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Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations • 5 

What’s New! 
•		 The definition of a snowmobile is a self-propelled vehicle originally manu­


factured and designed for travel on snow or ice steered by skis or run­

ners.  Snowmobile does not include the following vehicles equipped with
 

aftermarket ski and track configurations:
 


ATV, OHM, ORV, Mini Truck, “utility task vehicle” (per MN statute 
169.011) and any other vehicle being operated off road. 

•		 Exemption to Snowmobile registration: A snowmobile with an engine
 

displacement that is 125 cubic centimeters or less and the snowmobile is
 

not operated on a state or grant-in-aid trail.
 


•		 TRANSFER OR TERMINATION OF SNOWMOBILE OWNERSHIP: Within
 
15 days after the transfer of ownership, an application for transfer must
 

be executed by the registered owner and the purchaser using a bill of sale
 

that includes the vehicle serial number. An owner must report the destruc­

tion or abandonment of any snowmobile by written notice to the commis­

sioner in such form as the commissioner shall prescribe.
 

A Message from Your DNR Conservation Officers: 
During the 2014-2015 winter months, 4 people lost their lives in a snowmobile accident. 
Last season, 75% of snowmobile accident deaths involved alcohol use that impaired the 
driver. Alcohol use slows a driver’s reaction time so that stopping distance increases and 
drivers are more likely to strike a fixed object and be killed from the impact.  Stay away 
from alcohol and ride smart. Alcohol alters your judgement and slows physical ability to 
quickly react to hazards out on the trail. You need to be alert and aware when riding, 
especially on the trails. Stay Alert and Stay Right! 

2014 Snowmobile Safety Instructor of the Year 
Kim Bartelson of Winona is the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources’ 2014 volunteer 
snowmobile safety instructor of the year.   Bartelson, a retired firefighter, began teaching 
snowmobile safety in 1997 after helping with several serious snowmobile accidents while 
working for the Winona Fire Department. Today, he is considered the area’s “go to person” 
for questions about or training in snowmobile activities. Bartelson teaches with a group of 
volunteer instructors who have stayed together for 17 years. 

If you are interested in becoming a volunteer DNR youth instructor: 
This publication is paid for through the sale of advertising. The State of Minnesota and the Department of Natural Resources can neither endorse products or
 
 
services advertised nor accept any liability arising from the use of these products or services. Equal opportunity to participate in and benefit from programs
 
 
of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources is available to all individuals regardless of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status,
 
 
public assistance status, age, sexual orientation, disability, or activity on behalf of a local human rights commission. Discrimination inquiries should be sent
 
 

to MN DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4031 or the Equal Opportunity Office, Department of the Interior, Washington, DC 20240.
 
 
Copyright 2015, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources.
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6 • 2015-2016 Winter Season 

WELCOME TO SNOWMOBILING 

The sense of freedom you get while riding a snowmobile over Minnesota’s snow-
covered lands and frozen lakes can be exhilarating. Yet with that freedom comes 
responsibility. Minnesota’s system of more than 22,000 miles of snowmobile 
trails depends on the cooperation of landowners, non-motorized trail users, other 
recreationists, and local units of government. The vast majority of trails are groomed 
and maintained by snowmobile club volunteers.
      Keep in mind that trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have against 
snowmobilers. Trespass seriously impacts the ability of clubs to get private landowners to 
allow grant-in-aid trails on their property. We recommend that all recreational users ask 
first before entering private lands, even if the land is not posted. That simple courtesy will 
go a long way to improve relationships between landowners and snowmobilers.
      Please read this booklet to learn your legal obligations as a snowmobiler. By driving safe, 
smart, and legal you protect the future of your sport. 

Before you ride
 • Read your Minnesota snowmobile regulations and your owner’s manual.
 • Check your snowmobile and equipment.
 • Wear a helmet, eye protection, and proper clothing.
 • Find out about ice and snow conditions.
 • Tell someone where you are going and when you expect to return. 

Be sure to
 • Let weather, lighting, and trail conditions determine a safe speed.
 • Ride straight—no alcohol or drugs.
 • Stay to the right on trails and use your headlight and taillight.
 • Maintain adequate spacing between machines to avoid collision. 
• Reduce your speed when riding at night to less than 40 MPH. Studies have shown 

speed over 40 MPH results in overdriving your headlights.
 • Always yield to other motor vehicles.
 • Stay clear of thin ice and lake inlets — never cross open water.
 • Never ride alone—use the buddy system.
 • Stay on groomed area of trails. 

Obey all laws and regulations
 • Maximum speed in Minnesota is 50 MPH. (see page 25)
 • Display current snowmobile registration.
 • Display separate Snowmobile State Trail Sticker, if required, for operation on state 

         or grant-in-aid trails (see pages 12 & 14).
 • Stay off the roadway, shoulder, and inside slope of state and county roads 


         (see page 15).

 • Be sure any youth operating your snowmobile has a safety certificate.
 • Check local ordinances on when and where you may ride. 



