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Did you know?

Current registration needs to be displayed on a snowmobile
while being transported on any trailer, in truck beds, or on any
conveyance that can haul a snowmobile.

Under Minnesota Law:
“A person may not operate or transport a snowmobile unless
the snowmabile has been registered.”

Exemptions to registration - see page 7.

A Message from Your DNR Conservation Officers: @

During the 2014-2015 winter months, 4 people lost their lives in a snowmobile accident.
Last season, 75% of snowmobile accident deaths involved alcohol use that impaired the
driver. Alcohol use slows a driver’s reaction time so that stopping distance increases and
drivers are more likely to strike a fixed object and be killed from the impact. Stay away
from alcohol and ride smart. Alcohol alters your judgement and slows physical ability to
quickly react to hazards out on the trail. You need to be alert and aware when riding,
especially on the trails. Stay Alert and Stay Right!

2015 Snowmobile Safety Instructor of the Year

Red Wing snowmobile safety Instructor Larry Perkins has been named the
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) Snowmobile Volunteer
Instructor of the Year for 2015. Perkins has been a certified DNR Safety
Instructor for nearly 40 years, but has instructed young snowmobile riders since
1972. “Larry takes pride in his teaching, as evidenced by his welcoming of
questions, and using real-life examples to reinforce concepts”.

OIS
If you are interested in hecoming a volunteer DNR youth instructor:
E. kol d
This publication is paid for through the sale of advertising. The State of Minnesota and the Department of Natural Resources can neither endorse products or
services advertised nor accept any liability arising from the use of these products or services. Equal opportunity to participate in and benefit from programs
of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources is available to all individuals regardless of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status,
public assistance status, age, sexual orientation, disability, or activity on behalf of a local human rights commission. Discrimination inquiries should be sent
to MN DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4031 or the Equal Opportunity Office, Department of the Interior, Washington, DC 20240.
Copyright 2016, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources.
RECYCLABLE: This coated paper protects your regulations from water and the wear and tear of constant use.
To recycle, remove the staples and then recycle.
This information is available in an alternative format upon request.
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WELCOME TO SNOWMOBILING

The sense of freedom you get while riding a snowmobile over Minnesota’s snow-
covered lands and frozen lakes can be exhilarating. Yet with that freedom comes
responsibility. Minnesota’s system of more than 22,000 miles of snowmaobile

trails depends on the cooperation of landowners, non-motorized trail users, other
recreationists, and local units of government. The vast majority of trails are groomed
and maintained by snowmobile club volunteers.

Keep in mind that trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have against
snowmobilers. Trespass seriously impacts the ability of clubs to get private landowners to
allow grant-in-aid trails on their property. We recommend that all recreational users ask
first before entering private lands, even if the land is not posted. That simple courtesy will
go a long way to improve relationships between landowners and snowmobilers.

Please read this booklet to learn your legal obligations as a snowmobiler. By driving safe,
smart, and legal you protect the future of your sport.

Before you ride
e Read your Minnesota snowmobile regulations and your owner’s manual.
e Check your snowmaobile and equipment.
e Wear a helmet, eye protection, and proper clothing.
e Find out about ice and snow conditions.
e Tell someone where you are going and when you expect to return.

Be sure to
e | et weather, lighting, and trail conditions determine a safe speed.
e Ride straight—no alcohol or drugs.
e Stay to the right on trails and use your headlight and taillight.
e Maintain adequate spacing between machines to avoid collision.
e Reduce your speed when riding at night to less than 40 MPH. Studies have shown
speed over 40 MPH results in overdriving your headlights.
e Always yield to other motor vehicles.
e Stay clear of thin ice and lake inlets — never cross open water.
¢ Never ride alone—use the buddy system.
e Stay on groomed area of trails.

Obey all laws and regulations

e Maximum speed in Minnesota is 50 MPH. (see page 25)

e Display current snowmobile registration.

e Display separate Snowmobile State Trail Sticker, if required, for operation on state
or grant-in-aid trails (see pages 12 & 14).

e Stay off the roadway, shoulder, and inside slope of state and county roads
(see page 15).

e Be sure any youth operating your snowmobile has a safety certificate.

e Check local ordinances on when and where you may ride.
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Registering Your Snowmobile

Snowmobiles operated or transported in Minnesota must be registered with the DNR. If your
snowmobile is not registered, you may not operate, transport, or permit it to be operated. You
must be at least 18 years old to register a snowmobile.

The definition of a snowmobile is a self-propelled vehicle originally manufactured and designed
for travel on snow or ice and is steered by skis or runners. Snowmobile does not include the
following vehicles equipped with aftermarket ski and track configurations:

ATV, OHM, ORV, mini truck, “utility task vehicle” (per MN statute 169.011), and any other vehicle
being operated off road.

Snowmobiles do not need to be registered with the DNR if:

© being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail

e owned and used by the federal government, an Indian tribal government, another state,
or a political subdivision

o if the snowmobile is registered by tribal members through the tribal government.

e registered in a country other than the U.S. being used temporarily in Minnesota

e currently registered in another state and not kept in Minnesota for more than 30
consecutive days

e used exclusively in organized track-racing events

e in transit by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer

e at least 15 years old in transit by an individual for use on land owned or leased by
the individual

e used exclusively for agricultural purposes

 a snowmobile with an engine displacement that is 125 cubic centimeters or less and the
snowmobile is not operated on a state or grant-in-aid trail.

Non-Trail Snowmobile Registration is now an option for snowmobilers who do not
operate on state or grant-in-aid state trails. A unique non-trail registration number will be
assigned which will need to be displayed on the snowmaobile. Snowmobiles with 125¢cc
or less engine displacement do not need registration (including non-trail registration) if
NOT operated on state and grant-in-aid trails. Non-trail registration does not allow for
operation on state or grant-in-aid state trails even if you have a one-year trail sticker
on the snowmobile. If a road right-of-way is part of a state or grant-in-aid state trail,
you cannot operate a non-trail registered snowmobile on it. If a non-trail registered
snowmobile is changed to the regular trail registration, new registration numbers will
be assigned which will need to be displayed on the snowmobile. Non-trail snowmobile
registrations are non-transferrable.

A majority of the revenue generated from snowmobile registration will be used for
snowmobile grant-in-aid trails, trail maintenance, grooming, and easement acquisition.
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Fees

Snowmobile registration fees:
Type of Registration Fee
Trail Use Registration $ 78.50 every three years
Non-trail Registration $ 48.50 every three years
Duplicate Registration Card $ 13.50
Duplicate Decal $ 150
Transfer — Trail Use Registration only $ 13.50
Dealer $ 53.50 every year
Manufacturer $ 153.50 every year
Collector Unlimited Use $ 9.50

How to Register Your Snowmobhile

Register your snowmobile in person at any deputy registrar of motor vehicles or

at the DNR License Center in St. Paul. When you register your snowmobile you

will need the make, model, year, serial number, engine size, and sales receipt that
shows the proof of sales tax payment. Sales between private parties do not require
payment of sales tax.

A person may not sell a snowmaobile without furnishing the buyer with a bill of sale
that includes the serial number of the snowmobile. Transfers and registration renewal
fees are the responsibility of the new owner.

Snowmobiles purchased from a retail dealer must be registered by the purchaser at
the dealer. The dealer will issue a temporary 21-day registration.

Registration Numbers and Validation Decals

When you register your snowmobile, you will be assigned a snowmobile registration
number and receive a registration card. When you receive your registration card, sign
it and keep it handy. You do not have to carry it with you, but if an enforcement officer
asks to see it, you must produce it within a reasonable amount of time. The current
registration number and validation decal must be displayed.

Display of Registration Number and Validation Decals

Where:

e Display in the 3” x 7” space provided by the manufacturer on the
cowling or pan, or

e |f no space is provided, place on each side of the snowmobile on
the upper half, forward of the handlebars in a visible location.

N
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How:
The DNR issued validation decal must be placed to immediately
follow your registration numbers.

Numbers and letters must be:

e 1-7/8” high

® 3/16” stroke width

e contrasting color of the snowmaobile
e in the English language

e placed to read left to right.

Expiration, Renewal, and Duplicate

The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the registration
validation decal. All snowmobile registrations expire on June 30 of the last year
the registration expires.

You should receive a notice by mail to renew your registration. Please notify the
DNR of any address change. Whether you are notified or not, you are responsible for
renewing your snowmobile registration.

The renewal fee is the same as the first-time registration fee. When you pay
it, you will receive new validation decals and a registration card. You may renew
your registration at www.mndnr.gov/snowmobiling.

To obtain a duplicate registration card or decal, contact the DNR License
Center or your local deputy registrar. For fees, see page 8.

Transfer of Ownership

If you buy a snowmobile that is currently registered for trail use in Minnesota, you
may use a transferred registration for the time remaining on the previous owner’s
registration.

Simply obtain a bill of sale that includes the serial number of the snowmobile from
the previous owner and send it, along with a transfer application and the transfer
fee, to the DNR License Center or a deputy registrar. Transfer applications must
be made within 15 days after the transfer or sale actually occurs. A transferred
registration is only valid until the previous owner’s registration expires. Non-
trail registration is non-transferrable.If you buy a snowmobile that is currently
registered for non-trail use, you must either apply for a new non-trail or trail
registration.

TRANSFER OR TERMINATION OF SNOWMOBILE OWNERSHIP: Within 15 days

after the transfer of ownership, an application for transfer must be executed by the
registered owner and the purchaser using a bill of sale that includes the vehicle serial
number. An owner must report the destruction or abandonment of any snowmobile by
written notice to the commissioner in such form as the commissioner shall prescribe.
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We call it the all-new 2017 ZR® 9000 Turbo Sno Pro® With its
998cc Turbo Triple 4-stroke engine, most just call it the world's
fastest snowmobile. Add in the SLIDE-ACTION Rear

Suspension™and adjustable FOX® 1.5 ZERO RC shocks,
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Always wear a helmet and don’t drink and
ride.
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Gollector Snowmobile

¢ Special Permit

A special permit may be issued to a person or organization to operate or transport
a collector snowmobile without registration for parades or organized group outings,
such as races, rallies, and other promotional events, and for up to 10 days each year
for personal transportation. “Collector snowmobile” means a snowmobile that is

25 years old or older, was originally produced as a separate identifiable make by a
manufacturer, and is owned and operated solely as a collector’s item.

¢ Gollector Registration (Optional)

Snowmobiles 25 years old or older may be registered for unlimited use. This
registration is non-transferable. The collector registration does not expire and is valid
until the ownership of the snowmobile is transferred. A Snowmobile State Trail
sticker is required if you operate on a state or grant-in-aid trail.

Destroyed, Abandoned, or Stolen Snowmobile

If your snowmobile is destroyed, abandoned, or stolen or you no longer register
it in Minnesota, notify the DNR License Center at 500 Lafayette Rd, St. Paul, MN
55155-4026, (651) 296-2316 or 1-800-285-2000 within 15 days.

Dealer and Manufacturer Registration

Dealers must register snowmobiles they own and use for demonstration purposes.
A registration plate will be issued along with a registration certificate that must be
displayed conspicuously in the place of business. Additional plates are available
for $4.00, plus filing fees.

Manufacturers must register snowmobiles they own and operate for research,
testing, experimentation, or demonstration. A registration plate will be issued
along with a registration certificate that must be displayed conspicuously in the
place of manufacture.

A valid registration number plate must be displayed on snowmobiles
operated, or permitted to be operated, by a dealer or manufacturer. The
registrations are not transferable. Dealer and manufacturer registrations are
valid from July 1 - June 30.

Snowmobile State Trail Sticker
Snowmobiles registered in another state or country must have a Snowmobile State Trail
Sticker when operating on state and grant-in-aid trails. A Snowmobile State Trail Sticker
costs $36.00 and is valid November 1 — June 30 of each year. Anyone operating a
snowmobile in violation of this law will be required to purchase an annual penalty sticker
for $71.00 in addition to any ticket or fine.

Snowmobiles with the collector registration for unlimited use are required to have a
State Trail Sticker to operate on a state or a grant-in-aid trail.
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State Trail Stickers

One-Year Trail Sticker - $36.00

Penalty Annual Trail Sticker - $71.00 (Required to purchase if found
operating on state or grant-in-aid trail without a sticker)
Dealer/Manufacturer Trail Sticker - $16.00

Duplicates - $2.50

These stickers are available at; Deputy Registrar locations, Game and
Fish Licensing agents, DNR License Center, Online www.mndnr.gov or
by phone 1-888-MNLICENSE

Note: For Online purchases, add 3% plus a $1.65 service fee. For
phone purchases, add $3.50

A Snowmobhile State Trail Sticker is not required for:

 a snowmobile while being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail

e a snowmobile owned by the federal government, Indian tribal government, state,
and political subdivisions

e operating a collector snowmobile with a permit

e operating a snowmobile on portions of a trail owned by the person or the
person’s spouse, child, or parent.

