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Life jackets save lives. Wear it!



MINNESOTA BOATING GUIDE 2022

Enjoying Minnesota’s lakes and rivers

by paddle or motorboat is a wonderful
privilege. That privilege comes with serious
responsibilities. Fun boating is safe boating,
so please read this guide thoroughly

and contact the Department of Natural
Resources (DNR) with any questions you
may have.

This book summarizes Minnesota’s boating
laws and regulations. It does not present
the actual laws and regulations. Laws and
regulations are subject to change by the
Legislature and through public hearings.

Boaters may also be subject to federal and
local rules and restrictions. For boating
information and more information regarding
state laws and regulations, contact the DNR
Information Center.

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4040
651-296-6157
888-646-6367

Email: info.dnr@state.mn.us
mndnr.gov/boatingsafety

For watercraft registration and titling
questions: mndnr.gov/licenses
651-296-2316

For federal boating laws visit the U.S. Coast
Guard’s boating safety website:
uscgboating.org

Front cover photo courtesy of:
National Safe Boating Council
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LIFE JACKETS SAVE LIVES.

Top Five Boating Safety Tips

Wear your life jacket —And make sure
children wear theirs.

Stay sober—Booze and boating don’t mix.
Alcohol is the #1 factor in boating fatalities.
Tell a friend—Tell someone where you're
going and when you will be back. If you're
not back, they should call 911. Bring a
phone or VHF radio.

Be weather aware—Don’t let a storm

sneak up on you—delay your trip or head
to shore. Go slow in rough water to avoid
capsizing.

Boat smart— Take a boating safety course.
Know your boat; stay alert while scanning
for dangers; stay seated and low in the boat
to prevent falls overboard.

STAY ALERT—STAY ALIVE

Important Notes for 2022

New carbon monoxide law requires
certain motorboats to install carbon
monoxide detectors and warning stickers
by May 1, 2018. (Page 15.)

New as of July 1, 2021. Driving while
impaired. If an operator’s license is
revoked, suspended or canceled due

to a DWI violation, they cannot legally
operate any vehicle, including motorboats.
(Page 36.)
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BOATING IN
COLD WATER

RESIST THE URGE TO
FIGHT THE WATER: REST
AND RECOVER.

If wearing a life jacket,
the 1-10-1 principle may
save your life:
1 minute
+ Get breathing

under control.

10 minutes of

meaningful movement

« Assess the situation
and make a plan.

+ Perform most
important functions
first, such as locating
other party members.

+ Self-rescue if possible.

« Signal or call for help.

1 hour (or more) of

useful consciousness

+ Focus on slowing
heat loss.

LICENSING YOUR BOAT

All motorized watercraft regardless of
length and nonmotorized watercraft over

10 feet must be licensed by the Department
of Natural Resources (DNR). The types of
watercraft that must be licensed include, but
are not limited to, motorboats, rowboats,
sailboats, sailboards, stand-up paddleboards,




canoes, kayaks, paddle boats, rowing shells
or sculls, all-terrain vehicles used in the water
and inflatable craft.

Exceptions to this law are as follows:

+ Watercraft currently registered in another
state and not kept in Minnesota for more
than 90 consecutive days, or a watercraft
owned by a person from another state that
does not require licensing of that type of
watercraft and it is not within Minnesota
for more than 90 consecutive days.

+ Watercraft from a country other than the
United States and not kept in Minnesota
for more than 90 consecutive days.

+ Watercraft owned by the United
States government or other specified
governmental units, except those boats
used for recreational purposes.

+ Watercraft documented with the United
States Coast Guard (official papers on craft
5 net tons or larger are issued by the Coast
Guard instead of state registration).

+ Aship’s lifeboat.

+ Waterfowl boats used during the waterfowl
hunting season, rice boats used during the
harvest season and seaplanes.

+ Nonmotorized watercraft 10 feet in length
or less.

LICENSE PROCEDURES AND FEES

Register your watercraft in person at

any deputy registrar of motor vehicles
(where you license your car); at the DNR
License Center in St. Paul; or renew online
at mndnr.gov/licenses.


http://mndnr.gov/licenses
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When you register your boat you will need

to provide:

+ The boat length, which is the straight-line
distance from the bow (front of the boat)
to the stern (rear of the boat). Bowsprits,
outboard motor brackets, rudders and
other attachments are not included in
the measurement.

+ Boat’s manufacturer.

+ Type of hull material (wood, metal,
or plastic).

+ Type of propulsion.

+ Boat model.

+ Boat year.

« Hull identification number (HIN).

+ Paddleboards do not require a HIN.

+ Sales receipt that shows you have paid the
sales tax.

Watercraft licenses cover a period of three
calendar years and expire on December 31

of the last year the license is valid. The
expiration date appears on both the license
certificate and on the validation decals which
are applied to the boat.

HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

A hull identification
number (HIN) or

serial number is vital
in registering and
titling your boat.

HINs can be found on
all boats manufactured since model year
1973. The letter-number combination is
typically about 12-17 digits long (example:
ABC12345L402). HINs are usually found on
the right side of the stern or transom of the
craft on the outside and may be stamped into
8



the fiberglass or aluminum or appear on a
separate plate.

Location may vary slightly on pontoon boats,
personal watercraft, kayaks, canoes, etc.
Boats built before November 1972 should
have a shorter serial number somewhere on
the craft.

LICENSE CERTIFICATE AND NUMBERING

If you apply for a new boat registration or
renew an existing one in person at a deputy
registrar (where you license your car) or the
DNR License Center, you will receive your
boat license decal and registration card

on the spot.

If you apply through the mail, it will probably
take several weeks before you receive your
decal and card.

Sign your license and keep it on board

your watercraft. If you are operating

a nonmotorized watercraft, you don’t have
to carry the license with you. However, if an
enforcement officer asks to see it, you must
produce it within a reasonable time.

The license number issued to your boat
appears on the license card and must be
displayed as follows:

« Numbers must be placed on each side of
the forward half of the hull (see illustration
on page 10).

+ Remove the expired decals first, before
applying the new ones.

+ The license number must be displayed on
your boat as it appears on your license
card.

+ Letters and numbers must be at least
3 inches high.



+ Letters and numbers must be of a block
character.

+ The MN should be separated from the
numbers by a 3-inch space.

+ Letters should be separated from numbers
by a 3-inch space.

» Must contrast with the background.

« Can be either painted or attached to the
craft.

+ Should read from left to right and must
always be legible.

+ The current license decal is always placed
closer to the stern within 4 inches of the
license number.

The license number which appears on your

watercraft license card must be displayed on
your boat as shown below:

License Number at "
least 3” high letters 3 {MN 1234 AB [m

By S
License Number Area
L_eft (port) — N (
side of boat 00 0OO0 0O @] Decal to rear
and within 4”

of license number

3" space

Less than
4” space

License Numberat _,
least 3” high letters 3 { MN 1234 AB

C~

\
\ _License Number Area Right
— L[S = — (starboard
Decal to rear 00 0OOo 0o (side of boa)t
»

and within 4”
of license number

3" space

Less than
4” space

10



If your canoe, kayak, paddleboard, rowing
shell, paddle boat, sailboard or sailboat
does not have a motor, a license decal is
all that is required. No 3-inch numbers are
necessary. Place the decal on each side

of the forward half of the nonmotorized

craft as shown below:

Decal

The owner of rented watercraft may keep the
license certificate at the rental location. The
rental business must be printed on both sides
of the rear half of the watercraft in letters at
least 3 inches high.

No other number, letter, or design may
appear within 24 inches of the license
number or decal.

On sailboards, paddleboards and
nonmotorized sailboats, you may place
the decals on the stern. Only do this if it is
impossible, because of the boat’s design,
to place them on the bow. For inflatable
or foam paddleboards, attach decals to a
placard attached to the paddleboard.




If your canoe or sailboat is motorized, affix
the 3-inch letters and numbers as previously
described for other motorized craft. The
square decal should be placed to the stern or
to the rear of the number (see page 10).

EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL

All watercraft licenses expire on Dec. 31 of
the last year the license is valid.

When you obtain your new license certificate
and validation decals, discard your old license
certificate and replace the expired decals on
your boat with the new ones. Remember, only
the current set of decals must be displayed.

DUPLICATE LICENSES

If a license is lost or destroyed, stop by your
local deputy registrar of motor vehicles office
or the DNR License Center 651-296-2316,
800-285-2000 or mndnr.gov/licenses.

To apply by mail, write to the DNR License
Center. Be sure to sign your name on

the letter and include the registration
number, description of the boat and the hull
identification number (HIN).

The fee for a duplicate license is listed on the
watercraft license fee chart on page 7.

TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP

If you buy a boat that is currently licensed in

Minnesota:

+ Obtain a bill of sale from the previous
owner. If boat is titled, obtain the watercraft
title certificate.

+ Send or deliver it, along with an application
for transfer and the transfer fee listed on
the fee chart on page 7, to the DNR License

Center or deputy registrar.
12
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+ Transfer applications must be made within
15 days after the transfer actually occurs.

+ The transferred registration is valid only for
the time remaining on the previous owner’s
registration. Then you must renew your
license.

+ Sales between private parties do not require
payment of sales tax.

DESTROYING OR ABANDONING
YOUR BOAT

If you destroy or abandon your watercraft—or
if you license it in another state—notify the
DNR License Center 651-296-2316 within

15 days.

