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NEW 

Welcome to the 2013 minnesota hunting seasons. 
New regulations are listed below. Have a safe and enjoyable hunt. 

neW Regulations FoR 2013 
licensing 

• Apprentice Hunter validations are now available to non-residents. See
pages 13 and 18.

• All deer license buyers, including archery hunters, will be asked which
area they hunt most often when they purchase a license.This is for
information only and does not obligate the hunter to remain in the area
indicated. 

• Age requirement changes for a youth licenses are noted on pages 10-15
for turkey, deer, and bear.

• Small game license are no longer required for youth under age 16.
• Starting August 1 license agents will charge $1 issuing fee for lottery,

free licenses, and applications.
• Some hunting and fishing licenses can be purchased using a mobile

device. An electronic copy of the license will be sent by email or text,
which must be provided to an enforcement officer upon request.
Not all licenses will be available, including those that require tags.
Go to mndnr.gov/BuyALicense 

trapping/Furbearers 
The bag limit for fisher and marten is now two combined (one fisher and

one marten or two fisher or two marten). 

Prairie chickens 
The prairie chicken season is open Sept.  28-Oct. 6 and some permit area

boundaries have changed. See http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/hunting/prai­
riechicken/index.html 

Bear hunting 
• Bears can now be registered online or by phone, but hunters must still

submit a tooth sample. More information is available online http://files.
dnr.state.mn.us/recreation/hunting/bear/bear_regs.pdf

• Bear hunters can register bait stations online at https://webapps8.dnr.
state.mn.us/bear_bait_registration/authentication/login 

crow 
Crow season dates have changed. See page 42. 

Deer hunting 
• The October Early Antlerless deer season is open in portions of two

permit areas in southeast Minnesota. See pages 63 and 73.
• Deer must be registered within 48 hours of harvest. 
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Important: This is a summary of Minnesota’s hunting and trapping 
regulations.  For complete regulations, consult the state statutes and rules.

These regulations are valid from July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014.
Complete waterfowl regulations can be found in the 2013 Waterfowl

Supplement, available online in mid-August and wherever licenses
are sold. 
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TRESPASS LAW 
Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have against hunters.

Trespassing is illegal and can ruin hunters’ and the DNR’s relations with
private landowners.This could in turn hamper habitat programs, cut off
land access, and possibly eliminate the future of hunting in many areas of
Minnesota. 

Always ask permission before entering private land. Any entry onto
the private property of another without permission is considered trespass.
Landowners may be able to pursue court action against trespassers whether
the property is posted or not. if you are caught trespassing, you may be issued
a citation and assessed a fine under civil penalties, and repeat violators can
lose their license or registration. Or, if you are convicted of violating trespass
laws under criminal procedures, you may lose your hunting privileges for up
to 2 years, lose hunting equipment, and be subject to fines and possibly a jail
sentence. All DNR conservation officers and all other licensed peace officers
enforce trespass laws and may issue a citation to a person who trespasses
in violation of the law or who removes a sign without authorization. A
summary of the Minnesota Outdoor Recreation Trespass Law begins below. 

RestRictions 
• A person may not enter legally posted land for outdoor recreation


purposes without permission.

• A person may not enter agricultural land for outdoor recreation purposes

without permission.
• A person may not remain on private land for outdoor recreation


purposes after being told to leave.

• On another person’s private land or a public right-of-way, a person

may not take a wild animal with a firearm within 500 feet of a building
occupied by humans or livestock without written permission of the
owner, occupant or lessee of the building. A person may hunt from the
water or from public land that is within 500 feet of a building occupied
by humans or livestock.

• A person may not take a wild animal with a firearm within 500 feet of a
corral containing livestock without permission.

• A person may not take a wild animal on any land where the person is
prohibited from lawfully entering by this law.This prohibition includes
coyote hunters intentionally running their dogs on posted or agricultural
land without permission of the landowner, occupant, or lessee.

• A person may not wound or kill another person’s domestic animal,
destroy private property, or pass through a closed gate without returning
it to the original position. 
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exceptions 
• A person on foot may, without permission, enter land that is not posted

to retrieve a wounded animal that was lawfully shot, but may not
remain on the land after being told to leave.

• A person on foot may, without permission, enter private land without
a firearm to retrieve a hunting dog. After retrieving the dog, the person
must immediately leave the premises.This exception does not authorize
the taking of the wild animal.

• A person on foot may, without permission, enter land that is posted

with “Walk-in Access” signs.
 

Definitions and Posting Requirements 
“Outdoor Recreation” means any activity including hunting, fishing,

trapping, boating, hiking, camping, and engaging in winter sports which is
conducted primarily for the purposes of pleasure, rest or relaxation and is
dependent on or derives its principal benefit from natural surroundings.

“Agricultural land” is land that: 1) is plowed or tilled; 2) has standing crops
or crop residues; 3) is within a maintained fence for enclosing domestic
livestock (including horses); 4) is planted to native or introduced grassland
or hay land; or 5) is planted to short-rotation woody crops (hybrid poplar
and other woody plants that are harvested for their fiber within 15 years of
planting). 

Important:
All planted grassland and hayland and all hybrid poplar and other

woody plants that are harvested for their fiber within 15 years of
planting are considered agricultural land, including grasslands enrolled
in the federal Conservation Reserve Program (CRP), Conservation
Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP), or the state Reinvest in
Minnesota (RiM) Reserve program.These lands do not need to be
posted to prevent unauthorized trespass. However, land that is brush or
trees, must be posted or verbal notice given to trespassers for criminal
enforcement to occur. 

Hunters and Trappers: Always respect private lands. Ask first before
entering lands not posted as being open to hunting and trapping. You will
improve relationships between landowners and recreationists, and you will
have a more enjoyable time in the field.

To be legally posted, land must have signs:
• posted once each year that state “no trespassing” or similar terms either:

> along the boundaries every 1,000 feet or less, or in wooded areas
where boundaries are less clear, at intervals of 500 feet or less; or

> at the primary corners of each parcel of land and at access roads
and trails at points of entrance to each parcel, except corners only
accessible through agricultural land need not be posted. 
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• with lettering at least 2 inches high and the signature or the legible
name and telephone number of the owner, occupant, lessee, or author­
ized manager. An unauthorized person may not post land with signs
prohibiting outdoor recreation or trespass.

Notification to stay off private land, authorization to remove a sign posted
to prevent trespass, or legal permission to enter private land or to take wild
animals near occupied buildings or corrals, may only be given by the owner,
occupant, or lessee. 
Penalties 

Violating the Minnesota Trespass Law can make you subject to either
civil or criminal penalties:

• Civil penalties are: 1) $50 for the first violation; 2) $200 for the second
violation in a 3-year period; 3) $500 and loss of every license and regis­
tration being used for a third or subsequent violation in a 3-year period;
and 4) $50 for unauthorized removal of a sign posted under this law.

• Criminal penalties are at least a misdemeanor for violation of this law.
in addition, it becomes a gross misdemeanor to: knowingly disregard
signs prohibiting trespass, trespass after being told not to do so, or to
violate the trespass law twice within a 3-year period. Anyone convicted
of a gross misdemeanor violation of the trespass law while hunting,
fishing, trapping, or snowmobiling will have the applicable license and
registration for that activity revoked and will have all hunting privileges
suspended for 2 years. 

Rules of thumb for Water access and Recreational use 
These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all water

access and recreational use situations. if you have doubts about whether you
may be trespassing on private land, we recommend that you ask the land­
owner for permission.

1. What is lawful access? 
A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or if

public land or a public road right-of-way abuts the surface of the water,
or if you have permission to cross private land to reach the surface of
the water. 
2. What is recreational use? 

Recreational use includes boating, swimming, fishing, hunting, trapping,
and similar activities. it includes walking in the water in connection with
such activities regardless of who owns the land beneath the surface of
the water. 
3. What waters are open to recreational use?

A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface if it is
capable of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any water that
will float a canoe is capable of recreational use, but other waters may also
qualify depending upon the circumstances. 
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landowner liability (minn. stat. 604a.20-604.27) 
An owner who gives written or oral permission for the use of the land for

recreational purposes without charge does not, by that action:
• extend any assurance that the land is safe for any purpose,
•	 confer upon the person the legal status of an invitee or licensee to whom

a duty of care is owed, or 
•	 assume responsibility for or incur liability for any injury to the person or

property caused by an act or omission of the person. 
Road Right-of-Way 

Some road right-of-ways are not owned by a unit of government. in
these instances the landowner has granted an easement for vehicle and foot
travel.The landowner generally retains authority to restrict access for hunt­
ing or trapping and may prohibit trespass by posting the land or by verbally
directing hunters and trappers to leave the easement. it’s always best to ask
permission if in doubt about the ownership of a road ditch area. County or
township offices also may be able to help determine the ownership status of a
road ditch. 

Helpful examples of road right-of-way ownership and public use include:
• interstate highways are normally owned by the government, but hunting

is not allowed. 
• State highways are most often owned by the state, but there may be a

mix of easements and state ownership.
• County roads may be owned by the county, or there may be easements.

Roadways with easements tend to be gravel, while roads owned by
the county tend to be paved. Road surface is a visual indicator of the
ownership but is not an absolute condition.

• Township roads are generally easement and not owned by the township,
but some township roads are owned by the township.  As is the case with 
county roads, road surface can be a visual indicator of the ownership.

• The ownership or easement status can vary on any one stretch of road,
and can vary from road to road.

Visually, the road right-of-way is improved and maintained, and you
will normally notice a change in the property – including such things as
ditches, fence lines, etc.The actual distance from the center of the road that is
improved and maintained can vary under ownership or easement, and from
one location to another. 

FYI… 
Public hunting land maps 

Find the exact boundaries of WMAs, WPAs, state forests,
national forests, and national wildlife refuges on DNR Public
Recreation information Maps (PRiM).The maps are available at
major sports retailers and the DNR Gift Shop in St. Paul. 



2013 Minnesota Hunting Regulations

10

A license to take wild animals that was lawfully obtained continues to be 
valid for the balance of the license period if the licensee’s age, residency, or 
student qualification status changes.

Prices do not include additional issuing fees.	
A youth's age on opening day of a particular season determines eligibility.	

License Requirements

Resident Hunting
Code Fee

APPRENTICE 
Validation

199 Born after 12/31/79 
age 12 or over

Validation to allow an individual to hunt small game, 
bear, and deer without having completed hunter 
education firearms safety, must purchase additional 
required licenses, good for two license years in a lifetime

$3.50

SPORTS 216 Individual Sports Individual Angling and Small Game ($31.50 plus 
$6.50 surcharge “paid by hunters for the acquisition 
and development of wildlife lands”)

$38

142 Individual Super 
Sports

Individual Angling including Trout/Salmon Stamp, 
Small Game including pheasant and waterfowl, a 
deer tag (archery, firearms or muzzleloader) ($86.50 
plus $6.50 surcharge “paid by hunters for the 
acquisition and development of wildlife lands”)

$93* 

217 Married Combination 
Sports

Two Angling and One Small Game ($45.50 plus 
$6.50 surcharge “paid by hunters for the acquisition 
and development of wildlife lands”)

$52

143 Married Combination 
Super Sports

Combination Angling including Trout/Salmon Stamp, 
Individual Small Game including Pheasant and 
Waterfowl, Individual Deer tag (archery, firearms or 
muzzleloader) ($110.50 plus $6.50 surcharge “paid 
by hunters for the acquisition and development of 
wildlife lands”)

$117*

SMALL 
GAME & 
TRAPPING

NA Youth under age 16 
Annual

Small Game License Not
Required

208 Youth age 16-17 
Annual

Small Game License $5

211 Adult age 18 or over 
and under age 65 
Annual

Small Game License ($15.50 plus $6.50 surcharge 
“paid by hunters for the acquisition and development 
of wildlife lands”)

$22

100 Senior Age 65 and 
over Annual

Small Game License ($7 plus $6.50 surcharge 
“paid by hunters for the acquisition and development 
of wildlife lands”)

$13.50

144 Adult Age 18 and over 
Consecutive 72-Hour

Small Game License (72-hour state waterfowl and 
pheasant stamps included)

$19**

671 
672

Furbearer site 
validation coupons

Fisher/Marten (671) or River Otter (672) Free

NEW

NEW

LICENSE
CHANGE

LOWER
PRICE

NEW

 update
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LOWER 
PRICE 218 Junior Trapping 

Annual age 13 to 17 
Age 13 to 17 trapping license, small game license 
also required for 16-17 

$5 

214 Adult Trapping 
Annual age 18 or 
over and under 65 

Age 18 and over trapping license, small game 
license also required 

$23 

101 Senior Trapping 
Annual age 65 or over 

Age 65 and over trapping license, small game 
license also required 

$11.50 

STAMPS 229 Pheasant Age 18 to 64 state pheasant validation, small game 
or sports license required 

$7.50 

226 State Waterfowl Age 18 to 64 state waterfowl validation, small game 
or sports license required, federal migratory bird 
hunting validation also needed 

$7.50 

TURKEY 600 Adult Lottery 
Application 

Turkey Lottery Application Fee when needed $4 

AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 619 Youth under age 13 Turkey License Spring Any Weapon Free 

AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 598 Youth under age 13 Turkey License Spring Archery Free 

AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 641 Youth under age 13 Turkey License Fall Any Weapon Free 

AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 601 Youth age 13 or over 

and under 18 
Turkey License Spring Any Weapon $5 

AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 606 Youth age 13 or over 

and under 18 
Turkey License Spring Archery $5 

LOWER 
PRICE 

AGE 
CHANGE 655 Youth age 13 or over 

and under 18 
Turkey License Fall Any Weapon $5 

610 Adult age 18 or over Turkey License Spring Any Weapon $26 

607 Adult age 18 or over Turkey License Spring Archery $26 

650 Adult age 18 or over Turkey License Fall Any Weapon $26 

596 Change Area Youth Turkey Spring Change Area License Youth $5 

597 Change Area Adult Turkey Spring Change Area License Adult $5 

613 Surplus Spring Adult over 18 Spring Surplus, D-H over the counter, 
or extra lottery permits 

$26 

WALK-IN 
ACCESS 

NEW 190 Access Validation 
ALL ages 

Walk-In Access Hunter Validation $3 

102 
103 
104 

Donation Voluntary donation on small game and deer licenses 
"The small game license donations are being paid by 
hunters for administration of the Walk-In Access program" 

$5.00 
$3.00 
$1.00 

DEER 
LOWER 
PRICE 

AGE 
CHANGE 246 

247 
248 

Youth age 10 or over 
and under 13 

Must obtain a free license to take big game 
(code 246 ARCHERY, 247 FIREARMS, 248 
MUZZLELOADER) 

Free 

LOWER 
PRICE 

AGE 
CHANGE 210 Youth age 13 or over 

and under 18 
Deer by FIREARMS ($0.50 is credited to the wolf 
management and monitoring account, $2 credited to 
deer management) 

$5* 

AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 209 Youth age 13 or over 

and under 18 
Deer by ARCHERY ($0.50 is credited to the wolf 
management and monitoring account) 

$5* 
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AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 204 Youth age 13 or over 

and under 18 
Deer by MUZZLELOADER ($0.50 is credited to the 
wolf management and monitoring account) 

$5* 

212 Adult age 18 and over Deer by FIREARMS ($0.50 is credited to the wolf 
management and monitoring account) 

$30* 

213 Adult age 18 and over Deer by ARCHERY ($0.50 is credited to the wolf 
management and monitoring account) 

$30* 

203 Adult age 18 and over Deer by MUZZLELOADER ($0.50 is credited to the 
wolf management and monitoring account) 

$30* 

312 Zone Change Deer Firearms Zone Change $5 

422 Early Season Antlerless Deer Early Season Antlerless $7.50 

201 Disease Management Deer Disease Management License $2.50 

430 Bonus Bonus Permit (of which $1.00 goes to the venison 
donation program) 

$15* 

WOLF 680 Application Wolf Application $4 

681 License Wolf Early Firearm $30 

683 License Wolf Late Firearm $30 

685 Trapping Wolf Trapping License $30 

686 License Wolf Surplus Early Firearm $30 

688 License Wolf Surplus Late Firearm $30 

690 Trapping Wolf Surplus Trapping $30 

691 License Military On Leave Wolf Early Firearm Free 

692 License Military On Leave Wolf Late Firearm Free 

693 Trapping Military On Leave Trapping Free 

694 License Military Discharge Wolf Early Firearm Free 

695 License Military Discharge Wolf Late Firearm Free 

696 Trapping Military Discharge Wolf Trapping Free 

ELK LOWER 
PRICE 625 Application Elk Application $4 

BEAR 662 Application Bear Application $4 
AGE 
CHANGE 659 Youth age 10 or over 

and under 13 
Bear License $44 

AGE 
CHANGE 674 Youth age 10 or over 

and under 13 
Surplus Bear License $44 

AGE 
CHANGE 676 Youth age 10 or over 

and under 13 
No Quota Bear License $44 

AGE 
CHANGE 660 License Over age 13 Bear License (of which $1.00 goes to the deer/bear 

management accounts) 
$44 

AGE 
CHANGE 664 License Over age 13 Surplus Bear License (of which $1.00 goes to the 

deer/bear management accounts) 
$44 

AGE 
CHANGE 224 License Over age 13 No Quota Bear License (of which $1.00 goes to the 

deer/bear management accounts) 
$44 
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PRAIRIE 
CHICKEN 

616 Application Prairie Chickens Application $4 

617 License Prairie Chickens License $23 

SANDHILL 
CRANE 

250 Permit Sand hill Crane Permit $3 

GOOSE 520 License Canada Goose during a special season $4 

521 License Light Goose during a special season spring $4 

WILD RICE 331 Season Permit Wild Rice Season Harvest for age 18 and older $25 

332 One-Day Permit Wild Rice One-Day Harvest for age 18 and older $15 

* Of this price, credits go to; $0.50 wolf management, $1.00 deer/bear management account, $0.50 emergency feeding and 
wild cervidae-deer family, and $2.00 deer management. 

** Of this price, credits go to; $3.75 Pheasant stamp account, $3.75 waterfowl stamp account, and $3.25 small game surcharge. 

nonresident hunting 
Code Fee 

APPRENTICE 
Validation 

199 Born after 
12/31/79 age 12 
or over 

Validation to allow an individual to hunt small game, 
bear, and deer without having completed hunter 
education firearms safety, must purchase additional 
required licenses, good for two license years in a 
lifetime 

$3.50 

WALK-IN 
ACCESS 

190 Access Validation 
ALL ages 

Walk-In Access Hunter Validation $3 

SMALL 
GAME & 
TRAPPING 
Nonresident 

LICENSE 
CHANGE 146 Youth under age 

16 Annual 
Small Game License Not 

Required 

LOWER 
PRICE 206 Youth age 16 or 

over and under 18 
Annual 

Small Game License $5 

221 Adult age 18 or 
over Annual 

Small Game License ($90.50 plus $6.50 surcharge 
“paid by hunters for the acquisition and development 
of wildlife lands” plus $5 surcharge for Walk-In 
Access program) 

$102 

NEW 145 Adult age 18 or 
over Consecutive 
72-Hour 

Small Game License (72-hour state waterfowl and 
pheasant stamps included) 

$75** 

207 Trapping Trapping (landowner only) $84 

TURKEY 
Nonresident 

600 Adult Lottery 
Application 

Turkey Lottery Application Fee when needed $4 

AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 594 Youth under age 13 Turkey Spring Any Weapon License Free 
LOWER 
PRICE 

AGE 
CHANGE 595 Youth under age 13 Turkey Spring Archery License Free 
AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 593 Youth under age 13 Turkey Fall Any Weapon Free 

AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 602 Youth age 13 or 

over and under 18 
Turkey Spring Any Weapon License $5 
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AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 599 Youth age 13 or 

over and under 18 
Turkey Spring Archery License $5 

AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 656 Youth age 13 or 

over and under 18 
Turkey Fall Any Weapon $5 

611 Adult age 18 or 
over 

Turkey Spring Any Weapon License ($91 plus $5 
surcharge for Walk-In Access program) 

$96 

608 Adult age 18 or 
over 

Turkey Spring Archery License ($91 plus $5 
surcharge for Walk-In Access program) 

$96 

651 Adult age 18 or 
over 

Turkey License Fall ($91 plus $5 surcharge for 
Walk-In Access program) 

$96 

596 Change Area Youth Turkey Spring Change Area/Season License Youth $5 

597 Change Area Adult Turkey Spring Change Area/Season License Adult $5 

614 Turkey Surplus 
Spring 

Adult over 18 Spring Surplus, D-H over the counter, 
or extra lottery permits ($91 plus $5 surcharge for 
Walk-In Access program) 

$96 

DEER 
Non­
resident 

LOWER 
PRICE 

AGE 
CHANGE 247 Youth age 10 and 

over and under 13 
Must obtain a license to take big game Free 

AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 231 Youth age 13 or 

over and under 18 
Deer Firearms $5* 

LOWER 
PRICE 

AGE 
CHANGE 230 Youth age 13 or 

over and under 18 
Deer Archery $5* 

AGE 
CHANGE 

LOWER 
PRICE 236 Youth age 13 or 

over and under 18 
Deer Muzzleloader $5* 

222 Adult age 18 or 
over 

Deer Firearms ($160 plus $5 surcharge for Walk-In-
Access program) 

$165* 

223 Adult age 18 or 
over 

Deer Archery ($160 plus $5 surcharge for Walk-In 
Access program) 

$165* 

237 Adult age 18 or 
over 

Deer Muzzleloader ($160 plus $5 surcharge for 
Walk-In Access program) 

$165* 

322 Zone Change Deer Firearms Zone Change $5 

423 Early Season 
Antlerless 

Deer Early Season Antlerless $40 

202 Disease 
Management 

Deer Disease Management License $1.50 

431 Bonus Bonus Permit ($80 of which $1.00 goes to the 
venison donation program) 

$80* 

WOLF 
Nonresident 

680 Application Wolf Application $4 

682 License Wolf Early Firearm $250 

684 License Wolf Late Firearm $250 

687 License Wolf Surplus Early Firearm $250 

689 License Wolf Surplus Late Firearm $250 

14 
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BEAR 
Nonresident 

662 Application Bear Application $4 

661 Youth age 10 and 
over License 

Must obtain a license to take big game ($225 of 
which $1.00 goes to deer and bear management 
accounts plus $5 surcharge for Walk-In Access 
program) 

$230 

664 Youth age 10 and 
over License 

Surplus Bear License ($225 of which $1.00 goes 
to deer and bear management accounts plus $5 
surcharge for Walk-In Access program) 

$230 

225 Youth age 10 and 
over License 

No Quota Bear License ($225 of which $1.00 
goes to deer and bear management accounts plus 
$5 surcharge for Walk-In Access program) 

$230 

RACCOON or 
BOBCAT 
Nonresident 

228 License Raccoon or Bobcat ($178 of which $1.00 goes 
to deer and bear management accounts plus $5 
surcharge for Walk-In Access program) 

$183 

SPECIAL 
GOOSE 
Nonresident 

520 License Canada Goose during a special season $4 

521 License Light Goose during a special season spring $4 

WILD RICE 
Nonresident 

333 One-Day Permit Wild Rice One-Day Harvest for age 18 and older $30 

* Of this price, credits go to; $0.50 wolf management, $1.00 deer/bear management account, $0.50 emergency feeding and 
wild cervidae-deer family, and $2.00 deer management. 

** Of this price, credits go to; $3.75 Pheasant stamp account, $3.75 waterfowl stamp account, and $3.25 small game surcharge. 

liFetime hunting Resident individual 
413 Lifetime Sports RENEWAL One Angling, One Small Game (excluding wolf) No 

Charge 

Lifetime Sports Purchase age 3 and under $528 

Lifetime Sports Purchase age 4 to age 15 $728 

Lifetime Sports Purchase age 16 to age 50 $861 

Lifetime Sports Purchase age 51 and over $602 

412 Lifetime Small Game RENEWAL One Small Game (excluding wolf) No 
Charge 

Lifetime Small Game Purchase age 3 and under $223 

Lifetime Small Game Purchase age 4 to age 15 $301 

Lifetime Small Game Purchase age 16 to age 50 $430 

Lifetime Small Game Purchase age 51 and over $274 

414 Firearm 
410 Archery 
409 Muzzle 

Lifetime Deer Hunting RENEWAL Deer ($0.50 is credited to the wolf management 
and monitoring account) 

No 
Charge 

Lifetime Deer Hunting Purchase age 3 and under $406 

Lifetime Deer Hunting Purchase age 4 to age 15 $538 

Lifetime Deer Hunting Purchase age 16 to age 50 $656 

Lifetime Deer Hunting Purchase age 51 and over $468 

Lifetime license application forms are available online or by calling
the DNR information Center at 888-646-6367. 
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license PuRchase anD Possession 
• A person may not take, buy, sell, transport, or possess protected wild

animals without a license, except as provided in this booklet.
• All persons including youth under age 16 must have a license (includ­

ing stamp validations) in their possession while hunting or trapping and
while traveling from an area where they hunted or trapped.

• Any person ticketed for failure to possess a license will not be convicted
if they provide to the court or arresting officer a license that was valid at
the time of arrest. 

changing Regular Firearms Deer licenses 
A person who has purchased a regular firearm deer license and wishes to

change their season option (A or 3B) must submit their original license and
all tags issued with the original license (must be unused) to obtain a replace­
ment license.There is a fee of $5 (plus a $1 issuing fee) for the replacement
license. Replacement licenses are available from any ELS license agent. Any
replacement license must be issued before the season for the original license
opens.

• Hunters may also change from a regular firearms deer license to a youth
deer license, if the qualifying youth purchased the incorrect license.

• Archery licenses cannot be changed to firearm or muzzleloader licenses.
• Regular firearm licenses cannot be changed to a muzzleloader or


archery license.
 
electronic licensing 

The Department’s Electronic Licensing System (ELS) issues licenses
through 1,500 license agent locations throughout Minnesota or via the
DNR website at mndnr.gov or via a toll free telephone number (888-665­
4236). Additional fees apply. 
license Requirements 

To purchase noncommercial game licenses, nonresidents and residents
must have their social security number on file with DNR or must provide it.

Residents 
• To qualify as a resident, a person must maintain a legal residence

in Minnesota for at least 60 consecutive days before purchasing a
license. in addition, residents 21 or older must provide a current
Minnesota Driver’s License or iD card, unless exempt under the
Religious Freedom Act.

• A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident is
considered a resident. 

• Stamp validations for waterfowl and pheasant are valid for hunting
without a pictorial stamp (purchasers can request the optional picto­
rial stamp for an additional $0.75, but it is not needed for hunting). 
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•	 HIP Certification for legally taking migratory game birds, including
mourning doves, must be printed on your license (see page 37). 

•	 Buy early: Customers are advised to avoid delays by buying early and
far ahead of license or application deadlines. 

license Year 
Hunting licenses and resident fishing licenses, and the angling portion

of a sporting license, are valid during legal seasons between March 1 and
the end of February. Nonresident fish and dark house and nonresident fish
house licenses are valid from March 1 through April 1. 
Border Waters 

On all border waters with adjacent states or provinces, persons acting
under a Minnesota hunting or trapping license may only take wild animals
on the Minnesota side of the border. 
Revocation of hunting Privileges 

• A person convicted of two or more violations under a small game or
trapping license within a 3-year period will have their small game hunt­
ing or trapping privileges revoked for 1 year.

