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Elisabeth Klarqvist Updated: January 2018 

Medical Education and Research Costs (MERC): 

What is the 
purpose of 
MERC? 

HowisMERC 
funded? 

Funding Mechanisms 

The MERC fund was created by the legislature in 1999, and its current function is to 
reimburse teaching institutions for a portion of the cost of clinical training of health 
care providers. 

Funding mechanisms for MERC have changed several times over the years, as 
recently as July 2016. Most of the state money directed to the MERC fund receives a 
federal match; only the direct appropriations from the general fund and health care 
access fund do not receive a federal match. 

Currently, there are four sources of state revenue for the MERC fund: (1) a portion of 
cigarette tax revenues; (2) the PMAP carve-out; (3) University of Minnesota 
transfers; and ( 4) appropriations from the state general fund and health care access 
fund. 

(1) Cigarette Tax Revenue: $3,~37,000 of state cigarette tax revenue is 
transferred annually to an account in the special revenue fund and 

· appropriated to the Commissioner of Health for the MERC program (Minn. 
Stat.§ 297F.10, subd. 1, cl. (2)). This amount (minus MERC administrative 
costs) is used to draw the standard Medical Assistance (MA) federal match for 
Minnesota (generally a one-to-one federal-state dollar match). The cigarette 
tax revenue plus the federal match, a total of $7,575,000, is deposited into 
MERC. 

(2) PMAP carve-out: A percentage of state general fund dollars used to make 
capitation payments to health plans under the Prepaid Medical Assistance 
Program (PMAP) is "carved out" according to Minnesota Statutes, section 
256B.69, subdivision Sc. These "carve-out" funds receive the standard MA 
federal match for Minnesota. 

In 2009, the federal government limited the amount of the carve-out that can 
be transferred to MERC to the fiscal year 2009 transfer amount, which was 
approximately $71,500,000 of federal-state dollars. The legislature further 
limited the amount of the carve-out that can be transferred to MERC to 
$49,552,000 in fiscal year 2014 and thereafter. This is the amount MERC 
received today and includes federal and state dollars. 

(3) Transfers: Each year the University of Minnesota transfers to the Department 
of Human Services (DRS) $17,400,000 from the university's general fund 
appropriation; the transfers are made in monthly installments (Laws 2002, ch. 
220, art. 17, § 2). Half of this amount, $8,700,000, is deposited into the 
general fund as a net gain to the state. The other half is added to the PMAP 



carve-out and receives the standard MA federal match for Minnesota. The 
matched half plus the match is transferred to the MERC fund to be distributed 
back to the university in accordancewith statute; the entire $17,400,000 is 
retransferred back to the university (Minn. Stat. § 256B.69, subd. Sc, para. (a), 
els. (3) and ( 4)). 

Additionally, the university provides an annual transfer of $2,157,000 to DHS 
from the university's health care access fund appropriation. (Laws 2003, 1st 
Spec. Sess., ch. 14, art. 13C, § 2, subd. 1). This amount is used to increase 
capitation payments under the carve-out and receives the standard MA federal 
match for Minnesota. The transfer amount is returned to the university, and 
the match is sent to the MERC fund for distribution in accordance with 
statute. 

(4) Appropriations: $1 million from the general fund and $1 million from the 
health care access fund are appropriated each fiscal year for the MERC 
program. (Laws 2015, ch. 71, art. 14, § 3, subd. 2; Laws 2016, ch. 189, art. 
23, § 3, subd. 2) 

How are MERC Most MERC funds ($59,127,000 in fiscal year 2017) are distributed to eligible 
funds distributed? training sites each year through a distribution formula, which is based solely on 

relative public program (MA) volume (Minn. Stat. § 62J.692, subd. 4). The public 
program volume factor is determined by the total volume of MA revenue received by 
each training site as a percentage of all MA revenue received by all training sites in 
the fund pool. A supplemental public program volume factor, which gave a 
supplemental payment to training sites with a public program revenue of at least 0.98 
percent of the total public program revenue received by all eligible training sites, was 
discontinued after fiscal year 2015. 

Which agency 
administers 
MERC? 

Any training site whose grant would be less than $5,000 under the formula or that 
trains fewer than 0.1 FTE eligible trainees is ineligible for MERC funds. A grant to a 
clinical training facility cannot be greater than the facility's .reported clinical training 
expenditures. In addition, because most MERC funds receive a federal match, any 
change to the distribution formula requires approval by the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) or risks loss of federal dollars for the 
program. 

In addition to distributions under the formula, there are statutorily directed 
distributions, which refund in full the transfers from the university, as described 
above, and dedicate $1,035,360 to Hennepin County Medical Center and $1,121,640 
to dental innovation grants, according to Minnesota Statutes, section 621.692, 
subdivision 7a. (Minn. Stat. § 62J.692, subd: 7) 

The state health department (MDH) administers the MERC program and is 
authorized by statute to use a maximum of $150,000 from the cigarette tax revenues 
dedicated to MERC for administrative expenses (Minn. Stat.§ 621692, subd. 4, para. 
(g)). 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Elisabeth Klarqvist at 651-296-5043 or fiscal analyst 
Doug Berg at 651-296-5346. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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The Federal Earned Income Tax Credit and 
Minnesota Working Family Credit: An Overview 

What are the 
credits? 

Who is eligible for 
the credits? 

How are the credits 
calculated? 

How do filers claim 
the credits? 

How many 
Minnesotans claim 
the credits? 

The federal earned income tax credit (EITC) and Minnesota working family credit 
(WFC) equal a percentage of the earnings oflow-income individuals. The credits 
are refundable; if the credit exceeds a filer's tax liability, the rest is paid as a refund. 
Since these credits increase their recipients' earnings, they act as wage supplements 
and are thought to provide a work incentive. 

Anyone with wages or self-employment income may be eligible to claim the EITC 
and the WFC. In tax year 2018, individuals with more than $3,500 in interest 
income, dividends, rental and royalty income, and capital gain income do not qualify. 

The credits equal a percentage of earned income, up to a maximum credit amount, 
and are phased out when the claimant's total income exceeds a threshold. The 
maximum credit amounts and income levels at which the credits are phased out 
vary depending on the number of children in the household and whether the 
claimants are married. Both the maximum credit and the phaseout threshold are 
adjusted annually for inflation. In tax year 2018, the maximum credits, phaseout 
threshold, and income level at which the credits are no longer allowed are as 
follows: 

Income at which 
Phaseout credit fully 

Maximum Credit Threshold ~based out 

EITC WFC EITC WFC EITC WFC 
Unmarried claimants 

No children $520 $136 $8,510 $8,530 $15,310 $15,300 

1 child $3,468 $1,091 $18,700 $22,230 $40,402 $40,355 

2 children $5,728 $2,104 $18,700 $26,360 $45,898 $45,808 

3+ children $6,444 $2,104 $18,700 $26,360 $49,298 $45,808 

Married claimants 

No children $520 $136 $14,210 $14,230 $21,010 $20,875 

1 child $3,468 $1,091 $24,400 $21,800 $46,102 $39,568 

2 children $5,728 $2,104 $24,400 . $26,360 $51,598 $44,922 

3+ children $6,444 $2,104 $24,400 $26,360 $54,998 $44,922 

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by 
completing a schedule or worksheet. 

In tax year 2015, 350,470 Minnesota returns claimed the EITC and 330,292 
claimed the WFC. These claims represent 12.9 percent of all federal returns filed 
by Minnesotans and 12.3 percent of all state returns filed by Minnesota residents. 
The number of EITC claims exceeds the number of WFC claims mostly because in 



How much is paid 
out in credits? 

How are the credits 
distributed among 
different types of 
families? 

.How are the credits 
distributed 
geographically? 

How does 
Minnesota compare 
with other states? 

2015, the higher EITC rate for families with three or more children resulted in the 
EITC for large families extending to higher incomes than did the WFC, which did 
not have a higher rate for families with three or more children. 

In tax year 2015, Minnesotans claimed $760 million in EITC, of which $97 million 
offset tax liability, and the remaining $663 million was paid as a refund. The 
average EITC claimed by Minnesotans was $2,170. 

Minnesota returns claimed $252 million in WFC, of which $43.8 million offset tax 
liability, and the remaining $207.8 million was paid as a refund. The average WFC 
was $762. 

Seventy-three percent of all working family credits went to families with one or 
more children. These families received about 97 percent of the total amount of 
credits paid in 2015. Individuals without children filed 26.6 percent ofreturns 
claiming credits, but received only 2.5 percent of the total amount paid. Claimants 
with children received most of the total amount of credits because these families 
qualify for a higher maximum credit than do claimants without children. The 
distribution of earned income tax credits is similar. 

Number of WFC Claimants Dollars of WFC 

2 or more children 
38.8% 66.5% 

1 child 31.0% 

no children 

In 2015, just over half (51 percent) of the returns claiming credits were in the Twin 
Cities metropolitan area and just under half ( 49 percent) in Greater Minnesota; 20 
percent of returns in Wadena County claimed credits, compared with only 7 percent· 
in. Carver County. The highest average credit went to Norman County claimants, at 
$852, and the lowest to Winona County claimants, at $642. 

Nationwide, 18. 7 percent of all income tax returns claimed the EITC in tax year 
2015, compared to 12.9 percent in Minnesota. The average EITC nationwide in 
2014 was $2,431; it was $2,170 in Minnesota. Minnesota's number of recipients 
and credit amounts are lower than the national averages because state residents have 
above-average incomes. 

In tax year 2017, 29 other states and the District of Columbia provided a state version 
of the EITC. In most cases the state credit equals a percentage of the federal EITC. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Sean Williams at sean.williams@house.mn. Also see 
the House Research information brief The Federal Earned Income Tax Credit and the Minnesota Working 
Family Credit, December 2016. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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· Minnesota's Tax Credit and Deduction for 529 Contributions 

What federal and 
state tax advantages 
are available to 
Minnesotans with 
529 plans? 

How does 
Minnesota's 529 
Plan Credit work? 

What is a 
nonrefundable 
credit? 

How is the 
maximum credit 
phased out? 

Investment income on 529 accounts is exempt from both federal and Minnesota 
income taxes, if the income is used for qualifying higher education expenses. 
Qualifying expenses include tuition, fees, room and board, books, and some other 
education expenses. Investment income on the accounts that is used for 
nonqualifying purposes is taxed as ordinary income, plus a 10 percent penalty. 529 
plans also provide special estate and gift tax benefits. Beginning in tax year 201 7, 
Minnesota will allow both a nonrefundable income tax credit and an income tax 
subtraction for contributions to any state's 529 plan. 

Minnesota's Section 529 Plan Credit 

Minnesota's Section 529 Plan Credit is a nonrefundable credit for contributions to 
a college savings account established by any state under section 529 of the Internal 
Revenue Code. The credit equals 50 percent of contributions, up to a maximum 
of $500. The maximum credit is phased out as income increases with varying 
thresholds for individuals and married joint filers. 

A nonrefundable credit may be used only to offset Minnesota income tax liability; 
an individual benefits only to the extent of his or her tax liability. An individual 
with no state income tax liability does not benefit from the credit. 

For individual filers, the maximum credit is phased out by 2 percent of federal 
adjusted gross income (F AGI) in excess of $75,000. The credit is f\llly phased out 
for individual filers at $100,000 ofFAGI. 

F AGI is a broad definition of income that includes most kinds of income. FAGI is 
calculated after allowance of business expenses and retirement contributions, but 
before reductions for itemized or standard subtractions and dependent and personal 
exemptions. 

Income Range (F AGI) Maximum Credit (Single Filers) 
Up t~ $75,000 $500 
$75,001 to $100,000 $500 minus 2 percent of AGI in excess of $75,000 
$100,001 and above 0 

For married couples filing joint returns, the maximum credit is phased out in two 
stages and is fully phased out when AGI reaches $160,000. 

Maximum Credit 
Income Range (FAGn (Married Couples Filini! Joint Returns) 

Up to $75,000 $500 
$75,001 to $100,000 $500 minus 1 percent of AGI in excess of $75,000 
$100,001 to $135,000 $250 
$135,001 to $160,000 $250 minus 1 percent of AGI in excess of $135,000 
$160,001 and above $0 



How does 
Minnesota's 529 
Plan subtraction 
work? 

Who can claim the 
credit or 
subtraction? 

What are the policy 
differences between 
the credit and the 
subtraction? 

What tax benefits 
do other states offer 
for. 529 plan 
contributions? 

What are the 
revenue reductions 
due to the credit 
and subtraction? 

Minnesota's Section 529 Plan Subtraction 

Minnesota additionally offers a subtraction for contributions to any state's section 
529 Plan. A taxpayer may subtract up to $1,500 ($3,000 for married joint filers) of 
contributions to any state's section 529 college savings plan or prepaid tuition plan. 
The subtraction excludes any amounts that are rolled-over from other college 
savings plans. Taxpayers who claim the credit cannot take the subtraction. 

Any Minnesota resident who makes a contribution to a 529 plan or prepaid tuition 
plan may claim the credit or subtraction, as long as the individual is not claimed as 
a dependent. An individual does not need to be the account owner to be eligible to 
claim the credit or subtraction. 

(1) For the same contribution amount, the credit will typically provide a 
larger tax benefit than the subtraction. A credit reduces tax liability dollar-for­
dollar, while the value of a subtraction depends upon the taxpayer's marginal tax 
rate. The maximum benefit of the subtraction for a married joint filer is $295.50 
(top tax rate of 9.85% * $3,000 maximum contribution) compared with $500 under 
the credit for a smaller contribution ($1,000). Individuals in the credit phase-out 
range will need to compute the tax benefits under both the credit and subtraction to 
determine which is higher. Typically it will be the credit, but not always. 

(2) Income limits apply to the credit, but not the subtraction. Single filers who 
earn more than $100,000-and married couples filing jointly who earn more than 
$160,000-are not eligible for the credit. Any taxpayer who makes a qualifying 
contribution may claim the subtraction, without regard to their income. 

(3) The credit can result in a marriage p.enalty or bonus, while the subtraction 
can only provide a b~nus. (For more information, see the House Research 
Information Brief, The Minnesota Income Tax Marriage Credit.) 

• 29 states other than Minnesota and the District of Columbia allowed tax 
deductions in tax year 201_6. 

• Three states other than Minnesota (Indiana, Vermont, and Utah) offered 
credits for 529 plan contributions. 

• Eight states with income taxes don't offer 529 plan deductions or credits. 

• Most states limit deductions to contributions to the state's own plan, but 
seven states (including Minnesota) provide deductions for _contributions 
to any state plan. 

The Minnesota Department of Revenue estimates that the credit and subtraction 
result in revenue reductions of the following amounts (in millions): 

Fiscal Year Credit· Subtraction Total 
2018 $7.5 $2.5 $10.0 
2019 7.8 2.6 10.4 
2020 8.0 2.6 10.6 
2021 8.3 2.7 11.0 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Dangerous Dogs in Minnesota 

Minnesota Statutes, sections 347.50 through 347.565, address the regulation of dangerous dogs. The 198.8 
Legislature created the classification and established requirements for owning a dangerous dog. Amendments 
in 2001 allowed owners to petition for review of the dangerous dog designation and also required that 
dangerous dogs be implanted with a microchip for identification. The 2008 Legislature greatly expanded and 
amended the state law provisions relating to dangerous dogs. Changes increased the amount of coverage 
owners must carry to reimburse a person who suffers personal injuries caused by a dangerous dog, shifted 
authority from counties to the animal control authorities, established the requirements related to the 
disposition of seized animals, created the ownership prohibition, enhanced the penalty for subsequent 
violations, and expanded the situations in which a dog could be destroyed. 

What is a 
"dangerous dog"? 

Can a person own a 
dangerous dog? 

What requirements 
must a person meet 
to own a dangerous 
dog? 

Minnesota law classifies dogs as "dangerous" or "_potentially dangerous" based on 
a dog's actions. A "dangerous dog" is one that has: 

1. without provocation, inflicted substantial bodily harm on a human being; 
2. killed a domestic animal without provocation while off the owner's 

property; or 
3. aggressively bitten, attacked, or endangered the safety of humans or 

domestic animals after the owner has notice that the dog was found to be 
potentially dangerous. 

A "potentially dangerous dog" is one that: 

1. unprovoked, bites a human or domestic animal; 
2. chases or approaches a person on a street that is not the owner's property in 

an apparent attitude of attack; or 
3. has a known propensity to make an unprovoked attack that threatens the 

safety of humans or domestic animals. 

Minnesotans can own dangerous dogs, but dogs must be registered with the local 
animal control authority and owners must meet several specific conditions. 

To register a dangerous dog, an owner must pay an annual fee of up to $500 in 
addition to any regular licensing fees and show an animal control authority that: 

1. the owner has a proper enclosure with a warning sign and symbol; 
2. the owner has either a surety bond or liability insurance in an amount of at 

least $300,000 to cover any personal injuries inflicted by the dog; and 
3. the dangerous dog has had a microchip implanted. 

Following registration, an owner must: 



Are there 
exceptions to the 
dangerous dog 
requirements? 

Can dangerous 
dogs be confiscated 
and destroyed? 

Can an owner 
challenge the 
"dangerous dog" 
designation? 

Can local 
governments create 
additional 
restrictions? 

How many 
dangerous dogs are 
there in Minnesota? 

1. keep the dog in a proper enclosure while on the owner's property and 
muzzle the dog while off the property; 

2. renew registration annually; 
3. within 30 days, notify animal control of the death of the dog or its transfer 

to a new location; 
4. pay for the sterilization of the dog; 
5. before renting property, inform the property owner of the dog; and 
6. if transferring the dog, notify the new owner that the dog is identified as 

dangerous and inform animal control of the new owner. 

A dog is not subject to registration if it is used by law enforcement officials or if it 
(1) attacked a person trespassing on the owner's premises; (2) was provoked or 
abused at the time of the attack or repeatedly before the attack; or (3) attacked a 
person committing or attempting to commit a crime. 

If an owner fails to comply with the dangerous dog requirements, the local animal 
control authority can seize the dog. An owner can show compliance with the 
requirements and reclaim the dog within seven days. The animal control agency 
must seize a dog if an owner previously convicted of violating the dangerous dog 
ownership requirements is charged with a subsequent violation relating to the same 
dog. If the owner is convicted of that new offense, the animal control agency must 
destroy the dog. In addition, the authority may destroy a dog if it: 

1. inflicted substantial or great bodily harm on a person without provocation; 
2. inflicted multiple bites on a person without provocation; 
3. bit multiple people in the same attack without provocation; or 
4. bit a person in an attack where more than one dog participated. 

An owner has the right to a hearing. The authority declaring the dog dangerous 
must give a notice that identifies the dog, describes the reason for the declaration, 
and explains the right to appeal. Within seven days of seizure, the owner must post 
a security in an amount sufficient to provide for the dog's actual cost of care and 
keeping. The hearing must be held within 14 days of the request and the hearing 
officer must issue a decision within ten days. If the decision is upheld, the owner 
is responsible for up to $1,000 of the costs of the hearing. 

Local governments are authorized to regulate dangerous dogs in a more restrictive 
manner than state statute, but dogs may not be considered dangerous or potentially 
dangerous based solely on their breed. 

Individual animal control authorities are responsible for registration procedures, 
but there is no central database of dangerous dog statistics. Some cities, including 
Minneapolis, make information about dangerous dogs living within city boundaries 
available online. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Ben Johnson at 651-296-8957. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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What is the federal 
child tax credit? 

Are there income 
limitations? 

Is the credit 
refundable? 

Updated: January 2018 

The Federal Child Tax Credit 

Parents may claim a credit against federal income tax for each qualifying child 
under age 17. The maximum per-child credit amount was $1,000 for tax year 2017. 

The 2017 Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) increased the credit to $2,000 and· 
provided a nonrefundable credit of $500 for other qualifying dependents (i.e., other 
than children under 17). The TCJA repealed the dependent exemption allowance, 
so the changes to the child credit partially compensate for that change. The TCJA 
also modified the refundability of the credit ( as described below). The changes are 
effective for tax year 2018, and expire for tax years 2026 and later. 

In tax year 2017, the credit is reduced by $50 for every $1,000 of income over 
$110,000 of adjusted gross income for married joint filers and $75,000 for head of 
household filers. A married couple filing jointly with two children under age 17 
will become ineligible for the credit when their income exceeds $149,000; a single 
parent claiming the credit for one child will become ineligible when income 
exceeds $94,000. Beginning in tax year 2018, the credit will phase out for married 
joint taxpayers with adjusted gross income in excess of $400,000 and other 
taxpayers with adjusted gross income in excess of $200,000. This change was part 
of the TCJA. . 

The child credit is partly refundable; the refundable portion is referred to as the 
"additional ·child tax credit." In tax year 2017, the additional child tax credit equals 
the greater of: 

• 15 percent of earned income over $3,000, or, 
• for families with three or more children, payroll taxes in excess of the 

federal earned income tax credit. 

For example, a married couple with two children under age 17 and $40,000 of 
income is eligible for $2,000 in child tax credits, $1,000 for each child. If the 
couple claims the standard deduction, their federal income tax will equal $1, 110 in 
2017. They use $1, 110 of their $2,000 credit to reduce their liability to $0. They 
may claim up to 15 percent of their earnings in excess of $3,000 as a refund. 
Assuming all $40,000 of their income is from wages, that means they would be 
eligible to claim up to $5,550 of the remaining credit as a refund (15 percent of 
$40,000, minus $3,000, equals $5,550). The result is that they claim $1,110 as an 
offset to their tax liability and are paid the remaining $890 as a refund. 

Beginning in tax year 2018, the TCJA decreased the earned income threshold in 
the refundability calculation from $3,000 to $2,500. The TCJA also limited the 
portion of the per-child credit that is refundable to $1,400 (rather than the full 
$2,000 amount). 



How much do 
Minnesotans claim? 

How does 
Minnesota compare 
with other states? 

How has tlte credit 
amount changed 
over time? 

What is the history 
of the credit's 
ref undability? 

In tax year 2015, 412,780 federal income tax returns filed by Minnesotans claimed 
$551 million in the nonrefundable portion of the federal child credit. The average 
amount claimed was $1,336. For the same year, 230,100 returns filed by 
Minnesotans claimed $316 million under the refundable additional child credit. 
Some of these returns also claimed the nonrefundable portion of the credit. The 
average additional child tax credit (the refundable portion) was $1,375. 

Nationwide, 14.9 percent of all income tax returns claimed the child credit, 
compared with 15 .1 percent in Minnesota. The average amount of the 
nonrefundable portion claimed nationwide was $1,209, compared with $1,336 in 
Minnesota. Since the credit is only partly refundable, the larger average amount 
claimed on Minnesota returns may result from Minnesotans having above-average 
incomes, and consequently more federal liability available to be offset by the child 
credit. Utah had the highest average ·nonrefundable portion, at $1,543, and the 
District of Columbia had the lowest, at $964. 

The average amount of the refundable portion claimed nationwide was $1,344, 
compared with $1,375 in Minnesota. Utah had the highest average refundable 
portion, at $1,598, and Massachusetts had the lowest, at $1,190. 

The credit was enacted in 1997 and equaled $400 per child in tax year 1998, 
increased to $500 in 1999, $600 in 2001 and 2002, and $1,000 beginning in 2003. 
The $1,000 credit amount was made permanent in 2012. The 2017 TCJA increased 
the credit to $2,000 and made several additional changes discussed above; these 
changes are effective for tax year 2018 and expire in tax year 2026. The TCJA also 
required taxpayers to include a Social Security number for each child claimed on 
the tax return. 

When first enacted, the child credit was only refundable for taxpayers with three or 
more children, and only to the extent that their payroll taxes exceeded the federal 
earned income tax credit. The implicit rationale was that the refundable portion of 
the federal earned income tax credit was first used to offset payroll taxes for .Social 
Security and Medicare, and then any payroll taxes left over .after the federal earned 
income tax credit co:uld be offset by the federal child credit. 

In 2001 the refundable portion was changed to be the greater of: 

• 15 percent of earned income over a minimum amount for all families 
regardless of the number of children, or, 

• for families with three or more children, payroll taxes in excess of the 
federal earned income tax credit (the provision that was already in law). 

The minimum amount is set at $3,000 through tax year 2017, and the TCJA of 
2017 reduced the minimum amount to $2,500. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Sean Williams at sean.williams@house.mn. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Motor Vehicle Sales Tax 

The motor vehicle sales tax has become a key transportation funding source following passage of a 2006 
constitutional amendment dedicating its revenue. Fiscal year 2017 revenue totaled $754.3 million, distributed 
60 percent to ·state and local highway systems and 40 percent to transit. 

MVST imposition 

Exceptions 

The motor vehicle sales tax, or MVST, is a 6.5 percent tax applied to the sale of 
new and used motor vehicles registered in Minnesota. The rate is based on the 
purchase price and the tax is imposed instead of the state general sales tax. Minn. 
Stat.§§ 297B.02, 297B.13. MVST is collected by auto dealers at the time of sale or 
by registrars when the vehicle is registered (for private sales). 

There are various MVST exceptions and exemptions. 

• A flat tax rate applies for most low-value automobiles that are at least ten 
years old (at $10) as well as for some collector vehicles (at $150). 

• Various exemptions are provided depending on the entity purchasing the 
vehicle or the vehicle use. This includes purchases by: the federal 
government, towns exclusively for road maintenance (but not including 
passenger vehicles and pickup trucks), transit providers for transit service, 
educational institutions for use in automotive training programs, and a 
person who resided outside Minnesota for at least 60 days prior to becoming 
a Minnesota resident (if the vehicle had been registered elsewhere). 

