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Agriculture - 2020

Regular Session

Ag policy law tweaks number of provisions, adds
emerging farmer support

Myriad changes sought by Gov. Tim Walz and the Agriculture Department are part of a new law.

The omnibus agriculture policy law affects, in part, laws governing perishable farm product
purchases, state loan programs, farm safety, grain buyers, hemp processing, agriculture education
and pet food.

Rep. Jeanne Poppe (DFL-Austin) and Sen. Bill Weber (R-Luverne) sponsor the law that takes effect
Aug, 1, 2020, unless otherwise noted.

The law eliminates licensing and bonding requirements for wholesale purchasers of perishable
farm products, which is expected to reduce fees by about $140,000 per year. It also extends the
default payment deadline a wholesaler has to pay the seller after receipt of perishable products
from 10 to 30 days if no date is specified in a contract. (Art. 1, Secs. 4, 20-21)

An emerging farmer working group is created to advise the agriculture commissioner and
Legislature “regarding the development and implementation of programs and initiatives that
support emerging farmers in this state.” The group must include, to the extent possible, young
people, urban farmers, women, veterans, people with disabilities, American Indian or Alaskan
Natives and people of color. A report is due the Legislature by Jan. 15 each year. The group expires
Aug. 1, 2025. (Art. 4, Sec. 2)

Also created is a Seed Program Advisory Committee “to advise the (agriculture) commissioner
concerning responsibilities under the seed regulatory program. The committee must evaluate
species for invasiveness, difficulty of control, cost of control, benefits, and amount of injury caused
by each species. For each species evaluated, the committee must recommend to the
commissioner whether a species should be listed as a prohibited noxious weed seed or restricted
noxious weed seed or not be listed. ... The committee must also advise the commissioner on the
implementation of the Minnesota Seed Law.” (Art. 2, Sec. 14)

Among other provisions, the law also:

+ doubles the maximum loan amount under the Rural Finance Authority’s Pilot Agricultural
Microloan Program from $10,000 to $20,000;

+ modifies the membership of the Minnesota Agricultural Education Leadership Council;

* requires a person obtain a hemp license from the Department of Agriculture before growing
hemp for research purposes and processing industrial hemp for commercial purposes;

« classifies data received from hemp license applicants and licensees as private;

« gives veterinarians acting in good faith, and in the normal course of business, immunity from civil
or criminal liability when they report suspected animal cruelty to law enforcement;

+ makes the Association of American Feed Control Officials’ Model Pet and Specialty Pet Food
Regulation the pet food and specialty pet food rules in Minnesota;

« increases the maximum temperature egg retailers can hold eggs at from 41 to 45 degrees
Fahrenheit;

« lets a person donate or give away custom-processed, non-inspected deer, wild game and fowl;



* modifies a 2019 law to specify that a $5 million appropriation for innovative soybean processing
and research is to be used at the Ag Innovation Campus in Crookston;

* requires the department to report to the Legislature by Jan. 15, 2021, specific policies and
needed infrastructure to meet the state’s existing petroleum replacement goal and to utilize
biofuels to achieve the state’s existing greenhouse gas reduction goals;

« requires the Agriculture Department to work with the Farm Safety Advisory Committee to develop
recommendations to best provide financial and technical workplace safety assistance to farmers,
and report to the Legislature by Jan. 15, 2021;

« establishes a zero tolerance for prohibited noxious weed seeds in screenings, agricultural seeds
and grains used as animal feed; and

+ makes technical changes and conforming updates to seed and noxious weed laws, including
regulatory categories and management plans for noxious weeds. (Art. 2, Secs. 1-4, 6, 14; Art. 3,
Secs. 1-10, 17; Art. 4, Secs. 15, 18-19, 21, 23, 25-26, 33-36)

HF4285*/SF4223/CH89

Agriculture - 2020

Regular Session

Farmers, lenders get more time to prevent foreclosures,
repossessions

Farmers and lenders will be given more time to prevent foreclosures and repossessions of
agricultural property as the coronavirus pandemic hammers the already-hurting industry.

The Farmer-Lender Mediation Act requires banks and other creditors to offer a 90-day mediation
period to farmers before enforcing debts against land, livestock or crops.

Effective retroactive to April 16, 2020, the new law modifies a COVID-19-response law passed
earlier in the 2020 session by extending the mediation period between the farmer and lender to
150 days or until Dec. 1, 2020, whichever is later. It also expands eligibility to include farmers who
initiate mediation under the Farmer-Lender Mediation Act by Aug. 31, 2020. Previously, that date
was July 31, 2020.

Rep. Todd Lippert (DFL-Northfield) and Senator Michael Goggin (R-Red Wing) are the sponsors.

HF4599*/SF4553/CH89

Agriculture - 2020

Regular Session

Funding law seeks to help pandemic-plagued farmers,
producers, processors

Supporters of a new funding package acknowledge it does not fully address the needs of the
state’s agricultural community, yet they anticipate the new law will provide some assistance to
farmers and producers.

The law aims to use federal pandemic relief dollars (unless otherwise noted) to help farmers,
producers, processors and grocers grappling with fallout from the coronavirus pandemic and tries
to reduce farm accidents involving grain bins and tractors.

Sponsored by Rep. Jeanne Poppe (DFL-Austin) and Sen. Torrey Westrom (R-Elbow Lake), the
omnibus supplemental agriculture finance law calls for $600 million in assistance. It is expected to
largely be reimbursed by the federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act
because it invests in farmer mental health needs, the Department of Agriculture’s Farm Advocate
program, and other eligible activities.



Amonyg its provisions, the law specifies that $675,000 of the General Fund allocation in fiscal year
2021 to the Agricultural Research, Education, Extension and Technology Transfer program at the
University of Minnesota is for Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory testing equipment and supplies
necessary to respond to avian influenza, salmonella and other turkey-related diseases.

It also reduces General Fund funding for the transfer program by $100,000 (from $9.3 million to
$9.2 million) in fiscal year 2021. These provisions take effect July 1, 2020.

Among its provisions, the law, effective May 28, 2020, unless otherwise noted, will:

« appropriate $175,000 in fiscal year 2020 for grants to farmers who have been approved for farm
debt restructuring loans guaranteed by the United States Department of Agriculture, Farm Service
Agency or Rural Finance Authority loan programs to cover the loan origination fees;

- provide a one-time $125,000 appropriation in fiscal year 2020 for grants to retail food handlers “to
execute requirements, guidance, and recommendations related to the infectious disease known as
COVID-19 provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the Minnesota
Department of Health, and to develop safety procedures, update and retrofit retail locations,
purchase personal protective equipment for employees, and educate the public on the need to
follow safety procedures”;

* provide a one-time $100,000 appropriation in fiscal year 2020 “for grants to independently owned
or employee-owned meat and poultry processors that may also operate as a retail seller, to expand
their processing operations to help make up the loss of processing animals as a result of the
temporary closing or operation reductions of other processing facilities due to the COVID-19
crisis”;

- effective July 1, 2020, provide a $100,000 one-time General Fund expenditure in fiscal year 2021
for farm safety grant and outreach programs, with $50,000 for grain storage facility safety
equipment grants and $50,000 for outreach, which can include “creating and presenting a grain
storage facility safety curriculum”;

+ designate $100,000 in fiscal year 2020 for farmers and value-added agricultural businesses
whose markets and operations were negatively impacted by the pandemic;

- provide $60,000 in fiscal year 2020 for farm advocate services to help respond to the pandemic;
and

* make available $40,000 in fiscal year 2020 for additional community outreach on farms and to
rural mental health services, including suicide prevention training, mental health awareness
training for farm and rural adolescents and mental health forums.

The law reestablishes a tractor rollover prevention grant program that expired in 2019. It permits
the Agriculture Department to award grants to farmers and schools that retrofit tractors built
before 1987 with eligible rollover protective structures. This takes effect July 1, 2020.

Also effective that day is a provision to give the Agriculture Department discretion to issue a food
handler license to a person or company with a water supply or disposal system that does not
satisfy relevant state standards. This can only happen if the department has performed an
investigation and “has determined the requirements of this section are not relevant and the
applicant is considered fit to engage in business as described in the license application.”

HF4490*/SF4395/CH101

Bonding - 2020

Regular Session
New law makes $50 million available for agriculture loans

A new law will appropriate $50 million in bond proceeds to fund a popular loan program Minnesota
farmers have relied on for more than 30 years.

Sponsored by Rep. Jeanne Poppe (DFL-Austin) and Sen. Torrey Westrom (R-Elbow Lake), the law
will fund the Rural Finance Authority, which was established in 1986 and works with local lenders
to operate a number of loan programs which farmers can use to deal with financial hardships,



make capital improvements or for other kinds of assistance.

Some of the programs include beginning farmer, seller assisted, livestock expansion and farm
opportunity loans.

The new law is effective March 18, 2020.

