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MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN, FAMILIES AND LEARNING 
FY2000 Legislative Reports: Estimated Cost of Preparation 

Minnesota Statutes 3 .197 requires the following: 

"A report to the legislature must contain, at the beginning of the report, the cost of preparing 
the report, including any costs incurred by another agency or anther level of government." 

The following provides estimated costs incurred in the preparation of this report. 

This report required the collection of information which the Department of Children, Families 
& Learning does not collect as a part of its normal business functions. It was therefore 
necessary to gather and analyze information in order to prepare this report. Therefore, the 
cost of preparing this report includes estimates of the Department of Children, Families & 
Learning information collection costs as well as the estimated costs of the providers of the 
information. 

Funding for this Report: 

Special funding was not appropriated to cover the costs of preparing this report. 

Minnesota Department of Children, Families & Learning Costs: 

The following is an estimate of the cost incurred by the Minnesota Department of Children, 
Families & Learning: 

Other Agency Costs: 
(List the agency such as local school districts, federal agencies, other state agencies.) 

The following is an estimate of the cost incurred by these agencies: 
Counties 

TOT AL ESTIMATED COST FOR PREPARING THIS REPORT: 

$2,579 

$544 

$3,123 



Executive Summary 
In 1997, the Minnesota Legislature added a new component to the Basic Sliding Fee Child 
Care Program (BSF) by enacting Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.061, which established 
the At-Home Infant Child Care Program (AHIC). The At-Home Infant Child Care Program 
allows families who have a child under one year of age, who are eligible for or currently 
receiving Basic Sliding Fee child care assistance, and who provide full-time care for their 
infant child to receive a subsidy in lieu of child care assistance. 

The legislation creating this program included a requirement that the Department of Children, 
Families and Learning (CFL) conduct and present an evaluation of the At-Home Infant Child 
Care Program (AHIC) to the 2000 Legislature. This report evaluates the At-Home Infant Child 
Care Program. The findings are based on two sources of information. The first source is the 
funding requests submitted by counties. These requests provide basic participation 
information: the total number of families who have participat~d in the program as well as 
information related to intended length of participation and projected costs. The second sourcE~ 
of information is the evaluations submitted by parents and counties. These evaluations 
provide more detailed information; CFL developed separate evaluation forms, which for the 
most part ask different questions, to be completed by parents and counties. 

The evaluation focuses on three overarching questions: 
• What do we know about the families who have participated in the At-Home Infant Child 

Care Program? 
• What is the financial impact of the At-Home Infant Child Care Program on the Basic 

Sliding Fee Program? 
• Should changes be made in how the program is administered? 

Changes were made to the At-Home Infant Child Care Program during the 1999 legislative 
session which made it easier for families not currently receiving Basic Sliding Fee Child Care 
Assistance to access the program. Because this change was effective only six months ago, a 
limited number of the families who entered under the new policy have completed the program 
and therefore are not represented in these findings. It is unclear how the population served 
subsequent to this change differs from the population served prior to the change. The change 
is specifically noted in the discussion of those overarching questions to which it is particularly 
relevant. 

What do we know about the families who have participated? 
Thirty percent of the parents who have completed the program submitted a written 
evaluation. The parent evaluations included glowing statements about the benefits of being 
able to stay home with an infant for part or all of the baby's first year. However, our 
information is incomplete as we do not know how the other 70% of the participants would 
respond if they had done so. We also do not know on what basis those who did not choose to 
participate made their decision. 

The families who were able to receive the benefits of AHIC were more likely to be two-parent 
families and therefore were not typical. of the Basic Sliding Fee population overall. We also 
know that the families who participated in AHIC were slightly larger than BSF families overall. 
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In general the families who participated did so for shorter periods of time than they had 
originally intended with a significant majority participating for less than three months. We 
know that almost half of the families (44%) received subsidies between $200 and 
$299/month. 

What is the financial impact of the At-Home Infant Child Care Program 
on the Basic Sliding Fee Program? 
Analysis of cost savings is considered in three parts. 

The first regards families who participated in BSF prior to AHIC. For these families, the 
possible range of savings is $138/month to $476/month. When these savings are applied to 
the average AHIC participation of five months, the average savings per family is between 
$690 and $2,380. Approximately 55% (28) of families for whom an evaluation was completed 
had children in subsidized care prior to the participation in AHIC. 

The second group concerns families for whom the infant is their first child. Savings attributed 
to these families are estimated to be $84/month. This translates into $420 in savings over five 
months compared to child care subsidies through Basic Sliding Fee. Twenty-four percent (12) 
of the families for whom an evaluation was completed, participated in AHIC with a first child. 

The remaining twenty-one percent (11) of the families had other children but had not 
previously been participating in BSF. If at the point that these families moved into AHIC, they 
would otherwise have moved into BSF, the savings attributed to these families would be 
similar to the savings above. If; on the other hand, these families would not have otherwise 
used child care assistance then there are no savings to offset the AHIC expenditures. 
Analysis of savings requires discussion of the 1999 statutory changes. 

The changes made in 1999 significantly increase the potential for greater numbers of families 
to participate in the AHIC program. Therefore, it is likely that total savings (BSF expenditures 
averted less AHIC subsidies) under the program as it is currently constructed will be less than 
under the original design of the program. The small number of cases that opened after July 1, 
1999 and are already completed, make projections of cost savings difficult. Therefore, cost 
savings are only presented at the family level, not at the overall program level. 

Should changes be made in how the program is administered? 

The At-Home Infant Child Care program is administered at the county level as are all other 
child care assistance programs. The funding however, is administered as a set-aside at the 
state level. Therefore, counties must request funding for individual families. A state level 
funding pool was created because of the uncertainty of levels of demand and concerns about 
equal access to AHIC for families in all counties. At this time it appears that continuing our 
conservative approach to the administrative structure is not necessary. On these two counts, 
AHIC funds may well be able· to be included in the allocations to counties. However, the 1999 
legislative change that allows families to move directly from the BSF waiting list to the AHIC 
program makes including AHIC in the county allocation impossible. Therefore, the pooling of 
AHIC funds at the state level will need to t;Ontinue. 



Background 
In 1997, the Minnesota Legislature added a new component to the Basic Sliding 
Fee Program (BSF) by enacting Minne?-Ota Statutes, section 1198.061 which 
established the At-Home Infant Child Care Program (AHIC). The At-Home Infant 
Child Care Program allows families who have a child under one year of age, who 
are eligible for or currently receiving Basic Sliding Fee child care, and who 
provide full-time care for their infant child to receive a subsidy in lieu of child care 
assistance. 

The program was established for two primary reasons: (1) concern about the 
availabil.ity of out-of-home child care for infants at a time when demand was 
expanding and the number of infant care providers remains limited; and (2) a 
growing body of research demonstrating the importance of an infant's first year 
for enhancing brain development. 

The At-Home Infant Child Care Rule Advisory Committee made every effort to 
blend the administration of the AHIC program with the existing rules of the Basic 
Sliding Fee Program. A family who is eligible for AHIC must have a child younger 
than one year of age. They must currently be receiving Basic Sliding Fee child 
care assistance or be eligible for Basic Sliding Fee assistance, based on 
participation in employment, education or job search and be income eligible 
based on these activities, and provide full-time care for their infant child. A family 
participating in AHIC cannot receive child care assistance to subsidize non­
parental care for any other children in the family. A family is limited to a lifetime 
total of twelve months of At-Home Infant Child Care subsidies. These months 
can be used for one child or split between children. The statute does not prohibit 
eligible parent(s) from pursuing education and employment while participating in 
the AHIC program as long as they meet the requirements to provide full-time 
care for the infant. The maximum subsidy must be at 75 percent of the maximum 
rate paid to a licensed family child care provider for full-time care of an infant in 
the applicant's county of residence. The family's co-payment is deducted from 
the maximum subsidy to determine the subsidy for which the family is eligible. 
One difference from BSF which is explained in detail later, the AHIC funds are 
administered as a state level set-aside to the Basic Sliding Fee Program and 
counties submit requests for funding for each family that applies for AHIC. 

The ways in which a family can access AHIC have changed since the beginning 
of the program. When the program was initially implemented, a family could 
access the program in one of three ways: the family is participating in BSF when 
they apply for AHIC, the family's name comes to the top of the BSF waiting list 
and they go directly into AHIC, or the family lives in a county without a waiting list 
and they apply for AHIC without having participated in BSF or having been on the 
waiting list. 
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Effective July 1, 1999, the statute was changed to allow families on the waiting 
list to move into AHIC without having reached the top of the waiting list. Counties 
were not required to continue these fan:,jlies in 8SF after their AHIC participation 
ended unless they had reached the top of the 8SF waiting list during the period 
of their AHIC participation. This change affects the analysis included in this 
report. 

The legislation creating this program includes a requirement that the Department 
of Children, Families and Learning conduct and present an evaluation of the At­
Home Infant Child Care Program (AHIC) to the 2000 Legislature. According to 
Minnesota Statutes 1198.061, subd. 5(b), the evaluation must include data on 
the number of families participating fn the program; the number of families 
continuing to pursue employment or education while participating in the program; 
the average income of families prior to, during and after participation in the 
program; family size and single and two-parent status. This report fulfills the 
legislative mandate to present an evaluation of the At-Home Infant Child Care 
Program to the 2000 legislature. 

Information contained in this report 
The information contained in this report comes from two sources. The first source 
is the funding requests submitted by counties. 1 These requests provide basic 
participation information: the total number of families who have participated in the 
program as well as the information related to intended length of participation and 
projected costs. 

The second source of information is the evaluations submitted by parents and 
counties. These evaluations provide more detailed information; CFL developed 
separate evaluation forms, which for the most part ask different questions, to be 
completed by parents and counties. (These evaluations are included as 
Attachments A and 8.) In order to collect information about a family's entire AHIC 
experience, not just their expectations, these evaluations are submitted after a 
family has completed their participation in AHIC. This means that the participant 
information excludes all of those families who have not yet completed their AHIC 
participation. Of the 94 families who have begun to participate in AHIC through 
December 31, 19992

, 63 completed their participation by December 31, 1999. 
Counties have submitted 51 forms for those who have completed their 
involvement, a response rate of 81 %. A limited number, nineteen, (30%) of the 
parent evaluations have been received. 

1 The committee that developed the recommendations for implementation of the At-Home Infant 
Child Care Program decided that the At-Home Infant Child Care funds remain as a set-aside at 
the state level, rather than being allocated to counties as happens with Basic Sliding Fee funds. 
This decision was based on the limited amount of total funds available and the recognition that if 
these funds were allocated, some counties would be able to serve one or fewer families through 
AHIC. As a result, the Department has information regarding subsidy amount and intended length 
of participation for every participant prior to beginning participation in AHIC. 
2 Another seven families have begun to participate in AHIC since January 1, 2000. 
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This evaluation is organized as follows: (1) the summary of participation 
information from the funding requests, (2) the summary of participant information 
from the county evaluations, (3) the summary of participant information from the 
parent evaluations, (4) findings, (5) a note on outreach, and (6) conclusion. This 
evaluation only describes specific policies within Basic Sliding Fee Program 
(BSF) as necessary to explain the questions asked or the findings presented. 
Complete versions of statute and rule that govern the Child Care Assistance 
Program are presented as Attachments C and D; the sections specifically relating 
to the At-Home Infant Child Care program are Minnesota Statutes 119B.061 and 
Minnesota Rules 3400.0235. 

The limited number of families who have participated in the At-Home Infant Child 
Care Program, and the very limited number of respondents, limits the ability of 
the Department to draw conclusions about the families participating in AHIC or 
their experience while participating. While this limited information, provides for a 
preliminary analysis of the successes and shortcomings of the AHIC program, it 
is important to remember that findings are easily affected by a few respondents 
when the response rate is so low. 

Participation information-funding requests 
During the first six months of the At-Home Infant Child Care Program 
(July 1- December 31, 1998), 25 families began their participation in the program. 
Between January 1 and June 30, 1999, another 25 families began to participate 
in the program. Changes were made to the program during the 1999 Legislative 
session that allowed families currently on the waiting list to access the At-Home 
Infant Child Care Program. The 1999 Legislature also directed the Department of 
Children, Families and Learning to develop and distribute consumer information 
specifically on the At-Home Infant Child Care Program. Between July 1 and 
December 31, 1999, 44 families began to participate in the At-Home Infant Child 
Care Program. Since the beginning of 2000, seven families have begun to 
participate. 

Most families have participated in the program for significantly less than the 
maximum allowable twelve months. Of the families who have participated in the 
program since its inception, 45% intended to participate for less than three 
months, 17% intended to participate for three to five months, 8% intended to 
participate for six to eight months, and 29% intended to participate for nine to 
twelve months. The average intended participation of these families is 5 months. 
The median number of months of intended participation is three. 3In other words, 
if all of the AHIC families were lined up in ascending order of the number of 
months they intended to participate, half of them would be participating for 3 or 
fewer months. The chart on the page that follows depicts intended length of 
participation. 

3 This section addresses intended length of participation. The participant section will address 
whether the actual length of participation was similar to or differed from, the intended length of 
participation. 
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Intended length of AH IC participation 

less than 3 months 

11 3 - 5 months 

• 6-8 months 

• 9 to 12 months 

To date, the average total subsidy is $1,469. The largest total subsidy was 
$4,872. The smallest total subsidy was $32. The average subsidy per month is 
$277. The largest monthly subsidy was $406. The lowest monthly subsidy was 
$21. (These monthly highs and lows are the same families represented in the 
total highs and lows.) Two of the families received an average monthly subsidy of 
less than $100. Fifteen families received an average monthly subsidy between 
$100 and $199. Forty-four families received an average monthly subsidy 
between $200 and $299. Thirty-two families received an average monthly 
subsidy between $300 and $399 and one family received an average monthly 
subsidy of more than $400. This distribution across subsidy levels is visually 
represented in the pie graph below. Looking at this depiction it becomes very 
clear that a significant portion of those participating received $200-$299/month 
and almost all participants received between $100 and $399/month. 

Distribution of subsidy amount at AHIC 
participation 

~ < $100 

• $100- $199 

• $200- $299 

• $300- $399 

• >=$400 

While these subsidy amounts are calculated from income, family size and cost of 
family child care for an infant in the family's county of residence, we cannot 
derive income information from this subsidy information. Income levels will be 
discussed in the participant information section. 
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While these subsidy amounts are calculated from income, family size and cost of 
family child care for an infant in the family's county of residence, we cannot 
derive income information from this subsidy information. Income levels will be 
discussed in the participant information section. 

Families living in 32 counties have participated. Six counties have had five or 
more AHIC cases.4 

Based on recent participation, the Department projects total expenditures of 
$150,000 - $250,000 for SFY00. The Department is currently budgeting a 
$1,000,000 set-aside for the At-Home Infant Child Care Program in both 
SFY2001 and SFY2002. 

Participant information - county evaluation forms 
As noted earlier, county evaluations have been returned for 51 of the 63 families 
who have completed the number of months they intended to participate in AHIC. 
Again, it is important to note that they information to follow is based on families 
who have completed AHIC. Because of statutory changes effective July 1, 1999, 
it is possible that families who have begun tQ participate since July 1, 1999 differ 
from the families who have completed the program. Therefore, caution should 
be used in translating these findings in program changes. Of the 63 families who 
have completed their AHIC participation, 43 families began to participate prior to 
July 1, 1999 and 20 began to participate on or after July 1, 1999. 

The counties were asked to indicate the path through which the family had begun 
to participate in the At-Home Infant Child Care Program. Because the 1999 
Legislature changed the AHIC portion of Minnesota Statutes 1198 in order to 
allow families to move directly from the waiting list in the AHIC program, the 
frequency of the types of entry are divided into pre- and post- July 1999. 

Of those who entered the AHIC program prior to July 1, 1999, 20 (65%) were 
participating in the Basic Sliding Fee prior to the birth of the infant that led to their 
participation in AHIC, 2 (6%) began to participate when their name came to the 
top of their county's Basic Sliding Fee waiting list, and 9 (29%) lived in a county 
without a waiting list and moved directly into AHIC without previously 
participating in the Basic Sliding Fee Program. Of those who entered the AHIC 
program after July 1, 1999, 8 (44%) were participating in the Basic Sliding Fee 
prior to the birth of the infant that led to their participation in AHIC, 6 (33%) began 
to participate while on their county's Basic Sliding Fee waiting list, and 4 (22%) 
lived in a county without a waiting list and moved directly into AHIC without 
previously participating in the Basic Sliding Fee Program. Two of the evaluations 
did not include an answer to this question. Unfortunately, the small number of 
cases that opened after July 1 , 1999 make analysis of changes in access 
difficult. 

4 Anoka, Carlton, Goodhue, Hennepin, Nicollet, and Ramsey. 
02/22/00 
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Of the families for whom county evaluations were completed, 21 participated for 
the number of months they originally intended to participate, 25 participated for 
fewer than the number of months they originally intended to participate (eleven of 
these were within a half month of their intended participation), 2 participated for 
greater than the number of months they originally intended to participate. Three 
of the evaluations were not completed in a way that allowed for this analysis. 
While none of the parents who completed an evaluation directly stated that they 
participated for fewer months than they anticipated, one parent did imply this by 
stating, "An increase in subsidy may have made it possible to stay home the full 
first year. When our child was 1 O months old, we financially had to have both 
parents work. "The following pie graphs compare actual and intended lengths of 
participation of those families who have completed AHIC. 
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Intended length of AHIC participation -­
completed cases 

2% 
51% 

less than 3 
months 

• 3 - 5 months 

• 6-8 months 

• 9 to 12 months 

Actual length of AHIC participation -­
completed cases 

21% 

less than 3 
months 

111 3 - 5 months 

• 6-8 months 

• 9 to 12 months 



Fifty-five percent of the evaluations returned by counties represented single­
parent families and 45 percent by two-parent families. 5 This compares to 
approximately 85% of all BSF families in SFY99 that were headed by single 
parents. This difference is not surprising, as two-parent families are able to retain 
a portion of their income while one-parent stays home with an infant. 

The evaluations also asked about total number of people in the family. On 
average, the families who have completed their participation include 3. 7 
members. The families range in size from two to seven. Furthermore, the 
evaluation listed the number of children in the family. On average, the families 
who have completed their participation include 2.3 children. The number of 
children ranges from one to five. 

The final question on family composition was the number of children eligible for 
the Basic Sliding Fee Program. On average, the families who have completed 
their participation include 2.1 children who are eligible for BSF. Therefore, 
families in AHIC have slightly more children of an age to be eligible for 
subsidized child care than BSF participants overall. 

The evaluation also included questions about family income prior to, at the 
beginning of, and at the end of participation in AHIC.6 The chart below lists the 
average annual income at each of these three points in time. Because of the 
limited number of families who have completed their AHIC participation, these 
incomes have not been divided into groups by family size. 

Averaae income of AHIC participants 
Prior to AHIC I $21,891 
Durina AHIC I $19,379 
Followina AHIC I $23,671 

The participants' income was, on average, 40% of the State Median Income prior 
to AHIC, 35% of State Median Income during AHIC, and 43% of State Median 
Income following AHIC. While the increase in income following AHIC is 
somewhat surprising, it is likely a result of the relatively high proportion of 
families participating in AHIC who have two parents in the home. This possibly 
reflects changes in the income of the parent who was not providing full-time care 
for the infant. 

5 A single parent is defined as being the only parent living in the household who has legal or 
financial responsibility for any child in that household. If another adult lives in the household but 
does not have legal or financial responsibility for any child in the household, the head of the 
family is considered a single parent. This is consistent with the CCAP definition of family used in 
determining income and for federal reporting. 
6 The attached evaluation form provides more detail on each of these points in time. Income is 
annualized forward to estimate what a family's income would be or is during participation. This is 
used to determine eligibility and co-payments. 
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The evaluation asked about types of income received while on the At-Home 
Infant Child Care Program. The following types of income were attributed to the 
parents providing full-time care: 

• 16 % of the other parents earned income during 
the time the family participated in AHIC, 

• 14% had unearned income, 
• 6% used paid parental leave, 
• 14 % used paid sick leave, 
• 2% used paid vacation leave, 
• 12% had paid temporary disability leave, and 
• 4 7% had no other income attributed to that parent. 

In some cases, parents had more than one type of income during participation. 
Of the 22 families with two parents, twenty-one (21) of the other parents (the 
parent not providing full-time care) earned income during the time the family 
participated in AHIC and one had paid temporary disability leave. None of the 
second parents had a combination of types of income. 

The funding request section of this report details the average level and range of 
subsidies received by families on AHIC. The average of the subsidies reported 
on the evaluation is $300/month; close to the average based on initial funding 
requests of $277/month. The evaluation also asked for information about the 
family's co-payment while participating in AHIC. Co-payments are handled 
differently in the AHIC Program than in the overall Child Care Assistance 
Program. Parents in the At-Home Infant Care portion of the program, forgo a 
portion of their subsidy rather than directly paying a co-payment. This forgone 
portion increases as their income increases. The average co-payment for the 
families who have completed the AHIC program was $71/month. 

Because the At-Home Infant Child Care Program is part of the Basic Sliding Fee 
Program, and because it was created to allow families to spend some time at 
home with their infant, all families were in some type of authorized activity 
(employment, education or job search) prior to the birth of the infant. The 
percentage of families involved in each of these activities is listed below. This 
distribution is similar to the distribution of BSF cases in recent years. The Basic 
Sliding Fee Family Profile provides the most up-to-date information on the exact 
distribution of BSF cases in SFY99. 

Authorized Activity Percent of families 
Employment 94% 
Education 8% 
Job Search 0% 

NOTE: The sum percentages in the AHIC column are greater than 100% because two families 
listed both employment and education. 
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Parents were allowed to pursue other activities as long as they provided full-time 
care for the infant, and the evaluation included a question as to whether the 
parent had done so. Three were involved in employment and 1 pursued some 
type of education while participating in the At-Home Infant Child Care Program. 

The Department included a question on the evaluation about families who used 
the Basic Sliding Fee Program prior to participation in AHIC. Fifty-five percent 
(28) had a child in subsidized child care prior to their participation AHIC. Those in 
this group had an average of 1.57 children in subsidized child care prior to 
participation in AHIC. The number of children in subsidized care ranged from 1 to 
3. As a point of comparison, families in the Basic Sliding Fee Program overall in 
State Fiscal Year 1999 had an average of 1.68 children in subsidized child care. 
It is important to distinguish here that this number applies to children who had 
actually been in subsidized care while the family composition section discussed 
children who would be eligible for BSF. 

The evaluation also asked for the monthly child care subsidy that had been paid 
on behalf of the family. The average of the BSF child care subsidies that had 
been paid on behalf of the AHIC families was $415. The average child care 
subsidy cost for families in the Basic Sliding Fee Program overall was 
$408/month in SFY99. Therefore, the subsidy that had been received by the 
families who participated in BSF prior to the family moving to AHIC is similar to 
the BSF population overall. Using the average AHIC subsidy reported on the 
funding requests ($277), the cost of a month of AHIC is $138 less than the cost 
of BSF for those families that had been participating in BSF prior to AHIC, 
(approximately 55% (28) of families for whom an evaluation was completed had 
children in subsidized care prior to the participation in AHIC). Monthly savings 
are actually higher because in cases where a family had been in BSF and then 
began to participate in AHIC immediately after the birth of the infant, the child 
care subsidy that had been paid would not include the infant. Using the funding 
requests to derive an estimate of the total cost of care for an infant in a licensed 
family child care, we calculate total savings of as much as $476/month for 
families that had previously been in BSF. Actual savings would likely not be this 
high because many providers charge below the maximum rates that are used as 
the basis for determining AHIC subsidies. However, if we consider $138/month to 
$4 76/month to be the possible range of savings for families who had previously 
been participating in BSF, (of which $138 is likely too low and $476 is likely too 
high), and apply these savings to the average AHIC participation of five months, 
the average savings per family is between $690 and $2380, when compared to 
the cost of a Basic Sliding Fee subsidy. 

