

January 16, 2024

Sen. Sandra L. Pappas, Chair Senate Capital Investment Committee

Sen. John Marty, Chair Senate Finance Committee Rep. Fue Lee, Chair House Capital Investment Committee

Rep. Liz Olson, Chair House Ways and Means Committee

Dear Members of the Minnesota Legislature:

I am pleased to present Governor Walz's 2024 Infrastructure Plan. This capital budget makes critical investments across the state, ensuring state facilities are well-maintained and communities thrive, while maintaining fiscal responsibility. The Infrastructure Plan focuses on preserving state infrastructure; water and transportation infrastructure; public safety; housing and the environment; and other projects that benefit communities across the state. The Governor's recommendation includes \$830 million in general obligation bonds and \$152 million in other funding sources, including appropriation bonds, general fund cash, and trunk highway cash.

Included in the posted information are all the final capital budget requests submitted by state agencies and political subdivisions for consideration during the 2024 legislative session. Since the preliminary submittal in July, Minnesota Management and Budget has worked with state agencies and local units of government to develop additional project information and refine cost estimates. Requests now total \$7.6 billion, including \$4.7 billion in state agency requests and \$2.9 billion in requests from local units of government. These requests as well as the Governor's recommendations are posted on our website at <a href="https://mn.gov/mmb/budget/capital-budget/current/">https://mn.gov/mmb/budget/capital-budget/current/</a>.

If you need additional information or assistance, please contact Marianne Conboy of my staff at <a href="Marianne.Conboy@state.mn.us">Marianne.Conboy@state.mn.us</a>. I look forward to working with you on the capital budget during the 2024 Legislative Session.

Sincerely,

Erin Campbell, Commissioner

Erin M. Campbell

Cc:

Sen. Kari Dziedzic Rep. Melissa Hortman Sen. Mark T. Johnson Rep. Lisa Demuth Eric Nauman Emily Adriaens Hannah Grunewald Noeldner Andrew Lee Stephanie James Chelsea Griffin Ahna Minge Jennifer Hassemer Joshua Riesen