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Anglers contribute to good
fishing every time they
purchase a rod, reel or most

other manufactured fishing
products.

Not apparent at the
checkout counter,
these purchases quietly raise
revenue through a 10 percent

federal excise tax paid by the
manufacturers.

ranting these dollars to
Minnesota and other
states is the responsibility
of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service through its Wildlife
and Sports Fish Restoration
program.

I ast year, the Minnesota
DNR received $13.6

million through this program.

Every one of these dollars

is used to maintain and
improve fishing, boating
and angling access, and help
create the next generation of
environmentally enlightened
anglers.

ead more about this
important funding
source at http://wsfr75.com

pread the word, too, so

more people know how
manufacturers, anglers and
natural resource agencies
work together.
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Angler Notes:

DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)
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2014 Minnesota Fishing Regulations

Trespass Law
Respect

The trespass law applies to all outdoor recreation, Private
including but not limited to: hunting, boating, fishing, [ .\\p. Property
trapping, hiking, and camping. When taking part in A f —
any outdoor recreation, you may not enter legally
posted land or agricultural land without permission.

First

Landowners, lessees, or authorized managers need only post their
land once a year. The signs must be placed at intervals of 1,000 feet (500
feet in wooded areas) or signs may be placed at primary corners and
at access points to the property. Signs must state “No Trespassing," or
similar words, in 2-inch-high letters and have the signature or name and
telephone number of the landowner, lessee, or manager.

There can be civil or criminal penalties for violation of the trespass laws
with maximum fines up to $3,000 and license revocation. All conservation
officers and peace officers enforce trespass laws.

Rules of Thumb for Water Access and Recreational Use

These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all
water access and recreational use situations. If you have doubts about
whether you may be trespassing on private land, you should ask the
landowner for permission.

What is lawful access?

A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or if
public land or a public road right-of-way borders the surface of the water,
or if you have permission to cross private land to reach the surface of the
water. This includes walking in the water or on the ice in connection with
such activities regardless of who owns the land beneath the surface of the
water.

What waters are open to recreational use?

A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface if
it is capable of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any water
that will float a canoe is capable of recreational use, but other waters may
also qualify depending upon the circumstances.

Can | take my dog with me on an Aquatic Management Area?

On an Easement Aquatic Management Area (AMA), a person must
always get permission from the landowner to take a dog with them, unless
otherwise posted. You may not enter a Restricted or General Use Aquatic
Management Area with a dog except (1) under permit by the commissioner
or (2) the dog is accompanied by or under control of the owner. Dogs must
be on a leash from April 16 through July 14.

See page 62 for more information on road right-of-way.



AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES

Aquatic invasive species (AlS) are nonnative animals and plants that do not
naturally occur in our waters and cause ecological or economic harm. They can do
irreparable damage to lakes, streams, and wetlands — and their native inhabitants.
They harm fish populations, water quality, and water recreation, including fishing.
Below are images of AIS that have become established or have been reported in some

Minnesota waters (see pages 5-17).

The main way aquatic invaders spread is by hitching rides on watercraft and
equipment used by anglers, boaters, and others. You can help prevent the introduction
and spread of AIS by following both the required and recommended actions listed
on page 4 before moving your boat, bait, or other equipment from one waterbody to

another.

Report new infestations: If you suspect a new infestation of an aquatic
invasive plant or animal, note the exact location, take a photo or keep the specimen,
and call a DNR AIS Specialist at 888-646-6367 or 651-259-5100, or contact a local

fisheries office.

ZEBRA & QUAGGA SPINY WATERFLEA ~ EURASIAN
MUSSEL Identification: Long WATERMILFOIL
Identification: Only freshwater 121l white with biack spots, Identification: 12 to
mollusks looks like gelatinous globs 21 leaflet pairs per lea
that attach to on fishing line, small (up

objects 038 ")

with X

byssal 5@’7@%

threads T

(up to 135")

BIGHEAD & SILVER CARP

Identification: Eye located at
lower part of head below the mouth;
adults can weigh 60 pounds or more;
Silver can jump over 10 ft. high

4-5 whorls

FAUCET SNAIL

Identification: Up to 15"
long, light brown to black,

RUFFE

Identification: Spots
between rays of dorsal fin,
no gap between fins

Spots

ROUND GOBY

Identification: Single scallop-shaped
pelvic fin, fish is usually 3"-6" long

NEW ZEALAND MUDSNAIL

Identification: Up o T long, light fo
dark brown, cone-shaped shell, 5-6 whorls

mndnr.gov 3



2014 Minnesota Fishing Regulations

Required Actions — It’s the law!

4

Clean all visible aquatic plants, zebra mussels, and other l
prohibited invasive species** from watercraft, trailers, and
water-related equipment before leaving any water access or
shoreland. It is illegal to transport them whether dead or
alive.

Drain water-related equipment (boat, ballast tanks, portable
bait container, motor) and drain bilge, livewell, and baitwell
by removing drain plugs before leaving any water access or
shoreland property.

Keep drain plugs out and water-draining devices open while
transporting watercraft.

Dispose of unwanted bait, including minnows, leeches

and worms, in the trash. It is illegal to release bait into a
waterbody or release aquatic animals from one waterbody to
another. If you want to keep your live bait, you must refill the
bait container with bottled or tap water.

Recommended Actions — Protect our Waters :f;zf@ :

¢ To further decontaminate your watercraft and equipment, it’s important
to spray, rinse, or dry everything before going to another waterbody,
especially if your boat has been in the water or moored for more than 24
hours — or if you have recently been in zebra mussel and spiny waterflea
infested waters. Do one or more of the following:

e Spray with high-pressure water
¢ Rinse with very hot water*
e Dry for at least 5 days

*These water temperatures will kill zebra mussels and
some other AIS: 120° for at least 2 minutes; or 140° for
at least 10 seconds.

**Prohibited Invasive Species: Several species are designated including silver
and bighead carp, Eurasian watermilfoil, faucet snail, New Zealand mudsnail, round
goby, ruffe and zebra mussel. A complete list of prohibited invasive species can be
found at www.dnr.state.mn.us/invasives/laws.html#prohibited or by calling the DNR
information line.

DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)



Aquatic Invasive Species

Infested Waters

A list of Minnesota’s designated infested waters as of December 1, 2013 is
arranged alphabetically by the name of the waterbody, on pages 5 through 17.
Additional waters may be designated throughout the year as new infestations are
discovered—Iook for orange Invasive Species Alert signs at the access and check
the DNR website for these updates. Minnesota lakes, rivers, and wetlands, which
are designated as infested waters, contain specific invasive species that have a
risk of being spread. Regulations restricting bait harvest and transport of water
apply at these waters.

