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Be a Safe and Responsible Rider
Register Your Sled, It’s the Law
Take A Snowmobile Safety Training Course
Check the Weather Forecast and Trail Conditions
Check the Local Laws
Wear Appropriate Clothing and Safety Gear
Inspect Your Snowmobile
Ride With a Buddy
Carry a First Aid, Survival and Repair Kit
Stay Sober and Stay Alert
Avoid Unknown Lakes and Rivers
Do Not Speed, Stay in Control
Stay On The Trails, Respect Private Property
Children Should Always Be Supervised
Stay To The Right On Trails
Watch Out For Groomers
Cross Roads In a Safe Manner
Respect Other Trail Users
Make New Friends, Join a Club

Don’t Trespass
If You Are On A Field, or
If You Are On Railroad Tracks, or
If You Are Off the Marked And Groomed Trail, or
If You Are On The Inside Slope Of A Ditch, or
If You Are On a Power Line, or
If You Are On A Trail Between April 1st & December 1st

You Are Probably Trespassing
Join MnUSA - Be Part of our Team
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Did you know?
Under the DWI law

If you refuse chemical testing - regardless of what vehicle type you are driving
« Your driver’s license is revoked, and your snowmobile and ATV privileges are all
suspended for a year

If you are convicted of DWI - regardless of what vehicle type you are driving
« Your driver’s license is revoked, your snowmobile and ATV privileges are
suspended for a year and your motorboat privileges are suspended for 90
days between May and October and over two years if necessary

Do you own an ATV with Tracks?
« Operation of an ATV equipped with tracks is not allowed on Grant-in-Aid and
state snowmobile trails. “Snowmobile” means a self-propelled vehicle originally
manufactured and designed for travel on snow or ice steered by skis or runners.

A Message from MN DNR Conservation Officers: @

Operating a snowmobile above the speed limit is dangerous for you and others. It is a
contributing factor in numerous crashes each year. Minnesota offers several hundred
miles of snowmobile trails in forested areas. While these locations offer a scenic and
fun experience, caution is required when meeting other riders. Limited visibility based
upon the trail type and conditions may require speed to be reduced even more. Please
be alert to other snowmobile operators and SLOW down when out riding the trails.

2018 Snowmobile Safety Instructor of the Year

Kim Werkmeister, of Shakopee, has been named the Minnesota Department
of Natural Resources Volunteer Snowmobile Instructor of the Year for 2018.
Werkmeister has instructed more than 3,500 youth and adults for the past 42 years.
Kim has been a member of the River Valley Trailblazers Snowmobile Club of Shakopee
for 45 years. “Kim is an extraordinarily active volunteer who truly cares about passing
on Minnesota’s safe snowmobiling tradition to new riders,” said Conservation Officer
Bruce Lawrence, recreational vehicle coordinator for the DNR’s Enforcement
Division. “He understands the connection between safety training and fewer
snowmobile crashes. Volunteer instructors like Kim are a big part of the reason why
snowmobiling in Minnesota is such a safe sport.”

If you are interested in becoming a volunteer DNR youth instructor:
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/instructors/become.html

This publication is paid for through the sale of advertising. The State of Minnesota and the Department of Natural Resources can neither endorse products or
services advertised nor accept any liability arising from the use of these products or services. Equal opportunity to participate in and benefit from programs
of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources is available to all individuals regardless of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status,
public assistance status, age, sexual orientation, disability, or activity on behalf of a local human rights commission. Discrimination inquiries should be sent
to MN DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4031 or the Equal Opportunity Office, Department of the Interior, Washington, DC 20240.
Copyright 2019, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources.
RECYCLABLE: This coated paper protects your regulations from water and the wear and tear of constant use.
To recycle, remove the staples and then recycle.
This information is available in an alternative format upon request.
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Born to Lead

Ride confidently with the ultimate control and
corner-to-corner quickness only the RUSH® can
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lap, erase bumps, and gain the edge you crave.
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GEAR & ACCESSORIES

Our full lines of accessories and Arcticwear® give you everything you need to take your ride to the next level,
and wear your passion on your sleeve.

Country Cat Lighthouse Motorsports & Marine

Sauk Centre Rosemount
320-352-3534 651-322-4420
www.countrycat.net www.lighthousemotorsports.com

Always wear a helmet and don’ t drink and ride. ©2018 Textron Specialized Vehicles Inc. All rights reserved.
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WELCOME TO SNOWMOBILING

Minnesota has over 22,000 miles of snowmobile trails. Access to trails depends on
the cooperation of landowners, non-motorized trail users, other recreationists, and
local units of government. The vast majority of trails are groomed and maintained by
snowmobile club volunteers.

Be aware that trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have against snow-
mobilers. Trespass seriously impacts the ability of clubs to get private landowners to
allow grant-in-aid trails on their property. We recommend that all recreational users
ask first before entering private lands, even if the land is not posted.

