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Be a Safe and Responsible Rider
Register Your Sled, It’s the Law
Take A Snowmobile Safety Training Course
Check the Weather Forecast and Trail Conditions
Check the Local Laws
Wear Appropriate Clothing and Safety Gear
Inspect Your Snowmobile
Ride With a Buddy
Carry a First Aid, Survival and Repair Kit
Stay Sober and Stay Alert
Avoid Unknown Lakes and Rivers
Do Not Speed, Stay in Control
Stay On The Trails, Respect Private Property
Children Should Always Be Supervised
Stay To The Right On Trails
Watch Out For Groomers
Cross Roads In a Safe Manner
Respect Other Trail Users
Make New Friends, Join a Club

Don’t Trespass
If You Are On A Field, or
If You Are On Railroad Tracks, or
If You Are Off the Marked And Groomed Trail, or
If You Are On The Inside Slope Of A Ditch, or
If You Are On a Power Line, or
If You Are On A Trail Between April 1st & December 1st

You Are Probably Trespassing

Join MnUSA - Be Part of our Team

Message brought to you by
Minnesota United Snowmobilers Association &
Minnesota Snowmobile Education and Advancement Fund

www.mnsnowmobiler.org

Minnesota United
Snowmobilers Association

Paid Advertisement
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KThe Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Award the 2019 \
Volunteer Snowmobile Instructor of the Year to Todd Sanden, from Eyota.

With support from the local Hiawatha Sno-Seekers Snowmobile Club, Sanden
has been a volunteer snowmobile safety instructor for more than 25 years.
Sanden and his late friend Randy Campbell, who both were avid snowmobile
riders, began teaching classes through community education as a way to
introduce kids to snowmobile riding and pass along their love for the sport.
Sanden has taught snowmobile safety to multiple generations of families, and
is known as a strict but inspirational teacher who’s devoted to instilling the
importance of safe riding to all of his students.

“Todd has a way of connecting with all of his students and does whatever it
takes to ensure they understand that a successful snowmobile ride is a safe
snowmobile ride,” said Conservation Officer Annette Kyllo, who is stationed
in Rochester. “He’s selfless with his time and serves as a wonderful example
for his students, and for all snowmobile riders. Snowmobiling is the safe sport
it is today in large part because of the dedication of volunteer instructors like
Todd.”

If you are interested in becoming a volunteer DNR youth instructor: https://
www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/instructors/index.html

Todd Sanden with Conservation Officer Annette Kyllo

\_ J

4 2020-2021 Snowmobile Regulations 888-MINNDNR



 http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/instructors/become.html 
https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/instructors/index.html
https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/instructors/index.html

Thousands of miles of trails. Great
places to eat and stay. Everything
you need for winter fun is waiting on
Minnesota’s Mesabi Iron Range.
Visit IronRange.org to download or
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WELCOME TO SNOWMOBILING

Minnesota has over 22,000 miles of snowmobile trails. Access to trails depends on
the cooperation of landowners, non-motorized trail users, other recreationists, and
local units of government. The vast majority of trails are groomed and maintained
by snowmobile club volunteers.

Be aware that trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have against
snowmobilers. Trespass seriously impacts the ability of clubs to get private
landowners to allow grant-in-aid trails on their property. We recommend that all
recreational users ask first before entering private lands, even if the land is not
posted.

TRAVELING ON ICE

The following guidelines can help you make wise choices...

+ The DNR does not measure ice thickness on Minnesota lakes.
Your safety is your responsibility, check ice thickness at least
every 150 feet.

«» Test the thickness yourself using an ice chisel, ice auger or
even a cordless 1/4 inch drill with a long bit.

+ Refrain from driving on ice whenever possible.

+ If you must drive a snowmobile on the ice, have a simple emergency plan of
action and discuss the plan with your passengers.

+ Stay away from alcoholic beverages. Even “just a couple of beers” are enough
to cause a careless error in judgment that could cost you your life. And
contrary to common belief, alcohol actually makes you colder rather than
warming you up.

« Don’t “overdrive” your snowmobile’s headlight. Even at 30 miles per hour,
it can take a much longer distance to stop on ice than your headlight shines.
Many fatal snowmobile through-the-ice accidents occur because the machine
was traveling too fast for the operator to stop when the headlight illuminated
the hole in the ice.

+ Wear a life jacket under your winter gear. Or wear one of the new flotation
snowmobile suits. Carry a pair of ice picks. It is difficult to pull yourself
back onto the surface of unbroken but wet and slippery ice while wearing a
snowmobile suit weighted down with 60 Ibs of water. The ice picks can help
pull yourself back onto solid ice.

4" 5-7" 8-12° 12-15"

MINIMUM GUIDELINES FOR NEW, CLEAR ICE

lce is never 100% safe!
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SNOWMOBILE DEFINITIONS

Snowmobile

Snowmobile means a self-propelled vehicle originally manufactured and designed
for travel on snow or ice steered by skis or runners.
Collector snowmobile

Collector snowmobile means a snowmobile that is 25 years old or older, was
originally produced as a separate identifiable make by a manufacturer, and is owned
and operated solely as a collector’s item.

