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HOUSE RES.EARCH I Short Subjects 
Nina Manzi Updated: January 2016 

Federal Taxable Income, the starting point for calculating 
Minnesota income tax 

What is federal 
taxable income 
(FTI)? 

What kinds of 
income are included 
inFAGI? 

What kinds of. 
income are 

· excluded from 
FAG/? 

What deductions 
are allowed from 
FTI? 

How much is the 
standard 
deduction? 

Federal taxable income is the tax base used to calculate federal income tax 
liability. It is also the starting·point for calculating Minnesota taxable income, the 
tax base used to calculate Minnesota income tax liability. Federal taxable income 
equals federal adjusted gross income (F AGI) after deductions and exemptions. 

Federal 
adjusted 
gross income 
(FAGI) 

Standard 
or 

Itemized 
deductions 

Personal 
and 
Dependent 
exemptions 

= 

Federal 
taxable 
Income 
(FTI) 

F AGI includes most kinds of cash income: wages, salaries, and tips; taxable 
interest; dividends; alimony received by the taxpayer; business income or loss; 
capital gains or losses; other gains or losses; taxable IRA distributions; taxable 
pension and annuity distributions (the taxable portion excludes recovery of 
amounts that were included in F AGI when the contributions were made); income 
·from rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, and trusts; farm 
income or loss; unemployment compensation; and taxable Social Security 
benefits (the amount taxable depends on the individual's income level; at most, 
85 percent of benefits are included in F AGI). F AGI does not include child 
support received by the taxpayer. 

FAGI excludes: deductible IRA, SEP, SIMPLE, and other retirement 
contributions; nontaxable employee fringe benefits; deductible student loan 
interest payments; Health Savings Account contributions and investment income; 
moving expenses; one-half of self-employment tax; health insurance premiums 
(for self-employed taxpayers only); penalty on early withdrawal of savings; 
alimony paid by the taxpayer; $250 of teacher classroom expenses, and, through 
tax year 2016, up to $4,000 of tuition expenses for higher education. FAGI does 
not exclude child support paid by the taxpayer. 

Taxpayers may Claim either the standard deduction or itemized deductions. In tax 
year 2013, the most recent year for which data is available, 62 percent of 
Minnesotans claimed the standard deduction and 38 percent itemized. 

In tax year 2016, the standard deduction is as follows: 
• $12,600 for married couples filing joint returns 
• $6,300 for married couples filing separate returns 
• $9,300 for head of household filers · 
• $6,300 for single filers 



What itemized 
deductions are 
allowed? 

What personal and 
dependent 
exemptions are 
allowed? 

Are there limits on 
deductions and 
exemptions? 

In tax year 2016 itemized deductions are allowed for the following: 
• Payments of state and local property taxes and either income or sales taxes 
• Mortgage interest and mortgage insurance premiums 
• Charitable contributions 
• Medical expenses and health insurance premiums in excess of a 

percentage ofFAGI (7.5 percent for filers age 65 and older, 10 percent for 
all others) 

• Casualty and theft losses in excess of 10 percent of income 
• Job expenses and miscellaneous expenses (most only allowed in excess of 

2 percent of income) 

Taxpayers may claim one personal exemption each and one dependent exemption 
for each dependent claimed. For tax year 2016, the personal and dependent 
exemptions are $4,050 each. A family of four qualifies for four exemptions, 
totaling $16,200. 

The federal American Taxpayer Relief Act of2012 (ATRA) revived and made 
permanent the limitation on itemized deductions and phaseout of personal and 
dependent exemptions for taxpayers with incomes over a threshold .. 

The limit takes away some of the benefit of the deduction for higher income 
taxpayers. Taxpayers subject to the limit have their deductions reduced by 3 
percent of their-FAG! over the applicable thresholds. But they are always 
guaranteed 20 percent of the deductions, no matter how high their FAG Is are. 

ATRA also provides for personal and dependent exemptions to be phased out for 
taxpayers with incomes over a threshold. Affected taxpayers lose 2 percent of 
their total exemption amount for each $2,500 of income over the threshold. 

The table shows the income thresholds for the itemized deduction limitation and 
the personal and dependent exemption phaseout in effect in tax year 2016. The 
income thresholds are adjusted annually for inflation. 

Itemized deduction limit and personal and 

Tax year 2016 dependent exemption phaseout begins at 

Married joint filers $311,300 

Married separate filers $155,650 

Single filers $259,400 

Head of household filers $285,350 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 651-
296-5057. Also see the House Research publication Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, July 2015. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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The Federal Earned Income Tax Credit and 
Minnesota Working Family Credit: An Overview 

What are the 
credits? 

Who is eligible for 
the credits? 

How are the 
credits calculated? 

How do filers 
claim the credits? 

How many 
Minnesotans claim 
the credits? 

The federal earned income tax credit (EITC) and Minnesota working family credit 
(WFC) equal a percentage of the earnings of low-income individuals. The credits 
are refundable; if the credit exceeds a filer's tax liability, the rest is paid as a refund. 
Since these credits increase their recipients' earnings, they act as wage supplements 
and are thought to provide a work incentive. 

Anyone with wages or self-employment income may be eligible to claim the EITC 
and the WFC. In tax year 2016, individuals with more than $3,400 in interest income, 
dividends, rental and royalty income, and capital gain income do not qualify. 

The credits equal a percentage of earned income, up to a maximum credit amount, 
and are phased out when the claimant's total income exceeds a threshold. The 
maximum credit amounts and income levels at which the credits are phased out vary 
depending on the number of children in the household and whether the claimants are 
married. Both the maximum credit and the phaseout threshold are adjusted annually 
for inflation. In tax year 2016, the maximum credits, phaseout threshold, and 
income level at which the credits are no longer allowed are as follows: 

Income at which 
Phaseout credit fully 

Maximum credit threshold phased out 
... EITC WFC EITC WFC EITC WFC 

Unmarried claimants 
No children $506 $133 $8,270 $8,300 $14,880 $14,893 
1 child $3,373 $1,061 $18,190 $21,620 $39,296 $39,248 
2 children $5,572 $2,047 $18,190 $25,640 $44,648 $44,560 
3 or more children $6,269 $2,047 $18,190 $25,640 $47,955 $44,560 
Married claimants 
No children $506 $133 $13,820 $13,850 $20,430 $20,443 
1 child $3,373 $1,061 $23,740 $27,170 $44,846 $44,798 
2 children $5,572 $2,047 $23,740 $31,190 $50,198 $50,110 
3 or more children $6,269 $2,047 $23,740 $31,190 $53,505 $50,110 

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by 
completing a schedule or worksheet. 

In tax year 2013, 361,120 Minnesota returns claimed the EITC and 339,901 claimed 
the WFC. These claims represent 13.6 percent of all federal returns filed by 
Minnesotans and 12.3 percent of all state returns filed by Minnesota residents. The 
number of EITC claims exceeds the number of WFC claims mostly because in 
2013, the higher EITC rate for families with three or more children resulted in the 



How much is paid 
out in credits? 

How are the 
credits distributed 
among different 
types of families? 

How are the 
credits distributed 
geographically? 

How does 
Minnesota 
compare with 
other states? 

EITC for large families extending to higher incomes than did the WFC, which did 
not have a higher rate for families with three or more children. 

In tax year 2013, Minnesotans claimed $753 million in EITC, of which $92 million 
offset tax liability, and the remaining $661 million was paid as a refund. The 
average EITC claimed by Minnesotans was $2,085. 

Minnesota returns claimed an additional $212 million in WFC, of which $38.5 
million offset tax liability, and the remaining $173.5 million was paid as a refund. 
The average WFC was $623. 

Seventy-one percent of all working family credits went to families with one or more 
children. These families received about 97 percent of the total amount of credits 
paid in 2013. Individuals without children filed 28.8 percent ofreturns claiming 
credits, but received only 3.1 percent of the total amount of credits. Claimants with 
children received most of the total amount of credits_ because these families qualify 
for a higher maximum credit than do claimants without children. The distribution of 
earned income tax credits is similar. 

Number of WFC Claimants Dollars of WFC 

2 or more childre 36.3% 63.6% 

~ 31% 

In 2013 about half of the returns claiming credits were in the Twin Cities 
metropolitan area and half in Greater Minnesota; 19 percent of returns in Wadena 
County claimed credits, compared with only 7 percent in Carver County. The 
highest average credit went to Watonwan County claimants, at $709, and the lowest 
to Lake of the Woods County claimants, at $535. 

Nationwide, 19.4 percent of all income tax returns claimed the EITC, compared to 
13.6 percent in Minnesota. The average EITC nationwide in 2013 was $2,362; it 
was $2,085 in Minnesota. Minnesota's number of recipients and credit amounts are 
lower than the national averages because state residents have above-average 
mcomes. 

In tax year 2015, 25 other states and the District of Columbia provide a state version 
of the EITC. In most cases the state credit equals a percentage of the federal EITC. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House 
Research information brief The Federal Earned Income Tax Credit and the Minnesota Working Family 
Credit, March 2013. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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The Minnesota and Federal 
Dependent Care Tax Credits: An Overview 

What are the 
credits? 

Are the credits 
refundable? 

Who is eligible for 
the credits? 

What are qualifying 
expenses? 

How are the credits 
calculated? 

The Minnesota and federal dependent care credits partially offset the cost of child 
care for certain workers. The maximum Minnesota credit is $720 for one child and 
$1,440 for two or more children. The maximum federal credit is $1,050 for one 
child and $2, 100 for two or more children. 

The Minnesota credit is fully refundable. If an individual qualifies for a credit that 
is greater than his or her tax liability, the excess is paid as a refund. The federal 
credit is not refundable and may only be used to offset federal income tax liability. 

Anyone who incurs expenses related to the care of a dependent and related 
household expenses may be eligible to claim the credits. The claimant must: 

• maintain a household that includes the dependent; 
• pay for care for a dependent under age 13, or a disabled spouse or adult 

dependent; and 
• pay for care in order to work or look for work. 

Qualifying expenses are amounts paid for the care of a dependent under age 13, or 
a disabled spouse or adult dependent, but do not include amounts paid to the 
claimant's spouse or another dependent. 

Qualifying expenses may not exceed the claimant's earned income (for married 
couples filing joint returns, expenses may not exceed the earned income of the 
lesser earning spouse). Maximum allowable qualifying expenses are reduced by 
amounts paid through dependent care pre-tax accounts. 

The federal credit equals 35 percent of up to $3,000 of qualifying expenses for one 
child ($6,000 of qualifying expenses for two or more children). The maximum 
federal credit is $1,050 for one child and $2,100 for two or more children. The 
federal credit percentage rate begins to phase down when income exceeds $15,000, 
with the credit percentage decreasing as income increases. Claimants with 
incomes over $43,000 qualify for the minimum federal credit rate of20 percent of 
qualifying expenses, or up to $600 for one child and $1,200 for two or more 
children. For example, a claimant with $50,000 of income and $1,000 of expenses 
will qualify for a credit of $200 (20 percent of $1,000). 

The state credit equals the lesser of the federal credit, or $720 for one child 
($1,440 for two or more children). The state credit is calculated by reference to the 
federal credit for which the claimant is eligible, not the amount the claimant could 
have used to offset federal liability. 

The state credit is subject to an income phaseout. (By contrast, the federal credit 
rate phases down to a minimum percentage but is never totally phased out.) In tax 
year 2016, the state phaseout begins when income exceeds $25,860, and the state 



How do filers claim 
the credits? 

How many 
Minnesotans claim 
the credits? 

How much is paid 
out in credits? 

How does 
Minnesota compare 
with other states? 

How is Minnesota 
affected by the 
ATRA changes to 
the federal credit? 

credit is fully phased out when income exceeds $39,510. The income threshold for 
the phaseout is adjusted each year for inflation. 

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by 
completing a separate schedule-Form 2441 for the federal credit and schedule 
Ml CD for the state credit. 

In tax year 2013, 150,170 Minnesotans claimed the federal dependent care credit 
and 34,049 claimed the state credit. These claims represent 5.7 percent of all 
federal returns filed by Minnesotans and 1.3 percent of all state returns filed. 

Because the federal credit is nonrefundable and can only be used to offset tax 
liability, most of the federal credits are claimed by middle- and upper-income filers 
who have income over $43,000 and qualify for the minimum credit amount. 

Because the state credit is refundable and subject to an income-based phaseout 
(from $24,920 to $38,570 in tax year 2013, the year of the data), most of the state 
credits are claimed by low-income filers. 

In tax year 2013, Minnesotans claimed $71.6 million of federal dependent care 
credits. The average federal dependent care credit was $4 77. 

In tax year 2013, Minnesotans claimed $12.1 million of state dependent care 
credits. The average state dependent care credit was $356. 

Nationwide, 4.3 percent of all income tax returns claimed the federal dependent 
care credit, compared to 5.7 percent in Minnesota. Nebraska had the highest 
percentage of returns claiming the federal credit at 6.3 percent, and West Virginia 
had the lowest at 2.3 percent. 

The average federal dependent care credit in 2013 was $542 nationwide and $477 
in Minnesota. New York had the highest average credit at $594, and Wisconsin 
had the lowest at $466. Minnesota's average credit amount may be lower than the 
national averages because state residents have above-average incomes, or because 
Minnesotaris are more likely to receive child care assistance or use pre-tax 
dependent care accounts, reducing the amount of qualifying expenses. 

In the 2014 session, Minnesota enacted legislation to conform the state credit 
calculation phaseout to the larger federal credit allowed under the American 
Taxpayers Relief Act of 2012 (ATRA), beginning in tax year 2014. For tax year 
2013, Minnesota claimants were required to determine their state credit by 
reference to the smaller federal credit that would have been in effect had ATRA 
not been enacted. Beginning in tax year 2014, Minnesota claimants will determine 
their state credit by reference to the current federal credit. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House 
Research information brief The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits, February 2014. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Historic Structure Rehabilitation Credit 

To encourage preservation of historic buildings, Minnesota allows tax credits (or grants in lieu of the credit) to 
individuals and entities that spend substantial amounts rehabilitating qualifying buildings. This credit and 
grant program ("Historic Structure Rehabilitation Credit" or "Historic Credit") mirrors the similar federal 
income tax credit and is administered in much the same way. The program was enacted in 2010 and is 
scheduled to expire after fiscal year 2021. 

What projects 
qualify for credits 
or grants? 

What is the credit 
rate? 

What expenses 
qualify for the 
credit? 

Who administers 
the credit and what 
actions must 
taxpayers take to 
qualify? 

To qualify for a credit or grant, the project must also qualify for the federal tax 
credit. That requires projects to: 

• rehabilitate a building that is certified as a historic structure by the National 
Park Service (NPS)-that is, the building either must be on the national 
register or be certified as contributing to a registered historic district; 

• be an income-producing property (e.g., rental housing qualifies but owner­
occupied residences do not); and 

• spend "substantial" amounts on rehabilitation work that meets NPS 
standards. 

The credit rate is 20 percent. (The federal credit rate is also 20 percent, so the 
combined state and federal credit can equal up to 40 percent of qualifying 
expenses.) The grant in lieu of the credit equals 90 percent of the credit, so its 
effective rate is 18 percent (20% x 90% = 18%). No maximum or "cap" applies. 

The credit applies to expenditures to rehabilitate a qualifying building. The 
amount spent must be substantial, which federal law defines as the greater of (1) 
$5,000 or (2) the tax basis of the property. The credit cannot be used to pay for: 

• acquiring the property; 
• personal property (e.g., equipment that doesn't become part of the 

building); 
• enlargement or expansion of the building; or 
• site work. 

The fe~eral and state credits are jointly administered by the tax administrators (the 
federal Internal Revenue Service and Minnesota Department of Revenue) and the 
agencies responsible for historic preservation (NPS and Minnesota State Historic 
Preservation Office or SHPO). To receive the tax credits or grants, projects must · 
go through a multi-part certification process administered by SHPO and NPS. This 
process generally must begin before work starts on the project. Credits are paid 
only after completion of work and when the project is "placed in service." Detail 
on these processes (for both the federal and Minnesota credits) is available on the 
websites of the NPS and Minnesota Historical Society. 



Which taxes are the 
credits allowed 
against? 

How do the federal 
and state credits 
affect calculation of 
federal and state 
taxes? 

What is the purpose 
of the grant option? 

What is the fiscal 
impact of the 
program? 

Where are most 
projects located? 

The Minnesota credit is allowed against any of the following taxes: the individual 
income, corporate franchise, or insurance premiums taxes. The credit is refundable 
and the taxpayer may assign or sell the credit (once) to another individual or entity. 

The federal and state credits are direct subtractions from tax liability, so they 
provide a dollar-for-dollar reduction in tax liability under the respective federal and 
state taxes. (Because the Minnesota credit is refundable, the full amount is paid 
regardless of the amount of the tax liability.) Allowance of the credit also has 
other effects on calculation of tax. Federal law provides that the federal credit 
reduces tax basis and that straight-line (rather than accelerated) depreciation must 
be used for the project. These rules flow through to calculation of Minnesota 
individual or corporate tax and result in some of the apparent benefit of the credit 
being offset by a reduction in tax benefits available to similar real estate 
investments that are not allowed the credit. 

In addition, because state income taxes are deductible (e.g., as business expenses) 
by real estate investors, federal income tax will rise as a result of allowance of the 
state credit-in effect, the state credit increases federal tax. 

The Minnesota program allows projects to claim a grant (equal to 90 percent of the 
credit amount) instead of a credit. The grant is paid by the Minnesota Historical 
Society and no differences in qualifying rules apply to a grant versus a tax credit. 
The grant may be paid to an entity other than a taxpayer. The grant option allows 
projects involving tax-exempt entities an option for avoiding the indirect federal 
income tax on state tax credits, as described above. How successful it is in 
achieving that goal is unclear, since the federal tax treatment of the grants is 
somewhat uncertain. 

The table shows Minnesota Management Budget's forecast of the tax credit and 
the grant-in-lieu-of-credit amounts for fiscal year 2014 though fiscal year 2019 for 
the November 2015 revenue forecast. Fiscal years 2014-15 are actual amounts. 
Amounts are in thousands. The forecast is based on SHPO application and 
certification data. 

Fiscal year Tax Credit Grant 
2014 $12,244 $344 
2015 56,704 -
2016 50,753 3,066 
2017 68,055 2,162 
2018 35,336 1,710 
2019 28,879 1,350 

To date, most projects have been located in Minneapolis and St. Paul, which have 
recently experienced robust real estate development and where many historic 
buildings are located. Through fiscal year 2015 (the most recent year with actual 
data), 75 percent of the projects and 96 percent of the credit/grant amounts were in 
Minneapolis and St. Paul. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
joel.michael@house.mn. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, legal, 
and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Economic Forecasts, Budget Surpluses, and Budget Shortfalls 

When are economic 
forecasts prepared? 

What are the 
forecasts used/or? 

What if a forecast 
shows a budget 
shortfall? 

The commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB) must prepare a 
forecast of state revenues and expenditures twice each year-in February and 
November. 

The November forecast in even-numbered years becomes the basis for the 
governor's budget recommendations to the legislature. The November 2014 
forecast provided the revenue and expenditure projections that the governor used to 
develop the budget proposal for the fiscal year 2016-201 7 biennium, which runs 
from July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017. The November 2014 forecast also showed 
that the state was on track to finish the fiscal year 2014-2015 biennium with a 
positive balance. 

The February forecast modifies the preceding November's forecast with any new 
data that's available. The February 2015 forecast provided the revenue and 
expenditure projections that the legislature used in adopting a budget for the fiscal 
year 2016-2017 biennium. Following the February forecast, the governor 
submitted modifications to the budget proposal developed from the November 
forecast, which are called "supplemental budget recommendations." The February 
2015 forecast also provided an update on the status of revenues and expenditures in 
the current biennium. 

The November forecast in odd-numbered years and the February forecast in even­
numbered years also provide updates on revenues and expenditures in the current 
biennium. Using the projections of the November 2015 and February 2016 
forecasts, the governor may make additional "supplemental budget 
recommendations" proposing changes to the fiscal year 2016-2017 budget during 
the 2016 legislative session. The legislature will use the projections in the 
February 2016 forecast to ensure that the fiscal year 2016-2017 biennium closes 
with a balanced budget. 

If a forecast projects a shortfall for the general fund in the current biennium, the 
commissioner of MMB may reduce the budget reserve account as needed to 
balance revenues with expenditures. If there isn't enough money in the budget 
reserve to balance the general fund in the current biennium, and if a balanced 
budget has been enacted for the biennium, then the commissioner may also reduce 
outstanding appropriations, commonly referred to as "unalloting." Before reducing 
the budget reserve or unalloting appropriations, the commissioner must obtain the 
approval of the governor and must consult with the Legislative Advisory 
Commission. When the legislature is in session, the governor typically makes 
recommendations to the legislature on how to resolve the shortfall before 
approving use of the budget reserve or unalloting. 



What if the forecast 
shows a budget 
surplus? 

What are recent 
changes to 
treatment of budget 
surpluses? 

If a forecast shows a surplus for the general fund in the current biennium, the 
commissioner of MMB must allocate the surplus in priority order as follows: 

1. to the cash fl.ow account, until it reaches $350 million (currently 
satisfied) 

2. to the budget reserve account, until it reaches $810.992 million 
(currently surpassed) 

3. to increase the school aid payment schedule to 90 percent, in 
increments of one-tenth of 1 percent with any residual amount 
deposited in the budget reserve (currently satisfied) 

4. to restore previous school aid reductions and reduce the property tax 
recognition shift accordingly (currently satisfied) 

5. to the closed landfill investment fund, until $63.215 million has been 
transferred to the fund (satisfied as of Nov. 2015 forecast) 

6. to the metropolitan landfill contingency action trust account, until $8.1 
million has been transferred to the account (satisfied as of the Nov. 
2015 forecast). 

If a November forecast projects a surplus and priorities (1) to (6) have been 
satisfied, 33 percent of the surplus is transferred to the budget reserve, until the 
reserve reaches the percentage of the current biennium's revenues recommended as 
a reserve. The commissioner must update the percentage each.September based on 
a review of the adequacy of the reserve and the volatility of Minnesota's tax 
structure. Under this requirement, the commissioner transferred $594 million to 
the budget reserve after the November 2015 forecast, bringing the amount in the 
reserve to $1.597 billion. 

Any surplus remaining after meeting the six priorities and making the 33 percent 
transfer is reported in the forecast as a "positive umestricted budgetary general fund 
balance." For the fiscal year 2016-2017 biennium, this balance is $1.206 billion. 

Laws 2014, chapter 150, required the commissioner to recommend a budget 
reserve level specified as a percentage of current biennium revenues, to update the 
percentage each January, and to transfer 33 percent of a November forecast surplus 
to the reserve. Laws 2015, chapter 77, pushed the commissioner's annual update 
back to September. 

Laws 2015, first special session, chapter 4, transferred money from two landfill 
cleanup accounts to the general fund. The law required the commissioner to 
transfer the funds back once sufficient surplus general fund dollars became 
available. With the November 2015 forecast, a sufficient surplus exists and this 
requirement will expire after the commissioner makes the required transfers. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Colbey Sullivan at 651-296-5047 or Nina Manzi at 
651-296-5204. Also see the House Research publication Unallotment: Executive Branch Power to Reduce 
Spending to Avoid a Deficit, December 2010. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) 

Congress recently passed a new federal education law, the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), that 
changes requirements governing states' academic standards, student testing, school accountability, and 
teacher effectiveness. ESSA replaces the No Child Left Behind Act, which had been in effect since 2001. 

The ESSA isa 
reauthorization of a 
federal law 
designed to serve 
educationally 
disadvantaged 
students 

The ESSA aligns 
content standards, 
student 
achievement, and 
postsecondary 
requirements 

The ESSA requires 
annual student 
testing in specific 
subjects 

The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) reauthorizes the Elementary and 
Secondary Education Act (ESEA), which was signed into law by President Lyndon 
B. Johnson in 1965 to improve the quality of elementary and secondary education. 
The ESEA required state and local education agencies and other entities receiving 
federal financial assistance through Title I and other programs to help schools 
better serve educationally disadvantaged students. 

The ESSA has some of the same requirements as its predecessor, the 2001 No 
Child Left Behind Act (NCLB), affecting student testing and reporting, among 
other things. The ESSA also has different requirements affecting state academic 
standards, state accountability measures, teacher effectiveness, school 
improvement, a well-rounded education, and federal education funding. State 
NCLB waivers expire on August 1, 2016, but states must continue to support low­
performing "priority" schools and "focus" schools with large achievement gaps 
until state ESSA plans become effective in the 2017-2018 school year. 

The ESSA requires states to adopt challenging content standards in reading, math, 
and science, and three academic achievement levels aligned with state 
requirements for credit-bearing postsecondary courses and career and technical 
education. States may develop alternative academic achievement standards for 1 
percent of students with the most significant cognitive disabilities. States must 
align English language proficiency standards with state content standards so 
English learners can master academic coursework. 

Like NCLB, the ESSA requires states to administer reading and math tests 
annually in grades 3 through 8 and one time in high school. In addition, science 
tests are required in each of three grades spans (3-5, 6-9, and 10-12). The tests 
must be aligned with state academic standards. States must report student 
performance data at the school level and by separate student subgroups, including 
English proficiency, disability, race, and poverty. 

The ESSA allows states some flexibility in testing. States can either administer a 
single cumulative test at the end of year or combine the results of multiple tests 
over the course of the year. In addition, the law requires at least 95 percent of 
students to take the tests required for accountability, but allows states to determine 
the consequences for opting out of the tests. 

/ 



The ESSA requires 
states to develop an 
accountability 

. system 

The ESSA requires 
states to identify 
schools for support 
and improvement 

The ESSA requires 
states to distribute 
effective teachers 

The ESSA creates a 
new block grant 
program to improve 
student learning 

For more information: 

The ESSA eliminates adequate yearly progress (AYP) and the requirement for 100 
percent proficiency in reading and math under NCLB. The ESSA requires states to 
develop an accountability system that includes: reading and math proficiency for 
all public schools and students and each student subgroup; academic growth or . 
another statewide indicator allowing for "meaningful differentiation" for all 
elementary and middle schools; high school graduation rates; and the progress of 
English learners in achieving English proficiency. States must include at least one 
indicator of school quality or student success and assign weight to each indicator, 
giving more weight to academic factors, in order to identify underperforming 
schools and students. 

NCLB and the ESSA identify the same student subgroups for accountability and 
reporting purposes. However, the ESSA also requires reports on homeless 
students, students with military parents, and students in foster care and, for annual 
state and district report cards, it requires civil rights data, data on teacher 
qualifications and postsecondary enrollment rates, and other data. 

The ESSA requires states to use accountability data to identify schools for 
"comprehensive support and improvement" once every three years. These schools 
must include at least the lowest-performing 5 percent of all Title I schools (high­
poverty schools receiving federal Title I funds to help ahrisk students), public high 
schools where less than two-thirds of students graduate, and schools where one or 
more student subgroups consistently underperform. Districts must collaboratively 
develop a plan to improve school outcomes and may offer intra-district transfers .. 
Schools unable to meet state improvement criteria within four years receive 
additional targeted support and intervention. 

The ESSA eliminates the definition of "highly qualified teacher" under NCLB, 
continues to require that teachers and paraprofessionals working in Title I-funded 
programs meet state certification and licensure criteria, and allows parents of 
students attending a Title I school to request information about their child's 

· educators. States and districts must ensure that poor and minority students enrolled 
in Title I schools are not served by ineffective teachers and must report the 
methods and criteria used to measure teacher and principal effectiveness. 

The ESSA redefines professional development, expands educators' access to it, 
and creates leadership academies. and teacher residency programs. It does not 
require teacher evaluations premised on student outcomes, but instead provides 
competitive state and local grants for performance-based teacher and principal 
compensation systems in high-need schools that must improve student 
achievement. 

The ESSA includes a new block grant to improve conditions for student learning 
and students' use of technology. The program uses a formula to distribute state 
grants and requires states to allocate at least 95 percent of grants to districts. Other 
ESSA funding is available for early childhood education and after-school and other 
activities to support safe and healthy schools and a well-rounded education. 

Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Minnesota's Individual Income Tax 

Minnesota's income tax revenues equaled $10.4 billion in fiscal year 2015, about 
46 percent of state tax collections and 40 percent of all state revenues. 

Minnesota's income tax applies to a base of Minnesota taxable income (MTI). The 
starting point for calculating MTI is federal taxable income (FTI), which is the 
income measure used in determining federal income tax liability. In calculating 
MTI, taxpayers are required to add certain types of income to FTI and allowed to 
subtract other kinds of income. Some of the subtractions are required under 
federal law. For more detail on these adjustments, see the House Research 
publication Minnesota Taxable Income, June 2015. 

Minnesota's income tax is a graduated tax, with four rates: 5.35 percent, 7.05 
percent, 7.85 percent, and 9.85 percent. The rates are applied to income brackets 
that vary by filing status. Married couples filing joint returns are allowed the most 
generous (widest) brackets, followed by head of household filers (single parents 
maintaining a household), unmarried single filers, and married separate filers. 

