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BACKGROUND 

Implementation of the Fire Standard Compliant (FSC) Cigarette Law, MS 299F.850-859, (See 

Appendix A) began on Dec. 1, 2008. Effective that date only those cigarettes meeting the 

requirements of the FSC Program could be sold in Minnesota. At the time, Minnesota was the 18th 

state to implement similar legislation. All 50 states have now enacted similar laws based on the 

same national model that also forms the basis of Minnesota’s law. 

The State Fire Marshal (SFM) division certifies cigarette brand styles that are in compliance 

with the Minnesota law. The certification process involves a review of testing materials and 

product packaging for compliance with the standards established in law. That certification must 

be renewed to keep that brand style legal for sale in Minnesota. 

Minnesota’s FSC law is not enforceable on Tribal land. While all known manufacturers are now 

producing only FSC-certified products, some brands of non-FSC cigarettes may still be available 

from Tribal sources and via internet sales. 

In order for a product to be certified as FSC compliant, cigarette manufacturers must design, 

manufacture and test each brand style to ASTM Standard E2187-04, “Standard Test Method for 

Measuring the Ignition Strength of Cigarettes,” or an equivalent test method approved by the 

state fire marshal. All Minnesota products are currently certified to the ASTM standard. 

The testing standard is designed to simulate the ignition propensity of a cigarette when left 

unattended in an ash tray or dropped on upholstered furniture or a bare mattress. Passing this test 

doesn’t eliminate fires involving cigarettes from occurring. If tossed in a trash can with 

combustible materials, discarded along the roadway or dropped in the mulch beneath a patio deck, 

a lit FSC cigarette can still start a fire. Nor is the product 100 percent safe even when dropped on 

upholstered furniture or a mattress. The ASTM standard allows for a failure rate of up to 25 

percent of the tested product, usually a sample of 40 cigarettes. 

The Minnesota law allowed an unspecified “grace period” permitting non-FSC products to be 

cleared from store shelves. Enforcement began in July of 2009 with random inspections of 

distributors, wholesalers and retail sales outlets. These inspections confirmed that all brand 

styles sold in Minnesota were in compliance with the statute. 

According to U.S. Fire Administration data in 2021, 275 people died in residential fires due to 

smoking materials. In 2021, eight Minnesotans died in residential fires that involved careless 

smoking. Prior, to FSC legislation that average was around 940 fire deaths. Property damage 

from such fires causes cost millions of dollars each year. Most recent reporting from National 

Fire Protection Association the average dollar loss nationally due to careless smoking was $489 

million. With all 50 states having this legislation in place, data has shown reductions in the 

numbers of fire deaths and fires related to careless smoking.  
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NATIONAL TESTING STANDARDS 

ASTM Standard E2187-04 is the national standard against which all FSC cigarettes are tested to 

determine the potential for a burning cigarette to ignite materials such as a mattress (without 

bedding), couch or stuffed chair. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Note: The photo above is provided for illustration purposes only. It is not intended to 
represent the complete application of the ASTM Standard E2187-04 testing process as it 

would be performed in a laboratory. 

 
 

The test is conducted by placing a burning cigarette on a test medium intended to simulate a 

mattress or other cloth covered furniture. An example of the testing process is shown above. The 

cigarette on the left, having burned to the filter, would be deemed as failing the test. The cigarette 

on the right, having self-extinguished, would be deemed as passing the test. 

 

The standard allows for a 25 percent failure rate. In other words, of the 20 cigarettes in a pack, 

five could fail the test and the product still be considered FSC compliant. 

 

FSC cigarettes are not intended to prevent or reduce the potential for all fires. As with any burning 

material, an FSC cigarette carelessly discarded in combustible material, such as vegetation or a 

trash can containing combustible material, retains the potential to cause a fire.  
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EFFORTS TO REDUCE THE EFFECTS OF CARELESS SMOKING 

In 2020, the SFM published a request for proposal (RFP) to work with a qualified responder to 

provide creative services specifically for creating and producing a variety of concepts, messages 

and promotional media elements to advance fire prevention and fire safety messages. That 

campaign kicked off at the beginning of 2021, with messages reaching audiences across 

Minnesota with a focus on the most at-risk populations. These messages were placed in various 

locations from Grand Portage to Jasper and included floor graphics, window clings, cooler 

clings and standing displays. The selected vendor administered paid media buys and services.  

