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Executive summary 
 
 
This report, part of an occasional series, presents 
statistics about minimum-wage workers in 
Minnesota. Specifically, it provides data 
regarding those hourly workers in the state who 
are paid the full effective minimum wage or 
less.1 The effective minimum is the higher of the 
applicable state and federal minimum-wage 
levels. The full minimum (e.g., the state level of 
$9.00 an hour at the time of this report) is the 
amount that applies in the absence of reductions 
that occur in certain circumstances (see below 
on this page). 
  
The report presents both trends and current 
descriptive statistics. All figures regarding 
Minnesota’s hourly workers at or below the 
minimum wage are estimates computed from the 
Current Population Survey (CPS), conducted 
monthly by the U.S. Census for the U.S. Bureau 
of Labor Statistics. 
 
The report focuses on hourly workers partly 
because of data issues concerning salaried 
workers in the CPS2 and partly because some 
salaried workers are exempt from the federal and 
state minimum-wage laws as executive, 
administrative or professional employees. 
 
From July 2009 through July 2013, Minnesota’s 
full effective minimum wage was the federal 
level of $7.25 an hour, because the state level 
was $6.15. Minnesota raised its full minimum 
wage to $8.00 effective Aug. 1, 2014 and to 
$9.00 an hour effective Aug. 1, 2015. The state’s 
full minimum wage will further increase to 
$9.50 an hour on Aug. 1, 2016, and will be 
adjusted annually for inflation beginning Jan. 1, 
2018.3 
                                                      

1 Overtime pay, tips and commissions are excluded 
from hourly pay in the data used. Thus, the data is 
congruent with Minnesota’s minimum-wage law, which 
provides that tips are excluded from wages for purposes of 
that law (Minnesota Statutes §177.24, subd. 2 (Appendix 
A)). Workers’ reported wages may be less than the full 
effective minimum because the workers may be exempt, a 
lower minimum than the full minimum may apply to them, 
they may be paid less than the applicable minimum 
illegally or their hourly earnings may be misreported. 

2 See p. 2. 
3 Minnesota Statutes §177.24, subd. 1 (Appendix A). 

With some exceptions, federal law exempts 
workers whose employers have less than 
$500,000 in annual revenue; Minnesota, 
however, provides a lower minimum wage for 
“small” employers. As of Aug. 1, 2014, “small” 
employers in Minnesota are those with annual 
revenues less than $500,000. As of Aug. 1, 
2015, the Minnesota small-employer minimum 
was $7.25 an hour. For workers younger than 
age 20, both federal and state law provide a 
lower minimum during the first 90 consecutive 
days of employment. Minnesota also provides a 
lower minimum for workers younger than age 
18 regardless of length of employment. As of 
Aug. 1, 2015, the Minnesota “youth minimum” 
was $7.25 an hour.4 
 
Federal law allows employers to count tips in 
applying the full minimum wage, subject to a 
lower minimum for tipped employees’ direct 
pay. Minnesota, however, prohibits employers 
from counting tips for purposes of either the 
state or federal minimum.5  
 
The following are the report’s major findings. 
 
Trends in minimum wage relative to 
inflation and other wages 
 
• Adjusted for inflation, the 2015 U.S. 

minimum wage of $7.25 an hour is 
substantially below its levels of the late 
1970s.6 The 2015 Minnesota minimum of 
$9.00 is close to the inflation-adjusted 
Minnesota minimums of the late 1970s and 
somewhat below the inflation-adjusted U.S. 
minimums of those years. 

• The U.S. minimum wage has fallen relative 
to average hourly earnings since the 1970s. 
Adjusted for inflation, U.S. average hourly 

                                                      
4 The federal youth minimum has been $4.25 since 

September 1997. The Minnesota small-employer and youth 
minimums will rise to $7.75 on Aug. 1, 2016, and will be 
adjusted annually for inflation beginning Jan. 1, 2018 
(Minnesota Statutes §177.24, subd. 1 (Appendix A)). 

5 Minnesota Statutes §177.24, subd. 2 (Appendix A). 
6 Comparisons are made to the 1970s because the 

Minnesota minimum wage took effect in 1974. 
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earnings were at about the same level in 2015 
as in the 1970s. 

• Minnesota’s 2015 minimum wage of $9.00 
an hour was 38 percent of the average hourly 
wage of all Minnesota nonfarm workers 
($23.57) and 49 percent of the median wage 
of these workers ($18.54).7 

Trends in Minnesota’s minimum-wage 
population 
 
• For 2015, an estimated 216,000, or 13.6 

percent, of Minnesota’s 1.58 million hourly 
workers earned the effective minimum wage 
of $9.00 or less. The percentage at or below 
the minimum had been 4.7 percent in 2013, 
when the effective minimum wage was the 
federal level of $7.25. 

• When salaried workers (not included in this 
report) are also counted, the total number of 
wage-and-salary workers earning an hourly 
rate of $9.00 or less in 2015 is an estimated 
259,000, or 10.0 percent of an estimated 2.57 
million total wage-and-salary workers.8 

• In 2015, an estimated 19 percent of 
Minnesota hourly workers at or below the 
minimum wage received overtime pay, tips 
or commissions (OTC). The proportion of 
minimum-wage workers receiving OTC has 
been relatively high when the minimum has 
been relatively low, and vice versa.9 

Characteristics of Minnesota’s 
minimum-wage workers 
 
The following projections pertain to Minnesota 
for August 2015 through July 2016, during 
which Minnesota’s full effective minimum wage 
was the state level of $9.00 an hour. 
 
 

                                                      
7 The median is the halfway point in the wage 

distribution, where half of all wages are above and half are 
below. 

8 See note 26 on p. 7. 
9 This is because in the lower part of the wage 

distribution, the proportion of hourly workers receiving 
OTC is relatively high at lower wage levels. 

Industry 
 
• About 128,000 hourly workers were 

employed in eating and drinking places. 
Fifty-seven percent of these, or about 72,000, 
were paid the minimum wage or less, by far 
the highest percentage among industries. 
About 34 percent of all hourly workers paid 
the minimum or less were in eating and 
drinking places. 

• Among hourly workers at the minimum or 
less, those in eating and drinking places were 
the most likely to receive overtime pay, tips 
or commissions (OTC) (40 percent). 

Occupation 
 
• About 139,000 hourly workers were 

employed in food preparation and serving 
occupations. This group had the highest 
proportion of hourly workers paid the 
minimum wage or less (52 percent) among 
all occupations. About 33 percent of all 
hourly workers paid the minimum or less 
were in this occupation. 

• Food preparation and serving also showed 
the highest percentage of workers with OTC 
among hourly workers paid the minimum or 
less (38 percent). 

Age and gender 
 
• About 115,000 hourly workers were 15 to 19 

years old. Among these, 54.3 percent earned 
$9.00 an hour or less, compared with 8.1 
percent of 25- to 54-year-olds and 6.8 percent 
of those 55 and older. 

• Fifty-five percent of all hourly workers paid 
the minimum or less were 15 to 24 years old. 

• Among female hourly workers, 15.6 percent 
earned the minimum wage or less, compared 
with 11.4 percent of men. 

Full-time/part-time status 
 
• About 483,000 of Minnesota’s hourly 

workers were part-timers (working fewer 
than 35 hours a week). Among these, 30.1 
percent earned the minimum wage or less, 
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compared with 6.4 percent of full-time 
hourly workers. 

• Part-time workers made up 67 percent of all 
workers paid the minimum or less, while 
accounting for 30 percent of the hourly 
workforce. 

Education 
 
• About 88,000 hourly workers age 20 and 

older had less than a high-school education. 
An estimated 20.1 percent of these were paid 
the minimum wage or less, compared with 
11.1 percent of those with a high-school 
diploma and 9.3 of those with at least some 
college.  

• Among hourly workers age 20 and older, 
workers without a high-school diploma made 
up 11.5 percent of those at or below the 
minimum, even though they comprised only 
6.0 percent of this part of the workforce. 

Marital status 
 
• About 735,000 of Minnesota’s hourly 

workers age 20 and older were married, and 
734,000 unmarried. Workers paid the 

minimum wage or less comprised 14.6 
percent of unmarried hourly workers age 20 
and older, as opposed to 6.3 percent of those 
who were married. 

Poverty status 
 
• About 151,000 of Minnesota’s hourly 

workers lived in households below the 
poverty line. An estimated 26.0 percent of 
these were paid the minimum wage or less, 
as opposed to 12.3 percent of those above the 
poverty line. 

• Workers in households below the poverty 
line made up 18.1 percent of all hourly 
workers paid the minimum or less, while 
accounting for only 9.5 percent of all hourly 
workers. 

Metropolitan residence 

• About 1,142,000 of Minnesota’s hourly 
workers lived in metropolitan areas, and 
about 443,000 in nonmetropolitan areas. 
About 15.7 percent of those in 
nonmetropolitan areas were paid the 
minimum wage or less, as opposed to 12.8 
percent in metropolitan areas.
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Introduction 
 
 
The federal minimum wage was enacted in 1938 
as a means of raising the earnings of low-wage 
workers. Initially, coverage was limited to 
employees engaged in interstate commerce or in 
the production of goods for interstate commerce. 
Coverage has since been expanded to include a 
majority of the labor force. From its initial level 
of 25 cents an hour, the federal minimum has 
been raised about two dozen times. It stood at 
$5.15 from 1997 to 2007, and was then raised in 
three increments reaching its current level of 
$7.25 on July 24, 2009. 
 
Minnesota’s minimum wage took effect in 1974, 
and has roughly followed the federal minimum 
with some exceptions, most notably for the past 
few years. The state’s minimum wage was 
raised from $6.15 to $8.00 an hour effective 
Aug. 1, 2014 and to $9.00 effective Aug. 1, 
2015. It will increase further to $9.50 on Aug. 1, 
2016 and will be adjusted annually for inflation 
beginning Jan. 1, 2018.10 
 
The effective minimum is the higher of the 
applicable state and federal levels. Thus, for 
most nonexempt workers in Minnesota, the 
effective minimum as of Aug. 1, 2015 was the 
state level of $9.00.11 For the period August 
2015 through July 2016, an estimated 216,000 
hourly workers in Minnesota, or 13.6 percent of 
an estimated total of 1.58 million hourly 
workers, are projected to be paid the full 
effective minimum wage or less.12 For the same 
period, the overall number of Minnesota wage-
and-salary workers totaled an estimated 2.57 
million, with an estimated 259,000, or 10.0 
percent, earning $9.00 an hour or less.13 
 
As policymakers consider the minimum wage, a 
number of questions arise:  How has the 
minimum wage changed over time relative to 
inflation? Where does it stand relative to other 
wages and how has this changed? What 
                                                      

10 Minnesota Statutes §177.24, subd. 1 (Appendix A). 
11 See next section regarding exemptions from 

minimum wage coverage. 
12 See next section regarding the full minimum wage 

and lower minimums in certain situations. 
13 See note 26 on p. 7. 

proportion of workers are paid the minimum 
wage or less? What are the characteristics and 
circumstances of these workers, and in what 
occupations and industries are they most 
commonly found? 
 