• Big game hunting privileges are revoked for 3 years for any of the fol­
lowing violations:
1.Two or more convictions of any violation relating to big game ani­

mals within a 3-year period.
2. One conviction of any of the following: shining while in possession

of a firearm or bow; knowingly transporting an illegally taken big
game animal; hunting, taking, transporting or possessing big game
without the required license; over limit of big game; hunting, taking
or possessing big game in closed season; buying or selling big game
animals (revocation of all privileges if sale is over $300).

• Hunting deer with the aid of bait results in a 1-year revocation
• The revocation period doubles in convictions involving a trophy deer

scoring higher than 170. 
• 	under gross overlimits penalty provisions, license privileges can be


revoked for 3 or 5 years, depending on the violation.

• Big game and small game hunting privileges are revoked for 5 years for

hunting while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.
• Failure to pay game and fish fines or failure to appear in court can result

in suspension of licenses privileges until fines are paid.
• Certain trespass convictions (see page 8).
• Violations of hunting laws in other states may affect your hunting privi­

leges in Minnesota.
• Violators of wildlife feeding bans may not obtain any hunting license

for 2 years after the date of conviction. 
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lost license 
You may obtain a duplicate license at any ELS license agent or from the

DNR License Center in St. Paul.The fee is $5.75 for a duplicate Big Game
License and $2.50 for all others. 
apprentice hunter Validation 

• The Apprentice Hunter Validation is a short-term exclusion to the require­
ment for completing hunter firearms safety training.The validation may be
purchased in two license years in a lifetime. The apprentice hunter must also
obtain all applicable licenses and stamps.

• An individual utilizing an Apprentice Hunter Validation must be accompa­
nied (within unaided verbal and visual contact) by an adult who has a valid
license to hunt the same species of game, the accompanying adult cannot be
utilizing an Apprentice Hunter Validation.

• When hunting turkey or prairie chicken, the accompanying adult must be
licensed for the same season, but may be licensed for another permit area or
time period.if the accompanying adult is not licensed for the same permit
area or time period, the accompanying adult may not shoot or possess a
firearm or bow. 

Refunds 
Please check your license and/or receipt for accuracy before leaving the

license agent location. License sales are final. A refund can only be issued
if the licensee is unable to participate due to active military duty, cancelled
military leave, death prior to opening of the season, if the licensee buys two
licenses for the same season or if the licensee was not legally required to
purchase the license to participate in the activity.The request for a refund
must be received within 90 days of the original license purchase. 
Firearms safety certificates 

• A person born after 12-31-1979 must have completed firearm safety training
to obtain a license to hunt with a firearm. 

• See table on page 34 for youth requirements and exceptions.
• A person on active duty who has successfully completed basic training in the

u.S. Armed Forces, Reserves, or National Guard may purchase a license or
obtain approval that authorizes hunting without possessing a Firearms Safety
Certificate. Once discharged, they must obtain a Firearms Safety Certificate.

• A replacement for a lost or destroyed Minnesota Firearms Safety Certificate
can be obtained at any ELS license agent for a $3.50 fee. 

ResiDents 
A Minnesota resident is defined as follows: 
• A united States citizen or resident alien who has maintained a legal residence

in the state for at least 60 consecutive days before purchasing a license, or
• A person in the u.S. Armed Forces who is stationed in the state, or 
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• A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident.

See page 16 for more information.
 

NEW 

military Personnel 
• There is a $1 issuing fee for military/veterans licenses.
• Residents who have maintained legal residency in Minnesota and who

are serving in the u.S. Military and stationed outside the state may hunt
small game without a license while on leave.They do not need a Minnesota
Waterfowl Stamp or Pheasant Stamp but must have a Federal Duck Stamp
to hunt waterfowl.They may hunt deer, bear, and wild turkeys without charge
after obtaining the appropriate licenses and tags from an ELS license agent
by presenting official leave papers, except they may not obtain moose and elk
licenses. Deer bonus permits may be purchased. Such service personnel must
carry proof of residency and official leave papers on their person while hunt­
ing. Residents must possess a current Minnesota driver license or public safety
identification. 

• Nonresident spouses of residents on active military duty may purchase
resident hunting and fishing licenses. Nonresidents must provide proof of
spouse’s residency and active military duty.

• A resident who has served at any time during the preceding 24 months in
federal active service outside the united States and has been discharged from
active service may take small game and fish without a license. Discharged
residents must carry proof of residency and official military discharge papers.
All tags required of a licensee must be obtained at no fee.

• A free deer license, valid for a deer of either sex, will be issued to residents
who have served at any time during the preceding 24 months in federal active
service outside the united States and have been discharged from active mili­
tary service. Eligibility is limited to one deer license per person. Discharged
residents must provide proof of residency and a copy of their official military
discharge papers.

• Resident veterans with proof of a 100 percent service-related disability may
obtain a free Small Game License and one free Firearms, Muzzleloader, or
Archery Deer License from an ELS license agent (state stamps not required). 

nonResiDents 
general 

• All nonresidents, regardless of age, must have an appropriate hunting license
to hunt in Minnesota. A nonresident under age 18 may obtain a small
game license at the resident fee if the nonresident possesses a firearms safety
certificate. Non-residents under age 16 are not required to possess a small
game license. A nonresident under age 14 must be accompanied by a parent
or guardian to take small game. 
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• Youth firearm, archery, and muzzleloader deer licenses ($13) are available to
nonresidents. Half-price youth turkey licenses for residents and nonresidents
are available. 

• Purchase hunting licenses by telephone or internet: Call 888-MNLicense
(888-665-4236) or go to mndnr.gov.

• Nonresidents may trap in Minnesota only on their own land and with a

nonresident trapping license.


• Nonresidents may not take raccoon or bobcat without a nonresident

Furbearer Hunting License and a nonresident Small Game License.
 

Note to deer hunters: A Deer License issued after the opening day of
the respective season (archery, regular firearms, or muzzleloader) is not
valid until the second day AFTER it is issued. See page 65 for additional
information. 
students 

• Nonresident, full-time students at a Minnesota educationalinstitution who
live in the state during the school year may purchase a resident Small Game,
Deer, or Bear License with proof of full-time student status.

• A full-time foreign exchange student who resides with Minnesota residents
may buy a resident license to take deer or bear. Students must provide a letter
from their school confirming their attendance. 

StampS 
state Pheasant anD migRatoRY WateRFoWl stamPs 

Residents age 18-64, and all non-resident hunters, must have a
Minnesota Pheasant Stamp validation or Minnesota Migratory Waterfowl
Stamp validation (State Duck Stamp) in possession while hunting or taking
pheasants or migratory waterfowl respectively, except: a) residents hunting
pheasants on land occupied as their principal residence, b) Persons hunting
waterfowl on their own property, c) persons hunting on a licensed commer­
cial shooting preserve, d) persons taking only marked waterfowl released on
a commercial shooting preserve, or e) residents on military leave. 
Federal migratory Waterfowl stamp 

Waterfowl hunters age 16 and over must have a valid Federal Duck
Stamp in possession while hunting or taking migratory waterfowl.
Federal Duck Stamps can be purchased at post offices or license agents.
Electronically issued Federal Duck Stamps are available at all of Minnesota’s 
1,500 electronic license vendors, beginning July 1. 
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GENERAL HUNTING INFORMATION 

The following are general hunting regulations. Specific regulations

for various game species are in the Big Game, Small Game,Trapping,
Waterfowl, and Wild Turkey sections of this booklet. 

FiReaRms tRansPoRtation 
unless transporting under the exceptions listed below, a person may not

transport a firearm, including a handgun, in or on a motor vehicle unless the
firearm is: 

• unloaded* and in a case made expressly for that purpose;
• unloaded* and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle; or
•	 carried under a valid permit to carry a pistol or handgun.
under the following circumstances, a person may transport unloaded,

uncased firearms (excluding pistols) in a motor vehicle, including ATVs:
• while at a shooting range with permission
• while lawfully hunting on private or public land or while travelling to

or from a site the person intends to hunt or trap or has lawfully hunted
that day.

Firearms must be transported unloaded and cased:
• within Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey counties.
• within the boundaries of a home rule, charter, or statutory city with a

population of 2,500 or more.
 
• on school grounds

• as otherwise restricted in game refuges, shining or night vision laws. 

tRansPoRtation oF BoWs 
Archery bows and crossbows may be transported uncased in a motor

vehicle but the bow cannot be armed with a bolt or arrow. 

hanDguns 
Persons age 18 or older may carry a handgun in the woods and fields or

upon waters to hunt or target shoot. Persons under age 18 may carry hand­
guns for hunting if in the actual presence or under the direct supervision
of the person’s parent or guardian, and if they meet firearms safety require­
ments (see page 34). Except those licensed to carry a concealed weapon,
a person may not possess a firearm while bowhunting for deer. A person 

*	 An “unloaded” firearm is defined as a firearm without ammunition in the barrels and 
magazine, if the magazine is in the firearm. A muzzle-loading firearm with a flintlock
ignition is unloaded if it does not have priming powder in a pan. A muzzle-loading
firearm with percussion ignition is unloaded if it does not have a percussion cap on a
nipple. 
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may take bear, elk and moose by archery while in possession of a firearm.
questions regarding handguns should be directed to local law enforcement
authorities. 

The “Concealed carry or permit to carry” provisions apply to certain hunt­
ing activities. Persons with a permit under this law generally may carry their
handguns uncased and loaded while hunting, and while traveling to or from
hunting locations by motor vehicle under the hunting firearms transporta­
tion laws. However, possession of the handgun while “shining” would still
subject the possessor to the provisions of these laws (see page 29, artificial
lights, for more information). 

cRossBoWs 
A person may hunt with a crossbow during the regular firearms deer,

turkey and bear seasons and with a firearm license. At other times, a person
may not hunt with a crossbow, or possess a crossbow in a motor vehicle
when any hunting season is open unless the crossbow is not armed with a
bolt or arrow. Disabled persons with a valid permit and archery license may
also hunt with crossbows or use a bow with a mechanical device that draws,
releases, or holds the bow at full draw (pages 60 and 83). 

Possession oF FiReaRms BeFoRe, DuRing, anD aFteR
the FiReaRms DeeR season 

(Note: This section does not apply to the Muzzleloader Season, see
page 89, except that muzzleloaders legal for deer may be possessed only by
persons with a muzzleloader or firearms deer license during that season.)

No person may possess a firearm or ammunition outdoors during the
period beginning the fifth day before the open firearms season and ending
the second day after the close of the season within an area where deer may
be legally taken by firearms, except:

• A person who has a valid firearms big game license in possession may
hunt big game during the open season with a firearm and ammunition
authorized for big game.

• Possession is also legal under these conditions:
> An unloaded firearm that is cased or in a closed trunk of a motor 

vehicle. 
> A shotgun and shells containing No. 4 buckshot or smaller diameter

lead shot or nontoxic shot. 
> A .22 caliber rimfire handgun or rifle with .22 caliber short, long, or

long rifle cartridges, .22 magnum or .17 caliber rimfire.
> Handguns possessed by a person with a carry permit.
> On a target range or under a target range permit issued by a conser­

vation officer. 
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PaRent/guaRDian ResPonsiBilitY 
A parent or legal guardian may not knowingly direct, allow, or permit the

minor to hunt without the required license, permit, training or certification
or in violation of game and fish laws. 

“taking” DeFineD 
“Taking” means pursuing, shooting, killing, capturing, trapping, snaring,

angling, spearing, or netting wild animals; or placing, setting, drawing, or
using a net, trap, or other device to take wild animals.Taking also includes
attempting to take wild animals or assisting another person in taking wild
animals. 

“Possession” DeFineD 
Game animals are in a person’s possession whether on hand, in cold stor­

age, in transport, or elsewhere. 

PRotecteD animals 
The following birds and mammals are protected in Minnesota by state or

federal laws: 
Protected Birds 

• All birds for which seasons are established in these regulations are pro­
tected birds but may be taken as authorized.

• There is no open season on bobwhite quail, swans, hawks, owls, eagles,
herons, bitterns, cormorants, loons, grebes, or any other species of birds
except unprotected birds. 

crows 
• Crows may be taken without a license in season or at any time when

they are doing or are about to do damage.
• Electronic calls or sounds may be used for crow hunting.
• Crows may be taken with a legal firearm (shotgun not larger than 10

gauge, rifle, or handgun), bow and arrow, or by falconry. 
mammals 

• All mammals for which seasons are established in these regulations are
protected mammals, but may be taken as authorized.

• There is no open season on caribou, antelope, lynx, wolverine, cougar, or
spotted skunk (“civet cat”).

• A person may not export or import a live coyote into the state unless
authorized by the Commissioner. 

taking Protected species 
• No protected species may be taken in any manner in any area of the

state except in accordance with these regulations.
• All protected species must be killed before being removed from the site

where taken. 
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unPRotecteD animals 
Residents and nonresidents are not required to have a license to hunt

unprotected species including coyote. Nonresidents do not need a furbearer
hunting license in addition to their small game license to hunt fox. 
unprotected mammals 

Weasels, coyotes, gophers, porcupines, striped skunks, and all other
mammals for which there are no closed seasons or other protection are
unprotected animals.They may be taken in any manner, except with the
aid of artificial lights or by using a motor vehicle to drive, chase, run over,
or kill the animal. Poisons may be used only when the safety of humans
and domestic livestock can be ensured and in accordance with all label 
regulations of the state Dept. of Agriculture and federal Environmental
Protection Agency. 
unprotected Birds 

House sparrows, starlings, common pigeons, Eurasian collared dove,
chukar partridge, quail, other than northern bobwhite, and monk parakeets
are unprotected and may be taken at any time. 

Hunting witH DiSabilitieS 
Persons with disabilities may be granted special permits or exceptions to

some hunting regulations:
• Crossbows: See pages 58 and 60.
• Motor Vehicles: See page 25.
• Special Seasons: See page 69.
• Blinds at some major WMAs: See page 103.
• Deer Stands, Agassiz, Rydell, Minnesota Valley and Big Stone


NWR: See pages 117-120.

• Muzzleloader scope permit, page 89. 

mOtORiZeD VeHiCleS 
motoR Vehicles 

• No person may take a wild animal with a firearm or by archery from a
motor vehicle except a disabled person with an appropriate permit. A
disabled person with a permit to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle
may take a deer of either sex without an antlerless permit. Other mem­
bers of the hunting party may not shoot antlerless deer for the disabled
person. 
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• Permits to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle may be issued by DNR
Enforcement to a person who obtains the required licenses and who has
a permanent physical disability that is more substantial than discom­
fort from walking.The permit recipient must: be unable to step from a
vehicle without aid of a wheelchair, crutches, braces, or other mechanical
support or prosthetic device; or be unable to walk any distance because
of a permanent lung, heart, or other internal disease that requires the
person to use supplemental oxygen to assist breathing.The permanent
disability must be verified in writing by a licensed physician, certified
nurse practitioner or certified physician's assistant acting under the
direction of a licensed physician or chiropractor. in addition to provid­
ing the medical evidence of permanent disability, the applicant must
possess a valid disability parking certificate or license plates issued by the
Department of Public Safety. Permit applications are available from any
DNR regional office or by calling the information numbers on page 124.

• No person may use a motor vehicle to intentionally drive, chase, run

over, or kill any wild animal.


• Road-killed animals may not be legally possessed, except by special
permit from a DNR conservation officer, state patrol, county sheriff or
other law enforcement officer. 

• Shooting from a motorized vehicle is unlawful. 

oFF-highWaY Vehicles (ohVs), incluDing all-teRRain
Vehicles (atVs)* 

A person may not intentionally operate an off-highway vehicle:
• in most wildlife management areas, a state park, or a scientific and


natural area, except as specifically authorized by law or rule;

• in unfrozen public waters (lakes, rivers, streams and certain wetlands), or

in calcareous fens as identified by the commissioner; 
• on a trail on public land that is designated or signed for non-motorized

use only; 
• 	 on restricted areas within public lands that are posted or where gates


or other clearly visible structures are placed to prevent unauthorized

motorized vehicle access; or


• shoot at a wild animal from an OHV. 

using motoR Vehicles DuRing DeeR season 
To reduce disturbance during the prime deer hunting times, operation

of off-highway vehicles and snowmobiles is restricted during the regular
firearms deer season: 

*	 ATVs are defined for the purposes of these regulations as all vehicles not requiring
Minnesota Department of Public Safety licensing, including trail bikes, 3-wheelers,
4-wheelers, 6-wheelers, tracked vehicles, and other similarly manufactured or home­
made vehicles. 
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licensed Deer hunters 
A person licensed to take deer must not operate an off-highway vehicle

or snowmobile on public or private property in an area open for the taking
of deer by firearms on a day that they are licensed to take deer in that area
except:

• Before legal shooting hours (½ hour before sunrise) 
• From 11am until 2pm.
• After legal shooting hours (½ hour after sunset).
• On property that they own.
• On someone else’s private property with the landowner’s permission. 
•	 under a permit issued by a conservation officer to operate these

vehicles in an emergency, medical, or other unusual situation during the
restricted hours. 

Motor vehicles licensed for and being operated on public highways, or
farm tractors being used for agricultural purposes, are exempt from this
restriction. 
Recreational ohV Riders

 OHV trails and routes on state forest lands are closed to ALL recre­
ational off-highway vehicle riding (ATV, OHM, and ORV) during the
firearms deer season where deer may be taken by rifle (see all legal firearms
area versus shotgun area descriptions on page 79 and on the large deer zone
map available separately), during the A Season only:

• Series 100 permit areas—November 9–24,
• Portions of Series 200 permit areas—November 9–17,

Forest roads remain open to OHV use.
 

ohV operation in Parks, Refuges, and other managed areas 
ATVs and snowmobiles are not allowed in State Parks, National Wildlife

Refuges (see page 117), Scientific and Natural Areas, or most Wildlife
Management Areas (see page 98). ATV use is regulated in state and national
forests. (See rules on using public lands, pages 110–112.) 

ohVs anD WetlanD DistuRBance 
A person may not operate an OHV in a manner to:
• indicate a willful, wanton, or reckless disregard for the safety of persons

or property; 
• 	carelessly upset the natural and ecological balance of a wetland or public

waters wetland; or
• impact a wetland or public waters wetland in excess of minimum


amounts established under law (These vary by area of the state and

other criteria. More information is available online at mndnr.gov.)


See the Following Additional Regulations:
• OHV operation on WMAs, pages 102-103
• OHV operation on state forests, pages 110-112

26• Motor vehicles on federal lands, page 117-122 
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Dog tRaining 
Except as authorized by permit, a person may not train hunting dogs

afield on DNR administered lands from April 16 to July 14. A person may
train hunting dogs afield on other lands.

A person training a dog afield and carrying a firearm may only have blank
cartridges and shells in possession when the season is not open for any game
bird, except by permit. An organization or individual may obtain permits to
use firearms and live ammunition on domesticated birds or banded game
birds from game farms for holding field trials and training hunting dogs. 

Dogs PuRsuing Big game 
No persons may allow their dog to chase or kill big game.
Between January 1 and July 14, a dog that is observed wounding, killing,

or pursuing in a way that endangers big game may be killed by any person.
A peace officer or conservation officer may kill a dog that endangers big
game at any time of the year.The officer or person is not liable for damages
for killing the dog. 

Important:
Other hunting seasons are open before, during, and after the deer

season. Many hunters use dogs to hunt upland game, waterfowl, rabbits,
raccoons, foxes, and coyotes. Dogs may not be shot if seen pursuing big
game during the fall hunting seasons, except by a conservation or peace
officer. 

hunting While unDeR the inFluence 
A person may not take protected wild animals with a firearm or by

archery or be afield with a loaded or uncased firearm or an uncased bow
while under the influence of a controlled substance or with a blood-alcohol 
level of .08 or higher. 

Wanton Waste 
A person may not wantonly waste or destroy a usable part of a protected

wild animal unless authorized. 

RaDios anD otheR WiReless DeVices 
•	 using walkie talkies, cell phones, remote control or other radio


equipment to take big game or small game is unlawful.

• A DNR permit is required to take unprotected animals with the aid of

radio equipment, see page 24.
• Dog training collars are allowed without a permit.
• Motorized decoys controlled by remote may be used for taking


migratory waterfowl or mourning doves where and when they are

otherwise legal.
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Dates anD times inclusiVe 
All dates, times and ages specified in these regulations are inclusive unless

specified otherwise. 

game FoR consumPtion at FunD Raising eVents 
Nonprofit organizations may charge a fee for admission to fundraising

events when lawfully taken and possessed big game and small game (exclud­
ing migratory game birds that cannot be sold under federal law), is donated
to the organization and is served for consumption on the premises where
the fundraising event is held. Records of donations must be kept for 2 years. 

giFts
 Lawfully taken wild animals may be transferred as a gift if accompanied

by a receipt containing: name and address of the owner; name and address
of the recipient, date of transfer, description of the gift (for example: “Three
1-pound venison steaks”) and the license number under which the animal
was taken.The receipt must remain with the gift. 

stoRage 
A person who stores protected wild animals for others must plainly mark

the package, in ink, with the name and address of the owner, the license
number of the person taking the animal, and the number and species in the
package. 

RoaDkill 
A person must have a permit to possess wild animals, including deer, that

have been killed by a vehicle. Permits are available from conservation officers
and many local law enforcement agencies. 

hunteR/tRaPPeR haRassment PRohiBiteD 
A person may not prevent or disrupt another person from taking or

preparing to take a wild animal. A person may not disturb wild animals with
the intent to prevent or disrupt another person from hunting. Placing bait
for the purpose of preventing or disrupting another person from lawfully
hunting deer would be considered unlawful under the hunter harassment
laws. 

sale oF animal PaRts 
Except as otherwise provided in these regulations, a person may possess,

transport, buy, or sell the following inedible portions of lawfully taken or
acquired big game, furbearers, and game birds (other than migratory birds):
bones (including skulls), sinews, hides, hooves, teeth, claws, and antlers. A
person may not sell meat or organs, including bear gall bladders, and may 
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not sell bear paws unless attached to the hide.The flesh of legally-taken
beaver, muskrat, raccoon, rabbits, and hares may be bought, sold, and trans­
ported at any time.

A hunter or trapper may sell the pelts of lawfully taken furbearers only
to a licensed fur buyer. A person may not buy raw furs without a fur buyer’s 
license, except a fur manufacturer or licensed taxidermist may buy raw furs
from a licensed fur buyer. 

inDian BanD hunting seasons 
indian bands may be hunting big game by firearms before and after state

firearms seasons.The Fond du Lac band may be hunting big game from late
September until mid-December in the 1854 ceded territory (Cook, Lake,
eastern and southern St. Louis, most of Carlton, and extreme northern Pine
counties). Bands signatory to the 1837 Treaty (east-central Minnesota from
Pine and Chisago counties west to the Mississippi River) may be hunting
deer from the day after Labor Day through the end of December. 

DutY to RenDeR aiD 
A person who shoots and injures another person with a firearm, or has

reason to believe that another person might have been injured, and any
witnesses to such a shooting, must immediately investigate the extent of
the person’s injuries and give reasonable assistance, including calling law
enforcement or medical personnel to the scene. Failure to do so can result in
imprisonment and a fine for the shooter and witnesses. 

aRtiFicial lights 
With a Firearm or Bow 

A person may not cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight or other artificial
light onto a highway or into a field, woodland, or forest to spot, locate or
take a wild animal while possessing either individually or as one of a group, a
firearm, bow or other implement that could be used to take big game, small
game or unprotected species. 
shining lights generally 

Without implements to take wild animals, from 2 hours after sunset
until sunrise, no person may cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight or other
artificial light on a highway or into a field, woodland or forest to spot or
locate a wild animal. 

A person may not cast rays of a spotlight, headlight or other artificial
light on land that is marked with signs prohibiting the shining of lights.The
signs must: 1) display letters that are at least 2 inches in height and state
“no shining” or similar terms; and 2) be placed at intervals of 500 feet or less
along the boundary of an area.

A person may not cast an artificial light onto fenced agricultural land or a
residential property or building sites from a motor vehicle. 
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exceptions 
Without a firearm or a bow, a person who is on foot may use a handheld

artificial light to retrieve wounded or dead big game animals.
A person taking raccoons or tending traps in accordance with all other

regulations in this booklet. (See page 44.)
A person hunting for coyote or fox from January 1 to March 15 may use

an artificial handheld light under all of the following conditions:
• While on foot and not within a public right of way
• using a shotgun 
• using a calling device
• Not within 200 feet of a vehicle 
it is not a violation of this law to shine lights without a firearm while

doing any agricultural, safety, emergency response, normal vehicle operation
or occupational-related activities or recreational activity, including snowmo­
biling, not related to spotting, locating or taking a wild animal. 

night Vision eQuiPment 
A person may not possess any kind of night vision equipment while

taking wild animals or while possessing a firearm, bow, or other implement
that could be used to take wild animals. 

This regulation does not apply to 1) a firearm that is unloaded, cased, and
in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle; or 2) a bow that is cased or unstrung,
and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle. if the motor vehicle does not 
have a trunk, the firearm or bow must be placed in the rearmost location of
the vehicle. 

enFoRcement 
• DNR conservation officers and other peace officers may arrest, without

a warrant, any person detected in the actual violation of wildlife, fish, or
water laws and may enter any lands to carry out these duties.

• No person may hinder, resist, or obstruct an enforcement officer or

authorized DNR agent in the performance of official duties.


• A person must allow inspection in the field of firearms, licenses, wild
animals, motor vehicles, boats, or other conveyances used while taking
or transporting wild animals.

• Wild animals that are unlawfully taken, bought, sold or possessed
may be seized and confiscated.The person may be liable for wildlife
restitution in addition to criminal fines. Personal property such as
firearms, traps and archery equipment that were unlawfully used
may be seized and confiscated. 
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blaZe ORange RequiRementS 
Small Game Seasons: At least one visible article of clothing above the

waist must be blaze orange when taking small game, except when hunting
wild turkeys, migratory birds, raccoons, predators, when hunting by falconry,
trapping or while hunting deer by archery while stationary.

Deer Season: One visible portion of a cap and outer clothing above the
waist, excluding sleeves and gloves, must be blaze orange when hunting
or trapping during any open season where deer may be taken by firearms
(including special hunts, early antlerless, youth seasons and muzzleloader).
Red is not a legal color, except for those who qualify under the Religious
Freedom Restoration Act of 1993. Blaze orange includes a camouflage
pattern of at least 50 percent blaze orange within each square foot.This
restriction does not apply to migratory bird hunters on waters or in station­
ary shooting locations or to trappers on waters. See the map below for times
and zones. Muzzleloader season is open statewide, except for closed area (see
page 88). 

Season Date 

Firearm Option Statewide (A) 

100 Series Nov. 9–24 

200 Series Nov. 9–17 

300 Series Nov. 9–17 

Firearm Option Late Southeast (B) Nov. 23–Dec. 1 

Muzzleloader Nov. 30–Dec.15 

Metro Deer Management Area (601) Nov. 9–Dec. 1 
(Any 2013 firearms or muzzleloader.) 

