 - 63,000 830.00 498.00

Q 63,001 - 69,000 970.00 582.00

R 69,001 - 75,000 1,050.00 630.00

For each vehicle with a gross weight in excess of 75,000 pounds the tax
paid shall be $36 for each ton or fraction thereof in excess of 75,000 pounds,
subject to provisions of section 168.013, subdivision 12.

Provided however, that on all trucks, except those in this chespter defined
as farm trucks and urban trucks, having a gross weight in excess of 18,000
pounds but less than 27,001 pounds, the tax shall b>:

£a)-—~Fer-the-registration-year-1976y-70-percent-of-the-appiicabie
Seheduie~3-or-Gcheduie-ii-of-this-subdivisions

€») (a) For the registration year 1977, 80 percent of the applicable
Schedule I or Schedule II of this subdivision;

4e) (b) For the registration year 1978, 90 percent of the applicable
Schedule I or Schedule II of this subdivision;

44) (c) For the registration year 1979 and thercafter, 100 percent of
the applicable Schedule I or Schedule Il of this subdivisiocn.

On vehicles having a gross weight in excess of 27,000 pounds, and nused
for the transportation of livestock or unprocessed and raw farm products
shall be taxed at 90 percent of the Minnesota base rate prescribed by this
subdivision under Schedule I during each of the first six years of vehicle
life and during the seventh and succeeding years of vehicle life as taken
from Schedule II provided the gross receipts derived fron such use equal or
exceed 60 percent of the owner's total gross receipts from the operition of
such vehicle during the 12 month period immediately praceding the date set
by law for the reregistration of such vehicle. The owner shiall furnish such
information as the registrar may require, including sworn statements of fact,
and the regiatrar shall thereupon determine whether such owmer comes within
the provisions of this paragraph.

If an owner has not used such vehicle for the transportation of livestock
or unprocessed and raw farm products so as to be able to report gross receipts
for the l%-naach period as herein set forth, he may, nevertheless, apply for
registration | der and pay the reduced tax and the registrar shall, after

‘eoagidtrltionfof the eatahlishaﬂ facts, determine whether such owner is entitled
to hiv“such :egiatratian approved.




If an owner fails to operate under the conditions and limitations herein
set forth, he shall immediately notify the registrar of such fact and pay the
difference between the scheduled gross weight tax and the reduced tax
proportionate to the number of months remaining in the year, 1/12 of the
difference for each month or fraction thereof, beginning with the month in
which such operations were discontinued or changed.

If an owner first uses such vehicle for the transportation of livestock
and unprocessed and raw farm products after the tax becomes due without
reduction, no adjustment or refund of tax shall be made during that calendar
year for reasons of transporting livestock and unprocessed and raw farm products.

All cruck-tractors except those herein defined as farm and urban truck-
tractors shall be taxed in accord with the foregoing gross weight tax schedule
on the basis of the combined gross weight of such truck-tractor and any semi-
trailer or semi-trailers which the applicant proposes to combine with the
truck-tractor. In addition to such gross weight tax imposed on the truck-
tractor, each semi-trailer shall be taxed an annual flat fee of $10.

