This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library
as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. https://www.Irl.mn.gov

MN HOUSE MinnesotaCare
RESEARCH September 2021

Overview

MinnesotaCare is a program that provides subsidized health coverage to eligible
Minnesotans. It is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services under
federal guidance as a Basic Health Program under the Affordable Care Act. This publication
describes eligibility requirements, covered services, and other aspects of the program.
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Note: Individuals who have questions about MinnesotaCare eligibility or are interested in
applying for MinnesotaCare should contact the Department of Human Services MinnesotaCare
office at 800-657-3672 or 651-297-3862 or their local county or tribal human services office.

Administration

MinnesotaCare is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) as a
Basic Health Program (BHP), a state coverage option authorized by the federal Affordable Care
Act (ACA). DHS, in cooperation with MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange, is
responsible for processing applications and determining eligibility for MinnesotaCare. DHS is
also responsible for contracting with participating entities for the provision of MinnesotaCare
services, complying with federal BHP requirements, and submitting an annual report to the
federal government documenting compliance with these requirements.

The federal government is responsible for certifying state BHPs, ensuring state compliance with
federal laws, regulations, and guidance related to the BHP, and reviewing state compliance at
least annually.

Applicants can apply for MinnesotaCare coverage online through the Minnesota eligibility
system, defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 62V.055, subdivision 1, and also referred to as
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the Minnesota Eligibility Technology System (METS).! Paper applications may also be submitted,
and application assistance is available from county agencies, community organizations serving
as navigators, and other entities.

MinnesotaCare as Basic Health Program

The MinnesotaCare program has operated as a BHP since January 1, 2015. In compliance with
federal requirements for a BHP, MinnesotaCare provides health coverage to persons with
incomes greater than 133 percent but not exceeding 200 percent of Federal Poverty Guidelines
(FPG). States operating a BHP (Minnesota and New York) receive a federal payment under that
program intended to reflect the amount the federal government would otherwise spend on
subsidies had the BHP enrollees received coverage through the state’s insurance exchange. BHP
coverage must include at least the essential health benefits included in qualified health plans
that are offered through the state’s insurance exchange. Premiums for a BHP enrollee must not
exceed the amount the enrollee would otherwise pay for qualified health plan coverage
through the exchange, after application of advanced premium tax credits.

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, individuals must meet income limits, not be eligible for MA,
and satisfy other requirements related to residency and lack of access to other health
insurance. Enrollees are required to renew their MinnesotaCare eligibility annually each
January.?

Most MinnesotaCare enrollees are parents and caretakers, children ages 19 to 20, and adults
without children. Most children under age 19 and pregnant women are eligible for Medical
Assistance (MA) and therefore, under MinnesotaCare eligibility criteria, are not eligible for
MinnesotaCare.

Income Limits

MinnesotaCare coverage is available to persons with incomes greater than 133 percent of FPG
but not exceeding 200 percent of FPG, if other program eligibility requirements are met. Certain
groups of individuals with incomes that are below the MinnesotaCare income floor may be
eligible for the program, if they are legal noncitizens not eligible for MA or are not eligible for
MA due to excess income.? In addition, lawfully present noncitizens ineligible for MA due to

1n addition to being used for MinnesotaCare eligibility determination, METS is used by county human service
agencies to determine MA eligibility for families and children, pregnant women, and adults without children.

2 The 2016 Legislature required eligibility to be renewed every 12 months, based on the enrollee’s month of
application. The federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) did not approve this change, and also
did not approve state requests to base eligibility on current rather than projected income, and to adjust
MinnesotaCare income limits each July 1, rather than each January 1. The 2021 Legislature made changes in
MinnesotaCare eligibility provisions, to conform to these denials by CMS (see Laws 2021, chapter 30, article 1,
sections 19 to 21).

3 These are generally groups of individuals with incomes greater than the MA income limit but less than the
MinnesotaCare income floor, due to differences in how the two programs calculate income. The groups include
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immigration status, with household incomes not exceeding 200 percent of FPG, are eligible for
MinnesotaCare.*

Table 1 lists the minimum and maximum program income limits for different family sizes.

