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August 2014 

We don’t have to look far to see headlines about drunk driving. We read about fatalities, serious 
injuries and drivers who had no intention to kill somebody when they left that party. Do you ever 
think, “I’m so thankful that wasn’t my son (or husband or me) who died”? 

The sad thing is, next time it could be you or someone you love. The 2013 Minnesota Motor Vehicle 
Impaired Driving Facts report is a year’s worth of data representing lives that were forever changed 
because of impaired driving.  

The report shows impaired-related fatalities dropped slightly from 104 in 2012 to 95 in 2013, but the 
number of people who decide to drive impaired remains high. Out of the 25,719 motorists arrested for 
DWI last year, 41 percent of them had at least one prior DWI. That’s not a figure to celebrate. 

We are encouraged by the steady decrease in alcohol-related fatalities. In the 1960s, about 60 percent 
of all traffic deaths were alcohol-related compared to approximately 33 percent over the last decade. 
This overall decline is a success story. Enhanced DWI enforcement and education are helping a 
significant percentage of drivers make the right choice, but we must continue our efforts to drive the 
percentage of fatalities lower. 

Highlights from the 2013 Minnesota Motor Vehicle Impaired Driving Facts report include: 

• 387 people died in traffic crashes and 81 (21%) were in crashes involving impaired 
(alcohol concentration .08% or greater) drivers.  

• 2,300 people suffered injuries in alcohol-related crashes.
• 25,719 motorists were arrested for DWI (an average of 70 per day).
• 10,455 (41 percent) of these violators had at least one prior DWI.
• 1,478 (6 percent) of these violators were less than 21 years of age.
• One out of every seven licensed Minnesota drivers has at least one DWI.

It’s our responsibility to gather insights from this data and take action to remind drivers that life has no 
rewind. Let’s help them take responsibility to make the right choice the first time. 

Sincerely, 

Donna Berger 
Director, Office of Traffic Safety 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
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I.  IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD 
 

Summary 
There were 25,719 impaired driving incidents that 
occurred in Minnesota in 2013 and then entered onto 
people’s driving records.  That’s a 9% decrease from the 
previous year.  Eighty-five percent of the incidents 
involved taking a test for alcohol or drugs;* 15% 
involved a test refusal.†  A few incidents (9—less than 
1%) involved both a test failure and a test refusal (for 
example, an alcohol test refusal and a drug test failure).  
A small number of the total incidents included a 
conviction for “criminal vehicular operation” resulting 
in a fatality (13 such incidents) or injury (115 such 
incidents).  However, these totals will increase as court 
cases are settled. 

“Not-a-Drop” and “Disqual” violations 
Two types of incidents are reported in Table 1.01 but 
not otherwise considered as “impaired driving 
incidents” in this report.  First, there are “not-a-drop” 
violations.  (The Not-A-Drop law was passed in 1993 
and applies to persons under age 21, making it illegal 
for them to drive while having any amount of alcohol in 
their blood.)  The number of such violations rose 
steadily from 1,127, in 1994, to over 3,400 in 1999, but 
then dropped rather sharply in the past decade to 687 in 
2013. 

The second violation type has the jargon-like name 
“disqual.”  This refers to an incident where a 
commercial vehicle driver is tested and found to have an 
alcohol concentration (AC) of .04% but less than .08%.  
Such a driver will then be disqualified from operating a 
commercial vehicle.  These incidents are somewhat 
rare.  There were only 8 in 2013.  (Note that if the 
commercial driver has an AC over the per se illegal 
level, then the incident will be counted as a DWI 
incident; it will still trigger the disqualification, but it 
will not be counted here as a “disqual.”) 

When do incidents occur? 
There is high consistency year after year with respect to 
when drinking and driving occurs in terms of days of 
the week.  Year 2013 was similar to past years: 
Mondays through Thursdays had comparatively few 
incidents.  Then Fridays accounted for 15%, Sundays 
for 24%, and Saturdays for 26% of all incidents. 

Alcohol concentration levels remain steady 
In 1997 the Legislature adopted special sanction 
provisions effective in January 1998 for high-AC  
offenders (0.20% or higher), and alcohol test results 
began to be available starting in 1998.  There has been a 
steady decline among high-scoring violators ever since; 
there were 6,079 in the over 0.20% category in 1998, 
then 4,034 in 2013.  This represents a 34% decline.  
(Note that the Legislature adopted special sanction 
provisions effective in July 2011 for high-AC  offenders 
(0.16% or higher)).   

Average alcohol level among first-time violators 
was 0.157% in 1998 and 0.148% in 2013.  Second-or-
subsequent violators averaged 0.173% in 1998 and 
0.165% in 2013.  These lower alcohol concentration 
levels are to be expected in some degree due to the 
lower .08% per se level that went into effect August 1st, 
2005. 

Who are the violators? 
Driver’s license files provide only limited data on who 
the impaired drivers are.  However, there is a strong 
relationship between age and impaired driving.  
Twenty-to-thirty-four-year-olds accounted for 55% of 
the impaired driving incidents in 2013.  In addition, 
there were 1,478 impaired driving incidents among 
underage drivers (it is illegal to drink in Minnesota if 
you are less than 21 years of age). 

In addition, there is an exceedingly strong 
relationship between gender, age and impaired driving.  
Most succinctly put, the problem is concentrated in the 
young adult male population.  In 2013, males committed 
73% of the impaired incidents for which gender of the 
violator was reported.  

Recidivism:  40% of violators were recidivists  
Section IV will look at recidivism more closely.  In 
general, though, in recent years, about 60 percent of all 
violators had no prior alcohol incidents on record, and 
40 percent did. There is an interesting violation pattern 
among the recidivists:  About half of those who incur a 
second incident go on to incur a third.  About half of 
those who incur a third go on to incur a fourth, and so 
on.   
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* The tests are usually for alcohol, but they might be for 
controlled substances.  In 2013, there were 1,099 incidents 
(involving either an implied consent violation or a criminal 
conviction, or both) for driving while impaired by controlled 
substances. 
† Test refusals used to be higher.  For example in 1994, 18% 
of all incidents involved a test refusal. 



 

TABLE 1.01 

OVERVIEW OF IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, 1994 - 2013 

 Impaired Driving Incidents (“DWIs”) Related 
Incidents 

       Criminal 
Vehicular 
Operation 

   

Year Total 

(1) 

Im-
plied 
Con-
sent  
(2) 

Crim-
inal 

Con-
viction 

(3) 

Tests 
Taken 

(4) 

Tests 
Refused 

(5) 

Both 
Taken 
& Ref. 

(6) 

Fa-
tality 

(7) 

In-
jury 

(8) 

Drugs 

(9) 

Not 
A 

Drop 

(10) 

Com-
mercial 
Vehicle 

(11) 
1994 29,748 28,855 24,834 24,524 5,208 16 44  92    15  1,127  21 
1995 30,402 29,249 25,139 24,869 5,507 26 41  86    26  1,367  17 
1996 30,923 29,687 25,718 25,512 5,405 6 42 145    50  1,892  19 
1997 31,380 29,940 26,269 26,330 5,024 26 22 208   128  2,590  16 
1998 32,422 30,888 27,136 27,483 4,774 165 40 213   218  2,965  21 
1999 34,575 32,800 29,314 29,581 4,875 119 27 251   207  3,411  13 
2000 35,034 33,329 29,292 30,007 4,886 141 40 252   334  3,426  18 
2001 33,532 32,074 27,981 28,611 4,839 82 21 161   399  3,202  16 
2002 33,163 31,911 27,447 28,308 4,767 88 34 215   403  3,108  15 
2003 32,266 30,991 26,210 27,591 4,489 186 37 317   542  2,778  10 
2004 34,202 32,811 27,907 29,501 4,478 223 26 281   695  2,762   8 
2005 37,002 35,215 30,534 32,224 4,633 145 34 301   840  2,478  16 
2006 41,951 40,425 34,528 36,893 4,942 116 26 302   724  2,463  16 
2007 38,669 37,278 31,876 33,947 4,664 58 46 265   659  2,134  28 
2008 35,794 34,497 29,509 31,492 4,292 10 35 241   642  1,704  12 
2009 32,756 31,662 24,198 28,831 3,915 10 39 269   821  1,428   8 
2010 29,918 28,838 22,153 26,366 3,545 7 40 259   926  1,230  16 
2011 29,257 28,204 22,175 25,713 3,531 13 28 246   979  1,138  15 
2012 28,418 27,499 21,548 24,722 3,688 8 16 205 1,084    926   8 
2013 25,719 24,758 19,036 21,863 3,847    9 13 115 1,099    687   8 

Column Notes: 
(1) Column 1 counts the total number of impaired driving 

incidents in Minnesota.  Columns 2 through 9 are 
subsets of column 1. 

(2) Almost all incidents include the civil-law “implied 
consent” violation either of (i) taking and “failing” the 
test for alcohol or controlled substances (“drugs”), or 
(ii) refusing to take the test. 

(3) In 2013, 74% of all incidents were known to involve a 
criminal conviction for driving while impaired by 
alcohol or drugs (as of June 01, 2014—the date on 
which statistics for this report were compiled).  This 
percentage is understated.  As judicial outcomes are 
decided well into the future, the criminal conviction 
percentage will increase to approximately 85%. 

(4-6) An incident may involve taking of a test, and a test 
refusal.  For example, a person may take a test for 
alcohol, and refuse a test for drugs. 

(7-8) Criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offenses are 
divided into CVO resulting in a fatality (column 7) or 
CVO resulting in any type of bodily injury, all 
collapsed into (column 8).  Amounts for 2013 in 
columns (7) through (11) will all increase as court 
cases are settled. 

(9) Incidents counted in (9) involved an implied consent 
violation or a criminal conviction, or both, for 
driving while impaired by a controlled substance 
(“drugs”).  See additional detail in Table 1.02. 

(10) The “not-a-drop” law, making it illegal for persons 
under age 21 to drive while having any amount of 
alcohol whatsoever (as opposed to being over the 
per-se illegal level) took effect June 1, 1993. 

(11) Commercial vehicle drivers found to have an alcohol 
concentration of .04% or higher, but less than the per 
se illegal level, are disqualified from operating a 
commercial vehicle.  
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TABLE 1.02 

“IMPLIED CONSENTS”  VERSUS  CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS, 
VERSUS BOTH,  UNDER THREE ARREST SCENARIOS, 1994 - 2013 

 Incidents Involving a 
Test for Alcohol 

Incidents Involving a 
Test for Drugs 

Incidents Involving 
Refusal of Test for 
Alcohol or Drugs 

All Episodes 

Year IC 
only 
% 

CC 
only 
% 

IC + 
CC 
% 

Total 

N 

IC 
only 
% 

CC 
only 
% 

IC + 
CC 
% 

Total 

N 

IC 
only 
% 

CC 
only 
% 

IC + 
CC 
% 

Total 

N 

IC 
only 
% 

CC 
only 
% 

IC + 
CC 
% 

Total 

N 

1994 17 3 80 24,497 0 92 8  12 16 1 83 5,221 16 3 81 29,748 
1995 17 4 78 24,837 0 100 0  25 16 1 83 5,527 17 4 79 30,402 
1996 17 5 78 25,457 0 100 0  44 14 1 85 5,410 17 4 79 30,923 
1997 17 5 78 26,190 18 64 18  123 14 1 85 5,048 16 5 79 31,380 
1998 16 5 79 27,261 30 39 31  210 15 1 84 4,937 16 5 79 32,422 
1999 15 6 79 29,363 34 38 28  200 14 1 85 4,990 15 5 80 34,575 
2000 16 5 79 29,676 32 43 24  325 15 1 84 5,024 16 5 79 35,034 
2001 16 5 79 28,222 36 21 43  389 14 1 85 4,919 16 4 79 33,532 
2002 17 4 79 27,917 34 21 45  404 14 1 85 4,854 16 4 80 33,163 
2003 17 5 79 27,152 36 19 45  528 14 1 85 4,673 17 4 79 32,266 
2004 15 5 80 28,953 36 17 47  674 12 1 87 4,702 15 5 80 34,202 
2005 14 5 80 31,409 29 16 55  815 12 2 86 4,778 14 5 81 37,002 
2006 15 4 81 36,203 30 16 53  690 12 1 87 5,058 15 4 81 41,951 
2007 14 4 82 33,327 28 23 49  620 11 1 88 4,722 14 4 82 38,669 
2008 15 4 81 30,890 29 22 49  602 12 1 87 4,302 15 4 81 35,794 
2009 17 4 79 28,105 28 20 52  726 12 2 86 3,925 17 4 79 32,756 
2010 16 4 79 25,528 28 21 52  838 11 2 87 3,552 16 4 80 29,918 
2011 16 4 80 24,880 29 25 46  833 12 2 86 3,544 16 5 80 29,257 
2012 17 4 80 23,753 31 21 48  969 12 1 86 3,696 17 4 79 28,418 
2013 25 4 72 20,802 50 16 35 1,061 27 1 72 3,856 26 4 70 25,719 

Note:  2013 numbers will change as court cases are settled. 
A given incident, at the point of arrest, could involve only a 
test for alcohol, or only a test for drugs, or tests for both, or a 
refusal of both, or a test for one and a refusal of a test for the 
other.  Incidents were classified into the first arrest scenario 
(involving test for alcohol) only if (1) there was no test for 
drugs, and (2) there was no refusal.  An incident was 
classified into the second arrest scenario (involving a test for 
drugs) if there was any test for drugs, even if there may also 
have been a test for alcohol.  No incident that involved any 
refusal was classified into the first or second groups.  All 
incidents where the arrest involved any refusal were classified 
into the third scenario (involving a test refusal) above. 

In United States law, the term “conviction” refers to a 
finding of guilt—either because a person pled guilty or was 
found guilty—for an offense under criminal law.  Minnesota 
first defined driving while intoxicated to be a crime in 1911.  
Minnesota first passed the civil Implied Consent law in 1961:  

By driving, a person implies consent to a test for alcohol, if 
required to take a test by an officer who has probable cause to 
suspect impairment.  As amended over the years, the Implied 
Consent law now instructs the Commissioner of Public Safety 
to withdraw a person’s driver’s license if the person refuses to 
take a test for alcohol, or for controlled substances (“drugs”), 
or if the person takes the test and ‘fails’ it by testing over a 
defined per-se illegal level (in the case of alcohol, set, since 
August 1, 2005, at .08%).  Additionally, in 1992, Minnesota 
defined test refusal to be a crime, effective January 1, 1993. 
 The license withdrawal under the civil law occurs 
independently of the outcome of proceedings under the criminal 
law.  Thus, an impaired driving incident for which there is an 
arrest may then lead to a revocation under the civil law (an 
“implied consent”—“IC” in the table above), or a criminal 
conviction (“CC” in the above table), or, most commonly, both 
(“IC+CC”). 
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TABLE 1.03 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY MONTH, 1994 – 2013 

Year Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Total 

1994 2,101 2,047 2,548 2,599 2,714 2,434 2,800 2,471 2,499 2,618 2,239 2,678 29,748 
1995 2,176 2,190 2,441 2,744 2,582 2,393 2,732 2,647 2,815 2,579 2,213 2,890 30,402 
1996 2,120 2,207 2,625 2,448 2,875 2,772 2,753 2,909 2,632 2,581 2,420 2,581 30,923 
1997 2,289 2,437 2,654 2,586 2,948 2,610 2,735 3,033 2,353 2,454 2,608 2,673 31,380 
1998 2,434 2,391 2,448 2,500 2,993 2,658 2,937 2,951 2,782 2,857 2,663 2,808 32,422 
1999 2,617 2,497 2,780 2,746 3,194 2,765 3,029 2,936 2,974 3,131 2,798 3,108 34,575 
2000 2,883 2,724 3,015 2,918 2,960 2,904 3,184 2,838 2,995 2,997 2,559 3,057 35,034 
2001 2,822 2,426 2,989 2,600 2,869 2,795 2,892 2,798 2,806 2,793 2,616 3,126 33,532 
2002 2,722 2,460 2,796 2,582 2,812 2,806 2,910 3,045 2,741 2,648 2,693 2,948 33,163 
2003 2,464 2,321 2,747 2,469 2,645 2,714 3,104 2,933 2,635 2,863 2,738 2,633 32,266 
2004 2,796 2,706 2,909 2,706 2,970 2,769 3,123 3,168 2,814 2,918 2,583 2,740 34,202 
2005 2,587 2,857 2,843 3,058 3,026 2,827 3,379 3,496 3,215 3,328 2,968 3,418 37,002 
2006 3,479 3,184 3,604 3,473 3,493 3,568 3,722 3,750 3,657 3,141 3,231 3,649 41,951 
2007 3,019 2,726 3,408 3,083 3,326 3,363 3,404 3,435 3,388 2,971 3,079 3,467 38,669 
2008 3,065 2,916 3,168 2,711 3,180 2,958 3,436 3,020 2,641 2,902 3,042 2,755 35,794 
2009 2,889 2,550 2,881 2,703 2,966 2,561 2,816 3,003 2,685 2,511 2,628 2,563 32,756 
2010 2,541 2,507 2,689 2,463 2,655 2,356 2,623 2,651 2,394 2,566 2,106 2,367 29,918 
2011 2,370 2,334 2,478 2,457 2,509 2,428 2,694 2,591 2,320 2,450 2,068 2,558 29,257 
2012 2,141 2,224 2,520 2,287 2,450 2,414 2,454 2,620 2,394 2,262 2,153 2,499 28,418 
2013 2,026 2,033 2,472 2,058 2,116 2,141 2,188 2,384 2,027 1,977 2,160 2,137 25,719 

TABLE 1.04 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY DAY OF WEEK, 1994 – 2013 

Year Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Total 

1994 6,048 2,302 2,328 2,661 3,535 5,089 7,785 29,748 
1995 6,600 2,274 2,476 2,717 3,436 4,977 7,922 30,402 
1996 6,413 2,490 2,505 2,799 3,571 5,131 8,014 30,923 
1997 6,488 2,331 2,436 3,111 3,426 5,339 8,249 31,380 
1998 6,909 2,384 2,490 2,942 3,961 5,398 8,338 32,422 
1999 7,470 2,446 2,540 3,116 3,992 6,017 8,994 34,575 
2000 7,640 2,375 2,623 3,138 3,872 5,774 9,612 35,034 
2001 7,316 2,566 2,564 3,002 3,893 5,558 8,633 33,532 
2002 7,098 2,451 2,736 3,116 3,912 5,492 8,358 33,163 
2003 6,803 2,391 2,564 3,311 3,607 5,319 8,271 32,266 
2004 7,570 2,389 2,593 3,204 4,085 5,468 8,893 34,202 
2005 8,105 2,698 2,838 3,252 4,161 6,113 9,835 37,002 
2006 9,563 2,854 3,236 3,730 4,684 6,766 11,118 41,951 
2007 8,682 2,934 2,853 3,617 4,341 6,147 10,095 38,669 
2008 7,991 2,481 2,912 3,115 3,910 5,826 9,559 35,794 
2009 7,511 2,275 2,513 2,977 3,864 5,028 8,588 32,756 
2010 6,866 2,120 2,227 2,616 3,368 5,069 7,652 29,918 
2011 6,715 2,238 2,102 2,461 3,175 4,680 7,886 29,257 
2012 6,676 2,102 2,110 2,530 3,106 4,367 7,527 28,418 
2013 6,152 1,944 2,089 2,297 2,753 3,835 6,649 25,719 
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TABLE 1.05 
ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION TEST RESULTS ON DRIVERS 

WHO INCURRED IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, 2004 - 2013 
Year| % .01 - 

-.04 
.05- 
-.07 

.08- 
-.09 

.10- 
-.14 

.15- 
-.19 

.20- 
-.24 

.25- 
-.29 

.30- 
-.34 

 
.35 + 

Average 
AC 

Total 
Tests 

Not 
Tested 

Total 
Incidents 

2004              
  First 2 6 41 8,462 6,639 2,275 489 76 14 .155 18,004 2,395 20,399 
  Repeat 2 2 23 3,659 4,256 2,003 571 150 43 .169 10,709 3,094 13,803 
 All 4 8 64 12,121 10,895 4,278 1,060 226 57 .160 28,713 5,489 34,202 
2005              
  First 0 13 1,080 9,118 6,857 2,219 457 82 21 .150 19,847 2,667 22,514 
  Repeat 1 5 429 3,839 4,066 2,061 632 155 35 .166 11,223 3,265 14,488 
 All 1 18 1,509 12,957 10,923 4,280 1,089 237 56 .155 31,070 5,932 37,002 
2006              
  First 2 16 3,055 9,977 7,062 2,403 472 99 27 .144 23,113 2,877 25,990 
  Repeat 0 9 1,095 4,324 4,163 2,097 633 149 27 .160 12,497 3,464 15,961 
 All 2 25 4,150 14,301 11,225 4,500 1,105 248 54 .149 35,610 6,341 41,951 
2007              
  First 2 8 2,525 9,008 6,455 2,215 433 82 8 .145 20,736 2,917 23,653 
  Repeat 0 4 978 4,006 3,924 2,060 601 160 28 .161 11,761 3,255 15,016 
 All 2 12 3,503 13,014 10,379 4,275 1,034 242 36 .151 32,497 6,172 38,669 
2008              
  First 0 6 2,168 8,048 5,993 2,085 475 85 21 .146 18,881 2,508 21,389 
  Repeat 0 2 880 3,775 3,776 1,975 616 137 35 .162 11,196 3,209 14,405 
 All 0 8 3,048 11,823 9,769 4,060 1,091 222 56 .152 30,007 5,717 35,794 
2009              
  First 1 4 2,045 7,130 5,310 1,920 425 95 18 .147 16,948 2,346 19,294 
  Repeat 0 1 825 3,458 3,488 1,889 591 157 41 .163 10,450 3,012 13,462 
 All 1 5 2,870 10,588 8,798 3,809 1,016 252 59 .153 27,398 5,358 32,756 
2010              
  First 1 4 1,738 6,317 4,687 1,838 446 111 21 .148 15,163 2,319 17,482 
  Repeat 1 0 710 3,128 3,264 1,807 597 126 43 .165 9,676 2,760 12,436 
 All 2 4 2,448 9,445 7,951 3,645 1,043 237 64 .155 24,839 5,079 29,918 
2011              
  First 1 6 1,746 6,178 4,595 1,712 406 91 26 .148 14,761 2,393 17,154 
  Repeat 0 0 729 3,004 3,186 1,742 593 154 44 .166 9,452 2,651 12,103 
 All 1 6 2,475 9,182 7,781 3,454 999 245 70 .155 24,213 5,044 29,257 
2012              
  First 1 2 1,734 5,967 4,390 1,708 467 94 29 .148 14,392 2,552 16,944 
  Repeat 0 1 774 2,798 2,879 1,532 548 175 41 .164 8,748 2,726 11,474 
 All 1 3 2,508 8,765 7,269 3,240 1,015 269 70 .154 23,140 5,278 28,418 
2013              
  First 0 4 1,529 5,113 3,890 1,502 393 82 23 .148 12,536 2,728 15,264 
  Repeat 0 1 598 2,520 2,488 1,374 471 150 39 .165 7,641 2,814 10,455 
 All 0 5 2,127 7,633 6,378 2,876 864 232 62 .154 20,177 5,542 25,719 

Notes: 
(1) The row heading “First” designates alcohol test results on 
first-time violators; the heading “Repeat” designates results 
on persons with one or more prior incidents on their record.  
The column “Not Tested” means no alcohol test result was 
reported; tests for specific controlled substances may have 
been reported but are not identified on computerized driver 
records. 
(2) The per se illegal A.C. was 0.10% (one-tenth of one 
percent, or one part per thousand, of a person’s blood, when 
expressed as a BAC) from 1971 to July 31, 2005, and is  

0.08% since August 1, 2005.  Among those arrested, 
concentrations below the per se level are rare, even though, 
due to human variation, a person may be quite impaired at 
lower levels.  An unintended consequence of adopting the per 
se law in 1971 was that the alcohol concentration, rather than 
actual impairment, became the standard for making an 
impaired driving arrest.  However, drivers may still be 
arrested and may still incur impaired driving violations while 
having lower alcohol concentrations.  Also, drug-impaired 
driving often occurs together with alcohol-impaired driving.
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TABLE 1.06 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY  
GENDER OF VIOLATOR, 1994 – 2013 

Year Male Female Not Stated Total 

1994 23,242 5,316  1,189 29,748 
1995 23,418 5,467  1,516 30,402 
1996 23,974 5,464  1,485 30,923 
1997 24,106 5,832  1,443 31,380 
1998 24,630 6,149  1,642 32,422 
1999 26,107 6,548  1,920 34,575 
2000 26,070 6,844  2,120 35,034 
2001 24,817 6,588  2,127 33,532 
2002 24,258 6,652  2,254 33,163 
2003 23,377 6,606  2,283 32,266 
2004 24,533 7,266  2,403 34,202 
2005 26,256 8,141  2,605 37,002 
2006 29,286 9,452  3,213 41,951 
2007 26,767 8,942  2,960 38,669 
2008 24,538 8,563  2,693 35,794 
2009 22,380 8,003  2,373 32,756 
2010 20,201 7,494  2,224 29,918 
2011 20,039 7,343  1,875 29,257 
2012 19,135 7,189  2,094 28,418 
2013 17,130 6,497 2,092 25,719 

Note:  The table at left makes it appear that 
the number of violators for whom gender is 
not stated is increasing over time.  This is not 
so.  If a person arrested for DWI does not 
have a Minnesota driving record, one is 
created showing name and date of birth, but 
not gender.  As years pass, many of these 
persons subsequently obtain a Minnesota 
driver’s license, causing gender to be entered 
on record.  The table at left merely takes 
advantage of current information to 
categorize the gender of persons arrested in 
prior years. 
 

TABLE 1.07 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS AMONG UNDER-21 DRIVERS, 
BY AGE, 1994 – 2013 

Year 0-14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Under 21 

1994 4 7 107 237 545 643 766 2,309 
1995 1 20 115 241 518 724 813 2,432 
1996 3 11 138 304 617 800 833 2,706 
1997 4 18 106 279 639 768 894 2,708 
1998 2 17 105 301 679 890 929 2,923 
1999 4 18 116 290 744 1,002 1,046 3,220 
2000 4 10 127 330 710 991 1,116 3,288 
2001 1 15 121 276 643 924 1,042 3,022 
2002 7 12 123 306 659 862 1,100 3,069 
2003 3 21 117 280 692 914 1,069 3,096 
2004 3 13 106 301 679 891 1,014 3,007 
2005 5 16 118 345 708 1,032 1,238 3,462 
2006 6 24 138 394 859 1,280 1,354 4,055 
2007 4 11 126 324 714 1,065 1,210 3,454 
2008 6 14 104 269 634 888 1,047 2,962 
2009 6 6 75 197 524 801 896 2,505 
2010 4 9 54 139 425 667 804 2,102 
2011 1 5 55 154 362 578 748 1,903 
2012 4 10 42 112 332 621 662 1,783 
2013 1 9 43 99 285 432 609 1,478 
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TABLE 1.08 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY AGE GROUP OF VIOLATOR, 1994 - 2013 

Year 0-14 15-19 20-24 25-29 30-34 35-39 40-44 45-49 50-54 55-59 60-64 65-69 70-74 75+ Unk Total 

1994 4 1,539 5,821 5,604 5,816 4,221 2,894 1,756 852 568 342 188 82 60 1 29,748 
1995 1 1,618 5,877 5,549 5,844 4,554 3,046 1,742 956 553 324 185 92 60 1 30,402 
1996 3 1,870 5,806 5,593 5,459 4,791 3,180 1,927 1,010 595 318 214 97 60 0 30,923 
1997 4 1,810 5,816 5,727 5,082 4,974 3,355 2,112 1,169 621 341 206 97 65 1 31,380 
1998 2 1,992 6,256 5,600 4,905 5,224 3,637 2,258 1,155 676 339 195 103 75 5 32,422 
1999 4 2,170 7,403 5,853 4,915 5,254 3,853 2,370 1,330 671 404 192 96 60 0 34,575 
2000 4 2,168 7,776 5,859 4,831 5,116 3,944 2,485 1,399 694 372 194 119 72 1 35,034 
2001 1 1,979 7,912 5,457 4,573 4,438 3,910 2,462 1,457 651 338 192 100 61 1 33,532 
2002 7 1,962 8,148 5,287 4,374 4,054 3,880 2,502 1,454 752 358 197 105 83 0 33,163 
2003 3 2,024 8,209 5,411 4,004 3,632 3,650 2,465 1,378 754 381 188 97 67 3 32,266 
2004 3 1,990 8,699 5,892 4,253 3,654 3,825 2,709 1,637 789 425 166 93 67 0 34,202 
2005 5 2,219 9,615 6,829 4,386 3,790 3,855 2,934 1,669 922 409 213 92 62 2 37,002 
2006 6 2,695 11,056 8,067 4,767 4,138 4,026 3,338 1,986 1,029 448 225 108 61 1 41,951 
2007 4 2,240 9,874 7,398 4,482 3,946 3,627 3,171 1,912 1,101 492 262 93 66 1 38,669 
2008 6 1,909 8,623 6,880 4,508 3,587 3,280 2,998 1,945 1,110 553 229 101 65 0 35,794 
2009 6 1,603 7,570 6,394 4,097 3,386 2,937 2,873 1,893 1,055 541 225 119 56 1 32,756 
2010 4 1,294 6,821 5,776 3,934 2,918 2,671 2,565 1,914 1,086 543 234 98 60 0 29,918 
2011 1 1,154 6,505 5,837 3,895 2,778 2,671 2,393 1,904 1,084 608 231 120 73 3 29,257 
2012 4 1,117 6,413 5,421 3,950 2,627 2,665 2,212 1,839 1,090 613 271 135 61 0 28,418 
2013 1 868 5,478 5,023 3,766 2,596 2,236 1,950 1,779 1,041 557 245 110 69 0 25,719 

TABLE 1.09 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS IN TWIN CITIES METRO* AND  
NON-METRO AREAS, 1994 - 2013 

