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Purchasing a Manufactured Home
Licensing and Bonding of Dealers and Manufacturers
Manufactured home dealers must have a license, surety bond, and liability insurance. The license must be 

prominently displayed on the premises. Banks, savings and loans associations, real estate brokers, and businesses 

that repossess manufactured homes are not required to have a license or a bond. 

The Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry licenses entities that meet the application, bond, and 

insurance requirements. Certificates are issued by the Commissioner to anyone who is granted a license. The 

Commissioner may deny, suspend, or revoke any license if the licensee or any of its directors, officers, general 

partners, or affiliates violates applicable law.

Warranties
Every new manufactured home sold in Minnesota has an implied warranty that the home conforms to applicable 

federal and state laws. Every new manufactured home also has an implied warranty of merchantability and fitness 

for permanent housing in Minnesota’s climate. Manufacturers or dealers may also make express warranties on a 

manufactured home, but they cannot limit any implied warranties.

Warranties are valid for one year from the date the new home is delivered to the consumer. When a homeowner 

wants to make a claim covered by either an express or implied warranty, the homeowner must notify the dealer, 

or the manufacturer, within a reasonable time after discovering the problem, but no later than 90 days after the 

expiration of the warranty. Either the manufacturer or the dealer, or both of them working together, must repair the 

manufactured home at its site within a reasonable amount of time after receiving notice from the owner.

Building Codes
Minnesota law states that a person may not sell or install for occupancy a used manufactured home, manufactured 

after June 14, 1976, unless the used manufactured home complies with the Notice of Compliance Form required by 

law. The Notice of Compliance Form must be signed by the seller and purchaser, indicate which party is responsible 

for either making or paying for any necessary corrections prior to the sale and transferring ownership of the 

manufactured home, and must be substantially in the format as found on the Notice of Compliance Form on pages 

31 and 32 at the back of this publication.

It is a misdemeanor to alter a certified manufactured home manufactured after June 14, 1976, so that it violates 

building codes. It is also a misdemeanor to install a manufactured home at a site of occupancy which does not 

comply with applicable Minnesota statutes or with the manufactured home installation rules, Minnesota Rules 

chapter 1350. 

The Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry enforces the manufactured home installation rules. 

The Commissioner may:

•	 Charge reasonable fees for inspections, seals, and other enforcement costs. 

•	 Adopt rules governing the installation of manufactured homes. 
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•	 Adopt rules governing the construction, installation, and certification of manufactured home accessory 

structures (this means any factory-built building or structure that is an addition or supplement to a 

manufactured home). 

A person who fails to correct a Manufactured Home Building Code violation within 40 days of being ordered to do 

so is guilty of a misdemeanor. Additionally, anyone who violates any of these laws is liable to the State of Minnesota 

for a monetary penalty up to $1,000 for each violation, not to exceed $1,000,000.

Tire and Axle Scam
Often companies will go through a manufactured home park offering to buy tires and axles from residents. A 

resident should be careful, because it may be illegal to sell them. It could also create problems, such as moving the 

home in the future or buying replacements. Finally, there is a chance that the company will move on and leave the 

resident without compensation or goods.

Duties of the Park Owner and Manager
Park owners and their designated managers must perform specific duties required by state law. Duties include 

being licensed, complying with state law and local ordinances, and properly maintaining the park.

License
A manufactured home park owner must have a license from the Minnesota Department of Health. This license 

must be conspicuously displayed in the office of the manufactured home park. 

A park owner or manager must apply for this license and the Department of Health must inspect the manufactured 

home park and grant a license if all requirements are met. 

If the Commissioner of the Department of Health denies a license application, the park owner or manager may 

appeal the decision. The person who is appealing the decision must request a hearing by notifying the Commissioner 

within 20 days after receipt of notice of the proposed denial of the license. 

Compliance with Health Regulations
The Department of Health has adopted rules governing manufactured home parks, Minnesota Rules chapter 

4630. The Department of Health has the authority to enforce these rules and related statutes according 

to the Health Enforcement Consolidation Act. If a person is injured, or threatened with injury because 

a health or safety rule is violated, the person may contact the Department of Health to file a complaint.  

The Department of Health can require the park to comply, or assist the park in correcting the violation. An injured 

person may also file a private lawsuit. 

Attendant
An owner or attendant must maintain the park, facilities, and equipment. If the park contains more than 50 lots, the 

park owner or the attendant must be available at all times in case of emergency. 
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Storm Shelters and Evacuation
Storm shelters or evacuation plans provide residents with access to safe shelter in cases of bad weather. Storm 

shelter plans vary depending on the size of a park and when the park was originally licensed. 

Parks with fewer than ten homes must provide either a shelter on the premises or a plan for evacuation to a nearby 

shelter. The plan or shelter should be developed with the assistance and approval of the park’s local municipality.

Parks with ten or more homes, licensed prior to March 1, 1988, must provide either a shelter on the premises or 

evacuation plans to a storm shelter close to the park. The shelter or evacuation plan must have been approved by 

the park’s local municipality by March 1, 1989, and a copy submitted to the Department of Health. The park owner 

must give all residents a copy of the evacuation or shelter plan. Parks with ten or more homes, licensed after March 

1, 1988, must provide a storm shelter within the park. 

Shelters constructed after March 1, 1988, must comply with the state building code. The Department of Labor and 

Industry enforces the state’s building code and has jurisdiction over the proper construction of storm shelters. The 

Department of Health has jurisdiction over whether the shelter or shelter plan is adequate to meet the needs of park 

residents. Page 21 of this brochure lists contact information for these departments.

Drains, Water Supply, and Lots 
Manufactured home parks must be well drained and have an adequate supply of safe water. The park must make 

sure homes are properly placed within the park, and the lots are divided correctly. 

Tenants’ Remedies
Residents of a manufactured home park are generally afforded the rights of residential tenants under Minnesota 

law. Likewise, residents in a manufactured home park may form a “resident association,” which is organized for the 

purpose of resolving matters relating to living conditions in the manufactured home park.

In most situations, a tenant or resident association may request that the Minnesota Department of Health conduct 

an inspection for code violations. Thereafter, the inspector must notify the tenant or resident association in writing 

of any code violations, and provide the park with a reasonable period of time to correct the violations. If the violations 

are not corrected, a tenant or resident association may bring an action in district court in the county where the 

violation exists. The owner must be informed in writing at least 14 days before the tenant or resident association 

may take action. In general, the issues raised in the complaint will be heard by a court without a jury approximately  

7 to 14 days after the action has been filed. If the court finds that a violation has not been remedied, the court 

may issue an order requiring corrective action, as well as including a judgment against the owner for reasonable 

attorney’s fees, not to exceed $500. 

If the violation is a case of emergency (i.e., loss of running water, hot water, heat, electricity, sanitary facilities, or other 

essential services), then a resident or resident association can file an emergency relief proceeding. The resident or 

resident association must make reasonable efforts to notify the owner of the emergency relief proceeding at least 

24 hours in advance. 
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Rental Agreements
Requirements of a Rental Agreement
The lease, or rental agreement, is the contract between the park owner and the resident. Leases are always 

negotiable. But, remember, any negotiations must take place before the lease is signed by either party.

A copy of the rental agreement, the notice required by state law, and the written procedures and criteria used to 

evaluate a prospective tenant, must be given to an applicant to review before the applicant is asked to sign them. 

(Text of the required notice can be found on page 30.) The notice required by state law must also be posted in a 

conspicuous and public location in the park. 

A rental agreement must meet the following criteria:

•	 It must be in writing. 

•	 It must be signed by the resident and the park owner or the owner’s designated person.

