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CALL CENTER HOURS: 7AM-7PM M-F, 8AM-4PM SAT MST.

WWW.ROCKYMOUNTAINATVMC.COM

1.800.336.5437

Give us a try today and experience the 
difference of great customer service, 
quick, free shipping on orders over $75 
and industry low prices. We thank you 
for your support over the years.

Paid Advertisement

CUSTOMER SERVICE
IS OUR PRIORITY

WHAT’S IN A NAME?
TRUST, SERVICE & EXPERIENCE

Over the past 33 years, we’ve worked hard to become the premier 

destination for parts, apparel and accessories.
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DEFINITIONS
All‑terrain Vehicles (ATVs) have at least three, but no more than six, 
low‑pressure or non‑pneumatic tires (not filled with or containing 
compressed air) with a total dry weight less than 2,000 pounds and a total 
width from outside of tire rim to outside of tire rim that is 65 inches or 
less. ATVs include Class 1 and Class 2. Dry weight is normally the weight 
of the vehicle without fluids. Vehicles NOT considered ATVs includes golf 
carts, mini‑trucks, dune buggies, go carts, or a vehicle designed and used 
specifically for lawn maintenance, agriculture, logging, or mining purposes.

 
Class 1 ATVs width 
50 inches or less.

Class 2 ATVs width greater 
than 50 inches but not more 
than 65 inches.

Approved Helmet
An approved helmet worn by an operator or passenger must meet federal 
law, which requires the helmet to display the symbol DOT. DOT is the 
manufacturer’s certification that the helmet conforms to the applicable 
federal motor vehicle safety standards. Standard bicycle helmets and 
hockey helmets are not legal helmets. 

Off‑highway Motorcycles (OHMs) travel on two wheels, have 
a seat or saddle designed to be straddled by the operator and 
have handlebars for steering control. Motorcycles may be legal 
for highway use and still considered to be OHMs if used for 
off‑highway operation on trails or natural terrain.

Off‑highway Vehicle
The term Off‑highway Vehicle (OHV) includes All‑terrain Vehicles (ATVs), 
Off‑highway Motorcycles (OHMs), and Off‑road Vehicles (ORVs).

Off‑highway Vehicle Use Areas are areas posted or designated for 
off‑highway vehicle use.

Off‑road Vehicles (ORVs) are motorized recreational vehicles 
capable of cross‑country travel on natural terrain. Vehicles 
NOT considered ORVs include snowmobiles, ATVs, OHMs, 
motorcycles, watercraft, or aircraft. Farm, logging, military, 
emergency, law enforcement, utility, trail grooming, and 
construction vehicles are not considered to be ORVs when used 
for their intended purpose.



A Field Guide for Your Ride
Before you hit the trails this year, consider subscribing to 
Minnesota Conservation Volunteer and get in-depth, in-the-
field coverage of Minnesota’s wild things and wild places 
every other month.

The handy, pocket-size format makes MCV a natural fit to take 
with you on your next riding adventure.  

Donate & Subscribe
Visit mndnr.gov/mcvmagazine 

or call 844-245-7115 using promo code T18OHV. D
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That’s exactly what we did with our new 50-inch MaverickTM Trail. Can-Am engineering 
specifi cally for the 50-inch trails wrapped around a rider-focused cockpit design and built 
with your sense of adventure in mind.

MEET YOU OUT THERE
MAVERICKTRAIL.COM

©2017 Bombardier Recreational Products Inc. (BRP). All rights reserved. ®, ™ and the BRP logo are trademarks of BRP or its affi liates. In the U.S.A., products are distributed by BRP US Inc. BRP reserves the right, at any time, to discontinue or change specifi cations, prices, 
designs, features, models or equipment without incurring obligation. Some models depicted may include optional equipment. For side-by-side vehicles (SxS): Read the BRP side-by-side Operator’s Guide and watch the Safety DVD before driving. Fasten lateral net and seat belt at 
all times. Operator must be at least 16 years old. Passenger must be at least 12 years old and able to hold handgrips and plant feet while seated against the backrest. SxS are for off-road use only; never ride on paved surfaces or public roads. For your safety reason, the operator 
and passenger must wear a helmet, eye protection and other protective clothing. Always remember that riding and alcohol/drugs don’t mix. Never engage in stunt driving. Avoid excessive speed and be particularly careful on diffi cult terrain. Always ride responsibly and safely.

LEAD BY
EXAMPLE
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DANNER SALES - (ATV ONLY)
Inver Grove Heights
651-451-0121
dannersales.com
LEOS SOUTH
Lakeville
952-435-5371
leossouth.com
MILLER SELLNER
Sleepy Eye
507-794-2131
millersellner.com
MINNEAPOLIS MOTOR SPORTS
Minneapolis
763-634-0244
minneapolismotorsports.com
OLLIE’S SERVICE, INC.
Alexandria
320-763-4455
olliesservice.com
ST. BONI MOTOR SPORTS
St. Bonifacius
952-446-1554
stboni.com
TOUSLEY MOTORSPORTS
White Bear Lake
800-TOUSLEY
tousleymotorsports.com

©2018 Bombardier Recreational Products Inc. (BRP). All rights reserved. ®, TM and the BRP logo are trademarks of BRP or its affi liates. CGX3 and Cyclops Gear are registered trademarks of Cyclops Gear LLC. In the U.S.A., products are distributed by BRP US Inc. Offers valid in the U.S.A and Canada from 
July 6, 2018 to August 31, 2018. The terms and conditions may vary depending on your state and these offers are subject to termination or change at any time without notice. See an authorized BRP dealer for details. * REBATE UP TO $2,000 ON SELECT 2018 MODELS + RECEIVE A FREE ACTION CAMERA: Eligible 
units are select new and unused 2018 Can-Am ATVs and Can-Am side-by-side vehicles. † The buyer of an eligible 2018 model will receive up to $2,000 rebate and a free Cyclops Gear CGX3 camera. Rebate amount depends on the model purchased. While quantities last. The CGX3 action camera (9700130090, a 
value of up to $399.99) is free of charge. This offer is not refundable, exchangeable or transferable and cannot be redeemed for cash or other products of equivalent or similar value. Limit of one (1) camera per eligible customer and per invoice. If the dealer does not have CGX3 cameras in stock, the dealer will contact 
the customer when the CGX3 (for which he/she is eligible) will be available for in-store pick up. BRP reserves the right, at any time, to discontinue or change specifi cations, prices, designs, features, models or equipment without incurring obligation. Some models depicted may include optional equipment. CAN-AM 
OFF-ROAD VEHICLE: BRP highly recommends that all ATV drivers take a training course. For safety and training information, see your dealer or call the ATV Safety Institute at 1-800-887-2887. ATVs can be hazardous to operate. Never carry passengers on any ATV not specifi cally designed by the manufacturer for 
such use. All adult model Can-Am ATVs are Category G ATVs (General Use Models) intended for recreational and/or utility use by an operator age 16 or older. For side-by-side vehicles (SSV): Carefully read the vehicle’s operator’s guide. Follow all instructional and safety material and observe applicable laws and 
regulations. ATVs and SSV are for off-road use only; never ride on paved surfaces or public roads. For your safety reason, the operator and passenger must wear a helmet, eye protection and other protective clothing. Always remember that riding and alcohol/drugs don’t mix. Never engage in stunt driving. Avoid 
excessive speed and be particularly careful on diffi cult terrain. Always ride responsibly and safely.

YOUR BEST 
RIDE EVER 
IS WITHIN 
REACH

+ RECEIVE A FREE ACTION CAMERA†

REBATE UP TO

ON SELECT 2018 MODELS*

$2,000

BRISTOW'S KAWASAKI & POLARIS
3653 32ND STREET SE
ST CLOUD, MN

Restrictions: Offers vary by model. Valid on select 2013-2017 new and unregistered models purchased between 3/1/17- 4/30/17. See your dealer for details. Rates as low as 2.99% APR for 36 months. Examples of monthly payments
required over a 36-month term at a 2.99% rate: $29.08 per $1,000 financed; and at an 5.99% rate: $30.42 per $1,000 financed. An example of a monthly payment with $0 down, no rebate, an APR of 2.99% for 36 months at a MSRP of
$9,999.00 is $290.74; total cost of borrowing of $467.60 with a total obligation of $10,466.60. Down payment may be required. Other financing offers are available. See your local dealer for details. Minimum Amount Financed $1,500.
Other qualifications and restrictions may apply. Financing promotions void where prohibited. Offer subject to change without notice.