Table 1
Annual Household Income Limits for MinnesotaCare
(For CY 2021 Coverage)

Household Size 133% of FPG 200% of FPG
1 $16,970 $25,520
2 22,929 34,480
3 28,887 43,440
4 34,846 52,400

Each additional person

2dd 5,958 8,960

Note: Federal regulations require that states use the FPG figures that applied during open
enrollment to determine eligibility for coverage in the coming calendar year. The FPG
figures in this table used to determine eligibility for 2021 coverage are therefore based on
the 2020 FPG figures.

Modified adjusted gross income (MAGI)® is the income methodology used to determine
eligibility for MinnesotaCare applicants and enrollees. The use of MAGI is required by the ACA
for state basic health programs.

Asset Limits

There are no asset limits for MinnesotaCare enrollees.

children under age 19 living with two unmarried parents, persons with lump sum or sponsor income, or persons
whose current income (used under MA) differs from projected income (used under MinnesotaCare). If a person’s
income, calculated using MinnesotaCare methodology, is less than 100 percent of FPG, the person may be
eligible for MA. If a person’s income calculated using MinnesotaCare methodology is greater than or equal to 100
percent of FPG but does not exceed 133 percent of FPG, the person may be eligible for MinnesotaCare.

4 These lawfully present noncitizens are generally nonpregnant adults falling under certain immigration
classifications who have resided in the United States for less than five years.

5 MAGI is defined as adjusted gross income increased by: (1) foreign earned income and foreign housing expenses;
(2) tax-exempt interest; and (3) an amount equal to the value of Social Security benefits not subject to tax. (I.R.C.
§ 36B)
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Not Eligible for Medical Assistance (MA)

Persons who are eligible for MA are not eligible for MinnesotaCare.®

No Access to Subsidized Health Coverage

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, a family or individual must not have access to employer-
subsidized health coverage that is affordable and provides minimum value, as defined in federal
regulations.” These regulations define coverage as “affordable” for an employee and related
individuals, if the portion of the annual premium the employee must pay for self-only coverage
does not exceed 9.83 percent of income for 2021.8 Effective January 1, 2023, under an
exception to the federal definition of affordability, affordability will be calculated based on the
amount the employee pays for both employee and dependent coverage.® Coverage provides
“minimum value” if it pays for at least 60 percent of medical expenses on average.

A family or individual is not eligible for MinnesotaCare if they are enrolled in employer-
subsidized coverage, even if this coverage does not meet the affordability and minimum value
standards.

No Other Health Coverage

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, a family or individual must not be enrolled in minimum
essential health coverage, as defined in the Internal Revenue Code. The Internal Revenue Code
defines minimum essential coverage as coverage under government-sponsored programs
(including but not limited to Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE and other coverage for members of
the armed services, and veterans health benefits), coverage under an employer-sponsored
plan, individual market coverage, coverage under a grandfathered health plan,*® and other
coverage recognized by the federal government.

A family or individual is also not eligible for MinnesotaCare if they have access to certain types
of minimum essential coverage, even if they are not enrolled.

6 The vast majority of pregnant women and children under age 19 are covered under MA rather than
MinnesotaCare, given this requirement and because the MA income limit for these eligibility groups (278 percent
and 275 percent of FPG respectively) is higher than the MinnesotaCare income limit (200 percent of FPG).

7 See Code of Federal Regulations, title 26, section 1.36B-2.
8 This percentage is indexed annually; the percentage for 2020 used by DHS was 9.78.

9 See Laws 2021 First Special Session chapter 7, article 1, section 27. This provision addresses what some have
referred to as the “family glitch,” by allowing employees and dependents (spouses and children) who are not
eligible for advance premium tax credits under the ACA and also not eligible for MinnesotaCare under prior law
(because the cost of employee-only coverage meets the federal definition of affordability), to be eligible for
MinnesotaCare.