DEALER’S LICENSE

Boat and motor dealers, wholesalers and
manufacturers may apply for a dealer’s
license for watercraft used for demonstration
purposes or for purposes necessary to
conduct business. A dealer will be issued only
one number. This number must be displayed
on both sides of boats used for these
purposes, however, and may be detachable.
This number must be removed before sale.

COLLECTOR WATERCRAFT

Owners of watercraft that were built before
July 1,1959, and used solely as a collector’s
item, have the option of displaying the boat
registration number and current decal on the
forward half of the boat, placed on both sides
on a detachable plate or board.

The number size, type and decal placement is
the same as noted on pages 9-12 of this guide.



WATERCRAFT TITLING

Certain watercraft over 16 feet are required
to be titled in Minnesota.

A watercraft title provides proof of
ownership, which becomes very important
when buying or selling a boat. A title also
protects businesses that make boat loans,
and aids in the recovery of stolen watercraft.

Exceptions to this law are watercraft:

+ Currently registered in another state and
never used in Minnesota for more than
90 consecutive days.

« Manufactured before Aug. 1, 1979.

+ 16 feet or less in length.

« Rowboat with oar locks and an outboard
motor less than 40 hp.

+ Documented with the United States Coast
Guard (official papers on craft 5 net tons
or more are issued by the Coast Guard
instead of state registration).

« Canoe, kayak or ship’s lifeboat.

« Waterfowl boats used during the waterfowl
hunting season, rice boats used during the
harvest season and seaplanes.

« Owned by a manufacturer or dealer and is
held for sale.

+ Used by a manufacturer for testing
purposes only.

« Owned by a resort or recreational
camping area licensed by the Minnesota
Department of Health.

+ Rowing shell or scull.

« Owned by the United States, a state or a
political subdivision.

14



REQUIRED EQUIPMENT
CARBON MONOXIDE (CO) DETECTOR

Sophia’s Law requires that all recreational
motorboats, including sailboats with motors,
with enclosed compartments be equipped
with a functioning marine CO detection
system and/or display three CO poisoning
warning stickers as of May 1, 2018.

Full details and requirements can be found
at mndnr.gov/boatingsafety.

LIFE JACKETS

The following are life jacket requirements in

Minnesota:

+ State law requires children under 10 years
old to wear a properly fitted life jacket
while a boat is underway. Underway means
not securely fastened to a permanent
mooring or tied to a dock.

+ Areadily accessible and wearable life jacket
is required for each person onboard a
boat, this includes canoes, kayaks, stand-up
paddleboards, paddleboats and waterfowl
boats.

+ One Type IV throwable is required on
boats 16 feet or longer
(except canoes and
kayaks) and must be
immediately available.

+ Personal watercraft
operators and passengers
must each wear a life jacket.

FOR YOUR SAFETY, WE STRONGLY
RECOMMEND EVERYONE ON BOARD
WEARS A LIFE JACKET AT ALL TIMES.


http://mndnr.gov/boatingsafety

MANDATORY
CHILD LIFE
JACKET
WEAR LAW

Minnesota law
requires a properly
! fitted U.S. Coast
Guard-approved life
- jacket to be worn by
children less than
10 years old when aboard any watercraft
while underway. Underway means not
attached to a permanent mooring or tied
to a dock.

There are exceptions to the wear law for:

« children who are below the top deck or
in an enclosed cabin.

« children aboard passenger vessels being
operated by a licensed captain.

« children on a boat that is anchored for
the purpose of swimming or diving.

Some infants are too small for any

life jacket, even though the label may

say 0-30 pounds. In general, babies under
6 months or 16 pounds are too small for a
life jacket to be effective due to the size
of their head compared to their body.

If your infant is under 6 months old or
16 pounds, please wait until the baby is a
little older before taking them boating.

NOTE: Fastening a boat cushion to a car
seat is not considered a lawful flotation
device for an infant and could trap the
baby underwater if your boat capsized.

16



Check the label on the life jacket to make
sure itis a U.S. Coast Guard-approved
flotation device and how to safely use it.

The following are exempt from state life

jacket carriage laws:

+ sailboards

+ rowing team members specified in law and
accompanied by a chase boat carrying the
required life jackets

WEARABLE LIFE JACKET TYPES

There are four types of wearable life jackets
approved for use on recreational boats:

Off-Shore Life Jacket

(Type 1) is a vest or yoke-type
device generally found

on commercial craft. It

is designed to turn most
unconscious persons from a
face downward to a face up
position in the water.

Near-Shore Buoyant Vest
(Type 1) usually looks like a
horse collar and is worn like
a bib. It has an unconscious
turning ability similar to
the Type |, but it will not
turn as many persons under
the same conditions.




Flotation Aids (Type Ill) are
usually foam-filled and come
in several colors and styles,
including full-sleeved jackets. /
Type Il devices may also

include inflatable life jackets.
Type llls are not designed to
turn an unconscious victim,
but they do provide protection
against exposure to cold water.

Special Use Devices (Type V) are designed
and approved for use during particular
activities. Type Vs include some
inflatable life jackets, duck
hunting flotation coveralls,

and flotation aids made for
sailboarding and whitewater
rafting. The label will indicate

any restrictions that apply to the
particular device. Some Type Vs
must be worn to be counted in
the total number of life jackets on
board your boat.

Inflatable Life Jackets are U.S. Coast
Guard approved for boaters
16 years and older. Inflatables
have the advantage of being
comfortable and easy to wear.
Once inflated, the flotation

is equal to or greater than
traditional life jackets.

Inflatables do have some

disadvantages:

+ Must be inflated to provide
flotation.

+ Do not provide as much
cold water protection.

18



+ Require regular maintenance and rearming
after inflation.

Some inflatable life jackets are required to
be worn in order to be counted as one of
your U.S. Coast Guard-approved wearable
flotation devices—check the label for
indication. Inflatables are not approved for
use on personal watercraft or while water-
skiing or similar sports. Always read the label
for intended use and follow any restrictions.

Before purchasing, make sure that “U.S.
Coast Guard Approved” is visible somewhere
on the package or on the device itself.

THROWABLE FLOTATION AIDS

Throwable Devices

(Type IV)—buoyant cushion,
ring buoy or horseshoe
buoy—are designed to be
thrown to a victim in the
water, rather than worn.
Cushions should be checked
often to see if they are in
serviceable condition. One
Type IV throwable is required
on boats 16 feet or longer
(except canoes and kayaks)
and must be immediately
available.

OTHER FACTS ABOUT LIFE JACKETS

+ The life jacket must be of the appropriate
size for the intended wearer.

+ “Readily accessible” means easily
retrievable within a reasonable amount of
time in an emergency. Life jackets in sealed
bags, under heavy objects or in locked
containers are not accessible.



“Immediately available” means Type IV
throwable devices must be easily reached
in time of an emergency. Generally this
means in the open, not in a container.

A label stating “U.S. Coast Guard
approved” must be printed on or attached
to the device and you must follow all
restrictions on it.

All life jackets must be in serviceable
condition, meaning free of tears, rot,
punctures and waterlogging. All straps,
zippers and buckles are present and in
good shape.

A U.S. Coast Guard-approved life jacket
must be worn by a person being towed
on any device, or be carried in the towing
watercraft.

A U.S. Coast Guard-approved Type V
device may be substituted for any other
approved device if it meets the same
requirements and is noted on the Type V
device (i.e. “Equivalent to an approved
Type Il device™).

WHISTLES/HORNS REQUIREMENTS

Motorboats 16 feet to less than 26 feet
long must be equipped with a hand-,
mouth-, or power-operated whistle or horn
capable of producing a continuous sound
for two seconds and audible for at least
one-half mile.

Motorboats 26 feet to less than 40 feet
long must be equipped with a hand- or
power-operated horn or whistle capable
of producing a continuous sound for two
seconds and audible for at least one mile.
Motorboats 40 feet or longer must be
equipped with a power-operated horn or
whistle capable of producing a continuous

20



sound for at least two seconds and audible

for at least one mile.

+ The only boat that can carry a siren is a

government patrol craft.

NAVIGATION LIGHTS

Navigation lights must be on from sunset

to sunrise.

MOTORBOAT NAVIGATION LIGHT

REQUIREMENTS

Most motorboats 16 feet
or longer will likely be
equipped with the correct
navigation lights by the
manufacturer. Only U.S.
Coast Guard-approved
lights will meet the
following requirements.

Motorboats less than

65 feet long while

underway, including

sailboats operating under
engine power, require
lights that are:

+ Either separate 112.5° red
and green side lights or a
combination 225° red and
green bow light. (A)

« A 225° masthead white
light on the forward half
of the boat, placed at
least 3 feet above the
red-green lights, showing
112.5° to each side and
visible for 2 miles. (B)

(A)
é(s)g
— =
Hg.

_W
Less than 65
feet long.

(A)

21



OPTIONAL: Motorboats

less than 40 feet long while
underway, including sailboats
operating under engine
power, may follow the lighting
requirements below or the
requirements listed in the
previous section:

NONMOTORIZED BOAT
NAVIGATION LIGHT
REQUIREMENTS

On boats 40 to 65 feet long, this light (B)
must be at least 9 feet above the gunwale.
A 135° white light on the stern half of the
craft showing 67.5° to each side. (C) This
light may be carried off the center line.
When at anchor, only one
360° white light is necessary.