Warning: Polaris® off-road vehicles can be hazardous to operate and are not intended for on-road use. Driver must be at least 16 years old with a valid driver’s license to operate. Passengers, if permitted, must be at least 12 years old.
All  riders  should  always  wear  helmets,  eye  protection,  and  protective  clothing.  Always  use  seat  belts  and  cab  nets  or  doors  (as  equipped).  Never  engage  in  stunt  driving,  and  avoid  excessive  speeds  and  sharp  turns.  Riding  and
alcohol/drugs don’t mix. All riders should take a safety training course. Call 800-342-3764 for additional information. Check local laws before riding on trails. ©2017 Polaris Industries Inc.

Paid Advertisement

Chopper City Sports
Fridley - 763-572-2100

choppercity.com 
Jackson Sports, LLC

Jackson - 507-847-3977
jacksonsports.com
Northway Sports

East Bethel - 763-413-8988
northwaysports.com
Tousley Motorsports

White Bear Lake - 800-TOUSLEY
tousleymotorsports.com

Tri-K Sports
Maple Plain - 763-479-3719

triksports.com

Paid Advertisement

VISIT THESE DEALERS TODAY!
St. Boni Motor Sports

St. Bonificius - 952-446-1554
stboni.com

Waldoch Sports, Inc.
Columbus - 651-464-5776

waldochsports.com

   

* Professional driver on closed course. Always protect the environment and wear your seat belt, helmet, eye protection and protective clothing. Read the owner’s manual and product warning 
labels before operation. Model shown with Genuine Yamaha Accessories. ©2016 Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A. All rights reserved. • YamahaWolverine.com

THE SPORT ADVENTURE SPECIALIST.
• The Wolverine R-Spec EPS SE offers the perfect blend of suspension, handling, drivetrain and chassis working together to 
give you the ability to traverse rough terrain with confidence and best-in-class comfort • Powerful 700-class liquid-cooled, 
fuel injected engine • Ultramatic® transmission with dual-range (Hi/Lo) drive, reverse and all-wheel downhill engine braking 
• Industry-exclusive On-Command® 4WD system lets you dial between 2WD, limited slip 4WD and fully locked diff 4WD 
• Class-leading long-travel suspension, plus so much more

WOLVERINE® 

 R-SPEC EPS SE2017



Paid Advertisement

Country Cat
Sauk Centre - 320-352-3534

www.countrycat.com

Lighthouse Motorsports 
Rosemount - 651-322-4420

www.lighthousemotorsports.com

MotoProz, Inc.
Mazeppa - 507-843-2855

www.motoproz.com

RV Sports Inc.
Thief River Falls - 218-681-1007

www.rvsports.com

Thomas Sno Sports
Ogilvie - 320-556-3467

www.thomassnosports.com

UFC Farm Supply
Waconia - 1-888-741-FARM
www.UFCfarmsupply.com

Westside Sports
Wadena - 218-631-1113
www.westsidesports.biz

ATV Minnesota • P.O. Box 300 • Stacy, MN 55079
www.atvam.org • 1-800-442-8826
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WHAT’S NEW?
Effective August 1, 2018—Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
If you are convicted of a DWI or refuse chemical testing—regardless of 
what vehicle type you are driving—your driver’s license is revoked and your 
ATV, snowmobile, and motorboat privileges are all suspended for a year. 
See page 27 for more information.

Regulations in this booklet are effective from July 2018 through July 2019.

Cover photo: Iron Range Off‑highway Vehicle State Recreation Area.

This publication is partially funded through advertising revenue. The State 
of Minnesota and the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) can neither 
endorse the products or services advertised nor accept any liability arising 
from the use of these products or services.
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FOR MORE INFORMATION
DNR Website
www.mndnr.gov/ohv

Where to Ride Your 
Off‑highway Vehicle
www.findthetrails.com

Safety Training
DNR Safety Training Program 
Headquarters, Camp Ripley
Little Falls, MN 56345 
800‑366‑8917
www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle

Contact a Conservation Officer
888‑MINNDNR

State Trails
DNR Information Center 
500 Lafayette Rd.
St. Paul, MN 55155‑4040 
651‑296‑6157, 888‑MINNDNR
www.findthetrails.com

Vehicle Registration
DNR License Center 
500 Lafayette Rd.
St. Paul, MN 55155‑4026 
651‑296‑2316, 800‑285‑2000
www.mndnr.gov/rlp

Hearing Impaired
651‑296‑5484, 800‑657‑3929

Gale Bradford is 
2017 ATV Instructor 
of the Year
The 2017 ATV Instructor 
of the Year is Gale 
Bradford of Wright, in 
Carlton County. 

Bradford, who is 
the lead ATV safety 
coordinator for the 
Evergreen PAC ATV 
Club, has been involved with the club for 11 years and has taught youth 
ATV classes for more than seven.

“Gale’s dedication to ATV safety is impressive,” said Conservation 
Officer Amber Ladd, who patrols the McGregor area and nominated 
Bradford for the award.  “She goes above and beyond to make sure 
youth riders who want to take safety training have the opportunity to 
do so.”

The club offers courses in Aitkin and Carlton counties.

Learn how you can become a DNR youth volunteer instructor at: 
www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/instructors/process

C.O. Amber Ladd (L), Gale Bradford.
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Continued…

REGISTRATION
OHVs must be registered to operate in Minnesota.

An application for transfer must be executed by the registered owner and 
the purchaser using a bill of sale that includes the vehicle serial number.

There are exemptions provided by law. If your answer is “YES” to any of the 
statements below, registration is not required. 

If you are operating an:
  ATV on a state and/or grant‑in‑aid trail on June 7‑9, 2019 “Free Riding 

Weekend” (ATV registration and nonresident ATV trail passes will not be 
required to ride on state and grant‑in‑aid trails those days).

  ATV, OHM or ORV registered in another state or country and not in 
Minnesota for more than 30 consecutive days.

  ATV, OHM or ORV owned by federal, local and tribal governments.  
 OHM or ORV licensed for highway use when operated on forest roads.

  OHM operated by a person participating in an event for which 
the Minnesota DNR has issued a special use permit exempting the 
registration or nonresident trail pass requirements.

  OHMs not in Minnesota for more than 30 consecutive days and are 
operated on state and grant‑in‑aid trails by a nonresident possessing a 
nonresident state trail pass.

  ATV or OHM that is used exclusively in organized track racing events.

   ATV owned by a resident of another state or country that does not 
require registration of the ATV, not in Minnesota for more than 30 
consecutive days, and is operated on state and grant‑in‑aid trails by a 
nonresident possessing a nonresident state trail pass.

  ATV that is registered by an Indian tribal government to a tribal member 
and has not been outside the tribal reservation boundary for more than 
30 consecutive days.

  ATV that is 25 years or older (see page 11).

  ORV operated on frozen waters or private property (not a designated 
ORV trail).

Expiration and Renewal
The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the decal. All 
public use ATV and all OHM and ORV renewals expire on December 31 of 
the last year the registration is valid.
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Individuals who notify the DNR of mailing address changes should receive 
a notice by mail to renew their registration. Whether notified or not, 
owners are responsible for renewing their public use ATV, OHM, and ORV 
registrations.

Private use ATV and optional use collector ATV registrations do not expire. 
They are valid until the ownership is transferred.

Dealer and Manufacturer Registration
Registration with the DNR is required by OHV dealers and manufacturers 
to operate machines for testing or demonstrations. Dealer and 
manufacturer registration applications and plates may be purchased at a 
local deputy registrar and at the DNR License Center in St. Paul.
 • A registration certificate and a registration plate will be issued. The 

plates will be issued from the DNR.

 • The registration certificate must be prominently displayed in the place 
of business.

