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Agriculture - 2021

Regular Session

Agriculture law makes policy changes to Board of Animal
Health, food regulations and licensing

Among the changes contained in a policy-only omnibus agriculture law are those to the Board of

Animal Health, and modification of regulations affecting cottage industries producing certain
foods, including baked or dehydrated pet treats.

Rep. Mike Sundin (DFL-Esko) and Sen. Torrey Westrom (R-Elbow Lake) sponsor the law that takes
effect Aug. 1, 2021, unless otherwise noted.

The Board of Animal Health, which regulates livestock and domestic animals in Minnesota, will
increase from five to six members, including four livestock producers instead of three. At least one
of the producers must be a member of a federally recognized Native American tribe located in
Minnesota.

Minnesotans who sell homemade, shelf-stable foods and beverages can more than quadruple their
calendar year sales — $18,000 to $78,000 — without needing to get a license. The law also
exempts certain Minnesotans who sell homemade baked or dehydrated pet treats from obtaining a
license from the Agriculture Department. Small meat processors who butcher fowl and game for
hunters will be exempt from state food handler license and permit requirements provided their
annual sales are less than $20,000 or they process fewer than 200 deer annually.

The law will also:

« require the Department of Agriculture to annually report to the Legislature on a state program to
compensate livestock owners for animals killed by wolves;

« allow the Department of Agriculture to hire a publicity representative;

« retroactive to March 31, 2021, exempt people who apply general-use sanitizers or disinfectants
for hire in response to COVID-19 from commercial pesticide applicator license requirements;

« allow farmed deer and elk located in chronic wasting disease management or endemic zones to
be transported, if they have tested negative for the disease;

+ exempt corn kernel fiber and biogas from biomass sourcing plans for advanced biofuel and
renewable chemical incentive payments;

* require producers who receive payments under the Bioincentive Program to certify they will not
use the funds on lobbyists; and

+ allow a person certified by the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board to treat police dogs
wounded in the line of duty. This took effect May 26, 2021.

HF1524/SF958*/CH28

Agriculture - 2021

First Special Session

Omnibus agriculture law allocates $139 million for
biennium



Biennial appropriations for the Department of Agriculture and other farm-related programs, boards
and agencies are included in the omnibus agriculture finance law.

Effective July 1, 2021, the law appropriates $139.3 million from the General Fund for the 2022-23
biennium, an increase of $12.6 million over base. It appropriates:

+ $117.97 million to the Department of Agriculture;

+ $12.1 million to the Board of Animal Health; and

+ $8.6 million to the Agricultural Utilization Research Institute.
[MORE: View the spreadsheet]

The law also appropriates $700,000 for administrative costs to the Department of Employment
and Economic Development to manage the Border-to-Border Broadband Development Grant
Program (Art. 2, Sec. 2).

Rep. Mike Sundin (DFL-Esko) and Sen. Torrey Westrom (R-Elbow Lake) are the sponsors.
SSHF8*/SSSF25/CH3
Department of Agriculture

The $117.97 million to fund the Department of Agriculture includes money for protection services,
agricultural marketing and development, agriculture, bioenergy, bioproduct advancement, and
administration and financial assistance. (Art. 1, Sec. 2)

Protection services

Money appropriated in this category includes funds for the department to manage regulatory
programs, such as the Pesticide and Fertilizer Management, Laboratory Services, Plant Protection,
Dairy and Meat Inspection, and Food and Feed Safety divisions. Appropriations include:

+ $1.7 million to upgrade equipment in the department’s analytical laboratory;

+ $450,000 in additional funding for the noxious weed and invasive plant program;
+ $350,000 for compensation for livestock destroyed or crippled by wolves;

+ $310,000 for compensation for crop damage;

+ $220,000 for additional meat and poultry inspection services; and

+ $50,000 in fiscal year 2022 for the industrial hemp program for IT development.
Agricultural marketing and development

The law appropriates the following amounts for agricultural marketing and development. The
appropriations include:

+ $1.3 million for continuation of the dairy development and profitability enhancement grant
programs;

+ $372,000 to fund grants for the Minnesota Grown promotion;
+ $200,000 for farm safety grant and outreach programs;

+ $100,000 for additional funding for mental health outreach and support to farmers and others in
the agricultural community; and

- $50,000 in fiscal year 2022 to expand international marketing opportunities for farmers and
value-added processors, including in-market representation in Taiwan.

Agriculture, bioenergy, and bioproduct advancement

The law appropriates $50.7 million for agriculture, bioenergy, and bioproduct advancement,
including $18.6 million to fund agriculture research, extension and technology transfer programs at
the University of Minnesota, including:



* $4 million to fund grants administered by the Minnesota Agriculture Education Leadership
Council;

+ $1.2 million for the Minnesota Agricultural Experiment Station’s agriculture rapid response fund;

+ $900,000 for the cultivated wild rice breeding project at the North Central Research and Outreach
Center; and

+ $700,000 for potato breeding projects.

The remaining $11.8 million is for the University of Minnesota to spend on unspecified agriculture
programs, with the only stipulation being that up to $2 million must be used for research on avian
influenza, salmonella and other turkey-related diseases.

The remaining $32.1 million will fund agricultural growth, research and innovation programs
administered by the Department of Agriculture to promote the advancement of the state’s
agricultural and renewable energy industries.

Some of the incentives and promotions funded include:

+ $9 million for incentive payments to advanced biofuel producers, renewable chemical producers,
biomass thermal producers and building siding producers;

+ $6 million in grants for equipment purchased to meet the state’s biofuel replacement goals;
+ $2.8 million for livestock investment grants;

+ $2 million for distribution in equal amounts to each of the state’s county fairs to preserve and
promote Minnesota agriculture;

+ $1.6 million to develop and enhance farm-to-school markets for Minnesota farmers;

+ $1.5 million for grants to facilitate the startup, modernization or expansion of meat, poultry, egg
and milk processing facilities; and

+ $1.2 million for urban youth agricultural education or urban agriculture community development.
Administration and Financial Assistance

Other appropriations to the Department of Agriculture include $19.8 million for administration and
financial assistance programs, including:

+ $3.4 million to Second Harvest Heartland for its six food banks in the state;

+ $2.9 million for low-interest agriculture loans;

+ $948,000 to county and district agricultural societies and associations;

+ $724,000 for farm advocate services;

+ $500,000 to fund Minnesota Agricultural Education and Leadership Council grant programs;

+ $476,000 to state colleges and universities for statewide mental health counseling support for
farm families and agricultural business operators;

+ $300,000 for grants to the Center for Rural Policy and Development;

+ $300,000 to establish an emerging farmer office with a full-time emerging farmer outreach
coordinator; and

+ $150,000 in fiscal year 2022 for a matching grant to Central Lakes College to develop a meat
cutting and butchery program.

Board of Animal Health

The Board of Animal Health will receive $12.1 million in the 2022-23 biennium, a $750,000, or 6.6%,
increase over the 2020-21 base.

The law stipulates that $400,000 of the total appropriation must be used to fund “agricultural
emergency preparedness and response.”



The board’s mission is to protect the health of the state’s livestock and domestic animals through
education and cooperation with veterinarians, producers, owners and communities. (Art. 1, Sec. 3)

Agricultural Utilization Research Institute

The law will fund the Agricultural Utilization Research Institute with $8.6 million to continue its
mission “to develop new uses for agricultural products through science and technology.”

That figure is $800,000 more than the institute’s 2020-21 biennial budget. The law will appropriate
$500,000 in fiscal year 2022 for a matching grant “to organizations to acquire, host, and operate a
mobile slaughter unit” and $300,000 toward hiring a meat scientist. (Art. 1, Sec. 4)

Bonding - 2021

First Special Session

Bonding corrections allow projects to continue, grant
program added

The fixes needed fixing. That's one way to characterize the 2021 bonding corrections law. Several

capital investment projects funded in previous years had been delayed because language in their
proposals needed to be amended or extensions were required.

Capital projects

Sponsored by Rep. Fue Lee (DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Tom Bakk (I-Cook), the law amends prior
appropriations of general obligation bonds and authorizes a conveyance of state-bond financed
property.

Among the plethora of projects amended:

« veterans’ cemeteries have their bond sale authorization and appropriation extended until Dec. 31,
2024;

+ the non-state match requirement for public infrastructure at the Thief River Falls Airport will now
be at least 20% of the total cost of the project rather than a fixed amount;

+ the balance of an appropriation to Virginia for a Highway 53 utilities relocation can be used for
construction of a Mesabi Trail segment, with the bond sale authorization and appropriation
extended until Dec. 31, 2022;

+ the balance of an appropriation for Rice Lake’s water main replacement can be used for a
municipal utility extension, with the appropriation availability extended through Dec. 31, 2022; and

+ the bond sale authorization and appropriation to restore water quality in the St. Louis River is
extended through Dec. 31, 2023.

The law also:

+ amends an appropriation to become a grant to Swift County for a segment of County State-Aid
Highway 6, with bond sale authorization and appropriation available until Dec. 31, 2025;

« authorizes the City of Eagle Bend to redevelop and reuse the Eagle Bend High School building and
site, contracting with a third party to manage the renovation and operate the housing project, with
bond sale authorization and appropriation extended until Dec. 31, 2024;

* removes installation of a new steel fence and pillars from the appropriation for the restoration of
the Pioneers and Soldiers Cemetery in Minneapolis;

+ extends the bond sale authorization and appropriation for Minneapolis’ Norway House through
Dec. 31, 2026;

« provides that local road improvement fund grants for Inver Grove Heights may be for the city,
Dakota County, or both;

« extends the 2018 bond sale authorization and appropriation for the Wakan Tipi project at St.
Paul’s Bruce Vento Nature Sanctuary through Dec. 31, 2024;



« allows any unspent portion of the appropriation for the Dietary Building project on the St. Peter
Regional Treatment Center campus to be used for asset preservation;

« authorizes the balance of the appropriation of the Anoka Metro Regional Treatment Center
project to be used for asset preservation, and extends the availability of the bond sale
authorization and appropriation through Dec. 31, 2023;

+ extends the bond sale authorization and appropriation for Minneapolis’ Upper Harbor Terminal
Redevelopment project to Dec. 31, 2024;

+ changes Ramsey County to the grantee for a Southeast Asian language job training facility, adds
acquisition of a Sycamore Street facility to authorized uses of the appropriation, and authorizes the
addition of child care facilities and on-site supportive services to the project;

« allows an appropriation for a drinking water system in Aurora, Biwabik, Hoyt Lakes and White
Township to be used for acquisition of a long-term lease, and extends the availability of the bond
sale authorization and appropriation to Dec. 31, 2024;

« extends the bond sale authorization and appropriation for South St. Paul's Seidls Lake project to
Dec. 31, 2024;

« clarifies that the portion of the flood hazard mitigation appropriation for the Toelle Coulee applies
in Traverse County;

+ adds “engineer” to the authorized uses of the appropriation for Lake City’s Ohuta Beach
breakwater;

+ adds authorized uses to the construction and renovation of public skate parks, requires designers
to be experts in the field of skate park design, and makes the language retroactive to Oct. 21, 2020;

+ adds environmental analysis of local road intersections and associated improvements along
Trunk Highway 65 in Anoka County to authorized uses of the appropriation;

+ amends authorized uses of the appropriation for Golden Valley’s project at Douglas Drive and
Highway 55;

« removes Scott County as the grantee and adds public utility relocations for the Highway 13
interchange at the intersections of Dakota and Yosemite avenues;

+ adds Olmsted County as the grantee for the county’s share of general obligation bond eligible
portions of the Trunk Highway 14 and County Road 104 interchange construction project, and
authorizes the balance of the appropriation to be applied to the county’s share of right-of-way
acquisition, construction, furnishing and equipping the interchange;

+ amends the living units to which the appropriation applies for the Minnesota Correctional Facility
— St. Cloud;

+ authorizes the Department of Administration to enter into a lease for a term of at least 125
percent of the useful life of any improvements to be constructed on the Minnesota Correctional
Facility — Togo site;

+ adds design to the authorized uses of the appropriation for Crookston’s Colborn Property
development;

« deletes an amphitheater from the Fergus Falls riverfront corridor project;

+ removes demolition and site work from Hennepin County’s Avivo project, and allows any unspent
portion of the appropriation to be used for renovation or construction after providing written notice
to Minnesota Management and Budget;

+ adds predesign to the authorized uses of the appropriation for St. Joseph’s Jacob Wetterling
Recreation Center, clarifies that it is adjacent to the city community center, and authorizes the city
to enter into a lease or management agreement for operation of recreation programs;

+ changes the grantee for an access road project in Wadena to Wadena County, Otter Tail County or
both;

+ amends a project in Willernie to be for replacement of a maintenance building;



+ adds acquisition of easements and engineering to authorized uses of an appropriation for a
water main in Arden Hills;

+ authorizes amounts remaining after substantial completion of a project in Austin to be used to
construct a wastewater treatment facility;

« clarifies that an appropriation is for wastewater infrastructure improvements in Mahnomen and
deletes erroneous cross-references on a drinking water infrastructure project;

« clarifies that an appropriation is for improvements to the water distribution system in Mendota;

+ authorizes a wastewater system infrastructure grant to be used for the restoration of a Zumbro
River stream bank in Oronoco;

+ adds a well house, water main and other related drinking water improvements to a South Haven
wells project;

« clarifies that city utility improvements in Spring Park include an adjacent roadway;

+ adds wastewater treatment facilities and sanitary sewer and storm water collection systems to
water infrastructure improvements in Vernon Center;

+ adds authorized uses to railroad grade separation and flood mitigation projects;

« authorizes the Department of Administration to convey to Isanti County all or a part of certain
state-owned property in the county; and

- clarifies that all amendments to appropriations are effective July 1, 2021, unless otherwise
specified.

2021 Special Session: SSHF52*/SSSF39/SSCH9

Business and Commerce - 2021

Regular Session

New law modifies statutes governing tax-forfeited land
sales

A new law extends protections for property in foreclosure in current law to tax-forfeited property,
common interest communities and contracts for deed.

Effective July 1, 2021, the Department of Revenue must issue a quitclaim deed to the record owner
upon receipt of the certification of the county auditor after tax-forfeited land has been sold.

The deed must state the record owner’s estate as grantee if a tax-forfeited sale is made to a
personal representative, heir or devisee, and the owner is deceased at the time of the redemption
period or certification.

A state deed must also name the assignee as the grantee if the owner at the time of the expiration
of the redemption period assigns an installment contract to repurchase and the assignment is
registered or recorded.

The law requires a quitclaim deed subject to an installment contract be sent to the county auditor,
who must record it before forwarding it to the grantee. Failure to make an installment payment will
constitute default, making the sale subject to cancellation.

Rep. Athena Hollins (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Mark Johnson (R-East Grand Forks) sponsor the law.

HF418/SF440*/CH7

Business and Commerce - 2021

Regular Session



Reverse mortgage loan servicer notification requirements
established

Lenders and servicers of a reverse mortgage loan will need to notify borrowers that they can
identify an additional person to receive communications regarding loan defaults, under a law that
takes effect Aug. 1, 2021.

If a borrower chooses a third-party designee, a reverse mortgage loan servicer must send copies
of unanswered communications regarding delinquencies, defaults, and unfulfilled obligations that
may result in foreclosure under the loan agreement to that designee.

A reverse mortgage loan default happens when a homeowner fails to pay property taxes or
insurance premiums, or fails to return an annual notice to the lender stating the home is still being
occupied by the borrower. It can lead to a foreclosure action.

Many homeowners taking out reverse mortgage loans are older adults who may have memory
issues, say law proponents, and having a third-party designee to receive default notices can help
prevent foreclosures.

Sponsored by Rep. Carlie Kotyza-Witthuhn (DFL-Eden Prairie) and Sen. Zach Duckworth (R-
Lakeville), the new law also requires the loan servicer to send communications to the borrower’s
independent loan counseling agency.

HF333*/SF531/CH9

Business and Commerce - 2021
Regular Session

Insurers prohibited from discriminating against people
with prescription naloxone

Under a new law, when an insurer is determining whether to issue, renew, cancel or modify a life
insurance policy, they cannot make an underwriting determination based solely on information
revealing that a proposed insured has a prescription for an opiate antagonist.

An “opiate antagonist” means naloxone hydrochloride or any similarly acting drug approved by the
federal Food and Drug Administration for the treatment of a drug overdose.

Effective Aug. 1, 2021, the law is sponsored by Rep. Erin Koegel (DFL-Spring Lake Park) and Sen.
Mark Koran (R-North Branch).

HF652*/SF837/CH10

Business and Commerce - 2021

Regular Session

New law designed to combat ‘appraisal bias’ in real estate
valuations

Under part a new law, a real estate property appraiser must complete a continuing education
course within two years of receiving a real estate appraiser’s license that teaches how to recognize
and prevent valuation bias.

This continuing education provision takes effect Sept. 1, 2021. A real property appraiser who has
received a license prior to the effective date of this section must complete the course by Aug. 31,
2023.

The law defines valuation bias as an appraisal methodology or technique that harms a protected
class, as defined by the 1968 federal Fair Housing Act that prohibits discrimination concerning the
sale, rental, and financing of housing based on race, religion, national origin, sex, handicap and
family status.



The law’s sponsors — Rep. Ginny Klevorn (DFL-Plymouth) and Sen. Gary Dahms (R-Redwood Falls)
— say valuation bias occurs when homes in minority neighborhoods are undervalued by real estate
property appraisers, which widens the generational wealth gap between minority families and
white families.

Effective May 7, 2021, state law is clarified to ensure that continuing education courses for real
estate appraisers are free from commercial bias, such as by limiting the display of logos from the
company offering a course. It also allows real estate appraisal courses to be taught online during a
COVID-related peacetime emergency declared by the governor.

Provisions that take effect Aug. 1, 2021, specify that professional real estate appraisal
organizations will be permitted to establish requirements for the design and delivery of online
continuing education courses and clarify which federal guidelines apply to certain real estate
valuations.

HF1768/SF1020*/CH16

Business and Commerce - 2021
Regular Session

New law modifies bad check charges, procedures for
opening checking accounts

A new law will increase the amount a financial intermediary can charge for a dishonored check to a
person other than the issuer from $4 to $10.

It will also clarify that certain limitations on opening a transaction account due to past financial
offenses, such as writing dishonored checks, do not apply to programs designed to expand access
to people who do not have access to a transaction account at a bank or credit union.

