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Angling license must be on your person when fish-
ing. The use of any receipt in lieu of a license is pro-
hibited by law.

It Is Unlawful:

For a resident 16 years of age or over to fish with-
out a license.

To fish in any waters, except ‘mmndm‘y waters be-
tween the State of anvsot“ and the States of Wis-
consin, lowa, South Dakota, and North Dakota, by
angling with more than one line and one hook, except
that three artificial flies may be used in angling for
large and small mouthed black bass, trout, crappies,
sunfish or rock bass, and except that a single artifi-
cial bait or trelling spoon may eontain more than one
hook.

To fish within fifty feet of any fishway.

To deposit any refuse, poisonous substances, or
chemicals injurious to fish life in any waters of this
state.

To buy or sell game fish, except fish taken under
commercial license or private hatchery license.

To take rock or lake sturgeon, shovelnose or
hackleback sturgeon, and paddlefish (spoonbill cat-
fish) from inland waters, excepting the tributaries
of the St. Croix River, to which the regulations for
the St. Croix River apply, except that only one line
may be used.

To take fish by means of explesives, drugs, poi-
sons, lime, medicated bait, fish berries, or other
deleterious substances, or by nets, traps, tip-ups,
trot lines, set lines, wires, springs, ropes or
cables, except as expressly authorized.

To have in possession fish nets {(except minnow
nets, not more than 25 feet in length and 4 feet in
depth, landing nets, dip nets, or nets held in stock for
sale by dealers), unless there is attached a metal tag
bearing the name and address of the owner when net
is not in use or name and address of operator when
in use. Minimum size of tags, two and one-half
inches by five-eighths inch to be provided by owner
or operator of nets.

To drive a motor boat through a posted spawning
bed or fish preserve, except that a riparian owner or
lessee adjacent to such area may operate his motor
boat in the shortest direct route from his dock or
shore through the posted area at the slowest pos-
sible motor speed to obtain access to the unposted
area.

Teo operate a minnow trap unless there is attached
a metal tag bearing the name and address of the
owner,



“MINNESOTA—AMERICA’S BEST CLIMATE FOR HEALTH AND OPPORTUNITY”

1963 FISHING SEASONS AND LIMITS
INLAND WATERS

Limits
Kind of Fish Daily Puossession

Great DMNorthern Pike

{Open Season

or Pickerel May 18-Feb. 15 3 3
Walleyed Pike, Saugers

{Band Pike) (either or

both in aggregate) May 18-Feb. 13 8 &
Muskellunge May 18-Febh. 15 1 1

Little Shoepack Lake
and Shoepack Lake,
St. Louis County
All other waters
Large & Small Mouthed
Black Bass (either or
both in aggregate). All
waters east and north 8 &
of U.8. Highwav 53
from Duluth to Inter-
national Falls
All other waters
Trout {except Lake
Trout} May 4-Sept. 15 10 16
Lake Trout . Dee. 28, 1962-Sept. 25 2
Lake Trout {Lake Supe-
rior — only under spe-

{minimum size limit—26 inches)
{minimum size iimit--30 inches)

June 1-Feb. 15
June 8-Feb. 16

cial permit.} ... Nov, 5-Oct. 10 3 3
Crappies Continuous 15 30
Sunfish or Bluegill Continuous 30 30

Rock Bass and White
Bass (either or both in

aggregate) Continuous 15 30
Catfish . ... Continuous 10 15
Bullheads Continuous 100 166
Carp, Dogfish, Redhorse,

Sheepshead, Suckers,

Eelpout, Garfish, Perch,

Whitefish, Tuii%bees‘ X
Goldeyes, Buffalofish  Continuous No limit No limit
Grayling No eopen season, except by special regulation.
Splake | No open season, except by ?}?g{:iaz regulation.

AGGREGATE DAILY AND POSSESSION LIMITS

No person shall take more than 15 game fish of all kinds
in any one day, or have in possession more than 20 game
fish of all kinds at any time. “Game fish,” for this purpose
includes all fish execept sunfish or juegills, crappies, rock
bass and white bass, rough fish, whitefish and minnows.

Game fish, except muskellunge, taken from inland waters
may be retained and counted regardless of size. No variety
of trout, except lake trout, may be taken on the opening day
of the season prior to 10 a.m., or on any other day of the
season between 10 p.m. and one hour hefore sunrise,

Fishing in designated trout waters is permitied dur:mz the
trout season only, and the taking of minnows therein is pro-
hibited at ail times.

SHIPMENT OF FISH

Each non-resident individual fishing license entitles the
“holder te ship to himself within or without the state by
common carrier, not more than 25 pounds of undressed fish
{with tails, fins, and skins intact——the removal of heads, entrails,
seales, and gills permitted}, bul not to sxceed the legal pos-
session Hmit or one fish of any size, or not more than 15
pounds of filleted or dressed fish, prepared and packed by a
licensed packer, under coupon limited to one for each non-
vesident fishing nse. issued upon payment of $1.00,

ach licensed non-resident is further authorized to carry
w;*h him in any ve 3 ar on a common carvier to any point
within or without th fimit of undressed fish which
he is autherized te peo in the s , except that bull-
heads may be tmns;mm in sither a dressed or undressed con-
dition; or in the alternative to such tr sortation of undressed
fish, fitleted or dressed fish may be so carried with him not
exveeding  the pos ion limit nor consisting of more than
15 pounds if the ntainer is prepared as hereinafter expressly
authorized.  Filleted or dressed fish may be transported only
if the container 5 name and license number of the
shipper, the name of the n preparing the container for
shipment and his pa i se number, and the number and
species of fish contained the"vm and the net weight thereof,

Each resident fishing license entitles the holder to ship.
during the open season and five days theveafter, one undressed
fish to points outside the state by permit | ed only by a
state game warden.

A resident may ship fish lawfully taken during the open
senson o any point within the stale, consigned to himself only.