 Twin Cities 
Metro Area 

Non-Metro Area Total 

Year number percent number percent number percent 

1994 15,471 52.0 14,277 48.0 29,748 100.0 
1995 15,716 51.7 14,686 48.3 30,402 100.0 
1996 15,952 51.6 14,971 48.4 30,923 100.0 
1997 16,153 51.5 15,227 48.5 31,380 100.0 
1998 16,722 51.6 15,700 48.4 32,422 100.0 
1999 17,144 49.5 17,431 50.4 34,575 100.0 
2000 16,821 48.0 18,213 52.0 35,034 100.0 
2001 16,347 48.8 17,185 51.2 33,532 100.0 
2002 16,208 48.9 16,955 51.1 33,163 100.0 
2003 16,000 49.6 16,266 50.4 32,266 100.0 
2004 16,734 48.9 17,468 51.1 34,202 100.0 
2005 17,867 48.3 19,135 51.7 37,002 100.0 
2006 20,532 48.9 21,419 51.1 41,951 100.0 
2007 18,764 48.5 19,905 51.5 38,669 100.0 
2008 17,787 49.7 18,007 50.3 35,794 100.0 
2009 16,253 49.6 16,503 50.4 32,756 100.0 
2010 15,146 50.6 14,772 49.4 29,918 100.0 
2011 14,888 50.9 14,369 49.1 29,257 100.0 
2012 14,660 51.6 13,758 48.4 28,418 100.0 
2013 13,341 51.9 12,378 48.1 25,719 100.0 

*The Twin Cities metro area includes the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, 
 Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and Washington. 
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TABLE 1.10 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY COUNTY OF ARREST, 2002 - 2013 
County 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 

Aitkin 245 199 159 215 208 248 159 134 104 138 129 127  
Anoka 1,711 1,708 1,942 2,055 2,159 2,338 2,132 1,912 1,678 1,445 1,380 1,177 
Becker 465 334 342 438 521 383 325 271 275 255 246 183 
Beltrami 447 432 434 354 446 509 536 419 375 430 293 297 
Benton 266 273 255 265 344 359 293 246 196 156 128 144 
Big Stone 40 40 33 24 47 35 27 20 24 20 43 22 
Blue Earth 596 595 544 644 679 614 598 643 468 397 340 383 
Brown 151 192 219 149 176 162 149 141 126 118 124 101 
Carlton 307 312 344 401 411 252 230 241 258 245 234 177 
Carver 337 341 409 415 432 395 375 283 284 331 309 257 
Cass 245 193 256 289 398 367 271 245 228 221 208 196 
Chippewa 97 107 102 114 145 97 97 49 76 56 56 52 
Chisago 301 321 391 374 374 370 317 310 236 214 205 228 
Clay 564 615 785 803 743 682 545 576 567 511 518 448 
Clearwater 72 66 67 68 57 57 75 81 91 48 37 40 
Cook 64 62 44 75 101 61 42 47 38 30 31 52 
Cottonwood 61 57 74 55 55 72 75 55 57 69 51 56 
Crow Wing 414 431 529 659 716 648 586 509 421 365 354 354 
Dakota 2,775 2,522 2,415 2,652 3,007 2,906 2,520 2,337 2,057 2,035 1,778 1,580 
Dodge 149 98 103 148 153 163 127 100 83 104 68 72 
Douglas 231 213 222 245 258 265 300 266 227 213 162 152 
Faribault 106 67 59 69 91 101 79 57 59 64 69 64 
Fillmore 145 103 121 111 142 116 102 90 92 88 73 79 
Freeborn 279 224 223 243 203 184 168 190 204 198 157 113 
Goodhue 298 298 285 387 528 402 444 384 335 347 335 260 
Grant 32 46 27 42 53 37 40 40 28 22 21 29 
Hennepin 6,669 7,086 7,355 7,541 8,602 7,790 7,498 6,783 6,307 6,769 6,921 6,455 
Houston 162 136 134 143 154 170 155 121 108 109 116 125 
Hubbard 142 139 108 154 183 165 117 137 111 164 121 96 
Isanti 162 158 237 250 363 256 187 161 138 150 154 124 
Itasca 272 236 314 497 585 459 342 386 280 319 330 321 
Jackson 47 43 46 51 82 97 68 59 65 63 81 52 
Kanabec 103 101 103 96 104 150 124 81 104 110 90 87 
Kandiyohi 286 245 290 288 321 269 296 279 215 226 240 192 
Kittson 11 21 23 24 23 20 24 18 15 22 12 18 
Koochiching 124 96 81 64 97 109 97 89 92 81 70 69 
Lac Qui Parle 32 27 18 36 45 47 35 38 39 26 28 25 
Lake 49 43 63 59 66 71 53 62 72 42 68 52 
Lake of the Woods 26 75 64 78 66 39 47 50 38 35 44 32 
Le Sueur 156 133 168 151 181 181 151 155 107 107 93 77 
Lincoln 13 8 15 29 31 38 25 23 26 22 29 24 
Lyon  174 182 159 215 201 166 193 177 173 139 159 151 
McLeod 256 268 233 266 366 290 281 222 173 182 149 156 
Mahnomen 129 108 118 130 98 113 114 104 96 107 99 70 
Marshall 36 38 41 57 50 58 61 35 37 42 50 31 
Martin 150 142 135 134 120 181 152 118 126 90 87 79 
Meeker 115 86 110 118 147 145 123 95 94 60 47 70 
Mille Lacs 302 251 285 301 348 288 236 233 221 189 172 121 
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TABLE 1.10 (Continued) 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY COUNTY OF ARREST, 2002 - 2013 
County 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 

Morrison 195 182 165 195 207 211 199 171 186 155 144 168 
Mower 344 345 294 321 306 343 414 303 262 275 275 262 
Murray 41 39 25 31 35 37 37 25 19 21 24 16 
Nicollet 351 287 281 320 362 255 239 188 176 170 166 115 
Nobles 182 183 162 190 185 186 175 166 149 115 139 150 
Norman 49 23 20 55 55 43 28 37 22 50 39 41 
Olmsted 802 695 772 878 832 1,015 998 973 865 943 744 639 
Otter Tail 322 342 404 414 428 435 346 299 335 294 263 315 
Pennington 117 89 120 125 119 107 96 63 74 66 87 91 
Pine 234 250 324 335 349 275 261 200 198 170 176 140 
Pipestone 46 42 50 69 60 74 61 45 45 47 36 37 
Polk 298 309 324 272 302 282 265 271 254 231 235 236 
Pope 79 67 65 84 73 62 56 49 50 39 48 41 
Ramsey 2,659 2,330 2,394 2,634 3,234 2,912 2,995 2,862 2,946 2,666 2,676 2,380 
Red Lake 43 41 34 47 79 71 53 43 36 30 34 29 
Redwood 83 79 110 127 148 152 117 139 95 87 107 82 
Renville 101 108 127 133 159 111 101 103 136 122 120 75 
Rice 415 418 405 338 348 433 408 363 327 329 264 213 
Rock 42 59 46 53 63 54 38 29 36 51 33 53 
Roseau 128 115 158 159 141 127 145 147 91 113 117 112 
St. Louis 1,447 1,330 1,488 1,601 1,724 1,561 1,590 1,657 1,313 1,262 1,208 1,058 
Scott 664 683 903 1,119 1,253 1,068 955 816 760 632 615 573 
Sherburne 396 386 466 577 801 689 584 534 469 412 508 467 
Sibley 121 100 133 112 123 129 84 65 53 41 49 69 
Stearns 773 937 986 1,145 1,335 1,300 1,067 1,021 968 951 1,021 819 
Steele 175 191 224 254 290 244 210 227 217 189 244 168 
Stevens 37 52 50 46 40 44 43 42 27  51 43 31 
Swift 44 59 42 42 64 51 57 41 37 66 58 61 
Todd 153 112 134 165 241 206 141 147 107 81 102 98 
Traverse 33 19 24 21 22 16 15 6 15 8 15 12 
Wabasha 163 186 137 152 199 172 178 184 132 131 96 100 
Wadena 71 105 81 92 127 112 99 89 70 66 63 66 
Waseca 123 143 110 117 151 149 124 88 77 84 84 62 
Washington 1,393 1,330 1,316 1,451 1,845 1,355 1,312 1,260 1,114 1,010 981 919 
Watonwan 87 76 75 97 103 84 63 60 36 50 31 42 
Wilkin 71 71 61 50 72 78 58 42  52 71 56 61 
Winona 406 360 492 420 380 359 396 339 350 332 314 298 
Wright 580 570 643 695 881 839 675 512 476 592 609 492 
Yellow Medicine 81 82 73 90 135 103 120 78 119 80 85 58 

Totals: 33,163 32,266 34,202 37,002 41,951 38,669 35,794 32,756 29,918 29,257 28,418 25,719 
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TABLE 1.11 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, BY TOTAL NUMBER ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD 
Part I:  1998 – 2005 

Incident 
Number 

1998 % 1999 % 2000 % 2001 % 2002 % 2003 % 2004 % 2005 % 

1 18,232 56.2 19,684 56.9 20,304 58.0 19,473 58.1 19,580 59.0 19,189 59.5 20,399 59.6 22,514 60.9 
2 6,764 20.9 7,455 21.6 7,445 21.3 7,117 21.2 7,035 21.2 6,886 21.3 7,430 21.7 7,965 21.5 
3 3,505 10.8 3,668 10.6 3,566 10.2 3,438 10.3 3,249 9.8 3,134 9.7 3,313 9.7 3,462 9.4 
4 1,861 5.7 1,782 5.2 1,727 4.9 1,670 5.0 1,574 4.7 1,494 4.6 1,495 4.4 1,526 4.1 
5 891 2.7 848 2.5 870 2.5 789 2.4 733 2.2 630 2.0 673 2.0 690 1.9 
6 474 1.5 444 1.3 449 1.3 422 1.3 393 1.2 395 1.2 353 1.0 353 1.0 
7 274 0.8 252 0.7 241 0.7 246 0.7 235 0.7 218 0.7 213 0.6 201 0.5 
8 177 0.5 171 0.5 158 0.5 119 0.4 111 0.3 127 0.4 123 0.4 117 0.3 
9 89 0.3 101 0.3 95 0.3 81 0.2 89 0.3 68 0.2 77 0.2 72 0.2 

10 57 0.2 57 0.2 60 0.2 70 0.2 46 0.1 33 0.1 54 0.2 37 0.1 
11 31 0.1 42 0.1 39 0.1 38 0.1 34 0.1 30 0.1 20 0.1 22 0.6 
12 22 0.1 27 0.1 31 0.1 18 0.1 25 0.1 26 0.1 19 0.1 11 * 
13 5 * 13 * 15 * 19 0.1 23 0.1 9 * 10 * 15 * 
14 19 0.1 10 * 6 * 12 * 12 * 9 * 7 * 6 * 
15 6 * 11 * 7 * 6 * 11 * 8 * 2 * 5 * 
16 6 * 4 * 8 * 5 * 3 * 3 * 4 * 2 * 
17 3 * 4 * 3 * 3 * 6 * 3 * 3 * 0 0 
18 2 * 1 * 3 * 2 * 1 * 1 * 1 * 1 * 
19 1 * 1 * 4 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 * 1 * 
20 1 * 0 0 1 * 3 * 0 0 1 * 1 * 1 * 
21 1 * 0 0 2 * 0 0 1 * 1 * 2 * 0 0 
22 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 * 0 0 0 0 1 * 
23 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 
24 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 
25 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Totals: 32,422 100 34,575 100 35,034 100 33,532 100 33,163 100 32,266 100 34,202 100 37,002 100 

Table continues on next page 
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TABLE 1.11 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, BY TOTAL NUMBER ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD 
Part II:  2006 – 2013 

Incident 
Number 

2006 % 2007 % 2008 % 2009 % 2010 % 2011 % 2012 % 2013 % 

1 25,990 62.0 23,653 61.2 21,389 59.8 19,294 58.9 17,482 58.4 17,154 58.6 16,944 59.6 15,264  59.4 
2 8,974 21.4 8,489 22.0 8,066 22.5 7,462 22.8 6,818 22.8 6,637 22.7 6,375 22.4 5,860 22.8 
3 3,865 9.2 3,570 9.2 3,503 9.8 3,373 10.3 3,155 10.6 3,137 10.7 2,847 10.0 2,537 9.9 
4 1,620 3.9 1,558 4.0 1,510 4.2 1,420 4.3 1,366 4.6 1,273 4.4 1,248 4.4 1,123 4.4 
5 711 1.7 651 1.7 625 1.8 557 1.7 549 1.8 462 1.6 516 1.8 478 1.9 
6 344 0.8 329 0.8 293 0.8 264 0.8 224 0.8 253 0.9 198 0.7 201 0.8 
7 185 0.4 159 0.4 146 0.4 146 0.4 131 0.4 127 0.4 121 0.4 114 0.4 
8 98 0.2 113 0.3 93 0.3 97 0.3 71 0.2 76 0.3 59 0.2 57 0.2 
9 65 0.2 58 0.2 66 0.2 47 0.1 46 0.2 54 0.2 38 0.1 39 0.2 

10 38 0.1 34 0.1 41 0.1 35 0.1 28 0.1 30 0.1 27 0.1 15 0.1 
11 22 * 18 * 25 0.1 24 0.1 16 0.1 19 0.1 11 * 12 0.1 
12 12 * 14 * 11 * 18 0.1 16 0.1 8 * 11 * 6 * 
13 9 * 7 * 12 * 4 * 7 * 7 * 10 * 6 * 
14 8 * 6 * 5 * 5 * 3 * 12 * 2 * 2 * 
15 1 * 1 * 3 * 3 * 3 * 2 * 4 * 2 * 
16 2 * 3 * 2 * 2 * 1 * 1 * 2 * 1 * 
17 4 * 2 * 1 * 1 * 0 0 0 0 2 * 0 0 
18 2 * 1 * 1 * 2 * 1 * 0 0 1 * 1 * 
19 1 * 1 * 2 * 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 
20 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 1 * 2 * 0 0 0 0 
21 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 
22 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 
23 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 * 0 0 0 0 
24 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 
25 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Totals: 41,951 100 38,669 100 35,794 100 32,756 100 29,918 100 29,257 100 28,418 100 25,719 100 
 

Table 1.11 counts incidents that occurred in 
Minnesota, based on the total number of incidents the 
person has on his or her driving record.  That is, 
incidents counted in row 1 were incurred by first-time 
violators who had zero prior impaired driving incidents 
on their driving record.  For example, Mr. Smith incurs 
his first-ever incident anywhere, and that incident 
occurs in Minneapolis in January, 2001.  Mr. Smith 
incurs a second incident in Iowa in July, 2002, and a 

third incident, again in Minneapolis, in August, 2004.  
In this case, Mr. Smith’s first incident contributes a 
count of one to row 1 of the 2001 column.  The second 
incident is not counted in the above table because it did 
not occur in Minnesota.  The third incident contributes 
a count of one to the third row of the 2004 column 
because it did occur in Minnesota and because it is the 
third on Mr. Smith’s driving record. 
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II. IMPAIRED DRIVING CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATES 

 
This section provides statistics on the number of 
impaired driving incidents by county and judicial 
district, and the number and percentage of that total 
for which there is a criminal conviction on some type 
of impaired driving charge.  On an infrequent basis, 
however, an offense will lead to an impaired driving 
conviction, but not be counted as such.  This could be 
due either: 

 (1) To the circumstance that the conviction 
occurred after the date on which the data used to 
compile these statistics were extracted from the state 
driver’s license files, or  
 (2) To reporting errors. 

Timing of conviction 
Conviction rates for 2013 were calculated using data 
available on June 1, 2014 – five full months after the 
end of the 2013 calendar year.  However, the criminal 
charge sometimes takes longer than that to resolve.  
This is especially true for more serious charges, such 
as the higher-level impaired driving offenses.  A 
driver is more likely to challenge such charges in the 
courts. 

Reporting errors 
The second reason a conviction might not be counted 
is that errors occur.  A court clerk may fail to 
accurately record a plea, or a verdict, or a judge’s 
sentence.  The Court Administrator’s office may not 
accurately transmit notice of the conviction to the 
Department of Public Safety.  The Department of 
Public Safety may not accurately record the 
conviction on the person’s driving record.  The 
procedures that underlie the charging, prosecuting, 
adjudicating, and recording of impaired driving 
offenses are complex enough that there are 
opportunities for mistakes.  The objective in 
reporting the statistics here is to assist in identifying 
possible failures so they can be corrected.   

Examples of why a conviction may not be counted  
Hypothetically, if a county had 100 impaired driving 
incidents committed by first-time violators in 2013 
and driver’s license records show that only 85 
resulted in an impaired driving conviction, then the 
conviction rate is 85 out of 100, or 85.0%.  There was 
no impaired driving conviction posted on the driver’s 
record for 15 of the incidents.  Suppose that John 
Smith committed one of those 15 incidents.  This 
means that Smith was stopped; he took and failed, or 
refused to take, tests for alcohol or controlled 

substances, thus incurring an implied consent 
violation and triggering the impaired driving incident 
to be posted on his record.  Here are some reasons 
why a criminal conviction might not be reported for 
Mr. Smith: 

 (1) There was a plea bargain:  For example, the 
prosecutor agreed to allow Smith to plead guilty to 
careless driving. 
 (2) Smith was convicted on some type of impaired 
driving charge, but not until after the June 1, 2014 
date on which the statistics compiled here are based. 
 (3) Smith was convicted, but the judge stayed 
adjudication of the conviction on condition that 
Smith conforms to various requirements.  Since 
adjudication was stayed, the conviction is held in 
abeyance and not transmitted to the Department of 
Public Safety. 
 (4) In addition to impaired driving, Smith had a 
felony charge for transporting methamphetamines.  
He pled guilty to the felony offense and was 
sentenced to five years in prison and a fine of $5,000.  
The county attorney waived the charge on the 
impaired driving offense. 
 (5)  The judge stayed imposition of the sentence on 
condition that Smith conforms to various 
requirements.  The court clerk accidentally recorded 
the stay of imposition as a stay of adjudication, 
causing the Court Administrator’s office to not 
forward the conviction notice to the Department of 
Public Safety. 
 (6)  Smith was convicted of some impaired driving 
offense, but the Court Administrator’s office did not 
report the conviction to the Department of Public 
Safety, or reported it in an incorrect manner that 
caused the report to be rejected.‡ 
 (7) Smith was convicted and the Department of 
Public Safety was properly notified of the conviction 
but mistakenly entered the impaired driving 
conviction as a conviction for some other type of 
violation (e.g., speeding). 

‡ The Department of Public Safety returns incomplete 
reports to the Court Administrator’s Office with a 
request for a corrected report. 
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How the Conviction Rate is Calculated 
The conviction rate is expressed merely as a percent:  
out of 100 incidents, what number resulted in a 
conviction for some type of impaired driving offense.  
Two issues require comment:  (1) how prior 
violations are counted, and (2) the circumstance that 
the conviction rate is not a measure of how much 
plea bargaining or sentence bargaining may be 
occurring. 

1.  Counting prior violations 
Table 2.01 has separate columns for first- through 
fourth-or-subsequent-time violators.  The violators 
who committed the incidents were put into these 
categories based on a lifetime look back period,§ not a 
ten-year look back period.  The current statute MS 
169A defines impaired driving offense levels in terms 
of certain aggravating factors.  Prior incidents in the 
last ten years are one type of aggravating factor.**  
(Each prior incident augments the count of 
aggravating factors by one.)  If a ten-year look back 
period had been used, there would have been slightly 
more incidents counted into the “first-time violators” 
column and slightly fewer counted into the second- 
through fourth-or-subsequent-time columns. 

§ The term “lifetime” look back period may be 
misleading.  Currently, an impaired driving incident 
remains on the driver’s license forever, and for 
several decades there has been a rule that a second 
impaired driving incident causes all incidents to be 
kept on record forever.  However, at different points 
in the past, there were different rules followed—that 
a single incident not followed by a second was 
eligible to be purged from the driver’s record after 
seven, or ten, or fifteen, years had passed.  However, 
purging of incidents from records was not performed 
systematically; so even when those rules were in 
effect, eligibility to be purged did not mean that an 
incident was purged.  For practical purposes, as an 
example, if a person is now in their forties and had a 
single impaired driving incident when they were in 
their teens or twenties, then that incident may or may 
not have been purged from their driving record. 
** The other two aggravating factors are (1) presence 
of children in the vehicle, and (2) having an alcohol 
concentration of .16% or higher (as of July 1, 2011). 

2.  Not measuring plea bargaining 
People are concerned with how much plea bargaining 
takes place in impaired driving cases.  The conviction 
rates are not good measures of plea bargaining, 
however.  Plus, bargaining takes two forms.  Plea 
bargaining occurs when a prosecutor initially charges  
for one offense (e.g., first-degree impaired driving) 
and then accepts a plea of guilty to a lesser offense 
(e.g., second-, third-, or fourth-degree impaired 
driving, or reckless driving, or speeding, etc.).  
Second, there is sentence bargaining:  The prosecutor 
agrees to accept a sentence less than the maximum 
for the offense on which the violator is convicted.  
For example, Smith pleads guilty to gross 
misdemeanor impaired driving but gets a 
misdemeanor impaired driving sentence. 

Judicial Districts in Minnesota 
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The conviction rates reported here do not measure the 
extent of plea bargaining or sentence bargaining.  
They only quantify, for all the incidents that 
occurred, the percentage that resulted in some kind of 
impaired driving conviction.  It cannot be known, 
from the driver’s license data, (1) if the conviction 
was for a lesser offense than the one initially charged, 
or (2) what the sentence was. 

Conviction rates vary by County and District 
The state is divided into ten judicial districts.  
Ramsey County is District 2, and Hennepin County is 
District 4.  The other eight districts encompass from 
four to 17 counties that are geographically close 
together.  Conviction rates usually vary by district 
and by county.  Across the Districts in 2013, the 
range of conviction rates was from 68.7% (District 2: 
Ramsey County) to 80.9% (for District 9, comprised 
of 17 counties in Northwest Minnesota).  

Some counties had conviction rates at 90% or higher:  
Kittson (100%), Carlton (93%) and Watonwan 
(91%). 

Some counties had conviction rates that were lower 
than 60%: Washington (59%), Pine (59%), 
Koochiching (55%) and Isanti (52%). 

Out of 25,719 impaired driving incidents in 2013, the 
overall conviction rate for Minnesota was 74%.  As 
mentioned previously, the conviction rate for each 
year will increase to approximately 85% as judicial 
outcomes are settled.   
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TABLE 2.01 

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 2013 
BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL  

 ALL 
VIOLATORS 

1ST-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

2ND-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

3RD-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

4TH+ TIME 
VIOLATORS 

District 
and County 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 
Judicial Dist 1                
CARVER 257 211 82.1 149 120 80.5 61 52 85.2 24 21 87.5 23 18 78.3 
DAKOTA 1,580 1,079 68.3 922 629 68.2 387 268 69.3 163 109 66.9 108 73 67.6 
GOODHUE 260 214 82.3 148 123 83.1 59 52 88.1 25 19 76.0 28 20 71.4 
LE SUEUR 77 64 83.1 35 30 85.7 22 16 72.7 16 14 87.5 4 4 100.0 
MCLEOD 156 128 82.1 85 68 80.0 35 29 82.9 18 16 88.9 18 15 83.3 
SCOTT 573 445 77.7 333 258 77.5 122 102 83.6 65 47 72.3 53 38 71.7 
SIBLEY 69 61 88.4 42 36 85.7 10 9 90.0 11 11 100.0 6 5 83.3 
 SUBTOTAL:  2,972 2,202 74.1 1,714 1,264 73.7 696 528 75.9 322 237 73.6 240 173 72.1 

Judicial Dist 2                
RAMSEY 2,380 1,634 68.7 1,513 995 65.8 529 384 72.6 200 161 80.5 138 94 68.1 

Judicial Dist 3                
DODGE 72 60 83.3 42 33 78.6 16 14 87.5 7 7 100.0 7 6 85.7 
FILLMORE 79 66 83.5 39 32 82.1 25 21 84.0 8 7 87.5 7 6 85.7 
FREEBORN 113 81 71.7 70 53 75.7 23 15 65.2 11 8 72.7 9 5 55.6 
HOUSTON 125 105 84.0 82 68 82.9 28 24 85.7 7 5 71.4 8 8 100.0 
MOWER 262 209 79.8 144 116 80.6 71 57 80.3 23 18 78.3 24 18 75.0 
OLMSTED 639 561 87.8 380 339 89.2 139 119 85.6 69 63 91.3 51 40 78.4 
RICE 213 155 72.8 124 85 68.5 49 39 79.6 20 16 80.0 20 15 75.0 
STEELE 168 106 63.1 91 61 67.0 38 24 63.2 24 10 41.7 15 11 73.3 
WABASHA 100 78 78.0 62 47 75.8 19 16 84.2 7 5 71.4 12 10 83.3 
WASECA 62 50 80.6 33 26 78.8 13 12 92.3 8 8 100.0 8 4 50.0 
WINONA 298 229 76.8 199 157 78.9 64 45 70.3 19 17 89.5 16 10 62.5 
 SUBTOTAL: 2,131 1,700 79.8 1,266 1,017 80.3 485 386 79.6 203 164 80.8 177 133 75.1 

Judicial Dist 4                
HENNEPIN 6,455 4,467 69.2 4,003 2,606 65.1 1,495 1,159 77.5 570 415 72.8 387 287 74.2 

Judicial Dist 5                
BLUE EARTH 383 305 79.6 238 193 81.1 76 62 81.6 41 33 80.5 28 17 60.7 
BROWN 101 85 84.2 67 57 85.1 15 13 86.7 10 7 70.0 9 8 88.9 
COTTONWOOD 56 48 85.7 25 19 76.0 18 16 88.9 9 9 100.0 4 4 100.0 
FARIBAULT 64 50 78.1 37 31 83.8 12 8 66.7 8 5 62.5 7 6 85.7 
JACKSON 52 35 67.3 35 21 60.0 9 8 88.9 5 4 80.0 3 2 66.7 
LINCOLN 24 19 79.2 15 13 86.7 4 3 75.0 4 2 50.0 1 1 100.0 
LYON 151 131 86.8 106 92 86.8 21 19 90.5 18 15 83.3 6 5 83.3 
MARTIN 79 55 69.6 41 28 68.3 22 17 77.3 8 6 75.0 8 4 50.0 
MURRAY 16 14 87.5 10 9 90.0 3 2 66.7 1 1 100.0 2 2 100.0 
NICOLLET 115 83 72.2 79 60 75.9 20 12 60.0 10 7 70.0 6 4 66.7 
NOBLES 150 111 74.0 106 81 76.4 22 13 59.1 14 11 78.6 8 6 75.0 
PIPESTONE 37 24 64.9 23 15 65.2 4 4 100.0 5 3 60.0 5 2 40.0 
REDWOOD 82 68 82.9 41 32 78.0 20 19 95.0 11 10 90.9 10 7 70.0 
ROCK 53 45 84.9 38 33 86.8 7 5 71.4 5 5 100.0 3 2 66.7 
WATONWAN 42 38 90.5 25 21 84.0 11 11 100.0 2 2 100.0 4 4 100.0 
 SUBTOTAL: 1,405 1,111 79.1 886 705 79.6 264 212 80.3 151 120 79.5 104 74 71.2 
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TABLE 2.01 (Continued) 

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 2013 
BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL  

 ALL 
VIOLATORS 

1ST-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

2ND-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

3RD-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

4TH+ TIME 
VIOLATORS 

District 
and County 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

Judicial Dist 6                
CARLTON 177 165 93.2 90 83 92.2 34 33 97.1 24 23 95.8 29 26 89.7 
COOK 52 42 80.8 33 30 90.9 12 8 66.7 1 0 0.0 6 4 66.7 
LAKE 52 42 80.8 30 24 80.0 11 9 81.8 5 4 80.0 6 5 83.3 
ST. LOUIS 1,058 824 77.9 588 454 77.2 252 195 77.4 132 107 81.1 86 68 79.1 
 SUBTOTAL: 1,339 1,073 80.1 741 591 79.8 309 245 79.3 162 134 82.7 127 103 81.1 

Judicial Dist 7                
BECKER 183 145 79.2 96 79 82.3 39 29 74.4 19 16 84.2 29 21 72.4 
BENTON 144 108 75.0 72 56 77.8 39 32 82.1 17 11 64.7 16 9 56.3 
CLAY 448 377 84.2 286 242 84.6 84 72 85.7 50 41 82.0 28 22 78.6 
DOUGLAS 152 119 78.3 93 76 81.7 29 22 75.9 13 10 76.9 17 11 64.7 
MILLE LACS 121 90 74.4 55 48 87.3 26 15 57.7 22 16 72.7 18 11 61.1 
MORRISON 168 130 77.4 101 84 83.2 37 29 78.4 15 10 66.7 15 7 46.7 
OTTER TAIL 315 268 85.1 196 173 88.3 63 53 84.1 31 26 83.9 25 16 64.0 
STEARNS 819 643 78.5 533 429 80.5 174 131 75.3 61 47 77.0 51 36 70.6 
TODD 98 75 76.5 57 45 78.9 25 18 72.0 10 8 80.0 6 4 66.7 
WADENA 66 54 81.8 34 25 73.5 16 14 87.5 6 6 100.0 10 9 90.0 
 SUBTOTAL: 2,514 2,009 79.9 1,523 1,257 82.5 532 415 78.0 244 191 78.3 215 146 67.9 

Judicial Dist 8                
BIG STONE 22 17 77.3 8 6 75.0 9 7 77.8 2 2 100.0 3 2 66.7 
CHIPPEWA 52 45 86.5 30 26 86.7 12 11 91.7 7 7 100.0 3 1 33.3 
GRANT 29 23 79.3 10 9 90.0 7 6 85.7 7 4 57.1 5 4 80.0 
KANDIYOHI 192 161 83.9 111 97 87.4 45 36 80.0 20 16 80.0 16 12 75.0 
LAC QUI  PARLE 25 17 68.0 12 9 75.0 5 4 80.0 4 3 75.0 4 1 25.0 
MEEKER 70 54 77.1 38 30 78.9 17 13 76.5 6 4 66.7 9 7 77.8 
POPE 41 31 75.6 25 17 68.0 8 7 87.5 5 5 100.0 3 2 66.7 
RENVILLE 75 60 80.0 36 30 83.3 19 15 78.9 12 9 75.0 8 6 75.0 
STEVENS 31 26 83.9 21 16 76.2 5 5 100.0 1 1 100.0 4 4 100.0 
SWIFT 61 47 77.0 34 26 76.5 12 11 91.7 6 5 83.3 9 5 55.6 
TRAVERSE 12 10 83.3 5 5 100.0 4 3 75.0 2 1 50.0 1 1 100.0 
WILKIN 61 53 86.9 45 38 84.4 8 7 87.5 2 2 100.0 6 6 100.0 
YELLOW MED 58 45 77.6 27 22 81.5 18 15 83.3 9 6 66.7 4 2 50.0 
 SUBTOTAL: 729 589 80.8 402 331 82.3 169 140 82.8 83 65 78.3 75 53 70.7 
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TABLE 2.01 (Continued) 

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 2013 
BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL  

 ALL 
VIOLATORS 

1ST-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

2ND-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

3RD-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

4TH+ TIME 
VIOLATORS 

District 
and County 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

Judicial Dist 9                
AITKIN 127 101 79.5 62 54 87.1 26 18 69.2 21 15 71.4 18 14 77.8 
BELTRAMI 297 267 89.9 164 146 89.0 60 55 91.7 39 36 92.3 34 30 88.2 
CASS 196 161 82.1 91 77 84.6 46 36 78.3 19 17 89.5 40 31 77.5 
CLEARWATER 40 35 87.5 17 14 82.4 8 6 75.0 5 5 100.0 10 10 100.0 
CROW WING 354 269 76.0 171 128 74.9 93 72 77.4 46 37 80.4 44 32 72.7 
HUBBARD 96 86 89.6 56 48 85.7 21 21 100.0 8 8 100.0 11 9 81.8 
ITASCA 321 249 77.6 167 125 74.9 83 67 80.7 33 31 93.9 38 26 68.4 
KITTSON 18 18 100.0 8 8 100.0 8 8 100.0 0 0 0.0 2 2 100.0 
KOOCHICHING 69 38 55.1 42 29 69.0 15 4 26.7 5 3 60.0 7 2 28.6 
LAKE  OF WDS 32 24 75.0 15 11 73.3 12 9 75.0 2 1 50.0 3 3 100.0 
MAHNOMEN 70 47 67.1 26 16 61.5 18 14 77.8 9 4 44.4 17 13 76.5 
MARSHALL 31 27 87.1 22 18 81.8 4 4 100.0 4 4 100.0 1 1 100.0 
NORMAN 41 34 82.9 26 23 88.5 8 5 62.5 1 1 100.0 6 5 83.3 
PENNINGTON 91 76 83.5 56 46 82.1 18 15 83.3 7 6 85.7 10 9 90.0 
POLK 236 200 84.7 150 131 87.3 44 33 75.0 20 16 80.0 22 20 90.9 
RED LAKE 29 26 89.7 14 13 92.9 9 8 88.9 3 3 100.0 3 2 66.7 
ROSEAU 112 90 80.4 65 53 81.5 19 16 84.2 15 11 73.3 13 10 76.9 
 SUBTOTAL: 2,160 1,748 80.9 1,152 940 81.6 492 391 79.5 237 198 83.5 279 219 78.5 

Judicial Dist 10                
ANOKA 1,177 869 73.8 633 468 73.9 291 230 79.0 121 88 72.7 132 83 62.9 
CHISAGO 228 162 71.1 125 92 73.6 56 42 75.0 21 17 81.0 26 11 42.3 
ISANTI 124 64 51.6 70 45 64.3 30 14 46.7 18 4 22.2 6 1 16.7 
KANABEC 87 57 65.5 40 26 65.0 23 17 73.9 13 9 69.2 11 5 45.5 
PINE 140 82 58.6 72 49 68.1 26 15 57.7 20 10 50.0 22 8 36.4 
SHERBURNE 467 375 80.3 274 221 80.7 110 88 80.0 59 48 81.4 24 18 75.0 
WASHINGTON 919 545 59.3 576 312 54.2 224 160 71.4 62 44 71.0 57 29 50.9 
WRIGHT 492 349 70.9 274 203 74.1 129 86 66.7 51 37 72.5 38 23 60.5 
 SUBTOTAL: 3,634 2,503 68.9 2,064 1,416 68.6 889 652 73.3 365 257 70.4 316 178 56.3 

Totals for 
Minnesota: 25,719 19,036 74.0 15,264 11,122 72.9 5,860 4,512 77.0 2,537 1,942 76.5 2,058 1,460 70.9 

NOTE: 
(1)  There is no restriction on the “look back” period in 
counting prior violations.  For example, a second-time violator 
could have incurred his or her first violation 12 years, or 1 
week, prior to the second violation.   
(2)  Caution regarding interpreting table:  The data compiled 
here reflect convictions received as of June 1, 2013. 

