

State of Minnesota Minnesota Department of Corrections Office of the Commissioner

December 2, 2002

Honorable Jane Ranum, Chair Senate Crime Prevention Committee 120 State Capitol St. Paul, Minnesota 55155

Dear Senator Ranum:

The agency biennial budget was completed and submitted to the Department of Finance on October 15, 2002. In compliance with Laws 2002, Chapter 220, article 6, section 3, subdivision 2, the Department of Corrections' report on the agency spending plan and budget reductions of \$8.145 million is:

- A portion of the budget reduction was a \$1.6 million base decrease due to a change in methodology resulting in a decrease on bed impact for DWI offenders.
- A \$150,000 base reduction to the adult facilities division was accomplished by eliminating three positions.

• The agency base reduction of \$6.395 million was distributed among divisions. Community services division cuts were distributed among all counties/programs/areas receiving funding via pass-through. The department eliminated positions in field services, Sentencing to Service, and research and evaluation. The adult facilities and operations support divisions included a one percent reduction to all adult facility salary budgets, and funding was eliminated for core support functions and health care.

The agency contact person for the biennial budget is Lisa Cornelius, Fiscal Services Director, at 651/642-0216.

Report on the agency spending plan

Sincerely,

Sheryl Ramstad Hvass Commissioner

## SRH:lc

c: Honorable Tom Neuville Ranking Minority Member

## Per statute, this report was also submitted to:

Honorable Linda Berglin, Chair Senate Health, Human Services & Corrections Budget Division

c: Honorable Sheila Kiscaden Ranking Minority Member

Honorable Rich Stanek, Chair House Judiciary Finance Committee

c: Honorable Mary Murphy Ranking Minority Member

Honorable John Tuma, Chair House Crime Prevention Committee

c: Honorable Wes Skoglund Ranking Minority Member

Robbie LaFleur, Director Legislative Reference Library

Patrick Flahaven Secretary of the Senate

Edward Burdick, Chief Clerk House of Representatives