The table shows the income tax brackets in effect for each rate in tax year 2016 
(brackets for married taxpayers, filing separately, are half the width of the married 
joint brackets): 

Married Joint Sin!!le Head of Household 
5.35% $0 to $36,820 $0 to $25, 180 $0 to $31,010 
7.05% $36,821 to $146,270 $25,181 to $82,740 $31,011 to $124,600 
7.85% $146,271 to $259,420 $82,741 to $155,650 $124,601 to $207,540 
9.85% Over $259,420 Over $155,650 Over $207,540 

A married couple filing a joint return owes income tax equal to 5.35 percent of 
their first $36,820 of taxable income, 7.05 percent of income from $36,821 to 
$146,270, 7.85 percent of taxable income from $146,271 to $259,420, and 9.85 
percent of taxable income over $259,420. The income tax brackets are adjusted 
each year for inflation. 

Minnesota allows taxpayers to claim several credits against tax liability. Credits 
that may be used only to reduce liability, called nonrefundable credits, include the 
following (and the amount claimed most recently): 

• Credit for taxes paid to other states ($233 million in tax year 2014) 
• Marriage credit ($83.3 million in fiscal year 2016) 
• Credit for past military service ($400,000 in fiscal year 2016) 
• Long-term care insurance credit ($8.8 million in fiscal year 2016) 



• Research and development credit ($1 7.4 million in fiscal year 2016) 
• Employer transit pass credit (less than $50,000 in fiscal year 2016) 

·In addition, in tax year 2016 Minnesota allows nine refundable credits, which are 
paid as refunds to taxpayers even if the credit amount is greater than their income 
tax liability (and the amount refunded most recently): 

• Working family (earned income) credit ($260.3 million in fiscal year 2016) 
• Dependent care credit ($14.2 million in fiscal year 2016) 
• K-12 education credit ($13.3 million in fiscal year 2016) 
• Military combat zone credit ($0;8 million in fiscal year 2016) 
• Job opportunity building zone (JOBZ) credit ($2.0 million in fiscal year 

2016) 
• Bovine tuberculosis testing credit (none allowed in fiscal. year 2016; no 

testing required) 
• Enterprise zone credit ($400,000 in fiscal year 2016) 
• Angel investment credit ($15.0 million in fiscal year 2016) 
• Historic structure rehabilitation. credit ($53.5 million in fiscal year 2016) 

o the historic credit is available to both corporate and individual 
taxpayers; to date most claims have come from corporate taxpayers. 

Credit amounts are from the Minnesota Department of Revenue's Tax Expenditwe 
Budget, Fiscal Years 2016-2019, and income tax return processing data. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the House Research publications, Minnesota Taxable Income, June 2015; 
The Minnesota Income Tax Marriage Credit, November 2013; The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care 
Tax Credits, February 2014; The Federal Earned Income Credit and the Minnesota Working Family Credit, 
March 2013; Income Tax Deductions and Credits for Public and Nonpublic Education in Minnesota, 
September 2011; and Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, July 2015. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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The Tribal Law and Order Act and Minnesota 

The Tribal Law and Order Act of 2010 allows reservations in Public Law 280 states, where criminal 
jurisdiction is handled by the state and county prosecutors, to apply for concurrent federal jurisdiction. The 
purpose of the law is to increase the resources available to tribes for the investigation and prosecution of 
crimes in Indian country. 

How does the Tribal The United State Department of Justice has recently accepted requests from two 
Law and Order Act Minnesota tribes providing concurrent federal jurisdiction over crimes on those 
(TLOA) affect reservations. 
Minnesota? 

How does the law 
work? 

Does the TLOA 
change the state's 
criminal 
jurisdiction? 

• The White Earth Band was granted concurrent jurisdiction, which took 
effect on June 1, 2013. 

• The Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe was granted concurrent jurisdiction, and 
the jurisdiction will become effective January 1, 2017. 

The TLOA allows tribes to request concurrent federal jurisdiction over crimes on 
reservations, and once that request has been approved, the federal prosecutor can 
investigate and prosecute crimes on the reservation in the same way those crimes 
are prosecuted on reservations where Public Law 280 does not apply. (See more 
about Public Law 280 below.) 

On the White Earth Reservation and the Mille Lacs Band Reservation, the Major 
Crimes Act and the General Crimes Act will apply. The Major Crimes Act allows 
for federal prosecution of the following crimes: murder, manslaughter, rape, 
assault with intent to kill, arson, burglary, larceny, kidnapping, incest, assault with 
a dangerous weapon, assault resulting in serious bodily injury, assault with intent 
to commit rape, robbery, and felonious sexual molestation of a minor (18 U.S.C. § 
1153). The General Crimes Act includes the general federal criminal laws, including 
many of the same crimes included in the Major Crimes Act (18. U.S.C § 1152). 

After a tribe has had concurrent federal jurisdiction granted, the state's criminal 
jurisdiction will not change, but the federal government will also have jurisdiction 
over the crimes covered by the Major Crimes Act and the General Crimes Act. It is 
important to note that the federal government always has jurisdiction over certain 
crimes that occur anywhere in the United States, including Indian country, 
pursuant federal laws of general applicability such as the Controlled Substances 
Act. 

A federal law passed in 1953, commonly called Public Law 280, gave Minnesota 
criminal jurisdiction over all the reservations located in the state, except the Red 
Lake Reservation. In 1973, Minnesota approved the retrocession of the Bois Forte 
Reservation in northeastern Minnesota from Public Law 280. Other than the Red 



Does the TLOA 
change the tribe's 
criminal 
jurisdiction? 

How is the TLOA 
funded? 

Lake and Bois Forte (Nett Lake) Reservations, all of the other federally recognized 
tribes (http://mn.gov/indianaffairs/tribes.html) in Minnesota are subject to state 
criminal jurisdiction (18 U.S.C. § 1162). 

The TLOA does not change the state's criminal jurisdiction. Tribal members are 
still subject to state and tribal criminal laws. The difference is that on the White 
Earth Reservation and, starting in 2017, on the Mille Lacs Reservation, member,s 
of federally recognized tribes may be subject to federal prosecution for certain 
cnmes. 

The criminal jurisdiction the tribe has over members of federally recognized 
American Indian Tribes did not change under the TLOA. Those tribes still have the 
ability to arrest and prosecute individuals to the extent allowed by the Indian Civil 
Rights Act of 1968, which allows tribes to impose a fine up to $5,000 and up to 
one year in jail. However, the TLOA has now created an opportunity for tribes to 
implement enhanced sentencing powers. 

The TLOA created the potential to enhance criminal sentencing for tribal courts 
when the courts have met certain requirements (25 U.S.C. § 1302(b)). Under 
TLOA, a tribal court must: guarantee the right to defense counsel for indigent 
clients; provide a judge who is licensed to practice law; be a court of record; make 
the tribal criminal code be publicly available; and have rules of evidence and rules 
of criminal procedure (25 U.S.C. § 1302). 

Currently, no Minnesota tribes have the enhanced criminal sentencing authority 
provided for under the TLOA. The National Congress of American Indians has a 
list of tribes that have begun using enhanced sentencing or who are close to 
implementing programs in other states 
(http ://tloa.ncai.org/tribesexercisingTLO A.cfm). 

The TLOA does not change the tribe's criminal jurisdiction over non-Indians. 
Tribes have very limited jurisdiction over non-Indians, however the Violence 
Against Women's Act (VA WA) provides some exceptions. (See the House 
Research publication American Indians, Indian Tribes, and State Government, 
February 2014, for more information.) 

The TLOA provided increased federal funding for a number of programs 
administered by the Department of Justice and other federal agencies, as well as 
funding grants for criminal justice related programs for American Indian Tribes. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mary Mullen at 651-296-9253. Also see the House 
Research publication American Indians, Indian Tribes, and State Government, February 2014. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Motor Vehicle Sales Tax 

The motor vehicle sales tax has become a key transportation funding source following passage of a 2006 
constitutional amendment dedicating its revenue. Fiscal year 2015 revenue totaled $694.3 million, 
distributed 60 percent to state and local highway systems and 40 percent to transit. 

MVST imposition The motor vehicle sales tax, or MYST, is a 6.5 percent tax applied to the sale of 
new and used motor vehicles based on the purchase price. It is imposed instead of 
the state general sales tax. Some older automobiles as well as collector's vehicles 
have flat tax rates instead. Minn. Stat. §§ 297B.02, 297B.025. MYST is collected 
by auto dealers at the time of sale or by registrars when the vehicle is registered (for 
private sales). 

Historical allocations Historically, MYST revenue had been allocated both to the state's general fund and 
to transportation purposes, with periodic changes and suspension in the amount 
provided to transportation. A series of legislative changes from 2000 to 2003 
resulted in increased MVST revenue distributed to roads and transit. (However, the 
modifications essentially served to offset reductions in other funding sources, like 
the general fund, rather than to substantially increase transportation funding.) 
Changes connected to MYST reallocations during this time included: 

The 2006 
constitutional 
amendment 

MVST allocation 

• placing caps on the amount of registration taxes (tab fees) collected on 
motor vehicles (which were subsequently removed in 2008); and 

• eliminatirtg local property taxes as a key funding source for Twin Cities 
metropolitan area transit operations. 

At the 2006 general election, voters approved a constitutional amendment 
dedicating all MYST revenue to transportation purposes. The constitutional 
language established a floor for allocation to transit and a ceiling for allocation to 
roads. It required that: 

• "not less than 40 percent" go to public transit assistance; and 

• "no more than 60 percent" of the revenue go to the Highway User Tax 
Distribution (HUTD) fund, which in tum is constitutionally dedicated to 
state and local highways. Minn. Const. art. XIV,§ 13. 

The amendment also specified a phase-in period for shifting revenue from the 
state's general fund to transportation; this occurred over fiscal years 2008 to 2012. 

Within the constitutional limits, the legislature can by statute set the division 
between highways and transit. Legislation passed in 2007 allocated MYST 
revenue for the phase-in period and after. Minn. Stat. § 297B.09. It was 
temporarily modified in 2009 by shifting additional funds from highways to transit 



Revenue 

Revenue from the 
constitutional 
amendment 

for fiscal years 2010 and 2011 only (which was designed to help offset reductions 
in transit funding from the general fund). 

Since fiscal year 2012 (at completion of the phase-in), revenue is distributed: 

• 60 percent to highways (via the highway user tax distribution fund); and 

• 40 percent to transit, which consists of 36 percent for the Twin Cities 
metropolitan area and 4 percent for Greater Minnesota. 

The following chart summarizes historicalrevenue and distribution. One feature of 
note is that while the phase-in over fiscal years 2008-2012 increased transportation 
funding, the net increase was impacted by reduced MVST collections. 

MVST Revenue History 
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Additional funds for transportation purposes attributable to the MVST 
constitutional amendment (assuming no other changes to the allocation that had 
been in effect) amount to an estimated $1.63 billion over fiscal years 2008 to 2015. 
There has been an equivalent reduction in revenue to the general fund. Attributable 
funding is summarized in the table below. 

Est. Transportation Funding from the Constitutional Amendment 

FY 2008-15 
HUTDfund $969.8 
Metropolitan transit 558.8 
Greater Minnesota transit 101.1 
Total 1,629.7 
Note: Amounts are in millions. 

For more information: See the House Research publications Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Chronology, August 
2009, and Highway Finance, February 2016. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Trunk Highway System 

The trunk highway system is a roughly 12,000-mile network of key interstates and state highways connecting 
communities throughout the state. It is maintained by the Minnesota Department of Transportation 
(MnDOT). The bulk of funding comes from transportation-related taxes and federal aid. Fiscal year 2015 
sources amounted to $1. 74 billion, excluding trunk highway bond proceeds, and are summarized below. 

Highway User Tax Distribution (HUTD) Fund Federal Aid Turnbacks 

Note: amount reflects funds from highway 
user truces for the Trunk Highway Fund only 

$1.168 $498.56 M $21.00 M 

I I I 

Shared Sales Penalties & Fines Charges & Fees Investments Other 
Construction -Equipment -Regulatory fees -Misc revenue 

-lnter-gov't work & -Services -Permits -Corrections 
contractor services -Land ' -Transfers 
to local gov't -Rents 

$38.36 M $11.87 M $4.39 M $5.06 M $4.16 M $3.26 M 

I I I I I I 

Trunk Highway 
Fund 

$1.74 B 

Notes: chart excludes (1) $318.2 million in trunk highway bond proceeds, and (2) HUTD fund revenue tranfered to other funds. 

Funding framework 

Primary funding 
sources 

Trunk highway bonds 

Funding reflects a highway finance framework established in the Minnesota 
Constitution, which includes dedication of funds through transportation-related 
taxes and formula-based allocation of the tax revenues via the highway user tax 
distribution (HUTD) fund. Minn. Const. art. XIV. 

The primary state sources of trunk highway revenue are three highway user taxes: 
a tax on motor fuels, a registration tax on motor vehicles, and a tax on the sale of 
motor vehicles (with a portion of each allocated to trunk highways from the 
highway user tax distribution fund). Federal aid is another significant source. 

Trunk highway bonds are a specialized form of general obligation bonding, 
issued by the state only for construction on the trunk highway system (following 
constitutional limits). Minn. Const. arts. XI, § 5 (e); XIV, § 11. Since bonds 
carry an obligation of future repayment with interest, proceeds from bond 
issuances represent debt rather than additional or "new" revenue. 



Proceeds from bonds sales can nevertheless be viewed as a type of funding 
source. In fiscal year 2015, trunk highway bonding funds totaled $318.2 
million. This amount only represents funds expended in that fiscal year. 
Legislative authorizations to issue bonds are distinct from expenditures and 
generally occur in a prior year. Projects can take place over multiple fiscal years 
following the year of bonding authorization, whereas associated bond proceeds 
expenditures reflect project costs in each year. 

Funding distribution The chart below shows the funding split with bond proceeds included as a source. 

Expenditures 

Distribution of Trunk Highway System Funding 
FY 2015 ($2.06 billion), incl. TH bonding 

Hwy User 
Taxes 
56.1% 

Other 
4.3% 

Debt(TH 
bonds) 
15.4% 

The following summarizes trunk highway expenditures by budget activity. (Note 
that expenditures exceed funding mainly due to use of available fund balance.) 

• Program planning and delivery includes (1) project 
development to prepare a project for construction 
through tasks like scoping, engineering, and 
environmental analysis; (2) construction management, 

Trunk Highway System Expenditures 
FY 2015 ($2.23 billion), incl. TH bonding 

which involves oversight of specific projects; and (3) 
research, development, and system planning. 

• State road construction (SRC) funds specific 
construction projects. Its main components are (1) 
contracts and consultant agreements for actual 
construction work; (2) materials purchasing; and (3) 
right-of-way acquisition. 

Plan I Delivery 

SRC 

O&M 

Agency Services 

Public Safety 

Debt Service 

Other 

0 250 500 750 1,000 1,250 1,500 

$ In millions 

• Operations and maintenance (0 & M) provides for 
maintaining highways through activities like bridge 
and roadway inspections, snowplowing, roadway 
repairs, safety infrastructure upkeep (such as guard 
rails and traffic control device), day-to-day 
preservation, and vehicle fleet maintenance. 

• Agency services includes leadership, finance, 
information technology, and human resources. 

• Debt service is repayment of principal and interest on 
trunk highway bonds (issued in previous years). 

• Public safety primarily funds the State Patrol. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
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What is section 179 
expensing? 

What businesses 
can use section 179 
and what property 
qualifies? 

Section 179 Expensing under the 
Federal and Minnesota Income Tax 

Income tax laws generally require businesses to spread deductions of capital 
expenditures over the useful lives of the purchased property. Section 179 
expensing, which takes its name from a section of the Internal Revenue Code, 
allows businesses to deduct the entire amount of the cost of qualifying property in 
the tax year the property is placed in service, rather than claiming depreciation 
deductions over a number of years. This allows the business to accelerate 
recognition of the expense from future tax years into the present year. The number 
of years over which property would otherwise be depreciated ranges from three to 
15 years, depending on the type of property and its useful life as classified under 
the Internal Revenue Code. 

A business is allowed to use section 179 based on the amount of its qualifying 
capital expenditures in a taxable year. Purchases of most equipment and other 
personal property qualify, including many leasehold improvements liy businesses 
renting their facilities. Improvements to land (real estate) typically do not qualify. 
Businesses making more than $2.5 million in expenditures in a tax year cannot use 
section 179. Other businesses may deduct up $500,000 in expenditures (reduced 
dollar-for-dollar by amounts over $2 million). Congress has changed these dollar 
limits multiple times in recent years, often for temporary periods of time (see table 
below). In 2015, Congress made the $500,000 amount and the $2 million phaseout 
floor permanent, and indexed both for inflation beginning in 2016. 

Year 
2003 

2004 

2006 

2007 

2008 and 
2009 
2010 to 
2014 
2015 

Summary of Federal Section 179 Legislation 
2003-2015 

Maximum 
deduction Phaseout lndexin2 

$25,000, $200,000, Yes for 2004 
increased to increased to and 2005 
$100,0000 $400,000 
No change No change Extended to 

2006 and 2007 
No change No change Extended to 

2008 and 2009 
Increased to Increased to Yes for 2008 to 
$125,000 $500,000 2010 
Increased to Increased to No 
$250,000 $800,000 
Increased to Increased to No 
$500,000 $2 million 
$500,000 $2 million Yes 

Expiration 
2006 

Extended to 
2008 
Extended to 
2010 
2011 

2010 

2014 

None 



What are the 
sectioni79 
expensing 
allowances under 
the Minnesota 
income tax? 

What are the 
federal and state 
allowances? 

What is the recent 
history of section 
179 expensing in . 
Minnesota? 

In 2002 businesses could claim up to $24,000 in section 179 expensing, and this 
phased out for businesses with total expenses from $200,000 to $224,000. The 
$24,000 allowance was scheduled to increase to $25,000 in 2003, but Congress 
temporarily increased the allowance to $100,000. This was the first of a series of 
congressional actions that provided temporary increases in the maximum 
allowance and the "phaseout" limit; Congress also periodically indexed for 
inflation the temporarily increased amounts. 

In tax year 2016, a business may claim up to $25,000 in expensing on its 
Minnesota return. This amount is reduced dollar for dollar. by the cost of property 
placed in service over $200,000, so that a business that places in service more than 
$225,000 in qualifying property is ineligible. 

If a business claims more in section 179 expensing under current federal law than 
it would have been allowed to claim under expired federal law, it must add 80 
percent of the additional amount claimed to Minnesota taxable income on its 
Minnesota return. It is then allowed to subtract one-fifth of the amount added back 
in each of the next five tax years. In that way, the full amount claimed at the 
federal level is ultimately allowed at the state level-20 percent in tax year 2016 
and 16 percent per year in tax years 2017 through 2021. 

Under federal law, the maximum deduction is $500,000 and begins to phase out at 
$2 million in expenditures. Under state law, the maximum deduction is $25,000 
and begins to phase out at $200,000. · 

Section 179 Allowances under Federal and Minnesota Law 
Federal Minnesota 

Tax year Maximum Start of Maximum Start of 
deduction phaseout deduction phaseout 

2002 $24,000 $200,000 $24,000 $200,000 
2003 100,000 400,000 100,000 400,000 
2004 102,000 410,000 102,000 410,000 
2005 105,000 420,000 105,000 420,000 
2006 108,000 430,000 25,000 200,000 
2007 125,000 500,000 25,000 200,000 
2008-2009 250,000 800,000 25,000 200,000 
2010-present 500,000 2,000,000 25,000 200,000 . 

Prior to 2006, Minnesota conformed to federal section 1 79 expensing allowances. 
At that time, businesses could claim the same amount under the Minnesota tax as 
they could under the federal tax. Since then, the legislature has elected not to 
conform to the higher federal section 179 allowances. From 2006 to the present, 
Minnesota allowed the $25,000 section 179 expensing amount in effect before tax 
year 2003, when the federal government first began allowing increased section 179 
expensmg. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
651-296-5057. 
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Nursing Facility Reimbursement 

The Medical Assistance (MA) program reimburses nursing facilities for services provided to low-income 
elderly and disabled persons who meet income and asset limits and other eligibility requirements. The 
Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) administers the MA reimbursement system for nursing 
facilities and establishes the reimbursement rates for each facility. 

What are the 
components of a 
nursing facility's 
reimbursement 
rate? 

How are nursing 
facility payment 
rates determined? 

HowdoesDHS 
control the costs of 
nursing facility 
reimbursement? 

MA reimburses nursing facilities for operating costs, external fixed costs, and 
property costs. 

Operating costs include (1) direct care costs for salaries, wages, and associated 
fringe benefits and payroll taxes of nurses, certified nursing assistants, and other 
health care staff; supplies such as dressings, bandages, water pitchers, soap, and 
syringes; and technology related to the provision of nursing care; (2) other care­
related costs for activities costs, raw food costs, therapy costs, social services 
costs, and other direct care costs for the salaries, wages, and associated fringe 
benefits and payroll taxes of mental health workers, religious personnel, and other 
direct care employees not specified under direct care costs; and (3) other operating 
costs for administrative costs (including property insurance), dietary costs, 
housekeeping costs, laundry costs, and maintenance and plant operation costs. 

External fixed costs includes surcharges and fees; scholarships; planned closure 
rate adjustments; single-bed room incentives; property taxes, assessments, and 
payments in lieu of taxes; employer health insurance costs; quality improvement 
incentives; performance-based incentives; special dietary needs; and Public 
Employee Retirement Act costs. 

Property costs include interest expense and return on equity. 

On January 1, 2016, DHS implemented a new reimbursement system, called the 
value-based reimbursement system. Under the value-based reimbursement system, 
nursing facility operating payment rates are determined based on each facility's 
reported costs. A facility's operating rate reflects the costs it reported in its most 
recent cost report. Due to the timing of the cost reporting cycle, this means that 
there is at least an 18-month lag between when a facility accrues costs and when 
those costs are reflected in the facility's rate. 

The value-based reimbursement system assigns each facility a limit on its total 
care-related costs. This limit is tied to the facility's quality score; facilities with 
higher quality scores are assigned higher limits. DHS does not reimburse facilities 
for direct care or other care-related costs in excess of the facility's limit. 

Additionally, each facility in the state receives the same other operating rate. This 
rate is set at the other operating costs per resident day for the median facility in the 
seven-county metropolitan area. 



Are nursing facility 
rates adjusted for 
inflation? 

Do nursing facility 
rates vary by 
facility? 

What are case-mix 
classifications? 

What methods have 
been used to 
determine payment 
rates in the past? 

What other 
payments do 
nursing facilities 
receive? 

The current value-based reimbursement system does not include an inflationary 
adjustment, but facilities' rates increase over time as their costs increase. Under 
previous reimbursement systems, nursing facility rates were supposed to be 
adjusted annually for inflation. However, from July 1, 1999, through September 
30, 2011, the automatic inflation adjustment was applied only to the property­
related rate. The legislature most recently authorized adjustments to operating 
costs in 2008 and 2013. 

Reimbursement rates are facility- and resident-specific. Rates vary with the 
facility's historical costs, with the amount of care needed by a resident (as 
measured by a case-mix classification), and reflect any statutory facility-specific 
rate adjustments authorized by the legislature. 

Nursing facilities are reimbursed by MA on a resident-per-day basis. The nursing 
home reimbursement levels are adjusted under the Resource Utilization Groups 
(RUG) case-mix system to reflect the varying care needs ofresidents. 

All applicants to nursing facilities are assessed by the Department of Health upon 
admission and at least every 90 days thereafter. Residents are assigned to a case­
mix classification based on the level of their dependence in activities of daily 
living, the severity of their cognitive and/or behavior management needs, and the 
complexity of their nursing needs. Each case-mix classification is assigned a case­
mix weight, with the lowest level of care receiving the lowest weight and the 
highest level of care receiving the highest weight. 

The direct care-related component of a facility's rate is adjusted based upon a 
resident's case mix weight. All other components of a facility's rate are the same 
for all residents in the facility. 

Prior to October 1, 2006, nursing facilities were reimbursed under a cost-based 
system sometimes referred to as "rule 50," where reimbursement to facilities was 
based on their reported costs, subject to various limits. From October 1, 2006, 
through September 30, 2008, all nursing facilities participating in MA were 
reimbursed under the Alternative Payment System (APS), a contract-based system 
where facilities were exempt from certain statutory requirements of the cost-based 
system and reimbursed at the level of their payment rate in effect just prior to 
entering into an APS contract with the commissioner. From October 1, 2008, 
through December 31, 2015, facilities were reimbursed under a blend of APS and 
a "rebased" reimbursement rate. 

Nursing facilities may receive several other payments or rate adjustments 
including: 

• rate adjustments for compensation-related costs due to minimum wage 
changes; 

• rate adjustments for the first 30 days; and 
• rate adjustments for ventilator-dependent persons. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058 or Sean Williams at 
651-296-5053. Also see the House Research publication Nursing Facility Reimbursement and Regulation, 
March 2016. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Major State Aids and Taxes: An Overview of the 2012 Update 

This provides a brief overview of the report Major State Aids and Taxes: A Comparative Analysis, 2012 
Update, which highlights major aids provided to the local governments and people in Minnesota and lists 
the major taxes collected. The per capita amounts were calculated using 2011 population. Some aids are 
presented on a different basis in other settings (e.g., per pupil for education aid); however, in the report 
they are presented on a per capita basis to allow comparison of different aids. 

STATE AIDS 
Program Year Amount (millions) Per Capita 

Education aid 2011/2012 $6,878.0 State $1,281 State 

Aid paid to school districts for all K-12 educational 
(school $3,855.8 Metro $1,325 Metro 
year) $3,022.2 Nonmetro $1,229 Nonmetro 

expenses 

Human services aid 2012 $4,829.8 State $900 State 

State's share of human services aid for various income 
$2,687.3 Metro $924 Metro 

and medical assistance programs 
$2,142.5 Nonmetro $871 Nonmetro 

Highway aid 2012 $690.2 State $129 State 

Distributed to counties, cities, and towns for highway 
$217 .2 Metro $75 Metro 
$472.9 Nonmetro $192 Nonmetro 

purposes 

Local government aid 2012 $425.2 State $79 State 

Provides property tax relief by providing general $133.0 Metro . $46 Metro 

purpose financial support to cities 
$292.3 Nonmetro $119 Nonmetro 

Disparity reduction aid 2012 $18.4 State $3 State 

Provides aid to jurisdictions (counties, towns, and school 
$1.4 Metro - Metro 

districts) that had inordinately high tax rates in 1988 
$17.0 Nonmetro $7Nonmetro 

County program aid 2012 $161.1 State $30 State 

County general purpose aids: includes former homestead 
$67.0 Metro $23 Metro 

and agricultural credit, county criminal justice aid, 
$94.1 Nonmetro $38 Nonmetro 

family preservation aid, and attached machinery aid 

Community corrections funding 2012 $83.9 State $16 State 

Aid that provides a portion of counties' costs for $40.9 Metro $14 Metro 

community correctional services 
$43.1 Nonmetro $18 Nonmetro 

Property tax refund (excludes targeting) 2011 (filed $470.8 State $88 State 

Reimburses hom_eowners and renters for a portion of 
in 2012) $323.2 Metro $111 Metro 

property taxes if those taxes exceed a household income 
$147.6 Nonmetro $60 Nonmetro 

threshold 

Targeting 2011 (filed $3.3 State $1 State 

Additional homeowner property tax refund if property 
in 2012) $0.6 Metro - Metro 

taxes increased a certain percentage threshold over 
$2.7 Nonmetro $1 Nonmetro 

previous year (no income limits) 



MAJOR TAXES 
Year Amount (millions) 

Individual income tax 2011 $7,431.0 Total 

Imposed on income of state residents and income 
(filed in $7,018.5 Residents 

derived from state sources of nonresidents 
2012) $4,659.8 Metro 

$2,358.6 Nonmetro 

Sales and use tax 2012 $5,007.9 (After refunds) 

Imposed on gross receipts of people who sell, lease, or 
$4,192.3 Residents 
$2,685 .3 Metro 

rent tangible personal property at retail at a rate of 6.5 
$1,507.0 Nonmetro 

percent (does not include local sales taxes) 

Motor vehicle sales tax 2012 $578.4 State 

Imposed on new and used motor vehicles at the time of 
$302. 7 Metro 

sale at the same rate of state sales tax 
$275.7 Nonmetro 

Motor vehicle registration tax 2012 $595.5 State 

Imposed annually on vehicles licensed in the state 
$3 21. 7 Metro 
$273.8 Nonmetro 

Motor vehicle fuels tax (gas tax) 2012 $852.3 State 

Imposed on gasoline, diesel fuel, and other motor fuels 
$402.8 Metro 

used by vehicles and on aviation fuels 
$449.5 Nonmetro 

Corporate franchise (income) tax 2012 $943.3 State 

Imposed at a rate of 9.8 percent on the net income of 
$644.6 Metro 

corporations (or alternative minimum tax) 
$298.7 Nonmetro 

State general property tax 2012 $817.4 State 

Imposed on commercial/industrial/public utility 
$525.2 Metro 

property and seasonal recreational property 
$292.2 Nonmetro 

PROPERTY TAX DATA, PAYABLE 2012 

Metro 
51.1% 

Market Value 
Total statewide: $551.0 billion 

Metro 
62.2% 

Net Property Tax 
Total statewide: $8.4* billion 

• Includes state general property tax 

Per capita 

$1,307 State 
$1,602 Metro 
$959 Nonmetro 

$781 State 
$923 Metro 
$613 Nonmetro 

$108 State 
$104 Metro 
$112 Nonmetro 

$111 State 
$111 Metro 
$111 Nonmetro 

$159 State 
$138 Metro 
$183 Nonmetro 

$176 State 
$222 Metro 
$121 Nonmetro 

$152 State 
$181 Metro 
$119 Nonmetro 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. See Major State Aids 
and Taxes: Comparative Analysis, 2012 Update (April 2016) for further details about each aid program and 
tax and data by county and economic development region. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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The K-12 Education Deduction and Credit: An Overview 

What is the K-12 
deduction? 