Either separate 112.5° red
and green side lights or
a combination 225° red
and green bow light. (A)
A 360° white stern (rear)
light. When at anchor,
only the 360° white light
is necessary. (D)

Must at least carry a white
lantern or flashlight.

Light should be strong
enough so that other boats
around the horizon can see
it at least 2 miles away.
Light must be displayed

in sufficient time to avoid
a collision with another
watercraft.

22



+ Canoes, sailboats, etc., that are operating
under power must follow the lighting rules
for motorboats.

VISIBILITY RULES

+ White lights must be visible for 2 miles on a
dark, clear night (with one exception under
the International Rules).

« Combination or side lights must be visible
for 1 mile.

« Combination or side lights must shine red
to port (left side) and green to starboard
(right side).

« Combination lights must be attached so
the light shows from directly ahead to 22.5°
to the rear of the beam (midpoint of the
boat) on the respective side.

+ Lights may be detachable and need only be
displayed from sunset to sunrise.

LIGHTING NOTES

« Check navigation light sockets and wiring
for corrosion.

+ Boats on waters subject to U.S. jurisdiction
may also display navigation lights under
current federal inland regulations.

+ All accessory lighting such as docking
lights, spotlights or accent lights must not
impact navigation light visibility as required
by law.

FIRE EXTINGUISHERS

All fire extinguishers must be U.S. Coast
Guard-approved, fully charged, and readily
accessible.
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Motorboats carrying or using fuel or other
flammable fluid in an enclosure are required
to have a Type B, U.S. Coast Guard-approved
fire extinguisher(s) on board.

Fire extinguishers are required as follows:

For boats under 26 feet with enclosed

engine, fuel tanks or other spaces:

+ One size B-I fire extinguisher required.

For boats 26 feet up to 40 feet:

+ Two size B-l or one size B-Il fire
extinguisher(s) required

For boats 40 feet up to and including

65 feet:

+ Three size B-1 or one size B-Il and one size
B-I fire extinguishers required.

For boats over 65 feet:

+ Three size B-Il fire extinguishers required.

Additionally:

+ When a motorboat is equipped with a
U.S. Coast Guard-approved fixed fire
extinguishing system in the engine
compartment, one less B-I extinguisher
is required.

+ Enclosed engines and fuel tanks are
generally found on inboards or stern drives
and also on larger outboard boats with
built-in fuel tanks.

+ Open outboard boats with unenclosed
portable fuel tanks and no floorboards,
decking, a cabin or other spaces that could
trap fuel vapor are not required to carry an
extinguisher. However, it is a good idea to
carry one.

+ Approved types of fire extinguishers
are identified by the following marking
on the label—“Marine Type USCG
Approved”—followed by the type and size
symbols and the approval number.
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VENTILATION

Motorboats carrying or using any fuel

that has a flashpoint of 110 degrees or less
(gasoline) in any compartment must be
equipped with an efficient ventilating system
to remove combustible gases.

This system must consist of at least one
intake duct that extends from the deck
below the level of the carburetor air intake
(or halfway to the bilge) and an exhaust duct
that extends from the deck to the lowest
portion of the bilge. The cowls of these ducts
must be properly trimmed for maximum
ventilation.

A power-operated bilge blower is highly
recommended and it should be run at least
four minutes before starting the engine.

FLAME ARRESTORS

Gasoline engines, other than outboard
motors, must be equipped with a U.S. Coast
Guard-approved backfire flame arrestor on
the carburetor.

MUFFLERS/NOISE LIMITS

- All watercraft motors must have a muffler,
underwater exhaust, or other device that
suppresses the sound of the motor to
levels noted on page 26.

+ Itis unlawful to modify, equip, sell or
operate a motorboat (except under a
permit from the county sheriff or U.S.
Coast Guard) that exceeds the levels noted
on page 26.

« ltisillegal to sell or have an altered muffler,
muffler cutout, muffler bypass, or any
other device designed or installed so that it
can be used to continually or intermittently
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bypass any muffler or muffler system, or to
reduce or eliminate the effectiveness of a
muffler or muffler system.

NOISE LEVEL TESTING

Pass-by Test: Noise level test usually

performed at a distance of 50 feet—an

equivalent reading may be taken at other

distances.

+ Boats manufactured before January 1,
1982: 84 dBA

+ Boats manufactured January 1,1982 and
after: 82 dBA

Stationary Idle Test: Noise level test taken

at 4 feet above the water and at least 4 feet

behind the transom of the boat.

+ Boats manufactured before January 1,
1982: 86 dBA

+ Boats manufactured January 1,1982 and
after: 84 dBA

Officers and deputies may use either or both
of these tests at their discretion.

MARINE TOILETS

Under state law, toilets on board watercraft
must be no-discharge devices. Waste must be
retained on board for proper disposal after
returning to shore.

PROTECT YOUR WATERS

0’”5'*-'\"4/ . By taking a few simple steps, you

&y can help protect Minnesota’s lakes

- and rivers from zebra mussels and
oSt other aquatic invasive species.
Aquatic invasive species (AlS) cannot move
across the land without help, but when given
a lift they can spread almost anywhere.
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Everyone who recreates in Minnesota’s lakes
and rivers has an important role in preventing
the introduction and spread of AlS.

Take these actions required by law:

« CLEAN all visible aquatic plants, mud and
debris of f your boat, trailer and other
water-related equipment before leaving
a water access or shoreland property. It’s
illegal to transport prohibited invasive
plants or animals, whether dead or alive.

- DRAIN water-related equipment (boat,
ballast tanks, portable bait container,
motor) and drain bilge, livewell and baitwell
by removing drain plugs before leaving
a water access. Keep drain plugs out
and water-draining devices open while
transporting watercraft.

« DISPOSE of unwanted bait, including
minnows, leeches, worms, and fish parts in
the trash. It’s illegal to release live bait into
a water body, dump worms on the ground
or move aquatic animals or water from one
water body to another.

Whenever possible, also take these

recommended actions:

DRY everything before going to another lake

or river, especially if your boat has been in

the water or moored for more than 24 hours
or if you have recently been in waters
infested with zebra mussel or spiny waterflea.

To further decontaminate your boat and

equipment, do one or more of the following:

+ Spray with high-pressure water.

+ Rinse with very hot water. The following
water temperatures will kill zebra mussels
and some other AIS: 120°F for at least
2 minutes or 140°F for at least 10 seconds.

+ Dry for at least 5 days.
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Check these places on your boat and trailer and
remove aquatic plants and animals: (A) anchor
and lines; (B) livewell; (C) transom well; (D) hull;
(E) rollers (F) axle (G) lower unit/propeller.
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There is also a risk of spreading AlS by other
water recreation. Take these additional pre-
cautions when engaging in the activities below:

Sailing

Clean aquatic plants, animals and debris
from hull, centerboard or bilgeboard well,
rudderpost, trailer and other equipment
before leaving the water access.

Personal watercraft

+ Avoid areas with aquatic plants before
trailering personal watercraft.

+ Run engine for 5-10 seconds on the trailer
to blow out excess water and vegetation from
internal drive, and then turn engine off.

« Clean aquatic plants, animals and debris from
hull, trailer, water intake grate and steering
nozzle before leaving water access.

21-day dry law

A boat lift, dock, swim raft, or associated
equipment that has been removed from any
water body may not be placed in another water
body until a minimum of 21 days have passed.

Report new infestations

If you suspect a new infestation of an aquatic
invasive plant or animal, note the exact
location, take a photo or keep the specimen.
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Then contact your local DNR AIS specialist
at 888-646-6367 or 651-259-5100. Visit
mndnr.gov/AlS for more information.

Affirmation

In 2016, an AIS affirmation was added to new
watercraft and nonresident fishing licenses.
License applicants are required to affirm they
have read and understand a provided summary
of AlS laws. No fees are associated with the
affirmation. Learn more at
mndnr.gov/affirmation.

GENERAL OPERATION
ENFORCEMENT

DNR’s conservation officers and county
sheriff deputies enforce Minnesota’s boat
and water safety laws. All state and county
enforcement craft will be marked on both
sides or with a blue state pennant. Some
waters of the state are also under federal
jurisdiction. The U.S. Coast Guard and the
National Park Service enforce federal boating
regulations.

Whenever enforcement officers contact you,
you are required to stop and allow them to
come alongside. The officer may warn you
about a storm or caution you about the way
you’re operating your boat. Always remember
that a key job of these officers is to ensure
your safety afloat.

Violation of a boat and water safety statute or
rule is a misdemeanor, with some exceptions
for repeat violations or more serious offenses.

Boaters on some waters may be able to
request assistance by using a marine radio.
Examples of these areas are Lake of the
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Woods, Lake Superior, the Lower St. Croix
River, Mississippi River downstream from
Minneapolis, Minnesota River downstream
from Shakopee and Lake Minnetonka.

AGE OF OPERATORS

You can obtain an operator’s permit by
successfully completing the Minnesota,
NASBLA-approved boating safety course.
It is available at mndnr.gov/boatingcourse.
If you are age 12-17, visiting Minnesota,
and already possess a valid watercraft
operator’s certificate/permit issued by
your home state, you don’t need to obtain
another one from Minnesota.

If you do not have a certificate from your
state, you may obtain one from Minnesota
by successfully completing the DNR’s
boating safety course. It is available at
mndnr.gov/boatingcourse.