The Snowmobhile State Trail Sticker must be displayed in one of the
following ways:
e on the forward half of the snowmobile, directly above or below the headlight
e above the expiration year on the top portion of the registration

validation decal
e on the lower right corner of a dealer or manufacturer plate.

ATTENTION SNOWMOBILERS:

Operating a snowmabile is much more challenging than driving a car. Snowmobiling
takes place in unpredictable and uncontrollable natural settings. Statewide and
nationwide reports show the consumption of alcohol is a contributing factor in many
snowmobile fatalities. That’s why DNR conservation officers strongly encourage
every snowmobiler to practice ‘Zero Alcohol’ as part of their own regular safe riding
habits. Many snowmobilers already choose to ride alcohol free. Practicing ‘Zero
Alcohol’ before and during your ride will save lives and reduce injuries.

Zero Alcohol?’ it’s your smart choice for safer snowmobiling.
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Rules of the Road and Trail

‘._9
Passing /
When overtaking another snowmaobile
going in the same direction, always pass
on the left.
w5 CE e CEES

Meeting % &
When meeting another snowmobile, M —
always slow down and stay to the right. & 5

& LB«

Meeting at an intersection
When meeting at an intersection,
the operator to the right has the

-

- ol

right of way.
Operation Along State and County Roads
Public Road Right-of-way
z z
Q Q
) . 1 &
& | Snowmobile Snowmobsile Riding Prohibited Snowmobile &
@ | Riding Riding Q
E Permitted Permitted E
& &
. y~
™
Ditch Ditch

It is illegal to operate on the inside slope,
shoulder, and roadway of state or county roads.
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Signs

Snowmobile operators should be familiar with the meaning of the
following trail signs.

Informational sign:
indicates intersections or major changes in trail direction.

Directional blazer:
indicates changes in trail direction.

Reassuring blazer:
placed at intervals along the trail reassures users that they
are still on the trail.

Stop sign: / \
placed at a road or highway crossing indicates a snowmobile must ‘
come to a complete stop. ‘

No-snowmohiling sign:
indicates a trail or area where snowmobiling is prohibited.

Asphalt Trail

No Studded
Tra

No-studded tracks sign:
indicates no metal traction devices allowed on trail.

Two-way trail sign:
indicates trails with permitted two-way travel during
nighttime hours within the public road right-of-way.
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Equipment Requirements

All snowmobiles operated on public lands, waters, or roadways must be equipped
as follows:

Helmet

e Operators or riders under 18 years of age must wear an approved helmet,
except when participating in a parade or operating on land belonging to a parent,
grandparent, sibling, uncle, or aunt.

An approved helmet must meet federal law, which requires the helmet to display
the symbol DOT. DOT is the manufacturer’s certification that the helmet conforms to
motor vehicle safety standards. Standard bicycle and hockey helmets are not legal
helmets for snowmobiling.

Lights

¢ Headlights and taillights must be on during hours of darkness.

e Headlights must be able to reveal people and vehicles 100 feet ahead and
aimed so they will not blind an oncoming snowmobiler.

e Colored lenses on headlights are NOT lawful when the snowmobile is operated
on roads or road rights-of-way, including crossing roads and operating in
ditches or outside slopes.

e Red taillights must be visible for 500 feet to the rear of the snowmobile.

Brakes
e Brakes must be able to control movement and to stop and hold the snowmabile track.

Reflector Material

e Snowmobiles must have at least 16 square inches of reflector material on each
side forward of the handle bars.

¢ Any sled, trailer, or other device that is towed by a snowmobile during hours of
darkness must display visible reflector material on each side and at the rear.

Mufflers

e Snowmobiles must be equipped with mufflers that are in good working order and
that do not produce sharp popping or cracking sounds or excessive or unusual noise.
After-market exhaust systems may not meet this requirement and may not be lawful
to operate.

¢ You may not operate or sell a snowmobile built on or after April 1, 1975, that
exceeds 78 decibels on the A scale at 50 feet, except under a permit of the DNR or
county sheriff.

¢ No snowmobile shall be modified by any person in any manner that shall amplify
or otherwise increase total noise level above that emitted by the snowmobile as
originally equipped, regardless of date of manufacture.
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Snowmobhile Safety Training Requirements

Residents born after December 31, 1976, must complete a Minnesota snowmabile safety training
course to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota. While operating a snowmobile you must have either:
e asnowmobile safety certificate in your possession or
e a snowmobile safety certificate indicator on your driver’s license or on your Minnesota ID card.
The MN DNR Snowmobile Safety class includes topics on: Basic operation, common parts and
controls, operating safely and responsibly, trail riding, rules and laws, riding skills and protecting
the environment.
Youth ages 11 to 15 years can complete safety certification by a selecting one of the following
choices. Either choice will have a required “hands on” riding performance course.

Choice 1: Attend a Traditional classroom snowmobile course:
e Minimum 8 hr course provided by DNR Instructor
e |Vleets two or more times in a classroom setting
e Required “hands on” riding performance course
Choice 2: Select an Online snowmobile safety course:
e Complete one of the online courses:
e snowmobilecourse.com [*Family/group pricing]
e snowmobile-ed.com
Required for online students: Student attends a one day class room review and riding
performance course, which is lead by trained volunteer instructors.

Course Fees
To find a location offering the Hands-On Snowmobile class on the DNR website:
From DNR homepage,
Snowmobile Safety Course | Course Fee | Family/Group rates | click on Education &

) . Safety and then under
www.snowmobile.com $29.95 Yes recreational vehicle
www.snowmaobile-ed.com | $29.50* No safety classes find

. % and click Snowmobile
Traditional Classroom $5.00 No Safety to find the
*Additional fees may apply attending the Hands-On course. Hands-On Snowmobile
Contact the lead Instructor. class calendar.

Adult Snowmobile Safety Training (16 years and older)

Complete one of the online courses:

e www.snowmobilecourse.com [Family/group pricing]

e www.snowmobile-ed.com

*Adults are not required to participate in the “hands-on” riding performance course.

Where do | find a training course? To learn the times and dates of a snowmobile safety course

in your community, check the DNR website www.mndnr.gov/snowmobiling; or call the DNR
Information Center 1-888-646-6367, metro area (651)296-6157, or the Snowmobile Safety Training
Program Headquarters at 1-800-366-8917.

Non-residents certified in snowmobile safety training in another state will be recognized in
Minnesota.
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Youth Operation Requirements

e The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is jointly responsible for
laws broken by a minor on that snowmobile.

¢ Anyone under 18 years old must wear an approved helmet.

e To register a snowmobile you must be at least 18 years old.

Snowmobhile Safety Certificate

Minnesota Residents

Any resident of Minnesota born after December 31, 1976, must have a snowmobile
safety certificate to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota. Youth must be 11 years old
to take a snowmaobile safety course, the certificate is not valid until the 12th birthday.

Under Age 12 e  May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid
(Without safety trails if accompanied by an adult*
certificate) e May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads

e May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality

Ages 12&13 e«  May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-
aid trails IF Accompanied by an adult* OR In possession of a valid
snowmobile safety certificate

e May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads
e May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality

Ages 14 e May drive a snowmobile across state or county roads IF in possession
to 18 of a snowmobile safety certificate or driver’s license or ID card with
valid snowmobile indicator
e May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid
trails WITH a snowmobile safety certificate
e May drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in municipalities, if not
contrary to ordinance

Over Age18 *  Residents born after December 31, 1976, who operate a snowmobile
in Minnesota must possess a valid snowmobile safety certificate or a
driver’s license or ID card with a valid snowmobile indicator.

*Accompanied by an adult means a parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated by the
parent or guardian who needs to be close enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile.

Exception for Residents and Non-Residents

Without a snowmobile safety certificate, a person under the age of 14 years may
operate a snowmobile only if they are supervised or accompanied by one of the
following: parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated
by the parent or guardian. The supervising or accompanying adult needs to be close
enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile. This exception
does not allow an operator under the age of 14 to cross a public road.

Non-residents who are 18 years old and older do not need a snowmobile safety certificate.
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General Operation

Where You May Ride

Anywhere in the state you may ride:

¢ in the bottom or outside slope of a ditch of a county or state road (see page 15)

e in the same direction as road traffic in the ditch from one-half hour
after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise (other than this time,
you can ride in either direction)

e one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise on two-way
snowmobile trails that are located within the ditches or adjacent to streets or
highways when specifically permitted by the road authority (look for posted
two-way signs, see page 16)

 on a bridge, other than a bridge that is part of the main-traveled lanes of an
interstate highway, in order to avoid obstructions to travel when absolutely
necessary (the snowmobile must be operated in the extreme right-hand lane, the
entrance to the roadway must be made within 100 feet of the bridge, and crossing
must be made as quickly as possible)

e on state and local trails (see pages 12 & 14 for Snowmaobile State Trail
Sticker requirements)

e on iced-over waters that have legal access (if not restricted by law or
local ordinances)

¢ on township roads when not restricted by local ordinance

e on public lands that are open to motorized vehicles. Land uses vary. Be sure to
check all federal, state, and local ordinances

® 0on your own land.

Inside the seven-county metro area, you may ride:

e on land that is posted with signs stating “snowmaobiles allowed”

e on land other than your own, with written or verbal permission
of the landowner, occupant, or lessee

e on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.

Outside the seven-county metro

area, you may ride:

e on agricultural land with permission of
the landowner

e on land, other than agricultural land, that
you have not been told verbally, by written
warning, or by posted signs, that riding
is prohibited

¢ on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.
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When making a direct crossing of a street or road, you must :

e bring the snowmobile to a complete stop before crossing, whether there is a
stop sign or not

e yield to all oncoming traffic

e have both front and rear lights on when crossing between one-half
hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, or during periods of reduced
visibility (see page 30 for sunrise/sunset table)

e cross at a 90-degree angle with respect to the road

e cross a divided road at an intersection

State forest lands classified as “closed” are open to off-trail snowmobile use unless
specifically posted closed to snowmobiling.

Where You May NOT Ride

e on the roadway, shoulder, or inner slope of the ditch of a state or county road

e on the median of a four-lane roadway

e within the right-of-way of any interstate

e on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic

e against traffic at night within the road right-of-way *Except when two-way trail
travel signs permit use

e at airports

e in any state park, state recreation area, state historic site, wildlife management
area, or state scientific and natural area with the exception of posted
snowmobile trails and areas

¢ in any wildlife management area south of U.S. Highway 2 from Grand Forks
east to Bemidji, then south along U.S. Highway 71 to Wadena, then east along
U.S. Highway 10 to Staples and U.S. Highway 210 to the eastern boundary of
the state, without written permission from the DNR

e on any iced-over waters located in a restricted area or iced-over waters where
you don’t have legal access

e in any areas restricted by local ordinances or municipalities

e in a tree nursery or planting area

e on state forest lands that are posted or designated closed to snowmobiling

e on state forest lands located in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness,
including all of Lake Isabella and Insula; and portions of Lake Jeanette and
Burntside State Forests

e in National Wildlife Refuges, Waterfowl Production Areas, or the Boundary
Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. For more information, contact your local U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service.

Municipalities, counties, school districts, and other political subdivisions or state agencies
may impose further restrictions on snowmobiling on property not owned by the operator.
Check local ordinances where you want to ride.
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Inside the seven-county metro area,
you may NOT ride:
e on land that you do not own, unless
given written or verbal permission to
ride on that land by the owner,
occupant, or lessee, or unless
signs are posted stating
snowmobiling is allowed.

Washington

Outside the seven-county metro
area, you may NOT ride:

e on land that you have been told not to verbally, in writing, or by posted signs
e on agricultural land without the permission of the owner.

