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Minnesota 
imposes a 
$2. 90/pack tax 
on cigarettes, 
annually 
indexed for 
inflation 

A per-pack tax 
applies in lieu 
of the general 
sales tax 

Payments made 
to settle state 
lawsuits against 
the tobacco 
industry have 
similar effects 
as excise taxes 

A 95 percent 
excise tax 
applies to other 
tobacco 
products 

A use tax can 
apply, if 
Minnesota tax 
has otherwise 
not been paid 

Updated: January 2015 

Cigarette and Tobacco Excise Taxes and Fees 

Minnesota imposes an excise tax on the sale or possession of cigarettes of $2.90 per 
pack of 20. The excise tax on cigarettes is imposed on a "per unit" basis-i.e., on the 
number of cigarettes sold, not as a percentage of the sale price. As a result, the tax 
does not vary based on the price of the brand purchased or change as the prices rise or 
fall. However, under 2013 legislation the tax rate is annually adjusted (each January 
1) for the change in the average retail price of cigarettes in the state. The 2013 
legislation set the cigarette excise tax rate at $2.83 per pack (a $1.60 increase); the first 
indexing adjustment, effective January 1, 2015, increased the rate by 7 cents to the 
$2.90 per pack rate that now applies. 

Since 2005, cigarette sales have been exempt from state and local sales taxes. A per­
pack tax applies instead of the sales tax. The commissioner of revenue annually sets 
this in-lieu tax based on a survey of Minnesota retail cigarette prices. The rate is set as 
an average of these prices and is reset January 1 for the calendar year. Effective 
January 1, 2015, the rate is 52.6 cents/pack. The tax does not replace.local sales taxes, 
although cigarettes are exempt from these local taxes. 

Settlements of the states' lawsuits against the tobacco companies have similar 
economic effects to cigarette taxes, since these settlement payments are passed along 
to consumers (nationally) as higher cigarette prices. However, they do not affect 
companies that were not part of the lawsuit or that have not entered the Master 
Settlement Agreement as participating manufacturers. To compensate for the lower 
prices of cigarettes produced by nonsettling companies, the 2003 Legislature imposed 
a 35-cent per-pack fee on those cigarettes. The 2013 Legislature increased this fee to 
50 cents. 

An excise tax of 95 percent of the wholesale price applies to other tobacco products, 
such as Cigars, pipe tobacco, snuff, and chewing tobacco. Since this tax is a 
percentage of price, i~ fluctuates as the prices of the products change with two 
exceptions to this general rule, both enacted by the 2013 Legislature: 

• A minimum tax applies to each container of moist snuff equal to the tax rate on 
a pack of 20 cigarettes. 

• Premium cigars (hand-rolled with a wholesale price of $2/cigar or more) are 
subject to a maximum tax of $3.50/cigar. 

A use tax applies to consumers who purchase untaxed cigarettes (e.g., over the Internet 
or in-person in another state) for use in Minnesota. The tax is the same as the rate of 
the excise tax. The use tax does not apply to one carton of cigarettes purchased in 
another state and brought into the state by the individual. For larger quantities brought 
into the state and for any quantity shipped to the consumer in Minnesota, the use tax 
applies. 



The taxes are 
estimated to 
yield revenues 
of $614 million 
in FY 2015 

Minnesota has 
higher excise 
tax rate than 
the neighboring 
states 

For fiscal year 2015, Minnesota Management and Budget estimates collections from 
the two excise taxes and the sales tax on cigarettes were $614. 4 million (2014 
November forecast). Revenues from the tobacco products tax are deposited in the 
general fund. Each fiscal year, cigarette tax revenues of $22.25 million go to fund the 
Academic Health Center, $3.94 million to the medical education and research account, 
and the rest to the state general fund. 

Because cigarettes can easily be transported, the tax rates in other states (especially 
border states) are important. Minnesota excise tax ($2. 90/pack) is higher than any of 
the bordering states: Wisconsin ($2.52), South Dakota ($1.53), Iowa ($1.36), North 
Dakota ( 44 cents). All states' rates are shown on the map below. The map does not 
reflect local cigarette taxes; some of these local taxes are substantial (e.g., $1.50 in 
New York City and $4.18 per pack in Chicago). The map does not reflect the effect of 
general sales taxes (including Minnesota's per-pack tax in lieu of the sales tax). Some 
states have no sales tax or exempt cigarettes from sales taxation, lowering the overall 
tax burden. 

State Cigarette Tax Rates* 
as of 1/1/2015 
cents per pack 

MA- 351 

-..'"''---- RI - 350 

DE -160 

DC- 250 

MD- 200 

*These exclude some significant local taxes 
Source: Federation of Tax Administrators and other sources 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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General levy limits 
are currently not 
imposed 

Levy limits are 
intended to ensure 
that state aid 
reduces property 
taxes and limits the 
growth rate of 
property taxes 

Levy limits have 
expired several 
times and been 
reenacted 

State aids are used 
to calculate limits 

Updated: January 2015 

Levy Limits 

The general levy limits under Minnesota Statutes, sections 275.70 to 275.74, 
restrict the amount of property taxes cities with a population of 2,500 or more and 
all counties may impose for general fund expenditures. Levy limits are currently 
not in force; they were last effective for taxes payable in 2014. 

Levy limits are adopted to keep the growth in property taxes low and to help 
ensure that cities and counties use increased state aid payments to reduce property 
taxes and not for higher local spending. Because of this, general purpose state aids 
are included in calculating the limit. When a local government's state aid 
increases, its maximum allowed levy decreases. Conversely, if a local 
government's aid decreases, its allowed levy increases. If a local government 
receives no state aid, the limit applies only to its property tax levy. 

Although the purpose of levy limits is to limit growth in property taxes, some 
opponents argue that they may actually increase taxes by encouraging cities and 
counties to levy up to the maximum allowed. 

In recent years, the 
legislature has generally 
.imposed levy limits as 
part of property tax 
reforms, or when state 
aid reductions may have 
led to higher property 
taxes. They were re­
imposed for Pay 2009-
2011 to limit rising 
property taxes; that 
might have been 
attributed to aid 
decreases and freezes. 
They were reimposed for 
2014 when the aid 
appropriations were 
increased significantly. 

Taxes 
payable 
years 
1972-1992 

1993-1997 

1998-2000 
2001 
2002-2003 
2004 
2005-2008 
2009-2011 

2012-2013 
2014 
2015-future 

Cbronolo ~ of Levy Limits 
Limits Instigating Event 
Apply? 

Yes Enactment of 1971 property. tax 
reform 

No Enactment of Truth-in-Taxation 
notices as a replacement 

Yes "Compression" of class rates 
No Allowed to expire 
Yes 200lpropertytaxreform 
Yes 2003 and 2004 aid reductions 
No Allowed to expire 
Yes Previous county and city levy 

mcreases 
No Allowed to expire 
Yes Large aid increases 
No Allowed to expire 

The table shows the years in which levy limits were imposed. 

As noted above, state general-purpose aids are used to calculate levy limits. The 
aids included in the levy limit base are (1) taconite aid; (2) county program aid, for 
counties only; and (3) local government aid (LGA), for cities only. The 
combination of levy plus aid is known as the levy limit base. 



The allowed growth 
in the levy limit 
base for Pay 2009-
2011 was less than 
usual 

Local governments 
may levy "outside of 
limits" for certain 
purposes 

Local governments 
may go to voters for 
authority to exceed 
limits 

In recent history, the levy limit base has usually been adjusted for inflation, new 
households, and new commercial and industrial property. For Pay 2009-2011, 
stricter limits were imposed. A local government's levy limit base (levy plus aids) 
was increased for growth for the three factors but limited as follows: 

• The rate of inflation, ·as measured by the implicit price deflator (IPD) for 
state and local government purchases, but only to a maximum of 3.9 percent 

• Only one-half of the percent growth number of households in the local 
jurisdiction, as estimated by the state demographer or the Metropolitan 
Council, rather than the usual 100 percent of the growth rate 

• One-half of the increase in the total market value in the jurisdiction due to 
new commercial/industrial development 

The 2014 levy limit allowed a flat 3 percent growth rate. 

The levy limits do not apply to "special levies." Special levies can be imposed for 
whatever amount the city or county needs outside of levy limits for specified 
purposes. For taxes payable in 2009 these purposes include the following: 

• debt for capital purchases and projects 
• state and federal required matching grants 
• preparation for and recovery from natural disasters 
• certain abatements 
• increases in public employee pension plans 
• required jail operation costs 
• operation of lake improvement districts 
• repayment .of a state or federal loan related to highway or capital projects 
• for an animal humane society 
• increased costs related to reductions in federal health and human service 

program grants 
• inspections and other related city costs in cities with high foreclosure rates 
• for Minneapolis to cover unreimbursed costs related to the I-3 5W bridge 

collapse 
• increases in police, fire, and sheriff personnel salaries and benefits 
• to recoup any LGA, county program aid, or market value credit reductions 

that occur after levies have been set for the year 

The 2014 levy limits allowed special levies for debt and natural disasters. 

When levy limits are in effect, a local government may certify a levy higher than 
its levy limit if approved by the voters at a referendum. A vote to exceed the limit 
may be for any amount, and the tax is spread on tax capacity. Unless approved by 
a referendum, the final levy may not exceed the limited amount plus the amounts 
levied for authorized special levies. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Pat Dalton at 651-296-7434. Statutes governing levy 
limits are Minnesota Statutes, sections 275.70 to 275.74. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Long-term Care Insurance Income Tax Credit 

What is the 
credit? 

What is the 
rationale for this 
tax credit? 

Is the credit 
refundable? 

Who is eligible 
for the credit? 

How is the credit 
calculated? 

How many 
Minnesotans 
claim the credit? 

How much is 
paid out in 
credits? 

The Minnesota long-term care insurance credit offsets the cost of long-term care 
insurance premiums by providing a credit against state income tax liability. The 
maximum Minnesota credit is equal to the lesser of $100 or 25 percent of the amount 
paid for each beneficiary. The maximum total credit is $200 annually on a joint 
return or $100 for individual filers. 

This credit was enacted in 1997 and took effect in tax year 1999. 

The Minnesota long-term care tax credit provides an incentive for Minnesotans to 
purchase long-term care insurance coverage. If more Minnesota residents purchase 
long-term care insurance, there may be a decrease in the cost to the state of providing 
for the long-term care of residents who are unable to afford long-term care services. 

The Minnesota credit is a nonrefundable credit and may be used only to offset tax 
liability. If an individual qualifies for a credit that is greater than her or his tax 
liability, the excess will not be paid as a refund. 

A Minnesota taxpayer who purchases insurance to provide long-term care coverage, 
such as nursing home or home care coverage, for him or herself or spouse is eligible 
for the credit. To qualify for the credit, the long-term care policy must: 

• qualify for the federal itemized deduction for medical expenses, 
disregarding the 7. 5 percent income test; and 

• have a lifetime long-term care benefit limit of $100,000 or more. 

The Minnesota credit equals 25 percent of qualifying long-term care insurance 
premiums for one beneficiary, up to a maximum of $100 for individuals and up to 
$200 for married couples filing jointly who both have coverage. A taxpayer may 
claim only one policy for each qualified beneficiary. It is not necessary that the 
taxpayers filing jointly have separate policies or premiums. The ~mount of 
premiums used to calculate the credit must be reduced by any premiums claimed as a 
medical expense deduction on the taxpayer's federal return. 

For tax year 2012, the Department of Revenue reports that 62,128 Minnesota returns 
claimed the credit. This is 2 percent of all state returns filed by Minnesotans. 

Filers claim the credit on their Minnesota income tax return using Schedule MlLTI. 

In tax year 2012, Minnesotans claimed $8.66 million oflong-term care insurance 
credits. The average long-term care tax credit was $139 in tax year 2012. The 
average credit exceeds the maximum credit of $100 per qualified beneficiary because 
married couples filing joint returns may claim the maximum credit for both spouses 
(up to a total of $200). 



How does 
Minnesota 
compare with 
other states? 

The following table includes all states that offered a long-term care insurance tax 
credit in 2012, but not those states that offer a long-term care insurance tax 
deduction. Data on the number of claimants and cost by state is for 2012 and was 
provided by staff at state revenue departments and legislative offices. 

In addition to the states listed, Louisiana has enacted but not funded a 10 percent 
credit, Maine provides a credit to employers who provide coverage to employees, 
Montana allows a credit for expenses of individuals who care for elderly family 
members, including long-term care premiums, and New Mexico allows a refundable 
credit of $2,800 for individuals age 65 or older with over $28,000 in medical 
expenses, including long-term care premiums. 

Maximum Credit Number of returns Cost to the state 
credit rate* claiming the credit for the credit 

Colorado1 $150 25% 18,353 $3.6 million 

Maryland2 Varies by 100% 5,019 $2.8 million 
age: 

$350-$500 

Minnesota $100 25% 62,128 $8.7 million 

Mississippi $500 25% 3,124 $1.3 million 

New York None 20% 137,602 $79.6 million 

North $350 15% 26,748 $5.7 million 
Carolina3 

North Dakota4 $500 100% 780 $0 .3 million 

Oregon $500 15% 37,060 $8.9 million 

Virginia5 None 15% 13,538 $3 .3 million 

* The credit rate is the percentage of premiums allowed as a credit. 
1 Colorado's credit is income-limited; the maximum for joint filers is $150 per spouse. 
2 Maryland's credit can be claimed only once per person. 
3 North Carolina's credit is income-limited. 
4 North Dakota's credit is limited to long-term care plans that meet consumer protection criteria 

and provide inflation protection. 
5 Virginia's credit applies only to the first 12 months of premiums paid. 

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Danyell Punelli at 
651-296-5058. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Minnesota's Three-Tier System of Liquor Regulation 

Liquor is controlled for a number of reasons: to deny access to minors, to limit over-consumption, to 
ensure public safety via a clean supply, and to allow community control over the type and nature of liquor 
venues. Liquor is also regulated as an industry, both to compel the industry to meet the public goals of the 
state and to ensure fair competition. 

The three-tier system The classic model of liquor regulation creates a three-tier system for supply and 
of regulation distribution. This structure was created after Prohibition in order to modulate the 

pro-consumption system in place before Prohibition. One aspect of that pre­
Prohibition system was the existence of "tied houses"-retailers owned by 
manufacturers and serving as aggressive sales outlets for those manufacturers. 

Exceptions to the 
three tiers 

Minnesota has a much-modified version of the three-tier system. In a pure three­
tier, manufacturers make spirits, beer, and wine; wholesalers distribute across and 
within the state to retailers; and retailers sell to the consuming public. 

TJ-1.ere are other models for regulating the sale of alcoholic beverages. Some states 
are "control" states, where wholesalers (18 states) and retailers (14 states) are 
operated in whole or in part by the state. The other 32, including Minnesota, are 
"license" states, allowing sales for the most part through independent licensed 
businesses. In Minnesota, municipal liquor stores do exist at the discretion of the 
municipality. 

The three-tier system in Minnesota is not pure. The state has granted numerous 
exceptions, which has created a modified three-tier structure. 

Some exceptions apply mostly to manufacturers: 

• Brew-on-premises stores: These stores allow consumers to be manufacturers 
of beer (Minn. Stat. § 340A.33) or wine (Minn. Stat. § 340A.34) for private use 

Some exceptions apply mostly to wholesalers: 

• Nonprimary source state: Minnesota is the only nonprimary source state, 
which means that a wholesaler does not have to purchase all product directly 
from a manufacturer, but can instead buy the manufacturer's product from 
third parties, essentially other wholesalers, on the global market (Minn. Stat. 
§ 340A.305, subd. 4) 

Some exceptions apply mostly to retailers: 

• Municipals and nonmunicipals: Minnesota allows municipal liquor stores to 
operate as a monopoly and also allows local governments to license multiple 
private stores, creating two different retail systems (Minn. Stat. § 340A.601) 



Modification of the 
three-tier system 

• Bed and breakfast establishments can sell up to two glasses of wine with a 
stay at their establishment without a license (Minn. Stat. § 340A.4011) 

• 3 .2 percent malt liquor has separate sales provisions, including allowing sales 
at grocery stores, convenience stores, etc. (Minn. Stat. § 340A.403) 

• Culinary classes are allowed to serve a limited amount of alcohol (Minn. 
Stat. § 340A.4041) 

Some exceptions apply to more than one tier: 

• Brew.pubs: These retail outlets are allowed to manufacture their own beer, 
and in some instances, to transport it between multiple locations owned by 
the same company (Minn. Stat. § 340A.301, subd. 6); they can also sell 

. growlers, or smaller 750-milliliter bottles, for people to take home and 
consume (Minn. Stat.§ 340A.301, subd. 7(b)) 

• Farm wineries (Minn. Stat. § 340A.315): A farm winery in Minnesota can 
give free samples, sell bottles of their product (Minn. Stat. § 340A.301, subd. 
8), even on Sundays, and operate restaurants or wine bars that offer their 
product (Minn. Stat. § 340A.315); farm wineries may also produce distilled 
spirits and provide samples of distilled spirits, but may only sell distilled 
spirits through existing wholesalers (Minn. Stat. § 340A.315, subd. 7) 

• Small brewers can now sell growlers at their taprooms (Minn. Stat. § 
340A.301, subd. 6d) 

• Taprooms and cocktail rooms: Brewers can now sell their beers in a taproom 
(Minn. Stat. § 340A.301, subd. 6b), and small distillers can sell their liquor 
in a cocktail room (Minn. Stat. § 340A.22) 

• Wine over the Internet: Minnesota law allows the purchase and direct 
shipment (Minn. Stat.§ 340A.417) of two cases of wine from a winery, over 
the Internet, and also allows Minnesota wineries to sell two cases to a given 
consumer, thereby allowing these manufacturers to act as direct retailers 

The creation of a three-tier system over 75 years ago acted as a "regulatory 
channel"-directing investment into businesses that thrived within the regulatory 
tiers that were created. The weakening of the three-tier system has allowed new 
businesses to come into being. The modification of a regulatory scheme can 
create business, channel business, and in some instances, weaken business 
investment. Arguments to modify the three-tier system are as old as the system 
itself. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Patrick McCormack at 651-296-5048. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm 
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What is section 179 
expensing? 

How much can be 
claimed under 
section 179 
expensing under the_ 
federal income tax? 

What are the " 
section 179 
expensing 
allowances under 
the Minnesota 
income tax? 

What recent federal 
changes have been 
made in section 179 · 
expensing? 

Section 179 Expensing under the 
Federal and Minnesota Income Tax 

Income tax laws generally require businesses to spread deductions of capital 
expenditures over the useful lives of the purchased property. Section 179 
expensing, which takes its name from a section of the Internal Revenue Code, 
allows businesses to deduct the entire amount of the cost of qualifying property in 
the tax year the property is placed in service, rather than claiming depreciation 
deductions over a number of years. This allows the business to accelerate 
recogn_ition of the expense from future tax years into the present year. The number 
of years over which property would otherwise be depreciated ranges from three to 
15 years, depending on the type of property and its useful life as classified under 
the Internal Revenue Code. 

In tax year 2014, businesses can claim up to $500,000 of property expenditures 
under section 179. If a business places more than $2 million of qualifying property 
in service in the tax year, the amount allowed under section 179 is reduced dollar 
for dollar by the amount over $2 million, so that businesses that place in service 
more than $2.5 million in qualifying property are not eligible for section 179 
expensmg. 

In tax year 2014, a business may claim up to $25,000 in expensing on its 
Minnesota return. This amount is reduced dollar for dollar by the cost of property 
placed in service over $200,000, so that a business that places in service more than 
$225,000 in qualifying property is ineligible. 

If a business claims more than $25,000 in section 179 expensing at the federal 
level, it must add 80 percent of the additional amount claimed to Minnesota 
taxable income on its Minnesota return. It is then allowed to subtract one-fifth of 
the amount added back in each of the next five tax years. In that way, the full 
amount claimed at the federal level is ultimately allowed at the state level-20 
percent in tax year 2014 and 16 percent per year in tax years 2015 through 2019. 

In 2002 businesses could claim up to $24,000 in section 179 expensing, and this 
phased out for businesses with total expenses from $200,000 to $224,000. The 
$24,000 allowance was scheduled to increase to $25,000 in 2003, but Congress 
temporarily increased the allowance to $100,000. This was the first of a series of 
congressional actions that provided temporary increases in the maximum 
allowance and the "phaseout" limit; Congress has also periodically indexed for 
inflation the temporarily increased amounts. This legislation is summarized in the 
following table. 



What is the recent 
history of section 
179 expensing in 
Minnesota? 

What are the 
federal and state 
allowances? 

Year 
2003 

2004 

2006 

2007 

2008 and 
2009 
2010 to 
2014 
2015 

Summary of Federal Section 179 Legislation 
2003-2015 

Maximum 
deduction Phaseout Indexing 

$25,000, $200,000, Yes for 2004 
increased to increased to and 2005 
$100,0000 $400,000 
No change No change Extended to 

2006 and 2007 
No change No change Extended to 

2008 and 2009 
Increased to Increased to Yes for 2008 to 
$125,000 $500,000 2010 
Increased to Increased to No 
$250,000 $800,000 
Increased to Increased to No 
$500,000 $2 million 
$25,000 $200,000 No 

Expiration 
2006 

Extended to 
2008 
Extended to 
2010 
2011 

2010 

2014 

None 

Unless Congress acts to extend the $500,000 allowance to tax year 2015, the 
amount of section 179 expensing will revert to $25,000. 

Prior to 2006, Minnesota conformed to federal section 179 expensing allowances. 
At that time, businesses could claim the same amount under the Minnesota tax as 
they could under the federal tax. Since then, the legislature has elected not to 
conform to the higher federal section 179 allowances. From 2006 to the present, 
Minnesota allowed the $25,000 section 179 expensing amount in effect before tax 
year 2003, when the federal government first began allowing increased section 179 
expensmg. 

Section 179 Allowances under Federal and Minnesota Law 
Federal Minnesota 

Tax yea·r Maximum Start of Maximum Start of 
deduction phaseout deduction phaseout 

2002 $24,000 $200,000 $24,000 . $200,000 
2003 100,000 400,000 100,000 400,000 
2004 102,000 410,000 102,000 410,000 
2005 105,000 420,000 105,000 420,000 
2006 108,000 430,000 25,000 200,000 
2007 125,000 500,000 25,000 200,000 
2008-2009 250,000 800,000 25,000 200,000 
2010-2014 500,000 2,000,000 25,000 200,000 

2015 25,000 200,000 25,000 200,000 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
651-296-5057. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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What is child care 
assistance? 

What are the 
eligibility 
requirements for 
child care 
assistance? 

What is the average 
annual subsidy a 
family receives? 

Updated: May 2015 

Child Care Assistance 

Child care assistance programs subsidize the child care expenses of eligible low­
income families. The Minnesota Department of Human Services administers 
two child care assistance programs: Minnesota Family Investment Program 
(MFIP) child care assistance and Basic Sliding Fee (BSF) child care assistance. 
MFIP child care subsidizes the child care costs of families receiving cash 
assistance through MFIP and provides child care assistance for eligible families 
for the first 12 months after the family leaves MFIP cash assistance (transition 
year child care). BSF child care provides a child care subsidy to low-income 
working families who are not receiving cash assistance from MFIP. 

To be eligible for child care assistance, both parents (or one parent in single­
parent households) must participate in an authorized work, education, or training 
activity, cooperate with child support enforcement, and meet income eligibility 
guidelines. The maximum income limit to be eligible for child care assistance is 
4 7 percent of state median income at program entry and 67 percent or less of 
state median income at program exit. (For fiscal year 2015, 47 percent of state 
median income was $35,463, and 67 percent of state median income was 
$50,553 for a family of three.) 

Children up to age 12 are eligible for child care assistance (up to age 14 for 
disabled children). During fiscal year 2014, there were an average of 1.94 
children per family receiving MFIP child care assistance and 1.83 children per 
family receiving BSF child care assistance. 

County agencies or their contractors must determine eligibility within 30 days of 
receiving a request for child care assistance. Direct reimbursement is the only 
method of receiving child care assistance. 

In fiscal year 2014, the estimated average annual subsidy for a family receiving 
MFIP child care assistance was $15 ,312, and the estimated average annual 
subsidy for a family receiving BSF child care assistance was $10,320. 

Prior to 2003, there was a statutory mechanism in place to regularly increase 
provider reimbursement rates based on a survey of rates. Beginning in 2003, 
reimbursement rates were frozen for several years. Now, maximum 
reimbursement rates paid for child care assistance are set by the legislature. The 
2011 Legislature decreased provider reimbursement rates by 2. 5 percent, 
effective Octo her 31, 2011. The 2013 Legislature modified reimbursement rates 
effective February 3, 2014, and created a provider rate differential for child care 
providers that hold a three- or four-star quality rating under the Parent Aware 
quality improvement and rating system. 



Are families 
required to pay for 
some child care 
expenses? 

How is child care 
assistance funded? 

How many families 
receive child care 
assistance? 

What is the child 
care quality rating 
sys~em? 

What are some 
potential legislative 
issues? 

There is a family co-payment requirement based on family size and income. 
The maximum family co-payment is about 14 percent of gross monthly income. 
Families with incomes below 75 percent of the federal poverty level are exempt 
from making co-payments ($15,068 and below for a family of three in 2014). 

The child care assistance programs receive funding from a variety of sources, 
including the federal Child Care Development Fund (CCDF), federal Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) funds, the state general fund, and county 
funds. 

Total estimated fiscal year 2015 annual direct service payments are $14 7 .2 
million for MFIP and transition year child care and $106. 7 million for BSF child 
care assistance. 

During fiscal year 2015, an estimated average of 8,081 families received MFIP 
child care assistance and 8,723 families received BSF child care assistance per 
month. 

Not all families who apply for child care assistance receive it. MFIP child care is 
a forecasted, fully funded program, while BSF child care receives a capped 
allocation. As of March 31, 2015, there were 4,417 families on the waiting list 
for BSF child care assistance. 

Minnesota has a voluntary child care and early learning program quality rating 
system called Parent Aware. The rating system is currently only available in 
certain areas of the state, but is being rolled out across the state. 

During previous legislative sessions, there were several proposals to consolidate 
the child care assistance programs into one program to reduce administrative and 
program complexity. However, none of these proposals have been passed by the 
legislature. There may be future attempts to consolidate the child care assistance 
programs. 

