State of Minnesota Civil Service Department St. Paul 1

CIVIL SERVICE BOARD MRS. HARINGTON BEARD F. W. RUSSELL GEORGE F. ZIESMER

January 4, 1946

ACTING DIRECTOR ROBERT D. STOVER

Honorable J. A. A. Burnquist Attorney General State of Minnesota State Capitol Saint Paul 1, Minnesota

Dear General Burnquist:

1-5-46.

In compliance with the provisions of the Laws of 1945, Chapter 452, we are submitting for your approval the Civil Service Rule revisions adopted by the Civil Service Board, following public hearing, at its meeting of January 3, 1945. The rules are quoted in their entirety, with the new or amended parts underlined.

"5.4 Hourly, Daily and Weekly Rates

"Monthly rates of pay shall be paid except that on certification by an appointing authority that payment of monthly rates for certain classes within his jurisdiction is not feasible because of the temporary or intermittent nature of the work, the civil service director may authorize the payment of daily or hourly rates for the classes concerned. Such daily or hourly rates shall be computed from the monthly rates established in the compensation plan and in no case shall exceed the maximum of the established range for the class of positions involved except that for employment on a strictly temporary or project basis, the director may authorize a rate of pay which may exceed the maximum of the range provided, by not more than 50%. In adjusting monthly rates to hourly, daily, or weekly rates, the number of hours, days, or weeks in the work month as established in the schedule provided for in Rule 13.1, shall be divided into the monthly rate and shall be determined by the following formulae:

		Monthly rate x 12
Hourly Rate		No. of hours per work week x 52
	÷	Monthly rate
Daily Rate	=	

4 1/3 x No. of days in the work week



Page 2

Weekly Rate = Monthly rate 4 1/3

"Payments for less than a full payroll period to employees paid on a monthly salary basis shall be determined by multiplying the salary for the payroll period by the number of calendar days for which payment is to be made and dividing the result by the number of calendar days in the particular payroll period involved with the following exception:

"When computing a deduction for an employee on leave of absence without pay for a period not exceeding the number of calendar days in the work week of the agency by which he is employed the deduction shall be determined by multiplying the salary for the payroll period by the number of work days the employee was absent and dividing the result by the number of calendar days in the particular payroll period involved.

"The following number of calendar days shall constitute the semi-monthly payroll periods for the months indicated:

> 28 day month - 14 days 29 day month - 14 $\frac{1}{2}$ days 30 day month - 15 days 31 day month - 15 $\frac{1}{2}$ days

"All computations of hourly, daily and weekly rates shall be made on the basis of the adjusted monthly rates established in the compensation plan."

The revision to the following Rule was prompted by a petition submitted by Dr. R. N. Barr, Public Health Physician V in the Department of Health, requesting that Rule 13.7 be amended, modified, or waived to preserve the rights of employees with annual leave in excess of twenty-four days to their credit at the time of reinstatement.

"13.7 Vacation Leave

"Each employee in the classified service shall earn vacation with pay at the rate of one working day for each full month of service. Appointing authorities shall determine the time at which vacation leave may be taken. No vacation leave shall be granted during the first six months of service, but upon satisfactory

Honorable J. A. A. Burnquist

Page 3

completion of such period, vacation leave shall accrue to the employee for the time served. Unused vacation leave may be accumulated to a total of twenty-four working days provided, however, that an employee who is about to lose a day of vacation leave because of the limitation of accrual imposed by this rule, upon advance notice to the appointing authority, may within the 30 days following absent himself with or without the consent of his appointing authority to prevent the loss of such day, and action so taken by the employee shall not constitute a basis for disciplinary action or loss of pay.

"An employee on military leave as provided in Rule 13.11 shall not be limited to twenty-four days accrual of vacation leave. He may immediately upon his reinstatement from military leave take all vacation leave in excess of twenty-four days with or without the consent of his appointing authority. In the alternative, he may elect to be credited with the vacation leave in excess of twenty-four days, but such leave shall be taken at a time determined by the appointing authority prior to July 1. 1947. Any employee who has heretofore been reinstated but has not taken his vacation leave in excess of twenty-four days shall be entitled to the benefits provided in the preceding sentence.

"Any employee who is separated from the state service by layoff, resignation, death or otherwise and any employee who is transferred or who accepts employment under the jurisdiction of a new appointing authority of the state shall be entitled upon such separation, transfer, or acceptance of such new employment to pay for any unused portion of his annual leave allowance."

Respectfully yours,

STATE OF MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF STATE FILED JAN 51946 ~ 10 am Robert D. Stover Director

All Burgers, 1942. Jall Burgerst atte Ben.