Other Prohibitions
It is unlawful to:
e operate your snowmobile in a careless, reckless, or heedless manner
that endangers the operator, or property of another, or causes injury or damage
(intentionally driving over open water, or water skipping, may be considered
careless or reckless unless done as an event under special permit issued by
the local sheriff’s office)
o |itter
e enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence
e mutilate, destroy, damage, or remove any shelter, comfort station, or facility on
any state or grant-in-aid trail
e post, damage, or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you are the
landowner, occupant, or lessee of the property
e operate on state forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or rutting, damages or
destroys trees or growing crops
e operate on a state forest trail that is posted for non-motorized use
Special Provision - Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest:
Motor vehicles and snowmobiles may operate only on forest
roads that are not posted closed and on forest trails that are
designated for motorized use. No motorized travel is allowed off designated
trails under any circumstances.
e operate a snowmobile with metal traction devices on paved public trails when
posted closed by state or local government.
Metal traction device means any metal device, or array of metal devices, attached to
a snowmobile track to enhance traction. This includes metal components that extend
more than one-fourth inch from the bottom of the track. Note: Metal cleats affixed
perpendicular to the direction of travel of a 1981 or earlier snowmobile are not
considered a metal traction device.
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Sunken Snowmobiles

Minnesota law requires snowmobiles and motor vehicles (including cars, trucks,
watercraft and ATVs) that sink in a lake or river, be removed by the owner within 30
days. Owners must also notify the county sheriff within 48 hours. If the snowmobile
or vehicle is not removed, the local unit of government can remove it and charge the
owner two to five times the cost of removal.

Snowmobhiling While Intoxicated (SWI)

Operating a snowmobile while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled
substance or its metabolite, or other hazardous substance is unlawful. Operators
who are impaired may be required to submit to tests by an enforcement officer
to determine the presence of these substances. There is a separate additional
criminal penalty for refusal to submit to the tests, and the person’s snowmobiling
privileges will be suspended for one year upon refusal. SWI convictions and
refusals are recorded on the violator’s driver’s license record and may affect their
driver’s license privileges.

An operator who is found to be impaired or has an alcohol concentration of
.08 or more, can be charged with a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony
level Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). Persons convicted of a misdemeanor will be
subject to: up to $1,000 fine (plus surcharges); possible jail sentence; and loss of
snowmobile operating privileges for one year.

In addition to the above misdemeanor penalties, the following gross
misdemeanor penalty provisions may apply if the person has any prior DWI violations,
has an alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit, or has a child under 16 years of
age with them on the snowmobile:

e up to $3,000 fine

e |onger, mandatory jail time

e chemical use assessment and long-term monitoring programs

e |oss of motor vehicle driver’s license privileges

e motor vehicle plate impoundment of all motor vehicles owned or

leased individually or jointly by the person
e forfeiture of the snowmobile, substantially higher fines, and
mandatory jail time.
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If a person has three or more DWI convictions or revocations in the last 10 years,
or has a prior felony conviction, he or she can be sentenced to 3-7 years in jail, up to
$14,000 fine, or both. Longer license revocations also would be imposed.

Open Bottle Law

It is unlawful for a person to drink or consume alcoholic beverages when operating a
snowmobile on a roadway or shoulder of a roadway that is not a part of a designated
snowmobile trail.

Speed Limits
It is unlawful to operate a snowmobile in excess of:
¢ 50 MPH on any public lands or waters
e the posted speed limits on a trail
e a speed greater than various trail, terrain and visibility
conditions dictate
e the posted road speed limit or 50 MPH, whichever is LOWER, while operating
in the ditch
e any governmental unit snowmobile speed limit. Governmental
units include any city, county, municipality, township, or
conservation district.

A county may enact a daytime 65 MPH speed limit for marked trails on frozen
lakes that are over 10,000 acres. The county would need to pass an ordinance
and receive approval by the DNR Commissioner. Individual counties will have more
information on the location and status of any designated 65 MPH trails.

Accidents

Minnesota has worked hard to reduce snowmobiling accidents, injuries, and fatalities
through education and safety training programs. The largest contributing factor to
crashes is excessive speed, followed by alcohol use.

If you are involved in a snowmobile accident that results in injury requiring
medical attention, death, or damage of more than $500, you must file an official
accident report with the Department of Natural Resources within 48 hours of the
accident. Accident report forms are available at www.mndnr.gov/enforcement or call
1-800-366-8917.

YOUR GUIDE TO MINNESOTA'S
WOODS, WATERS, AND WILDLIFE

Minnesota Conservation Volunteer magazine is uniquely
supported by contributions from readers. Subscribe and
donate today at www.mndnr.gov/mcvmagazine or call

| 888-646-6367 CONSERVATION
VOLUNTEER
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Enforcement

Conservation officers, state troopers, deputy sheriffs, police officers and other peace
officers are responsible for the enforcement of Minnesota’s snowmobile laws.
Whenever an enforcement officer signals you, you must stop. Fleeing an enforcement
officer is a felony and the snowmobile used may be forfeited.

Part of a conservation officer’s duty is to ensure your safety while
snowmobiling. If you need an enforcement officer, contact your nearest State
Patrol dispatch center. Your local conservation officer can also be found at
www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas.

Penalties

Violation of most snowmobile statutes and rules are misdemeanors and carry a fine
of up to $1,000 and imprisonment for up to 90 days. Youth violations may result in
snowmobile safety certificate suspension. Also, snowmobiles used in burglaries,
fleeing a peace officer, or a DWI, may be subject to seizure and confiscation or
forfeiture.

The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is subject to penalties if
he or she knowingly allows the snowmobile to be operated by someone physically
or mentally unable to drive the vehicle safely, or is under the influence of drugs or
alcohol.

A person operating a snowmobile with metal traction devices on any paved trail is guilty
of a petty misdemeanor punishable by a civil penalty or criminal fine of $50 for the first
offense, $200 for the second offense, and $500 for the third or subsequent offense. Criminal
fines will be subject to court surcharges and fees in addition to this penalty amount.

Anyone operating a snowmobile in violation of the Snowmaobile State Trail Sticker
law will be required to purchase an annual penalty sticker for $71.00, in addition to
any ticket or fine.

Minnesota Law on Registration
“A person may not operate or transport a snowmobile unless the snowmaobile has
been registered.” Violation of this law is a misdemeanor punishable by fines up to
$1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days.

STAY RIGHT! Trails are two-way, always watch out for others!
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Minnesota Trespass Laws

Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have
against snowmobilers. Always ask for permission before
entering private land.

Respect
Private
Property

i

First

Ask

Respect private lands. ASK FIRST!
e Always ask first before entering private lands even if it’s not posted. You will
improve relationships between landowners and snowmaobilers.
e Just because property isn’t posted that doesn’t mean you have a
right to enter someone else’s private property. The posted signs
indicate the landowner’s intention to prevent unauthorized entry.

If you violate Minnesota’s trespass laws, you will be guilty of a misdemeanor or gross
misdemeanor, or may be charged with a civil penalty. A misdemeanor is punishable
by fines of up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days. Civil penalties range
from $50 for a first time violation to $500 and loss of registration for a third violation.

You are guilty of a gross misdemeanor when you:
e knowingly disregard signs prohibiting trespass
e trespass after the landowner tells you not to
e violate the trespass law twice in three years.

If you are convicted of a gross misdemeanor, you will be subject
to fines up to $3,000 and up to one year in jail, your snowmobile
registration will be null and void, and you will lose all hunting
privileges for two years.

You must have permission to:

e enter posted land

e enter land inside the seven-county metro area that you do not own, unless
given written or verbal permission to ride on that land by the owner, occupant,
or lessee, or unless signs are posted stating snowmobiling is allowed

e enter agricultural land. Agricultural land is land that is plowed or tilled; has
standing crops or crop residue; is within a maintained fence for enclosing
domestic livestock; is planted native or introduced hay land or grassland; or is
planted to short rotation woody crops (hybrid poplar and other woody plants
that are harvested for their fiber within 15 years of planting).

Offender Snowmobile Safety Training

A person who is convicted of careless or reckless operation, or two or more speeding
violations in a snowmobile season, must successfully complete a snowmaobile safety
training course before operating a snowmabile.
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All planted grassland, hay land, and short rotation woody cropland meet the
definition of agricultural land, including grasslands

enrolled in the federal Conservation Reserve Program (CRP),

Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP), or the state

Reinvest in Minnesota (RIM) Reserve Program and Walk In Access Areas.
These lands do not need to be posted to prevent unauthorized trespass.

It is unlawful to:
e wound or kill another person’s domestic animal or destroy private property
e pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position
e stray off the groomed portions of marked state trails.

Game Laws Related to Snowmobiling

General Restrictions
A person licensed to take deer must not operate a snowmobile or an off-highway
vehicle on public or private property in an area open for the taking of deer by
firearms on a day that they are licensed to take deer in that area except:

e Before legal shooting hours (one-half hour before sunrise)

e From 11am until 2pm.

e After legal shooting hours (one-half hour after sunset).

¢ On property that they own.

¢ On someone else’s private property with the landowner’s permission.

e Under a permit issued by a conservation officer to operate these vehicles in an
emergency, medical, or other unusual situation during the restricted hours.

Recreational Snowmobile and OHV Riders

Snowmobile trails and OHV trails and routes on state forest lands are closed to
ALL recreational snowmaobile and off-highway vehicle (ATV, OHM, & ORV) riding
during the firearms deer season where deer may be taken by rifle during the A
season only:

e Series 100 permit areas (November 5 - November 20, 2016)
e Portions of Series 200 (November 5 - November 13, 2016)

Forest roads remain open to snowmobile and OHV use.

See the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook for more
detailed information.

Firearms Transportation in Motor Vehicles
e A person may transport an unloaded and uncased shotgun or rifle in a motor
vehicle, including a snowmobile, while: 1) at a shooting range with permission;
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2) lawfully hunting on public or private land; or 3) traveling to or from a site the
person intends to hunt that day or has hunted that day.

* However, a person MAY NOT transport an uncased shotgun or rifle within:
1) Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey counties; 2) a city with a population of 2,500 or
more; 3) school grounds; 4) game refuges; or 5) as regulated under shining and
night vision laws.

e A handgun/pistol cannot be transported uncased without a valid permit to carry.

It is unlawful to:
e use a snowmobile to chase, run over, or kill a wild animal
e shoot or attempt to shoot a wild animal from a snowmobile.

For operation restrictions during firearms deer season, please see the
current Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook.

Special Permits for Disabled Hunters

A permit may be issued to shoot from a standing motor vehicle including a
snowmobile to a licensed hunter who has a permanent physical disability and is
unable to step from a vehicle without the aid of wheelchair, crutches, braces, or other
mechanical support or prosthetic device; or is required to use supplemental oxygen
because of a permanent lung, heart, or other internal disease. For more details
contact the Department of Natural Resources Information Center in the Twin Cities
(651) 296-6157, or toll-free 1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367).

For More Information
For information on snowmobile trails; maps of state parks, forests, and
state trails; weekly snow reports; and other information, contact:

DNR Information Center Hearing impaired
500 Lafayette Road Twin Cities: (651)296-5484
St. Paul, MN 55155-4040 Toll-free: 1-800-657-3929

Twin Cities: (651)296-6157
Toll-free 1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367) DNR Website

www.mndnr.gov
For information about snowmobile registration, contact:
DNR License Center
500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4026
(651)296-2316 * Toll-free: 1-800-285-2000
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To report a violation, contact:
Your local DNR conservation officer, sheriff’s office, police department, or the state
patrol. Conservation officers are dispatched through the state patrol.

For information on scheduled snowmobhile safety classes statewide:
e www.mndnr.gov/snowmobiling
¢ DNR Information Center: Twin Cities (651) 296-6157
Toll-free 1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367)
e Snowmobile Safety Training Program Headquarters
Camp Ripley, Little Falls, MN: 1-800-366-8917.

Connect instantly to the
. . ) . conservation officer locator
To find your local conservation officer, visit: web page by scanning this

www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas code with your smart phone.

Grant-In-Aid Program
The Grant-in-Aid Program is a cooperative effort between the Minnesota DNR, local
governments, local snowmobile organizations, and private landowners who provide
the majority of Minnesota’s 22,000 miles of snowmobile trails. Funded through
snowmobile registration and Snowmobile State Trail Sticker fees and gas taxes, the
grant-in-aid program helps local groups and clubs develop and maintain trails.
e Grant-in-aid trails are open each year from December 1
through April 1.
e Many grant-in-aid trails throughout the state run through private
property. Stay on good terms with these landowners by staying on
marked trails. Don’t jeopardize your ability to use private lands.
e Remember you need a Trail Use Registration sticker when operating on
grant-in-aid trails

Sunrise/Sunset Table

To find the sunrise and sunset times in your area, use the link to the U.S. Naval
Observatory website:

http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneYear.php

Note: Sunrise and sunset times are shown in a table format and can be printed for
viewing or saved to your computer’s desktop.