• Some types of vehicles do not need to be registered to operate on public 
roads and are therefore exempt from MVST, including fire apparatuses, 
marked police vehicles, and marked ambulances. Minn. Stat. §§ 168.012, 
subd. 1; 297B.02; 297B.025; 297B.03. 

Historical allocation Historically, MVST revenue had been allocated both to the state's general fund and 
to transportation purposes, with periodic changes and suspension in the amount 
provided to transportation. A series of legislative changes from 2000 to 2003 
resulted in increased MVST revenue distributed to roads and transit. (However, the 
modifications essentially offset reductions in other funding sources like the general 
fund, rather than to substantially increase transportation funding.) Changes 
connected to MVST reallocations during this period included (1) placing caps on 
the amount ofregistration taxes (tab fees) collected on motor vehicles (which were 
subsequently removed in 2008); and (2) eliminating local property taxes as a core 
funding source for Twin Cities metropolitan area transit operations. 

The 2006 At the 2006 general election, voters approved a constitutional amendment 
constitutional dedicating all MVST revenue to transportation purposes. Constitutional language 
amendment established a floor for revenue allocation to transit and a ceiling for allocation to 

roads. It required that: 
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• "not less than 40 percent" go to public transit assistance; and 

• "no more than 60 percent" of the revenue go to the Highway User Tax 
Distribution (HUTD) fund, which in tum is constitutionally dedicated to 
state and local highways. Minn. Const. art. XIV,§ 13. 

The amendment also specified a phase-in period for shifting revenue from the 
state's general fund to transportation; this occurred over fiscal years 2008 to 2012. 

Within the constitutional constraints, the legislature by statute can set the division 
between highways and transit. Legislation passed in 2007 allocated MVST revenue 
for the phase-in period and after. Minn. Stat. § 297B.09. It was temporarily 
modified in 2009 by shifting additional funds from highways to transit only for 
fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (which was designed to help offset reductions in transit 
funding from the general fund). 

Since fiscal year 2012 (at completion of the phase-in), revenue is distributed: 

• 60 percent to highways (via the Highway User Tax Distribution fund); and 

• 40 percent to transit, which consists of 36 percent for the Twin Cities 
metropolitan area and 4 percent for Greater Minnesota. 

Fiscal year 2017 MVST revenue was $754.3 million. The chart below summarizes 
historical revenue and distribution. A feature of note is that while the phase-in over 
fiscal years 2008 to 2012 increased transportation funding, the net increase over 
that period was impacted by reduced MVST collections during an economic 
downturn. 
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* Amendment phase-in period D To Transportation • To General Fund 

For more information: See the House Research publications Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Chronology, August 
2009, and Highway Finance Overview, January 2018. 
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Trunk Highway System 

The trunk highway system is a roughly 12,000-mile statewide network of interstates and state highways. It is 
maintained by the Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT). The bulk of funding comes from 
transportation-related taxes and federal aid. FY 2017 sources amounted to $1.91 billion, excluding trunk 
highway bonding. Finance changes in 201 7 will result in increased funding from state sales taxes. 

Highway User Tax Distribution (HUTD) Fund Federal Aid 

Note: amount only reflects funds to the 
Trunk Highway Fund 

$1.23 B $615.40 M 

I I 

Shared Projects Sales Penalties & Fines Charges & Fees Investments Other 
- lnter-gov't work & - Equipment - Regulatory fees - Misc. revenue 
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Notes: chart excludes (1) $211.9 million in FY 2017 trunk highway bonds, and (2) transfers from the HUTD fund to other funds. 

Funding framework A highway finance framework is established in the Minnesota Constitution, 
which includes dedication of funds through transportation-related taxes and 
formula-based allocation of revenue via the highway user tax distribution 
(HUTD) fund. Minn. Const. art. XIV. 

Primary funding The primary state sources of trunk highway revenue are three "highway user" 
sources taxes: a tax on motor fuels, a registration tax on motor vehicles, and a tax on the 

sale of motor vehicles. A portion of each is allocated to trunk highways from the 
highway user tax distribution fund. Federal aid is another significant source. 
Legislation passed in 2017 allocates additional funds from state sales taxes to the 
trunk highway system, which starts in FY 2018 and is not detailed here. 

Trunk highway bonds Trunk highway bonds are a specialized form of general obligation bonding, 
issued by the state only for construction on the trunk highway system (following 
constitutional limits). Minn. Const. arts. XI, § 5 (e); XIV, § 11. 



Funding distribution 

Expenditures 

Since bonds carry an obligation of future repayment with interest, proceeds from 
bond sales represent debt rather than additional revenue. Bonds can nevertheless 
be viewed as a type of funding source. In FY 201 7, funds from trunk highway 
bonding totaled $211.9 million. This amount only represents funds expended that 
year for project costs. Legislative authorizations to issue bonds are distinct from 
expenditures and may occur in a year prior to the bond issuance. 

The split in FY 2017 funding is shown below, treating bond proceeds as a source. 

Trunk Highway System Funding Distribution 
FY 2017 ($2.12 billion), incl. TH bonding 

Highway 
User Taxes 
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The following summarizes trunk highway expenditures by budget activity. (Note 
that expenditures exceed funding mainly due to using available fund balance.) 

• Program planning and delivery includes (1) project 
development to prepare a project for construction 

Trunk Highway System Expenditures 
FY 2017 ($2.14 billion), incl. TH bonding 

through tasks like scoping, design, engineering, and 
environmental analysis; (2) construction management, 
which involves oversight of projects; and (3) statewide 
system planning and research. 
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• State road construction (SRC) funds specific 
construction projects. Its main components are (1) 
contracts and consultant agreements for construction 
work (and some project development); (2) materials 
purchasing; and (3) right-of-way acquisition. 

• Operations and maintenance (0 & M) is for 
maintaining highways through activities like bridge 
and roadway inspections, snowplowing, roadway 
repairs, safety infrastructure upkeep ( such as guard 
rails and traffic control device), and vehicle 
maintenance. 

• Agency services includes leadership, finance, 
information technology, and human resources. 

• Public safety primarily funds the State Patrol. 

• Debt service is payment of principal and interest on 
previously issued trunk highway bonds. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Updated: March 2018 

Estate and Inheritance Taxation: 
An Overview of Taxes in the States 

From 1924 through 2004, the federal estate tax allowed a dollar-for-dollar credit 
for state death taxes paid (up to maximum limits). All states imposed estate 
taxes up to the amount of the federal credit; some states also imposed additional 
inheritance or estate taxes. In 2001 Congress repealed the federal credit for state 
death taxes (effective for deaths after December 31, 2004). Now that they can 
no longer impose taxes that do not increase the total tax burden on estates and 
heirs, most states no longer impose estate or inheritance taxes (33 states for 
deaths in 2018). For example, Delaware and New Jersey eliminated their estate 
taxes, effective for 2018 deaths. Minnesota imposes an estate tax. 

Estate taxes apply a single tax rate schedule to the taxable value of the 
decedent's total estate (bequests to charities and surviving spouses are typically 
exempt). 

Inheritance taxes apply varying tax rate schedules to bequests made to different 
classes of beneficiaries. Bequests to surviving spouses and lineal heirs typically 
enjoy lower rates or are totally exempt, while bequests to more distant or 
unrelated heirs ( collateral heirs) are usually taxed at higher rates or have lower 
exemptions or both. 

For decedents dying in 2018, 11 states (Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, 
Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and 
Washington) and the District of Columbia impose only estate taxes. 

Exemption amounts under the state estate taxes vary, ranging from $1 million 
(Massachusetts and Oregon) to the old federal estate tax exemption amount of 
$5.6 million (before application of the 2018 federal tax act), indexed for 
inflation (Hawaii and Maine). The federal amount was doubled by the 2018 
federal tax act to $11.2 million (for 2018 deaths); the District of Columbia 
exemption appears to be linked to that amount. Both the old and new federal 
amounts are indexed for inflation. States have been steadily increasing their 
exemption amounts with Maryland's and New York's scheduled to rise to the 
federal amount in 2019 and Connecticut's to $6.1 million in 2020. Minnesota's 
exemption is $2.4 million for 2018 and will rise to $3 million in 2020. Top rates 
range from 12 percent to 20 percent with most states, like Minnesota, imposing a 
top rate of 16 percent. 

Five states (Iowa, Kentucky, Nebraska, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania) impose 
only inheritance taxes. Exemptions under state inheritance taxes vary greatly, 
ranging from $500 (Kentucky and New Jersey) for bequests to unrelated 



One state imposes 
both taxes 

individuals to unlimited exemptions (Iowa and Kentucky) for bequests to lineal 
heirs, such as children or parents of the decedent. No states tax bequests to 
surviving spouses; only two states (Nebraska and Pennsylvania) tax bequests to 
lineal heirs. Top tax rates range from 4.5-percent (Pennsylvania on lineal heirs) 
to 18 percent (Nebraska on collateral heirs). 

Maryland imposes both types of taxes, but the estate tax is a credit against the 
inheritance tax, so the total tax liability is not the sum of the two, but the greater 
of the two taxes. Its inheritance tax does not apply to bequests to lineal heirs. 

The map shows the states with estates and inheritance taxes for deaths in 2018. 

State Estate and Inheritance Taxes 

. No tax 

States with Estate Taxes 

States with Inheritance Taxes 
States with both Estate Taxes and Inheritance Taxes 

House Research Department 

For more information: See the information brief Survey of State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Taxes, 
December 2015. 
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State Regulation of Health-Related Occupations 

Who regulates health­
related occupations in 
Minnesota? 

How are ltealtlt-related 
occupations regulated? 

At least 56 health-related occupations are regulated by the state. Health­
related occupations regulated by the state are overseen by either the 
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) or by a health-related licensing 
board. As of June 2018, there were 17 health-related licensing boards and 
two divisions in MDH that oversee health-related occupations. Some 
licensing boards regulate a single occupation, while others regulate a range 
of related occupations. For example, the Minnesota Board of Optometry 
only regulates optometrists, while the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice 
regulates acupuncturists, athletic trainers, genetic counselors, naturopaths, 
osteopaths, physician assistants, physicians, respiratory care practitioners, 
and traditional midwives. MDH regulates various allied health professionals, 
such as speech-language pathologists and audiologists; various 
environmental health professionals, such as lead workers; and unlicensed 
complementary and alternative health care practitioners. 

Health-related occupations may be regulated in one of several ways. Where 
necessary and appropriate, state law allows two or more of these methods of 
regulation to be utilized at the same time. The title a provider uses cannot 
always be relied upon to determine how the provider is regulated. For 
instance, a registered-nurse is actually licensed, not registered. What follows 
are some methods of occupational regulation. 

• Licensure is the most stringent form of regulation. Under licensure, a 
person cannot practice in an occupation unless the person has satisfied 
predetermined qualifications for practicing and has been recognized by 
the state as having met those qualifications. Minn. Stat. § 214.001, subd. 
3, cl. (4). This is also known as "scope of practice protection." A person 
may demonstrate that the required qualifications have been met by 
passing a licensing examination, graduating from an accredited 
educational institution with a relevant degree, or working in the field 
while under supervision. Example: dentists. 

• With registration, only registered persons who have met predetermined 
qualifications for practicing are allowed to use a designated title ("title 
protection") and are listed on an official roster. Minn. Stat. § 214.001, 
subd. 3, cl. (3). Under a registration system, it is possible for a person to 
practice in an occupation without being registered, as long as the person 
does not use any protected titles. Occupations that are licensed generally 
also prohibit nonlicensed persons from using protected titles. Example: 
naturopathic doctors. 

• To obtain certification, a person must satisfy the qualification 
requirements specified in statute or rule_. It may be possible for a person 
to practice in an occupation without being certified, but other laws may 



How does the 
legislature decide if a 
health-related 
occupation should be 
regulated? 

What information must 
be submitted to the 
legislature regarding 
proposals to regulate a 
new occupation or 
expand regulation of 
an already-regulated 
occupation? 

allow only a certified professional to be on-site at a specific program, 
perform certain functions, or supervise other personnel. Example: food 
managers. 

• Some occupations are not licensed, registered, or certified, but providers 
are required to conform to a client bill of rights and not engage in 
prohibited conduct. A regulatory body has authQrity to investigate 
complaints against these providers and take and enforce disciplinary 
actions against providers for engaging in prohibited conduct or violating 
the client bill of rights. The regulatory body may revoke or suspend the 
provider's right to practice. Example: unlicensed complementary and 
alternative health care practitioners. 

• Criminal and civil penalties exist to punish or prevent illegal acts by 
providers. Laws imposing criminal or civil penalties are enforced by 
consumers or prosecutors. 

No occupation may be regulated by the state unless its regulation is required 
for the safety and well-being of Minnesotans. Minn. Stat. § 214.001, subd. 2. 
This standard applies to both health-related occupations and nonhealth­
related occupations. When the legislature determines whether an occupation 
should be regulated, it must consider the following factors: 

1. Whether the unregulated practice of the occupation may harm the 
health, safety, and welfare of Minnesotans in a recognizable way 

2. Whether practicing the occupation requires special skills or training, 
and whether the public would benefit from being assured of the 
person's ability to practice the occupation 

3. Whether Minnesotans may be protected more effectively by means 
other than occupational regulation 

4. Whether the overall cost-effectiveness and economic impact of 
regulation would be positive for the state 

If a bill is introduced in the legislature to regulate a new occupation or to 
expand regulation of an already-regulated occupation, supporters of the 
proposal must submit to the legislature evidence supporting the new or 
expanded regulation. Minn. Stat. § 214.002, subd. 1. The information must 
be submitted in written form and must be provided to the chairs of the House 
and Senate committees with jurisdiction over the occupation at issue. The 
subjects that must be covered in the report are specified in statute. Minn. 
Stat. § 214.002, subd. 2. Some of them include specifying the harm to the 
public caused by the unregulated practice of the occupation or continued 
practice at its current level of regulation; explaining why the proposed level 
of regulation is being proposed; and discussing how the proposed regulation 
would impact the supply of providers and the cost of the provider's services. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Sarah Sunderman at 651-296-8079 or Elisabeth 
Klarqvist at 651-296-5043. 
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Regulation of Electronic Cigarettes 

The sale and use of electronic cigarettes, referred to as electronic delivery devices in state law, have been 
regulated at the state level since 2014. The Minnesota Clean Indoor Air Act (MCIAA) prohibits the use of 
electronic cigarettes in certain indoor settings. Otherwise, requirements for the sale and use of electronic 
cigarettes are generally the same as requirements for the sale and use of tobacco and tobacco-related devices. 

What is an An "electronic delivery device" (referred to as an electronic cigarette) is defined as 
electronic cigarette? any product containing or delivering nicotine, lo belia, or other substance intended 

for human consumption that is used to simulate smoking through inhalation of 
vapor. This includes all of the components of the product, even if they are sold 
separately, but does not include products approved by the Food and Drug 
Administration as tobacco-cessation products, as tobacco-dependence products, or 
for other medical purposes, which are marketed and sold for that purpose. 

Where is use of 
electronic cigarettes 
prohibited? 

Can local 
jurisdictions or 
businesses adopt 
more restrictive 
ordinances? 

The definition of "tobacco-related devices" also includes devices intended to be 
used to inhale the vapor of tobacco or tobacco products. (Minn. Stat. § 609.685, 
subd. 1, paras. (b) and (c)) 

The MCIAA prohibits smoking of tobacco products in public places, at public 
meetings, in public transportation, and in places of employment. (Minn. Stat. § § 
144.411 to 144.417) Use of electronic cigarettes is prohibited only in the following 
locations: 

• Day care centers 
• Family home or licensed group family day care provider homes, during 

hours of operation 
• Health care facilities 
• Any building owned or operated by the state, home rule charter or statutory 

city, county, township, school district, or other political subdivision 
• Buildings owned by Minnesota State Colleges and Universities and the 

University of Minnesota 
• Facilities licensed by the Department of Human Services 
• Facilities licensed by the Department of Health, but only if that facility is 

also subject to federal licensing requirements 
• Public schools 

Political subdivisions and businesses are specifically authorized to adopt more 
restrictive prohibitions on the use of electronic cigarettes or the regulation of 
electronic cigarettes, than the prohibitions or regulations found in state law. (Minn. 
Stat.§§ 144.414, subd. 5, para. (b); 609.685, subd. 4) 
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How are electronic 
cigarettes taxed? 

Under Minnesota Statutes, section 461.12, the sale of electronic cigarettes is 
subject to the same municipal licensing provisions as other tobacco products. The 
law also extends a municipality's ability to conduct compliance checks to places 
where electronic cigarettes are sold. Electronic cigarettes are prohibited from being 
accessible to the public without the intervention of a store employee, from being 
sold in vending machines, and from being sold in kiosks, in the same way as 
tobacco products. (Minn. Stat.§§ 461.18; 461.21) 

Liquids sold as part of the use of an electronic cigarette, regardless of whether it 
contains nicotine, must be packaged in child-resistant packaging. Child-resistant 
packaging is defined under the Code of Federal Regulations, title 16, section 
1700.20, effective on January 1, 2015. 

A person must be 18 years old to purchase and use electronic cigarettes. The 
criminal and administrative penalties for selling or furnishing an electronic 
cigarette to a person under 18, or for the use of electronic cigarettes by a person 
under 18, are the same as the criminal and administrative penalties for selling or 
furnishing tobacco or tobacco-related devices to persons under 18, or for the use of 
tobacco by persons under 18. (Minn. Stat.§§ 461.12; 609.685) 

Electronic cigarettes are subject to the state's other tobacco products tax. The 
tobacco products subject to this tax include "any product containing, made, or 
derived from tobacco that is intended for human consumption" as well as "any 
component, part, or accessory of a tobacco product." (Minn. Stat. § 297F.0l, subd. 
19) 

The tax is imposed at the rate of 95 percent of the wholesale price of the tobacco 
product. The tax is administered so that it only applies to the nicotine cartridge or 
solution used in an electronic cigarette, provided the device for which the nicotine 
cartridge or solution is used is sold separately. If a cartridge or solution is not sold 
separately from the electronic cigarette ( disposable electronic cigarettes, for 
instance), the tax is imposed on the entire value of the electronic cigarette product. 
(Minn. Stat. § 297F.05, subd. 3, para. (a)) 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Elisabeth Klarqvist at 651-296-5043. For questions on 
the taxation of electronic cigarettes, contact legislative analyst Christopher Klemen at 651-296-8959. Also 
see the House Research publication Minnesota Clean Indoor Air Act, August 2017. 
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Minors' Consent for Health Care 

Minors may not receive health care services without their parents' or guardians' consent, unless specified 
otherwise in statute. 

Specific Services 

Emergency 
Treatment 

Abortion 

Anatomical Gifts 

A minor may consent for medical, mental, or other health services for the 
following: 

• to determine the presence of or to treat pregnancy and conditions associated 
with pregnancy 

• for sexually transmitted infections 
• for alcohol or other drug abuse (Minn. Stat. § 144.343, subd. 1) 

In addition, minors may consent for: 
• hepatitis B vaccinations (Minn. Stat. § 144.3441) and 
• blood donation ( only those 17 and over; a 16-year-old can. donate with 

written consent from a parent or guardian) (Minn. Stat. § 145.41). 

Health services may be provided to minors without the consent of a parent if, in the 
health professional's judgment, treatment should be given without delay, and if 
obtaining consent would result in delay or denial of treatment (Minn. Stat. 
§ 144.344). 

Minors seeking an abortion must notify both parents of the intended abortion and 
wait 48 hours, or seek judicial approval for the procedure. A court may authorize 
an abortion if it finds either: 

• that the pregnant minor is mature and capable of giving informed consent, 
or 

• that authorizing the abortion without parental notification would be in her 
best interests. 

An expedited, confidential appeal is available to any minor for whom the court 
denies an order authorizing an abortion without parental notification. An order 
authorizing an abortion without parental notification is not subject to appeal (Minn. 
Stat. § 144.343, subds. 2 to 7). 

An emancipated minor or a minor who is at least 16 years old may make an 
anatomical gift during the life of the minor. However, upon the death of an 
unemancipated minor, the minor's parent may revoke or amend an anatomical gift, 
or may revoke the minor's refusal to make an anatomical gift (Minn. Stat. § § 
525A.04 and 525A.08). 
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Any minor who has been married or has given birth may consent for personal 
medical, mental, dental, or other health services or for services for the minor's 
child (Minn. Stat. § 144.342). 

Any person 16 years or older may request admission to a treatment facility for 
observation or treatment of mental illness, chemical dependency, or developmental 
disability and may give valid consent for hospitalization, routine diagnostic 
evaluation, and emergency or short-term acute care. If a minor who is 16 or 17 
refuses to consent to admission to a treatment facility, the minor's parent or 
guardian may consent to the minor's admission for mental illness or chemical 
dependency treatment, if an independent examination confirms the minor has a 
mental illness or is chemically dependent, and is suitable for treatment (Minn. Stat. 
§§ 253B.03, subd. 6, para. (d); 253B.04, subd. 1). 

Parents and guardians have access to their minor children's medical records, unless· 
the minor legally consents for services specifically listed under the Consent of 
Minors for Health Services statutes (Minn. Stat. §§ 144.341 to 144.347). In that 
case, parents or guardians do not have access to the minor's health care records 
without the minor's authorization (Minn. Stat. § 144.291, subd. 2, para. (g)). 
However, a health professional may inform a minor's parent or guardian of 
treatment if, in the professional' s judgement, failure to inform the parent or 
guardian would seriously jeopardize the minor's health (Minn. Stat. § 144.346). 

A minor living apart from his or her parents or legal guardian and who is managing 
his or her own financial affairs may consent for his or her own medical, mental, or 
dental care services. This exception applies to a minor regardless of whether the 
minor's parents have consented to the minor living apart, regardless of the extent 
or source of the minor's income, and regardless of the duration of the separate 
residence (Minn. Stat. § 144.341). 

If a minor represents to a health professional that he or she is able to give effective 
consent for medical, mental, dental, or other health services, but is in fact not able 
to do so, his or her consent is effective if relied upon in good faith by the person 
rendering the health service (Minn. Stat. § 144.345). 

A minor who consents for health services is financially responsible for the cost of 
the services (Minn. Stat. § 144.347). 

For more information: Also see the House Research publication Youth and the Law, December 2016. 
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The Minnesota Newborn Screening Programs 

The Minnesota Newborn Screening Programs are public health programs through which all infants born in 
the state are screened soon after birth for a variety of disorders. The Newborn Screening Program, which 
uses blood spots to screen for more than 50 disorders, is governed by Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.125 
and 144.128. The Early Hearing Detection and Intervention program, through which infants are tested for 
hearing loss, is governed by Minnesota Statutes, section 144.966. Screening for critical congenital heart 
disease (CCHD) is governed by Minnesota Statutes, section 144.1251. 

Infants are 
screened for more 
than 50 genetic 
disorders 

Expansion of the 
program 

Parental consent to 
newborn screening 
is presumed unless 
parents object in 
writing 

Under the Newborn Screening Program, hospitals and others in charge of caring for 
newborn infants are required to take blood from newborn infants and submit the 
blood spots to the Minnesota Department of Health to be tested for heritable and 
congenital disorders. The Commissioner of Health determines the list of disorders 
for which infants are tested. Currently, MDH screens for more than 50 inherited 
and congenital disorders, including the following: 

• amino acid disorders • endocrine disorders 
• fatty acid oxidation disorders • lysosomal disorders 
• organic acid disorders • hemoglobinopathies 

(For a full list of the disorders, see the MDH website, 
http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/phl/newborn/program/ 
2018newbornscreeningpanel. pdf) 

Under this program, MDH duties include the following: 

• making certain information and forms related to storage of blood samples 
and test results are available to health care providers and parents 

• notifying newborns' primary care providers of the results of the screen 
• making referrals for the necessary treatment of diagnosed cases of inherited 

and congenital disorders when treatment is indicated 
• maintaining a registry of the cases of disorders detected for the purpose of 

follow-up services 

The legislature has expanded the program in recent years. A law passed in 2007 
required all hospitals to establish an Early Hearing Detection and Intervention 
(EHDI) program. In 2013, a law was enacted that required all hospitals to test 
newborns for critical congenital heart disease. 

Generally, consent for newborn screening is presumed unless parents object to the 
screening in writing by specifying that they want their child to opt out of the 
screening. Parents are notified that they may opt out of the tests being performed or 
have the tests performed without the results stored. 



Tlte state's 
· handling of genetic 
information is 
governed by law 

Prior to collecting a blood sample, persons with a duty to perform testing under the 
Newborn Screening Program must inform parents of the following: 

• the benefits of newborn screening 
• that parents have the right to decline to have newborn screening performed 

and that they may secure private testing 
• that the blood samples and test results may be stored by MDH unless the 

parents elect against storage 
• that parents have the right to have the tests performed but not have the 

blood samples or test results stored 
• that parents have the right to authorize, in writing, that results may be used 

for public health studies or research 
• the MDH website where more information may be found 

In 2006 a law was enacted governing the treatment of genetic information held by 
state govermnent. Minnesota Statues, section 13 .3 86, subdivision 3, requires that, 
unless provided in law, genetic information about an individual may be collected by 
the government with the written, informed consent of the individual. The genetic 
information may be used only for the purposes and stored for the period of time to 
which the individual consented. Also, the genetic information may be disseminated 
only with the individual's written, informed consent, or as necessary to accomplish 
the purposes of the collection. 

In November 2011, the Minnesota Supreme Court ruled on this issue in Bearder 
v. State of Minnesota (806 N.W. 2d 766, November 16, 2011), which challenged 
certain MDH activities related to the newborn screening programs in light of the 
genetic privacy law (Minn. Stat. § 13.386). The state Supreme Court found that the 
genetic privacy law does generally apply to blood samples collected under the 
newborn screening program; however, there are narrow exceptions provided in 
statute that authorize MDH to administer the newborn screening tests of blood 
samples, record and report those test results, maintain a registry of positive cases, 
and store those test results as required by federal law. 

