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Overview

MinnesotaCare is a program that provides subsidized health coverage to eligible
Minnesotans. It is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services under
federal guidance as a Basic Health Program under the Affordable Care Act. This publication
describes eligibility requirements, covered services, and other aspects of the program.
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Note: Individuals who have questions about MinnesotaCare eligibility or are interested in
applying for MinnesotaCare should contact their local county or tribal human services office, or
MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange, at 1-855-366-7873.

Administration

MinnesotaCare is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) as a
Basic Health Program (BHP), a state coverage option authorized by the federal Affordable Care
Act (ACA). DHS, in cooperation with MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange, is
responsible for processing applications and determining eligibility for MinnesotaCare. DHS is
also responsible for contracting with participating entities for the provision of MinnesotaCare
services, complying with federal BHP requirements, and submitting an annual report to the
federal government documenting compliance with these requirements.

The federal government is responsible for certifying state BHPs, ensuring state compliance with
federal laws, regulations, and guidance related to the BHP, and reviewing state compliance at
least annually.

Applicants can apply for MinnesotaCare coverage online through the Minnesota eligibility
system, defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 62V.055, subdivision 1, and also referred to
as
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the Minnesota Eligibility Technology System (METS).! Paper applications may also be submitted,
and application assistance is available from county agencies, community organizations serving
as navigators, and other entities.

MinnesotaCare as Basic Health Program

The MinnesotaCare program has operated as a BHP since January 1, 2015. In compliance with
federal requirements for a BHP, MinnesotaCare provides health coverage to persons with
incomes greater than 133 percent but not exceeding 200 percent of Federal Poverty Guidelines
(FPG). States operating a BHP (Minnesota and New York) receive a federal payment under that
program intended to reflect the amount the federal government would otherwise spend on
subsidies had the BHP enrollees received coverage through the state’s insurance exchange. BHP
coverage must include at least the essential health benefits included in qualified health plans
that are offered through the state’s insurance exchange. Premiums for a BHP enrollee must not
exceed the amount the enrollee would otherwise pay for qualified health plan coverage
through the exchange, after application of advanced premium tax credits.

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, individuals must meet income limits, not be eligible for MA,
and satisfy other requirements related to residency and lack of access to other health
insurance. Enrollees are required to renew their MinnesotaCare eligibility annually each
January. The 2016 Legislature required eligibility to be renewed every 12 months, based on the
enrollee’s month of application.? The federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
has not approved a proposal submitted by DHS to implement this requirement.

Most MinnesotaCare enrollees are parents and caretakers, children ages 19 to 20, and adults
without children. Most children under age 19 and pregnant women are eligible for Medical
Assistance (MA) and therefore, under MinnesotaCare eligibility criteria, are not eligible for
MinnesotaCare.

Income Limits

MinnesotaCare coverage is available to persons with incomes greater than 133 percent of FPG
but not exceeding 200 percent of FPG, if other program eligibility requirements are met. Certain
groups of individuals with incomes that are below the MinnesotaCare income floor may be
eligible for the program, if they are not eligible for MA due to excess income.? In addition,

1n addition to being used for MinnesotaCare eligibility determination, METS is used by county human service
agencies and tribal governments to determine MA eligibility for families and children, pregnant women, and
adults without children.

2 See Laws 2016, ch. 189, art. 19, § 25 (codified in Minn. Stat. § 256L.05, subd. 3a).

3 These are generally groups of individuals with incomes greater than the MA income limit but less than the
MinnesotaCare income floor, due to differences in how the two programs calculate income. The groups include
children under age 19 living with two unmarried parents, persons with lump sum or sponsor income, or persons
whose current income (used under MA) differs from projected income (used under MinnesotaCare). If a person’s
income, calculated using MinnesotaCare methodology, is less than 100 percent of FPG, the person may be
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lawfully present noncitizens ineligible for MA due to immigration status, with household
incomes not exceeding 200 percent of FPG, are eligible for MinnesotaCare.*

Table 1 lists the minimum and maximum program income limits for different family sizes.

Table 1
Annual Household Income Limits for MinnesotaCare
(Effective January 1, 2020)

Household Size 133% of FPG 200% of FPG
1 $16,611 $24,980
2 22,490 33,820
3 28,368 42,660
4 34,247 51,500

Each additional person

2dd 5,878 8,840

Note: Income limits are adjusted annually to reflect changes in the Federal Poverty
Guidelines.