DESIGNATED Waterbody (County) AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES
A
Alexander (Morrison) Eurasian watermilfoil
Alice (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Alvin (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Anderson’s Marsh (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Ann (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Arbor North located in the NW 1/4 of the SW 1/4 of S23, T119N, R22W (Hennepin)
Eurasian watermilfoil
Arbor South located in the south 1/2 of the SW 1/4 of S23, T119N, R22W (Hennepin)
Eurasian watermilfoil
Arbor West located in the SW 1/4 of §23, T119N, R22W DOW # 27-1130 (Hennepin)
Eurasian watermilfoil
Arrowhead (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
%> Arrowhead (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Ash River, downstream of the northern section line of Section 8, Township 68 North,
Range 19 West (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Auburn (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Augusta (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
B

Bald Eagle (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil, flowering rush
Ballantyne (Blue Earth) Eurasian watermilfoil
Bass (Cass) Zebra mussel
Bass (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Bass (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
Bass (Ray) located in T135N, R29W, Sec 9, 10 (Cass) Zebra mussel
Baudette River from 500 feet upstream Highway 11 downstream to the Rainy River
(Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea
Bavaria (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Bay (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Beaver (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Beebe (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
@ Bertha (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Big (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil
Big Fork River from 500 feet upstream of the public water access on Highway 11
downstream to the Rainy River (Koochiching) Spiny waterflea
Big Marine (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
@ Big Pine (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Big Sandy (Aitkin) Flowering rush
Big Trout (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Birch (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
@ Birds Eye (Itasca) Zebra mussel

mndnr.gov 5
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Bishop Creek between Round and Gull lakes located in section 35, Township 135N,
Range 29W (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Black River the south branch downstream of Highway 11 and the west
branch downstream of Highway 147 (Koochiching) Spiny waterflea
Bone (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Boom (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
@7 Bowstring River from Sand Lake downstream to Rice Lake (Itasca) Zebra mussels
Breckenridge (Wilkin) Zebra mussel
Brophy (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Brownie (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Bryant (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Buck (Becker) Flowering rush, zebra mussel
Buffalo (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Burandt (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Burntside (St. Louis) Spiny Waterflea
Burntside River, between Burntside Lake and Shagawa Lake (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Bush (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
c

Calhoun (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Calhoun (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil
Camp (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Camp Galilee (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cannon (Rice) Flowering rush
Cannon River from Lower Sakatah to the confluence with the Straight River (Goodhue
and Rice) Flowering rush
Caribou in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area, just west of Pine Lake (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Carlos (Douglas) Eurasian watermilfoil, zebra mussel
Caroline (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cate 's (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cedar (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cedar (McLeod) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cedar (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cedar (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cenaiko (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Centerville (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Charley (Ramsey) Zebra mussel
Chisago (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
Christmas (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Chub (Carlton) Eurasian watermilfoil
Circle (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil
@r Clamshell (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Clear (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
@r Clear (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clear (Waseca) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clear (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clearwater River (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clearwater (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clearwater River downstream of Clearwater Lake (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cloquet River, from Island Lake to the St. Louis River (St. Louis)Spiny waterflea
Cobblestone (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Colby (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Coon (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil



Aquatic Invasive Species

Cowdry (Douglas) Zebra mussel

County ditches connected to designated infested waters in Jackson

County (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp

Crane (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea

Crooked (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil

Cross (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Cross (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil

Crow Wing River from 500 feet upstream of the confluence with the Long Prairie River
to the Mississippi River, including 500 feet upstream into its tributaries (Cass and
Morrison) Zebra mussel

Crow Wing River from Highway 87 in Hubbard County downstream to the
confluence with the Mississippi River, including 500 feet upstream into Its tributaries
(Cass, Hubbard, Morrison, Todd, and Wadena) Faucet snail

Crystal (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

Crystal (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel

Curfman (Becker) Flowering rush

Cut Foot Sioux (Itasca) Faucet snail

D

@; Daggett (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Darling (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Dayton Hollow Reservoir (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
Dead River (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Deer (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
DeMontreville (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Detroit (Becker) Flowering rush
Devil Track (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Dutch(Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
E

Eagle (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Eagle (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Eagle (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil

Earley (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

East Sylvia was Twin (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
East Jefferson (LeSueuer) Eurasian watermilfoil
East Twin (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea

Edina Mill Pond (Hennepin) Zebra mussel

Egg (Itasca) Faucet snalil

Ellen (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil

Elmo (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil

Emily (Pope) Zebra mussel

Emma (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

F

@7 Fall (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Firemen’s (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
First Crow Wing (Hubbard) Faucet snail
First River (Itasca) Faucet snail
Fish (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
Fish (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Fish (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Fish (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
Fish (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Fish (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil, zebra mussel

—~ s — —
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Florida (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil

Flour (Cook) Spiny waterflea

Forest (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, zebra mussel
Forest (Washington) Flowering rush

Fox (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil

French (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil

French (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

G

Galpin (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Geneva (Douglas) Zebra mussel

George (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil

George (OImstead) Eurasian watermilfoil

German (LeSueuer) Eurasian watermilfoil
Gervais (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Gervais Mill Pond (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Gilbert Pit (Ore-be-gone) (St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Gilchrist (Pope) Eurasian watermilfoil

Goodview Lake (Winona) Eurasian watermilfoil
Goose (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Granite (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Gray 's Bay Outlet wetland (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Green (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil

Green (Isanti) Eurasian watermilfoil

Green (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil

Green's (Cass) Zebra mussel

Greenwood (Cook) Spiny waterflea

Grill (Douglas) Zebra mussel

Grovers (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Gull (Cass) Zebra mussel

Gull River (Cass) Zebra mussel

Gunflint (Cook) spiny waterflea

H

Half-Moon (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Ham (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil

Harriet (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Hart (Itasca) Flowering rush

Hiawatha (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Holland (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

Holman (ltasca) Flowering rush

Hooper Creek from 500 feet upstream of State Highway 172 downstream to the Rainy
River (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea

Horseshoe (Le Sueur) Flowering rush

Horseshoe (St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil

Horseshoe (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil

Howard (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

I

Ice (Itasca) Eurasian watermilfoil

Ida (Douglas) Zebra mussel

Illinois (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Independence (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Indian (Nobles) Bighead carp and silver carp
Indian (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

8 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)



Aquatic Invasive Species

Irene (Douglas) Zebra mussel

Island (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Island (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Island (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea

J

Jane (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil

Jessie (Douglas) Zebra mussel

John (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Johnson Creek from the Rainy River upstream to 500 feet beyond the first road
crossing (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea

Josephine (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Judicial Ditch No. 8 between Clear Lake and Loon Lake (Jackson) Bighead carp and
silver carp

Judicial Ditch No. 35 from Sec. 14, T 102, R 36 to Rush Lake (Jackson)

Bighead carp and silver carp

Judicial ditches connected to designated infested waters in Jackson County (Jackson)
Bighead carp and silver carp

K

Kabetogama (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Keller (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

Keller (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Kerbs (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel

Kimball (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Klezer's Pond (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Knife (Kanabec) Eurasian watermilfoil
Kohimans (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

L

Lac La Croix (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea

Lac Lavon (Dakota) Brittle naiad, Eurasian watermilfoil

Lake of the Isles (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Lake of the Woods (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea
Lakewood Gemetery (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Langton (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Le Homme Dieu (Douglas) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Leech (Cass) Eurasian watermilfoil

Leech Lake River between Mud Lake and Miss. River (Cass) Faucet snail
Libbs (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, zebra mussel

Little Birch (Todd) Eurasian watermilfoil

Little Cut Foot (Itasca) Faucet snail

Little Elk (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil

Little Fork River from100 feet upstream of Highway 11 downstream to the Rainy River
(Koochiching) Spiny waterflea

Little John (Cook) Spiny waterflea

Little Long (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Little Mary (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Little McDonald (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel

Little Mud (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil

Little Pelican (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel

Little Pine (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Little Rabbit (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Little Rock (Benton) Zebra mussel

Little Rock Lake Channel (Benton) Zebra mussel

mndnr.gov 9



2014 Minnesota Fishing Regulations

@; Little Sand (Itasca) Zebra mussel
Little Sioux River and its tributaries (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Little Spirit (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Little Vermilion (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Little Waverly (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Little Winnibigoshish (ltasca) Faucet snalil
Lizzie (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
@7 Lobster (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Locke (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Loeb (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Long (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long (Isanti) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long located in S30 & 31, T30, R20 (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long located in S5 & 32, T29, R20 (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long located in §17, 20 & 21, T30, R21 (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
@ Long Prairie River, including 500 feet upstream into its tributaries (Cass, Douglas, and
Todd) Zebra mussel
Loon (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Loon (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Loon (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Loon Creek between Loon Lake to Spirit Lake (Jackson) Bighead carp
and silver carp
Lottie (Taylor) (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Lotus (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Louise Mine Pit (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Love (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
@; Lower Hay (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Lower Mission (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Lower Prior (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Lower Twin (Wadena) Faucet snail
Lucy (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Lura (Blue Earth) Eurasian watermilfoil
M

Madison (Blue Earth) Eurasian watermilfoil
Manuella (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Maple (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Maple (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Margaret (Cass) Zebra mussel
Marion (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Marshan (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
@» Mary (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Mary (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Mazaska (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil
McCarron (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
McColl (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil
McCormack (St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil
McFarland (Cook) Spiny waterflea
McKinney (ltasca) Eurasian watermilfoil
McMahon (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil
Meadowbrook (Hennepin) Zebra mussel

10 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)
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Medicine (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Melissa (Becker) Flowering rush

Middle Jefferson (LeSueuer) Eurasian watermilfoil

Mill (Becker) Flowering rush

Mill (Douglas) Zebra mussel

Mill Pond (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel

Mille Lacs (Mille Lacs) Eurasian watermilfoil, Spiny waterflea, zebra mussel

Mille Lacs tributaries from their mouth upstream to the first public road (Aitkin, Crow
Wing, and Mille Lacs) Eurasian watermilfoil, spiny waterflea, zebra mussel

Miller (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Miller Creek from 500 feet upstream of State Highway 172 downstream to the Rainy
River (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea

Miltona (Douglas) Zebra mussel

Mina (Douglas) Zebra mussel

Mink (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Minnehaha Creek (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, flowering rush, zebra mussel
Minnehaha Marsh (Hennepin) Zebra mussel

Minnetonka (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, flowering rush, zebra mussel
Minnewashta (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Minnewaska (Pope) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel

Minnie-Belle (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil

Mississippi River from Knutson Dam to the confluence with the White Oak Lake
Branch (Cass and Itasca) Faucet snail

Mississippi River downstream of Lock and Dam 2 (Dakota, Goodhue, Hennepin,
Houston, Wabasha, Washington, and Winona) Bighead carp and silver carp
Mississippi River from Lock and Dam 6 to the lowa border (Multiple) Faucet snail
Mississippi River downstream of St. Anthony Falls (Dakota, Goodhue, Hennepin,
Houston, Ramsey, Wabasha, Washington, and Winona) Eurasian watermilfoil
Mississippi River from 500 feet upstream of the mouth of the Pine River in Crow Wing
County to the Minnesota-lowa border, including 500 feet upstream into its tributaries
(Anoka, Benton, Crow Wing, Dakota, Goodhue, Hennepin, Houston, Morrison, Ramsey,
Sherburne, Sterns, Wabasha, Washington, Winona, and Wright) Zebra mussel
Mitchell (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Mitchell (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil

Mud (St. Louis) Zebra mussel

Mud (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil

Muskrat (Becker) Flowering rush

N

Namakan (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea

Niccum’s Pond located in the NW 1/4 of the SW 1/4 of S10, T117N,
R24W (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Nisswa (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Nokomis (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, zebra mussel
North Genter (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil

North Fowl (Cook) Spiny waterflea

North Lindstrom (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil

North Twin (Itasca) Eurasian watermilfoil, flowering rush
North Twin (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

North Union (Douglas) Zebra mussel

Norway (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil
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0

0’Dowd (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil

Ogechie (Mille Lacs) Zebra mussel

Olson (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil

Onamia (Mille Lacs) Zebra mussel

Orwell Reservoir (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel

Oscar (Douglas) Eurasian watermilfoil

Ossawinnamakee (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil, zebra mussel

Otter (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil

Otter (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil

Otter Tail River from 500 feet upstream of the confluence of the Pelican River down-
stream to the Bois De Sioux River, including 500 feet upstream into its tributaries (Otter
Tail and Wilkin) Zebra mussel