We recommend that adults take the
Minnesota boating course to enhance their
knowledge and safety.

Many boat insurance companies offer
discounts to boat owners who have taken
an approved boating safety course.

MOTORBOAT OPERATOR
AGE RESTRICTIONS

(

Personal watercraft see page 43)

OPERATOR | RESTRICTIONS
AGE

LESSTHAN | - 25 hp or less—no restrictions.

12 YEARS + More than 25 through 75 hp—must

have someone at least 21 years old on
board within immediate reach of the
controls.

+ More than 75 hp—not allowed to
operate even with an adult on board.

3
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OPERATOR | RESTRICTIONS
AGE

12-17 + 25 hp orless—no restrictions.

YEARS « More than 25 hp—must either have:

- awatercraft operator’s permit, or

- someone at least 21 years old on board
and within immediate reach of the
controls.

NAVIGATION RULES

Passing

+ When overtaking another watercraft going
in the same direction, the craft being
overtaken must maintain course and speed.

+ The passing watercraft must keep a
sufficient distance to avoid collision or
endangering the other craft from its wake.

Meeting

+ When two watercraft approach each other
“head-on,” each must alter course to the
right to avoid collision.

« If the two watercraft are far enough to the
left of each other, no change in direction is
needed for safe passage. Both watercraft
will maintain their course and speed to pass
clear of each other.

+ Keep to the right in narrow channels.

Crossing

If two watercraft approach each other at a
right angle, the watercraft to the right shall
have the right-of-way.
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Nonmotorized Craft

Nonmotorized craft (sailboats, canoes, etc.)
have the right-of-way over motorized craft in
all situations, except when the nonmotorized
craft is overtaking or passing.

Commercial Vessels

Small craft shall not insist on the right-of-way
when in the path of large commercial vessels,
which are limited in maneuverability.

Emergency Craft

All watercraft will yield right-of-way to an
authorized watercraft displaying a red or blue
flashing light.

MOVE OVER LAW

When approaching and passing a law
enforcement watercraft with its emergency
lights activated, the operator of a watercraft
must safely move the watercraft away from
the law enforcement watercraft and maintain
a slow no-wake speed while within 150 feet of
the law enforcement watercraft.

WATERWAY MARKERS—AIDS
TO NAVIGATION

Waterway markers show navigable channels,
denote unsafe areas, direct traffic, control
speed, protect resources and serve other
functions.

Official markers are usually placed by the

U.S. Coast Guard, state, county or local
governmental unit. Private markers of any
type may not be placed in the water overnight
without a permit from the county sheriff.

If a buoy or sign is lighted, it will usually display
the color and flash characteristics noted on
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following pages. “Flashing” means not more
than 30 flashes per minute. “Quick-flashing”
means at least 60 flashes per minute and
generally indicates caution or danger.

Channel Marker Buoys

« All-green
and all-red
companion
buoys
indicate that
the boating ]
channel is FLASHING GREEN FLASHING RED
between them.

+ Red buoy is on the right side of the channel
when facing upstream.

Signs can be substituted. For example, a
green square sign is the same as a green

buoy and red triangular sign is the same

as a red buoy—these are often called
“daymarks.” They can be used to mark each
side of a channel, which is common on the
Mississippi River below the Twin Cities. A
red-white octagonal sign can be used to mark
the center of a channel.

Red and white and black and white buoys

+ Red-white striped buoys (usually with a red
topmark) indicate the center of a channel
and should be passed closely on either side.

« Black and white striped buoys (formerly
red-white striped) indicate thereis a
shoreward
obstruction
and that you
should not
pass between

itand the DI

FLASHING WHITE QUICK-FLASHING
nearest shore. WHITE
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REGULATORY BUOYS AND SIGNS

Boats Keep Out

A white buoy or sign with an
orange diamond and cross
means that boats must keep
out of the area. Black lettering

on the buoy or sign gives the
reason for the restriction, for [/ /NG wHITE
example, SWIM AREA.

Danger

A white buoy or sign with an

orange diamond warns boaters

of danger—rocks, dams, rapids,

etc. The source of danger will

also be lettered in black. In

winter, ice hazards may also be  quick-FLAsHING
identified with this markerin ~ WHITE

the form of a sign.

Controlled Area

A white buoy or sign with

an orange circle and black
lettering indicates controlled or
restricted areas on the water.
The most common restriction

is slow no-wake speed. Slow FLASHING WHITE
no-wake means operating your

boat at the slowest possible speed

necessary to maintain steerage, but

in no case greater than 5 mph.

Information

A white buoy or sign with an
orange rectangle provides the
boater with information or
directions. Information will be
lettered in black.

FLASHING WHITE
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Mooring Buoys
Buoys designed for mooring
|

boats are all-white with a blue

stripe midway between the top FLASHING WHITE
and the waterline. A minimum of 16 square
inches of white reflector, part of which must
be visible from any direction, is required on
all mooring buoys. (Obtain a permit from the
county sheriff before placing a mooring buoy
in the water.)

Here are some tips on waterway markers:

« Waterway markers, especially buoys can
move off station due to wind, waves,
current, ice or other reasons.

+ Buoys and other waterway markers may
not be present outside of the normal
boating season. Check locally before
heading out.

+ Red and green channel markers may be
numbered: green (odd) and red (even).

« Size specifications for buoys:

- For all buoys except mooring buoys, the
minimum height above water is 36 inches
and the minimum diameter is 9 inches.

- For mooring buoys the maximum size
is 24 inches in diameter, if spherical, or
a maximum of 24 inches wide if some
other shape. Mooring buoys must extend
at least 8 inches above the water.

ON THE WATER LAWS AND RULES

It’s against the law:

+ To operate a watercraft in a careless or
reckless manner.

+ To operate a watercraft so its wash or wake
endangers, harasses, or interferes with any
person or property.

+ To operate a watercraft so it obstructs
ordinary navigation.
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+ To operate a watercraft within an area
legally marked off as a swimming area, or
within 150 feet of a diver’s warning flag (see
page 48).

+ To ride or sit on the gunwales, bow,
transom, or decking over the bow,
sides or stern of any motorboat while
underway, unless it is equipped with an
adequate railing. It is also illegal to operate
a motorboat while any person is riding
or sitting in a manner as just listed.

« To chase wildlife with a motorboat,
or operate a boat where it is
prohibited—including marked spawning
beds. Avoid traversing any emergent or
floating vegetation, if possible.

+ To intentionally obstruct a seaplane.

+ To attach a watercraft to any buoy, except
a mooring buoy, or to tamper, remove, or
destroy a navigational aid.

+ To deposit or leave refuse in or upon the
waters of the state or at public access areas.

CAPACITY AND OVERLOADING

The boat’s operator must limit the total
horsepower, weight and maximum number
of passengers to that shown on the capacity
plate installed by the boat’s manufacturer.
It is unlawful and dangerous to load or
power your boat beyond its maximum
capacity. Capacity is reached by either the
maximum number of people or maximum
weight, whichever is met first.

BOATING WHILE IMPAIRED (BWI)

« Operating a motorboat while under the
influence of alcohol, a controlled substance
(or its metabolite), or an intoxicating
substance is unlawful.
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« Operators who are impaired may be
required to take tests by an enforcement
officer to determine the presence of these
substances. There is a penalty for refusal.
BWI test failures, convictions, and refusals
are recorded on the violator’s driver’s
license record.

Most of the BWI law is found in the motor
vehicle statutes. The alcohol concentration
for impaired operation is .08.

Possible penalties for impaired operation:

« Fines.

+ Possible jail time.

« Loss of motorboat, off-road vehicle and
motor vehicle operating privileges.

In addition to the above penalties, those
who refuse testing will also be subject

to a separate and more severe criminal
charge for refusal and loss of their
motorboat, off-road vehicle and motor
vehicle operating privileges for one year,
immediately upon refusal.

If any of the following aggravating factors are

involved, the offense is a gross misdemeanor

(a fourth conviction in 10 years can result in a

felony penalty):

+ An alcohol concentration of .16 or more.

+ Prior DWI convictions or refusals of any
kind in the past 10 years.

+ A child less than 16 years old is on board
the motorboat.

Penalties will increase with any of the
aggravating factors or a refusal, and can
include the following:

+ Ahigher fine.
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« Mandatory jail time.

+ Longer revocation times for operating
privilege loss.

+ Loss of motor vehicle license plates.

+ Forfeiture of the motorboat and trailer
being operated at the time of violation.

The BWI law does not prohibit drinking
alcoholic beverages aboard boats nor

having an open bottle. The BWI law applies

to operators of motorboats that are not
anchored, beached, moored, docked or being
rowed or propelled by nonmechanical means
at the time of the offense.

TOWED AND WAKE SPORTS

Laws and Rules

+ It is unlawful to make a wake for a wake
surfer or tow a person on water skis,
wakeboard, tube, or similar device unless
there is a mirror providing the operator a
wide field of vision to the rear, or unless
another person in the towing watercraft
is continuously observing the person
wake-surfing or being towed.

» Water-skiing, tubing, wake-surfing and
similar acts are prohibited between
one-half hour after sunset to sunrise of the
following day.

+ Tow ropes may not be longer than 150 feet
in length, unless a permit is obtained from
the county sheriff.