What expenses 
qualify for the 
deduction? 

What is the K-12 
education credit? 

A state income tax deduction is allowed for K-12 education-related expenses. The 
deduction allows up to $2,500 to be deducted for each dependent in grades 7-12 
and up to $1,625 for each dependent in grades K-6. 

In tax year 2013 (fiscal year 2014) an estimated 216,000 returns claimed the 
deduction. The Department of Revenue estimates that the deduction will reduce 
income tax revenues by $20.0 million in tax year 2016 (fiscal year 2017). 

Qualifying expenses for the deduction include payments for: 
• tuition, including nonpublic school, after-school enrichment, academic 

summer camps, music lessons, and tutoring; 
• textbooks, including instructional materials and supplies, musical 

instrument rental and purchase, and up to $200 of computer hardware and 
educational software; and 

• transportation (paid to others for transporting children to school). 

A state income tax credit is allowed for 75 percent ofK-12 education-related 
expenses. The credit is for up to $1, 000 for each child in grades K-12, with parents 
allowed to allocate expenses among children as they choose. The credit begins to 
phase out when income exceeds $33,500. For families claiming the credit for one 
or two children, it is fully phased out when income reaches $37,500. The phaseout 
extends for an additional $2,000 of income for each additional child claimed (i.e., 
to $39,500 for three children, $41,500 for four children, etc.). 

In tax year 2013, 5 3, 713 Minnesota returns claimed a total of $14. 6 million in K-
12 education credits. The average credit was $272. In tax year 2016 (fiscal year 
2017), the Department of Revenue estimates that Minnesota will claim $13 .1 
million in K-12 education credits. 

What expenses The same expenses qualify for the credit as for the deduction, except payment of 
qualify for the credit? nonpublic school tuition does not qualify for the credit. 

What are the tax 
benefits of the 
deduction and 
credit? 

The deduction reduces an individual's taxable income. The tax benefit of the 
deduction depends on the taxpayer's marginal tax rate and the total amount 
deducted. Minnesota has four marginal tax rates: 5.35, 7.05, 7.85, and 9.85 
percent. A taxpayer in the 5.35 percent bracket who claims a $2,500 deduction 
will pay $133.75 less in state income taxes (5.35% x $2,500). A taxpayer in the 
9.85 percent bracket with the same deduction will pay $246.25 less in taxes. A 
taxpayer with too little income to have tax liability will not benefit from the 
deduction. In tax year 2016, a typical married couple with two dependents would 
need to have $28,800 of gross income before owing any state income tax. 



Can parents obtain 
loans to pay for 
educational services 
that qualify for the 
credit? 

How do taxpayers 
claim the deduction 
and credit? 

Has the 
constitutionality of 
Minnesota's credit 
and deduction been 
challenged in 
court? 

The credit, in contrast, directly reduces tax liability and is fully refundable. If an 
individual's credit exceeds his or her liability, the excess is paid as a refund. 

Parents may assign payment of the credit to participating financial institutions and 
tax-exempt foundations. In exchange, parents receive a loan that is paid directly to 
a third-party provider of educational services and programs. This allows very low­
income families to purchase educational products and services in anticipation of 
receiving a credit when they file their tax return the following year, with the credit 
paid directly to the financial institution or foundation that accepted the assignment. 

Taxpayers claim the deduction on form M-lM, income additions and subtractions. 
Taxpayers claiming the credit must complete form MlED and attach it to their 
state tax return. 

The constitutionality of state income tax benefits for education expenses have 
regularly been challenged in court under the First Amendment and the education 
clauses of state constitutions. 

The Minnesota dependent education deduction was upheld by the U.S. Supreme 
Court in a 1983 decision, Mueller v. Allen. An earlier Minnesota tax credit that 
applied to private school tuition was invalidated by the Minnesota Supreme Court 
in 1974. 

Minnesota's current K-12 education credit has not been subject to legal challenge. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the House Research publication Income. Tax Deductions and Credits for 
Public and Nonpublic Education in Minnesota, September 2011. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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State Agency Head Salaries 

The governor proposes salaries for most state executive branch agency heads, 
within limits set in law. For most agency heads, the limit is 133 percent of the 
governor's salary, to be adjusted for inflation each January. For several, the limit 
is 120 percent of the governor's salary, to be adjusted for inflation each January. 
Minn. Stat. § 15A.0815, subds. 2 and 3. Changes that the governor proposes in 
individual agency head salaries are subject to legislative approval. A 
subcommittee established by the Legislative Coordinating Commission may 
approve changes in these salaries during legislative interims, subject to final 
approval by the full legislature. 

The salary limit for most agency heads is $169,747 (133 percent of the governor's 
salary of $127,629). As indicated in the table on the following page, none of the 
agency head salaries currently is close to the limit. Current annual salaries range 
from about $120,000 to $155,000. 

The legislature changed this system in 2013 and in 2015. Before the 2013 
changes, agency head salaries were limited to 95 percent (or in several cases 85 
percent) of the governor's salary. In 2013 the legislature removed the requirement 
for legislative approval of individual agency head salaries within the salary limits, 
but the requirement for legislative approval was reinstated in 2015. 

there is a different process for setting salaries for heads of the statewide public 
pension funds, the lottery director, and the executive director of the State Board of 
Investment. 

• For directors of the three statewide public pension funds, the governing 
board of the applicable pension system sets the salary, within the statutory 
limit of 133 percent of the governor's salary. Minn. Stat.§§ 352.03, subd. 
5; 353.03, subd. 3a; and 354.06, subd. 2. 

• The lottery director salary is set in statute at 95 percent of the governor's 
salary. Minn. Stat. § 349A.02, subd. 1. 

• The salary for the executive director of the State Board of Investment is set 
by the board, under a compensation plan approved by the Subcommittee on 
Employee Relations of the Legislative Coordinating Commission and the full 
legislature. Minn. Stat.§§ llA.04, cl. (14), and43A.18, subd. 3b. 



Agency head 
salaries vary 

The following table lists the salaries for agency heads who are subject to the salary 
limits specified in statute. Most of the cabinet agency salaries were last increased 
by the governor on July 1, 2015, under a special provision that authorized these 
increases, without legislative approval, on that date only. 

Administration 
Agriculture 
Commerce 
Corrections 
Education 
Employment and Economic Development 
Health 
Office of Hi her Education 
Housing Finance Agency 
Human Ri hts 
Human Services 
Iron Ran e Resources and Rehabilitation 
Labor and Industry 
Mana ement and Bud et 
Mediation Services 
Natural Resources 
Pollution Control A ency 
Public Safety 
Revenue 
Trans ortation 
Veterans Affairs 

Gambling Control Board 

Metro olitan Council, Chair 
Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental 

Disabilities 
Pari-mutuel Racin 
Public Utilities Commission 
Minnesota State Retirement S stem 
Public Em lo ees Retirement Association 
School Trust Lands 
Teachers Retirement Association 

$144,991 
144,991 
144,991 
150,002 
150,002 
150,002 
150,002 
144,991 
144,991 
144,991 
154,992 
140,000 
144,991 
154,992 
140,000 
154,992 
150,002 
154,992 
154,992 
154,992 
144,991 

$119,997 
30,000 

144,991 

119,997 
115,998 
140,000 
144,991 
144,991 
125,009 
144,991 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051. Also see the House 
Research publication State Elected Officials' Compensation, January 2016. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, legal, 
and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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County State-Aid Highway System 

The county state-aid highway system is a network of key highways under the 
jurisdiction of Minnesota's counties. It covers roughly 30,700 miles of roadway 
throughout all counties, composing over two-thirds of county highway miles. 
Counties receive formula-based state money to assist in the construction, 
improvement, and maintenance of highways included in the state-aid system. 

Aid is provided through the County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) fund, which is 
established by the Minnesota Constitution. Revenue mainly comes from a share of 
taxes on motor fuels, vehicle registration, vehicle sales, and vehicle leases. 

Money in the CSAH fund is administered by the Minnesota Department of 
Transportation (MnDOT). Based on a combination of tax receipts and future 
estimates, aid apportionments are released each January with distribution on a 
calendar-year basis. MnDOT also adopts administrative rules governing the 
program, although road project prioritization and project management are under 
the purview of each county. 

Among the requirements of the aid, counties typically expend 60 percent on 
construction projects and 40 percent on maintenance efforts. Minn. Rules, part 
8820.1400. Counties must also expend a share of aid on stretches of state-aid 
highways located within "small cities" having a population under 5,000, generally 
in amounts proportional to the share of construction needs of those county state­
aid highway segments located in the small cities. Minn. Stat. § 162.08, subd. 1. 

Total funding is $656.9 million in calendar year 2016 and is allocated as follows. 

• Following statutory requirements, $18.0 million in net deductions 
are set aside for county highway purposes, consisting of: (1) 

CSAH Funding Breakdown 
CY 2016 ($656.9 million) 

MnDOT administrative costs, (2) a disaster account, (3) a research 
account, and (4) a state park roads account. Minn. Stat. § 162.06. 

• A portion of revenue from the motor vehicle lease sales tax 
(MVLST) is allocated to Twin Cities metropolitan area counties­
excluding Hennepin and Ramsey. The distribution is formula­
based, in proportion to the population of each county (which is 
distinct from direct aid, discussed below). Minn. Stat.§ 297A.815. 
Funds in calendar year 2016 amount to nearly $30.7 million. 

Deduct. 
2.7% 

MVLST 

Flex. 
8.3% 

• $54. 7 million from a "set-aside" in the flexible highway account 
is provided for county road turnbacks (generally, trunk highway 
segments that are improved and turned over to become part of the 
county state-aid highway system). Minn. Stat. § 161.081. 

• Direct aid in calendar year 2016 is $553.5 million. It is divided 
into two categories (or distribution among the counties by formula: 
the apportionment sum and the excess sum. 



Apportionment and 
excess sum 

Apportionment sum 
formula 

Excess sum formula 

Aid amounts 
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Direct aid to counties had been allocated under one formula until 2008, when the 
excess sum was created as a second component with a separate but similar 
statutory distribution formula. The excess sum was calculated in a manner 
essentially designed to handle increased funding for transportation due to finance 
changes made in 2006 to 2008 (so that the additional funding was largely allocated 
through the excess sum formula). Legislation in 2015 eliminated the calculation 
methodology used to identify excess sum revenue, replacing it with straight 
percentages. Laws 2015, ch. 75, art. 2, § 12. 

Starting with calendar year 2016, direct aid dollars are provided 68 percent 
through the apportionment sum formula, and 32 percent through the excess sum 
formula. Minn. Stat. § 162.07. 

The formula to distribute the apportionment sum among counties is as follows: 

• 10 percent of the apportionment sum is divided equally 

• 10 percent is proportional based on the number of motor vehicles registered 
in each county (compared to the total for all counties) 

• 30 percent is proportional based on a county's state aid lane-miles 

• 50 percent is proportional based on construction needs for each county, the 
calculation of which is structured to enable comparison across the counties 
(and does not identify total costs to bring county state~aid highways up to 
state standards). Needs calculations submitted by counties are reviewed by 
a screening board composed of county engineers. Minn. Stat.§ 162.07. 

The excess sum is also distributed by formula: 

• 60 percent is in proportion to each county's share of construction needs 

• 40 percent of funds are allocated in proportion to each county's share of the 
total number of motor vehicles registered. Minn. Stat.§ 162.07 . 

. The chart below summarizes distributed aid (that is, excluding deductions) by 
calendar year. 

2008 2009 

County State Aid History 
CY 2007-16 

2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 

Bl Apport. •Excess o Flex. • MVLST 

For more information: See the House Research publication Highway Finance, February 2016. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Municipal State-Aid Street System 

Some cities receive assistance from the state for construction and maintenance of streets that are part of the 
municipal state-aid street system. The aid is funded via a portion of transportation-related taxes and is 
distributed following a statutory formula. Apportioned calendar year 2016 aid is $173.6 million. 

System overview 

Constitutional 
framework for aid 

Eligibility based on 
population 

Other assistance to 
ineligible cities 

Program 
administration 

The municipal state-aid street (MSAS) system is a collection of key streets located 
in 148 Minnesota cities. They comprise many of the higher traffic volume and key 
connecting roads in each city. At roughly 3,700 miles, state-aid streets constitute a 
little under a quarter of all miles of city streets. There are restrictions on the size of 
the MSAS system within each city. Minn. Stat.§ 162.09. 

The Minnesota Constitution establishes a basic framework for state highway 
finance. Among its features, the constitution dedicates specific transportation­
related taxes to transportation purposes; allocates tax revenues by formula among 
state, county, and municipal roads; and creates a MSAS fund for financial 
assistance to cities. Minn. Const. art. XIV. 

The constitution requires that a city has a population over 5,000 to qualify for 
MSAS aid. Minn. Const. art. XIV,§ 8. Population is determined by the last 
federal decennial census or most recent estimates. However, statutory provisions 
allow some cities whose populations drop below 5,000 to receive. aid, including: 

• an ex;ception for Chisholm, whose popufation fell below the cutoff with the 
2000 census but is permanently grandf~thered in; and 

• a transition period that provides continuation of aid to a city that had been 
receiving assistance but whose population dropped below the cutoff in a 
decennial census (for this·decade, 2015 was the last transition year under 
the provision). Minn. Stat.§ 162.09, subd. 4 (f); Laws 2001, 1st spec. 
sess., ch. 8, art. 2, § 6; Laws 2002, ch. 364, § 29. 

While cities having a population under 5,000 are not eligible for MSAS funds, in 
2015 the legislature established a small cities assistance program (funded at $12.5 
million in fiscal year 2016, with no allocation in 2017). Minn. Stat. § 162.145. 
Also, such smaller cities are indirectly assisted through state aid to counties: a 
share of state funds for the county state-aid highway system must be allocated to a 
municipal account for use on those county state-aid highways located within 
smaller cities. Minn. Stat. § 162.08, subd. 1. · 

The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) administers the state-aid 
program. MnDOT determines amounts annually based on a combination of tax 
receipts and future estimates. Aid apportionment amounts are released each 
January and distributed on a calendar-year basis. 



MnDOT also adopts administrative rules governing the program, which cover 
topics such as minimum roadway design and engineering standards, design 
variance procedures, apportionment between construction and maintenance, and 
contract and bidding requirements. Minn. Rules, ch. 8820. While the department 
oversees aid distribution and provides technical assistance, both prioritization of 
road projects and their development are under the purview of each city. 

Allocation of funds MSAS funds are allocated as aid and for related purposes (such as administrative 
costs) based on multiple formulas in state law. Calendar year 2016 funding is 
$177.4 million, but a cap on the amount held in a disaster account yielded about 
$612,000 in additional funds. Allocations consist of: 

Aid apportionment 
formula 

• $173.6 million apportioned by formula as direct aid to cities; 

• $3.5 million for MnDOT agency expenses; and 

• $854,000toaresearchaccount. Minn. Stat.§§ 162.12, 162.13. 

Money in the MSAS fund apportioned to cities as direct aid follows a formula 
created in state statute, so that: 

• 50 percent is divided proportionally based on the population of each city 
(compared to the total for all municipal state-aid cities); and 

• 50 percent is divided proportionally based on construction needs for each 
city. Minn. Stat.§ 162.13. 

The needs calculation under the formula is structured to enable comparison across 
the cities (and does not identify total costs to bring municipal state-aid streets up to 
state standards). Calculations submitted by cities are reviewed by a screening 
board composed of city engineers. 

Distribution to cities Calendar year 2016 direct aid ranged from about $178,000 to just over $15.9 
million (or $29 to $87 on a per capita basis). The average per city was just under 
$1.2 million, with 47 cities receiving less than $500,000 .each and 20 cities 
receiving over $2 million. Because of the weight of population in the aid formula, 
larger cities tend to receive greater shares of the aid. 
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MSAS Direct Aid History 
CY2007-16 

2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 

For more information: See the House Research publications Highway Finance, February 2016, and Small 
Cities Assistance, September 2015. 
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Laws Governing Student Behavior 

Laws on student behavior require districts and schools to adopt policies and rules 
on attendance, bullying and hazing, discipline and removing students from class, 
sexual, religious, arid racial harassment and violence prevention, and school 
lockers. These laws may sometimes lead to students being suspended, excluded, or 
expelled from school under the Pupil Fair Dismissal Act. 

All children between ages 7 and 17 must attend a school unless they have 
graduated. School districts may require students to attend summer school. An 
elementary student absent three school days without a valid excuse and a 
secondary student absent three or more class periods on three school days without 
a valid excuse is a "continuing truant." An elementary student absent seven school 
days without a lawful excuse and a secondary student under age 1 7 absent one or 
more class periods on seven school days without a lawful excuse is a "habitual 
truant." A student age 16 or older who is eligible for the graduation incentives 
program and meets certain other criteria may be referred to an area learning center 
if the referral is in the student's best interest. 

Districts and schools must have policies to prevent student bullying and hazing. 
The bullying policy must help detect behavioral problems early and prevent 
students' inappropriate behavior from recurring, and prohibit a student from 
bullying another student. Nonpublic and home school students who voluntarily 
participate in a co-curricular, extracurricular, or other public school activity are 
subject to the anti-bullying policy while they participate in the activity. The hazing 
policy must address student and staff hazing on and off school property and during 
and after school hours, and include appropriate disciplinary consequences. 

School boards must develop and adopt written rules on students' classroom 
conduct, the minimum consequences for violating such rules, and the grounds and 
procedures for removing students from class. In developing policies school boards 
must consult with administrators, teachers, other district employees, students, 
parents, community members, law enforcement agencies, county attorneys, social 
service agencies, and others as appropriate. A teacher, principal, or other district 
employee may prohibit a student from attending a class or activity for up to five 
school days. School officials must notify and meet with the parent of a student 
removed from class more than ten times in one school year. 

Grounds for removing a student from class include: willful conduct that 
significantly disrupts the rights of others to an education; willful conduct that 
endangers others or school property; and a willful violation of a specified, board­
adopted rules of conduct. A board's policy on removal from class must address: 
notice about the policy and rules; grounds for removal; the authority of school 
personnel to remove a student; the period for removing a student, which must not 
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exceed five class periods over five school days; custodial responsibility for a 
removed student; returning a removed student to class; notice to the student and 
parent about the student's misconduct and discipline; procedures for detecting a 
student's behavioral problems and involving parents in early intervention efforts; 
appropriate referrals for special education services; procedures to detect and 
address a student's chemical abuse at school; consequences for violating the 
policy; intervention procedures; use of reasonable force by a district employee or 
agent; and crisis services coordinated with a county board. 

Federal and state special education laws affect how schools discipline students 
with disabilities. Procedures such as corporal punishment are prohibited. 
Conditional, restrictive procedures such as holding down or secluding a student are 
permitted in an emergency as part of an individualized education program (IEP) or 
with a parent's consent, but only if the school meets certain professional oversight 
and training requirements. 

Schools may subject students to in-school suspensions if the student continues to 
receive the same special education services. Schools must hold an IEP meeting for 
students suspended from school for five or more consecutive days or for more than 
ten cumulative days in a school year. A school may place a student in an 
alternative education setting only with the permission of a hearing officer. Schools 
cannot exclude or expel a student for behavior related to the student's disability. 
Schools may discipline a student with disabilities like any other student for 
behavior unrelated to the student's disability. 

School boards must adopt a written sexual, religious, and racial harassment and 
violence policy consistent with Minnesota's Human Rights Act. The policy must 
apply to students and school personnel and establish disciplinary actions for 
violating the policy that conform to collective bargaining agreements and the Pupil 
Fair Dismissal Ad School boards must include the policy in the student handbook 
on school policies and develop a process for discussing the policy with students. 

School boards must include information about the school locker policy in the 
student handbook, notify parents, and give students a copy of the policy when first 
assigning them to a locker, which remains district property. Under the policy, 
school officials may inspect the inside of a student's locker for any reason without 
notice or student consent, but must not search a student's personal possessions 
unless the official reasonably suspects the search will uncover evidence of a 
violation of a law or school rule. 

Teachers who know or have reason to believe a student is using, possessing, or 
transferring alcohol or a controlled substance while on school premises or involved 
in a school-related activity must immediately notify the school's chemical abuse 
pre-assessment team. Teachers and other school employees may report to a law 
enforcement agency any violation of law occurring on school premises or at 
school-sponsored activities. · 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. Also see the House 
Research publications The Pupil Fair Dismissal Act, August 2016, and School Resource Officers (SROs), 
December 2015. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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The Pupil Fair Dismissal Act 

The Pupil Fair Dismissal Act includes the policies, grounds, and procedures for 
dismissing students from public schools (Minn. Stat. §§ 121A.40-121A.56). 
Dismissals occur when: 

• a school administrator suspends a student from school for between one and 
ten school days; 

• a school board excludes a student from school for some or all of the 
remaining school year; or 

• a school board expels a student from school for up to one calendar year. 

Grounds for all dis.missals include: willfully violating a reasonable school board 
regulation; willful conduct that significantly disrupts others, officials' ability to 
perform their duties, or extracurricular activities; or willful conduct that endangers 
others or school property. If a student is dismissed more than ten days in a.school 
year, a district. must try to meet with the student and parent to determine whether 
the student needs a mental health screening or other services. Corporal punishment 
is prohibited. Dismissals do not include removing students from class, 

A local school discipline policy must: emphasize detecting behavioral problems 
early and preventing inappropriate behavior from recurring; recognize a school's 
ongoing responsibility to educate a dismissed student; and provide alternative 
education services where appropriate to help a student meet high school graduation 
standards. Schools must try to provide alternative educational services before 
dismissing a student unless the student is dangerous. An area learning center 
cannot refuse to enroll a student solely because the student is dismissed. 

Under a school board's rules and grounds for suspensions, an administrator: must 
not impose consecutive suspensions for the same misconduct unless an exception 
applies; must hold an informal conference to explain the grounds and evidence; 
may allow the student to explain, before suspending the student, unless the student 
is dangerous; must give the student written notice of the grounds, facts, and 
suspension policy and must notify the parent as soon as possible within 48 hours of 
suspending the student; and may develop a readmission plan for the suspended 
student that includes alternative educational services. An administrator may 
suspend a student pending a school board decision in an expulsion or exclusion 
hearing; the student must be given alternative education services if this Sl!-Spension 
lasts more than five school days. 

A school board may exclude or expel a student only after holding a formal hearing 
conducted by an impartial official unless the student and parent waive the hearing. 
Hearing procedures require: written notice to the student and parent about the 
intended action; a hearing within ten days unless the hearing official grants an 
extension of up to five days; a hearing at a convenient time and place; an impartial 
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hearing official; a hearing record; student access to the student's records; the 
student's right to compel school officials to testify, to present evidence and 
testimony, and to refuse to testify; a hearing official's recommendation based on 
the evidence and made to the school board within two days; and a decision by the 
school board at a public meeting, where parties may comment, within five days. 
A school board or a student may appeal to the education commissioner, whose 
decision is subject to judicial review. An administrator must develop a readmission 
plan for an excluded or expelled student. 

A student with a disability may be suspended. If the student is suspended for more 
than five consecutive school days or ten cumulative school days in one school 
year, and a change of placement is not recommended, the student's individualized 
education program (IEP) team must meet within ten days to determine the services 
and setting needed to realize the student's educational goals. 

A district must have a policy on appropriately using peace officers and crisis teams 
to remove a disabled student from a classroom, school building, or school grounds. If 
a peace officer removes a disabled student twice in a 30-day period, the student's IEP 
team must determine whether the IEP is adequate or additional evaluation is needed. 

A disabled student suspended for more than five consecutive school days is 
entitled to alternative educational services. Before an administrator expels or 
excludes a disabled student, the student's IEP team and the parent must determine 
if the student's conduct is a manifestation of the student's disability or results from 
the school not implementing the student's IEP. Schools must meet prescribed 
statutory standards when using restrictive procedures to restrain or remove a 
disabled student. A disabled student who is excluded or expelled continues to 
receive special education and related services. 

A school board must expel for at least one year a student who brings a firearm to 
school unlawfully, except the board may modify this requirement on a case-by­
case basis. A district may disclose information about the expulsion to a possibly­
enrolling district. Consistent with the federal Gun-Free Schools Act and the local 
school board policy, a school official, as appropriate, and as soon as practicable, 
must refer to the criminal justice or juvenile delinquency system a student who 
brings a firearm to school unlawfully. 

Students must not possess a dangerous weapon on school property or a school bus 
carrying students unless an exception applies. A student who violates this 
prohibition may be guilty of a felony or misdemeanor and imprisoned or fined. A 
law enforcement agency must notify school officials when a student, based on 
probable cause, is believed to have committed, or is adjudicated delinquent for, an 
offence involving using or possessing a dangerous weapon. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. Also see the House 
Research publication Laws Governing Student Behavior, August 2016, and School Resource Officers 
(SROs), December 2015. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Property Tax 101: Who Pays Property Taxes and 
Who Receives Them 

Where property 
taxes come from 

Total property taxes statewide were $9,288 million for calendar year 2016. The 
total amount of property value (excluding the value of exempt property) was 
$641,590 million. The graphs below show the breakdown of the state's total 
market value and total property taxes paid by property type. The differences 
between the shares of property value and the shares of tax paid result mainly from 
the state's classified property tax structure, but also from various property tax 
credit programs, the application of the state general levy and certain voter­
approved levies to some property types but not others, and variations in local rates. 

Statewide Shares of Market Value and Property Tax 
by Property Type 

(Taxes Payable 2016) 

Market Value Property Tax 

Residential Homestead 46.8% Residential Homestead 41.3% 

Residential Nonhomestead 7.0% Residential Nonhomestead 7.2% 

Apartment 14.4% Apartment 15.3% 

Commercial/Industrial 12.1% Commercial/Industrial 30.3% 

Public Utility ; 2.1% Public Utility 1.4.5% 

Agricultural 23:4% Agricultural 8.5% 

Seasonal Recreational 4.2% Seasonal Recreational 12.9% 

Total: $641,590 million Total: $9,288 million 



Where property 
taxes go 

The total property tax burden in Minnesota was $9,288 million for calendar year 
2016. The pie chart below shows the distribution of the tax among the various 
types of taxing jurisdictions. 

Statewide Property Tax by Type of Government,* 
Taxes Payable 2016 

(Total: $9,288 million) 

TIF 
2.5% 

City 25.4% 
(includes tax increment 
financing [TIF]) 

*Amounts shown are after allocation of property tax credits. 

Special Taxing District 
3.8% 

Town 2.5% 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze (steve.hinze@house.mn). 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Governing Higher Education in Minnesota: 
Public Postsecondary Systems and Agencies 

Minnesota has 
two public 
postsecondary 
systems and one 
state agency dealing 
with postsecondary 
education 

Minnesota has two public postsecondary systems: Minnesota State Colleges and 
Universities and the University of Minnesota. 

• The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) system has 
seven four-year universities and 25 two-year colleges located throughout 
Minnesota. MnSCU institutions provide occupational, general, 
baccalaureate, and graduate education, including certain applied doctoral 
degrees. The MnSCU system office-the office of the chancellor-is in St. 
Paul. 

• The University of Minnesota is a major research institution with five 
campuses providing undergraduate, graduate, and professional education 
and research and outreach centers throughout Minnesota. The main campus 
and central administration are in the Twin Cities. 

The Minnesota Office of Higher Education (OHE) is a state agency responsible 
for postsecondary financial aid and other assistance programs, data and 
information, and registration and licensing of private postsecondary institutions. 
The OHE is the successor to the Higher Education Services Office. 

MnSCU is governed Minnesota Law. MnSCU is established in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 136F. In 
by state law and a 1991, the legislature created MnSCU through the merger of the state universities, 
board of trustees community colleges, and technical colleges. Minnesota Statutes: 

• establish a 15-member board of trustees to govern MnSCU; 
• specify the board's powers to manage MnSCU, its assets, and its 

institutions; 
• designate the specific colleges and universities in the MnSCU system; 
• require legislation to create any new MnSCU institution or location; 
• authorize the colleges and universities to operate specific enterprises; and 
• require the board to recognize statewide student associations. 

Board of Trustees. Under state law, the governor appoints 15 trustees with the 
advice and consent of the Senate. Eight members of the board must reside in the 
state's eight congressional districts, one in each district. Three members must be 
MnSCU students and one member must represent labor. Student trustees serve 
two-year terms; other trustees serve staggered six-year terms. Except for the 
student and labor trustees, trustee candidates are recruited and screened by the 
Trustee Advisory Council, established in state law. All recommendations on 
trustee appointments are made to the governor. 
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Minnesota Statutes give the board of trustees all the power necessary to govern 
MnSCU, unless otherwise directed or prohibited in law. The board is responsible 
for appointing a chancellor with the authority to perform duties the board 
delegates. Minnesota law can put conditions on state appropriations for MnSCU. 

