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MinnesotaCare

MinnesotaCare is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services
under federal guidance as a Basic Health Program that provides subsidized health
coverage to eligible Minnesotans. This information brief describes eligibility
requirements, covered services, and other aspects of the program.

Note: Individuals who have questions about MinnesotaCare eligibility or are interested in
applying for MinnesotaCare should call the Minnesota Department of Human Services at
651-297-3862 (in the metro area) or 1-800-657-3672, or MNsure, the state’s health insurance
exchange, at 1-855-366-7873.
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Administration

MinnesotaCare is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) as a
Basic Health Program (BHP), a state coverage option authorized by the federal Affordable Care
Act (ACA). DHS, in cooperation with MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange, is
responsible for processing applications and determining eligibility for MinnesotaCare. DHS is
also responsible for contracting with participating entities for the provision of MinnesotaCare
services, complying with federal BHP requirements, and submitting an annual report to the
federal government documenting compliance with these requirements.

The federal government is responsible for certifying state BHPs, ensuring state compliance with
federal laws, regulations, and guidance related to the BHP, and reviewing state compliance at
least annually.

Applicants can apply for MinnesotaCare coverage online through the MNsure eligibility
determination system. Paper applications may also be submitted, and application assistance is
available from county agencies, community organizations serving as navigators, and other
entities.

MinnesotaCare as Basic Health Program

The ACA gives states the option of operating a BHP to provide health coverage to persons with
incomes greater than 133 percent but not exceeding 200 percent of Federal Poverty Guidelines
(FPG). States receive 95 percent of the amount the federal government would otherwise have
spent on advanced premium tax credits and cost-sharing subsidies for these individuals had they
received coverage through the state’s insurance exchange. BHP coverage must include at least
the essential health benefits included in qualified health plans that are offered through the state’s
insurance exchange. Premiums for a BHP enrollee must not exceed the amount the enrollee
would otherwise pay for qualified health plan coverage through the exchange, after application
of advanced premium tax credits.

The 2013 Legislature directed the Commissioner of Human Services to seek federal approval to
operate the MinnesotaCare program as a BHP. The legislature also authorized changes in
MinnesotaCare eligibility, covered services, and service delivery that were necessary to meet
federal requirements for a BHP. Many of these MinnesotaCare changes became effective
January 1, 2014. (Laws 2013, ch. 108/H.F. 1233, art. 1)

DHS submitted its proposal to operate MinnesotaCare as a BHP to the federal government for
approval in November 2014. This proposal, referred to in federal law as the BHP Blueprint, was
approved December 15, 2014, and implementation began January 1, 2015.


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2013&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=108
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Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, individuals must meet income limits, not be eligible for MA,
and satisfy other requirements related to residency and lack of access to other health insurance.
MinnesotaCare eligibility must be renewed every 12 months, with renewals occurring during the
open enrollment period of MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange. Effective July 1,
2017, renewals of eligibility will occur throughout the year, with the 12-month eligibility period
beginning the month of application.

Since January 1, 2014, most MinnesotaCare enrollees have been parents and caretakers, children
ages 19 to 20, and adults without children. Most children under age 19, and pregnant women,
who would have been eligible for MinnesotaCare prior to January 1, 2014, are now eligible for
Medical Assistance (MA) and therefore, under the new MinnesotaCare eligibility rules, are not
eligible for MinnesotaCare.

Income Limits

MinnesotaCare coverage is available to persons with incomes greater than 133 percent of FPG
but not exceeding 200 percent of FPG,* if other program eligibility requirements are met.
Children under age 19 with household incomes not exceeding 200 percent of FPG are eligible for
MinnesotaCare (even if their income does not exceed the 133 percent of FPG income floor), if
they are ineligible for MA solely due to application of the household composition rule for MA.?
In addition, lawfully present noncitizens ineligible for MA due to immigration status, with
household incomes not exceeding 200 percent of FPG, are eligible for MinnesotaCare.?