Urban trucks include only all trucks and all truck-tractors and semi-
trailers used exclusively in transporting property within the metropolitan
area consisting of Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, Dakota, Anoka, Washington and
Carver counties, or within the corporate limits of any city or contiguous
cities or within one mile of cities of the first and second class. For the
purposes of this clause a land area ceded to the United States of America
under General Laws 1889, Chapter 57, is a statutc:y city. The vehicle shall
not be operated outside the metropolitan area or corporate limits of such
city, or contiguous cities, or beyond one mile of the cities of the first
and second class; except that the registrar may, by special permit, authorize
the permanent removal of such vehicle from any registration area to another.
The license plates issued therefor shall be plainly marked. On urban trucks
and combinations the tax shall be based on total gross weight and-sheli-be
30-percent—of-the-Minnesota-base-rate-prescribed-in-this-subdivision-under
Sehedule-I-during-ecach-of-the-£first-six-years-of-vehitele-1ife;-but-in-ne
event-iess-then-§19--and-during-the-seventh-and-suceeeding-yeara-ef-vehiele
14 fe-an-taken-from-Sehedute~Ii;-but-in-no-event-ltess-than-61+ not to exceed
a maximum of 27,000 pounds and shall be $45 during each of the first six
years of vehicle life, and during the seventh and succeeding years of vehicle
life shall be $26. In addition to such gross weight tax imposed on the
truck~tractor, each semitrailer shall be taxed an annual flat fee of $10.
Provided that on vehicles used by an authorized local cartage carrier
operating under a permit issued pursuant to section 221.296 and whose gross
transportation revenue consist of at least 60 percent obtained solely from
local cartage carriage, shall be taxed at 90 percent of the prescribed urban
truck and combination rates for the life of tiie vehicle during each year such
vehicle is used, provided that the gross revenues obtained from transportation
services is obtained from local cartage carriage is at least 60 percent of all
revenue obtained from transportation services by said person; and provided
further, that said tax shall in no event be less than $10.
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PART II1

Recommendation 12




CLASS

12,

In addition, State Reptesentative;kichard Lenmke, as chairman of the House
Transportation Committee's Subcommittee on Highways, requested that quarterly
truck registration be included in the vehicle registration study required by
Chapter 39 (Attachment 1).

~ Yn order to evaluate this request, information was collected on similar
‘ systems in other states. The sources used were data provided by other

etates in response to a request from the House Research Unit, data developed
from Polk's Motor Vehicle Registration Manual, R. L. Polk and Company, Detroit,
Michigan, and Road User and Property Taxes (1973). U. S. Department of Trans-
portation, Federal Highway Administration, Washington, D.C.

Using the data from these sources (See Table I on next page) an attempt was
made to find a state or states which had such a system and would be approxi-
mately comparable to Minnesota in terms of total taxes on the vehicle, vehicle
population, and other criteria in order to answver the questions posed.

CLASSES OR TYPES OF VEHICLES ELIGIBLE

Since the registration tuxes assessed against motor vehicles in Minnesota are
"in lieu of all cther taxes"” on the vehicle, the Legislature has adopted a
policy of assessing a minimum tax for vehicles. Assuming this polfcy continues
and the minimum tax rates are not changed, the threshold of eligibility for
registration by quarters would be the annual tax equivalent to four times the
pinimum tax for a particular vehicle. Using the existing tax rates, eligibility
would be as follows:

TABLE 11

Minimum Minimum Four times Equivalent Eligible X of

Jax Tax Minimum Tax cw Vehicles Class
1-6 yrs. 7 & older 1- 7 & older ]

Para trucks $19 $11 $ 76 §44 39,000 6,113 5.4
Sp. rec. vehicles 14 8 56 k¥ 15,000 1,222 6.1
Urban trucks 19 11 76 &4 39,000 2,567* 55,7
Y trucks
Prorate trucks*® 39 23 156 92 27,000 10,882 96.4

