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ABOUT “THE DNR BOOK”

One goal of the DNR License Bureau is to enable deputy
registrar offices to accommodate each customer as completely
as possible in the registration of watercraft, snowmobiles, and
all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), and in the titling of watercraft. This
handbook is designed to provide the staff of deputy registrar
offices with the information needed to do so.

If you have questions concerning any of the information in this
handbook, please call the DNR License Bureau. Use our toll-free
number: 1-800-652-9747, give account number 0501, and ask for
extension 2316.

GRAMMATICAL CONVENTIONS USED IN
“THE DNR BOOK”

In an attempt to make this handbook a little more readable than
its predecessor, we have incorporated the following conventions
into Section 1, the “registration” section:

The terms “they,” “them” and “their” refer to customers, the
person you are helping.

The term “you” refers to you, the staff of the offices of the
Deputy Registrars of Motor Vehicles.

The terms “we” and “us” refer to us, the staff of the DNR License
Bureau.

Because Section 2 of this handbook, the “titling” section, is
intended to be used by Deputy Registrars AND by other
audiences, the references in it are more specific, and do not
employ the conventions listed above.
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LICENSING INFORMATION

A. WATERCRAFT

All motorized and non-motorized watercraft must be
licensed by the Department of Natural Resources. Exceptions
to this law are as follows:

1.

2.

7.

Watercraft currently registered in another state not kept
in Minnesota for more than 90 consecutive days.

Watercraft from a country other than the U.S. and not
kept in Minnesota for more than 90 consecutive days.

Watercraft owned by the U.S. government, except those
used for recreational purposes.

‘Watercraft documented with the U.S. Coast Guard.

A ship’s lifeboat.

Duckboats during the duck hunting season, rice boats
during the harvest season, and seaplanes.

Non-motorized watercraft 9 feet in length or less.

B. SNOWMOBILES

All snowmobiles must be licensed by the Department of
Natural Resources. Exceptions to this law are as follows:

1.

2.

Snowmobiles owned and used by the U.S., another state,
or a political subdivision thereof.

Snowmobiles registered in a country other than the U.S.
temporarily used within this state.

. Snowmobiles covered by a valid license of another state

and which have not been within this state for more than
30 consecutive days.

Snowmobiles used exclusively in organized track racing
events. (The Commissioner of Natural Resources may
issue special permits to out-of-state snowmobiles from a
state or country where registration is not required to
operate in Minnesota for limited periods of time not to
exceed 30 days in connection with organized group
outings, trailrides, races, rallies, and other promotional
events.)

1-1




C. ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES

An all-terrain vehicle (ATV) is a motorized flotation-tired
vehicle of not less than three low-pressure tires, but not
more than six tires, that is limited in engine displacement of
less than 800 cubic centimeters and total dry weight less
than 600 pounds. No person may operate an ATV anywhere
in the state unless it has been first registered with the
Department of Natural Resources. Exceptions to this law are
as follows:

1. Vehicles owned and used by the U.S., another state, or
political subdivision.,

2. Vehicles covered by a valid license of another state or
country that have not been within this state for more
than 30 consecutive days.

3. Vehicles used exclusively in organized track racing
events.

ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLE TITLES

Customers who have secured an ATV title from the
Department of Public Safety, Motor Vehicles Division
should keep the title for their records. This title is NOT to be
collected when an ATV owner applies for a DNR
registration, or applies for a transfer of that registration. No
proof of ownership is required to register an all-terrain
vehicle.

D. HULL IDENTIFICATION AND SERIAL NUMBERS

1. Watercraft: Hull ID Numbers (HIN) on watercraft are
requested, not required, for a DNR registration. Many
older or homemade watercraft have no HIN. These boats
may be registered without it. Always request a HIN
when registering a new watercraft. (HINs can be issued
by the Department of Natural Resources. Call us for help
with this.)

NOTE: HIN requirements for titling watercraft differ from
the requirements for registering watercraft. Please
refer to the HIN chapter in Section 2 of this
handbook for more information.
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2.

3.

Snowmobiles: You must record the Body Serial
Number on all snowmobile applications. If none exists,
the customer must choose any six (6) digit number.
Social Security numbers may not be used. This six digit
number must be permanently affixed to the body of the
snowmobile.

All Terrain Vehicles: You must record the Frame
Serial Number on every all-terrain vehicle application. If
none exists, the customer must choose any six (6) digit
number. Social Security numbers may not be used. This
six digit number must be permanently affixed to the
frame of the all-terrain vehicle.

E. LICENSE FEES (valid for 3 calendar vears)

1.

Watercrafit

$00.00 Tax exempt watercraft owned by the state of

Minnesota and operated by its agents and
political subdivisions (tax exempt application
can only be made to the DNR License
Bureau.)

$3.00 Watercraft owned by non-profit organizations
and used substantially to teach water safety,
e.g., church camps, TVI schools

$6.00 Rental or lease watercraft up to and including
19 feet (vental or lease waiercraft over 19 feet,
same fee as pleasure watercraft)

§7.00 Canoes, kayaks, sailboats, sailboards, rowing
shells up to and including 19 feet (over 19 feet,
same fee as pleasure watevcraft)

$§7.00 Paddleboats (defined as non-motorized
watercraft 19 feet in length or less, and
propelled by a paddlewheel)

$12.00 Pleasure watercraft up to and including 19

feet

$20.00 Pleasure watercraft over 19 feet but less than

26 feet

$30.00 Pleasure watercraft 26 feet but less than 40

feet
1-3



8$30.00 Watercraft Dealers license. (Covers all water-
craft owned; NOT $30.00 each.)

8$40.00 Pleasure watercraft 40 feet in length and over

$50.00 Any watercraft more than 19 feet in length for
hire with an operator

$ 3.00 Transfer or duplicate registration card

8§ 2.00 Surcharge on each watercraft that is 17 feet in
length or longer, for management of purple
loosestrife and Eurasion water milfoil

2. Snowmobiles

$00.00 Tax exempt snowmobiles owned by the state
of Minnesota and operated by its agents and
political subdivisions (tax exempt application
can only be made to the DNR License
Bureau.)

$18.00 Unregistered and renewals
8 4.00 Transfer or duplicate registration card
*§50.00 Dealer’'s/Manufacturer’s License
3. All-Terrain Vehicles

$00.00 Tax exempt ATVs owned by the state of
Minnesota and operated by its agents and
political subdivisions(tax exempt application
can only be made to the DNR License

Bureau.)

$18.00 Unregistered and renewals of public use ATV
registrations

$ 6.00 Unregistered Private/Agricultural use
registration

$ 4.00 Transfer (public use registration only) or
duplicate registration card

*§50.00 Dealer’s/Manufacturer’s License

*  Snowmobile and All-Terrain Vehicle Dealers: These
dealers must contact the DNR License Bureau for
information concerning dealer license. They cannot be
licensed at a deputy registrar office.
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. DEPUTY REGISTRAR FEE
50¢ per application

. INFORMATION PERTINENT TO THE
REGISTRATION OF ALL WATERCRAFT
SNOWMOBILES, AND ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES

1. Optional Information Requested On All
Transactions: The optional information includes a

phone number where the owner can be reached during
the day, driver’s license number, (and, in the case of an
ATV application only, a Public Safety ID number), and
date of birth. No application may be denied if the owner
chooses not to provide any of the above information.

2. County Codes: Record the county code number where
the boat, snowmobile or ATV is used most often in the
space provided on all watercraft, snowmobile and all-
terrain vehicle applications. Refer to the standard county
code list when recording this information. The county
code list is included in the Section I Appendix. Be sure
to make it available for customer use.

3. Validation of Watercraft, Snowmobile and All-
Terrain Vehicle Applications and Receipts:

a. Stamp the back of all hard and soft-copy applications
that you will be submitting to the DNR License
Bureau. This enables us to identify the date and
place of each transaction and, if necessary, provides
a trace to the weekly report on which the transaction
was recorded.

b. Give the customer a validated receipt for every
transaction.

Be careful not to obscure the information on the receipt
when you stamp it. This receipt allows the customer to
legally use their watercraft, snowmobile, or all-terrain
vehicle for 60 days, or until they receive their registration
card and decal(s) from the DNR License Bureau. If a
customer does not receive their registration materials
within 60 days, please contact the DNR License
Bureau for instructions.



4. Name and Address of the Owner: Record the
complete name and address of the owner on each
application just as it is printed on their driver’s license, if
one is available. Nicknames should be avoided. Also,
remind resort owners to use the same resort name on
all of their watercraft registrations. When variations of
the resort name are used, easily avoidable complications
frequently arise as a result.

5. Multiple Ownership: If more than one person owns a
watercraft, snowmobile, or ATV, the names of all of
them may be recorded on the application. If the space
allowed on the computer cannot accommodate the
complete name of the owners, only the last names and
initials will be recorded. Only one owner’s address may
be recorded on the application, and only one
registration card will be sent. If more than one
registration card is requested, a duplicate registration
card application must be filed. In this case, attach a note
telling us where to send the card if the customer would
like it sent to an address that is different from the
address on the original application.

H. INFORMATION CONCERNING DEALER NO FEE
10 DAY PERMIT ’

The Dealer No Fee 10 Day Permit is issued by the DNR
directly to DNR licensed dealers of watercraft,
snowmobiles, and ATVs. Its purpose is to allow an
individual who purchases a watercraft, snowmobile, or all-
terrain vehicle the opportunity to legally use their new
acquisition as soon as they take possession of it. The permit
gives them 10 days within which they must visit you or us to
obtain their DNR registration.

If a customer presents this permit when registering, inform
them that now that they have registered, the 10 day permit
is no longer valid, and that the 60 day registration receipt
that you are issuing to them is their new temporary license.
Do not attach the 10 day permit to the back of any
application. Simply instruct the customer to discard it.
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NA-0025501

m DEPARTMENT OF
NESOTA
NATURAL RESOURCES
DEALER 10 DAY TEMPORARY PERMIT
NO FEE
O watancrast [ swowsosie [ AL TERRAI vEHICLE
YEAR [ MAKE ronn

TENGTH | SERAL NUMBER or HULL (.D.

NAME

“ADDRESS {No. & Sireet, AFD, of Box No)
Y STATE | 2IP GOOE
DEALERSHIP TICENSE o REGISTRATION NO,

"ADDRESS {No. & Sireet, AFD, or Box No)

Ty l STATE I 2P CODE

DEALER OR AGENTS 51N,
DATE PERMIT ISSUED DATE PEAMIT EXPIRES
THE WATEACRAFT, SNOWMOBILE, OR ALL TERRAIN VEHICLE DESCRIBED
ABOVE MAY BE OPERATED WITH THiS TEMPORARY PERMIT FOR A PERIOD
OF TEN {10) DAYS FROM THE DATE OF ISSUANGE FOR THE PURPOSE OF OB-
ESOTA REGISTAATION. THIS PERMIT MAY NOT BE REPLAGED

TAINING MINNI
OR UPDATED, AND IS INVALID ONCE A MINNESOTA REGISTRATION HAS
BEEN APPLIED FOR BY THE PURCHASER.

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
cares about your weekend. That's why our License Bureau created
the 10 Day Temporary Permit. It's new, and it's available to you.
Free of charge. Through participating dealers.

Now when you buy a watercraft, you can begin to enjoy it as
quickly as you can get from the showroom to the shore. Legally.

Because the operation of an unregistered watercraft in Minnesota
is a misdemeanor, we urge you to register within the 10-day
grace period.* Otherwise, when the permit expires, the free ride
is over.

S | *For inquiries about legal exemptions,
wrresouees)  contact the DNR License Bureau.

The Amazing Grace Period applies to purchases of watercraft,
snowmobiles and all-terrain vehicles.



*hkhkkkhhhkhhkkkhkhhkkkhhhhhhkhhhkhhhhhhkrkhhhkhhhhkhhkhhrikrkx

The following pages contain examples of watercraft,
snowmobile, and ATV applications. Please read the instructions
for each application type carefully. When the time comes that
new forms or instructions concerning these applications are
introduced, we will supply you with updated replacement pages.

hhkkhhkhhhhhhkhhhhrhhhbhhkrhrhhkhhdhhkhkhhhhhkhrhhhrd
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NA-00259-05
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY OFFICE USE

DEPARTMENT OF e [meawTR AT R
NESOTA )
NATURAL RESOURCES

[cHEckes

NO. W O 6 2 O 6 6 D6 HOT WRITE IN THIS SFACE)

WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION APPLICATION

— PLEASE PRINT —

REGISTRATION
REQUESTED! {cHECK ONE} 1. Honresisteren 2. O RENEwWAL____ (REGISTRATION NUMBER)
DATE OF BIRTH DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER
OPT. OPTIONAL
NAME ; FHONE WUVBER (DURITKG & S WORKING HRS]
wsr Freeman rrst Michael wone Allarj( ) OPT,
STREET OR RFD.NO cITY STATE ZIP CODE
100 Elm Street St, Paul MN 55104
TENGTH | MAKE OF BOAT HULL 10, ND. (GN OUTSIDE OF TRANSOM) s usto ST

LUN123456789

’ - REQUIRED ____
REGISTRATION FEE $ 12,00 GWNER'S SIGNATURE
MAIL TO
! ADD $2.00 SURCHARGE FOR ALL b
| WATERCRAFT 17 AND LONGER, DO NOT m\ﬁ‘rﬁis“?.T;E%‘E)Zl;F::YMENT OF
i INCLUDING DEALER AW‘UCA‘(IONSJ SEND CASH. LICENSE BUREAU

TOTAL FEE ENCLOSED $

“Unregistered Watercraft” are
defined as new watercraft, previously
unregistered watercraft, watercraft
with invalid registrations, and
‘watercraft from another state. (See
page 1-1, item A).

AGE
REQUIREMENT:; No age requirement.

INFORMATION Owner must fill out the application,

REQUIRED: giving their complete name and
address, and the length, make, and as
much further information as possible
concerning the description of the
watercraft.

OPTIONAL
INFO TION: Refer to page 1-5.
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COUNTY CODE:
SIGNATURE:

FEE:

VALIDATED
RECEIPT:

TOILET .
INFORMATION:

MISCEILI ANEOUS
INFORMATION:

Refer to page 1-5.

The owner of the watercraft must sign
the application, however, a spouse
may sign for a spouse. On multiple
ownerships, only one owner is
required to sign:

Fill in the correct fee as shown on the
watercraft fees list. (Fees are also
listed on the back of the application
itself.) This registration is valid for
3 years on a calendar year basis,
i.e., January 1 through December
31. (This registration cannot be
prorated.) Note: Add $2.00 surcharge
if watercraft is 17 feet or longer.

Refer to page 1-5.

- On all watercraft applications, except
the duplicate registration card and the
" renewal application, have the owner

check “yes” or “no” in the space

. concerning toilet information. If there

is a toilet on the watercraft, the owner
must check the box under “USCG
CERT” if the toilet is certified by the
U.S. Coast Guard.

