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SUMMARY 
Implementation of the Fire Standard Compliant (FSC) Cigarette Law, MS 299F.850-859, (See 
Appendix A) began on Dec. 1, 2008. The law required that only FSC cigarettes be sold in 
Minnesota, the 18th state to implement similar legislation. All 50 states have now enacted similar 
laws based on the same national model that also forms the basis of Minnesota’s law. 

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety State Fire Marshal Division (SFMD) certifies 
compliant cigarette brand styles. Brands must renew their compliant status to remain legal for 
sale in Minnesota. The certification process involves review of testing materials and product 
packaging for compliance with the standards established in law. 

Minnesota’s FSC law is not enforceable on tribal land. While all known manufacturers are now 
producing only FSC-certified products, some brands of non-FSC cigarettes may still be available 
from tribal sources and via Internet sales. 

In order for a product to be certified as FSC compliant, cigarette manufacturers must design, 
manufacture and test each brand style to ASTM Standard E2187-04, “Standard Test Method for 
Measuring the Ignition Strength of Cigarettes,” or an equivalent test method approved by the 
SFMD. All Minnesota products are currently certified to the ASTM standard. 

The testing standard is designed to simulate the ignition propensity of a cigarette when left 
unattended in an ashtray, or dropped on upholstered furniture or a bare mattress. These are not 
“fire-safe” cigarettes. Tossed in a trashcan with combustible materials, discarded along the 
roadway or dropped in the mulch beneath a patio deck, a lit FSC cigarette can still start a fire. 
These cigarettes are also not 100 percent safe when dropped on upholstered furniture or a 
mattress. The ASTM standard allows for a failure rate of up to 25 percent of the tested product, 
usually a sample of 40 cigarettes. 

The Minnesota law allowed an unspecified “grace period” permitting non-FSC products to be 
cleared from store shelves. Enforcement began in July of 2009 with random inspections of 
distributors, wholesalers and retail sales outlets. These inspections confirmed that all brand 
styles sold in Minnesota were in compliance with the statute. 

On average, 595 people die each year nationally in fires caused by careless use of cigarettes. Prior 
to FSC legislation, that average was around 940 fire deaths. Property damage from such fires 
causes cost millions of dollars each year. According to the most recent information reporting from 
the National Fire Protection Association, the average dollar loss nationally due to careless 
smoking was $489 million. With all 50 states having this legislation in place, data has shown 
reductions in the numbers of fire deaths and fires related to careless smoking.  

NATIONAL TESTING STANDARDS 
ASTM Standard E2187-04 is the national standard against which all FSC cigarettes are tested to 
determine the potential for a burning cigarette to ignite materials such as a mattress (without 
bedding), couch, or stuffed chair. 
 



 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Note: The photo above is provided for illustration purposes only. It is not intended to 
represent the complete application of the ASTM Standard E2187-04 testing process as it 

would be performed in a laboratory. 
 

The test is conducted by placing a burning cigarette on a test medium intended to simulate a 
mattress or other cloth covered furniture. An example of the testing process is shown above. The 
cigarette on the left, having burned to the filter, would have failed the test. The cigarette on the 
right, having self-extinguished, would have passed. 
 
The standard allows for a 25 percent failure rate. In other words, of the 20 cigarettes in a pack, five 
could fail the test and the product still be considered FSC compliant. 
 
FSC cigarettes are not intended to prevent or reduce the potential for all fires. As with any burning 
material, an FSC cigarette carelessly discarded in combustible material, such as vegetation or a trash 
can containing combustible material, retains the potential to cause a fire.  
 
EFFORTS TO REDUCE THE EFFECTS OF CARELESS SMOKING 

In 2020, the SFMD published a request for proposal (RFP) to work with a qualified responder to 
create and produce of a variety of concepts, messages and promotional media elements to advance 
fire prevention and fire safety messages. These messages will increase fire prevention and fire 
safety awareness resulting in the prevention and reduction of smoking-related fire deaths and 
injury. The selected vendor will also administer paid media buys and services.  
 