This report, part of an occasional series, presents 
statistics about hourly minimum-wage workers 
in Minnesota. Specifically, it provides data 
regarding those hourly workers in the state who 
are paid the full effective minimum wage or less. 
The report first presents trends in the U.S. and 
Minnesota minimum wages relative to inflation 
and to other wages. It then presents trends for 
1997 to the present regarding hourly workers in 
Minnesota who are paid the effective minimum 
wage or less, and descriptive statistics regarding 
these workers estimated for August 2015 
through July 2016.14 Appendix A contains 
Minnesota’s minimum-wage statute. Appendix 
B describes data and estimation procedures. 
 
Exemptions and lower minimums 
 
Both federal and state law provide several 
exemptions from minimum-wage coverage.15 
For example, Minnesota exempts some 
agricultural employees, seasonal camp staff, 
elected government officials and several other 
groups. Both Minnesota and federal law exempt 
certain executive, administrative and 
professional staff and traveling salespeople. A 
worker may be subject to either the federal or 
state minimum wage, or both, or neither, 
depending on whether he or she meets the 
respective exemption conditions. 

                                                      
14 Overtime pay, tips and commissions are excluded 

from hourly pay in the data used. Thus, the data is 
congruent with Minnesota’s minimum-wage law, which 
provides that tips are excluded from wages for purposes of 
that law (Minnesota Statutes §177.24, subd. 2 (Appendix 
A)). Workers’ reported wages may be less than the full 
effective minimum because the workers may be exempt, a 
lower minimum than the full minimum may apply to them, 
they may be paid less than the applicable minimum 
illegally or their hourly earnings may be misreported. 

15 The Minnesota exemption categories are in 
Minnesota Statutes §177.24, subd. 1 (Appendix A). The 
federal exemption categories are at 
www.dol.gov/elaws/esa/flsa/screen75.asp. 
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Lower minimum-wage levels apply to some 
workers. Workers whose employers have annual 
revenues less than $500,000 are generally not 
covered under the federal minimum wage law if 
they are not involved in interstate commerce;16 
however, “small” employers in Minnesota are 
subject to a lower state minimum wage. As of 
Aug. 1, 2014, “small” employers in Minnesota 
are those with annual revenues less than 
$500,000. As of Aug. 1, 2015, the Minnesota 
small-employer minimum was $7.25 an hour (it 
will rise to $7.75 on Aug. 1, 2016). For workers 
younger than age 20, both federal and state law 
provide a lower minimum during the first 90 
consecutive days of employment. Minnesota 
also provides a lower minimum for workers 
younger than age 18 regardless of length of 
employment. The federal “youth minimum” has 
been $4.25 an hour since September 1997. As of 
Aug. 1, 2015, the Minnesota youth minimum 
was $7.25 an hour (it will rise to $7.75 on Aug. 
1, 2016).17 Special federal and state rules also 
apply to workers with disabilities.18 
 
Federal law allows employers to apply tips 
toward payment of the full minimum wage;19 
Minnesota, however, prohibits employers from 
counting tips toward payment of either the state 
or federal minimum.20 
 
The “full minimum wage” at the federal or state 
level is the amount that is not reduced in any of 
the ways described above. 
 
Data and estimation technique 
 
All figures in this report regarding Minnesota’s 
hourly workers at or below the minimum wage 
are estimates derived from the Current  

                                                      
16 Individuals are still covered if they work for a 

hospital, business providing medical or nursing care for 
residents, school or preschool, or government agency. See 
www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs14.pdf. 

17 The Minnesota small-employer and youth minimums 
will be adjusted annually for inflation beginning Jan. 1, 
2018 (Minnesota Statutes §177.24, subd. 1 (Appendix A)). 

18 Information about the federal provisions is available 
at www.dol.gov/whd/minwage/q-a.htm#. State provisions 
are in Minnesota Rules parts 5200.0030 and 5200.0040. 

19 A lower minimum applies to tipped employee’s 
direct (non-tip) pay. See 
www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs15.pdf. 

20 Minnesota Statutes §177.24, subd. 2 (Appendix A). 

Population Survey (CPS). The CPS, a monthly 
household survey conducted by the U.S. Census 
for the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, provides 
data about the labor market experience of U.S. 
workers. This report combines the monthly data 
for each year. Because of sample size issues, the 
statistics in the report are derived with methods 
that reduce sampling variation by using multiple 
years of data and (for most of these statistics) a 
combination of Minnesota and U.S. data. See 
Appendix B for details. 
 
Because increases during the last decade in the 
state and federal minimum wages have taken 
place in July (federal minimum) or August (state 
minimum), the report uses years running from 
August through July as the time unit of analysis. 
The CPS data pertains to the week containing 
the 12th day of each month, so the July data for 
2007, 2008 and 2009 reflects the federal 
minimum in effect before the increase occurring 
on July 24 of each of those years. 
 
Focus on hourly workers 
 
For three reasons, this report is limited to hourly 
workers. First, reported weekly earnings — used 
to estimate hourly pay for salaried workers — 
are unrealistically low for a significant number 
of salaried workers in the CPS. Second, the 
weekly earnings figure includes overtime pay, 
tips and commissions, in contrast with the 
hourly pay figure used for hourly workers, 
which does not. Third, many salaried workers 
are exempt from the federal and state minimum-
wage laws as executive, administrative and 
professional employees. 
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The minimum wage and 
inflation 
 
From its inception in 1974, the 
Minnesota minimum wage 
roughly followed its U.S. 
counterpart through 2004. Since 
that time, the U.S. minimum has 
risen in three stages to $7.25 in 
2009 while the Minnesota 
minimum has risen to $6.15 in 
2005, $8.00 in 2014 and $9.00 
in 2015.21 Adjusted for 
inflation, the 2013 U.S. and 
Minnesota minimums were 
substantially below their levels 
of the late 1970s. The 2015 
Minnesota minimum of $9.00 is 
close to the inflation-adjusted 
Minnesota minimums of the late 
1970s and somewhat below the 
inflation-adjusted U.S. 
minimums of those years. 
 
• The full Minnesota 

minimum wage rose from 
$1.80 in 1974 to $9.00 in 
2015. The U.S. minimum 
rose from $1.60 in 1974 to 
$7.25 in 2009, its current 
level. 

• Adjusted for inflation: 

 the 2013 Minnesota 
minimum ($6.15, just 
before the recent 
increases) was 30 percent 
less than in 1974, while 
the 2015 Minnesota 
minimum ($9.00) was 
about two percent more 
than in 1974; and 

 the 2015 U.S. minimum 
($7.25) was about 26 
percent less than in 1974. 

 

                                                      
21 The Minnesota minimum will 

increase to $9.50 on Aug. 1, 2016, and 
will be adjusted annually for inflation 
beginning Jan. 1, 2018 (Minnesota 
Statutes §177.24, subd. 1 (Appendix 
A)). 

Figure 1 Full minimum wage, actual and inflation-adjusted, 
Minnesota and the United States, 1970–2015 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

New minimum wage level New minimum wage level
Effective United Minnesota Effective United Minnesota

date States [1] [2] date States [1] [2]
2/1/68 $1.60 1/1/89 $3.85
1/1/74 $1.80 1/1/90 $3.95
5/1/74 $2.00 4/1/90 $3.80
1/1/75 $2.10 1/1/91 $4.25
1/1/76 $2.30 4/1/91 $4.25
10/1/76 $2.10 10/1/96 $4.75
9/15/77 $2.30 9/1/97 $5.15 $5.15
1/1/78 $2.65 8/1/05 $6.15
1/1/79 $2.90 7/24/07 $5.85
1/1/80 $3.10 $2.90 7/24/08 $6.55
1/1/81 $3.35 $3.10 7/24/09 $7.25
1/1/82 $3.35 8/1/14 $8.00
1/1/88 $3.55 8/1/15 $9.00

1. Data for the United States is from the U.S. Department of Labor
(www.dol.gov/whd/minwage/chart.htm).

2. Data for Minnesota is from internal records at DLI and Minnesota Statutes §177.24,
subd. 1 (Appendix A). Minnesota's first minimum wage took effect Jan. 1, 1974.

3. The inflation-adjustment factor for both the U.S. and Minnesota minimum wages is the
Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) for the Minneapolis-St. Paul
metropolitan area. CPI-U data is from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
(www.bls.gov/data/#prices). The CPI-U value for 2015 was projected.

4. The minimum wage shown for each year in the graph is the level in effect as of Dec. 31
of that year.
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The minimum wage relative to other 
wages:  U.S. data 
 
An important perspective on the minimum wage is 
its level in relation to other wages. To provide 
context for the Minnesota data in Figures 4 and 5, 
Figures 2 and 3 present U.S. trends. 
 
Average hourly earnings relative to inflation 
 
Average hourly earnings for the U.S. rose 
consistently from 1970 to 2015 (Figure 2). 
Adjusted for inflation, however, they were at about 
the same level in 2015 as in the 1970s. 
 
• In 2015 dollars, U.S. average hourly earnings 

fell from a range of $20.50 to $21.90 in the 
1970s to a low-point near $17.90 for 1993 to 
1995, but then turned upward, reaching a 
projected $20.92 for 2015. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Minimum wage relative to average hourly 
earnings 
 
Despite periodic increases, the U.S. full minimum 
wage has generally been lower relative to average 
hourly earnings after 1980 than it was before that 
year (Figure 3). 
 
• The periods of most rapid decrease relative to 

average hourly earnings occurred when the 
federal minimum was stationary; the longest 
such periods were 1981 to 1989 and 1997 to 
2006. 

