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Introduction 
 
 In 1981, Minnesota became the first state to implement a sentencing guidelines structure. 
The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission is a legislatively created body whose 
purpose is to maintain the guidelines, evaluate outcomes of changes in sentencing policy, 
analyze trends and make appropriate recommendations, and provide education on sentencing 
law and policy.  
  

The primary consideration of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines is public safety.  Other 
considerations are: 

• To promote uniformity in sentencing so that offenders who are convicted of similar types of 
crimes and who have similar criminal records are similarly sentenced. 

• To provide rationality and predictability in sentencing. 

• To establish proportionality in sentencing so that the severity of the sanction increases in 
direct proportion to an increase in the offense severity or the convicted felon’s criminal history, 
or both. 

 Since the Guidelines went into effect, Minnesota has undergone significant changes in 
population. Minnesota’s rate of imprisonment remains the second-lowest in the United States. 
From 1993 to 2013, Minnesota’s imprisonment rate doubled (from 92 to 189 inmates per 
100,000 residents), a time during which the nationwide state imprisonment rate increased by 26 
percent (from 331 to 417 inmates per 100,000 residents).1 The Guidelines continually strive to 
maintain balance between appropriate sentencing policy and correctional resources. 
 
 This report details the work of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission in 2014, 
and provides an overview of sentencing practices and trends in the criminal justice system. The 
sentencing data included in this report is from calendar year 2013, the most recent full year of 
sentencing data. Additional reports on overall data trends in 2013 and sentencing practices for 
specific offenses—including assaults and violations of restraining orders, controlled substances, 
criminal sexual conduct, criminal vehicular homicide and injury, dangerous weapons, failure to 
register as a predatory offender, and felony DWI—as well an unranked offense report and a 
probation revocation report, are available on the Commission’s website at 
mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/reports. Please direct any comments or questions regarding any 
of these reports to the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission staff.

1 Carson, E. Ann. Bureau of Justice Statistics. Imprisonment Rate of Sentenced Prisoners under the Jurisdiction of 
State or Federal Correctional Authorities per 100,000 U.S. Residents, Dec. 31, 1978-2013. August 7, 2014.  
Retrieved December 10, 2014 at http://go.usa.gov/GJeA. 
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Executive Summary 
 
 The Commission’s 2015 Report to the Legislature contains two required reports: 
modifications to the Guidelines, and use of firearms in crimes as reported by Minnesota’s 
County Attorneys. As in past years, the Commission also takes this opportunity to highlight 
topics that may be of interest to the legislature: sentencing and departure trends; a special 
review of controlled substance departures; and updates on Commission and staff activities.   
 
Sentencing Trends (p. 4): Minnesota courts sentenced 15,318 felony offenders in 2013, an 
overall increase of 0.7 percent. Of the total volume, person offenses accounted for 32 percent 
(4,836 offenders), property offenses accounted for 30 percent (4,528 offenders), and drug 
offenses accounted for 25 percent (3,821 offenders). The number of offenders sentenced 
decreased in the person, property, and DWI categories, but increased in the drug (7.6 percent 
increase) and “other” categories. Overall, 92.5 percent of felony offenders served some time in 
a local correctional facility or prison setting: 65.1 percent served time in a local correctional 
facility while 27.4 percent were sentenced to a Minnesota Department of Corrections (DOC) 
prison facility. The State prison rate has seen a slight and incremental increase each year in the 
past five years, and the rates of imprisonment and overall incarceration (prison plus local 
correctional facilities) were slightly higher than any rate previously seen since the Guidelines 
went into effect in 1980. The average pronounced prison sentence was 45.2 months. Statewide, 
72 percent of felony offenders received the presumptive Guidelines Sentence, but this rate 
varied by judicial district. 
 
First- and Second-Degree Controlled Substance Offenses: Descriptive Statistics and 
Regression Analysis (2009 – 2012) (p. 21): From 2009 to 2012, descriptive statistics 
demonstrated high departure rates for first- and second-degree controlled substance offenses. 
The rates varied based on an offender’s criminal history score, race, drug amounts, and where 
the offender was sentenced. The Commission directed its staff to perform a regression analysis 
to explore the relationship between departures and these factors. Consistent with the 
descriptive statistics, four statistically significant findings were confirmed: (1) Hispanic offenders 
were less likely to receive departures than white offenders; (2) offenders with higher criminal 
history scores were less likely to get departures; (3) offenders with double the controlled 
substance threshold amount or more were less likely to get departures; and (4) departure rates 
were highly variable by judicial district. 
  
Commission's 2014 Guidelines Modifications (p. 26): Specific offenses were amended by 
the 2014 Legislature. For each offense, the Commission determined if the Guidelines needed to 
be modified. No changes were made to lawful gambling fraud under Minn. Stat. § 609.763; 
fraudulent finance statements under Minn. Stat. § 609.7475; crimes of violence under Minn. 
Stat. § 624.712 (affecting firearm possession by ineligible persons under Minn. Stat. §§ 609.165 
& 624.713, subd. 1(2)); accidents under Minn. Stat. §§ 169.09 & 609.2112; predatory offender 
registration under Minn. Stat. § 243.166; criminal vehicular homicide and operation under Minn. 
Stat. §§ 609.2112, 609.2113, & 609.2114; and perjury under Minn. Stat. § 609.48. Laws related 
to the expungement of criminal records were also amended, and the Commission addressed 
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changes in the commentary. The Commission changed severity-level rankings for two offenses: 
certain third-degree criminal sexual conduct offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.344, subdivision 
1, paragraph b, with reference to subdivision 2(2); and all fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct 
under Minn. Stat. § 609.3451. The Commission also assigned severity-level rankings to 
violations of the newly enacted medical cannabis laws under Minn. Stat. § 152.33. 
 
Additional Commission Activities (p. 29): In addition to maintaining the Guidelines, the 
Commission studied the administration of consecutive sentences and compared the revised 
federal guidelines with Minnesota’s Guidelines’ treatment of drug sales.  
 
Staff Activities (p. 30): The staff performed the following activities: answered approximately 
3,000 phone calls and email inquiries; trained 450 practitioners in traditional classroom and 
online settings; provided 42 fiscal impact statements for introduced legislation; compiled 
sentencing information for almost 200 individual data requests; worked with the Department of 
Corrections to generate prison bed projections; participated in various criminal justice boards, 
forums and committees; processed and ensured the accuracy of over 15,000 sentencing 
records; published annual Guidelines and commentary; and provided reports on sentencing 
practices. 
 
County Attorney Firearms Reports (p. 33): County attorneys collect and maintain information 
on crimes for which a defendant is alleged to have possessed or used a firearm. The 
Commission is required to include in its annual report a summary and analysis of the reports 
received. Since the mandate began, there have been an annual average of 746 cases allegedly 
involving a firearm. The total number of reported firearms cases from July 2013 to June 2014 
was 1,089. This number has risen every year since 2010, and represents an increase of 7 
percent (73 cases) over fiscal year 2013.   
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2013 Sentencing Practices Data Summary 
 

 The following data summarizes information about sentencing practices and case volume 
and distribution. The recommended sentence under the Guidelines is based primarily on the 
severity of the offense of conviction and secondarily on the offender’s criminal record. The 
majority of offenders receive the recommended sentence. 
 
 Sentencing practices are very closely related to the recommended Guidelines sentence. It is 
very important, therefore, to be aware of the effect of differences in offense severity and criminal 
history when evaluating sentencing practices. This is particularly important when comparing 
groups of offenders (e.g. by gender, race/ethnicity and judicial district). For example, if in a 
particular district the proportion of serious person offenders is fairly high, the imprisonment rate 
for that district will likely be higher than for districts with predominantly lower severity-level 
offenses. 
 
 
Case Volume, Distribution, and Percent Change: Overall and by Offense Type 
 

Minnesota courts sentenced 15,318 felony offenders in 2013, an increase of 0.7 percent 
from 2012. As a proportion of all offenders sentenced, person offenders accounted for 32 
percent (4,836 offenders) and property accounted for 30 percent (4,528 offenders) (Figure 1). 

 
*The growth between 2001 and 2006 can be attributed to the implementation of the felony driving while impaired 
(DWI) law and increases in the number of drug crimes sentenced, particularly methamphetamine cases. 
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Compared to 2012, the number of offenders sentenced decreased in the property and DWI 
categories, increased in the drug, non-person sex offense, and “other”2,3 categories, and 
remained nearly constant in the person category (Figure 2).  

 
Offenders in the drug category increased the most, with a 7.6 percent rise.  Overall, the 

number of offenders in the non-person sex offense category increased by 4.6 percent. Failure to 
register as a predatory offender increased by 20 offenders (from 391 to 411) and dissemination 
and possession of child pornography increased by three (from 104 to 107). The number 
sentenced for the remaining offenses in the “other” category increased by two percent. The 
most noticeable increases were in ineligible felon in possession of a firearm (from 321 to 372) 
and fleeing police (from 377 to 404). 

 
Figure 2.  Percent Change by Offense Type: 1999-2013 

(Felony DWI and Non-Person Sex Offenses Separated from “Other”) 
 

Year 
Sentenced Person Property Drug Other Felony 

DWI*

Non-Person
Sex 

Offenses**
Total

1999 -2.5% -2.1% -5.9% 7.8% -2.3%
2000 -5.1% -7.4% 8.6% 4.2% -2.2%
2001 3.6% 4.2% 0.0% 13.9% 3.9%
2002 10.6% 17.9% 31.9% 15.7% 20.2%
2003 6.8% 2.3% 13.8% 0.7% 11.7%
2004 0.9% -0.9% 3.5% 6.9% 6.2% 1.8%
2005 6.8% 2.0% 8.1% 6.6% -3.0% 4.8%
2006 13.1% 7.9% 2.7% 2.3% -5.5% 6.4%
2007 7.3% -4.2% -7.1% 3.5% -7.2% -1.7%
2008 3.0% -11.5% -6.9% -0.3% -6.0% -4.8%
2009 6.2% -7.0% -7.7% -6.2% -9.6% -3.6%
2010 2.0% -6.8% -7.0% -2.7% -5.3% 3.1% -3.6%
2011 1.7% -2.4% 2.5% 17.1% -1.0% 9.9% 1.8%
2012 3.5% 8.8% 4.2% -2.8% -4.4% 4.0% 4.4%
2013 -0.1% -1.7% 7.6% 2.0% -19.0% 4.6% 0.7%

* 2003 was the first full year in which this offense existed; percent change is provided for 2004 and beyond.  
** Offenses excluded from the percent change calculation between 2009 and 2010 for the “other” category.  

 
 

 

2 “Other” category includes: Failure to register as a predatory offender, possession or dissemination of child 
pornography, possession of a firearm by a felon convicted of a crime of violence, fleeing police, escape, discharge of 
a firearm, and other offenses of less frequency. 
3 In 2010, the “other” offense category was separated so that data about felony DWI and sex offenses without a direct 
victim (failure to register as a predatory offender and possession and dissemination of child pornography) could be 
analyzed separately. The number of offenders sentenced for Felony DWI peaked in 2004 at 860 and has declined in 
most years since. In 2012, the number of offenders sentenced for felony DWIs (631) decreased by four percent, a 
larger decrease than that seen in 2011. 
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The number of offenders sentenced for Felony DWI peaked in 2004 at 860 and has declined 
in most years since then. In 2013, the number of offenders decreased by 19 percent, to 510, the 
largest decrease ever seen.4 

 
The increase in felony sentences is likely related to an overall increase in reported crime. 

Data published by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety indicated that the crime rate for 
“index crimes” has fluctuated since 1981, but had declined in the five years prior to 2012. Then, 
in 2012, the crime rate increased by 0.7 percent. The 2013 rate of 2,652 crimes per 100,000 in 
population represented a decrease of 4.4 percent from the 2012 rate. In 2013 there were 12,469 
reported “violent crimes” in Minnesota, an increase of 1.2 percent from the 12,323 violent crimes 
reported in 2012.5 

 
Minnesota’s crime-rate trends appeared consistent with that of national figures. The Bureau 

of Justice Statistics reported that in 2011 and 2012, violent and property crime rates rose for 
U.S. residents; however, in 2013, incidents in both categories declined. Also, in 2013, there was 
no change in the rate of serious violent crimes (rape or sexual assault, robbery, and aggravated 
assault) from the previous year.6 

 

Distribution of Offenders by Race and Judicial District 
 

Figure 3 shows the racial composition of Minnesota’s felony offender population from 1981 
through 2013. The percentage of offenders who are white has decreased by roughly 25 percent 
since 1981. This is largely due to an increase in the percentage of black offenders, though the 
percentage of other minority offenders (particularly Hispanic offenders) has also increased.   

 
For comparison purposes, Figure 4 shows the distribution of felony offenders by race 

compared to Minnesota’s total population of people ages 18 years and over, in 1980,7 1990, 
2000, and 2010.8 According to the U.S. Census, Minnesota’s 2010 population was 86.1 percent 
white, 4.3 percent black; 3.7 percent Hispanic; 3.7 percent Asian; 1 percent American Indian; 
and 1.2 percent people who identify themselves with two or more races or another race 
(“Other”). For further comparison, Figure 5 illustrates the 2010 U. S. Census data for 
Minnesota’s total population of people ages 18 years and over, compared to the distribution of 
felony offenders for each of Minnesota’s ten judicial district. (See Appendix 1 for a map of 
Minnesota’s ten judicial districts.) 

4 For comparison purposes, the overall number of impaired-driving incidents entered onto people’s driving records 
decreased from 2012 to 2013 by 9 percent in Minnesota.  Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts 2013, State of 
Minnesota, Department of Public Safety, August 2014, p.1. 
5 “Index Crimes” are Murder, Forcible Rape, Robbery, Aggravated Assault, Burglary, Larceny, Motor Vehicle Theft, 
and Arson. “Violent Crimes” are Murder, Forcible Rape, Robbery, and Aggravated Assault. 2013 Uniform Crime 
Report, State of Minnesota, Department of Public Safety, July 2014, p.10. 
6 Criminal Victimization, 2014 (NCJ 247648), Bureau of Justice Statistics, September 2014 at 
http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/cv13.pdf. 
7 In 1980, the census information for people 18 years of age and older was broken into three racial categories: white, 
black, and Hispanic. The grey block at the top indicates people who were not in one of these three racial categories. 
8 Source for “Total MN Population 18 years and older”:  U.S. Census Bureau; Census 2010, Summary File 1, Table 
11; generated by Sarah Welter, Kathleen Madland, and Jill Payne (November 2013). 
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Figure 4.  Distribution of MN Population by Race (MN)  

Compared to Distribution of Felony Offenders (FEL): 1980, 1990, 2000, 2010 
 

 
* In 1980, the census information for people 18 years of age and older was broken into three racial categories: white, 
black, and Hispanic. The grey block at the top indicates people who were not in one of these three racial categories.  

