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Introduction
Youth and the Law describes Minnesota statutes, rules, and cases that establish rights, 
responsibilities, and protections for young people different from those applicable to adults. The 
purpose of the guidebook is to give legislators an overview of all laws affecting young people 
and to provide a reference aid on current state policies that apply to youth. The guidebook also 
should prove useful for evaluating any proposals for changing these policies. 

This is intended as a guide to Minnesota state law. Federal statutes and cases are included only in 
a few areas where they dictate state policy or where state policy has been closely linked with 
federal law for some other reason. Youth and the Law does not attempt to cover federal 
statutes, cases, or programs in general. 

Legal distinctions are generally made between adults, who are statutorily defined as persons age 
18 and over, and minors, who are statutorily defined as persons under age 18. Youth and the 
Law uses the terms “minor” and “child” synonymously. Exceptions occur if the text clearly 
indicates that “child” means a minor of a particular age or means an individual of any age in 
relation to his or her parents. 

Youth and the Law is divided into two parts: Part 1, The Laws, consists of substantive laws 
organized by subject categories. Part 2, The Courts, explains the courts and procedures that deal 
with youths. A glossary of terms used throughout both parts 1 and 2 is provided at the beginning 
of the guidebook. There is also an index at the end of the publication. 

Unless otherwise noted, all citations are to Minnesota Statutes as amended through August 1, 
2018, or Minnesota Rules, as of August 1, 2018.
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Glossary 
Age of Majority Eighteen years of age. (Minn. Stat. § 645.451, subd. 5) 

CHIPS An acronym for a category of juvenile court jurisdiction. “CHIPS” means  Child in Need 
of Protection or Services. 

Civil Action A lawsuit to establish or enforce certain rights. It can be based on a statutory right or a 
legal rule developed in court cases. It can involve seeking payment of money (damages) 
or a court order compelling someone to act (specific performance) or refrain from an 
action (injunction). The lawsuit itself involves no possible criminal punishment 
(imprisonment, criminal fine, developing a record of a criminal conviction, etc.) although 
criminal penalties can result if a person involved with the lawsuit does not follow the 
court’s ruling and orders. Civil action examples: personal injury, breach of contract, 
marriage dissolution. 

Contract An agreement between two or more persons that creates a legal obligation to do or not to 
do a particular thing, such as to perform a service or to buy or sell goods or real estate. 

Crime Conduct prohibited by statute and for which the actor may be sentenced to imprisonment, 
with or without a fine. 

Delinquent A minor ten years old or older who has committed an act that would be a crime if 
committed by an adult, except for certain misdemeanors classified as juvenile petty 
offenses. 

Felony A crime punishable by a sentence of more than one year imprisonment in a state prison. 
Fines for felony offenses are equal to or greater than $3,000, depending on the offense. 

Gross 
Misdemeanor 

A crime punishable by a sentence of imprisonment for more than 90 days but not more 
than one year, and/or up to a $3,000 fine. 

Juvenile A person who is younger than 18 years old. 

Juvenile Petty 
Offender 

A minor who has committed a juvenile alcohol offense, a juvenile controlled substance 
offense, a tobacco offense, or a violation of a local ordinance prohibiting conduct by a 
minor that would be lawful if committed by an adult, except for certain designated 
misdemeanors and other offenses. 

Legal Age or Full 
Age 

Eighteen years of age or older. (Minn. Stat. § 645.451, subd. 6) 

Misdemeanor A crime punishable by a sentence of up to 90 days imprisonment and/or up to a $1,000 
fine. 

Petty 
Misdemeanor 

An offense that is not a crime, which carries no possibility of imprisonment, but for 
which a fine of up to $300 may be imposed. 

Status Offense Conduct that is unlawful for children, but lawful for adults (e.g., smoking tobacco). 
Statute of 
Limitations 

A deadline set by statute for beginning a particular kind of lawsuit or criminal 
prosecution. 

Tort The area of law that involves the breach of one person’s legal duty to another that results 
in an injury or damage of some kind. It is sometimes defined as the law of legal wrongs 
committed by private individuals against each other, not based on contracts. Some torts 
are provided for in statute, while many others are the result of legal rules developed over 
time in case law. Examples include personal injury and defamation. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/645.451
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/645.451
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Part 1: The Laws 
Minnesota law makes many distinctions between the rights and responsibilities of adults and 
young persons. Part 1 describes the major statutory, regulatory, and case laws that differentiate 
between youths and adults. These provisions are divided into the areas of economic regulations, 
education, family relations, health and social services, motor vehicles, and criminal law. There is 
a miscellaneous section for other age-based provisions. 

Usually, legal distinctions are drawn at the age of majority, which is statutorily defined as 18 
years of age. Persons under age 18 are minors. They are deemed less able than adults to take 
responsibility for themselves or to carry out obligations to others. Similarly, they are considered 
more in need of protection both from their own inexperienced judgments and from the actions of 
others. 

Minnesota law makes some distinctions between adults and youth at points other than 18 years. 
For example, a few rights are withheld and a few protections are extended until age 19 or 21 in 
the belief that 18-year-olds are not ready to be entirely on their own in particular areas. On the 
other hand, not all minors are treated identically under the law. In some instances, younger 
children are considered in need of greater protection or unable to carry out the greater 
responsibilities of older children. As a result, certain statutes treat minors under such ages as 16, 
14, or 10 differently from minors over those ages.
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Economic Protection 
Minors’ economic rights and activities are heavily regulated by statute because it is believed that 
minors are much less able than adults to support themselves, to make decisions about managing 
property, or to bargain as equals in employment and other business situations. 

Child Support 
All Parents .......................................................................................................................... 6 
Divorced Parents ................................................................................................................ 6 
Support Guidelines............................................................................................................. 6 
Unmarried Parents ............................................................................................................. 6 
Enforcement ....................................................................................................................... 6 
Stepparents ......................................................................................................................... 6 

Property Rights 
Control of a Minor’s Earnings or Property ........................................................................ 7 
Minor’s Contracts .............................................................................................................. 7 
Wills ................................................................................................................................... 7 
Inheritance from Parents .................................................................................................... 7 
Uniform Transfers to Minors Act ...................................................................................... 7 

Employment 
Age Discrimination in Employment .................................................................................. 8 
Child Labor Standards ....................................................................................................... 8 
Minimum Wage ............................................................................................................... 10 
Unemployment Insurance Benefits .................................................................................. 10 
Workers’ Compensation .................................................................................................. 11 
Income Tax Treatment of Dependents with Earned Income ........................................... 11 
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Child Support 

All Parents If a parent consents to have a child reside with an individual or 
entity other than the parent, or if the child does so by court order, 
the parent can be required to pay support for the child. Minn. Stat. § 
256.87, subd. 5 

A parent who has been ordered by a court to pay child support and 
has the financial ability to pay support but continually fails to do so 
without good cause may have his or her parental rights terminated 
by the juvenile court. Minn. Stat. § 260C.301, subd. 1, para. (b), cl. (3) 

 Divorced Parents The court may order either or both parents to pay child support. A 
parent may also be required to provide health insurance or pay 
medical or child care expenses for a child. Child means an 
individual who is (1) under age 18; (2) under age 20 and still 
attending secondary school; or (3) because of his or her physical or 
mental condition, unable to support himself or herself. Minn. Stat. §§ 
518A.26, subds. 5, 20; 518A.40; 518A.41 

Support Guidelines Statutory guidelines and other specified factors affect the amount 
of parental support that courts will award to children of divorced 
parents, unless the parents reach an alternate agreement that is 
approved by the court. Minn. Stat. §§ 518A.34; 518A.35; 518A.36; 
518A.43  

Unmarried Parents If an individual admits she or he is a child’s parent or if parentage 
is established in a court action, the individual is legally obligated to 
support the child and will be ordered to pay the amount indicated 
in the statutory guidelines. Minn. Stat. §§ 257.51 to 257.75; 518A.44 

 Enforcement If a court orders a parent to pay child support, including health 
insurance or medical or child care costs, legal mechanisms can be 
used to enforce the order in Minnesota or against a parent who 
moves to another state. Minn. Stat. §§ 256.87; 257.67; 548.091; ch. 518; 
ch. 518A; ch. 518C 

 Stepparents When a divorced parent seeks a change in court-ordered child 
support, the income of both parents’ new spouses, if any, will not 
be considered in raising or lowering the support amount. Minn. Stat. 
§§ 518A.29(f); 518A.39, subd. 2, para. (e), cl. (1) 

For further information, see Minnesota’s Child Support Laws, 
House Research Department, November 2015. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/256.87
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/256.87
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.301
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A.26
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A.26
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A.40
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A.41
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A.34
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A.35
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A.36
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A.43
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/257.51
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A.44
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/256.87
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/257.67
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/548.091
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A.29
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A.29
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518A.39
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518C
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Property Rights 

Control of a Minor’s 
Earnings or Property 

A parent or guardian may claim a minor’s wages by notifying the 
minor’s employer. Otherwise, the minor has control of his or her 
own wages. Minn. Stat. § 181.01  

A minor may control his or her own savings account. Minn. Stat. § 
48.30 

Minor’s  Contracts A minor may make a contract but may choose not to complete it or 
disaffirm it within a reasonable time after reaching the age of 
majority, unless it involves the purchase of necessities, like food or 
shelter. Miller v. Smith, 2 N.W. 942 (Minn. 1879); Kelly, Jr. v. 
Furlong 261 N.W. 460 (Minn. 1935). In most cases, any benefits 
or value received through a contract must be restored to the other 
party before the minor is released from the obligations of the 
contract. 

Wills A minor may not make a will. Minn. Stat. § 524.2-501 

Inheritance from 
Parents 

If there is no will, an adopted individual has a legal right to a share 
of the adopted parents’ estate but not to the birth parents’ estate. 
Special provisions exist to determine inheritance where a child is 
adopted by certain relatives of a genetic parent or conceived by 
means of assisted reproduction. Minn. Stat. §§  524.2-118; 524.2-119; 
524.2-120 

If a person does not make a will, his or her children share the estate 
with the surviving spouse, if that spouse was married to the 
children’s other parent. If no spouse survives, the children share 
the estate among themselves. Minn. Stat. §§ 524.2-102; 524.2-103 

If parents were not married to each other and did not leave wills, 
the children inherit from either parent. Parentage may be 
established under the Parentage Act. Minn. Stat. §§ 524.2-101; 524.2- 
116; 524.2-117 

A parent who makes a will may intentionally disinherit a child. If it 
seems a child was omitted from a will by error or because of being 
born after the parent’s death, the child may still be entitled to an 
inheritance as provided in this statute. Minn. Stat. §§ 524.2-108; 524.2-
302 

Uniform Transfers 
to Minors Act 

Any kind of property (money, real estate, stocks, etc.) may be 
transferred to a custodian for a minor’s benefit. This kind of 
custodianship lasts until the beneficiary turns 21 (or 18, in some 
cases). Minn. Stat. §§ 527.21 to 527.44  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181.01
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/48.30
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/48.30
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.2-501
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.2-118
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.2-119
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.2-120
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.2-102
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.2-103
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.2-101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.2-116
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.2-116
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.2-117
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.2-108
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.2-302
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.2-302
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/527.21
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Employment 

Age Discrimination in 
Employment  

The prohibition against unfair employment practices based on a 
person’s age applies to persons who have reached the age of 
majority. The law permits different treatment in privileges, 
benefits, services, or facilities for employees under age 21. Minn. 
Stat. §§ 363A.03, subd. 2; 363A.20, subd. 9 

Child Labor 
Standards 

The Minnesota Child Labor Standards Act restricts the age, days 
and hours, and occupations of working minors. Minn. Stat. §§ 
181A.01 to 181A.12 The Commissioner of Labor and Industry may 
grant exemptions from these restrictions if the commissioner finds 
that the exemption is in the minor’s best interests. Minn. Stat. § 
181A.07, subd. 5 Employment of minors is also governed by federal 
law, which may differ from the Minnesota law described here. 

Age Restrictions. No minor under the age of 14 may be employed, 
except: (1) a minor may be an actor, performer, or model; (2) those 
11 and older may be newspaper carriers; (3) those between the ages 
of 11 and 14 may be employed as a youth athletic program referee, 
umpire, or official for an age bracket younger than the minor’s own 
age; and (4) those 12 and older may work in agricultural 
operations. Minn. Stat. §§ 181A. 04, subd. 1; 181A.07, subds. 1, 2, 3, and 4a 

Day and Hour Restrictions. On school days during school hours, 
no minor under 16 years may be employed except with a valid 
employment certificate. Minn. Stat. §§ 181A.04, subd. 2; 181A.05 

No minor under 16 may work any day before 7:00 a.m. or after 
9:00 p.m. except as a newspaper carrier. Minn. Stat. §§ 181A.04, subd. 
3; 181A.07, subd. 3 

No one may employ a minor under 16 more than 40 hours per 
week or more than eight hours in any 24-hour period, except for 
minors working in agricultural operations with their parents’ or 
guardian’s permission. Minn. Stat. §§ 181A.04, subd. 4; 181A.07, subd. 1 

No one may employ a high school student under age 18 after 11:00 
p.m. on a school night or before 5:00 a.m. on a school day. With 
written permission of a parent or guardian, a student may work 
one-half hour later or begin one half-hour earlier. Minn. Stat. § 
181A.04, subd. 6 

Occupation Restrictions. All minors may be excluded from 
employment in any occupation that the Commissioner of Labor and 
Industry finds by rule hazardous to their well-being. Minn. Stat. § 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/363A.03
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/363A.03
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/363A.20
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.07
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.07
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.07
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.05
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.07
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.07


House Research Department Updated: December 2018 
Youth and the Law Page 9 

181A.04, subd. 5 The commissioner also has the power to exempt an 
individual minor from this restriction. Minn. Stat. § 181A.07, subd. 5 
Minors under age 18 are prohibited from employment in any rooms 
in which intoxicating liquor or 3.2 percent malt liquor is served or 
consumed or in any tasks that involve serving, dispensing, or 
handling of those liquors that are consumed on the premises except 
under the following conditions: 

• a minor at least 16 years of age can be employed to
perform busing, dishwashing, or hosting services in areas
of restaurants, hotels, motels, or resorts where the presence
of intoxicating liquor is incidental to food service or
preparation

• a minor at least 16 years of age can be employed to
perform busing, dishwashing, or hosting services or to
provide waiter or waitress service in rooms or areas where
the presence of 3.2 percent malt liquor is incidental to food
service or preparation

• a minor at least 16 years of age can be employed to provide
musical entertainment in those rooms or areas where the
presence of intoxicating liquor and 3.2 percent malt liquor
is incidental to food service or preparation.

Minors are not prevented from working at tasks not prohibited by 
law in establishments where liquor is sold, served, dispensed, or 
handled in those rooms or areas where no liquor is consumed or 
served. Minn. Stat. § 181A.115 

Child Labor Exemptions. Minors employed to do home chores, 
babysitting, or by their parents are exempt from the above child 
labor restrictions. Minn. Stat. § 181A.07, subd. 4    

Federal law provides that minors under age 16, working in 
particularly hazardous agricultural work for their parents, are 
exempt only if they work on a farm owned or operated by the 
parent. 29 U.S.C. § 213, para. (c), cl. (2); Minn. Stat. § 181A.11  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.07
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.115
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.07
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.11
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/29/213
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Minimum Wage Minnesota employers are subject to the following minimum wage 
rate requirements for teens and young adults. Minn. Stat. § 177.24, 
subd. 1, paras. (c) to (f) 

Effective Date Training Wage and 
Youth Wage 

January 1, 2018 $7.87 
January 1, 2019 $8.04 

The training wage is a special wage rate that may be paid during 
the first 90 consecutive days of employment of a person under the 
age of 20. The training wage applies regardless of the size of the 
employer. The training wage has existed in Minnesota’s minimum 
wage law for many years. The new training wage rate is at the 
same level as the youth wage rate. 

A new youth wage may be paid to employees under the age of 18. 
The youth wage applies regardless of the size of the employer. The 
youth wage is at the same level as the training wage. 

The minimum wage does not apply to persons under the age of 18 
who are: (1) doing certain agricultural work; or (2) employed part-
time by a municipality as part of a recreational program. The 
minimum wage also does not apply to any person engaged in 
babysitting as a sole practitioner. Minn. Stat. § 177.23, subd. 7, cls. (3), 
(4), (12), (14) 

Unemployment 
Insurance Benefits 

Like adults, a minor may be covered by unemployment insurance if 
the minor satisfies the statutory requirements regarding eligibility. 
Minn. Stat. § 268.035, subd. 12 However, minors in the following 
employment areas are not eligible for unemployment 
compensation: (1) agricultural labor performed by a child under 16 
for an employer not covered by federal unemployment tax law; (2) 
service performed by a child under 18 in the employ of a parent; 
(3) work performed by a student for an academic or vocational 
program; (4) work performed at a school or university by a student 
enrolled there; (5) work performed for academic credit; and (6) 
newspaper delivery by anyone under 18. Minn. Stat. § 268.035, subds. 
11; 20, cls. (18), (20), (21), (22), (31) 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/177.24
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/177.23
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/268.035
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/268.035
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Workers’ 
Compensation 

The workers’ compensation system compensates injured minors 
as well as adult employees. Minn. Stat. § 176.091 A minor with a 
workers’ compensation-covered injury with permanent total 
disability receives the maximum temporary total disability benefit 
available, regardless of wage. Minn. Stat. § 176.101, subds. 1, para. (b), 
cl. (1); 4; 6, para. (b) 

A guardian or conservator is appointed to represent the interests of 
a minor who has a covered workers’ compensation injury or who 
is eligible for survivor benefits. Minn. Stat. § 176.092 

Income Tax Treatment 
of Dependents with 
Earned Income 

Minors who earn income may be subject to income tax on their 
earnings. If they are not eligible to be claimed as a “dependent” on 
someone else’s return, they will be subject to tax on the same basis 
as an ordinary taxpayer. If they are eligible to be claimed as a 
dependent (typically by a parent who partially pays for their 
support), special rules apply. These rules also apply to adults who 
are claimed as dependents on another’s tax return, but they apply 
most often to teenagers and young adults (usually students) who 
rely on their parents or others for financial support. 

Individuals who are eligible to be claimed as a dependent on 
someone else’s return receive a reduced standard deduction. The 
standard deduction for such individuals is limited to the lesser of: 

• $1,050, or

• the individual’s earned income for the year plus $350, but
not more than the regular standard deduction amount (in tax
year 2018, $12,000 for federal taxes and $6,500 for
Minnesota taxes).

For tax year 2018, Minnesota’s individual income tax system is not 
in conformity with the federal tax legislation enacted in December 
2017. As a result, the standard deduction amounts for federal and 
state tax purposes differ significantly. A dependent youth who 
earns more than $6,500 may be subject to state income tax on his 
or her earnings. A dependent youth who earns more than $12,000 
may be subject to federal income tax on his or her earnings. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/176.091
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/176.101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/176.092
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Compulsory Attendance; School Choice Options 

Age of Attendance; 
Compulsory 
Attendance 

Every child between the ages of seven and 17 must attend school. 
Minn. Stat. § 120A.22, subd. 5 A school board’s annual school 
calendar must include at least 165 days of instruction for students 
in grades 1 to 11 unless the commissioner approves a four-day 
week schedule. Minimum hours of instruction are specified for 
kindergarten students (425), students in grades 1 to 6 (935), and 
students in grades 7 through 12 (1,020). All-day kindergarten must 
include at least 850 hours of instruction. Minn. Stat. § 120A.41 A 
student who is 17 must attend school unless the student formally 
withdraws from school. Minn. Stat. § 120A.22, subd. 8 A minor parent 
or an 18- or 19-year-old parent who has not completed high school 
must attend school in order to remain eligible for the Minnesota 
Family Investment Program (MFIP). Minn. Stat. § 256J.54, subd. 5 

A child must receive developmental screening before enrolling in 
kindergarten or first grade in a public school. Minn. Stat. § 121A.17  

A child must be immunized before enrolling in school unless an 
exception applies. Minn. Stat. § 121A.15 

A school-age child may be excused from mandatory attendance 
requirements under certain circumstances. Minn. Stat. § 120A.22, 
subd. 12. See also Exemption from Compulsory Attendance under 
First Amendment Free Exercise Clause, page 50 

Undocumented children who are not legal residents of the United 
States are entitled to attend public school through grade 12. Plyler 
v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202, 102 S. Ct. 2382 (1982).

School districts must facilitate the enrollment, placement, 
participation, and graduation of children in military families 
whose parents experience frequent moves and deployment. Minn. 
Stat. § 127A.85 

Truancy A child subject to compulsory instruction requirements is 
considered a “continuing truant” if the child is in elementary 
school and absent three school days without a valid excuse or if the 
child is in middle, junior high, or high school and absent three or 
more class periods on three school days without a valid excuse. 
Minn. Stat. § 260A.02, subd. 3 

School officials must notify a child’s parent that the child is 
a continuing truant. Minn. Stat. § 260A.03 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.41
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/256J.54
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.17
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.15
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/127A.85
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/127A.85
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260A.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260A.03
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A child under age 17 is considered a “habitual truant” if the child 
is in elementary school and absent seven school days without a 
lawful excuse or if the child is in middle, junior high, or high 
school and absent one or more class periods on seven school days 
without a lawful excuse. A child who is 17 is considered a habitual 
truant if the child is absent one or more class periods on seven 
school days without a lawful excuse and has not formally 
withdrawn from school. Minn. Stat. § 260C.007, subd. 19 

Legitimate 
Exemptions 

A parent may apply to a district to have a child excused from 
attending school for reasons of physical or mental health, illness, 
medical or dental appointments, family emergencies, the death or 
serious illness or funeral of an immediate family member, active 
duty in the military, ongoing mental health treatment, other district 
exemptions, completed graduation requirements, or religious 
instruction. Minn. Stat. § 120A.22, subd. 12 A student may be excused 
from a physical education class if a physician indicates physical 
education will jeopardize the student’s health. Minn. Stat. § 120B.026 

Instruction 
Requirements 

Instruction must occur either in a public school, a nonpublic 
school, a church or religious organization, or a homeschool. Minn. 
Stat. § 120A.22, subd. 4 

Instruction is required in specific subject areas and must be 
provided by a person who meets the specific requirements for 
instructors. Minn. Stat. §§ 120A.22, subds. 9, 10 

The performance of every child not enrolled in a public school 
must be assessed each year. All persons in charge of providing 
instruction to a child must document that the child received 
instruction as required by law. This reporting requirement does not 
apply to a child receiving instruction from an accredited or state-
recognized nonpublic school, person, or other institution. Minn. Stat. 
§ 120A.24, subds. 1 to 3

Depending on their qualifications as instructors, parents instructing 
their children in a homeschool may be required to provide 
additional assessment and document their children’s instruction. 
Minn. Stat. §§ 120A.22, subd. 11, para. (b) 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.007
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120B.026
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.24
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.24
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
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Penalty It is a misdemeanor for a person responsible for instruction in an 
unaccredited nonpublic school, home, or other institution to fail to 
comply with compulsory instruction requirements. Minn. Stat. § 
120A.26 

It is a petty misdemeanor for a person who is legally responsible 
for a school-age child to fail or refuse to provide instruction for 
that child. Minn. Stat. § 120A.34 

Residency 
Requirements 

School-age children who reside within a district that operates 
public schools may attend those schools without charge. Minn. Stat. 
§ 120A.20, subd. 1

The district of residence for a homeless school-age student is the 
district in which the parent or guardian resides unless parental 
rights were terminated, the parent doesn’t reside in Minnesota, or 
the parent is subject to the supervision of the Commissioner of 
Corrections, in which case the district of residence is the district in 
which the student resided when the student became homeless. 
Minn. Stat. § 120A.20, subd. 2 

The district of residence of a school-age student whose divorced or 
legally separated parents share joint physical custody and reside in 
different school districts is designated by the student’s parents. 
Minn. Stat. § 127A.47, subd. 3 

Immunization 
Requirements 

No child may enroll or remain enrolled in any elementary or 
secondary school or child care facility unless an immunization 
statement is submitted to the school or facility. Minn. Stat. § 121A.15, 
subd. 1 A child need not be immunized if immunization conflicts 
with a parent’s conscientiously held beliefs. Minn. Stat. § 121A.15, 
subd. 3, para. (d) 

Effective Teachers In certain circumstances, school administrators must not place 
students in the classroom of a teacher who is in an improvement 
process or who has not had a summative evaluation. Minn. Stat. §§ 
122A.40, subd.8, para. (d); 122A.41, subd. 5, para. (d) 

School Conferences An employer must give an employee up to 16 hours leave during a 
12-month period to attend school conferences or school-related 
activities involving the employee’s child if the conferences or 
school-related activities cannot be scheduled during nonwork 
hours. Minn. Stat. § 181.9412, subd. 2 A child’s parent or guardian 
may designate one additional adult to attend school conferences 
and school-related events. Minn. Stat. § 13.32, subd. 10a 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.26
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.26
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.34
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.20
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.20
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.20
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/127A.47
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.15
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.15
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/122A.40
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/122A.40
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181.9412
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/13.32
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/122A.41
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Enrollment Options 
(“Open Enrollment”) 

Students in kindergarten through grade 12 may opt to attend a 
school or program in a nonresident district. A district may limit 
nonresident enrollment to the lesser of 1 percent of the district’s 
total enrollment at each grade level or the number of district 
residents at that grade level enrolled in a nonresident district. A 
school board must adopt specific standards for accepting and 
rejecting timely applications; the standards may not include a 
student’s previous academic achievement, athletic or other 
extracurricular ability, disabling conditions, English proficiency, 
previous disciplinary proceedings, or district of residence. 

A district may terminate the enrollment of a nonresident student at 
the end of the school year if the student is a habitual truant and 
other conditions are met. A district also may terminate the 
enrollment of a nonresident student over 17 who is absent without 
lawful excuse for one or more periods on 15 school days and has 
not withdrawn from school. Minn. Stat. § 124D.06, subd. 12 

A district may refuse to enroll a student expelled for possessing a 
dangerous weapon, possessing or using an illegal drug, selling or 
soliciting the sale of a controlled substance at school or a school 
function, or committing a third-degree assault. Minn. Stat. § 124D.03, 
subd. 1 

Postsecondary 
Enrollment Options 
(PSEO); Transfer 
Curriculum 

Eligible 10th, 11th, or 12th grade public school students and 11th 
or 12th grade nonpublic or homeschooled students seeking 
rigorous academic pursuits or a wider variety of academic options 
may apply to enroll in a course or program provided by a 
postsecondary institution. Tenth grade public school students, with 
the requisite 8th grade reading test score, may apply to enroll in a 
career and technical education course offered by a Minnesota state 
colleges or university. Minn. Stat. § 124D.09, subd. 5a 

A student enrolled in a graduation incentives program under 
Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.68, may enroll full-time in a 
middle or early college program and earn developmental college 
credit for completing remedial or developmental college credit. 
Minn. Stat. § 124D.09, subd. 9 

Students may receive secondary or postsecondary credit for 
successfully completing a PSEO or concurrent enrollment course. 
All Minnesota State institutions must give full credit to a high 
school student who completes postsecondary credit at a Minnesota 
State institution and enrolls in a Minnesota State institution after 
graduating. Minn. Stat. §§ 124D.09, subd. 12; 135A.101, subd. 3 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.06
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.03
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.09
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.09
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.09
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/135A.101
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Concurrent 
Enrollment 

Eligible students in 10th, 11th, or 12th grade may enroll in a 
nonsectarian course taught by a qualified secondary school teacher 
or a postsecondary faculty member that is offered at a secondary 
school or another location under an agreement between a public 
school board and a public or private postsecondary institution. 
Students in 9th and 10th grade may apply to enroll in a world 
language course currently available to the 11th and 12th grade 
students or in a concurrent enrollment course under an agreement 
between the district and the postsecondary institution. Minn. Stat. § 
124D.09, subd. 10 

Advanced Placement, 
International 
Baccalaureate, and 
College-Level Exam 
Programs 

Students are eligible to receive Minnesota State college credit for 
earning a satisfactory score on a College-level Exam Program 
(CLEP) exam, a score of three or higher on an Advanced 
Placement (AP) exam, or a score of four or higher on an 
International Baccalaureate (IB) exam. Minn. Stat. §§ 120B.13; 
120B.131 

Graduation Incentives 
Program  

Eligible at-risk students who have experienced or are experiencing 
difficulty in the traditional education system may enroll in a state-
approved alternative program. Minn. Stat. § 124D.68 

Area Learning Centers  Students 16 years or older who are eligible to participate in the 
graduation incentives program or receive special education services 
may attend or be assigned to an area learning center (ALC) or 
alternative learning program to receive academic instruction 
leading to a high school diploma. Minn. Stat. §§ 120A.22, subd. 5, para. 
(c); 123A.05 to 123A.09 

Adult Basic Education  Students over age 17 who are not enrolled in school and students 
ages 19 to 21 who have not yet graduated from a Minnesota high 
school and, but for their age, are eligible to participate in an adult 
basic education (ABE) program may enroll in a day or evening 
ABE program to earn a high school diploma, an equivalency 
certificate, or a standard adult high school diploma. Minn. Stat. §§ 
120B.02, subd. 2, para. (b); 124D.52 

Online Learning K-12 public school students and some K-12 nonpublic school 
students may take various online courses for credit. The courses 
must be rigorous, aligned with state academic standards, equivalent 
to other courses, and must provide student-to-teacher 
communication. Minn. Stat. § 124D.095 

Shared Time 
Programs 

Students in regular and special education programs may fulfill state 
compulsory attendance requirements by attending public school 
programs for part of the regular school day and nonpublic school 
programs for the remainder of the school day. Minn. Stat. §§ 126C.01, 
subd. 8; 126C.19; 125A.18 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.09
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.09
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120B.13
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120B.131
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.68
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/123A.05
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120B.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120B.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.52
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.95
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/126C.01
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/126C.19
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/125A.18
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Charter Schools Students may attend charter schools, which are educationally 
innovative public schools independently operated by teachers, 
parents, and community members. Minn. Stat. ch. 124E 
See Charter Schools, House Research Department, August 2018. 