On all watercraft applications, the
customer must check the appropriate
boxes for the type of watercraft, the
type of use, the hull material and the
propulsion of the watercraft.
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recmuancy WATERCRAFT RENEWAL NOTICE _FE COVERS 3 YEARS FROM DATE OF EXPRATION REGSTRATION 1O

S SABESRERS PRES LAST DI
TEAMEES | G oree . v 1o o OF O e B
A ADOIONS WHERE OPTIONAL OPT. DEC: 89 12.00 0001-AA
oy . (ORTIONAR Y \ ! .
SRREE o,
frafig
e ro s
RS o
At e TR TR e RE R TR
fesas e, .
ORIy Freeman Michael Allan L( ) OPTIONAL
A o - s =
P ——— 100 Elm Street St. Paul MN 55104
i RIS e TR BOTUSES O
e Rt .
14{ Lund LUN123456789 4)8 150 ! 62 )
DO NOT SEND A A : iy s /5 /f
" § ; f £
CASH e§e§~§f e s /8 /€ § -y &/ &
5/5/3/8/8/8 ég;@';g‘?’r LT DA §§9$@3*§§ ggﬂ%f
T i :
SIGN—»  cuens smNAwwE_ND.T_REQUTRF‘D ome_10-1-090
DATE RENEWAL NOTICE OF EXPIRED WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION
| DO NOT DEYACH IF APPLYING AT A DEPUTY REGISTRAROFFICE ________ IF MAILING RETURN UPPER PORTION ONLY & USE ATTACHED ENVELOPE.
DO NOT STAPLE, FOLD OR MUTILATE RENEWAL NOTICE.
THIS WATERCRAFT MUST BE RENEWED BY
IN ORDER TO RETAIN GURRENT REGISTRATION NUMBER R T AR o Ve T T i AL [SEE oK

FOR AN APPLICATION TO TRANSFER.

' TEMPORARY LICENSE RECEIPT— VALID ONLY WITH DEPUTY REGISTRAR STANIP ON BACK

BOVE NAMED PERSON HAS PAID LICENSE FEE AND THE APPLICATION iS BEING PROCESSED - THIS RECEIPT EXPIRES 60 DAYS FROM DATE OF ISSUE

Freeman, Michael Allan NOTE: THS FORM MUST BE CARRIED ON BOARD
100 Elm Street HATERCRAFT WHEN USED AS A TEMPORARY
St. Paul MN 55104 0001-AA

|FF OWNERSHIP HAS BEEN TRANSFERRED —— THIS RENEWAL NOTICE CANNOT BE USED.

Procedure for Renewal of a Valid Watercraft Registration
Number Using the Soft-Copv Renewal Notice:

“Valid Watercraft Registration
Number” is defined as any watercraft
registration number that expired in
December of the previous calendar

- year. The registration number may be
renewed for a period of one calendar
year beyond the date of expiration,
e.g., December 1989 expirations may
be renewed through December 31,
1990. The renewal period normally
begins six weeks prior to the current
date of expiration.

INFORMATION The information concerning the

REQUIRED: ‘description of the watercraft is
preprinted on the form. Ask the
applicant for any missing information
concerning the description of the
watercraft, and record it on the form.
We will add this information to our
records.
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OPTIONAL
INFORMATION: Refer to page 1-5.

COUNTY CODE: Refer to page 1-5.
SIGNATURE: Requested but not required.
FEE:; Preprinted on the application.
VALIDATED |

RECEIPT: Refer to page 1-5.
ADDITIONAL Verify with the applicant that all

INFORMATION: preprinted information on the renewal
' form is correct.

Tear off the white stripping on the top
and sides of the renewal notice, Tear
off the information strip on the left-
hand side.

If the ownership of the watercraft has
been transferred and the new owner
presents the soft-copy renewal notice,
refer to the instructions for a renewal
and transfer transaction for a water-
craft on page 1-18.
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NA-00259-05
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY OFFICE USE

DEPARTMENT OF TRrrearevRATIoN Ra
NESOTA
NATURAL RESOURCES S

no. W 062065 : (o0 nor wrre 1w s srace)

WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION APPLICATION

— PLEASE PRINT —

REquzeremo (check ong) 1. O unrecisteren 2. Brenewar _0001-AA (recisTration numser)
DATE OF BIRTH DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER
OPT. OPTIONAL }
NAME i ) ‘ PHONE NUVGER (DURING 6.5 WORKIG FRS)
LasT F{eeman past_ Michael woore Allarn ) OPT.
STREET 6F AFD. NG, Y STATE 21 Gobe
100 Elm Street St. Paul MN 55104

LENGTH | MAKE OFBOAT . HULL 1.0, NO. (ON OUTSIDE OF TRANSOM) 1 | COUNTVSTATE “nene soat s usea wost
ORT |
{MOED

LUNl234567B9

\
REGISTRATION FEE s 12.00 NER'S STGNATURE : DATE

MAIL TO:

£ 40D $2005SURCHARGE FOR ALL L e —

| WATERCRAFT 17" AND LONGER, po NOT MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF

| INCLUDING DEALER APPLICATIDNSJ SEND CASH NATURAL RESOURCES
12.00 ?églz.xlsrl;:\veg‘gEEAgoAn

TOTAL FEE ENCLOSED $ - ST. PAUL, MN 55155-4026

Procedure for the Renewal of a Valid Watercraft
Registration Number When the Soft-Copy Renewal Notice
is Unavailable:

(Renewal defined on page 1-12)

INFORMATION Applicant must fill out the form, giving

REQUIRED: the name and address of the owner,
the registration number, length, and
make of the watercraft, and as much
further information as possible
concerning its description. If the
applicant presents an expired
registration card, attach it to the back
of the application and submit both the
card and application to us.

OPTIONAL
INFO TION: Refer to page 1-5.

COUNTY CODE: Refer to page 1-5.
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IGNATURE:

FEE:

VALIDATED

Not required if the registered owner
has not changed. If the ownership has
changed, refer to the instructions
concerning the renewal and transfer of
a watercratft.

Fill in the correct fee as shown on the
watercraft fees list. (Fees are also
listed on the back of the application
itself.)

Note: Add $2.00 surcharge if watercraft
is 17 feet or longer.

Refer to page 1-5.
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NA-00260-05
FOR.QFFICE USE ONLY

,DEPARTMENT OF e [T
NATURAL RESOURCES

no. W 279123 160 o7 wnires w Tm sracel

WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OR DUPLICATE

— PLEASE PRINT —

BATE OF BIATH BRIVER LIGENGE NOWGER REGISTRATION
OPT. . J OPTIONAL NUMBER 0001 ~AA
SHOW NEW OWNER OR DUPLICATE INFORMATION HERE SHOW PREVIOUS OWNER INFORMATION HERE
NAME NAME
wst  Freeman - emst Mlchael moote Alla Hanson Perry.
STREET OR RFD NO. STREET OR RFD NO.
100 Elm Street : 150 43rd Street
GITVESTATE 777 COBE |FONE TURG TR Tl || 17 & STATE ZIPCODE | PHONE
St. Paul MN 55104|( ) OPT. Mpls. MN 554191 JOPT.

HORSEPOWER
MOTOR 1 } MgTGR 2

HULL T5] NO. (ON OUTSIDE OF TRANSOM)

LUN123456789
1/ “

TENGTH [ MAKE OF BOAT

@ [ s [0 ]2 [1]es
REGISTRATION REQUESTED (CHECK ONE) REQUIRED 10~1-90
$3.00 'CWNER'S SIGNATURE B DATE
OoupLicate 8300 [ RENEWAL & TRANSFER §_ : ;
DD szﬁg:wcmncf_ ONLY FOR' s . MAI L
EFTRANSFER __ $300  TELATRANSOFWATERGRATT " DpONOT MINNESDTA DEPARTMENT OF
B SEND CASH NATURAL RESOUR

s 3.00 LICENSE BUREAU
3 OOTOTA" §—=at 500 LAFAYETTE ROAD
FOTAL FEE ENCLOSED § . ST. PAUL, MN 55155-4026

Procedure for the Transfer of a Valid Watercraft
Registration Number:

INFO TION The new owner must fill out both sides

REQUIRED: of the form, providing their complete
name and address, the name and
address of the previous owner, the
registration number, length and make
of the watercraft, and as much further
information as possible concerning its
description. If the new owner presents
a current registration card, attach it to
the back of the application and submit
both the card and application to us.
NOTE: Other requirements apply for
transfers of titled watercratft, or for
transfers which include an application
for title by the new owner. Please see
the chapter on transfers in Section 2 of
this handbook.
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OPTIONAL
INFORMATION:

COUNTY CODE:

SIGNATURE:

FEE:

VALIDATION
STAMP:

REPIACEMENT
DECALS:

Refer to page 1-5.
Refer to page 1-5.

The owner of the watercraft must sign
the application, however, a spouse may
sign for a spouse, On multiple
ownerships, only one owner is
required to sign.

$3.00 (There is NO $2.00 surcharge
on TRANSFER applications.)

Refer to page 1-5.

If the new owner requests a set of
replacement decals, this request

must be written at the top of the
application. We will send them their
new decals. THERE IS NO CHARGE
FOR A SET OF REPLACEMENT
DECALS.
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NA-00260-05
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

WESOTA |
NATURAL RESOURCES

no. W 279127 (oo wor ware m v seace)

WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OR DUPLICATE

— PLEASE PRINT —

DATE OF BIRTH DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER REGISTRATION
OPT OPTIONAL ] NUMBER 0001=AA
SHOW NEW OWNER OR DUPLICATE INFORMATION HERE SHOW PREVIOUS OWNER INFORMATION HERE
NAME . NAME T T
st Freeman resr Michael  yope A Hanson, Perry
STREET OR RFD NO. STREET OR RFD NO.
100 Elm Street 150 43rd Street

CITY & STATE IP CODE _ [PHONE {DURING WORKING HRS)| | CITY & STATE ZIP CODE PHONE (DURING WORKING HRS)
___ St. Paul MN 55104( ) OPT. Mpls. MN 55419 |( yOPT .
LENGTH [ MAKE OF BOAT HULL 1.D. NO (ON QUTSIDE RANSOM) YEAR HOF\SE?DWER COUNTY \wHENE BUAT 15 1OST LSED.
! Lund LUN123456789 88 [MOTORT iMATRR 2
g s o
. /88
§/s [ 5/55/¢ s
$ /$&
REBBEEE
REGISTRATION REQUESTED (CHECK ONE) _REQUIRED 10=1-90
OoupLicaTe 3300 DYRENEWAL & TRANSFER $__15.00
ADD $2,00 SURCHARGE ONLY FORA MAIL TO:
O TRANSFER $3.00 o s, OF WATERCRAFT 8 DO NOT MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
! i SEND CASH NATURAL RESOURCES
ToTtaL §__15.00 LICENSE BUREAU

500 LAFAYETTE ROAD
TOTAL FEE ENcLOsED $_ 1500 ST. PAUL, MN 55155-4026

Procedure for the Renewal and Transfer of a Valid

Watercraft Registration Number:

In the case of a renewal and transfer
transaction, check the renewal and
transfer box at the bottom of the
application. Add the correct renewal
fee to the $3.00 transfer fee and record
this combined amount in the space
provided.

INFORMATION The new owner must fill out the form,

REQUIRED: giving their complete name and
address, the previous owner’s name
and address, the registration number,
length and make of the watercraft and
as much further information as
possible concerning its description. If
the new owner presents an expired
registration card or a soft-copy renewal
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OPTIONAL
INFORMATION:

COUNTY CODE:

SIGNATURE:

FEE:

VALIDATION
STAMP:

notice, attach it to the back of the
application and submit both the card or
renewal notice and the application to
us.

NOTE: If the boat in question is |
subject to titling, HIN information will
also be required.

Refer to page 1-5.

Refer to page 1-5.

The owner must sign the application,
however a spouse may sign for a

spouse. On multiple ownerships, only
one owner is required to sign.

Correct renewal fee from fees list, plus
a $3.00 transfer fee.

Note: Add $2.00 surcharge if water-

craft is 17 feet or longer.

Refer to page 1-5.
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NA-00260-05

DEPARTMENT OF
NESOTA
NATURAL RESOURCES

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
OFFICE USE
Exp. REGISTRATION No.t

no. W 279125

(Do No¥ wriTE IN YHIS sPACE]

WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OR DUPLICATE

— PLEASE PRINT —

DATE OF BIRTH DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER REGISTRATION -
OPT. I TIONAL NUMBER 0001-AA
SHOW NEW OWNER OR DUPLICATE INFORMATION HERE SHOW PREVIOUS OWNER INFORMATION HERE
NAME NAWE
LAST Freeman . Michael oo A
STREET OR RFD NO, STREET OR RFD NO.
100 Elm Street
CITY & STATE ZiP CODE PHONE {DURING WORKING HRS)| [ CITY & STATE ZIP CODE PHONE
St. Paul MN 55104 ) OPT. ( )
LENGTH | MAKE OF BOAT RULL LD. NO. \S)NO\.”S‘DEUF _TRANSOM) YEAR HORSEPOWER COUNTY wmEHE BOAT ISMOST USED!
1 LUN123456789 88| MoTon 1 hoag 2 62
IS S sl s L&) S
S/s o/ s/s5/8: & N & s 3 [8$ /&) 5
.,;Negv%s & o/ ) £ $ L &/s/ 8
§/8/685/ 5585 & 5/2/5/5/8)s $ & S/ 8YSH & 5 &
VHL T - HEEEHEE - 500 - HEHEEDE : HEES
[ 1] H L] [* L
ARMENE AR EfIEl BERDan
REGISTRATION REQUESTED (CHECK ONE) NOT REQUIRED 10-1-90
d $3.00 OWNER'S SIGNATURE AT
DUPLICATE i O RENEWAL & TRANSFER §
{/ADD 52,00 SURCHARGE ONLY FOR MAIL TO:
[ TRANSFER $3.00 ivRvE'I\A'(N&nchNNGSEg.F WATERCRAFT | $ DO NOT MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
3.00 SEND CASH NATURAL RESOURCES

TOTAL FEE ENCLOSED $

3.00

LICENSE BUREAU
500 LAFAYETTE ROAD
ST. PAUL, MN 55155-4026

i
TOTALS "~

Procedure for Duplicate Watercraft Registration Card:

INFORMATION
REQUIRED:

OPTIONAL
INFORMATION:

COUNTY CODE:

SIGNATURE:

FEE:

Applicant must fill out the left-hand
side of the application giving the
owner’s complete name and address,
the registration number, length, and
make of the watercraft, and as much
further information as possible
concerning its description.

Refer to page 1-5.

Refer to page 1-5.

Requested but not required.
Preprinted on the application.

(There is NO $2.00 surcharge on
DUPLICATE registrations.
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VALIDATION
STAMP: Refer to page 1-5.