This campaign will target specific audiences using fresh and innovative creative concepts and 

communication approaches to change or influence behavior in an effort to reduce and 

eventually eliminate smoking-related fire deaths in Minnesota.  

In 2021, SFM also began working with Urban Logiq, a software analytics company, to create a 

risk assessment and data analytics dashboard for fire risk across the state. Since its inception, 

the dashboard has been used by 573 departments out of the 752 that have been given access to 

the system. This powerful tool gives local communities the power to leverage their own data to 

reduce risks locally for their own residents.  

 

DATABASE DEVELOPMENT 

Initial certifications were processed manually, which proved to be a time-consuming procedure. 

In 2011, the division implemented an online certification system. This system allowed 

manufacturers to submit initial and renewal applications with a minimum of paperwork. It has 

also significantly reduced the staff time necessary to process applications. 

The database is designed to automatically notify manufacturers of the expiration of brand style 

certifications 60, 30 and 10 days in advance of their expiration date. It also alerts division 

personnel when an application is filed. When the application review and approval process is 

complete, a notice is generated to the manufacturer listing the brands and brand styles approved 

or rejected. 

Brand styles that are not renewed are moved to an expired list and removed from the list of 

FSC-certified brand styles list on the division’s web site. 

Funding for the development of this database was provided by the revenue generated by the 

FSC program fees schedule. Due to the age of this system, the SFM is working with MNIT 

services to look to the future and how to best support this program through modern technical 

services.  
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ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS 

Random inspections of retail outlets continue to ensure that cigarettes sold in Minnesota are 

only from manufacturers who have had their brands certified. 

 

 

FIRE INCIDENT REPORTING – CIGARETTE-CAUSED BUILDING FIRES 

Information about cigarette-caused fires is obtained from the Minnesota Fire Incident Reporting 

System (MFIRS). The MFIRS report provides general information about the fire incident. 

 

Minnesota Fire Incident Reporting System Data 

Data from MFIRS for the years 2004 through 2020 was examined to determine the number of 

cigarette-caused fires in residential property where the item first ignited was one in which FSC 

products are intended to reduce the potential for ignition. 

 
 

Year 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 

Fires 29 19 20 27 28 26 21 16 15 16 15 16 

 

Year 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023* 

Fires 10 12 16 14 9 11 10 8 

 
* 2023 data is incomplete at the time of this report 

 

 
 

This data shows a decline in the number of such fires from a high of 29 in 2004 to eight in 2023 
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(preliminary but incomplete data). The FSC statute was effective December 2008. Given the 

grace period provided in statute for the sale of non-FSC products, which existed until July 2009, 

2010 is considered the first full year of the program’s implementation. 

Reviewing data for two five-year periods (one period before enactment and implementation of 

the FSC program and the other period of the most recent years), a 57.8 percent decrease in 

cigarette-caused residential building fires was noted. 

 

 

Years: 
Average Number of Residential Building 

Fires Caused by Cigarettes 

2004-2008 24.6 

2019-2023 10.4 
 

 

CIGARETTE-CAUSED FATALITIES 

Data from MFIRS and the Minnesota Department of Health for the years 2008 through 2023 

was examined to determine the number of fire fatalities where the cause of the fire was 

determined to be careless smoking. Data shows a decline in the number of those deaths from a 

high of 12 in 2008 to five in 2018. (Note: The 2023 data is considered incomplete until it is 

finalized in May, 2024. There are instances whereby a fire victim does not succumb to their 

injuries until well after the reported fire.) 