Outlet Creek from Minnewaska to Emily (Pope) Zebra mussel

Owasso (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

P

Parker’s (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Parley (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Paul (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
Pearl (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Peavey (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, zebra mussel
Pelican (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Pelican (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
Pelican (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Pelican Brook from the source at Ossawinnamakee Lake to the Pine River (Crow Wing)
Zebra mussel
Pelican River from Bucks Mill Drive downstream to the Otter Tail River, including 500
feet upstream into its tributaries (Becker and Otter Tail counties)
Pelican River from Detroit Lake to Muskrat Lake (Becker) Flowering rush
Peltier (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Pepin (Goodhue) Bighead carp and silver carp, eurasian watermilfoil, zebra mussel
Phalen (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Pickeral (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Pierson (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

@7 Pig (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Pigeon River downstream of South Fowl Lake (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Pigeon River from the Pigeon Dam Lake's dam to Lake Winnibigoshish (Itasca) Faucet snail
Pike (St. Louis) Zebra mussel
Pine (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Pine River from 500 feet upstream of the base of Cross Lake Dam to the Mississippi
River, including 500 feet upstream into its tributaries (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Pleasant (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil, zebra mussel
Plum (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Pokegama (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil
Pond Six (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Pond Three located in the SE 1/4 of the NE 1/4 of S4, T28N, R22W (Ramsey)
Eurasian watermilfoil

@7 Portage (Itasca) Zebra mussels
Powderhorn (Hennepin) Brazillian elodea, Eurasian watermilfoil
Powers (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Prairie (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
Pulaski (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

12 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)
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Q

Quarry (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

R

Rabbits (Itasca) Faucet snail

Rainy (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea

Rainy River, from Rainy Lake to Lake of the Woods (Koochiching and Lake of the
Woods) Spiny waterflea

Ramsey (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Rapid River from 500 feet upstream of Highway 11 to Clementson Bay of the Rainy
River (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea

Ravens (Itasca) Faucet snail

Ravens Flowage (Itasca) Faucet snail

Ray's (LeSueur) Eurasian watermilfoil

Rebecca (Dakota) Zebra mussel

Rebecca (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Reitz (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

@; Reno (Pope) Zebra mussels

Rice (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Rice (Itasca) Zebra mussels

Rice (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Riley (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Ripley (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil

Ripple River between Bay Lake and Tame Fish Lake (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Rock (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Rossier (Stearns) Zebra mussel

Rose (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel

Round (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Round (Douglas) Eurasian watermilfoil

Round (Hennepin) Brittle naiad, Eurasian watermilfoil

Round (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp

Round (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Round (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Roy (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Royal (Cook) Spiny waterflea

Royal River between Little John and North Fowl! (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Rum River including 500 feet upstream into its tributaries (Anoka, Isanti, Mille Lacs,
and Sherburne) Zebra mussel

Rusch (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel

Rush (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil

Rush 32-0031 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp

Rush 32-0063 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp

Ruth (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil

Rush-Hen (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

S

Saganaga (Cook) Spiny waterflea

Sallie (Becker) Flowering rush

Sand (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil

Sand (Itasca) Zebra mussels

Sand Point (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea

Sarah (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Sauk (Todd) Eurasian watermilfoil, flowering rush

Sauk River, from Juergens Lake to Mud Lake (Todd) Flowering rush
Scandinavian (Pope) Eurasian watermilfoil

mndnr.gov |3
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Schmidt (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Schultz (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

Schutz (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Second Crow Wing (Hubbard) Faucet snail

Sensky Creek from 500 feet upstream of State Highway 172 downstream to the Rainy
River (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea

Shagawa (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea

Shakopee (Mille Lacs) Zebra mussel

Shallow Pond 61-0112 (Pope) Zebra mussel

Shamineau (Morrison) Eurasian watermilfoil

Shell River from Upper Twin to Crow Wing River, including 500 feet upstream into its
tributaries(Hubbard and Wadena) Faucet Snail

Silver (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Silver (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Silver Creek from 500 feet upstream of Highway 11 downstream to the Rainy River
(Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea

Skoglund Slough (Douglas) Zebra mussel

Skunk (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp

Snail (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Snake River between Lake Pokegama and Cross Lake, including 500 feet upstream
into its tributaries (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil

Snelling (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Somers (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

South Center (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil

South Coon (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil

South Fowl (Cook) Spiny waterflea

South Lindstrom (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil

South Twin (Itasca) Flowering rush

Spectacle (Isanti) Eurasian watermilfoil

Spider (Cass) Zebra mussel

Spirit (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp

Spoon Creek between Keller and Phalen lakes (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

St. Croix River downstream of the Chisago and Washington County Line (Chisago and
Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil

St. Croix River downstream of the St. Croix Boomsite Recreation Area at river mile 25.4
(Washington) Zebra mussel

St. Croix River downstream of the dam at Taylors Falls (Chisago and Washington
counties) Bighead carp and silver carp

St. Louis River downstream of the Cloquet River (Carlton and St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
St. Louis River downstream of the Fond du Lac dam (St. Louis) New Zealand mud snalil,
round goby, ruffe, VHS, white perch

St. Louis River downstream of the mouth of the White Pine River in St. Louis County
(St. Louis) Zebra mussel

Steiger (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Stella (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil

Stone (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Stoney (Douglas) Zebra mussel

Sturgeon (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil

Sucker (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil, zebra mussel

Sugar (Itasca) Faucet snalil

Sugar (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil

Sunset (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
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Sunset Pond (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

Superior (Cook, Lake, and St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil, New Zealand mud snail,
round goby, ruffe, spiny waterflea, VHS, white perch, zebra mussel

Susan (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Swan located in the NW 1/4 of the NW 1/4 of S4, T117N, R23W (Hennepin) Eurasian
watermilfoil

Swede (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Swift Ditch from 500 feet upstream of Highway 12, downstream to Lake of the Woods
(Roseau) Spiny waterflea

Sylvia (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil

T

Tanager (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, zebra mussel
Tetonka (LeSueuer) Flowering rush

Third River Flowage (ltasca) Faucet snail

Third River downstream of Highway 33 (Itasca) Faucet snalil
Thole (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil

Thomas (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

Town Line (Cass) Eurasian watermilfoil

Tributaries to Superior (Cook, Lake, and St. Louis) round goby, ruffe, VHS, white perch
Trout (Cook) Spiny water flea