A charter school for deaf and hard-of-hearing students may 
enroll pre-K students with that disability. Minn. Stat. §§ 124E.03, 
subd. 3; 124E.11, para. (h) 

All federal civil rights laws apply to charter schools and traditional 
schools equally. Office for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education, 
“Dear Colleague” letter, May 14, 2014. 

Homeschools Students may attend a homeschool where parent educators provide 
instruction in required subject areas and periodically report student 
achievement and other information to the district superintendent. 
Minn. Stat. §§ 120A.22, subds. 10, 11; 120A.24; 120A.26 

Single-Sex Education Under modified federal Title IX regulations, public and private 
coeducational elementary and secondary schools may offer more 
single-sex classes and extracurricular activities and school districts 
may operate single-sex schools if student enrollment is voluntary 
and other conditions are met. Vocational schools that receive 
federal funds may not offer single-sex programs. Title IX of the 
Education Amendments of 1972 

Particular District 
Schools 

Attending a particular public school is a privilege and not a right 
for a student. Minn. Stat. § 120A.36 

State Graduation, Statewide Testing, and K-12 Curriculum 
Requirements 

K-12 Academic 
Standards 

Public school students entering the 9th grade must complete four 
language arts credits, three math credits including an algebra I 
credit, three science credits including at least one biology credit, 
three and one-half social studies credits, one arts credit, at least 
seven elective course credits, and physical education in order to 
graduate. Students may use a career and technical education course 
to fulfill a science, math, or arts credit requirement; an agriculture 
science course to fulfill a science credit requirement; a computer 
science credit to fulfill a math credit; and a Project Lead the Way 
credit to fulfill a science or math credit requirement. Minn. Stat. § 
120B.024, subd. 2, paras. (b), (c), (e), and (f) Students also must 
complete an algebra II credit or its equivalent and a chemistry or 
physics credit or a career and technical education credit approved 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124E
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124E.03
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124E.11
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.24
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.26
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.36
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120B.024
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120B.024
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by the district that combines underlying chemistry, physics, or 
biology standards. Minn. Stat. § 120B.024, subd. 1 Districts decide 
whether students meet course credit requirements by successfully 
completing an academic year of study or by demonstrating mastery 
of the applicable subject matters. Minn. Stat. § 120B.018, subd. 4 

Statewide Testing 
Requirements 

Federal and state law requires public school students in grades 3 
through 8 and in high school to take statewide reading and math 
assessments. Students also must take statewide science assessments 
in grade 5 and 8, and once in high school. In Minnesota, students 
take the high school science assessment when they complete their 
life sciences curriculum. Elementary and Secondary Education Act, 20 
U.S.C. ch. 70; Minn. Stat. § 120B.30 

Nationally Recognized 
College Entrance 
Exam 

Students may take a nationally recognized college entrance exam 
in grade 11 or 12. Districts must pay a student’s exam fees one 
time to the extent funding is available for this purpose. Minn. Stat. § 
120B.30, subd. 1, para. (e) 

English Language 
Proficiency 

English learners also take the Access for ELLs in order for school 
districts to measure English learners’ progress toward meeting 
Minnesota standards for English language development. English 
learners who receive special education services and meet 
participation guidelines may take the Alternative ACCESS for 
ELLs. 

Civics Test Students enrolled in grade 9 in the 2017-2018 school year and later 
must take a civics test, correctly answering 30 of 50 questions from 
the U.S. naturalization test. A district cannot prevent a student from 
graduating or deny a diploma to a student who does not correctly 
answer 30 civics test questions. Minn. Stat. § 120B.02, subd. 3 

No Required Score or 
Level of Proficiency 

Students are not required to achieve a specified score or level of 
proficiency on statewide assessments in order to graduate from 
high school. All students receive test scores but do not pass or fail 
the statewide assessments. A student who receives a college-ready 
ACT or SAT score or meets a career and college-ready Minnesota 
Comprehensive Assessment benchmark is not required to take a 
remedial, noncredit course at a Minnesota State institution in that 
subject area. Minn. Stat. § 136F.302 

Circumstances for Not 
Participating in 
Testing 

The Minnesota Department of Education must list the 
circumstances under which a student may be unable to take a 
required statewide test without being penalized. Minn. Stat. § 
120B.30, subd. 1b The department must publish a form for parents to 
complete if they refuse to have their student participate in 
statewide testing. Minn. Stat. § 120B.31, subd. 4a 
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Career and College 
Readiness Assessments 

Students in grade 8 are subject to expectations for career and 
college readiness based on a continuum of empirically derived, 
clearly defined career and college-ready benchmarks. These 
benchmarks let students, parents, and teachers know how well 
students must perform to have a reasonable chance to succeed in a 
career or college without need for postsecondary remediation. 
Minn. Stat. § 120B.30, subd. 1  

Alternative 
Assessment for 
Eligible Students 

Students with an individualized education program (IEP) may 
satisfy state assessment requirements by achieving an individual 
score on state-identified alternative assessments. Accommodations 
and alternative assessments also must be available for eligible 
English learners. Minn. Stat. § 120B.30, subd. 1a, para. (g) 

Adult Basic Education 
Students 

Adult basic education students must be given diagnostic 
information about the targeted interventions they need to seek 
postsecondary education or employment without need for 
postsecondary remediation. Minn. Stat. § 120B.30, subd. 1, para. (f) 

Required Areas of 
Instruction 

School districts must provide students with instruction in basic 
communication skills including reading, writing, literature, and 
fine arts; math and science; social studies, including history, 
geography, economics, and government and citizenship; and health 
and physical education. Minn. Stat. § 120A.22, subd. 9; 120B.021, subd. 1 

Health-related 
Education 

School districts must develop and implement a program targeted to 
adolescents to prevent and reduce the risk of sexually transmitted 
infections and diseases. Minn. Stat. § 121A.23, subd. 1 

Physical Education Students must satisfactorily complete statewide physical education 
standards. Minn. Stat. § 120B.021, subd. 1, para. (c) 

CPR Instruction Students must receive onetime CPR instruction as part of the grade 
7 to 12 curriculum. Minn. Stat. § 120B.236 

Early Graduation A high school student who completes all required courses and 
meets all required standards may graduate early if the student, the 
student’s parent, and school officials approve. Minn. Stat. § 120B.07 
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Review of 
Instructional 
Materials 

A school district must adopt a procedure for parents and adult 
students to review instructional materials given to students. School 
personnel must make reasonable arrangements for alternative 
instruction if a parent or adult student objects to the content of the 
materials. Parents and adult students may provide alternative 
instruction if the school board fails to satisfy their concerns, but 
may not receive payment for their costs. School personnel may 
evaluate the quality of a student’s work, but must not penalize the 
student merely because the student arranges alternative instruction. 
Minn. Stat. § 120B.20 

Bilingual and 
Multilingual 
Certificates and Seals 

The state may award bilingual and multilingual certificates and 
seals to K-12 students who demonstrate and maintain a requisite 
level of proficiency in foreign languages. Students who are eligible 
to receive a state seal may also receive elective world language 
credits, community services credits, and college foreign language 
credits. Minn. Stat. § 120B.022, subd. 1b; Laws 2014, ch. 272, art. 1, § 42 
See World Language Proficiency for High School Students, House 
Research Department, July 2015. 

Discipline; Harassment and Bullying; Violence in Schools; Bus 
Privileges 

Corporal Punishment; 
Reasonable Force  

A teacher, principal, school employee, school bus driver, or district 
agent may use reasonable force when it is necessary to restrain a 
student or prevent bodily harm or death. Minn. Stat. § 121A.582 

A school official may not use corporal punishment to discipline a 
child. Minn. Stat. § 121A.58 A school official who uses reasonable 
force within the exercise of lawful authority to discipline a child 
has a defense against a criminal prosecution and civil liability for 
the disciplinary act. Minn. Stat. §§ 121A.582; 609.06, subd. 1, cl. (6); 
123B.25, para. (c) 

Dismissal Generally Dismissals from public school are generally governed by the Pupil 
Fair Dismissal Act. Minn. Stat. §§ 121A.40 to 121A.56 The compulsory 
attendance law does not apply to regular education students during 
a dismissal. Minn. Stat. § 121A.52 

Grounds for dismissal are the willful violation of reasonable, 
clearly defined school board regulations, significant disruption of 
the education process, or endangering persons or property. Minn. 
Stat. § 121A.45, subd. 2 A student may be dismissed for a “willful 
violation” when the student is aware of a school policy and makes 
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a deliberate, intentional decision to violate the policy. In the Matter 
of the Expulsion of A.D. from United South Central Pub. Sch. No. 
2134, 883 N.W.2d 251 (Minn. 2016). 

A public school student is entitled to due process and equal 
protection guarantees when facing dismissal proceedings. Possible 
outcomes of a dismissal proceeding include exclusion, expulsion, 
or suspension. Minn. Stat. § 121A.42 A school must attempt to 
provide a student subject to dismissal with an alternative education 
program, except where the student creates an immediate and 
substantial danger to self or to surrounding persons or property. 
Minn. Stat. § 121A.45, subd. 1 See The Pupil Fair Dismissal Act, 
House Research Department, August 2016; Laws Governing 
Student Behavior, House Research Department, August 2016. 

A school’s discipline policy must address students’ inappropriate 
behavior and recognize the school’s continuing responsibility to 
educate a student it dismisses. Minn. Stat. § 121A.55 

Suspension The U.S. Supreme Court declared that suspending a student from a 
public school requires procedural due process, including written 
notice of the charges, an explanation of the evidence the authorities 
have, and an opportunity for the student to present his or her side 
of the story. These requirements do not include the right to counsel, 
a right to confront and cross-examine witnesses, or a right to call 
the student’s own witnesses. Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565, 95 S. Ct. 
729 (1975). 

Under Minnesota law, a student is entitled to notice and a meeting 
with an administrator who will notify the student of the grounds for 
the suspension. Minn. Stat. § 121A.46 A school district may suspend 
a student for up to ten days, or 15 days if the student poses an 
immediate and substantial danger or the district is in the process of 
expelling the student. A suspension may include a readmission 
plan. Minn. Stat. § 121A.41, subd. 10 

Expulsion and 
Exclusion 

A school district may not impose an exclusion or expulsion without 
giving a student a notice of intent to take action, including a 
complete statement of facts and appeal procedures, and an 
opportunity for a hearing. Minn. Stat. § 121A.47 

An expulsion prohibits an enrolled student from attending school 
for up to 12 months from the date of expulsion, while an exclusion 
prevents a student from enrolling in school during that school year. 
Minn. Stat. § 121A.41, subds. 4, 5 The school must notify the student of 
his or her right of reinstatement within ten days of the end of the 
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dismissal period. Minn. Stat. § 121A.54 A dismissal includes an 
exclusion, expulsion, and suspension. Minn. Stat. § 121A.41, subd. 2 

Firearms in School A school board must expel for one year any student who brings a 
firearm to school. The board may modify this expulsion 
requirement on a case-by-case basis. Minn. Stat. § 121A.44 A school 
official must refer to the criminal justice or juvenile delinquency 
system any pupil who unlawfully brings a firearm to school. Minn. 
Stat. §§ 121A.05; 609.66, subd. 1d 

Admission or 
Readmission 

A school board must prepare and enforce an admission or 
readmission plan for any pupil who is excluded or expelled from 
school and may prepare such a plan for a student who is suspended. 
The readmission plan must not obligate a parent to provide Ritalin 
or other similar medication to a child as a condition of readmission 
unless a health or safety emergency applies. Minn. Stat. §§ 125A.091, 
subd. 5; 260A.01, para. (b) 

Removal from Class or 
School 

If a student willfully engages in disruptive, dangerous, or 
unsanctioned conduct, a school official may prohibit that student 
from attending a class or activity for up to five class periods. A 
student who engages in assault or violent behavior must be 
removed from class immediately. Removal from class is not 
considered a dismissal under the Pupil Fair Dismissal Act. Minn. 
Stat. §§ 121A.41, subd. 2; 121A.60; 121A.61 School officials must meet 
with the parent of a student who has been removed from school 
more than ten times in one school year to determine the student’s 
need for assessment or other services or whether the student should 
be assessed for a mental health disorder. Minn. Stat. § 121A.45, subd. 3 

Physical Holding or 
Seclusion 

Trained school staff may use physical holding or seclusion to 
restrain a student only in an emergency. Minn. Stat. §§ 125A.0941; 
125A.0942, subd. 3 

Discipline off School 
Grounds 

A school district may impose reasonable discipline on a student for 
misconduct on a bus, in a school parking lot, on a field trip, or at an 
extracurricular activity if the misconduct adversely affects the 
educational process. In re Expulsion of Z.K. and S.K., 695 N.W.2d 
6569 (Minn. App. 2005) (citing In re Expulsion of J.M. MDCFL 
(Feb. 18, 1997) (two students lured a third student away from the 
school and shot the student with a BB gun). 
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Tennessen Warning The government must give individuals notice when collecting 
private or confidential information from them. This is called a 
Tennessen warning notice. A school official must give a student a 
Tennessen warning when asking the student for private or 
confidential information as part of a disciplinary investigation. 
Failing to give the warning prevents school officials from using 
that information to discipline the student, although the student can 
still be disciplined. Minn. Stat. §§ 13.04, subd. 2; 13.05, subd. 4 

Student Disciplinary 
Records 

A school must include disciplinary information when transmitting 
the education records of a student transferring to another school 
and must notify the student and the student’s parent that it is 
transmitting the student’s disciplinary records. Minn. Stat. § 120A.22, 
subd. 7, para. (c); 34 C.F.R. § 99.34 

Revocation of Bus 
Riding Privileges 

A district may revoke the bus riding privileges of any student who 
violates the district’s school bus safety or student conduct policy. 
This is not considered an exclusion, expulsion, or suspension 
under the Pupil Fair Dismissal Act. Minn. Stat. § 121A.59 

Sexual Harassment in 
Schools Prohibited 

Educational sexual harassment is unwelcome sexual advances, 
requests for sexual favors, or other verbal or physical conduct of a 
sexual nature that (1) is a term or condition of receiving education, 
(2) is used as a factor in decisions affecting a person’s education, 
or (3) has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with a 
person’s education. Educational sexual harassment can occur when 
school district employees, independent contractors, visitors to the 
school, or volunteers sexually harass students or when students 
sexually harass other students. Sexual harassment is prohibited by 
state and federal law. Minn. Stat. §§ 363A.03, subd. 43; 363A.13, subd. 
1; Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 

Victims’ Remedies Under the U.S. Supreme Court decision in  Franklin v. Gwinnet 
County Pub. Sch., 503 U.S. 60, 112 S. Ct. 1028 (1992), private 
individuals have the right to file lawsuits under Title IX of the 
Education Amendments of 1972 claiming they have been victims 
of sex discrimination in school (sexual harassment is a form of sex 
discrimination). Courts may award monetary damages as a remedy. 

A student may not recover money damages for teacher-student 
sexual harassment unless a school district official with authority to 
institute corrective measures has actual notice of, and is 
deliberately indifferent to, the teacher’s misconduct. Gebser v. 
Lago Vista Indep. Sch. Dist., 524 U.S. 274, 118 S. Ct. 1989 (1998). 

A school district was liable for failing to protect a student from 
years of bullying, including verbal, physical, and sexual 
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harassment. Patterson v. Hudson Area Sch., 551 F.3d 438 (6th Cir. 
2009), cert. denied, 558 U.S. 880, 130 S. Ct. 299 (2009). 

Student-on-Student 
Harassment 

A student may recover money for student-on-student harassment if 
(1) school officials are deliberately indifferent to sexual 
harassment, (2) school officials have actual knowledge of the 
student-on-student harassment, and (3) the harassment is so severe, 
pervasive, and objectively offensive that it denies the harassed 
student access to educational opportunities or benefits provided by 
the school. Davis v. Monroe County Bd. of Educ., 526 U.S. 629, 
119 S. Ct. 1661 (1999).  

Student Bullying Public schools, including charter schools, must have a 
comprehensive student bullying policy. Student-on-student 
bullying is prohibited at school, at school functions and activities, 
and on school transportation, and covers students’ use of electronic 
technology and communications at school, and elsewhere if such 
use materially and substantially disrupts student learning or the 
school environment. The law does not apply to homeschool and 
nonpublic school students unless the students voluntarily 
participate in public school activities, where they are subject to the 
same bullying policy as public school students participating in the 
activity. Minn. Stat. § 121A.031 See Student Bullying Policy, House 
Research Department, August 2014. 

Student Hazing Each school and district must adopt a written hazing policy that 
applies to student behavior on and off school property and during 
and after school hours and includes reporting procedures and 
disciplinary consequences. Minn. Stat. § 121A.69, subd. 3 

Possession of 
Dangerous Weapons 
on School Property 

It is unlawful for any person to possess, store, keep, use, or 
brandish a dangerous weapon, a replica firearm, or a BB gun on 
elementary, middle, or secondary school property or on a school 
bus while students are being transported. The offense is punishable 
by either gross misdemeanor or felony penalties depending on the 
type of weapon and activity involved and whether the person is 
knowingly on school property. The law exempts certain activities 
from its scope, such as firearm safety courses and the possession 
of a weapon with the permission of the school principal. Minn. Stat. 
§ 609.66, subd. 1d 

Reports of Dangerous 
Weapon Incidents on 
School Property 

The Commissioner of Education must provide an electronic format 
for schools to report aggregate data on dangerous weapon incidents 
occurring on school property, the area surrounding school property, 
and in school buses while students are being transported. The form 
must include certain specified information about the incident, the 
offender and victim involved in the incident, the cost of the 
incident to the school and the victim, and the school’s response to 
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the incident. Schools must submit an electronic report of dangerous 
weapon incidents to the commissioner annually by July 31, and, in 
turn, the commissioner must compile and forward the information 
annually to the legislature and the public safety commissioner. 
Minn. Stat. § 121A.06 

Use of Force Against 
School Officials 

It is a gross misdemeanor to assault and inflict demonstrable bodily 
harm on a school official while the official is performing official 
duties. A similar assault against a nonschool official would be a 
misdemeanor-level offense. “School official” means a teacher, 
administrator, or other employee of a public or private school. 
Minn. Stat. § 609.2231, subd. 5 

Violence Prevention 
Education Programs 

Minnesota law encourages all school districts to integrate a 
violence prevention program into their existing K-12 curricula. The 
law also directs the Commissioner of Education to assist school 
districts, on request, in developing and implementing such 
programs. A grant program was established in 1992 to help school 
districts pay for developing, implementing, and continuing these 
programs, to the extent funds are available. The amount of the 
grant award cannot exceed $3 per actual pupil unit. Minn. Stat. §§ 
120B.22; 120B.23 Appropriations for these grants were available in 
fiscal years 1993 through 1997.  

Notice of Violent 
Students 

Teachers must be notified and school board and teacher 
representatives must discuss the need for intervention services and 
staff training before placing violent students in classrooms. Violent 
behavior includes documented physical assault of a district 
employee by a student. Minn. Stat. § 121A.64 A probation officer 
must notify the school principal if a student/juvenile is adjudicated 
delinquent for acts committed on school property or acts that 
would be criminal acts if committed by an adult. Minn. Stat. § 
260B.171, subd. 3 

Crisis Management; 
School Safety Drills 

School districts and charter schools must have a crisis management 
policy to address potential violent situations. Minn. Stat. § 121A.035 

Public and private schools must have at least five school lockdown 
drills, five school fire drills, and one tornado drill. Minn. Stat. §§ 
121A.035; 121A.037 
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Tobacco Use; Medications; Medical Cannabis 

Tobacco Products 
Prohibited 

No one may smoke or use tobacco or a tobacco product in a public 
school and no one under age 18 may possess tobacco or a tobacco 
product. The prohibition extends to all school facilities that a 
district owns, rents, or leases and all district vehicles. An exception 
exists for an adult member of an Indian tribe who lights tobacco as 
part of a traditional Indian ceremony. Minn. Stat. § 144.4165 

Asthma Inhalers An asthmatic student may possess and use an asthma inhaler in 
school after demonstrating that the student can do so safely. 
Minn. Stat. § 121A.221 

EpiPens A student who is prescribed epinephrine auto-injectors for severe 
allergic reactions may possess or have immediate access to an 
EpiPen during the school day. Minn. Stat. § 121A.2205 

Districts and schools may keep a supply of undesignated 
epinephrine. Minn. Stat. § 121A.2207 

Nonprescription Pain 
Relievers 

A secondary student may possess and use nonprescription pain 
relievers in school with a parent’s written permission. Minn. Stat. § 
121A.222 

Medical Cannabis State laws authorizing the use and possession of medical cannabis 
do not permit the use or possession of medical cannabis on a 
school bus or van or on the grounds of any preschool, primary 
school, or secondary school. Minn. Stat. § 152.23 

Disabled Children 

Individuals with 
Disabilities Education 
Act (IDEA); Section 
504 of the 
Rehabilitation Act of 
1973 

A child may be eligible for special education services under the 
federal IDEA, which relies upon procedural safeguards to ensure 
appropriate educational services, or under Section 504, a federal 
law that bars discrimination on the basis of disability in federally 
funded programs. IDEA provides federal funding to states and 
school districts for expenses incurred in providing special 
education and related services to those disabled children covered 
by the act. To be eligible for this funding, states must provide a 
“free appropriate public education” (FAPE) for all children with 
certain disabilities. Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act is a 
broader, less prescriptive civil rights statute that covers some 
disabled children not served under IDEA who have a physical or 
mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life 
activities. All districts must identify, locate, and evaluate all 
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children with disabilities. This “child find” mandate applies to 
public and private school children, highly mobile children, migrant 
children, homeless children, and children who are wards of the 
state. 20 U.S.C. 1412 a(3) The U.S. Supreme Court let stand a federal 
appeals court decision holding that federal law requires school 
districts to provide educational services to all children regardless of 
the severity of their handicap. Timothy W. v. Rochester, N.H. Sch. 
Dist., 875 F.2d 954 (1st Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 983, 110 
S. Ct. 519 (1989). 

Availability of Services 
and Procedural 
Requirements under 
State Law 

Each school district must provide appropriate nondiscriminatory 
instruction and services for disabled children from birth until the 
disabled child is 21 or completes secondary school, whichever 
comes first. Minn. Stat. §§ 125A.02; 125A.03 Students with disabilities 
who complete secondary school or its equivalent must be granted a 
high school diploma. Minn. Stat. § 125A.04 

State law guarantees procedural safeguards and parental 
participation in the assessment and educational placement of 
disabled children. To receive such services, a child must be found 
(1) eligible for special education services according to statewide 
eligibility criteria, and (2) in need of such services. A lack of 
instruction in reading or math or limited English proficiency is 
not a disability. 34 C.F.R. § 300.8(c)(10)(ii) If school district 
personnel find that a child meets the eligibility criteria and is in 
need of special education services, a team that includes the child’s 
parents and appropriately trained school personnel will, after a 
comprehensive evaluation, develop an Individualized Education 
Program (IEP) that contains, among other things, annual 
educational goals for the child. Each district, at the beginning of 
each school year, must have in effect an IEP for each child with a 
disability. The child’s IEP team may authorize certain Medical 
Assistance services for the child. Minn. Stat. §§ 125A.03; 125A.08; 
125A.091; 256B.0625, subd. 26; 34 C.F.R. § 300.704(c)(8) 

Level of Service IDEA requires that a special education student receive a free 
appropriate public education (FAPE), as enunciated in Board of 
Education v. Rowley, 458 U.S. 176, 102 S. Ct. 3034 (1982), 
(requiring that a student receive “some” educational benefit from 
special instruction and services). The 8th Circuit Court of Appeals 
ruled IDEA requires only that children benefit from an education, 
not that they receive the best possible instruction or achieve 
outstanding results. E.S. v. Indep. Sch. Dist. No. 196, 135 F.3d 566 
(8th Cir. 1998). 

Related Services A district must provide children with related services, which 
encompass supportive services that “may be required to assist a 
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child with a disability to benefit from special education.” Services 
provided by a physician (other than for diagnostic and evaluation 
purposes) are subject to the medical services exclusion, but 
services that can be provided by a nurse or qualified layperson are 
not. Cedar Rapids Cmty. Sch. Dist. v. Garret F., 526 U.S. 66, 119 
S. Ct. 992 (1999); Irving Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Tatro, 468 U.S. 883, 
104 S. Ct. 3371 (1984). A school district may be obligated to pay 
for a residential treatment setting as a related service in order to 
ensure that an emotionally disturbed child receives the educational 
benefit to which the child is entitled under IDEA. Wayzata Indep. 
Sch. Dist. No. 284 v. A.C. 258 F.3d 769 (8th Cir. 2001). 

Early Childhood 
Choice 

A parent of a child with a disability not yet enrolled in kindergarten 
and not open-enrolled in another district may ask the resident 
district to enter into a tuition agreement to allow the child to attend 
an early childhood program chosen by the child’s family if certain 
conditions are met. Minn. Stat. § 125A.13, para. (b) 

Early Intervention Academic and behavioral interventions in general education are 
available to help students at academic or behavioral risk and to 
prevent inappropriate referrals to special education. A K-12 student 
identified as being unable to read at grade level must be provided 
with alternative instruction. Minn. Stat. §§ 120B.12, subd. 2; 124D.66; 
125A.56 

Dyslexia Students with dyslexia must meet state and federal eligibility 
criteria in order to qualify for special education services. Minn. Stat. 
§ 125A.01, subd. 2

Children Not Yet 
Eligible for Special 
Education 

In certain circumstances, children who are in the regular education 
program and have not been determined to need special education 
may still be covered by IDEA procedural protections relating to 
suspensions and expulsions. 34 C.F.R. § 300.534 

Alternative Dispute 
Resolution 

Parents are encouraged to use alternative dispute resolution 
processes to resolve disputes related to educating a disabled child. 
Minn. Stat. § 125A.091, subd. 6 

Participation in 
Statewide Assessments 

Children with disabilities must be included in state- and district-
wide assessment programs, with appropriate accommodations 
where necessary. Accommodations may include variations in the 
setting, timing, response, and scheduling that take into account a 
child’s disabilities. 34 C.F.R. § 300.160 

Supplementary 
Services for 
Extracurricular 
Activities 

School districts must provide supplementary aids and services to 
disabled students for extracurricular and nonacademic activities, 
regardless of whether the activity is required for the student’s 
education. Indep. Sch. Dist. No. 12, Centennial v. Minnesota Dept. 
of Educ., 788 N.W.2d 907 (Minn. 2010). See also Section 504 of 
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the federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 34 CFR § 104.37 (districts 
must offer qualified students with disabilities access to 
extracurricular athletic activities equal to that of students without 
disabilities). 