Chronic Wasting Disease Area (602) Nov. 9–Dec. 1 

Youth Season and Early Antlerless 
(See pages 33, 63, and 73.) Oct. 17–20 

Deer season Dates for Blaze 
orange Requirements 

Note: Consult the deer regulations section for restrictions within the dates in the box or see the large 
fold-out Deer Zone/Area Map (available anywhere hunting licenses are sold) for additional details. 
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YOUTH HUNTING INFORMATION 
Youth small game hunts 

Take-a-Kid Hunting Weekend (September 21-22)—During Take-a-
Kid Hunting Weekend adult residents accompanied by a youth under age
16 may hunt small game without a license, but must comply with open
seasons, limits and other regulations.

Youth Waterfowl Day—Waterfowl information will be announced 
through news releases and in the Waterfowl Hunting Synopsis, available in
mid August.

Mentored Youth Upland Bird Hunt (October 19)—Partnering with
Pheasants Forever, Woodcock Minnesota, and Ruffed Grouse Society, the
DNR is offering mentored upland bird hunts designed to introduce youth
to upland bird hunting. All hunting regulations apply. Applications will be
available through September 16 online at: mndnr.gov/discover

Other Special Youth Hunts 2014—Youth turkey hunts are tentatively
scheduled for April 2014. Applications will be accepted from January
through mid-February. Visit mndnr.gov/discover for information. 

sPecial Youth DeeR hunts 
See page 35 for a list of hunts. 

Youth DeeR hunt Regulations 
All participating youth must attend a mandatory orientation prior to

the hunt (details will be included in notices to successful applicants). An
adult mentor, who may not hunt, must accompany participants during the
orientation and the hunt. Each person must apply at an ELS agent or the
DNR License Center at 500 Lafayette Road in St. Paul. Group applications
and party hunting are not allowed. A drawing will be held if applications
exceed available permits for each hunt. unsuccessful applicants will receive
preference for future youth hunt lotteries of the same type. Applicants
may only apply for one youth archery hunt and one youth firearms hunt.
Participation in a youth hunt does not affect one’s eligibility to participate in
the regular deer seasons, but harvested deer count against a youth’s annual 
bag limit.The application deadline is August 16. 

Youth FiReaRms DeeR hunts 
Applicants for youth firearms special deer hunts must be 12–15 years old

at the time of the hunt. Participants must have a firearms safety certificate
and must obtain a license for taking deer by firearms, valid for any zone or
season option, by the beginning date of the respective hunt. Blaze orange 
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NEW 

requirements are in effect in areas open during firearms youth deer hunts.
The rifle-shotgun boundary is in effect (see back of large deer zone map,
available separately). 

Youth aRcheRY hunts 
Applicants for special youth archery hunts must be at least 12–17 years

old at the time of the hunt. Persons participating in youth archery deer
hunts must obtain a valid license for taking deer by archery at least 2 days
prior to the start of the hunt.

Sand Prairie WMA (Stearns County)—Open during the regular archery
season for youths 10 through 17. Regular archery deer rules apply. 

sPecial Youth DeeR season 
Youth age 10–15 may take either-sex deer by firearms Oct. 17–20 in the

following areas: 101, 105, 111, 114, 201, 203, 208, 209, 256, 257, 260, 263,
264, 267, 268, 338, 339, 341, 342, 343, 344, 345, 346, 347, 348, 349, 601, and
602. Participant numbers are not limited and there is no special permit.

The following regulations apply to this hunt:
• An adult parent/guardian/mentor aged 18 or older must accompany the

youth hunter at all times during the hunt.The adult does not need to be
licensed. 

• The blaze orange requirements apply to all hunters and trappers and
all adult mentors of youth hunters in areas open to youth firearm deer
hunting during this season.

• The accompanying adult cannot hunt and party hunting is not allowed
(youth must tag their own deer), except in early antlerless zones with
the correct license. 

• Participating youth 12 years of age and older must have a firearm safety
certificate or apprentice hunter validation. Participating youth must
possess a valid firearm deer license. Youth age 10, 11, and 12 must pos­
sess a free license. 

• The bag limit is one deer. in lottery areas and hunter choice, youth
hunters must use their regular license. in managed or intensive areas,
they may use their regular license or 1 bonus permit if they take an
antlerless deer. 

• if the youth harvests a buck, the deer must be tagged with their regular
license. 

• Participation in the youth season does not affect eligibility to participate
in the regular deer season; however, the harvested deer counts against
the annual bag limit for that area. 

Youth hunting licenses 
Free or reduced price individual youth licenses are available for residents

and nonresidents under age 18 for firearms deer, archery deer, muzzleloader 
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deer, and small game (see page 10–14).The individual youth firearms license
is valid during the Statewide (A) and Late Southeast (B) season but not the
Muzzleloader Season. 

Youth antleRless PRiVilege in lotteRY DeeR aReas 
Residents and nonresidents under the age of 18 may take a deer of either

sex in lottery deer areas without having to apply for or obtain an either-sex
permit. Youth age 10 to 17 should not apply for an either sex permit. Only
the youth licensee may take and tag an antlerless deer in a lottery deer
area without an either-sex permit. Other members of the hunting party
cannot take antlerless deer for the youth. Youth may not tag antlerless deer
taken by another individual. Youth hunters must take and tag their own
antlerless deer. 

FiReaRms saFetY tRaining 
Demand for Firearms Safety Training Classes is high, and many classes

fill very rapidly or have waiting lists. Finding a class well in advance of the
hunting season is highly recommended. Youth may attend a class at age 11.
information on classes can be found online at mndnr.gov 

FeDeRal aiD in WilDliFe RestoRation 
Minnesota’s rich outdoor heritage is enjoyed by all.

When you purchase a rifle, ammunition, archery equipment, and other
sporting gear, you pay a federal excise tax and import duties. Since 1937,
this money has been collected by the federal government and redistrib­
uted to the states using a formula based on hunting license sales and
the state’s land area.These funds support projects, habitat management,
Wildlife Management Areas, technical guidance, population manage­
ment, wildlife inventory and surveys, wildlife land acquisition, and
hunter education, recruitment and retention. 

FYI… 
Youth and small game hunting 

Did you know that resident youth under age 13 are allowed to hunt
small game without a firearms safety certificate? The only requirements
are that they be accompanied by a parent or guardian. You as a respon­
sible parent are the best judge of when your child is mature enough to
safely handle firearms and go hunting. 

36 



37 

Small Game

 
 

 
  

 
 
 

 
  

 
  

 

 
 

 

 

 

  
 

 
    

  
 

SMALL GAME 

Important Dates:
See hunting and trapping season chart, pages 42-43.
A license year runs from March 1 through the end of February. 

migRatoRY WateRFoWl 
See page 97. 

license ReQuiRements 
small game hunting 

• All residents and nonresidents, 16 and older, must have a valid Small
Game License in their possession to take small game, except residents
may hunt small game without a license on their own land if they occupy
it as their principal residence.There are also exemptions for military
personnel, see page 19.

• All residents age 18 or over and under age 65, and all nonresident
hunters, must have a Minnesota Pheasant Stamp validation in their
possession to take pheasants. For exceptions, see page 20. 

Important: Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP)
All hunters of migratory game birds (mourning doves, ducks, geese,

mergansers, woodcock, snipe, rails, coots, or gallinules) must identify
themselves as migratory bird hunters when they purchase a small game
or sports license. if you are exempt from needing a small game license,
you are not required to complete HiP certification.

Evidence of compliance, which will be noted on your small game

license as “HiP Certified,” must be carried while hunting migratory

game birds.


Anyone who has hunted or intends to hunt migratory game birds
must answer “yes” to the question on the license. if the license agent does
not ask you this question at the time of license purchase, please remind
them to do so. if you did not answer “yes” at the time you purchased your
license, you may do so later at no cost and get a receipt showing you are
HiP certified at any ELS agent.

The answers to the screening questions about migratory bird hunting
on the license will be used to survey hunters to more accurately estimate
actual harvests. Better harvest information improves migratory bird
management and preserves hunting opportunities. 
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• A nonresident must have a nonresident Furbearer Hunting License
and a nonresident Small Game License to take raccoon and bobcat. A 
nonresident Furbearer Hunting License is not required to take fox and
coyote. However, a Small Game License is still required to take fox and
other small game. 

Small game Hunting 
geneRal RestRictions 
Blaze orange 

Blaze orange is required
for most small game
hunting. See page 31
for specifics. 

closed sharp-tailed 
grouse area 

The shaded area on the 
map at right is closed to
sharp-tailed grouse hunting,
except for licensed prairie
chicken hunters within their 
selected zone. Few sharptails
live in the area, and the
closure protects remnant
populations of sharptails
and prairie chickens (a
similar-looking species). 

Party hunting for small game 
A “party” is defined as a group of two or more persons maintaining

unaided visual and vocal contact with each other while taking non-migratory
small game. “Party hunting” means that members of a party may take
animals for other members’ limits. A party may lawfully take small game in
accordance with the following regulations:

• A member of the party may take more than an individual limit, but the
total number of small game taken and possessed by the party may not
exceed the combined limits of members of the party.

• Each party member may transport only an individual limit of small

game.


• Party hunting is not allowed for migratory game birds (doves, ducks,
geese, mergansers, coots, woodcock, rail, sandhill cranes, snipe, and
gallinules). 
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use of lead shot 
• No person may take ducks, geese, mergansers, coots, sandhill cranes

or gallinules with lead shot or while having lead shot in possession.
• Lead shot may be used statewide for hunting other small game in

accordance with firearms restrictions in this booklet, except in federal
Wildlife Refuges and Waterfowl Production Areas. 

Prairie chickens 
Prairie chicken licenses are allocated to Minnesota residents only by

drawing for the hunting season (September 28–October 6). Hunters must
have a prairie chicken hunting license; no small game license is required.
Applications ($4) are due Friday, August 16 and may be made online or
anywhere hunting and fishing licenses are sold.

Persons who do not have a prairie chicken license may not aid or assist
prairie chicken hunters in any way. For example it is illegal for someone
without a prairie chicken license to work dogs for someone with a prairie
chicken license even if that person is licensed to take other small game.
However, party hunting for prairie chickens is legal.That means that
licensed prairie chicken hunters can shoot birds for other licensed prairie
chicken hunters as long as they are together and they have not exceeded the
total number of birds allowed for the party. 
Woodcock, Rails, snipe, and Doves 

• Duck Stamps (state or federal Migratory Waterfowl Stamps) are not
required to hunt woodcock, rails, snipe, sandhill cranes, or mourning
doves. 

• Compliance with the migratory bird harvest information program is
required by indicating “yes” in response to the migratory bird hunting
question on the license (see page 37).

• Shotguns used to hunt these birds must not be capable of holding more
than three shells, unless plugged with a one-piece filler that cannot be
removed without disassembling the gun, so its total capacity does not
exceed three shells. 

Partridge and Pheasant 
A person may not shoot pheasants or Hungarian partridge with a rifle

or handgun other than a .22 caliber rimfire using short, long, or long rifle
ammunition. 
Furbearers 

• A person may not disturb the burrow or den of any wild animal

between November 1 and April 1, without a permit.


• A person may not take pine marten, fisher, mink, muskrat, beaver, or
otter by firearms or archery hunting. However, a firearm may be used to
dispatch an animal already taken in a trap. 
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COYOTE (Canis latrans) AKA—Brush wolf.
 
Height: 18 inches maximum. Length: 3 feet. Average weight: 25–35 lbs.
 
Color—all shades of gray, tan, buff, rarely black or white.
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coYote hunteRs—knoW YouR taRget! 
Wolf and coyote identification 

Wolves have been mistakenly
shot outside Minnesota’s primary
wolf range because hunters thought
they were coyotes. Wolves were once 
restricted to the northern part of
Minnesota, but they have expanded
their range and could show up in any
part of the state. Do not assume that
because you are outside Minnesota’s 
primary wolf range that the animal
in your sights is a coyote. Wolves and
coyotes are closely related, but are
well distinguished by their difference
in size and physical characteristics.
Shooting a wolf because you think it
is a coyote is illegal and punishable by
Minnesota Game and Fish laws. 
always know Your target! 
GRAY WOLF (Canis lupus) AKA—Timber wolf
 
Height: 30 inches average. Length: 5½ feet. Weight: 50–110 lbs.
 
Color—shades of gray or tan, sometimes black, rarely white.
 

Minnesota’s Primary 
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Raccoons 
Night Hunting

A person may take raccoons between ½ hr. after sunset and ½ hour
before sunrise only in accordance with the following regulations:

• Hunters must be on foot. 
• Artificial lights may be used to locate, attempt to locate, or shoot a

raccoon only if the raccoon has been treed or put at bay by dogs.
• Rifles and handguns used must be .17 or .22 caliber rimfire


(including .22 magnum).

• Shotgun shells may not contain shot larger than No. 4 bird shot.

Other Restrictions 
• A person may pursue and tree raccoons with dogs, during the closed

season and without a license. 
• A person may not take a raccoon in a den or hollow tree, or by

cutting down a tree occupied by a raccoon. 
Fox and coyote night hunting 

A person hunting for coyote or fox from January 1 to March 15 may use
an artificial handheld light if they meet ALL of the following conditions—
you are:

• on foot and not within a public right-of-way,
• using a shotgun,
• using a calling device, and
• more than 200 feet from a vehicle. 

tRansPoRtation oF game BiRDs 
Game birds possessed in the field must be transported as follows:
• Except for ducks, all game birds must have a fully-feathered wing


attached.
 
• Ducks must have a fully-feathered wing and the fully-feathered head

attached. 
• Turkey, pheasant, and Hungarian Partridge may have one leg attached

or a fully-feathered wing attached.
• Doves may be transported fully dressed. 

Fully-feathered head and fully-feathered 
wing attached. (Geese need only a fully 
feathered wing.) 

Ducks all other game Birds
(Doves may be transported 
fully dressed.) 

Fully-feathered 
wing attached. 
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Walk-in access PRogRam 2013–2014 
Walk-in Access (WiA) provides public hunting on private land

and compensates landowners for providing that access.Through WiA,
20,500 acres of private land at 195 sites in western and west/south-cen­
tral Minnesota will be open for public hunting from Sept. 1 to May 31
where boundary signs are present. Most WiA land is also enrolled in a
conservation program (e.g., CRP, RiM Reserve, CREP) or has natural
cover.   Small inclusions of cropland or hay land may be present.

NEW FOR 2013/14 - Hunters must have a Walk-in Access
Validation ($3.00) to legally access WiA land. WiA Access Validations
are available at ELS license vendors.The purpose of this validation is to
create a database of hunters who use the WiA areas to help us further
develop a long-term program. Currently, modest revenue to support the
program comes from a surcharge on nonresident hunting license and all
purchasers can donate $1, $3 or $5.

Visit the WiA website at www.mndnr.gov/walkin for a printable
atlas of the sites by county, aerial photos of each site and interactive
maps such as Google Earth, Google Maps and DNR Recreational
Compass. GPS and GiS downloads are also available. Printed copies
of the 2013 WiA Atlas are available at area DNR Wildlife offices,
SWCD offices and local commerce and tourism information outlets in 
the 35-county WiA area.

WiA land is for public hunting only. individuals can hunt during
legal hunting hours, during any open hunting season (including spring
turkey), with no landowner contacts necessary. No target practice, trap­
ping, dog training, camping, horseback riding or fires are allowed. No
vehicles or OVHs are allowed. Parking is along roads or in designated
parking areas – check twice to make sure vehicles don’t block field 
entrances. DNR conservation officers will address trespass and hunting
violations. 

Scan this 
code with 
your smart 
phone for 
more on 
WIA. 

The ongoing success of this program
depends on landowners’ interest in open­
ing up their property to public hunting.
Please be respectful and follow the Code of
Conduct while using WiA land (the Code
can be found on the WiA website. www. 
mndnr.gov/walkin 
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tRapping 
Best Management Practices for trapping in the united States are available

online at: fishwildlife.org 

license ReQuiRements 
• All residents and non-residents, 16 and over must have a Small Game

License in possession to take small game (including furbearers) with
traps, except that persons may trap without a Small Game License on
their own land if they occupy it as their principal residence.That person
may still need a Trapping License.

• Residents age 13 through 17 must have a Jr.Trapping License and
residents age 18 through 64 must have a regular trapping license to trap.
Residents age 65 and over must have a regular or reduced-fee trapping
license. Residents under age 13 do not need a trapping license.

• Any fisher, otter, bobcat, or pine marten taken by a resident under age 5
must be included in the limit of the accompanying parent or guardian.

• Nonresidents may trap only on land they own in Minnesota with

nonresident trapping and small game licenses.
 

Persons born after December 31, 1989, who have not been issued a
trapping license in a previous license year may not obtain a trapping license
without a trapper education certificate.The Minnesota Trappers Association
will conduct trapper education courses statewide, free of charge to the par­
ticipants, and issue certificates that satisfy this trapping license requirement.

Contact the MTA at www.mntrappers.org for class information.These
courses include a mandatory field training portion that must be completed
before certification. Please plan to take certification courses well in advance
of the fur trapping season. 

seasons 
See page 43. 

Important:
Other outdoor enthusiasts are afield with dogs during trapping seasons.

Although accidental captures of dogs by trappers are rare, the occasional
accidents that occur lead to calls for increased regulation of trapping
activities.Trappers must be aware of their responsibility to set and tend
traps in strict adherence to all trapping and trespass regulations, and take
great care to avoid areas and sets that may accidentally capture dogs. 
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tRaP anD snaRe iDentiFication 
A person may not set or place a trap or snare, other than on property

owned or occupied by the person, unless the following information is affixed
to the trap or snare in a way that ensures the information remains legible
while the trap or snare is on the land or in the water: 1) The number and
state of the person’s driver’s license; or 2) The person’s Minnesota identifica­
tion card number; or 3)The person’s name and mailing address; or 4) The 
person’s MNDNR number as printed on their license.

Note: A person may use their previously issued drivers license number
until March 1, 2013.

Note: From April 1 to August 31, the trap identification provisions listed
above do not apply to traps set for the taking of unprotected wild animals. 

tRaPs 
Modified trapping regulations are in place in the lynx management zone.

See pages 52 and 53.
A person may not set, place, or operate:
• 	any foot or leghold trap with a jaw opening greater than 8¾ inches; 
• 	any body-gripping or conibear-type trap with a jaw opening greater

than 7½ inches, except as a waterset*; or 
•	 any body-gripping or conibear-type trap with a jaw opening greater

than 6½ inches and less than 7½ inches 
on public lands and waters unless
the trap meets one of the following:
> recessed 7 inches or more from 

the top and front of an enclosure
(see diagram at right)

> no attractants are within 20 feet of the trap or
> the trap is elevated at least 3 feet from the ground or surface of the

snow. 
• 	any body-gripping or conibear-type trap with a jaw opening greater

than 6½ inches in or within 3 feet of the opening of a 6-foot wide or
smaller culvert, except as a completely submerged waterset**; or 

• 	any body-gripping trap with a jaw larger than 6½ inches in the road
right-of-way within 500 feet of a building occupied by human or
livestock without written permission of the landowner, except as a
completely submerged waterset.**
Note: The diagram above is for illustration only. Cubbies constructed so

the trap is recessed at least 7 inches from all sides of the opening may also
be used. Cubbies made from natural materials that comply with regula­
tions may also be used. 

* 	 A waterset is defined as any body-gripping trap or snare set so that the trap jaws or
the snare loop are at least half-submerged in water.

** A completely submerged waterset is any set in which the body-gripping portion of
the jaws is completely submerged in water. 
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FISHER/MARTEN/ 
BOBCAT ZONE 

ANOKA 

tRaP setting anD tenDing 
• A person may set or tend traps only

from 5am to 10pm, except opening
day for some species. See page 43.

• A person on foot may use an
artificial light to set or tend traps
during the legal hours. However,
that person may not possess or use
a bow and arrow or a firearm other 
than a handgun or rifle of .17 or .22
caliber with short, long, or long rifle
rim fire ammunition (including .22
magnum) while using the light in
the field. 
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NORTH 
MINK/MUSKRAT/BEAVER/ 

OTTER ZONE 

• A person may not set a trap within 50 feet of any water other than
temporary surface water within 30 days before the open season for mink
and muskrat in that area, except by permit.

• Any trap capable of capturing a protected animal and not capable of
drowning the animal must be tended at least once each calendar day,
except for body-gripping or conibear-type traps. Any trap capable of
drowning the captured animal and any body-gripping or conibear-type
trap must be tended at least once each third calendar day, except for
traps set under the ice. A trap may not be left untended for more than
3 consecutive days (for example, a trap set or tended on Saturday would
have to be tended again by 10pm Tuesday). When a trap is tended, any
animal captured must be removed.

• Foothold traps with a jaw spread of 4¾ inches or less or a rat trap type
snap trap that are entirely contained in a container with an opening of 
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no more that 2 inches in height and/or width that are designed to kill
an animal need not be tended more frequently than once every third
calendar day (these are often referred to as weasel boxes). 

tRaP tamPeRing 
• No person may remove or tamper with a trap or snare legally set to take

fur-bearing or unprotected wild animals without authorization by the
trapper, a DNR agent, or the owner or lessee of the land where the trap
is located. 

• A trapper may authorize, in writing, an agent who possesses all neces­
sary licenses to tend traps set by the trapper, including resetting the trap
at the same set.The agent may remove animals from a trap. 

geneRal tRaPPing RestRictions 
Modified trapping regulations are in place in the lynx management zone.

See pages 52-53.
• No trap, either set or unset, may be placed or staked, and no flag, stake,

or other device may be placed to mark or pre-empt a trapping site
before the opening of any trapping season.

• During the muskrat trapping season, no flag, stake or other device
may be placed in or on a muskrat house for the purpose of marking or
pre-empting a trap site unless an operational trap is set at the site at the
time it is first staked or marked. 

• No person may leave any trap for a protected wild animal in place,

either set or unset, after the close of the applicable trapping season.


• No person may disturb, injure, or destroy any muskrat house or den,
except that traps may be set at natural entrances to muskrat burrows
and openings may be made in muskrat houses for trapping if all mate­
rial removed is wetted and used to plug the opening.

• Animals must be killed before being removed from a site.
• No person may disturb, injure, or destroy any beaver house, dam,


burrow, or den.

• No person may set a trap inside any beaver house or upon the outside of

any beaver house above the waterline.
• Mink may not be taken by digging or with the aid of dogs.
• unattended electronic devices may not be used for taking wild animals.
• No person may set or maintain any leghold trap within 20 feet of bait

located in such a way that it may be seen by soaring birds. “Bait” is any
animal or animal parts, including live or dead fish, except that small
pieces of fur and feathers may be used for flagging.

• No person may take a bird with a foot or leghold trap, except by special
permit.

• No person may trap beaver or otter on a state Wildlife Management
Area without a permit from the wildlife manager. 
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snaRing Regulations 
Snares may be used by licensed trappers for taking all species of protected

wild mammals that may be taken by the use of traps.The use of snares is
subject to the following regulations and all trapping regulations not incon­
sistent with these snaring restrictions. 
general Restrictions for snares 

• Bears cannot be taken with snares. 
• in the farmland Furbearer Zone no person may set, place, or operate

any snare except as a waterset, other than from October 26–March 31
(north mink/muskrat/beaver/otter zone) and November 2–March 31
(south mink/muskrat/beaver/otter zone), when snares are allowed on
land except on public lands, road rights-of-way, or in fence lines along
road rights-of-way. A waterset is any snare set so that the snare loop is
at least half submerged. 

use of snares 
• The diameter of the snare loop may not exceed 10 inches.
• Snare cable or wire may not have a diameter exceeding ⅛ inch.
• No person may set, place, or operate a snare in a culvert, except as a


completely submerged waterset.

• Snares may not be set in deer trails.
• Snares may not be used with spring poles or other devices that wholly

or partly lift from the ground an animal caught in the snare.
• Snares that operate with springs but do not lift the animal wholly or

partially off the ground are allowable.
• No snare may be set in such a way that the top of the loop is more than

20 inches above the first surface beneath the bottom of the set snare 
loop.

• All snares not capable of drowning the captured animal must be tended
at least once each calendar day.

• No snare set for a protected animal may be left in place after the appli­
cable trapping season has closed. 

site ValiDation couPons FoR FisheR, Pine maRten anD 
RiVeR otteR 

• Site validation coupons for fisher, pine marten and river otter are avail­
able for free upon request at license vendors.Trappers will receive one

NEW site validation coupon for each animal they could potentially harvest.
For example, a trapper who intended to target fisher, pine marten, and
river otter would receive a total of six coupons (two fisher/marten and
four river otter).

• Each person age 5 or older who takes a river otter, fisher, or pine marten
must validate their site validation coupon at the site of the kill by
cutting out the appropriate notches with a sharp knife or similar sharp 
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object.The notches indicate the month, date, time (am/pm) and species
(fisher/marten).

• Site validation coupons do not need to be attached to the animal, but
trappers must have their coupons in possession while taking or trans­
porting fisher, pine marten or river otter.

• Fisher, river otter, bobcat or pine marten taken by a resident under age
5 must be included in the limit of the accompanying parent or guard­
ian. Fisher, pine marten and river otter must be validated on one of the
parent or guardian’s site validation coupons.

• Fisher, pine marten and river otter must not be removed from the
kill site without the trapper’s validated site coupon in possession.
Authorized agents* may remove trapped fisher, pine marten, and otter
from the trap and the agent must validate their own site validation
coupon at and prior to removing the animal from the site of the kill.

• Site validation coupons are not transferrable.Trappers may acquire site
validation coupons at any time before or during the trapping season.
Replacements for site validation coupons that are lost or destroyed
are available upon request from any license vendor. Replacement site
validation coupons are clearly marked as replacements.

• Trappers must present completed site validation coupons for each fisher,
pine marten and river otter when they present the pelts for furbearer
registration.

 * An authorized agent is an individual that a trapper has authorized in writing and who
possesses all necessary licenses to tend traps set by the trapper, including resetting the
trap at the same set. 

FuRBeaReR RegistRation 
• The pelt of each bobcat, fisher, pine marten, and otter, must be removed

from the carcass and presented for registration by the person taking it.
The entire carcass of each bobcat and the head of each pine marten and
fisher must also be presented.

• Pelts, carcasses, and heads must be presented for registration at a DNR
registration station (complete list on page 55) or area wildlife office (by
appointment) before the pelt is sold or removed from the state and no
more than 24 hours after the close of the season for fisher and marten 
and 48 hours after the season closes for otter and bobcat. 

• To speed up registration, please bring the following written information
for each animal to be registered: species, sex, method of take, date taken
and county, township and range where taken. include your MDNR
number, as shown on your license. Forms are available at wildlife offices
and online. 

• Plastic registration tags must remain affixed to the raw pelt until the
pelt is tanned or mounted. Site validation coupons need not be attached
to the animal. 
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• Tanning a pelt does not eliminate the need for registration of otter,
martin, fisher or bobcat. 

Releasing PRotecteD sPecies 
Every effort should be made to avoid catching fully protected species. if

possible, a trapper should release accidentally captured protected species
back into the wild. if a fully protected species is caught out of season or a
daily or possession limit has been reached and the animal is dead in the
trap or otherwise cannot be released, you must notify a DNR conservation
officer. Without authorization from a conservation officer, a person may not
possess or transport a lynx that was accidentally killed or lawfully killed. 