Turtle (Douglas) Zebra mussel

Turtle (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil

Twin Lakes (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil

U

Union (Polk) Eurasian watermilfoil
@7 Unnamed (Douglas) Zebra mussel (21-0479-00)
Unnamed (Douglas) Zebra mussel (21-0440-00)
Unnamed creek between Pearl and Loon (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Unnamed creek between Anderson’s Marsh and Pearl (Jackson) Bighead carp and
silver carp
Unnamed creek between Rush Lake and Anderson’s Marsh (Jackson) Bighead carp
and silver carp
Unnamed (quarry) (Steele) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed gravel pit located in S 1/2 of S14, T41N, R21W (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed gravel pit located in Section 16, T108, R20W (Steele) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed Lake (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Unnamed Lake (Dakota) Flowering rush
Unnamed Lake in Springbrook Nature Center (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed lake 32-0027 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Unnamed lake 32-0042 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Unnamed lake 32-0055 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Unnamed lake 32-0061 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Unnamed lake 32-0062 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Unnamed lake 32-0093 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Unnamed lake 32-0096 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
Unnamed pond in the NW % of S14, T117, R22 (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Unnamed pond in Valley Park (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed pond located in Sections 14 and15, T142, R39W (Becker) Faucet snail
Unnamed pond located in Section 15 T142, R39W (Becker) Faucet snail
Unnamed pond located in the NW % of NE % of Section 22, T142N, R39W
(Becker) Faucet snail
Unnamed pond located in the NE ¥ of NW ¥ of section 22, T142N, R39W (Becker)
Faucet snail
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Unnamed pond located in the NE ¥4 of SEY of Section 15, T142N, R39W (Becker)
Faucet snail

Unnamed pond located in the SW %4 of SW % of Section 14, T142N, Range 39W
(Becker) Faucet snail

Unnamed pond located in the SE ¥4 of the SW %4 of Section 15, T142N, Range 39W
(Becker) Faucet snail

Unnamed pond 61-0511 (Pope) Zebra mussel

Unnamed river from the outlet of Irene to Miltona (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Unnamed river from the outlet of Lake Miltona to Ida lakes (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland located in S33, T117N, R23W (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed wetland located in S20, T115N, R22W (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed wetland known as Heine Pond (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed wetland located in the NE % of the NE % of S33, T135,R27

(Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Unnamed wetland located in the NE ¥ of the SW ¥ of S3T135, R27

(Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Unnamed wetland located in the NE Y of the NE % of S33, T31N, R22W

(Anoka) Flowering rush

Unnamed wetland located in the NE % of the NE % of S33, T46, R30

(Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Unnamed wetland located in the NE ¥ of the SE % of S2, T46, R30

(Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Unnamed wetland along Clearwater River, including 500 feet upstream into Its
tributaries (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil

Unnamed wetland in NE ¥ of S20 T117N, R21W (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland in the E 1/2 of S13, T117N R22W (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland in the NW 1/4 of $19, T117N, R21W (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland in the SE 1/4 of S11 and NE 1/4 of S14 T117N R22W
(Hennepin) Zebra mussel

Unnamed wetland in the SW 1/4 of S20, T117N, R21W (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland located in the NE 1/4 of the SW 1/4 of S2, T46, R30

(Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Unnamed wetland NW % of S18 T117N, R21W (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland located in Section 2, Township 143, Range 43W

(Norman) Faucet snail

Unnamed wetland located in Section 20 and 21, T124N, R39W (Pope)

Zebra mussel

Unnamed wetland located in Section 16, T124N, R39W (Pope) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland located in Section 20, T124N, R39W (Pope) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel

Unnamed wetland located in Section 9 and 16, T124N, R39W (Pope) Zebra mussel
Upper Gull (Cass) Zebra mussel

Upper Hay (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel

Upper Mission (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil

Upper Prior (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil, zebra mussel

Upper Sakatah (LeSueuer) Flowering rush

Upper Twin (Hubbard) Faucet snail

v

Vadnais (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Victoria (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Virginia (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
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W
Wabasso (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Wabanica Creek from 500 feet upstream of State Highway 172 downstream to Rainy
River (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea
Waconia (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Warroad River from 500 feet upstream State Highway 11 downstream to Lake of the
Woods (Roseau) Spiny waterflea
Washburn (Cass) Eurasian watermilfoil
Washington (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Wasserman (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Watab, Lower Watab (Stearns) Zebra mussels
Watab River (Stearns) from Watab Lake to Mississippi River Zebra mussels
Waverly (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Weaver (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Weigand (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Wells (Rice) Flowering rush
West Fork Little Sioux River and its tributaries (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp
West Sylvia (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
West Twin (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Whaletail (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
White Bear (Ramsey and Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
White Pine River (St. Louis) Zebra mussel
@ Whitefish (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Wilmes (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Winnibigoshish (Cass) Faucet snail
Winona (Winona) Eurasian watermilfoil
Winter Road River, from 500 feet upstream of State Highway 172, downstream to the
Rainy River (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea
Wirth (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Wolf (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Wolfe (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Z

Zumbra (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil

Zumbro (Olmsted) Zebra mussel

Zumbro River downstream of Lake Zumbro, including 500 feet upstream into its
tributaries (Wabasha) Zebra mussel

Note: Lakes are listed in the county according to the public waters lists. Some lakes
may be located in more than one county.

A message from your Conservation Officers

ENFORCEHIENT

z
%
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DEFINITIONS

Some anglers might not be familiar with the following terms used in this regulations booklet:

Designated stream trout lakes — These waters have been listed in Minnesota
Rule and have been stocked with trout that are native to streams: rainbow, brown, or
brook trout. Some also have splake, a cross between a lake trout and a brook trout.

Inland waters — Lakes and rivers within Minnesota not bordering Canada or
another state.

Immediately released or returned to the water — Fish must not be retained
longer than is needed at the site of capture to unhook, identify, measure, and
photograph. Placing the fish in any type of container or on a stringer is not immediately
released. Any fish not immediately released is considered to be “reduced to
possession.”

Daily and possession limits (bags) — For most species of fish, daily and
possession limits are the same. One exception would be the inland limit on yellow perch,
which is 20 per day and 40 in possession. The daily and possession limits include fish
possessed by the person at all locations including such places as livewell, cold storage,
at home, or at a resort. Daily limit is the number of fish an angler can take in one
calendar day. Eating those fish or gifting them away on the same day does not allow an
angler to possess additional fish taken in the same calendar day.

Harvest slot limit — Allows the harvest of fish from a designated size range.

Maximum size limit — Prohibits the harvest of fish from some specified length
and larger.

Minimum size limit — Prohibits harvest of fish less than a specified length.

Minnows — Members of the minnow family, except carp and goldfish; bullheads,
ciscoes, lake whitefish, goldeyes, and mooneyes (not over 7 inches long); suckers (not
over 12 inches long); mud minnows, leeches, tadpole madtoms and stonecats. (Note:
border water regulations may vary.)

One-over the size limit — Allows the harvest of one fish over a set size limit as
part of the daily or possession limit.