University Charter, Minnesota Constitution. The territorial legislature 
established the University of Minnesota in 1851, governed by a 12-member board 
of regents. The Minnesota Constitution incorporates the university charter by 
continuing all of the "rights, immunities, franchises and endowments" previously 
conferred to the university. 

Board of Regents. The constitution requires the legislature to elect 12 regents to 
staggered six-year terms. The governor may appoint a regent to fill a vacancy who 
serves until the legislature elects a replacement. Regent candidates are recruited 
and screened by the Regent Advisory Council established in state law. The council 
makes its recommendations to a joint legislative committee, also established in 
law, consisting of members of legislative committees with jurisdiction over higher 
education. The regents have the power to manage the university and all its 
campuses and facilities. Under the university charter, the board has responsibility 
for selecting the university president. 

Minnesota Law. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 137, requires eight of the elected 
regents to reside in the state's eight congressional districts, one in each district. 
One at-large regent must be a student when elected. This chapter specifically 
provides authority for the regents to exercise eminent domain, accept federal 
money, control the permanent university fund, and establish a branch campus in 
Rochester. State law prohibits the regents from allowing expenditures for a 
purpose beyond the amount appropriated. State law also may put conditions on the 
university appropriations, if the conditions don't violate the university's 
constitutional autonomy. 

Minnesota Law. The OHE is established in chapter 136A of Minnesota Statutes. 
Since 2004, the office has been under the administrative control of a director 
appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. 

Advisory Councils. OHE has a statutory Student Advisory Council (SAC), made 
up of student representatives of public and private postsecondary student 
associations. SAC reports quarterly to the commissioner of higher education and 
may make recommendations, as appropriate. Prior to 2013, OHE was advised by a 
separate advisory group, the Higher Education Advisory Council (HEAC). The 
2013 Legislature repealed that council but retained the Student Advisory Council. 

Director. The director of OHE serves at the pleasure of the governor and has 
administrative control over the office. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Sean Williams at 651-296-5053. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Survey of State and Local Gasoline Taxes 

This short subject shows state and local gasoline taxes in each state as of July 1, 2016. Because of the 
intenelationship in some states between per-gallon gasoline taxes and gasoline sales taxes, and between state 
and local gasoline taxes, a compilation of all such taxes is necessary to reflect each state's total tax burden. 
While all states impose per-gallon taxes, seven states also impose sales taxes (which fluctuate based on 
price), and 13 states allow local gas or sales taxes to be imposed. Minnesota's total tax burden on gasoline, 
which includes the 28.5-cent per-gallon excise tax and 0.1-cent inspection fee, places it 22nct highest based on 
state taxes and 25th highest based on total state and local taxes. (The 2-cent per-gallon Petrofund cleanup fee 
did not apply on July 1, 2016; this fee is imposed periodically based on the balance in the fund.) 

Gasoline taxes 
include state and 
local taxes 

The columns in the table below represent the following: 
• State excise tax: Per-gallon tax on gasoline imposed at the state level 
• State sales tax: State retail sales tax applied to gasoline; in some states, the 

sales tax rate is prefigured and prepaid at the wholesale level rather than 
being calculated and paid at the pump 

• Other state tax/fee: Leaking underground storage fees, inspection fees, 
various environmental fees; in some states, including Minnesota, these are 
"blink-on" taxes that are imposed whenever a specified fund reaches a 
certain level; the table applies these fees, if they applied on July 1, 2016 

• Total state taxes: Combined per-gallon tax, sales tax, other state taxes and 
fees 

• Local excise tax: Locally imposed per-gallon taxes in the largest city in the 
state 

• Local sales tax: Local retail sales taxes that apply to gasoline in the largest 
city in the state 

• Total local tax: Combined local gas taxes and sales taxes 
• Total tax: Combined state and local taxes 

For price-based taxes, U.S. Energy Information Administration price data for the 
week of July 4, 2016, was used for the applicable region, state, or city. This price 
was adjusted in those states that impose a sales tax on gasoline, but excludes state 
or federal per-gallon taxes from the taxable price. 

Total State and Local Taxes on Gasoline as of July 1, 2016 
State State Other Total Local Local Total Total State 

Excise Sales State State State Excise Sales Local and Local 
Tax Tax Tax/Fee Tax Rank Tax Tax Tax Tax 

Alabama $0.160 $0.030 $0.190 40 $0.010 $0.010 $0.200 
Alaska 0.080 0.010 0.090 50 0.090 
Arizona 0.180 0.010 0.190 40 0.190 
Arkansas 0.215 0.003 0.218 36 0.218 
California 0.278 0.068 0.072 0.418 3 0.046 0.046 0.464 

Total 
Taxes 
Rank 

41 
50 
43 
37 
6 



State State Other Total Local Local Total Total State Total 
Excise Sales State State State Excise Sales Local and Local Taxes 

Tax Tax Tax/Fee Tax Rank Tax Tax Tax Tax Rank 
Colorado 0.220 0.220 35 0.220 36 
Connecticut 0.250 0.133 0.383 4 0.383 8 
Delaware 0.230 0.019 0.249 30 0.249 32 
Florida 0.040 0.133 0.001 0.174 44 0.134 0.134 0.308 20 
Georgia 0.260 0.260 27 0.073 0.073 0.333 12 
Hawaii 0.160 0.103 0.054 0.317 16 0.165 0.013 0.178 0.494 3 
Idaho 0.320 0.010 0.330 12 0.330 15 
Illinois 0.190 0.130 0.011 0.331 10 0.110 0.070 0.180 0.511 2 

. . ~ . ~ .. .... .......... ..... -- .. ' (\ ., ., 1 1 A 1nu1i:J.ni:1 V.lOV v. l 'T 1 V.VlV u ......... .1. .. "'•-'-'.L -
Iowa 0.307 0.010 0.317 15 0.317 19 
Kansas 0.240 0.010 0.250 29 0.250 31 
Kentucky 0.246 0.014 0.260 27 0.260 30 
Louisiana 0.200 0:001 0.201 38 0.201 40 
Maine 0.300 0.300 20 0.300 24 
Maryland 0.335 0.335 8 0.335 11 
Massachusetts 0.240 0.026 0.266 26 0.266 29 
Michigan 0.190 0.122 0.009 0.321 14 0.321 18 
Minnesota 0.285 0.001 0.286 22 0.286 25 
Mississippi 0.180 0.004 0.184 43 0.184 45 
Missouri 0.170 0.003 0.173 45 0.173 46 
Montana 0.270 0.008 0.278 24 0.278 27 
Nebraska 0.258 0.009 0.267 25 0.267 28 
Nevada 0.230 0.008 0.238 33 0.200 0.200 0.438 7 
New Hampshire 0.222 0.016 0.238 32 0.238 34 
New Jersey 0.105 0.040 0.145 49 0.145 49 
New Mexico 0.170 0.019 0.189 42 0.189 44 
New York 0.088 0.096 0.178 0.362 5 0.108 0.108 0.470 5 
North Carolina 0.340 0.003 0.343 6 0.343 9 
North Dakota 0.230 0.230 34 0.230 35 
Ohio 0.280 0.280 23 0.280 26 
Oklahoma 0.160 0.010 0.170 46 0.170 47 
Oregon 0.300 0.300 20 0.030 0.030 0.330 16 
Pennsylvania 0.503 0.011 0.514 1 0.514 1 
Rhode Island 0.330 0.010 0.340 7 0.340 10 
South Carolina 0.160 0.008 0.168 48 0.168 48 
South Dakota 0.280 0.020 0.300 19 0.300 23 
Tennessee 0.200 0.014 0.214 37 0.214 38 
Texas 0.200 0.200 39 0.200 41 
Utah 0.294 0.007 0.301 18 0.301 22 
Vermont 0.121 0.184 0.305 17 0.305 21 
Virginia 0.162 0.006 0.168 47 0.034 0.034 0.202 39 
Washington 0.494 0.494 2 0.494 4 
West Virginia 0.205 0.127 0.332 9 0.332 13 
Wisconsin 0.309 0.020 0.329 13 0.329 17 
Wyoming 0.230 0.010 0.240 31 0.240 33 
Note: The table does not include special tax rates for alcohol-gasoline blends or for gasoline used in commercial vehicles. 
Sources: Federation of Tax Administrators; American Petroleum Institute; U.S. Energy Information Administration; and state 
revenue agency websites. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. 
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Election of University of Minnesota Regents 

Regents are elected by the legislature to govern the University of Minnesota. This short subject describes 
the current requirements for recruiting, reviewing, recommending, nominating, and electing regents and 
highlights recent changes to the process. 

The Minnesota 
Constitution 
provides for regent 
elections 

The board 
represents specific 
areas and includes 
one student 

Minnesota law 
requires an 
advisory council to 
recruit and screen 
regent candidates 

The council 
recommends regent 
candidates to a 
joint legislative 
committee 

The Minnesota Constitution requires that 12 regents be elected by a joint 
convention of the Minnesota Legislature to staggered six-year terms to govern the 
University of Minnesota. One-third of the Board of Regents is elected each odd­
numbered year at a joint convention of the legislature. Minn. Const. art. XIII,§ 3, 
and University of Minnesota Charter§§ 4 and 5. 

Minnesota law specifies that eight of the 12 regents must reside in Minnesota's 
congressional districts, one in each district. The four remaining regents are elected 
from the state at-large. Minnesota law also requires one of the four at-large regents 
to be a University of Minnesota student at the time of the election. Minn. Stat. §§ 
137.023 and 137.024. 

The regent candidate advisory council is established in law to identify, recruit, and 
recommend qualified candidates. The council has 24 members, including two 
student members, appointed by the House of Representatives and the Senate to 
staggered terms. Student members serve two-year terms. All others serve six-year 
terms with a two-term limit. The council screens and recommends regent 
candidates to ajointcommittee of the legislature. Minn. Stat. § 137.0245, subd. 2. 

The council must develop selection criteria for recruiting regent candidates. In 
2005, diversity became an explicit part of the criteria, including geography, gender, 
race, occupation, and experience. The council must identify the membership needs 
of the board, including the skills and characteristics necessary to govern the 
university and must develop criteria to ensure membership diversity. The council's 
selection criteria must not include a limit on the number of terms served by an 
individual regent. Minn. Stat. § 137.0245, subd. 3. 

The regent candidate advisory council must make recommendations to the regent 
nomination joint legislative committee by January 15 of each odd-numbered year. 
The council must recommend two to four candidates for each regent to be elected 
and must submit, with the recommendations, a report that identifies the 
membership needs of the board. Minn. Stat. § 137.0245, subd. 4. 
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The regent 
selection process 
was last modified 
in 2005 and 2007 

The regent nomination joint committee was first established in law in2005 to 
consider the governor's slate ofregent candidates. Previously, legislative rules 
governed the makeup and duties of a joint committee for the regent election 
process. Under current law, the joint committee consists of the members of the 
higher education budget and policy divisions of the Senate and the House. The 
Senate and House committee chairs serve as cochairs of the joint committee. 

The joint committee must meet by February 28 of each odd-numbered year, or on a 
date set by concurrent resolution, to consider the regent nominees. A committee 
quorum exists when a majority of the House members and majority of the Senate 
members are present at the joint committee meeting. The 2009 Legislature repealed 
a requirement that the committee meet more than once. 

The joint committee may nominate and consider a candidate who is not 
recommended by the advisory council. To be considered, the nominee must be 
supported by at least five members of the joint committee-two from the Senate 
and three from the House. Minn. Stat. § 137.0246. 

For each vacancy on the Board of Regents, the regent nomination joint committee 
may recommend only one candidate to the joint convention of the Senate and the 
House. A majority of the House members and a majority of the Senate members on 
the joint committee must support a candidate for that candidate to be recommended 
to the joint convention. In making recommendations, the law requires the 
committee to consider the needs of the board, and the gender, racial, and ethnic 
balance of the board. Minn. Stat. § 137.0246. 

Joint rules of the Senate and House provide for the operation of the joint 
committee, including how nominations are made and votes are taken. Joint Rules of 
the Senate and House of Representatives, 4.01. 

The joint rules also provide for the election of the regents at a joint convention of 
the legislative bodies, as required in the 'constitution. Under the joint rules, the joint 
committee must report the names of persons recommended for each vacant regent 
seat. The person named is considered to be nominated for a regent position. 
Members of the legislature may submit additional nominations, and the joint rules 
govern voting on all nominations. The candidate for a regent vacancy who receives 
a majority of the votes cast is declared the winner. 

In the early 2000s, the legislature made several changes to the process for 
nominating regent candidates. The 2005 Legislature established a role for the 
governor in the nomination process and created a joint committee of the legislature 
to consider nominations. In 2007, the governor's role was subsequently eliminated, 
and the composition and responsibilities of the joint committee were modified. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Sean Williams at 651-296-5053. For a list ofregents, 
see the higher education page on the House Research website, www.house.mn/hrd. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Minnesota's Statewide Assessments 

The 2015 and 2016 Legislatures revised Minnesota's existing law on statewide 
testing. Beginning in the 2015-2016 school year, statewide testing requirements for 
many students are as follows: 

• Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs): Public school students 
in grades 3 through 8 must take statewide computer-adaptive MCAs online 
that include on-grade-level test items and may include off-grade-level test 
items, depending on students' responses to the test questions; students in 
grade 10 take the reading MCA and students in grade 11 take the math 
MCA; students in grade 9 must take a statewide writing test when it 
becomes available 

• College entrance exams: To the extent state funding is available, districts 
must pay the cost, one time, for students in grade 11 or 12 to take a 
nationally normed college entrance exam at the student's high school 
during the school day; students are no longer required to take a nationally 
normed college entrance exam to graduate from high school 

• Career and college readiness: Students remain subject to career and 
college readiness expectations but are no longer required to take a series of 
career and college readiness assessments that are predictive of a nationally 
normed, college readiness assessment 

• Graduation assessments: Students are not required to achieve a specified 
score or level of proficiency on any statewide assessments in order to 
graduate from high school 

• Assessments for students with special needs: Students with an 
individualized education program may satisfy state assessment 
requirements by taking state-identified alternative assessments; 
additionally, the education commissioner must include accommodations or 
provide alternative assessments for English learners 

The 2015 changes in the law applied to students enrolled in grade 8 in the 2012-
2013 school year or later, which was most students entering grade 11 in the 2015-
2016 school year. Students enrolled in grade 8 in the 2011-2012, 2010-2011, or an 
earlier school year are subject to transitional assessment requirements. 

Districts and schools annually must help students, beginning no later than grade 9, 
and their families prepare for postsecondary education and a career. Districts and 
schools also must help these students and their parents develop, review, and revise 
an individualized plan for postsecondary education or a career. Underlying the 
planning process are career and college-ready benchmarks that inform students and 
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their parents and teachers about what knowledge and skills the students must learn 
and how well the students must perform to have a reasonable chance to succeed in 
a career or college without need for postsecondary remediation. 

The education commissioner, in consultation with the chancellor of the Minnesota 
State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU), must establish empirically derived 
benchmarks on the high school reading and math tests to show a trajectory toward 
career and college readiness. Students who receive a college-ready ACT or SAT 
score or meet a career and college-ready MCA benchmark are not required to take 
a remedial noncredit course at a MnSCU institution in the corresponding subject 
area. Students through grade 12 must continue to participate in targeted 
instruction, intervention, and remediation, as appropriate. 

Schools and districts must encourage students in grades 11 or 12 who are 
identified as academically ready for a career or college to participate in dual credit 
courses and programs. 

The education commissioner and the MnSCU chancellor also must collaborate in 
aligning instruction and assessments to give adult basic education (ABE) students 
and English learners (EL) diagnostic information about the targeted interventions 
they need to seek postsecondary education or employment without need for 
postsecondary remediation. 

School districts and charter schools must limit any additional local testing to ten 
hours per school year for students in grades l to 6 and 11 hours per school year for 
students in grades 7 to 12, excluding Advanced Placement and International 
Baccalaureate exams, unless the district and its teachers agree to exceed the limit 
and include that information in the district's World's Best Workforce Report. 

Before the start of the school year, districts and charter schools must publish on 
their official website a comprehensive standardized testing calendar for the school 
year and the rationale for administering each assessment, and indicate whether the 
test is a local option or required under state or federal law. 

The Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) must develop a list of 
circumstances under which a student may be unable to be tested. These 
circumstances include transferring from another state or from a nonpublic school, 
or hospitalization, among other circumstances. The MDE commissioner must 
publish a form for parents to complete if they refuse to have their student 
participate in state or local standardized testing. 

For an overview of the Minnesota assessment system see the Statewide Testing page on the MDE website, 
http://education.state.mn. us/MD E/fam/tests/index.htm. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Ignition Interlock for DWI Offenders 

When a person is charged with a DWI, there are two types of sanctions: 
administrative and criminal. This short subject deals with just one administrative 
sanction-loss of driving privileges. 

DWI charges will result in a person's driving privileges either being revoked or 
canceled for a length of time based on the person's current and past DWI record 
(see chart on next page). Instead of waiting out the entire revocation or cancelation 
period to drive legally again, a person may apply to drive only vehicles equipped 
with an ignition interlock device during that time. 

An ignition interlock device is installed in a vehicle to measure and record a 
person's alcohol concentration (AC) level. A vehicle will not start if a person 
blows into the device and alcohol is detected. (The AC level must be below .02.) 

DWI offenders are not required to go on ignition interlock. However, ignition 
interlock allows DWI offenders to drive during the revocation or cancelation 
period, and for certain offenders, it is necessary to reinstate their driver's license. 

For persons with revoked licenses (i.e., generally first or second DWI offense), a 
few options are available during the revocation period. The person may: (1) wait 
out the revocation period and not drive; (2) apply for limited driving privileges 
(only available to certain offenders); or (3) regain full driving privileges right away 
by going on ignition interlock. After the revocation period, the person may seek 
full driving privileges again. 

For canceled drivers (i.e., generally third and subsequent DWI offenses), ignition 
interlock is necessary not only to drive during the cancelation period, but also to 
reinstate a person's driver's license once the cancelation period is over. For this 
group, participation in the ignition interlock program is proof of abstinence from 
alcohol, which is one of the requirements for license reinstatement. Participation is 
required for the length of the cancelation period. Accordingly, a person who 
chooses not to drive during the cancelation period cannot afterwards apply for a 
regular driver's license (like a revoked driver can). The canceled person would still 
need to go on ignition interlock for the entire length of the cancelation period 
regardless oftime spent not driving. 

Generally, an offender will be on ignition interlock for the length of the revocation 
or cancelation period (as briefly described in the chart below). Other factors may 
affect the overall program length-such as program violations. 
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Length of Revocation and Cancelation Periods 

DWI Incidents* 

1st 2nd in 10 3rd in 10 4th in 10 5th+ on 
Years or years or years record 
3rd on 4th on 
Record record 

Revocation Period Cancelation Period 

AC< .16 90 days/180 1 year 3 years 4 years 6 years 
days if under 

age21 

AC 2:: .16 1 year 2 years 3 years 4 years 6 years 

Test Refusal 1 year* 2 years 3 years 4 years 6 years 

* DWI incidents include convictions and administrative loss of license. 

Anytime a person blows into the device, a photo is taken and recorded. The photos 
are sent to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) for review. In addition to the 
initial breath test to start the vehicle, rolling retests are taken, photographed, and 
recorded. Rolling retests are breath samples taken at random intervals while the 
person is driving. 

If alcohol is detected before starting the vehicle, the vehicle will not start and the 
violation is reported to DPS. During a rolling retest, if alcohol is detected or the 
driver does not provide a breath sample, the vehicle will not stop but the violation 
will be reported to DPS. 

Administrative sanctions for test failure or skipping rolling retests may include 
extension of, or termination from, the ignition interlock program. 

Moreover, a revoked driver cannot have full driving privileges reinstated until the 
last 90 days of the program show no positive AC tests over .02. For a canceled 
driver, a positive AC test over .02 recorded anytime during the program results in 
termination from the ignition interlock program. To regain driving privileges, the 
person must re-enroll in the program and restart the entire cancelation period. 

A family member or any another person may drive the vehicle, but the person must 
know how to start the car with the ignition interlock device and how to take rolling 
retests. Typically, the family member will take the same training as the offender. 

The cost of the ignition interlock is the responsibility of the offender. Discount 
rates, through ignition interlock providers, may be available to indigent offenders. 

For more information: See the House Research publication An Overview of Minnesota's DWI Laws, 
March 2016. See also Minnesota Department of Public Safety's Ignition Interlock Program Guidelines. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Minnesota's High School Graduation Requirements 

Students must meet 
state and local high 
school graduation 
requirements 

Minnesota requires 
students to complete 
21.5 required and 
elective course 
credits 

State graduation 
requirements apply 
to ELL students and 
children with 
disabilities 

In order to graduate from a Minnesota public high school, a student must meet the 
state's course credit requirements and any additional local course credit 
requirements established by the school district. State graduation requirements are 
outlined in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 1208, and Minnesota Rules, chapter 3501. 
Students also must take standards-based tests in reading and math. 

State course credit requirements for graduating from high school require students 
to complete the following 21.5 course credits: 

• four language arts credits 
• three math credits in algebra, geometry and statistics, and probability; 

students in the class of 2015 and later also must complete an algebra II 
credit (or its equivalent) as part ofthis three-credit requirement 

• three science credits that include one biology credit and one physics or 
chemistry credit as part of the three-credit science requirement 

• three-and-a-half social studies credits in U.S. history, geography, world 
history, economics, and government and citizenship that includes civics, or 
three social studies credits in U.S. history, geography, world history, 
government and citizenship that includes civics, and half a credit in 
economics taught in the social studies, business, or agriculture education 
department of a high school; civics instruction must include test questions 
given to applicants seeking to become naturalized U.S. citizens 

• one art credit 
• seven elective credits 

Students may use: an agriculture science course to meet a general science credit 
other than the science credit in biology; a career and technical education credit to 
meet a science, math, or arts credit; a computer science credit to meet a math 
credit; and a Project Lead the Way credit to meet a science or math credit. 

Students also must have physical education based on the most recent K-12 
standards developed by the National Association of Sport and Physical Education, 
which MDE may modify and adapt to accommodate state interests. 

A course credit signifies that a student successfully completed an academic year of 
study in a particular subject area or the district otherwise determined that the 
student mastered the subject area. 

Students with limited English proficiency, or English language learners (ELL), must 
meet the same graduation requirements as all other students. English learners must 
take the Access for ELLs so districts can measure their progress toward meeting 
Minnesota standards for English language development. Children with disabilities 
must be given accommodations that are appropriate to their strengths and needs, and 
that permit equal access to and work toward grade-level content standards. 
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Districts must establish local health standards. Districts also must establish 
standards in career and technical education and world languages, and must offer 
elective courses in these two subject areas. Districts may impose additional local 
graduation requirements. 

Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs ): Public school students in grades 
3 through 8 must take annual statewide MCAs in reading and math; students in grade 
10 take the reading MCA and students in grade 11 take the math MCA; students in 
grade 9 must take a statewide writing test when it becomes available. 

College entrance exams: To the extent state funding is available, districts must 
pay the cost, one time, for students in grade 11 or 12 to take a nationally normed 
college entrance exam at the student's high school during the school day. 

Graduation assessments: Students are not required to achieve a specified score or level 
of proficiency on any statewide assessment in order to graduate from high school. 

Students enrolled in grade 9 in the 2017-2018 school year and later must take a 
civics test, correctly answering 30 of 50 questions from the U.S. naturalization test. 
A district cannot prevent a student from graduating or deny a student diploma who 
does not correctly answer 30 civics test questions. 

Districts and schools annually must help students, beginning no later than grade 9, 
and their families prepare for postsecondary education and a career and must help 
these students and their parents develop an individualized plan for postsecondary 
education or a career. Underlying the planning process are career and college­
ready benchmarks that inform students and their parents and teachers about what 
knowledge and skills the students must learn and how well the students must 
perform to have a reasonable chance to succeed in a career or college without need 
for postsecondary remediation. 

The education commissioner, in consultation with the chancellor of the Minnesota 
State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU), must establish benchmarks on the high 
school reading and math tests to show progress toward career and college 
readiness. Students who receive a college-ready ACT or SAT score or meet a 
career and college-ready MCA benchmark are not required to take a remedial 
noncredit course at a MnSCU institution in the corresponding subject area. 

Students with IEPs and significant cognitive disabilities can take the Minnesota 
Test of Academic Skills {MTAS) instead of the MCA reading and math tests. The 
MT AS is an alternative assessment in reading, math, and science that is based on 
alternative achievement standards and measures the extent to which students are 
making progress in the general curriculum. 

The MCA II high Although federal law requires states to administer a science test to high school 
school science test students, students do not need to pass the high school science test to graduate. 
is not a graduation Under state law, students are not required to receive a passing score on high school 
requirement science assessments as a condition of receiving a diploma. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. Also the House Research 
publication Minnesota's Statewide Assessments, August 2016. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm 
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Nursing Facility Reimbursement 

The Medical Assistance (MA) program reimburses nursing facilities for services provided to low-income 
elderly and disabled persons who meet income and asset limits and other eligibility requirements. The 
Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) administers the MA reimbursement system for nursing 
facilities and establishes the reimbursement rates for each facility. 

Wliat are tlie 
components of a 
nursing facility's 
reimbursement 
rate? 

How are nursing 
facility payment 
rates determined? 

HowdoesDHS 
control tlie costs of 
nursing facility 
reimbursement? 

MA reimburses nursing facilities for operating costs, external fixed costs, and 
property costs. 

Operating costs include (1) direct care costs, which are salaries, wages, and 
associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes of nurses, certified nursing assistants, 
and other health care staff; supplies such as dressings, bandages, water pitchers, 
soap, and syringes; and technology related to the provision of nursing care; 
(2) other care-related costs, which are activities costs, raw food costs, therapy 
costs, social services costs, and the salaries, wages, and associated fringe benefits 
and payroll taxes of mental health workers, religious personnel, and other direct 
care employees not specified under direct care costs; and (3) other operating costs, 
which art1 administrative costs (including property insurance), dietary costs, 
housekeeping costs, laundry costs, and maintenance and plant operation costs. 

External fixed costs include surcharges and fees; scholarships; planned closure 
rate adjustments; single-bed room incentives; property taxes, assessments, and 
payments in lieu of taxes; employer health insurance costs; quality improvement 
incentives; performance-based incentives; special dietary needs; and Public 
Employee Retirement Act costs. 

Property costs include interest expense and return on equity; 

On January 1, 2016, DHS implemented a new reimbursement system, called the 
value-based reimbursement system. Under the value-based reimbursement system, 
nursing facility operating payment rates are determined based on each facility's 
reported costs. A facility's operating rate reflects the costs it reported in its most 
recent cost report. Due to the timing of the cost reporting cycle, this means that 
there is at least a 15-month lag between when a facility accrues costs and when 
those costs are reflected in the facility's rate. 

The value-based reimbursement system assigns each facility a limit on its total 
care-related costs. This limit is tied to the facility's quality score; facilities with 
higher quality scores are assigned higher limits. DHS does not reimburse facilities 
for direct care or other care-related costs in excess of the facility's limit. 

Additionally, each facility in the state receives the same other operating rate. This 
rate is set at the other operating costs per resident day for the median facility in the 
seven-county metropolitan area. 
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The current value-based reimbursement system does not include an inflationary 
adjustment, but facilities' rates increase over time as their costs increase. Under 
previous reimbursement systems, inflation adjustments for nursing facility rates 
were sporadic. From July 1, 1999, through September 30, 2011, the automatic 
inflation adjustment was applied only to the property-related rate. The legislature 
most recently authorized adjustments to operating costs in 2008 and 2013. 

Reimbursement rates are facility- and resident-specific. Rates vary with the 
facility's historical costs, with the amount of care needed by a resident (as 
measured by a case-mix classification), and reflect any statutory facility-specific 
rate adjustments authorized by the legislature. 

Nursing facilities are reimbursed by MA on a resident-per-day basis. The nursing 
home reimbursement levels are adjusted under the Resource Utilization Groups 
(RUG) case-mix system to reflect the varying care needs of residents. 

All applicants to nursing facilities are assessed by the Department of Health upon 
admission and at least every 90 days thereafter. Residents are assigned to a case­
mix classification based on the level of their dependence in activities of daily 
living, the severity of their cognitive and/or behavior management needs, and the 
complexity of their nursing needs. Each case-mix classification is assigned a case­
mix weight, with the lowest level of care receiving the lowest weight and the 
highest level of care receiving the highest weight. 

The direct care-costs component of a facility's rate is adjusted based upon a 
resident's case-mix weight. All other components of a facility's rate are the same 
for all residents in the facility. 

Prior to October 1, 2006, nursing facilities were reimbursed under~ cost-based 
system sometimes referred to as "rule 50," where reimbursement to facilities was 
based on their reported costs, subject to various limits. From October 1, 2006, 
through September 30, 2008, all nursing facilities participating in MA were 
reimbursed under the Alternative Payment System (APS), a contract-based system 
where facilities were exempt from certain statutory requirements of the cost-based 
system and reimbursed at the level of their payment rate in effect just prior to 
entering into an APS contract with the commissioner. From October 1, 2008, 
through December 31, 2015, facilities were reimbursed under a blend of APS and 
a "rebased" reimbursement rate. 