Metal traction device
A metal traction device means any metal device or array of metal devices attached
to a snowmobile track to enhance traction that is:

1. Made of metal, except that metal cleats affixed perpendicular to the direction
of travel of a snowmobile track which was manufactured in 1981 or earlier shall
not be considered a metal traction device; or

2. Affixed to a snowmobile track with metal components that extend more than
one-fourth inch from the bottom of the track.

Approved helmet

An approved helmet is required to meet DOT specifications. DOT is the
manufacturer’s certification that the helmet conforms to the applicable federal
motor vehicle safety standards. Bicycle and hockey helmets are not legal helmets.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q: If | put tracks on my ATV can | register it as a snowmobile and ride on
the Snowmobile trails?

A: No, the definition of a snowmobile does no includes the following vehicle
equipped with after market ski and track configurations: all-terrain vehicle, off-
highway motorcycle, off-road vehicle, mini truck, utility task vehicle or any other
vehicle being operated off road.

Q: If l install a snow bike conversion track kit on my Off-Highway
Motorcycle will | be able to ride on the Snowmobile trails?

A: No, the definition of a snowmobile does no includes an Off Highway motorcycle.
Operation would be limited to private property with permission of the landowner
and ice covered water surfaces.

Welcome to Snowmobiling 7



REGISTRATION

Snowmobiles operated or transported in Minnesota must be registered with the
DNR. If your snowmobile is not registered, you may not operate, transport, or
permit it to be operated. You must be at least 18 years old to register a snowmobile.

A majority of the revenue generated from snowmobile registration will be used
for snowmobile grant-in-aid trails, trail maintenance, grooming, and easement
acquisition.

HOW TO REGISTER YOUR SNOWMOBILE

Register your snowmobile in person at any deputy registrar or at the DNR License
Center in St. Paul. When you register, you will need the make, model, year, serial
number, engine size, and sales receipt that shows the proof of sales tax payment.
Sales between private parties do not require payment of sales tax.

Purchase from a Private Party:

A person may not sell a snowmobile without furnishing the buyer with a bill of sale
that includes the signature of the registered owner and the serial number of the
snowmobile. Transfers and registration renewal fees are the responsibility of the
new owner.

Purchase from a Dealership:

Snowmobiles purchased from a retail dealer must be registered by the purchaser at
the dealer. The dealer will issue a 21-day temporary registration.

Snowmobile Registration Fees:

Type of Registration Fee

Trail Use Registration $105.00 plus $8.50 filing fee
Non-trail Registration [3yrs] $45.00 plus $8.50 filing fee
Duplicate Registration $16.00

Duplicate Registration Decal $6.00

Transfer - Trail use registration only $18.50

Dealer [annual] $ 58.50 every year
Manufacturer [annual] $158.50 every year
Collector Unlimited Use $14.50

Expiration, Renewal, and Duplicate

The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the registration
validation decal. All snowmobile registrations expire on June 30 of the last year the
registration expires. Example: June 30, 2021.

You should receive a notice by mail to renew your registration. Please notify the
DNR of any address change. Whether you are notified or not, you are responsible
for renewing your snowmobile registration. You may renew your registration at
http://licenses.dnr.state.mn.us/

To obtain a duplicate registration card or decal, contact or your local deputy
registrar or the DNR License Center 1-800-285-2000.
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TRAIL BEHIND
NO ONE.

RENEGADE® X-RS*®

Choppy trail, bumpy terrain, wild corners
- devour them all on the Renegade X-RS
featuring the new rMotion™ X® rear &
RAS™ X® front suspension. Pair it with

a powerful Rotax® Engine and REV®
Gen4 platform and you're ready to easily
handle anything the trail throws at you.

Danner Sales
Inver Grove Heights - 651-451-0121
www.dannersales.com

Leo’s South
Lakeville - 952-435-5371
leossouth.com

Miller Sellner
Sleepy Eye - 507-794-2131
millersellner.com

Minneapolis Motor Sports
Minneapolis - 763-634-0244
mplsmotor.com
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Products Inc. [BRP) om g of BRP or its affllates. Productsin
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Ollie’s Service Inc.
Alexandria - 320-763-4455
olliesservice.com

Olson Power & Equipment
North Branch - 651-674-4494
olsonpower.com

St. Boni Motorsports
St. Bonifacius - 952-446-1554
stbonimotorsports.com

Paid Advertisement
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Non-Trail Snowmobile Registration

Non-Trail Snowmobile Registration is available for snowmobilers who do not
operate on state or grant-in-aid state trails. A unique non-trail registration number
will be assigned which will need to be displayed on the snowmobile.

« Non-trail registration does not allow for operation on state or grant-in-aid
state trails even if you have a one-year trail sticker on the snowmobile.

+ If a road right-of-way is part of a state or grant-in-aid state trail, you cannot
operate a non-trail registered snowmobile on it.

+ If a non-trail registered snowmobile is changed to the regular trail registration,
new registration numbers will be assigned which will need to be displayed on
the snowmobile.

« Non-trail snowmobile registrations are non-transferable.