•	 It must specify the terms and conditions of the rental of the lot, including:

•	 The location of the lot and its address or site number;

•	 The amount of rent per month and a statement of all personal property, services, and facilities that the 

park owner agrees to provide to the resident;

•	 The rights, duties, and obligations of the parties, and all rules applicable to the resident; 

•	 The amount of any security deposit or other financial obligation imposed on the resident by the park 

owner; and

•	 The name of any person holding a security interest in the resident’s home. 

Park owners are required to give each resident a signed copy of the rental agreement. 

Serving Notice
When a park owner must give notice to residents, the following are considered “proper notice”:

•	 Personal service.

•	 Mailing the notice to the last known mailing address of the resident.

•	 Delivering the notice to the resident’s home. (The notice must be left with someone of suitable age and 

discretion, or placed in a secure and conspicuous location at the home.)

•	 Sending certified mail. (This is effective even if the resident refuses delivery.) 
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Park Rules
A park “rule” is any rental agreement provision, regulation, rule, or policy established by a park owner to control 

or affect the behavior of residents. There are reasonable rules and unreasonable rules:

Reasonable Rules
Under Minnesota law, park leases, rules, and regulations must:

•	 Be written in plain language. 

•	 Be reasonable. A “reasonable rule” is one that:

•	 Promotes the convenience and safety of the residents. It also promotes the good appearance and 

efficient operation of the park, protects the park premises, and fairly distributes services and facilities. 

•	 Relates to the purpose for which it is adopted.

•	 Is not retaliatory or discriminatory in nature.

•	 Informs residents of acceptable and unacceptable behavior. 

Unreasonable Rules
Unreasonable rules are not allowed. Unreasonable rules include (but are not limited to) the following:

•	 Prohibiting a resident from putting a reasonably-sized “for sale” sign on a home. 

•	 Requiring a resident to use the services of a particular dealer or broker for an in-park sale. 

•	 Requiring a resident or prospective resident to buy goods or services from a particular vendor—including the 

park owner. 

•	 Requiring more than one occupant of a home to have an ownership interest in that home.

Changes to Park Rules
A park can change or modify its rules, but the law requires that:

•	 The park give residents 60-days written notice before the changes take effect. 

•	 All changes be reasonable.

•	 Any new rule that “substantially modifies” previous policies can only be enforced against new residents. 

Substantial Modifications to Park Rules
A substantial modification is a rule change that:

•	 Significantly diminishes or eliminates the park owner’s material obligations.

•	 Significantly limits residents’ rights, privileges, or freedom of action. 

•	 Involves a significant new expense for a resident. 

If a new rule does not “substantially modify” a rule that was in effect when a resident signed a lease, the new rule 

is enforceable. 

The following rule change is an example of a substantial modification:

•	 A security deposit increase.
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The following are examples of rule changes that are not substantial modifications:

•	 A reasonable rent increase with 60-days written notice and no more than two rent increases in 12 months. 

(A reasonable rent increase is not a “rule” by definition.)

•	 A rule change required by government action. 

•	 A rule change requiring all residents to maintain their homes, sheds, and other property in good repair and 

safe condition.

•	 A rule change requiring total replacement of a resident’s home, shed, or other property if repair is impractical, 

and total replacement is necessary. 

A park may attempt to evict a resident for violating a new or amended rule. A court may consider the following 

factors when deciding if a new rule is a substantial modification or not:

•	 Any new circumstances that have occurred since the original rule was adopted that make a rule change 

necessary. 

•	 Any new benefits that residents receive because of the rule change.

If a court finds the rule reasonable, and not a substantial modification of the original agreement, the court will order 

the resident to comply with the rule within ten days. If the resident does not comply, or violates the rule again, the 

resident may be evicted. (See page 11 for eviction information.)

Illegal Rules
Parks cannot make rules that unreasonably conflict with the following rights of residents:

Privacy of a Resident’s Home
A park’s owner or employees may only enter a resident’s home to respond to an emergency or to prevent damage 

to the manufactured home park. 

The park owner or employees may come onto a manufactured home park rental lot to inspect the lot, to supply 

necessary or agreed upon goods, services, or repairs, or to show the lot to buyers, residents, workers, contractors, 

or mortgagees. 

Except in the case of an emergency, the park owner or employees cannot come onto a lot at unreasonable times, or 

in a way that unreasonably disrupts the resident’s use and enjoyment of the lot.

Guests and Additions to a Household 
The park cannot require a resident to pay a fee for guests or additions to the household. 

The park can set reasonable limits on the number of people who may permanently live in a manufactured home if 

the limit is reasonably related to the home’s size and the number of rooms it contains. 

Freedom of Expression
The park cannot prohibit a resident or anyone else from peacefully organizing, assembling, canvassing, or distributing 

leaflets in the park for non-commercial purposes. But, just like a municipality, the park can set reasonable limits on 

the time, place, and manner of these activities. Also, the park can prohibit commercial activities in the park, such as 

selling products door-to-door.
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Fees
Illegal Fees
The park cannot charge any fees based on:

•	 The number or age of the people who are living or staying with a resident.

•	 The type of personal property, such as a washer or dryer, that a home contains.

•	 The size of a home.

•	 The fact that a home is temporarily vacant.

The law does not prevent a park owner from reducing or eliminating the rent for a resident with special needs. 

Legal Fees
Manufactured home parks may charge the following fees:

Rental fees 
The park may charge a basic lot rental fee that is the same for all park households. The park is allowed to charge 

extra for:

•	 A larger lot.

•	 A better location.

•	 Special services or facilities provided by the park.

•	 Each pet a resident owns. (Up to $4 per month may be charged per pet.)

•	 Late rent, if this is specified in the rental agreement.

The park must give residents 60-days written notice of any rent increase. The park cannot increase the rent more 

than twice in 12 months. Also, a rent increase is not valid if its purpose is to pay civil or criminal penalties imposed 

on the park owner by a court or government agency.

Security Deposits
The park may require a security deposit of up to two-months’ rent. By giving this deposit to the owner, the resident 

is providing a guarantee that the resident will comply with the rental agreement. The deposit also protects the park 

owner from damage caused by the resident, including damage that may occur during installation or removal of the 

home. After the original security deposit is agreed upon, the security deposit may not be increased. This would be 

a substantial modification of the original rental agreement and would not be enforceable.

When a resident moves, the resident must leave a forwarding address with the park. The park has 21 days to return 

the resident’s entire deposit, plus one percent interest, or send the resident a letter explaining why some, or all, of 

the security deposit is being withheld.

The park may keep all or part of a resident’s security deposit if the resident has not paid some of the rent owed 

or has damaged park property. If the resident does not agree with the park’s reason for keeping the deposit, the 

resident may sue the park owner in Conciliation Court to recover the money. (The Minnesota Attorney General’s 
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Office publishes a free guide titled Conciliation Court: A User’s Guide to Small Claims Court. Contact the Office to 

order a copy.) In court, the park owner must justify withholding the security deposit.

If the judge decides the owner knew it was wrong to withhold the money (called acting in “bad faith”), then the 

resident may be awarded the amount withheld, plus damages up to the amount withheld and up to $500 in additional 

other damages. 

If a park owner does not provide a written explanation for keeping the deposit, then the deposit must be returned to 

the resident within two weeks after the resident has filed a complaint in court or the court will presume the owner 

is acting in “bad faith.”

The law does not allow residents to use their security deposit to pay rent. Those residents who do may be taken 

to court and may have to pay the park owner the amount of rent withheld plus a penalty. However, before the park 

owner can take a resident to court, the owner must give the resident a written demand for the rent and a notice that 

it is illegal to withhold it. 

Utility Fees 
The park may charge residents for utility services that the park provides. A “utility service” is defined as any electric, 

fuel oil, natural or propane gas, sewer, waste disposal, or water service. Unless the park owner has installed 

measuring devices that accurately meter each household’s use of a utility, the park has to charge each household 

the same amount for the service. 