Restrictive Procedures “Restrictive procedures” is the use of physical holding or seclusion 
in an emergency. Minn. Stat. § 125A.0941 Qualified and trained 
professionals may use restrictive procedures on a child with 
disabilities only in response to behavior that constitutes an 
emergency and only if the procedures are consistent with 
applicable statutory requirements governing the use of such 
procedures. Minn. Stat. § 125A.0942, subd. 2 

Inclusion; Least 
Restrictive 
Environment (LRE) 

Children with disabilities must be educated in the least restrictive 
environment to the maximum extent appropriate. School districts 
bear the burden of showing that a disabled child should not 
participate in the regular education program. Criteria for 
determining whether the regular classroom is the LRE include the 
potential benefits to the child, potential disruption to the classroom, 
and the cost of aids and services. 34 C.F.R. § 300.114 

Suspension, Exclusion, 
and Expulsion 

When a child with an IEP is suspended from school for 
misbehavior that is unrelated to the pupil’s disabilities, the district 
must provide the child with special education and related services. 
A district must begin reviewing a child’s IEP and the relationship 
between the child’s disability and behavior and determine the 
appropriateness of the child’s education plan before expelling or 
excluding the child. Minn. Stat. § 121A.43 

IDEA prohibits school districts from cutting off services to any 
child with a disability for disciplinary reasons. This requirement 
applies to children with disabilities excluded from school for more 
than ten days. A suspension of fewer than ten days is a removal 
from the current placement rather than a change of placement. 34 
C.F.R. § 300.530 

The district must review the child’s IEP after five consecutive 
school days of suspension or ten school days if the child is 
suspended for ten or more cumulative days in the same school 
year. Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305, 108 S. Ct. 592 (1988); Minn. Stat. 
§ 121A.43

Firearms or Illegal 
Drugs in School; 
Alternative 
Placements 

A district may unilaterally place a disabled child in an alternative 
setting for up to 45 days if the child carries a weapon to school or a 
school function or uses, possesses, sells, or solicits illegal drugs at 
school or a school function. Also, a court may order a change of 
placement. Minn. Stat. §§ 121A.43; 121A.44; 34 C.F.R. § 300.530(g) 
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Education Records A district may not limit the frequency with which a disabled child’s 
parent or guardian inspects the child’s education records. A district 
may charge a fee for reproducing the education records unless the 
fee impairs the ability of the parent or guardian to inspect or review 
the records. Minn. Stat. § 13.32, subd. 10 

Sympathomimetic 
Medications 

A parent, after consulting with professional providers, may agree 
or disagree to provide a child with sympathomimetic drugs (Ritalin 
or other similar drugs) unless a health or safety emergency applies. 
Minn. Stat. §§ 125A.091, subd. 5, para. (b); 144.344 

Transfer of Parental 
Rights at Age of 
Majority 

By federal law, when a student reaches age 18, the procedural 
rights for special education transfer to the student. 34 C.F.R. § 
300.520 

Participation in Athletics; Title IX 

State Discrimination 
Law; Opportunity to 
Use Ice Arenas  

All educational institutions must provide equal opportunity for 
both sexes to participate in athletic programs. Depending upon the 
grade level, past circumstances, extent of interest, and the particular 
sport, sports programs may offer single-sex teams in some cases. 
Minn. Stat. § 121A.04 Any school district that operates and maintains 
an ice arena must offer equal sports opportunities for male and 
female students to use the ice arena. Minn. Stat. § 126C.45

Federal 
Discrimination Law 

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, which prohibits 
sex discrimination in federally assisted interscholastic athletic 
programs for male and female students, specifies what educational 
institutions must do to avoid losing federal funds. Factors used to 
determine whether equal athletic opportunities are available for 
members of both sexes include whether: the kinds of sports and 
levels of competition accommodate the interests and abilities of 
both sexes; equipment and supplies are provided; game and 
practice time schedules are comparable; coaching and academic 
tutoring are available; and locker rooms and other facilities are 
provided. 20 U.S.C. § 1681 Third-party school employees, including 
students’ athletic coaches, who report gender discrimination on 
students’ behalf, may have a private right of action under Title IX. 
Jackson v. Birmingham Bd. of Educ., 544 U.S. 167, 125 S. Ct. 
1497 (2005). 

Discrimination based on transgender status may violate Title IX. In 
2016, the U.S. Department of Education issued guidance stating 
that schools must provide transgender students with access to 
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bathrooms, locker rooms, and sex-segregated classes that match 
their gender identity, even if that differs from their sex at birth. 
Office of Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education and the Civil Rights 
Division, U.S. Department of Justice “Dear Colleague” letter, May 13, 2016 
In 2017, the U.S. Department of Education withdrew this guidance. 
Office of Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education and the Civil Rights 
Division, U.S. Department of Justice “Dear Colleague” letter, Feb. 22, 2017. 
The United States Supreme Court has not ruled on this issue. 

Title IX specifically prohibits discrimination based on pregnancy. 
Office of Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education, “Dear Colleague” 
letter, June 25, 2013. 

Districts may provide nonvocational voluntary single-sex classes or 
extracurricular activities under Title IX if the education is 
substantially related to an important governmental or educational 
objective. 34 C.F.R. § 106.34(b) 

Equal Protection 
Clause  

Female athletes alleging sex discrimination in athletic programs 
have argued that the Equal Protection Clause of the 14th 
Amendment to the federal Constitution prohibits rules barring them 
from male athletic teams or treating female teams differently from 
male teams. While courts generally agree that the Equal Protection 
Clause requires permitting females to try out for male teams in 
contact and noncontact sports, they are unwilling to find a right for 
females to participate on male teams when there is a separate 
female team available. See, Brendan v. Indep. Sch. Dist. 742, 477 
F.2d 1292 (8th Cir. 1973); Leffel v. Wisconsin Interscholastic 
Athletic Ass’n., 444 F.Supp. 1117 (E.D. Wis. 1978); O’Connor v. 
Bd. of Educ., Dist. #23, 645 F.2d 578 (7th Cir. 1981). 

Right to Participate Students generally have no claim of entitlement to participate in 
extracurricular activities. Brown v. Wells, 181 N.W.2d 708 (Minn. 
1970). Participation in extracurricular activities is not a 
constitutionally protected property interest and is not of equal 
importance with the right to an education. Without a protected 
property interest, there are generally no due process requirements in 
dismissing a student from a team; however, some courts have said 
that the minimal due process standards in Goss v. Lopez must be 
met. Palmer v. Merluzzi, 868 F.2d 90 (3d Cir. 1989). Athletic 
programs not offered for credit are not included in the statutory 
protections under the Pupil Fair Dismissal Act. Minn. Stat. § 121A.56, 
subd. 2 
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Minnesota State High 
School League 
(MSHSL) Activities 

Any student in grades 7 to 12 who wishes to participate in a high 
school league-sponsored activity must be under 20 years old, 
attend school regularly, and be fully enrolled in the school 
according to Minnesota Department of Education criteria. 
Homeschools need not become MSHSL members to participate in 
MSHSL events. MSHSL Bylaws 101.00 

Ban on Recruiting 
Student Athletes 

A state-sponsored high school athletic league may prohibit school 
officials and coaches from contacting prospective student athletes 
to recruit them for their athletic programs. Tennessee Secondary 
Sch. Athletic Ass’n v. Brentwood Acad., 551 U.S. 291, 127 S. Ct. 
2489 (2007). 

Transfer Students A transfer student is eligible for varsity competition if the student 
withdraws from the previous school in good standing and: (1) the 
student enrolls in 9th grade for the first time; (2) the student’s 
parents move to a different district; (3) a court orders a change in a 
student’s residence; (4) a student of divorced parents sharing joint 
custody moves once to reside with the other parent; or (5) a 
student’s parents move to Minnesota for the first time. MSHSL 
Bylaws 111.00 A student with an IEP or Section 504 plan who seeks 
to transfer between schools to overcome barriers to academic 
success may submit to the MSHSL executive director a written 
request for varsity eligibility at the receiving school. Minn. Stat. § 
128C.02, subd. 5 

Homeschool Students School districts must provide resident homeschool students with an 
equal opportunity to participate in the extracurricular activities of 
the district. Minn. Stat. § 123B.49, subd. 4 All students participating in 
extracurricular activities must meet the same eligibility criteria. 
MSHSL Bylaws 104.00 

Student Athlete 
Concussions 

Among other requirements, a qualified health care provider must 
evaluate and grant written authorization before a student athlete 
who is diagnosed with or suspected of sustaining a concussion is 
allowed to return to play. Minn. Stat. § 121A.38 
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Public School Fee Law 

Prohibited Fees Public school education is free to all eligible students. School 
boards may not charge fees for necessary goods and services such 
as instructional materials and supplies, required library books, 
required school activities, lockers, graduation caps and gowns, and 
bus fees to students who live more than two miles from school. A 
school board may require payment of transportation costs for 
which state aid is not authorized if guidelines are established to 
guarantee that no one is denied an education based upon this cost 
alone. Minn. Stat. §§ 123B.35; 123B.36; 123B.37 See Minnesota’s 
Public School Fee Law, House Research Department, December 
2010. 

Authorized Fees School districts may require students to pay for certain school-
related costs specified in statute, such as fees for school uniforms, 
extracurricular activities, security deposits, personal athletic 
equipment, supplementary field trips, musical instruments, driver 
education, and personal stationery supplies. A board may charge 
fees for books a student loses or destroys. School districts must 
charge the same admission fees for extracurricular activities to 
public school students and students attending a homeschool with 
five or fewer students. School districts must hold a public hearing 
before imposing a fee that is not authorized or prohibited by 
statute. Minn. Stat. §§ 123B.36; 123B.38 

The U.S. Supreme Court ruled against a poor family’s equal 
protection challenge to a North Dakota law allowing some school 
districts to charge a busing fee while providing students in other 
districts with free transportation. Kadrmas v. Dickinson Pub. Sch., 
487 U.S. 450, 108 S. Ct. 2481 (1988). 

Withholding Grades 
or Diploma 

A school district may not withhold the grades or diploma of a 
student who fails to pay student fees. Minn. Stat. § 123B.37, subd. 2  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/123B.35
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/123B.36
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/123B.37
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/123B.36
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/123B.38
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/123B.37


House Research Department Updated: December 2018 
Youth and the Law Page 39 

Access to Students’ Education Records; Student Surveys 

Limit on Disclosure Schools must obtain written permission from a parent or a student 
over 18 before disclosing information in education records unless a 
statutory exception applies. For example, an outbreak of H1N1 in a 
school may constitute a “health and safety emergency” that would 
allow school officials to disclose personally identifiable 
information about students on a case-by-case basis, consistent with 
the circumstances of the threat to students’ health. 20 U.S.C. 1232g 
(b)(1) and (2); 34 CFR § 99.36; Minn. Stat. § 13.32, subd. 3 See Federal 
and State Laws Governing Access to Student Records, House 
Research Department, December 2015. 

Right to Inspect and 
Review 

School districts annually must publish and distribute or post the 
procedures by which individuals may access a student’s records. 
Parents and students have the right to inspect and review education 
records within ten working days. Schools are not required to 
provide copies of materials in education records unless parents or 
students cannot inspect the records personally. Schools may charge 
a fee for providing copies of education records and remote access 
to data. 34 C.F.R. § 99.10(a); Minn. Stat. §§ 13.03; 13.04; 13.32, subd. 1 

Right to Request That 
a School Correct 
Records 

Parents and students have the right to request that a school correct 
education records they believe to be inaccurate or misleading. If a 
school refuses to change the records, parents and students have the 
right to a formal hearing. If the school still refuses to correct the 
records after the hearing, the parent or student may place written 
comments about the contested information in the records. 20 U.S.C. 
1232g (a)(2) 

Access by Parents to 
Student Records 

A minor student may request that a school deny the student’s 
parents access to educational data about the student. If a school 
official reasonably concludes that disclosing the information to the 
parent or guardian could lead to physical or emotional harm to the 
minor, the official may withhold the data. Minn. Stat. §§ 13.02, subd. 
8; 13.32, subd. 2 Education data include the health services of a 
school nurse working in a public school setting. If the data concern 
certain medical, dental, mental, or other health services, the school 
official may release the data if failing to inform the parent would 
seriously jeopardize the minor’s health. Minn. Stat. §§ 144.341 to 
144.347 Under state rule, school officials must not deny parents 
access to a student’s education records unless the student is a full-
time college student or is 18 years old. Minn. Rules, part 1205.0500, 
subp. 4 The Family Education Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) 
gives parents access to a student’s college records if the student is a 
dependent for federal tax purposes. 34 CFR § 99.31(a)(8) 
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Student Transfers School districts, charter schools, and nonpublic schools that receive 
public services or aid must transmit a transfer student’s educational 
records within ten business days, upon request, to the school 
district, charter school, or nonpublic school enrolling the student. 
The district or school transmitting the records must include in the 
records information about formal disciplinary actions taken against 
the student and inform the student and the student’s parents that the 
student’s disciplinary records are being transferred. A principal 
must remove and destroy a probable cause notice included in a 
student’s records if certain conditions are met. Minn. Stat. § 120A.22, 
subd. 7 

Directory Information Directory information is defined in federal privacy law (FERPA, 
34 C.F.R. 99.3) and refers to certain education data available to the 
public. Common examples of directory information include a 
student’s name, address, and telephone number. Schools must tell 
parents and students that they have the right to refuse to let the 
school designate information about the student as directory 
information. Minn. Stat. § 13.32, subd. 5 See Access to Student 
Records, House Research Department, October 2014. 

Student Surveys Districts must notify parents and students over 18 that their prior 
written consent is required before a student participates in a survey 
that concerns one or more of eight protected areas if the survey is 
partially or wholly federally funded. Other surveys require an 
annual notice to parents. 20 U.S.C. § 1232h; 34 C.F.R. Part 99 

Parents may opt their students out of surveys conducted to collect 
personal information on students. Districts and charter schools 
must not penalize students who opt out of participating in a 
survey. Minn. Stat. § 121A.065 

Juvenile Justice 
System 

School districts may disclose private educational data to 
appropriate juvenile justice authorities if (1) the data concern the 
ability of the juvenile justice system to effectively serve the student 
before adjudication, and the authorities’ written request for the data 
certifies that the data will not be disclosed without the parent’s 
written consent except as authorized by law; or (2) the information 
about the behavior of the student who poses a risk of harm is 
reasonably necessary to protect the health or safety of the student 
or other individuals. The district must keep the request and a record 
of the release in the student’s file. Minn. Stat. § 13.32, subd. 3, paras. 
(i), (l) 
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Military Recruiters Secondary schools must release to military recruiting officers the 
names, addresses, and home telephone numbers of 11th and 12th 
grade students within 60 days of receiving a request for the 
information unless parents or students refuse to consent to 
release the information. Minn. Stat. § 13.32, subd. 5a 

Student Employee; 
Criminal History 
Background Check 

A school hiring authority may request a Bureau of Criminal 
Apprehension (BCA) criminal history background check on a 
person who seeks to work as a student employee. Minn. Stat. § 
123B.03, subd. 1, para. (c) 

Law Enforcement and Court Records on Students 

Controlled Substances A law enforcement agency must notify the chemical preassessment 
team in a school within two weeks of a drug incident in which the 
agency has probable cause to believe that an enrolled student 
committed a controlled substance crime. Minn. Stat. § 121A.28 

Court Disposition 
Order 

Principals receive the court disposition order on any public or 
private elementary or secondary school student who is adjudicated 
delinquent for (1) an act committed on school property, or (2) an 
act that would be one of a list of specified felonies if committed by 
an adult. 

The order must be kept in the student’s record, may not be released 
outside the school district other than to another school district to 
which the student is transferring, and must be destroyed when the 
juvenile graduates or at the end of the school year after she or he 
turns 23, whichever is earlier. The school may obtain additional 
information from the probation officer with parental consent. Minn. 
Stat. §§ 121A.75; 260B.171 

Law Enforcement 
Records 

A law enforcement agency may notify the principal or chief 
administrative officer of a juvenile’s school if there is probable 
cause to believe the juvenile has committed an offense, the victim 
is a student or staff member of the school, and notice is reasonably 
necessary to protect the victim. Notice is not given if it would 
jeopardize an investigation. 

Data from this notice must be destroyed when the juvenile 
graduates or reaches the age of 23, whichever is earlier. In a county 
where the county attorney operates a diversion program, a law 
enforcement agency or county attorney may provide information 
on participants or juveniles being considered as participants, to 
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school officials and to public or private social service agencies 
participating in the program. Minn. Stat. § 260B.171 

In-School Interviews Law enforcement and child protective services personnel may need 
a warrant, court order, or parent consent to interview a student on 
school grounds about suspected child abuse. Camreta v. Green, 
563 U.S. 692, 131 S. Ct. 2020 (2011). Police must factor the age of 
the student they intend to question into their decision about giving 
Miranda warnings. J.D.B. v. North Carolina, 564 U.S. 261, 131 S. 
Ct. 2394 (2011). 

School Resource 
Officers (SROs) 

SROs who help school officials investigate serious forms of 
student misconduct may affect applicable legal standards. A 
“reasonable suspicion” standard applies when school officials 
search a student on school grounds. A higher “probable cause” 
standard applies when a law enforcement search occurs on school 
grounds. SROs must give students a Miranda warning if they are 
collecting criminal investigative data on part of a custodial 
interrogation. See School Resource Officers, House Research 
Department, December 2015. 

Rights of Nonpublic School Students 

Educational Materials 
and Student Support 
Services 

School districts must provide all students not attending public 
schools, including those in homeschools, with textbooks, 
individualized instructional or cooperative learning materials, and 
standardized tests. All material must be secular in nature and 
cannot be used for religious instruction or worship. A district must 
provide the same health services to students of nonpublic schools 
as it provides to public school students. Public secondary schools 
must offer nonpublic secondary students guidance and counseling 
services. Allotments for nonpublic school costs must not exceed 
average expenditures for the same public school services. Minn. 
Stat. §§ 123B.40 to 123B.48 

Public school teachers may provide Title I instructional services to 
eligible nonpublic school students on nonpublic school premises 
when the program contains adequate safeguards to prevent 
violating the First Amendment ban on establishing a state religion 
(Title I of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act provides 
federal financial assistance to state and local education agencies to 
help at-risk students meet state academic requirements). Agostini v. 
Felton, 521 U.S. 203, 117 S. Ct. 1997 (1997). Secular instruction 
that is part of a publicly funded program must supplement a 
religious school’s regular education services. 
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A school district may provide an interpreter to a deaf student 
attending a parochial school without violating First Amendment 
limits on government support for religion. Zobrest v. Catalina 
Foothills Sch. Dist., 509 U.S. 1, 113 S. Ct. 2462 (1993). The U.S. 
Supreme Court did not say whether the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) requires public schools to pay 
for such assistance. 

Nonpublic schools may use federal funds for computer equipment 
and other instructional materials. Mitchell v. Helms, 530 U.S. 793, 
120 S. Ct. 2530 (2000). 

Unilateral Placement 
of Children with 
Disabilities 

IDEA does not require public schools to pay for special education 
services at nonpublic schools where parents voluntarily place the 
student at the nonpublic school and timely appropriate services are 
available to the student at the public schools. Unilateral placement 
occurs when a parent places a student in a nonpublic school 
without the consent of an IEP team. Unilaterally placed nonpublic 
school students generally are not individually entitled under federal 
law to publicly funded special education services. 34 C.F.R. § 300.138 

School districts may be required to reimburse parents for the cost 
of private special education services if the district fails to provide a 
free appropriate public education (FAPE) and the private school 
placement is appropriate, regardless of whether the child 
previously received special education or related services through 
the public school. Forest Grove Sch. Dist. v. T.A., 557 U.S. 230, 
129 S. Ct. 2484 (2009). The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals later 
ruled that the Forest Grove school district need not reimburse 
tuition costs to the parents of a student with ADHD who was 
unilaterally placed in a private school given that the student’s 
placement was due to drug use and behavioral problems and 
unrelated to the student’s disabilities. Forest Grove Sch. Dist. v. 
T.A., 638 F.3d 1234 (9th Cir. 2011). 

A school district may provide special instruction and services to a 
unilaterally placed child with disabilities at the nonpublic school 
building, a public school, or other neutral site. A school district 
must provide instruction in core curriculum at a public school 
site. Minn. Stat. § 126C.19, subd. 4, para. (b) 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/34/300.138
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/126C.19
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Separate School 
District 

Having the state create a separate school district to serve a religious 
enclave is tantamount to allocating political power on a religious 
criterion and violates the Establishment Clause of the First 
Amendment. Bd. of Educ. of Kiryas Joel Village Sch. Dist. v. 
Grumet, 512 U.S. 687, 114 S. Ct. 2481 (1994). However, opening a 
school primarily attended by religious students and granting 
parents’ request to forego using technology in the classroom is 
permitted where the school is open to all students, the curriculum is 
the same curriculum used in other schools, the district ordinarily 
grants parents’ requests for an accommodation, and the decision to 
open the school is based on financial concerns. Stark v. Indep. Sch. 
Dist. No. 640, 123 F.3d 1068 (8th Cir. 1997). 

Transportation School districts are required to provide “equal transportation” for 
nonpublic school students within the district’s boundaries to the 
same extent they are required to provide transportation for public 
school students. A district may provide transportation to a 
nonpublic school located in another district, but the nonpublic 
school must pay the cost of the transportation. Minn. Stat. §§ 123B.84; 
123B.86 

Education Tax 
Deduction and Credit 

A taxpayer may deduct up to $1,625 for the costs of tuition, 
textbooks, transportation, and other education expenses, for each 
qualifying child in kindergarten to grade six and $2,500 for each 
qualifying child in grades seven to 12. The costs of religious books 
and materials and the expenses of participating in extracurricular 
activities at nonpublic schools may not be deducted. Minn. Stat. § 
290.0132, subd. 4 

If the family’s income is under $33,500, a taxpayer may claim a 
credit of $1,000 per qualifying child for 75 percent of all education 
expenses allowed under the deduction except nonpublic school 
tuition. The credit phases out for families with income over 
$33,500, depending on the number of qualifying children. Minn. 
Stat. § 290.0674 See House Research Department Income Tax 
Deductions and Credits for Public and Nonpublic Education in 
Minnesota, June 2017, and The K-12 Education Deduction and 
Credit: An Overview, January 2017. 

Extracurricular 
Activities 

School districts must charge public school students and 
homeschool students the same admission fees for extracurricular 
activities. Minn. Stat. §§ 123B.36, subd. 1, para. (b), cl. (2); 123B.49, subd. 
4 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/123B.84
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/123B.86
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/290.0132
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/290.0132
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/290.0674
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/290.0674
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/123B.36
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/123B.49
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Education Records A nonpublic school that receives state aid must transmit the 
education records of a transferring student within ten days, 
upon request, to the school enrolling the student. Minn. Stat. § 
120A.22, subd. 7, para. (a) 

Health-Related 
Education 

Nonpublic schools may participate in a district program to prevent 
and reduce the risk of sexually transmitted infections and 
diseases. Minn. Stat. § 121A.23 

First Amendment Rights 

Freedom of Speech Students retain their First Amendment right to freedom of speech 
in school if their speech does not result in “material disruption” of 
the education process. The test for determining the degree of 
disruption is “whether the manner of expression is basically 
incompatible with the normal activity of a particular place at a 
particular time.” Tinker v. Des Moines Indep. Cmty. Sch. Dist., 393 
U.S. 503, 509, 89 S. Ct. 733 (1969). A school may regulate speech 
that interferes with or disrupts the work and discipline of the 
school, and discipline for student harassment and bullying. 
Kowlaski v. Berkeley County Sch., 652 F.3d 565 (4th Cir. 2011); 
(high school senior given ten-day suspension for ridiculing another 
student on MySpace). 

School officials may discipline students for offensively lewd or 
indecent speech. A student’s speech containing “explicit sexual 
metaphors” is not protected by the First Amendment. Bethel Sch. 
Dist. No. 403 v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 675, 106 S. Ct. 3159 (1986). The 
U.S. Third Circuit Court of Appeals decided school officials may 
not ban speech “plausibly” containing “social or political” 
commentary unless the speech is “plainly lewd.” B.H. ex rel. Hawk 
v. Easton Area Sch. Dist., 725 F.3d 293 (3d Cir. 2013) (middle
school students wearing “I Heart Boobies” breast cancer awareness 
bracelets protected under the First Amendment). However, a 
federal trial court in Indiana concluded the opposite in J.A. v. Fort 
Wayne Cmty. Schs., No. 1:12-CV-155, 2013 WL#4479229 (N.D. 
Ind. Aug. 20, 2013) (“I ♥ Boobies” bracelet contained sexual 
innuendo that was vulgar within the school context). 

School officials may restrict student speech at a school-sponsored 
event when they reasonably believe the speech promotes illegal 
drug use. Morse v. Frederick, 551 U.S. 393, 127 S. Ct. 2618 
(2007). 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.23
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School officials have the right to impose reasonable restrictions on 
student speech in school-sponsored student papers as long as their 
action is reasonably related to an educational purpose. Hazelwood 
Sch. Dist. v. Kuhlmeier, 484 U.S. 260, 108 S. Ct. 562 (1988). The 
U.S. Supreme Court declined to review the application of 
Hazelwood to a student council election in which school officials 
disqualified a student from the election for making “discourteous” 
and “rude” remarks about the assistant principal during a speech at 
a school-sponsored assembly. Poling v. Murphy, 872 F.2d 757 (6th 
Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1021, 110 S. Ct. 723 (1990). 
School officials disqualified a student from serving as junior class 
president after he handed out condoms bearing his election slogan 
“Adam Henerey, the Safe Choice” on election morning. Henerey 
ex rel. v. City of St. Charles Sch. Dist., 200 F.3d 1128 (8th Cir. 
1999). 

Federal appellate courts disagree about whether school officials 
can require students to get permission from the principal before 
distributing noneducation materials. Burch v. Barker, 861 F.2d 
1149 (9th Cir. 1988) (policy curtailing communication among 
students violates First Amendment); Taylor v. Roswell Indep. Sch. 
Dist., 713 F.3d 25 (10th Cir. 2013) (students banned from 
distributing rubber “fetus” dolls as part of anti-abortion activities). 

A school district violated a lesbian student’s First Amendment free 
expression rights when it refused to allow her to attend prom with a 
same-sex date and wear a tuxedo instead of a dress. McMillen v. 
Itawamba Cnty. Sch. Dist., 702 F. Supp. 2d 699 (N.D. Miss., 
2010). 

Pledge of Allegiance All public school students must recite the pledge of allegiance at 
least once per week but may decline to participate in the recitation, 
though a school board may waive this requirement. Minn. Stat. § 
121A.11, subd. 3 

Internet Access and 
Use; Cell Phones 

To regulate students’ access to and use of the Internet, school 
districts must show that they have the authority to regulate 
students’ Internet use and that district actions satisfy constitutional 
standards for free speech. See Tinker, 393 U.S. 503 (1969); Fraser 
478 U.S. 675 (1986); Hazelwood, 484 U.S. 260 (1988). In effecting 
a student Internet use policy, school officials should consider, 
among other things, who owns the computer, the content of the 
message, and whether the message affects the educational process 
or the school climate. See Regulating Students’ Online Speech 
Under the First Amendment, House Research, August 2014. 

Public schools that receive federal technology aid must adopt 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.11
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.11
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Internet safety policies that include using filters to protect children 
against obscene, pornographic, or harmful material. Children’s 
Internet Protection Act (CIPA) Pub. L. No. 106-554 (2000) 
 
Some school policies allow officials to search students’ cell phone 
messages when they suspect students of cheating, drug abuse, or 
other school violations, including sending sexually suggestive text 
messages, e-mails, and photos. Consistent with Fourth Amendment 
search and seizure requirements, cell phone searches may be 
allowed if there is a reasonable suspicion of wrongdoing and the 
search will lead to evidence of that wrongdoing. 

Student Speech off 
School Grounds 

School officials may discipline students for offensive conduct off 
school grounds if the conduct creates a risk of substantially 
disrupting the school environment and if it was foreseeable that the 
off-campus conduct would reach the school campus. Wisniewski v. 
Board of Educ. of Weedsport Cent. Sch. Dist., 494 F.3d 34 (2nd 
Cir. 2007), cert. denied, 552 U.S. 1296, 128 S. Ct. 1741 (2008); 
S.J.W. ex rel. Wilson v. Lee’s Summit R-7 Sch. Dist., 696 F.3d 771 
(8th Cir. 2012) (off-campus offensive, racist, sexually explicit, and 
degrading comments about named high school classmates). 