« Snowmobiles with 125cc or less engine displacement do not need registration
(including non-trail registration) if NOT operated on state and grant-in-aid
trails.

Registration Numbers and Validation Decals

When you register your snowmobile, you will be assigned a snowmobile registration
number and receive a registration card. When you receive your registration card,
sign it and keep it handy. You do not have to carry it with you, but if an enforcement
officer asks to see it, you must produce it within a reasonable amount of time.

Display of Registration Number and Validation Decals

All snowmobiles made after June 30,1972, and sold in Minnesota, shall be designed
and made to provide an area on which to affix the snowmobile registration number
at the following location and of the following dimensions:

+ Aclear area shall be provided on each side of the cowling or pan with the
minimum size of 3 inches vertical by 7 inches horizontal.

« It shall be a minimum of 12 inches from the ground when the machine is resting
on a hard surface.

+ The letters and numbers must be 17/8" high with 3/16" stoke in width and in the
English language.

Note: Letters and numbers must be
contrasting color of the snowmobile

SN 2023E

10 2020-2021 Snowmobile Regulations 888-MINNDNR



INDY "2

i Legendary Performance. Simply Fun,

v PAID ADVERTISEMENT
Chopper City Sports Tri-K Sports
Fridley Maple Plain
763-572-2100 763-479-3719
choppercity.com triksports.com

Poleris il i i it drink and rid.

2017 Polaris Industries Inc.

Follow the Feeling

Country Cat Lighthouse Motorsports & Marine
Sauk Centre Rosemount

320-352-3534 651-322-4420
www.countrycat.com www.lighthousemotorsports.com

Always wear a helmet and don’t drink and ride. ©2021 Textron Specialized Vehicles Inc. All rights reserved.




Registration Exemptions
« being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail

« owned and used by the federal government, an Indian tribal government,
another state or a political subdivision

« if the snowmobile is registered by tribal members through the tribal
government

« registered in a country other than the U.S. and being used temporarily in
Minnesota

« currently registered in another state and not kept in Minnesota for more than
30 consecutive days

+ used exclusively in organized track-racing events
+ in transit by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer

« atleast 15 years old in transit by an individual for use on land owned or leased
by the individual

« used exclusively for agricultural purposes

« asnowmobile with an engine displacement that is 125 cubic centimeters or less
and the snowmobile is not operated on a state or grant-in-aid trail

Transfer or Termination of Snowmobile Ownership
Under Minnesota statute 84.84

Within 15 days after the transfer of ownership, or any part thereof, other than a
security interest, or the destruction or abandonment of any snowmobile, written
notice of the transfer or destruction or abandonment shall be given to the
commissioner in such form as the commissioner shall prescribe.

An application for transfer must be executed by the registered owner and the
purchaser using a bill of sale that includes the vehicle serial number.

The purchaser is subject to the penalties imposed by section 84.88 if the purchaser
fails to apply for transfer of ownership as provided under this subdivision.

Every owner or part owner of a snowmobile shall, upon failure to give notice of
destruction or abandonment, be subject to the penalties imposed by section 84.88.

Under Minnesota statute 84.88 - Penalty

Any person who shall violate any provision of sections 84.88 or any rule of
the commissioner of natural resources or of the commissioner of public safety
promulgated pursuant to law shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

Simply obtain a bill of sale that includes the serial number of the snowmobile from
the registered owner and along with the universal registration form and a check/
money order for the appropriate registration/transfer fees, to the DNR License
Center or stop in at a deputy registrar.
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Collector Snowmobile
Collector Limited Snowmobile Use

A special permit may be issued to a person or organization to operate or transport a
collector snowmobile without registration for parades or organized group outings,
such as races, rallies, and other promotional events, and for up to ten days each year
for personal transportation. The commissioner may impose a reasonable restriction
on a permittee and may revoke, amend, suspend, or modify a permit for cause.

Collector Unlimited Snowmobile Use

Snowmobiles may be issued an exempt registration if the machine is at least 25
years old. Exempt registration is valid from the date of issuance until ownership of
the snowmobile is transferred. Exempt registrations are not transferable. Note: A
snowmobile state trail sticker is required if you operate on a state or grant-in-aid
trail.

Destroyed, Abandoned, or Stolen Snowmobile

If your snowmobile is destroyed, abandoned, or stolen or you no longer register
it in Minnesota, notify the DNR License Center at 500 Lafayette Rd, St. Paul, MN
55155-4026, (651) 296-2316 or 1-800-285-2000 within 15 days.

Dealer and Manufacturer Registration

Dealers must register snowmobiles they own and use for demonstration purposes.
A registration plate will be issued along with a registration certificate that must be
displayed conspicuously in the place of business. Additional plates are available for
$4.00, plus filing fees.

Manufacturers must register snowmobiles they own and operate for research,
testing, experimentation, or demonstration. A registration plate will be issued along
with a registration certificate that must be displayed conspicuously in the place of
manufacture.

A valid registration number plate must be displayed on snowmobiles operated, or
permitted to be operated, by a dealer or manufacturer. The registrations are not
transferable. Dealer and manufacturer registrations are valid July 1 - June 30.

