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Minnesota’s state grant program provides need-based financial aid to resident undergraduates to 
attend a public or private postsecondary institution in Minnesota. Administered by the Office of 
Higher Education (OHE), the state grant program is available up to the limits of state appropriations. 

Who is eligible for a state grant? 
Undergraduate students must apply for a state grant within 30 days after the start of the term. Eligible 
students are Minnesota residents who are high school graduates or age 17 or older and able to meet 
admission requirements of a participating postsecondary institution.1 Students must demonstrate 
financial need and must not be in default on student loans or in arrears for child support. Part-time 
students are eligible for a state grant based on the cost of attendance, prorated for the number of 
credits the student is taking. 

Students qualify as Minnesota residents if they reside for at least 12 months in the state without being 
enrolled at a postsecondary institution. Other students may qualify categorically, including dependents 
of Minnesota residents; graduates of Minnesota high schools; veterans and members of the armed 
forces or National Guard and their spouses and dependents; and refugees. 

Financial need is based on the student’s ability to meet the cost of attending the selected postsecondary 
institution, taking into account Pell grants and the expected student and family contributions estimated 
by the federal need analysis (FAFSA). The grant primarily assists low-income students. In fiscal year 
2020, 58 percent of recipients had a family adjusted gross income of less than $40,000. 

How much aid is available through the state grant? 
Except for the Minnesota GI Bill and private and institutional aid, the state grant is the last aid 
contribution to the cost of attendance. In fiscal year 2020, 77,544 students received state grants totaling 
nearly $208 million. The average state grant award amount was $2,681, but award amounts varied 
depending on the student’s financial need and the type of institution attended. 

How does OHE determine the amount of a student’s grant? 
State law requires grant awards to be based on a shared responsibility for paying for the recognized cost 
of attendance. OHE determines a student’s award amount according to the following formula: 

Grant Amount = Cost of Attendance – ASR – AFR – Pell Grants 

The components of this formula are defined as follows: 
 The cost of attendance is equal to the amount of tuition and fees up to a cap set by the

legislature each biennium plus an allowance, also set each biennium, for living and
miscellaneous expenses (LME).

 The assigned student responsibility (ASR) is at least 50 percent of the cost of attendance.

1 The University of Minnesota, all Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, and many private postsecondary 
institutions participate in the grant program. OHE maintains a list of all participating institutions online. Institutional 
eligibility requirements for the program are contained in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.103. 
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 The assigned family responsibility (AFR) is the amount the FAFSA determines a student’s 
family should contribute toward the student’s education. For the purposes of the state 
grant, the family responsibility number determined by the FAFSA is multiplied by 35 percent 
if the student is independent without children, 71 percent if the student is independent with 
children, or 79 percent if the student is a dependent. In recent years, reducing AFR has been 
one approach to increasing award amounts. The legislature last reduced AFR in the 2021 
higher education omnibus act.  See Laws 2021, 1st spec. sess. ch 2.

 Pell grants is the federal Pell grant amount for which a student is eligible.

If the legislature does not to establish a tuition cap or LME allowance, both numbers are set at an 
amount established in statute. In such a case, the tuition and fees cap is equal to the highest tuition and 
fees charged by a public two- or four-year institution, and the LME is 109 percent of the federal poverty 
guideline for a one-person household in Minnesota for nine months. Increasing the default LME 
allowance is another way that the legislature has increased state grant awards. The legislature last 
increased LME in the 2021 higher education omnibus act.  See Laws 2021, 1st spec. sess. ch 2. Because 
the legislature did not specify a tuition cap or LME for the fiscal years 2022-2023 biennium, these 
statutory levels will be in effect. 

How is the state grant program funded? 
The legislature appropriates money from the general fund to OHE for the state grant program based on 
OHE’s estimate of what is needed to fully fund projected grant awards. State law allows OHE to carry a 
balance from the first year of the biennium to the second year and authorizes the transfer of money to 
and from other financial aid programs. OHE is empowered to use surplus appropriations to increase the 
LME or the tuition cap. 

Are eligible students entitled to a state grant? 
Under state law, the state grant program is not an entitlement. OHE must award grants based on available 
funding. If funding is insufficient to make full awards, OHE is required, by law, to reduce all grants by 
adding a surcharge to the family responsibility and increasing the student’s responsibility by a percentage. 

How do grants compare to enrollment at state postsecondary institutions? 
MnState two-year schools have the most state grant recipients, but they receive smaller grants on 
average; this is because tuition at two-year MnState schools is relatively low. University of Minnesota 
students receive the largest awards on average, while private nonprofit schools receive the most state 
grant dollars in total. Below is a table with data from fiscal year 2020. 

Total recipients Percentage of 
total recipients 

Average award 
amount 

Percentage of total 
state grant funds 

MnState Colleges 34,050 43.9% $1,095 18% 

MnState Universities 13,630 17.6% $2,553 17% 

U of M system 11,861 15.3% $5,090 29% 

Nonprofit private 14,559 18.8% $4,898 34% 

For-profit private 3,444 4.4% $1,193 2% 

Total for program 77,544 100% $2,681 100% 
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