In recent years, there have been several attempts to increase maximum provider 
rates due to the rate freeze that has been in effect since 2003. Maximum 
reimbursement rates continue to be below the previous level of the 7 5th 
percentile for similar care in a county or region. 

There have also been proposals to make BSF child care a forecasted, fully 
funded program to eliminate the waiting list. 

For more information: See the House Research publications Funding to Support Child Care Assistance, 
December 2011, and Minnesota Family Assistance, November 2012. 
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Income Taxation of Residents and Nonresidents 

How does 
Minnesota 
individual income 
taxation of residents 
and nonresidents 
differ? 

Who is a resident 
for income tax 
purposes? 

What is domicile? 

What evidence is 
used to show 
Minnesota is an 
individual's 
domicile? 

States have broader constitutional power to tax residents than nonresidents. 
Minnesota, like most states, has chosen to exercise that authority and imposes 
more extensive or higher income taxes on its residents: 

• Residents are subject to tax on all of their income - both that earned from 
Minnesota and non-Minnesota sources. This is sometimes referred as 
taxing a resident's "worldwide" income. Since another state may also tax 
non-Minnesota source income, a credit applies for taxes paid on that 
income to another state to avoid double taxation. 

• Nonresidents, by contrast, are subject to tax only on the income they earn 
from Minnesota sources, such as from working in Minnesota or income 
derived from property and businesses located in Minnesota. 

• Part-year residents.pay tax under residency rules for the time they are 
residents and as nonresidents for the time they are nonresidents. 

Minnesota law provides two alternative tests or methods to determine if an 
individual is subject to tax as a resident: 

• The domicile test: Does the individual intend to make Minnesota his or her 
permanent home? 

• The statutory or physical presence test: Does the taxpayer have a 
Minnesota home and was he or she physically present in the state for more 
than half of the tax year? 

Domicile is the traditional or common law test that is widely used to determine 
residence for many legal purposes. It is determined by case law and focuses on 
intent: Does the taxpayer intend Minnesota to be his or her permanent home? If 
so, the taxpayer is a resident. This test has applied largely unchanged from the 
inception of the Minnesota individual income tax in 193 3. The first Minnesota 
court cases applying domicile rules to the income tax were decided in the 1950s. 

Since the domicile test relies on the taxpayer's intent, the key ques~ion is what 
evidence the Department of Revenue (DOR), in its role as tax enforcement agency, 
and the courts will use to determine that intent. Since residency typically will 
result in higher taxes, DOR and the courts cannot simply accept taxpayers' 
assertions of their intent. A series of court decisions and a DOR administrative 
rule set out relevant factors used to determine taxpayer intent. The DOR 
administrative rule (which has the force of law and is relied upon by the courts to 
determine domicile) lists 26 factors that are relevant to determining intent. These 
can be grouped into several categories: 



What is the 
statutory residency 
test? 

What days count 
under the statutory 
residency test? 

What special rules 
apply under federal 
law? 

• Employment: Where was the individual employed; was it permanent; in 
what state were they licensed; and so forth? 

• Homes and living arrangements: Where was the individual's home; was 
it homesteaded; how long did he or she spend in the state; and so forth? 

• Business relationships: Where did the individual primarily do business 
(with financial institutions and other service providers), own property, 
conduct other business, and so forth? 

• Social and civic relationships: Where was the individual registered to 
vote, drive, hunt, and fish; did he or she maintain memberships and 
participate in social clubs and religious organizations; and so forth? 

• Miscellaneous factors: Where did children attend school; was the 
individual a student; and so forth? 

Since 1987 Minnesota law has provided an alternative test in statute to determine 
the residency of taxpayers who are Iiot domiciled in Minnesota. This test is based 
on physical presence in the state and has two elements: 

• The individual must "maintain" a "place of abode" in Minnesofa-i.e., a 
dwelling or home that he or she owns or occupies (e.g., he or she can rent it 
or share quarters with someone else, such as a relative). 

• The individual is physically pre.sent in Minnesota for more than half of the 
tax year. This test is calculated or applied on a per-day basis. 

In general, any day in which the individual is physically present in Minnesota, for 
any part of the day counts as a Minnesota day. The administrative rule provides, 
however, that days in transit (e.g., changing planes or passing through in a train, 
bus, or car) between two points outside Minnesota do not count. Taxpayers with 
Minnesota residences, thus, need to maintain records (e.g., calendars, financial 
records, airline tickets, and so forth) to be able to demonstrate the number of days 
that do not count as Minnesota days. 

Federal law provides special rules for certain categories of individuals­
particularly members of the military and nonresident employees of various 
transportation sector businesses. For service members, federal law prohibits states 
from taking into account presence in the state under military orders in determining 
domicile or residency. Taxation of employees of various transport sectors (air, rail, 
and motor carriers and the merchant marine) is limited to the employees' states of 
residence. Federal law also prohibits states from taxing the qualified retirement 
income (e.g., pension income) of nonresidents. Under the Supremacy Clause of 
the U.S. Constitution, these federal law rules trump any state law provisions. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 651-296-
5057. Also see the House Research publication Residence, Domicile, and Taxation, March 2015. 
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Danyell Punelli Updated: May 2015 

Minnesota Family Investment Program 

The Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) is a jointly funded, federal-state program that provides 
income assistance to eligible low-income families. MFIP is the state's response to the 1996 federal welfare 
reform law, which replaced the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) program with Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), a block grant program to states. 

Who is eligible for 
MFIP? 

How much are 
monthly benefits? 

A family must have income and assets below the program's limits. The income 
limit increases with family size. Families do not exit MFIP until their income 
reaches 115 percent of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG). The 2015 FPG for a 
family of three is $20,090 (115 percent of FPG for a family of three equals 
$23,104). Assets are limited to $2,000 for MFIP applicants and $5,000 for 
ongoing recipients, excluding certain items. In addition, families must meet the 
following eligibility requirements: 

• have a minor child in the home (or be pregnant) 
• be residents of Minnesota 
• be U.S. citizens, qualified noncitizens, or noncitizens otherwise lawfully 

residing in the United States 
• assign rights to child support to the state 
• . have received fewer than 60 months assistance total from any state 
• satisfy any other eligibility requirements of the program 

Families are subject to a lifetime limit of 60 months of assistance. Some families 
may be eligible for assistance extensions past the 60-month limit if they meet 
specific criteria for one of the following extension categories: ill or incapacitated, 
hard-to-employ, and employed participants. 

MFIP participants may be eligible for other benefits such as child care assistance 
and Medical Assistance. 

The MFIP grant is based on a transitional standard that increases with family size. 
For example, a family of three's monthly benefit in 2015 is $991; a family of 
four's benefit is $1,207. For families without earnings, the monthly grant equals 
the transitional standard. For families with earnings, the monthly grant equals the 
"family wage level" (110 percent of the transitional standard minus the family's 
net earned income). The MFIP grant is composed of a cash portion and a food 
portion, both of which are issued by counties in electronic debit card form. 



What are the work 
requirements? 

How do sanctions 
work? 

What are MF/P's 
funding streams 
and expenditures? 

How many families 
receive MFIP? 

MFIP caregivers (i.e., persons who live with and provide care and support to minor 
children) are required to spend a specified number of hours every week engaged in 
work or work activities. Examples of acceptable activities include job search 
activities, unsubsidized employment, and on-the-job training. 

Employment plans must be tailored to recognize the special circumstances of 
MFIP participants who meet certain criteria, such as being over age 60, being ill or 
incapacitated, caring for a disabled child, or being the victim of family violence. 

Participants who are interested in participating in postsecondary education as part 
of their employment plan must discuss their education plans with their job 
counselor. Job counselors must work with participants to evaluate options. 

Special requirements exist for caregivers under age 20. In most cases, education is 
the first priority for teen MFIP participants. 

MFIP participants who do not meet the program requirements may be sanctioned 
through reduction of their monthly grant. Sanctions last until one month after a 
participant comes into compliance. An MFIP case must be closed after the seventh 
occurrence of noncompliance. 

MFIP is funded with a combination of federal funds and state appropriations. 
Minnesota received approximately $268 million annually in T ANF block grant 
funding in federal fiscal years 1998 to 2015 (this amount is subject to federal 
reauthorization). In addition, federal law includes a maintenance of effort (MOE) 
provision that requires a state to spend 75 percent to 80 percent of the amount it 
spent in 1994 under its old AFDC and related programs to assist needy families. In 
fiscal year 2015 the state's required MOE amount was $176.7 million per year. 
The MOE requirement is met through state spending on programs such as MFIP, 
child care assistance, and the working family tax credit. T ANF is used for MFIP 
and a variety of other programs that assist low-income families. 

According to the Department of Human Services, for state fiscal year 2014, total 
expenditures were $85.9 million for the. cash portion and $145.1 million for the 
food portion of the MFIP grants. In terms of funding, $57. 7 million was financed 
with federal TANF funds, $144.5 million was from federal Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program funds, and $28.8 million was from state appropriations. 

In fiscal year 2014, in an average month 37,836 families and a total of 104,116 
participants were receiving MFIP assistance. In fiscal year 2015, in an average 
month an estimated 35,397 families and a total of 97,568 participants were 
receiving MFIP assistance. 

For more information: See the House Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance, November 
2012, and the following Short Subjects: Minnesota Family Investment Program Time Limit Exemptions and 
Extensions, July 2004, and MFIP Cases Reaching the 60-Month Time Limit, August 2013. 
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Major State Aids and Taxes: An Overview of the 2011 Update 

This provides a brief overview of the report Major State Aids and Taxes: A Comparative Analysis, 2011 
Update, which highlights major aids provided to the local governments and people in Minnesota and lists the 
major taxes collected. The per capita amounts were calculated using 2010 population. Some aids are 
presented on a different basis in other settings (e.g., per pupil for education aid); however, in the report they 
are presented on a per capita basis to allow comparison of different aids. 

STATE AIDS 
Program Year Amount (millions) Per Capita 

Education aid 2010/2011 $6,728.0 State $1,262 State 

Aid paid to school districts for all K-12 educational 
(school $3,756.3 Metro $1,307 Metro 

expenses 
year) $2,971. 7 Nonmetro $1,209 Nonmetro 

Human services aid 2011 $4,421.6 State $829 State 

State 's share of human services aid for various income 
$2,444.2 Metro $851 Metro 

and medical assistance programs 
$1,977.7 Nonmetro $804 Nonmetro 

Highway aid 2011 $652.6 State $122 State 

Distributed to counties, cities, and towns for highway 
$204.6 Metro $71 Metro 
$448.0 Nonmetro $182 Nonmetro 

purposes 

Local government aid 2011 $425.3 State $80 State 

Provides property tax relief by providing general 
$133.0 Metro $46 Metro 

purpose financial support to cities 
$292.4 Nonmetro $119 Nonmetro 

Disparity reduction aid 2011 $18.2 State $3 State 

Provides aid to jurisdictions (counties, towns, and school 
$1.4 Metro - Metro 

districts) that had inordinately high tax rates in 1988 
$16.8 Nonmetro $7 Nonmetro 

County program aid 2011 $161.1 State $30 State 

County general purpose aids: includes former homestead 
$67.0 Metro $23 Metro 

and agricultural credit, county criminal justice aid, 
$94.1 Nonmetro $38 Nonmetro 

family preservation aid, and attached machinery aid 

Community corrections funding 2011 $83.3 State $16 State 

Aid that provides a portion of counties ' costs for 
$41.2 Metro $14 Metro 

community correctional services 
$42 .1 Nonmetro $17 Nonmetro 

Property tax refund (excludes targeting) 2010 (filed $467. 7 State $88 State 

Reimburses homeowners and renters for a portion of 
in 2011) $322.4 Metro $112 Metro 

property taxes if those taxes exceed a household income 
$145.3 Nonmetro $59 Nonmetro 

threshold 

Targeting 2010 (filed $1.9 State - State 

Additional homeowner property tax refund if property 
in 2011) $1~2 Metro - Metro 

taxes increased a certain percentage threshold over 
$0.7 Nonmetro - Nonmetro 

previous year (no income limits) 



MAJOR TAXES 
Year Amount (millions) 

lndivid ual income tax 2010 $6,899.6 Total 

Imposed on income of state residents and income 
(filed in $6,530. 7 Residents 

derived from state sources of nonresidents 
2011) $4,363.8 Metro 

$2,166.9 Nonmetro 

Sales and use tax 2011 $4,734.6 (After refunds) 

Imposed on gross receipts of people who sell, lease, or 
$3,975.6 Residents 
$2,550.5 Metro 

rent tangible personal property at retail at a rate of 6.5 
$1,425.2 Nonmetro 

percent (does not include local sales taxes) 

Motor vehicle sales tax 2011 $538.5 State , 

Imposed on new and used motor vehicles at the time of 
$281.4 Metro 

sale at the same rate of state sales tax 
$257.l Nonmetro 

Motor vehicle registration tax 2011 $574.4 State 

Imposed annually on vehicles licensed in the state 
$3 10 .2 Metro 
$264.2 Nonmetro 

Motor vehicle fuels tax (gas tax) 2011 $846.7 State 

Imposed on gasoline, diesel fuel, and other motor.fuels 
$397.3 Metro 

used by vehicles and on aviation fuels 
$449.3 Nonmetro 

Corporate franchise (income) tax 2011 $782.5 State 

Imposed at a rate of 9. 8 percent on the net income of 
$537.2 Metro 

corporations (or alternative minimum tax) 
$245.2 Nonmetro 

State general property tax 2011 $796.6 State 

Imposed on commercial/industrial/public utility 
$520.6 Metro 

property and seasonal recreational property 
$276.0 Nonrnetro 

PROPERTY TAX DATA, PAYABLE 2011 

Market Value 
Total statewide: $560.0 billion 

Metro 
62.5% 

Net Property Tax 
Total statewide: $8.4* billion 

*Includes state general property tax 

Per capita 

$1,225 State 
$1,519 Metro 
$881 Nonmetro 

$746 State 
$888 Metro 
$580 Nonmetro 

$101 State 
$98 Metro 
$105 Nonmetro 

$108 State 
$108 Metro 
$107 Nonmetro 

$159 State 
$138 Metro 
$183 Nonmetro 

$147 State 
$187 Metro 
$100 Nonmetro 

$149 State 
$181 Metro 
$112 Nonmetro 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. See Major State Aids 
and Taxes: Comparative Analysis, 2011 Update (May 2015) for further details about each aid program and 
tax and data by county and economic development region. 
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How does TIF help 
redevelop real estate 
in blighted areas? 

What areas can be 
designated as 
redevelopment TIF 
districts? 

What areas qualify 
as "blighted"? 

Updated: June 2015 

TIF Redevelopment Districts 

The classic use of tax increment financing (TIF) is to foster redevelopment of 
"blighted" areas-i.e., areas with rundown, dilapidated, or obsolete buildings 
and structures. The increase in property taxes that results from redevelopment 
(the "increment") is used to help finance redevelopment costs, such as land 
assembly and removal of blighted structures. 

In Minnesota, TIF was initially promoted principally for redevelopment. (It has 
since grown to be used in the state for housing, economic development, and 
general infrastructure finance.) According to the 2015 Tax Increment Financing 
Report of the State Auditor, there were more active TIF redevelopment districts 
(846) than any other type, about 49 percent of all TIF districts (1,732) in 2013. 
Of these redevelopment districts, 468 or 55 percent are in Greater Minnesota and 
378 or 45 percent are in the seven-county Twin Cities metropolitan area. 

Minnesota law allows redevelopment districts to be designated in areas that 
qualify under one of the following criteria: 

• Meet a statutory "blight test" 
• Are vacant or underused railyards 
• Contain vacant or underused tank farms with a capacity of at least one 

million gallons 
• Are qualified disaster areas 

To qualify under the blight test: 

• 70 percent of the area of the district must be occupied by buildings, 
streets, utilities, or other improvements, and 

• More than 50 percent of the buildings must be structurally substandard. 

Buildings are substandard if they have suffiCient defects or other problems to 
justify substantial renovation or clearance, in the judgment of the authority. The 
authority must determine this after conducting an interior inspection of the 
property, unless the property owner refuses to permit an inspection. 

The authority cannot find a building is substandard if it is in compliance with the 
building code for new buildings or could be brought into compliance for less 
than 15 percent of the cost of constructing a similar new building. Meeting this 
15 percent test, however, does not itself qualify the building as substandard. 



May districts be 
noncontiguous? 

What are qualified 
disaster areas? 

What are permitted 
uses of increments 
for redevelopment 
districts? 

TIF districts generally may consist of separate, noncontiguous areas. However, 
each separate noncontiguous area of a redevelopment district must individually 
meet one of the qualifying tests as: blighted, a rail yard, a tank farm, or a 
qualified disaster area. 

T_o be a qualified disaster area, an area must meet three tests: 

• 70 percent of the parcels must be occupied by buildings, streets, utilities, 
or other improvements 

• The area was declared a disaster area under federal or state law within 18 
months before creation of the district 

• 50 percent or more of the buildings suffered substantial damage as a 
result of the disaster 

For a qualified disaster area district, the original net tax capacity (i.e., the base 
value used to calculate increments) is the land value. The most recent 
assessment will generally include the full value of the buildings (i.e., it would 
not reflect the damage caused by the disaster). Absent a "write-down" of the 
original value to the land value, reconstruction following a disaster would not 
generate much or any increment, since it would largely restore the preexisting 
value. 

The law requires 90 percent of the increments from a redevelopment district to 
be spent for blight correction-i.e., to fix the conditions that allowed designation 
of the district. The statute lists the following as qualifying expenditures: 

• Site acquisition of blighted sites or sites requiring pollution cleanup 
• Acquisition of an adjacent parcel or parcels to assemble a site large 

enough to redevelop 
• Cleanup of hazardous substances, pollution, or contaminants 
• Site preparation, such as clearing the land and installation of utilities, 

-roads, sidewalks 
• Providing parking facilities for the site 

The law explicitly provides that this is not an exhaustive list. Administrative 
expenses of the authority that are allocated to these activities also meet the 90 
percent test. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the 
House Research short subject Tax Increment Financing, June 2014 or the Tax Increment Financing Primer, 
available at http://www.house.leg.state.mn. us/hrd/issinfo/tifmain. aspx?src=21. 
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Corporate franchise 
tax applies to "C" 
corporations 

Tax base is profits 

Tax rate is 9.8 
percent 

Income is 
apportioned to 
Minnesota based on 
the percentage of 
sales made to 
Minnesota buyers 

Updated: June 2015 

Corporate Franchise Tax 

The corporate franchise tax, also frequently referred to as the corporate income 
tax, applies to "C" corporations (i.e., corporations and some partnerships) that 
are taxable under subchapter "C" of the Internal Revenue Code. Entities exempt 
from the tax include the following: 

• "Pass-through entities" (e.g., most partnerships and limited liability 
companies, and "S" corporations); the owners of these entities 
(shareholders, partners, or LLC members) pay tax on their respective 
shares of the business entity's income under the individual income tax. 
The entities are subject to the minimum fee (see below). By contrast, 
shareholders of C corporations must pay tax under the individual income 
tax when the corporate profits are distributed as dividends, in addition to 
the corporate entity paying tax at the entity level when the profits are 
earned. 

• Insurance companies (Insurers pay a premium tax instead) 
• Credit unions (Federal law prohibits taxing federally chartered credit 

unions; state law extends the exemption to state-chartered credit unions) 
• Charitable organizations and other entities exempt from the federal 

income tax 

The tax base is taxable income, essentially the profits of C corporations. State 
law defines the tax base by reference to the definition of taxable income under 
the federal corporate income tax. For example, federal depreciation rules are 
generally followed, except "bonus depreciation" and section 179 expensing are 
subject to special Minnesota rules. Minnesota deviates from the federal rules in 
various ways. It taxes some income that is exempt under federal law, such as 
state and local bond interest, and does not allow percentage depletion. 

A flat tax rate of 9.8 percent applies to Minnesota.taxable income. 

Many corporations operate in more than one state. Under the U.S. Constitution, 
a state can legally tax only the income of a business that is "fairly apportioned" 
to its activity in the state. All states do this using formula apportionment (i.e., 
based on the in-state percentage of one or more factors). 

Minnesota apportions a multistate corporation's income based on the proportion 
of corporation's sales made to buyers located in Minnesota. For unitary 
businesses operating through several corporations (e.g., parent-subsidiary), all of 
their income is combined. This is referred to as the "combined reporting" 



Various tax credits 
apply 

Revenues go to the 
general fund 

Revenues are very 
volatile 

A minimum tax 
applies 

A minimumfee 
applies to most 
entities 

method of apportionment. (For more information on apportionment, see the 
separate Short Subject, Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax.) 

The corporate franchise tax is reduced by various tax credits. These include 
credits for the following: 

• Research and development 
• Tax paid to another state 
• Historic structure rehabilitation credit 
• Jobs credit under the JOBZ program 

Fiscal year 2014 actual revenues were $1.28 billion or about 6 percent of general 
fund revenues. Revenues are deposited in the general fund. Minnesota 
Management and Budget estimated in February 2015 that corporate franchise 
tax collections will be $1.32 billion in fiscal year 2015 and $1.30 billion in fiscal 
year 2016. 

Revenues under the tax are the most volatile of the major state taxes. When the 
economy goes into recession, corporate profits and the franchise tax revenues 
can drop quite precipitously. For example, in fiscal year 2007 (an expansion 
year), revenues were $1.17 billion; by fiscal year 2010 (a recession year) they 
had dropped to· $663 million (a reduction of 43 percent reduction from 2007), 
and by fiscal year 2012 they had recovered to $1.04 billion (an increase of 57 
percent from 2010). 

An alternative minimum tax or AMT applies under the franchise tax. This tax 
closely follows the similar federal AMT. A corporation must compute its tax 
under the AMT, using a broader tax base (e.g., less generous depreciation rules) 
and lower tax rate (5.8 percent). If the AMT results in a higher tax, the 
corporation must pay this amount. 

All corporations (both S and C 
corporations), partnerships, and LL Cs 
must pay a minimum fee based on the 
sum of their Minnesota property, 
payroll, and sales. This fee is an "add­
on" fee that is paid in addition to the 
tax computed under the regular tax or 
AMT. The schedule for the fee is 
shown to the right. The 2013 
Legislature increased these fee 
amounts and provided that they would 

Fee Schedule-Tax Year 2015 

Minnesota Property, 
Payroll, and Sales Fee 

Less than $960,000 0 
$960,000 - $1,929,999 $200 
$1,930,000 - $9,649,999 $580 
$9,650,000 - $19,299,999 $1,930 
$19,300,000 - $38,589,999 $3,860 
$38,590,000 or more $9,650 

be annually adjusted for inflation in the future. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the 
House Research publications Single Sales Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax and Apportionment of 
Corporate Franchise Tax. 
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Minnesota Taxable Income 

Minnesota taxable income (MTI) is the tax base used to calculate Minnesota 
income tax liability. Minnesota taxable income equals federal taxable income 
(FTI) after Minnesota additions and subtractions. 

Minnesota requires various additions to federal taxable income for tax year 2014. 
These items are subject to Minnesota tax, but not federal tax. 

• State income tax deduction. Filers who claimed a federal itemized deduction 
for state income taxes paid must add that amount to Minnesota taxable income. 
Taxpayers making this addition are always allowed to claim at least the full 
standard deduction for the tax year. 

• Bond interest and mutual fund interest dividends paid by non-Minnesota 
state and local governments. 

• 80 percent of the difference between federal and state allowances for 
bonus depreciation and section 179 expensing. 

• Net operating losses allowed at the federal level under a different schedule 
than at the state level. 

• Expenses relating to income not taxed by Minnesota. 
• Capital gain part of lump-sum distributions from qualified retirement 

plans. 
• Fines and penalties allowed as deductions from federal taxable income. 
• Domestic production activities income allowed as a deduction from federal 

taxable income. 

Minnesota allows various subtractions from federal taxable income for tax year 
2014. The estimated reductions in revenue shown below are taken from the 
Department of Revenue's Tax Expenditure Budget for 2014-2017. Subtractions for 
tax year 2014 include: 

• State income tax refund. The federal income tax allows an itemized 
deduction for state income taxes. Minnesota requires itemizers to add back the 
amount deducted and allows a subtraction for amounts refunded in order to 
avoid twice taxing the same income. 

• Subtractions required by federal law. Federal law prohibits state taxation of 
these three types of income received by residents: 

o U.S. borid interest 
o Railroad retirement benefits 
o - On-reservation earnings of enrolled tribal members 

• K-12 dependent education expenses ($18.6 million in fiscal year 2015). The 
deduction applies to school-related expenses, including tuition, textbooks, 
academic tutoring and camps, and instructional materials and supplies. The 
maximum deduction is $1,625 for each child in grades K-6 and $2,500 for 
each child in grades 7-12. 



• Compensation for military active service performed by Minnesota 
residents, including training ($9.4 million in fiscal year 2015). 

• Compensation for Minnesota National Guard and reserve service ($5.1 
million in fiscal year 2015). Allowed for state active service, federally funded 
state active service (generally floods, other disasters, and airport security), and 
training pay. 

• 50 percent of charitable contributions in excess of $500 ($8.9 million in 
fiscal year 2015). Allowed only for filers who do not claim federal itemized 
deductions-those who itemize have already deducted their charitable 
contributions in computing federal taxable income. 

• Minnesota elderly/disabled exclusion ($0.4 million in fiscal year 2015). 
Equals up to $12,000 for low-income elderly and disabled filers with low 
amounts of Social Security and nontaxable pensions. 

• Job Opportunity Building Zone (JOBZ) income ($5.4 million in fiscal year 
2015). Allowed for net income from a qualified business in a JOBZ, for net 
income from renting property for use by a qualified business, and for gain from 
the sale of property used by a qualifi~d business. 

• Organ donation expenses (less than $50,000 in fiscal year 2015). Allowed 
for up to $10,000 of expenses related to organ donation by the taxpayer or a 
dependent, including lost wages. 

• Gain on sale of farm property for insolvent taxpayers (less than $50,000 in 
fiscal year 2015). This subtraction is allowed for taxpayers who use the 
proceeds of the sale of a farm to pay off a mortgage, contract for deed, or lien 
on the property. 

• Foreign subnational income taxes (less than $100,000 in fiscal year 2015). 
Allowed for taxes paid to a foreign governmental unit, to the extent the 
taxpayer did not claim the federal foreign tax credit for the subnational taxes 
(estimate derived from a 2009 Department of Revenue bill analysis and 
subsequent income tax samples). 