 • The registration plate must be displayed on the vehicle before dealers 
or manufacturers may operate or permit operation of any off‑highway 
vehicle they own or control.

 • Additional plates are available for $4.00 plus filing fee.

Registration of OHVs—Frequently Asked Questions
Question: How do I register an OHV?

Answer: You must be at least 18 years old to register an off‑highway 
vehicle you own. A card and decal are provided. See page 13 for how the 
registration must be displayed on the ATV, OHM or ORV.

Question: Where do I register an OHV?

Answer: At a deputy registrar of motor vehicles office (where automobile 
license tabs are purchased) or at the DNR License Center in St. Paul. You 
may renew your OHV registration online at www.mndnr.gov/licenses/ohv. 
No additional fee will be charged.

Question: What information must I bring to register my ownership of an OHV? 

Answer: Bring information including the make, model, year, serial number, 
and sales receipt. For OHM registration, the engine size is required. For ATV 
registration, the dry weight and width from outside rim to outside rim is 
required. You also will be asked for the engine size.

http://www.mndnr.gov/licenses/ohv
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Question: What do I receive when I register?

Answer: A registration card and an expiration decal are issued when an 
ATV or OHM is registered. ATVs and OHMs purchased from a retail dealer 
must be registered at the dealer by the owner. The dealer will issue a 
temporary 21‑day registration.

ATV Registration
All‑terrain vehicles are classified and registered as either a Class 1 ATV or 
a Class 2 ATV (see page 3 for definitions). All ATVs operated in Minnesota 
must be registered with the DNR, including those used exclusively on 
private property. See exceptions on page 9. Class 1 or Class 2 will be indicated 
on the owner’s ATV registration card and decal at registration or renewal.

What Kind of Registration Is Needed?
ATV Public Use Registration
 • If you will ride this ATV on public ATV trails or land and 

roadways. 

 • This registration is valid for three years.

ATV Private/Agricultural Use Registration
 • If you will use your ATV (Class 1 or Class 2) exclusively 

for private or agricultural activities, harvesting wood, 
or on private property.

 • This registration does not expire and is valid until the 
ownership of the ATV is transferred.

ATV Collector Use Registration
 • If your ATV is 25 years or older.

 • ATVs 25 years and older are exempt from registration 
if they were originally produced as a separate, 
identifiable make by a manufacturer.

 • This registration is non‑transferable.

Both Public and Private Use Registration
 • If you will use your ATV for agricultural purposes on the road right‑of‑way 

and also on public trails, public land and on frozen water, you need both.

ATV With Tracks
Putting tracks on an ATV changes where operation is permitted and 
registration requirements to an ORV.
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OHM Registration
All OHMs operated in Minnesota must be registered with DNR. See page 9 
for exemptions. Even when operated on private property, registration is 
required. This registration is valid for three years.

OHM Recreational Registration and Highway Use License
An OHM registered for off‑road use also may be licensed for highway use 
if properly equipped. Equipment requirements include: headlights, taillights, 
mirrors, and horn. Contact the Department of Public Safety for further 
details and application procedures. An OHM licensed for highway use that 
is also used off‑road must have both the regular motorcycle license and the 
DNR OHM registration.

ORV Registration
All ORVs operated on DNR designated or grant‑in‑aid ORV trails or areas 
must be registered with the DNR. This registration is valid for three years.

ORV Recreational Registration and Highway Use License
Many ORVs are licensed for highway use. An ORV licensed for highway use 
that is also operated on designated public ORV use areas or trails must have 
both the regular vehicle license and DNR ORV registration.

OHV Replacement Registration Cards and Decals
You may obtain a replacement registration card for $10.00 or a replacement 
decal for $6.00 from the DNR License Center or a deputy registrar office 
(where automobile license tabs are purchased). Replacement decals and 
numbers must be affixed in the same manner as the original. You are not 
required to carry the registration card, but when an enforcement officer 
requests to see it, it must be provided within a reasonable time period.

Question: What if I sell my OHV?

Answer: If you sell your OHV, give the new owner a signed bill of sale that 
includes the serial number of the vehicle. The serial number is also found on 
the registration card.

Question: What if I buy an OHV from another owner?

Answer: The new owner must report transfer of ownership within 15 days 
to the DNR License bureau or deputy registrar. If not done within 15 days, 
a new owner can be charged with failure to transfer ownership, which is a 
misdemeanor.
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Display of Numbers and Decals
Registered OHVs must display the current registration number and decal(s) 
on a plate as indicated below. The plate and decal must be maintained in a 
clear and legible condition.

Registration plate must be: 
 • At least 4 inches high and 71⁄2 inches long.
 • Clearly visible on the back of the vehicle.
 • At least 12 inches from the ground.

Registration letters and numbers must be:
 • At least 11⁄2 inches high with a 3⁄16‑inch stroke.
 • In English and placed from left to right.
 • In a color that contrasts with the background of the plate.

Public use or collector registration. The decal must be 
displayed in the upper left section of the plate. ATVs 25 years 
and older do not need to be registered (see page 11).

Private use only registration. The decal must be displayed 
in the upper right section of the plate. No numbers are 
needed for this type of registration.

Both public and private use registration. The public use 
decal and private use decal must be displayed in the 
appropriate section of the plate.

OHMs licensed in Minnesota for roadway use and 
registered for off‑road use must display the OHM decal in the 
upper left corner of the rear regular motorcycle license plate. 
The DNR registration number should not be displayed.

OHMs registered only for off‑road use must display the current 
registration decal on the side of the OHM so it is visible while the 
rider is on the OHM. It may be attached to the fork tube.

ORV registered only for off‑road use must display the 
current decal in the upper left corner on a plate at least 
4 inches high and 71⁄2 inches long. No registration number 
should be displayed.  

ORVs licensed in Minnesota for roadway use and registered 
for off‑road use must display the ORV decal in the upper 
left corner of the regular rear motor vehicle license plate. 
The DNR registration number should not be displayed.
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Registration Fees
All‑terrain Vehicle Registration Fees

TYPE OF TRANSACTION FEE ISSUING 
FEE

DURATION

New (unregistered) 60.00 8.50 3 calendar years
Renewal only 60.00 6.00 3 calendar years
Transfer only 4.00 8.50
Renewal and transfer 64.00 8.50
Duplicate registration card 4.00 6.00
Duplicate registration decal only 0.00 6.00
Dealer’s registration 50.00 8.50 1 year
Dealer’s registration renewal 50.00 6.00 1 year
Manufacturer’s registration 150.00 8.50 1 year
Manufacturer’s registration 
renewal

150.00 6.00 1 year

Nonresident trail pass 30.00 1.00 1 year
Duplicate nonresident trail pass 2.00 .50
New collector ATV 6.00 8.50 Non‑expiring
Duplicate collector ATV 4.00 6.00
Transfer only 4.00 8.50
Renewal and transfer 34.00 8.50
Duplicate registration card 4.00 6.00
Duplicate registration decal only 0.00 6.00
Dealer’s registration 50.00 8.50 1 year
Dealer’s registration renewal 50.00 6.00 1 year
Manufacturer’s registration 150.00 8.50 1 year
Manufacturer’s registration 
renewal

150.00 6.00 1 year
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Private/Agricultural Registration Fees

TYPE OF TRANSACTION FEE ISSUING 
FEE

DURATION

New (unregistered) 6.00 8.50
Duplicate registration card 4.00 6.00
Duplicate registration decal only 0.00 6.00

Off‑road Vehicle Registration Fees
TYPE OF TRANSACTION FEE ISSUING 

FEE
DURATION

New (unregistered) 30.00 8.50 3 calendar years
Renewal only 30.00 6.00 3 calendar years
30‑day resident trail pass 20.00 1.00 30 consecutive 

days
One‑year nonresident trail pass 20.00 1.00 1 year
Three‑year nonresident trail pass 30.00 1.00 3 years
Duplicate 4.00 .50

Off‑highway Motorcycle Registration Fees
TYPE OF TRANSACTION FEE ISSUING 

FEE
DURATION

New (unregistered) 30.00 8.50 3 calendar years
Renewal only 30.00 6.00 3 calendar years
Transfer only 4.00 8.50
Renewal and transfer 34.00 8.50
Duplicate registration card 4.00 6.00
Duplicate registration decal only 0.00 6.00
Dealer’s registration 50.00 8.50 1 year
Dealer’s registration renewal 50.00 6.00 1 year
Manufacturer’s registration 150.00 8.50 1 year
Manufacturer’s registration 
renewal

150.00 6.00 1 year

One‑year nonresident trail pass 20.00 1.00 1 year
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NONRESIDENT TRAIL PASSES 
REQUIRED FOR ATV, OHM AND ORV
 • A trail pass is required for nonresidents operating an ATV, OHM or ORV 

that is not registered in Minnesota on state or grant‑in‑aid trails.