Savings attributed to families for whom the infant in AHIC is the first child are 
estimated to be $84/month. This translates into $420 in savings over five months 
compared to child care subsidies through Basic Sliding Fee. Twenty-four percent 
(12) of the families for whom evaluation was completed, participated in AHIC with 
a first child. 
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The remaining twenty-one percent (11) of the families had other children but had 
not been participating in BSF. If at the point that these families moved into AHIC, 
they would otherwise have moved into _BSF, the savings attributed to these 
families would be similar to the savings above. If, on the other hand, these 
families would not have otherwise used child care assistance then there are no 
savings to offset the AHIC expenditures. Analysis of savings requires discussion 
of the 1999 statutory changes. The changes made in 1999 significantly increase 
the potential for families to participate in the AHIC program without previous 
participation in, or even expression of interest in, the Basic Sliding Fee Program. 
Therefore, it is likely that total savings (BSF expenditures averted less AHIC 
subsidies) under the program as it is currently constructed will be less than under 
the original design of the program. The small number of cases that opened after 
July 1, 1999 and are already completed, make projections of cost savings 
difficult. Therefore, cost savings are only presented at the family level, not at the 
program level. 

Following the family's completion of AHIC, the child care needs and the child 
care subsidy needs were the final questions asked in the county section of the 
study. Of those who have completed AHIC, for whom an evaluation was 
completed, 41 will have at least one child in paid child care after AHIC ends and 
all of those will be using BSF funds. This is an another example where the 
changes made during the 1999 legislative session are, for the most part, not yet 
reflected in the pool of families who have completed AHIC. 

Supplemental information-parent evaluation 
As noted above, only 19 out of a possible 63 parent evaluations were submitted. 
It is difficult to generalize based on this limited number of evaluations. The 
information from these surveys is presented below so readers will know what 
information was requested of parents and what potential exists for later analysis. 
It is also included in order to present a complete picture of the information 
collected by the Department, although the information is not necessarily 
representative. · 

During the legislative discussion that led to the creation of the AHIC program, 
some proponents suggested that parents at home providing full-time care for an 
infant might also decide to care for children outside their immediate family as 
well. None of the nineteen responding parents indicated that they had provided 
child care for another family's children for pay on a regular basis. 

The Department also included a question as to whether the family participated in 
any parenting or family support programs while participating in the At-Home 
Infant Child Care Program. . 

7 The question was written generally so as to capture any involvement in parenting or family 
support programs, including cases in which involvement centered on a child other than the infant. 
The options identified were ECFE, Family Literacy/Even Start, Head Start, Church sponsored, 
Tribe sponsored and other. 
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Two of the nineteen responding parents indicated that they did participate in such 
a program, one in Early Childhood Family Education (ECFE) and another in an 
infant development class. This is great~r than the overall rate, in state fiscal year 
1999, 6% of all Basic Sliding Fee families participated in Head Start, ECFE, 
School Readiness, or some combination of these three programs. However, as 
noted earlier, with so few parent evaluations returned, the participation rate for 
AHIC families is easily affected by a few evaluations. 

Parents were also asked about what they would be doing at the end of their 
participation in the AHIC program. In asking parents for this information, we were 
able to QSk some more detailed follow-up questions. Twelve of the nineteen 
responding parents indicated that they would be employed after their AHIC 
participation ended. Of those answering yes, eight indicated that this would be 
full-time employment and four indicated that this would be part-time employment. 
None of the parents will be working in the home. None of the parents are 
providing child care as their employment. Three of the 12 responding parents 
indicated that they would be in school shortly after their AHIC participation 
ended. One of these students indicated that they would be in school full-time; the 
other two did not answer this question. Two of the students also answered that 
they would be employed. Six of the parents indicated that they would not be 
working. One parent did not answer the question. 

The parent evaluation included four open-ended questions that allowed parents 
to share what they feel is important about the At-Home Infant Child Care 
Program. The questions and summaries of the answers follow. The questions 
and a complete list of the answers are found in Attachment E. They are grouped 
into types of responses for purposes of analysis, however, many of the answers 
include or imply multiple reasons and therefore could fit into more than one 
category. 

Why did you choose to participate in the At-Home Infant Child Care Program? 

Of the nineteen parents who responded to this question about what initially 
motivated them to participate in AHIC, nine gave infant developmental and 
bonding reasons for participating. Another five gave financial reasons. Two 
merely stated that they participated because it was available. The final three 
gave reasons that were either a combination of the above reasons, or 
ambiguous. 

What were the benefits for you, your family and your infant in participating in the 
At-Home Infant Child Care Program? 

Again, when listing the actual benefits, seven families stated bonding and 
developmental issues. Six listed financial benefits. Four listed a combination of 
benefits, both bonding and financial. One parent did not answer this question. 
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Was it difficult to participate in AHIC? If so why? 

Two parents listed reasons why it was i;ijfficult (or somewhat difficult) to 
participate. The other fifteen parents did not indicate that it had been difficult. 

How could this program be improved? 

Ten parents responded to the question about how this program could be 
improved. Five made comments that they do not think it needs improvement. 
One parent indicated that more information needs to be distributed. One stated 
that the age limit of twelve months should be extended. Three stated that the 
subsidy level should be raised. 

Outreach 
As noted above, following the 1999 Legislative session, the Department 
developed an At-Home Child Care Program brochure (Attachment F). The 
Department of Children, Families & Learning has distributed 22,500 brochures, 
primarily to counties that use them to provide outreach to citizens. 

The At-Home Infant Child Care program is also identified in the "Do you need 
help paying for child care?" brochure. The Department of Children, Families and 
Learning distributes approximately 100,000 of these brochures annually. 

Conclusion 
In conclusion, the evaluative information has some shortcomings, which must be 
taken into account as policy recommendations are developed. However, the 
information does lead to some preliminary findings about families, funding and 
administration. 

This evaluation is built on a pyramid of sorts. The base of 94 total participants 
through December 31, 1999 is fairly small but represents enough families to 
present some solid analysis of program participation data._The number of 
families who are known to have completed AHIC (63) and the even smaller 
number for whom county evaluations have been submitted (51) allows for more 
limited analysis of the detailed information these evaluations contain. The very 
small number of evaluations submitted by parents can be reported but drawing 
conclusions from these nineteen evaluations is risky. The findings included in this 
report might change if we had complete information on all parents who have 
participated. 

We also have a gap in our data. We know nothing about the eligible families who 
were aware of AHIC. What caused them to choose not to participate? We have 
no way to collect this information that could provide us with much information 
about why more parents have not participated in AHIC. 
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As the legislative background section explains, changes were made to the At­
Home Infant Child Care Program during the 1999 legislative session which made 
it easier for families not currently receiving Basic Sliding Fee Child Care 
Assistance to access the program. Because this change was effective only six 
months ago, a limited number of the families who entered under the new policy 
have completed the program and therefore are not represented in these findings. 
It is unclear how the population served subsequent to this change differs from the 
population served prior to the change. This should be taken into account when 
considering additional policy changes. The change is specifically noted in the 
discussion of those overarching questions to which it is particularly relevant. 

The preliminary findings concern the following three questions: 

What do we know about the families who have participated? 
Thirty percent of the parents who have completed the program submitted a 
written evaluation. The parent evaluations included glowing statements about the 
benefits of being able to stay home with an infant for part or all of the baby's first 
year. However, our information is incomplete as we do not know how the other 
70% of the participants would respond if they had done so. We also do not know 
on what basis those who did not choose to participate made their decision. 

The families who were able to receive the benefits of AHIC were more likely to be 
two-parent families and therefore were not typical of the Basic Sliding Fee 
population overall. We also know that the families who participated in AHIC were 
slightly larger than BSF families overall. 

In general the families who participated did so for shorter periods of time than 
they had originally intended with a significant majority participating for less than 
three months. We know that almost half of the families (44%) received subsidies 
between $200 and $299/month. 

What is the financial impact of the At-Home Infant Child Care Program 
on the Basic Sliding Fee Program? 
Analysis of cost savings is considered in three parts. 

The first regards families who participated in BSF prior to AHIC. For these 
families, the possible range of savings is $138/month to $476/month. When 
these savings are applied to the average AHIC participation of five months, the 
average savings per family is between $690 and $2,380. Approximately 55% (28) 
of families for whom an evaluation was completed had children in subsidized 
care prior to the participation in AHIC. 

The second group concerns families for whom the infant is their first child. 
Savings attributed to these families are estimated to be $84/month. This 
translates into $420 in savings over five months compared to child care subsidies 
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through Basic Sliding Fee. Twenty-four percent (12) of the families for whom an 
evaluation was completed, participated in AHIC with a first child. 

The remaining twenty-one percent ( 11) ·of the families had other children but had 
not previously been participating in BSF. If at the point that these families moved 
into AHIC, they would otherwise have moved into BSF, the savings attributed to 
these families would be similar to the savings above. If, on the other hand, these 
families would not have otherwise used child care assistance then there are no 
savings to offset the AHIC expenditures. Analysis of savings requires discussion 
of the 1999 statutory changes. 

The changes made in 1999 significantly increase the potential for greater 
numbers of families to participate in the AHIC program. Therefore, it is likely that 
total savings (BSF expenditures averted less AHIC subsidies) under the program 
as it is currently constructed will be less than under the original design of the 
program. The small number of cases that opened after July 1, 1999 and are 
already completed, make projections of cost savings difficult. Therefore, cost 
savings are only presented at the family level, not at the overall program level. 

Should changes be made in how the program is administered? 

The At-Home Infant Child Care program is administered at the county level as 
are all other child care assistance programs. The funding however, is 
administered as a set-aside at the state level. Therefore, counties must request 
funding for individual families. A state level funding pool was created because of 
the uncertainty of levels of demand and concerns about equal access to AHIC for 
families in all counties. At this time it appears that continuing our conservative 
approach to the administrative structure is not necessary. On these two counts, 
AHIC funds may well be able to be included in the allocations to counties. 
However, the 1999 legislative change that allows families to move directly from 
the BSF waiting list to the AHIC program makes including AHIC in the county 
allocation impossible. Therefore, the pooling of AHIC funds at the state level will 
need to continue. 
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Attachment A 

Evaluation Form for At-Home Infant Child Care (AHIC) Program 

To be completed by the County 

1. Applicant's Social Security Number: ___ -__ -__ _ 
(SSN of parent providing full-time care) 

If two parent family, other parent's Social Security Number: ___ -__ -__ _ 

2. Entry into AHIC 
Please check the choice that indicates how/when the family entered AHIC: 
D Currently participating in BSF 
D Name came to top of BSF waiting list (prior to 7/1/99) 
D On BSF waiting list (after 7/1/99) 
D Directly into AHIC without being on BSF or the waiting list 

3. Program participation 
a) Date family began participation in AHIC __ -__ -__ 
b) Date family ended participation in AHIC _____ _ 
c) Number of months family originally intended to participate in AHIC __ 

4. Family characteristics 

a) Single parent? • Yes • No 

Is the head of the family receiving assistance a single parent? A single parent is 
defined as being the only parent living in the household who has legal or financial 
responsibility for any child in that household. If another adult lives in the household, the 
head of the family is considered a single parent. This is consistent with the CCAP 
definition of family used in determining income and for federal reporting. 

b) Family size 
Total 
Number of children 
Number of children eligible for BSF 

5. Annual family income 
a) Prior to participating in AHIC ............................................................. $ ------

(For families moving from BSF, annual income during BSF, if not participating in BSF prior to AHIC, 
income used to determine income eligibility at time that authorized activity was verified) 

b) At beginning of participation in AHIC ................................................. $-----
(Amount used to determine AHIC co-payment and subsidy, line 7 of income & fee determination 
worksheet) 

c) At end of participating in AHIC .......................................................... $-----
(For families moving into BSF, income used to determine BSF co-payment. For families not moving 
to BSF, ask families to estimate annual income.) 



6. Types of income received by family during AH IC-check all that apply: 

APPLICANT 
D Parent/Maternity Leave 
D Sick Leave 
D Vacation Leave 

OTHER ADULT IN FAMILY 
D Parent/Maternity Leave 
D Sick Leave 
D Vacation Leave 
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D Temporary Disability Leave 
D Earned Income 

D Temporary Disability Leave 
D Earned Income 

D Unearned Income or Other? 
Describe Describe~-----------

7. AHIC payment 

AHIC monthly subsidy payment $ ______ _ 

AHIC monthly co-payment $ ______ _ 

8. What authorized activity was family participating in prior to birth of infant? 
Check all that apply. 
D Employment 
D Education 
D Job Search 

9. Did participating parent pursue education or employment while participating in AHIC? 

a) Education: • Yes • No 
(it YES) Type of Education: __________________ _ 

b) Employment: • Yes • No 
(if YES) Type of Employment: 

1 O. If family was using BSF funds for child care prior to participation in AHIC: 

_____ How many children were in subsidized child care? 

_____ What was monthly subsidy amount paid for family? 

11. Will any children be paid child care after AHIC ends? 

12. Will they use Basic Sliding Fee Funds? 

• Yes 

• Yes 

• No 

• No 



Attachment B 

Supplemental Evaluation Form for Families Who Participate in 

At-Home Infant Child Care Program 

To be completed by the parent at completion of AHIC 

1. While participating in the AHIC Program: 

a) Did you provide child care for another family's children for pay on a regular basis? 
• Yes • No 

(If YES) what age groups: • Infants • Toddlers 
D Preschool 
D School Age 

b) Did any member of your family participate in parenting or family support programs 
while participating in AHIC? • Yes • No 
(If YES) check all that apply: 

0 Early Childhood Family Education 
D Family Literacy/Even Start 
D Head Start 
D Church Sponsored • Tribe Sponsored 
D Other _____________________ _ 

2. Activity status at the end of participation in AHIC (check all that apply): 

a) Are you working? • Yes 
(If YES) • Full-time or 

• No 

• Part-time • Working in home or • Working outside of home 

a) If working in your home, are you providing child care? 
(If YES) 
Are you licensed? • Yes • No 

b) Are you in school? 
(If YES) • Full-time 

(If YES) What type? 

• Yes 

or 

• No 

• Part-time 

• Yes • No 



3. Why did you choose to participate in the At-Home Child Care Program? 
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4. What were the benefits for you, your family and your infant in participating in the 
At-Home Infant Child Care Program? 

5. Was it difficult to participate in AHIC? • Yes • No 
If so, why? 

6. How could this program be improved? 



Attachment C 

Minnesota Statutes 1999, Chapter 119B. 

Copyright 1999 by the Office of Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. 

==119B. 01 
119B.01 Subdivision 1. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, 

subdivision 1 

Subd. 2. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 2 

Subd. 2a. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 3 

Subd. 3. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.0ll, subd. 7 

Subd. 4. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 4 

Subd. 5. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 8 

Subd. 6. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 5 

Subd. 7. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 9 

Subd. 7a. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 10 

Subd. 8. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 11 

Subd. 9. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 12 

Subd. 10. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 13 

Subd. 11. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 14 

Subd. 12. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 15 

Subd. 12a. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 17 

Subd. 13. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 19 

Subd. 14. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 18 

Subd. 15. MS 1998 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 1 s 73 

Subd. 16. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 20 

Subd. 17. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 6 

Subd. 18. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.011, subd. 16 

==119B. 011 
119B.011 Definitions. 

Subdivision 1. Scope. For the purposes of this 
chapter, the following terms have the meanings given. 

Subd. 2. Applicant. "Child care fund applicants" 
means all parents, stepparents, legal guardians, or eligible 
relative caregivers who are members of the family and reside in 
the household that applies for child care assistance under the 
child care fund. 

Subd. 3. Application. "Application" means the 
submission to a county agency, by or on behalf of a family, of a 
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completed, signed, and dated child care assistance universal 
application form that indicates the family's desire to receive 
assistance. 

Subd. 4. Child. "Child" means a person 12 years old 
or younger, or a person age 13 or 14 who is handicapped, as 
defined in section 125A.02. 

Subd. 5. Child care. "Child care" means the care of 
a child by someone other than a parent or legal guardian in or 
outside the child's own home for gain or otherwise, on a regular 
basis, for any part of a 24-hour day. 

Subd. 6. Child care fund. "Child care fund" means a 
program under this chapter providing: 

(1) financial assistance for child care to parents engaged 
in employment, job search, ·or education and training leading to 
employment, or an at-home infant care subsidy; and 

(2) grants to develop, expand, and improve the access and 
availability of child care services statewide. 

Subd. 7. Child care services. "Child care services" 
means child care provided in family day care homes, ·group day 
care homes, nursery schools, day nurseries, child day care 
centers, head start, and extended day school age child care 
programs in or out of the child's home. 

Subd 8. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the 
commissioner of children, families, and learning. 

Subd. 9. County board. "County board" means the 
board of county commissioners in each county. 

Subd. 10. Department. "Department" means the 
department of children, families, and learning. 

Subd. 11. Education program. "Education program" 
means remedial or basic education or English as a second 
la~guage instruction, a program leading to a general equivalency 
or high school diploma, post-secondary programs excluding 
postbaccalaureate programs, and other education and training 
needs as documented in an employment plan, as defined in 
subdivision 12. The employment plan must outline education and 
training needs of a recipient, meet state requirements for 
employment plans, meet the requirements of this chapter, and 
Minnesota Rules, parts 3400.0010 to 3400.0230, and meet the 
requirements of programs that provide federal reimbursement for 
child care services. 

Subd. 12. Employment plan. "Employment plan" means 
employment of recipients financially eligible for child care 
assistance, or other work activities approved in an 
employability development, job search support plan, or 
employment plan that is developed by the county agency, if it is 
acting as an employment and training service provider, or by an 
employment and training service provider certified by the 
commissioner of economic security or an individual designated by 
the county to provide employment and training services. The 
plans and designation of a service provider must meet the 
requirements of this chapter and chapter 256J or chapter 256K, 
Minnesota Rules, parts 3400.0010 to 3400.0230, and other 
programs that provide federal reimbursement for child care 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/cgi-bin/getstatchap.pl 

Page 2 of 28 

01/31/2000 



services. 

Subd. 13. Family. "Family" means parents, 
stepparents, guardians and their spouses, or other eligible 
relative caregivers and their spouses, and their blood related 
dependent children and adoptive siblings under the age of 18 
years living in the same home including children temporarily 
absent from the household in settings such as schools, foster 
care, and residential treatment facilities or parents, 
stepparents, guardians and their spouses, or other relative 
caregivers and their spouses temporarily absent from the 
household in settings such as schools, military service, or 
rehabilitation programs. When a minor parent or parents and 
his, her, or their child or children are living with other 
relatives, and the minor parent or parents apply for a child 
care subsidy, "family" means only the minor parent or parents 
and their child or children. An adult age 18 or older who meets 
this definition of family and is a full-time high school or 
post-secondary student may be considered a dependent member of 
the family unit if 50 percent or more of the adult's support is 
provided by the parents, stepparents, guardians, and their 
spouses or eligible relative caregivers and their spouses 
residing in the same household. 

Subd. 14. Human services board. "Human services 
board" means a board established under section 402.02, Laws 
1974, chapter 293, or Laws 1976, chapter 340. 

Subd. 15. Income. "Income" means earned or unearned 
income received by all family members, including public 
assistance cash benefits and at-home infant care subsidy 
payments, unless specifically excluded. The following are 
excluded from income: funds used to pay for health insurance 
premiums for family members, Supplemental Security Income, 
scholarships, work-study income, and grants that cover costs or 
reimbursement for tuition, fees, books, and educational 
supplies; student loans for tuition, fees, books, supplies, and 
living expenses; state and federal earned income tax credits; 
in-kind income such as food stamps, energy assistance, foster 
care assistance, medical assistance, child care assistance, and 
housing subsidies; earned income of full or part-time students, 
who have not earned a high school diploma or GED high school 
equivalency diploma including earnings from summer employment; 
grant awards under the family subsidy program; nonrecurring lump 
sum income only to the extent that it is earmarked and used for 
the purpose for which it is paid; and any income assigned to the 
public authority according to section 256.74 or 256.741. 

Subd. 16. Legal nonlicensed child care provider. 
"Legal nonlicensed child care provider" means a child care 
provider who is excluded from licensing requirements under 
section 245A.03, subdivision 2. 

Subd. 17. MFIP. "MFIP" means the Minnesota family 
investment program, the state's TANF program under Public Law 
Number 104-193, Title I, and includes the MFIP program under 
chapter 256J, the work first program under chapter 256K, and 
tribal contracts under section 119B.02, subdivision 2, or 
256.01, subdivision 2. 

Subd. 18. Post-secondary educational systems. 
"Post-secondary educational systems" means the University of 
Minnesota.board of regents and the board of trustees of the 
Minnesota state colleges and universities. 
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Subd. 19. Provider. "Provider" means a child care 
license holder who operates a family child care home, a group 
family child care home, a child care center, a nursery school, a 
day nursery, a school age care program; a license-exempt school 
age care program operating under the auspices of a local school 
board or a park or recreation board of a city of the first class 
that has adopted school age care guidelines which meet or exceed 
guidelines recommended by the department, or a nonlicensed 
registered provider who is at least 18 years of age, and who is 
not a member of the MFIP assistance unit or a member of the 
family receiving child care assistance under this chapter. 

Subd. 20. Transition year families. "Transition year 
families" means families who have received MFIP assistance, or 
who were eligible to receive MFIP assistance after choosing to 
discontinue receipt of the cash portion of MFIP assistance under 
section 256J.31, subdivision 12, for at least three of the last 
six months before losing eligibility for MFIP due to increased 
income from employment or child or spousal support or families 
participating in work first under chapter 256K who meet the 
requirements of section 256K.07. Transition year child care may 
be used to support employment or job search. 

HIST: 1Spl985 c 14 art 9 s 72; 1987 c 403 art 3 s 59; 1988 c 
689 art 2 s 223; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 135-140; 1990 c 375 s 3; 
1990 c 568 art 4 s 34-38; 1992 c 513 art 8 s 26,27; 1994 c 483 s 
l; 1995 c 207 art 4 s 22,23; 1Sp1995 c 3 art 16 s 13; 1996 c 395 
s 18; 1997 c 162 art 4 s 1-8; 1998 c 397 art 11 s 3; 1998 c 407 
art 6 s l; 1999 c 159 s 7-12; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 3-10,69; art 5 
s 1,2,21 

* NOTE: Subdivision 17 was also repealed by Laws 1999, 
*chapter 159, section 154. 

==119B.02 
119B.02 Duties of commissioner. 

Subdivision 1. Child care services. The commissioner 
shall develop standards for county and human services boards to 
provide child care services to enable eligible families to 
participate in employment, training, or education programs. 
Within the limits of available appropriations, the commissioner 
shall distribute money to counties to reduce the costs of child 
care for eligible families. The commissioner shall adopt rules 
to govern the program in accordance with this section. The 
rules must establish a sliding schedule of fees for parents 
receiving child care services. The rules shall provide that 
funds received as a lump sum payment of child support arrearages 
shall not be counted as income to a family in the month received 
but shall be prorated over the 12 months following receipt and 
added to the family income during those months. In the rules 
adopted under this section, county and human services boards 
shall be authorized to establish policies for payment of child 
care spaces for absent children, when the payment is required by 
the child's regular provider. The rules shall not set a maximum 
number of days for which absence payments c·an be made, but 
instead shall direct the county agency to set limits and pay for 
absences according to the prevailing market practice in the 
county. County policies for payment of absences shall be 
subject to the approval of the commissioner. The commissioner 
shall maximize the use of federal money under title I and title 
IV of Public Law Number 104-193, the Personal Responsibility and 
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, and other programs 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn. us/c gi-bin/ getstatchap. pl 

Page 4 of 28 

01/31/2000 



that provide federal or state reimbursement for child care 
services for low-income families who are in education, training, 
job search, or other activities allowed under those programs. 
Money appropriated under this section must be coordinated with 
the programs that provide federal reimbursement for child care 
services to accomplish this purpose. Federal reimbursement 
obtained.must be allocated to the county that spent money for 
child care that is federally reimbursable under programs that 
provide federal reimbursement for child care services. The 
counties shall use the federal money to expand child care 
services. The commissioner may adopt rules under chapter 14 to 
implement and coordinate federal program·requirements. 