• National service education awards ($200,000 in fiscal year 2015). Allowed 
for scholarships received for AmeriCorps service. 

• Bonus depreciation, section 179 expensing, income from the discharge of 
indebtedness, and net operating losses. Allowed for amounts included in 
Minnesota taxable income, but not federal taxable income, in earlier tax years. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House 
Research publications Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, August 2014; and Minnesota's Elderly 
Exclusion (web only) on the income tax page of the House Research website: www.house.mn/hrd/. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. · 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Updated: June 2015 

MinnesotaCare Provider Taxes 

Minnesota imposes a series of gross revenue taxes on various types of providers 
of health care goods and services. Revenues from these taxes are used to pay for 
the MinnesotaCare program, which provides state-subsidized health care 
coverage for low-income individuals. 

Provider taxes apply to the following: 

• "Health care providers," including licensed health care professionals 
such as physicians, dentists, nurses, p~ychologists, physical therapists, 
and chiropractors; unlicensed individuals providing services 
reimbursed under Minnesota's Medicaid program; staff model health 
plan companies (an HMO where services are provided by employees); 
ambulance services; opticians; and sellers of hearing aids 

• Hospitals 
• Surgical centers 
• Wholesale drug distributors 

MinnesotaCare provider taxes do not apply to the following: 

• Nursing homes and other residential care facilities, such as board and 
care homes, adult foster homes, boarding care homes, and adult day 
care centers 

• Home health agencies 
• Providers of personal care services 
• Providers of private duty nursing services 
• An ~ntity that employs health care providers to servic~ only their 

employees 
• An educational institution that provides services to its students, if it 

does not charge for extended coverage 

The taxes apply to the gross revenues derived from "patient services," which 
include most services provided to patients, such as diagnostic and therapeutic 
services, and bed and board. Some services are explicitly excluded: 

• Services provided to nursing homes and in connection with assisted 
living and congregate housing programs 

• Exams for insurance, employment, litigation, and so forth 
• Certain mental health services 
• Hospice services 
• Specified residential services for the developmentally disabled 

The tax rate is 2 percent. A temporary 1.5 percent rate applied from 1998 
through 2003. 
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apply? 
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Exemptions from the tax apply to the following payments: 

• For services provided under Medicare 
• For home health care services 
• Made from the state chemical dependency fund 
• Funded by charitable donations not designated for an individual or 

group 
• Under programs funding research on human subjects under federal law 
• Made by the federal employee and military (Tricare) health insurance 

plans that cover federal workers and military personnel and retirees 
• From providers that were already subject to the tax 

Credits are allowed for taxes paid to other states and for qualifying research 
expenditures. The research credit is subject to an annual cap of $2.5 million; the 
commissioner of revenue sets the credit rate to equal the cap amount. 

Providers make quarterly estimated payments; an annual return is filed to 
reconcile the estimated payments with the final liability for the tax year. All 
payments and returns must be filed and made electronically. The Department of 
Revenue administers the tax. Providers may itemize the tax on patient bills. 

Legend drugs (i.e., those requiring prescriptions under FDA regulations) are 
taxed under a wholesale drug tax equal to 2 percent rate to the wholesale price. 
A use tax applies when drugs are purchased for resale in Minnesota from an out­
of-state seller who does not have nexus and, thus, cannot be required to pay the 
tax. The use tax does not apply to purchases by individuals for their own use. 

Under legislation enacted in 2011, the provider taxes will expire on January 1, 
2020. 

In February 2015, Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB) estimated that 
the MinnesotaCare provider taxes will yield $611 million in revenues for the 
health care access fund in fiscal year 2016. Because health costs are rising at a 
rapid rate and because consumption of health services is also increasing steadily, 
these revenues are likely to rise at a faster rate than most other state tax sources. 
MMB is forecasting 5.8 percent annual growth in its revenue over the next five 
years; by contrast, it forecasts general fund tax revenue to grow over the same 
period at a 4.3 percent annual rate. 

No, the revenues from applying the insurance premiums tax to health 
maintenance organizations (HM Os) and nonprofit health services corporations 
(such as Blue Cross) are deposited in the health care access fund and used to pay 
for MinnesotaCare. In addition, other revenues from the program, such as 
premium payments by participants and some federal funding, go to the fund. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn; taxpayers with 
questions about how the tax applies to specific situations should contact the Department of Revenue at 
651-282-5533. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
. legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Updated: June 2015 

Apportionment formulas are important features of state corporate income taxes. 
They determine how much of a business's income is taxable by the state and 
affect the incidence and competitiveness of the tax. Most states use a three­
factor formula based on the in-state percentage of the corporation's sales, 
payroll, and property factors. Traditionally and under the Uniform Division of 
Income for Tax Purposes Act, each factor was equally weighted. However, the 
states have tended recently to increase the weight to the sales factor and more 
states are relying only on the sales factor ("single sales apportionment"). 

Since 1940, Minnesota has provided for sales-weighted apportionment (70 
percent sales), and between tax years 2007 and 2014, phased in single sales 
apportionment. (Minnesota's original weighted apportionment was optional; it 
became mandatory in tax year 1988.) 

The effects of single sales apportionment vary by business. The crucial 
variables are the business's Minnesota apportionment factors: 

• The taxes of businesses with ail of their property, payroll, and sales in 
Minnesota are unaffected-all of their income is subject to tax in all cases. 

• Minnesota businesses whose Minnesota sales factor is lower than the 
average of their Minnesota property and payroll factors receive a tax cut. 
The larger the disparity, the bigger the benefit. A classic example is a 
business with most of its operations (headquarters, plants, and so forth) in 
Minnesota, but most of its sales outside of Minnesota. 

• Businesses with higher Minnesota sales factors than their average Minnesota 
property and payroll factors pay higher tax. 

Over half of the states with corporate taxes also use "throwback rules" in 
defining the sales factor. Throwback rules treat sales to out-of-state buyers as 
in-state sales, if the buyer's state cannot tax the business/seller or if the 
purchaser is a federal government agency. These "thrown-back" sales increase 
in-state sales factor and corporate tax, decreasing the benefits to the taxpayer of 
single sales apportionment. Minnesota does not have a throwback rule. 

The principal rationale for single sales apportionment is a competitiveness 
argument: It helps attract or retain investment in plant and equipment to the 
state. Sales are determined by the buyer's location. All other things being 
equal, increasing non-Minnesota sales will reduce the amount of Minnesota 
taxable income, since more income will be attributed to or apportioned outside 
of Minnesota. Thus, single sales apportionment creates an incentive for 
companies to invest in Minnesota property or to hire more employees (or 
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reduces the tax's disincentive to do so) to sell their products outside of 
Minnesota. Empirical studies have found some support for this argument. 

Opponents of single sales apportionment argue that it shifts the tax burden from 
capital (the property factor) to consumption, reducing the tax's progressivity. 
Some also question as an empirical matter whether it has the desired effects on 
competitiveness. Tax theorists argue that if the corporate tax is to be a benefits 
tax (i.e., based on businesses' use of government services) or if it is to be based 
on production of income, apportionment should take into account where the 
business's property and employees are located. Both factors contribute to the 
production of income and the consumption of government services. 

Compared with equally weighting each apportionment factor, weighting sales 
more heavily reduces tax revenues. The Department of Revenue's Tax 
Expenditure Budget (February 2014) shows an expenditure cost of $390 million 
for fiscal year 2015. 

Effective for tax year 2015, 22 states use or allow single sales as their 
apportionment formula for manufacturers. Many of Minnesota's neighboring 
states use single sales apportionment: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, 
Missouri, Nebraska, and Wisconsin. Arizona is also scheduled to use single 
sales in 2017, and New Mexico and North Dakota in 2018. The map below 
shows the apportionment formulas for manufacturers as of tax year 2015. Some 
states allow elections between two formulas. The map shows these with the 
highest permitted sales weighting. 

Apportionment of Corporate Income 
Applicable to Manufacturers 

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators and CCH 

No tax 
Equal weights 
Double weighted sales 
Sales weight> 59% and::; 96% 
Single sales 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the 
House Research publication Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax, June 2015. 
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax 

A state can constitutionally tax only the income of a multistate corporation that is "fairly 
apportioned" to the state. The reason for this requirement seems obvious: if a business 
operates in several states and each state could tax all of its income, the business could 
easily be subject to multiple taxation. Aside from being unfair, this would discourage a 
business from operating in multiple states; it would interfere with interstate commerce. 

A state can apportion income using separate accounting or formula apportionment. 
Separate accounting traces income to the state where it was earned using standard 
accounting methods. Formula apportionment uses a proxy or rough measure to 
determine the in-state share of income (e.g., the percentage of the business's in-state 
sales to its total sales). All states use some type of formula apportionment. Using 
separate accounting would be expensive, difficult to do, and subject to manipulation. 

Since tax year 2014, Minnesota has apportioned income using "single sales" 
apportionment-i.e., the percentage that Minnesota sales comprise of total sales of the 
corporation is multiplied by total income to determine Minnesota-source income. 
Sales are defined on a destination basis; that is, the location of the buyer generally 
determines whether the sale is a Minnesota sale. Prior to tax year 2014, Minnesota like 
most states used three-factor apportionment, based on combination of the Minnesota 
percentage of property, payroll, and sales. Since the early 1950s, Minnesota has either 
allowed or mandated weighting sales more heavily before adopting single sales 
apportionment. 

These apportionment rules also apply under the individual income tax-e.g., to pass­
through entities-that operate in multiple states. Resident individuals, however, are 
subject to Minnesota tax on all of their income. 

Special rules apply to determine sales (receipts) for financial institutions and investment 
companies (e.g., companies operating or map.aging mutual funds). 

The Uniform Division oflncome for Tax Purposes Act (adopted by a group of states) 
provides that sales to buyers in a state in which the corporation cannot be taxed and 
sales to the federal government are "thrown back." Under a throwback rule, these sales 
are assigned to the seller's location. Minnesota has not adopted a throwback rule. This 
favors businesses making sales from Minnesota to the federal government or to states 
where they can't be taxed, since it reduces their Minnesota tax. Minnesota's 
apportionment formula does not affect the tax owed to another state, in any case. 
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Special rules apply to complex corporations (i.e., those with multiple corporations, such 
parent-subsidiary corporations). If these corporations are part of a "unitary business," 
Minnesota requires them to file a combined report. Under combined reporting, each 
corporation in the unitary group calculates its tax using the total income of the unitary 
group and its own factors as the numerator and the total group's factors as the 
denominator. Under a 2013 change, sales made by domestic corporations that are part 
of the unitary group, but that do not have Minnesota nexus, must be included in the 
numerator of a corporation with nexus. 

Combined reporting prevents most transactions among related corporations in the 
unitary group from affecting the tax liability of the group. In effect, the apportionment 
formula divides the unitary business's income among the states without regard to how 
the business allocates the income among its various corporate entities. 

Public finance economists generally agree that apportionment formulas are a very 
important feature of state corporate taxes. They essentially make the tax the same as a 
tax directly on the factors. For example, the tax on the portion of income assigned using 
the sales factor is similar, in economic effect, to a sales tax. This affects both: 

• the incidence of the tax (i.e., who bears the real burden of the tax); and 
• the incentive effects of the tax (i.e., the impact of the tax on behavior). 

Following conventional economic theory, the portion of the tax that is apportioned by 
sales will be a tax on consumption or consumers, similar to a sales tax. The portion on 
payroll is a tax on labor income and the portion on property falls on capital. (Caveat: 
Capital is mobile; it can move between states. In the long run, a state cannot increase 
the portion of the tax on capital much beyond the average imposed by other states. If it 
does, capital will flow to other states where higher rates of return are available.) 

Weighting sales more heavily generally encourages export businesses. Since sales are 
assigned to the buyer's location and there is no throwback rule, export or non-Minnesota 
sales will reduce the amount of income taxable by Minnesota. Thus, using single sales 
apportionment creates an incentive for companies to invest in Minnesota property or to 
hire more employees to sell products outside of Minnesota. The property and payroll 
factors, by contrast, would assign more income to Minnesota, increasing the tax, 
because the investment increases Minnesota property and payroll. It was following this 
logic that the legislature provided for use of apportionment to relying only on sales. 

After the U.S. Supreme Court ruled sales-only apportionment was valid in 1978, many 
states increased their reliance on the sales factor because of these incentive effects. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at j oel.michael@house.mn. Also see the 
House Research publications Single Sales Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax, June 2015, and 
Corporate Franchise Taxation, June 2015. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Public Assistance Simplification 

In 2014 and 2015, the Minnesota Legislature enacted legislation to simplify the administration of various 
public assistance programs in Minnesota and to make the programs more transparent and easier for eligible 
individuals to navigate (see Minn. Stat. ch. 256P). 

Which programs 
are included in the 
simplification? 

What changes were 
made to simplify 
program 
administration? 

The following programs are included in the public assistance simplification: 

• the Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP), which is a jointly 
funded, federal-state program designed to provide income assistance for 
eligible low-income families 

• the Diversionary Work Program (DWP), which provides short-term 
diversionary benefits to eligible recipients that are designed to lead to 
unsubsidized employment, increase economic stability, and reduce the risk of 
families needing longer-term assistance 

• General Assistance (GA), which is a state program that provides cash 
assistance to needy persons who fall into specified statutory categories and 
who meet the GA eligibility requirements 

• Minnesota Supplemental Aid (MSA), which is a state program that 
provides supplemental cash assistance to aged, blind, and disabled persons 
who are Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipients, or who would 
qualify for SSI except for excess income 

• Group Residential Housing (GRH), which is a state program that provides 
payments on behalf of eligible persons to pay for room and board and related 
housing services 

• child care assistance programs (CCAP), which subsidize the child care 
expenses of eligible families, including families participating in MFIP or 
DWP with household incomes less than or equal to 67 percent of the state 
median income, and low-income working families or students who receive 
no cash assistance 

The legislation enacted in 2014 (see Laws 2014, ch. 312, art. 28) included provisions 
that: 

• create uniform definitions of "agency," "earned income," "earned income 
disregard," "equity value," "personal property," and "self-employment;" 

• create a uniform earned income disregard, which disregards the first $65 of 
earned income plus one-half of the remaining earned income each month; 

• create uniform eligibility documentation, verification, and recertification 
procedures; 

• establish uniform personal property limits; and 

• repeal the MFIP shared household standard. 
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Changes in the 2015 legislation (see Laws 2015, ch. 71, art. 5) included provisions 
that: 

• create uniform definitions of "assistance unit" and "unearned income" and 
modifies the definition of "earned income;" 

• establish uniform procedures for determining income eligibility; 

• establish uniform requirements for reporting income and changes; 

• include CCAP in the uniform procedures for determining income eligibility 
and uniform requirements for reporting income and changes; and 

• establish uniform procedures for correcting overpayments and 
underpayments. 

Yes. There are additional program-specific requirements related to: (1) documenting 
and recertifying MFIP eligibility; (2) reporting income and changes for MFIP, 
DWP, CCAP, and MSA; and (3) recovering GA and MSA overpayments and 
recovering and recouping MFIP overpayments. 

Yes. Participants who are eligible for the federal SSI program and for MSA or GRH 
must meet federal income eligibility requirements and are exempt from the earned 
income disregard, self-employment, and reporting of income and changes 
requirements. In addition, MSA participants who maintain SSI eligibility must meet 
federal reporting requirements and are exempt from the reporting requirements 
under the documentation, verification, and recertification provision. 

GRH participants are exempt from the uniform procedures for correcting 
overpayments and underpayments because benefits from these programs are 
typically paid directly to a housing provider. 

Finally, certain CCAP and MFIP assistance unit members are exempt from having 
their earned income count toward the income of an assistance unit. 

There are varying effective dates for the changes that were made to simplify the 
public assistance programs: 

• The MFIP shared household standard was repealed January 1, 2015 

• The new treatment of earned income and self-employment income and the 
uniform eligibility documentation, verification, and recertification 
procedures were effective February 1, 2015 

• The new earned income disregard is effective October 1, 2015 

• The uniform personal property limitations are effective June 1, 2016 

• All of the changes enacted in 2015 become effective on August 1, 2016 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Minnesota's Nongame Wildlife Checkoff 

What is the 
nongame wildlife 
checkoff? 

How much do 
taxpayers contribute 
to the nongame 
wildlife checkoff? 

Minnesota's nongame wildlife checkoff allows individuals to make contributions 
on their individual income tax or property tax refund return to the state's nongame 
wildlife fund. Corporate taxpayers may also contribute on their corporate 
franchise tax returns. Taxpayers who wish to contribute fill in the amount of their 
contribution on their income tax or property tax refund form. The amount of the 
contribution is then either added to their tax due or subtracted from their refund. 
The checkoff was enacted and first appeared on tax forms in 1980. 

On tax year 2013 returns, filed in calendar year 2014, over 58,000 individuals used 
the nongame wildlife checkoff to contribute just over $1 million to the nongame 
wildlife fund on their individual income tax or property tax refund forms. The 
average contribution was about $18. About 1. 7 percent of all filers made 
contributions-1.8 percent of income tax filers and 1.3 percent of property tax 
refund filers. Since 1998, taxpayers have contributed about $1 million per year 
through the checkoff, but the share of filers making contributions was about 3 
percent in the mid-2000s, and has since decreased to less than 2 percent. 

N oneame w·1drfi Ch k ff c t ·h f I I e ec o on n u 10ns, t ax years 1998 t 2013 0 

Tax Year % contributing $ contributed Average contribution 
1998 2.9% $972,996 $11.41 
1999 2.0 1,003,721 12.01 
2000 2.9 1,028,790 12.16 
2001 3.0 1,134,319 13.23 
2002 3.0 1,160,518 13.07 
2003 3.0 1,154,574 13.11 
2004 2.8 1,171,942 13.75 
2005 2.6 1,098,310 14.12 
2006 2.1 1,030,219 15.31 
2007 2.1 1,075,785 15.34 
2008 2.1 1,093,113 15.46 
2009 2.1 1,086,545 15.72 
2010 1.9 1,061,164 17.09 
2011 1.9 1,052,251 16.12 
2012 1.8 1,049,809 17.03 
2013 1.7 1,029,906 17.62 
Source: Minnesota Department of Revenue 

In calendar year 2014, the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) received 
$1,155,817 in contributions through the checkoff. This total represents amounts on 
all returns processed by the Department of Revenue in calendar year 2014, 
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including tax year 2011, 2012, and 2013 individual income tax returns, and 2012 
and 2013 property tax refund returns. 

Contributions to the nongame wildlife checkoff go into the nongame wildlife fund 
and are appropriated to the DNR for the benefit of nongame wildlife through the 
nongame wildlife program. Donations from the nongame wildlife checkoff are 
matched equally by the Critical Habitat Matching Fund from funds raised by the 
sale of conservation license plates. Additional federal matching funds, about 
$800,000 to $900,000 per year, are received annually through the State Wildlife 
Grants program 

The nongame wildlife program focuses on nongame wildlife species that have been 
identified as being rare, declining, or vulnerable in the state; these species are 
known as "species of greatest conservation need." The program supports four 
regional wildlife specialists who work toward supporting the program's mission to 
"protect, maintain, enhance, and restore native nongame wildlife resources for their 
intrinsic values, ecosystem functions, and long term benefits." 

The nongame wildlife program has supported a number of projects in recent years, 
including the Project WILD program, which is an environmental and conservation 
education program designed to train K-12 and other youth and environmental 
educators on how to develop awareness of and foster responsible actions towards 
wildlife and related natural resources. Other projects have included surveys, 
management, and educational efforts benefiting loons, bald eagles, golden eagles, 
frogs, white pelicans, common terns, Blanding' s turtles, wood turtles, butterflies, 
and dragonflies, and the acquisition or donation of lands designated as wildlife 
management areas and aquatic management areas across the state to provide 
habitat benefiting both game and nongame wildlife species. 

In tax year 2013, 36 of the 42 states (and the District of Columbia) that have an 
individual income tax also have a nongame wildlife checkoff. Most states have 
more than one checkoff; Oregon has the most, with 28. Only four states offer only 
the nongame wildlife checkoff-Indiana, Minnesota, Nebraska, and North 
Carolina. Minnesota has consistently generated more voluntary donations to its 
nongame wildlife checkoff per year than any other state with a nongame wildlife 
checkoff. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Janelle Taylor at 
651-296-5039. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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The Minnesota Estate Tax 

Minnesota imposes a tax on the estates of individuals who are residents of the 
state when they die or who own tangible property (typically real estate) in 
Minnesota when they die. The tax is imposed under a graduated rate schedule 
on the taxable estate. The taxable estate is generally the fair market value of the 
estate on the day the decedent died, less deductions (e.g., transfers to a surviving 
spouse and charitable bequests) and an 
exemption amount. 

Legislation in 2014 increased the 
exemption amount in steps to $2 million 
by 2018 (see box) and provided that 
calculation of the tax would be based on a 
state tax rate schedule, rather than the 
state credit under prior federal law. Tax 
rates range from 10 percent to · 16 percent 
for 2015 deaths. The top rate applies to 
the amount of the taxable estate over 
$10,100,000. The 2014 legiSlation 
modifies the rate structure each year as the 
exemption amount increases so that the 
increases will largely benefit lower valued 
estates. 

Exemption Amount 

The exemption amount is $1.4 
million for 2015 deaths. The 
exemption amount increases by 
$200,000 per year until it reaches 
$2 million in 2018. Because 
transfers to surviving spouses are 
exempt, a married couple can 
exempt joint net worth of twice the 
exemption amount ($2.8 million in 
2015) if they structure transfers to 
trusts appropriately. 

The 2013 Legislature enacted a gift tax to complement the estate tax. This 
legislation also subjected gifts made within three years of death to the estate tax; 
this rule only applies to gifts that are subject to the federal gift tax (i.e., that are 
above the annual per-recipient exemption, currently $14,000 indexed for 
inflation). The 2014 Legislature repealed the gift tax, but the three-year rule 
remains in effect, subjecting these gifts to the estate tax. 

Legislation passed in 2011 provided two special exclusions for qualifying small 
business property and homestead farmland, effective for decedents dying after 
June 30, 2011. The combined value of these exclusions and the general 
exemption amount cannot exceed $5 million. As the general exemption 
increases under the 2014 law, the maximum amount of these special exemptions 
decline (i.e., the $5 million maximum continues to apply). 

The decedent or spouse must have owned the qualifying property for three years 
before the date of death, and the heirs must own and use the property in the 
business (or as a farm homestead) for three years after the date of death. Failure 
to do so triggers a recapture tax equal to 16 percent of the value of the property. 



Few estates pay 
the tax; it is a 
progressive source 
of revenue 

The estate tax 
provides a modest, 
but volatile, source 
of general fund 
revenue 

State estate taxes 
create incentives for 
high net worth 
individuals to move 
to no-tax states 

Fewer than 2 percent of estates pay the estate tax. The small number of estates 
paying tax results from the exemption amount and the fact that amounts left to 
surviving spouses are deductible. The Department of Revenue (DOR) estimates 
that the 2014 increases in the exemption amount, when fully phased in, will 
reduce the number of estates subject to tax by almost 3 7 percent. 

Based on DOR's Tax Incidence Study, the tax is the most "progressive" state 
tax. Decedents with taxable estates are some of the most affluent individuals in 
the state. Most evidence also suggests that recipients of bequests from taxable 
estates have above-average income and assets. 

Revenues from the tax are deposited in the 
general fund. See the box for the last five 
years of collections. Revenues from the tax are 
volatile, since they depend on the deaths of a 
few individuals. If one very wealthy individual 
dies, collections can soar. In other years, 
revenues may fall below estimates. For 
example in August 2005, DOR received tax 
revenues of $112 million from one estate, 
while total collections were $73 million in the 
prior year. 

Estate Tax Revenues 
FY 2010 - 2014 

(thousands) 
2010 $148,977 
2011 $161,202 
2012 $165,277 
2013 $158,928 
2014 $177,433 

Source: Minnesota Dept. of 
Revenue 

DOR estimates that the 2014 increases in the exemption amount and new rate 
structure will reduce fiscal year 201 7 revenues by about $64 million, reducing 
the tax's revenues by almost 3 0 percent. 

For many years (1985-2001), Minnesota imposed a "pickup" estate tax equal to 
the now-repealed federal credit for state death taxes. Under this system, the 
federal treasury bore the effective burden of the tax-the state tax reduced 
federal tax dollar-for-dollar. As a result, Minnesota residents had no reason to 
move to another state to avoid the tax. However, with the 2001 repeal of the 
federal credit in 2001, the state tax became a "real" tax that reduces the amount 
of property that can be left to heirs. 

A voiding the tax requires changing one's permanent home (domicile) to another 
state or reducing the amount of Minnesota property owned. Affluent individuals 
may be willing to change their domiciles to avoid paying potentially 
multimillion-dollar state estate tax liabilities. The fact that many of these 
individuals have second homes in states without estate or inheritance taxes 
increases their ease of moving. Most states (31 in 2015) do not have estate or 
inheritance taxes. Several of these states also have no income tax, allowing 
individuals who change their domiciles to those states to avoid both taxes. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the 
House Research short subject Estate and Inheritance Taxation: An Overview of the States, July 2014 and 
Minnesota Department of Revenue, Minnesota Estate Tax Study (2014) for more detailed information. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Federal Taxable Income, the starting point for calculating 
Minnesota income tax 

What is federal 
taxable income 
(FTI)? 

What kinds of 
income are included 
in FAG/? 

What kinds of 
income are 
excluded from 
FAG/? 

What deductions 
are allowed from 
FTI? 

How much is the 
standard 
deduction? 

Federal taxable income is the tax base used to calculate federal income tax 
liability. It is also the starting point for calculating Minnesota taxable income, the 
tax base used to calculate Minnesota income tax liability. Federal taxable income· 
equals federal adjusted gross income (F AGI) after deductions and exemptions. 

Federal 
adjusted 
gross income 
(FAGI) 

Standard 
or 

Itemized 
deductions 

Personal 
and 
Dependent 
exemptions 

Federal 
taxable 
income 
(FTI) 

FAGI includes most kinds of cash income: wages, salaries, and tips; taxable 
interest; dividends; alimony received by the taxpayer; business income or loss; 
capital gains or losses; other gains or losses; taxable IRA distributions; taxable 
pension and annuity distributions (the taxable portion excludes recovery of 
amounts that were included in F AGI when the contributions were made); income 
from rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, and trusts; farm 
income or loss; unemployment compensation; and taxable Social Security benefits 
(the amount taxable depends on the individual's income level; at most, 85 percent 
of benefits are included in FAGI). FAGI does not include child support received 
by the taxpayer. 