HF2959*/SF3408/CH67

Budget - 2020

Regular Session
COVID-19 Minnesota Fund extended through 2020

When the first cases of the coronavirus hit Minnesota, lawmakers acted swiftly to pass legislation
that would aid in response efforts.

Part of that response included the creation of the COVID-19 Minnesota Fund, along with a $200
million appropriation.

The temporary fund enacted March 28 helped state agencies respond to the outbreak and
purchase urgently needed medical supplies and equipment. The original law specified that any
unspent funds would revert back to the General Fund by May 11, 2020.

Sponsored by Rep. Lyndon Carlson, Sr. (DFL-Crystal) and Senate Majority Leader Paul Gazelka (R-
East Gull Lake), a new law ensures that money continues to go to pandemic recovery efforts by
extending the account’s sunset date to Dec. 31, 2020. It also provides a retroactive effective date
of May 8, 2020, to ensure there is no lapse between when the fund expired and when the law is
enacted.

HF1883*/SF1873/CH81

Business and Commerce - 2020

Regular Session

Restaurants may sell beer and wine to go during
pandemic shutdown

Restaurants holding an on-sale intoxicating liquor license will be temporarily allowed to sell beer,
hard seltzer, cider, and wine in limited quantities with a prepared takeout food order during the
coronavirus pandemic.

Sponsored by Rep. Laurie Halverson (DFL-Eagan) and Sen. Karin Housley (R-St. Marys Point), the
law aims to help restaurants make a little more money to try and weather the statewide shutdown
that began in March.

Under the law, businesses can sell up to one bottle of wine no larger than 750 milliliters, and no
more than 72 ounces of beer, malt liquor, cider or hard seltzer. The alcohol must be in its original,
unopened packaging and can only be picked up, not delivered. Employees must confirm the person
picking up the food is at least 21 years old.

Cities can prohibit such sales by resolution.

The law took effect April 18 and ends when the governor’s executive order shutting down
restaurants ends.

HF4562/SF4489*/CH75

Business and Commerce - 2020
Regular Session



Commerce bill tweaks laws on real estate, car sales,
appraisers

A new law makes technical changes to various provisions governing or administered by the
Department of Commerce.

Sponsored by Sen. Mark Koran (R-North Branch) and Rep. Carlie Kotyza-Witthuhn (DFL-Eden
Prairie), it makes changes to chapters governing motor vehicle installment sales, insurance, real
estate brokers, appraisal management companies and credit service organizations.

It also adopts National Association of Insurance Commissioners changes to the model act,
including HMOs as members of the association, broadening the assessment base for long-term
care insolvencies and splitting the assessment 50/50 between the life and health insurance
industries. This article took effect May 13, 2020.

The remaining provisions, effective Aug. 1, 2020:

- clarify the asset base for calculation of required guaranty deposit for a national bank acting as a
fiduciary;

« clarify that motor vehicle retail installment contracts must be entered into in Minnesota in order
for a person to be regulated as a sales finance company;

« require license fees to be calculated by reference to every branch of the licensee, not just
branches maintained in this state;

+ modify the definition of residential real estate;

« clarify that scheduling orders and documents related to scheduling conferences must be given
confidential treatment;

« clarify that amendments to articles of incorporation for an insurance corporation are effective
upon the commissioner’s approval;

+ make technical and clarifying changes in statute governing mergers of insurance corporations;

« clarify that a disclosure must be provided before negotiating or consummating a real estate
transaction;

+ modify owner requirement standards for an appraisal management company;
* require a credit service organization to update their registration within 30 days of a change; and
+ modify the disclosure required from a credit services organization.

HF4055/SF4091*/CH80

Business and Commerce - 2020

Regular Session

New law affects appraisal management company
licensure fees

A few tweaks have been made to laws governing appraisal management companies’ licensure
fees.

Under a new law that takes effect Aug. 1, 2020, it adds that an applicant for an appraisal
management company license will be required to provide necessary information to the Commerce
Department to collect and transmit National Registry Fees.

Additionally, the law requires the department to collect and transmit from appraisal management
companies any fees and information required by the National Registry’s Appraisal Subcommittee.

Rep. John Huot (DFL-Rosemount) and Sen. Karin Housley (R-St. Marys Point) sponsor the law.

HF3341/SF3435*/CH94



Business and Commerce - 2020
Regular Session

Law modifies authorized investments for banks

The law governing investments for bank and trust companies has been modified slightly.

State law allows bank or trust companies to invest no more than 10% of its “capital and surplus in
shares of stock in any banks or bank holding companies wherein the stock of the banks or bank
holding companies is owned exclusively by bank holding companies or banks.”

Under the new law, effective Aug, 1, 2020, banks will no longer also be required to have at least
51% of the voting stock owned or controlled by bank holding companies or banks authorized to do
business in Minnesota.

Rep. Steve Elkins (DFL-Bloomington) and Sen. Rich Draheim (R-Madison Lake) are the sponsors.

HF4067/SF3589*/CH95

Business and Commerce - 2020

Regular Session

More on-site alcohol sales permitted by omnibus liquor
law

The omnibus local liquor law gives legal authority for municipalities or counties to issue liquor
licenses to specific organizations, locations or events.

Sponsored by Rep. Laurie Halverson (DFL-Eagan) and Sen. Gary Dahms (R-Redwood Falls), one
provision in the law removes all restrictions on the hours of sale for on-sale liquor at the
Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport, as determined by the Metropolitan Airports
Commission.

The law authorizes the city of St. Paul to issue liquor licenses to an “anchor tenant or umbrella
operator for a distinct, compact, and contiguous premises which contains restaurants and closes
by midnight” to allow liquor consumption anywhere within the food hall premises.

Provisions making up the bulk of the law will give legal authority for municipalities or counties to
issue liquor licenses to organizations, locations or events, including the following:

+ Maple Lake Ice Fishing Derby;

» Baudette Arena Association;

- Castlewood Golf Course in Forest Lake;
* Pierz Golf Course;

+ St. Cloud Orthopedics Field;

+ Pemberton Community Center;

+ Chaska Athletic Park, other than high school amateur events, occurring each year between May 1
and Aug. 30;

+ Roseville Cedarholm Golf Course; and
+ Minnesota Lakes Maritime Society, doing business as the Legacy of the Lakes Museum.

In addition, the law will help quench the thirst of junior hockey league fans in Austin, Rochester, and
St. Cloud by permitting beer and wine sales at the Riverside Arena, Rochester Recreation Center
and St. Cloud Municipal Ice Arena.



Minneapolitans working up a thirst while visiting the city’s Downtown Commons Park, the
Minneapolis Sculpture Garden or Boom Island Park could wet their whistles there because the law
will allow liquor sales at those three locations.

Additionally, the law prohibits Sunday alcohol delivery by a wholesaler to an on-sale licensee. It
also excludes pension obligations for store employees when calculating profit or loss for a
municipal liquor store for purposes of determining whether a public hearing needs to be held on
whether a city should continue to operate a municipal liquor store that loses money.

The effective dates of these sections vary, and depend upon when local governments approve the
liquor licenses.

HF2290/SF2130*/CH103

Civil Law - 2020
Regular Session

Marriage by minors prohibited

A new law prohibits marriage by minors by deleting statutory language allowing 16- and 17-year-
old children to receive a marriage license with “the consent of the person’s legal custodial parents,
guardian, or the court.”

The law, effective Aug. 1, 2020, also prohibits the state from recognizing a marriage involving a
minor in another state, or foreign jurisdiction, if one of the parties to the marriage was a Minnesota
resident at the time of the marriage.

Minnesota will recognize marriages involving two minors if both parties to the marriage were not
residents of Minnesota at the time of the marriage.

The law is sponsored by Rep. Kaohly Her (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Sandra Pappas (DFL-St. Paul).

HF745*/SF1393/CH76

Civil Law - 2020
Regular Session

Requiring intent in the crime of harassment

Portions of Minnesota’s harassment statute that the Minnesota Supreme Court declared
unconstitutional in a June 2019 opinion are amended by a new law that adopts harassment
standards that are in federal harassment law.

In the court’s opinion, Minnesota’s harassment statute did not require proof of specific intent and
therefore had the potential to criminalize negligent conduct. The new law adds that a person
commits harassment only if there is a specific intention to cause harm. This change also
addresses concerns that the definition of harassment was overly broad and violated free speech
protections in the First Amendment.

The Supreme Court also expressed concern that the threshold for an action to be considered
harassment was too low.

The new law raises those thresholds, adding that in order to be criminal harassment, an action
must cause a “reasonable fear of substantial bodily harm” in another person or “would reasonably
be expected to cause substantial emotional distress” in another person.

Rep. Dave Pinto (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Jerry Relph (R-St. Cloud) sponsor the law that takes effect
Aug. 1, 2020.

HF4137*/SF4065/CH96

Civil Law - 2020



Regular Session
Guardianship, wage garnishment part of judiciary and civil
law modification law

A new law makes changes to four sections of statutes regarding guardianship and
conservatorship laws, the Minnesota Uniform Transfers to Minors Act, the Minnesota Common
Interest Ownership Act and wage garnishment laws.

