OFFICE OF HIGHER EDUCATION

Minnesota Office of Higher Education 1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350 St. Paul, MN 55108

June 4, 2025

Senator Omar Fateh, Chair Higher Education Finance and Policy Committee Minnesota Senate Bldg., Room 3219 95 University Ave. W. St. Paul, MN 55155

Representative Dan Wolgamott, Co-Chair Higher Education Finance and Policy Committee 5th Floor Centennial Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Representative Marion Rarick, Co-Chair Higher Education Finance and Policy Committee 2nd Floor Centennial Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Senator Fateh, Representative Wolgamott, and Representative Rarick,

I am writing to notify you that the Office of Higher Education (OHE) will be making an additional transfer of funds to help meet the continued and well-known demand in the Minnesota State Grant program. Specifically, we are transferring unencumbered and balances of

- \$72,870 from Emergency Assistance for Postsecondary Students,
- \$15,876.75 from Student Parent Support,
- \$18,649 from Postsecondary Child Care Grants,
- \$370,000 from State Work Study,
- \$200,000 from Fostering Independence Grants,
- \$37,330.94 from State Get Ready,
- \$32,047.50 from Direct Admissions,
- \$23,215 from Higher Education Public Service Feasibility,
- \$10,000 from Student Basic Needs Workgroup,

for a total transfer of \$779,989.19, as authorized by Laws of Minnesota 2023, Regular Session, Chapter 41, Article 1, Sec. 2, Subd. 55. The Work Study and Child Care programs have surpluses after fulfilling all requests for funds through the end of FY25. The reallocation aligns with our commitment to maximizing available resources and ensuring students receive the State Grant award outlined in the financial aid award notice. If additional surpluses are identified, OHE anticipates making an additional transfer this fiscal year to meet the remaining program demand.

Please contact me if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

hall

Dennis Olson Jr. Commissioner

CC: Senator Zach Duckworth, Margaret Oliver, Nicauris Heredia-Rosario, Sam Parmekar, Sean Herring, Lorie Cousineau, Legislative Reference Library