 • The ATV or OHM trail pass must be available for inspection when 
requested by a law enforcement officer.

 • The ORV trail pass must be displayed on the vehicle where it is readily visible.

 • Nonresidents do NOT need a pass if operating on a portion of an ATV, 
OHM or ORV trail that is owned by the person or the person’s spouse, 
child, or parent, or if the ATV, OHM or ORV is registered in Minnesota.

 • Duplicate nonresident ATV, OHM and ORV trail passes are available.

 • Nonresident trail passes can be purchased online (an additional 3% plus 
$1.65 service fee will be added), or at game and fish license agents, and 
deputy registrar offices.

GENERAL OPERATIONS OF ATVS, 
OHMS AND ORVS
The following regulations apply to all‑terrain vehicles, off‑highway motorcycles, 
and off‑road vehicles. Specific laws to operation for each of these vehicle types 
can be found in the ATV, OHM and ORV sections of this booklet.

Required Equipment
The following are required for all off‑highway vehicles operated on public 
lands, waters, trails, and public streets and roads open to vehicle use:

Brakes 
Brakes must control movement and stop and hold the vehicle.

Throttle 
Throttle must return the engine to idle when pressure to advance the 
throttle is removed.

Mufflers
 • Mufflers must have a federally approved spark arrestor.

 • Overall noise emission from ATVs and ORVs may not exceed 
99 decibels at a distance of 20 inches.
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 • OHMs that are not competition cycles, and were manufactured in or 
after 1986, may not exceed noise emissions of 96 decibels at a distance 
of 20 inches.

 • Mufflers may not be altered to increase motor noise, or have a cutout, 
bypass, or similar device except if used at organized events.

Towing
 • A straight‑arm bar must be used to tow a trailer or other device 

containing passengers.

 • A disabled vehicle being towed may contain a person to steer.

 • At least 16 square inches of reflective material that is unobstructed and visible 
must be mounted on each side and at the rear of a trailer or other device.

Operating Restrictions
Public Road Right‑of‑Way and Crossing Public Roads
A valid driver’s license is required to operate anywhere it is legal on road 
rights‑of‑way, including ditches, inside and outside slopes, and crossing 
roads. Youth ages 1215 may operate an ATV on a roadway with a valid ATV 
safety certificate and accompanied by a parent or legal guardian on a 
separate ATV. 

The only exception is that OHV riding may be permitted on grant‑in‑aid 
trails that include portions of the public road right‑of‑way when signed for 
that vehicle type. OHMs, ORVs and Class 2 ATVs cannot be operated in 
the road ditch bottom or outside slope unless on a trail designated for that 
specific vehicle type. See Class 2 ATV operating exceptions. Public road 
right‑of‑way means the entire right‑of‑way.
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Agricultural Zone Restriction
You may not drive an ATV within the right‑of‑way (ditch) of a state or 
county road from April 1 to August 1 in the agricultural zone. This does not 
apply to grant‑in‑aid trails or to Class 1 ATVs registered and used exclusively 
for agricultural purposes. Class 2 ATVs cannot be operated in ditches. See 
Class 2 ATV operating exceptions August 1 to April 1 (page 32).

The Minnesota agricultural zone is 
the area lying south and west of a 
line formed by the following highway 
rights‑of‑way: starting at the North 
Dakota border, the line goes east along 
U.S. Highway 10 to State Highway 23, 
then follows Highway 23 east to State 
Highway 95 to the Wisconsin border. 
The agricultural zone does not include 
the rights‑of‑way of these boundary 
highways, and applies only to Class 1 
ATV use.

You May NOT Ride:
 • On the median of a four‑lane highway.

 • Within the right‑of‑way of any interstate highway or freeway. 

 • On the right‑of‑way between opposing lanes of traffic.

 • On grant‑in‑aid snowmobile trails. 

 • On designated non‑motorized trails. 

 • At airports.

 • Below the ordinary high‑water level of unfrozen public waters that are 
lakes, streams, rivers, and certain wetlands, or in calcareous fens.

 • On any frozen public waters where you don’t have legal access or where 
it is prohibited.

 • In any area restricted by local ordinances. 

 • In a tree nursery or planting area.

 • On state forest lands that are posted or designated closed to motorized uses. 

 • On agricultural land without permission.
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 • In most state parks, state recreation areas, state historic sites, wildlife 
management areas (WMAs), state scientific and natural areas (SNAs) 
with the exception of posted trails and areas. OHV use is prohibited 
on WMAs, except OHVs that are licensed highway motor vehicles may 
be operated on established roads at speeds up to 20 miles per hour in 
the following WMAs: Carlos Avery, Hubbel Pond, Mille Lacs, Red Lake, 
Roseau River, and Thief Lake.

Also see ATV, OHM and ORV general operations restrictions in this booklet.

Other Prohibitions
You may NOT:
 • Operate an OHV in a careless, reckless or negligent manner that 

endangers another person or property.

 • Litter.

 • Enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence.

 • Mutilate, destroy, damage or remove any property within a trail or on 
state land.

 • Post, damage or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you are 
the landowner, occupant or lessee of the property.

OHVs and Wetland Disturbance
You may NOT operate an OHV in a manner to:
 • Indicate a willful, wanton or reckless disregard for the safety of persons 

or property.

 • Carelessly upset the natural and ecological balance of a wetland or 
public waters wetland.

 • Impact a wetland or public waters wetland in excess of minimum 
amounts established by law.

There are increased penalties for OHV wetland disturbance. Conviction 
may be a gross misdemeanor and the OHV (ATV, OHM and ORV) may be 
forfeited. Wetland restrictions apply to private land as well as public land, 
and vary by area of the state and other criteria.

Don’t Speed
Never operate an off‑highway vehicle at a speed greater than is reasonable 
under all of the surrounding circumstances or greater than the posted 
speed limit on any public lands, waters, trails, or public road rights‑of‑way. 
Watch for and obey speed limit signs posted on trails. Speed limits may be 
waived in writing by the DNR for an organized race or competitive event. 
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When Trail Riding…
 • Obey all trail signs.

 • All designated trails are two‑way unless posted otherwise. One‑way 
trails must be traveled in the direction indicated.

 • Stay to the right when meeting or being passed by another trail user.

 • Pass on the left. When passing another trail user you must pass on the 
left half of the tread‑way and only when the trail is free from oncoming 
traffic to safely pass the other trail user.

 • Yield to non‑motorized trail users and shut off your engine when 
meeting a horse until the horse has passed or until waved on.

 • When entering or crossing a trail you must yield to trail traffic. When 
two trail users are about to enter an unmarked tread‑way intersection 
from different directions, the trail user to the right has the right‑of‑way.

Where Can You Ride?
In the Seven‑County Metro Area
In Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and Washington 
counties, you MAY ride OHVs on:
 • Your own land.

 • Land other than your own with written or verbal permission of the 
landowner, occupant or lessee.

 • Land posted with signs specifically permitting the use of OHVs.

You MAY NOT ride OHVs on land you do not own unless given written or 
verbal permission by the owner, occupant or lessee.

Land uses vary. Be sure to check federal, state and local regulations for 
specific restrictions.

Outside of the Seven‑County Metro Area
You MAY ride OHVs on:
 • Private land with the landowner’s permission.

 • Frozen public waters where you have legal access, if not restricted by 
law or local ordinance.

 • Public lands and trails that are open to OHVs. 