Speech Regarding 
Sexual Orientation 

School administrators have the discretion to limit student speech on 
controversial topics that crosses the line between hurt feelings and 
bullying, intimidation, and provocation that substantially disrupts 
the educational environment. The circuit courts are divided on 
what type of anti-gay speech schools can prohibit as bullying. 
 
The U.S. Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals in Harper v. Poway 
Unified Sch. Dist., 445 F.3d 1166 (9th Cir. 2006), vacated on other 
grounds as moot, 549 U.S. 1262 (2007), held that a school could 
likely prohibit a student under the First Amendment from wearing 
a shirt that read “Homosexuality is Shameful ‘Romans 1:27’.” 
 
The U.S. Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals in Zamecnik v. Indian 
Prairie Sch. Dist. No. 204, 636 F.3d 874 (7th Cir. 2011) held that a 
school district could not enforce a ban on anti-gay T-shirts that 
read “Be Happy, Not Gay” because the message was “tepidly 
negative,” not truly “derogatory,” and did not satisfy the Tinker 
substantial disruption standard. 

Hate Speech In Wisconsin v. Mitchell, 508 U.S. 476, 113 S. Ct. 2194 (1993), the 
U.S. Supreme Court upheld a state statute prescribing higher 
penalties for crimes motivated by racial or other bias. Arguably, 
this ruling provides a legal framework for districts to impose more 
severe discipline for improper behavior motivated by bias. 
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True Threat Speech True threat speech is not protected by the First Amendment. To 
determine what constitutes a true threat, school officials may 
consider, among other things, the listener’s reaction to the threat, 
whether the threat was conditional, whether the speaker made the 
threat directly to the victim, whether the speaker had previously 
threatened the victim, and whether the recipient reasonably 
believed the speaker to be violent. In Riehm v. Engelking, 538 F.3d 
952 (8th Cir. 2008), the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals ruled that 
a student essay describing a student’s murder of a teacher and a 
suicide was a “true threat” and not protected speech. A student who 
sent an instant message on his home computer to a classmate on 
her home computer saying he was going to get a gun and kill 
certain students made a true threat. D.J.M. v. Hannibal Pub. Sch. 
Dist. No. 60, 647 F.3d 754 (8th Cir. 2011). 

Prayer in the Schools The U.S. Supreme Court declared that a district-sanctioned 
recitation of a nondenominational prayer at the beginning of each 
school day violated the First Amendment prohibition against 
establishment of religion. Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421, 82 S. Ct. 
1261 (1962). The Court ruled that a law authorizing a short period 
for “voluntary or silent prayer” is also unconstitutional, but 
indicated that allowing a moment of silence probably would not 
violate the U.S. Constitution. Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 105 
S. Ct. 2479 (1985). The Court held that an invocation and a 
benediction at public school graduation ceremonies violate the 
Establishment Clause. Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 112 S. Ct. 
2649 (1992). Lower courts have permitted a student-led graduation 
prayer where students decide on the type of graduation speech 
without faculty participation or review. Adler v. Duval Cnty. Sch. 
Bd., 250 F.3d 1330 (11th Cir. 2001). Student-led, student-initiated 
prayers at school-sponsored athletic events are prohibited. Santa Fe 
Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 530 U.S. 290, 120 S. Ct. 2266 (2000). 

A moment of silence may be observed in school. Minn. Stat. § 
121A.10 

Religious Observances The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals held that it is not a violation 
of the First Amendment’s ban on establishing a state religion for a 
school to observe holidays that have both a religious and a secular 
basis. The court found permissible those music, art, literature, and 
drama programs having religious themes, and the temporary 
display of religious symbols associated with religious holidays. 
Florey v. Sioux Falls Sch. Dist. 49-5, 619 F.2d 1311 (8th Cir. 
1980). 

A fifth grade student distributed flyers inviting her classmates to a 
Christmas party at her church. The court did not find evidence that 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.10
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.10
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distributing the invitations would substantially disrupt the school 
environment or interfere with the rights of others. K.A. v. Pocono 
Mountain Sch. Dist., 710 F.3d 99 (3rd Cir. 2013) 

A district must make reasonable efforts to accommodate a student 
who wishes to be absent from school for a religious observance. 
Minn. Stat. § 120A.35 

Release Time In Zorach v. Clauson, 343 U.S. 306, 72 S. Ct. 679 (1952), the U.S. 
Supreme Court upheld a “release-time” program in which public 
school students were allowed to leave school for religious 
purposes. The court found that no religious instruction occurred on 
school property, no public funds were expended to support the 
program, and students had parental permission to attend the 
program. 

At a parent’s request, a student may be released from school for up 
to three hours per week for purposes of receiving religious 
instruction. Minn. Stat. § 120A.22, subd. 12, cl. (3) 

Student Dress Code A restrictive dress code abridging students’ free speech rights may 
be justified if facts reasonably lead school officials to forecast 
substantial disruption of or material interference with school 
activities. Jeglin v. San Jacinto Unified Sch. Dist., 827 F. Supp. 
1459 (C.D. Cal. 1993). A dress code that is viewpoint-neutral and 
intended to ensure student safety and school order is within a 
school’s educational mandate and permissible under the First 
Amendment. Long v. Bd. of Educ., 121 F. Supp. 2d 621 (W.D. Ky. 
2000) aff’d, 21 Fed. Appx. 252 (6th Cir. 2001). The U.S. Supreme 
Court has not addressed the constitutionality of banning religious 
attire in public schools. 

School districts may require students to wear a school 
uniform. Minn. Stat. § 123B.36, subd. 4. 

Science Course 
Requirements 

The U.S. Supreme Court held that a statute forbidding the teaching 
of evolution unless “creation science” is also taught violated the 
constitutional ban on state establishment of religion. Edwards v. 
Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 107 S. Ct. 2573 (1987). 

Equal Access to School 
Facilities for Religious 
and other Purposes 

The Equal Access Act forbids secondary schools receiving federal 
funds from barring student religious groups from meeting at school 
if the school has a general policy of allowing student meetings. 20 
U.S.C. § 4071 The U.S. Supreme Court ruled that a school district 
that allows “noncurriculum-related” student groups access to 
school facilities must give access on equal terms to all student 
groups, regardless of the religious or other content of members’ 
speech. Bd. of Educ. of the Westside Cmty. Sch. v. Mergens, 496 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.35
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/123B.36
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/4071
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/4071
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U.S. 226, 110 S. Ct. 2356 (1990); Good News Club v. Milford 
Central Sch., 533 U.S. 98, 121 S. Ct. 2093 (2001) (district must 
provide space for after-school Bible club for elementary students). 
A Minnesota federal district court ruled that a school district 
violated a gay student club’s rights when it denied the club access 
to school facilities on the same basis as other noncurricular student 
groups. SAGE v. Osseo Area Sch. Dist. No. 279, No. 05-2100 (D. 
Minn. 2007), aff’d, 540 F.3d 911 (8th Cir. 2008). 

Exemption from 
Compulsory 
Attendance 

The U.S. Supreme Court ruled that certain pupils may be exempt 
from the state compulsory attendance law if they can show the law 
imposes an unnecessary burden on the right to free exercise of 
religion under the First Amendment. Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 
205, 92 S. Ct. 1526 (1972). 

 
 

Fourth Amendment Rights 
 

Search and Seizure A government official, including a public school employee, who 
peeks, pokes, or pries into a place or item shielded from public 
view, including a locker, desk, purse, knapsack, backpack, 
briefcase, folder, book, or article of clothing, is conducting a 
search. The U.S. Supreme Court ruled that the Fourth Amendment 
of the U.S. Constitution protects students against unreasonable 
searches and seizures, but permits school officials to search 
students if there are “reasonable grounds” for suspecting that a 
student has violated the law or school rules. For a search to be 
constitutional, it must be “justified at its inception” and there must 
be reasonable grounds for suspecting “the search will turn up 
evidence that the student has violated or is violating either the law 
or the rules of the school.” New Jersey v. T.L.O., 469 U.S. 325, 105 
S. Ct. 733 (1985); Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 88 S. Ct. 1868 (1968). 
 
The scope of the search must be “reasonably related to the 
objectives of the search and not excessively intrusive in light of the 
age and sex of the student and the material of the infraction.” In 
adult criminal search and seizure cases, courts use a more stringent 
standard that requires a warrant based on “probable cause” before a 
search can be done. New Jersey v. T.L.O., 469 U.S. 325 (1985). To 
the extent that school officials act like agents of the police, the 
higher standard of probable cause may apply. 
 
A strip search of a middle school student by school officials 
looking for ibuprofen tablets violated the student’s right to be free 
from unreasonable searches and seizures. Safford Unified Sch. Dist. 
No. 1 v. Redding, 557 U.S. 364, 129 S. Ct. 2633 (2009). 
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Locker Searches The New Jersey v. T.L.O. decision did not address whether students 
have a legitimate expectation of privacy in their lockers. Under 
state law, school lockers belong to the school district, and school 
authorities may inspect the inside of the lockers. School authorities 
may search students’ personal possessions in a school locker only 
if the school authorities have a reasonable suspicion that the search 
will uncover evidence of a violation of law or school rules. Minn. 
Stat. § 121A.72, subd. 1 Searches of student cars on school grounds 
are subject to the same reasonable suspicion standard. State v. Best, 
987 A.2d 605 (N.J. 2010). 

Drug Testing A drug test is considered a “search” under the Fourth Amendment. 
In 1988, a federal court upheld a school district’s drug testing 
program requiring random urinalysis for high school athletes and 
cheerleaders on the grounds that: (1) the right to participate in 
extracurricular activities was not constitutionally guaranteed, and 
(2) school officials’ interest in a drug-free athletic program 
outweighed students’ privacy interest. Schaill v. Tippecanoe 
County Sch. Corp., 864 F.2d 1309 (7th Cir. 1988). 

In 1995, the U.S. Supreme Court declared that drug use impairs 
children for whom the state has a special responsibility, and drug 
use by student-athletes is dangerous because of the high risk of 
immediate physical harm to the drug user or those with whom the 
athlete is playing. Vernonia Sch. Dist. 47J v. Acton, 515 U.S. 646, 
115 S. Ct. 2386 (1995). Schools may test students, including 
cheerleaders, who participate in extracurricular activities in order 
to prevent, deter, and detect drug use. Board of Educ. of Indep. 
Sch. Dist. No. 92 of Pottawatomie Cnty. v. Earls, 536 U.S. 822, 
122 S. Ct. 2559 (2002).  

Scans, Bag Searches, 
Cars, Cell Phones, and 
Electronic 
Surveillance 

School officials’ use of metal detectors constitutes a search and is 
permissible if the search is justified at its inception and the scope 
of the search is reasonable. In re F.B., 658 A.2d 1378 (Pa. Super. 
Ct. 1995), aff’d 726 A.2d 361 (Pa. 1999). Electronic surveillance 
using a video camera, audio recording, wiretapping, or computer 
monitoring may constitute a search. Students’ greater expectation 
of privacy in a locker room or restroom may affect where a school 
district may place such a device.  

School officials may not search a student’s car parked off-campus 
where the off-campus parking is unrelated to a school-sponsored 
event or activity. If school officials suspect a student’s off-campus 
conduct violates the state’s criminal code, they must notify the 
appropriate law enforcement authorities. J.P. v. Millard Pub. Sch., 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.72
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.72
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830 N.W. 2d 453 (Neb. 2013). However, a student search 
connected with an off-campus school-sponsored event may be 
permissible under the reasonable suspicion standard. Kissinger v. 
Fort Wayne Cmty. Schs., 293 F.Supp.3d 796 (N.D. Ind. 2018). 

Policies that allow school officials to search students’ lockers, 
backpacks, and cars parked on school grounds may authorize 
searches of cell phones if there is a “reasonable suspicion” of 
wrongdoing and the cell phone search will lead to evidence that a 
student violated a law or policy. A cell phone search may raise 
concerns about officials’ ability to limit the scope of the search. 
See Klump v. Nazareth Area Sch. Dist., 425 F. Supp. 2d 622 (E.D. 
Pa. 2006) (confiscation of cell phone was justified but search of 
phone violated student’s Fourth Amendment rights). Police must 
obtain a warrant before searching the cell phone of a person placed 
under arrest unless “exigent circumstances” exist. Riley v. 
California, 134 S. Ct. 2473 (2014). 

School districts may conduct video or audio surveillance on school 
buses if students are given appropriate notice. Minn. Stat. § 121A.585 

Right to Privacy High school softball coaches who disclosed a student’s sexual 
orientation to the student’s mother did not violate the student’s 
constitutional right to privacy. Wyatt v. Fletcher, 718 F. 3d. 496 
(5th Cir. 2013). Dissent argued court majority was refusing to 
extend to high school students a recognized right to privacy with 
respect to personal sexual matters. 

Fourteenth Amendment Rights 

School Desegregation/ 
Integration 

Racial segregation or other race-based discrimination in public 
schools and other educational institutions denies minority students 
the “equal protection” of the laws and is prohibited under the 14th 
Amendment. Brown v. Board of Educ., 347 U.S. 483, 74 S. Ct. 686 
(1954). Minn. Stat. § 363A.13 School segregation is prohibited, and 
the state intends to offer students a diverse and nondiscriminatory 
educational experience. Minn. Stat. § 124D.855 

Educational diversity is a compelling government interest that 
school boards can pursue through careful race-conscious policies, 
including site selection, magnet programs, targeted recruiting, and 
attendance zones. Parents Involved in Cmty. Schs. v. Seattle Sch. 
Dist. No. 1, 551 U.S. 701, 127 S. Ct. 2738 (2007). 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.585
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/363A.13
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.855
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In Holton v. City of Thomasville Sch. Dist., 490 F.3d 1257 (11th 
Cir. 2007), reh’g denied 521 F.3d 1318 (11th Cir. 2008), the 11th 
Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed that a school district’s tracking 
program that grouped students into different academic tracks based 
on their abilities did not violate minority students’ equal protection 
rights under the Fourteenth Amendment or Title VI of the Civil 
Rights Act. 

Civil Rights; Student 
Discipline; English 
Language Learners 

Title VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act bars discrimination based on 
race, sex, national origin, or disability by educational institutions 
that receive federal funds for academic, athletic, or extracurricular 
activities. The U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil 
Rights, which protects children from discrimination, uses this law 
to uncover district policies and practices that result in a “disparate 
outcome” among groups of students and exert pressure on districts 
to close the academic achievement gap, in part by providing all 
students with equal access to college preparatory curricula.  

When administering student discipline, school officials must not 
subject students to different or disparate treatment based on the 
students’ race, color, or national origin. Data collected by the U.S. 
Departments of Justice and Education show racial disparities in 
student discipline. Joint U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights 
Division, and U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil 
Rights, “Dear Colleague” letter, January 8, 2014. 

The civil rights of students who speak limited English may be 
violated because of a lack of trained teachers or problems in 
determining students’ language abilities. School officials should 
consider whether programs for English language learners are based 
on a sound educational philosophy, whether there are sufficient 
resources to ensure programs can be properly implemented, and 
whether the programs actually enable students to overcome 
language barriers that impede their educational progress. Equal 
Educational Opportunities Act, 20 U.S.C. § 1701, et seq. (1974) Title VI of 
the Civil Rights Act also requires that English language learners be 
included in school and district assessment programs unless an 
educational or psychometric reason justifies excluding the students. 

As a result of a lawsuit settlement, the Education Testing Service 
stopped flagging the results of students who receive special 
accommodations such as more time on certain tests, including the 
Test of English as a Foreign Language. 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/1701
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Family Relations 
With a few exceptions noted in this section and elsewhere in the guidebook, the statutes do not 
regulate relations between married parents and their children who live together. Statutes exist 
primarily to deal with needs that arise when a new family is being created—for example, by 
marriage or adoption—or when a family is changing form—for example, due to events like 
divorce, death, or a minor’s marriage. For provisions regulating circumstances arising from 
neglect or abuse of children by family members see Unlawful Acts against Youths, page 89 in 
this part and the Juvenile Court, page 109 in Part 2. 
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All Families 

Child’s Residence Parents or a guardian or legal custodian chooses the residence of an 
unmarried child under age 18. A child who leaves that residence 
without permission is considered a runaway and can be taken into 
custody. Minn. Stat. §§ 260C.007, subd. 28; 260C.175 

Child’s Surname Neither parent has a superior right to choose a child’s surname. 
There are five factors the court will consider to determine if a name 
change is in the child’s best interest, including how the long the 
child has had the name, potential for embarrassment by the change, 
the child’s preference, the effect of the change on the relationship 
with the parents, and the degree of respect associated with the 
present and proposed names. Application of Saxton, 309 N.W.2d 
298 (Minn. 1981), cert. denied, Saxton v. Dennis, 455 U.S. 1034, 
102 S. Ct. 1737 (1981). 

Housing 
Discrimination 
Against Families with 
Children 

The Human Rights Act prohibits (1) refusal to rent or sell real 
estate to persons with children, and (2) any unlawful restrictions 
against children in a real estate sale or rental advertisement. These 
protections also cover women who are pregnant and persons in the 
process of securing legal custody of a minor. Various exceptions 
exist for owner-occupied, cooperative, and elderly housing units, 
and other laws may still restrict the maximum number of 
individuals permitted to occupy any one dwelling unit. Minn. Stat. §§ 
363A.03, subd. 18; 363A.09; 363A.21, subd. 2 

Emancipation of a 
Minor 

Minnesota Statutes do not provide grounds or a procedure for 
emancipation. However, court cases in Minnesota have found that a 
minor can be emancipated by a legal marriage or by parental 
consent. Lundstrom v. Mample, 285 N.W. 83 (Minn. 1939) 
(marriage); In re Fiihr, 184 N.W.2d 22 (Minn. 1971) (parental 
consent or act). For a child age 16 or older who is the subject of a 
“child in need of protection” petition, the juvenile court may 
authorize an independent living situation for the child that is the 
equivalent of emancipation. Minn. Stat. § 260C.201, subd. 1, para. (a), cl. 
(5) 

Based on these previous cases, emancipation could be expected to 
occur (1) by reaching the age of 18, (2) by lawful marriage, or (3) 
by court order.  

Minnesota Statutes reflect an assumption that minors may be 
emancipated. Examples include the following: 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.007
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.175
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/363A.03
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/363A.03
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/363A.09
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/363A.21
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.201
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• an emancipated minor may forego immunization because of 
conscientiously held belief Minn. Stat. § 121A.15, subd. 3, para.
(d)

• an emancipated minor is allowed to own a passenger auto or 
truck Minn. Stat. § 168.101, subd. 1

• a legally emancipated minor is eligible for General 
Assistance Minn. Stat. § 256D.05, subd. 1, para. (a), cl. 
(10)

“Emancipation” means that a minor has the same legal rights and 
obligations as an 18-year-old adult. It can also be “partial, 
conditional…or limited as to time or purpose.” Sonnenberg v. 
County of Hennepin, 99 N.W.2d 444, 447-448 (Minn. 1959). For 
example, an emancipation could be limited to allowing the minor to 
live independently, or to apply and receive public assistance for 
themselves or their children, but not for other purposes.  

Marriage by a Minor A 16-year-old may marry with the consent of the minor’s guardian 
or legal custodial parents and court approval. Any individual may 
marry at age 18, as long as the individual is otherwise legally 
competent. Minn. Stat. § 517.02 

Custody Consent 
Decree 

A parent may transfer temporary or permanent legal and physical 
custody of a child to another person by a consent decree. The parent 
must pay support. The court will approve the transfer of custody if 
the transfer is in the child’s best interests and all parties agree. 
Minn. Stat. § 257C.07 

De Facto or Third 
Party Custody 

If a child has resided with an individual without a parent present for 
at least 12 months of the preceding 24 months if age three or older, 
or at least six months of the preceding 24 months if under age three, 
and a parent during that time has lacked consistent participation in 
the child’s life, the individual may initiate a custody proceeding. 
Minn. Stat. §§ 257C.01 to 257C.06 

Visitation If an unmarried minor has lived with (1) a grandparent or great-
grandparent for at least 12 months, or (2) an individual other than a 
foster parent for at least two years, the grandparent, great-
grandparent, or other individual may obtain a visitation order if 
statutory requirements are met. Minn. Stat. § 257C.08 

Standby or 
Temporary Custodian 

A parent who has legal and physical custody of a minor child may 
designate another adult as a standby or temporary custodian to care 
for the child upon the occurrence of a specified triggering event 
(such as the incapacity or death of the parent) if statutory 
requirements are met. Minn. Stat. ch. 257B 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.15
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/168.101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/256D.05
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/517.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/257C.07
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/257C.01
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/257C.08
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/257B
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Effect of Certain 
Convictions 

An individual convicted of specified crimes faces a higher standard 
for gaining legal custody or parenting time with a child. An 
individual who exercises custody or parenting time with a child and 
resides with someone convicted of any of those crimes must so 
notify the child’s other parent, the county social services agency, 
and the court that granted custody or parenting time. Minn. Stat. §§ 
257.026; 518.179 

Divorced Parents 

Child Custody After an annulment, dissolution, or legal separation, the court must 
order either sole or joint legal and physical custody of minor 
children. In deciding custody, the court must consider the child’s 
best interests and not prefer one parent over the other on the basis 
of the parent’s sex. There is a presumption that joint legal custody 
is in the child’s best interests. If the child is old enough the judge 
may ask her or his custody preference. Minn. Stat. § 518.17 

Changing Child’s 
Residence 

The child resides with the parent who has physical custody or with 
both parents if the parents have joint physical custody. If a parent 
has parenting time rights, the parent with whom the child resides 
may move the child out of state only with a court order or the other 
parent’s consent. The court must apply a specified best interest test 
to a request to move a child out of state. The burden of proof is on 
the parent requesting a move, unless there is a history of domestic 
abuse. Minn. Stat. § 518.175, subd. 3 

Parenting Time In dissolution or legal separation proceedings, on request of either 
parent, the court must grant parenting time rights in the child’s best 
interests. There is a presumption that a parent gets at least 25 
percent of the time with the child. The court may restrict parenting 
time or deny it entirely if it would endanger or impair the child. A 
parent’s failure to pay support because of inability to do so is not 
sufficient cause to deny parenting time. If one parent wrongfully 
denies the other’s parenting time rights, various remedies are 
available. The court may also refer a parenting time dispute to a 
parenting time expeditor or mediation. Minn. Stat. §§ 518.175; 
518.1751; 518.612; 518.619 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/257.026
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/257.026
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518.179
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518.17
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518.175
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518.175
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518.1751
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518.612
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518.619
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Parenting Plans Upon the request of both parents or a court’s own motion, a 
parenting plan must be created in lieu of a traditional custody and 
parenting time order, unless the court finds that the plan is not in 
the child’s best interests. A parenting plan must include: (1) a 
schedule for the time each parent spends with the child; (2) a 
designation of decision-making responsibilities; and (3) a method to 
resolve disputes. A plan may also include other issues and matters 
that the parents agree to regarding the child. Minn. Stat. § 518.1705 

Other Parental Rights Notice must be given to both parents of various rights they retain 
after divorce, especially that they have the right to (1) obtain certain 
education, health, police, and religious records of the child, and (2) 
attend school conferences and be notified of an illness or if the child 
is a victim of a crime. The court may waive these rights in order to 
protect the parent’s or child’s welfare. Minn. Stat. §§ 120A.22, 
subd. 1a; 518.17, subds. 3, 3a 

Grandparent’s 
Visitation Rights 

A child’s grandparent or great-grandparent may ask the court for 
reasonable visitation rights to an unmarried minor child in the 
following circumstances: 

• during or after a proceeding for a dissolution, separation,
custody, annulment, adoption, or parentage determination

• after the death of a parent

• when a child has resided with the grandparent for 12 months
or more

The rights may be granted if they (1) are in the child’s best 
interests, and (2) do not interfere with the parent and child 
relationship. Visitation rights end if the child is adopted by 
someone other than a stepparent or grandparent. Minn. Stat. § 257C.08 

Deceased Parents 

Appointing a 
Guardian for an 
Orphan 

The parent of an unmarried minor may appoint a guardian by will, 
by designating a standby guardian under chapter 257B, or by a 
signed, executed writing like a health care directive under chapter 
145C. A minor 14 years or older or certain other adults interested in 
the minor’s welfare may object to the choice. Minn. Stat. §§ 524.5-202; 
524.5-203 

If parents do not name a guardian by will, the court may put the 
child under the guardianship of the Commissioner of Human 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518.1705
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/518.17
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.5-202
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.5-203
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/257C.08
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Services, a licensed child-placing agency, or an individual willing 
and able to take responsibility. Minn. Stat. § 260C.325, subd. 3 

Guardianship ends when the child dies, is adopted, legally marries, 
turns 18, or as otherwise ordered by a court. Minn. Stat. § 524.5-210 

Grandparent’s 
Visitation Rights 

If a parent dies while a child is a minor, a grandparent or great-
grandparent may obtain a court order for visitation if visitation 
would not interfere with the parent and child relationship. Rights 
end if the child marries or is adopted by anyone other than a step-
parent or grandparent. Minn. Stat. § 257C.08 

Unmarried Parents 

Child Custody and 
Visitation 

The mother has sole custody until paternity is established, either by 
the father’s legally effective admission or by court action. Once 
paternity is established, the father may petition the court for custody 
or parenting time. Minn. Stat. § 257.541 

Establishing 
Parentage 

The child, parent, or welfare agency may bring an action to 
establish the child’s parentage. The parties may be required to have 
blood or genetic tests. Minn. Stat. §§ 257.51 to 257.74 

An alternative to legal action: A man is legally presumed to be the 
biological father of the child if he and the child’s mother 
acknowledge his paternity in writing signed by both of them and 
filed with the state registrar of vital statistics. The form, which is 
prepared by the Commissioner of Human Services, is called a 
Recognition of Parentage form and is available on the state 
Department of Human Services website. Minn. Stat. § 257.75  

Adoption 

Required Consents An individual over 14 years of age may be adopted only if she or he 
consents. Minn. Stat. § 259.24, subd. 3 

If an unmarried parent under age 18 wants to place a child for 
adoption, he or she must be offered consultation with an attorney, 
clergy, or physician before consenting to the adoption. The consent 
of the minor’s parents or guardian, if any, is also required. If the 
minor has no parent or guardian to give consent, the Commissioner 
of Human Services may do so. Minn. Stat. § 259.24, subd. 2 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.325
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/524.5-210
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/257C.08
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/257.541
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/257.51
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/257.75
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/259.24
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/259.24
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Order of Preference Child-placing agencies and courts involved in adoption or foster 
placement proceedings must consider placing a child according to 
the following order of preference: (1) with relatives or (2) with an 
important friend with whom the child has resided or had significant 
contact. Minn. Stat. §§ 259.57, subd. 2; 260C.212, subd. 2 

Communication or 
Contact Agreements 

At the time of an adoption, the birth parents and adoptive parents 
may make a legal agreement that while the child is growing up they 
will share information or have contact. Adoptive parents may also 
make agreements with other birth relatives or foster parents with 
whom the child resided prior to adoption, or with any other birth 
relative, if both birth parents are deceased. This agreement must be 
incorporated in a court order to be enforceable. Minn. Stat. § 259.58; 
260C.619 

Adoptee’s Access to 
Other Information 

Adopted persons age 19 and older may ask an adoption agency to 
help determine whether a biological parent or adult sibling wants to 
have contact or share information. The agency also will transmit 
nonidentifying health information relevant to any genetically 
related parties to an adoption. A reimbursement fee may be charged 
for these services. Minn. Stat. § 259.83 

Adoptee’s Access to 
Original Birth 
Certificate 

An adopted person age 19 or older may request the information on 
his or her original birth certificate. The agent of the Commissioner 
of Human Services or a licensed child-placement agency must try 
to notify each parent identified on the certificate of the request. If 
the birth parents agree, the information is disclosed. 

If the agent of the commissioner or the licensed child-placement 
agency cannot notify a birth parent and if the parent has not filed a 
consent to disclosure, the Commissioner of Health may disclose 
information as follows: 

• If the person was adopted before August 1, 1977, he or she
may petition a court for disclosure, which will be granted if
the court determines that disclosure is more beneficial than
nondisclosure

• If the person was adopted on or after August 1, 1977, the
information must be released

If a parent has filed an unrevoked affidavit of nondisclosure, the 
information shall not be disclosed until the affidavit is revoked. 