FAGI excludes: deductible IRA, SEP, SIMPLE, and other retirement 
contributions; nontaxable employee fringe benefits; deductible student loan interest 
payments; Health Savings Account contributions and investment income; moving 
expense_s; one-half of self-employment tax; health insurance premiums (for self­
employed taxpayers only); penalty on early withdrawal of savings; alimony paid 
by the taxpayer; and, through tax year 2014, $250 of teacher classroom expenses 
and up to $4,000 of tuition expenses for higher education. F AGI does not exclude 
child support paid by the taxpayer. 

Taxpayers may claim either the standard deduction or itemized deductions. In tax 
year 2012, the most recent year for which data is available, 61 percent of 
Minnesotans claimed the standard deduction and 3 9 percent itemized. 

In tax year 2015, the standard deduction is as follows: 
• $12,600 for married couples filing joint returns 
• $6,300 for married couples filing separate returns 
• $9,250 for head of household filers 
• $6,300 for single filers 



What itemized 
deductions are 
allowed? 

What personal and 
dependent 
exemptions are 
allowed? 

Are there limits on 
deductions and 
exemptions? 

In tax year 2015 itemized deductions are allowed for the following: 
• Payments of state and local property taxes and either income or sales taxes 
• Mortgage interest 
• Charitable contributions 
• Medical expenses and health insurance premiums in excess of a percentage 

of F AGI (7 .5 percent for filers age 65 and older, 10 percent for all others) 
• Casualty and theft losses in excess of 10 percent of income 
• Job expenses and miscellaneous expenses (most only allowed in excess of 2 

percent of Income) 

Taxpayers may claim one personal exemption each and one dependent exemption 
for each dependent claimed. For tax year 2015, the personal and dependent 
exemptions are $4,000 each. A family of four qualifies for four exemptions, 
totaling $16,000. 

The federal ~erican Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012 (ATRA) revived and made 
permanent the limitation on itemized deductions and phaseout of personal and 
dependent exemptions for taxpayers with incomes over a threshold. 

The limit takes away some of the benefit of the deduction for higher income 
taxpayers. Taxpayers subject to the limit have their deductions reduced by 3 
percent of their F AGI over the applicable thresholds. But they are always 
guaranteed 20 percent of the deductions, no matter how high their FAGis are. 

A TRA also provides for personal and dependent exemptions to be phased out for 
taxpayers with incomes over a threshold. Affected taxpayers lose 2 percent of 
their total exemption amount for each $2,500 of income over the threshold. 

A TRA increased the income thresholds at which the limitation of itemized 
deductions and the phaseout of personal and dependent exemptions take effect, 
relative to prior federal law. It also provided for the limitation and the phaseout to 
begin at the same income thresholds; under prior law the deduction limitation 
began at a lower income level than did the exemption phaseout. The table shows 
the income thresholds for the itemized deduction limitation and the personal and 
dependent exemption phaseout in effect in tax year 2015. The income thresholds 
are adjusted annually for inflation. 

Itemized deduction limit and personal and 

Tax year 2015 dependent exemption phaseout begins at 

Married joint filers $309,900 

Married separate filers $154,950 

Single filers $258,250 

Head of household filers $284,050 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 651-
296-5057. Also see the House Research publication Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, August 
2014. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Counties may 
impose aggregate 
taxes 

Aggregate material 
includes a number 
of nonmetallic 
substances 

Thirty-one counties 
and one town 
impose aggregate 
taxes 

The tax rate is 21.5 
cents per cubic yard 

The tax is imposed 
on the amount of 
aggregate excavated 

The taxes are 
apportioned among 
counties 

Other fees are 
prohibited 

Updated: June 2015 

Aggregate Tax 

Minnesota law authorizes counties to impose taxes on aggregate mined in the 
county. These taxes are often referred to as "gravel taxes." By law, the proceeds 
of the taxes (net of collection costs) are used for transportation and restoration of 
the mine sites. 

For purposes of taxation, aggregate material is defined as a number of nonmetallic 
substances that include silica sand, gravel, limestone, and granite. Taconite 
tailings and some other material removed from taconite mines are also included in 
this category. This material must be measured or weighed after it has been 
extracted to determine the appropriate tax. 

According to Department of Revenue data, 31 counties collected the tax in 2014. 
The map on the next page shows the counties. Special laws also authorize a few 
towns in St. Louis and Ottertail counties to impose aggregate taxes, as long as the 
county does not impose the tax. Only Solway Township in St. Louis County 
collected tax under this authority in 2014. 

State law sets the rate of the tax at 21.5 cents per cubic yard or 15 cents per ton; 
counties do not have discretion to set a lower rate. 

However, if the county borders two states and is not contiguous to a county 
imposing an aggregate tax, the law authorizes the county to impose a rate of ten 
cents per cubic yard or seven cents per cubic ton. This limit expires on December 
31, 2024, and currently applies to Rock County. 

A county board may exempt an operator that removed less than 20,000 tons or 
14,000 cubic yards in the previous year. 

The aggregate tax is imposed when the material is taken from the extraction site or 
sold, whichever occurs first. If the aggregate is stored in a stockpile without being 
transferred on a public road, the tax is imposed either when the aggregate is sold, 
when transported from the stockpile site, or when it is used from the stockpile, 
whichever comes first. 

If aggregate material is transported outside the county via a waterway, railway, or 
any other means besides a public road, the tax is to be apportioned equally between 
the county where the material is extracted and the county where the material is 
imported. If the receiving county is not in Minnesota, the county where the 
material was extracted receives the full amount of the tax. 

A county, city, or town that receives aggregate tax proceeds is prohibited from 
imposing any additional host community fees on aggregate production. 



Proceeds of the tax 
are used for various 
purposes; about 
$6.8 million in 
revenues were 
collected in CY 
2014 

State law specifies how the revenues from the tax are to be used. The taxes are 
deposited into the county treasury and must be spent as follows: 

• The county auditor may retain up to 5 percent of the total revenues as an 
administrative fee for administering the tax 

• 42.5 percent of the remaining amount must be added to the county road and 
bridge funq for expenditure in maintenance, construction, and 
reconstruction of roads, highways, and bridges 

• 42.5 percent of the remaining amount must be deposited in the general fund 
of the city or town in which the mine is located, or to the county where the 
mine is located in an unorganized town, to be expended for maintenance, 
construction, and reconstruction of roads, highways, and bridges 

• 15 percent of the remaining funds must be put into a special reserve fund 
that is established for expenditures made related to the restoration of 
abandoned pits, quarries, or deposits located within the county 

According to Department of Revenue data, $6.8 million in aggregate taxes were 
collected in calendar year 2014. 

Counties Collecting Aggregate 
Taxes 

• Collecting in 2014 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Christopher Kleman at christopher.kleman@house.mn. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 



HOUSE RESEARCH Short Subjects 
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How much·are 
income tax 
revenues? 

What is the tax base 
used to calculate 
Minnesota's income 
tax? 

What are the 
income tax rates 
and brackets? 

What income tax 
credits does 
Minnesota allow? 

Updated: June 2015 

Minnesota's Individual Income Tax 

Minnesota's income tax revenues equaled $9.66 billion in fiscal year 2014, about 
45 percent of state tax collections and 39 percent of all state revenues. 

Minnesota's income tax applies to a base of Minnesota taxable income (MTI). The 
starting point for calculating MTI is federal taxable income (FTI), which is the 
income measure used in determining federal income tax liability. In calculating 
MTI, taxpayers are required to add certain types of income to FTI and allowed to 
subtract other kinds of income. Some of the subtractions are required under 
federal law. For more detail on these adjustments, see the House Research 
publication Minnesota Taxable Income, June 2015. 

Minnesota's income tax is a graduated tax, with four rates: 5.35 percent, 7.05 
percent, 7.85 percent, and 9.85 percent. The rates are applied to income brackets 
that vary by filing status. Married couples filing joint returns are allowed the most 
generous (widest) brackets, followed by head of household filers (single parents 
maintaining a household), unmarried single filers, and married separate filers. 

The table shows the.income tax brackets in effect for each rate in tax year 2015 
(brackets for married taxpayers, filing separately, are half the width of the married 
joint brackets): 

Married Joint Single Head of Household 
5.35% First $36,650 First $25,070 First $30,870 
7.05% $36,651 to $145,620 $25,071 to $82,360 $30,871 to $124,040 
7.85% $145,621 to $258,260 $82,361 to $154,950 $124,041 to $206,610 
9.85% All over $258,260 All over $154,950 All over $206,610 

A married couple filing a joint return owes income tax equal to 5.35 percent of 
their first $36,650 of taxable income, 7.05 percent of income from $36,651 to 
$145,620, 7.85 percent of taxable income from $145,621 to $258_,260, and 9.85 
percent of taxable income over $258,260. The income tax brackets are adjusted 
each year for inflation. 

Minnesota allows taxpayers to claim several credits against tax liability. Credits 
that may be used only to reduce liability, called nonrefundable credits, include the 
following (and the amount claimed most recently): 

• Credit for taxes paid to other states ($215 million in tax year 2013) 
• Marriage credit ($82.9 million in fiscal year 2015) 
• Credit for past military service ($300,000 in fiscal year 2015) 
• Long-term care insurance credit ($8.1 million in fiscal year 2015) 



• Research and development credit ($13.8 million in fiscal year 2015) 
• Employer transit pass credit ($100,000 in fiscal year 2015) 

In addition, in tax year 2015 Minnesota allows nine refundable credits, which are 
paid as refunds to taxpayers even if the credit amount is greater than their income 
tax liability (and the amount refunded most recently): 

• Working family (earned income) credit ($245 .4 million in fiscal year 2015) 
• Dependent care credit ($14.3 million in fiscal year 2015) 
• K-12 education credit ($12.9 million in fiscal year 2015) 
• Military combat zone credit ($2.1 million in fiscal year 2015) 
• Job opportunity building zone (JOBZ) credit ($1.6 million in fiscal year 

2015) 
• Bovine tuberculosis testing credit (none allowed in fiscal year 2015; no 

testing required) 
• Enterprise zone credit ($100,000 in fiscal year 2015) 
• Angel investment credit ($12.0 million in fiscal year 2015) 
• Historic structure rehabilitation credit ($35.3 million in fiscal year 2015) 

o the historic credit is available to both corporate and individual 
taxpayers; to date most claims have come from corporate taxpayers. 

Credit amounts are from the Minnesota Department of Revenue's Tax Expenditure 
Budget, Fiscal Years 2014-2017, and income tax return processing data. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the House Research publications, Minnesota Taxable Income, June 2015; 
The Minnesota Income Tax Marriage Credit, November 2013; The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care 
Tax Credits~ February 2014; The Federal Earned Income Credit and the Minnesota Working Family Credit, 
March 2013; Income Tax Deductions and Credits for Public and Nonpublic Education in Minnesota, 
September 2011; and Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, August 2014. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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For deaths in 2015, 
31 states impose 
neither estate nor 
inheritance taxes 

Inheritance and 
estate taxes differ in 
the base used to 
compute them; one 
depends on the total 
size of the estate, 
the other on to 
whom bequests are 
made 

Twelve states and 
the District of 
Columbia impose 
only estate taxes 

Five states impose 
only inheritance 
taxes 

Updated: July 2015 

Estate and Inheritance Taxation: 
An Overview of Taxes in the States 

From 1924 through 2001, the federal estate tax allowed a dollar-for-dollar credit 
for state death taxes paid (up to maximum limits). All states imposed estate 
taxes up to the amount of the federal credit; some states also imposed additional 
inheritance or estate taxes. In 2001 Congress repealed the federal credit for state 
death taxes (effective for deaths after December 31, 2004). Now that they can 
no longer impose taxes that do not increase the total tax burden on est;:ttes and 
heirs, most states no longer impose estate or inheritance taxes (31 states for 
deaths in 2015). Minnesota continues to impose an estate tax. 

Estate taxes generally apply a single tax rate schedule to the taxable value of 
the decedent's total estate (bequests to charities and surviving spouses are 
typically exempt). 

Inheritance taxes apply varying tax rate schedules to bequests made to different 
classes of beneficiaries. Bequests to surviving spouses and lineal heirs typically 
enjoy lower rates or are totally exempt, while bequests to more distant or 
unrelated heirs (collateral heirs) are usually taxed at higher rates or have lower 
exemptions or both. 

For decedents dying in calendar year 2015, 12 states (Connecticut, Delaware, 
Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, Oregon, Rhode 
Island, Vermont, and Washington) and the District of Columbia impose only 
estate taxes. Delaware and Hawaii allowed their taxes to expire after Congress 
repealed the credit for state death taxes, but reenacted the taxes in 2010. 

Exemption amounts under the state estate taxes vary, ranging from the federal 
estate tax exemption amount or $5.43 million, indexed for inflation (two states) 
to $675,000 (New Jersey). In 2014, four states increased their exemption 
amounts: Minnesota (phased up to $2 million for 2018 deaths), Rhode Island 
($1.5 million for2015 deaths), and Maryland and New York (both phased their 
exemptions up to the federal amount for 2019 deaths). In 2015, Maine increased 
its exemption from $2 million to the federal amount, effective for 2016 deaths. 
Top rates range from 12 percent to 20 percent with most states, like Minnesota, 
imposing a top rate of 16 percent. 

Five states (Iowa, Kentucky, Nebraska, Pennsylvania, and Tennessee) impose 
only inheritance taxes. The Tennessee tax is scheduled to be eliminated for 
deaths after December 31, 2015. 

The exemptions under state inheritance taxes vary greatly, ranging from $500 
(Kentucky and New Jersey) for bequests to unrelated individuals to unlimited 



Two states impose 
both taxes 

exemptions (Iowa and Kentucky) for bequests to lineal heirs, such as children or 
parents of the decedent. No states tax bequests to surviving spouses. Top tax 
rates range from 4.5 percent (Pennsylvania on lineal heirs) to 18 percent 
(Nebraska on collateral heirs). Tennessee's inheritance tax is calculated more 
like an estate tax (i.e., the tax does not vary based on the beneficiary). 

Maryland and New Jersey impose both types of taxes, but the estate tax is a 
credit against the inheritance tax, so the total tax liability is not the sum of the 
two, but the greater of the two taxes. Neither tax applies to bequests to lineal 
heirs. 

The map shows the states with estates and inheritance taxes for deaths in 2015. 

State Estate and Inheritance Taxes 

i 
c 

' 

No tax 

States with Estate Taxes 

States with Inheritance Taxes 
States with both Estate Taxes and Inheritance Taxes 

House Research Department 

For more information: See the information brief Survey of State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Taxes, 
September 2014. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, legal, 
and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Saving for College: 529 Plans and Income Tax Policy 

What are 529 
plans? 

Do income or 
contribution limits 
apply to the plans? 

What tax benefits 
are available for 
529plans? 

Does Minnesota 
have a 529 plan? 

Can a Minnesotan 
participate in other 
state plans? 

Who participates in 
529 plans? 

529 college savings plans allow parents and others (e.g., grandparents or the 
student him or herself) to save for college costs in accounts that qualify for 
special tax treatment. The plans are operated by states. (Higher education 
institutions may operate pre-paid tuition plans, which are not discussed in this 
short subject.) Each account has an "owner" (usually the person contributing) 
and a "beneficiary" (the individual whose education costs will be paid). The 
owner retains ownership and control of the account and can change the 
beneficiary. Under federal law, investment of the accounts must be done by the 
state or the investment company it contracts with to operate its plan, but account 
owners can choose from among state plans offering an array of investment 
options and have limited authority to transfer funds once per year among plans. 
Thus, they indirectly have some investment control. 

Unlike most other tax incentives and aid programs for higher education, no 
income limits apply to 529 plans. Even the highest income families qualify to 
use them. Contributions must be made in cash. Each state plan sets its 
contribution limit, but federal law limits this to the amount necessary to provide 
for the qualifying higher education expenses of the beneficiary. Most states set 
this limit higher than $300,000. Minnesota limits account balances to $350,000. 

Investment income on 529 accounts is exempt from both federal and Minnesota 
income taxes, if the income is used for qualifying higher education expenses. 
Qualifying expenses include tuition, fees, room and board, books, and some 
other education expenses. Investment income on the accounts that is used for 
nonqualifying purposes is taxed as ordinary income, plus a 10 percent penalty. 
529 plans also provide special estate and gift tax benefits. 

Yes, 1997 legislation authorized the Minnesota College Savings Plan, and the 
plan began operating in 2001. TIAA-CREF, a large national financial 
institution, provides administration and investment management services for the 
plan. As of December 31, 2014, the Minnesota plan had about $1.17 billion in 
assets and 61,176 accounts. Nationally, at the end of December 2014; total 529 
plan assets were about $248 billion for about 12.1 million accounts. 

Yes, most state plans allow nonresidents to participate, although special 
preferences may be provided for residents. The federal and Minnesota tax 
benefits apply equally to investments in other state plans. Although precise 
evidence is not available, it appears that Minnesota residents have invested more 
money in other states' 529 plans than in the Minnesota College Savings Plan. 

Available evidence suggests that most 529 plan assets are held by families in the 
top income groups. The table below shows the distribution of 529 plan and 
Education Savings Account (ESA) assets by income group, based on data from 



Do other states 
provide additional 
state tax benefits for 
529 plans? 

Do states provide 
other incentives for 
participation? 

the Federal Reserve's 2013 Survey of Consumer Finance. About 77.7 percent of 
these assets are held by the top population ·decile (the 10 percent of the 
population with the highest incomes) and about 8 7 percent by the top quintile. 

529 Plan and ESA Assets by Income of Account Owners 
(amounts in 2013 dollars) 

Median 
529 plan and 

% of total 
% of 

Income group 
income* 

ESA assets 
assets 

households 
(millions of$) with assets 

1st quintile (0 - 20%) $13,189 $383 0.2% 0.2% 
2nd quintile (20% -40%) 27,392 1,810 1.0% 0.5% 
3rd quintile (40%- 60%) 45,654 5,248 2.9% 0.9% 
4th quintile (60%- 80%) 76,090 16,449 8.9% 2.8% 
9th decile (80% - 90%) 121,947 17,028 9.3% 7.4% 
Top decile (90%-100%) 230,502 142,972 77.7% 14.0% 
Total $46,668 $183,890 100% 3.0% 
* Median income of all households in income group, not just those with assets. 

Source: House Research calculations using Federal Reserve Board, Survey of Consumer 
Finance (2013), a multiply imputed weighted survey of 6,015 individuals. Estimates are less 
precise for subgroups, in particular groups with fewer assets. 

Many states with income taxes provide deductions or credits for contributions to 
529 plans. As of June 2015, 30 states and the District of Columbia allowed tax 
deductions and three states (Indiana, Vermont, and Utah), credits for 529 plan 
contributions. Illinois allows a tax deduction and credit (the latter for employers 
who make matching contributions for their employees). Only eight states with 
income taxes do not provide 529 plan deductions or credits. Most states limit 
deductions to contributions to the state's own plan, but six states provide 
deductions for contributions to any state plan. Most of the deductions and all 
four credits are subject to dollar caps; four states allow deduction of the full 
amount contributed. 

Thirteen states provide matching grants of some type; most are subject to 
income limits. Matching grants are not subject to federal tax, while state tax 
deductions or credits reduce the federal itemized deduction for state income 
taxes, diluting their benefits to many recipients by 10 percent to 39.6 percent. 

Minnesota had a matching grant program through 2010, providing matches of up 
to $400 per year for families with annual incomes of $80,000 or less; it was 
repealed in 2011 to reduce spending and balance the budget. The financial 
benefits of the match for qualifying families were roughly comparable to the 
benefits under most state tax deductions. However, few states impose income 
limits on the tax benefits. Like Minnesota, Michigan suspended funding for its 
matching grants during the Great Recession. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House 
Research publication 529 Plans and Income Tax Policy: The Minnesota College Savings Plan, June 2908. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm 
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World Language Proficiency for High School Students 

Districts must use 
ACTFL world 
language standards 
and offer elective 
language courses 

Schools may award 
proficiency seals 
and certificates to 
high school 
students who 
demonstrate world 
language skills 

High school 
students who 
demonstrate 
proficiency in a 
world language may 
receive a state 
bilingual or 
multilingual seal 
and school credits 

Minnesota's high school graduation requirements include a minimum of seven 
elective credits, which may include world language elective credits. Districts must 
use world language standards developed by the American Council on the Teaching 
of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) and offer elective courses in this subject area. In 
addition to awarding course credit, schools may recognize students' proficiency in 
world languages through bilingual and multilingual seals and language proficiency 
certificates under Minnesota Statutes, section l 20B. 022. 

Minnesota schools may award Minnesota world language proficiency seals and 
certificates to high school students who demonstrate listening, speaking, reading, 
and writing skills in a world language: 

• The Minnesota Platinum Seal recognizes students who demonstrate an 
advanced-low ACTFL level of functional proficiency in one or more 
languages in addition to English. 

• The Minnesota Gold Seal recognizes students who demonstrate an 
intermediate-high ACTFL level of functional proficiency in one or more 
languages in addition to English. 

• The Minnesota World Language Proficiency Certificate recognizes 
students who demonstrate an intermediate-low ACTFL level of functional 
proficiency on a valid and reliable assessment. 

American sign language is recognized as a world language for purposes of both 
seals and certificates. 

Beginning in the 2014-2015 school year, Minnesota schools may award bilingual 
and multilingual seals to eligible high school students. To receive a bilingual or 
multilingual platinum or gold seal a student in grade 10, 11, or 12 must: 

• demonstrate the requisite ACTFL level of functional native proficiency in 
listening, speaking, reading, and writing in one or more languages other 
than English on either assessments aligned with ACTFL proficiency 
guidelines or on equivalent assessments; 

• complete all English language arts credits required for graduation; and 
• demonstrate mastery of Minnesota's English language proficiency 

standards. 

A student who demonstrates an advanced-low ACTFL level of functional native 
proficiency in one language other than English is eligible to receive the state 
platinum bilingual seal, and a student who demonstrates an advanced-low ACTFL 
level of functional native proficiency in multiple languages other than English is 



MnSCUmust 
award foreign 
language credits to 
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bilingual or 
multilingual seals 

eligible to receive the state platinum multilingual seal. A student who demonstrates 
an intermediate-high ACTFL level of functional native proficiency in one language 
other than English is eligible to receive the state gold bilingual seal, and a student 
who demonstrates an intermediate-high ACTFL level of functional native 
proficiency in multiple languages other than English is eligible to receive the state 
gold multilingual seal. American sign language is recognized as a world language 
for purposes of these seals. School officials must affix seals to students' high 
school transcripts and may affix seals to the students' diplomas. Schools must not 
charge students a fee for the seals. 

In addition to receiving seals, schools may award elective world language credits 
to students who demonstrate the requisite level of functional native proficiency in a 
language other than English and also may award community service credit if these 
students participate in teacher-directed, curriculum-related activities that support 
school or community bi-literacy. 

Participating public schools may give students periodical opportunities to 
demonstrate their world language proficiency. The education commissioner must 
list assessments aligned to ACTFL proficiency guidelines on the department's 
website. Where valid and reliable assessments are unavailable, schools may rely on 
evaluators trained to use ACTFL proficiency guidelines to assess students' world 
language proficiency. Schools must keep appropriate records to identify high 
school students eligible to receive these seals. 

MnSCU colleges and universities must establish criteria to award foreign language 
credits to students who receive bilingual or multilingual seals in grade 10, 11, or 12 
and may award foreign language credits to students who receive world language 
proficiency certificates in grade 10, 11, or 12. Students who enroll in a MnSCU 
institution must request college credits for their seal or certificate within three 
academic years of graduating from high school. The law encourages the University 
of Minnesota to also award students foreign language academic credits. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Rural Finance Authority 

What is the Rural The Rural Finance Authority (RFA) is the state's main agricultural lending arm. 
Finance Authority? The legislature established the RFA during the farm credit crisis of the 1980s to 

help eligible farmers restructure mounting debt. 

What does the RFA The RFA is directed to "develop the state's agricultural resources by extending 
do? credit ... on terms and conditions not otherwise available from other credit sources." 

Minn. Stat.§ 41B.Ol. Although the RFA has authority to issue loans directly, it 
typically partners with private agricultural lenders to provide favorable financing 
opportunities for eligible farmers. 

How does the RF A The RF A has official agreements with more than 400 private lenders. The lenders 
extend credit? actually issue and administer the loans. The RF A purchases a portion of the loan 

from the lender and charges the farmer a lower rate of interest on its portion of the 
debt. As a result, the farmer pays a blended interest rate that is lower than the 
market rate charged by the private lender alone. (The blended interest rate is the 
weighted average of the interest rates charged by the RFA and the lender.) By 
lowering the farmer's interest costs, this arrangement makes debt financing more 
affordable. 

Who runs the RF A? Although the RF A is a separate public body with its own powers and duties, it is 
administered by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture. The RF A is a small 
organization with four employees. The board consists of the commissioners of 
agriculture (chair), management and budget (vice chair), employment and 
economic development, and commerce, as well as the state auditor. The governor 
appoints an additional six public board members who must be approved by the 
Senate. Public board members may not reside in the seven-county Twin Cities 
metropolitan area. 

What loan The RF A currently manages 12 different loan programs. Each program has its 
programs are own specific purpose, borrower criteria, and other details. These programs, along 
available? with years of inception and funding sources, are as follows: 

• Basic Beginning Farmer (1987, general obligation (G.O.) bonds) 
• Seller-sponsored (1989, G.O. bonds) 
• Agricultural Development Bond ("Aggie Bond") (1991, federal private 

activity bonds) 
• Agricultural Improvement (1992, G.O. bonds) 
• Restructure II (1993, G.O. bonds) 
• Livestock Expansion (1994, G.O. bonds) 
• Value-added Stock (1994, general fund (G.F.) appropriation) 
• Disaster Recovery (1998, G.F. appropriation) 
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• Methane Digester (2002, G.F. appropriation) 
• Livestock Equipment (2005, G.F. appropriation) 
• Pilot Agricultural Micro loan (2012, G.F. appropriation) 
• Farm Opportunity (2015, G.F. appropriation) 

In general, a borrower must be the principal operator of a farm and also (1) a 
Minnesota resident, (2) a member of a family-owned and -operated farm 
corporation, or (3) a member of a family-owned and -operated farm partnership. 
Beyond these general requirements, many programs have their own eligibility 
rules. To focus support on smaller beginning farmers, several programs limit 
eligibility to those whose net worth falls below an inflation-adjusted threshold. 