The law, effective Aug. 1, 2021, is sponsored by Rep. Jim Davnie (DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Karin
Housley (R-Stillwater).

HF1067/SF1284*/CH21

Civil Law - 2021

Regular Session

Law extends remote marriage license options during
pandemic

A new law extends the ability of local registrars to accept electronic filings, mailed or faxed
marriage license applications and allows examination of the parties under oath using audio or
video during a COVID-19 peacetime emergency declared by the governor in an executive order.

Permission to accept marriage applications remotely was first extended to local registrars through
a provision in the fourth COVID-19 response package passed in 2020. That law took effect on April
16, 2020, and expired on Jan. 15, 2021.

This 2021 law is retroactive to Jan. 1, 2021, and expires May 31, 2021.

It is sponsored by Rep. Jamie Becker-Finn (DFL-Roseville) and Sen. Warren Limmer (R-Maple
Grove).

HF17/SF26*/CH1

Civil Law - 2021

Regular Session

New law clarifies court deadlines set under first COVID-19
emergency declaration



Gov. Tim Walz's first COVID-19 emergency declaration in March 2020 set deadlines on judicial
proceedings in order to allow district and appellate courts to operate safely during the pandemic.

But there was confusion as to when those deadlines would expire.

A new law, effective Feb. 13, 2021, clarifies those court deadlines by specifying they apply only to
deadlines that would otherwise have expired between the beginning of the peacetime emergency
and April 15, 2021.

The law is sponsored by Rep. Kelly Moller (DFL-Shoreview) and Sen. Mark Johnson (R-East Grand
Forks).

HF114*/SF303/CH3

Civil Law - 2021
Regular Session

Minnesota can enforce Canadian orders for protection

A new law will permit Minnesota to enforce protection orders issued in Canada while the person
under protection is in the state.

Under current law, Minnesota law agencies can only enforce protection orders issued by other
states along with the federal and tribal governments that would be an enforceable order for
protection if issued in this state.

Under the new law, individuals with Canadian orders for protection could register those orders with
the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Those records would then be available
electronically to state law enforcement officers and agencies 24 hours a day. A Canadian order for
protection can be enforced even if it is not registered.

Rep. Kelly Moller (DFL-Shoreview) and Sen. Mark Johnson (R-East Grand Forks) sponsor the law,
which becomes effective Aug. 1,2021.

HF113/SF395*/CH6

Civil Law - 2021

Regular Session

Temporary provision extended for filing of deeds or trusts
for utility or taconite companies

A new law will allow the filing of deeds or trusts for utility or taconite companies with the Office of
the Secretary of State instead of county offices.

It extends a temporary provision that had expired Dec. 31, 2020. Effective from that date, the new
law changes the expiration to June 30, 2022.

The law is sponsored by Rep. Athena Hollins (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Andrew Mathews (R-
Princeton).

HF2245/SF1807*/CH18

Education - 2021

First Special Session

Per-pupil formula increase, more training in E-12
education funding law

Spending per pupil will rise, prekindergarten offerings won't shrink, and training opportunities for
teachers and staff will increase under the omnibus E-12 education finance law.



Sponsored by Rep. Jim Davnie (DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Roger Chamberlain (R-Lino Lakes), the law
effective July 1, 2021, except where noted, increases the general education basic formula by 2.45%
for fiscal year 2022 and 2% for fiscal year 2023. That accounts for $462 million of the law’s $554.2
million in new biennial spending.

Other outlays will maintain the state’s 4,000 voluntary prekindergarten seats, at a cost of $45.9
million. Funding is also increased for special education, English language learning, and programs
to encourage the recruitment and retention of teachers of color and Indigenous teachers.

The state’s teachers and staff will also receive more training in suicide prevention, non-
exclusionary discipline and early literacy.

The greatest increases in 2022-23 biennial funding are:

+ $462 million for the formula allowance increase to 2.45% for fiscal year 2022 and 2% for fiscal
year 2023;

+ $45.9 million to maintain existing voluntary prekindergarten seats;
+ $10.4 million for special education cross-subsidy reduction aid;

+ $10 million for the “Grow Your Own” program to recruit and prepare community members to enter
teaching;

+ $4.5 million for teachers of color mentoring and retention incentive grants;

* $4.5 million to the Department of Education for legal costs adjustment;

+ $4 million in English learners cross-subsidy reduction aid through fiscal year 2025;

* $3 million to the Sanneh Foundation for low-performing and chronically absent students;
+ $3 million for LETRS grants for programs helping students struggling with early literacy;
+ $2.7 million operating adjustment for the Department of Education;

+ $1.7 million for non-exclusionary discipline training for teachers;

+ $1.5 million to Girls in Action for teachers of color training programs;

+ $1 million for digital well-being grants; and

+ $1 million for Math Corps (Art. 1, Secs. 9-10; Art. 2, Sec. 4; Art. 3, Sec. 7; Art. 5, Sec. 3).
Some of the law’s most significant policy changes will:

General education

« increase the general education basic formula by 2.45% for fiscal year 2022 and 2% for fiscal year
2023;

« supplement English learner revenue for four years with payments of an additional $2 million per
year;

+ extend the expiring voluntary prekindergarten seats for the next two years only; and
- amend statutes relating to absences for religious observance. (Art. 1, Secs. 1-5, 9)
Education excellence

+ modify requirements for grants to establish or expand Advanced Placement courses and
international baccalaureate programs;

+ suspend implementation of certain academic standards until June 1,2023; and
+ award a grant to LiveMore ScreenLess to promote digital well-being. (Art. 2, Secs. 1-3)
Teachers

« incorporate provisions from the Increase Teachers of Color Act;



« require districts to establish mentorship programs and use staff development revenue for teacher
mentorship;

« clarify and modify requirements for the American Indian teacher preparation program; and

« establish grants for Grow Your Own teaching preparation programs to develop a teaching
workforce that more closely reflects a diverse student population. (Art. 3, Secs. 1-6)

Charter schools
« prohibit a charter school from engaging in corporal punishment; and

- effective July 1, 2022, modify the commissioner’s timeline and the authorizer’s requirements for
corrective plans. (Art. 4, Secs. 1-2)

Special education

« create a process for schools to follow to amend students’ individual education programs in order
to provide recovery services to students for services and time lost due to the COVID-19 pandemic;

« require the education and human services commissioners to consult with stakeholders to find
strategies to streamline access and reimbursement for behavioral health services for children with
an individualized education program or an individualized family service plan who are enrolled in
Medical Assistance; and

« provide one-time funding directed at narrowing the special education cross subsidy. (Art. 5, Secs.
1-3)

Health and safety
+ modify requirements relating to instruction to prevent suicide or self-harm; and

* require a district or charter school to have a seizure action plan. This provision is effective
beginning with the 2022-23 school year. (Art. 6, Secs. 1-2)

Facilities

* require a school to notify staff, students and parents when the school receives notice of
environmental hazards from the Department of Health or the Pollution Control Agency. (Art. 7, Sec.

1)
Nutrition
+ add language to the school nutrition statutes to prohibit lunch shaming; and

+ authorize the Education Department to recalculate school lunch payments to schools to reflect a
school’s participation in alternative school meal programs during the 2020-21 school year. (Art. 8,
Secs. 1-2)

Early education

+ extend through fiscal year 2023 the 4,000 voluntary prekindergarten and school readiness plus
seats that are set to expire; and

« prohibit a publicly funded preschool or kindergarten program from having a child use an
individual-use screen without engagement from a teacher or other students, effective July 1, 2022,
and exclude a child with an individualized family service plan, an individualized education program
or a 504 plan from this requirement. (Art. 9, Secs. 1-3)

State agencies

« provide funding for state agencies, including the Department of Education, Professional Educator
Licensing and Standards Board, Minnesota State Academies, and Perpich Center for Arts
Education;

« require all pre-K-12 education grants after July 1, 2022, to be aligned to Minnesota’s "World's Best
Workforce” and the federal government’s student accountability systems; and

* require grant recipients to use evidence-based practices and report their activities to the
Department of Education and the Legislature, effective July 1, 2022. (Art. 11, Secs. 1, 3-7)



Forecast adjustments and other provisions

The law makes adjustments to fiscal year 2021 appropriations to match the February 2021
forecast data, matching the best estimates of the state aid required for each K-12 appropriation.
And it appropriates money for community education and lifelong learning programs. (Art. 10, Sec.
1; Art. 12, Secs. 1-24)

2021 First Special Session: SSHF2*/SSSF23/SSCH13

Employment - 2021

Regular Session

Unemployment insurance tax rate held constant due to
COVID-19 pandemic

A taxpaying employer’s experience rating is calculated each year to determine part of their
unemployment insurance tax rate.

Generally, the experience rating increases as an employer lays off more workers, and along with it,
the employer’s unemployment insurance tax rate.

A new law, effective Jan. 30, 2021, temporarily sets employer experience ratings for calendar year
2021 at the employer’s 2020 rate.

The COVID-19 pandemic made it difficult for the Department of Employment and Economic
Development to determine for every employer which layoffs in 2020 were due to COVID-19 and
which were not, and, therefore, which layoffs would be used to calculate an employer's 2021
experience rating.

The law is sponsored by Rep. Mohamud Noor (DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Eric Pratt (R-Prior Lake).

HF135/SF192*/CH2

Employment - 2021

Regular Session

Extension of COVID-19 presumption included in workers'
comp law change

The 2020 law making employees in certain professions who contract COVID-19 eligible for
workers’ compensation benefits, based on the presumption that they contracted the virus from
their work, has been extended.

Sponsored by Rep. Mike Sundin (DFL-Esko) and Sen. Paul Utke (R-Park Rapids), the law also
includes changes to the state's workers' compensation law recommended by the Workers'
Compensation Advisory Council.

The 12-person council, which includes six members representing organized labor and six
representing Minnesota businesses, addresses issues and makes recommendations pertaining to
workers' compensation.

The presumption statute covers health care workers — including home health care workers —
paramedics, emergency medical technicians, police officers, firefighters, corrections facility
officers and counselors, and child care workers providing care for the children of health care
workers and first responders.

That presumption was scheduled to sunset May 1, 2021, but under the law, it will not expire until
Dec. 31, 2021.

Other provisions in the law:

« increase weekly minimum disability benefits payable for some low-wage employees who cannot
work for a period because of a job-related injury beginning Oct. 1, 2021;



- effective Aug. 1, 2021, stiffen penalties against health care providers who bill injured workers for
treatment in violation of the law;

« in most cases, bar the issuance of subpoenas to Department of Labor and Industry employees to
testify about providing workers' compensation-related assistance; and

+ give the department more time to complete first annual report on workers' compensation claims
based on data filed in Work Comp CAMPUS, the new online claims portal.

HF2253*/SF2143/CH12

Employment - 2021

Regular Session
Omnibus pension and retirement law

Firefighters, 911 operators and teachers will be affected by the omnibus pension and retirement
law.

Sponsored by Rep. Michael Nelson (DFL-Brooklyn Park) and Sen. Julie Rosen (R-Fairmont), the law
takes effect July 1, 2021, unless otherwise noted.

The requested changes come from the Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement.

Among its provisions, the law will create a working group to consider changes to the pension
benefits for 911 operators. A report will be due the pension commission by March 1, 2022.
Supporters note 911 operators are not in the correctional plans, which has early retirement, full
retirement dates. This section is effective May 26, 2021. (Art. 9, Sec. 1)

Effective June 30, 2021, a working group is to study options for allocating firefighter supplemental
aid and report to the commission by Dec. 31, 2022. (Art. 9, Sec. 2)

The law will delay until July 1, 2023, the required employee contribution rate increase from 7.5% to
7.75% of their salary in the St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association to coincide with a
similar increase in the Teachers Retirement Association. It is effective May 26, 2021. (Art. 5, Sec.

1)
Other provisions in the law include:

+ extending until June 30, 2022, the application of pre-2017 factors used in converting a lump sum
to an annuity under the unclassified plan for legislative employees; (Art. 1, Sec. 1)

* beginning Jan. 1, 2022, the Judges Retirement Plan postretirement adjustment will be reduced
from 1.75% per year to 1.5% per year and the trigger that automatically increases a cost of living
adjustment when certain funding thresholds are met is removed; (Art. 1, Sec. 2)

- effective May 26, 2021, compliance with federal law regarding Minnesota State Retirement
System and Public Employees Retirement Association eligibility for H-1B, H-1B1 and E-3 visa
holders; (Art. 2, Secs. 1-2)

« current employees and employees who left in the past year are permitted to purchase MSRS
service credits for the period they were excluded from coverage; (Art. 2, Sec. 3)

+ extending the minimum period from one to three years during which an employee who returns
from military service can purchase service credits for a period of military leave, and makes
technical changes to PERA statutes; (Art. 3, Sec. 3)

- effective for aids payable in 2022 and thereafter, and only for departments with full-time and
volunteer firefighters, municipalities can use part of their fire state aid that would otherwise be paid
into PERA’s Statewide Volunteer Firefighter Plan upon filing an aid allocation plan with PERA,; (Art.
4, Sec. 2)

- effective Jan. 1, 2022, recommendations from the state auditor’s Fire Relief Association Working
Group, including relief associations can eliminate service credit for former firefighters who leave
active service before being vested in their pension benefit and do not return to active service within
five years; (Art. 6, Secs. 1-8);



« effective May 26, 2021, providing full vesting and distribution of accounts to firefighters assigned
to the new Nowthen Fire Department, whose employment with Ramsey is terminated in 2021; (Art.
6, Secs. 9-11)

- effective May 26, 2021, pension funds and agencies must submit bill drafting requests to the
Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement by Nov. 1; (Art. 7, Secs. 1-4)

« increased pension payments to a former House of Representatives and Labor Department
employee who received an erroneous benefit estimate from MSRS; (Art. 8, Sec. 1) and

« transferring about nine years of service credits from the MSRS General Plan to the MSRS
Correctional Plan for a current Department of Human Services employee to reflect an error made
when he was hired. This is effective May 26, 2021. (Art. 8, Sec. 2)

HF1758/SF1712*/CH22
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$1.7 billion omnibus employment and economic
development law aims to boost economic recovery

The omnibus employment and economic development law will spend $1.7 billion on programs
ranging from helping businesses recover from COVID-19 restrictions and civil unrest to subsidizing
child care so new parents can work.

The appropriations for the 2022-23 biennium are 11.3% above 2020-21 biennial funding.

The new law sets budgets and policies for the Department of Employment and Economic
Development, Department of Labor and Industry, Bureau of Mediation Services, and Workers’
Compensation Court of Appeals.

Of the total appropriation, $423.5 million will come from the General Fund, $130 million will come
from the workforce development fund, $117.1 million will come from the workers’ compensation
fund and $92.8 million will come from the special revenue fund.

The law also specifies how the state will spend $694.3 million in federal COVID-19 funds and
requires the Department of Employment and Economic Development to apply for $70 million from
the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 to fund the department’s Border-to-Border Broadband
Development Grant Program that expands broadband service in Greater Minnesota.

[MORE: View the spreadsheet]

The law, effective July 1, 2021, unless otherwise noted, is sponsored by Rep. Mohamud Noor (DFL-
Mpls) and Sen. Eric Pratt (R-Prior Lake).

$150 million for economic revitalization programs

The law will appropriate $80 million to DEED to distribute grants and guaranteed loans for projects
that “address the greatest economic development and redevelopment needs” of a community that
have arisen since March 15, 2020, meaning that business damaged by last year’s civil unrest would
be eligible.

Grants and loans need to be proportionally distributed between the Twin Cities metropolitan area
and Greater Minnesota.

Another $70 million will be appropriated to DEED to fund businesses affected by the pandemic.
Minnesota businesses employing fewer than the equivalent of 200 full-time workers will be eligible
for grants, and priority will be given to businesses that did not receive previous state assistance
under certain other economic relief programs.

Grant funds must be used for working capital to support payroll expenses, rent or mortgage
payments, utility bills, and other similar expenses. (Art. 1, Secs. 2, 20; Art. 2, Secs. 5, 22)

Other appropriations in the law



Appropriations to DEED include:
+ $32.7 million for extended employment services for persons with severe disabilities;

+ $20 million for the Minnesota Investment Fund for job creation, efficient use of public
transportation and existing infrastructure, provision of affordable housing, community rebuilding,
crime reduction, blight reduction and community stabilization, and property tax base maintenance
or improvement;

+ $16 million for the Job Creation Fund;

* $14.3 million for the Pathways to Prosperity Competitive Grant program;

+ $12.9 million for State Services for the Blind;

+ $9.9 million for the Business Development Competitive Grant program;

+ $8.4 million for the Minnesota Job Skills Partnership program,;

+ $8.1 million for the Minnesota Youth program;

+ $8 million for grants to local communities to increase the number of quality child care providers;
+ $5 million for LAUNCH Minnesota;

+ $2 million for rural career counseling coordinators;

+ $2 million for the Minnesota Emerging Entrepreneur Loan program;

+ $1.1 million for the Northeast Entrepreneur Fund, a small-business administration microlender
and community development financial institution in northern Minnesota; and

+ $1 million to the Minnesota Film and TV Board for a film production jobs program. (Art. 1, Sec. 2)
Appropriations to the Department of Labor and Industry include:

+ $4.9 million for wage theft prevention;

+ $2.5 million for general apprenticeship programs;

+ $2.2 million for youth skills training grants;

+ $1.8 million for the department to perform information technology project services and support
system upgrades;

+ $450,000 for the Helmets to Hard Hats Minnesota initiative;

+ $400,000 for a career and technical educator pilot project at Winona State University and
Minnesota State College Southeast;

+ $302,000 for prevailing wage enforcement; and

+ $200,000 for a labor education and advancement program to expand and promote registered
apprenticeship training for minorities and women.