When you ride:
+ No alcohol or drugs.
« Stay to the right on trails and use your headlight and taillight.
+ Maintain adequate spacing between machines to avoid collision.
+ Reduce your speed when riding at night to less than 40 MPH. Studies have
shown speed over 40 MPH results in overdriving your headlights.
« Always yield to other motor vehicles.
« Stay clear of thin ice and lake inlets — never cross open water.
« Never ride alone; use the buddy system.
« Stay on groomed area of trails.
+ Wear a helmet, eye protection, and proper clothing.

SPEED BLURS
YOUR VISION

SLOW DOWN.
STAY IN CONTROL.

This message brought to you by the American Council of Snowmobile Associations
www.snowmobilers.org
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Registering Your Snowmobile

Snowmobiles operated or transported in Minnesota must be registered with the
DNR. If your snowmobile is not registered, you may not operate, transport, or permit
it to be operated. You must be at least 18 years old to register a snowmobile.

A majority of the revenue generated from snowmobile registration will be used for
snowmobile grant-in-aid trails, trail maintenance, grooming, and easement acquisition.

How to Register Your Snowmobile

Register your snowmobile in person at any deputy registrar or at the DNR License Center
in St. Paul. When you register, you will need the make, model, year, serial number, engine
size, and sales receipt that shows the proof of sales tax payment. Sales between private
parties do not require payment of sales tax.

Purchase from a Private Party: A person may not sell a snowmobile without furnishing
the buyer with a bill of sale that includes the signature of the registered owner and

the serial number of the snowmobile. Transfers and registration renewal fees are the
responsibility of the new owner.

Purchase from a Dealership: Snowmobiles purchased from a retail dealer must be
registered by the purchaser at the dealer. The dealer will issue a 21-day temporary
registration.

Snowmobile registration fees:

Type of Registration Fee

Trail Use Registration $105.00 plus filing fees
Non-trail Registration [3yrs] $45.00 plus filing fees
Duplicate Registration $16.00

Duplicate Registration Decal $ 6.00

Transfer — Trail use registration only $18.50

Dealer [annual] $58.50 every year
Manufacturer [annual] $158.50 every year
Collector Unlimited Use $14.50

Expiration, Renewal, and Duplicate
The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the registration
validation decal. All snowmobile registrations expire on June 30 of the last year the
registration expires. Example: June 30,2020

You should receive a notice by mail to renew your registration. Please notify the
DNR of any address change. Whether you are notified or not, you are responsible
for renewing your snowmobile registration. You may renew your registration at
http://licenses.dnr.state.mn.us/.

To obtain a duplicate registration card or decal, contact or your local deputy

registrar or the DNR License Center 1-800-285-2000.
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Non-Trail Snowmobile Registration is available for snowmobilers who do not operate
on state or grant-in-aid state trails. A unique non-trail registration number will be
assigned which will need to be displayed on the snowmobile.

+ Non-trail registration does not allow for operation on state or grant-in-aid state
trails even if you have a one-year trail sticker on the snowmobile.

+ If a road right-of-way is part of a state or grant-in-aid state trail, you cannot operate
a non-trail registered snowmobile on it.

+ If a non-trail registered snowmobile is changed to the regular trail registration, new
registration numbers will be assigned which will need to be displayed on the
snowmobile.

+ Non-trail snowmobile registrations are non-transferrable.

+ Snowmobiles with 125¢c or less engine displacement do not need registration
(including non-trail registration) if NOT operated on state and grant-in-aid trails.

Registration Numbers and Validation Decals

When you register your snowmobile, you will be assigned a snowmobile registration
number and receive a registration card. When you receive your registration card,
sign it and keep it handy. You do not have to carry it with you, but if an enforcement
officer asks to see it, you must produce it within a reasonable amount of time. The
current registration number and validation decal must be displayed.

Display of Registration Number and Validation Decals

« Display in the 3” x 7”7 space provided by the manufacturer on the cowling or pan, or

« If no space is provided, place on each side of the snowmobile on the upper half,
forward of the handlebars in a visible location.

Reading from left to right: The letters and numbers must be 1- 7/8” high with 3/16”
stroke in width and in the English language.

Note: Letters and

numbers must be
contrasting color

of the snowmobile
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Precision trail handling meets off-trail powder
capability. With the REV® Gen4 platform and your
choice of 4-stroke and 2-stroke Rotax® engines,
you're ready to uncover the undiscovered.