« A wearable U.S. Coast Guard-approved life
jacket must either be worn by the person
being towed, or carried in the towing
watercraft.
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For regulations on towing people with a
personal watercraft (Jet Ski, PWC, etc.)—see
page 41. Also, there may be local restrictions
on towing (especially in the Twin Cities
area)—see page 54.

Tubing

The maneuvers of the tow boat affect tubes
in a way that is similar to a clock’s pendulum.
Riders do not have the directional control
that water skiers have, so the boat operator
needs to take special precautions.

Accidents are most often caused by:

+ The tube hitting a wake and flipping,
throwing the rider(s) into the water or
against each other.

» Tubes swinging out as a boat turns—hitting
an object or throwing the occupant off.

« Injuries caused by the tow line and when
two tubes being towed by the same boat
collide with each other.

Towed and Wake Sports Safety Tips

+ Keep speeds low (most tube manufacturers
recommend a maximum of 15-20 mph) to
reduce the likelihood and consequences of
an accident.

+ Make turns gradually and away from shore,
other boats, swim rafts or docks, to reduce
the chance of collision and property
damage.

« Tow only a single tube at a time.

« Itis critical that everyone being towed
wear a life jacket.

« Itis also a good idea to have an observer
in the towing craft, in addition to a
wide-angle mirror.

+ Stay back at least 20 feet behind the boat
to avoid carbon monoxide exposure.
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« Many manufacturers also recommend
that no one under 6 years old be towed
on a tube, and that you follow the
manufacturer’s recommended passenger
weight limits.

Own Your Wake

Large wakes produced by some watercraft

operated at certain speeds can cause a

number of negative impacts, including:

+ Shoreline erosion, which results in impaired
water quality and property loss.

« Damage to others’ property, including
docked boats.

+ Hazards to public safety both on the water
(swimmers, paddlers) and on shore.

PERSONAL WATERCRAFT

Personal watercraft
(PWCQ) are also known
as Jet Skis or Wave
Runners. Personal
watercraft is defined
by law as a motorboat that is:

« Powered by an inboard motor powering
a water jet pump or by an outboard or
propeller-driven motor.

+ Designed to be operated by a person or
persons sitting, standing, or kneeling on
the craft, rather than in the conventional
manner of sitting or standing inside a
motorboat.

All personal watercraft are considered
motorboats and therefore, any regulations
that govern other motorboats (such as
fishing boats, cabin cruisers, etc.), also
govern personal watercraft.

40



Personal Watercraft Laws

In summary, the law requires that:

+ Anyone operating or riding on a personal
watercraft must wear a U.S. Coast
Guard-approved wearable life jacket that
is compatible with that activity (check the
label).

+ Personal watercraft must travel at slow
no-wake speed (5 mph or less) within
150 feet of nonmotorized boats, shore
(unless launching or landing skiers directly
to or from open water), docks, swim rafts,
swimmers, or any moored or anchored
boat.

« Operation of personal watercraft is
allowed only from 9:30 a.m. to 1 hour
before sunset.

« If you tow a person on water skis, or any
other device, there must be an additional
person on board the personal watercraft
to act as an observer. (The observer does
not have to be facing backward.)

+ Factory-installed or factory-specified
wide-field rearview mirrors are allowed
instead of an observer when pulling a skier
or other device (tube, kneeboard, etc.).

- After-market mirrors, stick-on mirrors,
motorcycle mirrors, etc., do not qualify
for the observer exemption.

+ The skier/knee-boarder etc. must also
be wearing a life jacket or there must be
one on board the personal watercraft for
the skier.

+ If the machine is equipped by the
manufacturer with a lanyard-type engine
cutoff switch, it must be attached to
the person, life jacket or clothing of the
operator when underway.
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You may not operate a personal watercraft
if any part of the spring-loaded throttle
system has been removed or tampered
with so it interferes with the return-to-idle
system.

You may not chase or harass wildlife.

You may not travel through emergent or
floating vegetation at greater than slow
no-wake speed.

You may not operate a personal watercraft
in a manner that unreasonably or
unnecessarily endangers life, limb or
property.

You may not weave through congested
watercraft traffic, or jump the wake of
another watercraft within 150 feet of

the other watercraft. This includes other
personal watercraft.

A personal watercraft rules decal issued

by the DNR needs to be on the craft in full
view of the operator.

You may not operate a personal watercraft
while facing backward.

It is unlawful for the owner of the personal
watercraft to permit its operation in
violation of the age restrictions (see next
page).

Some lakes have additional restrictions, see
mndnr.gov/boatingsafety and click on local
water restrictions.

A person on a waterjet propelled accessory
to a personal watercraft is operating a
personal watercraft and must follow all
regulations.
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PERSONAL WATERCRAFT OPERATOR
AGE RESTRICTIONS REGARDLESS OF
HORSEPOWER

(other motorboats see page 30)

OPERATOR | RESTRICTIONS

AGE
LESS THAN | . Cannot operate—even with
13 YEARS an adult on board.

13 YEARS + must have either someone
at least 21 years old on
board, or

+ a watercraft operator’s
permit and be in visual
supervision by someone at
least 21 years old.

14-17 « must have either a
YEARS watercraft operator’s
permit, or

« someone at least 21 years
old on board.

SELLING AND RENTING PERSONAL
WATERCRAFT

Personal watercraft dealers are required to
distribute a summary of the laws and rules
governing personal watercraft. They must
provide instruction regarding laws governing
personal watercraft, as well as safe operation
of the craft, upon request by a purchaser.

Rental operators must provide required
safety equipment and a copy of the personal
watercraft laws free of charge, as well as
instruction on laws and operation of the craft.

Both personal watercraft dealers and rental
operations must keep a signature record of
all those who buy or rent personal watercraft.
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This record is to indicate that the buyer or
renter has been provided with a copy of the
personal watercraft laws and has read them.

In addition, those persons less than 18 years
of age must show their watercraft operator’s
permit before renting a personal watercraft,
and the permit number must be recorded on
the form by the rental agent. These forms,
available from the DNR Boat and Water
Safety Program, must be retained for at
least six months, and must be available for
inspection by DNR conservation officers

or county sheriff’s deputies during normal
business hours.

GENERAL WATERCRAFT LAWS THAT
APPLY TO PERSONAL WATERCRAFT

Personal watercraft must follow the same
laws which apply to general watercraft,
including:

« All personal watercraft must display
valid registration decals and registration
numbers on the forward half of both sides
of the craft (see pages 9-12).

+ Your watercraft license card must be kept
on board your craft when it’s in use.

« All personal watercraft with enclosed
engine or fuel compartments (almost
all personal watercraft fall into one or
the other category) must carry a fully
charged, readily accessible, U.S. Coast
Guard-approved fire extinguisher.

+ Personal watercraft may not exceed the
maximum watercraft noise levels. Also, you
may not modify any motorboat (including
personal watercraft) in a way that amplifies
or increases the noise it emits above
watercraft noise limits. No person shall
operate or sell a motorboat with any such
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modification, or sell parts to facilitate such
modification.

« Itis unlawful to operate a personal
watercraft while intoxicated.

Personal watercraft tips

Many personal watercraft accidents involve
new and inexperienced riders who haven’t
received adequate training. If you or your
family own a personal watercraft or are going
to purchase one, ask the dealer to provide
you with any safety information they may
have for your craft. All machines are supplied
with an owner’s manual and many come
equipped with a safety video. Have everyone
who operates the machine watch the video
and read the safety information.

Avoid explosions

« Before starting check the engine
compartment for gasoline vapors,
especially after refueling or when the
engine is running poorly.

« Don’t start the engine and seek repair if
vapors are present.

Give it the gas

Many PWC accidents have occurred because
the operators forgot (or never learned) that
a personal watercraft will not turn unless you
apply the throttle. The only way it will turn

is if there is water spraying out the steering
nozzle.

Be a good neighbor

+ Talk to your neighbors.

« Don’t operate in the same area for a long
period of time.

+ Operate far from shore and other boaters.
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RENTING WATERCRAFT

All watercraft offered for rent are subject
to periodic inspection by the county
sheriff. An inspection decal will be issued
to each craft that passes this inspection.
The rental agent is required to provide
U.S. Coast Guard-approved life jackets in
serviceable condition, as well as all other
required safety equipment.

All rental craft must meet the federal
manufacturer’s flotation requirements as
of the date they were constructed.

A boat may not be rented to a person
who is under the influence of alcohol or a
controlled substance.

A rental boat loaded beyond its weight
capacity or powered beyond its
horsepower capacity may not leave the
place where it is rented.

Boats may not be rented, or offered for
rent, unless they are in safe condition.
See page 43 for regulations governing
personal watercraft dealers and rental
operators.

ACCIDENTS

If an accident occurs, follow these simple
steps:

Call o11.

Stop at the scene and assist others who are
in trouble if you can do so safely (required
by law).

Don't risk your life or the lives of others to
save equipment.

If a second boat or other property is
involved, exchange your name and boat
number with the other operator or owner
(as required by law).
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+ The county sheriff investigates all

watercraft accidents, follow their
instruction.

The following accidents must be reported
to the county sheriff:

- Property damage of $2,000 or more.

- Personal injury.

- A fatality.

This is required by law.

OTHER WATER ACTIVITIES
PADDLING

Canoes, kayaks and stand-up paddleboards
are all considered watercraft in Minnesota.

Paddling Safety

Always wear a U.S. Coast Guard-approved
life jacket.

Keep your balance. Stay low, move slow.
Check your equipment and your skills
before attempting a paddling trip.