         
          

     
      

       
        

    
      

   

 

 

 
  

 
        

 

  

 

 
   

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations • 7 

Registering Your Snowmobile 
Snowmobiles operated or transported in Minnesota must be registered with the DNR. If your 
snowmobile is not registered, you may not operate, transport, or permit it to be operated. You 
must be at least 18 years old to register a snowmobile. 

Snowmobiles do not need to be registered with the DNR if: 
• being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail 
• owned and used by the federal government, an Indian tribal government, another  state,
 or a political subdivision

 • if the snowmobile is registered by tribal members through the tribal government.
 • registered in a country other than the U.S. being used temporarily in Minnesota
 • currently registered in another state and not kept in Minnesota for more than 30 

consecutive days
 • used exclusively in organized track-racing events
 • in transit by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer
 • at least 15 years old in transit by an individual for use on land owned or leased by

 the individual
 • used exclusively for agricultural purposes
 • a snowmobile with an engine displacement that is 125 cubic centimeters or less  and the 

Non-Trail Snowmobile Registration is now an option for snowmobilers who do not 
operate on state or grant-in-aid state trails. A unique non-trail registration number will be 
assigned which will need to be displayed on the snowmobile. Snowmobiles with 125cc 
or less engine displacement do not need registration (including Non-Trail registration) if 
NOT operated on state and grant-in-aid trails.  Non-trail registration does not allow for 
operation on state or grant-in-aid state trails even if you have a one-year trail sticker 
on the snowmobile.  If a road right-of-way is part of a state or grant-in-aid state trail, 
you cannot operate a non-trail registered snowmobile on it.  If a non-trail registered 
snowmobile is changed to the regular trail registration, new registration numbers will 
be assigned which will need to be displayed on the snowmobile.  Non-trail snowmobile 

Fees 
Snowmobile registration fees: 

Type of Registration Fee 
Trail Use Registration $ 78.50 every three years

       Non-trail Registration $ 48.50 every three years
       Duplicate Registration Card $ 13.50
       Duplicate Decal $ 1.50 

Transfer – Trail use registration only $ 13.50
 Dealer $ 53.50 every year
 Manufacturer $ 153.50 every year
 Collector Unlimited Use $ 9.50 



 

  

       
       
       

 
  

 
 

     
  

   

 
 

 

 
      

8 • 2015-2016 Winter Season 

How to Register Your Snowmobile 
Register your snowmobile in person at any deputy registrar of motor vehicles or 
at the DNR License Center in St. Paul. When you register your snowmobile you 
will need the make, model, year, serial number, engine size, and sales receipt that 
shows the proof of sales tax payment. Sales between private parties do not require 
payment of sales tax. 

A person may not sell a snowmobile without furnishing the buyer with a bill of sale 
that includes the serial number of the snowmobile. Transfers and registration renewal 
fees are the responsibility of the new owner.
      Snowmobiles purchased from a retail dealer must be registered by the purchaser at 
the dealer. The dealer will issue a temporary 21-day registration. 

Registration Numbers and Validation Decals 
When you register your snowmobile, you will be assigned a snowmobile registration 
number and receive a registration card. When you receive your registration card, sign 
it and keep it handy. You do not have to carry it with you, but if an enforcement officer 
asks to see it, you must produce it within a reasonable amount of time. The current 
registration number and validation decal must be displayed. 

Display of Registration Number and Validation Decals 

Where:
 • Display in the 3” x 7” space provided by the manufacturer on the 


         cowling or pan, or

 • If no space is provided, place on each side of the snowmobile on


         the upper half, forward of the handlebars in a visible location.
 
 

How: 
The DNR issued validation decal must be placed to immediately 

       follow your registration numbers.

 Numbers and letters must be: 
• 1- 7/8” high

 • 3/16” stroke width
 • contrasting color of the snowmobile
 • in the English language
 • placed to read left to right. 





 

 
  

      
 

        
  

       

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

10 • 2015-2016 Winter Season 

Expiration, Renewal, and Duplicate 
The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the registration 
 
validation decal. All snowmobile registrations expire on June 30 of the last year 
 
the registration is valid. 
 

You should receive a notice by mail to renew your registration. Please notify the 
 
DNR of any address change. Whether you are notified or not, you are responsible for 
 
renewing your snowmobile registration. 
 

The renewal fee is the same as the first-time registration fee. When you pay 
it, you will receive new validation decals and a registration card. You may renew 
your registration at www.mndnr.gov/snowmobiling. 

To obtain a duplicate registration card or decal, contact the DNR License 
 
Center or your local deputy registrar. For fees see page 7. 
 

Transfer of Ownership 
If you buy a snowmobile that is currently registered for trail use in Minnesota, you 
 
may use a transferred registration for the time remaining on the previous owner’s 
 
registration.

     Simply obtain a bill of sale that includes the serial number of the snowmobile from 
the previous owner and send it, along with a transfer application and the transfer fee, 
to the DNR License Center or a deputy registrar. Transfer applications must be made 
within 15 days after the transfer or sale actually occurs. A transferred registration is 
only valid until the previous owner’s registration expires. Non-trail registration is non­
transferrable.If you buy a snowmobile that is currently registered for non-trail use, you 
must either apply for a new non-trail or trail registration. 