Minnesota Law on Registration

“A person may not operate or transport a snowmobile unless the snowmobile has
been registered.” Violation of this law is a misdemeanor and is punishable by fines
up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days.

Special Operating Permits

Upon written application by the responsible event sponsor to the commissioner,
special operating permits for limited periods of time not to exceed 30 days may be
issued to operators of snowmobiles from states which do not require registration
when such snowmobiles are to be used in connection with a responsibly organized
group outing, trail ride, race, rally, or other promotional events. Such permit

shall be conspicuously displayed on the snowmobile and is valid only when the
snowmobile is used in connection with the event for which the permit was issued
and for the period of time shown on the permit.
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STATE TRAIL STICKERS

Snowmobile State Trail Sticker

Snowmobiles registered in another state or country
must have a Snowmobile State Trail Sticker when
operating on state and grant-in-aid trails. A Snowmobile
State Trail Sticker is valid November 1 - June 30 of each
year. Anyone operating a snowmobile in violation of this
law will be required to purchase an annual penalty sticker for $71.00 in addition to
any ticket or fine.

These stickers are available at Deputy Registrar locations, Game and Fish
Licensing agents, DNR License Center, online www.mndnr.gov or by phone
1-888-MNLICENSE

Snowmobile sticker fees:

Type of Sticker Fee
One Year Trail Sticker $51.00
Penalty Annual Trail Sticker $71.00

(Required to buy if found operating on
state or grant-in-aid trail without a sticker)

Dealer/Manufacturer Trail Sticker $16.00
Duplicates $2.50

Note: For Online purchases, add 3% plus a $1.65 service fee. For phone
purchases, add $3.50

How to Display
The snowmobile state trail sticker must be displayed in one of the following ways:
+ on the forward half of the snowmobile, directly above or below the headlight

+ above the expiration year on the top portion of the registration validation
decal

» on the lower right corner of a dealer or manufacturer plate
Trail Sticker Exemptions
A snowmobile state trail sticker is not required for:
» a snowmobile while being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail

« asnowmobile owned by the federal government, Indian tribal government,
state, and political subdivisions

« operating a collector snowmobile with a permit

«+ operating a snowmobile on portions of a trail owned by the person or the
person’s spouse, child, or parent

Registration 15
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SNOWMOBILE SAFETY TRAINING

REQUIREMENTS

Residents born after December 31, 1976, must complete
a snowmobile safety training course to operate a
snowmobile in Minnesota.

While operating a snowmobile, you must have either:

« asnowmobile safety certificate in your possession
or

+ asnowmobile safety certificate indicator on your
driver’s license or on your Minnesota ID card
*Minnesota’s enhanced driver’s license does not allow for certification indicator

Ages 11to 15
Youth can complete safety training by selecting one of the choices below. Either
choice will have a required “hands-on” snowmobile riding course.
Choice 1: Attend a Traditional classroom snowmobile course

« Course fee $5.00

+ 8-hour course provided by DNR Volunteer Instructors

+ Meets two or more times in a classroom setting

+ Required “hands-on” snowmobile riding course**
Choice 2: Complete the Online snowmobile safety course

« Snowmobilecourse.com [course fee $24.95]

« Attend required “hands-on” snowmobile riding course**

**Additional fees may apply to attend the hands-on course. Contact the Instructor.

Where do | find a training course?

On the DNR website www.mndnr.gov, click on Education & Safety and then under
Recreational Vehicle Safety Classes to find snowmobile safety training. You may also
contact the DNR Information Center by email (info.dnr@state.mn.us) or by phone
1-888-646-6367.

Ages 16 and older

Anyone who is 16 years or older may complete the online course at
Snowmobilecourse.com and click on the Minnesota course link. Participants will
pay with a credit card to obtain the safety certificate via online portal. Anyone 16 or
older is not required to attend the “hands on” snowmobile riding course.

Offender Snowmobile Safety Training

A person who is convicted of careless or reckless operation, or two or more
speeding violations in a snowmobile season, must successfully complete a
snowmobile safety training course before operating a snowmobile.
Non-residents

Certificates for snowmobile safety training issued in another state will be
recognized in Minnesota.
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YOUTH OPERATION REQUIREMENTS

+ The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is jointly responsible for
laws broken by a minor on that snowmobile.

« Anyone under 18 years old must wear an approved helmet.

Residents and Non-Residents
Under age 12

« Without safety certificate - May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public
waters, or grant-in-aid trails if accompanied by an adult*
+ May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads

+ May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality

Ages 12 and 13

« May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid trails
IF accompanied by an adult* OR in possession of a valid snowmobile safety
certificate

+ May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads
+ May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality

Ages 14 to 18

+ May drive a snowmobile across state or county roads IF in possession of
a snowmobile safety certificate or driver’s license or ID card with valid
snowmobile indicator

+ May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid trails
WITH a snowmobile safety certificate

+ May drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in municipalities, if not
prohibited by local ordinance

Over Age 18

+ Residents born after December 31,1976, who operate a snowmobile in
Minnesota must possess a valid snowmobile safety certificate or a driver’s
license or ID card with a valid snowmobile indicator.