Daylight Time
Daylight time is not implemented in time tables. When daylight time is in use, add one
hour to the times listed in the tables.
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Saturday & Sunday
September 9th & 10th 2017

“WORLD’S LARGEST SNOWMOBILE EVENT”

2018 SNOWMOBILE DISPLAYS FREE KIDS SNOWMOBILE RAFFLE
2018 ATV DISPLAYS ADULT DRAWINGS/RAFFLE/ PRIZES
200+ DEALER SITES
1000’S OF SWAP VENDORS SNOWMOBILE, ATV, MC JUMPS & TRICKS
ATV DEMO TRACK & RIDES GRASS DRAG & ATV RACING STARTS AT
VINTAGE SLED DISPLAYS 9 AM DAILY

The Sno-Barons Snowmobile Club has a long-standing commitment of supporting snowmobile, youth and
safety in Minnesota. Proceeds from Haydays fund training, trails, charities and club efforts.

Sno-Barons Hotline 763-274-0235
Check Out Our Website: www.snobarons.com
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RIDE MORE

There’s a feeling that comes with owning the world's
fastest snowmabile. And you get it only on a new 2017
ZR® 9000 Turbo Sno Pro® Not surprising, considering
its all-new, racetrack-inspired, 998cc Turbo Triple
4-stroke engine. Plus, we back it with legendary
service. No wonder our riders ride more.

< ARCTIC CAT

SHARE OUR PASSION.”

Visit arcticcat.com.

} %FEm! Always wear a helmet and don’t drink and ride. ©2016 Arctic Cat Sales Inc.,
You Make sowmobiing sare 1 hief River Falls, MN 56701.
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	2014 Snowmobile Safety Instructor of the Year

	Kim Bartelson of Winona is the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources’ 2014 
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	WELCOME TO SNOWMOBILING
	WELCOME TO SNOWMOBILING
	WELCOME TO SNOWMOBILING

	The sense of freedom you get while riding a snowmobile over Minnesota’s snow-
	The sense of freedom you get while riding a snowmobile over Minnesota’s snow-
	covered lands and frozen lakes can be exhilarating. Yet with that freedom comes 
	responsibility. Minnesota’s system of more than 22,000 miles of snowmobile 
	trails depends on the cooperation of landowners, non-motorized trail users, other 
	recreationists, and local units of government. The vast majority of trails are groomed 
	and maintained by snowmobile club volunteers.

	      Keep in mind that trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have against 
	      Keep in mind that trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have against 
	snowmobilers. Trespass seriously impacts the ability of clubs to get private landowners to 
	allow grant-in-aid trails on their property. We recommend that all recreational users ask 
	first before entering private lands, even if the land is not posted. That simple courtesy will 
	go a long way to improve relationships between landowners and snowmobilers. 

	      Please read this booklet to learn your legal obligations as a snowmobiler. By driving safe, 
	      Please read this booklet to learn your legal obligations as a snowmobiler. By driving safe, 
	smart, and legal you protect the future of your sport.

	Before you ride
	Before you ride

	      • Read your Minnesota snowmobile regulations and your owner’s manual.
	      • Read your Minnesota snowmobile regulations and your owner’s manual.

	      • Check your snowmobile and equipment.
	      • Check your snowmobile and equipment.

	      • Wear a helmet, eye protection, and proper clothing.
	      • Wear a helmet, eye protection, and proper clothing.

	      • Find out about ice and snow conditions.
	      • Find out about ice and snow conditions.

	      • Tell someone where you are going and when you expect to return.
	      • Tell someone where you are going and when you expect to return.

	Be sure to
	Be sure to

	      • Let weather, lighting, and trail conditions determine a safe speed.
	      • Let weather, lighting, and trail conditions determine a safe speed.

	      • Ride straight—no alcohol or drugs.
	      • Ride straight—no alcohol or drugs.

	      • Stay to the right on trails and use your headlight and taillight.
	      • Stay to the right on trails and use your headlight and taillight.

	      • Maintain adequate spacing between machines to avoid collision.
	      • Maintain adequate spacing between machines to avoid collision.

	      • Reduce your speed when riding at night to less than 40 MPH. Studies have shown  
	      • Reduce your speed when riding at night to less than 40 MPH. Studies have shown  
	          speed over 40 MPH results in overdriving your headlights.

	      • Always yield to other motor vehicles.
	      • Always yield to other motor vehicles.

	      • Stay clear of thin ice and lake inlets — never cross open water.
	      • Stay clear of thin ice and lake inlets — never cross open water.

	      • Never ride alone—use the buddy system.
	      • Never ride alone—use the buddy system.

	      • Stay on groomed area of trails.
	      • Stay on groomed area of trails.

	Obey all laws and regulations
	Obey all laws and regulations

	      • Maximum speed in Minnesota is 50 MPH. (see page 25)
	      • Maximum speed in Minnesota is 50 MPH. (see page 25)

	      • Display current snowmobile registration.
	      • Display current snowmobile registration.

	      • Display separate Snowmobile State Trail Sticker, if required, for operation on state  
	      • Display separate Snowmobile State Trail Sticker, if required, for operation on state  
	         or grant-in-aid trails (see pages 12 & 14).

	      • Stay off the roadway, shoulder, and inside slope of state and county roads 
	      • Stay off the roadway, shoulder, and inside slope of state and county roads 

	         (see page 15).
	         (see page 15).

	      • Be sure any youth operating your snowmobile has a safety certificate.
	      • Be sure any youth operating your snowmobile has a safety certificate.

	      • Check local ordinances on when and where you may ride.
	      • Check local ordinances on when and where you may ride.

	Registering Your Snowmobile
	Registering Your Snowmobile

	Snowmobiles operated or transported in Minnesota must be registered with the DNR. If your 
	Snowmobiles operated or transported in Minnesota must be registered with the DNR. If your 
	snowmobile is not registered, you may not operate, transport, or permit it to be operated. You 
	must be at least 18 years old to register a snowmobile.

	The definition of a snowmobile is a self-propelled vehicle originally manufactured and designed 
	The definition of a snowmobile is a self-propelled vehicle originally manufactured and designed 
	for travel on snow or ice and is steered by skis or runners.  Snowmobile does not include the 
	following vehicles equipped with aftermarket ski and track configurations:
	 
	ATV, OHM, ORV, mini truck, “utility task vehicle” (per MN statute 169.011), and any other vehicle 
	being operated off road.

	Snowmobiles do not need to be registered with the DNR if:
	Snowmobiles do not need to be registered with the DNR if:

	      • being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail
	      • being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail

	      • owned and used by the federal government, an Indian tribal government, another  state,  
	      • owned and used by the federal government, an Indian tribal government, another  state,  
	         or a political subdivision

	      • if the snowmobile is registered by tribal members through the tribal government.
	      • if the snowmobile is registered by tribal members through the tribal government.

	      • registered in a country other than the U.S. being used temporarily in Minnesota
	      • registered in a country other than the U.S. being used temporarily in Minnesota

	      • currently registered in another state and not kept in Minnesota for more than 30  
	      • currently registered in another state and not kept in Minnesota for more than 30  
	         consecutive days

	      • used exclusively in organized track-racing events
	      • used exclusively in organized track-racing events

	      • in transit by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer
	      • in transit by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer

	      • at least 15 years old in transit by an individual for use on land owned or leased by 
	      • at least 15 years old in transit by an individual for use on land owned or leased by 
	 
	         the individual

	      • used exclusively for agricultural purposes
	      • used exclusively for agricultural purposes

	      • a snowmobile with an engine displacement that is 125 cubic centimeters or less  and the  
	      • a snowmobile with an engine displacement that is 125 cubic centimeters or less  and the  
	         snowmobile is not operated on a state or grant-in-aid trail.

	Non-Trail Snowmobile Registration
	Non-Trail Snowmobile Registration
	 
	is now an option for snowmobilers who do not 
	operate on state or grant-in-aid state trails.  A unique non-trail registration number will be 
	assigned which will need to be displayed on the snowmobile. Snowmobiles with 125cc 
	or less engine displacement do not need registration (including non-trail registration) if 
	NOT operated on state and grant-in-aid trails.  Non-trail registration does not allow for 
	operation on state or grant-in-aid state trails even if you have a one-year trail sticker 
	on the snowmobile.  If a road right-of-way is part of a state or grant-in-aid state trail, 
	you cannot operate a non-trail registered snowmobile on it.  If a non-trail registered 
	snowmobile is changed to the regular trail registration, new registration numbers will 
	be assigned which will need to be displayed on the snowmobile.  Non-trail snowmobile 
	registrations are non-transferrable.

	Fees
	Snowmobile registration fees:
	Snowmobile registration fees:

	      Type of Registration   Fee
	      Type of Registration   Fee

	       Trail Use Registration   $
	       Trail Use Registration   $
	78.50 every three years

	       Non-trail Registration    $    48.50 every three years
	       Non-trail Registration    $    48.50 every three years

	       Duplicate Registration Card  $
	       Duplicate Registration Card  $
	    
	13.50

	       Duplicate Decal   $
	       Duplicate Decal   $
	    
	1.50

	       Transfer – Trail Use Registration only  $
	       Transfer – Trail Use Registration only  $
	13.50

	       Dealer    $
	       Dealer    $
	53.50 every year

	       Manufacturer    $    153.50 every year
	       Manufacturer    $    153.50 every year

	       Collector Unlimited Use   $
	       Collector Unlimited Use   $
	9.50

	How to Register Your Snowmobile
	Register your snowmobile in person at any deputy registrar of motor vehicles or 
	Register your snowmobile in person at any deputy registrar of motor vehicles or 
	at the DNR License Center in St. Paul. When you register your snowmobile you 
	will need the make, model, year, serial number, engine size, and sales receipt that 
	shows the proof of sales tax payment. Sales between private parties do not require 
	payment of sales tax.

	     A person may not sell a snowmobile without furnishing the buyer with a bill of sale 
	     A person may not sell a snowmobile without furnishing the buyer with a bill of sale 
	that includes the serial number of the snowmobile.  Transfers and registration renewal 
	fees are the responsibility of the new owner.

	      Snowmobiles purchased from a retail dealer must be registered by the purchaser at 
	      Snowmobiles purchased from a retail dealer must be registered by the purchaser at 
	the dealer. The dealer will issue a temporary 21-day registration. 

	Registration Numbers and Validation Decals
	When you register your snowmobile, you will be assigned a snowmobile registration 
	When you register your snowmobile, you will be assigned a snowmobile registration 
	number and receive a registration card. When you receive your registration card, sign 
	it and keep it handy. You do not have to carry it with you, but if an enforcement officer 
	asks to see it, you must produce it within a reasonable amount of time. The current 
	registration number and validation decal must be displayed.

	Display of Registration Number and Validation Decals
	Display of Registration Number and Validation Decals

	 
	 

	      Where:
	      Where:

	      • Display in the 3” x 7” space provided by the manufacturer on the 
	      • Display in the 3” x 7” space provided by the manufacturer on the 

	         cowling or pan, or
	         cowling or pan, or

	      • If no space is provided, place on each side of the snowmobile on
	      • If no space is provided, place on each side of the snowmobile on

	         the upper half, forward of the handlebars in a visible location.
	         the upper half, forward of the handlebars in a visible location.

	 
	 
	 

	       
	       

	       
	       
	How:

	       The DNR issued validation decal must be placed to immediately 
	       The DNR issued validation decal must be placed to immediately 

	       follow your registration numbers.
	       follow your registration numbers.

	       Numbers and letters must be:
	       Numbers and letters must be:

	       • 1- 7/8” high
	       • 1- 7/8” high

	       • 3/16” stroke width
	       • 3/16” stroke width

	       • contrasting color of the snowmobile
	       • contrasting color of the snowmobile

	       • in the English language
	       • in the English language

	       • placed to read left to right.
	       • placed to read left to right.

	Expiration, Renewal, and Duplicate
	The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the registration 
	The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the registration 
	validation decal. All snowmobile registrations expire on June 30 of the last year 
	the registration 
	expires
	.

	      You should receive a notice by mail to renew your registration. Please notify the 
	      You should receive a notice by mail to renew your registration. Please notify the 
	DNR of any address change. Whether you are notified or not, you are responsible for 
	renewing your snowmobile registration.

	      The renewal fee is the same as the first-time registration fee. When you pay 
	      The renewal fee is the same as the first-time registration fee. When you pay 
	it, you will receive new validation decals and a registration card. You may renew 
	your registration at www.mndnr.gov/snowmobiling.

	      To obtain a duplicate registration card or decal, contact the DNR License 
	      To obtain a duplicate registration card or decal, contact the DNR License 
	Center or your local deputy registrar. For fees, see page 8.

	Transfer of Ownership
	If you buy a snowmobile that is currently registered for trail use in Minnesota, you 
	If you buy a snowmobile that is currently registered for trail use in Minnesota, you 
	may use a transferred registration for the time remaining on the previous owner’s 
	registration.