REPIACEMENT If the applicant requests a set of

DECALS: replacement decals, this request must
be written at the top of the application.
We will send them their new decals.
REMEMBER: THERE IS NO
CHARGE FOR A SET OF
REPILACEMENT DECALS.
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CHAPTER III

LICENSING
PROCEDURES
FOR
SNOWMOBILES



o

NA-00250-04
—FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

OFFICE USE
mﬁég&w{m oF e e ATIOR

NATURAL RESOURCES

CHECKED

NO. S 040265 | lcowor wmire 1N THis sPace}

SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION APPLICATION

PLEASE PRINT

REGISTRATION
REQUESTED:  (cHECK onE) 1. B UNREGISTERED 2. [J RENEWAL (REGISTRATION NUMBER)
e
wer  White 1 Rachael |.cofnne vean_ 1988
TR s e T T T

500 w. oak waxe Bombardien, .. _Olympic
e T T T avare Hv cour | [caunty (weere snow-

PR LA

Mpls. MN 55410.} 27 BODY [FRAME]) 987654
R— - SR FE O SERIAL NO. ———————
ST e e . wirrneaTy T [ RGne Naman

won s,
OPTIONAL OPT {¢ ) OPT. ENGINE SIZE 80
e e e — ——— — ) (cc OR HP) —_— —
10-1-90 d REQUIRED
MAIL TO: - e - T
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES
LICENSE BUREAU APPLICANT MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER
500 LAFAYETTE ROAD — - o e i e DO NOT
ST. PAUL, MN 55155-4026 FEES18.00 FOR 3YEAR PERIOD
SEND CASH

MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYAHLE TO:
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Procedure for the Registration of an Unregistered

Snowmobile:

“Unregistered Snowmobiles” are
defined as new snowmobiles,
previously unregistered snowmobiles,
snowmobiles with invalid registration
numbers, and snowmobiles from
another state, i.e., snowmobiles
covered by a valid license of another
state and which have been within this
state for more than 30 consecutive
days. (See page 1-1, item B).

AGE REQUIREMENT: Owner must be 18 years of age or

older.

INFORMATION Owner must fill out the application,
REQUIRED: giving their complete name and
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OPTIONAL
INFORMATION:

COUNTY CODE:

SIGNATURE:

FEE:

VALIDATED
RECEIPT:

address, and the make, body serial
number, and as much further
information as possible concerning
the description of the snowmobile.

Refer to page 1-5.
Refer to page 1-5.

The owner of the snowmobile must
sign the application, however a spouse
may sign for a spouse. On multiple
ownerships, only one owner is
required to sign the application.

$18.00 for a three year registration.
This registration is valid for three (3)
years on a fiscal year basis, i.e., from
July 1 through June 30. (This
registration cannot be prorated.)

Refer to page 1-5.
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i

\EREY BEORMATION SNOWMOBILE RENEWAL NOTICE ___ FEE COVERS 3 YEARS FROM DATE OF EXPIRATION REGISTRATION NO
SHADED AREAS RFES LAST DAY

EAKHG o [DRIVER S LICENSE NO /MINN 1D NO (OF GWNER) BIRTH DATE oF 1AGOQ"NI:(YEAFU
AKD ADDITIONS WHERE -
i ., (OPTIONAL | _OPT,  |JUNE} 90 18.00 | 2A-100
COUPLETE e
SRERSIELRT
B 1S W
SRS
et rene
A i [GWNER'S RAVE “LAST FIRST WIDDLE |PHONE NO (OURING 8-5 VIORKIG FOURST
CORTY N You "
VR SN White Rachael Anne ) OPTIONAL
[ADDRESS cry STATE i
MAKE e P 10
Jay stoamitenr o 500 W, Oak Mpls. MN 55410
E oBEL ERR " HODV SERAL G e S
: Hep
po 'gﬁﬁE"D [ Bombardier Olympic 88 | 987654 80 &
SIGN OWNER S SIGNATURE DATE [COUNTY
and NOT REQUIRED 10-1-90 27
DATE APPLICANT MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER
| DONOT DETACH ¥ APPLYING AT A DEPUTY REGISTRAR OFFICE —oo—_____ IF MAIING RETURNUFPER PORTION ONLY & USE ATTAGHED ENVELOPE.
DO NOT STAPLE, FOLD OR MUTILATE RENEWAL MOTICE.
TO RETAIN CURRENT REGISTRATION NUMBER, THIS REGISTRATION MUST "
BE RENEWED WITHIN ONE (1) YEAR FROM THE DATE OF EXPIRATION. OF EINECOPE) 70 TAARER CHUNERI O WAITE 10 THE STESOt D

FOR AN APPLICATION TO TRANSFER.

TEMPORARY LICENSE RECEIPT— VALID ONLY WITH DEPUTY REGISTRAR STAMP ON BACK
ABOVE NAMED PERSON HAS PAID LICENSE FEE AND THE APPLICATION IS BEING PROCESSED - THIS RECEIPT EXPIRES 60 DAYS FROM DATE OF [SSUE

NOTE: THIS TEMPORARY LICENSE RECEIPT
MUST BE CARRIED WITH YOU WHILE OPERATIVG

White Rachael Anne ReGisTRATIONNO  AA—100 e

500 W. Oak Mpls. MN 55410

D
IF OWNERSHIP HAS BEEN TRANSFERRED ——— THIS RENEWAL NOTICE CANNOT BE USED.

Procedure for the Renewal of a Valid Snowmobile

Registration Number using the Soft-Copy Renewal

Notice:

“Valid Snowmobile Registration
Number” is defined as any
snowmobile registration number that
expired in June of the previous fiscal
year. The registration number may be
renewed for a period of one fiscal year
beyond the date of expiration, e.g.,
June 1990 expirations may be renewed
through June 30, 1991. The renewal
period normally begins six weeks prior
to the current date of expiration.

INFORMATION The information concerning the

REQUIRED: description of the snowmobile is
preprinted on the form. Ask the
applicant for any missing information
concerning the description of the



OPTIONAL

INFORMATION:

COUNTY CODE:

SIGNATURE:
FEE:

VALIDATED
RECEIPT:

ADDITIONAL

INFORMATION:

snowmobile and record this
information on the form. We will add
this information to our records.

Refer to page 1-5.
Refer to page 1-5.
Requested but not required.

Preprinted on the application.

Refer to page 1-5.

Verify with the applicant that all
preprinted information on the renewal
form is correct.

Tear off the white stripping on the top
and sides of the renewal notice. Tear
off the information strip on the left-
hand side.

If the ownership of the snowmobile
has been transferred, and the new
owner presents the soft-copy renewal
notice, refer to the instructions for a
renewal and transfer transaction for a
snowmobile on page 1-32.



1
%

NA-00250-04

DEPARTMENT OF
NNESOTA
NATURAL RESOURCES

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY OFFICE USE

Exr. REGISTRATION NG?

ccccccc

no. S 040266

(Do NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE])

SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION APPLICATION

— PLEASE PRINT —

REGISTRATION —
REQUESTED:  (cHECK oNE) 1. [J UNREGISTERED 2. mENEWAL_w(REGISTRATION NUMBER)
T
wsr  White emsr Rachael [wooe ANne| gap_ 1988
STREET oR RFo NG,
500 W. Oak MAKE Bombardier, ope Olympic
T Fore Trcone [ eguny eene snov:
iAo
Mpls. MN | 55410 27 sopy (FrAmE) 987654
DRIVER'S LICENSE NO. BIRTHDAYTE PHONE NUM R RIAL N
THonme
Lirne s,
OPTIONAL opr. | "opr. ENGINE S1ZE 80
[cc OR HP)
10-1-90 > NOT REQUIRED
MAIL TO: BATE CWNER'S SIGNATURE
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESQURCES
LICENSE BUREAU APPLICANT MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER
ST, FAUL, MN s3155-s026 FEES18.00 FOR 3YEAR PERIOD DO NOT
. , SEND CASH

MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE T

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Procedure for the Renewal of a Valid Snowmobile
Registration Number when the Soft-Copy Renewal Notice

is Unavailable:

(Renewal defined on page 1-26)

INFORMATION
REQUIRED:

OPTIONAL
INFORMATION:

Applicant must fill out the form, giving
the owner’s complete name and
address, the make and body serial
number of the snowmobile, and as
much further information as possible
concerning its description. If the
applicant presents an expired
registration card, attach it to the back
of the application and submit both the
card and application to us.

Refer to page 1-5.
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COUNTY CODE:

SIGNATURE:

FEE:

VALIDATION
STAMP:

Refer to page 1-5.

Not required if the registered owner
has not changed. If the ownership has
changed, see the instructions
concerning a renewal and transfer
transaction.

Preprinted on the application.

Refer to page 1-5.
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NA-00249-04 —————FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

OFFICE USE
ExXr.

REGISTRATION NOT
DEPARTMENT OF
NNESOTA
NATURAL RESOURCES [erEewen

no. S 095308 (oo wex warre 1 s seace)

SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OR DUPLICATE

REGISTRATION - - PLEASE PRINT —
NoMaER __AAZ100

REGISTRATION

REQUESTED:  [cHEck oNE) [J pupLicaTE _ML_,E{RANSFER_i“LD RENEWAL & TRANSFER_..$22.00

SHOW NEW OWNER OR DUPLICATE INFORMATION HERE SHOW PREVIOUS OWNER INFORMATION HERE

NAME NAME I
e White -me; Rachael  Apne |,  Green cofark |, oo W
TTREET oW RFE NG. STREET on RS o,

500 w. Oak 60 Shady Lane
T STaTe T cone B [ — e T eeer T

Mpls. MN | 55410 Golden Vly. | MN 55427]
ORIVER'S LICENSE NoO. BIRTHDATE PHONE NUMBER

{DURING 05
WORKING Mis.)
OPTIONAL OPT. |{( ) OPT
EAl MAKE MODEL BODY (FRAME) SERIAL NO.| ENGINE SIZE FEE ENCLOSED
J {ec or He)
198 Bombardier Olympic 987654 80 $4.00
APPLICANT MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER
MAIL TO: MAKE CHECK OR MONEY
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF ORDER PAYABLE TO!
NATURAL RESCURCES MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
LICENSE BUREAU NATURAL RESOQURCES
500 LAFAYETTE ROAD -] -
10-1-90- REQUIRED DO NOT SEND CASH

ST. PAUL, MN 55155-4026
GATE NEW OWNER'S SIGNATURE

Procedure for the Transfer of a Valid Snowmobile
Registration Number:

AGE REQUIREMENT: Owner must be 18 years of age or
older.

INFORMATION The new owner must fill out both

REQUIRED: sides of the application giving their
complete name and address, the name
and address of the previous owner,
and the make, body serial number,
and as much further information as
possible concerning the description of
the snowmobile.

If the new owner presents a current
registration card, attach it to the back
of the application and submit both the
card and application to us.
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OPTIONAL
INFORMATION:

COUNTY CODE:

SIGNATURE:

FEE:

VALIDATION
STAMP:

REPILACEMENT
DECALS:

Refer to page 1-5.
Refer to page 1-5.

The owner of the snowmobile

must sign the application,

however, a spouse may sign for a
spouse. On multiple ownerships, only
one owner is required to sign.

Preprinted on the application.

Refer to page 1-5.

If the owner requests a set of
replacement decals, this request must
be written at the top of the application.
We will send them their new decals.
THERE IS NO CHARGE FOR A
SET OF REPLACEMENT
DECALS.
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NA-00249-04 FOR OFFICE USE ONLY orrice UsE
TR, REGTETRATION WG ]

DEPARTMENT OF i
NNESOTA |
NATURAL RESOURCES s |

no. $095309 (oo v e s spncel

SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OR DUPLICATE

REGISTRATION - PLEASE PRINT —
NUMBER ___ARA-100

REGISTRATION
REQUESTED: {cHeck one) [JourLicare 8400 [ TRANSFERﬁsiC’_O_Z/RENEWAL & TRANSFER___$22.00
T

SHOW NEW OWNER OR DUPLICATE INFORMATION HERE SHOW PREVIOUS OWNER INFORMATION HERE

WAWE } eame T
. 1 i i .
sy White . Rachaelj,  Anne || _ Green Lrimsr Mark mmﬂm
STREET om RFD No. STREET 6 AFE WO,
|
500 W. Oak | 60 Shady Lane
E STAvE Tiv coow SouRTy[wnEnE || ervy Tevare Tz cooe
sNowmosiies |
Mpls. MN 55410 27 | Golden Vly.| MN l 55427
DRIVER'S LICENSE NO. BIRTHDATE PHONE NUMBER |
(ouminG 13 |
OPTIONAL OPT. I’““"‘)“ "OPT .IE
Vean mawe WwoDEL GoDY (FRAME] SERIAL No.{ EhaINE sizE FEE ENcLosED
: {cc on nr
1988 | Bombardier Olympic 987654 | 80 $4.00+18.40
APPLICANT MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER
MAIL TO: MAKE CHEGK OR MONEY
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF ORDER PAYABLE TO!
EI‘:;UNRS“E‘-:UE:;;’SCES ’ MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
500 LAFAYETTE ROAD 10-1-90, REQUIRED NATURAL RESOURCES
ST. PAUL, MN 55155-4026 DO NOT SEND CASH

BATE NEW OWNER'S EIGNATURE

Procedure for the Renewal and Transfer of a Valid _

Snowmobile Registration Number;

In the case of a renewal and transfer
transaction, check the renewal and
transfer box at the top of the
application. The $22.00 fee is pre-
printed on the application.

AGE REQUIREMENT: Owner must be 18 years of age or
older.

INFORMATION The new owner must fill out the

REQUIRED: application, giving their complete
name and address, the previous
owner’s name and address, the

1-32



OPTIONAL
INFORMATION:

COUNTY CODE:

SIGNATURE:

FEE:

VALIDATION
STAMP:

registration number, make and body
serial number of the snowmobile, and
as much further information as
possible concerning its description. If
the new owner presents an expired
registration card or the soft-copy
renewal notice from the previous
owner, attach it to the back of the
application and submit both the card

. or renewal notice and the application

to us.

Refer to page 1-5.

Refer to page 1-5.

The owner must sign the application,
however, a spouse may sign for a
spouse. On multiple ownerships, only
one owner is required to sign the
application. :

$18.00 for a three year license, plus
the $4.00 transfer fee.

Refer to page 1-5.
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NA-00248.04 —————————FOR OFFICE USE ONLY OFFICE USE

EXFT REGISTAATION NB?

m DEPARTMENT OF - "
NNESOTA L L L
NATURAL RESOURCES . )

no. $ 095310 ‘ (00 wox warre i s seace)

SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OR DUPLICATE

REGISTRATION . - PLEASE PRINT —
NUMBER A-100 . )

REGISTRATION %
RequesTED; ©  (cHEck one) B bupuicate 8400 - [Trransren_$4.00 [ renewar & TRANSFer __$22.00

SHOW NEW OWNER OR DUPLICATE INFORMATION HERE SHOW PREVIOUS OWNER INFORMATION HERE
NAME ' ' N g NAME
wer  White rwRachael |, Anne |, rimsy oL
STREET oR RFB NG, STREET o PO No.
500 W. Oak
g STATE Zir conE Countvlwnere (| Ity B0 zi cone
SNOWMOBILE 15
Mpls. MN 55410 |us=emesT) 27
DRIVER'S LICENSE NO. BIRTHDATE HONE NUMBER
ume vs
NG Hns.
OPTIONAL OPT. ‘(""""' )° EPT .
VeAr WAKE WoDEL BooY [FRAME] SERIAL NG| ENGINE size Fee enclosen
P . {ee oyb-)
1988 Bombardier Olympic 987654 $4.00
APPLICANT MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER
MAIL TO: MAKE CHECK OR MONEY
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF ORDER PAYABLE TO!
NATURAL RESOURCES MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
LICENSE BUREAU NATURAL RESOURCES

500 LAFAYETTE ROAD 10-1-90 » NOT REQUIRED

ST. PAUL, MN 55155-4026 DO NOT SEND CASH

BATE NEW OWNER'S SIGNATURE

Procedure for a Request for a Duplicate Snowmobile
Registration Card:

INFORMATION Applicant must fill out the left-hand

REQUIRED: side of the application, giving the
owner’s complete name and address,
the registration number, make and
body serial number of the snowmobile,
and as much further information as
possible concerning its description.