Nursing facilities may receive several other payments or rate adjustments 
including: 

• rate adjustments for compensation-related costs due to minimum wage 
changes; 

• rate adjustments for the first 30 days; and 
• rate adjustments for ventilator-dependent persons. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058 or Sean Williams at 
651-296-5053. Also see the House Research publication Nursing Facility Reimbursement and Regulation, 
March 2016. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Emergency Medical Assistance 

Emergency Medical Assistance (EMA) covers emergency services for lawfully present noncitizens who are 
not eligible for regular Medical Assistance (MA) coverage with a federal match, and undocumented persons. 
(Certain groups of law(ully present noncitizens qualify for regular MA coverage with a federal match; 
individuals in these groups do not qualify for EMA.) EMA is administered by the Department of Human 
Services (DHS); the state receives the regular federal Medicaid match for the cost of EMA services. 
Eligibility and covered services for EMA are specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.06, subdivision 
4, paragraphs (f), (g), (h), and (k). 

Eligibility 

Services Covered 
Under EMA 

Individuals must have an MA basis of eligibility (which means they belong to a 
group for which MA coverage is available) and meet all MA eligibility 
requirements such as income and asset limits and residency, other than those 
related to immigration status. 

The following groups of individuals are eligible for EMA: 

(1) Lawfully present noncitizens who do not qualify for regular MA coverage 
with a federal match due to their immigration status. Pregnant women and 
children under age 21 who are lawfully present qualify for regular MA 
coverage with a federal match regardless of their immigration status. 

(2) Sponsored immigrants ineligible for MA because of the deeming of 
sponsor income and assets. Pregnant women and children under age 21 are 
exempt from sponsor deeming. 

(3) Noncitizens who are undocumented. Most pregnant women who are not 
lawfully present and who do not have other insurance qualify for regular 
MA coverage while pregnant, including labor and delivery and 60-days 
postpartum. 

EMA covers: (1) care and services provided in an emergency department or 
inpatient hospital (following admission from an emergency department), or by an 
ambulance service, that are necessary to treat an emergency condition; (2) services 
provided in a nursing facility or the community necessary for continued treatment 
of an emergency condition or necessary to prevent the recipient's condition from 
developing into an emergency medical condition; and (3) certain dialysis services, 
cancer treatment, and kidney transplants. 

Minnesota law specifies that EMA covers "care and services necessary for the 
treatment of an emergency medical condition" as this term is defined in federal 
law. Federal la~ (42 U.S.C. 1396b (v)) defines an emergency medical condition as 
" ... a medical condition (including emergency labor and delivery) manifesting itself 



Limits on services 

by acute symptoms of sufficient severity (including severe pain) such that the 
absence of immediate attention could reasonably be expected to result in-

(A) placing the patient's health in serious jeopardy, 
(B) serious impairment to bodily functions, or 
(C) serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part." 

EMA may cover services provided in a nursing facility or a home/community 
setting following discharge from an emergency department or inpatient hospital, if 
these services are part of a care plan approved by the DHS medical review agent 
and are medically necessary and required to prevent the individual's condition 
from quickly becoming an emergency medical condition (typically within 48 
hours); other criteria also must be met. 

EMA also covers the following services, if approved as part of a care plan 
approved by the DHS medical review agent: (1) dialysis and services provided in a 
hospital or freestanding dialysis facility; (2) surgery, chemotherapy, radiation and 
other services necessary to treat cancer that is not in remission; and (3) kidney 
transplants for persons with end-stage renal disease who are currently receiving 
dialysis services. 

Certain services are specifically excluded from coverage under EMA. These 
services include, but are not limited to: nonemergency services delivered in an 
emergency department or inpatient setting; transplants (other than certain kidney 
transplants); routine prenatal care; continuing care; elective surgery; outpatient 
prescription drugs, unless administered or dispensed as part of an emergency 
department visit; preventive health care and family planning services; 
rehabilitation services; physical, occupational, and speech therapy services; 
nonemergency transportation for routine or preventive care; case management; 
dental services; vision services and eyeglasses; waiver services; and chemical 
dependency treatment. See Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.06, subdivision 4, 
paragraph (h), clause (2), for the full list of excluded services. 

Certain services, such as emergency dental services, personal care assistant and 
home care services, and outpatient prescription drugs, require authorization by 
DHS in addition to care plan approval, in order to be covered under EMA. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Indian Gambling in Minnesota 

There are 18 tribal casinos in Minnesota operating under a combination of state law, tribal ordinance, 
and tribal-state compacts. 

The.federallndian 
Gaming Regulatory 
Act authorizes 
gambling on Indian 
land 

A state's authority 
to control gambling 
is limited 

Nationally, Indian gambling is authorized by the federal Indian Gaming 
Regulatory Act (IGRA). This law generally allows Indian tribes in any state to 
conduct on Indian land those types of gambling that the state allows for non­
Indians. IGRA divides all gambling on Indian land into one of three classes: 

• Class I gambling, which includes traditional Indian ceremonial and 
social games, is controlled exclusively by the tribes. 

• Class II gambling consists of bingo, keno, pull-tabs, punchboards, and 
nonbanking card games (games where players play against each other 
rather than against the house). Class U gambling is governed by a tribal 
ordinance that must meet federal guidelines and be approved by the 
National Indian Gaming Commission. 

• Class III gambling consists of common casino games such as roulette, 
craps, chemin de fer, baccarat, and banking card games such as 
blackjack. The term also includes all mechanical or electronic gambling 
machines such as slot machines and video poker devices. Class III 
gambling is conducted under a compact that each tribe negotiates with 
the government of the state in which it is located. Compacts can specify 
which party has civil and criminal jurisdiction over gambling 
enforcement. The compacts can apply those state laws to class III 
gambling that each party believes necessary for regulation. 

IGRA defines Indian land as land that is either: 

• part of a federally recognized Indian reservation, or 

• off of a reservation but held in trust for an Indian tribe by the federal 
government, or under the jurisdiction of an Indian governing body. 

It is not necessary for land to be actually part of a reservation for gambling to be 
conducted on it. In theory, an Indian tribe could buy land anywhere in a state 
and operate a casino on it by having it declared Indian trust land by the U.S. 
Secretary of the Interior. Such a designation of Indian trust land for gambling 
purposes also requires the concurrence of the governor of the state. 

A state cannot prohibit Indian gambling if it is a type of gambling that the state 
allows for non-Indians. States' rights to control Indian gambling are sharply 
limited under federal law. 

The states have no role in regulating bingo and other class II games. If a state 
allows a class II game to be played on non-Indian lands, tribes have a right to 
conduct that game under a federally approved tribal ordinance. Unbanked card 
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games played under a tribal ordinance have to abide by state laws on hours of 
play and wagering limits. 

If a state allows blackjack, slot machines, and other class III games for non­
Indians, the IGRA requires the state to negotiate a compact for those games with 
an Indian tribe that requests it. The IGRA also provides an administrative 
procedure to determine contract terms if a state does not negotiate with a tribe in 
good faith. The first step in the procedure requires a tribe to obtain a federal 
court order directing negotiations and, if needed, mediation. However, a 1996 
U.S. Supreme Court decision held that this provision violates state sovereign 
immunity under the 11th amendment. This decision effectively thwarts the 
IGRA's procedure for resolving deadlocked contract negotiations, unless a state 
has waived is sovereign immunity (as some states have done). 

To give effect to the administrative procedures after the Court's 1996 holding, 
the Department of the Interior promulgated regulations that eliminated the 
federal court order requirement. The validity of these regulations has been the 
subject of litigation. In 2007, the 5th Circuit Court of Appeals held that the 
department did not have the authority to promulgate them. A case filed by New 
Mexico challenging the regulations is pending in the 1 oth Circuit. For states that 
have not waived their sovereign immunity under the IGRA, it is not clear how 
deadlocked contract negotiations will be resolved. 

Minnesota has negotiated 22 tribal-state compacts with 11 Indian tribes, 
resulting in the establishment of 18 casinos in the state. The class III games 
permitted under these compacts are blackjack and video games of chance. 

The compacts provide for inspection and approval of machines by the state 
Department of Public Safety, licensing of casino employees, standards for 
employees (no prior felony convictions, etc.), machine payout percentages, and 
regulation of the play of blackjack. In addition, if off-track betting on horse 
racing is ever permitted in Minnesota (the law authorizing it was declared 
unconstitutional by the state supreme court), there could be one Indian off-track 
betting establishment for each non-Indian establishment in the state. 

Both types of compacts (video games and blackjack) provide that they remain in 
effect until the two parties renegotiate them. Either party can request a 
renegotiation at any time. 

IGRA specifically prohibits states from imposing taxes or fees on Indian 
gambling, except for fees that the tribe agrees to. These fees are intended to 
compensate the state for its costs in performing inspections and other regulation 
under the tribal-state compact. In other words, states cannot raise general 
revenue by taxing Indian gambling. 

Some states, notably Connecticut, have negotiated agreements with Indian tribes 
under which the tribe voluntarily pays the state a percentage of gambling 
revenue in exchange for state agreement to maintain tribal monopoly over 
certain types of gambling. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Christopher Kleman at 651-296-8959. 
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Minnesota Research and Development Tax Credit 

What is the 
Minnesota research 
and development 
credit? 

What is the policy 
rationale for the 
research credit? 

What types of 
research expenses 
qualify? 

Is the credit 
incremental? 

Minnesota allows businesses conducting research and development to claim 
research credits against their corporate franchise taxes or individual income taxes 
(for pass-through tax entities, such as LLCs and S corporations). The credit's 
computations are based on definitions under the federal tax credit for increasing 
research activities, except the research must be done in Minnesota. 

There are two basic rationales for research credits: 

• It is widely recognized that businesses under-invest in research and 
development, because some of benefits of research go to society generally and 
cannot be captured solely for the business and its owners. Others can copy or 
build on their research, siphoning off some of the benefit. Research credits, 
including the federal and Minnesota credits, help overcome this barrier by 
providing tax benefits for qualifying research. 

• State credits, such as Minnesota's, have a general "economic development" 
purpose-that is, they seek to encourage businesses to do more research in 
Minnesota to create jobs and other economic benefits for Minnesota residents. 
The credits help the state to compete for research investment by businesses. 
Some published academic research supports the view that state credits help to 
achieve this end. 

Under the federal definition used by Minnesota, "qualifying research expenses" 
must be made to discover technological information that is applied to develop a 
new or improved business component (e.g., a product or process). The 
expenditures could be intended to improve quality, performance, reliability or 
something similar. The expenditures typically are for wages of the business's 
employees, supplies purchased, or amounts paid to contractors to do research for 
the business. Expenditures on equipment do not qualify, but instead qualify for 
separate expensing benefits under federal and state tax law. · 

The credit applies to research over a base amount. The federal definition of 
"qualified research expenses" is limited to the increase in research expenditures 
over a "base amount," making the credit an "incremental" credit. This base 
amount is expressed as a percentage of the business's gross receipts (Minnesota 
gross receipts for the Minnesota credit)~ The percentage is determined for each 
business based on the percentage its research spending was of its 1984-1988 gross 
receipts (for the businesses starting up after 1988, 3 percent is used) with a 
maximum of 16 percent. This incremental credit structure is intended to make the 
credit more cost effective in stimulating research by disallowing the credit for the 



How is the credit 
computed? 

ls the credit 
refundable? 

How much does the 
credit reduce tax 
revenues? 

How does 
Minnesota's credit 
compare to credits 
in other states? 

normal or basic research the business would otherwise do. For example, a business 
whose research is a constant percentage of its gross receipts would not be allowed 
the credit, because it had not increased its research "effort." 

SO-percent limit applies. The credit cannot exceed 50 percent of the business's 
research expenditures and many businesses' credits are determined under that rule, 
because their research is always well above their base amount. This typically 
occurs for Minnesota-based multistate businesses, because their base amounts are 
calculated using Minnesota gross receipts, a relatively low amount, while their 
Minnesota research often relates to their entire operations. Since these businesses 
qualify for a credit based on 50 percent of their research spending, their credits are 
really not incremental or dependent on increasing the relative amount of their 
research. 

The Minnesota credit has a two-tiered rate structure; a higher rate (10 percent) 
applies to the first $2 million of Minnesota qualified research expenses and a lower 
rate (2.5 percent) for the amount over that. 

The credit is not refundable; it cannot exceed the liability for tax. (For three tax 
years, 2010 through 2012, the credit was refundable.) However, a unitary business 
(that is, a business with two or more corporations or other entities that are part of 
one business), may allocate the credit among its individual corporations to fully 
use the credit. If the credit still exceeds the liability for tax, it can be carried over 
and used tb reduce taxes in later tax years (for up to 15 tax years). 

Th~ Minnesota Department of Revenue's (DOR) Tax Expenditure Budget 
(February 2016) estimated that for fiscal year 2017, $50.2 million in corporate 
franchise tax credits will be allowed and $18.5 million in individual income tax 
credits. The Tax Expenditure Budget also reports that expensing of research and 
development costs provides tax expenditures for fiscal year 2017 of $16 million 
(under the corporate franchise tax) and $600,000 (under the individual income tax) 
for research and development expenditures. 

Minnesota was the first staJ.e to enact a research and development credit'in 1981. 
Most states with corporate taxes now have credits for some types of research 
expenditures: These credits vary considerably and it is difficult to generalize about 
them. Some states, like Minnesota, follow the basic federal credit. Other states 
use different-both more expansive or narrower-definitions of the types of 
research that qualify for their credits. Some states target their credits to specific 
types of businesses (e.g., high technology companies), while others follow the 
alternative, as well as the basic, federal research credit rules. Several states have 
credit rates that are higher than Minnesota's first tier (10 percent) rate and most 
allow rates higher than second tier (2.5 percent) rate. Finally, some state credits 
are not incremental, but rather apply to all qualifying research done in the state. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. 
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Property Tax 101: Property Tax Variation by Property Type 

What causes 
property taxes 
to vary by type 
of property? 

The primary cause of variation in property tax burdens is Minnesota's classified 
property tax system. In a classified system, each class of property is assigned one or 
more class rates. The property's taxable market value is multiplied by the class rate(s) 
to determine the property's tax base, technically called its net tax capacity. 

Besides the class rates, variations in tax by type of property also occur because the state 
general tax and school district operating referendum levies apply to some types of 
property but not to others. (All voter-approved levies are levied on referendum market 
value, except school district levies for bonded debt and other units' debt levies approved 
by voters after 6/30/08; those levies are levied on the net tax capacity of all types of 
property.) 

Class Rate Schedule for Taxes Payable in 2017 

Subject 
to State 

Subject to 
Referendum 

2a Agricultural homestead: 
House, garage & 1 acre - same as residential homestead 
Agricultural land & buildings: 

Up to $2,050,000 
Over $2,050,ooo 

2a Agricultural nonhomestead 
2b Nonhomestead rural vacant land 

. 
4a Market-rate apartments (4 or more units) 

4bb Residential nonhomestead single unit: 
Up to $500,000 
Over $500,000 

4b Residential nonhomestead 2-3 unit and undeveloped land 
4c Seasonal recreational residential (noncommercial): 

Up to $500,000 
Over $500,000 

4d Low-income apartments: 
Up to $115,000 per unit 
Over $115,000 er unit 

Subject to state general tax at commercial-industrial rate. 

0.50 
1.00 
1.00 
1.00 

1.25 

1.00 
1.25 
1.25 

1.00 
1.25 

0.75 
0.25 

No 
No 
No 
No 

No 

No 
No 
No 

Yes** 
Yes** 

No 
No 

No 
No 
No 
No 

Yes 

Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

No 
No 

Yes 
Yes 

** Subject to state general tax at seasonal recreational rate. 



* 

What other factors 
cause property 
taxes to vary by 
type of property? 

What is effective 
tax rate? 

Variations also occur because of various property tax exclusions and credits. 
Homesteads benefit from the homestead market value exclusion, which provides for 
up to $30,000 of a homestead's market value to be deducted before determining the 
taxes payable. Other exclusions are the disabled veterans' exclusion and the 
agricultural "Green Acres" program. Certain types of property also qualify for 
property tax credits that reduce the net tax on the property. The biggest property tax 
credit programs are the agricultural market value credit and the taconite homestead 
credit. 

Local variation also occurs because tax rates are determined separately for each 
taxing jurisdiction in the state, based on each jurisdiction's levy and tax base. 

Effective tax rate is a measure of tax burden useful in making property tax 
comparisons. It is defined as net tax divided by market value (i.e., tax as a percent 
of market value). It allows comparison of tax burdens between properties of 
different values, different types, and different locations. 

Comparison of Property Taxes on Various Types of Property, 
Within the Same Taxing Jurisdiction, Each with an Estimated Market Value of $200,000 

(Property taxes payable in 2017) 

Class Net Tax 
Property Tax* 

Effective 
Property Type Rate(s) Capacity Gross Net Tax Rate 

Agricultural homestead** 0.5/1.0% $1,040 $1,112 $722 0.36% 

Agricultural nonhomestead 1.0 2,000 2,000 2,000 1.00 

Residential homestead 1.0 1,808 2,168 2,168 1.08 

Seasonal recreational residential (i.e., cabin) 1.0 2,000 2,309 2,309 1.15 

Residential nonhomestead (1 unit) 1.0 2,000 2,360 2,360 1.18 

Residential nonhomestead (2-3 units) 1.25 2,500 2,860 2,860 1.43 

Apartment 1.25 2,500 2,860 2,860 1.43 

Low-income apartment 0.75 1,500 1,770 . 1,770 0.89 

Commercial/Industrial 1.5/2.0 3,250 5,235 5,235 2.62 

Commercial/Industrial@ $2,000,000*** 1.5/2.0 39,250 62,475 62,475 3.12 

These examples assume a total local net tax capacity tax rate of 100 percent, a total market value tax rate of 0 .18 percent, a 
state commercial-industrial tax rate of 50 percent, and a state seasonal recreational tax rate of 20 percent. 

** The agricultural homestead is assumed to consist of a house valued at $40,000 and agricultural land and buildings valued at 
$160,000. 

***This property has a market value of$2,000,000 to show a typical effective tax rate on a larger commercial/industrial 
property. 
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Terms Used in Local Government Legislation 

Minnesota statutes and laws use a number of terms to refer to local governmental units, and from one law to 
another they may not mean the same thing. This is a summary of commonly used terms. 

Local government 

Political subdivision 

Public corporation 

Municipal 
corporation 

City: statutory or 
home rule charter; 
classification 

"Local govermnent" usually refers to counties, towns, and cities. Single- or multi­
purpose special districts, such as school districts, are frequently included in the 
term "political subdivision" but are less often defined as local governments. 
Sometimes, absent a definition, only the context of the law will indicate what 
entities are meant to be included. 

"Political subdivision" is probably the broadest term used to describe any public 
body that is not state or federal government. However, a statute may define the 
term to mean specific entities. 

In the context of local government, "public corportation" means an entity created 
for the administration of public affairs, an instrumentality of the state, and may 
include counties, cities, towns, and special purpose entities. It also applies to quasi­
governmental entities, created in law and often exempt from some laws that apply 
to state agencies. See, e.g., Enterprise Minnesota, Inc. Minn. Stat. § 1160.03, 
subd. 1. 

In the narrowest sense, a municipal corporation is a city. However, the term can be 
defined for the purposes of a law to include other governmental units. 

There are two types of cities in Minnesota: statutory and home rule charter. A 
statutory city is governed by statute and any special laws enacted for that city. A 
home rule charter city is governed by its charter and any special laws enacted for 
that city. Also, if the home rule charter is silent on a matter that is addressed for 
statutory cities by general law, and general law does not prohibit a city charter 
from addressing the matter or expressly provide that a city charter prevails over 
general law, then the city may apply the general law on the matter. Minn. Stat. § 
410.33. 

"In any law adopted after July 1, 1976, the word 'city' when used without further 
description extending the application of the term to home rule charter cities means 
statutory cities only." Minn. Stat.§ 410.015. 

Classification: Cities are divided, for legislative purposes, into classes as follows: 
• First class: over 100,000 inhabitants; once a city is defined to be of the first 

class, it is not reclassified unless its population decreases by 25 percent 
from the census figures that last qualified the city for inclusion in the class 

• Second class: 20,001 to 100,000 inhabitants 
• Third class: 10,001 to 20,000 inhabitants 



Municipality 

County 

Town, township, 
urban town 

Incorporated, 
unincorporated 

Interpretation of 
statutes, definitions 

Metropolitan area 

• Fourth class: not more than 10,000 inhabitants 

Changes in classification take effect after the federal decennial census. Minn. Stat. 
§ 410.01. 

"Village" and "borough" are obsolete terms. All villages and boroughs in the state 
became statutory cities in the early 1970s. 

This term generally means a city but many statutes define it to include other 
entities. For example, the uniform municipal contracting law defines 
"municipality" to mean "a county, town, city, school district or other municipal 
corporation or political subdivision of the state authorized by law to enter into 
contracts." Minn. Stat. § 471.345, subd. 1. 

"County" rarely needs additional definition except to limit its application or to 
define it as a shorthand reference to the county board or some other entity covered 
by the law. 

"Town" and "township" have been used interchangeably in Minnesota law, but 
"town" is the correct term to refer to an organized governmental unit and 
"township" is the term to refer to the geographic area. In county areas without 
organized town government, the term "unorganized territory" is also used. As in 
other states, Minnesota towns are based on the congressional townships-generally 

· 36 square miles. Towns are the primary local government units for unincorporated 
areas. Urban towns are those towns that have been granted some of the same 
powers as statutory cities. 

In the context of governmental units, "incorporated" means a city and 
"unincorporated" means a town. See Minn. Stat. § 414.011, subd. 3. 

"When a county, town, or city is mentioned, without any particular description, it 
imports the particular county, town, or city appropriate to the matter." Minn. Stat. 
§ 645.44, subd. 3. 

There are at least two definitions of "metropolitan area" used in state law. One 
means the seven-county area of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, 
and Washington counties that is within the jurisdiction of the Metropolitan 
Council. Minn. Stat. § 473.121, subd. 2. 

Another definition is "metropolitan statistical area" (MSA), defined by the federal 
Office of Management and Budget (OMB) using OMB standards applied to U.S. 
Census Bureau data. As of July 2015, the Minneapolis-St. Paul-BloomingtonMSA 
includes 14 Minnesota counties (the seven named above and Chisago, Isanti, Le 
Sueur, Mille Lacs, Sherburne, Sibley, and Wright), and the Wisconsin counties of 
Pierce and St. Croix. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah A. Dyson at deborah.dyson@house.mn. 
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Special Legislation and Local Approval: An Overview 

The Minnesota Constitution prohibits "special legislation" with the exception of certain special legislation 
relating to local governments. 

Special legislation 

Special legislation is legislation that applies to part of 
a class-a particular person, thing, or locale within a 
given class-and, in general, is prohibited under the 
state constitution. If a general law can be enacted, 
the legislature may not enact a special law, except a 
local law. 

Whether a law is "special" is determined by the court 
on a case-by-case basis, applying general principles. 
In distinguishing permissible general legislation and 
unconstitutional special legislation, courts have said: 

• a law is general when it is uniform in its 
operation even though it divides the subjects 
of its operation into classes and applies 
different rules to different classes; and 

• a law is special if it applies to particular 
members of a class. 

In order to determine if a classification is justified 
and constitutional, courts have applied a three-part 
rational-basis test. A classification is proper if: 

• the classification applies to and embraces all 
who are similarly situated; 

• the distinctions are not manifestly arbitrary or 
fanciful but are genuine and substantial so as 
to provide a natural and reasonable basis 
justifying the distinction; and 

• there is an evident connection between the 
distinctive needs peculiar to the class and the 
remedy or regulations in the law. 

Prohibited special legislation 

The Minnesota Constitution lists certain subjects 
that cannot be the subject of special legislation, 
whether they are local law or not: 

• authorizing the laying out, opening, altering, 
vacating, or maintaining of roads, highways, 
streets, or alleys 

• remitting fines, penalties, or forfeitures 
• changing the names of persons, places, lakes, 

or rivers 
• authorizing the adoption or legitimation of 

children 
• changing the law of descent or succession 
• conferring rights on minors 
• declaring any named person of age 
• giving effect to informal or invalid wills or 

deeds, or affecting the estates of minors or 
persons under disability 

• granting divorces 
• exempting property from taxation or 

regulating the rate of interest on money 
• creating private corporations, or amending, 

renewing, or extending the charters thereof 
• granting to any private corporation, 

association, or individual any special or 
exclusive privilege, immunity, or franchise 
whatever or authorizing public taxation for a 
private purpose 

The constitution also prohibits special laws in the 
form of bills of attainder. A bill of attainder is 
special legislation that inflicts punishment or a 

. penalty upon an individual. 



Finally, the constitution requires taxes to be uniform 
on the same class of objects. 

Legislative appropriations are not special legislation. 

Local approval 

As an exception to the prohibition on special 
legislation, the state constitution permits the 
legislature to enact special laws relating to local 
government units. A local law is effective only after 
approval by the affected local government unit, 
unless the general state law provides otherwise. 

State statute requires approval by resolution adopted 
by a majority vote of all members of the governing· 
body of the unit unless the particular special law 
specifies another method of approval. The chief 
clerical officer of a local government unit then files a 
certificate of local approval with the secretary of 
state, including a copy of the resolution of approval 
gr, if submitted to the voters, the number of votes 
cast for and against approval at the election. 
Generally, the law is effective after the local 
government files the required certificate with the 
secretary of state. 

If a local government unit fails to file a certificate of 
approval before the first day of the next regular 
session of the legislature (i.e., before the first 
Tuesday after the first Monday in January of odd­
numbered years), the law is deemed to be 
disapproved by the local government unless 
otherwise provided in the special law. 

Exceptions 

The constitution permits the legislature to provide by 
general law exception to the local approval 
requirement. Currently, state statute provides three 
instances in which local approval is not required: 

(1) The law enables one or more local government 
units to exercise authority not granted by 
general law. That is, the law is permissive, not 
mandatory. 

(2) The law brings a local government unit within 
the general law by repealing a special law, by 
removing an exception to the applicability of a 
general statutory provision, by extending the 
applicability of a general statutory provision, or 
by reclassifying local government units. 

(3) The law applies to a single unit or a group of 
units with a population of more than one million 
people. 

Under all other circumstances, local approval is 
required. This includes legislation for a local 
government that is coded in Minnesota Statutes. 
Even if a law does not require local approval 
because it fits one of the exceptions above, if the 
specific legislation requires it, it is not effective until 
approved. Finally, whether or not the legislation 
expressly requires local approval, if the legislation is 
local law and none of the general law exceptions 
apply, the constitution requires local approval before 
the law is effective. 

"Application clause" 

The constitution also requires that special legislation 
for a local government name the local government 
unit or the counties, if more than one unit is 
affected, whether or not local approval is required. 

Usually the affected unit of government is named as 
a substantive part of the law and the application is 
apparent. With regard to the Metropolitan Council, 
although the unit of government is named in the 
substantive part of the law, it has become standard 
practice to add an "application clause," listing the 
counties included in the jurisdiction of the council. 

For more information: See the House Research publication Special Legislation, October 2016. 
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request a public 
defender? 

Does the defendant 
ever have to 
reimburse the state 
for the cost of a 
public defender? 
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Minnesota's Public Defender System 

The United States and Minnesota Constitutions both establish the right to an 
attorney for anyone facing a charge punishable by "loss of liberty." Minnesota law 
entitles anyone who is financially unable to obtain counsel to a public defender if 
he or she: (1) is charged with a felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor; (2) is 
appealing a felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor conviction, or pursuing 
post-conviction relief and has not already had a direct appeal; or (3) is contesting 
grounds for a probation revocation. 

Similar to adults, juveniles who are financially unable to obtain counsel are entitled 
to a public defender. In delinquency cases, juveniles have the right to the 
appointment of a public defender except for juvenile petty offenses (e.g., minor 
alcohol or controlled substance offenses, minor traffic offenses, etc.). 

In CHIPS (Child in Need of Protection or Services) and TPR (Termination of 
Parental Rights) cases, juveniles who are ten years of age or older have the right to 
a public defender, except in habitual truancy cases. A guardian ad litem may be 
appointed to a juvenile under age ten. 

Pursuant to statute, a defendant is financially unable to obtain counsel if the 
defendant, or a defendant's dependent (residing in the same household), receives 
means-tested governmental benefits, or, considering the defendant's liquid assets 
and current income, the defendant would be unable to pay the reasonable costs 
charged by a private attorney. The court must not appoint a public defender to a 
person who is able to afford private counsel but refuses to do so. 

The burden is on the defendant to show financial inability to pay. The defendant 
must submit a financial statement under oath, and the court makes the 
determination of the defendant's financial eligibility. The defendant is under a 
continuing duty to disclose any change in financial circumstances. 

A person may ask the court to appoint a public defender at any time where the 
matter is pending or the conviction has occurred. Depending on the judicial 
district, a financial inquiry may occur before the first court appearance or in court. 
Prior to a court appearance, a person may request a public defender if facing a 
police interrogation or other procedures affecting one's rights. For more 
information, see the websites for the State of Minnesota Board of Public Defense 
(http://www.pubdef.state.mn.us/getapublicdefender) and the Minnesota Judicial 
Branch (http://www.mncourts.gov/Help-Topics/Public-Defender. aspx ). 