However, new information is constantly being added to driver’s 
license records.  In addition, as offense level increases, violators 
face stiffer penalties and have more incentive to fight 
conviction through legal proceedings.  The conviction rates will 
therefore increase as time passes; each year the overall 
conviction rate for all offenses will rise to approximately 85%. 
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III. PERSONS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD 

 
This section reports statistics on Minnesota’s total 
population, the population of licensed drivers, and the 
population of persons who have impaired driving 
incidents on their driving record. 

Currently, an impaired driving incident is kept on 
record permanently 
Current practice is that an impaired driving incident 
stays on a person’s driver’s license record 
permanently.  However, there were different rules in 
the past.  At points over the last 30 years, a single 
incident might have been eligible to be purged from a 
driving record after seven, ten, or fifteen years.  
However, purging of incidents from records was not 
performed systematically; so, even when the different 
rules were in effect, eligibility to be purged did not 
mean that an incident was purged.  Apart from rules 
for a single incident, there has long been (for several 
decades) in effect a rule that if a person incurred a 
second impaired driving incident, then all impaired 
driving incidents were kept on record permanently.  
The practical effect of having the different rules over 
time is that the number of persons currently shown to 
have two or more incidents on record will be close to 
the true number of people who ever accumulated two 
or more incidents, while the number shown to have 
only one incident will understate the true number of 
people who ever incurred a single incident.  For 
example, there are probably many middle-aged or 
older persons who incurred a single incident when 
they were young, but never incurred a second one, 
and, at some point (probably in the early 1990s, or 
before), the single incident was purged from their 
driving record. 

11.0% of Minnesota residents have a DWI 
In all, 596,170 Minnesota residents have one or more 
impaired driving incidents on their driving record.  
That is 11.0% of all people living in Minnesota 
(using the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2013 population 
estimate for Minnesota).   

1 in 7 licensed drivers has an incident on record 
Now consider that many residents in Minnesota are 
too young to drive.  Out of the 2013 total of licensed 
drivers in Minnesota, 1 in 7 has one or more incidents 
on record, 1 in 16 has two or more, and 1 in 35 have 
three or more. 

In addition to Minnesota residents, there are 109,854 
non-residents on record who have incurred one or 
more incidents in Minnesota. 

Counties vary 
As noted, 11.0% of the state’s population has an 
incident on their driving record.  There is variation by 
county.  The five counties with the highest 
percentages are:  Mahnomen (22.3%), Mille Lacs 
(17.1%), Cass (15.8%), Clearwater (15.4%), and 
Aitkin (15.3%) – these counties are north and west of 
the Twin Cities.   

The counties with the lowest percentages are Stevens 
(7.7%), Rock (8.0%), Carver (8.9%), Lincoln (8.9%), 
Olmsted (9.2%) and Washington (9.2%) – mostly in 
the lower half of Minnesota.  Reasons for the 
variation might include: prevalence of chemical 
dependency problems in the population, strictness of 
enforcement of DWI laws, and whether the county is 
in a vacation or recreational area of the state. 

Each year, most DWI offenders are first-timers 
There is a perception that so much of the drinking 
and driving problem is concentrated in a rather small 
subset of the population whose members are 
chemically dependent and who drink and drive over 
and over again.  There is evidence to support such a 
perception.  Forty-two percent of the 596,170 persons 
in the state with incidents on record have two or more 
incidents.  Some people have a large number of 
incidents:  1,302 have ten or more.  One person now 
has 25 incidents on record.  Still, it is possible the 
perception distracts attention from the reality that 
most violators do not have prior incidents on record.  
Fifty-eight percent have only one incident.  (As noted 
earlier, this understates the true number since a single 
incident may have been purged from a person’s 
driving record). 
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TABLE 3.01 

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA BY AGE-GROUP AND GENDER 

Age 2000 
Census 
Male 

2000 
Census 
Female 

2000 
Census 
Total 

2010 
Census 
Male 

2010 
Census 
Female 

2010 
Census 
Total 

2013 
(Estimate) 

Male 

2013 
(Estimate) 

Female 

2013 
(Estimate) 

Total 

00-04 168,829 160,765 329,594 181,342 174,162 355,504 178,080 169,487 347,567 
05-09 182,912 172,982 355,894 181,614 173,922 355,536 185,022 178,380 363,402 
10-14 192,118 182,877 374,995 180,356 171,986 352,342 181,862 173,430 355,292 
15-19 191,534 182,828 374,362 188,594 179,235 367,829 182,826 175,783 358,609 
20-24 164,038 158,445 322,483 180,725 174,926 355,651 183,607 177,718 361,325 
25-29 162,132 157,694 319,826 187,562 185,124 372,686 185,675 180,144 365,819 
30-34 178,502 174,810 353,312 174,549 168,351 342,900 190,981 185,760 376,741 
35-39 207,962 204,528 412,490 165,815 162,375 328,190 165,686 161,132 326,818 
40-44 207,355 204,337 411,692 177,234 175,670 352,904 172,374 169,099 341,473 
45-49 183,801 180,446 364,247 203,588 202,615 406,203 181,819 180,820 362,639 
50-54 150,750 150,699 301,449 200,663 201,032 401,695 204,287 204,965 409,252 
55-59 112,203 114,654 226,857 174,321 175,268 349,589 188,350 189,816 378,166 
60-64 86,648 91,364 178,012 137,760 142,015 279,775 156,717 160,483 317,200 
65-69 72,707 80,462 153,169 97,533 105,037 202,570 115,294 122,874 238,168 
70-74 64,646 78,010 142,656 70,840 81,017 151,857 82,144 92,430 174,574 
75-79 51,709 70,968 122,677 54,464 67,650 122,114 57,688 70,071 127,759 
80-84 33,477 56,686 90,163 40,865 59,051 99,916 42,022 58,349 100,371 
85+ 24,308 61,293 85,601 34,307 72,357 106,664 38,865 76,340 115,205 

Totals: 2,435,631 2,483,848 4,919,479 2,632,132 2,671,793 5,303,925 2,693,299 2,727,081 5,420,380 

Source:  United States Census Bureau.  
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TABLE 3.02 
MINNESOTA LICENSED DRIVERS†† UNDER 21, BY AGE, 1994 – 2013 

Year 15 16 17 18 19 20 Total Under 21 

1994 16,031 48,754 54,960 55,472 55,793 56,765 287,775 
1995 20,660 52,205 57,426 58,307 57,139 56,902 302,639 
1996 24,783 54,657 60,864 61,788 61,058 58,964 322,114 
1997 27,514 55,564 61,052 63,711 63,460 61,875 333,176 
1998 24,610 50,028 60,389 64,337 66,023 64,484 329,871 
1999 24,944 52,576 59,337 60,177 67,779 67,816 332,629 
2000 28,479 55,792 60,724 65,830 68,697 69,306 348,828 
2001 27,878 56,361 62,068 64,963 69,232 70,351 350,853 
2002 28,880 55,286 63,011 66,876 68,609 70,985 353,647 
2003 29,800 55,614 61,329 67,491 69,792 69,385 353,411 
2004 31,638 55,812 61,286 66,397 71,026 71,513 357,672 
2005 31,161 55,398 61,431 65,440 68,842 71,780 354,052 
2006 26,360 53,520 60,695 64,617 67,917 68,826 341,935 
2007 26,029 51,499 59,766 64,910 67,664 69,091 338,959 
2008 26,141 49,801 57,875 64,337 68,050 68,920 335,124 
2009 28,126 49,884 56,554 62,707 67,701 69,074 334,046 
2010 28,020 49,634 55,885 61,526 66,272 69,495 330,832 
2011 25,422 48,260 54,781 59,722 63,997 67,176 319,358 
2012 25,946 47,801 54,489 59,220 63,212 65,539 316,207 
2013 25,324 48,013 53,744 58,706 62,642 64,972 313,401 

TABLE 3.03 
MINNESOTA LICENSED DRIVERS, BY AGE-GROUP, 1994 – 2013 

Year 15-19 20-24 25-29 30-34 35-39 40-44 45-49 50-54 55-59 60-64 65-69 70-74 75 + Total 
1994 231,010 290,752 330,676 393,253 396,206 355,845 296,176 225,468 178,920 156,192 148,961 132,442 204,674 3,340,575 
1995 245,737 283,027 331,259 381,403 402,366 364,629 313,384 230,114 183,763 156,652 149,004 132,842 214,171 3,388,351 
1996 263,150 284,532 330,844 368,340 407,794 373,405 323,114 248,979 191,853 158,537 148,228 134,127 223,602 3,456,505 
1997 271,301 291,004 325,020 356,278 407,334 381,214 330,259 260,406 201,963 160,789 146,590 133,750 221,862 3,487,770 
1998 265,387 302,019 318,360 347,382 405,914 389,126 340,673 273,059 210,483 165,519 144,903 134,081 229,135 3,526,041 

1999 264,812 316,452 316,642 346,159 401,755 398,519 352,585 290,428 218,555 170,263 145,284 134,225 239,938 3,595,617 
2000 279,522 327,545 310,399 347,932 391,515 405,043 362,105 306,566 222,828 174,735 145,334 133,774 242,146 3,647,444 
2001 280,502 339,486 309,079 344,952 377,905 408,621 368,930 316,321 238,022 180,723 146,107 133,205 241,646 3,685,499 
2002 282,662 352,022 320,420 343,933 366,661 411,413 379,702 325,664 252,631 192,074 149,272 132,368 248,671 3,757,493 
2003 284,026 352,818 326,355 333,363 354,509 408,428 386,086 335,331 264,204 200,322 154,103 131,255 257,379 3,788,179 

2004 286,159 361,589 339,712 330,480 350,988 403,774 395,178 345,855 280,193 208,133 158,035 131,277 260,483 3,851,856 
2005 282,272 361,839 348,538 319,537 349,515 390,439 400,876 355,524 296,390 212,324 163,125 131,383 260,331 3,872,093 
2006 273,109 353,949 353,241 311,685 342,520 372,638 401,715 361,197 306,185 226,262 168,693 132,725 267,241 3,871,160 
2007 269,868 351,877 360,944 316,410 336,604 358,091 401,496 369,195 314,238 239,650 178,918 136,026 274,657 3,907,974 
2008 266,204 350,535 365,501 324,694 327,911 347,387 399,215 376,096 324,589 251,756 187,347 140,879 276,287 3,938,401 

2009 264,972 347,193 364,228 330,073 319,456 339,999 391,392 382,435 332,705 265,450 193,513 143,738 273,186 3,948,340 
2010 261,337 348,937 366,813 342,756 311,858 340,906 380,685 389,685 343,840 282,820 198,777 149,002 277,819 3,995,235 
2011 252,182 343,942 358,738 351,489 306,985 336,514 365,193 392,410 350,359 293,833 213,587 155,347 287,174 4,007,753 
2012 250,668 341,891 356,653 359,718 312,377 330,720 351,004 392,344 358,458 301,734 226,107 164,699 292,345 4,038,718 
2013 248,429 340,074 358,005 365,101 320,919 331,868 340,791 390,177 365,577 311,683 237,444 172,320 296,868 4,079,256 

†† Source:  Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Service Division.  Counts include learner's permits. 
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TABLE 3.04 

MINNESOTA RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, 
BY AGE AT DATE OF LAST INCIDENT AND BY AGE AT END OF 2013 

 Age at Date of Last Incident Age at End of Year 2013 
Age  Female Male Not Stated Total Female Male Not Stated Total 

00-14 13 30 19 62 0 0 0 0 
15-19 7,664 21,626 1,047 30,337 261 672 81 1,014 
20-24 29,924 94,694 4,469 129,087 4,964 12,146 787 17,897 
25-29 23,752 83,892 3,872 111,516 12,586 32,294 2,469 47,349 
30-34 18,795 63,139 2,583 84,517 15,505 44,913 3,426 63,844 
35-39 16,488 51,148 1,722 69,358 13,111 43,394 2,743 59,248 
40-44 14,314 42,801 1,142 58,257 15,056 47,445 2,096 64,597 
45-49 10,481 33,440 652 44,573 18,539 55,068 1,514 75,121 
50-54 6,012 23,358 359 29,729 20,832 63,597 1,306 85,735 
55-59 3,054 14,860 184 18,098 13,710 49,897 799 64,406 
60-64 1,620 8,877 107 10,604 7,866 34,228 467 42,561 
65-69 757 4,818 45 5,620 4,531 21,701 229 26,461 
70-74 329 2,446 19 2,794 2,741 13,663 147 16,551 
75-79 133 1,006 6 1,145 1,524 9,195 63 10,782 
80-84 44 346 4 394 973 6,694 44 7,711 
85 +  9 64 6 79 1,190 11,638 65 12,893 
Unknown 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Totals: 133,389 446,545 16,236 596,170 133,389 446,545 16,236 596,170 
 
Note: 
Gender is not stated for many persons.  When a person applies for a driver’s license, gender is entered on the record.  
If a person is arrested for impaired driving and does not have a driver’s license, then a record is created but gender is 
not entered on that record. 

Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2013 Page  21 Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety 



 

TABLE 3.05 

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA AND NUMBER OF RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED 
DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2013, BY COUNTY 

County 2010  
Pop 

Census 

2013  
Pop 

Estimate 

1 or more 
Incidents 

% of 
2013 
Pop 

1 Incident % of 
2013  
Pop 

2 Incidents % of 
2013  
Pop 

3 or more 
Incidents 

% of 
2013  
Pop 

Aitkin 16,202 15,742 2,415 15.3 1,254 8.0 560 3.6 601 3.8 
Anoka 330,844 339,534 37,894 11.2 21,213 6.2 8,788 2.6 7,893 2.3 
Becker 32,504 33,231 4,894 14.7 2,536 7.6 1,056 3.2 1,302 3.9 
Beltrami 44,442 45,670 6,482 14.2 3,473 7.6 1,511 3.3 1,498 3.3 
Benton 38,451 39,214 4,449 11.3 2,466 6.3 1,037 2.6 946 2.4 
Big Stone 5,269 5,122 554 10.8 315 6.1 142 2.8 97 1.9 
Blue Earth 64,013 65,528 6,921 10.6 3,913 6.0 1,622 2.5 1,386 2.1 
Brown 25,893 25,332 2,912 11.5 1,669 6.6 670 2.6 573 2.3 
Carlton 35,386 35,460 4,624 13.0 2,477 7.0 1,081 3.0 1,066 3.0 
Carver 91,042 95,562 8,469 8.9 5,228 5.5 1,885 2.0 1,356 1.4 
Cass 28,567 28,555 4,512 15.8 2,299 8.1 1,059 3.7 1,154 4.0 
Chippewa 12,441 12,093 1,466 12.1 882 7.3 312 2.6 272 2.2 
Chisago 53,887 53,761 6,984 13.0 3,899 7.3 1,689 3.1 1,396 2.6 
Clay 58,999 60,661 6,904 11.4 4,111 6.8 1,512 2.5 1,281 2.1 
Clearwater 8,695 8,838 1,362 15.4 652 7.4 313 3.5 397 4.5 
Cook 5,176 5,200 682 13.1 378 7.3 157 3.0 147 2.8 
Cottonwood 11,687 11,616 1,198 10.3 706 6.1 281 2.4 211 1.8 
Crow Wing 62,500 63,208 8,096 12.8 4,458 7.1 1,871 3.0 1,767 2.8 
Dakota 398,552 408,509 41,300 10.1 24,945 6.1 9,087 2.2 7,268 1.8 
Dodge 20,087 20,349 2,341 11.5 1,324 6.5 529 2.6 488 2.4 
Douglas 36,009 36,545 4,162 11.4 2,361 6.5 904 2.5 897 2.5 
Faribault 14,553 14,191 1,801 12.7 1,016 7.2 414 2.9 371 2.6 
Fillmore 20,866 20,835 2,430 11.7 1,373 6.6 586 2.8 471 2.3 
Freeborn 31,255 30,948 3,986 12.9 2,216 7.2 941 3.0 829 2.7 
Goodhue 46,183 46,464 5,788 12.5 3,282 7.1 1,342 2.9 1,164 2.5 
Grant 6,018 5,989 782 13.1 434 7.2 181 3.0 167 2.8 
Hennepin 1,152,425 1,198,778 125,169 10.4 75,168 6.3 26,998 2.3 23,003 1.9 
Houston 19,027 18,799 2,299 12.2 1,389 7.4 492 2.6 418 2.2 
Hubbard 20,428 20,658 2,377 11.5 1,271 6.2 560 2.7 546 2.6 
Isanti 37,816 38,204 4,721 12.4 2,510 6.6 1,145 3.0 1,066 2.8 
Itasca 45,058 45,564 6,394 14.0 3,347 7.3 1,533 3.4 1,514 3.3 
Jackson 10,266 10,260 1,095 10.7 673 6.6 248 2.4 174 1.7 
Kanabec 16,239 15,996 2,265 14.2 1,157 7.2 533 3.3 575 3.6 
Kandiyohi 42,239 42,410 4,832 11.4 2,770 6.5 1,110 2.6 952 2.2 
Kittson 4,552 4,503 492 10.9 254 5.6 118 2.6 120 2.7 
Koochiching 13,311 13,206 1,823 13.8 1,014 7.7 418 3.2 391 3.0 
Lac Qui Parle 7,259 7,027 751 10.7 414 5.9 195 2.8 142 2.0 
Lake 10,866 10,777 1,229 11.4 716 6.6 296 2.7 217 2.0 
Lake of  Woods 4,045 3,929 582 14.8 291 7.4 156 4.0 135 3.4 
Le Sueur 27,703 27,810 3,848 13.8 2,172 7.8 879 3.2 797 2.9 
Lincoln 5,896 5,830 519 8.9 309 5.3 117 2.0 93 1.6 
Lyon 25,857 25,487 2,847 11.2 1,713 6.7 616 2.4 518 2.0 
McLeod 36,651 35,918 4,477 12.5 2,561 7.1 1,024 2.9 892 2.5 
Mahnomen 5,413 5,532 1,236 22.3 559 10.1 286 5.2 391 7.1 
Marshall 9,439 9,425 1,129 12.0 617 6.5 260 2.8 252 2.7 
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TABLE 3.05 (Continued) 

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA AND NUMBER OF RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED 
DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2013, BY COUNTY 

County 2010  
Pop 

Census 

2013  
Pop 

Estimate 

1 or more 
Incidents 

% of 
2013 
Pop 

1 Incident % of 
2013  
Pop 

2 Incidents % of 
2013  
Pop 

3 or more 
Incidents 

% of 
2013  
Pop 

Martin 20,840 20,422 2,426 11.9 1,392 6.8 571 2.8 463 2.3 
Meeker 23,300 23,119 2,649 11.5 1,400 6.1 659 2.9 590 2.6 
Mille Lacs 26,097 25,833 4,416 17.1 2,211 8.6 1,033 4.0 1,172 4.5 
Morrison 33,198 32,872 4,205 12.8 2,261 6.9 984 3.0 960 2.9 
Mower 39,163 39,327 5,114 13.0 2,877 7.3 1,216 3.1 1,021 2.6 
Murray 8,725 8,533 835 9.8 510 6.0 171 2.0 154 1.8 
Nicollet 32,727 33,032 3,362 10.2 2,019 6.1 733 2.2 610 1.8 
Nobles 21,378 21,617 2,606 12.1 1,796 8.3 477 2.2 333 1.5 
Norman 6,852 6,631 850 12.8 469 7.1 199 3.0 182 2.7 
Olmsted 144,248 149,226 13,781 9.2 8,065 5.4 3,084 2.1 2,632 1.8 
Otter Tail 57,303 57,581 6,526 11.3 3,557 6.2 1,549 2.7 1,420 2.5 
Pennington 13,930 14,118 2,002 14.2 1,056 7.5 469 3.3 477 3.4 
Pine 29,750 29,104 4,173 14.3 2,173 7.5 944 3.2 1,056 3.6 
Pipestone 9,596 9,270 1,075 11.6 605 6.5 260 2.8 210 2.3 
Polk 31,600 31,569 4,476 14.2 2,444 7.7 1,036 3.3 996 3.2 
Pope 10,995 10,932 1,255 11.5 670 6.1 301 2.8 284 2.6 
Ramsey 508,640 526,714 52,082 9.9 30,878 5.9 11,431 2.2 9,773 1.9 
Red Lake 4,089 4,057 549 13.5 294 7.2 131 3.2 124 3.1 
Redwood 16,059 15,744 1,813 11.5 1,032 6.6 395 2.5 386 2.5 
Renville 15,730 15,166 2,107 13.9 1,182 7.8 492 3.2 433 2.9 
Rice 64,142 65,049 6,954 10.7 3,950 6.1 1,608 2.5 1,396 2.1 
Rock 9,687 9,520 758 8.0 495 5.2 144 1.5 119 1.3 
Roseau 15,629 15,520 2,074 13.4 1,145 7.4 482 3.1 447 2.9 
St. Louis 200,226 200,540 25,295 12.6 14,074 7.0 5,900 2.9 5,321 2.7 
Scott 129,928 137,232 13,612 9.9 8,241 6.0 3,099 2.3 2,272 1.7 
Sherburne 88,499 90,158 10,231 11.3 5,973 6.6 2,391 2.7 1,867 2.1 
Sibley 15,226 15,072 1,837 12.2 1,023 6.8 426 2.8 388 2.6 
Stearns 150,642 152,092 15,909 10.5 9,391 6.2 3,481 2.3 3,037 2.0 
Steele 36,576 36,465 4,138 11.3 2,301 6.3 964 2.6 873 2.4 
Stevens 9,726 9,735 749 7.7 448 4.6 168 1.7 133 1.4 
Swift 9,783 9,546 1,256 13.2 689 7.2 295 3.1 272 2.8 
Todd 24,895 24,382 2,755 11.3 1,529 6.3 654 2.7 572 2.3 
Traverse 3,558 3,445 396 11.5 229 6.6 101 2.9 66 1.9 
Wabasha 21,676 21,443 2,711 12.6 1,576 7.3 638 3.0 497 2.3 
Wadena 13,843 13,804 1,757 12.7 943 6.8 381 2.8 433 3.1 
Waseca 19,136 19,098 2,234 11.7 1,241 6.5 551 2.9 442 2.3 
Washington 238,136 246,603 22,699 9.2 14,001 5.7 5,034 2.0 3,664 1.5 
Watonwan 11,211 11,137 1,438 12.9 826 7.4 362 3.3 250 2.2 
Wilkin 6,576 6,557 828 12.6 477 7.3 206 3.1 145 2.2 
Winona 51,461 51,232 5,129 10.0 3,125 6.1 1,142 2.2 862 1.7 
Wright 124,700 128,470 14,270 11.1 8,163 6.4 3,362 2.6 2,745 2.1 
Yellow Med 10,438 10,143 1,345 13.3 760 7.5 302 3.0 283 2.8 

Minnesota 5,303,925 5,420,380 596,170 11.0 345,276 6.4 134,340 2.5 116,554 2.2 
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TABLE 3.06 

PERSONS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, BY AREA OF 
RESIDENCE, GENDER, AND NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2013 

 Minnesota Residents  
Twin Cities Metro Area 

Minnesota Residents  
Non- Metro Area 

 Non-Minnesota Residents  

No. of 
Incidents 

on 
Record 

Fe-
male 

Male Not 
Stated 

Sub- 
total 

Fe-
male 

Male Not 
Stated 

Sub- 
total 

Total 
MN 

Residents 

Fe-
male 

Male Not 
Stated 

Total Total MN 
and Non 

MN 
Residents 

1 50,584 121,659 7,431 179,674 42,982 116,194 6,426 165,602 345,276 13,038 39,471 27,823 80,332 425,608 
2 13,388 51,977 957 66,322 12,350 54,830 838 68,018 134,340 2,620 13,110 2,241 17,971 152,311 
3 4,680 25,785 199 30,664 4,476 28,503 210 33,189 63,853 761 5,660 441 6,862 70,715 
4 1,631 11,840 40 13,511 1,655 13,637 66 15,358 28,869 230 2,345 115 2,690 31,559 
5 509 5,060 16 5,585 538 5,736 18 6,292 11,877 71 967 27 1,065 12,942 
6 160 2,303 3 2,466 175 2,755 13 2,943 5,409 23 419 16 458 5,867 
7 75 1,209 1 1,285 84 1,447 6 1,537 2,822 2 199 7 208 3,030 
8 31 657 2 690 29 792 4 825 1,515 5 101 2 108 1,623 
9 9 393 1 403 16 487 1 504 907 2 61 1 64 971 
10 4 234 1 239 6 269 0 275 514 1 29 2 32 546 
11 2 140 0 142 0 144 1 145 287 0 20 2 22 309 
12 3 80 0 83 1 85 0 86 169 0 21 0 21 190 
13 0 64 0 64 1 45 0 46 110 1 6 1 8 118 
14 0 31 0 31 0 49 1 50 81 0 4 0 4 85 
15 0 21 0 21 0 24 0 24 45 0 7 0 7 52 
16 0 18 1 19 0 13 0 13 32 0 1 0 1 33 
17 0 11 0 11 0 14 0 14 25 0 0 0 0 25 
18 0 7 0 7 0 10 0 10 17 0 0 0 0 17 
19 0 1 0 1 0 5 0 5 6 0 0 1 1 7 
20 0 2 0 2 0 3 0 3 5 0 0 0 0 5 
21 0 3 0 3 0 2 0 2 5 0 0 0 0 5 
22 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 
23 0 2 0 2 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 2 
24 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 2 2 0 0 0 0 2 
25 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 

Totals: 71,076 221,497 8,652 301,225 62,313 225,048 7,584 294,945 596,170 16,754 62,421 30,679 109,854 706,024 
 
Note: 
(1) The above table classifies violators based on 
current residence, as known at the time data are 
compiled from the driver’s license files.  Residence 
may be inaccurate since persons with impaired 
driving incidents may avoid notifying the Department 
of Public Safety of address changes.  