OPTIONAL
INFORMATION: Refer to page 1-5.

COUNTY CODE: Refer to page 1-5.
SIGNATURE: Requested but not required.

FEE: Preprinted on the application.
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YALIDATION
STAMP:

REPIACEMENT
DECALS:

Refer to page 1-5.

If the applicant requests a set of
replacement decals, this request must
be written at the top of the application.
We will send them their new decals.
THERE IS NO CHARGE FOR A
SET OF REPLACEMENT DECALS.
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CHAPTER IV

LICENSING
PROCEDURES
FOR
ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES



o,

DEPARTMENT OF
NNESOTA

No.A 00040

REGISTRATION

OFFICE USE
T

(DO NOT WAITE IN THIS SPACE}

ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLE REGISTRATION APPLICATION

1. BYUNREGISTERED

— PLEASE PRINT —

REQUESTED: (CHECK ONE) 2. [JRENEWAL (REGISTRATION NUMBER)
v Smith s Elliot |, John | = 1981
Route 10 vake Kawasaki MODEL
Cushing MN 56443 49 A w0, _JKALTNAL98B509174
OPTIONAL oPT. |( ) OPT. OeNESZE 200
10-1-90 » REQUIRED

MAIL TO:

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES . -
LICENSE BUREAU

500 LAFAYETTE ROAD

ST. PAUL, MN 55155-4026

BO NOT SEND CASH

BATE

APPLICANT MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER

NEW GWNER 'S SGHATURE
AN ATV Is DEFINED IN MINNESOTA
STATUTES 8492, SUBDIVISICN 8, AS “A
MOTORIZED FLOTATIONTIRED VEHICLE

FEE $18.00 FOR 3 YEAR PERIOD

OF NOT LESS THAN THREE LOW-
PRESSURE TIRES, BUT NOT MORE THAN

MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO:
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

SIX TIRES THAT IS LIMITED IN ENGINE
DISPLACEMENT OF LESS THAN 800
CUBIC CENTIMETERS AND TOTAL DRY
WEIGHT LESS THAN 600 POUNDS**

Procedure for a Public Use Registration of an
Unregistered ATV:

“Unregistered ATVs” are defined as
new ATVs, previously unregistered
ATVs, ATVs with invalid registration
numbers, and ATVs from another
state. (See p. 1-2, item C)

AGE REQUIREMENT:; Owner must be 18 years of age or

INFORMATION

REQUESTED:

older.

Owner must fill out the form, giving
their complete name and address, and
the make, year of manufacture, frame
serial number, and the engine
displacement in CCs of the vehicle.
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OPTIONAL
INFO TION:

COUNTY CODE:

SIGNATURE:

FEE:

VALIDATION
STAMP:

Refer to page 1-5.
Refer to page 1-5.

The owner of the ATV must sign the
application, however, a spouse may
sign for a spouse. On multiple
ownerships, only one owner is
required to sign the application.

$18.00 for a three year registration
valid on a calendar year basis, i.e.,
from January 1 through December 31

. of the following year. (This

registration cannot be provated.)

Refer to page 1-5.
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ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLE RENEWAL NOYICE _FE£ COVERS 3 YEARS FROM DATE OF EXPRATION REGISTRATION 1O

sy EFRES U O ke
TEAETRER”  remsucensE oA 15 0 0F G G ey
el .,  OPTIONAL | oPT. DEC 69 [ g 18. 001-22
conevere e
Samei
prt b
g e
SEmOVE,
ey I
RSRAS fr GRS TAE DS FRETTITE TODLETATE PO HO TOURTIG &
oD,
ST Qr e smith Elliot John ( ) oPTIONAL
R e =
St Route 10 Cushing MN 56443
A ot
,W VEAR [FRALE SERIAL 1O ENGHNE SIZE
DO NOT SEND i
CASH Kawasaki 1981 JKLTN198B509174 200 .o
SIGN [OWNER'S SIGNATURE DATE [COUNTY. &
i NOT REQUIRED 10-1-90 49

DATE

APPLICANT MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER

DEEEHNFEwNAl: I\!OTICE m(A)F EXPIRED ALL-TERRP:IE\J yEHJE)LE PO!?E%LS;I;I?AATION

THIS ALLTERRAN VEHICLE MUST BE RENEWED BY L8 oo Y Lok, oTOn ECLE EPUTY e BACK
IN ORDER TO RETAIN CURRENT REGISTRATION NUMBER OF ENVELOPE | TO TRANSFER OWNERSHP OR WRITE TO THE MINNESOTA DNR
FOR AN APPLICATION TO TRANSFER.

TEMPORARY, LICENSE RECEIPT—— VALID ONLY WITH DEPUTY REGISTRAR STAMP ON BACK
ABOVE NAMED PERSON HAS PAID LICENSE FEE AND THE APPLICATION 1S BEING PROCESSED - THIS RECEIPT EXPIRES 60 DAYS FROM DATE OF ISSUE
Smith, Elliot John fﬂs’r”sz?ﬁm@fﬁﬁ%%ﬂ’“ pecerr
Route 10 Cushing, MN 56443 001-AA HacHnE

IF OWNERSHIP HAS BEEN TRANSFERRED ~=———THIS RENEWAL: NOTICE CANNOT: BE USED.

Procedure for the Renewal of a Valid All-Terrain Vehicle

Registration Number Using the Soft-Copy Renewal
Notice:

“Valid All-Terrain Vehicle
Registration Number” is defined as
any ATV registration number that
expired in December of the previous
calendar year. The registration number
may be renewed for a period of one
calendar year from the date of
expiration, e.g., December, 1989
expirations may be renewed through
December, 1990. The renewal period
normally begins six weeks prior to the
current date of expiration.
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INFORMATION
REQUIRED:

OPTIONAL

INFORMATION:

COUNTY CODE:

SIGNATURE:
FEE:

VALIDATED
RECEIPT:

ADDITIONAL

INFORMATION:

The information concerning the
description of the ATV is preprinted
on the form. Ask the applicant for any
missing information concerning the
description of the ATV and add this
information to the form. We will add
this information to our records.

Refer to page 1-5.
Refer to page 1-5.
Requested but not required.

Preprinted on the application.

Refer to page 1-5.

Verify with the applicant that all
preprinted information on the renewal
form is correct.

Tear off the white stripping on the top
and sides of the renewal notice. Tear
off the information strip on the left-
hand side.

If the ownership of the ATV has been
transferred, and the new owner
presents the soft-copy renewal notice,
refer to the instructions for a renewal
and transfer transaction for an ATV.
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e

DEPARTMENT OF
NNESOTA
NATURAL RESOURCES

OFFICE USE
Ea TG

THEGRED

NO.A U0041

LD NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE)

ALLTERRAIN VEHICLE REGISTRATION APPLICATION

BEGISTRATION

— PLEASE PRINT —

2. wrfenewal 001-AA

REQUESTED: (CHECK ONE) 1. O UNREGISTERED (REGISTRATION NUMBER)
o
e Smith lmv Elliot | John vean_ 1981
SREEToRAFOTIO
Route 10 Make __Kawasaki MODEL
B e T oonE COUT THERE ATV
SUstb o
i MN 56443
Cushing SERIAL NO JKLTNA198B509174
VRS UCENSE TS ARTHOATE
untios s
Comng s
OPTIONAL OPT. ( )O]H?T . (ECNCG)WE SIZE 200
MAIL TO: 10-1-90 » NOT REQUIRED

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES
LICENSE BUREAU

500 LAFAYETTE ROAD

ST PAUL, MN 55155-4026

DO NOT SEND CASH

TATE

APPLICANT MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER
FEE $18.00 FOR 3 YEAR PERIOD

MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

EEIGHATURE

AN ATV IS DEFINED IN MINNESOTA
STATUTES 8492, SUBDIVISION 8, AS "A
MOTORIZED FLOTATIONTIRED VEHICLE
OF NOT LESS THAN THREE LOW-
PRESSURE TIRES, BUT NOT MORE THAN
SIX TIRES THAT IS LIMITED IN ENGINE
DISPLACEMENT OF LESS THAN BOO
CUBIC GENTIMETERS AND TOTAL DRY
WEIGHT LESS THAN 600 POUNDS ™

Procedure for the Renewal of a Valid All-Terrain Vehicle
Registration Number when the Soft-Copy Renewal Notice

is Unavailable:

INFORMATION
REQUIRED:

OPTIONAL
INFORMATION:

(Renewal defined on page 1-40.)

Applicant must fill out the form, giving
the owner’s complete name and
address, the registration number,
make, year of manufacture, frame
serial number, and the engine
displacement in CCs of the vehicle. If
the applicant presents an expired
registration card, attach it to the back
of the application and submit both the
card and application to us.

Refer to page 1-5.
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COUNTY CODE:

SIGNATURE:

FEE:

VALIDATED
RECEIPT:

Refer to page 1-5.

Not required if the registered owner
has not changed. If the ownership has
changed, see pages 1-46, 47 for
instructions concerning a renewal and
transfer transaction.

Preprinted on the application.

Refer to page 1-5.

1-43



DEPARTMENT OF
ESOTA

NG

NATURAL RESOURCES

No. A 75075

OFFICE USE
R

THECKED

(DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE)

ALLTERRAIN VEHICLE REGISTRATION APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OR DUPLICATE

—PLEASE PRINT—

ROMERTON _001-AA
REGISTAA
REGUEEAIIN  (cHEcK ong) O puPLIGATE $4.00 B TRANSFER $4.00 O RENEWAL & TRANSFER__$22.00
SHOW NEW OWNER OR DUPLICATE INFORMATION HERE SHOW PREVIOUS OWNER [NFORMATION HERE
o T
uer  Smith e _Blliot |, dohn ||,.Smith Mary wodAne
uuuuuuuuuuuu STREETORTORG
Route 10 RR 5
& e T eene SR R B Sare Sease
SR et ioe
Cushing | MN 56443 49 Cushing MN [56443
SAERS TEENEERS SnoaTe g
T,
OPTIONAL opT. | “OPT.
T = oae e ALO FemeRa TEeenG oD
. JKALTNAL198
Kawasaki
1981 AK] B509174 200 $4.00

MAIL TO:

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES
LICENSE BUREAU

500 LAFAYETTE ROAD

ST. PAUL, MN 65155-4026

APPLICANT MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER

MAKE CHECK OR MONEY
ORDER PAYABLE TO:
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES

DO NOT SEND CASH

10-1-90 »

BATE

REQUIRED

SEGHATURE

Procedure for the Transfer of a Valid ATV Registration

Number:

AGE
RE

INFORMATION

REQUIRED:

UIREMENT:

Owner must be 18 years of age or
older.

The new owner must fill out both
sides of the form giving their
complete name and address, the
name and address of the previous
owner, the registration number,
make, year of manufacture, frame
serial number, and the engine
displacement in CCs of the vehicle. If
the new owner presents a current
registration card, attach it to the back
of the application and submit both the
card and application to us.
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OPTIONAL

INFORMATION: Refer to page 1-5.
COUNTY CODE: Refer to page 1-5.
SIGNATURE: The owner of the vehicle must sign

the application, however, a spouse
may sign for a spouse. On multiple
ownerships, only one owner is
required to sign.

FEE: Preprinted on the application.

YALIDATED

RECEIPT: Refer to page 1-5.

REPIACEMENT If the owner requests a

DECALS: replacement decal, this request must
be written at the top of the

application. We will send them their
new decals. THERE IS NO
CHARGE FOR REPLACEMENT
DECALS.

1-45



OFFICE USE

DEPARTMENT OF X ECTSTRATION NG
NESOTA
NATURAL RESOURCES —

No.A 75076 00 o ware s seaces

ALLTERRAIN VEHICLE REGISTRATION APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OR DUPLICATE

REGISTRATION - —PLEASE PRINT—
NUMBER __001-an
REGISTRATION
REQUESTED: (CHECK ONE) [ DUPLICATE $4.00 ] TRANSFER. $4.00 7" wAL & TRANSFER___$22.00
SHOW NEW OWNER OR DUPLICATE INFORMATION HERE SHOW PREVIOUS OWNER INFORMATION HERE
R AE
wer SMith wdlliot  |.Jghn Smith pMary wal@ne
STREETGARFONG STREETGRAFG NG
Route 10 RR 5
g e T Go0E SEUNTY wiEnE GG i TP CoBE
TV1S USED MOSTS
} MN 56443 49 Cushing MN ( 56443 |
BRIVER's LICENSE 10 FRTHORTE FHGNE NUMBER
{BuRING
omma s ) .
OPTIONAL OPT. () OPT.
T TAE THooEL TAANESERALNG TNGMESIZE FEEenoLosts
JKALTNA198 |[co
1981 | Kawasaki B509174 200 $22.00
APPLICANT MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER
MAIL TO: AKE CHECK OR MONEY
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF . N ROER PATABLE TO"
NATURAL RESOURGES MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
LICENSE BUREAU 10-1-90 » REQUIRED NATURAL RESOURCES
500 LAFAYETTE ROAD
ST.PAUL, MN 55155-4026 oRE WEW OWHER ESIGRATURE DO NOT SEND CASH

Procedure for the Renewal and Transfer of a Valid ATV
Registration Number:

In the case of a renewal and transfer
transaction, check the renewal and
transfer box at the top of the
application. The $22.00 fee is
preprinted on the application.

AGE Owner must be 18 years of age or
UIREMENT: older.

INFORMATION The new owner must fill out the form,

REQUIRED: giving their complete name and
address, the previous owner’s name
and address, and the make, year of
manufacture, frame serial number,
and the engine displacement in CCs
of the vehicle. If the new owner
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OPTIONAL

INFORMATION:

COUNTY CODE:

SIGNATURE:

FEE:

VALIDATED
RECEIPT:

presents a current registration card,
attach it to the back of the application
and submit both the card and
application to us.

Refer to page 1-5.
Refer to page 1-5.

The owner must sign the application,
however, a spouse may sign for a
spouse. On multiple ownerships, only
one owner is required to sign the
application

"$18.00 for a three year license plus

the $4.00 transfer fee.

Refer to page 1-5.