FISH HOUSE OR DARK HOUSE

Unle cted by Commissioner’s regulation or erder,
northern or kerel, rough fish, catfish and whitefish
may be taken by spearing fro dark houses through the ice
only from December 1 to February 15, inclusive,

it Is Unlawful:

To have on the ice on any waters of this state a dark house,
fish house or shelter for the purp of taking fish without the
name and address of the owner and the house license. number
plainly and legibly painted on the exterior in letters and figures
at least three inches in height and the house license securely
fastened on the interior.

To use a dark house, fish house or shelter for taking fish
unless the door thereto is eonstructed so that it can be opened
from the outside at all times when in use.

To have a spear within the interior of a dark house, fish house
or shelter when angling therein.

To permit any such structure to remain on the ice after
Fehruary 28, except in the houndary waters between Minnesota
and Canada where such a structure may remain until March 31,
The contents of any such structure left on the ice shall be seized
by the game warden and held for a peried of 60 days, after
which articles which have not been claimed by the owner may
be retained for the use of the division or sold at the highest
price obtainable in the manner prescribed by the Commissioner.

Note: Non-residents may angle from licensed fish house, but
may not spear fish from dark house.

SPEARING ROUGH FISH

Except as authorized under special permit, rough fish and
turtles, except suckers, redhorse, and bullheads, may be taken
by spearing, archery, harpooning or dip netting from May 1
to February 15, inclusive, without limit, from sunrise 1o sunset,
in all inland waters, except where taking of fish In specified
waters otherwise is prohibited by law, regulation or order, and
may be bought and sold

Suckers, redhorse and bullheads may be taken by spearing,
archery, harpooning, or dip netting, from May 1 to June 10,
and December 1 to February 15, inclusive, in all inland waters,
except where taking of fish in specified waters is otherwise pro-
hibited by law, regulation or order, and may not be bought or
sold. Daily and possession limits on these xayecies shall be as
follows: suckers-—50, redhorse—50, and bullheads—100

The Director or his authorized agent may iss
the taking of turtles with the aid of artificial lights, Except as
otherwise spemﬁmﬁy authorized, no artificial lights shall be
used in the spearing of rough fish or turtlez and no rough fish
or turtles shall be speared in any de’smnated trout stream or
lake, fish preserve, or water where spawning or trapping opera-
tions are being .carried on, The Director may, by posting
streams or portions of streams, prohibit harpooning, archery,
and spearing, bul permit dip netting. Dp net hoop shall not
exceed 24 inches in diameter and net shall be held in hand, The
above types of fishing are limited to residents only,

“Rough fish” includes carp, buffalofish, perch, suckers, red-
horse, sheepshead, dogfish, eelpout, tullibees, garfish, goldeves,
bultheads and turtles,

Mo rough fish taken from any waters shall be returned and no
rough fish shall be left on the banks of any lake or stream.

MINNOWS AND FROGS

No person shall transport more than 12 dozen minnows di-
rectly from the waters from which they were taken in any
container containing less than 60 gallons of water.

No person shall keep more than 12 dozen minnows in any
container unless it is eguipped with aerating equipment, or
is provided with a continuous flow of water, which maintains
sufficient dissolved oxygen in the water at all times 1o keep the
minnows in good condition.

No person shall take minnows from designated trout waters.

Minnows may not be taken or transported for purposes other
than bait. Carp minnows may not be transported or used for
bait purposes.

Do not take any more minnows than will be used.

Frogs. Season closed from April 1 to May 15, inclusive.

Frogs may be taken with the use of artificial lights if a per-
mit is issued by a zame warden.

Fin not spechied but with
blach blotch of bose

Fin usvally spesklad
Mo black biotch ot buse

SALGER

WALLEYED PIKE AND SAUGER

The walleved pike and sauger ({sand pike) are both pike-
perches and are quite similar., The walleyed pike has 4 con-

spicuous white band along the lower edge of the tail fin; the
sauger does not. The dorsal fin {first fin on the back) of the
sauger is usually spotted; that of the walleye has a single black
blotch at its base. Saugers are usually smaller and more slender
than walleyed pike and may have mottled sides. Usually saugers
do not grow to be heavier than 3 pounds, while walleved pike
as large 23 18 pounds have been taken.

SPECIAL TROUT SEASON

Those portions of the following sireams from Lake Superior
io the nearest natural barrier are open to taking of brook,
brown, and rainbow trout from Marceh 30 to November 30, in-
clusive.

Cook County: Cascade, Cross, Devil's Track, Durfee, Temper-
ance, Brule {Arrowhead), Two Island, and Poplar
Rivers and Kadunce, Spruce, and Rosebush Creeks,

Lake County: Silver Creek and Baptism, Beaver, Gooseberry,
Split Rock, Caribou, Stewart, and Knife Rivers,
except that those areas of XKnife River posted
with “‘no fishing” notices are open only from
June 1 to August 31,

3t. Louis County: French, Lester, Sucker, and Talmadge Rivers,

A single hook only may be used in angling in all designated trout
streams tributary to Lake Superior in St. Louis, Lake, and Cook
Counties.

NORTHERN PIKE — Chesks are entirely covered by scales.
Pores on the lower surface of jaw, 5 or fewer on each side. Tt
has light spots on a dark background. Largest taken in Minne-
sota--45 pounds 12 ounces,

MUSKELLUNGE-—The muskellunge has no scales on the lower
part of the cheek, Generally it has dark spots or vertical bars on a
light background. Pores on the lower surface of jaw, usually more
than 6 on each side. Largest taken in Minnesota-568 Ibs. ¥ ozs.



LICENSE FEES
Licenses obtainable from any county auditor or his agents.

Resident Licenses:
Individual Angling . . $2.256
Combination Angling (hushand and wife) .. 2.78
Dark House Bpearing (additional to angling license) .. 1.00
¥Fish House or Dark House (each used must be licensed) 1,00

Whitefish Netting {additional to angling license) per
180-ft. net {2 neis permitted) . R 1.68

Non-Resident Licenses:

Individua! Angling = . . B o . . B.26
Combination Angling {husband and wife} ... ..., B.2B
Fish Shipping Coupon {one only) B . . 160

NOTE: Non-residents may angle from licensed fish housses.