Under Minnesota law, if a park owner provides a utility service, the park owner may charge no more than:

•	 The rate the resident could pay directly for the same utility service in that market area; or

•	 The rate charged within the same market area to single family dwellings. 

There is one exception regarding electricity. If a park owner provides electricity to residents by reselling electricity 

purchased from a public or municipal utility or electrical cooperative, and would lose money by following rate 

guidelines, the park owner may charge a higher rate.

This exception allows the park owner to bill residents at a rate that allows the park owner to break even. However, the 

park owner may only charge residents the actual amount billed by the public utility or utility cooperative. Residents 

may not be billed for administrative, capital, or other costs.

Installation and Removal Fees 
The park may provide and charge for home installation and removal services. The park cannot require a resident to 

use these services unless the park offers them for free. If a resident hires the park to install or remove the resident’s 

home, the contract for this service must be in writing.

Maintenance Fees 
The park can charge a resident for a resident’s lot maintenance if the work is required by the lease, park rules, or 

state or local law, and the resident does not do the work.
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The park owner may do the maintenance and charge the resident a reasonable cost, plus a fee of up to $10, if: 

•	 Before doing the work, the park gives the resident written notice explaining what work needs to be done, why, 

and a deadline. The notice must explain that if the resident does not do the work by the deadline, the park 

will do the work and send the resident a written notice of the charge. 

•	 Failure to do the required maintenance endangers park facilities or other residents. In this case the park 

owner may give the resident a written notice requiring immediate compliance. If delivery of the notice would 

be impractical or useless, the park owner may skip the written notice and charge the resident the reasonable 

cost of the work. The park owner has the same right to collect these charges as the owner has to collect rent 

owed by the resident.

A written notice for work done by the park must include:

•	 The work performed. 

•	 The date the work was done.

•	 The total cost and the way in which this cost was computed. 

•	 The deadline for the resident’s payment (this cannot be less than 30 days after the notice is sent).

Processing Fees
The park can charge an application processing fee, not to exceed $25, to people who want to buy a home from a 

park resident and want the home to remain in the park. 

Under Minnesota law a park is prohibited from charging any other “entrance” or “transfer” fees for the right to 

become a park resident, or for the right to sell or buy a manufactured home already located in the park.

Eviction
Actions For Which a Resident May Be Evicted
There are eight reasons a resident can be evicted from a manufactured home park. Minnesota law allows a park to 

ask a resident to move for the following reasons:

1.	 A resident is late paying rent or utility charges owed to the park. The park has to give the resident, and 

anyone the park knows has a mortgage on the resident’s home, a written notice ten days before taking 

action. Either the resident or the mortgage-holder must pay the amount due within the ten days, or the park 

can ask the resident to move. 

2.	 A resident fails to comply with a law or government rule relating to manufactured home parks. The park 

must write to the resident and explain what the resident is doing wrong. The resident must then begin 

obeying the law or regulation within the time allowed or within a reasonable amount of time.

3.	 A resident breaks the terms of the lease or the park’s rules. The park must provide a resident with written 

notice of the problem specifying the date, time, and nature of the alleged rule violation. The resident must 

comply with the lease or rules within 30 days after receiving the written notice. This 30-day time frame does 
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not apply to nonpayment of rent. Nonpayment of rent requires compliance within ten days after the resident 

receives written notice.

4.	 A resident repeatedly breaks important terms of the lease or park rules, or repeatedly breaks laws or 

governmental rules relating to manufactured home parks. The park has to give a resident written notice of 

the violations and a written warning that any future violation could result in eviction. If the resident commits 

a violation within six months of receiving the notice, the park can ask the resident to move immediately.

	 For example, if a resident breaks important park rules, gets a 30-day warning, obeys the rules for 30 days, 

breaks the rules again, and gets another warning, then the park may give the resident written notice that 

future violations will be cause for eviction. If the resident then commits another serious violation within six 

months, the park can ask the resident to move.

5.	 A resident does something in the manufactured home park that endangers other residents or park 

personnel, seriously damages park property, or substantially annoys other residents. The park can give a 

resident written notice and ask the resident to move within 30 days. The notice must state the time, date, 

and nature of the annoyance, damage, or endangerment. The park may ask a resident to move immediately 

if the resident again endangers or substantially annoys people or seriously damages park property after the 

resident has received the 30-day notice. The park owner does not need to produce evidence of a criminal 

conviction to evict a resident.

6.	 All or part of the manufactured home park is going to close. The owner must give residents nine-months 

advance notice before the park will close. The park owner has additional responsibilities to residents when 

closing a park. If part of the park will remain open, a resident has the right to move within the park, providing 

a lot is available and the home fits the size and zoning of the lot.

	 If the park is converting to a condominium, residents have additional rights under Minnesota law. The nine-

month advance notice must tell residents the park is closing to convert to a condominium. Additionally, 120 

days before the end of the nine months, the park owner must serve residents with a purchase agreement 

and provide residents with the option to purchase their lots. Subject to certain limitations, these provisions 

do not apply to the conversion of a manufactured home park to a cooperative incorporated under Minnesota 

Statute Chapters 308A or 308B. Condominium sales are governed by Minnesota Statute § 515A.4-110. 

7.	 The park owner is making improvements to the park that will substantially benefit the health and safety 

of the residents and it is necessary to remove a resident’s home to complete the work. The park must give 

residents who will be affected written notice 90 days before work will begin. This notice must explain how 

the improvements will benefit the residents. Residents have the right to move within the park, if the homes 

fit the size and zoning of the available lots. 

8.	 A resident gives false information in the lease application. The park can ask a resident to move if the 

resident has given false information in the lease application. However, a park may only evict residents for 

this reason if the park acts within one year of the date the resident started to pay rent. If the park asks a 

resident to move, but the resident feels he or she has a legal right to stay, the resident can refuse to move. 
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In order to evict a resident, the park must go to court. If the court decides in favor of the park, the court will 

order the resident to move. 

Defenses to Eviction
There are four defenses a resident can use to respond to a park owner’s eviction action. These include:

1.	 A resident being evicted for nonpayment of rent has a defense if the money owed is being charged illegally 

by the park owner.

2.	 A resident being evicted for nonpayment of rent has a defense if a park owner did not give proper notice of 

a rent increase, or increased the rent more than two times in 12 months. 

3.	 A resident being evicted due to a rule violation has a defense if the rule is unreasonable.

4.	 A resident may use the landlord’s retaliation as a defense in an eviction action. 

Right to Redemption
A resident has a right to redemption up to two times each year. This means a resident evicted for nonpayment of 

rent may stay in the park if the resident pays all money owed to the park, including rent, with interest, cost of the 

action, and an attorney’s fee of $5. 

Eviction Proceedings
To evict a resident, a court must issue a Writ of Restitution, or a Conditional Writ. These writs provide different 

timelines for eviction:

•	 Under a Writ of Restitution, a resident must be allowed a reasonable period of time (up to seven days) to 

arrange to remove the resident’s home from the lot. 

•	 Under a Conditional Writ, a resident must be allowed to reside in the park for a reasonable period (up to seven 

days). However, the resident’s home is allowed to remain on the lot for 60 days to allow for an in-park sale of 

the home. 

Parks Cannot Retaliate
A park owner cannot retaliate against a resident for making a good faith effort to exercise the resident’s rights. 

The park cannot increase rent, decrease services, change the rental agreement, evict the resident, or threaten to do 

any of these things simply because a resident has:

•	 Complained in good faith to the park owner or to a government agency or official.

•	 Attempted in good faith to exercise rights under the lease, park rules, or any law or government rule. 

•	 Participated in the activities of a resident association. Resident associations are organized for the purpose 

of resolving matters relating to living conditions in the park.