Subd. 2. Contractual agreements with tribes. The 
commissioner may enter into contractual agreements with a 
federally recognized Indian tribe with~ reservation in 
Minnesota to carry out the responsibilities of county human 
service agencies to the extent necessary for the tribe to 
operate child care assistance programs under sections 119B.03 
and 119B.05. An agreement may allow for the tribe to be 
reimbursed for child care assistance services provided under 
section 119B.05. The commissioner shall consult with the 
affected county or counties in the contractual agreement 
negotiations, if the county or counti~s wish to be included, in 
order to avoid the duplication of county and tribal child care 
services. Funding to support services under section 119B.03 may 
be transferred to the federally recognized Indian tribe with a 
reservation in Minnesota from allocations available to counties 
in which reservation boundaries lie. When funding is 
transferred under section 119B.03, the amount shall be 
commensurate to estimates of the proportion of reservation 
residents with characteristics identified in section 119B.03, 
subdivision 6, to the total population of county residents with 
those same characteristics. 

Subd. 3. Supervision of counties. The commissioner 
shall supervise child care programs administered by the counties 
through standard-setting, technical assistance to the counties, 
approval of county child care fund plans, and distribution of 
public money for services. The commissioner shall provide 
training and other support services to assist counties in 
planning for and implementing child care assistance programs. 
The commissioner shall adopt rules under chapter 14 that 
establish minimum administrative standards for the provision of 
child care services by county boards of commissioners. 

Subd. 4. Universal application form. The 
commissioner must develop and make available to all counties a 
universal application form for child care assistance under this 
chapter. The application must provide notice of eligibility 
requirements for assistance and penalties for wrongfully 
obtaining assistance. 

Subd. 5. Program integrity. For child care 
assistance programs under this chapter, the commissioner shall 
enforce, in cooperation with the commissioner of human services, 
the requirements for program integrity and fraud prevention 
investigations under sections 256.046, 256.98, and 256.983. 

HIST: 1Spl985 c 14 art 9 s 72; 1987 c 403 art 2 s 146; art 3 s 
60; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 141; 1990 c 432 s 1; 1991 c 292 art 5 s 
52; 1995 c 207 art 4 s 24; 1995 c 257 art 1 s 17; 1997 c 162 art 
4 s 9; 1998 c 407 art 6 s 2; 1999 c 159 s 13; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 
11-14 
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:==119B. 03 
119B.03 Basic sliding fee program. 

Subdivision 1. Allocation period; notice of allocation. 
When the commissioner notifies county and human service 

boards of the forms and instructions they are to follow in the 
development of their child care fund plans required under 
section 119B.08, subdivision 3, the commissioner shall also 
notify county and human services boards of their estimated child 
care fund program allocation for the two years covered by the 
plan. By October 1 of each year, the commissioner shall notify 
all counties of their final child care fund program allocation. 

Subd. 2. Waiting list. Each county that receives 
funds under this section must keep a written record and report 
to the commissioner the number of eligible families who have 
applied for a child care subsidy or have requested child care 
assistance. Counties shall perform a preliminary determination 
of eligibility when a family requests child care assistance. At 
a minimum, a county must make a preliminary determination of 
eligibility based on family size, income, and authorized 
activity. A family seeking child care assistance must provide 
the required information to the county. A family that appears 
to be eligible must be put on a waiting list if funds are not 
immediately available. The waiting list must identify students 
in need of child care. Counties must review and update their 
waiting list at least every six months. 

Subd. 3. Eligible participants. Families that meet 
the eligibility requirements under sections 119B.07, 119B.09, 
and 119B.10, except MFIP participants, work first participants, 
and transition year families are eligible for child care 
assistance under the basic sliding fee program. Families 
enrolled in the basic sliding fee program shall be continued 
until they are no longer eligible. Child care assistance 
provided through the child care fund is considered assistance to 
the parent. 

Subd. 4. Funding priority. (a) First priority for 
child care assistance under the basic sliding fee program must 
be given to eligible non-MFIP families who do not have a high 
school or general equivalency diploma or who need remedial and 
basic skill courses in order to pursue employment or to pursue 
education leading to employment. Within this priority, the 
following subpriorities must be used: 

(1) child care needs of minor parents; 

(2) child care needs of parents under 21 years of age; and 

(3) child care needs of other parents within the priority 
group described in this paragraph. 

(b) Second priority must be given to parents who have 
completed their MFIP or work first transition year. 

(c) Third priority must be given to families who are 
eligible for portable basic sliding fee assistance through the 
portability pool under subdivision 9. 

Subd. 5. Review of use of funds; reallocation. (a) 
After each quarter, the commissioner shall review the use of 
basic sliding fee program allocations by county. The 
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commissioner may reallocate unexpended or unencumbered money 
among those counties who have expended their full allocation or 
may allow a county to expend up to ten percent of its allocation 
in the subsequent allocation period. 

(b) Any unexpended state and federal appropriations from 
the first year of the biennium may be carried forward to the 
second year of the biennium. 

Subd. 6. Allocation formula. The basic sliding fee 
state and federal funds shall be allocated on a calendar year 
basis. Funds shall be allocated first in amounts equal to each 
county's guaranteed floor according to subdivision 8, with any 
remaining available funds allocated according to the following 
formula: 

(a) One-fourth of the funds shall be allocated in 
proportion to each county's total expenditures for the basic 
sliding fee child care program reported during the most recent 
fiscal year completed at the time of the notice of allocation. 

(b) One-fourth of the funds shall be allocated based on the 
number of families participating in the transition year child 
care program as reported during the most recent quarter 
completed at the time of the notice of allocation. 

(c) One-fourth of the funds shall be allocated in 
proportion to each county's most recently reported first, 
second, and third priority waiting list as defined in 
subdivision 2. 

(d) One-fourth of the funds must be allocated in proportion 
to each county's most recently reported waiting list as defined 
in subdivision 2. 

Subd. 7. Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 1 s 73 

Subd. 8. Guaranteed floor. (a) Beginning January 1, 
1996, each county's guaranteed floor shall equal 90 percent of 
the allocation received in the preceding calendar year. For the 
period January 1, 1999, to December 31, 1999, each county's 
guaranteed floor must be equal to its original calendar year 
1998 allocation or its actual earnings for calendar year 1998, 
whichever is less. 

(b) When the amount of funds available for allocation is 
less than the amount available in the previous year, each 
county's previous year allocation shall be reduced in proportion 
to the reduction in the statewide funding, for the purpose of 
establishing the guaranteed floor. 

Subd. 9. Portability pool. (a) The commissioner 
shall establish a pool of up to five percent of the annual 
appropriation for the basic sliding fee program to provide 
continuous child care assistance for eligible families who move 
between Minnesota counties. At the end of each allocation 
period, any unspent funds in the portability pool must be used 
for assistance under the basic sliding fee program. If 
expenditures from the portability pool exceed the amount of 
money available, the reallocation pool must be reduced to cover 
these shortages. 

(b) To be eligible for portable basic sliding fee 
assistance, a family that has moved from a county in which it 
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was receiving basic sliding fee assistance to a county with a 
waiting list for the basic sliding fee program must: 

(1) meet the income and eligibility guidelines for the 
basic sliding fee program; and 

(2) notify the new county of residence within 30 days of 
moving and apply for basic sliding fee assistance in the new 
county of residence. 

(c) The receiving county must: 

(1) accept administrative responsibility for applicants for 
portable basic sliding fee assistance at the end of the two 
months of assistance under the Unitary fesidency Act; 

(2) continue basic sliding fee assistance for the lesser of 
six months or until the family is able to receive assistance 
under the county's regular basic sliding program; and 

(3) notify the commissioner through the quarterly reporting 
process of any family that meets the criteria of the portable 
basic sliding fee assistance pool. 

Subd. 10. Application; entry points. Two or more 
methods of applying for the basic sliding fee program must be 
available to applicants in each county. To meet the 
requirements of this subdivision, a county may provide 
alternative methods of applying for assistance, including, but 
not limited to, a mail application, or application sites that 
are located outside of government offices. 

HIST: 1Spl985 c 14 art 9 s 72; 1987 c 403 art 3 s 61; 1988 c 
689 art 2 s 224; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 142; 1990 c 568 art 4 s 
39-41; 1991 c 292 art 5 s 53; 1992 c 464 art 1 s 31; 1992 c 513 
art 8 s 28,29; 1995 c 207 art 4 s 25-29; 1997 c 162 art 1 s 19; 
art 4 s 10-17; 1998 c 254 art 1 s 29; 1999 c 159 s 14,15; 1999 c 
205 art 1 s 15-20,69 

==119B.04 
119B.04 Federal child care and development fund. 

Subdivision 1. Commissioner to administer program. 
The commissioner is authorized and directed to receive, 
administer, and expend funds available under the child care and 
development fund under Public Law Number 104-193, Title VI. 

Subd. 2. Rulemaking authority. The commissioner may 
adopt rules under chapter 14 to administer the child care and 
development fund. 

HIST: 1991 c 292 art 5 s 54; 1Sp1995 c 3 art 16 s 13; 1997 c 
162 art 4 s 18; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 21 

==119B.05 
119B.05 MFIP child care assistance program. 

Subdivision 1. Eligible participants. Families 
eligible for child care assistance under the MFIP child care 
program are: 

(1) MFIP participants who are employed or in job search and 
meet the requirements of section 119B.10; 
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(2) persons who are members of transition year families 
under section 119B.011, subdivision 20; 

(3) families who are participating in employment 
orientation or job search, or other employment or training 
activities that are included in an approved employability 
development plan under chapter 256K; 

(4) MFIP families who are participating in work activities 
as required in their job search support or employment plan, or 
in appeals, hearings, assessments, or orientations according to 
chapter 256J. Child care assistance to support work activities 
as described in section 256J.49 must be available according to 
sections 119B.011, subdivision 11, 124D.13, 256E.08, and 611A.32 
and titles IVA, IVB, IVE, and XX of the Social Security Act; and 

(5) families who are participating in programs as required 
in tribal contracts under section 119B.02, subdivision 2, or 
256.01, subdivision 2. 

Subd. 2. Repealed, 1997 c 162 art 1 s 19 

Subd. 3. Repealed, 1997 c 162 art 1 s 19 

Subd. 4. Contracts; other uses allowed. Counties may 
contract for administration of the program or may arrange for or 
contract for child care funds to be used by other appropriate 
programs, in accordance with this section and as permitted by 
federal law and regulations. 

Subd. 5. Federal reimbursement. Counties shall 
maximize their federal reimbursement under federal reimbursement 
programs for money spent for persons eligible under this 
chapter. The commissioner shall allocate any federal earnings 
to the county to be used to expand child care services under 
this chapter. 

Subd. 6. Repealed, 1999 c 159 s 154; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 
73 

$ubd. 7. Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 1 s 73 

HIST: 1987 c 403 art 3 s 63; 1Sp1987 c 4 art 2 s 5; 1988 c 689 
art 2 s 225; 1989 c 282 art 2 ·s 143; 1990 c 568 art 4 s 42-45; 
1991 c 292 art 5 s 55; 1992 c 513 art 8 s 30,31; 1995 c 207 art 
4 s 30; 1Sp1995 c 3 art 16 s 13; 1997 c 162 art 4 s 19-21,23; 
1Sp1997 c 5 s 49; 3Sp1997 c 3 s 22; 1998 c 397 art 11 s 3; 1999 
c 86 art 1 s 32; 1999 c 159 s 16; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 21,22,69,70 

==119B.06 
119B.06 Federal child care and development block grant. 

Subdivision 1. Commissioner to administer block grant. 
The commissioner is authorized and directed to receive, 

administer, and expend child care funds available under the 
child care and development block grant authorized under Public 
Law Number 101-508. 

Subd. 2. Rulemaking authority. The commissioner may 
adopt rules under chapter 14 to administer the child care 
development block grant program. 

HIST: 1991 c 292 art 5 s 56; 1Sp1995 c 3 art 16 s 13; 1999 c 
205 art 1 s 23 
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==119B.061 
119B.061 At-home infant child care program. 

Subdivision 1. Establishment. A family in which a 
parent provides care for the family's infant child may receive a 
subsidy in lieu of assistance if the family is eligible for, or 
is receiving assistance under the basic sliding fee program. An 
eligible family must meet the eligibility factors under section 
119B.09, the income criteria under section 119B.12, and the 
requirements of this section. Subject to federal match and 
maintenance of effort requirements for the child care and 
development fund, the commissioner shall establish a pool of up 
to seven percent of the annual appropriation for the basic 
sliding fee program to provide assistance under the at-home 
infant child care program. At the end of a fiscal year, the 
commissioner may carry forward any unspent funds under this 
section to the next fiscal year within the same biennium for 
assistance under the basic sliding fee program. 

Subd. 2. Eligible families. A family with an infant 
under the age of one year is eligible for assistance if: 

(1) the family is not receiving MF~P, other cash 
assistance, or other child care assistance; 

(2) the family has not previously received all of the 
one-year exemption from the work requirement for infant care 
under the MFIP program; 

(3) the family has not previously received a life-long 
total of 12 months of assistance under this section; and 

(4) the family is participating in the basic sliding fee 
program or provides verification of participation in an 
authorized activity at the time of application and meets the 
program requirements. 

Subd. 3. Eligible parent. A family is eligible for 
assistance under this section if one parent cares for the 
family's infant child. The eligible parent must: 

(1) be over the age of 18; 

(2) care for the infant full-time in the infant's home; and 

(3) care for any other children in the family who are 
eligible for child care assistance under this chapter. 

For the purposes of this section, "parent" means birth 
parent, adoptive parent, or stepparent. 

Subd. 4. Assistance. (a) A family is limited to a 
lifetime total of 12 months of assistance under this section. 
The maximum rate of assistance is equal to 75 percent of the 
rate established under section 119B.13 for care of infants in 
licensed family child care in the applicant's county of 
residence. Assistance must be calculated to reflect the parent 
fee requirement under section 119B.12 for the family's income 
level and family size. 

(b) A participating family must report income and other 
family changes as specified in the county's plan under section 
119B.08, subdivision 3. The family must treat any assistance 
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received under this section as unearned income. 

(c) Persons who are admitted to the at-home infant care 
program retain their position in any basic sliding fee program 
or on any waiting list attained at the time of admittance. If 
they are on the waiting list, they must advance as if they had 
not been admitted to the program. Persons leaving the at-home 
infant care program re-enter the basic sliding fee program at 
the position they would have occupied or the waiting list at the 
position to which they would have advanced. Persons who would 
have attained eligibility for the basic sliding fee program must 
be given assistance or advance to the top of the waiting list 
when they leave the at-home infant care program. Persons 
admitted to the at-home infant care program who are not on a 
basic sliding fee waiting list may. apply to the basic sliding 
fee program, and if eligible, be placed on the waiting list, 

(d) The time that a family receives assistance under this 
section must be deducted from the one-year exemption from work 
requirements under the MFIP program. 

(e) Assistance under this section does not establish an 
employer-employee relationship between any member of the 
assisted family and the county or state. 

Subd. 5. Implementation. (a) The commissioner shall 
implement the at-home infant child care program under this 
section through counties that administer the basic sliding fee 
program under section 119B.03. The commissioner must develop 
and distribute consumer information on the at~home infant care 
program to assist parents of infants or expectant parents in 
making informed child care decisions. 

(b) The commissioner shall evaluate this program and report 
the impact to the legislature by January 1, 2000. The 
evaluation must include data on the number of families 
participating in the program; the number of families continuing 
to pursue employment or education while participating in the 
program; the average income of families prior to, during, and 
after participation in the program; family size; and single 
parent and two-parent status. 

HIST: 1997 c 162 art 4 s 22; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 24 

==119B.07 
119B.07 Use of money. 

Money for persons listed in sections 119B.03, subdivision 
3, and 119B.05, subdivision 1, shall be used to reduce the costs 
of child care for students, including the costs of child care 
for students while employed if enrolled in an eligible education 
program at the same time and making satisfactory progress 
towards completion of the program. Counties may not limit the 
duration of child care subsidies for a person in an employment 
or educational program, except when the person is found to be 
ineligible under the child care fund eligibility standards. Any 
limitation must be based on a person's employment plan in the 
case of an MFIP participant, and county policies included in the 
child care fund plan. The maximum length of time a student is 
eligible for child care assistance under the child care fund for 
education and training is no more than the time necessary to 
complete the credit requirements for an associate or 
baccalaureate degree as determined by the educational 
institution, excluding basic or remedial education programs 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/cgi-bin/getstatchap.pl 

Page 11 of 28 

01/31/2000 



needed to prepare for post-secondary education or employment. 
To be eligible, the student must be in good standing and be 
making satisfactory progress toward the degree. Time 
limitations for child care assistance do not apply to basic or 
remedial educational programs needed to prepare for 
post-secondary education or employment. These programs 
include: high school, general equivalency diploma, and English 
as a second language. Programs exempt from this time limit must 
not run concurrently with a post-secondary program. If an MFIP 
participant who is receiving MFIP child care assistance under 
this chapter moves to another county, continues to participate 
in educational or training programs authorized in their 
employment plans, and continues to be eligible for MFIP child 
care assistance under this chapter, the MFIP participant must 
receive continued child care assistance from the county 
responsible for their current employment plan, under section 
256G.07. 

HIST: 1987 c 403 art 3 s 66; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 227; 1989 c 
282 art 2 s 145; 1990 c 426 art 1 s 31; 1990 c 568 art 4 s 46; 
1991 c 292 art 5 s 57; 1995 c 207 art 4 s 31; 1997 c 162 art 4 s 
24; 1999 c 159 s 17; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 25,69 

==119B.074 
119B.074 Special revenue account for child care. 

A child support collection account is established in the 
special revenue fund for the deposit of collections through the 
assignment of child support under section 256.741, subdivision 
2. The commissioner of human services must deposit all 
collections made under section 256.741, subdivision 2, in the 
child support collection account. Money in this account is 
appropriated to the commissioner for assistance under section 
119B.03 and is in addition to other state and federal 
appropriations. 

HIST: 1999 c 205 art 1 s 26 

==119B.075 
119B.075 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 1 s 73 

* NOTE: This section was also amended by Laws 1999, chapter 
*159, section 18, to read as follows: 

* "119B.075 Reserve account. 

* A reserve account must be created within the general fund 
*for all unexpended basic sliding fee child care, TANF child 
*care, or other child care funds under the jurisdiction of the 
*commissioner. Any funds for those purposes that are unexpended 
*at the end of a biennium must be deposited in this reserve 
*account, and may be appropriated on an ongoing basis by the 
*commissioner for basic sliding fee child care or MFIP child 
*care." 

==119B.08 
119B.08 Reporting and payments. 

Subdivision 1. Reports. The commissioner shall 
specify requirements for reports under the same authority as 
provided to the commissioner of human services in section 
256.01, subdivision 2, paragraph (17). 

Subd. 2. Quarterly payments. The commissioner may 
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make payments to each county in quarterly installments. The 
commissioner may certify an advance up to 25 percent of the 
allocation. Subsequent payments shall be made on a 
reimbursement basis for reported expenditures and may be 
adjusted for anticipated spending patterns. Payments may be 
withheld if quarterly reports are incomplete or untimely. 

Subd. 3. Child care fund plan. The county and 
designated administering agency shall submit to the commissioner 
an annual child care fund plan in its biennial community social 
services plan. The commissioner shall establish the dates by 
which the county must submit the plans. ·The plan shall include: 

(1) a narrative of the total program for child care 
services, including all policies and procedures that affect 
eligible families and are used to administer the child care 
funds; 

(2) the methods used by the county to inform eligible 
families of the availability of child care assistance and 
related services; 

(3) the provider rates paid for all children with special 
needs by provider type; 

(4) the county prioritization policy for all eligible 
families under the basic sliding fee program; and 

(5) other information as requested by the department to 
ensure compliance with the child care fund statutes and rules 
promulgated by the commissioner. 

The commissioner shall notify counties within 60 days of 
the date the plan is submitted whether the plan is approved or 
the corrections or information needed to approve the plan. The 
commissioner shall withhold a county's allocation until it has 
an approved plan. Plans not approved by the end of the second 
quarter after the plan is due may result in a 25 percent 
reduction in allocation. Plans not approved by the end of the 
third quarter after the plan is due may result in a 100 percent 
reduction in the allocation to the county. Counties are to 
maintain services despite any reduction in their allocation due 
to plans not being approved. 

Subd. 4. Termination of allocation. The commissioner 
may withhold, reduce, or terminate the allocation of any county 
that does not meet the reporting or other requirements of this 
program. The commissioner shall reallocate to other counties 
money so reduced or terminated. 

HIST: 1987 c 403 art 3 s 67; 1989 c 89 s 22; 1989 c 282 art 2 
s 146; 1990 c 568 art 4 s 47; 1997 c 162 art 4 s 26,27; 1999 c 
159 s 19; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 27,69 

==119B.09 
119B.09 Financial eligibility. 

Subdivision 1. General eligibility requirements for all 
applicants for child care assistance. (a) Child care services 
must be available to families who need child care to find or 
keep employment or to obtain the training or education necessary 
to find employment and who: 

(1) meet the requirements of section 119B.05; receive MFIP 
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assistance; and are participating in employment and training 
services under chapter 256J or 256K; 

(2) have household income below the eligibility levels for 
MFIP; or 

(3) have household income within a range established by the 
commissioner. 

(b) Child care services must be made available as in-kind 
services. 

(c) All applicants for child care assistance and families 
currently receiving child care assistance must be assisted and 
required to cooperate in establishment of paternity and 
enforcement of child support obligations for all children in the 
family as a condition of program eligibility. For purposes of 
this section, a family is considered to meet the requirement for 
cooperation when the family complies with the requirements of 
section 256.741. 

Subd. 2. Sliding fee. Child care services to 
families with incomes in the commissioner's established range 
must be made available on a sliding f~e basis. The upper limit 
of the range must be neither less than 70 percent nor more than 
90 percent of the state median income for a family of four, 
adjusted for family size. 

Subd. 3. Priorities; allocations. If a county 
projects that its child care allocation is insufficient to meet 
the needs of all eligible families, it may prioritize among the 
families that remain to be served after the county has complied 
with the priority requirements of section 119B.03. Counties 
that have established a priority for families who are not MFIP 
participants beyond those established under section 119B.03 must 
submit the policy in the annual child care fund plan. 

Subd. 4. Eligibility; annual income; calculation. 
Annual income of the applicant family is the current monthly 
income of the family multiplied by 12 or the income for the 
12-month period immediately preceding the date of application, 
or income calculated by the method which provides the most 
accurate assessment of income available to the family. 
Self-employment income must be calculated based on gross 
receipts less operating expenses. Income must be redetermined 
when the family's income changes, but no less often than every 
six months. Income must be verified with documentary evidence. 
If the applicant does not have sufficient evidence of income, 
verification must be obtained from the source of the income. 

Subd. 5. Provider choice. Parents may choose child 
care providers as defined under section 119B.011, subdivision 
19, that best meet the needs of their family. Counties shall 
make resources available to parents in choosing quality child 
care services. Counties may require a parent to sign a release 
stating their knowledge and responsibilities in choosing a legal 
provider described under section 119B.011, subdivision 19. When 
a county knows that a particular provider is unsafe, or that the 
circumstances of the child care arrangement chosen by the parent 
are unsafe, the county may deny a child care subsidy. A county 
may not restrict access to a general category of provider 
allowed under section 119B.011, subdivision 19. 

Subd. 6. Maximum child care assistance. The maximum 
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amount of child care assistance a local agency may authorize in 
a two-week period is 120 hours per child. 

Subd. 7. Date of eligibility for assistance. The 
date of eligibility for child care assistance under this chapter 
is the later of the date the application was signed; the 
beginning date of employment, education, or training; or the 
date a determination has been made that the applicant is a 
participant in employment and training services under Minnesota 
Rules, part 3400.0080, subpart 2a, or chapter 256J or 256K. The 
date of eligibility for the basic sliding fee at-home infant 
child care program is the later of the date the infant is born 
or, in a county with a basic sliding fee waiting list, the date 
the family applies for at-home infant child care. Payment 
ceases for a family under the at-home ipfant child care program 
when a family has used a total of 12 months of assistance as 
specified under section 119B.061. Payment of child care 
assistance for employed persons on MFIP is effective the date of 
employment or the date of MFIP eligibility, whichever is later. 
Payment of child care assistance for MFIP or work first 
participants in employment and training services is effective 
the date of commencement of the services or the date of MFIP or 
work first eligibility, whichever is later. Payment of child 
care assistance for transition year child care must be made 
retroactive to the date of eligibility for transition year child 
care. 