	     Simply obtain a bill of sale that includes the serial number of the snowmobile from 
	     Simply obtain a bill of sale that includes the serial number of the snowmobile from 
	the previous owner and send it, along with a transfer application and the transfer 
	fee, to the DNR License Center or a deputy registrar. Transfer applications must 
	be made within 15 days after the transfer or sale actually occurs. A transferred 
	registration is only valid until the previous owner’s registration expires. Non-
	trail registration is non-transferrable.If you buy a snowmobile that is currently 
	registered for non-trail use, you must either apply for a new non-trail or trail 
	registration.

	TRANSFER OR TERMINATION OF SNOWMOBILE OWNERSHIP:  
	TRANSFER OR TERMINATION OF SNOWMOBILE OWNERSHIP:  
	Within 15 days 
	after the transfer of ownership, an application for transfer must be executed by the 
	registered owner and the purchaser using a bill of sale that includes the vehicle serial 
	number.  An owner must report the destruction or abandonment of any snowmobile by 
	written notice to the commissioner in such form as the commissioner shall prescribe.

	Collector Snowmobile
	• Special Permit
	• Special Permit

	A 
	A 
	special permit
	 may be issued to a person or organization to operate or transport 
	a collector snowmobile without registration for parades or organized group outings, 
	such as races, rallies, and other promotional events, and for up to 10 days each year 
	for personal transportation. “Collector snowmobile” means a snowmobile that is 
	25 years old or older, was originally produced as a separate identifiable make by a 
	manufacturer, and is owned and operated solely as a collector’s item.

	• Collector Registration (Optional)
	• Collector Registration (Optional)

	Snowmobiles 25 years
	Snowmobiles 25 years
	 old or older may be registered for unlimited use. This 
	registration is non-transferable. The collector registration does not expire and is valid 
	until the ownership of the snowmobile is transferred. A 
	Snowmobile State Trail 
	sticker
	 is required if you operate on a state or grant-in-aid trail.

	Destroyed, Abandoned, or Stolen Snowmobile
	If your snowmobile is destroyed, abandoned, or stolen or you no longer register 
	If your snowmobile is destroyed, abandoned, or stolen or you no longer register 
	it in Minnesota, notify the DNR License Center at 500 Lafayette Rd, St. Paul, MN 
	55155-4026, (651) 296-2316 or 1-800-285-2000 within 15 days.

	Dealer and Manufacturer Registration
	Dealers must register snowmobiles they own and use for demonstration purposes. 
	Dealers must register snowmobiles they own and use for demonstration purposes. 
	A registration plate will be issued along with a registration certificate that must be 
	displayed conspicuously in the place of business. Additional plates are available 
	for $4.00, plus filing fees.

	      Manufacturers must register snowmobiles they own and operate for research, 
	      Manufacturers must register snowmobiles they own and operate for research, 
	testing, experimentation, or demonstration. A registration plate will be issued 
	along with a registration certificate that must be displayed conspicuously in the 
	place of manufacture.

	      A valid registration number plate must be displayed on snowmobiles 
	      A valid registration number plate must be displayed on snowmobiles 
	operated, or permitted to be operated, by a dealer or manufacturer. The 
	registrations are not transferable. Dealer and manufacturer registrations are 
	valid from July 1 - June 30.

	Snowmobile State Trail Sticker
	Snowmobile State Trail Sticker

	Snowmobiles registered in another state or country must have a Snowmobile State Trail 
	Snowmobiles registered in another state or country must have a Snowmobile State Trail 
	Sticker when operating on state and grant-in-aid trails.  A Snowmobile State Trail Sticker 
	costs $36.00 and is valid November 1 – June 30 of each year.  Anyone operating a 
	snowmobile in violation of this law will be required to purchase an annual penalty sticker 
	for $71.00 in addition to any ticket or fine.

	      Snowmobiles with the collector registration for unlimited use are required to have a 
	      Snowmobiles with the collector registration for unlimited use are required to have a 
	State Trail Sticker to operate on a state or a grant-in-aid trail.  

	      A Snowmobile State Trail Sticker is not required for:
	      A Snowmobile State Trail Sticker is not required for:

	      • a snowmobile while being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail  
	      • a snowmobile while being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail  

	      • a snowmobile owned by the federal government, Indian tribal government, state,  
	      • a snowmobile owned by the federal government, Indian tribal government, state,  
	         and political subdivisions

	      • operating a collector snowmobile with a permit
	      • operating a collector snowmobile with a permit

	      • operating a snowmobile on portions of a trail owned by the person or the    
	      • operating a snowmobile on portions of a trail owned by the person or the    
	         person’s spouse, child, or parent.

	      The Snowmobile State Trail Sticker must be displayed in 
	      The Snowmobile State Trail Sticker must be displayed in 
	one
	 of the      
	      following ways:

	      • on the forward half of the snowmobile, directly above or below the headlight
	      • on the forward half of the snowmobile, directly above or below the headlight

	      • above the expiration year on the top portion of the registration
	      • above the expiration year on the top portion of the registration

	         validation decal
	         validation decal

	      • on the lower right corner of a dealer or manufacturer plate.
	      • on the lower right corner of a dealer or manufacturer plate.


	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	•
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	A majority of the revenue generated from snowmobile registration will be used for 
	A majority of the revenue generated from snowmobile registration will be used for 
	A majority of the revenue generated from snowmobile registration will be used for 
	snowmobile grant-in-aid trails, trail maintenance, grooming, and easement acquisition.
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	Figure
	Figure
	Paid Advertisement
	Paid Advertisement
	Paid Advertisement
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	State Trail Stickers
	State Trail Stickers
	State Trail Stickers


	One-Year Trail Sticker 
	One-Year Trail Sticker 
	One-Year Trail Sticker 
	- $36.00

	Penalty Annual Trail Sticker
	Penalty Annual Trail Sticker
	 - $71.00 (Required to purchase if found 
	operating on state or grant-in-aid trail without a sticker)

	Dealer/Manufacturer Trail Sticker
	Dealer/Manufacturer Trail Sticker
	 - $16.00

	Duplicates 
	Duplicates 
	- $2.50
	 

	These stickers are available at; Deputy Registrar locations, Game and 
	These stickers are available at; Deputy Registrar locations, Game and 
	Fish Licensing agents, DNR License Center, Online www.mndnr.gov or 
	by phone 1-888-MNLICENSE

	Note:
	Note:
	 For Online purchases, add 3% plus a $1.65 service fee.  For 
	phone purchases, add $3.50


	Figure
	ATTENTION SNOWMOBILERS:
	ATTENTION SNOWMOBILERS:
	ATTENTION SNOWMOBILERS:

	Operating a snowmobile is much more challenging than driving a car. Snowmobiling 
	Operating a snowmobile is much more challenging than driving a car. Snowmobiling 
	takes place in unpredictable and uncontrollable natural settings. Statewide and 
	nationwide reports show the consumption of alcohol is a contributing factor in many 
	snowmobile fatalities. That’s why DNR conservation officers strongly encourage 
	every snowmobiler to practice ‘Zero Alcohol’ as part of their own regular safe riding 
	habits. Many snowmobilers already choose to ride alcohol free. Practicing ‘Zero 
	Alcohol’ before and during your ride will save lives and reduce injuries. 

	‘Zero Alcohol:’ it’s your smart choice for safer snowmobiling.
	‘Zero Alcohol:’ it’s your smart choice for safer snowmobiling.


	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
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	Figure
	Figure
	Rules of the Road and Trail
	Rules of the Road and Trail
	Rules of the Road and Trail


	Figure
	Passing
	Passing
	Passing

	When overtaking another snowmobile 
	When overtaking another snowmobile 
	going in the same direction, always pass 
	on the left. 


	Meeting
	Meeting
	Meeting

	When meeting another snowmobile, 
	When meeting another snowmobile, 
	always slow down and stay to the right.


	Meeting at an intersection
	Meeting at an intersection
	Meeting at an intersection

	When meeting at an intersection, 
	When meeting at an intersection, 
	 
	the operator to the right has the 
	 
	right of way. 


	Operation Along State and County Roads
	Operation Along State and County Roads
	Operation Along State and County Roads


	Public Road Right-of-way
	Public Road Right-of-way
	Public Road Right-of-way


	Figure
	Snowmobile Riding Prohibited
	Snowmobile Riding Prohibited
	Snowmobile Riding Prohibited


	Story
	It is illegal to operate on the inside slope,
	It is illegal to operate on the inside slope,

	shoulder, and roadway of state or county roads.
	shoulder, and roadway of state or county roads.
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	Signs
	Signs
	Signs


	Snowmobile operators should be familiar with the meaning of the 
	Snowmobile operators should be familiar with the meaning of the 
	Snowmobile operators should be familiar with the meaning of the 

	following trail signs.
	following trail signs.


	Figure
	Informational sign:
	Informational sign:
	Informational sign:

	indicates intersections or major changes in trail direction. 
	indicates intersections or major changes in trail direction. 


	Figure
	Directional blazer:
	Directional blazer:
	Directional blazer:

	indicates changes in trail direction.
	indicates changes in trail direction.


	Figure
	Reassuring blazer:
	Reassuring blazer:
	Reassuring blazer:

	placed at intervals along the trail reassures users that they 
	placed at intervals along the trail reassures users that they 

	are still on the trail.
	are still on the trail.


	Figure
	Stop sign:
	Stop sign:
	Stop sign:

	placed at a road or highway crossing indicates a snowmobile must 
	placed at a road or highway crossing indicates a snowmobile must 
	come to a complete stop.


	Figure
	No-snowmobiling sign:
	No-snowmobiling sign:
	No-snowmobiling sign:

	indicates a trail or area where snowmobiling is prohibited.
	indicates a trail or area where snowmobiling is prohibited.


	Figure
	No-studded tracks sign:
	No-studded tracks sign:
	No-studded tracks sign:

	indicates no metal traction devices allowed on trail.
	indicates no metal traction devices allowed on trail.


	Figure
	Figure
	Figure
	Two-way trail sign:
	Two-way trail sign:
	Two-way trail sign:

	indicates trails with permitted two-way travel during 
	indicates trails with permitted two-way travel during 
	nighttime hours within the public road right-of-way.


	Figure
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	Equipment Requirements
	Equipment Requirements
	Equipment Requirements

	All snowmobiles operated on public lands, waters, or roadways must be 
	All snowmobiles operated on public lands, waters, or roadways must be 
	equipped 

	as follows:
	as follows:

	Helmet
	Helmet

	• Operators or riders under 18 years of age must wear an approved helmet, 
	• Operators or riders under 18 years of age must wear an approved helmet, 
	except when participating in a parade or operating on land belonging to a parent, 
	grandparent, sibling, uncle, or aunt.

	      An approved helmet must meet federal law, which requires the helmet to display 
	      An approved helmet must meet federal law, which requires the helmet to display 
	the symbol DOT. DOT is the manufacturer’s certification that the helmet conforms to 
	motor vehicle safety standards. Standard bicycle and hockey helmets are not legal 
	helmets for snowmobiling.

	Lights
	Lights

	• Headlights and taillights must be on during hours of darkness.
	• Headlights and taillights must be on during hours of darkness.

	• Headlights must be able to reveal people and vehicles 100 feet ahead and  
	• Headlights must be able to reveal people and vehicles 100 feet ahead and  
	   aimed so they will not blind an oncoming snowmobiler.

	• Colored lenses on headlights are NOT lawful when the snowmobile is operated
	• Colored lenses on headlights are NOT lawful when the snowmobile is operated

	   on roads or road rights-of-way, including crossing roads and operating in   
	   on roads or road rights-of-way, including crossing roads and operating in   
	   ditches or outside slopes.

	• Red taillights must be visible for 500 feet to the rear of the snowmobile.
	• Red taillights must be visible for 500 feet to the rear of the snowmobile.

	Brakes
	Brakes

	• Brakes must be able to control movement and to stop and hold the snowmobile track. 
	• Brakes must be able to control movement and to stop and hold the snowmobile track. 

	Reflector Material
	Reflector Material

	• Snowmobiles must have at least 16 square inches of reflector material on each  
	• Snowmobiles must have at least 16 square inches of reflector material on each  
	   side forward of the handle bars.

	• Any sled, trailer, or other device that is towed by a snowmobile during hours of  
	• Any sled, trailer, or other device that is towed by a snowmobile during hours of  
	   darkness must display visible reflector material on each side and at the rear.

	Mufflers
	Mufflers

	• Snowmobiles must be equipped with mufflers that are in good working order and  
	• Snowmobiles must be equipped with mufflers that are in good working order and  
	   that do not produce sharp popping or cracking sounds or excessive or unusual noise.  
	   After-market exhaust systems may not meet this requirement and may not be lawful  
	   to operate.