All residents in the military or nsval forces of the United
States, or in any reserve or component of the military or naval
forces now or hereafter organized, who are stationed outside of
the State of Minnescta and are within the state upon regularly
granted leave or furlough and having leave or furlough papers
on their persons, may fish during leave or furlough in accordance
with law without first procuring licenses.

Mon-residents in the military or naval forces of the United
States, or in any reserve or component of the military or naval
service now or hereafter organized, who have been officially
transferred to and are stationed in this state, may obtain and
use resident fishing licenses,

HMNon-residents under the age of 16 may fish by angling without
procuring a license if their parents or guardians have obtained
4 non-resident fishing license. Fish so taken shall be included
in the daily and possession limits of the parents or the legal
guardians.,

No persons 18 vears of age or older shall spear fish from 2
dark house unless they have a license therefor in addition to an
angling license,

A license to take fish shall be issued to any citizen of Minne-
sota receiving Old Age Assistance or who is blind, without
charge. These licenses may be obtained from the county auditor
of the county in which the citizen is a resident.

Non-resident fulltime students at a public or private educs-
tional institution who reside in Minnesota during the full term
of the school year may purchase resident fishing licenses upon
proof of their status as students,



DID YOU KNOW:

That there are about 8,000,000 acres of fishing waters
in Minnesota.
That there are over 500 trout streams in Minnesota.

That the Section of Fisheries has the responsibility
of carrying out a statewide fish management
program, in accordance with law, Department
policies, and available funds.

That the objective is to provide a maximum, sustained
yield of fish from the waters of the state and the
maximum number of satisfactory sport fishing
hours.

That fish management activities include habitat im-
provement; acquisition, development, and man-
agement of natural spawning areas; operation
of hatcheries and rearing ponds for the propa-
gation and distribution of fish; rescue of fish
from lakes where they are subject to winterkill;
rough fish control; lake reclamation through the
use of fish toxicants; administration of licensed
commercial fishing; formulation of regulations
governing the harvest of fish; and acguisition of
public accesses to lakes.

That water levels are controlled in approximately
100 northern pike spawning areas each spring
to promote good spawning and réaring.

That several hundred fish habitat improvement
et +s such as dams, carp-control barriers,
spawning areas, channels, jetties, and dikes are
maintained.

That sport fishermen spend approximately $100,000,-
000 annually in Minnesota for fishing.

That no two lakes are alike. Lakes differ in size,
shape, water chemistry, and temperature and
successful fish management must take these dif-
ferences into acc

Thot there are 20 small lakes that have been re-
claimed by the use of chemicals and ave being
managed for brook, brown, or rainbow trout.

That approximately 7,000,000 walleyed pike finger-
lings are reared each year.

That in some e winters over 300,000 pounds
of northern pike are rescued from lakes where
they sre subject to winterkill

That approximately 1,250,000 trout are stocked
annually.

That over 100 traps are operated each spring to re-

move carp while they are on their spawning runs.

That an a3 ge of nearly 10,000,000 pounds of
rough fish are removed annu

That approximately 25.000,000 pounds of fish are
taken annually by sport fishing.




WISCONSIN-MINNESOTA BOUNDARY WATERS

MISSISSIPPI RIVER, LAKE PEPIN, LAKE S8T. CROIY,
ST. CROIX RIVER, ST. LOUIS RIVER, INCLUDING
ST. LOUIS BAY AND SUPERIOR BAY

. Daily and
Kind of Fish Open Season Possession Limits
Large and Small Mouthed
Black Bass 5
Mississippi iver, Lake
Pepin, and that portion
of 8t. Croix River, from
its junction with Missis-
sippi River to interstate
bridge in Stillwater May 4-Mar. 1
St. Louis River and that
portion of 8t. Croix
River north of inter-
state bridge in  Still-
water June 8-Mar, 1
Walleyed Pike and Saugers
{either or both in aggre-
gate) May 4-Mar, 1 ]
Great Northern FPike
{Pickerel) May 4-Mar. 1 5
Catfish May 4-Har, 1
All waters above Taylors Falls Dam 5
All waters below Tayiors Falls Dam 25
Paddlefish  (Spoonbill  Cat-
fish Mo open Season
Hackleback {Sand or Shovel-
nosed) Sturgeon, All
waters above the Tavlers
Falis Dam Mo open season
All waters below the Tay-
lors Falls Dam Continuous 15
Bock Bturgeon May 4-Oct. 31 1
{min. size—30 inches}
Perch Continuous MNo limits
White Bass and Yellow Bass
{Striped), Crappies {Cal-
ico, Silver and Strawberry
Bass), Hoek Bass, Sunfish 5
and Blusgills Continuo of each species
Bullheads Continuous No limits
Tough Fish and Eels Contipuous Mo limits

Muskellunge and all other species not specified shall be covered
by inland regulations of the state in which taken,
Tip-ups may be used in hook-and-line fishing.

¥ ents of Wisconsin and Minnesota holding resident fishing
lice from the ates, and idents of other states

by either onsin or Minnesota,

¢ waters deseribed above.

g anghing |
may fish in any of th

nsin angling from fish houses

respective states relating to
ho . nts of other
ng thereto of thel state

Residents of Minnesota and Wis
shall comply with the law of the
licensing and identification of fsh
states shall comply
in which they held nor




BOUNDARY

IT IS UNLAWFUL ON BOUNDARY WATERS
BETWEEN WISCONSIN AND MINNESOTA—

To use more than two lines with one hook attached to each or
more than two poles with one line attached to each, except that
fly fishermen may use two flies on each line.

To spear game fish at any time.