FuRBeaReR Pelting anD tRansPoRtation 
• A person who performs a service by recovering and preserving the pelt

of a protected furbearer (except muskrat) that was accidentally killed or
lawfully killed while doing damage, may be entitled to a pelting fee of
up to 50 percent of the proceeds from the sale of the pelt not to exceed
$25 per pelt. Contact a local DNR conservation officer or regional
DNR Enforcement office within 24 hours for authorization to pelt the
animal. 

• Pelts or unpelted furbearers that were lawfully taken may be sold only to
a licensed fur buyer. 

lYnx management Zone Regulations 
As a result of a federal court order, trapping regulations in northeast

Minnesota have been modified to restrict, modify or eliminate the incidental
take of Canada Lynx.The following regulations apply only to that part of
Minnesota lying east and north of u.S. Highway 53, as shown on the map:

1. All snare cable or wire must be at least 5⁄64 inch in diameter when set
on land. 

2. Snare loops must be at least 8 inches in diameter and may not exceed
10 inches in diameter when set on land. 

3. All foothold traps, except those set as water sets, must be staked or

otherwise secured by teth­
ering chains or cables not

more than 18 inches long

with at least two swivel
 
points.


4. All traps and snares must

be secured in a manner
 
that prevents captured

animals from removing

the trap from the trap site

(no drags allowed).
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5. Fresh meat, hare or rabbit or parts of hare or rabbit may not be used
as bait. Other meat may be used as bait if it has been unfrozen and
exposed to air for at least 24 hours.

6. No suspended flagging or other sight attractant may be used within
20 feet of the trap or snare.

7. Any incidentally caught lynx should be immediately released, if pos­
sible. Any trapper who accidentally takes a lynx is required to notify
their local conservation officer as soon as possible or within 24 hours.
Persons who know about the take of a lynx can report it by calling
800-652-9093. 

8. Body-gripping traps that have a maximum jaw opening, when set, of
greater than 5 inches and less than 7½ inches measured from the inside
edges of the jaws (generally 160 and 220 conibears), except those set as
water sets, must be set in one of two ways:
a. in a tree of any diameter or on a pole no larger than 6 inches in


diameter at least 3 feet off the ground or surface of the snow.

b. if used on the ground, they must be set in a cubby with the trap

inserted a minimum of 7 inches from the front, with the cubby open­
ing no more than 50 square inches in area as illustrated. 

This diagram is for illustration purposes only. Cubby boxes may be 

Opening not to 
exceed 50 square 
inches 

constructed of any material and openings may be restricted with wire mesh,
wood strips or other material.

For general questions about trapping in the lynx management zone, call
the DNR information Center at 888-646-6367 (MiNNDNR). 
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NEW 
Furbearer Registration stations 

Furbearers may be registered between noon and 7pm on December 6
(all species), and between 3pm and 6pm on January 7 (bobcat and otter
only) at the locations listed on the next page or with any DNR area wildlife
office throughout the season by appointment only. A complete list of
wildlife office locations is available online at mndnr.gov 

RePoRting inciDentallY taken FuRBeaReRs: 
The following regulations apply for reporting incidentally trapped

furbearers: 
• A person may not possess or transport a lynx that was accidentally

killed or was lawfully killed until the person notifies the local con­
servation officer, other authorized department employee, or regional
enforcement office of the killing and receives authorization to possess,
transport, or skin the animal.

• A person may possess and transport mink, muskrat, beaver, badger,
opossum, fox or raccoon accidentally killed or lawfully killed while
causing damage or threatening injury or damage only if the local
conservation officer or other authorized employee of the department
is notified within 24 hours of such killing and before any skinning has
begun.

• A person may possess and transport fisher, otter or pine marten that
were accidentally killed, or bobcat or wolf that were accidentally killed
or lawfully killed while causing or threatening injury or damage, only
after the species is reported to a local conservation officer or by calling
888-646-6367 (option 9) and providing the required information. After
making the required notification and taking possession of the animal,
the person may not skin, transfer possession or otherwise dispose of the
animal without authorization from a conservation officer. 

Trappers should be prepared with the following information when calling
888-646-6367 (option 9):

• The trapper’s name and DNR number as it appears on the trapping
 
license.
 

• Date and time that the catch was discovered. 
• The number and species taken (example: one otter).
• General location of the catch (example: 5 miles south of Ely off County

Road 21).
• Complete address of the location where the carcass is being kept.
• A telephone number where you can easily be reached.
See page 125 for information on how to locate your local conservation

officer. 
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Furbearer Registration stations 
Aitkin DNR Wildlife Office 218-927-3751 

Backus DNR Forestry Office 218-947-3232 

Baudette DNR Wildlife Office 218-634-1705 

Bemidji DNR Area Fish & Wildlife Office 218-308-2348 

Big Falls DNR Forestry Office 218-276-2237 

Brainerd DNR Area Wildlife Office (1601 Minnesota Dr) 218-828-2550 

Cambridge DNR Wildlife Office 763-689-7100 

Cloquet DNR Wildlife Office 218-879-0880 x225 

Deer River DNR Forestry Office 218-246-8343 

Duluth DNR Forestry Office (4805 Rice Lake Rd) 218-723-4791 

Effie DNR Forestry Office 218-743-3694 

Eveleth DNR Wildlife Office 218-744-7449 x221 

Finland DNR Forestry Office (Dec. 6 only) 218-353-7397 

Forest Lake DNR Carlos Avery Game Farm Office 651-296-5200 

Grand Marais DNR Wildlife Office (Dec. 6 only) 218-387-3034 

Grand Rapids DNR Regional Headquarters 218-327-4455 

Hibbing DNR Forestry Office 218-262-6760 

International Falls DNR Wildlife Office 218-286-5434 

Shakopee 7050 East Hwy 101 952-496-4141 x257 

Middle River DNR Thief Lake Wildlife Office 218-222-3747 

New London DNR Wildlife Office (398 Sibley Park Rd NE) 320-354-2154 

Nicollet DNR Wildlife Office 507-225-3572 

Northome DNR Forestry Office 218-897-5254 

Onamia DNR Mille Lacs Wildlife Area Office 320-532-3537 

Orr DNR Forestry Office 218-757-3274 

Park Rapids DNR Wildlife Office 218-732-8452 

Roseau DNR Roseau City Center Library 218-463-1130 

Roosevelt DNR Red Lake WMA Office 218-783-6861 

Rochester DNR Area Wildlife Office 507-206-2859 

Sauk Rapids DNR Office (940 Industrial Dr, Suite 103) 320-223-7840 

Tower DNR Wildlife Office 218-753-2580 x 221 

Two Harbors DNR Wildlife Office (Dec. 6 only) 218-834-1452/1453 

Wadena National Guard Armory (517 Jefferson St W) 218-732-8452 

Willow River DNR Forestry Office 85894 County Hwy 61 218-372-3183NEW 
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mOuRning DOVe 
season Dates, limits anD houRs 

September 1 to November 9, from ½ hour before sunrise to sunset. Daily
bag limit is 15; possession limit 45. 

license ReQuiRements 
All residents and nonresidents age 16 and over must have a valid small

game license in their possession. Residents may hunt doves without a license
on property they occupy as their principal residence. All licensed dove hunt­
ers must be HiP certified (see page 37). 

PaRtY hunting 
Party hunting for mourning doves is prohibited. individual hunters may

not shoot migratory game birds for other hunters. 

FiReaRm RestRictions 
Only shotguns not capable of holding more than three shells may be used

to take doves. 

agRicultuRal lanDs anD Baiting 
Bait, seeds, or grain may not be placed or brought into a field. Doves may 

be hunted on, over, or from:
• Lands or areas where seeds or grains have been scattered solely

as the result of normal agricultural operations, which include normal
agricultural harvestings, normal agricultural post-harvest manipulations,
or normal agricultural practices.

• Lands planted by top-sowing or aerial seeding where seeds have been
scattered solely as the result of a normal agricultural planting, a planting
for agricultural soil erosion control, or a planting for post-mining land
reclamation. 

• Standing crops, and standing or manipulated natural vegetation
• Lands planted as wildlife food plots, provided the seed is planted in a

manner consistent with Cooperative State Research, Education, and
Extension Service recommendations for the planting of wildlife food
plots.

• Lands planted as pasture improvements or for the purpose of grazing
livestock. 

• A blind or other place of concealment camouflaged with natural

vegetation.


• Lands or areas where grain or feed has been distributed or scattered
solely by manipulation of an agricultural crop or other feed on the land
where grown. Manipulation means the alteration of natural vegetation 
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or agricultural crops by activities such as mowing, shredding, discing,
rolling, chopping, trampling, flattening, burning, or herbicide treat­
ments. Manipulation does not include the distributing or scattering of
seeds, grains, or other feed after removal from or storage on the field
where grown.

Note: Although doves may be hunted over manipulated agricultural
crops, waterfowl may not, except after the field has been subject to a normal
harvest and at least 10 days has elapsed since the complete removal of all
manipulated grain. 

sanDhill cRane 
Look for details about the 2013 sandhill crane hunt (September 14–

October 20) in northwest Minnesota in the waterfowl supplement, available
in mid August. 

FYI… 
Dove hunting 

This information is provided to help you avoid common mistakes.
• Pre-season scouting is best in the morning and late afternoon,


when doves are most active.
 
• Doves are most abundant in agricultural areas of western and


southern Minnesota.
 
• Hunt in areas between food, water, grit and roosting locations.
• Doves often feed in wheat, oat and sunflower fields. Landowner

permission is required to hunt private agricultural fields.
• Doves fly 30 to 40 mph and can reach 60 mph. Practice estimating

extra wingshooting lead distance.
• Downed doves blend well with vegetation. Mark and retrieve birds

immediately. Dogs can be very useful in retrieving doves.
• Hunters who disrupt or damage utility lines taking resting doves

could face legal action.
• Motorized decoys controlled by remote may be used to take doves. 
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wilD tuRKeY 

Important Dates:
Fall Season 

September 28–October 27: Fall turkey licenses may be purchased
online, by telephone and wherever hunting and fishing licenses
are sold. 

Spring (2014)
December, 2013: Applications available.
January 10, 2014: Application deadline.
April 16, 2014: First Spring Season opens. 

license aVailaBilitY 
Licenses for early-season spring wild turkey hunts are awarded in a

preference drawing. Application materials and full regulations are available
online at www.mndnr.gov/hunting/turkey

Spring turkey permits that are valid for the final five seasons (D–H)
may be purchased over-the-counter, without participating in the lottery or
drawing. Firearms hunters who purchase an over-the-counter permit must
select and hunt in one permit area. Archery hunters may hunt throughout
the combined time periods and in any permit area.

Crossbows are not legal for archery turkey license holders except
disabled hunters with a permit. Crossbows may be used with any turkey
firearm license. Hunters may not purchase both a firearm and an archery
license. 

PRiVate lanDs assistance 
Want to improve habitat on your

land? The DNR Private Lands 
Program assists private landown­
ers in developing and maintaining
wildlife habitat. More information 
is available online at mndnr.gov/
privatelandsprogram ©
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BIG GAME 
legal FiReaRms (incluDes hanDguns) FoR Big game 

• it is at least .220 caliber and has center fire ignition;
• it is loaded only with single projectile ammunition;
• The projectile used has a soft point or is an expanding bullet type;*
• The muzzleloader (long gun or handgun) used cannot be loaded at the

breech (muzzleloading revolvers are not legal for taking big game);
• The smooth-bore muzzleloader used is at least .45 caliber and 
• The rifled muzzleloader used is at least .40 caliber;
• Muzzleloaders with scopes are legal during the regular firearms deer

seasons, but are not allowed during the muzzleloader season except by
special permit for hunters with a medically certified visual impairment.
Applications are available from the DNR information Center, see
page 124. 

other Restrictions 
• No person may discharge a firearm or an arrow from a bow on, over,

across, or within the right-of-way of an improved public highway
(including but not limited to federal, state, county, and township road­
ways) at a big game animal or a decoy of a big game animal that has
been set out by a licensed peace officer.

• A person may not use a dog or horse to take big game. 

legal BoWs anD aRRoWs FoR Big game 
• Bows must have a pull no less than 30 pounds at or before full draw.
• Arrowheads used for taking big game must be sharp, have a minimum

of two metal cutting edges, be of barbless broadhead design, and have a
diameter of at least ⅞ inch. 

• 	“Expandable” broadheads may be used to take big game if they meet
the requirements above and: 1) are at least ⅞ inch in width and no more
than 2 inches in width at or after impact; and 2) are of a barbless design
and function in a barbless manner. 

• No person may hunt with a bow drawn, held, or released by a mechani­
cal device, except disabled hunters who have a crossbow permit.

• A hand-held mechanical release attached to the bowstring may be used
if the person’s own strength draws and holds the bowstring. 

*	 Hunters are reminded to select bullets that are suitable for taking big game. Most
major manufacturers offer either bonded or all-copper bullets that are appropriate for
taking big game. Hunters are advised to select a proper bullet design and weight that
is suitable for humanely taking big game. 
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• A person may hunt with a crossbow under the following conditions,
› Big game and small game by special permit issued to hunters unable

to hunt by archery because of a temporary or permanent disability.
The disability must be verified in writing by a licensed physician
or chiropractor.The permit application is available from any DNR
regional office or by calling the DNR information Center (See page
124), or online at www.mndnr.gov/permits/enforcement. 

› 	 A licensed hunter may use a crossbow as a choice of arms for bear or
deer with a regular firearms license or a crossbow disability permit
and an archery license. 

shooting houRs 
Shooting hours for big game are ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after 

sunset. 

Possession oF Big game 
Any person who takes a big game animal must retain the license, site tag,

permit, and possession (registration) tag for as long as any part of the meat is
in possession. 

FYI… 
Deer carcass Disposal 

Hunters who process their own deer may not dispose of carcasses
on public land, including wildlife management areas, state forests, road
rights of way, or in any water body. Deer carcasses may be disposed of
in the following ways:

• On private land with the permission of the landowner.
• Through your refuse hauler after checking on how to properly bag

the carcass. 
• At a local landfill. 

The use of bait for trapping (carcasses or parts of carcasses) remains
legal within applicable laws, however, the unlawful deposit of carcasses
not associated with legal baiting or field dressing constitutes litter. 
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FYI… 
chronic Wasting Disease 

Chronic Wasting Disease occurs in deer, elk, and moose. it belongs
to a group of infectious diseases known as “transmissible spongiform
encephalopathies” (TSEs). it is caused by an abnormal protein, called
a prion, that affects the animal’s brain and is invariably fatal. usually,
months to years pass from the time an animal is infected to when it
shows signs of the disease.

Typical signs of the disease include drooping head or ears, poor body
condition, tremors, stumbling, increased salivation, difficulty swallow­
ing, or excessive thirst or urination.

A good source for national CWD information can be found at
www.cwd-info.org. Minnesota-specific CWD information begins on
page 63. 
carcass import Restrictions 

To help prevent the spread of CWD, hunters cannot bring whole
cervid (deer, elk, moose, caribou) carcasses into Minnesota from areas
of other states or provinces where CWD has been found. A list of
known areas from which carcass import is restricted can be found at
mndnr.gov/mammals/deer/cwd or by calling the DNR information
Center (see page 124). From these areas, hunters may bring only the
following parts into Minnesota:

• Meat that is boned out or that is cut and wrapped (either commer­
cially or privately)

• quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the spinal

column or head attached
 

• Hides and teeth 
• Antlers or clean (no brain tissue attached) skull plates with antlers

attached 
• Finished taxidermy mounts
• Nonresidents transporting whole carcasses on a direct route


through Minnesota are exempt from this regulation.
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FYI… 
lead in Venison 

What hunters should know: 
• Lead particles found in hunter-harvested venison have not been

linked to any illnesses.
• Lead is a neurotoxin but toxicity depends on the level and fre­

quency of exposure. it is particularly harmful to children 6 and

younger and pregnant women.


• Lead can have physiological effects on human bodies and brains
at levels below that which would cause any noticeable signs of
sickness. 

The following guidelines and suggestions can eliminate or reduce and
minimize the potential risk of consuming lead fragments, depending on
the risk tolerance of the hunter. 

• Consider alternative expanding non-lead ammunition such as
copper or other high weight-retention bullets, such as bonded
bullets.These are available in a wide range of calibers as well as in
shotgun slugs and muzzleloader bullets.

• Lead particles in venison will likely be too small to detect by sight,
feel, or when chewing the meat.

• if you process your own meat, do not use deer with excessive shot
damage.Trim a generous distance away from the wound channel
and discard any meat that is bruised, discolored or contains hair,
dirt, bone fragments or grass.

• Avoid consuming internal organs.
• Practice marksmanship and outdoors skills to get cleaner, closer

shots and better shots. 

ultimately, individual hunters need to make the decisions.The DNR
and the Minnesota Department of Agriculture fully support deer
hunting and the venison donation program. Venison is a healthy, high
quality source of protein. Lead contamination can be avoided by using
non-toxic ammunition or reduced by using ammunition with high
weight retention, such as bonded bullets, and placing shots in vital areas
away from major muscle groups and liberally trimming meat around
the wound channels. 

62 



63 

Deer

    
    

   
 
 
 
 
  

 
 
  

  

  

  
  

  

 
  

  

  
 
 

  
 

 
 
 
 
 

DeeR 

Important Dates:
• September 5 (Thursday): Either sex Deer and Special Area Permit

application deadline.
• September 14: Archery opening date.
• October 17–20: Early Antlerless Season.
• November 9: Statewide (A) Firearms opening date.
• November 23: Late Southeast (B) Firearms opening date.
• November 30: Muzzleloader opening date.
• November 8: Firearms Deer opening date for 2014. 

neW 2013 DeeR season inFoRmation 
• Deer permit area 101 is no longer considered a disease management area.
• Telephone and internet registration will be available in series 300 permit

areas. Deer taken in 602 must still be presented for registration.
• The bag limit in permit area 602 (CWD management area) will be


five deer.
 
• An early antlerless season will be held in sub-permit area zones within

permit areas 345 and 346 (consult large fold-out Dear Season Map).
• All deer license buyers, including archery hunters, will be asked to

indicate the deer area they hunt most often.This is for information only.
Hunters are not obligated to stay in the indicated area.

• Deer must be registered within 48 hours after harvest and before

processing.
 

chRonic Wasting Disease management aRea 
• The chronic wasting disease (CWD) management area is comprised

of deer permit area 602.This permit area was created as a result of the
discovery of a CWD-positive wild deer near Pine island.

• The intent of the CWD management area (deer area 602) is to maximize
hunting opportunities and liberalize bag limits such that deer densities
can be reduced and additional disease surveillance can be conducted in 
this area. 

• The area is almost entirely private land and access is limited. Hunters
interested in pursuing deer in this area are advised to acquire landowner
permission first.

• The season dates are:
 
> Archery: September 14 to December 31

> Youth: October 17 to October 20
 
> Firearm: November 9 to December 1
 
> Muzzleloader: November 30 to December 15
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• During the 23-day regular firearm season (November 9 to
December 1), a license valid for either season option (A or B) can be
used in deer area 602. 

•	 Salt and mineral blocks and mineral attractants are prohibited in the
CWD-related feeding ban described on page 81.

• A person may take up to five deer, one of which may be a buck.
• The antler point restriction and cross-tagging restrictions that were

enacted in 2010 are not in effect for deer area 602. A person may take
any legal buck.

• Disease management permits, which are available for $2.50 from any
ELS agent, may be used in deer area 602. Disease management permits
are for antlerless deer only and should be used instead of bonus permits.
They are not valid in adjacent deer permit areas; they are only valid in
deer permit area 602.

• Deer taken in the CWD area must be registered at one of the stations
listed on pages 65-66.

• Submission of a sample for CWD testing is mandatory for all deer
harvested in the CWD area.This includes deer taken during archery,
youth, firearm, and the muzzleloader season.

• The only exception is that fawns (deer less than 1 year old) will not be
tested. At the time of registration, a DNR representative will make the
determination as to whether or not a sample will be taken. if the deer
is a fawn, it will be tagged and can then be transported outside the area.
if there is any question as to the age of the deer, it will be tested.

• Deer that are tested for CWD must remain in the area until a negative
test result is reported.

• internet and phone registration does not work in deer area 602. Deer
must be presented at an official CWD registration station. 

cWD management Zone (Deer area 602) 
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Deer Registration and carcass Restrictions 
Within the CWD area, the goal is to maximize the number of

hunter-harvested samples but remain flexible enough such that deer
registration and carcass restrictions are not overly burdensome. Achieving
these goals will mean registration stations will have to be consolidated
and hunters may need to travel farther to register their deer.The agency
is committed to doing what it takes to obtain samples; however, logistics
preclude DNR from being everywhere, all the time.This is particularly
evident during the archery season because it is so long and so few deer
are taken. 

Registration and Surveillance in the CWD Area Only
• Deer taken in area 602 must be presented for registration at one of the

stations listed below. Check station operators will not register your deer
unless there is verification that the carcass is present.

• The phone and internet registration options will not work for this area.
• Submission of a CWD sample is mandatory. 
• Hunters are encouraged to promptly register their deer so that the

CWD sample can be removed and reported back in a timely manner.
Removing the CWD sample takes only a few minutes and requires the
extraction of one pair of lymph nodes from the head.The entire deer
carcass cannot be removed from the CWD area (see map) until a nega­
tive test is reported.The carcass restriction applies to all seasons.

• CWD Registration store hours vary and hunters are encouraged to
check with the station to make sure they are open when you plan on
registering a deer.

Archery and Muzzleloader
• Deer taken during the archery and muzzleloader seasons can only be

registered at:
> Neptune Bar and Grill, 468 Highway 60, Zumbro Falls
> Greenway Coop, 10 N Main St., Pine island
> Archery Headquarters, 3440 Northern Valley Place, Rochester
> Kasson Hardware Hank, 11 4th St. SE, Kasson
> Gander Mountain, 3470 55th St. NW, Rochester

• During the warmer months, archery hunters are strongly encouraged to
plan ahead and have a place to store their deer if they plan on eventually
transporting it outside the area.

• Due to the low numbers of deer that are taken, DNR will not be staff­
ing these stations during the archery and muzzleloader seasons. Rather,
a head box will be located at each site with specific instructions regard­
ing how to submit the sample. Even though you are submitting a head
for testing, whole carcasses cannot leave the CWD area until a negative
result is obtained. 

• Deer can be registered and sampled at the Rochester DNR office by
appointment only. Staff is limited and may not be present if you show
up without an appointment. 
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Firearm 
• Deer taken during the firearm season can only be registered at:


> Neptune Bar and Grill, 468 Highway 60, Zumbro Falls, MN

> Greenway Coop, 10 N. Main St., Pine island

> Archery Headquarters, 3440 Northern Valley Place, Rochester

> Gander Mountain, 3470 55th St NW, Rochester

> Kasson Hardware Hank, 11 4th St. SE, Kasson


• DNR staff will be present at each of these stations from 9am–7pm for
the entire 23-day firearm season. Please register your deer during this
time. 

Carcass Restrictions 
• Deer less than 1 year old (fawns) will not be tested for CWD; however,

if you plan on moving the carcass outside of the CWD area, it must be
tagged by a DNR representative. Contact the Rochester DNR office at
507-206-2859 or a conservation officer (mndnr/officerpatrolareas) to
make those arrangements.

• Whole carcasses of adult deer taken within deer permit area 602

MuST remain in the area until a negative CWD test is reported.


• The following deer parts can be moved outside the area without a
CWD test result: 
> Meat that is boned out or that is cut and wrapped (either commer­

cially or privately).
> quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the spinal column

or head attached. 
> Antlers or clean (no brain tissue attached) skull plates with antlers

attached. 
> Finished taxidermy mounts.

• Hunters who plan on having their deer head mounted must also
comply with the restriction. DNR is working with area taxidermists to
coordinate CWD sampling. Hunters are strongly encouraged to bring
their deer head to a CWD registration station already caped because
the sample collection will destroy the cape.

• Hunters should also be aware that venison processors may not take your
deer until a CWD test is completed. it is the hunter’s responsibility to
work with their processor in advance to determine how they handle
carcasses. 

CWD Test Results Turnaround 
Archery and muzzleloader deer samples will be submitted twice

weekly (Monday and Thursday). Firearm samples will be submitted daily
throughout the 23-day season. in all cases, testing takes three business
days. Completed test results will be available on the CWD page of the
DNR website, www.mndnr.gov/cwd. if you do not have internet access,
please call the DNR information Center at 888-646-6367.To obtain
test results, enter either your 9-digit MDNR number, which is found 
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on your license or the 6-digit number on the orange possession tag that
was provided when your sample was collected during the firearm season.
Once you have a negative test result, the carcass can be transported out of
the zone. 

individual test results will not be mailed and it is the hunter’s responsi­
bility to follow up if test results are desired.
Metro CWD surveillance 

Due to the discovery of CWD in a captive European red deer farm in
Ramsey County, DNR will attempt to obtain CWD samples from the
immediate area. Because the area does not have a traditional firearm deer 
season, most collections will come from vehicle-killed deer, metro archery
hunts, city deer reduction permits, and opportunistic sampling. Additional
information will be available on the DNR website prior to the 2013
archery deer season. 

geneRal DeeR inFoRmation 
legal Buck and antlerless Deer 

• A “buck” is a deer having at least one antler at least 3 inches long. See
page 80 or 85 for a description of a “legal buck” (at least one antler with
4 points) for 300 series deer areas. Fawn bucks, sometimes called button
bucks, are not legal bucks.

• “Antlerless deer” are those deer without an antler at least 3 inches long. 
license Purchase and Validity 

All deer licenses (archery, firearms, muzzleloader) may be purchased at any
time before or during the season. However, a license purchased on or after
the day the respective season opens is not valid until the second day after the
day it is issued (for example, a license issued on Saturday would not be valid
until Monday). A “day” means midnight to midnight.The “respective season”
refers to the first season for which the license is valid.The exceptions are
bonus and disease management permits, which are valid when issued if the
appropriate regular license is valid.

• Residents under 18 or a disabled person who has a permit to shoot
from a stationary vehicle and a valid deer license may take a deer of
either sex in a lottery deer area without an either-sex permit. Only
authorized youth or disabled hunters may shoot and tag the antlerless
deer in a lottery deer area (no party hunting).

• A person may purchase no more than one Firearms, Muzzleloader, and
Archery deer license in a calendar year.

• Bonus and disease management permits may be purchased in addition
to regular licenses.They may be purchased throughout the season, but
must be in possession when taking deer.The permit is valid when your
regular license in that season is valid. Regular licenses and antlerless tags
may be used in any order. 
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• A person may not take or tag deer without the appropriate license or
permit.The term “take” includes attempting to take deer, and driving,
spotting, or otherwise assisting another person in taking deer. 

Deer licenses and Permit types 
• Hunters may buy an archery, firearm, and muzzleloader license.
• License choices are: 

› Statewide (A): Valid in any open area during the firearm season that
begins November 9; or 

›	 Late Southeast (B) Season: Valid only during the traditional zone 3B
season in southeastern Minnesota that begins November 23.

• individuals cannot buy both a Statewide (A) and Late Southeast (B)
Season license; however, both may purchase a muzzleloader license.