This campaign will target specific audiences using fresh and innovative creative concepts and 
communication channels/approaches to change or influence behavior in an effort to reduce and 
eventually eliminate smoking-related fire deaths in Minnesota.  
 



 

 

 

 

The majority of the efforts will be directed toward men and women over age 50 who smoke and their 
families and friends. Listed below is a breakdown of smoking-related fire deaths in Minnesota 
between 2009 and Jan. 31, 2020:  
 
• Total deaths: 98 
• Males: 54; Females: 44 
• Victims over age 50: 79 
• Deaths in seven-county metro area: 37 
• Deaths in Greater Minnesota: 61 
 
This campaign kicked off at the beginning of 2021, with messages reaching audiences across the 
state of Minnesota and a focus on the most at risk populations.  
 

DATABASE DEVELOPMENT 

Initial certifications were processed manually, which was a time-consuming procedure. In 2011, 
the SFMD implemented an online certification system. This system allowed manufacturers to 
submit initial and renewal applications with a minimum of paperwork. It has also significantly 
reduced the staff time necessary to process applications. 

The database is designed to automatically notify manufacturers of the expiration of brand style 
certifications 60, 30 and 10 days in advance of their expiration date. It also alerts SFMD personnel 
when an application is filed. When the application review and approval process is complete, a 
notice is generated to the manufacturer listing the brands and brand styles approved or rejected. 

Brand styles not renewed are moved to an expired list and removed from the list of FSC- 
certified brand styles list on the SFMD website. 

Funding for the development of this database was provided by the revenue generated by the FSC 
program fees schedule. Due to the age of this system, the SFMD is working with MnIT services 
to look to the future and how to best support this program through modern technical services.  
 

ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS 
Random inspections of retail outlets has (and will) continue to ensure that cigarettes sold in 
Minnesota are only from manufacturers who have had their brands certified. 
 
 
FIRE INCIDENT REPORTING – CIGARETTE-CAUSED BUILDING FIRES 
Information about cigarette-caused fires is obtained from the Minnesota Fire Incident Reporting 
System (MFIRS). The MFIRS report provides general information about the fire incident. 
 
Data from MFIRS for the years 2004 through 2020 was examined to determine the number of 
cigarette-caused fires in residential property where the item first ignited was one in which FSC 
products are intended to reduce the potential for ignition. 
 



 

 

 

 

 
Year 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 
Fires 29 19 20 27 28 26 21 16 15 

 
Year 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 
Fires 16 15 16 10 12 16 14 9* 

 
* 2020 data is incomplete at the time of this report 

 

 
 
This data shows a decline in the number of such fires from a high of 29 in 2004 to nine in 2020 
(preliminary but incomplete data). The FSC statute was effective December 2008. Given the grace 
period provided in statute for the sale of non-FSC products which existed until July 2009, 2010, is 
considered the first full year of the program’s implementation. 
 
Reviewing data for two five-year periods of time (one period before enactment and implementation 
of the FSC program and the other period of the most recent years), a 49.6 percent decrease in 
cigarette-caused residential building fires was noted. 
 
 

Years: Average Number of Residential Building 
Fires Caused by Cigarettes 

2004-2008 24.6 
2016-2020 12.2 

 
 
CIGARETTE-CAUSED FATALITIES 
Data from the MFIRS and the Minnesota Department of Health for the years 2008 through 2018 was 
examined to determine the number of fire fatalities where the cause of the fire was determined to be 
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careless smoking. Data shows a decline in the number of those deaths from a high of 12 in 2008 to 
five in 2018. (Note: 2018 data is considered “incomplete” until it is finalized in May 2019.  There 
are instances whereby a fire victim does not succumb to their injuries until well after the reported 
fire.) 
 
 

Year 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013  
2014 

2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020
* 

Deaths 12 10 7 10 10 6 9 9 7 11 10 10 7 
*2020 data incomplete 

 

 
 
RECOMMENDATIONS / INITIATIVES 
The SFMD submitted language to modify Minnesota State Statute 299F — Cigarette Fire Safety; specifically, 
299F.857 — Reduced Cigarette Ignition Propensity account (RCIP account) in 2019. This change in 
legislation has allowed for the use of FSC funds for the costs of development and presentation of fire and life 
safety education programs throughout Minnesota. 
 