	• You may not operate or sell a snowmobile built on or after April 1, 1975, that      
	• You may not operate or sell a snowmobile built on or after April 1, 1975, that      
	   exceeds 78 decibels on the A scale at 50 feet, except under a permit of the DNR or  
	   county sheriff. 

	• No snowmobile shall be modified by any person in any manner that shall amplify 
	• No snowmobile shall be modified by any person in any manner that shall amplify 

	   or otherwise increase total noise level above that emitted by the snowmobile as    
	   or otherwise increase total noise level above that emitted by the snowmobile as    
	   originally equipped, regardless of date of manufacture.


	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
	Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations 
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	Snowmobile Safety Training Requirements
	Snowmobile Safety Training Requirements
	Snowmobile Safety Training Requirements

	Residents born after 
	Residents born after 
	December 31, 1976
	, must complete a Minnesota snowmobile safety training 
	course to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota.  While operating a snowmobile you must have either:

	•   a snowmobile safety certificate in your possession or
	•   a snowmobile safety certificate in your possession or

	•   a snowmobile safety certificate indicator on your driver’s license or on your Minnesota ID card.
	•   a snowmobile safety certificate indicator on your driver’s license or on your Minnesota ID card.

	The MN DNR Snowmobile Safety class includes topics on: Basic operation, common parts and 
	The MN DNR Snowmobile Safety class includes topics on: Basic operation, common parts and 
	controls, operating safely and responsibly, trail riding, rules and laws, riding skills and protecting 
	the environment.

	Youth ages 11 to 15 years can complete safety certification by a selecting one of the following 
	Youth ages 11 to 15 years can complete safety certification by a selecting one of the following 
	choices.  Either choice will have a required “hands on” riding performance course.

	Choice 1:  Attend a Traditional classroom snowmobile course: 
	Choice 1:  Attend a Traditional classroom snowmobile course: 

	•   Minimum 8 hr course provided by DNR Instructor
	•   Minimum 8 hr course provided by DNR Instructor

	•   Meets two or more times in a classroom setting
	•   Meets two or more times in a classroom setting

	•   Required “hands on” riding performance course
	•   Required “hands on” riding performance course

	Choice 2:  Select an Online snowmobile safety course: 
	Choice 2:  Select an Online snowmobile safety course: 

	•   Complete one of the online courses:
	•   Complete one of the online courses:

	 •   snowmobilecourse.com  [*Family/group pricing]
	 •   snowmobilecourse.com  [*Family/group pricing]

	 •   snowmobile-ed.com 
	 •   snowmobile-ed.com 

	Required for online students:  Student attends a one day class room review and riding 
	Required for online students:  Student attends a one day class room review and riding 
	performance course, which is lead by trained volunteer instructors.

	Course Fees
	Course Fees

	To find a location offering the Hands-On Snowmobile class on the DNR website:
	To find a location offering the Hands-On Snowmobile class on the DNR website:

	From DNR homepage, 
	From DNR homepage, 
	click on Education & 
	Safety and then under 
	recreational vehicle 
	safety classes find 
	and click Snowmobile 
	Safety to find the 
	Hands-On Snowmobile 
	class calendar.

	Adult Snowmobile Safety Training (16 years and older)
	Adult Snowmobile Safety Training (16 years and older)

	Complete one of the online courses: 
	Complete one of the online courses: 

	•   www.snowmobilecourse.com  [Family/group pricing]
	•   www.snowmobilecourse.com  [Family/group pricing]

	•   www.snowmobile-ed.com    
	•   www.snowmobile-ed.com    

	*Adults are not required to participate in the “hands-on” riding performance course.  
	*Adults are not required to participate in the “hands-on” riding performance course.  

	Where do I find a training course?
	Where do I find a training course?
	  To learn the times and dates of a snowmobile safety course 
	in your community, check the DNR website www.mndnr.gov/snowmobiling; or call the DNR 
	Information Center 1-888-646-6367, metro area (651)296-6157, or the Snowmobile Safety Training 
	Program Headquarters at 1-800-366-8917.

	Non-residents
	Non-residents
	 certified in snowmobile safety training in another state will be recognized in 
	Minnesota.


	Snowmobile Safety Course
	Snowmobile Safety Course
	Snowmobile Safety Course
	Snowmobile Safety Course
	Snowmobile Safety Course
	Snowmobile Safety Course
	Snowmobile Safety Course


	Course Fee
	Course Fee
	Course Fee


	Family/Group rates
	Family/Group rates
	Family/Group rates



	www.snowmobile.com
	www.snowmobile.com
	www.snowmobile.com
	www.snowmobile.com


	$29.95*
	$29.95*
	$29.95*


	Yes
	Yes
	Yes



	www.snowmobile-ed.com
	www.snowmobile-ed.com
	www.snowmobile-ed.com
	www.snowmobile-ed.com


	$29.50*
	$29.50*
	$29.50*


	No
	No
	No



	Traditional Classroom
	Traditional Classroom
	Traditional Classroom
	Traditional Classroom


	$5.00*
	$5.00*
	$5.00*


	No
	No
	No



	*Additional fees may apply attending the Hands-On course.  
	*Additional fees may apply attending the Hands-On course.  
	*Additional fees may apply attending the Hands-On course.  
	*Additional fees may apply attending the Hands-On course.  
	Contact the lead Instructor.
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	Youth Operation Requirements
	Youth Operation Requirements
	Youth Operation Requirements

	• The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is jointly responsible for 
	• The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is jointly responsible for 
	laws broken by a minor on that snowmobile.

	• Anyone under 18 years old must wear an approved helmet. 
	• Anyone under 18 years old must wear an approved helmet. 
	 
	• To register a snowmobile you must be at least 18 years old.

	Snowmobile Safety Certificate
	Minnesota Residents
	Minnesota Residents

	Any resident of Minnesota born after 
	Any resident of Minnesota born after 
	December 31, 1976
	,
	 
	must have a snowmobile 
	safety certificate to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota. Youth must be 11 years old 
	to take a snowmobile safety course, the certificate is not valid until the 12th birthday.

	Residents and Non-Residents
	Residents and Non-Residents

	Under Age 12
	Under Age 12
	Under Age 12
	Under Age 12
	Under Age 12
	Under Age 12

	(Without safety 
	(Without safety 
	certificate)


	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 

	May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid 
	May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid 
	trails if accompanied by an adult*


	• 
	• 
	• 

	May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads
	May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads


	• 
	• 
	• 

	May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality
	May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality





	Ages 12 & 13
	Ages 12 & 13
	Ages 12 & 13
	Ages 12 & 13


	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 

	May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-
	May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-
	aid trails 
	IF
	 Accompanied by an adult* 
	OR
	  In possession of a valid 
	snowmobile safety certificate


	• 
	• 
	• 

	May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads
	May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads


	• 
	• 
	• 

	May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality
	May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality





	Ages 14 
	Ages 14 
	Ages 14 
	Ages 14 
	 
	to 18


	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 

	May drive a snowmobile across state or county roads 
	May drive a snowmobile across state or county roads 
	IF
	 in possession 
	of a snowmobile safety certificate or driver’s license or ID card with 
	valid snowmobile indicator


	• 
	• 
	• 

	May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid 
	May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid 
	trails 
	WITH
	 a snowmobile safety certificate 


	• 
	• 
	• 

	May drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in municipalities, if not 
	May drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in municipalities, if not 
	contrary to ordinance





	Over Age 18
	Over Age 18
	Over Age 18
	Over Age 18


	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 

	Residents born after December 31, 1976, who operate a snowmobile 
	Residents born after December 31, 1976, who operate a snowmobile 
	in Minnesota must possess a valid snowmobile safety certificate or a 
	driver’s license or ID card with a valid snowmobile indicator.  







	* Accompanied by an adult means a parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated by the 
	* Accompanied by an adult means a parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated by the 
	parent or guardian who needs to be close enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile.

	Exception for Residents and Non-Residents
	Exception for Residents and Non-Residents

	Without a snowmobile safety certificate, a person under the age of 
	Without a snowmobile safety certificate, a person under the age of 
	14 years
	 may 
	operate a snowmobile only if they are supervised or accompanied by one of the 
	following: parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated 
	by the parent or guardian. The supervising or accompanying adult needs to be close 
	enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile. This exception 
	does not allow an operator under the age of 14 to cross a public road.

	Non-residents who are 
	Non-residents who are 
	18 years old and older
	 do not need a snowmobile safety certificate.
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	General Operation
	General Operation
	General Operation

	Where You May Ride
	Anywhere in the state you may ride:
	      • in the bottom or outside slope of a ditch of a county or state road (see page 15)
	      • in the bottom or outside slope of a ditch of a county or state road (see page 15)

	      • in the same direction as road traffic in the ditch from one-half hour
	      • in the same direction as road traffic in the ditch from one-half hour

	         after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise (other than this time,
	         after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise (other than this time,

	         you can ride in either direction)
	         you can ride in either direction)

	      • one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise on two-way  
	      • one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise on two-way  
	         snowmobile trails that are located within the ditches or adjacent to streets or  
	         highways when specifically permitted by the road authority (look for posted  
	         two-way signs, see page 16)

	      • on a bridge, other than a bridge that is part of the main-traveled lanes of an  
	      • on a bridge, other than a bridge that is part of the main-traveled lanes of an  
	          interstate highway, in order to avoid obstructions to travel when absolutely  
	          necessary (the snowmobile must be operated in the extreme right-hand lane, the  
	          entrance to the roadway must be made within 100 feet of the bridge, and crossing  
	          must be made as quickly as possible)

	      • on state and local trails (see pages 12 & 14 for Snowmobile State Trail 
	      • on state and local trails (see pages 12 & 14 for Snowmobile State Trail 

	         Sticker requirements)
	         Sticker requirements)

	      • on iced-over waters that have legal access (if not restricted by law or 
	      • on iced-over waters that have legal access (if not restricted by law or 

	         local ordinances)
	         local ordinances)

	      • on township roads when not restricted by local ordinance
	      • on township roads when not restricted by local ordinance

	      • on public lands that are open to motorized vehicles. Land uses vary. Be sure to  
	      • on public lands that are open to motorized vehicles. Land uses vary. Be sure to  
	         check all federal, state, and local ordinances

	      • on your own land.
	      • on your own land.

	      
	      
	Inside the seven-county metro area, you
	 
	may
	 
	ride:

	       • on land that is posted with signs stating “snowmobiles allowed”
	       • on land that is posted with signs stating “snowmobiles allowed”

	       • on land other than your own, with written or verbal permission             
	       • on land other than your own, with written or verbal permission             
	          of the landowner, occupant, or lessee 

	       • on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.
	       • on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.

	      
	      
	 
	Outside the seven-county metro

	       area, you
	       area, you
	 
	may
	 
	ride:

	       • on agricultural land with permission of 
	       • on agricultural land with permission of 

	          the landowner                  
	          the landowner                  

	       • on land, other than agricultural land, that             
	       • on land, other than agricultural land, that             
	          you have not been told verbally, by written    
	          warning, or by posted signs, that riding 

	          is prohibited
	          is prohibited

	       • on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.
	       • on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.


