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What is the renter’s property tax refund program? 
The renter’s property tax refund program (sometimes called the “renters’ credit”) is a state-paid refund 
that provides tax relief to renters whose rent and “implicit property taxes” are high relative to their 
incomes. “Rent constituting property taxes” is assumed to equal 17 percent of rent paid. If rent 
constituting property taxes exceeds a threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a percentage 
of the tax over the threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income increases: 

 the threshold percentage increases, 
 the share of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay increases, and 
 the maximum refund decreases. 

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types of income, including 
income that is not subject to income tax. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who 
are over age 65 or disabled. 

What are the maximums? 
For refund claims filed in 2022, based on rent paid in 2021 and 2021 household income, the maximum 
refund is $2,280. Renters whose income exceeds $64,920 are not eligible for refunds. 

How are claims filed? 
Refund claims are filed using Minnesota Department of Revenue (DOR) Schedule M1PR.  Schedule M1PR 
is filed separately from the individual income tax form. Claims filed before August 15, 2023, will be paid 
beginning in August 2023. The deadline for filing claims based on rent paid in 2022 is August 15, 2024; 
taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund.  

How many renters receive refunds, and what is the total amount paid? 
305,455 renters received refunds in 2020 (based on rent paid in 2019 and 2019 incomes). The average 
refund was $704, and the total dollar amount of refunds paid statewide was $215.2 million. The average 
refund for senior and disabled claimants ($788) was higher than the average for those under age 65 and 
not disabled ($669). 

When was the program last changed? 
The 2013 tax law expanded the program, by lowering the maximum threshold percentage for 
determining eligibility from 3.5 percent of income to 2.0 percent of income, in conjunction with 
reductions to the homeowner thresholds.  It also increased the maximum refund to $2,000 for refunds 
based on rent paid in 2013.  

For refunds based on rent paid from 1998 to 2008, the percentage of rent constituting property taxes 
was 19 percent. It was reduced to 15 percent for refunds based on rent paid in 2009 only under Gov. 
Tim Pawlenty’s June 2009 unallotment, subsequently enacted into law. For refunds based on rent paid 
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in 2010, the percentage returned to 19 percent. The 2011 tax law reduced the rate to 17 percent 
beginning for refunds based on rent paid in 2011 and following years. 

How do refunds vary depending on income and property taxes? 
The following table shows the refund amount for four example families (married couples without 
dependents).  Although the threshold percentage, copayment rates, and maximum refund amounts are 
the same statewide, the average rent is higher in the metro area than in Greater Minnesota.  Taxpayers 
who are over age 65, disabled, or have dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in 
determining the refund. 

Married couple, both under age 65, no dependents 
Example refunds for claims filed in 2020, 

based on rent paid in 2019 and 2019 household income 

Metro Area Greater Minnesota 

Taxpayer #1 Taxpayer #2 Taxpayer #3 Taxpayer #4 

1 Monthly rent, one bedroom 
apartment 

$942 $942 $597 $597 

2 Annual rent (1 x 12 = 2) $11,304 $11,304 $7,164 $7,164 

3 Rent constituting property tax 
(2 x 17% = 3) 

$1,922 $1,922 $1,218 $1,218 

4 Gross income $15,000 $30,000 $15,000 $30,000 

5 Deduction for dependents 0 0 0 0 

6 Household income (4 - 5 = 6) $15,000 $30,000 $15,000 $30,000 

7 Statutory threshold 
percentage 

1.3% 1.8% 1.3% 1.8% 

8 Threshold % x income 
(7 x 6 = 8) 

$195 $540 $195 $540 

9 Property tax over threshold 
(3 – 8 = 9) 

$1,726 $1,381 $1,023 $678 

10 Copay percentage 15% 25% 15% 25% 

11 Taxpayer copay amount (9 x 
10 = 11) 

$259 $345 $153 $169 

12 Remaining tax over threshold 
(9 – 11 = 12) 

$1,468 $1,036 $869 $508 

13 Maximum refund allowed $2,010 $1,800 $2,010 $1,800 

14 Net property tax refund $1,468 $1,036 $869 $508 

Claimants can check the status of their refund online or by calling DOR at 651-296-4444. 
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