One of the initiatives (noted previously) is a direct campaign across the state to specifically reach smokers and 
family members of smokers to reduce the risks of death, injury and loss due to smoking materials. A second 
initiative is a data analytics tool. This tool will combine demographic data along with fire loss data to create a 
resources for communities to use to analyze their own community risks related to fire. The tool will give a 
dashboard view for each community of who is at highest risk and where those residents are within the given 
community. It is expected that this online tool will be available in late 2021. 
 
CONCLUSION 
While careless smoking remains a concerning cause of building fires, particularly in residential property, 
examination of data covering the period from 2008 through 2020 shows a decline in the number of cigarette-

12

10

7

10 10

6

9 9

7

11

10 10

7

2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020

Cigarette-Caused Fire Fatalities

Fire Fatalities



 

 

 

 

caused building fires where the item first ignited was upholstered furniture or a mattress. What the data 
cannot show is the number of fires prevented by the FSC standard, since it is unlikely a property owner would 
notify the fire department of such an occurrence. 
 
No cigarette is “fire safe.” As with all fire prevention efforts, personal responsibility is the key to success. 
Smokers need constant reminders to use deep, sturdy ash trays, make certain cigarettes are extinguished, and 
never toss hot cigarette butts or ashes in a trash can. Those who smoke in the home should be reminded to 
check for cigarette butts under sofa and chair cushions, and to never smoke where oxygen is being used.  
Those who smoke outdoors must remember combustible materials, such as dry grass, leaves, and similar 
items, can be ignited by careless disposal of any smoking material.  
 
The FSC standard helps. The FSC law helps. People make the real difference. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

 

 

 

APPENDIX A 
 
299F.850 CIGARETTE FIRE SAFETY DEFINITIONS. 

Subdivision 1.Scope. 
  

The terms used in sections 299F.850 to 299F.859 have the meanings given them in this section. 
Subd. 2. Agent. 

  
"Agent" means any person licensed by the commissioner of revenue to purchase and affix 

adhesive or meter stamps on packages of cigarettes. 
Subd. 3. Cigarette. 

  
"Cigarette" means any roll for smoking made wholly or in part of tobacco, the wrapper or cover 

of which is made of paper or any other substance or material except tobacco. 
Subd. 4. Manufacturer. 

  
"Manufacturer" means: 
(1) any entity that manufactures or otherwise produces cigarettes or causes cigarettes to be 

manufactured or produced anywhere that the manufacturer intends to be sold in the state, including 
cigarettes intended to be sold in the United States through an importer; 

(2) the first purchaser anywhere that intends to resell in the United States cigarettes 
manufactured anywhere that the original manufacturer or maker does not intend to be sold in the 
United States; or 

(3) any entity that becomes a successor of an entity described in clause (1) or (2). 
Subd. 5. Quality control and quality assurance program. 

  
"Quality control and quality assurance program" means the laboratory procedures implemented 

to ensure that operator bias, systematic and nonsystematic methodological errors, and equipment-
related problems do not affect the results of the testing. This program ensures that the testing 
repeatability remains within the required repeatability values stated in section 299F.851, subdivision 
1, paragraph (g), for all test trials used to certify cigarettes in accordance with 
sections 299F.850 to 299F.859. 

Subd. 6. Repeatability. 
  

"Repeatability" means the range of values within which the repeat results of cigarette test trials 
from a single laboratory will fall 95 percent of the time. 

Subd. 7. Retail dealer. 
  

"Retail dealer" means any person, other than a wholesale dealer, engaged in selling cigarettes or 
tobacco products. 

Subd. 8. Sale. 
  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859


 

 

 

 

"Sale" means any transfer of title or possession or both, exchange or barter, conditional or 
otherwise, in any manner or by any means whatever or any agreement therefore. In addition to cash 
and credit sales, the giving of cigarettes as samples, prizes, or gifts and the exchanging of cigarettes 
for any consideration other than money, are considered sales. 

Subd. 9. Sell. 
  

