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Imagine waking up to a knock on your door from a law enforcement officer waiting to tell you your 

husband, wife or child was killed by a drunk driver. That was the case for 88 families in 2014. 

 

Any alcohol-related traffic death is preventable, but too many people continue to make poor choices 

and get behind the wheel after drinking. The 2014 Minnesota Motor Vehicle Impaired Driving Facts 

report is a year’s worth of data representing lives forever changed by impaired driving. 

 

The report shows drunk driving-related fatalities have decreased by 25 percent in the past five years 

(2010 – 2014), yet with 88 deaths caused by a drunk driver in 2014, there is much more work to be 

done. While we are also encouraged by the continued drop in DWIs, the 25,258 motorists arrested for 

DWI last year is unacceptable. 

 

Highlights from the 2014 Minnesota Motor Vehicle Impaired Driving Facts report include: 

 Of the 361 people who died in traffic crashes, 111 (31 percent) were alcohol-related (Any 

evidence of alcohol detected in a driver, pedestrian or bicyclist.) 

 88 (24 percent) were drunk driving-related (driver alcohol concentration .08 percent or 

greater). 

 2,040 people suffered injuries in alcohol-related crashes. 

 25,258 motorists were arrested for DWI (an average of 70 per day). 

 The average blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for drivers with a DWI was .15, with the 

average BAC for a drunk driver involved in a fatal crash being .19. 

 One out of every seven licensed Minnesota drivers has at least one DWI. 

 

Through enhanced DWI enforcement and education, we have made significant progress over the years 

in reducing alcohol-related traffic deaths. Law enforcement cannot do it alone; we need everyone to be 

part of the solution. Plan for a sober ride and speak up if you see an impaired person about to get 

behind the wheel. Together we can make Minnesota roads safer for all. 

 

Sincerely, 

 
Donna Berger 

Director, Office of Traffic Safety 

  MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY   
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I. IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD 

 
Summary 
There were 25,258 impaired driving incidents that 
occurred in Minnesota in 2014 and were entered onto 
people’s driving records, which is a 3% decrease from 
the previous year. Eighty-five percent of the incidents 

involved taking a test for alcohol or drugs;
* 

15% 

involved a test refusal.
† 

A few incidents (two, less than 
1%) involved both a test failure and a test refusal (for 
example, an alcohol test refusal and a drug test failure). 
A small number of the total incidents included a 
conviction for “criminal vehicular operation” resulting 
in a fatality (5 such incidents) or injury (87 such 
incidents). However, these totals will increase as court 
cases are settled. ** 

 
“Not-a-Drop” and “Disqual” violations 
Two types of incidents are reported in Table 1.01 but 

not otherwise considered as “impaired driving 

incidents” in this report. First, there are “not-a-drop” 

violations. (The Not-A-Drop law was passed in 1993 

and applies to persons under age 21, making it illegal 

for them to drive while having any amount of alcohol in 

their blood.) The number of such violations rose 

steadily from 1,350, in 1995, to nearly 3,400 in 1999, 

but then dropped rather sharply in the past decade to 

541 in 2014. 

The second violation type has the jargon-like name 

“disqual.” This refers to an incident where a commercial 

vehicle driver is tested and found to have an alcohol 

concentration (AC) of .04%, but less than .08%, which 

disqualifies a driver from operating a commercial 

vehicle. These  incidents are somewhat  rare —  there 

were only 8 in 2014. (Note that if the commercial driver 

has an AC over the per se illegal level, then the incident 

will be counted as a DWI incident; it will still trigger 

the disqualification, but it will not be counted here as a 

“disqual.”) 

 
When do incidents occur? 

There is high consistency year after year with respect to 

the days of the week when drinking and driving occurs 

and 2014 was similar to past years: Mondays through 

Thursdays  had  comparatively  few  incidents.  Fridays 

 
 

* The tests are usually for alcohol, but they might be for 

controlled substances. In 2014, there were 1,342 incidents 

(involving either an implied consent violation or a criminal 

conviction, or both) for driving while impaired by controlled 

substances. 

**All of the historic data was updated on June 1, 2015 to 

reflect changes that may have occurred as court cases were 

settled. This provides the most accurate data available at the 

time of publication. 
† Test refusals used to be higher. For example in 1995, 18% 

of all incidents involved a test refusal. 

 
accounted for 15%, Sundays for 24%, and Saturdays for 

26% of all incidents. 

 
Alcohol concentration levels remain steady 
In 1997, the Legislature adopted special sanction 

provisions effective in January 1998 for high-AC 

offenders (0.20% or higher), and alcohol test results 

began to be available starting in 1998. The number of 

high-scoring violators have declined ever since; there 

were 6,079 in the over 0.20% category in 1998, then 

3,880 in 2014. This represents a 36% decline. (Note that 

the Legislature adopted special sanction provisions 

effective in July 2011 for high-AC offenders (0.16% or 

higher)). Average alcohol level among first-time 

violators was  0.157%  in 1998 and 0.148% in  2014. 

Second-or-subsequent violators averaged 0.173% in 

1998 and 0.165% in 2014. These lower alcohol 

concentration levels are to be expected in some degree 

due to the lower .08% per se level that went into effect 

August 1
st
, 2005. 

 
Who are the violators? 

Driver’s license files provide only limited data on who 

impaired drivers are. However, there is a strong 

relationship between age  and impaired driving. 

Twenty-to-thirty-four-year-olds accounted for 54% of 

the impaired driving incidents in 2014. In addition, there 

were 1,316 impaired driving incidents among underage 

drivers (it is illegal to drink in Minnesota if you are less 

than 21 years of age). 

There is an exceedingly strong relationship between 

gender, age and impaired driving. Most succinctly put, 

the problem is concentrated in the young adult male 

population. In 2014, males committed 73% of the 

impaired incidents for which gender of the violator was 

reported. 

 
Recidivism: 40% of violators  were  recidivists 

Section IV will look at recidivism more closely. In 

general, though, in recent years, about 60 percent of all 

violators had no prior alcohol incidents on record, and 

40 percent did. There is an interesting violation pattern 

among the recidivists: about half of those who incur a 

second incident go on to incur a third. About half of 

those who incur a third go on to incur a fourth, and so 

on. 
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TABLE 1.01 

OVERVIEW OF IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, 1995 - 2014 

 

 
Impaired Driving Incidents (“DWIs”)  Related Incidents 

Criminal 

Vehicular 

Operation 
 

Year Total 

 

 

 

 
(1) 

Implied Crim- 

Consent  inal 

Con- 

viction 

 

(2) (3) 

Tests Tests Both 

Taken Refused Taken 

& Ref. 

 

 

(4) (5) (6) 

Fatality Injury 

 

 

 

 
(7) (8) 

Drugs 

 

 

 

 
(9) 

Not A 

Drop 

 

 

 
(10) 

Com- 

mercial 

Vehicle 

 

 
(11) 

1995 30,415 29,265 25,174 24,880 5,508 27 41 86 26 1,350 17 
1996 30,929 29,698 25,754 25,522 5,399 8 42 145 50 1,875 19 
1997 31,386 29,956 26,310 26,333 5,027 26 22 208 128 2,563 16 
1998 32,431 30,900 27,190 27,493 4,750 188 40 213 218 2,924 21 
1999 34,572 32,817 29,380 29,578 4,854 140 27 251 207 3,378 13 
2000 35,023 33,332 29,376 29,997 4,853 173 40 252 334 3,391 18 
2001 33,549 32,074 28,152 28,628 4,835 86 21 166 399 3,157 16 
2002 33,163 31,898 27,738 28,305 4,767 91 34 220 403 3,077 15 
2003 32,356 30,970 26,938 27,684 4,482 190 37 317 543 2,735 10 
2004 34,369 32,783 29,116 29,667 4,471 231 27 282 695 2,744 8 
2005 37,084 35,194 31,785 32,315 4,623 146 34 301 840 2,477 16 
2006 42,016 40,401 35,879 36,955 4,936 125 26 302 724 2,462 16 
2007 38,769 37,220 33,409 34,048 4,662 59 45 268 659 2,134 28 
2008 35,871 34,457 30,670 31,564 4,297 10 35 242 642 1,704 12 
2009 32,998 31,620 27,669 29,088 3,897 13 39 270 822 1,430 9 
2010 30,112 28,827 25,516 26,564 3,539 9 40 259 926 1,231 16 
2011 29,525 28,151 25,265 25,985 3,525 15 29 248 982 1,141 15 
2012 28,666 27,451 24,277 24,976 3,683 7 18 230 1,099 928 8 
2013 26,012 24,740 21,769 22,164 3,835 13 27 192 1,200 718 8 
2014 25,258 24,357 18,841 21,381 3,875 2 5 87 1,342 541 8 

 

 
Column Notes: 
(1) Column 1 counts the total number of impaired driving 

incidents in Minnesota. Columns 2 through 9 are 

subsets of column 1. 

(2) Almost all incidents include the civil-law “implied 

consent” violation either of (i) taking and “failing” the 

test for alcohol or controlled substances (“drugs”), or 

(ii) refusing to take the test. 

(3) In 2014, 75% of all incidents were known to involve a 

criminal conviction for driving while impaired by 

alcohol or drugs (as of June 01, 2015—the date on 

which statistics for this report were compiled). This 

percentage is understated. As judicial outcomes are 

decided well into the future, the criminal conviction 

percentage will increase to approximately 85%. 

(4-6) An incident may involve taking of a test, and a test 

refusal. For example, a person may take a test for 

alcohol, and refuse a test for drugs. 

 

 
(7-8) Criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offenses are 

divided into CVO resulting in a fatality (column 7) or 

CVO resulting in any type of bodily injury, all 

collapsed into (column 8). Amounts for 2014 in 

columns (7) through (11) will all increase as court 

cases are settled. 

(9) Incidents counted in (9) involved an implied consent 

violation or a criminal conviction, or both, for 

driving while impaired by a controlled substance 

(“drugs”).  See additional detail in Table 1.02. 

(10) The “not-a-drop” law, making it illegal for persons 

under age 21 to drive while having any amount of 

alcohol whatsoever (as opposed to being over the 

per-se illegal level) took effect June 1, 1993. 

(11) Commercial vehicle drivers found to have an alcohol 

concentration of .04% or higher, but less than the per 

se illegal level, are disqualified from operating a 

commercial vehicle. 
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TABLE 1.02 

“IMPLIED CONSENTS”  VERSUS  CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS, 

VERSUS BOTH,  UNDER THREE ARREST SCENARIOS, 1995 - 2014 
 

 

 

  

Incidents Involving a 

Test for Alcohol 

 

Incidents Involving a 

Test for Drugs 

Incidents Involving 

Refusal of Test for 

Alcohol or Drugs 

 

 

All Episodes 
 

Year 
IC 

only 

% 

CC 

only 

% 

IC + 

CC 
% 

Total 
 

N 

IC 

only 

% 

CC 

only 

% 

IC +   Total 

CC 
% N 

IC 

only 

% 

CC 

only 

% 

IC + 

CC 
% 

Total 
 

N 

IC 

only 

% 

CC 

only 

% 

IC + 

CC 
% 

Total 
 

N 
 
1995 

 
18% 

 
4% 

 
78% 

 
24,855 

 
0% 

 
100% 

 
0% 25 

 
16% 

 
1% 

 
83% 

 
5,535 

 
17% 

 
4% 

 
79% 

 
30,415 

1996 17% 5% 78% 25,478 0% 100% 0% 44 14% 1% 85% 5,407 17% 4% 79% 30,929 
1997 17% 5% 78% 26,210 18% 64% 18%   123 14% 1% 85% 5,053 16% 5% 79% 31,386 
1998 16% 5% 79% 27,283 30% 39% 31%   210 15% 1% 84% 4,938 16% 5% 79% 32,431 
1999 15% 6% 79% 29,378 34% 38% 29%   200 14% 1% 85% 4,994 15% 5% 80% 34,572 
2000 16% 5% 79% 29,672 32% 43% 24%   325 15% 1% 84% 5,026 16% 5% 79% 35,023 
2001 16% 5% 79% 28,238 36% 21% 43%   390 14% 1% 86% 4,921 16% 4% 80% 33,549 
2002 17% 4% 79% 27,916 34% 21% 45%   389 14% 1% 85% 4,858 16% 4% 80% 33,163 
2003 17% 5% 79% 27,152 36% 19% 45%   532 14% 1% 85% 4,672 17% 4% 79% 32,356 
2004 15% 5% 80% 28,994 35% 17% 47%   673 12% 1% 87% 4,702 15% 5% 80% 34,369 
2005 14% 5% 80% 31,491 29% 16% 55%   824 12% 2% 87% 4,769 14% 5% 81% 37,084 
2006 15% 4% 81% 36,250 30% 16% 54%   705 12% 1% 88% 5,061 15% 4% 82% 42,016 
2007 14% 4% 82% 33,408 28% 23% 49%   640 11% 1% 89% 4,721 14% 4% 82% 38,769 
2008 15% 4% 81% 30,949 29% 22% 49%   615 12% 1% 87% 4,307 15% 4% 82% 35,871 
2009 16% 4% 80% 28,304 28% 20% 52%   784 12% 2% 87% 3,910 16% 4% 80% 32,998 
2010 16% 4% 80% 25,668 27% 20% 53%   896 10% 2% 88% 3,548 15% 4% 80% 30,112 
2011 15% 4% 81% 25,044 26% 26% 48%   941 10% 2% 88% 3,540 14% 5% 81% 29,525 
2012 16% 4% 81% 23,925 27% 22% 52% 1,051 11% 1% 88% 3,690 15% 4% 81% 28,666 
2013 16% 5% 79% 21,013 28% 20% 52% 1,151 13% 1% 86% 3,848 16% 5% 79% 26,012 
2014 24% 3% 72% 20,084 46% 14% 40% 1,297 24% 1% 75% 3,877 25% 4% 71% 25,258 

 

Note:  2014 numbers will change as court cases are settled. 

A given incident, at the point of arrest, could involve only a 

test for alcohol, or only a test for drugs, or tests for both, or a 

refusal of both, or a test for one and a refusal of a test for the 

other.  Incidents were classified into the first arrest scenario 

(involving test for alcohol) only if (1) there was no test for 

drugs,  and  (2)  there  was  no  refusal. An  incident  was 

classified into the second arrest scenario (involving a test for 

drugs) if there was any test for drugs, even if there may also 

have been a test for alcohol.  No incident that involved any 

refusal was classified into the first or second groups.   All 

incidents where the arrest involved any refusal were classified 

into the third scenario (involving a test refusal) above. 

In United States law, the term “conviction” refers to a 

finding of guilt—either because a person pled guilty or was 

found guilty—for an offense under criminal law. Minnesota 

first defined driving while intoxicated to be a crime in 1911. 

Minnesota first passed the civil Implied Consent law in 1961: 

By driving, a person implies consent to a test for alcohol, if 

required to take a test by an officer who has probable cause to 

suspect impairment. As amended over the years, the Implied 

Consent law now instructs the Commissioner of Public Safety 

to withdraw a person’s driver’s license if the person refuses to 

take a test for alcohol, or for controlled substances (“drugs”), 

or if the person takes the test and ‘fails’ it by testing over a 

defined per-se illegal level (in the case of alcohol, set, since 

August 1, 2005, at .08%). Additionally, in 1992, Minnesota 

defined test refusal to be a crime, effective January 1, 1993. 

The license withdrawal under the civil law occurs 

independently of the outcome of proceedings under the criminal 

law. Thus, an impaired driving incident for which there is an 

arrest may then lead to a revocation under the civil law (an 

“implied consent”—“IC” in the table above), or a criminal 

conviction (“CC” in the above table), or, most commonly, both 

(“IC+CC”). 
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TABLE 1.03 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY MONTH, 1995 – 2014 
 

Year Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Total 
 

1995 
 

2,179 
 

2,189 
 

2,440 
 

2,747 
 

2,581 
 

2,396 
 

2,732 
 

2,649 
 

2,817 
 

2,581 
 

2,212 
 

2,892 
 

30,415 
1996 2,122 2,210 2,622 2,449 2,875 2,775 2,754 2,907 2,632 2,581 2,420 2,582 30,929 
1997 2,289 2,438 2,655 2,586 2,950 2,608 2,736 3,036 2,351 2,454 2,609 2,674 31,386 
1998 2,434 2,396 2,447 2,499 2,998 2,659 2,938 2,954 2,782 2,856 2,663 2,805 32,431 
1999 2,618 2,499 2,777 2,744 3,195 2,765 3,030 2,933 2,973 3,131 2,801 3,106 34,572 
2000 2,879 2,721 3,014 2,920 2,958 2,905 3,184 2,836 2,995 2,994 2,561 3,056 35,023 
2001 2,822 2,430 2,988 2,601 2,869 2,797 2,891 2,797 2,805 2,794 2,623 3,132 33,549 
2002 2,724 2,464 2,796 2,581 2,814 2,806 2,908 3,044 2,735 2,648 2,695 2,948 33,163 
2003 2,467 2,319 2,749 2,470 2,657 2,716 3,121 2,933 2,642 2,876 2,763 2,643 32,356 
2004 2,795 2,707 2,915 2,714 2,973 2,775 3,143 3,182 2,838 2,940 2,615 2,772 34,369 
2005 2,595 2,869 2,846 3,066 3,024 2,829 3,381 3,508 3,217 3,334 2,982 3,433 37,084 
2006 3,470 3,186 3,602 3,475 3,498 3,576 3,732 3,754 3,669 3,152 3,237 3,665 42,016 
2007 3,023 2,731 3,408 3,091 3,332 3,375 3,395 3,458 3,407 2,976 3,090 3,483 38,769 
2008 3,066 2,916 3,169 2,710 3,186 2,967 3,447 3,037 2,652 2,914 3,045 2,762 35,871 
2009 2,879 2,542 2,883 2,711 2,994 2,590 2,849 3,027 2,708 2,538 2,654 2,623 32,998 
2010 2,538 2,507 2,702 2,472 2,666 2,366 2,644 2,667 2,418 2,600 2,129 2,403 30,112 
2011 2,372 2,345 2,490 2,467 2,528 2,459 2,709 2,614 2,340 2,480 2,105 2,616 29,525 
2012 2,153 2,229 2,529 2,293 2,472 2,433 2,480 2,649 2,419 2,301 2,183 2,525 28,666 
2013 2,035 2,043 2,483 2,072 2,135 2,165 2,215 2,416 2,066 2,027 2,184 2,171 26,012 
2014 1,855 1,794 2,280 2,105 2,278 2,133 2,192 2,410 2,088 2,017 1,972 2,134 25,258 

 

 

TABLE 1.04 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY DAY OF WEEK, 1995 – 2014 
 

Year Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Total 
 

1995 
 

6,603 
 

2,274 
 

2,477 
 

2,719 
 

3,440 
 

4,977 
 

7,925 
 

30,415 
1996 6,418 2,491 2,506 2,797 3,571 5,135 8,011 30,929 
1997 6,488 2,332 2,435 3,107 3,429 5,345 8,250 31,386 
1998 6,909 2,382 2,489 2,944 3,963 5,398 8,346 32,431 
1999 7,465 2,443 2,536 3,114 3,995 6,018 9,001 34,572 
2000 7,637 2,375 2,623 3,137 3,869 5,777 9,605 35,023 
2001 7,318 2,565 2,569 3,001 3,897 5,560 8,639 33,549 
2002 7,090 2,447 2,737 3,118 3,916 5,493 8,362 33,163 
2003 6,809 2,397 2,577 3,317 3,629 5,342 8,285 32,356 
2004 7,586 2,393 2,599 3,229 4,109 5,499 8,954 34,369 
2005 8,123 2,691 2,844 3,258 4,171 6,143 9,854 37,084 
2006 9,563 2,854 3,248 3,742 4,696 6,771 11,142 42,016 
2007 8,679 2,949 2,858 3,626 4,344 6,186 10,127 38,769 
2008 7,993 2,486 2,920 3,126 3,922 5,852 9,572 35,871 
2009 7,531 2,292 2,550 3,000 3,883 5,094 8,648 32,998 
2010 6,863 2,137 2,257 2,637 3,389 5,110 7,719 30,112 
2011 6,729 2,249 2,123 2,507 3,222 4,746 7,949 29,525 
2012 6,691 2,127 2,149 2,563 3,144 4,410 7,582 28,666 
2013 6,183 1,966 2,119 2,328 2,809 3,904 6,703 26,012 
2014 5,981 2,002 2,031 2,390 2,617 3,717 6,520 25,258 
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TABLE 1.05 

ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION TEST RESULTS ON DRIVERS 

WHO INCURRED IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, 2005 - 2014 
 

 
Year 

.01 - 

.04 
.05- 

.07 
.08- 

.09 
.10- 

.14 
.15- 

.19 
.20- 

.24 
.25- 

.29 
.30- 

.34 
 

.35 + 
Average 

AC 
Total 

Tests 
Not 

Tested 
Total 

Incidents 

2005              

First 0 12 1,084 9,106 6,843 2,210 454 82 21 .150 19,812 2,696 22,508 
Repeat 1 6 434 3,849 4,088 2,064 636 156 35 .166 11,269 3,307 14,576 

All 1 18 1,518 12,955 10,931 4,274 1,090 238 56 .156 31,081 6,003 37,084 
2006              

First 2 15 3,048 9,959 7,043 2,392 471 99 27 .144 23,056 2,917 25,973 
Repeat 0 10 1,096 4,336 4,183 2,106 636 148 27 .160 12,542 3,501 16,043 

All 2 25 4,144 14,295 11,226 4,498 1,107 247 54 .149 35,598 6,418 42,016 
2007              

First 2 9 2,511 8,986 6,437 2,203 436 82 8 .145 20,674 2,950 23,624 
Repeat 2 5 982 4,023 3,942 2,072 604 161 28 .161 11,819 3,326 15,145 

All 4 14 3,493 13,009 10,379 4,275 1,040 243 36 .151 32,493 6,276 38,769 
2008              

First 1 8 2,157 8,034 5,969 2,080 474 84 21 .146 18,828 2,554 21,382 
Repeat 0 4 879 3,778 3,790 1,979 618 138 36 .162 11,222 3,267 14,489 

All 1 12 3,036 11,812 9,759 4,059 1,092 222 57 .152 30,050 5,821 35,871 
2009              

First 1 7 2,040 7,102 5,324 1,922 425 95 18 .147 16,934 2,439 19,373 
Repeat 0 2 831 3,472 3,498 1,897 597 157 43 .164 10,497 3,128 13,625 

All 1 9 2,871 10,574 8,822 3,819 1,022 252 61 .153 27,431 5,567 32,998 
2010              

First 1 4 1,729 6,321 4,684 1,848 446 110 21 .148 15,164 2,381 17,545 
Repeat 0 0 713 3,139 3,276 1,811 599 128 43 .165 9,709 2,858 12,567 

All 1 4 2,442 9,460 7,970 3,659 1,045 238 64 .155 24,873 5,239 30,112 
2011              

First 2 8 1,733 6,166 4,587 1,705 408 93 26 .148 14,728 2,530 17,258 
Repeat 0 0 730 3,012 3,202 1,747 591 155 44 .166 9,481 2,786 12,267 

All 2 8 2,463 9,178 7,789 3,452 999 248 70 .155 24,209 5,316 29,525 
2012              

First 1 3 1,735 5,963 4,379 1,712 465 95 30 .148 14,383 2,666 17,049 
Repeat 0 1 772 2,797 2,886 1,536 551 175 42 .165 8,760 2,857 11,617 

All 1 4 2,507 8,760 7,265 3,248 1,016 270 82 .154 23,143 5,523 28,666 
2013              

First 0 5 1,527 5,119 3,884 1,495 394 81 23 .148 12,528 2,849 15,377 
Repeat 0 2 602 2,523 2,492 1,387 471 153 39 .165 7,669 2,966 10,635 

All 0 7 2,129 7,642 6,376 2,882 865 234 62 .154 20,197 5,815 26,012 
2014              

First 0 2 1,546 4,935 3,674 1,389 367 106 20 .148 12,039 2,835 14,874 
Repeat 0 0 652 2,420 2,379 1,317 492 158 31 .165 7,449 2,935 10,384 

All 0 2 2,198 7,355 6,053 2,706 859 264 51 .154 19,488 5,770 25,258 

 

Notes: 

(1) The row heading “First” designates alcohol test results on 

first-time violators; the heading “Repeat” designates results 

on persons with one or more prior incidents on their record. 

The column “Not Tested” means no alcohol test result was 

reported; tests for specific controlled substances may have 

been reported but are not identified on computerized driver 

records. 

(2) The per se illegal A.C. was 0.10% (one-tenth of one 

percent, or one part per thousand, of a person’s blood, when 

expressed as a BAC) from 1971 to July 31, 2005, and is 

 
0.08% since August 1, 2005. Among those arrested, 

concentrations below the per se level are rare, even though, 

due to human variation, a person may be quite impaired at 

lower levels. An unintended consequence of adopting the per 

se law in 1971 was that the alcohol concentration, rather than 

actual impairment, became the standard for making an 

impaired driving arrest. However, drivers may still be 

arrested and may still incur impaired driving violations while 

having lower alcohol concentrations. Also, drug-impaired 

driving often occurs together with alcohol-impaired driving. 
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TABLE 1.06 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY 

GENDER OF VIOLATOR, 1995 – 2014 
 

 
 

Note: The table at left makes it appear that 

the number of violators for whom gender is 

not stated is increasing over time. This is not 

so. If a person arrested for DWI does not 

have a Minnesota driving record, one is 

created showing name and date of birth, but 

not gender. As years pass, many of these 

persons subsequently obtain a Minnesota 

driver’s license, causing gender to be entered 

on record. The table at left merely takes 

advantage of current information to 

categorize the gender of persons arrested in 

prior years. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TABLE 1.07 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS AMONG UNDER-21 DRIVERS, 

BY AGE, 1995 – 2014 
 

Year 0-14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Under 21 
 

1995 
 

1 
 

20 
 

115 
 

242 
 

521 
 

725 
 

819 
 

2,443 
1996 2 13 138 306 615 798 838 2,710 
1997 4 18 106 278 639 768 896 2,709 
1998 2 18 105 301 679 892 930 2,927 
1999 4 18 116 290 744 1,003 1,047 3,222 
2000 4 10 127 328 711 991 1,118 3,289 
2001 1 16 123 277 645 925 1,045 3,032 
2002 7 12 124 308 662 861 1,097 3,071 
2003 3 21 118 281 697 920 1,079 3,119 
2004 3 13 108 302 685 903 1,018 3,032 
2005 5 16 122 344 710 1,036 1,238 3,471 
2006 4 24 138 391 870 1,291 1,352 4,070 
2007 4 11 126 327 721 1,067 1,218 3,474 
2008 4 15 105 269 638 886 1,048 2,965 
2009 4 7 75 197 536 805 911 2,535 
2010 4 9 57 142 434 676 817 2,139 
2011 2 6 56 160 379 591 757 1,951 
2012 4 10 44 114 340 629 674 1,815 
2013 1 10 42 101 288 444 617 1,503 
2014 0 5 23 103 260 392 533 1,316 

Year Male Female Not Stated Total 
 

1995 
 

23,434 
 

5,469 
 

1,512 
 

30,415 
1996 23,981 5,466 1,482 30,929 
1997 24,111 5,833 1,442 31,386 
1998 24,644 6,151 1,636 32,431 
1999 26,112 6,549 1,911 34,572 
2000 26,069 6,844 2,110 35,023 
2001 24,840 6,592 2,117 33,549 
2002 24,276 6,653 2,234 33,163 
2003 23,455 6,630 2,271 32,356 
2004 24,676 7,306 2,387 34,369 
2005 26,337 8,162 2,585 37,084 
2006 29,355 9,471 3,190 42,016 
2007 26,861 8,976 2,932 38,769 
2008 24,610 8,588 2,673 35,871 
2009 22,582 8,068 2,348 32,998 
2010 20,305 7,522 2,185 30,012 
2011 20,278 7,419 1,828 29,525 
2012 19,368 7,275 2,023 28,666 
2013 17,425 6,609 1,978 26,012 
2014 16,908 6,189 2,161 25,258 
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TABLE 1.08 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY AGE GROUP OF VIOLATOR, 1995 - 2014 
 

Year 0-14 15-19 20-24 25-29 30-34 35-39 40-44 45-49 50-54 55-59 60-64 65-69 70-74 75+ Unk Total 
 

1995 
 

1 
 

1,623 
 

5,885 
 

5,551 
 

5,850 
 

4,550 
 

3,046 
 

1,740 
 

955 
 

553 
 

324 
 

185 
 

92 
 

60 
 

0 
 

30,415 
1996 2 1,870 5,809 5,589 5,463 4,792 3,181 1,929 1,009 595 318 215 97 60 0 30,929 
1997 4 1,809 5,825 5,722 5,082 4,969 3,360 2,112 1,172 621 341 206 97 66 0 31,386 
1998 2 1,995 6,260 5,598 4,912 5,224 3,631 2,262 1,155 677 340 195 103 77 0 32,431 
1999 4 2,171 7,400 5,850 4,913 5,255 3,853 2,372 1,331 672 403 192 96 60 0 34,572 
2000 4 2,167 7,782 5,844 4,826 5,122 3,943 2,482 1,400 696 372 194 119 72 0 35,023 
2001 1 1,986 7,917 5,454 4,566 4,449 3,911 2,465 1,457 651 339 192 100 61 0 33,549 
2002 7 1,987 8,149 5,283 4,372 4,060 3,876 2,498 1,456 752 358 197 105 83 0 33,163 
2003 3 2,037 8,249 5,420 4,012 3,643 3,653 2,469 1,382 753 384 188 96 67 0 32,356 
2004 3 2,011 8,741 5,926 4,263 3,667 3,850 2,712 1,654 791 425 166 92 68 0 34,369 
2005 5 2,228 9,635 6,846 4,383 3,804 3,867 2,938 1,676 923 411 215 92 61 0 37,084 
2006 4 2,714 11,057 8,076 4,781 4,162 4,028 3,337 1,984 1,029 449 226 109 59 1 42,016 
2007 4 2,252 9,905 7,410 4,493 3,960 3,638 3,173 1,919 1,101 492 263 93 66 0 38,769 
2008 4 1,913 8,623 6,908 4,530 3,600 3,282 3,010 1,948 1,104 555 229 101 64 0 35,871 
2009 4 1,620 7,638 6,446 4,128 3,385 2,970 2,895 1,900 1,063 538 233 120 57 1 32,998 
2010 4 1,318 6,862 5,804 3,972 2,932 2,679 2,579 1,929 1,090 546 237 99 61 0 30,112 
2011 2 1,192 6,558 5,881 3,938 2,807 2,688 2,408 1,923 1,084 618 232 121 73 0 29,525 
2012 4 1,137 6,456 5,478 3,985 2,657 2,688 2,231 1,844 1,098 614 276 137 61 0 28,666 
2013 1 885 5,526 5,076 3,814 2,627 2,269 1,973 1,792 1,056 567 248 109 69 0 26,012 
2014 0 783 5,110 4,842 3,592 2,711 2,267 1,864 1,799 1,175 611 318 115 71 0 25,258 

 

TABLE 1.09 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS IN TWIN CITIES METRO* AND 

NON-METRO AREAS, 1995 - 2014 

Twin Cities 

Metro Area Non-Metro Area Total 

Year 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

*The Twin Cities metro area includes the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and 
Washington. 