	Figure
	22
	22
	22
	 
	•
	 2016-2017 Winter Season


	      
	      
	      
	When making a direct crossing of a street or road, you
	 
	must
	 
	:

	      • bring the snowmobile to a complete stop before crossing, whether there is a  
	      • bring the snowmobile to a complete stop before crossing, whether there is a  
	         stop sign or not

	      • yield to all oncoming traffic
	      • yield to all oncoming traffic

	      • have both front and rear lights on when crossing between one-half              
	      • have both front and rear lights on when crossing between one-half              
	         hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, or during periods of reduced  
	         visibility (see page 30 for sunrise/sunset table)

	      • cross at a 90-degree angle with respect to the road
	      • cross at a 90-degree angle with respect to the road

	      • cross a divided road at an intersection
	      • cross a divided road at an intersection

	Where You May NOT Ride
	      • on the roadway, shoulder, or inner slope of the ditch of a state or county road
	      • on the roadway, shoulder, or inner slope of the ditch of a state or county road

	      • on the median of a four-lane roadway
	      • on the median of a four-lane roadway

	      • within the right-of-way of any interstate
	      • within the right-of-way of any interstate

	      • on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic
	      • on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic

	      • against traffic at night within the road right-of-way *Except when two-way trail 
	      • against traffic at night within the road right-of-way *Except when two-way trail 

	         travel signs permit use
	         travel signs permit use

	      • at airports
	      • at airports

	      • in any state park, state recreation area, state historic site, wildlife management  
	      • in any state park, state recreation area, state historic site, wildlife management  
	         area, or state scientific and natural area with the exception of posted       
	         snowmobile trails and areas

	      • in any wildlife management area south of U.S. Highway 2 from Grand Forks  
	      • in any wildlife management area south of U.S. Highway 2 from Grand Forks  
	         east to Bemidji, then south along U.S. Highway 71 to Wadena, then east along  
	         U.S. Highway 10 to Staples and U.S. Highway 210 to the eastern boundary of  
	         the state, without written permission from the DNR

	       • on any iced-over waters located in a restricted area or iced-over waters where  
	       • on any iced-over waters located in a restricted area or iced-over waters where  
	          you don’t have legal access

	       • in any areas restricted by local ordinances or municipalities
	       • in any areas restricted by local ordinances or municipalities

	       • in a tree nursery or planting area
	       • in a tree nursery or planting area

	       • on state forest lands that are posted or designated closed to snowmobiling
	       • on state forest lands that are posted or designated closed to snowmobiling

	       • on state forest lands located in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness,  
	       • on state forest lands located in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness,  
	          including all of Lake Isabella and Insula; and portions of Lake Jeanette and  
	          Burntside State Forests

	       • in National Wildlife Refuges, Waterfowl Production Areas, or the Boundary  
	       • in National Wildlife Refuges, Waterfowl Production Areas, or the Boundary  
	          Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. For more information, contact your local U.S. 
	          Fish and Wildlife Service.


	State forest lands classified as “closed” are open to off-trail snowmobile use unless 
	State forest lands classified as “closed” are open to off-trail snowmobile use unless 
	State forest lands classified as “closed” are open to off-trail snowmobile use unless 
	specifically posted closed to snowmobiling.


	Municipalities, counties, school districts, and other political subdivisions or state agencies 
	Municipalities, counties, school districts, and other political subdivisions or state agencies 
	Municipalities, counties, school districts, and other political subdivisions or state agencies 
	may impose further restrictions on snowmobiling on property not owned by the operator. 
	Check local ordinances where you want to ride.
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	Figure
	  
	  
	  
	   
	Inside the seven-county metro area, 

	     you may
	     you may
	 
	NOT
	 
	ride:

	      • on land that you do not own, unless
	      • on land that you do not own, unless

	          given written or verbal permission to 
	          given written or verbal permission to 

	          ride on that land by the owner,
	          ride on that land by the owner,

	         occupant, or lessee, or unless
	         occupant, or lessee, or unless

	         signs are posted stating
	         signs are posted stating

	         snowmobiling is allowed.
	         snowmobiling is allowed.

	      
	      
	Outside the seven-county metro

	      area, you may
	      area, you may
	 
	NOT
	 
	ride:

	      • on land that you have been told not to verbally, in writing, or by posted signs
	      • on land that you have been told not to verbally, in writing, or by posted signs

	      • on agricultural land without the permission of the owner.
	      • on agricultural land without the permission of the owner.

	Other Prohibitions 
	It is unlawful to:
	It is unlawful to:

	      • operate your snowmobile in a careless, reckless, or heedless manner 
	      • operate your snowmobile in a careless, reckless, or heedless manner 

	         that endangers the operator, or property of another, or causes injury or damage  
	         that endangers the operator, or property of another, or causes injury or damage  
	         (intentionally driving over open water, or water skipping, may be considered     
	         careless or reckless unless done as an event under special permit issued by  
	         the local sheriff’s office)

	      • litter
	      • litter

	      • enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence
	      • enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence

	      • mutilate, destroy, damage, or remove any shelter, comfort station, or facility on  
	      • mutilate, destroy, damage, or remove any shelter, comfort station, or facility on  
	         any state or grant-in-aid trail

	      • post, damage, or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you are the  
	      • post, damage, or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you are the  
	         landowner, occupant, or lessee of the property

	      • operate on state forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or rutting, damages or  
	      • operate on state forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or rutting, damages or  
	          destroys trees or growing crops

	      • operate on a state forest trail that is posted for non-motorized use
	      • operate on a state forest trail that is posted for non-motorized use

	           
	           
	 
	Special Provision - Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest: 

	            Motor vehicles and snowmobiles may operate only on forest
	            Motor vehicles and snowmobiles may operate only on forest

	            roads that are not posted closed and on forest trails that are 
	            roads that are not posted closed and on forest trails that are 

	            designated for motorized use. No motorized travel is allowed off designated  
	            designated for motorized use. No motorized travel is allowed off designated  
	            trails under any circumstances.

	      • operate a snowmobile with metal traction devices on paved public trails when  
	      • operate a snowmobile with metal traction devices on paved public trails when  
	         posted closed by state or local government.      

	Metal traction device
	Metal traction device
	 means any metal device, or array of metal devices, attached to 
	a snowmobile track to enhance traction. This includes metal components that extend 
	more than one-fourth inch from the bottom of the track. Note: Metal cleats affixed 
	perpendicular to the direction of travel of a 1981 or earlier snowmobile are not 
	considered a metal traction device.  
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	Sunken Snowmobiles
	Sunken Snowmobiles
	Sunken Snowmobiles

	Minnesota law requires snowmobiles and motor vehicles (including cars, trucks, 
	Minnesota law requires snowmobiles and motor vehicles (including cars, trucks, 
	watercraft and ATVs) that sink in a lake or river, be removed by the owner within 30 
	days.  Owners must also notify the county sheriff within 48 hours.  If the snowmobile 
	or vehicle is not removed, the local unit of government can remove it and charge the 
	owner two to five times the cost of removal.


	Snowmobiling While Intoxicated (SWI)
	Snowmobiling While Intoxicated (SWI)
	Operating a snowmobile while under the influence of alcohol, a 
	Operating a snowmobile while under the influence of alcohol, a 
	controlled 
	substance or its metabolite, or other hazardous substance is unlawful. Operators 
	who are impaired may be required to submit to tests by an enforcement officer 
	to determine the presence of these substances. There is a separate additional 
	criminal penalty for refusal to submit to the tests, and the person’s snowmobiling 
	privileges will be suspended for one year upon refusal. SWI convictions and 
	refusals are recorded on the violator’s driver’s license record and may affect their 
	driver’s license privileges.

	       An operator who is found to be impaired or has an alcohol concentration of 
	       An operator who is found to be impaired or has an alcohol concentration of 
	.08 or more, can be charged with a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony 
	level Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). Persons convicted of a misdemeanor will be 
	subject to: up to $1,000 fine (plus surcharges); possible jail sentence; and loss of 
	snowmobile operating privileges for one year.

	       In addition to the above misdemeanor penalties, the following gross 
	       In addition to the above misdemeanor penalties, the following gross 

	misdemeanor penalty provisions may apply if the person has any prior DWI violations, 
	misdemeanor penalty provisions may apply if the person has any prior DWI violations, 
	has an alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit, or has a child under 16 years of 
	age with them on the snowmobile:

	      • up to $3,000 fine
	      • up to $3,000 fine

	      • longer, mandatory jail time
	      • longer, mandatory jail time

	      • chemical use assessment and long-term monitoring programs
	      • chemical use assessment and long-term monitoring programs

	      • loss of motor vehicle driver’s license privileges
	      • loss of motor vehicle driver’s license privileges

	      • motor vehicle plate impoundment of all motor vehicles owned or            
	      • motor vehicle plate impoundment of all motor vehicles owned or            
	         leased individually or jointly by the person

	      • forfeiture of the snowmobile, substantially higher fines, and                
	      • forfeiture of the snowmobile, substantially higher fines, and                
	         mandatory jail time. 
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	       If a person has three or more DWI convictions or revocations in the last 10 years, 
	       If a person has three or more DWI convictions or revocations in the last 10 years, 
	       If a person has three or more DWI convictions or revocations in the last 10 years, 
	or has a prior felony conviction, he or she can be sentenced to 3-7 years in jail, up to 
	$14,000 fine, or both. Longer license revocations also would be imposed.

	Open Bottle Law
	It is unlawful for a person to drink or consume alcoholic beverages when operating a 
	It is unlawful for a person to drink or consume alcoholic beverages when operating a 
	snowmobile on a roadway or shoulder of a roadway that is not a part of a designated 
	snowmobile trail.

	Speed Limits
	It is unlawful to operate a snowmobile in excess of:
	It is unlawful to operate a snowmobile in excess of:

	      •
	      •
	 
	50 MPH 
	on any public lands or waters

	      • the posted speed limits on a trail
	      • the posted speed limits on a trail

	      • a speed greater than various trail, terrain and visibility 
	      • a speed greater than various trail, terrain and visibility 

	         conditions dictate
	         conditions dictate

	      • the posted road speed limit or 
	      • the posted road speed limit or 
	50 MPH
	, whichever is 
	LOWER
	, while operating  
	         in the ditch

	      • any governmental unit snowmobile speed limit. Governmental  
	      • any governmental unit snowmobile speed limit. Governmental  
	         units include any city, county, municipality, township, or                
	         conservation district.

	       A county may enact a daytime 65 MPH speed limit for marked trails on frozen 
	       A county may enact a daytime 65 MPH speed limit for marked trails on frozen 
	lakes that are over 10,000 acres. The county would need to pass an ordinance 
	and receive approval by the DNR Commissioner. Individual counties will have more 
	information on the location and status of any designated 65 MPH trails.

	Accidents
	Minnesota has worked hard to reduce snowmobiling accidents, injuries, 
	Minnesota has worked hard to reduce snowmobiling accidents, injuries, 
	and fatalities 
	through education and safety training programs. The largest contributing factor to 
	crashes is excessive speed, followed by alcohol use. 

	      If you are involved in a snowmobile accident that results in injury requiring 
	      If you are involved in a snowmobile accident that results in injury requiring 
	medical attention, death, or damage of more than $500, you must file an official 
	accident report with the Department of Natural Resources 
	within 48 hours of the 
	accident
	. Accident report forms are available at www.mndnr.gov/enforcement or call 
	1-800-366-8917.


	Figure
	26
	26
	26
	 
	•
	 2016-2017 Winter Season


	Enforcement
	Enforcement
	Conservation officers, state troopers, deputy sheriffs, police officers and 
	Conservation officers, state troopers, deputy sheriffs, police officers and 
	other peace 
	officers are responsible for the enforcement of Minnesota’s snowmobile laws. 
	Whenever an enforcement officer signals you, you must stop. Fleeing an enforcement 
	officer is a felony and the snowmobile used may be forfeited.

	       Part of a conservation officer’s duty is to ensure your safety while 
	       Part of a conservation officer’s duty is to ensure your safety while 

	snowmobiling. If you need an enforcement officer, contact your nearest State 
	snowmobiling. If you need an enforcement officer, contact your nearest State 
	 
	Patrol dispatch center. Your local conservation officer can also be found at 
	 
	 www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas.

	Penalties
	Violation of most snowmobile statutes and rules are misdemeanors and 
	Violation of most snowmobile statutes and rules are misdemeanors and 
	carry a fine 
	of up to $1,000 and imprisonment for up to 90 days. Youth violations may result in 
	snowmobile safety certificate suspension. Also, snowmobiles used in burglaries, 
	fleeing a peace officer, or a DWI, may be subject to seizure and confiscation or 
	forfeiture.

	        The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is subject to penalties if 
	        The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is subject to penalties if 
	he or she knowingly allows the snowmobile to be operated by someone physically 
	or mentally unable to drive the vehicle safely, or is under the influence of drugs or 
	alcohol.

	       A person operating a snowmobile with metal traction devices on any paved trail is guilty 
	       A person operating a snowmobile with metal traction devices on any paved trail is guilty 
	of a petty misdemeanor punishable by a civil penalty or criminal fine of $50 for the first 
	offense, $200 for the second offense, and $500 for the third or subsequent offense. Criminal 
	fines will be subject to court surcharges and fees in addition to this penalty amount.

	       Anyone operating a snowmobile in violation of the Snowmobile State Trail Sticker 
	       Anyone operating a snowmobile in violation of the Snowmobile State Trail Sticker 
	law will be required to purchase an annual penalty sticker for $71.00, in addition to 
	any ticket or fine.

	       Minnesota Law on Registration
	       Minnesota Law on Registration

	“A person may not operate or transport a snowmobile unless the snowmobile has 
	“A person may not operate or transport a snowmobile unless the snowmobile has 
	been registered.” Violation of this law is a misdemeanor punishable by fines up to 
	$1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days. 