The Minnesota Constitution allows the legislature to borrow money and use the 
proceeds "to develop the state's agricultural resources by extending credit on real 
estate security." Minn. Const. art. XI, § 5(h). In essence, the state takes out a loan 
and lends the borrowed funds to eligible farmers. These bonds are considered 100 
percent "user-financed" because the RF A is required by law to charge farmers a 
rate of interest sufficient to meet the debt service obligations on the G.O. bonds. 
Because the state typically boasts a strong credit rating and G.O. bond interest is 
generally exempt from federal and state income taxes, the rate the state pays on 
G. 0. bonds-and by extension the rate the RF A charges farmers-tends to be 
relatively low. 

A three-fifths supermajority is not necessary; only a simple majority is required. 
The Constitution treats these bonds differently than bonds issued to fund 
conventional capital investment projects. Minn. Const. art. XI, § 5(a) and (h). 

The Constitution requires that farm loans financed by G.O. bonds must be secured 
by a lien on real estate. In other words, RF A loans financed by G.O. bond 
proceeds must be secured by a mortgage on the borrower's farmland. Loans not 
tied to the borrower's farmland must be funded by another source. While the RF A 
has authority to raise funds by issuing its own taxable revenue bonds, the 
legislature has funded certain RF A programs with general fund appropriations 
instead. This gives the legislature and RF A greater flexibility in defining loan 
security requirements and setting interest rates. For instance, the RF A charges no 
interest on its methane digester loans-a program funded entirely by general fund 
appropriations. General fund 'programs utilize revolving loans, whereby the RF A 
may use loan repayments from one farmer to issue a loan to a different farmer. 

Thirty-two other states have agricultural lending programs similar to those offered 
by the RFA. 

For more information: To learn more about the loan programs or to apply for financing visit 
www.mda.state.mn.us or call the RFA directly at 651-201-6004 or 1-800-967-2474. For legislative matters, 
contact legislative analyst Colbey Sullivan at 651-296-5047. For more on general obligation bonds, see the 
House Research publication State General Obligation Bonding, November 2010. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House, 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house,mn/hrd/hrdNm 
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Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits 

What is a 
deduction? 

What federal 
deductions are 
allowed? 

Are federal 
deductions allowed 
at the state Level? 

What state 
subtractions are 
allowed? 

A deduction reduces income tax liability by reducing taxable income, the amount 
to which tax rates are applied to dete1mine tax. Federal income tax deductions are 
commonly divided into two categories: 

• Deductions that reduce adjusted gross income (sometimes called "above­
the-line" deductions) that can be claimed in all cases 

• Itemized deductions that can only be claimed ifthe taxpayer does not 
claim the standard deduction (a fixed dollar amount based on filing status) 

For tax year 2015, federal above-the-line deductions include ordinary and 
necessary business expenses, various retirement account contributions, certain 
employee business expenses, student loan interest payments, Health Savings 
Account contributions, moving expenses, one-half of self-employment tax, health 
insurance premiums (for self-employed taxpayers only), penalty on early 
withdrawal of savings, and alimony paid by the taxpayer. Federal itemized 
deductions include state and local property taxes and either income or sales taxes, 
mortgage interest, charitable contributions, medical expenses in excess of 10 
percent of income for taxpayers under age 65, and in excess of 7.5 percent for 
older taxpayers, casualty and theft losses in excess of 10 percent of income, and 
job expenses and miscellaneous expenses (most only allowed in excess of 2 
percent of income). 

Because Minnesota's income tax calculations start with federal taxable income, 
federal deductions are reflected in Minnesota taxable income. But Minnesota law 
may nullify some federal deductions by requiring them to be added back to state 
taxable income; for example, the itemized deduction for income or sales taxes. 

Minnesota allows its own set of subtractions, including ones for K-12 dependent 
education expenses, military pay, 50 percent of charitable contributions over $500 
(for filers who do not claim federal itemized deductions only), up to $12,000 for 
low-income elderly and disabled taxpayers with low amounts of Social Security 
and nontaxable pensions, Job Opportunity Building Zone (JOBZ) income, organ 
donation expenses, gain on sale of farm property for insolvent taxpayers, foreign 
subnational income taxes, and national service education awards. 

Minnesota also allows subtractions for U.S. bond interest, railroad retirement 
benefits, and on-reservation earnings of enrolled tribal members, because federal 
law prohibits state taxation of these types of income. 

Finally, Minnesota's income tax allows various subtractions to coordinate the 
calculation of taxable income with other features of the income tax. Minnesota 
requires itemizers to add back the amount of state income tax deducted at the 
federal level and allows a subtraction for amounts refunded in order to avoid twice 
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taxing the same income. Also, Minnesota has not conformed in recent years to 
federal deductions for bonus depreciation, section 1 79 expensing, domestic 
production activities, income from the discharge of indebtedness, and net operating 
losses. As a result, Minnesota allows subtractions for amounts of these items that 
were included in Minnesota taxable income, but not federal taxable income, in 
earlier tax years. 

The value of an income tax deduction equals the taxpayer's marginal rate times the 
amount of the deduction. A taxpayer whose income is too low to be subject to 
taxes does not benefit from a deduction, unless the law allows the unused 
deduction to be carried over to a later tax year. 

In tax year 2015, federal marginal rates range from 1 0 percent to 3 9. 6 percent, and 
state marginal rates from 5.35 percent to 9.85 percent. The graduated federal and 
state income tax rates make deductions worth more to high-income taxpayers than 
to low-income taxpayers. A taxpayer in the top federal and state brackets who 
claims a $1,000 deduction for moving expenses pays $396 less in federal taxes 
(39.6 percent of$1,000) and $98.50 less in state taxes (9.85 percent of $1,000). 
But a taxpayer in the bottom federal and state brackets who claims the same 
deduction pays $100 less in federal taxes (10 percent of $1,000), and $53.50 less in 
state taxes (5.35 percent of $1,000). 

Credits are subtracted directly from tax liability. Because credits are subtracted 
directly from liability, they are worth the same to all taxpayers with liability, 
regardless of income (i.e., it doesn't matter what tax rate bracket the taxpayer is in). 

Nonrefundable credits only offset tax liability. Taxpayers with little or no tax 
liability do not benefit from nonrefundable tax credits. 

Refundable credits, in contrast, fully benefit taxpayers regardless of their tax 
liability. For example, a taxpayer with $700 in tax liability who qualifies for a 
$1,000 refundable credit would receive a refund of $300. If the credit was 
nonrefundable, that taxpayer would only be able to "use" the $700 of the tax credit 
that offset liability. 

In tax year 2015, the federal income tax allows nonrefundable credits for adoption 
expenses, foreign taxes paid, child and dependent care expenses, and retirement 
contributions of low-income taxpayers. The federal income tax allows refundable 
credits for certain health care premiums and earned income of lower income filers. 
The federal child credit, for children younger than 1 7, and the American 
Opportunity credit, for postsecondary education expenses, are partially refundable. 

In tax year 2015, Minnesota allows nonrefundable credits for marriage penalties 
resulting from the state's progressive rate structure (marriage credit), long-term 
care insurance premiums, and military retirement pay of low-income veterans. 
Minnesota also allows refundable credits for earned income of low-income filers 
(working family credit), dependent care expenses, and K-12 education expenses. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the income tax 
area on the House Research website for more information on tax credits. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Survey of State and Local Gasoline Taxes 

This short subject shows state and local gasoline taxes in each state as of July 1, 2015. Because of the 
interrelationship in some states between per-gallon gasoline taxes and gasoline sales taxes, and between state 
and local gasoline taxes, a compilation of all such taxes is necessary to reflect each state's total tax burden. 
While all states impose per-gallon taxes, seven states also impose sales taxes (which fluctuate based on 
price), and 13 states allow local gas or sales taxes to be imposed. Minnesota's total tax burden on gasoline, 
which includes the 28.5-cent per-gallon excise tax and 0.1-cent inspection fee, places it 21st highest based on 
state taxes and 24th highest based on total state and local taxes. (The 2-cent per-gallon Petro fund cleanup fee 
did not apply on July 1, 2015; this fee is imposed periodically based on the balance in the fund.) 

Gasoline taxes 
include state and 
local taxes 

The columns in the table below represent the following: 
• State excise tax: Per-gallon tax on gasoline imposed at the state level 
• State sales tax: State retail sales tax applied to gasoline; in some states, the 

sales tax rate is prefigured and prepaid at the wholesale level rather than 
being calculated and paid at the pump 

• Other state tax/fee: Leaking underground storage fees, inspection fees, 
various environmental fees; in some states, including Minnesota, these are 
"blink-on" taxes that are imposed whenever a specified fund reaches a 
certain level; the table applies these fees, if they applied on July 1, 2015 

• Total state taxes: Combined per-gallon tax, sales tax, other state taxes and 
fees 

• Local excise tax: Locally imposed per-gallon taxes in the largest city in the 
state 

• Local sales tax: Local retail sales taxes that apply to gasoline in the largest 
· city in the state 

• Total local tax: Combined local gas taxes and sales taxes 
• Total tax: Combined state and local taxes 

For price-based taxes, U.S. Energy Information Administration price data for the 
week of June 29, 2015, was used for the applicable region, state, or city. This price 
was adjusted in those states that impose a sales tax on gasoline, but excludes state 
or federal per-gallon taxes from the taxable price. 

Total State and Local Taxes on Gasoline as of July 1, 2015 
State State Other Total Local Local Total Total State Total 

Excise Sales State State State Excise Sales Local and Local Taxes 
Tax Tax Tax/Fee Tax Rank Tax Tax Tax Tax Rank 

Alabama $0.160 $0.030 $0.190 40 $0.010 $0.010 $0.200 41 
Alaska 0.080 0.010 0.090 50 0.090 50 
Arizona 0.180 0.010 0.190 40 0.190 43 
Arkansas 0.215 0.003 0.218 36 0.218 37 
California 0.300 0.081 0.072 0.453 2 0.054 0.054 0.507 5 



State State Other Total Local Local Total Total State Total 
Excise Sales State State State Excise Sales Local and Local Taxes 

Tax Tax Tax/Fee Tax Rank Tax Tax Tax Tax 
Colorado 0.220 0.220 35 0.220 
Connecticut 0.250 0.159 0.409 3 0.409 
Delaware 0.230 0.052 0.282 22 0.282 
Florida 0.040 0.133 0.001 0.174 44 0.133 0.133 0.307 
Georgia 0.260 0.260 27 0.094 0.094 0.354 
Hawaii 0.170 0.125 0.055 0.350 9 0.165 0.016 0.181 0.530 
Idaho 0.320 0.010 0.330 13 0.330 
Illinois 0.190 0.171 0.011 0.372 6 0.110 0.089 0.199 0.570 
Indiana 0.180 0.158 0.010 0.348 10 0.348 
Iowa 0.308 0.010 0.318 16 0.318 
Kansas 0.240 0.001 0.241 30 0.241 
Kentucky 0.246 0.014 0.260 27 0.260 
Louisiana 0.200 0.001 0.201 38 0.201 
Maine 0.300 0.010 0.310 17 0.310 
Maryland 0.321 0.321 15 0.321 
Massachusetts 0.240 0.025 0.265 26 0.265 
Michigan 0.190 0.168 0.009 0.367 7 0.367 
Minnesota 0.285 0.001 0.286 21 0.286 
Mississippi 0.180 0.004 0.184 43 0.184 
Missouri 0.170 0.003 0.173 45 0.173 
Montana 0.270 0.008 0.278 24 0.278 
Nebraska 0.261 0.009 0.270 25 0.270 
Nevada 0.230 0.008 0.238 33 0.183 0.183 0.421 
New Hampshire 0.222 0.016 0.238 32 0.238 
New Jersey 0.105 0.040 0.145 49 0.145 
New Mexico 0.170 0.019 0.189 42 0.189 
New York 0.081 0.116 0.178 0.375 5 0.142 0.142 0.516 
North Carolina 0.360 0.003 0.363 8 0.363 
North Dakota 0.230 0.230 34 0.230 
Ohio 0.280 0.280 23 0.280 
Oklahoma 0.160 0.010 0.170 46 0.170 
Oregon 0.300 0.300 20 0.030 0.030 0.330 
Pennsylvania 0.505 0.011 0.516 1 0.516 
Rhode Island 0.330 0.010 0.340 12 0.340 
South Carolina 0.160 0.008 0.168 48 0.168 
South Dakota 0.280 0.020 0.300 19 0.300 
Tennessee 0.200 0.014 0.214 37 0.214 
Texas 0.200 0.200 39 0.200 
Utah 0.245 0.007 0.252 29 0.252 
Vermont 0.121 0.187 0.308 18 0.308 
Virginia 0.162 0.006 0.168 47 0.037 0.037 0.205 
Washington 0.375 0.375 4 0.375 
West Virginia 0.205 0.141 0.346 11 0.346 
Wisconsin 0.309 0.020 0.329 14 0.329 
Wyoming 0.230 0.010 0.240 31 0.240 
Note: The table does not include special tax rates for alcohol-gasoline blends or for gasoline used in commercial vehicles. 
Sources: Federation of Tax Administrators; American Petroleum Institute; U.S. Energy Information Administration; and state 
revenue agency websites. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Military Pay under Minnesota's Individual Income Tax 

Military pay is 
exempt from 
Minnesota income 
tax 

Federal law 
prohibits states 
from taxing some 
types of military 
income 

Military pay for 
regular full-time 
active service is not 
taxed by the.state 

Military pay for 
Minnesota 
National Guard and 
reserve service is 
not taxed 
by the state 

Calculation of Minnesota's individual income tax starts with federal taxable 
income. As a result, military pay that is exempt from taxation at the federal level, 
such as combat pay and hazardous duty pay, is also exempt at the state level. 
Minnesota allows subtraction from federal taxable income of most other types of 
military pay (other than retirement pay) that are taxed at the federal level, thereby 
making such income exempt from Minnesota income tax. 

Laws 2014, chapter 308, expanded Minnesota's military pay subtraction to include 
pay for two categories of service previously subject to tax, effective in tax year 
2014: 

(1) service by a Minnesota resident serving in the National Guard while 
assigned to Active Guard and Reserve (AGR) status under U.S. Code, title 
32 

(2) service performed in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 190.08, 
subdivision 3 (i.e., current or former military personnel employed for the 
full-time administration of the Minnesota Department of Military Affairs) 

Federal law prohibits states from taxing active service military pay earned by 
nonresidents. Thus, a nonresident membe:i; of the military often does not need to 
file a Minnesota tax return. 

Minnesota also allows for the subtraction of military pay earned by a Minnesota 
resident for full-time active military service. This subtraction typically applies 
to Minnesota residents who serve either within Minnesota as full-time military 
recruiters or Coast Guard personnel, for example, and to Minnesota residents 
who are in full-time military service outside Minnesota. 

A member of the Minnesota National Guard or other military reserve unit is 
allowed to subtract pay received for active service. 

"Active service" includes: 

• certain state active service, such as assistance in natural disasters and 
searches for lost persons (Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5a, cl. (1 )); 

• federally funded state active service, under U.S. Code, title 32 (National 
Guard), such as, weekend drills and annual training (summer camp), 
special school attendance, airport security, or active duty for special 
work (ADSW) (Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5b); 



Military pay for 
service outside 
Minnesota 
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taxed 
by the state_ 

• federal active service, under U.S. Code, title 10 (Reserves), such as 
weekend drills, annual training (summer camp), special school 
attendance, pre- or postdeployment-related duty, and time on medical 
hold under U.S. Code, title 1 O; active duty orders while recuperating 
from an injury; and Active Guard and Reserve (AGR) service under 
U.S. Code, title 10 (Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5c). 

Beginning in tax year 2014, "active service" also includes service by Minnesota 
residents working in AGR status under U.S. Code, title 32 (federally funded 
state active service), and service by current or former members of the National 
Guard or reserves ordered to active service by the adjutant general to perform 
full-time administration of the Department of Military Affairs. 

Income received by Minnesota residents for military service under U.S. Code, title 
10, including service in AGR status by members of the military reserves other than 
the National Guard, and service by Minnesota residents in other states' National 
Guards, is not taxed by the state of Minnesota, and thus is not subject to Minnesota 
income tax withholding. Income received by Minnesota residents for service 
under U.S. Code, title 32, in other states' National Guards is taxed by the state of 
Minnesota. 

It may not be necessary for the person to file a Minnesota income tax return for a 
given tax year, unless a service member who has served only outside Minnesota 
during the year is due some specific tax-related benefit from the state (e.g., a 
refundable tax credit), has had other income tax withheld, or has earned a sufficient 
amount ($10,150 or more for tax year 2014) of other taxable military and/or 
nonmilitary income to require filing. 

The following are some common types of income received by service members 
who are Minnesota residents that are normally subject to the Minnesota income 
tax: 

• income earned by the service member's spouse living and employed within 
Minnesota (when filing jointly) 

• nonmilitary income earned by the service member as a pay differential 
_provided by the person's (public or private) Minnesota ci_vilian employer 

• nonmilitary income earned by the service member from civilian 
employment within Minnesota during part of the year (e.g., preceding or 
following military deployment or transfer) 

• other nonmilitary income earned by the service member before, during, or 
following military deployment outside Minnesota (e.g., rental income from 
property in Minnesota) 

For more information: The Department of Revenue maintains information on taxation of military pay 
online at http://www.revenue.state.mn.us/individuals/individ _income/Pages/Members_ of_ the_ Military.aspx 
or contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Jeffrey Diebel at jeffrey.diebel@house.mn. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm 



HOUSE RESEARCH Short Subjects 
Nina Manzi 

What is the federal 
child tax credit? 

Are there income 
limitations? 

Is the credit 
refundable? 

How much do 
Minnesotans claim? 

How does 
Minnesota compare 
with other states? 

Updated: August 2015 

The Federal Child Tax Credit 

Parents may claim a credit against federal income tax equal to $1,000 for each 
child under age 17. The credit was enacted in the Tax Relief Act of 1997 (TRA) 
and first allowed in 1998. It was made permanent by the American Taxpayer 
Relief Act (ATRA) of2012. 

The credit is reduced by $50 for every $1,000 of income over $110,000 of adjusted 
gross income for married joint filers and $75,000 for head of household filers. A 
married couple filing jointly with two children under age 17 will become ineligible 
for the credit when their income exceeds $149,000; a single parent claiming the 
credit for one child will become ineligible when income exceeds $94,000. 

The child credit is partly refundable; the refundable portion is referred to as the 
"additional child tax credit." In tax years 2009 through 2017, the additional child 
tax credit equals the greater of: 

• 15 percent of earned income over $3,000, or, 
• for families with three or more children, payroll taxes in excess of the 

federal earned income tax credit. 

For example, a married couple with two children under age 17 and $40,000 of 
income is eligible for $2,000 in child tax credits, $1,000 for each child. If the 
couple claims the standard deduction, their federal income tax will equal $1, 140 in 
2015. They use $1,140 of their $2,000 credit to reduce their liability to $0. They 
may claim up to 15 percent of their earnings in excess of $3, 000 as a refund. 
Assuming all $40,000 of their income is from wages, that means they would be 
eligible to claim up to $5,550 of the remaining credit as a refund (15 percent of 
$40,000, minus $3,000, equals $5,550). The result is that they claim $1,140 as an 
offset to their tax liability and are paid the remaining $860 as a refund. 

In tax year 2013, 413 ,210 federal income tax returns filed by Minnesotans claimed 
$556 million in the nonrefundable portion of the federal child credit. The average 
amount claimed was $1,346. For the same year, 242,780 returns filed by 
Minnesotans claimed $331 million under the refundable additional child credit. 
Some of these returns also claimed the nonrefundable portion of the credit. The 
average additional child tax credit (the refundable portion) was $1,361. 

Nationwide, 15.3 percent of all income tax returns claimed the child credit, 
compared with 15.6 percent in Minnesota. The average amount of the 
nonrefundable portion claimed nationwide was $1,208, compared with $1,346 in 
Minnesota. Since the credit is only partly refundable, the larger average amount 
claimed on Minnesota returns may result from Minnesotans having above-average 
incomes, and consequently more federal liability available to be offset by the child 
credit. Utah had the highest average nonrefundable portion, at $1,524, and the 
District of Columbia had the lowest, at $961. 



What is the effect 
of ATRA on 
Minnesota 
recipients of the 
federal child credit? 

How has the credit 
amount changed 
over time? 

Has the credit 
always been 
refundable? 

The average amount of the refundable portion claimed nationwide was $1,342, 
compared with $1,361 in Minnesota. Utah had the highest average refundable 
portion, at $1,649, and Massachusetts had the lowest, at $1,172. 

Some provisions extended by A TRA will expire after tax year 2017, including the 
provision that decreased the earned income threshold from $10,000, indexed for 
inflation since 2001, to $3,000, not adjusted for inflation. 

Unless Congress extends_ this provision beyond 201 7, in 2018 the portion of the 
credit that is refundable will revert to being the greater of: 

• 15 percent of earned income over $10,000, indexed for inflation since 
2001, or,· 

• for families with three or more children, payroll taxes in excess of the 
federal earned income tax credit. 

The credit equaled $400 per child in 1998, increased to $500 in 1999, $600 in 
2001and2002, and $1,000 beginning in 2003. The $1,000 credit amount was 
made permanent in 2012 by ATRA. 

When first enacted in TRA, the child credit was only refundable for taxpayers with 
three or more children, and only to the extent that their payroll taxes exceeded the 
federal earned income tax credit. The implicit rationale was that the refundable 
portion of the federal earned income tax credit was first used to offset payroll taxes 
for Social Security and Medicare, and then any payroll taxes left over after the 
federal earned income tax credit could be offset by the federal child credit. This 
refund mechanism was limited to families with three or more children because 
families with fewer children and no federal tax liability would typically have all of 
their payroll taxes offset by the federal earned income tax credit and none left over 
to be offset by the new child credit. 

In 2001 the refundable portion was changed to be the greater of: 
• 15 percent of earned income over a minimum amount for all families 

regardless of the number of children, or, 
• for families with three or more children, payroll taxes in excess of the 

federal earned income tax credit (the provision that was already in law). 

The 2001 law set the minimum amount at $10, 000 and provided for it to increase 
annually for inflation; A TRA made the $10,000 as indexed for inflation permanent. 
The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 temporarily reduced the 
indexed $10,000 to $3,000, not adjusted for inflation, for tax years 2009 and 2010 
only; the $3,000 minimum amount has subsequently been extended through 2017. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 



HOUSE RESEARCH I Short Subjects 
Lisa Larson 

The 2015 
Legislature 
amended the law on 
statewide tests 

Students remain 
subject to career 
and college 
readiness 
expectations 

Revised: August 2015 

Minnesota's Statewide Assessments 

The 2015 Legislature revised Minnesota's existing law on statewide testing. 
Beginning in the 2015-2016 school year, statewide testing requirements for many 
students are as follows: 

• Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs): Public school students 
in grades 3 through 8 must take statewide computer-adaptive MCAs online 
that include on-grade-level test items and may include off-grade-level test 
items, depending on students' responses to the test questions; students in 
grade 10 take the reading MCA and students in grade 11 take the math 
MCA; students in grade 9 must take a statewide writing test when it 
becomes available 

• College entrance exams: Districts must offer students in grade 11 or 12 
the opportunity to take a state-funded nationally normed college entrance 
exam at the student's high school during the school day; students are no 
longer required to take a nationally normed college entrance exam to 
graduate from high school 

• Career and college readiness: Students remain subject to career and 
college readiness expectations but are no longer required to take a series of 
career and college readiness assessments that are predictive of a nationally 
normed, college readiness assessment 

• Graduation assessments: Students are not required to achieve a specified 
score or level of proficiency on any statewide assessments in order to 
graduate from high school 

• Assessments for students with special needs: Students with an 
individualized education program may satisfy state assessment· 
requirements by taking state-identified alternative assessments; 
additionally, the education commissioner must include accommodations or 
provide alternative assessments for English learners 

The changes in the law apply to students enrolled in grade 8 in the 2012-2013 
school year or later, which is most students entering grade 11 in the 2015-2016 
school year. Students enrolled in grade 8 in the 2011-2012, 2010-2011, or an 
earlier school year are subject to transitional assessment requirements. 

Districts and schools annually must help students, beginning no later than grade 9, 
and their families prepare for postsecondary education and a career. Districts and 
schools also must help these students and their parents develop, review, and revise 
an individualized plan for postsecondary education or a career. Underlying the 
planning process are career and college-ready benchmarks that inform students and 



ABE and EL 
students must be 
informed about 
targeted 
interventions 

Districts must limit 
the amount of local 
testing 

MDE must develop 
a list of special 
circumstances 

their parents and teachers about what knowledge and skills the students must learn 
and how well the students must perform to have a reasonable chance to succeed in 
a career or college without need for postsecondary remediation. Students through 
grade 12 must continue to participate in targeted instruction, intervention, and 
remediation, as appropriate. Schools and districts must encourage students in 
grades 11 or 12 who are identified as academically ready for a career or college to 
participate in dual credit courses and.programs. 

The education commissioner and the chancellor of the Minnesota State Colleges 
and Universities must collaborate in aligning instruction and assessments to give 
adult basic education (ABE) students and English learners (EL) diagnostic 
information about the targeted interventions they need to seek postsecondary 
education or employment without need for postsecondary remediation. 

School districts must limit any additional local testing to ten hours per school year 
for students in grades 1 to 6 and 11 hours per school year for students in grades 7 
to 12, excluding Advanced Placement and International Baccalaureate exams, 
unless the district and its teachers agree to exceed the limit and include that 
information in the district's World's Best Workforce Report. 

The Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) must develop a list of 
circumstances under which a student may be unable to be tested. These 
circumstances include transferring from another state or from a nonpublic school, 
or hospitalization, among other circumstances. 