Leo’s South
Lakeville
952-435-5371
leossouth.com

Ollie’s Service Inc.
Alexandria
320-763-4455
olliesservice.com

Miller Sellner Olson Power & Equipment
Sleepy Eye North Branch
507-794-2131 651-674-4494
millersellner.com olsonpower.com

Minneapolis Motor Sports

St. Boni Motorsports

Minneapolis St. Bonifacius
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mplsmotor.com stbonimotorsports.com
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Snowmobiles do not need to be registered with the DNR if

+ being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail

+ owned and used by the federal government, an Indian tribal government, another
state or a political subdivision

+ if the snowmobile is registered by tribal members through the tribal government

registered in a country other than the U.S. and being used temporarily in Minnesota

currently registered in another state and not kept in Minnesota for more than 30
consecutive days

used exclusively in organized track-racing events

in transit by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer

at least 15 years old in transit by an individual for use on land owned or leased by the
individual

used exclusively for agricultural purposes
+ a snowmobile with an engine displacement that is 125 cubic centimeters or less and
the snowmobile is not operated on a state or grant-in-aid trail.

Transfer of Ownership

If you buy a snowmobile that is currently registered for trail use in Minnesota, you
may use a transferred registration for the time remaining on the previous owner’s
registration.

Simply obtain a bill of sale that includes the serial number of the snowmobile from
the previous owner and send it, along with a transfer application and the transfer fee,
to the DNR License Center or a deputy registrar. Transfer applications must be made
within 15 days after the transfer or sale actually occurs. A transferred registration is
only valid until the previous owner’s registration expires. Non-trail registration is non-
transferrable. If you buy a snowmobile that is currently registered for non-trail use,
you must either apply for a new non-trail or trail registration.

Transfer or Termination of Snowmobile Ownership:

Within 15 days after the transfer of ownership, an application for transfer must be
executed by the registered owner and the purchaser using a bill of sale that includes
the vehicle serial number. An owner must report the destruction or abandonment
of any snowmobile by written notice to the commissioner in such form as the
commissioner shall prescribe.

MINNESOTA

CONSERVATION
VOLUNTEER

Touring, Trail Riding, or Backcountry Exploring?
Take MCV Along for the Ride...
Before you hit the snow trails this year, consider subscribing to Minnesota

Conservation Volunteer and get in-depth, in-the-field coverage of
Minnesota’s wild things and wild places every other month.
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Collector Snowmobile

* Special Permit

A special permit may be issued to a person or organization to operate or transport a
collector snowmobile without registration for parades or organized group outings, such
as races, rallies, and other promotional events, and for up to ten days each year for
personal transportation. “Collector snowmobile” means a snowmobile that is 25 years
old or older, was originally produced as a separate identifiable make by a manufacturer,
and is owned and operated solely as a collector’s item.

+ Collector Registration (Optional)

Snowmobiles 25 years old or older may be registered for unlimited use. This
registration is non-transferable. The collector registration does not expire and is valid
until the ownership of the snowmobile is transferred. A snowmobile state trail sticker
is required if you operate on a state or grant-in-aid trail.

Destroyed, Abandoned, or Stolen Snowmobile

If your snowmobile is destroyed, abandoned, or stolen or you no longer register it
in Minnesota, notify the DNR License Center at 500 Lafayette Rd, St. Paul, MN
55155-4026, (651) 296-2316 or 1-800-285-2000 within 15 days.

Dealer and Manufacturer Registration

Dealers must register snowmobiles they own and use for demonstration purposes.
A registration plate will be issued along with a registration certificate that must be
displayed conspicuously in the place of business. Additional plates are available for
$4.00, plus filing fees.

Manufacturers must register snowmobiles they own and operate for research,
testing, experimentation, or demonstration. A registration plate will be issued along
with a registration certificate that must be displayed conspicuously in the place of
manufacture.

A valid registration number plate must be displayed on snowmobiles operated,
or permitted to be operated, by a dealer or manufacturer. The registrations are not
transferable. Dealer and manufacturer registrations are valid July 1 - June 30.

WANTED

» Snowmobile Instructors

Help teach the next generation about proper
safety and enjoyment of snowmobiling.

More information @ mndnr.gov under "Education & Safety"




FORMERLY WACONIA RIDE-IN
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State Trail Stickers

Snowmobile State Trail Sticker

Snowmobiles registered in another state or country must have a Snowmobile State
Trail Sticker when operating on state and grant-in-aid trails. A Snowmobile State Trail
Sticker is valid November 1 - June 30 of each year. Anyone operating a snowmobile
in violation of this law will be required to purchase an annual penalty sticker for
$71.00 in addition to any ticket or fine.