Subd. 8. No employee-employer relationships. Receipt 
of federal, state, or local funds by a child care provider 
either directly or through a parent who is a child care 
assistance recipient does not establish an employee-employer 
relationship between the child care provider and the county or 
state. 

HIST: 1Sp1985 c 14 art 9 s 72; 1987 c 403 art 3 s 68; 1988 c 
689 art 2 s 228; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 147,148; 1990 c 568 art 4 s 
48-50; 1992 c 513 art 8 s 32; 1997 c 162 art 4 s 28-32; 1999 c 
159 s 20-22; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 28-30,69; art 5 s 21 

==119B.10 
119B.10 Employment or training eligibility. 

Subdivision 1. Assistance for persons seeking and 
retaining employment. (a) Persons who are seeking employment 
and who are eligible for assistance under this section are 
eligible to receive up to 240 hours of child care assistance per 
calendar year. 

(b) Employed persons who work at least an average of 20 
hours and full-time students who work at least an average of ten 
hours a week and receive at least a minimum wage for all hours 
worked are eligible for continued child care assistance for 
employment. For purposes of this section, work--study programs 
must be counted as employment. Child care assistance during 
employment must be authorized as provided in paragraphs (c) and 
(d) 

(c) When the person works for an hourly wage and the hourly 
wage is equal to or greater than the applicable minimum wage, 
child care assistance shall be provided for the actual hours of 
employment, break, and mealtime during the employment and travel 
time up to two hours per day. 

(d) When the person does not work for an hourly wage, child 
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care assistance must be provided for the lesser of: 

(1) the amount of child care determined by dividing gross 
earned income by the applicable minimum wage, up to one hour 
every eight hours for meals and break time, plus up to two hours 
per day for travel time; or 

(2) the amount of child care equal to the actual amount of 
child care used during employment, including break and mealtime 
during employment, and travel time up to two hours per day. 

Subd. 2. Financial eligibility required. Persons 
participating in employment programs, training programs, or 
education programs are eligible for continued assistance from 
the child care fund, if they are financially eligible under the 
sliding fee scale set by the commissioner in section 119B.12. 

HIST: 1Sp1985 c 14 art 9 s 72; 1987 c 403 art 3 s 69; 1989 c 
282 art 2 s 149; 1990 c 568 art 4 s 51; 1995 c 207 art 4 s 32; 
1997 c 162 art 4 s 33; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 31 

==119B.ll 
119B.ll County contribution. 

Subdivision 1. County contributions required. 
Beginning July 1, 1997, in addition to payments from basic 
sliding fee child care program participants, each county shall 
contribute from county tax or other sources a fixed local match 
equal to its calendar year 1996 required county contribution 
reduced by the administrative funding loss that would have 
occurred in state fiscal year 1996 under section 119B.15. The 
commissioner shall recover funds from the county as necessary to 
bring county expenditures into compliance with this subdivision. 

Subd. 2. Repealed, 1997 c 162 art 1 s 19 

Subd. 2a. Recovery of overpayments. An amount of 
child care assistance paid to a recipient in excess of the 
payment due is recoverable by the county agency. If the family 
remains eligible for child care assistance, the overpayment must 
be recovered through recoupment as identified in Minnesota 
Rules, part 3400.0140, subpart 19. If the family no longer 
remains eligible for child care assistance, the county may 
choose to initiate efforts to recover overpayments from the 
family for overpayment less than $50. If the overpayment is 
greater than or equal to $50, the county shall seek voluntary 
repayment of the overpayment from the family. If the county is 
unable to recoup the overpayment through voluntary repayment, 
the county shall initiate civil court proceedings to recover the 
overpayment unless the county's costs to recover the overpayment 
will exceed the amount of the overpayment. A family with an 
outstanding debt under this subdivision is not eligible for 
child care assistance until: (1) the debt is paid in full; or 
(2) satisfactory arrangements are made with the county to retire 
the debt consistent with the requirements of this chapter and 
Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, and the family is in compliance 
with the arrangements. 

Subd. 3. Federal money; state recovery. The 
commissioner shall recover from counties any state or federal 
money that was spent for persons found to be ineligible, except 
if the recovery is made by a county agency using any method 
other than recoupment, the county may keep 25 percent of the 
recovery. If a federal audit exception is taken based on a 
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pe~centage of federal earnings, all counties shall pay a share 
proportional to their respective federal earnings during the 
period in question. 

Subd. 4. Maintenance of funding effort. To receive 
money through this program, each county shall certify, in its 
annual plan to the commissioner, that the county has not reduced 
allocations from other federal and state sources, which, in the 
absence of the child care fund, would have been available for 
child care assistance. However, the county must continue 
contributions, as necessary, to maintain on the basic sliding 
fee program, families who are receiving assistance on July 1, 
1995, until the family loses eligibility for the program or 
until a family voluntarily withdraws from the program. This 
subdivision does not affect the local match required for this 
program under other sections of the law. 

HIST: 1Sp1985 c 14 art 9 s 72; 1987 c 403 art 3 s 70; 1989 c 
282 art 2 s 150; 1995 c 139 s 1; 1995 c 207 art 4 s 33-35; 1997 
c 162 art 4 s 34-36; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 32 

==119B.12 
119B.12 Sliding fee scale. 

Subdivision 1. Fee schedule. In setting the sliding 
fee schedule, the commissioner shall exclude from the amount of 
income used to determine eligibility an amount for federal and 
state income and social security taxes attributable to that 
income level according to federal and state standardized tax 
tables. The commissioner shall base the parent fee on the 
ability of the family to pay for child care. The fee schedule 
must be designed to use any available tax credits. 

Subd. 2. Parent fee. A family's monthly parent fee 
must be a fixed percentage of its annual gross income. Parent 
fees must apply to families eligible for child care assistance 
under sections 119B.03 and 119B.05. Income must be as defined 
in section 119B.011, subdivision 15. The fixed percent is based 
on the relationship of the family's annual gross income to 100 
percent of state median income. Beginning January 1, 1998, 
parent fees must begin at 75 percent of the poverty level. The 
minimum parent fees for families between 75 percent and 100 
percent of poverty level must be $5 per month. Parent fees must 
be established in rule and must provide for graduated movement 
to full payment. 

HIST: 1Spl985 c 14 art 9 s 72; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 229; 1997 c 
162 art 4 s 37; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 33; art 5 s 21 

==119B.13 
119B.13 Child care rates. 

Subdivision 1. Subsidy restrictions. The maximum 
rate paid for child care assistance under the child care fund 
may not exceed the 75th percentile rate for like-care 
arrangements in the county as surveyed by the commissioner. A 
rate which includes a provider bonus paid under subdivision 2 or 
a special needs rate paid under subdivision 3 may be in excess 
of the maximum rate allowed under this subdivision. The 
department shall monitor the effect of this paragraph on 
provider rates. The county shall pay the provider's full 
charges for every child in care up to the maximum established. 
The commissioner shall determine the maximum rate for each type 
of care, including special needs and handicapped care. Not less 
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than once every two years, the commissioner shall evaluate 
market practices for payment of absences and shall establish 
policies for payment of absent days that reflect current market 
practice. 

When the provider charge is greater than the maximum 
provider rate allowed, the parent is responsible for payment of 
the difference in the rates in addition to any family copayment 
fee. 

Subd. 2. Provider rate bonus for accreditation. A 
family child care provider or child care·center shall be paid a 
ten percent bonus above the maximum rate established in 
subdivision 1, if the provider or center holds a current early 
childhood development credential approved by the commissioner, 
up to the actual provider rate. 

Subd. 3. Provider rate for care of children with 
handicaps or special needs. Counties shall reimburse 
providers for the care of children with handicaps or special 
needs, at a special rate to be approved by the county for care 
of these children, subject to the approval of the commissioner. 

Subd. 4. Rates charged to publi~ly subsidized families. 
Child care providers receiving reimbursement under this 

chapter may not charge a rate to clients receiving assistance 
under this chapter that is higher than the private, full-paying 
client rate. 

Subd. 5. Provider notice. The county shall inform 
both the family receiving assistance under this chapter and the 
child care provider of the payment amount and how and when 
payment will be received. If the county sends a family a notice 
that child care assistance will be terminated, the county shall 
inform the provider that unless the family requests to continue 
to receive assistance pending an appeal, child care payments 
will no longer be made. The notice to the provider must not 
contain any private data on the family or information on why 
payment will no longer be made. 

Subd. 6. Provider payments. Counties shall make 
vendor payments to the child care provider or pay the parent 
directly for eligible child care expenses. If payments for 
child care assistance are made to providers, the provider shall 
bill the county for services provided within ten days of the end 
of the month of service. If bills are submitted in accordance 
with the provisions of this subdivision, a county shall issue 
payment to the provider of child care under the child care fund 
within 30 days of receiving an invoice from the provider. 
Counties may establish policies that make payments on a more 
frequent basis. A county's payment policies must be included in 
the county's child care plan under section 119B.08, subdivision 
3. 

HIST: 1Spl985 c 14 art 9 s 72; 1987 c 290 s l; 1989 c 282 art 
2 s 151; 1990 c 568 art 4 s 52,53; 1991 c 292 art 5 s 58-60; 
1995 c 207 art 4 s 36; 1Spl995 c 3 art 16 s 13; 1997 c 162 art 4 
s 38-40; 1Spl997 c 5 s 48; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 34 

==119B.14 
119B.14 Extension of employment opportunities. 

The county board shall ensure that child care services 
available to eligible residents are well advertised and that 
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everyone who receives or applies for MFIP assistance is informed 
of training and employment opportunities and programs, including 
child care assistance and child care resource and referral 
services. 

HIST: 1Sp1985 c 14 art 9 s 72; 1990 c 568 art 4 s 54; 1999 c 
159 s 23; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 35,69 

==119B.15 
119B.15 Administrative expenses. 

The commissioner shall use up to 1/21 ·of the state and 
federal funds available for the basic sliding fee program and 
1/21 of the state and federal funds available for the MFIP child 
care program for payments to counties for administrative 
expenses. 

HIST: 1Sp1985 c 14 art 9 s 72; 1987 c 403 art 3 s 72; 1989 c 
282 art 2 s 152; 1991 c 292 art 5 s 61; 1995 c 207 art 4 s 37; 
1997 c 162 art 4 s 41; 1999 c 159 s 24; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 36,69 

==119B.16 
119B.16 Fair hearing process. 

Subdivision 1. Fair hearing allowed. An applicant or 
recipient adversely affected by a county agency action may 
request a fair hearing in accordance with section 256.045. 

Subd. 2. Informal conference. The county agency 
shall offer an informal conference to applicants and recipients 
adversely affected by an agency action to attempt to resolve the 
dispute. The county agency shall advise adversely affected 
applicants and recipients that a request for a conference with 
the agency is optional and does not delay or replace the right 
to a fair hearing. 

HIST: 1987 c 403 art 3 s 73; 1988 c 689 art 2 s 230; 1997 c 
162 art 4 s 42 

==119B .1 7 
ll9B.17 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 1 s 73 

==119B. 18 
119B.18 Subdivision 1. MS '1998 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 

22 

Subd. 2. MS 1998 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 3. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.211 

==119B.189 
· 119B.189 Child care services grant definitions. 

Subdivision 1. Facility improvement expenses. 
"Facility improvement expenses" means the cost of improvements, 
equipment, appropriate technology and software, toys, and 
supplies needed to establish, expand, or improve a licensed 
child care facility or a child care program under the 
jurisdiction of a district school board. 

Subd. 2. Interim financing. "Interim financing" 
means funding for up to 18 months: 

(1) for activities that are necessary to receive and 
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maiptain state child care licensing; 

(2) to expand an existing child care program or to improve 
program quality; and 

(3) to operate for a period of six consecutive months after 
a child care facility becomes licensed or satisfies standards of 
the commissioner of children, families, and learning. 

Subd. 3. Region. "Region" means a region designated 
by the governor under section 462.385. 

Subd. 4. Training program. "Training program" means 
child development courses offered by an accredited 
post-secondary institution or similar training approved by a 
county board or the commissioner. A training program must be a 
course of study that teaches specific skills to meet licensing 
requirements or requirements of the commissioner of children, 
families, and learning. 

HIST: 1989 c 282 art 2 s 154; 1990 c 568 art 4 s 55; 1991 c 
292 art 5 s 65; 1Spl995 c 3 art 16 s 13; 1997 c 162 art 4 s 
44-46; 1998 c 397 art 11 s 3; 1998 c 398 art 5 s 55; 1999 c 205 
art 5 s 8-11,21 

==119B.19 
119B.19 Grants for school age child care programs and 

child care resource and referral programs. 

Subdivision 1. Distribution of funds for operation of 
child care resource and referral programs. The commissioner 
of children, families, and learning shall distribute funds to 
public or private nonprofit organizations for the planning, 
establishment, expansion, improvement, or operation of child 
care resource and referral programs under this section. The 
commissioner must adopt rules for programs under this section 
and sections 119B.189 and 119B.21. The commissioner must 
develop a process to fund organizations to operate child care 
resource and referral programs that includes application forms, 
timelines, and standards for renewal. 

Subd. la. Designation of organizations. The 
commissioner shall designate an organization to administer a 
child care resource and referral program to serve a region. 

Subd. 2. Repealed, 1997 C 162 art 1 s 19 

Subd. 3. Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 4. Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 5. Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 6. Basis for distributing funds. (a) The 
commissioner shall distribute funds for the administration of 
child care resource and referral programs based on the following 
factors for each region: 

(1) the region served by the program; 

(2) the number of children under the age of 13 years 
needing child care; 

(3) the ratio of children under the age of 13 years needing 
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child care to the number of licensed spaces; 

(4) the number of licensed child care providers and 
school-age care programs; and 

(5) other related factors determined by the commissioner. 

(b) The commissioner may provide ongoing funding to a 
designated organization for a child care resource and referral 
program that continues to meet state standards. 

Subd. 6a. Local match requirement. · A local match of 
25 percent is required. 

Subd. 7. Child care resource and referral programs. 
Within each region, a child care resource and referral program 
must: 

(1) maintain one database of all existing child care 
resources and services and one database of family referrals; 

(2) provide a child care referral service for families; 

(3) develop resources to meet the child care service needs 
of families; 

(4) increase the capacity to provide culturally responsive 
child care services; 

(5) coordinate professional development opportunities for 
child care and school-age care providers; 

(6) administer and award child care services grants; 

(7) administer and provide loans for child development 
education and training; and 

(8) cooperate with the Minnesota Child Care Resource and 
Referral Network and its member programs to develop effective 
child care services and child care resources. 

HIST: 1986 c 404 s 3; 1987 c 403 art 3 s 74; 1988 c 689 art 2 
s 231; 1989 c 282 art 2 s 153; 1991 c 199 art 2 s l; 1991 c 292 
art 5 s 64; 1995 c 207 art 4 s 38; 1Spl995 c 3 art 16 s 13; 1999 
c 205 art 5 s 3-7,21 

==119B.20 
119B.20 Subdivision 1. MS 1998 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 

22 

Subd. 2. MS 1998 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 3. MS 1998 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 4. MS 1998 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 5. MS 1998 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 6. MS 1998 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 7. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.189, subdivision 1 

Subd .. 8. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.189, subd. 2 
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Subd. 9. MS 1998 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 10. MS 1998 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 11. MS 1998 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 12. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.189, subd. 4 

Subd. 13. MS 1998 Renumbered 119B.189, subd. 3 

==119B.21 
119B.21 Child care services grants. 

Subdivision 1. Distribution of grant funds. (a) The 
commissioner shall distribute funds to the child care resource 
and referral programs designated under section 119B.19, 
subdivision la, for child care services grants under subdivision 
5 and family child care technical assistance grants under 
subdivision 10. 

(b) Up to ten percent of funds appropriated for grants 
under this section may be used by the commissioner for statewide 
child care development initiatives, training initiatives, 
collaboration programs, and research ~nd data collection. The 
commissioner shall develop eligibility guidelines and a process 
to distribute funds under this paragraph. Child care resource 
and referral programs may apply for funding under this paragraph. 

(c) At least 90 percent of funds appropriated for grants 
under this section may be distributed by the commissioner to 
child care resource and referral programs under section 119B.19, 
subdivision la, foi child care services grants and family child 
care technical assistance grants based on the following factors: 

(1) the number of children under 13 years of age needing 
child care in the region; 

(2) the region served by the program; 

(3) the ratio of children under 13 years of age needing 
child care to the number of licensed spaces in the region; 

(4) the number of licensed child care providers and 
school-age care programs in the region; and 

(5) other related factors determined by the commissioner. 

(d) Child care resource and referral programs must award 
child care services grants and child care technical assistance 
grants based on the recommendation of the child care regional 
proposal review committees under subdivision 3. 

(e) The commissioner may distribute funds under this 
section for a two-year period. 

Subd. 2. Renumbered subdivision 1, paragraphs (c), (d), 
and (e) 

Subd. 3. Child care regional proposal review 
committees. (a) Child care regional proposal review 
committees must establish regional priorities and review 
applications for family child care technical assistaDce grants 
and child care services grants under this section and make 
funding recommendations to the child care resource and referral 
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program designated under section 119B.19, subdivision la. 
Within each region, the committee must allocate available 
funding between child care services grants and child care 
technical assistance grants. The committee must also allocate 
funding for child care services grants for facility financing 
purposes and provider training purposes. The child care 
regional proposal review committees must complete their reviews 
and forward their recommendations to the child care resource and 
referral program by the date specified by the commissioner. 

(b) A child care resource and referral program shall 
establish a process to select members of·the child care regional 
proposal review committee. Members must represent the following 
constituent groups: family child care providers, child care 
center providers, school-age care providers, parents who use 
child care services, health services, social services, public 
schools, Head Start, employers, and other citizens with 
demonstrated interest in child care issues. Members of the 
proposal review committee with a direct financial interest in a 
pending grant proposal may not provide a recommendation or 
participate in the ranking of that grant proposal. 

(c) The child care resource and referral program may 
reimburse committee members for their_ actual travel, child care, 
and child care provider substitute expenses for up to six 
committee meetings per year. The program may also pay a stipend 
to parent representatives for participating in up to six 
meetings per year. 

Subd. 4. Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 5. Child care services grants. (a) A child 
care resource and referral program designated under section 
119B.19, subdivision la, may award child care services grants 
for: 

(1) creating new licensed child care facilities and 
expanding existing facilities, including, but not limited to, 
supplies, equipment, facility renovation, and remodeling; 

(2) improving licensed child care facility programs; 

(3) staff training and development services including, but 
not limited to, in-service training, curriculum development, 
accreditation, certification, consulting, resource centers, and 
program and resource materials; 

(4) interim financing; 

(5) capacity building through the purchase of appropriate 
technology to create, enhance, and maintain business management 
systems; 

(6) emergency assistance for child care programs; 

(7) new programs or projects for the creation, expansion, 
or improvement of programs that serve ethnic immigrant and 
refugee communities; and 

(8) targeted recruitment initiatives to expand and build 
the capacity of the child care system and to improve the quality 
of care provided by legal nonlicensed child care providers. 

(b) A child care resource and referral program designated 
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under section 119B.19, subdivision la, may award child care 
services grants to: 

(1) licensed providers; 

(2) providers in the process of being licensed; 

(3) corporations or public agencies that develop or provide 
child care services; 

(4) school-age care programs; or 

(5) any combination of clauses (1) to (4). 

Unlicensed providers are only eligible for grants under 
paragraph (a), clause (7). 

(c) A recipient of a child care services grant for facility 
improvements, interim financing, or staff training and 
development must provide a 25 percent local match. 

Subd. 6. Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

Subd. 7. Repealed, 1997 c 162 art is 19 

Subd. 8. Renumbered subdivision 5, paragraph (b) 

Subd. 9. Renumbered subdivision 5, paragraph (c) 

Subd. 10. Family child care technical assistance 
grants. (a) A child care resource and referral organization 
designated under section 119B.19, subdivision la, may award 
technical assistance grants of up to $1,000. These grants may 
be used for: 

(1) facility improvements, including, but not limited to, 
improvements to meet licensing requirements; 

(2) improvements to expand a child care facility or 
program; 

(3) toys and equipment; 

(4) technology and software to create, enhance, and 
maintain business management systems; 

(5) start-up costs; 

(6) staff training and development; and 

(7) other uses approved by the commissioner. 

(b) A child care resource and referral program may award 
family child care technical assistance grants to: 

(1) licensed family child care providers; or 

(2) child care providers in the process of becoming 
licensed. 

(c) A local match is not required for a family child care 
technical assistance grant. 

Subd. 11. Statewide advisory task force. The 
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commissioner may convene a statewide advisory task force to 
advise the commissioner on statewide grants or other child care 
issues. The following groups must be represented: family child 
care providers, child care center programs, school-age care 
providers, parents who use child care services, health services, 
social services, Head Start, public schools, employers, and 
other citizens with demonstrated interest in child care issues. 
Additional members may be appointed by the commissioner. The 
commissioner may compensate members for their travel, child 
care, and child care provider substitute expenses for attending 
task force meetings. The commissioner may also pay a stipend to 
parent representatives for participating ·in task force meetings. 

Subd. 12. Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

HIST: 1989 c 282 art 2 s 155; 1990 c 426 art 1 s 32,33; 1990 c 
568 art 4 s 56-58; 1991 c 292 art 5 s 66,67; 1994 c 465 art 3 s 
38; 1997 c 162 art 4 s 47-56; 1999 c 205 art 5 s 12-19,21 

==119B.211 
119B.211 Child development education and training loans. 

The commissioner shall establish a child development 
education and training loan program tQ be administered by the 
regional child care resource and referral programs. The 
commissioner shall establish application procedures, eligibility 
criteria, terms, and other conditions necessary to make 
educational loans under this section. A single applicant may 
not receive more than $1,500 per year under this program. All 
or part of the loan may be forgiven if the applicant continues 
to provide child care services for a period of 24 months 
following the completion of all courses paid for by the 
educational loan. 

HIST: 1991 c 292 art 5 s 63; 1997 c 162 art 4 s 43; 1999 c 205 
art 1 s 37; art 5 s 21 

==119B.22 
119B.22 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 

==119B.23 
119B.23 Other authorization to make grants. 

Subdivision 1. Authority. The county board is 
authorized to provide child care services or to make grants from 
the community social service fund, special tax revenue, or its 
general fund, or other sources to any municipality, or 
corporation for the cost of providing technical assistance or 
child care services. The county board is also authorized to 
contract for services with any licensed child care facility to 
carry out the purposes of this section. 

The county board may also make grants to or contract with 
any municipality, licensed child care facility, organization 
designated under section 119B.19, subdivision la, or corporation 
for the following purposes: 

(1) creating new licensed child care facilities and 
expanding existing facilities including, but not limited to, 
supplies, equipment, and facility renovation and remodeling; 

(2) improving licensed child care facility programs, 
including, but not limited to, staff specialists, staff 
training, supplies, equipment, and facility renovation and 
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remodeling, with priority for training grants for child care 
workers caring for infants, toddlers, sick children, children in 
low-income families, and children with special needs; 

(3) providing supportive child development services, 
including, but not limited to, in-service training, curriculum 
development, consulting specialists, resource centers, and 
program and resource materials; 

(4) carrying out programs, including, but not limited to, 
staff, supplies, equipment, facility renovation, and training; 

(5) providing interim financing; or 

(6) carrying out the resource and referral program services 
identified in section 119B.19, subdivision 7. 

Subd. 2. Donated materials and services; matching share 
of cost. For the purposes of this section, donated 
professional and volunteer services, program materials, 
equipment, supplies, and facilities may be approved as part of a 
matching share of the cost, provided that total costs shall be 
reduced by the costs charged to parents if a sliding fee scale 
has been used. 

Subd. 3. Biennial plan. The county board shall 
biennially develop a plan for the distribution of money for 
child care services as part of the community social services 
plan described in section 256E.09. All licensed child care 
programs shall be given written notice concerning the 
availability of money and the application process. 

HIST: 1989 c 282 art 2 s 156; 1999 c 205 art 5 s 20 

==119B. 24 
119B.24 Duties of commissioner. 