The new law also appropriates $4.8 million to the Bureau of Mediation Services and $4.6 million to
the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals. (Art. 1, Sec. 3)

New and modified labor, workplace and unemployment policies
Policy provisions in the new law include:

- effective Jan. 1, 2022, requiring employers to provide new mothers with reasonable
accommodations for health conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth, and to provide paid break
times to express breast milk;

* requiring high-rise public housing buildings to be retrofitted with automatic sprinkler systems to
meet current building codes;

* requiring automatic sprinkler systems in a place of public accommodation if, on or after Aug. 1,
2008, the facility was constructed, added to, or altered, and the facility has an occupant load of
300 or more;



+ permitting high school students to qualify for unemployment insurance;

- effective July 3, 2022, expanding options for individuals to receive unemployment benefits while
undergoing workforce training;

- effective July 3, 2022, eliminating the Social Security old age and Social Security disability offset
from unemployment benefits; and

+ determining that a leave of absence is presumed to be due to COVID-19 — and therefore
involuntary — for applicants for unemployment benefits applying between Dec. 27, 2020, and Sept.
4,2021. This is effective retroactively from Dec. 27, 2020. (Art. 3, Secs. 3, 5, 10; Art. 4, Secs. 1-4,7)
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PUC can approve extension on Xcel-District Energy St.
Paul agreement

A new law allows the Public Utilities Commission to extend a power purchase agreement between
Xcel Energy and District Energy St. Paul.

Under the agreement, waste wood from ash trees will continue to be used to produce electricity at
the District Energy facility, and Xcel Energy can purchase that electricity. The agreement must keep
the price of electricity purchased from the facility by Xcel to no more than $98 per megawatt hour.
It also must include a proposal to the commission for one or more electrification projects that
result in the St. Paul district heating and cooling system being powered by electricity generated
from renewable energy technologies. The agreement must also provide a net benefit to the utility's
customers or the state.

The law, effective May 26, 2021, requires the purchase agreement be filed no later than Aug. 1,
2021, and extend no later than Dec. 31, 2024.

Rep. Rick Hansen (DFL-South St. Paul) and Sen. David Senjem (R-Rochester) are the sponsors.

HF1255/SF1047*/CH23
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Conservation Improvement Program is reorganized,
enhanced

The state’s Conservation Improvement Program, which encourages utility customers to employ
energy-saving strategies, has been reorganized and some new language added to the Energy
Conservation and Optimization Act of 2021, under a new law that took effect May 26, 2021.

For almost 40 years, the Conservation Improvement Program has required electric and gas utilities
to invest in energy conservation measures that save energy at a lower cost than purchasing an
additional unit of energy for consumption.

While the majority of the law was already in statute, the new law reorganizes it into one section
that applies to co-operatives and municipal utilities, and another that pertains to investor-owned
utilities. It requires an increase in annual energy-savings goals, and how much a utility must spend
on energy conservation programs for low-income households.

The law increases the state’s annual energy savings goal from 1.5% to 2.5%.
For consumer-owned utilities

Under this law, efficient fuel switching improvements may contribute to energy savings above the
minimum 1% level. These are defined as measures that substitute electricity or natural gas for a
customer’s current fuel.



The minimum annual amount a municipal electric utility must spend on energy conservation
programs for low-income households increases from 0.1% of its gross operating revenues to at
least 0.2%.

For public utilities

The annual energy-savings goal for a public utility providing electric service increases from 1.5% to
1.75%, while the goal for a natural gas utility is lowered from 1.5% to 1%.

A public utility’s energy conservation plan must include activities to improve energy efficiency in
public schools served by the utility.

The annual amount a public electric utility must spend on energy conservation programs for low-
income households increases from 0.1% to 0.4% of its gross operating revenues, rising to 0.6% in
2024. For a natural gas utility, the increase is from 0.4% to 1% of its average gross operating
revenues from the previous three years.

The net benefits resulting from the implementation of a fuel-switching improvement may be
counted toward the overall net benefits of the public utility’s Conservation Improvement Program.

The law also allows a public utility to obtain a financial incentive to encourage load management
programs, provided the Public Utilities Commission finds the program in the interest of the utility’s
ratepayers.

LED lights

The law requires both public and consumer-owned electric utilities to encourage the use of LED
lights and to provide cost recovery for the collection of used LEDs by Xcel Energy and any other
utility that elects to do so.

Rep. Zack Stephenson (DFL-Coon Rapids) and Sen. Jason Rarick (R-Pine City) sponsor the law.
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Consumer protections, renewable energy projects part of
commerce and energy law

The omnibus commerce and energy finance and policy law of 2021 not only has policy provisions
and programs for both commerce and energy, but it pays for them from two separate pots of
money.

In addition to appropriating $84.9 million from the General Fund for fiscal years 2021-23, it
disburses $103 million over the biennium from the Renewable Development Account, a state-
administered fund designed to develop renewable energy sources in Minnesota. Xcel Energy pays
into it with annual fees of between $350,000 and $500,000 for each cask of nuclear waste it stores
at its Prairie Island and Monticello facilities.

On the commerce side, the law establishes a student loan borrowers’ bill of rights and creates a
catalytic converter theft prevention pilot project.

In the energy area, it extends the cold weather rule period when utilities may not disconnect
customers, establishes an advisory committee to develop a statewide energy transition plan, and
establishes an energy transition office to assist communities and workers experiencing the
retirement of an electric generating plant.

Sponsored by Rep. Zack Stephenson (DFL-Coon Rapids) and Sen. Gary Dahms (R-Redwood Falls),
it appropriates $78.1 million to the Department of Commerce in the 2022-23 biennium. That total
would be distributed thus:

« energy resources, $18.7 million;

+ administrative services, $18.2 million;



- insurance, $14.2 million;

« enforcement, $11.3 million;

« telecommunications, $6.6 million;

« financial institutions, $3.9 million;

* weights and measures, $3 million; and

» Petroleum Tank Release Compensation Board, $2.1 million (Art. 1, Sec. 2)
The law would also allocate funds to the:

« Public Utilities Commission, $16.5 million;

+ Department of Employment and Economic Development, $520,000;

+ Department of Education, $300,000;

* Minnesota Management and Budget, $98,000; and

+ Department of Health, $74,000 (Art. 1, Secs. 3-7).

Renewable Development Account

Allocations from the Renewable Development Account include:

+ a University of Minnesota energy storage systems research project, $10 million;
- expansion of a solar energy products plant in Mountain Iron, $5.5 million;
* a state building energy conservation revolving loan fund, $5.3 million;

* the University of St. Thomas Center for Microgrid Research, $3.6 million;
- the Minneapolis Clean Energy Training Center, $2.5 million;

- solar on state college and university campuses, $1.2 million;

- third-party evaluation of proposals, $1 million;

« an agricultural weather study, $583,000; and

+ “Made in Minnesota” solar incentive program administration, $200,000. (Art. 2, Secs. 2-5)
Insurance, collection agencies and debt buyers

The law contains several Commerce Department requirements effective Jan. 1, 2022, that apply to
reinsurance contracts renewed or entered into on or after that date.

There are also several provisions that lay out changes in law effective Aug. 1, 2021, for information
security programs investigation and notification of a cybersecurity event; and confidentiality.

Effective June 27,2021, the law changes the minimum interest rate in determining minimum non-
forfeiture amounts for annuity contracts from 1% to 0.15%. It also makes changes in prescription
drug restrictions, screening and testing for opioids, effective Jan. 1, 2022, and changes the
minimum transaction amount that requires gold bullion dealers to have a surety bond from
$25,000 to zero.

And it provides that Medical Assistance must cover screenings and urinalysis tests for opioids
without lifetime or annual limits, effective Jan. 1, 2022.

The law also adds “debt buyer” to provisions within the sections of statute on collection agencies,
effective Aug. 1, 2021. (Art. 3, Secs. 2-3, 6-8, 10, 14-16, 19, 27; Art. 5, Secs. 1-8 and 15-21)

Consumer protection

The law requires licensing of student loan servicers, effective Aug. 1, 2021, as well as requiring
them to service loans under one name and one location and renew their licenses annually. It also
lays out their duties regarding communication with borrowers, overpayments and partial payments,
transfer of loans, income-driven repayment and keeping adequate records.



This “student loan borrowers’ bill of rights” also prohibits student loan servicers from misleading
borrowers or misrepresenting information, misapplying payments or providing inaccurate
information to a consumer reporting agency. It also prohibits misrepresenting the availability of
student loan forgiveness, and lays out the Department of Commerce power to deny, suspend or
revoke licenses.

The law also makes several changes regarding volunteer drivers, effective Aug. 1, 2021, including
that their private vehicles are not automobiles for hire or compensation, not a commercial vehicle,
nor a transportation network company vehicle.

It also makes requirements of any person who purchases or receives a catalytic converter and
establishes a catalytic converter theft prevention pilot project. And new protections are instituted
for those renting a storage unit.

The law also makes changes to definitions regarding abandoned underground storage tanks;
changes language regarding electric cooperatives and broadband infrastructure; requires the
Minnesota Council on Economic Education to use Department of Education grants for K-12
teachers relating to economic education, to support finance programs operated by Minnesota
teachers and to support higher education based centers for economic operation; and allows
collection agency employees to work from home through May 31, 2022. (Art. 6, Secs. 4-8, 10, 12-
19, 21-22, 26-31; Art. 7, Secs. 1-4)

Energy policy

New programs created under the law include a state building energy conservation improvement
revolving loan account and a closed landfill solar development and reuse account (Art. 8, Secs. 1-
4).

The law also:

» extends Xcel Energy’s Solar Rewards program, with $5 million allocations from the Renewable
Development Account in both 2023 and 2024;

« establishes an Energy Transition Office in the Department of Employment and Economic
Development to assist communities and workers after the retirement of an electric generating
plant, and establishes an advisory committee to develop a statewide energy transition plan;

+ extends the “cold weather rule” period to Oct. 1-April 30 during which time utilities may not
disconnect customers who enter into and are compliant with payment agreements;

+ authorizes a nonprofit organization to file a proposal creating an “efficient technology
accelerator” whose deployment will result in cost-efficient energy savings for Minnesota
consumers;

« require utilities to formulate plans to minimize impacts to workers due to facility retirement;

- effective June 1, 2022, authorizes a natural gas utility to file a plan with the Public Utilities
Commission to obtain innovative resources that displace conventional natural gas;

+ establishes a Department of Commerce program that awards grants to schools that install solar
energy generating systems on or adjacent to school buildings, available through Dec. 31, 2025;

* requires wind energy generating systems to install light-mitigating technology, effective June 27,
2021;

* requires the Public Utilities Commission to evaluate the role of natural gas utilities in achieving
state greenhouse gas reduction goals, beginning Aug. 1, 2021;

« requires the Department of Administration to announce an open request for proposals for a new
solar-photovoltaic statewide master contract, beginning no later than Feb. 1, 2022;

* requests the University of Minnesota to conduct a study generating state weather model
projections at a geographical level as small as three square miles, beginning July 1, 2022;

* requires a grant to be awarded for a pilot project to provide training for clean energy technical
careers; and



* requires the Department of Administration to contract with the University of Minnesota’s Center
for Sustainable Building Research to examine the environmental impacts of construction materials
for state-owned buildings. (Art. 8, Secs. 5-15, 17, 19-21, 23-24, 26-31)

The law also increases and supplements salaries for commerce insurance fraud specialists for
fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (Art. 9, Secs. 1-5).
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Consumer protections, renewable energy projects part of
commerce and energy law

The omnibus commerce and energy finance and policy law of 2021 not only has policy provisions
and programs for both commerce and energy, but it pays for them from two separate pots of
money.

In addition to appropriating $84.9 million from the General Fund for fiscal years 2021-23, it
disburses $103 million over the biennium from the Renewable Development Account, a state-
administered fund designed to develop renewable energy sources in Minnesota. Xcel Energy pays
into it with annual fees of between $350,000 and $500,000 for each cask of nuclear waste it stores
at its Prairie Island and Monticello facilities.

On the commerce side, the law establishes a student loan borrowers’ bill of rights and creates a
catalytic converter theft prevention pilot project.

In the energy area, it extends the cold weather rule period when utilities may not disconnect
customers, establishes an advisory committee to develop a statewide energy transition plan, and
establishes an energy transition office to assist communities and workers experiencing the
retirement of an electric generating plant.

Sponsored by Rep. Zack Stephenson (DFL-Coon Rapids) and Sen. Gary Dahms (R-Redwood Falls),
it appropriates $78.1 million to the Department of Commerce in the 2022-23 biennium. That total
would be distributed thus:

« energy resources, $18.7 million;

- administrative services, $18.2 million;

« insurance, $14.2 million;

+ enforcement, $11.3 million;

+ telecommunications, $6.6 million;

« financial institutions, $3.9 million;

- weights and measures, $3 million; and

* Petroleum Tank Release Compensation Board, $2.1 million (Art. 1, Sec. 2)
The law would also allocate funds to the:

* Public Utilities Commission, $16.5 million;

- Department of Employment and Economic Development, $520,000;
+ Department of Education, $300,000;

* Minnesota Management and Budget, $98,000; and

« Department of Health, $74,000 (Art. 1, Secs. 3-7).

Renewable Development Account

Allocations from the Renewable Development Account include:



+ a University of Minnesota energy storage systems research project, $10 million;

- expansion of a solar energy products plant in Mountain Iron, $5.5 million;

* a state building energy conservation revolving loan fund, $5.3 million;

» the University of St. Thomas Center for Microgrid Research, $3.6 million;

- the Minneapolis Clean Energy Training Center, $2.5 million;

* solar on state college and university campuses, $1.2 million;

- third-party evaluation of proposals, $1 million;

« an agricultural weather study, $583,000; and

+ “Made in Minnesota” solar incentive program administration, $200,000. (Art. 2, Secs. 2-5)
Insurance, collection agencies and debt buyers

The law contains several Commerce Department requirements effective Jan. 1, 2022, that apply to
reinsurance contracts renewed or entered into on or after that date.

There are also several provisions that lay out changes in law effective Aug. 1, 2021, for information
security programs investigation and notification of a cybersecurity event; and confidentiality.

Effective June 27,2021, the law changes the minimum interest rate in determining minimum non-
forfeiture amounts for annuity contracts from 1% to 0.15%. It also makes changes in prescription
drug restrictions, screening and testing for opioids, effective Jan. 1, 2022, and changes the
minimum transaction amount that requires gold bullion dealers to have a surety bond from
$25,000 to zero.

And it provides that Medical Assistance must cover screenings and urinalysis tests for opioids
without lifetime or annual limits, effective Jan. 1, 2022.

The law also adds “debt buyer” to provisions within the sections of statute on collection agencies,
effective Aug. 1, 2021. (Art. 3, Secs. 2-3, 6-8, 10, 14-16, 19, 27; Art. 5, Secs. 1-8 and 15-21)

Consumer protection

The law requires licensing of student loan servicers, effective Aug. 1, 2021, as well as requiring
them to service loans under one name and one location and renew their licenses annually. It also
lays out their duties regarding communication with borrowers, overpayments and partial payments,
transfer of loans, income-driven repayment and keeping adequate records.

This “student loan borrowers’ bill of rights” also prohibits student loan servicers from misleading
borrowers or misrepresenting information, misapplying payments or providing inaccurate
information to a consumer reporting agency. It also prohibits misrepresenting the availability of
student loan forgiveness, and lays out the Department of Commerce power to deny, suspend or
revoke licenses.

The law also makes several changes regarding volunteer drivers, effective Aug. 1, 2021, including
that their private vehicles are not automobiles for hire or compensation, not a commercial vehicle,
nor a transportation network company vehicle.

It also makes requirements of any person who purchases or receives a catalytic converter and
establishes a catalytic converter theft prevention pilot project. And new protections are instituted
for those renting a storage unit.

The law also makes changes to definitions regarding abandoned underground storage tanks;
changes language regarding electric cooperatives and broadband infrastructure; requires the
Minnesota Council on Economic Education to use Department of Education grants for K-12
teachers relating to economic education, to support finance programs operated by Minnesota
teachers and to support higher education based centers for economic operation; and allows
collection agency employees to work from home through May 31, 2022. (Art. 6, Secs. 4-8, 10, 12-
19, 21-22, 26-31; Art. 7, Secs. 1-4)

Energy policy



New programs created under the law include a state building energy conservation improvement
revolving loan account and a closed landfill solar development and reuse account (Art. 8, Secs. 1-
4).

The law also:

+ extends Xcel Energy’s Solar Rewards program, with $5 million allocations from the Renewable
Development Account in both 2023 and 2024;

« establishes an Energy Transition Office in the Department of Employment and Economic
Development to assist communities and workers after the retirement of an electric generating
plant, and establishes an advisory committee to develop a statewide energy transition plan;

+ extends the “cold weather rule” period to Oct. 1-April 30 during which time utilities may not
disconnect customers who enter into and are compliant with payment agreements;

« authorizes a nonprofit organization to file a proposal creating an “efficient technology
accelerator” whose deployment will result in cost-efficient energy savings for Minnesota
consumers;

« require utilities to formulate plans to minimize impacts to workers due to facility retirement;

- effective June 1, 2022, authorizes a natural gas utility to file a plan with the Public Utilities
Commission to obtain innovative resources that displace conventional natural gas;

+ establishes a Department of Commerce program that awards grants to schools that install solar
energy generating systems on or adjacent to school buildings, available through Dec. 31, 2025;

* requires wind energy generating systems to install light-mitigating technology, effective June 27,
2021;

* requires the Public Utilities Commission to evaluate the role of natural gas utilities in achieving
state greenhouse gas reduction goals, beginning Aug. 1, 2021;

« requires the Department of Administration to announce an open request for proposals for a new
solar-photovoltaic statewide master contract, beginning no later than Feb. 1, 2022;

* requests the University of Minnesota to conduct a study generating state weather model
projections at a geographical level as small as three square miles, beginning July 1, 2022;

* requires a grant to be awarded for a pilot project to provide training for clean energy technical
careers; and

* requires the Department of Administration to contract with the University of Minnesota’s Center
for Sustainable Building Research to examine the environmental impacts of construction materials
for state-owned buildings. (Art. 8, Secs. 5-15, 17, 19-21, 23-24, 26-31)

The law also increases and supplements salaries for commerce insurance fraud specialists for
fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (Art. 9, Secs. 1-5).
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Dry cleaning solvent perc banned; dry cleaners get priority
for cleanup funds

Minnesota is the first state to ban dry cleaners from using the chemical perchloroethylene, which
is classified by the Environmental Protection Agency as a "likely carcinogen.”

Per a new law, “After December 31, 2025, using perchloroethylene as a dry cleaning solvent is
prohibited.”

The new law, effective March 24, 2021, also appropriates $355,000 from the remediation fund for a
cost-share program to reimburse owners or operators of dry cleaning facilities for up to $20,000 of
the costs of transitioning away from PERC. This onetime appropriation is available until June 30,



2024.