These stickers are available at Deputy Registrar locations, Game and Fish
Licensing agents, DNR License Center, online www.mndnr.gov or by phone

1-888-MNLICENSE

One Year Trail Sticker - $51.00

Penalty Annual Trail Sticker - $71.00

(Required to buy if found operating on state or grant-in-aid trail without a
sticker)

Dealer/Manufacturer Trail Sticker - $16.00

Duplicates - $2.50

Note: For Online purchases, add 3% plus a $1.65 service fee. For phone
purchases, add $3.50

The Snowmobile State Trail Sticker must be displayed in one of the following ways:
+ on the forward half of the snowmobile, directly above or below the headlight

« above the expiration year on the top portion of the registration validation decal

« on the lower right corner of a dealer or manufacturer plate

A Snowmobile State Trail Sticker is not required for:

+ a snowmobile while being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail

+ a snowmobile owned by the federal government, Indian tribal government, state,
and political subdivisions

« operating a collector snowmobile with a permit

+ operating a snowmobile on portions of a trail owned by the person or the person’s
spouse, child, or parent
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Rules of the Road and Trail

Passing & -ﬁ
When overtaking another snowmobile

going in the same direction, always

pass on the left. m m m

—

Meeting T~
When meeting another snowmobile, m “‘Iﬁ! ‘_m =

always slow down and stay to the right.
I
= === R —|

Meeting at an intersection ’ L 4
When meeting at an intersection, - :Pu
the operator to the right has the

right of way.

Public Road Right-of-way

Private Property

Private Property

Roadway

Check local ordinances and
the regulation book to know
where it is legal to ride

Ditch Ditch

NOTICE: Snowmobile operation is restricted to the bottom and outer slope of a
road ditch of a state highway or county road. Road authorities may allow two-way
operation on either side of road.

Check with local government officials on operating snowmobiles within township or
city limits as private property boundaries vary.
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Signs

Snowmobile operators should be familiar with the meaning of the
following trail signs.

Informational sign:
indicates intersections or major changes in trail direction.

Directional blazer:
indicates changes in trail direction.

Reassuring blazer:
placed at intervals along the trail reassures users that they
are still on the trail.

Stop sign: / \\
placed at a road or highway crossing indicates a snowmobile must ‘
come toa complete stop. \

No-snowmobiling sign:
indicates a trail or area where snowmobiling is prohibited.

Asphalt Trail

No-studded tracks sign:
indicates no metal traction devices allowed on trail.

No Studded
Tracks

Two-way trail sign:

indicates trails with permitted two-way travel
during nighttime hours within the public road
right-of-way.
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Equipment Requirements

All snowmobiles operated on public lands, waters, or roadways must be
equipped as follows:

Helmet

« Operators or riders under 18 years of age must wear an approved helmet,
except when participating in a parade or operating on land belonging to a parent,
grandparent, sibling, uncle, or aunt.

An approved helmet must meet federal law, which requires the helmet to
display the DOT symbol. This indicates the manufacturer’s helmet conforms to
motor vehicle safety standards under the department of transportation. Standard
bicycle and hockey helmets are not legal helmets for snowmobiling.

Lights

« Headlights and taillights must be on during hours of darkness.

« Headlights must be able to reveal people and vehicles 100 feet ahead and
aimed so they will not blind an oncoming snowmobiler.

+ Colored lenses on headlights are NOT lawful when the snowmobile is
operated on roads or road rights-of-way, including crossing roads and
operating in ditches or outside slopes.

+ Red taillights must be visible for 500 feet to the rear of the snowmobile.

Brakes
« Brakes must be able to control movement and to stop and hold the snowmobile
track.

Reflector Material

+ Snowmobiles must have at least 16 square inches of reflector material on
each side forward of the handlebars.

« Any sled, trailer, or other device that is towed by a snowmobile during hours
of darkness must display visible reflector material on each side and at the
rear.

Mufflers

+ Snowmobiles must be equipped with mufflers that are in good working order and
that do not produce sharp popping or cracking sounds or excessive or unusual
noise. After-market exhaust systems may not meet this requirement and may
not be lawful to operate.

« You may not operate or sell a snowmobile built on or after April 1, 1975, that
exceeds 78 decibels on the A scale at 50 feet, except under a permit of the DNR
or county sheriff.

+ No snowmobile shall be modified by any person in any manner that shall amplify
or otherwise increase total noise level above that emitted by the snowmobile as
originally equipped, regardless of date of manufacture.
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Safety Training Requirements

Residents born after December 31,1976, must complete a snowmobile safety training
course to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota. While operating a snowmobile, you must
have either:

«a snowmobile safety certificate in your possession or

«a snowmobile safety certificate indicator on your driver’s license or on your Minnesota

ID card

Youth ages 11 to 15 years can complete safety training by selecting one of the choices
below.
Either choice will have a required “hands on” snowmobile riding course.

Choice 1: Attend a Traditional classroom snowmobile course
« Course fee $5.00

+ 8 hour course provided by DNR Volunteer Instructors

+ Meets two or more times in a classroom setting

+ Required “hands on” snowmobile riding course™

Choice 2: Complete the Online snowmobile safety course
« Snowmobilecourse.com [course fee $24.95]
+ Attend required “hands on” snowmobile riding course™

**Additional fees may apply to attend the hands-on course. Contact the Instructor.

Where do | find a training course?

On the DNR website www.mndnr.gov, click on Education & Safety and then under

Recreational Vehicle Safety Classes to find snowmobile safety training. You may also
contact the DNR Information Center by email (info.dnr(@state.mn.us) or by phone
1-888-646-6367.