Modified adjusted gross income (MAGI)* is the income methodology used to determine
eligibility for MinnesotaCare applicants and enrollees. The use of MAGI is required by the ACA
for state basic health programs.

Asset Limits

There are no asset limits for MinnesotaCare enrollees.

Not Eligible for Medical Assistance (MA)

Persons who are eligible for MA are not eligible for MinnesotaCare.®

eligible for MA. If a person’s income calculated using MinnesotaCare methodology is greater than or equal to 100
percent of FPG but does not exceed 133 percent of FPG, the person may be eligible for MinnesotaCare.

4 These lawfully present noncitizens are generally nonpregnant adults falling under certain immigration
classifications who have resided in the United States for less than five years.

5 MAGI is defined as adjusted gross income increased by: (1) foreign earned income and foreign housing expenses;
(2) tax-exempt interest; and (3) an amount equal to the value of Social Security benefits not subject to tax. (I.R.C.
§ 36B)

6 Before January 1, 2014, persons eligible for both MA and MinnesotaCare could enroll in either program. This
change had the effect of shifting the vast majority of pregnant women and children under age 19 from
MinnesotaCare to MA, since the MA income limit for these eligibility groups (278 percent and 275 percent of FPG
respectively) is higher than the MinnesotaCare income limit (200 percent of FPG).
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No Access to Subsidized Health Coverage

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, a family or individual must not have access to employer-
subsidized health coverage that is affordable and provides minimum value, as defined in federal
regulations.” These regulations define coverage as “affordable” for an employee and related
individuals, if the portion of the annual premium the employee must pay for self-only coverage
does not exceed 9.83 percent of income for 2021.2 Coverage provides “minimum value” if it
pays for at least 60 percent of medical expenses on average.

A family or individual is not eligible for MinnesotaCare if they are enrolled in employer-
subsidized coverage, even if this coverage does not meet the affordability and minimum value
standards.

No Other Health Coverage

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, a family or individual must not be enrolled in minimum
essential health coverage, as defined in the Internal Revenue Code. The Internal Revenue Code
defines minimum essential coverage as coverage under government-sponsored programs
(including but not limited to Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE and other coverage for members of
the armed services, and veterans health benefits), coverage under an employer-sponsored
plan, individual market coverage, coverage under a grandfathered health plan,® and other
coverage recognized by the federal government.

A family or individual is also not eligible for MinnesotaCare if they have access to certain types
of minimum essential coverage, even if they are not enrolled.

Residency Requirement

MinnesotaCare enrollees must meet the residency requirements of the Medicaid program. The
Medicaid program generally requires an individual to live in Minnesota and demonstrate intent
to reside, or to have entered the state with a job commitment or to seek employment. The
Medicaid program does not include a durational residency requirement (a requirement that an
individual live in a state for a specified period of time before applying for the program).

Benefits

MinnesotaCare covers most, but not all, services eligible for reimbursement under MA.
Children and pregnant women are covered for a wider range of services than adults who are
not pregnant. Covered services are listed in Table 2.

7 See Code of Federal Regulations, title 26, section 1.36B-2.
8 This percentage is indexed annually; the percentage for 2020 used by DHS is 9.78.

9 Under the ACA, most health insurance plans that existed on March 23, 2010, are eligible for grandfathered status.
Grandfathered plans do not have to meet all of the ACA requirements related to the regulation of health
insurance. However, grandfathered status is lost and compliance with the ACA is required, if significant changes
are made to the plan’s benefits or premiums and cost-sharing.
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Table 2
Covered Services Under MinnesotaCare

Children and pregnant Adults who are not

Service a
women pregnant

Acupuncture X

Adult mental health rehab/crisis X

>

Alcohol/drug treatment

Child and teen checkups
Chiropractic

Dental®

Emergency room

Eye exams

Eyeglasses

Family planning

Hearing aids

Home care

Hospice care

Hospital stay

Hospital care coordination
Immunizations

Interpreters (hearing, language)
Lab, x-ray, diagnostic

Medical equipment and supplies

Mental health

X X X | X | X X | X | X X | X | X X | X X | X |X X

Mental health case management

Nursing facility care

>

Outpatient surgical center

Personal care assistance (PCA)
Physicians and clinics
Physicals/preventive care
Prescriptions

Rehabilitative therapies

X | X | X | X | X | X X | X | X X X | X | X | X X X | X|X| X X X | X | X | X X | X X X |Xx

X | X | X | X | X

Transportation: emergency
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. Children and pregnant Adults who are not
Service a
women pregnant
Transportation: nonemergency X —

@ Benefit limitations and cost-sharing requirements apply.

b MinnesotaCare covers the dental services covered under MA. MA coverage of dental services for adults who
are not pregnant (and therefore MinnesotaCare coverage of dental services for this category of individuals)

is limited to specified services (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 9).