If the park tries to evict a resident within 90 days after the resident has taken any of these actions, the park has 

to prove in court that the eviction was not retaliatory. Even after 90 days have passed, if the resident can show 

evidence that the reason for the eviction is retaliation, the burden is on the park to prove otherwise. 
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In-Park Sale of a Manufactured Home
An in-park sale occurs when a resident sells the his or her home to a buyer who wants the home to remain in the 

same park. A resident has the right to sell the home within the park regardless of the home’s age.

The park cannot:

•	 Charge more than a $25 application-processing fee when a resident wants to sell a home within the park. 

•	 Require a resident to sell the home to the park.

•	 Require a resident to use the park as a listing or selling agent.

If a park owner is licensed as a dealer, a park owner may agree in writing to broker the in-park sale of a resident’s 

home. 

The park can:

•	 Charge up to $25 for processing a prospective buyer’s application to become a resident.

•	 Allow a home to remain vacant for 90 days or longer as specified by park rules. 

•	 Require rent to be paid on time and the lot to be properly maintained. 

•	 Approve a buyer as a resident.

When selling a home through a broker, the broker must be a licensed manufactured home dealer or a licensed real 

estate broker. A resident can sell the home they own and live in. If a home or lot does not meet existing park rules, 

the park can require the owner to follow the rules before the park approves the sale of the home. 

The park owner may require a prospective buyer to agree to rules different from those that applied to the resident 

who is selling the home. However, the park owner cannot enforce any rule adopted or amended after the resident 

entered into the rental agreement that would:

•	 Significantly increase the difficulty or time involved in selling the home.

•	 Significantly decrease the price at which the home can be sold. 

•	 Involve any other significant cost for either the resident or buyer, except the cost to bring the home into 

compliance with preexisting maintenance rules. 

However, if a home, shed, or other structure has become so dilapidated that repair is impractical and total replacement 

is necessary, the park may require replacement by the resident or prospective buyer in accordance with a generally 

applicable rule adopted after the resident initially entered into an agreement with the park. 

Park’s Approval of a Buyer for Residency
The park has the right to approve a buyer as a resident. The seller must tell the prospective buyer, in writing, that the 

sale is subject to final approval by the park.

When the prospective buyer seeks to become a resident, the park owner may require the prospective buyer to 

submit certain information. The required information may include:

•	 The purchase price of the home.

•	 The amount of monthly payments on the home.
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•	 Any relevant documentation necessary to verify the information.

•	 The creditworthiness of the prospective buyer. 

The park must comply with the following when processing a buyer’s application:

•	 The park must explain, in writing, its decision-making process for approving or rejecting new residents. 

•	 The park must make copies of this explanation available without charge and include a copy with rental 

applications.

•	 The written policies for approving or rejecting residents must be reasonable and apply uniformly to all 

applicants. 

•	 If the park owner requires a personal interview, the park owner must be available for interviews at reasonable 

times.

•	 The park must make a decision within 14 days after receiving the buyer’s completed application. If a delay 

occurs, the park must give the seller and the buyer a written explanation and make a decision as soon as 

possible.

•	 The park cannot be any stricter in approving a prospective buyer than it is in approving other prospective 

residents.

•	 If the park denies a buyer’s application, the denial must be reasonable. The park owner cannot deny residency 

to a prospective buyer for any reason prohibited by federal, state, or local law.

•	 If a buyer gives the park a written request for an explanation of the park’s decision, the park must provide it 

within three days. 

Safety Disclosure and Repairs
The Legislature repealed the law that previously required the seller of a manufactured home within a park to provide 

a “safety feature disclosure form” to any prospective buyer. Sales of used manufactured homes manufactured after 

June 14, 1976, must comply with the Notice of Compliance Form found on pages 31 and 32 of this publication.

Repossession
A manufactured home can be repossessed under the following circumstances: 

•	 If the resident-owner defaults on the security agreement for the manufactured home;

•	 If the resident-owner defaults on another security agreement for which the manufactured home has been 

used as collateral; and

•	 If the owner who does not reside in the home defaults on the security agreement for the manufactured 

home.

A secured party may commence repossession of a manufactured home by personally serving upon, or by sending by 

certified or registered United States mail and concurrently sending a copy of the notice by first class mail to the occupant 

of the manufactured home a notice and, if the occupant is not the debtor, by sending a registered or certified letter 

to the last known address of the debtor under the security agreement. The notice must set forth the circumstances 

constituting the default and state that the secured party will, at the expiration of a 30-day period following receipt of the 

notice, seek a court order removing the occupant from the manufactured home and repossessing the manufactured 
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home, unless the debtor or the occupant acting on behalf of the debtor cures the default prior to that time. The notice 

of default must contain the following language: “Your loan is currently in default. Contact us immediately at [insert 

phone number] to discuss possible options for preventing repossession. We encourage you to seek assistance 

from the foreclosure prevention counseling program in your area. Nearby community agencies will answer your 

questions, offer free advice, and help you create a plan. You can contact the Minnesota Home Ownership Center at  

(866) 462-6466 or www.hocmn.org to get the phone number and location of the nearest foreclosure prevention 

organization. Call today. Waiting limits your options. IF YOU DO NOT BECOME CURRENT ON YOUR LOAN WITHIN 

30 DAYS, WE WILL SEEK A COURT ORDER REPOSSESSING THE HOME, AND BY COURT ORDER YOU WILL HAVE TO 

VACATE THE HOME.” 

A debtor, or an occupant of a manufactured home acting on behalf of a debtor, may within the 30-day period, cure 

a default by tendering full payment of the sums then in arrears under the terms of the security agreement, or by 

otherwise remedying the default, and by paying the reasonable costs, not to exceed the sum of $100, incurred by the 

secured party to enforce the security agreement. Cure of a default shall suspend the secured party’s right to seek 

repossession of the manufactured home. 

In addition, if the debtor does not cure the default within the 30-day period, the secured party must also send a 

registered or certified letter and concurrently send a copy of the notice by first class mail to the occupant of the 

home and, if the debtor is different than the occupant, to the debtor, stating that the debtor has 30 days to reinstate 

the loan by paying the defaulted amount plus additional allowable fees incurred by the secured party in order to 

regain possession of the home. 

The reinstatement notice shall contain, at a minimum, the following information: 

1.	 The name of the secured party, the debtor, each current assignee of the loan, if any, and the original or 

maximum principal amount secured by the loan; 

2.	 The date of the loan; 

3.	 The amount in arrears on the loan as of the date of the notice; 

4.	 A description of the manufactured home upon which the loan is secured; and 

5.	 The amount of allowable fees incurred by the secured party in order to regain possession of the home prior 

to the court order. 

The reinstatement notice must also include the following language: “Your manufactured home is currently being 

repossessed. Contact us immediately at [insert phone number] to discuss possible options for reinstating your loan. 

We encourage you to seek counseling with the foreclosure prevention counselor in your area. Nearby community 

agencies will answer your questions, offer free advice, and help you create a plan. You can contact the Minnesota 

Home Ownership Center at 866-462-6466 or www.hocmn.org to get the phone number and location of the nearest 

counseling organization. Call today. Waiting limits your options. If you do not become current on your loan within 30 

days, including any additional fees, you will no longer be entitled to reinstate your loan. We are seeking a court order 

repossessing the home, and by court order you will have to vacate the home.”

http://www.hocmn.org/
http://www.hocmn.org/
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Except in cases of voluntary repossession, upon expiration of the 30-day period specified in the notice of default, 

a secured party must apply to the district court in the county in which the manufactured home is located for an 

order directing the seizure and delivery of the manufactured home, so long as the right to reinstate has not been 

exercised. The exercise of the right to reinstatement suspends the secured party’s right to seek repossession of the 

manufactured home and shall immediately terminate any court action filed. 

The party repossessing the home has the right to sell the home through an in-park sale if the following conditions 

are met:

•	 After repossessing the home the secured party must notify the park owner that the home has been 

repossessed. 