Protected slot limit — Prohibits harvest of fish from a designated size range. Fish
within this size range must be immediately released.

Rough fish — Carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, burbot, cisco (tullibee), gar,
goldeye, and bullhead. (Note: border waters regulations may vary.)

Under-utilized fish — Carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, burbot, cisco, gar,
goldeye, and redhorse.

@r Culling (Sorting) — The act of replacing one fish with another fish (see possession
information on pages 27, 37 and 60-65). See general angling regulations on page 27,
Lake Mille Lacs on page 37; and border waters with North Dakota, South Dakota, and
Wisconsin on pages 60-65.

18 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)



New Regulations

NEW REGULATIONS FOR 2014

@ New Regulations for 2014

e Updated list of infested waters (pages 5-17)

e Provided definition for culling (sorting) (page 18)

¢ Modified Lake Superior regulations (pages 34-35)

¢ Modified seasons for taking rough fish (page 66) <

¢ New early bowfishing season (page 67)

e Updated list of lakes with northern pike spearing bans (page 69)

¢ Modified minnow transportation regulations (page 76)

e Provided a QR (quick response) code for finding a conservation officer (page 84)

New or Modified Experimental/Special Regulations

Changes include: Mille Lacs, modified northern pike and smallmouth bass
regulations; Leech (Cass Co.), modified walleye regulation; Stony (Cass Co.), dropped
largemouth bass regulations; Lake Thirteen (Cass Co.), modified bass regulation;
Mukooda (St. Louis Co.), added lake trout regulation.

Clarification to Synopsis

e Under 18 or over 89 — no spearing license required (page 24)

e Trout and salmon from Lake Superior and its tributaries must be transported
with head and tail intact (page 36)

¢ Hours when crayfish traps may be tended (page 76)

e Measuring turtle shell length (page 77)

e Cannot sell mussels or mussels shells (page 76)

Reorganized Tables

Tables showing angling license options (pages 20-22), inland bass seasons
(page 31), and lake sturgeon regulations on the Canada-Minnesota border waters
(page 57) were modified to help make the information easier to understand.

Note: Regulations may change after this booklet goes to print. New seasons and

size restrictions for bass, catfish, lake sturgeon, muskellunge, and trout could
become law during 2014. Check DNR Web site for announcements and corrections.

mndnr.gov 19
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RESIDENT ANGLING LICENSES

License year begins March 1 and ends last day of February unless otherwise noted
(Prices do not include additional issuing fees)

Purchase online at mndnr.gov/buyalicense

Duplicate licenses and stamps can be purchased from any ELS agent for $2.50 each.

Code number refers to the license identification code.

License Description

YOUTH Youth age 16 & 17 Youth Individual Angling (exempt from
ANGLING Annual trout/salmon stamp and spearing
Resident license) license year begins March
Individual age 1 and ends last day of February)

16 & 17

Adult Annual Individual Angling (license year begins
(Age 18 and over and | March 1 and ends last day of February)
under 90)

24-Hour Individual Angling (no Trout Stamp
required) Consecutive 24-hour
72-Hour Individual Angling (no Trout Stamp
required) Consecutive 72-hour
3-Year Individual Angling Consecutive 3-years
1/2 bag limit Individual Angling 1/2 bag limits
ADULT Conservation
ANGLING Sports Individual Angling and Small Game
Resident ($31.50 plus $6.50 surcharge “paid by
Individual age hunters for the acquisition and
18 and over and development of wildlife lands”)
under 90 Super Sports Individual Angling including Trout/

Salmon Stamp, Small Game including
pheasant and waterfowl, a deer tag
(archery, firearms or muzzleloader)
($86.50 plus $6.50 surcharge “paid by
hunters for the acquisition and
development of wildlife lands”)

Walleye Stamp Voluntary Individual Validation
Pictorial stamp mailed

Trout & Salmon Individual Trout and Salmon Validation
Stamp (required for designated trout lakes,
Lake Superior and to harvest trout)
Pictorial stamp mailed

Sturgeon Tag Required to harvest a sturgeon
Spearing Annual Individual Dark house Spearing

(Age 18 and over and | (angling license required).

under 90) Under 18 or over 89-No spearing license
is required.

Prices do not include additional issuing fees
Alicense to take wild animals that was lawfully obtained continues to be valid for the balance of the license
period if the licensee's age, residency, or student qualification status changes.

20 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)



Fishing Licenses

RESIDENT ANGLING LICENSES
_ License Description -

House or Shelter Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if left
Annual unattended overnight*

ANGLING House or Shelter 3-Year |Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if left
LICENSES unattended overnight*

additional House or Shelter Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if left
options Rented Annual unattended overnight*

(continue) House or Shelter Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if left
Rented 3-Year unattended overnight*

Netting Whitefish and Cisco

Married Combination Married Couple Angling
Annual
Married 1/2 bag limit Married Couple Angling 1/2 bag limits
Conservation
Combination
MARRIED Married Combination | Two Angling and One Small Game
ANGLING Sports ($45.50 plus $6.50 surcharge “paid by
Resident hunters for the acquisition and

Married couple development of wildlife lands”)

Married Combination A combination angling license

Super Sports including 2 trout/salmon stamps, and for
the primary licensee an

individual small game including pheas-
ant and state waterfowl stamps and

a single individual deer tag (archery,
firearm or muzzleloader) ($110.50 plus
$6.50 surcharge "paid by hunters for the
acquisition and development of wildlife

lands")
LIFETIME Lifetime Angling RENEWAL
ANQLING age 3 and under
Res_lQent age 4 to age 15
Individual age 16 to age 50

age 51 and over
Lifetime Angling and RENEWAL
Spearing

age 3 and under

age 4 to age 15

age 16 to age 50

age 51 and over
Lifetime Sports One Sports RENEWAL
age 3 and under

age 4 to age 15

age 16 to age 50

age 51 and over

* License valid March 1 to April 30 of the following year (or 3 year period)

** 0f this price, credits go to: $0.50 wolf management; $1.00 deer/bear management account; $0.50
emergency feeding and wild cervidae-deer health management; and $2.00 deer management

*** Currently the prices of these licenses are more than if purchasing the included licenses separately

mndnr.gov 2|
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NONRESIDENT ANGLING LICENSES

License year begins March 1 and ends last day of February unless otherwise noted
(Prices do not include additional issuing fees)

Purchase online at mndnr.gov/buyalicense

Duplicate licenses and stamps can be purchased from any ELS agent for $2.50 each.

Code number refers to the license identification code.