You MAY NOT ride on land where you have been told verbally, in writing, or 
by posted signs, not to ride.
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Check for Other Government Regulations or Ordinances
Cities, towns, counties, and road authorities may further regulate the 
operation of off‑highway vehicles under their jurisdiction. A county, city or 
town may by ordinance allow operation of an all‑terrain vehicle on a public 
road or street under its jurisdiction to access businesses and residences and 
to make trail connections. Check with the appropriate unit of government 
for additional regulations or restrictions.

The U.S. Forest Service, the National Park Service, and the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service regulate motor vehicle use on federal lands. Check with the 
managing agency before riding on these lands.

STATE FOREST LANDS
Minnesota state forests have been classified into three groupings for 
off‑highway and motor vehicle use: Managed, Limited and Closed. For a 
complete listing of state forest classifications see page 24. You can ride 
your OHV on state forest roads and trails in accordance with state forest 
motor vehicle use classifications and regulations.
 • In managed state forests north of U.S. Highway. 2, OHVs may operate 

on mapped trails and other existing routes that are not gated or 
posted “Closed.”

 • In both managed and limited state forests, forest roads are open to 
OHV use unless posted “Closed.”

 • In limited state forests, OHV operation is allowed only on signed and 
mapped routes that are open for that type of OHV use. For example, 
trails can be designated for ATV, OHM, and/or ORV use.

Seasonal or Temporary Road and Trail Closures
Closures may be imposed at any time due to trail repairs, wet soil 
conditions, logging operations, or other natural resource protection or 
public safety concerns. Most often, closures happen during spring thaw or 
following a heavy summer rainfall. Closures are unpredictable, so always 
check www.mndnr.gov/ohv before you ride (updated Thursdays after 
2 p.m.). State forest trails close during hunting season; see page 23. 

Events on State Forest Lands
The DNR may provide temporary exceptions to the general rules for a 
specific state park, forest campground, forest day‑use area, or state forest 
lands for emergencies or authorized special events. Notice of the exception 

http://WWW.mndnr.gov/ohv
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will be plainly posted at the site. To hold a special event on state forest lands, 
a permit is required. Contact the Minnesota DNR Information Center to 
request a permit or for more information.

Where You May Ride
In a managed forest: On all state forest roads, trails and non‑designated 
routes unless posted “Closed.”

In a limited forest: On forest roads and on trails designated and signed to 
permit specific motor vehicle use and on trails specifically designated and 
signed for a vehicle type. For example, trails can be designated for ATV, 
OHM, and/or ORV use.

In a closed forest: On frozen public waters. 

In the Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest: On trails designated 
and signed “Open.”

Where You May NOT Ride
 • In a state forest classified as “Closed.”

 • Within the boundaries of an area that is posted and designated as 
“Closed.”

 • On designated non‑motorized trails unless also posted “Open” for a 
specific motorized use.

 • Off of routes, roads and designated trails except when hunter/trapper 
exception applies. (See the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations 
Booklet at www.mndnr.gov/regulations for more information).

 • On forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or rutting or that 
damages or destroys trees or growing crops (the rutting provision does 
not apply on designated motorized trails).

 • On or over lakes, rivers or streams except:
 › When the water body is ice‑covered.

 › At a bridge, culvert or designated low‑water crossing.

 • During deer hunting season, you may NOT ride on state forest trails in 
areas of the state where deer may be taken by rifle, unless you possess 
a deer hunting license. State forest roads remain open.

Off‑road or Off‑trail Travel 
Traveling off roads and trails is PROHIBITED on state lands. See Big Game 
Hunting/Trapping Exceptions, page 23.

http://www.mndnr.gov/regulations
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Big Game Hunting/Trapping Exceptions
Persons with a valid hunting, trapping, or commercial license in 
possession may:

Travel off road and off trail in Class 1 ATVs to:
 1. Retrieve big game (Sept. ‑ Dec.).

 2. Hunt for big game and construct stands (Oct. ‑ Dec.).

 3. Trap during the open season for protected furbearers.

 4. Trap for minnows under certain conditions.

Persons with a valid hunting, trapping or commercial license in possession 
may use Class 2 ATVs, ORVs and highway‑licensed vehicles (HLVs) to 
travel on:
 1. Forest trails designated for ORV use.

 2. A route not designated for other uses or posted “Closed” in managed 
forests. See Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook at 
www.mndnr.gov/regulations for more information.

Firearms Deer Hunting
On public lands a person possessing a valid deer license may operate an 
off‑highway vehicle during the firearms deer season only:
 • Before legal shooting hours ( 1⁄2 hour before sunrise).

 • From 11 a.m. until 2 p.m.

 • After legal shooting hours ( 1⁄2 hour after sunset).

Areas With Limitations
The big game hunter/trapper exceptions do not apply in areas signed and 
mapped as “No Motorized Travel.” It also does not apply within the Richard 
J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood State Forest.

Other Restrictions and Prohibitions
 • Unauthorized trail construction is NOT allowed on state forest lands.

 • Motor vehicles must be operated in a manner that does not cause 
damage to the road, land or other natural resources. Motor vehicle use 
causing erosion, rutting or damage to trees is prohibited.

 • In Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood State Forest, motor vehicles 
may operate ONLY on forest roads that are not posted “Closed” and on 
forest trails that are designated for motorized use.

http://www.mndnr.gov/regulations
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State Forest Classifications
Some state forests have more than one motor vehicle use classification and 
are listed below more than once. 

State Forests Classified as “Closed”
Battleground
Birch Lakes
Buena Vista (portions)
Burntside (portions)
Cloquet Valley (portions)
Finland (portions)
George Washington (portions)
Insula Lake

Lake Isabella
Lake Jeanette (portions)
Pillsbury
Sand Dunes
Snake River (portions)
Welsh Lake
Whiteface River

State Forests Classified as “Limited”
Badoura
Bear Island
Bowstring
Buena Vista (portions)
Burntside (portions)
Chengwatana
Cloquet Valley (portions)
Crow Wing
Daughters of the American 

Revolution
Emily
Finland (portions)
Fond Du Lac
Foothills
General C.C. Andrews
George Washington (portions)
Golden Anniversary
Grand Portage (portions)
Hill River
Huntersville

Lake Jeanette (portions)
Land O’ Lakes
Lyons
Mississippi Headwaters
Nemadji
Pat Bayle
Paul Bunyan
R.J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood
Remer
Rum River
St. Croix
Savanna
Smoky Hills
Snake River (portions)
Solana
Sturgeon River (portions)
Two Inlets
Wealthwood
White Earth
Waukenabo
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State Forests Classified as “Managed”
Beltrami Island
Big Fork
Blackduck
Cloquet Valley (portions)
Finland (portions)
George Washington (portions)
Grand Portage (portions)
Kabetogama

Koochiching
Lake of the Woods
Lost River
Northwest Angle
Pine Island
Red Lake
Smokey Bear
Sturgeon River (portions)

NATIONAL FOREST LANDS
National forest lands in Minnesota are open to many public uses including 
camping, hunting, fishing, trapping, snowmobiling, and OHV riding. State 
of Minnesota regulations regarding boating, fishing, hunting, ATV or 
snowmobile operation apply on national forest lands. The Motor Vehicle 
Use Map (MVUM) is the legal guide for motor vehicle use on the national 
forests. The MVUM is updated annually and available at no charge at the 
forest supervisor or ranger district offices.

You may ride an OHV and highway‑licensed vehicles (HLV) on national 
forest roads or trails designated open to these uses on the MVUM map.

You may NOT ride on national forest roads that are signed, gated, bermed 
with dirt, rocks, trees, etc., or not designated “Open” on the MVUM map.

For Information About National Forests, Contact: 
Chippewa National Forest
218‑335‑8600
www.fs.usda.gov/chippewa

Superior National Forest
218‑626‑4300
www.fs.usda.gov/superior 

COUNTY FOREST LANDS
Counties may have adopted different regulations on county administered 
land within state forest boundaries. For information on regulations, roads 
and trails on county land, please contact that county directly.

http://www.fs.usda.gov/chippewa
http://www.fs.usda.gov/superior
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ENFORCEMENT
Conservation officers, deputy sheriffs, police officers, and state troopers 
all enforce off‑highway vehicle rules. You must stop when signaled by a law 
enforcement officer.