 number percent number percent number percent 
 

1995 
 

15,713 
 

51.7% 
 

14,702 
 

48.3% 
 

30,415 
 

100.0% 
1996 15,948 51.6% 14,981 48.4% 30,929 100.0% 
1997 16,149 51.5% 15,237 48.6% 31,386 100.0% 
1998 16,719 51.6% 15,712 48.5% 32,431 100.0% 
1999 17,139 49.6% 17,433 50.4% 34,572 100.0% 
2000 16,818 48.0% 18,205 52.0% 35,023 100.0% 
2001 16,353 48.7% 17,196 51.3% 33,549 100.0% 
2002 16,212 48.9% 16,951 51.1% 33,163 100.0% 
2003 16,041 49.6% 16,315 50.4% 32,356 100.0% 
2004 16,782 48.8% 17,587 51.2% 34,369 100.0% 
2005 17,877 48.2% 19,207 51.8% 37,084 100.0% 
2006 20,539 48.9% 21,477 51.1% 42,016 100.0% 
2007 18,800 48.5% 19,969 51.5% 38,769 100.0% 
2008 17,823 49.7% 18,048 50.3% 35,871 100.0% 
2009 16,347 49.5% 16,651 50.5% 32,998 100.0% 
2010 15,219 50.5% 14,893 49.5% 30,112 100.0% 
2011 14,978 50.7% 14,547 49.3% 29,525 100.0% 
2012 14,770 51.5% 13,896 48.5% 28,666 100.0% 
2013 13,423 51.6% 12,589 48.4% 26,012 100.0% 
2014 13,234 52.4% 12,024 47.6% 25,258 100.0% 
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TABLE 1.10 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY COUNTY OF ARREST, 2003 - 2014 
 

County 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 
 

Aitkin 
 

201 
 

164 
 

215 
 

210 
 

251 
 

159 
 

144 
 

108 
 

139 
 

134 
 

130 
 

79 
Anoka 1,711 1,957 2,059 2,162 2,337 2,139 1,926 1,691 1,454 1,392 1,186 1,149 
Becker 335 342 439 517 384 327 277 277 257 250 190 228 
Beltrami 434 437 356 446 512 536 421 378 434 298 299 290 
Benton 275 255 262 344 354 288 240 194 153 127 139 164 
Big Stone 40 33 24 47 36 28 19 24 20 42 22 23 
Blue Earth 596 544 643 680 614 594 645 472 403 346 386 376 
Brown 192 221 149 176 161 149 142 126 119 129 111 93 
Carlton 314 344 404 416 253 229 241 262 247 239 177 181 
Carver 345 414 422 432 395 376 282 286 331 310 257 303 
Cass 196 255 291 397 368 272 249 228 224 212 201 191 
Chippewa 107 104 115 144 98 97 48 76 55 57 52 51 
Chisago 323 398 380 378 374 317 310 239 216 208 233 178 
Clay 614 784 802 844 680 544 576 567 517 523 453 430 
Clearwater 66 68 68 59 57 75 81 92 49 37 42 41 
Cook 62 44 76 101 62 43 47 38 31 32 52 34 
Cottonwood 57 75 56 56 72 76 54 57 70 51 56 59 
Crow Wing 432 532 664 717 652 587 517 420 376 358 358 356 
Dakota 2,532 2,428 2,658 3,013 2,936 2,538 2,369 2,081 2,060 1,813 1,612 1,588 
Dodge 98 103 148 153 162 125 100 83 105 68 73 55 
Douglas 213 229 245 259 265 302 267 232 216 162 153 168 
Faribault 66 60 72 91 102 80 60 60 65 69 64 53 
Fillmore 103 122 111 143 116 102 89 91 89 75 80 72 
Freeborn 224 224 241 203 184 168 191 205 200 159 114 149 
Goodhue 297 285 386 529 398 445 387 335 349 333 260 303 
Grant 46 30 43 54 37 43 41 28 22 21 29 13 
Hennepin 7,093 7,350 7,541 8,595 7,783 7,487 6,797 6,329 6,805 6,964 6,474 5,864 
Houston 137 137 144 155 170 155 125 108 109 116 125 135 
Hubbard 138 109 157 182 164 118 138 111 171 120 98 84 
Isanti 159 239 266 367 261 189 163 144 157 160 131 151 
Itasca 238 314 486 584 455 341 390 280 314 329 322 291 
Jackson 43 46 50 83 97 68 58 67 63 81 54 42 
Kanabec 102 107 99 105 150 125 82 106 113 89 88 51 
Kandiyohi 246 289 288 319 268 295 273 213 231 242 193 181 
Kittson 22 23 24 22 20 24 18 15 22 12 18 10 
Koochiching 96 81 65 101 108 97 90 92 83 71 72 70 
Lac Qui Parle 27 18 37 45 47 35 38 39 27 28 25 26 
Lake 43 65 59 67 71 53 63 73 42 69 53 50 
Lake of the Woods 75 64 79 66 41 47 50 39 34 45 33 39 
Le Sueur 134 169 152 180 181 149 155 105 106 92 81 88 
Lincoln 8 15 29 31 37 25 23 26 22 29 24 18 
Lyon 182 159 214 200 167 194 181 173 138 159 151 152 
McLeod 269 232 267 366 290 282 229 176 184 149 158 159 
Mahnomen 108 118 129 97 113 114 105 100 108 99 73 67 
Marshall 39 41 57 50 59 61 36 37 43 49 29 29 
Martin 142 140 134 120 180 153 118 129 91 89 81 89 
Meeker 86 111 118 149 146 123 95 96 62 48 71 53 
Mille Lacs 254 286 302 353 293 237 240 233 191 174 125 90 
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TABLE 1.10 (Continued) 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY COUNTY OF ARREST, 2003 - 2014 
 

County 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 
 

Morrison 
 

181 
 

164 
 

195 
 

209 
 

213 
 

203 
 

173 
 

187 
 

156 
 

144 
 

168 
 

105 
Mower 345 295 324 309 346 414 304 261 275 278 265 310 
Murray 39 25 31 35 37 37 25 20 21 25 17 19 
Nicollet 288 281 320 360 254 239 186 174 170 167 114 110 
Nobles 182 164 191 186 186 176 166 151 118 141 151 129 
Norman 23 20 55 55 43 28 39 23 49 39 41 36 
Olmsted 702 784 886 837 1,024 999 986 876 966 754 644 674 
Otter Tail 342 404 416 429 434 344 302 337 299 267 316 258 
Pennington 90 120 125 119 106 96 62 73 66 87 91 89 
Pine 252 333 342 351 285 265 206 202 173 176 145 136 
Pipestone 42 51 69 60 74 61 45 45 47 36 36 43 
Polk 309 322 276 304 282 265 272 253 232 239 247 200 
Pope 67 65 84 72 62 57 50 52 40 49 40 42 
Ramsey 2,333 2,395 2,629 3,233 2,913 3,005 2,883 2,954 2,672 2,680 2,381 2,626 
Red Lake 41 34 47 79 71 53 44 36 30 34 28 23 
Redwood 79 110 128 149 152 118 140 97 91 107 83 79 
Renville 109 127 134 159 110 100 106 138 126 118 78 115 
Rice 420 407 335 349 433 408 367 332 332 264 217 249 
Rock 60 47 52 62 55 38 29 36 52 34 53 45 
Roseau 115 158 161 141 127 146 148 92 114 116 112 104 
St. Louis 1,334 1,491 1,603 1,726 1,564 1,592 1,667 1,318 1,277 1,219 1,076 1,037 
Scott 692 914 1,118 1,257 1,076 962 820 764 638 620 586 699 
Sherburne 387 468 578 803 689 584 536 472 416 514 471 389 
Sibley 101 134 112 123 129 84 66 54 42 49 70 65 
Stearns 942 1,005 1,147 1,342 1,309 1,082 1,039 976 965 1,026 872 797 
Steele 191 226 258 292 247 212 232 221 194 252 171 187 
Stevens 52 49 46 41 44 43 43 27 50 42 31 40 
Swift 59 41 42 63 51 57 40 37 65 59 61 51 
Todd 112 136 163 240 205 142 150 108 84 103 101 101 
Traverse 19 24 21 22 15 15 7 15 8 15 12 6 
Wabasha 187 139 155 201 171 179 188 134 134 101 102 105 
Wadena 104 81 91 127 112 99 90 71 68 65 67 58 
Waseca 142 109 117 151 150 124 89 78 84 86 64 57 
Washington 1,335 1,324 1,450 1,847 1,360 1,316 1,270 1,114 1,018 991 927 1,005 
Watonwan 77 76 97 104 86 64 60 37 51 30 42 30 
Wilkin 71 60 50 72 78 57 42 52 71 56 61 64 
Winona 360 500 422 381 365 399 342 355 337 318 306 310 
Wright 571 648 698 883 847 677 515 480 594 621 497 455 
Yellow Medicine 81 73 90 134 103 120 79 119 83 85 60 44 
 

Totals: 
 

32,356 
 

34,369 
 

37,084 
 

42,016 
 

38,769 
 

35,871 
 

32,998 
 

30,112 
 

29,525 
 

28,666 
 

26,012 
 

25,258 
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TABLE 1.11 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, BY TOTAL NUMBER ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD 

Part I: 1999 – 2006 
 
 

Incident 

Number 
 

1999 
 

% 
 

2000 
 

% 
 

2001 
 

% 
 

2002 
 

% 
 

2003 
 

% 
 

2004 
 

% 
 

2005 
 

% 
 

2006 
 

% 
 

1 
 

19,652 
 

56.8% 
 

20,265 
 

57.9% 
 

19,431 
 

57.9% 
 

19,530 
 

58.9% 
 

19,160 
 

59.2% 
 

20,429 
 

59.4% 
 

22,508 
 

60.7% 
 

25,973 
 

61.8% 
2 7,468 21.6% 7,442 21.3% 7,135 21.3% 7,048 21.3% 6,931 21.4% 7,478 21.8% 7,992 21.6% 9,002 21.4% 
3 3,665 10.6% 3,582 10.2% 3,450 10.3% 3,262 9.8% 3,165 9.8% 3,356 9.8% 3,491 9.4% 3,888 9.3% 
4 1,790 5.2% 1,726 4.9% 1,685 5.0% 1,578 4.8% 1,514 4.7% 1,511 4.4% 1,540 4.2% 1,640 3.9% 
5 853 2.5% 872 2.5% 793 2.4% 743 2.2% 636 2.0% 685 2.0% 696 1.9% 711 1.7% 
6 441 1.3% 455 1.3% 423 1.3% 394 1.2% 405 1.3% 359 1.0% 357 1.0% 351 0.8% 
7 256 0.7% 241 0.7% 250 0.8% 232 0.7% 218 0.7% 212 0.6% 203 0.6% 185 0.4% 
8 172 0.5% 163 0.5% 120 0.4% 115 0.4% 125 0.4% 127 0.4% 119 0.3% 98 0.2% 
9 102 0.3% 96 0.3% 85 0.3% 93 0.3% 72 0.2% 79 0.2% 72 0.2% 65 0.2% 

10 58 0.2% 60 0.2% 69 0.2% 46 0.1% 35 0.1% 61 0.2% 38 0.1% 39 0.1% 
11 42 0.1% 40 0.1% 37 0.1% 35 0.1% 30 0.1% 20 0.1% 25 0.1% 23 0.1% 
12 26 0.1% 31 0.1% 19 0.1% 27 0.1% 25 0.1% 19 0.1% 11 * 13 * 
13 14 * 13 * 20 0.1% 24 0.1% 9 * 10 * 15 * 10 * 
14 11 * 7 * 12 * 11 * 10 * 7 * 6 * 8 * 
15 11 * 7 * 6 * 12 * 9 * 2 * 5 * 1 * 
16 4 * 8 * 5 * 3 * 3 * 4 * 2 * 2 * 
17 4 * 2 * 3 * 6 * 3 * 3 * 0 0% 4 * 
18 1 * 5 * 2 * 1 * 1 * 1 * 1 * 2 * 
19 1 * 4 * 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 2 * 1 * 1 * 
20 1 * 1 * 3 * 0 0% 1 * 1 * 1 * 0 0% 
21 0 0% 3 * 0 0% 1 * 1 * 2 * 0 0% 0 0% 
22 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 2 * 1 * 0 0% 1 * 0 0% 
23 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 1 * 1 * 0 0% 0 0% 
24 0 0% 0 0% 1 * 0 0% 1 * 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 
25 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 

 

Totals: 
 

34,572 
 

100% 
 

35,023 
 

100% 
 

33,549 
 

100 
 

33,163 
 

100% 
 

32,356 
 

100% 
 

34,369 
 

100% 
 

37,084 
 

100% 
 

42,016 
 

100% 
 

*Less than one-half of one percent 

 

 
Table continues on next page 



Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2014 Page  11 Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety  

TABLE 1.11 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, BY TOTAL NUMBER ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD 

Part II: 2007 – 2014 
 
 

Incident 

Number 
 

2007 
 

% 
 

2008 
 

% 
 

2009 
 

% 
 

2010 
 

% 
 

2011 
 

% 
 

2012 
 

% 
 

2013 
 

% 
 

2014 
 

% 
 

1 
 

23,624 
 

60.9% 
 

21,382 
 

59.6% 
 

19,373 
 

58.7% 
 

17,545 
 

58.3% 
 

17,258 
 

58.5% 
 

17,049 
 

59.5% 
 

15,377 
 

59.1% 
 

14,874 
 

58.9% 
2 8,545 22.0% 8,092 22.6% 7,534 22.8% 6,871 22.8% 6,714 22.7% 6,429 22.4% 5,936 22.8% 5,584 22.1% 
3 3,598 9.3% 3,527 9.8% 3,406 10.3% 3,174 10.5% 3,163 10.7% 2,889 10.1% 2,591 10.0% 2,644 10.5% 
4 1,583 4.1% 1,518 4.2% 1,456 4.4% 1,399 4.7% 1,317 4.5% 1,278 4.5% 1,145 4.4% 1,146 4.5% 
5 660 1.7% 633 1.8% 568 1.7% 561 1.9% 467 1.6% 525 1.8% 491 1.9% 509 2.0% 
6 331 0.9% 299 0.8% 266 0.8% 229 0.8% 258 0.9% 198 0.7% 209 0.8% 209 0.8% 
7 165 0.4% 153 0.4% 149 0.5% 136 0.5% 130 0.4% 127 0.4% 117 0.5% 119 0.5% 
8 112 0.3% 95 0.3% 98 0.3% 72 0.2% 78 0.3% 59 0.2% 59 0.2% 68 0.3% 
9 57 0.2% 67 0.2% 47 0.1% 47 0.2% 55 0.2% 39 0.1% 38 0.2% 31 0.1% 
10 35 0.1% 43 0.1% 35 0.1% 28 0.1% 31 0.1% 27 0.1% 15 0.1% 25 0.1% 
11 19 0.1% 25 0.1% 26 0.1% 16 0.1% 19 0.1% 11 * 13 0.1% 25 0.1% 
12 13 * 11 * 19 0.1% 17 0.1% 8 * 12 * 6 * 8 * 
13 10 * 11 * 5 * 7 * 7 * 10 * 7 * 3 * 
14 7 * 6 * 5 * 3 * 12 * 2 * 2 * 3 * 
15 1 * 3 * 3 * 3 * 2 * 4 * 2 * 3 * 
16 3 * 2 * 2 * 2 * 1 * 2 * 2 * 2 * 
17 2 * 1 * 1 * 0 0% 0 0% 2 * 0 0% 1 * 
18 1 * 1 * 2 * 1 * 0 0% 1 * 1 * 1 * 
19 1 * 2 * 0 0% 0 0% 1 * 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 
20 0 0 0 0 1 * 1 * 2 * 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 
21 1 * 0 0 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 1 * 2 * 
22 1 * 0 0 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 1 * 0 0% 1 * 
23 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0% 2 * 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 
24 0 0 0 0 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 1 * 0 0% 0 0% 
25 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 0 0% 

 

Totals: 
 

38,769 
 

100% 
 

35,871 
 

100% 
 

32,998 
 

100% 
 

30,112 
 

100% 
 

29,525 
 

100% 
 

28,666 
 

100% 
 

26,012 
 

100% 
 

25,258 
 

100% 
 

 

Table 1.11 counts  incidents that occurred  in 

Minnesota, based on the total number of incidents the 

person has on his or her driving record. That is, 

incidents counted in row 1 were incurred by first-time 

violators who had zero prior impaired driving incidents 

on their driving record. For example, Mr. Smith incurs 

his first-ever incident anywhere, and that incident 

occurs in Minneapolis in January, 2001. Mr. Smith 

incurs a second incident in Iowa in July, 2002, and a 

third incident, again in Minneapolis, in August, 2004. 

In this case, Mr. Smith’s first incident contributes a 

count of one to row 1 of the 2001 column. The second 

incident is not counted in the above table because it did 

not occur in Minnesota.  The third incident contributes 

a count of one to the third row of the 2004 column 

because it did occur in Minnesota and because it is the 

third       on       Mr.       Smith’s       driving       record. 
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II. IMPAIRED DRIVING CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATES 
 
 

This section provides statistics on the number of 

impaired driving incidents by county and judicial 

district, and the number and percentage of that total 

for which there is a criminal conviction on some type 

of impaired driving charge. On an infrequent basis, 

however, an offense will lead to an impaired driving 

conviction, but not be counted as such. This could be 

due either: 

 

(1) The conviction occurred after the date on which 

the data used to compile these statistics  were 

extracted from the state driver’s license files, or 

(2) To reporting errors. 

 
Timing of conviction 

Conviction rates for 2014 were calculated using data 

available on June 1, 2015 – five full months after the 

end of the 2014 calendar year. However, the criminal 

charge sometimes takes longer than that to resolve. 

This is especially true for more serious charges, such 

as the higher-level impaired driving offenses. A 

driver is more likely to challenge such charges in the 

courts. 

 
Reporting errors 

The second reason a conviction might not be counted 

is human error. A court clerk may fail to accurately 

record a plea, a verdict or a judge’s sentence. The 

Court Administrator’s office may not accurately 

transmit notice of the conviction to the Department of 

Public Safety. The Department of Public Safety may 

not accurately record the conviction on the person’s 

driving record. The procedures that underlie the 

charging, prosecuting, adjudicating, and recording of 

impaired driving offenses are complex enough that 

there are opportunities for mistakes. The objective in 

reporting the statistics here is to assist in identifying 

possible failures so they can be corrected. 

 
Examples of why a conviction may not be counted 

Hypothetically, if a county had 100 impaired driving 

incidents committed by first-time violators in 2014 

and  driver’s  license  records  show  that  only  85 

resulted in an impaired driving conviction, then the 

conviction rate is 85 out of 100, or 85.0%. There was 

no impaired driving conviction posted on a driver’s 

record  for  15 of the  incidents.  Suppose  that  John 

Smith  committed  one  of  those  15  incidents.  This 

means that Smith was stopped; he took and failed, or 

refused  to  take,  tests  for  alcohol  or  controlled 

substances,   thus   incurring   an   implied   consent 

violation and triggering the impaired driving incident 

to be posted on his record. Here are some reasons 

why a criminal conviction might not be reported for 

Mr. Smith: 

 

(1) There was a plea bargain: For example, the 

prosecutor agreed to allow Smith to plead guilty to 

careless driving. 

(2) Smith was convicted on some type of impaired 

driving charge, but not until after the June 1, 2015 

date on which the statistics compiled here are based. 

(3) Smith was convicted, but the judge stayed 

adjudication of the conviction on condition that 

Smith conforms to various requirements. Since 

adjudication was stayed, the conviction is held in 

abeyance and not transmitted to the Department of 

Public Safety. 

(4) In addition to impaired driving, Smith had a 

felony charge for transporting  methamphetamines. 

He pled guilty to the felony offense and was 

sentenced to five years in prison and a fine of $5,000. 

The county attorney waived the charge on the 

impaired driving offense. 

(5) The judge stayed imposition of the sentence on 

condition that Smith conforms to various 

requirements. The court clerk accidentally recorded 

the stay of imposition as a stay of adjudication, 

causing the Court Administrator’s office to not 

forward the conviction notice to the Department of 

Public Safety. 

(6) Smith was convicted of some impaired driving 
offense, but the Court Administrator’s office did not 
report the conviction to the Department of Public 
Safety, or reported it in an incorrect manner that 

caused the report to be rejected.
‡

 

(7) Smith was convicted and the Department of 

Public Safety was properly notified of the conviction 

but mistakenly entered the impaired driving 

conviction as a conviction for some other type of 

violation (e.g., speeding). 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

‡ 
The Department of Public Safety returns incomplete 

reports to the Court Administrator’s Office with a 

request for a corrected report. 
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How the Conviction Rate is Calculated 
The conviction rate is expressed merely as a percent: 

out of 100 incidents, what number resulted in a 

conviction for some type of impaired driving offense. 

Two issues require comment: (1) how  prior 

violations are counted; and, (2) the circumstance that 

the conviction rate is not a measure of how much 

plea bargaining or sentence bargaining may be 

occurring. 

 
1. Counting prior violations 
Table 2.01 has separate columns for first- through 
fourth-or-subsequent-time violators. The violators 
who committed the incidents were put into these 

categories based on a lifetime look back period,
§ 

not a 

ten-year look back period. The current statute MS 
169A defines impaired driving offense levels in terms 
of certain aggravating factors. Prior incidents in the 

last ten years are one type of aggravating factor.
** 

(Each prior incident augments the count of 
aggravating factors by one.) If a ten-year look back 

period had been used, there would have been slightly 
more incidents counted into the “first-time violators” 
column and slightly fewer counted into the second- 
through fourth-or-subsequent-time columns. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

§ 
The term “lifetime” look back period may be 

misleading. Currently, an impaired driving incident 

remains on the driver’s license forever, and for 

several decades there has been a rule that a second 

impaired driving incident causes all incidents to be 

kept on record forever. However, at different points 

in the past, there were different rules followed—that 

a single incident not followed by a second was 

eligible to be purged from the driver’s record after 

seven, or ten, or fifteen, years had passed. However, 

purging of incidents from records was not performed 

systematically; so even when those rules were in 

effect, eligibility to be purged did not mean that an 

incident was purged. For practical purposes, as an 

example, if a person is now in their forties and had a 

single impaired driving incident when they were in 

their teens or twenties, then that incident may or may 

not have been purged from their driving record. 
** 

The other two aggravating factors are (1) presence 

of children in the vehicle, and (2) having an alcohol 

concentration of .16% or higher (as of July 1, 2011). 

2. Not measuring plea bargaining 
People are concerned with how much plea bargaining 

takes place in impaired driving cases. The conviction 

rates are not good measures of plea bargaining, 

however. Plus, bargaining takes two forms. Plea 

bargaining occurs when a prosecutor initially charges 

for one offense (e.g., first-degree impaired driving) 

and then accepts a plea of guilty to a lesser offense 

(e.g., second-, third-,  or fourth-degree  impaired 

driving, or reckless driving, or speeding, etc.). 

Second, there is sentence bargaining: The prosecutor 

agrees to accept a sentence less than the maximum 

for the offense on which the violator is convicted. For 

example, Smith pleads guilty to gross misdemeanor 

impaired driving but gets a misdemeanor impaired 

driving sentence. 

 

 

 

 

Judicial Districts in Minnesota 
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The conviction rates reported here do not measure the 

extent of plea bargaining or sentence bargaining. 

They only quantify, for all the incidents  that 

occurred, the percentage that resulted in some kind of 

impaired driving conviction. It cannot be known, 

from the driver’s license data, (1) if the conviction 

was for a lesser offense than the one initially charged, 

or, (2) what the sentence was. 

 
Conviction rates vary by County and District 

The state is divided into ten judicial districts. Ramsey 

County is District 2, and Hennepin County is District 

4. The other eight districts encompass from four to 17 

counties that are geographically close together. 

Conviction rates usually vary by district and by 

county. Across the Districts in 2014, the range of 

conviction rates was from 68.4% (District 4: 

Hennepin County) to 83.6% (for District 9, 

comprised of 17 counties in Northwest Minnesota). 

Some counties had conviction rates at 90% or higher: 

Traverse  (100%),  Watonwan  (93%),  Lyon  (91%), 

Cook (91%) and Beltrami (91%). 

 

Two counties had conviction rates that were 60% or 

lower: Kittson (60%) and Washington (57%). 

 

Out of 25,258 impaired driving incidents in 2014, the 

overall conviction rate for Minnesota was 75%. As 

mentioned previously, the conviction rate for each 

year will increase to approximately 85% as judicial 

outcomes are settled. 
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TABLE 2.01 

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 2014 

BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL 
 

 ALL 

VIOLATOR 
 
S 

1
ST

-TIME 

VIOLATOR 
 
S 

2
ND

-TIME 

VIOLATOR 
 
S 

3
RD

-TIME 

VIOLATOR 
 
S 

4
TH

+ TIME 

VIOLATORS 
 
 

District 

and County 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con-    Con- 

vic- vict. 
tions Rate 

N % 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con-    Con- 

vic- vict. 
tions Rate 

N % 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con-    Con- 

vic- vict. 
tions Rate 

N % 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con-    Con- 

vic- vict. 
tions Rate 

N % 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con-    Con- 

vic- vict. 
tions Rate 

N % 
Judicial Dist 1     
CARVER 303 246 81.2 171 139 81.3 75 63 84.0 32 27 84.4 25 17 68.0 
DAKOTA 1,588 1,132 71.3 933 637 68.3 381 297 78.0 155 111 71.6 119 87 73.1 
GOODHUE 303 227 74.9 168 126 75.0 77 62 80.5 28 22 78.6 30 17 56.7 
LE SUEUR 88 73 83.0 51 43 84.3 22 20 90.9 11 8 72.7 4 2 50.0 
MCLEOD 159 128 80.5 90 70 77.8 34 31 91.2 24 16 66.7 11 11 100.0 
SCOTT 699 530 75.8 399 301 75.4 157 122 77.7 75 58 77.3 68 49 72.1 
SIBLEY 65 55 84.6 35 29 82.9 14 13 92.9 7 5 71.4 9 8 88.9 

SUBTOTAL: 3,205 2,391 74.6 1,847 1,345 72.8 760 608 80.0 332 247 74.4 266 191 71.8 
 

Judicial Dist 2 
     

RAMSEY 2,626 1,875 71.4 1,674 1,113 66.5 536 425 79.3 242 197 81.4 174 140 80.5 
 

Judicial Dist 3 
     

DODGE 55 42 76.4 30 25 83.3 11 8 72.7 6 5 83.3 8 4 50.0 
FILLMORE 72 56 77.8 43 34 79.1 15 11 73.3 9 7 77.8 5 4 80.0 
FREEBORN 149 115 77.2 85 66 77.6 35 28 80.0 17 13 76.5 12 8 66.7 
HOUSTON 135 107 79.3 85 66 77.6 22 19 86.4 19 16 84.2 9 6 66.7 
MOWER 310 218 70.3 169 117 69.2 82 59 72.0 35 21 60.0 24 21 87.5 
OLMSTED 674 584 86.6 391 350 89.5 157 127 80.9 71 62 87.3 55 45 81.8 
RICE 249 191 76.7 133 100 75.2 55 46 83.6 33 27 81.8 28 18 64.3 
STEELE 187 147 78.6 99 76 76.8 43 32 74.4 24 22 91.7 21 17 81.0 
WABASHA 105 89 84.8 57 50 87.7 18 13 72.2 12 11 91.7 18 15 83.3 
WASECA 57 51 89.5 28 26 92.9 13 11 84.6 12 10 83.3 4 4 100.0 
WINONA 310 239 77.1 217 163 75.1 54 45 83.3 20 15 75.0 19 16 84.2 

SUBTOTAL: 2,303 1,839 79.9 1,337 1,073 80.3 505 399 79.0 258 209 81.0 203 158 77.8 
 

Judicial Dist 4 
     

HENNEPIN 5,864 4,013 68.4 3,626 2,358 65.0 1,269 954 75.2 595 420 70.6 374 281 75.1 
 
Judicial Dist 5 

     

BLUE EARTH 376 302 80.3 231 192 83.1 79 59 74.7 32 24 75.0 34 27 79.4 
BROWN 93 78 83.9 58 51 87.9 20 15 75.0 9 9 100.0 6 3 50.0 
COTTONWOOD 59 43 72.9 39 29 74.4 16 12 75.0 3 2 66.7 1 0 0.0 
FARIBAULT 53 41 77.4 30 23 76.7 10 9 90.0 7 4 57.1 6 5 83.3 
JACKSON 42 27 64.3 22 14 63.6 13 8 61.5 6 4 66.7 1 1 100.0 
LINCOLN 18 14 77.8 9 7 77.8 4 4 100 2 2 100.0 3 1 33.3 
LYON 152 138 90.8 98 89 90.8 28 23 82.1 16 16 100.0 10 10 100.0 
MARTIN 89 73 82.0 50 44 88.0 24 19 79.2 9 6 66.7 6 4 66.7 
MURRAY 19 17 89.5 16 14 87.5 1 1 100 1 1 100.0 1 1 100.0 
NICOLLET 110 82 74.5 60 46 76.7 30 23 76.7 10 7 70.0 10 6 60.0 
NOBLES 129 87 67.4 96 66 68.8 16 11 68.8 11 8 72.7 6 2 33.3 
PIPESTONE 43 35 81.4 29 23 79.3 4 3 75.0 5 4 80.0 5 5 100.0 
REDWOOD 79 70 88.6 40 34 85.0 19 18 94.7 11 10 90.9 9 8 88.9 
ROCK 45 36 80.0 27 21 77.8 7 5 71.4 4 4 100.0 7 6 85.7 
WATONWAN 30 28 93.3 17 17 100.0 9 8 88.9 1 0 0.0 3 3 100.0 

SUBTOTAL: 1,337 1,071 80.1 822 670 81.5 280 218 77.9 127 101 79.5 108 82 75.9 
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TABLE 2.01 (Continued) 

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 2014 

BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL 
 

 ALL 

VIOLATOR 
 
S 

1
ST

-TIME 

VIOLATOR 
 
S 

2
ND

-TIME 

VIOLATOR 
 
S 

3
RD

-TIME 

VIOLATORS 
4

TH
+ TIME 

VIOLATORS 
 
 

District 

and County 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

 

Judicial Dist 6 
     

CARLTON 181 154 85.1 93 84 90.3 45 36 80.0 20 17 85.0 23 17 73.9 
COOK 34 31 91.2 16 14 87.5 9 8 88.9 4 4 100.0 5 5 100.0 
LAKE 50 43 86.0 19 15 78.9 21 20 95.2 5 4 80.0 5 4 80.0 
ST. LOUIS 1,037 779 75.1 625 461 73.8 206 159 77.2 100 75 75.0 106 84 79.2 

SUBTOTAL: 1,302 1,007 77.3 753 574 76.2 281 223 79.4 129 100 77.5 139 110 79.1 
 
Judicial Dist 7 

     

BECKER 228 188 82.5 122 101 82.8 45 40 88.9 32 25 78.1 29 22 75.9 
BENTON 164 129 78.7 88 71 80.7 32 23 71.9 17 13 76.5 27 22 81.5 
CLAY 430 356 82.8 270 227 84.1 99 83 83.8 33 24 72.7 28 22 78.6 
DOUGLAS 168 141 83.9 96 84 87.5 33 25 75.8 17 14 82.4 22 18 81.8 
MILLE LACS 90 75 83.3 43 37 86.0 20 16 80.0 14 13 92.9 13 9 69.2 
MORRISON 105 78 74.3 48 37 77.1 25 23 92.0 12 8 66.7 20 10 50.0 
OTTER TAIL 258 227 88.0 125 111 88.8 64 55 85.9 36 32 88.9 33 29 87.9 
STEARNS 797 621 77.9 479 375 78.3 180 138 76.7 79 61 77.2 59 47 79.7 
TODD 101 83 82.2 47 38 80.9 30 26 86.7 14 10 71.4 10 9 90.0 
WADENA 58 48 82.8 28 21 75.0 12 12 100.0 9 9 100.0 9 6 66.7 