YOUTH
ANGLING
Nonresident
Individual age
16 & 17

ADULT
ANGLING

Nonresident
Individual age 18

and over

ANGLING
LICENSES
Nonresident

additional options

Nonresident

Married Couple

LIFETIME

ANGLING

Nonresident
Individual

Code |License Description Fee
205 |Youth age 16 and 17 Youth Individual Angling (exempt from |$5

Annual trout/salmon stamp and spearing li-
cense) license year begins March 1 and
ends last day of February

Annual Individual Angling (license year begins [$45
March 1 and ends last day of February)

($40 plus $5 surcharge)

24-Hour Individual Angling (no Trout Stamp $12
Required) Consecutive 24-hour

3-Day Individual Angling (no Trout Stamp $32
Required) Consecutive 72-hour
($27 plus $5 surcharge)

7-Day Individual Angling Consecutive 7-day  |$38
($33 plus $5 surcharge)

Walleye Stamp Voluntary Individual Validation $5
Pictorial stamp mailed additional

$0.75

Trout & Salmon Stamp |Individual Trout and Salmon $10
Validation
Pictorial stamp mailed additional

$0.75

Sturgeon Tag Required to harvest a sturgeon $5

Spearing Annual Individual Dark house Spearing $15

Age 18 and over (angling license required) ($10 plus $5
surcharge)

House or Shelter Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if ~ [$37

Annual left unattended overnight (license year
March 1-April 30 of following year)

House or Shelter 7-Day |Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if ~ [$21
left unattended overnight

House or Shelter 3-Year |Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if ~ [$111
left unattended overnight

Combination Annual One or Both Parents and Dependent $60

Family Children under age 16 ($55 plus
$5 surcharge)

Combination 14-Day Married Couple Consecutive 14-Day $48
Angling ($43 plus $5 surcharge)

Lifetime Angling RENEWAL FREE
age 3 and under $726
age 4 to age 15 $925
age 16 to age 50 $1,054
age 51 and over $702
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Fishing Licenses

The Electronic Licensing System (ELS) issues licenses and stamp validation
through 1,600 license agent locations statewide. Agents charge an issuing fee for
each license and stamp sold.

Instant Licenses (except lifetime) and stamp validations are also available online or
by telephone at 1-888-665-4236. An additional convenience fee is added for sales
via the website or telephone (see website for details).

Lifetime License

First time purchase of lifetime license is only available at DNR License Center in St.
Paul. Application forms are available online or through the DNR Information Center
1-888-646-6367. A lifetime license holder who is required by law to have a game
and fish license, must authorize their participation by obtaining an annual license
each year the lifetime license is used. These annual licenses are issued at no fee.

Conservation Licenses

o Conservation Licenses are available only to residents of Minnesota (See pages 20-21).

 Daily and possession limits are half of what can be taken with a standard angling license.
Fractions are rounded down to next whole number (see page 34 for list).
People bowfishing, spearing, or using other approved harvest methods under a
Conservation License are limited to %2 of the daily and possession limit for that method.

o Sturgeon harvest tag may not be used with a Conservation License.

Trout and Salmon Stamp

Trout and salmon stamp validations are printed on
the ELS license. This is the only verification needed
to prove purchase of the trout and salmon stamp.
Purchasers may request the actual pictorial stamp for
an additional $0.75.

Except as noted, anglers need a trout and salmon
stamp validation and a fishing or sports license when
fishing in designated trout streams, designated trout
lakes, Lake Superior, or when possessing trout on waters that are not designated
trout water. All trout and salmon in possession require a trout and salmon validation,
unless received as a gift. Trout and salmon stamps are not required for children less
than 18 years old, adults who are 65 and older, people fishing with a 24-hour or
72-hour license, or people who are exempt from fishing license requirements or who
receive a fishing license at no charge.

Walleye Stamp

¢ Purchase of a walleye stamp is voluntary; it is not
needed for fishing.

¢ Revenues from the sale of a walleye stamp will be
used for walleye stocking and related activities.

o Walleye stamp validations are printed on the
ELS license. Purchasers may request the actual ‘
pictorial stamp for an additional $0.75. 2014 Walleye Stamp. Artist: Nelson
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License Requirements

All people 16 years and older need a license unless otherwise noted. To
purchase a noncommercial game or fish license, nonresidents and residents
must have their social security number on file with DNR or must provide it.

Residents

¢ To qualify as a resident, a person must maintain a legal residence in Minnesota for at
least 60 consecutive days before purchasing a license. In addition, residents 21 or older
must provide a current Minnesota Driver's License or ID card, unless exempt under the
Religious Freedom Act.

¢ A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident is considered a
resident.

o All residents age 15 and younger are allowed to take their own limit of fish without
purchasing a license.

¢ Residents age 16 through 89 must have an angling license to take fish.

@7 ¢ Residents age 18 through 89 must have a dark house spearing license and an angling

license to spear.

Nonresidents

All nonresidents age 16 and older are required to have an appropriate fishing license

while angling. Nonresidents under age 16 do not need a license if the parent or guard-

ian is licensed. Children of an adult who has a Minnesota nonresident family license

may possess their own limit of fish. However, if the adult has an individual license, the

child’s fish are included in the adult’s limit. Nonresidents under age 16 may purchase a

nonresident youth license and possess their own limit of fish.

¢ Nonresident age 18 and over must have dark house spearing license and angling
license to spear.

¢ Nonresident age 16 and 17 do not need a dark house spearing license but must have a
nonresident youth angling license.

Nonresident Students and Military

o Aperson in the U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed or training in the state may
purchase a resident fishing license (must show proof).

¢ Anonresident that is a full-time student at an educational institution in the state and
resides in the state during the school year may obtain a resident license to take fish
with proof of student status.

¢ The spouse of a resident who is on active military duty may obtain a resident fishing
license.

Refund Policy

Check your license for accuracy prior to leaving the license agent location. All sales are

final. Refunds can only be issued if:

¢ the licensee dies before the opening of the licensed season;

e the licensee is unable to participate in the licensed activity because the licensee
is called to active military duty or military leave is cancelled during the entire open
season of the licensed activity;

¢ or the licensee purchased two licenses for the same license season in error.
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Fishing Licenses

Exempt from License Requirement

¢ Minnesota residents in the U.S. Armed Forces who are stationed outside the state and
home on leave (must carry leave or furlough papers).

¢ In-patients of a U.S. Veterans Administration hospital, residents of a Minnesota licensed
nursing or boarding care home, and residents of a licensed board and lodging facility
with written consent from the institution.

¢ Residents who have served in federal active service outside the U.S. during the preceding
24 months and are now discharged from overseas duty. (Discharge papers must be in
possession while fishing or transporting fish.)