The court may order a defendant to reimburse the state, in whole or in part, for the 
cost of a public defender. In determining the amount of reimbursement, the court 
must consider the defendant's income, assets, and employment. If necessary, the 
court may establish a reimbursement schedule or issue an order for wage 
withholding. In cases where a public defender is appointed to represent a juvenile, 



How do co-pays 
work? 

Are public 
defenders appointed 
in civil cases? 

How is the 
Minnesota public 
defender system 
organized? 

How is the 
Minnesota public 
defender system 
governed? 

How is the public 
defender system 
funded? 

the court may order a parent to reimburse the state. The presiding judge must 
terminate the appointment of a public defender to any person who subsequently 
becomes financially able to pay for private counsel. 

Upon disposition of the case, a defendant who received public defender services 
must pay a $75 co-payment, unless the court reduces or waives the co-payment. 
The statute does not indicate when a court should exercise its discretion to waive 
the co-payment. In 2003, the Minnesota Court of Appeals held that the court must 
waive the co-payment when a defendant is indigent or when the co-payment would 
cause manifest hardship on a defendant. 

Public defenders represent individuals only in criminal cases. A person is not 
generally entitled to representation by counsel in civil cases (e.g., divorce, eviction, 
contract, personal injury, wrongful death, etc.). There are organizations (with 
limited resources) throughout the state that may assist low-income individuals in 
civil lawsuits (e.g., legal aid, see Legal Services State Support, 
www.mnlegalservices.org), and certain judicial districts offer legal advice clinics 
(http://www.mncourts.gov/selfhelp/?page=25 l ). 

In certain civil cases, a person may have a statutory right to counsel at public 
expense. This is different from a public defender; generally, court-appointed 
counsel in such matters is a county expense. 

There is a district public defender office in each of the state's ten judicial districts. 
District public defenders represent individuals in trial and juvenile court. In 
addition, there is an appellate and a state public defender office. Attorneys in the 
appellate office represent individuals who are appealing a conviction or seeking 
post-conviction relief. The state public defender supervises the operation, 
activities, policies, and procedures of the statewide public defender system. 

There is a State Board of Public Defense consisting of seven members. The board 
appoints the state public defender for a four-year term, and, with the advice of the 
state public defender, appoints a chief administrator. The board also appoints a 
chief public defender in each of the state's ten judicial districts and a chief 
appellate public defender. In addition, the board distributes funding from the 
legislature to the district and appellate offices. Although the State Board of Public 
Defense is part of the judicial branch of government, it is not under the judicial 
branch's administrative control. 

Money is appropriated to the Board of Public Defense from the state general fund 
each biennium. (In the 1990s, the state assumed the cost of the public defender 
system from the counties, with the exception of Hennepin County. In the Fourth 
Judicial District, costs are shared between the state and Hennepin County.) There 
are also four legal defense corporations funded through grants from the board. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Rebecca Pirius for legal citations. House Research does 
not provide legal advice or representation for members of the public. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Military Pay under Minnesota's Individual Income Tax 

Military pay, 
including 
retirement pay, is 
exempt from 
Minnesota income 
tax 

Federal law 
prohibits states 
from taxing some 
types of military 
income 

Military pay for 
regular full-time 
active service is not 
taxed by the state 

Military pay for 
Minnesota 
National Guard and 
reserve service is 
not taxed 
by the state 

Calculation of Minnesota's individual income tax starts with federal taxable 
income. As a result, military pay that is exempt from taxation at the federal level, 
such as combat pay and hazardous duty pay, is also exempt at the state level. 
Minnesota allows subtraction from federal taxable income of most other types of 
military pay that are taxed at the federal level. 

Beginning in tax year 2016, Minnesota also allows an income tax subtraction for 
military retirement pay, including survivor benefit plan payments. 

Federat law prohibits states from taxing active service military pay earned by 
nonresidents. Thus, a nonresident member of the military often does not need to 
file a Minnesota tax return. 

Minnesota also allows for the subtraction of military pay earned by a Minnesota 
resident for full-time active military service. This subtraction typically applies 
to Minnesota residents who serve either within Minnesota as full-time military 
recruiters or Coast Guard personnel, for example, and to Minnesota residents 
who are in full-time military service outside Minnesota. 

A member of the Minnesota National Guard or other military reserve unit is 
allowed to subtract pay received for active service. "Active service" includes: 

• certain state active service, such as assistance in natirral disasters and 
searches for lost persons (Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5a, cl. (1)); 

• federally funded state active service, under U.S. Code, title 32 (National 
Guard), such as, weekend drills and annual training (summer camp), 
special school attendance, airport security, or active duty for special 
work (ADSW) (Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5b ); 

• federal active service, under U.S. Code, title 10 (Reserves), such as 
weekend drills, annual training (summer.camp), special school 
attendance, pre- or postdeployment-related duty, and time on medical 
hold under U.S. Code, title 10; active duty orders while recuperating 
from an injury; and Active Guard and Reserve (AGR) service under 
U.S. Code, title 10 (Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5c). 

Beginning in tax year 2014, "active service" also includes service by Minnesota 
residents working in AGR status under U.S. Code, title 32 (federally funded 
state active service), and service by current or former members of the National 
Guard or reserves ordered to active service by the adjutant general to perform 
full-time administration of the Department of Military Affairs. 



Military pay for 
service outside 
Minnesota 
is generally not 
taxed 
by the state 

Income received by Minnesota residents for military service under U.S. Code, title 
10, including service in AGR status by members of the military reserves other than 
the National Guard, and service by Minnesota residents in other states' National 
Guards, is not taxed by the state of Minnesota, and thus is not subject to Minnesota 
income tax withholding. Income received by Minnesota residents for service 
under U.S. Code, title 32, in other states' National Guards is taxed by the state of 
Minnesota. 

It may not be necessary for the person to file a Minnesota income tax return for a 
given tax year, unless a service member who has served only outside Minnesota 
during the year is due some specific tax-related benefit from the state (e.g., a 
refundable tax credit), has had other income tax withheld, or has earned a sufficient 
amount ($10,150 or more for tax year 2014) of other taxable military and/or 
nonmilitary income to require filing. 

The following are some common types of income received by service members 
who are Minnesota residents that are normally subject to the Minnesota income 
tax: 

• income earned by the service member's spouse living and employed within 
Minnesota (when filing jointly) 

• nonmilitary income earned by the service member as a pay differential 
provided by the person's (public or private) Minnesota civilian employer 

• nonmilitary income earned by the service member from civilian 
employment within Minnesota during part of the year (e.g., preceding or 
following military deployment or transfer) 

• other nonmilitary income earned by the service member before, during, or 
following military deployment outside Minnesota (e.g., rental income from 
property in Minnesota) 

For more information: The Department of Revenue maintains information on taxation of military pay 
online at http://www.revenue.state.mn.us/individuals/individ_income/Pages/Members_of_the_Military.aspx. 
Also see the House Research publication Minnesota Income Tax Benefits for Veterans, October 2016, or 
contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Jeffrey Diebel at jeffrey.diebel@house.mn. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Mortgage and Deed Taxes: An Overview 

What are the 
mortgage registry 
and deed taxes? 

What are the rates? 

How does it work? 

Who is responsible 
for paying the tax? 

The mortgage registry tax (MRT) and deed taxes are two separate state taxes that 
apply to many real estate transactions. The MR T is based on the amount of debt 
secured by a mortgage of real property and is imposed when the mortgage is 
recorded. The deed tax is a transfer tax; it is imposed on the value of real property 
transferred. While these taxes are independent of each other, they are often 
thought of together, since many property transactions trigger both taxes. 

·The MRT rate is 0.23 percent of the total debt. The deed tax rate is 0.33 percent of 
net consideration (i.e., the price paid for the real property). These rates have been 
in effect since 1987. 

The following example illustrates how each tax applies to a typical home purchase. 

Mortgage Registry Tax 

John and Mary Anderson buy a home with a purchase price of $150,000. The Andersons 
make a $20,000 down payment and take out a home loan with a principal amount of 
$130,000. How much mortgage registry tax do the Andersons owe? 

Principal debt x 0.23% = MRT liability 

$130,000 x 0.23% = $299 

The Andersons owe $299 in MRT. 

Deed Tax 

John and Mary Anderson record the deed for their new home. The deed is valued at 
$150,000. How much deed tax must be paid? 

Value of the deed recorded x 0.33% =deed tax liability 

$150,000 x 0.33% = $495 

$495 must be paid when the deed is recorded. 

The mortgagor (borrower) is liable for the.MRT, while the.seller is liable for the 
deed tax. As a practical matter, the lender usually collects both of the taxes at 
closing and remits them to the county when the mortgage and deed are recorded. 

The deed tax is collected from the seller at closing. But since the deed tax must be 
paid to record a deed and since it is primarily in the buyer's interest to record the 
deed, the tax may fall on the buyer if the seller fails to pay the tax. 



Who collects the 
money? 

How much is 
collected? 

Are there 
exemptions from 
the taxes? 

Can local 
governments also 
impose mortgage 
and deed taxes? 

County treasurers collect these taxes. They remit 97 percent of the revenues to the 
state for deposit in the state general fund. The county retains the other 3 percent 
for its administrative expenses. 

The table below shows the MRT and deed tax collected by the state since 2004. 
The amounts reflect only the state's 97 percent share. 

Collections are sensitive to the volume and value ofreal estate transactions; MRT 
collections are also sensitive to refinancing activity. Following the effects of the 
2007-2009 recession, historically low interest rates and a slowly improving 
economy have spurred growth in collections for the past two years. 

State MRT and Deed Tax Revenue (in millions) 
Percent 

Fiscal 
Change Change 

(from previous (from previous 
Year Mort2age Deed Total year) year) 

2004* 230.2 120.6 350.7 53.0 17.8% 
2005* 162.2 124.2 286.4 -64.3 -18.3% 
2006 173.6 136.4 310.0 23.6 8.2% 
2007 149.6 111.5 261.1 -48.9 -15.8% 

2008 114.4 84.3 198.7 -62.5 -23.9% 
. 2009 101.2 59.7 160.9 -37.8 -19.0% 
2010 94.6 58.5 153.1 -7.8 -4.8% 
2011 98.9 54.6 153.5 0.4 2.6% 

2012 103.0 57.1 160.1 6.6 4.3% 
2013 139.9 73.6 215.5 55.4 34.6% 
2014 93.4 87.1 180.5 -35.0 -16.2% 
2015 107.4 99.8 207.2 26.7 14.89% 

* Accelerating the June payment began in fiscal year 2004 and distorts the change amounts and 
percentages for fiscal years 2004 and 2005. 
Source: Department of Revenue 

Both taxes have multiple exemptions. MRT exemptions include contracts for 
deed, certain agricultural mortgages, marriage dissolution decrees, and certain low­
and moderate-income housing mortgages. Common deed tax exemptions are 
mortgages, plats, wills and testamentary distributions, leases, sheriffs foreclosure 
sale certificates, and marriage dissolution decrees. 

State law authorizes Ramsey and Hennepin county to impose local mortgage and 
deed taxes. Both of these county taxes have rates of 0.0001 (or 0.01 percent) for 
both taxes. The taxes expire on January 1, 2028, unless extended by the 
legislature. Bills have been introduced to authorize other counties to also impose 
local mortgage and deed taxes, but these proposals have not been enacted into law. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Christopher Kleman at christopher.kleman@house.mn. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Minnesota Income Tax Benefits for Veterans 

What tax benefits 
does Minnesota 
provide for past 
military service and 
military retirees? 

Who qualifies for 
the credit for past 
military service? 

How is the military 
service credit 
income limited? 

Who qualifies for 
the military 
retirement pay 
subtraction? 

How does the 
nonrefundable 
credit for past 
service compare 
with the income tax 
subtraction for 
retirement pay? 

Minnesota allows a nomefundable credit for past military service and an income 
tax subtraction for military retirement pay. Individuals who are eligible for both the 
credit and the subtraction may claim one or the other, but not both. 

The credit equals $750 for qualifying individuals and is subject to an income 
limitation. The credit took effect in tax year 2009. 

The income tax subtraction applies to all retirement pay and is not income limited. 
The subtraction takes effect in tax year 2016. 

To qualify for the credit, an individual must meet one of two criteria: 
• have served in the military (including the National Guard and reserves) for 

at least 20 years; or 
• have a service-connected disability rated by the U.S. Department of 

Veterans Affairs as being 100 percent total and permanent. 

Individuals currently serving in the military do not qualify for the credit, nor do 
survivors of individuals who qualified. Individuals are not required to receive 
military retirement pay in order to claim the credit. 

The military service credit is phased out for individuals with federal adjusted gross 
income (FAGI) of $30,000 or more. The credit is reduced by 10 percent ofFAGI 
in excess of $30,000, so that individuals with F AGI over $3 7 ,500 are not eligible 
for the credit. F AGI is a broad income measure that includes most kinds of income; 
among the items excluded are tax-exempt bond interest, the nontaxable portion of 
Social Security benefits, and veterans disability payments. 

Individuals who receive military retirement pay qualify for the subtraction. The 
subtraction applies to pay received by retirees from tlie full-time military, National 
Guard and reserves, and also Survivors Benefit Plan payments received by 
survivors of retirees. Disability pensions are excluded from federal and state 
taxable income and thus are not eligible for the subtraction. 

A nomefundable credit and an income tax subtraction both reduce tax liability, but 
in different ways. A credit is a dollar-for-dollar reduction in tax liability, while a 
subtraction reduces taxable income, which reduces tax liability. The benefit from a 
subtraction depends upon the taxpayer's tax bracket or rate. Because of the income 
limits for the credit, veterans who qualify for the credit will be in the bottom or 
lowest tax bracket with a rate of 5.35 percent. The $750 nomefundable military 
service credit is equivalent to a $14,020 income tax subtraction ($14,020 times 



Who will claim the 
credit and who will 
claim the 
subtraction? 

How many returns 
claim the credit and 
how much do they 
claim? 

How many 
individuals are 
projected to claim 
the subtraction, and 
how much will they 
benefit? 

5.35 percent, the state income tax rate for the first bracket of taxable income, 
equals $750). 

Only individuals with tax liability will benefit from either a nonrefundable credit 
or a subtraction, and the amount of the benefit is limited to their tax liability. 

Some individuals will be eligible for the credit but not the subtraction, chiefly 
lower-income individuals who have a service-connected disability rated as being 
100 perGent total and permanent. While these individuals may receive disability 
pensions, the disability pensions are exempt from federal and state tax, and they 
would not benefit from the subtraction. Most individuals who receive military 
retirement pay will .obtain a greater tax benefit from the subtraction rather than the 
credit. Individuals who are eligible for both the credit and the subtraction must 
choose one or the other, and may not claim both. 

In tax year 2014, 2,004 returns claimed about $1.4 million in credits, for an 
average of $677. Since the credit is nonrefundable, the reduction in liability in 
2014 may have been less than $1.4 million. Individuals who are eligible for credits 
that exceed their tax liability use the credit to reduce their liability to zero, and do 
not benefit from the remaining credit amount that exceeds liability. For tax year 
2016, the Department of Revenue projects that about 500 individuals who have 
previously claimed the credit will shift to the subtraction. 

The Department of Revenue estimates that 16,400 taxpayers will claim the 
subtraction in tax year 2016, including 500 taxpayers who in previous tax years 
claimed the credit, with a $22.6 million decrease in income tax revenues. The 
average tax benefit is estimated to be $1,378. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House 
Research publication Military Pay under Minnesota's Individual Income Tax, October 2016. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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MinnesotaCare: An Overview 

MinnesotaCare is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) under federal 
guidance as a Basic Health Program that provides subsidized health care coverage to low-income 
individuals. DHS, in cooperation with MNsure, the state's health insurance exchange, is responsible for 
processing applications and determining eligibility. 

Eligibility 

Covered services 

Most MinnesotaCare enrollees are parents and caretakers, children ages 19 to 
20, and adults without children. 

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, an individual must meet the following· 
criteria: , 

• Have gross income that is greater than 133 percent of the federal poverty 
guidelines (FPG) ($15,800 for a household of one) but does not exceed 
200 percent ofFPG ($23,760 for a household of one). Exceptions to the 
income floor are made for certain children under age 19 and legal 
noncitizens, who are not eligible for MA. 

• Not be eligible for Medical Assistance (MA). This· requirement has the 
effect of shifting the vast majority of pregnant women and children from 
MinnesotaCare to MA. 

• Not have access to subsidized health coverage that, as defined in the 
federal Affordable Care Act (ACA), is affordable (the employee pays no 
more than 9 .69 percent of income for self-only coverage for 2017) and 
provides minimum value (pays for at least 60 percent of medical expenses . 
on average). 

• Not have minimum essential health coverage (defined in the ACA as 
coverage under Medicare, Medicaid and other governinent programs, 
employer-sponsored coverage, individual market coverage, and other 
specified coverage). 

• Be a resident of Minnesota. Enrollees must meet the residency 
requirements of the MA program. 

Enrollees age 21 and over are covered for most, but not all, services covered 
under MA. Covered services include physician care, hospitalization, 
prescription drugs, therapy services, and a wide range of other health care 
services. Services not covered include personal care attendant services, private 
duty nursing, nursing home care, ICF/DD (intermediate care facility for persons 
with developmental disabilities), and special transportation services. 

Children ages 19 and 20, and certain children under age 19, receive coverage for 
a broader range of services than adults. 



Premiums 
and cost-sharing 

Provider 
reimbursement 

MinnesotaCare as 
Basic Health 
Program 

Expenditures and 
funding 

Recipients 

Application 
procedure 

Enrollees age 21 and older pay monthly, per-person premiums based on a sliding 
scale. Persons under age 21, and persons with incomes less than 35 percent of 
FPG, are not charged premiums. Adult enrollees are subject to copayments and 
other cost-sharing for specified services. 

Enrollees receive health care services through prepaid health plans. The 
MinnesotaCare program pays prepaid health plans a monthly capitation payment 
for each MinnesotaCare enrollee. MinnesotaCare does not set provider 
reimbursement rates; these rates are instead the result of negotiation between 
health care providers and the prepaid health plan. 

Under the ACA, states have the option of operating a basic health program to 
provide health coverage to persons with incomes greater than 133 percent but 
not exceeding 200 percent ofFPG. The 2013 Legislature directed DHS to seek 
federal approval to operate MinnesotaCare as a basic health program. Federal 
approval was received December 15, 2014, and implementation began January 
1, 2015. The legislature also made changes in MinnesotaCare eligibility, covered 
services, and service delivery necessary to meet federal requirements for a basic 
health program; many of these changes took effect January 1, 2014. 

In fiscal year 2015, the MinnesotaCare program paid $510 million for medical 
services provided to enrollees. Fifty-four pyrcent of this cost was paid for by the 
state, 43 percent by the federal government; and 3 percent by enrollees through 
premium payments (this last category also includes enrollee cost-sharing). 

Through 2014, the state received federal funding at the MA match rate for health 
care services provided to enrollees under a federal waiver. Since January 1, 
2015, the state has received from the federal government a payment for each 
enrollee equal to 95 percent of the subsidy that the individual would have 
otherwise received through MN sure.· 

State funding for MinnesotaCare and other health care access initiatives is 
provided by a tax of 2 percent on the gross revenues of health care providers and 
a tax of 1 percent on the premiums of nonprofit health plan companies. The tax 
on health care provider revenues is scheduled to sunset January 1, 2020. Prior to 
that date, the Commissioner of Management and Budget is required to reduce 
the rate of the tax on health care provider revenues if certain financial criteria 
are met. 

As of June 2016, 101,388 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare 
program. 

MinnesotaCare applications can be obtained by calling the Department of 
Human Services (1-800-657-3672) or MNsure, the state's health insurance 
exchange (1-855-366-7873). Applications are also available at county human 
services agencies and other locations. 

For more information: See the House Research information brief MinnesotaCare. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Medical Assistance: An Overview 

Medical Assistance (MA), the state's Medicaid program, is a federal-state program that pays for health 
care services for low-income individuals. The program is administered by counties, under the 
supervision of the state Department of Human Services (DHS). Federal Medicaid law allows states 
considerable flexibility in designing their Medicaid programs. 

Eligibility To be eligible for MA, an individual must meet the following criteria: 
I 

• Be a member of a group for which MA coverage is mandatory under 
federal law or a member of an optional group that the state has chosen to 
cover. Covered groups include families, children, pregnant women, the 
elderly, persons with disabilities, and adults without children. 

• Meet program income and any applicable asset limits. Certain types of 
income and specified assets are excluded when determining eligibility. 
Income and asset limits for selected groups are described below. 

• Be a U.S. citizen or a noncitizen who meets specified immigration 
criteria. 

• Be a resident of Minnesota. 
• Meet other program eligibility requirements. 

Net income limit, as % of federal 
Eligibility group poverty guidelines (FPG) Asset limit* 

Children < age 2 283 None 

. Children 2 through 18 275 None 

Children 19 through 20 133 None 

Pregnant women 278 None 

Parents and caretakers 133 None, unless on 
• spenddown 

Aged, blind, or disabled 100 $3,000 for one/$6,000 for 
two/$200 each additional 

Adults without children 133 None 

* The homestead, household goods, a vehicle, a burial plot and certain assets for burial expenses, . 
and other specified items are not counted as assets. 

Some individuals with incomes over these limits can also qualify for MA 
through a spenddown. Under a spenddown, an individual must incur medical 
bills in an amount that is equal to or greater than the amount by which the 
individual's income exceeds the spenddown limit of 133 percent of FPG for 
families and children and 80 percent of FPG for individuals who are aged, blind, 
or disabled. There is no spenddown for adults without children. 



Medicaid expansion 
and other 2013 
session changes 

Covered services 

Provider 
reimbursement 

Funding and 
expenditures 

Recipients 

Application 
procedure 

The 2013 Legislature made a number of changes in MA eligibility related to the 
federal Affordable Care Act (ACA). These changes included raising the income 
limit and requiring the use of modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) and a 
standard 5 percent income disregard when determining eligibility for certain 
groups, and eliminating the asset requirement for parents and caretakers. 

Minnesota provides all federally mandated services and most services 
designated by the federal Medicaid program as optional. These services include, 
but are not limited to: physician care, hospitalization, therapy and rehabilitation, 
dental, medical equipment and supplies, home health care, health clinic services, 
mental health, prescription drugs, medical transportation, nursing home, and 
intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities (ICF/DD) 
services. Adult enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to copayments for 
certain services. 

The state has also received federal approval to provide home and community­
based "waivered services" not normally covered by Medicaid that are intended 
to allow individuals to remain in the community, rather than reside in a hospital, 
nursing home, or intermediate care facility for persons with development , 
disabilities (I CF /DD). 

The MA program reimburses providers under both a fee-for-service system and 
a managed care system (composed of the Prepaid Medical Assistance Program 
or PMAP, county-based purchasing initiatives, and programs forthe elderly and 
persons with disabilities). In recent years. DHS has used competitive bidding to 
select managed care and county-based purchasing plans to deliver services to 
MA enrollees who are families and children. 

In state fiscal year 2015, total state and federal MA expenditures for services 
were $10.461 billion. The federal share of MA costs is determined by a formula 
based on state per capita income. In most fiscal years, the federal government 
has paid 50 percent of the cost of MA services, with Minnesota responsible for 
the remaining 50 percent. The federal government is providing an enhanced 
federal match, initially 100 percent of the cost of services and phasing down to 
90 percent, for services provided to adults without children. 

During state fiscal year 2015, an average of 1,049,819 individuals were eligible 
for MA services each month. As of August 2016, 813,663 MA recipients 
received services through the MA managed care system, with the remaining 
enrollees served through fee-for-service. 

Individuals interested in applying for MA should contact their county human 
services agency or MNsure, the state's health insurance exchange. 

For more information: See the House Research information brief Medical Assistance. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
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What isthe 
homestead credit 
refund program? 

What aspects of 
the program have 
changed 
recently? 

What are the 
maximums? 

How are claims 
filed? 

How many 
homeowners 
receive refunds, 
and what is the 
total amount 
paid? 

Homestead Credit Refund Program 

The homestead credit refund is a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to 
homeowners whose property taxes are high relative to their incomes. The program 
was previously knoWI1 as the homeowner's property tax refund program, or PTR, 
and sometimes popularly called the "circuit breaker." If the property tax exceeds a 
threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a percentage of the tax over the 
threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income increases: 

• the threshold percentage increases, 
• the share of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay (the "copay 

percentage") increases, and 
• the maximum refund decreases. 

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types of 
income, including income that is not subject to income tax. Deductions are 
allowed for dependents and for claimants who are over age 65 or disabled. The 
refund is based on taxes payable after subtracting any targeting refund claimed by 
the homeowner. 

The 2011 and 2013 tax laws both expanded the refund program. The 2011 changes 
increased the maximum refund for homeowners with incomes tinder about 
$37,000, and decreased the copayment percentage for most homeowners. The 2013 
changes, effective for refunds based on taxes payable in 2014, lowered the 
threshold percentage for determining eligibility from 3.5 percent of income to 2.0 
percent of income for homeowners with household incomes from $19,530 to 
$65,049, and to 2.5 percent for those at higher income levels. 

For refund claims filed in 201 7, based ori property taxes payable in 2017 and 2016 
household income, the maximum refund is $2,660. Homeowners whose income 
exceeds $108,659 are not eligible for a refund. 

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department of Revenue (DOR) 
Schedule Ml PR, which is filed separately from the individual income tax form. 
Claims based on taxes payable in 2017 that are filed before August 15, 2017, will 
be paid beginning in late September 201 7; claims filed electronically may be paid a 
month earlier. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in 2017 is 
August 15, 2018; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund. 

Based on payable 2015 property taxes and 2014 incomes, 440,840 homeowners 
received refunds. The average refund was $84 7, and the total dollar amount of 
refunds paid statewide was $373..3 million. The average refund for senior and 
disabled claimants ($876) was slightly higher than the average for those under age 
65 and not disabled ($827). 



How do refunds 
vary depending 
upon the filer's 
income and 
property tax? 

The following table shows the refund calculations for four example families with 
different incomes-two families in the metro area and two in Greater Minnesota. 
Although the program parameters are the same statewide, the average residential 
homestead property tax in the metro area is higher than in Greater Minnesota. The 
example metro area families have homes valued at $265,000 and payable 2017 
property taxes of $3,500, typical amounts for the metro area. The example families 
in Greater Minnesota have homes valued at $165,000 and payable 2017 property 
taxes of $1, 700, typical amounts for Greater Minnesota. Taxpayers who are over 
age 65, disabled, or have dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in 
determining the refund. 

1 

2 

3 

4 

5 

6 

7 

8 

9 

10 

11 

12 

13 

Married couple, both under age 65, two dependents 
Example refunds for claims to be filed in 2017, 

based on taxes payable in 2017 and 2016 income 

Metro area Greater Minnesota 

Taxpayer#! Taxpayer#2 Taxpayer#3 Taxpayer#4 

Property tax $3,500 $3,500 $1,700 $1,700 

Gross income $35,000 $75,000 $35,000 $75,000 

Deduction for 
dependents $10,865 $10,865 $10,865 $10,865 

Household income 
(2-3 =4) $24,135 $64,135 $24,135 $64,135 

Threshold income 
percentage 2.0% 2.0% 2.0% 2.0% 

Threshold % x income 
(4x5=6) $483 $1,283 $483 $1,283 

Property tax over 
threshold (1 - 6 = 7) $3,017 $2,217 $1,217 $417 

Statutory copay 
percentage 30% 40% 30% 40% 

Taxpayer copay 
amount (7 x 8 = 9) $905 $887 $365 $167 

Remaining tax over 
threshold (7 - 9 = 10) $2,112 $1,330 $852 $250 

Maximum refund 
allowed $2,660 $1,880 $2,660 $1,880 

Net property tax 
refund $2,112 . $1,330 $852 $250 

Net property tax paid 
after refund (1 - 12) $1,388 $2,170 $848 $1,450 

For more information: Claimants can check the status of their refund by calling DOR at (651) 296-4444 or 
online at www.revenue.state.rnn.us. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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What is targeting? 

Who qualifies? 

How does targeting 
work? 

Targeting Property Tax Refund 

The "additional" or "special" property tax refund, generally referred to as 
"targeting," directs property tax relief to homeowners who have large property tax 
increases from one year to the next. 

A homeowner qualifies if the property tax on the home has increased by more than 
12 percent over the previous year's tax and if the increase is over $100. In 
determining eligibility, the previous year's tax amount is the net amount paid by 
the homeowner after deduction of any targeting refund received in that year. 

The homeowner must have owned and lived in the same home for both years. If 
any improvements were made to the home, that portion of the tax increase 
resulting from the improvements must be subtracted when determining the refund. 

Generally, the refund equals 60 percent of the increase over the greater of (1) 12 
percent of the previous year's tax after deduction of targeting, or (2) $100. The 
maximum refund is $1,000. The targeting refund is calculated prior to calculation 
of the homestead credit refund. The following example shows,how the refund is 
calculated. 