* Accompanied by an adult means a parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of
age or older designated by the parent or guardian who needs to be close enough to be
able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile.

Exception for Residents and Non-Residents

Without a snowmobile safety certificate, a person under the age of 14 years

may operate a snowmobile only if they are supervised or accompanied by one

of the following: parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older
designated by the parent or guardian. The supervising or accompanying adult needs
to be close enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile.
This exception does not allow an operator under the age of 14 to cross a public
road. Non-residents who are 18 years old and older do not need a snowmobile
safety certificate.
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GENERAL SNOWMOBILE OPERATIONS

EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS

All snowmobiles operated on public lands, waters, or roadways must be equipped as
follows:

Helmet
« Operators or riders under 18 years of age must wear an approved helmet,
except when participating in a parade or operating on land belonging to a
parent, grandparent, sibling, uncle, or aunt.

+ An approved helmet must meet federal law, which requires the helmet to
display the DOT symbol. This indicates the manufacturer’s helmet conforms
to motor vehicle safety standards under the department of transportation.
Standard bicycle and hockey helmets are not legal helmets for snowmobiling.

Lights
» Headlights and taillights must be on during hours of darkness.

» Headlights must be able to reveal people and vehicles 100 feet ahead and
aimed so they will not blind an oncoming snowmobiler.

« Colored lenses on headlights are NOT lawful when the snowmobile is operated
on roads or road rights-of-way, including crossing roads and operating in
ditches or outside slopes.

+ Red taillights must be visible for 500 feet to the rear of the snowmobile.

Brakes

« Brakes must be able to control movement and to stop and hold the snowmobile
track.

Reflector Material

+ Snowmobiles must have at least 16 square inches of reflector material on each
side forward of the handlebars.

+ Any sled, trailer, or other device that is towed by a snowmobile during hours of
darkness must display visible reflector material on each side and at the rear of
the snowmobile.

Mufflers

» Snowmobiles must be equipped with mufflers that are in good working order
and that do not produce sharp popping or cracking sounds or excessive or
unusual noise. After-market exhaust systems may not meet this requirement
and may not be lawful to operate.

+ You may not operate or sell a snowmobile built on or after April 1, 1975, that
exceeds 78 decibels on the A scale at 50 feet, except under a permit of the
DNR or county sheriff.

+ No snowmobile shall be modified by any person in any manner that shall
amplify or otherwise increase total noise level above that emitted by the
snowmobile as originally equipped, regardless of date of manufacture.
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TRAIL RIDING RULES

Passing
When overtaking another

snowmobile going in the same
direction, always pass on the left.

Meeting - Tm - :m <_:mm

When meeting another snowmobile,
always slow down and stay to the
right.

—> [E:] — ((In :-»

Meeting at an intersection

When meeting at an intersection,
the operator to the right has the
right of way.

A Message from MN DNR Conservation Officers:

Operating a snowmobile above the speed limit is dangerous for you
and others. It is a contributing factor in numerous crashes each year.
Minnesota offers several hundred miles of snowmobile trails in forested
areas. While these locations offer a scenic and fun experience, caution
is required when meeting other riders. Limited visibility based upon the
trail type and conditions may require speed to be reduced even more. Please be
alert to other snowmobile operators and SLOW down when out riding the trails.
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SIGNS

Snowmobile operators should be familiar with the meaning
of the following trail signs.

Informational sign:
indicates intersections or major changes in trail direction.

Directional blazer:
indicates changes in trail direction.

Reassuring blazer:

placed at intervals along the trail reassures users that they
are still on the trail.

Stop sign:
placed at a road or highway crossing indicates a
snowmobile must come to a complete stop.

No-snowmobiling sign:
indicates a trail or area where snowmobiling is prohibited.

No-studded tracks sign:
indicates no metal traction devices allowed on trail.

Two-way trail sign:

indicates trails with permitted two-way
travel during nighttime hours within the
public road right-of-way.
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WHERE YOU MAY RIDE A SNOWMOBILE

« inthe bottom or outside slope of a ditch of a county or state road

« in the same direction as road traffic in the ditch from one-half hour after
sunset to one-half hour before sunrise (other than this time, you can ride in
either direction)

+ one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise on two-way
snowmobile trails that are located

« within the ditches or adjacent to streets or highways when specifically
permitted by the road authority (look for posted two-way signs, see page 21)

» on state and local grant in aid Snowmobile trails

« oniced-over waters that have legal access (unless restricted by local
ordinance)

+ on township roads when not restricted by local ordinance

» on public lands that are open to motorized vehicles. Land uses vary. Be sure to
check all federal, state, and local ordinances

« on your own land

Public Road Right-of-Way
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NOTICE: Snowmobile operation is restricted to the bottom and outer slope of a
road ditch of a state highway or county road. Road authorities may allow two-way
operation on either side of road.

Check with local government officials on operating snowmobiles within township or
city limits as private property boundaries vary.

Inside the seven-county metro area, you may ride:
« on land that is posted with signs stating
“snowmobiles allowed”

«+ on land other than your own, with written or verbal
permission of the landowner, occupant, or lessee

+ onthe groomed area of a snowmobile trail.