1-47



OFFICE USE
3

WS

DEPARTMENT OF
NESOTA
NATURAL RESOURCES
THECRED

No. A 75077

ALLTERRAIN VEHICLE REGISTRATION APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OR DUPLICATE

REGISTRATION —PLEASE PRINT—
NUMBER __001-AA
REGISTRATION
REQUESTED ~  (CHECK ONE) @bupLicate_ $4.00 O transrer__ $4.00 O RENEWAL & TRANSFER__$22.00

SHOW NEW OWNER OR DUPLICATE INFORMATION HERE SHOW PREVIOUS OWNER INFORMATION HERE
NAME " NAME
us Smith .Plliot |, gJohn | . - oot
SREETGRRFO RO TR GR RIS

Route 10 E
i B3 T o0E SO eRE G T T cooe

SRS UsEn mosT

Cushing MN 56443 49 ‘ I

SAVERSUCENGENS TAToRE FERENTER
it

OPTIONAL OPT. | BT,

EAR l'klAnE MAODE. FRAME SER'ALNO l ECNPWESZE FEE ENCLOBED
JKALTNAL198B .
-4 200 4,00
1981] Kawasaki £09174 54,
APPLICANT MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER
MAIL TO: - MAKE CHECK OR MONEY
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF ORDER PAYABLE TO
NATURAL RESOURCES MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
LICENSE BUREAU 10-1-90 . NOT REQUIRED NATURAL RESOURCES
500 LAFAYETTE ROAD
== T ETNER T T B DO NOT SEND CASH

ST PAUL, MN §5155-4026

Procedure for a Request for a Duplicate ATV Registration

Card:

INFORMATION Applicant must fill out the left-hand

REQUIRED: side of the form, giving the owner’s
complete name and address and the
registration number, make, year of
manufacture, frame serial number,
and engine displacement in CCs of
the vehicle.

OPTIONAL
INFORMATION: Refer to page 1-5.

COUNTY CODE: Refer to page 1-5.

SIGNATURE: Requested but not required.
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FEE:

VALIDATED
RECEIPT:

REPIACEMENT
DECALS:

Preprinted on the application.

Refer to page 1-5.

If the applicant requests a
replacement decal, this request must
be written at the top of the
application.We will send them their
new decal. THERE IS NO CHARGE
FOR A REPLACEMENT DECAL.
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NA-00465-01 r—————- 1"OR OFFICE USL ONLY

DEPARTMENT OF
NNESOTA
NATURAL RESOURCES
NO. O 1 6 7 O 4 (Do NoT WRITE 1N THIS SPACE]

PRIVATE/AGRICULTURAL ATV REGISTRATION APPLICATION

CHECKED | REGISTRATION NOT

—PLEASE PRINT—

REGISTRATION
REQUESTED: [CHECK ONE) 1. muﬂzmsﬂmﬁb $6.00  , [JpurLicate l“msm"‘oﬂ - ) $4.00 NON-TRANSFERABLE
WAE
wer  Smith masr Elliot wooceJONN | make_ Kawasaki
SYREET OR AFD No.

Route 10 vyEAR__ 1981
Cag Trave Tir coor TeounTy wnene ATV 18

. GeED MosT] (FRAME)

Cushing MN 56443 seriAL No, JKLTNA198B509174

DRIVER'S LICENSE ZF BIRTHDATS PFHONE NUMBER
ENGINE SIZE
OPTIONAL opT. |{ ) oP®. P 200
10-1-90 REQUIRED
DATE OWNER'S SIGNATURE

MAIL TO: APPLICANT MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES N ATV
HicENSE BunEA FEE ENCLOSED ._$6.00 Srarutes Bhsn, sUBDIEER e
ST. PAUL, MN 55155-4026 MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO: RS e i

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES LOW-PRESSURE TIRES, BUT NOT MORE
THAN SIX TIRES, THAT 1S LIMITED IN

_BoNoT A e
Procedure for a Private icultural Registration of an

ATV:

“Private/Agricultural ATV” is
defined as an ATV used exclusively for
agricultural purposes and/or on
private land.

AGE REQUIREMENT: Owner must be 18 years of age or
older.

INFORMATION Owner must fill out the form,

REQUESTED: giving their complete name and
address, and the make, year of
manufacture, frame serial number,

and the engine displacement in
CCs of the vehicle.
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OPTIONAL

INFORMATION:

COUNTY CODE:

SIGNATURE:

FEE:

VALIDATION
STAMP:

Refer to page 1-5.
Refer to page 1-5.

The owner of the ATV must sign the
application, however, a spouse may
sign for a spouse. On multiple
ownerships, only one owner is
required to sign the application.

$6.00. This registration is valid as

long as the ATV is owned by the
original applicant.

Refer to page 1-5.



i/ 0065 01 If - FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

| THTRY PTERTEI

DEPARTMENT OF lﬁ |
6 15 ik, I {
NATURAL RESOURCES _H i :
i
- ar.
N0.016705 R TP

PRIVATE/AGRICULTURAL ATV REGISTRATION APPLICATION

PLEASE PRINT

RESCIIAR Mhen one) om0 3800 Lean (B700001 1y he  NON-TRANSFERABLE

T T i
Lasr Smith cwsr Blliot wosdkONN waxe . Kawasaki
FEN : C - .
o Route 10 ﬁ‘ YEAR___ 1981
cire ];nn f1v caoe leaunT e waene ATy i
. . e {FRAME)
~ Cushing | MmN 56443 49 | SERIAL NOJKLPNAL%8B509174
GRiVRR's LiGLsL 2 winwoaTe | boni numeER i
OPTIONAL oPT. I} OPT, ENGINESIZE  5q¢
1 B (=1} - R -
10-1-90 NOT REQUIRED
T T TTeave T T GWHEW & SULHATURE
MAIL TO APPLICANT MUST BE 1&g YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER
IAIHNESOTA DEFARTHERT OF
EeouRCE - SEsOTA
LIS GURCAG FEE ENCLOSED . $4 AQ_O_‘I N rates e g Essa
\n6 LAFAVETTE ROAD =R, FolAo S A MBTORIZED FLoTATION TINED

ST. PAUL, MN 55155-4026 MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDFR PAYABLE TO CEMICLE OF (1GT LESe A THIES
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES  Low-PRESSURE TIRES, HUT HOTMORL

LU TOTEL o' WEvT LELS AT S0

Procedure for Private/Agricultural ATV Duplicate
Card:

INFORMATION Applicant must fill out the form giving

REQUIRED: the owner’s complete name and
address, the registration number,
make, year of manufacture, frame
serial number, and engine
displacement in CCs of the vehicle.

OPTIONAL
INFORMATION: Refer to page 1-5.

COUNTY CODE: Refer to page 1-5.
SIGNATURE: Requested but not required.

FEE: $4.00. Preprinted on application.
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VALIDATED
RECEIPT:

REPLACEMENT
DECAL:

Refer to page 1-5.

If the applicant requests a replacement
decal, this request must be written at
the top of the application. We will send
them their new decal. THERE IS NO
CHARGE FOR A REPLACEMENT
DECAL.
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RELATED INFORMATION

Decals

Watercraft, snowmobile and all-terrain vehicle decals are
provided to customers by the DNR License Bureau. When we
receive an unregistered, renewal, or renewal and transfer
application, we process it and then mail the decals directly to
the customer along with their registration card.

Replacement Decals
THERE IS NO CHARGE FOR REPLACEMENT DECALS.

Customers may obtain replacement decals by making a verbal
or written request directly to the DNR License Bureau. We will
mail the decals directly to the customer as soon as we verify
that they have a valid registration.

Watercraft and Snowmeobile Guides

Offer each customer a copy of the watercraft and/or
snowmobile guide. Customers may also write or call us at the
DNR License Bureau for a copy.

All-Terrain Vehicle Guides

ATV guides are unavailable at this time. We regret any
inconvenience that this may cause you, or your/our customers.
We will let you know immediately when this situation changes.

Weekly Report Forms
We require a weekly report of watercraft, snowmobile, and all-

terrain vehicle transactions from each deputy registrar office. If
none of these transactions occur in your office during any given
week, submit a report to us with the “No Transactions” box
checked.

On the weekly report form, list all applications in the
appropriate column. The complete name, address, and zip code
of the customer must be listed. The application itself must be
listed in the following manner:

a) Watercraft, snowmobile, and all-terrain vehicle hard-
copy applications must be listed using the receipt
number found in the upper left-hand corner of the
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application. These receipt numbers must be used and
listed in strict sequential order.

b) Watercraft, snowmobile, and all-terrain vehicle soft-copy
renewals — these are the renewals with the tear-off
receipt — must be listed using the DNR registration
number. They must be either listed on a separate report
page, or, if listed on the same page as other
transactions, clearly separated from them.

Lastly, list the fee paid for each transaction in the
appropriate column, subtotal each column on each page,
and record the grand total for all of the transactions in
the report only once: in the “total fees remitted” box at
the bottom of the last page of your report. Submit one
check to cover the entire report. Make your check
payable to the DNR License Bureau.

Information Concerning Validated, 60 Day Receipts

Issue a validated receipt to a customer when they apply and pay
the fee for a watercraft, snowmobile, or all-terrain vehicle
transaction. This receipt can be used by the customer, as a
temporary license, until they receive their registration card and
decals from the DNR License Bureau. Inform the customer that
their registration card or validated receipt must be carried when
they are using their watercraft, snowmobile, or all-terrain
vehicle. Canoe, kayak, rowing shell, paddleboat, sailboat, and
sailboard users are the only exceptions to this rule; they are not
required to carry the registration card or validated receipt when
using these watercraft.

Validated receipts come in two styles:

1. Hard Copy: the carbon copy attached to all
watercraft, snowmobile, and all-terrain vehicle hard-
copy application forms, and

2. Soft Copy: the tear-off portion of all watercraft,
snowmobile, and all-terrain vehicle renewal forms.



In both cases, the receipt must be validated with the
green, deputy registrar validation stamp.

The following paragraphs, A. and B., describe situations other
than normal transactions, in which you may issue a validated
receipt:

A. Lost or Destroyed Original Receipt
When a customer loses or destroys their original
validated receipt, have them fill out a duplicate
registration card application. They must pay the
appropriate fee. You may not issue a second receipt
“no fee” without an OK from the DNR License
Bureau. If you obtain an OK to do so, please write, at
the top of the application, the initials of the
individual from the DNR License Bureau who
approved the “no fee” transaction.

If the original transaction involved an unregistered
watercraft, snowmobile, or all-terrain vehicle, write
NEW in the “license number” blank on the
application. For all other types of transaction, fill in
the DNR registration number. In all cases, be sure
to write the words “duplicate receipt” at the top of
the application. These applications are treated the
same as a normal duplicate registration card
application: a second registration card will be issued
to the customer.

B. Receipt Requests When The Original
Application Has Been Sent Through The Mail
If a customer asks you for a validated receipt, but
has mailed the original application directly to the
DNR License Bureau, they must register the
watercraft, snowmobile, or ATV a second time. Be
sure to write “second registration” at the top of
this second application. Have the customer submit
payment for this second registration in the form of a
personal check.

Attach the customer’s check to the back of the
second application, and the DNR License Bureau
will hold this check for second application until the
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original application has been processed. Once the
original application has cleared, the customer's
second check will be returned to them, and the
second application will be destroyed. This
procedure allows the customer to use the watercraft,
snowmobile, or ATV legally until the original
application is processed, and a registration card and
decal(s) sent.

Information Concerning Expired, Validated, 60 Day
Receipts

If a customer brings in an original receipt that has expired,
contact the DNR License Bureau for instructions. If we cannot
be reached, you may go ahead and revalidate the receipt, but be
sure, in this case, to instruct the customer to contact the DNR
License Bureau, so we can determine what went wrong in the
processing of the application. Not receiving a registration card
within 60 days of applying indicates a problem, and we must be
notified in order to correct it.

DO NOT REVALIDATE ANY RECEIPT MORE
THAN ONCE

Placement of Watercraft, Snowmobile, and All-Terrain
Vehicle Decal(s) and Regdistration Numbers

Instructions for the proper placement of watercraft, snowmobile
and all-terrain vehicle decal(s) and registration numbers may be
found in the addendum of this booklet. These instructions are
also printed on the backing paper of the decals, and in the
watercraft and snowmobile guides. (No ATV guide available.)

Exceptions:

Non-motorized rubber raft owners may place the
registration numbers and the decals on two pieces of
board and attach the boards to the tow ropes on the
outside of the raft.

Sailboard owners must affix the decals to the stern of
the watercraft. If the decals will not adhere to the
board, or for special problems not covered here, the
owner should contact the DNR License Bureau for
instructions.



Removal of Decals

Instructions for removing decals from watercraft, snowmobiles,
and all-terrain vehicles may be found in Section One, Appendix
B of this handbook. Call the DNR License Bureau if extra
copies are needed.

Miscellaneous Information

The owner of a motorized canoe or sailboat must affix the DNR
registration number on the sides of the watercraft in the same
manner as on a pleasure* watercraft. The registration fee is the
same as for any canoe or sailboat 19 feet in length or under:
$7.00.

* Pleasure watercraft are defined as: utility boats (including
fishing), runabouts, cruisers (hardtop cabins), pontoons
(twin-hulled), houseboats, rafts (inflatables except canoe-
shaped inflatables), personal watercraft (jetski, wet bikes), and
“other” (otherwise unspecified watercraft).

FYI: The following is a list of sailboard makes:

Alpha JJ Sail-Co

Bix Kirma Sun Surger
Cayestar Mach 3 Topflight
Connely Marken Vinta
Dufour Mistrall Whaler

F 2 Comet O’Brien Wiki
Happy Marlin Rocker Express ~ Windsurfer
Hi Fly

Supply Requests
For timely delivery, be sure to order supplies well in advance.

Use the supply order form provided by the DNR License

Bureau. Help us to serve you by ordering well in advance during

the peak renewal times for watercraft, snowmobiles, and all-

terrain vehicles, as these are our busiest times of the year. Also,
be sure to boldly mark you envelope “SUPPLIES ORDER?” for

[ etter service.

If You Change Address, Phone Number, or Personnel

Please notify the DNR License Bureau immediately if your office
changes its location, phone number(s), or lead personnel.
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MINNESOTA STANDARD COUNTY CODES

01 AITKIN

02 ANOKA

03 BECKER

04 BELTRAMI
05 BENTON

06 BIG STONE
07 BLUE EARTH
08 BROWN

09 CARLTON

10 CARVER

11 CASS

12 CHIPPEWA
13 CHISAGO

14 CLAY

15 CLEARWATER
16 COOK

17 COTTONWOOD
18 CROW WING
19 DAKOTA

20 DODGE

21 DOUGLAS

22 FARIBAULT
23 FILLMORE
24 FREEBORN
25 GOODHUE
26 GRANT

27 HENNEPIN
28 HOUSTON

29 HUBBARD

30 ISANTI
31ITASCA

32 JACKSON

33 KANABEC

34 KANDIYOHI

35 KITTSON

36 KOOCHICHING
37 LAC QUI PARLE
38 LAKE

39 LAKE OF THE WOODS

40 LE SUEUR

41 LINCOLN

42 LYON

43 MC LEOD

44 MAHNOMEN
45 MARSHALL
46 MARTIN

47 MEEKER

48 MILLE LACS
49 MORRISON
50 MOWER

51 MURRAY

52 NICOLLET
53 NOBLES

54 NORMAN

56 OLMSTED

56 OTTER TAIL
57 PENNINGTON
58 PINE

59 PIPESTONE
60 POLK

61 POPE

62 RAMSEY

63 RED LAKE
64 REDWOOD
65 RENVILLE

66 RICE

67 ROCK

68 ROSEAU

69 ST. LOUIS

70 SCOTT

71 SHERBURNE
72 SIBLEY

73 STEARNS

74 STEELE

75 STEVENS

76 SWIFT
77'TODD

78 TRAVERSE
79 WABASHA
80 WADENA

81 WASECA

82 WASHINGTON
83 WATONWAN
84 WILKIN

85 WINONA

86 WRIGHT

87 YELLOW MEDICINE
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WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION DISPIAY
For more detailed instruction, see the
Minnesota Boating Guide.