 

 
Year 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023* 

Deaths 10 10 6 9 9 7 11 10 10 8 8 9 6 

*2023 data incomplete 
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CONCLUSION 

While careless smoking remains a concerning cause of building fires, particularly in residential 

property, examination of data covering the period from 2008 through 2023 shows a decline in 

the number of cigarette-caused building fires where the item first ignited was upholstered 

furniture or a mattress. What the data cannot show is the number of fires prevented by the FSC 

standard, since it is unlikely a property owner would notify the fire department of such an 

occurrence. 

No cigarette is “fire safe.” As with all fire prevention efforts, personal responsibility is the key 

to success. Smokers need constant reminders to use deep, sturdy ashtrays, make certain 

cigarettes are extinguished and never toss hot cigarette butts or ashes in a trash can. Those who 

smoke in the home should be reminded to check for cigarette butts under sofa and chair 

cushions, and to never smoke where oxygen is being used.  

Those who smoke outdoors must remember combustible materials, such as dry grass, leaves, 

and similar items, can be ignited by careless disposal of any smoking material.  

The FSC standard helps. The FSC law helps. People make the real difference. 
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APPENDIX A 

 

299F.850 CIGARETTE FIRE SAFETY DEFINITIONS. 

Subdivision 1.Scope. 

  

The terms used in sections 299F.850 to 299F.859 have the meanings given them in this section. 

Subd. 2. Agent. 

  

"Agent" means any person licensed by the commissioner of revenue to purchase and affix 

adhesive or meter stamps on packages of cigarettes. 

Subd. 3. Cigarette. 

  

"Cigarette" means any roll for smoking made wholly or in part of tobacco, the wrapper or cover 

of which is made of paper or any other substance or material except tobacco. 

Subd. 4. Manufacturer. 

  

"Manufacturer" means: 

(1) any entity that manufactures or otherwise produces cigarettes or causes cigarettes to be 

manufactured or produced anywhere that the manufacturer intends to be sold in the state, including 

cigarettes intended to be sold in the United States through an importer; 

(2) the first purchaser anywhere that intends to resell in the United States cigarettes 

manufactured anywhere that the original manufacturer or maker does not intend to be sold in the 

United States; or 

(3) any entity that becomes a successor of an entity described in clause (1) or (2). 

Subd. 5. Quality control and quality assurance program. 

  

"Quality control and quality assurance program" means the laboratory procedures implemented 

to ensure that operator bias, systematic and nonsystematic methodological errors, and equipment-

related problems do not affect the results of the testing. This program ensures that the testing 

repeatability remains within the required repeatability values stated in section 299F.851, subdivision 

1, paragraph (g), for all test trials used to certify cigarettes in accordance with 

sections 299F.850 to 299F.859. 

Subd. 6. Repeatability. 

  

"Repeatability" means the range of values within which the repeat results of cigarette test trials 

from a single laboratory will fall 95 percent of the time. 

Subd. 7. Retail dealer. 

  

"Retail dealer" means any person, other than a wholesale dealer, engaged in selling cigarettes or 

tobacco products. 

Subd. 8. Sale. 

  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859
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"Sale" means any transfer of title or possession or both, exchange or barter, conditional or 

otherwise, in any manner or by any means whatever or any agreement therefore. In addition to cash 

and credit sales, the giving of cigarettes as samples, prizes, or gifts and the exchanging of cigarettes 

for any consideration other than money, are considered sales. 

Subd. 9. Sell. 

  

"Sell" means to make a sale or to offer or agree to make a sale. 

Subd. 10. Wholesale dealer. 

  

"Wholesale dealer" means any person who (1) sells cigarettes or tobacco products to retail 

dealers or other persons for purposes of resale or (2) owns, operates, or maintains one or more 

cigarette or tobacco product vending machines in, at, or upon premises owned or occupied by any 

other person. 

 

 

Sec. 11. [299F.851] TEST METHOD AND PERFORMANCE STANDARD. 

Subdivision 1.Requirements. 