Check river levels at mndnr.gov/watertrails
Be a competent swimmer.

Tell someone where you are going, when
you are coming back and when to call for
help.

Paddle with a friend. Safety increases with
numbers.

Be aware of hazards like dams, rapids,
current and big waves.

Dress for the weather and water
temperature. Be prepared for cold water
immersion.
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Avoid paddling under the influence of drugs
or alcohol.

Learn how to get out of, hang on to and
re-enter your capsized watercraft.

Take the free BoaterExam Paddle Sports
Safety Course online or other paddling
safety courses through the American Canoe
Association.

Wear bright clothes, carry a whistle and

a white light.

Laws:

Nonmotorized craft over 10 feet require
registration in Minnesota.

A U.S. Coast Guard-approved wearable life
jacket is required for each person on board
a watercraft.

Children under 10 years old are required to
wear a life jacket.

SCUBA DIVING

Scuba divers must display a
warning flag when diving.

Scuba diving laws and rules:

Boats not involved with [ —
the diving operation must ~ DIVER'SFLAG
remain 150 feet away from a flag.

No more than four divers shall dive under
one flag.

Divers must remain within 50 feet
(measured horizontally) of the warning flag.
If a group of divers is using a contained area,
the perimeter of the area must be marked.
The area must be outside the normal area of
navigation. These markings must consist of
the official diver’s flag and must be placed
around the perimeter of the diving area at
intervals of not more than 150 feet.
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+ Persons who dive from one hour after
sunset to sunrise on the following day must
carry a diver’s light visible when above the
water for a distance of 150 feet.

+ Scuba or skin diving while in possession of a
spear is unlawful from sunset to sunrise.

+ Do not place a diver’s flag where it will
obstruct navigation.

The diver’s flag must:

+ Measure at least 15 inches horizontally and
12 inches vertically.

+ Both sides must have a red-colored
background bisected diagonally by a 3-inch
wide white stripe.

« Thereis also a blue and white diver’s flag
authorized under the federal rules of the
road.

The diver’s flag may be displayed on a
watercraft or float or be anchored to the
bottom. The top of the flag must be at
least 30 inches above the surface, however.

SWIMMING AREAS

Required Permits

Obtain a permit for swimming area markers
from the county sheriff. No swimming
marker may obstruct navigation or unduly
interfere with public use of the water.
Sheriffs or conservation officers may direct
the owner to move such markers or remove
them from the water.

Individual Swim Areas

The owner or lessee of shoreline property
may mark off up to 2,500 square feet,

but not more than 50 feet along the lake
frontage, for a swimming area directly in
front of his or her property. No watercraft
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may enter this area but the water remains
public waters.

Markers to designate an individual swimming

area must:

+ Be white with an orange diamond and cross
on each side. A white gallon plastic bottle
with the orange markings painted on each
side fulfills this requirement.

+ Extend out of the water at least 6 inches
but no more than 14 and should be spaced
no more than 15 feet apart.

Public Swim Areas

Public swimming areas

. . SWIM
(including resorts) must be

marked off with the standard @
9 inches or larger “Swim AREA

Area” buoy. This buoy is white — — |

with an orange band at the

bottom and top. Between the orange bands
is an orange diamond with a cross inside. The
design appears on opposite sides of the buoy.
Above or below the diamond shapes are the
words SWIM AREA in black, 2-inch lettering.
Marker buoys must not be spaced more than
75 feet apart. Smaller all-white markers may
be used to add definition to the area marked
by regulation markers. Size limits are at the
discretion of the county sheriff.

SEAPLANES

Who has the right of way, a seaplane or a
boat? In general, seaplane pilots bear primary
responsibility for staying clear of boats and
not impeding their navigation. Rights-of-way
are more specifically defined in the following
circumstances: When a seaplane and boat are
on a crossing course, the plane or boat to the
right has the right-of-way; when approaching
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head-on, each should alter its course to the
right; when one is overtaking the other, the
one being overtaken has the right-of-way
and the other should alter course. Boaters,
especially, must remember there are times
when seaplanes have little or no ability to
maneuver, so it’s important for them to be
aware of their surroundings and alter their
course as necessary.

TEMPORARY STRUCTURES, DOCKS
AND BUOYS

Docks that extend from shore may not
interfere with navigation and generally
require no permit, unless they exceed certain
width or number of mooring space limits.

For current information, see the DNR
publication “Docks and Access in Public
Waters” by checking the DNR website:
mndnr.gov/publications/waters or
contacting the DNR Information Center at
651-296-6157 or 888-646-6367. (There may
be local ordinances on docks.)

Structures such as swimming rafts, boat

lifts, buoys, slalom courses, ski jumps, etc.,
which do not extend from shore, cannot

be in the water between sunset and sunrise
unless allowed under permit issued by county
sheriff.

All structures placed under a permit must
have the permit number painted on them.
In addition, the structure or buoy must
either have a light visible in all directions
or be reflectorized to reflect light from all
directions.
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Persons placing structures on joint federal-
state waters may need a permit from the
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

SPECIAL EVENTS

Persons holding regattas, races,
tournaments, or other competition or
exhibition events on the water must first
obtain a permit for the event from the
county sheriff.

Those holding events on commercially-
navigable, joint-jurisdictional waters
(primarily Lake Superior, the Mississippi River
downstream from St. Anthony Falls, the
Minnesota River east of Shakopee, and the
St. Croix River from Stillwater downstream)
must obtain a marine event permit from the
U.S. Coast Guard.

PUBLIC WATERS AND WATER
APPROPRIATION PERMITS

Any work in the bed of public waters (below
the ordinary high water level), such as
dredging, filling, draining, and placement

of structures, or water appropriations of
more than 10,000 gallons per day or 1 million
gallons per year requires a permit from

the DNR Ecological and Water Resources
Division.

AQUATIC PLANT MANAGEMENT PERMITS

Any control of aquatic vegetation, either
native species or non-native invasive species,
in public waters (lakes, rivers, or wetlands) or
the control of other aquatic nuisances (e.g.,
swimmer’s itch) is regulated by the DNR.

Those activities which require a permit, as
well as activities that can be done without a
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permit, are summarized on pages 53-54. For
more information go to mndnr.gov/apm or
search for “mndnr apm.”

An aquatic plant management permit is

needed for:

+ Destruction of any emergent vegetation
such as cattails and bulrushes.

+ Cutting or pulling by hand or by mechanical
means, submerged vegetation in an area
larger than 2,500 square feet.

+ Applying herbicides or algaecides.

+ Moving or removing a bog of any size that
is free-floating or lodged in any area other
than its place of origin in public waters.

« Transplanting aquatic plants into public
waters.

+ Use of automated aquatic plant control
devices such as Crary WeedRoller®.

+ Physical removal of floating-leaf
vegetation from an area larger than
a channel 15 feet wide extending to
open water.

When an aquatic plant management permit
is NOT needed:

To maintain access to your property, a boat
docking site or swimming area a lakeshore
property owner may mechanically (i.e. cut or
pull) clear the following without a permit:

Submerged Vegetation

+ The area to be cleared must be no larger
than 2,500 square feet.

+ The cleared area must not extend more
than 50 feet along the shoreline or
one-half the length of your shoreline,
whichever is less.

53


http://mndnr.gov/apm

Floating-Leaf Vegetation

+ Aboat channel 15 feet or less in width
extending to open water may be
maintained.

+ The channel must take the most direct
route to open water and remain in the
same location each year.

+ Vegetation that is cut or pulled must be
immediately and permanently removed
from the water and disposed of on high
ground where it will not re-enter the lake.

What is not allowed:

+ Excavate the lake bottom for aquatic plant
control.

+ Use hydraulic jets to control aquatic plants
or remove muck.

+ Destroy or prevent the growth of aquatic
plants by using lake bottom barriers.

+ Remove aquatic vegetation within posted
fish-spawning areas.

+ Remove aquatic plants from an
undeveloped shoreline.

+ Remove aquatic plants where they do not
interfere with swimming, boating or other
recreation.

LOCAL BOATING
RESTRICTIONS

Certain bodies of water in Minnesota have
local restrictions as to the type and size of
watercraft or motor horsepower, areas which
can be used by boats, boat speed, times for
use, and minimum distance between boats.
With few exceptions, local restrictions on
boat use on Minnesota waters must be
approved by the DNR and posted at public
access points.
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Questions regarding lakes or rivers with
local restrictions can be directed to the
appropriate county sheriff, or the DNR
Information Center. A list of approved local
restrictions is posted on the DNR Web page
at: mndnr.gov/boatingsafety. Click on local
water restrictions.

BOAT TRAILERS

Dimensions

« The maximum length of a boat trailer and
boat is 45 feet.

+ No trailer load may exceed 8% feet wide or
13% feet high.

Lights

+ Two red tail lights, license plate light
(not required on trailers with permanent
registration) and two red reflectors are
required on the rear of all trailers.

« Signal and brake lamps are recommended
on all trailers and required whenever the
signals of the towing vehicle are not visible
to the other drivers.

« Trailers over 80 inches wide also require
front and rear clearance lamps, and
combinations over 30 feet long must have
front and rear marker lamps.

Hitch and Coupling

« The hitch and coupling of the trailer must
meet state standards.

« Safety chains or cables are required.