In 2014, the newborn screening laws were amended to allow stored blood samples 
and tests results to be used for studies related to newborn screening, including 
studies used to develop new tests. The law prohibits use of the blood samples and 
test results for any other reason than allowed under the law without the written 
consent of the parent. The law also prohibits the sale ofbloodspots, test results, or 
other data collected during the newborn screening process. 

The law allows parents and a person who was tested under the newborn screening. 
program, once that person is 18 years or older, to request that the person's blood 
samples and test results are destroyed. Once a parent or person who was tested 
requests the blood samples or test results be destroyed, the results must be destroyed 
within a certain time period, as provided in law. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Elisabeth Klarqvist at 651-296-5043. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information seNices to the entire House. 
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Senior Citizens Property Tax Deferral Program 

What is the Senior 
Citizens Property 
Tax Deferral 
Program? 

How does it work? 

Who qualifies? 

The Senior Citizens Property Tax Deferral Program allows property taxpayers who 
are 65 years or older, and whose total household income is $60,000 or less, to defer 
a portion of their homestead property taxes until some later time. It allows senior 
citizens whose property taxes are high relative to their incomes, but who wish to 
stay in their homes, an option for paying their property taxes. 

Regardless of how high the tax is on the homestead, the taxpayer initially pays an 
amount equal to only 3 percent of the total preceding year's household income. 
The state pays any amount over 3 percent, called the "deferred tax," to the county 
in which the home is iocated. A lien attaches to the property. The deferred tax is a 
loan. Interest on the loan is calculated at the same rate as unpaid state taxes; a 
floating rate that cannot exceed 5 percent. Before the owner can transfer the title 
of the property, the deferred tax plus interest must be repaid. 

For example, John and Mary Jones own a home; its total property tax is $1,400. 
They have a total household income of $30,000. Under this program, they must 
pay $900 in tax (3 percent of $30,000); the remaining $500 ($1,400 minus $900) is 
deferred. 

In order to qualify for the program, all of the following criteria must be met: 

• The property must be owned and occupied as a homestead by a person at 
least 65 years old (If married, one spouse must be at least 65 years old and 
the other must be at least 62 years old) 

• Total household income must be $60,000 or less for the calendar year 
preceding the year of the initial application 

• The home must have been owned and occupied as the homestead of at 
least one of the homeowners for at least 15 years before the initial 
application 

• There must be no state or federal tax liens or judgment liens on the 
property 

• The total unpaid balances of debts secured by mortgages and other liens 
on the property, including deferred tax and interest amounts under the 
program, unpaid and delinquent special assessments and property taxes, 
penalties and interest (but excluding the current year's property taxes and 
Property Assessed Clean Energy liens), do not exceed 7 5 percent of the 
assessor's estimated market value for the current year 



What information is 
the applicant 
required to provide? 

Does the taxpayer 
need to annually 
reapply? 

Can the taxpayer 
still file for 
refunds? 

When does it 
terminate? 

How many people 
participate in the 
program? 

Where does a 
taxpayer apply for 
the program? 

An applicant must provide, at her or his own expense, a report detailing any 
mortgages, liens, judgments, or unpaid property taxes on the property. For 
"Abstract" properties, these reports must be prepared by a licensed abstracter. For 
"Torrens" properties, the information is part of the "Condition of Register" 
available from the county recorder. If owners are unsure which type of property 
they have, they may find out from the county recorder. 

No, once a taxpayer is enrolled in the program, annual applications are not 
required. However, if household income exceeds $60,000 in any calendar year, the 
owner must notify the Department of Revenue, and no further property taxes may 
be deferred. However, the owners will remain enrolled in the program, and once 
their income falls below the $60,000 threshold again, they may notify the state and 
request that the deferral be resumed. 

Yes, a taxpayer is still allowed to file for the property tax refund and any other 
property rebates that the state offers. However, no direct cash payments will be 
made to the taxpayer. Rather, the amount of the refund will be applied to the total 
amount of the deferred property tax on the taxpayer's home. The property tax 
refund is calculated on the full tax amount. 

The deferral terminates when any one of the following events occurs: 

• the property is sold or transferred 

• all qualifying homeowners die 

• the homeowner notifies the Commissioner of Revenue, in writing, of intent 
to withdraw from the program 

• the property no longer qualifies as a homestead 

For property taxes payable in 2016, 327 people participated in the program across 
the state. The total amount of property taxes deferred for fiscal year 201 7 was $1.2 
million. 

Applications are available in the county auditor's office or may be obtained from 
the Department of Revenue's website at 
www.revenue.state.mn. us/Forms_ and_ Instructions/ crscd. pdf. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Christopher Kleman at Christopher.Kleman@house.mn 
or Jared Swanson at Jared.Swanson@house.mn. 
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Liability for the Crimes of Another 

When the legislature establishes new crimes or amends criminal penalties, the changes apply to a person who 
violates the law, but also apply to others involved before, during, or after the crime takes place. A person 
who helps another commit a crime can be held responsible, or liable, for the other person's actions. This is 
referred to as "aiding and abetting," "accomplice liability," "conspiracy, or "aiding an offender after the 
fact." 

How can someone 
who did not commit 
a crime be held 
responsible for the 
crime? 

Who qualifies as an 
accomplice to a 
crime? 

What if you do not 
know that the other 
person is planning 
to commit a crime? 

Minnesota law makes it illegal to help someone else commit a crime, plan to 
commit a crime, or hide the fact that a crime was committed. A person who helps 
another commit a crime is an accomplice. A conspiracy exists when multiple 
people plan to commit a crime and take some action to commit it. A person who 
learns of a crime after it took place and then tries to assist the criminal is guilty of 
aiding an offender. 

A person who "intentionally aids, advises, hires, counsels, or conspires with or 
otherwise procures the other to commit" a crime is an accomplice under Minnesota 
Statutes, section 609.05, and can be convicted of committing· the crime even if 
someone else actually violates the law. The participation can come before or 
during the actual crime and is often referred to as "aiding and abetting" a crime. 

The concept of "intentionally aiding" includes two required mental states. First, a 
person must know that the actor is going to commit a crime. Second, the person 
must intend any actions, including being present at the scene, to further that crime. 

The accomplice does not necessarily need to know a crime is going to be 
committed before it begins. If a person becomes aware that someone is committing 
a crime and then makes a choice to aid, or continue to aid, in the commission of the 
crime, then the person is an accomplice. 

Example: 
• Person A drives a bank robber·to the bank but does not know of the plan to 

commit a robbery. Driving the robber to the bank aided in the crime, but 
Person A did not know about the robbery and did not intend to help. 
Person A is not an accomplice. 

• Person B also drove a robber to the bank without knowing of the plan, but 
saw the robbery in process and remained at the scene to drive the robber 
away. Person B chose to assist the crime. Even though the robber did not 
know of that decision, Person B is an accomplice. 



What if someone is 
at the scene of a 
crime but does not 
actually do 
anything? 

What if something 
unexpected happens 
during the crime? 

What if someone no 
longer wants the 
crime to take place? 

How is conspiracy 
different from · 
accomplice 
liability? 

Can a person be 
guilty of conspiracy 
and also be an 
accomplice? 

What does it mean 
to aid an offender 
after the fact? 

What actions 
constitute aiding an 
offender after the 
fact? 

Simply being present at the scene of a crime does not make a person an 
accomplice. However, an accomplice does not have to actively participate in the 
crime. A jury can infer that someone at the scene of a crime intended that presence 
to offer support based on the person's actions before, during, and after that crime. 

Accomplice liability is broad. An accomplice is liable for any additional crime 
committed during the intended offense if the new crime was reasonably 
foreseeable. For example, an accomplice to armed robbery would be guilty of 
murder if one of the other accomplices killed someone. 

A person who would otherwise be an accomplice can avoid liability by: (1) 
abandoning the criminal activity, and (2) making a reasonable effort to prevent the 
cnme. 

While accomplice liability is a way to make someone responsible for a crime 
committed by another, conspiracy is a separate crime under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 609 .175. The crime of conspiracy does not make one liable for the crimes 
of another, but does make it illegal to plan a crime with someone else. 

To be guilty of a conspiracy, there must be: (1) an agreement to commit a crime, 
and (2) an act to further that agreement. 

Yes. A person's actions can constitute both forming a conspiracy and assisting in 
the commission of a crime. 

If a crime has already been completed, a person cannot become an accomplice or 
join a conspiracy to commit the crime. However, someone who helps an offender 
after a crime has been committed, or simply receives the proceeds of the crime, 
commits the crime of aiding an offender after the fact in violation of Minnesota 
Statutes, section 609.495. 

There are three primary ways that someone can aid an off ender. 

First, it is a felony to help or conceal someone who committed a felony in order to 
help the person avoid arrest or punishment. The penalty applies whether the 
assistance involves some physical act, or simply the person's words. 

Second, a person can be sentenced to up to half of the maximum sentence for the 
underlying crime if the person obstructs an investigation by destroying evidence, 
providing false information about the crime, or receiving the proceeds of the crime. 

Finally, a person who falsely claims to have committed a crime in order to protect 
the true criminal can be sentenced to up to half of the maximum sentence of 
imprisonment for the underlying crime. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Ben Johnson at 651-296-8957. 
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Fees for Government Data 

This publication discusses when and how a government entity may charge a fee for responding to a data 
request under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (DPA). In situations where specific fees are set 
by statute or rule, those fees will apply rather than the general rules of the DP A. 

There is no charge to 
inspect data 

Fees may be charged 
if a person requests 
copies of data 

Copies of smaller 
amounts of public 
data cost 25 cents per 
page 

For all other copy 
requests, government 
entities may charge 
for the actual costs of 
making the copies 

Inspection of data is always free. "Inspection" means visual review of data. A 
person is not entitled to free hard copies of data unless receiving hard copies is 
the only way for the government entity to allow access for purposes of inspection. 
Opinions issued by the commissioner of administration have held that a person 
may use a personal device such as a scanner or camera to record data during 
inspection. 

A government entity is permitted-though not required-to charge a fee when a 
person requests copies of data, except if providing a copy is the only way to allow 
for inspection of the data. "Copies" may refer to printing or photocopying data on 
paper, or the electronic transmittal of data. Fees charged for copies must be 
clearly related to the actual development cost of the copies, and the government 
entity must-upon request-provide documentation explaining and justifying the 
fee charged. 

Fees are only predetermined when a person is requesting copies of a smaller 
amount of public data. If the requested copies amount to 100 or fewer pages of 
black-and-white letter or legal size paper, the government entity may charge no 
more than 25 cents per page. No additional costs may be added to this fee 
amount. This predetermined fee only applies to public data; it does not apply to 
not public data that a person may request because he is the subject of that data. 
Data subjects may only be charged actual costs. 

Unless the 25-cents-per-page rule applies, a government entity is only permitted 
to charge for the actual costs of retrieving the requested data and making the 
copies. Items that may be factored into a calculation of actual costs include: the 
cost of the media (paper, CD-ROM, etc.), mailing costs, costs associated with the 
need to use outside vendors (e.g., photo processing labs), and employee time 
spent responding to the copy request. A government entity may not charge for 
employee time spent separating public from not public data (i.e., redacting 
documents). By administrative rule, a government entity's fee determination may 
be guided by a fee schedule of standard copying charges, but only insofar as the 
schedule reflects the actual copying costs. 

The cost of employee time spent searching for and retrieving the data to be copied 
may only be charged when a person is requesting copies of public data. If a 
person's access to the requested data is permissible only because that person is 
the subject of the data, the government entity cannot charge for employee search 



Remote access to 
data is a form of 
inspection and is 
there/ ore free, except 
when enhanced 
access is provided 

Fees may he charged 
to a person who 
requests copies of 
data that has 
commercial value 

Costs may be 
assessed when a 
person requests that 
the agency prepare 
summary data 

Money collected is 
deposited in the 
general fund or in a 
separate fund for the 
agency 

and retrieval time, but only for employee time spent making and compiling the 
actual copies. Also, opinions issued by the commissioner of administration have 
held that, when calculating the cost of employee time spent preparing copies, the 
government entity must use the wage or prorated salary (may include the cost of 
benefits) of the lowest-paid employee who can perform those tasks. 

Because an entity is only permitted to charge actual costs, the fee for a copy 
request must be calculated on a case-by-case basis. For this reason, predetermined 
fees are not permitted and costs may vary among different government entities. 

Remote access refers to a person's ability to inspect government data from a 
personal computer, typically through an online portal or the government entity's 
website. Government entities are not required to provide remote access to data, 
but may choose to do so for certain data sets. Remote access to data is considered 
a form of inspection and is therefore free of charge. However, a government 
entity may charge for remote access if it has specific statutory authority to do so 
or if the data retrievable or the access itself is in some way "enhanced." 
Enhancement is undefined, but could include instantaneous term-based searches 
of data, the ability to run tests or manipulate data, or other functions. 

A government entity is permitted to charge additional fees to a person who 
. requests copies of data that (1) has commercial value, and (2) is a substantial and 
discrete part of a formula, program, system, etc., that the government entity has 
developed using a significant expenditure of public funds. Any fee charged for 
this purpose must be reasonable and must be related to recapturing the actual 
costs associated with the initial development of the formula, program, system, 
etc. The government entity must-upon request-provide documentation 
explaining and justifying the fee charged. 

Summary data are statistical records and reports that are derived from data on 
individuals, but which do not reveal any individual's identity. If a person requests 
that a government entity prepare original summary data from private or 
confidential data on individuals, the entity may require the person to pay the cost 
of preparing the summary data, including employee time. By administrative rule, 
the entity must provide the person an initial estimate of these costs, and the funds 
must be collected in advance of the preparation. Also, if the requested summary 
data also has value to the entity, the entity must appropriately reduce the costs 
assessed to the requesting person. 

Money collected by state agencies for copy costs under the DP A must be credited 
to the general fund and cannot be spent by the agency. If, however, an agency 
collects a sufficiently large amount of money ( statutes do not provide a precise 
figure), the money must be deposited in a separate fund and the amount deposited 
is appropriated to the agency. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nathan Hopkins at 651-296-5056. 
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Municipal State-Aid Street System 

Some cities receive state assistance for construction and maintenance of streets that are part of a municipal 
state-aid street system. Funding comes via transportation-related taxes and is distributed following a 
statutory formula. Calendar year 2018 direct aid totals $192.3 million. 

System overview 

Constitutional 
framework for aid 

Eligibility based 011 

population 

Other assistance to 
ineligible cities 

Program 
administration 

The municipal state-aid street (MSAS) system is a collection of higher volume and 
key connecting streets located in 148 Minnesota cities, of which 84 are in the Twin 
Cities metropolitan area. At roughly 3,600 miles, state-aid streets constitute around 
16 percent of all centerline miles of city streets. There are restrictions on the size of 
the MSAS system within each city. Minn. Stat.§ 162.09. 

The Minnesota Constitution establishes a basic framework for state highway 
finance. Among its features, the constitution dedicates specific transportation­
related taxes to transportation purposes; allocates tax revenues by formula; and 
creates a MSAS fund for financial assistance to cities. Minn. Const. art. XIV. 

The constitution requires a city to have a population over 5,000 in order to qualify 
for MSAS aid. Minn. Const. art. XIV,§ 8. Population is determined by the last 
federal decennial census or most recent estimates. However, statutory provisions 
allow some cities whose populations drop below 5,000 to receive aid, including: 

• an exception for Chisholm, whose population fell below the cutoff with_ the 
2000 census but is permanently grandfathered in; and 

• a transition period that provides continuation of aid to a city that had been 
receiving assistance but whose population dropped below the cutoff in a 
decennial census (in this decade, 2015 was the last transition year). Minn. 
Stat. § 162.09, subd. 4 (f); Laws 2001, 1st spec. sess., ch. 8, art. 2, § 6; 
Laws 2002, ch. 364, § 29. 

While cities having a population under 5,000 are not eligible for MSAS funds, the 
legislature established a Small Cities Assistance program. Minn. Stat. § 162.145. It 
was most recently funded at $8.0 million in each of fiscal years 2018 and 2019. 
Smaller cities are also supported indirectly through state aid to counties: a share of 
state funds for the county state-aid highway system must be allocated to a 
municipal account for use on portions of county state-aid highways located within 
smaller cities. Minn. Stat. § 162.08, subd. 1. 

The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) administers the state-aid 
program. MnDOT determines amounts annually based on a combination of tax 
receipts and future estimates. Aid apportionment amounts are released each 
January and distributed on a calendar-year basis. 

MnDOT has also adopted administrative rules governing the program, which cover 
topics such as minimum roadway design and engineering standards, design 



variance procedures, apportionment between construction and maintenance, and 
contract and bidding requirements. Minn. Rules, ch. 8820. While the department 
oversees aid distribution and provides technical assistance, prioritization of road 
projects as well as their development are under the purview of each city. 

Allocation of funds MSAS funds are used to provide aid as well as for related activities (such as 
administrative costs) based on multiple formulas· in state law. Calendar year 2018 
funding is at $196.9 million, but a cap on the amount held in a disaster account 
yielded about $223,500 in additional available funds. Allocations consist of: 

Aid apportionment 
formula 

Distribution to 
cities 

Historical aid 

• $192.3 million apportioned by formula as direct aid to cities; 

• $3.9 million for MnDOT agency expenses; and 

• $866,100 to a research account. Minn. Stat.§§ 162.12, 162.13. 

Money in the MSAS fund apportioned among cities as direct aid follows a formula 
created in state statute, so that: 

• 50 percent is divided proportionally based on the population of each city 
( compared to the total for all municipal state-aid cities); and 

• 50 percent is divided proportionally based on construction needs for each 
city. Minn. Stat. § 162.13. 

The needs calculation under the formula is structured to enable comparison across 
the cities ( and does not identify total costs to bring municipal state-aid streets up to 
state standards). Calculations submitted by cities are reviewed by a screening board 
composed of city engineers. 

Calendar year 2018 direct aid ranges from around $195,000 to $17.5 million (or 
$33.30 to $88.70 on a per capita basis). Average aid per city is nearly $1.3 million, 
with 41 cities receiving up to $500,000 each and 22 cities receiving over $2 
million. Because of the weight of population in the aid formula, larger cities tend to 
receive greater shares of the aid. 

The chart below provides direct aid by calendar year. 
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For more information: See the House Research publications Highway Finance, January 2018, and Small 
Cities Assistance, October 2017. 
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System overview 

Sources of revenue 

Program 
administration 

Aid requirements 

CSAHfunds 

Updated: June 2018 

County State-Aid Highway System 

The county state-aid highway system is a network of key highways under the 
jurisdiction of Minnesota's counties. It covers roughly 30,700 miles of roadway 
throughout all counties, composing over two-thirds of county highway miles. 
Counties receive formula-based state money to assist in the construction, 
improvement, and maintenance of highways included in the state-aid system. 

Aid is provided through the County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) fund, which is 
established.by the Minnesota Constitution. Revenue mainly comes from a share of 
taxes on motor fuels, vehicle registration, vehicle sales, and vehicle leases. 

Money in the CSAH fund is administered by the Minnesota Department of 
Transportation (MnDOT). Using a combination of tax receipts and future 
estimates, aid apportionments are released each January with distribution on a 
calendar-year basis. MnDOT also adopts administrative rules governing the 
program (covering topics such as design standards). Road project prioritization, 
selection, and construction management are under the purview of each county. 

Among the requirements of the aid, counties typically expend 60 percent on 
construction projects and 40 percent on maintenance efforts. Minn. Rules, part 
8820.1400. Counties must also expend a share of aid on stretches of state-aid 
highways located within "small cities" having a population under 5,000, generally 
in amounts proportional to the share of construction needs for county state-aid 
highway segments located in the small cities. Minn. Stat.§ 162.08, subd. 1. 

Total state funding is $733.9 million in calendar year 2018, allocated as follows. 

County Aid Breakdown 
CY 2018 ($733.9 million) 

• Based on statutory requirements, $21.9 million in deductions are 
made for county highway purposes, consisting of: (1) MnDOT 
administrative costs, (2) a disaster account, (3) a research account, 
and (4) a state park roads account. Minn. Stat.§ 162.06. 

• A portion of general sales tax revenue, known as motor vehicle 
lease sales tax (MVLST), is allocated by formula to Twin Cities 
metropolitan area counties. The distribution excludes Hennepin 
and Ramsey and is in proportion to the population of each county. 
Minn. Stat. § 297 A. 815. Funds in calendar year 2018 amount to 
$39.8 million. 

Excess MVLST 
26.7% 

Deduct. 
3% 

• $60.4 million from a "set-aside" in the flexible highway account 
is provided for county road turnbacks (generally, trunk highway 
segments that are improved and turned over to become part of the 
county state-aid highway system). Minn. Stat. § 161.081. 

• Core aid in calendar year 2018 is $611.9 million. It is divided 
into two categories for distribution among the counties by 
formula: the apportionment sum and the excess sum. 



Apportionment and 
excess sum 

Apportionment sum 
formula 

Excess sum formula 

Historical aid 

Core aid to counties had been allocated under one formula until 2008, when the 
excess sum was created as a second statutory distribution formula. The excess sum 
was basically designed to handle increased funding for transportation due to 
finance changes made over 2006 to 2008 (so that the additional funding was 
largely allocated through the excess sum formula). Legislation in 2015 eliminated 
the calculation methodology used to identify excess sum revenue, replacing it with 
straight percentages. 

Since calendar year 2016, core aid dollars are provided 68 percent through the 
apportionment sum formula, and 3 2 percent through the excess sum formula. 
Minn. Stat. § 162. 07. 

The formula to distribute the apportionment sum among counties is: 

• 10 percent of the apportionment sum is divided equally 

• 10 percent is proportional based on the number of motor vehicles registered 
in each county ( compared to the total for all counties) 

• 30 percent is proportional based on a county's state aid lane-miles 

• 50 percent is proportional based on construction needs for each county, with 
the calculation structured to enable comparison across the counties ( so that it 
does not identify total costs to bring county state-aid highways up to state 
standards). Needs calculations submitted by counties are reviewed by a 
screening board composed of county engineers. Minn. Stat. § 162.07. 

The excess sum is also distributed by formula: 

• 60 percent is in proportion to each county's share of construction needs 

• 40 percent of funds are allocated in proportion to each county's share of the 
total number of motor vehicles registered. Minn. Stat. § 162.07. 

The following chart summarizes aid by calendar year, excluding deductions. 
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For more information: See the House Research publication Highway Finance, January 2018. 
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Basics of Emergency General Assistance 

Emergency General Assistance (EGA) is a state program, administered by Minnesota counties, that 
provides income assistance in emergency situations. 

Who is eligible? 

What is an 
"emergency 
situation"? 

An individual, childless couple, or family without financial resources 
immediately available to resolve an emergency situation is eligible for EGA if: 

• The person or family is not eligible for Minnesota Family Investment 
Program (MFIP), the Diversionary Work Program (DWP), or county 
emergency assistance through the MFIP consolidated fund; 

• The person or family has annual net income no greater than 200 percent 
of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG) for the previous calendar year (in 
2018, for a family of three, 200 percent of FPG was $41,556); 

• The person or family has not, without financial good cause, used more 
than 50 percent of available income and resources for purposes other 
than basic needs during the 60 days before application; 

• The person or family is without financial resources immediately 
available to resolve the emergency; and 

• The emergency did not arise because the person or family member has 
been disqualified from General Assistance (GA) or MFIP. 

Persons or families in need who are not state residents may also receive 
assistance to meet emergency needs. State law requires that nonresidents must 
reside in Minnesota for 3 0 days before applying for EGA. 

Applicants for or recipients of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or 
Minnesota Supplemental Aid who have emergency need may apply for EGA 

An individual or family may receive EGA not more than once in any 12-month 
period. 

An emergency situation is a situation in which an individual or family is 
without, or will lose within 30 days after application, a basic need item and 
requires immediate financial assistance. "Basic needs" are limited to food, 
clothing, shelter, utilities, and other items, the loss or lack of which pose a 
direct, immediate threat to the physical health or safety of the applicant. 



The assistance must be temporary and must not exceed 30 days following the 
date of application. Assistance must be paid for needs that accrue before the 30-
day period when it is necessary to resolve emergencies arising or continuing 
during the 3 0-day period. 

How is EGAfunded EGA is funded with state general fund dollars. 
and how are 
benefits paid? . EGA is provided within the limits of available appropriations and funds are 

allocated to counties by the state. The minimum county allocation is $1,000 per 
fiscal year. Counties may make expenditures above the amount of their state 
allocation but additional expenditures must be made from county funds. 

EGA grants are paid for with vouchers or in the form of a vendor ·payment 
unless the county determines that a cash grant will better meet the needs of the 
emergency situation. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House 
Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Corporate Foster Care Moratorium 

Corporate foster care is foster care in which the primary license holder does not reside in the residence, and 
the foster care home is operated by a corporation with shift staff delivering services to clients. The 2009 
Legislature established a partial moratorium on new licenses for corporate foster care. The moratorium has 
been modified by the legislature several times since 2009. 

What is tlte 
corporate foster 
care moratorium? 