Sponsored by Rep. John Lesch (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Warren Limmer (R-Maple Grove), the law
takes effect Aug. 1, 2020, unless otherwise noted.

Modernizing guardianship and conservatorship laws

Guardianship occurs when the court gives an individual or organization legal authority to make
personal decisions for an individual whom the court deems unable to provide for their own basic
needs.

The law requires courts to consider and make specific findings related to less restrictive means of
assisting a person subject to guardianship or conservatorship, like supported decision-making,
before appointing a guardian or conservator.

It updates the Bill of Rights for Protected Persons to include the right to communicate and see
friends and family.

The law also makes these other changes to the state’s guardian statutes:

- creates a new form, “a bill of particulars,” that contains confidential information related to a
person’s health and finances;

* requires notice to interested persons when the person subject to guardianship experiences a
significant medical or public safety event or dies;

« authorizes the establishment and administration of an Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE)
account;

- authorizes a conservator to institute cases for civil court actions;
+ authorizes a person subject to conservatorship to control their own wages;

« authorizes a guardian or conservator to seek a restraining order on behalf of a victim who is a
person subject to guardianship or conservatorship;

« requires durational limits on guardianships when the person subject to guardianship is under the
age of 30, but authorizes a petition for an unlimited guardianship if the person is 29 and currently
under a limited guardianship;

« places durational limits on emergency guardianships and conservatorships; and
« authorizes interested persons to waive notice requirements.

The law also makes technical changes to guardianship and conservatorship laws, most notably
changing the term “ward” to “protected person.”

Changes to the Minnesota Uniform Transfers to Minors Act

The Minnesota Uniform Transfers to Minors Act sets out, among other things, how assets are
transferred to minors in the absence of a will, which usually involve designating a custodian to
manage the minor’s assets.

The law changes the custodial standard of care from the “prudent person” standard to a “prudent
investor” standard consistent with how trusts must be managed under existing Minnesota laws on
trusts.

Under current Minnesota UTMA statutes, a minor must receive full control over their assets at age
18 or 21 depending on how the asset was given to the child. This law changes the termination age
of all Minnesota UTMA accounts to 21, effective May 17, 2020.



Additionally, this law authorizes a custodian to transfer, with or without a court order, all or part of
custodial assets to a trust that satisfies the requirements of a minor’s trust described in the
Internal Revenue Code.

Changes to the Minnesota Common Interest Ownership Act

The Minnesota Common Interest Ownership Act governs the operation of condominium
associations and other common interest communities.

The law states that unit owners are deemed to have consented or voted in the affirmative for
approval of amendments to governing documents if an association sends a notice to a unit owner
by certified mail and: (1) if there is a vote, the unit owner does not vote against the amendment; or
(2) the unit owner does not object to the amendment within 60 days after the notice is mailed.

The law will also authorize an association to petition the court for an order reducing the
percentage of affirmative votes or consents necessary to at least 67% for an amendment to
declarations, bylaw, and articles of incorporation.

Wage garnishment

Wage garnishment statutes outline the legal processes to be followed when a creditor has
obtained a judgment against a debtor.

One provision in the new law will allow creditors to garnish earnings for 90 days instead of the
current 70 days.

The exemption for wages — the amount a debtor can keep away from a creditor during a
garnishment — is also changed. Under current law, a debtor can exempt income that is the greater
of 40 times the federal minimum wage or 25% of the debtor’s net income.

This law adds an additional category, allowing a debtor to maintain up to 40 times $9.50.

HF3517/SF3357*/CH86

Education - 2020

Regular Session

New law adjusts school funding formulas to account for
COVID-19 closures and distance learning

Since mid-March, Minnesota’s K-12 students have been receiving their education in very different
ways. That has not only impacted learning but everything from graduation, grade-level
advancement, teacher licensure, employment practices and school funding formulas.

Sponsored by Rep. Jim Davnie (DFL-Mpls) and Sen. Carla Nelson (R-Rochester), a new law,
effective May 28, 2020, unless otherwise noted, temporarily adjusts school funding formulas and
student data accounts. It will also provide school districts with greater fund transfer authority,
allowing them to use funds for programs that aren’t being fully utilized — such as school-aged care,
extended time, and childhood screenings — for other purposes.

COVID-19 has impacted K-12 student assessments and in some cases the ability for students to
meet all the requirements needed for graduation or grade-level advancement. The law waives the
requirement that students must take the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments this year, and
provides that student absences from March 1 through the end of the distance learning period will
not count toward truancy referrals.

To aid educators, it alters the minimum days required in the 2019-20 school year for a probationary
teacher to serve for credit, provides an additional six months for the completion of calendar year
2020 licensure renewal requirements for licenses issued by the Professional Educator Licensing
and Standards Board, and until Oct. 31, 2020 allows a conditional one-year Tier Three teacher
license to be issued if they're unable to get to a testing center. A regular license will be provided
once the exam is completed.



There are also provisions within the proposal that aim to protect funding for special education,
food programs, community education programs, nonpublic pupil transportation aid, career and
technical programs literacy aid, and achievement integration aid. Most of these take effect July 1,
2020.

Finally, the law provides library systems with greater flexibility over the use of their regional library
telecommunications aid to expand internet access capabilities and better partner with schools to
deliver educational support in a distance learning environment.

HF4415*/SF4369/CH116

Employment - 2020

Regular Session

Workers’ compensation to cover some employees who
contract COVID-19 from work

Employees in certain professions who contract COVID-19 are eligible for workers’ compensation
benefits based on the presumption that they contracted the COVID-19 virus from their work.

Those covered by a change in workers’ compensation eligibility include health care workers —
including home health care workers — paramedics, emergency medical technicians, police officers,
firefighters, corrections facility officers and counselors, and child care workers providing care for
the children of health care workers and first responders.

Such employees are eligible for workers’ compensation benefits if they contract COVID-19 and
confirm their condition with a positive laboratory test or the diagnosis of a physician, physician’s
assistant or nurse based upon the employee’s symptoms. An employee is not required to show
that they contracted COVID-19 from a particular patient or on a particular day of work. But an
employee will not be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits if their employer shows that they
did not contract COVID-19 as a result of their employment.

Sponsored by Rep. Dan Wolgamott (DFL-St. Cloud) and Sen. Jeff Howe (R-Rockville), the law
applies to people diagnosed with COVID-19 on or after April 8, 2020, the law'’s effective date. It
sunsets on May 1, 2021.

Under the law, the commissioner of labor and industry is also authorized to extend the
implementation date of a new workers’ compensation data management system beyond its
scheduled date of Aug. 31, 2020, if the commissioner determines that it should be extended due to
COVID-19 and provides notice of the delay.

HF4537*/SFA458/CH72

Employment - 2020

Regular Session
New name to highlight ‘Minnesota Family Resiliency
Partnership’s’ inclusivity

Minnesota’s “displaced homemaker program” will be renamed the “Minnesota Family Resiliency
Partnership " to better reflect the program’s work.

Sponsored by Rep. Anne Claflin (DFL-South St. Paul) and Sen. Rich Draheim (R-Madison Lake), the
new law takes effect Aug. 1, 2020.

The newly renamed program helps people return to the work force or enter it for the first time,
often after the loss of a family’s primary financial support due to a death, disability, divorce or other
unexpected circumstances.

The change aims to highlight the program’s inclusivity and allow it to reach more families in need.

The new law will also modify the state’s pay-for-performance job training standards, which provide
$11,000 grants to programs to reward them for student placement and job retention.



These modifications will:
* reduce the amount of money programs need to spend on each student;

+ change the qualifying student wage from $9, or its equivalent with benefits, to the current state
minimum wage;

« require the programs to provide training in financial and digital literacy and “soft skills” and
remove required training in “thinking skills and personal qualities”;

* require that participants receive access to internships, technology training, personal and
emotional intelligence skill development, and other support services;

* two years of coaching after placement; and
« limit income supplements for things like housing and counseling to $2,000 per participant.

The new law also raises the income limit for participants to 200% of the federal poverty guideline
— from 100% — and only looks at their incomes six months prior to enrolling to determine
eligibility.

HF4429*/SF3422/CH91

Employment - 2020

Regular Session

16- and 17-year-olds can operate amusement park rides,
powered lawn equipment

A new law permits 16- and 17-year-olds to operate fixed-site amusement park rides and powered
lawn-care equipment under certain conditions.

Rep. Brad Tabke (DFL-Shakopee) and Sen. Carrie Ruud (R-Breezy Point) sponsor the law that took
effect May 28, 2020.

Fixed amusement park rides

Employers are required to meet certain conditions before allowing 16- or 17-year-olds to operate
an amusement ride, including training the young employees on:

« the ride’s operating procedures;
« specific duties of assigned positions;
+ general safety procedures;

+ specific procedures to follow in the event of unusual conditions or an interruption of operations;
and

+ evacuation plans for the amusement ride.