Odometer Tampering 
It is unlawful to knowingly tamper with an OHV odometer with the intent 
to defraud by reflecting a lower mileage than the true mileage, the same as 
other motor vehicles.

Penalties
 • Fleeing a law enforcement officer on an OHV is a felony and may result 

in the forfeiture of the OHV.

 • A violation of an ATV, OHM or ORV law is a misdemeanor.

 • Most operation, registration and trespass violations also can be enforced 
by issuing a civil citation and can include restitution. Fines for second or 
subsequent violations in wetlands, including the use of snorkel devices or 
for careless or reckless operation, can be more than double.

 • Carelessly and recklessly upsetting the natural and ecological balance 
of a wetland is a gross misdemeanor, and the vehicle may be forfeited 
upon a second gross misdemeanor of this type.

Violator Suspension and Training
ATV operators who receive a ticket and are convicted of violating any law 
related to ATV operation are required to complete the Minnesota DNR 
ATV online course. An ATV operator, who is convicted of a careless or 
reckless offense, or for a second or subsequent offense, must complete the 
Minnesota DNR ATV online course in addition to the ATV safety hands‑on 
course component.

In addition to the training requirements listed here, operating privileges are 
automatically suspended for one year for:
 • Conviction for carelessly and recklessly upsetting the natural and 

ecological balance of a wetland (gross misdemeanor violation).

 • Operation on unfrozen public water, or in a state park, SNA, or WMA.

 • Willful, wanton or reckless disregard for the safety of persons or 
property.

 • Carelessly upsetting the natural and ecological balance of a wetland or 
public waters wetland.
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Continued…

Reporting Stolen, Abandoned or Destroyed Vehicles
A registered off‑highway vehicle that is abandoned, stolen or destroyed 
must be reported to the DNR License Center within 15 days. No fee is 
charged for reporting the vehicle.

Accident Reports
To report an OHV violation or an accident, call 911. The OHV operator and 
the officer investigating an OHV accident must file a written report to 
the DNR within 10 days if the accident resulted in a human injury requiring 
medical attention, hospitalization or death; or total damage of $300 or 
more for ORVs, or $500 or more for ATVs and OHMs. Accident reports 
are available by calling the DNR or online at: www.mndnr.gov/enforcement.

Operating While Intoxicated
Operating an off‑highway vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, a 
controlled substance, or other hazardous substance is unlawful.

Operators who are impaired may be required to submit to tests by a law 
enforcement officer. Refusal to submit to the test is a crime and the 
person’s operating privileges will be suspended for one year.

Off‑highway vehicle DWI convictions and refusals are recorded on the 
violator’s driver’s license record and may affect their driver’s license 
privileges. An operator, who is found to be impaired or has an alcohol 
concentration of .08 or more, can be charged with a misdemeanor, gross 
misdemeanor, or felony level DWI.

Persons convicted of a DWI may be subject to one or more of the following:
 • Fines; jail time; loss of OHV operating privileges.

 • Forfeiture of the OHV.

 • Loss of motor vehicle driver’s license privileges and motor vehicle plate 
impoundment.

New effective August 1, 2018
If you are convicted or refuse chemical testing—regardless of what 
vehicle type you are driving—your driver’s license is revoked and your ATV, 
snowmobile, and motorboat privileges are all suspended for a year.

If you test .08 or more—regardless of what vehicle type you are driving—
your driver’s license is revoked.

If it’s your first DWI offense and you are operating an ATV or other off‑
road recreational vehicle you are also subject to chemical use assessments, 

http://www.mndnr.gov/enforcement
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conditional release, and plate impoundment of your highway licensed 
vehicles—the same as a DWI on a highway licensed vehicle.

The underage not‑a‑drop provisions in the DWI laws now apply to ATVs and 
other off‑road recreational vehicles. Your driver’s license and operating 
privileges for highway vehicles will be revoked.

Open Bottle Law
It is unlawful for a person to drink or consume alcoholic beverages when an 
OHV is operated on a roadway or shoulder of a roadway that is not a part of 
a designated trail for that vehicle type.

Trespass
ASK FIRST. You must have permission to enter legally posted land or 
agricultural land. Trespass laws apply to all outdoor recreation, including 
off‑highway vehicle riding. Further information on trespass laws can be 
found in the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook at
www.mndnr.gov/regulations.
You may NOT:
 • Wound or kill another person’s domestic animal.

 • Destroy private property.

 • Pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position.

 • Stray off marked state trails.

Agricultural land is broadly defined. All planted grassland, hay land and 
short‑rotation woody cropland also meet the definition of agricultural 
land. These lands do not need to be posted. Entering without permission is 
trespassing.

OHV Riding Restrictions During Deer Hunting Season
OHV trails and routes on state forest lands are closed to ALL recreational 
off‑highway vehicle riding (ATV, OHM and ORV) during firearms deer 
season where deer may be taken by rifle in Hunting Zone A, Series 100 and 
portions of Series 200. See the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations 
Handbook at www.mndnr.gov/regulations for current dates and zones. 
Persons possessing a valid deer license may use an ATV in these areas ONLY 
between 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. and before and after legal shooting time. Forest 
roads remain OPEN to OHV use. See page 23.

http://www.mndnr.gov/regulations
http://www.mndnr.gov/regulations
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ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES
Youth operation of a Class 1 or Class 2 ATV
The owner or adult in control of an ATV is legally responsible to ensure it is 
operated according to the following requirements:
 • Anyone born after July 1, 1987, who is age 12 or older, must have a valid 

ATV Safety Certificate to operate on public lands, trails, and frozen 
waters and when crossing road rights‑of‑way. Proof of completing an 
ATV safety course that includes a riding class component offered by 
the ATV Safety Institute (ASI) or another state is adequate to meet the 
safety certificate requirements of Minnesota.

 • Youth under age 16 must have permission from their parent or guardian 
to operate an ATV.

 • Youth under age 16 may not operate an ATV on public lands or water, or on 
state or grant‑in‑aid trails, if the person cannot properly reach and control 
the handlebars and reach the foot pegs while sitting upright on the seat. 

 • Anyone under age 18 must wear an approved helmet while operating or 
riding on public lands, trails, and frozen waters and when crossing road 
rights‑of‑way. See definition of “Approved Helmet” (page 3).

ATV Operators and Passengers
As an operator age 12 to 17, you may carry one passenger on a Class 1 ATV 
only if the passenger is your parent or legal guardian.

As an operator age 18 or older, you may carry:
 • One passenger on a Class 1 ATV.

 • A passenger, or up to the number of passengers for which a Class 2 ATV 
was designed.

As a passenger under age 18, you must:
 • Wear an approved helmet when riding on public lands or waters, or 

a public road right‑of‑way (see page 3 for definition of “Approved 
Helmet”).

 • Wear a seat belt if provided by the manufacturer when riding on public 
lands or waters, or a public road right‑of‑way.

Youth Class 1 ATV Operation
In addition to the above, youth:
 • Under age 10 may operate only on private property with permission of 

the owner.



2018-2019 OHV Regulations | 888-MINNDNR30

 • Ages 10 and 11 may operate only on private property with permission 
of the owner, except an ATV with a straddle seat up to 110cc or up to 
170cc with side‑by‑side seating on public lands and frozen waters if 
accompanied by parent or legal guardian.

 • Ages 12 through 15 may operate:
 › On public lands and frozen waters and make direct crossing of 

roadways with a valid safety certificate if accompanied on another 
ATV by a person age 18 or older who has a valid driver’s license.

 › On the bank, slope, ditch of a public road right‑of‑way or roadway 
open by local ordinance with a valid ATV Safety Certificate when 
accompanied by a parent or legal guardian on a separate ATV.

 • Ages 16 and 17 must have a valid driver’s license and ATV Safety 
Certificate to make a direct crossing of a roadway or operate on road 
rights‑of‑way or roadway open by local ordinance.

Youth Class 2 ATV Operation
Anyone under age 15 may NOT operate a Class 2 ATV anywhere.