Table 1 on the next page lists the minimum and maximum program income limits for different
family sizes.

! Before January 1, 2014, parents and caretakers were eligible if their household income did not exceed 275
percent of FPG (subject to a maximum income of $57,500), and adults without children were eligible if their income
did not exceed 250 percent of FPG. There was no upper income limit for children.

2 The MA household composition rule counts the income of both unmarried parents who live together when
determining eligibility for a minor child in the household. Since January 1, 2014, MinnesotaCare, as part of the
switch to the modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) income methodology, has used the tax definition of
household for people expecting to file taxes, under which only the income of one unmarried parent is counted when
determining eligibility for a minor child (this is the income of the parent claiming the child as a dependent). This
difference in methodology could lead to situations in which a child’s income under MA (given the counting of
income of both unmarried parents who live together) is too high for that program, but is too low to qualify for
MinnesotaCare (given the counting of income of only one parent and the program’s income floor). This
MinnesotaCare eligibility provision is intended to allow children in this situation to be eligible for MinnesotaCare.

3 These lawfully present noncitizens are generally nonpregnant adults falling under certain immigration
classifications who have resided in the United States for less than five years.
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Table 1
Annual Household Income Limits for MinnesotaCare
(Effective January 1, 2017)

Household

Size 133% of FPG 200% of FPG

1 $15,800 $23,760

2 21,333 32,040

3 26,866 40,320

4 32,398 48,600

Each additional person add 5,532 8,320
Note: These dollar amounts are adjusted January 1 of each year to reflect changes in the

Federal Poverty Guidelines.

House Research Department

Since January 1, 2014, modified adjusted gross income (MAGI)* has been the income
methodology used to determine eligibility for MinnesotaCare applicants and enrollees. The use
of MAGI is required by the ACA for state basic health programs. Prior to this date, a state-
specific gross income calculation was applied.

Asset Limits

There are no asset limits for MinnesotaCare enrollees.®

Not Eligible for Medical Assistance (MA)

Persons who are eligible for MA are not eligible for MinnesotaCare.®

No Access to Subsidized Health Coverage

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, a family or individual must not have access to employer-

subsidized health coverage that is affordable and provides minimum value, as defined in federal
regulations.” These regulations define coverage as “affordable” for an employee and related

4 MAGI is defined as adjusted gross income increased by: (1) excluded foreign earned income; (2) tax-exempt
interest; and (3) an amount equal to the value of Social Security benefits not subject to tax. (I.R.C. § 36B)

5> Before January 1, 2014, parents and caretakers and adults without children were subject to an asset limit of
$10,000 in total net assets for a household of one person, and $20,000 in total net assets for a household of two or
more persons. Certain items were not considered assets when determining MinnesotaCare eligibility. Pregnant
women and children were exempt from the MinnesotaCare asset limit.

& Before January 1, 2014, persons eligible for both MA and MinnesotaCare could enroll in either program.
This change had the effect of shifting the vast majority of pregnant women and children under age 19 from
MinnesotaCare to MA, since the MA income limit for these eligibility groups (275 percent of FPG) is higher than
the MinnesotaCare income limit (200 percent of FPG). The 2013 Legislature increased the MA income limit for
children ages 2 through 18 from 150 percent to 275 percent of FPG, effective January 1, 2014.

7 See Code of Federal Regulations, title 26, section 1.36B-2.


https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/26/1.36B-2
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individuals, if the portion of the annual premium the employee must pay for self-only coverage
does not exceed 9.69 percent of income for 2017.8 Coverage provides “minimum value” if it
pays for at least 60 percent of medical expenses on average. A family or individual is not eligible
for MinnesotaCare if they are enrolled in employer-subsidized coverage, even if this coverage
does not meet the affordability and minimum value standards.