•	 The park owner must receive this notice before the park owner has begun eviction proceedings.

•	 The secured party must pay up to three months of the resident’s past due rent. This liability for past rent does 

not include late fees. 

•	 The secured party must make monthly rent payments until the park owner approves a buyer for the 

repossessed home. 

•	 The secured party must comply with all park rules relating to lot and home maintenance.

A secured party offering a home for an in-park sale may be evicted for the same reasons a resident could be evicted.

To repossess a home, the repossessor must bring the resident to court in the county where the home is located, 

rather than any county the repossessor might choose.

Removal of a Home After Repossession
When a secured party repossesses a manufactured home and removes the home from the park, the secured party 

owes the park owner rent for the period beginning with repossession and ending on the last calendar day of the 

month the home is removed. However, the secured party would not owe past due rent prior to the time the secured 

party accepted voluntary repossession or took action if:

•	 Within seven days after accepting repossession, the secured party notifies the park owner in writing that the 

home is being repossessed. 

•	 The secured party pays each month’s lot rent as it becomes due.

•	 The secured party removes the home from the park within seven days after repossessing it. 

If the secured party fails to meet any of these conditions, the secured party would owe the park owner up to three 

months of past due rent, excluding late fees or other charges.
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Park Closing
A park owner must follow certain steps before closing a park. The park owner must provide a “closure statement” to 

the commissioners of health and the housing finance agency, the local planning agency, and each resident at least 

nine months before the planned closing. The “closure statement” says the park is closing, lists replacement housing 

within 25 miles of the park, and gives cost estimates for moving homes from the park. The “closure statement” must 

include the following language in a font not smaller than 14 point: “YOU MAY BE ENTITLED TO COMPENSATION 

FROM THE MINNESOTA MANUFACTURED HOME RELOCATION TRUST FUND ADMINISTERED BY THE MINNESOTA 

HOUSING FINANCE AGENCY.” 

A public hearing will be held to review the closure statement and determine the impact of the park closing.  The 

municipality must mail residents a notice, at least ten days before the hearing, stating the time, place, and purpose 

of the hearing. Residents may not be required to move until 60 days after the conclusion of the public hearing. At 

the time of the public hearing, displaced residents must be informed that they may be eligible for payment from the 

Minnesota Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund as compensation for reasonable relocation costs. In some 

instances, the municipality may have other parties, including the municipality, pay relocation costs for the displaced 

residents. A “displaced resident” includes residents and members of the resident’s household as of the date the 

closure statement is submitted. 

If a person purchasing a manufactured home park intends to close or change it within one year of the purchase 

agreement, the person must notify the park owner in writing. The park owner must then give each resident a 45-day 

notice of the purchaser’s intent to close or convert the park. The 45-day written notice must:

•	 State the park owner will provide information on the price, terms, and conditions of the buyer’s offer.

•	 Be sent by first class mail to all residents.

•	 Indicate that the notice to residents begins on the postmark date and runs for 45 days.

During the notice period, 51 percent of the residents in the park may work together to meet the buyer’s cash price 

and purchase the park themselves to keep it as a manufactured housing community. The park owner must accept 

the counter offer from the residents if it meets the cash price of the first offer.

Notice of Sale
If a park owner is selling a manufactured home park and advertising it for sale through a publication, newspaper, or 

realtor, the park owner must, at the same time, give a written notice to all residents of the park. If time is required to 

sell the park, the owner is only required to provide residents with written notice once each year.
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Minnesota Manufactured Home Relocation  
Trust Fund
If a homeowner is required to relocate due to the closure or conversion of a manufactured home park, the homeowner 

may be entitled to payment from the Minnesota Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund. Any such payment is 

equal to the actual relocation costs for relocating the manufactured home to a new location within a 25-mile radius, 

up to a maximum of $7,000 for a single-section and $12,500 for a multi-section manufactured home.

Relocation costs include the reasonable cost of taking down, moving, and setting up the manufactured home, 

including equipment rental, utility connection and disconnection charges, minor repairs, modifications necessary for 

transportation of the home, necessary moving permits and insurance, and moving costs for certain appurtenances. 

Among other eligibility requirements, manufactured homeowners who rent lots in a manufactured home park must 

make an annual $15 payment to the park owner when due each year. These payments must then be deposited by 

the park owner into the Minnesota Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund.

A manufactured homeowner is not entitled to recover from the Minnesota Manufactured Home Relocation Trust 

Fund if this annual $15 payment is not made. In order to recover from the Minnesota Manufactured Home Relocation 

Trust Fund, a manufactured homeowner must submit the following materials: 

•	 A copy of the closure statement; 

•	 A copy of the contract with the moving contractor for relocation costs; 

•	 A statement and supporting materials for any other permissible relocation costs; 

•	 A statement certifying that certain exceptions to recovery do not apply; 

•	 A statement from park owner that the lot rental is current and the manufactured homeowner made the 

annual $15 payments when due; and 

•	 A statement from the county certifying that personal property taxes for the manufactured home are paid 

through the end of that year. 

Copies of these materials must be provided to a neutral third party appointed at the public hearing, the Minnesota 

Housing Finance Agency, and the park owner. If an application for relocation expenses is approved, the Minnesota 

Housing Finance Agency must pay the moving contractor directly in two payments, one for 50 percent of the 

contract price at the time the contract is signed, and the remaining 50 percent upon completion of the relocation 

and approval by the manufactured homeowner. A check is made payable to the manufactured homeowner for any 

other approved relocation costs. 

If an owner cannot relocate the manufactured home due to its age or condition, or if there are no parks willing or 

able to accept the manufactured home within the 25-mile radius, the manufactured homeowner may still be eligible 

for recovery. The law allows the owner to tender title of the manufactured home to the park owner and collect an 

amount to be determined by an independent appraiser, up to a maximum of $8,000 for a single-section, and $14,500 

for a multi-section manufactured home.
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Resources
Glossary of Terms

Lot: An area within a manufactured home park designed or used for a manufactured home. 

Manufactured Home: A structure that is not a part of real estate, and that has one or more sections that may 

be transported. The home (or a section of the home) has a width of eight body feet or more and a length of 

40 body feet or more. On site, the home is 320 square feet or more. The home must be built as a permanent 

chassis. The home may or may not have a permanent foundation. The home must be designed as a dwelling 

when connected to the required utilities.

Manufactured Home Park: Any site, lot, field, or tract of land where two or more occupied manufactured homes 

are located, either free of charge or for compensation. This includes any building, structure, tent, vehicle, or 

enclosure used, or intended to be used, for the manufactured home park. This does not include facilities 

open three or fewer seasons each year.

Park Owner: The owner of a manufactured home park or any person acting on behalf of the owner to operate 

the park.

Resident: A manufactured homeowner who rents a lot in a manufactured home park. This includes all members 

of the resident’s household.

Resident Association: An organization formed to resolve matters related to living conditions in the manufactured 

home park. The organization must have written permission from at least 51 percent of the homeowners in 

the park to represent them. 
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General Resources
This section is designed to provide additional resources to manufactured home park owners, managers, resident,s 

and dealers. The following agencies provide varying services to those involved with manufactured home parks.