(2) Incidents counted may have occurred in 
Minnesota or elsewhere.  If a person moves to 
Minnesota from another state and applies for a 
driver’s license here, he or she will be included, and 
incidents incurred in Minnesota or elsewhere will be 
included.   

(3) Gender is not stated for many persons.  When a 
person applies for a driver’s license, gender is entered 
on the record.  If a person is arrested for impaired 
driving and does not have a driver’s license, then a 
record is created but gender is not entered on that 
record. 

(4) The Twin Cities metro includes the counties of 
Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott 
and Washington. 
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IV.  IMPAIRED DRIVING RECIDIVISM IN MINNESOTA 
 

Is it the case that a fairly small number of chronic, 
chemically-dependent persons account for almost all 
the impaired driving violations that occur in a year?  
Or, are most of the offenders “first-timers?”  How 
many first-time violators are there?  How many 
repeat violators (recidivists) are there?  Among the 
repeat offenders, how many have one, two, three, and 
so on, prior violations? 

It is possible to look at all the incidents, and at 
all persons who incurred incidents, in a year, based 
on the number of incidents prior to the one being 
counted in the year.  This will produce measures of 
recidivism based on violators’ past histories.  (Tables 
4.02 and 4.03 do this.) 

Age and recidivism 
Recidivism measures based on past history could be 
misleading, though.  Older violators have had much 
more time and opportunity to recidivate than young 
violators:  23% of violators in their twenties have 
prior incidents, compared to 34% of those in their 
thirties, 42% of those in their forties, 50% of those in 
their fifties, and 51% of those 60 and older. 

In the 1990’s there was a mini-population 
explosion among persons in their twenties — the 
“echo” of the baby-boom generation.  This dramatic 
increase in the young-violator population might make 
it appear that first-time violators are increasing, and 
that recidivism is decreasing, when in fact those 
young first-time violators might, as the years go by, 
recidivate just as much as older violators have.  It is 
possible to select cohorts of violators from past years 
and follow them forward in time, thus providing 
prospective measures of recidivism.  (Tables 4.04 
through 4.07 do this.) 

RECIDIVISM BASED ON PAST HISTORY 

To measure recidivism in terms of prior incidents, 
three issues require definition:  (1) what is the 
definition of “impaired driving incident”?  (2)  what 
is the “look-back period” over which prior incidents 
are counted?  And (3), what is being counted 
—incidents, or the persons who commit them? 

(1) Defining an incident:  An incident may be 
defined more broadly as either an implied consent 
violation or an impaired driving criminal conviction, 
or, more narrowly, requiring that the incident include 
the impaired driving criminal conviction.  The ratios 
of first-time to repeat violations are similar, but there 
were 6,683 fewer incidents in 2013 when the 
narrower definition is used. 

(2) Length of look-back period:  Minnesota 
Statute defines impaired driving offenses as 
misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or felonies 

based in part on how many prior incidents the person 
had over specified lengths of time.  But a person may 
have had incidents before the specified time periods.  

Table 4.02 tabulates incidents, and Table 4.03 
tabulates persons, based on prior incidents under both 
a lifetime look-back period and a nine-to-ten-year 
look-back period.‡‡  The total numbers (of incidents 
or of persons) are the same, but there are higher 
numbers and percentages of first-time incidents (in 
Table 4.02) and of first-time violators (in Table 4.03) 
when only a nine-to-ten-year look-back period is 
used, compared to when a lifetime look-back period 
is used. 

(3) Counting incidents versus counting persons:  
A person may incur multiple incidents in a year.  
Table 4.02 counts incidents based on the total number 
on the person’s record.  Thus, if John Smith incurred 
a third incident on January 1, and a fourth on 
February 1, the third is counted in row 3 and the 
fourth is counted in row 4 of Table 4.02.  Table 4.03 
counts persons who incurred incidents.  In this table, 
Smith is counted once, based on his last incident, in 
row 4.  

Recidivists commit less than half of the violations 
If a person arrested for a second or subsequent 
offense is defined as a recidivist, then, depending on 
other definitions, recidivists committed somewhere 
between 27 and 41 percent of the 2013 incidents.  
Under the broader definition and using a lifetime 
look-back period, recidivists committed 41% of the 
incidents (and first-time violators 59%).  Under the 
narrower definition, and using the nine-to-ten-year 
look-back period, recidivists committed 27% of the 
incidents (and first-time violators 73%). 

Taking a step back, one could say that first-time 
violators accounted for well over half the impaired 
driving violations in 2013.  Since repeat DWI 
offenders get so much attention, due to sometimes 
accumulating so many arrests and convictions, it is 
worthwhile to remember that, currently, the novice is 
the more typical offender. 
 

‡‡As an example of using a “nine-to-ten-year look-
back period,” the records of all violators who 
incurred incidents in 2013 were examined for the 
period from 1-1-2004 through 12-31-2013.  Thus, the 
look-back period could be as short as 9 years and 1 
day for a violator who incurred an incident on 12-31-
2004, or as long as 10 years for a violator who 
incurred an incident on 1-1-2004.  
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RECIDIVISM MEASURED PROSPECTIVELY 
AMONG VIOLATOR COHORTS 

Among the 15,189 first-time violators from 1998, 
39% incurred a second violation within 180 months 
(15 years).  The recidivism rate is greatest in the first 
months after the first incident, and then gradually 
trails off as years go by:  7% incurred a second 
incident within the first 12 months of their first, 
another 6% recidivated in the second 12 months, 
another 5% in the third 12 months, and another 4% in 
the fourth 12 months.  Cumulatively, 22% recidivated 
by four years out, 32% by eight years out, 37% by 12 
years out, and 39% by 15 years out.§§ 

Among the cohort of 6,036 violators who 
incurred a second incident in 1998, a higher 
percentage recidivate, but the pattern of higher 
recidivism in the early months, then declining 
recidivism, is similar to that of the first-timer cohort: 
7% incurred a third incident within the first 12 
months of their second, another 8% recidivated in the 
second 12 months, another 7% in the third 12 
months, and another 4% in the fourth 12 months.  
Cumulatively, 26% recidivated by four years out, 
38% by eight years out, 44% by 12 years out, and 
47% by 15 years out. 

Recidivism since 1998 
First-, second-, and third-time violators from each 
year 1998-2009 (making up 36 violator cohorts, three 
for each of twelve years) were followed forward in 
time for up to 48 months.  For first-time violators 
recidivism decreased slightly.  For 1998 first-time 
violators 21.7% recidivated within 48 months, 
compared to 17.1% of year 2009 first-time violators.  
However, there is evidence that recidivism is 
declining at a higher rate when considering multiple 
offenders.  Twenty-six percent of 1998 second-time 
violators recidivated within 48 months, compared to 
19% of year-2009 second-time violators – a seven  
percentage-point drop.  Finally, 24% of 1998 third-
time violators recidivated within 48 months, 
compared to just 17% of year-2009 third-time 
violators – also an eight  percentage-point drop. 

Another perspective:  violators are just older now 
Work done separately and not reported here suggests 
that the decline in recidivism does not show itself 
when violators are examined within age groups.  
Specifically, for example, 35-year-old violators in 
recent years are just as likely to get a first, second, 
third, or fourth impaired driving incident as were 35-
year-old violators in the early 1990s.  The same 
observation was found to be true for almost all age-
years examined—specifically, for persons at each 
year of age from 21 through 49.  

There were two exceptions to that rule.  One 
exception was that, for each year over the last decade, 
22, 23, and 24 year-old violators were somewhat 
more likely to incur first-time violations.  The other 
exception was that, over the last decade, violators in 
their later twenties appeared slightly less likely to 
incur third- and fourth-time incidents than was true of 
violators in their late twenties during the early 1990s. 

In general however, the decline in recidivism 
appears to disappear when age of violators is 
controlled for. 

This other perspective may suggest that efforts to 
change drinking and driving behavior have been 
unsuccessful.  Two considerations weigh against this 
conclusion.  First, the work that looked at first-, 
second-, third-, and fourth-time incidents within 
same-age cohorts focused on violators as proportions 
of the total population of violators.  It is possible that 
the total number of episodes of drinking and driving 
in the state of Minnesota (not just those that end in 
arrest) have gone down significantly, but have 
decreased almost perfectly equally across all ages and 
offense levels, causing the appearance of no change 
in recidivism.  Second, it is very difficult to believe 
that, if no efforts to control drinking and driving were 
made, incidence would not greatly increase.  
Reducing drinking and driving is a tremendous 
challenge, calling for as much energy and creativity 
as can be brought to the problem. 
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§§ DWI violators may change residences frequently.  
To increase validity of the prospective measures of 
recidivism, violators were only accepted into cohorts 
if they were shown to currently reside in Minnesota. 



 

TABLE 4.01 

MINNESOTA RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, BY 
TOTAL NUMBER ON RECORD, AND BY AGE AT END OF 2013 

Total 
Incidents

on 
Record 

Age 
0-19 

Age  
20-24 

Age 
25-29 

Age 
30-34 

Age 
35-39 

Age  
40-44 

Age 
45-49 

Age 
50-54 

Age 
55-59 

Age 
60-69 

Age  
70+ Total 

1 971 15,246 35,200 43,373 38,175 38,922 42,185 43,110 31,259 33,943 22,892 345,276 
2 35 2,294 9,217 14,064 13,136 14,428 16,617 20,028 15,263 16,410 12,848 134,340 
3 8 311 2,421 4,842 5,447 6,744 8,752 11,289 8,764 9,068 6,207 63,853 
4 0 38 436 1,228 1,760 2,784 4,255 5,792 4,629 4,884 3,063 28,869 
5 0 7 66 263 517 979 1,719 2,633 2,078 2,219 1,396 11,877 
6 0 1 8 52 140 391 768 1,299 1,022 1,084 644 5,409 
7 0 0 0 18 49 204 355 660 589 579 368 2,822 
8 0 0 0 4 12 75 202 377 314 327 204 1,515 
9 0 0 1 0 6 34 113 231 197 199 126 907 

10 0 0 0 0 4 18 67 119 118 125 63 514 
11 0 0 0 0 0 6 38 80 63 56 44 287 
12 0 0 0 0 0 4 21 42 43 39 20 169 
13 0 0 0 0 0 2 19 25 20 24 20 110 
14 0 0 0 0 2 3 4 19 16 26 11 81 
15 0 0 0 0 0 2 1 9 11 15 7 45 
16 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 5 10 6 8 32 
17 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 6 4 10 25 
18 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 6 1 5 4 17 
19 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 1 2 0 6 
20 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 3 0 5 
21 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 1 5 
22 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1 
23 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 2 
24 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 0 2 
25 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 

Total 
Persons 1,014 17,897 47,349 63,844 59,248 64,597 75,121 85,735 64,406 69,022 47,937 596,170 
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TABLE 4.02 

INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN MINNESOTA IN 2013 
BASED ON NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD 

 Defining an Incident 
as a DWI Conviction 

Defining an Incident as a DWI Con- 
viction or Implied Consent Violation  

 No Limit on 
Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year  
Look-Back Period 

(Defined as  
1/1/2004-12/31/2013) 

No Limit on 
Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year 
Look-Back Period 

(Defined as 
1/1/2004-12/31/2013) 

Number 
of Inci- 

dents on 
Record 

Number 
of Inci- 
dents in 

2013 

Per- 
cent 

Number 
of Inci- 
dents in 

2013 

Per 
cent 

Number 
of Inci- 
dents in 

2013 

Per- 
cent 

Number 
of Inci- 
dents in 

2013 

Per- 
cent 

1  11,848  62.24  13,819  72.59  15,264  59.35  18,044  70.16 
2  4,305  22.62  4,063  21.34  5,860  22.78  5,714  22.22 
3  1,748  9.18  956  5.02  2,537  9.86  1,565  6.08 
4  641  3.37  170  0.89  1,123  4.37  329  1.28 
5  264  1.39  23  0.12  478  1.86  57  0.22 
6  116  0.61  5  0.03  201  0.78  10  0.04 
7  46  0.24    114  0.44   
8  37  0.19    57  0.22   
9  14  0.07    39  0.15   

10  8  0.04    15  0.06   
11  4  0.02    12  0.05   
12  2  0.01    6  0.02   
13  2  0.01    6  0.02   
14      2  0.01   
15      2  0.01   
16  1  0.01    1  *   
17         
18      1  *   
19         
20         
21      1  *   
22         
23         
24         
25         

Total 
Incidents 19,036 100.0 19,036 100.0 25,719 100.0  25,719 100.0 

* An asterisk is used for a percentage that is greater than zero but that, if shown, would round to 0.0%. 
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TABLE 4.03 

PERSONS WHO INCURRED INCIDENTS IN MINNESOTA IN 2013 
BASED ON NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD 

 Defining an Incident 
as a DWI Conviction 

Defining an Incident as a DWI Con- 
viction or Implied Consent Violation  

 No Limit on 
Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year 
Look-Back Period 

(Defined as  
1/1/2004-12/31/2013) 

No Limit on 
Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year 
Look-Back Period 

(Defined as 
1/1/2003-12/31/2013) 

Number 
of Inci- 

dents on 
Record 

Persons who 
Incurred 
Incidents 
in 2013 

Per- 
cent 

Persons who 
Incurred 
Incidents 
in 2013 

Per 
cent 

Persons who 
Incurred 
Incidents 
in 2013 

Per- 
cent 

Persons who 
Incurred 
Incidents 
in 2013 

Per- 
cent 

1  11,619  62.19  13,554  72.54  14,914  59.37  17,629  70.18 
2  4,227  22.62  3,994  21.38  5,717  22.76  5,575  22.19 
3  1,721  9.21  939  5.03  2,481  9.88  1,525  6.07 
4  636  3.40  169  0.90  1,102  4.39  325  1.29 
5  258  1.38  23  0.12  466  1.86  56  0.22 
6  112  0.60  5  0.03  193  0.77  10  0.04 
7  46  0.25    109  0.43   
8  34  0.18    55  0.22   
9  14  0.07    38  0.15   

10  8  0.04    14  0.06   
11  4  0.02    12  0.05   
12  2  0.01    6  0.02   
13  2  0.01    6  0.02   
14      2  0.01   
15      2  0.01   
16  1  0.01    1  *   
17         
18      1  *   
19         
20         
21      1  *   
22         
23         
24         
25         

Total 
Persons 18,684  100.0 18,684  100.0 25,120 100.0 25,120  100.0 

* An asterisk is used for a percentage that is greater than zero but that, if shown, would round to 0.0%.  
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TABLE 4.04 

RECIDIVISM OVER 15 YEARS AMONG COHORTS OF FIRST- AND SECOND-TIME 
VIOLATORS FROM 1998:  CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF VIOLATORS WHO 

INCURRED A SUBSEQUENT (SECOND OR THIRD) VIOLATION. 

Months 
Elapsed 

First- 
Timers 

Second- 
Timers 

Months 
Elapsed 

First- 
Timers 

Second- 
Timers 

Months 
Elapsed 

First- 
Timers 

Second- 
Timers 

Months 
Elapsed 

First- 
Timers 

Second- 
Timers 

1 0.74 0.68 49 22.02 26.57 97 31.76 38.45 145 36.95 44.23 
2 1.38 1.34 50 22.31 26.87 98 31.94 38.60 146 37.00 44.28 
3 2.01 1.84 51 22.50 27.34 99 32.10 38.78 147 37.08 44.33 
4 2.45 2.45 52 22.72 27.78 100 32.22 38.88 148 37.17 44.37 
5 3.09 3.05 53 22.94 28.13 101 32.39 39.03 149 37.24 44.47 
6 3.68 3.61 54 23.21 28.51 102 32.50 39.21 150 37.32 44.57 
7 4.22 4.16 55 23.42 28.84 103 32.67 39.36 151 37.37 44.68 
8 4.73 4.80 56 23.64 29.16 104 32.80 39.55 152 37.42 44.75 
9 5.31 5.32 57 23.91 29.42 105 32.93 39.74 153 37.45 44.85 

10 5.93 6.01 58 24.14 29.72 106 33.05 39.93 154 37.55 44.96 
11 6.47 6.68 59 24.38 29.92 107 33.20 40.13 155 37.63 45.05 
12 7.04 7.22 60 24.66 30.25 108 33.34 40.28 156 37.72 45.16 
13 7.60 7.85 61 24.95 30.55 109 33.45 40.51 157 37.79 45.31 
14 8.08 8.40 62 25.10 30.91 110 33.60 40.61 158 37.84 45.38 
15 8.60 9.21 63 25.29 31.08 111 33.67 40.72 159 37.90 45.46 
16 9.13 9.87 64 25.44 31.49 112 33.75 40.77 160 37.94 45.54 
17 9.78 10.42 65 25.68 31.71 113 33.85 40.94 161 38.01 45.63 
18 10.24 11.13 66 25.93 32.02 114 33.95 41.02 162 38.07 45.76 
19 10.74 11.88 67 26.10 32.41 115 34.10 41.19 163 38.13 45.81 
20 11.24 12.48 68 26.37 32.60 116 34.23 41.32 164 38.19 45.86 
21 11.69 13.04 69 26.59 32.84 117 34.37 41.39 165 38.26 45.89 
22 12.21 13.65 70 26.85 33.04 118 34.54 41.50 166 38.30 45.91 
23 12.78 14.38 71 27.09 33.22 119 34.65 41.62 167 38.38 45.94 
24 13.19 15.18 72 27.30 33.42 120 34.75 41.80 168 38.44 45.99 
25 13.65 15.81 73 27.55 33.60 121 34.85 41.93 169 38.51 46.07 
26 14.04 16.45 74 27.76 33.85 122 34.96 42.11 170 38.59 46.14 
27 14.51 17.13 75 27.94 34.10 123 35.07 42.18 171 38.65 46.21 
28 14.95 17.64 76 28.14 34.43 124 35.18 42.28 172 38.71 46.26 
29 15.31 18.12 77 28.30 34.61 125 35.28 42.31 173 38.76 46.29 
30 15.78 18.67 78 28.46 34.77 126 35.40 42.43 174 38.82 46.37 
31 16.17 19.18 79 28.63 34.97 127 35.54 42.58 175 38.90 46.39 
32 16.49 19.60 80 28.84 35.27 128 35.62 42.64 176 38.94 46.47 
33 16.82 20.13 81 29.03 35.42 129 35.74 42.76 177 38.98 46.54 
34 17.12 20.66 82 29.27 35.67 130 35.82 42.81 178 39.03 46.62 
35 17.55 21.17 83 29.45 35.83 131 35.89 42.93 179 39.12 46.74 
36 17.97 21.70 84 29.59 36.03 132 36.01 43.03 180 39.15 46.79 
37 18.31 22.18 85 29.77 36.22 133 36.07 43.11    
38 18.66 22.51 86 29.93 36.46 134 36.15 43.21 Percentage not recidi-

vating within 15years: 39 19.03 22.96 87 30.14 36.76 135 36.22 43.31 
40 19.42 23.38 88 30.29 36.91 136 36.30 43.44  First- 

Timers 
Second- 
Timers 41 19.69 23.89 89 30.49 37.11 137 36.39 43.47 

42 19.99 24.22 90 30.68 37.26 138 36.48 43.61  60.85 53.21 
43 20.27 24.65 91 30.84 37.48 139 36.53 43.64    
44 20.54 24.97 92 31.04 37.72 140 36.61 43.75 Number persons on which 

percentages are based: 45 20.85 25.25 93 31.16 37.87 141 36.71 43.82 
46 21.19 25.45 94 31.33 38.10 142 36.77 43.94  First- 

Timers 
Second- 
Timers 47 21.44 25.93 95 31.46 38.20 143 36.85 43.99 

48 21.69 26.26 96 31.60 38.37 144 36.90 44.10  15,189 6,036 
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TABLE 4.05 
RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF FIRST-TIME VIOLATORS, 1998 - 2012:  

CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A SECOND VIOLATION 
Months Elapsed 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 

1 0.74 0.73 0.55 0.60 0.55 0.60 0.54 0.70 0.71 0.63 0.60 0.61 0.59 0.60 0.54 
2 1.38 1.31 1.15 1.22 1.06 1.12 1.19 1.29 1.22 1.19 1.18 1.20 1.30 1.12 1.05 
3 2.01 1.97 1.74 1.82 1.56 1.80 1.60 1.86 1.86 1.73 1.65 1.82 1.77 1.53 1.51 
4 2.45 2.54 2.33 2.36 2.13 2.32 2.11 2.42 2.35 2.15 2.08 2.26 2.22 2.02 1.84 
5 3.09 3.16 2.82 2.92 2.63 2.77 2.63 2.99 2.92 2.63 2.59 2.77 2.63 2.33 2.20 
6 3.68 3.79 3.35 3.44 3.16 3.32 3.15 3.48 3.41 3.10 3.21 3.18 2.99 2.72 2.52 
7 4.22 4.37 3.97 4.00 3.77 4.01 3.69 4.03 4.00 3.62 3.68 3.67 3.40 3.15 2.82 
8 4.73 4.92 4.46 4.52 4.26 4.49 4.32 4.72 4.48 4.08 4.13 4.01 3.85 3.57 3.15 
9 5.31 5.49 5.01 5.07 4.83 4.97 4.87 5.37 4.97 4.59 4.61 4.48 4.17 4.08 3.50 
10 5.93 6.20 5.65 5.61 5.33 5.45 5.37 5.90 5.44 5.14 4.96 4.90 4.71 4.39 3.96 
11 6.47 6.77 6.21 6.09 5.89 6.00 5.86 6.48 6.01 5.73 5.34 5.26 5.11 4.76 4.32 
12 7.04 7.37 6.83 6.50 6.38 6.44 6.44 7.13 6.55 6.26 5.78 5.71 5.60 5.19 4.72 
13 7.60 7.92 7.26 7.02 6.89 6.92 6.93 7.61 7.03 6.69 6.25 6.09 6.01 5.49  
14 8.08 8.49 7.77 7.56 7.35 7.40 7.53 8.18 7.56 7.19 6.71 6.46 6.47 5.84  
15 8.60 8.99 8.33 8.00 7.79 7.98 8.07 8.68 8.11 7.66 7.07 6.82 6.86 6.25  
16 9.13 9.50 8.70 8.48 8.26 8.43 8.65 9.25 8.58 8.03 7.41 7.23 7.29 6.61  
17 9.78 10.03 9.25 9.01 8.77 8.93 9.14 9.73 9.08 8.42 7.80 7.60 7.78 6.96  
18 10.24 10.56 9.75 9.46 9.26 9.38 9.65 10.18 9.53 8.82 8.20 7.96 8.15 7.28  
19 10.74 10.99 10.19 9.92 9.73 9.77 10.21 10.67 9.94 9.22 8.53 8.32 8.50 7.62  
20 11.24 11.45 10.59 10.40 10.06 10.28 10.72 11.06 10.35 9.66 8.85 8.73 8.86 8.04  
21 11.69 11.86 11.04 10.81 10.57 10.81 11.21 11.52 10.83 10.11 9.31 9.09 9.19 8.42  
22 12.21 12.45 11.55 11.17 11.11 11.32 11.66 11.95 11.31 10.45 9.66 9.42 9.51 8.76  
23 12.78 13.01 12.14 11.64 11.57 11.77 12.20 12.46 11.85 10.77 10.05 9.78 9.87 9.16  
24 13.19 13.42 12.53 12.08 12.06 12.22 12.69 12.83 12.26 11.16 10.43 10.14 10.33 9.46  
25 13.65 13.87 12.89 12.50 12.44 12.66 13.07 13.29 12.65 11.56 10.79 10.47 10.65   
26 14.04 14.37 13.35 12.96 12.96 13.15 13.48 13.79 13.03 11.91 11.20 10.84 11.01   
27 14.51 14.78 13.73 13.32 13.35 13.60 13.91 14.30 13.39 12.23 11.51 11.26 11.33   
28 14.95 15.14 14.05 13.73 13.73 14.02 14.35 14.78 13.73 12.58 11.81 11.50 11.65   
29 15.31 15.59 14.43 14.11 14.03 14.48 14.83 15.15 14.04 12.92 12.09 11.78 11.93   
30 15.78 16.02 14.87 14.50 14.40 14.86 15.26 15.54 14.44 13.20 12.42 12.12 12.34   
31 16.17 16.37 15.28 14.85 14.89 15.32 15.70 15.93 14.84 13.55 12.71 12.38 12.76   
32 16.49 16.73 15.58 15.29 15.25 15.81 16.10 16.31 15.20 13.88 13.02 12.70 13.01   
33 16.82 17.06 15.91 15.63 15.59 16.24 16.50 16.69 15.53 14.22 13.34 13.01 13.33   
34 17.12 17.42 16.20 16.12 15.94 16.64 16.88 17.01 15.88 14.52 13.64 13.36 13.62   
35 17.55 17.77 16.54 16.51 16.31 17.00 17.33 17.42 16.24 14.88 13.94 13.66 13.92   
36 17.97 18.12 16.88 16.83 16.64 17.40 17.73 17.76 16.45 15.19 14.25 13.91 14.12   
37 18.31 18.52 17.22 17.13 17.03 17.71 18.21 18.14 16.78 15.43 14.54 14.25    
38 18.66 18.90 17.48 17.55 17.38 18.06 18.60 18.40 17.09 15.66 14.86 14.47    
39 19.03 19.29 17.82 17.94 17.75 18.46 18.92 18.80 17.36 15.96 15.12 14.78    
40 19.42 19.66 18.19 18.21 18.21 18.81 19.23 19.07 17.66 16.23 15.43 15.11    
41 19.69 20.01 18.54 18.53 18.59 19.17 19.56 19.41 17.91 16.54 15.72 15.44    
42 19.99 20.30 18.93 18.77 19.02 19.60 19.87 19.75 18.22 16.81 15.89 15.72    
43 20.27 20.56 19.22 19.10 19.33 19.97 20.26 20.07 18.47 17.09 16.14 15.98    
44 20.54 20.87 19.46 19.43 19.63 20.34 20.62 20.37 18.73 17.34 16.36 16.23    
45 20.85 21.22 19.71 19.74 20.06 20.65 20.87 20.68 18.96 17.56 16.58 16.45    
46 21.19 21.53 20.04 20.07 20.45 20.91 21.14 21.03 19.22 17.81 16.86 16.73    
47 21.44 21.84 20.33 20.37 20.78 21.20 21.44 21.31 19.39 18.03 17.10 16.90    
48 21.69 22.17 20.62 20.66 21.16 21.54 21.72 21.58 19.64 18.21 17.31 17.09    

Percentage not recidivating within 48 months 
 78.31 77.83 79.38 79.34 78.84 78.46 78.28 78.42 80.36 81.79 82.69 82.91    

Persons in cohort (number on which percents are based) 
 15,189 16,370 17,198 16,516 16,654 16,543 17,632 19,404 22,578 20,670 18,822 17,283 15,661 15,597 15,485 

Average age of persons in cohort 
 31.9 31.4 31.5 31.5 31.3 30.9 31.1 30.8 30.5 30.9 31.5 31.6 31.7 31.7 31.8 
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TABLE 4.06 
RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF SECOND-TIME VIOLATORS, 1998 - 2012:  
CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A THIRD VIOLATION 