If a birth parent dies without revoking a nondisclosure request, the 
adopted person may petition the court for disclosure. The petition 
will be granted if the court determines that disclosure would be 
more beneficial than nondisclosure. Minn. Stat. § 259.89; 260C.637 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/259.57
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.212
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/259.58
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.619
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/259.83
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/259.89
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.637
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Adoption Assistance See “Adoption Assistance Program” on page 74. 

Adoption of Indian 
Children 

For information, see American Indians, Indian Tribes, and State 
Government, House Research Department, January 2017. 
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Health and Social Services 
Minors’ access to health care services is dependent upon the parents or guardians, who are 
expected to act in the best interest of the child. Exceptions are made for older children who are 
financially independent, who have married or who have borne children themselves, and for 
certain specific health services. Minors’ access to social services is specifically authorized by a 
number of state laws that require counties to provide day care subsidies for currently eligible 
children, and child welfare and protective services for children at risk. 
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Health Programs and Access to Health Services 

Medical Assistance Medical Assistance (MA), Minnesota’s Medicaid program, is a 
joint federal/state program providing certain health care services to 
low-income adults and children who meet the eligibility 
requirements. MA has higher income limits for children and 
pregnant women, and pregnant women and children under age 21 
do not need to meet MA asset standards. 

To qualify for MA, infants up to age two can have family incomes 
up to 283 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.1 Children two 
through 18 years of age are eligible for MA if family income does 
not exceed 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines. Children 
ages 19 through 20 are eligible if family income does not exceed 
133 percent of the federal poverty guidelines. Minn. Stat. § 256B.057 

For certain children with disabilities, special eligibility criteria 
exist. First, under the TEFRA (Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility 
Act of 1982) option a child under age 19 who is disabled and who 
requires the level of care provided in a hospital, nursing facility, or 
intermediate care facility, is eligible for MA without regard to 
parental income if it is cost-effective for the child to remain at 
home. Second, the early intensive developmental and behavioral 
intervention (EIDBI) benefit is available to a child who is under age 
21 and enrolled in MA; has a diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder 
or a related condition; and meets the criteria for medical necessity 
for this benefit. Minn. Stat. §§ 252.27; 256B.055, subd. 12; 256B.0949 

Children’s Health 
Insurance Program 

The Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) provides federal 
funding, at an enhanced matching rate (88 percent for Minnesota 
through federal fiscal year 2019), for state initiatives to expand 
insurance coverage for children. CHIP dollars are being used to pay 
for: (1) the cost of raising the MA income limit for children under 
age two from 275 percent to 283 percent of the federal poverty 
guidelines; (2) health care services provided to MA enrollees who 
are children with family incomes greater than or equal to 133 
percent but not exceeding 275 percent of the federal poverty 
guidelines; and (3) for prenatal care, labor and delivery, postpartum 
care, and other services provided to pregnant women with incomes 
not exceeding 278 percent of the federal poverty guidelines who are 
uninsured and ineligible for MA with federal funding due to 

1 The federal Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) publishes federal poverty guidelines at least 
annually, and adjusts them based on the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U). The federal 
poverty guidelines are used in establishing eligibility for a number of health and social services programs, and each 
update is published in the Federal Register. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/256B.057
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/252.27
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/256B.055
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/256B.0949
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immigration status. The CHIP federal match for Minnesota will be 
76.5 percent for federal fiscal year 2020 and will revert to the 
regular CHIP federal match of 65 percent beginning in federal 
fiscal year 2021. Minn. Stat. §§ 256B.057, subd. 8; 256B.06, subd. 4, 
para. (i); Laws 1998, ch. 407, art. 5, § 46 

MinnesotaCare The MinnesotaCare program provides subsidized health coverage to 
persons not eligible for MA, if their household income is greater 
than 133 percent but does not exceed 200 percent of the federal 
poverty guidelines, and other eligibility requirements are met. 
Certain children who normally would not be eligible for either MA 
or MinnesotaCare, due to differences in how those programs 
calculate income, may, depending on their income as calculated 
under MinnesotaCare, be eligible for MA, or be eligible for 
MinnesotaCare even if their income is below the MinnesotaCare 
income floor. Minn. Stat. §§ 256L.01 to 256L.18 

MNsure Children with household incomes over the MA and MinnesotaCare 
income limits, but not exceeding 400 percent of the federal poverty 
guidelines, may be eligible for premium tax credits and cost-sharing 
subsidies for health coverage offered through MNsure, the state’s 
health insurance exchange established under the federal Affordable 
Care Act. 

Insurance Minors’ rights to private health insurance benefits usually depend 
upon the purchase of family coverage by a parent or guardian, or in 
some cases by a grandparent. Family coverage usually insures 
unmarried children under age 26 and disabled dependent children of 
any age. Insurers are required to cover adopted children, children 
placed for adoption, and children who do not reside with the health 
plan participant, on the same basis as they cover other children. 
Coverage for newborns must be available from the moment of birth. 
Checkups, immunizations, screenings, and certain other preventive 
services are required to be covered for adults and children without 
deductibles, copayments, or coinsurance. Federal law preempts the 
power of a state to regulate the self-insured health plans often 
offered by large employers or by multiple-employer union plans, so 
these plans may, but do not have to, comply with any of these state 
insurance laws. Minn. Stat. §§ 62A.03; 62A.042; 62A.047; 62A.048; 
62A.14; 62A.141; 62A.151; 62A.20; 62A.21; 62A.27; 62A.302; 62A.3021; 
62C.14, subd. 14; 62C.142; 62D.101; 62D.102; 62D.105; 62K.14; 62L.02, 
subd. 11; 62Q.675 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/256B.057
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/256B.06
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/1998/0/Session+Law/Chapter/407/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/256L.01
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The WIC Program The Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) program, administered 
by the Department of Health (MDH) through local public and 
private nonprofit health or human service agencies, provides 
supplemental food vouchers, nutrition education, breastfeeding 
support, and health assessments and referrals to low-income 
pregnant, lactating, or post-partum women; infants; and children up 
to age five. To be eligible for food and services, a person must have 
a family income at or below 185 percent of the federal poverty 
guidelines or receive public assistance; be at nutritional risk; and 
meet other eligibility requirements. Enrollment in WIC is limited 
by available funding. Minn. Stat. §§ 145.891 to 145.897; 145.899 

Fetal Alcohol 
Syndrome Prevention 
and Intervention 

MDH, in cooperation with the other relevant agencies, coordinates 
several initiatives designed to prevent future alcohol-related birth 
defects and treat children with fetal alcohol syndrome (FAS) or 
fetal alcohol effects (FAE). These programs include developing 
professional training materials, providing grants to a community 
organization for prevention and intervention activities, and 
conducting a statewide public information and media campaign. 
Minn. Stat. §§ 145.9265; 145.9266 

Home Visiting 
Programs 

MDH distributes state and federal funds to community health 
boards and tribal governments to support family home visiting 
programs. A home visiting program is a voluntary program in 
which trained home visitors visit pregnant women and families with 
young children in their homes and provide social, emotional, and 
health-related services, parenting support and information, and 
referrals to other services. Community health boards and tribal 
governments use these funds for programs that employ one or more 
service models, chosen to address community needs. The program 
model used determines program eligibility, the length of time in 
which families receive home visits, qualifications of home visitors, 
and specific services provided.  

The family home visiting program in Minnesota Statutes, section 
145A.17 is funded with Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) funds, is distributed based on a formula, and provides 
preventive and early intervention services to families with incomes 
at or below 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines and to 
other families with specific risk factors. MDH also distributes state-
funded grants to create or expand Nurse-Family Partnership 
programs, and to start up or expand programs that employ an 
evidence-based home visiting model. Minn. Stat. § 145A.17; Laws 
2015, ch. 71, art. 14, § 3, subd. 2; Laws 2017 first special session, ch. 6, art. 
18, § 3, subd. 2. 

A school district with an early childhood family education program 
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(ECFE) may offer a home visiting program to support the healthy 
growth and development of children. ECFE home visiting programs 
prioritize visits to isolated or at-risk families with highest needs. 
Programs are encouraged to employ licensed parenting educators, 
certified family life educators, or other professionals with an 
equivalent license. The trained home visitor assesses the family’s 
risk factors, addresses parenting skills and child development, and 
identifies community-based programs and services that may benefit 
the child’s development. ECFE programs are funded through state 
aid and local property taxes. In addition to a small property tax levy 
specifically earmarked for home visiting programs, many school 
districts use regular ECFE revenue (a mix of state and local 
property tax levies) and other district revenue to supplement 
funding for their home visiting programs. Minn. Stat. §§ 124D.13; 
124D.135 

Lead Poisoning 
Prevention 

Minnesota’s Lead Poisoning Prevention Act addresses a potentially 
serious health hazard affecting children caused by exposure to lead 
from soil, dust, water, or paint. The act does not require testing of 
children for elevated blood lead levels. Many children, however, 
are tested voluntarily for lead as part of routine well-child care. The 
act requires facilities performing blood lead analyses to report 
findings of these analyses to MDH. Using this information, MDH 
operates a lead surveillance system to identify trends and 
populations at risk and to ensure that services are provided to 
children with elevated blood lead levels. The act details how to 
prevent elevated blood lead levels in children, ways to mitigate the 
health effects on children with elevated blood lead levels, and 
standards for lead hazard reduction activities. MDH also distributes 
grants to community health boards and nonprofit organizations for 
lead abatement and healthy housing activities. Minn. Stat. §§ 
144.9501 to 144.9513 

Mental Health 
Services 

Under the Children’s Mental Health Act, county social service 
agencies must plan for and coordinate the development and delivery 
of local children’s mental health services. Counties coordinate a 
variety of mental health services for children under age 18, 
including education and prevention services, early identification 
and intervention services, screening, case management and family 
community support services, emergency services, inpatient and 
outpatient treatment services, day treatment services, residential 
treatment services, and therapeutic support of foster care. Counties 
may apply for state grant funds to help them carry out some of their 
duties. Minn. Stat. §§ 245.487 to 245.4889 
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Tobacco Use 
Prevention  

The Commissioner of Health administers tobacco use prevention 
and other public health activities aimed at youth, using general 
fund dollars. Minn. Stat. § 144.396 

Newborn Screening 
Programs 

Minnesota’s Newborn Screening Programs are public health 
programs through which all infants born in the state are screened 
for a variety of disorders. Through the Newborn Screening 
Program, MDH tests blood spots from each infant born in the state 
to screen for 60 heritable and congenital disorders. Parents must be 
informed they have the right to elect not to have the screening 
performed and a right to obtain private testing, or elect to have the 
screening performed but not have the blood samples test results 
stored. A critical congenital heart disease screening program 
screens newborns using pulse oximetry. Also, through Early 
Hearing Detection and Intervention programs, hospitals screen 
infants for hearing loss. These programs allow for early 
intervention or treatment of conditions for which the infants are 
screened. Minn. Stat. §§ 144.125-144.128; 144.966 

Statewide Health 
Improvement 
Program 

The Commissioner of Health awards competitive grants to 
community health boards and tribal governments to implement 
strategies in certain settings, including local communities and 
schools, targeted at reducing obesity and the use of tobacco in the 
state and addressing the opioid epidemic. Grants under this 
program are limited by available funding. Minn. Stat. § 145.986 

Consent for Health Services 

Abortion A minor seeking an abortion in Minnesota must either notify both 
parents of the intended abortion and wait 48 hours, or seek judicial 
approval for the procedure. A court may authorize an abortion if it 
finds either (1) that the pregnant minor is mature and capable of 
giving informed consent, or (2) that authorizing the abortion 
without notification would be in her best interest. 

An expedited confidential appeal is available to any minor for 
whom the court denies an order authorizing an abortion without 
notification. An order authorizing an abortion without notification 
is not subject to appeal. Minn. Stat. § 144.343 

Note: Subdivision 2 of the above statute, which required a 
physician to notify both parents of an unemancipated minor at least 
48 hours before the minor could receive an abortion and which did 
not include a judicial bypass provision, was declared 
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unconstitutional by the U.S. Supreme Court on June 25, 1990. 
Hodgson v. Minnesota, 497 U.S. 417, 110 S. Ct. 2926 (1990). The 
remainder of the statute now operates as described above. 

Anatomical Gifts Emancipated minors and minors who are at least 16 years of age, as 
well as the minor’s parent if the minor is unemancipated, may make 
an anatomical gift during the life of the donor. However, upon the 
death of an unemancipated minor, the minor’s parent may revoke or 
amend an anatomical gift.  Also, upon the death of an 
unemancipated minor who signed a refusal to donate, a parent of 
the minor may revoke the minor’s refusal. Minn. Stat. §§ 525A.04 and 
525A.08 

Upon the death of an unemancipated minor donor or an 
unemancipated minor who had signed a refusal, the procurement 
organization must conduct a reasonable search for the minor’s 
parents and provide the parents with an opportunity to revoke or 
amend the anatomical gift or revoke the refusal. Minn. Stat. § 525A.14 

Blood Donations Any person age 17 or older may donate blood in a voluntary 
noncompensatory blood program without obtaining parental 
consent. Any person age 16 may donate blood with written 
permission from the person’s parent or guardian. Minn. Stat. § 145.41 

Emergency Treatment Medical, dental, mental, and other health services may be provided 
to a minor without the consent of a parent or legal guardian when, 
in a professional’s judgment, treatment should be given without 
delay. Minn. Stat. § 144.344 

Financial 
Responsibility 

A minor who gives legally effective consent for health services is 
financially responsible for the health services rendered. Minn. Stat. § 
144.347 

Hepatitis B 
Vaccination 

A minor may give effective consent for a hepatitis B vaccination. 
Minn. Stat. § 144.3441 

Living Apart from 
Parents and 
Financially 
Independent 

Any minor (1) who is living apart from his or her parents or legal 
guardian, with or without consent to do so and regardless of the 
duration of the separate residence, and (2) who is financially 
independent, regardless of the source or extent of his or her income, 
may give effective consent for medical, dental, mental, or other 
health services for himself or herself. Minn. Stat. § 144.341 

Marriage or Giving 
Birth 

Any minor who has been married or has borne a child may give 
effective consent for personal medical, mental, dental, or other 
health services, and for services for the minor’s child. Minn. Stat. § 
144.342 
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Parental Information 
and Access to Health 
Records 

A professional may inform a minor’s parent or legal guardian of 
any medical treatment given to or needed by the minor where, in 
the professional’s judgment, failure to inform the parent or guardian 
would seriously jeopardize the minor’s health. Minn. Stat. § 144.346 

For purposes of access to health records of a minor, the term 
“patient” includes a parent or guardian, or a person acting as a 
parent or guardian in the absence of a parent or guardian. The 
parent, guardian, or other person may access the minor’s health 
records except where the minor: 

• has received treatment related to pregnancy, venereal
disease, or alcohol or drug abuse;

• has received emergency treatment or a hepatitis B
vaccination;

• is living apart from his or her parents and is financially
independent; or

• has been married or has given birth. Minn. Stat. § 144.291, 
subd. 2, para. (g)

Pregnancy, Venereal 
Disease, Alcohol or 
Drug Abuse 

Any minor may give effective consent for medical, mental, or other 
health services to determine the presence of or to treat pregnancy, 
venereal disease, and alcohol and other drug abuse. Minn. Stat. § 
144.343, subd. 1 

Representation to 
Persons Rendering 
Service 

If a minor represents that he or she is able to give effective consent 
for health services but in fact is not able to do so, the minor’s 
consent is effective if relied upon in good faith by the person 
rendering the health service. Minn. Stat. § 144.345 

Voluntary 
Institutional 
Treatment 

Any person 16 years of age or older may consent to hospitalization 
for observation or treatment of mental illness, chemical 
dependency, or developmental disability and may give valid 
consent for hospitalization, routine diagnostic evaluation, and 
emergency or short-term acute care. For chemical dependency or 
mental illness treatment, a 16- or 17-year-old who refuses to 
consent to admission as a patient may be admitted with the consent 
of a parent or guardian, provided it is determined in an independent 
examination that the proposed patient is chemically dependent or 
has a mental illness, and is suitable for treatment. Any person under 
age 16 may be admitted as a patient with the consent of a parent or 
guardian, so long as there is some independent review of the 
placement in accordance with Parham v. J.R., 442 U.S. 584, 99 S. 
Ct. 2493 (1979). Minn. Stat. §§ 253B.03, subd. 6, para. (d); 253B.04, subd. 
1 
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Social Services 

Child Welfare Counties are required to provide child welfare services to assure 
protection and financial assistance for children confronted with 
social, physical, or emotional problems requiring assistance. 
Counties must make child welfare services available as required by 
law, by the Commissioner of Human Services, or by the courts. 
Minn. Stat. § 393.07. Child welfare services are primarily funded 
through county property tax revenues. Counties also receive federal 
and state funds through the Vulnerable Children and Adults Act. 
Minn. Stat. §§ 256M.01 to 256M.80 

County of Financial 
Responsibility 

Under the state’s unitary residence and financial responsibility 
statute for public assistance and social services, the county of 
financial responsibility for a minor is generally the county in which 
her or his parents reside at the time of application for services. 
Minn. Stat. § 256G.02, subd. 4, 256G.07, 256G.10. In re Matter of the 
Financial Responsibility for the Out-of-Home Placement Costs for 
S.M., 812 N.W.2d 826 (Minn. 2012) 

Vulnerable Children 
and Adults Act 

The Vulnerable Children and Adults Act consolidates various state 
and federal social services grants to counties into a single 
consolidated grant that counties must use to address the needs of 
vulnerable children and adults. It specifies how children and 
community services grants will be allocated to the counties, and the 
various duties of the Commissioner of Human Services and the 
counties with regard to the administration of the consolidated grant. 
Minn. Stat. §§ 256M.01 to 256M.80 

Children’s Trust 
Fund for the 
Prevention of Child 
Abuse 

Private and public organizations at the local level may develop and 
offer services and education programs designed to help prevent 
child abuse before it occurs.  Many such offerings are financed 
through grants obtained from the state Children’s Trust Fund for the 
Prevention of Child Abuse. The trust fund, which is administered 
by DHS, is supported primarily by a surcharge on birth certificate 
filings. It is also supported by federal, state, and private 
contributions. Minn. Stat. §§ 256E.20 to 256E.27 

Maltreatment of 
Minors Act 

Any person may report abuse or neglect of a child, but state law 
requires certain professionals to report information if they know or 
have reason to believe a child is being abused or neglected, or has 
been abused or neglected within the preceding three years. The term 
“abuse” includes sexual abuse, physical abuse, threatened abuse, 
and mental injury. Reports are made to local welfare, state agency, 
or law enforcement personnel. A failure to report is prosecuted by 
the county attorney. 
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Local county welfare agencies are required to investigate or assess 
all reports, unless the report alleges neglect or abuse in a child care, 
residential, or medical facility licensed by MDH or DHS, or in a 
school. Reports of abuse or neglect in a facility licensed by DHS or 
MDH are investigated by those agencies. Reports of abuse or 
neglect in a school are investigated by the Department of 
Education. 

The act sets out special procedures that local welfare, state, and law 
enforcement agencies must follow in regard to conducting an 
investigation or a family assessment to determine if abuse or 
neglect has occurred. Welfare agencies must also provide protective 
services where necessary. “Protective services” can range from 
maintaining the child at home while providing services to the 
family to removing the child from the home and placing him or her 
in an out-of-home foster care placement. Minn. Stat. § 626.556.  See 
Overview of the Maltreatment of Minors Act, House Research 
Department, July 2016. 

Medical Neglect State law defines withholding medically indicated treatment from a 
disabled infant with a life-threatening condition as a form of neglect 
that must be reported under the Maltreatment of Minors Act. It also 
specifies what types of treatment are medically indicated and lists 
circumstances in which the infant’s treatment can be limited. Minn. 
Stat. § 260C.007, subd. 6 

If a local welfare agency receives a report of medical neglect, the 
agency must consult the hospital and parents and, if necessary, 
obtain a court order for an independent medical examination and to 
prevent the withholding of the indicated treatment from the infant. 
Minn. Stat. § 626.556, subd. 10c 

Voluntary Foster 
Care for Treatment, 
Reviews, and 
Permanency Plans 

The social service or child-placing agency may enter into a 
voluntary foster care agreement with a child’s parent when the child 
requires treatment due to emotional disturbance, developmental 
disability, or related condition. Minn. Stat. § 260D.03 

The social service or child-placing agency must obtain a judicial 
review within 165 days of a child’s placement in voluntary foster 
care for treatment due to emotional disturbance or developmental 
disability. An administrative review must be conducted prior to the 
judicial review. Minn. Stat. §§ 260D.05; 260D.06, subd. 1 

If a child remains in care for 13 months from the date of the 
voluntary placement agreement or has been in placement for 15 of 
the last 22 months, and the agency determines there are compelling 
reasons to continue the placement, the agency must seek judicial 
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approval in order to continue the placement. At the hearing, the 
court must review the permanency plan with the family and the 
child, if the child is age 12 or older. Minn. Stat. § 260D.07 

The matter must be reviewed by the court at least every 12 months 
if the child continues in voluntary foster care for treatment. Minn. 
Stat. § 260D.08 

Out-of-Home 
Placement Plans, 
Reviews, and 
Permanency Plans 

Social service agencies must prepare an out-of-home placement 
plan within 30 days after a child enters an out-of-home placement. 
Agencies are also required to conduct administrative reviews of 
out-of-home placements no later than 180 days after initial 
placement and at least every six months thereafter to monitor and 
update the out-of-home placement plan. As an alternative to the 
administrative review, the social service agency may seek court 
review, where applicable, in order to assure that children have been 
appropriately placed and that their out-of-home placement plans are 
being implemented. Minn. Stat. §§ 260C.203; 260C.212 

Social service agencies must file pleadings with the juvenile court 
to establish the basis for the permanent placement determination of 
a child in an out-of-home placement. The court must conduct a 
hearing to determine the child’s permanent status. Generally, this 
hearing must occur no later than six months after the child has 
entered the out-of-home placement. Minn. Stat. § 260C.204. 

Adoption Assistance 
Program 

Using a combination of state and federal monies, the Department of 
Human Services (DHS) makes adoption subsidies available to 
eligible families desiring to adopt a child determined to have a 
special need. Prospective adoptive parents of a child with special 
needs must, if adoption assistance is desired, negotiate an adoption 
assistance agreement with the financially responsible agency or 
agency designated by the Commissioner of Human Services, before 
the adoption is finalized. An adoption assistance agreement may 
provide the family with monthly financial assistance, assistance 
with onetime or periodic supplemental maintenance expenses, MA 
eligibility for the child, or some combination of these. Adoption 
assistance agreements are revised as appropriate. Minn. Stat. §§ 
256N.23 to 256N.26; ch. 259A 
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Kinship Assistance 
(Formerly Known as 
Relative Custody 
Assistance) 

If a court order transfers permanent legal and physical custody of a  
child to a relative, the local agency must determine whether the 
relative is eligible for a monthly cash grant, called “kinship 
assistance,” to assist the relative in caring for the child. In order to 
be eligible, the child must have been placed with the relative 
custodian for at least six straight months prior to the transfer of 
custody, while the relative custodian was a licensed foster parent. 
The amount of the kinship assistance payment varies with the needs 
of the child. Minn. Stat. § 256N.22 

Social Services Plan 
for Minor Mother and 
Child 

Counties are required to determine whether, after the birth of her 
child, a minor mother has a plan to care for herself and her child. If 
one is needed, the county must work with the minor mother to 
develop the plan, and the county must provide case management 
services as needed. Minn. Stat. § 257.33, subd. 2 

Public Assistance A child’s eligibility for MFIP and the other major publicly funded 
assistance programs is generally tied to his or her family’s 
eligibility for the program. However, a child with disabilities who 
meets certain income and asset criteria may be eligible in his or her 
own right for MA or MinnesotaCare. (See page 65.) 

For a full description of the special eligibility requirements and 
benefits of the major public programs providing assistance to 
families, see Minnesota Family Assistance, House Research 
Department, February 2016. 

Child Care Assistance Counties provide child care subsidies on a sliding fee scale to 
eligible low-income families through the Basic Sliding Fee child 
care program, and to families receiving assistance under the 
Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) and the transition 
year child care programs. Participating families may choose any 
legal child care provider to care for children under the age of 13 
(see Health and Safety Regulation of Child Care Settings, page 80). 
The amount of a family’s sliding fee, or copayment, depends upon 
the family’s total income, the size of the family, and the child care 
provider’s rate. The minimum required copayment is $5.00 per 
month for families with incomes between 75 percent and 100 
percent of the federal poverty level. The copayment amount 
increases as a family’s income increases. Counties use a variety of 
federal, state, and county funds to pay for these child care 
assistance programs. Minn. Stat. §§ 119B.011 to 119B.16 
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Early Childhood Programs 

Early Childhood 
Family Education 

All Minnesota families with young children are eligible to enroll in 
early childhood family education (ECFE) programs operated by 
school districts.  ECFE programs serve children from birth to the 
start of kindergarten and their families. An ECFE program with 
budget constraints may focus on those families with the youngest 
children.  A typical ECFE model provides two-hour classes twice a 
week to parents and children.  Larger school districts may offer 
ECFE classes to families with specific demographics (English 
language learners, dad’s classes, etc.). 

ECFE activities require parent involvement and are designed to 
improve parents’ skills and the health, development, and learning 
readiness of children.  ECFE funds may not be used for traditional 
child care, nursery, or preschool programs. Many ECFE programs 
include a home visiting component for at-risk or isolated families 
(see page 67). 

ECFE programs are funded through state aid, local property taxes, 
and in many school districts, parent-paid sliding fees.  For fiscal 
year 2018, state aid and local property tax levies totaled roughly 
$54 million for ECFE activities.  Minn. Stat. §§ 124D.13; 124D.135 

School Readiness Parents with prekindergarten aged children may apply to school 
districts operating school readiness programs. A school readiness 
program is often combined with other prekindergarten initiatives 
and funding streams and the program may operate under a locally 
chosen name. Not all children who seek to enroll in school 
readiness programs are accepted.  School districts give priority to 
children who are developmentally disadvantaged or have risk 
factors that could impede their learning.  A child’s participation in a 
school readiness program is voluntary, and services are free or 
available on a sliding fee schedule that may be waived. 

A school readiness program includes developmental and learning 
components, health referral services, nutrition, parental 
involvement, and outreach. Services may be site- or home-based. 
State law requires coordination with social service providers and 
other agencies.  Many school readiness programs are half-day 
programs. 

More than 29,000 children participated in school readiness 
programs during fiscal year 2017.  This program is funded with an 
annual appropriation of $33.7 million. Minn. Stat. §§ 124D.15; 124D.16 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.13
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.135
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.15
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.16
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Head Start Low income parents may apply to local Head Start programs 
(grantees) to enroll their children in Head Start programs.  Federal 
health and human services regulations require that at least 90 
percent of students enrolled in a Head Start program have family 
incomes at or below the federal poverty guidelines ($25,100 for a 
family of four in 2018) or receive welfare assistance. Local grantees 
must reserve 10 percent of program slots for children with 
disabilities. 

Head Start programs provide an array of services, including 
preschool education, parenting classes, jobs programs, nutrition and 
health-related services, and other assistance to preschool children 
and their families. 

In 2017, the federal Department of Health and Human Services 
awarded $8.9 billion in Head Start funds that flow directly to local 
Head Start grantees serving 1,070,000 low-income children. In 
Minnesota, for 2017, 35 local Head Start grantees served about 
18,000 families using $105 million in federal funds and $25 million 
in state funds. 

Grantees must coordinate the Head Start program with other 
community child care providers and preschool programs to increase 
the availability of full-day, full-year child care services. Head Start 
programs generally serve students aged three to five in four half-
day, center-based programs per week.  Early Head Start programs 
serve infants and toddlers. All Head Start programs must meet 
federal performance standards, and all center-based programs must 
meet Minnesota Department of Human Service rules for licensed 
child care centers. Minn. Stat. §§ 119A.50 to 119A.53; 45 C.F.R. parts 
1301-1311 

Early Learning 
Scholarship Program 

Parents of Minnesota children, typically age 3 or 4, may apply for 
an early learning scholarship of not more than $7,500 per child per 
year. The parent may apply for a Pathway I scholarship through one 
of 11 regional administrators.  A parent receiving a Pathway I 
scholarship may choose to enroll the child in a qualifying three- or 
four-star Parent Aware rated public or private prekindergarten 
program (e.g. private child care provider, school district early 
childhood program, or Head Start program) selected by the parent.  
For 2018, 5,067 Pathway I scholarships were awarded to eligible 
families. 