For an overview of the Minnesota assessment system and changes in assessment requirements for 2014 
through 2017, see the link titled Minnesota Assessment System and Requirements Changes 2014-2017 
located at the bottom of the MDE webpage at: 
http://education.state.mn. us/MD E/SchSup/TestAdmin/index.html. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. 

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
legal, and information services to the entire House. 

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/ 
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Minnesota State Grant Program 

Minnesota's state grant program provides need-based financial aid to resident undergraduates to attend a 
public or private postsecondary institution in Minnesota. Administered by the Office of Higher Education 
(OHE), the state grant program is not an entitlement but available up to the limits of state appropriations. 

Who is eligible for 
a state grant? 

How much aid is 
available through 
the state grant? 

HowdoesOHE 
determine the 
amount of a 
student's grant? 

Undergraduate students must apply for a state grant within 30 days after the start of 
the term. Eligible students are Minnesota residents who are high school graduates or 
age 17 or older and able to meet admission requirements of a participating 
postsecondary institution. Students must demonstrate financial need and must not be 
in default on student loans or in arrears for child support. Part-time students are 
eligible for a state grant based on the cost of attendance, prorated for the number of 
credits the student is taking. 

Students qualify as Minnesota residents if they reside for at least 12 months in the 
state without being enrolled at a postsecondary institution. Other students may 
qualify categorically, including dependents of Minnesota residents; graduates of 
Minnesota high schools; veterans and members of the armed forces or national 
guard and their spouses,and dependents; and refugees. 

Financial need is based on the student's ability to meet the cost of attending the 
selected postsecondary institution, taking into account Pell grants and the expected 
student and family contributions estimated by the federal need analysis (F AFSA). 

Except for the Minnesota GI Bill and private and institutional aid, the state grant is 
the last aid contribution to the cost of attendance. In fiscal year 2014, 99,501 
students received state grants totaling $172.51 million. The average state grant was 
$1,734, but varied by type of institution: $752 at Minnesota State Colleges and 
Universities (MnSCU) two-year; $1,417 at private for-profit; $1, 722 at MnSCU 
four-year; $3,648 at private nonprofit; and $3,879 at the University of Minnesota. 

State law requires grant awards to be based on a shared responsibility for paying for 
the recognized cost of attendance. OHE determines a student's award amount 
according to the following formula: 

Grant Amount = Cost of Attendance -ASR -AFR - Pell Grants 

The components of this formula are defined as follows: 
• The cost of attendance is equal to the amount of tuition and fees up to a cap 

set by the legislature each biennium plus an allowance, also set each 
biennium, for living and miscellaneous expenses (LME). 

• . The assigned student responsibility (ASR) is at least 50 percent of the cost 
of attendance. 



How is the state 
grant program 
funded? 

Are eligible 
students entitled to 
a state grant? 

How do grants 
compare to 
enrollment at state 
postsecondary 
institutions? 

• The assigned family responsibility (AFR) is the amount the F AFSA 
determines a student's family should contribute toward the student's 
education. For the purposes of the state grant, the family responsibility 
number determined by the F AFSA is multiplied by either 50 percent, 86 
percent, or 96 percent for students who are independent, independent 
without children, or dependent. 

• Pell grants is the federal Pell grant amount for which a student is eligible. 

If the legislature does not to establish a tuition cap or LME, both numbers are set at 
an amount established in statute. In such a case, the tuition and fees cap is equal to 
the highest tuition and fees charged by a public two- or four-year institution, and the 
LME is the federal poverty guideline for a one-person household in Minnesota for 
nine months. Because the legislature did not specify a tuition cap or LME for the 
fiscal year 2016-2017 biennium, these statutory levels will be in effect. 

The legislature appropriates money from the general fund to OHE for the state grant 
program based on OHE's estimate of what is needed to fully fund projected grant 
awards. State law allows OHE to carry a balance from the first year of the biennium 
to the second year and authorizes the transfer of money to and from other financial 
aid programs. Surplus appropriations may be used to increase the LME or the tuition 
cap. 

Under state law, the state grant program is not an entitlement. OHE must award 
grants based on available funding. If funding is insufficient to make full awards, 
OHE is required, by law, to reduce all grants by adding a surcharge to the family 
responsibility and increasing the student's responsibility by a percentage. 

The graphs below summarize participation in the state grant program in fiscal year 
2014. MnSCU two-year schools have the most state grant recipients, but they 
receive smaller grants on average; this is because tuition at two-year MnSCU 
schools is relatively low. University of Minnesota students receive the largest 
awards on average, while private nonprofit schools receive the most state grant 
dollars in total. 

State Grant Recipients and Award Amounts by Institution Type, FY 2014 
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Data from the Office of Higher Education, State Grant End-of-Year Statistics, FY 2014. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Sean Williams at 651-296-5053. 
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legal, and information services to the entire House. 
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Small Cities Assistance 

In 2015 the legislature established a new formula-based transportation aid program for the 704 smaller cities 
in Minnesota that do not receive municipal state-aid street funds. Minn. Stat. § 162.145. Funds are for 
construction and maintenance of roads. Aid in fiscal year 2016 totaled $12.5 million. 

Background 

Funding 

Requirements 

Administration 

The main transportation-related state program for cities is municipal state-aid street 
(MSAS) funding, which forms part of a constitutional framework for transportation 
finance. However, under the constitution the funds are limited to cities having a 
population of at least 5,000. Minn. Const. art. XIV, § 8. The vast majority of 
cities fall below this population threshold and do not receive MSAS funds. 

From 2005 to 2013, supplemental aid for cities under 5,000 population had been 
provided as part of the local government aid (LGA) formula. Aid amounts were 
calculated on a per capita basis, and in later years, an offset was determined based 
on a city's taxing capacity. The aid component was eliminated in 2013 in 
conjunction with adopting a new LGA formula. Laws 2013, ch. 143, art. 2, § 36. 

The program is funded by a fiscal year 2016 general fund appropriation of $12.5 
million made as part of the biennial transportation budget. Laws 2015, ch. 7 5, art. 
1, § 3, subd. 4. This is a onetime amount with no base appropriation (although 
some legislators indicated intent to identify continued funding during a future 
legislative session). 

Aid conditions and characteristics include the following: 

• Eligibility is limited to cities that are not receiving MSAS street funds, 
which for the most part means those that have a population of under 5,000 

• Aid is restricted to construction and maintenance of roads and bridges on 
projects located at least partially within the city 

• Funds can be used for various aspects of a road project, such as land 
· acquisition as well as design and engineering work, and can be put towards 
a city's share on county or state road projects 

• There is not a specified timeline for when funds must be used 
• Except for work on state-aid system streets or highways, the state-aid 

design and engineering standards do not apply 
• Funds are distributed as block grants rather than on a reimbursement basis 
• The city must comply with required financial reporting to the State Auditor 

and maintain records on aid spending (otherwise, funds can be withheld) 

Assistance is jointly administered by two state agencies. Formula calculations are 
handled by Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT), while aid is 
distributed by the Department of Revenue in conjunction with administration of 



Aid formula 

Allocation of aid 

LGA. Payments are generally made in two equal installments, by July 20 and 
December 26 in the fiscal year in which the funds are appropriated (with a small 
difference in 2015 payments due to a recalculation made following the July 
apportionment). 

The aid is formula based, so that cities do not apply or compete for funds. The 
distribution formula contains four components: 

• 10 percent of the funds available in each year is divided equally among all 
eligible cities 

• 35 percent is allocated proportionally based on each city's population 
• 35 percent is allocated proportionally based on each city's municipal street 

lane miles 
• 25 percent is split proportionally in an amount that declines based on lane­

miles of county state-aid highway (CSAH) located within each city, so that 
this aid component reduces (down to $0) as a city's CSAH lane-miles 
increases 

Another feature of the formula is that a city cannot receive more than 3.5 times the 
average aid being provided. For fiscal year 2016, this cap amounts to $62,145 per 
city. 

Funds are distributed among 704 cities throughout Minnesota. For fiscal year 
2016, financial assistance ranged from about $5,000 to a little over $62,000. The 
average amount was a little under $18,000, or $19 per capita. About one-third of 
the cities received under $10,000, and ten cities were at the distribution cap. 
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For more information: Contact legislative analyst Matt Burress at 651-296-5045. Also see the House 
Research publication Municipal State-Aid Street System, September 2015. 
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Municipal State-Aid Street System 

Cities receive assistance from the state for construction and maintenance of streets that are part of the 
municipal state-aid street system. Funding is via a portion of constitutionally dedicated, transportation­
related taxes, and is distributed following a statutory formula. Calendar year 2015 aid is at $170.7 million. 

System overview 

Constitutional 
framework for aid 

Eligibility based on 
population 

Other assistance to 
ineligible cities 

Program 
administration 

The municipal state-aid street (MSAS) system is a collection of key streets located 
in 148 Minnesota cities. They comprise many of the higher traffic volume and key 
connecting roads in a city. At roughly 3, 700 miles, state-aid streets constitute a 
little under a quarter of all miles of city streets. There are restrictions on the size of 
the MSAS system within each city. Minn. Stat.§ 162.09. 

The Minnesota Constitution establishes a basic framework for state highway 
finance. Among its features, the constitution dedicates specific transportation­
related taxes to transportation purposes; allocates tax revenues by formula among 
state, county, and municipal roads; and creates a MSAS fund for financial 
assistance to cities. Minn. Const. art. XIV. 

For a city to have streets included in the state-aid system and receive MSAS funds, 
it must have a population over 5,000, which is a requirement under the Minnesota 
Constitution. Minn. Const. art. XIV,§ 8. Population is determined by the last 
federal decennial census or most recent estimates. There are provisions for some 
circumstances, including: 

• an exception for Chisholm, whose population fell below the cutoff with the 
2000 census but is permanently grandfathered in; and 

• a transition period that provides continued aid to a city that had been 
receiving assistance but whose population dropped below the cutoff in a 
decennial census (the provision applies to two cities for 2015, which is the 
last transition year in this decade). Minn. Stat. § 162.09, subd. 4 (f); Laws 
2001, 1st spec. sess., ch. 8, art. 2, § 6; Laws 2002, ch. 364, § 29. 

While cities having a population under 5,000 are not eligible for MSAS funds, in 
2015 the legislature established a small cities assistance program (funded at $12.5 
million in fiscal year 2016). Also, such smaller cities are indirectly assisted 
through state aid to counties: a share of state funds for the county state-aid 
highway system must be allocated to a municipal account for use on those county 
state-aid highways located within smaller cities. Minn. Stat. § 162.08, subd. 1. 

The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) administers the state-aid 
program. MnDOT determines amounts annually based on a combination of tax 
receipts to date and estimates of future receipts. Aid apportionment amounts are 
released each January and distributed on a calendar-year basis. 



MnDOT also adopts administrative rules governing the program, which cover 
areas such as minimum roadway design and engineering standards, design variance 
procedures, apportionment between construction and maintenance, and contract 
and bidding requirements. Minn. Rules, ch. 8820. While the agency oversees aid 
distribution and provides technical assistance, both prioritization of road projects 
and their development are under the purview of each city. 

Allocation of funds MSAS funds are allocated as aid and for other purposes (such as administrative 
costs) based on mu_ltiple formulas in state law. For calendar year 2015, MSAS 
funding is $170.7 million, but a cap on the amount retained in a disaster account 
yielded just over $4 million in additional funds (so the amounts below will add up 
to more than the 2015 funding). Allocations consist of: 

Aid apportionment 
formula 

• $170. 7 million apportioned by formula as direct aid to cities; 

• $3 .4 million for MnDOT agency expenses; and 

• $773,000 to a research account. Minn. Stat.§§ 162.12, 162.13. 

Money in the MSAS fund apportioned to cities as direct aid follows a formula 
created in state statute, so that: 

• 50 percent is divided proportionally based on the population of each city 
(compared to the total for all municipal state-aid cities); and 

• 50 percent is divided proportionally based on construction needs for each 
city, the calculation of which is structured to enable comparison across the 
cities (and does not identify total costs to bring municipal state-aid streets 
up to state standards). Needs calculations submitted by cities are reviewed 
by a screening board composed of city engineers. Minn. Stat. § 162.13. 

Distribution to cities Owing to the variety of MSAS cities, calendar year 2015 direct aid ranged from 
about $179,000 to nearly $15.6 million ($28 to $90 on a per capita basis). The 
average was just over $1 million, with 48 cities receiving less than $500,000 each 
and 19 cities receiving over $2 million. Because of the weight of population in the 
aid formula, larger cities tend to receive greater shares of aid. 
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For more information: See the House Research publications Highway Finance, October 2014, and Small 
Cities Assistance, September 2015. 
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Child Care Licensing 

To protect the health, safety, and welfare of children in child care settings, state law specifies certain 
requirements for the licensing of child care programs. Licensure of child care programs is governed by 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A, and related rules. 

Who must be 
licensed? 

State law prohibits an individual, corporation, or other organization from providing 
child care services without a state license. Operating a child care program without 
a license is a misdemeanor. In general, both child care centers and family child 
care homes must be licensed, and specific licensing requirements apply to each 
type of program. 

Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 2, specifies certain exceptions to 
the general requirement that child care providers must be licensed. Under these 
exceptions, the following types of child care are considered to be legal nonlicensed 
child care, for which a provider does not need a license: 

~ services provided to children who are related to the child care provider 

~ services provided by an unrelated individual to children from a single 
related family member 

~ programs operated by a public school for children 33 months or older 

~ services provided for children for periods of less than three hours a day 
while the child's parent is in the same or contiguous building 

~ recreation programs for children that are operated or approved by a park 
and recreation board 

~ programs operated by a school, YMCA, YWCA, or JCC whose primary 
purpose is to provide child care or services to school-age children 

~ Head Start nonresidential programs that operate for less than 45 days in 
a year 

~ services provided to children for a cumulative total of less than 30 days 
in any 12-month period 

~ programs for children such as scouting, boys clubs, girls clubs, sports 
and arts programs 

~ the religious instruction of school-age children 

~ Sabbath or Sunday schools, or congregate care of children of any age 
by a church, congregation, or religious society during the period the 
church, congregation, or religious society uses for its regular worship 

~ programs operated by an accredited nonpublic school for children 33 
months or older for no more than four hours per day per child, with no 
more than 20 children present at one time 



What is the purpose 
of licensing? 

What are the roles 
of state 
and local 
governments in the 
licensing process? 

~ programs operated by a nonprofit organization that provides structured, 
supervised youth development and educational opportunities for youth 
in kindergarten through grade 12 

The state's licensing process is designed to ensure that licensed child care 
programs meet certain health, safety, and supervision standards, child-to-staff 
ratios, and other requirements. 

The licensing process also requires child care providers to pass a background 
study. If a background study reveals that an individual has committed certain 
crimes, maltreated a child or vulnerable adult, or engaged in certain conduct, the 
Commissioner of Human Services may disqualify the individual from direct 
contact with children served in the licensed child care program. 

In addition, all licensed child care providers are mandated reporters under the 
state's Maltreatment of Minors Act. This means that a child care worker who 
knows or has reason to believe that a child is being neglected or abused must report 
the abuse or neglect to the local law enforcement, social services agency, or 
licensing agency. (For additional information about child abuse reporting 
requirements, see the House Research Department information brief Overview of 
the Maltreatment of Minors Act.) 

Both state and local government have a role in child care program licensing. The 
Minnesota Department of Human Services (DRS): 

~ issues licenses to all child care programs; 

~ conducts licensing inspections and investigates complaints and 
allegations of licensing violations or child maltreatment in child care 
centers; and 

~ conducts background studies of individuals who have direct contact 
with children served by licensed child care centers. 

The local county social services or human servi'ces agency: 

~ performs specified licensing functions for family and group family 
child care homes under authority specified under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 245A.16; 

~ conducts licensing inspections and investigates complaints and 
allegations of licensing violations or child maltreatment in family and 
group family child care homes; and 

~ conducts background studies of individuals who have direct contact 
with children served by licensed family and group family child care 
homes. 

Who should Individuals who have questions about child care center licensing should call the 
individuals call if Licensing Division at DRS at 651-431-6500, and those who have questions about 
they have questions? family child care licensing should contact their local county agency. 
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Mining Taxes 

Mines and facilities used in the production of taconite are exempt from the 
property tax. In lieu of the property tax, the iron mining industry pays a 
production tax based on the tons of taconite produced. The industry is also 
exempt from the corporate franchise tax and instead pays an occupation tax. 

As reported by Department of Revenue; 
Mining Tax Guide (2014), Minnesota collected 
$142.9 million from taconite-related taxes in 
2014. The breakdown of the taxes is shown in 
the table. In addition, state general fund aid of 
$8.7 million was distributed with the 
production tax revenues. 

Tax 

Production 
Occupation 
Sales & use 
Other 
Total 

amount 
(millions) 

$101.2 
15.8 
24.6 

1.3 
$142.9 

%of 
total 
70.8% 
11.1% 
17.2% 
0.9% 

The occupation tax is similar in structure to the corporate franchise tax-the tax 
applies to a synthetic measure of profits from only the corporation's mining 
operations-yet there are some key differences. The occupation tax rate of 2.45 
percent is lower than the regular corporate rate of 9. 8 percent. This lower rate can 
be seen as compensation for the statutory requirement that all taconite sales (which 
occur out of state and would not therefore be used to determine how much income 
is taxable under the franchise tax) are deemed to be Minnesota sales. 

The following are some of the key features of the production tax: 

• The tax is computed using a tax rate, expressed as a dollar amount per 
taxable ton oftaconite production ($2.56 for production year 2013, 
distributed in 2014). The tax rate is set in state law, not by local levy 
decisions, and is indexed for inflation. For 2014 production, the rate was 
$2.597 per ton. 

• The tax base is taxable tons, computed using a three-year average to keep 
the tax base stable. For example, tons produced in calendar years 2011, 
2012, and 2013 are used to compute taxable tons for production year 2013, 
distributed in 2014 (39.6 million tons). 

• The state calculates the tax amounts and notifies each mining company how 
much to pay. 

• Payments are due in two equal installments by February 24 and August 24. 

• The state notifies the counties of the distribution to each city, town, and 
school district, and the county then pays each affected local government. 

• A 22-cent per ton state general fund payment supplements distributions of 
production tax revenues. For the 2014 distribution, this amount was $8.7 
million. This increased the total distribution by about 6.1 percent. 
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Because it is in lieu of the property tax, the taconite production tax is paid to local 
governments and is a major revenue source for counties, cities, towns, and school 
districts located in the "taconite relief area." The taconite relief area includes all or 
a portion of Cook, Lake, St. Louis, Itasca, Aitkin, Crow Wing, and Koochiching 
counties. Part of the revenue is also paid to the Iron Range Resources and 
Rehabilitation Board (IRRRB), a state agency that conducts a variety of operations 
on the Iron Range. 

The formula for distributing production tax revenues is specified in statute and is 
generally defined on a cents-per-taxable-ton (CPT) basis. By statute, the 
remainder goes to the Douglas J. Johnson economic protection trust fund (DJJ) and 
the taconite environmental protection fund (TEPF). The 2014 tax was distributed 
as follows: 

Distribution Amounts<a> 
Cities and townships $14,911,750 
School districts 21,426,698 
Counties 14,502,580 
Property tax relief and misc. 13,783,501 
IRRRB 45,081,882 
Range Association of Municipalities and Schools 142,382 
Hockey Hall of Fame 79,216 
Total $109,928,009(b) 
(a) Amounts are as calculated by the Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on 
data from the Minnesota Department of Revenue. 
(b) Includes state aid from the general fund in the amount of $8,713,708. 

The amount of taxes has increased in recent years along with increasing production 
rates and taxable tons. 

Amount (in millions) 
Production Distribution Levied on 

. year year companies State aid Total 
2004 2005 79.2 8.2 87.4 
2005 2006 78.6 8.3 86.9 
2006 2007 84.5 8.6 93.1 
2007 2008 85.6 8.5 94.2 
2008 2009 89.6 8.5 98.1 
2009 2010 74.3 6.9 81.2 
2010 2011 72.4 6.7 79.l 
2011 2012 73.3 6.7 80.0 
2012 2013 94.2 8.4 102.6 
2013 2014 101.2 8.7 109.9 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Christopher Kleman at christopher.kleman@house.mn. 
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County State-Aid Highway System 

The county state-aid highway system is a network of key highways under the 
jurisdiction of Minnesota's counties. It covers roughly 30,700 miles ofroadway 
throughout all counties, composing over two-thirds of all county highway miles. 
Counties receive money from the state to assist in the construction, improvement, 
and maintenance of those highways included in the state-aid system. 

State aid is provided through the County State-Aid Highway (CSAH) fund, which 
is established by the Minnesota Constitution. CSAH fund revenue mainly comes 
from taxes on motor fuels, vehicle registration, vehicle sales, and vehicle leases. 
(This briefing does not discuss a "set-aside" to the flexible highway account that 
includes funding_for turnbacks, some of which can also go to counties.) 

Among the requirements accompanying state aid, counties must typically expend 
60 percent on construction projects and 40 percent on maintenance efforts. Minn. 
Rules part 8820.1400. Also, counties are also required to expend a share of their 
aid on stretches of county state-aid highways located within small cities having 
populations under 5,000. Minn. Stat. § 162.08, subd. 1. Generally the expenditure 
amount must be proportional based on the construction needs for county state-aid 
highway segments located in a county's small cities compared to the total 
construction needs for that county's state-aid highways. 

Money in the CSAH fund is administered by the Minnesota Department of 
Transportation (MnDOT). MnDOT determines amounts through a combination of 
tax receipts to date and estimates of future receipts. Aid apportionments are 
released each January and distributed on a calendar-year basis. 

Total funding is $568.6 million in calendar year 2015, allocated as follows. 

• Following statutory requirements, $21.8 million in deductions are set aside 
for purposes related to county highways. They consist of (1) MnDOT 
administrative costs, (2) a disaster account, (3) a research account, and (4) a 
state park roads account. Minn. Stat. § 162.06. 

• A portion of revenue from the motor vehicle lease sales tax is allocated to 
Twin Cities metropolitan area counties-but excludes Hennepin and 
Ramsey counties. The distribution is formula-based, proportional to the 
population of each county (and is allocated separately from direct aid, 
discussed below). Minn. Stat. § 297 A.815. Funds in 2015 are just under 
$18.7 million, or about 3.3 percent of total funding. 

• Direct aid in calendar year 2015 is $528.1 million. For distribution among 
the counties, it is divided into two categories (reflecting distinct revenue 
streams): the apportionment sum and the excess sum. Aid within each 
category is distributed through separate but similar statutory formulas. 
Minn. Stat. § 162.07. 
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Apportionment sum revenue consists of available CSAH fund dollars for direct aid 
that are not identified as part of the excess sum (which is described below). 

The apportionment sum is distributed following a statutory formula, so that: 

• 10 percent of the apportionment sum is divided equally among all counties; 

• 10 percent is proportional based on the number of motor vehicles registered 
in each county (compared to the total for all counties); 

• 30 percent is proportional based on a county's lane-miles in the system; and 

• 50 percent is proportional based on construction needs for each county, the 
calculation of which is structured to enable comparison across the counties 
(and does not identify total costs to bring county state-aid highways up to 
state standards). Needs calculations submitted by counties are reviewed by 
a screening board composed of county engineers. Minn. Stat.§ 162.07. 

The excess sum was established as a second allocation component in 2008 
legislation. Laws 2008, ch. 152. Excess sum revenue consists of the total from 
three sources (which largely represent increased funding for transportation due to 
changes made in 2006 to 2008): 

• Revenue from motor fuels tax above the amount collected at a rate of 20 
cents per gallon 

• Revenue from the registration tax above the amount collected in fiscal year 
2008 as adjusted for inflation 

• Revenue from the motor vehicle sales tax above the percentage allocated to 
the CSAH fund in fiscal year 2007. Minn. Stat. § 162.07, subd. la. 

The excess sum is also distributed by formula, with: 

• 40 percent of funds allocated in proportion to each county's share of the 
total number of motor vehicles registered; 

• 60 percent in proportion to each county's share of construction needs. 

Reg. 
19.3% 

Minn. Stat. § 162.07. 
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Legislation in 2015 eliminated the formula-based calculation of the excess sum 
revenue amount; starting with calendar year 2016 distributions, 68 percent of direct 
aid will be allocated under the appointment sum formula and 32 percent goes under 
the excess sum formula. Laws 2015, ch. 75, art. 2, § 12. 

The Research Departmentof the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, 
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Minnesota Speed Limits 

Speed limits in Minnesota are set by state statute, with various circumstances 
where the default limits can be modified. The statutory speed limits are: 65 or 70 
m.p.h. for interstates (depending on whether it is, respectively, within or outside 
an urbanized area of at least 50,000); 65 m.p.h. on divided highways with 
controlled access; 30 m.p.h. in an "urban district," which is any segment of a city 
street or town road with structures spaced less than 100 feet apart for a minimum 
distance of a quarter-mile; 10 m.p.h. for alleys, mobile home parks, and 
campgrounds; and a 55 m.p.h. default on other roads. Minn. Stat.§§ 169.011; 
169.14, subd. 2; 327.27, subd. 2. 

The limit increases by 10 m.p.h. when passing on two-lane highways posted at 55 
m.p.h. or higher. Other limits apply for some specific vehicles. Minn. Stat. §§ 
169.14, subd. 2a; 169.801. A 40-m.p.h. minimum speed applies on interstates. 

State law also mandates that "no person shall drive a vehicle on a highway at a 
speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions." Minn. Stat. § 
169.14, subd. 1. The provision can also obligate a motorist to lower the speed of 
travel, particularly if there are dangerous conditions such as snow. 

The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) has the authority to 
establish speed zones in which the speed limit is higher or lower than the default 
limits set in statute. Zones can be established after MnDOT conducts an 
engineering and traffic investigation, which analyzes factors like roadway design 
and characteristics, traffic volume, crash history, and observed speeds. MnDOT's 
policy is that the limit should normally be set near the 85th percentile of vehicle 
speeds (that is, the speed at or below which 85 percent of vehicles travel). Minn. 
Stat. § 169.14, subd. 5. 

Cities, counties, and towns have limited power over setting speed limits, even on 
streets and highways under their own jurisdiction. If requested by a local road 
authority, MnDOT performs an engineering and traffic study of the road. 
However, MnDOT-not the local authority-determines the safe and reasonable 
speed limit as well as whether to establish a speed zone. 

There are other exceptions that provide for adjusting the statutory speed limits. 

