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Introduction  
The Minnesota State Board of Assessors regulates assessors under Minnesota Statute 270.41. Assessors are 
responsible to determine the market value and classification of properties in their jurisdictions. Market values 
determined by assessors are the starting point for calculating property taxes each year; various other factors 
influence tax amounts. The Board sets – and enforces – rules and standards that cover assessors’ education, 
work experience, and job performance.  
 
The Board is appointed by the Commissioner of Revenue. By statute, the Board’s nine members must include 
two Department of Revenue members, two county assessors, two assessors who are not county assessors, one 
private-sector property appraiser, and two members of the public.  
 
The Board is required by M.S. 214.07 to report on its activities to the Governor every two years. This report 
covers the period of July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020. It includes the following information:  

• General statement of Board activities 

• Summary of Board rules proposed or adopted during the report period 

• Board members, occupations, addresses, and their appointment and reappointment dates 

• Names and job classifications of Board employees 

• Board budget, expenses, and fee receipts 

• Number of meetings and total hours members spent on Board meetings and other activities 

• Number of licensed assessors for each type or level of registration issued by the Board 

• Information on examinations the Board conducted, and the number of people who took the exams and 

were licensed, registered, or denied by the Board 

• Number of people who did not take the examinations and were licensed, registered, or denied by the 

Board 

• Number of people whose licenses were revoked, suspended, or altered by the Board 

• Number of complaints received by the Board and how those complaints were resolved or disposed of, 

including any referrals to other agencies or disciplinary action  

 

Board Activities  
The Board of Assessors regulates assessors in Minnesota to ensure they are qualified to do their jobs and that 
their performance remains satisfactory. More specifically, the Board: 

• Specifies the type and extent of formal education and work experience necessary for both initial and 

continued performance as an assessor for a unit of local government 

• Reviews and approves courses of instruction offered by various sponsoring organizations and schools 

• Issues and renews assessor licenses to people meeting the education and experience requirements 

• Handles complaints regarding assessors and – where appropriate – takes disciplinary action or refers 

cases to other agencies  
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Proposed or Adopted Rules  

Changes were made to the Board’s rules for licensing and education requirements. These changes took effect 

August 3, 2020, and apply to the licensing cycle that started July 1, 2020 (during the 2021-2022 fiscal biennium).  

Accredited Minnesota Assessor (AMA) Requirements:  

• Removed assessment administration course  

• Removed 30-hour elective course requirement 

• Removed 15-hour Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) requirement 

• Added 15-hour property type-specific course 

 
Senior Accredited Minnesota Assessor (SAMA) Requirements:  

• Added assessment administration course 

• Added management and leadership courses (minimum of 30 hours)  

 
Reinstatement Requirements:  

• Removed 7-hour USPAP update course for a former licensee seeking reinstatement  

 
Continuing Education Minimum Hour Requirement:  

• Removed 3-hour minimum requirement  

• Added 1-hour minimum requirement 

 
Jurisdiction License Levels:  

• Eliminated list that designated the level of assessor licensure necessary for each jurisdiction  

 
Designation:  

• Allowing the International Association of Assessing Officers designation of MAS (mass appraisal 

specialist) as substitute for narrative appraisal to obtain AMA license  

 
Temporary License:  

• Updated expiration period from four to five years for a temporary license holder to obtain AMA license 
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Board Members  
The table below lists all Board members who served during the report period, along with their addresses, 

occupations, and dates of appointment and reappointment. Current members are listed in bold type. 

 

Board members elect a chair and vice chair for each calendar year. The following members held these positions 

during the report period: 

2020: Chair, Gregg Larson; Vice Chair, Gary Amundson 

2019: Chair, Gregg Larson; Vice Chair, Gary Amundson 

2018: Chair, Gregg Larson; Vice Chair, Gary Amundson 

Board Employees  
The table below lists the names and job classifications of Board employees. 
 

Name Job Classifications  

Bobbi Spencer State Program Administrator, Intermediate  

 
 
 
  

Name and Occupation Address Appointed Reappointed Term End 

Gary Amundson 
Property Tax Compliance Officer 

1530 Oakridge Road S.W. 
Pillager, MN 56473 

2/5/14 1/6/20 1/8/24 

Charlie Blekre 
Appraiser 

1700 N. Broadway, Suite 150 
Rochester, MN 55906 

1/4/16 1/6/20 1/8/24 

Andrea Fish 
Property Tax Assistant Director 

Minnesota Department of Revenue 
Mail Station 3340 
St. Paul, MN 55146-3340 

9/20/17 N/A 1/4/21 

Jane Grossinger 
Township Assessor 

33872 Minnesota Highway 15 
Kimball, MN 55353 

5/4/12 1/6/20 1/8/24 

Reed Heidelberger 
City Assessor 

704 Broadway St. 
Alexandria, MN 56308 

7/20/16 1/8/18 1/3/22 

Joy Kanne 
County Assessor 

201 First St. N.E. 
Austin, MN 55912 

3/21/17 N/A 1/4/21 

Gregg Larson 
Professional/Academic  

3377 N. Snelling Ave. 
Arden Hills, MN 55112 

2/20/05 1/7/19 1/3/22 

David Marhula 
Realtor  

108 N.E. First St. 
P.O. Box 758 
Baudette, MN 56623 

12/06/05 1/5/15 1/7/19 

Mike Reed 
Realtor  

PO Box 1212 
Baudette, MN 56623 

1/7/2019 N/A 1/9/23 

Lori Schwendemann 
County Assessor 

Lac qui Parle Courthouse 
600 Sixth St., Suite 2 
Madison, MN 56256 

5/15/18 1/7/19 1/9/23 
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Board Funds   
The Board collects various assessor license and exam grading fees as required by statute.  
 