  

(a) Except as provided in this subdivision, no cigarettes may be sold or offered for sale in this 

state or offered for sale or sold to persons located in this state unless (1) the cigarettes have been 

tested in accordance with the test method and have met the performance standard specified in this 

section, (2) a written certification has been filed by the manufacturer with the state fire marshal in 

accordance with section 299F.852, and (3) the cigarettes have been marked in accordance with 

section 299F.853. 

(b) Testing of cigarettes must be conducted in accordance with the American Society of Testing 

and Materials (ASTM) Standard E2187-04, "Standard Test Method for Measuring the Ignition 

Strength of Cigarettes." 

(c) Testing must be conducted on ten layers of filter paper. 

(d) No more than 25 percent of the cigarettes tested in a test trial in accordance with this section 

may exhibit full-length burns. Forty replicate tests comprise a complete test trial for each cigarette 

tested. 

(e) The performance standard required by this subdivision must only be applied to a complete 

test trial. 

(f) Written certifications must be based upon testing conducted by a laboratory that has been 

accredited pursuant to standard ISO/IEC 17025 of the International Organization for Standardization 

(ISO), or other comparable accreditation standard required by the state fire marshal. 

(g) Laboratories conducting testing in accordance with this section shall implement a quality 

control and quality assurance program that includes a procedure that will determine the repeatability 

of the testing results. The repeatability value must be no greater than 0.19. 

(h) This subdivision does not require additional testing if cigarettes are tested consistent with 

sections 299F.850 to 299F.859 for any other purpose. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.852
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.853
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859
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(i) Testing performed or sponsored by the state fire marshal to determine a cigarette's 

compliance with the performance standard required must be conducted in accordance with this 

section. 

Subd. 2. Permeability bands. 

  

Each cigarette listed in a certification submitted pursuant to section 299F.852 that uses lowered 

permeability bands in the cigarette paper to achieve compliance with the performance standard set 

forth in this section must have at least two nominally identical bands on the paper surrounding the 

tobacco column. At least one complete band must be located at least 15 millimeters from the lighting 

end of the cigarette. For cigarettes on which the bands are positioned by design, there must be at 

least two bands fully located at least 15 millimeters from the lighting end and ten millimeters from 

the filter end of the tobacco column, or ten millimeters from the labeled end of the tobacco column 

for nonfiltered cigarettes. 

Subd. 3. Equivalent test methods. 

  

A manufacturer of a cigarette that the state fire marshal determines cannot be tested in 

accordance with the test method prescribed in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), shall propose a test 

method and performance standard for the cigarette to the state fire marshal. Upon approval of the 

proposed test method and a determination by the state fire marshal that the performance standard 

proposed by the manufacturer is equivalent to the performance standard prescribed in subdivision 1, 

paragraph (d), the manufacturer may employ such test method and performance standard to certify 

the cigarette pursuant to section 299F.852. If the state fire marshal determines that another state has 

enacted reduced cigarette ignition propensity standards that include a test method and performance 

standard that are the same as those contained in this subdivision, and the state fire marshal finds that 

the officials responsible for implementing those requirements have approved the proposed 

alternative test method and performance standard for a particular cigarette proposed by a 

manufacturer as meeting the fire safety standards of that state's law or regulation under a legal 

provision comparable to this subdivision, then the state fire marshal shall authorize that 

manufacturer to employ the alternative test method and performance standard to certify that cigarette 

for sale in this state, unless the state fire marshal demonstrates a reasonable basis why the alternative 

test should not be accepted under sections 299F.850 to 299F.859. All other applicable requirements 

of this section apply to the manufacturer. 

Subd. 4. Civil penalty. 

  

Each manufacturer shall maintain copies of the reports of all tests conducted on all cigarettes 

offered for sale for a period of three years, and shall make copies of these reports available to the 

state fire marshal and the attorney general upon written request. Any manufacturer who fails to make 

copies of these reports available within 60 days of receiving a written request is subject to a civil 

penalty not to exceed $10,000 for each day after the 60th day that the manufacturer does not make 

such copies available. 