What is a 
community 

Beginning July 1, 2009, the commissioner of human services was prohibited from 
assigning initial licenses for corporate foster care. Exceptions to the moratorium 
include: 

• foster care settings that are required to be registered under the housing with 
services establishment statute; 

• foster care licenses replacing foster care licenses in existence on May 15, 
2009, or community residential setting licenses replacing adult foster care 
licenses in existence on December 31, 2013, and determined to be needed 
by the commissioner; 

• new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses 
determined to be needed by the commissioner for: (I) the closure of a 
nursing facility, intermediate care facility for persons with developmental 
disabilities, or regional treatment center; (2) restructuring of state-operated 
services that limits the capacity of state-operated facilities; or (3) allowing 
movement to the community for people who no longer need the level of 
care provided in state-operated facilities as provided under the MA 
disability waiver programs; 

• new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses 
determined to be needed by the commissioner for persons requiring 
hospital level care; 

• new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses 
determined to be needed by the commissioner for the transition of people 
from personal care assistance to the home and community-based services; 

• new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses 
determined to be needed by the commissioner for the transition of people 
from the residential care waiver services to foster fare services, only when 
certain conditions are met; and 

• new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses for 
people receiving home and community-based services and residing in an 
unlicensed setting before May 1, 2017, and for which a license is required, 
if certain conditions are met. 

The community residential setting license combines the setting and service license 
into one license for corporate foster care providers who serve persons receiving 
MA disability waiver. 



residential setting 
license? 

What requirements 
must local agencies 
meet? 

Are any settings 
exempt from 
decreases to 
licensed capacity? 

Is there a voluntary 
planned closure 
process? 

Is there a process to 
determine tlte 
statewide level of 
need for foster care 
capacity? 

If a facility includes one or more persons with a funding source other than a 
disability waiver, such as elderly waiver or private pay, the facility is licensed as 
an adult foster care home. Funding sources for these facilities do not limit where 
people live, but funding sources do determine which license is required for the 
facility to operate. 

Counties are required to immediately inform the Department of Human Services 
(DHS) when an adult corporate foster care or community residential setting 
recipient chooses to move out of a corporate foster care home into a community­
living setting. DHS may decrease the statewide licensed capacity for adult 
corporate foster care settings. (See Minn. Stat. § 245A.03, subd. 7.) 

Residential settings that would otherwise be subject to decreased licensed capacity 
are exempt if the license holder's beds are occupied by residents whose primary 
diagnosis is mental illness and the license holder meets adult mental health 
certification standards. 

Yes, there is an adult foster care planned closure process to accomplish the 
consolidation or closure of settings. Voluntary proposals from license holders for 
consolidation and closure of adult foster care or community residential settings are 
encouraged. License holders must submit a closure plan to the commissioner for 
review and approval. (See Minn. Stat. § 256B.493.) 

Yes, the commissioner is required to use a resource need determination process, 
using available long-term care services and supports reports and other data and 
information, to align capacity where needed. (See Minn. Stat. §§ 245A.03, subd. 7, 
and 256B.493, subd 2.) 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Nathan Hopkins Updated: June 2018 

Tuition Reciprocity Program 

The tuition reciprocity program authorizes the Office of Higher Education (OHE) to enter into agreements 
with other states to reduce tuition for Minnesota students at the other states' postsecondary institutions. 
Similarly, under the agreements, residents of reciprocity states pay reduced tuition rates when they attend a 
public postsecondary institution in Minnesota. 

Who is eligible 
to participate? 

What do the 
agreements 
cover? 

What tuition 
rates do students 
pay? 

Minnesota has separate tuition reciprocity agreements with North Dakota, South 
Dakota, and Wisconsin covering all public postsecondary institutions in those states. 
Minnesota also has limited agreements with Iowa ( covering one institution in each 
state) and Manitoba (covering all public Minnesota institutions and ten institutions in 
Manitoba). 

Although undergraduates constitute the majority of participating students, the 
agreements also include most graduate and professional programs. The Wisconsin 
agreement, however, limits reciprocity to the pharmacy and law professional 
programs. Similarly, the North Dakota agreement limits or excludes certain 
professional programs, though individual programs may voluntarily offer reduced 
tuition to students from neighboring states. 

To participate in the program, a student must first apply to a public college or 
university in a reciprocity state and then apply for reciprocity to the administering 
agency in their home state-OHE for Minnesota students. Students have until the last 
day of the academic term to apply for reciprocity. The reciprocity program has no 
limit to the number of participating students. A student's reciprocity benefits 
automatically renew for subsequent academic terms. Any changes to the reciprocity 
agreements apply to students who first enroll after the effective date of the change. 

The reciprocity agreements and annual memorandum specify the terms of 
participation, including undergraduate, graduate, and professional tuition rates for 
applicable institutions and programs. The agreements must be approved by 
postsecondary governing boards-in Minnesota, the Minnesota State Colleges and 
Universities (MnState) Board of Trustees and the University of Minnesota Board of 
Regents. Most of the agreements exclude fees charged by participating institutions. 
Only the South Dakota agreement includes both tuition and mandatory fees. 

There are three main approaches to tuition rate setting for tuition reciprocity 
agreements: 

1. Resident tuition at the institution attended (with or without a surcharge) 

• Applies to Minnesota residents attending North Dakota institutions 

• Applies to participating institutions under the Iowa and Manitoba 
agreements 



Does the 
reciprocity 
program cost the 
state? 

How many 
students 
participate in the 
program? 

2. The higher of the two states' resident tuition at a comparable institution 

• Applies to North Dakota residents attending Minnesota institutions 

• Applies to South Dakota and Wisconsin agreements 

3. Resident tuition at a comparable institution in the student's state of residence 

• Not currently used under any agreement 

Note that the North Dakota agreement is unique in that the tuition rate-setting 
approach differs depending on the student's state of residence. 

The state pays for the reciprocity program through general fund appropriations to 
public institutions and through specific appropriations to OHE for payments to other 
states, as required in the Wisconsin and North Dakota agreements. 

For the 2016-2017 academic year, preliminary data placed Minnesota's obligation to 
North Dakota at $11.85 million. That same year, Wisconsin's obligation to Minnesota 
was $6.3 million. The approximate total obligation for the 2016-2017 academic year 
is therefore $5.55 million. In its 2017 higher education omnibus act, the legislature 
appropriated $11 million each year for tuition reciprocity contract obligations in fiscal 
years 2018 and 2019. 

Minnesota's agreements with Wisconsin and North Dakota represent 88 percent of all 
reciprocity enrollments. Minnesota's agreement with South Dakota represents an 
additional 11 percent of participation. In fall 2016, a total of 42,078 students from all 
participating states (and Manitoba) participated in the tuition reciprocity program. 
Approximately 93 percent of these students are undergraduates. In keeping with 
historical trends, Minnesota sends more students to each of the other states than it 
receives from them. 

North Dakota 

South Dakota 

Wisconsin 

Manitoba* 

Iowa Lakes 
Community 

College 

Total 

Fall 2016 Reciprocity Enrollment 
From Minnesota 

Attending in 

10,844 

3,461 

13,689 

88 

288 

28,370 

Attending in 
Minnesota from 

4,118 

1,172 

8,285 

62 

71 

13,708 

Net Outflow of 
Students 

6,726 

2,289 

5,404 

26 

217 

14,662 

*The number of Minnesota residents enrolling in Manitoba is from fall 2015 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nathan Hopkins at 651-296-5056. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 



HOUSE RESEARCH Short Subjects 

Colbey Sullivan 

What is a biofuel? 

What is a biofuel 
use mandate? 

How do the biofuel 
use mandates work? 

What is the 
requirement for 
gasoline? 

What is the 
requirement for 
diesel? 

Updated: July 2018 

Biofuel Use Mandates 

A biofuel is a transportation fuel derived from plants or other renewable biological 
resources. The most widely used biofuels are ethanol produced from com an-el 
biodiesel produced from soybean oil and other feedstocks. Researchers and 
companies are actively developing new biofuels and new feedstocks for ethanol 
and biodiesel. 

Ethanol is a substitute for gasoline; biodiesel is a substitute for diesel fuel. In 
contrast, gasoline and diesel are referred to as "fossil fuels" because they are 
derived from nonrenewable petroleum. A biofuel-blended fuel is a fossil fuel 
mixed with biofuel. 

A biofuel use mandate is a law that requires transportation fuel suppliers and 
retailers to sell biofuel-blended fuel. As the result of Minnesota's biofuel 
mandates, in general all motorists who fuel up in Minnesota purchase biofuel­
blended fuel. Regular gasoline and diesel are not typically available at gas stations. 

Minnesota has two biofuel use mandates-one for gasoline and another for diesel 
fuel. Both laws require fuel blenders to incorporate a specific amount of biofuel 
into each gallon of transportation fuel sold in the state, with certain exceptions. 

Prior to July 1, 2013, state law required a 10 percent blend of ethanol in nearly 
every gallon of gasoline. This blend of 10 percent ethanol and 90 percent gasoline 
is commonly referred to as "El0." As the result of a law enacted during the 2013 
legislative session, fuel sellers now have an option-they may sell either E 10 or 
gasoline blended with 10 percent biobutanol, cellulosic ethanol, or any other 
biofuel approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as a 
gasoline substitute. 

By law, the E 10 option could change if the EPA authorizes additional ethanol 
blends. Fuel sellers who choose the ethanol option will be required to sell E 15, 
E20, or any other blend approved by EPA for use in all light-duty vehicles. 
However, if EPA allows the use of new ethanol blends only in certain vehicles, the 
law's ethanol option will remain at E 10. For example, EPA has approved E 15. 
However, Minnesota's ethanol mandate did not increase correspondingly because 
EPA authorized E 15 use only in model-year 2001 and newer light-duty vehicles. 

The biodiesel mandate law requires a 20 percent blend of biodiesel ("B20") in 
most diesel fuel sold in Minnesota during the warm-weather period of April 15 
through the end of September. October through March, the mandate level reverts to 
BS due to concerns about B20's performance in cold weather. During the spring 
transition from BS to B20 each April, the minimum content level is temporarily 



What exemptions 
exist? 

Mandate Level 

Initial Implementation 

Exemptions 

B 10 in order to provide time for fuel sellers to transition their diesel inventory to 
B20. 

The law authorizes the executive branch to suspend the use mandate for a limited 
period of time if there is not enough biodiesel fuel available or if the wholesale 
price of biodiesel is so high relative to diesel fuel that the mandate would cause 
economic hardship for gas stations and other diesel fuel sellers who may lose 
business to competitors located outside of the state. 

The legislature grante1 exemptions from the use mandates for certain vehicles, 
equipment, and fuels. The exemptions reflect stakeholder concerns about the 
suitability ofbiofuel-blended fuels· for their vehicles and other gasoline- or diesel-
powered equipment. For a list of exemptions, see the table below. · 

Biofuel Mandates, Implementation Dates, and Exemptions 

Diesel Gasoline 

Minimum of 20 percent biodiesel per Option of (1) the highest ethanol bleµd 
gallon April 15 through September 30, approved by the U.S. EPA for all 
5 percent October 1 through March 31, vehicles, or (2) 10 percent of another 
and 10 percent April 1 to April 14 EPA-approved biofuel 

2005* 2003** 

Number 1 diesel fuel; Number 2 diesel Gasoline used by or for aircraft, 
used by or for nuclear plants, trains, off- resorts, marinas, houseboat companies, 
road mining and logging equipment, recreational vehicle manufacturers, 
generator manufacturers, Coast Guard riparian landowners, motor sport 
boats, and certain boats subject to Coast racing events, collector vehicles, off-
Guard inspection road vehicles, motorcycles, boats, 

snowmobiles, and small engines 

*The legislature required El0 use statewide in 2003. From 1997 to 2003, the law effectively required E7.7 statewide. 
**The legislature increased the biodiesel mandate level over time, beginning with B2 in 2005, B5 in 2009, BIO in 2014, and 
B20 in 2018. As required by law, the B 10 and B20 levels took effect only after executive branch officials certified that certain 
statutory conditions had been met. 

For more information: For mandate compliance information, contact the Minnesota Department of 
Commerce, Weights and Measures Division, at 651-215-5821. For more detail on the mandates, see the 
following reports from the Minnesota Department of Agriculture: Legislative Report on Ethanol - Review 
of E20 (January 2011) and Report to the Legislature -Annual Report on Biodiesel (January 2018), available 
at www.mda.state.mn.us/renewable.aspx. For legislative issues, contact legislative analyst Colbey Sullivan 
at 651-296-5047. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm 
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HOUSE RESEARCH Short Subjects 

Na than Hopkins Updated: August 2018 

Child Care Grant Program for Postsecondary Students 

The Child Care Grant Program provides financial assistance to resident postsecondary students to reduce 
the costs of child care. The program is administered by the Office of Higher Education (OHE). 

Who is eligible 
for the child 
care assistance 
grant? 

Which 
postsecondary 
institutions are 
eligible for child 
care grants·? 

HowdoesOHE 
determine the 
size of a 
student's grant? 

To receive a grant, a student must meet all of the following conditions: 

• Be a Minnesota resident or the spouse of a Minnesota resident 
• Have one or more children age 12 or under ( 14 or under if disabled) who 

receive regular care from a licensed or legal nonlicensed child care provider 
• Have family income below the thresholds established by OHE, but not receive 

assistance from t]:ie Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) 
• Have not earned a bachelor's degree and be enrolled full-time for less than ten 

semesters, or have earned a bachelor's degree and have been enrolled full-time 
for less than ten semesters in a graduate or professional program 

• Be enrolled in at least six credits in a nonsectarian program leading to an 
undergraduate, graduate, or professional degree, diploma, or certificate 

• Be in good academic standing and making satisfactory academic progress 

State law and rules limit participation in the program to Minnesota institutions in one 
of the following categories: 

• Public postsecondary colleges and universities 
• Private, baccalaureate degree-granting colleges and universities 
• Nonprofit, degree-granting vocational-technical institutions 

For-profit schools that do not offer bachelor's degrees are ineligible for the program. 

A student's grant amount depends on the income of the student and his or her spouse, 
and the size of the student's family. Students with family incomes below a threshold 
established by the Commissioner of Higher Education receive the maximum grant 
amount per child. Students with incomes above the threshold receive the maximum 
amount minus 10 percent of their income above the threshold. 

The maximum award per child is set in statute at $3,000. If appropriations for the 
first year of the biennium are unspent, the Commissioner of Higher Education may use 
unspent funds to increase the maximum award in the second year of the biennium. 
Students with more than one eligible child receive a grant equal to the per child amount 
times the number of eligible children. 

Each year, state law requires the Commissioner of Higher Education to set the income 
threshold for the program at a level expected to fully expend the state appropriation 
for the program. The threshold is expressed as a percentage of the federal poverty 
guidelines for a given family size. 



What are the 
income 
thresholds for 
participation in 
the program? 

What are the 
trends in 
funding and 
participation for 
the child care 
grant program? 

How is the 
program 
administered? 

Are 
postsecondary 
students eligible 
for other types 
of child care 
assistance? 

In the 2018-2019 academic year, the commissioner set the income threshold for the 
maximum per child grant at 200 percent of the 2017 federal poverty line. The table 
below shows how this threshold affects awards for students of different family sizes. 

Income Thresholds for Child Care Grants by Family Size, 2018-2019 

Family Size of Student 

Family Size 

Students with family incomes at or below this 
amount receive the maximum award 

2 

$32,000 

3 

$41,000 

4 5 

$49,000 $57,000 

Students with family incomes above this 
amount receive no award 

$83,000 $92,000 $101,000 $109,000 

In recent years, appropriations have not changed, while participation has fallen. 

Child Care Grant Program Trends 
Award Total Grants Students Average Maximum 
Year Appropriations .Awarded Awarded Award Award 

09-10 $6,684,000 $6,246,159 2,866 $2,179 $2,600 

10-11 $6,684,000 $6,523,921 3,042 $2,145 $2,600 

11-12 $6,684,000 $5,828,199 2,863 $2,036 $2,600 

12-13 $6,684,000 . $5,649,041 2,666 $2,119 $2,800 

13-14 $6,684,000 $4,927,539 2,241 $2,035 $2,800 

14-15 $6,684,000 $5,768,437 2,186 $2,644 $3,800* 

15-16 $6,684,000 $4,468,319 1,985 $2,251 $2,800 

16-17 $6,684,000 $6,011,162 1,693 $3,387 $5,125* 
*In these years, the commissioner used unspent appropriations from the previous year to increase the 
maximum award from its statutory level. This increase does not carry forward. 

OHE allocates funds to postsecondary institutions based on the number of students 
with dependent children at each institution. OHE estimates the number of students with 
dependent children based on applications to the State Grant Program. Institutions may 
disburse funds to a child care provider or directly to a student. 

Higher education students with children may be eligible for the Basic Sliding Fee 
(BSF) child care assistance program administered by the Department of Human 
Services. ·students who meet the income and other criteria are eligible, on a space­
available basis, in the county where they live. Typically, more families are eligible for 
BSF assistance than can be served with the state and federal appropriations. 
Postsecondary students tend to be a lower priority for assistance than working families. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nathan Hopkins at 651-296-5056. For information on 
other child care assistance programs, see the House Research publication, Child Care Assistance, June 2017. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative; 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Property Tax Abatements for Economic Development 

What is economic 
development 
property tax 
abatement? 

For what purposes 
may abatements be 
used? 

Which property 
taxes may be 
abated? 

How long does an 
abatement apply? 

What is the 
limitation on 
abatements? 

Minnesota law authorizes political subdivisions to grant property tax abatements 
for economic development (e.g., to encourage a business to locate or expand at a 
location or to redevelop an area). Minn. Stat.§§ 469.1813 - 469.1816. 
Abatements can be used for purposes similar to tax increment financing (TIF), a 
widely used development tool. 

These economic development tax abatements should be distinguished from 
property tax abatements that are granted by the county board primarily to correct 
errors (e.g., to reduce the assessor's market value or to change the classification 
of the property). Minn. Stat.§ 375.192. 

The law allows abatements to be used for a broad range of purposes, if the 
political subdivision finds that public benefits exceed the costs. Permitted uses 
of abatements include: 

• General economic development, such as increasing the tax base or jobs 
• Construction of public facilities or infrastructure ( e.g., streets and roads) 
• Redevelopment of blighted areas 
• Providing access to services for residents ( e.g., housing or retail would 

be common examples) 
• Deferring or phasing in a large ( over 50 percent) property tax increase 
• Stabilizing the tax base resulting from the updated utility valuation 

administrative rules 

Counties, cities, towns, and school districts may grant abatements of the taxes 
they impose by resolution. For towns, action at the town meeting is not 
required. Taxes imposed by special taxing districts ( e.g., watersheds or regional 
agencies) cannot be abated. Similarly, the state general property tax ( on 
commercial/industrial and seasonal-recreational properties) cannot be abated. In 
the Twin Cities metropolitan area and on the Iron Range, the fiscal disparities 
tax cannot be explicitly abated. However, a political subdivision may increase 
its abatement amount to reflect the amount of the tax imposed under fiscal 
disparities. The abatement does not directly enter into the fiscal disparities 
calculations. 

The political subdivision sets the length of the abatement, which cannot exceed 
15 years. The term can be extended to 20 years if only two of the three political 
subdivisions ( city/town, county, and school district) grant an abatement. 

The total amount of property taxes abated may not exceed the larger of: 
• 10 percent of the net tax capacity of the political subdivision, or 
• $200,000. 



How do the 
mechanics of 
abatement work? 

May abatements be 
used to pay bonds 
used to fund public 
or private 
improvements? . 

How do abatements 
compare with TIF? 

How widely has 
abatement been 
used? 

The abatement resolution, approved by the political subdivision, sets the 
duration and the amount to be abated. The political subdivision has considerable 
flexibility in setting the terms of the abatement; for example, it may set the 
abatement as a percentage of tax payable, a dollar amount, the tax attributable to 
a portion of the parcel's market value, or something else. The local government 
adds the abatement to its property tax levy. The owner pays property tax and the 
political subdivision uses the payments as provided by the abatement resolution. 
For example, the abatement may be used to pay bonds or be paid to the property 
owner. 

The abatement law authorizes the issuance of bonds to be paid with the 
abatements. For example, bonds could be issued to construct public 
improvements or to pay for a site for a business. The bonds can be general 
obligation bonds or revenue bonds. The abatement bond provisions parallel 

· those in the TIF law: the abatement bonds are not subject to referendum 
approval and are excluded from debt limits. 

Under Department of Education administrative guidance, school districts may 
only issue abatement bonds for certain school parking improvements without. 
voter approval. School districts have issued about $4 7 million of these 
abatement bonds for parking improvements. The $5 million annual levy to pay 
these bonds is not included ih the school abatement levies in the table below. 

The legislature designed the abatement law as an alternative to and a supplement 
to TIF; both programs can be used for similar purposes, rely on property tax 
funding, and have very similar bonding powers. But they differ in these 
important respects: 

• TIF can be used for longer durations ( up to 25 years in some cases) than 
abatements (typically 15 years) 

• TIF requires approval only by the municipality (usually the city) to 
capture all local property taxes, while abatement requires each entity's 
approval to capture its taxes and cannot capture special district taxes 

• TIF use is subject to more legal restrictions than abatement. These 
include a blight test for redevelopment districts, but-for findings, and 
stricter limits on what increments may be spent on. 

The following amounts of abatement 
levies were reported for property taxes 
payable in 2018, as reported to the 
Departments of Revenue ( cities and 
counties) and Education (schools). 

Cities 
Counties 
Schools 
Total 

Number Amount 
73 $12,485,808 
31 2,409,625 
12 1,608,875 

116 $16,504,308 

For more information: See the House Research publication Tax Increment Financing, September 2018. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Constitutional Restrictions on State Taxation 
The Prohibition on Discriminating Against Interstate Commerce 

Legislators often seek to favor Minnesota businesses 
in setting state tax policy. They may propose 
limiting tax preferences to Mim1esota-based 
businesses and activities or suggest imposing taxes 
that fall exclusively or more heavily on out-of-state 
businesses. These proposals may violate the 
Commerce Clause of the United States Constitution 
because they discriminate against interstate 
commerce. This short subject describes the 
constitutional prohibition on discriminating against 
interstate commerce. This is a complicated legal 
topic; in many cases the applicable rules are unclear. 
An expert needs to carefully analyze the 
constitutionality of any legislative proposal. 

General Rule. The Commerce Clause grants 
Congress the power "to regulate commerce * * * 
among the several states * * * ." U.S. Const. aii. II, § 
8. The Supreme Court has long held that one 
implication of this grant of power is that states may 
not adopt regulations or taxes that place an "undue 
burden" on interstate commerce, even if Congress 
has taken no action. This is referred to as the 
"dormant or negative" Commerce Clause doctrine. 
The Commerce Clause is a principal reason for the 
federal constitution: i.e., to join the states in a 
national economy and to prevent the fragmentation 
that resulted from individual states imposing tariffs 
and laws favoring local merchants. 

In Complete Auto Transit v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274 
(1977), the Court set out a four-part test for testing 
state taxes under the Commerce Clause. Under the 
Complete Auto test, a state tax must: 

• Be applied to an activity that has substantial 
nexus (or connection or contact) with the state 

• Be fairly apportioned to activities in the state 
• Not discriminate against interstate commerce 

• Be fairly related to services provided by the 
state 

The most frequently litigated and arguably the most 
important of these four rules is the prohibition on 
discriminating against interstate commerce. It is a 
longstanding rule, dating to the late 19th century. 
The Court has described the rule as follows: 

[N]o State, consistent with the Commerce 
Clause, may "impose a tax which 
discriminates against interstate commerce ... 
by providing a direct commercial advantage to 
a local business." This antidiscrimination 
principle "follows inexorably from the basic 
purpose of the Clause" to prohibit the 
multiplication of preferential trade areas 
destructive of the free commerce anticipated 
by the Constitution. Maryland v. Louisiana, 
451 U.S. 725, 754 (1981) (citations omitted). 

The Court has held that state tax provisions may not 
favor local business firms, local products, or local 
activities. However, some provisions favoring local 
businesses may be valid, if they are properly 
structured and designed. 

Specific Principles and Examples. The Court has 
invalidated many state taxes on the grounds they 
discriminate against interstate commerce. Some 
general principles from these cases include: 

• "Facial" discrimination almost always will 
invalidate a tax. If a tax explicitly ("on its 
face") favors local businesses, local 
transactions, or products, it will almost 
always be held to discriminate against 
interstate commerce. For example, the Court 
held invalid: 



11 Exempting ethanol or alcoholic 
beverages produced only within the 
state, Bacchus Imports, Ltd v. Dias, 468 
U.S. 263 (1984); New Energy Co. v. 
Limbach, 486 U.S. 269 (1988); 

11 Exempting dividends paid by in-state 
corporations, Fulton Corp. v. Faulkner, 
516 U.S. 325 (1996); and 

11 Limiting charitable contribution 
deductions to in-state charities. 
Chapman v. Commissioner of Revenue, 
651 N.W.2d 825 (Minn. 2002). 

• Discrimination is determined by economic 
effect. It is not necessary that the state or the 
legislature intend to discriminate, if its 
economic effect is to discriminate. However, 
showing intent to discriminate is relevant; a 
legislative intent to discriminate is nearly 
conclusive of the tax's unconstitutionality. 

• Minor or seemingly inconsequential 
discrimination is enough. The Court has 
rejected arguments that the effect of the 
discrimination is so minor or de minimus to 
not matter. 

• Incentives to encourage local investment or 
activity may be invalid. Tax incentives for 
in-state activity ( e.g., investment) may be 
invalid, if the net effect is to raise tax on out­
of-state businesses. For example, the Court 
struck down an income tax credit to 
encourage businesses to export through in­
state corporations. Westinghouse Electric v. 
Tully, 466 U.S. 388 (1984). However, 
incentives provided through the sales tax 
(e.g., capital equipment exemptions) or 
property tax ( abatements or tax increment 
financing) are likely valid, because the 
underlying taxes apply only to in-state 
property or transactions. Incentives may be 
validly provided through direct spending 
programs (e.g., grants), unless they are linked 

to a discriminatory tax or other funding 
source. West Lynn Cremnery, Inc. v. Healy, 
512 U.S. 186 (1994). 