Collector Snowmobile 
• Special Permit 
A special permit may be issued to a person or organization to operate or 
transport a collector snowmobile without registration for parades or organized 
group outings, such as races, rallies, and other promotional events, and for up to 
ten days each year for personal transportation. “Collector snowmobile” means a 
snowmobile that is 25 years old or older, was originally produced as a separate 
identifiable make by a manufacturer, and is owned and operated solely as a 
collector’s item. 

• Collector Registration (Optional) 
Snowmobiles 25 years old or older may be registered for unlimited use. This 
registration is non-transferable. The collector registration does not expire and is 
valid until the ownership of the snowmobile is transferred. A snowmobile state 
trail sticker is required if you operate on a state or grant-in-aid trail. 

http:transferrable.If
www.mndnr.gov/snowmobiling




  

      
         

 
 
 

 
 

  

 
  

 

       
  

 

   

 
   

   
 

 
  

  

 

 

12 • 2015-2016 Winter Season 

Destroyed, Abandoned, or Stolen Snowmobile 
If your snowmobile is destroyed, abandoned, or stolen or you no longer register 
it in Minnesota, notify the DNR License Center at 500 Lafayette Rd, St. Paul, MN 
55155-4026, (651) 296-2316 or 1-800-285-2000 within 15 days. 

Dealer and Manufacturer Registration 
Dealers must register snowmobiles they own and use for demonstration purposes. 
A registration plate will be issued along with a registration certificate that must be 
displayed conspicuously in the place of business. Additional plates are available 
for $4.00, plus filing fees.
      Manufacturers must register snowmobiles they own and operate for research, 
testing, experimentation, or demonstration. A registration plate will be issued 
along with a registration certificate that must be displayed conspicuously in the 
place of manufacture. 

A valid registration number plate must be displayed on snowmobiles 
operated, or permitted to be operated, by a dealer or manufacturer. The 
registrations are not transferable. Dealer and manufacturer registrations are 
valid from July 1 - June 30. 

Snowmobile State Trail Sticker 
The State Trail Sticker is now included in the registration fee. The combined registration 
and State Trail Sticker is required to operate on state and grant-in-aide trails.
      Snowmobiles registered in another state or country must have a Snowmobile State 
Trail Sticker when operating on state and grant-in-aid trails. A Snowmobile State Trail 
Sticker costs $36.00 and is valid November 1 – June 30 of each year. Anyone operating a 
snowmobile in violation of this law will be required to purchase an annual penalty sticker 
for $71.00 in addition to any ticket or fine.
      Snowmobiles with the collector registration for unlimited use are required to have a 
State Trail Sticker to operate on a state or a grant-in-aid trail. 

A Snowmobile State Trail Sticker is not required for: 
• a snowmobile while being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail
 • a snowmobile owned by the federal government, Indian tribal government, state,

 and political subdivisions

      • operating a collector snowmobile with a permit

      • operating a snowmobile on portions of a trail owned by the person or the   

         person’s spouse, child, or parent. 

A majority of the revenue generated from snowmobile registration will be used for 
snowmobile grant-in-aid trails, trail maintenance, grooming, and easement acquisition. 





  

       

 

 

 

 

 

14 • 2015-2016 Winter Season 

State Trail Stickers
 
 

One-Year Trail Sticker - $36.00 
Penalty Annual Trail Sticker - $71.00 (Required to purchase if found 
operating on state or grant-in-aid trail without a sticker) 
Dealer/Manufacturer Trail Sticker - $16.00 
Duplicates - $2.50 

These stickers are available at; Deputy Registrar locations, Game and 
Fish Licensing agents, DNR License Center, Online www.mndnr.gov or 
by phone 1-888-MNLICENSE 

Note: For Online purchases, add 3% plus a $1.65 service fee.  For 
phone purchases, add $3.50 

The Snowmobile State Trail Sticker must be displayed in one of the 
      following ways:
      • on the forward half of the snowmobile, directly above or below the headlight

 • above the expiration year on the top portion of the registration
         validation decal 
      • on the lower right corner of a dealer or manufacturer plate. 

ATTENTION SNOWMOBILERS: 
Operating a snowmobile is much more challenging than driving a car. 
Snowmobiling takes place in unpredictable and uncontrollable natural 
settings. Statewide and nationwide reports show the consumption of 
alcohol is a contributing factor in many snowmobile fatalities. That’s 
why DNR conservation officers strongly encourage every snowmobiler 
to practice ‘Zero Alcohol’ as part of their own regular safe riding habits. 
Many snowmobilers already choose to ride alcohol free. Practicing ‘Zero 
Alcohol’ before and during your ride will save lives and reduce injuries. 
‘Zero Alcohol,’ it’s your smart choice for safer snowmobiling. 

http:www.mndnr.gov
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Rules of the Road and Trail
 
 

Passing 
When overtaking another snowmobile 
going in the same direction, always pass 
on the left. 