28 17 112 68 21,000 43,766 10.3

& Minisum gross weight for a prorate vehicle is 12,000 pounds.
**Estimated

Table II shows the number of vehicles vhich could qualify for registration by

quarters using the 1976 registration figures and the current statutory minimum |
taxes. The actual nusber of vehicles which could qralify could be reduced f
oincs, iﬁ aiﬁitian to the :ﬁctuﬁety aia&nulh all the classes except the r-cr.a:&ﬂnil;
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TABLE I
1
OTHER RESTRICTION  HANDLING
. ,  TRUCK REGISTRATION PROPERTY VEHICLE ON AND ADMIN. TAX
STAT? POPULATION TAX TAX TAXES# QUARTERLY FEE RATE .
) . - - - T T T
. i ‘ over ‘ \ Iéz ax'mua.‘l.i !
Arkanéss | 383,167 Yes | Yes  Xo 6,000 bs..  §5 | ‘¢ |
‘ 7 : "“Commercial . 1174 annual
calif. | 2,379,693 Yes ¥o Yes | Vehicles §3 (V& feeonly
' : ¥y . 71 .
? ‘ ; 11/2 annual |
. . t ifee f
Cean. 139,577 Yes Yes i No — | —— : '
Y - o ! '
, ! ; } 1/4 annual | *y
Delaware 55,106 i Yes g No No - - ' $1 fee ‘ .
’ oo ! i i ’
, E i :1/2 annuai ! .
Florids 839,452 Yes | Mo Yes -~ | 8§55  ‘fee
- ! g i
' ¢ i '
Minnesota 533,001 Yes ; No © Mo { - , - —
. | It ;
. | . ‘over : '1/4 annual
Montana 212,318 Yes | Yes Y28 (26,000 1bs. $1 ifee
g : V z ! |
So. Dak. 165,799 Yes ; No Yes i** E 5375 permit | :
. i i i P
. ; i s 1
Utah 211,171 Yes | Yes . No — : — :Varies | !
z 1/4 annual |
Virginia 484,835 Yes E Yes Xo o : $5 fee 2
’ H . &
; over : 1/4 annual |
Wash. 508,029 Yes %: ¥o Yes 20,000 ibs. ! $1.50 .tonnage fee lonly
ﬂ over « 1/4 annual |
Wisc. 441,884 Yes | ¥o - %o 8,000 .81 fee ;
: ; |
* Does not include|gas or diesél fuel tax | : g i

¢




ESTIMATED REVENUE 10SS

In order to estimate the revenue loss, it is appropriate to review the "total
tax" load imposed on vehicles permitted to register fer quarterly periods and
vhich portions of the "total tax" ioad may be prorated in such a manner. (Al-
though fuel taxes iepresent a substantial portion of the tax load, they are
excluded from this discussion since they are already collected on a "use" basis.)
Tt 18 also important to note that in those states which permit registration on
& quarterly basis, only the registration tax portion of the total tax load is
proratable. Further, in two states, Califcrnia and Washington, unly a portion
of the registration tax is proratable. From Table I it can be seen that only
the stites of Delaware and Wisconsin have total tax structures similar to
Minnesota and might be expected to suffer similar "revenue losses" due to a
registration by quarters system.

Since the data supplied by these states were not sufficient to determine this

loss, an alternate method was devised. Using the eligibility criteria already
daveloped, lost-revenue estimates were made for twelve hypothetical situations:

25 percent, 50 percent, 75 perceat and 100 percent of the 45,766 eiigible "Y"
class vehicles registering for one, two or three quarters only. For example,

if 25 percent of all eligible vehicles registered for three quarters (i.e.,

skipped one quarter of registration) the estimated loss of revenue is $633,000.
These data are shown in Table III and depicted graphically in Figure I (next page).

These "revenue losses” developed using this method were generated using the
following assumptions:

1. The quarterly tax rate is equal to one-fourth the annual rate.

2, Eligible users are evenly distributcd over the gross weight ranges.

3. Eligible users register for the same gross weight as in 1976.

4. There are no increases or decreases of gross weight.

3. There are no changes of class.

6. Eligible users receive no other tax reduction privileges.

TARLE III
ESTIMATED REVENUE LOSS - "Y" CLASS ONLY

\RTERS REGISTERED
3 S S

$ 633,000 $1,266,000 $1,899,000
1,266,000 2,533,000 3,798,000
1,399,000 3,798,000 5,697,000
2,532,000 5,064,000 7,596,000

In order to minimize the revenue loss associated with a quarterly registration
c;aia-b vehicles registered under such a system should mot be eligible for any
ision of the registration law which would provide an additional tax
gaiagtiﬁup ‘These vehicles should not be eligible for partial payment privileges,
&hs 10 ercent tax veduction of M.S. 168.013, Subdivision le, refunds prorated
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by month, or changes of class within a quarter. In addition, the registration
should expire on the last day of the quarter with no grace period or extension,
no changes of gross weight or class should be permitted within a quarter and
quarterly registrations should not be proratable by month.