Office of Minnesota Attorney General Keith Ellison 

445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400 

St. Paul, MN 55101 

Twin Cities Calling Area:(651) 296-3353 

Outside the Twin Cities:(800) 657-3787 

Minnesota Relay Service:(800) 627-3529 

www.ag.state.mn.us

Minnesota Department of Health 

Environmental Health Services 

Freeman Building 

625 Robert Street North 

P.O. Box 64975 

St. Paul, MN 55164-0975 

(651) 201-4500 

www.health.state.mn.us

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 

Construction Codes and Licensing Division, 

Manufactured Structures Section 

443 Lafayette Road North 

St. Paul, MN 55155-4341 

(651) 284-5005 or (800) 342-5354 

www.doli.state.mn.us

All Parks Alliance for Change (APAC) 

2380 Wycliff Street, Suite 200 

St. Paul, MN 55114 

(651) 644-5525 or (855) 361-2722 

allparksallianceforchange.org

Manufactured & Modular Home Association of 

Minnesota 

33 East Wentworth Avenue, Suite 265 

West St. Paul, MN 55118 

(800) 696-3721 

www.mnmfghome.org

Minnesota Housing Finance Agency 

400 Sibley Street, Suite 300 

St. Paul, MN 55101-1998 

(651) 296-7608 or (800) 657-3769 

www.mnhousing.gov

Minnesota Management and Budget 

Minnesota Manufactured Home  

Relocation Trust Fund 

https://mn.gov/mmb/debt-management/cash-

management/mn-manufacture-home/

Better Business Bureau 

220 South River Ridge Circle 

Burnsville, MN 55337 

(651) 699-1111 or (800) 646-6222 

www.bbb.org

http://www.ag.state.mn.us/
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Conciliation Courts
Currently, claims of up to $15,000 may be brought in conciliation court. You can obtain legal forms for conciliation 

court by calling or visiting the respective courthouse that you intend to file your claim in. Forms are also available 

online at www.mncourts.gov. 

What Is Conciliation Court? 
Conciliation court is often called “people’s court” or “small claims court” because its basic purpose is to help people 

recover relatively small sums of money without having to hire a lawyer. Conciliation court allows you to bring your 

legal disputes to a court without the hassles of confusing legal procedures and high costs. Court rules are generally 

simple and informal, and the cost of filing in conciliation court is low.

Conciliation Court Listings
Aitkin 	 (218) 927-7350

Anoka	 (763) 760-6700

Becker	 (218) 846-7305

Beltrami 	  (218) 333-4120

Benton 	 (320) 968-5205

Big Stone 	 (320) 839-2536

Blue Earth 	 (507) 304-4650

Brown 	 (507) 233-6670

Carlton 	 (218) 384-9578

Carver	 (952) 361-1420

Cass	 (218) 547-7200

Chippewa	 (320) 269-7774

Chisago 	 (651) 213-8650

Clay	 (218) 299-5065

Clearwater 	 (218) 694-6177

Cook 	 (218) 387-3610

Cottonwood 	 (507) 831-4551

Crow Wing	 (218) 824-1310

Dakota  

    Apple Valley 	 (952) 891-7256 

    Hastings	 (651) 438-8100 

    West St. Paul 	 (651) 554-6200

Dodge 	 (507) 635-6260

Douglas 	 (320) 762-3033

Faribault 	 (507) 526-6273

Fillmore 	 (507) 765-3356

Freeborn 	 (507) 377-5153

Goodhue	 (651) 267-4800

Grant 	 (218) 685-8282

Hennepin	 (612) 348-2713

Houston	 (507) 725-5806

Hubbard	 (218) 732-5286

Isanti	 (763) 689-2292

Itasca	 (218) 327-2870

Jackson	 (507) 847-4400

Kanabec	 (320) 679-6400

Kandiyohi	 (320) 231-6206

Kittson 	 (218) 843-3632

Koochiching 	  (218) 283-1160

Lac qui Parle 	 (320) 295-4000

Lake	 (218) 834-8330

Lake of the Woods	 (218) 634-1451

Le Sueur	 (507) 357-8260

Lincoln 	 (507) 694-1355
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Lyon	 (507) 537-6734

Mahnomen 	 (218) 935-2251

Marshall 	 (218) 745-4921

Martin	 (507) 238-3205

McLeod	 (320) 864-1281

Meeker 	 (320) 693-5230

Mille Lacs	 (320) 983-8313

Morrison 	 (320) 632-0327

Mower	 (507) 437-9465

Murray	 (507) 836-1125 

Nicollet	 (507) 934-7850

Nobles	 (507) 295-5170

Norman	 (218) 784-5458

Olmsted	 (507) 206-2400

Otter Tail	 (218) 998-8420

Pennington 	 (218) 683-7023

Pine	 (320) 591-1500

Pipestone 	 (507) 353-7080

Polk	 (218) 281-2332

Pope	 (320) 634-5222

Ramsey	 (651) 266-8230

Red Lake	 (218) 253-4281

Redwood	 (507) 637-4020

Renville	 (320) 523-3680

Rice 	 (507) 332-6107

Rock 	 (507) 353-7095

Roseau	 (218) 463-2541

Scott	 (952) 496-8200

Sherburne 	 (763) 765-4600

Sibley 	 (507) 237-4051

St. Louis  

    Duluth	 (218) 726-2460 

    Hibbing	 (218) 262-0105 

    Virginia	 (218) 749-7106

Stearns	 (320) 656-3620

Steele 	 (507) 444-7701

Stevens 	 (320) 208-6640

Swift	 (320) 843-2744

Todd 	 (320) 732-7800

Traverse 	 (320) 422-7752

Wabasha 	 (651) 565-3524

Wadena 	 (218) 631-7633

Waseca 	 (507) 835-0540

Washington	 (651) 430-6268

Watonwan 	 (507) 375-1236

Wilkin	 (218) 643-7172

Winona	 (507) 457-6385

Wright 	 (763) 682-7539

Yellow Medicine	 (320) 564-3325
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Legal Aid Services
Legal Aid Services provide legal assistance to financially disadvantaged persons. Each Legal Aid office has criteria 

to determine when a person qualifies for legal assistance at little to no cost. Some Legal Aid offices provide 

assistance only within certain areas of the state or to certain groups of individuals—see specific listings for more 

information. 

Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services
(888) 575-2954

www.smrls.org

Administrative Office 

1000 Alliance Bank Center,  

55 East 5th Street 

St. Paul, MN 55101 

(651) 228-9823

Albert Lea Office 

132 North Broadway 

Albert Lea, MN 56007 

(507) 377-2831 

Serving Faribault, Freeborn, Mower, Rice, and Steele 

counties.

Eastside and American Indian Branch Office 

579 Wells Street, Suite 100 

St. Paul, MN 55130 

(651) 222-5863

Mankato Office 

12 Civic Center Plaza, Suite 3000 

Mankato, MN 56001 

(507) 387-5588

Serves Blue Earth, Brown, LeSueur, Martin, McLeod, 

Nicollet, Sibley, Waseca and Watonwan counties (also 

seniors living in Faribault county).

Rochester Office 

903 West Center Street, Suite 230 

Rochester, MN 55902 

(507) 292-0080 

Saint Paul Central Office 

400 Alliance Bank Center 

55 East 5th Street 

St. Paul, MN 55101 

(651) 222-5863 

Serving Carver, Ramsey, Scott and Washington counties 

(also seniors living in Dakota county).

Shakopee Office 

712 Canterbury Road South 

Shakopee, MN 55379 

(952) 402-9890

Serving LSC clients in Carver, Dakota and Scott counties 

and Seniors in Carver and Scott counties.

Winona Office 

66 East Third Street, Suite 204 

Winona, MN 55987-3478 

(507) 454-6660 (voice or TTY)

Serves Dodge, Fillmore, Goodhue, Houston, Olmstead, 

Wabasha and Winona counties.

