

Minn. Stat. 473.254 Subd. 9

Participation in the Livable Communities Act Local Housing Incentives Account - 1999

A Report to the Minnesota Statute 473.254 Section 5, Subsection 9

February 1, 1999

Metropolitan Council Members

Curtis Johnson, Chair

Roger Scherer – District 1	James J. (Jim) Wychor - District 9
Bill Schreiber – District 2	Richard Packer - District 10
Mary Hill Smith – District 3	Esther Newcome - District 11
Julius C. Smith – District 4	Charles Arnason - District 12
Neil Peterson – District 5	Diane Z. (DeDe) Wolfson - District 13
Martha M. Head – District 6	Stephen B. Wellington, Jr District 14
Barbara Butts Williams – District 7	Kevin Howe - District 15
Carol A. Kummer – District 8	Terrence F. Flower - District 16

T he mission of the Metropolitan Council is to provide leadership in the effective planning of regional growth and redevelopment, and in the delivery of quality regional services.

The Metropolitan Council coordinates regional planning and guides development in the sevencounty area through joint action with the public and private sectors. The Council also operates regional services, including wastewater collection and treatment, transit and the Metro HRA – an affordable-housing service that provides assistance to low-income families in the region. Created by the legislature in 1967, the Council establishes policies for airports, regional parks, highways and transit, sewers, air and water quality, land use and affordable housing, and provides planning and technical assistance to communities in the Twin Cities region.

The graphic preparation and printing of this publication cost \$30.00 for a total of 100 copies.

Printed on recycled paper with a minimum of 20% post-consumer waste.

Publication No. 78-99-009

Background

The Metropolitan Livable Communities Act (LCA) requires the Metropolitan Council to report by February 1 of each year which municipalities elected to participate and which did not elect to participate in the local housing incentives account program (Minnesota Statutes 473.254, section 5, subsection 9).

Participation in 1999

The LCA supports *Regional Blueprint* policies which call for expanding the opportunities for affordable and life-cycle housing throughout the region; creative planning that links jobs, transportation and housing; and revitalization of the region's older cities. Communities within the seven-county area that participate in the local housing incentives account program may receive grants or loans from the three funds in the LCA:

- Tax Base Revitalization Account
- Livable Communities Demonstration Account
- Local Housing Incentives Account

Only participants may apply for and receive grants from the polluted sites cleanup program administered by the Minnesota Department of Trade and Economic Development. In addition, the Council "shall give consideration to a municipality's participation" when making discretionary funding decisions such as federal ISTEA funding.

During 1998, 101 communities passed resolutions to participate in the LCA's local housing incentives account program in 1999. Of these 101 communities, three cities elected either to participate in the LCA for the first time or renew participation. These cities are Lake St. Croix Beach, Landfall and Victoria. Also in 1998, however, three communities chose not to renew their participation in the housing incentives account. These communities are Birchwood, Rockford and Shorewood.

MUNICIPALITIES NOT PARTICIPATING IN THE LOCAL HOUSING INCENTIVES ACCOUNT PROGRAM IN 1999

Andover Bayport Twp. Belle Plaine Twp Benton Twp. Bethel Birchwood Blakeley Twp. Burns Twp. Camden Twp. Castle Rock Twp. Cedar Lake Twp. Chaska Twp. Coates Columbus Twp. Credit River Twp. Dahlgren Twp. Dellwood Deephaven Denmark Twp. Douglas Twp. Eagan East Bethel Elko Empire Twp. Eureka Twp. Forest Lake Forest Lake Twp. Gem Lake Grant Twp. Greenfield Greenvale Twp. Greenwood Grey Cloud Lake Twp. Ham Lake Hampton Hampton Twp. Hancock Twp. Hassan Helena Twp. Hollywood Twp. Hugo

Jackson Twp. Lakeland Lakeland Shores Laketown Twp. Lilydale Linwood Twp. Loretto Louisville Twp. Mahtomedi Maple Plain Marine on St.Croix Marshan Twp. May Twp. Medicine Lake Mendota Miesville New Market New Market Twp. New Trier New Scandia Twp. Nininger Twp. Pine Springs Randolph Randolph Twp. Ravenna Twp. Rockford St. Lawrence Twp St. Mary's Point Sand Creek Twp. San Francisco Twp. Sciota Twp. Shorewood Spring Lake Twp. Stillwater Twp. Tonka Bay Vermillion Vermillion Twp. Waconia Twp. Waterford Twp Watertown Twp. West Lakeland Twp. Woodland Young American Twp.

MUNICIPALITIES NOT PARTICIPATING IN THE LOCAL HOUSING INCENTIVES ACCOUNT PROGRAM IN 1999

Andover Bayport Twp. Belle Plaine Twp Benton Twp. Bethel Birchwood Blakeley Twp. Burns Twp. Camden Twp. Castle Rock Twp. Cedar Lake Twp. Chaska Twp. Coates Columbus Twp. Credit River Twp. Dahlgren Twp. Dellwood Deephaven Denmark Twp. Douglas Twp. Eagan East Bethel Elko Empire Twp. Eureka Twp. Forest Lake Forest Lake Twp. Gem Lake Grant Twp. Greenfield Greenvale Twp. Greenwood Grey Cloud Lake Twp. Ham Lake Hampton Hampton Twp. Hancock Twp. Hassan Helena Twp. Hollywood Twp. Hugo

Jackson Twp. Lakeland Lakeland Shores Laketown Twp. Lilydale Linwood Twp. Loretto Louisville Twp. Mahtomedi Maple Plain Marine on St.Croix Marshan Twp. May Twp. Medicine Lake Mendota Miesville New Market New Market Twp. New Trier New Scandia Twp. Nininger Twp. **Pine Springs** Randolph Randolph Twp. Ravenna Twp. Rockford St. Lawrence Twp St. Mary's Point Sand Creek Twp. San Francisco Twp. Sciota Twp. Shorewood Spring Lake Twp. Stillwater Twp. Tonka Bay Vermillion Vermillion Twp. Waconia Twp. Waterford Twp Watertown Twp. West Lakeland Twp. Woodland Young American Twp.

Livable Communities Act Participants, 1999