• Despite three consecutive increases in 2007 to 
2009, the federal minimum in 2015 was at the 
same point relative to average hourly earnings 
— 35 percent — as in 1989. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Figure 2 Average hourly earnings of nonfarm 
production and nonsupervisory workers, 
actual and inflation-adjusted, United 
States, 1970–2015 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Figure 3 Full minimum wage as percentage of 

average hourly earnings of nonfarm 
production and nonsupervisory workers, 
United States, 1970–2015 [1] 

 
 
 

1. Minimum wage data is from the U.S. Department of Labor
(www.dol.gov/whd/minwage/chart.htm). In this figure, the
minimum wage for each year is the level in effect on Dec. 31
of that year. Average hourly earnings data is from the Current
Employment Statistics survey of the U.S. Bureau of Labor
Statistics (www.bls.gov/ces). The earnings figures used here
are net of overtime pay in manufacturing. The 2015 earnings
figure was projected from the most recent monthtly data.
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2. The inflation-adjustment factor is the Consumer Price Index
for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) for the United States, from
the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
(www.bls.gov/data /#prices). The 2015 value is projected from
the most recent monthly data.
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The minimum wage relative to other 
wages:  Minnesota data 
 
Minnesota is similar to the United States with 
respect to the long-term trends in wages and in the 
minimum wage relative to other wages. 
 
Average hourly earnings of production workers 
in manufacturing relative to inflation22 
 
Average hourly earnings for production workers in 
Minnesota manufacturing rose consistently from 
1970 to 2015. Adjusted for inflation, however, they 
were lower in 2015 than in the 1970s. 
 
• In 2015 dollars, average hourly earnings of 

production workers in Minnesota 
manufacturing fell from and range $20.80 to 
$22.40 in the 1970s to a low-point near $19.00 
in 1996. 

• Despite some growth since 1996, the inflation-
adjusted hourly earnings figure of $20.35 for 
2015 is not far from the 1982 figure of $20.22. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                      
22 The survey that produces the wage data used here (see 

note 1 in Figure 4) did not produce average hourly earnings 
estimates for the overall Minnesota nonfarm economy for the 
period concerned. 

Figure 4 Average hourly earnings of production 
workers in manufacturing, actual and 
inflation-adjusted, Minnesota, 1970–
2015 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1. Data is from the Current Employment Statistics survey of the
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (www.bls.gov/ces) and the
Minnesota Department of Economic Development. A
three-year moving average is used. The 2015 value is
projected.

2. The inflation-adjustment factor is the Consumer Price Index
for Urban Consumers (CPI-U) for the Minneapolis-St. Paul
metropolitan area, from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
(www.bls.gov/data/#prices). The 2015 value is projected.
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Minimum wage relative to other wages 
 
Over the past several decades, Minnesota’s 
full effective minimum wage (FEMW) has 
sometimes been the federal minimum and 
sometimes the state minimum, depending on 
which of the two was higher (see Figure 1).23 
With the increases in the state full minimum 
to $8.00 and $9.00 in 2014 and 2015, those 
levels became Minnesota’s effective levels 
for those years, given the current federal 
minimum of $7.25 (the effective minimum 
just prior to the state increase to $8.00 in 
2014). 
 
The increases in the FEMW in 2014 and 2015 
were large relative to other state wages (as 
represented by average hourly earnings of 
production workers in manufacturing); 
however, these increases put the FEMW in 
the same range relative to other state wages as 
during the 1970s. 
 
• Despite periodic increases in Minnesota’s 

FEMW (due at different times to increases 
in the state and federal minimum wages), 
it fell relative to average hourly earnings 
of production workers in manufacturing, 
from 48 percent in 1970 to 32 percent in 
2004.24 

• Because of increases after 2004 in the 
FEMW, the FEMW rose relative to 
average hourly earnings of production 
workers in manufacturing. With the 
increase to $9.00 in 2015, the FEMW 
stood at 44 percent of this average hourly 
earnings index. In the 1970s, the FEMW 
had ranged from 40 to 48 percent of this 
average earnings measure. 

• The FEMW can also be compared to other 
wage measures. In 2015, the FEMW of 
$9.00 was 38 percent of the average 
hourly wage of all Minnesota nonfarm 
workers ($23.57) and 49 percent of the 
median wage of these workers ($18.54).25 

                                                      
23 The effective minimum-wage level is the higher 

of the state and federal levels. 
24 Average hourly earnings for the overall 

Minnesota nonfarm economy are unavailable for the 
period concerned here. 

25 The median is the halfway point in the wage 
distribution, where half of all wages are above and half 
are below. 

Figure 5 Full effective minimum wage as percentage of 
three different wage indices, Minnesota, 
1970–2015 [1] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 During the period when all three wage indices 
have been available (beginning with 2002), the 
FEMW has moved in the same direction relative 
to each of these wage indices. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FEMW = full effective minimum wage.

1. In this figure, the minimum wage for each year is the level in effect on
Dec. 31 of that year. Figure 1 (p. 3) gives the history of U.S. and
Minnesota minimum wage changes (with sources) for the period
concerned. Figure 6 (p. 7) gives the U.S. and Minnesota full minimum
wages and the full effective minimum wage for 1997 to present.

2. Average hourly earnings of production workers in manufacturing is
from the Current Employment Statistics survey of the U.S. Bureau of
Labor Statistics (www.bls.gov/ces) and the Minnesota Department of
Economic Development. A three-year moving average is used. The
2015 value is projected.

3. Median and average hourly wages of nonfarm workers are from the
Occupational Employment Statistics survey of the U.S. Bureau of
Labor Statistics (http://www.bls.gov/oes). The data applies to May of
each year. The 2015 value is projected. Not available before 2002.
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Minnesota workers at or 
below the minimum 
wage 
 
Increases in the minimum wage 
bring about increases in the 
number and percentage of 
hourly workers earning the 
minimum wage level or less. 
However, because of rising 
overall wages over time, the 
number and percentage of 
hourly workers earning the 
minimum wage or less has 
decreased during periods when 
the minimum wage has been 
stationary. 
 
• Because of the increase in 

Minnesota’s minimum wage 
to $9.00 an hour in 2015, the 
number of hourly workers 
earning the full effective 
minimum wage or less 
reached an estimated 
216,000, or 13.6 percent of 
the estimated 1.58 million 
total hourly workers for that 
year (see note 2 in Figure 6). 

• The 13.6 percent of hourly 
workers earning the effective 
minimum wage or less for 
2015 was an increase from 
4.7 percent for 2013, the last 
year the effective minimum 
was $7.25, and 2.1 percent 
for 2004, the last year the 
effective minimum was 
$5.15. 

• When salaried workers (not 
included in this report) are 
also counted, the total 
number of wage-and-salary 
workers earning $9.00 or 
less in 2015 is an estimated 
259,000, or 10.0 percent of 
an estimated 2.57 million 
total wage-and-salary 
workers.26 

                                                      
26 The number of wage-and-salary 

workers, estimated here at 2.57 million 

Figure 6 Percentage of hourly workers at or below the full effective 
minimum wage, Minnesota, 1997–2015 [1] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                                                                                  
for August 2015 to July 2016, counts workers, not jobs. Since many workers hold 
more than one job, this figure is less than the job-based employment figures 
published by the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development 
(DEED) (https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/qcew/ResultsDisp.aspx and 
https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/ces/Results.aspx). Also, this figure excludes self-
employed and unpaid family workers and is therefore less than the total number of 
employed Minnesotans also published by DEED 
(https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/laus/CurrentStats.aspx). 

Hourly workers
at or below full

minimum wage [4]
Full minimum wage [3] Pctg. of all

United Effective Number hourly
States Minnesota level [5] (1,000s) workers

8/97-7/98 $5.15      $5.15      $5.15      104      7.3%
8/98-7/99 5.15  5.15   5.15  79 5.4
8/99-7/00 5.15  5.15   5.15  58 3.9
8/00-7/01 5.15  5.15   5.15  45 3.0
8/01-7/02 5.15  5.15   5.15  39 2.6
8/02-7/03 5.15  5.15   5.15  36 2.3
8/03-7/04 5.15  5.15   5.15  33 2.2
8/04-7/05 5.15  5.15   5.15  34 2.1
8/05-7/06 5.15  6.15   6.15  59 3.8
8/06-7/07 5.15  6.15   6.15  51 3.2
8/07-7/08 5.85  6.15   6.15  44 2.9
8/08-7/09 6.55  6.15   6.55  56 3.8
8/09-7/10 7.25  6.15   7.25  97 6.6
8/10-7/11 7.25  6.15   7.25  91 6.1
8/11-7/12 7.25  6.15   7.25  86 5.7
8/12-7/13 7.25  6.15   7.25  81 5.2
8/13-7/14 7.25  6.15   7.25  74 4.7
8/14-7/15 7.25  8.00   8.00  124 7.9
8/15-7/16 7.25  9.00   9.00  216 13.6

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current
Population Survey, conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau for the U.S. Bureau
of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B.

2. The year in the graph is the 12-month period beginning with August of the year
indicated.

3. See p. 2 (Data and estimation technique).
4. This is based on the worker's hourly rate of pay at his or her main job,

excluding overtime pay, tips and commissions.
5. The effective minimum-wage level is the higher of the state and federal levels.
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Overtime pay, tips and 
commissions 
 
Minimum-wage status is 
determined in this report 
according to the worker’s 
hourly rate of pay excluding 
overtime pay, tips and 
commissions (OTC). In 2015, 
an estimated 19 percent of 
hourly workers at or below the 
minimum wage received OTC. 
 
• The proportion of minimum-

wage workers receiving 
OTC has been relatively high 
when the minimum has been 
low relative to other wages, 
and vice versa. This is 
because in the lower part of 
the wage distribution, the 
proportion of hourly workers 
receiving OTC is relatively 
high at lower wage levels. 

• Changes over time in the 
number of hourly workers at 
or below the minimum wage 
have primarily involved 
workers not receiving OTC. 
For example, from 2013 to 
2015, when the effective 
minimum rose from $7.25 to 
$9.00, the number of hourly 
workers at or below the 
minimum who were not 
receiving OTC rose from 
48,000 to 175,000, while the 
number who were receiving 
OTC rose far less, from 
26,000 to 41,000. From 1997 
to 2013, the number of 
minimum-wage workers not 
receiving OTC varied 
between 13,000 and 75,000 
while the number receiving 
OTC varied between 19,000 
and 29,000. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Figure 7 Percentage receiving overtime pay, tips or commissions 
among hourly workers at or below the minimum wage, 
Minnesota, 1997–2015 [1] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Hourly workers at or below
full minimum wage

Usually receive overtime pay,
tips or commissions?

Full minimum wage [3] Yes No
United Minne- Effective Number Number
States sota level [4] (1,000s) Pctg. (1,000s) Pctg.