INSTRUCTIONS
¢ Remove expired decals. By law only the current decals
may be visible.

e Make sure boat surface is clean before applying decal.

e Peel decal away from backing and apply by pressing
from center to edge.

BOATS

¢ The license number which appears on your watercraft
license card must be displayed on your boat as shown
below. The numbers and letters must be at least 3

inches high.
License Number Area /\\

'00. 000 DD"E&:I

Decal to rear
Less than and within 4"
4" space of license number
on both sides of boat

2"-3" space

Only Current Decal Decal Must Be Placed
May Be Visible To The Stern Of Number

CANOES, SAILBOATS, SAILBOARDS & KAYAKS

* You may apply just the decal to each side of the bow as
shown unless your craft is motorized.

e L,
" Both Sides %
If you use a motor you must display the license number using 3 inch
letters and numerals on both sides of the cvaft as shown below.

Both Sides

Both




SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION DISPIAY
For more detailed instruction, see the
Minnesota Snowmobile Guide.

INSTRUCTIONS

* Remove all expired decals. By law only the current set
of decals may be displayed.

o Make sure the surface is WARM, free of grease and oil
or dirt before applying decal.

¢ Peel decal away from backing and press down firmly
from center to edge to make sure material is adhering
tightly.

e Registration number and decals are to be affixed on
each side of the cowling on the upper half of the
machine as follows:

r AB 123 (7

(ALL LETTERS AND NUMBERS SHALL BE OF A
CONTRASTING COLOR TO THE MACHINE AND SHALL
BE AT LEAST THREE (3) INCHES HIGH 3/8 INCH
STROKE.)



ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLE REGISTRATION DISPLAY
INSTRUCTIONS

Remove expired decals. Only the current decal must be
visible.

e Make sure plate surface is clean before applying decal.

e Peel decal away from backing and apply by pressing
center to edge.

e Ifyou have a “public use” registration, the registration
number which appears on your ATV registration card
must be displayed on a plate measuring a minimum of
4-1/8 inches high by 7-1/2 inches across as shown

“below. Numbers and letters must be at least 2 inches
high with a stroke width of at least 1/4 inch.

e “Private” or “agricultural” use only registrations need
only display the sticker on the plate.

¢ Dual registrations should display both stickers on the

same plate.
RECREATIONAL © 1 ©)
OR SAMPLE
PUBLIC USE
DISPLAY ] 2 3 A F
Decal must be centered
above number.
AGRICULTURAL -
OR PRIVATE USE G—j
DISPLAY
DECAL”
DUAL REC. ~ ~ AG.
REGISTRATION REG. ——% -ﬁ [2e |<_-_-—REG.
DISPLAY STICK. L) STICK.
(color ] 23 A F (bright
varies) green)

e The registration display plate must be mounted on the
rear of the machine. Owners must provide their own
plate which must be of a color that will contrast with the
registration number and decal.
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DIRECTIONS FOR REMOVING
WATERCRAFT, SNOWMOBILE, AND ATV DECALS

USING A RAZOR BLADE, START PULLING A CORNER OF
THE DECAL AWAY FROM THE SURFACE.

APPLY MINERAL SPIRITS OR PAINT THINNER TO THAT
CORNER TO MELT THE ADHESIVE. NOTE: TEST AN
AREA THAT DOES NOT SHOW TO MAKE SURE IT
DOESN’T HARM THE FINISH. DO NOT USE A

LACQUER-BASED THINNER. DO NOT SMOKE OR USE
THESE SUBSTANCES NEAR AN OPEN FLAME,

CONTINUE ALTERNATING BETWEEN THE RAZOR BLADE
AND THE THINNER UNTIL THE DECAL IS REMOVED.
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'SECTION TWO

WATERCRAFT
TITLING



Effective January 1, 1991, watercraft titling is required as per
MN statutes, Chapter 86B. This handbook contains information
regarding title procedure and statute requirements.

Whether you are working in the capacity of a Deputy Registrar
of Motor Vehicles, or are employed as a boat dealer or dealer’s
representative, you should be familiar with all of the aspects of
watercraft titling that are covered in this handbook. Please read
the entirve handbook regardless of your particular role in the titling
process.

If you find that you are unclear on any of the procedures, or
have any questions, please feel free to contact us. Call the
watercraft titling section of the DNR License Bureau at
(612) 296-7007.
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CHAPTER 1

BACKGROUND,
REQUIREMENTS
&
EXEMPTIONS



WATERCRAFT THAT ARE REQUIRED TO BE TITLED

Any watercraft over 16 feet in length and manufactured after
August 1, 1979, that is not specifically exempted by law must have
a certificate of title if:

1)

2)

the watercraft is owned by a resident of this state and is
kept in the state for more that 90 days; o7

the watercraft is kept in the state for more than 60
consecutive days, and has not been issued a certificate
of title or similar document from another jurisdiction.

WATERCRAFT THAT ARE EXEMPT FROM TITLING

1)
2)
3)
4)
5)
6)

7)
8)

9)
10)

11)

12)
13)
14)

Watercraft 16 feet or less in length

Watercraft manufactured prior to August 1, 1979
Canoes |

Kayaks

Ship’s lifeboats

Vessels of at least five tons measured in Code of Federal
Regulation, title 46, subpart 46, part 69, that are
documented under Code of Federal Regulations, title 46,
subpart 67.01

Seaplanes

Watercraft owned by a manufacturer or dealer and held
for sale

Watercraft used by a manufacturer solely for testing

Watercraft from a jurisdiction other than this state,
temporarily using the waters of this state

Watercraft owned by the United States, a state, this
state, or a political subdivision

Duck boats used only during duck hunting season
Rice boats used only during wild rice harvesting season

Watercraft owned by a person, firm, or corporation
operating a resort as defined in section 157.01, subd. 1,
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or a recreational camping area as defined in section
327.14, Subd. 8, except with respect to previously titled
watercraft

15) Row-type* fishing boats of single hull construction, with
oar locks and outboard motor capacity ratings of less
than 40 horsepower

16) Watercraft titled in another state

*Some of the boats which fall into the rowboat exemption under
titling:

Manufacturer Model Years Made Length Horsepower
Alumacraft T16XL 1981-1985 16-3" 35HP
Lowe 17 Paddle Jon 1980-1983 170" 7HP

17 Paddle DIX 1984-1985 170" 7HP

17 Paddle Jon 1988 & 1990 170" UNKNOWN
Starcraft Seafarer 16 1980-1981 165" 35 HP

SF 16 1982 & 1989 165"  35HP

This list is not inclusive - it includes only the major
manufacturers of rowboats found in Minnesota (Alumacraft,
Crestliner, Lowe, Lund, Mirrocraft and Starcraft). Other craft -
which may qualify must be reviewed by the DNR License
Bureau before an exemption will be granted.

MINNESOTA SALES AND USE TAX

Watercraft dealers, marinas, sporting goods stores and similar
vendors are required to charge Minnesota sales tax on sales of
new and used boats. If the boat is purchased from an out of state
dealer for use in Minnesota, the purchaser is required to pay the
Minnesota use tax directly to the State. For help or forms call
296-6181 in the Twin Cities, or 1-800-657-3777 (toll free)
elsewhere in the continental U.S.A. and ask for sales tax
information.

WATERCRAFT TITLING INFORMATION FOR DEALERS

When selling a new or used watercraft that needs to be titled,
the selling dealer is required by law to promptly (within ten
days of the date of sale) submit, on behalf of the customer, the
title application with all supporting documents to the local
deputy registrar office or the Department of Natural Resources
License Bureau, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 55155.

2-2



Dealers are required to sign the customer’s title application in the
appropriate area. The dealer’s signature certifies that all
information on the title application, including the complete lien
information, is correct. Lien information consists of the lender’s
exact name and address, and the date and time of perfection.

It is mandatory that the dealer submit title documents (for
watercraft subject to title law) on behalf of customers, however,
registration of the watercraft is optional for the dealer. When
customers register their own watercraft, they must present proof
that they have applied for title.

Proofis the second copy of the title application after it has been
validated by the deputy registrar. This also serves as a 60 day
permit allowing the owner’s legal use of the boat until the
application is processed and the decals are mailed to the
customer.

The law prohibits registration or renewal of a boat subject to title
law unless the customer can provide proof of having filed the
title application. Therefore, be aware of the following and mform
the customer accordingly:

1. If a dealer chooses to title and register the boat for the
customer, the customer’s validated copy of the title
application (second copy) serves as a 60 day permit
allowing the customer’s legal use of the boat until the
registration is processed by the DNR.

Inform the customer that they will need to return to the
dealer to pick up their validated copy of the
title/registration form.

2. If the dealer chooses not to register the boat for the
customer, the customer will need to obtain from the
dealer the validated copy of the title application so that
the customer then may present it when applying for
registration.

WHEN PURCHASING A USED BOAT
TO HOLD FOR RESALE

When purchasing a used boat for resale it will be necessary to
obtain any existing title and registration card from the seller(s)
with a bill of sale signed by all owner(s) indicating the sale to
the dealer.
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Things a dealer should watch for to avoid transfer problems.

1. Look for liens noted on a title certificate or registration
card (especially out of state documents).

a. Ifliens are noted and not released, a transfer will not
be possible until releases are obtained.

b. A signature, (not initials) by an authorized agent
releases the lien.

c. Photocopies of bill(s) of sale or of lien releases are
not acceptable.

2. Look for a complete chain of ownership. When a
certificate of title (or if not titled, a registration card) is
submitted to transfer the boat, look for the listed owner
on the document and obtain a complete chain of
ownership with the first bill of sale signed by all owners
listed on that document.

WATERCRAFT DEALER LICENSE

Watercraft dealers, motor dealers, wholesalers and
manufacturers may apply for a dealer’s license for watercraft
used for demonstration purposes or for any other purpose
necessary to conduct business. The DNR will issue to licensed
dealers one number to be displayed on boats which are used for
these reasons. This number may be detachable from the
watercraft.

10 DAY PERMITS

The 10 Day Permit allows the legal use of a watercraft by a
customer for a period of 10 days before the boat must be
registered and, if required, titled. These permits are available
only to dealers that are licensed with the DNR.

See the “registration” section of this handbook for further
details.
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SUBMITTING
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DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES




HOW TO SUBMIT WATERCRAFT TITLE APPLICATIONS

Most boat owners applying for title will have a Minnesota
registration card that lists the owner(s). It is anticipated that the
majority will not have any other form of ownership
documentation. Where this is so, the following will be required:

1. The registration card

2. The person (owner) listed on the registration card must
complete a Title Application (form NA-00256.)

3. The Owner must complete a Statement of Facts
indicating the history of the boat such as:

a. When it was purchased.

b. What happened to the manufacturer’s statement of
origin.
c. Who it was purchased from.

d. Any other information pertaining to the ownership of
the boat.

Submit the above with a $15.00 title fee for initial title. Collect .
the registration fee. A $2.00 surcharge is due when the
registration is paid and the boat is 17 ft. or longer. Add the $3.25
filing fee.

Note: In these cases, because ownership has not been proved, a
distinctive title will be in effect. Four months after it is issued,
this distinctive title will be Prima Facie proof of ownership.

TITLING NEW WATERCRAFT REQUIRES:

1. A Manufacturers Certificate of Origin properly assigned
to new owner. Photo copies are not acceptable.

2. An application for Title completed and signed by all
purchaser(s) and also signed by the dealey.

3. Any applicable fees.
TITLING USED WATERCRAFT REQUIRES:

1. A current Minnesota or other state’s title, and/or (if the
boat is not titled) a current registration card.

2. Any existing liens must be listed on the application.
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3. An Application for Title must be completed on the
Minnesota Title itself or on the Application for Title
(form NA-00256). If the application form # NA-00256 is
used, any existing title must be submitted also. If the
original title has been lost or destroyed a duplicate title
can be applied for. (SEE DUPLICATE TITLE
PROCEDURE)

4. When the registered owner is selling, bill(s) of sale
completed by the seller(s) must show complete chain of
ownership, description of boat and date of sale. (If there
isn’t enough room for the complete chain of ownership
on the title, attach additional bill(s) of sale.)

5. All other supporting documents, depending on type of
application made, i.e. transfer, death transfer,
repossession, etc.

6. All applicable fees.

PROOF OF OWNERSHIP

Any private party or dealer purchasing a used boat that
has not been titled will need to obtain proof of ownership
such as: :

1. Manufacturers Certificate (or Statement) of Origin (f
available), with complete chain of ownership.

2. The current or most recent registration card.
3. Bill(s) of sale to complete chain of ownership.

4. Statement of facts. (This is a statement written and
signed by the owner giving a history of the watercraft
showing when, how the boat was acquired, and why
there are no documents proving ownership. If the
manufacturer’s statement of origin verifies that the
applicant is the current owner, a statement of facts will
not be needed.)

5. A title application completed by the purchaser.
Remember to collect all applicable fees.

WHEN THERE IS NO PROOF OF OWNERSHIP

When there is no previous title or Manufacturer’s Certificate of
Origin, the last registration card issued with complete chain of
ownership, plus a signed statement of facts (concerning the boat
and its’ ownership,) may allow the DNR to issue a distinctive
title.
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If the last registration card has been lost a duplicate must be
applied for from the state where the boat was last registered or a
statement on that state’s letterhead indicating recorded
owner(s) and title information must be obtained and submitted.

Without valid proof of ownership, the law requires that a boat be
bonded for a period of three (3) years at one and a half times its
“value before a title can be issued.

However, with the latest registration card, a complete chain
of ownership and an affidavit of protection, a distinctive title
may be issued for a period of four months. If, after four months
the ownership is not contested, the distinctive title will become a
negotiable title.

When there is no proof of ownership, the boat may be required to
be bonded. Bonding requires that the following be submitted to
the DNR:

1. A statement of facts (which is a history of the boat.)

2. An affidavit of protection (which is a statement written
and signed by the owner stating “I agree to defend and
protect the state of Minnesota against any claim of
ownership that may arise regarding this watercraft after I
am issued a Minnesota title.”)

3. Photos of the boat; top, transom, bow and both sides
(enough to allow proper evaluation of the boat’s
condition.)

Unclear photos will not be accepted. Photos may not be
returned.

4. Application for title by owner.
5. All applicable fees.

PLEASE NOTE:

Common delays of the titling process are missing bills of sales in
the chain of ownership, or two or more owners listed on the title
or registration card when only one of them has signed the bill of
sale.

REGISTRATION

Law prohibits the registration or renewal of a boat that is subject
to title until the title application is filed.

When a dealer does not register or renew a boat (that requires
registration) at the same time as filing a title application, the
customer will need proof from the dealer that the title was
applied for. “Proof” would be the validated copy of the title
application.
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CHAPTER III
LIEN INFORMATION
AND PROCEDURES



DEFINITION OF A SECURITY INTEREST

In regard to watercraft titling, the term “secured interest” refers
to an agreement between the watercraft owner(s) and the
lender, using the watercraft as collateral.