Subd. 5. Future ASTM Standards. 

  

The state fire marshal may, by written order published in the State Register, adopt a subsequent 

ASTM Standard Test Method for Measuring the Ignition Strength of Cigarettes upon a finding that 

the subsequent method does not result in a change in the percentage of full-length burns exhibited by 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.852
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.852
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859
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any tested cigarette when compared to the percentage of full-length burns the same cigarette would 

exhibit when tested in accordance with ASTM Standard E2187-04 and the performance standard in 

subdivision 1, paragraph (d). A determination by the state fire marshal under this subdivision is 

exempt from the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14, and section 14.386 does not apply. 

Subd. 6. Report to legislature. 

  

The state fire marshal shall review the effectiveness of this section and report findings every 

three years to the legislature and, if appropriate, make recommendations for legislation to improve 

the effectiveness of this section. The report and legislative recommendations must be submitted no 

later than January 2 of each three-year period. 

Subd. 7. Inventory before state standards. 

  

The requirements of subdivision 1 do not prohibit wholesale or retail dealers from selling their 

existing inventory of cigarettes on or after December 1, 2008, if the wholesale or retail dealer can 

establish that state tax stamps were affixed to the cigarettes before December 1, 2008, and if the 

wholesale or retail dealer can establish that the inventory was purchased before December 1, 2008, 

in comparable quantity to the inventory purchased during the same period of the previous year. 

Subd. 8. Implementation. 

  

This section must be implemented in accordance with the implementation and substance of the 

New York "Fire Safety Standards for Cigarettes." 

Sec. 12. [299F.852] CERTIFICATION AND PRODUCT CHANGE. 

Subdivision 1.Attestation. 

  

Each manufacturer shall submit to the state fire marshal a written certification attesting that 

each cigarette listed in the certification: 

(1) has been tested in accordance with section 299F.851; and 

(2) meets the performance standard set forth in section 299F.851, subdivision 1, paragraph (d). 

Subd. 2. Description. 

  

Each cigarette listed in the certification must be described with the following information: 

(1) brand or trade name on the package; 

(2) style, such as light or ultra light; 

(3) length in millimeters; 

(4) circumference in millimeters; 

(5) flavor, such as menthol or chocolate, if applicable; 

(6) filter or nonfilter; 

(7) package description, such as soft pack or box; 

(8) marking approved in accordance with section 299F.853; 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.386
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851#stat.299F.851.1
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.853
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(9) the name, address, and telephone number of the laboratory, if different than the 

manufacturer that conducted the test; and 

(10) the date that the testing occurred. 

Subd. 3. Information availability. 

  

The certifications must be made available to the attorney general for purposes consistent with 

this section and the commissioner of revenue for the purposes of ensuring compliance with this 

subdivision. 

Subd. 4. Recertification. 

  

Each cigarette certified under this subdivision must be recertified every three years. 

Subd. 5. Fee. 

  

For each cigarette listed in a certification, a manufacturer shall pay to the state fire marshal a 

$250 fee, to be deposited in the reduced cigarette ignition propensity account described in 

section 299F.857. 

§ 

Subd. 6. Retesting. 

  

If a manufacturer has certified a cigarette pursuant to this section, and thereafter makes any 

change to the cigarette that is likely to alter its compliance with the reduced cigarette ignition 

propensity standards required by sections 299F.850 to 299F.859, that cigarette must not be sold or 

offered for sale in this state until the manufacturer retests the cigarette in accordance with the testing 

standards set forth in section 299F.851 and maintains records of that retesting as required by 

section 299F.851. Any altered cigarette that does not meet the performance standard set forth in 

section 299F.851 may not be sold in this state. 

 

Sec. 13. [299F.853] MARKING AND CIGARETTE PACKAGING. 