Outside the seven-county metro area, you may ride:

«+ on agricultural land with permission of the
landowner

« on land, other than agricultural land, that you have not been told verbally, by
written warning, or by posted signs,that riding is prohibited on the groomed
area of a snowmobile trail.
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A snowmobile may make a direct crossing of a street or highway at any hour of the
day provided:

1. the crossing is made at an angle of approximately 90 degrees to the direction
of the highway and at a place where no obstruction prevents a quick and safe
crossing; and

2.the snowmobile is brought to a complete stop before crossing the shoulder or
main traveled way of the highway; and

3. the driver yields the right-of-way to all oncoming traffic which constitutes an
immediate hazard; and

4. in crossing a divided highway, the crossing is made only at an intersection of
such highway with another public street or highway; and

5. if the crossing is made between the hours of one-half hour after sunset to
one-half hour before sunrise or in conditions of reduced visibility, only if both
front and rear lights are on; and

6.a snowmobile may be operated upon a bridge, other than a bridge that is part
of the main traveled lanes of an interstate highway, when required for the
purpose of avoiding obstructions to travel when no other method of avoidance
is possible; provided the snowmobile is operated in the extreme right-hand
lane, the entrance to the roadway is made within 100 feet of the bridge and the

crossing is made without undue delay

WHERE YOU MAY NOT RIDE

+ on the roadway, shoulder, or inner slope of the ditch of a state or county road
+ on the median of a four-lane roadway

« within the right-of-way of any interstate

+ on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic

« against traffic at night within the road right-of-way *Except when two-way trail
travel signs permit use

« atairports

- in any state park, state recreation area, state historic site, wildlife management
area, or state scientific and natural area with the exception of posted
snowmobile trails and areas

- in any wildlife management area south of U.S. Highway 2 from Grand Forks
east to Bemidji, then south along U.S. Highway 71 to Wadena, then east along
U.S. Highway 10 to Staples and U.S. Highway 210 to the eastern boundary of
the state, without written permission from the DNR

« on any iced-over waters located in a restricted area or iced-over waters

+ where you don’t have legal access

« in any areas restricted by local ordinances or municipalities

+ inatree nursery or planting area

« on state forest lands that are posted or designated closed to snowmobiling

-+ on state forest lands located in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness,
including all of Lake Isabella and Insula; and portions of Lake Jeanette and
Burntside State Forests.

« in National Wildlife Refuges, Waterfowl Production Areas, or the Boundary
Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. For more information, contact your local U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service.
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OTHER PROHIBITIONS

It is unlawful to:

operate your snowmobile in a careless, reckless, or heedless manner that
endangers the operator, or property of another, or causes injury or damage
(intentionally driving over open water, or water skipping, may be considered
careless or reckless unless done as an event under special permit issued by the
local sheriff’s office)

litter
enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence

mutilate, destroy, damage, or remove any shelter, comfort station, or facility
on any state or grant-in-aid trail

post, damage, or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you are the
landowner, occupant, or lessee of the property

operate on state forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or rutting,
damages or destroys trees or growing crops

operate on a state forest trail that is posted for non-motorized use

operate a snowmobile with metal traction devices on paved public trails when
posted closed by state or local government.

Special Provision - Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest:

Motor vehicles and snowmobiles may operate only on forest roads that are not
posted closed and on forest trails that are designated for motorized use. No
motorized travel is allowed off designated trails under any circumstances.

SPEED LIMITS

It is unlawful to operate a snowmobile in excess of:

.

50 MPH on any public lands or waters

the posted speed limits on a trail

a speed greater than various conditions dictate for the trail, terrain and
visibility

the posted road speed limit or 50 MPH, whichever is LOWER, while operating
in the ditch

any governmental unit snowmobile speed limit. Governmental units include any
city, county, municipality, township, or conservation district.

Speed on frozen lake surfaces:

24

A county may enact a daytime 65 MPH speed limit for marked trails on frozen
lakes that are over 10,000 acres. The county would need to pass an ordinance
and receive approval by the DNR Commissioner. Individual counties will have

more information on the location and status of any designated 65 MPH trails.
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ENFORCEMENT

Conservation officers, state troopers, deputy sheriffs, police officers and other
peace officers are responsible for the enforcement of Minnesota’s snowmobile
laws. Whenever an enforcement officer signals you, you must stop. Fleeing an
enforcement officer is a felony and the snowmobile used may be forfeited.

Part of a conservation officer’s duty is to ensure your safety while snowmobiling.
Your local conservation officer can also be found a:
www.dnr.state.mn.us/officerpatrolareas/index.html

Penalties

Violation of most snowmobile statutes and rules are misdemeanors and carry a fine
of up to $1,000 and imprisonment for up to 90 days. Youth violations may result

in snowmobile safety certificate suspension. Also, snowmobiles used in burglaries,
fleeing a peace officer, or a DWI, may be subject to seizure and confiscation or
forfeiture.

The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is subject to penalties if he
or she knowingly allows the snowmobile to be operated by someone physically or
mentally unable to drive the vehicle safely, or is under the influence of drugs or
alcohol.