"Sell" means to make a sale or to offer or agree to make a sale. 
Subd. 10. Wholesale dealer. 

  
"Wholesale dealer" means any person who (1) sells cigarettes or tobacco products to retail 

dealers or other persons for purposes of resale or (2) owns, operates, or maintains one or more 
cigarette or tobacco product vending machines in, at, or upon premises owned or occupied by any 
other person. 

 
 
Sec. 11. [299F.851] TEST METHOD AND PERFORMANCE STANDARD. 

Subdivision 1.Requirements. 
  

(a) Except as provided in this subdivision, no cigarettes may be sold or offered for sale in this 
state or offered for sale or sold to persons located in this state unless (1) the cigarettes have been 
tested in accordance with the test method and have met the performance standard specified in this 
section, (2) a written certification has been filed by the manufacturer with the state fire marshal in 
accordance with section 299F.852, and (3) the cigarettes have been marked in accordance with 
section 299F.853. 

(b) Testing of cigarettes must be conducted in accordance with the American Society of Testing 
and Materials (ASTM) Standard E2187-04, "Standard Test Method for Measuring the Ignition 
Strength of Cigarettes." 

(c) Testing must be conducted on ten layers of filter paper. 
(d) No more than 25 percent of the cigarettes tested in a test trial in accordance with this section 

may exhibit full-length burns. Forty replicate tests comprise a complete test trial for each cigarette 
tested. 

(e) The performance standard required by this subdivision must only be applied to a complete 
test trial. 

(f) Written certifications must be based upon testing conducted by a laboratory that has been 
accredited pursuant to standard ISO/IEC 17025 of the International Organization for Standardization 
(ISO), or other comparable accreditation standard required by the state fire marshal. 

(g) Laboratories conducting testing in accordance with this section shall implement a quality 
control and quality assurance program that includes a procedure that will determine the repeatability 
of the testing results. The repeatability value must be no greater than 0.19. 

(h) This subdivision does not require additional testing if cigarettes are tested consistent with 
sections 299F.850 to 299F.859 for any other purpose. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.852
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.853
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859


 

 

 

 

(i) Testing performed or sponsored by the state fire marshal to determine a cigarette's 
compliance with the performance standard required must be conducted in accordance with this 
section. 

Subd. 2. Permeability bands. 
  

Each cigarette listed in a certification submitted pursuant to section 299F.852 that uses lowered 
permeability bands in the cigarette paper to achieve compliance with the performance standard set 
forth in this section must have at least two nominally identical bands on the paper surrounding the 
tobacco column. At least one complete band must be located at least 15 millimeters from the lighting 
end of the cigarette. For cigarettes on which the bands are positioned by design, there must be at 
least two bands fully located at least 15 millimeters from the lighting end and ten millimeters from 
the filter end of the tobacco column, or ten millimeters from the labeled end of the tobacco column 
for nonfiltered cigarettes. 

Subd. 3. Equivalent test methods. 
  

A manufacturer of a cigarette that the state fire marshal determines cannot be tested in 
accordance with the test method prescribed in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), shall propose a test 
method and performance standard for the cigarette to the state fire marshal. Upon approval of the 
proposed test method and a determination by the state fire marshal that the performance standard 
proposed by the manufacturer is equivalent to the performance standard prescribed in subdivision 1, 
paragraph (d), the manufacturer may employ such test method and performance standard to certify 
the cigarette pursuant to section 299F.852. If the state fire marshal determines that another state has 
enacted reduced cigarette ignition propensity standards that include a test method and performance 
standard that are the same as those contained in this subdivision, and the state fire marshal finds that 
the officials responsible for implementing those requirements have approved the proposed 
alternative test method and performance standard for a particular cigarette proposed by a 
manufacturer as meeting the fire safety standards of that state's law or regulation under a legal 
provision comparable to this subdivision, then the state fire marshal shall authorize that 
manufacturer to employ the alternative test method and performance standard to certify that cigarette 
for sale in this state, unless the state fire marshal demonstrates a reasonable basis why the alternative 
test should not be accepted under sections 299F.850 to 299F.859. All other applicable requirements 
of this section apply to the manufacturer. 