• Taxes must be "internally consistent." 
This test requires determining whether the 
state tax, if imposed by all states, would 
impose higher tax on out-of-state businesses 
or investors than comparable local ones. If it 
does, it is unconstitutional. Comptroller v. 
Wynne, 135 S.Ct. 1787 (2015) (invaliding 
individual income tax imposing higher 
burdens on residents with out-of-state 
income). 

Discriminatory taxes may be valid as 
complementary taxes or because they favor 
government enterprises or activity. Otherwise 
discriminatory taxes may be valid "complementary" 
taxes, which offset a specific tax that only a local 
business or transaction bears. The classic case is the 
use tax, which complements the sales tax. Sales 
taxes apply to in-state purchases, but not to 
purchases made outside the state, such as by phone, 
mail order, or the Internet. To prevent 
disadvantaging local merchants, however, the Court 
upheld a "complementary" use tax, a tax on "using" 
a product or service in the state. This tax, in effect, 
only applies to items purchased from out-of-state 
businesses. But the Court upheld it as a 
complementary tax. Hennford v. Silas Mason Co., 
300 U.S. 577 (1937). It has construed this exception 
very narrowly, refusing to uphold discriminatory 
taxes where the argument was made that they offset 
general local tax burdens. 

The Court has upheld provisions that discriminate 
against interstate commerce where the government 
is acting as a "market participant." For example, the 
Court has held this allows discriminatory taxation 
favoring interest on bonds issued by in-state 
governments. Dept. of Revenue v. Davis, 553 U.S. 
328 (2008). 
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Bail in Minnesota 

Bail systems balance individual liberty interests, the protection of public safety, the need to assure that 
defendants appear for court hearings, and concerns about equal treatment within the judicial system. This 
publication describes the current system of bail in Minnesota and identifies the constitutional limits and 
requirements related to bail. 

How does bail work 
in Minnesota? 

Do all jurisdictions 
follow th£; same 
rules for bail? 

How does using a 
bail bonds company 
differ from posting 
bail? 

What are the 
constitutional limits 
on bail? 

Who controls the 
rules that govern 
bail in Minnesota? 

How is bail set? 

Following an arrest, a defendant may post bail in order to obtain a release from 
custody. For some offenses, a bail schedule establishes the amount of bail for all 
individuals accused of committing that offense and the defendant can post bail 
without being seen by a judge. In most cases, the defendant appears before a judge 
and the judge determines the amount of bail. The defendant can then post the total 
amount of bail, a third person can post the bail on the person's behalf, or the 
defendant can contract with a bail bonds company to post a bond for the defendant. 

Not all states and Washington, D.C., follow the same rules for bail. Some locations 
use a general bail schedule for most offenses. Others have laws or policies that 
restrict the use of bail and promote release with more intensive supervision. Some 
states, such as Wisconsin, require that bail be posted in cash while other states 
permit the use of bonds. 

Bail can be refunded to a defendant. Bail bonds companies charge a premium in 
exchange for posting a bond on behalf of the defendant. (Minnesota allows a 
charge of up to 10 percent of the bail amount.) The premium is not refundable. 

The federal and state constitutions prohibit excessive bail. Minnesota's Bill of 
Rights also guarantees the right to bail. Article I, section 7 says: "All persons 
before conviction shall be bailable by sufficient sureties, except for capital 
offenses when the proof is evident or the presumption great." Minnesota no 
longer has the death penalty, so all defendants have a right to have bail set. 

The state constitution prohibits holding a defendant in custody without setting bail. 
The legislature can establish or amend substantive rights and regulations including 
maximum or minimum bail amounts for certain offenses or notification 
requirements for alleged victims. The judicial branch determines procedural rules 
including when bail hearings are held and what factors individual judges must 
consider in setting bail. Individual counties may also be given the ability to test 
new assessment tools or methods of pretrial supervision. 

A person arrested without a warrant and held in custody must have a hearing 
within 48 hours of the arrest. At that hearing, a judge determines the conditions of 
release. Conditions, including bail, are generally intended to assure a person's 
appearance at future court hearings. Court rules direct judges to release individuals 



What options does a 
Minnesota court 
have in setting bail? 

Can a court set hail 
at any amount? 

Does a court 
consider the 
defendant's ability 
to pay before setting 
the amount of hail? 

What other factors 
must a court 
consider hef ore 
setting hail? 

How long can a 
defendant who 
canno{post bail he 
held in jail? 

without specific conditions unless a judge determines that such a release "will 
endanger the public safety or will not reasonably assure the defendant's 
appearance;" 

A judge can (1) order a defendant's release without any conditions, (2) set an 
amount of bail that the defendant must post to be released, or (3) authorize release 
with specific conditions including supervision or other restrictions on the person's 
actions. If the judge authorizes release with conditions, the state constitution 
requires the judge to also set a bail-only amount as an alternative option. 

When establishing conditions, relevant court rules say that a judge may: 
1. place the person under supervision of a person or organization; 
2. restrict travel, association, or residence; 
3. require an appearance bond, cash deposit, or other security; or 
4. impose other conditions the judge finds necessary to assure the person's 

appearance. 

For most misdemeanors and gross misde:q:ieanors, Minnesota Statutes, section 
629 .4 71, limits the maximum bail that can be set to twice the highest fine for the 
offense. The statute includes several exceptions, allowing a judge to set bail at 
four, six, or ten times the maximum fine for some offenses including ·certain DWI 
offenses and domestic assaults. A judge must set the maximum bail for a person 
arrested for a DWI under certain circumstances. 

While a court must consider a person's ability to pay, there is nothing that requires 
judges to set bail at an amount detainees can actually pay. That practice contrasts 
with the federal rule under which a judge "may not impose a financial condition 
that results in the pretrial detention of the person." However, the federal system has 
a procedure for detention in which a person can be held without bail under certain 
circumstances. Because the Minnesota Constitution requires judges to set bail, 
detention would be unconstitutional in Minnesota. 

Judges consider 13 specific factors when choosing conditions of release. Those 
conditions include the nature of the crime charged, the person's ties to the 
community, the person's financial resources, and the safety of others. Statutes 
require a pretrial bail evaluation for a defendant accused of a felony crime of 
violence and several specific gross misdemeanors and misdemeanors. The 
evaluation tool originated in Hennepin County and underwent a detailed review in · 
2006. Statutes also require training for judges on how to keep bail evaluations and 
decisions racially and culturally neutral. Decisions must be based on each_ 
defendant's unique situation. 

It depends. If a person charged with a misdemeanor demands a speedy trial, the 
trial must take place within ten days or else the defendant must be released on 
nonmonetary conditions. Unless there are exigent circumstances, a person charged 
with a gross misdemeanor or felony must be released on nonmonetary conditions if 
trial does not begin within 120 days after the person enters a plea other than guilty. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Ben Johnson at 651-296-8957. 
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Charter Schools 

A charter school is a public school established under a contract between a charter 
school board of directors and an authorizer. Authorizers must be approved by the 
Commissioner of Education and may be a Minnesota college or university, 
nonprofit corporation, or single-purpose charitable organization. Interested 
teachers, parents, or community members may apply to an authorizer to establish a 
charter school; the group must include a licensed teacher. The application must 
include a financial plan, governance, management structure, and the school's 
purpose. The operators must fom1 a board of directors, incorporate, and operate the 
school as a nonprofit corporation. It the authorizer approves the application, the 
authorizer and board of directors enter into a charter school contract. A school 
district may convert an existing school to a charter school, but a charter school may 

, not be converted to a district school. 

A charter school 
must comply with 
some of the state 
requirements for 
school districts 

An authorizer 
monitors a charter 
school's 
performance 

A charter school must comply with some state requirements as though it were a 
district, including requirements related to: academic standards and assessments; 
minimum number of instructional days; student fees; teacher evaluation and peer · 
review; student transportation; student discipline; and financial audits and audit 
procedures. A charter school must be nonsectarian, must not limit admission based 
on achievement, aptitude, or athletic ability, and with certain exceptions, must 
admit students by lottery. A charter school is exempt from other school district 
requirements not explicitly applicable to charter schools. 

A charter school must employ licensed teachers. Charter school teachers are 
included in the public employee teacher retirement plan and may choose to form a 
union and bargain with the charter school board; most teachers do not organize and 
instead enter into individual employment contracts with the charter school. 

The charter school contract between the board of directors and the authorizer must 
specify the program purpose, student outcomes, admissions requirements, 
operating plan, compliance with state and federal laws, ongoing oversight of 
operational, financial, and academic performance, school evaluation criteria, the 
term of the contract, applicable special education agreements, and a plan for an 
orderly school closing. The contract may have a term of up to five years. 

An authorizer must monitor and annually evaluate a charter school's financial, 
operational, and student performance. With commissioner approval, the authorizer 
may allow a charter school to expand to additional sites or add grades. The 
commissioner must review an authorizer's performance at least every five years 
and may take corrective action against an authorizer. 



A board of directors 
operates a charter 
school 

A charter school 
receives state 
revenue on a per 
pupil basis similar· 
to school districts 

A charter school 
may not use state 
funds to purchase 
facilities 

A charter school 
can be closed by the 
authorizer or the 
Commissioner of 
Education 

The initial board of directors must adopt articles and bylaws. The board is 
responsible for school policy, including budgeting, cuniculum, personnel, and 
operating procedures. The board may contract with an independent entity, usually a 
nonprofit charter management organization (CMO) or for-profit educational 
management organization (EMO), for management and administrative services 
including cuniculum, staffing, and technology. A CMO or EMO may manage 
multiple schools using a standard school model. 

The board of directors must have at least five members, including at least one 
licensed teacher, one parent of an enrolled student, and one interested community 
member. The initial board of directors serves until elections are held for ongoing 
members according to the school's articles and bylaws. Meetings of the board are 
subject to the open meeting requirements that apply to other government entities. 
Conflicts of interest are prohibited, and a board member who violates the 
prohibition is individually liable. The board of directors may sue and be sued. 

A charter school receives state revenue in many of the same ways a school district 
does, which means funding is largely based on the school's enrollment. A charter 
school receives state general education revenue, most other school district 
revenues, and federal aid. A charter school's revenue differs from school district 
revenue in three major ways: (1) a charter school receives state special education 
revenue as though it were a district and may also bill back a disabled student's 
resident school district for 90 percent of its eligible unreimbursed special education 
costs; (2) a charter school does not receive the levy portion of operating 
referendum revenue or any local optional revenue; and (3) a charter school may not 
levy taxes or issue building bonds. A charter school may either receive 
transportation revenue to provide students transportation services or it may choose 
to have the school district in which it is located provide transportation services. 

A charter school may not use state funds to buy land or buildings. A charter school 
may own land or buildings if obtained with nonstate sources or may organize an 
affiliated nonprofit building corporation to build or buy school facilities that the 
charter school can then lease. A charter school may not issue building bonds but 
instead receives charter school lease aid, operating capital revenue, and long-term 
facilities maintenance revenue to help pay for its facility costs. 

A charter school can be closed by its authorizer or by the Commissioner of 
Education. The authorizer may unilaterally terminate a charter school contract 
during the term for cause or decline to renew a contract at the end of the term. The 
commissioner may terminate a charter school contract for failing to meet 
performance requirements, fiscal mismanagement, law violations, or other good 
cause. If an authorizer and a charter school agree to terminate or not renew a 
contract, the school must be dissolved unless the commissioner approves a change 
to a different authorizer. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Cristina Pana, cristina.pana@house.mn. 
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Two-thirds Majority Vote to Enact General Banking Laws 

Since its adoption in 1857, the Minnesota 
Constitution has provided that "general banking 
laws" may only be enacted upon a two-thirds 
majority vote by the legislature. Minn. Const. art. IV 
§ 26. Based on the language of the original 
constitution and decisions of the Minnesota Supreme 
Court, it is clear that this supermaj ority requirement 
only applies to laws for "banks of issue"-i.e., laws 
that authorize banks to issue notes that circulate as 
money. The legislature has not, by all accounts, 
considered a bill to enact such a law since some time 
in the 19th century. 

privileges." International Trust Co. v. American 
Loan & Trust Co., 65 N.W.78, 80 (Minn. 1895). 

When the Constitution was adopted in 1857, 
America was in the "free banking" period during 
which there was neither a central bank to issue 
currency nor a national banking act authorizing 
national banks to issue notes. As a result, state bank 
notes were typically used as money. Thus, it made 
sense for Minnesota to authorize chartering of banks 
with the power to issue notes to be used as money 
and because of the gravity of this power to subject it 
to supermaj ority approval. 

The original constitutional provision authorized the , 
legislature to pass general banking laws by a two- This situation changed in the Civil War when 
thirds majority vote, but only if the law met five Congress authorized national banks to issue notes 
specified conditions. Minn. Const. art. 9 § 13 (1857). and provided a strong incentive for state banks to 
Four of these conditions related to notes or bills convert to national charters, if they wished to issue 
(money) issued by the bank, while the fifth was a notes. To further cement this, Congress in 1865 
disclosure provision. These conditions clearly imply imposed a 10 percent tax on state bank notes, 
that "general banking laws" as used in the effectively making them economically impractical. 
constitution related only to banks with the power to As a result, state banks generally ceased to issue 
isStte-their ovm ci-rc-uJmin~re~s;--. -----------'n'='o'='---'t~e~s-~In~1~8.::!.._9:-::'..._5 ,Lt~h~e~l~eg5:1~· s~la~tu~r~e'-:1r~·e~p~ea~l~e~d~th~e~au~t~h~o~ri~tyL_~ 

for Minnesota state banks to issue circulating notes. 

The Minnesota Supreme Court confirmed this 
interpretation in two cases. Pal mer v. Bank of 
Zumbrota stated that the constitutional "provision 
applies only to a law for organizing banks of issue." 
75 N.W.380, 382 (Minn. 1898). Earlier the court had 
made it clear that "banks of issue" are banks with the 
power to issue their own notes or cmTency: 

[W]hile banks of issue may have the power to do 
all these things, the only franchise or privilege 
which they possess, aside from the mere right to 
exist and act as a corporation, is that of issuing 
their notes for the purpose of circulation as 
money. It was this right and this class of 
corporations that the framers of the constitution 
evidently had in mind in using the term "banking 

In upholding the constitutionality of this law (for 
banks chartered under prior law but that had not 
used the power), the Minnesota Supreme Court 
observed that it was "a matter of common 
knowledge" that no "bank in this state has issued 
bank notes since the establishment of the national 
banking system." Seymour ·v. Greve, 81 N. W. 1059, 
1060 (Minn. 1900). 

Enactment of the Federal Reserve Act in 1913 
effectively transferred the function of creating 
money to a true central bank. That act imposed a 
tax on notes issued by national banks and restricted 
available collateral for them, which started a process 
that made those notes obsolete ( other than for 
collectors) as well. 



In 197 4, the Minnesota Constitution was restructured 
by the legislature and the voters. This restructuring 
dropped the five conditions imposed on general 
banking laws, while retaining the two-thirds majority 
requirement. 1974 Minn. Laws 795, 810, ch. 409 § 
1. The drafters of the 197 4 constitutional amendment 
likely considered the five conditions to be obsolete, 
since no state bank had issued circulating notes in 
over 100 years and the authorizing laws had long 
been repealed. (One might wonder if the two-thirds 
vote requirement could not also have been deleted 
from the constitution by the 197 4 amendment. Two 
years later Congress repealed the 1865 federal tax on 
state bank notes, likely on the theory that no notes 

would ever be issued again. Pub. L. 94-455, § 
l 904(a)(l 8).) In any case, the 1974 amendment did 
not change the limitation of the supermajority 
requirement to laws organizing banks of issue, since 
by its terms it did not make "consequential changes" 
in the constitution. Id. at 819, § 3. 

Because private American banks have not issued 
circulating notes for over a century and the 
Minnesota legislature is unlikely to consider 
reauthorizing banks to do so, the two-thirds majority 
vote requirement has little practical application. 
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Tax Increment Financing 

Tax increment financing (TIF) uses the increased property taxes that a new real 
estate development generates to finance costs of the development. In 
Minnesota, TIF is used for two basic purposes: 

• To induce or cause a development or redevelopment that otherwise would 
not occur--e.g., to convince a developer to build an office building, retail, 
industrial, or housing development that otherwise would not be constructed. 
To do so, the increased property taxes are used to pay for costs ( e.g., land 
acquisition or site preparation) that the developer would normally pay. 

• To finance public infrastructure (streets, sewer, water, or parking facilities) 
that are related to the development. In some cases, the developer would be 
required to pay for this infrastructure through special assessments or other 
charges. In other cases, all taxpayers would pay through general city taxes. 

When a new TIF district is created, the county auditor certifies (1) the current 
net tax capacity (i.e., property tax base) of the TIF district and (2) the local 
property tax rates. As the net tax capacity of the district increases, the property 
taxes (i.e., the "tax increment") paid by this increase in value is dedicated and 
paid to the development authority. The tax increment is limited to the tax 
derived from the certified tax rate. Increases in value that generate increment 
may be caused by construction of the development or by general inflation in 
property values. The authority uses the increment to pay qualifying costs ( e.g., 
land acquisition, site preparation, and public infrastructure) that it has incurred 
for the TIF project. 

There 1s a mismatch between when most TIF costs must be paid-at the 
beginning of a development-and when increments are received-after the 
development is built and begins paying higher property taxes. Three basic 
financing techniques are used to finance these upfront costs: 

• Bonds. The authority or municipality ( city or county) may issue its bonds to 
pay these upfront costs and use increment to pay the bonds back. Often, 
extra bonds are issued to pay interest on the bonds ("capitalizing" interest) 
until increments begin to be received. 

• Interfund loans. In some cases, the authority or city may advance money 
from Its own funds (e.g., a development fund or sewer and water fund) and 
use the increments to reimburse the fund. 

• Pay-as-you-go financing. The developer may pay the costs with its own 
funds. The increments, then, are used to reimburse the developer for these 
costs. This type of developer financing is often called "pay-as-you-go" or 
"pay-go" financing. 

Minnesota authorizes development authorities to use TIF. These authorities are 
primarily housing and redevelopment authorities (HRAs ), economic 



What is the but-for 
test? 

Whattypes of TIF · 
districts may be 
created? 

How many TIF 
districts exist? 

development authorities (ED As), poti authorities, and cities. In addition, the 
"municipality" (usually the city) in which the district is located must approve the 
TIF plan and some key TIF decisions. TIF uses the property taxes imposed by 
all types of local governments. But the school district and county, the two other 
major entities imposing property taxes, are generally limited to providing 
comments to the development authority and city on proposed uses of TIF. The 
state-imposed tax on commercial-industrial and seasonal-recreational propetiies 
is not captured by TIF. 

Before creating a TIF district, the development authority and the city must make 
"but-for" findings that (1) the development would not occur without TIF 
assistance and (2) that the market value of the TIF development will be higher 
( after subtracting the value of the TIF assistance) than what would occur on the 
site, if TIF were not used. 

Minnesota allows several different types of TIF districts. The legal restrictions 
on how long increments may be collected, the sites that qualify, and the 
purposes for which increments may be used vary with the type of district. 

District type Use of Increment Maximum 
duration 

Redevelopment Redevelop blighted areas 25 years 
Renewal and Redevelop areas with obsolete uses, not 15 years 
renovation meeting blight test 
Economic Encourage manufacturing and other 8 years 
development footloose industries 
Housing Assist low- and moderate-income housing 25 years 
Soils Clean up contaminated sites 20 years 

According to the 2018 report of the Office of State Auditor (OSA), there were 
1,665 active TIF districts in 2016. The graph shows the relative shares by type 
of district. 

----------------1T-1-1IE11istricts by Type in 2016 
(1,665 districts) 

Redevelopment 

(800) '","' 

Economic Development 
(299) 

Renewal (26) 

Special Laws (8) 

Soils (10) 

Pre-1979 (2) 

Source: 2018 Report of the State Auditor 

For more information: See the House Research website for more information on TIF at 
www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/tifmain.aspx. 
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Taxation and Equal Protection 

Both the United States and Minnesota Constitutions 
prohibit the legislature and state government 
generally from denying persons the equal protection 
of the law. The 14th amendment of the United States 
Constitution provides: 

No state shall * * * deny to any person 
within its jurisdiction the equal 
protection of the laws. Art. XIV, § 1. 

The Minnesota Constitution contains both a general 
equal protection clause and a clause requiring 
uniformity of taxation. Minn. Const. art. I, § 2 
(general); art. X, § 1 (uniformity clause). 

Most tax laws are subject to "rational basis" 
review under the Equal Protection Clause; to be 
constitutional they must simply have a rational 
relationship to a legitimate legislative purpose. 

The Equal Protection Clause was initially adopted 
primarily to limit or prohibit racial discrimination by 
the states. The courts have also applied it to 
proscribe other forms of invidious discrimination 
( e.g., based on religion, ethnicity, etc.). However, 
legislation often necessarily involves 
"discrimination" in the broader sense that groups of 
individuals or businesses are treated differently based 
on particular characteristics (e.g., amounts of income, 
type of business, uses of property, etc.) that in the 
abstract are unobjectionable. The clause was not 
intended to restrict legislation that imposed different 
tax or regulatory rules, for example, on retailers than 
on manufacturers. Thus, the U.S. Supreme Court has 
developed a stricter standard of review for laws that 
create "suspect classifications" or deprive someone 
of a "fundamental right" as a compared with more 
benign legislative classifications. The lines between 
the two categories (perhaps inevitably) blur at the 

edges. At times the Court has explicitly talked 
about a middle level of review. 

• Strict scrutiny applies to "suspect 
classifications" (such as race or religion) or 
to denial of fundamental rights (such as the 
right to vote). The classification is 
constitutional only if there is a compelling 
reason for using the classification. If strict 
scrutiny applies, in most circumstances the 
classification will be unconstitutional. 

• A rational basis test applies to economic 
regulation not involving suspect 
classifications and, thus, to most of the 
classifications involved in the tax laws. In 
general, a classification has a rational basis 
and is constitutional, if it reasonably related 
to or has some rational relationship to the 
objective the legislature sought to achieve. 
The rational basis test gives the legislature 
considerable flexibility in creating 
classifications. 

Very few tax statutes have been struck down under 
the Equal Protection Clause. The U.S. Supreme 
Court has generally given states wide latitude to 
fashion tax classifications, perhaps more than in any 
other area of law. See San Antonio Independent 
School Districtv. Rodriquez, 411 U.S. 1, 41 (1973), 
where the Court noted: "[T]hat in taxation, even 
more than in other fields, legislatures possess the 
greatest freedom in classification." 

Nevertheless, the U.S. Supreme Court has struck 
down a number of state tax statutes on equal 
protection grounds. Many (probably most) of these 
statutes have involved laws that discriminated 
against nonresidents or out-of-state businesses. 



Some examples include: 

• Imposing a higher state insurance premium 
tax on out-of-state insurance companies, 
Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Ward, 470 
U.S. 869 (1985); 

• Paying graduated rebates to residents, based 
on how many years they had lived in-state, 
Zobel v. Williams, 457 U.S. 55 (1982); 

• Local assessment practice that raised tax 
valuations to the amount of the sales price but 
otherwise assessed properties at a fraction of 
market value, Allegheny Pittsburgh Coal Co 
v. County Commission of Webster County, 
488 U.S. 336 (1989). Compare Nordlinger v. 
Hahn, 505 U.S. 1 (1992) (statute that applied 
a similar rule did not violate equal 
protection). 

The Minnesota Supreme Court has held that the 
Uniformity Clause of the Minnesota Constitution 
is no more restrictive than the Equal Protection 
Clause. 

Although the Minnesota Constitution contains a 
specific clause that requires taxes to be "uniform 
upon the same class of subject[,]" the Minnesota 
courts have held repeatedly that this clause is no 
more restrictive than the Equal Protection Clause. 
Reed v. Bjornson, 253 N.W.2d 102, 105 (Minn. 
1934) (upholding the graduated individual income 
tax) appears to be the first case to establish this rule. 
The meaning of the Uniformity Clause remains a 
matter of state law and, thus, a change in the 
interpretation of the Equal Protection Clause by the 
U.S. Supreme Court should not be thought to 
"automatically" change the meaning of the 
Uniformity Clause. However, the Minnesota comis 
have fairly consistently followed federal 
interpretations of the Equal Protection Clause, since 
Reed v. Bjornson. 

The Minnesota Supreme Court has set out a 
three-part test to determine if a tax classification 

satisfies the Uniformity Clause. Miller Brewing 
Co. v. State, 284 N.W.2d 353, 356 (1979). Under 
this test: 

• The classification must not be "manifestly 
arbitrary or fanciful but must be genuine and 
substantial"· 

' ' 
• The classification must be "genuine or 

relevant to the purpose of the law"; and 
• The purpose of the statute must be one that 

the state can legitimately attempt to achieve. 

The Minnesota courts have generally been very 
deferential to legislative tax classifications. The 
Minnesota Supreme Court has not struck down a tax 
statute for violating the Uniformity Clause in the 
last three decades. Some examples of laws upheld 
include: 

• The limited market value law that taxes 
otherwise identical properties at different 
rates based upon how rapidly their values are 
increasing, Matter of McCannel, 301 
N.W.2d 190 (Minn. 1980); 

• Combined gross receipts gambling tax that 
imposes a higher tax rate on organizations 
with more total gross receipts from gambling 
activities, Brainerd Area Civic Center v. 
Commissioner of Revenue, 499 N.W.2d 468 
(Minn. 1993); 

• Sales tax imposed on food sold through 
vending machines, while sales of similar 
food by convenience stores exempt, 
Minnesota Automatic Merchandising 
Council v. Salomone, 682 N.W.2d 557 
(Minn. 2004); 

• Fee (35 cents/pack) imposed only on . 
cigarettes manufactured by companies that 
had not agreed to participate in settlement 
agreement with the state, Council of 
Independent Tobacco Manufacturers of 
America v. State, 713 N.W.2d 300 (Minn. 
2006). 