Other provisions specify that 16- or 17-year-old operators:

+ must not operate or load and unload passengers on more than one amusement ride at a time;
« can only operate rides located in a fixed-site amusement park; and

+ must be supervised by another employee age 18 or older on the premises.

The 16- and 17-year-olds cannot perform the required daily inspections of amusement rides, and
employers must comply with all other applicable child labor laws and laws regulating amusement
rides.

Powered lawn-care equipment

Under the law, employers can hire 16- and 17-year-olds to operate lawn-care equipment, such as
powered mowers and weed trimmers, provided the young employees:

+ undergo training on the equipment;



- are directly employed by a golf course, resort, municipality or rental property owner; and
« use proper safety gear, such as eye and ear protection, boots and safety vests.

HF3720/SF3358*/CH98

Energy - 2020
Regular Session

Minnesota changes light bulbs in promoting energy
efficiency

Fluorescents are out and LEDs are in as the light bulb of choice in Minnesota law.

When it comes to what type of bulb is promoted for maximum energy efficiency by the state and
the electric utilities that do business within it, where once fluorescent bulbs were touted in state
statute, now light-emitting diode, or LED, lamps are recommended.

That modification to the state’s Conservation Improvement Program statute is the gist of a new
law sponsored by Rep. Greg Boe (R-Chaska) and Sen. David Osmek (R-Mound). It is effective May
28, 2020.

There was a time in which compact fluorescent bulbs were believed the best way to save energy,
and, consequently, help keep utility bills down. But disposal of such bulbs has always been
problematic, with recent research underlining concerns that they release mercury into the waste
stream and potentially wreak environmental havoc.

Now the industry standard for efficiency and environmental friendliness is the LED lamp, which
lasts several times longer than old-fashioned incandescent bulbs and, according to a U.S. Energy
Department study, have a lower impact than either incandescent or compact fluorescent bulbs on
air, soil and water, and use less energy.

The new law makes a relatively small change in the Conservation Improvement Program statute. In
a section in which utilities are required to encourage customers to use efficient lighting sources, it
has stricken the promotion of “fluorescent and high-intensity discharge” lamps and replaced it with
“LED.

HF3230*/SF3331/CH105

Energy - 2020
Regular Session

Prairie Island and rooftop solar receive boosts from
Renewable Development Account

Plans for the Prairie Island Indian Community’ to become a “net zero energy community” will
receive a boost thanks to a new law.

Effective July 1, 2020, the law provides $25.8 million in allocations for fiscal year 2021 from the
Renewable Development Account.

Sponsored by Rep. Jean Wagenius (DFL-Mpls) and Sen. David Osmek (R-Mound), the law also
extends through 2022 an existing Solar Rewards incentive program, administered by Xcel Energy,
for owners of small solar systems, funding it at $10 million per year. Other allocations include
$2.75 million for a new turbine to expand Granite Falls’ hydroelectric generating facility, and $2
million in grants for communities that will lose an electric generating facility.

The Renewable Development Account was set up in 1994 when investor-owned utility Xcel Energy
was given permission to store nuclear waste at its Prairie Island facility, which is adjacent to land

owned by the Prairie Island Indian Community. Xcel payments of $500,000 and $350,000 for each
storage cask at, respectively, Prairie Island and Monticello nuclear facilities, the fund is earmarked
for grants for the development of renewable energy sources in Minnesota.



Plans for Prairie Island to become a “net zero energy community” involve allocations of $46.2
million from the Renewable Development Account (sometimes called the Renewable Development
Fund) through fiscal year 2023. The community would become one in which the total amount of
energy consumed is not greater than the amount of renewable energy created.

The funding allows the Prairie Island Indian Community to execute a plan under which it would
reduce energy consumption, generate energy through a combination of solar and geothermal
sources, develop micro grids for storage and distribution of energy, and adopt sustainable building
standards.

The $25.8 million in appropriations would leave $55.2 million in the account at the end of fiscal
year 2021, assuming no new investment income.

The law also temporarily exempts Xcel Energy from the deadline requiring certain documents
pertaining to corporate bond sales to be filed in each county in which the company owns property.
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Outdoor Heritage Fund monies allocated, extensions
given for other Legacy projects

Those participating in projects that receive funding from the Legacy Amendment are receiving one-
to two-year extensions on their deadlines. And various conservation projects around the state will
receive $117.9 million from the Outdoor Heritage Fund as part of Legacy appropriations for fiscal
year 2021.

Sponsored by Rep. Leon Lillie (DFL-North St. Paul) and Sen. Carrie Ruud (R-Breezy Point), the
omnibus legacy law took effect May 28, 2020.

The allocations are funded by the Legacy Amendment, which voters approved in 2008 to maintain
a source of funding for clean water, conservation, parks and trails, and arts and cultural heritage
projects via a 0.375% addition to the state sales tax.

Most of the funds under the Legacy Amendment umbrella were budgeted during the 2019
legislative session. But the Outdoor Heritage Fund, which receives one-third of Legacy monies, is
funded on an annual basis, as opposed to the biennial allocations of money from the Clean Water
Fund, the Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund, and the Parks and Trails Fund.

The deadline extensions inspired by the COVID-19 pandemic and its resultant restrictions are two
years for Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund projects approved in 2017, one year for Clean Water Fund
and Parks and Trails Fund projects set to expired June 30, 2020, and one year for Outdoor Heritage
Fund projects set to expire June 30, 2020 if certain notification and other requirements are met.

The law also appropriates funds for the Rochester Children’s Museum and the Medal of Honor
Commemorative Memorial, and extends into 2021 the availability of General Fund money to assist
State Arts Board administration in moving its offices.

Its $117.9 million in Outdoor Heritage Fund appropriations — which were based upon the
recommendations of the Lessard-Sams Outdoor Heritage Council - break down as follows:

+ $55.4 million for habitat projects and the Conservation Partners Legacy Grant program;
+ $35.8 miillion for prairie projects;

+ $13.7 million for forest projects;

+ $12.6 million for wetland projects; and

+ $360,000 for administration, including contract management services from the Department of
Natural Resources and restoration evaluations.



Its largest appropriations are $10.4 million for competitive matching grants for organizations
enhancing, restoring and protecting forests, prairies, wetlands or wildlife habitat; $6.5 million to
acquire lands and restore natural habitat systems associated with the Mississippi, Minnesota and
St. Croix rivers in the Twin Cities metropolitan area; and $4.6 million to acquire, restore and
enhance prairie lands, wetlands, and land buffering shallow lakes.

The law also requires Lessard-Sams Outdoor Heritage Council meetings to be webcast and
archived.
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Minnesota is first state to ban chemical TCE

With the stroke of the governor’s pen, Minnesota became the first state to ban trichloroethylene,
better known as TCE, a carcinogenic chemical used as a degreaser and stain remover.

Sponsored by Rep. Ami Wazlawik (DFL-White Bear Township) and Sen. Roger Chamberlain (R-Lino
Lakes), the law applies to facilities with air quality permits beginning June 1, 2022.

A few use exceptions are provided as long as the facility complies with Health Department limits
for TCE emissions:

+ TCE is used in a closed system allowing no emissions;

« facilities holding TCE or a product containing TCE for distribution to a third party;
+ a licensed hospital or academic medical facility;

« a facility using TCE solely for research; and

« a facility that processes TCE for waste disposal.

Most of the law is effective May 17, 2020.

A provision that provides $250,000 in interest-free loans to help small businesses transition away
from the chemical takes effect July 1, 2020.

A case in White Bear Township spurred the change.

Water Gremlin used the industrial solvent to clean and coat lead terminals for batteries until a
state investigation found the company failed to report accurate emission data for more than 15
years and released unsafe amounts of TCE in the air for over 15 years. For example, the company
emitted 100 tons of the chemical in 2018 when its permit allowed less than 10 tons.

In 2019, the Pollution Control Agency levied $7 million in civil penalties, one of its largest ever, and
the company agreed to stop using the solvent.
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COVID-19 funding sped to Department of Health

As the COVID-19 virus reached Minnesota, the Legislature worked to speed sufficient funding to
the Department of Health, allowing the agency to ramp up its response and get resources in place.

A new law, effective March 11, 2020, transferred $20.9 million from the General Fund to the state’s
public health response contingency account.

The funding is to cover staffing and laboratory costs, personal protective equipment, and support
for local public health and health care coalitions — all of which is tied to the state’s expected public
health response to COVID-19.



The bill will cancel any funds over $5 million — as of Feb. 1, 2021 — back to the General Fund.

Sponsored by Rep. Tina Liebling (DFL-Rochester) and Sen. Jerry Relph (R-St. Cloud), the law also
authorizes the appropriation of any federal money designated to address the COVID-19 outbreak
and provides reporting requirements.
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$200 million to aid health care providers in fight against
CoVID-19

The Legislature’s second law intended to address the COVID-19 pandemic will provide $200 million
for health care providers in need of support.