A parent may also apply directly to a qualifying program for a 
Pathway II early learning scholarship.  For 2018, school districts, 
Head Start grantees and certain private child care providers 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/119A.50
https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/45/part-1301
https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/45/part-1301
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received funding to provide 7,034 Pathway II scholarship seats in 
their prekindergarten programs. 

For fiscal year 2018, the legislature appropriated $70.2 million for 
early learning scholarships.  An early learning scholarship may be 
used in combination with other publicly funded programs (e.g., 
child care assistance, school readiness, Head Start). Minn. Stat. §§ 
124D.142 and 124D.165 

Voluntary 
Prekindergarten 
Program 

A parent may apply to a qualifying school district or charter school 
to enroll a child in the school district’s voluntary prekindergarten 
(VPK) program.  VPK programs may be offered in conjunction 
with other early learning programs; however, students in a VPK 
program do not qualify for other funding during the period of time 
that the student is enrolled in a VPK program. 

Beginning in fiscal year 2017, about $25 million per year in 
ongoing appropriations to Minnesota’s school districts and charter 
schools provides VPK programming for 3,160 students.  A VPK 
program must provide at least 350 hours of annual service to each 
qualifying four-year-old.  For fiscal years 2018 and 2019 only, 
additional funding for VPK provides programming for an additional 
4,000 prekindergarten students. 

VPK is proportionately distributed among public schools divided 
into four regions: (1) Minneapolis and St. Paul school districts; (2) 
suburban school districts; (3) Greater Minnesota school districts; 
and (4) charter schools. Within each region, each school site is 
prioritized for funding based on that school’s free and reduced 
lunch count of kindergarten students at that site. Sites in Greater 
Minnesota are also prioritized by the distance from qualifying early 
learning scholarship sites. 

VPK programs must employ qualified instructors, but the 
instructors need not be licensed teachers. VPK class sizes must be 
no larger than ten students to each adult, and no more than 20 
students for each qualified instructor. Minn. Stat. § 124D.151 

Early Childhood 
Developmental 
Screening 

A parent who intends to enroll a student in a public school is 
required to have the child screened. The early childhood screening 
may be done by a school district or charter school, a public or 
private health organization, or an individual health care provider.   
An exception to the screening requirement is made for a child 
whose parent provides the school with a signed statement that 
screening is precluded by conscientiously held beliefs. 

Every school district must provide early childhood developmental 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.142
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.142
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.165
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.151
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screening targeting three- and four-year-old children.  Public 
schools are reimbursed for a portion of the costs associated with 
each child screened.  A student must provide proof of screening to 
the public school within 30 days of enrolling in a kindergarten or 
prekindergarten program or the child may not continue to attend the 
school. A record of the screening is kept by the school district and 
must also be sent to the parent or guardian of each child who has 
been screened. All data collected on the child in the screening 
process are private data. Data on an identifiable child may only be 
disclosed with parental consent. 

Early childhood screening must include developmental 
assessments, hearing and vision screening, immunization review 
and referral, measures of height and weight, assessment of risk 
factors that could influence learning, a parent interview, and 
referrals for identified needs. A school may offer additional 
components, including nutritional, physical, and dental 
assessments. Mandatory screening components must be consistent 
with standards established by the Commissioner of Health. Parents 
must be notified of any condition that requires diagnosis and 
treatment, and the school district must ensure appropriate follow-
up. Minn. Stat. § 121A.17 

Part C – Infants and 
Toddlers with 
Disabilities 

Minnesota provides special education services to infants and 
toddlers under the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education 
Act (IDEA) and state law.  Minnesota also participates in the  
Federal Part C program.  Federal funds, in combination with state 
special education aid, are used for services for eligible young 
children with disabilities from birth to age two and their families. A 
child with a hearing impairment, visual disability, speech 
impairment, or other disability is eligible for services. An 
individualized family service plan (IFSP) sets out the necessary 
interagency services for an eligible child. The interagency early 
childhood intervention project is an effort of the Minnesota 
Departments of Education, Health, and Human Services, funded by 
a federal grant through Part C (formerly known as Part H) of the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). An initial 
evaluation and assessment determines a child’s eligibility and 
developmental needs. An IFSP is developed to meet the eligible 
child’s needs and skills. Core intervention services are free to 
participants. Core services include identification and referral, 
screening, evaluation, assessment, service coordination, and age-
appropriate special instruction and services. Minn. Stat. §§ 125A.26- 
125A.48 

A child under age three who is involved in a substantiated case of 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/121A.17
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/125A.26
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child abuse or neglect is eligible for referral to early intervention 
services funded under Part C of IDEA. Pub. L. No. 105-17, IDEA  
(Part C) 

Kindergarten 
Readiness Assessment 

The education commissioner supports a voluntary kindergarten 
entry profile.  To that end, the commissioner has approved several 
assessments for schools to use to determine a child’s readiness for 
kindergarten. Minn. Stat. § 124D.162 

Health and Safety Regulation of Child Care Settings 

License Required To protect the health, safety, and welfare of children in child care 
settings, the Human Services Licensing Act prohibits an individual, 
corporation, partnership, voluntary association, other organization 
or controlling individual from providing child care services without 
a state license. The licensing process ensures that child care 
services meet certain minimum standards. Operating a child care 
program without a license is a misdemeanor. Minn. Stat. §§ 245A.03; 
245A.04; Minn. Rules, parts 9502.0315 to 9502.0445 (family day care) and 
9503.0005 to 9503.0170 (child care centers) 

Permitted Exceptions 
to Licensure 
Requirement 

The licensing act specifies certain exceptions to the general 
requirement that child care providers must be licensed. Under these 
exceptions, some types of child care may be provided without a 
license. Minn. Stat. § 245A.03, subd. 2 

Mandated Reporters All licensed child care providers are mandated reporters under the 
state’s Maltreatment of Minors Act. (See also page 72) Minn. Stat. § 
626.556, subd. 3 

Right of Access The licensing act requires that the Commissioner of Human 
Services, or the commissioner’s designated representative, be given 
access to a licensed child care program whenever the program is in 
operation. Child care centers must also permit parents of enrolled 
children to visit the center at any time during the center’s hours of 
operation. Minn. Stat. § 245A.04, subd. 5; Minn. Rules, part 9503.0095 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/124D.162
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/245A.03
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/245A.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/9502.0315
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/9503.0005
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/245A.03
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/626.556
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/626.556
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/245A.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/9503.0095
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Motor Vehicles 
Minnesota laws stipulate different provisions for operating motor vehicles for people under 18. 
Special provisions apply in order for youth to operate cars, motorized bicycles and scooters, 
motorcycles, snowmobiles, and personal watercraft. 
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Instruction Permit Minnesota has a graduated driver’s license system in which driving 
privileges expand as new drivers gain experience. A minor who is 
at least 15 years old and is enrolled in a driver’s education program 
can receive an instruction permit once specific conditions have 
been met. Conditions include parental approval, completing either 
the classroom portion of a driver’s instruction program or at least 
15 hours of classroom in a program offering classroom and behind-
the-wheel concurrently, taking a vision test, and passing a 
knowledge test on traffic laws. The instruction permit is valid for 
two years. It authorizes the holder to drive only when accompanied 
by a driver’s education instructor, parent, guardian, or other 
licensed driver over the age of 21.   

The permit holder may not use a cellular telephone or wireless 
communication device (both handheld and hands free) while the 
vehicle is in motion, except when calling for emergency assistance 
about a crime or if someone’s life is in danger.   

If a minor is convicted of a moving violation or of some violations 
related to alcohol, the permit can be revoked. If a minor has ever 
been convicted of driving while impaired, violated the open bottle 
law, refused to take a chemical test for intoxication, or had a crash-
related moving violation, he or she won’t be issued a permit. Minn. 
Stat. §§ 169.475; 171.05, subds. 2, 2b 

Provisional Driver’s 
License 

A minor can apply for a provisional license if the person is at least 
16 years old, has held an instruction permit for at least six months, 
provides a log of supervised driving, and has finished a driver’s 
education program. The application must be approved by a parent 
or guardian, who must certify that the minor has completed at least 
50 hours of supervised driving while holding the permit (or 40 
hours if the main driving supervisor had completed supplemental 
curriculum), including at least 15 hours of driving at night. 

A minor may use a provisional license in the same manner as a 
holder of a standard license except that: (1) the minor may not use 
a telephone while the vehicle is in motion (both handheld and 
hands free), except when calling for emergency assistance about a 
crime or if someone’s life is in danger; (2) limitations are imposed 
on the allowed number of passengers;2 and (3) for the first six 
months the provisional license holder may only drive between 
midnight and 5:00 a.m. under limited circumstances, including for 
work or school-related activities or if a licensed driver at least 25 

2 Outside of immediate family, the passenger limitations are no more than one passenger age 19 or younger 
during the first six months of provisional licensure, and no more than three passengers age 19 or younger during the 
next six months. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169.475
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169.475
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/171.05
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years of age is present. 

The minor won’t be issued a provisional license if in the previous 
six months the person has been convicted of driving while 
impaired, violated the open bottle law, refused to take a chemical 
test for intoxication, or had a crash or noncrash related moving 
violation. Minn. Stat. § 171.055 

Full License A minor can obtain a standard under-21 driver’s license if, among 
other requirements, the person: 

• has held a provisional license for 12 months without (1)
incurring any moving violations in connection with a crash;
(2) incurring more than one moving violation that is
unrelated to a crash; or (3) a conviction for driving while
impaired, an open bottle violation, or refusal to take a
chemical test for intoxication;

• has parental approval; and

• has completed at least ten additional hours of driving under
the supervision of a licensed driver age 21 or over.

Minn. Stat. § 171.04, subd. 1 

Farm Work License A minor who is at least 15 years old, holds an instruction permit, 
and is otherwise qualified to hold a driver’s license may get a 
restricted license for farm work. A farm work license holder may 
operate a vehicle unaccompanied only if (1) performing farm-
related work, (2) driving within 20 miles of the farmhouse, (3) 
driving during daylight hours, and (4) driving outside of cities of 
the first class. Otherwise, the driver must be accompanied by a 
licensed driver age 21 or older. Minn. Stat. § 171.041 

Motorized Bicycle 
(Moped) Permits 

A motorized bicycle (also known as a moped) can be operated by 
minors who hold a driver’s license or a specialized permit. A youth 
who is at least 15 years old may obtain a motorized bicycle 
instruction permit upon completion of a safety course and the 
written portion of an exam, or a motorized bicycle operator’s 
permit upon passage of an exam. An instruction permit holder may 
only operate the moped within one mile of the person’s residence. 
Minn. Stat. §§ 169.223, subd. 2; 171.02, subd. 3; 171.05, subd. 3 

Motorized Foot 
Scooters 

Motorized foot scooters may be operated by a minor who is at least 
12 years old and wears a helmet. The operator generally has the 
same rights and responsibilities as a bicyclist. The motorized foot 
scooter may not be operated on the sidewalk, but it can be used on 
a bicycle lane or path unless (1) the pathway is reserved for 
nonmotorized use, or (2) operation is restricted by a local 
government. Minn. Stat. § 169.225 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/171.055
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/171.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/171.041
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169.223
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169.225
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/171.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/171.05
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Two-Wheeled Vehicle 
Instruction Permit 

A minor over the age of 16 may obtain a two-wheeled vehicle 
instruction permit if the person holds a driver’s license, is taking a 
two-wheeled vehicle safety course, passes a written test, and pays 
the permit fee. A permit holder faces some operation restrictions, 
including carrying no passengers and not driving at night. The 
permit allows operation of motorcycles as well as motor scooters.  
Minn. Stat. § 169.974, subd. 2 

Two-Wheeled Vehicle 
License Endorsement 

To obtain a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement on a driver’s license, 
a person under age 18 must have a two-wheeled vehicle instruction 
permit, pass a written exam, pass a road test, and complete a safety 
course. The license endorsement allows operation of motorcycles 
as well as motor scooters. Minn. Stat. § 169.974, subd. 2   

Mandatory Use of 
Protective Headgear 

Persons under the age of 18 must wear protective headgear while 
operating or riding a motorcycle, motor scooter, motorized bicycle, 
or motorized foot scooter on public roadways. A violation is a 
petty misdemeanor. Minn. Stat. §§ 169.223; 169.225; 169.974 

Snowmobile Operation No person under the age of 18 may operate or ride a snowmobile 
without wearing a helmet. Various other provisions apply including 
adult accompaniment requirements and restrictions where the 
snowmobile may be operated. Minn. Stat. § 84.872 

Personal Watercraft 
Operation 

Minors under age 13 are not permitted to operate personal 
watercraft, regardless of horsepower, except in an emergency. 
Minn. Stat. § 86B.313, subd. 2. A minor who is at least 13 but less than 
18 years old may not operate a personal watercraft without an 
operator’s permit unless someone at least 21 years old is on board 
the craft. If the minor is 13 years old, the minor must also be 
visually supervised by someone at least 21 years old, in addition to 
obtaining a permit. Minn. Stat. § 86B.313, subd. 3. In order to obtain a 
permit, a minor must pass an educational course and a test. Minn. 
Stat. § 86B.101, subd. 2 

Automobile Insurance A minor may enter into a contract to purchase automobile 
insurance. The contract is binding on the minor as if the minor 
were an adult. An insurer is not required to issue insurance 
coverage to the minor, however. Minn. Stat. § 65B.136 

Driving While Talking 
on Cell Phone or 
Texting 

A person under the age of 18 who has an instruction permit or a 
provisional license may not drive a vehicle while using a cell 
phone (both handheld and hands free) or wireless communication 
device to make a call or to compose, read, or send an electronic 
message.3 A violation is a petty misdemeanor. Minn. Stat. §§ 169.475; 
171.05, subd. 2b; 171.055, subd. 2 

3 The prohibition on texting while driving applies to all persons operating a motor vehicle, whereas the 
prohibition on using a cell phone to make a phone call applies only to drivers under the age of 18. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169.974
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169.974
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169.223
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169.225
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169.974
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/84.872
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/86B.101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/86B.101
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Unlawful Acts by Youths 
Minnesota law prohibits young people from performing certain activities that adults are allowed 
to do and imposes penalties for such conduct. Minnesota law also requires young people to do 
certain things in order to protect their welfare. The rationale behind these laws is that, due to the 
harmful nature of the activity and the immature judgment of young people, it is necessary to 
place stricter controls on youths than adults. 
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Purchase and 
Consumption of 
Alcoholic Beverages 
(Misdemeanor; Gross 
Misdemeanor) 

No person under 21 years of age may purchase alcoholic beverages 
or possess or consume alcoholic beverages at a place other than his 
or her parent’s home. This prohibition does not apply if the 
underage person’s activity is undertaken for training, education, or 
research purposes and is supervised by a responsible person who is 
over the age of 21. Increased penalties apply to underage 
purchasers who misrepresent that their age is 21 or older if they 
have been convicted previously of such an offense. For purposes of 
these provisions, a person is not 21 years of age until 8:00 a.m. on 
the day of the person’s 21st birthday.  

The law provides immunity from prosecution for underage 
possession or consumption if a person contacts 911 to seek medical 
assistance. Minn. Stat. §§ 340A.503; 340A.702; 340A.703 

Driving after 
Consuming Alcoholic 
Beverages 
(Misdemeanor; Driver’s 
License Suspension) 

No person under 21 years of age may drive or operate a motor 
vehicle, including an off-road vehicle or motorboat, while 
consuming or after having consumed any amount of alcohol while 
there is physical evidence of the consumption in the person’s body. 
In addition to criminal penalties, an underage person may lose his 
or her driver’s license for between 30 and 180 days, the privilege to 
operate a snowmobile or ATV for one year, and the privilege to 
operate a motorboat for 90 days. Minn. Stat. §§ 84.91; 86B.331; 
169A.33 

Use or Purchase of 
Tobacco, Tobacco-
related Devices, or 
Nicotine Delivery 
Products 
(Petty Misdemeanor; 
Misdemeanor) 

No minor may possess, use, purchase, or attempt to purchase 
tobacco; tobacco-related devices, such as cigarette papers or pipes; 
or electronic delivery devices, such as e-cigarettes. Repeat 
violations are subject to increased penalties. Juvenile court can 
punish violations with a number of dispositions, including 
probation, fine, and loss of driver’s license or driving privileges. 
Minn. Stat. §§ 609.685; 260B.235; 171.171 

It is also unlawful for a minor to possess, purchase, or attempt to 
purchase a nicotine delivery product. If the minor uses false 
identification to misrepresent his or her age, the penalty increases. 
Minn. Stat. § 609.6855 

Possession of Kratom 
(Misdemeanor) 

No minor may possess any amount of Kratom or a substance that 
contains Kratom’s active ingredient. Minn. Stat. § 152.027, subd. 7 

Possession of 
Ammunition or a 
Pistol or Assault 
Weapon 
(Felony) 

No minor may possess ammunition, or a pistol or semiautomatic 
military-style assault weapon, unless the minor: (1) is in the actual 
presence or under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian; (2) 
is possessing it for military drill purposes; (3) is using it in an 
approved and supervised target practice range; or (4) has 
completed a state-approved marksmanship and safety course. Minn. 
Stat. § 624.713 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/340A.503
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/340A.702
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/340A.703
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/84.91
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169A.33
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.685
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Possession of a 
Firearm 
(Misdemeanor) 

No child under 16 years of age may possess a firearm unless he or 
she is (1) accompanied by a parent or guardian; (2) on the parent or 
guardian’s residential property; (3) participating in an organized 
target shooting or firearms safety program; or (4) is 14 or 15 and 
has obtained a firearms safety certificate from the Department of 
Natural Resources. Minn. Stat. § 97B.021 

Possession of an 
Assault Weapon in a 
Public Place 
(Felony) 

A person under the age of 21 who illegally carries a semiautomatic 
military-style assault weapon in a public place is subject to 
increased criminal penalties. Minn. Stat. § 624.7181 

Possession or Use of 
Tear Gas 
(Misdemeanor) 

No person under the age of 16 may use or possess tear gas except 
by written permission of a parent or guardian. Minn. Stat. § 624.731 

Possession or Use of 
Electronic 
Incapacitation Device 
(“Stun Gun”) 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

No person under the age of 18 may use or possess an electronic 
incapacitation device (“stun gun”). Minn. Stat. § 624.731 

Curfew Ordinances Although there are no statewide curfew restrictions for minors, 
state law authorizes local governments to enact local curfew 
ordinances and specifically authorizes county boards to adopt 
countywide curfews applicable to all unmarried minors. Any 
countywide curfew ordinance adopted in the seven-county 
metropolitan area must contain an earlier curfew for children under 
age 12 than for older children. Minn. Stat. § 145A.05, subd. 7a 

Gambling 
(Misdemeanor; Petty 
Misdemeanor) 

A person under age 18 may not: (1) buy a lottery ticket; (2) make a 
bet or cash a winning ticket at a racetrack; or (3) participate in 
lawful gambling (except for certain bingo games). Violation of the 
lawful gambling and pari-mutuel betting prohibitions is a 
misdemeanor. Violation of the lottery ticket prohibition is a petty 
misdemeanor. Minn. Stat. §§ 240.25, subd. 8; 240.26; 349.181; 349A.12 

Violent Video Games 
(Civil penalty) 

A person under age 17 may not knowingly rent or purchase a 
restricted video game. A restricted video game means a game rated 
AO (adults only) or M (mature). Violation of this provision results 
in a civil penalty of $25. Minn. Stat. § 325I.06 

Note: On July 31, 2006, the federal district court prohibited the 
implementation and enforcement of this statute based on its finding 
that the statute violates the First and Fourteenth amendments of the 
U.S. Constitution. Entm’t Software Ass’n v. Hatch, 443 F. Supp.2d. 
1065 (D. Minn. 2006), aff’d, 519 F.3d 768 (8th Cir. 2008).  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/97B.021
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/624.7181
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/624.731
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/624.731
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/145A.05
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/240.25
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/240.26
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/349.181
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/349A.12
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/325I.06
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Unlawful Acts Against Youths 
There are a number of Minnesota laws that make it a crime or a petty misdemeanor to commit 
certain acts with or upon children. These criminal laws seek to protect young people in a variety 
of situations where, due to youth and immaturity, children are considered particularly vulnerable 
to physical or emotional harm. 
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Pornography Laws 

Child Pornography 
(Felony) 

It is a crime to employ, use, or permit a minor to pose or model for 
a sexual performance, or to disseminate or distribute for profit 
pictures or works depicting minors in a sexual performance. Minn. 
Stat. § 617.246 

(Felony) It is a crime to disseminate or possess photographic representations 
of sexual conduct involving a minor. Minn. Stat. § 617.247 

Dissemination of 
Pornographic Works 
to Minors 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

No person may knowingly sell or rent to a minor pornographic 
pictures or films containing material harmful to minors or show or 
admit minors, whether or not for monetary consideration, to see 
such films or other presentations in a place of public 
accommodation. 

(Misdemeanor) Places of public accommodation may not display pornographic 
materials containing material harmful to minors unless minors are 
physically segregated from the display or an opaque cover blocks 
from view those materials that may be harmful to minors. Minn. 
Stat. §§ 617.293 to 617.294 

Sexual Abuse Laws 

Criminal Sexual 
Conduct 
(Felony) 

It is a crime for any person who is more than 36 months older than 
the victim to engage in sexual conduct with a minor who is under 
13 years of age. It is also a crime to engage in sexual contact with a 
minor between the ages of 13 and 18 who is a certain number of 
years younger than the actor and/or under the actor’s authority and 
control, or a minor who is under 18 and with whom the actor has a 
“significant relationship” as defined by law. 

It is a crime for an adult to engage in sexual conduct with a minor 
when that person has a significant relationship to the minor, or is 
the minor’s guardian. “Significant relationship” includes 
relationships by blood, marriage, and adoption but excludes 
relationships more distant than first cousins. Minn. Stat. §§ 609.341 to 
609.345 

(Gross Misdemeanor; 
Felony) 

It is a gross misdemeanor for a person to (1) engage in 
nonconsensual sexual contact with a minor, or (2) knowingly 
engage in masturbation or lewd exhibition of the genitals in the 
presence of a minor under the age of 16. A violation of the conduct 
described in clause (2) is subject to felony penalties if the offender 
has previous criminal sexual conduct convictions. Minn. Stat. § 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/617.246
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/617.246
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/617.247
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/617.293
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/617.293
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.341
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.3451
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609.3451. See also Overview of Criminal Sexual Conduct Crimes, 
House Research Department, July 2010. 

Interference with 
Privacy 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

A person who surreptitiously interferes with the privacy of a minor 
under the age of 18 (i.e., commits a “peeping tom” offense) is 
subject to increased penalties. Minn. Stat. § 609.746 

Indecent Exposure 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

It is a gross misdemeanor for a person to willfully and lewdly 
expose his or her body, to procure another to expose private parts, 
or to engage in any other open or gross lewdness or lascivious 
behavior, in the presence of a minor under the age of 16. Minn. Stat. 
§ 617.23

Prostitution 
(Felony; Gross 
Misdemeanor) 

It is a crime for any person to solicit, induce, promote, or receive 
profit from the practice of prostitution by a minor. It is also a crime 
to engage in prostitution or hire an individual to engage in 
prostitution with a minor, or someone believed to be a minor, with 
the penalty varying depending on the age of the minor. 

It is also a gross misdemeanor for a nonrelative to permit a minor to 
reside with him or her without parental consent when the 
nonrelative knows or has reason to know that the minor is engaging 
in prostitution. Minn. Stat. §§ 609.321 to 609.324 

Prostitution Crimes 
Committed in School 
and Park Zones 
(Felony; Gross 
Misdemeanor)  

Enhanced penalties apply when a person commits certain 
prostitution offenses on or near a public park or school property 
(excluding postsecondary schools) or at a school bus stop while 
students are waiting for the bus. Minn. Stat. § 609.3242 

Sexual Solicitation and 
Communication 
(Felony) 

An adult who solicits (i.e., commands, entreats, or attempts to 
persuade by telephone, letter, or computerized or other electronic 
means) a child under the age of 16, or reasonably believed to be 
under age 16, to engage in sexual conduct commits a crime. It is 
also a crime for an adult to use the Internet or other electronic 
device or communication system to communicate or distribute 
sexually explicit material to a child under the age of 16 or 
reasonably believed to be under age 16. Mistake as to age is not a 
defense to these crimes. Minn. Stat. § 609.352 

Human and Sex 
Trafficking 
(Felony) 

Enhanced penalties apply to a person who knowingly engages in a 
trafficking crime involving an individual who is under 18. Minn. 
Stat. §§ 609.282; 609.283; 609.321, subd. 7a; 609.322 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.3451
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.746
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/617.23
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/617.23
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.321
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.3242
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.352
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.282
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.282
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.283
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.321
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.322
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Physical and Emotional Abuse Laws 

Death Caused by 
Child Abuse 
(Felony; Life 
Imprisonment) 

A person who causes the death of a child while committing or 
attempting to commit child abuse is guilty of first-degree murder if 
(1) there is a past pattern of child abuse, and (2) death occurs under 
circumstances manifesting an extreme indifference to human life. 
Minn. Stat. § 609.185, para. (a), cl. (5) 

Death Caused by 
Malicious Punishment 
of a Child  
(Felony) 

A person who causes the death of a child while committing or 
attempting to commit malicious punishment of a child is guilty of 
first-degree manslaughter. Minn. Stat. § 609.20, cl. (5) 

Death Caused by 
Neglect or 
Endangerment of a 
Child  
(Felony) 

A person who causes the death of a child while committing or 
attempting to commit neglect or endangerment of a child is guilty 
of second-degree manslaughter. Minn. Stat. § 609.205, cl. (5) 

Malicious Punishment 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

No parent, guardian, or caretaker may, through an intentional act or 
series of acts against a minor, use unreasonable force or cruel 
discipline against the minor. 