Additionally, the law appropriates $213,000 from the dry cleaning environmental response and
reimbursement account for reimbursements for cleanup costs of hazardous dry cleaning solvents
that have been released to the environment, and it cancels the unexpended portion of a 2020
appropriation, estimated to be $255,000.

The law also requires the Pollution Control Agency to prioritize reimbursing the costs of
environmental response actions undertaken by dry cleaner operators and the agency itself before
reimbursing other eligible costs from the dry cleaner environmental response and reimbursement
account. Previously, funds were distributed on a first-come, first-served basis.

State law requires dry cleaning facilities to pay annual registration fees, which go to the account,
as do fees on dry cleaning solvents.

The law is sponsored by Rep. Rick Hansen (DFL-South St. Paul) and Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen (R-
Alexandra).
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Legacy funds distribute $645.6 million for clean water,
outdoors and the arts

The four funds established by the “Legacy Amendment” in 2008 will distribute $645.6 million in the
2022-23 biennium, allocating receipts from 0.375% of the state’s sales tax to projects promoting
clean water, the outdoors, and the arts and cultural heritage.

Sponsored by Rep. Leon Lillie (DFL-North St. Paul) and Sen. Carrie Ruud (R-Breezy Point), the
omnibus legacy finance law also extends several appropriations from previous years, many for
projects slowed or suspended during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Outdoor Heritage Fund

Based upon recommendations made by the Lessard-Sams Outdoor Heritage Council, this fund
receives 33% of the revenues from the sales tax increase. The money may be spent only “to
restore, protect, and enhance wetlands, prairies, forests, and habitat for fish, game, and wildlife.”
The only one of the four funds to be distributed annually rather than biennially, it will provide total
appropriations of $127.8 million in fiscal year 2022 and $557,000 in fiscal year 2023 to various
organizations and state agencies.

The law also clarifies existing approval requirements for purchasing land subject to conservation
easements and expands the approval requirement to all lands with an existing conservation
easement.

The changes took effect June 26, 2021.

The law also provides a one-year extension for the fiscal year 2021 conservation partners legacy
grant program appropriation. (Art. 1, Secs. 2-4)

Clean Water Fund

The clean water fund receives 33% of the revenues from the sales tax increase and must be spent
“only to protect, enhance, and restore water quality in lakes, rivers, and streams and to protect
groundwater from degradation.” It's also required that at least 5% of the fund be spent to protect
drinking water sources. The law earmarks $126.7 million from the clean water fund in fiscal year
2022 and $130.1 million in fiscal year 2023.

Recipients of the largest appropriations include:
+ Board of Water and Soil Resources ($141.8 million);

* Pollution Control Agency ($42.2 million);



« Department of Agriculture ($20.2 million);

+ Department of Natural Resources ($17.5 million);

* Public Facilities Authority ($16.1 million); and

« Department of Health ($11.9 million). (Art. 2, Secs. 3-11)

Each of those agencies also receives extensions on certain appropriations from fiscal years 2018
to 2021, as did the Metropolitan Council.

Also extended is the availability of grants under the conservation drainage program to the Greater
Blue Earth River Basin Alliance. And the Clean Water Council must submit a report that assesses
the implementation of high-resolution digital elevation data developed with previous clean water
fund appropriations. (Art. 2, Secs. 2-24)

Parks and Trails Fund

This fund receives 14.25 percent of the revenues from the sales tax increase and must be spent to
“support parks and trails of regional or statewide significance.” It provides an appropriation of
$54.8 million from the fund in fiscal year 2022, and $55.9 million in fiscal year 2023.

The Department of Natural Resources will receive $33.1 million in fiscal year 2022 and $33.7
million in fiscal year 2023 for state parks, state trails and state recreation areas, as well as for
regional parks and trails in Greater Minnesota through the parks and trails legacy grant program.
The Metropolitan Council will receive $21.7 million in fiscal year 2022 and $22.1 million in fiscal
year 2023 for metropolitan regional parks and trails.

The law also appropriates $4,000 in fiscal year 2020 to the Legislative Coordinating Commission
for the Legacy website. It also extends the availability of a grant to the city of Hermantown for the
Proctor-Hermantown Munger Trail Spur project, and grants that provided coordination of projects
between the DNR, the Metropolitan Council, and the Greater Minnesota Regional Parks and Trails
Commission; enhanced web-based information for park and trail users; and support of activities of
the Parks and Trails Legacy Advisory Committee. (Art. 3, Secs. 2-7)

Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund

Accounting for 19.75% of legacy monies, this fund will appropriate $73.1 million in fiscal year 2022
and $76.6 million in fiscal year 2023 to several state agencies for activities related to arts, cultural
heritage and history.

During the 2022-23 biennium, the State Arts Board will receive $70.4 million for grants to artists
and arts organizations, arts education and diverse cultural arts traditions, with 30% of the funding
earmarked for the state’s 13 regional arts councils.

Among the other recipients of arts and cultural heritage fund money during the biennium are:
* Minnesota Historical Society ($33 million);

+ Department of Administration for funding to such organizations as public television and radio
($21.1 million);

* Minnesota Humanities Center ($9.5 million); and
« Department of Education for regional library grants ($5 million).

The law also adds historical preservation corps to the list of government entities and nonprofits
covered under the Joint Exercise of Powers statute, and extends the availability of the
appropriation for the Phalen Park China Garden through June 30, 2023. (Art. 4, Secs. 1-4)

2021 First Special Session: SSHF13*/SSSF21/SSCH1

Environment and Natural Resources - 2021

First Special Session

Environment law spends $1.66 billion, makes food
packaging safer



A new law aims to help preserve air, water, land and wildlife. It also makes advances in battling
emerald ash borer, chronic wasting disease and aquatic invasive species, and eliminates PFAS
from food packing beginning in 2024.

Sponsored by Rep. Rick Hansen (DFL-South St. Paul) and Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen (R-Alexandria), the
omnibus environment and natural resources law is effective July 1, 2021 unless otherwise noted.

It spends $1.66 billion, of which $367.08 million is General Fund spending, $35.09 million over
base.

It funds, in part, the Department of Natural Resources, Pollution Control Agency, Board of Water
and Soil Resources, Explore Minnesota Tourism, Conservation Corps, Minnesota Zoo and the
Science Museum of Minnesota.

[MORE: View the spreadsheet]
2021 First Special Session: SSHF5/SSSF20*/SSCH6
Pollution Control Agency

Of the $224.24 million going to the Pollution Control Agency, $179.38 million is from the
Environmental Fund, $29.1 million from the Remediation Fund and $15.62 million is General Fund
dollars.

New General Fund spending includes just under $2 million to implement a water infrastructure
grant program for local governmental units and tribal governments; $600,000 in fiscal year 2022 to
develop an initiative to reduce sources of PFAS in the environment that are eventually conveyed to
municipal wastewater treatment facilities; and $350,000 in fiscal year 2022 to complete the St.
Louis River mercury total maximum daily load study. (Art. 1, Sec. 2)

The law statutorily appropriates $4.5 million annually from the Closed Landfill Investment Fund to
the PCA to conduct activities under the Closed Landfill Program. An additional $9 million is
allocated each biennium for the PCA to address releases or threatened releases from closed
landfills. These appropriations expire June 30, 2025. (Art. 2, Sec. 97)

Department of Natural Resources

The DNR is to receive $256.08 million in General Fund money in the 2022-23 biennium. Of that,
almost $25.77 million is new spending, including an operating adjustment of $3.98 million.

Other General Fund increases include:
+ $7 million to respond to chronic wasting disease;

+ $2.5 million for accelerated tree planting and increasing seed collection and conservation-grade
tree seedling production at the state forest nursery and providing cost-share incentives to increase
tree planting;

+ $2.4 million for emerald ash borer response grants to local communities;
+ $500,000 for a flood study of the Cannon River dam system;

+ $400,000 for the No Child Left Inside program;

+ $400,000 for information technology security and modernization;

+ $400,000 to construct the Historic Bruce Mine Park and Mesabi Trailhead and access in
Chisholm;

- $300,000 to address aquatic invasive species in and around Upper and Lower Red Lake;
+ $300,000 to complete renovation of the Lanesboro Dam; and

+ $225,000 to complete Phase Il of the restoration of the Hofmann Apiaries honey house and wax
shed in Waseca County. (Art. 1, Sec. 3)

No increases in state park fees or hunting and fishing fees are in the law.

Board of Water and Soil Resources



To continue its mission of improving and protecting state water and soil resources by working in
partnership with local organizations and private landowners, BWSR is to receive $34.79 million
from the General Fund, of which $5.04 million is new spending. Of that, $2 million is for a water
quality and storage program for installing pollinator-friendly native plantings in residential lawns;
$1.4 million is for septic replacement grants; $1.35 million for soil health practice adoption
purposes; and a $291,000 operating adjustment. (Art. 1, Sec. 4)

Other new spending

The law includes $7.73 million for salary increases and retroactive raises for conservation officers
and supervisors represented by the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association, effective June 30,
2021. The soil and water conservation district supervisor compensation maximum is upped from
$75 to $125 per day.

It also includes $1 million in one-time funding for a recovery grant program, including grants to
local and tribal governments for tourism, meetings, conventions, and events assistance and
promotions. (Art. 1, Sec. 9; Art. 2, Sec. 79; Art. 4, Secs. 1-6).

Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund

The law also provides a $70.88 million appropriation in fiscal year 2022 and nearly $61.39 million
in fiscal year 2021 from the Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund, a constitutionally
dedicated fund supported by state lottery proceeds. The dollars will be for 165 projects across the
state including land acquisition, data collection and research, invasive species management and
habitat restoration. All projects are aimed at protection, conservation, preservation and
enhancement. (Arts. 5-6)

PFAS out of packaging

The law will, beginning Jan. 1, 2024, prohibit the manufacturing, use or distribution of food
packaging containing per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances — better known as PFAs, and provides
$600,000 in fiscal year 2022 to identify and reduce sources of PFAs.

PFAS are man-made chemicals used for things like preventing grease and other liquids from
seeping into packaging. Example of their usage would be a French fry container or coffee cup.
However, such chemicals resist breaking down and have been linked to negative health effects in
humans. They've also leaked from landfills and have been shown to contaminate state waters.
(Art. 2, Sec. 105)

Fishing and hunting policy
In addition to requiring daily and possession limits for gar, the law will:

« prohibit a person in possession of night vision or thermal imaging equipment convicted of certain
violations from obtaining a hunting license or hunting wild animals for five years;

« prohibit a person from shooting a firearm or arrow from a motor vehicle at a decoy of a wild
animal placed by a licensed peace officer;

« allow the use of crossbows when hunting deer, bear or turkey during all firearm seasons except
the muzzleloader season;

+ add to the methods that turtles cannot be taken to include firearms, bow and arrow, crossbow,
spears, harpoons or any other implement that impales turtles;

+ add additional possession limits for certain turtle species; and
+ make various changes to statutes that define fish diseases. (Art. 2, Secs. 2-17, 56, 64-65, 74-76)
Driving under the influence

It will be a crime to authorize or allow an individual a person knows or has reason to believe is
under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance or intoxicating substance to operate an off-
road recreational vehicle or motorboat.

Existing laws that require revocation of a person’s driver’s license for failing or refusing to take a
test to determine if the person is under the influence of intoxicating substances will extend to
motorboats and off-road recreational vehicles. The same is true of provisions that require



revocation of a person’s driver’s license upon conviction of operating under the influence of
intoxicating substances. Persons the ignition interlock program cannot operate a motorboat or off-
road recreational vehicle unless the boat or vehicle is equipped with an ignition interlock system.
(Art. 3, Secs. 1-2, 4-5,7-13)

Other policy

To help with chronic wasting disease, the law gives the DNR and Board of Animal Health
“concurrent authority to regulate farmed white-tailed deer,” and the DNR “may inspect farmed
white-tailed deer.” Additionally, effective June 30, 2021, the importation of any cervidae carcass
into Minnesota is prohibited.

The laws also:
- allows the DNR to convey conservation easements on state-owned land;

- effective June 30, 2021, lets the DNR convey easements for trails, highways or roads to federally
recognized Indian tribes;

+ allows bond proceeds to provide a match for money in the critical habitat private sector matching
account and lets the DNR spend $2 for every $1 of match put into the account;

« provides administrative authority to the DNR to issue courtesy warnings for state park permit
violations;

« allows the DNR to develop reasonable policies for special use permits to use state parks,
recreation areas, waysides, trails and water access sites;

« provides a free annual state park permit to any member of the 11 federally recognized tribes in
the state;

« statutorily establishes Riverlands State Forest;
+ extends the Sustainable Forest Resources Act until June 30, 2028;

* requires BWSR to establish a program to provide financial assistance to local units of government
to control water volume and flow rates;

« lets the DNR lease state-owned land for conservation planning purposes;

+ requires the DNR to establish goals and strategies for increasing carbon sequestration in public
and private forests, and report to the Legislature by Jan. 15, 2023; and

« lets the DNR prescribe conditions and issue permits to breed, propagate and sell snakes, lizards
and salamanders. (Art. 2, Secs. 2-17, 21-22, 26, 33, 36, 38, 41-42, 45, 48, 54, 80, 118, 132)

Health and Human Services - 2021

Regular Session

Medical Assistance COVID vaccination reimbursement
rate increased

The Medical Assistance reimbursement rate for COVID-19 vaccination administration will be
increased to the Medicare rate for the duration of the federal public health emergency.

The law, aimed at health care professionals who administer a vaccine approved by the Food and
Drug Administration, including emergency use, is effective the later of April 1,2021 or upon federal
approval.

It expires “the last day of the first quarter that begins at least one year after the last day of the
federal public health emergency.”

Rep. Tina Liebling (DFL-Rochester) and Sen. Michelle Benson (R-Ham Lake) are the sponsors.

HF1438*/SF1156/CH8



Health and Human Services - 2021

Regular Session
Dentists get the OK to provide COVID-19 vaccine

Dentists are currently qualified to administer influenza vaccine, but they can now also administer a
COVID-19 vaccine.

Sponsored by Rep. Mike Freiberg (DFL-Golden Valley) and Sen. Rich Draheim (R-Madison Lake), a
new law is meant to support wide scale vaccine distribution efforts across the state, enabling
dentists to administer vaccines in community settings and with local public health organizations.

Patients need to be at least 16 years old; dentists must have successfully completed an
educational program on vaccine administration approved by the Board of Dentistry; and they must
have access to emergency response equipment — including epinephrine.

The law took effect March 4, 2021.

HF789/SF475*/CH4

Health and Human Services - 2021

Regular Session

Minnesota joins interstate compact to expand access to
mental health services

To expand access to mental health services and create better continuity of care, a new law
effective May 26, 2021, allows Minnesota to join several other states in a Psychology
Interjurisdictional Compact.

With Minnesota as a member of the interstate compact, psychologists licensed in Minnesota will
be allowed to provide telepsychology services, or temporary, in-person psychological services in
other compact member states without having to become licensed in those states.

The new law will also provide reciprocity for psychologists licensed in other member states to
provide telepsychology or temporary, in-person psychological services in Minnesota without being
licensed by the Board of Psychology, which may help address the unmet need for mental health
services.

Anyone practicing as part of the compact is required to maintain an awareness of local resources,
should an emergency arise, and must be culturally competent to serve within a community.

Sponsored by Rep. Kelly Morrison (DFL-Deephaven) and Sen. Michelle Benson (R-Ham Lake), the
law also aims to improve continuity of care by allowing Minnesota psychologists to continue
working with patients who move out of state for college, serve in the military and are highly mobile,
or live in another state part of the year.

Other components of the new law aim to:

« improve access to care in underserved or geographically isolated communities;
+ promote cooperation between states regarding regulation and licensure;

« improve consumer protection across state lines; and

+ decrease the logistical burden for psychologists.

HF269/SF193*/CH27

Health and Human Services - 2021

Regular Session

Omnibus health and human services policy law changes
several state programs, rules



An omnibus health and human services law contains several provisions related to Department of
Human Services health care programs, Health Department programs and activities, child
protection programs and policy, community supports policy, and several other areas.

Sponsored by Rep. Tina Liebling (DFL-Rochester) and Sen. Michelle Benson (R-Ham Lake), the law
does not include any appropriations. It takes effect July 1, 2021, unless otherwise noted.