To have cssion on the water or immediate banks of the
water any spear during the closed son for spearing. {NOTE:
Rough fish may be taken by spearing or archery in the davtime
gnly, except from Ma o April 20, both dates inclusive.)

i fish house, or similar en-
closure on the ice on the M wm River or Lake Pepin or on
Lake St. Croix, 8t. Croix River, St, Louis River, St. Louis Bay
and Superior Bay after March 1st.

To have a bui

SOUTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA
BOUNDARY WATERS

LAKE TRAVERSE, MUD LAKE, BIG STONE LAKE
LAKE HENDRICKS, BOIS DE SIOUX RIVER FROM
LAKE TRAVERSE TO THE BOUNDARY BETWEEN

HORTH AND §

SOUTH DAKOTA

I)miy Possession

Kingd of Fish {Open Heszon Limit Limit
May 4-Teb. & %
Large and Small Mombm@

Black Bass 3 %
Crappies 50 BO
Sunfish and Bluegills 30 30
Rock Bass 20 20
Bullheads 106 160
Perch 50 50
Sturgeon Continuous 1 1

Carp, Buffalofish,
3 end, Suckers

ontinuous No Limits

shead, suckers,
ng or archery
to MNovember 30, The

redhorse, eelpout,
be taken by
P

spearing of gu

a dark house
¥ sion on OF near
or bow and arrow, ex-
ring and arch It is
: to remalin 1 f
s of a s
in angling more than
three hooks attached

wlding  resi dent

13 rkota

WATER FISHING REGULATIONS

provided that no persen shall fish in any portion of
said w unless he holds and carries with him an angling
license ued by the state from which he enters said waters
and te which he returns therefrom,

Residents of \’lmnewta and b{)dth Dakota angling from fish
houses shall comply with the of their respective states
relating to licensing and identification of fish hou Resi-
dents of other »s shall comply with the law relating thereto
of the state in which they hold non-resident licenses,

®

NORTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA
BOUNDARY WATERS
Bois de Sioux River and the Red River of the North
Regulations same as for Minnesota-South Dakota boundary
waters, except that spearing is prohibited, only one hook may
be uysed on each line in angling, and it s unlawful 1o have a
dip net in poss on in a shelter house on the ice. Bame license
reciproeity on Minnesota-South Dakota boundary wate shall
apply to Minnesota-North Dakota boundary waters, The law for
licensing and identification of fsh houses shall Mmiy to Minne-

WALETS ]

sota-North Dakota boundary waters as its does to Minnesota-
Somh Dakota boundary waters. @

MINNESOTA-IOWA BOUNDARY WATERS
LITTLE SPIRIT LAXKE (JACKSON COUNTY), IOWA
LAKE (JACKBON & NOBLES COUNTIES), IOWA
LAKE, OQOHAMANPEEDAN (TUTTLE), LAKE, AND

SWAG LAKE (MARTIN COUNTY)
Daily Poasession

Kind of Fish Open Season Lirit Limit
Walleyed Pike May 1i-Feb. 15 3 #
Morthern Pike or

Pickerel May 11-Feb. 15 3 3
Sunfish MNo closed season 15 30
White Bass Mo closed season 15 30
Catfish May 11-Peb, 15 16 18
Targe and Small Mouthed

Black Bass May Zi T T 1 3
Crappies No el SASON if 30
Perch .No clo seagon 15 20
Bull ded‘x Carp,
Sucks d-

horse, Sh?equt sad,

Buffalofish, Eelpout
{Burbot), Dogfish,
Garfish, Qmi back

Mo closed season No Limit No Limit

The use of set lines for the purpose of taking fish is prohibited
at all times. Use of spear and bow and arrow for carp, bufizlos
fish, dogfish, garfish, and guiliback permitied from May 1 to

Oet. 81 between sunrise and sunset

it is unlawful to use or operate more than two lines, or two
poles with one line attached to each pole, or use more thar one
bait to each line.
ssidents of Jfowa and Minnesota holding resident fizshing
lirenses from their respective states, and residents of other
stat holding = ing lic s issued by either Iowa or Min-
a, may fish in any of the Abew named waters.

Residents of Minnesota and Jowa angling from f:‘sh houses
shall comply with the law of their respeciive states relating to

ensing and identification o"’ fish ho Residents of other
sm shall comply with the law relating thereto of the state in
which they hold non-resident licenses.




MINNESOTA PORTIONS OF THE
MINNESOTA-CANADA BOUNDARY WATERS

Boundary Waters Consist of the Following:

Cook County:

North Fowl Lake, South Fow! Lake, Granite River, Gunflint
Lake, Little Gunflint Lake, Lily Lakes, Magnetic Lake, Mara-
boeuf Lake, Moose Lake, Mountain Lake, North Lake. Little
North Lake, Pigeon River, Pine Lake, Pine River, Rat Lake,
Rose Lake. Round Lake, Saganagas Lake, South Lake, Watab
Lake.

Koochiching and Lake of the Woods Counties,
Rainy River.

Koochiching and St. Louis Counties:
Rainy Lake (except Black Bay),

Lake County:

Basswood Lake (except Jackfish, Pipestone, Hoist and Back
Bays), Basswood River, Birch Lake, Carp Lake, Cypress Lake,
Knife Lake {except South Arm of Knife Lake), Little Hnife
Lake, Knife River, Melon Lake. Seed Lake, Sucker Lake,
Swamp Lake.

Lake and St. Louis Counties:
Crocked Lake.

Lake of the Woods and Roseau Counties:
Lake of the Woods

8t Leuis County:
Bottle Lake, Iron Lake, Lac La Croix Lake, Loon Lake, Loon
River, Numakan Lake, Sand Point Lake, Little Vermilion Lake.