House Research Department

Cost-sharing for Adults

Adults who are not pregnant are subject to the following cost-sharing requirements.*

Table 3
Cost-sharing Requirements Under MinnesotaCare

Service Cost
Inpatient hospital admission $250
Ambulatory surgery (per surgery) $100
Emergency room visit (that does not result in an $75
admission)
Nonpreventive office visit (does not apply to $25

mental health services)

Radiology visit $40
Eyeglasses $25
Prescription drugs (generic/brand name — does not $7/525
apply to certain mental health drugs)

Prescription drug out-of-pocket monthly maximum $70
Nonroutine dental services visit $15
Durable medical equipment (applies to the price 10%

the state or participating entity pays for the item)

Children under age 21 and American Indians are not subject to cost-sharing under
MinnesotaCare.

10 The commissioner is required to adjust MinnesotaCare cost-sharing in a manner sufficient to maintain the
actuarial value of the MinnesotaCare benefit at 94 percent. Actuarial value is an estimate of the percentage of
medical expenses incurred by a typical enrollee that will on average be paid by the insurer.
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Enrollee Premiums

Sliding Premium Scale

MinnesotaCare enrollees age 21 and older pay monthly, per-person premiums based upon the
following sliding scale.

Table 4
Sliding Premium Scale
(effective January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2021)

Federal Poverty Guidelines Individual Premium Amount
0-34% 0
35-54% sS4
55-79% S6
80 - 89% S8
90 - 99% $10

100 —109% $12
110-119% $14
120-129% $15
130-139% $16
140 - 149% $25
150 - 159% $37
160 — 169% $44
170-179% $52
180 - 189% $61
190 - 199% $71

200% $80

See Minn. Stat. § 256L.15, subd. 2.

The MinnesotaCare premium scale must comply with federal BHP requirements that premiums
not exceed what the individual would otherwise have paid for health coverage through the
state’s insurance exchange, after receipt of advance premium tax credits.

Premium Exemptions

Children under age 21, and persons with household incomes less than 35 percent of FPG, are
exempt from MinnesotaCare premiums. American Indians and Alaska Natives, and members of
their households, are also exempt from premiums.
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Members of the military and their families who are determined eligible for MinnesotaCare
within 24 months of the end of the member’s tour of active duty are exempt from premiums
for 12 months.

Nonpayment of Premiums

Unless an exemption applies, nonpayment of premiums results in disenrollment from
MinnesotaCare coverage, effective the calendar month following the month for which the
premium was due. Persons who end their MinnesotaCare coverage therefore receive a “grace”
month. Persons who decide to re-enroll in MinnesotaCare following disenrollment generally
must pay premiums to cover this grace month, except that no premium for the grace month is
required for persons re-enrolling in coverage that begins in the fourth month following
disenroliment.

Prepaid MinnesotaCare

The Commissioner of Human Services contracts on a prepaid basis with participating entities to
deliver health care services to MinnesotaCare enrollees. Participating entities may include
health maintenance organizations and other health carriers, county-based purchasing plans,
certain accountable care organizations and county-integrated health care delivery networks,
and networks of health care providers (see definition in Minn. Stat. § 256L.01, subd. 7).

MinnesotaCare enrollees receive health care services from these participating entities, rather
than through a fee-for-service system. Participating entities receive a capitated payment from
DHS for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, and in return are required to provide enrollees with all
covered health care services for a set period of time.

The 2014 Legislature required DHS to enter into contracts, as part of a statewide competitive
procurement, with participating entities to serve MinnesotaCare enrollees, beginning January 1,
2016. The ACA requires MinnesotaCare, as a BHP, to offer enrollees a choice of at least two
participating entities in each county.

Funding and Expenditures

Since January 1, 2015, the state has received, for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, a federal BHP
payment that was initially equal to 95 percent of the advanced premium tax credits and cost-
sharing reductions the person would have received through MNsure, the state’s health
insurance exchange, had the state not operated MinnesotaCare as a BHP.* This BHP payment
has replaced the federal match that had been received through December 31, 2014, for

11 Beginning in CY 2018, the federal government excluded the value of forgone cost-sharing reductions when
calculating state basic health program payments. Minnesota and New York filed suit over this change. The lawsuit
was later withdrawn and Minnesota and New York accepted a revised payment method that increased the
amount each state received related to advanced premium tax credits by about two-thirds of the basic health
program funds that would have been lost through the exclusion of cost-sharing reduction payments from the
payment formula.
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MinnesotaCare enrollees under the Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus (PMAP+) waiver.
Federal BHP funding was $380.1 million for fiscal year 2019 and is projected to be $402.8
million for fiscal year 2020.