Brakes

Brakes of adequate effectiveness are
required on all trailers of 3,000 pounds or
more gross weight.
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Following

Drivers of vehicles towing a trailer must
maintain a distance of 500 feet between their
vehicle and the vehicle ahead.

More information on trailer laws is available
from the Minnesota Department of Public
Safety in St. Paul or from any Minnesota State
Patrol office.

Before Driving

+ Check tires, test trailer brakes and signal
lights, crisscross the safety chains.

+ Properly secure tie down straps, winch/bow
line, and all gear in the vessel.

« Tilt and secure the engine.

+ Remove the drain plug.

Launching

+ Prepare to launch away from the ramp.

- Leave the winch/bow line attached, remove
tie downs and transfer remaining gear.

+ Put the plugin.

« Back vehicle into the water until the vessel
floats.

« Unhook bow line, secure vessel to dock
or shore and park vehicle and trailer in
parking lot.

Retrieving

+ Back the trailer into the water so two-thirds
of rollers or bunks are submerged.

- Move vessel onto trailer, attach winch/bow
line to bow eye, crank the winch to pull the
vessel all the way onto the trailer.

+ Tow vessel off ramp and out of the way
for others.

+ Clean, Drain, Dispose all aquatic plants,
mud, animals and water.

+ Repeat the “before driving” tips.
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When the boat landing is busy, the line for
launching and loading watercraft is based

on the vehicles on land, not the boats in the
water. Your time on the boat ramp should

be no more than a few minutes. For the
courtesy of others, please prepare your boat
for launching and secure your boat for travel
away from the ramp area.

BOATING EMERGENCIES

RESCUE BREATHING FOR DROWNING
VICTIMS

Drowning victims need oxygen before

compressions. Follow these steps:

1. Startright away.

2. Provide two rescue breaths as soon as you
safely can do so. Usually this is when you
are in shallow water or on shore.

3. Once on shore, tilt the head backward

so the chin is pointed upward and the air

passage is open.

Pinch the nostrils to prevent air leakage.

Place your mouth over the victim’s mouth

so that you form an airtight seal.

6. Blow for one second to make the chest
clearly rise. Give two rescue breaths.

7. If chest does not rise, re-tilt head and
give another breath. If you do not hear air
coming, recheck the head and jaw position
and clear the victim’s mouth.

8. Check victim’s pulse. If no pulse, perform
CPR. Include breathing!

9. DO NOT STOP! Continue cycles of CPR.
Do not stop CPR except in one of these
situations:

- You find an obvious sign of life, such as
breathing.
- An AED is ready to use.

SN
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- Another trained responder or EMS
personnel take over.

- You are too exhausted to continue.

- The scene becomes unsafe.

FALLING OVERBOARD

Prevent persons from falling overboard:

+ Avoid a sudden shift in weight or change in
speed. Quick movement can cause a boater
to fall overboard or a boat to capsize.

If someone on your boat falls overboard:

+ Reduce speed and toss the victim a
throwable flotation device.

+ Turn your boat around and slowly pull
alongside the victim, approaching the
victim from downwind or into the current,
whichever is stronger.

« Turn off the engine. Pull the victim on
board over the stern, keeping the weight in
the boat balanced.

CAPSIZING OR SWAMPING

To reduce the risk of capsizing or swamping:

+ Don’t overload your boat. Balance the load.

« Secure the anchor line to the bow, never to
the stern.

« Don’t boat in rough water or in bad
weather—always wear a life jacket in bad
weather.

« If you do fall out or capsize, stay with your
boat and try to reboard.

« Most capsized watercraft can still float.

« Acraftin the water is also easier for
rescuers to locate.

« If you have to remain in the water, do not
attempt to swim unless it is to a nearby
boat or floating object.
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COLD WATER (also see page 4)

One-third of boating fatalities in Minnesota
occur on cold water.

Always wear a life jacket when on or
working near cold water.

Dress in several layers of clothing under
your life jacket.

If you fall into cold water:

Put on your life jacket, if you are not
wearing one.

Keep boots and clothes on. Almost all
clothing, even hip boots and waders, will
float for an extended period of time.
Don’t thrash or move about. Excess motion
consumes energy and increases loss of
body heat.

Draw your knees to your chest and your
arms to your sides, protecting the major
areas of heat loss.

If others are in the water with you, huddle
together with your arms around their
shoulders.

PROPELLER INJURIES

Each year, people are seriously injured or
killed by being hit by a propeller.

Be sure to turn off your motor any time
people are in the water near your boat,
especially near the stern.

Never allow passengers to board or exit
from the water when the motor is running.
The prop may continue to turn even when
the motor is in neutral, or someone could
accidentally bump the shift lever.

Stay away from other boats towing skiers
or tubers.

Never use reverse to pick someone up
from the water, instead go around again.
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« Don’t let passengers sit on the transom,
gunwales or bow while underway, unless
there are adequate railings to prevent
falling overboard.

+ Use the engine cut-off lanyard that came
with your motor and consider installing
propeller safety devices.

THE “CIRCLE OF DEATH”

Every year, serious injuries
or deaths occur when
operators let go of

the steering wheel

or outboard steering
handle while the boat $
is moving. The steering V\‘ /
torque forces the motor

to slam left causing the boat to swerve
sharply to the right, throwing the victim
into the water.

The boat continues to travel in a circle and
returns to strike the victim in the water,
inflicting massive propeller wounds. Thus the
term “circle of death.”

The way to avoid circle of death accidents
is to avoid letting go of the steering wheel
or handle until the boat ceases all forward
motion.

If you notice that you must apply extra
pressure on the steering wheel or handle,
have your boat serviced immediately.

For outboards and inboard-outboard craft,
corrective measures may involve resetting
the boat’s trim tab, the small fin mounted on
the anti-ventilation or cavitation plate just
behind the prop.
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If the motor is equipped with an automatic
kill switch, be sure to fasten the lanyard to
your life jacket or some article of clothing
such as a belt loop.

If you do fall out of your boat, the lanyard,
which is attached to the electrical system,
disables the motor, keeping the boat from
circling back to hit you.

Make sure that clamp-on swivel seats are
tightly secured and that seat backs are sturdy
enough to withstand the shock of a victim
being thrown against them.

CARBON MONOXIDE
POISONING

Carbon monoxide (CO) is an odorless,
colorless, tasteless gas that can be toxic even
in very small quantities since its effects are
cumulative over time. Passengers on any boat
with a motor can become victims of carbon
monoxide poisoning. If CO is suspected, open
all hatches, windows and ports to ventilate.

Common signs of carbon monoxide poisoning
include irritated eyes, headache, nausea,
weakness and dizziness. These symptoms

can often be misdiagnosed as seasickness or
intoxication.

Swimmers have died when venturing too close
to houseboats’ swim platforms while engines
or generators were running, and victims have
been poisoned while being towed, dragged or
sitting too near the stern of a boat. All carbon
monoxide poisonings are preventable.

If you suspect carbon monoxide poisoning,
call 911!
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To help avoid the dangers of carbon

monoxide on your watercraft:

+ Install marine rated CO detectors and
supplement with low level CO detectors.

+ Keep air flowing throughout the boat
whenever any gas or diesel engine or
propane appliance is running.

+ Stay away from any area where engine or
generator exhaust is vented.

+ Do not leave your generator running at
night or when anchored.

+ Keep your boat and motor properly
maintained, including keeping exhaust
clamps tight and in place.

+ Replace exhaust hoses if there is cracking,
deterioration or damage.

« Skiing, dragging, or tubing closer than
20 feet from a motorboat can be fatal
from carbon monoxide poisoning—stay
well away!

THE DROWNING MACHINE

Boating or swimming near a lowhead dam
can be dangerous or even deadly.

Lowhead dams are usually small structures
no more than 10 feet high, although some
are as low as 6 inches. They may be hard to
see from upstream.

In the spring and during other periods of
high runoff, however, the dams become
very dangerous. The recirculating current
created by the water pouring over the
dam creates a backwash. This current takes
any object—including people wearing life
jackets—to the bottom of the stream,
releases it to the surface, sucks it back to
the face of the dam, and pushes it back
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to the bottom; the cycle
can continue indefinitely.
Keep well clear of these
structures.

This sign, installed at
many dam sites around
the state, warns people of
the potential dangers of a
lowhead dam.

FLOAT PLAN

Before you head out on the water, let
someone know where you are going to be
boating and when you will return. Give them
a description of your car, where it will be
parked, and information about your boat and
who will be on board.

Be sure to contact that person when you
return or prior if you are delayed. It is very
important that the person understands they
are to call 911 if you do not return on time.

BOATING COURSES

Learn more about boating and water

safety. Take the Minnesota DNR boating
safety course online or a classroom course
taught by the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary or
U.S. Power Squadrons. For more information
go to mndnr.gov/boatingcourse.
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BOATING ON LAKE SUPERIOR

ONTARIO

&

LAKE

MINNESOTA SUPERIOR

MICHIGAN
WISCONSIN

As more people turn to the waters of

Lake Superior for fishing and boating, the
importance of boating safety cannot be
overemphasized. Take a boating safety
course from the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary
(USCGAux) or U.S. Power Squadrons and get
advice from veteran boaters.

Make sure your boat size is appropriate

and you have the required safety
equipment—have a USCGAux Vessel Safety
Check (VSC) to make sure.

Weather can change rapidly on the
lake—monitor the skies and radio. Water
temperatures on Superior are always
cold—even in the summer. Always wear
your life jacket and consider other survival
gear as well.