Months Elapsed 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 
1 0.68 0.69 0.72 0.53 0.71 0.77 0.57 0.74 0.67 0.57 0.65 0.66 0.77 0.64 0.55 
2 1.34 1.39 1.39 1.09 1.19 1.29 1.08 1.23 1.26 1.04 1.08 1.28 1.56 1.20 1.18 
3 1.84 2.01 1.87 1.52 1.66 1.75 1.73 1.78 1.77 1.51 1.61 1.88 2.19 1.70 1.71 
4 2.45 2.59 2.46 1.92 2.01 2.26 2.12 2.26 2.32 2.07 1.98 2.36 2.65 2.12 2.11 
5 3.05 3.31 3.09 2.33 2.39 2.68 2.63 2.75 2.93 2.53 2.35 2.72 2.96 2.48 2.32 
6 3.61 3.91 3.54 2.70 2.81 3.14 3.13 3.16 3.24 3.00 2.69 3.01 3.54 2.77 2.68 
7 4.16 4.58 4.10 3.21 3.33 3.51 3.60 3.65 3.72 3.42 2.99 3.36 3.93 3.16 2.90 
8 4.80 5.29 4.49 3.68 3.63 3.87 4.24 4.13 4.13 3.96 3.39 3.85 4.40 3.58 3.24 
9 5.32 5.91 4.92 4.27 4.14 4.44 4.64 4.76 4.63 4.48 3.73 4.32 4.90 3.99 3.55 
10 6.01 6.44 5.68 4.72 4.77 5.04 5.09 5.27 5.27 5.02 4.23 4.72 5.19 4.41 3.95 
11 6.68 6.95 6.27 5.15 5.26 5.57 5.59 5.81 5.76 5.33 4.73 5.14 5.51 4.69 4.18 
12 7.22 7.71 7.04 5.75 5.72 6.16 6.14 6.43 6.36 5.95 5.26 5.55 6.04 5.00 4.36 
13 7.85 8.21 7.89 6.25 6.27 6.63 6.69 6.99 6.84 6.44 5.80 6.07 6.39 5.40  
14 8.40 8.70 8.62 6.70 6.89 7.14 7.36 7.70 7.29 6.99 6.27 6.52 6.67 5.71  
15 9.21 9.36 9.24 7.21 7.35 7.75 7.90 8.26 7.83 7.53 6.73 6.79 6.88 6.06  
16 9.87 10.15 9.79 7.86 7.85 8.23 8.32 8.82 8.38 7.93 7.14 7.17 7.13 6.35  
17 10.42 10.89 10.30 8.44 8.41 8.75 8.95 9.36 8.93 8.51 7.62 7.45 7.44 6.68  
18 11.13 11.65 10.95 9.07 9.04 9.33 9.64 10.04 9.45 9.00 8.14 7.88 7.82 6.93  
19 11.88 12.17 11.60 9.66 9.75 9.95 10.18 10.37 9.88 9.58 8.50 8.41 8.24 7.35  
20 12.48 13.00 12.21 10.31 10.38 10.58 10.74 10.85 10.49 10.04 9.07 8.85 8.65 7.66  
21 13.04 13.55 12.98 10.73 10.79 11.05 11.23 11.38 10.94 10.61 9.45 9.30 9.07 7.99  
22 13.65 14.00 13.57 11.17 11.17 11.62 11.81 11.98 11.37 11.04 9.87 9.69 9.52 8.38  
23 14.38 14.42 14.23 11.82 11.73 12.30 12.42 12.41 11.82 11.59 10.42 10.09 10.04 8.74  
24 15.18 14.85 14.78 12.52 12.41 12.74 13.11 12.90 12.34 12.01 10.75 10.56 10.44 9.03  
25 15.81 15.47 15.12 12.98 12.83 13.31 13.72 13.46 12.81 12.36 11.14 10.98 10.82   
26 16.45 16.07 15.65 13.56 13.24 13.86 14.19 14.03 13.45 12.78 11.72 11.45 11.32   
27 17.13 16.73 16.10 14.01 13.64 14.46 14.77 14.50 13.94 13.32 12.12 11.80 11.62   
28 17.64 17.30 16.53 14.44 14.11 15.11 15.32 14.96 14.39 13.59 12.57 12.28 12.29   
29 18.12 17.74 17.11 14.97 14.65 15.54 15.84 15.50 14.85 13.95 12.88 12.71 12.78   
30 18.67 18.15 17.61 15.51 15.20 16.19 16.34 16.09 15.23 14.26 13.17 13.07 13.10   
31 19.18 18.54 18.00 16.02 15.61 16.77 16.81 16.48 15.55 14.59 13.40 13.34 13.53   
32 19.60 19.03 18.50 16.46 16.15 17.29 17.33 17.03 15.83 15.02 13.77 13.69 13.89   
33 20.13 19.62 18.88 17.02 16.62 17.80 17.76 17.44 16.25 15.50 14.05 13.95 14.23   
34 20.66 19.95 19.21 17.37 17.21 18.21 18.31 17.92 16.71 15.86 14.38 14.25 14.58   
35 21.17 20.44 19.56 17.87 17.65 18.85 18.72 18.23 17.17 16.19 14.73 14.70 14.97   
36 21.70 20.98 19.93 18.38 18.00 19.30 18.99 18.73 17.57 16.4 7 15.08 15.08 15.27   
37 22.18 21.28 20.48 18.95 18.44 19.63 19.43 19.19 17.95 16.90 15.55 15.29    
38 22.51 21.65 21.02 19.28 18.81 20.04 19.89 19.50 18.32 17.21 16.09 15.66    
39 22.96 22.13 21.40 19.71 19.44 20.57 20.26 19.82 18.62 17.57 16.51 16.05    
40 23.38 22.51 21.82 20.12 19.99 21.10 20.54 20.20 18.98 18.04 16.88 16.49    
41 23.89 23.05 22.29 20.51 20.48 21.44 20.95 20.61 19.38 18.30 17.28 16.83    
42 24.22 23.44 22.63 21.00 21.02 21.79 21.33 21.02 19.76 18.76 17.66 17.11    
43 24.65 23.81 23.05 21.39 21.55 22.23 21.68 21.52 20.16 19.04 18.02 17.41    
44 24.97 24.17 23.46 21.68 21.89 22.61 22.03 21.84 20.53 19.37 18.28 17.79    
45 25.25 24.48 23.79 21.99 22.14 22.93 22.35 22.09 20.81 19.67 18.50 18.14    
46 25.45 24.84 24.23 22.40 22.57 23.37 22.86 22.49 21.13 19.82 18.79 18.37    
47 25.93 25.25 24.56 22.80 23.02 23.69 23.11 22.75 21.37 20.19 19.02 18.55    
48 26.26 25.50 24.89 23.25 23.32 24.13 23.52 22.92 21.71 20.49 19.28 18.89    

Percent not recidivating within 48 months 
 73.74 74.50 75.11 76.75 76.68 75.87 76.48 77.08 78.29 79.51 80.72 81.11    

Persons in cohort (number on which percents are based) 
 6,036 6,678 6,632 6,447 6,328 6,333 6,836 7,311 8,328 7,955 7,588 7,083 6,495 6,422 6,199 

Average age of persons in cohort 
 34.3 34.1 34.2 34.1 34.4 34.2 34.4 34.3 33.8 34.3 34.3 34.6 35.0 35.0 35.2 
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TABLE 4.07 
RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF THIRD-TIME VIOLATORS, 1998 - 2012:  

CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A FOURTH VIOLATION 
Months Elapsed 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 

1 1.23 0.63 0.89 0.64 0.51 0.62 0.36 0.86 0.52 0.79 0.66 0.77 0.82 0.79 0.47 
2 1.74 1.32 1.43 1.30 1.15 1.20 0.81 1.28 1.37 1.61 1.14 1.32 1.41 1.39 0.86 
3 2.53 2.13 1.98 1.97 1.75 1.82 1.29 1.62 1.95 1.99 1.86 2.00 2.20 1.75 1.40 
4 3.13 2.41 2.63 2.32 2.06 2.26 1.74 2.23 2.50 2.58 2.19 2.83 2.47 2.08 1.80 
5 3.70 2.86 3.17 2.67 2.56 2.67 2.29 2.69 2.94 2.87 2.54 3.20 2.89 2.31 2.37 
6 4.30 3.25 3.66 2.92 3.17 3.05 2.65 3.06 3.32 3.60 3.05 3.72 3.32 2.64 2.52 
7 4.90 3.61 4.30 3.31 3.44 3.33 2.94 3.42 3.95 4.16 3.26 4.00 3.52 2.97 2.88 
8 5.31 4.12 4.70 3.94 3.81 3.70 3.33 3.67 4.17 4.66 3.59 4.43 3.78 3.33 3.16 
9 5.82 4.54 5.28 4.45 4.28 4.22 3.65 4.00 4.81 4.98 3.95 4.77 4.08 3.66 3.45 

10 6.29 5.08 5.89 4.77 4.58 4.66 4.13 4.71 5.19 5.57 4.55 5.14 4.41 3.86 3.74 
11 6.83 5.65 6.32 5.21 4.89 4.94 4.52 5.07 5.66 5.89 4.97 5.51 4.80 4.09 4.10 
12 7.33 6.22 6.90 5.88 5.12 5.28 5.13 5.53 5.99 6.30 5.21 5.82 5.07 4.39 4.21 
13 7.75 6.70 7.45 6.23 5.56 5.79 5.49 6.21 6.23 6.56 5.54 6.12 5.43 4.59  
14 8.41 7.10 7.97 6.68 5.86 6.14 5.72 6.54 6.56 7.00 5.90 6.31 5.86 4.98  
15 8.82 7.67 8.42 7.37 6.57 6.51 6.20 6.94 7.03 7.38 6.11 6.71 6.15 5.21  
16 9.23 8.12 8.85 8.01 6.91 7.03 6.62 7.40 7.33 7.74 6.50 7.23 6.38 5.45  
17 9.74 8.60 9.46 8.23 7.55 7.47 7.07 7.73 7.83 8.09 6.92 7.51 6.58 5.78  
18 10.40 9.29 9.98 8.68 8.09 7.82 7.46 8.01 8.40 8.41 7.19 7.94 6.84 6.14  
19 10.91 9.77 10.53 9.06 8.59 8.33 8.10 8.25 8.82 8.85 7.51 8.19 7.20 6.34  
20 11.38 10.37 11.08 9.73 9.30 8.88 8.49 8.68 9.28 9.55 8.08 8.59 7.37 6.67  
21 11.98 10.91 11.60 10.04 9.70 9.46 9.07 9.26 9.61 9.96 8.53 8.93 7.99 6.86  
22 12.61 11.61 12.24 10.33 10.14 9.77 9.40 9.54 9.91 10.37 8.74 9.20 8.36 7.16  
23 12.96 12.12 12.94 10.71 10.78 10.32 9.95 10.00 10.33 10.87 9.07 9.85 8.72 7.43  
24 13.44 12.72 13.37 11.00 11.22 10.76 10.49 10.39 10.66 11.25 9.49 10.25 8.95 7.76  
25 13.97 13.26 13.83 11.51 11.49 11.35 10.88 10.88 11.10 11.60 9.70 10.65 9.34   
26 14.48 13.71 14.16 11.89 12.20 12.00 11.17 11.31 11.48 11.95 10.27 10.90 9.74   
27 14.86 14.13 14.44 12.43 12.74 12.44 11.72 11.86 11.81 12.42 10.69 11.17 10.16   
28 15.30 14.55 14.96 12.94 13.21 12.89 12.27 12.26 12.08 12.89 11.05 11.57 10.43   
29 16.06 15.15 15.32 13.32 13.65 13.37 12.63 12.69 12.22 13.33 11.32 11.79 10.72   
30 16.41 15.60 15.69 13.76 14.12 13.75 12.95 13.18 12.50 13.77 11.56 12.10 11.02   
31 16.82 16.12 16.15 14.18 14.49 14.16 13.43 13.60 12.83 14.15 11.86 12.40 11.18   
32 17.39 16.63 16.39 14.59 14.89 14.50 13.82 13.97 13.24 14.53 12.25 12.71 11.51   
33 17.80 17.02 17.00 14.94 15.36 14.95 14.43 14.25 13.81 14.88 12.54 12.93 11.81   
34 18.12 17.53 17.40 15.45 15.70 15.39 14.69 14.40 14.03 15.27 12.87 13.23 12.01   
35 18.72 18.01 17.89 15.83 16.07 15.67 14.98 14.70 14.34 15.53 13.23 13.70 12.30   
36 19.06 18.22 18.19 16.12 16.31 15.91 15.24 14.92 14.78 15.85 13.38 13.97 12.50   
37 19.48 18.73 18.59 16.43 16.71 16.25 15.56 15.22 15.05 16.26 13.68 14.25    
38 19.79 19.45 18.96 16.66 17.05 16.59 16.18 15.56 15.41 16.53 13.98 14.71    
39 20.08 19.99 19.35 17.01 17.52 17.18 16.53 15.99 15.79 16.82 14.40 15.02    
40 20.55 20.38 19.81 17.36 17.62 17.42 16.76 16.42 16.18 16.96 14.67 15.11    
41 21.21 20.75 20.21 17.77 18.09 17.83 17.05 16.69 16.45 17.26 14.94 15.45    
42 21.69 21.23 20.60 18.02 18.60 18.34 17.31 17.06 16.89 17.46 15.27 15.64    
43 22.04 21.68 20.82 18.28 18.87 18.75 17.66 17.43 17.17 17.90 15.39 15.88    
44 22.42 21.98 21.06 18.66 19.14 19.09 18.05 17.82 17.39 18.22 15.78 16.16    
45 22.54 22.40 21.46 18.98 19.44 19.51 18.50 18.25 17.50 18.55 15.99 16.62    
46 22.95 22.61 21.79 19.26 19.95 19.95 18.73 18.68 17.85 18.90 16.29 16.81    
47 23.21 22.82 22.22 19.68 20.38 20.23 19.08 18.99 18.15 19.16 16.50 16.96    
48 23.62 23.21 22.53 20.03 20.69 20.57 19.24 19.14 18.37 19.46 16.71 17.21    

Percent not recidivating within 48 months 
 76.38 76.79 77.47 79.97 79.31 79.43 80.76 80.86 81.63 80.54 83.29 82.79    

Persons in cohort (number on which percents are based) 
 3,163 3,326 3,276 3,146 2,968 2,917 3,097 3,271 3,641 3,413 3,340 3,249 3,040 3,030 2,781 

Average age of persons in cohort 
 36.7 37.0 36.9 37.0 37.4 37.6 37.8 37.4 37.8 37.6 37.7 38.1 38.5 38.5 38.5 
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V.  ALCOHOL-RELATED CRASH STATISTICS BY COUNTY 
 
A century of impaired driving and traffic deaths 
The automobile was invented around 1900, and the 
dangers of drinking and driving were recognized 
immediately.  The earliest available statistics report 23 
traffic deaths in Minnesota in 1910.  The state enacted 
its first DWI law in 1911.  As the baby-boom 
generation entered driving age in the 1960’s, more 
than half (60%) of all traffic deaths were due to 
drinking and driving.   It began decreasing around 
1980, in response to increased societal consciousness 
and to legislation and programs modeled in some part 
on the Scandinavian countries’ tough approach to 
drinking and driving. 

Defining a traffic crash 
Minnesota started systematic record-keeping on traffic 
crashes in the 1930s.  A 1939 law defined the 
reporting threshold:  Any crash involving a fatality, an 
injury, or property damage of $50 or more, had to be 
reported.  The dollar minimum threshold was raised to 
$100 in 1965, then to $300 on August 1, 1977, $500 
on August 1, 1981, and $1,000 on August 1, 1994. 

Though it is not the normal case, the property 
damage involved doesn’t have to be to vehicles.  It 
might be to a road sign, or shrubbery, for example.  It 
is unknown how many crashes occur that should be 
reported, but are not.  Less severe crashes are easier to 
conceal and it is not difficult to speculate that there 
may be as many crashes that should be, but are not, 
reported, as there are that do get reported. 

Defining “alcohol-related” 
This section uses a broader definition of “alcohol-
related” than might at first be assumed.  In particular, 
an “alcohol-related” crash might not have involved a 
drunk driver.  The definition used here is that if a 
pedestrian, bicyclist, or motor vehicle driver had any 
alcohol,*** then the crash is classified as “alcohol- 
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related,” and anyone who died or got injured in the 
crash is counted as an alcohol-related death or injury.   
So, if a pedestrian with only a .01% alcohol 
concentration  stumbles in front of a sober driver and 
is struck and killed, the crash is defined to be alcohol-
related, and the death is an alcohol-related traffic 
fatality.  Such cases are not the rule, however.  Most 
crashes classified as alcohol-related do involve motor 
vehicle drivers who consumed enough alcohol to be 
legally intoxicated.  

Defining “impaired-related”  
This section also uses a strict definition of “alcohol-
related” when a fatal crash occurs.  In particular, a 
fatal crash and any resulting fatalities will be 
classified as “impaired-related” when at least one 
driver or pedestrian in that particular crash tested 
positive for alcohol at the .08% legal limit or above.  
Note that Tables 5.02 and 5.03 in this Section use both 
of these definitions. 

‘Known’ alcohol-involved crashes 
State law requires a medical examiner to measure the 
alcohol content of any driver or pedestrian aged 16 or 
older who dies within four hours of a crash.  Among 
the states, Minnesota has one of the highest 
(sometimes the highest) percentage of killed drivers 
tested.  We make great effort to obtain these test 
results, as well as the results on all surviving drivers, 
bicyclists and pedestrians in fatal crashes that may 
have been tested. 

Clearly, if a state tests a smaller percentage of 
drivers, then fewer crashes will be classified as 
“alcohol-related” or “impaired-related.  Thus, states 
that have good impaired-driving programs, and good 
testing programs, may appear to have higher alcohol-
related death rates than states with lesser programs. 

*** To be precise, the following procedure is used:  If 
an alcohol test result is positive for any driver, 
bicyclist, or pedestrian, the crash is classified as 
alcohol-related.  If a test was not performed, but the 
reporting officer perceived the “apparent physical 
condition” of the driver, pedestrian, or bicyclist to be 
“had been drinking” or “under the influence,” then the 
crash is classified as alcohol-related.  In the (rare) 
event that there is a conflict between the officer’s 
reported perception and the chemical test result; the 
test result is used in place of the officer’s perception. 



 

Non-fatal crashes likely understated for alcohol 
The numbers cited in this section for alcohol-related 
non-fatal crashes are known to understate the true 
parameters for such crashes.  For non-fatal crashes, 
the officer’s judgment, noted on the crash report, is 
the only basis available to classify the crash as 
alcohol-related or not. 

To test the effect of using only officer perception 
compared to also having test result data available, 
fatal crashes in 2013 were classified as alcohol-related 
or not using both techniques.  Using officer perception 
alone, 68 (18%) of the 387 fatalities were classified as 
alcohol-related.  Using officer perception and test 
results together, 117 (30%) of the 387 fatalities were 
classified as alcohol-related.†††  

Crash numbers generally 
The number of crashes that get reported has been 
declining in recent years, from over 100,000 in year 
2000, to about 77,000 in 2013.  About one-half of one 
percent of all reported crashes are fatal, causing death 
to one or more persons and perhaps injury to other 
persons as well.  Then about a third of all crashes 
involve injuries to people, but no deaths.  Then the 
great majority of crashes — about two-thirds — only 
involve property damage; no one is killed or injured. 

Impairment likely as crash severity increases 
Even allowing that alcohol involvement is 
underestimated in the less severe crashes, there is still 
a strong relationship between crash severity and 
impairment.  In 2013, 4% of property damage crashes, 
7% of injury crashes, and 30% of fatal crashes were 
classified as alcohol-related. 

Cost of alcohol-related traffic crashes 
Cost figures reported are based on the estimated costs 
of traffic crashes, deaths, and injuries, as provided 
annually by the National Safety Council. 

There are two approaches to estimating traffic 
crash costs.  The one used here attempts to quantify 
the direct economic costs.  As explained by the 
National Safety Council, it has five components:  “(1) 
wage and productivity losses, including wages, fringe 
benefits, household production, (2) medical expenses, 
(3) administrative expenses, including insurance, 

police, and legal costs, (4) motor vehicle damage, and 
(5) employer costs for crashes involving workers.”‡‡‡ 
Using this approach, for example, the National Safety 
Council estimates costs for the 2013 calendar year as 
follows: 

Death ........................................................$1,410,000 
Incapacitating (A) Injury .............................. $72,700 
Non-incapacitating (B) Injury ....................... $23,400 
Possible (C) Injury ........................................ $13,200 
Property Damage Crash .................................. $8,900 

The other approach estimates the “comprehensive 
costs” and attempts to include “a measure of the value 
of lost quality of life associated with the deaths and 
injuries, that is, what society is willing to pay to 
prevent them.”§§§  Using that approach yields the 
following cost estimates for the 2013 year: 

Death ........................................................$4,538,000 
Incapacitating (A) Injury ............................ $230,000 
Non-incapacitating (B) Injury ....................... $58,700 
Possible (C) Injury ........................................ $28,000 
No Injury ........................................................ $2,500 

Table 5.04 uses the more narrowly defined estimates 
based just on economic costs.  The cost estimates are 
quite conservative in other respects as well:  First, 
they make no effort to include the costs of crashes that 
were reported, but not classified as alcohol-related, 
even though they were.  As noted, the number of 
crashes classified as alcohol-related is certain to 
understate the true number.  Second, the cost estimates 
make no attempt to include costs from alcohol-related 
crashes that were never reported at all.  

In a particular crash, when there is evidence that 
at least one driver or pedestrian tested positive for 
alcohol at the .08% level or above, then fatalities that 
occur in that crash will be classified as “impaired-
related”.  Using “impaired-related” fatalities, the 
estimated cost of alcohol involved crashes in 2013 
was: $204,391,700.   

Now, if there is evidence that at least one driver 
or pedestrian in a crash had “any” alcohol in their 
systems, then fatalities that occur will be classified as 
“alcohol-related”.  Using “alcohol-related” fatalities, 
the estimated cost of alcohol involved crashes in 2013 
was: $235,411,700.  

††† It would not necessarily be correct, however, to 
conclude that if alcohol test data were also available 
for non-fatal crashes, then there would be a 
comparable increase in the proportion of those crashes 
that are classified as alcohol-related.  That could be 
so; however, reporting and record-keeping are handled 
differently for fatal and non-fatal crashes.  Thus, the 
statistical patterns may not be similar for fatal and 
non-fatal crashes. 

‡‡‡ National Safety Council: Injury Facts, 2005-2006  
Edition:  page 91. 
§§§ Ibid 
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TABLE 5.01 

MINNESOTA TRAFFIC FATALITIES, 1910 - 2013 

Year Number Year Number Year Number Year Number Year Number 

1910 23 1931 622 1952 534 1973 1,024 1994 644 
1911 26 1932 486 1953 637 1974 852 1995 597 
1912 39 1933 525 1954 639 1975 777 1996 576 
1913 46 1934 641 1955 577 1976 809 1997 600 
1914 88 1935 596 1956 637 1977 856 1998 650 
1915 85 1936 649 1957 684 1978 980 1999 626 
1916 143 1937 630 1958 708 1979 881 2000 625 
1917 161 1938 609 1959 662 1980 863 2001 568 
1918 183 1939 576 1960 724 1981 763 2002 657 
1919 171 1940 577 1961 724 1982 581 2003 655 
1920 178 1941 626 1962 692 1983 558 2004 567 
1921 216 1942 439 1963 798 1984 584 2005 559 
1922 260 1943 274 1964 841 1985 610 2006 494 
1923 328 1944 356 1965 875 1986 572 2007 510 
1924 366 1945 449 1966 977 1987 530 2008 455 
1925 361 1946 536 1967 965 1988 615 2009 421 
1926 326 1947 572 1968 1,060 1989 605 2010 411 
1927 369 1948 552 1969 988 1990 568 2011 368 
1928 435 1949 540 1970 987 1991 531 2012 395 
1929 505 1950 532 1971 1,024 1992 581 2013 387 
1930 561 1951 610 1972 1,031 1993 538   

Figure 5.01 

Minnesota Traffic Fatalities, 1910-2013, and  
Fatality Rates Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled, 1961-2013 
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TABLE 5.02 

OVERVIEW OF TRAFFIC SAFETY AND ALCOHOL STATISTICS, 1965 - 2013 

Year 
(1) 

Total 
Crashes 

(2) 

Total 
Deaths 

(3) 

Licensed
Drivers 
(million) 

(4) 

Reg. 
Vehicles 
(million) 

(5) 

State 
Popu-
lation 

(6) 

Miles 
Traveld 
(billion) 

(7) 

Fatality 
Rate 
(8) 

DWI 
Arrests 

(9) 

Deaths 
‘Any’  

Alcohol 
(10) 

 
% of 

Col (3) 
(11) 

Deaths 
.08% + 
Alcohol 

(12) 

 % of 
Col (3) 

(13) 

1965 83,329 875 1.85 1.86 3,565,000 16.8 5.21      
1966 84,754 977 1.90 1.94 3,585,000 17.7 5.52      
1967 93,819 965 1.95 2.01 3,625,000 18.7 5.17      
1968 92,910 1,060 2.00 2.09 3,647,000 19.9 5.33      
1969 105,235 988 2.03 2.15 3,743,291 20.8 4.75      
1970 99,404 987 2.05 2.24 3,804,971 22.4 4.41      
1971 104,030 1,024 2.33 2.36 3,860,000 23.4 4.38      
1972 111,180 1,031 2.50 2.41 3,877,000 24.9 4.14      
1973 107,956 1,024 2.38 2.51 3,890,000 25.2 4.07      
1974 102,964 852 2.44 2.67 3,904,100 24.6 3.47      
1975 123,206 777 2.51 2.69 3,921,000 25.6 3.03      
1976 116,390 809 2.57 2.92 3,954,000 27.0 3.00 19,419     
1977 119,754 856 2.63 2.77 3,980,000 28.1 3.05 16,976     
1978 118,833 980 2.70 2.90 4,024,000 28.8 3.40 18,078     
1979 120,633 881 2.73 3.00 4,060,000 29.0 3.04 18,092     
1980 103,612 863 2.77 3.01 4,075,970 28.5 3.03 22,788     
1981 97,879 763 2.83 3.09 4,099,048 28.6 2.67 27,034     
1982 89,443 581 2.87 3.01 4,133,334 29.2 1.98 28,048     
1983 97,371 558 2.90 3.03 4,145,667 30.5 1.83 32,155     
1984 93,741 584 2.91 3.13 4,161,464 32.2 1.81 36,638 305 52%   
1985 99,168 610 3.04 3.22 4,192,973 33.1 1.84 35,383 261 43   
1986 95,460 572 3.07 3.25 4,214,013 34.2 1.67 36,390 264 46   
1987 94,095 530 3.10 3.31 4,245,870 35.1 1.51 34,664 224 42   
1988 102,094 615 3.13 3.39 4,306,550 36.4 1.69 32,827 277 45   
1989 105,996 605 3.16 3.46 4,353,000 37.6 1.61 34,562 275 45   
1990 99,236 568 3.18 3.52 4,375,099 38.8 1.47 36,847 235 41   
1991 101,419 531 3.22 3.51 4,432,000 39.3 1.35 32,430 212 40   
1992 96,808 581 3.27 3.55 4,480,034 41.3 1.41 30,841 229 39   
1993 100,907 538 3.28 3.48 4,517,416 42.3 1.27 30,088 196 36   
1994 99,701 644 3.34 3.67 4,567,267 43.4 1.48 29,748 226 35   
1995 96,022 597 3.39 3.68 4,609,548 44.1 1.35 30,402 246 41 203 34% 
1996 105,332 576 3.46 3.70 4,657,800 45.9 1.27 30,923 205 36 169 29 
1997 98,626 600 3.49 3.77 4,685,549 46.9 1.28 31,380 178 30 151 25 
1998 92,926 650 3.53 3.90 4,735,830 48.5 1.34 32,422 273 42 222 34 
1999 96,813 626 3.54 3.92 4,775,508 50.7 1.24 34,575 195 31 156 25 
2000 103,591 625 3.65 4.20 4,919,479 52.4 1.19 35,034 245 39 212 34 
2001 98,984 568 3.69 4.38 4,977,976 53.2 1.07 33,532 211 37 167 29 
2002 94,969 657 3.76 4.49 5,033,661 54.4 1.21 33,163 239 36 185 28 
2003 n/a 655 3.79 4.56 5,088,006 55.4 1.18 32,266 255 39 205 31 
2004 91,274 567 3.85 4.63 5,145,106 56.5 1.00 34,202 177 31 155 27 
2005 87,813 559 3.87 4.69 5,205,091 56.5 0.99 37,002 197 35 164 29 
2006 78,745 494 3.87 4.76 5,231,106 56.6 0.87 41,951 166 34 141 29 
2007 81,505 510 3.91 4.82 5,263,493 57.4 0.89 38,669 190 37 170 33 
2008 79,095 455 3.94 4.86 5,287,976 57.3 0.79 35,794 163 36 137 30 
2009 73,498 421 3.95 4.87 5,300,942 56.9 0.74 32,756 141 34 112 27 
2010 74,073 411 4.00 4.92 5,303,925 56.8 0.72 29,918 131 32 121 29 
2011 72,117 368 4.01 4.98 5,332,246 56.7 0.65 29,257 136 37 111 30 
2012 69,236 395 4.04 5.02 5,379,139 57.0 0.69 28,418 131 33 104 26 
2013 77,707 387 4.07 5.09 5,401,186 57.0 0.68 25,719 117 30 95 25 

Note:  Column (10) lists the number of alcohol-related deaths resulting from crashes where at least one driver or pedestrian was 
known to be drinking.  Column (12) lists the number of impaired-related deaths resulting from crashes where at least one driver 
or pedestrian tested positive for alcohol at the .08%  level or above. 
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TABLE 5.03 

TRAFFIC CRASHES, FATALITIES, AND INJURIES — TOTAL AND ALCOHOL-
RELATED BY COUNTY IN MINNESOTA, 2013 

 
FATAL TRAFFIC 

CRASHES 

INJURY 
TRAFFIC 
CRASHES 

TRAFFIC 
CRASHES WITH 

PROPERTY 
DAMAGE ONLY 

TOTAL 
CRASHES 

PERSONS 
KILLED 

PERSONS 
INJURED 

COUNTY 
(1) 

All 
(2) 

.08% + 
Alc 
(3) 

% 
(4) 

All 
(5) 

Alco-
hol 
(6) 

% 
(7) 

All 
(8) 

Alco
-hol 
(9) 

% 
(10) 

All 
(11) 

Alco-
hol 
(12) 

% 
(13) 

All 
(14) 

.08% + 
Alc 
(15) 

% 
(16) 

All 
(17) 

Alco-
hol 
(18) 

%  
Alc 
(19) 