No Other Health Coverage

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, a family or individual must not have minimum essential health
coverage, as defined in the Internal Revenue Code.® The Internal Revenue Code defines
minimum essential coverage as coverage under government-sponsored programs (including but
not limited to Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE and other coverage for members of the armed
services, and veteran’s health benefits), coverage under an employer-sponsored plan, individual
market coverage, coverage under a grandfathered health plan,* and other coverage recognized
by the federal government. A family or individual is not eligible for MinnesotaCare if they have
access to certain types of minimum essential coverage, even if they are not enrolled.

Residency Requirement

MinnesotaCare enrollees must meet the residency requirements of the Medicaid program. The
Medicaid program generally requires an individual to live in Minnesota and demonstrate intent
to reside, or to have entered the state with a job commitment or to seek employment. The
Medicaid program does not include a durational residency requirement (a requirement that an
individual live in a state for a specified period of time before applying for the program).

Benefits

Adults who are not pregnant are covered under MinnesotaCare for most, but not all, services
covered under MA.**  Covered services are summarized in Table 2.

Children ages 19 and 20, and children under age 19 not eligible for MA solely due to the MA
household composition rule (described in footnote 2), can access the full range of MA services
without enrolling in MA, except that abortion services are covered as provided under the

8 This percentage is indexed annually; the percentage for 2016 used by DHS is 9.66.
® See Internal Revenue Code, section 5000A.

10 Under the ACA, most health insurance plans that existed on March 23, 2010, are eligible for grandfathered
status. Grandfathered plans do not have to meet all of the ACA requirements related to the regulation of health
insurance. However, grandfathered status is lost and compliance with the ACA is required, if significant changes
are made to the plan’s benefits or premiums and cost-sharing.

11 The $10,000 annual limit on inpatient hospital benefits that applied to certain parents and caretakers, and
adults without children, was eliminated on January 1, 2014. The Healthy Minnesota Contribution Program, a
defined contribution program under MinnesotaCare for certain adults without children, was also eliminated January
1, 2014.
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MinnesotaCare program.? These individuals are exempt from MinnesotaCare benefit limitations
and cost-sharing.

Table 2
Covered Services Under MinnesotaCare

Adults who are not
Service Children pregnant?

Acupuncture X X

Adult mental health rehab/crisis

Alcohol/drug treatment

Chiropractic

Dental®

Emergency room

Eye exams

Eyeglasses

Family planning

Hearing aids

Home care

Hospice care

Hospital stay

Hospital care coordination

Immunizations

Interpreters (hearing, language)

Lab, x-ray, diagnostic

Medical equipment and supplies

Mental health

XXX XXX XXX [ XX XXX | X[ X| XX

Mental health case management

Nursing facility care

Outpatient surgical center

Physicians and clinics

Physicals/preventive care

Prescriptions

XX | X[ X|X

Rehabilitative therapies

XXX XXX XX XXX XXX XXX XX XXX XXX | X

School-based services

12 Under MinnesotaCare, abortion services are covered “where the life of the female would be endangered or
substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function would result if the fetus were carried to term; or

where the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest” (Minn. Stat. § 256L..03, subd. 1). Under MA, abortion services
are covered to save the life of the mother and in cases of rape or incest (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 16) and,

as a result of a Minnesota Supreme Court decision, for “therapeutic” reasons (Doe v. Gomez, 542 N.W.2d 17
(1995)).



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=256B.0625
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=256lL.03
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Adults who are not
Service Children pregnant?
Transportation: emergency X X
Transportation: special/common carrier X
Well child visits X

aBenefit limitations and cost-sharing requirements apply.

® MinnesotaCare covers the dental services covered under MA. MA coverage of dental services for adults who are
not pregnant (and therefore MinnesotaCare coverage of dental services for this category of individuals) is limited
to specified services (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 9).

¢ Personal care attendant and private duty nursing services are covered for children, but are not covered for parents
and adults without children.

House Research Department

Cost-sharing for Adults

Adults who are not pregnant are subject to the following cost-sharing requirements.