SUBTOTAL: 2,399 1,946 81.1 1,346 1,102 81.9 540 441 81.7 263 209 79.5 250 194 77.6 
 

Judicial Dist 8 
     

BIG STONE 23 19 82.6 16 14 87.5 5 3 60.0 0 0 0.0 2 2 100.0 
CHIPPEWA 51 38 74.5 28 18 64.3 15 13 86.7 6 5 83.3 2 2 100.0 
GRANT 13 10 76.9 6 5 83.3 5 4 80.0 1 0 0.0 1 1 100.0 
KANDIYOHI 181 157 86.7 110 93 84.5 33 31 93.9 19 18 94.7 19 15 78.9 
LAC QUI PARLE 26 23 88.5 17 15 88.2 4 4 100.0 1 1 100.0 4 3 75.0 
MEEKER 53 45 84.9 25 21 84.0 18 14 77.8 3 3 100.0 7 7 100.0 
POPE 42 34 81.0 25 20 80.0 6 5 83.3 8 7 87.5 3 2 66.7 
RENVILLE 115 91 79.1 59 48 81.4 27 20 74.1 16 13 81.3 13 10 76.9 
STEVENS 40 34 85.0 28 22 78.6 8 8 100.0 3 3 100.0 1 1 100.0 
SWIFT 51 41 80.4 29 23 79.3 12 11 91.7 7 6 85.7 3 1 33.3 
TRAVERSE 6 6 100.0 3 3 100.0 2 2 100.0 0 0 0.0 1 1 100.0 
WILKIN 64 53 82.8 43 35 81.4 13 10 76.9 5 5 100.0 3 3 100.0 
YELLOW MED 44 35 79.5 21 18 85.7 13 11 84.6 5 4 80.0 5 2 40.0 

SUBTOTAL: 709 586 82.7 410 335 81.7 161 136 84.5 74 65 87.8 64 50 78.1 
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TABLE 2.01 (Continued) 

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 2014 

BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL 
 

 ALL 

VIOLATOR 
 
S 

1
ST

-TIME 

VIOLATOR 
 
S 

2
ND

-TIME 

VIOLATOR 
 
S 

3
RD

-TIME 

VIOLATORS 
4

TH
+ TIME 

VIOLATORS 
 
 

District 

and County 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

 

Judicial Dist 9 
     

AITKIN 79 60 75.9 37 31 83.8 17 11 64.7 8 7 87.5 17 11 64.7 
BELTRAMI 290 263 90.7 180 165 91.7 60 54 90.0 25 22 88.0 25 22 88.0 
CASS 191 160 83.8 99 81 81.8 31 25 80.6 32 29 90.6 29 25 86.2 
CLEARWATER 41 35 85.4 17 13 76.5 11 10 90.9 6 6 100.0 7 6 85.7 
CROW WING 356 284 79.8 200 153 76.5 69 63 91.3 47 36 76.6 40 32 80.0 
HUBBARD 84 73 86.9 44 38 86.4 14 13 92.9 14 10 71.4 12 12 100.0 
ITASCA 291 242 83.2 150 119 79.3 63 54 85.7 32 28 87.5 46 41 89.1 
KITTSON 10 6 60.0 6 4 66.7 1 0 0.0 1 0 0.0 2 2 100.0 
KOOCHICHING 70 59 84.3 31 26 83.9 21 17 81.0 8 8 100.0 10 8 80.0 
LAKE OF WDS 39 33 84.6 25 20 80.0 7 7 100.0 1 1 100.0 6 5 83.3 
MAHNOMEN 67 56 83.6 33 25 75.8 14 14 100.0 6 4 66.7 14 13 92.9 
MARSHALL 29 23 79.3 15 10 66.7 8 8 100.0 2 2 100.0 4 3 75.0 
NORMAN 36 30 83.3 22 17 77.3 6 6 100.0 3 2 66.7 5 5 100.0 
PENNINGTON 89 75 84.3 50 45 90.0 21 14 66.7 11 11 100.0 7 5 71.4 
POLK 200 172 86.0 134 119 88.8 29 23 79.3 22 18 81.8 15 12 80.0 
RED LAKE 23 18 78.3 13 9 69.2 5 5 100.0 4 3 75.0 1 1 100.0 
ROSEAU 104 82 78.8 63 52 82.5 27 20 74.1 10 6 60.0 4 4 100.0 

SUBTOTAL: 1,999 1,671 83.6 1,119 927 82.8 404 344 85.1 232 193 83.2 244 207 84.8 
 

Judicial Dist 10 
     

ANOKA 1,149 874 76.1 619 451 72.9 276 221 80.1 129 108 83.7 125 94 75.2 
CHISAGO 178 131 73.6 87 67 77.0 49 35 71.4 25 18 72.0 17 11 64.7 
ISANTI 151 107 70.9 76 58 76.3 41 31 75.6 20 12 60.0 14 6 42.9 
KANABEC 51 38 74.5 22 17 77.3 15 11 73.3 6 4 66.7 8 6 75.0 
PINE 136 94 69.1 67 46 68.7 40 24 60.0 12 9 75.0 17 15 88.2 
SHERBURNE 389 299 76.9 216 167 77.3 92 65 70.7 53 43 81.1 28 24 85.7 
WASHINGTON 1,005 574 57.1 615 330 53.7 229 145 63.3 84 50 59.5 77 49 63.6 
WRIGHT 455 325 71.4 238 167 70.2 106 77 72.6 63 50 79.4 48 31 64.6 

SUBTOTAL: 3,514 2,442 69.5 1,940 1,303 67.2 848 609 71.8 392 294 75.0 334 236 70.1 
 

Totals for 

Minnesota: 

 
 

25,258 

 
 

18,841 

 
 

74.6 

 
 

14,874 

 
 

10,800 

 
 

72.6 

 
 

5,584 

 
 

4,357 

 
 

78.0 

 
 

2,644 

 
 

2,035 

 
 

77.0 

 
 

2,156 

 
 

1,649 

 
 

76.5 
 

NOTE: 
(1) There is no restriction on the “look back” period in 

counting prior violations. For example, a second-time violator 

could have incurred his or her first violation 12 years, or 1 

week, prior to the second violation. 

(2) Caution regarding interpreting table: The data compiled 

here reflect convictions received as of June 1, 2015. 

 
However, new information is constantly being added to driver’s 

license records. In addition, as offense level increases, violators 

face stiffer penalties and have more incentive to fight 

conviction through legal proceedings. The conviction rates will 

therefore increase as time passes; each year the overall 

conviction rate for all offenses will rise to approximately 85%. 
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III. PERSONS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD 
 

This section reports statistics on Minnesota’s total 

population, the population of licensed drivers and the 

population of persons who have impaired driving 

incidents on their driving record. 

 
Currently, an impaired driving incident is kept on 

record permanently 
Current practice is that an impaired driving incident 

stays on a person’s driver’s license record 

permanently. However, there were different rules in 

the past. At points over the last 30 years, a single 

incident might have been eligible to be purged from a 

driving record after seven, ten, or fifteen years. 

However, purging of incidents from records was not 

performed systematically so even when the different 

rules were in effect, eligibility to be purged did not 

mean that an incident was purged. Apart from rules 

for a single incident, there has long been (for several 

decades) in effect a rule that if a person incurred a 

second impaired driving incident, then all impaired 

driving incidents were kept on record permanently. 

The practical effect of having the different rules over 

time is that the number of persons currently shown to 

have two or more incidents on record will be close to 

the true number of people who ever accumulated two 

or more incidents, while the number shown to have 

only one incident will understate the true number of 

people who ever incurred a single incident. For 

example, there are  probably many middle-aged or 

older persons who incurred a single incident when 

they were young, but never incurred a second one. At 

some point (probably in the early 1990s, or before), 

the single incident was purged from their driving 

records. 

 
11.1% of Minnesota residents have a DWI 

In all, 607,885 Minnesota residents have one or more 

impaired driving incidents on their driving record. 

That is 11.1% of all people living in Minnesota 

(using the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2014 population 

estimate for Minnesota). 

 
1 in 7 licensed drivers has an incident on record 

Now consider that many residents in Minnesota are 

too young to drive. Out of the 2014 total of licensed 

drivers in Minnesota, nearly 1 in 7 have one or more 

incidents on record, 1 in 16 have two or more, and 1 

in 35 have three or more. 

In addition to Minnesota residents, there are 113,809 

non-residents on record who have incurred one or 

more incidents in Minnesota. 

 
Counties vary 

As noted, 11.1%  of the state’s population has  an 

incident on their driving record. There is variation by 

county. The five counties with the highest 

percentages are: Mahnomen (23.1%), Mille Lacs 

(17.2%), Cass (16.1%), Clearwater (15.9%), and 

Aitkin (15.7%) – these counties are north and west of 

the Twin Cities. 

 

The counties with the lowest percentages are Stevens 

(8.0%), Rock (8.1%), Carver (8.9%), Lincoln (9.2%), 

Washington (9.3%) and Olmsted (9.4%) – mostly in 

the lower half of Minnesota. Reasons for the 

variation might include: prevalence of chemical 

dependency problems in the population, strictness of 

enforcement of DWI laws, and whether the county is 

in a vacation or recreational area of the state. 

 
Each year, most DWI offenders are first-timers 

There is a perception that so much of the drinking 

and driving problem is concentrated in a rather small 

subset   of   the   population   whose   members   are 

chemically dependent and who drink and drive over 

and over again.  There is evidence to support such a 

perception. Forty-two percent of the 607,885 persons 

in the state with incidents on record have two or more 

incidents. Some  people  have  a  large  number  of 

incidents:  1,324 have ten or more.  One person now 

has 25 incidents on record.   Still, it is possible the 

perception  distracts  attention  from  the  reality  that 

most violators do not have prior incidents on record. 

Fifty-eight percent have only one incident. (As noted 

earlier, this understates the true number since a single 

incident  may  have  been  purged  from  a  person’s 

driving record). 
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TABLE 3.01 

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA BY AGE-GROUP AND GENDER 
 

Age 2000 

Census 

Male 

2000 

Census 

Female 

2000 

Census 

Total 

2010 

Census 

Male 

2010 

Census 

Female 

2010 

Census 

Total 

2014 

(Estimate) 

Male 

2014 

(Estimate) 

Female 

2014 

(Estimate) 

Total 
 

00-04 
 

168,829 
 

160,765 
 

329,594 
 

181,342 
 

174,162 
 

355,504 
 

178,434 
 

170,209 
 

348,643 
05-09 182,912 172,982 355,894 181,614 173,922 355,536 184,122 177,380 361,502 
10-14 192,118 182,877 374,995 180,356 171,986 352,342 183,493 174,821 358,314 
15-19 191,534 182,828 374,362 188,594 179,235 367,829 181,610 174,926 356,536 
20-24 164,038 158,445 322,483 180,725 174,926 355,651 185,129 179,191 364,320 
25-29 162,132 157,694 319,826 187,562 185,124 372,686 186,222 179,845 366,067 
30-34 178,502 174,810 353,312 174,549 168,351 342,900 192,579 188,795 381,374 
35-39 207,962 204,528 412,490 165,815 162,375 328,190 171,120 165,558 336,678 
40-44 207,355 204,337 411,692 177,234 175,670 352,904 168,243 165,025 333,268 
45-49 183,801 180,446 364,247 203,588 202,615 406,203 177,267 176,083 353,350 
50-54 150,750 150,699 301,449 200,663 201,032 401,695 202,474 202,669 405,143 
55-59 112,203 114,654 226,857 174,321 175,268 349,589 191,355 193,324 384,679 
60-64 86,648 91,364 178,012 137,760 142,015 279,775 161,594 165,563 327,157 
65-69 72,707 80,462 153,169 97,533 105,037 202,570 121,350 129,097 250,447 
70-74 64,646 78,010 142,656 70,840 81,017 151,857 85,418 95,826 181,244 
75-79 51,709 70,968 122,677 54,464 67,650 122,114 59,699 72,245 131,944 
80-84 33,477 56,686 90,163 40,865 59,051 99,916 42,201 57,644 99,845 
85+ 24,308 61,293 85,601 34,307 72,357 106,664 39,731 76,931 116,662 
 

Totals: 
 

2,435,631 
 

2,483,848 
 

4,919,479 
 

2,632,132 
 

2,671,793 
 

5,303,925 
 

2,712,041 
 

2,745,132 
 

5,457,173 
 

 

Source: United States Census Bureau. 
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TABLE 3.02 

MINNESOTA LICENSED DRIVERS
†† 

UNDER 21, BY AGE, 1995 – 2014 
 

Year 15 16 17 18 19 20 Total Under 21 
 

1995 
 

20,660 
 

52,205 
 

57,426 
 

58,307 
 

57,139 
 

56,902 
 

302,639 
1996 24,783 54,657 60,864 61,788 61,058 58,964 322,114 
1997 27,514 55,564 61,052 63,711 63,460 61,875 333,176 
1998 24,610 50,028 60,389 64,337 66,023 64,484 329,871 
1999 24,944 52,576 59,337 60,177 67,779 67,816 332,629 
2000 28,479 55,792 60,724 65,830 68,697 69,306 348,828 
2001 27,878 56,361 62,068 64,963 69,232 70,351 350,853 
2002 28,880 55,286 63,011 66,876 68,609 70,985 353,647 
2003 29,800 55,614 61,329 67,491 69,792 69,385 353,411 
2004 31,638 55,812 61,286 66,397 71,026 71,513 357,672 
2005 31,161 55,398 61,431 65,440 68,842 71,780 354,052 
2006 26,360 53,520 60,695 64,617 67,917 68,826 341,935 
2007 26,029 51,499 59,766 64,910 67,664 69,091 338,959 
2008 26,141 49,801 57,875 64,337 68,050 68,920 335,124 
2009 28,126 49,884 56,554 62,707 67,701 69,074 334,046 
2010 28,020 49,634 55,885 61,526 66,272 69,495 330,832 
2011 25,422 48,260 54,781 59,722 63,997 67,176 319,358 
2012 25,946 47,801 54,489 59,220 63,212 65,539 316,207 
2013 25,324 48,013 53,744 58,706 62,642 64,972 313,401 
2014 26,393 48,263 54,190 58,202 62,349 64,503 313,900 

 

TABLE 3.03 

MINNESOTA LICENSED DRIVERS, BY AGE-GROUP, 1995 – 2015 
 

Year 15-19 20-24 25-29 30-34 35-39 40-44 45-49 50-54 55-59 60-64 65-69 70-74 75 + Total 

1995 245,737 283,027 331,259 381,403 402,366 364,629 313,384 230,114 183,763 156,652 149,004 132,842 214,171 3,388,351 

1996 263,150 284,532 330,844 368,340 407,794 373,405 323,114 248,979 191,853 158,537 148,228 134,127 223,602 3,456,505 

1997 271,301 291,004 325,020 356,278 407,334 381,214 330,259 260,406 201,963 160,789 146,590 133,750 221,862 3,487,770 

1998 265,387 302,019 318,360 347,382 405,914 389,126 340,673 273,059 210,483 165,519 144,903 134,081 229,135 3,526,041 

1999 264,812 316,452 316,642 346,159 401,755 398,519 352,585 290,428 218,555 170,263 145,284 134,225 239,938 3,595,617 

2000 279,522 327,545 310,399 347,932 391,515 405,043 362,105 306,566 222,828 174,735 145,334 133,774 242,146 3,647,444 

2001 280,502 339,486 309,079 344,952 377,905 408,621 368,930 316,321 238,022 180,723 146,107 133,205 241,646 3,685,499 

2002 282,662 352,022 320,420 343,933 366,661 411,413 379,702 325,664 252,631 192,074 149,272 132,368 248,671 3,757,493 

2003 284,026 352,818 326,355 333,363 354,509 408,428 386,086 335,331 264,204 200,322 154,103 131,255 257,379 3,788,179 

2004 286,159 361,589 339,712 330,480 350,988 403,774 395,178 345,855 280,193 208,133 158,035 131,277 260,483 3,851,856 

2005 282,272 361,839 348,538 319,537 349,515 390,439 400,876 355,524 296,390 212,324 163,125 131,383 260,331 3,872,093 

2006 273,109 353,949 353,241 311,685 342,520 372,638 401,715 361,197 306,185 226,262 168,693 132,725 267,241 3,871,160 

2007 269,868 351,877 360,944 316,410 336,604 358,091 401,496 369,195 314,238 239,650 178,918 136,026 274,657 3,907,974 

2008 266,204 350,535 365,501 324,694 327,911 347,387 399,215 376,096 324,589 251,756 187,347 140,879 276,287 3,938,401 

2009 264,972 347,193 364,228 330,073 319,456 339,999 391,392 382,435 332,705 265,450 193,513 143,738 273,186 3,948,340 

2010 261,337 348,937 366,813 342,756 311,858 340,906 380,685 389,685 343,840 282,820 198,777 149,002 277,819 3,995,235 

2011 252,182 343,942 358,738 351,489 306,985 336,514 365,193 392,410 350,359 293,833 213,587 155,347 287,174 4,007,753 

2012 250,668 341,891 356,653 359,718 312,377 330,720 351,004 392,344 358,458 301,734 226,107 164,699 292,345 4,038,718 

2013 248,429 340,074 358,005 365,101 320,919 331,868 340,791 390,177 365,577 311,683 237,444 172,320 296,868 4,079,256 

2014 249,397 338,753 362,329 370,093 331,734 315,800 335,127 383,567 373,526 321,611 252,369 178,905 303,317 4,116,528 
 

 

 

 
 

†† 
Source: Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Service Division. Counts include learner's permits. 
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TABLE 3.04 
 

MINNESOTA RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, 

BY AGE AT DATE OF LAST INCIDENT AND BY AGE AT END OF 2014 
 

 

 
 

00-14 
15-19 
20-24 

  
15 

7,687 
30,527 

30 
21,569 
95,519 

  
19 

1,030 
4,522 

64 
30,286 

130,568 

  
0 

230 
4,396 

 
0 

625 
10,959 

0 
75 

744 

 
0 

930 
16,099 

25-29 
30-34 
35-39 

24,372 
19,255 
16,885 

85,431 
64,272 
51,966 

3,969 
2,707 
1,773 

113,772 
86,234 
70,624 

12,139 
15,809 
14,103 

30,530 
44,349 
45,141 

2,223 
3,400 
2,973 

44,892 
63,558 
62,217 

40-44 
45-49 
50-54 

14,702 
10,824 
6,399 

43,475 
34,050 
24,152 

1,172 
680 
373 

59,349 
45,554 
30,924 

14,542 
17,898 
21,417 

46,032 
53,012 
64,317 

2,211 
1,642 
1,341 

62,785 
72,552 
87,075 

55-59 
60-64 
65-69 

3,257 
1,709 

804 

15,523 
9,270 
5,039 

195 
106 

48 

18,975 
11,085 
5,891 

15,429 
8,768 
5,133 

53,481 
37,257 
24,082 

882 
518 
272 

69,792 
46,543 
29,487 

70-74 
75-79 
80-84 

351 
143 

45 

2,514 
1,039 

357 

19 
6 
4 

2,884 
1,188 

406 

3,001 
1,727 
1,033 

14,827 
9,797 
7,042 

156 
74 
48 

17,984 
11,598 
8,123 

85 + 
Unknown 

9 
0 

66 
0 

6 
0 

81 
0 

1,359 
0 

12,821 
0 

70 
0 

14,250 
0 

 

Totals: 136,984 454,272 16,629 607,885 136,984 454,272 16,629 607,885 
 

Note: 

Gender is not stated for many persons. When a person applies for a driver’s license, gender is entered on the record. 

If a person is arrested for impaired driving and does not have a driver’s license, then a record is created but gender is 

not entered on that record. 

 Age at Date of Last Incident   Age at End of Year 2014  

Age Female Male Not Stated Total Female Male Not Stated Total 
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TABLE 3.05 

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA AND NUMBER OF RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED 

DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2014, BY COUNTY 
 

 

 

County 

2010 

Pop 

Census 

2014 

Pop 

Estimate 

 

1 or more 

Incidents 

% of 

2014 
Pop 

 

 

1 Incident 

% of 

2014 
Pop 

 

 

2 Incidents 

% of 

2014 
Pop 

 

3 or more 

Incidents 

% of 

2014 
Pop 

 
Aitkin 

 
16,202 

 
15,771 

 
2,470 

 
15.7% 

 
1,288 

 
8.2% 

 
562 

 
3.6% 

 
620 

 
3.9% 

Anoka 330,844 341,864 38,623 11.3% 21,648 6.3% 8,929 2.6% 8,046 2.4% 
Becker 32,504 33,259 4,979 15.0% 2,566 7.7% 1,076 3.2% 1,337 4.0% 
Beltrami 44,442 45,664 6,607 14.5% 3,561 7.8% 1,527 3.3% 1,519 3.3% 
Benton 38,451 39,506 4,559 11.5% 2,550 6.5% 1,044 2.6% 965 2.4% 
Big Stone 5,269 5,127 551 10.7% 314 6.1% 138 2.7% 99 1.9% 
Blue Earth 64,013 65,385 7,054 10.8% 3,978 6.1% 1,648 2.5% 1,428 2.2% 
Brown 25,893 25,292 2,953 11.7% 1,705 6.7% 682 2.7% 566 2.2% 
Carlton 35,386 35,571 4,708 13.2% 2,516 7.1% 1,115 3.1% 1,077 3.0% 
Carver 91,042 97,338 8,685 8.9% 5,365 5.5% 1,930 2.0% 1,390 1.4% 
Cass 28,567 28,559 4,594 16.1% 2,340 8.2% 1,071 3.8% 1,183 4.1% 
Chippewa 12,441 12,110 1,515 12.5% 899 7.4% 328 2.7% 288 2.4% 
Chisago 53,887 54,025 7,046 13.0% 3,950 7.3% 1,685 3.1% 1,411 2.6% 
Clay 58,999 61,286 7,052 11.5% 4,177 6.8% 1,566 2.6% 1,309 2.1% 
Clearwater 8,695 8,791 1,395 15.9% 662 7.5% 323 3.7% 410 4.7% 
Cook 5,176 5,233 691 13.2% 388 7.4% 155 3.0% 148 2.8% 
Cottonwood 11,687 11,633 1,234 10.6% 725 6.2% 293 2.5% 216 1.9% 
Crow Wing 62,500 63,265 8,309 13.1% 4,591 7.3% 1,908 3.0% 1,810 2.9% 
Dakota 398,552 412,529 42,139 10.2% 25,434 6.2% 9,298 2.3% 7,407 1.8% 
Dodge 20,087 20,353 2,387 11.7% 1,356 6.7% 544 2.7% 487 2.4% 
Douglas 36,009 36,790 4,251 11.6% 2,406 6.5% 929 2.5% 916 2.5% 
Faribault 14,553 14,192 1,829 12.9% 1,029 7.3% 417 2.9% 383 2.7% 
Fillmore 20,866 20,776 2,456 11.8% 1,393 6.7% 582 2.8% 481 2.3% 
Freeborn 31,255 30,840 4,042 13.1% 2,249 7.3% 953 3.1% 840 2.7% 
Goodhue 46,183 46,423 5,909 12.7% 3,356 7.2% 1,371 3.0% 1,182 2.5% 
Grant 6,018 5,965 774 13.0% 430 7.2% 184 3.1% 160 2.7% 
Hennepin 1,152,425 1,212,064 127,812 10.5% 76,875 6.3% 27,463 2.3% 23,474 1.9% 
Houston 19,027 18,738 2,347 12.5% 1,410 7.5% 499 2.7% 438 2.3% 
Hubbard 20,428 20,573 2,438 11.9% 1,311 6.4% 564 2.7% 563 2.7% 
Isanti 37,816 38,413 4,786 12.5% 2,545 6.6% 1,146 3.0% 1,095 2.9% 
Itasca 45,058 45,589 6,525 14.3% 3,412 7.5% 1,561 3.4% 1,552 3.4% 
Jackson 10,266 10,269 1,130 11.0% 697 6.8% 255 2.5% 178 1.7% 
Kanabec 16,239 15,930 2,312 14.5% 1,183 7.4% 539 3.4% 590 3.7% 
Kandiyohi 42,239 42,285 4,908 11.6% 2,819 6.7% 1,122 2.7% 967 2.3% 
Kittson 4,552 4,435 498 11.2% 259 5.8% 118 2.7% 121 2.7% 
Koochiching 13,311 12,856 1,837 14.3% 1,008 7.8% 431 3.4% 398 3.1% 
Lac Qui Parle 7,259 6,891 765 11.1% 419 6.1% 202 2.9% 144 2.1% 
Lake 10,866 10,680 1,255 11.8% 726 6.8% 308 2.9% 221 2.1% 
Lake of Woods 4,045 3,918 590 15.1% 293 7.5% 160 4.1% 137 3.5% 
Le Sueur 27,703 27,770 3,927 14.1% 2,206 7.9% 889 3.2% 832 3.0% 
Lincoln 5,896 5,788 531 9.2% 315 5.4% 119 2.1% 97 1.7% 
Lyon 25,857 25,665 2,876 11.2% 1,726 6.7% 626 2.4% 524 2.0% 
McLeod 36,651 35,882 4,557 12.7% 2,599 7.2% 1,038 2.9% 920 2.6% 
Mahnomen 5,413 5,505 1,272 23.1% 581 10.6% 293 5.3% 398 7.2% 
Marshall 9,439 9,417 1,152 12.2% 627 6.7% 265 2.8% 260 2.8% 
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TABLE 3.05 (Continued) 

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA AND NUMBER OF RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED 

DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2014, BY COUNTY 
 

 

 

County 

2010 

Pop 

Census 

2014 

Pop 

Estimate 

 

1 or more 

Incidents 

% of 

2014 
Pop 

 

 

1 Incident 

% of 

2014 
Pop 

 

 

2 Incidents 

% of 

2014 
Pop 

 

3 or more 

Incidents 

% of 

2014 
Pop 

 
Martin 

 
20,840 

 
20,220 

 
2,474 

 
12.2% 

 
1,418 

 
7.0% 

 
581 

 
2.9% 

 
475 

 
2.3% 

Meeker 23,300 23,107 2,679 11.6% 1,421 6.1% 667 2.9% 591 2.6% 
Mille Lacs 26,097 25,884 4,460 17.2% 2,247 8.7% 1,022 3.9% 1,191 4.6% 
Morrison 33,198 32,810 4,266 13.0% 2,289 7.0% 996 3.0% 981 3.0% 
Mower 39,163 39,323 5,244 13.3% 2,944 7.5% 1,259 3.2% 1,041 2.6% 
Murray 8,725 8,470 855 10.1% 520 6.1% 179 2.1% 156 1.8% 
Nicollet 32,727 33,093 3,392 10.2% 2,028 6.1% 753 2.3% 611 1.8% 
Nobles 21,378 21,590 2,668 12.4% 1,842 8.5% 491 2.3% 335 1.6% 
Norman 6,852 6,639 869 13.1% 483 7.3% 202 3.0% 184 2.8% 
Olmsted 144,248 150,287 14,061 9.4% 8,213 5.5% 3,126 2.1% 2,722 1.8% 
Otter Tail 57,303 57,635 6,653 11.5% 3,626 6.3% 1,557 2.7% 1,470 2.6% 
Pennington 13,930 14,058 2,028 14.4% 1,068 7.6% 469 3.3% 491 3.5% 
Pine 29,750 29,095 4,210 14.5% 2,177 7.5% 979 3.4% 1,054 3.6% 
Pipestone 9,596 9,281 1,096 11.8% 625 6.7% 258 2.8% 213 2.3% 
Polk 31,600 31,704 4,548 14.3% 2,490 7.9% 1,034 3.3% 1,024 3.2% 
Pope 10,995 10,984 1,297 11.8% 688 6.3% 312 2.8% 297 2.7% 
Ramsey 508,640 532,655 53,232 10.0% 31,607 5.9% 11,665 2.2% 9,960 1.9% 
Red Lake 4,089 4,043 562 13.9% 297 7.3% 136 3.4% 129 3.2% 
Redwood 16,059 15,515 1,825 11.8% 1,034 6.7% 397 2.6% 394 2.5% 
Renville 15,730 15,025 2,162 14.4% 1,217 8.1% 498 3.3% 447 3.0% 
Rice 64,142 65,151 7,083 10.9% 4,015 6.2% 1,645 2.5% 1,423 2.2% 
Rock 9,687 9,553 774 8.1% 497 5.2% 151 1.6% 126 1.3% 
Roseau 15,629 15,679 2,116 13.5% 1,175 7.5% 492 3.1% 449 2.9% 
St. Louis 200,226 200,949 25,728 12.8% 14,309 7.1% 5,983 3.0% 5,436 2.7% 
Scott 129,928 139,672 13,933 10.0% 8,445 6.0% 3,176 2.3% 2,312 1.7% 
Sherburne 88,499 91,126 10,394 11.4% 6,026 6.6% 2,447 2.7% 1,921 2.1% 
Sibley 15,226 14,918 1,856 12.4% 1,040 7.0% 423 2.8% 393 2.6% 
Stearns 150,642 152,912 16,182 10.6% 9,509 6.2% 3,579 2.3% 3,094 2.0% 
Steele 36,576 36,573 4,234 11.6% 2,354 6.4% 972 2.7% 908 2.5% 
Stevens 9,726 9,800 786 8.0% 474 4.8% 171 1.7% 141 1.4% 
Swift 9,783 9,436 1,268 13.4% 694 7.4% 302 3.2% 272 2.9% 
Todd 24,895 24,264 2,798 11.5% 1,552 6.4% 672 2.8% 574 2.4% 
Traverse 3,558 3,387 410 12.1% 242 7.1% 100 3.0% 68 2.0% 
Wabasha 21,676 21,362 2,755 12.9% 1,591 7. 4% 643 3.0% 521 2.4% 
Wadena 13,843 13,757 1,811 13.2% 969 7.0% 395 2.9% 447 3.2% 
Waseca 19,136 19,025 2,258 11.9% 1,244 6.5% 554 2.9% 460 2.4% 
Washington 238,136 249,283 23,192 9.3% 14,288 5.7% 5,166 2.1% 3,738 1.5% 
Watonwan 11,211 11,083 1,476 13.3% 845 7.6% 372 3.4% 259 2.3% 
Wilkin 6,576 6,495 854 13.1% 488 7.5% 215 3.3% 151 2.3% 
Winona 51,461 51,097 5,238 10.3% 3,191 6.2% 1,171 2.3% 876 1.7% 
Wright 124,700 129,918 14,480 11.1% 8,250 6.4% 3,434 2.6% 2,796 2.2% 
Yellow Med 10,438 10,109 1,348 13.3% 769 7.6% 302 3.0% 277 2.7% 
 

Minnesota 
 

5,303,925 
 

5,457,173 
 

607,885 
 

11.1% 
 

352,088 
 

6.5% 
 

136,802 
 

2.5% 
 

118,995 
 

2.2% 
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TABLE 3.06 
 

PERSONS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, BY AREA OF 

RESIDENCE, GENDER, AND NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2014 
 

 Minnesota Residents 

Twin Cities Metro Area 
Minnesota Residents 

Non- Metro Area 
 Non-Minnesota Residents  

No. of 

Incidents 

on 

Record 

 

 

 

Female 

 

 

 

Male 

 

 

Not 

Stated 

 

 

Sub- 

total 

 

 

 

Female 

 

 

 

Male 

 

 

Not 

Stated 

 

 

Sub- 

total 

 

Total 

MN 
Residents 

 

 

 

Female 

 

 

 

Male 

 

 

Not 

Stated 

 

 

 

Total 

Total MN 

and Non 

MN 

Residents 
 

1 
 

51,964 
 
124,110 

 
7,588 

 
183,662 

 
43,906 

 
117,938 

 
6,582 

 
168,426 

 
352,088 

 
13,648 

 
40,791 

 
28,795 

 
83,234 

 
435,322 

2 13,792 52,841 994 67,627 12,687 55,623 865 69,175 136,802 2,740 13,593 2,300 18,633 155,435 
3 4,867 26,221 202 31,290 4,651 29,083 215 33,949 65,239 775 5,861 445 7,081 72,320 
4 1,685 12,037 48 13,770 1,714 13,907 65 15,686 29,456 242 2,440 115 2,797 32,253 
5 547 5,178 17 5,742 566 5,843 18 6,427 12,169 75 984 27 1,086 13,255 
6 156 2,318 3 2,477 176 2,818 13 3,007 5,484 22 436 16 474 5,958 
7 82 1,220 1 1,303 88 1,462 6 1,556 2,859 3 213 7 223 3,082 
8 31 672 2 705 29 822 4 855 1,560 5 103 2 110 1,670 
9 9 395 1 405 14 484 1 499 904 2 66 1 69 973 

10 6 231 1 238 7 266 0 273 511 1 35 2 38 549 
11 2 150 0 152 0 151 1 152 304 0 21 2 23 327 
12 3 77 0 80 1 90 0 91 171 0 21 0 21 192 
13 0 67 0 67 1 43 0 44 111 1 6 0 7 118 
14 0 30 0 30 0 50 1 51 81 0 4 0 4 85 
15 0 24 0 24 0 22 0 22 46 0 7 0 7 53 
16 0 17 1 18 0 14 0 14 32 0 1 0 1 33 
17 0 12 0 12 0 15 0 15 27 0 0 0 0 27 
18 0 7 0 7 0 11 0 11 18 0 0 0 0 18 
19 0 1 0 1 0 6 0 6 6 0 0 1 1 7 
20 0 1 0 1 0 2 0 2 3 0 0 0 0 3 
21 0 4 0 4 0 2 0 2 6 0 0 0 0 6 
22 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 2 2 0 0 0 0 2 
23 0 1 0 1 0 2 0 2 3 0 0 0 0 3 
24 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 2 2 0 0 0 0 2 
25 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 

 

Totals: 
 

73,144 
 

225,614 
 

8,858 
 

307,616 
 

63,840 
 

228,658 
 

7,771 
 

300,269 
 

607,885 
 

17,514 
 

64,582 
 

31,713 
 

113,809 
 

721,694 
 

Note: 

(1) The above table classifies violators based on 

current residence, as known at the time data are 

compiled from the driver’s license files. Residence 

may be inaccurate since persons with impaired 

driving incidents may avoid notifying the Department 

of Public Safety of address changes. 
 