Notable provisions in the law include language that:

+ modifies membership and procedures for the Health Services Advisory Council and the opioid
prescribing work group (Art. 1, Secs. 8-10, 12-13);

« establishes a directed payment arrangement for Hennepin County for Medical Assistance and
MinnesotaCare programs, effective Jan. 1, 2022, or upon federal approval, whichever is later (Art.
1, Sec. 17);

+ modifies MinnesotaCare eligibility determination procedures to reflect federal decisions (Art. 1,
Secs. 19-21);

- requires development of Medical Assistance recuperative care services (Art. 1, Sec. 23);

+ modifies the process and requirements for new substance use disorder treatment program
licensure by removing the requirement for a statement of need (Art. 2, Secs. 1-5);

- eliminates state certification of health data intermediaries (Art. 3, Sec. 3);

+ modifies reporting requirements for prescription drug price transparency (Art. 3, Secs. 5-9);
+ modifies licensure fees for radioactive material (Art. 3, Secs. 11-15);

+ modifies membership of the Rural Health Advisory Committee (Art. 3, Sec. 16);

« removes race from the list of data on marriage licenses that local registrars and county board
designees are required to report to the state registrar (Art. 3, Secs. 18 and 51);

« changes who may obtain a certified copy of a birth or death record (Art. 3, Sec. 19);

+ makes changes to requirements regarding access to outdoor space for residents of assisted
living facilities with dementia care (Art. 3, Sec. 20);

« establishes requirements for home visiting programs for pregnant women and families with
young children (Art. 3, Sec. 21);

+ makes changes to statutes governing the Women, Infants and Children program (Art. 3, Secs. 22-
25);

+ modifies labeling requirements for products containing cannabinoids (Art. 3, Sec. 27);

+ modifies the medical cannabis program, allowing manufacturers to acquire hemp productions,
modifying pharmacist consultation requirements and allowing distribution to people in cars, with
most of the changes effective May 26, 2021 (Art. 3, Secs. 28-41);

« changes fees for asbestos-related work (Art. 3, Secs. 44-47);

- establishes licensing requirements for medical gas manufacturers, wholesalers and dispensers
(Art. 4, Secs. 1-6);

+ modifies limitations on pharmacy gag clauses (Art. 5, Sec. 1);

+ makes changes in the operation of the drug repository program, effective May 26, 2021 (Art. 5,
Secs. 2-5);

+ establishes requirements for health plan companies to make timely determinations of provider
credentialing (Art. 6, Sec. 1);

+ modifies the Minnesota Family Investment Program and diversionary work program application
procedures to permit online and telephone applications (Art. 7, Secs. 1-4);

- allows tribal governments to access the Minnesota food shelf program (Art. 8, Secs. 1, 3);



+ makes changes to Northstar kinship and adoption assistance and reimbursement provisions, and
updates adoption provisions, with some effective Aug. 1, 2021 (Art. 9, Secs. 1-15);

+ modifies provisions related to child safety and permanency and adoption requirements and
procedures, with most effective May 26, 2021 (Art. 10, Secs. 1-9);

« establishes certification requirements for children’s residential facilities or child foster residence
settings to receive federal Title IV-E funding, effective May 26, 2021 (Art. 10, Sec. 10);

+ exempts health care professionals from reporting prenatal substance use in specified
circumstances (Art. 10, Sec. 56);

- provides for parent notification of contested case hearings related to maltreatment (Art. 10, Sec.
57);

* removes interest charging requirements for child support judgments, effective Aug. 1, 2022 (Art.
10, Sec. 61);

+ modifies child support guidelines and other child support provisions, with some changes
effective Aug. 1, 2022, others Jan. 1,2023 (Art. 10, Secs. 62-78);

+ modifies and updates provisions relating to certified community behavioral health clinics,
pending federal approval (Art. 11, Secs. 1-4);

« requires the Department of Human Services to issue a monthly statement of the amounts
deposited for the compulsive gambling treatment program and provide an annual report to the
Legislature (Art. 11, Secs. 5 and 6);

+ modifies the definition of long-term care facilities in statutes governing the Ombudsman for
Long-Term Care, effective Aug. 1, 2021 (Art. 12, Sec. 1);

+ modifies home- and community-based services assessment requirements for people temporarily
entering an inpatient health care facility, effective upon federal approval (Art. 12, Sec. 2);

« permits tribes to access cost-neutral housing support allocations, effective May 26, 2021 (Art. 12,
Secs. 3-4);

« extends the Governor’s Council on an Age-Friendly Minnesota (Art. 12, Sec. 5);
* makes changes to children’s mental health screening collection (Art. 13, Sec. 1);
* makes changes to the State Advisory Council on Mental Health (Art. 13, Sec. 2);

- updates statutes governing public guardianship for persons with developmental disabilities (Art.
13, Secs. 4-12);

+ makes changes to consolidated chemical dependency fund payments and terminology (Art. 13,
Sec. 48);

« updates and clarifies statutes governing community first services and supports (Art. 13, Secs. 57-
72);

« prohibits discrimination, based on an individual’s disability, in health plan coverage for organ
transplants and anatomical gifts and in eligibility for organ transplants, anatomical gifts, and
related treatment and services (Art. 14, Secs. 1-2);

+ moves various statutes and rules related to mental health service standards into a new chapter
and updates, aligns, and streamlines definitions and standards for providing a range of mental
health services, effective July 1, 2022, or upon federal approval, whichever is later (Art. 15, Secs. 1-
19);

+ modifies provisions related to crisis response services for adults and children by unifying service,
eligibility, provider, and staff requirements, adding clinical trainees, and adding language to include
family members and other third parties, effective July 1, 2022, or upon federal approval, whichever
is later (Art. 16, Secs. 1-5); and

+ adjusts Department of Human Services’ appropriations in fiscal year 2021 for forecasted
programs (Art. 18).



The law also makes clarifications, technical corrections, conforming and technical changes,
updates terminology and definitions, and addresses consistency issues in current law.

HF2128*/SF2360/CH30

Health and Human Services - 2021
First Special Session

Omnibus HHS law increases investments to strengthen
public health

The omnibus health and human services policy and finance law appropriates $16.25 billion from
the General Fund in the 2022-23 biennium.

In addition to funding the Human Services and Health departments, the law expands access to
child care, increases efforts to reduce tobacco and vaping use, extends Medical Assistance
coverage, and increases wages for personal care attendants and home care nursing providers.

Other state programs, offices and boards funded by the law include health-related licensing boards,
Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board, Council on Disability, ombudsman for mental
health and developmental disabilities, ombudspersons for families and the ombudsperson for
American Indian families. Minnesota’s reinsurance program, the state’s premium security plan, is
extended through the 2022 benefit year.

[MORE: View the spreadsheet]

The law is sponsored by Rep. Tina Liebling (DFL-Rochester) and Sen. Michelle Benson (R-Ham
Lake), and took effect July 1, 2021, unless otherwise noted.

2021 Special Session: SSHF33*/SSSF37/SSCH7
Child care assistance and protection initiatives include:

+ modifying from July 1, 2021 to May 31, 2024, how families are prioritized on the basic sliding free
program waiting list;

- effective Jan. 1, 2022, modifying the formula for allocating money to counties for their basic
sliding fee programs;

« permitting the Department of Human Services to initiate efforts to recover child care assistance
overpayments from families and providers. This is effective Aug. 1, 2021;

« effective Nov. 15, 2021, increasing the maximum rates paid to providers for child care assistance
and rates paid to legal, non-licensed family child care providers;

« limiting retroactive payments under the child care assistance program to three months, rather
than six;

- directing the Department of Human Services to spend $304.4 million in federal COVID-19 relief
money for grants to child care and early learning providers

’

* requiring counties to appoint a public defender to all financially eligible parents, guardians and
custodians who ask for one prior to a first family court hearing, and at all stages of child protection
proceedings where loss of custody is possible; and

* requiring employees and supervisors of public or private youth recreation programs to report
certain child abuse to the appropriate local welfare, social services, or law enforcement agency.
(Art. 1, Sec. 16; Art. 8, Secs. 1-3, 5-7, 11; Art. 9, Sec. 5; Art. 10, Secs. 1-2)

Task forces, working groups and programs established include:

+ a legislative task force on child protection is created to study the child welfare system,
maltreatment reports and responses, mandatory reporters, and the intersection of educational
neglect and child protection. A report is due to the Legislature and governor by Feb. 1, 2024;



- appropriating $694,000 to the commissioner of health to develop programs to address and better
understand racial disparities in maternal and infant mortality and morbidity;

+ allocating $31.7 million from the federal community mental health services block grant funds and
the federal substance abuse prevention and treatment block grant funds for school-linked mental
health services and community-based substance abuse prevention services statewide;

« creating an ombudsperson for American Indian Families;

« establish a competitive grant program in the Department of Human Services to expand access to
licensed family child care providers or licensed child care centers for children with disabilities
including medical complexities;

+ establishing the Great Start for All Minnesota Children Task Force to develop strategies to ensure
that a child’s access to high-quality, affordable early care and education is not determined by the
child’s race, family income or ZIP code and that “Minnesota's early childhood educators are
qualified, diverse, supported, and equitably compensated regardless of setting”;

» spending $5.76 million on statewide tobacco cessation services;

« a legislative task force is established to review statutes relating to human services background
study eligibility and disqualifications. A final report is due the Legislature by Dec. 16, 2022;

« funding a task force to develop a plan to phase out subminimum wage to persons with
disabilities;

+ a Maternal Mortality Review Committee is established to conduct maternal death study reviews,
make recommendations and share summary information with the public; and

+ a Culturally Informed and Culturally Responsive Mental Health Task Force is established “to
evaluate and make recommendations on improving the provision of culturally informed and
culturally responsive mental health services throughout Minnesota.” (Art, 2, Sec. 73; Art. 3, Secs.
21, 39; Art. 10, Sec. 3; Art. 11, Secs. 8, 42-47; Art. 14, Secs. 1, 15, 18; Art. 16, Secs. 3, 13; Art. 17,
Sec. 14)

Department of Human Services-related changes include:

- effective Aug. 1, 2021, requiring implementation of a Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
employment and training program that meets federal requirements. Nonexempt SNAP recipients
who do not meet federal SNAP work requirements are required to participate in an employment
and training program, unless residing in an area covered by a time-limited waiver;

+ updating a 2007 legislative report on runaway and homeless youth using existing data, studies
and analysis provided by state, county and other entities. A report is due to the Legislature by Dec.
15,2022;

+ extending Medical Assistance coverage for pregnant women from 60 days to 12 months
postpartum. This takes effect the later of July 1, 2022 or upon federal approval;

+ expanding Medical Assistance coverage of dental services to include coverage of nonsurgical
treatment for periodontal disease, including scaling and root planing once every two years, plus
maintenance procedures;

+ allowing a 90-day supply of some prescription medications to be dispensed under Medical
Assistance, effective Jan. 1, 2022;

« allowing Medical Assistance to cover drugs or active pharmaceutical ingredients used for weight
loss;

« increasing the dispensing fee for prescription drugs from $10.48 to $10.77 and requiring the
statewide cost of dispensing to be calculated separately for specialty and non-specialty drugs;

« providing a monthly public transit pass for the nonemergency medical transportation needs of
Medical Assistance recipients who are well-served by public transit;

- providing Medical Assistance coverage for enhanced asthma care;



+ in conjunction with the Health Department, beginning April 15, 2022, a biennial report must be
submitted to the Legislature on the effectiveness of state maternal and infant health policies and
programs in addressing disparities in prenatal and postpartum health outcomes; and

+ by Dec. 15 of each year, beginning in 2021, the department must report to the Legislature on
managed care and county-based purchasing plan provider reimbursement rates. (Art. 1, Secs. 4-8,
11,13,16, 20, 23; Art. 2, Secs. 17-18, 33-52, 55; Art. 7, Secs. 1-6, 29)

Department of Health-related provisions include:

+ hospitals with obstetric care and birth centers must develop or access a continuing education
curriculum on anti-racism training and implicit bias and make the curriculum available to staff who
routinely care for pregnant or postpartum women;

+ exploring ways to make midwife and doula training more culturally responsive to groups with the
most significant disparities in maternal and infant morbidity and mortality; and promote racial,
ethnic and cultural diversity in the midwife and doula workforce;

« establishment of The Vivian Act, which requires the department to make available information
about congenital CMV (human herpesvirus cytomegalovirus), establish an awareness and
education program and consider congenital CMV for addition to the newborn screening program;

- effective July 1, 2025, making alcohol and drug counselors who practice in designated rural areas
or underserved urban communities — and persons enrolled in a training or education program to
become an alcohol and drug counselor — eligible for loan forgiveness under the health
professional education loan forgiveness program;

- for applications for and issuance of certified birth records on or after Jan. 1, 2022, procedures
and documentation requirements are established for a homeless youth to obtain a certified birth
record;

* requiring notice to the department and the public and a public hearing before a hospital closes,
curtails operations, relocates services or stops offering certain services;

+ allowing Regions Hospital in St. Paul to add 45 new licensed beds;

« allowing PrairieCare to add up to 30 licensed beds to its psychiatric hospital for children and
adolescents in Brooklyn Park;

+ until June 30, 2025, the department can award grants under the health professional education
loan forgiveness program to alcohol and drug counselors, medical residents and mental health
professionals who agree to either deliver at least 25 percent of their patient encounters to patients
who are state public health care program enrollees or to patients who receive sliding fee schedule
discounts; and

+ developing a grant program to fund continuing education for social workers, marriage and family
therapists, psychologists and professional clinical counselors to become supervisors for persons
pursuing licensure in mental health professions. Eligible persons must be members of a
community of color or underrepresented community, work for a community mental health provider
and agree to serve certain patient populations. (Art. 3, Secs. 11, 21, 23-24, 27, 30-31, 43-44)

Telehealth

As part of the Minnesota Telehealth Act, a health plan sold, issued, or renewed by a health carrier
in Minnesota must cover benefits delivered through telehealth in the same manner as any other
benefits covered under the health plan. Private insurers and the Medical Assistance and
MinnesotaCare programs are required to cover telemonitoring services in specified situations.

Additionally, a health carrier cannot restrict or deny coverage of a covered health care service
because the service is not provided in-person or based on the communication technology or
application used to deliver the service through telehealth, provided the technology or application
complies with statute.

Health carriers are to reimburse providers for telehealth services on the same basis and at the
same rate had the service been delivered in-person.



Per the law, “A health carrier must not require a health care provider to use specific
telecommunications technology and equipment as a condition of coverage ... provided the health
care provider uses telecommunications technology and equipment that complies with current
industry interoperable standards and complies with (federal) standards.”

The article expands the use of telehealth in the private sector and for the MA and MinnesotaCare
programs, by replacing the definition of “telemedicine” with a new “telehealth” definition, expanding
the list of providers who can provide telehealth services, and allowing the use of audio-only
communication as a telehealth service, through June 30, 2023.

The Department of Human Services, in consultation with the Health and Commerce departments,
is to study the impact of telehealth expansion and payment parity on the coverage and provision of
health care services under public health care and private sector programs. The preliminary report
due Jan. 15, 2023 must include recommendations on whether audio-only communication should
be allowed as a telehealth option beyond June 30, 2023. (Art. 6, Secs. 1-29)

Other changes

* the governor must appoint an ombudsperson to assist family child care providers with licensing,
compliance and other issues;

- for issuances starting Jan. 1, 2022, a homeless youth can obtain a state identification card
without paying transaction or filing fees;

« establishment of background study requirements for personal care assistance provider agencies
enrolled to provide personal care assistance services under Medical Assistance;

+ background studies are be conducted of individuals providing direct contact services in
residential and detention facilities;

« clarifying who must undergo a background check in areas including individuals providing special
transportation services or providers of group residential housing or supplementary services;

« permitting alternative background studies in some instances;
« increase fee caps the department can recover related to background studies;

+ adding personal care assistant services to list of activities prohibited prior to receipt of
background study notices;

« lists felony-level convictions that permanently disqualify an individual applying for a family foster
setting license;

+ expand the age range eligibility for intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services
from ages 16-20 to ages 8-26;

« require the Department of Human Services to develop protocols to address and attempt to
resolve any future overpayment involving tribal nations in Minnesota;

« increase wages for personal care attendants and home care providers;

- effective Sept. 30, 2021, provides a 90-day review for a child’s length of stay in residential
treatment;

+ expands services eligible for children’s mental health grant funding to include, as part of mental
health services for people from cultural and ethnic minorities, supervision of clinical trainees who
are Black, indigenous, or people of color providing services in certain clinics;

+ beginning Jan. 1, 2022, provides a 5% rate increase for substance use disorder treatment
services provided by culturally specific or culturally responsive programs or disability responsive
programs;

« establishes the Minnesota inclusion initiative grant program to encourage self-advocacy groups
of persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities to, in part, develop and organize
projects that increase the inclusion of persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities in
the community;

* requires the commissioner to annually adjust payments for home health agency services and
home care nursing services to reflect federal changes;



« provide an additional $50 per month housing benefit for low-income individuals eligible for
housing support;

« increase rates for home care nursing, intermediate care facilities and waiver rates for older adults
to live independently; and

« provide an ongoing cost of living increase, plus a one-time payment of $435, to individuals in the
Minnesota Family Investment Program, which helps low-income families meet basic needs as they
seek employment. (Art. 2, Secs. 3, 17-18, 33-52, 55, 73; Art. 10, Sec. 29; Art. 11, Secs. 3, 6, 12, 39;
Art. 12, Sec. 8, 11-12; Art. 13, Secs. 55-56, 74; Art. 16, Sec. 21)

Higher Education - 2021

First Special Session

New grant programs, increased protection against
closures among higher education changes

Increased funding for the Minnesota State system of colleges and universities and the University
of Minnesota are part of the omnibus higher education law, which also includes new grant and
scholarship programs and procedures to identify schools at risk of closure.

Sponsored by Rep. Connie Bernardy (DFL-New Brighton) and Sen. David Tomassoni (I-Chisholm),
the law, mostly effective July 1, 2021, appropriates funds to the Office of Higher Education,
Minnesota State, University of the Minnesota, and the Mayo Clinic’s education programs. It also
initiates several new grant programs.

2021 Special Session: SSHF7*/SSSF18/SSCH2
Office of Higher Education

The law appropriates $271.7 million from the state’s General Fund in fiscal year 2022 and $274.2
million in fiscal year 2023 to the Office of Higher Education. For fiscal year 2022, the largest
funding totals go to:

- state grants, $210 million;

- work-study grants, $14.5 million;

- interstate tuition reciprocity, $8.5 million;

+ child care grants, $6.7 million;

* Minitex and MNLink library resource sharing networks, $5.9 million;

+ agency administration, $4.5 million;

+ American Indian scholarships, $3.5 million;

+ a spinal cord injury and traumatic brain injury research grant program, $3 million;
+ dual training competency grants, $2 million;

« Statewide Longitudinal Education Data System, $1.8 million;

* aspiring teachers of color scholarship pilot program, $1.5 million;

* Minnesota Independence College and Community, $1.2 million;

« intervention for college attendance program grants, $1.1 million; and

« grants to underrepresented student teachers, $1 million. (Art. 1, Sec. 2)
Minnesota State

Minnesota State will be appropriated $792 million in fiscal year 2022, and $789.5 million in fiscal
year 2023. Of its biennial total, $1.5 billion is for general operations and maintenance, while $58.2
million is for the system’s central office and shared systems unit.



Under the law, undergraduate tuition rates for Minnesota State cannot rise more than 3.5% per year
for the 2021-22 and 2022-23 academic years.