8/97-7/98 $5.15  $5.15  $5.15  29   27.7% 75   72.3%
8/98-7/99 5.15 5.15 5.15 26 32.9 53 67.1 
8/99-7/00 5.15 5.15 5.15 23 39.1 35 60.9 
8/00-7/01 5.15 5.15 5.15 20 44.7 25 55.3 
8/01-7/02 5.15 5.15 5.15 19 48.3 20 51.7 
8/02-7/03 5.15 5.15 5.15 19 52.2 17 47.8 
8/03-7/04 5.15 5.15 5.15 19 57.3 14 42.7 
8/04-7/05 5.15 5.15 5.15 21 61.4 13 38.6 
8/05-7/06 5.15 6.15 6.15 24 39.7 36 60.3 
8/06-7/07 5.15 6.15 6.15 22 43.2 29 56.8 
8/07-7/08 5.85 6.15 6.15 20 45.9 24 54.1 
8/08-7/09 6.55 6.15 6.55 22 39.8 34 60.2 
8/09-7/10 7.25 6.15 7.25 28 29.3 69 70.7 
8/10-7/11 7.25 6.15 7.25 28 30.6 63 69.4 
8/11-7/12 7.25 6.15 7.25 27 31.9 58 68.1 
8/12-7/13 7.25 6.15 7.25 27 33.4 54 66.6 
8/13-7/14 7.25 6.15 7.25 26 35.3 48 64.7 
8/14-7/15 7.25 8.00 8.00 33 26.4 91 73.6 
8/15-7/16 7.25 9.00 9.00 41 18.9 175 81.1 

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population
Survey, conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau for the U.S. Bureau of Labor
Statistics. Details in Appendix B.

2. The year in the graph is the 12-month period beginning with August of the year
indicated.

3. See p. 2 (Data and estimation technique).
4. The effective minimum-wage level is the higher of the state and federal levels.

0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

'97 '99 '01 '03 '05 '07 '09 '11 '13 '15
P

er
ce

nt
ag

e 
re

ce
iv

in
g 

ov
er

tim
e

pa
y,

 t
ip

s 
or

 c
om

m
is

si
on

s

Year [2]

Increase in 
effective 
minimum
to $6.15 Increase 

to $7.25

Increase 
to $6.55

Increase
to $8.00

Increase
to $9.00



Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry  Minimum-Wage Report — 2015 

9 

Figure 8 Hourly workers at or below the minimum wage and percentage receiving overtime pay, tips or 
commissions by industry, Minnesota, August 2015 – July 2016 [1] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Industry 
 
Among Minnesota industries, eating and 
drinking places have the greatest prevalence of 
hourly workers at or below the minimum wage. 
This industry also shows the highest percentage 
of workers receiving OTC among those paid the 
minimum wage or less. 
 
• For August 2015 through July 2016, the 

proportion of hourly workers earning the 
minimum wage or less was highest by far in 
eating and drinking places, at 57 percent. The 
next highest percentages were in private 
household services (27 percent) and 

agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting (26 
percent). 

• About 34 percent, or 72,000, of all hourly 
workers paid the minimum wage or less were 
employed in eating and drinking places; 20 
percent were in retail trade; 6 percent were in 
manufacturing. 

• Among hourly workers paid the minimum 
wage or less, the percentage receiving OTC 
was highest in eating and drinking places (40 
percent), hotels, motels and other 
accommodation (22 percent) and “other” 
services (21 percent). 

Hourly workers at or below $9.00 an hour
Pctg. Pctg. of

Pctg. among these workers
among all hourly who receive

Hourly workers hourly workers overtime pay,
Number Pctg. Number workers in at or below tips or

Industry group [2] (1,000s) of total (1,000s) industry $9.00/hour commissions
Total, 15 years and older 1,585   100.0% 216    13.6%   100.0%     18.9%

Eating and drinking places 128 8.1 72 56.5 33.6 39.9
Private household services 9 .6 2 26.8 1.1 8.9
Agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting 20 1.2 5 26.4 2.4 3.2
Arts, entertainment and recreation 39 2.5 9 23.8 4.3 18.8
Hotels, motels and other accommodation 17 1.1 4 22.8 1.8 21.8
Retail trade 215 13.6 44 20.4 20.3 5.6
Social assistance 40 2.5 6 15.2 2.8 4.7
Other services 49 3.1 7 14.6 3.3 21.3
Mgmt., adm. & support, & waste mgmt. servs. 62 3.9 8 12.7 3.7 6.3
Residential facilities 65 4.1 7 10.2 3.1 7.0
Education services 101 6.4 10 9.6 4.5 4.5
Information 27 1.7 2 8.7 1.1 6.6
Real estate, rental and leasing 15 1.0 1 8.4 .6 8.2
Wholesale trade 30 1.9 2 7.8 1.1 7.4
Health care excl. hospital & residential servs. 111 7.0 7 6.7 3.4 5.9
Transportation and warehousing 68 4.3 4 5.8 1.8 10.3
Manufacturing 236 14.9 13 5.4 5.9 7.1
Public administration [3] 62 3.9 2 4.0 1.2 16.8
Professional, scientific and technical servs. 45 2.9 2 4.0 .8 5.4
Finance and insurance 63 4.0 2 3.2 .9 11.2
Hospitals 82 5.2 2 3.0 1.1 10.3
Construction 86 5.4 3 2.9 1.2 5.4
Utilities 12 .8  ~ 1.6 .1   [4]
Mining 4 .3  ~ 1.4 .0   [4]

"~" = fewer than 500 workers.
1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau

for the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B. The full effective minimum-wage level for the period concerned
was the Minnesota level of $9.00 an hour (see Figure 1 and p. 2 (Data and estimation technique)).

2. Except for the public administration division (see note 3), industries include the private and public sectors.
3. The public administration division is limited to those government employees not classifiable under other industries, such as

construction or education services.
4. Percentages are not given for these industries because of small sample size.
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Figure 9 Hourly workers at or below the minimum wage and percentage receiving overtime pay, tips or 
commissions by occupation, Minnesota, August 2015 – July 2016 [1] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Occupation 
 
Among Minnesota occupations, food preparation 
and serving has the greatest prevalence of hourly 
workers at or below the minimum wage. This 
occupation also shows the highest percentage of 
workers receiving OTC among those paid the 
minimum wage or less. 
 
• For August 2015 through July 2016, the 

proportion of hourly workers earning the 
minimum wage or less was highest by far in 
food preparation and serving, at 52 percent. 
The next highest percentages were in 

farming, fishing and forestry (30 percent), 
sales and related occupations (25 percent), 
and personal care and service (24 percent). 

• About 33 percent of all hourly workers paid 
the minimum wage or less were employed in 
food preparation and serving occupations; 17 
percent were in sales and related occupations. 

• Among hourly workers paid the minimum 
wage or less, the percentage receiving OTC 
was highest in food preparation and serving 
(38 percent) and personal care and service 
(19 percent). 

 Hourly workers at or below $9.00 an hour
Pctg. Pctg. of

Pctg. among these workers
 among all hourly who receive

Hourly workers hourly workers overtime pay,
Number Pctg. Number workers in at or below tips or

Occupation group (1,000s) of total (1,000s) occupation $9.00/hour commissions
Total, 15 years and older 1,585   100.0% 216    13.6%   100.0%     18.9%

Food preparation and serving 139 8.8 72 51.9 33.5 38.0
Farming, fishing and forestry 17 1.0 5 30.2 2.3 3.2
Sales and related occupations 147 9.3 38 25.5 17.4 7.0
Personal care and service 70 4.4 17 24.3 7.9 19.1
Building and grounds cleaning and maint. 70 4.4 12 17.5 5.6 6.7
Transportation and material moving 122 7.7 15 12.4 7.0 15.0
Health care support 56 3.6 7 11.6 3.0 9.9
Protective service 32 2.0 3 10.0 1.5 15.6
Education, training and library 55 3.4 4 7.7 1.9 2.4
Office and administrative support 243 15.3 18 7.4 8.4 4.9
Arts, design, entertainment, sports & media 21 1.3 2 7.4 .7 7.9
Production 166 10.5 12 7.3 5.6 7.2
Community and social service 27 1.7 1 3.5 .4 3.1
Construction and extraction 79 5.0 2 2.7 1.0 5.6
Installation, maintenance and repair 63 4.0 2 2.7 .8 14.6
Management, professional and technical [2] 279 17.6 6 2.2 2.9 11.8

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau
for the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B. The full effective minimum-wage level for the period concerned
was the Minnesota level of $9.00 an hour (see Figure 1 and p. 2 (Data and estimation technique)).

2. Includes management occupations; business and financial occupations; computer and mathematical science occupations;
architectural and engineering occupations; life, physical and social science occupations; legal occupations; and health care
practitioner and technical occupations. The estimated percentage of hourly workers at or below $9.00 an hour in these groups
ranged from 1.2 to 3.5 percent.
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Figure 10 Hourly workers at or below the minimum wage by age and gender, Minnesota, 
August 2015 – July 2016 [1] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Age and gender 
 
Young workers and women workers are more 
likely than others to be paid the minimum wage 
or less. Older workers are somewhat less likely 
than those in their middle years to be at or below 
the minimum wage. 
 
• Among 15- to 19-year-old hourly workers, 

54 percent earned $9.00 an hour or less for 
August 2015 through July 2016, compared 
with 8 percent of 25- to 54-year-olds and 7 
percent of those 55 and older. 

• As a result, 15- to 19-year-olds comprised 
roughly 29 percent of all hourly workers at or 
below the minimum wage, even though they 
made up only 7 percent of the total hourly 

workforce. Combining the two youngest 
groups, 15- to 24-year-olds made up 55 
percent of all hourly workers paid the 
minimum or less. 

• Although only 8 percent of 25- to 54-year-
olds were paid the minimum wage or less, 
they made up 36 percent of all hourly 
workers at or below the minimum wage 
because they comprised a majority (60 
percent) of hourly workers. 

• Women were more likely than men to be paid 
the minimum wage or less (16 versus 11 
percent). Because of this and the fact that 
they made up 52 percent of all hourly 
workers, women accounted for 59 percent of 
all hourly workers at or below the minimum. 