(Felony) The offense becomes a felony if substantial or great bodily harm 
results from the person’s actions or if the offender has been 
convicted of this crime previously within the past five years. Minn. 
Stat. § 609.377 

Assault; Past Pattern 
of Abuse  
(Felony) 

A person who assaults a minor and causes any amount of bodily 
harm is guilty of a felony if the person has engaged in a past 
pattern of child abuse against that minor. Minn. Stat. § 609.223, 
subd. 2 

Assault or Malicious 
Punishment of Child 
under the Age of Four 
(Felony) 

A person who assaults or maliciously punishes a child under the 
age of four is guilty of a felony if the act causes any physical harm 
to the child’s head, eyes, or neck, or causes multiple bruises to any 
other part of the child’s body. Minn. Stat. §§ 609.223, subd. 3; 609.377 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.185
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.20
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.205
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.377
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.377
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.223
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.223
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.377
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Neglect or 
Endangerment  
(Gross Misdemeanor; 
Felony) 

A parent, guardian, or caretaker may not: (1) willfully deprive a 
minor child of necessary food, clothing, shelter, or health care 
when reasonably able to provide these necessities, if the 
deprivation substantially harms or is likely to substantially harm 
the child’s physical, mental, or emotional health; (2) knowingly 
permit the continuing physical or sexual abuse of the child; (3) 
endanger a child’s health by intentionally causing or permitting the 
child to be placed in a dangerous situation or to be present where 
illegal drugs are possessed, sold, or manufactured; or (4) endanger 
a child under the age of 14 by intentionally or recklessly allowing 
the child to have access to a loaded firearm. The acts are 
punishable as gross misdemeanors; however, if the neglect or 
endangerment results in substantial harm to the child, the act is 
punishable as a felony. Minn. Stat. § 609.378 

Newborns Left at a 
Safe Place; Immunity 

A mother may not be prosecuted for leaving an unharmed newborn 
(not more than seven days old) with an employee at a hospital, 
health care provider who provides urgent care services, or 
ambulance service. A person who is not the mother may leave the 
newborn with the mother’s permission. Minn. Stat. § 609.3785 

Nonsupport 
(Misdemeanor) 

No person legally obligated to provide court-ordered support to a 
child may knowingly fail to do so without lawful excuse. Minn. 
Stat. § 609.375, subd. 1 

(Gross Misdemeanor) The offense becomes a gross misdemeanor if (1) the nonsupport 
continues for more than 90 days, or (2) the arrears amount to more 
than six times the monthly obligation. Minn. Stat. § 609.375, subd. 2 

(Felony) The offense becomes a felony if (1) the nonsupport continues for 
more than 180 days, or (2) the arrears amount to more than nine 
times the monthly obligation. Minn. Stat. § 609.375, subd. 2a 

Contempt proceedings must precede prosecution for nonpayment 
of child support. Procedures for discharge and dismissal may apply 
to persons who execute a written payment agreement and comply 
with it. Minn. Stat. § 609.375, subd. 2b 

False Imprisonment 
(Felony) 

No person who knowingly lacks legal authority may intentionally 
confine or restrain someone else’s minor child without the consent 
of the minor’s parent or legal custodian. Minn. Stat. § 609.255, subd. 2 

(Gross Misdemeanor) No parent, guardian, or caretaker may subject a minor to 
unreasonable physical confinement or restraint, if done in a cruel 
manner and if excessive under the circumstances. Minn. Stat. § 
609.255, subd. 3 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.378
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.3785
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.375
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.375
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.375
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.375
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.375
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.255
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.255
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.255
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(Felony) If demonstrable or substantial bodily harm results from the 
unreasonable confinement or restraint, the offense becomes a 
felony. Minn. Stat. § 609.255, subd. 3 

Kidnapping 
(Felony) 

No child under 16 years of age may be confined or taken from one 
place to another without the consent of the child’s parents or legal 
custodial guardian. Unlike the situation with adult kidnapping 
victims, consent of the child victim to the kidnapping is not a 
defense. Minn. Stat. § 609.25 

Deprivation of 
Parental or Custodial 
Rights 
(Gross Misdemeanor; 
Felony) 

No person may conceal a minor child for the purpose of depriving 
a parent or other custodian of his or her parental, custodial, or  
parenting time rights to the child, nor may a person abduct a minor 
child for the purpose of depriving a parent of his or her parental 
rights, unless a person reasonably believes the action is necessary 
to prevent physical or sexual assault or substantial emotional harm. 
Additionally, no person who is at least 18 years old and more than 
two years older than a minor child may refuse to return the child to 
a parent or lawful custodian, and no adult may contribute to the 
child’s truancy or running away, or reside with a child under the 
age of 16, without parental consent. Minn. Stat. § 609.26 

Safety Laws 

DWI; Child 
Endangerment 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

A person who violates “driving while intoxicated” laws is subject 
to increased criminal and administrative penalties if the person 
commits the offense with a child in the vehicle who is under the 
age of 16 and is more than three years younger than the driver. 
Minn. Stat. §§ 169A.03, subd. 3; 169A.25; 169A.26; 169A.60; 169A.63 

Child Restraint 
System 
(Petty Misdemeanor) 

When transporting a child who is both under the age of eight and 
shorter than four feet, nine inches in a motor vehicle, the vehicle 
operator must install and use a federally approved child restraint 
system. Minn. Stat. § 169.685, subd. 54 

Alcoholic Beverage 
Sales  
(Gross Misdemeanor or 
Felony) 

No one may sell or give alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 
years of age. If an unlicensed or unpermitted person furnishes 
alcohol to someone who is underage and that person becomes 
intoxicated and either suffers or causes great bodily harm or death, 
the furnisher is guilty of a felony. Minn. Stat. §§ 340A.503; 340A.701; 
340A.702 

4 All drivers and passengers must wear a seatbelt. Minn. Stat. § 169.686. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.255
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.25
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.26
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169A.03
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169A.25
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169A.26
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169A.60
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169A.63
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/340A.503
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/340A.701
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/340A.702
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169.685
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Tobacco Sales 
(Misdemeanor or Gross 
Misdemeanor; Civil 
Penalty) 

It is unlawful to sell or furnish tobacco; tobacco-related devices, 
such as cigarette papers or pipes; or electronic delivery devices, 
such as e-cigarettes to a minor. A violation of this prohibition is 
punishable by both criminal and civil penalties. Repeat violations 
are subject to increased penalties. The civil penalties may be 
assessed against the retailer employing the individual as well as the 
individual making the unlawful sale. It is also unlawful to sell 
nicotine delivery products to a minor. Minn. Stat. §§ 609.685; 
609.6855; 461.12 

Tear Gas Sales 
(Misdemeanor) 

No one may knowingly sell or furnish tear gas to a child under 16 
years of age without the written permission of the child’s parent 
or guardian. Minn. Stat. § 624.731 

Firearms Sales 
(Felony or 
Misdemeanor) 

No one within any municipality may furnish a minor with a 
firearm, air gun, ammunition, or explosive without the prior 
consent of the minor’s parent or the municipality’s police 
department. Outside municipalities, no one may furnish such items 
to a minor under 14 years of age without parental consent nor may 
a parent or guardian permit such a minor to handle or use a firearm 
outside the parent or guardian’s presence. Minn. Stat. § 609.66 

Ammunition Displays 
(Petty Misdemeanor) 

It is unlawful to display centerfire handgun ammunition for sale to 
the public in a manner that makes the ammunition accessible to 
minors unless the ammunition is in an enclosed display case, under 
observation by store employees, or otherwise inaccessible to 
minors. Minn. Stat. § 609.663 

Negligent Storage of a 
Firearm 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

No person may negligently store or leave a loaded firearm in a 
location where the person knows or reasonably should know a 
child under the age of 18 is likely to gain access, unless reasonable 
action is taken to secure the firearm against access by the child. 
Minn. Stat. § 609.666 

Electronic 
Incapacitation Device 
(“Stun Gun”) Sales  
(Misdemeanor) 

No one may knowingly sell or furnish an electronic incapacitation 
device (“stun gun”) to a child under 18 years of age. Minn. Stat. § 
624.731 

Unused Refrigerator 
or Container 
(Misdemeanor) 

It is unlawful to allow an unused refrigerator or other container to 
be exposed and accessible to children, if it is large enough to 
contain a child and has doors that fasten automatically when 
closed. Minn. Stat. § 609.675 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.685
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.6855
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/461.12
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/624.731
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.66
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.663
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.666
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/624.731
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/624.731
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.675
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Controlled Substance (“Drug”) Laws 

Drug Sale or 
Distribution to or by 
Means of a Minor 
(Felony) 

A person who unlawfully sells or distributes controlled substances 
to a minor, or uses a minor to unlawfully sell, import, or distribute 
controlled substances, is subject to increased criminal penalties. 
Minn. Stat. §§ 152.022 to 152.024; 152.0261 

Drug Crimes 
Committed in School 
Zones  
(Felony) 

Enhanced penalties apply to a person who commits certain 
controlled substance crimes on or near school property (excluding 
postsecondary schools) or on a school bus while it is transporting 
students. Minn. Stat. §§ 152.022 to 152.023 

Sale of Kratom 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

No person may sell any amount of Kratom or a substance 
containing Kratom’s active ingredient to a minor. Minn. Stat. § 
152.027, subd. 7 

Drug Paraphernalia 
Sales  
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

An adult may not knowingly deliver drug paraphernalia to a minor 
who is at least three years his or her junior. Minn. Stat. § 152.094 

Miscellaneous Criminal Laws 

Junk or Secondhand 
Dealers 
(Misdemeanor) 

No junk dealer or secondhand dealer is allowed to purchase 
property from a minor without the written consent of the minor’s 
parent or guardian. Minn. Stat. § 609.815 

Pawnbrokers 
(Misdemeanor) 

No pawnbroker is allowed to accept a pledge or purchase property 
from a person under the age of 18. Minn. Stat. §§ 325J.08; 325J.11 

Abduction for 
Marriage 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

No person may take a minor for the purpose of marriage without 
the consent of the minor’s parents or legal custodian. Minn. Stat. § 
609.265 

Solicitation of 
Juveniles to Commit 
Crime  
(Misdemeanor; Gross 
Misdemeanor; or 
Felony) 

It is a crime for any adult to solicit or conspire with a minor to 
commit a criminal or delinquent act. The penalty for this crime 
varies depending on the severity of the solicited criminal act. Minn. 
Stat. § 609.494 

Contributing to 
Delinquency  
(Civil Sanctions; Gross 
Misdemeanor) 

No person may encourage, cause, or contribute (1) to the need for 
protective services or delinquency of a minor, or (2) to the minor’s 
status as a petty offender. Minn. Stat. §§ 260B.335; 260B.425; 260C.425  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/152.022
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/152.0261
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/152.022
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/152.027
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/152.027
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/152.094
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.815
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/325J.08
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/325J.11
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.265
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.265
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.494
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.494
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Gambling 
(Misdemeanor) 

It is illegal for racetracks, lottery ticket retailers, and organizations 
that conduct lawful gambling to allow persons under age 18 to 
gamble. It is also illegal for anyone to give a lottery ticket to a 
person under age 18. Minn. Stat. §§ 240.13, subd. 8; 240.26; 349.181 

There is no prohibition in state law against persons under age 18 
entering casinos or gambling in them. However, tribal-state 
compacts prohibit Indian casinos from allowing a person under age 
18 to play blackjack or video gambling machines. A casino that 
allows a person under age 18 to gamble is not violating state law 
but may be subject to tribal court action for violating the compact. 

Providing a Tattoo or 
Body Piercing to a 
Minor  
(Petty Misdemeanor or 
Gross Misdemeanor) 

Except as noted below, a licensed technician may perform body 
piercings on a minor if a parent or guardian is present and has 
signed consent and authorization forms. Both the parent or 
guardian and minor must have photo identification, and there must 
be documentation establishing parentage or guardianship. 

No person may provide a tattoo or any of the following body 
piercings to a minor: a nipple or genital piercing, branding, 
scarification, suspension, subdermal implantation, microdermal, or 
tongue bifurcation. Tattooing is a gross misdemeanor. Violation of 
the piercing provisions is a petty misdemeanor. Any violation may 
result in disciplinary actions against the technician, including 
licensing actions and civil penalties. Minn. Stat. §§ 146B.07; 645.241 

Tanning 
(Petty Misdemeanor) 

A minor is prohibited from using any tanning equipment that uses 
lamps intended to tan skin with ultraviolet radiation, regardless of 
parental consent. The operator of the tanning facility is guilty of a 
petty misdemeanor for violation of this section. A minor is 
permitted to use nonultraviolet radiation tanning methods. Minn. 
Stat. §§ 325H.01 to 325H.10 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/240.13
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/240.26
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/349.181
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/146B.07
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/645.241
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/325H.01
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/325H.01
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Office Holding .............................................................................................................. 101 
Voting ........................................................................................................................... 101 
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Access to Government 
Records 

A minor and his or her parent or guardian may examine private or 
public government data on the minor, with certain exceptions: 

• Parental financial data filed with a school are not available 
to a minor. Minn. Stat. § 13.32, subd. 4

• At the minor’s request, data will be withheld from a parent 
or guardian if the government agency determines that 
withholding is in the minor’s best interest. Minn. Stat. § 
13.02, subd. 8

• Copies of child abuse victim videotape interviews can only 
be obtained by court order. Minn. Stat. §§ 13.821; 611A.90

• In investigations of abuse or neglect, interviews with a 
minor are not accessible to the minor’s parent or guardian if 
the parent or guardian is the alleged perpetrator of the abuse 
or neglect. Minn. Stat. §626.556, subd. 11a

For information on access to a minor’s educational records, see 
“Access to Students’ Educational Records” under “Educational 
Rights and Responsibilities.” 

For information on issues related to a minor’s criminal court 
records, see “Criminal Adult Court” and “Juvenile Court.” 

Fishing and Hunting 
Licenses 

Residents under age 16 may fish without a license. Minn. Stat. § 
97A.451, subd. 2 

Residents and nonresidents under age 16 may hunt small game, 
under certain conditions, without a small game license. If they are 
under age 13, they must be accompanied by a parent or guardian. If 
they are 13 years old, they must be accompanied by a parent or 
guardian and have a firearms safety certificate. Residents and 
nonresidents age 13, 14, or 15 also have the option to hunt small 
game if they possess an apprentice hunter validation, which 
requires hunting with a licensed adult. If they are age 14 or 15, they 
must have a firearms safety certificate. Residents under age 16 may 
also trap small game, excluding wolves, under certain conditions, 
without a small game license. Residents between 13 and 15 years 
old must have a trapping license to do so, but residents younger 
than that do not need a license. Minn. Stat. § 97A.451, subd. 3 

Residents and nonresidents age 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, or 15 may obtain 
a license to hunt big game under certain conditions. Residents and 
nonresidents age 12, 13, 14, or 15 must possess a firearms safety 
certificate or an apprentice hunter validation and nonresidents age 
12 or 13 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian. Residents 
and nonresidents age 10 or 11 must be under the direct supervision 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/13.32
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/13.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/13.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/626.556
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/97A.451
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/97A.451
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/97A.451
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/13.821
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/611A.90
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of a parent or guardian where the parent or guardian is within 
immediate reach. Minn. Stat. § 97A.451, subd. 4 

Office Holding An individual must be 21 years old in order to hold state or 
local office. Minn. Const. art. VII, § 6 

Voting An individual may vote in a state or local primary, general, or 
special election at age 18, provided that other eligibility and 
registration requirements are met. Minn. Stat. § 201.014; Minn. Const. 
art. VII, § 1; U.S. Const. amend. XXVI 

An individual who is 17, but will be 18 by the time of the next state 
general election, may vote and be elected a delegate or officer at a 
political party’s precinct caucus. Minn. Stat. § 202A.16 

An individual who is 16 or 17 and is enrolled in a Minnesota high 
school or is homeschooled may serve as a trainee election judge in 
the county where the individual resides, with certain conditions. 
Minn. Stat. § 204B.19, subd. 6 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/97A.451
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/201.014
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/constitution/#article_7
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/constitution/#article_7
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/constitution/#article_7
https://www.law.cornell.edu/constitution/amendmentxxvi
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/202A.16
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/204B.19
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Part 2: The Courts 
 
Minnesota law makes distinctions between adults and minors not only with regard to substantive 
rights and responsibilities, as described in Part 1, but also with respect to the type of procedures 
under which courts decide these rights and responsibilities. Part 2 explains these court 
procedures in three sections. 
 
Civil Adult Court describes procedures applicable to minors who are parties or witnesses to 
civil lawsuits in adult court. 
 
Criminal Adult Court describes procedures applicable to minors who are involved in criminal 
cases in adult court as witnesses or parties. It also explains certain procedural protections 
pertaining to the care and custody of minors found to have committed criminal acts. 
 
Juvenile Court describes the purposes and procedures of the juvenile court, which hears most 
cases involving unlawful acts committed by minors and cases involving children in need of 
protection or services from the state.
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Civil Adult Court 
This section describes the rights and restrictions affecting minors as parties or witnesses in civil 
lawsuits in adult court. 
 

Parental Liability for Children’s Torts and Contracts ............................................... 104 
Parents’ Liability to Children.................................................................................... 104 
Injury to Minors ........................................................................................................ 104 
Statute of Limitations ................................................................................................ 104 
Minors as Witnesses ................................................................................................. 104 
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Parental Liability for 
Children’s Torts and 
Contracts 

The parent or guardian of a minor who willfully or maliciously 
causes personal injury or property damage, including damage from 
graffiti, is jointly and severally liable for up to $1,000 in damage if 
the child would be liable for damages if he or she had been an adult 
when the damage occurred. A parent or guardian may be liable for 
up to $5,000 in a civil action for conduct that would be a bias crime 
if the parent or guardian did not make reasonable efforts to exercise 
control over the minor’s behavior. In some cases, the minor or the 
minor’s parent or guardian will also be responsible for the 
attorney’s fees and costs of the injured party. Minn. Stat. §§ 540.18; 
611A.79, subd. 4; 617.90 

The general rule is that minors are not bound by contracts that they 
enter if the minor disaffirms the contract’s provisions within a 
reasonable time of reaching the age of majority. Kelly, Jr. v. 
Furlong, 261 N.W. 460 (Minn. 1935). Accordingly, unless a 
minor’s parent cosigned the contract, a court generally cannot 
compel a parent to fulfill a minor’s contractual obligations. A court 
may impose contractual liability on a parent if the child is not 
emancipated and the contract is for a “necessity” (e.g., food, 
clothing, shelter). 

Parents’ Liability to 
Children 

Children may sue their parents for torts. Parents are judged by a 
“reasonable parent” standard in determining whether they are 
negligent. Anderson v. Stream, 295 N.W.2d 595 (Minn. 1980). 

Injury to Minors A parent or court-appointed guardian may sue to recover for injury 
done to a minor child. If a parent does not bring a suit, a guardian 
ad litem is eligible to do so. Minn. Stat. § 540.08 

Statute of Limitations The statute of limitations does not run while a person is a minor. A 
statute of limitation does not begin to run on a minor’s legal right 
of action until he or she is 18 unless parents file suit before then, 
with two exceptions. The suspension of the statute of limitations 
ceases in a medical malpractice case either seven years after the 
action arises or one year after the plaintiff turns 18. In cases of 
sexual abuse against a minor there is no statute of limitations, 
unless the offender was under 15 or the claim is against a school, 
church, or organization, in which case the claim against that 
defendant must be brought before the victim is 24 years old. Minn. 
Stat. §§ 541.073; 541.15 

Minors as Witnesses A child under the age of ten is a competent witness unless he or she 
lacks the capacity to remember or to relate facts truthfully. When a 
child under the age of 12 is a victim of a crime, the child may be 
able to provide testimony in an alternative format. Minn. Stat. § 
595.02, subd. 1, para. (n); Minn. Stat. § 595.02, subd. 4 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/540.18
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/611A.79
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/617.90
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/540.08
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/541.073
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/541.073
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/541.15
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/595.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/595.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/595.02
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Criminal Adult Court 
This section describes procedures applicable to minors who are parties or witnesses in criminal 
cases in adult court, or who are confined in a correctional facility. 
 

Criminal Responsibility ...................................................................................... 106 
Admissibility of a Child’s Hearsay Statements in Child Abuse Cases ............... 106 
Testimony by Closed Circuit TV or Videotape .................................................. 106 
Minors as Witnesses ........................................................................................... 106 
Child Sex Abuse or Trafficking Victim .............................................................. 106 
Exclusion of Public from Trials Involving Children .......................................... 106 
Exclusion of Children from Criminal and Scandalous Trials ............................. 107 
Care and Custody of Juvenile Offenders ............................................................ 107 
Expungement of Certain Criminal Records ........................................................ 107 
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Criminal 
Responsibility 

Children under the age of 14 are considered legally incapable of 
committing crimes. 

Children between the ages of 14 and 18 accused of criminal acts 
may be certified for adult criminal prosecution or designated as 
extended jurisdiction juveniles in the manner provided in the 
juvenile code and under the rules of juvenile procedure. 

If a child 16 years old or older is certified to adult court and is 
convicted of a felony offense, he or she may be charged and tried 
in adult court for any subsequent felony without going through the 
juvenile court’s certification process. 

A child who is alleged to have committed first-degree murder after 
becoming 16 years old may be charged and convicted in adult court 
without going through the juvenile court’s certification process, 
and without regard to the child’s previous criminal or juvenile 
court record. Minn. Stat. § 609.055 

Admissibility of a 
Child’s Hearsay 
Statements in Child 
Abuse Cases 

Hearsay statements made by a child sex or physical abuse victim 
under ten years of age may be admitted into evidence in abuse 
cases if (1) the statement is shown to be reliable, and (2) the child 
either testifies in person or is unavailable as a witness and there is 
corroboration of the abuse. Minn. Stat. § 595.02, subd. 3 

Testimony by Closed 
Circuit TV or 
Videotape 

A child under 12 years old who is a victim of physical or sexual 
abuse or another violent crime, or who is a witness to the physical 
or sexual abuse of another, may be allowed to give testimony over 
closed-circuit TV or on videotape, if the court decides that use of 
these devices is necessary to allow the child to testify without 
undue psychological trauma. Minn. Stat. § 595.02, subd. 4 

Minors as Witnesses A child under the age of ten is a competent witness unless he or she 
lacks the capacity to remember or to relate facts truthfully. Minn. 
Stat. § 595.02, subd. 1, para. (n) 

Child Sex Abuse or 
Trafficking Victim 

No data in records or reports relating to criminal child sex abuse or 
sex trafficking petitions, complaints, or indictments that 
specifically identify the child are accessible to the public, except by 
court order. Furthermore, when the government interviews a child 
abuse victim, a record must be made of the time, place, duration, 
identity of persons present, and substance of the interview. Minn. 
Stat. §§ 609.3471; 626.561 

Exclusion of Public 
from Trials Involving 
Children 

A judge may bar the public from the courtroom during all or part of 
a child sex abuse trial if necessary to ensure fairness or to protect 
the child. Minn. Stat. § 631.045 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.055
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/595.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/595.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/595.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/595.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.3471
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/626.561
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/631.045
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.3471
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Exclusion of Children 
from Criminal and 
Scandalous Trials 

No person under age 17 may be present at a criminal prosecution 
unless involved or directly interested in the case. Minn. Stat. § 631.04 

Note: Section 631.04 was found unconstitutional as a violation of 
the separation of powers doctrine. State v. Lindsey, 632 N.W.2d 
652 (Minn. 2001). 

The court is permitted to exclude minors whose presence is not 
necessary if a trial involves obscene or scandalous matters. Minn. 
Stat. § 546.37 

Care and Custody of 
Juvenile Offenders 

A minor may not be detained or confined in the same area as adult 
prisoners while in jail or lockup unless the minor has been indicted 
for first-degree murder, certified for trial as an adult, or convicted 
of a crime as an adult. Minn. Stat. § 641.14 

The Commissioner of Corrections is prohibited from placing any 
juvenile referred by the juvenile court in a penal institution. Minn. 
Stat. § 242.14 

It is a misdemeanor for any person to abduct, conceal, or 
improperly interfere with any inmate in a juvenile correctional 
facility. Minn. Stat. § 242.47 

Expungement of 
Certain Criminal 
Records 

A juvenile who has been certified to stand trial as an adult in 
criminal court and who is convicted of a crime may petition for the 
expungement of the criminal record if the juvenile has been 
discharged from the custody of the Department of Corrections or 
has successfully served the conditions of probation ordered by the 
court. If the court approves expungement, the juvenile’s criminal 
record is sealed and cannot be reopened except under limited 
circumstances. (Juvenile offender photographs or images may not 
be expunged from law enforcement records or databases.) 
Expungement of delinquency records (as opposed to criminal 
records) is discussed on page 120. Minn. Stat. §§ 13.82; 609A.02, subd. 
2; 609A.03 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/631.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/546.37
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/546.37
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/641.14
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/242.14
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/242.14
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/242.47
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/13.82
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.03
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Juvenile Court 
This section provides a general overview of the juvenile justice system in Minnesota. First, the 
purpose and jurisdiction of the juvenile court are described with an explanation of key terms and 
concepts necessary for understanding the function of the court. Next, the juvenile court process is 
explained: first, for delinquency and other offenses; second, for cases involving a child in need 
of protection or services (CHIPS). 
 
Most of the statutory provisions discussed in this section are located in Minnesota Statutes, 
chapters 260, 260B, and 260C. Several other provisions are found in the Minnesota Rules of 
Juvenile Delinquency Procedure as of September 2018 and Rules of Juvenile Protection 
Procedure as of October 2016. 
 
Purpose and Jurisdiction of Juvenile Court 

Juveniles Who Commit Unlawful Acts .............................................................. 112 
 Safe Harbor ......................................................................................................... 113 
 Certification for Adult Prosecution ..................................................................... 113 
 Dispositions for Juvenile Offenders and Juvenile Petty Offenders .................... 113 
 Extended Jurisdiction Juveniles .......................................................................... 114 
 CHIPS Cases ....................................................................................................... 114 
 Notice .................................................................................................................. 116 
 Dispositions in CHIPS Cases .............................................................................. 116 
 Alternative Dispute Resolution ........................................................................... 117 
 
Court Process for Delinquency and Other Offenses 

Apprehension ...................................................................................................... 117 
 Pretrial Detention ................................................................................................ 118 
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House Research Department Updated: December 2018 
Youth and the Law Page 110 

Purpose and Jurisdiction of Juvenile Court 

The juvenile court in Minnesota is authorized to hear and decide two main categories of cases: 

• those involving juveniles who commit unlawful acts
• those involving children who, for a variety of reasons, are in need of protection or

services by or from the juvenile court (CHIPS)5

The juvenile court, however, lacks jurisdiction over two types of juvenile offenders: (1) juveniles 
16 years old or older who are alleged to have committed first-degree murder; and (2) juveniles 
16 years old or older who are alleged to have committed a petty misdemeanor-level traffic 
offense or a DWI or related nonfelony offense. The district (adult) court has jurisdiction over 
these offenders. Minn. Stat. §§ 260B.007, subd. 6; 260B.101; 260B.225 

The juvenile court is also responsible for the following: 

• terminations of parental rights (TPR) to a child. Parental rights may be terminated by
the court either (1) for good cause with parental consent, or (2) if the child has been
abandoned or continuously neglected, or if the parent’s conduct shows a clear
unwillingness or unfitness to be a parent (Minn. Stat. §§ 260C.101, subd. 2, cl. (1); 260C.301)

• appointments and removals of guardians for minors (Minn. Stat. § 260C.101, subd 2, cl. (3))

• juvenile marriages (Minn. Stat. § 260C.101, subd. 2, cl. (4))

• adoption matters (Minn. Stat. § 260C.101, subd. 2, cl. (5))

• periodic review of a child’s placement in foster care (Minn. Stat. § 260C.101, subd. 2, cl. (6))

• review of voluntary foster care placement of a child for treatment due to an emotional 
disturbance or developmental disability or related condition (Minn. Stat. §§ 260C.101, subd. 
2, cl. (7);  260D.01)

• permanency matters for a child in foster care (Minn. Stat. §§ 260C.101, subd. 2, cl. (2);
260C.503)

• persons (including adults) alleged to be contributing to the neglect, delinquency, or
juvenile petty offender status of a minor.  Juvenile courts may order relief of a civil or
injunctive nature and hear and decide a gross misdemeanor criminal charge in these cases
(Minn. Stat. §§ 260B.335; 260B.425)

• reestablishment of a legal parent and child relationship (Minn. Stat. §§ 260C.101, subd. 2,
cl. (8); 260C.329)

Records of juvenile court delinquency actions are accessible to the minor and his or her parents 

5 In 2012, the legislature renamed chapter 260C as the juvenile protection provisions of the Juvenile Court Act. 
Juvenile protection proceedings include CHIPS matters, permanency matters including termination of parental rights 
(TPR), postpermanency reviews, and adoption matters. This publication will continue to highlight CHIPS and TPR 
matters even where they have been changed in statute to generally reference juvenile protection proceedings. See 
Laws 2012, ch. 216. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.007
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.225
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.301
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.503
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.335
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.425
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.329
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2012/0/Session+Law/Chapter/216/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260D.01
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or guardian. Juvenile delinquency records may be seen by others outside the judicial and law 
enforcement systems in most cases only with a court order, except in the following situations: 

• The victim of any alleged delinquent act may obtain the name and age of the juvenile, the 
act for which the juvenile was petitioned, the date of the offense, and the disposition of 
the case. Minn. Stat. § 260B.171, subd. 4

• A county attorney may give a law enforcement agency that referred a delinquency matter 
to the county attorney a summary of the results of that referral, including the details of 
any juvenile court disposition. Minn. Stat. § 260B.171, subd. 4

• Court disposition orders in certain cases are shared with schools as discussed on page 41. 
Minn. Stat. § 260B.171, subd. 3

• Records of adjudications, court transcripts, and delinquency petitions must be released to 
law enforcement agencies and prosecuting authorities for purposes of investigating and 
prosecuting crimes committed for the benefit of a gang. Minn. Stat. § 260B.171, subd. 1

All delinquency proceedings conducted by the juvenile court are closed to the public except: 
(1) hearings and court records6 involving minors 16 years or older are open to the public if the 
minor is accused of a felony-level offense; and (2) a victim of a child’s delinquent act may attend 
any related delinquency proceeding, subject to the court’s authority to exclude the victim for 
specified reasons. Minn. Stat. § 260B.163, subds. 1, 3 

The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) retains juvenile history data on a child against 
whom a delinquency petition was filed and continued without adjudication, or a child who was 
found to have committed a felony or gross misdemeanor-level offense, until the child reaches 
age 28. If, however, the offender commits a felony violation between the ages of 18 and 28, the 
bureau retains the juvenile data for as long as the data would have been retained if the offender 
had been an adult at the time of the juvenile offense. Juvenile data held by the BCA are private 
data but accessible to criminal justice agencies, courts, and public defenders. In addition, the 
BCA must disseminate a juvenile adjudication record in connection with a background check 
required by statute. Minn. Stat. § 299C.095, subds. 1, para. (b) and 2 See also the House Research 
publication Criminal Background Check Statutes: An Overview. 