Kind of Fish Open Season Daily & Possession
Walleyed Pike and Saugers 14, in aggregste,
{Band Pike) May 18-April 14 of which not more
than £, in aggre-
{Saugers with tails, fins and skins gate, may be wall-
not intact are dressed.) eyed pike and
dressed saugers.
Sturgeon June 29-May 81 1
Lake Trout Dec, 29, 1962-8ept, 25 3
Trout {except Lake
Trout} . May 4-Sept. 15 10
Great Northern Pike
or Pickerel | . May 18-April 14 3
HMuskellunge June 22-Oct. 1 1

minimum size
fimit--30 inches
Large & Small Mouthed

Black Bass L. May 18-Dec. 15 8 )
All other apecies MNo zlosed season Hame as inland
limits,

Aggregate Daily and Possession Limits are the same as on
inland waters.
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1962 SYNOPSIS OF FISHING LAWS

Angling license must be on your person when fish-
ing. The use of any receipt in lieu of a license is pro-
hibited by law.

It Is Unlawful:

For a resident 16 years of age or over to fish with-
out a license.

For a non-resident 16 years of age or over, or non-
resident under 16 years if not accompanied by parent
or legal guardian who has a license, to fish without
a license.

To fish in any waters, except boundary waters be-
tween the State of Minnesota and the States of Wis-
consin, lowa, South Dakota, and North Dakota, by
angling with more than one line and one hook, except
that three artificial flies may be used in angling for
large and small mouthed black bass, trout, crappies,
sunfish or rock bass, and except that a single artifi-
cial bait or trolling spoon may contain more than one
hook.

To fish within fifty feet of any fishway.

To deposit any refuse, poisonous substances, or
chemicals injurious to fish life in any waters of this
state.

To buy or sell game fish, except fish taken under
commercial license or private hatchery license.

To take rock or lake sturgeon, shovelnose or
hackleback sturgeon, and paddlefish (spoonbill cat-
fish) from inland waters, excepting the tributaries
of the St. Croix River, to which the regulations for
the St. Croix River apply, except that only one line
may be used.

To take fish in any manner other than by angling,
except as archery, spearing or netting of certain
species is expressly permitted.

To take fish by means of explosives, drugs, poi-
sons, lime, medicated bait, fish berries, or other
deleterious substances, or by nets, traps, tip-ups,
trot lines, set lines, wires, springs, ropes or
cables, except as expressly authorized.

To have in possession fish nets (except minnow
nets, not more than 25 feet in length and 4 feet in
depth, landing nets, dip nets, or nets held in stock for
sale by dealers), unless there is attached a metal tag
bearing the name and address of the owner when net
is not in use or name and address of operator when
in use. Minimum size of tags, two and one-half
inches by five-eighths inch to be provided by owner
or operator of nets.

To drive motor boats through posted spawning
beds or fish preserves.



“MINNESOTA—AMERICA’S BEST CLIMATE FOR HEALTH AND OPPORTUNITY”

1962 FISHING SEASONS AND LIMITS
INLAND WATERS

X Limits
Kind of Fish Open Seasoni Daily Possession
Great Northern Pike

or Pickerel ... ... .. May 12-Feb, 15 3 3

Walleyed Pike, Saugers
(Sand Pike) (either or
both in aggregate) ... May 12-Feb. 15 6 6

Muskellunge v...... . May 12-Feb. 15 1 1
Little Shoepack Lake,
and Shoepack Lake,
St. Louis County
All other waters

Large & Small Mouthed
Black Bass (either or
both in aggregate). All
waters east and north 6 6
of U.S. Highway 53
from Duluth to Inter-
national Falls

(minimum size limit—26 inches)
(minimum size limit—30 inches)

May 26-Feb. 15

All other waters ... June 9-Feb. 15
Trout (except Lake

Trout) ... ... ... ..... April 28-Sept. 15 10 10
Lake Trout ............ Deec. 30, 1961-Sept. 25 3
Trout (Lake Trout —

Lake Superior only) .. Nov. 5-Oct, 10 3 3
Crappies X .........Continuous 15 30
Sunfish or Bluegill ... Continuous 30 30

Rock Bass and White
Bass (either or both in

aggregate) .. ... Continuous 15 30
Catfish .. ... ... ........Continuous 10 15
Bullheads .............. Continuous 100 100
Carp, Dogfish, Redhorse,

Sheepshead, Suckers,

Eelpout, Garfish, Perch,

Whitefish, Tullibees,

Goldeyes, Buffalofish Continuous No limit No limit
Grayling ... ..... No open season, except by special regulation.
Splake. . ... ... ... No open season, except by special regulation.

AGGREGATE DAILY AND POSSESSION LIMITS

No person shall take more than 15 game fish of all kinds
in any one day, or have in possession more than 20 game
fish of all kinds at any time. “Game fish,” for this purpose
includes all fish except sunfish or bluegills, crappies, rock
bass and white bass, rough fish, whitefish and minnows.

Game fish, except muskellunge, taken from inland waters
may be retained and counted regardless of size. No variety
of trout, except lake trout, may be taken on the opening day
of the season prior to 10 a.m., or on any other day of the
season between 10 p.m. and one hour before sunrise.

Fishing in designated trout waters is permitted during the
trout season only, and the taking of minnows therein is pro-
hibited at all times.

SHIPMENT OF FISH

Each non-resident individual fishing license entitles the
helder to ship to himself within or without the state by
common carrier, not more than 25 pounds of undréssed fish
(with tails, fins, and skins intact-—the removal of heads, entrails,
scales, and gills permitted), but not to exceed the legal pos-
session limit or one fish of any size, or not more than 15
pounds of filleted or dressed fish, prepared and packed by a
licensed packer, under coupon limited tc one for each non-
vesident fishing license, issued upon payment of $1.00.

Each licensed non-resident is further authorized to carry
with him in any vehicle or on a common carrier to any point
within or without the state the limit of undressed fish which
he is authorized to possess within the state, except that bull-
heads may be transported in either a dressed or undressed con-
dition; or in the alternative to such transportation of undressed
fish, filleted or dressed fish may be so carried with him not
exceeding the possession limit nor consisting of more than
15 pounds if the container is prepared as hereinafter expressly
authorized. TFilleted or dressed fish may be transported only
if the container bears the name and license number of the
shipper, the name of the person preparing the container for
shipment and his packer’s license number, and the number and
species of fish contained therein and the net weight thereof.