 

Hourly workers at or below $9.00 an hour
 Pctg. Pctg.

among among
hourly all hourly

Hourly workers workers in workers
Number Pctg. Number labor force at or below

Age and gender (1,000s) of total (1,000s) group [2] 9.00/hour
Total, 15 years and older 1,585   100.0% 216    13.6%   100.0%

15-19 years 115 7.2 62 54.3 28.9
20-24 years 222 14.0 56 25.4 26.2
25-54 years 955 60.2 77 8.1 35.7
55 years and older 293 18.5 20 6.8 9.2

Men 767 48.4 88 11.4 40.7

15-19 years 56 3.6 28 49.9 13.1
20-24 years 105 6.6 22 21.1 10.3
25-54 years 468 29.5 30 6.3 13.7
55 years and older 138 8.7 8 5.7 3.6

Women 818 51.6 128 15.6 59.3

15-19 years 58 3.7 34 58.6 15.9
20-24 years 117 7.4 34 29.3 15.9
25-54 years 487 30.7 47 9.7 22.0
55 years and older 155 9.8 12 7.8 5.6

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S.
Census Bureau for the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B. The full effective minimum-wage
level for the period concerned was the Minnesota level of $9.00 an hour (see Figure 1 and p. 2 (Data and
estimation technique)).

2. "Labor force group" is the total number of hourly workers in the row category.
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Figure 11 Hourly workers at or below the minimum wage by full-time/part-time status, gender and age, 
Minnesota, August 2015 – July 2016 [1] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Full-time/part-time status 
 
Part-time workers (those working fewer than 35 
hours a week) are much more likely than full-
time workers to be paid the minimum wage or 
less. 
 
• Among part-time hourly workers, 30 percent 

were paid $9.00 an hour or less for August 
2015 through July 2016, compared with 6 
percent of full-time workers. 

• Part-time workers made up 67 percent of all 
hourly workers at or below the minimum 
wage, even though they accounted for only 
30 percent of the hourly workforce. 

• Among full-time hourly workers, women 
were more likely than men to be paid the 
minimum wage or less (8 percent versus 5 
percent). Among part-time workers, 
however, men were more likely than women 
to be at or below the minimum (34 versus 28 
percent). 

 

Hourly workers at or below $9.00 an hour
Pctg. Pctg.

among among
 hourly all hourly

Hourly workers workers in workers
Full-time/part-time Number Pctg. Number labor force at or below

status, gender and age (1,000s) of total (1,000s) group [2] 9.00/hour
Total, 15 years and older 1,585   100.0% 216    13.6%   100.0%

Full time [3] 1,102 69.6 70 6.4 32.7

Men 606 38.2 33 5.4 15.2
Women 497 31.3 38 7.6 17.4

15-19 years 22 1.4 7 30.8 3.1
20-24 years 125 7.9 19 15.1 8.7
25-54 years 755 47.6 38 5.0 17.6
55 years and older 201 12.7 7 3.5 3.2

Part time [3] 483 30.4 145 30.1 67.3

Men 161 10.2 55 34.0 25.4
Women 321 20.3 90 28.1 41.9

15-19 years 93 5.9 56 59.8 25.8
20-24 years 97 6.1 38 38.7 17.4
25-54 years 200 12.6 39 19.5 18.1
55 years and older 92 5.8 13 14.0 6.0

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S.
Census Bureau for the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B. The full effective minimum-wage
level for the period concerned was the Minnesota level of $9.00 an hour (see Figure 1 and p. 2 (Data and
estimation technique)).

2. "Labor force group" is the total number of hourly workers in the row category.
3. Full-time workers are defined as those usually working 35 or more hours a week.
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Figure 12 Hourly workers at or below the minimum wage by education, gender and age, Minnesota, 
August 2015 – July 2016 [1] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Education 
 
The least-educated workers are the most likely 
to be paid the minimum wage or less. 
 
• Among hourly workers age 20 and older, 

those receiving the minimum wage or less 
accounted for 20 percent of workers with less 
than a high-school education, 11 percent of 
those with a high-school diploma and 9 
percent of those with at least some college 
(see note 2 in Figure 12). 

• Since workers with at least some college 
made up 66 percent of the hourly workforce 
age 20 and older, they accounted for 59 
percent of all hourly workers at or below the 
minimum in this age group even though they 
were the least likely to be paid the minimum 
wage or less. 

• Among 20-and-older workers, those without 
a high-school diploma made up 11 percent of 
workers at or below the minimum, even 
though they comprised only 6 percent of the 
hourly workforce. 

Hourly workers at or below $9.00 an hour
 Pctg. among Pctg. among all

Hourly workers hourly hourly workers
Pctg. of workers in 20 and older

Number those 20 Number labor force at or below
Education, gender and age (1,000s) and older [2] (1,000s) group [3] 9.00/hour [2]

Total, 15 years and older 1,585 216    13.6%
15-19 years 115 62 54.3

Less than high school 68 42 62.1
High school only 24 10 42.0
At least some college 23 10 44.3

20 years and older [2] 1,470   100.0% 153 10.4   100.0%
Less than high school 88 6.0 18 20.1 11.5

Men 54 3.7 8 14.7 5.1
Women 34 2.3 10 28.6 6.3

20-24 years 10 .7 4 35.1 2.3
25-54 years 65 4.4 12 18.3 7.8
55 years and older 12 .8 2 17.0 1.4

High school only 408 27.8 45 11.1 29.5
Men 228 15.5 18 8.0 12.0
Women 180 12.2 27 15.0 17.5

20-24 years 54 3.7 13 24.6 8.7
25-54 years 257 17.5 24 9.4 15.7
55 years and older 97 6.6 8 8.1 5.1

At least some college 974 66.3 91 9.3 59.0
Men 428 29.1 33 7.8 21.8
Women 546 37.1 57 10.5 37.3

20-24 years 158 10.8 40 25.1 25.8
25-54 years 633 43.0 41 6.5 26.7
55 years and older 183 12.5 10 5.4 6.5

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S. Census
Bureau for the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B. The full effective minimum-wage level for the
period concerned was the Minnesota level of $9.00 an hour (see Figure 1 and p. 2 (Data and estimation technique)).

2. Percentages regarding the composition of the total labor force and the composition of workers earning $9.00 an hour or
less (data columns 2 and 5) are limited to workers ages 20 and older because educational attainment among 15- to 19-
year-olds is strongly associated with school enrollment status, which has its own association with hourly earnings.

3. "Labor force group" is the total number of hourly workers in the row category.
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Figure 13 Hourly workers at or below the minimum wage by marital status, gender and age, Minnesota, 
August 2015 – July 2016 [1] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
Marital status 
 
Unmarried workers are more likely to be paid 
the minimum wage or less than are married 
workers. 
 
• Among hourly workers age 20 and older, 

those paid the minimum wage or less 
comprised 15 percent of those who were not 
married, as opposed to 6 percent of those 
who were married. 

• Unmarried workers accounted for 70 percent 
of all hourly workers 20 and older who were 
paid the minimum wage or less, even though 
they made up only 50 percent of the 20-and-
older hourly workforce. 

• Unmarried women accounted for 41 percent 
of all hourly workers 20 and older who were 
at or below the minimum, even though they 
accounted for only 25 percent of the 20-and-
older hourly workforce. 

 

Hourly workers at or below $9.00 an hour
Pctg. among Pctg. among all

 Hourly workers hourly hourly workers
Pctg. of workers in 20 and older

Number those 20 Number labor force at or below
Marital status, gender and age (1,000s) and older [2] (1,000s) group [3] 9.00/hour [2]

Total, 15 years and older 1,585 216    13.6%

15-19 years 115 62 54.3

Married, spouse present       ~     ~    [4]
Other marital status 115 62 54.4

20 years and older [2] 1,470   100.0% 153 10.4   100.0%

Married, spouse present 735 50.0 46 6.3 30.2

Men 341 23.2 15 4.4 9.7
Women 395 26.8 31 7.9 20.4

20-24 years 16 1.1 3 16.8 1.7
25-54 years 524 35.6 32 6.1 20.8
55 years and older 196 13.3 12 6.0 7.6

Other marital status 734 50.0 107 14.6 69.8

Men 369 25.1 45 12.1 29.1
Women 365 24.8 62 17.1 40.7

20-24 years 206 14.0 54 26.1 35.1
25-54 years 431 29.3 45 10.4 29.4
55 years and older 97 6.6 8 8.5 5.4

"~" = fewer than 500 workers.
1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S. Census

Bureau for the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B. The full effective minimum-wage level for the
period concerned was the Minnesota level of $9.00 an hour (see Figure 1 and p. 2 (Data and estimation technique)).

2. Percentages regarding the composition of the total labor force and the composition of workers earning $9.00 an hour or
less (data columns 2 and 5) are limited to workers ages 20 and older because of the low frequency of marriage among
15- to 19-year-olds.

3. "Labor force group" is the total number of hourly workers in the row category.
4. Estimate not given because of small sample size.
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Figure 14 Hourly workers at or below the minimum wage by poverty status, gender and age, Minnesota, 
August 2015 – July 2016 [1] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Poverty status 
 
Workers paid the minimum wage or less are 
more prevalent among those in poverty than 
among other hourly workers. 
 
• Workers at or below the minimum wage 

accounted for 26 percent of hourly workers 

living in households below the poverty line, 
as opposed to 12 percent of those in 
households above the poverty line. 

• While workers in households below the 
poverty line made up 10 percent of the 
hourly workforce, they accounted for 18 
percent of those paid the minimum wage or 
less. 

 

Hourly workers at or below $9.00 an hour
Pctg. Pctg.

among among
 hourly all hourly

Hourly workers workers in workers
Number Pctg. Number labor force at or below

Poverty status, gender and age (1,000s) of total (1,000s) group [2] 9.00/hour
Total, 15 years and older 1,585   100.0% 216    13.6%   100.0%

At or below poverty line [3] 151 9.5 39 26.0 18.1

Men 71 4.5 16 21.7 7.2
Women 79 5.0 24 29.8 10.9

15-19 years 15 .9 8 55.2 3.8
20-24 years 39 2.5 12 31.6 5.8
25-54 years 84 5.3 16 19.4 7.5
55 years and older 13 .8 2 18.5 1.1

Above poverty line [3] 1,434 90.5 177 12.3 81.9

Men 695 43.9 72 10.4 33.5
Women 739 46.6 104 14.1 48.4

15-19 years 100 6.3 54 54.2 25.2
20-24 years 183 11.5 44 24.1 20.4
25-54 years 871 55.0 61 7.0 28.2
55 years and older 280 17.7 18 6.3 8.1

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S.
Census Bureau for the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B. The full effective minimum-wage
level for the period concerned was the Minnesota level of $9.00 an hour (see Figure 1 and p. 2 (Data and
estimation technique)).