0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

70%

80%

90%

100%
19

81
19

82
19

83
19

84
19

85
19

86
19

87
19

88
19

89
19

90
19

91
19

92
19

93
19

94
19

95
19

96
19

97
19

98
19

99
20

00
20

01
20

02
20

03
20

04
20

05
20

06
20

07
20

08
20

09
20

10
20

11
20

12
20

13

Figure 3.  Distribution of Felony Offenders by Race: 1981-2013

White Black American Indian Hispanic Asian Other

97.2%
81.8%

95.5%

71.3%

90.3%

58.6%

86.1%

56.8%

1.1%
10.8%

1.8%

19.6%

2.9%

28.0%

4.3%

27.8%

5.6% 4.6%
5.8% 6.5%

0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

70%

80%

90%

100%

MN FEL MN FEL MN FEL MN FEL

White Black Am. Indian Hispanic Asian Other

1980* 1990 2000 2010

7 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  
 



Report to the Legislature 2015 

 

Figure 5.  Distribution of 2010 MN Population by Race (MN)  
Compared to Distribution of 2013 Felony Offenders (FEL) by Judicial District 
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Incarceration Rates 
 
 Under Minn. Stat. § 609.02, a felony sentence must be at least 366 days long in Minnesota. 
Sentences of one year or less are gross misdemeanors or misdemeanors and are served in 
local correctional facilities.   
 
 The Guidelines presume who should go to state correctional institutions (prison) and for how 
long. Imprisonment rates are related to the Guideline recommendations and are based on the 
seriousness of the offense and the offender’s criminal history score. In cases in which prison 
sentences are stayed, the court usually places the offender on probation. As a condition of 
probation, the court may impose up to one year of incarceration in a local correctional facility. 
Probationers usually serve time in a local correctional facility and are often given intermediate 
sanctions such as treatment (residential or nonresidential), restitution, and fines. 
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 In 2013, 92.5 percent of felony offenders served some time in a local correctional facility or 
prison setting (Total Incarceration, Figure 6). Slightly over 65 percent served time in a local 
correctional facility as part of their stayed sentence (Local Correctional Facility, Figure 6) while 
27.4 percent were sentenced to a Minnesota Department of Corrections (DOC) prison facility 
(State Prison, Figure 6) which is reflected in the overall incarceration rate of 92.5 percent. The 
State prison rate has seen a slight and incremental increase each year in the past five years, 
and the rates of imprisonment and overall incarceration (prison plus local correctional facilities) 
were slightly higher than any rate previously seen since the Guidelines went into effect in 1980. 

 
Figure 6.  Overall Incarceration Rates: 1978; 1981-2013

  
 When comparing imprisonment rates across various groups (sex, race or judicial district) it is 
important to note that much of the variation is directly related to the proportion of offenders in 
any particular group who are recommended a prison sentence by the Guidelines based on the 
severity of the offense and the offender’s criminal history. 
 
 Table 1, below, provides total incarceration information for offenders sentenced in 2013.  
The total incarceration rate describes the percentage of offenders who received a sentence that 
included incarceration in a state prison or local correctional facility, following conviction. 
 

1978, 35.4%

2013, 65.1%

1978, 20.4%
2009, 25.1%

2013, 27.4%

1978, 55.8%

2013, 92.5%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

70%

80%

90%

100%

19
78

19
81

19
82

19
83

19
84

19
85

19
86

19
87

19
88

19
89

19
90

19
91

19
92

19
93

19
94

19
95

19
96

19
97

19
98

19
99

20
00

20
01

20
02

20
03

20
04

20
05

20
06

20
07

20
08

20
09

20
10

20
11

20
12

20
13

Pe
rc

en
t 

Local Correctional Facility State Prison Total Incarceration

9 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  
 



Report to the Legislature 2015 

 

Race 
 
 The total incarceration rate varies across racial groups (ranging from 91.3% for white 
offenders to 95.5% for Asian offenders). However, there is greater variation by race in the 
separate rates for prison and local confinement. For example, white offenders were imprisoned 
at the lowest rate (23.5%) whereas black offenders were imprisoned at the highest rate (34.5%). 
 
Judicial District 
 

Variation was also observed in incarceration rates by Judicial District. The Second Judicial 
District, which includes St. Paul, had the highest total incarceration rate (99.5%) and the Third 
Judicial District, which includes the cities of Albert Lea and Rochester, had the lowest total 
incarceration rate (83.3%). This variation continues with respect to the separate rates for prison 
and local confinement. For example, the Second Judicial District, had the highest imprisonment 
rate (33.3%) and the First Judicial District, which includes the cities of Hastings and Shakopee, 
had the lowest imprisonment rate (20.8%). With regard to use of local confinement, the Tenth 
Judicial District, which includes the cities of Anoka and Stillwater, had the highest rate (72.6%) 
and the Third Judicial District had the lowest rate (55.1%). 

 
 

Table 1. Total Incarceration Rates by Gender, Race / Ethnicity, and Judicial District 
 

  Total 
Cases 

Total 
Incarceration 

State  
Prison 

Conditional 
Confinement 

Gender Male 12,797 11,952 93.4% 3,875 30.3% 8,077 63.1% 
Female 2,521 2,220 88.1% 318 12.6% 1,902 75.4% 

Race/ 
Ethnicity 

White 8,884 8,110 91.3% 2,092 23.5% 6,018 67.7% 
Black 4,050 3,845 94.9% 1,398 34.5% 2,447 60.4% 
American Indian 1,177 1,078 91.6% 339 28.8% 739 62.8% 
Hispanic 780 731 93.7% 260 33.3% 471 60.4% 
Asian 426 407 95.5% 104 24.4% 303 71.1% 
Other/Unknown 1 1 100.0% 0 0.0% 1 100.0% 

Judicial 
District 

First 1,806 1,667 92.3% 375 20.8% 1,292 71.5% 
Second 1,925 1,916 99.5% 641 33.3% 1,275 66.2% 
Third 1,333 1,110 83.3% 375 28.1% 735 55.1% 
Fourth 2,983 2,747 92.1% 931 31.2% 1,816 60.9% 
Fifth 763 707 92.7% 163 21.4% 544 71.3% 
Sixth 964 828 85.9% 226 23.4% 602 62.4% 
Seventh 1,543 1,499 97.1% 469 30.4% 1,030 66.8% 
Eighth 384 367 95.6% 104 27.1% 263 68.5% 
Ninth 1,407 1,209 85.9% 392 27.9% 817 58.1% 
Tenth 2,210 2,122 96.0% 517 23.4% 1,605 72.6% 

Overall  15,318 14,172 92.5% 4,193 27.4% 9,979 65.1% 
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Average Pronounced Prison Sentences and Confinement in a Local Correctional Facility 
 

In 2013, the average prison sentence was 45.2 months. The average has fluctuated over 
time (Table 2). Numerous changes in sentencing practices and policies, as well as changes in 
the distribution of cases, can affect the average. The average prison sentence increased after 
1989 when the Commission doubled the recommended prison sentences for the higher 
severity-level offenses. The average amount of confinement in a local correctional facility 
pronounced as a condition of probation was 106 days (Table 3). The average has remained 
largely constant since 1988. 

 
  

Table 2.  Average Pronounced  
Prison Sentence 

Executed Prison Sentences (in months) 
2013 45.2 
2012 47.3 
2011 45.6 
2010 46.5 
2009 42.8 
2008 45.0 
2007 44.8 
2006 44.8 
2005 45.7 
2004 45.1 
2003 51.2 
2002 47.2 
2001 49.8 
2000 49.7 
1999 47.9 
1998 47.0 
1997 44.5 
1996 47.4 
1995 48.5 
1994 51.3 
1993 46.9 
1992 48.6 
1991 45.2 
1990 45.7 
1989 37.7 
1988 38.1 
1987 36.3 
1986 35.4 
1985 38.4 
1984 36.2 
1983 36.5 
1982 41.0 
1981 38.3 

 

Table 3.  Average Pronounced 
Confinement 

Local Correctional Facility (in days) 
2013 106 
2012 108 
2011 107 
2010 110 
2009 107 
2008 109 
2007 109 
2006 111 
2005 110 
2004 112 
2003 112 
2002 106 
2001 105 
2000 104 
1999 103 
1998 107 
1997 107 
1996 107 
1995 108 
1994 113 
1993 112 
1992 109 
1991 106 
1990 110 
1989 110 
1988 108 
1987 116 
1986 113 
1985 120 
1984 126 
1983 132 
1982 144 
1981 166 
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Departures from the Guidelines 
 

A “departure” is a pronounced sentence other than that recommended in the appropriate cell 
of the applicable Guidelines Grid. There are two types of departures – dispositional and 
durational – as further explained below. Since the presumptive sentence is based on “the typical 
case,” the appropriate use of departures by the courts when substantial and compelling 
circumstances exist can actually enhance proportionality by varying the sanction in an atypical 
case. 

 
While the court ultimately makes the sentencing decision, other criminal justice 

professionals and victims participate in the decision-making process. Probation officers make 
recommendations to the courts regarding whether a departure from the presumptive sentence is 
appropriate, and prosecutors and defense attorneys commonly arrive at agreements regarding 
acceptable sentences for which an appeal will not be pursued. Victims are provided an 
opportunity to comment regarding the appropriate sentence as well. Therefore, these departure 
statistics should be reviewed with an understanding that, when the court pronounces a 
particular sentence, there may be agreement or acceptance among the other actors that the 
sentence is appropriate. Only a small percent of cases (1% to 2%) result in an appeal of the 
sentence pronounced by the court. 

 
In 2013, 72 percent of all felony offenders sentenced received the presumptive Guidelines 

sentence. The remaining 28 percent received some type of departure (Figure 7). 
 
 

 
 

 
 

  

No Departure,
72%

Aggravated 
Departure, 4%

Mitigated 
Departure, 

23%

Mixed Departure, 
1.0%

Figure 7. Overall Departure Rates 
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Dispositional Departures 
 

A “dispositional departure” occurs when the court orders a disposition other than that 
recommended in the Guidelines. There are two types of dispositional departures: aggravated 
dispositional departures and mitigated dispositional departures. An aggravated dispositional 
departure occurs when the Guidelines recommend a stayed sentence but the court pronounces 
a prison sentence. A mitigated dispositional departure occurs when the Guidelines recommend 
a prison sentence but the court pronounces a stayed sentence. 
 

In 2013, the overall dispositional departure rate was 15 percent: 11 percent mitigated; and 
four percent aggravated (Figure 8). Most aggravated dispositional departures occur when an 
offender with a presumptive stayed sentence requests an executed prison sentence or agrees 
to the departure as part of a plea agreement. This request is usually made in order for the 
offender to serve the sentence concurrently with another prison sentence. The Commission has 
generally included these cases in the departure figures because, for the given offense, the 
sentence is not the presumptive Guidelines sentence. However, if requests for prison are not 
included in the analysis, the aggravated dispositional departure rate is one percent (Figure 8-
Inset). Because aggravated dispositional departures represent such a small percentage of 
cases, the remainder of this analysis on departures will focus on mitigated dispositional 
departures. 
 

 
 
  
 
Table 4 illustrates dispositional departure rates based on presumptive disposition by gender, 

race, and judicial district. The aggravated dispositional departure rate for offenders 
recommended a stayed sentence (“Number Presumptive Stays”) was almost six percent (5.8%). 
The mitigated dispositional departure rate for offenders who were recommended prison 
(“Number Presumptive Commits”) was a little over 32 percent (32.2%).  

No Dispositional 
Departure

85%

Mitigated
11%

Aggravated 
-- with requests 
for Prison from 

Defendant
3%

Aggravated 
--without requests 

for Prison from 
Defendant

1%

Aggravated
4%

Figure 8. Dispositional Departures
with and without Requests for Prison from Defendant
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The mitigated dispositional departure rate for presumptive prison cases is higher for women 
(51%) than men (30.5%). When examined by racial composition, the mitigated dispositional 
departure rate ranged from a low of 25.2 percent for Hispanic offenders to a high of 34.7 
percent for white offenders. There was also variation in the rate by judicial district, ranging from 
lows of 24.2 percent in the Seventh District (includes the cities of Moorhead and St. Cloud), and 
24.4 percent in the Second District (includes the city of St. Paul) to a high of 44.4 percent in the 
Fifth Judicial District (includes the city of Mankato). 

 
When reviewing Table 4, note that the observed variations may be partly explained by 

differences in case volume, charging practices, plea agreement practices, the types of offenses 
sentenced for offenders across racial groups or across regions, and differences in the criminal 
history scores of offenders across racial groups or across regions. 