Each resident fishing license entitles the holder to ship,
during the open season and five days thervealter, one undressed
fish to points outside the state by permit issued only by a
state game warden.

A resident may ship fish lawfully taken during the open
season to any point within the state, consigned to himself only.

FISH HOUSE OR DARK HOUSE

Unless restricted by Commissioner’s regulation or. order,
northern pike or pickerel, rough fish, catfish and whitefish
may be taken by spearing from dark houses through the ice
only from December 1 to February 15, inclusive.

It Is Unlawful:

To have on the ice on any waters of this state a dark house,
fish house or shelter for the purpose of taking fish without the
name and address of the owner and the house license number
plainly and legibly painted on the exterior in letters and figures
at least three inches in height and the house license securely
fastened on the interior.

To use a dark house, fish house or shelter for taking fish
unless the door thereto Is constructed so that it can be opened
from the outside at all times when in use.

To have a spear within the interior of a dark house, fish house
or shelter when angling therein.

To permit any such structure to remain on the ice after
February 28, except in the boundary waters between Minnesota
and Canada where such a structure may remain until March 31.
The contents of any such structure left on the ice shall be seized
by the game warden and held for a period of 60 days, after
which articles which have not been claimed by the owner may
be retained for the use of the division or sold at the highest
price obtainable in the manner prescribed by the Commissioner.

Note: Non-residents may angle from licensed fish house,’ but
may not spear fish from dark house.

SPEARING ROUGH FISH

Except as authorized under special permit, rough fish and
turtles, except suckers, redhorse, and bullheads, may be taken
by spearing, archery, harpooning or dip netting from May 1
to February 15, inclusive, without limit, from sunrise to sun_set,
in all inland waters, except where taking of_ fish in specified
waters otherwise is prohibited by law, regulation or order, and
may be bought and sold. )

Suckers, redhorse and bullheads may be taken by spearing,
archery, harpooning, or dip netting, from May 1 to June 10,
and December 1 to February 15, inclusive, in all inland ‘waters,
except where taking of fish in specified waters is otherwise pro-
hibited by law, regulation or order, and may not be bought or
sold. Not more than 50 of each such species so taken may be
in possession at any one time.

No artificial lights shall be used in taking rough fish or turtles
by spearing, archery, harpooning, or dip netting and no rough
fish or turtles shall be taken by spearing, archery, harpooning, or
dip netting in any designated trout stream, fish preserve, or
waters where spawning or trapping operations are being carried
on. The Director may, by posting streams or portions of
streams, prohibit harpooning, archery, and spearing, but permit
dip netting. Turtles and frogs may be taken with the use of
artificial lights if a permit is issued by a game warden. Dip net
hoop shall not exceed 24 inches in diameter and net shall be held
in hand. The above types of fishing are limited to residents only.

“Rough fish” includes carp, buffalofish, perch, suckers, red-
horse, sheepshead, dogfish, eelpout, tullibees, garfish, goldeyes,
bullheads and turtles.

No rough fish taken from any waters shall be returned thereto
and no rough fish shall be left on the banks of any lake or

stream.
MINNOWS AND FROGS

No person shall transport more than 12 dozen minnows di-
rectly from the waters from which they were taken in any
container containing less than 60 gallons of wqter. .

No person shall keep more than 12 dozen minnows in any
container unless it is equipped with aerating equipment, or
is provided with a continuous flow of water, which maintains
sufficient dissolved oxygen in the water at all times to keep the
minnows in good condition.

No person shall take minnows from designated trout waters.

Minnows may not be taken or transported for purposes other
than bait. Carp minnows may not be transported or used for
bait purposes.

Do not take any more minnows than will be used.

Frogs. Season closed from April 1 to May 15, inclusive.

Fin not speckled but with
black blotch at bose
&

Fin usually speckiad
No block blotch of bose

WALLEYED PIKE AND SAUGER
The walleyed pike and sauger (sand pike) are both pike-
perches and are quite similar. The walleyed pike has a con-
spicuous white band along the lower edge of the tail fin; the

sauger does not. The dorsal fin (first fin on the back) of the
sauger is usually spotted; that of the walleye has a single black
blotch at its base. Saugers are usually smaller and more slender
than walleyed pike and may have mottled sides. Usually saugers
do not grow to be heavier than 38 pounds, while walleyed pike
as large as 18 pounds have been taken.

SPECIAL TROUT SEASON

Those portions of the following streams from Lake Superior
to the nearest natural barrier are open to taking of brook,
blrovyn, and rainbow trout from March 81 to November 30, in-
clusive.

Cook County: Cascade, Cross, Devil’s Track, Durfee, Temper-
ance, Brule (Arrowhead), Two Island, and Poplar
Rivers and Kadunce, Spruce, and Rosebush Creeks.

Lake County: Silver Creek and Baptism, Beaver, Gooseberry,
Split Rock, Caribou, Stewart, and Knife Rivers,
except that those areas of Knife River posted
with ‘““no fishing”’ notices are open only from
June 1 to August 31. A single hook only may be
used in angling in that portion of the Knife River
from Lake Superior to the nearest natural barrier
from the Saturday nearest April 1 to May 31 and
from September 16 to November 380.

St. Louis County: French, Lester, Sucker, and Talmadge Rivers.

NORTHERN PIKE — Cheeks are entirely covered by scales.
Pores on the lower surface of jaw, 5 or fewer on each side. It
has light spots on a dark background. Largest taken in Minne-
sota——45 pounds 12 ounces.

MUSKELLUNGE—The muskellunge has no scales on the lower
part of the cheek. Generally it has dark spots or vertical bars on a
light background. Pores on the lower surface of jaw, usually more
than 5 on each side. Largest taken in Minnesota—&6 lbs. 8 ozs.