2. "Labor force group" is the total number of hourly workers in the row category.
3. The poverty line is established and published annually by the U.S. Census Bureau. It depends on household

size and is applied to total household income. The 2014 poverty line for a family of four, for example, was
$24,230. For statistical purposes, the poverty status of each household member is that of the household. Official
poverty lines are available at www.census.gov/hhes/www/poverty/data/threshld.
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Figure 15 Hourly workers at or below the minimum wage by metropolitan residence, gender and age, 
Minnesota, August 2015 – July 2016 [1] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Metropolitan residence 
 
Workers in nonmetropolitan Minnesota are more 
likely to be paid the minimum wage or less than 
are those in the state’s metropolitan areas (see 
note 3 in Figure 15). 
 
• Workers paid the minimum wage or less 

accounted for 16 percent of hourly workers 
in nonmetropolitan Minnesota, as opposed to 
13 percent in metropolitan areas. 

• Despite this difference, because metropolitan 
Minnesota made up 72 percent of the state’s 
hourly workforce, it accounted for 68 percent 

of the state’s hourly workers at or below the 
minimum wage. 

• Nonmetropolitan areas showed more of a 
gender difference than did metropolitan areas 
with regard to minimum-wage status. For 
nonmetropolitan areas, the proportions of 
hourly workers at or below the minimum 
were 19 percent for women and 12 percent 
for men; for metropolitan areas, these 
proportions were 14 and 11 percent, 
respectively. 

 

Hourly workers at or below $9.00 an hour
Pctg. Pctg.

among among
 hourly all hourly

Hourly workers workers in workers
Metropolitan residence, Number Pctg. Number labor force at or below

gender and age (1,000s) of total (1,000s) group [2] 9.00/hour
Total, 15 years and older 1,585   100.0% 216    13.6%   100.0%

Metropolitan [3] 1,142 72.1 146 12.8 67.8

Men 554 34.9 61 11.1 28.4
Women 588 37.1 85 14.4 39.4

15-19 years 80 5.0 41 51.9 19.1
20-24 years 165 10.4 40 24.3 18.6
25-54 years 697 44.0 53 7.6 24.5
55 years and older 201 12.7 12 6.0 5.6

Nonmetropolitan [3] 443 27.9 70 15.7 32.2

Men 213 13.5 27 12.4 12.3
Women 230 14.5 43 18.7 19.9

15-19 years 35 2.2 21 60.0 9.8
20-24 years 58 3.6 16 28.5 7.6
25-54 years 258 16.3 24 9.4 11.2
55 years and older 92 5.8 8 8.4 3.6

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S.
Census Bureau for the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B. The full effective minimum-wage
level for the period concerned was the Minnesota level of $9.00 an hour (see Figure 1 and p. 2 (Data and
estimation technique)).

2. "Labor force group" is the total number of hourly workers in the row category.
3. Metropolitan areas include the following metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs) defined by the Census Bureau: 

the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington MSA (Minnesota portion:  Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin,
Isanti, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, Washington and Wright Counties); the Duluth MSA (Minnesota portion:  St.
Louis County only; Carlton County not in sample); the Fargo MSA (Minnesota portion:  Clay County); and the St.
Cloud MSA (Benton and Stearns Counties). The Rochester and Grand Forks MSAs are not in the sample, nor is
the Houston County portion of the La Crosse MSA.
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Appendix A 
 

Minnesota minimum-wage statute 
 
 
 
The following is Minnesota Statutes §§177.23, 
177.24 and 177.28 as of December 2015.27 
 
177.23 Definitions. 
 
Subdivision 1. Scope. Unless the language or 
context clearly indicates that a different meaning 
is intended, the following terms, for the purposes 
of sections 177.21 to 177.35, have the meanings 
given to them in this section. 
 
Subd. 2. Department. "Department" means the 
Department of Labor and Industry. 
 
Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" 
means the commissioner of labor and industry or 
authorized designee or representative. 
 
Subd. 4. Wage. "Wage" means compensation 
due to an employee by reason of employment, 
payable in: 
 
(1) legal tender of the United States; 
 
(2) check on banks convertible into cash on 
demand at full face value; 
 
(3) except for instances of written objection to 
the employer by the employee, direct deposit to 
the employee's choice of demand deposit 
account; or 
 
(4) an electronic fund transfer to a payroll card 
account that meets all of the requirements of 
section 177.255, subject to allowances permitted 
by rules of the department under section 177.28. 
 
Subd. 5. Employ. "Employ" means to permit to 
work. 
 

                                                      
27 Taken from the Minnesota Office of the Revisor of 

Statutes website, www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=177, 
Dec. 30, 2015.  

Subd. 6. Employer. "Employer" means any 
individual, partnership, association, corporation, 
business trust, or any person or group of persons 
acting directly or indirectly in the interest of an 
employer in relation to an employee. 
 
Subd. 7. Employee. "Employee" means any 
individual employed by an employer but does 
not include: 
 
(1) two or fewer specified individuals employed 
at any given time in agriculture on a farming 
unit or operation who are paid a salary; 
 
(2) any individual employed in agriculture on a 
farming unit or operation who is paid a salary 
greater than the individual would be paid if the 
individual worked 48 hours at the state 
minimum wage plus 17 hours at 1-1/2 times the 
state minimum wage per week; 
 
(3) an individual under 18 who is employed in 
agriculture on a farm to perform services other 
than corn detasseling or hand field work when 
one or both of that minor hand field worker's 
parents or physical custodians are also hand field 
workers; 
 
(4) for purposes of section 177.24, an individual 
under 18 who is employed as a corn detasseler; 
 
(5) any staff member employed on a seasonal 
basis by an organization for work in an 
organized resident or day camp operating under 
a permit issued under section 144.72; 
 
(6) any individual employed in a bona fide 
executive, administrative, or professional 
capacity, or a salesperson who conducts no more 
than 20 percent of sales on the premises of the 
employer; 
 
(7) any individual who renders service 
gratuitously for a nonprofit organization; 
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(8) any individual who serves as an elected 
official for a political subdivision or who serves 
on any governmental board, commission, 
committee or other similar body, or who renders 
service gratuitously for a political subdivision; 
 
(9) any individual employed by a political 
subdivision to provide police or fire protection 
services or employed by an entity whose 
principal purpose is to provide police or fire 
protection services to a political subdivision; 
 
(10) any individual employed by a political 
subdivision who is ineligible for membership in 
the Public Employees Retirement Association 
under section 353.01, subdivision 2b, clause (1), 
(2), (4), or (9), item (i); 
 
(11) any driver employed by an employer 
engaged in the business of operating taxicabs; 
 
(12) any individual engaged in babysitting as a 
sole practitioner; 
 
(13) for the purpose of section 177.25, any 
individual employed on a seasonal basis in a 
carnival, circus, fair, or ski facility; 
 
(14) any individual under 18 working less than 
20 hours per workweek for a municipality as 
part of a recreational program; 
 
(15) any individual employed by the state as a 
natural resource manager 1, 2, or 3 (conservation 
officer); 
 
(16) any individual in a position for which the 
United States Department of Transportation has 
power to establish qualifications and maximum 
hours of service under United States Code, title 
49, section 31502; 
 
(17) any individual employed as a seafarer. The 
term "seafarer" means a master of a vessel or 
any person subject to the authority, direction, 
and control of the master who is exempt from 
federal overtime standards under United States 
Code, title 29, section 213(b)(6), including but 
not limited to pilots, sailors, engineers, radio 
operators, firefighters, security guards, pursers, 
surgeons, cooks, and stewards; 
 

(18) any individual employed by a county in a 
single-family residence owned by a county 
home school as authorized under section 
260B.060 if the residence is an extension facility 
of that county home school, and if the individual 
as part of the employment duties resides at the 
residence for the purpose of supervising children 
as defined by section 260C.007, subdivision 4; 
or 
 
(19) nuns, monks, priests, lay brothers, lay 
sisters, ministers, deacons, and other members of 
religious orders who serve pursuant to their 
religious obligations in schools, hospitals, and 
other nonprofit institutions operated by the 
church or religious order. 
 
Subd. 8. Occupation. "Occupation" means any 
occupation, service, trade, business, industry, or 
branch or group of industries or employment or 
class of employment in which employees are 
gainfully employed. 
 
Subd. 9. Gratuities. "Gratuities" means 
monetary contributions received directly or 
indirectly by an employee from a guest, patron, 
or customer for services rendered and includes 
an obligatory charge assessed to customers, 
guests or patrons which might reasonably be 
construed by the guest, customer, or patron as 
being a payment for personal services rendered 
by an employee and for which no clear and 
conspicuous notice is given by the employer to 
the customer, guest, or patron that the charge is 
not the property of the employee. 
 
Subd. 10. On-site employee; hours worked. 
With respect to any caretaker, manager, or other 
on-site employee of a residential building or 
buildings whose principal place of residence is 
in the residential building, including a caretaker, 
manager, or other on-site employee who 
receives a principal place of residence as full or 
partial compensation for duties performed for an 
employer, the term "hours worked" includes 
time when the caretaker, manager, or other on-
site employee is performing any duties of 
employment, but does not mean time when the 
caretaker, manager, or other on-site employee is 
on the premises and available to perform duties 
of employment and is not performing duties of 
employment. 
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Subd. 11. Companionship services; hours. 
With respect to an individual who is (1) 
employed to provide companionship services to 
individuals who, because of age or infirmity, are 
unable to care for their own needs; (2) employed 
to stay overnight in the home of such an aged or 
infirm individual; and (3) paid the minimum 
wage or more for at least four hours associated 
with the overnight stay, the term "hours" for the 
purposes of requiring the payment of minimum 
wages and overtime premiums under sections 
177.24 and 177.25, shall not include nighttime 
hours, from 10:00 p.m. to 9:00 a.m., up to a total 
of eight hours per night, during which the 
employee is available to perform duties for the 
aged or infirm individual, but is not in fact 
performing such duties and is free to sleep and 
otherwise engage in normal private pursuits in 
the aged or infirm individual's home. For the 
purposes of this subdivision, the term 
"companionship services" is defined in Code of 
Federal Regulations, title 29, sections 552.6 and 
552.106 as of March 1, 1984. 
 
History: 1973 c 721 s 3; 1974 c 406 s 88; 1975 c 
399 s 1; 1977 c 369 s 1; 1978 c 586 s 1; 1978 c 
731 s 1; 1979 c 281 s 1; 1980 c 415 s 1; 1982 c 
424 s 46-48; 1982 c 625 s 14; 1983 c 60 s 1; 
1983 c 122 s 1; 1984 c 614 s 1; 1984 c 628 art 4 
s 1; 1Sp1985 c 13 s 274,275; 1986 c 390 s 2; 
1986 c 444; 1990 c 418 s 1; 1992 c 464 art 1 s 
24; 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2; 2001 c 178 art 1 s 44; 
2005 c 10 art 1 s 33; 2005 c 158 s 1,4; 2007 c 87 
s 1; 2008 c 168 s 1; 2015 c 21 art 1 s 109  
 
177.24 Payment of minimum wages. 
 
Subdivision 1. Amount. 
 