Youth Archery License—Residents and non-residents ages 10 to 17 as of
September 14 must obtain a youth archery deer hunting license that is valid
for either-sex deer statewide. Residents 10 to 12 years old must obtain a free
license before hunting big game.

Youth Firearm License—Residents and non-residents ages 10 to 17 as
of November 9 must obtain a youth firearm license. Residents 10 to 12 years
old are required to obtain a free license before hunting big game.The license
is valid for either-sex deer statewide and may be used in both the Statewide
(A) and Late Southeast (B) seasons but not the Muzzleloader Season.

Youth Muzzleloader License—Residents and non-residents ages 10 to
17 as of November 30 must obtain a youth muzzleloader license.The license
is valid statewide. Residents 10 to 12 years old are required to obtain a free
license before hunting big game.

 Regular Archery License—A regular archery license is valid for an
either-sex deer statewide in any open area. Closed areas and season dates are
listed on page 91.

Regular Firearm License—A firearm deer hunter may purchase either a
Statewide (A) or Late Southeast (B) Season license. Statewide (A) licenses
are valid in all areas that open November 9 and Late Southeast (B) Season
licenses are valid only during the 3B season.The season choice will be
printed on the license.

• Both Statewide (A) and Late Southeast (B) Season licenses are valid in
the metro (601) and the CWD (602) areas.

• The license is valid for either sex deer in any hunter choice, managed, or
intensive area or in a lottery area if successful in the lottery.

Regular Muzzleloader License—Any hunter can buy a muzzleloader
license, including people who have purchased a firearm license.The license is
valid for either-sex deer in any hunter choice, managed, or intensive area. in
lottery areas, you must have an either-sex permit to take an antlerless deer.

Landowner Deer License—This license allows the taking of one antler-
less deer. 
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hoW to… Buy a Firearms Deer license: 
1. Choose either the Statewide (A) or Late Southeast (B) Season

option.The option will be printed on your license; and
2. Tell the agent which deer area you hunt most often or if applying

for a lottery, which area you plan to hunt. Note: This is collected for
information purposes and will not print on the license. You are not
obligated to stay in the area you say you hunt most often.

 oR 

Regular 
Firearms License 
(choose one option) 

Late Southeast (B) Season: 
300 Series: Nov. 23–Dec. 1 

Statewide (A)—Valid in Areas: 
100 Series: Nov. 9–24 
200 Series: Nov. 9–17 
300 Series: Nov. 9–17 

Important:
information for Statewide (A) license holders—Your Statewide (A)

season license is valid in any area that opens November 9. You are not
obligated to stay in any one zone. For example, you can hunt in deer
area 346 (9-day season) opening weekend, move to deer area 235 (9-day
season) the second weekend, and finish up your season in 184 (16-day
season) on the last weekend.

information for Late Southeast (B) Season license holders—
This is the traditional 3B license that is only valid in southeast
Minnesota (November 23–December 1). 3B hunters can also buy a
muzzleloader license. 

special hunt area Permits 

Important:
The application deadline for Lottery either-sex and Special Area

Permits is Thursday, September 5.The deadline for special youth hunts
(except the Special Youth Season) is Friday, August 16. Applications
must be made at an ELS license agent, the DNR License Center, or by
telephone, by these dates.To apply, you must first purchase a deer license. 

Participation in a special hunt does not preclude hunters from taking a
deer in a regular deer permit area, although statewide bag limits and license
requirements apply (page 72).

Special Hunt Permits
• Special hunt permits are required to hunt deer in special permit areas

where the number of hunters must be limited to control the harvest 
or for public safety. 
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• Special hunt permit areas for regular firearms hunters are listed
on pages 87 and 88 and on the DNR website at www.mndnr.gov/
hunting/deer

• Those who receive a special hunt area permit may also hunt deer out­
side that special hunt area during the season indicated on the license.

• Parties of up to four hunters may apply. See instructions on page 82.
Selection and Notification of Successful Applicants

• if permit applications exceed quotas, computerized drawings will be
used to determine who will be issued permits.

• Drawings for special area permits are based on a preference system.
Applicants for special area permits accumulate preference by applying
without getting drawn. A person’s preference is the same whether
applying for an either-sex permit or a special area permit.

• Preference is not affected by applying for a different area than the
year before or by not applying for one or more years.

• Preference for group applications is based on the individual in the
group with the lowest preference.

• Only successful applicants will be notified.
• Permits mailed in mid October. information about the drawings and

individual applications is not available until after this date. Applicants
may check the DNR website (mndnr.gov) in mid October to view
results. 

• if you are not notified, you can assume your application was not
selected, and that your preference will increase.

• All hunters must apply if they wish to participate in a special hunt.
Early Antlerless Permits

• Early Antlerless Permits are available to firearms hunters in des­
ignated areas during the early antlerless season. up to five may be
purchased.

Bonus Permits 
• Bonus permits are available to archery, firearms, and muzzleloader

hunters to take antlerless deer in designated areas.
• Bonus permits may be used in managed and intensive areas, the

metro (601), early antlerless subpermit areas, and some special hunts.
• Bonus permits are valid for archery, muzzleloader or firearms, but

hunters must have the appropriate regular license for the area, season,
and method they are using.

• Bonus permits are not valid in lottery or hunter choice deer areas.
Disease Management Antlerless Permits

• Disease Management permits are available to hunters interested in
hunting in CWD (602) area.

• Disease Management permits are valid during any season but hunters
must have the appropriate regular license for the season and method
they are using. 
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 tagging 

Part 1: 
Site Tag 

Notch time, 
date, and 
month here 

Part 2: 
License 
Always 
retain 

Part 3: 
Registration 
Slip 

Detach 
here 

hoW to… tag Your Deer and Validate Your site tag 
Your Deer License and Site Tag comes as a 2-part form.The upper

half is the Site Tag for tagging the deer in the field.The lower half is the
Deer License and Registration Slip.

1. At the kill site you must:
a. Detach the Site Tag from the


Deer License/Registration

Slip.


b. Before moving the deer, vali­
date the tag by using a knife

or similar sharp object to cut

out the appropriate notches

indicating:

• Month the deer was killed,
• Date it was killed, and
• Time of day it was killed


(am or pm). Mark care­
fully—if more than one

month, date, or time is

cut out or marked, the tag

becomes invalid.
 

2. A person may move a law­
fully taken deer from the site of
the kill without attaching the
validated tag to the animal only
while in the act of manually or
mechanically dragging, carrying, or carting the animal across the
ground and while possessing the validated tag on their person.

3.The validated tag must be attached to the deer when the deer is
placed on a motor vehicle or an ATV, a vehicle or a trailer being towed
by an ATV or brought into a camp, yard or other place of habitation.

4.To apply the tag to the deer:
• Tie or attach a 10- to 12-inch twine, zip tie or wire securely to

the deer around the base of an antler, through a slit cut in either
ear, or between the tendon and bone of a hind leg, leaving the two
long ends of the string or wire free. Note that this will require you
to bring a cable tie, piece of wire or string into the field with you.

• Pull one end of the twine or wire through one of the pre-cut holes
on the Site Tag and tie it together. Note that tags no longer fold and
are not adhesive. 

• The tag must remain attached to the deer until processed for storage. 
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landowner Free Deer license in selected areas 
Archery, firearm, and muzzleloader landowner licenses are valid during any

open season; however, the landowner must use the appropriate weapon for
that season and adhere to blaze orange restrictions.This license allows the
taking of one antlerless deer per farm (in hunter choice, managed, and inten­
sive deer areas). A resident owner or tenant or a non-resident owner who is
actively farming at least 80 acres of agricultural or grazing land in deer areas:
114, 117, 126, 127, 152, 155, 156, 157, 159, 173, 177, 178, 179, 180, 181, 182,
201, 203, 208, 209, 210, 213, 214, 215, 218, 219, 221, 222, 223, 224, 225,
227, 229, 230, 232, 233, 235, 236, 239, 240, 241, 242, 246, 247, 248, 249, 254,
255, 256, 257, 258, 259, 264, 265, 273, 287, 292, 293, 338, 339, 341, 342, 343,
344, 345, 346, 347, 348, 349, 601, 602 (applies to both A and B seasons) may
obtain a free license from any ELS license agent. A person may receive only
one landowner deer license per year. For land with co-owners or co-tenants,
only one co-owner or co-tenant may receive a landowner deer license per
year.The license is valid only on the land owned or leased for agricultural
purposes by the license holder within the deer area where the qualifying land
is located.The license holder may give the license to a spouse or dependent.
A license issued under this provision does not affect the license-holder’s 
eligibility to purchase additional deer licenses or permits. A landowner deer
license can be used to purchase bonus permits in managed or intensive deer
areas. Landowners who obtain this license must allow public deer hunting
on their land during the deer hunting season for that license, except for the
first Saturday and Sunday of the season. Hunters must obtain permission,
and it is up to the landowner how much public hunting is appropriate. 
statewide Bag limits for Deer 

A hunter may tag one legal buck per year, without exception. Although
hunters can buy all three licenses, the bag limits may not allow all three tags
to be filled in a single deer area. it is the hunter’s responsibility to know the
bag limit for the areas they hunt.The statewide bag limit for deer is five.

Lottery Deer Areas—The bag limit is one deer total per year, regardless of
license type. if you take a deer in a lottery deer area, you cannot take another
deer in another lottery or hunter choice deer area. However, you can take
deer in managed or intensive deer areas, as well as some special hunt areas
with a valid permit, provided you adhere to the regulations and bag limits for
those areas. Bonus permits are not valid in lottery deer areas.

Hunter Choice Deer Areas—The bag limit is one either-sex deer total
per year, regardless of license type. if you take a deer in a hunter choice deer
area, you cannot take another deer in another hunter choice or lottery deer
area. However, you can take deer in managed or intensive deer areas, as well
as some special hunt areas with a valid permit, provided you adhere to the
regulations and bag limits for those areas. Bonus permits are not valid in
hunter choice deer areas. 
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Managed Deer Areas—The bag limit for managed deer areas is two deer
and hunters can use any combination of licenses and bonus permits to tag
both deer. 

Intensive Deer Areas—using any combination of licenses and permits,
the bag limit for intensive deer areas is five deer.

Chronic Wasting Disease Area—using any combination of licenses and
permits, the bag limit is five deer. Special restrictions apply. See pages 61, 63,
and 64 for information. 

Exceptions to the Statewide Bag Limit:
Metro Deer Management Area—There is no limit to the number of 

antlerless deer that may be taken in this area.
Landowner Licensee Farms—Landowner Licenses may take one

antlerless deer in addition to the statewide bag limit for hunter choice,
managed, or intensive deer areas.

Subpermit Early Antlerless Areas—Hunters must possess an early ant­
lerless permit in addition to a firearms license.The bag limit for the season is
five deer. Early antlerless permit holders may take up to five antlerless deer
in addition to the statewide bag limit. 

statewide antlerless Deer information 
Deer areas are divided into four categories: 1) Lottery; 2) Hunter Choice;

3) Managed; and 4) intensive. in lottery deer areas, hunters need to apply
for either-sex permits. The deadline is September 5, 2013. in hunter choice,
managed and intensive deer areas, applications are not necessary. in these
areas, licenses are either-sex. Bonus permits for antlerless deer are available
over the counter for use in managed and intensive areas.

At the time of license purchase, all firearms hunters will need to indicate
which deer area they primarily hunt. This information is being collected
for survey purposes only. Firearms hunters may hunt bucks throughout the
season where licensed or may hunt antlerless deer on their regular license in
any hunter choice, managed, or intensive deer area. For more information, see
details in this section of the handbook and the color map and table on the
back of the large deer season map (available separately).

Lottery Deer Areas—ALL firearm and muzzleloader hunters age 18 and
older must apply for an either-sex permit if they want to harvest an antler-
less deer in a lottery deer area. A hunter can apply using both a firearm and
muzzleloader license.The application deadline is Thursday, Sept. 5.

Note: There is no exemption for a person who only hunts the muzzle-
loader season. information regarding permit allocations is on page 82.

Leftover either-sex deer permits will be available first come, first served
beginning at 5pm on Oct. 7. Any hunter who has not already been selected
can pick up a permit; however, you must have a valid license or purchase one
at the same time. 

2013 Lottery Deer Areas—101, 103, 105, 108, 110, 111, 118, 119, 122,
169, 171, 172, 176, 183, 184, 197, 199, 234, 237, 238, 250, 251, 252, 253, 
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260, 261, 262, 263, 266, 267, 268, 269, 270, 271, 272, 274, 275, 276, 277,
278, 279, 280, 281, 282, 283, 284, 285, 286, 288, 289, 290, 291, 294, 295,
296, 297, 298, 299

Hunter Choice Deer Areas—if you hunt in a hunter choice deer area,
you may take one either sex deer per year.  No application for an either-sex
permit is necessary and bonus permits cannot be used.

2013 Hunter Choice Deer Areas—117, 127, 152, 155, 159, 173, 177, 178,
179, 180, 181, 201, 203, 208, 213, 224, 230, 235, 239, 246, 247, 249, 256,
257, 258, 259, 264, 265, 273, 292, 344*, 345* 

*Denotes both seasons 

Managed Deer Areas—if you hunt a managed deer area, you may take a
deer of either sex. No application for an either-sex permit is necessary.

in the following areas, firearm, archery, and muzzleloader hunters may take
deer of either sex on their regular license and purchase bonus permits to take
antlerless deer. 

2013 Managed Deer Areas—114, 126, 156, 157, 209, 210, 214, 215, 218,
219, 223, 229, 232, 233, 240, 241, 242, 248, 254, 255, 293, 338*, 339*, 341*,
342*, 343*, 346*, 347*, 348*, 349* 

*Denotes both seasons 

Intensive Deer Areas—if you hunt an intensive deer area, you may take a
deer of either sex. No application for an either-sex permit is necessary. in the fol­
lowing areas, firearm, archery, and muzzleloader hunters may take a deer of either
sex on their regular license and purchase bonus permits to take antlerless deer.

2013 intensive Deer Areas—182, 221, 222, 225, 227, 236, 287*, 602 

*No archery hunting 

imPoRtant: hunting methoD RestRictions—

hunting DeeR With Bait is illegal
 

Hunters are not allowed to take deer with the aid or use of bait. 
“Taking” includes attempting to take. 

Definitions 
•	 Bait—includes grains, fruits, vegetables, nuts, hay, or other food

that is capable of attracting or enticing deer and has been placed by
a person. 

•	 Baiting—means placing, exposing, depositing, distributing, or scat­
tering bait that is capable of attracting or enticing deer.

Important—Liquid scents (example: doe in heat), sprays, salt, and
minerals are not bait if they do not contain liquid or solid food products.

Note: read the ingredient label on all products prior to use. Many 
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products contain food or attractants such as grains, fruits, and sugar
derivatives (glucose, dextrose, and fructose). if a salt or mineral prod­
uct has anything other than salt or mineral in it, it is illegal to use for
hunting.

A person otherwise in compliance with this section who is hunting
on private or public property that is adjacent to the property where bait
or food is present is not in violation if the person has not participated
in, been involved with, or agreed to baiting or feeding wildlife on the
adjacent property.

Removal of Bait—All bait must be completely removed for ten days 
prior to hunting.

Agricultural crops from normal or accepted farming, forest manage­
ment, wildlife food plantings, orchard management, or other similar land
management activities are not bait. important—this exclusion does not
apply to agricultural crops that have been reintroduced and concentrated
where a person is hunting. See Example.

Example—A person has an abundance of an agricultural crop
and intends to use it as “green manure” or fertilizer. A person may
reintroduce the agricultural crop to the field by spreading it out over
a previously planted field. if the landowner piles or concentrates the
agricultural crop where they hunt deer, it would be considered bait. 
new Penalties for Baiting Violations—Revocation 

• A person may not obtain any deer license or take deer under a
lifetime license for 1 year after the person is convicted of hunting
deer with the aid or use of bait. A second conviction within 3 years
would result in a 3-year revocation.

• The revocation period doubles if the conviction is for a deer that is a
trophy deer scoring higher than 170 inches. 

Baiting Versus Food Plots 
• Baiting significantly increases the risk of disease transmission by

concentrating animals and promoting nose-to-nose contact.
• Baiting attracts and holds large numbers of deer on private parcels

creating a privatization of the deer herd.
• Food plots are dispersed over a much larger area than bait piles

and allow animals to use them at more natural intervals. Food 
plots become part of an animal’s natural habitat. Bait piles can be
replenished over and over in the same location and alter a deer’s 
natural movement. By placing bait, one hunter can effectively nullify
another hunter’s attempt to harvest a deer.

• Food plots can be sustainable throughout the season—they don’t 
disappear after a person has harvested a deer and they provide food
and shelter for a variety of other wildlife. 
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elevated stands 
• in Wildlife Management Areas and State Parks open to hunting, only

portable stands may be used. Portable stand use is encouraged in State
Forests (see page 109).

• See pages 81 and 115 for more information on tree stands in

state parks.


• in Scientific and Natural Areas open to hunting, portable stands and
elevated scaffold may be used if removed each day at the close of
shooting hours and no damage to trees or other vegetation is done.
Nails, spikes, screws, or other devices that damage the bark of trees are
prohibited.

• See pages 99, 117 and 121 for information on wildlife management
areas, county lands, and federal lands.

• Any unoccupied permanent stand or blind on public land is public and
not the property of the person who constructed the stand. Any use of
threat or force against another person to gain possession of a stand is
unlawful. 

Party hunting 
• A “party” is defined as any group of two or more licensed deer hunters

who are all afield; hunting together at the same time; AND all using
firearms (including muzzleloaders) or all using archery.

• A mixed group of firearms and archery hunters is considered two

separate parties.


• Crossbow hunters may not party hunt with firearms hunters.
• Crossbow hunters may party hunt with archery hunters if they possess

an archery license with a crossbow disability permit.
• Any member of a party meeting this definition may kill a deer for any

other member of the party who has an unused tag valid for that deer.
• Some restrictions apply to 300 series deer areas. See page 80.
• Party members MAY NOT kill an antlerless deer in a lottery deer area

for: 1) a member of the party who is a resident under age 18; or 2) a
disabled person authorized to take antlerless deer under a permit to
shoot from a motor vehicle. 

Important!
The intent of the party hunting regulation is to prevent parties from

shooting more deer than the available number of tags.The party hunting
regulation requires that all hunters who intend to tag deer for each other
be hunting together, in the field, at the time the deer are taken. Party
members who are not afield hunting with the individual who takes a deer
at the time it is taken may not legally tag that deer. Hunters may not lend
licenses to or borrow licenses from other hunters. 
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Registration and transportation 
Registration

Every deer taken must be registered and antlers must remain attached
until the deer is registered. in all cases, the deer must be registered within

NEW 48 hours after the deer was taken and before the deer is processed either
privately or commercially. Except for the CWD area, deer may be trans­
ported out of the area where taken without first being registered.There are
three registration options:
1. Walk-in Big Game Registration Stations—This process is unchanged

from previous years. Registration stations display large, orange “Big
Game Registration” signs.The person whose tag is on the deer must
personally present the deer at an official registration station and receive
a big game possession tag.The tag must be attached to the hind leg, ear,
or antler where the site tag was attached. You can find a complete list of
all stations at any DNR wildlife office or on the DNR website.

2. Telephone—This is typically called interactive Voice Response (iVR).
The system will accept either key punch or voice (e.g., press or say one).
You will be asked to record a confirmation number so you must have a
pen to complete the registration process.To register your deer using the
iVR system, following the steps below.These steps are also printed on
your deer license.
a. Dial 888-706-6367 to get into the system
b. Enter the Harvest Registration Number that appears on the license.

it’s a 9-digit number that links back to the person and license type.
This is the large and bold number printed on your deer license and is
NOT your MDNR number.

c. Enter the 3-digit area where the deer was killed.The system will only
accept valid deer permit areas.

d.Enter the date the deer was killed. 
e. Enter the type of deer—adult male, adult female, fawn male, fawn

female. 
f. The system will then give you a confirmation number that must be

written on the license and site tag in the appropriate area.
3. Internet—Go to mndnr.gov/hunting to register your deer.The

questions will be identical to phone registration. You will be given a
confirmation number, which must be recorded on the license and site
tag in the appropriate area.

Specific Information for Telephone and Internet Deer Registration:
• Persons who register by phone or internet do not receive a separate big

game possession tag
• The site tagging regulations have not changed. Refer to page 71 for site

tagging information. 
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• When the system asks for deer type, please use the following
information: 
> Adult male—male deer with antlers at least 3" long
> Fawn male—this is a 6-month-old male deer, more commonly

known as a “button buck” and weigh less than 75 pounds dressed.
> Adult female—this is an adult doe at least 18 months old.Typically,

they have a longer nose and larger body (over 75 pounds dressed
weight) than younger antlerless deer.

> Fawn female—this is a 6-month-old female deer.They typically have
a short nose and weigh less than 75 pounds dressed.

• A harvest registration number can only be used once.The system will
not accept multiple registrations using the same number.

• In the CWD area (602), you must register your deer at a walk-in
registration station. In all cases, the deer must be presented for
registration at a walk-in station.Telephone and internet registration
system will not work in the CWD area.

• Since the system will recognize the license type, it will only ask ques­
tions valid to that license. Here are a few examples:
> Regular Firearms License—Will ask all 4 deer types but will not ask

season because it’s only valid during the firearm season.The same
applies to muzzleloader, archery, lifetime, etc.

> Bonus Permits—Will only ask 3 deer types (adult female, fawn male,
fawn female) but will also ask season (archery, firearm, muzzleloader).

> Disease Management Permit—Will not work at all since you have to
register this deer in deer area 602.

Transportation
• Except for the CWD area, a legally registered animal may be trans­

ported any time during and after the deer hunting season.
• The licensee must accompany the deer in transport except as follows:

A deer that has been registered may be transported by another person, if
the signature, address, and license number of the licensee and the origin
and destination of the transport are written on the back of the posses­
sion tag, the site tag, or a separate tag the licensee provides. 

FYI… 
Big game Registration stations 

Big game registration provides essential information for managing
deer populations. Registration station owners in the state donate the
use of their business and the time of their staff to help collect this
information. 

Station operators are not required to inspect deer or verify registra­
tion information.This is the hunter’s responsibility. 
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• All deer in transport must be readily accessible for inspection by DNR
conservation officers. 

• The head of a deer must remain attached to the carcass until the deer is 
registered. Skin and entrails may be removed before registration. Deer
may be quartered before being registered, but the animal’s head must 
remain attached to one of the quarters.

• Whole deer, elk, caribou, or moose carcasses from other states or prov­
inces may not be brought into Minnesota from areas known to have
CWD in wild deer, elk, or moose (see page 61). 

DeeR—FiReaRms 
Rifle/shotgun Boundary 

in the shotgun zone (see map on the back of the large, deer zone map,
available separately), deer hunters may use only legal shotguns loaded with
single-slug shotgun shells, legal muzzleloading long guns, or legal handguns. 
metro Deer management area (Deer area 601) 

• The metro deer area is comprised of deer area 601.
• The intent of deer area 601 is to increase hunting opportunity around

the greater Minneapolis–St. Paul area.The season has been imple­
mented to help landowners and local governments control local deer
populations.The area is comprised of nearly all private land and access is
limited. Hunters interested in pursuing deer in this area are cautioned to
acquire permission first.

• The season dates are:
 
› Archery: September 14 to December 31
 
› Youth: October 17 to 20
 
› Firearm: November 9 to December 1
 
› Muzzleloader: November 30 to December 15
 

• Any firearms or muzzleloader license is valid in this area.
• At the time of license purchase, hunters should indicate the area they

typically hunt during the regular deer season.The license is automati­
cally valid in the metro deer management area. 

• 	An unlimited number of bonus permits are available for use in 

this area.
 

chronic Wasting Disease area (Deer area 602) 
• The chronic wasting disease (CWD) management area is comprised of

deer area 602.This is a new area created as a result of the discovery of a
CWD-positive wild deer near Pine island.

• The season dates are:
 
› Archery: September 14 to December 31
 
› Youth: October 17 to October 20
 
› Firearm: November 9 to December 1
 
› Muzzleloader: November 30 to December 15
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• During the firearm season, a license valid for any season (firearms A or
B) can be used in this area.

• Specific information regarding deer registration and mandatory CWD
surveillance can be found starting on page 65.

• This area is almost entirely private land. Hunters are strongly encour­
aged to obtain landowner permission prior to hunting. 

itasca state Park 
itasca State Park (deer area 287) is open during the general firearm season

and the muzzleloader season. No archery hunting is allowed.
Some state parks are open to general hunting. See pages 115-116

for details. 
special Regulations in 300-series Deer areas only (338–349 and 
special hunt areas 921, 927, 929, 977) 

Antler Point Restriction 
• A buck must have at least one 4-point antler in order to be legally har­

vested. Bucks with less than one 4-point antler are not legal to harvest.
Refer to page 85 for examples of a legal buck.

• The regulation is in effect during the archery, 3A, 3B, and muzzleloader
seasons. 

• Adult hunters CANNOT tag a buck for a youth hunter.
• Youth hunters aged 10–17 are exempted from this regulation.They do

not have to comply and can take any antlered buck.
Buck Cross-Tagging in 300-Series Deer Areas

See page 76 for party hunting regulations in other areas. 

FYI… 
Venison Donation Program 

The venison donation program, established in 2007, will continue
for this season.The program allows hunters to donate deer that they
have shot for distribution to food shelves at no cost to the hunter. 
To participate, you can drop off a deer at any of the participating
processors. A list of eligible processors is posted on the DNR website.
Please refer to DNR new releases and the website as information is 
updated throughout the year. Processing fees are paid from a $1 fee
collected from the sale of bonus permits.The DNR is working with the
Minnesota Departments of Health and Agriculture to minimize the
risk of lead contamination in donated venison. Processors may reject
deer carcasses with multiple wound channels. Hunters should also
consider using non-lead ammunition if they are planning to donate
deer to the program. 
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This is most commonly referred to as party hunting.The intent of this
regulation is not to break up the hunting party or force hunters to leave
the field once they are successful.This regulation simply requires the
hunter to shoot and tag their own antlered buck. Specifically:

• A person cannot take and tag an antlered buck for another member
of their party.This applies to all hunters, license types, and seasons.

• it remains legal to take and tag antlerless deer for members of the
party.This is a population management strategy and may lead to
slight increases in antlerless deer harvest. 

Wildlife Feeding Bans 
• Feeding wildlife in Dodge, Goodhue, Olmsted, and Wabasha counties,

including the CWD area, is restricted to minimize the risk of spreading
or maintaining chronic wasting disease. A map can be found at mndnr.
gov/cwd.

• Feeding wildlife in portions of northwest Minnesota is restricted to
minimize the risk of disease transmission. A map of the area is online
at mndnr.gov/hunting/deer/tb. Look for the Feeding Ban Map link.
Violators of wildlife feeding restrictions may not obtain any hunting
license for 2 years after the date of conviction. 

elevated stands in state Park areas 
in state parks, state recreation areas and other lands administered by

the Division of Parks & Trails, opened to hunting by special permit, or by
legislation, early placement of portable stands is allowed according to the
criteria below: 

• Portable stands may be placed in the unit during normal business
hours only and no more than 7 days prior to the hunt. Stands must be
removed no more than 1 day after the hunt.