Aitkin 2 0 0.0 69 6 8.7 97 8 8.2 168 14 8.3 2 0 0.0 96 6 6.3 
Anoka 11 2 18.2 1,143 85 7.4 2,101 77 3.7 3,255 164 5.0 12 2 16.7 1,634 115 7.0 
Becker 3 0 0.0 119 13 10.9 165 3 1.8 287 16 5.6 3 0 0.0 174 17 9.8 
Beltrami 6 3 50.0 128 14 10.9 331 12 3.6 465 29 6.2 6 3 50.0 189 25 13.2 
Benton 8 3 37.5 144 10 6.9 415 11 2.7 567 24 4.2 8 3 37.5 207 11 5.3 
Big Stone 2 0 0.0 10 3 30.0 41 4 9.8 53 7 13.2 2 0 0.0 11 3 27.3 
Blue Earth 4 0 0.0 285 25 8.8 787 36 4.6 1,076 61 5.7 4 0 0.0 395 36 9.1 
Brown 2 0 0.0 92 5 5.4 202 5 2.5 296 10 3.4 2 0 0.0 117 8 6.8 
Carlton 3 2 66.7 120 12 10.0 279 12 4.3 402 26 6.5 3 2 66.7 185 15 8.1 
Carver 6 2 33.3 289 22 7.6 789 29 3.7 1,084 53 4.9 6 2 33.3 424 35 8.3 
Cass 3 1 33.3 104 10 9.6 188 12 6.4 295 23 7.8 5 1 20.0 140 13 9.3 
Chippewa 4 0 0.0 55 4 7.3 88 3 3.4 147 7 4.8 4 0 0.0 94 7 7.4 
Chisago 6 0 0.0 228 27 11.8 372 15 4.0 606 42 6.9 6 0 0.0 357 40 11.2 
Clay 5 2 40.0 187 18 9.6 648 22 3.4 840 42 5.0 6 2 33.3 247 28 11.3 
Clearwater 1 0 0.0 24 3 12.5 35 1 2.9 60 4 6.7 1 0 0.0 33 3 9.1 
Cook 1 0 0.0 20 4 20.0 38 3 7.9 59 7 11.9 1 0 0.0 38 6 15.8 
Cottonwood 4 1 25.0 21 1 4.8 60 2 3.3 85 4 4.7 4 1 25.0 34 1 2.9 
Crow Wing 8 1 12.5 274 30 10.9 522 19 3.6 804 50 6.2 9 1 11.1 401 36 9.0 
Dakota 18 4 22.2 1,465 85 5.8 3,891 136 3.5 5,374 225 4.2 19 4 21.1 2,044 131 6.4 
Dodge 0 0 0.0 58 6 10.3 141 6 4.3 199 12 6.0 0 0 0.0 72 6 8.3 
Douglas 1 1 100.0 162 13 8.0 359 13 3.6 522 27 5.2 1 1 100.0 201 18 9.0 
Faribault 3 0 0.0 35 7 20.0 98 2 2.0 136 9 6.6 3 0 0.0 45 10 22.2 
Fillmore 1 0 0.0 57 8 14.0 137 5 3.6 195 13 6.7 1 0 0.0 89 10 11.2 
Freeborn 2 0 0.0 119 13 10.9 362 15 4.1 483 28 5.8 2 0 0.0 182 13 7.1 
Goodhue 6 0 0.0 191 15 7.9 530 11 2.1 727 26 3.6 7 0 0.0 271 17 6.3 
Grant 0 0 0.0 27 7 25.9 50 3 6.0 77 10 13.0 0 0 0.0 30 9 30.0 
Hennepin 37 16 43.2 6,394 362 5.7 15,903 583 3.7 22,334 961 4.3 42 18 42.9 8,735 521 6.0 
Houston 2 0 0.0 48 8 16.7 170 9 5.3 220 17 7.7 2 0 0.0 62 11 17.7 
Hubbard 4 3 75.0 72 6 8.3 132 9 6.8 208 18 8.7 4 3 75.0 104 10 9.6 
Isanti 5 1 20.0 106 6 5.7 231 3 1.3 342 10 2.9 5 1 20.0 147 10 6.8 
Itasca 6 3 50.0 177 15 8.5 390 23 5.9 573 41 7.2 6 3 50.0 271 23 8.5 
Jackson 4 1 25.0 39 2 5.1 86 0 0.0 129 3 2.3 5 1 20.0 58 2 3.4 
Kanabec 0 0 0.0 38 4 10.5 53 2 3.8 91 6 6.6 0 0 0.0 62 7 11.3 
Kandiyohi 2 0 0.0 188 16 8.5 436 10 2.3 626 26 4.2 2 0 0.0 259 21 8.1 
Kittson 1 1 100.0 7 2 28.6 11 1 9.1 19 4 21.1 2 2 100.0 12 4 33.3 
Koochiching 1 0 0.0 35 2 5.7 48 1 2.1 84 3 3.6 1 0 0.0 59 2 3.4 
Lac Qui Parle 0 0 0.0 23 2 8.7 32 0 0.0 55 2 3.6 0 0 0.0 27 2 7.4 
Lake 4 2 50.0 37 3 8.1 89 4 4.5 130 9 6.9 4 2 50.0 52 5 9.6 
Lake Woods 0 0 0.0 1 0 0.0 9 0 0.0 10 0 0.0 0 0 0.0 1 0 0.0 
Le Sueur 3 1 33.3 102 12 11.8 232 12 5.2 337 25 7.4 6 4 66.7 146 15 10.3 
Lincoln 2 1 50.0 11 0 0.0 43 1 2.3 56 2 3.6 2 1 50.0 13 0 0.0 
Lyon  2 1 50.0 78 9 11.5 183 7 3.8 263 17 6.5 2 1 50.0 110 10 9.1 
McLeod 4 1 25.0 120 6 5.0 294 5 1.7 418 12 2.9 4 1 25.0 194 9 4.6 
Mahnomen 1 1 100.0 16 4 25.0 30 3 10.0 47 8 17.0 1 1 100.0 27 8 29.6 
Marshall 1 1 100.0 14 2 14.3 14 2 14.3 29 5 17.2 1 1 100.0 20 3 15.0 
Martin 3 1 33.3 75 5 6.7 176 8 4.5 254 14 5.5 3 1 33.3 106 9 8.5 
Meeker 5 1 20.0 80 15 18.8 166 12 7.2 251 28 11.2 5 1 20.0 117 29 24.8 
Mille Lacs 4 1 25.0 97 10 10.3 145 2 1.4 246 13 5.3 4 1 25.0 151 15 9.9 
Morrison 5 0 0.0 97 20 20.6 187 9 4.8 289 29 10.0 5 0 0.0 135 21 15.6 
Mower 3 1 33.3 132 11 8.3 312 8 2.6 447 20 4.5 3 1 33.3 189 15 7.9 
Murray 0 0 0.0 23 1 4.3 40 4 10.0 63 5 7.9 0 0 0.0 27 1 3.7 
Nicollet 2 1 50.0 116 10 8.6 299 9 3.0 417 20 4.8 2 1 50.0 162 14 8.6 
Nobles 4 2 50.0 82 4 4.9 224 10 4.5 310 16 5.2 5 2 40.0 144 5 3.5 
Norman 2 0 0.0 19 2 10.5 32 0 0.0 53 2 3.8 3 0 0.0 28 3 10.7 
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TABLE 5.03 (Continued) 

TRAFFIC CRASHES, FATALITIES, AND INJURIES — TOTAL AND ALCOHOL-
RELATED BY COUNTY IN MINNESOTA, 2013 

 
FATAL TRAFFIC 

CRASHES 

INJURY 
TRAFFIC 
CRASHES 

TRAFFIC CRASHES 
WITH PROPERTY 
DAMAGE ONLY TOTAL CRASHES 

PERSONS 
KILLED 

PERSONS 
INJURED 

COUNTY 
(1) 

All 
(2) 

.08%+ 
Alc 
(3) 

% 
(4) 

All 
(5) 

Alco-
hol 
(6) 

% 
(7) 

All 
(8) 

Alco-
hol 
(9) 

% 
(10) 

All 
(11) 

Alco-
hol 
(12) 

% 
(13) 

All 
(14) 

.08+ 
Alc 
(15) 

% 
(16) 

All 
(17) 

Alco-
hol 
(18) 

%  
Alc 
(19) 

Olmsted 11 2 18.2 620 39 6.3 1,299 44 3.4 1,930 85 4.4 12 2 16.7 882 46 5.2 
Otter Tail 7 0 0.0 191 32 16.8 491 21 4.3 689 53 7.7 8 0 0.0 272 44 16.2 
Pennington 0 0 0.0 51 5 9.8 62 6 9.7 113 11 9.7 0 0 0.0 66 7 10.6 
Pine 6 1 16.7 143 16 11.2 229 2 0.9 378 19 5.0 7 1 14.3 197 22 11.2 
Pipestone 1 0 0.0 30 5 16.7 41 2 4.9 72 7 9.7 1 0 0.0 52 5 9.6 
Polk 5 1 20.0 92 3 3.3 279 11 3.9 376 15 4.0 5 1 20.0 117 3 2.6 
Pope 2 0 0.0 31 3 9.7 82 7 8.5 115 10 8.7 2 0 0.0 58 3 5.2 
Ramsey 11 4 36.4 2,465 151 6.1 8,734 251 2.9 11,210 406 3.6 12 5 41.7 3,310 227 6.9 
Red Lake 0 0 0.0 4 0 0.0 14 0 0.0 18 0 0.0 0 0 0.0 4 0 0.0 
Redwood 3 1 33.3 42 3 7.1 76 2 2.6 121 6 5.0 3 1 33.3 73 8 11.0 
Renville 3 0 0.0 51 2 3.9 92 0 0.0 146 2 1.4 4 0 0.0 74 3 4.1 
Rice 5 1 20.0 185 13 7.0 452 16 3.5 642 30 4.7 5 1 20.0 281 21 7.5 
Rock 1 0 0.0 39 4 10.3 86 6 7.0 126 10 7.9 1 0 0.0 52 4 7.7 
Roseau 1 0 0.0 32 4 12.5 45 1 2.2 78 5 6.4 1 0 0.0 49 6 12.2 
St. Louis 17 1 5.9 819 71 8.7 2,649 104 3.9 3,485 176 5.1 19 1 5.3 1,091 101 9.3 
Scott 11 3 27.3 434 39 9.0 831 28 3.4 1,276 70 5.5 11 3 27.3 624 57 9.1 
Sherburne 4 1 25.0 330 36 10.9 848 24 2.8 1,182 61 5.2 4 1 25.0 482 56 11.6 
Sibley 2 1 50.0 48 3 6.3 84 3 3.6 134 7 5.2 2 1 50.0 72 3 4.2 
Stearns 6 2 33.3 782 53 6.8 1,782 59 3.3 2,570 114 4.4 6 2 33.3 1,104 78 7.1 
Steele 1 0 0.0 134 6 4.5 330 8 2.4 465 14 3.0 1 0 0.0 185 8 4.3 
Stevens 1 0 0.0 39 2 5.1 100 4 4.0 140 6 4.3 1 0 0.0 49 3 6.1 
Swift 1 0 0.0 22 1 4.5 61 0 0.0 84 1 1.2 1 0 0.0 32 1 3.1 
Todd 5 2 40.0 84 8 9.5 149 7 4.7 238 17 7.1 6 2 33.3 147 17 11.6 
Traverse 1 0 0.0 10 2 20.0 15 1 6.7 26 3 11.5 1 0 0.0 10 2 20.0 
Wabasha 4 1 25.0 61 7 11.5 146 9 6.2 211 17 8.1 4 1 25.0 80 10 12.5 
Wadena 1 0 0.0 45 4 8.9 67 1 1.5 113 5 4.4 1 0 0.0 66 4 6.1 
Waseca 2 1 50.0 45 7 15.6 128 4 3.1 175 12 6.9 2 1 50.0 59 9 15.3 
Washington 10 1 10.0 844 59 7.0 1,916 69 3.6 2,770 129 4.7 10 1 10.0 1,145 77 6.7 
Watonwan 1 0 0.0 38 4 10.5 54 4 7.4 93 8 8.6 1 0 0.0 61 5 8.2 
Wilkin 0 0 0.0 33 1 3.0 111 1 0.9 144 2 1.4 0 0 0.0 40 1 2.5 
Winona 2 1 50.0 189 23 12.2 441 8 1.8 632 32 5.1 2 1 50.0 245 34 13.9 
Wright 13 2 15.4 347 27 7.8 952 34 3.6 1,312 63 4.8 16 2 12.5 503 35 7.0 
Yellow Med 2 0 0.0 27 4 14.8 51 1 2.0 80 5 6.3 2 0 0.0 43 6 14.0 

Minnesota 357 88 24.6 21,960 1,622 7.4 55,390 1,940 3.5 77,707 3,650 4.7 387 95 24.5 30,653 2,300 7.5 

 

Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2013 Page 39 Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety 



 
TABLE 5.04 

COST OF ALCOHOL-RELATED TRAFFIC CRASHES, 
IMPAIRED-RELATED FATALITIES,  

AND ALCOHOL-RELATED INJURIES, BY COUNTY, 2013 

COUNTY COST COUNTY COST COUNTY  COST 
Aitkin $230,300 Itasca $5,078,300 Pope $161,400 
Anoka 6,223,500 Jackson 1,446,600 Ramsey 13,455,000 
Becker 511,200 Kanabec 161,200 Red Lake 0 
Beltrami 4,986,400 Kandiyohi 556,600 Redwood 1,592,900 
Benton 4,643,100 Kittson 3,021,100 Renville 49,800 
Big Stone 85,400 Koochiching 35,300 Rice 2,229,100 
Blue Earth 1,263,100 Lac Qui Parle 85,900 Rock 175,900 
Brown 269,100 Lake 2,952,200 Roseau 139,100 
Carlton 3,374,700 Lake of the Woods 0 St. Louis 4,843,500 
Carver 3,881,800 Le Sueur 6,184,500 Scott 5,872,500 
Cass 1,858,400 Lincoln 1,418,900 Sherburne 2,934,000 
Chippewa 129,300 Lyon  1,645,100 Sibley 1,496,700 
Chisago 993,000 McLeod 1,722,900 Stearns 5,532,400 
Clay 3,725,400 Mahnomen 1,593,300 Steele 236,300 
Clearwater 108,000 Marshall 1,498,000 Stevens 75,200 
Cook 136,500 Martin 1,700,300 Swift 23,400 
Cottonwood 1,441,000 Meeker 2,210,700 Todd 3,494,300 
Crow Wing 2,365,400 Mille Lacs 1,707,400 Traverse 35,300 
Dakota 9,812,100 Morrison 508,600 Wabasha 1,683,300 
Dodge 202,300 Mower 1,820,300 Wadena 71,900 
Douglas 2,013,200 Murray 59,000 Waseca 1,654,500 
Faribault 279,000 Nicollet 1,914,600 Washington 3,525,000 
Fillmore 336,300 Nobles 2,995,400 Watonwan 152,600 
Freeborn 623,000 Norman 60,000 Wilkin 22,100 
Goodhue 551,800 Olmsted 4,169,000 Winona 2,300,600 
Grant 295,100 Otter Tail 1,605,800 Wright 3,955,200 
Hennepin 41,350,800 Pennington 285,200 Yellow Med 178,200 
Houston 296,700 Pine 1,988,500   
Hubbard 4,581,500 Pipestone 223,200   
Isanti 1,728,500 Polk 1,557,700   

Minnesota Total     $ 204,391,700 

Note:  Costs are calculated using estimates, provided 
annually by the National Safety Council, that do not 
attempt to include “comprehensive costs” of traffic 
crashes, deaths and injuries, but just direct costs due 
to medical expense, property damage, and lost 
productivity.  Other procedures (e.g.; those used by 
the US Department of Transportation) that do attempt 
to include comprehensive costs result in total cost 
estimates about three times as great as those 
calculated here. 
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APPENDIX A 

Terms Describing Impaired Driving Incidents in Minnesota 
 

This report is produced by the Office of Traffic Safety 
in the Minnesota Department of Public Safety and 
provides information about impaired driving in the 
state.  The report is meant to aid in describing the 
parameters of a significant public health threat, but 
there are problems in reporting the statistics in a clear 
way.  The problems are mainly due to (1) the lack of a 
clear terminology and (2) the complexity of 
Minnesota’s impaired driving laws. 

There is no clearly defined set of terms to describe 
impaired driving situations.  For traffic crashes, 
Minnesota follows the American National Standards 
Institute’s “Manual on Classification of Motor Vehicle 
Traffic Accidents,”  which has been in use (with new 
editions periodically) nationwide since the 1940s.  
There is no similar manual for describing impaired 
driving incidents.   

In this report, the term “impaired driving” is used, but 
even it has problems.  For example, if an officer 
arrests a person for DWI, and the person refuses to 
take the alcohol test and then plea-bargains the DWI 
charge to speeding, the incident is still classified as an 
impaired driving incident since the test refusal violates 
the Implied Consent Law which is part of the 
Impaired Driving Code.  But the fact of impairment 
was not actually established.  Definitions of terms are 
shown below, but these definitions are subject to 
change in the future.  

The second obstacle to clear statistical reporting is the 
complexity of the law.  Minnesota enacted its first 
DWI law in 1911.  There are now more than 25,000 
DWI arrests annually — more than for any other 
criminal offense in the state.   

Apart from the DWI laws themselves, there is an 
important distinction between criminal offenses and 
civil law violations.  Minnesota Statute (MS) 609.02 
defines “crime” as “conduct ... for which the actor 
may be sentenced to imprisonment...”  Therefore, a 
crime is committed if a person performs a behavior 
the law defines as criminal, regardless of whether the 

person is detected, arrested, prosecuted, found guilty, 
and sentenced to jail or prison. 

In contrast, a civil law violation cannot lead to 
incarceration.****   In impaired driving cases under 
civil law, when a person refuses or fails an alcohol or 
drug test, the police officer acts as agent of the 
Commissioner of Public Safety and issues the driver’s 
license revocation form.  In some cases the 
Commissioner may impose additional requirements 
(e.g. treatment), but the Commissioner cannot impose 
a jail sentence. 

This report uses the following conventions:  The terms 
“crime,” “offense,” and “criminal offense” are used to 
describe violations of the criminal impaired driving 
law.  The term “violation” is used to describe a 
breaking of the civil Implied Consent law.  
“Violation” and “violator”  are general terms though.  
Thus, a crime is a type of violation, and “violator” 
refers to a person who breaks a criminal law, a civil 
law, or both. 

Minnesota’s first DWI law consisted of a single 
sentence:  “Whoever operates a motor vehicle while in 
an intoxicated condition shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor.”  The current law takes an entire 
chapter (MS 169A)  and defines it to be a crime for a 
person to “drive, operate, or be in physical control of 
any motor vehicle within this state...” when the person 
is under the influence of alcohol, or under the 
influence of any of a large number of impairing 
substances, or when the person has an alcohol 
concentration of 0.08% or more, or when a person 
refuses to take a test under the Implied Consent Law, 
and so on. 

**** Also, a person is not considered to have violated a 
civil law unless it is so determined through a legal 
process.  Thus, a person can sue another for breach of 
contract, but the other person’s behavior is not a 
violation unless a court determines that it is.  The 
defendant might then be ordered to make restitution, 
or pay a fine, but cannot be incarcerated. 
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In 1961, Minnesota passed the civil “Implied 
Consent” law, defining the principle that by driving on 
a public roadway, a person by implication gives 
consent to a test for alcohol upon being stopped by an 
officer having probable cause to suspect impairment.  
If the driver refused the test, the State would revoke 
the person’s driving license for six months.   

In 1971, the criminal law was amended to stipulate 
that having an alcohol concentration of 0.10% or 
higher was no longer just prima facie evidence of 
intoxication, but was in itself (“per se”) a crime.††††  
Thus, Minnesota’s “criminal per se” law dates from 
1971.  

In 1976, Minnesota became the first state to pass an 
“administrative per se” law, authorizing the 
Commissioner of Public Safety to revoke a person’s 
driver’s license upon refusal to take the alcohol test or 
upon taking and “failing” the test.‡‡‡‡  The 
Commissioner imposes this revocation independently 
of whatever happens in the criminal DWI case, and 
without the need to prove guilt to the higher level 
required in the criminal case.  Almost all states now 
have an “administrative per se” law.§§§§ 

Thus Minnesota pioneered the “two-track system.”  
The Commissioner of Public Safety revokes the 
driver’s license if a person fails or refuses the test, 
even if the person is found not guilty of the criminal 
DWI charge.  Likewise a court can find a person 
guilty of impaired driving even in the absence of a test 
failure or refusal. 

The complexity of the law often causes more than one 
violation to be recorded on a person’s driving record 
for a single incident.  To make up an extreme 
example:  Suppose a 20-year-old commercial vehicle 
driver is driving while impaired by a combination of 
alcohol and marijuana and has a crash killing another 
driver and injuring two passengers.  Upon arrest, the 
driver refuses a urine test for drugs, but takes and fails 
the breath test, with an alcohol concentration of 
0.15%.   

The driver potentially could incur the following 
violations.  The alcohol test failure is a criminal 
offense under MS 169A.20(1).  It is also a civil law 
violation under MS 169A.52(4).  The drug test refusal 
is a criminal offense under MS 169A.20(2) and is also 
a civil law violation under MS 169A.52(3).  Since the 
driver was under age 21, he violated MS 169A.33(2).  
As a commercial vehicle driver with an AC over 
.04%, he violated MS 169A.20(6) and also MS 
169A.52(2).  Since the incident caused a death and 
two injuries, a felony conviction for criminal vehicular 
operation resulting in a fatality is possible under MS 
609.21(1), and two separate felony convictions for 
criminal vehicular operation resulting in an injury are 
possible under MS 609.21(2).  Each of the above 
violations could cause an entry to the person’s driver 
record (although there can be only one offense under 
MS169A.20).  

Since a single incident may lead to multiple 
violations, a circumstance such as the following could 
occur:  In a year, there are 25,000 impaired driving 
arrests.  Five-hundred of those never get recorded as 
an impaired driving incident.  Among the remaining 
24,500 arrests that do lead to an impaired driving 
incident on record, there are 24,000 civil Implied 
Consent law violations, and 19,000 impaired-driving 
criminal convictions, for a total of 43,000 violations.  
In addition, Minnesotans may incur violations in other 
states and those will be placed on their Minnesota 
driving record.  Also, non-Minnesotans incur 
violations in Minnesota, and the Department of Public 
Safety creates a record in the state’s driver’s license 
file to keep track of those violations.   

For all these reasons, it is useful to distinguish 
between incidents, violations, and violators.  The 
number of incidents on record in a year should show a 
close correspondence to the number of arrests in a 
year.  Violations will be more numerous, and the types 
of violations incurred will help to characterize an 
incident.  For example, did the incident involve test 
failure or test refusal?  Was an injury or fatality 
involved?  It is also useful to think about incidents 
separately from the persons who committed them.  A 
person may go through an irresponsible phase in his or 
her life and incur several incidents in a year or two, 
and then reform.  Thus, in a year, there may be 25,000 
incidents on record, but if 1,500 persons were arrested 
twice, and 500 were arrested three times in the year, 
then 23,000 persons accounted for the 25,000 
incidents.  In this report, Section I deals with impaired 
driving incidents — when and where they occurred, 
what types of violations were involved, and so on.  
Section II shows the criminal conviction rates for the 
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†††† In 2004 the Legislature reduced the per se level to 
0.08%, effective August 1, 2005. 
‡‡‡‡ The District of Columbia had a similar ordinance, 
but Minnesota was the first state to pass “administra-
tive per se.” 
§§§§ Though Minnesota was the first state to have such 
a law, the District of Columbia had a similar 
ordinance prior to the passing of the Minnesota law. 



 

incidents.  Section III deals with persons — How 
many have DWI incidents on record?  How many 
prior incidents do they have? and so on.  Section IV 
focuses more specifically on recidivism.  Section V 

reports statistics on crashes and their costs.  For each 
county, it shows total crashes, fatalities, and injuries, 
and the number and percentage of them of them that 
were classified as alcohol-related. 

APPENDIX B 

DEFINITIONS 
 
Disqualification  
 A “disqualification” is the action taken by the 
Commissioner of Public Safety on a person’s 
commercial vehicle driver’s license upon being 
notified that the person was operating a commercial 
vehicle while having an alcohol concentration of 
.04% or higher.  The Commissioner “disqualifies” the 
driver from operating commercial vehicles.  This 
action is mandated under the Implied Consent Law, 
MS 169A.52.  (MS 169A.20 makes it a crime for a 
person to operate a commercial vehicle while having 
an alcohol concentration over 0.04% and provides for 
separate actions upon conviction.) 
 A disqualification is not counted as an impaired 
driving incident unless the driver also had a regular 
implied consent law violation or impaired driving 
conviction. 

DWI 
 “DWI” appears to be the historic and classic term 
to designate impaired driving.  It may not have a 
precise definition.  It could stand for driving while 
intoxicated, driving while under the influence, 
driving while impaired. 
 In Minnesota, a usage evolved to some extent that 
the term “DWI” refers to an actual conviction under 
the criminal statute while the term “implied consent” 
or “administrative license revocation” refers to the 
revocation by the Commissioner of Public Safety 
under the Implied Consent law. 
 Thus, if John Doe got convicted in court under 
MS169A.20, it would be said that he “got a DWI.”  If 
he did not get convicted but did get revoked under 
the Implied Consent law (169A.50 to 169A.53), then 
it would not be said that he got a DWI, but that he 
“got an implied consent.” 
 Throughout this report, the term “impaired driving 
incident [on record]” (or merely “incident”) is used 
as a collective term to designate a “DWI,” or an 
implied consent revocation, or a single incident that 
resulted in both an administrative license revocation 

and a criminal conviction for an offense specified in 
the impaired driving code. 

DWI Law 
 In 2000, the Legislature completely recodified 
Minnesota’s DWI law.  The changes mostly took 
effect January 1, 2001.  The law up through year 
2000 had become gradually more complex.  The 
main criminal law was contained in MS 169.121.  
Other DWI criminal laws were 169.1211 and 
169.129.  These laws contained many references to 
other laws which had to be consulted to fully 
understand the main law.  The Implied Consent law 
was MS 169.123, and there were many references 
between it and the criminal DWI laws. 
 The 2000 recodification combined all of these into 
a new chapter MS 169A, and specified that “this 
chapter may be cited as the Minnesota Impaired 
Driving Code.” 
 Thus, the term “DWI law” increasingly appears 
obsolete and the preferred term increasingly appears 
to be “impaired driving law." 
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Implied Consent Law 
 Minnesota Statutes, sections 169A.50 to 169A.53, 
make up the “Implied Consent” law — the civil law 
stating that by implication a person who drives in 
Minnesota gives his or her consent to a chemical test 
for purposes of gathering evidence as to whether or 
not an offense under Minnesota’s impaired driving 
law has occurred.  The chemical test can be of a 
person’s blood, breath, or urine, and the test can be 
for alcohol or for any other substance specified in MS 
169A.20.  Under the Implied Consent Law, the 
Commissioner of Public Safety imposes a one-year 
license revocation for test refusal, or a ninety-day to 
one-year revocation (depending on the prior record) 
for a test failure.  

Incident  
 An episode of impaired driving, regardless of 
whether it is detected and prosecuted. 

Incident on Record 
 An incident on record is an episode of impaired 
driving or an episode in which the Implied Consent 
law was violated and the following also occurred:  
The incident was detected and a stop was made and 
the driver was found in court to have violated the 
criminal impaired driving law 169A.20, or it was 
established that the driver violated the Implied 
Consent law either (1) by taking a chemical test and 
“failing” it, or (2) by refusing to take the required 
test.  Furthermore, the fact of this criminal offense 
and/or civil law violation has been recorded on the 
person’s Minnesota driving record. 

Minnesota Resident 
 As used in this report, a person for whom records 
maintained by the Department of Public Safety show 
to be a current resident of Minnesota.  Note that the 
Department of Public Safety may not be promptly 
notified that a person died, or (as may especially be 
true of multiple DWI offenders) that a person moved 
from the state. 

Non-Minnesota Resident 
 As used in this report, a person for whom records 
maintained by the Department of Public Safety show 
as not being a current resident of Minnesota.  The 
person may have been a resident and moved away, or 
may never have been a resident. 

Not-a-drop 
 Minnesota Statute 169A.33 is sometimes referred 
to as the “not a drop” law.  It provides that a person 
under the age of 21 who drives with any amount of 
alcohol shall have his or her license revoked by the 
Commissioner of Public Safety.  In this report, a not-
a-drop violation is not counted as an impaired driving 
incident unless the driver also had a regular implied 
consent law violation or impaired driving conviction. 

Offender  
 A person who has committed a petty 
misdemeanor, misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or 
felony, regardless of whether it is detected and 
prosecuted. 

Offense 
 A petty misdemeanor, misdemeanor, gross 
misdemeanor, or felony.  (All DWI offenses are 
misdemeanor or higher.)  An offense may or may not 
be detected and prosecuted. 

Violation  
 A breaking of one of Minnesota’s criminal or civil 
laws. 

Violator  
 A person who breaks a criminal or civil law in 
Minnesota. 
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APPENDIX C 
CHRONOLOGY OF MINNESOTA IMPAIRED DRIVING LEGISLATION SINCE 1911 

Laws that appear especially significant—to be “landmarks”—are highlighted in bold font.  Starting in 1987, 
the date on which a law went into effect is shown in parentheses after the description of the law. 

Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year Reference 
passed Number  Description of Amendment 

1911 1  Driving while in an intoxicated condition is defined to be a misdemeanor. 
1917 1  Three-month forfeiture of driver’s license upon conviction for DWI. 
 2  Violation of license forfeiture is defined to be a misdemeanor. 
1925 1  A second or subsequent DWI is raised to gross misdemeanor status. 
 2  Criminal penalty for repeat offenders shall include license revocation for three months to 

one year. 
1927 1  First DWI offense raised to gross misdemeanor status. 
 2 Prison for all offenders. 
 Penalty for all offenders:  prison 10 days to 1 year, plus fine of not more than $1,000, 

plus license revocation for not longer than two years. 
1937 1  All DWI offenses reduced to misdemeanor status. 
 2 Criminal penalties reduced. 
 Penalty for first offense: Prison 10 to 90 days or fine of $10 to $100, or both.  

License revocation. 
 Penalty for repeat offenders: Prison 30 to 90 days or fine of $25 to $100, or both.  

License revocation. 
1939 1  Commissioner shall revoke offenders’ driver’s licenses in accordance with 

recommendation of the court. 
1941 1 90 day license revocation. 
 All offenders shall have driver’s license revoked for not less than 90 days. 
1955 1 Blood alcohol concentration (“BAC”) levels defined for use as evidence. 

Results of chemical test for level of alcohol in the blood as measured from blood, breath, 
urine, or saliva specimen taken from defendant within two hours of arrest, is admissible 
as evidence. 

 BAC of .000% to .049% is prima facie evidence of innocence. 
 BAC of .050% to .149% is relevant, but not prima facie, evidence of 

intoxication. 
 BAC of .150% or greater is  prima facie evidence of intoxication. 

1957 1  Two-hour time limit (see 1955:1) changed from two hours from time of arrest to two 
hours from time of offense. 

 2 License revocation reduced. 
 License revocation for first offenders reduced from 90 days to not less than 30 days.   

Penalty for a repeat offense within three years increased to prison for 10 to 90 days, plus 
license revocation for not less than 90 days. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year Reference 
passed number  Description of Amendment 

1957 3 Offense causing injury or death. 
 Penalty for offenders causing grievous injury or death:  prison 60 to 90 days, plus license 

revocation for not less than 90 days. 
1959 1 Open Bottle Law. 
 It is a misdemeanor to have an open container of alcohol in the passenger compartment of 

a vehicle. 
1961 1 Implied Consent Law. 
 Under civil law, a person who drives a motor vehicle on a public roadway is deemed to 

have given consent to a test for blood alcohol concentration by means of testing a blood, 
breath, urine, or saliva specimen. 

 2 Commissioner to revoke driver’s license for 6 months for test refusal. 
 Under the rationale provided by the new civil Implied Consent law, Commissioner shall 

impose a 6-month license revocation on persons who refuse to submit to evidentiary 
BAC test. 

 The Commissioner shall issue a twenty-day temporary license to give the person time to 
appeal, and the license revocation shall take effect at the end of twenty days, barring 
appeal. 

 3 Refusal to submit to evidentiary test shall not be admissible as evidence in criminal court. 
 4 When BAC is measured by test of breath, urine, or saliva, the BAC levels defined as 

“relevant” and “prima facie” evidence of intoxication (see 1955:1) shall be increased by 
20%. 