In addition to the powers and duties already conferred by 
law, the commissioner of children, families, and learning shall: 

(1) administer the child care fund, including the basic 
sliding fee program authorized under sections 119B.011 to 
119B.16; 

(2) monitor the child care resource and referral programs 
established under section 119B.19; and 

(3) encourage child care providers to participate in a 
nationally recognized accreditation system for early childhood 
programs. The commissioner shall reimburse licensed child care 
providers for one-half of the direct cost of accreditation fees, 
upon successful completion of accreditation. 

HIST: 1989 c 282 art 2 s 157; 1994 c 529 s 15; 1Spl995 c 3 art 
16 s 13; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 38; art 5 s 21 

==119B.25 
119B.25 Child care improvement grants. 

Subdivision 1. Purpose. The purpose of this section 
is to enhance and expand child care sites, to encourage private 
investment in child care and early childhood education sites, to 
promote availability of quality, affordable child care 
throughout Minnesota, and to provide for cooperation between 
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pr~vate nonprofit child care organizations, family child care 
and center providers and the department. 

Subd. 2. Grants. The commissioner shall distribute 
money provided by this section through a grant to a nonprofit 
corporation organized to plan, develop, and finance early 
childhood education and child care sites. The nonprofit 
corporation must have demonstrated the ability to analyze 
financing projects, have knowledge of other sources of public 
and private financing for child care and early childhood 
education sites, and have a relationship with the resource and 
referral programs under section 119B.211: The board of 
directors of the nonprofit corporation must include members who 
are knowledgeable about early childhood education, child care, 
development and improvement, and financing. The commissioners 
of the departments of children, families, and learning and trade 
and economic development, and the commissioner of the housing 
finance agency shall advise the board on the loan program. The 
grant must be used to make loans to improve child care or early 
childhood education sites, or loans to plan, design, and 
construct or expand licensed and legal unlicensed sites to 
increase the availability of child care or early childhood 
education. All loans made by the nonprofit corporation must 
comply with section 363.03, subdivision 8. 

Subd. 3. Financing program. A nonprofit corporation 
that receives a grant under this section shall use the money to: 

(1) establish a revolving loan fund to make loans to 
existing, expanding, and new licensed and legal unlicensed child 
care and early childhood education sites; 

(2) establish a fund to guarantee private loans to improve 
or construct a child care or early childhood education site; 

(3) establish a fund to provide forgivable loans or grants 
to match all or part of a loan made under this section; 

(4) establish a fund as a reserve against bad debt; and 

(5) establish a fund to provide business planning 
assistance for child care providers. 

The nonprofit corporation shall establish the terms and 
conditions for loans and loan guarantees including, but not 
limited to, interest rates, repayment agreements, private match 
requirements, and conditions for loan forgiveness. The 
nonprofit corporation shall establish a minimum interest ra.te 
for loans to ensure that necessary loan administration costs are 
covered. The nonprofit corporation may use interest earnings 
for administrative expenses. 

Subd. 4. Reporting. A nonprofit corporation that 
receives a grant under this section shall: 

(1) annually report by September 30 to the commissioner the 
purposes for which the money was used in the past fiscal year, 
including a description of projects supported by the financing, 
an account of loans made during the calendar year, the financing 
program 1 s assets and liabilities, and an explanation of 
administrative expenses; and 

(2) annually submit to the commissioner a copy of the 
report of an independent audit performed in accordance with 
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generally accepted accounting practices and auditing standards. 

HIST: 1997 c 162 art 4 s 57; 1999 c 205 art 1 s 39; art 5 s 21 

==119B.26 
119B.26 Authority to waive requirements during disaster 

periods. 

The commissioner may waive requirements under this chapter 
for up to nine months after the disaster in areas where a 
federal disaster has been declared under United States Code, 
title 42, section 5121, et seq., or the governor has exercised 
authority under chapter 12. The commissioner shall notify the 
chairs of the senate family and early childhood education budget 
division, the senate education finance committee, the house 
family and early childhood education finance division, the house 
education committee, and the house ways and means committee ten 
days before the effective date of any waiver granted under this 
section. 

HIST: 1997 c 203 art 1 s 15; 1Spl997 c 5 s 46; 1998 c 383 s 36 

==119B.misc1999 Minn. Stats. repealed, etc. secs in chap 119B 
119B.075 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 1 s 73 
119B.17 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 1 s 73 
119B.22 Repealed, 1999 c 205 art 5 s 22 
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Attachment D 

Minnesota Rules, Chapter 3400. 

3400.0010 PURPOSE AND APPLICABILITY. 

Subpart 1. Purpose. The purpose of parts 3400.0010 to 
3400.0230 is to govern the administration of the child care fund 
and to reduce, according to a sliding fee schedule, the costs of 
child care services for eligible families to enable them to seek 
or retain employment or to participate in education or training 
programs to obtain employment. Parts 3400.0010 to 3400.0230 set 
eligibility standards for recipients and administrative 
requirements for agencies administering child care funds. 

Subp. 2. Applicability. Parts 3400.0010 to 3400.0230 
apply to all county and human service boards providing child 
care assistance to eligible families under Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 119B.011 to 119B.16. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144; L 1999 c 205 art 5 s 21 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0020 DEFINITIONS. 

Subpart 1. Scope. As used in parts 3400.0010 to 
3400.0230, the following terms have the meaning given them in 
this part. 

Subp. 2. ACCESS child care program. "ACCESS child care 
program~ means the AFDC child care program authorized under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.05, subdivision 6. 

Subp. 3. ACCESS participant. "ACCESS participant" means 
an individual participating in the ACCESS child care program. 

Subp. 4. Administering agency. "Administering agency" 
means a county social services agency or a public or nonprofit 
agency designated by the county board to administer the child 
care fund. 

Subp. 5. Administrative expenses. "Administrative 
expenses" means costs associated with the administration of the 
child care fund. Administrative expenses include: 

A. salaries, wages, and related payroll expenses 
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incurred in the administration of the child care fund including 
direct personnel costs, expenses for general administration and 
supervision, and expenses for secretarial, clerical, accounting, 
and other support services; 

B. travel and transportation and per diem or 
subsistence expenses; 

C. expenses for materials and office supplies; 

D. publication, telephone, postage, and photocopy 
expenses; and 

E. other expenses directly attributable to the child 
care fund. 

Subp. 6. Aid to families with dependent children or AFDC. 
"Aid to families with dependent children" or "AFDC" means Aid to 
Families with Dependent Children program authorized under title 
IV-A of the Social Security Act and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 
256. AFDC provides financial assistance and social services to 
needy families with dependent children. 

Subp. 7. AFDC caretaker. "AFDC caretaker" has the meaning 
given caretaker in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.736, 
subdivision la, clause (c). 

Subp. 8. Allocation. "Allocation" means the share of the 
total state appropriation of child care funds that a county may 
earn and be reimbursed for in a state fiscal year. A county's 
allocation may be raised or lowered during the fiscal year when 
the commissioner redistributes unexpended or unencumbered 
allocations. 

Subp. 9. Applicant. "Applicant" has the meaning given it 
in Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.011, subdivision 2. 

Subp. 10. Child. "Child" has the meaning given it in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.011, subdivision 4. 

Subp. 11. Child care. "Child care" means the care of a 
child in or out of the child's own home for gain or otherwise, 
on a regular basis, for any part of a 24-hour day, by someone 
other than a parent, stepparent, legal guardian, eligible 
relative caretaker, or their spouses. 

Subp. 12. Child care assistance. "Child care assistance" 
means financial assistance for child care that is funded under 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 119B.011 to 119B.16. 

Subp. 13. Child care fund. "Child care fund" means the 
child care assistance programs under Minnesota Statutes, 
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sections 119B.011 to 119B.16. 

Subp. 14. Child care services. "Child care services" has 
the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.0ll, 
subdivision 7. 

Subp. 15. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the 
commissioner of the Department of Children, Families, and 
Learning or the commissioner's designated representative. 

Subp. 16. County board. "County board" has the meaning 
given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.011, subdivision 9. 

Subp. 17. Department. "Department" means the Department 
of Children, Families, and Learning. 

Subp. 18. Documentation. "Documentation" means a written 
statement or record that substantiates or validates an assertion 
made by a person or an action taken by an administering agency. 

Subp. 19. Education program. "Education program" has the 
meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.bll, 
subdivision 11. 

Subp. 20. Eligible relative caretaker. "Eligible relative 
caretaker" means a person identified under part 9500.2440, 
subpart 7, items A to D, who is a caretaker of a dependent child 
but who is not a member of the assistance unit. 

Subp. 21. Employability development plan or EDP. 
"Employability development plan" or "EDP" means a plan developed 
for an AFDC caretaker by an employment and training service 
provider or person designated by the county to provide 
employment and training services. The EDP defines the AFDC 
caretaker's employment and training goals and outlines the 
training, education, and support services the AFDC caretaker 
needs to achieve those goals. All employability development 
plans must receive county approval and meet the requirements of 
Public Law Number 100-485, Minnesota Statutes, sections 119B.011 
to 119B.16, and parts 3400.0010 to 3400.0230. 

Subp. 22. Employment and training service provider. 
"Employment and training service provider" means a provider 
certified by the commissioner of economic security under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 268.0122, subdivision 3, to deliver 
employment and training services. 

Subp. 23. Family. "Family" has the meaning given it in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.011, subdivision 13. 

Subp. 24. Family copayment fee. "Family copayment fee" 
means the unsubsidized portion of the provider charge the family 
must contribute as its share of child care costs. 
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Subp. 25. Full calendar month. "Full calendar month" 
means from the first day of a month to the last day of that 
month. 

Subp. 26. Full-day basis. "Full-day basis" means child 
care provided by a provider for more than five hours per day. 

Subp. 27. Half-day basis. "Half-day basis" means child 
care provided by a provider for between one and five hours per 
day. . 

Subp. 28. Household status. "Household status" means the 
number of individuals residing in the household and the 
relationship of the individuals to one another. 

Subp. 29. Human services board. "Human services board" 
has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, section 
119B.011, subdivision 14. 

Subp. 30. Income. "Income" has the meaning given it in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.011, subdivision 16. 

Subp. 31. I:n kind service. "In kind service" means a 
child care payment made on behalf of an AFDC caretaker by a 
third party to cover the difference between allowable child care 
costs and the dependent care deduction under part 9500.2580, for 
employed AFDC caretakers, or to cover the allowable cost of 
child care without a dependent care deduction for AFDC 
caretakers participating in education or training programs under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.05. 

Subp. 32. Legal nonlicensed caregiver. "Legal nonlicensed 
caregiver" means a child care provider exempt from licensing 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03. 

Subp. 33. Overpayment. "Overpayment" means the portion of 
a child care payment that is greater than the amount for which a 
recipient is eligible. 

Subp. 34. Provider. "Provider" has the meaning given it 
in Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.011, subdivision 20. 

Subp. 3~. Provider rate. "Provider rate" means the amount 
the provider charges for child care. 

Subp. 36. Recipient. "Recipient" means a family receiving 
child care assistance under the child care fund. 

Subp. 37. Redetermination. "Redetermination" means the 
process by which information is collected periodically by the 
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county and used to determine whether a recipient is eligible for 
continued assistance under the child care fund. 

Subp. 38. Registration. "Registration" means the process 
used by the county to obtain from a legal nonlicensed caregiver 
the information required under part 3400.0140, subpart 5. 

Subp. 39. State median income. "State median income" 
means the state's annual median income for a family of four, 
adjusted for family size, developed by the Bureau of Census and 
published annually by the United States Department of Health and 
Human Services in the Federal Register. 

Subp. 40. Student. "Student" means an individual enrolled 
in an educational program as ~efined in subpart 19. A student 
is a full-time student if the student is enrolled in the minimum 
equivalent of 12 credits or 20 hours of classroom training per 
week. A student is a part-time student if the student is (1) a 
non-AFDC student enrolled in a minimum equivalent of six credits 
or ten hours of classroom training per week up to the minimum 
equivalent of full-time student status; or (2) an AFDC student 
who is less than a full-time student but is in compliance with 
the education or training requirements in his or her 
employability development plan. 

Subp. 41. Transition year child care. "Transition year 
child care" means the transition child care assistance 
guaranteed under United States Code, title 42, section 602(g) 

Subp. 42. Transition year families. "Transition year 
families" has the meaning given it in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 119B.0ll, subdivision 21. 

Subp. 43. Vendor payment. "Vendor payment" means a 
payment made by a county or administering agency directly to a 
provider of child care services on behalf of a recipient. 

Subp. 44. weekly basis. "Weekly basis" means child care 
provided by a provider for more than 35 hours per week. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144; L 1994 c 483 s 1 ;. L 1Spl995 c 3 art 
16 s 13; L 1999 c 205 art 5 s 21 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0030 NOTICE OF BASIC SLIDING FEE PROGRAM ALLOCATION. 

By June 1 of each year, the commissioner shall notify all 
county and human services boards of their allocation under the 
basic sliding fee program. 
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STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0040 GENERAL ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS AND ASSISTANCE 
STANDARDS FOR ALL APPLICANTS. 

Subpart 1. Applicant requirements and standards. In 
addition to specific eligibility requirements under parts 
3400.0060, 3400.0080, and 3400.0090, all applicants for child 
care assistance shall be governed by the standards and 
requirements in subparts 2 to 16. 

Subp. 2. Informational release. The county shall offer 
an applicant an opportunity to sign an informational release to 
permit the county to verify whether an applicant qualifies for 
child care assistance. The county shall indicate the purpose 
and intended use of the information, whether the individual may 
refuse or is legally required to supply the information, any 
known consequences from supplying or refusing to supply the 
information, and the identity of other agencies or individuals 
authorized to receive the data. 

Subp. 3. Documentation of eligibility information. An 
applicant requesting child care assistance must document income 
eligibility, residence, work, and education or training status. 
The county shall verify an applicant's eligibility to receive 
child care assistance at the time of the application; when there 
is a change in household status, family size, employment, 
income, education or training status; and at each 
redetermination under part 3400.0180. When contacting third 
parties to confirm eligibility information, the county shall 
comply with the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13. 

Subp. 4. Recipient reporting responsibilities. A 
recipient must follow the reporting procedures in items A to C. 

A. A recipient must notify the county of any changes 
in marital or household status, address, employment or education 
status, provider, and any change in income from the amount 
reported on the application form or the last redetermination, 
whichever occurred later. 

B. A recipient must report the changes listed in item 
A within ten calendar days after the change. In cases of an 
income change, the date of change begins on the day that the 
recipient receives payment at the new rate. 

C. A recipient's failure to report any changes under 
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this subpart or to update information for redetermination is 
just grounds to terminate child care assistance. 

Subp. 5. Eligible applicants. In a family with a single 
parent, or unmarried legal guardian or eligible relative 
caretaker, the applicant must meet employment, education, or 
training requirements and other eligibility requirements under 
the basic sliding fee program or the AFDC child care program. 

In a family with two parents, a parent and stepparent, a 
legal guardian and spouse, or an eligible relative caretaker and 
spouse, at least one parent, legal guardian, eligible relative 
caretaker, or spouse must meet employment, education, or . 
training requirements and other eligibility requirements under 
the basic sliding fee program or the AFDC child care program. 
The other parent, legal guardian, eligible relative caretaker, 
or spouse must: 

A. meet employment, education, or training 
requirements and other eligibility requirements under the basic 
sliding fee program or the AFDC child care program; or 

B. be unable to care for the applicant's child or 
dependent as determined by a medical doctor or by an assessment 
by the local social services agency. 

Subp. 6. Selection of provider. An applicant may select 
a provider at the time of application or within 30 calendar days 
after the application for child care assistance has been 
approved. 

Subp. 7. Maximum weekly child care assistance. A family 
may not receive more than 60 hours of child care assistance per 
child per week. 

Subp. 8. Child care assistance during employment. In 
addition to other eligibility requirements, employed persons 
eligible for child care assistance under part 3400.0060, 
3400.0080, or 3400.0090 must work ten hours or more per week and 
receive at least the state minimum wage for all hours worked. 
Child care assistance during employment shall be granted for the 
number of hours worked including break and meal time and up to 
two hours per day for travel time. 

Subp. 9. Child care assistance in support of employment. 
A county may grant child care assistance in support of 
employment for nonwork hours when all of the following 
conditions exist: 

A. child care assistance is not provided under the 
child care fund during working hours; 

B. the family meets the eligibility requirements of 
subpart 5; 
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C. the employee cannot reasonably modify his or her 
nonwork schedule to provide child care; and 

D. the child care assistance does not exceed the 
amount of assistance that would be granted under subpart 8 
during employment. 

Subp. 10. Child care assistance during education or 
training. To the extent of available allocations, counties 
shall provide child care assistance to students eligible under 
part 3400.0060 or 3400.0080 and enrolled in county-approved 
education or training programs according to items A to C. 

A. Counties may grant full-time students: 

(1) child care on a half-day or full-day basis 
for the days of class and on nonclass days, if needed for study, 
as determined by the county; 

(2) child care on a weekly basis; or 

(3) child care according to the standards in item 
B. 

Child care assistance granted under item A, subitem (1) 
shall not be less than the standard under item Band may not 
exceed 60 hours of child care per child per week. 

B. Part-time students shall receive child care for: 

(1) all hours of actual class time and credit 
hours for independent study and internships; 

(2) time periods between nonconsecutive classes; 

(3) up to two hours per day for travel time; and 

(4) two hours per week per credit hour for 
postsecondary students for study and academic appointments. 

When a part-time student has more than one hour between 
classes on any one day, the study and academic appointment time 
authorized under subitem (4) shall be reduced by the number of 
hours between classes. 

C. Child care assistance for remedial classes is 
subject to county approval under subpart 12. Upon county 
approval of the remedial class or classes, the county shall 
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authorize child care assistance necessary to enable the student 
to attend class and to complete class assignments. 

Subp. 11. Child care assistance during employment and 
education or training. Employed students are eligible for child 
care assistance during employment and education or training. 
Counties shall use the standards in subparts 8 and 10 to 
determine the amount of child care assistance. Child care 
assistance during employment and education may not exceed 60 
hours per child per week. 

Subp. 12. Acceptable course of study. An acceptable 
course of study for a student eligible under part 3400.0060 is 
an education or training program approved by the county that 
will reasonably lead to full-time employment opportunities as 
determined by the county. An acceptable course of study for a 
student eligible under part 3400.0080 is an education or 
training program described in the AFDC caretaker's EDP. 

Subp. 13. Satisfactory progress in education program. 
Subject to the limitation in subpart 14, a county shall provide 
child care assistance to students with an approved education or 
training program for the length of the education or training 
program if the student is making satisfactory progress in the 
education or training program. Satisfactory progress in the 
education or training program means a student remains in good 
standing in the education or training program and meets the 
requirements of the student's education plan under part 
3400.0060 or employability development plan under part 
3400.0080. If the county determines that a student is not 
making satisfactory progress towards completion of an education 
or training program, the county shall notify the student and 
discontinue child care assistance according to part 9565.5110, 
subpart 10. 

Subp. 14. Maximum education and training under child care 
fund. The maximum length of time a student is eligible for 
child care assistance under the child care fund for education 
and training is described in items A to E. 

A. A student is eligible for a maximum of 48 months 
of child care assistance for education or training from the 
child care fund. A four-year education or training program must 
be directed towards a baccalaureate degree. The time limit 
under this item does not apply to basic or remedial educational 
programs needed to prepare for postsecondary education or 
employment. Basic or remedial education programs include high 
school, general equivalency diploma, and English as a second 
language. Basic or remedial programs that run concurrently with 
a postsecondary program are not exempt from the time limit under 
this item. 

B. A student who has completed an education or 
training program under the child care fund may receive child 
care assistance for a second education or training program if: 

(1) the child care assistance needed to complete 
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the second program when combined with the child care assistance 
previously received does not exceed the equivalent of 48 months; 

(2) the student has been unable to find full-time 
employment and the student does not have marketable skills; and 

(3) at least one year has passed since the 
student completed the first program. 

C. A student with a baccalaureate degree may obtain 
child care assistance for continuing education units or 
certification or coursework necessary to update credentials to 
obtain or retain employment. 

D. A student who has once dropped out of an education 
or training program or who once failed to complete an education 
or training program while receiving child care assistance is 
eligible for child care assistance to enable the student to 
complete the program or begin a new program if the child care 
assistance needed to complete the earlier program or new program 
when combined with the child care assistance previously received 
does not exceed 48 months. A student applying for child care 
assistance under this item must be treated as a new applicant. 

E. A student may receive child care assistance for a 
second baccalaureate degree if: 

(1) the student did not receive child care 
assistance under the child care fund for the first baccalaureate 
degree; and 

(2) the student does not have marketable skills. 

Subp. 15. Changes in education and training programs. A 
proposed change in an education or training program is subject 
to county approval before the change may be made. 

Subp. 16. Ineligibility for failure to pay fees under the 
child care fund. A family that fails to pay the provider charge 
or family copayment fee under the child care fund shall lose 
eligibility for child care assistance as long as such fees are 
owed unless satisfactory arrangements for repayment are made 
that are acceptable to the provider- and the county. If a county 
is aware that fees are owed under the child care fund and 
satisfactory repayment is not being made, the county shall not 
authorize child care assistance until satisfactory repayment 
arrangements are made. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 
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3400.0050 JOB SEARCH. 

To the extent of available allocations, counties shall 
provide persons eligible under part 3400.0060 who are seeking 
employment and persons eligible under part 3400.0080 who have an 
approved EDP including job search as an authorized activity, up 
to 240 hours of child care during job search. At the option of 
the individual in job search and with prior county approval, 
child care may be used at a rate that is less than full time 
provided the total child care assistance does not exceed 240 
hours of child care per calendar year. For the purpose of this 
part, job search includes locating, contacting, and interviewing 
with potential employers and preparing for job interviews. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.02; 256H.035; 256H.055 

HIST: 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0060 BASIC SLIDING FEE PROGRAM. 

Subpart 1. Basic sliding fee program; funding sources. 
The basic sliding fee program includes funding from federal, 
state, and county sources. Federal funds available under United 
States Code, title 42, sections 602(i) and 9858, that are 
allocated to the basic sliding fee program shall be expended as 
provided in this part. 

Subp. 2. Basic sliding fee allocation. The commissioner 
shall allocate child care funds for the basic sliding fee 
program as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.03, 
subdivisions 6 to 8. 

Subp. 3. Federal funding. Counties shall claim, in the 
manner prescribed by the commissioner, federal funding for child 
care expenditures for all eligible recipients who are in 
employment, education, training, or other preemployment 
activities allowed under the federal grant and reimbursement 
programs. The commissioner shall allocate any federal earnings 
to the county that claimed the federal funding and the county 
shall use the earnings to expand funding for child care services 
under the basic sliding fee program. 

Subp. 4. Reallocation of unexpended or unencwnbered 
funds. The commissioner shall reallocate unexpended or 
unencumbered funds according to items A to D. 

A. The commissioner may reallocate unexpended or 
unencumbered funds following the first, second, and third 
quarters as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.03, 
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subdivision 5. Following the fourth quarter, the commissioner 
shall review county expenditures under the basic sliding fee 
program and shall reallocate unearned allocations to counties 
that earned their full allocation. 

B. The amount reallocated to any county shall be 
based on earnings in excess of its allocation. The amount 
reallocated shall not be greater than the earnings in excess of 
allocation minus the county's maintenance of effort required 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.ll, subdivision 4. 

C. If the amount of funds available for reallocation 
is less than total county earnings in excess of allocations, the 
reallocated funds shall be prorated to each county based on the 
ratio of the county's earnings in excess of its allocation to 
the total of all county earnings in excess of their allocation. 

D. If the amount of funds available for reallocation 
is greater than total county earnings in excess of allocations 
under the basic sliding fee program, the funds remaining after 
the basic sliding fee reallocation shall be carried forward to 
the second year in the biennium in proportion to the county 
earnings. 

Subp. 5. Families eligible for assistance under the basic 
sliding fee program. To the extent of available allocations, a 
family is eligible for child care assistance under the basic 
sliding fee program if: 

A. the applicant meets eligibility requirements uBder 
part 3400.0040; 

B. the applicant is not an AFDC caretaker; and 

C. the family has an annual gross income that does 
not exceed 75 percent of the state median income for a family of 
four, adjusted for family size. 