10 Under the ACA, most health insurance plans that existed on March 23, 2010, are eligible for grandfathered
status. Grandfathered plans do not have to meet all of the ACA requirements related to the regulation of health
insurance. However, grandfathered status is lost and compliance with the ACA is required, if significant changes
are made to the plan’s benefits or premiums and cost-sharing.
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Residency Requirement

MinnesotaCare enrollees must meet the residency requirements of the Medicaid program. The
Medicaid program generally requires an individual to live in Minnesota and demonstrate intent
to reside, or to have entered the state with a job commitment or to seek employment. The
Medicaid program does not include a durational residency requirement (a requirement that an
individual live in a state for a specified period of time before applying for the program).

Benefits

MinnesotaCare covers most, but not all, services eligible for reimbursement under MA.
Children and pregnant women are covered for a wider range of services than adults who are
not pregnant. Covered services are listed in Table 2.

Table 2
Covered Services under MinnesotaCare

Children and pregnant Adults who are not

Service a
women pregnant

>

X
X

Acupuncture

Adult mental health rehab/crisis

>

Alcohol/drug treatment

Child and teen checkups

Chiropractic

Dental®

Emergency room

Eye exams

Eyeglasses

Family planning

Hearing aids

Home care

Hospice care

Hospital stay

Hospital care coordination
Immunizations
Interpreters (hearing, language)

Lab, x-ray, diagnostic

X | X X | X | X X | X | X X | X | X | X | X X X |X|XxX X

X | X X | X | X X | X | X X | X | X X | X | X X

Medical equipment and supplies
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Service Children and pregnant Adults who arae not
women pregnant
Mental health X X
Mental health case management X X
Nursing facility care X —
Outpatient surgical center X X
Personal care assistance (PCA) X —
Physicians and clinics X X
Physicals/preventive care X X
Prescriptions X X
Rehabilitative therapies X X
Transportation: emergency X X
Transportation: nonemergency X —

2 Benefit limitations and cost-sharing requirements apply.

b MinnesotaCare covers the dental services covered under MA. MA coverage of dental services for adults who
are not pregnant (and therefore MinnesotaCare coverage of dental services for this category of individuals) is

limited to specified services (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 9).

Cost-sharing for Adults

House Research Department

Adults who are not pregnant are subject to the following cost-sharing requirements.™

Table 3

Cost-sharing Requirements under MinnesotaCare

Service Cost
Inpatient hospital admission $250
Ambulatory surgery (per surgery) $100
Emergency room visit (that does not result in an $75
admission)
Nonpreventive office visit (does not apply to $25
mental health services)
Radiology visit $40
Eyeglasses $25

11 The commissioner is required to adjust MinnesotaCare cost-sharing in a manner sufficient to maintain the
actuarial value of the MinnesotaCare benefit at 94 percent. Actuarial value is an estimate of the percentage of
medical expenses incurred by a typical enrollee that will on average be paid by the insurer.
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Service Cost
Prescription drugs (generic/brand name — does not $7/525
apply to certain mental health drugs)
Prescription drug out-of-pocket monthly maximum $70
Nonroutine dental services visit $15
Durable medical equipment (applies to the price 10%

the state or participating entity pays for the item)

Children under age 21 and American Indians are not subject to cost-sharing under

MinnesotaCare.

Enrollee Premiums

Sliding Premium Scale

MinnesotaCare enrollees age 21 and older pay monthly, per-person premiums based upon the
sliding scale specified in Table 4. The premiums for 2021 and 2022 are lower than the premiums
applied in 2020. This premium reduction was necessary for the state to comply with the federal
requirement that BHP premiums not exceed what an individual receiving premium tax credits
would otherwise have paid, after receipt of any premium tax credits, when purchasing health
coverage through a state’s insurance exchange (the federal American Rescue Plan of 2021
increased premium tax credits and thereby reduced the amount that individuals receiving

premium tax credits would pay for coverage through an exchange).