LICENSE FEES
Licenses obtainable from any county auditor or his agents.

Resident Licenses:
Individual Angling ... ... ... ........ . $2.26
Combination Angling (husband and wife) ............ 2.76
Dark House Spearing (additional to angling license) .. 1.00
Fish House or Dark House (each used must be licensed) 1.00

Whitefish Netting (additional to angling license) per
100-ft. net (2 nets permitted) ........ ... ... .. ... 1.00

Non-Resident Licenses:

Individual Angling ... .. ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 5.26
Combination Angling (husband and wife) ....... ... .. 8.25
Fish Shipping Coupon (one only) .................... 1.00

NOTE: Non-residents may angle from licensed fish houses.

All residents in the military or naval forces of the United
States, or in any reserve or component of the military or naval
forces now or hereafter organized, who are stationed outside of
the State of Minnesota and are within the state upon regularly
granted leave or furlough and having leave or furlough papers
on their persons, may fish during leave or furlough in accordance
with law without first procuring licenses.

Non-residents in the military or naval forces of the United
States, or in any reserve or component of the military or naval
service now or hereafter organized, who have been officially
transferred to and are stationed in this state, may obtain and
use resident fishing licenses.

Non-residents under the age of 16 may fish by angling without
procuring a license if their parents or guardians have obtained
a non-resident fishing license. Fish so taken shall be included
in the daily and possession limits of the parents or the legal
guardians.

No persons 16 years of age or older shall spear fish from a
dark house unless they have a license therefor in addition to an
angling license.

A license to take fish shall be issued to any citizen of Minne-
sota receiving Old Age Assistance or who is blind, without
charge. These licenses may be obtained from the county auditor
of the county in which the citizen is a resident.

Non-resident fulltime students at a public or private educa-
tional institution who reside in Minnesota during the full term
of the school year may purchase resident fishing licenses upon
proof of their status as students.



DID YOU KNOW:

That there are about 3,000,000 acres of fishing waters
in Minnesota.

That there are over 500 trout streams in Minnesota.

That the Section of Fisheries has the responsibility
of carrying out a statewide fish management
program, in accordance with law, Department
policies, and available funds.

That the objective is to provide a maximum, sustained
yield of fish from the waters of the state and the
maximum number of satisfactory sport fishing
hours.

That fish management activities include habitat im-
provement; acquisition, development, and man-
agement of natural spawning areas; operation
of hatcheries and rearing ponds for the propa-
gation and distribution of fish; rescue of fish
from lakes where they are subject to winterkill;
rough fish control; lake reclamation through the
use of fish toxicants; administration of licensed
commercial fishing; formulation of regulations
governing the harvest of fish; and acquisition of
public accesses to lakes.

That sport fishermen spend approximately $100,000,-
000 annually in Minnesota for fishing.

That no two lakes are alike. Lakes differ in size,
shape, water chemistry, and temperature and
successful fish management must take these dif-
ferences into account.

That on the average, 32 fish are taken each year
from an acre of Minnesota fishing water. This
is usually about 30 percent of the fish of catch-
able-size that are present.

That Minnesota fishermen enjoy, on the average, 11
fishing trips a year.

That there are 75 small lakes that have been re-
claimed by the use of chemicals and are being
managed for brook, brown, or rainbow trout.

That approximately 7,000,000 walleyed pike finger-
lings are reared each year.

That in some severe winters nearly 100,000 pounds
of northern pike are rescued from lakes where
they are subject to winterkill.

That approximately 1,250,000 trout are stocked
annually.

That an average of nearly 10,000,000 pounds of
rough fish are removed annually.

That approximately 25,000,000 pounds of fish are
taken annually by sport fishing.



WISCONSIN-MINNESOTA BOUNDARY WATERS

MISSISSIPPI RIVER, LAKE PEPIN, LAKE ST. CROIX,
ST. CROIX RIVER, ST. LOUIS RIVER, INCLUDING
ST. LOUIS BAY AND SUPERIOR BAY

Daily and
Kind of Fish Open Season Possession Limits

Large and Small Mouthed
Black Bass ..... 5

Mississippi Rlver Lake
Pepin, and that portion
of St. Croix River, from
its junction with Missis-
sippi River to interstate
bridge in Stillwater ... April 28-Mar 1
St. Louis River and that
portion of St. Croix
River north of inter-
state brldge in  Still- .
water ... ... June 9-Mar. 1
Walleyed kae and Saugers
(either or both in aggre-

gate) ... ......... .. April 28-Mar. 1 6
Great Northern Pike
(Pickerel) ...............April 28-Mar. 1 5
Catfish . ................... April 28-Mar. 1
All waters above Taylors Falls Dam 5
All waters below Taylors Falls Dam 25

Paddlefish (Speonbill Cat-
fish) ...................No open season
Hackleback (Sand or Shovel-
nosed) Sturgeon. All
waters above the Taylors

Falls Dam ...... ... .No open season

All waters below the Tay-

lors Falls Dam ..........Continuous 10
Rock Sturgeon ... ... April 28-Oct. 31

{min. size—30 mches)
Perch ........ .. ... ... Continuous No limits

‘White Bass and Yellow Bass
{Striped), Crappies (Cal-
ico, Silver and Strawberry

Bass), Rock Bass, Sunfish 25

and Bluegills .. ... ... .. .. Continuous of each species
Bullheads ...... .. . ... Continuous No limits
Rough Fish and Ee]s ......Continuous No limits

Muskellunge and all other species not specified shall be covered
by inland regulations of the state in which taken,

Tip-ups may be used in hook-and-line fishing.

Residents of Wisconsin and Minnesota holding resident fishing
licenses from their respective states, and residents of other states
holding angling licenses issued by either Wisconsin or Minnesota,
may fish in any of the waters described above.

Residents of Minnesota and Wisconsin angling from fish houses
shall comply with the law of their respective states relating to
licensing and identification of fish houses. Residents of other
states shall comply with the law relating thereto of the state
in which they hold non-resident licenses.