Adult Snowmobile Safety Training (16 years and older)

Complete the online course at Snowmobilecourse.com and click on the Minnesota
course link. Participants will pay with a credit card to obtain the safety certificate via
online portal. Adults are not required to attend the “hands on” snowmobile riding course.

Offender Snowmobile Safety Training

A person who is convicted of careless or reckless operation, or two or more speeding
violations in a snowmobile season, must successfully complete a snowmobile safety
training course before operating a snowmobile.

Non-residents: certificates for snowmobile safety training issued in another state will be
recognized in Minnesota.
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Youth Operation Requirements

+ The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is jointly responsible for
laws broken by a minor on that snowmobile.

« Anyone under 18 years old must wear an approved helmet.

Snowmobile Safety Certificate

Minnesota Residents

Any resident of Minnesota born after December 31,1976, must have a snowmobile
safety certificate to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota. Youth must be 11 years
old to take a snowmobile safety course, the certificate is not valid until the 12th

birthday.

Residents and Non-Residents

UnderAge12 .  Without safety certificate - May drive snowmobiles on public lands,
public waters, or grant-in-aid trails if accompanied by an adult*
. May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads
. May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality

Ages12&13 . May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-
aid trails IF Accompanied by an adult® OR In possession of a valid
snowmobile safety certificate

. May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads
. May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality

Ages14t018 .  May drive a snowmobile across state or county roads IF in
possession of a snowmobile safety certificate or driver’s license or
ID card with valid snowmobile indicator

+  May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-
aid trails WITH a snowmobile safety certificate

+  May drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in municipalities, if
not prohibited by local ordinance

OverAge18 - Residents born after December 31,1976, who operate a
snowmobile in Minnesota must possess a valid snowmobile safety
certificate or a driver’s license or ID card with a valid snowmobile
indicator.

*Accompanied by an adult means a parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated by the parent
or guardian who needs to be close enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile.

Exception for Residents and Non-Residents

Without a snowmobile safety certificate, a person under the age of 14 years

may operate a snowmobile only if they are supervised or accompanied by one

of the following: parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older
designated by the parent or guardian. The supervising or accompanying adult needs
to be close enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile.
This exception does not allow an operator under the age of 14 to cross a public road.

Non-residents who are 18 years old and older do not need a snowmobile safety certificate.
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General Operation

Where You May Ride

« in the bottom or outside slope of a ditch of a county or state road (see page15)

« in the same direction as road traffic in the ditch from one-half hour after
sunset to one-half hour before sunrise (other than this time, you can ride in
either direction)

« one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise on two-way
snowmobile trails that are located within the ditches or adjacent to streets or
highways when specifically permitted by the road authority
(look for posted two-way signs, see page 16)

- on a bridge, other than a bridge that is part of the main-traveled lanes of an
interstate highway, in order to avoid obstructions to travel when absolutely
necessary (the snowmobile must be operated in the extreme right-hand lane,
the entrance to the roadway must be made within 100 feet of the bridge, and
crossing must be made as quickly as possible)

« on state and local grant in aid trails

« on iced-over waters that have legal access (unless restricted by local ordinances)

« on township roads when not restricted by local ordinance

« on public lands that are open to motorized vehicles. Land uses vary. Be
sure to check all federal, state, and local ordinances.

+ on your own land

Inside the seven-county metro area, you may ride:

« on land that is posted with signs stating “snowmobiles allowed”

« on land other than your own, with written or verbal permission of the
landowner, occupant, or lessee

« on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.

Outside the seven-county metro area, you may ride:

« on agricultural land with permission of the landowner

+ on land, other than agricultural land, that you have not Anoka
been told verbally, by written warning, or by posted signs,
that riding is prohibited

+ on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.

Hennepin

Washington
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When making a direct crossing of a street or road, you must:

+ bring the snowmobile to a complete stop before crossing, whether there is a
stop sign or not

+ yield to all oncoming traffic

+ have both front and rear lights on when crossing between one-half
hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, or during periods of
reduced visibility (see page 30 for sunrise/sunset table)

« cross at a 90-degree angle with respect to the road

« cross a divided road at an intersection

State forest lands classified as “closed” are open to off-trail snowmobile use unless
specifically posted closed to snowmobiling.

Where You May NOT Ride

+ on the roadway, shoulder, or inner slope of the ditch of a state or county road

+ on the median of a four-lane roadway

+ within the right-of-way of any interstate

+ on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic

« against trafhic at night within the road right-of-way *Except when two-way
trail travel signs permit use

« at airports

« in any state park, state recreation area, state historic site, wildlife
management area, or state scientific and natural area with the exception of
posted snowmobile trails and areas

« in any wildlife management area south of U.S. Highway 2 from Grand Forks
east to Bemidji, then south along U.S. Highway 71 to Wadena, then east
along U.S. Highway 10 to Staples and U.S. Highway 210 to the eastern
boundary of the state, without written permission from the DNR

+ on any iced-over waters located in a restricted area or iced-over waters
where you don’t have legal access

« in any areas restricted by local ordinances or municipalities

«in a tree nursery or planting area

+ on state forest lands that are posted or designated closed to snowmobiling

« on state forest lands located in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness,
including all of Lake Isabella and Insula; and portions of Lake Jeanette and
Burntside State Forests.