Subd. 4. Civil penalty. 
  

Each manufacturer shall maintain copies of the reports of all tests conducted on all cigarettes 
offered for sale for a period of three years, and shall make copies of these reports available to the 
state fire marshal and the attorney general upon written request. Any manufacturer who fails to make 
copies of these reports available within 60 days of receiving a written request is subject to a civil 
penalty not to exceed $10,000 for each day after the 60th day that the manufacturer does not make 
such copies available. 

Subd. 5. Future ASTM Standards. 
  

The state fire marshal may, by written order published in the State Register, adopt a subsequent 
ASTM Standard Test Method for Measuring the Ignition Strength of Cigarettes upon a finding that 
the subsequent method does not result in a change in the percentage of full-length burns exhibited by 
any tested cigarette when compared to the percentage of full-length burns the same cigarette would 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.852
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.852
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859


 

 

 

 

exhibit when tested in accordance with ASTM Standard E2187-04 and the performance standard in 
subdivision 1, paragraph (d). A determination by the state fire marshal under this subdivision is 
exempt from the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14, and section 14.386 does not apply. 

Subd. 6. Report to legislature. 
  

The state fire marshal shall review the effectiveness of this section and report findings every 
three years to the legislature and, if appropriate, make recommendations for legislation to improve 
the effectiveness of this section. The report and legislative recommendations must be submitted no 
later than January 2 of each three-year period. 

Subd. 7. Inventory before state standards. 
  

The requirements of subdivision 1 do not prohibit wholesale or retail dealers from selling their 
existing inventory of cigarettes on or after December 1, 2008, if the wholesale or retail dealer can 
establish that state tax stamps were affixed to the cigarettes before December 1, 2008, and if the 
wholesale or retail dealer can establish that the inventory was purchased before December 1, 2008, 
in comparable quantity to the inventory purchased during the same period of the previous year. 

Subd. 8. Implementation. 
  

This section must be implemented in accordance with the implementation and substance of the 
New York "Fire Safety Standards for Cigarettes." 

Sec. 12. [299F.852] CERTIFICATION AND PRODUCT CHANGE. 
Subdivision 1.Attestation. 

  
Each manufacturer shall submit to the state fire marshal a written certification attesting that 

each cigarette listed in the certification: 
(1) has been tested in accordance with section 299F.851; and 
(2) meets the performance standard set forth in section 299F.851, subdivision 1, paragraph (d). 
Subd. 2. Description. 

  
Each cigarette listed in the certification must be described with the following information: 
(1) brand or trade name on the package; 
(2) style, such as light or ultra light; 
(3) length in millimeters; 
(4) circumference in millimeters; 
(5) flavor, such as menthol or chocolate, if applicable; 
(6) filter or nonfilter; 
(7) package description, such as soft pack or box; 
(8) marking approved in accordance with section 299F.853; 
(9) the name, address, and telephone number of the laboratory, if different than the 

manufacturer that conducted the test; and 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.386
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851#stat.299F.851.1
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.853


 

 

 

 

(10) the date that the testing occurred. 
Subd. 3. Information availability. 

  
The certifications must be made available to the attorney general for purposes consistent with 

this section and the commissioner of revenue for the purposes of ensuring compliance with this 
subdivision. 

Subd. 4. Recertification. 
  

Each cigarette certified under this subdivision must be recertified every three years. 
Subd. 5. Fee. 

  
For each cigarette listed in a certification, a manufacturer shall pay to the state fire marshal a 

$250 fee, to be deposited in the reduced cigarette ignition propensity account described in 
section 299F.857. 

§ 
Subd. 6. Retesting. 

  
If a manufacturer has certified a cigarette pursuant to this section, and thereafter makes any 

change to the cigarette that is likely to alter its compliance with the reduced cigarette ignition 
propensity standards required by sections 299F.850 to 299F.859, that cigarette must not be sold or 
offered for sale in this state until the manufacturer retests the cigarette in accordance with the testing 
standards set forth in section 299F.851 and maintains records of that retesting as required by 
section 299F.851. Any altered cigarette that does not meet the performance standard set forth in 
section 299F.851 may not be sold in this state. 