The law, effective March 18, 2020, is sponsored by Rep. Tina Liebling (DFL-Rochester) and Sen.
Michelle Benson (R-Ham Lake) and will create two funding pools:

+ $50 million for the state’s public health response contingency account, which has rules built in
that will allow the money to get where it's needed quickly; and

+ $150 million to create a health care response fund in the state treasury, which will be used to
make grants. Any money left over on Feb. 1, 2021 will be returned to the General Fund and the
section will sunset on June 30, 2022.

Both will be accessible by care providers including hospitals, clinics, pharmacies, nursing facilities,
health care facilities, ambulance services, and settings in which assisted living services or health
care services are provided.

The funds can be used to help plan, prepare for, and respond to COVID-19 in a range of ways,
including:

+ establishment and operation of temporary sites to provide testing services, treatment beds, or to
isolate or quarantine affected people;

+ temporary conversion of space;

- staff overtime, the hiring of additional staff, and training or orientation;

+ consumable protective or treatment supplies and equipment;

+ development and implementation of screening and testing procedures;

« patient outreach;

+ emergency transportation of patients;

+ specialty cleaning supplies;

+ temporary systems to support patient triage, screening, and telemedicine activities;
+ the purchase of replacement parts and filters for equipment;

« expenses related to the isolation or quarantine of staff; and

« for other expenses that, in the judgment of the commissioner, cannot reasonably be expected to
generate income after the outbreak ends.

If proposed expenditures from the health care response fund exceed $1 million, they will be
reviewed by the Legislative Advisory Commission.

Money from the $150 million fund will also be used by the Department of Health to administer the
grant program, and can be used to establish temporary testing sites, if no eligible health care
providers are capable of doing so.



Grants will be prioritized based on several factors including statewide and regional needs, as well
as individual institution’s ability to access other funding.

They can only be accepted under the condition that providers agree not to bill uninsured patients
for the cost of screening, testing, or treatment of COVID-19. They will also be required to accept
the median network rate as payment in full, and not bill patients any amount in excess of the in-
network cost-sharing provider rate.

These conditions will remain in effect until Feb. 1, 2021, and the department will report to the
Legislature on the grants issued by Jan. 15, 2021.

Providers who receive funding from non-state sources will be required to report that funding and
could be required to pay some, or all of the state funding back to the General Fund.

The law will also temporarily allow patients’ homes to count as an “originating site” for
telemedicine services, which are currently limited to clinics.
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New law authorizes $330.6 million to address COVID-19
pandemic

A wide range of efforts will be supported by a new law that appropriates $330.6 million to address
the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic in Minnesota.

The largest of its funding provisions is a $200 million General Fund appropriation to create a
COVID-19 Fund that Minnesota Management and Budget will draw upon to help state agencies
respond to the outbreak. (Art. 1, Secs. 7-9)

A COVID-19 Response Commission, made up of legislative leaders and chairs of the House and
Senate finance committees, will be created to review expenditures from the fund greater than $1
million.

Other budget items in the law include:

+ $30 million to create an account for small business emergency loans at the Department of
Employment and Economic Development, funding a program created by executive order;

+ $29.96 million for a grant program to support licensed child care providers, who, in part, agree to
care for the children of health care and other emergency workers and follow health and safety
practices to limit the spread of COVID-19;

+ $26.54 million in emergency services grants, of which $15.21 million is intended to provide
additional shelter space, $5 million is to purchase hygiene, sanitation, and cleaning supplies, and
$6.33 million is for staffing;

+ $11 million to help Minnesota’s 11 tribal nations address the crisis;

+ $10 million to guarantee loans from private banks to small employers through an existing
program modified for this new emergency;

* $9 million in one-time funding for the state’s food shelf program, at least $3 million of which must
be used to help regional food banks make specialized responses to community needs;

+ $6.2 million to provide financial assistance to veterans and surviving spouses in need of
assistance as a result of COVID-19;

+ $5.53 million to provide housing support relief by increasing limits and rates for room and board
and supplementary services; and

+ $2.4 million to handle Real ID applications (Art. 1, Secs. 1-6, 10-12).

[MORE: View the spreadsheet]



The law also includes a range of policy measures that, by category, will:

Agriculture and commerce

+ modify the state’s Disaster Recovery Loan Program to provide more flexibility;

+ waive requirements for commercial pesticide licenses for cleaning company employees; and

+ authorize the Department of Commerce to make licensing exemptions, such as extending
registration or licensing renewal deadlines.

Health and Human Services

« include diapers and toilet paper as items eligible for purchase under the state’s Supplemental
Nutrition Assistance Program; and

- modify fees for medical gas providers and eliminate limits on certain prescription refills.
Higher Education
- align state and federal work-study guidelines to help students receive payments;

« temporarily suspend Student Educational Loan Fund rules to allow the Office of Higher Education
flexibility in providing payment relief and allow students to complete coursework;

« provide flexibility to hold child care grant recipients harmless in the event of reduced number of
classes; and

« hold state grant recipients harmless from changes due to COVID-19 and temporarily suspend
Office of Higher Education rules about repayment of aid.

Jobs

« codify the March 16 Executive Order on Unemployment Insurance that provides protections for
workers who are unemployed, quarantined, told not to come into work, or impacted by school and
child care closures due to COVID-19; and

« temporarily relax MN investment fund restrictions so that cities can make loans to retail stores,
service providers, and hospitality businesses.

Public Safety

- require the Department of Public Safety to report to the Legislature about the department’s use of
temporary powers during the COVID-19 emergency;

+ expand the type of documents that can be used to obtain a REAL ID-compliant driver’s license or
identification card;

+ extend deadlines to renew driver’s licenses and disability parking permits if they would expire
during the declared emergency;

+ authorize the medical director of the Department of Corrections to make health care decisions for
inmates who are incapable of doing so, and do not have another person designated to do so;

+ allow inmates with 90 days or less on their sentences to be housed in county jails or detention
centers; and

+ allow the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to temporarily delay fingerprinting for essential
workers’ background checks.

State Government

« provide exemptions to the state’s standard purchasing process, allowing Minnesota to more
quickly buy supplies and services from companies around the country that may not have
previously done business in the state; and

+ move the property tax appeal deadlines from April 30 to May 30, 2020.

House Majority Leader Ryan Winkler (DFL-Golden Valley) and Senate Majority Leader Paul Gazelka
(R-East Gull Lake) sponsor the law that took effect March 29, 2020.
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Insulin safety net program established

Diabetics will be able to get affordable insulin on both an emergency and long-term basis as part
of the Alec Smith Insulin Affordability Act.

Under a new law, most manufacturers of insulin will be required to establish procedures to make
insulin available to eligible individuals who are in urgent need of insulin or need access to an
affordable insulin supply. This must be done by July 1, 2020.

Beginning on that date, diabetics with less than a seven-day supply of insulin readily available and
who need the drug “in order to avoid the likelihood of suffering significant health consequences”
will pay no more than $35 to get a 30-day supply from a pharmacy.

To get insulin, people would need to present a filled out an application created by MNsure and
attest to eligibility requirements. A requestor must also have a valid prescription and show proof of
Minnesota residency with an identification card, driver's license or permit.

Upon receipt of the application, a pharmacist is to dispense a 30-day supply of prescribed insulin
and notify the practitioner who issued the prescription no later than 72 hours after the insulin is
dispensed. Insulin manufacturers will either reimburse pharmacies for the cost of emergency
insulin or replace the insulin provided to patients.

Each manufacturer will also be required to create a patient assistance — or continuing safety net —
program available to an individual who:

+ is a Minnesota resident with a valid Minnesota identification card, driver's license, or permit;
+ has a family income equal to or less than 400 percent of the federal poverty guidelines;
« is not be enrolled in Medical Assistance or MinnesotaCare;

« is ineligible to receive health care through a federally funded program or receive drug benefits
through the Department of Veterans Affairs; and

+is not enrolled in drug coverage through an individual group plan that limits cost-sharing
(including copayments, deductibles, or coinsurance) for a 30-day supply of insulin to $75 or less,
regardless of the type or amount of insulin.

Someone enrolled in Medicare Part D is eligible for an assistance program if they’'ve spent at least
$1,000 on prescription drugs in the current calendar year.

Under the program, someone can receive up to a 90-day supply of insulin from manufacturers.
Insulin is provided on an ongoing basis for the 12-month eligibility period and eligibility for the
program may be renewed. The safety net provision expires Dec. 31, 2024, unless the Legislature
determines it should continue.

Per the law, “The pharmacy may collect a co-payment from the individual to cover the pharmacy’s
costs for processing and dispensing in an amount not to exceed $50 for each 90-day supply if the
insulin is sent to the pharmacy ... a manufacturer may send the insulin as ordered directly to the
individual if the manufacturer provides a mail order service option.”