If MnDOT sets a speed zone for a city street or town road in an "urban 
district" (defined above) that is at least a quarter-mile long, the city or 
town can lower the limit to 30 m.p.h. Minn. Stat.§ 169.14, subd. Sb. 

On a residential roadway, a local road authority may reduce the speed 
limit to 25 m. p.h. A "residential roadway" is a city street or town road 
whose total length is up to a half-mile. Minn. Stat. § 169.011, subd. 64. 

In a rural residential district, a local road authority may reduce the speed 
limit to 35 m.p.h. A "rural residential district" is a city street or town road 
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segment with residential houses spaced less than 300 feet apart for a 
minimum distance of a quarter-mile. Minn. Stat.§ 169.011, subd. 69a. 

In school zones a local road authority may, based on an engineering study, 
prescribe a speed limit that is not less than 1 S m.p.h., and is no more than 
30 m.p.h. below the surrounding limit. Minn. Stat. § 169.14, subd. Sa. 

Subject to various requirements, speed limits can be adjusted on other 
roadways, including: (1) park roads (at not less than lS m.p.h., or more 
than 20 m.p.h. below the surrounding limit, and subject to a MnDOT 
engineering and traffic study); (2) on streets that have a designated bicycle 
lane (at not less than 2S m.p.h.); (3) in alleys; and (4) in mobile home 
parks (at over 10 but no more than 30 m.p.h.). Minn. Stat. §§ 160.263, 
subd. 4; 169.14, subds. Sc and Se; 327.27. 

Changes in 2014 modified how speed limits are adjusted in work zones. Minn. 
Stat.§ 169.14, subd. Sd. 

An existing speed limit of SO m.p.h. or higher is adjusted down to 45 
m. p.h. when a least one lane of traffic is closed and workers are present, 
although there are various exceptions to the provision. 

Without an engineering and traffic study, both MnDOT and local road 
authorities can reduce the limits when workers are present, with 
restrictions on the extent of a reduction depending on the existing limit. 

Speeding is generally a petty misdemeanor, carrying a base fine that normally 
ranges from $40 to $150, and with no prison sentence. The fine is $300 for a 
violation in a work zone. The fine is doubled ifthe violation (1) occurs in a 
school zone, (2) involves speeds of 20 m.p.h. or more above the posted limit, or 
(3) occurs when passing a parked emergency vehicle with flashing lights. If a 
speeding violation is committed in a manner that endangers persons or property, 
it can be charged as a misdemeanor. In addition to the base fine, a $75 court 
surcharge is imposed for speeding convictions and there can be a law library fee. 
Minn. Stat.§§ 169.14; 169.89, subd. 1; 3S7.021, subd. 6. 

A driver's license will be revoked for at least six months for driving over 100 
m.p.h. Minnesota does not use a point system that triggers removal of driving 
privileges. However, multiple speeding or other traffic violations within a year 
can lead to loss ofa license. Minn. Stat.§§ 169.14, subd. la; 169.89; 171.17. 

A provision originally known as the "Dimler amendment" governs when 
speeding violations are recorded on the motorist's driving record maintained by 
the Department of Public Safety. Minn. Stat. § 171.12, subd. 6. Such records are 
accessible to insurance companies. (The courts keep records separately.) 

Speeding violations stay off of a driving record if the driver did not exceed: 

~ )0 m.p.h. over the speed limit in a 5S m.p.h. zone; or 

S m.p.h. over the limit in a 60 m.p.h. zone (which had temporarily 
increased to 10 m.p.h. above the limit during part of2012 to 2014). 

The prohibition on recording violations does not apply if: (1) the speed limit is 
below SS m. p.h. or is 6S m. p.h. or higher; (2) the speeding violation occurred in a 
commercial motor vehicle; or (3) the driver holds a commercial driver's license. 
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Dual credit programs under the Postsecondary Enrollment Options Act allow 
Minnesota high school students to earn college credit while in high school (Minn. 
Stat. § 124D. l 9). These programs include the postsecondary enrollment options 
(PSEO) program where college faculty teach the dual credit course at the college 
or online, and concurrent enrollment and early and middle college programs where 
college-approved high school teachers or college faculty teach the dual credit 
course at the high school. 

Interested high school students may take general education courses in various 
fields and career and technical education courses for specific occupations. 
Students are limited in the number of dual credit courses they can take. Students 
who complete a sufficient number of dual credits may earn both their high school 
diploma and a college credential, such as an occupational diploma or associate 
degree. Students who earn dual credits may also complete Minnesota transfer 
curriculum requirements-40 credits of lower division general education courses 
accepted by the University of Minnesota and Minnesota State Colleges and 
Universities (MnSCU). Under transfer curriculum requirements, once a high 
school student receives college credit at one MnSCU institution, all MnSCU 
institutions must recognize the credit. 

The Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) pays postsecondary institutions 
directly for each high school student who takes a PSEO course at the 
postsecondary institution. The tuition payment equals the actual tuition amount or, 
for a full-time student, 88 percent of the adjusted basic formula allowance for a 
student for that year, whichever is less. The school district where the student is 
enrolled receives 12 percent of the total revenue for that student in that year. 
Payments for part-time students are pro-rated. 

Minnesota's PSEO program allows public school students in grades 10, 11, and 12, 
and nonpublic and home school students in grades 11 and 12 to earn· dual, high 
school and college credits. High school students, who participate in the PSEO 
program on a full- or part-time basis, take courses taught by a college instructor at 
a postsecondary institution or online. Tenth grade students who demonstrate 8th 
grade reading proficiency may take career and technical education ( CTE) courses 
at a MnSCU institution. Students do not pay tuition or fees or for required 
textbooks. 

Minnesota postsecondary institutions eligible to participate in the PSEO and other 
dual credit programs include: two-year and four-year public postsecondary 
institutions; private, nonprofit two-year trade and technical schools granting 
associate degrees; industrialization centers accredited by the North Central 
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Association of Colleges and Schools; and private, residential, two-year or four­
year, liberal arts, degree-granting Minnesota colleges and universities. 

Participating higher education institutions set their own requirements for eligible 
students to enroll in PSEO courses. For example, MnSCU institutions require 11th 
grade PSEO students to be in the upper one-third of their class or to score at or 
above the 70th percentile on the ACT or SAT and 12th grade PSEO students to be 
in the upper half of their class or to score above the 50th percentile on the ACT or 
SAT. If a MnSCU institution refuses to enroll a PSEO student, that student may 
apply to an eligible institution offering a CTE course and, if the student receives a 
grade of "C" or better in the CTE course, that institution must allow the student to 
take additional PSEO courses for secondary credit. 

Minnesota's concurrent enrollment program allows public school students in 
grades 9, 10, 11, and 12 to also earn dual, high school and college credits by taking 
courses taught at their high school either by college-approved high school teachers 
or college faculty. Ninth and 10th grade students may take these courses if (1) the 
enrolling school district and the participating postsecondary institution agree to 
enroll the student, or (2) the course is a world languages course available to 11th 
and 12th grade students and consistent with state world languages standards, 
certificates, and seals. 

Concurrent enrollment courses include College in the Schools (CIS) and other 
program titles. These courses are provided and funded under a contract between a 
public school board and an eligible public or private postsecondary institution. 
The contract sets the amount the high school will reimburse the college or 
university for its costs in helping the district deliver the course. A small amount of 
state concurrent enrollment aid helps districts defray their costs for delivering the 
course at the high school. 

The early and middle college programs allow at-risk high school students to earn 
both a high school diploma and postsecondary credits leading to certification or an 
associate' s degree, or up to two years of credit toward a four-year degree. Students 
in the graduation incentives program who enroll in a middle or early college 
program to complete remedial, developmental, or other noncollege level courses 
may receive developmental college credit but not college credit for completing 
these courses. MDE may pay postsecondary institutions for their participation in 
these programs or payment may be set in a contract between a district and an 
eligible postsecondary institution. State-approved alternative programs that 
provide developmental courses to full-time 11th and 12th grade students in 
partnership with an eligible postsecondary institution also may be eligible for state 
payments. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. For more detailed 
information, see the Minnesota Department of Education document, "Postsecondary Enrollment Options 
(PSEO) Reference Guide," June 2015. 
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The Child Care Grant Program provides financial assistance to resident postsecondary students to reduce 
the costs of child care. The program is administered by the Office of Higher Education (OHE). 
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To receive a grant, a student must meet all of the following conditions: 

• Be a Minnesota resident or the spouse of a Minnesota resident 
• Have one or more children age 12 or under (14 or under if disabled) who 

receive regular care from a licensed or legal nonlicensed child care provider 
• Have family income below the thresholds established by OHE, but not receive 

assistance from the Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) 
• Have not earned a bachelor's degree or been enrolled full-time for more than 

eight semesters 
• Be enrolled at least halftime in a nonsectarian program leading to an 

undergraduate degree, diploma, or certificate 
• Be in good academic standing and making satisfactory academic progress 

State law and rules limit participation in the program to these categories of institutions: 

• Public postsecondary colleges and universities 
• Private, baccalaureate degree-granting colleges and universities 
• Nonprofit, degree-granting vocational-technical institutions 

For-profit schools that do not offer bachelor's degrees are ineligible for the program. 

A student's grant amount depends on the income of the student and his or her spouse, 
and the size of the student's family. Students with family incomes below a threshold 
established by the Commissioner of Higher Education receive the maximum grant 
amount per child. Students with incomes above the threshold receive the maximum 
amount minus 10 percent of their income above the threshold. 

The maximum award per child is set in statute at $2,800. If appropriations for the 
first year of the biennium are unspent, the Commissioner of Higher Education may use 
unspent funds to increase the maximum award in the second year of the biennium. 
Students with more than one eligible child receive a grant equal to the per child amount 
times the number of eligible children. 

Each year, state law requires the Commissioner of Higher Education to set the income 
threshold for the program at a level expected to fully expend the state appropriation 
for the program. The threshold is expressed as a percentage of the federal poverty 
guidelines for a given family size. 
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In the 2015-2016 academic year, the commissioner set the income threshold for the 
maximum per child grant at 185 percent of the 2015 federal poverty line. The table 
below shows how this threshold affects awards for students of different family sizes. 

Income Thresholds for Child Care Grants by Family Size, 2015-2016 

Family Size of Student 

Familr Size 2 3 4 5 

Students with family incomes at or below this $29,000 $37,000 $44,000 $52,000 
amount receive the maximum award 

Students with family incomes above this $56,000 $63,000 $71,000 $79,000 
amount receive no award 

In recent years, appropriations have not changed, while participation has fallen. 

Child Care Grant Program Trends 
Award Total Grants Students Average Maximum 
Year Appropriations Awarded Awarded Award Award 

09-10 $6,684,000 $6,246,159 2,866 $2,179 $2,600 

10-11 $6,684,000 $6,523,921 3,042 $2, 145 $2,600 

11-12 $6,684,000 $5,828,199 2,863 $2,036 $2,600 

12-13 $6,684,000 $5,649,041 2,666 '$2, 119 $2,800 

13-14 $6,684,000 $4,927,539 2,241 $2,035 $2,800 

14-15 $6,684,000 $5,768,437 2,186 $2,639 $3,800* 
*In 2014-2015 the commissioner used unspent appropriations from the previous year to increase the 
maximum award to $3,800 from the statutory level of $2,800. This increase does not carry forward. 

As a result of declining participation, OHE has not disbursed the full state 
appropriation for the program. As a result, the 2015 Legislature changed the income 
guidelines for participation in the program. Under the new law, the Commissioner of 
Higher Education must adjust the income guidelines to a level that is expected to fully 
expend the state appropriation. These changes take effect in the 2015-2016 award 
year. 

OHE allocates funds to postsecondary institutions based on the number of students 
with dependent children at each institution. OHE estimates the number of students with 
dependent children based on applications to the State Grant Program. Institutions may 
disburse funds to a child care provider or directly to a student. 

Higher education students with children may be eligible for the Basic Sliding Fee 
(BSF) child care assistance program administered by the Department of Human 
Services. Students who meet the income and other criteria are eligible, on a space­
available basis, in the county where they live. Typically, more families are eligible for 
BSF assistance than can be served with the state and federal appropriations. 
Postsecondary students tend to be a lower priority for assistance than working families. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Sean Williams at 651-296-5053. 
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Aeronautics System 

Minnesota's publicly funded aeronautics system consists of 135 airports 
throughout the state, nine of which provide scheduled commercial flights. The 
Metropolitan Airports Commission operates the Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport 
along with six reliever airports in the Twin Cities metropolitan area. In Greater 
Minnesota, airports are typically owned by a city, although owners include 
city/county partnerships, airport authorities, and townships. 

The state airports fund is the primary avenue for state aeronautics funding. By 
law, revenue from specified taxes related to aviation activities is dedicated to the 
fund. Money in the fund is mainly appropriated to the Minnesota Department of 
Transportation (MnDOT) in each biennial transportation budget. 

Preliminary fiscal year 2015 revenue to the state airports fund totals $27.0 
million, primarily from four key sources of state funding as outlined below. 

Aviation fuel tax. An aviation fuel tax applies to fuel used in aircraft. The rate 
is five cents per gallon for aviation gasoline and 15 cents per gallon for jet fuel 
(increased from five cents as of fiscal year 2015). Minn. Stat. § 296A.09. There 
is a refund for purchases by commercial airlines that pay the airline flight 
property tax (which is discussed below). Minn. Stat. § 296A.l 7. The refund in 
effect reduces the tax as more fuel is purchased; rates in the following table 
apply for the fuel purchased within each range. 

Amount of Fuel (gallons) 

1 - 50,000 
50,001--,- 150,000 
150,001 -200,000 
200,001 and over 

Tax After Refund (per gallon) 

5¢ 
2¢ 
1¢ 
1/2¢ 

Aircraft registration tax. An annual registration tax is imposed on 
noncommercial aircraft based in Minnesota or used in the state for more than 60 
days a year. Beginning in fiscal year 2015, the tax is determined following a 
schedule based on the aircraft manufacturer's original list price, as summarized 
below (previously the tax depreciated with aircraft age). Minn. Stat.§ 360.531. 

List Price 

Up to $500,000 
$500,001 - $1,000,000 
$1,000,001 - $2,500,000 
$2,500,001 - $40,000,000 
$40,000,001 and over 

$100 
$200 
$2,000 

Tax 

$4,000 - $50,000 (various) 
$75,000 

Airline flight property tax. The airline flight property tax is paid on aircraft 
and associated equipment owned by airlines that provide commercial air service. 



In computing the tax, the airlines' tax capacity is multiplied by an adjustable tax 
rate. The rate is set annually to cover the difference between appropriations 
from the state airports fund and available money in the fund from other sources 
(mainly revenue from other aeronautics-related taxes). Minn. Stat. § 270.075. 

Sales tax. Starting with fiscal year 2014, proceeds from the state's general sales 
tax collected on aircraft sales go to aviation. Minn. Stat. § 297 A.82, subd. 4a. 

State Aviation Revenue Amounts 
FY 2015 ($27.0 million, preliminary) 

State Aviation Revenue Distribution 
FY 2015 ($27.0 million, preliminary) 
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Legislative changes in 2013 restructured multiple taxes (with some delayed 
effective dates). Laws 2013, ch. 143, art. 5. Among the net results of the 
changes are: (1) a probable increase in total aviation revenue; (2) a shift to sales 
tax revenue as a notable share of aviation funding; (3) rearrangement of 
aviation-related tax burdens (such as for aircraft that use jet fuel); and ( 4) 
reduction in state general fund revenue due to sales tax reallocation. 

In addition to state dollars Minnesota receives federal assistance, primarily 
through the airport improvement program (AIP). AIP grants amounted to $40.6 
million in fiscal year 2015. There are 97 airports that form part of the National 
Plan of Integrated Airport Systems (NPIAS) and are therefore eligible to receive 
aid. MnDOT coordinates grant applications and distributes AIP funds. Grants 
can be used for a variety of capital projects, but operational costs such as salaries 
and equipment are not typically eligible. 

MnDOT' s Office of Aeronautics performs various aviation functions. Fiscal year 
2015 state airports fund expenditures totaled $24.5 million (excluding revolving 
loans). They are summarized below. 

About $10.9 million for the airport construction grant program, which 
funds a share of capital improvements to airport facilities, equipment, and 
runways (with local contribution at percentages set by MnDOT) 

Roughly $4.8 million for the airport maintenance and operation grant 
program, providing formula-based grants to airports for day-to-day 
operations such as snow removal, utilities, and general maintenance 

About $3. 7 million for maintaining navigation and weather systems 

~ Nearly $5.2 million for MnDOT operations and staffing, including 
registering aircraft, inspecting and licensing airports and commercial 
aviation, performing aviation planning, providing technical assistance, 
and providing fee-based air transportation service for state government 
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MinnesotaCare: An Overview 

MinnesotaCare is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) under federal 
guidance as a Basic Health Program that provides subsidized health care coverage to low-income 
individuals. DHS, in cooperation with MNsure, the state's health insurance exchange, is responsible for 
processing applications and determining eligibility. 

Eligibility 

Covered services 

Most MinnesotaCare enrollees are parents· and caretakers, children ages 19 to 
20, and adults without children. 

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, an individual must meet the following 
criteria: 

• Have gross income that is greater than 133 percent of the federal poverty 
guidelines (FPG) ($15,654 for a household of one) but does not exceed 
200 percent ofFPG ($23,340 for a househo~d of one). Exceptions to the 
income floor are made for certain children under age 19 and legal 
noncitizens, who are not eligible for MA. 

• Not be eligible for Medical Assistance (MA). This requirement has the 
effect of shifting the vast majority of pregnant women and children from 
MinnesotaCare to MA. 

• Not have access to subsidized health coverage that, as defined in the 
federal Affordable Care Act (ACA), is affordabl~ (the employee pays no 
more than 9.66 percent of income for self-only coverage for 2016) and 
provides minimum value (pays for at least 60 percent of medical expenses 
on average) . 

. • Not have minimum essential health coverage (defined in the ACA as 
coverage under Medicare, Medicaid and other government programs, 
employer-sponsored coverage, individual market coverage, and other 
specified coverage). 

• Be a resident of Minnesota. Enrollees must meet the residency 
requirements of the MA program. 

Parents and caretakers and adults without children are covered for most, ·but not 
all, services covered under MA. Covered services include physician care, 
hospitalization, prescription drugs, therapy services, and a wide range of other 
health care services. Services not covered include personal care attendant 
services, private duty nursing, nursing home care, ICF/DD (intermediate care 
facility for persons with developmental disabilities), and special transportation 
services. 

Children ages 19 and 20, and certain children under age 19, receive coverage for 
a broader range of services than adults. 
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Enrollees age 21 and older pay monthly, per-person premiums based on a sliding 
scale. Persons under age 21, and persons with incomes less than 3 5 percent of 
FPG, are not charged premiums. Adult enrollees are subject to copayments and 
other cost-sharing for specified services. 

Enrollees receive health care services through prepaid health plans. The 
MinnesotaCare program pays prepaid health plans a monthly capitation payment 
for each MinnesotaCare enrollee. MinnesotaCare does not set provider 
reimbursement rates; these rates are instead the result of negotiation between 
health care providers and the prepaid health plan. 

Under the ACA, states have the option of operating a basic health program to 
provide health coverage to persons with incomes greater than 13 3 percent but 
not exceeding 200 percent of FPG. The 2013 Legislature directed DHS to seek 
federal approval to operate MinnesotaCare as a basic health program. Federal 
approval was received December 15, 2014, with implementation beginning 
January 1, 2015. The legislature also made changes in MinnesotaCare eligibility, 
covered services, and service delivery necessary to meet federal requirements 
for a basic health program; many of these changes took effect January 1, 2014. 

In fiscal year 2014, the MinnesotaCare program paid $520 million for medical 
services provided to enrollees. Forty-seven percent of this cost was paid for by 
the state, 4 7 percent by the federal government, and 6 percent by enrollees 
through premiurri payments (this last category also includes enrollee cost­
sharing). 

Through 2014, the state received federal funding at the MA match rate for health 
care services provided to enrollees under a federal waiver. Since January 1, 
2015, the state has received from the federal government a payment for each 
enrollee equal to 95 percent of the subsidy that the individual would have 
otherwise received through MNsure. 

State funding for MinnesotaCare and other health care access initiatives is 
provided by a tax of 2 percent on the gross revenues of health care providers and 
a tax of 1 percent on the premiums of nonprofit health plan companies. The tax 
on health care provider revenues is scheduled to sunset January 1, 2020. Prior to 
that date, the Commissioner of Management and Budget is required to reduce 
the rate of the tax on health care provider revenues if certain financial criteria 
are met. 

As of August 2015, 120,892 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare 
program. 

MinnesotaCare applications can be obtained by calling the Department of 
Human Services (1-800-657-3672) or MN sure, the state's health insurance 
exchange (1-855-366-7873). Applications are also available at county human 
services agencies and other locations. 

For more information: See the House Research information brief MinnesotaCare. 
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MNsure Subsidized Health Coverage: An Overview 

MN sure, the state's health insurance exchange, was established as part of the implementation of the 
Affordable Care Act (ACA). Individuals who are not eligible for Medical Assistance (MA) or 
MinnesotaCare, with incomes that do not exceed specified guidelines, may be eligible to receive premium 
tax credits and cost-sharing reductions to purchase a qualified health plan through MN sure. 

Qualified health 
plans 

Eligibility for 
premium tax credits 

Calculation and 
amount of premium 
tax credits 

The ACA requires health coverage offered through an exchange to meet the 
standards of a qualified health plan. These standards include providing essential 
health benefits, and complying with certain limitations on cost-sharing. The 
essential health benefits include the following ten categories of items and services: 
ambulatory patient services; emergency services; hospitalization; maternity and 
newborn care; mental health and substance use disorder services including 
behavioral health treatment; prescription drugs; rehabilitation and habilitative 
services and devices; laboratory services; preventive and wellness services and 
chronic disease management; and pediatric services including oral and vision care. 

The ACA requires qualified health plans (and other types of health coverage) to be 
offered at different "metal levels" that correspond to different actuarial values 
(actuarial value is an estimate of the percentage of medical expenses incurred by a 
typical enrollee that will on average be paid by the insurer). These metal levels, 
and corresponding actuarial values, are bronze ( 60 percent actuarial value), silver 
(70 percent), gold (80 percent), and platinum (90 percent). 

In order to be eligible for a premium tax credit through MN sure, an individual 
must: (1) be enrolled in a qualified health plan through MNsure; (2) not be eligible 
for other types of health coverage such as Medical Assistance, MinnesotaCare, 
Medicare, and employer coverage (unless the employer coverage is unaffordable or 
does not provide minimum value); (3) have an income greater than 200 percent but 
not exceeding 400 percent of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG) (e.g., $47,700 to 
$95,400 for a family of four); and ( 4) file a federal income tax return. Individuals 
with incomes below the threshold for premium tax credits may be eligible for MA 
or MinnesotaCare. 

The premium tax credit is ref\mdable-it is available to all who are eligible, even 
persons with little or no income tax liability. Refundable credits in excess of tax 
liability are paid as refunds. 

The amount of a premium tax credit varies from person to person. The premium 
tax credit amount is equal to the difference between the premium cost of the lowest 
cost silver plan in the individual's geographic area (referred to as the benchmark 
plan) and the individual's expected premium contribution. The expected premium 
contribution varies based on income, and for 2015 in Minnesota, ranges between 
6.34 percent of income (for persons with incomes just over 200 percent of FPG) to 
9.56 percent of income (for persons with incomes at 400 percent ofFPG). These 
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percentages are indexed, and for 2016, will range between 6.41 percent and 9.66 
percent of income. The amount of the tax credit is fixed (being calculated in 
reference to the benchmark plan). Persons who choose a higher cost plan through 
MN sure will pay higher premiums after application of the tax credit than persons 
who choose a lower cost plan. 

Individuals apply for premium tax credits and cost-sharing reductions (described 
below) through MN sure, and may claim the tax credit in advance or when filing a 
tax return. If a person claims the credit in advance, the federal government pays the 
tax credit directly to the insurer from whom·the person has purchased coverage. 
The amount of the premium tax credit received in advance is based on an estimate 
of expected income. The amount of the tax credit is reconciled to actual income as 
part of the tax filing process. Persons whose actual income is higher than the 
estimated amount may need to pay back some or all of the advanced tax credits 
received, and persons whose actual income is lower than the estimated amount 
may get a refund when filing taxes or have the amount of taxes owed reduced. The 
amount of excess tax credits received that must be repaid by an individual is 
limited by a dollar cap that increases with income. 

Persons with incomes greater than 200 percent but not exceeding 250 percent of 
FPG, who receive tax credits and purchase a silver-level plan through MNsure, are 
eligible for a cost-sharing reduction. This cost-sharing reduction is provided in the 
form of an increase in the actuarial value of the silver plan to 73 percent (compared 
to a 70 percent actuarial value for a regular silver plan). The increase in actuarial 
value is generally achieved by first reducing the regular silver plan's annual out-of­
pocket limit, and then reducing other cost-sharing as needed. American Indians and 
Alaska Natives are exempt from cost-sharing or are eligible for reduced cost-

. sharing if certain criteria are met. 

The cost of providing premium tax credits and cost-sharing reductions to persons 
purchasing coverage through MN sure is borne by the federal government. Health 
insurers are reimbursed by the federal government for the cost of premium tax 
credits that enrollees receive in advance, and for the cost of any cost-sharing 
reductions provided. 

As of September 13, 2015, 70, 762 individuals were enrolled in a qualified health 
plan through MNsure (additional individuals were enrolled in MA and 
MinnesotaCare through MNsure). Based on July 2015 enrollment data, 55 percent 
of qualified health plan enrollees received premium tax credits and 15 percent 
received cost-sharing reductions. 

Individuals interested in applying for premium tax credits and cost-sharing 
reductions can contact MN sure at 1-855-366-7873 or www.mnsure.org. The 
MN sure website also has information on obtaining face-to-face enrollment 
assistance from a navigator or insurance agent. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639. Also see the House 
Research publication Subsidized Health Coverage through MNsure, October 2015. 
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Medical Assistance: An Overview 

Medical Assistance (MA), the state's Medicaid program, is a federal-state program that pays for health 
care services for low-income individuals. The program is administered by counties, under the 
supervision of the state Department of Human Services (DHS). Federal Medicaid law allows states 
considerable flexibility in designing their Medicaid programs. 

