This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/lrl.asp DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Annual Report on the Status of Acquisition and Resale of Seized Property Program Reporting Period: January 2020 - December 2020 March 1, 2021

Minnesota Department of Revenue 600 Robert St. N, St. Paul, MN 55101 651-556-6003 revenue@state.mn.us

https://www.revenue.state.mn.us/minnesota-department-revenue

Upon request, this material will be made available in an alternative format such as large print, Braille or audio recording. Printed on recycled paper.



March 1, 2021

The Honorable Paul Marquart Chair, House Taxes Committee 597 State Office Building

The Honorable Greg Davids Minority Lead, House Taxes Committee 283 State Office Building

The Honorable Rena Moran Chair, House Ways and Means Committee 449 State Office Building

The Honorable Pat Garofalo Minority Lead, House Ways and Means Committee 295 State Office Building The Honorable Carla J. Nelson Chair, Senate Taxes Committee 3225 MN Senate Building

The Honorable Ann Rest Minority Lead, Senate Taxes Committee 2217 MN Senate Building

The Honorable Julie Rosen Chair, Senate Finance Committee 2113 MN Senate Building

The Honorable John Marty Minority Lead, Senate Finance Committee 2301 MN Senate Building

## Dear Committee Chairs:

Minnesota Statute 270C.711 requests the Department of Revenue to provide an annual report on the status of the Acquisition and Resale of Seized Property Program. Under this program, the department will seize a debtor's assets after thorough consideration of the particular situation to ensure the seizure is appropriate and in the State's best interest.

During the timeframe of this report, we received credits totaling \$11.71 from utility companies after the sales of the real property referenced in the March 16, 2020 report when the purchaser transferred the ownership of the utility accounts.

Sincerely,

Justin Nieman

**Assistant Commissioner**