1967 1 Elimination of use of saliva test to determine BAC. 
 2 Two-hour time limit on collection of evidence removed. 
 3 BAC level of 0.10% is prima facie evidence of intoxication. 

 A BAC of 0.000%—0.049% shall be considered prima facie evidence of 
innocence. 

 A BAC of 0.055%—0.099% shall be considered as relevant, but not prima facie, 
evidence of intoxication. 

 A BAC of 0.100% or greater shall be considered prima facie evidence of 
intoxication. 

 4 When BAC is measured by test of breath or urine, the BAC levels defined as “relevant” 
and “prima facie” evidence of intoxication (see 1967:3) shall be increased by 10%. 

Late 1  The “B-Card” restriction 
1960s Commissioner initiates administrative policy (under authority of MS 171.04, in effect 

since 1957, or before) that the driver’s license of a person convicted of DWI a third time 
within 5 years, or a fourth or subsequent time within ten years, shall be “cancelled and 
denied” on the grounds that the Commissioner has determined that it would be “inimical 
to public safety” for the person to hold a driver’s license. 

 The driver’s license may be reinstated if the person complies with rehabilitation 
requirements established by Commissioner. 

 Included in the administrative procedures is the important restriction now referred to as 
the “B-Card restriction.”   The person’s driver’s license shows the “B-Card” restriction, 
which, specifically, is that the person may not consume any alcohol anywhere under any 
circumstances.   If the commissioner learns that the person has failed to comply with 
this restriction, then the Commissioner re-imposes the “cancel[ed] and deny” action on 
the person’s driver’s license. 

1969 1 Upon medical recommendation, court may stay imposition of criminal penalties on 
condition that offender submit to medical treatment. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year Reference 
passed number Description of Amendment 

1971 1 Criminal per se law enacted. 
 A BAC of .10% is defined to be illegal per se (in itself):  If an evidentiary chemical test 

to determine BAC shows that one-tenth of one percent (1 part per thousand) of the 
driver’s blood is alcohol, then the driver has committed a misdemeanor.  It is not 
necessary to prove that the driver was “intoxicated” or impaired.  The BAC of 0.10% or 
greater is itself a misdemeanor.  

 This landmark law facilitated prosecution; however, it had the unintended effect of 
causing the BAC level, instead of actual impairment, to become the standard for proving 
guilt.  Drivers might be very impaired at lower BAC levels, but a BAC below 0.10% 
would make prosecution difficult. 

 2 Preliminary breath test.  
 Officer may utilize preliminary breath test to help determine if there are probable grounds 

for arrest and for request for the evidentiary test. 
 3 Test at scene of accident, upon probable cause. 
 When a person is involved in a traffic crash causing property damage, injury, or death, 

officer may, upon probable cause to suspect a violation, request preliminary and 
evidentiary BAC tests of person (under penalty of license revocation for refusal). 

 4 The per se illegal BAC level of 0.10% no longer has to be increased by 10% (see 1967:4) 
when BAC is measured through test of breath or urine specimen. 

1973 1 Maximum fine for a first offense increased to $300.00. 
 2 Penalty for offenders causing grievous injury or death reduced to prison for 60 to 90 

days, or fine of not more than $300, or both, plus license revocation for not less than 90 
days.  (Prison is no longer mandated; see 1957:3.) 

1976 1 “Administrative per se” law enacted. 
 Important landmark:  Though the District of Columbia had a similar ordinance, 

Minnesota is the first state to enact the now almost universal “administrative per se” law. 
 The Commissioner of Public Safety automatically imposes a 90-day license revocation 

on drivers found to have a BAC of 0.10% or higher.  The Commissioner first issues a 20-
day temporary license, during which time the driver may request a judicial hearing on the 
administrative revocation.  (Test refusal continues to trigger a six-month license 
revocation; see 1961:1.) 

 A request for a hearing stays imposition of the revocation. 
 2 Commissioner may issue limited licenses to persons whose licenses were revoked under 

the “administrative per se” law. 
 3 Alcohol safety programs in counties 
 Counties of more than 10,000 population shall establish “Alcohol Safety Programs” to 

conduct alcohol problem assessments on DWI (and other) offenders.  Results of 
assessments to be reported to the court. 

 The court may stay criminal penalties and require the offender to get treatment.  The 
court may do this on the basis of the “alcohol problem assessment” report; a medical 
examination of the offender is no longer required. 

 4 If a first-time offender complies with treatment program, the commissioner may 
terminate the administrative per se revocation after 60 days. 

1978 1 Administrative revocation expedited. 
 Arresting officer shall serve as “agent of the commissioner” and shall confiscate the 

person’s driver’s license, forward it to the Commissioner, and shall a issue temporary 
license, valid for 30 days, to the person. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year Reference 
passed number  Description of Amendment 

1978 2 Person has 30 days to request a judicial hearing on the administrative revocation for test 
failure or test refusal.  A request for a hearing stays imposition of the revocation. 

 3 Concept of BAC changed to AC (alcohol concentration). 
 Per se illegal levels are separately defined for alcohol concentrations in blood, breath, 

and urine. 
 4 Criminal penalties explicitly defined. 

 For first offense:  prison for not more than 90 days, or fine of not more than 
$500, or both, plus license revocation for not less than 30 days. 

 Offense within 3 years of a prior offense:  prison for not more than 90 days, or 
fine of not more than $500 (raised from $300), or both, plus revocation of not 
less than 90 days.  

 For offenders causing bodily harm or death:  prison for not more than 90 days, 
or fine of not more than $500, or both, plus license revocation for not less than 
90 days. 

 5 “Aggravated violations” raised to gross misdemeanor status.  
 (An aggravated violation is the act of driving while under the influence while already 

under revocation for driving while under the influence.) 
 6 Jurisdiction for prosecuting aggravated violations transferred from county court to district 

court. 
 7 Upon conviction, court shall act for commissioner by taking person’s driver’s license and 

sending it to the commissioner, if the license has not already been taken by officer at time 
of arrest 

 8 Court shall give due consideration to alcohol problem assessment report. 
 9 “B-Card restriction” upon implied consent violation. 
 Commissioner shall “cancel and deny” driver’s license of persons who incur a third 

incident in five years, or a fourth or subsequent incident in 10 years, where incident is 
defined as either an implied consent violation or an impaired driving conviction.  The 
cancellation shall remain in effect until rehabilitation requirements imposed by the 
commissioner are proven to have been met.  Licenses reinstated will include the “B-card 
restriction” (requiring total abstinence, 24 hour a day).  Formerly, license cancellation 
and denial, and the B-card restriction if reinstated, was only applied upon a third criminal 
conviction.  (See entry under “late 1960s.”) 

1980 1 A request for testimony of person who performed laboratory analysis must be received at 
least ten days in advance of judicial hearing on administrative revocation, and, also, at 
least ten days in advance of trial. 

1981 1 Court may not stay imposition of the license revocation under criminal law (but may still 
order a limited license to be issued). 

1982 1 At a crash scene, upon probable cause, officer may arrest a person for driving while 
under the influence, without warrant, regardless of whether officer witnessed violation. 

 2 Officer no longer required to offer blood test. 
 3 Temporary license issued by officer at time of arrest is valid for 7 days (reduced from 

30). 
 4 Request for judicial hearing no longer stays revocation from taking effect. 
 Defense attorneys had used the mechanism of requesting a judicial hearing on the 

administrative revocation as a tactic to delay and weaken the state’s case. 
 This landmark change, whereby the hearing request no longer stays imposition of the 

revocation, caused hearing requests filed with Attorney General’s Office to decrease from 
about 1,000 per month to about 100 per month. 

 5 Judicial hearing procedure expedited. 
 “The hearing shall be held at the earliest practicable data, and in any event no later than 

60 days following the filing of the petition for review.” 
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Year Reference 
passed number Description of Amendment 

1982 6 Administrative review of the Implied Consent revocation. 
 Establishes procedure, independent of judicial hearing, for administrative review (by 

commissioner) of administrative revocation.  A request for administrative review shall 
not stay imposition of revocation. 

 7 A request for testimony of person who drew blood must be received at least ten days in 
advance of judicial hearing on administrative revocation, and, also, at least ten days in 
advance of trial. 

 8 Alcohol concentration test result on specimen taken within two hours of offense is 
deemed to be alcohol concentration at time of offense.  (Ruled unconstitutional; see 
1984:4) 

 9 Absence of alcohol concentration test shall be admissible as evidence.  
 (Compare with 1961:3 and 1983:2.) 
 10 Repeat offender definition expanded. 
 Definition of second offender expanded to include those who had a prior conviction 

within 5 (increased from 3) years of current incident. 
 11 Repeat offenses raised to gross misdemeanor status. 
 Second offense within 5 years, and third-or-subsequent offense within ten years, raised to 

gross misdemeanor status. 
 12 Longer revocation lengths, under criminal law, upon conviction for third and subsequent 

offenders. 
 13 Courts may no longer require commissioner to issue limited license. 
 14 License revocation imposed on second-time offenders to remain in effect until 

completion of court-ordered treatment program, if any. 
 15 0.07%—0.09% AC provision. 
 Upon a report to the Commissioner that a driver had an AC of 0.070% to 0.099%, and if 

this report is the second such report within two years, the Commissioner shall order the 
person to submit to an alcohol problem assessment, and to treatment, if indicated by the 
assessment.  The Commissioner shall impose a 90-day license revocation if the driver 
fails to comply. 

1983 1 Officer in fresh pursuit may cross geographic limit of his or her jurisdiction to stop and 
arrest suspect. 

 2 Refusal to take evidentiary test is admissible as evidence in trial.  (See 1961:3 and 
1982:9.) 

 3 Offenders from other states. 
 Repeat offenses and aggravated offenses by drivers from other states shall be subject to 

the gross misdemeanor charge if driver’s state of residence has statute in conformity with 
Minnesota’s criminal DWI statute. 

 4 Jurisdiction for prosecuting aggravated violations transferred from district court back to 
county court.  (See 1978:6.) 

1984 1 Evidentiary test made mandatory. 
 New language is added to the Implied Consent Notice, read to the offender at arrest, 

stating that Minnesota law requires the test to be performed.  (As before, if the offender 
refuses the test, the refusal shall trigger license revocation.  Language is more explicit 
now.) 

 2 Administrative revocation for test refusal increased from 6 months to 1 year.  
 3 Longer revocation for juveniles. 
 Juveniles who refuse to take, or who take and fail, the evidentiary test shall experience 

the normal administrative revocation, or revocation until 18 years of age, whichever is 
longer. 

 Also, adults who had adjudications for impaired driving as juveniles may be subject to 
the gross misdemeanor penalties provided for repeat offenders. 
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Year Reference 
passed number Description of Amendment 

1984 4 Alcohol concentration of 0.10% or greater, as measured within 2 hours of offense, is 
made a criminal offense per se.  (See 1982:8.) 

1987 1 County alcohol safety program expanded. 
 All counties (not just those over 10,000 population) must establish an Alcohol Safety 

Program (see 1976:3) for the purpose of conducting alcohol problem screenings, and for 
conducting comprehensive chemical use assessments on persons whom screenings show 
as having a possible problem.  (Effective 8/1/87) 

 2 Violators to pay chemical use assessment fee. 
 All violators shall pay a $75 chemical use assessment fee.  Money collected to be 

credited to newly created “Drinking and Driving Repeat Offense Prevention Account.” 
(8/1/87) 

 3 Snowmobile operation while impaired and ATV operation while impaired made 
comparable to normal motor vehicle operation while impaired.  (8/1/87) 

1988 1 Mandatory License Plate Impoundment Law. 
 Courts mandated to order certain repeat violators to surrender license plates for all 

vehicles which they own or lease.  The following shall be subject to mandatory license 
plate impoundment:  

1. A person who incurs a violation within 5 years of three prior incidents. 
2. A person who incurs a violation within 10 years or four or more prior incidents. 

 (8/1/88) 
 2 Special series license plates. 
 “Special Series” license plates for vehicles may be issued if the violator obtains a limited 

license or if others in violator’s household have a need to operate the vehicle whose 
plates have been impounded.  (8/1/88) 

 (The “special series” plates are recognizable by officers, but not by the general public,  
 as signifying a vehicle whose normal license plates have been impounded.) 
 3 Mandatory minimum criminal sentences. 
 Mandatory minimum sentences established for certain repeat violators (a person who 

incurs an offence within 5 years of a prior incident, or who incurs an offence within 10 
years of two or more prior incidents):  30 days imprisonment, or 8 hours of community 
service for each day less than 30 days served.  (8/1/88) 

1989 1 Test refusal by repeat violators criminalized. 
 It is a gross misdemeanor to refuse an alcohol test if the person has one prior incident 

within 5 years or two or more prior incidents within 10 years of the current incident.  
(8/1/89) 

 2 Commercial Driver’s License “disqualification” introduced. 
 The Commissioner of Public Safety shall disqualify a person from operating a 

commercial motor vehicle (CMV) if the person refuses an alcohol concentration test, or 
takes the test and has an AC of 0.04% or greater.  Length of disqualification to be as 
follows: 

 First violation:  1 year. 
 If violation involved hazardous materials:  3 years. 
 If violation is a second or subsequent violation on record:  10 years. 

 (1/1/90) 
1990 1 Administrative license plate impoundment law. 
 Mandatory license plate impoundment (see 1988:1) changed from judicial 

implementation to administrative implementation (by Commissioner of Public Safety), 
and arresting officer shall act as agent of commissioner and impound license plates at 
time of arrest.  (1/1/91) 

 2 Procedure established for administrative review of plate impoundment action.  (1/1/91) 
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Year Reference 
passed number Description of Amendment 

1990 3 Impaired driving at a railroad crossing raised to gross misdemeanor status.  (8/1/90) 
 4 Comprehensive chemical use assessment on all violators. 
 The requirement that all violators submit to a preliminary alcohol problem screening (and 

then a comprehensive assessment if the screening indicates that there may be a chemical 
dependency problem) is eliminated and replaced by the requirement that all violators 
submit to a comprehensive chemical use assessment.  (8/1/90) 

 5 A new level (third in the list below) of criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offense is 
added.  The categories now are:  Criminal Vehicular Operation resulting in 

 1.  death.  
 2.  great bodily harm. 4.  death to an unborn child. 
 3.  substantial bodily harm (new). 5.  injury to an unborn child. 
 (8/1/90) 
1991 1 Establishes 1-year pilot program to test efficacy of ignition interlock devices.  (8/1/91) 
 2 Counties authorized to channel offenders “considered to be of high risk to the 

community” into a pilot program of intensively supervised probation.  (8/1/91) 
1992 1 Any test refusal is defined to be a crime (1/1/93). 
 (Previously, test refusal by a repeat violator was a crime.  See 1989:1). 
 2 Violations triggering mandatory license plate impoundment (see 1988:1) expanded to 

also include: 
1. any “aggravated violation” (see 1978:5). 
2. any violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person’s 

driver’s license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would be 
inimical to public safety.  (See entry under “late 1960s.”) 

 (1/1/93) 
 3 Chemical dependency assessment fee (see 1987:2), required of all violators except those 

determined indigent, raised from $76 to $125.  (7/1/92) 
 4 Vehicle Forfeiture law. 
 If a person is convicted of  

1. impaired driving within 5 years of 3 prior incidents, or 
2. impaired driving within 10 years of four or more prior incidents, or 
3. aggravated impaired driving, or 
4. any violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person’s 

driver’s license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would 
be inimical to public safety, 

 then the vehicle used in the offense is subject to impoundment and forfeiture.  (1/1/93) 
 5 “Hard revocation” periods established.  
 A person shall not be eligible to obtain a “limited license” for a certain length of time (— 

the “hard” period of the revocation).  The hard periods are as follows: 
 for a first incident:  15 days. 
 for a subsequent incident:  90 days. 
 for a test refusal:  180 days. 

 (1/1/93) 
 6 Recidivism problem study commission established. 
 “Commission on Confinement and Treatment of DWI Recidivists.”  (1/1/93) 
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1992 7 Test may be compelled by force in event of CVO. 
 Test for alcohol and/or controlled substances may be compelled (by force if necessary) if 

there is probable cause to suspect criminal vehicular operation. 
 Since 1961, an officer may “require” a test, but a person might refuse (triggering license 

revocation).  Now, in the event of suspected CVO, officer may require, and compel by 
force if necessary, the test.  (1/1/93) 

1993 1 “Not-a-Drop” law enacted. 
 Upon notification by a court that a person under the age of 21 has been found to have any 

quantity whatsoever of alcohol or of a controlled substance, the Commissioner of Public 
Safety shall revoke the driver’s license of the under-age person.  (6/1/93) 

 2 Child Endangerment law enacted. 
 It is a gross misdemeanor for a person to drive while impaired and there is a child in the 

vehicle who is under the age of 16 and who is more than 36 months younger than the 
offender.  (8/1/93) 

 3 Length of “hard revocation” (see 1992:4) increased to 1 year if the violation includes a 
conviction for criminal vehicular operation.  (1/1/94) 

1994 1 “Habitual Offender” penalties established. 
 A person who incurs 6 or more incidents in 10 years, or 8 or more in 15 years, must be 

sentenced to a minimum of 1 year incarceration or to a program of intensively supervised 
probation.  (8/1/94) 

1996 1 Not-a-drop violation raised to misdemeanor status. 
 In addition to license revocation by the commissioner of Public Safety, the “not-a-drop” 

violation (see 1993:1) is defined to be a misdemeanor offense.  (8/1/96) 
 2 Additional test for controlled substances permitted. 
 Arresting officer is explicitly authorized to require a blood or urine specimen, even after 

a breath test has been performed, if the officer has reason to believe the person was 
impaired by a substance not susceptible to analysis by means of a breath test.  (8/1/97) 

 3 Criminal Vehicular Operation expanded. 
 A new level (fourth in the list below) of criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offenses is 

added.  The categories now are:  Criminal Vehicular Operation resulting in: 
 1.  a fatality. 4.  bodily harm (new). 
 2.  great bodily harm. 5.  death to an unborn child. 
 3.  substantial bodily harm. 6.  injury to an unborn child. 
 (8/1/96) 
1997 1 Special provisions for high-AC (0.20% or higher) offenders established. 
 Driving while having an Alcohol Concentration of 0.20% or higher is defined to be a 

gross misdemeanor. 
 Length of Commissioner’s administrative revocation is doubled from that imposed on 

violators who test below 0.20%.  Revocation lengths therefore are: 
 AC less than 0.20% AC 0.20%+ 
 First incident 90 days 180 days 
 Second incident within 5 years 180 days 360 days 
 Incident by violator under 21 6 months one year 
 (1/1/98) 
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1997 2 New offense category, “Enhanced Gross Misdemeanor,” with stricter criminal penalties, 
established. 

 The following violations are defined to be “enhanced gross misdemeanors:” 
1. Driving while impaired within 10 years of two prior incidents.  
2. Driving with an AC of 0.20% or higher within ten years of a prior incident. 
3. Child Endangerment (see 1993:2) within 10 years of a prior incident. 
4. Driving while impaired and not stopping at a railroad crossing within 10 years 

of a prior incident.  (1/1/98) 
 3 Officer authorized to stop vehicle bearing special plates. 
 Officer is explicitly authorized to stop a vehicle bearing “special series” plates (see 

1988:2) to determine if the driver “is operating the vehicle lawfully.”  (1/1/98) 
 4 Procedure established for “administrative forfeiture” of violator’s vehicle.  
 Prior to this, vehicle forfeiture was conducted through a judicial forfeiture procedure.  

Now, law enforcement agencies may impound a vehicle and institute forfeiture 
procedures.  The following violations will cause the vehicle used in the violation to be 
subject to administrative forfeiture: 

1. a violation within 5 years of 2 prior incidents. 
2. a violation within 15 years of 3 prior incidents. 
3. a violation that includes child endangerment within 5 years of 1 prior incident. 
4. a violation that includes child endangerment within 15 years of 2 prior incidents. 
5. a violation that includes a high AC within 5 years of 1 prior incident. 
6. a violation that includes a high AC within 15 years of 2 prior incidents.  (1/1/98) 

 5 Violations that trigger license plate impoundment (see 1988:1 and 1992:2) are greatly 
expanded to include: 

1. a violation within 5 years of a prior incident. 
2. a violation within 15 years of two or more prior incidents. 
3. an “aggravated violation” (see 1978:6). 
4. a violation that includes a high A.C. (.20% or higher). 
5. a violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person’s 

driver’s license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would 
be inimical to public safety.  (1/1/98) 

1998 1 Program to use “remote [home] electronic alcohol monitoring” established. 
 Judges who sentence offenders to a program of intensively supervised probation (see 

1991:2) are authorized to require violators to submit to a program of remote electronic 
alcohol monitoring.  Unless determined indigent, offenders to pay the per-diem cost of 
the program.  (8/1/98) 

 2 Increased fee for special series plates. 
 Fee for issuing “special series” license plates to violators whose normal license plates 

have been impounded is increased from $25 (for an unspecified number of vehicles) to 
$50 for each vehicle for which special series plates are issued.  (8/1/98) 

1999 1 Enhanced gross misdemeanor repealed. 
 Use of the term “enhanced gross misdemeanor” as a new category of offense (see 1997:2) 

is repealed, but the expanded penalty provisions for the offenses that had been identified 
as “enhanced gross misdemeanors” are retained. 

  Also, courts are explicitly authorized to substitute a program of intensively 
supervised probation, with electronic home alcohol monitoring, in place of the mandatory 
incarceration periods.  (5/25/99) 
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1999 2 Prior violations involving snowmobile, ATV, or motorboat to be counted. 
 Makes explicit that violations triggering the revocation of snowmobile, all-terrain 

vehicle, or motorboat operating privileges are to be included among the types of prior 
violations counted in determining the charge (misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor) made 
for a current incident.  (8/1/99) 

2000 1 All existing impaired-driving statutes are repealed. 
 All provisions of impaired-driving law, with some amendments, are recodified as 

Minnesota Statute 169A, which provides that “this chapter may be cited as the 
Minnesota Impaired Driving Code.” 

 Chief among the statutes repealed are: 
1. MS 168.042, the license plate impoundment law. 

(incorporated into 169A.60). 
2. MS 169.121, the main criminal impaired driving law. 

(incorporated into 169A.20 to 169A.48). 
3. MS169.1211, “alcohol-related” driving by commercial vehicle operators. 

(incorporated into 169A.20, 169A.31, and 169A.50 to 169A.53). 
4.  MS 169.122, the “open-bottle law.” 

(incorporated into 169A.35). 
5. MS 169.123, the main civil (“Implied Consent”) impaired driving law. 

(incorporated into 169A.50 to 169A.53). 
6. MS 169.124 through MS 169.126, mandating counties to provide Alcohol 

Safety Programs to conduct chemical use assessments on persons convicted of 
an offense (when the arrest that led to the conviction was for an impaired driving 
offense). 
(incorporated into 169A.70). 

7. MS 169.1265, authorizing use of intensively supervised probation programs in 
lieu of incarceration. 
(incorporated into 169A.73 and 169A.74). 

8. MS 169.1217, providing for vehicle forfeiture, administrative and judicial 
procedures. (incorporated into 169A.63). 

9. MS 169.126 defining an “aggravated violation.”  
Concept of “aggravated” violations is re-defined in terms of “aggravating 
factors.” (incorporated into 169A.20 through 169A.275). 

 The Not-A-Drop law for underage divers is incorporated into 169A.33. 
 (1/1/01) 
 2 First-, Second-, and Third-Degree Impaired Driving offenses introduced, 

determined by number of “aggravating factors.” 
 Concept of aggravating factors introduced.  Aggravating factors are defined to be: 

1. Child endangerment (see 1993:2). 
2. Having a high (0.20% or higher) alcohol concentration (see 1997:1). 
3. Each prior incident within ten years counts as 1 aggravating factor. 
 A first-degree impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense with two 

or more aggravating factors, and is a gross misdemeanor. 
 A second-degree impaired driving  offense is an impaired driving offense with 

one aggravating factor, and is a gross misdemeanor. 
 A third-degree impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense with 

aggravating factors, and is a misdemeanor. (1/1/98) 
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2000 4 Mandatory license plate impoundment violations (see 1988:1 and 1997:5) further 
expanded to also include: 

1. any violation involving child endangerment (see 1993:2). 
2. an incident within 10 years of a prior incident. 
3. a commercial vehicle driver’s license disqualification (see 1989:2) within ten 

years of prior such disqualification. 
 (1/1/01) 
 3 Custodial arrest for first-degree impaired driving. 
 Officer is mandated to make a custodial arrest (the person must be taken into custody) if 

the officer has reason to believe the person committed a first-degree impaired driving 
offense.  (1/1/01) 

 5 Court is authorized to increase maximum fine by $1,000 if offender has high AC (0.20% 
or higher).  (1/1/01) 

 6 A “working group on DWI Felony” law is established and the Commissioner of 
Corrections is to develop a plan for how felony level offenders may be processed. 

2001 1 Felony DWI law enacted. 
 A felony impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense within ten years of 3 or 

more prior incidents.  The felony penalty is stipulated:  “The court shall sentence [the 
offender]... to imprisonment for not less than three years.  In addition, the court may 
order the person to pay a fine of not more than $14,000.”  (Maximum prison penalty is 
stipulated as “not more than 7 years”.) 

 The new categorization of offense levels is as follows: 
4. First-degree impaired driving offense:  felony. 
5. Second-degree impaired driving offense (two or more aggravating factors):  

gross misdemeanor. 
6. Third-degree impaired driving offense (1 aggravating factor):  gross 

misdemeanor. 
7. Fourth-degree impaired driving offense (no aggravating factors):  misdemeanor. 

 (8/1/02) 
 2 Driver’s license reinstatement fees increased. 
 The total fee had been $250.00 with a $40 surcharge (total $290).  That total is increased to: 

1. $395 ($250 fee and $145 surcharge) effective July 1, 2002. 
2. $630 ($250 fee and $380 surcharge) effective July 1, 2003. 

 3 Custodial arrest for first- and second-degree impaired driving. 
 Officer is mandated to make a custodial arrest (the person must be taken into custody) if 

the officer has reason to believe the person committed a first-degree or a second-degree 
impaired driving offense.  (See 2000:3.)  (8-1-02) 

 4 Two new misdemeanor crimes are defined. 
1. It is a misdemeanor for a person whose vehicles has had its license plates 

impounded to drive any vehicle. 
2. It is a misdemeanor for a person who purchases a vehicle, the plates for which 

have been impounded, to allow the violator to drive the vehicle.  
 (8/1/02) 
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2002 1 License cancellation (and “B-Card restriction” upon reinstatement) triggered 
earlier. 

 Under the commissioner’s authority to withhold a driver’s license from persons whose 
driving behavior is determined to be “inimical to public safety,” a third impaired driving 
incident within 5 years, or a fourth or subsequent one within ten years, triggered the 
Department of Public Safety to “cancel and deny” the person’s driver’s license, until 
rehabilitation is established.  If the license is reinstated, it carries the “B-Card restriction,” 
requiring total abstinence 24 hours a day. 

 By administrative rule, the triggering of the license cancellation (and B-Card restriction if 
reinstated) is advanced to a third or subsequent impaired driving incident within ten 
years. 

 (See entry under late 1960s, and 1978, 9). 
 (November, 2002). 
2003 1 Two inadequate breath samples constitute refusal. 
 In submitting to the breath alcohol test, if a person fails to provide two samples of breath 

that are adequate for the chemical test to be performed, that failure shall “constitute a 
refusal” to provide a breath test.  (8/1/03) 

 2 Test refusal increased to gross misdemeanor offense. 
 A impaired driving incident with no aggravating factors that involves a refusal to take the 

alcohol concentration test is made a third-degree impaired driving offense:  a gross 
misdemeanor.  (8/1/03) 

 3 Prior not-a-drop violations not counted in determining degree. 
 If an offender had a prior “not-a-drop” law violation (see 1993:1), and that prior violation 

did not involve a criminal impaired driving offense or an implied consent violation, then 
that prior violation shall not be included as a prior incident for purposes of determining 
the degree of the current incident.  (8/1/03) 

2004 1 The per se illegal alcohol concentration level is reduced from 0.10% to 0.08%.  
 The new 0.08% illegal per se level applies to criminal offenses and civil law violations.  

That is, effective August 1, 2005, driving while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08% 
or higher is per se a criminal offense that will trigger criminal penalties.  It is also a civil 
(Implied Consent) law violation that triggers the Commissioner of Public Safety to 
impose license revocation or cancellation actions on the violator.  (8/1/05) 

 2 Commercial Driver’s License Disqualification made more stringent. 
 The Minnesota Legislature adopts law that Minnesota shall enforce US Department of 

Transportation Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration requirements regarding 
disqualifying persons from operating commercial motor vehicles.  Those requirements 
(as of 2006) provide that: 

1. if a person is convicted of test refusal or of impaired driving (in any vehicle, not 
just a commercial vehicle), for a first time, he or she shall be disqualified from 
operating a commercial vehicle for one year. 

2. If the conviction was for an incident involving transport of hazardous materials, 
the disqualification shall be for three years. 

3. Any second test-refusal or impaired-driving conviction shall trigger lifetime 
disqualification. 
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2010 1 DWI Sanctions Strengthened;  Ignition Interlocks Required.  
 Legislation adopted to strengthen sanctions against DWI offenders and require certain 

offenders to use ignition interlock devices. The legislation becomes effective July 1, 
2011, and aims to enhance road safety to prevent alcohol-related crashes which account 
for one-third of all Minnesota traffic deaths annually. The legislation gives DWI 
offenders a chance to regain driving privileges by ensuring safe and legal driving through 
the use of interlocks.   Interlock devices are installed in a vehicle and require a driver to 
provide a breath sample in order for the vehicle to start. The vehicle will not start if the 
device detects an alcohol concentration level of 0.02% or above after the driver blows 
into its tube. Interlocks require rolling re-tests after the initial test, and have features to 
deter others from starting the vehicle for the intended user.   The legislation includes: 

1.  DWI offenders with a 0.16% and above alcohol-concentration level will be 
required to have ignition interlock devices installed on any vehicle they drive. 

2. DWI offenders with a 0.16% and above alcohol-concentration level that choose 
not to use ignition interlocks will not have driving privileges ranging from one 
year to six years — depending on offense level. Offenders with three or more 
DWIs in a 10-year period will be required to use interlocks. 