Meeting 
When you meet another snowmobile, 
always slow down and stay to the right. 

Meeting at an intersection 
When meeting at an intersection, 
the operator to the right has the 
right of way. 

Operation Along State and County Roads 

Public Road Right-of-way 

Snowmobile Riding Prohibited 

It is illegal to operate on the inside slope, 
shoulder, and roadway of state or county roads. 



  

 

 

 

 

16 • 2015-2016 Winter Season 

Signs 
Snowmobile operators should be familiar with the meaning of the 
following trail signs. 

Informational sign: 
indicates intersections or major changes in trail direction. 

Directional blazer: 
indicates changes in trail direction. 

Reassuring blazer: 
placed at intervals along the trail to reassure users that they 
are still on the trail. 

Stop sign: 
placed at a road or highway crossing indicates a snowmobile must 
come to a complete stop. 

No-snowmobiling sign: 
indicates a trail or area where snowmobiling is prohibited. 

No-studded tracks sign: 
indicates no metal traction devices allowed on trail. 

Two-way trail sign: 
indicates trails with permitted two-way travel during 
nighttime hours within the public road right-of-way. 





  

 

 
 

      

 

 

 

 

 

 
  

    

     
 

 
 
 

18 • 2015-2016 Winter Season 

Equipment Requirements 
All snowmobiles operated on public lands, waters, or roadways must be equipped 
as follows: 

Helmet 
• Operators or riders under 18 years of age must wear an approved helmet, 
except when participating in a parade or operating on land belonging to a parent, 
grandparent, sibling, uncle, or aunt. 

An approved helmet must meet federal law, which requires the helmet to display 
the symbol DOT. DOT is the manufacturer’s certification that the helmet conforms to 
motor vehicle safety standards. Standard bicycle and hockey helmets are not legal 
helmets for snowmobiling. 

Lights 
• Headlights and taillights must be on during hours of darkness. 
• Headlights must be able to reveal people and vehicles 100 feet ahead and 
   aimed so they will not blind an oncoming snowmobiler. 
• Colored lenses on headlights are NOT lawful when the snowmobile is operated
   on roads or road rights-of-way, including crossing roads and operating in  

ditches or outside slopes. 
• Red taillights must be visible for 500 feet to the rear of the snowmobile. 

Brakes 
• Brakes must be able to control movement and to stop and hold the snowmobile track. 

Reflector Material 
• Snowmobiles must have at least 16 square inches of reflector material on each 

side forward of the handle bars. 
• Any sled, trailer, or other device that is towed by a snowmobile during hours of 
   darkness must display visible reflector material on each side and at the rear. 

Mufflers 
• Snowmobiles must be equipped with mufflers that are in good working order and 
   that do not produce sharp popping or cracking sounds or excessive or unusual noise. 

After-market exhaust systems may not meet this requirement and may not be lawful 
   to operate. 
• You may not operate or sell a snowmobile built on or after April 1, 1975, that 
   exceeds 78 decibels on the A scale at 50 feet, except under a permit of the DNR or 

county sheriff. 
• No snowmobile shall be modified by any person in any manner that shall amplify
   or otherwise increase total noise level above that emitted by the snowmobile as   
   originally equipped, regardless of date of manufacture. 



 
 
 

 
 
  

      
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 
 
  

 

 
 

      

 
  

 

 
 
 

Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations • 19 

Safety Training Requirements 
Residents born after December 31, 1976, must complete a Minnesota snowmobile 
safety training course to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota. They must have either: 

• a snowmobile safety certificate in their possession or 
• a snowmobile safety certificate indicator on their driver’s license

 or on their Minnesota ID card.

 

Youth Snowmobile Safety Training 
• Available to youth ages 11 years and older 
• Certificates are not valid until age 12 
• Course cost is $10 

Students have two course options: 
1. Traditional 

a. Meets two or more times 
b. Eight hours minimum classroom training 
c. Plus a riding performance course 

2. CD 
a. Youth obtains free CD from DNR or instructor 
b. Youth completes CD 
c. Attend one-day (four hour minimum) classroom review and riding 

performance course 

Youth classes are taught by DNR certified volunteer instructors, usually between 
November and March. Courses are announced in communities through schools and 
the media. 

Adult Snowmobile Safety Training (16 years and older) 
• Required to complete the Snowmobile Safety CD 
•  Send in certification form with $10 

ffender Snowmobile Safety Training 
A  person who is convicted of careless or reckless operation, or two or more speeding 
violations in a snowmobile season, must successfully complete a snowmobile safety 
training course before operating a snowmobile. 

To learn the times and dates of classes in your community, or to receive the 
 
Adult Snowmobile Safety Training CD, check the DNR website www.mndnr.gov/ 
 
snowmobiling; or call the DNR Information Center 1-888-646-6367, metro area 
 
(651)296-6157, or the Snowmobile Safety Training Program Headquarters at 
 
1-800-366-8917. 
 

Non-residents certified in snowmobile safety training in another state will 
be recognized in Minnesota. 

http:www.mndnr.gov
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Youth Operation Requirements 
• The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is jointly responsible for 
 
laws broken by a minor on that snowmobile. 
 