	Figure
	STAY RIGHT! 
	STAY RIGHT! 
	STAY RIGHT! 
	Trails are two-way, 
	always
	 watch out for others!
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	Figure
	Minnesota Trespass Laws
	Minnesota Trespass Laws
	Minnesota Trespass Laws

	Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have 
	Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have 
	against 
	snowmobilers. Always ask for permission before 
	entering private land. 

	Respect private lands. 
	Respect private lands. 
	ASK FIRST!

	      • Always ask first before entering private lands even if it’s not posted. You will  
	      • Always ask first before entering private lands even if it’s not posted. You will  
	        improve relationships between landowners and snowmobilers.

	      • Just because property isn’t posted that doesn’t mean you have a 
	      • Just because property isn’t posted that doesn’t mean you have a 

	         right to enter someone else’s private property. The posted signs 
	         right to enter someone else’s private property. The posted signs 

	         indicate the landowner’s intention to prevent unauthorized entry.
	         indicate the landowner’s intention to prevent unauthorized entry.

	If you violate Minnesota’s trespass laws, you will be guilty of a misdemeanor or gross 
	If you violate Minnesota’s trespass laws, you will be guilty of a misdemeanor or gross 
	misdemeanor, or may be charged with a civil penalty. A misdemeanor is punishable 
	by fines of up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days. Civil penalties range 
	from $50 for a first time violation to $500 and loss of registration for a third violation.

	      You are guilty of a gross misdemeanor when you:
	      You are guilty of a gross misdemeanor when you:

	      • knowingly disregard signs prohibiting trespass
	      • knowingly disregard signs prohibiting trespass

	      • trespass after the landowner tells you not to
	      • trespass after the landowner tells you not to

	      • violate the trespass law twice in three years.
	      • violate the trespass law twice in three years.

	      If you are convicted of a gross misdemeanor, you will be subject
	      If you are convicted of a gross misdemeanor, you will be subject

	      to fines up to $3,000 and up to one year in jail, your snowmobile 
	      to fines up to $3,000 and up to one year in jail, your snowmobile 

	      registration will be null and void, and you will lose all hunting 
	      registration will be null and void, and you will lose all hunting 

	      privileges for two years.
	      privileges for two years.

	You must have permission to:
	You must have permission to:

	      • enter posted land
	      • enter posted land

	      • enter land inside the seven-county metro area that you do not own, unless  
	      • enter land inside the seven-county metro area that you do not own, unless  
	         given written or verbal permission to ride on that land by the owner, occupant,   
	         or lessee, or unless signs are posted stating snowmobiling is allowed

	      • enter agricultural land. Agricultural land is land that is plowed or tilled; has  
	      • enter agricultural land. Agricultural land is land that is plowed or tilled; has  
	         standing crops or crop residue; is within a maintained fence for enclosing  
	         domestic livestock; is planted native or introduced hay land or grassland; or is  
	         planted to short rotation woody crops (hybrid poplar and other woody plants  
	         that are harvested for their fiber within 15 years of planting).

	Offender Snowmobile Safety Training
	Offender Snowmobile Safety Training

	A person who is convicted of careless or reckless operation, or two or more speeding 
	A person who is convicted of careless or reckless operation, or two or more speeding 
	violations in a snowmobile season, must successfully complete a snowmobile safety 
	training course before operating a snowmobile.
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	      All planted grassland, hay land, and short rotation woody cropland meet the                
	      All planted grassland, hay land, and short rotation woody cropland meet the                
	      All planted grassland, hay land, and short rotation woody cropland meet the                

	      definition of agricultural land, including grasslands 
	      definition of agricultural land, including grasslands 

	      enrolled in the federal Conservation Reserve Program (CRP), 
	      enrolled in the federal Conservation Reserve Program (CRP), 

	      Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP), or the state 
	      Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP), or the state 

	      Reinvest in Minnesota (RIM) Reserve Program and Walk In Access Areas. 
	      Reinvest in Minnesota (RIM) Reserve Program and Walk In Access Areas. 

	      These lands do not need to be posted to prevent unauthorized trespass.
	      These lands do not need to be posted to prevent unauthorized trespass.

	It is unlawful to:
	It is unlawful to:

	      • wound or kill another person’s domestic animal or destroy private property
	      • wound or kill another person’s domestic animal or destroy private property

	      • pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position
	      • pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position

	      • stray off the groomed portions of marked state trails.
	      • stray off the groomed portions of marked state trails.

	Game Laws Related to Snowmobiling
	Game Laws Related to Snowmobiling

	General Restrictions
	General Restrictions

	A person licensed to take deer must not operate a snowmobile or an off-highway 
	A person licensed to take deer must not operate a snowmobile or an off-highway 
	vehicle on public or private property in an area open for the taking of deer by 
	firearms on a day that they are licensed to take deer in that area except:

	• Before legal shooting hours (one-half hour before sunrise)
	• Before legal shooting hours (one-half hour before sunrise)

	• From 11am until 2pm.
	• From 11am until 2pm.

	• After legal shooting hours (one-half hour after sunset).
	• After legal shooting hours (one-half hour after sunset).

	• On property that they own.
	• On property that they own.

	• On someone else’s private property with the landowner’s permission.
	• On someone else’s private property with the landowner’s permission.

	• Under a permit issued by a conservation officer to operate these vehicles in an  
	• Under a permit issued by a conservation officer to operate these vehicles in an  
	   emergency, medical, or other unusual situation during the restricted hours.

	Recreational Snowmobile and OHV Riders
	Recreational Snowmobile and OHV Riders

	Snowmobile trails and OHV trails and routes on state forest lands are closed to 
	Snowmobile trails and OHV trails and routes on state forest lands are closed to 
	ALL recreational snowmobile and off-highway vehicle (ATV, OHM, & ORV) riding 
	during the firearms deer season where deer may be taken by rifle during the A 
	season only:

	• Series 100 permit areas (November 5 - November 20, 2016)
	• Series 100 permit areas (November 5 - November 20, 2016)

	• Portions of Series 200 (November 5 - November 13, 2016)
	• Portions of Series 200 (November 5 - November 13, 2016)

	Forest roads remain open to snowmobile and OHV use.
	Forest roads remain open to snowmobile and OHV use.

	See the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook for more 
	See the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook for more 
	 
	detailed information.

	Firearms Transportation in Motor Vehicles
	Firearms Transportation in Motor Vehicles
	 
	• A person may transport an unloaded and uncased shotgun or rifle in a motor

	   vehicle, including a snowmobile, while: 1) at a shooting range with permission;
	   vehicle, including a snowmobile, while: 1) at a shooting range with permission;

	   2) lawfully hunting on public or private land; or 3) traveling to or from a site the 
	   2) lawfully hunting on public or private land; or 3) traveling to or from a site the 

	   person intends to hunt that day or has hunted that day. 
	   person intends to hunt that day or has hunted that day. 

	• However, a person MAY NOT transport an uncased shotgun or rifle within: 
	• However, a person MAY NOT transport an uncased shotgun or rifle within: 

	   1) Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey counties; 2) a city with a population of 2,500 or
	   1) Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey counties; 2) a city with a population of 2,500 or
	 
	    more; 3) school grounds; 4) game refuges; or 5) as regulated under shining and 

	    night vision laws. 
	    night vision laws. 

	• A handgun/pistol cannot be transported uncased without a valid permit to carry. 
	• A handgun/pistol cannot be transported uncased without a valid permit to carry. 

	It is unlawful to:
	It is unlawful to:

	• use a snowmobile to chase, run over, or kill a wild animal
	• use a snowmobile to chase, run over, or kill a wild animal

	• shoot or attempt to shoot a wild animal from a snowmobile.
	• shoot or attempt to shoot a wild animal from a snowmobile.

	For operation restrictions during firearms deer season, please see the       
	For operation restrictions during firearms deer season, please see the       
	current Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook.
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	Special Permits for Disabled Hunters
	Special Permits for Disabled Hunters
	Special Permits for Disabled Hunters

	A permit may be issued to shoot from a standing motor vehicle including a 
	A permit may be issued to shoot from a standing motor vehicle including a 
	snowmobile to a licensed hunter who has a permanent physical disability and is 
	unable to step from a vehicle without the aid of wheelchair, crutches, braces, or other 
	mechanical support or prosthetic device; or is required to use supplemental oxygen 
	because of a permanent lung, heart, or other internal disease. For more details 
	contact the Department of Natural Resources Information Center in the Twin Cities 

	(651) 296-6157, or toll-free 1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367).
	(651) 296-6157, or toll-free 1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367).

	For More Information
	For More Information

	For information on snowmobile trails; maps of state parks, forests, and 
	For information on snowmobile trails; maps of state parks, forests, and 
	state trails; weekly snow reports; and other information, contact:

	 
	 
	For information about snowmobile registration, contact:

	NormalParagraphStyle
	Span
	DNR License Center

	500 Lafayette Road
	500 Lafayette Road

	St. Paul, MN 55155-4026
	St. Paul, MN 55155-4026

	(651)296-2316 • Toll-free: 1-800-285-2000
	(651)296-2316 • Toll-free: 1-800-285-2000

	 
	 
	To report a violation, contact:

	Your local DNR conservation officer, sheriff’s office, police department, or the state 
	Your local DNR conservation officer, sheriff’s office, police department, or the state 
	patrol. Conservation officers are dispatched through the state patrol. 

	For information on scheduled snowmobile safety classes statewide: 
	For information on scheduled snowmobile safety classes statewide: 

	      • www.mndnr.gov/snowmobiling
	      • www.mndnr.gov/snowmobiling

	      • DNR Information Center: Twin Cities (651) 296-6157
	      • DNR Information Center: Twin Cities (651) 296-6157

	         Toll-free 1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367)
	         Toll-free 1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367)

	      • Snowmobile Safety Training Program Headquarters
	      • Snowmobile Safety Training Program Headquarters

	         Camp Ripley, Little Falls, MN: 1-800-366-8917.
	         Camp Ripley, Little Falls, MN: 1-800-366-8917.

	To find your local conservation officer, visit:  
	To find your local conservation officer, visit:  
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	www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas 


	Story
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	DNR Information Center

	500 Lafayette Road
	500 Lafayette Road

	St. Paul, MN 55155-4040
	St. Paul, MN 55155-4040

	Twin Cities: (651)296-6157
	Twin Cities: (651)296-6157

	Toll-free 1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367)
	Toll-free 1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367)
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	Hearing impaired

	Twin Cities: (651)296-5484
	Twin Cities: (651)296-5484

	Toll-free: 1-800-657-3929
	Toll-free: 1-800-657-3929

	NormalParagraphStyle
	Span
	DNR Website

	www.mndnr.gov
	www.mndnr.gov
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	Connect instantly to the 
	Span
	conservation officer locator 
	Span
	web page by scanning this 
	Span
	code with your smart phone.


	Grant-In-Aid Program
	Grant-In-Aid Program
	Grant-In-Aid Program

	The Grant-in-Aid Program is a cooperative effort between the Minnesota DNR, local 
	The Grant-in-Aid Program is a cooperative effort between the Minnesota DNR, local 
	governments, local snowmobile organizations, and private landowners who provide 
	the majority of Minnesota’s 22,000 miles of snowmobile trails. Funded through 
	snowmobile registration and Snowmobile State Trail Sticker fees and gas taxes, the 
	grant-in-aid program helps local groups and clubs develop and maintain trails.

	      • Grant-in-aid trails are open each year from December 1 
	      • Grant-in-aid trails are open each year from December 1 

	         through April 1.
	         through April 1.

	      • Many grant-in-aid trails throughout the state run through private 
	      • Many grant-in-aid trails throughout the state run through private 

	         property. Stay on good terms with these landowners by staying on 
	         property. Stay on good terms with these landowners by staying on 

	         marked trails. Don’t jeopardize your ability to use private lands.
	         marked trails. Don’t jeopardize your ability to use private lands.

	      • Remember you need a Trail Use Registration sticker when operating on 
	      • Remember you need a Trail Use Registration sticker when operating on 

	         grant-in-aid trails          
	         grant-in-aid trails          


	Sunrise/Sunset Table
	Sunrise/Sunset Table
	Sunrise/Sunset Table


	To find the sunrise and sunset times in your area, use the link to the U.S. Naval 
	To find the sunrise and sunset times in your area, use the link to the U.S. Naval 
	To find the sunrise and sunset times in your area, use the link to the U.S. Naval 
	Observatory website:

	http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneYear.php
	http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneYear.php

	Note: 
	Note: 
	Sunrise and sunset times are shown in a table format and can be printed for 
	viewing or saved to your computer’s desktop.  

	Daylight Time
	Daylight Time

	Daylight time is not implemented in time tables. When daylight time is in use, add one 
	Daylight time is not implemented in time tables. When daylight time is in use, add one 
	hour to the times listed in the tables.
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