(2) Incidents counted may have occurred in 

Minnesota or elsewhere. If a person moves to 

Minnesota from another state and applies for a 

driver’s license here, he or she will be included, and 

incidents incurred in Minnesota or elsewhere will be 

included. 

 
(3) Gender is not stated for many persons. When a 

person applies for a driver’s license, gender is entered 

on the record. If a person is arrested for impaired 

driving and does not have a driver’s license, then a 

record is created but gender is not entered on that 

record. 

 

(4) The Twin Cities metro includes the counties of 

Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,  Scott 

and Washington. 
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IV. IMPAIRED DRIVING RECIDIVISM IN MINNESOTA 
 

Is it the case that a fairly small number of chronic, 

chemically-dependent persons account for almost all 

the impaired driving violations that occur in a year? 

Or, are most of the offenders “first-timers?” How 

many first-time violators are there? How many repeat 

violators (recidivists) are there? Among the repeat 

offenders, how many have one, two, three, and so on, 

prior violations? 

It is possible to look at all the incidents, and at 

all persons who incurred incidents in a year based on 

the number of incidents prior to the one being 

counted in the year. This will produce measures of 

recidivism based on violators’ past histories.  (Tables 

4.2 and 4.03 do this.) 

 
Age and recidivism 

Recidivism measures based on past history could be 

misleading, though. Older violators have had much 

more time and opportunity to recidivate than young 

violators: 22% of violators in their twenties  have 

prior incidents, compared with 34% of those in their 

thirties, 41% of those in their forties, 50% of those in 

their fifties and 51% of those 60 and older. 

In the 1990’s there was a mini-population 

explosion among persons in their twenties — the 

“echo” of the baby-boom generation. This dramatic 

increase in the young-violator population might make 

it appear that first-time violators are increasing, and 

that recidivism is decreasing, when in fact those 

young first-time violators might, as the years go by, 

recidivate just as much as older violators have. It is 

possible to select cohorts of violators from past years 

and follow them forward in time, thus providing 

prospective measures of recidivism. (Tables 4.04 

through 4.07 do this.) 
 

RECIDIVISM BASED ON PAST HISTORY 
 

To measure recidivism in terms of prior incidents, 

three issues require definition: (1) what is the 

definition of “impaired driving incident?”; (2) what is 

the “look-back period” over which prior incidents are 

counted?;    and,    (3)    what    is    being    counted 

—incidents, or the persons who commit them? 

(1) Defining an incident: An incident may be 

based in part on how many prior incidents the person 

had over specified lengths of time. But a person may 

have had incidents before the specified time periods. 

Table 4.02 tabulates incidents, and Table 4.03 

tabulates persons, based on prior incidents under both 

a lifetime look-back period and a nine-to-ten-year 

look-back period.
‡‡ 

The total numbers (of incidents 

or of  persons) are the same, but there are higher 

numbers and percentages of first-time incidents (in 
Table 4.02) and of first-time violators (in Table 4.03) 

when only a nine-to-ten-year look-back period is 

used, compared to when a lifetime look-back period 
is used. 

(3) Counting incidents versus counting persons: 

A person may incur multiple incidents in a year. 

Table 4.02 counts incidents based on the total number 

on the person’s record. Thus, if John Smith incurred a 

third incident on January 1, and a fourth on February 

1, the third is counted in row 3 and the fourth is 

counted in row 4 of Table 4.02. Table 4.03 counts 

persons who incurred incidents. In this table, Smith is 

counted once, based on his last incident, in row 4. 

 
Recidivists commit less than half of the violations 

If  a  person  arrested  for  a  second  or  subsequent 

offense is defined as a recidivist, then, depending on 

other definitions, recidivists committed somewhere 

between 29 and 41 percent of the 2014 incidents. 

Under  the  broader  definition  and  using  a  lifetime 

look-back period, recidivists committed 41% of the 

incidents (and first-time violators 59%). Under the 

narrower definition, and using the nine-to-ten-year 

look-back period, recidivists committed 29% of the 

incidents (and first-time violators 71%). 

Taking a step back, one could say that first-time 

violators accounted for well over half the impaired 

driving violations in 2014. Since repeat DWI 

offenders get so much attention, due to sometimes 

accumulating so many arrests and convictions, it is 

worthwhile to remember that, currently, the novice is 

the more typical offender. 

defined more broadly as either an implied consent    
violation or an impaired driving criminal conviction, 

or, more narrowly, requiring that the incident include 

the impaired driving criminal conviction. The ratios 

of first-time to repeat violations are similar, but there 

were 6,417  fewer incidents in 2014  when the 

narrower definition is used. 

(2) Length of look-back period: Minnesota 

Statute defines impaired driving offenses as 

misdemeanors,   gross   misdemeanors,   or   felonies 

‡‡
As an example of using a “nine-to-ten-year look- 

back period,” the records of all violators who 

incurred incidents in 2014 were examined for the 

period from 1-1-2005 through 12-31-2014. Thus, the 

look-back period could be as short as 9 years and 1 

day for a violator who incurred an incident on 12-31- 

2005, or as long as 10 years for a violator who 

incurred an incident on 1-1-2005. 
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RECIDIVISM MEASURED PROSPECTIVELY 

AMONG VIOLATOR COHORTS 

 
Among the 16,304 first-time violators from 1999, 

39% incurred a second violation within 180 months 
(15 years). The recidivism rate is greatest in the first 

months after the first incident, and then gradually 
trails off as years go by: 7% incurred a second 

incident within the first 12 months of their first, 

another 6% recidivated in the second 12 months, 
another 5% in the third 12 months, and another 4% in 

the fourth 12 months. Cumulatively, 22% recidivated 

by four years out, 32% by eight years out, 37% by 12 

years out, and 39% by 15 years out.
§§

 

Among the cohort of 6,662 violators who 

incurred a second incident in 1999, a higher 

percentage recidivate, but the pattern of higher 

recidivism in the early months, then declining 

recidivism, is similar to that of the first-timer cohort: 

8% incurred a third incident within the first 12 

months of their second, another 7% recidivated in the 

second 12 months, another 6% in the third 12 

months, and another 5% in the fourth 12 months. 

Cumulatively, 26% recidivated by four years out, 

38% by eight years out, 43% by 12 years out, and 

46% by 15 years out. 

 
Recidivism since 1998 
First-, second-, and third-time violators from each 

year 1999-2010 (making up 36 violator cohorts, three 

for each of twelve years) were followed forward in 

time for up to 48  months. For first-time violators 

recidivism decreased slightly. For 1999 first-time 

violators 22% recidivated within 48 months, 

compared with 17% of year 2010 first-time violators. 

However, there is evidence that recidivism is 

declining at a higher rate when considering multiple 

offenders. Twenty-six percent of 1999 second-time 

violators recidivated within 48 months, compared to 

19% of year-2010 second-time violators – a seven 

percentage-point drop. Finally, 23% of 1999 third- 

time violators recidivated within 48 months, 

compared to just 16%  of year-2010 third-time 

violators – also a seven percentage-point drop. 

Another perspective: violators are just older now 

Work done separately and not reported here suggests 

that the decline in recidivism does not show itself 

when violators are examined within age groups. 

Specifically, for example, 35-year-old violators in 

recent years are just as likely to get a first, second, 

third, or fourth impaired driving incident as were 35- 

year-old violators in the early 1990s. The same 

observation was found to be true for almost all age- 

years examined—specifically, for persons at each 

year of age from 21 through 49. 

There  were  two  exceptions  to  that  rule.  One 

exception was that, for each year over the last decade, 

22,  23,  and  24  year-old  violators  were  somewhat 

more likely to incur first-time violations. The other 

exception was that, over the last decade, violators in 

their later twenties appeared slightly less likely to 

incur third- and fourth-time incidents than was true of 

violators in their late twenties during the early 1990s. 

In  general  however,  the  decline  in  recidivism 

appears  to  disappear   when  age  of   violators  is 

controlled for. 

This other perspective may suggest that efforts to 

change drinking and driving behavior have been 

unsuccessful. Two considerations weigh against this 

conclusion. First, the work that looked at first-, 

second-, third-, and fourth-time incidents within 

same-age cohorts focused on violators as proportions 

of the total population of violators. It is possible that 

the total number of episodes of drinking and driving 

in the state of Minnesota (not just those that end in 

arrest) have gone down significantly, but have 

decreased almost perfectly equally across all ages and 

offense levels, causing the appearance of no change 

in recidivism. Second, it is very difficult to believe 

that, if no efforts to control drinking and driving were 

made, incidence would not greatly  increase. 

Reducing drinking and driving is a tremendous 

challenge, calling for as much energy and creativity 

as can be brought to the problem. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

§§ 
DWI violators may change residences frequently. 

To increase validity of the prospective measures of 

recidivism, violators were only accepted into cohorts 

if they were shown to currently reside in Minnesota. 
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TABLE 4.01 

MINNESOTA RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, BY 

TOTAL NUMBER ON RECORD, AND BY AGE AT END OF 2014 
 

 
Total 

Incidents 

on Record 

 

Age 

0-19 

 

Age 

20-24 

 

Age 

25-29 

 

Age 

30-34 

 

Age 

35-39 

 

Age 

40-44 

 

Age 

45-49 

 

Age 

50-54 

 

Age 

55-59 

 

Age 

60-69 

 

Age 

70+ 

 

 

Total 
1 890 13,777 33,695 43,296 40,270 38,187 41,443 44,527 33,833 37,389 24,781 352,088 
2 33 1,991 8,543 13,951 13,754 14,036 15,996 20,066 16,630 17,960 13,842 136,802 
3 7 283 2,190 4,792 5,729 6,437 8,203 11,325 9,498 10,004 6,771 65,239 
4 0 43 387 1,208 1,762 2,617 3,919 5,748 4,998 5,426 3,348 29,456 
5 0 4 71 240 508 875 1,604 2,603 2,262 2,473 1,529 12,169 
6 0 1 6 56 129 352 663 1,259 1,112 1,199 707 5,484 
7 0 0 0 11 46 161 321 656 617 646 401 2,859 
8 0 0 0 3 12 66 183 368 342 358 228 1,560 
9 0 0 0 1 4 28 91 221 197 226 136 904 
10 0 0 0 0 2 13 50 116 120 136 74 511 
11 0 0 0 0 0 5 39 80 66 67 47 304 
12 0 0 0 0 0 3 16 38 42 51 21 171 
13 0 0 0 0 0 2 12 29 20 27 21 111 
14 0 0 0 0 1 1 7 15 16 26 15 81 
15 0 0 0 0 0 2 1 7 13 15 8 46 
16 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 5 10 7 9 32 
17 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 8 5 10 27 
18 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 4 4 5 4 18 
19 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 2 2 0 6 
20 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 3 
21 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 2 6 
22 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 2 
23 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 3 
24 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 2 
25 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 

 

Total 

Persons 

 

 
930 

 
 

16,099 

 
 

44,892 

 
 

63,558 

 
 

62,217 

 
 

62,785 

 
 

72,552 

 
 

87,075 

 
 

69,792 

 
 

76,030 

 
 

51,995 

 
 

607,885 
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TABLE 4.02 

INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN MINNESOTA IN 2014 

BASED ON NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD 
 

 Defining an Incident 

as a DWI Conviction 

 Defining an Incident as a DWI Con- 

viction or Implied Consent Violation 

 

 

No Limit on 

Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year 

Look-Back Period 

(Defined as 

1/1/2005-12/31/2014) 

 

 

No Limit on 

Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year 

Look-Back Period 

(Defined as 

1/1/2005-12/31/2014) 
Number 

of Inci- 

dents on 

Record 

Number 

of Inci- 

dents in 

2014 

 

% of 

Incidents 

in 2014 

Number 

of Inci- 

dents in 

2014 

 

% of 

Incidents 

in 2014 

Number 

of Inci- 

dents in 

2014 

 

% of 

Incidents 

in 2014 

Number 

of Inci- 

dents in 

2014 

 

% of 

Incidents 

in 2014 
 

1 
 

11,520 
 

61.14% 
 

13,630 
 

72.34% 
 

14,874 
 

58.89% 
 

17,810 
 

70.51% 
2 4,168 22.12% 3,961 21.02% 5,584 22.11% 5,483 21.71% 
3 1,817 9.64% 1,028 5.46% 2,644 10.47% 1,575 6.24% 
4 763 4.05% 189 1.00% 1,146 4.54% 328 1.30% 
5 290 1.54% 30 0.16% 509 2.02% 54 0.21% 
6 129 0.68% 3 0.02% 209 0.83% 7 0.03% 
7 67 0.36%  119 0.47% 1 * 
8 36 0.19% 68 0.27% 
9 21 0.11% 31 0.12% 
10 12 0.06%  25 0.10%  
11 6 0.03% 25 0.10% 
12 2 0.01% 8 0.03% 
13 5 0.03%  3 0.01%  
14 3 0.02% 3 0.01% 
15 3 0.01% 
16 1 0.01%  2 0.01%  
17 1 * 
18 1 * 
19 

20 

21 

1 0.01%   

 
2 

 

 
0.01% 

 

22   1 *  
23 
24 
25 

Total 

Incidents 

 

18,841 

 

100.0% 

 

18,841 

 

100.0% 

 

25,258 

 

100.0% 

 

25,258 

 

100.0% 
 

* An asterisk is used for a percentage that is greater than zero but that, if shown, would round to 0.0%. 
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TABLE 4.03 

PERSONS WHO INCURRED INCIDENTS IN MINNESOTA IN 2014 

BASED ON NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD 
 

 Defining an Incident 

as a DWI Conviction 

Defining an Incident as a DWI Con- 

viction or Implied Consent Violation 
 

 

No Limit on 

Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year 

Look-Back Period 

(Defined as 
1/1/2005-12/31/2014) 

 

 

No Limit on 

Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year 

Look-Back Period 

(Defined as 
1/1/2004-12/31/2014) 

Number 

of Inci- 

dents on 

Record 

Persons who   % who 

Incurred Incurred 

Incidents Incidents 

in 2014 in 2014 

Persons who   % who 

Incurred Incurred 

Incidents Incidents 

in 2014 in 2014 

Persons who   % who 

Incurred Incurred 

Incidents Incidents 

in 2014 in 2014 

Persons who   % who 

Incurred Incurred 

Incidents Incidents 

in 2014 in 2014 
 

1 

2 

3 

 

11,293 61.15% 

4,077 22.08% 

1,779 9.63% 

 

13,366 72.37% 

3,872 20.97% 

1,009 5.46% 

 

14,493 58.95% 

5,429 22.08% 

2,565 10.43% 

 

17,353 70.58% 

5,329 21.67% 

1,523 6.19% 
4 

5 

6 

756 4.09% 

286 1.55% 

127 0.69% 

188 1.02% 

30 0.16% 

3 0.02% 

1,114 4.53% 

500 2.03% 

205 0.83% 

321 1.31% 

53 0.22% 

7 0.03% 
7 

8 

9 

67 0.36% 

34 0.18% 

21 0.11% 

 117 0.48% 

66 0.27% 

29 0.12% 

1 * 

10 

11 

12 

11 0.06% 

6 0.03% 

2 0.01% 

 23 0.09% 

25 0.10% 

7 0.03% 

 

13 

14 

15 

4 0.02% 

3 0.02% 
 3 0.01% 

3 0.01% 

3 0.01% 

 

16 

17 

18 

1 0.01%  1 * 

1 * 

1 * 

 

19 

20 

21 

1 0.01%   

 
1 * 

 

22 

23 

24 

25 

  1 *  

Total 

Persons 

 

18,468 100.0% 

 

18,468 100.0% 

 

24,587 100.0% 

 

24,587 100.0% 
 

* An asterisk is used for a percentage that is greater than zero but that, if shown, would round to 0.0%. 
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TABLE 4.04 

RECIDIVISM OVER 15 YEARS AMONG COHORTS OF FIRST- AND SECOND-TIME 

VIOLATORS FROM 1999: CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF VIOLATORS WHO 

INCURRED A SUBSEQUENT (SECOND OR THIRD) VIOLATION. 
 

Months First- Second- Months First- Second- Months First- Second- Months First- Second- 

Elapsed Timers Timers Elapsed Timers Timers Elapsed Timers Timers Elapsed Timers Timers 

 
1 

 
0.73 

 
0.69 

 
49 

 
22.39 

 
25.89 

 
97 

 
32.42 

 
37.66 

 
145 

 
37.30 

 
43.56 

2 1.31 1.38 50 22.69 26.15 98 32.57 37.83 146 37.36 43.65 
3 1.96 1.98 51 22.99 26.40 99 32.73 38.01 147 37.47 43.77 
4 2.51 2.57 52 23.24 26.79 100 32.97 38.11 148 37.52 43.85 
5 3.14 3.29 53 23.56 27.15 101 33.07 38.22 149 37.57 43.89 
6 3.76 3.89 54 23.84 27.44 102 33.18 38.44 150 37.62 43.94 
7 4.34 4.58 55 24.09 27.69 103 33.34 38.55 151 37.66 43.97 
8 4.89 5.27 56 24.34 28.05 104 33.49 38.65 152 37.71 44.09 
9 5.46 5.90 57 24.59 28.28 105 33.62 38.89 153 37.79 44.12 

10 6.18 6.41 58 24.86 28.67 106 33.74 39.06 154 37.88 44.21 
11 6.75 6.92 59 25.10 28.93 107 33.89 39.27 155 37.97 44.31 
12 7.34 7.69 60 25.37 29.18 108 34.00 39.34 156 38.04 44.43 
13 7.88 8.20 61 25.55 29.38 109 34.10 39.72 157 38.06 44.45 
14 8.43 8.69 62 25.74 29.68 110 34.18 39.84 158 38.13 44.51 
15 8.94 9.35 63 25.92 29.93 111 34.27 39.91 159 38.23 44.52 
16 9.44 10.15 64 26.15 30.23 112 34.41 40.09 160 38.29 44.61 
17 9.97 10.87 65 26.37 30.46 113 34.48 40.20 161 38.35 44.66 
18 10.50 11.63 66 26.58 30.71 114 34.60 40.30 162 38.45 44.72 
19 10.94 12.16 67 26.76 30.88 115 34.69 40.47 163 38.50 44.85 
20 11.40 12.98 68 26.91 31.12 116 34.78 40.51 164 38.55 44.93 
21 11.80 13.54 69 27.06 31.39 117 34.91 40.68 165 38.59 44.99 
22 12.40 13.99 70 27.33 31.58 118 35.02 40.78 166 38.68 45.05 
23 12.95 14.40 71 27.47 31.85 119 35.13 40.92 167 38.70 45.12 
24 13.36 14.83 72 27.74 32.17 120 35.21 41.04 168 38.75 45.15 
25 13.81 15.45 73 27.91 32.44 121 35.32 41.20 169 38.83 45.21 
26 14.30 16.03 74 28.12 32.63 122 35.43 41.37 170 38.91 45.27 
27 14.71 16.69 75 28.28 32.86 123 35.50 41.46 171 38.95 45.32 
28 15.06 17.26 76 28.45 33.08 124 35.60 41.61 172 38.99 45.36 
29 15.52 17.71 77 28.62 33.29 125 35.72 41.68 173 39.06 45.39 
30 15.95 18.12 78 28.88 33.47 126 35.79 41.86 174 39.11 45.44 
31 16.30 18.49 79 29.16 33.77 127 35.89 41.95 175 39.17 45.51 
32 16.66 18.99 80 29.37 34.00 128 35.99 42.04 176 39.22 45.53 
33 17.00 19.59 81 29.59 34.21 129 36.11 42.18 177 39.25 45.59 
34 17.36 19.92 82 29.75 34.45 130 36.19 42.36 178 39.31 45.62 
35 17.71 20.44 83 30.00 34.69 131 36.27 42.57 179 39.35 45.71 
36 18.06 20.98 84 30.21 34.93 132 36.38 42.61 180 39.38 45.78 
37 18.46 21.28 85 30.40 35.12 133 36.43 42.67    
38 18.84 21.68 86 30.57 35.33 134 36.54 42.73    
39 19.23 22.16 87 30.75 35.50 135 36.60 42.84    
40 19.60 22.53 88 30.92 35.74 136 36.65 42.98    
41 19.95 23.07 89 31.15 36.06 137 36.73 43.02    
42 20.24 23.46 90 31.33 36.24 138 36.78 43.08    
43 20.50 23.84 91 31.51 36.36 139 36.81 43.13    
44 20.81 24.20 92 31.66 36.57 140 36.89 43.20    
45 21.17 24.53 93 31.75 36.81 141 37.03 43.26    
46 21.49 24.89 94 31.92 37.05 142 37.09 43.32    
47 21.78 25.29 95 32.08 37.26 143 37.16 43.37    
48 22.11 25.55 96 32.24 37.45 144 37.22 43.49    

Percentage not recidi- 

vating within 15 years: 

 First- Second- 

Timers   Timers 
60.62%   54.22% 

 

Number persons on which 

percentages are based: 
 First- Second- 

Timers   Timers 
16,304 6,662 
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Percentage not recidivating within 48 months 
77.89 79.39 79.30 78.82 78.48 78.26 

Persons in cohort (number on which percents are based) 
16,304   17,107  16,432   16,574  16,446   17,544 

Average age of persons in cohort 

78.42 80.28 81.83 82.72 82.83 82.82 

19,260 22,422 20,547 18,679 17,153 15,510   15,436  15,365  13,867 

31.4 31.5 31.5 31.3 30.9 31.1 30.8 30.5 30.9 31.5 31.7 31.8 31.8 31.9 31.9 

TABLE 4.05 

RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF FIRST-TIME VIOLATORS, 1999 - 2013: 

CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A SECOND VIOLATION 
Months Elapsed 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 

1 0.73 0.55 0.60 0.56 0.60 0.54 0.69 0.71 0.62 0.60 0.60 0.58 0.61 0.53 0.53 
2 1.31 1.13 1.22 1.07 1.12 1.17 1.28 1.22 1.17 1.19 1.18 1.28 1.14 1.04 1.01 
3 1.96 1.74 1.82 1.57 1.81 1.59 1.84 1.86 1.72 1.66 1.81 1.77 1.54 1.52 1.41 
4 2.51 2.33 2.36 2.15 2.33 2.11 2.40 2.36 2.15 2.09 2.26 2.22 2.05 1.86 1.79 
5 3.14 2.82 2.93 2.65 2.77 2.63 2.98 2.92 2.63 2.60 2.77 2.63 2.38 2.21 2.11 
6 3.76 3.36 3.45 3.17 3.33 3.15 3.47 3.41 3.10 3.22 3.17 2.99 2.77 2.56 2.47 
7 4.34 3.97 4.02 3.79 4.03 3.69 4.01 4.00 3.63 3.68 3.67 3.41 3.21 2.84 2.81 
8 4.89 4.47 4.54 4.29 4.49 4.31 4.69 4.48 4.09 4.13 4.01 3.85 3.63 3.18 3.15 
9 5.46 5.03 5.08 4.86 4.97 4.86 5.35 4.98 4.58 4.60 4.48 4.17 4.14 3.56 3.45 
10 6.18 5.66 5.62 5.35 5.45 5.37 5.89 5.45 5.12 4.94 4.90 4.71 4.44 4.04 3.74 
11 6.75 6.22 6.09 5.92 5.98 5.87 6.47 6.01 5.70 5.32 5.26 5.13 4.83 4.40 4.10 
12 7.34 6.83 6.50 6.41 6.43 6.43 7.13 6.55 6.22 5.76 5.70 5.62 5.26 4.82 4.47 
13 7.88 7.26 7.01 6.92 6.90 6.92 7.60 7.03 6.65 6.20 6.09 6.03 5.54 5.08  
14 8.43 7.78 7.55 7.38 7.38 7.52 8.18 7.56 7.16 6.66 6.45 6.49 5.90 5.40  
15 8.94 8.35 7.99 7.81 7.96 8.07 8.68 8.13 7.63 7.02 6.82 6.88 6.31 5.77  
16 9.44 8.73 8.47 8.28 8.42 8.64 9.25 8.59 8.00 7.36 7.24 7.30 6.68 6.06  
17 9.97 9.27 8.99 8.80 8.93 9.13 9.72 9.10 8.39 7.74 7.60 7.79 7.04 6.38  
18 10.50 9.76 9.45 9.29 9.37 9.64 10.18 9.54 8.78 8.14 7.97 8.16 7.38 6.82  
19 10.94 10.21 9.91 9.76 9.77 10.21 10.65 9.96 9.18 8.47 8.33 8.51 7.72 7.21  
20 11.40 10.62 10.41 10.09 10.26 10.73 11.05 10.37 9.63 8.80 8.74 8.88 8.15 7.48  
21 11.80 11.04 10.81 10.61 10.79 11.22 11.52 10.86 10.08 9.26 9.11 9.20 8.53 7.87  
22 12.40 11.55 11.17 11.14 11.31 11.67 11.95 11.34 10.43 9.60 9.42 9.52 8.88 8.29  
23 12.95 12.14 11.64 11.60 11.76 12.20 12.46 11.89 10.75 10.00 9.79 9.88 9.29 8.60  
24 13.36 12.53 12.09 12.09 12.21 12.67 12.83 12.30 11.14 10.36 10.14 10.34 9.59 8.92  
25 13.81 12.88 12.51 12.48 12.65 13.06 13.30 12.69 11.54 10.71 10.46 10.66 9.89   
26 14.30 13.34 12.96 13.00 13.13 13.48 13.81 13.07 11.89 11.13 10.85 11.01 10.24   
27 14.71 13.71 13.32 13.38 13.59 13.91 14.31 13.43 12.22 11.44 11.26 11.32 10.54   
28 15.06 14.04 13.74 13.76 14.01 14.35 14.80 13.76 12.57 11.74 11.50 11.65 10.90   
29 15.52 14.42 14.12 14.06 14.47 14.83 15.17 14.09 12.91 12.02 11.78 11.93 11.26   
30 15.95 14.85 14.52 14.43 14.85 15.25 15.56 14.48 13.18 12.36 12.11 12.33 11.58   
31 16.30 15.26 14.86 14.93 15.30 15.70 15.94 14.88 13.53 12.64 12.38 12.77 11.89   
32 16.66 15.57 15.31 15.28 15.80 16.10 16.33 15.26 13.86 12.93 12.70 13.02 12.18   
33 17.00 15.90 15.65 15.63 16.22 16.51 16.71 15.59 14.20 13.26 13.02 13.38 12.46   
34 17.36 16.19 16.15 15.98 16.62 16.88 17.03 15.94 14.49 13.56 13.37 13.68 12.76   
35 17.71 16.51 16.53 16.34 16.98 17.34 17.45 16.30 14.85 13.86 13.67 13.98 13.00   
36 18.06 16.85 16.85 16.66 17.38 17.74 17.78 16.52 15.16 14.17 13.90 14.20 13.26   
37 18.46 17.19 17.16 17.06 17.69 18.23 18.16 16.84 15.41 14.47 14.24 14.49    
38 18.84 17.45 17.58 17.41 18.04 18.60 18.42 17.15 15.64 14.79 14.47 14.73    
39 19.23 17.80 17.96 17.77 18.44 18.93 18.82 17.42 15.93 15.05 14.78 14.99    
40 19.60 18.17 18.23 18.21 18.79 19.24 19.09 17.73 16.22 15.37 15.13 15.30    
41 19.95 18.53 18.56 18.60 19.15 19.57 19.43 17.98 16.53 15.65 15.47 15.57    
42 20.24 18.91 18.80 19.02 19.59 19.88 19.77 18.28 16.79 15.84 15.76 15.78    
43 20.50 19.20 19.13 19.34 19.95 20.29 20.07 18.54 17.07 16.09 16.01 16.02    
44 20.81 19.45 19.47 19.63 20.31 20.65 20.37 18.79 17.32 16.32 16.27 16.25    
45 21.17 19.71 19.77 20.06 20.63 20.88 20.69 19.03 17.54 16.55 16.50 16.51    
46 21.49 20.03 20.11 20.45 20.89 21.15 21.04 19.30 17.78 16.83 16.79 16.74    
47 21.78 20.32 20.41 20.79 21.18 21.45 21.31 19.47 17.99 17.07 16.98 16.94    
48 22.11 20.61 20.70 21.18 21.52 21.74 21.58 19.72 18.17 17.28 17.17 17.18    
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TABLE 4.06 

RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF SECOND-TIME VIOLATORS, 1999 - 2013: 

CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A THIRD VIOLATION 
Months Elapsed 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 