« in National Wildlife Refuges, Waterfowl Production Areas, or the Boundary
Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. For more information, contact your local

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Municipalities, counties, school districts, and other political subdivisions or state
agencies may impose further restrictions on snowmobiling on property not owned by
the operator. Check local ordinances where you want to ride.
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Inside the seven-county metro area, you may NOT ride:
- on land that you do not own, unless given
written or verbal permission to ride on that

land by the owner, occupant, or lessee, or

unless signs are posted stating

Washington

snowmobiling is allowed.

Outside the seven-county metro area, you may
NOT ride:

+ on land that you have been told not to

verbally, inwriting, or by posted signs
- on agricultural land without the permission
of the owner.

Other Prohibitions
It is unlawful to:
« operate your snowmobile in a careless, reckless, or heedless manner
that endangers the operator, or property of another, or causes injury
or damage(intentionally driving over open water, or water skipping, may
be considered careless or reckless unless done as an event under special
permit issued by the local sheriff’s office)
. litter
« enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence
« mutilate, destroy, damage, or remove any shelter, comfort station, or
facility on any state or grant-in-aid trail
- post, damage, or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you are
the landowner, occupant, or lessee of the property
* operate on state forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or
rutting,damages or destroys trees or growing crops
« operate on a state forest trail that is posted for non-motorized use
« operate a snowmobile with metal traction devices on paved public trails
when posted closed by state or local government.

Metal traction device means any metal device, or array of metal devices, attached
to a snowmobile track to enhance traction. This includes metal components
that extend more than one-fourth inch from the bottom of the track. Note:
Metal cleats affixed perpendicular to the direction of travel of a 1981 or earlier
snowmobile are not considered a metal traction device.

Special Provision - Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest: Motor vehicles and
snowmobiles may operate only on forest roads that are not posted closed and
on forest trails that are designated for motorized use. No motorized travel is
allowed off designated trails under any circumstances.
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Snowmobiling While Intoxicated (SWI)

If you are convicted or refuse chemical testing - regardless of what vehicle type
you are driving:
« Your driver’s license is revoked, and your ATV, snowmobile, and motorboat
privileges are all suspended for one year

If you test .08 or more - regardless of what vehicle type you are driving:
« Your driver’s license is revoked

If it’s your first driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense and you are operating a
snowmobile or other off-road recreational vehicle:
+ You are also subject to chemical use assessments, conditional release, and
plate impoundment of your highway licensed vehicles - the same as a DWI
on a highway licensed vehicle

The underage not-a-drop provisions in the DWI laws now apply to snowmobiles
and other off-road recreational vehicles
« Your driver’s license and operating privileges for highway vehicles will be revoked

Operating a snowmobile while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled
substance or its metabolite, or other hazardous substance is unlawful. Operators
who are impaired may be required to submit to tests by an enforcement officer
to determine the presence of these substances. There is a separate additional
criminal penalty for refusal to submit to the tests, and the person’s snowmobiling
privileges will be suspended for one year upon refusal. SWI convictions and
refusals are recorded on the violator’s driver’s license record and affect their
driver’s license privileges.

An operator who is found to be impaired or has an alcohol concentration of .08
or more, can be charged with a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony level
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). Persons convicted of a misdemeanor will be
subject to: up to $1,000 fine (plus surcharges); possible jail sentence; and loss of
snowmobile operating privileges for one year.

In addition to the above misdemeanor penalties, the following gross misdemeanor
penalty provisions may apply if the person has any prior DWI violations, has an
alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit, or has a child under 16 years of age
with them on the snowmobile:

« up to $3,000 fine with longer mandatory jail time

« forfeiture of the snowmobile
*If a person has three or more DWI convictions or revocations in the last 10 years,
or has a prior felony conviction, he or she can be sentenced to 3-7 years in jail, up
t0$14,000 fine, or both. Longer license revocations also would be imposed.
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Open Bottle Law

It is unlawful for a person to drink or consume alcoholic beverages when operating
a snowmobile on a roadway or shoulder of a roadway that is not a part of a
designated snowmobile trail.

ZERO Alcohol

Snowmobiling takes place in unpredictable and uncontrollable natural settings.
That’s why DNR conservation officers strongly encourage every snowmobiler

to practice ‘Zero Alcohol’ as part of their own regular safe riding habits. Many
snowmobilers already choose to ride alcohol free. Practicing ‘Zero Alcohol’ before
and during your ride will save lives and reduce injuries.