State-only funding is used to pay for coverage of MinnesotaCare enrollees who are Deferred
Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) grantees, or are age 65 and over and not eligible for
Medicare.*

Total payments for health care services provided through MinnesotaCare were $438.2 million
in fiscal year 2019. Five percent of this amount was paid for through state payments from the
health care access fund. The remainder was paid from federal BHP funding, enrollee premiums
(this category also includes enrollee cost-sharing), and a very small amount of federal funding
received under the PMAP+ waiver.

Funding for the state share of MinnesotaCare costs, and for other health care access initiatives,
is provided by:

= A 1.8 percent tax (2.0 percent prior to January 1, 2020) on the gross revenues of
health care providers, hospitals, surgical centers, and wholesale drug distributors
(sometimes referred to as the “provider tax”); and

= A 1.0 percent premium tax on health maintenance organizations and nonprofit
health service plan corporations.

Medicare payments to providers are excluded from gross revenues for purposes of the gross
revenues taxes. Other specified payments, including payments for nursing home services, are
also excluded from gross revenues.

12 The Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus or PMAP+ waiver was initially approved by the federal government
in April 1995. The waiver exempts Minnesota from various federal requirements and gives the state greater
flexibility to expand access to health care through the MA program. Earlier versions of the waiver allowed the
state to receive a federal match for the cost of services provided to MinnesotaCare enrollees. The PMAP+ waiver
was most recently reauthorized by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services through December
31, 2020; DHS is seeking federal approval to extend this waiver.

13 DACA grantees are noncitizens who came to the United States as children and meet specified criteria such as
having arrived in the United States before turning 16 and being under age 31 as of June 15, 2012. MinnesotaCare
has covered DACA grantees since January 1, 2017 (see DHS bulletin 16-21-12 — DHS Announces MinnesotaCare
Eligibility for Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) Grantees). Persons age 65 and older are not eligible
for federal BHP funding.
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MinnesotaCare Funding
(FY 2019)

Enrollee Premiums
and Cost Sharing
8.1%

Federal Basic Health
Program Funding

86.9% State Cost 5.0%

This graph does not include $19,951 of federal funding received under the PMAP+ waiver.
Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division, Background Data Tables for May 2020 Interim Budget Projection

The tax rate on health care providers can be reduced, if the Commissioner of Management and
Budget determines by December 1 of each year that the ratio of revenues to expenditures and
transfers for the health care access fund for the biennium will exceed 125 percent. If this
determination is made, the commissioner must reduce the rate so that the projected ratio of
revenues to expenditures and transfers for the biennium will not exceed 125 percent. Any rate
reduction expires after one year and the future rate is subject to annual redetermination by the
commissioner.

The MinnesotaCare tax on the gross revenues of health care providers was reduced from 2.0
percent to 1.8 percent, effective for gross revenues received after December 31, 2019.%*

Recipient Profile

As of June 2020, 87,025 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program. A majority of
enrollees (60 percent) were adults without children and just over one-third of enrollees were

14 See Laws of Minnesota, 2019 First Special Session chapter 6, article 9, sections 2 to 6.
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mainly parents and children ages 19 and 20 (most children 18 and under are eligible for MA).
The remaining enrollees were enrollees covered under state-only funded MinnesotaCare.

MinnesotaCare Enrollment
(June 2020)

Adults without Children 60.4%

State-only Funded Enrollees 5.6%

Parents and Children
34.0%

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division, Monthly MinnesotaCare Program Enrollment Counts Statewide and by
County

Application Procedure

There are several ways to obtain MinnesotaCare application forms and to apply for
MinnesotaCare coverage. These include the following:

= Applying for MinnesotaCare through MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange
(1-855-366-7873 or online at www.mnsure.org)
= Calling DHS directly at 1-800-657-3672 or 651-297-3862 (in the metro area)

= Obtaining application forms through county social service agencies, health care
provider offices, and other sites in the community, or from the DHS website

M N H O U S E Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and
information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document

R E S E A R C H can be made available in alternative formats.

www.house.mn/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155
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