PARTICIPATION IN THE LIVABLE COMMUNITIES ACT LOCAL HOUSING INCENTIVES ACCOUNT, 2025

A Report to the Legislature Fulfilling Minnesota Statute 473.254, subd. 9



The Council's mission is to foster efficient and economic growth for a prosperous metropolitan region

Metropolitan Council Members

Charles A. Zelle	Chair	Diego Morales	District 9
Judy Johnson	District 1	Peter Lindstrom	District 10
Reva Chamblis	District 2	Dr. Gail Cederberg	District 11
Dr. Tyronne Carter	District 3	Susan Vento	District 12
Deb Barber	District 4	Chai Lee	District 13
John Pacheco Jr.	District 5	W. Toni Carter	District 14
Robert Lilligren	District 6	Tenzin Dolkar	District 15
Yassin Osman	District 7	Wendy Wulff	District 16
Anjuli Cameron	District 8	-	



The Metropolitan Council is the regional planning organization for the seven-county Twin Cities area. The Council operates the regional bus and rail system, collects and treats wastewater, coordinates regional water resources, plans and helps fund regional parks, and administers federal funds that provide housing opportunities for low- and moderate-income individuals and families. The 17-member Council board is appointed by and serves at the pleasure of the governor.

On request, this publication will be made available in alternative formats to people with disabilities. Call Metropolitan Council information at 651-602-1140 or TTY 651-291-0904.

Introduction

The Metropolitan Livable Communities Act (LCA) requires the Metropolitan Council to report to the Minnesota Legislature by February 1 of every year which municipalities elected to participate and which did not elect to participate in the local housing incentives account program ("Program") for that calendar year (Minn. Stat. § 473.254, subd. 9).

About the Livable Communities Act

The LCA supports regional policy for the expansion of opportunities for affordable and life-cycle housing throughout the region; creative development and redevelopment that links jobs, transportation, and housing; and revitalization of the region's older cities. Communities within the seven-county area that participate in the Program may receive grants or loans from the three funding accounts of the LCA: the tax base revitalization account, livable communities demonstration account, and the local housing incentives account. Further, only LCA-participating communities may apply for and receive grants from the polluted sites cleanup program administered by the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development. Finally, the law says the Council "shall give consideration to a municipality's participation" in the Program when making discretionary funding decisions.

LCA Participating Communities

As detailed on the following page, there are 78 communities participating in the LCA Program for 2025. Every 10 years, the Council and participating communities re-negotiate affordable and lifecycle housing goals following the completion of the decennial updates to local comprehensive plans required under the Metropolitan Land Planning Act. In 2020, the Council and communities negotiated affordable and lifecycle goals for the 2021-2030 decade. The primary requirement to participate in LCA is to adopt these goals, and communities must do so by November 15 of the prior year to participate through 2030, which is when current goals expire. The list on page 4 of this report includes the communities not participating in 2025. Figure 1 illustrates the geographic extent of participating communities.

Municipalities Participating in the Livable Communities Act Local Housing Incentives Program in 2025

Anoka County

Blaine Centerville Columbia Heights Coon Rapids Fridley Lino Lakes Ramsey St. Francis

Carver County

Carver Chanhassen Chaska Maver **New Germany** Victoria Waconia

Dakota County

Apple Valley Burnsville Eagan Farmington Hastings

Watertown

Inver Grove Heights

Rosemount South St. Paul West St. Paul

Hennepin County Bloomington

Brooklyn Center Brooklyn Park Crystal Eden Prairie Edina Excelsion Golden Valley Hopkins Long Lake Loretto Maple Grove Medina Minneapolis Minnetonka New Hope Osseo Plymouth Richfield Robbinsdale Rogers St. Anthony St. Louis Park Tonka Bav Wayzata

Ramsey County

Arden Hills Falcon Heights Lauderdale Little Canada Maplewood Mounds View New Brighton North St. Paul Roseville Shoreview St. Paul

Vadnais Heights White Bear Lake White Bear Township

Scott County

Belle Plaine Elko New Market Jordan Prior Lake

Savage Shakopee

Washington County

Cottage Grove Hugo Mahtomedi Newport Oakdale St. Paul Park Stillwater Woodbury

Municipalities Not Participating in the Livable Communities Act Local Housing Incentives Program in 2025

Afton
Andover
Anoka
Bayport
Baytown Twp.
Belle Plaine Twp.
Benton Twp.
Bethel

Birchwood Blakeley Twp. Camden Twp. Castle Rock Twp. Cedar Lake Twp.