Speed Limits
It is unlawful to operate a snowmobile in excess of:
+ 50 MPH on any public lands or waters
« the posted speed limits on a trail
« a speed greater than various conditions dictate for the trail, terrain and visibility
« the posted road speed limit or 50 MPH, whichever is LOWER, while
operating in the ditch
« any governmental unit snowmobile speed limit. Governmental units include
any city, county, municipality, township, or conservation district.
Speed on frozen lake surfaces: A county may enact a daytime 65 MPH
speed limit for marked trails on frozen lakes that are over 10,000 acres. The county
would need to pass an ordinance and receive approval by the DNR Commissioner.
Individual counties will have more information on the location and status of any

designated 65 MPH trails.

Accidents

Minnesota has worked hard to reduce snowmobiling accidents, injuries, and fatalities
through education and safety training programs. The largest contributing factor to
crashes is excessive speed, followed by alcohol usage.

Reporting Requirements: |Fy0u are involved in a snowmobile

accident that results in injury requiring medical attention, death, or damage of
more than $500, you must file an official accident report with the Department of
Natural Resources within 48 hours of the accident.

Accident reporting forms are available on the DNR website under the enforcement
division at www.mndnr.gov/enforcement or call 1-800-366-8917.
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Enforcement
Conservation officers, state troopers, deputy sheriffs, police officers and other
peace officers are responsible for the enforcement of Minnesota’s snowmobile laws.
Whenever an enforcement officer signals you, you must stop. Fleeing an
enforcement officer is a felony and the snowmobile used may be forfeited.

Part of a conservation officer’s duty is to ensure your safety while snowmobiling.
If you need an enforcement officer, contact your nearest State Patrol dispatch
center. Your local conservation officer can also be found at www.mndnr.gov/
officerpatrolareas.

Penalties

Violation of most snowmobile statutes and rules are misdemeanors and carry a fine
of up to $1,000 and imprisonment for up to 90 days. Youth violations may result
in snowmobile safety certificate suspension. Also, snowmobiles used in burglaries,
fleeing a peace officer, or a DWI, may be subject to seizure and confiscation or
forfeiture.

The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is subject to penalties if
he or she knowingly allows the snowmobile to be operated by someone physically
or mentally unable to drive the vehicle safely, or is under the influence of drugs or
alcohol.

A person operating a snowmobile with metal traction devices on any paved trail
is guilty of a petty misdemeanor punishable by a civil penalty or criminal fine of
$50 for the first offense, $200 for the second offense, and $500 for the third or
subsequent offense. Criminal fines will be subject to court surcharges and fees in
addition to this penalty amount.

Anyone operating a snowmobile in violation of the Snowmobile State Trail
Sticker law will be required to purchase an annual penalty sticker for $71.00, in
addition to any ticket or fine.

Minnesota Law on Registration
“A person may not operate or transport a snowmobile unless the snowmobile has
been registered.” Violation of this law is a misdemeanor and is punishable by fines

up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days.

Sunken Snowmobiles

Minnesota law requires snowmobiles and motor vehicles (including cars, trucks,
watercraft and ATVs) that sink in a lake or river, be removed by the owner within 30
days. Owners must also notify the county sheriff within 48 hours. If the snowmobile
or vehicle is not removed, the local unit of government can remove it and charge
the owner two to five times the cost of removal.

STAY RIGHT! Trails are two-way; always watch out for others!
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Minnesota Trespass Laws

Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have
against snowmobilers. Always ask for permission before
entering private land.

Respect
Private
Property

<

Just because property isn’t posted that doesn’t mean you
have a right to enter someone else’s private property. The
posted signs indicate the landowner’s intention to prevent unauthorized entry.
If you violate Minnesota’s trespass laws, you will be guilty of a misdemeanor or gross
misdemeanor, or may be charged with a civil penalty. A misdemeanor is punishable
by fines of up to $1,000 and ajail sentence of up to 90 days. Civil penalties range
from $50 for a first time violation to $500 and loss of registration for a third
violation.
You are guilty of a gross misdemeanor when you:

« knowingly disregard signs prohibiting trespass

« trespass after the landowner tells you not to

« violate the trespass law twice in three years.
If you are convicted of a gross misdemeanor, you will be subject to fines up to
$3,000 and up to one year in jail, your snowmobile registration will be null and void,
and you will lose all hunting privileges for two years.

You must have permission to:
« Enter posted land
« Enter Agricultural land — land that is plowed or tilled; has standing crops or
crop residue; is within a maintained fence for enclosing domestic livestock; is
planted native or introduced hay land or grassland; or is planted to short
rotation woody crops (harvested within 15 years of planting).

« All planted grassland, hay land, and short rotation woody crop land meet
the definition of agricultural land, grass land enrolled in the federal
Conservation Reserve Program (CRP), Conservation Reserve Enhancement
Program (CREP), or the state Reinvest in Minnesota Reserve Program
(RIM), Walk In Access areas. These lands do not need to be posted to prevent
trespass.