Absent exceptional circumstances, juvenile protection hearings (except adoption proceedings) 
are presumed accessible to the public. In addition, most juvenile protection case records are 
presumed accessible to the public pursuant to the Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure. The 
court, however, may close any hearing and related records as provided in rules. Minn. Stat. §§ 
260C.163, subd. 1; 260C.171; Minn. R. Juv. Prot. P. 87 

6 Except for criminal justice and other government agencies, public juvenile delinquency records are not 
remotely accessible, but may be accessed in electronic or paper form at a court facility. Minn. R. Juv. Del. 30. 02. In 
2013 the legislature passed a more restrictive law on electronic record access which the Supreme Court declined to 
adopt. See Minn. Stat. § 260B.171, subd. 9; Order Promulgating Amendments to the Minnesota Rules of Delinquency 
Procedure, ADM 10-8003 (May 14, 2014). 

7 Examples of records that are not accessible to the public include medical records, records that identify a 
reporter of abuse or neglect, and records that identify a minor victim of alleged or adjudicated sexual assault. Minn. 
R. Juv. Prot. P. 8.01, 8.04, 27.01. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.171
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.171
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.171
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.163
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299C.095
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.163
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.163
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.171
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.171
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.171
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Juveniles Who 
Commit Unlawful Acts 

As mentioned earlier, one important type of case generally 
assigned to the juvenile court involves minors who engage in 
unlawful conduct. In contrast to the adult courts, the juvenile 
proceeding in this context is not a criminal proceeding designed to 
determine criminal responsibility and punishment but, rather, is a 
civil proceeding designed to protect the child from the 
consequences of his or her own conduct, develop individual 
responsibility for unlawful behavior, rehabilitate him or her, and, at 
the same time, promote public safety. Minn. Stat. § 260B.001, subd. 2 

Juveniles committing unlawful acts fall into one of the following 
categories, depending mostly on the nature of the conduct 
involved: 

• Delinquents: children 10 years of age or older who commit 
acts that would be unlawful if committed by an adult, 
except for those the law designates as petty offenses or who 
are 14 years old or older and whose cases are heard in adult 
court Minn. Stat. §§ 260B.007, subd. 6; 609.055; In re Welfare of 
S.A.C., 529 N.W.2d 517 (Minn. App. 1995)8

• Extended jurisdiction juveniles: children 14 years old or 
older who commit felony-level delinquent acts and who the 
prosecutor or the court designates as being in this category 
Minn. Stat. 260B.130

• Petty offenders: children who engage in conduct that is 
unlawful for them but not unlawful for adults (i.e., status 
offense), such as violating curfew, drinking, and smoking. 
The petty offender category also includes juveniles charged 
with their first or second nonviolent misdemeanor offense, 
with the exception of certain designated offenses Minn. Stat.
§ 260B.007, subd. 16

• Juvenile traffic offenders: children who violate traffic 
laws. In certain cases, depending on the age of the child and 
the nature of the traffic offense, the matter may be handled 
exclusively by the adult court rather than the juvenile court 
Minn. Stat. § 260B.225

8 However, children who commit traffic offenses are not labeled as delinquents, even if the conduct would 
have been unlawful if committed by an adult. Minn. Stat. § 260B.225. Similarly, children who commit certain 
nonviolent misdemeanors or who are found in possession of a small amount of marijuana are classified as petty 
offenders rather than delinquents. Minn. Stat. § 260B.007, subd. 16. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.001
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.007
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/609.055
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.130
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.007
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.007
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.225
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.225
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.007
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Safe Harbor Juveniles who are alleged to have committed prostitution are not 
considered delinquents or petty offenders, but rather are considered 
sexually exploited youth and fall under the juvenile protection laws 
(i.e., CHIPS). 

Certification for Adult 
Prosecution 

In some cases, the juvenile court may decide that a child over the 
age of 14 who is accused of a particularly dangerous offense and/or 
has engaged in criminal conduct in the past would be handled more 
appropriately in the adult court. These alleged delinquents may be 
“certified to adult court for criminal prosecution” upon motion by 
the prosecutor if the juvenile court holds a hearing and finds that 
there is probable cause to believe the child committed a felony 
offense and that there is clear and convincing evidence public 
safety is not served by handling the case in juvenile court. Once a 
child has been certified to the adult court for prosecution, the child 
may be prosecuted, convicted, and sentenced 9 as if he or she were 
an adult. 

The law presumes that certain juvenile offenders will be certified 
to adult court for criminal prosecution. The presumption applies if: 

• the child was 16 or 17 years old at the time of the felony
offense; and

• the court finds probable cause to believe the child
committed either: (1) a felony offense that would result in a
presumptive commitment to prison under the sentencing
guidelines and applicable statutes (generally violent or
other repeat serious offenses); or (2) any felony offense
while using a firearm.

In such cases, the child has the burden to rebut the presumption by 
clear and convincing evidence demonstrating that retaining the 
case in juvenile court serves public safety. If the child does not 
rebut the presumption, the court must certify the case to adult 
court. Minn. Stat. § 260B.125 

Dispositions for 
Juvenile Offenders 
and Juvenile Petty 
Offenders 

Assuming the juvenile court retains jurisdiction over the alleged 
juvenile offender and, after a hearing, determines that the child did 
engage in the unlawful conduct, the court has a variety of 
dispositions available to it including: fines, probation, counseling, 
home detention, electronic surveillance, sex offender treatment, 

9 In a line of cases from 2005 to 2012, the U.S. Supreme Court addressed the issue of culpability of children in 
adult sentencing. The Court held that the Eighth Amendment bars capital punishment for children, prohibits a life 
sentence without the possibility of parole for children who committed nonhomicide offenses, and forbids a 
sentencing scheme that mandates life in prison without the possibility of parole for child offenders. Ropers v. 
Simmons, 543 U.S. 551 (2005); Graham v. Florida, 560 U.S. 48 (2010); Miller v. Alabama, 132 S.Ct. 2455 (2012) 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.125
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placement out of the home, loss of driver’s license, restitution or 
community service, residency restrictions, and (for delinquents 
only) commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections for 
placement in a state juvenile correctional facility. A juvenile 
adjudicated delinquent for a predatory offense (as defined in 
statute) must register as a predatory offender. A juvenile petty 
offender may not be placed outside the home except for in-patient 
treatment for chemical dependency. The juvenile court’s 
jurisdiction over the child lasts until the child’s 19th birthday. 
Minn. Stat. §§ 243.166, subd. 1b; 260B.193, subd. 5; 260B.198; 260B.225; 
260B.235  

Extended Jurisdiction 
Juveniles 

A juvenile offender alleged to have committed a felony-level 
offense after reaching the age of 14 may be prosecuted as an 
“extended jurisdiction juvenile” (EJJ) instead of being certified to 
adult court or dealt with as a juvenile delinquent. This intermediate 
category may apply to the following offenders: 

• 14- to 17-year-olds who are designated EJJs instead of
being certified to adult court following a certification
hearing

• 16- and 17-year-olds who would have been subject to the
presumption in favor of certification but who are, instead,
designated EJJ by the prosecutor

• 14- to 17-year-olds who are designated EJJs by the court
after a hearing on the matter

A child who is designated an EJJ has the right to a jury trial in 
juvenile court and the effective assistance of counsel on the issue 
of guilt. 

If convicted, a child designated as an EJJ receives both a juvenile 
disposition and a stayed adult sentence. This stayed adult sentence 
may be executed and the child may be sent to prison if the child 
violates the terms of the juvenile disposition order. The court’s 
jurisdiction over an EJJ lasts until the child’s 21st birthday, unless 
terminated sooner by the court. Minn. Stat. §§ 260B.130; 260B.193, 
subd. 5 

CHIPS Cases The other major category of cases the juvenile court hears are those 
involving “children in need of protection or services” (CHIPS). 
Grounds for invoking the juvenile court’s CHIPS jurisdiction 
include the following: 

• the child is abandoned

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/243.166
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.193
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.198
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.225
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.130
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.193
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.235
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• the child is physically or sexually abused or emotionally 
maltreated 

• the child resides with a victim or perpetrator of domestic 
child abuse 

• the child is without necessary food, shelter, or other care 

• the child is without special care that is necessary due to a 
physical, mental, or emotional condition 

• the child is medically neglected, including infants in need 
of “medically indicated treatment” within the statute’s 
definition 

• the child’s parent or guardian desires, for good reason, to be 
relieved of the child’s care and custody 

• the child is in an illegal adoptive or foster care placement 

• the child’s parent or guardian is unable to provide care due 
to disability or immaturity 

• the child is in dangerous surroundings or is exposed to 
criminal activity in the home 

• the child has committed a delinquent act or juvenile petty 
offense before becoming ten years old 

• the child is a runaway from home 

• the child is an habitual truant from school 

• the child is experiencing growth delays, which may be 
referred to as a failure to thrive, that have been diagnosed 
by a physician and are due to parental neglect 

• the child has been found incompetent to proceed or has 
been found not guilty by reason of mental illness or mental 
deficiency in connection with a delinquency certification, 
EJJ, or juvenile petty offense proceeding 

• the child has a parent whose parental or custodial rights to 
another child have been involuntary terminated or 
transferred and social services had compelling reasons not 
to file a TPR petition 

• the child is a sexually exploited youth 
 

In CHIPS cases, the juvenile court is directed by law to secure for 
each child the care and guidance that is in the child’s best interests. 
In so doing, the court must observe the following policies wherever 
possible and in the best interests of the child: 
 



House Research Department Updated: December 2018 
Youth and the Law Page 116 

• to make reasonable efforts to maintain the child in his or
her own home

• to provide judicial procedures that protect the welfare of the
child

• to remove the child from parental custody only when his or
her welfare or safety cannot otherwise be adequately
safeguarded

• when the child is placed out of the home, to secure care and
discipline for him or her similar to that which should have
been given by the parents

• to make reasonable efforts to reunite the child with his or
her family, consistent with the child’s best interests and
safety, except in certain types of cases

• to ensure that when a child is removed from the home there
is a voluntary placement agreement or court order with an
individualized determination of the child’s best interests

• to ensure appropriate permanency planning for children in
foster care

Minn. Stat. §§ 260.012; 260C.001; 260C.007 

Notice After a petition has been filed alleging a child to be in need of 
protection or services, the court must issue a notice to a presumed 
father of the child and a grandparent with statutory rights to 
participate, unless these persons voluntarily appear or have been 
summoned. Minn. Stat. § 260C.151 

Dispositions in CHIPS 
Cases 

The types of dispositions available to the court to achieve these 
purposes are: 

• placing the child under protective supervision while
permitting the child to remain at home;

• placing the child out of the home in a foster care setting or,
under certain limited circumstances, in an independent
living arrangement;

• ordering a trial home visit, when the child is returned to the
parent or guardian for up to six months with services from
the responsible social services agency, and under certain
conditions;

• allowing the child to be adopted in cases where the child is
not returned home;

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260.012
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.001
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.007
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.151
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• ordering the abuser out of the home in cases of domestic
child abuse; or

• ordering that the child receive special services or treatment
for his or her mental or physical health.

Dispositional orders are for a fixed period of time not to exceed 
one year and may be renewed or modified by the court. 

If the child is in need of protection or services due to truancy or 
running away from home, the court may also order counseling, 
probation, delivery of the child to school by the parent or legal 
guardian, a fine, community service, loss or denial of driving 
privileges, or placement in a correctional group home.   

The court’s continuing jurisdiction over the child lasts until the 
child’s 18th birthday, except when in the person’s best interest, the 
court decides to continue jurisdiction until the person is 19 years 
old. In foster care review cases, jurisdiction shall continue to age 
21. Minn. Stat. §§ 260C.193; 260C.201

Alternative Dispute 
Resolution 

In CHIPS, TPR, and permanency cases, the court may authorize 
the parties to participate in alternative dispute resolution, including 
family group decision making, parallel protection process, and 
mediation. Minn. Stat. § 260C.163, subd. 12 

Court Process for Delinquency and Other Offenses 

The following is a summary of the major stages of the juvenile court process for children alleged 
to have committed unlawful acts. 

Apprehension A child may be apprehended and taken into immediate custody by 
the police or a probation or parole officer before any court papers 
are filed, if the child is: 

• in need of protection or services;
• a juvenile petty offender;
• one who has committed a delinquent act that would be a

petty misdemeanor or misdemeanor if committed by an
adult;

• found in dangerous surroundings;
• the subject of an arrest warrant;
• subject to arrest;

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.193
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.201
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.163
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• a parole/probation violator;
• excluded from the parent’s home under an order for

protection against the child, in situations where the parent is
unable or unwilling to provide an alternative safe living
arrangement for the child; or

• under age 18 and truant from school. Custody under this
circumstance is for the purpose of transporting the child
home and into the custody of a parent or guardian, to
school, or to a truancy service center.

Minn. Stat. §§ 260B.143; 260B.175; 260C.143; 260C.175 

Pretrial Detention Children taken into custody must be released as soon as possible to 
their parents, guardian, or custodian unless the child is a flight risk 
or the child’s health or welfare would be immediately endangered. 
In those situations, an alleged delinquent may be held up to 36 
hours, excluding Saturday, Sunday, and holidays, in a juvenile 
secure or shelter care facility. In order to detain children in juvenile 
facilities longer than these time periods, the court must hold a 
detention hearing and find that pretrial detention is necessary. 
Then, it must review the decision to continue detention every eight 
days until the child’s case is heard and decided, or the child is 
released. 

There are strict limits on detaining alleged delinquents in an adult 
jail or lockup. In most cases, no child may be detained in an adult 
jail or lockup for longer than six hours in a standard metropolitan 
statistical area or for longer than 24 hours elsewhere, unless a 
juvenile court petition and a motion to certify the juvenile for adult 
prosecution have been filed and a judge has approved the 
continued detention. A limited exception to the 24-hour rule exists 
if distance or weather conditions preclude a court appearance 
within 24 hours. In these cases, the juvenile may be detained in the 
adult facility for up to 48 additional hours or, in the case of weather 
conditions, for up to 24 hours after safe travel is available. Minn. 
Stat. §§ 260B.176 to 260B.181 

Filing of Petition or 
Citation 

The filing of a petition or citation with the court officially begins 
the juvenile court process. The county attorney prepares and files 
delinquency petitions; a peace officer may file citations for petty 
offenses and misdemeanor offenses. Minn. Stat. §§ 260B.141; 260B.143 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.143
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.175
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.143
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.175
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.176
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.176
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.141
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.143
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Arraignment Hearing At the arraignment hearing, the child is given the opportunity to 
admit or deny the allegations contained in the petition. This hearing 
must be held within 30 days of the date on which the petition is 
served or, if the child is in detention, within five days of the time 
he or she was taken into custody. Minn. R. Juv. Del. P. 7.03 

If the child denies the allegations in the petition, or if the court 
refuses to accept the child’s admission, the court schedules an 
adjudicatory hearing to take place within 30 or 60 days, depending 
on whether or not the child is in detention. If the child admits to the 
allegations and the court accepts the admission, the court will 
schedule a disposition hearing.  Minn. R. Juv. Del. P. 7, 8, 13, and 15 

Certification for Adult 
Prosecution Hearing 

The juvenile court judge, upon motion by the prosecutor, may hold 
a hearing as to whether an alleged delinquent over the age of 14 
should be referred to the adult court for criminal prosecution. In 
ordering the certification, the court must find that there is probable 
cause that the child committed the charged offense and that there is 
clear and convincing evidence that the public safety would not be 
served by handling the case in the juvenile system. The law 
presumes that certain offenders will be certified to adult court (see 
page 113). Minn. Stat. § 260B.125 

Extended Jurisdiction 
Juvenile Hearing 

Upon request of a prosecuting attorney, the juvenile court must 
hold a hearing on whether to designate an offender as an “extended 
jurisdiction juvenile” (EJJ). Additionally, under certain 
circumstances, the court or the prosecutor may place a child in the 
EJJ category without a hearing as an alternative to certification. If 
the child is not being considered for certification, the prosecutor 
must ask the court to hold a hearing if the prosecutor wants the 
child placed in the EJJ category. The effects of placement in the 
EJJ category are described on page 114. Minn. Stat. §§ 260B.125; 
260B.130; 260B.141 

Adjudicatory Hearing 
(Trial) 

An adjudicatory hearing is the equivalent of a trial in adult court. 
The hearing is held before a judge, except that in EJJ prosecutions 
the child has the right to a jury trial on the issue of guilt. At the 
conclusion of the hearing the court has seven days to decide 
whether the allegations in the petition have been proven beyond a 
reasonable doubt. If the allegations have not been proven, the court 
must dismiss the petition. If they have been proven, the court may 
either: (1) adjudicate the child as a delinquent or an offender, or 
convict the child as an EJJ and schedule a disposition hearing; or 
(2) withhold adjudication for up to 360 days, during which time the 
court may order counseling, supervision, treatment, or other 
conditions. Minn. Stat. §§ 260B.163; 260B.198; Minn. R. Juv. Del. P. 13, 
14, 15, and 19 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.125
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.125
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.130
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.141
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.163
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.198
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Disposition Hearing A disposition hearing is similar to a sentencing hearing in adult 
court. It is designed to be informal and to allow all participants the 
opportunity to be heard. Based on the information received, the 
judge may order any one of the dispositions summarized on page 
113. Minn. Stat. § 260B.198; Minn. R. Juv. Del. P. 15  

Expungement of 
Delinquency Records 

Juvenile delinquency records may be expunged if the court 
determines that expungement would provide a benefit to the 
petitioner that outweighs the burden on the government and any 
detriment to public safety by sealing the records. A record 
expunged under this subdivision on or after January 1, 2015, may 
be opened, used, or exchanged between criminal justice agencies 
under specified circumstances. Minn. Stat. § 260B.198, subd. 6 

Major Constitutional 
Rights of a Child in 
Juvenile Court 

The issue of how to treat juveniles in the criminal justice system 
has received extensive attention. The first juvenile court appeared 
in Chicago in 1899 and, for many years, juvenile courts were 
relatively informal. Minors received minimal procedural 
protections and had few due process rights. Until the 1960s, 
constitutional challenges to the procedures in juvenile court were 
unsuccessful under the theory that juvenile courts protected and 
rehabilitated juveniles instead of establishing criminal 
responsibility and assigning punishment. 

Since 1966, however, the U.S. Supreme Court has recognized that 
juvenile court proceedings can and do affect the rights of children 
to “life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness” and, therefore, that 
juvenile court hearings and procedures must measure up to the 
essentials of due process and fair treatment. 

In a series of cases decided during the late 1960s and early 1970s, 
the U.S. Supreme Court found that alleged delinquents have the 
following constitutional rights in juvenile adjudicatory hearings: 

• the right to written advance notice of the adjudicatory
hearing, allowing adequate time to prepare for it

• the right to counsel 10

• the privilege against self-incrimination

10 In 1994, the Minnesota Legislature made it extremely difficult for juvenile offenders charged with serious 
crimes to waive their right to counsel: juvenile offenders who are charged with felonies or gross misdemeanors or 
are to be placed out of the home must have counsel or, if the right to counsel is waived, must have standby counsel 
appointed. However, in 1995 the Minnesota Legislature provided that juveniles charged with a juvenile petty offense 
are not entitled to counsel appointed at public expense. The petty offender category includes not only status 
offenses, but also certain nonviolent misdemeanors. See Minn. Stat. §§ 260B.163, subd. 4; 260C.163, subd. 3. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.198
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.198
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260B.163
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• the right to cross-examine witnesses In re Gault, 387 U.S. 
1, 87 S. Ct. 1428 (1967) 

• that findings of delinquency must be based on proof 
beyond a reasonable doubt if the offense is one that 
would be unlawful if committed by an adult  In re Winship, 
397 U.S. 358, 90 S. Ct. 1068 (1970) 

• the Double Jeopardy Clause of the Fifth Amendment 
prohibits prosecution in adult court of a juvenile if an 
adjudicatory hearing has been held on the same matter in 
juvenile court Breed v. Jones, 421 U.S. 519, 95 S. Ct. 1779 
(1975) 

 
In contrast, however, the U.S. Supreme Court held in McKeiver v. 
Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528, 91 S. Ct. 1976 (1971) that a jury trial 
is not constitutionally required in the adjudicative phase of a 
juvenile court proceeding, because juries are not essential to 
fundamental fairness in fact-finding procedures. However, several 
states have extended the right to trial by jury in some or all juvenile 
cases. Juveniles who have been designated “extended jurisdiction 
juveniles” in Minnesota’s juvenile courts have a right to a jury trial 
during the adjudicatory hearing. 
 
Additionally, the Court held in Schall v. Martin, 467 U.S. 253, 104 
S. Ct. 2403 (1984) that pretrial detention of an alleged delinquent, 
based on the risk that the child may commit additional crimes prior 
to trial, does not violate the child’s due process rights. It held that 
pretrial detention of alleged delinquents is compatible with the 
fundamental fairness requirement of the Due Process Clause of the 
Fifth Amendment, given the protective rather than punitive 
objectives of the juvenile justice system. 
 
Of note, there has been a recent push to return to a system of 
informal juvenile justice focused more on the goals of 
rehabilitation and deterrence. This is in response to laws adopted in 
the late 1980s and early 1990s that make it easier to charge 
juveniles as adults. 
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Court Process for CHIPS and TPR Cases 

The following is a summary of the major stages of the juvenile court process as it relates to  
(1) children alleged to be in need of protection or services (CHIPS), and (2) terminations of 
parental rights to children (TPR).  

Pre-Adjudication 
Detention  

As explained more fully on page 117, under certain circumstances 
a child may be taken into immediate custody by a peace officer or 
by order of the court prior to a juvenile court hearing. In child 
protection cases, the usual reasons for doing so are because the 
child is a runaway, to ensure the child’s presence at a hearing, or to 
remove the child from surroundings or conditions that endanger or 
reasonably appear to endanger the child’s health or welfare. Such a 
child may be held in a shelter care facility for no longer than 72 
hours unless (1) a petition has been filed and the judge determines 
after a detention hearing that the child should remain in custody, or 
(2) after a hearing on an order for protection, the court has made a 
finding of domestic abuse perpetrated by the minor. 

If a child is taken into custody under a warrant or for the child’s 
safety, the child is entitled to a hearing within 72 hours, excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, of initial detention. In addition, 
upon the request of a party, the court will hold the adjudicatory 
hearing on the petition within 60 days of the detention hearing. 
However, if another party shows good cause why the hearing 
should not be held, the hearing will be held within 90 days.  

The detention order must be reviewed informally by the judge 
every eight days until the case is decided. The detention order must 
include rules for parental visitation unless visitation would 
endanger the child’s physical or emotional well-being. 

Children who are detained because they are alleged child abuse 
victims cannot be given mental health treatment for the effects of 
the abuse until the court finds probable cause to believe the abuse 
occurred or unless treatment is agreed to by the child’s parent or 
guardian. Minn. Stat. §§ 260C.175; 260C.176; 260C.178; 260C.181 

Filing of Petition or 
Citation  

Any reputable person, including any agent of the Commissioner of 
Human Services, may file a CHIPS petition in juvenile court. 
Additionally, the social service agency responsible for the 
placement of a child in voluntary foster care may petition the court 
to review the child’s foster care status. A county attorney must 
draft the petition upon a showing of reasonable grounds to support 
the petition. A petition filed by an individual who is not a county 
attorney or an agent of the Commissioner of Human Services must 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.175
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.176
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.178
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.181
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be filed on a form developed by the state court administrator. All 
petitions must be verified (sworn to) by the petitioner. 

Any reputable person may likewise petition the juvenile court to 
terminate the rights of a parent to his or her child if the person has 
knowledge of circumstances that support such a petition.  

A peace officer may issue a notice to appear to a child believed to 
be a runaway, and a school attendance officer may issue a notice to 
appear to an alleged truant. A notice to appear filed with the court 
has the legal effect of a petition. Minn. Stat. §§ 260C.141; 260C.143; 
260C.307 

First Appearance This is a hearing (called an admit/deny hearing) at which the child 
and the child’s parents and guardian are required to admit or deny 
the allegations of the petition. This hearing must be held within ten 
days after a detention hearing for a child who has been placed in 
pre-adjudication detention or 20 days after filing the petition or 
citation if he or she is not in detention. If the allegations contained 
in the petition are admitted, the court will schedule a disposition 
hearing. If denied, the court will schedule an adjudicatory hearing 
within 60 days. Minn. R. Juv. Prot. P. 34 and 39 

Adjudicatory Hearing The adjudicatory hearing is held to determine if the allegations of 
the petition are proven. In contrast to the delinquency or offender 
adjudicatory hearing, proof of the allegations need not be made 
“beyond a reasonable doubt” but only by “clear and convincing 
evidence,” which is a lesser standard. If the court finds the 
allegations of the petition are proven, it may either withhold 
adjudication for up to 90 days, or adjudicate the child as being in 
need of protection or services, or neglected and in foster care, and 
schedule a disposition hearing. 

Except when the sole basis for the petition is habitual truancy, the 
court shall appoint counsel to represent a child age 10 or older, 
parent, guardian, or custodian in any case in which the court feels 
appointment is appropriate if the person is financially unable to 
obtain counsel. In any case, before an out-of-home placement can 
be ordered, the court must appoint a public defender or counsel at 
public expense if the party is unable to obtain counsel on his or her 
own.  

To the extent practicable, the court must conduct a disposition 
hearing and must enter its order the same day it makes a finding 
that the child is in need of protection or services, or is neglected 
and in foster care. In all cases, the order must be issued within ten 
days after the finding. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.141
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.143
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/260C.307
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Where the petition is one to terminate parental rights and the 
allegations are proven, the court may terminate parental rights and 
transfer custody of the child in a disposition hearing. Even where 
the allegations have not been proven, the court may still determine 
that the child is in need of protection or services, or that the child is 
neglected and in foster care. In such a case the court will adjudicate 
the child accordingly and will schedule a disposition hearing. Minn. 
Stat. §§ 260C.163; 260C.201; 260C.312; 260C.317; Minn. R. Juv. Prot. P. 
25, 39-41 

Review of Court-
Ordered Placements 

The court must conduct a hearing to determine the permanency 
progress of the case not later than six months after the child is 
placed outside the home of the parent.  For cases where the child is 
in voluntary foster care for treatment of the child’s developmental 
disability or emotional disturbance under chapter 260D and the 
child continues in voluntary foster care, the court must review the 
status of the child not later than 13 months from the date of the 
voluntary foster care agreement. Minn. Stat. §§ 260C.204; 260D.07; 
Minn. R. Juv. Prot. P. 42, 43 

Disposition Hearing If the court finds that a child is in need of protection or services, it 
may order the dispositions summarized on page 116. Where the 
court terminates the parental rights of both parents or of the only 
known living legal parent, the court shall order guardianship of the 
child to the Commissioner of Human Services, a licensed child-
placing agency, or a willing individual capable of assuming 
parental duties. Minn. Stat. §§ 260C.201; 260C.317; 260C.325; Minn. R. 
Juv. Prot. P. 42.10 

Minnesota Indian 
Family Preservation 
Act 

Before ordering an out-of-home or permanency placement for an 
Indian child, the court must find that the local social services 
agency used active efforts to continuously involve the child’s tribe 
to preserve the Indian child’s family and tribal identity. Active 
efforts include acknowledging traditional helping and healing 
systems of the child’s tribe and using these systems to help and 
heal the Indian child and family. Minn. Stat. § 260.751 to 260.835 

Reestablishment of 
Legal Parent/Child 
Relationship 

Under the Family Reunification Act of 2013, a county attorney 
may file a petition for reestablishment of the legal parent and child 
relationship that was previously terminated by the court, if certain 
conditions are met. A petition may not be brought in any case 
where a TPR was based on sexual abuse or death of a minor or 
where the parent has been convicted of certain crimes. If a petition 
is granted, permanent legal and physical custody of the child is 
awarded to the parent. Minn. Stat. § 260C.329 

 
 
For more information about youth, visit the children and youth area of the House Research 
website, www.house.mn/hrd/.
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