 
Table 4.  Dispositional Departure Rates by Gender, Race, and Judicial District 

 

  
Total 
Cases 

Number 
Presumptive 

Stays 

Aggravated 
Dispositional 
Departures 

Number 
Presumptive 

Commits 

Mitigated 
Dispositional 
Departures 

Gender Male 12,797 7,919 484 6.1% 4,878 1,487 30.5% 

Female 2,521 2,068 96 4.6% 453 231 51.0% 
Race/ 
Ethnicity 

White 8,884 6,225 355 5.7% 2,659 922 34.7% 
Black 4,050 2,230 133 6.0% 1,820 555 30.5% 
American 
Indian 1,177 764 53 6.9% 413 127 30.8% 
Hispanic 780 466 25 5.4% 314 79 25.2% 
Asian 426 301 14 4.7% 125 35 28.0% 
Other/Unknown 1 1 0 0.0% 0 0 0.0% 

Judicial 
District 

First 1,806 1,300 56 4.3% 506 187 37.0% 
Second 1,925 1,135 44 3.9% 790 193 24.4% 
Third 1,333 898 70 7.8% 435 130 29.9% 
Fourth 2,983 1,682 89 5.3% 1,301 459 35.3% 
Fifth 763 538 38 7.1% 225 100 44.4% 
Sixth 964 635 38 6.0% 329 141 42.9% 
Seventh 1,543 1,010 65 6.4% 533 129 24.2% 
Eighth 384 275 27 9.8% 109 32 29.4% 
Ninth 1,407 962 79 8.2% 445 132 29.7% 
Tenth 2,210 1,552 74 4.8% 658 215 32.7% 

Overall  15,318 9,987 580 5.8% 5,331 1,718 32.2% 
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Dispositional departure rates vary for the type of offense. Included in Figure 9 are offenses 
with the highest rates of mitigated dispositional departures compared to the overall rate of 32 
percent.* 

 

 
 
 

 
Two of the offenses highlighted in Figure 9, assault in the second degree and failure to 

register as a predatory sex offender, have mandatory minimum sentences specified in statute 
and also have statutory provisions allowing for departure from the mandatory minimum. Assault 
in the second degree, by statutory definition, involves the use of a dangerous weapon and 
carries a mandatory minimum prison sentence. However, injury to the victim may or may not 
occur. The type of dangerous weapon involved can vary widely, from a pool cue to a knife to a 
firearm.  Circumstances surrounding the offense can also vary significantly, from barroom 
brawls to unprovoked confrontations. The mandatory minimum statute specifically permits the 
court to sentence without regard to the mandatory minimum, provided that substantial and 
compelling reasons are presented by the court or the prosecutor (Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 8). 
It is to be expected that there will be many departures in sentencing a crime that can be 
committed in many different ways.  

 
Failure to register as a predatory sex offender also has a statutory mandatory minimum 

sentence, accompanied by a statutory provision that allows for sentencing without regard to the 
mandatory minimum (Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 5(d)). 
  

* Selected based on criteria that there were 50 or more “presumptive commitment” cases and the mitigated 
dispositional departure rate was over 40 percent; this compared to the overall mitigated dispositional departure rate of 
32 percent. 

60%

46%
42% 41%

32%

Assault, 2nd Deg. Sex Offender, Failure
to Register

Agg. Robb, 1st Deg. Burglary, 1st Deg.
(SL 8)**

Overall Mitigated
Dispositional

Departure Rate

Figure 9. High Mitigated Dispositional Departure Rates 
for Selected Offenses Compared to Overall Rate*

  ** Burglary with assault or dangerous weapon. 
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Mitigated dispositional departure rates for presumptive commitment offenses vary by 
Severity Level and Criminal History Score (Figure 10). Departure rates were highest at Severity 
Levels 6, 7 and 8 with Criminal History Scores of 0 and 1 (Figure 10, red cells). Rates were well 
above the average rate of 32 percent.  

 
Common Severity Level 6 offenses that fall within the stayed section of the Grid (below the 

blue dispositional line) are assault in the second degree (dangerous weapon), felon in 
possession of a weapon, and subsequent third-degree controlled substance offenses. All three 
offenses carry statutory mandatory minimums that require a prison sentence. Only three 
offenses are ranked at Severity Level 7; felony driving while impaired (DWI) is the most 
common, with subsequent felony DWI being a presumptive commitment offense according to 
the Guidelines. Common Severity Level 8 (above the dispositional line) offenses are second-
degree controlled substance offenses, aggravated robbery, and burglary in the first degree with 
a weapon or assault. Common Severity Level 9 offenses are first-degree controlled substance 
and assault in the first degree (great bodily harm). 

 
Figure 10. Dispositional Departure Rates by Cell on Standard Grid 

(Presumptive Commitment Offenses Only: Sentenced in 2011-20139) 
 

 

9 Cells with fewer than 25 presumptive commitment cases were excluded. Combined 2011-2013 data used to reflect 
the rates in more cells. Average departure rate of 32%. Departure rates that fall below the average are shaded yellow 
to green, and rates above the average are shaded yellow to red. Above the blue line denotes presumptive 
commitment sentences and below the line denotes presumptive stayed sentences. 
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Durational Departures 
 

A “durational departure” occurs when the court orders a sentence with a duration that is 
other than the presumptive fixed duration or range in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid.  
There are two types of durational departures: aggravated durational departures and mitigated 
durational departures. An aggravated durational departure occurs when the court pronounces a 
duration that is more than 20 percent higher than the fixed duration displayed in the appropriate 
cell on the applicable Grid. A mitigated durational departure occurs when the court pronounces 
a sentence that is more than 15 percent lower than the fixed duration displayed in the 
appropriate cell on the applicable Grid. 

 
In 2013, the mitigated durational departure rate was 27.3 percent. The aggravated 

durational departure rate was two and a half percent. The low aggravated durational departure 
rate in recent years reflects the impact of increased presumptive sentences over the past years 
and issues related to the U.S. Supreme Court ruling in Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296 
(2004), holding that a defendant’s Sixth Amendment right to a jury trial was violated when the 
sentence imposed was above the stated statutory maximum sentence. In response to the 
Blakely decision, the 2005 Legislature widened the ranges on the Standard Grid to 15 percent 
downward and 20 percent upward, within which the court may sentence without departure. In 
2006, a Sex Offender Grid was adopted. The Sex Offender Grid introduced higher presumptive 
sentences for repeat sex offenders and sex offenders with prior criminal history records.10 

 
Table 5 illustrates durational departure rates for executed prison sentences by gender, race, 

and judicial district. When the departure rate is examined by racial composition, the total rate 
varies from a low of 23.3 percent for American Indians and 23.5 percent for white offenders to a 
high of 40 percent for black offenders. There is also considerable variation in durational 
departure rates by judicial district, ranging from a low of 10.4 percent in the Third Judicial 
District, which includes the cities of Austin and Owatonna, to a high of 54 percent in the Fourth 
Judicial District, which includes the city of Minneapolis. 

 
When reviewing the information in Table 5, it is important to note that the observed 

variations may be partly explained by differences in case volume, charging practices, plea 
agreement practices, the types of offenses sentenced for offenders across racial groups or 
across regions, and differences in the criminal history scores of offenders across racial groups 
or across regions. 
 

 
  

10 For a more in-depth examination of the effect of the Blakely decision on sentencing practices, see the MSGC 
special report:  Impact of Blakely and Expanded Ranges on Sentencing Grid, at http://mn.gov/sentencing-
guidelines/images/Expanded%2520Ranges.pdf. 
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Table 5.  Durational Departure Rates for Executed Prison Sentences  
by Gender, Race, and Judicial District 

 
 

 
Executed 

Prison 

Total 
Durational 
Dep. Rate 

   

No Departure 
Aggravated 
Durations 

Mitigated 
Durations 

Gender Male 3,875 30.0% 2,713 70.0% 101 2.6% 1,061 27.4% 
Female 318 28.3% 228 71.7% 5 1.6% 85 26.7% 

Race/ 
Ethnicity 

White 2,092 23.5% 1,600 76.5% 37 1.8% 455 21.7% 
Black 1,398 40.0% 839 60.0% 47 3.4% 512 36.6% 
American 
Indian 339 23.3% 260 76.7% 9 2.7% 70 20.6% 
Hispanic 260 32.3% 176 67.7% 10 3.8% 74 28.5% 
Asian 104 36.5% 66 63.5% 3 2.9% 35 33.7% 
Other/ 
Unknown 0 0.0% --- --- --- --- --- --- 

Judicial 
District 

First  375 30.1% 262 69.9% 14 3.7% 99 26.4% 
Second 641 43.1% 365   56.9% 17 2.7% 259 40.4% 
Third 375 10.4% 336 89.6% 6 1.6% 33 8.8% 
Fourth 931 54.0%  428  46.0% 32 3.4% 471 50.6% 
Fifth 163 25.2% 122 74.8% 1 0.6% 40 24.5% 
Sixth 226 20.8% 179 79.2% 5 2.2% 42 18.6% 
Seventh 469 19.2% 379 80.8% 6 1.3% 84 17.9% 
Eighth 104 14.4% 89 85.6% 5 4.8% 10 9.6% 
Ninth 392 13.0% 341 87.0% 8 2.0% 43 11.0% 
Tenth 517 14.9% 440 85.1% 12 2.3% 65 12.6% 

Overall  4,193 29.9% 2,941 70.1% 106 2.5% 1,146 27.3% 
 

 
 
As with dispositional departures, it can be helpful to look at offenses with higher than 

average durational departure rates. Figure 11 displays offenses with the highest durational 
departure rates among offenses with at least 45 executed prison cases.*  

 
Aggravated durational departure rates were highest for second-degree murder, third-degree 

criminal sexual conduct, and first-degree assault compared to the overall aggravated rate of 
three percent. Mitigated durational departure rates were highest for first-degree controlled 
substance, failure to register as a sex offender, felon in possession of a gun, a violation of a 
restraining order, felony domestic assault, and aggravated robbery compared to the overall 
mitigated rate of 27 percent. 
  

* Selected based on criteria that there were 45 or more “presumptive commitment” cases and the aggravated 
durational departure rate was 10 percent or more; or the mitigated durational departure rate was 36 percent or more. 

18 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  
 

                                                           



Report to the Legislature 2015 

 

Figure 11. High Durational Departure Rates 
for Selected Offenses Compared to Overall Rate* 

 

 
 
* Selected based on criteria that there were 45 or more “presumptive commitment” cases and the aggravated 
durational departure rate was 10 percent or more; or the mitigated durational departure rate was 36 percent or 
more. 
 
 

  
Overall, offenders for whom the Guidelines presumed commitment to the Commissioner of 

Corrections received both their presumptive disposition (prison) and presumptive duration 
(presumptive time) about half of the time (48%). Included in Figure 12 are presumptive 
commitment offenses with 50 or more cases that have a combined higher than average 
mitigated dispositional departure rate and mitigated durational departure rate. For these six 
offenses (with 50 or more presumptive commitment cases), the Guidelines were followed for 
both disposition and duration 44 percent or less of the time. Those offenses were second-
degree assault, failure to register as sex offender, first-degree controlled substance offense, 
first-degree aggravated robbery, first-degree burglary, and fifth-degree controlled substance. 

 
As was pointed out for Figure 9, it is important to note that provisions in law allow for 

sentencing without regard to mandatory minimums for assault in the second degree, felon with a 
gun, and failure to register as a sex offender (Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 8; § 243.166, subd. 
5(d)).  

 
 

14%
10% 10%

3%

48% 48%

37% 37% 36% 36%
27%

Mitigated (Less Time)

Aggravated (More Time)
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*Burglary with assault or dangerous weapon. 
 
 

  

28% 28%
36% 37%

44% 44%
48%

12%

26%

34%

21% 14%
19%

19%

60% 46% 30% 42% 41% 37% 32%

Assault, 2nd Fail Reg. Sex
Offender

Cont. Sub.,
1st

Agg. Robb.,
1st

Burg, 1st
(SL8)*

Cont. Sub.,
5th

Overall

Figure 12. High Departure Rates 
for Selected Offenses

Presumptive Prison
(Presumptive Time)

Presumptive Prison
(Less Prison Time)

Mitigated Disposition
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First- and Second-Degree Controlled Substance Offenses: 
Descriptive Statistics and Regression Analysis (2009-2012) 

 
The Commission annually reviews sentencing data to determine if there were any patterns 

or trends that warranted further study. From 2009 to 2012, descriptive statistics demonstrated 
high departure rates for first- and second-degree controlled substance offenses. The rates also 
varied based on an offender’s criminal history score, race, drug amounts, and where the 
offender was sentenced.  
 

 
 

• Less than half first- and second-
degree controlled substance 
offenders received the 
presumptive Guidelines 
sentence. Descriptive statistics 
were used to demonstrate that 
departure rates were very high 
(Figure 13). 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

• Departure rates were higher for 
offenders with lower criminal 
history scores (Figure 14).  

 
• Thirty-one percent of the 

offenders with a Criminal History 
Score of zero received the 
combined presumptive disposition 
and duration. 

 
• More than half of the offenders 

with a Criminal History Score of 6 
or more received the combined 
presumptive disposition and 
duration.   

 
 

35%
46%

23% 16%

43% 38%

Cont. Sub. 1st Degree Cont. Sub. 2nd Degree

Figure 13. 2009-2012 Descriptive Statistics; 
Departure Rates for 

First- and Second-Degree Controlled Substance 
Offenses

Prison (Presumptive Time) Prison (Less Time)

Mitigated Disposition

31% 36%
48% 54% 51% 53% 57%

41%

8%
21%

25%
26% 32% 34% 31%

19%

61%
42%

27% 20% 17% 14% 12%

40%

CHS 0 CHS 1 CHS 2 CHS 3 CHS 4 CHS 5 CHS 6 TOTAL

Figure 14. 2009-2012 Descriptive Statistics; 
Departure Rates for First- and Second-Degree 

Controlled Substance Offenses by 
Criminal History Score (CHS)

Prison (Presump. Time) Prison (Less Time) Mit. Disposition
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• Departure rates varied by 

Minnesota’s ten Judicial 
Districts (Figure 15).  

 
• Only 27 percent of offenders 

received the combined 
presumptive disposition and 
duration in the Fourth Judicial 
District. 

 
• Seventy-seven percent of 

offenders received the 
combined presumptive 
disposition and duration in the 
Eighth Judicial District.   

 
 

 
 

 
 

• Departure rates varied by race 
and ethnicity (Figure 16).  

 
• Departures were highest 

among blacks, whites, and 
American Indian offenders. 

 
• Fifty-one percent of both 

Hispanic offenders and Asian 
offenders received the 
combined presumptive 
disposition and duration.  

 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 

33% 41%

64%

27%
38% 33%

50%

77%

47% 37%

16%

27%

7%

38% 12% 19%

12%

7%

7% 10%

51%
32% 29% 35%

50% 48%
38%

16%

46% 40%

1ST 2ND 3RD 4TH 5TH 6TH 7TH 8TH 9TH 10TH

Figure 15. 2009-2012 Descriptive Statistics; 
Departure Rates for First- and Second-Degree 

Controlled Substance Offenses by Judicial District

Prison (Presump. Time) Prison (Less Time) Mit. Disposition

39% 38% 37%
51% 51%

15%
29%

13%

19% 10%

47%
33%

49%
30% 39%

WHITE BLACK AM. INDIAN HISPANIC ASIAN

Figure 16. 2009-2012 Descriptive Statistics; 
Departure Rates for First- and Second-Degree 

Controlled Substance Offenses by Race/Ethnicity

Prison (Presump. Time) Prison (Less Time) Mit. Disposition
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• Data collected from 488 criminal 
complaints of defendants 
sentenced in 2011 demonstrated 
that departure rates varied by the 
amount of controlled substance 
involved in the conviction offense 
(Figure 17). 
 