3. Interlock users will regain full driving privileges immediately after the offense, 
ensuring they are driving with a valid license and not a threat on the roadway. 

4.  Interlocks will be used to monitor chronic DWI offenders (three or more DWIs 
in 10 year period) to verify chemical use. 

 (05/18/10) 

Minnesota law dealing with impaired driving is complex.  The chronology above is selective.  Not all amendments can 
be described in detail.  (See the “Overview of Minnesota’s DWI Laws” by Jim Cleary and Rebecca Pirius, reprinted as 
Appendix D, for a complete and accurate description of current law and practice).  Persons with expertise in this area are 
encouraged to notify us if any errors are discovered.
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Prohibited Behaviors  

Minnesota’s DWI law stipulates that it is a 
crime:  

1) to drive, operate, or be in control of any 
motor vehicle anywhere in the state while:  

• under the influence of alcohol, a controlled 
substance, or (knowingly) a hazardous substance, 
or any combination of these;  

• having an alcohol concentration (AC) of .08% 
(.08% means .08 percent alcohol concentration, 
which is 8/10,000ths by volume) or more at the 
time or within two hours of doing so;  

• having any amount or the metabolites of a 
schedule I or II controlled substance, other than 
marijuana, in the body; or  

• if the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle, 
having an alcohol concentration of .04 or more at 
the time or within two hours of doing so; or  

2) to refuse to submit to a chemical test of the 
person’s blood, breath, or urine under Minnesota 
Statutes, section 169A.52 (implied consent law).  

Criminal Penalties  

Criminal penalties upon conviction for DWI are 
tiered, as follows:  

• Fourth-Degree DWI – misdemeanor, punishable 
by up to 90 days of jail and a $1,000 fine (for the 
person’s first impaired driving violation within ten 
years without test refusal or any aggravating factors)  
• Third-Degree DWI – a gross misdemeanor, 
punishable by up to one year of jail and a $3,000 fine 
(for the person’s second impaired driving violation 
within ten years or first such violation with test 
refusal or another aggravating factor)  
• Second-Degree DWI – also a gross misdemeanor 
(for the person’s third impaired driving violation 
within ten years or second such violation with test 
refusal or one other aggravating factor, or first such 
violation with two aggravating factors)  

• First-Degree DWI – felony, punishable by up to 
seven years’ imprisonment and a $14,000 fine 
(for the person’s fourth impaired driving violation 
within ten years or anytime following a previous 
felony DWI or criminal vehicular operation 
conviction; other aggravating factors are not 
considered)  

Aggravating Factor 

This includes:  

• a qualified prior impaired driving incident within 
the preceding ten years;  

• an alcohol concentration of .20 or more upon 
arrest (but not for first-degree DWI); and  

• the presence of a child under age 16 in the 
vehicle, if more than 36 months younger than the 
offender (but not for first-degree DWI).  

Qualified Prior Impaired Driving Incident  

This includes both:  

• prior impaired driving convictions; and  
• prior impaired driving-related losses of license 

(implied consent revocations) or operating 
privileges   

for separate driving incidents within the preceding 
ten years involving any kind of motor vehicle, 
including passenger motor vehicle, school bus or 
Head Start bus, commercial motor vehicle, airplane, 
snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, off-road recreational 
vehicle, or motorboat in operation.  

Chemical Testing   

Minnesota’s implied consent law assumes that a 
person who drives, operates, or is in control of any 
type of motor vehicle anywhere in the state has 
consented to a chemical test of breath, blood, or 
urine for the purpose of determining the presence of 
alcohol or controlled or hazardous substances in the 
person’s body.  The testing is administered at the 
direction of a law enforcement officer when there is 
probable cause that the person has committed a DWI  
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• has been arrested for a DWI violation;  
• has been involved in a motor vehicle crash;  
• has refused to take the DWI screening test; or  
• has taken the screening test and it shows A.C. of 

.08% or more.  

To build probable cause, the officer generally, 
though not always, proceeds as follows:  

• observes the impaired driving behavior and  
forms a reasonable suspicion of an impaired  
driving violation  

• stops and questions the driver  
• administers a standardized field sobriety test 

(SFST)  
• administers a preliminary breath test (PBT)  

If, based on these screening tests, the officer has 
probable cause to believe that a DWI crime has 
occurred, he or she may arrest the person and demand 
a more rigorous evidentiary test of the person’s 
breath, blood, or urine.  Before administering the 
evidentiary test, the officer must read the implied 
consent advisory statement to the person, explaining 
that testing is mandatory, test refusal is a crime, and 
the person has the right to consult an attorney before 
taking the test. If the evidentiary test is requested 
without the advisory being given, then the person may 
be criminally charged and prosecuted following test 
failure or refusal, but the various administrative 
sanctions cannot be applied.  

If the person is unconscious, consent is deemed not 
to have been withdrawn, and the chemical test may 
be administered.  

The officer chooses whether the test will be of the 
person’s breath, blood, or urine.  A person who 
refuses a blood or urine test must be offered another 
type of test (breath, blood, or urine).   
Blood and urine tests are analyzed by the Bureau of 
Criminal Apprehension (BCA), with results available 
within about ten days.  The BCA may certify 
chemical test results directly to the Department of 
Public Safety (DPS).  

Administrative Sanctions  

Apart from any criminal penalties that may result 
from a DWI arrest, the law provides for three 
administrative sanctions, which can commence 
immediately upon arrest.   

1) Administrative License Revocation (ALR)  
Whenever the implied consent law can be invoked 
during the arrest process, the person’s driver’s 
license can be withdrawn immediately following any 
test failure or test refusal. The person is given a 
seven-day temporary license to drive before the 
withdrawal becomes effective.  The period of license 
withdrawal is as follows:  

• 90 days for a person with no qualified prior 
impaired driving incident within the past ten years 
and no other aggravating factor was present in the 
current incident (reducible to 30 days upon DWI 
conviction for a first-time offender)  

• six months, if violator is under age 21  
• 180 days, if person has had a qualified prior 

impaired driving incident within ten years  
• double the applicable period above, if the person 

was arrested with an alcohol concentration of .20 
or more or while having a child under age 16 in 
the vehicle  

• one year, if the person refused to submit to  
the chemical test of blood, breath, or urine  
(reducible to 90 days upon DWI conviction  
for a first-time violation)  

• cancelled and denied indefinitely as inimical to 
public safety, pending treatment and 
rehabilitation for a third or more impaired driving 
incident within a ten-year period  

The person may appeal the administrative license 
revocation, either administratively to DPS and/or 
judicially through the court.  (See Minn. Stat. § 
169A.53 for the procedural details.) 
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2) Administrative License Plate 
Impoundment  

A plate impoundment violation is an impaired 
driving violation involving an aggravating factor, 
such as any of the following:  

• occurring within ten years of a qualified  
prior impaired driving violation by that  
person  

• involving an alcohol concentration of .20 or more  

• having a child under age 16 present in the vehicle  

• occurring while the person’s license has  
been cancelled for the person being inimical  
to public safety  

Plate impoundment applies to:  

• the vehicle used in the plate impoundment 
violation,  

• as well as any vehicle owned, registered, or leased 
in the name of the violator, whether alone or 
jointly.  

A plate impoundment order is issued by the arresting 
officer at the time of arrest and is effective 
immediately.  The officer also seizes the plates and 
issues a temporary vehicle permit valid for seven days 
(or 45 days if the violator is not the owner).  

The minimum term of plate impoundment is one year, 
during which time the violator may not drive any 
motor vehicle unless the vehicle displays specially 
coded plates and the person has been validly 
relicensed to drive. The violator is also subject to 
certain restrictions when selling or acquiring a vehicle 
during the impoundment period.  

Specially coded license plates—signifying to law 
enforcement that the regular plates have been 
impounded for an impaired driving violation—
may be issued for the vehicle(s), provided that:  

• the violator has a properly licensed 
substitute driver;  

• a member of the violator’s household is validly 
licensed;  

• the violator has been validly relicensed; or  
• the owner is not the violator and is validly 

licensed.  

It is a crime for a driver whose plates have been 
impounded to attempt to evade the plate 
impoundment law in certain specified ways, or for 
another person to enable such evasion.  

As with the driver’s license withdrawal sanction, a 
person incurring license plate impoundment may 
appeal this sanction both administratively and/or 
judicially through the court.  (See Minn. Stat. § 
169A.60 for the procedural details.)  

3) Administrative Vehicle Forfeiture  

Minnesota’s DWI law provides for vehicle forfeiture 
for a designated license revocation or designated 
offense, which is typically the third DWI violation 
within a ten-year period, though with one or more 
aggravating factors, a person’s second-time or even 
first-time violation might qualify as well.  

DWI law defines “designated license revocation” as a 
license revocation or commercial license 
disqualification for an implied consent violation 
within ten years of two or more qualified prior 
impaired driving incidents. The term “designated 
offense” includes a DWI violation in the first or 
second degree or involving a person whose driver’s 
license is cancelled as inimical to public safety or 
subject to B-Card (no alcohol) restrictions.  

The law provides that the arresting officer may 
seize the vehicle and requires that the prosecuting 
authority serve notice to the owner(s) of the intent 
to forfeit.  The forfeiture is conducted 
administratively, unless within 30 days the owner 
appeals the forfeiture action by filing for a judicial 
determination of the forfeiture.  

A vehicle is subject to forfeiture under this law only 
if:  

• it was used in the commission of a 
designated offense and the driver was 
 

Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2013 Page 61 Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety 



House Research Department Updated: November 2008 
An Overview of Minnesota’s DWI Laws  

convicted of that offense or failed to appear at 
trial on it, or   

• it was used in conduct resulting in a designated 
license revocation and the driver either fails to 
seek administrative or judicial review of the 
revocation in a timely manner or the revocation 
is sustained upon review.  

Other vehicles owned by the offender are not subject 
to forfeiture. As a protection for an owner who is not 
the offender, the law states that a motor vehicle is 
subject to forfeiture only if its owner knew or should 
have known of the unlawful or intended use of the 
vehicle.  

Following completion of forfeiture, the arresting 
agency may keep the vehicle for its official use.  
However, the security interest or lease of the financial 
institution, if any, is protected, and the lienholder may 
choose to sell the vehicle at its own foreclosure sale or 
agree to a sale by the arresting agency.  A 
proportionate share of the proceeds, after deduction of 
certain expenses, goes to the financial institution. The 
law provides similar protection to any innocent co-
owner, as well.  

Charging the Crime   

DWI violations may be charged by:  

• citation (very rarely done, and only if a 
misdemeanor);  

• tab charge when booking the person into jail; 
and/or  

• complaint prepared by the prosecutor subsequent 
to arrest.  

In the case of a blood or urine evidentiary test, the 
officer typically tab charges the violator at the time of 
arrest for driving under the influence, which is one 
category of DWI crime.  Then, at the person’s first 
court appearance, the prosecutor requests continuation 
of the charges, pending return of the test results from 
the state crime lab.  If the test results indicate an 
alcohol concentration of .08% or more, the prosecutor 
is allowed to add additional charges orally at the 
person’s next court hearing.  Any charging complaint 
that is subsequently prepared would include all 
relevant charges.  

Mandatory Hold and Conditional 
Release Pretrial  

When a person is arrested for a first-degree (felony) 
or second-degree DWI crime, the person must be 
taken into custody and detained until the person’s 
first court appearance, at which time the court 
generally sets bail and specifies conditions of 
release.  Unless maximum bail ($12,000 for gross 
misdemeanor DWI) is imposed, a person charged 
with any of the following offenses may be granted 
pretrial release from detention, but only if the person 
agrees to abstain from alcohol and to submit to 
remote electronic alcohol monitoring (REAM)  
involving at least daily breath-alcohol measurements.  
The offenses are:  

• a third implied consent or DWI violation within 
ten years;  

• a second violation, if under 19 years of age;  
• a violation while already cancelled as inimical to 

public safety for a prior violation; or  
• a violation involving an alcohol concentration of 

.20 or more.  
Further conditions apply to a person charged with a 
fourth or more violation within ten years, including:  

• impoundment of the vehicle registration plates, or 
impoundment of the off-road recreational vehicle 
or motorboat itself, if one was being driven;  

• a requirement for reporting at least weekly to a 
probation officer, involving random breath 
alcohol testing and/or urinalysis; and  

• a requirement to reimburse the court for these 
services upon conviction for the crime.  

Chemical Dependency Assessment and 
Treatment   

Every person convicted of DWI or a reduced charge 
must submit to a chemical use assessment 
administered by the county ($125 fee, plus $5 
surcharge) prior to sentencing.  The court must order 
the person to submit to the level of treatment care 
recommended by the assessment, if the conviction is 
for a repeat offense within ten years or the conviction 
was for DWI with an A.C. of .20% or more.  
Treatment requirements are spelled out in DPS rules.  
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Rehabilitation Following Driver’s 
License Cancellation and Denial  

Chemical dependency rehabilitation is statutorily 
required following a person’s third or subsequent 
impaired driving incident within ten years.  Either a 
conviction or an administrative loss of license, or 
both, constitutes an impaired driving incident.  

Rehabilitation is also required—by DPS 
administrative rule, but not by statute—of a person 
whose license has been cancelled for violating the no 
alcohol provision of a restricted driver’s license—a 
B-Card (which can be obtained only upon successful 
completion of a prior rehabilitation). 

By statute, DPS is authorized to administratively 
establish the standards for rehabilitation, and the 
periods of rehabilitation must be not less than one 
year for the person’s third, and not less than two years 
for the person’s fourth or more impaired driving 
violation.  

Under DPS rules, however, the period of 
rehabilitation is tiered from one to six years, 
according to whether the violator has successfully 
completed rehabilitation previously:  

• one year for the first rehabilitation  
• three years for the second  
• six years for the person’s third or subsequent 

rehabilitation  
According to DPS rules, rehabilitation requires, 
among other things, that the person:   

• successfully complete chemical dependency 
treatment in a program that requires complete 
abstinence from alcohol and controlled 
substances;  

• actively participate in a recognized chemical 
dependency support group;  

• completely abstain from alcohol and controlled 
substances; and  

• obtain sworn affidavits vouching to that 
effect from at least five other familiar 
witnesses (who are not relatives, an 
employer or employees of the person).  

Mandatory Minimum Sentences  

Upon conviction for DWI, repeat offenders are 
subject to the following mandatory minimum 
criminal penalties:  

• second DWI offense within ten years:  

30 days incarceration, at least 48 hours of which 
must be served in jail/workhouse, with eight 
hours of community work service for each day 
less than 30 served  

• third DWI offense within ten years:  
90 days incarceration, at least 30 days of 
which must be served consecutively in a local 
jail/workhouse  

• fourth DWI offense within ten years:  

180 days of incarceration, at least 30 days of 
which must be served consecutively in a local 
jail/workhouse  

• fifth DWI offense within ten years:  

One year of incarceration, at least 60 days of 
which must be served consecutively in a local 
jail/workhouse  

For All Repeat Offenders  

The court may order that the person spend the 
remainder (nonjail portion) of the mandatory 
minimum sentence under REAM or on home 
detention.  

An Alternative to the Mandatory Minimum 
Period of Incarceration  

The court may sentence the offender to a program 
of intensive probation for repeat DWI offenders 
that requires the person to consecutively serve at 
least six days in jail/workhouse and may order that 
the remainder of the minimum sentence be served 
on home detention.  
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Long-term Monitoring Required  

Long-term monitoring applies to most third-time DWI 
offenders and all those under age 19.  When the court 
stays part or all of a jail sentence, it must order the 
offender to submit to REAM for at least 30 days each 
year of probation.  

Felony DWI Penalties  

If a person is convicted of felony DWI and given a 
stayed prison sentence, then that person must be 
sentenced in accordance with the local sentencing 
provisions described in this section. (For more, see 
the Felony DWI section.)  

Intermediate Sanctions and Probation  

When sentencing a DWI offender, the court may 
impose and execute a sentence to incarcerate, or it 
may stay imposition or execution of sentence and:  

• order intermediate sanctions without 
probation; or  

• place the person on probation with or 
without supervision and under terms the 
court prescribes, including intermediate 
sanctions if prescribed.  

The term “intermediate sanction” includes but is not 
limited to jail, home detention, electronic monitoring, 
intensive supervision, sentencing to service, day 
reporting, chemical dependency and mental health 
treatment, restitution, fines, day fines, community 
work service, restorative justice work, and work in 
lieu of fines or restitution.  

For DWI convictions, the maximum period of the 
stay of sentence, is:  

• two years, for a misdemeanor conviction;  
• six years, for a gross misdemeanor conviction; 

and  
• seven years, for a felony DWI conviction.  

Felony DWI  

Minnesota criminal law defines the term felony to 
mean any crime for which incarceration of more  

than one year may be imposed.  Under Minnesota’s 
felony DWI law, a person who commits first-degree 
DWI is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to:  

• imprisonment for not more than seven years (or 
more than seven years if the person has other 
prior criminal history);  

• a fine of not more than $14,000;  
• or both.   

A person is guilty of first-degree DWI if the 
person violates DWI law:  

• within ten years of three or more qualified prior 
impaired driving incidents (defined as prior 
convictions or license revocations for separate 
impaired driving incidents); or  

• has previously been convicted of a felony DWI 
crime; or   

• has previously been convicted of a felony-level 
crime of criminal vehicular homicide or injury 
(CVO) involving alcohol or controlled 
substances.  

Unlike nonfelony DWI crimes, being arrested with a 
high alcohol concentration (.20 or more)  or under 
circumstances of child endangerment are not defined 
as aggravating factors for felony DWI; instead, only 
qualified prior impaired driving incidents and prior 
convictions for felony CVO are considered.  

When sentencing a person for a felony DWI 
offense, the court:  

• must impose a sentence to imprisonment for not 
less than three years; and  

• may stay execution of this mandatory sentence, 
but may not stay imposition of this sentence or 
sentence the person to less than three years 
imprisonment.  

A person sentenced to incarceration in prison for 
felony DWI is not eligible for early release unless the 
person has successfully completed a chemical 
dependency treatment program while in prison.  
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The court must also order that after a felony DWI 
offender is released from prison, the person must be 
placed on conditional release for five years, under any 
conditions that the commissioner of corrections opts 
to impose, including an intensive probation program 
for repeat DWI offenders.  If the person fails to 
comply with the conditions of release, the 
commissioner may revoke it and return the person to 
prison.  

If the court stays execution of the mandatory prison 
sentence, then it must apply the mandatory penalties 
for nonfelony DWI offenses (jail and/or intensive 
probation, as described in a preceding section) and 
must order as well that the person submit to long-term 
alcohol monitoring and the level of treatment 
prescribed in the chemical dependency assessment.  If 
the person violates any condition of probation, the 
court may order that the stayed prison sentence be 
executed.  

The Minnesota sentencing guidelines recommend a 
stayed sentence of 36 months, 42 months, and 48 
months for a felony DWI conviction for a person 
with zero, one, or two criminal history points 
respectively, and they specify a presumptive 
commit-to-prison for a person with a criminal 
history score of three or more.  

To illustrate, a person convicted of felony DWI who 
has had seven qualified prior impaired driving 
incidents within the past ten years, but no other 
criminal convictions, would likely reach the threshold 
for a presumptive commit, as follows:  

• three of those priors are used to establish the basis 
for enhancing the current DWI offense to a 
felony-level crime (but these cannot also be used 
to determine the person’s criminal history score)  

• the other four priors—provided they involved 
DWI convictions—count as one-half criminal 
history point each, for a total of two points 

 
• one criminal history point—a custody status 

point—would result from the current  
impaired driving incident occurring while the 
person is on probation for a prior impaired driving 
incident, as would almost certainly be the case in 
this example  

Thus, this hypothetical offender would have a 
criminal history score of three when facing sentencing 
on the current felony-level DWI offense; the person’s 
presumptive sentence under the guidelines would be 
to commit to prison for 54 months.  With one less 
qualified prior incident during the preceding ten years, 
the guidelines would call for a presumptive stayed 
sentence of 48 months.  
 
Criminal Vehicular Homicide and 
Injury  

Criminal law defines six levels of criminal vehicular 
operation (CVO)—all but one constituting felony 
offenses—depending on the level of injury inflicted:  

• criminal vehicular homicide (causing death, but 
not constituting murder or manslaughter)  

• great bodily harm (serious permanent injury)  
• substantial bodily harm (temporary substantial 

injury)  
• bodily harm (pain or injury—a gross 

misdemeanor)  
• death to an unborn child  
• injury to an unborn child  
A common element to each of these CVO crimes is 
that the person causes the specified harm to another 
person as a result of operating a motor vehicle under 
any of the following conditions:  
• in a grossly negligent manner  
• in violation of any of the elements of regular DWI 

law  
• where the driver who causes the accident leaves 

the scene in violation of Minnesota’s felony 
fleeing law  

• where a citation was issued that the vehicle was 
defectively maintained, the driver knew  
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remedial action was not taken, the defect created 
a risk to others, and injury or death resulted from 
the defective maintenance  

In practice, most CVO prosecutions involve 
simultaneous violation of DWI law.  

Under the sentencing guidelines, conviction for 
criminal vehicular homicide or death to an unborn 
child carries a presumptive commit to prison for 48 
months, for an offender with no other criminal history 
points. 

Limited Driver’s License – Work 
Permit  

A person whose driver’s license has been revoked for 
an implied consent violation or DWI conviction may 
apply for a limited license to drive:  

• to and from a job, or for a job;  
• to chemical dependency treatment;  
• to provide for the educational, medical, or 

nutritional needs of the family; and/or  
• for attendance at a postsecondary educational 

institution.  
However, the law requires a waiting period (i.e., hard 
revocation) before a suspended or revoked driver may 
apply for a limited license.  The waiting period is:  
• 15 days for a first-time implied consent or DWI 

violator;  
• 90 days for a second-time or subsequent violator 

who complied with the A.C. test;  
• 180 days for a second or subsequent-time violator 

who refused the test;   
• one year for a person revoked for manslaughter or 

criminal vehicular homicide;  
• if under the age of 18, for twice the applicable 

period above, with a minimum of 90 days;  
• for twice the applicable period above, if person’s 

A.C. was .20 or more at the time of violation; and  
• an additional 60 days, if the license withdrawal 

involved use of the vehicle in commission of a 
felony crime or an injury accident involving 
failure to stop and disclose identity.  

For the most part, a limited driver’s license may not 
be issued to a driver whose license is cancelled and 
denied for a third or more DWI violation. However, 
Minnesota law authorizes DPS to issue a limited 
license to a person whose driver’s license is revoked 
or cancelled if the person qualifies for participation in 
an ignition interlock program. (Contact DPS Office of 
Traffic Safety for more information.)  

Restricted Driver’s License – The B-
Card  

Driver’s licensing law allows DPS to impose 
restrictions on a person’s license to “assure safe 
operation.” Under DPS rules, a person whose driver’s 
license has been cancelled and denied for a third or 
subsequent impaired driving violation and who has 
successfully completed treatment and rehabilitation 
may apply for a restricted driver’s license, a B-Card, 
provided that the person signs a sworn statement to 
never again consume any alcohol (not even in a 
religious service, in medication, in any other manner 
or amount, irrespective of whether the act involves 
driving).  

Any violation of this “no alcohol” restriction of the 
B-Card results in immediate cancellation of that 
driver’s license (but is not a crime unless it involves 
operation of a motor vehicle).  A subsequent 
rehabilitation is required to regain the B-Card.  

Under DPS rules, the minimum period of time for 
establishing rehabilitation for which the person 
must prove total alcohol abstinence, is:   

• one year for the first rehabilitation,  

• three years for the second rehabilitation, and   
• six years for the third or subsequent rehabilitation.  

It is only following such rehabilitation that the 
offender whose driver’s license has been cancelled 
may apply for a B-Card license.  The rehabilitation 
requirements following a B-Card violation are not 
mandated by statutes, but have been established 
administratively by DPS rules.
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Violation of the “no alcohol” restriction of a B-Card 
while operating a motor vehicle is a gross 
misdemeanor.   

Record Keeping  

Records of implied consent license actions and 
DWI convictions must be retained permanently on 
the official driving record.  

The “no alcohol” restriction of a person’s B-Card 
also remains in effect and on the person’s driving 
record permanently. A temporary law enacted in 
2005 allowed B-Card holders who had gone ten 
years without a repeat violation to request a 
duplicate driver’s license without the “No 
Alcohol” verbiage showing under “Restrictions.”  
However, that law expired July 31, 2006, and as a 
result, the restriction then went back to a 
permanent restriction.  In 2010 with the passage of 
the sanctions law a person with the restriction can 
now request that the restriction be removed after 
they’ve been alcohol free for ten years.  

Driver’s License Reinstatement Fees  

Before becoming relicensed to drive after the 
period of license withdrawal stemming from an 
implied consent violation or DWI conviction, a 
person must pass the license examination and re-
apply for a driver’s license and pay the following 
fees:  

• $250 – driver’s license (DL) reinstatement fee 
(basic fee)  

• $430 – surcharge on the DL reinstatement fee  
• $24 – DL application fee  

The $250 driver’s license reinstatement fee and 
$430 surcharge apply to alcohol-related and CVO-
related license withdrawals only; the standard 
reinstatement fee of $30 applies following loss of 
license for other reasons.  

Effective July 1, 2009, certain persons who are 
eligible for a public defender may pay the 
reinstatement fee and surcharge in two 
installments.  A handling fee may be imposed for 

utilizing the installment plan.  The driver’s 
license expires in two years unless the second 
installment is paid.  Full payment of the fee and 
surcharge is required before a person can renew a 
license on the standard schedule or reinstate a 
cancelled, revoked, or suspended license.  

First-time DWI Violator Using an Off-
road Recreational Vehicle or 
Motorboat   

A violator who has no qualified prior impaired 
driving incident is subject only to the criminal 
penalty (a misdemeanor) and the loss of operating 
privileges for that type of vehicle.  

The person is not subject to driver’s license 
revocation, mandatory chemical dependency 
assessment and treatment, mandatory conditions of 
release, long-term monitoring, the penalty assessment 
fee, or license plate impoundment.  

Any person arrested for a DWI violation involving an 
off-road recreational vehicle or motorboat and who 
has a qualified prior impaired driving incident on 
record is subject to the same administrative sanctions 
and criminal penalties as the person would be if 
arrested while driving a regular motor vehicle.  

Commercial Vehicle Driving  

DWI law sets a lower per se alcohol concentration 
limit for driving commercial motor vehicles, .04 
instead of .08, and the implied consent law allows for 
a chemical test upon probable cause that the 
commercial vehicle driver has consumed any amount 
of alcohol.  

A person who violates the .04 standard while driving 
a commercial motor vehicle is subject to a period of 
disqualification (one year for the first violation and 
ten years for any subsequent violation) from 
commercial motor vehicle driving. The person would 
remain validly licensed to drive regular motor 
vehicles unless he or she also has violated regular 
DWI law by exceeding the .08 per se standard or by  
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driving while impaired or with any amount of certain 
controlled substances in the body, in which case the 
person would be subject to the full range of applicable 
penalties and sanctions of regular DWI law. In 
addition, a commercial motor vehicle driver who 
incurs license revocation or cancellation for an 
impaired driving violation in a personal passenger 
vehicle receives no special dispensations from the 
sanctions and penalties that apply to other drivers—
the person is prohibited from driving any type of 
vehicle until becoming validly relicensed to drive.  

School Bus Driving  

DWI law provides an even stricter standard of zero 
tolerance for school bus driving, by making it 
unlawful to drive a school bus when there is physical 
evidence in the person’s body of the consumption of 
any amount of alcohol. In addition to criminal 
penalties, such a violation also triggers cancellation of 
the person’s school bus driving endorsement and, 
upon conviction, disqualification of the person’s 
commercial driving privileges.  However, as with 
other nonbus commercial vehicle DWI violations, the 
person would remain validly licensed to drive regular 
motor vehicles unless he or she also has violated the 
higher standards of regular DWI law.  

Flying Airplanes  

A special DWI law establishes a .04 per se standard 
for alcohol concentration while flying and also 
criminalizes test refusal. Violation is always a gross 
misdemeanor.  

It also is unlawful to fly within eight hours of any 
alcohol consumption—a zero-tolerance standard, 
but time limited.  Violation is a misdemeanor.   

Special Laws for Youth   

DWI laws apply equally to drivers of all ages.  DWI 
violations require either evidence of impaired driving 
or an alcohol concentration of .08% or higher, or the 
presence of certain illegal substances in the person’s 
body, during or within two hours of the time of 
driving, operating, or being in control of a motor 

vehicle, broadly defined.  However, two additional 
alcohol-related laws apply to youth under age  
21.  

Drivers aged 16 and 17 years old who violate the 
DWI laws are under the jurisdiction of the adult court, 
not the juvenile court.  As such, they are subject to the 
full range of adult penalties and consequences.  

The drinking age law prohibits a person who is 
under the age of 21 from:  

• consuming alcohol without parental permission 
and supervision;  

• purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol;  
• possessing alcohol with intent to consume;  
• entering a liquor store or bar for the purpose of 

purchasing or consuming alcohol; or  
• misrepresenting one’s age for the purpose of 

purchasing alcohol.  

A violation of this statute is a misdemeanor and 
carries a mandatory minimum fine of $100.  
However, it does not result in suspension of the 
driver’s license unless the person has used a driver’s 
license, Minnesota ID card, or any type of false 
identification to purchase or attempt to purchase 
alcohol (90 days suspension).  

For purposes of these laws, a person does not attain 
the age of 21 until 8:00 a.m. on the day of the 
person’s 21

st
 birthday.  

Underage Drinking Driving – Zero 
Tolerance  

Minnesota’s DWI law provides misdemeanor 
penalties and driver’s license suspension for any 
driver under age 21 who is convicted of driving a 
motor vehicle anywhere in the state while consuming 
alcohol or while there is physical evidence of such 
consumption present in the person’s body.  (This law 
applies only to the driver and not to any passengers.)  

However, a violation of the zero-tolerance law for 
underage drinking and driving does not in 

Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2013 Page 68 Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety 



House Research Department Updated: November 2008 
An Overview of Minnesota’s DWI Laws  

itself constitute a DWI/impaired driving  
violation, nor can it be used as an 
enhancing factor for any subsequent DWI 
violation.   

For more information about DWI, visit 
the criminal justice area of our web site,  
www.house.mn/hrd/  
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