CERTAIN ILIEN CATEGORIES
DO NOT AFFECT TITLING

The provisions of this law do not apply to the following
situations:

1. Alien given by statute or rule of law to a supplier of
services or materials for a watercraft. (e.g. garagemen’s
lien)

2. Alien given by statute to the United States, this state, or
any political subdivision of this state. (e.g. tax lien)

3. A security interest in a watercraft created by a
manufacturer or dealer who holds the watercraft for sale.
(e.g. floor planning)

Also, the provisions of this law do not apply to any watercraft
which is not required to be titled in this state.

WITH THE HELP OF A LOAN

When a watercraft has been purchased with the help of a loan,
the loan information must be written on the title application. The
Certificate of Title will be held by the lienholder until the loan is
satisfied and the lien release has been signed off. On any title
application the lien information must be completed by the
purchaser.

The DNR cannot accept the title application if the question on
the application referring to the lien has not been answered or if
liens are indicated and full names and addresses are not shown.

For each lien listed, the purchaser(s) must fill in the full name of
the secured party and their street address, city, state and zip
code. They must show the “date of perfection,” which means the
year, month, and day that the agreement was signed.

Responsibility for correctness of lien information rests with the
selling dealer, the owner and/or the lien holder. The dealer, as
well as the customer, is obligated by law to see that the correct
information is on the Application for Title for watercraft that they
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are selling/buying. They are both also obligated to sign the
Application for Title.

The certificate of title will be sent to the first secured party. If
there are no loans on the boat, the certificate of title will be sent
to the owner.

If the street address or box number is not shown (even for small
towns) the Post Office may not deliver a Certificate of Title.

PERFECTION OF A SECURED INTEREST

To perfect a security interest, the secured party must deliver to
the DNR the existing Certificate of Title, or, if none exists, an
application for a Certificate of Title (form NA-00256) containing
the name and address of the secured party and the date of the
security agreement. They must pay the appropriate fees. For
each additional security interest created in Minnesota, the
proper application material (form NA-00269) must be filed, along
with the $10.00 fee for each additional security interest to be
listed.

FEE EXCEPTION: The first time a watercraft is titled the fee
for both title and all liens existing at that time is $15.00 plus the
83.25 filing fee.

If the secured party delivers notification of a security interest to
the Department of Natural Resources License Bureau within ten
days after the security interest is created, the security interest is
perfected as of the date of its creation. However, if these time
requirements are not adhered to, the date of perfection is the
date of delivery and payment.

If a Certificate of Title has been issued to the watercraft owner,
and this owner then wishes to establish a secured party, this can
be accomplished as follows:

1. List lien holder and date of secured interest in proper
place on form NA-00269 (Notification of Assignment,
Grant or Release of Security interest). The grant form
must show the full watercraft description, including Hull
Identifiction Number (HIN) which is mandatory. If the
boat was never issued a HIN, one will be assigned by the
DNR License Bureau. (SEE SECTION ON HULL
IDENTIFICATION NUMBERS.)

2. All owners must sign the grant form.
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Notarization #not required.

4. Collect the $10.00 fee for each secured party to be added
to an existing Certificate of Title.

5. Collect the $3.25 filing fee.

6. Attach the Certificate of Title and submit to the DNR
License Bureau.

The grant form submitted must be the original with the owner’s
actual signature. Carbon or photo copies are not acceptable.

The only signature that is required to add a secured interest is
the owner’s, however, all owners must sign. The secured party’s
signature is not necessary.

Assignment of a Security Interest

A secured party may assign all or part of a security interest to
another party or parties.

Until the assignee is named as secured party on the title, the
original secured party remains liable for any obligations as
secured party; any person without notice of the assignment is
protected in dealings with the original secured party. The
security interest remains perfected, even though assigned.

Assignment of a security interest by the original lien holder may
be accomplished as follows:

1. Assignment form (form NA-00269 ) must be completed
with the watercraft description and signed by the
recorded lienholder.

a. Form NA-00269 must indicate the name of the party
that the lien is being assigned to.

b. The date of perfection stays the same.

Lien must not have already been released by the
original lienholder.

d. Notarization is not required.

2. Collect the $1.00 reassignment fee and the $3.25 filing
fee.

3. Attach assignment form and fees to the existing
Certificate of Title and submit them to the DNR License
Bureau.
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Release of Secured Interest

Within 15 days after satisfaction of a security agreement, the
lienholder holds the Certificate of Title, they execute their
release on the proper part of the Certificate of Title and forward
it to the next secured party, or, if there are no other secured
parties, to the owner.

If the lienholder has already given the title to the owner, then
the lienholder executes the release on the Assignment, Grant
and/or Release Form (form NA-00269) and forwards it to the
owner.

A lien may be rveleased by the lien holder’s signing of the
Certificate of Title in the lien release area or on a grant form that
is attached to the title. A lien may also be released by the lien
holder’s signed statement on letterhead stationery. This
statement must describe the boat completely and indicate that
the lien has been satisfied. Whether the lien holder is a company
or an individual the full signature of the authorized agentor
individual is required.

PLEASE NOTE THAT:

1. The only signature required to release a secured interest
is that of the lienholder.

2. The lien release form must bear an original signature. A
photo or carbon copy is not acceptable.

3. The lien can be released on the Certificate of Title or by
attaching a properly completed Release Form (form NA-
00269) to the title.

4. If the only transaction taking place is the release of the
lien, there is no fee due when submitting the release,
except the deputy registrar’s $3.25 service charge.
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- CHAPTER IV
DUPLICATE TITLES



DUPLICATE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE

In the event that the original Certificate of Title has been lost,
stolen, destroyed or mutilated in any way, application must be
made for a Duplicate Certificate of Title.

Application for a duplicate must be completed by the owner, the
owner’s authorized agent with a power of attorney or the
existing secured party.

A duplicate title will contain the words “This Duplicate Certificate
of Title may be subject to the rights of the owner(s) under the
original certificate.”

PILEASE NOTE THAT:

A common error after receiving a duplicate title involves
destroying the duplicate title because the original title has been
found and the owner assumes that it is still valid. This is not so.
Once a new title is issued, even a duplicate, any previous title is
obsolete and cannot be used.

If a duplicate title is destroyed, the title holder must apply agam
for a duplicate and pay the applicable fees.

~ If the original title is found it must be returned to the DNR

License Bureau.

WHEN THE OWNER APPLIES FOR A DUPLICATE
TITLE

Before allowing an owner to make an application for a duplicate
title, ask them if there are any liens on their boat. Many times,
when an owner has realized that they do not have the title
document in their possession, they forget that it is in the hands
of their lienholder. Remind them that when there are liens on a
boat, the title document is automatically sent to the lienholder. If
there are no liens on the boat, it is sent to the owner. Likewise, if
there are liens, once they are satisfied, the title document will be
sent to the owner.

Duplicate title procedure: Original owner or secured
party
1. Complete form NA-00267 (application for
DuplicateTitle).

2. Complete section B (lien release) if the secured party
listed on the original title is releasing their interest. The
release may also be made on the lien form NA-00269.
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3. Fee: $4.00 plus $3.25 filing fee. (If the title was never
received and it has been 6 months or less since the title
transaction was recorded, indicate “title not received”
and no duplicate fee will be charged, however, the $3.25
filing fee still applies.)

4. If the Certificate of Title shows two or more owners,
each of them must sign the Duplicate Watercraft Title
Application (form NA-00267). When a duplicate title
application is accompanied by a transfer to a new owner,
the title generated will be sent to the new owner(s) or to
their lien holder, if there is a lien on the watercraft. In
this case the title will not be marked duplicate.

Duplicate title procedure: Dealers

In order for a dealer to file for a duplicate title for any watercraft
that they are holding for resale, they must first obtain a duplicate
title application signed by the owner(s) or the lienholder. The
dealer may not sign the duplicate title application for a watercraft
not titled in the dealer’s name.

When the certificate of title is lost, stolen or destroyed while in
the possession of the dealer, the paperwork must be re-created.

To do so, use the following procedure:

1. The dealer will be obligated to obtain an Application for
Duplicate Title (form NA-00267) signed by the previous
owner(s) or, if there are liens, by the secured party. Also,
lien releases will have to be signed again.

2. If the dealer still has the bill(s) of sale (from the
person(s) named as owner(s) on the missing title) and
releases of interest from all secured parties, plus all
other pertinent documents, the dealer need only obtain
the signature of the previous owner or the lien holder on
the duplicate title form to hold until the watercraft is sold
or to submit with an application for title in the
dealership's name.

3. If the dealer does not have the bill(s) of sale or lien
releases, they must obtain new bill(s) of sale, and lien
releases as well as a duplicate title application signed by
the previous owner and/or the lienholder.

4. After the dealer has obtained all the new documents
needed to complete the transfer, the dealership can do
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one of the following:

a. Submit these documents and the proper fees with an
application for title completed in the dealership’s
name.

This would produce a title in the dealer’s name.
OR

b. The dealership may hold the paperwork until the
watercraft is sold and then submit an application for
transfer and the application for title completed by the
new purchaser(s), and a bill of sale from the dealer
to the purchaser(s) along with the paperwork for
duplicate title. This would produce a title in the new
owner’s name.

PLEASE NOTE:

When the previous owner cannot be located to obtain duplicate
documents, the only other acceptable form that can be used in
lieu of a bill of sale is a court order. Contact your local
authorities for instructions on obtaining a court order. (See .
sample Court Order in Section Two Appendix D.)

| court order must contain the complete description of the
watercraft so that it is clear to the Department of Natural
Resources which watercraft to transfer as well as to whom. The
court order must clearly direct the action to be taken by the
Department of Natural Resources, directing the Department of
Natural Resources to transfer the described watercraft, listing its
hull identification number and listing the name of the new
owner.
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HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

When a watercratt is titled, the description (year, make, Hull
Identification Number, etc.) of the boat is recorded on the
Certificate of Title.

The title proves ownership of the described watercraft.
Therefore, when the description of the boat (particularly the
Hull Identification Number, or “HIN,”) is recorded on the
application it is vitally important that this description is recorded
accurately.

A watercraft cannot be titled without a Hull Identification
Number.

In the past, watercraft could be renewed or registered without a
HIN, or, the owner was allowed to just pick a number and mark
the watercraft. Title law requires identification of each watercraft
to be unique. Any watercraft bearing a HIN that does not
conform to the Coast Guard regulations regarding HINs will be
assigned a new one by the DNR License Bureau.

WATERCRAFT MUST BEAR EITHER THE ORIGINAL
HIN ISSUED OR IF NO HIN WAS ISSUED, A HIN '
ASSIGNED BY THE DNR THAT CONFORMS TO THE

- UNITED STATES COAST GUARD FORMAT.

Beginning November 1, 1972, boat manufacturers were required
to affix a hull identification number. Boats manufactured after
August 1, 1984 are required to bear two identical HINs. For HIN
location check with the manufacturer. (Also see diagram in this
handbook for HIN location and format.)

If a watercraft manufactured after 1972 does not have a HIN it
will be necessary to contact the Manufacturer for help in
establishing the HIN that was assigned to that watercraft.

When titling watercraft that do not have HINs, the following
procedures are necessary to either re-establish original HINs or
assign new HINs.

1. Obtain a statement on the manufacturer’s letterhead
indicating the number assigned, or,

2. A statement on the manufacturer’s letterhead indicating
that they are unable to establish the number assigned.
(If the number cannot be established, the License
Bureau will assign a HIN in the format required by the
United States Coast Guard.)
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3. Attach either of the above mentioned statements to the
application for title and remit to the DNR License Bureau
with proper fees and any other pertinent documents.

4, If the watercraft is a 1972 or older and a HIN was not
assigned, the DNR will assign the HIN and mail
instructions to the owner. Have the owner attach a
signed statement that they have inspected the boat and
found that it does not have a hull identification number.

5. When a letterhead statement is not available from the
manufacturer, the owner must complete a statement of
facts explaining the reason there is no HIN on the boat
and submit any available documentation supporting their
explanation. '

DIAGRAM FOR LOCATION OF HULL IDENTIFICATION
NUMBERS.

HULL ID
NUMBER

ABC 12345  M78F

Manufacturer  Production  Date of
Code Numbers  Assembly

<
k)
, OR
ABC 12345 0778
Manufacturer  Production  Date of
Code Numbers  Assembly

LOCATION OF THE PRIMARY HULL IDENTIFICATION
SHOULD BE LOCATED IN THE FOLLOWING AREAS:

For boats with transoms,
Look on the starboard outboard side within two inches of the top
of the transom, gunwale, or hull/deck joint, whichever is lowest.

For boats without transoms, or boats on which it would
be impractical to place HIN on the transom,

Look on the starboard outboard side, aft, within one foot of the
stern and within two inches of the hull side, gunwale or hull/
deck joint, whichever is lowest.
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For catamarans and pontoon boats,
Look on the aft crossbeam within one foot of the starboard hull
attachment.

If you cannot locate the hull identification number on your boat
check with a dealer who sells that make watercraft for assistance
or name and address of the manufacturer and write for this

~ information.
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TRANSFERS OF OWNERSHIP

A transfer of ownership is the actual transfer of registration and
title of a Watercraft from one owner to another person.

TRANSFER RESPONSIBILITIES BETWEEN
BUYER AND SEILER

- When the seller of @ watercraft is a private party, they must
deliver the Certificate of Title to the purchaser, with all pertinent
sections of it completed, in order to transfer ownership. The
purchaser must then apply to the DNR for title transfer within 15
days. When the seller is a dealer, the seller is required to deliver
the title to the DNR “promptly,” which is deemed to be within 10
days.

NON-TITLED WATERCRAFT SUBJECT TO TITLING

1. The seller of a watercraft that requires titling, but has not
yet been titled, must provide the buyer with a proper bill
of sale showing complete watercraft information and
bearing the signature of all owners. (DNR form number

(5~ NA-00268.& a watercraft bill of sale and is available at
any Motor Vehicle Deputy Registrar Office or the DNR
License Bureau).

2. The seller must provide proof of ownership. The bill of
sale that they provide must bear their signature, the
purchaser’s name, and the date of sale. For proof of
ownership either a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin
(referred to as MCO or MSO) or a Certificate of Title is
required. When neither of the above is available, collect
the seller’s registration card. This registration card when
accompanied by a statement of facts does not prove
ownership but indicates ownership and will be accepted
if declared as the only proof available. A distinctive title
will be issued in these situations.

3. The purchaser must then apply for a Certificate of Title
by completing a Watercraft Title Application, (form NA-
00256.)

4. Collect all applicable fees and submit them with the bill
of sale and the title application.

TITLED WATERCRAFT

When a certificate of title has been issued to a watercratt, the
completion of all information requested on the front and back
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sides of the title are the only way to transfer the ownership of
the watercraft.

A bill of sale alone is not acceptable. If the certificate of title is
lost, a duplicate certificate must be applied for by the owner. For
duplicate title procedures, see the Duplicate Title section of this
handbook. The Duplicate Title Application (form NA-00267)
should be accompanied by a bill of sale and Application for Title
(form NA-00256.)

WATERCRAFT WITH NO PROOF OF OWNERSHIP

When tangible proof of ownership cannot be established, and no
record of the watercraft can be found on file with the DNR,
(currently, records are maintained indefinitely) the following
procedure is to be followed:

1. A ‘Statement of facts” must be written and signed by the
seller of the watercraft. The statement must give as
much information as possible regarding the history of
the watercraft and must include the following:
Watercraft description: YEAR, MAKE, MODEL, AND
HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (HIN).