• Thirty-one percent of offenders 
with less than double the 
threshold amount received the 
combined presumptive 
disposition and duration. 

 
• Forty-five percent of offenders 

with double the threshold amount 
or more received the combined 
presumptive disposition and 
duration. 

 
Based on the descriptive statistics, the Commission directed its staff to perform a regression 

analysis to explore the relationship between departures and the various independent factors 
that seemed significant, but could not be confirmed using descriptive statistics alone.  

 
To help guide development of the regression model, staff reviewed scholarly articles that 

used regression to study similar topics. Commission staff used logistic regression to predict the 
odds of receiving a departure based on selected independent variables: race, criminal history 
score, judicial district, and drug amounts. Data collected from 488 offenders sentenced in 2011 
for first- or second-degree controlled substance offenses were used in the logistic regression 
because these cases included detailed information about the amount of controlled substances 
involved in the conviction offenses. Drug amounts were not available in the annual MSGC 
Monitoring data. 
 

Three models were constructed to summarize selected effects. Model 1 summarized the 
effects for race and ethnicity, criminal history score and drug amounts (Table 6). The results 
showed the following significant effects: 

 
• Compared to white offenders, Hispanic offenders were 61.3 percent less likely to get a 

departure from the either the presumptive disposition or presumptive duration; 
• Offenders with a Criminal History Score of 1 or more were 65.2 percent less likely to get 

a departure; and 
• Offenders with double the controlled substance threshold amount or more were 40.3 

percent less likely to get a departure. 
 

31%
45%

20%

23%

49%
33%

LESS THAN DOUBLE 
THRESHOLD

DOUBLE THE THRESHOLD 
OR MORE

Figure 17. 2011 Descriptive Statistics; 
Departure Rates for First- and Second-Degree 

Controlled Substance Offenses by Drug Amount

Prison (Presumptive Time) Prison (Less Time)

Mitigated Disposition
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Table 6.  Summary of Model 1:  
Effects for Race/Ethnicity, Criminal History Score and Drug Amounts 

 
Independent Variables Direction of 

Correlation 
% Change 
in Odds 

Significance         

(Compared to White Offenders) 
Race/Ethnicity=Black 

 
Positive (+) 

 
 20.4% 

 
0.455 

Hispanic Negative(-) -61.3% 0.000** 
Other include Am. Indian, Asian Negative(-) -26.2% 0.410 

CHS =1 or more Negative(-) -65.2% 0.000** 
Double Threshold or more Negative(-) -40.3% 0.013* 
 
  * p-value < .05 odds are due to chance. 
 ** p-value < .01 odds are due to chance. 
 

 
Model 2 summarized the effects for judicial district, criminal history score and drug amounts 

(Table 7). The results showed the following significant effects11: 
 
• Compared to the Tenth Judicial District12, offenders sentenced in the Third Judicial 

District and the Eighth Judicial District were less likely to get a departure while offenders 
in the Fourth Judicial District were 129.1 percent more likely to get a departure; 

• Offenders with a Criminal History Score of 1 or more were 56.7 percent less likely to get 
a departure; and 

• Offenders with double the threshold amount or more were 40.4 percent less likely to get 
a departure. 

 
Table 7.  Summary of Model 2: 

Effects for Judicial District, Criminal History Score and Drug Amounts 
 

Displaying Only Significant 
Independent Variables 

Direction of 
Correlation 

% Change 
in Odds 

Significance         

(Compared to the 10th Judicial District)10 
3rd Judicial District 

 
Negative(-) 

 
-78.2% 

 
.004** 

4th Judicial District Positive (+) 129.1% .033* 
8th Judicial District Negative(-) -71.7% .026* 

CHS =1 or more Negative(-) -56.7% .000** 
Double Threshold or more Negative(-) -40.4% .017* 

 
  * p-value < .05 odds are due to chance. 
 ** p-value < .01 odds are due to chance. 

 

11 Table summarizes and displays significant effects only. 
12 The Tenth Judicial District was used for comparison because its departure rates were the most similar to the state’s 
overall departure rates for first- and second-controlled substance offenses.  
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Model 3 summarized the effects for race and ethnicity, judicial district, criminal history score 
and drug amounts (Table 8). The results showed the following significant effects9: 

 
• Compared to white offenders, Hispanic offenders were 64.4 percent less likely to get a 

departure; 
• Compared to the Tenth Judicial District10, offenders sentenced in the Third Judicial 

District and the Eighth Judicial District were less likely to get a departure while offenders 
in the Fourth Judicial District were more likely; 

• Offenders with a Criminal History Score of 1 or more were 65.3 percent less likely to get 
a departure; and  

• Offenders with double the threshold amount or more were 38.1 percent less likely to get 
a departure. 

 
 

Table 8.  Summary of Model 3: 
Effects for Race/Ethnicity, Judicial District, Criminal History Score and Drug Amounts 

 
Displaying Only Significant 
Independent Variables 

Direction of 
Correlation 

% Change 
in Odds 

Significance         

(Compared to White Offenders) 
Race/Ethnicity=Hispanic Negative(-) 

 
-64.4% 

 
0.000** 

(Compared to the 10th Judicial 
District) 3rd Judicial District Negative(-) 

 
-72.4% 

 
.017* 

4th Judicial District Positive(+) 152.2% .022* 
8th Judicial District Negative(-) -72.2% .029* 

CHS =1 or more Negative(-) 65.3% .000** 
Double Threshold or more Negative(-) -38.1% .030* 

 
  * p-value < .05 odds are due to chance. 
 ** p-value < .01 odds are due to chance. 

 
 

In summary, there were four statistically significant findings from the regression analysis 
of first- or second-degree controlled substance offenders: (1) Hispanic offenders were less 
likely to receive departures than white offenders; (2) Offenders with Criminal History Scores 
of 1 or more were less likely to get departures; (3) Offenders with double the controlled 
substance threshold amount or more were less likely to get departures; (4) Compared to the 
Tenth Judicial District, offenders sentenced in the Third Judicial District and the Eighth 
Judicial District were less likely to get departures while offenders in the Fourth Judicial 
District were more likely to get departures.13 These findings were consistent with the 
descriptive statistics initially prepared and reported. 

 
  

13 The Tenth Judicial District was used for comparison because its departure rates were the most similar to the state’s 
overall departure rates for first- and second-controlled substance offenses.  
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The Commission’s Activities in 2014 
  
 The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission is an eleven-member body created by 
the Legislature. Eight members are appointed by the Governor: the Commissioner of 
Corrections, one peace officer, one prosecutor, one defense attorney, one probation officer, and 
three citizens, one of whom must be a crime victim. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court 
also appoints three members representing the District Court, Court of Appeals, and Supreme 
Court.   
 
 Currently, the Governor’s appointees are: Jeffrey Edblad, Chair and Isanti County Attorney; 
Jason Anderson, probation representative, Itasca County Probation Director; Sgt. Paul Ford, 
peace officer representative; Cathryn Middlebrook, Chief Appellate Public Defender; Tom Roy, 
Commissioner of Corrections; Yamy Vang, citizen representative; and Sarah Walker, citizen 
representative. The judicial representatives are Justice Christopher Dietzen, Vice-Chair and 
Minnesota Supreme Court Justice; Judge Caroline Lennon, First Judicial District Court; Judge 
Heidi Schellhas, Minnesota Court of Appeals.14 
 
 
Modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary 
  
 One of the basic responsibilities of the Commission is to maintain the Guidelines by annually 
modifying them in response to legislative changes, case law, and issues raised by various 
parties. In order to meet this responsibility, the Commission met ten times during 2014, held one 
public hearing, and approved a number of modifications to the Guidelines summarized in the 
section below. 
  
Adopted Modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary –  
Effective August 1, 2014 
 

The Commission adopted modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary 
resulting from amended and new legislation, and other non-legislative policy considerations. All 
modifications are set forth in Appendix 2. 

 
A. Amended Offenses: Specific offenses were amended by the 2014 Legislature. In some 

cases, the amendments expanded definitional statements; in others, the amendments 
expanded the scope of the offense. For each offense, taking the amendment into 
consideration, the Commission decided if the Guidelines needed to be modified. 

 
For each of the following amended offenses, the Commission adopted a proposal to 

maintain the current severity-level rankings in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5, and 
maintain the current list of eligible offense for permissive consecutive sentencing in Minn. 
Sentencing Guidelines § 6. 

14 John Stuart, former State Public Defender, was a member of the Commission until his retirement on June 30, 2014. 
The Governor appointed his replacement, Cathryn Middlebrook, effective October 11, 2014. 
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1. Lawful gambling fraud under Minn. Stat. § 609.763 – Unranked. 
 

2. Fraudulent finance statements under Minn. Stat. § 609.7475 – Unranked. 
 

3. Crimes of violence under Minn. Stat. § 624.712 (affecting firearm possession by 
ineligible persons under Minn. Stat. §§ 609.165 and 624.713, subd. 1(2)) – Severity 
Level 6. 
 

4. Accidents under Minn. Stat. §§ 169.09; 609.2112 – various severity-level rankings. 
 

5. Predatory offender registration under Minn. Stat. § 243.166 – Severity Level H. 
 

6. Criminal vehicular homicide and operation under Minn. Stat. §§ 609.2112; 609.2113; 
609.2114 – various severity-level rankings. 
 

7. Perjury under Minn. Stat. § 609.48 – Severity Level 4 and Severity Level 5. 
 
In addition, laws related to the expungement of criminal records were amended to allow 

the court to expunge juvenile arrest and delinquency proceedings if it determined that the 
expungement would benefit the subject and the benefit would not be detrimental to public 
safety. As a result, Guidelines Comment 2.B.03 was modified to clarify the procedures for 
the use of expunged records for sentencing purposes before January 1, 2015 and on or 
after January 1, 2015.  

 
For the two following amended offenses, the Commission adopted a proposal to re-rank 

the Severity Level in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5. 
 

1. Fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct under Minn. Stat. § 609.3451 – Change to Severity 
Level F; and keep on the list of eligible offenses for permissive consecutive sentencing. 
 

2. Third-degree criminal sexual conduct under Minn. Stat. § 609.344, subdivision 1, 
paragraph b with reference to subdivision 2(2) – Change to Severity Level G; and keep 
on the list of eligible offenses for permissive consecutive sentencing. 
 

 
B. New Medical Cannabis Offenses: New laws for medical use of cannabis were enacted by 

the Legislature during the 2014 Legislative Session which allowed state-licensed 
manufacturers to produce medical cannabis for patients with qualifying medical conditions. 
Criminal penalties for violations are provided in Minn. Stat. § 152.33. 

 
For each of the new offenses, the Commission adopted a proposal to rank the new 

offense. The Commission adopted a proposal not to add medical cannabis violations to the 
list of eligible offenses for permissive consecutive sentencing in Minn. Sentencing 
Guidelines § 6. 
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1. Medical cannabis violations (submission of false records) under Minn. Stat. § 152.33, 
subdivision 4 – Severity Level 2; 

 
2. Medical cannabis violations (intentional diversion) under Minn. Stat. § 152.33, 

subdivision 1 – Severity Level 1; and 
 

3. Medical cannabis violations (diversion by patient, registered designated caregiver, or 
parent) under Minn. Stat. § 152.33, subdivision 2 – Severity Level 1.  
 

 
C. Non-Legislative Modifications: Non-legislative modifications were clarifications to existing 

Guidelines’ policies and technical changes resulting from repealed laws, inadvertently 
unranked offenses, instructions from the Revisor of Statutes, and changes to the unofficial 
section of the Guidelines. A summary of these modifications are as follows: 

 
1. Assigned a Severity Level 1 to fraudulent procurement of a certificate of title under Minn. 

Stat. § 508.80. The offense is a felony with a 5-year statutory maximum. It has been 
inadvertently left unranked in the Guidelines. The law has been in effect since 1905. 
 

2. Changed custody status language to clarify that a sex offender who committed an 
offense within the original length of probation would qualify for two custody points. 
 

3. Added definitions for “severity level” and “criminal history score.” 
 

4. Rearranged severity level language, moving it from the general rule to the “severity 
level” definition. 
 

5. Moved information referring to the most serious offense to the commentary. 
 

6. Clarified that the shorter sentence for benefit of a gang applied only to the general 
conspiracy statute under Minn. Stat. § 609.175. 
 

7. Clarified that the court must equate non-Minnesota offenses to Minnesota offenses. 
 

8. Added an unofficial appendix that lists offenses in which the presumptive sentence 
duration may exceed the statutory maximum.   
 

9. Removed references to repealed statutes from the Guidelines. 
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Additional Commission Activities 
 
Consecutive Sentencing Policy Discussion 
 

Over the past year, the Commission studied how consecutive sentences are executed—that 
is, when and how the second or subsequent sentence is served in relation to the first 
sentence—and specifically, when the period of supervised release is served. The Commission 
discussed how the Department of Corrections’ administration of a consecutive sentence varied 
depending on the language of the Sentencing Order. The Commission raised concerns that the 
two methods of administration have created a situation in which consecutive sentences have 
not been uniformly applied throughout the state, and that the practice presents problems with 
transparency in sentencing. The Commission examined three proposals to address the problem 
including information on cost of supervision and prison-bed impact. The Commission intends to 
work toward resolution of this issue in 2015. 

 
U.S. Sentencing Guidelines Changes 
 

Effective November 1, 2014, the United States Sentencing Commission reduced federal 
sentencing guidelines levels for most drug trafficking offenses. The Minnesota Sentencing 
Guidelines Commission compared the revised federal guidelines with the Minnesota Sentencing 
Guidelines’ treatment of Minnesota drug sales.   
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Staff Activities 
 

The following provides a summary of the activities performed by staff, in addition to 
providing support and research for the Guidelines modifications detailed in this report, to further 
the goals and purpose of the Commission. 

