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Citation 
Minnesota Statutes 611.20 requires the State of Minnesota Board of Public Defense to 
report annually on the collection and disbursement of public defender reimbursements. 
After consultation with the staff at the Minnesota Supreme Court it was determined that 
some of the variables outlined for reporting in M.S. 611.20 are not available.   Minnesota 
Statues 3.197 requires the reporting of the cost of report preparation.  Staff time was 
minimal in preparing this report and as a result there were no production costs.   
 
Background 
Minnesota Statutes 611.20 Subd. 2 authorizes the trial court to direct those public 
defender clients who are able to pay at least part of their defense costs to do so.  
 
Prior to July 1, 1999 the first $180,000 of public defender reimbursements were 
deposited in the general fund of the State of Minnesota, as a non-dedicated receipt.  The 
Board of Public Defense, retained receipts in excess of $180,000.   Due to the uncertain 
nature of this funding expenditures were limited to one-time expenses.  The vast majority 
of this funding was used to provide training for public defenders (Continuing Legal 
Education Credits). 
 
In the 1998 Legislative Session M.S. 611.20 was amended to direct all reimbursements 
to the Board of Public Defense.  Funds retained under this provision are to be used to 
offset the overhead costs of part time assistant public defenders.  The board receives 
the reimbursements ordered and collected by the Court in each Judicial District.  
Reimbursement payments are made to part time assistant public defenders on a 
quarterly basis.  The amount that each attorney receives depends on the amount 
collected, and the number of part time defenders in the Judicial District. 
 
Caseloads and Reimbursements 
During fiscal year 2018 employees of the Board of Public Defense reported opening 
approximately 151,000 cases.  In that same time period the State of Minnesota 
Department of Management and Budget reported receiving $384,000 in reimbursements 
from public defender clients.   
 
While the Court does not keep data on the number of cases where reimbursement is 
ordered, some inter-district comparisons can be made.  In order to compare workloads 
across district lines the board uses a “case unit” measure.  The “case unit” is defined by 
the relative difficulty of the different types of cases as determined by the Board of Public 
Defense Weighted Caseload Study.  A “case unit” equals the defense service that goes 
into the average misdemeanor case.   The “case unit” is then applied to each case type 
to arrive at the total case units for each district.  Reimbursement totals are divided by the 
number of case units in each Judicial District Public Defender Office to arrive at a 
reimbursement amount “per case unit”. 
 
Table 1 outlines for fiscal year 2018 the total reimbursements by district, amount per 
case unit, and the amount distributed to each category of part-time public defender. 
Table 2 outlines the reimbursements by county for fiscal year 2018. 
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Table 1 
 

Fiscal Year 2018 Public Defender Reimbursements by Judicial District 
 
 

District Cases 
Opened 

Case 
Units Amount Per Case 

Unit 
Per 

75%Time 
Defender 

Per 50% 
Time 

Defender 
First 15,811 28,126 $112,330 $3.99  $3,702 n/a 2 
Second (1) 14,847 24,499 $0 $0.00  $0 $0 
Third 11,225 20,972 $30,863 $1.47  $1,888 $1,259 
Fourth 35,920 65,591 $0 $0.00  $0 $0 
Fifth 7,633 14,086 $80,949 $5.75  $13,121 $8,753 
Sixth 9,165 15,110 $1,207 $0.08  $65 $43 
Seventh 15,389 26,458 $77,117 $2.91  $2,444 n/a 
Eighth 4,248 7,565 $26,353 $3.48  $3,179 $2,120 
Ninth 15,685 27,225 $25,468 $0.94  $1,266 n/a 
Tenth 20,415 36,112 $29,868 $0.83  $859 $573 
Total 150,338 265,743 $384,157 $1.95 $2,652 $1,821 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

[1]- Criminal Defense Services Inc. (CDI) appears on behalf of working defendants who have limited funds to hire an attorney. 

(2)- There are no part time defenders in this class.   
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Table 2 Fiscal Year 2018 Reimbursement Amounts by County 
 

County Jud. Dist. Amount County Jud. Dist. Amount
Carver 1 $9,530 Otter Tail 7 $24,543
Dakota 1 $19,965 Stearns 7 $18,689
Goodhue 1 $13,738 Todd 7 $2,819
Le Sueur 1 $2,811 Wadena 7 $1,066
McLeod 1 $4,546 Big Stone 8 $469
Scott 1 $54,528 Chippewa 8 $4,943
Sibley 1 $7,213 Grant 8 $397
Ramsey 2 $0 Kandiyohi 8 $4,509
Dodge 3 $425 Lac Qui Parle 8 $845
Fillmore 3 $924 Meeker 8 $3,846
Freeborn 3 $211 Pope 8 $2,982
Houston 3 $100 Renville 8 $3,347
Mower 3 $4,698 Stevens 8 $680
Olmsted 3 $8,679 Swift 8 $963
Rice 3 $7,054 Traverse 8 $201
Steele 3 $426 Wilkin 8 $1,055
Wabasha 3 $2,664 Yellow Medicine 8 $2,116
Waseca 3 $925 Aitkin 9 $1,400
Winona 3 $4,757 Beltrami 9 $1,972
Hennepin 4 $0 Cass 9 $1,134
Blue Earth 5 $19,263 Clearwater 9 $203
Brown 5 $4,189 Crow Wing 9 $6,639
Cottonwood 5 $3,058 Hubbard 9 $1,033
Faribault 5 $3,465 Itasca 9 $1,230
Jackson 5 $3,162 Kittson 9 $231
Lincoln 5 $550 Koochiching 9 $461
Lyon 5 $8,361 Lake of the Woods  9 $437
Martin 5 $7,637 Mahnomen 9 $1,312
Murray 5 $1,418 Marshall 9 $474
Nicollet 5 $5,988 Norman 9 $0
Nobles 5 $6,663 Pennington 9 $4,383
Pipestone 5 $3,327 Polk 9 $2,508
Redwood 5 $9,808 Red Lake 9 $300
Rock 5 $2,531 Roseau 9 $1,749
Watonwan 5 $1,529 Anoka 10 $236
Carlton 6 $97 Chisago 10 $2,704
Cook 6 $75 Isanti 10 $2,247
Lake 6 $80 Kanabec 10 $2,444
St. Louis 6 $956 Pine 10 $1,818
Becker 7 $2,565 Sherburne 10 $584
Benton 7 $1,952 Washington 10 $16,722
Clay 7 $7,882 Wright 10 $3,112
Douglas 7 $11,849 Statewide Totals $384,157
Mille Lacs 7 $4,183
Morrison 7 $1,570  
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