Manufacturers with annual gross revenue of $2 million or less from insulin sales in Minnesota will
be permitted to request a waiver to be exempt. An insulin product is exempt from the law if the
wholesale acquisition cost is $8 or less per milliliter or applicable National Council for Prescription
Drug Plan billing unit, for the entire assessment time period, adjusted annually by the consumer
price index.

The law allows the Board of Pharmacy to assess administrative penalties for each month of
noncompliance. Manufacturers that fail to comply with the law would face up to $3.6 million in
fines the first year; $7.2 million the second.



Annual program reports are due to the Board of Pharmacy and the Legislature.

MNsure is to conduct a public awareness campaign related to the insulin safety net program. The
law appropriates $250,000 from the Health Care Access Fund in fiscal year 2020 for the campaign.

Among the other $509,000 in 2020-21 biennial funding, the law appropriates $76,000 in fiscal year
2021 from the fund for the Board of Pharmacy to implement the insulin safety net program.

Nicole Smith-Holt and James Holt pushed the Alec Smith Insulin Affordability Act after their son,
Alec, died in 2017 at age 26 after rationing his insulin to get to payday. Smith had $1,000 in his
bank account, but needed $1,300 to get insulin. His story put skyrocketing insulin costs in the
national spotlight.

Most provisions of the act are effective April 16, 2020, with three information provisions to take
effect July 1, 2020.

Rep. Michael Howard (DFL-Richfield) and Sen. Scott Jensen (R-Chaska) are the sponsors.
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Policy provisions take center stage in fourth COVID-19
response package

A new law focused on policy issues related to the COVID-19 pandemic covers a range of areas
including civil law, transportation, taxes, and health and human services.

Sponsored by House Majority Leader Ryan Winkler (DFL-Golden Valley) and Senate Majority Leader
Paul Gazelka (R-East Gull Lake) it is the fourth law to address the COVID-19 pandemic.

Effective April 16, 2020, the law will add an additional $1.25 million to a fiscal year 2020
appropriation to reimburse Second Harvest Heartland for the purchase of milk and protein
products, including meat, dry legumes, cheese, and eggs.

It will also strengthen the Department of Health’s temporary emergency authority, allowing it to
delay, waive, modify, or issue variances to some state laws, and providing related reporting
requirements.

The law limits the department to actions necessary for preparing for, preventing, and responding to
the COVID-19 pandemic, but provides the flexibility needed to respond quickly in the face of
constant change and rapid developments.

Furthermore, the Health Department can establish temporary alternative health care facilities by
suspending some compliance and regulatory standards to allow for nontraditional spaces to be
used. Consultation on state building code issues will be required with the commissioner of labor
and industry as needed to safely establish and regulate beds.

The facilities will be enrolled as Medical Assistance providers.

Policy changes intended to make telemedicine services more functional and accessible will require
health carriers to provide coverage for those services and prohibit them from denying coverage
based on the mechanism or platform used to deliver services.

Supervised mental health practitioners and respiratory therapists will be eligible to provide
telemedicine services, and the law expands the definition of “telemedicine services” to include
phone conversations, which would likely be more comfortable for older, less tech-savvy patients.

The law includes other policy provisions that will, during the peacetime emergency:

- clarify that Medical Assistance is available for uninsured individuals for the testing and diagnosis
of COVID-19;

« provide Medical Assistance coverage for diagnostic products used for identifying COVID-19;

« extend out-of-state commercial driver’s licenses for new Minnesota residents;



+ allow the Department of Public Safety to issue commercial driver's licenses without immediately
administering eye exams and taking in-person photographs;

* require reports from the Metropolitan Council and Department of Transportation about the use of
any temporary powers during the emergency;

« allow local registrars to accept electronic filings, mailed or faxed marriage licenses and allow
examination of the parties under oath using audio or video;

« temporarily allow nonconforming wills to be probated if execution defects are shown to be
harmless by clear and convincing evidence;

+ suspend the running of statutory deadlines that govern district and appellate court proceedings;

+ permit a child support obligor to file a motion contesting the May 1, 2020, cost-of-living
adjustment until June 30, 2020; and

« delay the enforcement of certain debts secured by agricultural property, such as foreclosing a
mortgage, by extending the mediation period under the Farmer-Lender Mediation Act.

The Department of Revenue will be given broader discretion in "posting” bars, restaurants and
other businesses that serve beer, wine or liquor for being delinquent on their taxes. Posting is a
punitive measure that prohibits liquor wholesalers from delivering to businesses until their taxes
are paid up. Such discretion will continue through four months after the expiration of the
governor's executive order closing bars and restaurants.

Another provision — updating a law passed last year — will allow members of a public body, such
as a city council, to remotely participate in meetings from locations not accessible to the public up
to three times per year, if the participant has been advised against being in a public space by a
medical professional.

This allowance will only apply during a declared state of emergency, and for up to 60 days after
that emergency declaration has ended, but is not limited to the COVID-19 crisis.

The law also contains a handful of policy provisions unrelated to COVID-19, a series of technical
changes and corrections, and forecast adjustments that will bring Department of Human Services’
appropriations for fiscal years 2020 and 2021 into conformity with the 2020 February Forecast.

HF4556*/SF4462/CH74

Health and Human Services - 2020

Regular Session

Drug makers must justify to the state when large price
increases

Lawmakers aim to slow the growth of prescription drug prices through a new law requiring drug
manufacturers to alert the Health Department and give their rationale for large price increases on
certain drugs.

Sponsored by Rep. Kelly Morrison (DFL-Deephaven) and Sen. Julie Rosen (R-Vernon Center), and
effective July 1, 2020, the so-called “Prescription Drug Price Transparency Act” will require
prescription drug makers to report, beginning Oct. 1, 2021, certain drug pricing information for
existing drugs, new drugs and newly acquired drugs whose prices increase by specified amounts.

In addition to disclosing the cost of manufacturing, marketing and distributing those drugs, drug
makers will report sales revenue; net profits; financial assistance through patient prescription
assistance programs and agreements to delay generics.

For each prescription drug whose price was $100 or greater for a 30-day supply or for a course of
treatment lasting less than 30 days manufacturers must report the specified drug pricing
information for: (1) brand name drugs where the price increases by 10 percent or more within the
previous 12-month period or an increase of at least 16 percent over the previous 24-month period;
and (2) generic drugs where there is a price increase of at least 50 percent over the previous 12-
month period.



The law also establishes manufacturer drug pricing reporting requirements for certain new
prescription drugs and certain newly acquired drugs.

Price increases that meet the threshold will be posted on the state Department of Health website.
A summary must annually be presented to the Legislature beginning Jan. 15, 2022.

Drug makers that fail to follow the law are subject to fines of up to $10,000 per day. money from
these fines must be deposited in the Health Care Access Fund.
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$2.7 million in grants to address opiate epidemic

A new law will help $2.7 million get to work fighting the state’s opioid epidemic.

Sponsored by Rep. Erin Koegel (DFL-Spring Lake Park) and Sen. Mark Koran (R-North Branch), the
law will make one-time grant funding from the state’s opiate epidemic response account — created
in 2019’s opioids law — available for fiscal year 2021.

It is effective May 28, 2020.

Funded by registration fees on opiate manufacturers and license fees on drug manufacturers and
wholesalers, the grants are meant to be determined by the Opiate Epidemic Response Advisory
Council.

But, because of the immediacy of the need and timing constraints, the council wants this initial
round of grant funding to go through the Legislature to organizations that have already received
approval from the Department of Human Services and are doing work throughout the state.

This is expected to be the only time that the council will request direct appropriations to be
handled in this way, and is not intended to set a precedent.

Funds will be used to distribute naloxone kits, provide training, support ECHO hubs, expand care,
and address disparities.

Organizations that will receive funding include:
+ $367,000 each to the Rural AIDS Action Network and the Steve Rummler HOPE Network;

+ $367,000 to the Department of Health to distribute naloxone to all eight emergency medical
service regions, and to expand naloxone distribution to tribal entities;

- $200,000 to Wayside Recovery Center;
+ $150,000 to St. Louis County;

+ $144,000 each to Alliance Wellness Center, My Home, Inc., Turning Point, Inc., Ka Joog, and Twin
Cities Recovery Project, Inc.;

+ $130,000 to the Native American Community Clinic;
+$112,000 to Hennepin Healthcare;
+$100,000 to CHI St. Gabriel's Health Family Medical Center; and

+ $50,000 each to the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe, the American Indian Family Center, the
Community Health Worker Alliance, and the Northwest Indian Community Development Center.
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New law makes range of health board changes

A new law will make it easier for retired health care workers to return to work during a peacetime
emergency - like the COVID-19 pandemic - and institute a range of other updates and clarifying
and technical changes to statutes governing health occupations regulated by the Board of Medical
Practice, Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, Board of Social Work Practice, and Board of
Dentistry.

Sponsored by Rep. Kelly Morrison (DFL-Deephaven) and Sen. Carla Nelson (R-Rochester), the law
is effective Aug. 1, 2020, unless otherwise noted.