Worthington Office 

1567 North McMillan Street, Suite 6 

Worthington, MN 56187 

(507) 372-7368

Serves Cottonwood, Jackson, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, 

Redwood and Rock counties.
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Administrative Office: 

Duluth Office 

302 Ordean Building 

424 West Superior Street 

Duluth, MN 55802 

(218) 623-8100 or (855) 204-1697 

www.lasnem.org

Serves Carlton, Cook, Lake and southern St. Louis 

counties

Brainerd Office 

P. O. Box 804 

324 South Fifth Street, Suite A 

Brainerd, MN 56401 

(218) 829-1701 or (800) 933-1112

Serves Aitkin, Cass, and Crow Wing counties

Grand Rapids Office 

350 Northwest 1st Avenue, Suite F 

Grand Rapids, MN 55744 

(218) 322-6020 or (844) 623-8999

Serves Itasca and Koochiching counties

Pine City Office 

1015 Hillside Avenue Southwest Suite 4 

Pine City, MN 55063 

(320) 629-7166 (voice/TTY) or (800) 382-7166

Serves Pine and Kanabec counties

Virginia Office 

Olcott Plaza, Suite 200 

820 North Ninth Street 

Virginia, MN 55792 

(218) 749-3270 (voice/TTY) or (800) 886-3270

Legal Aid Service of Northeastern Minnesota

Minneapolis Office 

430 First Avenue North, Suite 300 

Minneapolis, MN 55401-1780 

(612) 334-5970 

(612) 332-4668 (TDD)

St. Cloud Office 

110 Sixth Avenue South, Suite 200 

St. Cloud, MN 56301 

(320) 253-0121 or (888) 360-2889

Serves Benton, Mille Lacs, Morrison, 

Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, and 

Wright counties

Willmar Office 
415 Seventh Street Southwest 

P.O. Box 1866 

Willmar, MN 56201 

(320) 235-9600 or (888) 360-3666

Serves Big Stone, Chippewa, 

Kaniyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Lincoln, 

Meeker, Renville, Swift, and Yellow 

Medicine counties

Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid Offices
www.mylegalaid.org
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Cass Lake (Central) Office 

P.O. Box 157 

411 First Street Northwest 

Cass Lake, MN 56633 

(218) 335-2223 or (800) 422-1335

Red Lake Office 

P.O. Box 291 

Red Lake Agency, Room 18 

Highway 1 West 

Red Lake, MN 56671 

(218) 335-2223, ext. 113

White Earth Office 

P.O. Box 379 

White Earth Judicial Complex 

35500 Eagle View Road 

White Earth, MN 56591 

(218) 335-2223, ext. 114

Anishinabe Legal Services
www.alslegal.org

Serves Indian and non-Indian residents of Leech Lake, Red Lake and White Earth reservations.

Housing Alliance Law Office (HALO) Main Office 

400 Alliance Bank Center 

55 East 5th Street  

St. Paul, MN 55101 

(651) 222-4731

HALO Neighborhood Office 

450 North Syndicate, Suite 285 

St. Paul, MN 55104 

(651) 291-2837

HALO Neighborhood Office  

Johnson Elementary School 

740 York Avenue 

St. Paul, MN 55106  

(651) 793-7318

Toll-Free Hotline for  

Greater Minnesota:  

(888) 575-2954

Housing Alliance Law Office

Administrative Office: 

Moorhead Office 

P.O. Box 838  

1015 Seventh Avenue North 

Moorhead, MN 56560 

(218) 233-8585 or (800) 450-8585 

www.lsnmlaw.org

Serves Becker. Clay, Kittson, 

Marshall, Norman, Pennington, 

Polk, Red Lake, Roseau and Wilkin 

counties

Alexandria Office 

426 Broadway Street 

Alexandria, MN 56308 

(320) 762-0663 or (800) 450-2552

Serves Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, 

Pope, Stevens, Traverse and Wadena 

counties [seniors living in Wadena 

county are served by St. Cloud Area 

Legal Services].

Bemidji Office 

215 Fourth Street Northwest 

P.O. Box 1883 

Bemidji, MN 56619 

(218) 751-9201 or (800) 450-9201

Serves Beltrami, Clearwater, 

Hubbard, Lake of the Woods and 

Mahnomen counties.

Legal Services of Northwest Minnesota



27MANUFACTURED HOME PARKS

St. Paul Office 

450 North Syndicate Street, Suite 285 

St. Paul, MN 55104 

(651) 291-2837 

www.smrls.org

Rochester Office 

903 West Center Street, Suite 230 

Rochester, MN 55902 

(507) 292-0080 

www.smrls.org

Refugee, Immigrant, and Migrant Services

Judicare of Anoka County
Judicare of Anoka County, Inc. is a non-profit corporation that provides free legal representation in non-criminal 

matters to low-income residents of Anoka County.

Judicare of Anoka County 

1201 89th Avenue Northeast, Suite 310 

Blaine, MN 55434 

(763) 783-4970  

www.anokajudicare.org
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House Information 

(651) 296-2146 or (800) 657-3550 

www.house.leg.state.mn.us

Senate Information 

(651) 296-0504 or (888) 234-1112 

www.senate.leg.state.mn.us

Minnesota State Legislature

Minnesota Association of Community Mediation Programs
The Minnesota Association of Community Mediation Programs consists of several centers which provide trained 

volunteer mediators to help resolve disputes peacefully and cooperatively. These centers cannot provide legal 

advice. The costs and fees vary:

Conflict Resolution Center 

2101 Hennepin Avenue South, Suite 100 

Minneapolis, MN 55405 

(612) 822-9883 

www.crcminnesota.org 

Serves Minneapolis, St. Anthony, Edina, Bloomington, 

Burnsville, Richfield, and Eden Prairie

Community Mediation &Restorative Services, Inc.  

9220 Bass Lake Road, Suite 270 

New Hope, MN 55428  

(763) 561-0033 

www.communitymediations.org

Hmong American Mediation Center 

 (651) 797-9494

Somali American Leaders and Mediators 

(763) 561-0033

Serves Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Champlin, 

Corcoran, Golden Valley, Hopkins, Maple Grove, 

Minnetonka, Mound, New Hope, Orono, Plymouth, 

Robbinsdale, and St. Louis Park

Dispute Resolution Center 

91 East Arch Street 

St. Paul, MN 55130 

(651) 292-7791 

www.disputeresolutioncenter.org

Serves Ramsey, Dakota, and Washington counties

Mediation Services for Anoka County 

3200 Main Street Suite 210 

Coon Rapids, MN 55448 

(763) 422-8878 

www.mediationservice.org

Serves Anoka County

Mediation & Conflict Solutions 

1700 North Broadway, Suite 124 

P.O. Box 6541 

Rochester, MN 55903-6541 

(507) 285-8400 

www.mediationandconflictsolutions.com

Rice County Dispute  

Resolution Program 

1651 Jefferson Parkway 

Northfield, MN 55057 

(507) 664-3522
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U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
Provides brochures and housing programs. HUD also handles most low-income public housing assistance claims 

and programs:

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 

Minnesota State Office 

International Center 

920 Second Avenue South, Suite 1300 

Minneapolis, MN 55402-4012 

(612) 370-3000 

www.hud.gov

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Provides information, loans, and insurance to veterans who wish to purchase manufactured homes:

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs 

810 Vermont Avenue Northwest 

Washington, DC 20420 

(800) 827-1000 

www.va.gov

Forms Required by State Law
There are two forms that people buying and selling manufactured homes will use. These are the Notice Required by 

State Law and the Notice of Compliance Form. The full text of these forms follows:

Notice Required by State Law (Page 30)
This notice must be printed in minimum size of ten point, boldface print, and posted in a conspicuous and public 

location in the park.

Notice of Compliance Form (Page 31)
A used manufactured home manufactured after June 14, 1976, cannot be sold or installed for occupancy unless 

it complies with the Notice of Compliance Form set forth on page 31, signed by the seller and purchaser indicating 

which party is responsible for making or paying for necessary corrections prior to transfer of ownership.

http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD
www.va.gov


IMPORTANT NOTICE 
State law provides special rules for the owners, residents, and prospective residents of manufactured home parks.

You may keep your home in the park as long as the park is in operation and you meet your financial obligations, obey 

state and local laws which apply to the park, obey reasonable park rules, do not substantially annoy or endanger 

the other residents or substantially endanger park personnel and do not substantially damage the park premises. 