Table 3
Cost-sharing Requirements
Through
Effective December 31,

January 1, 2016 2015
Inpatient hospital admission $150 None
Outpatient hospital visit $25 None
Ambulatory surgery (per surgery) $50 None
Emergency room visit (that does not result $50 $3.50
in an admission)
Nonpreventive office visit (does not apply $15 $3
to mental health services)
Radiology $25 None
Eyeglasses $25 $25
Prescription drugs (generic/brand name — $6/$20 $3/$3
does not apply to certain mental health
drugs)
Prescription drug out-of-pocket monthly $60 None
maximum
Monthly family deductible $2.95 $2.85

House Research Department

The new or higher cost-sharing requirements effective January 1, 2016, reflect the changes made
by DHS to comply with the 2015 Legislature’s requirement that MinnesotaCare cost-sharing be



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=256B.0625
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increased in a manner sufficient to reduce the actuarial value of the MinnesotaCare benefit to 94
percent. 3

Children under age 21 and American Indians are not subject to cost-sharing under
MinnesotaCare. Enrollees served by managed care and county-based purchasing plans are not
subject to the monthly family deductible.

Enrollee Premiums

Sliding Premium Scale

Since August 1, 2015, MinnesotaCare enrollees age 21 and older have paid monthly, per-person
premiums based upon the following sliding scale.

Table 4
Sliding Premium Scale
Federal Poverty Guidelines Individual Premium Amount

0-34% 0

35-54% $4

55 -79% $6

80 - 89% $8
90 - 99% $10
100 -109% $12
110 - 119% $14
120 - 129% $15
130 -139% $16
140 -149% $25
150 -159% $37
160 — 169% $44
170 - 179% $52
180 — 189% $61
190 — 199% $71
200% $80

See Minn. Stat. § 256L.15, subd. 2. House Research Department

This premium scale reflects a directive from the 2015 Legislature to increase premiums by an
amount sufficient to increase the projected revenue in the Health Care Access Fund by at least

13 Actuarial value is an estimate of the percentage of medical expenses incurred by a typical enrollee that will
on average be paid by the insurer. The actuarial value of MinnesotaCare prior to the January 1, 2016, increase in
cost-sharing was estimated to be 98 percent.
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$27.8 million for the biennium ending June 30, 2017. Prior to this increase, premiums for
enrollees with incomes between 150 percent and 200 percent of FPG ranged from $29 to $50.

The premium scale also reflects premium reductions required by the 2015 Legislature to comply
with federal BHP requirements that premiums not exceed what the individual would otherwise
have paid for health coverage through the state’s insurance exchange, after receipt of advance
premium tax credits.

Premium Exemptions
Children under age 21 are exempt from MinnesotaCare premiums.

American Indians and Alaska Natives, and members of their households, are also exempt from
premiums.

Members of the military and their families who are determined eligible for MinnesotaCare
within 24 months of the end of the member’s tour of active duty are exempt from premiums for
12 months.

Nonpayment of Premiums

Unless an exemption applies, nonpayment of premiums results in disenrollment from
MinnesotaCare coverage, effective the calendar month following the month for which the
premium was due. Persons who end their MinnesotaCare coverage therefore receive a “grace”
month. Persons who decide to re-enroll in MinnesotaCare following disenrollment generally
must pay premiums to cover this grace month, except that no premium for the grace month is
required for persons re-enrolling in coverage that begins in the fourth month following
disenrollment.

Prepaid MinnesotaCare

The Commissioner of Human Services contracts on a prepaid basis with participating entities to
deliver health care services to MinnesotaCare enrollees. Participating entities include health
maintenance organizations and other health carriers, county-based purchasing plans, certain
accountable care organizations and county integrated health care delivery networks, and
networks of health care providers (see definition in Minn. Stat. § 256L..01, subd. 7).

MinnesotaCare enrollees receive health care services from these participating entities, rather than
through a fee-for-service system. Participating entities receive a capitated payment from DHS
for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, and in return are required to provide enrollees with all covered
health care services for a set period of time.