How, When, and Where the watercraft was acquired and
why there is no documentary proof of ownership.

2. The applicant (buyer) must copy and sign this
statement: “I agree to defend and protect the state of
Minnesota against any and all future claims of ownership
which may arise after I am issued a Minnesota
Watercraft Title.”

3. The applicant must also submit four clear photographs
or enough to show the entire watercraft and its
condition.

4. All of the above items must be submitted with an
Application to Title/Register a Watercraft (form NA-
00265.) The bill of sale may be executed on this form, or
a separate bill of sale may be attached. (Please indicate
the applicant’s daytime telephone number on the
application, in case it is necessary to contact the
applicant.)

a. Complete the Title Application.
b. Collect title fees and any other pertinent fees.
c. (For Deputy Registrars) - Validate all copies of
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application and submit with the watercraft title
report.

d. For faster title service, stamp or mark the envelope
“TITLE” preferably in red ink.

NOTE:

In many cases the DNR may require that the watercraft be
bonded if its value is more than $300. In these cases the
department may require that the owner obtain a surety bond to
protect the State against any possible claims of ownership. You
may not assist a person in obtaining a bond. A bond cannot be
applied for until after the customer has been notified by the
DNR regarding the paperwork (title application, statement of
facts, etc.), submitted. The DNR will review the paperwork and
determine the bond amount. A letter of instructions will be
mailed to the customer with a bond form. If the customer has
any questions regarding the bond procedures, they may call the
DNR at 296-7007.

NOTE:

DO NOT follow the above procedure if the watercraft has been
issued a Minnesota certificate of title. If there is a record on file
of a title having been issued, the chain of ownership from the
last recorded owner must be completed, or the applicant must
obtain a District Court Order, awarding them the watercraft and
directing the Department of Natural Resources to issue them a
title. (See sample Court Order in Section Two, Appendix D.)

NOTE:

In instances where the applicant possesses an old registration
card or title and there is no record of the watercraft on file with
the DNR, collect the old registration card or title, along with any
other applicable forms (bills of sale, non-use affidavit, etc.).
There would be no need for a “statement of facts” in these cases.

NOTE:

By law, the transfer of ownership of a watercraft that needs to be
titled must be filed with the DNR within 15 days by the
purchaser, however, there are no provisions in the law for late
fees, regardless of when the title transfer is filed.
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SALE OF A WATERCRAFT TO A DEALER

When the Owner is in Possession of the Certificate of
Title.

1. Owner completes “assignment by record owner” section
and surrenders the title to dealer.

2. Dealer holds title and assignment until the boat is sold or
dealer may complete an Application to Title and submit it
to the DNR for a title in the dealership’s name.

When a Secured Party is in Possession of the
Certificate of Title

1. Owner completes a bill of sale assigning the vehicle to
the dealer, in lieu of the certificate of title.

2. Dealer later procures title from secured party when lien
is released.

3. Dealer attaches bill of sale to title and holds for resale.

Lost Title

1. Question the owner to determine if the title can be
located:

Was the original title ever veceived? Is the owner’s
address correct as recorded on DNR records? (The title
may have been returned to the DNR.)

Was there a lien on the boat at the time of purchase? If so,
does the lender still have the title, or was it returned with
the chattel mortgage papers?

Ask to see the current registration card and question to
see if the owner received correspondence from the DNR
regarding the boat. Call the DNR and ask if the record
indicates a file. If it does, it is possible that the title was
never mailed.

If it appears that the title has been lost, obtain verification
of the title record and lien holders from the DNR. This
information will help the dealer know how to proceed
with the purchase of the boat.

2. Complete the Application for Duplicate Title (form NA-
00267) signed by the record owner, or, by the lien holder
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if the lien has not been released. If there is more than
one lien, all lien releases must be obtained and
submitted with the paperwork.

SALE OF A WATERCRAFT TO NON-DEALERS

When the Owner is in Possession of the Certificate of
Title
1. Owner completes the “assignment by record owner,”
listing the name of the purchaser. (Any liens listed must
be signed off by the lien holder.)

2. Purchaser completes the “application for title by buyer”
section.

3. Deputy registrar collects the proper fees and validates
the documents.

When a Secured Party is in Possession of the Certificate
of Title

1. Assignment by the owner can be made on a Bill of Sale
(form NA-00468).

2. The parties involved must determine the procedure to be
followed to obtain the title from the secured party. When
the owner receives the title released by the secured
party, it is given to the purchaser who can then follow
the steps taken as indicated under “When the Owner is
in Possession of the Certificate of Title.”

DEALER SALE TO PRIVATE PARTY
1. Dealer completes the “reassignment” section on the title.

2. Dealer and purchaser complete all pertinent sections of
the title application.

3. Dealer collects the proper fees.

4. The dealer or dealer’s agent delivers the paperwork and
fees to the deputy registrar of motor vehicles office or to
the DNR License Bureau.

TRANSFER BY I AW (INVOLUNTARY TRANSFERS)

If the ownership of a titled watercraft is transferred by operation
of law, including inheritance or bequest, order in bankruptcy,
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insolvency, replevin, execution, sale, or satisfaction of
mechanic’s lien, or repossession upon default in performance of
the terms of a security agreement, the person acquiring the
watercraft by operation of law must promptly submit the last
certificate of title, if available, or the manufacturer’s or
importer’s certificate or other satisfactory proof of the transfer of
ownership to the DNR or deputy registrar with the application
for a new certificate of title and the required fee.

If a secured party acquired a titled watercraft under the terms of
a security agreement or by operation of law, the secured party
must promptly submit to the DNR, a deputy registrar, or the
person acquiring the watercraft from the secured party the last
certificate of title, if available, an application for a new certificate
of title with the required fee, and an affidavit by the secured
party or an authorized representative stating the facts entitling
the secured party to possession and ownership of the watercraft,
including a copy of the journal entry, court order, or an
instrument upon which the claim of possession and ownership is
founded. If the secured party cannot produce the required proof
of ownership, the secured party may submit other evidence with
the application and the DNR may issue a new Certificate of Title
if the evidence provides satisfactory proof of ownership.

REPOSSESSION

When the first secured party repossesses a watercraft, the
following procedure is to be followed:

1. Submit the Certificate of Title to the DNR.
2. Do not sign the lien release.

3. Submit an affadavit of Repossession (form NA-00270)
showing the date and indicating that the watercraft is
being repossessed.

4. The lien holder, or an authorized agent for the lien
holder must sign the repossession form in the presence
of a notary public. A repossession form must be
notarized.

If the lien holder (who becomes owner after repossession)
chooses to hold the paperwork until the watercraft is re-sold, the
following procedure is to be followed:

1. After sale, the lien holder completes a bill of sale to the
buyer.

2. The buyer must then complete an Application for Title.
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3. The buyer must submit all documents and pay the
appropriate fees.

If the repossessor chooses to title the watercraft in their own
name (rather than holding the documents until re-sale), then
~ they must:

{ 1. Complete an Application for Title in their own name.

2. Submit the original Certificate of Title and a notarized
repossession affidavit.

3. Pay a $10.00 transfer fee, plus a $3.25 filing fee.

When the vepossessor holds the paperwork until resale of the
watercraft, which transfers ownership to the buyer, and then
submits a title application in the buyer’s name, the fees due are
a 810.00 transfer fee and a $3.25 filing fee. The repossession into
the repossessor’s name does not require payment of a $10.00
transfer fee.

SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF CERTIFICATE
The DNR shall suspend or revoke a certificate of title upon
notice and reasonable opportunity to be heard if authorized by
law or if it is found that:
1) the Certificate of Title was fraudulently procured or
erroneously issued; or

i

2) the watercraft has been scrapped, dismantled, or
destroyed.

If the DNR suspends or revokes a Certificate of Title, the Owner
or person in possession of the Certificate of Title, immediately
upon receiving notice of the suspension or revocation, shall mail
or deliver the certificate to the DNR.

The DNR may seize and impound a Certificate of Title that has
been suspended or revoked.

Suspension or revocation of a Certificate of Title does not affect
the validity of a subsequent transfer to a purchaser relying in
good faith on the assignment of a suspended or revoked title if
Certificate of Title was not surrendered to or seized by the DNR.
{ The DNR shall issue a new certificate of title to an applicant
who is a good faith purchaser for value in those circumstances.

2-30



PENALTIES

Felony.
A person is guilty of a felony and punishable by
imprisonment for a term of not more than four years, or
payment of a fine of not more than $5,000 or both, if the
person with fraudulent intent:

)

2)

uses a false or fictitious name or address, makes a
material false statement, fails to disclose a security
interest, or conceals any other material fact in an
application for a certificate of title; or

submits a false, forged, or fictitious document in support
of an application for a certificate of title.

Misdemeanor

A person is guilty of a misdemeanor if that person:

D

2)

3)

4)

3)

with fraudulent intent permits another to use or possess
a Certificate of Title who is not entitled to use or possess
the Certificate of Title;

willfully fails to mail or deliver a Certificate of Title to the
DNR or a deputy registrar within ten days after the time
required;

willfully fails to deliver to a person acquiring a watercraft
a Certificate of Title within ten days after the time
required;

commiits a fraud in an application for a Certificate of
Title, or

fails to notify the DNR of a fact as required by law.

MECHANIC’S LIEN OR SHERIFF’S SALE

Sometimes referred to as a Possessory Lien, is used to collect
money for repairs or storage when the owner cannot be found or
does not pay for the services or storage charges that have
accumulated as a result of the work or service performed.

In order to recover the money the following steps are necessary:

a)

Obtain a copy of the Notice of Sale. which consists of the
watercraft description, the type of service performed,
name and address of owner, if known, and the date, time
and place of the sale.
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b) Submit an Affidavit of Personal Service which includes
one of the following:

A notice served personally on the owner, if he can be found.
or

An affidavit of mailing, which is a statement from the person
who mailed the notice to the owners last known address, when
they cannot be found.

plus
An Affidavit of Publication or an Affidavit of Posting.

¢) If Personal Service cannot be made and the address of
the owner is unknown; Submit an Affidavit of Publication
or an Affidavit of Posting.

An affidavit from the possessor lien holder that the address of
the owner cannot be obtained.

Note: Posting is necessary only if no newspaper is published
within the county.

When publication is used, it is necessary to publish notice of
sale in a newspaper, printed and published in the county where
the property is held, once each week for three successive weeks
and the last publication must be one week prior to the
announced sale.

d) Acknowledged report of sale.

The report of sale shall include the identity of the watercraft,
amount paid, purchaser’s name, and signature of the officer
conducting the sale.

e) Application for title by purchaser, with proper tax and
fees.
COURT ORDER

Sale by Court Order awarding transfer of a specific watercraft to
another individual. (A sample Court Order may be found in
Appendix D.)
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FORMS USED WHEN TITLING WATERCRAFT

The following is a list of forms that are necessary for boat titling.
These forms can be ordered on the Supply Request Form (form
NA-00264,) which is available through the DNR License Bureau.

Dealers may be able to obtain small quantities of these forms
from their local deputy registrar, however, to obtain large
quantities, dealers and deputy registrars must make a written
request to the DNR License Bureau, 500 Lafayette Rd., Box 26,
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-4026. Whenever you order forms,
remember to boldly mark the mailing envelope “Supply Order.”

NA-00256

NA-00263

NA-00264
NA-00265-A/B

NA-00267
NA-00268-A/B
NA-00269
NA-00270
NA-00468
NA-00471-01

Application for Watercraft Title (Title form
NA-00256 may be used to accomplish both
registration and title or to title only,
however, this form may not be used for
registration or renewal only.)

Watercraft Removed, Sold Out Of State, Or
Destroyed

Watercraft Title Supply Request Form

Affidavit To Correct Title/Correct
Ownership Record

Duplicate Watercraft Title

Surviving Spouse/No Probate
Assignment, Grant, And/Or Release
Affidavit Of Repossession For Watercraft
Watercraft Bill Of Sale

Weekly Report of Watercraft Title &
Registration
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WATERCRAFT TITLING FEE SCHEDULE

$15.00*

$10.00*
$10.00*
$10.00*

$ 1.00*
8§ 4.00%

* plus $3.25
filing fee:

FOR EXAMPLE:

Initial title for a new or used watercraft,
regardless of the number of liens recorded
at the same time.

Corrected title.
Transfer (Must submit Minnesota title)

Each lien added to a certificate of title.
There is no fee to release a lien except for
the $3.25 filing fee.

Lien reassignment. (Existing lien holder
transfers his/her contract to another lien
holder, therefore, this is not a new lien.
Duplicate title.

Each transaction requires the $3.25 filing
fee, however, if more than one transaction
is being done for the same watercraft at any
one time, the filing fee is charged only once.
On title/registration applications, the .50
deputy registrar fee is also waived.

An owner wishes to (I) add a lien to the title record but (2) has
lost their Certificate of Title. This situation would require that
the owner apply for a duplicate title and file a grant at the same
time. The fees applicable to this situation would be:

Duplicate title fee $4.00
Lien grantfee  $10.00

Filing fee +83.25

$17.25
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WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION FEE SCHEDULE

$50.00

$40.00
$30.00

$30.00
$20.00

$12.00
$ 7.00

$ 6.00

$ 3.00

$ 3.00

$ 3.00
$ 2.00

Any watercraft more than 19 feet in length for
hire with an operator.

Pleasure watercraft 40 feet in length and over.

Dealer’s license, regardless of the number of
watercraft owned by the dealer.

Pleasure watercraft 26 feet and over, but less
than 40 feet in length.

Pleasure watercraft over 19 feet but less than
26 feet in length.

Pleasure watercraft up to and including 19 feet.

Canoes, Kayaks, Sailboats, Sail boards, Rowing
Shells and Paddle boats up to and including 19
feet. (All of those over 19 feet are charged the
same rate as pleasure craft listed above).

Rental or lease watercraft up to and including
19 feet. (Rental or lease watercraft aver 19 feet
are charged the same rate as pleasure craft
listed above).

Watercraft owned by nonprofit organizations
and used primarily to teach water safety, (for
example, Church camps, Boy Scouts, Girl
Scouts, TVI, etc.).

Transfer of a watercraft not subject to title and
not titled

Duplicate Registration Card titled or not titled.

A surcharge of $2.00 is due by law and must be
added to the above fees when registering any
watercraft 17 feet and longer, for management
of purple loosestrife and Eurasian water
milfoil.

Fees listed are for 3 calendar years.

Effective January 1, 1983, non-motorized watercraft 9 feet or less
in length are exempt from licensing.
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STATE OF MINNESOTA IN COUNTY COURT

COUNTY OF CIVIL DIVISION

Plaintiff,

VS.

Defandant.

The above entitled matter was brought before the Honorable

Judge , of County

Court, _ , Minnesota.

The Court, after reviewing the entire file, and being fully
advised of the premises, makes his Order as follows:
L
It is hereby Ordered that the Department of Natural
Resources Transfer the vessel described below to Plaintiff and
that the Defendant has no right to possession or title to a 1980

Chrysler, Serial No. and that Plaintiff be

awarded a free and clear interest in said watercraft.

This Order dated this day of , 1982.

Judge of County Court
SAMPLE COURT ORDER
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