• Anyone under 18 years old must wear an approved helmet. 
• To register a snowmobile you must be at least 18 years old. 

Snowmobile Safety Certificate 
Minnesota Residents 
Any resident of Minnesota born after December 31, 1976, must have a snowmobile 
safety certificate to operate a snowmobile in Minnesota. Youth must be 11 years old 
to take a snowmobile safety course, the certificate is not valid until the 12th birthday. 

Residents and Non-Residents 
Under Age 12 • May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid
 
 
(Without safety trails if accompanied by an adult*

 
certificate) • May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads
 
 

•		 May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality 

Ages 12 & 13 •	 May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in­
 
aid trails IF Accompanied by an adult* OR  In possession of a valid

 
snowmobile safety certificate
 
 

•		 May not drive a snowmobile across state or county roads 
•		 May not drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in a municipality 

Ages 14 • May drive a snowmobile across state or county roads IF in possession
 
to 18 of a snowmobile safety certificate or driver’s license or ID card with
 

valid snowmobile indicator
 
•		 May drive snowmobiles on public lands, public waters, or grant-in-aid 

trails WITH a snowmobile safety certificate 
•		 May drive snowmobiles on streets or highways in municipalities, if not 

contrary to ordinance 
- Needs snowmobile certificate if required by ordinance 

Over Age 18 •	 Residents born after December 31, 1976, who operate a snowmobile
 
in Minnesota must possess a valid snowmobile safety certificate or a
 
driver’s license or ID card with a valid snowmobile indicator.
 

* Accompanied by an adult means a parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated by the 
parent or guardian who needs to be close enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile. 

Exception for Residents and Non-Residents 
Without a snowmobile safety certificate, a person under the age of 14 years may 
operate a snowmobile only if they are supervised or accompanied by one of the 
following: parent, legal guardian, or other person 18 years of age or older designated 
by the parent or guardian. The supervising or accompanying adult needs to be close 
enough to be able to direct the youth’s operation of their snowmobile. This exception 
does not allow an operator under the age of 14 to cross a public road. 

Non-residents who are 18 years old and older do not need a snowmobile safety certificate. 
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General Operation 

Where You May Ride 
Anywhere in the state you may ride:

 • in the bottom or outside slope of a ditch of a county or state road (see page 15)
 • in the same direction as road traffic in the ditch from one-half hour


 after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise (other than this time,

 you can ride in either direction)


 • one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise on two-way 
         snowmobile trails that are located within the ditches or adjacent to streets or 

highways when specifically permitted by the road authority (look for posted 
         two-way signs, see page 16) 

• on a bridge, other than a bridge that is part of the main-traveled lanes of an 
          interstate highway, in order to avoid obstructions to travel when absolutely 
          necessary (the snowmobile must be operated in the extreme right-hand lane, the 
          entrance to the roadway must be made within 100 feet of the bridge, and crossing 
          must be made as quickly as possible)
      • on state and local trails (see pages 12-14 for Snowmobile State Trail 
 


Sticker requirements)

      • on iced-over waters that have legal access (if not restricted by law or 

local ordinances)
      • on township roads when not restricted by local ordinance
      • on public lands that are open to motorized vehicles. Land uses vary. Be sure to 
         check all federal, state, and local ordinances.

      • on your own land
 
 

Inside the seven-county metro area, you may ride:
       • on land that is posted with signs stating “snowmobiles allowed”

       • on land other than your own, with written or verbal permission 

          of the landowner, occupant, or lessee 
 


• on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail.
 
 

Outside the seven-county metro
       area, you may ride:
       • on agricultural land with permission of 
          the landowner          
       • on land, other than agricultural land, that 
          you have not been told verbally, by written   
          warning, or by posted signs, that riding 

is prohibited
       • on the groomed area of a snowmobile trail. 
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When making a direct crossing of a street or road, you must : 
• bring the snowmobile to a complete stop before crossing, whether there is a 

stop sign or not 
• yield to all oncoming traffic 
• have both front and rear lights on when crossing between one-half   
   hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, or during periods of reduced 
   visibility (see page 30 for sunrise/sunset table) 
• cross at a 90-degree angle with respect to the road 
• cross a divided road at an intersection 

State forest lands classified as “closed” are open to off-trail snowmobile use unless 
specifically posted closed to snowmobiling. 

here You May NOT Ride
     • on the roadway, shoulder, or inner slope of the ditch of a state or county road
     • on the median of a four-lane roadway

 • within the right-of-way of any interstate

 • on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic

 • against traffic at night within the road right-of-way
 • at airports
 • in any state park, state recreation area, state historic site, wildlife management 

area, or state scientific and natural area with the exception of posted 
snowmobile trails and areas 

• in any wildlife management area south of U.S. Highway 2 from Grand Forks 
        east to Bemidji, then south along U.S. Highway 71 to Wadena, then east along 

U.S. Highway 10 to Staples and U.S. Highway 210 to the eastern boundary of 
        the state, without written permission from the DNR
      • on any iced-over waters located in a restricted area or iced-over waters where
          you don’t have legal access

 • in any areas restricted by local ordinances or municipalities
 • in a tree nursery or planting area

       • on state forest lands that are posted or designated closed to snowmobiling
       • on state forest lands located in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness,
          including all of Lake Isabella and Insula; and portions of Lake Jeanette and 
          Burntside State Forests.