(a) For purposes of this subdivision, the terms 
defined in this paragraph have the meanings 
given them. 
 
(1) "Large employer" means an enterprise whose 
annual gross volume of sales made or business 
done is not less than $500,000 (exclusive of 
excise taxes at the retail level that are separately 
stated) and covered by the Minnesota Fair Labor 
Standards Act, sections 177.21 to 177.35. 
 
(2) "Small employer" means an enterprise whose 
annual gross volume of sales made or business 

done is less than $500,000 (exclusive of excise 
taxes at the retail level that are separately stated) 
and covered by the Minnesota Fair Labor 
Standards Act, sections 177.21 to 177.35. 
 
(b) Except as otherwise provided in sections 
177.21 to 177.35: 
 
(1) every large employer must pay each 
employee wages at a rate of at least: 
 
(i) $8.00 per hour beginning August 1, 2014; 
 
(ii) $9.00 per hour beginning August 1, 2015; 
 
(iii) $9.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; 
and 
 
(iv) the rate established under paragraph (f) 
beginning January 1, 2018; and 
 
(2) every small employer must pay each 
employee at a rate of at least: 
 
(i) $6.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2014; 
 
(ii) $7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2015; 
 
(iii) $7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; 
and 
 
(iv) the rate established under paragraph (f) 
beginning January 1, 2018. 
 
(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), during the 
first 90 consecutive days of employment, an 
employer may pay an employee under the age of 
20 years a wage of at least: 
 
(1) $6.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2014; 
 
(2) $7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2015; 
 
(3) $7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; 
and 
 
(4) the rate established under paragraph (f) 
beginning January 1, 2018. 
 
No employer may take any action to displace an 
employee, including a partial displacement 
through a reduction in hours, wages, or 
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employment benefits, in order to hire an 
employee at the wage authorized in this 
paragraph. 
 
(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), an employer 
that is a "hotel or motel," "lodging 
establishment," or "resort" as defined in 
Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 157.15, 
subdivisions 7, 8, and 11, must pay an employee 
working under a contract with the employer that 
includes the provision by the employer of a food 
or lodging benefit, if the employee is working 
under authority of a summer work travel 
exchange visitor program (J) nonimmigrant visa, 
a wage of at least: 
 
(1) $7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2014; 
 
(2) $7.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2015; 
 
(3) $7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; 
and 
 
(4) the rate established under paragraph (f) 
beginning January 1, 2018. 
 
No employer may take any action to displace an 
employee, including a partial displacement 
through a reduction in hours, wages, or 
employment benefits, in order to hire an 
employee at the wage authorized in this 
paragraph. 
 
(e) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a large 
employer must pay an employee under the age 
of 18 at a rate of at least: 
 
(1) $6.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2014; 
 
(2) $7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2015; 
 
(3) $7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; 
and 
 
(4) the rate established under paragraph (f) 
beginning January 1, 2018. 
 
No employer may take any action to displace an 
employee, including a partial displacement 
through a reduction in hours, wages, or 
employment benefits, in order to hire an 

employee at the wage authorized in this 
paragraph. 
 
(f) No later than August 31 of each year, 
beginning in 2017, the commissioner shall 
determine the percentage increase in the rate of 
inflation, as measured by the implicit price 
deflator, national data for personal consumption 
expenditures as determined by the United States 
Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic 
Analysis during the 12-month period 
immediately preceding that August or, if that 
data is unavailable, during the most recent 12-
month period for which data is available. The 
minimum wage rates in paragraphs (b), (c), (d), 
and (e) are increased by the lesser of: (1) 2.5 
percent, rounded to the nearest cent; or (2) the 
percentage calculated by the commissioner, 
rounded to the nearest cent. A minimum wage 
rate shall not be reduced under this paragraph. 
The new minimum wage rates determined under 
this paragraph take effect on the next January 1. 
 
(g)(1) No later than September 30 of each year, 
beginning in 2017, the commissioner may issue 
an order that an increase calculated under 
paragraph (f) not take effect. The commissioner 
may issue the order only if the commissioner, 
after consultation with the commissioner of 
management and budget, finds that leading 
economic indicators, including but not limited to 
projections of gross domestic product calculated 
by the United States Department of Commerce, 
Bureau of Economic Analysis; the Consumer 
Confidence Index issued by the Conference 
Board; and seasonally adjusted Minnesota 
unemployment rates, indicate the potential for a 
substantial downturn in the state's economy. 
Prior to issuing an order, the commissioner shall 
also calculate and consider the ratio of the rate 
of the calculated change in the minimum wage 
rate to the rate of change in state median income 
over the same time period used to calculate the 
change in wage rate. Prior to issuing the order, 
the commissioner shall hold a public hearing, 
notice of which must be published in the State 
Register, on the department's Web site, in 
newspapers of general circulation, and by other 
means likely to inform interested persons of the 
hearing, at least ten days prior to the hearing. 
The commissioner must allow interested persons 
to submit written comments to the commissioner 
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before the public hearing and for 20 days after 
the public hearing. 
 
(2) The commissioner may in a year subsequent 
to issuing an order under clause (1), make a 
supplemental increase in the minimum wage rate 
in addition to the increase for a year calculated 
under paragraph (f). The supplemental increase 
may be in an amount up to the full amount of the 
increase not put into effect because of the order. 
If the supplemental increase is not the full 
amount, the commissioner may make a 
supplemental increase of the difference, or any 
part of a difference, in a subsequent year until 
the full amount of the increase ordered not to 
take effect has been included in a supplemental 
increase. In making a determination to award a 
supplemental increase under this clause, the 
commissioner shall use the same considerations 
and use the same process as for an order under 
clause (1). A supplemental wage increase is not 
subject to and shall not be considered in 
determining whether a wage rate increase 
exceeds the limits for annual wage rate increases 
allowed under paragraph (f). 
 
Subd. 1a. [Expired] 
 
Subd. 2. Gratuities not applied. No employer 
may directly or indirectly credit, apply, or utilize 
gratuities towards payment of the minimum 
wage set by this section or federal law. 
 
Subd. 3. Sharing of gratuities. For purposes of 
this chapter, any gratuity received by an 
employee or deposited in or about a place of 
business for personal services rendered by an 
employee is the sole property of the employee. 
No employer may require an employee to 
contribute or share a gratuity received by the 
employee with the employer or other employees 
or to contribute any or all of the gratuity to a 
fund or pool operated for the benefit of the 
employer or employees. This section does not 
prevent an employee from voluntarily sharing 
gratuities with other employees. The agreement 
to share gratuities must be made by the 
employees without employer coercion or 
participation, except that an employer may: 
 
(1) upon the request of employees, safeguard 
gratuities to be shared by employees and 

disburse shared gratuities to employees 
participating in the agreement; 
 
(2) report the amounts received as required for 
tax purposes; and 
 
(3) post a copy of this section for the 
information of employees. 
 
The commissioner may require the employer to 
pay restitution in the amount of the gratuities 
diverted. If the records maintained by the 
employer do not provide sufficient information 
to determine the exact amount of gratuities 
diverted, the commissioner may make a 
determination of gratuities diverted based on 
available evidence and mediate a settlement with 
the employer. 
 
Subd. 4. Unreimbursed expenses deducted. 
Deductions, direct or indirect, from wages or 
gratuities not authorized by this subdivision may 
only be taken as authorized by sections 177.28, 
subdivision 3, 181.06, and 181.79. Deductions, 
direct or indirect, for up to the full cost of the 
uniform or equipment as listed below, may not 
exceed $50 or, if a motor vehicle dealer licensed 
under section 168.27 furnishes uniforms or 
clothing described in clause (1) on an ongoing 
basis, may not exceed the lesser of 50 percent of 
the dealer's reasonable expense or $25 per 
month, including nonhome maintenance. No 
deductions, direct or indirect, may be made for 
the items listed below which when subtracted 
from wages would reduce the wages below the 
minimum wage: 
 
(1) purchased or rented uniforms or specially 
designed clothing required by the employer, by 
the nature of the employment, or by statute as a 
condition of employment, which is not generally 
appropriate for use except in that employment; 
 
(2) purchased or rented equipment used in 
employment, except tools of a trade, a motor 
vehicle, or any other equipment which may be 
used outside the employment; 
 
(3) consumable supplies required in the course 
of that employment; 
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(4) travel expenses in the course of employment 
except those incurred in traveling to and from 
the employee's residence and place of 
employment. 
 
Subd. 5. Expense reimbursement. An 
employer, at the termination of an employee's 
employment, must reimburse the full amount 
deducted, directly or indirectly, for any of the 
items listed in subdivision 4, except for a motor 
vehicle dealer's rental and maintenance 
deduction for uniforms or clothing. When 
reimbursement is made, the employer may 
require the employee to surrender any existing 
items for which the employer provided 
reimbursement. 
 
History: 1973 c 721 s 4; 1976 c 165 s 1; 1977 c 
183 s 1; 1977 c 369 s 2; 1979 c 281 s 2; 1981 c 
87 s 1,2; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1; 1Sp1985 c 13 s 
276-278; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 324 s 1; 1987 c 
384 art 2 s 45; 1990 c 418 s 2-4; 1996 c 305 art 
1 s 49,50; 2Sp1997 c 1 s 1; 2005 c 44 s 1; 2009 
c 69 s 1,2; 2011 c 105 s 1; 2014 c 166 s 2  
 
177.28 Power to make rules. 
 
Subdivision 1. General authority. The 
commissioner may adopt rules, including 
definitions of terms, to carry out the purposes of 
sections 177.21 to 177.44, to prevent the 
circumvention or evasion of those sections, and 
to safeguard the minimum wage and overtime 
rates established by sections 177.24 and 177.25. 
 
Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1988 c 629 s 64] 
 
Subd. 3. Rules required. The commissioner 
shall adopt rules under sections 177.21 to 177.35 
defining and governing: 
 
(1) salespeople who conduct no more than 20 
percent of their sales on the premises of the 
employer; 
 
(2) allowances as part of the wage rates for 
board, lodging, and other facilities or services 
furnished by the employer and used by the 
employees; 
 
(3) bonuses; 
 

(4) part-time rates; 
 
(5) special pay for special or extra work; 
 
(6) procedures in contested cases; 
 
(7) other facilities or services furnished by 
employers and used by employees; and 
 
(8) other special items usual in a particular 
employer-employee relationship. 
 
Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1996 c 305 art 1 s 52] 
 
Subd. 5. Rules regarding people with 
disabilities. In order to prevent curtailment of 
opportunities for employment, avoid undue 
hardship, and safeguard the minimum wage rates 
under sections 177.24 and 177.25, the 
department shall also issue rules providing for 
the employment of disabled workers at wages 
lower than the wage rates applicable under 
sections 177.24 and 177.25, under permits and 
for periods of time as specified therein. The 
rules must provide for the employment of 
learners and apprentices at wages lower than the 
wage rates applicable under sections 177.24 and 
177.25, under permits and subject to limitations 
on number, proportion, length of learning 
period, occupations, and other conditions as the 
department may prescribe. The rules must 
provide that where a disabled person is 
performing or is being considered for 
employment where work must be performed 
which is equal to work performed by a 
nondisabled person, the disabled person must be 
paid the same wage as a nondisabled person 
with similar experience and skill. 
 
Subd. 6. Administrative Procedure Act to 
apply. The rules are subject to the provisions of 
chapter 14. 
 
History: 1973 c 721 s 8; 1976 c 165 s 2; 1977 c 
369 s 3; 1982 c 424 s 50; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1; 
1984 c 636 s 1; 1Sp1985 c 13 s 280; 1986 c 444; 
2005 c 56 s 1; 2007 c 135 art 3 s 9 
 
Copyright 2015 by the Office of the Revisor of 
Statutes, State of Minnesota. Reprinted with 
permission. All rights reserved. 
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Appendix B 
 

Data and estimation technique 
 
 
 
This appendix describes the estimation process 
used for Figures 6 through 15 — those figures 
where estimation is used. The descriptions are at 
a general level. More detail is available upon 
request from the Research and Statistics unit of 
the Department of Labor and Industry. 
 
The statistics in Figures 6 through 15 are derived 
from the Current Population Survey (CPS), a 
monthly household survey conducted by the 
U.S. Census for the U.S. Bureau of Labor 
Statistics. The estimation procedures are used to 
reduce the sampling error that would result from 
small sample size if the numbers were computed 
directly from the Minnesota data. Estimates with 
sufficient statistical reliability cannot be directly 
calculated from the Minnesota data for any but 
the broadest categories in this report. 
 
Figure 6 — The percentage of Minnesota hourly 
workers at or below the full effective minimum 
wage for each year was estimated using 
Minnesota data for August 1997 through July 
2015. A statistical relationship was estimated 
between the hourly wage level at different points 
in the lower end of the wage distribution and the 
percentage of workers at or below that wage 
level.28 In this estimation, the hourly wage level 
was expressed as a percentage of the overall 
state median hourly wage.29 This statistical 
relationship was then used to estimate the 
percentage of hourly workers at or below the 
effective minimum wage for each year, given 
the level of the minimum as a percentage of the 
median hourly wage for that year. For the year 
August 2015 through July 2016, the median 
hourly wage was projected from prior years. 

                                                      
28 Only those wage levels were used that were at least 

as great as both the Minnesota and U.S. full minimum-
wage levels for the year in question. 

29 The median hourly wage level came from the 
Occupational Employment Statistics survey, conducted by 
the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. 

Minnesota’s total number of hourly workers at 
or below the effective minimum wage for each 
year was estimated by applying the percentage at 
or below the minimum (estimated as just 
described) to the state’s total number of hourly 
workers. The latter was estimated because it 
fluctuates in the sample data from year to year. 
This was done by first estimating the trend in the 
number of hourly workers as a percentage of all 
wage-and-salary workers and then applying the 
trend to the calculated number of wage-and-
salary workers for each year. The total number 
of wage-and-salary workers for the year August 
2015 through July 2016 was projected from 
prior years. 
 
Figure 7 — The percentage of hourly workers at 
or below the minimum wage who received 
overtime pay, tips or commissions (OTC) each 
year was estimated with a similar statistical 
technique to that used in Figure 6. The 
difference was that the outcome variable was the 
percentage receiving OTC among hourly 
workers at or below the minimum wage, rather 
than the percentage of hourly workers at or 
below the minimum. The number of hourly 
workers at or below the minimum who received 
OTC for each year was estimated by applying 
the estimated percentage receiving OTC among 
those at or below the minimum to the estimated 
number of workers at or below the minimum 
from Figure 6. 
 
Figures 8 and 9 — Minnesota’s total number of 
hourly workers for August 2015 through July 
2016 was estimated as described for Figure 6. 
The total number of hourly workers by industry 
or occupation was estimated by applying 
Minnesota’s percentage of hourly workers by 
industry or occupation for August 2010 through 
July 2015 to this estimated total. The five-year 
percentage was used to reduce sampling 
variation. 
 



Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry  Minimum-Wage Report — 2015 

 24 

The total number of hourly workers at or below 
the 2015 minimum wage of $9.00 was the 
number estimated for Figure 6. 
 
The number of hourly workers at or below the 
minimum for each industry or occupation was 
estimated using a combination of Minnesota and 
U.S. data. First, for each industry and 
occupation, for August 2010 through July 2015, 
DLI estimated the proportion of U.S. hourly 
workers whose hourly wage — expressed as a 
percentage of the overall state median hourly 
wage for the year and month when the sample 
worker was interviewed (“wage index”) — was 
at or below the wage index value represented by 
Minnesota’s 2015 minimum of $9.00 as a 
percentage of Minnesota’s projected median 
hourly wage for August 2015 to July 2016.30 
Because workers at or below the Minnesota 
minimum make up a larger proportion of the 
U.S. hourly workforce than of the Minnesota 
hourly workforce, the U.S. estimates were scaled 
proportionately downward to derive Minnesota 
estimates, in such a way that the sum of the 
estimated numbers for the different industries 
and occupations was equal to Minnesota’s 
estimated total number of hourly workers at or 
below the minimum. 
 
A similar technique was used to estimate the 
number of hourly workers at or below the 
minimum wage who received overtime pay, tips 
or commissions by industry or occupation. 
 

                                                      
30 This was done using a technique similar to that used 

for estimating the proportion of Minnesota’s hourly 
workers receiving the minimum wage or less in Figure 6. 
That is, for each industry and occupation, a statistical 
relationship was estimated between the hourly wage at 
different points in the lower end of the wage distribution 
and the percentage of workers at or below that wage. In this 
estimation, the hourly wage was expressed as a percentage 
of the overall state median hourly wage for the year and 
month when the sample worker was interviewed (“wage 
index”). For estimating the statistical relationship, only 
those cases were used where the wage represented by the 
wage index was at least as great as both the federal 
minimum wage and the applicable state minimum wage. 
The statistical relationship was then used to estimate, for 
each industry and occupation, the percentage of U.S. hourly 
workers at or below the wage index value represented by 
Minnesota’s 2015 minimum of $9.00 as a percentage of 
Minnesota’s projected median hourly wage for August 
2015 to July 2016. 

Because of issues related to Minnesota’s 
prohibition of a lower minimum wage for tipped 
employees, the estimates for eating and drinking 
places (in Figure 8) and for food preparation and 
serving occupations (in Figure 9) were 
benchmarked to numbers estimated solely from 
Minnesota data, and the estimates for the 
remaining industry and occupation groups were 
correspondingly adjusted. 
 
Figures 10 to 15 — The total numbers of hourly 
workers and of hourly workers at or below the 
minimum wage for August 2015 through July 
2016 were computed as described for the 
preceding figures.  
 
The total number of hourly workers for each 
group in each figure (e.g., 15- to 19-year-old 
males in Figure 10) was estimated with the same 
technique as for industries and occupations in 
Figures 8 and 9, using Minnesota data only. That 
is, the total number of hourly workers for each 
group (e.g., 15- to 19-year-old males in Figure 
10) was estimated by applying the percentage of 
hourly workers in each group for August 2010 
through July 2015 to the estimated total number 
of hourly workers for August 2015 to July 2016. 
The five-year percentage was used to reduce 
sampling variation. 
 
To produce estimates of the numbers of hourly 
workers at or below the minimum wage for the 
different subgroups so that they would add up 
across Figures 10 to 15, it was necessary to first 
estimate the numbers of hourly workers in all 
the “mini-cells” defined by all the categories in 
these figures.31 This was done with both 
Minnesota and U.S. data for August 2010 
through July 2015 in such a way that the totals 
for the categories in each figure (e.g., 15- to 19-
year-old males in Figure 10) were equal to the 
totals previously estimated with Minnesota data 
only. 
 
The number of hourly workers at or below the 
minimum in each mini-cell was estimated using 
a combination of Minnesota and U.S. data. First, 
for each mini-cell, for August 2010 through July 
2015, we estimated the proportion of U.S. 

                                                      
31 An example of one these “mini-cells” is 25- to 54-

year-old women, employed part-time, with some college, 
married, above the poverty line, in metropolitan areas. 
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hourly workers whose hourly wage — expressed 
as a percentage of the overall state median 
hourly wage for the year and month when the 
sample worker was interviewed (“wage index”) 
— was at or below the wage index value 
represented by Minnesota’s 2015 minimum of 
$9.00 as a percentage of Minnesota’s projected 
median hourly wage for August 2015 to July 
2016.32 Again, since workers at or below the 
Minnesota minimum make up a larger 
proportion of the U.S. hourly workforce than of 
the Minnesota hourly workforce, the U.S. 
estimates were scaled proportionately downward 
to derive Minnesota estimates, in such a way 
that the total number of hourly workers at or 
below Minnesota’ minimum was equal to the 
previously estimated total number. The numbers 
of hourly workers at or below the minimum in 
the categories in Figures 10 to 15 were then 

                                                      
32 In this process, only those sample cases were used 

where the wage represented by the wage index was at least 
as great as both the federal minimum wage and the 
applicable state minimum wage. 

derived by adding across the appropriate mini-
cells. 
 
An examination of the data reveals a major 
difference between Minnesota and the U.S. 
regarding the metropolitan-nonmetropolitan 
difference in the proportion of hourly workers 
paid the minimum wage or less. For the U.S., the 
metro-nonmetro difference is fairly small, but 
for Minnesota, the percentage at or below the 
minimum is substantially larger in nonmetro 
than in metro areas. Therefore, the estimates for 
metro and nonmetro areas were benchmarked to 
numbers estimated solely from Minnesota data. 
This was accomplished by adjusting the 
estimated numbers of workers at or below the 
minimum in the mini-cells for metro and 
nonmetro areas. 
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