Among specific Minnesota State appropriations for fiscal year 2022 are:

» upgrading the Integrated Statewide Record System, $8 million;

+ supplemental aid to state colleges with campuses outside of a metropolitan county, $5.7 million;
« workforce development scholarships, $4.5 million;

+ the Learning Network of Minnesota, a statewide telecommunications and technology network,
$4.1 million;

« mental health awareness, $1.5 million; and
- student basic needs, $1 million. (Art. 1, Sec. 3)
University of Minnesota

The University of Minnesota will receive $692.8 million per year during the 2022-23 biennium. Of
that, $622 million is for operations and maintenance, with the following base-level amounts
established among the appropriations:

« agricultural and extension service, $42.9 million;

- the Academic Health Center, $22.2 million from a portion of cigarette taxes;
+ medical school, $15 million;

« health sciences, $9.2 million;

* partnership with the Mayo Foundation, $8 million;

« health training restoration to support faculty physicians, the mobile dental clinic, and expansion
of geriatric and family programs, $7.8 million;

« general research, the Labor Education Service, Natural Resources Research Institute, Center for
Urban and Regional Affairs, Bell Museum of Natural History, and the Humphrey exhibit, $7.4
million;

« MnDrive to advance research for cancer care, $4 million;
- training primary care physicians, $2.1 million from the health care access fund; and

+ the College of Science and Engineering geological survey and talented youth mathematics
program, $1.1 million. (Art. 1, Sec. 4)

Mayo Clinic

The Mayo Foundation will receive $1.35 million in fiscal years 2022 and 2023. That includes base-
level funding of $686,000 per year to the family practice and graduate residency program to pay
stipend support for up to 27 residents each year, and $665,000 per year to the medical school, with
the intention of increasing the number of doctors practicing in rural areas. (Art. 1, Sec. 5)

[MORE: View the spreadsheet]
Policy changes

The law makes several changes related to the risk of closure, particularly of private career schools.
It codifies specific and detailed procedures the Office of Higher Education will undertake in its
analysis to determine if an institution is at risk of precipitous failure and closure. It also requires an
institution to submit a registration renewal application when it enters receivership, requires
institutions to submit a licensure renewal application when there is a “change of ownership” of the
institution and requires institutions to maintain student records required for professional licensure
for at least 10 years. (Art. 2, Secs. 25-26, 28-32)

Among its 47 policy provisions the law will:

« require the Office of Higher Education to, by Feb. 15,2022, annually post on its website a
summary data on students who withdraw from enrollment without completing a degree;



+ lower the assigned family responsibility element of the state grant formula by three percentage
points for each category of student, effectively raising state grant awards;

« increase the default amount of the living and miscellaneous expense allowance from 106% to
109% of federal poverty guidelines for a one-person household;

« effective June 27, 2021, establish a higher education grant program for students currently or
formerly in foster care, beginning in the 2022-23 academic year;

« remove the eligibility caps regarding enroliment for child care grants, and increase the maximum
annual grant award for each eligible child from $3,000 to $6,500;

+ expand eligibility and specify maximum awards for American Indian scholarships to students
who are enrolled in or citizens of a federally recognized or Canadian recognized tribe;

« create a grant program for student teachers who belong to a racial or ethnic group
underrepresented in the state’s teacher workforce;

+ expand the student teacher candidate grants program to student teachers who intend to teach in
a rural school district;

* increase the total amount of loans that can be refinanced under the SELF Refi program from $100
million to $300 million;

« establish a teacher shortage loan repayment program;
+ set several criteria for dual training competency grants;

« establish a Office of Higher Education program to award matching grants to postsecondary
institutions on a competitive basis in order to expand concurrent enrollment offerings;

* require Minnesota State to implement a mental health awareness program at each college and
university by fall of 2022;

« create new requirements for Minnesota State to inform students about assistance programs;

+ expand the existing hunger-free campus designation program and incorporate a competitive
grant program;

+ make various changes to the Z-Degree statute, a zero-textbook-cost associate’s degree
requirement at state colleges;

« expand programs of study or certification eligible for workforce development scholarships by
allowing a Minnesota State institution to designate a program as eligible based on regional
workforce shortage data from the Department of Employment and Economic Development;

* require Minnesota State to expand credit for prior learning for work-based experiences and make
students aware of the opportunity to receive credit for prior learning;

« create a non-statutory direct admissions pilot program to automatically offer conditional state
college or university admittance to eligible graduating high school seniors;

* require Minnesota State, and request the University of Minnesota, to provide a report by Jan. 1,
2022, on expense patterns of public higher education institutions;

« prohibit schools from attaching transcript release to payment of student debts; and

« establish a scholarship pilot program for aspiring Minnesota teachers of color to be administered
by the Office of Higher Education (Art. 2, Secs. 1-2, 4, 7-24, 31-45).

Housing - 2021

Regular Session

New law modifies online continuing education
requirements for manufactured home installers



Internet continuing education courses for manufactured home installers must be approved by the
federal Department of Housing and Urban Development or by the Department of Labor and
Industry.

That is a new requirement under a law effective April 17, 2021.

Sponsored by Rep. Rob Ecklund (DFL-International Falls) and Sen. Rich Draheim (R-Madison Lake),
the law requires the approval to accompany the course completion certificate issued to the
student by the course sponsor.

For other areas of construction trades, online courses must be approved by the International
Distance Education Certification Center or the International Association for Continuing Education
and Training, before the course is submitted for department approval.

HF682/SF659*/CH11

Housing - 2021

First Special Session

Eviction moratorium lifted, $100 million in housing
bonding in new law

Improving housing affordability, closing the homeownership gap and ending the governor’s

emergency powers eviction moratorium are all components of the omnibus housing finance and
policy law.

Sponsored by Rep. Alice Hausman (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Rich Draheim (R-Madison Lake), the law
is effective July 1, 2021, unless otherwise noted.

Gov. Tim Walz enacted the state’s eviction moratorium via an executive order in March 2020 to
ensure renters do not lose their housing during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Finding an off-ramp has resulted in an approach that includes support for housing providers and
connects renters needing financial help with available resources.

Beginning June 29, 2021 and completed in stages over the next 105 days, the law prohibits renters
who have applied for but haven't yet received assistance from the state’s federally funded
RentHelpMN program from being evicted until June 1, 2022.

Among the details, a landlord cannot terminate or fail to renew a lease until Oct. 12, 2021, except in
cases where the tenant is endangering others, engaging in certain criminal activities, materially
violating the lease or when the tenant requests the termination of the lease.

However, a landlord can terminate or not renew a lease beginning Aug. 13, 2021 if the tenant has
not paid rent and is not eligible for the COVID-19 emergency rental assistance program.

Further, a landlord cannot file an eviction notice before Oct. 12, 2021 unless the tenant is a danger
to others, there is significant property damage or they engage in criminal activity. Evictions would
be allowed beginning July 14, 2021 for situations where a tenant materially violates the lease. An
eviction notice can be filed beginning Sept. 12, 2021 if the tenant has not paid rent, nor is eligible
for the COVID-19 emergency rental assistance program.

A landlord must provide a 15-day notice to a tenant before filing an eviction if the eviction is for
nonpayment of rent during the 105 days following enactment of the law — Oct. 12, 2021. (Art. 5,
Secs. 1-4)

The $125 million law includes $10 million in new General Fund spending:
+ $3.25 million to the Workforce Homeownership Program;

+ $2.8 million for the Housing Challenge Program;

+ $1.75 million for manufactured home park infrastructure grants;

+ $1 million for the Home Ownership Assistance Fund;

+ $1 million for local housing trust fund grants; and



+ $200,000 to establish a shelter provider task force to “develop standards for the provision of
shelter; and examine the need for, and the feasibility and cost of, establishing state oversight of
shelter.” (Art. 1, Secs. 2-3; Art. 6, Sec. 1)

Additionally, the law will provide $100 million in housing infrastructure bonds, designating $18.33
million of that total for single-family homes and $15 million for manufactured home park
acquisition, improvement and infrastructure. The other $66.67 million is not specifically allocated.
This takes effect Jan. 16, 2022. (Art. 4, Secs. 1-3)

If the state receives federal funds appropriated and dedicated from a federal infrastructure bill
enacted between June 1, 2021, and Dec. 31, 2021 for loans and grants for the same purposes for
which housing infrastructure bonds may be issued, the $100 million of housing infrastructure
bonds is to be reduced by that amount. (Art. 4, Sec. 5)

Policy provisions, effective Aug. 1, 2021 unless otherwise noted, will:

« allow federally recognized American Indian tribes in Minnesota and tribal housing corporations to
be eligible for housing grants in a natural disaster area;

+ no longer require window fall prevention devices in one- and two-family dwellings and
townhouses if windows meet certain criteria;

« clarify it is an unfair discriminatory practice for the owner of housing to deny a person with a
disability the use of a service animal even when the physical identification is not present;

« prohibit a landlord from charging additional fees or rent for a service or support animal;

+ allow a landlord to request supporting documentation for a licensed professional verifying a
disability when a tenant makes a reasonable accommodation request for a service or support
animal; however, no documentation is necessary when the disability is apparent to the landlord;

* increase from $27,000 to $37,500 the maximum rehabilitation loan for existing owner-occupied
residential housing and permit such loans to be used for manufactured home replacement;

« increase the income limitation under the definition of “persons and families of low and moderate
income” to 115% of the greater of state median income, or area or county median income;

- effective Sept. 1, 2021, require leases to have prorated rent when a lease ends before the last day
of the month;

« create a process to affix a manufactured home to real property when the park the home is
located in is owned by a nonprofit cooperative; and

« repeal the current process, and create new language, for making a manufactured home an
improvement to real property. (Art. 2, Secs. 1, 4-5, 7, 9-11; Art. 3, Secs. 1-2, 4-5)

2021 First Special Session: SSHF4*/SSSF16/SSCH8

Local Government - 2021

Regular Session
More remote governing by video

Changes to the process for government meetings during certain emergencies, such as the COVID-
19 pandemic, are now law.

Sponsored by Rep. Erin Koegel (DFL-Spring Lake Park) and Sen. John Jasinski (R-Faribault), a new
law temporarily removes a statutory limit to allow a member of a public body to participate
remotely more than three times in the first six months of 2021.

Where local units of government are holding in-person meetings, concern was raised by
participants who may be at a greater risk of serious complications if they or a family member
contact COVID-19. A medical exemption allowing remote participation is permitted under state
law; however, it has a three-meeting cap per year.



The new law also updates provisions of the Open Meeting Law to reflect modern technology used
by public bodies for remote meetings and ensure the public can comment remotely during a public
comment period if in-person attendance is not feasible due to a health pandemic or emergency.

Most of the provisions are effective on Aug. 1, 2021. The temporary removal of the remote
participation cap is effective retroactively for meetings occurring on or after Jan. 1, 2021.

HF820*/SF852/CH14

Local Government - 2021

Regular Session
Lake City can establish a port authority

A new law will permit Lake City to establish a port authority commission.

According to state statute, “A port authority may study and analyze industrial development needs
in its port district, and ways to meet the needs. A port authority may study the desirable patterns
for industrial land use and community growth and other factors affecting local industrial
development in the district and ... may engage in research and disseminate information on river,
harbor, and industrial development in the port district.”

Sponsored by Rep. Barb Haley (R-Red Wing) and Sen. Michael Goggin (R-Red Wing), the law is
effective upon local approval and completing the required filings with the secretary of state.

If a commission is established, it may also exercise the same powers as a municipal housing and
redevelopment authority.

HF738/SF1091*/CH19

Public Safety - 2021

Regular Session

Law enforcement receives funding to respond to potential
civil unrest

A new law appropriates $7.8 million in fiscal year 2021 to support law enforcement agencies
required to respond to recent incidents of civil unrest.

The law, effective April 28, 2021, appropriates $6.3 million from the General Fund to the
Department of Public Safety to pay for state trooper and DNR conservation officer expenses
related to civil unrest response, including costs arising from restoring or maintaining civil order.

Another $1.5 million from the General Fund goes to the to the public safety commissioner for
costs directly attributable to additional public safety assistance for civil unrest response. Rules
describing how this money can be spent are outlined in the Interstate Emergency Management
Assistance Compact.

The law is sponsored by Rep. Carlos Mariani (DFL-St. Paul).

HF729*/none/CH13

Public Safety - 2021
Regular Session

‘Healthy Start Act’ offers conditional release to inmates
who give birth

Pregnant inmates will be able to spend more time with their baby.



Dubbed the “Healthy Start Act,” and effective Aug. 1, 2021, a new law authorizes the Department of
Corrections to conditionally release for up to one year postpartum, an inmate who gave birth within
eight months of the date of commitment; and for the duration of the pregnancy and up to one year
postpartum, an inmate who is pregnant.

The department must develop policy and criteria for such conditional releases, which may include
community-based programming providing prenatal or postnatal care, parenting skills classes,
working at paid employment, seeking employment, educational programming, or chemical
dependency or mental health treatment services.

Areport is due to the Legislature by April 1 each year on the number of inmates released under this
law and the duration of their release.

The law is sponsored by Rep. Jamie Becker-Finn (DFL-Roseville) and Sen. Mary Kiffmeyer (R-Big
Lake).

HF1403/SF1315*/CH17

Public Safety - 2021
Regular Session

Hospice workers will be notified if they are caring for
registered predatory offenders

Effective Aug. 1, 2021, hospice providers will be notified if a patient under their care is a registered
predatory offender.

The new law will require that notice of a predatory offender be given to hospice providers in the
same manner that other in-home health care providers receive notice.

The law is sponsored by Rep. Heather Edelson (DFL-Edina) and Sen. Mark Johnson (R-East Grand
Forks).

HF331/SF443*/CH20

Public Safety - 2021
Regular Session

New law aims to help newly released inmates reintegrate
into the community

The Department of Corrections will be required to provide several additional types of assistance to
inmates released from state correctional facilities to help facilitate a successful reentry into the
community.

A new law, effective Sept. 1, 2021, unless otherwise noted, requires the department to provide
released inmates:

+ a copy of the inmate’s unofficial criminal history compiled by the department;

« information on how to obtain the inmate’s full official criminal history from the Bureau of Criminal
Apprehension;

« general information describing the laws and processes for obtaining an expungement of the
inmate’s criminal record;

+ general information on the inmate’s right to vote;
- current information on local career workforce centers;
+ a record of the programs the inmate completed while in prison;

+ an accounting of any court-ordered payments, fines and fees owed upon release of which the
department has knowledge;



+ assistance in obtaining a Social Security card;
+ a medical discharge summary;

- effective July 1, 2022, information on how to obtain a complete copy of the inmate’s medical
record at no charge;

« general information on the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program benefits, eligibility criteria
and application process;

« assistance securing copies of a birth certificate, upon request of an inmate;
+ assistance in working with the Department of Public Safety to provide no-fee state ID cards;

+ assistance applying for government-funded medical insurance prior to release from incarceration;
and

* help developing a homelessness mitigation plan.
These requirements do not apply to inmates imprisoned for a release violation.

Regardless of the reason for imprisonment, the Department of Corrections must provide all
inmates in need of non-narcotic prescription medications a 30-day supply upon release.

The law also establishes that a valid Department of Corrections or Federal Bureau of Prisons
identification card, containing the released inmate’s full name, date of birth, and photograph is an
acceptable secondary form of proof of identity in an application for a state ID card, instruction
permit or driver’s license.

Effective July, 1, 2021, the new law also requires the Department of Corrections to submit a report
to the Legislature on the department’s homelessness mitigation plan by Oct. 31, 2022, and a report
detailing the number of inmates released to homelessness from prison by Feb. 15, 2022, and
annually thereafter.

Rep. Erin Koegel (DFL-Spring Lake Park) and Sen. David Osmek (R-Mound) sponsor the law.

HF553/SF519*/CH24

Public Safety - 2021

Regular Session
Technical change to identity theft law

A new law makes a technical change to criminal identity theft statutes, separating penalties for
identity theft from child pornography crimes by placing them in two different paragraphs.

The law, effective Aug. 1, 2021, is sponsored by Rep. John Huot (DFL-Rosemount) and Sen. Greg
Clausen (DFL-Apple Valley).

HF809*/SF104/CH25

Public Safety - 2021
First Special Session

Omnibus public safety and judiciary law funds, and makes
changes to courts, cops, and corrections

The omnibus public safety and judiciary policy and finance law appropriates $2.64 billion in the
2022-23 biennium to fund the Department of Public Safety, Department of Corrections, Minnesota
courts, civil legal services, Guardian ad Litem Board, Tax Court, Uniform Laws Commission, Board
on Judicial Standards, Board of Public Defense, Human Rights Department, Peace Officers
Standards and Training Board and sets funding in the Disaster Assistance Contingency Account.



The wide-ranging law makes several policy changes in these areas, including reforming civil asset
forfeiture laws, establishing new procedures for using confidential jailhouse informants, prohibiting
the use of restraints on children appearing in court, strengthening jail safety rules and changing
criminal sexual assault statutes to permit prosecution of cases where victims were intoxicated
through voluntary consumption.

Sponsored by Rep. Carlos Mariani (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Warren Limmer (R-Maple Grove), the law
took effect July 1, 2021, unless otherwise noted.

All budget figures are for the 2022-23 biennium unless otherwise noted.
[MORE: View the spreadsheet]

2021 Special Session: SSHF63*/SSSFnone/SSCH11

Judiciary, civil law and courts

The law will give a 2.5% boost in salary to Supreme Court, District Court and Court of Appeals
judges and employees, and a $5.7 million raise for civil legal services, which provides legal
representation for low-income defendants in civil proceedings.

The law funds all the state courts:

+ $655.5 million for District Courts;

+ $122.1 million for the Supreme Court;

+ $27.1 million for the Court of Appeals; and

+ $1.8 million for the Tax Court.

Other judiciary appropriations are:

+ $217.8 million for the Board of Public Defense;

* $44 million for the Guardian Ad Litem Board (includes a 2.5% salary increase);
* $10.9 million for the Department of Human Rights;

+ $1.5 million for the Sentencing Guidelines Commission;
+ $1.2 million for the Board of Judicial Standards; and

- $200,000 for the Uniform Laws Commission.

The law includes a fiscal year 2022 grant of $500,000 to improve courthouse security, $400,000 to
increase salaries for courtroom foreign language interpreters and $931,000 to add a judge in the
Fifth Judicial District.