The law will permit the payment of retirement annuities if the retiree is hired or rehired by a public
employer as a health care worker on or after the effective date of a declaration of a peacetime
emergency. This would ensure that retirees are not financially penalized for helping to address the
state’s workforce needs during a crisis. This section took effect May 13, 2020.

The new law will also:

* remove unnecessary criminal background check fees for health professions regulated by the
Board of Medical Practice, including physician assistants, acupuncturists, respiratory therapists,
traditional midwives, and genetic counselors;

+ update scope of practice for occupational therapists licensed by the Board of Occupational
Therapy Practice;

+ make clarifying and technical changes to statutes regarding occupational therapy licensure
applications and renewal requirements;

« convert the license renewal cycle for occupational therapy licensees to a two-year cycle based on
birth month;

« allow for licensure by endorsement — not just by examination - for licensed graduate social
workers, licensed independent social workers and licensed independent clinical social workers;

« update statutes governing the Board of Social Work Practice to more explicitly define topics to be
covered by “continuing education social work ethics," including cultural awareness and social
diversity; and

+ modify the requirements for dental professionals to display licensing and renewal certificates.

The law will also require the Board of Social Work Practice to have at least five members - out of
10 — who are members of a community of color or an underrepresented community. Under
previous law, the requirement that was five board members “be persons with expertise in
communities of color.”
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Age to purchase tobacco now 21 years old

Anyone looking to buy tobacco products in Minnesota will have to be at least 21 years old to do so
under a new law.

This includes e-cigarettes, which have become incredibly popular amongst teenagers and nearly
erased two decades of progress in limiting tobacco use. Increasing the legal purchasing age is
intended to interrupt the cycle of addiction.

Rep. Heather Edelson (DFL-Edina) and Sen. Carla Nelson (R-Rochester) sponsor the law, which
brings the state into line with federal statute. A statewide approach is intended to address
confusion for retailers as well as law enforcement. The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2020.

In addition to changing the legal age for purchasing tobacco and tobacco products, the law will:

+ make people liable to administrative penalties for giving or otherwise furnishing tobacco
products to underage people, in addition to selling them;



+ include a wider range of tobacco and nicotine delivery products, including e-cigarettes;

« increase penalties for stores that sell to underage people and allow licenses to be revoked for a
third or subsequent violation;

« eliminate the petty misdemeanor for underage people who possess tobacco or purchase it with a
fake I.D. and

* require alternative civil penalties for underage people who purchase tobacco products, which can
include tobacco-cessation programming and community service, but not fines or monetary
penalties.

The new law will make selling or giving tobacco to an underage person a petty misdemeanor for
the first violation — a lower penalty than the misdemeanor in previous statute. Penalties for
subsequent violations will be lowered from gross misdemeanors to misdemeanors.

Under the law, a first violation by a retailer will result in a $300 penalty, a second violation will cost
$600, and later violations within 36 months of the initial violation will cost $1,000.

Previously, the penalties for retailers were, respectively, $75, $200, and $250 for violations within
24 months of the initial violation.
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Continuity of care to be improved with changes to prior
authorization requirements

A new law modifies statutes on health care services utilization and prior authorization
requirements to modify timelines for determinations and appeals, provide for continuity of care
and improve public access to information.

Sponsored by Rep. Kelly Morrison (DFL-Deephaven) and Sen. Julie Rosen (R-Vernon Center), the
law is — except where otherwise noted - effective Jan. 1, 2021, and applies to health plans offered,
sold, issued or renewed on or after that date.

Under the law, if a person switches health plan companies, their new provider will be required to
comply with previous prior authorizations for health care services for the first 60 days after
enrollment while a new utilization review is conducted. The enrollee, or a medical professional
acting on their behalf, will be required to submit documentation to access this.

If a utilization review organization changes its coverage terms or clinical criteria during a plan year,
those changes will not apply until the next year for any enrollee who received prior authorization
for a health care service that would be affected, with some exceptions.

The law will also require utilization review organizations to submit their current requirements and
restrictions for prior authorization determinations to the health plan companies for which they
conduct reviews.

The health plan companies, in turn, will be required to post this information on their public
websites in easy-to-understand language. Any changes to the prior authorization requirements will
also need to be posted online.

In addition, health plan companies will be required to post certain data on their public websites,
including the number of prior authorization requests for which an authorization was issued and the
reasons for prior authorization denial. This will need to be available online by April 1, 2022, and
updated by each following April 1.

The law will also:
« shorten the length of time available for determinations to be made regarding utilization review;

« require a report from the Department of Health, including data on prior authorization requests, by
April 1,2021;



« prohibit the revocation, limitation or restriction of a prior authorization that has been authorized
except when there is evidence of fraud, misinformation or a conflict with state or federal law;

« require that new requirements or restrictions will need to be provided to any impacted Minnesota-
based, in-network attending health care professionals at least 45 days before those changes will
go into effect; and

« clarify and define terms and make a range of conforming changes.

This chapter of law will not apply to managed care plans or county-based purchasing plans
providing coverage to state public health care program enrollees under Medical Assistance or
MinnesotaCare.

HF3398/SF3204*/CH114
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Omnibus health policy law focuses on practical changes

The omnibus health policy law contains many provisions intended to improve access to care and
treatment, better align existing statutes with current practice, and streamline and clarify existing
law.

Sponsored by Rep. Rena Moran (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Michelle Benson (R-Ham Lake), the law
does not touch on human services initiatives. Human services provisions were carried in a
separate piece of legislation that did not become law.

Language taking effect May 28, 2020, includes:

+ changes to last year’s opioids law, converting the “account” into a “fund,” changing some
terminology, modifying fees and modifying council procedures and term limits (Art. 3, various
sections);

« clarifying that the cost of a private room in an assisted living facility should not be considered a
medical expense that can be deducted from income prior to paying for the cost of institutional
care (Art. 3, Sec. 25);

+ allowing the Board of Pharmacy to work directly with the University of Minnesota to establish a
central drug repository program, instead of undergoing a request-for-proposal process (Art. 2, Sec.
26);

+ updating and clarifying provisions related to the administration of the Medical Assistance and
MinnesotaCare programs (Art. 3, various sections);

+ during a peacetime emergency declared by the governor, and until 60 days after it ends, a
prescription drug order to treat a substance use disorder can be issued after a telemedicine
examination (Art. 2, Sec. 30);

+ between March 13 and Dec. 31, 2020, “continuing education hours obtained by a licensed
podiatrist through participation in an internet live online ... shall be classified by the board of
podiatric medicine in the same manner as if the credits were obtained through in-person
participation” (Art. 2, Sec. 31);

« allows required on-site treatment observation for physical therapy assistants to be met via
telemedicine during a peacetime emergency declared by the governor and until 60 days after it
ends (Art. 2, Sec. 32);

« temporarily — during a peacetime emergency declared by the governor, and until 60 days after it
ends — allowing pharmacists to change patients’ medications to a therapeutically equivalent drug,
should the prescribed medication be unavailable due to a shortage caused by the COVID-19
pandemic (Art. 2, Sec. 33); and

« providing that age-related macular degeneration will not be added as a qualifying medical
condition for the state’s medical cannabis program (Art. 1, Sec. 16).



Notable provisions, effective Aug. 1, 2020, include language that will:

« authorize pharmacists to prescribe self-administered hormonal contraceptives, nicotine
replacement medications, and opiate antagonists used for acute opioid overdoses (Art. 2, Secs. 2,
19-21, 23, 25, 28-29);

« eliminate unnecessary administrative barriers that impede physician’s assistants’ ability to
practice in Minnesota (Art. 2, Secs. 3-17, 27);

« require health care providers to give patients their own health information and records within 30
days of a written request (Art. 1, Sec. 10);

+ permit, rather than require, medical cannabis manufacturers to operate eight distribution facilities
in the state (Art. 1, Sec. 12);

* require the Department of Health to conduct at least one unannounced inspection of each
medical cannabis manufacturer per year until a state-centralized, seed-to-sale system is
implemented (Art. 1, Sec. 12);

« allow telemedicine evaluations to suffice for prescribing drugs for the treatment of erectile
dysfunction (Art. 2, Sec. 22);

+ add advanced practice registered nurses and podiatrists to the list of providers who can
prescribe prosthetic and orthotic devices (Art. 4, Sec. 115);

« require health carriers to reimburse multi-step dental procedures, even if the entire procedure is
not completed because the patient moves, doesn’t show up, changes coverage or loses coverage
(Art. 3, Sec. 31);

- allow Medical Assistance to pay for services for persons who have been screened for breast or
cervical cancer though a wider array of programs (Art. 3, Sec. 23);

« clarify that Medical Assistance may cover medical services that are unrelated to clinical trials
(Art. 3, Sec. 28);

« include tribal identification cards as a valid form of identification for accessing both an urgent-
need 30-day supply of insulin and the ongoing manufacturer patient assistance program (Art. 3,
Sec. 37);

+ authorize pharmacists to administer COVID-19 vaccines when one becomes available (Art. 2, Sec.
20);

+ add new controlled substances to state’s list of Schedule | and Il controlled drug schedules (Art.
5, Secs. 1-3); and

- allow patients receiving veteran’s disability or railroad disability to pay a reduced fee when
enrolling in the state’s medical cannabis program (Art. 1, Sec. 13).