You may not be evicted or have your rent increased or your services cut for complaining to the park owner or to a 

governmental official.

If you receive an eviction notice and do not leave the park, the park owner may take you to court. If you lose in court, 

a sheriff may remove you and your home from the park within seven days. Or, the court may require you to leave the 

park within seven days but give you 60 days to sell the home within the park.

If you receive an eviction notice for a new or amended rule and the court finds the rule to be reasonable and not a 

substantial modification of your original agreement, the court will not order you to leave but will order you to comply 

with the rule within ten days. If you do not comply within the time given or if you violate the rule at a later time, you 

will be subject to eviction.

All park rules and policies must be reasonable. Your rent may not be increased more than twice a year. Changes 

made in park rules after you become a park resident will not apply to you if they substantially change your original 

agreement.

The park may not charge you an entrance fee.

The park may require a security deposit, but the deposit must not amount to more than two months rent.

You have a right to sell the home in the park. But the sale is not final until the park owner approves the buyer as a 

new resident, and you must advise in writing anyone who wants to buy your home that the sale is subject to final 

approval by the park owner. The park must provide to you, in writing, the procedures and criteria used to evaluate 

a prospective resident. If your application is denied, you can request, in writing, the reason why. You must also 

disclose in writing certain safety information about your home to anyone who wants to buy it in the park. You must 

give this information to the buyer before the sale, in writing, on the form that is attached to this notice. You must 

completely and accurately fill out the form and you and the buyer should each keep a copy.

Your rental agreement and the park rules contain important information about your rights and duties. Read them 

carefully and keep a copy.

You must be given a copy of the shelter or evacuation plan for the park. This document contains information on 

where to seek shelter in times of severe weather conditions. You should carefully review the plan and keep a copy.

By February 1 of each year, the park must give you a certificate of rent constituting property taxes as required by 

Minnesota Statutes, section 290A.19. 

For further information concerning your rights, consult a private attorney. The state law governing the rental of lots 

in manufactured home parks may also be enforced by the Minnesota Attorney General.



Notice of Compliance Form as required in Minnesota Statutes, section 327.32, 
subdivision 1
This notice must be completed and signed by the purchaser(s) and the seller(s) of the used manufactured home 
described in the purchase agreement and on the bottom of this notice before the parties transfer ownership of a 
used manufactured home constructed after June 14, 1976.

Electric ranges and clothes dryers must have required four-conductor cords and plugs. For the purpose of complying 
with the requirements of section 327B.06, a licensed retailer or limited retailer shall retain at least one copy of the 
form required under this subdivision.
 
Complies .......... 							       Correction required .......... 
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... 				    Seller .......... 

Solid fuel-burning fireplaces or stoves must be listed for use in manufactured homes, Code of Federal Regulations, 
title 24, section 3280.709 (g), and installed correctly in accordance with their listing or standards (i.e., chimney, 
doors, hearth, combustion, or intake, etc., Code of Federal Regulations, title 24, section 3280.709 (g)).

Complies .......... 							       Correction required ..........		
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... 				    Seller .......... 

Gas water heaters and furnaces must be listed for manufactured home use, Code of Federal Regulations, title 24, 
section 3280.709 (a) and (d)(1) and (2), and installed correctly, in accordance with their listing or standards.

Complies .......... 							       Correction required .......... 
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... 				    Seller .......... 

Smoke alarms are required to be installed and operational in accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 24, 
section 3280.208.

Complies .......... 							       Correction required .......... 
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... 				    Seller .......... 

Carbon monoxide alarms or CO detectors that are approved and operational are required to be installed within ten 
feet of each room lawfully used for sleeping purposes.

Complies .......... 							       Correction required .......... 
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... 				    Seller .......... 

Egress windows are required in every bedroom with at least one operable window with a net clear opening of 20 
inches wide and 24 inches high, five square feet in area, with the bottom of windows opening no more than 36 
inches above the floor. Locks, latches, operating handles, tabs, or other operational devices shall not be located 
more than 54 inches above the finished floor.

Complies .......... 							       Correction required .......... 
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... 				    Seller .......... 



The furnace compartment of the home is required to have interior finish with a flame spread rating not exceeding 
25, as specified in the 1976 United States Department of Housing and Urban Development Code governing 
manufactured housing construction.

Complies .......... 							       Correction required .......... 
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... 				    Seller .......... 

The water heater enclosure in this home is required to have interior finish with a flame spread rating not exceeding 
25, as specified in the 1976 United States Department of Housing and Urban Development Code governing 
manufactured housing construction.

Complies .......... 							       Correction required .......... 
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... 				    Seller .......... 
			 
The home complies with the snow load and heat zone requirements for the state of Minnesota as indicated by the 
data plate.

Complies .......... 							       Correction required .......... 
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... 				    Seller .......... 

The parties to this agreement have initialed all required sections and agree by their signature to complete any 
necessary corrections prior to the sale or transfer of ownership of the home described below as listed in the 
purchase agreement.

The state of Minnesota or a local building official has the authority to inspect the home in the manner described 
in Minnesota Statutes, section 327.33, prior to or after the sale to ensure compliance was properly executed as 
provided under the Manufactured Home Building Code.

Signature of Purchaser(s) of Home

..............................................................date......................        ..............................................................date......................
		
...........................................................................................        ...........................................................................................
Print name as appears on purchase agreement 			   Print name as appears on purchase agreement

Signature of Seller(s) of Home
 
..............................................................date......................        ..............................................................date......................
		
...........................................................................................        ............................................................................................
Print name and license number, if applicable			   Print name and license number, if applicable

(Street address of home at time of sale) ...........................................................................................................................

(City/State/Zip) ....................................................................................................................................................................

Name of manufacturer of home ..........................................................................................................................................

Model and year .....................................................................................................................................................................

Serial number .......................................................................................................................................................................
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445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400, St. Paul, MN 55101 

(651) 296-3353 (Twin Cities Calling Area) 

(800) 657-3787 (Outside the Twin Cities) 

(800) 627-3529 (Minnesota Relay) 

www.ag.state.mn.us

The Office of
Minnesota Attorney General Keith Ellison

helping people afford their lives and live with dignity and respect     •     www.ag.state.mn.us

-	 Car Handbook*

-	 Conciliation Court*

-	 Credit Handbook

-	 Guarding Your Privacy:  

Tips to Prevent Identity Theft

-	 Home Building and Remodeling

-	 Home Buyer’s Handbook

-	 Home Seller’s Handbook

-	 Landlords and Tenants:  

Rights and Responsibilities*

-	 Managing Your Health Care 

-	 Manufactured Home Parks*

-	 Minnesota’s Car Laws

-	 Phone Handbook

-	 Probate and Planning: A Guide to 

Planning for the Future 

-	 Seniors’ Legal Rights

-	 Student Loan Handbook

-	 Veterans and Service Members

*Available in Spanish

Consumer Questions or Complaints
The Minnesota Attorney General’s Office answers questions regarding numerous consumer issues. The Attorney 

General’s Office also provides assistance in resolving disputes between Minnesota consumers and businesses and 

uses information from consumers to enforce the state’s civil laws. We welcome your calls!

Additional Publications
Additional consumer publications are available from the Minnesota Attorney General’s Office. Contact us to receive 

copies or preview the publications on our website at www.ag.state.mn.us.

If you have a consumer complaint, you may contact the 

Attorney General’s Office in writing:

Minnesota Attorney General’s Office 

445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400 

St. Paul, MN 55101

You can also receive direct assistance from a 

consumer specialist by calling: 

(651) 296-3353 (Twin Cities Calling Area)  

(800) 657-3787 (Outside the Twin Cities) 

(800) 627-3529 (Minnesota Relay)
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