• All stands must have owner/hunter identification on them.
• Only portable stands that do no damage to trees or other vegetation are

allowed. Nails, screws or other devices that damage the bark of trees are
prohibited.

• Only clamp-on or strap-on devices for climbing are allowed, no

screw-in steps.


• Hunters may not place multiple stands.
• Other hunters or the general public may not occupy stands legally


placed by a hunter.
 
lottery Deer areas

 All adult firearm and muzzleloader hunters must apply for an either-sex
permit if they want to take antlerless deer in a lottery area.The change was
made to curtail the antlerless deer harvest that has been occurring in lottery
deer areas by individuals who don’t need an either-sex permit (disabled,
youth). in many cases, the number of deer taken by individuals who are 
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not required to have a permit had exceeded the total number of either-sex
permits authorized.

Hunters can apply using both their muzzleloader and firearm license.
After the application period ends, the permits will be allocated in proportion
to the license types in the lottery. For example, if 100 either-sex permits are
allocated and 25% of the applicants are muzzleloader hunters then 25% of
the permits will go towards the muzzleloader season.This has the benefit of
having muzzleloader-only hunters compete with other muzzleloader-only
hunters.They will not compete with firearm hunters who likely have more
preference points. 

hoW to… apply for Permits 
The drawings for all special hunt area permits are combined as part of

the either-sex permit preference system.
General Instructions 
• Applications for either-sex permits and special hunt area permits

must be made at one of the 1,500 ELS agents at the DNR License
Center, by telephone, or by internet by the September 5 deadline.
Applications can be completed as part of the process of purchasing
your regular deer license.

• You can apply for one firearm hunt and one muzzleloader hunt.
• Residents and nonresidents are eligible for permits.
• A permit is not transferable between persons or between areas.
• Residents and nonresidents under the age of 18 as of November 9

do not need to apply for an either-sex permit in lottery areas.They
must apply for special hunts.The deadline is September 5.The
deadline for youth-only hunts is August 16.

• All residents 21 or over must present their Minnesota Driver’s 
License or Public Safety identification Card at time of application.

• Special hunt tables are available online at mndnr.gov/hunting/deer
Antlerless and Special Area Permit Application Instructions
The ELS license agent will ask you a series of questions in order to

complete the transaction.The questions will be related to the type of
license you are purchasing and the deer area you are interested in hunt­
ing. You can apply individually or as a group of up to four people. Make
sure you check the large map and/or the tables online to ensure you are
applying for the correct area. After completing the transaction, immedi­
ately check your receipt and deer license to make sure the agent entered
your information correctly.This is the only time it can be changed. 
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Successful applicants will receive a postcard in the mail authorizing them
to take an either-sex deer using their regular license.The authorization will
be valid for either the firearm or muzzleloader season; however, you must
still have a valid license for that season. Specific instructions on how to apply
for an either-sex permit are listed in the box on page 82.

The number of deer hunters can kill in a lottery deer area is one, regardless
of license type or whether you were successful in both lotteries. All adult
hunters who hunt a lottery deer area must apply for an either-sex permit
by Thursday, September 5, 2013. Winners will be notified by mail and will
receive an authorization to take a deer of either-sex in that lottery deer area.
Bonus permits cannot be used in lottery areas.

• Either-sex permits allow a person to take a deer of either sex within the
specified lottery deer area.

• Areas and permit quotas are shown on the large deer zone map, avail­
able separately.

• Either-sex permit holders may take antlerless deer only in the area
specified on the permit, but they may hunt deer anywhere during the
season indicated on the license. 

• Regular firearm—can take a buck or an either-sex deer if successful in
the lottery.

• Youth firearm and persons with a disability permit to shoot from a
stationary motor vehicle—can take an either-sex deer without applying
in the lottery.

• Muzzleloader—can take a buck or an either-sex deer if successful in the 
lottery.


See page 73, 74 for the list of lottery deer areas.
 
hunters With Disabilities and Youth hunters—either-sex Deer hunting: 

A disabled person with a permit to shoot from a motor vehicle may take a
deer of either sex without an either-sex permit, except in youth-only antler-
less areas. 

Residents and nonresidents under the age of 18 as of November 9 and
disabled persons with a permit to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle may
take a deer of either sex in lottery deer areas without having to apply for or
obtain an either-sex permit. Resident youth ages 10–17 who qualify under
this provision may not apply for an either-sex permit or accrue additional
preference for these areas. 
hunter choice Deer areas 

All hunters are limited to taking one either-sex deer total per year in one
hunter choice deer area.There is no application for permits. if you hunt in
a hunter choice deer area, your license is valid for an either-sex deer. Bonus 
permits are not valid in hunter choice deer areas. Refer to page 74 for a list 
of hunter choice areas. 
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managed Deer areas 
The number of deer you can kill in managed deer areas is two, regardless

of license type, of which one may be a buck.
Regular and youth firearm—Hunters can take up to two deer total in

managed deer areas using any combination of licenses and permits. Refer to
page 74 for a list of managed deer areas. 
intensive Deer areas 

intensive deer areas have a bag limit of 5 deer total, only one of which
may be a buck.

Regular and youth firearm—can take a deer of either sex and use bonus
permits to take up to 5 deer. Refer to page 74 for a list of intensive deer
areas. 
antler Point Restriction and earn-a-Buck Regulations 

On several State Parks and in all 300-series deer areas (southeast
Minnesota), special regulations are in effect this season. For State Parks,
please refer mndnr.gov/deer to determine if your hunt has a special
regulation. Successful applicants will be mailed additional information prior
to the hunting season. 

FYI… 
lead in ammunition 

Because of its toxicity the use of lead shot for waterfowl hunting
has been illegal in Minnesota since 1987 and nationally since 1991.
Additionally, all types of hunting with lead fine shot on Federal
Waterfowl Production Areas has been illegal in Minnesota since
1999. State Wildlife Management Areas contain abundant wetlands,
and lead shot continues to be deposited in theses wetland as a result
of upland game bird hunting. Lead is toxic, can affect wildlife health
and reproduction, and at higher levels is fatal. Effective nontoxic loads
are now widely available and cost about as much as a box of premium
lead. Hunters are encouraged to consider using non-toxic alterna­
tives for all of their hunting. using non-toxic shot also eliminates the
potential risk of ingesting lead in game consumed by hunters and their
families. For more information on this issue, please visit our website at
mndnr.gov/lead. 
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hunting in areas With antler Point Restrictions 

hoW to… count Points 
A deer must have a minimum of four 

points on one side to be taken.
1. An antler point, if it is at least


1-inch long

2. The brow tine, if it is at least


1-inch long

3. The end of the main beam 
4. Any broken tine that is at least


1-inch long
 

Hunting Tips and How to Field Judge a Buck

1 

2 

3 
4 

• The antler point restriction regulations are designed to protect at
least half of the yearling (1½-year old) buck population. When field
judging a buck, if it has a small body and thin neck, it may be a
yearling.

• Bring binoculars and take the time to look at the antlers and count
the points before you take a shot.

• Wait for the deer to turn broadside, it will make it easier to count
points.

Legal Bucks
The following bucks meet the minimum standards for harvest.

Bucks with more points than shown in the illustrations are also legal
to harvest. 
Registration

Antlers must remain attached to the carcass until after the deer is 
registered.
Hunts With a 4-point Regulation
(including all 300 series deer areas, 338–349, and 921, 927, 929, 977).

Bucks with at least four points on one side. 

Seven point buck
with four points on
one side.

   Side view of a buck with 
four points on each side. 
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hunting in Parks With earn-a-Buck Regulations 
General Information 

• in order to tag a buck, you must tag an antlerless deer in the park first.
• You do not have to register the antlerless deer prior to taking the

buck, but you do need to validate your deer license and tag and have
them available for inspection by a conservation officer. if you are
found with a buck and no antlerless deer, you will be in violation of
the hunt rules and subject to a citation.

• There will be no special validation for buck hunting. it will be the
responsibility of the hunter to observe the rules and take their deer in
the proper order.

• if you have already filled your buck license, you may still hunt antler-
less deer at the park.

• Deer taken at the park must be registered at the park.
• Antlers must remain attached to the carcass until after the deer is
 

registered.

Licenses 

• Hunters may want two tags in possession. One tag must be valid for
taking an antlerless deer and the other for taking a buck.

• Hunters who are only interested in taking an antlerless deer need only
bring one tag.

Party Hunting (Cross-Tagging)
• Party hunting is legal in Earn-a-Buck areas.
• You can shoot a deer for a member of your party; however, only the

person whose tag is on the antlerless deer will be authorized to tag
a buck. 

• if you shoot an antlerless deer that is tagged by someone else, you
cannot tag a buck with your license. An antlerless deer must be first
tagged with your license before you tag a buck.

• Party hunters should tag their first antlerless deer with their own
license. if they have the opportunity to harvest another antlerless deer,
they should then tag it with another person’s license. 

Special Firearm Deer Hunts
The complete list of special firearm deer hunts including updates and

corrections is available online. A list of hunts is found on pages 87-88 and
on the deer hunting page of the DNR website, mndnr.gov/deer. While
season dates vary depending on hunt, the application procedures have not
changed and the deadline for all hunts is Thursday, September 5. 
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DeeR—muZZleloaDeR 
Season Dates: November 30–December 15, statewide 
Open Areas: Muzzleloader hunters may hunt statewide except for the

closed areas listed below. 
• Deer area 224 (Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge).
• Refuges and other areas closed to firearms hunting are also closed to

muzzleloader hunting.
• Rice Lake, Sandstone, and Rydell National Wildlife Refuges. 

muzzleloader Regulations 
•	 In lottery deer areas (where either-sex permits are limited),

muzzleloader hunters must apply for and receive an either-sex
permit. The application deadline is Thursday, September 5. if you are
successful in the lottery, your permit will be valid for an either-sex deer.

• Hunters may buy both a firearm and muzzleloader license.
• Only open and “peep” type sights (including those with fiber optic

material) are legal during the muzzleloader deer season. Scopes, including
holographic or “red dot” scopes, are not legal for this season.

• The use of non-magnifying scopes is allowed by special permit for persons
with medically verified visual impairments. A permit application is avail­
able by calling the DNR information Center (see page 124). 

lottery Deer areas 
A list of lottery deer areas is on page 73. All hunters are limited to taking

one deer total and muzzleloader hunters can only take an antlerless deer if
successful in the lottery.The application deadline is Thursday, September 5,
2013. Bonus permits are not valid in lottery deer areas. 
hunter choice Deer areas 

A list of hunter choice deer areas is on page 74. All hunters are limited to
taking one either-sex deer total per year.There is no application for permits.
if you hunt in a hunter choice deer area, your license is valid for an either-
sex deer. Bonus permits are not valid in hunter choice deer areas. 
managed Deer areas 

Hunters who purchase a muzzleloader license and are hunting in a man­
aged deer area may purchase and use bonus permits to take antlerless deer.
The bag limit is two deer total, using any combination of licenses or permits.
Refer to page 74 for a list of managed deer areas. 
intensive Deer areas 

Hunters who purchase a muzzleloader license and are hunting in an
intensive deer area may purchase and use up to four bonus permits to take
antlerless deer.The bag limit is 5 deer total. Refer to page 74 for a list of
intensive deer areas. 



2013 Minnesota Hunting Regulations

 

 
  

 
 

 
 

 

  

  

 
 

 

 
 

 

   

special muzzleloader Deer hunts 
The following are special permit areas open during the muzzleloader

season. Application instructions are on page 82. 

2013 special Permit areas For muzzleloader hunters 
Hunt Area Name County Hunt Season Dates No. of 

Permits 
Bag 
Limit 

Jay Cooke State Park (Includes 
Hemlock Ravine SNA) 

Carlron 935 12/7–12/11 120* 5 

Crow Wing State Park Crow Wing 936 12/13–12/15 40*** 2 

Soudan Underground Mine and 
Lake Vermilion State Parks 

St. Louis 937 11/30–12/15 20* 2 

City of Tower St. Louis 938 11/30–12/15 20* 2 

Lake Shetek State Park Murray 939 12/7–12/8 15** 2 

Nerstrand Big Woods State Park 
(Includes Prairie Creek SNA) 

Rice 941 12/7–12/8 50*** 5 

Sibley State Park Kandiyohi 942 11/30–12/1 50** 2 

Myre Big Island State Park Freeborn 943 11/30–12/1 40** 2 

Vermillion Highlands Research, 
Recreation, and WMA 

Dakota 944 11/30–12/15 25*† 2 

Lake Bemidji State Park Beltrami 947 12/6–12/8 30* 2 

The statewide bag limit is five deer (exceptions page 73). Hunters who hold a special hunt permit may 
purchase bonus tags for use in special hunts. 

*Either Sex **Antlerless Only ***Earn-a-Buck hunt †Mandatory Orientation 11/21 

other Firearms 
Muzzleloading firearms lawful for the taking of deer may be possessed

only by persons with a valid license to take deer by muzzleloader. While
muzzleloader hunting, a person may not possess a firearm other than the
following: an unloaded firearm in a case or closed trunk of a motor vehicle, a
shotgun and shells containing No. 4 buckshot or smaller, a handgun or rifle
capable of firing only rimfire cartridges of .17 or .22 caliber, including .22
magnum or handguns by persons authorized under a permit to carry. 
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DeeR—aRcheRY 
Season Dates: September 14–December 31 
Open Areas: Archery hunters can hunt statewide except in areas desig­

nated closed and itasca State Park (deer area 287).
October 17–20: Blaze orange is required in deer areas open for the youth 

deer season. 
• Archery hunters in deer area 601 may take an unlimited number of


antlerless deer.
 
• Except those licensed to carry a concealed weapon, a person may not

take deer by archery while in possession of a firearm.
• in all 300-series deer areas, including special hunts, antler point restric­

tions are in effect for archers. Refer to page 81 for information. 
lottery Deer areas 

All archery hunters can take an either-sex deer in the lottery deer areas
listed on page 73. Bonus permits are not valid in lottery deer areas. The bag
limit is one deer total. 
hunter choice Deer areas 

A list of hunter choice deer areas is on page 74. All hunters are limited to
taking one either-sex deer total per year.There is no application for permits.
if you hunt in a hunter choice deer area, your license is valid for an either-
sex deer. Bonus permits are not valid in hunter choice deer areas. 
managed Deer areas 

Archery license holders who are hunting in a managed deer area can take a
deer of either sex and may purchase and use bonus permits to take antlerless
deer.The bag limit is 2 deer total, using any combination of licenses or permits.
Refer to page 74 for a list of managed deer areas. 
intensive Deer areas 

Archery hunters who are hunting in an intensive deer area may purchase
and use bonus permits to take antlerless deer. Refer to page 74 for a list of
intensive deer areas.The bag limit is 5 deer. 

hoW to…  apply for archery special area Permits 
An application for an archery special area permit must be made on a

form supplied separately by each special area. No other form of applica­
tion will be accepted. Send your request for an application form with a
stamped, self-addressed, business-sized envelope to the address listed
for the special area where you wish to hunt. A person may apply for
more than one special area, but not more than once for a specific hunt.
There may be restrictions regarding applications. Please read material
carefully before applying. 
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archery special hunt areas 
• Application dates and methods vary by special hunt. Please refer to the

table on pages 93 and 94 for basic information regarding the hunt.
• Please refer to the website (mndnr.gov/deer) for hunt administrator

contact information. All questions related to archery special hunts
should be directed to the municipality conducting the hunt.

• Prior to making application, please check with the location you are
interested in hunting. Different municipalities have different regulations
such as requiring bonus permit use, taking an antlerless deer first, writ­
ten permission, and/or proficiency tests. 

FYI… 
transporting Firearms 

Although firearms transportation laws relating to hunting have
changed, hunters are reminded the safest way to transport firearms is
unloaded and cased. Not only does a case provide an extra measure of
protection for your firearm but it is reminder to ensure that firearms are
unloaded before transporting in or on a motor vehicle. 
special seasons for hunters With Physical Disabilities 

Special deer hunts for hunters with physical disabilities are tentatively
scheduled at a number of sites. Additional hunts for disabled archers 
may be organized by Capable Partners and Midwest Outdoors
unlimited, and are not listed here. For more information call the DNR
information Center at 888-MiNNDNR (646-6367).

Persons who are totally blind may use a laser sight to participate in
permitted assisted special hunting opportunities. 

tax time is YouR time to helP WilDliFe 
Look for the line with the loon on your Minnesota tax form and

donate to the Nongame Wildlife Checkoff. it’s fast, easy, and tax
deductible. Be part of the wildlife success story. 
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BEAR

BEAR

Important Dates:
•	 August 16: Start of baiting.
•	 September 1–October 13: 2013 Bear Season.
•	 Late March 2014: Applications available.
•	 May 3, 2014: Application deadline for the 2014 season.

LICENSING
Residents and nonresidents can participate in a drawing for licenses 

within bear permit areas, and they may purchase a license over the counter 
for the No-Quota Area. 

•	 Bear lottery winners must purchase their license by August 1, 2013. 
Unsold and any surplus licenses will then become available for purchase 
starting August 7, 2013.

•	 Bear hunters who use online or telephone options to purchase licenses 
should use extra care to assure their selections are correct.

Regulations
Bear hunting regulations booklets are available online at mndnr.gov.
•	 No more than three bait stations may be placed at one time for each 

licensed bear hunter.
•	 A private landowner or person authorized by the private landowner 

may use a drum to bait bear on the person’s private land. The drum must 
be secured to a tree so that it cannot be moved from the site by a bear 
and may not include a mechanical device for dispensing feed.

•	 The bag limit for bears is one per season in quota areas and two per 
season in the no-quota area hunter statewide. Hunters may purchase 
both quota and no-quota licenses.

•	� White bears may not be taken. 
•	 Cub bears may not be taken.
•	 Hunters are asked not to shoot radio collared bears, with brightly 

colored streamers or ear tags.
•	 A tooth must be submitted for all bears harvested.
•	 See bear hunting regulations booklet for additional information and 

2013 bear quotas.
•	 A map of bear permit areas will be available at license agents.
•	 Prior to the opening day of archery deer season, portable stands may be 

left overnight in a wildlife management area by a person with a valid 
bear license who is hunting within 100 yards of a bear bait site that is 
legally tagged and registered. The licensee’s name and address or driver’s 

 update
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license number or MNDNR number must be affixed to the stand in 
such a manner that it can be read from the ground. 

mOOSe 
There will be no State Moose Season in 2013. More information is avail­

able online at mndnr.gov/moose. 

elK 
The application deadline for the 2013 elk hunt has passed. in total, 23

licenses were issued in Kittson County.
Season dates are September 14–22, September 28–October 6, December

7–15, January 11–19.
The application deadline for next year’s elk hunt is May 31, 2014. There is

a $4 application fee per hunter and a license for a party of up to two hunt­
ers costs $287. Applications will be accepted at ELS agents statewide. 

FYI… 
advanced hunter education clinics and seminars 

Did you know that the DNR offers a number of clinics and seminars
for adults and youth? it’s a great way to learn about biology and behav­
ior of certain game species, brush up on skills or become an instructor.

For a listing of class offerings or instructor training: go to
www.mndnr.gov and click on Education/Safety. 

conseRVation gRaZing on WilDliFe management 
aReas—gooD FoR the ResouRces 

Conservation grazing is an excellent grassland manage­
ment tool.  Planned grazing can improve plant diversity and
habitat structure which benefits wildlife.  Hunting is allowed
when livestock are on a WMA. in most cases livestock will 
be removed by mid-August. For more information see:
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/publications/wildlife/index.html Minnesota Department of Natural Resources 

NOTICE 

This area is being grazed to benefit wildlife habitat 

YOU ARE ENTERING A 
LIVESTOCK GRAZING AREA 

Do not startle livestock. Livestock may behave upredictably. 
Cattle can weigh over 1000 lbs and run at 25mph. 
Cautiously walk around or away from livestock. 
Hunting is permitted. Leave gates as you found them. 
Report any injured or escaped livestock to : 

( _____) _____-________ or (_____) _____-________ 

Livestock may be dangerous - KEEP YOUR DISTANCE! 

Livestock may view dogs as predators. 
Keep dogs under control when livestock are nearby. 

M.S. 604A.12 Any person or entity grazing livestock on state lands under an agreement 
with the commissioner of natural resources is not liable for damage to property or the 
death of or an injury to a person due to the inherent risks of livestock activities. 

ATTENTION PET OWNERS : 
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WATERFOWL 
Because waterfowl seasons and limits aren’t approved until late summer,

final information on waterfowl was not available when this booklet was 
printed. Consult the Waterfowl Hunting Regulations Supplement available
online and wherever hunting and fishing licenses are sold in August. 

sPecial goose hunts 
A special $4 permit is required to hunt Canada geese during the special

August and September seasons. All persons must have the permit to par­
ticipate in the hunts, except residents under age 18 or age 65 and over, and
persons hunting on their own property.The August goose hunt is open in a
limited portion of west-central Minnesota Maps and further details on both
are available online at mndnr.gov/regulations/hunting. 

sanDhill cRane PeRmit 
A special $3 permit and a small game license is required to hunt sandhill

cranes. All residents and non-residents must have the permit to participate
in this hunt. Migratory waterfowl stamps are not required to hunt sandhill
crane. 

WILD RICE 
Harvesting wild rice is open to Minnesota residents and nonresidents.

All harvesters are required to be licensed unless they are residents under
18 years of age and accompanied by a licensed harvester. Season dates, hours
and regulations on equipment are available online at mndnr.gov/regulations/
hunting. 

saVe the WetlanDs 
Protecting wetlands is crucial to ensuring healthy populations of

ducks, pheasants, herons, and even deer. Minnesota leads the nation in
protecting wetlands. Let’s not lose that honor. 
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PUBLIC LANDS & WILDLIFE REFUGES 
State lanDS 

aQuatic management aReas 
The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife acquires land along lakes and

streams to provide fishing opportunities and to protect critical fish habitat.
These areas, known as Aquatic Management Areas (AMAs), are posted
with signs to indicate allowable uses. Each sign is marked with a letter to
easily identify permitted activities. it is always unlawful to leave personal
equipment, such as tree stands, unattended on AMAs. 

WilDliFe management aReas 
All public land in state-owned Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)

is open to the hunting of all species of protected wild animals and trapping
of mammals during the established seasons found in this booklet, except as
follows: 
general Restrictions 

• Trespass: Portions of WMAs posted closed to trespassing may not be
entered without DNR authorization. 

• Closed Hours: WMAs may not be entered or used during closed hours
if posted with these restrictions at major access points, except by permit.

• Camping: Camping is prohibited except in designated overnight-use
areas or with a permit from the wildlife manager. A vehicle, trailer or
tent lawfully left overnight must be occupied or attended.

• Alcohol: Alcoholic beverages may not be consumed, except by persons
lawfully occupying an overnight-use area.

• Firearms and Target Shooting: Target, skeet, trap, or indiscriminate
shooting is prohibited. A person may not possess an uncased or loaded
firearm or an uncased or strung bow, except when lawfully taking a wild
animal or by permit.

• Destruction or Removal of Property: Signs, posts, fences, gates, build­
ings, trees, shrubs, vines, plants, or other property may not be destroyed
or removed (including use of metal detectors to remove property),
except as follows: Wetland vegetation may be used to build blinds on
the area, and edible fruits and seeds, or decorative portions of plants
may be removed for personal use.

• Garbage Disposal and Animal Abandonment: Disposing of or
abandoning live animals, carcasses, garbage, trash, spoil, sludge, rocks,
vehicles, or other debris or personal property on any WMA is
prohibited. 
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• Hunting, Fishing, and Trapping Equipment: Boats, decoys, and other
equipment must not be left unattended overnight, with the exception of
traps in areas open to trapping and fish houses or dark houses in certain
designated WMAs.

• Blinds and Structures: A person may not construct or maintain any
building, dock, fence, billboard, sign, or other structure on any WMA,
except that temporary waterfowl blinds may be erected, but may not
become private property or be used to preempt hunting rights. Any
materials brought into a WMA for the construction of a blind must be
removed each day at the close of hunting hours.

• Elevated Stands: A person may not construct, occupy, or use any
elevated scaffold or other elevated device for the purpose of hunting,
watching, or killing wild animals, except that portable stands may be
used if they are removed each day at the close of hunting hours and do
no permanent damage. Prior to the opening day of archery deer
season, portable stands may be left overnight in a wildlife manage­
ment area by a person with a valid bear license who is hunting within
100 yards of a bear bait site that is legally tagged and registered.The
licensee’s name and address, or drivers license number, or MNDNR
number must be affixed to the stand in such a manner that it can be 
read from the ground.

• Dogs: Dogs are permitted on WMAs only when accompanied by or
under the control of the owner. From April 16 through July 14, dogs
must be on a leash. A person training a dog on a WMA may not use
live ammunition or blank cartridges, including the use of blanks in
dummy launchers or similar devices.

• Other Domestic Animals: Livestock, horses, and other domestic ani­
mals, are not permitted on WMAs except under cooperative agreement
or permit approved by the wildlife manager.

• Unprotected Animals: unprotected wild animals may be taken from
September 1 through the last day of February, or by any person legally
hunting a protected species, unless the area is specifically closed.

• Beaver and Otter: Beavers and otters may only be taken by permit

issued by the wildlife manager.


• Crows: Crows may be taken during established seasons, unless the area
is specifically closed. 

Wmas with special Restrictions 
Becklin Homestead Park WMA (isanti County)—is only open to 

special disabled hunts.
Bass Brook WMA (itasca County) St. Michael Meadow WMA 

(Wright County)—These areas are closed to firearms hunting and trapping
but open to archery deer hunting. 
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Bayport WMA (Washington County), Hastings WMA (Dakota
County), and Raguet WMA (Scott and Carver counties)—These areas
are closed to the trapping of unprotected mammals except when there
is an open trapping season for any protected species. Firearms may not
be possessed unless they are unloaded and contained in a case, except in
designated hunting areas during the season for the taking of small game
when shotgun with No.4 or smaller shot only is permitted.The possession
and use of bows and arrows are limited to the designated hunting areas
during established hunting seasons.

Boerner WMA (Sibley County), Buelow WMA (Steele County), 
Bryson WMA (Freeborn County), Chapa Kak-Say-Za WMA (Steele 
County), and Hutchinson WMA (McCleod County)—These areas are
closed to the hunting and trapping of all species. Sand Prairie WMA is 
closed to the hunting and trapping of all species except for special hunts by
people with disabilities.

Carl and Verna Schmidt WMA (LeSueur County) Bur Oak WMA 
(LeSueur County) and Pine City WMA (Pine County)—Closed to 
hunting of all species.

Carlos Avery WMA Controlled Hunt Zone—Two blinds will be avail­
able by drawing on Saturday and Tuesday mornings through the waterfowl
season. Minnesota Waterfowl Association will conduct drawings for blinds
2 weeks prior to each week of hunting. For rules, application form and dates
go to: www.mndnr.gov/averyhunt, www.mnwaterfowl.com, or call Carlos
Avery WMA Headquarters at 651-296-5200.

Gold Portage WMA (Koochiching and St. Louis counties)—
This area is open only to waterfowl hunting.

Gun Lake WMA (Aitkin County)—A 20-acre posted wildlife sanctuary
in the northwest corner of the unit is closed to trespass from September–
March 31. 