Subp. 6. Basic sliding fee program waiting lists. 
Counties must keep a written record of families who have 
requested child care assistance. When a family requests 
information about child care assistance, the county shall 
perform a preliminary determination of eligibility. If it 
appears that a family is or will be eligible for child care 
assistance and funds are not immediately available, the family 
shall be placed on a child care waiting list. The county shall 
provide a means of identifying students placed on the basic 
sliding fee waiting list. If it appears that a family is 
eligible for child care assistance and funds are available or if 
a family requests an application, the family shall be given a 
child care assistance application. 

Subp. 7. Waiting list; transfer of transition year 
families to the basic sliding fee program. The county shall 
place transition year families on the county's basic sliding fee 
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program waiting list effective the earliest of the following 
dates: 

A. the date the family became eligible for transition 
year child care assistance; 

B. the date the family began participating in the 
ACCESS child care program under part 3400.0080, subpart 2; or 

C. the date the family enrolled in Project STRIDE. 

If a transition year family moves to a new county, the 
waiting list date established under items A to C shall transfer 
with the family. If a transition year family comes to the top 
of the county's basic sliding fee program waiting list before 
the transition year ends, the county shall encumber basic 
sliding fee program funds for those months remaining in the 
state fiscal year after the transition year ends. When the 
transition year ends, the county shall move the transition year 
family into the basic sliding fee program. A transition year 
family that does not come to the top of the county's basic 
sliding fee program waiting list before completion of the 
transition year shall be moved into the basic sliding fee 
program as funding becomes available according to the priority 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.03, subdivision 4. 

Subp. 8. Application for child care assistance. A family 
must apply for child care assistance in the family's county of 
residence. 

Subp. 9. County child care responsibility when family 
moves. When a family that is receiving child care assistance 
from the basic sliding fee program moves to a new county within 
Minnesota, the original county must continue to provide child 
care assistance for two full calendar months if child care is 
needed and the family remains eligible for child care assistance 
under the basic sliding fee program. The new county shall treat 
a family that moves to the county and requests child care 
assistance as a new applicant. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0070 CONTINUED ELIGIBILITY UNDER THE BASIC SLIDING FEE 
PROGRAM. 

To the extent of available allocations, a county may not 
refuse continued child care assistance to a family receiving 
assistance under the basic sliding fee program when there is a 
change in the family's financial or household status. However, 
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the family's annual gross income may not exceed 75 percent of 
the state median income for a family of four, adjusted for 
family size, and the family must meet all other eligibility 
requirements under the basic sliding fee program. Except for 
the education time limit under part 3400.0040, subpart 14, and 
the job search time limit under part 3400.0050, counties may not 
set a time limit for eligibility under the basic sliding fee 
program. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0080 AFDC CHILD CARE PROGRAM. 

Subpart 1. Families guaranteed child care assistance under 
the AFDC child care program. Except as provided in subpart 2, 
families eligible for guaranteed child care assistance under the 
AFDC child care program are families listed under Minnesota 
Statutes, section 119B.05. 

Subp. 2. ACCESS child care program. AFDC caretakers who 
are recipients of AFDC and not part of an assistance unit 
eligible or required to participate in Project STRIDE are 
eligible for child care assistance under the ACCESS child care 
program if enrolled in an education, training, or job search 
program authorized in their EDP. Each county shall enroll 
participants in the ACCESS child care program to the extent of 
the county's entitlement of family slots authorized under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.05, subdivision 6. Counties 
shall prioritize eligibility for child care assistance under the 
ACCESS child care program in the county's child care fund 
allocation plan under part 3400.0150. 

Subp. 3. Approved EDP required under ACCESS. Before a 
county may grant child care assistance under subpart 2, the 
ACCESS participant must have an EDP approved by the county. The 
EDP must meet the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
256.736, subdivision 10. 

Subp. 4. Conversion to Project STRIDE. Subject to the 
time limitations of parts 3400.0040, subpart 14, and 3400.0050, 
child care assistance must continue under the ACCESS child care 
program until the participant loses AFDC eligibility or is 
enrolled in Project STRIDE. When an ACCESS participant is 
enrolled in Project STRIDE, the ACCESS participant's EDP shall 
continue as the approved EDP for Project STRIDE. 

Subp. 5. AFDC caretakers required to have EDP. All AFDC 
caretakers applying for child care assistance to support 
training or preemployment activities including job search must 
have an EDP authorizing the child care assistance. 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/cgi-bin/getrulechap.pl 

Page 14 of 48 

01/31/2000 



Subp. 6. Child care assistance in support of employment. 
AFDC caretakers applying for child care assistance to suppdrt 
employment are guaranteed assistance for allowable child care 
costs above any dependent care deductions if the provider is 
eligible for payment under the child care fund. 

Subp. 7. AFDC federal program reimbursement. Counties 
shall claim, in the manner prescribed by the commissioner, 
federal reimbursement under appropriate federal programs for 
child care expenditures for all eligible AFDC caretakers who are 
in activities allowed under the federal reimbursement programs. 
The commissioner shall allocate any federal earnings to the 
county that claimed the federal reirt)bursement. 

Subp. 8. County child care responsibility when a family 
moves to another county. Except for families with an EDP in 
effect, a county is responsible for providing child care 
assistance to an AFDC family that moves to another county within 
Minnesota according to Minnesota Statutes, section 256G.07. 

If an EDP is in effect, the county responsible for the EDP 
must provide child care assistance, if needed and the family 
remains eligible, through completion of the EDP or two full 
calendar months, whichever is longer. After completion of the 
EDP or two full calendar months, whichever is longer, if the 
family has applied for and is eligible for child care assistance 
under the AFDC child care program, the family shall receive 
child care assistance from the new county. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0090 TRANSITION YE.AR CHILD CARE. 

Subpart 1. Notice to family of eligibility. The 
department must notify a family, in writing, at the time the 
family becomes ineligible for AFDC of its potential eligibility 
for transition year child care under this part. The 
notification must include information on how to establish 
eligibility for transition year child care and on the family's 
rights and responsibilities under the transition year child care 
program. 

Subp. 2. Eligibility. Transition year child care 
assistance may only be used to support employment-related 
expenses. A family is eligible for transition year child care 
if the conditions in items A to E are met . 

A. The family is no longer eligible for AFDC due to 
. increased hours of, or increased income from, employment or the 
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loss of income disregards due to the time limitations. 

B. The family received AFDC in at least three of the 
six months immediately preceding _the first month of 
ineligibility and at least the last month of AFDC was paid by 
Minnesota. 

C. The family requests transition year child care, 
provides the county information necessary for determining 
eligibility and fees, and the family's income does not exceed 75 
percent of the state median income for a family of four, 
adjusted for family size. 

D. The child retains its "dependent child" status 
throughout the transition year. A "dependent child" is one who 
meets an AFDC basis of eligibility due to an absent, 
incapacitated, or unemployed parent. Transition year child care 
may be paid only for the care of a child who would be a 
dependent child if the family was receiving an AFDC grant, or 
for children who would have been eligible for AFDC except for 
the child's receipt of SSI or Title IV-E foster care benefits. 

E. The former AFDC caretaker who applies for 
transition year child care must continue to cooperate with child 
support enforcement throughout the transition year period. 

Eligibility for transition year child care begins the first 
month the family is ineligible for AFDC for the reasons 
identified in item A, and continues for 12 consecutive months. 
A former AFDC caretaker may apply for transition year child care 
any time during the year after losing eligibility for AFDC and, 
notwithstanding the application date, shall receive transition 
year child care assistance for all eligible months. Eligibility 
for transition year child care cannot extend beyond 12 months 
after the initial date of eligibility for that transition year 
child care. 

Subp. 3. Loss of transition year child care eligibility. 
A family is not eligible for transition year child care for any 
remaining portion of the 12-month period if the former AFDC 
caretaker fails to cooperate with the county to establish 
payments and enforce child support obligations, or the former 
AFDC caretaker terminates employment without good cause. 
Termination of employment for the reasons in items A to Eis 
considered to be for good cause. 

A. The job is not suited to the physical or mental 
capacity of the AFDC caretaker or it has had an adverse effect 
on the AFDC caretaker's physical or mental health. A claim made 
under this item must be documented by a licensed physician or 
licensed psychologist. 

B. The job site is unsafe under health and safety 
standards established by the Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration and the Minnesota Department of Economic Security. 
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C. The former AFDC caretaker documents discrimination 
at the job site on the basis of age, sex, race, religion, or 
place of national origin. 

D. The gross hourly employment earnings are less than 
the federal or state minimum wage, whichever applies, for that 
type of employment. 

E. The former AFDC caretaker has accepted other 
employment that provides equal or better income or benefits. 

Subp. 4. Reestablishment of AFDC eligibility during 
transition year period. If a transition year family 
reestablishes eligibility for AFDC during the transition year 
period and subsequently meets the conditions in subpart 2, the 
family qualifies for a new 12-month transition year period. If 
the family received AFDC for only one or two of the previous six 
months, but meets the requirements in subpart 2, items A and C 
to E, the family is entitled to the remaining months of the 
transition year, treating the month or months on AFDC as a 
suspension of the child care benefit but not the transition year 
period. To receive child care assistance while receiving AFDC, 
the family must meet the AFDC child care requirements under part 
3400.0080. 

Subp. 5. Breaks during transition year when child care is 
not needed. If there are breaks during the transition year when 
child care is not needed, there is a suspension of the child 
care benefit but not the transition year period. 

Subp. 6. Family copayment fee. A transition year family 
must pay a family copayment fee based on the family's gross 
income according to the sliding fee program schedule established 
under part 3400.0100. 

Subp. 7. County child care responsibility when a family 
moves to another county. Except for families with an EDP in 
effect, a county is responsible for providing child care 
assistance to a transition year family that moves to another 
county within Minnesota according to Minnesota Statutes, section 
256G.07. 

If an EDP is in effect, the county responsible for the EDP 
must provide child care assistance, if needed and the family 
remains eligible, through completion of the EDP or two full 
calendar months, whichever is longer. After completion of the 
EDP or two full calendar months, whichever is longer, if the 
family has applied for and is eligible for child care assistance 
under the transition year program, the family shall receive 
child care assistance from the new county. 

Subp. 8. County denial of transition year child care 
application. A county shall deny an application for transition 
year child care when the information submitted by the former 
AFDC caretaker is insufficient to determine eligibility or if 
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the information indicates ineligibility. When an application is 
denied, the county must send a notice to the applicant. The 
notice must state the reason for denial and inform the appricant 
of the right to appeal under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045. 

Subp. 9. Continuation of child care pending appeal. If a 
transition year family appeals a suspension, reduction, 
discontinuation, or termination of child care assistance before 
the effective date of the proposed action, the action shall not 
be taken until the appeal has had a fair hearing as provided 
under part 3400.0230, subpart 1. Child care assistance payments 
made pending a fair hearing are subject to recovery, when, as a 
result of the hearing, the commissioner finds that the 
transition year family was not eligible for continued child care 
assistance. The county shall recoup an overpayment under this 
subpart as provided in part 3400.0140, subpart 19. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.02; 256H.035; 256H.055 

HIST: 18 SR 1144; L 1994 c 483 s 1 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0100 FAMILY COPAYMENT FEE SCHEDULE. 

Subpart 1. Non-AFDC family copayment fees. Non-AFDC 
families participating in the sliding fee program with an income 
greater than the federal poverty level must pay a family 
copayment fee for child care services as provided in subpart 4. 
Non-AFDC families participating in the sliding fee program with 
an income less than or equal to the federal poverty level must 
pay a family copayment fee for child care services as provided 
in subpart 3. 

Subp. 2. AFDC family copayment fees. AFDC families 
participating in the AFDC child care programs shall be governed 
by AFDC program rules regarding child care costs. Employed AFDC 
recipients must use their dependent care disregard before using 
the child care fund except as federal and state waivers allow. 
The child care fund shall cover the cost of child care for 
unemployed AFDC recipients in education, training, or 
preemployment activities up to the maximum amount set under part 
3400.0130 without applying a disregard. If the provider's 
charge for child care is greater than the maximum provider rate 
allowed under part 3400.0130, AFDC families shall pay, in 
addition to the dependent care disregard, the difference between 
the maximum provider rate allowed and the provider charge. 

Subp. 3. Non-AFDC family copayment fee for families with 
incomes less than or equal to the federal poverty level. 
Subject to the maximum provider rate established under part 
3400.0130, a family whose income is less than or equal to the 
federal poverty level for a family of that size shall pay a 
monthly copayment fee as provided in items A and B. 
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A. If the family is a transition year family, the 
monthly family copayrnent fee is $1. If federal regulations 
permit a state to waive a family's contribution, there is no 
family copayrnent fee. 

B. If the family is not a transition year family, 
there is no family copayrnent fee. 

If the provider's charge for child care is greater than the 
maximum provider rate allowed under part 3400.0130, non-AFDC 
families shall pay, in addition to any monthly copayrnent fee, 
the difference between the maximum provider rate allowed and the 
pr6vider charge. 

Subp. 4. Calculation of non-AFDC family copayment fee. 
Except as provided in subpart 3, a non-AFDC family's monthly 
copayrnent fee is a fixed percent of its annual gross income. 
The fixed percent is based on the relationship of the family's 
annual gross income to 100 percent of state median income for a 
family of four, adjusted for family size. The fixed percent is 
set forth in item C. 

The monthly family copayrnent fee for families with annual 
incomes greater than the federal poverty level is determined as 
follows: 

A. The family's annual gross income is converted into 
a percentage of state median income for a family of four, 
adjusted for family size, by dividing the family's annual gross 
income by 100 percent of the state median income for a family of 
four, adjusted for family size. The percentage must be carried 
out to the nearest 100th of a percent. 

B. If the family's annual gross income is greater 
than the federal poverty level for a family of the same size but 
less than 42.01 percent of the state median income for a family 
of four, adjusted for family size, the family's monthly 
copayrnent fee is 50 percent of the rate under item C, subitem 
(1), rounded to the nearest whole dollar. 

C. If the family's annual gross income is greater 
than the federal poverty level and between 42.01 and 75.00 
percent of the state median income (SMI) for a family of four, 
adjusted for family size, the monthly copayrnent fee is the fixed 
percentage established for that income range in subitems (1) to 
(58) multiplied by the highest possible income within that 
income range, divided by 12, and rounded to the nearest whole 
dollar. 

(1) 42.01 to 43.00 percent of SMI -- 2.60% 

(2) 43.01 to 44.00 percent of SMI -- 2.80% 

(3) 44.01 to 45.00 percent of SMI -- 3.00% 
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(4) 45.01 to 46.00 percent of SMI -- 3.20% 

(5) 46.01 to 47.00 percent of SMI -- 3.40% 

( 6) 47.01 to 48.00 percent of SMI -- 3.60% 

( 7) 48.01 to 49.00 percent of SMI -- 3.80% 

( 8) 49.01 to 50.00 percent of SMI -- 4.00% 

( 9) 50.01 to 50.50 percent of SMI -- 4.20% 

(10) 50.51 to 51.00 percent of SMI -- 4.40% 

(11) 51.01 to 51.50 percent of SMI -- 4.60% 

( 12) 51.51 to 52.00 percent of SMI -- 4.80% 

(13) 52.01 to 52.50 percent of SMI -- 5.00% 

(14) 52.51 to 53.00 percent of SMI -- 5.20% 

( 15) 53.01 to 53.50 percent of SMI -- 5.40% 

( 16) 53.51 to 54.00 percent of SMI -- 5.60% 

( 17) 54.01 to 54.50 percent of SMI -- 5.80% 

(18) 54.51 to 55.00 percent of SMI -- 6.00% 

( 19) 55.01 to 55.50 percent of SMI -- 6.25% 

( 20) 55.51 to 56.00 percent of SMI -- 6.50% 

( 21) 56.01 to 56.50 percent of SMI -- 6.75% 

(22) 56.51 to 57.00 percent of SMI -- 7.00% 

(23) 57.01 to 57.50 percent of SMI -- 7.25% 

(24) 57.51 to 58.00 percent of SMI -- 7.50% 
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(25) 58.01 to 58.50 percent of SMI -- 7.75% 

(26) 58.51 to 59.00 percent of SMI -- 8.00% 

(27) 59.01 to 59.50 percent of SMI -- 8.25% 

(28) 59.51 to 60.00 percent of SMI -- 8.50% 

(29) 60.01 to 60.50 percent of SMI -- 8.75-% 

( 30) 60.51 to 61.00 percent of SMI -- 9.00% 

(31) 61.01 to 61.50 percent of SMI -- 9.25% 

( 32) 61.51 to 62.00 percent of SMI -- 9.50% 

(33) 62.01 to 62.50 percent of SMI -- 9.75% 

(34) 62.51 to 63.00 percent of SMI -- 10.00% 

( 35) 63.01 to 63.50 percent of SMI -- 10.30% 

( 36) 63.51 to 64.00 percent of SMI -- 10.60% 

(37) 64.01 to 64.50 percent of SMI -- 10.90% 

( 38) 64.51 to 65.00 percent of SMI -- 11.20% 

( 39) 65.01 to 65.50 percent of SMI -- 11.50% 

( 40) 65.51 to 66.00 percent of SMI -- 11.80% 

(41) 66.01 to 66.50 percent of SMI -- 12.10% 

(42) 66.51 to 67.00 percent of SMI -- 12.40% 

( 43) 67.01 to 67.50 percent of SMI -- 12.70% 

(44) 67.51 to 68.00 percent of SMI -- 13.00% 

(45) 68.01 to 68.50 percent of SMI -- 1]_.30% 
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(46) 68.51 to 69.00 percent of SMI -- 13.60% 

(47) 69.01 to 69.50 percent of SMI -- 13.90% 

(48) 69.51 to 70.00 percent of SMI -- 14.20% 

(49) 70.01 to 70.50 percent of SMI -- 14.50% 

( 50) 70.51 to 71.00 percent of SMI -- 14.80% 

( 51) 71.01 to 71.50 percent of SMI -- 15.10% 

( 52) 71.51 to 72.00 percent of SMI -- 15.40% 

( 53) 72.01 to 72.50 percent of SMI -- 15.70% 

(54) 72.51 to 73.00 percent of SMI -- 16.00% 

( 55) 73.01 to 73.50 percent of SMI -- 16.30% 

(56) 73.51 to 74.00 percent of SMI -- 16.60% 

( 57) 74.01 to 74.50 percent of SMI -- 16.90% 

( 58) 74.51 to 75.00 percent of SMI -- 17.20% 

D. If the provider's charge for child care is greater 
than the maximum provider rate allowed under part 3400.0130, 
families shall pay, in addition to the family copayment fee, the 
difference between the maximum provider rate and the provider 
charge. If the remaining monthly provider charge is less than 
$20 per month upon payment of the family copayment fee, the 
family shall pay the remainder of the provider charge. 

E. During the start-up month, the county shall 
prorate the copayment fee based on the number of calendar days 
remaining in the month. 

Subp. 5. Publication of state median income and fee 
schedule in State Register. The department shall publish in the 
State Register the state median income for a family of four, 
adjusted for family size, and a fee schedule based on the 
formula in subpart 4, item C, within 120 days from the date the 
state median income is published in the Federal Register by the 
Department of Health and Human Services. Once published in the 
State Register, the department shall distribute a copy of the 
fee schedule and the updated estimate of state median income to 
each county. The updated fee schedule shall be used by the 
county to determine the family copayment fee for new 
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applications and at a participating family's next 
redetermination beginning on the first day of the state fiscal 
year or, if published after July 1, the first day of the first 
full quarter that follows publication of the state median income 
in the State Register. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0110 CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE PAYMENTS. 

Subpart 1. Payment options. The county may make child 
care payments to the child care provider or directly to an 
eligible family to reimburse the family for child care 
expenditures. If the county makes child care payments directly 
to an eligible family, it shall establish appropriate 
documentation procedures to ensure that funds are used for child 
care. 

Subp. 2. Registration of legal nonlicensed caregivers. 
Before a county makes a child care payment to a legal 
nonlicensed caregiver, the legal nonlicensed caregiver must be 
registered with the county. After the registration requirement 
for a legal nonlicensed caregiver is satisfied, payment shall be 
made retroactive to the beginning date of authorized child care 
for employment, education, or training; the date the child care 
application was signed; or the date the family began using the 
legal nonlicensed caregiver, whichever is later. 

Subp. 3. County authorization of child care. A county 
may authorize child care on an hourly, half-day, full-day, or 
weekly basis. Combinations of hourly, half-day, or full-day 
child care may be paid when 11 hours or more of child care are 
authorized in a 24-hour period. If a family selects a child 
care provider who charges for child care on a basis greater than 
the amount of child care authorized by a county, the family is 
responsible for the cost of child care that exceeds the amount 
authorized by the county. 

Subp. 4. Maximwn child care payments. Child care 
assistance payments under the child care fund may not exceed the 
75th percentile rate for like care arrangements in the county. 
Payment for child care rates that exceed the 75th percentile is 
the responsibility of the family. When a provider's rate is 
less than the 75th percentile, the county shall pay the 
provider's rate. 

Subp. 5. Standard for converting authorized care into 
hours used. Under part 3400.0040, subpart 7, a family may not 
receive more than 60 hours of child care assistance per child 
per week. For the purpose of converting child care authorized 
on a half-day, full-day, or weekly basis into hours, the 
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counties shall use the standards in items A to C. 

A. When a county authorizes child care on a half-day 
basis, a half day is equal to five hours of child care. 

B. When a county authorizes child care on a full-day 
basis, a full day is equal to ten hours of child care. 

C. When a county authorizes child care on a weekly 
basis, a week is equal to 50 hours of child care. 

Subp. 6. Notification of vendor payment procedures. If 
the method of payment is vendor payment, the county shall inform 
both the family and child care provider of the payment amount 
and how and when payment shall be received. When a county sends 
a family a notice that child care assistance will be terminated, 
the county shall inform the vendor that unless the family 
requests to continue to receive assistance pending an appeal, 
child care payments will no longer be made. The notice to a 
vendor shall not contain any private data on the family or 
information on why payments will no longer be made. 

Subp. 7. County payment schedule. The county shall make 
payments at least monthly. 

Subp. 8. Sick child care. Sick child care means child 
care services provided to children who as a result of illness 
cannot attend the family's regular provider. In addition to 
making payments for regular child care, the county may make 
payments for sick child care. If the county chooses to pay sick 
child care, payment for sick child care shall be at a rate 
comparable to like care arrangements in the county. The 
county's sick child care policy and rate shall be included in 
the county's biennial allocation plan required under part 
3400.0150. 

Subp. 9. Payment during child absences. Under Minnesota 
Statutes, section 119B.02, counties are authorized to establish 
policies for payment of child care spaces for absent children 
when the payment is required by the child's regular provider. 
If the county establishes policies for the payment of child care 
spaces for absent children, the county shall set limits and pay 
for the absences according to the prevailing market practice in 
the county. County policies for payment of absences shall be 
included in the county's allocation plan required under part 
3400.0150. Provider charges for absent days in excess of the 
amount established by the county are the responsibility of the 
family receiving child care assistance. 

Subp. 10. Payment during medical leaves of absence. 
Counties may establish policies for child care assistance during 
a parent's medical leave of absence from education or employment 
if the parent is incapable of providing child care during the 
medical leave of absence. Child care assistance provided under 
this subpart shall only be granted if: 
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A. the parent is expected to return to the parent's 
current employment or education or training program within 90 
calendar days; 

B. the necessity of the medical leave and the 
inability to provide child care is documented by a physician; 
and 

C. the amount of child care during the leave of 
absence does not exceed the equivalent of one month of full-time 
child care. 

The county's policy on medical leaves of absence shall be 
included in the allocation plan required under part 3400.0150. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0120 ELIGIBLE PROVIDERS AND PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS. 

Subpart 1. Eligible providers. Providers eligible for 
payments under the child care fund are providers as defined in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.011, subdivision 20. Parents 
may choose child care providers that best meet the needs of 
their family subject to the limitation in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 119B.09, subdivision 5. 

Subp. 2. Registration before payment. A legal nonlicensed 
caregiver must be registered with the county before the 
caregiver may receive a provider payment under the child care 
fund. 