 
Monitoring Sentencing Data 
 
 One of the primary functions of the Sentencing Guidelines Commission staff is to monitor 
sentencing practices. The monitoring system is designed to maintain data on all offenders 
convicted of a felony and sentenced under the Guidelines. A case is defined when a sentencing 
worksheet is received from the probation officer and matched with sentencing data from the 
District Court. As part of the agency’s core functions, Commission staff collected and analyzed 
data for over 15,000 felony offenders. Additionally, staff published its annual edition of the 
Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary, Report to the Legislature, and various reports on 
sentencing practices and trends. 
 
Training and Assistance 

 
The staff provides assistance with the Guidelines in a variety of ways: traditional training 

seminars, website training materials and informational publications, and real-time email and 
telephone assistance for judges, attorneys, and probation officers in determining appropriate 
presumptive sentences. On average, the staff fielded nearly 250 phone calls per month in 2014; 
the majority of which were questions from practitioners about the application of the Guidelines. 

 
 In 2014, staff trained 250 practitioners in nine traditional classroom trainings. In additional to 
fulfilling training requests from probation agencies, public defenders, and prosecutors, this 
year’s classroom trainings included the annual conference of Public Defenders, and training for 
new prosecutors conducted by the Minnesota Association of County Attorneys.  

 
Nearly 200 additional practitioners were trained statewide via the online training service 

WebEx made available on the Commission’s website. These trainings allow Commission staff to 
focus the training on a single topic, giving practitioners a more in-depth view of advanced 
policies. MSGC training staff has also made available five pre-recorded training sessions that 
practitioners can access when their schedule permits, making the training more accessible to all 
practitioners. Finally, the Commission staff published four issues of its newsletter, The 
Guideliner, directed primarily at probation officers, prosecutors, and defense attorneys. All of the 
above services are offered in an effort to promote the accurate application of the Guidelines. 

 
Website 
  
 The Commission’s newly designed website was launched in mid-2013. Since then, visits 
have gone up by 13 percent with an average 2,500 to 3,000 visits each month. The website 
includes easily accessible email signup for quarterly newsletters, upcoming trainings, public 
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hearing notices, and Commission meeting notices. One-click data requests makes getting 
sentencing information easy.  
  
Data Requests 

 
One of the important ways in which the Commission’s staff works with fellow agencies and 

criminal justice practitioners across the state is researching and compiling statistical data in 
response to information requests. In 2014, MSGC staff responded to almost 200 data requests 
totaling a little more than 400 hours. These requests are most often made by lawyers or 
corrections agents to show specific sentencing practices to the court. However, the requests are 
also made by academics, students, other state agencies, legislative staff, law enforcement, and 
the press for other purposes. The topics range from departure data for a single type of offense 
within a given county to comparative data on how an offense has been sentenced from one 
jurisdiction to another. Requests for data have doubled over the last year. Once reason may be 
the ease at which people can request data from the website, as noted above.  

 
Fiscal/Racial-Impact Statements 

 During the 2014 Legislative Session, staff provided 42 fiscal impact statements for 
introduced legislation during the 2014 Legislative Session. These impact statements include 
details as to any increase or decrease in adult offender populations, the estimated net increase 
in state correctional facility beds, and the impact on confinement in local correctional facilities. 
Staff provided the requested information within the time requirements set by the legislature. 

 Almost ten years ago, the Commission began providing the legislature with racial-impact 
notes on proposed crime bills when a disparate impact was anticipated. Since that time, several 
states have enacted laws requiring such estimates. Minnesota’s notes are often used as a 
pattern. There were no racial-impact notes prepared during the 2014 Legislative Session.  

 During the 2013 Legislative Session, one racial-impact note was prepared: House File 285, 
proposed to amend the list of offenses defined as crimes of violence in Minn. Stat.                     
§ 624.712. The expansion of this list would have increased racial disparity in Minnesota’s prison 
population because a disproportionate number of offenders sentenced to felony fifth-degree 
assault, felony domestic assault, domestic assault by strangulation, and juveniles not to 
possess firearms, are black or American Indian as compared to the overall felony population in 
Minnesota. This bill was not enacted. 

Collaboration with Criminal Justice Agencies 
 

The staff’s knowledge of felony sentencing and practice makes it a valued contributor to 
criminal justice policy discussions. Each year, Commission staff works with the Department of 
Corrections to generate prison bed projections. MSGC staff also serves on the Criminal and 
Juvenile Justice Information Task Force. 
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Electronic Sentencing Worksheet 
 

The Electronic Worksheet System (EWS) assists probation officers in creating the 
Guidelines sentencing worksheet. In March 2013, the Commission began a one-year project to 
re-design the EWS system with technical assistance from the Department of Corrections. The 
project was supported by Minnesota’s criminal justice community and was funded, in part, by an 
appropriation from the 2013 Legislature.  

The new EWS successfully launched statewide to over 800 users in the spring of 2014. New 
EWS includes a presumptive sentence calculator, a worksheet copy feature, data integration 
with the Minnesota Court Information System (MNCIS), and user email notifications. EWS is 
reducing errors, making errors more identifiable, and improving the reliability of worksheets that 
are presented to the court. The project official closed in October of 2014 after a major 
maintenance release. 
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County Attorney Firearms Reports 
 

Current law requires all county attorneys in Minnesota, by July 1 of each year, to submit to 
the Commission its data regarding felony cases in which defendants allegedly possessed or 
used a firearm and committed offenses listed in Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subdivision 9.15  Pursuant 
to Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subdivision 14, the Commission is required to include in its annual 
Report to the Legislature a summary and analysis of the reports received. Memoranda 
describing the mandate, along with forms on which to report, are distributed by the Commission 
to County attorneys. Although the Commission’s staff clarifies inconsistencies in the summary 
data, the information received from the County Attorneys is reported directly as provided. 
 

Since the mandate began in 1996, the average number of cases involving firearms 
statewide has been 746 yearly. Between July 1, 2013 and June 30, 2014, there were 1,089 
cases allegedly involving a firearm (Figure 18). This was a seven percent increase (73 cases) 
over the 1,016 cases reported in FY 2013. As shown in Figure 19, of those 1,089 cases, 
prosecutors charged 1,024 cases (94%) while 65 cases (6%) were not charged. 
 

 
 

  

15 The statute provides a mandatory minimum sentence of 36 months for the first conviction of specified offenses, and 
60 months for a second.  Offenses include murder in the first, second, or third degree; assault in the first, second, or 
third degree; burglary; kidnapping; false imprisonment; manslaughter in the first or second degree; aggravated 
robbery; simple robbery; first-degree or aggravated first-degree witness tampering; some criminal sexual conduct 
offenses; escape from custody; arson in the first, second, or third degree; felony drive-by shooting; aggravated 
harassment and stalking; felon in possession of a firearm; and felony controlled substance offenses. 
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Of the 1,024 cases charged, 725 (71%) were convicted of offenses designated in Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.11; 115 (11%) were convicted of offenses not covered by the mandatory minimum (e.g., 
terroristic threats); 137 (13%) had all charges dismissed; 18 (2%) were acquitted on all charges; 
and 29 (3%) were “other” cases including federal prosecutions and stays of adjudication (Figure 
20). 

 

 
 

 

Charged
94%

Not Charged
6%

Figure 19. Cases Charged

Charged Not Charged

Convicted-
Designated 

Offense
71%Convicted-

Non-Designated 
Offense

11%

Dismissed
13%

Acquitted
2% Other

3%

Figure 20. Case Outcomes

34 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  
 



Report to the Legislature 2015 

 

In 662 (91%) of the 725 cases in which there was a conviction for a designated offense, use 
or possession of a firearm was established on the record (Figure 21). The fact-finder, i.e., the 
judge or jury, must establish whether the defendant or an accomplice used or possessed a 
firearm in the commission of the offense at the time of conviction. Minn. Stat. § 609.11, 
subdivision 7. 

 
In the cases in which the firearm was established on the record, 397 offenders (60%)16 were 

sentenced to the mandatory minimum prison term (Figure 21, inset). The statute specifically 
allows the prosecutor to file a motion to have the defendant sentenced without regard to the 
mandatory minimum. The prosecutor must provide a statement as to the reasons for the motion. 
If the court finds substantial mitigating factors, with or without a motion by the prosecutor, the 
defendant may be sentenced without regard to the mandatory minimum. Minn. Stat. § 609.11, 
subdivision 8. 

 
 
 

Figure 21. Cases Convicted of Designated Offense; 
Firearm Established on the Record (Inset) 

 

 
 

 
 

 
16  County attorneys’ data for fiscal year 2014 (ending June 30, 2014). According to MSGC monitoring data from 
calendar year 2013, of those offenders whose sentencing worksheets reflected the use or possession of a firearm 
requiring a mandatory prison sentence under Minn. Stat. § 609.11, 49 percent (344 offenders) received both the 
mandatory prison disposition and the mandatory minimum duration. In addition, 16 percent (104 offenders) received 
the mandatory prison disposition, but less than the mandatory minimum duration. 
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Table 9.  County Attorney Firearms Reports on Criminal Cases Allegedly  
Involving a Firearm by MN County 

Cases Disposed from July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014 

 
County 
 

Cases 
Allegedly 
Involving a 
Firearm 

Cases 
Charged 

Cases 
Convicted – 
Designated 

Offense 

Cases in 
which a 

Firearm was 
Established  

on the 
Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 
Sentence 

Imposed and 
Executed 

Aitkin 8 8 4 0 0 
Anoka 43 43 33 28 9 
Becker 9 9 8 7 6 
Beltrami* --- --- --- --- --- 
Benton* --- --- --- --- --- 
Big Stone 0 0 0 0 0 
Blue Earth 3 3 1 1 1 
Brown 6 4 1 1 1 
Carlton 9 8 6 5 1 
Carver 0 0 0 0 0 
Cass 5 5 3 3 1 
Chippewa 0 0 0 0 0 
Chisago 2 2 1 1 1 
Clay 5 5 5 5 5 
Clearwater 2 2 0 0 0 
Cook* --- --- --- ---- --- 
Cottonwood 2 2 2 2 1 
Crow Wing 7 7 4 1 1 
Dakota 47 44 29 29 20 
Dodge 4 4 0 0 0 
Douglas* --- --- ---- --- --- 
Faribault 1 1 0 0 0 
Fillmore 2 2 1 1 1 
Freeborn 4 4 4 3 1 
Goodhue 1 1 0 0 0 
Grant 2 2 2 1 0 
Hennepin 355 355 257 257 149 
Houston 2 2 1 1 1 
Hubbard 7 2 1 1 0 
Isanti 3 3 2 2 1 
Itasca 13 11 8 8 0 
Jackson 1 1 0 0 0 
Kanabec 6 5 4 3 0 
Kandiyohi 6 6 4 3 2 

* Not reported as of December 18, 2014. 
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County 
 

Cases 
Allegedly 
Involving a 
Firearm 

Cases 
Charged 

Cases 
Convicted – 
Designated 

Offense 

Cases in 
which a 

Firearm was 
Established  

on the 
Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 
Sentence 

Imposed and 
Executed 

Kittson 0 0 0 0 0 
Koochiching 0 0 0 0 0 
Lac Qui Parle 4 4 3 2 2 
Lake 4 4 2 2 1 
Lake of the Woods 2 2 1 1 1 
LeSueur 2 2 2 2 0 
Lincoln 0 0 0 0 0 
Lyon 9 4 2 1 1 
McLeod 4 4 3 3 1 
Mahnomen 0 0 0 0 0 
Marshall 2 2 0 0 0 
Martin 1 1 0 0 0 
Meeker 0 0 0 0 0 
Mille Lacs 27 27 11 8 6 
Morrison 4 4 4 4 2 
Mower 11 11 8 6 5 
Murray 1 1 1 1 1 
Nicollet 9 8 3 2 0 
Nobles 5 5 0 0 0 
Norman 0 0 0 0 0 
Olmsted 7 6 3 2 2 
Otter Tail 3 2 1 1 0 
Pennington 2 2 0 0 0 
Pine 6 6 4 0 0 
Pipestone 5 5 4 1 0 
Polk 31 30 28 21 15 
Pope 29 0 0 0 0 
Ramsey 181 181 141 141 92 
Red Lake 2 2 1 1 0 
Redwood 4 4 4 4 4 
Renville* --- --- --- --- --- 
Rice 5 5 4 4 4 
Rock 1 1 1 1 0 
Roseau 1 1 0 0 0 
Scott 2 2 2 2 1 
Sherburne 15 15 13 9 8 
Sibley 0 0 0 0 0 
St. Louis 42 37 23 18 15 

* Not reported as of December 18, 2014. 
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County 
 

Cases 
Allegedly 
Involving a 
Firearm 

Cases 
Charged 

Cases 
Convicted – 
Designated 

Offense 

Cases in 
which a 

Firearm was 
Established  

on the 
Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 
Sentence 

Imposed and 
Executed 

Stearns 32 32 27 26 16 
Steele 2 2 1 1 0 
Stevens 0 0 0 0 0 
Swift 3 2 0 0 0 
Todd 0 0 0 0 0 
Traverse* --- --- --- --- --- 
Wabasha 4 4 3 1 1 
Wadena 12 6 6 4 2 
Waseca 0 0 0 0 0 
Washington 27 27 20 19 12 
Watonwan 2 2 1 0 0 
Wilkin 0 0 0 0 0 
Winona 22 21 9 5 2 
Wright 9 9 8 6 4 
Yellow Medicine 0 0 0 0 0 
Total 1,089 1,024 725 662 397 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  

* Not reported as of December 18, 2014. 
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First  
Carver 
Dakota 
Goodhue 
LeSueur 
McLeod  
Scott 
Sibley 

 Second 
Ramsey 

 Third 
Dodge 
Fillmore 
Freeborn 
Houston 
Mower 
Olmsted 
Rice 
Steele 
Wabasha 
Waseca 
Winona 

 Fourth 
Hennepin 

 Fifth 
Blue Earth 
Brown  
Cottonwood 
Faribault 
Jackson 
Lincoln 
Lyon 
Martin 
Murray 
Nicollet 
Nobles  
Pipestone 
Redwood 
Rock 
Watonwan 

 Sixth 
Carlton 
Cook 
Lake 
St. Louis 
 

 Seventh 
Becker 
Benton 
Clay 
Douglas 
Mille Lacs 
Morrison 
Otter Tail 
Stearns  
Todd  
Wadena 
 

 Eighth 
Big Stone 
Chippewa 
Grant 
Kandiyohi 
LacQuiParle 
Meeker 
Pope 
Renville 
Stevens 
Swift  
Traverse 
Wilkin 
Yellow Medicine 

 Ninth 
Aitkin 
Beltrami 
Cass 
Clearwater 
Crow Wing 
Hubbard  
Itasca 
Kittson 
Koochiching 
Lake-Woods 
Mahnomen 
Marshall 
Norman  
Pennington 
Polk 
Red Lake 
Roseau 

 Tenth 
Anoka 
Chisago 
Isanti 
Kanabec 
Pine 
Sherburne 
Washington 
Wright 
 
 

 

Appendix 1.  Minnesota Judicial District Map  

  

  Minnesota Judicial Branch at http://mncourts.gov/?page=238 
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Appendix 2.  Adopted Modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary – 
Effective for Crimes Committed on or after August 1, 2014 
 

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission adopted the following proposed 
modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary resulting from new and amended 
legislation and other policy considerations. 
 