(a) Cigarettes that are certified by a manufacturer in accordance with section 299F.852 must be 

marked to indicate compliance with the requirements of section 299F.851. The marking must be in 

eight-point type or larger and consist of: 

(1) modification of the product UPC code to include a visible mark printed at or around the area 

of the UPC code, which may consist of alphanumeric or symbolic characters permanently stamped, 

engraved, embossed, or printed in conjunction with the UPC; 

(2) any visible combination of alphanumeric or symbolic characters permanently stamped, 

engraved, or embossed upon the cigarette package or cellophane wrap; or 

(3) printed, stamped, engraved, or embossed text that indicates that the cigarettes meet the 

standards of sections 299F.850 to 299F.859. 

(b) A manufacturer shall use only one marking and shall apply this marking uniformly for all 

brands marketed by that manufacturer and all packages, including but not limited to packs, cartons, 

and cases. 

(c) The state fire marshal must be notified as to the marking that is selected. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.857
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.852#stat.299F.852.6
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.852
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859
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(d) Prior to the certification of any cigarette, a manufacturer shall present its proposed marking 

to the state fire marshal for approval. Upon receipt of the request, the state fire marshal shall approve 

or disapprove the marking offered, except that the state fire marshal shall approve any marking in 

use and approved for sale in New York pursuant to the New York "Fire Safety Standards for 

Cigarettes." Proposed markings are deemed approved if the state fire marshal fails to act within ten 

business days of receiving a request for approval. 

(e) No manufacturer shall modify its approved marking unless the modification has been 

approved by the state fire marshal in accordance with this section. 

(f) Manufacturers certifying cigarettes in accordance with section 299F.852 shall provide a 

copy of the certifications to all wholesale dealers and agents to which they sell cigarettes, and shall 

also provide sufficient copies of an illustration of the package marking utilized by the manufacturer 

pursuant to this section for each retail dealer to which the wholesale dealers or agents sell cigarettes. 

Wholesale dealers and agents shall provide a copy of these package markings received from 

manufacturers to all retail dealers to whom they sell cigarettes. Wholesale dealers, agents, and retail 

dealers shall permit the state fire marshal, the commissioner of revenue, the attorney general, and 

their employees to inspect markings of cigarette packaging marked in accordance with this section. 

  Sec. 14. [299F.854] PENALTIES AND REMEDIES. 

Subdivision 1.Wholesale. 

  

(a) A manufacturer, wholesale dealer, agent, or any other person or entity who knowingly sells 

or offers to sell cigarettes, other than through retail sale, in violation of section 299F.851 is liable to 

a civil penalty: 

(1) for a first offense, not to exceed $10,000 per each sale of such cigarettes; and 

(2) for a subsequent offense, not to exceed $25,000 per each sale of such cigarettes. 

(b) However, the penalty against any such person or entity for a violation under paragraph (a) 

must not exceed $100,000 during any 30-day period. 

Subd. 2.Retail. 

  

(a) A retail dealer who knowingly sells cigarettes in violation of section 299F.851 is liable to a 

civil penalty for a first offense, not to exceed: 

(1) $500, and for a subsequent offense, not to exceed $2,000, per each sale or offer for sale of 

such cigarettes, if the total number sold or offered for sale does not exceed 1,000 cigarettes; or 

(2) $1,000, and for a subsequent offense, not to exceed $5,000, per each sale or offer for sale of 

such cigarettes, if the total number sold or offered for sale exceeds 1,000 cigarettes. 

(b) However, the penalty against any retail dealer must not exceed $25,000 during any 30-day 

period. 

Subd. 3. False certification. 

  

In addition to any penalty prescribed by law, any corporation, partnership, sole proprietor, 

limited partnership, or association engaged in the manufacture of cigarettes that knowingly makes a 

false certification pursuant to this subdivision is, for a first offense, liable to a civil penalty of at least 

$75,000, and for a subsequent offense a civil penalty not to exceed $250,000 for each false 

certification. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.852
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
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Subd. 4. Violation of other provision. 

  

Any person violating any other provision in sections 299F.850 to 299F.859 is liable to a civil 

penalty for a first offense not to exceed $1,000, and for a subsequent offense a civil penalty not to 

exceed $5,000, for each violation. 