 • in National Wildlife Refuges, Waterfowl Production Areas, or the Boundary 
Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. For more information, contact your local U.S.

          Fish and Wildlife Service. 

Municipalities, counties, school districts, and other political subdivisions or state agencies 
may impose further restrictions on snowmobiling on property not owned by the operator. 
Check local ordinances where you want to ride. 
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Inside the seven-county metro area,

     you may NOT ride:

 

• on land that you do not own, unless

 given written or verbal permission to


          ride on that land by the owner,

         occupant, or lessee, or unless

         signs are posted stating

         snowmobiling is allowed.
 
 

Outside the seven-county metro

      area, you may NOT ride:

      • on land that you have been told not to verbally, in writing, or by posted signs
      • on agricultural land without the permission of the owner. 

It is unlawful to:
      • operate your snowmobile in a careless, reckless, or heedless manner 
         that endangers the operator, or property of another, or causes injury or damage 
         (intentionally driving over open water, or water skipping, may be considered    

careless or reckless unless done as an event under special permit issued by 
         the local sheriff’s office)

 • litter
 • enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence
 • mutilate, destroy, damage, or remove any shelter, comfort station, or facility on 

         any state or grant-in-aid trail
 • post, damage, or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you are the 

         landowner, occupant, or lessee of the property 
• operate on state forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or rutting, damages or 

          destroys trees or growing crops

      • operate on a state forest trail that is posted for non-motorized use
 
 

Special Provision - Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest:
            Motor vehicles and snowmobiles may operate only on forest
            roads that are not posted closed and on forest trails that are 
            designated for motorized use. No motorized travel is allowed off designated 
            trails under any circumstances.
      • operate a snowmobile with metal traction devices on paved public trails when 
         posted closed by state or local government. 

Metal traction device means any metal device, or array of      
metal devices, attached to a snowmobile track to enhance traction. This 
includes metal components that extend more than one-fourth inch 
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      from the bottom of the track. Note: Metal cleats affixed perpendicular to the 
      direction of travel of a 1981 or earlier snowmobile are not considered a metal   

traction device. 

Sunken Snowmobiles 
Minnesota law requires snowmobiles and motor vehicles (including cars, trucks, 
watercraft and ATVs) that sink in a lake or river, be removed by the owner within 30 
days.  Owners must also notify the county sheriff within 48 hours.  If the snowmobile 
or vehicle is not removed, the local unit of government can remove it and charge the 
owner two to five times the cost of removal. 

nowmobiling While Intoxicated (SWI) 
Operating a snowmobile while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled
 
substance or its metabolite, or other hazardous substance is unlawful. Operators
 
who are impaired may be required to submit to tests by an enforcement officer
 
to  determine the presence of these substances. There is a separate additional
 
criminal penalty for refusal to submit to the tests, and the person’s snowmobiling
 
privileges will be suspended for one year upon refusal. SWI convictions and
 
refusals are recorded on the violator’s driver’s license record and may affect their
 
driver’s license privileges.
 

An operator who is found to be impaired or has an alcohol concentration of 
 

.08 or more, can be charged with a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony 
 

level Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). Persons convicted of a misdemeanor will be 
 

subject to: up to $1,000 fine (plus surcharges); possible jail sentence; and loss of 
 

snowmobile operating privileges for one year.


     In addition to the above misdemeanor penalties, the following gross 
misdemeanor penalty provisions may apply if the person has any prior DWI violations, 
has an alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit, or has a child under 16 years of 
age with them on the snowmobile:

 • up to $3,000 fine
 • longer, mandatory jail time
 • chemical use assessment and long-term monitoring programs
 • loss of motor vehicle driver’s license privileges
 • motor vehicle plate impoundment of all motor vehicles owned or 
 


leased individually or jointly by the person

 • forfeiture of the snowmobile, substantially higher fines, and 


        mandatory jail time.
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       If a person has three or more DWI convictions or revocations in the last 10 years, 
or has a prior felony conviction, he or she can be sentenced to 3-7 years in jail, up to 
$14,000 fine, or both. Longer license revocations also would be imposed. 

Open Bottle Law 
It is unlawful for a person to drink or consume alcoholic beverages when operating a 
snowmobile on a roadway or shoulder of a roadway that is not a part of a designated 
snowmobile trail. 

Speed Limits 
It is unlawful to operate a snowmobile in excess of:

 • 50 MPH on any public lands or waters
 • the posted speed limits on a trail
 • a speed greater than various trail, terrain and visibility 


         conditions dictate

 • the posted road speed limit or 50 MPH, whichever is LOWER, while operating 

in the ditch
 • any governmental unit snowmobile speed limit. Governmental 


         units include any city, county, municipality, township, or 

         conservation district.
 