Carry a VHF marine radio, chart, visual
distress signals, Global Positioning System
(GPS) and EPIRB (Emergency Position
Indicating Radio Beacon) or PLB (Personal
Locator Beacon) but remember electronics
can sometimes fail.

Let someone know where you are going and
when you will return.
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Take advantage of the DNR’s safe harbors
and launch ramps on Lake Superior. Order
a free copy of the Lake Superior Boating
Guide by contacting the DNR Information
Center. You may also download it from
mndnr.gov/boatingsafety and click on Lake
Superior small craft harbors.

VISUAL DISTRESS SIGNALS

Visual distress signals (VDS) allow boat
operators to signal for help in the event of an
emergency.

Lake Superior is the only body of water in

Minnesota where federal law requires visual

distress signals to be carried onboard boats.

+ Craft less than 16 feet, boats participating
in organized events, nonmotorized open
sailboats less than 26 feet and manually
propelled boats are NOT required to carry
VDS during the daytime, but must carry
night VDS when operating between sunset
and sunrise.

Al VDS must be U.S. Coast Guard approved
or certified, in serviceable condition and
readily accessible.

Pyrotechnic devices may not be beyond their
expiration date. Nonpyrotechnic VDS include:
« Orange distress flag (day signal only).
- Distress flag which is at least 3 feet by
3 feet with a black square and ball on an
orange background.
« Electric distress light (night signal only).

For more complete information on VDS and

other federal requirements go to
uscgboating.org.
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SECURITY

On occasion, you may encounter U.S. Navy
ships on Lake Superior or the Duluth-Superior
Harbor.

« Stay at least 100 yards from these vessels
and operate at slow no-wake speed within
500 yards. If possible, avoid commercial
ships and port areas on Lake Superior.

+ Observe any restricted areas near power
plants, dams and bridges and when possible,
avoid anchoring near these areas.

+ Report any suspicious activity immediately
by calling 911 or use your marine radio to
contact the U.S. Coast Guard, state or local
enforcement officers. The Coast Guard
has also established a 24-hour toll-free
number at its national response center
800-424-8802.

Suspicious activities could include:

+ People appearing to be engaged in
surveillance activities, especially around
critical or restricted areas.

+ Unusual boating activity or unattended
boats in unusual locations.

+ Persons attempting to buy or rent a boat
with cash for a short-term undefined use.

+ Large numbers of people on board
nonpassenger vessels.

+ Unusual nighttime activity or lights flashing
between boats.

PUBLIC WATER ACCESS

The Minnesota DNR, county, city, township,
tribal and federal government units all provide
public water accesses throughout the state.

Minnesota has both trailer and carry-in access
sites. Amenities at each access vary, however,
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most trailer boat launch sites have a concrete
ramp and a dock. Restroom facilities are
available at the busier sites.

You can view and print free maps, showing
public access locations and basic site
information, for most counties at the DNR
Web page: mndnr.gov/wateraccess or call the
DNR Information Center at 651-296-6157,
888-646-6367.

To report a problem at a public access or
obtain specific information for a facility,
contact the site administrator.

WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT
AREAS

For regulations pertaining to the use of
motorboats within wildlife management areas,
be sure to check the “Minnesota Hunting

and Trapping Regulations” handbook or
contact the MN DNR Information Center

at 651-296-6157 or 888-646-6367.

SUNKEN BOATS
AND VEHICLES

Minnesota law requires that watercraft

and motor vehicles (including cars, trucks,
snowmobiles and ATVs) that sink in a lake or
river be removed by the owner within 30 days.

Owners must also notify the county sheriff
within 48 hours.

If the watercraft or vehicle is not removed,
the local unit of government can remove it
and charge the owner two to five times the
cost of removal.
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Sunrise/Sunset Table for 2022
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Sunrise/Sunset Table for 2022 continued
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AGENCY DIRECTORY

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT
OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Information Center

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4040
Info.dnr(@state.mn.us
651-296-6157 or 888-646-6367

Registration and Titling

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4026
651-296-2316 or 800-285-2000

DNR REGIONAL HEADQUARTERS

Region 1: Northwestern

2115 Birchmont Beach Road N.E.
Bemidji, MN 56601
218-308-2700

Region 2: Northeastern
1201 E. Highway 2

Grand Rapids, MN 55744
218-328-8780

Region 3: Central
1200 Warner Road
St. Paul, MN 55106
651-259-5800

Region 4: Southern
21371 State Highway 15
New Ulm, MN 56073
507-233-1200
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LOCAL DNR CONSERVATION OFFICER

To reach a Conservation Officer contact the
DNR Information Center. To locate an officer
in your area go to mndnr.gov/enforcement
and click on Locate a Conservation Officer.
You can also contact the Minnesota State
Patrol or County Sheriff to reach a MN DNR
Conservation Officer.

COUNTY SHERIFFS

Check local listings for County Sheriff’s
non-emergency numbers. In an emergency
call “911” anywhere in Minnesota.

UNITED STATES COAST GUARD

Ninth Coast Guard District
Sault Ste. Marie (for Lake Superior)
906-635-3228

Coast Guard Station Duluth
218-529-3100

Coast Guard Station North Superior
Grand Marais, MN (Seasonal only)
218-720-5412

Eighth Coast Guard District
Upper Mississippi
314-269-2500

UNITED STATES ARMY CORPS OF
ENGINEERS

St. Paul District
651-290-5807
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WEBSITES

Minnesota DNR, Boat and Water Safety
mndnr.gov/boatingsafety

Minnesota DNR Online Licensing
mndnr.gov/licenses

U.S. Coast Guard—Boating Safety
uscgboating.org

U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary
cgaux.org

America’s Boating Club
(U.S. Power Squadrons)
americasboatingclub.org

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers—St. Paul
www.mvp.usace.army.mil

National Park Service

+ Voyageurs National Park
nps.gov/voya

+ St. Croix Scenic Riverway
nps.gov/sacn

+ Mississippi National River and
Recreation Area
nps.gov/miss

Wisconsin DNR
dnr.wi.gov

Canada, Office of Boating Safety
tc.gc.ca

Minnesota State Legislature
(statutes and rules)
www.leg.mn.gov
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OPERATOR FLOAT PLAN

DESCRIPTION OF BOAT
Size

Color

Make
Boat’s registration number

MN-

NAMES AND ADDRESSES OF ALL PEOPLE
ON BOARD

TRIP PLAN
When Leaving

Where

Expect to return by

Vehicle parked where

Description and license of vehicle

Can be contacted by calling (radio call
letters, cell phone, destination)

If not returned by (time)

Call the following:
County sheriffat ()

U.S. Coast Guardat ()

DON’T FORGET TO CANCEL YOUR FLOAT
PLAN WHEN YOU GET HOME.
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FREE PUBLICATIONS

The DNR has free boat and water
safety publications available at
mndnr.gov/boatingsafety or by mail

at no charge:

« Danger, Thin Ice (ice safety tips)

+ Cold Water Kills

« Carbon Monoxide Warning Stickers
(stern, helm, cabin)

+ Water Safety for Duck Hunters

« Metro Area Rivers Guide (Twin Cities)

+ Mississippi River Guide (Hastings, MN
to lowa)

« Minnesota Boating Guide (this
publication)

+ Lake Superior Boating Guide

+ Water Safety Coloring Book

+ H20 Toons Comic Book

+ Recommended Ice Thickness Safety Card

+ Personal Watercraft Rules Decal

+ Buoy Identification Sticker

+ Stop That Prop (warning sticker)

« Check The Drain Plug (sticker)

+ Dual Language Boating Safety Tips
brochure—English plus one other
language—please select language:

- Hmong
- Cambodian
- Laotian
- Spanish
- Vietnamese

Contact the DNR Information Center for
any Boat and Water Safety publications:
Phone: 651-296-6157
Email: info.dnr@state.mn.us


http://mndnr.gov/boatingsafety
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m DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES

BOAT AND WATER SAFETY

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4047

888-646-6367 or 651-296-6157

mndnr.gov

The Minnesota DNR prohibits discrimination in its programs and
services based on race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex,
marital or familial status, disability, public assistance status, age,
sexual orientation, and local human rights commission activity.
Individuals with a disability who need a reasonable accommodation
to access or participate in DNR programs and services please
contact the DNR ADA Title Il Coordinator at info.dnr(@state.mn.us,
651-296-6157. For TTY/TDD communication contact us through the
Minnesota Relay Service at 711 or 800-627-3529. Discrimination
inquiries should be sent to Minnesota DNR, 500 Lafayette Road,
St. Paul, MN 55155-4049; or U.S. Department of Homeland
Security, Office for Civil Rights and Civil Liberties, Compliance
Branch, 245 Murray Lane SW, Building 410, Mail Stop #0190,
Washington, D.C. 20528.

This document is available in alternative formats to individuals with
disabilities by contacting info.dnr(@state.mn.us, 651-296-6157. For
TTY/TDD communication contact us through the Minnesota Relay
Service at 711 or 800-627-3529.

©2022, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources

Printed on recycled paper containing a minimum of 10 percent
post-consumer waste and vegetable-based ink.
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YOUR BOATING
DOLLARS AT WORK

Produced under a grant from the Sport Fish Restoration and
Boating Trust Fund, administered by the U.S. Coast Guard.
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