Hearding Island WMA and Interstate Island WMA (St. Louis 
County) are closed to the hunting of all species.

Uppgaard WMA (Crow Wing County)—This area is open to hunting
beginning on the opening day of waterfowl hunting.

Gordon W. Yeager WMA (in the Rochester Refuge, Olmsted County) 
Eastside WMA (Olmsted County), and Clare Johnson–Carl Schmidt 
WMA (Morrison County)—These areas are closed to waterfowl hunting.
Firearms are restricted to shotgun with fine shot only for small game
hunting. Gordon W. Yeager WMA—Open to archery deer hunting only.

Lac qui Parle,Thief Lake,Talcot Lake, and Orwell WMAs—Small 
game hunting is restricted in the Controlled Goose Hunting Zones.

Lake Blanche WMA (Ottertail County)—This area is closed to firearms 
deer hunting. 
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Mentel WMA (Mower County) is closed to all firearms hunting, but it is
open for trapping and archery hunting.

Moose Willow WMA (Aitkin County)—The south portion of the
Moose Pool has been posted as a wildlife sanctuary, closed to access, hunting
or trapping from September 1-March 31.

Talcot Lake WMA—Small and big game hunting is restricted in the 
controlled hunting zone.

Ricehaven WMA (St. Louis County)—The posted area is closed to all
trespass from September 15 through July 31. Canoeing, birdwatching, and
wild rice harvest (during the wild rice season) is allowed from August 1–
September 14. Hunting and trapping is prohibited in the posted area.

Sand Prairie WMA (Stearns County)—is open during the regular
archery season for youth ages 10 through 17 except from November 9–17,
when a special deer hunt for disabled individuals will be held.

Timber Lake WMA ( Jackson County)—A portion of this area is closed
to firearms deer hunting (as posted).

Pike Bay WMA (St. Louis County)—This area is closed to trapping of all 
species.

Schrafel WMA (Mower County)—This area is closed to trapping and
firearms hunting. Open to falconry and archery hunting for deer and small
game.

Dr. Johan C. Hvoslef WMA (Fillmore County)—This area is open to
archery hunting only from September 1 through October 31 and during the
spring turkey season. Firearms hunting (no centerfire rifles) is allowed from
November 1 through December 15.

Wesley E. Olson WMA (Big Stone County), Tom Cliff WMA (Waseca 
County), Somsen WMA (Brown County)—Are closed to hunting. 

Lac Qui Parle WMA (Lac qui Parle County), Moonan WMA (Waseca 
County), Two Rivers WMA (Redwood County), and the Perched Valley 
WMA (Goodhue County), and Walnut Lake WMA (Faribault county)— 
Have buffer areas posted closed to hunting.

Roseau River WMA (Roseau County),The Pool 1 Sanctuary is open for
deer hunting during the muzzleloader season (including archery hunting).

Vermillion Highlands—A Research, Recreation and Wildlife
Management Area (Dakota County) is open to archery, firearms and
muzzleloader deer hunting by special lottery only and is open to late
season goose hunting and spring turkey hunting. Note: There are no longer
designated parking stalls for pheasant hunters. Predator hunting will be
allowed from the end of the muzzleloader season to March 31 by special
permit only. Contact the Vermillion Complex Wildlife Office for questions
at 651-322-4643. 
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trapping Permits Required 
All trappers must, regardless of furbearers taken, obtain a permit from the

area manager on the following WMAs: Carlos Avery (Anoka and Chisago 
counties), Hubbel Pond (Becker County), Red Lake (Beltrami and Lake 
of the Woods counties), Lac qui Parle (Big Stone, Lac qui Parle, Swift, 
and Chippewa counties), Mille Lacs (Mille Lacs and Kanabec counties), 
Roseau River (Roseau County), Talcot Lake (Cottonwood and Murray 
counties), Thief Lake (Marshall County), Vermillion Highlands (Dakota
County) and Whitewater (Olmsted, Wabasha, and Winona counties). 
Wild Rice 

A person may harvest wild rice in a WMA, except where specifically
closed. (See page 97 for more information.) 
ginseng 

A person may not harvest wild ginseng in a WMA, except by permit.The
season opens September 1. 
motor Vehicles 

The following regulations apply to motor vehicle use on WMAs other
than on federal, state, county, or township roads:

• Motor vehicles licensed for use on a public highway may be operated
on established roads on the following WMAs, but not at speeds over
20 m.p.h. unless posted otherwise. No vehicles may be driven beyond a
sign prohibiting vehicular use, beyond any constructed vehicle barrier,
or in a reckless or careless manner.The areas are: Carlos Avery (Anoka 
and Chisago counties), Hubbel Pond (Becker County), Mille Lacs 
(Kanabec and Mille Lacs counties), Red Lake (Beltrami and Lake of 
the Woods counties), Roseau River (Roseau County), Spring Lake 
Islands (Dakota County) for the purpose of ice fishing, and Thief Lake 
(Marshall County).

• Vehicles are prohibited on all other WMAs.The exception is that
vehicles may be operated at speeds of 20 mph or less, on travel routes
designated with signs for travel purposes.

• No vehicle may be parked in front of any gate or where it obstructs

travel.
 

• No person may operate an all-terrain vehicle (ATV), all-terrain cycle
(ATC), hang glider, air boat, personal watercraft (jet-ski), or hovercraft
in a WMA unless specifically authorized.

• On Wildlife Management Areas north and west of the line described
below an ATV may be used by a licensed firearms deer hunter who does
not possess a firearm (cased or uncased) to retrieve and transport a deer
that is known to be dead from the close of shooting hours to 2 hours
after the close of shooting hours during the regular firearms deer season
and for 1 day after the season: beginning at State Highway 1 from the 
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west boundary of the state to State Highway 89, then north along State
Highway 89 to Fourtown, then north on County State Aid Highway
44 to County Road 704, Beltrami County, then north on County
Road 704 to Dick’s Parkway State Forest Road, then north on Dick’s 
Parkway to County State Aid Highway 5, then north on County State
Aid Highway 5 to Warroad, then north on State Highway 11 to State
Highway 313, then north on State Highway 313 to the north boundary
of the state. 

• On wildlife management areas within the area described as follows,
a licensed deer hunter may operate an all-terrain vehicle during the
firearms deer season before and after shooting hours and from 11am to
2pm: from State Highway 1 and the west boundary of the Red Lake
indian Reservation; then west to State Highway 219; then north on
State Highway 219 to State Highway 89; then north to State Highway
89 to County Highway 6; then east on County Highway 6 to County
Highway 54 and County Highway 1 (Beltrami/Marshall county line);
then north along the Beltrami/Marshall county line to the Roseau
county line; east on the Beltrami/Roseau county line to Dick’s Parkway, 
then south on Dick’s Parkway to County Road 704, Beltrami county;
then south to County State-aid Highway 44 to Fourtown; then south
on State Highway 89 to the north boundary of the Red Lake indian
Reservation, then west and south following the boundary of the Red
Lake indian Reservation to the beginning.

• Without written permission from the DNR, no person may operate
a snowmobile in a WMA south of a line described as follows: u.S. 
Highway 2 from Grand Forks east to Bemidji, then south along u.S.
Highway 71 to Wadena, then east along u.S. Highway 10 to Staples
and u.S. Highway 210 to the eastern boundary of the state.

• No person may use aircraft over a WMA in a manner that chases,
herds, scares, or otherwise disturbs wildlife, except in emergencies or by
authorization of the wildlife manager. 

Blinds for hunters With Disabilities 
The Lac qui Parle, Roseau River,Talcot Lake, and Whitewater Wildlife

Management Areas have a limited number of goose hunting blinds for
hunters with disabilities.Talcot Lake WMA and Roseau River WMA each 
have a wheelchair accessible deer blind for firearms hunting. Reservations
are required for the Roseau River WMA blind. For more information,
write to: Lac qui Parle WMA, 14047 20th St. NW, Watson, MN 56295;
Talcot Lake WMA, 40249 Co. Rd. 7, Dundee, MN 56131; Roseau River
WMA, 27952 400th St., Roseau, MN 56751; or Whitewater WMA, 15035
Highway 75, Altura, MN 55910. 
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motorized Watercraft 
The use of outboard motors (including electric trolling motors)

or motorized water vehicles (including amphibious vehicles) is prohibited on
waters within the boundaries of most state WMAs, except as follows: 

motorized Watercraft Permitted 
Area County 

Gold Portage WMA Koochiching and St. Louis 

Gores (Mississippi River Pool 3) WMA Goodhue and Dakota 

Hubbel Pond (Hanson Lake) WMA Becker 

Lac qui Parle WMA (except where posted) Big Stone, Lac qui Parle, Chippewa, and Swift 

Mud-Goose WMA* (except during the 
waterfowl season) 

Cass 

Orwell Reservoir* Otter Tail 

Roseau River WMA** Roseau 

South Walnut Lake WMA* Faribault 

Swamp River WMA Cook 

Spring Lake Islands WMA Dakota 

Talcot Lake WMA*** Cottonwood and Murray 

Thief Lake WMA* Marshall 

*	 Motor size is restricted to 10 horsepower or less on these units. 
**	 There are no motor limits on the main channel and oxbows of the Roseau River. Elsewhere on 

the Roseau River WMA, only motors of 10 horsepower or less may be used and only on days 
that the waterfowl season is open. 

***	 On the Talcot Lake WMA, motors are permitted on the lake (except on any day that the waterfowl 
season is open) but are prohibited on the river and marshes at any time of year. 

state ReFuges 
game Refuges 

A state game refuge is closed to the hunting and trapping of wild animals
unless listed below or in the table (pages 105-107). Even though a refuge
may be open, it could contain privately owned land on which the land­
owner may prohibit hunting. 
general Restrictions 

• A person may not trap beaver or otter within any state-owned game
refuge without first obtaining a permit from the appropriate wildlife
manager. 

• 	unprotected wild animals may be taken when there is an open season
for any protected species, but only during the hours and by methods
allowed for the protected species. 
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• Firearms must be cased and unloaded unless lawfully hunting in a

refuge.


Lac qui Parle Game Refuge (Chippewa and Lac qui Parle Counties)—
is open under the following restrictions: The portions of the refuge within
the Lac qui Parle State Park, Lac qui Parle Mission Site, Rosemoen island,
or portions that are posted with “State Wildlife Sanctuary—Do Not
Trespass” signs are closed to hunting except for permitted participants in
disability hunts or those with specific authorization.

The remainder of the refuge is open to:
• Deer hunting.
• Waterfowl hunting at designated stations only from October 17


through the close of the Canada goose season.

• Small game other than waterfowl, except from October 12-November

30. Small game hunting is not allowed on closed Canada goose hunting
days during a split goose season.

No unauthorized person may trespass during the dates posted on any part
of the refuge posted with “State Wildlife Sanctuary—Do Not Trespass”
signs.The exceptions are as follows:

• ice fishing
• Open water fishing is permitted in the posted closed area except from

October 12 through the close of the open Canada goose season.
Lac qui Parle Blind Reservations— Details will be announced in early 

August.
Rochester Refuge (Olmsted County)—unprotected animals may be 

taken at any time and by any legal method.
Talcot Lake Game Refuge (Cottonwood County)—The Talcot Lake 

Game Refuge is open to waterfowl hunting only at designated hunting
stations only during the Canada goose season.The Talcot Lake Waterfowl
Refuge is closed to waterfowl hunting, except for persons with disabilities
hunting geese at designated hunting stations.

Ogechie Lake (Mille Lacs County)—The majority of Ogechie Lake lies
within Mille Lacs Kathio State Park, and the remainder lies within tribal
land. As such, ALL of Ogechie Lake is closed to public hunting. 
Duck Refuges and Duck sanctuaries 

From September 1 through the final day of the duck season, or as other­
wise posted, a person may not hunt, trap, fish, or trespass on portions of state
wildlife management areas or federal waterfowl production areas that are
posted to prohibit trespass. 
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goose or Waterfowl Refuges 
State goose refuges are closed to goose or waterfowl hunting (as posted)

except when specifically opened during special seasons (see the Waterfowl
Hunting Regulations Supplement available in August). Other forms of
hunting and trapping are permitted during the established seasons. 
state Forests 

State forest lands are generally open for hunting and other types of
outdoor recreation. Hunting on private land within a state forest is subject
to state trespass laws. A partial summary of state forest use regulations is
included below. A complete listing is available from the DNR.

Elevated Stands 
• The use of portable tree stands is recommended, especially those

which can be secured without driving nails into trees. Nails are a
safety hazard for woodcutters and harm the forest.

• Personal property must be removed from State Forest lands.
• it is illegal to destroy state property, including the cutting of trees for

shooting lanes.
• Littering and erecting permanent buildings are prohibited.
• Any permanent unoccupied stand or blind on public land is public

and not the property of the person who constructed the stand.
Firewood 

Wood that is dead and lying on the ground may be gathered for camp­
fire use on site. Only approved firewood is allowed to be brought onto
DNR lands, see page 116.
Campfires

No permit is required for recreational campfires of less than 3 feet in
diameter, in an area cleared of combustible materials for 5 feet around
the fire. 
Firearms 

• Firearms may be discharged in compliance with the law on forest
lands that are not posted closed to firearm discharge.

• Firearms must be unloaded and cased while in or within 200 feet of a 
forest recreation area (campground, day use area, parking area), except
that during open hunting seasons a person may carry an unloaded,
uncased firearm or a strung, uncased bow to hunt outside the recre­
ation area. 

Camping
Camping on forest lands outside of developed campgrounds is permit­

ted, with some conditions. 
Personal Property

Personal property may not be left or positioned so as to obstruct use
of a road or trail. Personal property left unattended for 14 days shall be
deemed abandoned. 
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Motor Vehicle and Off-Road Rules 
State forest lands are classified by the commissioner for purposes of

motor vehicle use. Motor vehicle use is regulated as follows:
State Forest Lands Classified as “Managed”

Motor vehicles may use forest roads and routes unless they are posted
or designated closed.
Unmarked/Unsigned Access Routes

in a MANAGED forest, motor vehicles may operate on all pre-exist­
ing, unsigned access routes on state forest lands. in a LiMiTED forest,
motor vehicles may not operate on pre-existing unsigned routes except
persons with a valid hunting, trapping or commercial trapping license may
use routes not specifically designated for other uses per the hunting and
trapping exceptions below.

However, when operating on unsigned routes in Minnesota’s state 
forests, it is illegal to cause erosion, rutting, or damage to trees.
State Forest Hunting/Trapping Exceptions

Traveling off roads and trails (cross-country travel) in a LiMiTED
state forest or off roads, trails and access routes in a MANAGED state
forest is prohibited except persons with a valid hunting, trapping, or
commercial trapping license in possession may use Class i ATVs to travel
cross country to:

• Retrieve big game (September through December).
• Hunt for big game and construct stands (October through


December).

• Trap during the open season for protected furbearers.
• Trap for minnows under certain conditions.

State Forest Lands Classified as “Closed” 
Motor vehicles are not allowed except:
• Vehicles licensed for highway use may only use signed forest roads

unless they are posted or gated closed.
• Vehicles may operate on frozen public waters where it is not other­

wise prohibited.
Limited, Closed, and Managed State Forests

The following state forests are classified as LIMITED: Badoura, Bear
island*, Bowstring, Buena Vista (portions), Burntside* (portions outside
BWCAW), Chengwatana, Cloquet Valley** (portions), Crow Wing,
D.A.R.*, Emily, Finland (portions), Fond du Lac, Foothills, General
C.C. Andrews, George Washington** (portions), Golden Anniversary,
Hill River*, Huntersville, Land O’ Lakes*, Lake Jeanette* (portions out­
side BWCAW), Lyons, Mississippi Headwaters, Nemadji, Pat Bayle,
Paul Bunyan, R.J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood (no areas where 
big game hunter/trapper exemption applies), Remer, Rum River,
Savanna*, St. Croix, Smoky Hills, Snake River* (portions), Solana, 
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Sturgeon River** (portions inside SNF), Two inlets, Wealthwood,
White Earth**, Waukenabo*.
The following state forests are classified as CLOSED:

Battleground, Birch Lakes, Buena Vista (portions), Burntside 
(portions inside the BWCAW), Cloquet Valley** (portions), Finland 
(portions), George Washington** (portions), insula Lake, Lake 
isabella, Lake Jeanette (only portions in BWCAW), Pillsbury, Sand 
Dunes, Snake River** (portions), Welsh Lake, Whiteface River. 
Note: these lists are subject to change as additional forest review 
is completed. See the following link for the most current status, or 
contact the DNR information Center (see page 124): mndnr.gov/
input/mgmtplans/ohv/designation/status.html
The following state forests are classified as MANAGED:

Beltrami island, Big Fork, Blackduck, Cloquet Valley (portions),
Finland (portions), George Washington (portions), Grand Portage,
Kabetogama, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Lost River, Northwest
Angle, Pine island, Red Lake, Smokey Bear, Sturgeon River (portions
outside Superior NF). 

motor Vehicle Restrictions 
(On state forest and county lands within state forests where motor

vehicles are allowed.)
• No motor vehicle operation is allowed on designated nonmotorized

trails, unless also posted open for a motorized use.
• Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate on forest lands in a

manner that causes erosion or rutting, or that damages or destroys trees
or growing crops.The no-rutting provision does not apply on desig­
nated motorized trails. 

• Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate within the boundaries
of an area that is posted and designated as closed to such use.

• Motor vehicles on state forest roads must: travel at a reasonable speed;
obey posted speed limits, parking and traffic regulation signs; observe
road closures; and may not damage the road, land or other natural
resources. 

• Cross country travel (off roads and trails) is prohibited. Exceptions to
the ban (for both limited and managed forests) are:
› ATV use for big game hunting or constructing stands from October

through December is allowed; 
› ATV use for retrieving harvested big game is allowed from

September through December; and 
› ATV use for trapping is allowed during open seasons for protected

furbearers. 
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Note:These exceptions apply only to Class 1 All Terrain Vehicles (ATVs)
less than 1000 cc engine displacement and 1000 pounds total weight—
motorcycles, trucks, and class 2 are not allowed to travel cross-country.

• Construction of unauthorized permanent trails on forest lands is

prohibited.


• Areas with Limitations are areas within state forests where the big game
hunter/trapper exceptions do not apply.These are areas of no motorized
travel and provide walk-in hunting opportunities. All ingress points are
signed with the orange sign “Area with Limitations.”

• in the Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest, motor vehicles
and snowmobiles may operate only on forest roads that are not posted
closed and on forest trails that are designated for motorized use. No
motorized travel is allowed off of designated trails under any circum­
stances. Motorized trails are open to ATVs and OHMs from May 1 to
November 1. 

Nonmotorized Trails 
Nonmotorized trails are open to nonmotorized uses, but may be limited

by postings. in the Richard J. Dorer Forest, horses and bicycles may travel
only on designated trails. 

scientiFic anD natuRal aReas 
State Scientific and Natural Areas (SNAs) listed here are open to hunting

and trapping as noted below. Also, check the DNR website for changes in
SNAs open to hunting. in these SNAs open to hunting, portable stands and
elevated scaffold may be used if it is removed each day at the close of shoot­
ing hours and does no damage to trees or other vegetation. Nails, spikes,
screws or other devices that damage the bark of trees are prohibited. No
motor vehicles are allowed in SNAs. 

snas open to hunting and trapping in 2013 
County Area Open For 

Aitkin McGregor Marsh SNA All hunting 

Beltrami Maurice O’Link SNA All hunting 

Brown Joseph A. Tauer Prairie SNA All hunting and trapping 

Carlton Hemlock Ravine Deer only by permit, in conjunction 
with Jay Cooke State Park 

Carver Seminary Fen SNA Deer only, by archery 

Chisago Franconia Bluffs SNA All hunting 

Clay Felton Prairie SNA, Bicentennial Unit only Deer hunting only 

Clearwater Iron Springs Bog SNA Deer hunting only 

Itasca Wilderness SNA Firearms deer only, including 
muzzleloader season 
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County Area Open For 

Cook Hovland Woods SNA All hunting 

Lutsen SNA All hunting; except only deer hunting 
in Scherer Conservation Unit 

Cook Myhr Creek Ridge SNA All hunting 

Spring Beauty Northern Hardwoods SNA All hunting 

Crow Wing Mille Lacs Moraine SNA All hunting 

Fillmore Rushford Sand Barrens SNA All hunting 

Goodhue Cannon River Turtle Preserve SNA All hunting 

Houston Mound Prairie SNA (Only portion north 
of Hwy 16) 

All hunting 

Hubbard La Salle Lake SNA All hunting and trapping 

Lester Lake SNA All hunting and trapping 

Isanti Twin Lakes SNA Youth deer hunt only, see page 35 

Itasca Boltuck-Rice Forever Wild SNA All hunting 

Chisholm Point Island SNA Deer only, by archery 

Ladies Tresses Swamp SNA All hunting 

Little Too Much Lake SNA All hunting 

Itasca Lost 40 SNA All hunting 

Potato Lake SNA All hunting 

Wabu Woods SNA All hunting 

Koochiching Caldwell Brook Cedar Swamp SNA All hunting 

Lac qui Parle Yellow Bank Hills SNA All hunting and trapping 

Lake of the 
Woods 

Gustafson’s Camp SNA All hunting and trapping 

Pine and Curry Island SNA Waterfowl only 

Mahnomen Santee Prairie SNA All hunting 

Morrison Lake Alexander Woods SNA Deer hunting by permit only 

Norman Prairie Smoke Dunes SNA Deer hunting only 

Pine Black Lake Bog SNA All hunting and trapping 

Pipestone Prairie Coteau SNA All hunting and trapping 

Polk Gully Fen SNA Deer only, by archery 

Redwood Cedar Rock SNA All hunting and trapping 

Cedar Mountain SNA Deer only, by archery 

Rice Prairie Creek Woods SNA Muzzleloader deer only by permit, 
in conjunction with Nerstrand Big 
Woods State Park 
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County Area Open For 

Roseau Two Rivers Aspen Prairie Parkland SNA All hunting 

Scott Savage Fen SNA Archery only 

Sherburne Uncas Dunes SNA All hunting 

St. Louis Big Island SNA Waterfowl only. 

Moose Mountain SNA Deer only; archery 9/14–11/24, 
firearm 11/4–11/24 

Stearns Avon Hills Forest SNA Deer only, by archery. 

St. Wendel Tamarack Bog SNA All hunting. 

Wabasha Zumbro Falls Woods SNA Deer only, by permit. 

Winona King’s and Queen’s Bluff SNA Youth deer hunt only, in conjunction 
with Great River Bluffs State Park 

Yellow Medicine Mound Spring Prairie SNA All hunting and trapping. 

Peatland snas open to all trapping and hunting 
County Peatland SNA 

Beltrami Red Lake Peatland 

Cass Hole-in-the-Bog Peatland (Except Hole-in-the-Bog Lake, which is 
a waterfowl refuge) 

Koochiching East Rat Root River Peatland 

Lost River Peatland 

Myrtle Lake Peatland 

North Black River Peatland 

South Black River Peatlland 

West Rat Root River Peatland 

Lake Sand Lake Peatland 

Lake of the Woods/Beltrami Muligan Lake Peatland 

Lake of the Woods Norris Camp Peatland 

Winter Road Lake Peatland 

Roseau Luxemburg Peatland 

Pine Creek Peatland 

Sprague Creek Peatland 

St. Louis Lost Lake Peatland 
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state PaRks anD state RecReation aReas oPen to 
PuBlic hunting 

All or portions of the state parks and state recreation areas (SRA) listed
on the following page are open to public hunting, or public hunting and
trapping according to Minnesota regulations unless otherwise noted. Maps
showing the areas where hunting and trapping is allowed within each of
these units are available online at mndnr.gov/parksandtrails. Hunters and
trappers should refer to these maps in the field to ensure they are within the
portion of the state park or state recreation area where these activities are
permitted.

With the exception of restrictions on firearms and traps, all state park
rules remain in effect throughout the hunting and trapping seasons.

in state parks, state recreation areas and other lands administered by
the Division of Parks & Trails, opened to hunting by special permit, or by
legislation, early placement of portable stands is allowed according to the
criteria below: 

• Portable stands may be placed in the unit during normal business
hours only and no more than 7 days prior to the hunt. Stands must be
removed no more than 1 day after the hunt.

• All stands must have owner/hunter identification on them.
• Only portable stands that do no damage to trees or other vegetation are

allowed. Nails, screws or other devices that damage the bark of trees are
prohibited.

• Only clamp-on or strap-on devices for climbing are allowed, no

screw-in steps.


• Hunters may not place multiple stands.
• Other hunters or the general public may not occupy stands legally


placed by a hunter.
 

FYI… 
habitat money available 

The Conservation Partners Legacy Grant Program is looking for
organizations to submit grant proposals to enhance, restore, or protect
habitat for fish, game, and wildlife in Minnesota. Visit our webpage at
www.mndnr.gov/cpl for more information. 
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Big Bog State Recreation Area—Most of the northern portion of Big Bog SRA is open to public 
hunting and trapping. Hunting and trapping is not allowed on Ludlow Island and vicinity or the 
boardwalk. 

Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area—Much of Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area is open to 
public hunting, but closed to trapping. 

Forestville Mystery Cave State Park—Approximately 430 acres of the park is open to public 
hunting but closed to trapping. 

Garden Island State Recreation Area—Much of Garden Island State Recreation Area is open to 
public hunting but closed to trapping. 

George H. Crosby Manitou State Park—The portion of the park which is east of the Manitou River 
and north of Minnesota Highway 61 (approximately 3,000 acres) is open to public hunting but 
closed to trapping. 

Greenleaf State Recreation Area—Is open to archery hunting deer during the archery deer season. 
No bonus permits are allowed. 

La Salle State Recreation Area—Most of La Salle SRA is open to public hunting and trapping of 
protected species during open trapping seasons. Hunting and trapping is not allowed in the vicinity 
of the campground and cabins. 

Split Rock Lighthouse State Park—Approximately 50 acres in the far northern part of the park is 
open to public hunting but closed to trapping. See map for location. 

Temperance River State Park—Approximately 600 acres of Temperance River state park is open 
to public hunting but closed to trapping. The area is located north of Minnesota Highway 61 and 
adjacent to the Cross River on both sides. 

Tettegouche State Park—Much of the southern half of the park (approximately 3,700 acres) known 
as the Palisade Valley unit is open to public hunting and trapping. 

FYI… 
only approved Firewood is allowed on DnR lands 

Approved firewood is:
• Firewood purchased from the DNR,
• Firewood purchased from an approved vendor (check out mndnr.

gov/firewood for a list of approved vendors)
• Kiln-dried wood, such as unstained, unpainted dimensional lumber

free of metal or other foreign objects. 

These restrictions are needed to help prevent the introduction, or
slow the spread, of damaging forest pests, including emerald ash borer,
gypsy moth, and oak wilt. Help protect Minnesota’s forests by leaving
firewood at home! Check with the state park, state forest campground,
or other state recreational facility you will be visiting to get the latest
recommendations and restrictions on firewood movement to and 
within Minnesota. 
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Big Bog State Recreation Area—Most of the northern portion of Big Bog SRA is open to public
hunting and trapping. Hunting and trapping is not allowed on Ludlow Island and vicinity or the
boardwalk.

Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area—Much of Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area is open to
public hunting, but closed to trapping.

Forestville Mystery Cave State Park—Approximately 430 acres of the park is open to public
hunting but closed to trapping.

Garden Island State Recreation Area—Much of Garden Island State Recreation Area is open to
public hunting but closed to trapping.

George H. Crosby Manitou State Park—The portion of the park which is east of the Manitou River
and north of Minnesota Highway 61 (approximately 3,000 acres) is open to public hunting but
closed to trapping.

Greenleaf State Recreation Area—Is open to archery hunting deer during the archery deer season.
No bonus permits are allowed.

La Salle State Recreation Area—Most of La Salle SRA is open to public hunting and trapping of
protected species during open trapping seasons. Hunting and trapping is not allowed in the vicinity
of the campground and cabins.

Split Rock Lighthouse State Park—Approximately 50 acres in the far northern part of the park is
open to public hunting but closed to trapping. See map for location.

Temperance River State Park—Approximately 600 acres of Temperance River state park is open
to public hunting but closed to trapping. The area is located north of Minnesota Highway 61 and
adjacent to the Cross River on both sides.

Tettegouche State Park—Much of the southern half of the park (approximately 3,700 acres) known
as the Palisade Valley unit is open to public hunting and trapping.

117 

Public Lands & Wildlife Refuges

 
 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
  

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

  

  

 
  

  
 

  
 
 

 
  

 
 

 
  

 
 

   
 
 

   
  

 
 
  

  
 

  
 

FeDeRal lanDS 
national WilDliFe ReFuges & WateRFoWl
PRoDuction aReas 

Federal Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA’s) are open to public hunting
except where prohibited. National Wildlife Refuges (NWR’s) are closed
unless expressly permitted. Please consult the appropriate NWRs and
Wetland Management District (WMDs) managers or www.fws.gov/refuges
for specific regulations. 
general Restrictions 

• Small game hunters using shotguns, including turkey hunters, are

required to use and possess only non-toxic shot.


• Small game hunters must wear an article of blaze orange consistent

with state regulations.


• Target shooting is prohibited.
• During the small game season, hunting dogs must be under the

immediate control of the hunter.Training and allowing pets off leash
are prohibited.

• Motorized vehicles are prohibited on all NWRs and WPAs except
on designated parking areas, access roads, and public roads. Permits
to operate vehicles on other roads may be available for hunters with
disabilities. 

• Motorized watercraft are prohibited on all WPAs and are restricted on
most NWRs. Motorized watercraft are allowed without a permit on
designated portions of the Tamarac and upper Mississippi National
Wildlife Refuge.

• Camping, campfires and overnight parking are prohibited on all WPAs
including designated parking areas. Camping, campfires, and overnight
parking are restricted on most NWRs.

• No permanent stands are permitted. Also prohibited are the use of nails,
wire, screws, or bolts to attach a stand to a tree or hunting from a tree,
into which a metal object has been driven to support a hunter. Portable
hunting stands MuST BE set up and removed each day.

• All property brought onto a NWR or WPA must be removed after

each day.This includes all vehicles, boats, decoys and trash.


• The use or possession of alcoholic beverages while hunting is prohibited.
• The destruction, defacement, disturbance or unauthorized removal of

any natural object or government property is prohibited.
• Plants and animals cannot be introduced, liberated or placed on NWRs

or WPAs. 
• Disposing of animal carcasses, trash, refuse rocks, wood or other debris

is prohibited. 
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• Cutting, mowing, sawing, digging, collecting, injuring or removing

vegetation is prohibited.


• Distribution of feed or bait, or hunting over bait is prohibited.This

includes salts and minerals.
 

trapping 
A person may not trap in a National Wildlife Refuge without a permit

from the refuge manager. Waterfowl Production Areas (WPAs) are open to
trapping per state regulations unless specifically prohibited. 
artificial lights 

A person may not use a spotlight, headlight, or other artificial light to
spot, locate, or take any wild animal in a NWR or WPA. 
specific Restrictions 

Agassiz National Wildlife Refuge (Marshall County)
22996 290th Street NE, Middle River, MN 56737-9754, 218-449­

4115. Limited small game and deer hunting are allowed as shown on

maps available at refuge headquarters, parking areas, and kiosks along

Marshall County Road 7 or online at www.fws.gov/refuge/agassiz

Big Stone National Wildlife Refuge (Big Stone and Lac qui Parle
Counties)

44843 County Rd 19, Odessa, MN 56276, 320-273-2191. Small Game
and deer hunting are open as posted with “Public Hunting Area” signs or
shown on maps available at parking areas and at the Refuge Headquarters.

The refuge is closed to migratory bird and coyote hunting.
Big Stone Wetland Management District (Lincoln and Lyon
Counties)

44843 Co. Rd. 19, Odessa, MN 56276, 320-273-2191. Hunting is

allowed throughout the district.

Crane Meadows National Wildlife Refuge (Morrison County)

19502 iris Rd, Little Falls, MN 56534 320-632-1575. Closed to all
general public hunting and trapping. Contact refuge headquarters for
information on turkey and deer hunting opportunities for persons with
disabilities. 
Detroit Lakes Wetland Management District (Becker, Clay,
Mahnomen, Norman, and Polk Counties)

26624 N Tower Rd, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-7959, 218-847-4431.
Hunting is allowed throughout the district, except on the Headquarters
Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in Becker County, the Hitterdal
WPA in Clay County, and the Mcintosh WPA in Polk County. 
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Fergus Falls Wetland Management District (Otter Tail, Grant,
Douglas, and Wilkin Counties)

18965 County Hwy 82, Fergus Falls, MN 56537-7627, 218-739-2291.
Hunting is allowed throughout the district except on the Townsend,
Mavis, Gilmore and designated portions of Knollwood Waterfowl
Production Areas (WPA) in Otter Tail County, and Larson WPA in
Douglas County.
Glacial Ridge National Wildlife Refuge (Polk County)

Contact Rydell NWR, 17788 349th St SE, Erskine, MN 56535 218­
687-2229 or 800-841-0172. 

Deer: Maps showing open areas for hunting are available in parking lots
throughout the refuge and at refuge Headquarters.

upland and Migratory Bird: Open areas are also posted with Migratory
Bird Hunting Area signs.
Hamden Slough National Wildlife Refuge (Becker County)

21212 210th Street, Audubon, MN 56511, 218-847-4431.
Waterfowl: The refuge is open for Youth Waterfowl Day. Contact the

Detroit Lakes WMD 218/847-4431 for information. Deer hunting is
only allowed during the state muzzleloader season.
Litchfield Wetland Management District (Meeker, Kandiyohi,
Stearns, McLeod, Todd, Renville, and Wright Counties)

22274 615th Avenue, Litchfield, MN 55355, 320-693-2849. Hunting
is allowed throughout the district except on part of the Phare LakeWPA
in Renville County that lies within the State Game Refuge.

Minnesota Valley National Wildlife Refuge (Hennepin, Ramsey,
Dakota, Scott, Carver, Sibley, and Le Sueur Counties)

3815 American Blvd E, Bloomington, MN 55425-1600, 952-854­
5900. Hunting information is available online at fws.gov/midwest/
minnesotavalley and at the refuge headquarters.

Minnesota Valley Wetland Management District (Hennepin,
Dakota, Scott, Carver, Rice, Sibley, Blue Earth, Steele, Le Sueur,
Waseca, Chisago, Goodhue, Washington, Nicollet, and Ramsey
Counties)

3815 American Blvd E, Bloomington, MN 55425-1600, 952-854­
5900. Hunting and trapping is allowed. Single projectile ammunition
prohibited on Soberg WPA, Dakota County.
Morris Wetland Management District (Stevens,Traverse, Big Stone,
Lac Qui Parle, Yellow Medicine, Lincoln, Pope and Swift Counties)

43875 230th Street, Morris, MN 56267, 320-589-1001. Hunting is
allowed throughout the district except on the designated portions of the
Edward-Long Lake Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in Stevens
County. 
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Northern Tallgrass Prairie National Wildlife Refuge
44843 County Rd 19, Odessa, MN 56276, 320-273-2191. Call for

refuge specific regulations and maps.
Rice Lake National Wildlife Refuge and Sandstone National

Wildlife Refuge (Aitkin and Pine Counties)
36289 State Hwy 65, McGregor, MN 55760 218-768-2402. Open

areas are posted with “Public Hunting Area” signs or shown on maps
available at Refuge Headquarters.The Refuge will be open for a special
deer hunt for persons with disabilities Oct. 3-6. Contact the refuge head­
quarters for applications and information.
Rydell National Wildlife Refuge (Polk County)

17788 349th St SE, Erskine, MN 56535 218-687-2229 or
800-841-0172. 

Small Game: Small game hunting is closed on the refuge. Deer:
information about special hunts for persons with disabilities is available
at 800-726-3692.  Portions of the refuge are opened annually for antler-
less deer hunting during the regular firearms season. Contact the Refuge
headquarters for information.
Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge (Sherburne County)

17076 293rd Ave, Zimmerman, MN 55398 763-389-3323. Hunting
brochures are available at refuge kiosks, and online at fws.gov/refuge/sher­
burne or at the refuge headquarters.
Tamarac National Wildlife Refuge (Becker County)

35704 County Rd 26, Rochert, MN 56578, 218-847-2641, refuge
hours—5am to 10pm. Areas open for small game, waterfowl, and deer
hunting are marked on maps available at Refuge Headquarters or at www.
fws.gov/refuge/tamarac.
Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife and Fish Refuge (Wabasha,
Winona, and Houston Counties)

Working a dog in refuge waters by tossing a retrieval dummy or object
for out-and-back exercise is allowed.Trapping, including otter, is allowed
only by special use permit issued by the refuge manager. Except for spring
turkey hunting the refuge is closed to hunting from March 16-August
31. Portions of the refuge are open to fall hunting. For more information,
contact refuge headquarters.
Windom Wetland Management District (Brown, Cottonwood,
Faribault, Freeborn, Jackson, Martin, Murray Nobles, Pipestone,
Redwood, Rock, and Watonwan Counties)

49663 County Rd 17, Windom, MN 56101, 507-831-2220. Hunting
is allowed throughout the district except on the designated portions of the
Wolf Lake Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in Cottonwood County. 
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national FoRest lanDs in minnesota 
National forest lands in Minnesota are open to many public uses, includ­

ing camping, hunting, fishing, trapping, snowmobiling and off-highway
vehicle (OHV) use with some restrictions.

• Minnesota State hunting, fishing, trapping, snowmobiling and OHV
regulations apply on national forest lands, except as otherwise stated
below or in national forest regulations, 36 CFR Part 261.

• Special designation areas within national forests, such as designated
Wilderness Areas, Semi-Primitive Nonmotorized Areas, and Research
Natural Areas may have additional restrictions:
› Only portable stands or blinds that do not damage natural features

and are removed at the end of the hunting season are permitted.
 
› Portable stands and blinds left unattended on national forest lands
 

after the close of the hunting season are subject to impoundment.
 
› 	 Cross-country or off-road OHV use for any purpose is prohibited.

This includes the use of OHV’s for big game retrieval, bear baiting 
and trapping. 

› 	 Commercial activities such as outfitting and guiding may not be
conducted without a Special-use Authorization issued by national
forest management. 

› 	 Cutting or damaging of trees, including the cutting of shooting lanes,
is prohibited. 

› 	 Constructing, placing, or maintaining any kind of road, trail, structure
or other improvement is prohibited.This includes the use or occu­
pancy of a permanent stand, blind or OHV trail. 

› 	 Storing or abandoning any personal property on national forest lands
is prohibited. 

› 	 Discharging a firearm within 150 yards of a residence, building,
campsite, developed recreation site, or occupied area is not allowed on
national forest land. 

› 	 Dumping of any refuse, debris, trash or litter on national forest lands
is prohibited. 

› Damaging or removing any natural/cultural feature or federal prop­
erty is prohibited. 

› Fire restrictions must be observed when in effect. 
chippewa national Forest (Beltrami, cass, and itasca counties) 

• The Motor Vehicle use Map (MVuM), is the legal guide for Motor
Vehicle use on Forest Roads, it is updated annually, which could affect
your riding. Forest Roads are identified on the MVuM and on the
ground with a three- or four-digit numbered sign.

• Off-highway Vehicles (OHV) and Highway Licensed Vehicles (HLV),
may only operate on Forest Roads designated open on the MVuM
map, which are available FREE at the Forest Supervisors or District
Ranger Offices. 
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• Roads that are signed, gated, bermed with dirt, rocks, trees etc. or not
designated open on the MVuM map are closed to motor vehicles.

• Snowmobiles may operate on any unplowed Forest Service roads with
4 or more inches of snow accumulation. 

• Camping within a developed recreation fee area for a period longer
than 14 days is prohibited. Campers must leave campground for a
minimum of 24 hours before returning.

• Camping for a period longer than 21 consecutive days at a single

location, anywhere on National Forest lands (non-fee areas), is

prohibited.


• Launching or retrieving a boat with a trailer is prohibited except at a
designated boat ramp. 

superior national Forest (cook, lake, and st. louis counties) 
NEW 

• Motorized travel on the Superior National Forest is only allowed on
roads and trails as designated by an annual Motor Vehicle use Map.
Copies of the map are available at Superior National Forest offices and
online at the Forest website: www.fs.usda.gov/superior

• Snowmobiles may operate off-road in certain areas and on unplowed
Forest Service roads with 4 or more inches of snow accumulation. 

• Camping within a developed recreational site for a period longer than
14 days, except as otherwise posted, is prohibited.

• Camping for a period longer than 14 consecutive days at a single

location, or longer than 30 consecutive days anywhere on National

Forest lands, is prohibited.


• Permits are required year-round for entry into the Boundary Waters
Canoe Area Wilderness. Wilderness rules and regulations apply to all
visitors. 

• Motor vehicles and all other types of motorized and mechanized

equipment are prohibited in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area

Wilderness except in specified areas.


For additional information, contact: Chippewa National Forest, 200 Ash
Ave. NW, Cass Lake, MN 56633, 218-335-8600, fs.usda.gov/chippewa;
or Superior National Forest, 8901 Grand Ave. Place, Duluth, MN 55808,
218-626-4300, fs.usda.gov/superior 
st. croix national scenic Riverway 

For information on trapping, which is restricted at the Riverway, see http://www.
nps.gov/sacn/planyourvisit/trapping.htm. 
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countY lanDs 
cass county managed Forest lands 

• Tree stands that damage trees are not allowed; no nails, bolts, or
screws. All new tree stands that damage trees will be removed; old
tree stands will be removed as timber sales take place in an area.

• The county encourages portable tree stands, freestanding stands, and
any tree stands that do not damage trees. 

crow Wing county managed Forest lands 
Permanent hunting stands are prohibited by ordinance. 

tRiBal lanDs 
lands of the Red lake chippewa Band 

Lands belonging to the Red Lake Band of Chippewa indians in Beltrami,
Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, and Roseau counties are closed to
non-band members except by special authorization of the tribal council.
Persons taking, tagging, and transporting deer from reservation lands on the
Northwest Angle in accordance with the Red Lake Band Code do not need
a state license. 
other tribal lands 

• Nett Lake in Koochiching and St. Louis counties is closed to hunting
by non-band members, except for duck hunting when accompanied by
a band-member guide.

• Other reservation lands may be open for hunting or trapping to
non-band members by authorization of the reservations. All non-band
members who are hunting or trapping on reservation lands must
comply with all state regulations, including licensing. 

FYI… 
moved or Driver’s license number changed? 

if you have recently moved, please request the license agent to update
your address when you purchase your license. if your driver’s license 
number or name has changed, please contact the DNR License Center
at 877-348-0498 or 651-297-1230. 
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Contact information 
DNR information Center
 
500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4040

Metro: 651-296-6157,Toll-free: 888-646-6367

Telecommunications for the Deaf: 651-296-5484,Toll-free: 800-657-3929

mndnr.gov
 

Northwest Region 1
 

Bemidji, MN 56601 Northeast Region 
2115 Birchmont Beach Road NE
 

2
 
218-308-2700 1201 E Highway 2
 

Central Region 3 
1200 Warner Road 
St. Paul, MN 55106 
651-259-5800 

Grand Rapids, MN 55744 
218-327-4455 

Southern Region 4
 
261 Highway 15 S
 
New Ulm, MN 56073
 
507-359-6000
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FinD YouR local conseRVation oFFiceR on the WeB 
The DNR has developed a new web page to make finding your local

conservation officer easier than ever at: www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas
For your convenience, complete this page and take it with you when you

are in the field 

Officer’s name: 

Telephone number: 

if you witness a violation in progress or need to contact a conservation
officer immediately, call Turn in Poachers (TiP) at 800 652-9093 or the
nearest state patrol dispatch center: 

Brainerd 218-828-2400 
Detroit Lakes 218-847-1550 
Duluth 218-723-4885 
Metro East 651-582-1509 
Metro West 651-582-1511 
Mankato 507-285-7410 
Marshall 507-537-6277 
Rochester 
St. Cloud 

507-285-7410 
320-255-4224 

Connect instantly to the
conservation officer locator 

Thief River Falls 
Virginia 

218-681-0942 
218-748-2426 

web page by scanning this
code with your smart phone. 

Turn in Poachers: 
800-652-9093 
24-Hour Hotline 
AT&T, Midwest Wireless,
unicel and Verizon users 
can report violations by
typing #TiP. 
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sunrise/sunset table 
Nine hunting time zones are shown on the map to the right. Sunrise

and sunset times to be used for hunting purposes in the “in Table” zone are
shown in the table below and at right.To determine times for other zones,
add or subtract, as appropriate, the minutes shown at the top of the map
to the times shown in the table.Times shown are Central Daylight Saving
Time through November 2, 2013 and Central Standard Time thereafter. 

JULY 2013 AUG 2013 SEPT 2013 OCT 2013 NOV 2013 DEC 2013 

DAY 
Rise 
AM 

Set 
PM 

Rise 
AM 

Set 
PM 

Rise 
AM 

Set 
PM 

Rise 
AM 

Set 
PM 

Rise 
AM 

Set 
PM 

Rise 
AM 

Set 
PM 

5:30 9:04 5:58 8:40 6:35 7:51 7:11 6:54 7:51 6:02 7:31 4:33 1 
5:31 9:03 5:59 8:39 6:36 7:49 7:12 6:52 7:53 6:00 7:32 4:33 2 
5:31 9:03 6:00 8:38 6:37 7:47 7:13 6:51 6:54 4:59 7:33 4:33 3 
5:32 9:03 6:01 8:36 6:38 7:45 7:14 6:49 6:55 4:58 7:34 4:32 4 
5:32 9:02 6:03 8:35 6:39 7:44 7:16 6:47 6:57 4:56 7:35 4:32 5 

5:33 9:02 6:04 8:34 6:41 7:42 7:17 6:45 6:58 4:55 7:36 4:32 6 
5:34 9:02 6:05 8:32 6:42 7:40 7:18 6:43 6:59 4:54 7:37 4:32 7 
5:35 9:01 6:06 8:31 6:43 7:38 7:19 6:41 7:01 4:53 7:38 4:32 8 
5:35 9:01 6:07 8:29 6:44 7:36 7:21 6:40 7:02 4:51 7:39 4:32 9 
5:36 9:00 6:08 8:28 6:45 7:34 7:22 6:38 7:04 4:50 7:40 4:32 10 

5:37 9:00 6:10 8:26 6:47 7:32 7:23 6:36 7:05 4:49 7:41 4:32 11 
5:38 8:59 6:11 8:25 6:48 7:30 7:25 6:34 7:06 4:48 7:42 4:32 12 
5:39 8:59 6:12 8:23 6:49 7:28 7:26 6:32 7:08 4:47 7:43 4:32 13 
5:39 8:58 6:13 8:22 6:50 7:27 7:27 6:31 7:09 4:46 7:44 4:32 14 
5:40 8:57 6:14 8:20 6:51 7:25 7:28 6:29 7:10 4:45 7:44 4:32 15 

5:41 8:56 6:16 8:18 6:53 7:23 7:30 6:27 7:12 4:44 7:45 4:32 16 
5:42 8:56 6:17 8:17 6:54 7:21 7:31 6:25 7:13 4:43 7:46 4:33 17 
5:43 8:55 6:18 8:15 6:55 7:19 7:32 6:24 7:14 4:42 7:46 4:33 18 
5:44 8:54 6:19 8:14 6:56 7:17 7:34 6:22 7:16 4:41 7:47 4:33 19 
5:45 8:53 6:20 8:12 6:57 7:15 7:35 6:20 7:17 4:40 7:48 4:34 20 

5:46 8:52 6:22 8:10 6:59 7:13 7:36 6:19 7:18 4:39 7:48 4:34 21 
5:47 8:51 6:23 8:09 7:00 7:11 7:38 6:17 7:20 4:39 7:49 4:35 22 
5:48 8:50 6:24 8:07 7:01 7:09 7:39 6:16 7:21 4:38 7:49 4:35 23 
5:49 8:49 6:25 8:05 7:02 7:08 7:40 6:14 7:22 4:37 7:50 4:36 24 
5:50 8:48 6:26 8:03 7:03 7:06 7:42 6:12 7:24 4:36 7:50 4:37 25 

5:51 8:47 6:28 8:02 7:05 7:04 7:43 6:11 7:25 4:36 7:50 4:37 26 
5:52 8:46 6:29 8:00 7:06 7:02 7:44 6:09 7:26 4:35 7:51 4:38 27 
5:54 8:45 6:30 7:58 7:07 7:00 7:46 6:08 7:27 4:35 7:51 4:39 28 
5:55 8:44 6:31 7:56 7:08 6:58 7:46 6:07 7:28 4:34 7:51 4:39 29 
5:56 8:43 6:32 7:55 7:09 6:56 7:48 6:05 7:30 4:34 7:51 4:40 30 

5:57 8:41 6:33 7:53 7:50 6:03 7:51 4:41 31 
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Note: Times shown in the 
tables below may vary by
specific location. For the exact
time in your area consult a
local airport or check online at
mndnr.gov/sunrise-sunset. 

DAY 

JAN. (2014) FEB. (2014) MAR. (2014) APR. (2014) MAY (2014) JUNE (2014) 

Rise 
AM 

Set 
PM 

Rise 
AM 

Set 
PM 

Rise 
AM 

Set 
PM 

Rise 
AM 

Set 
PM 

Rise 
AM 

Set 
PM 

Rise 
AM 

Set 
PM 

1 7:52 4:42 7:33 5:21 6:52 6:00 6:55 7:41 6:03 8:18 5:30 8:52 
2 7:52 4:43 7:32 5:22 6:50 6:02 6:53 7:42 6:02 8:20 5:29 8:53 
3 7:52 4:44 7:31 5:24 6:48 6:03 6:51 7:43 6:00 8:21 5:29 8:54 
4 7:52 4:45 7:30 5:25 6:46 6:04 6:49 7:44 5:59 8:22 5:28 8:55 
5 7:51 4:46 7:29 5:27 6:45 6:06 6:47 7:46 5:57 8:23 5:28 8:56 

6 7:51 4:47 7:27 5:28 6:43 6:07 6:45 7:47 5:56 8:24 5:28 8:56 
7 7:51 4:48 7:26 5:29 6:41 6:08 6:43 7:48 5:55 8:26 5:27 8:57 
8 7:51 4:49 7:25 5:31 6:39 6:10 6:42 7:49 5:53 8:27 5:27 8:58 
9 7:51 4:50 7:23 5:32 7:37 7:11 6:40 7:51 5:52 8:28 5:27 8:58 
10 7:50 4:52 7:22 5:34 7:36 7:12 6:38 7:52 5:51 8:29 5:26 8:59 

11 7:50 4:53 7:20 5:35 7:34 7:14 6:36 7:53 5:49 8:30 5:26 8:59 
12 7:50 4:54 7:19 5:37 7:32 7:15 6:34 7:54 5:48 8:32 5:26 9:00 
13 7:49 4:55 7:18 5:38 7:30 7:16 6:33 7:56 5:47 8:33 5:26 9:01 
14 7:49 4:56 7:16 5:39 7:28 7:18 6:31 7:57 5:46 8:34 5:26 9:01 
15 7:48 4:58 7:15 5:41 7:26 7:19 6:29 7:58 5:45 8:35 5:26 9:01 

16 7:48 4:59 7:13 5:42 7:25 7:20 6:27 7:59 5:43 8:36 5:26 9:02 
17 7:47 5:00 7:12 5:44 7:23 7:21 6:26 8:01 5:42 8:37 5:26 9:02 
18 7:46 5:01 7:10 5:45 7:21 7:23 6:24 8:02 5:41 8:38 5:26 9:03 
19 7:46 5:03 7:08 5:46 7:19 7:24 6:22 8:03 5:40 8:40 5:26 9:03 
20 7:45 5:04 7:07 5:48 7:17 7:25 6:21 8:05 5:39 8:41 5:26 9:03 

21 7:44 5:05 7:05 5:49 7:15 7:27 6:19 8:06 5:38 8:42 5:26 9:03 
22 7:43 5:07 7:04 5:51 7:13 7:28 6:17 8:07 5:37 8:43 5:27 9:04 
23 7:42 5:08 7:02 5:52 7:11 7:29 6:16 8:08 5:36 8:44 5:27 9:04 
24 7:42 5:10 7:00 5:53 7:10 7:30 6:14 8:10 5:36 8:45 5:27 9:04 
25 7:41 5:11 6:59 5:55 7:08 7:32 6:12 8:11 5:35 8:46 5:27 9:04 

26 7:40 5:12 6:57 5:56 7:06 7:33 6:11 8:12 5:34 8:47 5:28 9:04 
27 7:39 5:14 6:55 5:58 7:04 7:34 6:09 8:13 5:33 8:48 5:28 9:04 
28 7:38 5:15 6:53 5:59 7:02 7:35 6:08 8:15 5:32 8:49 5:29 9:04 
29 7:37 5:17 7:00 7:37 6:06 8:16 5:32 8:50 5:29 9:04 
30 7:36 5:18 6:58 7:38 6:05 8:17 5:31 8:51 5:30 9:04 

31 7:35 5:19 6:56 7:39 5:30 8:52 
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aVoiD sPReaDing inVasiVe sPecies 
Aquatic invasive species such as purple loosestrife, Eurasian

watermilfoil, and zebra mussels damage wildlife habitat and faucet
snails kill waterfowl. it is illegal to transport most aquatic plants and
zebra mussels in or on boats, trailers, or decoys in boats, when on roads.
However, waterfowl hunters may use emergent aquatic plants, such as
cattails and bulrushes, cut above the waterline, for building blinds. How
to help:

• Switch to elliptical, bulb-shaped, or strap decoy anchors that won’t 
collect submergent aquatic plants as easily.

• Clean aquatic plants, zebra mussels, snails and mud off of decoy
lines or anchors, push poles, and waders.

• Drain the water from boats and equipment and leave drain plugs
out when transporting. 

GIVE INVASIVE SPECIES 
THE BRUSH OFF. 

Help Prevent The Spread 
Of Invasive Plants and 
Animals. 
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Home Sweet Home
Ducks, pheasants, and other species need a mix of prairie 
grass and wetlands. Support the Minnesota Prairie Plan. 

Learn more at mndnr.gov 
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