 
Sec. 13. [299F.853] MARKING AND CIGARETTE PACKAGING. 

(a) Cigarettes that are certified by a manufacturer in accordance with section 299F.852 must be 
marked to indicate compliance with the requirements of section 299F.851. The marking must be in 
eight-point type or larger and consist of: 

(1) modification of the product UPC code to include a visible mark printed at or around the area 
of the UPC code, which may consist of alphanumeric or symbolic characters permanently stamped, 
engraved, embossed, or printed in conjunction with the UPC; 

(2) any visible combination of alphanumeric or symbolic characters permanently stamped, 
engraved, or embossed upon the cigarette package or cellophane wrap; or 

(3) printed, stamped, engraved, or embossed text that indicates that the cigarettes meet the 
standards of sections 299F.850 to 299F.859. 

(b) A manufacturer shall use only one marking and shall apply this marking uniformly for all 
brands marketed by that manufacturer and all packages, including but not limited to packs, cartons, 
and cases. 

(c) The state fire marshal must be notified as to the marking that is selected. 
(d) Prior to the certification of any cigarette, a manufacturer shall present its proposed marking 

to the state fire marshal for approval. Upon receipt of the request, the state fire marshal shall approve 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.857
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.852#stat.299F.852.6
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.852
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.850
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.859


 

 

 

 

or disapprove the marking offered, except that the state fire marshal shall approve any marking in 
use and approved for sale in New York pursuant to the New York "Fire Safety Standards for 
Cigarettes." Proposed markings are deemed approved if the state fire marshal fails to act within ten 
business days of receiving a request for approval. 

(e) No manufacturer shall modify its approved marking unless the modification has been 
approved by the state fire marshal in accordance with this section. 

(f) Manufacturers certifying cigarettes in accordance with section 299F.852 shall provide a 
copy of the certifications to all wholesale dealers and agents to which they sell cigarettes, and shall 
also provide sufficient copies of an illustration of the package marking utilized by the manufacturer 
pursuant to this section for each retail dealer to which the wholesale dealers or agents sell cigarettes. 
Wholesale dealers and agents shall provide a copy of these package markings received from 
manufacturers to all retail dealers to whom they sell cigarettes. Wholesale dealers, agents, and retail 
dealers shall permit the state fire marshal, the commissioner of revenue, the attorney general, and 
their employees to inspect markings of cigarette packaging marked in accordance with this section. 

    Sec. 14. [299F.854] PENALTIES AND REMEDIES. 
Subdivision 1.Wholesale. 

  
(a) A manufacturer, wholesale dealer, agent, or any other person or entity who knowingly sells 

or offers to sell cigarettes, other than through retail sale, in violation of section 299F.851 is liable to 
a civil penalty: 

(1) for a first offense, not to exceed $10,000 per each sale of such cigarettes; and 
(2) for a subsequent offense, not to exceed $25,000 per each sale of such cigarettes. 
(b) However, the penalty against any such person or entity for a violation under paragraph (a) 

must not exceed $100,000 during any 30-day period. 
Subd. 2.Retail. 

  
(a) A retail dealer who knowingly sells cigarettes in violation of section 299F.851 is liable to a 

civil penalty for a first offense, not to exceed: 
(1) $500, and for a subsequent offense, not to exceed $2,000, per each sale or offer for sale of 

such cigarettes, if the total number sold or offered for sale does not exceed 1,000 cigarettes; or 
(2) $1,000, and for a subsequent offense, not to exceed $5,000, per each sale or offer for sale of 

such cigarettes, if the total number sold or offered for sale exceeds 1,000 cigarettes. 
(b) However, the penalty against any retail dealer must not exceed $25,000 during any 30-day 

period. 
Subd. 3. False certification. 

  
In addition to any penalty prescribed by law, any corporation, partnership, sole proprietor, 

limited partnership, or association engaged in the manufacture of cigarettes that knowingly makes a 
false certification pursuant to this subdivision is, for a first offense, liable to a civil penalty of at least 
$75,000, and for a subsequent offense a civil penalty not to exceed $250,000 for each false 
certification. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.852
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299F.851


 

 

 

 

Subd. 4. Violation of other provision. 
  