A. Legislative Modifications –Amended Offenses from the 2014 Legislative Session. 
 
The following existing offenses were amended by the 2014 Legislature. In some cases, the 
amendments expanded definitional statements; in others, the amendments expanded the scope 
of the offense. For each offense listed below, taking the amendment into consideration, the 
Commission decided if the Guidelines needed modification including whether offenses should be 
re-ranked and whether there should be any amendments to the permissive consecutive offense 
list in Guidelines § 6. 

 
1. Amended Lawful Gambling Fraud (Minn. Stat. § 609.763). 
 
Reference: Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 240. 

  
Description: Gambling fraud was expanded to include anyone who: a) knowingly tampers 
with or attempts to alter a component or device used in the conduct or play of electronic pull-
tabs or electronic linked bingo as authorized under chapter 349 or attempts to convert legal 
gambling into illegal gambling at an establishment licensed under chapter 340A; or b) has 
unauthorized possession of an electronic pull-tab device, an electronic linked bingo device, or 
other component used in electronic pull-tabs or electronic linked bingo as authorized under 
chapter 349. 

 

Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to leave the offense unranked 
in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5, and maintain the current list of eligible offenses for 
permissive consecutive sentencing in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 6. 

 
 

2. Amended Fraudulent Finance Statements (Minn. Stat. § 609.7475). 
 
Reference: Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 306. 

 
Description: Fraudulent financial statements under Minn. Stat. § 609.7475 was amended to 
expand the list of victims for which the penalty would be enhanced from a gross misdemeanor 
to a felony. Under current law it is a gross misdemeanor to file or promote the filing of a record 
with the intent to harass or defraud another person.  Under current law, the penalty is 
enhanced to a five-year felony if the person commits the offense with the intent to influence a 
juror; retaliate against a judicial officer, prosecutor, defense attorney, or officer of the court, 
because of that person’s performance in a judicial proceeding; retaliate against a sheriff or 
deputy sheriff because of that person’s performance of official duties; or retaliate against a 
county recorder because of that person’s performance of official duties. The felony 
enhancement list was expanded to include police officers, chiefs of police, and employees of 
the Department of Corrections or a local correctional agency. 
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Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to leave the offense unranked 
in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5, and maintain the current list of eligible offenses for 
permissive consecutive sentencing in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 6. 

 
 

3. Amended Fifth-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct (Minn. Stat. § 609.3451). 
 
Reference: Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 270. 

 
Description: Fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct offenses were amended in the following 
manner: a) Minn. Stat. § 609.135, subdivision 2, raised the length of stay for convictions of 
gross misdemeanor fifth-degree CSC from two years to six years; b) the statutory maximum 
for felony fifth-degree CSC was raised from five years to seven years; and c) the definition of 
prior offenses that elevate a fifth-degree CSC offense to a felony to include: anyone who has 
two previous convictions for gross misdemeanor fifth-degree CSC, a felony provision of 
indecent exposure (Minn. Stat. § 617.23), any first- through fourth-degree CSC (Minn. Stats. 
§§ 609.342 to 345), criminal sexual predatory conduct (Minn. Stat. § 609.3453), and 
possession or dissemination of child pornography (Minn. Stat. § 617.247). 

 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to re-rank fifth-degree CSC at 
Severity Level F in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5, and keep fifth-degree criminal sexual 
conduct on the list of eligible offenses for permissive consecutive sentencing in Minn. 
Sentencing Guidelines § 6. The modifications are outlined below. 

 
 Modifications to Section 4.B.  Sex Offender Grid. 

 
* * * 

 CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 
SEVERITY LEVEL OF 
CONVICTION OFFENSE 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or 

More 
CSC 4th Degree–  
(a)(b)(e)(f); CSC 5th Degree; 
Possession of Child Pornography 

(Subsequent or by Predatory 
Offender) 

F 18 27 36 45 
39-54 

59 
51-70 

77 
66-92 

84 
72-100 

CSC 5th Degree 
Indecent Exposure 
Possession of Child Pornography 
Solicit Children for Sexual 

Conduct 2 

G 15 20 25 30 39 
34-46 

51 
44-60 

60 
51-60 2 

 
* * * 

 
Modification to Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table. 

 
* * * 
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Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

F Criminal Sexual Conduct 5th Degree 609.3451, subd. 3 

G Criminal Sexual Conduct 5th Degree 609.3451, subd. 3 

 
* * * 

 
Modifications to Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation. 
 
* * * 

 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.3451, subd. 3 Criminal Sexual Conduct 5th Degree F 

609.3451, subd. 3 Criminal Sexual Conduct 5th Degree G 

 

* * * 

 
4. Amended List of Crimes of Violence (Minn. Stat. § 624.712). 

 
Reference: Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 260. 

 
Description: The list of crimes of violence contained in Minn. Stat. § 624.712, was expanded 
to include felony assault in the fifth degree under Minn. Stat. § 609.224, subd. 4; felony 
domestic assault under Minn. Stat. § 609.2242, subd. 4; and domestic assault by strangulation 
under Minn. Stat. § 609.2247. A person convicted of committing a crime of violence is 
prohibited from possession of firearms under Minn. Stat. § 609.165 or Minn. Stat. § 624.713, 
subd. 1(2). 

 
Three offenses that were on the list of crimes of violence were removed: motor vehicle theft; 
theft from an abandoned, burning, or vacant building or from an area of destruction caused 
by civil disaster, riot, bombing or the proximity of battle; and third-degree burglary.    

 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to leave the offense of 
prohibited persons from possession of a firearm under Minn. Stat. § 609.165 and Minn. Stat. 
§ 624.713, subd. 1(2), ranked at Severity Level 6 in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5, and 
maintain the current list of eligible offenses for permissive consecutive sentencing in Minn. 
Sentencing Guidelines § 6. 
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5. Amended Accidents (Minn. Stat. § 169.09; §609.2112). 
 

Reference: Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 186. 
 

Description: Terminology changed from “accident” to “collision” in Minn. Stat. § 169.09 for 
accidents and Minn. Stat. § 609.2112 for criminal vehicular homicide. 

 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to maintain the existing 
severity level-rankings in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5, and maintain the current list of 
eligible offenses for permissive consecutive sentencing in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 6. 

 
 

6. Amended Predatory Offender Registration (Minn. Stat. § 243.166). 
 

Reference: Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 259. 
 

Description: The statute requiring predatory offenders to register was amended to clarify that 
offenders must register if they commit any prostitution offense involving a minor under Minn. 
Stats. §§ 609.322 or 344. It also provides that offenders who are civilly committed under Minn. 
Stat. § 253B.185 are required to register, as well as those committed under Chapter 253D. 

 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to maintain the existing 
severity level-rankings in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5, and maintain the current list of 
eligible offenses for permissive consecutive sentencing in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 6. 

 
 

7. Amended Third-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct (§ 609.344). 
 

Reference: Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 259. 
 

Description: Third-degree criminal sexual conduct (CSC) under Minn. Stat. § 609.344 was 
amended to move an offense with a five-year statutory maximum from the definition section 
into the penalty section. The general statutory maximum for third-degree CSC is 15 years. 
However, if the person was convicted under subdivision 1, paragraph b, and was at least 24 
months older than the complainant, but not more than 48 months older, the statutory maximum 
is five years. The penalties are now separated into two distinct paragraphs in the penalty 
section.    

 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to rank third-degree CSC 
under subdivision 1, paragraph b at Severity Level G in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5, and 
to keep the offense on the list of eligible offenses for permissive consecutive sentencing in 
Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 6. The modifications are outlined below. 

 
 Modifications to Section 4.B.  Sex Offender Grid. 

 
* * * 
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 CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 
SEVERITY LEVEL OF 
CONVICTION OFFENSE 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or 

More 
CSC 2nd Degree–(a)(b)(g)  
CSC 3rd Degree–(a)(b)2(e)(f) 

or(b)with ref. to subd. 2(1) 
Dissemination of Child 

Pornography (Subsequent 
or by Predatory Offender) 

D 36 48 60 
51-72 

70 
60-84 

91 
78-109 

119 
102-142 

140 
119-168 

 
* * * 

* * * 

 CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 
SEVERITY LEVEL OF 
CONVICTION OFFENSE 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or 

More 
CSC 3rd Degree–(b)with subd. 

2(2); Indecent Exposure 
Possession of Child Pornography; 
Solicit Children for Sexual 

Conduct 2 

G 15 20 25 30 39 
34-46 

51 
44-60 

60 
51-60 2 

 
* * * 

 
Modifications to Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 

 
 * * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

D Criminal Sexual Conduct 3rd Degree 609.344, subd. 
1(a)(b)(e)(f) or 
subd. 1(b) with ref. 
to subd. 2(1) 

G Criminal Sexual Conduct 3rd Degree (Actor 
between 24 mos. and 48 mos. older than 
Complainant)  

609.344, subd. 1(b) 
with ref. to subd. 
2(2) 

 
* * *  

Modifications to Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 

* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.344, subd. 
1(a)(b)(e)(f) or subd. 
1(b) with ref. to subd. 
2(1) 

Criminal Sexual Conduct 3rd Degree D 

609.344, subd. 1(b) 
with ref. to subd. 2(2) 

Criminal Sexual Conduct 3rd Degree (Actor 
between 24 mos. and 48 mos. older than 
Complainant) 

G 

 

* * * 

 
 

8. Amended Criminal Vehicular Homicide and Operation (Minn. Stat. §§ 609.21; 2112; 
2113; 2114). 
 

Reference: Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 180. 
 

Description: Mostly technical amendments were made, separating language for criminal 
vehicular homicide from language for criminal vehicular operation by level of harm.  

 

The amendment created new statutes under Minn. Stat. §§ 609.2112; 2113; 2114. Offenses 
involving unborn children were moved to the new statute, Minn. Stat. § 609.2114, Criminal 
Vehicular Operation; Unborn Child. Subdivision 1 of this new section describes criminal 
vehicular operation resulting in death to an unborn child. Subdivision 2 describes criminal 
vehicular operation resulting in injury to an unborn child. 

 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to maintain the existing 
severity level-rankings in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5, and maintain the current list of 
eligible offenses for permissive consecutive sentencing in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 6. 
The modifications are outlined below. 

 
Modifications to Section 2.B.3.g. 
 

* * * 

 
g. Assignment of Units for Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation or Felony 

Driving While Impaired (DWI).  If the current conviction is for criminal vehicular 

homicide or operation or felony DWI, assign previous violations of Minn. Stat. §§ 

169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 169.1211, 169.129, 360.0752, or 609.2112, 
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609.2113, or 609.2114 two units each.  There is no limit to the total number of 

misdemeanor points that can be included in the offender’s criminal history score 

due to criminal vehicular homicide or operation or DWI offenses. For DWI 

offenses, see section 2.B.6 for exceptions to this policy relating to predicate 

offenses used for enhancement purposes. 

* * * 

2.B.304.  The Commission believes that offenders whose current conviction is for 
criminal vehicular homicide or operation or first-degree (felony) driving while impaired, 
and who have prior violations under Minn. Stats. §§ 169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 
169.1211, 169.129, 360.0752, or 609.2112, 609.2113, or 609.2114 are also more 
culpable, and for these offenders there is no limit to the total number of misdemeanor 
points included in the criminal history score due to DWI or criminal vehicular homicide 
or operation (CVO) violations….  

  
 Modifications to Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table. 
 
 * * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

8 

 

Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation 
(Death) 

609.2112, subd. 
1a(a) 

8 

 

Criminal Vehicular Operation (Death to an 
Unborn Child) 

609.2114, subd. 1 

5 Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation 

(Great Bodily Harm) 

609.2113, subd. 
1a(b) 

5 

 

Criminal Vehicular Operation (Injury to an 
Unborn Child) 

609.2114, subd. 2 

3 Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation 
(Substantial Bodily Harm) 

609.2113, subd. 2 
1a(c) 

 

* * *  

Modifications to Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation. 
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* * *  

 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.2112, subd. 1a(a) Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation 
(Death) 

8 

 

609.2113, subd. 1a(b) Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation 

(Great Bodily Harm) 

5 

609.2113, subd. 2 
1a(c) 

Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation 
(Substantial Bodily Harm) 

3 

609.2114, subd. 1 Criminal Vehicular Operation (Death to an 
Unborn Child) 

8 

 

609.2114, subd. 2 Criminal Vehicular Operation (Injury to an 
Unborn Child) 

5 

 

 

* * *  

 
Modifications to Section 6. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive 
Sentences. 
 
* * * 

 

Statute Number Offense Title 

609.2112, subd. 1a(a) Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death) 

609.2113, subd. 1a(b) Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation 

(Great Bodily Harm) 

609.2113, subd. 2 
1a(c) 

Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation (Substantial 
Bodily Harm) 

609.2114, subd. 1 Criminal Vehicular Operation (Death to an Unborn Child) 

609.2114, subd. 2 Criminal Vehicular Operation (Injury to an Unborn Child) 

 
* * *  
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9. Amended Criminal Record Expungement (Minn. Stat. § 609A.20). 

 
Reference: Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 246. 