1 0.69 0.73 0.53 0.71 0.78 0.57 0.70 0.65 0.58 0.65 0.68 0.73 0.66 0.57 0.59 
2 1.38 1.38 1.08 1.19 1.30 1.09 1.20 1.24 1.07 1.07 1.31 1.54 1.22 1.20 1.20 
3 1.98 1.86 1.51 1.65 1.76 1.74 1.76 1.76 1.54 1.62 1.92 2.16 1.74 1.75 1.77 
4 2.57 2.46 1.90 2.00 2.27 2.13 2.25 2.32 2.11 1.99 2.40 2.62 2.16 2.14 2.19 
5 3.29 3.09 2.30 2.40 2.68 2.65 2.74 2.93 2.53 2.37 2.77 2.94 2.52 2.37 2.57 
6 3.89 3.55 2.65 2.83 3.14 3.13 3.17 3.26 3.01 2.72 3.05 3.54 2.83 2.73 2.92 
7 4.58 4.11 3.17 3.37 3.49 3.60 3.65 3.74 3.43 3.02 3.40 3.93 3.22 2.95 3.18 
8 5.27 4.50 3.61 3.67 3.85 4.25 4.12 4.15 3.97 3.42 3.89 4.43 3.63 3.29 3.44 
9 5.90 4.91 4.20 4.19 4.42 4.65 4.75 4.64 4.50 3.76 4.35 4.91 4.02 3.60 3.67 
10 6.41 5.70 4.65 4.83 5.01 5.10 5.25 5.27 5.04 4.26 4.75 5.20 4.44 4.01 3.90 
11 6.92 6.29 5.09 5.32 5.55 5.62 5.80 5.77 5.36 4.74 5.19 5.53 4.71 4.23 4.14 
12 7.69 7.06 5.70 5.77 6.13 6.18 6.41 6.36 5.98 5.27 5.58 6.04 5.02 4.48 4.40 
13 8.20 7.91 6.20 6.32 6.59 6.72 6.97 6.84 6.48 5.81 6.11 6.40 5.43 4.70  
14 8.69 8.66 6.65 6.93 7.08 7.40 7.69 7.29 7.02 6.29 6.56 6.68 5.74 5.05  
15 9.35 9.29 7.17 7.39 7.70 7.94 8.26 7.83 7.54 6.75 6.82 6.88 6.10 5.29  
16 10.15 9.84 7.84 7.89 8.19 8.38 8.82 8.38 7.95 7.17 7.19 7.13 6.40 5.52  
17 10.87 10.37 8.43 8.45 8.70 9.02 9.32 8.94 8.53 7.63 7.47 7.42 6.71 5.74  
18 11.63 11.02 9.07 9.07 9.29 9.69 9.99 9.46 9.02 8.15 7.90 7.81 6.96 5.99  
19 12.16 11.67 9.68 9.78 9.89 10.24 10.32 9.89 9.62 8.48 8.44 8.23 7.39 6.34  
20 12.98 12.29 10.34 10.42 10.52 10.78 10.80 10.51 10.09 9.06 8.87 8.67 7.70 6.77  
21 13.54 13.07 10.74 10.83 11.00 11.28 11.34 10.94 10.66 9.44 9.32 9.07 8.03 7.06  
22 13.99 13.66 11.18 11.20 11.57 11.84 11.95 11.37 11.09 9.85 9.70 9.54 8.42 7.38  
23 14.40 14.32 11.85 11.74 12.28 12.44 12.38 11.82 11.64 10.41 10.10 10.06 8.81 7.51  
24 14.83 14.87 12.55 12.39 12.74 13.12 12.89 12.34 12.06 10.73 10.57 10.48 9.12 7.98  
25 15.45 15.22 13.02 12.82 13.26 13.74 13.45 12.82 12.40 11.11 11.00 10.87 9.50   
26 16.03 15.75 13.60 13.23 13.80 14.19 14.03 13.46 12.84 11.68 11.47 11.37 9.76   
27 16.69 16.20 14.04 13.63 14.41 14.78 14.50 13.97 13.39 12.09 11.82 11.69 10.12   
28 17.26 16.61 14.47 14.10 15.06 15.33 14.97 14.41 13.66 12.54 12.29 12.36 10.56   
29 17.71 17.19 15.00 14.64 15.48 15.86 15.52 14.87 14.04 12.85 12.70 12.87 10.84   
30 18.12 17.69 15.53 15.22 16.12 16.36 16.11 15.25 14.34 13.14 13.07 13.20 11.20   
31 18.49 18.08 16.03 15.63 16.70 16.83 16.51 15.57 14.67 13.39 13.34 13.62 11.55   
32 18.99 18.58 16.47 16.15 17.23 17.36 17.06 15.85 15.08 13.76 13.70 13.98 11.97   
33 19.59 18.95 17.05 16.63 17.73 17.78 17.48 16.27 15.56 14.04 13.94 14.32 12.35   
34 19.92 19.28 17.41 17.19 18.13 18.34 17.93 16.73 15.92 14.38 14.24 14.68 12.72   
35 20.44 19.63 17.91 17.63 18.78 18.75 18.25 17.19 16.24 14.73 14.69 15.08 13.16   
36 20.98 20.01 18.42 17.98 19.22 19.00 18.74 17.59 16.52 15.07 15.09 15.41 13.43   
37 21.28 20.55 19.00 18.42 19.56 19.44 19.21 17.97 16.96 15.58 15.30 15.75    
38 21.68 21.10 19.33 18.77 19.95 19.91 19.53 18.35 17.28 16.12 15.71 16.06    
39 22.16 21.46 19.75 19.43 20.49 20.28 19.85 18.63 17.64 16.54 16.11 16.49    
40 22.53 21.89 20.14 19.98 21.01 20.58 20.22 19.00 18.11 16.90 16.54 16.91    
41 23.07 22.36 20.53 20.46 21.36 20.99 20.62 19.38 18.38 17.31 16.89 17.27    
42 23.46 22.71 21.01 20.98 21.71 21.37 21.00 19.77 18.83 17.70 17.18 17.63    
43 23.84 23.13 21.41 21.52 22.16 21.72 21.50 20.17 19.12 18.04 17.48 18.00    
44 24.20 23.54 21.72 21.86 22.54 22.08 21.83 20.55 19.46 18.30 17.87 18.28    
45 24.53 23.86 22.03 22.11 22.85 22.40 22.08 20.83 19.74 18.52 18.22 18.47    
46 24.89 24.30 22.44 22.52 23.30 22.89 22.49 21.18 19.89 18.81 18.46 18.65    
47 25.29 24.63 22.84 22.98 23.61 23.14 22.75 21.42 20.25 19.03 18.64 18.93    
48 25.55 24.97 23.29 23.28 24.06 23.53 22.93 21.76 20.57 19.31 19.00 19.10    

Percent not recidivating within 48 months 
 74.45 75.03 76.71 76.72 75.94 76.47 77.07 78.24 79.43 80.69 81.00 80.90    
Persons in cohort (number on which percents are based) 
 6,662 6,597 6,405 6,296 6,310 6,799 7,256 8,291 7,929 7,550 7,038 6,439 6,391 6,164 5,749 
Average age of persons in cohort 
 34.1 34.2 34.1 34.3 34.2 34.3 34.3 33.8 34.3 34.3 34.8 35.1 35.1 35.3 35.6 
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TABLE 4.07 

RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF THIRD-TIME VIOLATORS, 1999 - 2013: 

CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A FOURTH VIOLATION 
Months Elapsed 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 

1 0.60 0.89 0.64 0.57 0.62 0.36 0.86 0.52 0.76 0.69 0.80 0.90 0.79 0.50 0.60 
2 1.30 1.44 1.31 1.25 1.20 0.81 1.29 1.38 1.59 1.17 1.33 1.49 1.39 0.90 1.08 
3 2.12 1.99 1.98 1.85 1.82 1.33 1.63 1.93 1.97 1.89 2.01 2.29 1.75 1.40 1.72 
4 2.39 2.63 2.33 2.15 2.27 1.79 2.25 2.49 2.53 2.25 2.84 2.55 2.05 1.80 1.88 
5 2.84 3.18 2.68 2.63 2.68 2.31 2.74 2.93 2.82 2.61 3.21 2.99 2.32 2.41 2.24 
6 3.23 3.67 2.94 3.26 3.06 2.63 3.11 3.31 3.55 3.13 3.74 3.42 2.65 2.55 2.56 
7 3.60 4.31 3.32 3.53 3.33 2.89 3.48 3.95 4.17 3.34 4.01 3.62 2.98 2.95 2.96 
8 4.11 4.71 3.93 3.90 3.68 3.28 3.72 4.17 4.67 3.67 4.45 3.88 3.34 3.23 3.32 
9 4.53 5.29 4.44 4.38 4.19 3.61 4.09 4.81 4.96 4.03 4.82 4.21 3.68 3.48 3.56 

10 5.08 5.91 4.76 4.68 4.60 4.09 4.80 5.19 5.55 4.63 5.19 4.55 3.87 3.74 3.84 
11 5.65 6.33 5.20 4.98 4.88 4.48 5.20 5.64 5.87 5.05 5.59 4.94 4.11 4.13 4.08 
12 6.23 6.92 5.87 5.22 5.22 5.10 5.66 5.97 6.28 5.29 5.90 5.21 4.40 4.24 4.31 
13 6.71 7.47 6.22 5.65 5.74 5.46 6.34 6.22 6.55 5.65 6.21 5.61 4.64 4.42  
14 7.10 7.99 6.67 5.99 6.08 5.69 6.67 6.55 6.99 6.01 6.39 6.04 5.03 4.56  
15 7.68 8.45 7.37 6.70 6.46 6.17 7.07 6.96 7.37 6.22 6.76 6.34 5.23 4.92  
16 8.13 8.87 8.01 7.03 6.97 6.60 7.54 7.27 7.72 6.58 7.29 6.54 5.46 5.17  
17 8.62 9.49 8.23 7.67 7.42 7.05 7.91 7.76 8.08 6.97 7.56 6.77 5.79 5.46  
18 9.31 10.01 8.68 8.21 7.76 7.44 8.15 8.34 8.40 7.24 8.00 7.03 6.19 5.78  
19 9.79 10.56 9.06 8.72 8.24 8.09 8.40 8.76 8.84 7.57 8.24 7.40 6.39 5.96  
20 10.37 11.11 9.74 9.42 8.79 8.48 8.83 9.23 9.54 8.14 8.64 7.53 6.79 6.18  
21 10.91 11.63 10.05 9.83 9.38 9.07 9.41 9.56 9.93 8.59 8.98 8.20 6.99 6.54  
22 11.61 12.24 10.34 10.27 9.69 9.39 9.66 9.86 10.34 8.80 9.26 8.56 7.28 6.93  
23 12.12 12.88 10.72 10.91 10.24 9.91 10.12 10.28 10.87 9.13 9.91 8.93 7.55 7.00  
24 12.73 13.31 11.01 11.34 10.68 10.50 10.52 10.61 11.25 9.56 10.31 9.16 7.88 7.40  
25 13.24 13.77 11.52 11.61 11.27 10.89 10.98 11.05 11.60 9.77 10.71 9.56 7.98   
26 13.66 14.11 11.91 12.32 11.92 11.18 11.38 11.44 11.95 10.34 10.99 9.95 8.34   
27 14.09 14.38 12.45 12.86 12.37 11.73 11.93 11.77 12.42 10.76 11.27 10.38 8.51   
28 14.51 14.90 12.93 13.30 12.81 12.28 12.33 12.04 12.89 11.12 11.67 10.72 8.97   
29 15.11 15.27 13.31 13.73 13.29 12.64 12.80 12.18 13.33 11.39 11.89 10.98 9.21   
30 15.57 15.64 13.76 14.20 13.71 12.97 13.29 12.46 13.77 11.63 12.20 11.28 9.57   
31 16.08 16.10 14.17 14.57 14.12 13.45 13.72 12.79 14.16 11.93 12.50 11.41 9.80   
32 16.60 16.37 14.59 14.98 14.46 13.84 14.09 13.20 14.51 12.32 12.81 11.81 10.17   
33 16.99 16.98 14.94 15.45 14.94 14.46 14.36 13.78 14.86 12.62 13.03 12.14 10.43   
34 17.50 17.35 15.42 15.79 15.39 14.72 14.52 14.01 15.24 12.95 13.34 12.34 10.86   
35 17.99 17.84 15.80 16.16 15.66 15.01 14.83 14.31 15.51 13.31 13.83 12.64 10.99   
36 18.20 18.15 16.09 16.39 15.91 15.27 15.04 14.75 15.80 13.46 14.11 12.84 11.26   
37 18.71 18.54 16.41 16.80 16.25 15.60 15.32 15.06 16.24 13.76 14.39 13.24    
38 19.41 18.91 16.63 17.13 16.59 16.22 15.63 15.41 16.53 14.06 14.85 13.44    
39 19.95 19.28 16.98 17.60 17.18 16.57 16.06 15.80 16.83 14.48 15.19 13.60    
40 20.31 19.74 17.33 17.70 17.42 16.80 16.49 16.19 16.98 14.78 15.28 13.90    
41 20.65 20.20 17.75 18.18 17.83 17.09 16.73 16.46 17.27 15.05 15.62 14.03    
42 21.13 20.59 18.03 18.68 18.34 17.32 17.13 16.91 17.47 15.38 15.81 14.40    
43 21.58 20.84 18.29 18.95 18.76 17.68 17.50 17.18 17.89 15.50 16.15 14.73    
44 21.89 21.08 18.67 19.22 19.10 18.04 17.90 17.43 18.18 15.90 16.39 14.93    
45 22.28 21.48 18.99 19.52 19.51 18.49 18.33 17.54 18.50 16.11 16.86 15.23    
46 22.49 21.82 19.28 20.03 19.96 18.72 18.76 17.90 18.85 16.41 17.04 15.69    
47 22.70 22.25 19.69 20.46 20.23 19.08 19.07 18.20 19.12 16.65 17.23 16.03    
48 23.10 22.55 20.01 20.77 20.58 19.24 19.22 18.43 19.41 16.86 17.47 16.26    

Percent not recidivating within 48 months 
 76.90 77.45 79.99 79.23 79.42 80.76 80.78 81.57 80.59 83.14 82.53 83.74    
Persons in cohort (number on which percents are based) 
 3,308 3,268 3,133 2,971 2,911 3,077 3,251 3,620 3,405 3,328 3,239 3,014 3,020 2,784 2,503 
Average age of persons in cohort 
 37.0 36.9 37.0 37.4 37.7 37.8 37.4 37.8 37.7 37.7 38.2 38.7 38.6 38.5 39.2 
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V. ALCOHOL-RELATED CRASH STATISTICS BY COUNTY 
 

A century of impaired driving and traffic deaths 

The automobile was invented around 1900, and the 

dangers  of  drinking  and  driving  were  recognized 

immediately. The earliest available statistics report 23 

traffic deaths in Minnesota in 1910. The state enacted 

its  first  DWI  law  in  1911. As  the  baby-boom 

generation entered driving age in the 1960’s, more 

than  half  (60%)  of  all  traffic  deaths  were  due  to 

drinking and driving. It began decreasing around 

1980, in response to increased societal consciousness 

and to legislation and programs modeled in some part 

on  the  Scandinavian  countries’  tough  approach  to 

drinking and driving. 
 

Defining a traffic crash 

Minnesota started systematic record-keeping on traffic 

crashes in the 1930s. A 1939 law defined the 

reporting threshold: Any crash involving a fatality, an 

injury, or property damage of $50 or more, had to be 

reported. The dollar minimum threshold was raised to 

$100 in 1965, then to $300 on August 1, 1977, $500 

on August 1, 1981, and $1,000 on August 1, 1994. 

Though it is not the normal case, the property 

damage involved doesn’t have to be to vehicles. It 

might be to a road sign, or shrubbery, for example. It 

is unknown how many crashes occur that should be 

reported, but are not. Less severe crashes are easier to 

conceal and it is not difficult to speculate that there 

may be as many crashes that should be, but are not, 

reported, as there are that do get reported. 
 

Defining “alcohol-related” 
This section uses a broader definition  of “alcohol- 
related” than might at first be assumed. In particular, 
an “alcohol-related” crash might not have involved a 
drunk driver. The definition used here is that if a 
pedestrian, bicyclist, or motor vehicle driver had any 

alcohol,
*** 

then the crash is classified as “alcohol- 

related,” and anyone who died or got injured in the 

crash is counted as an alcohol-related death or injury. 

So,   if   a   pedestrian   with   only   a   .01%   alcohol 

concentration  stumbles in front of a sober driver and 

is struck and killed, the crash is defined to be alcohol- 

related,  and  the  death  is  an  alcohol-related  traffic 

fatality.  Such cases are not the rule, however.  Most 

crashes classified as alcohol-related do involve motor 

vehicle drivers who consumed enough alcohol to be 

legally intoxicated. 
 

Defining “impaired-related” 

This section also uses a strict definition of “alcohol- 

related” when a fatal crash occurs. In particular, a 

fatal crash and any resulting fatalities will  be 

classified as “impaired-related” when at least one 

driver or pedestrian in that particular crash tested 

positive for alcohol at the .08% legal limit or above. 

Note that Tables 5.02 and 5.03 in this Section use both 

of these definitions. 
 

‘Known’ alcohol-involved crashes 

State law requires a medical examiner to measure the 

alcohol content of any driver or pedestrian aged 16 or 

older who dies within four hours of a crash. Among 

the states, Minnesota has one of the highest 

(sometimes the highest) percentage of killed drivers 

tested. We make great effort to obtain these test 

results, as well as the results on all surviving drivers, 

bicyclists and pedestrians in fatal crashes that may 

have been tested. 

Clearly, if a state tests a smaller percentage of 

drivers, then fewer crashes will be classified as 

“alcohol-related” or “impaired-related. Thus, states 

that have good impaired-driving programs, and good 

testing programs, may appear to have higher alcohol- 

related death rates than states with lesser programs. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

*** 
To be precise, the following procedure is used: If 

an alcohol test result is positive for any driver, 

bicyclist, or pedestrian, the crash is classified as 

alcohol-related. If a test was not performed, but the 

reporting officer perceived the “apparent physical 

condition” of the driver, pedestrian, or bicyclist to be 

“had been drinking” or “under the influence,” then the 

crash is classified as alcohol-related. In the (rare) 

event that there is  a conflict between the officer’s 

reported perception and the chemical test result; the 

test result is used in place of the officer’s perception. 
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Non-fatal crashes likely understated for alcohol  

The numbers cited in this section for alcohol-related 

non-fatal  crashes  are  known  to  understate  the  true 

parameters for such crashes. For non-fatal crashes, the 

officer’s judgment, noted on the crash report, is the 

only basis available to classify the crash as alcohol- 

related or not. 

To test the effect of using only officer perception 

compared to also having test result data  available, 
fatal crashes in 2014 were classified as alcohol-related 
or not using both techniques. Using officer perception 
alone, 111 (31%) of the 361 fatalities were classified 

as alcohol-related. Using officer perception and test 
results together, 91 (25%) of the 361 fatalities were 

classified as alcohol-related.
†††

 

 

Crash numbers generally 

The number of crashes that get reported has been 

declining in recent years, from over 100,000 in year 

2000, to about 78,000 in 2014. About one-half of one 

percent of all reported crashes are fatal, causing death 

to one or more persons and perhaps injury to other 

persons as well. Then about a third of all crashes 

involve injuries to people, but no deaths. Then the 

great majority of crashes — about two-thirds — only 

involve property damage; no one is killed or injured. 
 

Impairment likely as crash severity increases 
Even allowing that alcohol involvement is 

underestimated in the less severe crashes, there is still 

a strong relationship between crash severity and 

impairment. In 2014, 3% of property damage crashes, 

7% of injury crashes, and 24% of fatal crashes were 

classified as alcohol-related. 
 

Cost of alcohol-related traffic crashes 

Cost figures reported are based on the estimated costs 

of traffic crashes, deaths, and injuries, as provided 

annually by the National Safety Council. 

There are two approaches to estimating traffic 

crash costs. The one used here attempts to quantify the 

direct economic costs. As explained by the National 

Safety Council, it has five components: “(1) wage and 

productivity losses, including wages, fringe benefits, 

household production; (2) medical expenses; (3) 

administrative expenses, including insurance, police, 

and legal costs; (4) motor vehicle damage; and, (5) 

employer costs for crashes involving workers.”
‡‡‡ 

Using this approach, for example, the National Safety 
Council estimates costs for the 2014 calendar year as 
follows: 

 

Death    ........................................................$1,500,000 

Incapacitating (A) Injury .............................. $74,900 
Non-incapacitating (B) Injury....................... $24,000 

Possible (C) Injury........................................ $13,600 

Property Damage Crash .................................. $9,300 
 

The other approach estimates the “comprehensive 
costs” and attempts to include “a measure of the value 
of lost quality of life associated with the deaths and 
injuries, that is, what society is willing to pay to 

prevent them.”
§§§ 

Using that approach yields the 
following cost estimates for the 2014 year: 

 

Death    ........................................................$4,628,000 

Incapacitating (A) Injury ............................ $235,400 
Non-incapacitating (B) Injury....................... $60,000 

Possible (C) Injury........................................ $28,600 

No Injury ........................................................ $2,600 
 

Table 5.04 uses the more narrowly defined estimates 

based just on economic costs. The cost estimates are 

quite conservative in other respects as well: First, they 

make no effort to include the costs of crashes that 

were reported, but not classified as alcohol-related, 

even though they were. As noted, the number of 

crashes classified as alcohol-related is certain to 

understate the true number. Second, the cost estimates 

make no attempt to include costs from alcohol-related 

crashes that were never reported at all. 

In a particular crash, when there is evidence that 

at least one driver or pedestrian tested positive for 

alcohol at the .08% level or above, then fatalities that 

occur in that crash will be classified as “impaired- 

related”. Using “impaired-related” fatalities, the 

estimated cost of alcohol involved crashes in 2014 

was: $136,500,000. 

Now, if there is evidence that at least one driver 

or pedestrian in a crash had “any” alcohol in their 

systems, then fatalities that occur will be classified as 

“alcohol-related”. Using “alcohol-related” fatalities, 

the estimated cost of alcohol involved crashes in 2014 

was:$166,500,000. 

 

 
 

††† 
It would not necessarily be correct, however, to 

conclude that if alcohol test data were also available 

for non-fatal crashes, then there would be a 

comparable increase in the proportion of those crashes 

that are classified as alcohol-related. That could be 

so; however, reporting and record-keeping are handled 

differently for fatal and non-fatal crashes. Thus, the 

statistical patterns may not be similar for fatal and 

non-fatal crashes. 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

‡‡‡  
National Safety Council: Injury Facts, 2005-2006 

Edition: page 91. 
§§§ 

Ibid 
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TABLE 5.01 

MINNESOTA TRAFFIC FATALITIES, 1910 - 2014 
 

  Year   Number   Year   Number   Year   Number   Year   Number   Year   Number   

1910 23 1931 622 1952 534 1973 1,024 1994 644 
1911 26 1932 486 1953 637 1974 852 1995 597 
1912 39 1933 525 1954 639 1975 777 1996 576 
1913 46 1934 641 1955 577 1976 809 1997 600 
1914 88 1935 596 1956 637 1977 856 1998 650 
1915 85 1936 649 1957 684 1978 980 1999 626 
1916 143 1937 630 1958 708 1979 881 2000 625 
1917 161 1938 609 1959 662 1980 863 2001 568 
1918 183 1939 576 1960 724 1981 763 2002 657 
1919 171 1940 577 1961 724 1982 581 2003 655 
1920 178 1941 626 1962 692 1983 558 2004 567 
1921 216 1942 439 1963 798 1984 584 2005 559 
1922 260 1943 274 1964 841 1985 610 2006 494 
1923 328 1944 356 1965 875 1986 572 2007 510 
1924 366 1945 449 1966 977 1987 530 2008 455 
1925 361 1946 536 1967 965 1988 615 2009 421 
1926 326 1947 572 1968 1,060 1989 605 2010 411 
1927 369 1948 552 1969 988 1990 568 2011 368 
1928 435 1949 540 1970 987 1991 531 2012 395 
1929 505 1950 532 1971 1,024 1992 581 2013 387 
1930 561 1951 610 1972 1,031 1993 538 2014 361 

 

 

Figure 5.01 

Minnesota Traffic Fatalities, 1910-2014, and 

Fatality Rates Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled, 1961-2014 
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TABLE 5.02 

OVERVIEW OF TRAFFIC SAFETY AND ALCOHOL STATISTICS, 1966 - 2014 
 

 

 
Year 
(1) 

 
Total 

Crashes 
(2) 

 
Total 

Deaths 
(3) 

Licensed 

Drivers 

(million) 
(4) 

Reg. 

Vehicles 

(million) 
(5) 

State 

Popu- 

lation 
(6) 

Miles 

Traveled 

(billion) 
(7) 

 
Fatality 

Rate 
(8) 

 
DWI 

Arrests 

(9) 

Deaths 

‘Any’  

Alcohol 
(10) 

 
% of 

Col (3) 
(11) 

Deaths 
.08% + 

Alcohol 
(12) 

 
% of 

Col (3) 
(13) 

 

1966 
 

84,754 
 

977 
 

1.90 
 

1.94 
 

3,585,000 
 

17.7 
 

5.52 
     

1967 93,819 965 1.95 2.01 3,625,000 18.7 5.17      
1968 92,910 1,060 2.00 2.09 3,647,000 19.9 5.33      
1969 105,235 988 2.03 2.15 3,743,291 20.8 4.75      
1970 99,404 987 2.05 2.24 3,804,971 22.4 4.41      
1971 104,030 1,024 2.33 2.36 3,860,000 23.4 4.38      
1972 111,180 1,031 2.50 2.41 3,877,000 24.9 4.14      
1973 107,956 1,024 2.38 2.51 3,890,000 25.2 4.07      
1974 102,964 852 2.44 2.67 3,904,100 24.6 3.47      
1975 123,206 777 2.51 2.69 3,921,000 25.6 3.03      
1976 116,390 809 2.57 2.92 3,954,000 27.0 3.00 19,419     
1977 119,754 856 2.63 2.77 3,980,000 28.1 3.05 16,976     
1978 118,833 980 2.70 2.90 4,024,000 28.8 3.40 18,078     
1979 120,633 881 2.73 3.00 4,060,000 29.0 3.04 18,092     
1980 103,612 863 2.77 3.01 4,075,970 28.5 3.03 22,788     
1981 97,879 763 2.83 3.09 4,099,048 28.6 2.67 27,034     
1982 89,443 581 2.87 3.01 4,133,334 29.2 1.98 28,048     
1983 97,371 558 2.90 3.03 4,145,667 30.5 1.83 32,155     
1984 93,741 584 2.91 3.13 4,161,464 32.2 1.81 36,638 305 52%   
1985 99,168 610 3.04 3.22 4,192,973 33.1 1.84 35,383 261 43%   
1986 95,460 572 3.07 3.25 4,214,013 34.2 1.67 36,390 264 46%   
1987 94,095 530 3.10 3.31 4,245,870 35.1 1.51 34,664 224 42%   
1988 102,094 615 3.13 3.39 4,306,550 36.4 1.69 32,827 277 45%   
1989 105,996 605 3.16 3.46 4,353,000 37.6 1.61 34,562 275 45%   
1990 99,236 568 3.18 3.52 4,375,099 38.8 1.47 36,847 235 41%   
1991 101,419 531 3.22 3.51 4,432,000 39.3 1.35 32,430 212 40%   
1992 96,808 581 3.27 3.55 4,480,034 41.3 1.41 30,841 229 39%   
1993 100,907 538 3.28 3.48 4,517,416 42.3 1.27 30,088 196 36%   
1994 99,701 644 3.34 3.67 4,567,267 43.4 1.48 29,748 226 35%   
1995 96,022 597 3.39 3.68 4,609,548 44.1 1.35 30,402 246 41% 203 34% 
1996 105,332 576 3.46 3.70 4,657,800 45.9 1.27 30,923 205 36% 169 29% 
1997 98,626 600 3.49 3.77 4,685,549 46.9 1.28 31,380 178 30% 151 25% 
1998 92,926 650 3.53 3.90 4,735,830 48.5 1.34 32,422 273 42% 222 34% 
1999 96,813 626 3.54 3.92 4,775,508 50.7 1.24 34,575 195 31% 156 25% 
2000 103,591 625 3.65 4.20 4,919,479 52.4 1.19 35,034 245 39% 212 34% 
2001 98,984 568 3.69 4.38 4,977,976 53.2 1.07 33,532 211 37% 167 29% 
2002 94,969 657 3.76 4.49 5,033,661 54.4 1.21 33,163 239 36% 185 28% 
2003 n/a 655 3.79 4.56 5,088,006 55.4 1.18 32,266 255 39% 205 31% 
2004 91,274 567 3.85 4.63 5,145,106 56.5 1.00 34,202 177 31% 155 27% 
2005 87,813 559 3.87 4.69 5,205,091 56.5 0.99 37,002 197 35% 164 29% 
2006 78,745 494 3.87 4.76 5,231,106 56.6 0.87 41,951 166 34% 141 29% 
2007 81,505 510 3.91 4.82 5,263,493 57.4 0.89 38,669 190 37% 170 33% 
2008 79,095 455 3.94 4.86 5,287,976 57.3 0.79 35,794 163 36% 137 30% 
2009 73,498 421 3.95 4.87 5,300,942 56.9 0.74 32,756 141 34% 112 27% 
2010 74,073 411 4.00 4.92 5,303,925 56.8 0.72 29,918 131 32% 121 29% 
2011 72,117 368 4.01 4.98 5,332,246 56.7 0.65 29,257 136 37% 111 30% 
2012 69,236 395 4.04 5.02 5,379,139 57.0 0.69 28,418 131 33% 104 26% 
2013 77,707 387 4.07 5.09 5,401,186 57.0 0.68 25,719 117 30% 95 25% 
2014 78,396 361 4.12 5.14 5,457,173 57.0 0.63 25,258 111 31% 91 25% 

Note: Column (10) lists the number of alcohol-related deaths resulting from crashes where at least one driver or pedestrian was 

known to be drinking.  Column (12) lists the number of impaired-related deaths resulting from crashes where at least one driver 

or pedestrian tested positive for alcohol at the .08%  level or above. 
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TABLE 5.03 

TRAFFIC CRASHES, FATALITIES, AND INJURIES — TOTAL AND ALCOHOL- 

RELATED BY COUNTY IN MINNESOTA, 2014 
 

 
 

COUNTY 
 

All 
.08%+ 

Alc 
% 

Alc 
 

All 
Alco- 

hol 
% 

Alc 
 

All 
Alco- 

hol 
% 

Alc 
 

All 
Alco- 

hol 
% 

Alc 
 
All 

.08%+ 

Alc 
% 

Alc 
 

All 
Alco- 

hol 
% 

Alc 
(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) (19) 