Champlin

Circle Pines Coates Cologne Columbus Corcoran

Credit River Twp.
Dahlgren Twp.
Dayton
Deephaven
Dellwood
Denmark Twp.
Douglas Twp.
East Bethel

Empire Township Eureka Twp. Forest Lake

Gem Lake

Grant Greenfield Greenvale Twp.

Greenwood

Grey Cloud Twp. Ham Lake

Hamburg Hampton Hampton Twp. Hancock Twp. Hassan Twp. Helena Twp.

Hilltop Hollywo

Hollywood Twp. Independence Jackson Twp. Lake Elmo

Lake St. Croix Beach

Lakeland

Lakeland Shores Laketown Twp.

Lakeville
Landfall
Lexington
Lilydale
Linwood Twp.
Louisville Twp.
Maple Plain

Maple Plain
Marine on St. Croix
Marshan Twp.
May Twp.
Medicine Lake
Mendota

Mendota Heights

Miesville

Minnetonka Beach Minnetrista Mound

New Market Twp.

New Trier Nininger Twp. North Oaks Norwood/Young Nowthen

Oak Grove
Oak Park Heights

Orono
Pine Springs

Randolph Randolph Twp. Ravena Twp.

San Francisco Twp. Sand Creek Twp.

Scandia
Sciota Twp.
Shorewood
Spring Lake Park
Spring Lake Twp.
Spring Park

St. Bonifacius
St. Lawrence Twp.
St. Mary's Point
Stillwater Twp.
Sunfish Lake
Vermillion
Vermillion Twp.
Waconia Twp.
Waterford Twp.
Watertown Twp.
West Lakeland Twp.

Willernie Woodland

Young America Twp.

County Boundaries Bethel City and Township Boundaries East Oak Grove METROPOLITAN C O U N C | L 2025 LCA Participating Communities ANOKA Columbus Forest Lake Andover Scandia Dayton Marine on St. Croix Blaine Centervi May Twp. Lexington White North Bear Oaks Lake Seseo Brooklyn Maple Stillwater Twp. Corcoran Greenfield Rockford Grant Crysta Brooklyn Hillion retto WASHINGTON Plymouth Baytown Oak Twp. Park Lake Heights RAMSEY HENNEPIN Golden Valley Heights Bayport Lake Elmo Minnetrista Plair West Lakeland Falcon Heights St. Paul Lakeland Wetertown Orono Minneapolis Spring Park Minnetonka Moundronka Beach Deepha Hollywood Twp. Watertown Twp. Afton St Germany Edina Croix Snelling Richfield Waconia Laketowr Camden Twp. Heights Bloomington CARVER 汉 Chaska Denmark Heights Louisville Twp. Shakopee Dahlgren Benton Nininger Twp. Young America Ha**mb**urg Hastings Spring Lake Twp. Credit River Twp. DAKOTA Vermillion SCOTT Douglas Hampton Trier Twp. Hampton Helena Twp. New Cedar Lake Twp. Castle Rock Twp. Miesville Twp. Prague Randolph Randolph _{Twp}. Naterford Sciota Twp. 0 4.5 9 18 Miles

Figure 1. Livable Communities Act Participating Communities, 2025

Source: Metropolitan Council Livable Communities, 2025



390 Robert Street North Saint Paul, MN 55101-1805

651.602.1000 TTY 651.291.0904 public.info@metc.state.mn.us metrocouncil.org

Follow us on: twitter.com/metcouncilnews facebook.com/MetropolitanCouncil youtube.com/MetropolitanCouncil