

Minnesota Office of Higher Education 1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350 St. Paul, MN 55108

March 17, 2025

Senator Omar Fateh, Chair Higher Education Finance and Policy Committee Minnesota Senate Bldg., Room 3219 95 University Ave. W. St. Paul, MN 55155

Representative Dan Wolgamott, Co-Chair Higher Education Finance and Policy Committee 5th Floor Centennial Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Representative Marion Rarick, Co-Chair Higher Education Finance and Policy Committee 2nd Floor Centennial Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Senator Fateh, Representative Wolgamott, and Representative Rarick,

I am writing to notify you that the Office of Higher Education (OHE) will be making a transfer of funds to meet the growing demand for the Minnesota State Grant program. Due to higher-than-anticipated enrollment and continued student retention, we are transferring unencumbered balances of \$4,053,802 from the Work Study Program, \$1,172,320 from the Fostering Independence Grant program, \$269,677 from the Student Teacher Shortage Areas Grant program, and \$1,392,374 from the Underrepresented Student Teacher Grant program to the Minnesota State Grant program, for a total transfer of \$6,888,173, as authorized by Laws of Minnesota 2023, Regular Session, Chapter 41, Article 1, Sec. 2, Subd. 55.

These balances are available due to several factors. The Work Study Program has a surplus after fulfilling all requests for funds through the end of FY25. The Fostering Independence Grant program experienced slightly less growth than expected, leading to a lower-than-projected need. Additionally, all eligible students who met priority deadlines for Student Teacher Grants have been awarded funds, and the PELSB Student Teacher Stipend program covered some costs that would have otherwise been funded through OHE, leaving unspent balances in both student teacher grant programs.

The reallocation aligns with our commitment to maximizing available resources and ensuring students receive the financial aid they rely on.

Please contact me if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Dennis Olson Jr. Commissioner

CC: Senator Zach Duckworth, Margaret Oliver, Nicauris Heredia-Rosario, Sam Parmekar, Sean Herring, Lorie Cousineau, Legislative Reference Library