Eligibility To be eligible for MA, an individual must meet the following criteria: 

• Be a member of a group for which MA coverage is mandatory under 
federal law or a member of an optional group that the state has chosen to 
cover. Covered groups include families, children, pregnant women, the 
elderly, persons with disabilities, and adults without children. 

• Meet program income and any applicable asset limits. Certain types of 
income and specified assets are excluded when determining eligibility. 
Income and asset limits for selected groups are described below. 

• Be a U.S. citizen or a noncitizen who meets specified immigration 
criteria. 

• Be a resident of Minnesota. 
• Meet other program eligibility requirements. 

Net income limit, as% of federal 
Eligibility group poverty guidelines (FPG) Asset limit* 

Children < age 2 283 None 

Children 2 through 18 275 None 

Children 19 through 20 133 None 

Pregnant women 278 None 

Parents and caretakers 133 None, unless on 
spenddown 

Aged, blind, or disabled 100 $3,000 for one/$6,000 for 
. two/$200 each additional 

Adults without children 133 None 

* The homestead, household goods, a vehicle, a burial plot and certain assets for burial expenses, 
and other specified items are not counted as assets. 

Individuals with incomes over these limits can also qualify for MA through a 
spenddown. Under a spenddown, an individual must incur medical bills in an 
amount that is equal to or greater than the amount by which the individual's 
income exceeds the spenddown limit of 133 percent of FPG for families and 
children and 75 percent of FPG for individuals who are aged, blind, or disabled 
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(to increase to 80 percent of FPG beginning July 1, 2016). There is no 
spenddown for adults without children. 

The 2013 Legislature made a number of changes in MA eligibility related to the 
federal Affordable Care Act (ACA). These changes included raising the income 
limit and requiring the use of modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) and a 
standard 5 percent income disregard when determining eligibility for certain 
groups, and eliminating the asset requirement for parents and caretakers. 

Minnesota provides all federally mandated services and most services 
designated by the federal Medicaid program as optional. These services include, 
but are not limited to: physician care, hospitalization, therapy and rehabilitation, 
dental, medical equipment and supplies, home health care, health clinic services, 
mental health, prescription drugs, medical transportation, nursing home, and 
intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities (ICF/DD) 
services. Adult enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to copayments for 
certain services. 

The state has also received federal approval to provide home and community­
based "waivered services" not normally covered by Medicaid that are intended 
to allow individuals to remain in the community, rather than reside in a hospital, 
nursing home, or I CF ID D. 

The MA program reimburses providers under both a fee-for-service system and 
a managed care system (composed of the Prepaid Medical Assistance Program 
or PMAP, county-based purchasing initiatives, and programs for the elderly and 
persons with disabilities). 

In state fiscal year 2014, total state and federal MA expenditures for services 
were $9 .265 billion. The federal share of MA costs is determined by a formula 
based on state per capita income. In most fiscal years, the federal government. 
has paid 50 percent of the cost of MA services, with Minnesota responsible for 
the remaining 50 percent. The federal government is providing an enhanced 
federal match, initially 100 percent of the cost of services and phasing down to 
90 percent, for services provided to adults without children. 

During.state fiscal year 2014, an average of 838,256 individuals were eligible 
for MA services each month. As of September 2015, 793,322 MA recipients 
received services through the MA managed care system, with the remaining 
enrollees served through fee-for-service. 

Individuals interested in applying for MA should contact their county human 
services agency or MN sure, the state's health insurance exchange. 

For more information: See the House Research information brief Medical Assistance. 
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State Laws on T·eacher Quality and Effectiveness 

At least five areas of teacher quality and effectiveness are currently prescribed in state statute or rule: teacher 
education and preparation, licensure, development and accountability, compensation, and certification. 

The Minnesota 
Board of Teaching 
approves teacher 
preparation 
programs and 
institutions 

Teachers must 
satisfy teacher 
preparation and 
continuing 
education 
requirements . 

New teachers must 
complete a 
probationary period 

The Minnesota Board of Teaching approves Minnesota colleges and universities 
and their teacher preparation programs. Individuals who complete board-approved 
teacher preparation programs can be recommended for a teaching licensure. The 
board evaluates and approves teacher preparation institutions and programs at least 
once every seven years. The board may grant approval of an institution, grant 
conditional approval pending the institution meeting stated conditions, and revoke 
or suspend an institution or preparation program that does ·not meet the 
requirements in rule. The board also may grant five-year approval of experimental 
teacher preparation programs that meet certain criteria. 

The standards the board uses to evaluate teacher preparation institutions and 
programs are similar to the standards that the National Association for Colleges of 
Teacher Education (NACTE) uses to accredit teacher preparation institutions and 
programs. The board also approves individual licensure programs, such as 
elementary or math education. 

A traditional teacher candidate must complete a board-approved teacher 
preparation program (including student teaching), pass reading, writing, and math 
skills exams and pass exams of general pedagogical knowledge and licensure­
specific teaching skills to receive a teaching license. ·A candidate who completes a 
teacher preparation program in another state may be eligible for a teaching license. 
The board issues licenses for specific circumstances, including a nonrenewable 
license, a temporary limited license, and a short-call (or short-term) substitute teacher 
license. 

A teacher must complete 125 clock hours of continuing education in order to 
renew a five-year profes~ional license for another five-year period. Continuing 
education must include preparation in the key warning signs of early-onset mental 
illness in children and adolescents, further reading preparation, use of positive 
behavior interventions, use of technology, further preparation in English language 
development and content instruction for English learners, and evidence of work 
that demonstrates professional reflection and growth in best teaching practices. 
The board may grant variances to its licensure rules. 

Two statutes govern conditions of continuing employment for licensed teachers: 
Minnesota Statutes, section 122A.40 applies to teachers in public schools 
generally; and Minnesota Statutes, section 122A.41 applies to teachers in the 
Minneapolis, St. Paul, Rochester; and Duluth school districts. A newly licensed 
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probationary teacher must successfully complete three years of continuous 
employment before becoming a continuing contract or tenured teacher. A 
probationary teacher may interrupt the probationary period for maternity, paternity, 
or medical leave. During the probationary period, a school board must formally 
evaluate probationary teachers, but the standards for the evaluations are not 
specified and the school board has considerable discretion in deciding whether to 
renew the probationary .teacher's employment contract. 

Once a teacher receives a continuing contract or tenure, the teacher is entitled to 
employment-related protections, including bumping rights and just cause and due 
process guarantees. The terms "continuing contract rights" and "tenure rights" 
mean that a district may not dismiss a teacher without cause. These terms offer 
equivalent procedural protections and are often used interchangeably. The laws 
require mentoring for probationary teachers and peer coaching for continuing 
contract teachers but do not specify the standards or frequency for these activities. 
The continuing contracts of teachers in nonfirst-class city school districts remain in 
full force and effect unless a circumstance leads the school board to terminate the 
teacher. Tenured teachers in first-class city school districts may be discharged or 
demoted under specified circumstances. 

Beginning in the 2014-2015 school year, local_ school boards and the exclusive 
representative of the teachers must either agree to a three-year process to develop, 
review, and evaluate teachers or implement the state teacher evaluation and peer 
review process. For the first two years, a tenured teacher must have professional 
development opportunities and be r·eviewed by peers. During the third year, a 
trained and qualified evaluator such as a school administrator must undertake a 
summative evaluation of the teacher. 

Q-Comp is a voluntary alternative teacher professional pay system, which allows 
interested districts, school sites, and charter schools and their teachers to develop 
and implement a professional teacher development and compensation plan specific 
to local needs. All Q-Comp plans contain five components: career advancement 
options; job-embedded professional development; an objective teacher evaluation 
plan aligned with the local staff development plan; performance pay that bases at 
least 60 percent of compensation increases for teacher performance on schoolwide 
student achievement gains and individual teacher evaluations; and an alternative 
salary schedule that is reflected in the local collective bargaining agreement and 
requires a "reformed" steps-and-lanes salary schedule. Receipt of Q-Comp funds 
is contingent upon state Department of Education (MDE) approval of a Q-Comp 
plan and the availability of Q-Comp funds. 

The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards has developed 
professional standards for what K-12 classroom teachers should know and be able 
to do. The board ·devised an assessment system and a voluntary certification 
process by which teachers can be certified in 24 fields and developmental levels of 
instruction. National board certification impacts several teacher licensure rules 
related to issuing licenses and fulfilling clock hour requirements. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. 
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Teacher Compensation 

Teacher compensation is the largest education expense in each school district. 
Teacher compensation includes salary, health insurance, and retirement benefits, 
and sometimes other incentives. Health insurance is the single largest cost 
component of teacher compensation after salary. Teacher compensation generally 
.reflects a ratio of about 70 percent salary to 30 percent health care costs and 
retirement benefits, although employee health care costs in individual districts can 
vary. Dental, life, and long-term care insurance are provided in some districts, but 
are comparatively small costs compared to health insurance. 

Most school districts base teacher salary schedules on teachers' educational 
training (known as "lanes") and years of experience (known as "steps"). Some 
districts may partly base teacher compensation on career ladders that pay teachers 
based on their increasing responsibilities within the school or on pay-for­
performance systems that pay teachers based on their contribution toward 
achieving student outcomes and schools' educational goals, their teacher 
performance evaluations, and student test scores. 

Licensed public school teachers in Minnesota are members of the state's Teachers 
Retirement Association (TRA). TRA is a defined benefit plan where retirement 
benefits are determined based on the teacher's retirement age, years of service, and 
top-five consecutive earning years. Teachers currently contribute 7.5 percent of 
their salary to TRA and the school district employer contributes a matching 
amount. Teachers and school districts also make Social Security contributions, 
based on the teacher's salary. 

Districts may offer their teachers incentives in addition to salary and insurance. 
These incentives may include tuition and fee payments, education loan 
repayments, and salary supplements for teachers with additional preparation, such 
as national board-certified teachers. Districts often offer these incentives during 
teachers' initial preparation period or during an additional training period. 

In 2015, the legislature established a statutory loan forgiveness program (Minn. 
Stat. § 136A.1791) for public school teachers teaching in a licensure field and 
economic development region identified by the education commissioner as 
experiencing a teacher shortage. The annual maximum amount of loan forgiveness 
is $1,000 and eligible teachers may apply for loan forgiveness for up to five 
consecutive school years. The legislature appropriated $200,000 in fiscal year 
2016 and $200,000 in fiscal year 2017 for this program. Loan forgiveness is not a 
topic of collective bargaining. 
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The Public Employment Labor Relations Act (PELRA) establishes state collective 
bargaining laws that govern Minnesota public employers and representatives of 
unionized public employees (Minn. Stat. §§ 179A.01-179A.25). PELRA places all 
teachers in a district in one bargaining unit for purposes of negotiating contracts. 
In each school district, the school board and the exclusive representative of the 
teachers negotiate terms and conditions of employment. PELRA requires teachers' 
collective bargaining agreements to be for a two-year term, beginning July 1 in an 
odd-numbered year. 

Teachers' collective bargaining agreements establish teachers' overall compensation, 
including salaries, monetary and nonmonetary incentives, and health insurance 
coverage, for the entire two-year term. Collective bargaining agreements establish the 
number of steps and lanes, and the salaries assigned to each. Another significant 
element of compensation-retirement contributions and benefits-is established by 
law and cannot be bargained. 

In 2005, the legislature established a statutory alternative teacher pay system called 
"Q-Comp" (Minn. Stat.§§ 122A.413-122A.416). This voluntary program allows 
districts, ~chools, and teachers to design and collectively bargain a plan that 
includes career ladder/advancement options, job-embedded professional 
development, teacher evaluation, performance pay, and an alternative salary 
schedule. The Q-Com:p program pays teachers annual stipends based on school or 
site-level performance measures, measures of individual teacher performance, and 
evaluation outcomes. Participating school districts receive up to $260 per student 
($169 per student in state aid and $91 per student in a board-approved levy). 
Participating charter schools, integration districts, intermediate districts, and the 
Perpich Center for the Arts, which cannot levy local taxes, receive about $243 per 
student in state aid. The annual statutory statewide basic aid cap for Q-Comp in 
fiscal year 2017 is $88.118 million. 

Teacher compensation policies may help recruit and retain talented teachers, 
recruit teachers to teach in subject areas with critical teacher shortages, in low­
performing or high-poverty schools or in subject areas that require more 

. preparation or effort, and· may affect the retention and retirement of older, 
retirement-eligible teachers. A salary schedule based on teachers' educational 
training and years of experience provides predictable, incremental increases in 
teacher salaries over time and lets administrators readily determine teachers' salary 
increases. Alternative schedules that combine steps and lanes to establish a 
minimum salary with additional increases to reward individuals' efforts or to 
recognize those fields where teacher shortages exist, where nonteachingjobs pay 
high wages, or where additional preparation or effort is required are more flexible 
but less predictable than steps and lanes alone. 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. 
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What are SROs? 

Who oversees 
SR Os? 

How many public 
schools have SR Os? 

Who employs 
SR Os? 

Whopaysfor 
SROs? 

School Resource Officers (SROs) 

School Resource Officers (SROs) are sworn, licensed career peace officers with 
arrest powers who work full- or part-time in Minnesota public schools. SROs can 
help schools and community-based organizations prevent crime, gangs, and drug 
activities affecting schools, educate students about school safety, promote 
community justice initiatives, and train students in conflict resolution, restorative 
justice, and crime awareness. Most SROs carry a firearm, badge, cell phone, and 
handcuffs, and about half dress in full uniform. · 

The Minnesota Peace Officers Standards and Training Board licenses peace 
officers. However, no state agency specifically evaluates SROs or the impact of 
SROs on students or the school environment. ·In 2014, the Department of Public 
Safety conducted a statewide survey of SROs entitled Law Enforcement in 
Minnesota Schools: A Statewide Survey of School Resource Officers. Information 
from that survey appears in this publication. · 

The PPS survey showed Minnesota had about 315 full- or part-time SROs who 
generally are assigned to two or more public schools. SROs serve about 28 percent 
of all Minnesota public elementary, middle, and high schools. About half the 
SROs are assigned in the Twin Cities, serving larger numbers of students in fewer 
schools, and about half are assigned in Greater Minnesota, serving more schools 
with fewer students. SR Os spend much of their time in high schools where more 
students are disciplined, often for "disruptive or disorderly conduct'~ or fighting 
and less often for drugs, alcohol, or weapons. The DPS survey reported the racial 
composition of Minnesota's student body was considerably more diverse than the 
SRO population. 

Many SROs are employed by municipal police departments and some are 
employed in sheriffs' offices. The relationship between a district or school and a 
law enforcement agency is defined locally and varies by community and the grade 
levels in the school. The National Association of School Resource Officers 
recommends schools and law enforcement agencies use a memorandum of 
understanding (MOU) to clearly define SRO roles and responsibilities in schools. 

Several federal and state laws help school districts and law enforcement agencies 
share the cost of SROs. For example, the safe schools levy under Minnesota 
Statutes, section 126C.44, allows districts to levy resident property owners for the 
costs of peace officer and sheriff resource services within district schools. School 
violence prevention program providers under Minnesota Statutes, section 145.958, 
may develop initiatives with police resource officers to reduce and prevent 
violence among at-risk youth. Federal grants to local law enforcement agencies 
also help fund SROs. 



What is the role of 
SROs? 

What are the 
training 
requirements for 
SROs? 

How do SROs affect 
student discipline? 

What are the pros 
and cons of having 
SROs in schools? 

School districts, in order to provide a safe learning environment, may use an SRO 
to help investigate serious forms of student misconduct, maintain order in schools, 
and conduct student and teacher training on· safety issues. In investigations, school 
officials and SROs must distinguish between disciplinary matters within the 
purview of the school, where school-based discipline or sanctions are appropriate, 
and criminal conduct within the purview of a law enforcement agency. For 
instance, a school disciplinary matter may involve disruptive or disorderly conduct 
or fighting, whereas criminal conduct may involve illegal use or possession of 
drugs, alcohol, or weapons. 

There are no national or state standards for SRO training, and school-related 
training hours for SROs can vary greatly. While peace officers must complete a 
certain number of training hours to maintain their license, no specific training is 
required for SRO assignments. The DPS survey showed that SRO training 
programs in Minnesota cover topics such as school law, active shooters, threat 
assessment, emergency planning, working with school administrators, combatting · 
drugs and gangs, and data practices. A federal community policing program 
recommends SRO training in teaching, mentoring and counseling, managing time, 
child development and adolescent psychology, and working effectively with 
diverse groups of students, among other topics. 

Legal issues related to student search and seizure, parental notification, student 
confidentiality, and data practices affecting student records, among other topics, 
are· more complex when an SRO is present. For example, the legal standard for a 
student search depends upon the specific circumstance. A "reasonable suspicion" 
standard applies when school officials search a student on school grounds. A 
higher "probable cause" standard applies when a law enforcement search occurs on 
school grounds. The type of search also dictates the type of warning a student 
receives. School officials must give students a Tennessen warning if they are 
investigating a disciplinary matter. Law enforcement officials must give students a 
Miranda warning if they are collecting criminal investigative.data as part of a 
custodial interrogation. 

Minnesota, like other states, has experienced school violence. High-profile school 
and other shootings, "zero tolerance" school discipline policies, juvenile crime, 
federal funding for community policing services, and terrorist attacks have 
increased the police presence in Minnesota public schools and led to a recurring 
debate about how best to protect students and schools. Proponents of the increased 
police presence argue SROs help protect students and educators, making schools a 
safe learning environment, and help reduce the presence of drugs, alcohol, 
weapons, gangs, and violence in schools, including fights, threats, and bullying. 
Opponents argue the increased police presence can negatively affect the school 
climate and student learning and, by criminalizing certain behaviors, compromise 
students' civil rights. They also argue the combination of SR Os and harsh school 
discipline policies leads to processing students through the juvenile justice system 
for relatively minor offenses, which can result in a criminal delinquency record and 
contribute to the "school-to-prison pipeline." 
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Alcohol Service at the Minnesota State Fair 

Prior to 2000, alcohol service at the Minnesota State Fair was limited to 3.2 percent beer. Since 2000, the 
Minnesota Legislature and the State Agricultural Society (State Fair) have expanded and changed the 
nature of alcohol service at the fair. 

Historically the 
service of alcohol 
has been limited on 
State Fair grounds 

The legislature 
began expanding 
legalized service of 
alcohol 

The legislature 
allowed strong beer 
to be served 

Prior to 2000, Minnesota Statutes, limited the service of intoxicating liquor on 
State Fair grounds. The prohibition was placed in the liquor statutes, amongst a 
number of other service limitations, in order to limit service of alcohol near public 
areas that were considered public places where alcohol should not be served. 
Minnesota Statutes (1999), section 340A.412, subdivision 4, stated this flat 
prohibition: 

"(a) No license to sell intoxicating liquor may be issued within the 
following areas: 

... (3) on the state fairgrounds or any place in a city of the first class within 
one-half mile of the fairgrounds ... " 

This prohibition, however, applied only to intoxicating liquor. Low-alcohol beer 
(3.2 percent) is defined as nonintoxicating malt liquor in Minnesota Statutes. This · 
allowed the State Fair to sell 3.2 percent alcohol beer, which the State Fair did for 
many years. 

In 2000, the legislature legalized service of alcohol at special nonfair events on 
State Fair grounds and placed this special language in the chapter of statutes· that 
governs the State Fair (Minn. Stat. ch. 37), creating a "State Fair" standard outside 
of general liquor laws. The State Fair could then host events that were either adult 
in nature or rental events, and allow alcohol service. 

In 2003, the legislature legalized the service of Minnesota wines at the State Fair, 
with a license to be issued by the city of Saint Paul. In 2005, this law was changed 
to have Ramsey County issue the license. 

In 2007, the legislature legalized service of strong beer during the fair. Prior to that 
time, 3.2 beer had been served, but this expansion to strong beer marked a new 
chapter in alcohol service at the fair. In addition, the new law provided that at least 
one Minnesota beer must be sold at the fair. 

These changes allowed the State Fair to expand into service of Minnesota craft 
beers, and to take part in the statewide growth of craft brewing. 



The service of 
alcohol at the fair 
has progressed over 
time 

In 2010, the State Agricultural Society (State Fair) was given the responsibility to 
issue all licenses to its vendors, a change from having Ramsey County serve as the 
licensing authority. This change was made with the cooperation of Ramsey County 
and allowed the State Fair to have greater control over vendors. The State 
Agricultural Society must comply with all Minnesota Statutes and is subject to the 
authority of the Department of Public Safety. 

In 2015, the legislature allowed brewpubs to serve their beers at the State Fair, at 
one location, in the hall where craft beers are featured. 

In summary, the State Fair is allowed to license the service of wine and beer for 
consumption on fair grounds. It cannot license the service of any other type of 
alcohol. 

Service of alcohol at the State Fair has progressed over time, from state control 
with limited venues and service options to more open acceptance of alcohol on the 
general grounds of the fair. Historical customs, such as having beer limited to 
specific tents and limited to 3.2 service, have given way to general consumption 
across the grounds of the State Fair, controlled by the State Agricultural Society. 

Timeline of Changes to Alcohol Service at the Minnesota State Fair 

2000 
Alcohol allowed at nonfair events 

at State Fairgrounds 

Alcohol allowed: 
3.2 beer only 

2007 
Strong beer allowed at State Fair 

Minnesota wines allowed at State Fair 
2003 

2015 
Sale by brewpubs in 

hall featuring craft beers 

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Patrick McCormack at 651-296-5048. 
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Penalties for Underreporting Minnesota Individual Income Tax 

What is the civil 
penalty for failure 
to pay Minnesota 
income tax by the 
due date? 

Is there a" 
reasonable cause 
exception? 

What is the 
"additional tax 
charge"? 

What is the civil 
penalty for failure 
to file a return? 

For calendar year taxpayers, final payments are due on April 15 following the close 
of the tax year. (Most taxpayers pay on a calendar-year basis; a small number use 
fiscal years instead.) Income tax not paid by April 15 is subject to a late payment 
penalty equal to 4 percent of the amount not paid. 

An additional 4 percent penalty applies to amounts owed due to an assessment 
order from the commissioner of revenue if the taxpayer either does not pay the 
amount assessed within 60 days of the order or does not appeal the assessment. 

An additional extended delinquency penalty of 5 percent of the tax due applies to 
income tax not paid within 180 days of an order from the commissioner or the date 
a return is filed. 

Yes. A taxpayer is presumed to have reasonable cause for underpayment if the 
taxpayer paid 90 percent of the amount due by the April 15 due date, filed the 
return by October 15, and paid the balance of the tax due when the return was filed. 
In this situation, the 4 percent late-payment penalty does not apply. 

Individuals who expect to owe $500 or more after withholding and credits must 
make estimated payments, which are due in four installments: April 15, June 15, 
and September 15 during the tax year, and January 15 following the close of the tax 
year. If estimated payments and withholding do not equal at least 90 percent of the 
tax due, or 100 percent of liability for the preceding tax year (110 percent if 
adjusted gross income exceeds $150,000), the taxpayer is subject to an additional 
tax charge. The additional tax charge equals 4 percent of the amount underpaid, 
prorated by the number of days elapsed between the due dates of the four 
installments and the date of the final payment. 

The additional tax charge does not apply if the individual was a Minnesota resident 
in the preceding tax year but did not have tax liability. 

For calendar year taxpayers, income tax returns are due by April 15 following the 
close of the tax year, but there is no late filing penalty if the return is filed by 
October 15. Taxpayers who fail to file an individual income tax return by October 
15 must pay a penalty equal to 5 percent of the tax not paid by October 15. 

If an individual is required to file a return and does not file it by October 15 and 
receives a written demand to file from the Department of Revenue, the individual 
must file within 60 days or face an additional "extended late file" penalty. The 



What other civil 
penalties are there? 

Does interest apply 
to underreported 
tax liability and 
penalties? 

How are the 
penalties applied? 

Are failing to file 
and underreporting 
liability criminal 
offenses in 
Minnesota? 

extended-late-file penalty equals the greater of 5 percent of the tax not paid or 
$100. 

• Failure to report changes to the federal return: 10 percent. When a 
federal return is amended by the taxpayer or corrected by the Internal 
Revenue Service, a copy of that return or a letter of explanation must be 
reported to Minnesota within 180 days. An amended Minnesota return is 
also required within 180 days. If federal changes are not reported, a penalty 
of 10 percent of the underpayment of Minnesota tax attributable to the 
federal change applies. 

• Intentional disregard of laws:· 10 percent. A 10 percent penalty applies if 
the taxpayer has been negligent or shown intentional disregard of the law or 
rules for determining liability, but didn't intend to defraud. 

• Substantial understatement of liability: 20 percent. "Substantial 
understatement" means underreporting of the correct tax that exceeds the 
greater of $5,000 or 10 percent of the tax actually owed. A penalty of20 
percent applies to a substantial understatement of liability. 

• Filing a frivolous return: greater of 25 percent or $1,000. A return is 
considered frivolous if it is substantially incorrect on its face or lacks 
information needed to judge the accuracy of the return, and consists of 
inappropriate conduct or reflects a desire to impede the tax process. 

• Filing a false or fraudulent return: 50 percent. A penalty of 50 percent 
applies to the underreported liability and overstated refund claimed if the 
commissioner can prove the return was fraudulent in order to evade the tax, 
or if failure to file a return was intended to evade the tax. The 50 percent 
penalty also applies to fraudulently claimed refundable credits (the · 
dependent care credit, the working family credit, the K-12 education credit, 
the military service combat zone credit, and the property tax refund). 

In addition to the penalties listed, taxpayers who underreport individual income tax 
liability must pay interest on the amount underpaid and on the associated penalty 
from the date the tax· was due. Penalties and underreported liability bear interest at 
an annual rate tied to the prime rate. This rate is adjusted annually and is set at 3 
percent for 2010 through 2016. 

The penalties for underreporting of individual income tax liability are imposed and 
collected in the same manner as the original taxes. 

In certain circumstances, failing to file and underreporting tax liability are criminal 
offenses. It is a gross misdemeanor to knowingly fail to file a return or pay tax. It 
is a felony to willfully fail to file a return or pay tax, with_intent to evade the tax, 
and a felony to file a false return concerning a material matter. Penalties for these 
criminal offenses are in addition to civil penalties. 

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 
j oel.michael@house.mn. 
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