Table 4

Sliding Premium Scale

Individual Premium

Individual Premium Amount

Federal Poverty Guidelines 2020 Amount
2021 and 2022
0-34% 0 0
35-54% S4 0
55-79% $6 0
80 -89% S8 0
90 -99% $10 0
100 -109% $12 0
110-119% $14 0
120-129% $15 0
130-139% s16 0
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Individual Premium

Individual Premium Amount
Amount

Federal Poverty Guidelines

2020
2021 and 2022

140 - 149% 825 0
150 - 159% 837 0
160 —169% S44 sS4
170 -179% $52 $9
180 - 189% $61 815
190 - 199% $71 $21

200% $80 828

See Minn. Stat. § 256L.15, subd. 2.

Premium Exemptions

The following groups of individuals are exempt from MinnesotaCare premiums:

= Persons with household income less than 160 percent of FPG (exemption applies for
2021 and 2022) and persons from households in which a household member has
received or been approved to receive unemployment compensation for any week in
2021 (exemption applies for 2021)

=  Children under age 21
= American Indians and Alaska Natives, and members of their households

=  Members of the military and their families who are determined eligible for
MinnesotaCare within 24 months of the end of the member’s tour of active duty

Nonpayment of Premiums

The commissioner is prohibited from collecting unpaid MinnesotaCare premiums for any
coverage month that occurred during the federal COVID-19 public health emergency.?

In general, for time periods that do not fall within the federal public health emergency,
nonpayment of premiums results in disenrollment from MinnesotaCare coverage, effective the
calendar month following the month for which the premium was due. Persons who end their
MinnesotaCare coverage therefore receive a “grace” month. Persons who decide to re-enroll in
MinnesotaCare following disenrollment generally must pay premiums to cover this grace
month, except that no premium for the grace month is required for persons re-enrolling in
coverage that begins in the fourth month following disenrollment.

12 5ee Laws 2021 First Special Session chapter 7, article 1, section 36, paragraph (a). These premiums will not be
owed or collected following the end of the federal emergency.
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Prepaid MinnesotaCare

The Commissioner of Human Services contracts on a prepaid basis with participating entities to
deliver health care services to MinnesotaCare enrollees. Participating entities may include
health maintenance organizations and other health carriers, county-based purchasing plans,
certain accountable care organizations and county-integrated health care delivery networks,
and networks of health care providers (see definition in Minn. Stat. § 256L.01, subd. 7).

MinnesotaCare enrollees receive health care services from these participating entities, rather
than through a fee-for-service system. Participating entities receive a capitated payment from
DHS for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, and in return are required to provide enrollees with all
covered health care services for a set period of time.

The 2014 Legislature required DHS to enter into contracts, as part of a statewide competitive
procurement, with participating entities to serve MinnesotaCare and MA enrollees, beginning
January 1, 2016. The ACA requires MinnesotaCare, as a BHP, to offer enrollees a choice of at
least two participating entities in each county.

In January 2021, DHS issued a request for proposals to select participating entities to serve
MinnesotaCare and MA enrollees in the seven-county metropolitan area, beginning in calendar
year 2022. DHS plans to issue an RFP in January 2022, to serve MinnesotaCare and MA
enrollees in Greater Minnesota beginning in calendar year 2023.

Funding and Expenditures

Since January 1, 2015, the state has received a federal BHP payment for each MinnesotaCare
enrollee. The payment was initially equal to 95 percent of the advanced premium tax credits
and cost-sharing reductions the person would have received through MNsure, the state’s
health insurance exchange, had the state not operated MinnesotaCare as a BHP.** This BHP
payment has replaced the federal match that had been received through December 31, 2014,
for MinnesotaCare enrollees under the Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus (PMAP+)
waiver. Federal BHP funding was $395.6 million for fiscal year 2020 and is projected to be
$522.3 million for fiscal year 2021.

13 Beginning in CY 2018, the federal government excluded the value of forgone cost-sharing reductions when
calculating state basic health program payments. Minnesota and New York filed suit over this change. The lawsuit
was later withdrawn and Minnesota and New York accepted a revised payment method that increased the
amount each state received related to advanced premium tax credits by about two-thirds of the basic health
program funds that would have been lost through the exclusion of cost-sharing reduction payments from the
payment formula.