For more information: See the House Research publication Constitutional Restrictions on Taxation of 
Nonresidents, September 2018. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,· 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Origination Clause: 
Bills to Raise Revenues Must Originate in the House 

The Minnesota Constitution requires that: 

All bills for raising revenues shall originate in 
the house of representatives, but the senate may 
propose and concur with amendments as on 
other bills. Minn. Const. ati. IV § 18. 

This provision, commonly referred to as the 
Origination Clause, is identical to the language of a 
parallel provision of the United States Constitution. 
U.S. Const. art. I, § 7, cl. 1. This short subject briefly 
discusses the types of bills that the Origination 
Clause requires to begin in the Minnesota House of 
Representatives. 

Two Minnesota appellate court decisions have 
applied the Origination Clause. 

The Minnesota Supreme Court has twice rejected 
challenges to acts (laws) based on the origination 
clause. In these two cases, the comi held that: 

• A bill containing an appropriation }Vas not a 
bill to raise revenues, even though it may 
have necessitated imposition of a tax to pay 
the appropriation. Curryer v. Merrill, 25 
Minn. 1 (1878). 

• A bill imposing civil penalties to abate a 
nuisance, was not a bill to raise revenues, 
even though the law specified the penalties 
were to be collected as taxes. State ex rel. 
Robertson v. Wheeler, 155 N.W. 90 (1913). 

In dicta, the Minnesota Supreme Court has also said 
that the clause applies to a bill "whose main purpose 
is to raise money by taxation." Curryer v. Merrill, 25 
Minn. 1, 8 (1878). The Minnesota Court of Appeals 
has also concluded that a regulatory bill that raises 

more revenue than necessary to pay for the cost of 
the regulation does not become a bill for raising 
revenue that must originate in the House. 
Investment Company Institute v. Hatch, 477 N.W.2d 
7 4 7 (Minn. App. 1991) ( statutory construction issue, 
not a challenge to the constitutionality of the act). 

Numerous cases have construed the federal 
Origination Clause; Minnesota courts likely 
would follow these cases. 

Federal comis have generally read the Origination 
Clause narrowly. In fact, no act of Congress has 
been invalidated for a violation of the Origination 
Clause. The Supreme Court has explicitly reserved 
the issue of whether it would invalidate acts for 
violations of the clause in US v. Munoz-Flores, 495 
U.S. 385 (1991). For example, federal comis have 
rejected challenges to the Affordable Care Act, 
which the Supreme Court upheld as an exercise of 
the congressional power to tax, as violating the 
Origination Clause. Sissel v. US Dept. of Health 
and Human Services, 2014 WL 3714701 (D.C. Cir. 
2014). 

The remainder of this short subject describes rules 
under the Origination Clause derived from federal 
cases, as well as cases from other states. In 
construing the state constitution, Minnesota courts 
are not bound by these federal comi decisions 
applying the federal constitution. However, the 
decisions are persuasive authority; the Minnesota 
courts would likely follow them. Some state courts 
have taken a narrower view of their state origination 
clauses. Cases from other states are likely to have 
less persuasive power than federal decisions. 

The Origination Clause applies to bills whose 
principal purpose is to raise "taxes." 



As noted above, the Minnesota Supreme Court 
expressed this principle in dicta. Curryer v. Merrill, 
25 Minn. 1, 8 (1878). Various federal cases have 
reached similar holdings in rejecting challenges to 
congressional acts. The decisions have held that the 
following are not bills to raise revenues: 

• Bills that raise revenues (including taxes) 
but that have another principal purpose 
such as establishing a program, Twin Cities 
National Bank of New Brighton v. Nebeker, 
167 U.S. 196 (1897); Investment Co. Institute 
v. Hatch, 477 N.W.2d 747, 751 (Minn. App. 
19 91) ( stating similar princ i p 1 e) 

• Bills that impose user fees or raise other 
nontax revenues, US. v. Munoz-Flores, 495 
U.S. 385 (1991) (did not matter that bill 
raised more than necessary to fund the 
program and the excess went to the general 
treasury) 

The Senate may amend a tax bill that originates in 
the House. The federal courts have permitted this, 
even when the Senate amendments converted a 
House bill that reduced taxes into a bill that raised 
taxes. Wardell v. US., 757 F.2d 203 (8th Cir. 1985). 

Courts in other states have addressed other 
Origination Clause issues. 

State courts are split on whether bills that 
authorize borrowing (e.g., issuing bonds) are bills 
to raise revenues. Compare Fent v. Oklahoma 
Capitol Improvement Authority, 984 P.2d 200 (Okla. 
1999) (not revenue raising bill) and Kervick v. 
Bontempo, 150 A.2d 34 (N.J. 1959) (same) with 
Morgan v. Murray, 328 P .2d 644 (Mont. 1958) (bill 
to raise revenues). The federal courts clearly would 
not consider bonding authorizations to be bills to 
raise revenues. The Minnesota courts likely would 
follow this rule. However, the legislative tradition in 
Minnesota is to originate state bonding bills in the 
House. The state's bond counsel generally have 

insisted on it as a condition for issuing a "clean" 
bond opinion, since there is no clear Minnesota 
judicial authority that it is unnecessary. 

State courts have generally held that bills 
authorizing local governments to impose taxes are 
also not bills to raise revenues, on the theory that 
the limitation applies only to state taxes. See 
Yancey & Yancey Construction Co., Inc. v. DeKalb 
County Commission, 361 So.2d 4 (Ala. 1978); 
Opinion of the Justices, 233 A.2d 59 (Dela. 1967). 
Thus, a bill that increases levy limits or grants a 
local government authority to impose a local sales 
tax would likely not need to originate in the House. 
Again, the Minnesota legislative practice has been 
to originate these bills in the House. 

In conclusion, only bills that have a primary 
purpose of raising state revenues from taxes 
clearly need to originate in the House. Minnesota 
practices have been more conservative, however, 
and have traditionally provided for state bonding 
bills, bills authorizing local taxes, and bills imposing 
fees in excess of program costs to originate in the 
House of Representatives. This technique avoids 
the possibility of constitutional challenges. 

Under its independent authority to interpret and 
enforce the Origination Clause, the House of 
Representatives may take a broader view of the 
clause to protect its constitutional prerogatives. The 
U.S. House of Representatives rejects bills or 
amendments made by the U.S. Senate as violating 
the clause that likely do not violate the judicial 
interpretations of the clause's requirements. It does 
so typically by passing a "blue slip" resolution and 
returning the bill to the Senate with a statement that 
bill violates the Origination Clause. James V. 
Saturno, Blue-Slipping: Enforcing the Origination 
Clause in the House of Representatives 
(Congressional Research Service, Jan. 23, 2017) 
(practice is to "construe the House's prerogatives 
broadly to include any 'meaningful revenue 
proposal' "). 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Constitutional Restrictions on Taxation of Nonresidents 

Since nonresidents can't vote and often are perceived 
to be high-income investors, they provide a tempting 
target to raise revenues or curtail the cost of tax 
benefits. Legislators often wish to impose higher 
taxes on nonresidents or to deny them benefits granted 
to residents, such as credits or deductions. Tax issues 
relative to nonresidents can arise in these contexts: 

• Individual income tax on income derived from 
real property or Minnesota businesses owned 
by nonresidents 

• Income tax on earnings of nonresidents ( e.g., 
professional athletes or entertainers) 

• Property tax on vacation homes owned by 
nonresidents 

• Property tax on farms owned by nonresidents 

Federal constitutional rules generally require non­
residents to be taxed as favorably as residents. 
Three constitutional provisions, the Privileges and 
Immunities Clause, the Commerce Clause, and the 
Equal Protection Clause, may invalidate differential 
tax rules for nonresidents. In addition, a nonresident 
must have sufficient contact with the state to be 
subject to tax under the due process clause-e.g., a 
state's income tax can only apply to a nonresident's 
income from in-state sources. 

The Privileges and Immunities Clause provides 

The citizen of each State shall be entitled to all 
of the Privileges and Immunities of Citizens of 
the several States. U.S. Const. Art. IV§ 2. 

The Privilege and Immunities Clause generally 
prohibits a state from imposing higher tax rates or 
taxes on nonresidents than it imposes on residents. 
Although its language refers to "citizens," the 
Supreme Court has held that provisions discriminating 
against nonresidents also discriminate against citizens 
of other states. The clause does not absolutely 
prohibit discrimination against nonresidents; it 

permits states to provide different rules for 
nonresidents if there is a "valid independent reason 
for" the treatment. Also, it only applies to interests 
that are "fundamental," i.e., bear on "the vitality of 
the Nation as a single entity." A fee or tax on 
pursuing a trade or business is covered. Toomer v. 
Witsell) 334 U.S. 385, 395 (1948). Differential fees 
on nonresidents for recreational hunting and fishing 
are not. Baldwin v. Fish and Game Commission of 
Montana, 436 U.S. 371 (1978). In general, 
differential income or property tax rules are 
covered, since they affect the right to "reside in" or 
"to pursue trade, agriculture, [or] professional 
pursuits." Corporations are not protected by the 
clause, since they are not considered "citizens." 

Examples of laws held to violate the privileges and 
immunities clause include: 

• Denial to nonresidents of personal 
deductions under the individual income tax. 
Travis v. Yale & Towne Mfg. Co.) 252 U.S. 
60 (1920) (personal exemption); Lunding v. 
NY Tax Appeals Tribune) 522 U.S. 287 
(1998) (alimony deduction). 

• A "commuter income tax" applying only to 
nonresidents working in the state. Austin v. 
New Hampshire) 420 U.S. 656 (1975). 

• A prope1iy tax credit that was limited to 
farms owned by residents. Borden v. Selden) 
146 N.W.2d 306 (Iowa 1966). 

The Equal Protection Clause. The Equal 
Protection Clause of the federal constitution 
prohibits states from denying "the equal protection 
of the law." Courts use two standards to review 
laws under the Equal Protection Clause: 

• Strict scrutiny applies to "suspect 
classifications" (such as race) or to denial of 
fundamental rights ( such as the right to 
vote). 



• A rational basis test applies to all other 
classifications. Since residency is not a 
"suspect classification," tax laws that treat 
nonresidents differentially from residents will 
be subject to rational basis review. 
Differential treatment of nonresidents must be 
rationally related to the state's objective. In 
general, this gives the legislature considerable 
flexibility. However, analysis of the Supreme 
Comi decisions suggest that it is not as 
deferential toward residency classifications as 
to other nonsuspect classifications, because of 
the federalism concerns. The Court has 
explicitly stated it is not doing so, but many 
legal scholars find this is the only way to 
explain the results in some cases. 

The Court has invalidated laws that distinguish 
between residents and nonresidents on equal 
protection grounds. Corporations are also protected 
by the clause, unlike the Privileges and Immunities 
Clause. The Court has invalidated: 

• An Alaska law that paid rebates to residents, 
graduated based on the years they lived in 
Alaska, Zobel v. Williams, 457 U.S. 55 (1982); 

• An Alabama law that taxed out-of-state 
insurance companies at a higher rate than in­
state companies, Metropolitan Life Insurance 
Co. v. Ward, 470 U.S.- 869 (1985); and 

• A law denying a property tax exemption to an 
out-of-state charity, WHYY, Inc. v. Borough of 
Glassboro, 393 U.S. 117 (1968). 

The Commerce Clause. Although the Commerce 
Clause is a grant of power to Congress, the Supreme 
Court has held that the clause also prohibits states 
from imposing undue burdens on or interfering with 
interstate commerce. Imposing higher taxes on 
nonresidents who conduct business or own property in 
the state than on residents in the same circumstances 
will likely be held to unconstitutionally burden 
interstate commerce. Such provisions will discourage 

nonresidents from making investments, restricting 
or burdening the flow of interstate commerce. Some 
examples include: 

• 

• 

The Supreme Comi has held unconstitutional 
a Maine law denying a property tax 
exemption to charitable institutions that 
primarily serve nonresidents. Camp 
Newfound Owatonna, Inc. v. Town of 
Harrison, 520 U.S. 564 (1997). 
A number of cases have invalidated 
imposition of higher taxes or license fees on 
nonresident solicitors than on residents. 

Recent case authority on the extent to which the 
Commerce Clause restricts a state's ability to tax 
residents, including determining who qualifies as a 
resident (e.g., based on presence in or extensiveness 
of contacts with the state, rather than domiciliary 
intent to make the state home) is sparse. However, 
the Supreme Court has held that state taxes must be 
"internally consistent." With regard to residency, 
this requires determining that the state tax, if 
imposed by all states, would not impose higher 
burdens on individuals (residents or nonresidents) 
with out-of-state income. Comptroller v. Wynne, 
135 S.Ct. 1787 (1915) (invaliding income tax 
imposing higher burdens on residents with out-of­
state income). 

Under any of the constitutional provisions, states 
generally have more flexibility in limiting 
benefits under direct spending programs, as 
compared with tax preferences, to residents. For 
example, the Court has upheld lower tuition at state 
higher education institutions for residents, paying 
bounties for scrap cars, and access to products or 
services provided by state-run businesses. In part, 
the Court may be influenced by the fact that these 
types of benefits are financed mainly by taxes paid 
by residents and the state needs to restrict access to 
nonresidents to maintain the economic viability of 
the pro grams. 

For more information: See the House Research short subjects on the Commerce Clause and equal 
protection, September 2018. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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School Principals 

A principal supervises a public school building at the assignment of a school board 
based on the district superintendent's recommendation. A school board is not 
required to assign a principal to a school, but most schools have a principal, and 
depending on the size of the school, may have one or more assistant principals. 

A principal leads a school's educational program under the supervision of the 
district superintendent. Assistant principals' duties are not specified in statute. An 
assistant principal may carry out multiple functions within a school, including 
overseeing activities or curriculum. 

A principal or assistant principal in a school district must hold a principal' s license 
issued by the Board of School Administrators (BOSA). BOSA issues administrative 
licenses to principals, superintendents, and other school administrators, and adopts 
rules establishing licensure requirements, including rules relating to principal 
preparation programs, and continuing education requirements. 

BOSA also adopts a code of ethics covering standards of professional practice for 
licens_ees. The board reviews complaints that a licensee has violated the code of 
ethics and may impose penalties, including suspending or revoking the license, 
issuing a letter of censure, and placing the licensee on probationary license status. 

A charter school administrator who performs administrative, supervisory, or 
instructional leadership duties is not required to hold an administrative license. 
Instead, the charter school board of directors establishes qualifications for persons 
who hold administrative, supervisory, or instructional leadership roles. A person in 
any of these roles without an administrative license must develop a professional 
development plan, which must be documented in the school's annual report. 

Principals and assistant principals have the right to bargain collectively with a 
school board under the Public Employment Labor Relations Act (PELRA). For 
purposes of PEL RA, a "principal" -or "assistant principal" is a person with a 
principal's license who devotes more than 50 percent of his or her time to 
administrative or supervisory duties. 

Unlike other school employees, principals and assistant principals are "essential 
employees," meaning they do not have the right to go on strike when the parties 
reach impasse in the course of bargaining. Instead, principals and assistant 
principals may resolve an impasse through interest arbitration. The arbitrator must 
select between the final offers of the parties on each impasse item. 



Principals may 
acquire tenure or 
continuing 
contract status 

A school district 
must evaluate· 
principals annually 

Principals and assistant principals may acquire tenure or continuing contract status 
under the same statutes that govern teacher tenure and continuing contracts. The 
tenure statute (Minn. Stat. § 122A.41) applies to districts in the four cities of the 
first class, and the continuing contract statute (Minn. Stat. § 122A.40) applies to all 
other districts. The statutes establish probationary periods of employment, and 
procedural requirements and substantive grounds for terminating a principal's 
employment. 

In cities of the first class, a school board and principals' union may negotiate a plan 
for a probationary period of up to two school years for a teacher in the district who 
is later hired as a principal or assistant principal, and an additional probationary 
period of up to two years for an assistant principal later hired as a principal. 

A district must develop and implement a performance-based system for annually 
evaluating school principals. The superintendent must evaluate the district's 
principals. The evaluation must be designed to improve teaching and learning by 
supporting the principal in shaping the school's professional environment and 
developing teacher quality, performance, and effectiveness. The evaluation must, 
among other things: 

• support and improve a p~incipal's instructional leadership; 
• include formative and summative evaluations; 
• be consistent with a principal's job description and a district's long-term 

plans and goals; 
• use longitudinal data on student academic growth as 3 5 percent of the 

evaluation; and 
• implement a plan to improve the performance of principals not meeting 

standards of professional practice or other criteria, and specify the procedure 
and consequence if a principal's performance does not improve. 

The evaluation data generated through the evaluation process is personnel data 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 13.43, and therefore, not public. 

The 2011 Legislature directed the commissioner of education and school principal 
associations to convene a group to develop a performance-based principal 
evaluation model. Since then, the Department of Education has revised the model 
based on stakeholder input. The model is available on the department's website at 
https://education.mn.gov/MDE/dse/prev/. 

Districts are not required to use the state model or to submit their evaluation 
systems to the commissioner of education for approval. The requirements of the 
principal evaluation system do not apply to assistant principal evaluations. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Cristina Parra at cristina.parra@house.mn. Also see the 
House Research publication School District Collective Bargaining. 
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Disparity Reduction Credit 

The disparity reduction credit (DRC) is a state-paid property tax credit that reduces 
property taxes for business properties in certain border areas of the state. The 
purpose of the credit is to make business property taxes in those cities more 
competitive with similar properties in the neighbo~ing state. The credit was 
established by the 1988 Legislature and first effective for taxes payable in 1989. 
The credit is codified under Minnesota Statutes, section 273.1398, subdivision 4. 

The credit is available in cities that lie along the border of a neighboring state 
where there is a city of significant size across the border. The cities that currently 
meet the criteria are Breckenridge, Dilworth, East Grand Forks, Moorhead, and 
Ortonville. 

Most of the credit is paid to commercial-industrial properties. Apartment 
properties are also eligible for the credit, but for the most part their taxes do not 
exceed, or barely exceed, the threshold to receive the credit. Properties in tax 
increment financing districts are not eligible for the credit. 

Each property receives the amount of credit necessary to reduce its net tax 
capacity-based property tax to 1.6 percent of the taxable market value of the 
property. The credit reduces both the local property tax levy and, in the case of 
commercial-industrial property, the state general levy; however, the credit does not 
apply to any referendum market value-based levies (primarily school district 
operating referendum levies). 

The county auditor reduces the property taxes otherwise due upon the property by 
the amount of the credit. The county auditor reports the amount of credit issued to 
the state, and the state then reimburses the affected taxing jurisdictions for the 
credit amounts deducted from the taxes. 

The estimated cost of the credit to the state is $12.3 million for taxes payable in 
2018 (FY 2019). 

In addition to the DRC program, Minnesota law authorizes the five designated 
border cities to provide tax benefits to businesses under the border city enterprise 
zone and the border city development zone programs. These two programs allow· 
the border cities to offer state-funded reductions in property taxes, sales taxes, and 
income or corporate franchise taxes. Under the enterprise zone program, the cities 
can use the benefits either to attract new business investment or to retain existing 
businesses. The development zone program is limited to new businesses or 
expansions. The law allows each city considerable flexibility in designing the 
parameters of the tax benefits and in deciding whether they should be targeted to 



new or existing businesses. The programs are designed to (partially) offset 
Minnesota's higher business taxes compared with those in North Dakota and South 
Dakota. 

The state-funded tax reductions are limited to specific dollar amounts of 
allocations that the legislature periodically enacts for the programs. In 2017, the 
legislature authorized $3 million for the two programs; the allocations are typically. 
apportioned among the five cities on a per capita basis. The border city 
development zone program also authorizes border cities to provide locally borne 
property tax reductions to newly constructed business and residential properties. 
See Minnesota Statutes, section 272.0212 (limited property tax exemption). 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jared Swanson at Jared.Swason@house.mn. 
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Disparity Reduction Aid 

Disparity Reduction Aid (DRA) is a formula-determined state aid to reduce 
property taxes in areas where property tax rates have been historically high. The 
aid directly reduces the levies of counties, towns, and school districts, so that the 
tax relief is dollar-for-dollar. The formula for determining aid amounts is based on 
characteristics of unique taxing areas-geographic areas containing properties that 
are subject to levies of the same taxing jurisdictions. 

A "unique taxing area" (UTA) is a geographic area consisting of properties that are 
all contained within the same set of taxing jurisdictions. In other words, all 
properties in a UTA pay taxes to the same county, city or town, school district, and 
the same special taxing district( s ), and therefore have the same overall property tax 
rate. Properties in an adjacent UTA will have a different total tax rate by virtue of 
being in a different county, city or town, school district, and/or special taxing 
district. · 

The 1988 Legislature made a number of significant changes to the state's property 
tax system involving virtually all existing property tax aid and credit programs and 
how different types of property were taxed. Disparity reduction aid amounts were 
determined by calculating the amount of aid each UT A would need to reduce the 
total tax rate for the UTA to 100 percent of tax capacity for taxes payable in 1989. 
For the most part, the aid amounts determined under that legislation have been 
carried along from year-to-year, although there have been a number of reductions 
based on consolidations of DRA amounts into other aid programs, such as local 
government aid (for cities). 

Each UT A is initially eligible for aid equal to the amount of aid it was entitled to 
receive in the previous year, and the aid allocated to each taxing jurisdiction 
levying taxes within the UT A is equal to the amount of aid it was entitled to 
receive in the previous year. When the county auditor reduces the tax rates of all 
taxing jurisdictions within a UTA by the amount of disparity reduction aid, if the 
total tax rate within the UTA becomes less than 90 percent of net tax capacity, the 
disparity reduction aid is reduced proportionally so that the total tax rate is 90 
percent of net tax capacity. 

Because the aid amounts are applied only to tax rates within a UTA, it can cause 
the tax rate of a taxing jurisdiction to vary from one UTA to another. For example, 
rather than a county having the same tax rate throughout the county, the county tax 
rate will be different in each UTA that receives DRA. [Note: This feature ofDRA 
was subject to an immediate challenge in the Minnesota Tax Court under the state 
constitution's uniformity clause (which requires taxes to be uniform on the same 
class of subjects) and the equal protection clause of the 14th amendment to the 
U.S. Constitution (the petitioner raised several procedural claims under the state 
constitution as well). Applying a rational basis standard to the constitutional 



claim, the tax court held that the law did not violate the state or federal 
constitutions (see Blume v. County of Ramsey, WL 28940 (1989)).] 

Total Disparity Reduction Aid, per capita by County 

based on 2017 ORA amounts 

ORA per capita 

D Less than $1 o 
$10-$20 

$20-$30 

$30c..$4O 

$40-$50 

2017 Property Tax Rate Reductions from DRA 

Tax rate reduction* Number of UT As 
No Reduction 5,304 
0.1% - 0.5% 228 
0.5% - 1.0% 148 
1.0% - 2.0% 137 
2.0% - 5.0% 203 
>5.0% 171 
*percentage point reduction 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jared Swanson at Jared.Swanson@house.mn. 
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Property Tax Relief for Properties Damaged in a Disaster 

Property tax relief is 
available for 
properties damaged 
by disasters 

Disaster areas must 
be declared by a 
federal or local 
official and the 
Executive Council 
must approve relief 
applications 

County assessor. 
reassesses property 

Local option 
abatements provide 
relief in the year of 
the disaster 

Homestead disaster 
credits and local 
option disaster 
credits provide 
relief in the year 
following the 
disaster 

Minnesota Statutes sections 273.1231 to 273.1235 outline a number of programs 
that provide property tax relief when property has been damaged in a natural 
disaster, such as a flood or a tornado, or by another disaster, such as a fire or 
vandalism. A number of factors affect the amount of relief that is available, such as 
whether the damage was due to a state or federally declared disaster or emergency, 
whether the property is a homestead, and the extent of damage to the property. 
Relief mechanisms affect property taxes· payable in the year the damage occurs and 
in the yea~ following the disaster. The flow chart on the next page shows the· 
remedies provided under each of the various circumstances. 

In order for a taxing jurisdiction to be declared a disaster or emergency area, (a) a 
federal official (the president, the secretary of agriculture, or the administrator of 
the Small Business Administration) must have determined that a disaster exists 
pursuant to federal law, or a local emergency must have been declared by the 
mayor of a municipality or the chair of a county board; and (b) the state Executive 
Council must approve an application for property tax relief submitted by the 
jurisdiction. The council may only approve applications if the average damage to 
all buildings in the jurisdiction exceeds $5,000, and (a) at least 25 taxable buildings 
were damaged, or (b) the aggregate damage exceeds 1 percent of the market value 
of all taxable buildings. 

State law requires all properties potentially eligible for one of the relief programs 
to be reassessed by the county assessor following the disaster. 

Local option abatements provide relief in the year of the disaster. Only properties 
containing structures with damage equal to at least 50 percent of the building's 
value are eligible. In the case of properties in a disaster or emergency area, any 
abatements granted by the county will be compensated by the state. Damaged 
properties that are not in a disaster or emergency area may still receive abatements, 
but there will be no state compensation for.the abatement. The abatements are 
offered at the discretion of the county and require the property owner to submit an 
application. 