A person operating a snowmobile with metal traction devices on any paved trail
is guilty of a petty misdemeanor punishable by a civil penalty or criminal fine of
$50 for the first offense, $200 for the second offense, and $500 for the third or
subsequent offense. Criminal fines will be subject to court surcharges and fees in
addition to this penalty amount.

Sunken Snowmobiles

Minnesota law requires snowmobiles and motor vehicles (including cars, trucks,
watercraft and ATVs) that sink in a lake or river, be removed by the owner within 30
days. Owners must also notify the county sheriff within 48 hours. If the snowmobile
or vehicle is not removed, the local unit of government can remove it and charge
the owner two to five times the cost of removal.

Accidents

Minnesota has worked hard to reduce snowmobiling accidents, injuries, and
fatalities through education and safety training programs. The largest contributing
factor to crashes is excessive speed, followed by alcohol usage.

Reporting Requirements: If you are involved in a snowmobile accident that results
in injury requiring medical attention, death, or damage of more than $500, you
must file an official accident report with the Department of Natural Resources
within 48 hours of the accident.

Accident reporting forms are available on the DNR website under the enforcement
division at www.mndnr.gov/enforcement or call 1-800-366-8917.
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SNOWMOBILING WHILE INTOXICATED (SWI)

If you are convicted or refuse chemical testing - regardless of what vehicle type
you are driving:

« Your driver’s license is revoked, and your ATV, snowmobile, and motorboat
privileges are all suspended for one year

If it’s your first driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense and you are operating a
snowmobile or other off-road recreational vehicle:
+ You are also subject to chemical use assessments, conditional release, and

plate impoundment of your highway licensed vehicles - the same as a DWIl on a
highway licensed vehicle

The underage not-a-drop provisions in the DWI laws now apply to snowmobiles and
other off-road recreational vehicles:

+ Your driver’s license and operating privileges for highway vehicles will be
revoked

Operating a snowmobile while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled
substance or its metabolite, or other hazardous substance is unlawful. Operators
who are impaired may be required to submit to tests by an enforcement officer to
determine the presence of these substances. There is a separate additional criminal
penalty for refusal to submit to the tests, and the person’s snowmobiling privileges
will be suspended for one year upon refusal. SWI convictions and refusals are
recorded on the violator’s driver’s license record and affect their driver’s license
privileges.

An operator who is found to be impaired or has an alcohol concentration of .08
or more, can be charged with a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony level
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). Persons convicted of a misdemeanor will be
subject to: up to $1,000 fine (plus surcharges); possible jail sentence; and loss of
snowmobile operating privileges for one year.

In addition to the above misdemeanor penalties, the following gross misdemeanor
penalty provisions may apply if the person has any prior DWI violations, has an
alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit, or has a child under 16 years of age
with them on the snowmobile:

« Up to $3,000 fine with longer mandatory jail time

« Forfeiture of the snowmobile *If a person has three or more DWI convictions
or revocations in the last 10 years, or has a prior felony conviction, he or she
can be sentenced to 3-7 years in jail, up to $14,000 fine, or both. Longer
license revocations also would be imposed.

Open Bottle Law

It is unlawful for a person to drink or consume alcoholic beverages when operating
a snowmobile on a roadway or shoulder of a roadway that is not a part of a
designated snowmobile trail.

ZERO Alcohol

DNR conservation officers strongly encourage every snowmobiler to practice ‘Zero
Alcohol’ use as part of their own safe riding habits. Many snowmobilers already
choose to ride alcohol free. Practicing ‘Zero Alcohol’ before and during your next
ride will save lives and reduce injuries.
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MINNESOTA TRESPASS LAWS

Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have
against snowmobilers. Always ask for permission before
entering private land.

Respect
Private
Property

Just because property isn’t posted that doesn’t mean you
have a right to enter someone else’s private property.
The posted signs indicate the landowner’s intention to
prevent unauthorized entry. If you violate Minnesota’s
trespass laws, you will be guilty of a misdemeanor or
gross misdemeanor, or may be charged with a civil penalty. A misdemeanor is
punishable by fines of up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days. Civil
penalties range from $50 for a first time violation to $500 and loss of registration
for a third violation.

You are guilty of a gross misdemeanor when you:
« Knowingly disregard signs prohibiting trespass
» Trespass after the landowner tells you not to

+ Violate the trespass law twice in three years. If you are convicted of a gross
misdemeanor, you will be subject to fines up to $3,000 and up to one year
in jail, your snowmobile registration will be null and void, and you will lose all
hunting privileges for two years.

You must have permission to:

« Enter posted land

« Enter Agricultural land — land that is plowed or tilled; has standing crops or
crop residue; is within a maintained fence for enclosing domestic livestock;
is planted native or introduced hay land or grassland; or is planted to short
rotation woody crops (harvested within 15 years of planting).

«+ All planted grassland, hay land, and short rotation woody crop land meet the
definition of agricultural land, grass land enrolled in the federal Conservation
Reserve Program (CRP), Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program
(CREP), or the state Reinvest in Minnesota Reserve Program (RIM), Walk In
Access areas. These lands do not need to be posted to prevent trespass.