Aitkin 4 1 25.0 51 5 9.8 115 8 7.0 170 14 8.2 4 1 25.0 86 5 5.8 
Anoka 15 3 20.0 1,180 74 6.3 2,218 86 3.9 3,413 163 4.8 16 3 18.8 1,666 110 6.6 
Becker 3 2 66.7 115 15 13.0 171 10 5.8 289 27 9.3 3 2 66.7 154 19 12.3 
Beltrami 6 0 0.0 104 12 11.5 260 8 3.1 370 20 5.4 6 0 0.0 159 24 15.1 
Benton 1 1 100.0 160 7 4.4 454 12 2.6 615 20 3.3 1 1 100.0 223 8 3.6 
Big Stone 0 0 0.0 16 2 12.5 25 1 4.0 41 3 7.3 0 0 0.0 29 3 10.3 
Blue Earth 3 0 0.0 289 24 8.3 877 35 4.0 1,169 59 5.0 3 0 0.0 394 28 7.1 
Brown 4 1 25.0 68 3 4.4 188 3 1.6 260 7 2.7 7 1 14.3 96 6 6.3 
Carlton 1 0 0.0 99 9 9.1 219 9 4.1 319 18 5.6 1 0 0.0 130 12 9.2 
Carver 8 1 12.5 261 20 7.7 769 21 2.7 1,038 42 4.0 10 1 10.0 364 29 8.0 
Cass 5 3 60.0 85 13 15.3 132 6 4.5 222 22 9.9 6 4 66.7 152 23 15.1 
Chippewa 5 0 0.0 37 5 13.5 71 1 1.4 113 6 5.3 5 0 0.0 55 7 12.7 
Chisago 8 2 25.0 200 11 5.5 419 9 2.1 627 22 3.5 8 2 25.0 284 13 4.6 
Clay 4 0 0.0 206 12 5.8 497 13 2.6 707 25 3.5 4 0 0.0 282 17 6.0 
Clearwater 1 1 100.0 8 0 0.0 32 0 0.0 41 1 2.4 1 1 100.0 11 0 0.0 
Cook 1 0 0.0 13 0 0.0 41 1 2.4 55 1 1.8 1 0 0.0 17 0 0.0 
Cottonwood 1 1 100.0 29 2 6.9 67 5 7.5 97 8 8.2 1 1 100.0 44 4 9.1 
Crow Wing 10 4 40.0 272 15 5.5 524 14 2.7 806 33 4.1 10 4 40.0 393 23 5.9 
Dakota 7 2 28.6 1,442 95 6.6 4,050 151 3.7 5,499 248 4.5 10 3 30.0 1,946 128 6.6 
Dodge 3 2 66.7 39 1 2.6 167 5 3.0 209 8 3.8 3 2 66.7 53 2 3.8 
Douglas 5 1 20.0 133 13 9.8 334 8 2.4 472 22 4.7 6 2 33.3 179 13 7.3 
Faribault 2 0 0.0 50 7 14.0 75 2 2.7 127 9 7.1 2 0 0.0 75 11 14.7 
Fillmore 2 1 50.0 54 8 14.8 143 2 1.4 199 11 5.5 2 1 50.0 67 12 17.9 
Freeborn 2 1 50.0 134 10 7.5 376 16 4.3 512 27 5.3 3 2 66.7 193 17 8.8 
Goodhue 8 1 12.5 192 18 9.4 650 16 2.5 850 35 4.1 10 1 10.0 265 22 8.3 
Grant 3 0 0.0 25 2 8.0 45 0 0.0 73 2 2.7 3 0 0.0 31 2 6.5 
Hennepin 31 10 32.3 6,413 307 4.8 16,631 512 3.1 23,075 829 3.6 34 11 32.4 8,675 462 5.3 
Houston 0 0 0.0 39 2 5.1 133 3 2.3 172 5 2.9 0 0 0.0 46 2 4.3 
Hubbard 3 1 33.3 58 13 22.4 96 7 7.3 157 21 13.4 4 1 25.0 83 22 26.5 
Isanti 7 2 28.6 107 8 7.5 238 6 2.5 352 16 4.5 8 2 25.0 150 11 7.3 
Itasca 2 0 0.0 144 12 8.3 383 11 2.9 529 23 4.3 2 0 0.0 190 16 8.4 
Jackson 1 0 0.0 37 5 13.5 87 1 1.1 125 6 4.8 1 0 0.0 47 6 12.8 
Kanabec 1 1 100.0 49 1 2.0 76 3 3.9 126 5 4.0 1 1 100.0 77 3 3.9 
Kandiyohi 10 2 20.0 167 15 9.0 488 9 1.8 665 26 3.9 12 3 25.0 248 23 9.3 
Kittson 0 0 0.0 6 1 16.7 7 0 0.0 13 1 7.7 0 0 0.0 7 1 14.3 
Koochiching 0 0 0.0 33 6 18.2 47 4 8.5 80 10 12.5 0 0 0.0 41 6 14.6 
Lac Qui Parle 1 1 100.0 19 0 0.0 24 0 0.0 44 1 2.3 1 1 100.0 27 0 0.0 
Lake 0 0 0.0 32 2 6.3 76 3 3.9 108 5 4.6 0 0 0.0 49 2 4.1 
Lake Woods 1 0 0.0 5 1 20.0 5 0 0.0 11 1 9.1 1 0 0.0 7 1 14.3 
Le Sueur 1 0 0.0 119 15 12.6 215 7 3.3 335 22 6.6 1 0 0.0 168 19 11.3 
Lincoln 1 0 0.0 15 4 26.7 54 2 3.7 70 6 8.6 1 0 0.0 21 4 19.0 
Lyon 3 1 33.3 79 7 8.9 203 9 4.4 285 17 6.0 5 1 20.0 125 9 7.2 
McLeod 2 0 0.0 139 8 5.8 338 9 2.7 479 17 3.5 2 0 0.0 224 9 4.0 
Mahnomen 1 1 100.0 10 1 10.0 19 1 5.3 30 3 10.0 1 1 100.0 16 2 12.5 
Marshall 1 0 0.0 13 0 0.0 14 0 0.0 28 0 0.0 1 0 0.0 20 0 0.0 
Martin 0 0 0.0 65 7 10.8 169 7 4.1 234 14 6.0 0 0 0.0 97 8 8.2 
Meeker 2 0 0.0 74 10 13.5 140 4 2.9 216 14 6.5 2 0 0.0 101 15 14.9 
Mille Lacs 7 1 14.3 89 10 11.2 120 4 3.3 216 15 6.9 8 2 25.0 138 15 10.9 
Morrison 8 1 12.5 94 13 13.8 167 7 4.2 269 21 7.8 8 1 12.5 138 18 13.0 
Mower 1 0 0.0 120 6 5.0 349 15 4.3 470 21 4.5 1 0 0.0 172 7 4.1 
Murray 1 0 0.0 23 4 17.4 40 1 2.5 64 5 7.8 2 0 0.0 39 5 12.8 
Nicollet 3 0 0.0 108 8 7.4 294 11 3.7 405 19 4.7 6 0 0.0 143 11 7.7 
Nobles 2 1 50.0 92 4 4.3 231 5 2.2 325 10 3.1 2 1 50.0 136 5 3.7 
Norman 0 0 0.0 17 1 5.9 30 0 0.0 47 1 2.1 0 0 0.0 21 1 4.8 
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TABLE 5.03 (Continued) 

TRAFFIC CRASHES, FATALITIES, AND INJURIES — TOTAL AND ALCOHOL- 

RELATED BY COUNTY IN MINNESOTA, 2014 
 

 

 

 

 

 

COUNTY 
(1) 

 

FATAL TRAFFIC 

CRASHES 

INJURY 

TRAFFIC 

CRASHES 

TRAFFIC CRASHES 

WITH PROPERTY 

DAMAGE ONLY 

 

 

TOTAL CRASHES 

 

PERSONS 

KILLED 

 

PERSONS 

INJURED 
 

 

All 

(2) 

 

.08%+ 
Alc 

(3) 

 

% 
Alc 

(4) 

 

 

All 

(5) 

 

Alco-   % 
hol    Alc 

(6) (7) 

 

 

All 

(8) 

 

Alco- 

hol 

(9) 

 

% 
Alc 

(10) 

 

 

All 

(11) 

 

Alco- 

hol 

(12) 

 

% 
Alc 

(13) 

 

 

All 

(14) 

 

.08+ 
Alc 

(15) 

 

% 
Alc 

(16) 

 

 

All 

(17) 

 

Alco- 

hol 

(18) 

 

% 
Alc 

(19) 
Olmsted 8 2 25.0 661 40 6.1 1,520 47 3.1 2,189 89 4.1 8 2 25.0 929 54 5.8 
Otter Tail 3 1 33.3 190 19 10.0 449 15 3.3 642 35 5.5 3 1 33.3 267 26 9.7 
Pennington 1 0 0.0 39 3 7.7 51 3 5.9 91 6 6.6 1 0 0.0 63 5 7.9 
Pine 4 1 25.0 108 8 7.4 247 12 4.9 359 21 5.8 4 1 25.0 160 10 6.3 
Pipestone 0 0 0.0 26 2 7.7 27 0 0.0 53 2 3.8 0 0 0.0 39 2 5.1 
Polk 3 0 0.0 85 10 11.8 271 14 5.2 359 24 6.7 3 0 0.0 123 18 14.6 
Pope 0 0 0.0 31 7 22.6 79 2 2.5 110 9 8.2 0 0 0.0 39 8 20.5 
Ramsey 12 3 25.0 2,366 153 6.5 8,977 301 3.4 11,355 457 4.0 12 3 25.0 3,108 214 6.9 
Red Lake 0 0 0.0 10 0 0.0 9 0 0.0 19 0 0.0 0 0 0.0 18 0 0.0 
Redwood 1 0 0.0 42 1 2.4 84 5 6.0 127 6 4.7 1 0 0.0 64 1 1.6 
Renville 3 0 0.0 46 1 2.2 108 5 4.6 157 6 3.8 4 0 0.0 77 1 1.3 
Rice 5 1 20.0 184 17 9.2 399 11 2.8 588 29 4.9 6 1 16.7 253 21 8.3 
Rock 5 0 0.0 43 4 9.3 103 2 1.9 151 6 4.0 5 0 0.0 57 6 10.5 
Roseau 4 1 25.0 22 1 4.5 54 2 3.7 80 4 5.0 6 2 33.3 38 1 2.6 
St. Louis 8 3 37.5 699 64 9.2 2,570 114 4.4 3,277 181 5.5 8 3 37.5 928 82 8.8 
Scott 4 0 0.0 404 30 7.4 847 36 4.3 1,255 66 5.3 5 0 0.0 584 42 7.2 
Sherburne 2 1 50.0 263 20 7.6 809 27 3.3 1,074 48 4.5 2 1 50.0 388 30 7.7 
Sibley 2 0 0.0 47 2 4.3 105 5 4.8 154 7 4.5 2 0 0.0 84 3 3.6 
Stearns 9 1 11.1 690 41 5.9 1,941 58 3.0 2,640 100 3.8 9 1 11.1 985 61 6.2 
Steele 6 0 0.0 118 7 5.9 437 13 3.0 561 20 3.6 6 0 0.0 173 10 5.8 
Stevens 0 0 0.0 23 3 13 55 6 10.9 78 9 11.5 0 0 0.0 32 5 15.6 
Swift 2 1 50.0 21 4 19.0 46 2 4.3 69 7 10.1 2 1 50.0 26 6 23.1 
Todd 3 2 66.7 81 12 14.8 128 6 4.7 212 20 9.4 3 2 66.7 126 19 15.1 
Traverse 0 0 0.0 6 0 0.0 13 0 0.0 19 0 0.0 0 0 0.0 7 0 0.0 
Wabasha 4 1 25.0 72 5 6.9 151 3 2.0 227 9 4.0 4 1 25.0 106 6 5.7 
Wadena 3 2 66.7 49 4 8.2 58 0 0.0 110 6 5.5 3 2 66.7 74 9 12.2 
Waseca 2 1 50.0 48 4 8.3 147 1 0.7 197 6 3.0 2 1 50.0 68 7 10.3 
Washington 8 1 12.5 811 71 8.8 1,958 86 4.4 2,777 158 5.7 8 1 12.5 1,153 98 8.5 
Watonwan 1 0 0.0 26 2 7.7 73 1 1.4 100 3 3.0 1 0 0.0 38 2 5.3 
Wilkin 0 0 0.0 26 2 7.7 89 3 3.4 115 5 4.3 0 0 0.0 36 4 11.1 
Winona 3 3 100.0 164 17 10.4 386 9 2.3 553 29 5.2 6 6 100.0 221 25 11.3 
Wright 15 4 26.7 407 26 6.4 967 46 4.8 1,389 76 5.5 16 5 31.3 589 42 7.1 
Yellow Med 1 0 0.0 21 1 4.8 64 1 1.6 86 2 2.3 1 0 0.0 32 1 3.1 
 

Minnesota 
 

324 
 

79 
 

24.4 
 
21,257 

 
1,435 

 
6.8 

 
56,815 

 
1,919 

 
3.4 

 
78,396 

 
3,433 

 
4.4 

 
361 

 
91 

 
25.2 

 
29,439 

 
2,040 

 
6.9 
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TABLE 5.04 

COST OF ALCOHOL-RELATED TRAFFIC CRASHES, 

IMPAIRED-RELATED FATALITIES, 

AND ALCOHOL-RELATED INJURIES, BY COUNTY, 2014 
 

COUNTY COST COUNTY COST COUNTY COST 
Aitkin $1,673,600 Itasca $474,800 Pope $281,200 
Anoka 7,516,100 Jackson 142,900 Ramsey 12,053,700 
Becker 3,669,400 Kanabec 1,650,800 Red Lake 0 
Beltrami 852,900 Kandiyohi 5,470,100 Redwood 60,100 
Benton 1,792,100 Kittson 13,600 Renville 70,500 
Big Stone 81,300 Koochiching 200,900 Rice 2,155,000 
Blue Earth 973,400 Lac Qui Parle 1,500,000 Rock 182,300 
Brown 1,732,100 Lake 126,800 Roseau 3,032,200 
Carlton 288,500 Lake of the Woods 24,000 St. Louis 7,510,100 
Carver 2,286,200 Le Sueur 518,900 Scott 1,214,700 
Cass 6,727,100 Lincoln 155,100 Sherburne 2,569,600 
Chippewa 268,700 Lyon 2,043,800 Sibley 108,100 
Chisago 3,393,500 McLeod 298,600 Stearns 3,330,400 
Clay 435,300 Mahnomen 1,557,300 Steele 503,200 
Clearwater 1,500,000 Marshall 0 Stevens 144,600 
Cook 9,300 Martin 194,700 Swift 1,671,900 
Cottonwood 1,683,000 Meeker 426,200 Todd 3,345,400 
Crow Wing 6,802,600 Mille Lacs 3,457,400 Traverse 0 
Dakota 8,654,400 Morrison 2,189,200 Wabasha 1,640,700 
Dodge 3,084,100 Mower 327,200 Wadena 3,449,700 
Douglas 3,354,100 Murray 118,900 Waseca 1,646,100 
Faribault 302,300 Nicollet 334,000 Washington 4,835,100 
Fillmore 1,979,000 Nobles 1,645,700 Watonwan 46,900 
Freeborn 3,646,000 Norman 13,600 Wilkin 82,300 
Goodhue 2,052,000 Olmsted 4,686,000 Winona 9,731,300 
Grant 27,200 Otter Tail 2,148,000 Wright 9,002,000 
Hennepin 30,837,600 Pennington 279,800 Yellow Med 22,900 
Houston 126,800 Pine 1,840,100   
Hubbard 1,999,500 Pipestone 27,200   
Isanti 3,338,400 Polk 601,600   
 

Minnesota Total 
     

$ 202,243,700 

 

Note: Costs are calculated using estimates, provided 

annually by the National Safety Council, that do not 

attempt to include “comprehensive costs” of traffic 

crashes, deaths and injuries, but just direct costs due 

to medical expense, property damage, and lost 

productivity. Other procedures (e.g.; those used by 

the US Department of Transportation) that do attempt 

to include comprehensive costs result in total cost 

estimates about three times as great as those 

calculated here. 
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APPENDIX A 

 

 

 
Terms Describing Impaired Driving Incidents in Minnesota 

 

This report is produced by the Office of Traffic Safety 

in the Minnesota Department of Public  Safety and 

provides information about impaired driving in the 

state. The report is meant to aid in describing the 

parameters of a significant public health threat, but 

there are problems in reporting the statistics in a clear 

way. The problems are mainly due to (1) the lack of a 

clear terminology and (2) the complexity of 

Minnesota’s impaired driving laws. 

 

There is no clearly defined set of terms to describe 

impaired driving situations. For traffic crashes, 

Minnesota follows the American National Standards 

Institute’s “Manual on Classification of Motor Vehicle 

Traffic Accidents,” which has been in use (with new 

editions periodically) nationwide since the 1940s. 

There is no similar manual for describing impaired 

driving incidents. 

 

In this report, the term “impaired driving” is used, but 

even it has problems. For example, if an  officer 

arrests a person for DWI, and the person refuses to 

take the alcohol test and then plea-bargains the DWI 

charge to speeding, the incident is still classified as an 

impaired driving incident since the test refusal violates 

the Implied Consent Law which is part of the 

Impaired Driving Code. But the fact of impairment 

was not actually established. Definitions of terms are 

shown below, but these definitions are subject to 

change in the future. 

 

The second obstacle to clear statistical reporting is the 

complexity of the law. Minnesota enacted its first 

DWI law in 1911. There are now more than 25,000 

DWI arrests annually — more than for any other 

criminal offense in the state. 

 

Apart from the DWI laws themselves, there is an 

important distinction between criminal offenses and 

civil law violations. Minnesota Statute (MS) 609.02 

defines “crime” as “conduct ... for which the actor 

may be sentenced to imprisonment...” Therefore, a 

crime is committed if a person performs a behavior 

the law defines as criminal, regardless of whether the 

person is detected, arrested, prosecuted, found guilty, 

and sentenced to jail or prison. 

 

In contrast, a civil law violation cannot lead to 

incarceration.
**** 

In impaired driving cases under 

civil law, when a person refuses or fails an alcohol or 

drug test, the police officer acts as agent of the 

Commissioner of Public Safety and issues the driver’s 

license revocation form. In some cases the 

Commissioner may impose additional requirements 

(e.g. treatment), but the Commissioner cannot impose 

a jail sentence. 

 
This report uses the following conventions: The terms 

“crime,” “offense,” and “criminal offense” are used to 

describe violations of the criminal impaired driving 

law. The term “violation” is used to describe a 

breaking of the civil Implied Consent  law. 

“Violation” and “violator” are general terms though. 

Thus, a crime is a type of violation, and “violator” 

refers to a person who breaks a criminal law, a civil 

law, or both. 

 

Minnesota’s first DWI law consisted of a single 

sentence: “Whoever operates a motor vehicle while in 

an intoxicated condition shall be guilty of a 

misdemeanor.” The current law takes an entire 

chapter (MS 169A) and defines it to be a crime for a 

person to “drive, operate, or be in physical control of 

any motor vehicle within this state...” when the person 

is under the influence of alcohol, or under the 

influence of any of a large number of impairing 

substances, or when the person has an alcohol 

concentration of 0.08% or more, or when a person 

refuses to take a test under the Implied Consent Law, 

and so on. 

 
 

**** 
Also, a person is not considered to have violated a 

civil law unless it is so determined through a legal 

process. Thus, a person can sue another for breach of 

contract, but the other person’s behavior is not a 

violation unless a court determines that it is. The 

defendant might then be ordered to make restitution, 

or pay a fine, but cannot be incarcerated. 
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In 1961, Minnesota passed the civil “Implied 

Consent” law, defining the principle that by driving on 

a public roadway, a person by implication gives 

consent to a test for alcohol upon being stopped by an 

officer having probable cause to suspect impairment. 

If the driver refused the test, the State would revoke 

the person’s driving license for six months. 

 

In 1971, the criminal law was amended to stipulate 

that having an alcohol concentration of 0.10% or 

higher was no  longer  just prima  facie evidence of 

intoxication, but was in itself (“per se”) a crime.
†††† 

Thus, Minnesota’s “criminal per se” law dates from 

1971. 

 
In 1976, Minnesota became the first state to pass an 

“administrative per se” law, authorizing the 

Commissioner of Public Safety to revoke a person’s 

driver’s license upon refusal to take the alcohol test or 

upon   taking   and   “failing”   the   test.
‡‡‡‡ 

The 

Commissioner imposes this revocation independently 

of whatever happens in the criminal DWI case, and 

without the need to prove guilt to the higher level 

required in the criminal case. Almost all states now 

have an “administrative per se” law.
§§§§

 

 
Thus Minnesota pioneered the “two-track system.” 

The Commissioner of Public Safety revokes the 

driver’s license if a person fails or refuses the test, 

even if the person is found not guilty of the criminal 

DWI charge. Likewise a court can find  a  person 

guilty of impaired driving even in the absence of a test 

failure or refusal. 

 

The complexity of the law often causes more than one 

violation to be recorded on a person’s driving record 

for a single incident. To make up an extreme 

example: Suppose a 20-year-old commercial vehicle 

driver is driving while impaired by a combination of 

alcohol and marijuana and has a crash killing another 

driver and injuring two passengers. Upon arrest, the 

driver refuses a urine test for drugs, but takes and fails 

the breath test, with an alcohol concentration of 

0.15%. 

 

 
 

†††† 
In 2004 the Legislature reduced the per se level to 

0.08%, effective August 1, 2005. 
‡‡‡‡ 

The District of Columbia had a similar ordinance, 

but Minnesota was the first state to pass “administra- 

tive per se.” 
§§§§ 

Though Minnesota was the first state to have such 
a law, the District of Columbia had a similar 

ordinance prior to the passing of the Minnesota law. 

The driver potentially could incur the following 

violations. The alcohol test failure is a criminal 

offense under MS 169A.20(1). It is also a civil law 

violation under MS 169A.52(4). The drug test refusal 

is a criminal offense under MS 169A.20(2) and is also 

a civil law violation under MS 169A.52(3). Since the 

driver was under age 21, he violated MS 169A.33(2). 

As  a  commercial  vehicle  driver  with  an  AC  over 

.04%, he violated MS 169A.20(6) and also MS 

169A.52(2). Since the incident caused a death and 

two injuries, a felony conviction for criminal vehicular 

operation resulting in a fatality is possible under MS 

609.21(1), and two separate felony convictions for 

criminal vehicular operation resulting in an injury are 

possible under MS 609.21(2). Each of the above 

violations could cause an entry to the person’s driver 

record (although there can be only one offense under 

MS169A.20). 

 

Since a single incident may lead to multiple 

violations, a circumstance such as the following could 

occur: In a year, there are 25,000 impaired driving 

arrests. Five-hundred of those never get recorded as 

an impaired driving incident. Among the remaining 

24,500 arrests  that do lead to an impaired driving 

incident on record, there are 24,000 civil Implied 

Consent law violations, and 19,000 impaired-driving 

criminal convictions, for a total of 43,000 violations. 

In addition, Minnesotans may incur violations in other 

states and those will be placed on their Minnesota 

driving record. Also,  non-Minnesotans incur 

violations in Minnesota, and the Department of Public 

Safety creates a record in the state’s driver’s license 

file to keep track of those violations. 

 

For all these reasons, it is useful to distinguish 

between incidents, violations, and violators. The 

number of incidents on record in a year should show a 

close correspondence to the number of arrests in a 

year. Violations will be more numerous, and the types 

of violations incurred will help to characterize an 

incident. For example, did the incident involve test 

failure or test refusal? Was an injury or fatality 

involved? It is also useful to think about incidents 

separately from the persons who committed them. A 

person may go through an irresponsible phase in his or 

her life and incur several incidents in a year or two, 

and then reform. Thus, in a year, there may be 25,000 

incidents on record, but if 1,500 persons were arrested 

twice, and 500 were arrested three times in the year, 

then 23,000 persons accounted for the 25,000 

incidents. In this report, Section I deals with impaired 

driving incidents — when and where they occurred, 

what types of violations were involved, and so on. 

Section II shows the criminal conviction rates for the 
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incidents. Section  III deals with  persons — How 

many have DWI incidents on record? How many 

prior incidents do they have? and so on. Section IV 

focuses more specifically on recidivism.   Section V 

reports statistics on crashes and their costs. For each 

county, it shows total crashes, fatalities, and injuries, 

and the number and percentage of them of them that 

were classified as alcohol-related. 

 

 

 

 

APPENDIX B 

 
DEFINITIONS 

 

Disqualification 

A “disqualification” is the action  taken  by the 

Commissioner of Public Safety on a person’s 

commercial vehicle driver’s license upon being 

notified that the person was operating a commercial 

vehicle  while  having  an  alcohol  concentration  of 

.04% or higher. The Commissioner “disqualifies” the 

driver from operating commercial vehicles. This 

action is mandated under the Implied Consent Law, 

MS 169A.52. (MS 169A.20 makes it a crime for a 

person to operate a commercial vehicle while having 

an alcohol concentration over 0.04% and provides for 

separate actions upon conviction.) 

A disqualification is not counted as an impaired 

driving incident unless the driver also had a regular 

implied consent law  violation or impaired driving 

conviction. 

 
DWI 

“DWI” appears to be the historic and classic term 

to designate impaired driving. It may not have a 

precise definition. It could stand for driving while 

intoxicated, driving while under the  influence, 

driving while impaired. 

In Minnesota, a usage evolved to some extent that 

the term “DWI” refers to an actual conviction under 

the criminal statute while the term “implied consent” 

or “administrative license revocation” refers to the 

revocation by the Commissioner of Public Safety 

under the Implied Consent law. 

Thus, if John Doe got convicted in court under 

MS169A.20, it would be said that he “got a DWI.” If 

he did not get convicted but did get revoked under 

the Implied Consent law (169A.50 to 169A.53), then 

it would not be said that he got a DWI, but that he 

“got an implied consent.” 

Throughout this report, the term “impaired driving 

incident [on record]” (or merely “incident”) is used 

as a collective term to  designate a “DWI,”  or an 

implied consent revocation, or a single incident that 

resulted in both an administrative license revocation 

and a criminal conviction for an offense specified in 

the impaired driving code. 

 

DWI Law 

In 2000, the Legislature completely recodified 

Minnesota’s DWI law. The changes mostly took 

effect January 1, 2001. The law up through year 

2000 had become gradually more  complex.  The 

main criminal law was contained in MS 169.121. 

Other   DWI   criminal   laws   were   169.1211   and 

169.129. These laws contained many references to 

other laws which had to be consulted to fully 

understand the main law. The Implied Consent law 

was MS 169.123, and there were many references 

between it and the criminal DWI laws. 

The 2000 recodification combined all of these into 

a new chapter MS 169A, and specified that “this 

chapter may be cited as the Minnesota Impaired 

Driving Code.” 

Thus, the term “DWI law” increasingly appears 

obsolete and the preferred term increasingly appears 

to be “impaired driving law." 
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Implied Consent Law 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 169A.50 to 169A.53, 

make up the “Implied Consent” law — the civil law 

stating that by implication a person who drives in 

Minnesota gives his or her consent to a chemical test 

for purposes of gathering evidence as to whether or 

not an offense under Minnesota’s impaired driving 

law has occurred. The chemical test can be of a 

person’s blood, breath, or urine, and the test can be 

for alcohol or for any other substance specified in MS 

169A.20. Under the Implied Consent Law, the 

Commissioner of Public Safety imposes a one-year 

license revocation for test refusal, or a ninety-day to 

one-year revocation (depending on the prior record) 

for a test failure. 

 
Incident 

An episode of impaired driving, regardless of 

whether it is detected and prosecuted. 

 
Incident on Record 

An incident on record is an episode of impaired 

driving or an episode in which the Implied Consent 

law was violated and the following also occurred: 

The incident was detected and a stop was made and 

the driver was found in court to have violated the 

criminal impaired driving law 169A.20, or it was 

established that the driver violated the Implied 

Consent law either (1) by taking a chemical test and 

“failing” it, or (2) by refusing to take the required 

test. Furthermore, the fact of this criminal offense 

and/or civil law violation has been recorded on the 

person’s Minnesota driving record. 

 
Minnesota Resident 

As used in this report, a person for whom records 

maintained by the Department of Public Safety show 

to be a current resident of Minnesota. Note that the 

Department of Public Safety may not be promptly 

notified that a person died, or (as may especially be 

true of multiple DWI offenders) that a person moved 

from the state. 

Non-Minnesota Resident 
As used in this report, a person for whom records 

maintained by the Department of Public Safety show 

as not being a current resident of Minnesota. The 

person may have been a resident and moved away, or 

may never have been a resident. 

 
Not-a-drop 

Minnesota Statute 169A.33 is sometimes referred 

to as the “not a drop” law. It provides that a person 

under the age of 21 who drives with any amount of 

alcohol shall have his or her license revoked by the 

Commissioner of Public Safety. In this report, a not- 

a-drop violation is not counted as an impaired driving 

incident unless the driver also had a regular implied 

consent law violation or impaired driving conviction. 

 
Offender 

A person who has committed a petty 

misdemeanor, misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or 

felony, regardless of whether it is detected and 

prosecuted. 

 
Offense 

A petty misdemeanor, misdemeanor, gross 

misdemeanor, or felony. (All DWI offenses are 

misdemeanor or higher.) An offense may or may not 

be detected and prosecuted. 

 
Violation 

A breaking of one of Minnesota’s criminal or civil 

laws. 

 
Violator 

A person who breaks a criminal or civil law in 

Minnesota. 



Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2014 Page 45 Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety  

APPENDIX C 

CHRONOLOGY OF MINNESOTA IMPAIRED DRIVING LEGISLATION SINCE 1911 
 

 

Laws that appear especially significant—to be “landmarks”—are highlighted in bold font. Starting in 1987, 

the date on which a law went into effect is shown in parentheses after the description of the law. 

 

Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 
 

 

Year 

passed 

 

Reference 

Number 

 

 

Description of Amendment 
 

1911 
 

1 
 

Driving while in an intoxicated condition is defined to be a misdemeanor. 
1917 1 Three-month forfeiture of driver’s license upon conviction for DWI. 

 2 Violation of license forfeiture is defined to be a misdemeanor. 
1925 1 A second or subsequent DWI is raised to gross misdemeanor status. 

 2 Criminal penalty for repeat offenders shall include license revocation for three months to 
  one year. 
1927 1 First DWI offense raised to gross misdemeanor status. 

 2 Prison for all offenders. 
  Penalty for all offenders: prison 10 days to 1 year, plus fine of not more than $1,000, 
  plus license revocation for not longer than two years. 
1937 1 All DWI offenses reduced to misdemeanor status. 

 2 Criminal penalties reduced. 
Penalty for first offense: Prison 10 to 90 days or fine of $10 to $100, or both. 

License revocation. 

Penalty for repeat offenders: Prison 30 to 90 days or fine of $25 to $100, or both. 

License revocation. 
1939 1 Commissioner shall revoke offenders’ driver’s licenses in accordance with 

recommendation of the court. 

1941 1 90 day license revocation. 
All offenders shall have driver’s license revoked for not less than 90 days. 

1955 1 Blood alcohol concentration (“BAC”) levels defined for use as evidence. 

Results of chemical test for level of alcohol in the blood as measured from blood, breath, 

urine, or saliva specimen taken from defendant within two hours of arrest, is admissible 

as evidence. 

 BAC of .000% to .049% is prima facie evidence of innocence. 

 BAC of .050% to .149% is relevant, but not prima facie, evidence of 

intoxication. 

 BAC of .150% or greater is prima facie evidence of intoxication. 
 

1957 1 Two-hour time limit (see 1955:1) changed from two hours from time of arrest to two 
hours from time of offense. 

 2 License revocation reduced. 
License revocation for first offenders reduced from 90 days to not less than 30 days. 

Penalty for a repeat offense within three years increased to prison for 10 to 90 days, plus 

license revocation for not less than 90 days. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 
 

 

Year Reference 

passed  number Description of Amendment 
 

 

1957 
 

3 
 

Offense causing injury or death. 

Penalty for offenders causing grievous injury or death: prison 60 to 90 days, plus license 
  revocation for not less than 90 days. 
1959 1 Open Bottle Law. 

  It is a misdemeanor to have an open container of alcohol in the passenger compartment of 
  a vehicle. 
1961 1 Implied Consent Law. 

  Under civil law, a person who drives a motor vehicle on a public roadway is deemed to 
  have given consent to a test for blood alcohol concentration by means of testing a blood, 
  breath, urine, or saliva specimen. 