 
Description: Laws related to the expungement of criminal records were amended to allow 
the court to expunge juvenile arrest and delinquency proceedings if it determined that the 
expungement would benefit the subject and the benefit would not be detrimental to public 
safety. Business screening services were ordered to delete criminal records if it was known 
that the record had been sealed, expunged, or was the subject of a pardon. The eviction law 
was amended giving the court authority to expunge actions in which the defendant prevailed 
without an additional action required. 

 

Certain records will be automatically expunged without filing a petition when the prosecutor 
agrees unless the court finds that it would be detrimental to public safety. The law requires 
court administration to notify the petitioner of entities receiving the expungement order. Those 
entities are then required to send a letter to the petitioner confirming that the record was 
expunged.  

 

The circumstances under which a person may petition to have his or her criminal record 
expunged were expanded to a petitioner who 1) successfully completed a diversion program 
or stay of adjudication and has not been charged with a new crime for at least one year since 
completion of the program or stay of adjudication; 2) was convicted of or received a stayed 
sentence for a petty misdemeanor or misdemeanor and has not been convicted of a new 
crime for at least two years since discharge of the sentence; 3) was convicted of or received 
a stayed sentence for a gross misdemeanor and has not been convicted of a new crime for 
at least four years since discharge of the sentence; or 4) was convicted of or received a stayed 
sentence for certain felony offenses and has not been convicted of a new crime for at least 
five years since discharge of the sentence.  

 

Expungement orders effective on or after January 1, 2015, “may be opened, used or 
exchanged between criminal justice agencies without a court order for purposes of initiating, 
furthering or completing a criminal investigation or prosecution or for sentencing purposes or 
providing probation or other correctional services.” Ex parte orders are necessary until that 
time. 

 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to modify the commentary to 
clarify the procedures for the use of expunged records for sentencing purposes before 
January 1, 2015 and on or after January 1, 2015, as outlined below. 

 
Modifications to Section 2.B.  

 
2.B.03.  Effective before January 1, 2015, Minn. Stat. § 609A.03, subd. 7(b) applies to 
expungement orders subject to its limitations, and provides that:   
Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order: 
(1) an expunged record may be opened for purposes of a criminal investigation, 
prosecution, or sentencing, upon an ex parte court order; 
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.  .  . 
Upon request by law enforcement, prosecution, or corrections authorities, an agency 
or jurisdiction subject to an expungement order shall inform the requester of the 
existence of a sealed record and of the right to obtain access to it as provided by this 
paragraph....  
 
Effective January 1, 2015, Minn. Stat. § 609A.03, subd. 7a(b) provides that: 
 
Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order: 
(1) except as provided in clause (2), an expunged record may be opened, used, or 
exchanged between criminal justice agencies without a court order for the purposes of 
initiating, furthering, or completing a criminal investigation or prosecution or for 
sentencing purposes or providing probation or other correction services; 
 
(2) when a criminal justice agency seeks access to a record that was sealed under  
section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), after an acquittal or a court 
order dismissing for lack of probable cause, for purposes of a criminal investigation, 
prosecution, or sentencing, the requesting agency must obtain an ex parte court order 
after stating a good-faith basis to believe that opening the record may lead to relevant 
information; 

.  .  . 
 

 
10. Amended Perjury (Minn. Stat. § 609.48). 

 
Reference: Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 180. 

 
Description: A new law related to court documents was enacted under Minn. Stat. § 358.166. 
The law states that a court document does not need to be notarized. Signing a document filed 
with the court constitutes “verification upon oath or affirmation.” A person who signs a court 
document knowing that it is false is guilty of perjury under Minn. Stat. § 609.48. 

 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to maintain the existing 
severity level-rankings in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5, and maintain the current list of 
eligible offenses for permissive consecutive sentencing in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 6. 

 
 
B. Legislative Modifications – New Medical Cannabis Offenses (Minn. Stat. § 152.33).  

 
Reference: Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 311. 
 
Description: New laws for medical use of cannabis were enacted by the Legislature during 
the 2014 Legislative Session which allowed state-licensed manufacturers to produce medical 
cannabis for patients with qualifying medical conditions. Criminal penalties for violations are 
provided in Minn. Stat. § 152.33. 
 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted the following severity-level rankings in 
Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5 for violations of the medical cannabis laws. The Commission 
adopted a proposal not to add medical cannabis violations to the list of eligible offenses for 
permissive consecutive sentencing in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 6. 
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Modifications to Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table. 
 
 * * * 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

2 Medical Cannabis Violations (Submission of 
False Records) 

152.33, subd. 4 

1 Medical Cannabis Violations (Intentional 
Diversion) 

152.33, subd. 1  

1 Medical Cannabis Violations (Diversion by 
patient, registered Designated Caregiver, or 
Parent) 

152.33, subd. 2 

 
* * *   

Modifications to Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation. 
 
* * *  

 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

152.33, subd. 1  Medical Cannabis Violations (Intentional 
Diversion) 

1 

152.33, subd. 2 Medical Cannabis Violations (Diversion by 
patient, registered Designated Caregiver, or 
Parent) 

1 

152.33, subd. 4 Medical Cannabis Violations (Submission of 
False Records) 

2 

 

* * *  

C. Non-Legislative Modifications 
 

The following are non-legislative modifications to the Minn. Sentencing Guidelines. 
 

1. Second Custody Status Point for Offenders Discharged Early from Probation. 
 
Description: According to the Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 2.B.2.b, an additional custody 
status point is assigned to an offender who was on custody status for a sex offense when they 
commit a sex offense. However, the Guidelines are unclear if a second point applies to an 
offender discharged early from probation under § 2.B.2.a(4).  
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Commission staff believed that this was an oversight; a result of the extensive Guidelines 
revisions that took effect August 1, 2012. The Commission’s intent to assign a second Custody 
Status Point appeared clear in the 2011 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines, § 2.B.2. 
 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to modify Minn. Sentencing 
Guidelines, § 2.B.2.b, to clarify that a sex offender committing an offense within the original 
length of probation qualifies for two custody points, as outlined below. 

   
 

Modifications to Section 2.B.2. 
 
* * * 

b. Two Custody Status Points.  Assign two custody status points if: 
 

(1) the current conviction offense is an offense on the Sex Offender Grid other than 

Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender (243.166); 

 

(2) the offender qualifies for one custody status point, as described in section a, 

above, was under any of the custody statuses  in paragraph a(1) for an offense 

currently found  on the Sex Offender Grid other than Failure to Register as a 

Predatory Offender (Minn. Stat. § 243.166). 

* * * 
 

2. General Rule for Determining a Severity Level. 
 
Description: The Commission added definitions for the terms “Severity Level” and 
“Criminal History Score” in the definitions found in § 1.B.  
 
Further, § 2.A.1, the general rule for assigning a severity level, described a situation in 
which multiple convictions lead to the assignment of only one severity level. This language 
is intended to address the situation in which an offender is convicted of two or more felony 
offenses arising from the same behavioral incident. But it incorrectly stated that the 
severity level is determined by the most severe conviction offense when instead the court 
should sentence the most serious offense and then use the severity level assigned to that 
offense.   
 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to modify the Minn. 
Sentencing Guidelines, by adding a definition for the terms “severity level” and “criminal 
history score” to section 1.B, moving language from the general rule for severity level 
application to the definition, and moving the information referring to the most serious 
offense to a comment as described below. 
 

 Modifications to Section 1.B. 
 (Note: Inserted new paragraphs 4 and 17 and renumber subsequent paragraphs.) 
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 B. Definitions  

As used in these Sentencing Guidelines (or “Guidelines”), the following terms have the 

meanings given. 

* * * 

 4. Criminal History Score. The “criminal history score” is comprised of   

  criminal history factors detailed in section 2.B.  The horizontal axis on   

  the applicable grid represents the offender’s criminal history score. 

* * * 

 17. Severity Level.  The “severity level” is a ranking assigned to each    

 felony offense by the Sentencing Guidelines Commission to indicate    

 the seriousness of the offense. The vertical axis on the applicable grid    

 represents the severity of the conviction offense.  Felony offenses,    

 other than sex offenses, are arranged on the Standard Grid into eleven   

 levels of severity, ranging from high (Severity Level 11) to low     

 (Severity Level 1). Sex offenses are arranged on the Sex Offender Grid    

 into eight severity levels, ranging from high (Severity Level A) to low    

 (Severity Level H). Offenses listed within each severity level are    

 deemed equally serious. 

* * * 

 Modifications to Section 2.A. 

1. General Rule. The applicable offense severity level is determined by the conviction 

offense, not the charging offense. When an offender is convicted of two or more 

felonies, the severity level is determined by the most severe conviction offense. 

Felony offenses, other than sex offenses, are arranged on the Standard Grid into 

eleven levels of severity, ranging from high (Severity Level 11) to low (Severity Level 

1). Sex offenses are arranged on a separate Sex Offender Grid into eight severity 

levels, ranging from high (Severity Level A) to low (Severity Level H). Offenses listed 

within each severity level are deemed to be equally serious. The severity level for 

each felony offense is governed by found in section 5A, Offense Severity Reference 

Table. 
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 * * * 

 Modifications to Section 2.A. 
 * * * 

2.A.07.  When an offender is convicted of two or more felony offenses arising from a 

single behavioral incident, Minn .Stat. § 609.035 “contemplates that a defendant will be 

punished for the ‘most serious’ of the offenses.”  State v. Kebaso, 713 N.W.2d 317, 322 

(Minn. 2006).  When this occurs, the applicable severity level to use in determining the 

presumptive sentence is the severity level assigned to the offense being sentenced, 

which is ordinarily the most serious offense.  

 * * * 

3. Conspiracy to Commit Crime for the Benefit of a Gang. 
 
Description: Because there are two forms of conspiracy under state law – general 
conspiracy, which cuts in half the sentence duration, and conspiracy to commit a 
controlled substance offense, which does not impact the sentence – it was unclear 
whether the term “conspiracy” in § 2.G.10, was meant to refer to both. The Commission 
voted to clarify that the shorter sentence for benefit of a gang applied only to the general 
conspiracy statute under Minn. Stat. § 609.175. References to the attempt statute were 
also added and the section was rearranged to put the “victim under the age of eighteen” 
paragraph last because it was an exception.  
 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to modify Minn. 
Sentencing Guidelines, section 2.G.10, as follows. 
 
Modifications to Section 2.G.10. 
 
* * * 
10. Offense Committed for the Benefit of a Gang. When an offender is sentenced 

 for an offense committed for the benefit of a gang under Minn. Stat.                        

 § 609.229, subd. 3(a):  

a. Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 609.229, subd. 4, the presumptive disposition is always 

commitment; and  

b. The presumptive duration is determined by locating the duration in the 

appropriate cell on the applicable Grid defined by the offender’s criminal history 

score and the underlying crime with the highest severity level, or the mandatory 

minimum for the underlying crime, whichever is longer, and adding:  
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(1) If the victim of the crime was under the age of eighteen: If the offense does 

not involve a victim or if the victim was eighteen or older: 

(i) 24 12 months, if the underlying offense was completed; or  

(ii) 12 6 months, if the underlying offense was an attempt under Minn. Stat.  

§ 609.17 or conspiracy under Minn. Stat. § 609.175; or 

 

(2) If the offense involves a victim was eighteen or older under the age of 

eighteen: 

(i) 12 24 months, if the underlying offense was completed; or  

(ii) 6 12 months, if the underlying offense was an attempt under Minn. Stat.  

§ 609.17 or conspiracy under Minn. Stat. § 609.175.  

 

* * * 

4. Non-Minnesota Convictions. 
 

Description: The current language in § 2.B.5 does not emphasize the role that the court 
plays in equating non-Minnesota offenses to Minnesota offenses nor does it clearly 
outline the steps involved in equating a non-Minnesota offense. 

 

Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to modify the language in 
§ 2.B.5, as shown below. 

 
Modifications to Section 2.B.5. 
 
* * * 

 
5. Convictions from Jurisdictions other than Minnesota.   

 
a. In General. The offense definitions in effect when the offense was committed 

govern the designation of convictions from jurisdictions other than Minnesota 
as felonies, gross misdemeanors, or misdemeanors. The court must make 
the final determination as to whether and how a prior non-Minnesota 
conviction should be counted in the criminal history score. The court should 
consider, but is not limited to, the factors in paragraphs b through e, below. 
Sections 2.B.1 through 2.B.7 govern the use of these convictions. 
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b. Offense Equivalent How to Count. Find the equivalent Minnesota offense 

based on the elements of the prior non-Minnesota offense. The court makes 
the final determination of the Minnesota offense that is equivalent to the non-
Minnesota offense. Where The section in which to place count the non-
Minnesota offense in criminal history depends on: 

 
• whether the non-Minnesota offense is defined as a felony, gross 

misdemeanor, or targeted misdemeanor in Minnesota; and 
 

• the sentence imposed.   
 

An offense may be counted as a felony only if it would both be defined as a 
felony in Minnesota, and the offender received a sentence that in Minnesota 
would be a felony-level sentence, which includes the equivalent of a stay of 
imposition. The offense definitions in effect when the offense was committed 
govern the designation of non-Minnesota convictions as felonies, gross 
misdemeanors, or misdemeanors. 

 

 
D. Technical Modifications  

 
The following are technical modifications to the Minn. Sentencing Guidelines. Some of these 
modifications are a result of laws that have been repealed by the Legislature and must be 
reflected in the Guidelines. Some changes are to appendices in the Guidelines. Other 
changes are a result of instructions by the Revisor of Statutes.    
 
1. Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum. 
 
Description: Twelve offenses assigned severity level rankings in § 5 have presumptive 
durations that may exceed the statutory maximum depending on the offender’s Criminal 
History Score. Practitioners will often use the Guidelines to determine the presumptive 
sentence without checking the statutory maximum in statute for the offense. If practitioners 
did not check the statute, these offenses may receive a sentence that would exceed the 
statutory maximum. 

 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal clarifying the policy by adding 
an appendix to the Guidelines highlighting the offenses for which this may occur, amending 
the footnotes on the grids, adding a reference in § 2.C.2, to the new appendix (Appendix 3), 
and adding footnotes to the applicable offenses in § 5.B, as it is used by practitioners to quickly 
locate the severity levels for offenses. The proposed modifications are outlined below. 
 

Modifications to Section 2.C. 
 
* * * 

2. Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum 

Sentence.  If the presumptive sentence duration in the appropriate cell on 
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the applicable Grid exceeds the statutory maximum sentence for the 

conviction offense, the statutory maximum is the presumptive sentence.  

See Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum 

Sentence Table in Appendix 3. 

 
* * * 

  
New Appendix 3: 

 
 Appendix 3.   Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory 
 Maximum Sentence Reference Table. 
 

This table is for convenience when determining if a presumptive duration exceeds the 

statutory maximum sentence as described in section 2.C.2.  Offenses identified in the 

table below have presumptive durations that exceed the statutory maximums at the 

Criminal History Score (CHS) indicated on the table.  These are offenses for which the 

applicable grid does not adjust the duration or range to be at or below the statutory 

maximum. The table may not be exhaustive.   

 

Statute Offense 
Severity 
Level 

Statutory 
Maximum 
(Months) 

Exceeds 
Statutory 
Maximum 
At: 

609.2231  
subd. 4(b) 

Assault 4th Degree Motivated 
by Bias 

1 12, and 
one day 

CHS 3 

609.322 
subd. 1(a) 

Solicits, Promotes, or 
Receives Profit Derived from 
Prostitution; Sex Trafficking 1st 
Degree 

B 240 CHS 5 

609.352  
subd. 2 

Solicitation of Children to 
Engage in Sexual Conduct 

G 36 CHS 4 

609.352  
subd. 2a 

Solicitation of Children to 
Engage in Sexual Conduct 
(Electronic) 

G 36 CHS 4 

609.485  
subd. 4(a)(2) 

Escape, Mental Illness 1 12, and  
1 day 

CHS 3 

609.485  
subd. 4(a)(4) 

Escape from Civil Commitment 1 12, and  
1 day 

CHS 3 

609.595  
subd. 1a(a) 

Damage to Prop Motivated by 
Bias 

1 12, and  
1 day 

CHS 3 

609.597  
subd. 3(3) 

Assaulting or Harming Police 
Horse 

1 12, and 
1day 

CHS 3 

609.662 
 subd. 
2(b)(2) 

Duty to Render Aid 
(Substantial Bodily Harm) 
 

1 12, and  
1 day 

CHS 3 

56 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  
 



Report to the Legislature 2015 
 

Statute Offense 
Severity 
Level 

Statutory 
Maximum 
(Months) 

Exceeds 
Statutory 
Maximum 
At: 

609.713  
subd. 3(a) 

Terroristic Threats-Replica 
Firearm 

1 12, and  
1 day 

CHS 3 

609.776 Interference with Emergency 
Comm. 

5 36 months CHS 4 

617.247 
subd. 3 

Dissemination of Pictorial 
Representation of Minors 

E 84 months CHS 5 

 

Modifications to Section 5.B. 

* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.2231 subd. 4(b) Assault 4th Motivated by bias 1** 

609.322 subd. 1(a) 
Solicits, Promotes, or Receives Profit Derived 
from Prostitution; Sex Trafficking 1st Degree B**  

609.352 subd. 2 
Solicitation of Children to Engage in Sexual 
Conduct G** 

609.352 subd. 2a 
Solicitation of Children to Engage in Sexual 
Conduct (Electronic) G** 

609.485 subd. 4(a)(2) Escape, Mental Illness 1** 

609.485 subd. 4(a)(4) Escape from Civil Commitment 1** 

609.595 subd. 1a(a) Damage to Prop Motivated by Bias 1** 
609.597 subd. 3(3) Assaulting or Harming Police Horse 1** 

609.662 subd. 2(b)(2) Duty to Render Aid (SBH) 1** 
609.713 subd. 3(a) Terroristic Threats-Replica Firearm 1** 

609.776 Interference with Emergency Communications 5** 

617.247 subd. 3 
Dissemination of Pictorial Representation of 
Minors E** 

 
** See section 2.C.2 and Appendix 3 to determine the presumptive duration. Depending 
on the offender’s criminal history score, the presumptive duration may exceed the 
statutory maximum. 

 

* * * 
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Modifications to Section 4.A. Sentencing Guidelines Grid. 
 

* * * 
 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Example offenses listed in italics) 

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or 
more 

Felony DWI 
Financial Exploitation of a 
Vulnerable Adult 

7 36 42 48 54 
46-64 

60 
51-72 

66 
57-79 

72 
62-84 2,3 

 
3 The stat. max. for Financial Exploitation of Vulnerable Adult is 240 months; the standard range 
of 20% higher than the fixed duration applies at CHS 6 or more.  (The range is 62-86.) 
 

* * * 
 

 
2. Camping Contracts (Minn. Stat. §§ 82A.03; 13; 25). 

 
Description: Registration requirements under Minn. Stat. § 82A.03 was removed as a 
criminal penalty from membership camping practices by the 2014 Legislature. 

 

 Reference: Minn. Session Laws, Chapter 222. 

 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to delete reference to 
Minn. Stat. 82A.03, as outlined below.  

  

 Modifications to Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table. 
 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

Unranked Sale of Membership Camping Contracts 82A.03; 82A.13; 
82A.25 

 
* * * 

 
Modifications to Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation. 
 
* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

82A.03; 82A.13; 
82A.25 

Sale of Membership Camping Contracts Unranked 

 

* * * 

 
 

3. Rank Fraudulent Instrument or Entry for Procuring a Certificate of Title (Minn. Stat. 
§ 508.80). 
 

 Reference: 1905 Laws of MN. 

 
Description: Fraudulently procuring a certificate of title under Minn. Stat. 508.80 is a 
felony with a 5-year statutory maximum. It has been inadvertently left unranked in the 
Guidelines. The law has been in effect since 1905. 

 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to rank the offense at 
Severity Level 1, as outlined below. 

  
Modifications to Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table. 

 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

1 Fraudulent Instrument or Entry for Procuring 
a Certificate of Title 

508.80 

 
* * * 

 
 

Modifications to Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation. 
 
* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

508.80 Fraudulent Instrument or Entry for Procuring 
a Certificate of Title 

1 

 

* * * 

 

4. Pipeline Safety (Minn. Stat. § 299J). 
 

 Reference: 1987 Laws of MN. 

 
Description: The Guidelines list felony failure to report emergency release by a pipeline 
operator under Minn. Stat. § 299J.07, in the Guidelines. The offense has a 7-year 
statutory maximum. It is an unranked offense; however, another pipeline safety offense 
exists under Minn. Stat. § 299J.15: improper disposal of a pipeline, which has a 5-year 
statutory maximum.  

 

Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to change the reference 
in Guidelines § 5A and 5B for pipeline safety to reference the entire chapter of 299J, as 
outlined below. 

 
 Modifications to Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table. 
 

* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

Unranked Pipeline Safety 299J.07, subd. 2 

 

* * * 

 
Modifications to Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation. 
 
* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

299J.07, subd. 2 Pipeline Safety Unranked 

 

* * * 

 

5. Animal Fighting (Minn. Stat. § 343.31). 
 
Description: Felony animal fighting, under Minn. Stat. § 343.31, is an unranked offense 
in the Guidelines. The citation in §§ 5A and 5B are incorrect. The statute was amended 
in 2005 and the felonies were moved to subdivision 1, paragraph (a). 

 
 Reference: 2005 Laws of MN. 

 
Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to correct the reference 
in Guidelines §§ 5A and 5B, as outlined below. 

 
 Modifications to Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table. 
 

* * * 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

Unranked Animal Fighting 343.31 subd. 1 
(a)(b) 

 

* * * 

 
Modifications to Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation. 
 

* * * 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

343.31 subd. 1 (a)(b) Animal Fighting Unranked 

 

* * * 

  

61 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission  
 



Report to the Legislature 2015 
 

6. Criminal Negligence (Minn. Stat. § 609.233). 
 
Description: In 2013, the Revisor of Statutes changed the penalty citation for 
deprivation of vulnerable adults from subdivision 2a to subdivision 3. MSGC staff 
corrected the affected sections as instructed by the Revisor of Statutes.  

 Reference: 2013 Laws of MN, Chapter 125, Art, 1, Sec. 85. 

 
 Modifications to Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table. 
 

* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

8 Deprivation of Vulnerable Adult (Great Bodily 
Harm) 

609.233, subd. 2a 
3(1) 

5 Deprivation of Vulnerable Adult (Substantial 
Bodily Harm) 

609.233, subd. 2a 
3(2) 

 

* * * 

Modifications to Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation. 
* * * 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.233, subd. 2a 3(1) Deprivation of Vulnerable Adult (Great 
Bodily Harm) 

8 

609.233, subd. 2a 3(2) Deprivation of Vulnerable Adult (Substantial 
Bodily Harm) 

5 

 

* * * 
 

Modifications to Section 6. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive 
Sentences. 
* * * 

Statute Number Offense Title 

609.233, subd. 2a 3 Deprivation of Vulnerable Adult 

* * * 
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Appendix 3:  Standard Sentencing Guidelines Grid – Effective August 1, 2014 
Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary range within 
which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences 
may be subject to local confinement. 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Example offenses listed in italics) 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 
 

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or 
more 

Murder, 2nd Degree  
(intentional murder; drive-by-        
shootings) 

11 306 
261-367 

326 
278-391 

346 
295-415 

366 
312-439 

386 
329-463 

406 
346-480 2 

426 
363-480 2 

Murder, 3rd Degree 
Murder, 2nd Degree  
   (unintentional murder)  

10 150 
128-180 

165 
141-198 

180 
153-216 

195 
166-234 

210 
179-252 

225 
192-270 

240 
204-288 

Assault, 1st Degree  
Controlled Substance Crime,  

1st Degree 
9 86 

74-103 
98 

84-117 
110 

94-132 
122 

104-146 
134 

114-160 
146 

125-175 
158 

135-189 

Aggravated Robbery, 1st Degree 
Controlled Substance Crime,  

2nd Degree 
8 48 

41-57 
58 

50-69 
68 

58-81 
78 

67-93 
88 

75-105 
98 

84-117 
108 

92-129 

Felony DWI; Financial 

Exploitation of a Vulnerable Adult 7 36 42 48 54 
46-64 

60 
51-72 

66 
57-79 

72 
62-84 2,3 

Controlled Substance Crime,  
3rd Degree 6 21 27 33 39 

34-46 
45 

39-54 
51 

44-61 
57 

49-68 

Residential Burglary       
Simple Robbery 5 18 23 28 33 

29-39 
38 

33-45 
43 

37-51 
48 

41-57 

Nonresidential Burglary  
 
4 
 

121 15 18 21 24 
21-28 

27 
23-32 

30 
26-36 

Theft Crimes  (Over $5,000) 3 121 13 15 17 19 
17-22 

21 
18-25 

23 
20-27 

Theft Crimes  ($5,000 or less)     
Check Forgery  ($251-$2,500) 2 121 121 13 15 17 19 21 

18-25 

Sale of Simulated 
   Controlled Substance 1 121 121 121 13 15 17 19 

17-22 

1  121=One year and one day 
 

 

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. First-degree murder has a mandatory life sentence and is excluded from the 
Guidelines under Minn. Stat. § 609.185. See section 2.E, for policies regarding those sentences controlled by law. 

 

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can be 
imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenses in the shaded area of the Grid always carry a presumptive 
commitment to state prison. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 

2  Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to state imprisonment of 
15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one year and one day and 
the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1-2.  

3 The stat. max. for Financial Exploitation of Vulnerable Adult is 240 months; the standard range of 20% higher than the fixed duration applies 
at CHS 6 or more. (The range is 62-86.)  
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Appendix 4.  Sex Offender Sentencing Grid – Effective August 1, 2014 
Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary range 
within which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony 
sentences may be subject to local confinement. 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF 
CONVICTION OFFENSE 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or 
More 

CSC 1st Degree 
A 

144 
144-172 

156 
144-187 

168 
144-201 

180 
153-216 

234 
199-280 

306 
261-360 

360 
306-360 2 

CSC 2nd Degree-(c)(d)(e)(f)(h) 
Prostitution; Sex Trafficking 3 
1st Degree–1(a) 

B 90 
90 3-108 

110 
94-132 

130 
111-156 

150 
128-180 

195 
166-234 

255 
217-300 

300 
255-300 2 

CSC 3rd Degree–(c)(d) 
(g)(h)(i)(j)(k)(l)(m)(n)(o) 

Prostitution; Sex Trafficking 
2nd Degree–1a 

C 48 
41-57 

62 
53-74 

76 
65-91 

90 
77-108 

117 
100-140 

153 
131-180 

180 
153-180 2 

CSC 2nd Degree–(a)(b)(g)  
CSC 3rd Degree–(a)(e)(f) 
 or(b)with ref. to subd. 2(1) 
Dissemination of Child 

Pornography (Subsequent 
or by Predatory Offender) 

D 36 48 60 
51-72 

70 
60-84 

91 
78-109 

119 
102-142 

140 
119-168 

CSC 4th Degree–(c)(d) 
(g)(h)(i)(j)(k)(l)(m)(n)(o) 

Use Minors in Sexual 
Performance 

Dissemination of Child 
Pornography 2 

E 24 36 48 60 
51-72 

78 
67-93 

102 
87-120 

120 
102-120 2 

CSC 4th Degree–  
(a)(b)(e)(f); CSC 5th Degree; 
Possession of Child 

Pornography (Subsequent 
or by Predatory Offender) 

F 18 27 36 45 
39-54 

59 
51-70 

77 
66-92 

84 
72-100 

CSC 3rd Degree-(b)with subd. 
 2(2); Indecent Exposure 
Possession of Child 

Pornography; Solicit Child 
for Sexual Conduct 2 

G 15 20 25 30 39 
34-46 

51 
44-60 

60 
51-60 2 

Registration Of Predatory 
Offenders H 121  

12 1-14 
14 

12 1-16 
16 

14-19 
18 

16-21 
24 

21-28 
30 

26-36 
36 

31-43 

121=One year and one day 
 

 

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. Sex offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 2, have mandatory life 
sentences and are excluded from the Guidelines. See section 2.E, for policies regarding those sentences controlled by law, 
including conditional release terms for sex offenders. 

 

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can be 
imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenders in the shaded area of the Grid may qualify for a mandatory life 
sentence under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 4. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 

 

2  Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to state 
imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one 
year and one day and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1-2. 
 
3  Prostitution; Sex Trafficking is not subject to a 90-month minimum statutory presumptive sentence so the standard range of 15% lower 
and 20% higher than the fixed duration applies. (The range is 77-108.) 
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