Subd. 5. Forfeiture. 

  

Cigarettes that have been sold or offered for sale that do not comply with the performance 

standard required by section 299F.851 are subject to forfeiture under section 297F.21 and, upon 

judgment of forfeiture, shall be destroyed; provided, however, that before destroying any cigarettes 

seized in accordance with section 297F.21, which seizure is hereby authorized, the true holder of the 

trademark rights in the cigarette brand must be permitted to inspect the cigarette. 

§ 

Subd. 6. Remedies. 

  

In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the state fire marshal or attorney general may 

institute a civil action in district court for a violation of this section, including petitioning for 

injunctive relief or to recover any costs or damages suffered by the state because of a violation under 

this section, including enforcement costs relating to the specific violation and attorney fees. Each 

violation of sections 299F.850 to 299F.859 or of rules adopted under 

sections 299F.850 to 299F.859 constitutes a separate civil violation for which the state fire marshal 

or attorney general may obtain relief. 

 

  Sec. 15. [299F.855] IMPLEMENTATION. 

  Subdivision 1. Rules. The commissioner of public safety, in consultation with the  

state fire marshal, may adopt rules, pursuant to chapter 14, necessary to effectuate the  

purposes of sections 299F.850 to 299F.859. 

  Subd. 2. Commissioner of revenue. The commissioner of revenue in the regular  

course of conducting inspections of wholesale dealers, agents, and retail dealers, as  

authorized under chapter 297F, may inspect cigarettes to determine if the cigarettes are  

marked as required by section 299F.853. If the cigarettes are not marked as required, the 

commissioner of revenue shall notify the state fire marshal. 

 

  Sec. 16. [299F.856] INSPECTION. 

  To enforce sections 299F.850 to 299F.859, the attorney general and the state fire  

marshal may examine the books, papers, invoices, and other records of any person in  

possession, control, or occupancy of any premises where cigarettes are placed, stored,  

sold, or offered for sale, as well as the stock of cigarettes on the premises. Every person in the 

possession, control, or occupancy of any premises where cigarettes are placed, sold, or offered for 

sale is hereby directed and required to give the attorney general and the state fire marshal the means, 

facilities, and opportunity for the examinations authorized by this section. 

 

  Sec. 17. [299F.857] REDUCED CIGARETTE IGNITION PROPENSITY  

ACCOUNT. 

  The reduced cigarette ignition propensity account is established in the state treasury. The account 

consists of all money recovered as penalties under section 299F.854 and fees collected under 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/297F.21
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/297F.21
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.854#stat.299F.854.6
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.854
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section 299F.852, subdivision 5. The money must be deposited to the credit of the account and, in 

addition to any other money made available for such purpose, is appropriated to the state fire 

marshal for costs associated with the development and presentation of fire and life safety education 

programs throughout Minnesota, and all costs associated with sections 299F.850 to 299F.859. 

 

  Sec. 18. [299F.858] SALE OUTSIDE OF MINNESOTA. 

  Sections 299F.850 to 299F.859 do not prohibit any person or entity from  

manufacturing or selling cigarettes that do not meet the requirements of section 299F.851 if the 

cigarettes are or will be stamped for sale in another state or are packaged for sale outside the United 

States and that person or entity has taken reasonable steps to ensure that such cigarettes will not be 

sold or offered for sale to persons located in Minnesota. 

 

  Sec. 19. [299F.859] LOCAL REGULATION. 

  Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the local governmental units of this state  

may neither enact nor enforce any ordinance or other local law or regulation conflicting  

with, or preempted by, any provision of sections 299F.850 to 299F.858 or with any policy of this 

state expressed by sections 299F.850 to 299F.858, whether that policy be expressed by inclusion of a 

provision in sections 299F.850 to 299F.858 or by exclusion of that subject from sections 299F.850 to 

299F.858. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.852#stat.299F.852.5
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859