It’s unlawful to:
« wound or kill another person’s domestic animal or destroy private property
« pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position
« stray off the groomed portions of marked state trails.
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Game Laws Related to Snowmobiling

General Restrictions
A person licensed to take deer must not operate a snowmobile or an off-highway
vehicle on public or private property in an area open for the taking of deer by
firearms on a day that they are licensed to take deer in that area except:

+ Before legal shooting hours (1/2 hour before sunrise)

« From 11am until 2pm.

« After legal shooting hours (1/2 hour after sunset).

+ On property that they own.

+ On private property with the landowner’s permission.

+ Under a permit issued by a conservation officer to operate these vehicles in
an emergency, medical, or other unusual situation during the restricted hours.

Recreational Snowmobile and OHYV Riders
During the firearms deer season, option A season, snowmobile trails and OHV trails
and routes on state forest lands are closed to ALL recreational snowmobile and off-
highway vehicle riding (ATV, OHM, and ORV) where deer may be taken by rifle
only (see MN Hunting and Trapping Regulations booklet):

« Series 100 permit areas (November 9-24, 2019)

« Portions of series 200 permit areas (November 9-17, 2019)

« Forest roads remain open to snowmobile and OHV use

Firearms Transportation in Motor Vehicles
A person may transport unloaded, uncased firearms (excluding pistols)
in a motor vehicle, including snowmobiles:
+ While at a shooting range with permission
+ While lawfully hunting on private or public land or while traveling to or from
a site the person intends to hunt or trap or has lawfully hunted that day.

Firearms must be transported unloaded and cased:

« Within Anoka, Hennepin, and Ramsey counties

« Within boundaries of a home rule charter, or statutory city with population
of 2,500 or more

+ On school grounds

+ As otherwise restricted in game refuges, shining, thermal imagining
or night vision laws

+ Ahandgun/pistol cannot be transported uncased without a valid permit to
carry.

It is unlawful to:
« use a snowmobile to chase, run over, or kill a wild animal
« shoot or attempt to shoot a wild animal from a snowmobile.
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Conservation Officer

1-888-MINNDNR (1-888-646-6367)
Call the DNR Information Center for easy access to DNR

information and to connect with a conservation officer.

ENFURCEMENT

% Since 1887 &
k¢ &

&
(/»a/ af S

Turn in Poachers (TIP)

1-800-652-9093 (24 hour hotline)

If you witness a violation in progress or need to contact a
conservation officer immediately, call the Turn-in-Poachers

24-hour hotline.

Special Permits for Disabled Hunters

A permit to shoot from a standing motor vehicle, including a snowmobile, may be
issued to a licensed hunter who has a permanent physical disability and is unable to
step from a vehicle without the aid of mechanical support, prosthetic device or is
required to use supplemental oxygen to assist breathing because they are unable
to walk any distance due to a permanent lung, heart, or other internal disease. For
more details contact the Department of Natural Resources Information Center.

For More Information on snowmobile trails; maps of state parks, forests, and state
trails; weekly snow reports; and other information, contact:

DNR Information Center

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4040

(651) 296-6157 or 1-888-MINNDNR

General information: M-F 8 am - 6 pm, Sat. 8 am - 4:30 pm

www.mndnr.gov

DNR License Center

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4026

(651) 296-2316 or 1-800-285-2000

License, titling and registration: M-F 8 am - 4:30 pm




30 - 2019-2020 Winter Season

For information on scheduled snowmobile safety classes statewide:
Website: http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/vehicle/snowmobile/index.html

DNR Safety Training Center
15011 State HWY 115

Camp Ripley, Little Falls, MN
1-800-366-8917

Grant-In-Aid Program

The Grant-in-Aid Program is a cooperative effort between the Minnesota DNR,
local governments, local snowmobile organizations, and private landowners who
provide the majority of Minnesota’s 22,000 miles of snowmobile trails. Funded
through snowmobile registration and Snowmobile State Trail Sticker fees and gas
taxes, the grant-in-aid program helps local groups and clubs develop and maintain
trails.

+ Grant-in-aid trails are open each year from December 1 through April 1

« Many grant-in-aid trails throughout the state run through private property.
Stay on good terms with these landowners by staying on marked trails.
Don’tjeopardize your ability to use private lands

+ Remember you need a Trail Use Registration sticker when operating on
grant-in-aid trails.

Sunrise/Sunset Table
To find the sunrise and sunset times in your area. See the link to the U.S. Naval
Observatory website:

http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneYear.php

Note: Sunrise and sunset times are shown in a table format and can be printed for
viewing or saved to your computer’s desktop.

Daylight Time
Daylight time is not implemented in time tables. When daylight time is in use, add
one hour to the times listed in the tables.
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