 2 Commissioner to revoke driver’s license for 6 months for test refusal. 
Under the rationale provided by the new civil Implied Consent law, Commissioner shall 

  impose a 6-month license revocation on persons who refuse to submit to evidentiary 
  BAC test. 
  The Commissioner shall issue a twenty-day temporary license to give the person time to 
  appeal, and the license revocation shall take effect at the end of twenty days, barring 
  appeal. 
 3 Refusal to submit to evidentiary test shall not be admissible as evidence in criminal court. 

 4 When BAC is measured by test of breath, urine, or saliva, the BAC levels defined as 
  “relevant” and “prima facie” evidence of intoxication (see 1955:1) shall be increased by 
  20%. 
1967 1 Elimination of use of saliva test to determine BAC. 

 2 Two-hour time limit on collection of evidence removed. 

 3 BAC level of 0.10% is prima facie evidence of intoxication. 
 A BAC of 0.000%—0.049% shall be considered prima facie evidence of 

innocence. 

 A BAC of 0.055%—0.099% shall be considered as relevant, but not prima facie, 

evidence of intoxication. 

 A BAC of 0.100% or greater shall be considered prima facie evidence of 

intoxication. 

4 When BAC is measured by test of breath or urine, the BAC levels defined as “relevant” 

and “prima facie” evidence of intoxication (see 1967:3) shall be increased by 10%. 

Late 1 The “B-Card” restriction 
1960s Commissioner initiates administrative policy (under authority of MS 171.04, in effect 

since 1957, or before) that the driver’s license of a person convicted of DWI a third time 

within 5 years, or a fourth or subsequent time within ten years, shall be “cancelled and 

denied” on the grounds that the Commissioner has determined that it would be “inimical 

to public safety” for the person to hold a driver’s license. 

The driver’s license may be reinstated if the person complies with rehabilitation 

requirements established by Commissioner. 

Included in the administrative procedures is the important restriction now referred to as 

the “B-Card restriction.”  The person’s driver’s license shows the “B-Card” restriction, 

which, specifically, is that the person may not consume any alcohol anywhere under any 

circumstances. If the commissioner learns that the person has failed to comply with 
 

 this restriction, then the Commissioner re-imposes the “cancel[ed] and deny” action on 
the person’s driver’s license. 

1969 1 Upon medical recommendation, court may stay imposition of criminal penalties on 
  condition that offender submit to medical treatment. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 
 

 

Year 

passed 

 

Reference 

number 

 

 

Description of Amendment 
 

1971 
 

1 
 

Criminal per se law enacted. 

A BAC of .10% is defined to be illegal per se (in itself): If an evidentiary chemical test 
  to determine BAC shows that one-tenth of one percent (1 part per thousand) of the 
  driver’s blood is alcohol, then the driver has committed a misdemeanor. It is not 
  necessary to prove that the driver was “intoxicated” or impaired. The BAC of 0.10% or 
  greater is itself a misdemeanor. 
  This landmark law facilitated prosecution; however, it had the unintended effect of 
  causing the BAC level, instead of actual impairment, to become the standard for proving 
  guilt. Drivers might be very impaired at lower BAC levels, but a BAC below 0.10% 
  would make prosecution difficult. 
 2 Preliminary breath test. 
  Officer may utilize preliminary breath test to help determine if there are probable grounds 
  for arrest and for request for the evidentiary test. 
 3 Test at scene of accident, upon probable cause. 
  When a person is involved in a traffic crash causing property damage, injury, or death, 
  officer may, upon probable cause to suspect a violation, request preliminary and 
  evidentiary BAC tests of person (under penalty of license revocation for refusal). 
 4 The per se illegal BAC level of 0.10% no longer has to be increased by 10% (see 1967:4) 
  when BAC is measured through test of breath or urine specimen. 
1973 1 Maximum fine for a first offense increased to $300.00. 

 2 Penalty for offenders causing grievous injury or death reduced to prison for 60 to 90 
  days, or fine of not more than $300, or both, plus license revocation for not less than 90 
  days. (Prison is no longer mandated; see 1957:3.) 
1976 1 “Administrative per se” law enacted. 

  Important landmark: Though the District of Columbia had a similar ordinance, 
  Minnesota is the first state to enact the now almost universal “administrative per se” law. 
  The Commissioner of Public Safety automatically imposes a 90-day license revocation 
  on drivers found to have a BAC of 0.10% or higher. The Commissioner first issues a 20- 
  day temporary license, during which time the driver may request a judicial hearing on the 

  administrative revocation. (Test refusal continues to trigger a six-month license 
  revocation; see 1961:1.) 
  A request for a hearing stays imposition of the revocation. 
 2 Commissioner may issue limited licenses to persons whose licenses were revoked under 
  the “administrative per se” law. 

 3 Alcohol safety programs in counties 
  Counties of more than 10,000 population shall establish “Alcohol Safety Programs” to 
  conduct alcohol problem assessments on DWI (and other) offenders. Results of 
  assessments to be reported to the court. 
  The court may stay criminal penalties and require the offender to get treatment. The 
  court may do this on the basis of the “alcohol problem assessment” report; a medical 
  examination of the offender is no longer required. 

 4 If a first-time offender complies with treatment program, the commissioner may 
  terminate the administrative per se revocation after 60 days. 
1978 1 Administrative revocation expedited. 

  Arresting officer shall serve as “agent of the commissioner” and shall confiscate the 
  person’s driver’s license, forward it to the Commissioner, and shall a issue temporary 
  license, valid for 30 days, to the person. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 
 

 

Year Reference 

passed  number Description of Amendment 
 

 

1978 2 Person has 30 days to request a judicial hearing on the administrative revocation for test 

failure or test refusal. A request for a hearing stays imposition of the revocation. 

3 Concept of BAC changed to AC (alcohol concentration). 
Per se illegal levels are separately defined for alcohol concentrations in blood, breath, 

and urine. 

4 Criminal penalties explicitly defined. 

 For first offense: prison for not more than 90 days, or fine of not more than 

$500, or both, plus license revocation for not less than 30 days. 

 Offense within 3 years of a prior offense: prison for not more than 90 days, or 

fine of not more than $500 (raised from $300), or both, plus revocation of not 

less than 90 days. 

 For offenders causing bodily harm or death: prison for not more than 90 days, 

or fine of not more than $500, or both, plus license revocation for not less than 

90 days. 
 

 5 
 
 

6 

“Aggravated violations” raised to gross misdemeanor status. 
(An aggravated violation is the act of driving while under the influence while already 

under revocation for driving while under the influence.) 

Jurisdiction for prosecuting aggravated violations transferred from county court to district 
 

7 
court. 
Upon conviction, court shall act for commissioner by taking person’s driver’s license and 

 
 

8 

sending it to the commissioner, if the license has not already been taken by officer at time 

of arrest 

Court shall give due consideration to alcohol problem assessment report. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

1980 

9 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 

“B-Card restriction” upon implied consent violation. 
Commissioner shall “cancel and deny” driver’s license of persons who incur a third 

incident in five years, or a fourth or subsequent incident in 10 years, where incident is 

defined as either an implied consent violation or an impaired driving conviction. The 

cancellation shall remain in effect until rehabilitation requirements imposed by the 

commissioner are proven to have been met. Licenses reinstated will include the “B-card 

restriction” (requiring total abstinence, 24 hour a day). Formerly, license cancellation 

and denial, and the B-card restriction if reinstated, was only applied upon a third criminal 

conviction. (See entry under “late 1960s.”) 

A request for testimony of person who performed laboratory analysis must be received at 
 
 

1981 

 
 

1 

least ten days in advance of judicial hearing on administrative revocation, and, also, at 

least ten days in advance of trial. 

Court may not stay imposition of the license revocation under criminal law (but may still 
 

1982 
 

1 
order a limited license to be issued). 
At a crash scene, upon probable cause, officer may arrest a person for driving while 

  

2 
under the influence, without warrant, regardless of whether officer witnessed violation. 

Officer no longer required to offer blood test. 
 3 Temporary license issued by officer at time of arrest is valid for 7 days (reduced from 

30). 
 4 

 

 

 

 

 

5 

Request for judicial hearing no longer stays revocation from taking effect. 
Defense attorneys had used the mechanism of requesting a judicial hearing on the 

administrative revocation as a tactic to delay and weaken the state’s case. 

This landmark change, whereby the hearing request no longer stays imposition of the 

revocation, caused hearing requests filed with Attorney General’s Office to decrease from 

about 1,000 per month to about 100 per month. 

Judicial hearing procedure expedited. 
  “The hearing shall be held at the earliest practicable data, and in any event no later than 

60 days following the filing of the petition for review.” 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 
 

 

Year 

passed 

 

Reference 

number 

 

 

Description of Amendment 
 

1982 
 

6 

 

 

 

7 

 

Administrative review of the Implied Consent revocation. 

Establishes procedure, independent of judicial hearing, for administrative review (by 

commissioner) of administrative revocation. A request for administrative review shall 

not stay imposition of revocation. 

A request for testimony of person who drew blood must be received at least ten days in 
  

 

8 

advance of judicial hearing on administrative revocation, and, also, at least ten days in 
advance of trial. 

Alcohol concentration test result on specimen taken within two hours of offense is 
  

 

9 

deemed to be alcohol concentration at time of offense. (Ruled unconstitutional; see 

1984:4) 

Absence of alcohol concentration test shall be admissible as evidence. 
  

10 
(Compare with 1961:3 and 1983:2.) 

Repeat offender definition expanded. 
  Definition of second offender expanded to include those who had a prior conviction 

within 5 (increased from 3) years of current incident. 
 11 

 

 

12 

Repeat offenses raised to gross misdemeanor status. 
Second offense within 5 years, and third-or-subsequent offense within ten years, raised to 

gross misdemeanor status. 

Longer revocation lengths, under criminal law, upon conviction for third and subsequent 

  

13 
offenders. 
Courts may no longer require commissioner to issue limited license. 

 14 

 

15 

License revocation imposed on second-time offenders to remain in effect until 

completion of court-ordered treatment program, if any. 

0.07%—0.09% AC provision. 
 

 

 

 
 

1983 

 

 

 

 
 

1 

Upon a report to the Commissioner that a driver had an AC of 0.070% to 0.099%, and if 

this report is the second such report within two years, the Commissioner shall order the 

person to submit to an alcohol problem assessment, and to treatment, if indicated by the 

assessment. The Commissioner shall impose a 90-day license revocation if the driver 

fails to comply. 

Officer in fresh pursuit may cross geographic limit of his or her jurisdiction to stop and 
  

2 
arrest suspect. 
Refusal to take evidentiary test is admissible as evidence in trial. (See 1961:3 and 

  

3 
1982:9.) 
Offenders from other states. 

  

 
 

4 

Repeat offenses and aggravated offenses by drivers from other states shall be subject to 

the gross misdemeanor charge if driver’s state of residence has statute in conformity with 

Minnesota’s criminal DWI statute. 

Jurisdiction for prosecuting aggravated violations transferred from district court back to 
 

1984 
 

1 
county court. (See 1978:6.) 

Evidentiary test made mandatory. 
  New language is added to the Implied Consent Notice, read to the offender at arrest, 

stating that Minnesota law requires the test to be performed. (As before, if the offender 

refuses the test, the refusal shall trigger license revocation. Language is more explicit 

now.) 
 2 Administrative revocation for test refusal increased from 6 months to 1 year. 
 3 Longer revocation for juveniles. 

Juveniles who refuse to take, or who take and fail, the evidentiary test shall experience 

the normal administrative revocation, or revocation until 18 years of age, whichever is 

longer. 

Also, adults who had adjudications for impaired driving as juveniles may be subject to 

the gross misdemeanor penalties provided for repeat offenders. 
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1984 4 Alcohol concentration of 0.10% or greater, as measured within 2 hours of offense, is 

made a criminal offense per se. (See 1982:8.) 

1987 1 County alcohol safety program expanded. 

All counties (not just those over 10,000 population) must establish an Alcohol Safety 

Program (see 1976:3) for the purpose of conducting alcohol problem screenings, and for 

conducting comprehensive chemical use assessments on persons whom screenings show 

as having a possible problem. (Effective 8/1/87) 

2 Violators to pay chemical use assessment fee. 

All violators shall pay a $75 chemical use assessment fee. Money collected to be 

credited to newly created “Drinking and Driving Repeat Offense Prevention Account.” 

(8/1/87) 

3 Snowmobile operation while impaired and ATV operation while impaired made 

comparable to normal motor vehicle operation while impaired. (8/1/87) 

1988 1 Mandatory License Plate Impoundment Law. 
Courts mandated to order certain repeat violators to surrender license plates for all 

vehicles which they own or lease. The following shall be subject to mandatory license 

plate impoundment: 

1. A person who incurs a violation within 5 years of three prior incidents. 

2. A person who incurs a violation within 10 years or four or more prior incidents. 

(8/1/88) 

2 Special series license plates. 

“Special Series” license plates for vehicles may be issued if the violator obtains a limited 

license or if others in violator’s household have a need to operate the vehicle whose 

plates have been impounded. (8/1/88) 

(The “special series” plates are recognizable by officers, but not by the general public, 
 

  

3 
as signifying a vehicle whose normal license plates have been impounded.) 
Mandatory minimum criminal sentences. 

 Mandatory minimum sentences established for certain repeat violators (a person who 

incurs an offence within 5 years of a prior incident, or who incurs an offence within 10 

years of two or more prior incidents): 30 days imprisonment, or 8 hours of community 

service for each day less than 30 days served. (8/1/88) 
1989 1 

 

 

 

2 

Test refusal by repeat violators criminalized. 
It is a gross misdemeanor to refuse an alcohol test if the person has one prior incident 

within 5 years or two or more prior incidents within 10 years of the current incident. 

(8/1/89) 

Commercial Driver’s License “disqualification” introduced. 

  The Commissioner of Public Safety shall disqualify a person from operating a 

commercial motor vehicle (CMV) if the person refuses an alcohol concentration test, or 

takes the test and has an AC of 0.04% or greater. Length of disqualification to be as 

follows: 
First violation: 1 year. 

If violation involved hazardous materials: 3 years. 

If violation is a second or subsequent violation on record: 10 years. 
 

 

1990 
 

1 
(1/1/90) 

Administrative license plate impoundment law. 
  Mandatory license plate impoundment (see 1988:1) changed from judicial 
  implementation to administrative implementation (by Commissioner of Public Safety), 
  and arresting officer shall act as agent of commissioner and impound license plates at 
  time of arrest. (1/1/91) 
 2 Procedure established for administrative review of plate impoundment action. (1/1/91) 
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1990 3 Impaired driving at a railroad crossing raised to gross misdemeanor status. (8/1/90) 

4 Comprehensive chemical use assessment on all violators. 
The requirement that all violators submit to a preliminary alcohol problem screening (and 

then a comprehensive assessment if the screening indicates that there may be a chemical 

dependency problem) is eliminated and replaced by the requirement that all violators 

submit to a comprehensive chemical use assessment. (8/1/90) 

5 A new level (third in the list below) of criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offense is 

added. The categories now are: Criminal Vehicular Operation resulting in 

1. death. 

2. great bodily harm. 4. death to an unborn child. 

3. substantial bodily harm (new). 5. injury to an unborn child. 

(8/1/90) 

1991 1 Establishes 1-year pilot program to test efficacy of ignition interlock devices. (8/1/91) 

2 Counties authorized to channel offenders “considered to be of high risk to the 

community” into a pilot program of intensively supervised probation. (8/1/91) 

1992 1 Any test refusal is defined to be a crime (1/1/93). 

(Previously, test refusal by a repeat violator was a crime. See 1989:1). 
2 Violations triggering mandatory license plate impoundment (see 1988:1) expanded to 

also include: 

1. any “aggravated violation” (see 1978:5). 

2. any violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person’s 

driver’s license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would be 

inimical to public safety. (See entry under “late 1960s.”) 

(1/1/93) 

3 Chemical dependency assessment fee (see 1987:2), required of all violators except those 

determined indigent, raised from $76 to $125. (7/1/92) 

4 Vehicle Forfeiture law. 
If a person is convicted of 

1. impaired driving within 5 years of 3 prior incidents, or 
2. impaired driving within 10 years of four or more prior incidents, or 

3. aggravated impaired driving, or 

4. any violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person’s 

driver’s license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would 

be inimical to public safety, 

then the vehicle used in the offense is subject to impoundment and forfeiture. (1/1/93) 

5 “Hard revocation” periods established. 
A person shall not be eligible to obtain a “limited license” for a certain length of time (— 

the “hard” period of the revocation). The hard periods are as follows: 

 for a first incident: 15 days. 

 for a subsequent incident: 90 days. 
 for a test refusal: 180 days. 

(1/1/93) 

6 Recidivism problem study commission established. 

“Commission on Confinement and Treatment of DWI Recidivists.” (1/1/93) 
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1992 7 Test may be compelled by force in event of CVO. 

Test for alcohol and/or controlled substances may be compelled (by force if necessary) if 

there is probable cause to suspect criminal vehicular operation. 

Since 1961, an officer may “require” a test, but a person might refuse (triggering license 

revocation). Now, in the event of suspected CVO, officer may require, and compel by 

force if necessary, the test. (1/1/93) 

1993 1 “Not-a-Drop” law enacted. 
Upon notification by a court that a person under the age of 21 has been found to have any 

quantity whatsoever of alcohol or of a controlled substance, the Commissioner of Public 

Safety shall revoke the driver’s license of the under-age person. (6/1/93) 

2 Child Endangerment law enacted. 
It is a gross misdemeanor for a person to drive while impaired and there is a child in the 

vehicle who is under the age of 16 and who is more than 36 months younger than the 

offender. (8/1/93) 

3 Length of “hard revocation” (see 1992:4) increased to 1 year if the violation includes a 

conviction for criminal vehicular operation. (1/1/94) 

1994 1 “Habitual Offender” penalties established. 

A person who incurs 6 or more incidents in 10 years, or 8 or more in 15 years, must be 

sentenced to a minimum of 1 year incarceration or to a program of intensively supervised 

probation. (8/1/94) 

1996 1 Not-a-drop violation raised to misdemeanor status. 
In addition to license revocation by the commissioner of Public Safety, the “not-a-drop” 

violation (see 1993:1) is defined to be a misdemeanor offense. (8/1/96) 

2 Additional test for controlled substances permitted. 

Arresting officer is explicitly authorized to require a blood or urine specimen, even after 

a breath test has been performed, if the officer has reason to believe the person was 

impaired by a substance not susceptible to analysis by means of a breath test. (8/1/97) 

3 Criminal Vehicular Operation expanded. 

A new level (fourth in the list below) of criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offenses is 

added. The categories now are: Criminal Vehicular Operation resulting in: 

1. a fatality. 4. bodily harm (new). 

2. great bodily harm. 5. death to an unborn child. 

3. substantial bodily harm. 6. injury to an unborn child. 

(8/1/96) 

1997 1 Special provisions for high-AC (0.20% or higher) offenders established. 
Driving while having an Alcohol Concentration of 0.20% or higher is defined to be a 

gross misdemeanor. 

Length of Commissioner’s administrative revocation is doubled from that imposed on 

violators who test below 0.20%. Revocation lengths therefore are: 

AC less than 0.20% AC 0.20%+ 

First incident 90 days 180 days 

Second incident within 5 years 180 days 360 days 

Incident by violator under 21 6 months one year 

(1/1/98) 



Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2014 Page 53 Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety  

Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 
 

 

Year Reference 

passed  number Description of Amendment 
 

 

1997 2 New offense category, “Enhanced Gross Misdemeanor,” with stricter criminal penalties, 

established. 

The following violations are defined to be “enhanced gross misdemeanors:” 

1. Driving while impaired within 10 years of two prior incidents. 

2. Driving with an AC of 0.20% or higher within ten years of a prior incident. 

3. Child Endangerment (see 1993:2) within 10 years of a prior incident. 
4. Driving while impaired and not stopping at a railroad crossing within 10 years 

of a prior incident. (1/1/98) 

3 Officer authorized to stop vehicle bearing special plates. 

Officer is explicitly authorized to stop a vehicle bearing “special series” plates (see 

1988:2) to determine if the driver “is operating the vehicle lawfully.” (1/1/98) 

4 Procedure established for “administrative forfeiture” of violator’s vehicle. 
Prior to this, vehicle forfeiture was conducted through a judicial forfeiture procedure. 

Now, law enforcement agencies may impound a vehicle and institute forfeiture 

procedures. The following violations will cause the vehicle used in the violation to be 

subject to administrative forfeiture: 

1. a violation within 5 years of 2 prior incidents. 

2. a violation within 15 years of 3 prior incidents. 

3. a violation that includes child endangerment within 5 years of 1 prior incident. 

4. a violation that includes child endangerment within 15 years of 2 prior incidents. 

5. a violation that includes a high AC within 5 years of 1 prior incident. 

6. a violation that includes a high AC within 15 years of 2 prior incidents. (1/1/98) 

5 Violations that trigger license plate impoundment (see 1988:1 and 1992:2) are greatly 

expanded to include: 

1. a violation within 5 years of a prior incident. 

2. a violation within 15 years of two or more prior incidents. 

3. an “aggravated violation” (see 1978:6). 

4. a violation that includes a high A.C. (.20% or higher). 

5. a violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person’s 

driver’s license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would 

be inimical to public safety. (1/1/98) 

1998 1 Program to use “remote [home] electronic alcohol monitoring” established. 

Judges who sentence offenders to a program of intensively supervised probation (see 

1991:2) are authorized to require violators to submit to a program of remote electronic 

alcohol monitoring. Unless determined indigent, offenders to pay the per-diem cost of 

the program. (8/1/98) 

2 Increased fee for special series plates. 

Fee for issuing “special series” license plates to violators whose normal license plates 

have been impounded is increased from $25 (for an unspecified number of vehicles) to 

$50 for each vehicle for which special series plates are issued. (8/1/98) 

1999 1 Enhanced gross misdemeanor repealed. 

Use of the term “enhanced gross misdemeanor” as a new category of offense (see 1997:2) 

is repealed, but the expanded penalty provisions for the offenses that had been identified 

as “enhanced gross misdemeanors” are retained. 

Also, courts are explicitly authorized to substitute a program of intensively 

supervised probation, with electronic home alcohol monitoring, in place of the mandatory 

incarceration periods. (5/25/99) 
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1999 2 Prior violations involving snowmobile, ATV, or motorboat to be counted. 

Makes explicit that violations triggering the revocation of snowmobile, all-terrain 

vehicle, or motorboat operating privileges are to be included among the types of prior 

violations counted in determining the charge (misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor) made 

for a current incident. (8/1/99) 

2000 1 All existing impaired-driving statutes are repealed. 

All provisions of impaired-driving law, with some amendments, are recodified as 

Minnesota Statute 169A, which provides that “this chapter may be cited as the 

Minnesota Impaired Driving Code.” 

Chief among the statutes repealed are: 
1. MS 168.042, the license plate impoundment law. 

(incorporated into 169A.60). 

2. MS 169.121, the main criminal impaired driving law. 

(incorporated into 169A.20 to 169A.48). 

3. MS169.1211, “alcohol-related” driving by commercial vehicle operators. 

(incorporated into 169A.20, 169A.31, and 169A.50 to 169A.53). 

4. MS 169.122, the “open-bottle law.” 

(incorporated into 169A.35). 

5. MS 169.123, the main civil (“Implied Consent”) impaired driving law. 

(incorporated into 169A.50 to 169A.53). 

6. MS 169.124 through MS 169.126, mandating counties to provide Alcohol Safety 

Programs to conduct chemical use assessments on persons convicted of an 

offense (when the arrest that led to the conviction was for an impaired driving 

offense). 

(incorporated into 169A.70). 

7. MS 169.1265, authorizing use of intensively supervised probation programs in 

lieu of incarceration. 

(incorporated into 169A.73 and 169A.74). 

8. MS 169.1217, providing for vehicle forfeiture, administrative and judicial 

procedures. (incorporated into 169A.63). 

9. MS 169.126 defining an “aggravated violation.” 

Concept of “aggravated” violations is re-defined in terms of “aggravating 

factors.” (incorporated into 169A.20 through 169A.275). 

The Not-A-Drop law for underage divers is incorporated into 169A.33. 

(1/1/01) 

2 First-, Second-, and Third-Degree Impaired Driving offenses introduced, 

determined by number of “aggravating factors.” 

Concept of aggravating factors introduced. Aggravating factors are defined to be: 
1. Child endangerment (see 1993:2). 

2. Having a high (0.20% or higher) alcohol concentration (see 1997:1). 

3. Each prior incident within ten years counts as 1 aggravating factor. 

 A first-degree impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense with two 

or more aggravating factors, and is a gross misdemeanor. 

 A second-degree impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense with 

one aggravating factor, and is a gross misdemeanor. 

 A third-degree impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense with 

aggravating factors, and is a misdemeanor.   (1/1/98) 
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2000 4 Mandatory license plate impoundment violations (see 1988:1 and 1997:5) further 

expanded to also include: 

1. any violation involving child endangerment (see 1993:2). 

2. an incident within 10 years of a prior incident. 

3. a commercial vehicle driver’s license disqualification (see 1989:2) within ten 

years of prior such disqualification. 

(1/1/01) 

3 Custodial arrest for first-degree impaired driving. 

Officer is mandated to make a custodial arrest (the person must be taken into custody) if 

the officer has reason to believe the person committed a first-degree impaired driving 

offense. (1/1/01) 

5 Court is authorized to increase maximum fine by $1,000 if offender has high AC (0.20% 

or higher). (1/1/01) 

6 A “working group on DWI Felony” law is established and the Commissioner of 

Corrections is to develop a plan for how felony level offenders may be processed. 

2001 1 Felony DWI law enacted. 
A felony impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense within ten years of 3 or 

more prior incidents. The felony penalty is stipulated: “The court shall sentence [the 

offender]... to imprisonment for not less than three years. In addition, the court may 

order the person to pay a fine of not more than $14,000.” (Maximum prison penalty is 

stipulated as “not more than 7 years”.) 

The new categorization of offense levels is as follows: 

4. First-degree impaired driving offense: felony. 
5. Second-degree impaired driving offense (two or more aggravating factors): 

gross misdemeanor. 

6. Third-degree impaired driving offense (1 aggravating factor): gross 

misdemeanor. 

7. Fourth-degree impaired driving offense (no aggravating factors): misdemeanor. 

(8/1/02) 

2 Driver’s license reinstatement fees increased. 

The total fee had been $250.00 with a $40 surcharge (total $290). That total is increased to: 

1. $395 ($250 fee and $145 surcharge) effective July 1, 2002. 

2. $630 ($250 fee and $380 surcharge) effective July 1, 2003. 

3 Custodial arrest for first- and second-degree impaired driving. 
Officer is mandated to make a custodial arrest (the person must be taken into custody) if 

the officer has reason to believe the person committed a first-degree or a second-degree 

impaired driving offense. (See 2000:3.) (8-1-02) 

4 Two new misdemeanor crimes are defined. 

1. It is a misdemeanor for a person whose vehicles has had its license plates 

impounded to drive any vehicle. 

2. It is a misdemeanor for a person who purchases a vehicle, the plates for which 

have been impounded, to allow the violator to drive the vehicle. 

(8/1/02) 
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2002 1 License cancellation (and “B-Card restriction” upon reinstatement) triggered 

earlier. 
Under the commissioner’s authority to withhold a driver’s license from persons whose 

driving behavior is determined to be “inimical to public safety,” a third impaired driving 

incident within 5 years, or a fourth or subsequent one within ten years, triggered the 

Department of Public Safety to “cancel and deny” the person’s driver’s license, until 

rehabilitation is established. If the license is reinstated, it carries the “B-Card restriction,” 

requiring total abstinence 24 hours a day. 

By administrative rule, the triggering of the license cancellation (and B-Card restriction if 

reinstated) is advanced to a third or subsequent impaired driving incident within ten  

years. 

(See entry under late 1960s, and 1978, 9). 

(November, 2002). 

2003 1 Two inadequate breath samples constitute refusal. 

In submitting to the breath alcohol test, if a person fails to provide two samples of breath 

that are adequate for the chemical test to be performed, that failure shall “constitute a 

refusal” to provide a breath test. (8/1/03) 

2 Test refusal increased to gross misdemeanor offense. 
A impaired driving incident with no aggravating factors that involves a refusal to take the 

alcohol concentration test is made a third-degree impaired driving offense: a gross 

misdemeanor. (8/1/03) 

3 Prior not-a-drop violations not counted in determining degree. 

If an offender had a prior “not-a-drop” law violation (see 1993:1), and that prior violation 

did not involve a criminal impaired driving offense or an implied consent violation, then 

that prior violation shall not be included as a prior incident for purposes of determining 

the degree of the current incident. (8/1/03) 

2004 1 The per se illegal alcohol concentration level is reduced from 0.10% to 0.08%. 

The new 0.08% illegal per se level applies to criminal offenses and civil law violations. 

That is, effective August 1, 2005, driving while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08% 

or higher is per se a criminal offense that will trigger criminal penalties. It is also a civil 

(Implied Consent) law violation that triggers the Commissioner of Public Safety to  

impose license revocation or cancellation actions on the violator. (8/1/05) 

2 Commercial Driver’s License Disqualification made more stringent. 
The Minnesota Legislature adopts law that Minnesota shall enforce US Department of 

Transportation Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration requirements regarding 

disqualifying persons from operating commercial motor vehicles. Those requirements 

(as of 2006) provide that: 

1. if a person is convicted of test refusal or of impaired driving (in any vehicle, not 

just a commercial vehicle), for a first time, he or she shall be disqualified from 

operating a commercial vehicle for one year. 

2. If the conviction was for an incident involving transport of hazardous materials, 

the disqualification shall be for three years. 

3. Any second test-refusal or impaired-driving conviction shall trigger lifetime 

disqualification. 
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2010 1 DWI Sanctions Strengthened; Ignition Interlocks Required. 
Legislation adopted to strengthen sanctions against DWI offenders and require certain 

offenders to use ignition interlock devices. The legislation becomes effective July 1, 

2011, and aims to enhance road safety to prevent alcohol-related crashes which account 

for one-third of all Minnesota traffic deaths annually. The legislation gives DWI 

offenders a chance to regain driving privileges by ensuring safe and legal driving through 

the use of interlocks.  Interlock devices are installed in a vehicle and require a driver to 

provide a breath sample in order for the vehicle to start. The vehicle will not start if the 

device detects an alcohol concentration level of 0.02% or above after the driver blows 

into its tube. Interlocks require rolling re-tests after the initial test, and have features to 

deter others from starting the vehicle for the intended user.  The legislation includes: 

 
1. DWI offenders with a 0.16% and above alcohol-concentration level will be 

required to have ignition interlock devices installed on any vehicle they drive. 

2. DWI offenders with a 0.16% and above alcohol-concentration level that choose 

not to use ignition interlocks will not have driving privileges ranging from one 

year to six years — depending on offense level. Offenders with three or more 

DWIs in a 10-year period will be required to use interlocks. 

3. Interlock users will regain full driving privileges immediately after the offense, 

ensuring they are driving with a valid license and not a threat on the roadway. 

4. Interlocks will be used to monitor chronic DWI offenders (three or more DWIs 

in 10 year period) to verify chemical use. 
 

 2 Other qualified person added to who can draw blood under 169A.57. 

Legislation passed which added language which allowed for a “other qualified person” to 

draw blood under the implied consent statute. 
3 Changes to forfeiture 

Requires reporting to State Auditor, issuance of property receipt, created “petition for 

 remission or mitigation”, required model policies by enforcement and prosecutors, 
 changed the language on the administrative notices. 

2012 1 Criminal Vehicular Offense Clarification 
  This clarification allows for enhancement based upon prior felonies which will include 
  pre-2007 CVO’s in DWI enhancement statute. 