Any person violating any other provision in sections 299F.850 to 299F.859 is liable to a civil 
penalty for a first offense not to exceed $1,000, and for a subsequent offense a civil penalty not to 
exceed $5,000, for each violation. 

Subd. 5. Forfeiture. 
  

Cigarettes that have been sold or offered for sale that do not comply with the performance 
standard required by section 299F.851 are subject to forfeiture under section 297F.21 and, upon 
judgment of forfeiture, shall be destroyed; provided, however, that before destroying any cigarettes 
seized in accordance with section 297F.21, which seizure is hereby authorized, the true holder of the 
trademark rights in the cigarette brand must be permitted to inspect the cigarette. 

§ 
Subd. 6. Remedies. 

  
In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the state fire marshal or attorney general may 

institute a civil action in district court for a violation of this section, including petitioning for 
injunctive relief or to recover any costs or damages suffered by the state because of a violation under 
this section, including enforcement costs relating to the specific violation and attorney fees. Each 
violation of sections 299F.850 to 299F.859 or of rules adopted under 
sections 299F.850 to 299F.859 constitutes a separate civil violation for which the state fire marshal 
or attorney general may obtain relief. 
 
    Sec. 15. [299F.855] IMPLEMENTATION. 
    Subdivision 1. Rules. The commissioner of public safety, in consultation with the  
state fire marshal, may adopt rules, pursuant to chapter 14, necessary to effectuate the  
purposes of sections 299F.850 to 299F.859. 
    Subd. 2. Commissioner of revenue. The commissioner of revenue in the regular  
course of conducting inspections of wholesale dealers, agents, and retail dealers, as  
authorized under chapter 297F, may inspect cigarettes to determine if the cigarettes are  
marked as required by section 299F.853. If the cigarettes are not marked as required, the 
commissioner of revenue shall notify the state fire marshal. 
 
    Sec. 16. [299F.856] INSPECTION. 
    To enforce sections 299F.850 to 299F.859, the attorney general and the state fire  
marshal may examine the books, papers, invoices, and other records of any person in  
possession, control, or occupancy of any premises where cigarettes are placed, stored,  
sold, or offered for sale, as well as the stock of cigarettes on the premises. Every person in the 
possession, control, or occupancy of any premises where cigarettes are placed, sold, or offered for 
sale is hereby directed and required to give the attorney general and the state fire marshal the means, 
facilities, and opportunity for the examinations authorized by this section. 
 
    Sec. 17. [299F.857] REDUCED CIGARETTE IGNITION PROPENSITY  
ACCOUNT. 
    The reduced cigarette ignition propensity account is established in the state treasury. The account 
consists of all money recovered as penalties under section 299F.854 and fees collected under 
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section 299F.852, subdivision 5. The money must be deposited to the credit of the account and, in 
addition to any other money made available for such purpose, is appropriated to the state fire 
marshal for costs associated with the development and presentation of fire and life safety education 
programs throughout Minnesota, and all costs associated with sections 299F.850 to 299F.859. 
 
    Sec. 18. [299F.858] SALE OUTSIDE OF MINNESOTA. 
    Sections 299F.850 to 299F.859 do not prohibit any person or entity from  
manufacturing or selling cigarettes that do not meet the requirements of section 299F.851 if the 
cigarettes are or will be stamped for sale in another state or are packaged for sale outside the United 
States and that person or entity has taken reasonable steps to ensure that such cigarettes will not be 
sold or offered for sale to persons located in Minnesota. 
 
    Sec. 19. [299F.859] LOCAL REGULATION. 
    Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the local governmental units of this state  
may neither enact nor enforce any ordinance or other local law or regulation conflicting  
with, or preempted by, any provision of sections 299F.850 to 299F.858 or with any policy of this 
state expressed by sections 299F.850 to 299F.858, whether that policy be expressed by inclusion of a 
provision in sections 299F.850 to 299F.858 or by exclusion of that subject from sections 299F.850 to 
299F.858. 
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