ENFORCEMENT OF QUARTERLY REGISTRATION SYSTEM

Provided that the privilege of registration for one or more quarters is limited
to only a few registration classes and has high eligibility requirements within
each class, it would be feasible t» designate vehicles registered on this basis
by issuing a plate with distinctive reflective material, distinctive numbers
and distinctive stickers. If all these items can be incorporated into the
plate, Minnesota law enforcemeri agencies should have few enforcement problems.

ADDITIONAL FEE FOR ADMINISTRATIVE HANDLING

It would appear that the $3 fee specified in M.S. 168.013, Subdivision 12,
charged for registration changes should be adequate to cover the costs on a
per~filing basis.

CURRENT REGISTRATIOUN CHANGES

Below are described several cases wherein the registration of a vehicle could
be legally manipulated to result in a lower than expected tax.

Vehicle: A 1969 3-axle truck-tractor with an empty weight of
18,000 pounds.

Tax: The zunual "Y" class tax for 75,000 pounds gross weight
is $630.

Registration Changes:

January through May registered in the urban class at
27,000 pounds.

June through December registered in the "Y" class at
75,000 pounds and claiming the 10 percent reduction
of M.S. 168.013 (le).

Actual Tax Computation:
Five months, urban class at 27,000 (5/12 x 29) = $12.08
Seven months, "Y" class at 75,000 (7/12 x 567) = $330.75
TOTAL $342.83

On the last day of October the registration is converted to
the urban class and a refund of $141.75 is issued.

Total tax paid is $342.83 - §$141.75 = $201.08.

This vehicle was registered for 75,000 pounds for 58 percent of the calendar
year and paid 31.9 percent of the comparable "Y" class tax.

This same vehicle registered in the farm or urban class under the conditions
could register for 75,000 pounds for 58 percent of the year and pay $86.09
(45.5 percent of the §189 annual tax).




Again, this same vehicle registered in the "Y" class under the same conditions
could register for 75,000 pounds for 58 percent of the year and pay $343.42
(54.5 percent of the $630 annual tax).

Similar examples with similar results could be developed for other types of
vehicles.

Taking into consideration the "total" tax load on vehicles in Minnesota, the
potential for revenue loss and the variety of tax reductions, registration
changes and registration privileges already permitted under Minnesota law,

it is our conclusion that Minnesota already has a system of registration which
provides the "benefits" of a "quarterly" registration system. Therefore, there
seems to be no reason to enact legislation specifically for this purpose.
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HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
MARTIN OLAV SAROD, Spcake:

August 3, 1976

Honorabile FEdward G. Novak, Commissioner
Department of Public Safety

211 Highway Building

St. Paul, Mimmesota 55155

Decar Commissioner Novak:

The House Transportation Committee's subccmmittee on highways,
which I chair, is presently considering the question of whether
Minnesota should allow truck owners to register their vehicles for
one or morce calendar quarters of the year inctead of for a full
registration year. Under this system owners could register their
veliicles for three-month periods for approximately one-fourth of
the total ammual weight fee, plus an addi_ional fce to cover
administrative costs.

I am taking this opportunity to request that you include a

study of this system as part of the overall vehicle registration
study directed by Laws, 1976, Chapter 39, section 8. T would
suggest that such a study include consideration of the following
questions:

1. What, if any, revenue loss could be anticipated from
this system?

2. To what classes or types of vehicles should it be
applied?

3. MHow should enforcement of a quarterly registration
system be handled?

4. What additional fee should be charged for quarterly
registration to cover additional handling and
administrative costs?




. ‘Commissioner Edward G. Novak
* August 3, 1976
. Page 2

*
I am sure that the results of such a study would be of great

value to the legislature in evaluating this proposal. I will
be happy to discuss this subject further with you at any time.

Sincerely yours, .

Richard Lemke
Siuce Representative