 

A county may enact a daytime 65 MPH speed limit for marked trails on frozen 
lakes that are over 10,000 acres. The county would need to pass an ordinance 
and receive approval by the DNR Commissioner. Individual counties will have more 
information on the location and status of any designated 65 MPH trails. 

Minnesota has worked hard to reduce snowmobiling accidents, injuries, and fatalities 
through education and safety training programs. The largest contributing factor to 
crashes is excessive speed, followed by alcohol usage.
      If you are involved in a snowmobile accident that results in injury requiring 
medical attention, death, or damage of more than $500, you must file an official 
accident report with the Department of Natural Resources within 48 hours of the 
accident. Accident report forms are available at www.mndnr.gov/enforcement or call 
1-800-366-8917. 

www.mndnr.gov/enforcement
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Enforcement 
Conservation officers, state troopers, deputy sheriffs, police officers and other peace 
officers are responsible for the enforcement of Minnesota’s snowmobile laws. 
Whenever an enforcement officer signals you, you must stop. Fleeing an enforcement 
officer is a felony and the snowmobile used may be forfeited.

       Part of a conservation officer’s duty is to ensure your safety while 
snowmobiling. If you need an enforcement officer, contact your nearest State 
Patrol dispatch center. Your local conservation officer can also be found at 
 www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas. 

Penalties 
Violation of most snowmobile statutes and rules are misdemeanors and carry a fine 
of up to $1,000 and imprisonment for up to 90 days. Youth violations may result in 
snowmobile safety certificate suspension. Also, snowmobiles used in burglaries, 
fleeing a peace officer, or a DWI, may be subject to seizure and confiscation or 
forfeiture. 

The owner or person in lawful control of a snowmobile is subject to penalties if 
he or she knowingly allows the snowmobile to be operated by someone physically 
or mentally unable to drive the vehicle safely, or is under the influence of drugs or 
alcohol. 

A person operating a snowmobile with metal traction devices on any paved trail is guilty 
of a petty misdemeanor punishable by a civil penalty or criminal fine of $50 for the first 
offense, $200 for the second offense, and $500 for the third or subsequent offense. Criminal 
fines will be subject to court surcharges and fees in addition to this penalty amount. 

Anyone operating a snowmobile in violation of the Snowmobile State Trail Sticker 
law will be required to purchase an annual penalty sticker for $71.00, in addition to 
any ticket or fine. 

STAY RIGHT! Trails are two-way, always watch out for others! 

www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas


 

 

 
 

 
  

 

 

     

 

 
 

 
 
 

 
   

  
 

 
 

Safety Laws, Rules & Regulations • 27 

Minnesota Trespass Laws 
Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have 
against snowmobilers. Always ask for permission before 
entering private land. 

Respect private lands. ASK FIRST! 
• Always ask first before entering private lands even if it’s not posted. You will

       improve relationships between landowners and snowmobilers. 
• Just because property isn’t posted that doesn’t mean you have a 


        right to enter someone else’s private property. The posted signs 

        indicate the landowner’s intention to prevent unauthorized entry.
 
 

If you violate Minnesota’s trespass laws, you will be guilty of a misdemeanor or gross 
misdemeanor, or may be charged with a civil penalty. A misdemeanor is punishable 
by fines of up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of up to 90 days. Civil penalties range 
from $50 for a first time violation to $500 and loss of registration for a third violation. 

You are guilty of a gross misdemeanor when you: 
• knowingly disregard signs prohibiting trespass 
• trespass after the landowner tells you not to 
• violate the trespass law twice in three years.

     If you are convicted of a gross misdemeanor, you will be subject

     to fines up to $3,000 and up to one year in jail, your snowmobile 

     registration will be null and void, and you will lose all hunting 
 


privileges for two years.

 

You must have permission to: 
• enter posted land 
• enter land inside the seven-county metro area that you do not own, unless 

given written or verbal permission to ride on that land by the owner, occupant, 
or lessee, or unless signs are posted stating snowmobiling is allowed 

• enter agricultural land. Agricultural land is land that is plowed or tilled; has 
standing crops or crop residue; is within a maintained fence for enclosing 
domestic livestock; is planted native or introduced hay land or grassland; or is 
planted to short rotation woody crops (hybrid poplar and other woody plants 
that are harvested for their fiber within 15 years of planting). 
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All planted grassland, hay land, and short rotation woody crop 

      land meet the definition of agricultural land, including grasslands 

      enrolled in the federal Conservation Reserve Program (CRP),

      Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP), or the state 

      Reinvest in Minnesota (RIM) Reserve Program and Walk In Access Areas.
 
 

These lands do not need to be posted to prevent unauthorized trespass.

 

It is unlawful to:
 • wound or kill another person’s domestic animal or destroy private property
 • pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position
 • stray off the groomed portions of marked state trails. 