In addition to the information at the top of page 29, youth age 15 with a 
valid ATV Safety Certificate may operate a Class 2:
 • On the right shoulder or the extreme right‑hand side of public roads 

when accompanied by a parent or legal guardian on a separate ATV.

 • On public lands and frozen waters and make direct crossing of roadways 
if accompanied on another ATV by a person age 18 or older who has a 
valid driver’s license.

 • In road right‑of‑way of a trunk, county state‑aid, or county highway but 
only to access businesses or make trail connections. A left turn may be 
made if it is safe to do so.

Youth ages 16 to 17 must have a valid driver’s license to make a direct 
crossing of a roadway or operate on road rights‑of‑way.

Nonresident ATV Operators
A nonresident trail pass must be in possession to operate an ATV on state 
or grant‑in‑aid trails. The trail pass does not need to be displayed, but must 
be avail able for inspection when requested by an officer. The pass is NOT 
required if the nonresident operator is driving an ATV that is registered 
in Minnesota. Proof of completion of the ATV Rider Course offered by 
the ATV Safety Institute (ASI) is adequate to meet the safety certificate 
requirements of  Minnesota.
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ATV Safety Training Requirements 
(Minnesota Residents and Nonresidents)
ATV safety training is recommended for everyone who operates an ATV.  
An individual who was born after July 1, 1987, and who is age 16 or older, 
must successfully complete the independent study course component 
of all‑terrain vehicle safety training before operating an all‑terrain 
vehicle on public lands or waters, public road rights‑of‑way, or state or 
grant‑in‑aid trails.

To operate an ATV on public lands or frozen water or on state or 
grant‑in‑aid trails, youth under age 16 must be supervised by a person 
age 18 or older, and, while sitting upright, be able to:
 • Reach and control the handlebars and reach the foot pegs on an ATV up 

to 110cc with straddle‑style seating.

 • Reach and control the steering wheel and operate the foot controls of 
an ATV up to 170cc with side‑by‑side‑style seating, with the seat belt 
fully engaged.

There is an exception for youth ages 10 or 11 to operate an ATV up to 110cc 
with straddle‑style seating, or up to 170cc with a steering wheel and foot 
controls, on public lands or frozen waters if accompanied by parent or 
legal guardian.

The Minnesota DNR ATV Safety class covers basic operation, common 
parts and controls, operating safely and responsibly, trail riding, rules and 
laws, riding skills, and protecting the environment.

Youth ages 6 to 15 will need to complete the two‑step process to ATV 
Safety Certification:
 Step 1: Complete the ATV online course.
 Step 2: Attend a hands‑on ATV course.

Find the online ATV training course link and a schedule of hands‑on courses 
at www.mndnr.gov/atv. Click on Education and Safety, and then under 
recreational vehicle safety classes, find and click ATV Safety to find the 
Hands‑on ATV Course calendar.

ATV Safety Course Website
 www.atvcourse.com (Course fee $24.95)

Hands‑on ATV Course Details 
 • Additional fees may apply when attending the hands‑on ATV course. 

Contact the lead ATV instructor.

 • Youth ages 6 to 11 must have a parent or guardian present at the 
hands‑on ATV course.

http://www.mndnr.gov/atv
http://www.atvcourse.com
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Online ATV Training Requirement for Age 16 and Older
Anyone born after July 1, 1987, and who is 16 years or older must 
successfully complete the online ATV Safety Training before operating an 
ATV on public lands, frozen waters, public road rights‑of‑way, or state or 
grant‑in‑aid trails. Not required to attend the hands‑on ATV course.

Alternate ATV Safety Training Certification
Proof of completing an ATV safety course that includes a riding component 
offered by the ATV Safety Institute (ASI) or proof of completing ATV 
safety in another state is adequate to meet the ATV safety certification 
requirements of Minnesota.

For information about safety training classes, call the DNR Safety Training 
Program at 800‑366‑8917 or go to www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/atv.

ATV General Operations
A valid driver’s license is required to operate an ATV on a road right‑of‑way, 
except when on a designated trail that includes a road right‑of‑way. 

A person with a valid driver’s license may operate a Class 1 ATV:
 • Registered for private use and being used for agricultural purposes on 

a public right‑of‑way of a trunk, county, state aid, or county highway, 
if the ATV is on the extreme right side of the road. A left turn may be 
made if it is safe to do so.

 • On the far right side of a township road, unless prohibited by local 
regulations. If traveling at a slower speed than other traffic on the 
township road, the ATV should be driven as close as practical to the 
right edge of the road.

 • On a bridge, a roadway shoulder, or the inside bank of a public 
road right‑of‑way if necessary to avoid obstructions to travel or 
environmentally sensitive areas. You must remain in the farthest right 
lane, enter the roadway within 100 feet of the bridge, obstacle, or area, 
and make the crossing without delay.

A person with a valid drivers license may operate a Class 2 ATV:
 • On private land.

 • On frozen lake surfaces.

 • On state forest roads.

 • On the shoulder or extreme right side of county roads and on the right 
side of township roads and city streets—if not prohibited by the road 
authority or other local laws.

http://www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/atv
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 • On designated Class 2 trails and use areas.

 • In road right‑of‑way of a trunk, county state‑aid, or county highway but 
only to access businesses or make trail connections. A left turn may be 
made if it is safe to do so.

Lights
Turn your lights on for safety and to obey the law. If your ATV is equipped 
with a headlight and taillight, they must be on at all times when operating 
the ATV.

ATV Operation Don’ts
You may NOT:
 • Cross a bridge that is part of the traveled lanes of an interstate highway.

 • Operate an ATV on controlled access/freeway portions of state 
highways.

 • Exceed 10 mph on the frozen surface of public waters within 100 feet of 
another person who is not on an ATV (including people that are fishing) 
or within 100 feet of a fish house or other shelter.

 • Operate an ATV on grant‑in‑aid snowmobile and non‑motorized trails 
closed to ATVs unless specifically allowed.

 • Operate an ATV with a snorkel device that has a raised air intake 
6 inches or more above the manufacturer’s original air intake. 
Exception: ATVs with snorkel devices may be operated within the Iron 
Range OHV State Recreation Area and other designated public OHV 
recreation areas.

 • Operate a Class 1 ATV within the right‑of‑way, including the ditch, 
of a state or county road from April 1 to August 1 in the Minnesota 
agricultural zone (see page 18). This does not apply to Class 1 ATVs 
registered and used for agricultural purposes. 

 • Operate a Class 2 ATV in a ditch.



2018-2019 OHV Regulations | 888-MINNDNR34

ATV Fit Law—One Size Does Not Fit All!
To operate an ATV on public lands or frozen waters, or on state or 
grant‑in‑aid trails, operators under age 16 must:
 • Be able to properly reach and control the handlebars and reach the foot 

pegs while sitting upright on an ATV with straddle‑style seating.

 • Be able to properly reach and control the steering wheel and foot 
controls of a Class 1 ATV with side‑by‑side‑style seating while sitting 
upright in the seat with the seatbelt fully engaged.

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission Guidelines for 
Straddle Machines

Seat clearance: There should be a minimum 
of 3 inches between operator and the ATV 
seat. Proper clearance enables the operator to 
maintain balance on the foot rests when riding 
over rough terrain. Maintaining balance prevents 
the operator from falling off or being thrown 
from the machine.

Upper legs: While seated, the operator’s upper 
legs should be horizontal (parallel to the ground).

Arm length: While seated on the machine 
and gripping the handle bar, there should be a 
distinct bend in the arm at the elbow. Without it, 
there will not be sufficient reach to properly grip 
the handlebars when turning and riding.

Hand size: With the hand gripping the handle bar, 
extend the fingers to the brake lever. The first 
joint of the index finger should extend beyond 
the brake lever. If it doesn’t, then the hand is too 
small to safely operate the brake. Also, check to 
see that the arm length is sufficient to properly 
operate the brake lever and throttle while the 
handlebars are turned to the far left and right.

No ATV Registration or Nonresident ATV 
Trail Pass Weekend
Free Riding Weekend—ATV registration and nonresident ATV trail passes will 
not be required to ride on state and grant‑in‑aid trails on June 7‑9, 2019.
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Continued…

OFF-HIGHWAY MOTORCYCLES
OHM Youth Operators
Helmets
Operators under age 18 are required to wear a helmet when operating 
on public lands, frozen waters, and road rights‑of‑way. See page 5 for the 
definition of an “Approved Helmet.”