In the year following the disaster, a damaged homestead property that is located in 
a disaster or emergency area will qualify for a homestead disaster credit. This 
credit is automatically granted to qualifying properties and is reimbursable by the 
state. A damaged property of any type other than a homestead can qualify for a 
local option disaster credit, which is also reimbursable by the state. Taxes on a 
property not located in a disaster or emergency area may receive the local option 
disaster credit only if the damage is at least equal to 50 percent of the property's 
value. The credit is offered at the discretion of the county and no state 
compensation will be paid for this relief. 



Disaster Relief Flow Chart 

Property is damaged from a flood tornado, fire, etc. 

Is the property in a qualifying disaster or emergency area? 

Is the property 
classified as homestead? 

The property automatically 
receives disaster credit for the 

following year(273.1234). 

Credit amounts are 
reimbursed by state. 

Is the structure 
more than 
50 percent 
damaged? 

No. 

Is the structure 
more than 
50 percent 
damaged? 

The property does 
not receive a (current 

year) local option 
disaster abatement. 

The structure is eligible for 
a (current year) disaster 
abatement (273 .. 1233) if 

offered by local government . 
and owner applies. 

Abatement amounts are 
reimbursed by the state. 

The property is eligible for a ( current 
year) local option disaster abatement 
(273.1233) and (following year) local 

option disaster credit (273.1235) 
if offered by local government 

and owner applies. 

These benefits are 
reimbursed_ by the state. 

Source: Minnesota Department of Revenue, revised 09/2013 

No 
benefit. 

No. 

Is the structure 
more than 
50 percent 
damaged? 

The property is eligible for a ( current 
year) local·option disaster abatement 
(273.1233) and (follo'iwing year) local 

option disaster credit (273.1235) 
if offered by local government 

and owner applies. 

These benefits are not 
reimbursed by the state. 

No 
benefit. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jared Swanson at Jared.Swanson@house.mn or 
Christopher Kleman at Christopher:Kleman@house.mn. 
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consists of "need 
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less aid under the 
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aid 

County program aid 
amounts have 
changed over time 

Program change 
enacted in 2017 

Updated: October 2018 

County Program Aid 

Prior to calendar year 2004, counties received property tax aid under a number of 
different programs. Beginning in 2004, the aid programs were consolidated into 
one general aid program, called county program aid (CPA). 

From calendar year 2005 on, CPA has been allocated by two formulas, need aid 
and tax-base equalization aid. From 2005 through 2017, the amounts distributed 
under the two different formulas were roughly equal; however, beginning in 2018 
the amount distributed through tax-base equalization aid is approximately 25 
percent greater than the amount distributed through need aid. The table on the next 
page shows how a county's aid is calculated under each formula. 

Seven counties whose relative share of the total CPA formula allocation in 
calendar year 2005 was significantly less than their share of 2004 program aid 
qualified for "transition aid." Each county's transition aid amount was 
permanently fixed at one-third of the amount it received in 2005. This provision 
has been repealed and the last transition aid payments were made in 201 7. 

For 2008 to 2011, county program aid payments were reduced due to state 
budgetary conditions. The total appropriation was permanently reduced by 
approximately $34 million in 2010, and r~duced by another $32 million in 2011. 
By 2014, increases in the appropriation returned county program aid payments to 
where they were prior to these reductions. 

In 2017, the legislature instituted a guarantee that a county's tax-base equalization 
aid could not be less than 95 percent of its tax-base equalization aid in the previous 
year, or 0.27 percent of the total statewide appropriation for tax-base equalization 
aid, whichever is greater. This was in response to recent significant reductions in 
tax-base equalization aid in many rural counties due to rapidly increasing growth 
in agricultural property values. 



Calculation of County Program Aid 

Need Aid 

Share of Appropriation: 
$80.4 million (CY 2013) 
$100.3 million (CY 2014) 
$104.8 million (CY 2015) 
$103.4 million (CY 2016) 
$103 .2 million (CY 2017) 
$103 .4 million (CY 2018) 
$103.3 million (CY 2019) 

Reductions from the appropriation: $500,000 
annually for court-ordered counsel and public defense 
costs 

Factors used in the formula: 

• age-adjusted population, which ranges from 
80% to 180% of the county's actual population 
based on the percentage of the county's 
population over 65 years, compared to the 
statewide average 

• average monthly number of households 
receiving food stamps in the county over the 
last three years 

• average number of Part I crimes reported in 
the county over the last three years (These are 
the most serious crimes) 

The formula: 

• 40% of the appropriation is distributed to each 
county based on its relative share of the total 
age-adjusted population in the state 

• 40% of the appropriation is distributed to each 
county based on its relative share of the total 
average monthly number of households 
receiving food stamps in the state 

• 20% of the appropriation is distributed to each 
county based on its relative share of the average 
number of Part I crimes repo~ed in the state 

Tax-base Equalization Aid 

Share of Appropriation: 
$84.7 million (CY 2013) 
$104.7 million (CY 2014) 
$105.2 million (CY 2015) 
$105.2 million (CY 2016) 
$105.2 million (CY 2017) 
$130.7 million (CY 2018) 
$130.7 million (CY 2019) 

Reduction from the appropriation: up to $214,000 
annually to pay for the preparation of local impact notes 

Tax-base equalization factor used in the formula: 

Factor= N times ($190* x population - 9.45% of the 
county adjusted net tax capacity) 

where N equals: 

• 3 if the county population is less than 10,000 

• 2 if the county's population is at least 10,000 but 
less than 12,500 

• 1 if the county's population is at least 12,500 but 
less than 500,000 

• 0.25 if the county's population is 500,000 or 
more 

*Beginning in 2019, this number will be increased 
by the ratio of the statewide ANTC per capita to the 
statewide ANTC per capita in the 2016 assessment 
year 

The formula: 

• 100% of the appropriation is distributed based 
on each county's relative share of the sum of the 
tax-base equalization factors for all the counties 
in the state, provided that no county's aid may 
be less than the greater of (a) 95 percent of its 
aid in the previous year, or (b) 0.27 percent of 
the statewide appropriation. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jared Swanson at Jared.Swanson@house.mn. Also see 
the House Research publication Aid Cuts to Local Governments in CY 2003 and 2004, February 2004. 
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Disabled Veteran Homestead Valuation Exclusion 

What is the disabled 
veteran valuation 
exclusion? 

What is the benefit? 

What are the 
benefits for 
surviving spouses? 

How does the 
benefit work? 

What are the 
qualifications for 
disabled veterans? 

This program provides a property tax benefit to qualifying homeowners by 
reducing the value of their home for property tax purposes by up to $300,000. The 
benefit applies to certain disabled veterans, their surviving spouses, the surviving 
spouses of military personnel who have died in the line of duty, and certain 
primary caregivers of disabled veterans. 

Veterans who are totally and permanently disabled (100% T &P) are eligible for a 
valuation exclusion of $300,000; veterans who are not totally and permanently 
disabled, but who have a disability rating of 70 percent or higher, are eligible for 
an exclusion of $150,000. If a disabled veteran does not own a house, but has a 
designated "primary family caregiver" who does own a house, the caregiver can 
receive the exclusion for the time he or she continues in that role. 

For a veteran who received the 100% T &P benefit, the surviving spouse continues 
to receive program benefits in the eight calendar years following the death of the 
veteran. (There is no survivor benefit for spouses of veterans qualifying at the 70 
percent standard.) 

Surviving spouses of military personnel who have died in the line of duty are 
eligible to receive the 100% T &P benefit for eight years following the service 
member's death. 

Surviving spouses of veterans who were eligible for the 100% T &P benefit but did 
not apply for or receive the benefit before dying arid spouses who have been 
awarded dependency and indemnity compensation are also eligible to receive the 
maximum benefit for eight years following the death of the veteran. 

The surviving spouse must continue to own and reside in the house to remain 
eligible for these benefits. 

The exclusion amount is subtracted from the value of the homestead as determined 
by the assessor before property taxes are calculated. If the value of the homestead 
in any year is less than the exclusion amount, the homestead is totally exempt from 
property taxes for that year. The actual tax benefit for a specific property will vary 
based on the value of the home and the local tax rate. 

To qualify as a disabled veteran, the veteran must have been honorably discharged 
from the U.S. armed forces as indicated by U.S. Department of Defense form 
DD214 or other official military discharge papers, and must be certified by the 
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) as having a service-connected disability 
with a disability rating of 70 percent or higher. 



How do you enroll 
in the program? 

When do the 
benefits begin? 

How is the tax 
benefit paid for? 

What about special 
assessments? 

How does the 
exclusion apply to 
an agricultural 
homestead? 

Does the market 
value exclusion 
affect other 
property tax relief 
programs? 

Application for benefits under this program must be filed with the county assessor. 
A disabled veteran must provide form CR-DVHE70 or CR-DVHEl00 and provide 
proof of honorable discharge and of disability rating. A surviving spouse of a 
service member who dies while in active service must provide either U.S. 
Government Form DD1300 or DO2064. Primary family caregivers must supply 
certification that they qualify under the VA Program of Comprehensive Assistance 
for Family Caregivers. 

Applications received prior to July 1 of any year take effect for taxes payable in the 
following year, unless the homestead is a manufactured home, in which case the 
benefit takes effect in the same year. Veterans who fail to apply in the first year 
that they are eligible may file in any subsequent year and begin receiving benefits 
after that. 

Excluding all or a portion of the value of the disabled veteran's home from 
property taxes slightly increases the taxes on other properties (homes, businesses, 
farms, etc.) in the taxing jurisdictions where the veteran's home is located, 
meaning that the veteran's property tax benefit is essentially being provided by the 
other properties within the same taxing jurisdictions. 

Other charges that might appear on the property tax statement, such as special 
assessments and various types of fees, are not affected by the valuation exclusion 
and must continue to be paid in full. 

For agricultural homesteads, the exclusion applies only to that portion of the 
property consisting of the house, garage, and surrounding one acre of land. 

Properties that qualify for the disabled veterans homestead valuation exclusion do 
not receive the "regular" market value homestead exclusion of $30,400 or less. 
Properties that qualify for the disabled veterans homestead valuation exclusion are 
not eligible to receive the preferential classification (1 b) generally available on the 
first $50,000 of market value on homesteads owned by persons who are blind or 
disabled. Disabled veterans, surviving spouses, and primary caregivers continue to 
be eligible for the property tax refund program, although it is likely that they would 
qualify for a significantly smaller refund because their property taxes would be so 
much lower due to the exclusion. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Christopher Kleman at ·christopher.Kleman@house.mn 
or Jared Swanson at Jared.Swanson@house.mn. Also see the Department of Revenue's fact sheet on the 
disabled veterans exclusion program at 
http://www.revenue.state.mn.us/propertytax/factsheets/factsheet_ I I .PDF 
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Minnesota 
imposes a 
$3. 04/pack tax 
on cigarettes 

A per-pack tax 
applies in lieu 
of the general 
sales tax 

Payments made 
to settle state 
lawsuits against 
the tobacco 
industry have 
similar effects 
as excise taxes 

A 95 percent 
excise tax 
applies to other 
tobacco 
products 

A use tax can 
apply, if 
Minnesota tax 
has otherwise 
not been paid 

Cigarette and Tobacco Excise Taxes and Fees 

Minnesota imposes an excise tax on the sale or possession of cigarettes of 15.2 cents 
per cigarette ($3. 04 per pack of 20). The excise tax on cigarettes is imposed on a "per 
unit" basis-i.e., on the number of cigarettes sold, not as a percentage of the sale price. 
As a result, the tax does not vary based on the price of the brand purchased or change 
as the prices rise or fall. 

In addition to the excise tax, a tax in lieu of the sales tax is imposed on each pack of 
cigarettes. Since 2005, cigarette sales have been exempt from state and local sales 
taxes. The commissioner ofrevenue annually sets the in-lieu tax based on a survey of 
Minnesota retail cigarette prices. The rate is set as an average of these prices and is 
reset January 1 for the calendar year. Effective January 1, 2019, the rate is 55.8 
cents/pack. The tax does not replace local sales taxes, although cigarettes are exempt 
from these local taxes. 

Settlements of the states' lawsuits against the tobacco companies have similar 
economic effects to cigarette taxes, since these settlement payments are passed along 
to consumers (nationally) as higher cigarette prices. However, they do not affect 
companies that were not part of the lawsuit or that have not entered the Master 
Settlement Agreement as participating manufacturers. 

Minnesota was not part of the Master Settlement Agreement and instead entered into 
its own agreement with the four largest tobacco companies. To compensate for the 
lower prices of cigarettes produced by nonsettling companies, the 2003 Legislature 
imposed a 35-cent per-pack fee on those cigarettes. The 2013 Legislature increased 
this fee to 50 cents. 

An excise tax of 95 percent of the wholesale price applies to other tobacco products, 
such as cigars, pipe tobacco, snuff, and chewing tobacco. Since this tax is a 
percentage of price~ it fluctuates as the prices of the products change with two 
exceptions to this general rule: 

• A minimum tax applies to each container of moist snuff equal to the tax rate on 
a pack of 20 cigarettes. 

• Premium cigars (with a wholesale price of $2/cigar or more) are taxed at a rate 
of 50 cents per cigar. 

A use tax applies to consumers who purchase untaxed cigarettes (e.g., over the Internet 
or in-person in another state) for use in Minnesota. The tax is the same as the rate of 
the excise tax. The use tax does not apply to one carton of cigarettes purchased in 
another state and brought into the state by the individual. For larger quantities brought 
into the state and for any quantity shipped to the consumer in Minnesota, the use tax 
applies. 



The taxes 
yielded 
revenues of 
$691 million in 
FY2017 

Minnesota has 
a higher 
cigarette excise 
tax rate than 
neighboring 
states 

For fiscal year 2017, the Minnesota Department of Revenue reported collections from 
the nonsettlement fee, the two excise taxes, and the in-lieu sales tax on cigarettes to be 
$691.3 million. Revenues from the tobacco products tax are deposited in the general 
fund. Each fiscal year, cigarette tax revenues of $22.25 million go to fund the 
Academic Health Center, $3.94 million to the medical education and research account, 
and the rest to the state general fund. 

Because cigarettes can easily be transported, the tax rates in other states ( especially 
border states) are important. Minnesota excise tax ($3.04/pack) is higher than any of 
the bordering states: Wisconsin ($2.52), South Dakota ($1.53), Iowa ($1.36), North 
Dakota (44 cents). All states' rates are shown on the map below. The map does not 
reflect local cigarette taxes; some of these local taxes are substantial (e.g., $1.50 in 
New York City and $4.18 per pack in Chicago). The map does not reflect the effect of 
general sales taxes (including Minnesota's per-pack tax in lieu of the sales tax). Some 
states have no sales tax or exempt cigarettes from sales taxation, lowering the overall 
tax burden. 

State Cigarette Tax Rates* 
as of 9/18/2018 
cents per pack 

MA-351 

10 
'Ca 

320 OD 
• 

*These exclude some significant local taxes 
Source: Federation of Tax Administrators and other sources 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Christopher Kleman at christopher.kleman@house.mn. 
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Mining Taxes 

Mines and facilities used in the production of taconite are exempt from the 
property tax. In lieu of the property tax, the iron mining industry pays a 
production tax based on the tons of taconite produced. The industry is also 
exempt from the corporate franchise tax and instead pays an occupation tax. 

As reported by Department of Revenue, 
Mining Tax Guide (2018), Minnesota collected 
$104.9 million from taconite-related taxes in 
2018. The breakdown of the taxes is shown in 
the table. In addition, state general fund aid of 
$7 .1 million was distributed with the 
production tax revenues. 

Tax 

Production 
Occupation 
Sales & use 
Other 
Total 

amount 
(millions) 

$86.7 
13.1 
4.9 

.3 
$105 

% of 
total 
82.6% 
12.5% 
4.6% 
0.3% 

The occupation tax is similar in structure to the corporate franchise tax-the tax 
applies to a synthetic measure of profits from only the corporation's mining 
operations-yet there are some key differences. The occupation tax rate of 2.45 
percent is lower than the regular corporate rate of 9. 8 percent. This lower rate can 
be seen as compensation for the statutory requirement that all taconite sales (which 
occur out of state and would not therefore be used to determine how much income 
is taxable under the franchise tax) are deemed to be Minnesota sales. 

The following are some of the key features of the production tax: 

• The tax is computed using a tax rate, expressed as a dollar amount per 
taxable ton of taconite production ($2.701 for production year 2017, 
distributed in 2018). The tax rate is set in state law, not by local levy 
decisions, and is indexed for inflation. For 2018 production, the rate was 
$2. 7 51 per ton. 

• The tax base is taxable tons, computed using a three-year average to keep 
the tax base stable. For example, tons produced in calendar years 2015, 
2016, and 2017 are used to compute taxable tons for production year 2017, 
distributed in 2018 (32.1 million tons). 

• The state calculates the tax amounts and notifies each mining company how 
much to pay. 

• Payments are due in two equal installments by Febrµary 24 and August 24. 

• The state notifies the counties of the distribution to each city, town, and 
school district, and the county then pays each affected local government. 

• A 22-cent per ton state general fund payment supplements distributions of 
production tax revenues. For the 2018 distribution, this amount was $7.1 
million. This increased the total distribution by about 6.8 percent. 



Who receives the 
production tax 
revenues? 

How are the taxes 
distributed? 

How has the 
amount changed 
over the past years? 

Because it is in lieu of the property tax, the taconite production tax is paid to local 
governments and is a major revenue source for counties, cities, towns, and school 
districts located in the "taconite relief area." The taconite relief area includes all or 
a portion of Cook, Lake, St. Louis, Itasca, Aitkin, Crow Wing, and Koochiching 
counties. Part of the revenue is also paid to the Iron Range Resources and 
Rehabilitation Board (IRRRB), a state agency that conducts a variety of operations 
on the Iron Range. 

The formula for distributing production tax revenues is specified in statute and is 
generally defined on a cents-per-taxable-ton (CPT) basis. By statute, the 
remainder goes to the Douglas J. Johnson economic protection trust fund (DJJ) and 
the taconite environmental protection fund (TEPF). The 2018 tax was distributed 
as follows: 

Distribution Amotints<a) 
Cities and townships $10,407,124 
School districts 30,777,075 
Counties 11,101,581 
Property tax relief and misc. 13,546,809 
IRRRB 27,777,242 
Range Association of Municipalities and Schoo ls 118,494 
Hockey Hall of Fame 64,218 
Total $93,792,543(b) 
(a) Amounts are calculated based on data from the Minnesota Departmenfof 
Revenue. 
(b) Includes state aid from the general fund in the amount of $7,064,142. 

The amount of taxes has decreased in recent years along with decreasing 
production rates and taxable tons. 

Amount (in millions) 
Production Distribution Levied on 

year year companies State aid 
2008 2009 89.6 8.5 
2009 2010 74.3 6.9 
2010 2011 72.4 6.7 
2011 2012 73.3 6.7 
2012 2013 94.2 8.4 
2013 2014 101.2 8.7 
2014 2015 102.4 8.7 
2015 2016 . 98.7 8.3 
2016 2017 89.1 7.4 
2017 2018 86.7 7.1 

Total 
98.1 
81.2 
79.1 
80.0 

102.6 
109.9 
111.1 
107.0 
96.5 
93.8 
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The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 



HOUSE RESEARCH Short Subjects 
Randall Chun Updated: November 2018 

Medical Assistance: An Overview 

Medical Assistanc~ (MA), the state's Medicaid program, is a federal-state program that pays for health 
care services for low-income individuals. The program is administered by counties, under the 
supervision of the state Department of Human Services (DHS). Federal Medicaid law allows states 
considerable flexibility in designing their Medicaid programs. 

Eligibility To be eligible ~or MA, an individual must meet the following criteria: 

• Be a member of a group for which MA coverage is mandatory under 
federal law or a member of an optional group that the state has chosen to 
cover. Covered groups include families, children, pregnant women, the 
elderly, persons with disabilities, and adults without children. 

• Meet program income and any applicable asset limits. Certain types of 
income and specified assets are excluded when determining eligibility. 
Income and asset limits for selected groups are described below. 

• Be a U.S. citizen or a non.citizen who meets specified immigration 
criteria. 

• Be a resident of Minnesota. 
• Meet other program eligibility requirements. 

Net income limit, as % of federal 
Eligibility group poverty guidelines (FPG) Asset limit* 

Children < age 2 283 None 

Children 2 through 18 275 None 

Children 19 through 20 133 None 

Pregnant women 278 None 

Parents and caretakers 133 None, unless on 
spenddown 

Age 65 or older, blind, or 100 $3,000 for one/$6,000 for 
have a disability two/$200 each additional 

Adults without children 133 None 

* The homestead, household goods, a vehicle, a burial plot and certain assets for burial expenses, 
and other specified items are not counted as assets. 

Some individuals with incomes over these limits can also qualify for MA 
through a spenddown. Under a spenddown, an individual must incur medical 
bills in an amount that is equal to or greater than the amount by which the 
individual's income exceeds the spenddown limit of 13 3 percent of FPG for 
families and children and 80 percent of FPG for individuals who are age 65 or 



Covered services 

Provider 
reimbursement 

Funding and 
expenditures 

Recipients 

Application 
procedure 

older, blind, or have a disability. There is no spenddown for adults without 
children. 

Minnesota provides all federally mandated services and most services 
designated by the federal Medicaid program as optional. These services include, 
but are not limited to: physician care, hospitalization, therapy and rehabilitation, 
dental, medical equipment and suppFes, home health care, health clinic services, 
mental health, prescription drugs, medical transportation, nursing home, and 
intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities (ICF/DD) 
services. Adult enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to copayments for 
certain services. 

The state has also received federal approval to provide home and community­
based "waivered services" not normally covered by Medicaid that are intended 
to allow individuals to remain in the community, rather than reside in a hospital, 
nursing home, or intermediate care facility for persons with development 
disabilities (ICF/DD). 

The MA pro gram reimburses providers under both a fee-for-service system and 
a managed care system ( composed of the Prepaid Medical Assistance Pro gram 
or PMAP, county-based purchasing initiatives, and programs for the elderly and 
persons with disabilities). In recent years. DRS has used competitive bidding to 
select managed care and county-based purchasing plans to deliver services to 
MA enrollees who are families and children. 

In state fiscal year 201 7, total state and federal MA expenditures for services 
were $10.888 billion. The federal share of MA costs is determined by a formula 
based on state per capita income. In most fi~cal years, the federal government 
has paid 50 percent of the cost of MA services, with Minnesota responsible for 
the remaining 5 0 percent. The federal government is providing an enhanced 
federal match, initially 100 percent of the cost of services and phasing down to 
90 percent by 2020, for services provided to adults without children. 

During state fiscal year 2017, an average of 1,082,654 individuals were eligible 
for MA services each month. As of July 2018, 892,137 MA recipients recejved 
services through the MA managed care system, with the remaining enrollees 
served through fee-for-service. 

Individuals interested in applying for MA should contact their county human 
services agency or MN sure, the state's health insurance exchange. 

For more information: See the House Research information brief Medical Assistance. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Aggregate Tax 

Minnesota law authorizes counties to impose taxes on aggregate mined in the 
county. These taxes are often referred to as "gravel taxes." By law, the proceeds 
of the taxes (net of collection costs) are used for transportation infrastructure and 
restoration of the mine sites. 

For purposes of taxation, aggregate material is defined as a number of nonmetallic 
substances that include silica sand, gravel, limestone, and granite. Taconite 
tailings and some other material removed from taconite mines are also included in 
this category. This material must be measured or weighed after it has been 
extracted to determine the appropriate tax. 

According to Department of Revenue data, 3 5 counties collected the tax in 201 7. 
The map on the next page shows the counties. Special laws also authorize a few 
towns in St. Louis and Ottertail counties to impose aggregate taxes, as long as the 
county does not impose the tax. Only Solway Township in St. Louis County 
collected tax under this authority in 2017. 

State law sets the rate of the tax at 21.5 cents per cubic yard or 15 cents per ton; 
counties do not have discretion to set a lower rate. 

However, if the county borders two states and is not contiguous to a county 
imposing an aggregate tax, the law authorizes the coµnty to impose a rate of 10 
cents per cubic yard or 7 cents per cubic ton. This limit expires on December 31, 
2024, and currently applies to Rock County. 

A county board may exempt an operator that removed less than 20,000 tons, or 
14,000 cubic yards, in the previous year. 

The aggregate tax is imposed when the material is taken from the extraction site or 
sold, whichever occurs first. If the aggregate is-stored in a stockpile without being 
transferred on a public road, thetax is imposed either when the aggregate is sold, 
when transported from the stockpile site, or when it is used from the stockpile, 
whichever comes first. 

If aggregate material is transported outside the county via a waterway, railway, or 
any other means besides a public road, the tax is to be apportioned equally between 
the county where the material is extracted and the county where the material is 
imported. If the receiving county is not in Minnesota, the county where the 
material was extracted receives the full amount of the tax. 

A county, city, or town that receives aggregate tax proceeds is prohibited from 
imposing any additional host community fees on aggregate production. 



Proceeds of the tax 
are used for various 
purposes; about 
$6.2 million in 
revenues were 
collected in CY 
2017 

State law specifies how the revenues from the tax are to be used. The taxes are 
deposited into the county treasury and must be spent as follows: 

• The county auditor may retain up to 5 percent of the total revenues as an 
administrative fee for administering the tax 

• · 42.5 percent of the remaining amount must be added to the county road and 
bridge fund for expenditure in maintenance, construction, and 
reconstruction of roads, highways, and bridges 

• 42.5 percent of the remaining amount must be deposited in the general fund 
of the city or town in which the mine is located, or to the county where the 
mine is located in an unorganized town, to be expended for maintenance, 
construction, and reconstruction of roads, highways, and bridges 

• 15 percent of the remaining funds must be put into a special reserve fund 
that is established for expenditures made related to the restoration of 
abandoned pits, quarries, or deposits located within the county 

. According to Department of Revenue data, $6.2 million in aggregate taxes were 
collected in calendar year 2017. 