Payable 2016 Property Tax after Targeting $1,600 
Payable 2017 Property Tax $2,000 

201 7 tax increase (over 2016) $400 
Taxpayer pays first 12% of increase compared to previous year's tax, which 
must be at least $100 (12% x $1,600) $192 

Remaining increase eligible for relief ($400 - $192 = $208) $208 

State pays 60% of excess over 12% increase up to a $1,000 maximum $125 
(60% x $208 = $125) 

Amount of 2017 increase paid by taxpayer ($400 - $125) $275 

The taxpayer's $400 increase (i.e., 25 percent) is reduced to an out-of-pocket 
property tax increase of $275 (i.e., 17.2 percent) as a result of the $125 refund. 

The taxpayer pays the full $2,000 amount of the 2017 property tax to the county, 
the first half in May and the second half in October. The taxpayer applies to the 
state for a targeting refund on form Ml PR. The targeting refund is paid at the 
same time the regular homestead credit refund ("circuit breaker") is paid in late 
September. 



Does targeting have 
any other 
restrictions? 

What are the dollar 
amounts of refunds 
paid for the state, 
metro, and 
nonmetro areas? 

How many 
homeowners claim 
the refund? 

How are claims 
filed? 

No, unlike the homestead credit refund, the targeting refund is not tied to the 
taxpayer's household income. Under the homestead credit refund, the taxpayer's 
household income may not exceed a specified maximum and the amount of 
household income affects the amount of the refund. 

However, the targeting refund does not use income as a factor, nor is there any 
limitation on the taxpayer's household income. Therefore, higher income 
taxpayers who do not qualify for the homestead credit refund due to income 
restrictions are eligible for the targeting refund. 

The table below shows the statewide amount, with a breakdown for the metro and 
the 80 nonmetro counties, for the past four years. 

Homeowners claimed $3.889 million on targeting refund claims filed in 2015. 
Changes in targeting refunds from one year to the next generally track changes in 
property taxes on homesteads. For example, from 2011 to 2012, homestead 
property taxes generally increased in Greater Minnesota and remained relatively 
constant in the metro area. 

Tar2etin2 Refunds, Filed 2012 -2015 (dollars in thousands) 
Filed 2012 Filed 2013 Filed 2014 Filed 2015 

Total Metro $570 $380 $799 $2,749 
Total Nonmetro $2,696 $348 $723 $1,140 
State $3,266 $729 $1,523 $3,889 

Some taxpayers (e.g., those who typically don't qualify for the homestead credit 
refund) may not be aware of the targeting program, resulting in lower total refunds 
statewide than if all eligible taxpayers had filed. 

In 2015, just over 47,000 homeowners claimed refunds based on their property tax 
increase from payable 2014 to 2015. The average refund amount was $82. 

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department of Revenue (DOR) 
Schedule Ml PR, the homestead credit refund form. There is a separate schedule 
.on the back ofthe·MlPR ("Schedule 1- Special Refund") for the targeting 
program. The taxpayer files for this refund after receiving his or her property tax 
statement in February or March. Claims filed before August 15, 2017, will be paid 
beginning in late September 2017. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes 
payable in 2017 is August 15, 2018; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not 
receive a refund. Forms are available online at DOR's website, under "Forms and 
Instructions" (www.revenue.state.mn.us). 

For more information: Claimants can check the status of their refund by calling DOR at (651) 296-4444 
or online at www.revenue.state.mn.us. Also see the House Research Short Subject Homestead Credit 
Refund Program, November 2016~ and the Information Brief Targeting, February 2016. -

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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What is the 
renter's property 
tax refund 
program? 

What are recent 
changes to the 
program? 

What are the 
maximums? 

How are claims 
filed? 

How many renters 
receive refunds, 
and what is the 
total amount paid? 

Renter's Property Tax Refund Program 

The renter's property tax refund program (sometimes called the "renters' credit") 
is a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to renters whose rent and "implicit 
property taxes" are high relative to their incomes. "Rent constituting property 
taxes" is assumed to equal 1 7 percent of rent paid. If rent constituting property 
taxes exceeds a threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a percentage 
of the tax over the threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income increases: 

• the threshold percentage increases, 
• the share of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay increases, and 
• the maximum refund decreases. 

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types 
of income, including income that is not subject to income tax. Deductions are 
allowed for dependents and for claimants who are over age 65 or disabled. 

The 2013 tax law expanded the program, by lowering the threshold percentage 
for determining eligibility from 3.5 percent of income to 2.0 percent of income, 
in conjunction with reductions to the homeowner thresholds. It also increased 
the maximum refund to $2,000 for refunds based on rent paid in 2013. 

For refunds based on rent paid from 1998 to 2008, the percentage of rent 
constituting property taxes was 19 percent. It was reduced to 15 percent for 
refunds based on rent paid in 2009 only under Gov. Tim Pawlenty's June 2009 
unallotment, subsequently enacted into law. For refunds based on rent paid in 
2010, the percentage returned to 19 percent. The 2011 tax law reduced the rate 
to 17 percent beginning for refunds based on rent paid in 2011 and following 
years. 

For refund claims filed in 2017, based on rent paid in 2016 and 2016 household 
income, the maximum refund is $2,060. Renters whose income exceeds $58,879 
are not eligible for refunds. 

Refund claims are filed using Minnesota Department of Revenue (DOR) 
Schedule Ml PR. Schedule Ml PR is filed separately from the individual income 
tax form. Claims filed before August 15, 2017, will be paid beginning in August 
2017. The deadline for filing claims based on rent paid in 2016 is August 15, 
2018; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund. 

Based on rent paid in 2014 and 2014 incomes, 335,679 renters received refunds. 
The average refund was $623, and the total dollar amount of refunds paid 
statewide was $209.0 million. The average refund for senior and disabled 
claimants ($687) was higher than the average for those under age 65 and not 
disabled ($599). 



How do refunds 
vary depending on 
income and 
property taxes? 

The following table shows the refund amount for four example families (married 
couples without dependents). Although the threshold percentage, copayment 
rates, and maximum refund amounts are the same statewide, the average rent is 
higher in the metro area than in Greater Minnesota. Taxpayers who are over age 
65, disabled, or have dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in 
determining the refund. 
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Married couple, both under age 65, no dependents 
Example refunds for claims to be filed in 2016, 

based on rent paid in 2016 and 2016 household income 

Metro area Greater Minnesota 

Taxpayer #1 Taxpayer#2 Taxpayer #1 Taxpayer#2 

Monthly rent, one 
bedroom apartment $813 $813 $554 $554 

Annual rent (1x12 = 
2) $9,756 $9,756 $6,648 $6,648 

Rent constituting 
property tax (2 x 17% 
= 3) $1,659 $1,659 $1,130 $1,130 

Gross income $15,000 $30,000 $15,000 $30,000 

Deduction for 
dependents 0 0 0 0 

Household income 
(4-5 = 6) $15,000 $30,000 $15,000 $30,000 

Statutory threshold 
percentage 1.3% 1.9% 1.3% 1.9% 

· Threshold% x income 
(7 x 6 = 8) $195 $570 $195 $570 

Property tax over 
threshold (3 - 8 = 9) $1,464 $1,089 $935 $560 

Copay percentage 15% 30% 15% 30% 

Taxpayer copay 
amount (9 x 10 = 11) $220 $327 $140 $168 

Remaining tax over 
threshold 
(9-11=12) $1,244 $762 $795 $392 

Maximum refund 
allowed $1,910 $1,700 $1,910 $1,700 

Net property tax refund $1,244 $762 $795 $392 

For more information: Claimants can check the status of their refund by calling DOR at (651) 296-4444 or 
online at www.revenue.state.mn.us. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
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Two special state 
taxes apply to 
alcoholic beverages: 
excise taxes and a 
gross receipts tax 

Excise tax rates are 
set as a dollar 
amount per volume 
of the beverage 

Few exemptions 
apply 

Updated: November 2016 

Alcoholic Beverage Taxes· 

Minnesota imposes two types of special taxes on alcoholic beverages: 

• Special excise taxes are imposed on manufacturers or wholesalers of 
these products. These taxes are a fixed dollar amount per unit (per barrel 
or liter). The tax rates vary by beverage type. See the table below for 
tax rates. 

• A special gross receipts tax of 2.5 percent applies to retailers making 
both on-sale (to be consumed in bars or restaurants) and off-sale (in 
liquor stores or by other sellers) sales. The tax is imposed on the retail 
price (receipts). 

Manufacturers of beer and wholesalers of distilled spirits and wines pay the 
special excise taxes. If the beer manufacturer doesn't pay, the wholesaler or 
importer is liable for the tax. The table shows the rates for the most common· 
beverage categories. Higher rates apply to wines with alcoholic contents that 
exceed 21 percent and 24 
percent, but little or none of 
these products are sold. A 
special "bottle tax" of one cent 
per bottle also applies to each 
wine and liquor bottle that is 200 
milliliters or larger. 

Because the excise taxes are 
fixed dollar amounts, they don't 
vary by the price of the product. 

Beverage Type 

Beer< 3.2% alcohol 
Beer> 3.2% alcohol 
Cider < 7% alcohol 
Low-alcohol dairy cocktails 
Wine< 14% alcohol 
Wine> 14% alcohol 
Sparkling wine 
Distilled spirits 

Excise Tax per 
Gallon Liter 
$.08 NA 

.15 NA 

.15 NA 

.08 $.02 

.30 .08 

.95 .25 
1.82 .48 
5.03 1.33 

Higher priced products pay the same tax as lower priced products. Moreover, 
revenues grow only as more liters or barrels of the products are sold; revenues 
don't increase with inflation (price increases). For revenues to keep pace with 
inflation, the legislature must adjust the tax rates periodically. It has done this 
only sporadically (most recently in 1987). In inflation-adjusted terms, the excise 
tax rates in 2014 are less than half the amounts that they were in 1987. 

The law exempts the following from the excise tax: 
• Sacramental wine 
• Products sold to food processors and pharmaceutical companies 
• The first 25,000 barrels of beer produced by a brewery with annual 

production ofless than 250,000 barrels (A barrel is 31 gallons.) 



Revenues go to the 
general fund 

Minnesota tax 
compared with 
other states 

Tax relative to 
alcohol content 
varies 

Tax is regressive 

For more information: 

• A microdistillery may take a tax credit of $1.33 per liter on up to 
I 00,000 liters of distilled spirits, per year. 

Revenues from both the excise taxes and 
the gross receipts tax go to the general 
fund. Fiscal year 2015 revenues from the 
excise taxes were about $85 million and 
from the gross receipts tax, $83.5 
million. Thus, the gross receipts tax 
raises about half of alcohol tax revenues. 
The table to the right shows the 
collections by beverage type for the 
excise tax and for the additional gross 
receipts tax. The excise tax revenue from 

Beverage Type FY2015 %of 
Revenues Total 

(000) 
Beer $15,127 8.98% 
Wine 6,548 3.89 
Distilled Spirits 62,916 37.35 

Excise tax total 84,591 50.22 
2.5% gross 
receipts tax 83,327 49.58 
Total $167,918 
Source: MN Department of Revenue 

liquor reflects the higher rates imposed on these products, rather than their share 
of the market (measured by dollars spent). The sales tax imposes a much higher 
tax burden on wine and beer than the excise tax does. 

Minnesota's wine and beer excise taxes are average or below average compared 
with most other states. Minnesota's tax 
on distilled spirits (liquor) is among the 
higher taxes for states with excise taxes. 
A number of states (including Iowa) 
have state liquor monopolies and a 
portion of the price markup is a de facto 
tax; it is difficult to compare the tax 
burden with these states. The table 
compares Minnesota's tax rates with its 
bordering states. However, only North 
Dakota imposes a gross receipts tax (at a 

Excise Tax Rates (per gallon) 
Bordering States 
Strong Table Liquor 

Beer Wine 
IA $.19 $1.75 NA 
MN .15 .30 $5.03 
ND .16 .50 2.50 
SD .27 .93 3.93 
WI .06 .25 3.25 
Source: Federation of Tax Administrators 

2 percent rate) similar to Minnesota's. Thus, the total Minnesota alcohol tax 
burden is higher than suggested by simply comparing excise tax burdens. 

The excise taxes are imposed on the volume of the beverage, not its alcoholic 
content. (The federal tax on distilled spirits, by contrast, is imposed explicitly 
on alcoholic content.) Since alcoholic content varies significantly within 
beverage type, it is· difficult to generalize about the tax on alcohol content. But 
when looking at averages for beverage types, it is apparent that alcohol in beer 
and wine is lightly taxed compared with liquor. The excise tax per an ounce of 
alcohol in a typical liquor is about nine cents, while it is between two and three 
cents for wine and beer. 

The alcohol taxes are regressive; they constitute a higher share of income for 
lower income families and individuals, on average. The Department of 
Revenue's Tax Incidence Study indicates they are less regressive than the 
tobacco taxes but more regressive than the general sales tax. 

Contact legislative analyst Christopher Kleman at christopher.kleman@house.mn. 
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MNsure Subsidized Health Coverage: An Overview 

MN sure, the state's health insurance exchange, was established as part of the implementation of the 
Affordable Care Act (ACA). Individuals who are not eligible for Medical Assistance (MA) or 
MinnesotaCare, with incomes that do not exceed specified guidelines, may be eligible to receive premium 
tax credits and cost-sharing reductions to purchase a qualified health plan through MN sure. 

Qualified health 
plans 

Eligibility for 
premium tax credits 

Calculation and 
amount of premium 
tax credits 

The ACA requires health coverage offered through an exchange to meet the. 
standards of a qualified health plan. These standards include providing essential 
health benefits, and complying with certain limitations on cost-sharing. The 
essential health benefits include the following ten categories of items and services: 
ambulatory patient services; emergency services; hospitalization; maternity and 
newborn care; mental health and substance use disorder services including 
behavioral health treatment; prescription drugs; rehabilitation and habilitative 
services and devices; laboratory services; preventive and wellness services and 
chronic disease management; and pediatric services including oral and vision care. 

The ACA requires qualified health plans (and other types of health coverage) to be 
offered at different "metal levels" that correspond to different actuarial values 
(actuarial value is an estimate of the percentage of medical expenses incurred by a 
typical emollee that will on average be paid by the insurer). These metal levels, 
and corresponding actuarial values, are bronze (60 percent actuarial value), silver 
(70 percent), gold (80 percent), and platinum (90 percent). 

In order to be eligible for a premium tax credit through MN sure, an individual 
must: (1) be emolled in a qualified health plan through MNsure; (2) not be eligible 
for other types of health coverage such as Medical Assistance, MinnesotaCare, 
Medicare, and employer coverage (unless the employer coverage is unaffordable or 
does not provide minimum value); (3) have an income greater than 200 percent but 
not exceeding 400 percent of the federal poverty guidelines (PPG) (e.g., $48,600 to 
$97,200 for a family of four); and (4) file a federal income tax return. Individuals 
with incomes below the threshold for premium tax credits may be eligible for MA 
or MinnesotaCare. 

The premium tax credit is refundable-it is available to all who are eligible, even 
persons with little or no income tax liability. Refundable credits in excess of tax 
liability are paid as refunds. 

The amount of a premium tax credit varies from person to person. The premium 
tax credit amount is equal to the difference between the premium cost of the lowest 
cost silver plan in the individual's geographic area (referred to as the benchmark 
plan) and the individual's expected premium contribution. The expected premium 
contribution varies based on income, and for 2017 in Minnesota, ranges between 
6.43 percent of income (for persons with incomes just over 200 percent of FPG) to 
9.69 percent of income (for persons with incomes at 400 percent of FPG). These 



Administration and 
reconciliation of tax 
credits 

Cost-sharing 
reductions 

Financing 
subsidized coverage 

Enrollment 
statistics 

Application 
procedure 

percentages are indexed annually to take into account health insurance premium 
growth. The amount of the tax credit is fixed (being calculated in reference to the 
benchmark plan). Persons who choose a higher cost plan through MN sure will pay 
higher premiums after application of the tax credit than persons who choose a 
lower cost plan. 

Individuals apply for premium tax credits and cost-sharing reductions (described 
below) through MN sure, and may claim the tax credit in advance or when filing a 
tax return. If a person claims the credit in advance, the federal government pays the 
tax credit directly to the insurer from whom the person has purchased coverage. 
The amount of the premium tax credit received in advance is based on an estimate 
of expected income. The amount of the tax credit is reconciled to actual income as 
part of the tax filing process. Persons whose actual income is higher than the 
estimated amount may need to pay back some or all of the advanced tax credits 
received, and persons whose actual income is lower than the estimated amount 
may get a refund when filing' taxes or have the amount of taxes owed reduced. The 
amount of excess tax credits received that must be repaid by an individual is 
limited by a dollar cap that increases with income. 

Persons with incomes greater than 200 percent but not exceeding 250 percent of 
FPG, who receive tax credits and purchase a silver-level plan through MN sure, are 
eligible for a cost-sharing reduction. This cost-sharing reduction is provided in the 
form of an increase in the actuarial value of the silver plan to 73 percent (compared 
to a 70 percent actuarial value for a regular silver plan). The increase in actuarial 
value is generally achieved by first reducing the regular silver plan's annual out-of­
pocket limit, .and then reducing other cost-sharing as needed. American Indians and 
Alaska Natives are exempt from cost-sharing or are eligible for reduced cost­
sharing if certain criteria are met. 

The cost of providing premium tax credits and cost-sharing reductions to persons 
purchasing coverage through MN sure is borne by the federal government. Health 
insurers are reimbursed by the federal government for the cost of premium tax 
credits that enrollees receive in advance and for the cost of any cost·sharing 
reductions provided. 

As of September 18, 2016, 100,092 individuals were enrolled in a qualified health 
plan through MNsure (additional individuals were enrolled in MA and 
MinnesotaCare through MNsure). Based on August 2016 enrollment data, 63 
percent of qualified health plan enrollees received premium tax credits and 15 
percent received cost-sharing reductions. 

Individuals interested in applying for premium tax credits and cost-sharing 
reductions can contact MN sure at 1-855-366-7873 or www.mnsure.org. The 
MNsure website also has information on obtaining face-to-face enrollment 
assistance from a navigator or insurance agent. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639. Also see the House 
Research publication Subsidized Health Coverage through MNsure. 
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For deaths in 2017, 
32 states impose 
neither estate nor 
inheritance taxes 
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estate taxes differ in 
the base used to 
compute them; one 
depends on the total 
size of the estate, 
the other on to 
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made 
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taxes 
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Estate and Inheritance Taxation: 
An Overview of Tax.es in the States 

From 1924 through 2001, the federal estate tax allowed a dollar-for-dollar credit 
for state death taxes paid (up to maximum limits). All states imposed estate 
taxes up to the amount of the federal credit; some states also imposed additional 
inheritance or estate taxes. In 2001 Congress repealed the federal credit for state 
death taxes (effective for deaths after December 31, 2004). Now that they can 
no longer impose taxes that do not increase the total tax burden on estates and 
heirs, most states no longer impose estate or inheritance taxes (31 states for 
deaths in 2017). Minnesota imposes an estate tax. 

Estate taxes generally apply a single tax rate schedule to the taxable value of 
the decedent's total estate (bequests to charities and surviving spouses are 
typically exempt). 

Inheritance taxes apply varying tax rate schedules to bequests made to different 
classes of beneficiaries. Bequests to surviving spouses and lineal heirs typically 
enjoy lower rates or are totally exempt, while bequests to more distant or 
unrelated heirs (collateral heirs) are usually taxed at higher rates or have lower 
exemptions or both. 

For decedents dying in calendar year 2017, 12 states (Connecticut, Delaware, 
Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, Oregon, Rhode 
Island, Vermont, and Washington) and the District of Columbia impose only 
estate taxes. 

Exemption amounts under the state estate taxes vary, ranging from the federal 
estate tax exemption amount or $5.49 million, indexed for inflation (three states) 
to $1,000,000 (Massachusetts). States have been steadily increasing their 
exemption amounts with Maryland's and New York's scheduled to rise to the 
federal amount in 2019. Minnesota's exemption for 2017 is $1.8 million for 
2017 and will rise to $2 million in 2018. Top rates range from 12 percent to 20 
percent with most states, like Minnesota, imposing a top rate of 16 percent. 

Four states (Iowa, Kentucky, Nebraska, and Pennsylvania) impose only 
inheritance taxes. 

The exemptions under state inheritance taxes vary greatly, ranging from $500 
(Kentucky and New Jersey) for bequests to unrelated individuals to unlimited 
exemptions (Iowa and Kentucky) for bequests to lineal heirs, such as children or 
parents of the decedent. No states tax bequests to surviving spouses; only two 



Two states impose 
both taxes 

states (Nebraska and Pennsylvania) tax bequests to lineal heirs. Top tax rates 
range from 4.5 percent (Pennsylvania on lineal heirs) to 18 percent (Nebraska on 
collateral heirs). 

Maryland and New Jersey impose both types of taxes, but the estate tax is a 
credit against the inheritance tax, so the total tax liability is not the sum of the 
two, but the greater of the two taxes. Neither tax applies to bequests to lineal 
heirs. The New Jersey estate tax is repealed effective for 2018 deaths. 

The map shows the states with estates and inheritance taxes for deaths in 2017. 

State Estate and Inheritance Taxes 

No tax 

States with Estate Taxes 

States with Inheritance Taxes 
States with both Estate Taxes and Inheritance Taxes 

House Research Department 

For more information: See the information brief Survey of State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Taxes, 
December 2015. 
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Historic Structure Rehabilitation Credit 

To encourage preservation of historic buildings, Minnesota allows tax credits (or grants in lieu of the credit) to 
individuals and entities that spend substantial amounts rehabilitating qualifying buildings. This credit and 
grant program ("Historic Structure Rehabilitation Credit" or "Historic Credit") mirrors the similar federal 
income tax credit and is administered in much the same way. The program was enacted in 2010 and is 
scheduled to expire after fiscal year 2021. 

What projects 
qualify for credits 
or grants? 

What is the credit 
rate? 

What expenses 
qualify for the 
credit? 

Who administers 
the credit and what 
actions must 
taxpayers take to 
qualify? 

To qualify for a credit or grant, the project must also qualify for the federal tax 
credit. That requires projects to: 

• rehabilitate a building that is certified as a historic structure by the National 
Park Service (NPS)-i.e., the building either must be on the national 
register or be certified as contributing to a registered historic district; 

• be an income-producing property (e.g., rental housing qualifies but owner­
occupied residences do not); and 

• spend "substantial" amounts on rehabilitation that meets NPS standards. 

The credit rate is 20 percent. (The federal credit ra,k is also 20 percent, so the 
combined state and federal credit can equal up to 40 percent of qualifying 
expenses.) The grant in lieu of the credit equals 90 percent of the credit, so its 
effective rate is 18 percent (20% * 90% = 18%). No maximum or "cap" applies. 

The credit applies to expenditures to rehabilitate a qualifying building. The 
amount spent must be substantial, which federal law defines as the greater of (1) 
$5,000 or (2) the tax basis of the property. The credit cannot be used to pay for: 

• acquiring the property; 
• personal property (e.g., equipment that doesn't become part of the 

building); 
• enlargement or expansion of the building; or 
• site work. 

The federal and state credits are jointly administered by the tax administrators (the 
federal Internal Revenue Service and Minnesota Department of Revenue) and the 
agencies responsible for historic preservation (NPS and Minnesota State Historic 
Preservation Office or SHPO). To receive the tax credits or grants, projects must 
go through a multi-part certification process administered by SHPO and NPS. This 
process generally must begin before work starts on the project. Credits are paid 
only after completion of work and when the project is "placed in service." Detail 
on these processes (for both the federal and Minnesota credits) is available on the 
websites of the NPS and Minnesota Historical Society. 



Which taxes are the 
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against? 

How do the federal 
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taxes? 
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program? 
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projects located? 

The Minnesota credit is allowed against any of the following taxes: the individual 
income, corporate franchise, or insurance premiums taxes. The credit is refundable 
and the taxpayer may assign or sell the credit (once) to another individual or entity. 

The federal and state credits are direct subtractions from tax liability, so they 
provide a dollar-for-dollar reduction in tax liability under the respective federal and 
state taxes. (Because the Minnesota credit is refundable, the full amount is paid 
regardless of the amount of the tax liability.) Allowance of the credit also has 
other effects on calculation of tax. Federal law provides that the federal credit 
reduces tax basis and that straight-line (rather than accelerated) depreciation must 
be used for the project. These rules flow through to calculation of Minnesota 

. individual or corporate tax and result in some of the apparent benefit of the credit 
being offset by a reduction in tax benefits available· to similar real estate 
investments that are not allowed the credit. 

In addition, because state income taxes are deductible (e.g., as business expenses) 
by real estate investors, federal income tax will rise as a result of allowance of the 
state credit-in effect, the state credit increases federal tax. 

The Minnesota program allows projects to claim a grant (equal to 90 percent of the 
credit amount) instead of a credit. The grant is paid by the Minnesota Historical 
Society and no differences in qualifying rules apply to a grant versus a tax credit. 
The grant may be paid to an entity other than a taxpayer. The grant option allows 
projects involving tax-exempt entities an option for avoiding the indirect federal 
income tax on state tax credits, as described above. How successful the grant is in 
minimizing federal tax on projects is unclear, since the federal tax treatmen.t of the 
grants is somewhat uncertain. 

The table shows Minnesota Management Budget's forecast of the tax credit and 
the grant-in-lieu-of-credit amounts for fiscal year 2014 through fiscal year 2019 for 
the November 2016 revenue forecast. Fiscal years 2014 to 2016 are actual 
amounts. The forecast is based on SHPO application and certification data. 

Fiscal year Tax Credit Grant 
(in thousands) (in thousands) 

2014 $12,244 $344 
2015 56,704 -
2016 13,781 -
2017 97,406 3,737 
2018 41,657 1,294 
2019 29,223 3,332 

To date, most projects have been located in Minneapolis and St. Paul, where many 
historic buildings are located and where recent robust real estate development has 
occurred. Through fiscal year 2016 (the most recent year with actual data), 77 
percent of the projects and 98 percent of the credit/grant amounts were in 
Minneapolis and St. Paul. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
joel.michael@house.mn. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, legal, 
and information services to the entire House. 
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Minnesota compare 
with other states? 

Updated: December 2016 

The Federal Child Tax Credit 

Parents may claim a credit against federal income tax equal to $1,000 for each 
child under age 17. The credit was enacted in the Tax Relief Act of 1997 (TRA) 
and first allowed in 1998. It was made permanent by the American Taxpayer 
Relief Act (ATRA) of2012. 

The credit is reduced by $50 for every $1,000 of income over $110,000 of adjusted 
gross income for married joint filers and $75,000 for head of household filers. A 
married couple filing jointly with two children under age 17 will become ineligible 
for the credit when their income exceeds $149,000; a single parent claiming the 
credit for one child will become ineligible when income exceeds $94,000. 

The child credit is partly refundable; the refundable portion is referred to as the 
"additional child tax credit." The additional child tax credit equals the greater of: 

• 15 percent of earned income over $3,000, or, 
• for families with three or more children, payroll taxes in excess of the 

federal earned income tax credit. 

For example, a married couple with two children under age 17 and $40,000 of 
income is eligible for $2,000 in child tax credits, $1,000 for each child. If the 
couple claims the standard deduction, their federal income tax will equal $1,120 in 
2016. They use $1,120 of their $2,000 credit to reduce their liability to $0. They 
may claim up to 15 percent of their earnings in excess of $3, 000 as a refund. 
Assuming all $40,000 of their income is from wages, that means they would be 
eligible to claim up to $5,550 of the remaining credit as a refund (15 percent of 
$40,000, minus $3,000, equals $5,550). The result is that they claim $1,120 as an 
offset to their tax liability and are paid the remaining $880 as a refund. 

In tax year 2014, 412,510 federal income tax returns filed by Minnesotans claimed 
$554 million in the nonrefundable portion of the federal child credit. The average 
amount claimed was $1,342. For the same year, 237,490 returns filed by 
Minnesotans claimed $325 million under the refundable additional child credit. 
Some of these returns also claimed the nonrefundable portion of the credit. The 
average additional child tax credit (the refundable portion) was $1,366. 

Nationwide, 15 .1 percent of all income tax returns claimed the child credit, 
compared with 15.4 percent in Minnesota. The average amount of the 
nonrefundable portion claimed nationwide was $1,211, compared with $1,342 in 
Minnesota. Since the credit is only partly refundable, the larger average amount 
claimed on Minnesota returns may result from Minnesotans having above-average 
incomes, and consequently more federal liability available to be offset by the child 
credit. Utah had the highest average nonrefundable portion, at $1,533, and the 
District of Columbia had the lowest, at $959. 



How has the credit 
amount changed 
over time? 

Has the credit 
always been 
refundable? 

The average amount of the refundable portion claimed nationwide was $1,343, 
compared with $1,366 in Minnesota. Utah had the highest average refundable 
portion, at $1,619, and Massachusetts had the lowest, at $1,180. 

The credit equaled $400 per child in 1998, increased to $500 in 1999, $600 in 
2001 and 2002, and $1,000 beginning in 2003. The $1,000 credit amount was 
made permanent in 2012 by ATRA. 

When first enacted in TRA, the child credit was only refundable for taxpayers with 
three or more children, and only to the extent that their payroll taxes exceeded the 
federal earned income tax credit. The implicit rationale was that the refundable 
portion of the federal earned income tax credit was first used to offset payroll taxes 
for Social Security and Medicare, and then any payroll taxes left over after the 
federal earned income tax credit could be offset by the federal child credit. This 
refund mechanism was limited to families with three or more children because 
families with fewer children and no federal tax liability would typically have all of 
their payroll taxes offset by the federal earned income tax credit and none left over 
to be offset by the new child credit. 

