# PARTICIPATION IN THE LIVABLE COMMUNITIES ACT LOCAL HOUSING INCENTIVES ACCOUNT, 2024

A Report to the Legislature Fulfilling Minnesota Statute 473.254, subd. 9



## The Council's mission is to foster efficient and economic growth for a prosperous metropolitan region

#### **Metropolitan Council Members**

Charles A. Zelle	Chair	Diego Morales	District 9
Judy Johnson	District 1	Peter Lindstrom	District 10
Reva Chamblis	District 2	Dr. Gail Cederberg	District 11
Dr. Tyronne Carter	District 3	Susan Vento	District 12
Deb Barber	District 4	Chai Lee	District 13
John Pacheco Jr.	District 5	W. Toni Carter	District 14
Robert Lilligren	District 6	Tenzin Dolkar	District 15
Yassin Osman	District 7	Wendy Wulff	District 16
Anjuli Cameron	District 8	-	



The Metropolitan Council is the regional planning organization for the seven-county Twin Cities area. The Council operates the regional bus and rail system, collects and treats wastewater, coordinates regional water resources, plans and helps fund regional parks, and administers federal funds that provide housing opportunities for low- and moderate-income individuals and families. The 17-member Council board is appointed by and serves at the pleasure of the governor.

On request, this publication will be made available in alternative formats to people with disabilities. Call Metropolitan Council information at 651-602-1140 or TTY 651-291-0904.

#### Introduction

The Metropolitan Livable Communities Act (LCA) requires the Metropolitan Council to report to the Minnesota Legislature by February 1 of every year which municipalities elected to participate and which did not elect to participate in the local housing incentives account program ("Program") for that calendar year (Minn. Stat. § 473.254, subd. 9).

#### About the Livable Communities Act

The LCA supports regional policy for the expansion of opportunities for affordable and life-cycle housing throughout the region; creative development and redevelopment that links jobs, transportation, and housing; and revitalization of the region's older cities. Communities within the seven-county area that participate in the Program may receive grants or loans from the three funding accounts of the LCA: the tax base revitalization account, livable communities demonstration account, and the local housing incentives account. Further, only LCA-participating communities may apply for and receive grants from the polluted sites cleanup program administered by the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development. Finally, the law says the Council "shall give consideration to a municipality's participation" in the Program when making discretionary funding decisions.

#### LCA Participating Communities

As detailed on the following page, there are 77 communities participating in the LCA Program for 2024. Every 10 years, the Council and participating communities re-negotiate affordable and lifecycle housing goals following the completion of the decennial updates to local comprehensive plans required under the Metropolitan Land Planning Act. In 2020, the Council and communities negotiated affordable and lifecycle goals for the 2021-2030 decade. The primary requirement to participate in LCA is to adopt these goals, and communities must do so by November 15 of the prior year to participate through 2030, which is when current goals expire. The list on page 4 of this report includes the communities not participating in 2024. Figure 1 illustrates the geographic extent of participating communities.

## Municipalities Participating in the Livable Communities Act Local Housing Incentives Program in 2024

#### **Anoka County**

Blaine
Centerville
Columbia Heights
Coon Rapids
Fridley
Lino Lakes
Ramsey
St. Francis

#### **Carver County**

Carver Chanhassen Chaska Mayer New Germany Victoria

Waconia

Watertown **Dakota County** 

Apple Valley
Burnsville
Eagan
Farmington
Hastings

Inver Grove Heights

Rosemount South St. Paul West St. Paul

#### **Hennepin County**

Bloomington Brooklyn Center Brooklyn Park Crystal Eden Prairie Edina Excelsion Golden Valley Hopkins Long Lake Loretto Maple Grove Medina Minneapolis Minnetonka New Hope Osseo Plymouth Richfield Robbinsdale Rogers St. Louis Park Tonka Bav Wayzata

#### Ramsey County

Arden Hills Falcon Heights Lauderdale
Little Canada
Maplewood
Mounds View
New Brighton
North St. Paul
Roseville
Shoreview
St. Paul

Vadnais Heights White Bear Lake White Bear Township

#### **Scott County**

Belle Plaine Elko New Market Jordan

Prior Lake Savage Shakopee

#### **Washington County**

Cottage Grove Hugo Mahtomedi Newport Oakdale St. Paul Park Stillwater

Woodbury

## Municipalities Not Participating in the Livable Communities Act Local Housing Incentives Program in 2024

Afton Grey Cloud Twp. New Trier
Andover Ham Lake Nininger Twp.
Anoka Hamburg North Oaks
Bayport Hampton Norwood/Young
Baytown Twp. Hampton Twp. Nowthen

Belle Plaine Twp. Hancock Twp. Oak Grove
Benton Twp. Hassan Twp. Oak Park Heights

Bethel Helena Twp. Orono
Birchwood Hilltop Pine Springs
Blakeley Twp. Hollywood Twp. Randolph
Camden Twp. Independence Randolph Twp.
Castle Rock Twp. Jackson Twp. Ravena Twp.

Cedar Lake Twp.

Lake Elmo

San Francisco Twp.

Sand Creak Twp.

Champlin Lake St. Croix Beach Sand Creek Twp.

Circle PinesLakelandScandiaCoatesLakeland ShoresSciota Twp.CologneLaketown Twp.ShorewoodColumbusLakevilleSpring Lake ParkCorcoranLandfallSpring Lake Twp.

Spring Lake Twp. Credit River Twp. Spring Park Lexington Dahlgren Twp. St. Anthony Lilydale Dayton Linwood Twp. St. Bonifacius Deephaven Louisville Twp. St. Lawrence Twp. Dellwood Maple Plain St. Mary's Point

Denmark Twp.

Douglas Twp.

East Bethel

Empire Township

Eureka Twp.

Marine on St. Croix

Marshan Twp.

Marshan Twp.

Marshan Twp.

Marshan Twp.

Sunfish Lake

Vermillion

Vermillion Twp.

Waconia Twp.

Forest Lake Mendota Heights Waterford Twp.

Gem Lake Miesville Watertown Twp.

Grant Minnetonka Beach West Lakeland Twp.
Greenfield Minnetrista Willernie
Greenvale Twp. Mound Woodland

Greenwood New Market Twp. Young America Twp.

St Francis County Boundaries East Be thel Nowthen Oak Grove METROPOLITAN 2024 Participating Communities City and Township Boundaries ANOKA Ham Lake Dayton Lino La kes Blaine May Twp. WASH Hillion etto RAMSEY HENNEPIN St Paul Hollywood Twp. Watertown Twp. Afton Richfield ung America Twյ Han**վել**urg Apple Valley DAKOTA Marshan Twp. Spring Lake Twp. SCOTT יינכון New Market Twp Cedar Lake Twp. Castle Rock Twp. Eureka Twp. Elle New Marks Néw Prague 4.5 18 Miles Source: Metropolitan Council Livable Communities, 2024

Figure 1. Livable Communities Act Participating Communities, 2024



390 Robert Street North Saint Paul, MN 55101-1805

651.602.1000 TTY 651.291.0904 public.info@metc.state.mn.us metrocouncil.org

Follow us on: twitter.com/metcouncilnews facebook.com/MetropolitanCouncil youtube.com/MetropolitanCouncil