BOUNDARY WATER FISHING REGULATIONS

IT IS UNLAWFUL ON BOUNDARY WATERS
BETWEEN WISCONSIN AND MINNESOTA—

To use more than two lines with one hook attached to each or
more than two poles with one line attached to each, except that
fly fishermen may use two flies on each line.

To spear game fish at any time.

To have in possession on the water or immediate banks of the
water any spear during the closed season for spearing. (NOTE:
Rough fish may be taken by spearing or archery in the daytime
only, except from March 2 to April 20, both dates inclusive.)

To have a building, vehicle, tent, fish house, or similar en-
closure on the ice on the Mississippi River or Lake Pepin or on
Lake St. Croix, St. Croix River, St. Louis River, St. Louis Bay
and Superior Bay after March 1st.

SOUTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA
BOUNDARY WATERS

LAKE TRAVERSE, MUD LAKE, BIG STONE LAKE

LAKE HENDRICKS, BOIS DE SIOUX RIVER FROM

LAKE TRAVERSE TO THE BOUNDARY BETWEEN
NORTH AND SOUTH DAKOTA

Daily Possession

Kind of Fish Open Season Limit Limit
Walleyed Pike

and Saugers ..... April 28-Feb. 28 6 6
Great Northern Pike

or Pickerel ...... April 28-Feb. 28 3 3
Large and Small Mouthed

Black Bass ...... April 28-Feb. 28 6 6
Crappies ................ Continuous 50 50
Sunfish and Bluegills ... Continuous 30 30
Rock Bass ............... Continuous 20 20
White Bass (striped) ..... Continuous - 20 20
Bullheads ............Continuous 100 100
Perch .............. ... .Continuous 50 50
Catfish .................. Continuous 8 8
Sturgeon .. .............. Continuous 1 1
Carp, Buffalofish,
Sheepshead, Suckers,
Redhorse, Dogfish, .
Eelpout, and Garfish ... ..Continuous No Limits

Carp, buffalofish, redhorse, eelpout, sheepshead, suckers,
dogfish, and garfish may be taken by spearing or archery
between sunrise and sunset. The spearing of game fish is
prohibited.

‘The taking of fish by spearing from or within a dark house
is prohibited. It is unlawful to have in possession in a shelter
house on the ice any spear, spring gaff, bow and arrow, or
dip net at any time. It is unlawful to permit any shelter
house to remain on ice after Marech 5. The taking of fish by
means of a set line is prohibited. No person shall use or
operate in angling more than two lines nor any line with
more than three hooks attached thereto.

Residents of South Dakota and Minnesota helding resident
fishing licenses from their respective states, and residents of
other states holding angling licenses issued by either South
Dakota or Minnesota, may fish in any of the above-named

waters; provided that no person shall fish in any portion of
said waters unless he holds and carries with him an angling
license issued by the state from which he enters said waters
and to which he returns therefrom.

Residents of Minnesota and South Dakota angling from fish
houses shall comply with the law of their respective states
relating to licensing and identification of fish houses. Resi-
dents of other states shall comply with the law relating thereto
of the state in which they hold non-resident licenses.

NORTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA
BOUNDARY WATERS
Bois de Sioux River and the Red River of the North

Regulations same as for Minnesota-South Dakota boundary
waters, except that spearing is prohibited and only one hook
may be used on each line in angling., Same license reciprocity on
Minnesota-South Dakota boundary waters shall apply to Min-
nesota-North Dakota boundary waters. The law for licensing
and identification of fish houses shall apply to Minnesota-North
Dakota boundary waters as it does to Minnesota-South Dakota
boundary waters.

L]

MINNESOTA-IOWA BOUNDARY WATERS

LITTLE SPIRIT LAKE (JACKSON COUNTY), IOWA

LAKE (JACKSON & NOBLES COUNTIES), IOWA

LAKE, OKAMANPEEDAN (TUTTLE) LAKE, AND
SWAG LAKE (MARTIN COUNTY)

Daily Pogsession

Kind of Fish Open Season  Limit Limit
Walleyed Pike ...... .. May 12-Feb. 15 6 [
Northern Pike or

Pickerel ............ May 12-Feb. 15 3 3
Sunfish ..............No closed season 15 30
White Bass .......... No closed season 15 30
Catfish .. ... .. .......May 12-Feb. 15 16 16
Large and Small Mouthed

Black Bass ......... May 26-Nov, 30 6 5
Crappies ............ No closed season 156 30
Perch ... ... ... No closed season 15 30
Bullheads, Carp,
Suckers, Red-

horse, Sheepshead,
Buffalofish, Eelpout
(Burbot), Dogfish,
Garfish, Quillback . .No closed season No Limit No Limit

The use of set lines for the purpose of taking fish is prohibited
at all times. Use of spear and bow and arrow for carp, buffalo-
fish, dogfish, garfish, and quillback permitted from May 1 to
Oct. 31 between sunrise and sunset.

It is unlawful to use or operate more than two lines, or two
poles with one line attached to each pole, or use more than one
bait to each line.

Residents of Iowa and Minnesota holding resident fishing
licenses from their respective states, and residents of other
states holding angling licenses issued by either Iowa or Min-
nesota, may fish in any of the above-named waters.

Residents of Minnesota and Iowa angling from fish houses
shall comply with the law of their respective states relating to
licensing and identification of fish houses. Residents of other
states shall comply with the law relating thereto of the state in
which they hold non-resident licenses.
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MINNESOTA-CANADA BOUNDARY WATERS

Boundary Waters Consist of the Following:

Cook County:

North Fowl Lake, South Fowl Lake, Granite River, Gunflint
Lake, Little Gunflint Lake, Lily Lakes, Magnetic Lake, Mara-
boeuf Lake, Moose Lake, Mountain Lake, North Lake, Little
North I.ake, Pigeon River, Pine Lake, Pine River,