Under Age 12 
 • Must wear eye protection and an approved helmet.

 • Must have in possession a valid OHM safety certificate when operating 
on public lands and frozen waters.

 • May NOT make a direct crossing of a public road right‑of‑way.

 • May NOT operate OHM on a public road or public road right‑of‑way.

 • May NOT operate OHM on public lands or frozen public waters 
unless accompanied by a person age 18 or older. Exception: an 
operator participating in a DNR permitted event is not required to be 
accompanied by an adult.

Under Age 16
 • Must wear eye protection and an approved helmet.

 • Must have in possession a valid OHM safety certificate when operating 
on public lands, frozen waters, and public road rights‑of‑way.

 • May make a direct crossing of a public road (except an interstate highway) 
if accompanied by a person age 18 or older with a valid driver’s license.

Ages 16 and 17
  • Must wear eye protection and an approved helmet when operating on 

public lands, frozen waters, and public road rights‑of‑way. 

 • Must have a valid driver’s license to operate an OHM on a public 
roadway, and the motorcycle must be licensed for highway use. 
(A driver’s license is not required on designated trails when the trail 
specifically includes the road right‑of‑way.)

OHM Nonresident Youth Operators 
Nonresidents under age 16 may operate an OHM on public lands or frozen 
waters if they have in possession proof of completing an OHM safety 
course offered by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) Dirtbike 
School, or another state and are accompanied by a person age 18 or older 
who has a valid driver’s license.
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OHM Safety Training Requirement
OHM operators under age 16 are required to have in possession an OHM 
safety certificate to operate on public lands, frozen waters, and state or 
grant‑in‑aid trails in Minnesota. The Minnesota DNR OHM Safety course 
includes information on: basic operation, common parts and controls, 
operating safely and responsibly, trail riding, rules and laws, riding skills 
and protecting the environment.

For more information, call the DNR Safety Training Program at 
800‑366‑8917 or go to www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/ohm.

OHM General Operations
 • You may NOT operate an OHM in ditches, unless it is a trail designated 

for OHM use. OHMs registered for highway use may operate on 
roadways.

 • A valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement is required to 
operate anywhere on road rights‑of‑way, including crossing roads. 
The only exception would be on portions of a designated trail that 
specifically include a road right‑of‑way.

 • Your OHM must have a headlight, taillight and brakes to be operated 
on a public road. The lights must be on while operating on a trunk, 
county, state aid, or county highway; or when crossing a public road 
right‑of‑way, 1⁄2 hour after sunset to 1⁄2 hour before sunrise; or in 
conditions of reduced visibility.

 • You must wear eye protection when operating an OHM.

 • You may NOT exceed 10 mph on the frozen surface of public waters 
within 100 feet of a person fishing or a fish house or other shelter.

 • Sound levels for OHMs manufactured after 1986 may not exceed 
96 decibels when operated on public lands.

http://www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/ohm
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OFF-ROAD VEHICLES
ORV Education and Safety Training
An ORV environmental and safety training flash drive course is available 
for persons age 16 or older. The course covers ORV familiarization, 
operating procedures, law, towing procedures, ethics, safety hazards, 
and environmental considerations. It is not required by law to take the 
course, but it is highly recommended. The cost is $15.00. For more 
information, call the DNR Safety Training Program at 800‑366‑8917 
or go to www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/orv.

ORV Youth Operators
A person under 16 years of age may not operate an ORV. The owner of 
an ORV may not allow it to be operated by a person under age 16.

ORV General Operations
 • All ORV passengers and operators must wear seat belts.

 • A valid driver’s license is required to cross roads. The only exception 
would be for those portions of a designated trail that specifically include 
a road right‑of‑way.

 • ORVs are required to have lights on while crossing public roads 
1⁄2 hour after sunset to 1⁄2 hour before sunrise, and during periods 
of reduced visibility.

 • You may operate on state forest roads, trails and lands as described on 
pages 21‑25.

 • You may not operate an ORV within the right‑of‑way of an 
interstate highway, or within a public road right‑of‑way, except on 
a designated trail.

ORV Registration Free Day at the Iron Range 
OHV Recreation Area
On May 18, 2019, the Iron Range Off‑highway Vehicle Recreation Area will 
not require registration from any ORV riders that visit the site. The ORV 
registration free day falls on the third Saturday in May each year.

http://www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/orv
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Question: I’m a Minnesota resident and my ATV is registered in Wisconsin. 
Do I need the nonresident trail pass?

Answer: No, residents do not need this trail pass even if their vehicle is 
registered in a different state.

Question: Can I drive my ATV on the side of a road?

Answer: It depends on the type of ATV you are driving, the type of road you 
are on, and the age of the operator. Check with local authorities on legal 
riding on roadways.

Question: Can I operate an OHM in the ditches?

Answer: No, OHMs cannot be operated in ditches unless on a trail 
designated for that specific vehicle type. 

Question: Can I ride my ATV or OHM on a snowmobile trail?

Answer: No, most snowmobile trails cross lands because of a special permit 
that only allows public use during the winter season by snowmobiles. Any 
other use may be considered trespassing.

Question: Can I operate my ATV on snowmobile trails in the winter if there’s 
no snow?

Answer: No, in most cases snowmobile trails cross private lands by permit 
and are not open to ATVs or other uses. Any other use except snowmobile 
riding would be trespassing. Exception: Trails and roads on state forest lands 
remain open to public use until groomed unless signed “Closed.”

Question: Where can I ride my Class 1 ATV?

Answer: Several trails or parts of trails are for Class 1 ATVs only. For a list 
of trails for Class 1 ATVs, Class 2 ATVs, OHMs and ORVs, see the riding 
opportunities at www.mndnr.gov/ohv. 

Question: Where can I ride my ATV if I put tracks on it?

Answer: Once you put tracks on an ATV it is considered an ORV. See ORV 
General Operations on page 37.

http://www.mndnr.gov/ohv 


A MESSAGE FROM DNR 
CONSERVATION OFFICERS

Ride Safe — Ride Smart, Always!

Operating an off‑highway vehicle while intoxicated is dangerous for you and 
any passengers and is against the law. Driving while intoxicated is further 
aggravated by the off‑road experience including such factors as machine 
vibration, weather conditions, poor reaction time, “no fear” mentality, and 
uneven terrain associated with riding vehicles off‑road.

Operating an off‑highway vehicle while intoxicated/under the influence 
can result in the loss of your driver’s license and operating privileges for 
ATV, snowmobile, and motorboats. Depending on the severity and previous 
convictions under driving while intoxicated laws, your vehicle may be 
forfeited. Your highway‑licensed vehicle plates may be impounded and you 
may need to enroll in an ignition interlock program in order to drive your 
highway‑licensed vehicles.
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CALL US
License, titling and registration: M‑F 8 a.m.‑4:30 p.m.

General information: M‑F 8 a.m.‑8 p.m., Sat. 9 a.m.‑1 p.m.

888‑MINNDNR or 651‑296‑6157

For more information on OHV trails, maps, trip planning, safety training, 
rules and regulations, trail closures and more, visit www.mndnr.gov/ohv.

MinnesotaDNR @mndnr

Minnesota State Parks and Trails
500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155‑4040
888‑MINNDNR or 651‑296‑6157

www.mndnr.gov

The Minnesota DNR prohibits discrimination in its programs and services based 
on race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, public assistance status, age, 
sexual orientation or disability. Persons with disabilities may request reasonable 
modifications to access or participate in DNR programs and services by contacting 
the DNR ADA Title II Coordinator at info.dnr@state.mn.us or 651‑296‑6157. 
Discrimination inquiries should be sent to Minnesota DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, 
St. Paul, MN 55155‑4049; or Office of Civil Rights, U.S. Department of the Interior, 
1849 C. Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20240.

©2018, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources

Printed on recycled paper containing a minimum of 10 percent post‑consumer waste 
and vegetable‑based ink. 
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