Other provisions in the new law delete obsolete language, repeal obsolete sections, incorporate
federal requirements into state law, and correct drafting errors.

The language of the law was originally passed by the House and Senate as HF3727/SF3560*. But
on the last day of session it was moved to a carrier bill, for final passage technically sponsored by
Rep. Hunter Cantrell (DFL-Savage).

HF2715/SF13*/CH115
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North Branch can expand public utilities commission

A new law will allow the city of North Branch to increase the number of members on its Public
Utilities Commission to five.



Sponsored by Rep. Anne Neu (R-North Branch) and Sen. Mark Koran (R-North Branch), the law also
requires terms for the additional members to be staggered and set in accordance with the
commission’s bylaws. Once the commission has five members, no more than two may also serve
on the city council.

The law is effective the day after local approval and necessary filings are made with the Office of
the Secretary of State.
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Polk County courthouse improvements could be funded
by new law

The Polk County Law Library may transfer money in reserve to Polk County for improvements to
the county courthouse, under a new law.

Sponsored by Rep. Sandy Layman (R-Cohasset) and Sen. Justin Eichorn (R-Grand Rapids), the law,
effective Aug. 1, 2020, gives the library, through its trustees, the ability to transfer up to half the
money in its fiscal reserve, to a maximum of $150,000.

In order for the transfer to take place, the trustees would have to determine the reserve is projected
to have enough money to sustain the library’s operations for over five years.

The transferred money will be used to defray “technological improvements” to the courthouse.

HF3804/SF3745*/CH117
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Drone use, search warrant changes included in omnibus
data practices law

The omnibus data practices law changes five areas of Minnesota statutes, including law
enforcement’s drone use; the need for a search warrant and changes to publication criteria for
court of appeals opinions.

Sponsored by Rep. John Lesch (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Warren Limmer (R-Maple Grove), the law
takes effect Aug. 1, 2020, unless otherwise noted.

Drone use by law enforcement

This law requires law enforcement agencies to obtain a search warrant for using an unmanned
aerial vehicle — or drone — unless an exception applies, including:

+ during, or in the aftermath of, an emergency;

« over a public event where there is heightened risk to the public;

« to counter the risk of a terrorist attack;

* to prevent the loss of life and property in natural or man-made disasters;

- to conduct a threat assessment;

* to collect information over a public area if there is a reasonable suspicion of criminal activity;
- for crash-reconstruction purposes; and

« for officer training or public relations purposes.



An unmanned aerial vehicle cannot be armed and the law prohibits the use of facial recognition
technology and data collection at public protests unless authorized by a warrant. It requires a law
enforcement agency to document each use of an unmanned aerial vehicle and to delete data
collected within seven days unless the information obtained is part of an active criminal
investigation.

Law enforcement agencies must, by Feb. 15, 2021, create a written policy for using create
unmanned aerial vehicles. The policy must include a way for the public to comment on such
usage.

Warrants for electronic communication data

A government entity will be required to obtain a search warrant prior to accessing electronic
communication information, such as images, email and text messages from cell phones or other
wired or wireless electronic communication devices. The law specifies that information gathering
requiring a warrant includes the “precise or approximate location of the sender or recipients at any
point during the communication.”

Exceptions are allowed if a person gives permission to a law enforcement agency to collect
electronic data, or if “exigent circumstances exist where there is a danger to the life or physical
safety of an individual.”

The law requires courts, within 90 days of unsealing an electronic warrant, to disclose to the
subject of the warrant the nature and duration of the surveillance investigation and if electronic
communication information was collected during the surveillance period.

Warrants for electronic location-tracking devices

Effective May 17, 2020, the law makes changes relating to court-issued warrants for electronic
location-tracking devices, which have unique statutory restrictions and requirements.

One provision amends the statute concerning the sealing and disclosure of a warrant for wire,
electronic, or oral communications to distinguish and exempt location-tracking warrants from the
general requirements.

Another provision amends the statute concerning the sealing of a warrant for a pen register (an
electronic device that records all numbers called from a particular telephone line), trap and trace
device, or mobile tracking device to distinguish and exempt location-tracking warrants from the
requirements relating to those other devices.

Scope of warrants for location-tracking expanded

Current law that prohibits a government entity from obtaining location information of an electronic
device without a tracking warrant will be expanded to include “unique identifiers,” defined as any
numeric or alphanumeric string associated with a single entity or account within an electronic
communication application or service.

Publication criteria for court of appeals opinions

This new law removes a requirement that the court of appeals only publish decisions that establish
a new rule, overrule a prior decision, provide important procedural guidelines in interpreting
statutes or administrative rules, or significantly aid in the administration of justice.

It also removes requirements related to how attorneys may cite unpublished opinions in their legal
briefs and memoranda.
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Model policy on eyewitness identification required

Sponsored by Rep. Dave Pinto (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen (R-Alexandria), a new law
requires the Minnesota Peace Officer Standards and Training Board to create a model policy for
eyewitness identification by Nov. 1, 2020.



Law enforcement agencies throughout the state must adopt the POST Board model policy or one
“substantially similar to the model policy” by Feb. 1, 2021.

The law states that the POST Board model policy must require that:

+ a person administering a live or photographic lineup be unaware of the suspect’s identity, or if
that is not practical, the administrator use a photographic lineup that prevents the administrator
from seeing which member of the lineup is being viewed by the eyewitness at a given time;

« before the procedure, the eyewitness be instructed that the perpetrator may or may not be in the
lineup;

+ non-suspect “fillers” used in the lineup be substantially similar to the eyewitness’ description of
the perpetrator; and

« immediately after an identification is made, the eyewitness provide a statement in his or her own
words that articulates the level of the eyewitness’ confidence in the identification.

The law takes effect Aug. 1, 2020.

Nothing in this new law prohibits the admission of relevant evidence or otherwise changes the
standards governing the admissibility of evidence.
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Penalties for drones over prisons part of omnibus public
safety law

Later this summer, someone operating an unmanned aerial vehicle, or drone, in the airspace above
a state prison or other Department of Corrections’ property will be charged with a misdemeanor.
Doing so to record images or to introduce unauthorized items into a prison will make the misdeed
a gross misdemeanor.

The provision is one aspect of the omnibus public safety and corrections policy law. Sponsored by
Rep. Carlos Mariani (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen. Warren Limmer (R-Maple Grove), it takes effect Aug. 1,
2020, unless otherwise noted.

Part of the law will give conservation officers the same DWI arrest authority as other peace
officers.

Under current law, DNR conservation officers only have the authority to enforce provisions of the
DWI chapter against individuals who are hunting while under the influence, or while operating off-
road recreational vehicles or motorboats.

The law also:

« requires the Corrections Department to provide a reasonable number of free feminine hygiene
products, including sanitary napkins and tampons, to female inmates, and develop a written policy
to implement the process;

+ changes the formula the Corrections Department uses to charge counties to house male juvenile
inmates at its Red Wing facility and of juvenile females committed to the department;

+ changes from “counseling” to “cultural programming” the description of services the Corrections
Department must develop for American Indian inmates in all correctional facilities and community-
based correctional programs;

* requires certain contractors to undergo criminal background checks before they can access the
state’s Criminal Justice Data Communications Network;

- effective May 28, 2020, eliminates through calendar year 2020 local match requirement for Youth
Intervention Programs’ grants to community programs that have had to suspend or severely limit
their programming in response to the COVID-19 peacetime emergency; and



« repeals an obsolete provision related to juvenile offender reimbursement and a redundant
provision related to the Ramsey County Community Corrections Department.
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New law will help finish long-sought Highway 14
expansion

A loan agreement with the federal government could help facilitate the completion of long-sought
improvements to a dangerous stretch of southern Minnesota highway.

The new law, effective March 18, 2020, authorizes the state to enter into a loan agreement with
federal authorities — and creates a new account for loan repayment — in order to expand a stretch
of U.S. Highway 14 between Nicollet and New Ulm from two lanes to four. It is the final un-widened
stretch of the highway between the cities of New Ulm and Rochester, and will mark the culmination
of a years-long effort by local officials and safety advocates along its route.

Sponsored by Sen. Nick Frentz (DFL-North Mankato) and Rep. Jeff Brand (DFL-St. Peter), the law
dictates that fees from certain overweight or oversize vehicle permits will be placed in a special
revenue account established under the law, and will be used to repay the loan.

In effect, the new legislation replaces a 2010 law that authorized the Department of Transportation
to apply for a loan under the federal Transportation Infrastructure Finance and Innovation Act. The
loan is not considered public debt.
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