Counties Collecting Aggregate 
Taxes 

Collecting in 2017 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Christopher Kleman at christopher.kleman@house.mn. 
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For purposes of this publication, a transfer occurs when a state agency exercises statutory authority to 
reallocate money appropriated by the legislature for one program to a different program administered 
by that same agency. This is sometimes referred to as an "intra-agency transfer." 

Do agencies have general intra-agency transfer authority? 

As a general rule, a state agency, official, or employee may spend money only for the purpose for which 
the legislature has appropriated it. Minn. Stat:§ 16A.139. However agencies do have limited, statutory 
authority to perform certain intra-agency transfers. Specifically, state law authorizes an agency in the 
executive, legislative, or judicial branch to transfer operational money from one program to another if 
both programs received an appropriation from the same fund (e.g., the general fund). However, if the 
legislature appropriated a specific amount of money for an "item within an activity," the recipient 
agency cannot transfer or use this amount for any other purpose. Minn. Stat. § 16A.285. 

What is the process? 

Before performing the transfer, the agency must request and receive approval from Minnesota 
Management and Budget (MMB). MMB staff may approve the transfer only after determining that it will 
not frustrate legislative intent. 

What is operational money? 

The term "operational money" is not defined for purposes of this statute. In this context, it is generally 
understood to mean money appropriated to an agency so that the agency can function and fulfill its 
legal duties. Agencies use operational money to compensate staff, purchase supplies, pay overhead, etc. 
For purposes of this statute, operational money is generall_y understood not to include money that the 
legislature appropriates to an agency to award aid, pass-through grants, or other financial assistance to 
local units of government, private entities or individuals, or others. 

What is a program? 

The term "program" is not defined for purposes of this statute, but in this context it is generally 
understood to mean the budgetary level at which the legislature typically appropriates operating money 
to state agencies. This technical, budgetary definition differs from the common usage of the term 
"program." For example, for budgetary purposes the Waste Pesticide Collection Program administered 
by the Department of Agriculture is a budgetary "item" within the Pesticide and Fertilizer Management 
"activity," which is one of several budgetary activities within the Protection Services "program." 
Therefore, for purposes of this transfer authority, the term program has a technical meaning that often 
denotes a collection of related activities for which the legislature appropriates one lump sum of money. 

By Colbey Sullivan, 651-296-5047 
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What is an item within an activity? 

The term "item within an activity" is not defined for purposes of this statute, but in this context it is 
generally understood to mean a specific purpose for which the legislature has designated a specific 
amount of money. In an appropriations law, the legislature typically uses rider language to identify the 
amount of money it has designated for a specific item within a larger program-level appropriation. 

Are there reporting requirements? 

The commissioner of MMB must report each intra-agency transfer to the chairs .of the legislature's main 
budgetary control committees-Le., the Senate Finance and House of Representatives Ways and Means 
committees. 

Additionally, Laws 2017, First Spe·cial Session, chapter 4 {codified as Minn. Stat. § 15.0395), requires 
each agency to annually report to the legislature all transfers of appropriations within the agency or 
between it and another agency during the previous fiscal year if the cumulative value of such transfers 
totaled more than $100,000. An agency must submit this report to the chairs and ranking minority 
members of the Senate and House of Representatives committees with jurisdiction over the agency's 
budget. The first reports under this law were due October 15, 2018. 

Are there other legal methods for an agency to transfer appropriated money? 

In addition to the intra-agency transfer authority described in this publication, state agencies also 
transfer appropriated funds to other agencies via inter-agency or joint powers agreements pursuant to 
Minnesota Statutes, section 471.59. Separately, the commissioner of the Department of Administration 
is authorized, subject to certain conditions, to transfer functions and employees from one state agency 
to another in order to improve efficiency and avoid duplication in the delivery of government services. 
When this transfer takes place, the corresponding appropriation or portion of an appropriation is also 
transferred to the receiving agency. Minn. Stat.§ 16B.37. Finally, subject to approval by the Legislative 
Advisory Commission, agencies may transfer excess appropriated money to the information and 
telecommunications account in the special revenue fund to implement information technology projects 
that create government efficiencies. Minn. Stat.§ 16E.21. 

For information on the transfer of duties and personnel from one agency to another, see the House 
Research publication Transfer of Executive Branch Responsibilities. 
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Salaries for governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, state auditor, secretary of state, and 

judges are established by state law or by the legislature, depending on the position·. Salaries for 

legislators are prescribed by a Legislative Salary Council in each odd-numbered year. 

Salaries for Constitutional Officers 

As required by the Minnesota Constitution, salaries for constitutional officers are prescribed by law. 
Art. V, § 4. The 2013 Legislature passed legislation increasing the governor's salary by 3 percent on 
January 1, 2015, and by 3 percent on January 1, 2016. Laws 2013, ch. 142, art. 6, § 12. Salaries of the 
other constitutional officers are a specified percentage of the governor's salary, so those salaries also 
increased by 3 percent in 2015 and 3 percent in 2016. Laws 2001, 1st spec. sess., ch. 10, art. 1, § 2. The 
salaries of the constitutional officers have not increased since 2016. 

Officer 

Governor 

Attorney General 

State Auditor 

% of Governor1s 

Salary 

95% 

85% 

Secretary of State 75% 

Lt. Governor 65% 

Current Salary 

$127,629 

$121,248 

$108,485 

$95,722 

$82,959 

The governor can veto legislation establishing compensation for constitutional officers because, 
according to the constitution, the compensation is set "by law." 

Salaries for Judges 

The Minnesota Constitution stipulates that the legislature must establish compensation for judges and that 
judges' salaries cannot be reduced while they are in office. Art. VI,§ 5. The most recent salary increases for 
judges were 2.5 percent on July 1, 2017, and 2.5 percent on July 1, 2018. These increases were funded in 
Laws 2017, ch. 95, art. 1, sections 2, 3, and 4. Annual salaries for various judges are as follows. 

Official 

Supreme Court, chief 

Supreme Court, justice 
--.~----

Court of Appeals, chief 
--

Court of Appeals, judge 

District Court, chief 

District Court, judge 
----------

Current Salary 

$195,467 

$177,697 

$175,808 
--------·---~------------

$167,437 

$165,037 

$157,178 

By Matt Gehring, 651-296-5052 
Ben Weeks, 651-296-5808 



State Elected Officials' Compensation 

The constitutional provisions governing judges have been interpreted to mean that the governor may 
not veto provisions setting judges' compensation because their compensation is prescribed "by the 
legislature." Gardner v. Holm, 241 Minn. 125, 62 N.W. 2d 52 (1954). 

Salaries for Legislators 

Prior to 2016, the Minnesota Constitution provided that legislators' compensation was set by law. 
Under that structure, the annual salary for representatives and senators was $31,140 and had remained 
at that amount since 1999. 

At the 2016 state general election, the voters ratified a constitutional amendment requiring that 
legislator salaries be set by a newly established Legislative Salary Council. The council consists of 
members appointed by the governor and chief justice of the Supreme Court. Council members are 
prohibited from communicating with legislators during the period beginning when the council convenes 
its first meeting and ending the date it submits its salary determinations. 

The council must report its determinations, and the rationale used to reach them, by March 31 of each 
odd-numbered year. If it directs a salary adjustment, the adjustment takes effect July 1 of that year. 

On March 17, 2017, the Legislative Salary Council prescribed a salary of $45,000 for legislators. The new 
salary became effective July 1, 2017. 

The Compensation Council's role in establishing salaries for constitutional 
officers and judges 

A 16-member Compensation Council exists to assist the legislature in establishing the compensation of 
constitutional officers and judges. Minn. Stat. § 15A.082. Members of the Compensation Council are 
appointed in January of each odd-numbered year. The council must make its recommendations to the 
legislature by April 15 of that year. 

By law, the council's recommendations take effect if an appropriation to pay the recommended salaries 
is enacted after the recommendations are submitted and before their effective date. 

Insurance benefits and pension plans 

Constitutional officers, legislators, and judges all are members of the state employee group insurance 
plan and receive the same insurance benefits as state employees. 

Most legislators (those first elected after July 1, 1997, and some elected before then) and all 
constitutional officers are members of a defined contribution pension plan. Under this plan, the 
member contributes a percent of his or her salary (5.75 percent in fiscal year 2019, and 6 percent 
beginning in fiscal year 2020) and the state contributes separately (6 percent of salary in fiscal year 2019 
and 6.25 percent ~eginning in fiscal year 2020). This money is invested, and upon leaving state service, 
the elected official is eligible to receive whatever money is in the account. 

Judges belong to a defined benefit pension plan, in which the benefit is determined by multiplying years 
of service times a service-credit percentage and applying this percentage to the judge's average high­
five years of salary. 
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under the Federal and 
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Income tax laws generally require businesses to spread deductions of capital expenditures over the 
useful lives of the purchased property. Section 179 expensing, which takes its name from a section of 
the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), allows businesses to deduct the entire amount of the cost of qualifying 
property in the tax year the property is placed in service, rather than claiming depreciation deductions 
over a number of years. This allows the business to accelerate recognition of the expense from future 
tax years into the present year. The number of years over which property would otherwise be 
depreciated ranges from three to 15 years, depending on the type of property and its useful life as 
classified under the IRC. 

What businesses can use section 179 and what property qualifies? 

A business is allowed to use section 179 based on the amount of its qualifying capital expenditures in a 
taxable year. Purchases of most equipment and other personal property qualify, including many 
leasehold improvements by businesses renting their facilities. Some interior improvements to 
nonresidential real property also qualify. The amount of a taxpayer's section 1i9 deduction is limited to 
the taxpayer's taxable income, although the disallowed amounts may be carried over. 

How much property qualifies for federal section 179 expensing? 

Businesses may deduct up to $1 million in qualifying property placed into service in the tax year. This 
amount is phased out dollar for dollar once a business's qualifying property expenditure amount 
exceeds $2.5 million. The phase-out effectively prohibits businesses making more than $3.5 million in 
qualifying property in a tax year from using section 179 for that tax year. 

What are the section 179 expensing allowances under the Minnesota income 
tax? 

Prior to 2006, Minnesota conformed to the federal allowances, allowing businesses to claim the same 
amount for their Minnesota taxes as they did for their federal taxes. Since then, the legislature has 
elected not to conform to the higher federal allowances, but does allow the full amount of the 
deduction to be taken over multiple years. 

In Minnesota, the amount of expenditures that may be deducted in the year the property was placed in 
service is determined based on two factors: the state's own cap and phase-out limits, and the section 
179 addition. 

Under the state's cap and phase-out limits, deductions are capped at $25,000, with a dollar-for-dollar 
phase-out once a business's total expenditures exceed $200,000 .. 

By Christopher Kleman, christopher.kleman@house.mn 
Sean Williams1 sean.williams@house.mn 



Section 179 Expensing under the Federal and Minnesota Income Tax 

In addition to any amount deducted under the state's cap and phase-out limits, 20 percent of any 
remaining amount that is deducted under section 179, minus the amount deducted under the state's 
cap and phase-out limits, may also be deducted in the year the property is placed in service. The 
remaining 80 percent must then be added back to the business's Minnesota taxable income; 16 percent 
of this remaining amount is then deducted in each subsequent tax year for five years, until the full 
amount of the federal deduction has been used. 

The following chart shows the difference between the amounts that may be deducted in the year the 
. property is placed in service under section 179 compared to state expensing laws. 

Section 179 Deduction Amount Minnesota Total 
Property Allowed Allowed under Add-back Minnesota 
Placed in Federally the Minnesota Deduction, 

Service in the Cap and Phase- Current Year 
Tax Vear out 

~ $25,000 Full amount Full amount $0 Full amount 

$25,000 to Full amount $25,000 80% of the $25,000, plus 20% 
$200,000 amount in excess of the amount in 

of $25,000 excess of $25,000 

$200,000 to Full amount $25,000 minus 80% of the federal Amount allowed 
$225,000 amount in excess amount in excess underthe 

of $200,000 of amount allowed Minnesota cap, 
underthe plus 20% of the 
Minnesota cap amount in excess 

of that amount 

$225,000 to Full amount, up to $0 80% of the federal 20% of the federal 
$2,500,000 $1,000,000 amount amount 

$2,500,000 to $1,000,000 minus $0 80% of the federal 20% of the federal 
$3,500,000 amount in excess amount amount 

of $2,500,000 

> $3,500,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 
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The following provides a brief overview of the longer publication Major State Aids and Taxes: A 

Comparative Analyst\ 2015 Update, which highlights major aids provided to the local 

governments and people in Minnesota and lists the major taxes collected. The per capita 

amounts were calculated using 2014 population. 

State Aids 

Program Year Amount (millions) Per Capita 

Education aid 2014/2015 $7,926.6 State $1,445 State 
Aid paid to school districts for all K-12 educational $4,470.9 Metro $1,488 Metro 
expenses $3,455.6 Nonmetro $1,394 Nonmetro 

Human services aid 2015 $6,072.1 State $1,107 State 
State's share of human services aid for various $3,449.6 Metro $1,148 Metro 
income and medical assistance programs $2,662.5 Nonmetro $1,058 Nonmetro 

Highway aid 2015 $801.7 State $145 State 
Distributed to counties, cities, and towns for highway $279.2 Metro $93 Metro 
purposes $522.5 Nonmetro $211 Nonmetro 

- ------~~-----·-~ 

Local government aid 2015 $516.9 State $94 State 
Provides property tax relief by providing general $177.2 Metro 

1 
$59 Metro 

purpose financial support to cities $339.7 Nonmetro I $137 Nonmetro 

Disparity reduction aid 2015 $18.1 State $3 State 
Provides aid to jurisdictions (counties, towns, and $1.4 Metro -- Metro 
school districts) that had inordinately high tax rates $16.7 Nonmetro $7 Nonmetro 
in 1988 

County program aid 2014//2105 $209.9 State $38 State 
Includes former homestead and agricultural credit, 
county criminal justice aid, family preservation aid, 
and attached machinery aid 

------ --~~---------

Community corrections funding 2015 
Aid that provides a portion of counties' costs for 
community corrections services 

Property tax refund (excludes targeting) 2014 (filed 
Reimburses homeowners and renters for a portion of in 2015) 
property taxes if those taxes exceed a household 
income threshold 

Targeting 2014 (filed 
Additional homeowner property tax refund if in 2015) 
property taxes increased a certain percentage 
threshold over previous year (no income limits) 

- -----•···--· ······--•·-·········· 

$100.3 Metro $33 Metro 
$109.6 Nonmetro $44 Nonmetro 

-------- ,_ ----~-

$86.3 State $16 State 
$41.7 Metro $14 Metro 
$44.6 Nonmetro 

I 
$18 Nonmetro 

$582.2 State $106 State 
$403.5 Metro $134 Metro 
$178.7 Nonmetro $72 Nonmetro 

$3.8 State ' $1 State 

$2.8 Metro : $1 Metro 
$1.1 Nonmetro -- Nonmetro 

' 

By Sean Williams, sean.williams@house.mn 
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Major Taxes 

Program 

Individual income tax 
Imposed on income of state residents and income 
derived from state sources of nonresidents 

Sales and use tax 
Imposed on gross receipts of people who se/'1 lease/ 
or rent tangible personal property at retail at a rate 
of 6.5 percent (does not include local sales tax) 

Motor vehicle sales tax 
Imposed on new and used motor vehicles at the time 
of sale at the same rate of state sales tax 

Motor vehicle registration tax 
Imposed annually on vehicles licensed in the state 

Motor vehicle fuels tax (gas tax) 
Imposed on gasoline/ diesel fuel/ and other motor 
fuels used by vehicles and on aviation fuels 

Corporate franchise (income) tax 
Imposed at a rate of 9.8 percent on the net income of 
corporations (or alternative minimum tax) 

State general property tax 
Imposed on commercial/industrial/public utility 
property and seasonal recreational property 

Property Tax Data, Payable 2015 

Market Value 
Total statewide: $592.8 billion 

Nonmetro 
52.1% 

Metro 
47.8% 

Major State Aids and Taxes: An Overview 

Year Amount (millions) Per Capita 
' 

2014 (filed $9,362.0 Total 
in 2015) $8,829.1 Residents $1,610 State 

$6,025.3 Metro $2,005 Metro 

$2,803.7 Nonmetro $1,131 Nonmetro 

2015 $5,552.8 (After refunds) 

$4,559.5 Residents $831 State 
$2,971.4 Metro $989 Metro 
$1,588.2 Nonmetro $640 Nonmetro 

2015 $790.9 State $144 State 
$417.8 Metro $139 Metro 
$373.1 Nonmetro $150 Nonmetro 

2015 $704.5 State $128 State 
$385.4 Metro $128 Metro 

$319.1 Nonmetro $129 Nonmetro 

2015 $894.2 State $163 State 
$424. 7 Metro $141 Metro 
$469.5 Nonmetro $189 Nonmetro 

2015 $1,201.3 State $219 State 
$864. 7 Metro $288 Metro 
$336.7 Nonmetro $136 Nonmetro 

2015 $849.6 State $155 State 
$534.2 Metro $178 Metro 
$315.4 Nonmetro $127 Nonmetro 

Net Property Tax 
Total statewide: $8.9 billion 

l'Jonmetro 
38.3% Metro 

61.7% 

For more information: See Major State Aids and Taxes: Comparative Analysis/ 2015 Update for further 
details about each aid program and tax and data by county and economic development region. 
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When are economic forecasts prepared? 

The commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB) must prepare a forecast of general 
fund revenues and expenditures twice each year-in February and November. Employment levels, 
wages, sales of taxable goods and services, health care costs, the number of children enrolled in public 
schools, and numerous other factors influence state expenditures and receipts. The forecast attempts to 
predict how these factors will collectively impact the state budget during the forecast period. 

How are the forecasts used? 

The forecasts inform the governor's budget proposals and the legislature's development of tax and 
spending laws. In this way, the legislature and governor use the forecasts to develop and enact a 
balanced general fund budget in which total biennial revenues meet or exceed total expenditures. 

The November forecast in even-numbered years informs the governor's initial biennial budget 
recommendations to the legislature. For example, the November 2018 forecast provides the revenue 
and expenditure projections that Governor-elect Tim Walz will use to prepare a preliminary budget 
proposal for the upcoming fiscal year 2020-2021 biennium, which runs from July 1, 2019, to June 30, 
2021. The same November 2018 forecast projected that the state was on track to finish the fiscal year 
2018-2019 biennium with a positive general fund balance. 

The February forecast updates the preceding November forecast with any new economic, revenue, and 
spending data. Following the February 2019 forecast, Governor-elect Walz will submit revised budget 
recommendations informed by the latest revenue and expenditure estimates. Similarly, the February 
2019 forecast will provide the revenue and expenditure projections that the 2019 Legislature will use to 
enact a balanced state budget for the fiscal year 2020-2021 biennium. It will also provide the final 
comprehensive update on the status of general fund revenues and expenditures for the remaining 
months of the fiscal year 2018-2019 biennium. 

The November forecast in odd-numbered years and the February forecast in even-numbered years 
update revenue and expenditure estimates for the current biennium. Using the projections in the 
November 2019 and February 2020 forecasts, Governor-elect Walz may propose modifications to the 
enacted fiscal year 2020-2021 budget. The 2020 Legislature will use the latest projections in the 
February 2020 forecast to determine whether budgetary changes are needed in order for the fiscal year 
2020-2021 biennium to close with a balanced general fund budget. 

What if a forecast predicts a general fund deficit? 

If a balanced budget is enacted but a subsequent forecast anticipates a general fund deficit in the 
current biennium, the commissioner of MMB may access funds in the budget reserve account as needed 
to pay for all enacted expenditures. If there is not enough money in the budget reserve to balance the 
general fund in the current biennium, the commissioner may also selectively reduce or delay existing 
appropriations, commonly referred to as "unalloting." Before reducing the budget reserve or unalloting 
general fund appropriations, the commissioner must obtain the approval of the governor and consult 
the Legislative Advisory Commission. If the legislature is in session or will soon convene, the governor 

By Colbey Sulivan, 651-296-5047 
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typically makes recommendations to the legislature on how to resolve the shortfall before approving 
use of the budget reserve or unallotment. 

What if the forecast predicts a general fund surplus? 

If a forecast projects a general fund surplus for the current biennium, the commissioner of MMB must 
allocate the surplus in priority order as follows: 

1) to the cash flow account, until it reaches $350 million (currently satisfied) 

2) to the budget reserve account, until it reaches $1,596,522,000 
(currently surpassed) 

3) to increase the school aid payment schedule to 90 percent, in increments of one-tenth of 1 
percent with any residual amount remaining in the budget reserve (currently satisfied) 

4) to restore previous school aid reductions and reduce the property tax recognition shift 
accordingly {currently satisfied) 

If a November forecast predicts a surplus and priorities (1) to (4) have been satisfied, MMB must 
transfer 33 percent of the remainder to the budget reserve until it reaches the balance recommended 
by MMB. No later than September 30 each year, MMB must assess the volatility of state tax revenues 
and report to the legislature any corresponding change in the agency's budget reserve benchmark. 

Any surplus remaining after satisfying the four statutory priorities and transferring 33 percent of any 
remainder to the budget reserve is reported in the forecast as a positive general fund balance. For the 
fiscal year 2018-2019 biennium, as of the November 2018 forecast there is a projected surplus in the 
general fund. 

What are recent changes to the treatment of budget surpluses? 

Laws 2014, chapter 150, required MMB to recommend a budget reserve level (specified as a percentage 
of general fund revenues for the current biennium), to update this percentage each January, and to 
transfer 33 percent of a November forecast surplus to the reserve. Laws 2015, chapter 77, pushed the 
commissioner's annual update back to September. Laws 2017, first special session, chapter 1, added a 
requirement to transfer $22 million of general fund surplus dollars to the Clean Water Fund. MMB 
performed this $22 million transfer when the agency's February 2018 forecast projected that a sufficient 
surplus existed in the general fund for the fiscal year 2018-2019 biennium. 

For more information: See the House Research publication Unal/otment: Executive Branch Power to 
Reduce Spending to Avoid a Deficit, November 2018. 
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The building code is a collection of state laws and rules that apply a uniform set of standards to 

the construction and modification of buildings in order to enhance safety, energy efficiency, and 

accessibility. 

What is the state building code? 

Under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.121, the Minnesota Building Code, or the code, is the "standard 
that applies statewide for the construction, reconstruction, alteration and repair of buildings and other 
structures." It is the same throughout Minnesota and supersedes any county or municipal rules. 

While there is a single state building code, it is composed of many smaller codes each focused on a 
particular technical area or type of structure, such as plumbing, electrical, elevators, accessibility, 
energy, or residences. A list of all of these codes is available on the Department of Labor and Industry 
website, http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/codes15.asp. 

Most of the language of the code comes directly from national and international standards, such as the 
International Building Code, that are incorporated in whole or in part into the Minnesota Building Code 
via rulemaking. 

Who administers and enforces the building code? 

The code is administered by the state Department of Labor and Industry's {DOLi} Construction Codes 
and Licensing Division {CCLD) in conjunction with cities, townships, and counties throughout the state. 

For public buildings, state-licensed facilities, and places of public accommodation, state officials at DOLi 
enforce the code or delegate enforcement to local building officials. For definitions of these types of 
buildings see Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.103, subdivisions 11 and 13, and 326B.108. 

For other types of buildings in counties and municipalities where the code has been formally adopted, 
enforcement is done by local building officials. For details on code enforcement in a specific area, see 
DOLi's code enforcement database, http:/ /workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction/. 

For other types of buildings in jurisdictions that have not formally adopted the code, there may be no 
government entity actively monitoring code enforcement. Nevertheless, the code still applies to 
buildings in these areas. Further, compliance may be required by contracts with lending institutions or 
insurance providers. 

How is the code changed? 

The code is modified regularly by DOLi, after consultation with committees of technical experts, in 
conjunction with semi-annual updates to national and international standards. The code may also be 
amended by the legislature. 

By Anna Scholin, anna.scholin@house.mn 
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How can the legislature affect the code? 

The legislature can write laws that alter the code, either by adding new regulations or by changing how 
the existing codes will apply within Minnesota. For instance, because of legislative action, state law 
directs that the code cover several brqad areas including elevators, electricity, plumbing, accessibility, 
manufactured homes, prefabricated homes, and industrialized and modular buildings. 

Examples of recent legislative changes to the code include laws affecting the rules that apply to fire 
sprinklers, smoke detection, automatic garage door openers, radon control, and window fall prevention. 

Does the code apply to agricultural buildings? 

Agricultural buildings generally are not covered by the code. Agricultural buildings are those used only 
for agricultural purposes and situated on agricultural land. For more detailed information on exempt 
agricultural buildings, see Minnesota Statutes, sections 3268.103, subdivision 3, and 273.13, subdivision 
23. 

Does the state building code include the state fire code? 

The State Fire Code is a separate set of standards. The Minnesota D_epartment of Public Safety (DPS) and 
the State Fire Marshal administer the State Fire Code. For additional information about the State Fire 
Code see the DPS website, https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/sfm/fire-code/Pages/default.aspx. 

Where can people find a copy of the building code? 

The DOLi website provides free digital copies of all parts of the state building code, as well as links for 
purchasing code books and to helpful fact sheets, http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/codes15.asp. 

Who can answer code questions? 

If people have questions about how the code might apply to a specific situation, the best sources for 
interpretation are localbuilding officials or the CCLD. 

Contact information for local officials can be found in this database from DOLi, 
http://workplace.do1i.state. m n. us/jurisdiction/. 

The CCLD's list of contact numbers by topic of question may be found on the DOLi website, 
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/our-areas-service/phone-and-email-directory. 
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