This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/lrl.asp



1021 Bandana Blvd. E. Suite 222 St. Paul, MN 55108 651-539-4200 • 651-642-0708 (Fax) <u>https://mn.gov/pelsb</u> pelsb@state.mn.us

2020 Conditional Tier 3 Report

A report submitted in accordance with Minn. Law Chap. 116, Art. 4, Sec. 1 (b)

For More Information:

Alex Liuzzi Executive Director Professional Educator Licensing and Licensing Standards Board 1021 Bandana Blvd. E, Suite 222 St. Paul, MN 55108 alex.liuzzi@state.mn.us

Report Cost

As required by Minn. Stat. 3.197, this report cost approximately \$196.84 to prepare.



2020 Conditional Tier 3 Report

In accordance with <u>MN Law, Chapter 116, Art. 4 Sec. 1 (b)</u>, PELSB issued Conditional Tier 3 licenses for teachers unable to meet the testing requirements in MN. Stat. 122A.183 and 122A.185 due to COVID-19 related testing center closures and cancellations.

The Conditional Tier 3 licenses were issued between June 8, 2020 and November 30, 2020 (30 days after the last date an application could be received under the statute).

Table 1: General Conditional Tier 3 License totals

Licenses issued	1108
Individuals receiving more than one Conditional Tier 3 license	198
Individuals licensed:	910
Individuals licensed with preparation from another state	334 (37%)
Individuals licensed with preparation from an approved Minnesota provider	576 (63%)

Table 2: Number of individuals by race/ethnicity

Race/Ethnicity	Individuals	Percent of Total (unduplicated)
American Indian/Alaskan Native	11	1.21%
Asian	34	3.74%
Black	33	3.63%
Hawaiian/Pacific Islander	1	0.11%
Hispanic	35	3.85%
White, not Hispanic	566	62.20%
Multiple Categories	6	0.66%
Not Specified	224	24.62%

Table 3: Two largest areas issued out of 44 different licensure areas granted

Licensure Area	Percent of Total (duplicated)	
Elementary	32%	
Special Education Areas	16%	

Conditional Tier 3 licenses expire on June 30, 2021. A teacher can renew this license between January 1, 2021 and June 30, 2021 for an additional two years at no cost to the teacher if testing requirements are met. If requirements are still not meet, PELSB will support the teacher in understand the requirements for a Tier 2 license.