The table below shows the amount budgeted for the Board and its total expenses paid for the FY 2019-2020 
report period. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Board Meetings and Total Hours  
The table below lists how many meetings each Board member attended during the report period and their 
approximate total hours. 
 

Member Name Meetings Hours 

Gary Amundson  11 77 

Charlie Blekre  11 77 

Andrea Fish 11 77 

Jane Grossinger  12 84 

Reed Heidelberger 12 84 

Joy Kanne 10 70 

Gregg Larson  12 84 

Dave Marhula 2 14 

Mike Reed 7 49 

Lori Schwendemann 12 84 

 

  

 FY 2019 FY 2020 Total 

Total Expenses Paid $98,278.75 $95,865.40 $194,144.15 

Board Fee Income $111,565.00 $104,580.00 $216,145.00 

Balance $22,000.85 
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Number of Licensed Assessors  
The table below shows the number of assessors licensed as of June 30, 2020.  

Licensure Level  Count 

CMA – Certified Minnesota Assessor 396 

CMAS – Certified Minnesota Assessor Specialist 18 

AMA – Accredited Minnesota Assessor 123 

SAMA – Senior Accredited Minnesota Assessor 320 

Total Licenses 857 

 
 

Board Examinations  
The Board administers one oral exam, which was required for Accredited Minnesota Assessor and Senior 
Accredited Minnesota Assessor licensure (the two most advanced license levels) during the period covered by 
this report. As of April 8, 2019, the oral exam is only required for Senior Accredited Minnesota Assessors.  

 
 
 
 
 

 

Licenses Approved/Denied  
This section summarizes how many new license applications the Board approved or denied, subdivided by age 
and state of residence. The Board does not collect data on the sex of applicants. 
 

Certified Minnesota Assessor (CMA) 
Applicants for a CMA license must complete four required courses and have one year of experience.  
 

Age Range Approved/
Denied 

State of 
Residence 

18 - 25 1/0 MN (1) 

26 - 34 6/0 MN (5), WI (1) 

35 - 59 15/0 MN (13), WI (2) 

60 - 65 –   –  

Over 65 –   –  

Total 22/0 MN (19) WI (3)  

 
 
 

Exam Results FY 2019 FY 2020 

Pass 23 8 

Fail 0 1 
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Certified Minnesota Assessor Specialist (CMAS) 
Applicants for a CMAS license must complete three required courses and have two years of experience.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Accredited Minnesota Assessor (AMA)  
Applicants for an AMA license must complete three required courses, complete a demonstration narrative (or 
alternate evaluation), and have three years of experience. Until April 2019, applicants also needed to pass an 
oral examination.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Senior Accredited Minnesota Assessor (SAMA)  
Applicants for a SAMA license must complete an income demonstration narrative, an oral examination by the 
Board, and have five years of experience.  

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

Age Range Approved/
Denied 

State of 
Residence 

18 - 25 –  –  

26 - 34 -- -- 

35 - 59 1/0 MN (1) 

60 - 65 -- -- 

Over 65 –  –  

Total 1/0 MN (1)  

Age 
Range 

Approved/
Denied 

State of 
Residence 

18 - 25  –   –  

26 - 34 10/0 MN (10) 

35 - 59 22/0 MN (21), WI (1) 

60 - 65 1/0  MN (1) 

Over 65  –   –  

Total 33/0 MN (32) WI (1)  

Age Range Approved/
Denied 

State of 
Residence 

18 - 25  –   –  

26 - 34 4/0 MN (4)  

35 - 59 18/1 MN (18) WI (1) 

60 - 65 1/0  MN (1)  

Over 65  –   –  

Total 23/1 MN (23) WI (1) 
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Licenses Approved/Denied Without Board Exams 
All AMA and SAMA applicants must take a Board exam. Therefore no AMA or SAMA licenses were approved or 
denied for applicants who did not take an exam. (Other license levels do not require this exam.) 
 

Complaints Received and Action Taken by the Board  
The Board received three complaints during the report period that alleged or implied an assessor violated a 
state law, Board rule, or the Code of Conduct and Ethics.  
 
The table below lists the complaints received and how the Board resolved or disposed of them. 
 

Type of Complaint  Action Taken by Board 

Alleged Violation of Professional 
Ethics and Standards – Working 
Without a License 

Warning letter sent to assessor. 

Alleged Violation of Professional 
Ethics and Standards – Nonfeasance 
(Failure to Complete Work) 

Assessor fined $750; Board will not renew the assessor’s license for a 
period of 10 years.  

Alleged Violation of Professional 
Ethics and Standards 

Board action pending. 

 
 