The 2014 Legislature required DHS to enter into contracts, as part of a statewide procurement,
with participating entities to serve MinnesotaCare enrollees, beginning January 1, 2016. The
ACA requires MinnesotaCare, as a BHP, to offer enrollees a choice of at least two participating
entities in each county.


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=256L.01
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Funding and Expenditures

Since January 1, 2015, the state has received, for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, a federal BHP
payment equal to 95 percent of the subsidy the person would have received through MNsure, the
state’s health insurance exchange, had the state not operated MinnesotaCare as a BHP. This
BHP payment has replaced the federal match that had been received through December 31, 2014,
for MinnesotaCare enrollees under the Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus (PMAP+)
waiver. * Federal BHP funding was $91.2 million for fiscal year 2015 and is projected to be
$328.6 million for fiscal year 2016.%°

Total payments for health care services provided through MinnesotaCare were $510 million in
fiscal year 2015. Fifty-four percent of this amount was paid for through state payments from the
health care access fund. The remainder was paid from enrollee premiums (this category also
includes enrollee cost-sharing), federal funding received under the PMAP+ waiver, and federal
BHP funding.

Funding for the state share of MinnesotaCare costs, and for other health care access initiatives, is
provided by:

e A 2 percent tax on the gross revenues of health care providers, hospitals, surgical centers,
and wholesale drug distributors (sometimes referred to as the “provider tax”); and

e A1 percent premium tax on health maintenance organizations and nonprofit health
service plan corporations.

Medicare payments to providers are excluded from gross revenues for purposes of the gross
revenues taxes. Other specified payments, including payments for nursing home services, are
also excluded from gross revenues.

14 The Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus or PMAP+ waiver was initially approved by the federal
government in April 1995. The waiver exempts Minnesota from various federal requirements and gives the state
greater flexibility to expand access to health care through the MA program. Earlier versions of the waiver allowed
the state to receive a federal match for the cost of services provided to MinnesotaCare enrollees. The PMAP+
waiver was most recently reauthorized by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services through
December 31, 2020.

15 DHS February 2016 Forecast, Background Tables.
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MinnesotaCare Funding
(FY 2015)

Federal Basic Health
Program Funding
17.9%

State Cost

54.0% Enrollee Premiums

and Cost Sharing
3.0%

Federal Share
Under Waiver
25.1%

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division

The tax rate on health care providers can be reduced, if the Commissioner of Management and
Budget determines by December 1 of each year that the ratio of revenues to expenditures and
transfers for the health care access fund for the biennium will exceed 125 percent. If this
determination is made, the commissioner must reduce the rate so that the projected ratio of
revenues to expenditures and transfers for the biennium will not exceed 125 percent. Any rate
reduction expires after one year and the future rate is subject to annual redetermination by the
commissioner.

The MinnesotaCare tax on the gross revenues of health care providers is scheduled to be
repealed, effective for gross revenues received after December 31, 2019.
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Recipient Profile

As of June 2016, 101,388 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program. One-half of
enrollees are adults without children and just under one-half of enrollees are mainly parents and
children ages 19 and 20 (most children 18 and under being eligible for MA). About 2 percent of
enrollees are lawfully present noncitizens who are not eligible for MA due to immigration status
(see footnote 3).

MinnesotaCare Enrollment
(June 2016)

Adults without Children 50.2%

Lawfully Present Noncitizens
1.6%

Families with Children
48.2%

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division
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Application Procedure

There are several ways to obtain MinnesotaCare application forms and to apply for
MinnesotaCare coverage. These include the following:

e Applying for MinnesotaCare through MNsure, the state’s health insurance exchange
(1-855-366-7873 or online at www.mnsure.org)

e Calling DHS directly at 1-800-657-3672 or 651-297-3862 (in the metro area)

e Obtaining application forms through county social service agencies, health care provider
offices, and other sites in the community, or from the DHS website

For more information about health care programs, visit the health and human services area
of our website, www.house.mn/hrd/.


http://www.house.mn/hrd/
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