Mostly effective July 1, 2021, collectively bargained salary increases for state employees
represented by the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association is funded in the law. Also funded is
salary supplements dating to July 1, 2019. (Art. 8, Secs. 1-16)

The law makes several crime-related changes, including:
+ modifying rules for participating in the ignition interlock program;

+ exempting a victim and someone acting in good faith who contacts a 911 operator or first
responder to report a sexual assault victim is in need of assistance from charges and prosecution
for the possession of a controlled substance or drug paraphernalia or underage consumption of
alcohol;

- effective Aug. 1, 2021, requiring the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to investigate criminal
sexual conduct cases in the Minnesota National Guard;

- effective Sept. 15, 2021, establishes new crimes of assaulting a peace officer or other criminal
justice partner and inflicting great bodily harm, when committed with a dangerous weapon or
through the use or attempted use of deadly force;

- effective Sept. 15, 2021, establishing a child torture crime with a maximum penalty of 25 years in
prison and a $35,000 fine;



+ making it a gross misdemeanor to trespass at a facility that provides emergency shelter services
for sex trafficking victims, or a facility that provides transitional housing to sex trafficking victims
and their children;

- effective Sept. 15, 2021, making it a misdemeanor “to knowingly and without consent make
publicly available, including but not limited to through the Internet, personal information about a
law enforcement official or an official's family or household member”;

« establishing a crime of sexual extortion with a maximum penalty of 15 years in prison and a
$30,000 fine;

+ the Sentencing Guidelines Commission is to increase the severity rankings on the sex offender
grid for certain child pornography cases;

- effective Sept. 15, 2021, changing criminal sexual assault statutes to permit prosecution of cases
of victims intoxicated through voluntary consumption;

- effective July 1, 2022, a court can reduce or waive the surcharge imposed on criminal and traffic
offenders based on their ability to pay. Community work service may be imposed in lieu of the
surcharge;

+ law enforcement agencies are to timely process a specific immigration-related request from
victims of certain crimes who are foreign nationals;

- effective Sept. 15, 2021, adds new crimes for sexual extortion, first-degree criminal sexual
misconduct, criminalizes additional situations involving educators who engage in sexual acts with
secondary school students, expands the definition of significant relationship and increases
penalties for caregivers and others who engage in sexual acts with patient;

+ a predatory offender working group is to “examine and assess the predatory offender
registration (POR) laws, including, but not limited to, the requirements placed on offenders,
the crimes for which POR is required, the method by which POR requirements are applied
to offenders, and the effectiveness of the POR system in achieving its stated purpose”;

- effective Jan. 1, 2022, reforming civil asset forfeiture laws; and

« prohibiting the use of restraints on children appearing in court. (Art. 1, Sec. 14; Art. 2, Secs. 3-9,
16, 27,31, 34,39-41, 52; Art. 3, Sec. 11; Art. 4, Secs. 16-20, 23, 30; Art. 5, Secs. 1-22; Art. 9, Sec. 20)

A Legislative Commission on Data Practices and Personal Data Privacy is created “to study issues
relating to government data practices and individuals' personal data privacy rights and to review
legislation impacting data practices, data security, and personal data privacy.” This took effect July
1,2021. (Art. 3, Secs. 1, 36)

Public Safety

The law funds the Department of Public Safety with a $427.2 million appropriation in the 2022-23
biennium.

Notable appropriations include:

+ $155.3 million for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension;
+ $135.8 million for Emergency Communication Networks;
+ $94.6 million for Office of Justice Programs;

+ $8 million to create a “Hometown Heroes” assistance program to, in part, provide a onetime
critical illness monetary support payment to a firefighter diagnosed with cancer or heart disease
and who applies for the payment, and develop a psychotherapy program customized to address
emotional trauma experienced by firefighters;

+ $6.2 million for the Homeland Security and Emergency Management;
+ $5.4 million for Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement;

+ $2 million for additional violent crime enforcement teams;



+ $1 million to establish the Office of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives;
+ $§570,000 for the Private Detective Board; and
+ $150,000 to implement a new Task Force on Missing and Murdered African American Women.

BCA funding includes $4.2 million for staff and technology costs to meet FBI cybersecurity
requirements, $3.7 million for salary increases and $602,000 to purchase and maintain body
cameras for special agents.

The new law also provides $876,000 to fund body cameras for DNR conservation officers and
$32,000 for Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division officer body cameras.

Several policy provisions in the law are police reform measures, including:
* requiring 911 operators to refer calls to mental health crisis teams in certain situations;
« regulating the use of no-knock warrants, effective Sept. 1, 2021;

* requiring “sign and release” warrants for certain infractions, such as missing a court appearance.
This applies to warrants issued on or after Jan. 1, 2024; and

+ mandating policy reforms and strengthening standards to improve safety for inmates and staff in
state and local correctional facilities — the Hardel Sherrell Act. This is effective Aug. 1, 2021. (Art.
2, Secs. 12,22, 50; Art. 9, Secs. 5-10, 23, 30)

Other public safety policy changes include:

« directing the state fire marshal and Department of Labor and Industry to issue building-specific
waivers for any elements of the state fire or building codes that conflict with a federally recognized
tribe’s religious beliefs, traditional building practices or established teachings;

« the state court administrator is to conduct a feasibility study on requiring the courts to order
individuals convicted of felonies to undergo a neuropsychological examination;

+ establishment of a 911 telecommunicator working group to, in part, recommend standards,
training and continuing education requirements for certification of 911 telecommunicators; and

« creating a task force on aiding and abetting felony murder “to collect and analyze data on the
charging, convicting, and sentencing of people for aiding and abetting felony murder; assess
whether current laws and practices promote public safety and equity in sentencing; and make
recommendations to the legislature.” (Art. 2, Secs. 17, 19, 46-47, 53)

Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training

Of the $23.1 million the POST Board is to receive to regulate education, selection, licensing and
training standards for the state’s more than 11,800 police officers, $5.9 million is to be used to
reimburse local governments for police officer training costs.

The POST Board must use $12 million of its funds to support and strengthen law enforcement
training and implement best practices such as crisis intervention, de-escalation and cultural
competency. The “Philando Castile Memorial Training Fund” will receive another $12 million in the
2024-25 biennium.

The new law mandates several new duties and policy changes for the POST Board, including:

« personal phone numbers and email addresses of law enforcement officers is classified as private
data;

- effective Aug. 1, 2021, police chiefs must report all disciplinary actions taken against police
officers for the purpose of identifying patterns of behavior suggesting an officer is in crisis or may
violate a board-mandated model policy;

- effective Aug. 1, 2021, creation of a list of approved trainers and training courses related to police
officers responding to individuals with mental iliness or Alzheimer’s disease; and

« establishing new policies addressing the use of confidential informants by law enforcement -
Matthew'’s Law. (Art. 9, Secs. 26-30)

Corrections



The Department of Corrections will receive $1.27 billion to operate the state’s 11 prisons, of which
$931 million is for incarceration and pre-release services, $276 million for community supervision
and post-release services and $63.2 million for general operations.

Of the total Department of Corrections appropriation, the new law specifies spending:
+ $418 million for salary increases;
+ $3.2 million for ongoing technology needs;

+ $2.3 million for supplemental probation officer reimbursements to Meeker, Mille Lacs and
Renville counties;

+ $1.5 million to expand and improve oversight of jails;

+ $300,000 for a grant to a nonprofit organization to provide curriculum and corporate mentors to
inmates and assist inmates in finding meaningful employment upon release;

+ $200,000 to implement the “Healthy Start Act” to create a release program for pregnant women
and new mothers; and

+ $37,000 to provide a one-month supply of medications and a refillable prescription to inmates at
the time of their release.

New or modified policies for the Department of Corrections, each effective Aug. 1, 2021, unless
noted, include:

* requiring the department to maintain annual statistics and provide them in an annual report;

« establishing a clear process for the department to revoke a license of any correctional facility in
the state for inmate safety violations;

* requiring the department to prepare an annual report to the Legislature with statistics on inmate
deaths, the use of force, suicide attempts and other data;

+ mandating that inmate death reports must use an objective, medical expert and/or mental health
expert, assess for preventable mortality and morbidity within 90 days of death and report to the
department any recommendations for changes in policy, procedure, or training to reduce the
number of future fatalities; and

- effective July 1, 2021, limiting when harmful or deadly force can be used on an inmate, and adds
a duty to report within 24 hours if an employee witnesses an impermissible use of such force. (Art.
9,Sec. 4,7-11,16, 18)

Disaster Assistance Contingency Account

The Disaster Assistance Contingency Account was created in 2014 to provide immediate disaster
response funding without further legislative action. Prior to its creation, the Legislature would need
to convene, often in a special session, every time a disaster was declared to appropriate money
toward response efforts.

The new law appropriates $30 million to the account, but only if the fiscal year 2021 final closing
balance in the General Fund exceeds the closing balance projected at the end of the 2021 first
special legislative session by at least $30 million. (Art. 1, Sec. 21)

Public Safety - 2021
First Special Session

Omnibus public safety, judiciary law funds — and makes
changes to— courts, cops, and corrections

The omnibus public safety and judiciary policy and finance law appropriates $2.64 billion in the
2022-23 biennium to fund the Department of Public Safety, Department of Corrections, Minnesota
courts, civil legal services, Guardian ad Litem Board, Tax Court, Uniform Laws Commission, Board
on Judicial Standards, Board of Public Defense, Human Rights Department, Peace Officers
Standards and Training Board and sets funding in the Disaster Assistance Contingency Account.



The wide-ranging law makes several policy changes in these areas, including reforming civil asset
forfeiture laws, establishing new procedures for using confidential jailhouse informants, prohibiting
the use of restraints on children appearing in court, strengthening jail safety rules and changing
criminal sexual assault statutes to permit prosecution of cases where victims were intoxicated
through voluntary consumption.

Sponsored by Rep. Carlos Mariani (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Warren Limmer (R-Maple Grove), the law
took effect July 1, 2021, unless otherwise noted.

All budget figures are for the 2022-23 biennium unless otherwise noted.
[MORE: View the spreadsheet]

2021 Special Session: SSHF63*/SSSFnone/SSCH11

Judiciary, civil law and courts

The law will give a 2.5% boost in salary to Supreme Court, District Court and Court of Appeals
judges and employees, and a $5.7 million raise for civil legal services, which provides legal
representation for low-income defendants in civil proceedings.

The law funds all the state courts:

+ $655.5 million for District Courts;

+ $122.1 million for the Supreme Court;

+ $27.1 million for the Court of Appeals; and

+ $1.8 million for the Tax Court.

Other judiciary appropriations are:

+ $217.8 million for the Board of Public Defense;

* $44 million for the Guardian Ad Litem Board (includes a 2.5% salary increase);
+ $10.9 million for the Department of Human Rights;

+ $1.5 million for the Sentencing Guidelines Commission;
+ $1.2 million for the Board of Judicial Standards; and

- $200,000 for the Uniform Laws Commission.

The law includes a fiscal year 2022 grant of $500,000 to improve courthouse security, $400,000 to
increase salaries for courtroom foreign language interpreters and $931,000 to add a judge in the
Fifth Judicial District.

Mostly effective July 1, 2021, collectively bargained salary increases for state employees
represented by the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association is funded in the law. Also funded is
salary supplements dating to July 1, 2019. (Art. 8, Secs. 1-16)

The law makes several crime-related changes, including:
+ modifying rules for participating in the ignition interlock program;

+ exempting a victim and someone acting in good faith who contacts a 911 operator or first
responder to report a sexual assault victim is in need of assistance from charges and prosecution
for the possession of a controlled substance or drug paraphernalia or underage consumption of
alcohol;

- effective Aug. 1, 2021, requiring the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to investigate criminal
sexual conduct cases in the Minnesota National Guard;

- effective Sept. 15, 2021, establishes new crimes of assaulting a peace officer or other criminal
justice partner and inflicting great bodily harm, when committed with a dangerous weapon or
through the use or attempted use of deadly force;

- effective Sept. 15, 2021, establishing a child torture crime with a maximum penalty of 25 years in
prison and a $35,000 fine;



+ making it a gross misdemeanor to trespass at a facility that provides emergency shelter services
for sex trafficking victims, or a facility that provides transitional housing to sex trafficking victims
and their children;

- effective Sept. 15, 2021, making it a misdemeanor “to knowingly and without consent make
publicly available, including but not limited to through the Internet, personal information about a
law enforcement official or an official's family or household member”;

« establishing a crime of sexual extortion with a maximum penalty of 15 years in prison and a
$30,000 fine;

+ the Sentencing Guidelines Commission is to increase the severity rankings on the sex offender
grid for certain child pornography cases;

- effective Sept. 15, 2021, changing criminal sexual assault statutes to permit prosecution of cases
of victims intoxicated through voluntary consumption;

- effective July 1, 2022, a court can reduce or waive the surcharge imposed on criminal and traffic
offenders based on their ability to pay. Community work service may be imposed in lieu of the
surcharge;

+ law enforcement agencies are to timely process a specific immigration-related request from
victims of certain crimes who are foreign nationals;

- effective Sept. 15, 2021, adds new crimes for sexual extortion, first-degree criminal sexual
misconduct, criminalizes additional situations involving educators who engage in sexual acts with
secondary school students, expands the definition of significant relationship and increases
penalties for caregivers and others who engage in sexual acts with patient;

+ a predatory offender working group is to “examine and assess the predatory offender
registration (POR) laws, including, but not limited to, the requirements placed on offenders,
the crimes for which POR is required, the method by which POR requirements are applied
to offenders, and the effectiveness of the POR system in achieving its stated purpose”;

- effective Jan. 1, 2022, reforming civil asset forfeiture laws; and

« prohibiting the use of restraints on children appearing in court. (Art. 1, Sec. 14; Art. 2, Secs. 3-9,
16, 27,31, 34,39-41, 52; Art. 3, Sec. 11; Art. 4, Secs. 16-20, 23, 30; Art. 5, Secs. 1-22; Art. 9, Sec. 20)

A Legislative Commission on Data Practices and Personal Data Privacy is created “to study issues
relating to government data practices and individuals' personal data privacy rights and to review
legislation impacting data practices, data security, and personal data privacy.” This took effect July
1,2021. (Art. 3, Secs. 1, 36)

Public Safety

The law funds the Department of Public Safety with a $427.2 million appropriation in the 2022-23
biennium.

Notable appropriations include:

+ $155.3 million for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension;
+ $135.8 million for Emergency Communication Networks;
+ $94.6 million for Office of Justice Programs;

+ $8 million to create a “Hometown Heroes” assistance program to, in part, provide a onetime
critical illness monetary support payment to a firefighter diagnosed with cancer or heart disease
and who applies for the payment, and develop a psychotherapy program customized to address
emotional trauma experienced by firefighters;

+ $6.2 million for the Homeland Security and Emergency Management;
+ $5.4 million for Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement;

+ $2 million for additional violent crime enforcement teams;



+ $1 million to establish the Office of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives;
+ $§570,000 for the Private Detective Board; and
+ $150,000 to implement a new Task Force on Missing and Murdered African American Women.

BCA funding includes $4.2 million for staff and technology costs to meet FBI cybersecurity
requirements, $3.7 million for salary increases and $602,000 to purchase and maintain body
cameras for special agents.

The new law also provides $876,000 to fund body cameras for DNR conservation officers and
$32,000 for Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division officer body cameras.

Several policy provisions in the law are police reform measures, including:
* requiring 911 operators to refer calls to mental health crisis teams in certain situations;
« regulating the use of no-knock warrants, effective Sept. 1, 2021;

* requiring “sign and release” warrants for certain infractions, such as missing a court appearance.
This applies to warrants issued on or after Jan. 1, 2024; and

+ mandating policy reforms and strengthening standards to improve safety for inmates and staff in
state and local correctional facilities — the Hardel Sherrell Act. This is effective Aug. 1, 2021. (Art.
2, Secs. 12,22, 50; Art. 9, Secs. 5-10, 23, 30)

Other public safety policy changes include:

« directing the state fire marshal and Department of Labor and Industry to issue building-specific
waivers for any elements of the state fire or building codes that conflict with a federally recognized
tribe’s religious beliefs, traditional building practices or established teachings;

« the state court administrator is to conduct a feasibility study on requiring the courts to order
individuals convicted of felonies to undergo a neuropsychological examination;

« establishment of a 911 telecommunicator working group to, in part, recommend standards,
training and continuing education requirements for certification of 911 telecommunicators; and

« creating a task force on aiding and abetting felony murder “to collect and analyze data on the
charging, convicting, and sentencing of people for aiding and abetting felony murder; assess
whether current laws and practices promote public safety and equity in sentencing; and make
recommendations to the legislature.” (Art. 2, Secs. 17, 19, 46-47, 53)

Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training

Of the $23.1 million the POST Board is to receive to regulate education, selection, licensing and
training standards for the state’s more than 11,800 police officers, $5.9 million is to be used to
reimburse local governments for police officer training costs.

The POST Board must use $12 million of its funds to support and strengthen law enforcement
training and implement best practices such as crisis intervention, de-escalation and cultural
competency. The “Philando Castile Memorial Training Fund” will receive another $12 million in the
2024-25 biennium.

The new law mandates several new duties and policy changes for the POST Board, including:

« personal phone numbers and email addresses of law enforcement officers is classified as private
data;

- effective Aug. 1, 2021, police chiefs must report all disciplinary actions taken against police
officers for the purpose of identifying patterns of behavior suggesting an officer is in crisis or may
violate a board-mandated model policy;

« effective Aug. 1, 2021, creation of a list of approved trainers and training courses related to police
officers responding to individuals with mental iliness or Alzheimer’s disease; and

« establishing new policies addressing the use of confidential informants by law enforcement —
Matthew'’s Law. (Art. 9, Secs. 26-30)

Corrections



The Department of Corrections will receive $1.27 billion to operate the state’s 11 prisons, of which
$931 million is for incarceration and pre-release services, $276 million for community supervision
and post-release services and $63.2 million for general operations.

Of the total Department of Corrections appropriation, the new law specifies spending:
+ $418 million for salary increases;
+ $3.2 million for ongoing technology needs;

+ $2.3 million for supplemental probation officer reimbursements to Meeker, Mille Lacs and
Renville counties;

+ $1.5 million to expand and improve oversight of jails;

+ $300,000 for a grant to a nonprofit organization to provide curriculum and corporate mentors to
inmates and assist inmates in finding meaningful employment upon release;

+ $200,000 to implement the “Healthy Start Act” to create a release program for pregnant women
and new mothers; and

+ $37,000 to provide a one-month supply of medications and a refillable prescription to inmates at
the time of their release.