Game Laws Related to Snowmobiling 

General Restrictions 
A person licensed to take deer must not operate a snowmobile or an off-highway 
vehicle on public or private property in an area open for the taking of deer by 
firearms on a day that they are licensed to take deer in that area except: 

• Before legal shooting hours (one-half hour before sunrise) 
• From 11am until 2pm. 
• After legal shooting hours (one-half hour after sunset). 
• On property that they own. 
• On someone else’s private property with the landowner’s permission. 
• Under a permit issued by a conservation officer to operate these vehicles in an 
   emergency, medical, or other unusual situation during the restricted hours. 

Motor vehicles licensed for and being operated on public highways, or farm 
tractors being used for agricultural purposes, are exempt from this restriction. 

Recreational Snowmobile and OHV Riders 
Snowmobile trails and OHV trails and routes on state forest lands are closed to 
ALL recreational snowmobile and off-highway vehicle (ATV, OHM, & ORV) riding 
during the firearms deer season where deer may be taken by rifle during the A 
season only: 

• Series 100 permit areas (November 7 - November 22, 2015) 
• Portions of Series 200 (November 7 - November 15, 2015) 

Forest roads remain open to snowmobile and OHV use. 

See the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook for more 
 
detailed information.
 



 

 

     

 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 

 

          
 

Firearms Transportation in Motor Vehicles 
• A person may transport an unloaded and uncased shotgun or rifle in a motor
   vehicle, including a snowmobile, while: 1) at a shooting range with permission; 

2) lawfully hunting on public or private land; or 3) traveling to or from a site the
   person intends to hunt that day or has hunted that day. 
• However, a person MAY NOT transport an uncased shotgun or rifle within: 

1) Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey counties; 2) a city with a population of 2,500 or 
more; 3) school grounds; 4) game refuges; or 5) as regulated under shining and 
night vision laws. 

• A handgun/pistol cannot be transported uncased without a valid permit to carry. 

It is unlawful to: 
• use a snowmobile to chase, run over, or kill a wild animal 
• shoot or attempt to shoot a wild animal from a snowmobile. 

For operation restrictions during firearms deer season, please see the 
current Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook. 

Special Permits for Disabled Hunters 
A permit may be issued to shoot from a standing motor vehicle including a 
snowmobile to a licensed hunter who has a permanent physical disability and is 
unable to step from a vehicle without the aid of wheelchair, crutches, braces, or 
other mechanical support or prosthetic device; or is required to use supplemental 
oxygen to assist breathing because they are unable to walk any distance because 
of a permanent lung, heart, or other internal disease. For more details contact the 
Department of Natural Resources Information Center in the Twin Cities 
(651) 296-6157, or toll-free 1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367). 

For information on snowmobile trails; maps of state parks, forests, and 
state trails; weekly snow reports; and other information, contact: 

DNR Information Center Hearing impaired 
 
500 Lafayette Road Twin Cities: 
 
St. Paul, MN 55155-4040 (651)296-5484 Toll-free: 
 
Twin Cities: (651)296-6157 	 1-800-657-3929 

Toll-free 1-888-MINNDNR DNR Website 
(646-6367) www.mndnr.gov 

For information about snowmobile registration, contact: 
DNR License Center 
500 Lafayette Road 
St. Paul, MN 55155-4026 
(651)296-2316 • Toll-free: 1-800-285-2000 

http:www.mndnr.gov
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To report a violation, contact: 
Your local DNR conservation officer, sheriff’s office, police department, or the state 
patrol. Conservation officers are dispatched through the state patrol. 

For information on scheduled snowmobile safety classes statewide:
 • www.mndnr.gov/snowmobiling
 • DNR Information Center: Twin Cities (651) 296-6157
 
 

Toll-free 1-888-MINNDNR (646-6367)

 • Snowmobile Safety Training Program Headquarters


         Camp Ripley, Little Falls, MN: 1-800-366-8917.
 
 

To find your local conservation officer, visit: 
www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas 

Connect instantly to the 

web page by scanning this 
conservation officer locator 

code with your smart phone. 

Grant-In-Aid Program 
The Grant-in-Aid Program is a cooperative effort between the Minnesota DNR, local 
governments, local snowmobile organizations, and private landowners who provide 
the majority of Minnesota’s 22,000 miles of snowmobile trails. Funded through 
snowmobile registration and Snowmobile State Trail Sticker fees and gas taxes, the 
grant-in-aid program helps local groups and clubs develop and maintain trails.

 • Grant-in-aid trails are open each year from December 1 

         through April 1.


 • Many grant-in-aid trails throughout the state run through private 

         property. Stay on good terms with these landowners by staying on 

         marked trails. Don’t jeopardize your ability to use private lands.


 • Remember you need a Trail Use Registration sticker when operating on 
 

grant-in-aid trails

 

Sunrise/Sunset Table 
To find the sunrise and sunset times in your area.  See the link to the U.S. Naval 
Observatory website: 

http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneYear.php 

Note: Sunrise and sunset times are shown in a table format and can be printed for 
viewing or saved to your computer’s desktop. 

Daylight Time 
Daylight time is not implemented in time tables. When daylight time is in use, add one 
hour to the times listed in the tables. 

http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneYear.php
www.mndnr.gov/snowmobiling
www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas
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