It’s unlawful to:
+ Wound or kill another person’s domestic animal or destroy private property

« Pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position

« Stray off the groomed portions of marked state trails.
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GAME LAWS RELATED TO SNOWMOBILING

General Restrictions

A person licensed to take deer must not operate a snowmobile or an off-highway
vehicle on public or private property in an area open for the taking of deer by
firearms on a day that they are licensed to take deer in that area except:

+ Before legal shooting hours (1/2 hour before sunrise).

« From 11am until 2pm.

« After legal shooting hours (1/2 hour after sunset).

« On property that they own.

« On private property with the landowner’s permission.

« Under a permit issued by a conservation officer to operate these vehicles in an

emergency, medical, or other unusual situation during the restricted hours.

Recreational Snowmobile and OHV Riders

During the firearms deer season, option A season, snowmobile trails and OHV trails
and routes on state forest lands are closed to ALL recreational snowmobile and
offhighway vehicle riding (ATV, OHM, and ORV) where deer may be taken by rifle
only (see MN Hunting and Trapping Regulations booklet):

+ Series 100 permit areas
« Portions of series 200 permit areas
« Forest roads remain open to snowmobile and OHV use

Firearms Transportation in Motor Vehicles

A person may transport unloaded, uncased firearms (excluding pistols) in a motor
vehicle, including snowmobiles:

+ While at a shooting range with permission

« While lawfully hunting on private or public land or while traveling to or from a
site the person intends to hunt or trap or has lawfully hunted that day.

Firearms must be transported unloaded and cased:
« Within Anoka, Hennepin, and Ramsey counties

« Within boundaries of a home rule charter, or statutory city with population of
2,500 or more

» On school grounds

+ As otherwise restricted in game refuges, shining, thermal imagining or night
vision laws

« Ahandgun/pistol cannot be transported uncased without a valid permit to
carry.
It is unlawful to:
« use a snowmobile to chase, run over, or kill a wild animal
+ shoot or attempt to shoot a wild animal from a snowmobile.
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FOR MORE INFORMATION

GRANT-IN-AID PROGRAM

The Grant-in-Aid Program is a cooperative effort between the Minnesota DNR,
local governments, local snowmobile organizations, and private landowners who
provide the majority of Minnesota’s 22,000 miles of snowmobile trails. Funded
through snowmobile registration and Snowmobile State Trail Sticker fees and gas
taxes, the grant-in-aid program helps local groups and clubs develop and maintain
trails.

+ Grant-in-aid trails are open each year from December 1to April 1

« Many grant-in-aid trails throughout the state run through private property.
Stay on good terms with these landowners by staying on marked trails. Don’t
jeopardize your ability to use private lands

+ Remember you need a Trail Use Registration sticker when operating on grant-
in-aid trails.

SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE

To find the sunrise and sunset times in your area.
https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/sunrise-sunset/index.html
Daylight Savings Time

Daylight savings time is not implemented in time tables.

CONTACT INFORMATION

Where to ride your Snowmobile
mndnr.gov/snowmobiling

Safety training

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

Safety Training Program Headquarters—Camp Ripley
Little Falls, MN 56345

800-366-8917

mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle

State trails

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources—Information Center
500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 55155-4040

651-296-6157 or 888-MINNDNR

Snowmobile registration

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources—License Center 500 Lafayette Rd.,
St. Paul, MN 55155-4026

651-296-2316 or 800-285-2000

mndnr.gov/rlp
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CALL US

Interpreters are available to answer all of your questions

DNR license, titling and registration: M-F 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
info.dnr@state.mn.us
888-MINNDNR or 651-296-6157

For more information on OHYV trails, maps, trip planning, safety training, rules and
regulations, trail closures and more, visit. mndnr.gov/snowmobiling

To contact a conservation officer call 888-MINNDNR or 651-296-6157.

MinnesotaDNR

m DEPARTMENT OF
“ NATURAL RESOURCES

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4040
888-MINNDNR or 651-296-6157

mndnr.gov

The Minnesota DNR prohibits discrimination in its programs and services based

on race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, public assistance status, age,
sexual orientation or disability. Persons with disabilities may request reasonable
modifications to access or participate in DNR programs and services by contacting
the DNR ADATitle Il Coordinator at info.dnr@state.mn.us or 651-296-6157.
Discrimination inquiries should be sent to Minnesota DNR, 500 Lafayette Road,

St. Paul, MN 55155-4049; or Office of Civil Rights, U.S. Department of the Interior,
1849 C. Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20240.
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ST. BONI MOTOR SPORTS
4120 STEINER STREET

ST. BONIFACIUS, MN 55375

952 446-1554 www.sthoni.com

Ski-doo

Paid Advertisement

R

MINNEAPOLIS MOTOR SPORTS
801 LOUISIANA AVE SOUTH
MINNEAPOLIS, MN 55426
763 634-0244 www.mplsmotor.com

filiates. Products in the United States (U.5.) are distributed by BRP US Inc. Always ride respansibly and safely
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