14 The Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus or PMAP+ waiver was initially approved by the federal government
in April 1995. The waiver exempts Minnesota from various federal requirements and gives the state greater
flexibility to expand access to health care through the MA program. Earlier versions of the waiver allowed the
state to receive a federal match for the cost of services provided to MinnesotaCare enrollees. The PMAP+ waiver
was temporarily extended by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) through December
31, 2021, to allow the state and CMS to continue to work on a waiver extension.
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State-only funding is used to pay for coverage of MinnesotaCare enrollees who are Deferred
Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) grantees, or are age 65 and over and not eligible for
Medicare.*

Total payments for health care services provided through MinnesotaCare were $452.6 million
in fiscal year 2020. Just under 6 percent of this amount was paid for through state payments
from the health care access fund. The remainder was paid from federal BHP funding, enrollee
premiums (this category also includes enrollee cost-sharing), and a small amount of federal
funding received under the PMAP+ waiver.

Funding for the state share of MinnesotaCare costs, and for other health care access initiatives,
is provided by:

= A 1.8 percent tax on the gross revenues of health care providers, hospitals, surgical
centers, and wholesale drug distributors (sometimes referred to as the “provider
tax”); and

= A 1.0 percent premium tax on health maintenance organizations and nonprofit
health service plan corporations.

Medicare payments to providers are excluded from gross revenues for purposes of the gross
revenues taxes. Other specified payments, including payments for nursing home services, are
also excluded from gross revenues.

15 DACA grantees are noncitizens who came to the United States as children and meet specified criteria such as
having arrived in the United States before turning 16 and being under age 31 as of June 15, 2012. MinnesotaCare
has covered DACA grantees since January 1, 2017 (see DHS bulletin 16-21-12 — DHS Announces MinnesotaCare
Eligibility for Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) Grantees). Persons age 65 and older are not eligible
for federal BHP funding.
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MinnesotaCare Funding
(FY 2020)

Enrollee Premiums
and Cost Sharing
6.8%

Federal Basic Health
Program Funding

87.4% State Cost 5.8%

This graph does not include $15,563 of federal funding received under the PMAP+ waiver.
Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division, Background Data Tables for February 2021 Forecast

The tax rate on health care providers can be reduced, if the Commissioner of Management and
Budget determines by December 1 of each year that the ratio of revenues to expenditures and
transfers for the health care access fund for the biennium will exceed 125 percent. If this
determination is made, the commissioner must reduce the rate so that the projected ratio of
revenues to expenditures and transfers for the biennium will not exceed 125 percent. Any rate
reduction expires after one year and the future rate is subject to annual redetermination by the
commissioner.

The MinnesotaCare tax on the gross revenues of health care providers was reduced from 2.0

percent to 1.8 percent, effective for gross revenues received after December 31, 2019.%¢

Recipient Profile

As of July 2021, 103,687 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program. A majority of
enrollees (about 53 percent) were adults without children and about 42 percent of enrollees

16 See Laws of Minnesota, 2019 First Special Session chapter 6, article 9, sections 2 to 6.
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were mainly parents and children ages 19 and 20 (most children 18 and under are eligible for
MA). The remaining enrollees were enrollees covered under state-only funded MinnesotaCare.

MinnesotaCare Enrollment
(July 2021)

Adults without Children 52.9%

State-only Funded Enrollees 5.5%

Parents and Children
41.6%

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division, Monthly MinnesotaCare Program Enrollment Counts Statewide and by
County

Application Procedure

There are several ways to obtain MinnesotaCare application forms and to apply for
MinnesotaCare coverage. These include the following:

= Applying for MinnesotaCare through MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange
(1-855-366-7873 or online at www.mnsure.org)
= (Calling DHS directly at 1-800-657-3672 or 651-297-3862 (in the metro area)

= Obtaining application forms through county social service agencies, health care
provider offices, and other sites in the community, or from the DHS website

M N H O U S E Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and
information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document

R E S E A R C H can be made available in alternative formats.

www.house.mn/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155
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