Subp. 3. Parental access to children in care. Providers 
must permit parents unlimited access to their children and to 
the provider caring for their children during normal hours of 
provider operation and when the children are in the care of the 
provider. 

Subp. 4. Complaints, record, and disclosure. Legal 
nonlicensed caregivers must permit counties to maintain a record 
of substantiated parental complaints concerning the health and 
safety of children in the legal nonlicensed caregiver's care and 
to allow the disclosure to the public on request of that 
information subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13. 
Information governing maltreatment of minors shall be maintained 
and disclosed according to Minnesota Statutes, section 626.556. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 
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HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144; L 1999 c 205 art 5 s 21 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0130 CHILD CARE PROVIDER RATES. 

Subpart 1. Rate determination. Not less than once every 
two years, the commissioner shall determine the 75th percentile 
provider rate for infants, toddlers, preschool children, and 
school age children in day care centers and family day care 
homes in each county. The rates surveyed shall include a survey 
of registration fees when it is usual and customary for a 
category of provider to·charge registration fees. When the 
sample size for determining provider rates is too small to 
provide a valid statistical sample, the commissioner may 
establish child care provider rates based on like care 
arrangements in similar areas. 

Subp. 2. Rate determination for registered legal 
nonlicensed caregivers. Beginning in 1994 and every two years 
thereafter, the counties shall conduct a survey of registered 
nonlicensed caregivers to determine the 75th percentile rate for 
infants, toddlers, preschool, and school age children. The 
survey shall be conducted in a manner prescribed by the 
commissioner. 

Subp. 3. Rate determination; handicapped or special 
needs. The county shall set the maximum child care rate for a 
provider providing child care to a handicapped or special needs 
child based on like care arrangements in the county. When four 
or more providers offer child care for children with a handicap 
or special needs, the county shall identify the 75th percentile 
rate. A rate established under this subpart must be included in 
the child care allocation plan. 

Subp. 4. Payment rate differential, same category. The 
differential between maximum payment rates for child care 
assistance in the same category of care may not exceed ten 
percent. 

Subp. 5. Child care rate, provider's county of 
residence. Child care payments shall be based on the allowable 
rates in the provider's county of residence when the provider 
resides in Minnesota. 

Subp. 6. Provider rates under child care fund. Providers 
may not charge families receiving assistance under Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 119B, a provider rate that is higher than the 
private, full-paying client rate. 

Subp. 7. Payment of registration fees. If a licensed 
provider or license-exempt center charges families a 
registration fee to enroll children in the program and the 
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registration fee is not included in the provider rate, the 
county shall pay the provider registration fee or the 75th 
percentile of the registration fees surveyed in subpart 1, 
whichever is less. The county may not pay for more than two 
registrations per child in a 12-month period. Registration fees 
greater than the standard set forth in this subpart are the 
responsibility of the family. 

Subp. 8. Payment of activity fees. If, in addition to a 
provider's base rate, a provider charges optional activity fees, 
the family is responsible for payment of the optional activity 
fees. If the provider's activity fees are not optional, the 
activity fees shall be incorporated into the base rate and the 
provider may be paid up to the 75th percentile provider rate 
from the child care fund. When the combined base rate and the 
activity fees exceed the 75th percentile provider rate for like 
care arrangements, the family is responsible for the amount in 
excess of the 75th percentile provider rate. 

Subp. 9. Maximwn county child care assistance rate. 
Counties shall pay the provider's rate to cover all authorized 
hours of child care up to the maximum of 60 hours per child per 
week. The maximum rate that a county shall pay for child care 
assistance is the provider rate or the 75th percentile rate 
determined by the commissioner under subpart 1, whichever is 
less. 

Subp. 10. Maximwn state participation. The state payment 
is limited to the difference between the family copayment fee 
and the provider's rate up to a maximum of the 75th percentile 
rate determined by the department for like care arrangements in 
the county. When the provider's rate for each child in-care is 
more than the 75th percentile rate for like care arrangements in 
the county, the state's payment is limited to the difference 
between the 75th percentile rate for like care arrangements in 
the county and the family's copayment fee. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0140 COUNTY RESPONSIBILITIES. 

Subpart 1. County child care assistance policies and 
procedures. Counties shall adopt policies and procedures for 
providing child care assistance to enable eligible applicants to 
seek or retain employment or to participate in education or 
training programs. All county policies that apply to child care 
assistance must be in writing and must be included in the 
county's biennial allocation plan required under part 3400.0150. 

Subp. 2. Child care assistance information. The county 
shall provide information on child care assistance to child care 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn. us/cgi-bin/ getrulechap. pl 

Page 27 of 48 

01/31/2000 



service providers, social service agencies, and the local news 
media as it deems necessary to ensure the full use of its child 
care fund allocation. The county shall inform individuals ·who 
inquire about child care of the availability of child care 
assistance and child care resource and referral services. 

Subp. 3. County termination of application approval for 
failure to select a provider. A county may terminate approval 
of the child care assistance application for a family that fails 
to select a provider within 30 calendar days from the date the 
application is approved. The county must provide notice to a 
family under subpart 20 when terminating approval of the child 
care assistance application. 

Subp. 4. Determination of providers eligible for 
payments. The county's process for approving providers eligible 
for payments under the child care fund may not exceed 30 
calendar days, or 45 calendar days with the approval of the 
applicant, from the date the child care application is approved 
or the date the child care provider is selected by the 
applicant, whichever is later. Reimbursement for child care 
expenses must begin retroactive to the date of the signed 
application for eligible services, the beginning date of 
participation in an authorized education or employment activity, 
or the date the applicant selected the eligible provider, 
whichever is later. If the county determines that a provider 
chosen by an applicant is not eligible to receive child care 
payments under the child care fund, the applicant may appeal the 
county's determination under part 3400.0230. 

Subp. 5. Registration of legal nonlicensed caregivers. 
Before the county issues a provider payment to a legal 
nonlicensed caregiver, the caregiver must be registered with the 
county. To be registered with the county, the provider is 
required to supply the county with the provider's name, social 
security number, age, and address of the caregiver, the provider 
rate, and a release to permit information on substantiated 
parental complaints concerning the health and safety of children 
in their care to be disclosed to the public subject ·to Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 13. In addition to other registration 
requirements, legal nonlicensed caregivers must comply with 
state and local health ordinances and building and £ire codes 
applicable to the premise where child care is provided. The 
county shall provide each registered caregiver health and safety 
material supplied by the department and shall refer the 
registered caregiver to the child care resources and referral 
agency. A county shall not authorize the payment of child care 
assistance to a legal nonlicensed caregiver who is not 
registered. 

Subp. 6. Parental complaints against legal nonlicensed 
caregivers. Within 24 hours of receiving a parental complaint 
concerning the health or safety of children under the care of a 
legal nonlicensed caregiver, a county must relay the complaint 
to: 

A. the county's child protection agency if the 
parental complaint alleges child maltreatment as defined in 

.Minnesota Statutes, section 626.556, subdivision l0e; 
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B. the county's public health agency if the parental 
complaint alleges a danger to public health due to communicable 
disease, unsafe water supply, sewage or waste disposal, or 
building structures; 

C. local law enforcement if the parental complaint 
alleges criminal activity that may endanger the health or safety 
of children under care; or 

D. other agencies with jurisdiction to investigate 
complaints relating to the health and safety of a child. 

If a complaint is substantiated under item A, the county 
must keep a record of the substantiated complaint as provided in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 626.556. If a complaint is 
substantiated under items B to D, the county must keep a record 
of the substantiated complaint for three years. Upon request, 
information governing substantiated complaints shall be released 
to the public as authorized under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 
13. Upon receiving notice of a substantiated complaint under 
items A to D, the county shall not make subsequent payments to 
that provider from the child care fund. 

Subp. 7. County contracts and designation of administering 
agency. Counties may contract for the administration of the 
child care fund or may arrange for child care funds to be used 
by other designated programs. The county shall designate the 
agency authorized to administer the child care fund. 

Subp. 8. Agreement with employment and training service 
providers. The county shall develop cooperative agreements with 
employment and training service providers to coordinate child 
care funding with employment, training, and education programs 
for all AFDC Project STRIDE caretakers. The cooperative 
agreement shall specify that AFDC caretakers eligible for 
Project STRIDE who are receiving employment, training, and 
education services under an EDP shall be guaranteed child care 
assistance from the county responsible for the AFDC caretaker's 
EDP. 

Subp. 9. Local match. The county shall provide a local 
match equal to 15 percent of the basic sliding fee program 
allocation during the grant year. The local match may include 
in kind materials and services furnished by the county and 
required for the administration of the program. The local match 
may not include the family copayment fee. 

Subp. 10. Eligibility priorities for beginning assistance. 
If a county's basic sliding fee program allocation for child 
care is insufficient to fund all applications for child care 
assistance, the county shall prioritize eligibility among the 
groups that remain to be served after the county has complied 
with the priority requirements set forth in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 119B.03, subdivision 4. The county shall include its 
rationale for the prioritization of eligibility for beginning 
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assistance in its biennial allocation plan. To the extent of 
available allocations, no eligible family may be excluded from 
receiving child care assistance. 

Subp. 11. Funding waiting list for basic sliding fee. If 
it appears that a family is or will be eligible for child care 
assistance and funds are not immediately available, the county 
shall place the family on a basic sliding fee waiting list. 
Families on the waiting list shall be moved into the basic 
sliding fee program as funding permits based on the county 
priorities adopted under subpart 10. Transition year child care 
families must be put on the basic sliding fee program waiting 
list as provided in part 3400.0060, subpart 7. 

Subp. 12. Waiting list, non-STRIDE AFDC caretakers. 
Counties must keep a written list' of AFDC caretakers not 
eligible for Project STRIDE who request ACCESS child care 
assistance. 

Subp. 13. Intermittent assistance. For no more than 90 
days for employed recipients and one academic quarter for 
recipients in an education or training program, the county may 
reserve a family's position under the child care fund if the 
family has been receiving or is approved to receive child care 
assistance but is temporarily ineligible for assistance due to 
income, education, or family status. The county's policy for 
reserving the position of families temporarily ineligible for 
child care assistance must be in writing and must be included in 
the biennial allocation plan required in part 3400.0150. If 
there are temporary breaks during the year when child care is 
not needed but the family remains eligible for child care 
assistance, there is a suspension of the child care benefit but 
not child care eligibility. 

Subp. 14. Child care fund reports. The county shall 
complete a child care fund program fiscal report each quarter on 
forms approved by the commissioner. The county must submit the 
child care fund program report to the commissioner no later than 
20 calendar days following the end of a quarter. 

Subp. 15. Just cause for terminating child care 
assistance. Items A to C constitute just cause for terminating 
child care assistance. 

A; The failure of a recipient to: 

(1) select a provider within the time limit under 
part 3400.0040, subpart 6; 

(2) provide the administering agency required 
information or documentation; 

(3) report changes required under part 3400.0040, 
subpart 4; or 
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(4) pay the provider charge if the state share of 
the child care assistance is paid directly to the family or to 
pay the family copayrnent fee if the state share of the child 
care assistance is vendor paid. 

B. The recipient wrongfully obtains child care 
assistance due to fraud. 

C. A county may terminate child care assistance if 
the county's child care allocation is insufficient to fund the 
child care needs of families currently receiving-child care 
assistance. When available child care funds are insufficient to 
permit continued child care assistance to all families currently 
receiving assistance, the county may terminate assistance to 
families in the order of last on, first off. The county must 
consult with the commissioner before terminating assistance 
under this item. When funds become available, counties must 
reinstate families that remain eligible for child care 
assistance and whose child care assistance was terminated due to 
insufficient funds before the county accepts new applications. 
Those families whose child care assistance was most recently 
terminated due to insufficient funds shall be reinstated first. 

Subp. 16. Notice of termination of child care assistance 
to recipients. The county shall notify a recipient, in writing, 
of termination of child care assistance. The notice shall state 
the reason or reasons the assistance is being terminated. The 
notice shall inform the recipient of the right to appeal the 
adverse action and the procedure for doing so. The notice shall 
inform the recipient that if the recipient appeals the proposed 
action before the effective date of termination, the action 
shall not be taken until the appeal has had a fair hearing and 
that benefits paid during the appeal process will be subject to 
recovery if the termination is upheld. Except for cases of 
suspected fraud, the notice must be mailed to the recipient's 
last known address at least 15 calendar days before terminating 
assistance. In cases of suspected fraud, the termination notice 
must be mailed at least five working days before the effective 
date of the termination. 

Subp. 17. Notice of termination of child care assistance 
to vendors. If the child care assistance is made by vendor 
payment, the county shall inform the child care provider that 
unless the family requests to continue to receive assistance 
pending an appeal, child care payments will no longer be made. 
The notice to a vendor shall not contain any private data on the 
family or information on why payments will no longer be made. 

Subp. 18. Child care payments when termination is 
appealed. If the recipient appeals the proposed action before 
the effective date of termination, the action shall not be taken 
until the appeal has had a fair hearing as provided under part 
3400.0230, subpart 1. Child care assistance paid pending a fair 
hearing is subject to recovery to the extent that the 
commissioner finds on appeal that the recipient was not eligible 
for the amount of child care assistance paid. The county shall 
seek voluntary repayment or initiate civil court proceedings to 
recover child care assistance payments under this subpart. A 
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recipient may appeal the termination of child care assistance 
and choose not to receive child care assistance pending the 
appeal. If the commissioner finds on appeal that child care 
assistance should not have been terminated, the county shall 
reimburse the recipient for documented child care payments made 
pending the appeal. 

Subp. 19. Recoupment of overpayments. When a county 
discovers that a family has received an overpayment for one or 
more months, the county shall recoup the overpayment even when 
the overpayment is due to agency error or to other circumstances 
outside the responsibility or control of the family. The county 
shall recoup overpayments that occurred up to 12 months before 
the month the overpayment is discovered according to items A to 
C. A county may pursue recovery of an overpayment that extends 
beyond the 12-month period through means of collection other 
than recoupment. 

A. The county shall notify the family of the 
overpayment in writing. A notice of overpayment must specify 
the reason for the overpayment, the time period in which the 
overpayment occurred, the amount of the overpayment, and the 
family's right to appeal the county's recoupment of the 
overpayment. 

B. The county shall redetermine the family's 
eligibility for child care assistance. If the family remains 
eligible for child care assistance, the county shall recoup the 
overpayment under subitem (1), (2), or (3). 

(1) Except as provided in subitem (3), when the 
family's income is less than or equal to the federal poverty 
level, the county shall reduce child care assistance by $20 per 
month until the debt is retired. 

(2) Except as provided in subitem (3), if a 
family's income is greater than the federal poverty level the 
county shall reduce monthly child care assistance by the larger 
of eight percent of the overpayment or $20, not to exceed two 
times the family copayment fee under part 3400.0100, subpart 4, 
until the debt is retired. 

(3) A county shall reduce child care assistance 
by an amount equal to 16 percent of the overpayment until the 
debt is retired when an overpayment is due to a family's failure 
to provide accurate information on household status, income, or 
employment or education status; a family's failure to report a 
change under part 3400.0040, subpart 4, on two or more occasions 
and the failure to report caused the overpayment; or the amount 
of the overpayment is greater than $1,000. 

C. If the family no longer remains eligible for child 
care assistance, the county may choose to initiate efforts to 
recover overpayments from the family for overpayment less than 
$50. When the amount of the overpayment is greater than or 
equal to $50, the county shall seek voluntary repayment of the 
overpayment from the family. If the county is unable to recoup 
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the overpayment through voluntary repayment, the county shall 
initiate civil court proceedings to recover the overpayment 
unless the county's costs to recover the overpayment will exceed 
the amount of the overpayment. A family with an outstanding 
debt under this item is not eligible for child care assistance 
until the debt is paid in full or satisfactory arrangements are 
made with the county to retire the debt. 

Subp. 20. Notice to recipients of adverse actions. In 
addition to providing recipients notice of termination under 
subpart 16, the county must give recipients notice of any 
adverse actions affecting the recipient. Actions requiring 
notice include: 

A. termination of an application for failure to 
select a provider; 

B. a reduction in hours of service; 

C. an increase in copayment; 

D. a denial of an education plan; 

E. an adverse determination of provider eligibility; 
and 

F. county intent to recoup an overpayment. 

The notice shall describe the action and the reason the 
action is being taken. The notice shall be in writing and shall 
inform the recipient of the effective date of the change, the 
right to appeal any adverse action, and the procedure for doing 
so. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0150 CHILD CARE FUND ALLOCATION PLAN. 

Subpart 1. Submittal of plan. By the date established by 
the commissioner, the county shall submit to the commissioner a 
biennial child care fund allocation plan. The commissioner may 
require updates of information in the allocation plan as 
necessary to comply with parts 3400.0010 to 3400.0230, Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 119B.011 to 119B.16, and federal law. 

Subp. 2. Plan content. The allocation plan shall contain: 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/cgi-bin/getrulechap.pl 

Page 33 of 48 

01/31/2000 



A. a narrative of the county's total program for 
child care services for job search, employment, and education or 
training purposes, including the amount and sources of all other 
funds used to provide child care services; 

B. information regarding the number of families that 
requested child care assistance in the year immediately 
preceding the period covered by the allocation plan, the number 
of eligible families the county is able to serve in each 
program, the county's procedure for prioritizing child care 
assistance, and the number of families on a waiting list for 
child care assistance; 

C. methods the county uses to inform families of the 
availability of child care assistance and copies of county 
policies regarding child care services; 

D. information, as requested, on provider rates paid 
by provider type; 

E. the county's policy for approving and extending 
child care assistance for parents whose education programs 
change; 

F. the county's policy for providing child care 
assistance to families needing intermittent child care 
assistance under part 3400.0140, subpart 11; 

G. a statement that the county has not reduced child 
care funding as required under Minnesota Statutes, section 
119B.11, subdivision 4; 

H. copies of all subcontracts governing program 
administration if the administering agency is not the county; 

I. the county's eligibility priority for ACCESS child 
care; and 

J. other information, as requested by the 
commissioner, that describes the county's policies and 
procedures used to administer the child care fund. 

Subp. 3. Plan approval and amendments. The commissioner 
shall inform each county of the approval of its allocation plan 
within 60 cafendar days after the submission deadline. If the 
plan is not approved, the commissioner shall inform the county 
why the plan was not approved. No child fund allocations shall 
be made to a county until it has an approved allocation plan. 
The county may request approval to amend its child care 
allocation plan at any time. If approved by the commissioner, 
the amendment is effective on the date requested by the county 
unless a different effective date is set by the commissioner. 
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Plan amendments must be approved or disapproved by the 
commissioner within 60 days after receipt of the amendment 
request. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144; L 1999 c 205 art 5 s 21 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0160 DUTIES OF ADMINISTERING AGENCY. 

Subpart 1. Child care assistance information. The 
administering agency shall provide families with information 
supplied by the department regarding the availability of federal 
and state child care tax credits and federal earned income tax 
credits. At the time of the request for child care assistance, 
the administering agency shall inform the family of the 
following: 

A. eligibility requirements under the child care fund 
and documentation necessary to confirm eligibility; 

B. the existence of a child care assistance waiting 
list and the number of families on the waiting list; 

C. the procedure for applying for child care 
assistance; 

D. the family copayrnent fee schedule and how the fee 
is computed; and 

E. the family's rights and responsibilities when 
choosing a provider. 

Subp. 2. Application procedure. An administering agency 
must follow the application procedures in items A to D. 

A. If it appears that a family is eligible for child 
care assistance and funds are available or if a family requests 
an application, the administering agency shall mail or hand the 
family a child care assistance application. 

B. If a family requests child care assistance and 
funds are not available, the administering agency shall inform 
the family of a waiting list, screen the family for potential 
eligibility, and place the family on the waiting list if they 
appear eligible. 

C. If child care funds become available, the 
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administering agency shall inform the family at the head of the 
waiting list and ask the family to complete an application. The 
administering agency shall accept signed and dated applications 
that are submitted by mail or delivered to the agency within 15 
calendar days after the date of signature. The administering 
agency shall mail a notice of approval or denial of assistance 
to the applicant within 30 calendar days after receiving the 
application. With the consent of the applicant, the 
administering agency may extend the response time by 15 calendar 
days. 

D. The administering agency shall document the reason 
or reasons for denying an application for child care assistance, 
shall inform the applicant of the reason for denial, and shall 
inform the applicant of the right to a fair hearing under part 
3400.0230. 

Subp. 3. Date of eligibility for assistance. The date of 
eligibility for child care assistance under parts 3400.0060 and 
3400.0080 is the later of the date the application was signed; 
the beginning date of employment, education, or training; or the 
date a determination has been made that the applicant is a 
participant in employment and training programs under part 
3400.0080, subpart 2, or Minnesota Statutes, section 256.736. 
The date of eligibility for child care assistance under part 
3400.0090 is the date the family ceased to be eligible for AFDC 
as a result of increased hours of employment, increased income 
from employment, or the loss of disregards due to time 
limitations. Upon approval of the application for assistance 
under part 3400.0090, child care assistance shall be made 
retroactive to the date the family ceased to be eligible for 
AFDC if all other provisions of parts 3400.0010 to 3400.0230 are 
met. 

The notice of approval of the application must state the 
following: 

A. the beginning date of eligibility; 

B. that any change in income, address, family size, 
marital status, provider, or employment, education, or training 
status must be reported within ten calendar days from the date 
the change occurs; and 

C. that, if child care assistance is terminated, the 
recipient will be informed of the reason for the termination and 
providers who receive vendor payments will be informed that, 
unless the family requests to continue to receive assistance 
pending an appeal, child care payments will no longer be made. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 
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3400.0170 DETERMINATION OF INCOME ELIGIBILITY FOR CHILD CARE 
ASSISTANCE. 

Subpart 1. Proof of income eligibility. An applicant 
requesting child care assistance must provide proof of income 
eligibility. For the purpose of determining income eligibility, 
annual income is the income of the family for the current month 
multiplied by 12, the income for the 12-month period immediately 
preceding the date of application, or the income for the time 
period that provides the most accurate assessment of annual 
income available to the family. The administering agency must 
use the method that provides the most accurate assessment of 
annual income currently available to the family. Income must be 
verified with documentary evidence. If the applicant does not 
have sufficient evidence of income, verification must be 
obt~ined from the source of income. 

Subp. 2. Evaluation of income of AFDC families. The 
administering agency shall determine the income of AFDC families 
based on AFDC requirements under parts 9500.2000 to 9500.2880. 

Subp. 3. Evaluation of income of non-AFDC families. The 
administering agency shall determine income received or 
available to a non-AFDC family according to subparts 4 to 13. 
All income, unless specifically excluded in subpart 6, must be 
counted as income. 

Subp. 4. Determination of annual gross income. The income 
standard for determining eligibility for child care assistance 
is annual gross income. Annual gross income is the sum of gross 
earned income, self-employment income, unearned income, and lump 
sum payments. Gross earned income, self-employment income, 
unearned income, and lump sum payments must be calculated 
separately. 

Subp. 5. Gross earned income of wage and salary employees. 
Gross earned income means earned income from employment before 
mandatory and voluntary payroll deductions. Gross earned income 
includes, but is not limited to, salaries, wages, tips, 
gratuities, commissions, incentive payments from work or 
training programs, payments made by an employer for regularly 
accrued vacation or sick leave, and profits from other activity 
earned by an individual's effort or labor. Gross earned income 
includes uniform and meal allowances if federal income tax is 
deducted from the allowance. Gross earned income includes 
flexible work benefits received from an employer if the employee 
has the option of receiving the benefit or benefits in cash. 
Gross earned income received by persons employed on a 
contractual basis must be prorated over the period covered by 
the contract even when payments are received over a lesser 
period of time. When housing is provided as part of the total 
work compensation, the fair market value of such housing shall 
be considered as if it were paid in cash. 