In 2001 the refundable portion was changed to be the greater of: 

• 15 percent of earned income over a minimum amount for all families 
regardless of the number of children, or, 

• for families with three or more children, payroll taxes in excess of the 
federal earned income tax credit (the provision that was already in law). 

The 2001 law set the minimum amount at $10,000 and provided for it to increase 
annually for inflation; ATRA made the $10,000 as indexed for inflation permanent. 
The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 temporarily reduced the 
indexed $10,000 to $3,000, not adjusted for inflation, for tax years 2009 and 2010 
only; ATRA extended the $3,000 minimum amount through 2017. The Protecting 
Americans from Tax Hikes Act of2015 made the $3,000 minimum amount 
permanent. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Payments made 
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lawsuits against 
the tobacco 
industry have 
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as excise taxes 

A 95 percent 
excise tax 
applies to other 
tobacco 
products 

A use tax can 
apply, if 
Minnesota tax 
has otherwise 
not been paid 

Cigarette and Tobacco Excise Taxes and Fees 

Minnesota imposes an excise tax on the sale or possession of cigarettes of $3.04 per 
pack of 20. The excise tax on cigarettes is imposed on a "per unit" basis-i.e., on the 
number of cigarettes sold, not as a percentage of the sale price. As a result, the tax 
does not vary based on the price of the brand purchased or change as the prices rise or 
fall. However, under 2013 legislation the tax rate is annually adjusted (each January 
1) for the change in the average retai~ price of cigarettes in the state. The latest 
indexing adjustment, effective January 1, 2017, increased the rate by 4 cents to the 
$3.04 per pack rate that now applies. 

Since 2005, cigarette sales have been exempt from state and local sales taxes. A per­
pack tax applies instead of the sales tax. The commissioner of revenue annually sets 
this in-lieu tax based on a survey of Minnesota retail cigarette prices. The rate is set as 
an average of these prices and is reset January 1 for the calendar year. Effective 
January 1, 2017, the rate is 55 cents/pack. The tax does not replace local sales taxes, 
although cigarettes are exempt from these local taxes. 

Settlements of the states' lawsuits against the tobacco companies have similar 
economic effects to cigarette taxes, since these settlement payments are passed along 
to consumers (nat~onally) as higher cigarette prices. However, they do not affect· 
companies that were not part of the lawsuit or that have not entered the Master 
Settlement Agreement as participating manufacturers. To compensate for the lower 
prices of cigarettes produced by nonsettling companies, the 2003 Legislature imposed 
a 35-cent per-pack fee on those cigarettes. The 2013 Legislature increased this fee to 
50 cents. 

An excise tax of 95 percent of the wholesale price applies to other tobacco products, 
such as cigars, pipe tobacco, snuff, and chewing tobacco. Since this tax is a 
percentage of price, it fluctuates as the prices of the products change with two 
exceptions to this general rule, both enacted by the 2013 Legislature: 

• A minimum tax applies to each container of moist snuff equal to the tax rate on 
a pack of 20 cigarettes. 

• Premium cigars (hand-rolled with a wholesale price of $2/cigar or more) are 
subject to a maximum tax of $3.50/cigar. 

A use tax applies to consumers who purchase untaxed cigarettes (e.g., over the Internet 
or in-person in another state) for use in Minnesota. The tax is the same as the rate of 
the excise tax. The use tax does not apply to one carton of cigarettes purchased in 
another state and brought into the state by the individual. For larger quantities brought 
into the state and for any quantity shipped to the consumer in Minnesota, the use tax 
applies. 



The taxes 
yielded 
revenues of 
nearly $660 
million in FY 
2015 

Minnesota has 
a higher 
cigarette excise 
tax rate than 
neighboring 
states 
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For fiscal year 2015, the Minnesota Department of Revenue reported collections from 
the two excise taxes and the sales tax on cigarettes to be $659.9 million. Revenues 
from the tobacco products tax are deposited in the general fund. Each fiscal year, 
cigarette tax revenues of $22.25 million go to fund the Academic Health Center, $3.94 
million to the medical education and research account, and the rest to the state general 
fund. 

Because cigarettes can easily be transported, the tax rates in other states (especially 
border states) are important. Minnesota excise tax ($3.04/pack) is higher than any of 
the bordering states: Wisconsin ($2.52), South Dakota ($1.53), Iowa ($1.36), North 
Dakota (44 cents). All states' rates are shown on the map below. The map does not 
reflect local cigarette taxes; some of these local taxes are substantial (e.g., $1.50 in 
New York City and $4.18 per pack in Chicago). The map does not reflect the effect of 
general sales taxes (including Minnesota's per-pack tax in lieu of the sales tax). Some 
states have no sales tax or exempt cigarettes from sales taxation, lowering the overall 
tax burden. California's excise tax will increase to $2.87 in early 2017. 

State Cigarette Tax Rates* 
as of 1/1/2017 
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() 

cents per pack 

:.i---- NJ · 270 

DE-160 
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*These exclude some significant local taxes 
Source: Federation of Tax Administrators and other sources 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Christopher Kleman at christopher.kleman@house.mn. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Minnesota's All-Payer Claims Database (MN APCD) 

Wltat is tlte all­
payer claims 
database? 

Wlto reports data to 
tlte MN APCD? 

Minnesota's all-payer claims database (MN APCD) is a database of health care 
claims data on Minnesota residents. The database is maintained by the Minnesota 
Department of Health (MDH) and a data processor under contract with MDH to 
collect and process the data. Laws authorizing the database were enacted in 2008, 
and data collection began in 2009. The MN APCD is governed by Minnesota 
Statutes, section 62U.04, and Minnesota Rules, chapter 4653, and appendices. 

Data is submitted to a data processor under contract with MDH by: 

• health plan companies and third-party administrators that provide or 
administer coverage to Minnesota residents and that paid at least $3 million 
in health care claims for covered Minnesota residents in the previous 
calendar year; and 

• pharmacy benefits managers that provide or administer coverage to 
Minnesota residents and that paid at least $300,000 in claims for covered 
Minnesota residents in the previous calendar year. 

MDH also obtains Medicare and Medical Assistance claims data from the Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services, the Minnesota Department of Human 
Services, and health plan companies. Data must be submitted in an electronic 
format at least every six months, but no more frequently than monthly. The data 
processor works with data submitters to ensure submissions are complete and free 
of material errors. 

Wltat data is Health plan companies, third-party administrators, and pharmacy benefits 
reported to tlte MN · managers must report the following data in a de-identified format: 
APCD? 

How is data in tlte 
MN APCD used? 

• 

• 

enrollment data, which means demographic information and other 
information about covered individuals 

encounter data and pricing data for institutional and professional health 
care claims, and pharmacy drug claims paid by the entity that submitted the 
data (Encounter data includes data about who provided a health care service 
to an individual patient, what service was provided, and where and when 
the service was provided. Pricing data means the amount paid to a health 
care provider for a health care service provided to an individual patient, 
including any amount paid by the patient.) 

State law allows MDH to use data in the MN APCD only for the following 
purposes: 

• to evaluate the performance of the health care home program 

• to study hospital readmission trends and rates 



Have other uses for 
the data been 
contemplated? 

How is MN APCD 
· data classified? 

How does Gobeille 
v. Liberty Mutual 
Insurance· 
Company affect the 
MNAPCD? 

• to analyze variations in health care costs, quality, utilization, and illness 
burden based on geographic areas or populations (This use is permitted 
until July 1, 2019) 

• to evaluate the state innovation model (SIM) testing grant received from the 
federal government 

• to compile summary data or tables made available to the public as public 
use files 

• to conduct annual research activities related to public and private health 
care spending on specified health conditions and deaths from those 
conditions 

• for a onetime analysis of chronic pain management procedures (completed 
in 2014) and a onetime assessment of the feasibility of operating a state­
based risk adjustment program (completed in 2016) 

In 2008, MDH was directed to develop a provider peer grouping system, in which 
health care providers would be grouped based on risk-adjusted costs of care and 
quality of care, and on costs of care and quality of care for specific conditions. 
Data from the MN APCD was to be used to develop and implement the provider 
peer grouping system. In 2014, development and implementation of the provider 
peer grouping system was suspended by law and remains suspended until the 
legislature authorizes the commissioner to resume development and 
implementation. Currently, MN APCD data cannot be used for the provider peer 
grouping system. 

Data collected in the MN APCD is classified as private data on individuals or 
nonpublic data. These classifications mean that data in the APCD is not public but 
is accessible to the subject of the data, if any. Since data is de-identified before it is 
reported to the MN APCD, MDH does not know the identities of the data subjects 
and cannot share data with them. Summary data may be derived from nonpublic 
data. MDH or a designee must establish procedures and safeguards to protect the 
·integrity and confidentiality of the data. MDH cannot publish data that identifies 
individual health care facilities, providers, or patients. 

Vermont's statute establishing its APCD in part required health insurers over a 
certain size, including self-insured health benefit plans, to submit health claims 
data to the database. In Gobeille v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, 136 S.Ct 
936 (2016), the U.S. Supreme Court found that requiring self-insured health plans 
to report data to Vermont's APCD is preempted under the Employee Retirement 
Income Security Act (ERISA). Following this decision, Minnesota and other states 
cannot require self-insured health plans to report claims data to the state's APCD. 
MDH is exploring the possibility of obtaining data from self-insured plans under 
the authority of a federal regulation. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Elisabeth Klarqvist at 651-296-5043. Additional 
resources from MDH are available at www.health.state.mn.us/healthreform/allpayer/index.html. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 



HOUSE RESEARCH Short Subjects 
Colbey Sullivan and Nina Manzi Updated: December 2016 

Economic Forecasts, Budget Surpluses, and Budget Shortfalls 

When are economic 
forecasts prepared? 

What are the 
forecastsusedfor? 

What if a forecast 
shows a budget 
shortfall? 

The commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB) must prepare a 
forecast of state revenues and expenditures twice each year-in February and 
November. 

The November forecast in even-numbered years becomes the basis for the 
governor's budget recommendations to the legislature. The November 2016 
forecast provides the revenue and expenditure projections that the governor will 
use to develop the budget proposal for the fiscal year 2018-2019 biennium, which 
runs from July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019. The November 2016 forecast also shows 
that the state is on track to finish the fiscal year 2016-2017 biennium with a 
positive balance. 

' 
The February forecast modifies the preceding November's forecast with any new 
data that's available. The February 2017 forecast will provide the revenue and 
expenditure projections that the legislature will use in adopting a budget for the 
fiscal year 2018-2019 biennium. Following the February forecast, the governor 
will submit modifications to the budget proposal developed from the November 
forecast, which are called "supplemental budget recommendations." The February 
2017 forecast will also provide an update on the status of revenues and 
expenditures in the current biennium. 

The November forecast in odd-numbered years and the February forecast in even­
numbered years also provide updates on revenues and expenditures in the current 
biennium. Using the projections of the November 2017 and February 2018 
forecasts, the governor may make additional "supplemental budget 
recommendations" proposing changes to the fiscal year 2018-2019 budget during 
the 2018 legislative session. The legislature will use the projections in the 
February 2018 forecast to ensure that the fiscal year 2018-2019 biennium closes 
with a balanced budget. 

If a forecast projects a shortfall for the general fund in the current biennium, the 
commissioner of MMB may reduce the budget reserve account as needed to 
balance revenues with expenditures. If there isn't enough money in the budget 
'reserve to balance the general fund in the current biennium, and if a balanced 
budget has been enacted for the biennium, then the commissioner may also reduce 
outstanding appropriations, commonly referred to as "unalloting." Before reducing 
the budget reserve or unalloting appropriations, the commissioner must obtain the 
approval of the governor and must consultwith the Legislative Advisory 
Commission. When the legislature is in session, the governor typically makes 
recommendations to the legislature on how to resolve the shortfall before 
approving use of the budget reserve or unalloting. 



What if the forecast 
shows a budget 
surplus? 

What are recent 
changes to 
treatment of budget 
surpluses? 

If a forecast shows a surplus for the general fund in the current biennium, the 
commissioner of MMB must allocate the surplus in priority order as follows: 

1. to the cash flow account, until it reaches $350 million (currently 
satisfied) 

2. to the budget reserve account, until it reaches $1,596,522,000 
(currently surpassed) 

3. to increase the school aid payment schedule to 90 percent, in 
increments of one-tenth of 1 percent with any residual amount 
deposited in the budget reserve (currently satisfied) 

4. to restore previous school aid reductions and reduce the property tax 
recognition shift accordingly (currently satisfied). 

If a November forecast projects a surplus and priorities (1) to ( 4) have been 
satisfied, 33 percent of the surplus is transferred to the budget reserve, until the 
reserve reaches the percentage of the current biennium's revenues recommended as 
a reserve. The commissioner must update the percentage each September based on 
a review of the adequacy of the reserve and the volatility of Minnesota's tax 
structure. Under this requirement, the commissioner transferred $334 million to 
the budget reserve after the November 2016 forecast, bringing the amount in the 
reserve to $1.930 billion. 

Any surplus remaining after meeting the four priorities and making the 33 percent 
transfer is reported in the forecast as a "positive unrestricted budgetary general fund 
balance." For the fiscal year 2016-2017 biennium, this balance is $678 million. 

Laws 2014, chapter 150, required the corn.rrlissioner to recommend a budget 
reserve level specified as a percentage of current biennium revenues, to update the 
percentage each January, and to transfer 33 percent of a November forecast surplus 
to the reserve. Laws 2015, chapter 77, pushed the commissioner's annual update 
back to September. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Colbey Sullivan at 651-296-5047 or Nina Manzi at 
651-296-5204. Also see the House Research publication Unallotment: Executive Branch Power to Reduce 
Spending to Avoid a Deficit, December 2010. 
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Capital Gains Taxation: Federal and State 

What is capital gains 
income? 

What are short-term 
and long-term gains 
and losses? 

How does the 
federal government 
tax capital gains 
income? 

Are there higher or 
lower rates for 
certain kinds of 
income? 

How are gains from 
the sale of the 
taxpayer's main 
home taxed? 

When a taxpayer sells a capital asset, such as stocks, a home, or business assets, 
the difference between the sale price and the asset's tax basis is either a capital 
gain or a loss. The "tax basis" is usually what the taxpayer invested in the asset, 
less any depreciation deductions claimed for business assets. Special basis rules 
apply to assets received as a gift or inheritance. 

The gain or loss on an asset held for more than one year is considered "long term." 
If the taxpayer disposes of an asset after holding it for a year or less, the gain or 
loss is "short term." 

Four maximum federal income tax rates apply to most types of net long-term 
capital gains income in tax year 2016 (these rates include the additional 3.8 
percent tax on net investment income or NII): 

• 0 percent for taxpayers in the 10 percent or 15 percent bracket (under 
$75,300 of federal taxable income or FTI for married joint filers) 

• 15 percent for taxpayers above the 15 percent bracket but below the 
threshold for the tax on NII (from $75,300 ofFTI to $250,000 of modified 
adjusted gross income or MAGI for married joint filers) 

• 18.8 percent for taxpayers subject to the tax on NII but not in the top 
bracket on ordinary income (from $250,000 of MAGI to $466,950 ofFTI 
for married joint filers) 

• 23.8 percent for taxpayers in the top 39.6 percent bracket ($466,950 of FTI 
or higher for married joint filers) 

The net capital gain income that qualifies for the preferential rates is long-term 
capital gain after subtracting both long-term capital losses and net short-term 
capital losses (i.e., in excess of short-term capital gains). Short-term capital gains 
do not qualify for the preferential federal rates but are taxed as ordinary income. 

Three exceptions to the maximum federal rates apply: 

• Qualified small business stock. 50 percent to 100 percent of the gain on sale 
of qualified small business stock is exempt, depending on when the stock was 
acquired; a 31.8 percent maximum rate applies to any remaining gain 

• Collectibles. The net capital gain from selling collectibles (such as coins 
or art) is subject to a maximum 31.8 percent rate 

• Section 1250 real property. The part of any net capital gain on property 
for which the taxpayer claimed "additional depreciation" (Section 1250 
real property) is taxed at a maximum 28.8 percent rate 

Taxpayers may exclude up to $250,000 of gain on the sale of the home ($500,000 
for married joint filers), if they owned and used the homes as their principal 
residences for two out of the five years before the sales. There is no limit to the 
number oftimes a taxpayer may claim this exclusion. 
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Can capital losses 
reduce ordinary 
income? 

How does Minnesota 
tax capital gains 
income? 

How do other states 
tax capital gains 
income in tax year 
2015? 

What are the income 
levels and filing 
types of people who 
have capital gains 
income? 

What are the ages of 
taxpayers who have 
capital gains 
income? 

Yes, up to $3 ,000 per year of capital losses can be deducted from ordinary 
income. Losses over $3,000 are carried forward to future tax years. Losses on 
personal use items, such as a home or car, are not deductible. 

Minnesota includes all net capital gains income in taxable income and subjects it 
to the same tax rates as apply to other income: 5.35, 7.05, 7.85, and 9.85 percent. 
Minnesota recognizes the federal exclusions on the sale of the taxpayer's home 
and all or part of the gain on qualified small business stock. 

• Nine states (Arkansas, Arizona, Hawaii, Montana, New Mexico, North 
Dakota, South Carolina, Vermont, and Wisconsin) exclude a portion of 
long-term capital gains income, provide a lower rate, or allow a credit 

• 31 states, including Minnesota, do not provide general preferential treatment 
for capital gains income; many provide special treatment for capital gains 
income from specific types of assets: 

• 19 states and the District of Columbia have preferential treatment of 
long-term gains on certain types of asset sales, usually involving in­
state properties. A California court invalidated its in-state restrictions 
under the Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution, while the 
Oklahoma Supreme Court rejected a similar challenge. 

• Seven states exclude gains on some or all federal, state, and local bonds 
• Three states allow exclusion of all or part of certain capital gains 

inconie under a more general exclusion for retirement income 
• Three states have loss deduction rules that differ from the federal rules 

In tax year 2014, about 19 percent of all returns filed by Minnesota residents 
reported some capital gain or loss. Married taxpayers filing joint returns reported 
75 percent of capital gains income. Filers with incomes over $100,000 reported 
about 89 percent of capital gains income. 

$ of capital gains % of all % of income Average 
Federal adjusted gross reported gains consisting of gains per 
income (millions) reported gains return 

returns with capital gains 
Less than $50,000 $445 ·'4.7% 20.1% $2,681 
$50,000 to $99,999 $630 6.6% 6.0% $4,461 
$100,000 to $500,000 $2,775 29.2% 7.5% $13,779 
Over $500,000 $5,666 59.5% 22.9% $317,890 
All incomes $9,515 100.0% 12.8% $18,078 

Over 40 percent of taxpayers aged 65 and older reported some capital gains 
income in tax year 2014. The table shows the percent of gains by age of taxpayer. 

$ of capital gains % of all gains % of income Average gains 
Taxpayer age reported (millions) reported consisting of gains per return 

returns with capital gains 
Less than 25 $137 1.4% 21.3% $4,349 
25 to 39 $512 5.4% 6.4% $7,563 
40 to 64 $5,526 58.1% 11.7% $22,721 
65 or older $3,341 35.1% 17.9% $18,155 
All ages $9,515 100.0% 12.8% $18,078 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
j oel.michael@house.mn. 
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Subordinate Service Districts 
Beginning in 1969, a few metropolitan area counties were authorized to establish "subordinate service 
districts" by special law. Since 1982, counties, other than the seven metropolitan counties and St. Louis 
County, have been able to establish subordinate service districts under general law (Minn. Stat. ch. 375B). 
Towns were authorized to establish subordinate service districts in 1989 (Minn. Stat. ch. 365A). Subordinate 
service districts are very similar to city special service districts. 

What is a subordinate 
service district? 

What services can be 
provided in a 
subordinate service 
district? 

How are the services 
paid/or? 

How is the way services 
are paid for different 
from other ways of 
paying for improvements 
or services? 

A subordinate service district is a geographic area within a county or town, 
smaller than the entire county or town, in which the county or town provides 
services at a higher level than are provided generally throughout the 
jurisdiction or provides services that are not provided at all in the jurisdiction. 
A county subordinate service district (but not a town's) must be a compact, 
contiguous area. 

Any service that the county or the town is otherwise authorized by law to 
provide may be provided in a district. Op. Atty Gen. 125a (March 26, 1984). 
County and town subordinate service districts cannot overlap to provide the 
same service. Minn. Stat. § 365A.10. Anecdotally, the law has been used to 
pave a portion of town road, provide community sewage treatment systems in 
new developments and near lakes, and provide ambulance services. There is 
no comprehensive information on the number, location, purpose, or financing 
of subordinate service districts; counties and towns do not report on them to 
any state agency. 

The services are paid for by revenues from within the district. For both 
counties and towns, a service may be paid for through a property tax or 
service charge, or a combination of the two, against the users of the service. 
Counties and towns may issue general obligation bonds without an election 
for capital projects in subordinate service districts, payable primarily from the 
taxes or charges from the district but also ultimately backed by the general 
taxing power of the county or town. The taxes or fees supporting the bonds 
must continue to be imposed until the bonds are repaid, even if the district is 
dissolved. Minn. Stat. §§ 375B.09; 365A.08; 365A.095. 

If the county or town used general property tax levy revenues, the entire 
jurisdiction would pay for the improvement or service. A subordinate service 
district requires those benefitting from or using the improvements or services 
to pay for them. Assuming the county or town had authority to use special 
assessments for the particular purpose, special assessments typically are not 
for ongoing costs, and the amount charged must be substantially equal to the 
property's market value increase due to the improvement. In contrast, a 
subordinate service district can be used to pay for ongoing costs and does not 
require the charges to match the benefit. 



How is a subordinate 
service district formed? 

Can a district be 
enlarged? 

How is a district 
discontinued? 

By board resolution. A county b.oard may establish a district by resolution 
after a public hearing. The resolution must specify the service or services to 
be provided within the subordinate service district and the territorial 
boundaries of the district. Minn. Stat. § 375B.04. 

By petition. In a county and in a town, a subordinate service district may be 
established by petition. In a county, the petition submitted to the county board 
must be signed by at least 10 percent of voters within the area proposed for 
the subordinate service district. In a town, it must be signed by at least 50 
percent of the property owners in the area to be served. In both cases, the 
petition must describe the proposed district boundaries and services. Within 
30 days, the county or town board must hold a public hearing and then 
approve, approve with modifications, or disapprove the request. 

Whether created by board resolution or petition, creation of a subordinate 
service district is subject to reverse referendum. If 5 percent of voters in the 
district (for counties) or 25 percent of property owners in the district (for 
towns) petition for a referendum, a special election must be held. When this 
occurs, the district is not established unless approved by a majority of those 
voting on the question. Minn. Stat. §§ 365A.06; 375B.05. 

A county subordinate service district may be enlarged in the same manner for 
establishing a new district. Minn. Stat.§ 375B.08. The statute specifies who 
can vote. 

Both county and town subordinate service districts may be discontinued if a 
petition requesting it is approved. For counties, the petition must be signed 
by at least 10 percent of the voters in the area. Counties are not required to 
hold public hearings. A county board also may initiate discontinuing a district 
by adopting a resolution after publishing notice for between three and.six 
months before the resolution is adopted. In a county, whether iriitiated by 
petition or board resolution, the county must hold a special election within the 
boundaries of the district not less than 30 nor more than 90 days after the 
resolution or receipt of the petition. The district is discontinued if a majority 
of those voting on the question favor discontinuance. For towns, the petition 
must be signed by at least 75 percent of the property owners in the area. ToWn 
boards must hold a public hearing before deciding whether to discontinue a 
subordinate service district, but no election is held. Minn. Stat. §§ 365A.095; 
375B.10; 375B.1 l. 

If revenues remain after a town subordinate service district is discontinued 
and all outstanding obligations have been paid, the town board may deposit 
the surplus revenues in the town general fund or refund them to the owners of 
property charged during the last year a tax or fee was imposed in the district. 
Minn. Stat. § 365A.095. The county subordinate service district law does not 
address this situation. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Christopher Kleman at christopher.kleman@house.mn 
or Deborah Dyson at deborah.dyson@house.mn. Also see the House Research publication City Special 
Service Districts. 
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Transit Systems in Minnesota 

Public transit systems throughout Minnesota vary widely in size, geographic coverage area, and service 
offerings. The systems are operated at a local or regional level, and the state assists in funding and planning. 

Forms of service 

Systems in Greater 
Minnesota 

Public transportation systems vary in the service provided. The basic forms are: 

• Regular route bus service, operating primarily in urban settings on fixed 
routes and standard schedules, and typically with frequent stops; 

• Bus rapid transit {BRT), with fewer stops compared to regular route 
buses and various amenities and service improvements; 

• Express bus service, which generally follows longer routes with limited 
stops and is often oriented to commuters (e.g., to an urban core); 

• Rail transit, which operates on railroad track and includes street cars, light 
rail transit (LRT), commuter rail, and intercity passenger rail; 

• Demand response or "dial-a-ride," in which riders can arrange for 
specific trips upon request (usually in areas not served by regular routes); 

• Route deviation, typically offering bus service on regular schedules that 
follow fixed routes but with small deviations upon rider request; and 

• Paratransit, providing door-to-door transport for people who are unable to 
use regular bus service (required under the federal Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA) to complement fixed route bus service areas). 

There are 56 transit systems throughout Greater Minnesota. Each one is classified 
under state law into one of four categories based on its location and characteristics, 
as summarized in the table below. Minn. Stat. § 174.24. 

Class Count Forms of Service Typical Service Area Examples 
Urbanized 7 
Small urban 7 
Rural 36 
Elderly/disabled 6 

Mainly regular route One or a few cities Duluth, Moorhead, St. Cloud 
Dial-a-ride, route deviation · One or a few cities Hibbing, St. Peter, Winona 
Dial-a-ride, route deviation Various Arrowhead, Brown, Wadena 
Paratransit Matches urban regular route E. Grand Forks, Rochester 

Although there are commonalities (especially within each classification), the transit 
systems vary. Service is most often operated by cities and counties but some 
systems are run by other forms of local government or nonprofits. Fixed route 
service and paratransit are only found in more densely populated urban areas. 
Route deviation or dial-a-ride service, or both, are offered in small urban and rural 
settings. While transit systems in an urban area typically cover one or a couple of 
cities, rural systems can cover part of a county, run countywide, or extend across 
multiple counties. Frequency of service also varies; it usually covers the working 
day but can be limited in operating hours as well as in days of the week. 



Systems in the Twin 
Cities metropolitan 
area 

The Metropolitan 
Council 

Opt-outs 

Ridership and 
growth 

Category 

Met Council Bus 
BRT 
LRT 
Commuter Rail 
Metro Mobility 
Opt-Outs 
Twin Cities Other 
Greater MN Urban 
Greater MN Other 
Total 

A number of counties lack countywide transit service, and there is no service in one 
county (Waseca). There are also privately operated intercity bus routes. 

Transit service in the Twin Cities metropolitan area consists of: 

• Metro Transit, encompassing an extensive regular route bus system as 
well as light rail transit, bus rapid transit, and commuter rail lines; 

• Metro Mobility paratransit for those with disabilities or health conditions; 

• Transit Link dial-a-ride service for the general public in parts of the 
metropolitan area that are not served by regular route transit; 

• "Opt-out" systems consisting of suburban transit providers that replace 
Metro Transit service in several cities; and 

• Other operators such as the University of Minnesota. 

Service provided by the Metropolitan Council constitutes the single largest transit 
system in Minnesota, at about 81 percent of statewide ridership in 2015. The 
council includes Metro Transit and Metropolitan Transportation Services (MTS). 
Metro Transit is a transit provider while MTS manages contracts with public and 
private entities to operate (1) Metro Mobility, (2) Transit Link dial-a-ride service, 
and (3) other regular bus routes (mainly for commuter service). In addition, the 
Metropolitan Council maintains most transit park-and:..ride lots and performs 
regional transportation planning and management. 

Suburban transit providers, or opt-outs, are operated by a range of agencies 
including counties and cities as well as nonprofits. The service replaces that 
offered by the Metropolitan Council (although there is some overlap in coverage 
due to commuter service to the central cities). Offerings vary, covering regular 
route circulator service within specific communities, dial-a-ride, and express buses. 

The charts below show ridership information. Overall ridership across the systems 
grew by an annual average of 1.6 percent for calendar years 2010 to 2015. Notable 
features include (1) a contraction in bus ridership that might, in part, reflect rider 
shifts to use light rail transit; and (2) the high growth rate for Metro Mobility. 

CY2015 
Ridership 

64.0 
0.3 

23.0 
0.7 
2.1 
5.1 
3.8 
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Percent of 
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57.5% 
0.2% 

20.7% 
0.7% 
1.9% 
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Change in Transit Ridership 
5-yr. Annual Ave., CY 2010-15 

Met Council Bus 
Commuter Rail 
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Opt-Outs 
Twin Cities Other 

Greater MN Urban 
Greater MN Other 
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Notes: Ridership amounts are in millions. 
Note: Chart excludes bus rapid transit and light rail transit (due 
to services commenced during this period). 

Variance in total is due to rounding. 
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