 2 DWI Forfeiture Change 
  This change removes foreign language requirements; requires forms served within 60 
  days, requires property receipt, changed deadline to file for judicial determination from 
  30 days to 60days; requires hearings in 180 days; changed conciliation court limit to 
  $15,000. This also includes new requirements regarding sale of the vehicle (ie: prohibited 
  LE officer and prosecutor from buying the car); required return of the vehicle when the 
  owner posts a bond. 
2014 1 Criminal Vehicular Offense and Ignition Interlock change 
  The law now requires Ignition interlock for anyone cited for a CVO bodily harm to great 
  bodily harm to install an ignition interlock on their vehicle. 

 2 CVO recodification 
The CVO statute is recodified at the courts request to create new statutes; MN Statute 

  609.21 was repealed and renumbered. 



Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2014 Page 58 Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety  

 

2015 1 Aggravating factor for high BAC 
  The level for an aggravating factor was changed from 0.20 to 0.16 criminally. 
 2 Necessity defense for Implied Consent 
  The implied consent statute was amended to allow the affirmative defense of necessity at 
  civil implied consent hearings. 

 

 

 
 

Minnesota law dealing with impaired driving is complex.  The chronology above is selective.  Not all amendments can 

be described in detail.  (See the “Overview of Minnesota’s DWI Laws” by Jim Cleary and Rebecca Pirius, reprinted as 

Appendix D, for a complete and accurate description of current law and practice). Persons with expertise in this area are 

encouraged to notify us if any errors are discovered. 
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Prohibited Behaviors 
 

 
Minnesota’s DWI law stipulates that it is a 

crime: 
 

1) to drive, operate, or be in control of any 

motor vehicle anywhere in the state while: 
 

 under the influence of alcohol, a controlled 
substance, or (knowingly) a hazardous substance, 

or any combination of these; 

 having an alcohol concentration (AC) of .08% 

(.08% means .08 percent alcohol concentration, 

which is 8/10,000ths by volume) or more at the 

time or within two hours of doing so; 

 having any amount or the metabolites of a 
schedule I or II controlled substance, other than 

marijuana, in the body; or 

 if the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle, 

having an alcohol concentration of .04 or more at 

the time or within two hours of doing so; or 
 

2) to refuse to submit to a chemical test of the 

person’s blood, breath, or urine under Minnesota 

Statutes, section 169A.52 (implied consent law). 

 
Criminal Penalties   

 
Criminal penalties upon conviction for DWI are 

tiered, as follows: 
 

• Fourth-Degree DWI – misdemeanor, punishable 

by up to 90 days of jail and a $1,000 fine (for the 

person’s first impaired driving violation within ten 

years without test refusal or any aggravating factors) 

• Third-Degree DWI – a gross misdemeanor, 

punishable by up to one year of jail and a $3,000 fine 

(for the person’s second impaired driving violation 

within ten years or first such violation with test 

refusal or another aggravating factor) 

• Second-Degree DWI – also a gross misdemeanor 

(for the person’s third impaired driving violation 

within ten years or second such violation with test 

refusal or one other aggravating factor, or first such 

violation with two aggravating factors) 

 

 

 First-Degree DWI – felony, punishable by up to 

seven years’ imprisonment and a $14,000 fine 

(for the person’s fourth impaired driving violation 

within ten years or anytime following a previous 

felony DWI or criminal vehicular operation 

conviction; other aggravating factors are not 

considered) 
 

Aggravating Factor 
 

This includes: 
 

 a qualified prior impaired driving incident within 

the preceding ten years; 

 an alcohol concentration of .20 or more upon 

arrest (but not for first-degree DWI); and 

 the presence of a child under age 16 in the 

vehicle, if more than 36 months younger than the 

offender (but not for first-degree DWI). 
 

Qualified Prior Impaired Driving Incident 
 

This includes both: 
 

 prior impaired driving convictions; and 

 prior impaired driving-related losses of license 

(implied consent revocations) or operating 

privileges 
 

for separate driving incidents within the preceding 

ten years involving any kind of motor vehicle, 

including passenger motor vehicle, school bus or 

Head Start bus, commercial motor vehicle, airplane, 

snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, off-road recreational 

vehicle, or motorboat in operation. 

 

 
Chemical Testing 

 

 
Minnesota’s implied consent law assumes that a 

person who drives, operates, or is in control of any 

type of motor vehicle anywhere in the state has 

consented to a chemical test of breath, blood, or 

urine for the purpose of determining the presence of 

alcohol or controlled or hazardous substances in the 

person’s body. The testing is administered at the 

direction of a law enforcement officer when there is 

probable cause that the person has committed a DWI 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.52
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.52
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 has been arrested for a DWI violation; 

 has been involved in a motor vehicle crash; 

 has refused to take the DWI screening test; or 

 has taken the screening test and it shows A.C. of 

.08% or more. 
 

To build probable cause, the officer generally, 

though not always, proceeds as follows: 
 

 observes the impaired driving behavior and 

forms a reasonable suspicion of an impaired 

driving violation 

 stops and questions the driver 

 administers a standardized field sobriety test 

(SFST) 

 administers a preliminary breath test (PBT) 
 

If, based on these screening tests, the officer has 

probable cause to believe that a DWI crime has 

occurred, he or she may arrest the person and demand 

a more rigorous evidentiary test of the person’s 

breath, blood, or urine.  Before administering the 

evidentiary test, the officer must read the implied 

consent advisory statement to the person, explaining 

that testing is mandatory, test refusal is a crime, and 

the person has the right to consult an attorney before 

taking the test. If the evidentiary test is requested 

without the advisory being given, then the person may 

be criminally charged and prosecuted following test 

failure or refusal, but the various administrative 

sanctions cannot be applied. 
 

If the person is unconscious, consent is deemed not 

to have been withdrawn, and the chemical test may 

be administered. 
 

The officer chooses whether the test will be of the 

person’s breath, blood, or urine. A person who 

refuses a blood or urine test must be offered another 

type of test (breath, blood, or urine). 

Blood and urine tests are analyzed by the Bureau of 

Criminal Apprehension (BCA), with results available 

within about ten days. The BCA may certify 

chemical test results directly to the Department of 

Public Safety (DPS). 

Administrative Sanctions 
 

 
Apart from any criminal penalties that may result 

from a DWI arrest, the law provides for three 

administrative sanctions, which can commence 

immediately upon arrest. 

 

1) Administrative License Revocation (ALR) 

Whenever the implied consent law can be invoked 

during the arrest process, the person’s driver’s 

license can be withdrawn immediately following any 

test failure or test refusal. The person is given a 

seven-day temporary license to drive before the 

withdrawal becomes effective. The period of license 

withdrawal is as follows: 
 

 90 days for a person with no qualified prior 

impaired driving incident within the past ten years 

and no other aggravating factor was present in the 

current incident (reducible to 30 days upon DWI 

conviction for a first-time offender) 

 six months, if violator is under age 21 

 180 days, if person has had a qualified prior 

impaired driving incident within ten years 

 double the applicable period above, if the person 

was arrested with an alcohol concentration of .20 

or more or while having a child under age 16 in 

the vehicle 

 one year, if the person refused to submit to 

the chemical test of blood, breath, or urine 

(reducible to 90 days upon DWI conviction 

for a first-time violation) 

 cancelled and denied indefinitely as inimical to 

public safety, pending treatment and 

rehabilitation for a third or more impaired driving 

incident within a ten-year period 

The person may appeal the administrative license 

revocation, either administratively to DPS and/or 

judicially through the court. (See Minn. Stat. § 

169A.53 for the procedural details.) 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.53
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.53
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2) Administrative License Plate 

Impoundment 
 

A plate impoundment violation is an impaired 

driving violation involving an aggravating factor, 

such as any of the following: 
 

 occurring within ten years of a qualified 

prior impaired driving violation by that 

person 

 involving an alcohol concentration of .20 or more 

 having a child under age 16 present in the vehicle 

 occurring while the person’s license has 

been cancelled for the person being inimical 

to public safety 

Plate impoundment applies to: 
 

 the vehicle used in the plate impoundment 

violation, 

 as well as any vehicle owned, registered, or leased 

in the name of the violator, whether alone or 

jointly. 
 

A plate impoundment order is issued by the arresting 

officer at the time of arrest and is effective 

immediately.  The officer also seizes the plates and 

issues a temporary vehicle permit valid for seven days 

(or 45 days if the violator is not the owner). 
 

The minimum term of plate impoundment is one year, 

during which time the violator may not drive any 

motor vehicle unless the vehicle displays specially 

coded plates and the person has been validly 

relicensed to drive. The violator is also subject to 

certain restrictions when selling or acquiring a vehicle 

during the impoundment period. 
 

Specially coded license plates—signifying to law 

enforcement that the regular plates have been 

impounded for an impaired driving violation— 

may be issued for the vehicle(s), provided that: 
 

 the violator has a properly licensed 

substitute driver; 

 a member of the violator’s household is validly 

licensed; 

 the violator has been validly relicensed; or 

 the owner is not the violator and is validly 

licensed. 
 

It is a crime for a driver whose plates have been 

impounded to attempt to evade the plate 

impoundment law in certain specified ways, or for 

another person to enable such evasion. 
 

As with the driver’s license withdrawal sanction, a 

person incurring license plate impoundment may 

appeal this sanction both administratively and/or 

judicially through the court. (See Minn. Stat. § 

169A.60 for the procedural details.) 

 

3) Administrative Vehicle Forfeiture 
 

Minnesota’s DWI law provides for vehicle forfeiture 

for a designated license revocation or designated 

offense, which is typically the third DWI violation 

within a ten-year period, though with one or more 

aggravating factors, a person’s second-time or even 

first-time violation might qualify as well. 
 

DWI law defines “designated license revocation” as a 

license revocation or commercial license 

disqualification for an implied consent violation 

within ten years of two or more qualified prior 

impaired driving incidents. The term “designated 

offense” includes a DWI violation in the first or 

second degree or involving a person whose driver’s 

license is cancelled as inimical to public safety or 

subject to B-Card (no alcohol) restrictions. 
 

The law provides that the arresting officer may 

seize the vehicle and requires that the prosecuting 

authority serve notice to the owner(s) of the intent 

to forfeit. The forfeiture is conducted 

administratively, unless within 30 days the owner 

appeals the forfeiture action by filing for a judicial 

determination of the forfeiture. 
 

A vehicle is subject to forfeiture under this law only 

if: 
 

 it was used in the commission of a 

designated offense and the driver was 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.60
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.60
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.60
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convicted of that offense or failed to appear at 

trial on it, or 

 it was used in conduct resulting in a designated 

license revocation and the driver either fails to 

seek administrative or judicial review of the 

revocation in a timely manner or the revocation 

is sustained upon review. 

Other vehicles owned by the offender are not subject 

to forfeiture. As a protection for an owner who is not 

the offender, the law states that a motor vehicle is 

subject to forfeiture only if its owner knew or should 

have known of the unlawful or intended use of the 

vehicle. 
 

Following completion of forfeiture, the arresting 

agency may keep the vehicle for its official use. 

However, the security interest or lease of the financial 

institution, if any, is protected, and the lienholder may 

choose to sell the vehicle at its own foreclosure sale or 

agree to a sale by the arresting agency. A 

proportionate share of the proceeds, after deduction of 

certain expenses, goes to the financial institution. The 

law provides similar protection to any innocent co- 

owner, as well. 

 
Charging the Crime 

 

 
DWI violations may be charged by: 

 

 citation (very rarely done, and only if a 

misdemeanor); 

 tab charge when booking the person into jail; 

and/or 

 complaint prepared by the prosecutor subsequent 

to arrest. 
 

In the case of a blood or urine evidentiary test, the 

officer typically tab charges the violator at the time of 

arrest for driving under the influence, which is one 

category of DWI crime. Then, at the person’s first 

court appearance, the prosecutor requests continuation 

of the charges, pending return of the test results from 

the state crime lab.  If the test results indicate an 

alcohol concentration of .08% or more, the prosecutor 

is allowed to add additional charges orally at the 

person’s next court hearing. Any charging complaint 

that is subsequently prepared would include all 

relevant charges. 

Mandatory Hold and Conditional 

Release Pretrial 
 

 
When a person is arrested for a first-degree (felony) 

or second-degree DWI crime, the person must be 

taken into custody and detained until the person’s 

first court appearance, at which time the court 

generally sets bail and specifies conditions of release.  

Unless maximum bail ($12,000 for gross 

misdemeanor DWI) is imposed, a person charged 

with any of the following offenses may be granted 

pretrial release from detention, but only if the person 

agrees to abstain from alcohol and to submit to 

remote electronic alcohol monitoring (REAM) 

involving at least daily breath-alcohol measurements. 

The offenses are: 
 

 a third implied consent or DWI violation within 

ten years; 

 a second violation, if under 19 years of age; 

 a violation while already cancelled as inimical to 

public safety for a prior violation; or 

 a violation involving an alcohol concentration of 

.20 or more. 

Further conditions apply to a person charged with a 

fourth or more violation within ten years, including: 
 

 impoundment of the vehicle registration plates, or 
impoundment of the off-road recreational vehicle 

or motorboat itself, if one was being driven; 

 a requirement for reporting at least weekly to a 

probation officer, involving random breath 

alcohol testing and/or urinalysis; and 

 a requirement to reimburse the court for these 

services upon conviction for the crime. 
 

Chemical Dependency Assessment and 

Treatment 
 

 
Every person convicted of DWI or a reduced charge 

must submit to a chemical use assessment 

administered by the county ($125 fee, plus $5 

surcharge) prior to sentencing.  The court must order 

the person to submit to the level of treatment care 

recommended by the assessment, if the conviction is 

for a repeat offense within ten years or the conviction 

was for DWI with an A.C. of .20% or more. 

Treatment requirements are spelled out in DPS rules. 
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Rehabilitation Following Driver’s 

License Cancellation and Denial 
 

 
Chemical dependency rehabilitation is statutorily 

required following a person’s third or subsequent 

impaired driving incident within ten years. Either a 

conviction or an administrative loss of license, or 

both, constitutes an impaired driving incident. 
 

Rehabilitation is also required—by DPS 

administrative rule, but not by statute—of a person 

whose license has been cancelled for violating the no 

alcohol provision of a restricted driver’s license—a 

B-Card (which can be obtained only upon successful 

completion of a prior rehabilitation). 
 

By statute, DPS is authorized to administratively 

establish the standards for rehabilitation, and the 

periods of rehabilitation must be not less than one 

year for the person’s third, and not less than two years 

for the person’s fourth or more impaired driving 

violation. 
 

Under DPS rules, however, the period of 

rehabilitation is tiered from one to six years, 

according to whether the violator has successfully 

completed rehabilitation previously: 

 one year for the first rehabilitation 

 three years for the second 

 six years for the person’s third or subsequent 

rehabilitation 

According to DPS rules, rehabilitation requires, 

among other things, that the person: 

 successfully complete chemical dependency 

treatment in a program that requires complete 

abstinence from alcohol and controlled 

substances; 

 actively participate in a recognized chemical 

dependency support group; 

 completely abstain from alcohol and controlled 

substances; and 

 obtain sworn affidavits vouching to that 

effect from at least five other familiar 

witnesses (who are not relatives, an 

employer or employees of the person). 

Mandatory Minimum Sentences 
 

 
Upon conviction for DWI, repeat offenders are 

subject to the following mandatory minimum 

criminal penalties: 
 

 second DWI offense within ten years: 

30 days incarceration, at least 48 hours of which 

must be served in jail/workhouse, with eight 

hours of community work service for each day 

less than 30 served 

 third DWI offense within ten years: 

90 days incarceration, at least 30 days of 

which must be served consecutively in a local 

jail/workhouse 

 fourth DWI offense within ten years: 

180 days of incarceration, at least 30 days of 

which must be served consecutively in a local 

jail/workhouse 

 fifth DWI offense within ten years: 

One year of incarceration, at least 60 days of 

which must be served consecutively in a local 

jail/workhouse 
 

For All Repeat Offenders 
 

The court may order that the person spend the 

remainder (nonjail portion) of the mandatory 

minimum sentence under REAM or on home 

detention. 

 

An Alternative to the Mandatory Minimum 

Period of Incarceration 
 

The court may sentence the offender to a program 

of intensive probation for repeat DWI offenders 

that requires the person to consecutively serve at 

least six days in jail/workhouse and may order that 

the remainder of the minimum sentence be served 

on home detention. 
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Long-term Monitoring Required 

Long-term monitoring applies to most third-time DWI 

offenders and all those under age 19. When the court 

stays part or all of a jail sentence, it must order the 

offender to submit to REAM for at least 30 days each 

year of probation. 
 

Felony DWI Penalties 
 

If a person is convicted of felony DWI and given a 

stayed prison sentence, then that person must be 

sentenced in accordance with the local sentencing 

provisions described in this section. (For more, see 

the Felony DWI section.) 
 

Intermediate Sanctions and Probation 
 

When sentencing a DWI offender, the court may 

impose and execute a sentence to incarcerate, or it 

may stay imposition or execution of sentence and: 
 

 order intermediate sanctions without 

probation; or 

 place the person on probation with or 

without supervision and under terms the 

court prescribes, including intermediate 

sanctions if prescribed. 

The term “intermediate sanction” includes but is not 

limited to jail, home detention, electronic monitoring, 

intensive supervision, sentencing to service, day 

reporting, chemical dependency and mental health 

treatment, restitution, fines, day fines, community 

work service, restorative justice work, and work in 

lieu of fines or restitution. 
 

For DWI convictions, the maximum period of the 

stay of sentence, is: 
 

 two years, for a misdemeanor conviction; 

 six years, for a gross misdemeanor conviction; 

and 

 seven years, for a felony DWI conviction. 
 

Felony DWI 

than one year may be imposed. Under Minnesota’s 

felony DWI law, a person who commits first-degree 

DWI is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to: 
 

 imprisonment for not more than seven years (or 

more than seven years if the person has other 

prior criminal history); 

 a fine of not more than $14,000; 

 or both. 

A person is guilty of first-degree DWI if the 

person violates DWI law: 
 

 within ten years of three or more qualified prior 
impaired driving incidents (defined as prior 

convictions or license revocations for separate 

impaired driving incidents); or 

 has previously been convicted of a felony DWI 

crime; or 

 has previously been convicted of a felony-level 

crime of criminal vehicular homicide or injury 

(CVO) involving alcohol or controlled 

substances. 
 

Unlike nonfelony DWI crimes, being arrested with a 

high alcohol concentration (.20 or more)  or under 

circumstances of child endangerment are not defined 

as aggravating factors for felony DWI; instead, only 

qualified prior impaired driving incidents and prior 

convictions for felony CVO are considered. 
 

When sentencing a person for a felony DWI 

offense, the court: 
 

 must impose a sentence to imprisonment for not 

less than three years; and 

 may stay execution of this mandatory sentence, 

but may not stay imposition of this sentence or 

sentence the person to less than three years 

imprisonment. 
 

A person sentenced to incarceration in prison for 

felony DWI is not eligible for early release unless the 

person has successfully completed a chemical 

dependency treatment program while in prison. 

 

 

Minnesota criminal law defines the term felony to 

mean any crime for which incarceration of more 
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The court must also order that after a felony DWI 

offender is released from prison, the person must be 

placed on conditional release for five years, under any 

conditions that the commissioner of corrections opts 

to impose, including an intensive probation program 

for repeat DWI offenders. If the person fails to 

comply with the conditions of release, the 

commissioner may revoke it and return the person to 

prison. 

 

If the court stays execution of the mandatory prison 

sentence, then it must apply the mandatory penalties 

for nonfelony DWI offenses (jail and/or intensive 

probation, as described in a preceding section) and 

must order as well that the person submit to long-term 

alcohol monitoring and the level of treatment 

prescribed in the chemical dependency assessment.  If 

the person violates any condition of probation, the 

court may order that the stayed prison sentence be 

executed. 

 

The Minnesota sentencing guidelines recommend a 

stayed sentence of 36 months, 42 months, and 48 

months for a felony DWI conviction for a person 

with zero, one, or two criminal history points 

respectively, and they specify a presumptive 

commit-to-prison for a person with a criminal 

history score of three or more. 

 

To illustrate, a person convicted of felony DWI who 

has had seven qualified prior impaired driving 

incidents within the past ten years, but no other 

criminal convictions, would likely reach the threshold 

for a presumptive commit, as follows: 

 

 three of those priors are used to establish the basis 

for enhancing the current DWI offense to a 

felony-level crime (but these cannot also be used 

to determine the person’s criminal history score) 

 

 
 the other four priors—provided they involved 

DWI convictions—count as one-half criminal 

history point each, for a total of two points 

 one criminal history point—a custody status 

point—would result from the current 

impaired driving incident occurring while the 

person is on probation for a prior impaired driving 

incident, as would almost certainly be the case in 

this example 

Thus, this hypothetical offender would have a criminal 

history score of three when facing sentencing on the 

current felony-level DWI offense; the person’s 

presumptive sentence under the guidelines would be to 

commit to prison for 54 months. With one less 

qualified prior incident during the preceding ten years, 

the guidelines would call for a presumptive stayed 

sentence of 48 months. 

 

Criminal Vehicular Homicide and 

Injury 
 

 
Criminal law defines six levels of criminal vehicular 

operation (CVO)—all but one constituting felony 

offenses—depending on the level of injury inflicted: 

 criminal vehicular homicide (causing death, but 

not constituting murder or manslaughter) 

 great bodily harm (serious permanent injury) 

 substantial bodily harm (temporary substantial 

injury) 

 bodily harm (pain or injury—a gross 

misdemeanor) 

 death to an unborn child 

 injury to an unborn child 

A common element to each of these CVO crimes is 

that the person causes the specified harm to another 

person as a result of operating a motor vehicle under 

any of the following conditions: 

 in a grossly negligent manner 

 in violation of any of the elements of regular DWI 

law 

 where the driver who causes the accident leaves 

the scene in violation of Minnesota’s felony 

fleeing law 

 where a citation was issued that the vehicle was 

defectively maintained, the driver knew 
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remedial action was not taken, the defect created 

a risk to others, and injury or death resulted from 

the defective maintenance 

In practice, most CVO prosecutions involve 

simultaneous violation of DWI law. 

Under the sentencing guidelines, conviction for 
criminal vehicular homicide or death to an unborn 

child carries a presumptive commit to prison for 48 

months, for an offender with no other criminal history 

points. 

 
 

Limited Driver’s License – Work 

Permit 
 

 
A person whose driver’s license has been revoked for 

an implied consent violation or DWI conviction may 

apply for a limited license to drive: 
 

 to and from a job, or for a job; 

 to chemical dependency treatment; 

 to provide for the educational, medical, or 

nutritional needs of the family; and/or 

 for attendance at a postsecondary educational 

institution. 

However, the law requires a waiting period (i.e., hard 

revocation) before a suspended or revoked driver may 
apply for a limited license. The waiting period is: 

 15 days for a first-time implied consent or DWI 

violator; 

 90 days for a second-time or subsequent violator 

who complied with the A.C. test; 

 180 days for a second or subsequent-time violator 

who refused the test; 

 one year for a person revoked for manslaughter or 

criminal vehicular homicide; 

 if under the age of 18, for twice the applicable 

period above, with a minimum of 90 days; 

 for twice the applicable period above, if person’s 

A.C. was .20 or more at the time of violation; and 

 an additional 60 days, if the license withdrawal 

involved use of the vehicle in commission of a 

felony crime or an injury accident involving 

failure to stop and disclose identity. 

For the most part, a limited driver’s license may not 

be issued to a driver whose license is cancelled and 

denied for a third or more DWI violation. However, 

Minnesota law authorizes DPS to issue a limited 

license to a person whose driver’s license is revoked 

or cancelled if the person qualifies for participation in 

an ignition interlock program. (Contact DPS Office of 

Traffic Safety for more information.) 

 
 

Restricted Driver’s License – The B- 

Card 
 

 
Driver’s licensing law allows DPS to impose 

restrictions on a person’s license to “assure safe 

operation.” Under DPS rules, a person whose driver’s 

license has been cancelled and denied for a third or 

subsequent impaired driving violation and who has 

successfully completed treatment and rehabilitation 

may apply for a restricted driver’s license, a B-Card, 

provided that the person signs a sworn statement to 

never again consume any alcohol (not even in a 

religious service, in medication, in any other manner 

or amount, irrespective of whether the act involves 

driving). 
 

Any violation of this “no alcohol” restriction of the 

B-Card results in immediate cancellation of that 

driver’s license (but is not a crime unless it involves 

operation of a motor vehicle).  A subsequent 

rehabilitation is required to regain the B-Card. 

Under DPS rules, the minimum period of time for 

establishing rehabilitation for which the person 

must prove total alcohol abstinence, is: 

 one year for the first rehabilitation, 

 three years for the second rehabilitation, and 

 six years for the third or subsequent rehabilitation. 
 

It is only following such rehabilitation that the 

offender whose driver’s license has been cancelled 

may apply for a B-Card license. The rehabilitation 

requirements following a B-Card violation are not 

mandated by statutes, but have been established 

administratively by DPS rules. 
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Violation of the “no alcohol” restriction of a B-Card 

while operating a motor vehicle is a gross 

misdemeanor. 

 
Record Keeping 

 
Records of implied consent license actions and 

DWI convictions must be retained permanently on 

the official driving record. 

The “no alcohol” restriction of a person’s B-Card 

also remains in effect and on the person’s driving 

record permanently. A temporary law enacted in 

2005 allowed B-Card holders who had gone ten 

years without a repeat violation to request a 

duplicate driver’s license without the “No 

Alcohol” verbiage showing under “Restrictions.” 

However, that law expired July 31, 2006, and as a 

result, the restriction then went back to a 

permanent restriction.  In 2010 with the passage of 

the sanctions law a person with the restriction can 

now request that the restriction be removed after 

they’ve been alcohol free for ten years. 

 
 

Driver’s License Reinstatement Fees 

 
Before becoming relicensed to drive after the 

period of license withdrawal stemming from an 

implied consent violation or DWI conviction, a 

person must pass the license examination and re- 

apply for a driver’s license and pay the following 

fees: 
 

 $250 – driver’s license (DL) reinstatement fee 

(basic fee) 

 $430 – surcharge on the DL reinstatement fee 

 $24 – DL application fee 
 

The $250 driver’s license reinstatement fee and 

$430 surcharge apply to alcohol-related and CVO- 

related license withdrawals only; the standard 

reinstatement fee of $30 applies following loss of 

license for other reasons. 

Effective July 1, 2009, certain persons who are 

eligible for a public defender may pay the 

reinstatement fee and surcharge in two 

installments.  A handling fee may be imposed for 

utilizing the installment plan. The driver’s 

license expires in two years unless the second 

installment is paid. Full payment of the fee and 

surcharge is required before a person can renew a 

license on the standard schedule or reinstate a 

cancelled, revoked, or suspended license. 
 

First-time DWI Violator Using an Off- 

road Recreational Vehicle or 

Motorboat 
 

 
A violator who has no qualified prior impaired 

driving incident is subject only to the criminal 

penalty (a misdemeanor) and the loss of operating 

privileges for that type of vehicle. 
 

The person is not subject to driver’s license 

revocation, mandatory chemical dependency 

assessment and treatment, mandatory conditions of 

release, long-term monitoring, the penalty assessment 

fee, or license plate impoundment. 
 

Any person arrested for a DWI violation involving an 

off-road recreational vehicle or motorboat and who 

has a qualified prior impaired driving incident on 

record is subject to the same administrative sanctions 

and criminal penalties as the person would be if 

arrested while driving a regular motor vehicle. 

 
 

Commercial Vehicle Driving 
 

 
DWI law sets a lower per se alcohol concentration 

limit for driving commercial motor vehicles, .04 

instead of .08, and the implied consent law allows for 

a chemical test upon probable cause that the 

commercial vehicle driver has consumed any amount 

of alcohol. 
 

A person who violates the .04 standard while driving 

a commercial motor vehicle is subject to a period of 

disqualification (one year for the first violation and 

ten years for any subsequent violation) from 

commercial motor vehicle driving. The person would 

remain validly licensed to drive regular motor 

vehicles unless he or she also has violated regular 

DWI law by exceeding the .08 per se standard or by 
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driving while impaired or with any amount of certain 

controlled substances in the body, in which case the 

person would be subject to the full range of applicable 

penalties and sanctions of regular DWI law. In 

addition, a commercial motor vehicle driver who 

incurs license revocation or cancellation for an 

impaired driving violation in a personal passenger 

vehicle receives no special dispensations from the 

sanctions and penalties that apply to other drivers— 

the person is prohibited from driving any type of 

vehicle until becoming validly relicensed to drive. 

School Bus Driving 
 

 
DWI law provides an even stricter standard of zero 

tolerance for school bus driving, by making it 

unlawful to drive a school bus when there is physical 

evidence in the person’s body of the consumption of 

any amount of alcohol. In addition to criminal 

penalties, such a violation also triggers cancellation of 

the person’s school bus driving endorsement and, 

upon conviction, disqualification of the person’s 

commercial driving privileges. However, as with 

other nonbus commercial vehicle DWI violations, the 

person would remain validly licensed to drive regular 

motor vehicles unless he or she also has violated the 

higher standards of regular DWI law. 

 
Flying Airplanes 

 

vehicle, broadly defined. However, two additional 

alcohol-related laws apply to youth under age 

21. 

Drivers aged 16 and 17 years old who violate the 

DWI laws are under the jurisdiction of the adult court, 

not the juvenile court.  As such, they are subject to the 

full range of adult penalties and consequences. 

The drinking age law prohibits a person who is 

under the age of 21 from: 

 consuming alcohol without parental permission 

and supervision; 

 purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol; 

 possessing alcohol with intent to consume; 

 entering a liquor store or bar for the purpose of 

purchasing or consuming alcohol; or 

 misrepresenting one’s age for the purpose of 

purchasing alcohol. 
 

A violation of this statute is a misdemeanor and 

carries a mandatory minimum fine of $100. 

However, it does not result in suspension of the 

driver’s license unless the person has used a driver’s 

license, Minnesota ID card, or any type of false 

identification to purchase or attempt to purchase 

alcohol (90 days suspension). 

For purposes of these laws, a person does not attain 

the age of 21 until 8:00 a.m. on the day of the 
st 

A special DWI law establishes a .04 per se standard 

for alcohol concentration while flying and also 

person’s 21 birthday. 

criminalizes test refusal. Violation is always a gross 

misdemeanor. 

It also is unlawful to fly within eight hours of any 

alcohol consumption—a zero-tolerance standard, 

but time limited. Violation is a misdemeanor. 

 
 

Special Laws for Youth 
 

 
DWI laws apply equally to drivers of all ages.  DWI 

violations require either evidence of impaired driving 

or an alcohol concentration of .08% or higher, or the 

presence of certain illegal substances in the person’s 

body, during or within two hours of the time of 

driving, operating, or being in control of a motor 

Underage Drinking Driving – Zero 

Tolerance 
 

 
Minnesota’s DWI law provides misdemeanor 

penalties and driver’s license suspension for any 

driver under age 21 who is convicted of driving a 

motor vehicle anywhere in the state while consuming 

alcohol or while there is physical evidence of such 

consumption present in the person’s body.  (This law 

applies only to the driver and not to any passengers.) 

However, a violation of the zero-tolerance law for 

underage drinking and driving does not in 
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itself constitute a DWI/impaired driving 

violation, nor can it be used as an 

enhancing factor for any subsequent DWI 

violation. 

 

 
 

For more information about DWI, visit 

the criminal justice area of our web site, 

www.house.mn/hrd/ 

http://www.house.mn/hrd/
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