New or modified policies for the Department of Corrections, each effective Aug. 1, 2021, unless
noted, include:

* requiring the department to maintain annual statistics and provide them in an annual report;

« establishing a clear process for the department to revoke a license of any correctional facility in
the state for inmate safety violations;

* requiring the department to prepare an annual report to the Legislature with statistics on inmate
deaths, the use of force, suicide attempts and other data;

+ mandating that inmate death reports must use an objective, medical expert and/or mental health
expert, assess for preventable mortality and morbidity within 90 days of death and report to the
department any recommendations for changes in policy, procedure, or training to reduce the
number of future fatalities; and

- effective July 1, 2021, limiting when harmful or deadly force can be used on an inmate, and adds
a duty to report within 24 hours if an employee witnesses an impermissible use of such force. (Art.
9,Sec. 4,7-11,16, 18)

Disaster Assistance Contingency Account

The Disaster Assistance Contingency Account was created in 2014 to provide immediate disaster
response funding without further legislative action. Prior to its creation, the Legislature would need
to convene, often in a special session, every time a disaster was declared to appropriate money
toward response efforts.

The new law appropriates $30 million to the account, but only if the fiscal year 2021 final closing
balance in the General Fund exceeds the closing balance projected at the end of the 2021 first
special legislative session by at least $30 million. (Art. 1, Sec. 21)

Taxes - 2021

First Special Session

New tax law has exemptions, aids — and a lot more than
taxes

Conforming to federal tax law concerning the Paycheck Protection Program and unemployment

benefits is only the beginning for the 2021 omnibus tax law, which covers a lot of territory that isn't
just about taxation.



Sponsored by Rep. Paul Marquart (DFL-Dilworth) and Sen. Carla Nelson (R-Rochester), the law is
estimated to produce $49.1 billion in revenue in the 2022-23 biennium and provide $4.2 billion in
refunds, aids and credits, including $761 million in new tax cuts and credits.

The biggest portion of that $761 million comes from pulling state tax law into conformity with the
federal government on tax exempt status for forgiven Paycheck Protection Program loans and
unemployment benefits up to $10,200. The Revenue Department is expected to provide guidance
to taxpayers on amending their 2020 tax returns.

Here are the chief changes to tax policy as a result of the law, along with several miscellaneous
items added in the final days of the June special session. All changes are effective for tax year
2021, except where indicated.

2021 Special Session: SSHF9*/SSSF26/CH14
Individual income and corporate franchise taxes

Among the changes the law makes to Minnesota’s individual income and corporate franchise
taxes, it:

« extends the small business investment credit (or “angel credit”) and historic structure
rehabilitation credit for one year each, effective July 1, 2021;

- establishes new state tax credits for film production (effective for tax years 2021-24) and
charitable contributions to a housing investment account at Minnesota Housing, effective for tax
years 2023-28;

+ adopts selected federal tax changes enacted by Congress since Dec. 31, 2018, including tax
provisions affecting unemployment compensation and the Paycheck Protection Program, effective
for tax year 2020;

- clarifies elements of the state’s itemized deduction for casualty losses, effective July 1, 2021;
« establishes a state subtraction for payments from charitable contributions to volunteer drivers;

- allows taxpayers ages 19 to 21 without children to qualify for the Minnesota working family
credit;

+ modifies the student loan credit calculation to reduce the marriage penalty; and

+ eliminates the state addition for section 179 carryovers for property placed into service prior to
tax year 2020. (Art. 1, Secs. 1-17)

Partnership audits

The law modifies Minnesota'’s reporting and payment requirements generated by federal audits
and assessments in response to federal changes enacted in 2015. Those changes provide for
conducting audits at the partnership level, rather than the partner level.

It also requires state reporting of federal adjustments from a partnership-level audit and allows
assessments to be paid at the entity level. All changes are effective when effective for federal
purposes. (Art. 2, Secs. 1-15)

Pass-through entity tax

The law establishes a fully refundable pass-through entity tax that allows electing pass-through
businesses to pay state income tax at the entity level and deduct this tax for federal income tax
purposes. Under federal law, taxes on pass-through income are subject to a cap on state and local
income taxes of $10,000. (Art. 3, Secs. 1-8)

Sales and use taxes

Effective July 1,2021, unless indicated otherwise, this section of the law makes several changes to
the requirement of certain vendors to remit June accelerated sales tax liabilities, and provides
exemptions for:

+ the extra price paid to sit in a “preferred viewing location” for season tickets to a college sporting
event;



« fundraising sales made by school-associated student groups;

« supplies and materials used in and equipment incorporated into construction or remodeling of
public safety facilities and other various capital projects owned by a local government; and

+ materials used in the reconstruction of properties destroyed or damaged by fire in Melrose (the
exemption expiring July 1, 2023) and Alexandria, expiring Feb. 28, 2023. (Art. 4, Secs. 1-11,13-15
and Art. 11, Sec. 46)

Vapor and tobacco taxes

The law makes conforming changes concerning the cigarette and tobacco products tax and
regulations surrounding the distribution of tobacco products. The changes, effective Jan. 1, 2022,
include:

« clarifying administrative requirements imposed on retailers and out-of-state retailers making
sales into Minnesota;

« clarifying the definition of “nicotine solution products” to include other commonly used terms for
nicotine solution product devices; and

+ amending provisions that regulate distribution of tobacco products to align with changes made in
the cigarette and tobacco taxes chapter regarding retailers and out-of-state retailers making sales
into Minnesota. (Art. 5, Secs. 1-11)

Property taxes
Changes related to property taxes include:

« authorizing the creation of fire protection and emergency medical services special taxing
districts, effective July 1, 2021;

+ exempting from property taxes approximately 35 parcels owned by the Leech Lake Band of
Ojibwe in Cass County, effective with assessment year 2021 and providing a refund of any state
general taxes paid in 2020 and 2021;

+ expanding the list of qualifying relatives for the agricultural relative homestead, effective for
property taxes payable in 2022 and thereafter;

+ moving the homestead application deadline to Dec. 31, effective with assessments in 2021;
« clarifying provisions of the Sustainable Forest Incentive Act;

» setting the first-tier valuation limit for 4d low-income rental housing property at $100,000 for
assessment years 2022 and 2023;

« increasing the commercial-industrial market value excluded from the state general tax to
$150,000, beginning with property taxes payable in 2023, and decreasing the state general levy by
$20.1 million;

+ adding a supplemental statement to the notice of proposed property taxes with the percent
change in levy proposed and summary budget information for the county, city and school district,
effective for property taxes payable in 2023 and thereafter;

« excluding veterans disability compensation from income used for the homestead credit refund
and the renter’s property tax refund, effective beginning with property taxes payable in 2022 and
rent paid in 2021;

« authorizing the use of special assessments for energy improvement projects, effective for
assessments in 2022 and thereafter;

* requiring a report on the 4d affordable housing program to be completed by Jan. 15, 2022; and

* requiring the Department of Revenue to review the process by which utility and pipeline
properties are valued, effective July 1, 2021. (Art. 6, Secs. 1-20)

Aids and credits

Among the law’s changes related to state aids are:



« transferring the portion of county program aid designated to public defender costs to the Board
of Public Defense;

« providing additions to the Lake Vermillion-Soudan Underground Mine State Park, effective July 1,
2021;

« creating a new local homeless prevention aid to counties, effective beginning with aids payable in
2023 and thereafter;

« providing supplemental aid to cities losing local government aid in 2022;
« providing a grant to the City of Floodwood in fiscal year 2022; and

« providing grants to counties affected by a pipeline property tax appeal that must be paid by Aug.
15,2021 (Art. 7, Secs. 1-7).

Local taxes
Among changes in local tax laws, the law:

« creates a definition of “capital project” for which revenues collected from a general local tax may
be used, effective July 1, 2021;

« removes the expiration of the Sartell food and beverage tax, effective July 1, 2021; and

+ authorizes general local sales taxes for Carlton County, Cloquet, Edina, Fergus Falls, Grand
Rapids, Hermantown, ltasca County, Litchfield, Little Falls, Maple Grove, Mille Lacs County,
Moorhead, Oakdale, St. Cloud, St. Peter, Staples, Wadena, Waite Park and Warren, all effective upon
city compliance with approval and notice requirements for special laws (Art. 8, Secs. 1-21).

Tax increment financing

Effective July 1, 2021, general law surrounding tax increment financing is modified by:

« providing temporary flexibility of the use of unencumbered TIF increment;

+ expanding the pooling rules to allow for expenditure of increment on certain housing projects;

+ extending the five-year rule to eight years for redevelopment districts certified after Dec. 31, 2017,
through June 30, 2020, and providing a corresponding extension of the six-year rule; and

« providing special tax increment financing authority to the cities of Bloomington, Burnsville,
Minnetonka, Mountain Lake, Ramsey, Richfield, St. Louis Park, Wayzata and Windom, effective
upon local approval and compliance with filing requirements for special laws (Art. 9, Secs. 1-12).

Public finance

The law modifies several municipal finance provisions, including allowing counties to use funds
from county transportation sales taxes for buildings and facilities used for transportation or transit
maintenance, and allowing municipalities to use street reconstruction bond proceeds to construct
bicycle lanes, sidewalks and paths that are incidental to street reconstruction (Art. 10, Secs. 1, 6).

Other provisions
Among other changes, the law:

« prohibits a sitting member of the Legislature from accepting employment or compensation for
services from any business that employs or contracts with lobbyists, government relations or
government affairs professionals, effective Jan. 3, 2023;

+ sets an expiration date for new tax expenditures of no more than eight years beyond adoption,
effective beginning with the 2022 legislative session;

« establishes a legislative Tax Expenditure Review Commission;

+ codifies an executive order recognizing the legal relationship between Tribal Nations and the
state of Minnesota;

« increases the budget reserve amount;



+ adds an incentive for the production of oriented strand board at a facility meeting certain
qualifications;

- creates a $24 million targeted community capital project grant program for nonprofit
organizations and government entities, with priority given to applicants without a history of
receiving capital grants from the state, or that represent or serve underserved communities,
effective Aug. 1, 2021;

- alters state dental reimbursement policy and requires private nonprofit hospitals to make their
lease agreements with local governments public;

* requires contractors with access to federal tax information to undergo background checks;
* requires the Department of Revenue to file a biennial tax incidence report to the Legislature;
+ makes changes to the production tax and solid waste management tax;

+ makes changes in production taxes related to iron ore;

+ authorizes the Seaway Port Authority of Duluth to form a nonprofit corporation;

- provides a $1.4 million grant to the Victoria Theater Arts Center in St. Paul;

« appropriates $250,000 in fiscal year 2022 to Explore Minnesota Tourism for a grant to the Grand
Portage Band to focus on tourism to Grand Portage;

+ authorizes the commissioners of human services or health to declare a public health disaster if
either determines that the state must take action to protect the public health as part of the state’s
response to the ongoing COVID-19 infectious disease outbreak;

* creates a working group to make recommendations to the Legislature on how to disburse $250
million in direct financial support to frontline workers;

« provides appropriations to the Department of Revenue, Legislative Coordinating Commission and
City of Biwabik;

- authorizes $6 million in grants for meat processing businesses in redevelopment areas in South
St. Paul; and

- appropriates $6.2 million to the Department of Transportation in fiscal year 2022 for project
development of a land bridge over Interstate 94 in the Rondo area of St. Paul. (Art. 11, Secs. 1-14,
16-24, 26-34, 36-38, 40-45)

Transportation - 2021
First Special Session

Omnibus transportation law appropriates billions for
infrastructure, public transit

Infrastructure, public transit and much more will receive billions of dollars in funding under the
provisions of a new law that also contains dozens of policy updates and changes.

Sponsored by Rep. Frank Hornstein (DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Scott Newman (R-Hutchinson), the
omnibus transportation law is generally effective July 1,2021.

The omnibus transportation finance and policy law appropriates $7.27 billion and includes funding
for the Department of Transportation, Department of Public Safety and the Metropolitan Council
during the upcoming 2022-23 biennium.

The funding includes $220.4 million in net General Fund spending over base during the biennium.
The total appropriations by agency are:

+ $6.49 billion for the Department of Transportation;
+ $516.3 million for the Department of Public Safety; and

+ $235.7 million for the Metropolitan Council.



[MORE: View the spreadsheet]

The law includes hundreds of millions of dollars for road and bridge work around the state, and
also makes a number of one-time General Fund appropriations above the base. Those for MnDOT
include:

+ $18 million for the Small Cities Assistance program;

+ $14 million for the Local Bridge program;

+ $12 million for town roads (above the formula-based distribution);

+ $10 million for a second daily Amtrak train between Minneapolis/St. Paul and Chicago;
+ $5.6 million for an airport runway in Karlstad;

+ $5.5 million for the Local Road Improvement program;

+ $5 million for the Safe Routes to School program (above the base appropriations of $500,000
annually);

+ $5 million for the Active Transportation program; and

+ $300,000 for a grant to the Interstate Highway 494 Corridor Commission;

One-time General Fund appropriations above base for the Metropolitan Council include:
+ $57.5 million for arterial bus rapid transit projects;

+ $250,000 for a zero-emission transit vehicle transition plan; and

+ $250,000 for an analysis of transit service in a Trunk Highway 55 corridor.

The Department of Public Safety will also receive a one-time General Fund appropriation of $14.8
million for grants to install school bus stop-arm cameras.

There is also $213 million in trunk highway bonding authorized in fiscal year 2022 and an
additional $100 million in each year of the 2024-25 biennium for the Corridors of Commerce
program. A provision in the law also revises selection criteria and requirements for the program.

The fiscal year 2022 appropriation from trunk highway bond proceeds allocates $100 million for
state road construction. It also provides $113 million for “Regional and Community Investment
Priorities,” which the Department of Transportation has indicated will be allocated:

+ $31 Million for Ramsey Gateway/U.S. Highway 10;

+ $30 million for U.S. Highway 10 in Wadena;

+ $27 million for Interstate 94 Westbound in Albertville; and
+ $25 million for U.S. Highway 212 in Carver County.

A $30.9 million General Fund appropriation to the Department of Transportation was also made for
trunk highway corridor studies and local projects. While not specified in the legislation, the projects
anticipated to be funded include:

+ $8 million for the expansion of U.S. Highway 8 from two to four lanes in Chisago County;
+ $7 million for 99th Avenue and Trunk Highway 65 in Blaine;

+ $3.5 million for a bridge over Interstate 694 in Washington County;

+ $3.03 million for Sherburne street and utility reconstruction;

+ $2.5 million for U.S. Highway 169, Trunk Highway 282 and County State Aid Highway 9 in Scott
County;

+ $2.5 million for studies of Trunk Highways 3, 77 and 55;
+ $1.5 million for a roundabout on Trunk Highway 41 in Chanhassen;

+ $1.4 million for a study of Interstate 35 in Dakota County;



+ $1 million for a study of U.S. Highway 10 in St. Cloud; and
+ $500,000 for a study of I-35 and County State Aid Highway 9 in Rice County.
Policy

The law contains a number of policy provisions meant to address public safety issues, such as
ending driver’s license suspensions for some violations including unpaid traffic tickets and fines
(effective Jan. 1, 2022), and reducing the fee for some license reinstatements, which supporters
say will allow more people to drive legally and safely.

There is also money to outfit state troopers with body cameras and for beefed up security around
the State Capitol Complex.

Some of the other notable policy provisions in the law will:

« establish that, beginning in fiscal year 2026, the amount of funding needed for Metro Mobility will
be included in the state’s budget forecasts with the expectation that program will be fully funded
moving forward;

« set school bus inspection standards to national standards;

* require MnDOT to make information on requirements and the selection process for the Safe
Routes to School program available on its website;

« direct the Department of Public Safety to implement a process to provide self-service kiosks for
motor vehicle registration renewals;

- establish a $20 fine for people who miss a driver's knowledge or road test, or cancel it within 24
hours of the appointment time (effective Nov. 1, 2021, or on completion of the necessary
programming). Requirements for who can monitor an online driver’s license knowledge test are
also modified;

+ modify fees for various types of license plates;

« clarify that electric bicycles are not defined in state statute as “off-road” or “all-terrain” or “motor”
vehicles, and create three different classifications for e-bikes based on their pedal assist top
speed;

+ reduce the maximum power of an electric bicycle motor from 1,000 to 750 watts, and set certain
equipment and labeling requirements;

- establish that bicycle lanes are part of the roadway, not the shoulder;

« require that someone appointed by the court to serve on an eminent domain property valuation
panel must reside in Minnesota;

« increase the fee for a motorcycle endorsement on a driver’s license;

+ eliminate a requirement that an appointed county highway engineer must be a citizen and
resident of Minnesota;

* require a study of speed management in work zones;

+ broaden the prohibitions list on use of Trunk Highway Fund dollars for specified purposes
(effective July 1, 2025);

* require a same-day driver’s license pilot project in Lakeville and Moorhead (effective Oct. 1, 2022);

* require state agencies to detail their proposed Trunk Highway Fund and Highway User Tax
Distribution Fund spending in their biennial budget proposals;

« prevent the Metropolitan Council from using newly authorized regional transit capital bond
proceeds for light rail transit lines or expansion;

+ change the motor vehicle sales tax revenue available to MnDOT to administer Greater Minnesota
transit from a fixed dollar amount to up to 2% of annual revenue;

« direct the Metropolitan Council to develop a zero-emission plan for its transit vehicle fleet;



« allow single-occupant vehicles to operate in MnPASS lanes during certain specified holidays;
« provide for an independent review of the MNDRIVE system'’s performance and processes;

+ allow Minneapolis to use previously authorized value capture district funds for other types of
transit lines beyond streetcars;

+ authorize the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board to set the speed limit on parkways within
the parks (effective the day after the board’s approval);

« create several new specialty license plates, including agriculture, honorary consul and Minnesota
100 club plates;

« revise the 30-day trip-permit fee to be one-twelfth the registration tax amount on trucks and
tractors; and

+ direct MnDOT to arrange a study of the impact COVD-19 has had on public transportation and
commuters, to be done by the Center for Transportation Studies at the University of Minnesota.

The law also designates new memorial highways and bridges, including:

+ a segment of Trunk Highway 13 that runs through and in the vicinity of Waseca as the “Corporal
Caleb L. Erickson Memorial Highway”;

+ a segment of U.S. Highway 12 within Howard Lake as the "Chief Daryl "Taddy" Drusch Memorial
Highway”;

+ a bridge on U.S. Highway 52, at Wentworth Avenue in West Saint Paul, as the “Private Joseph
Marthaler Memorial Bridge”;

« Trunk Highway 11 from Roseau to Warroad as the “Patrol Inspector Robert H. Lobdell Memorial
Highway”; and

« a portion of Trunk Highway 310 from Roseau to Canada, as the “Deputy Richard K. Magnuson
Memorial Highway.”
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