Subp. 6. Excluded income. The administering agency shall 
exclude items A to G from annual gross income: 
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A. scholarships, work-study income, and grants that 
cover costs for tuition, fees, books, and educational supplies; 

B. student loans for tuition, fees, books, supplies, 
and living expenses; 

C. earned income tax credits, in-kind noncash public 
assistance income such as food stamps, energy assistance, child 
care assistance, medical assistance, and housing subsidies; 

D. income from summer or part-time employment of 16, 
17, and 18-year-old full-time secondary school students; 

E. grant awards under the family subsidy program; 

F. nonrecurring lump sum income that is earmarked and 
used for the purpose for which it is paid; and 

G. child or spouse support paid to a person or 
persons who live outside of the household. 

Subp. 7. Earned income from self-employment. In 
determining annual gross income for purposes of eligibility 
under this part, the administering agency shall determine earned 
income from self-employment. Earned income from self-employment 
is the difference between gross receipts and authorized 
self-employment expenses which may not include expenses under 
subpart 8. Self-employment business accounts must be kept 
separate from the family's personal checking and savings 
accounts. If the person's business is a partnership or a 
corporation and that person is drawing a salary, the salary 
shall be treated as gross earned income under subpart 5. 

Subp. 8. Self-employment deductions.which are not allowed. 
In determining eligibility under this part, self-employment 
expenses must be subtracted from gross receipts. However, the 
expenses listed in •items A to M shall not be subtracted from 
gross receipts: 

A. purchases of capital assets; 

B. payments on the principal of loans for capital 
assets; 

C. depreciation; 

D. amortization; 

E. the wholesale costs of items purchased, processed, 
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or manufactured that are unsold inventory with a deduction for 
the costs of those items allowed at the time they are sold; 

F. transportation costs that exceed the amount 
allowed for use of a personal car in the United States Internal 
Revenue Code; 

G. the cost of transportation between the 
individual's home and his or her place of employment; 

H. salaries and other employment deductions made for 
members of a family for whom an employer is legally responsible, 
provided family income is only counted once; 

I. monthly expenses greater than $71 for each roomer; 

J. monthly expenses greater than $86 for each 
boarder; 

K. monthly expenses greater than $157 for each 
roomer-boarder; 

L. annual expenses greater than $103 or two percent 
of the estimated market value on a county tax assessment form, 
whichever is greater, as a deduction for upkeep and repair 
against rental income; and 

M. expenses not allowed by the United States Internal 
Revenue Code for self-employment income. 

Subp. 9·. Self-employment budget period. Gross receipts 
from self-employment must be budgeted in the month in which they 
are received. Expenses must be budgeted against gross receipts 
in the month the expenses are paid except for items A to C. 

A. The purchase cost of inventory items, including 
materials that are processed or manufactured, must be deducted 
as an expense at the time payment is received for the sale of 
those inventory items, processed materials, or manufactured 
items, regardless of when those costs are incurred or paid. 

B. Expenses to cover employee FICA, employee tax 
withholding, sales tax withholding, employee worker's 
compensation, employee unemployment compensation, business 
insurance, property rental, property taxes, and other costs that 
are commonly paid at least annually, but less often than 
monthly, must be prorated forward as deductions from gross 
receipts over the period they are intended to cover, beginning 
with the month in which the payment for these items is made. 

C. Gross receipts from self-employment may be 
prorated forward to equal the period of time over which the 
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expenses were incurred. However, gross receipts must not be 
prorated over a period that exceeds 12 months. This provision 
applies only when gross receipts are not received monthly but 
expenses are incurred on an ongoing monthly basis. 

Subp. 10. Determination of farm income. Farm income must 
be determined for a one-year period. Farm income is gross 
receipts minus operating expenses, except for expenses listed in 
subpart 8. Gross receipts include sales, rents, subsidies, soil 
conservation payments, production derived from livestock, and 
income from the sale of home-produced foods. 

Subp. 11. Determination of rental income. Income from 
rental property is considered self-employment earnings when the 
owner spends an average of 20 or more hours per week on 
maintenance or management of the property. The administering 
agency shall deduct an amount for upkeep and repairs according 
to subpart 8, item L, for real estate taxes, insurance, 
utilities, and interest on principal payments. When a family 
lives on the rental property, the administering agency shall 
divide the expenses for upkeep, taxes, insurance, utilities, and 
interest by the number of units to determine the expense per 
unit. The administering agency shall deduct expenses from 
rental income only for the number of units rented, not for units 
occupied by family members. When an owner does not spend an 
average of 20 or more hours per week on maintenance or 
management of the property, income from rental property is 
considered unearned income. The deductions described in this 
subpart are subtracted from gross rental receipts. 

Subp. 12. Determination of unearned income. Unearned 
income includes, but is not limited to, interest, dividends, 
unemployment compensation, disability insurance payments, 
veteran benefits, pension payments, child support and spousal 
support received or anticipated to be received by a family, 
insurance payments or settlements, and severance payments. 
Expenditures necessary to secure payment of unearned income are 
deducted from unearned income. Payments for illness or 
disability, except for those payments described as earned income 
in subpart 5, are considered unearned income whether the premium 
payments are made wholly or in part by an employer or by a 
recipient. 

Subp. 13. Treatment of lump sum payments. Lump sum 
payments received by a family must be considered earned income 
under subparts 7 to 11 or unearned income according to subpart 
12. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0180 REDETERMINATION OF ELIGIBILITY. 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/cgi-bin/getrulechap.pl 

Page 40 of 48 

01/31/2000 



The county shall redetermine a family's eligibility for 
child care assistance and the family's copayment fee when 
notified by the family of a change in the information required 
to be reported in part 3400.0040, subpart 4, or at least every 
six months, whichever occurs first. 

A redetermination of eligibility shall not be treated as a 
new application for child care assistance. If, as a result of 
redetermination of eligibility, a family is found to be 
ineligible for further child care assistance, the county shall 
terminate the child care assistance as provided in part 
9565.5110, subpart 10. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0190 QUARTERLY FINANCIAL AND PROGRAM ACTIVITY REPORTS. 

Counties shall submit, in the manner prescribed by the 
commissioner, a quarterly financial and program activity 
report. The report is due within 20 calendar days after the end 
of each quarter. The financial and program activity report must 
include: 

A. a detailed accounting of the expenditures and 
revenues for the child care fund during the preceding quarter by 
funding source and eligibility group; 

B. a description of child care activities and 
expenditures that are reimbursable under state and federal 
reimbursement programs; and 

C. other information concerning financial or program 
activity as requested by the department. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0200 QUARTERLY PAYMENTS. 

The commissioner shall make payments to the counties in 
quarterly installments. The commissioner may certify an advance 
to the counties for the first quarter of the fiscal year. 
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Payments made to the counties after the first quarter shall be 
based on actual expenditures as reported by the counties in the 
quarterly financial and program activity report required under 
part 3400.0190. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0210 NOTICE OF NONCOMPLIANCE; FUNDING SANCTIONS. 

If the commissioner finds that a county is not complying 
with parts 3400.0010 to 3400.0230, the procedures in items A to 
F apply. 

A. The commissioner shall notify the county, by 
certified mail, of the rule part that the county has not 
complied with. 

B. Within 30 days after receiving the notice, the 
county must demonstrate to the commissioner that it is in 
compliance with the rule or must develop a correction plan to 
address the noncompliance. If the county can demonstrate 
compliance, the commissioner shall not take any further action. 

C. If the county submits a correction plan, the 
commissioner shall approve or disapprove the correction plan 
within 30 days after the date that it is received. If the 
commissioner approves the correction plan submitted by the 
county, the county shall have 90 days after the date of approval 
to implement the correction plan. 

D. If the county fails to demonstrate compliance or 
fails to implement the correction plan approved by the 
commissioner, the commissioner may withhold the county's child 
care fund allocations until the county is in compliance with the 
statute or rule. 

E. Funds withheld from a county under this part may 
be reallocated to other counties based on the formula in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 256H.03, subdivision 2. 

F. Counties may appeal the sanction in accordance 
with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, for contested cases. 

STAT AUTH:·MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519 
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Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0220 AUDIT EXCEPTIONS. 

The commissioner shall recover from counties state or 
federal money spent for child care that is ineligible under 
parts 3400.0010 to 3400.0230. If a federal audit exception is 
taken based on a percentage of federal earnings, all counties 
shall pay a share proportional to their respective federal 
earnings during the period in question. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0230 FAIR HEARING PROCESS. 

Subpart 1. Hearing request. An applicant or recipient of 
child care assistance adversely affected by an administering 
agency's action may request a fair hearing according to 
Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045, subdivision 3. 

Subp. 2. Informal conference. The administering agency 
shall offer an informal conference to applicants or recipients 
adversely affected by an agency action to attempt to resolve the 
dispute. The administering agency shall advise adversely 
affected applicants and recipients that a request for a 
conference with the agency is optional and does not delay or 
replace the right to a fair hearing under subpart 1. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 256H.01 to 256H.19 

HIST: 14 SR 519; 18 SR 1144 

Current as of 09/14/99 

3400.0235 AT-HOME INFANT CHILD CARE PROGRAM. 

Subpart 1. Purpose and applicability. This part governs 
the administration of the at-home infant child care program. 
Beginning July 1, 1998, a family in which a parent provides care 
for the family's infant child may receive a subsidy in lieu of 
child care ass~stance if the family is eligible for, or is 
receiving assistance under, the basic sliding fee program 
governed by parts 3400.0010 to 3400.0230. 

Subp. 2. Administration of at-home infant child care 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/cgi-bin/getrulechap.pl 

Page 43 of 48 

01/31/2000 



program. The commissioner shall establish a funding pool of up 
to seven percent of the annual appropriation for the basic 
sliding fee program to provide assistance under the at-home 
infant child care program. Within the limits of available 
funding, the commissioner shall make payments to counties for 
expenditures under the at-home infant child care program. 
Participation in the statewide pool shall be determined based on 
the order in which requests are received from counties. 
Following the birth of an infant, counties shall submit family 
requests for participation in the at-home infant child care 
program on forms provided by the commissioner. The commissioner 
shall respond within seven days to county inquiries about the 
availability of funds. The commissioner shall monitor the use 
of the pool and if the available funding is obligated, the 
commissioner shall create a waiting list of at-home infant child 
care referrals from the counties. As funds become available to 
the pool, the commissioner shall notify counties in which 
eligible families on the waiting list reside. 

At the end of the state fiscal year, any unspent funds must 
be used for child care assistance under the basic sliding fee 
program. 

Subp. 3. General eligibility requirementso Items A to E 
govern eligibility for the program. 

A. Eligible families must meet the requirements of 
Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.061, subdivision 2. For 
purposes of this subpart, "other cash assistance" under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.061, subdivision 2, means other 
public cash assistance and includes the work first program under 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256K. "Other child care assistance" 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.061, subdivision 2, means 
MFIP child care assistance, transition year child care 
assistance, subsidized adoption payments designated to cover 
child care costs associated with participating in job search, 
employment, or education, and the postsecondary child care grant 
program administered by the Minnesota Higher Education Services 
Office under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.125. 

B. A family is eligible to receive assistance under 
the at-home infant child care program if one parent provides 
full-time care for the infant. The eligible parent must meet 
the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.061, 
subdivision 3. The requirements of caring for the infant 
full-time may be met by one or both parents. Eligible parents 
include parents, stepparents, guardians and their spouses. 
Nonfamily members may provide regular care for the child but are 
limited to a maximum of ten hours of care per week. 

C. A family may apply for the at-home infant child 
care program before the child is born or anytime during the 
infant's first year. Following the birth of a child, a family 
is eligible to receive a subsidy under the at-home infant child 
care program when application to the program is made and when 
funding is available. A family shall only receive subsidy 
payments through the infant's twelfth month. 11 Infant II means a 
child from birth through 12 months of age and includes adopted 
infants. 
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D. A family is limited to a lifetime total of 12 
months of at-home infant child care assistance. At the time of 
application to the program, the parent or parents must declare 
whether they have previously participated in the at-home infant 
child care program or used any portion of the MFIP one-year 
infant exemption under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256J. If the 
parent or parents declare that they have participated in the 
at-home infant child care program or used the MFIP one-year 
infant exemption, the commissioner shall, at the request of the 
county, inform the county of the remaining months of eligibility 
for the at-home infant child care program. 

E. At the time of application to the at-home infant 
child care program, the family must be eligible according to 
part 3400.0040, subpart 5, and Minnesota Statutes, section 
119B.061, subdivision 2, clause (4), and be income-eligible 
based on these activities. When a family is placed on a waiting 
list for the basic sliding fee program after a preliminary 
determination of eligibility under part 3400.0060, subpart 6, 
the family will be eligible to apply for the at-home infant 
child care program when the family's name moves to the top of 
the waiting list. If a family is still on the waiting list 
after leaving an authorized activity due to the birth or 
impending birth of the infant, the family will be eligible to 
apply for the at-home infant child care program when the 
family's name moves to the top of the waiting list. 

F. During the period a family receives a subsidy 
under the at-home infant child care program, the family is not 
eligible to receive basic sliding fee child care assistance for 
the infant or any other child in the family. 

Subp. 4. Continued eligibility under basic sliding fee 
program. When families end their participation in the at-home 
infant child care program, they must be served under the basic 
sliding fee program if they request continued child care 
assistance and otherwise meet all eligibility factors for the 
basic sliding fee program. 

Subp. 5. Assistance payments. Items A to C govern 
assistance payments under the at-home infant child care program. 

A. The number of months of at-home infant child care 
participation used shall be credited to the eligible parent. If 
the eligible parent later forms a new family, the number of 
months of at-home infant child care subsidy received in 
combination with the months of the MFIP infant exemption used 
under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256J, shall be subtracted from 
the maximum assistance available under this part. 

B. The maximum subsidy must be at 75 percent of the 
rate established under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.13, for 
full-time care of infants in licensed family day care in the 
applicant's county of residence. There is no additional subsidy 
for infants with special needs. The maximum subsidy for 
full-time care shall be converted to a monthly amount. From 
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that monthly amount, the county must subtract the family's 
monthly copayment required by part 3400.0100 to determine the 
final at-home infant child care monthly subsidy for the family. 

C. Family income shall be determined or redetermined 
at the time a family applies for the at-home infant child care 
program. Family income shall be annualized from the beginning 
of the month in which the family would first participate in the 
at-home infant child care program. Family income includes: 

(1) subsidy payments received as part of the 
at-home infant child care program. According to Minnesota 
Statutes, section 119B.061, subdivision 4, paragraph (b), 
counties shall use the copayment amount the family was paying or 
would have paid under the basic sliding fee program to estimate 
the subsidy payment; 

(2) income from vacation leave; 

(3) sick or temporary disability benefit 
payments; and 

(4) other income the family may receive while 
participating in the at-home infant child care program, as 
determined under part 3400.0170 and Minnesota Statutes, section 
119B.011, subdivision 16. 

Excluded income is defined in part 3400.0170, subpart 6, 
and Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.011, subdivision 16. The 
calculation of the family copayment fee is described in part 
3400.0100, subpart 4. 

D. For purposes of counting the number of months that 
a family has participated in the at-home infant child care 
program, any portion of a month in which a family receives a 
subsidy under the at-home infant child care program is 
considered a full month of participation in the at-home infant 
child care program. 

For purposes of calculating the at-home infant child 
care program copayment and subsidy in the first month, the 
county shall use the method described in part 3400.0100, subpart 
4, item E. In addition, the county shall prorate the subsidy 
received in the first and last month of participation according 
to subitems (1) to (4). 

(1) If the family participates in the at-home 
infant child care program during the month in which the infant 
is born, the subsidy must be prorated to cover the number of 
calendar days from the date of birth until the end of the month. 

(2) If the family participates in the at-home 
infant child care program during the month of the infant's first 
birthday, the subsidy must be prorated to cover the number of 
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calendar days from the beginning of the month to the date of the 
infant's first birthday. 

(3) If the eligible parent leaves employment or 
another authorized activity in order to participate in the 
at-home infant child care program, the subsidy must be prorated 
to cover the number of calendar days from the date the eligible 
parent leaves the authorized activity to the end of the month. 

(4) If the eligible parent returns to an 
authorized activity and will no longer be participating in the 
at-home infant child care program, the subsidy must be prorated 
to cover the number of calendar days from the beginning of the 
month to the date the parent returns to the authorized 
activity. If all other eligibility conditions are met, the 
family shall be eligible to receive basic sliding fee child care 
assistance beginning on the day the eligible parent returns to 
the authorized activity. 

Subp. 6. County responsibilities. Items A to D govern 
county responsibilities for the program. 

A. In addition to duties required under parts 
3400.0140 and 3400.0160, counties shall perform the following 
functions to administer the at-home infant child care program: 

(1) establish the subsidy amount; 

(2) determine an estimated length of time the 
family will participate; 

(3) determine availability of and encumber 
ongoing basic sliding fee funding; 

(4) consult with the commissioner on the 
availability of funds; 

(5) forward applicant information as designated 
to the commissioner; 

(6) issue payments under the at-home infant child 
care program; and 

(7) notify the commissioner when a family's 
participation in the at-home infant child care program ends. 

B. A county may not accept a family as a participant 
in the at-home infant child care program without sufficient 
basic sliding fee program funds to pay for the family's 
anticipated cost of child care assistance after a family's 
participation in the at-home infant child care program ends. 
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C. During program participation, the county shall 
apply billing procedures established under Minnesota Statutes, 
chapter 119B, to issue the monthly at-home infant child care 
subsidy to families. 

D. When a family's participation in the at-home 
infant child care program ends, the county shall send the family 
and the commissioner a notice indicating the number of months 
the family participated in the at-home infant child care program 
in that county. 

Subp. 7. Data collection.· The commissioner shall devel9p 
and implement an evaluation plan for the at-home infant child 
care program. Counties must participate in data collection for 
the evaluation and must adjust their data collection to reflect 
changes in the evaluation plan. 

STAT AUTH: MS s 119B.02; 119B.061 

HIST: 23 SR 1625; L 1999 c 205 art 5 s 21 

Current as of 09/14/99 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/cgi-bin/getrulechap.pl 

Page 48 of 48 

01/31/2000 



PARENT RESPONSES TO AHIC EVALUATION 
Answers to open-ended questions 

Attachment E 

Why did you choose to participate in the At-Home Infant Child Care Program? 

Of the nineteen parents who responded to this question about what initially motivated 
them to participate in AHIC, nine gave developmental and bonding reasons for 
participating. 
• I thought it would be a great opportunity for my kids and I to spend a little more time 

together especially with a new baby. 
• We felt that is was extremely important to have a parent stay home with our child for 

the first year, the developmental advantages of a child staying at home are 
undeniable. 

• Because I wanted to stay home with my child. 
• I chose it because I like to stay at home with my baby since she was so young. But 

now I am working. I also chose it because it was helpful to me. 
• Because I had one month without pay during my maternity leave from work and I 

would also be able to stay home a couple weeks longer with my infant. 
• I wanted to be home with my child. 
• To benefit my child. I felt it was better for my child to be cared for by me rather than 

daycare. 
• So I could stay home with my daughter. 
• Because I feel the first two years of a child's life are the most important to have at 

least one parent always there. Day care is so expensive and I don't trust anyone 
who watches more than one baby. A baby is a 24 hours job alone. 

Another five gave financial reasons. 
• I knew that my child care bills would be more than I could afford at the time. 
• Supplement my income while on maternity leave 
• I was not being paid my full salary while on leave and I needed the help financially. 
• Financial help. 
• Supplemental family income because I quit work when I had my baby. 

Two merely stated that they participated because it was available. 
• Because it was offered to me. 
• Day care assistance worker notified me of the program while waiting for BSF. 

The final three gave reasons that were either a combination of the above reasons, or 
ambiguous. 
• AHIC sounded like a program that would help absorb some of the financial burden of 

being a stay at home mom. Cost of daycare is very expensive. Emotionally 
financially. So it is wonderful to be able to stay home during the first months. 

• Maternity leave. 
• To make it easier on my children and myself. 
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What were the benefits for you, your family and your infant in participating in the At­
Home Infant Child Care Program? 

Again, when listing the actual benefits, seven families stated bonding and 
developmental issues. 
• Spending time with child/child spending time with me. 
• My kids and I were able to spend more time together and more mother and newborn 

bonding. 
• Having as much time as possible with my baby before returning to work. 
• The benefits were that I got to stay home with my son and he didn't have to be in 

daycare. He would be at home with me. 
• Able to take complete care of my child. Able to watch his first year of development. 

Child was healthier. Able to care for myself better. Less stress. It was wonderful! I 
loved and will cherish those memories forever, wish it lasted longer. 

• No daycare. 
• To see her grow. 
• I got to stay home with my daughter. My husband know his daughter was in good 

hands and didn't have to worry about strangers watching her. My family says our 
daughter is so relaxed. I believe because she know mommy is there for her every 
need. 

Six listed financial benefits. 
• Income for my family while on maternity leave. 
• Provided financial support for child's needs. 
• Getting extra money. 
• It was income to help pay for baby supplies while I was home with son without child 

support or work benefits. 
• Helped out financially with rent while on maternity leave. 
• I was able to stay home longer with my children and I was not under as much stress 

to get my bills paid for the month. 

Four listed a combination of benefits, both bonding and financial. 
• Financial made it possible to have a parent stay home with our child. It gave the 

11 stay-at-home dad 11 a feeling of still financially providing for our household. It has 
been obvious that our baby was impacted, he is secure and developmentally excels. 
We have three other children that did not have to attend child care centers during 
the time on the program. 

• It has made it possible to spend more time at home with my son [rather] than more 
time at work. It has also helped me to continue to go to college full-time. 

• The benefits were that I got to stay home with my child and take care of her and it 
helped us buy stuff for our baby. 

• So I didn't have to work -cash - spending more time together as a family. 

One parent did not answer this question. 
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Was it difficult to participate in AHIC? If so why? 

Two parents listed reasons why it was diffic_ult (or somewhat difficult) to participate: 
• Besides my not liking to get help from the county or other people nothing was 

difficult to participate. 
• It was difficult because my income was substantially lower. 

The other fifteen parents did not indicate that it had been difficult. 

How could this program be improved? 

Ten parents responded to the question about how this program could be improved. 

Five made do not think it needs improvement: 
• I don1t think this program needs any improvement. 
• AHIC is a good experience for me. I have no suggestions for improvement. 
• It worked fine for me. 
• I thought it was great program. It helped us so I could spend more time with my 

children and not a friend or family member to stay with them. 
• I liked the program. 

One indicated that more information needs to be distributed: 
• More understanding of what AHIC is. 

One stated that the age limit of twelve months should be extended. 
• Extend it to 18 months. 
• Go for at least two years and also have it for every child (newborn) in a family, 

instead of only one child. 

Three stated that the subsidy level should be raised: 
• Although the financial assistance made it possible to stay home with our children, we 

definitely struggled financially during this time period. An increase in subsidy may 
have made it possible to stay home the full first year. When our child was 10 
months old, we financially had to have both parents work. 

• I feel that parents should stay home with their children for the first year. I think this 
program would be improved by raising income per month so more parents can stay 
home with their children. 

• Maybe you could pay more than $1.80 per hour. It just doesn 1t seem like a whole 
lot. 
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••• 
What is the 
At-Home Infant 
Child Care 
Program? 

The At-Home Infant Child Care 

Program (AHIC) helps families with 

children under one year of age cover 

some of the costs of staying home 

and caring for their infant. 

AHIC provides child care assistance 

funding to families who qualify 

to stay home for the first year 

of the baby's life. 

How will this 
help my baby? 

A baby's first year is an important 

time of learning and growth. Babies learn 

best from familiar people and things. 

Spending time with your baby 

during these early months is one way 

to help your baby learn and grow. 

Does my family qualify for AHIC? 
To qualify for AHIC, a family must: 

ft Be working, going to school, or look­
-.:r~ ing for work before the child is born, 

ft Meet income guidelines and 
~~ care for their infant full-time 

in their home, 

ft Not currently receive Minnesota 
~~ Family Investment Program (MFIP) 

cash assistance, 

ft Not currently receive child 
~~ 

.,'-', care assistance. 

Check with your county child care office 

to find out if you qualify for AHIC. 

to know? 
of the Basic Sliding 

(BSF) that helps parents 

pay for chilJ care while they are 

working, lodking for work or going 

to school. In~· some counties, there 
~ ', 

may be a 'W iting list for BSF. Even 

if there is ci~J ' aiting list, you still 

might be ab~ to get help from AHIC. 

ft If you qualify, you can participate 
~ in AHIC for a total of twelve 

months. The time can be spent with 

one baby or divided up between 

more than one infant. 

ft To qualify for AHIC, the parent 

~ staying home must be 1 8 years 

of age or older. 
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