¢ A resident may take fish by angling (in open water) without an angling license when
shore fishing or wading on state-owned land within a state park. When angling from a
boat or float or on the ice, this exemption applies only to those water bodies completely
encompassed within the statutory boundary of the state park. The exemption from an
angling license does not apply to waters where a trout stamp is required.

¢ Residents 90 years and older in age.

¢ Residents under age 16 may net cisco (tullibee) and whitefish for personal use.

¢ Residents receiving disability benefits under the Federal Railroad Retirement Act or U.S.
Postal Service. Person must carry proof of disability retirement benefits.

Licenses Issued without a Fee (agents charge an issuing fee)

¢ Permanent angling license will be issued to any Minnesota resident over age 16 who is
developmentally disabled or a veteran with a 100 percent service-connected disability.
Available only from the DNR License Center.

¢ Annual angling and/or spearing license may be issued to Minnesota residents who
are legally blind, receiving SSI or SSDI, receiving worker’s compensation for total and
permanent disability, a ward of the Commissioner of Human Services, or a resident of
a state institution that has an approved application. SSI or SSDI benefit verification is
available online at www.socialsecurity.gov, by calling 1-800-772-1213 or at your local
Social Security office. Must have current letter from Social Security stating disability or
SSI benefits.

¢ Foreign exchange students may receive a free annual angling license with proof of their
foreign exchange student status.

An unlicensed person may assist a disabled angler who has a disability license, provided that
only the number of lawful lines are in use.

License Revocation

Fishing privileges may be revoked for one year for two or more convictions of fishing
violations in three years. Violations of fishing laws in other states may affect your ability to
fish in Minnesota.

Under the gross over-limits penalty provisions, privileges can be revoked for three or five
years, depending on the number of fish involved in the violation.

Failure to pay fines or to appear in court on a violation can result in revocation of all game
and fish licenses until the fines are paid.

Note: All persons required to have a license (including stamp validations) must have it
in their possession while fishing and while traveling from an area where they fished.
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GENERAL REGULATIONS

The following regulations apply to all Minnesota waters unless noted otherwise in this
booklet.

Hooks, Lures and Tackle Configurations

Single Tackle Configuration. Anglers may use up to three single or multiple-pronged
(example: treble) hooks on a line used as a single tackle configuration attached to the end
of a fishing line (Examples: crawler harness, quick-strike rig. See pictures on page 30).
Note: a single tackle configuration cannot be used on designated trout streams and
lakes.

- The total length of the single tackle configuration from the first hook to the last hook
must be nine inches or less.

- Anglers may use live, artificial, preserved, or dead bait that is lawful to use
(see page 28).

- This single tackle configuration is not considered an artificial fly or lure/bait, and no
additional hooks may be used. Adding a bead, blade, or spinner does not make it into
an artificial lure/bait.

e Artificial Lure/Bait. A single artificial lure/bait may contain more than one hook

(Example: a crankbait).

- An angler may have one additional single or multiple hook on a line as part of
the artificial lure/bait as long as it is within three inches of the artificial lure/bait
(Example: a stinger hook (often a treble hook) can be trailed behind a jig).

- Note: An extra single or multiple hook is not allowed on artificial lures/baits used on
designated trout streams and lakes.

o Artificial Fly. Three artificial flies may be used when angling for trout, crappie, sunfish,
and rock bass.

¢ Designated Trout Streams and Lakes. Other than 3 artificial flies or a single artificial
lure/bait, a tackle configuration with more than one single hook is not allowed on
designated trout streams and lakes. Note: See special tackle restrictions for Lake

Superior and Its Tributaries - page 36.

Angling Methods
¢ Anglers may use only one line during the open water season and two through the ice
(other than on designated trout lakes and streams) unless otherwise noted.
¢ You may not intentionally fish for any species during its closed season.
¢ Angling with an unattended line, a setline, or a trotline is unlawful.
¢ Using an artificial light to lure or attract fish is unlawful. Exception: While angling, a
person may affix to the end of a fishing line a lighted artificial bait with hooks attached.
Any battery that is used in lighted fishing lures must not contain mercury.
o Aparty is defined as a group of two or more persons:
— angling from a single watercraft; or
— if not in a watercraft, maintaining unaided visual and vocal contact with each
other.
¢ The total number of fish possessed by the party may not exceed the combined limits of
the numbers of the party.
e Each party member may transport only an individual limit of fish.
¢ The use of explosives, firearms, chemicals (not including fish scents), spring devices, or
electricity for taking fish is unlawful.
e |tis unlawful to take a fish by snagging or noodling (taking fish by hand).
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General Regulations

Possessing Fish

e Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. Fish are in an angler’s
possession whether on hand, in cold storage, in transport, or elsewhere.

¢ Once a daily or possession limit of fish has been reached, no culling or live well sorting
is allowed. No culling is allowed on Mille Lacs, or on Wisconsin, South Dakota, or North
Dakota border waters (see pages 37 and 60-65).

¢ While on or fishing waters with size restrictions it is illegal to possess any fish outside
legal length limits.

o |f legally taken from a connected water or having been packaged by a licensed fish
packer, a person who is in transit and taking the most direct route back to their lodging
or docking, and not fishing, may possess fish outside of or in excess of the limits for that
water body.

¢ When on or fishing experimental, special, border or other waters with size restrictions
different from statewide regulations, all fish for which the size restriction applies must
have their heads, tails, fins, and skin intact and be measurable except as follows:

(1) Fish that are legally taken on that water body may be used in the preparation of a
meal while docked or moored to shore or while on the ice of that waterbody. Fish used
for a meal still count towards the daily possession limit. Fillets may be possessed only
if the person is in the act of preparing a meal or have been packaged by a licensed
fish packer.

(2) On the shore or ice of experimental and special management waters a person may
prepare fish for a meal that have been packaged by a licensed fish packer. The total
number of fish in possession may not exceed the statewide possession limit.

¢ When fish are consumed on the ice or on a watercraft that is docked or moored to shore,
the carcass of a fish with size limits (other than statewide size limits) must be retained in
such a way that the carcass may be readily unpacked, unwrapped, and separated so that
the carcass may be examined, measured, and counted to ensure compliance with size
restrictions for that day. The fish carcasses must be retained with head, dorsal fin, and
tail intact, and the carcass will be counted and included in a person's daily possession
limit.

¢ Depositing fish entrails or fish parts into public waters or onto lake or stream shores is
prohibited.

» Possessing or transporting white perch, ruffe, round goby, black carp, bighead carp, grass
carp, or silver carp is unlawful, except when taking them to the DNR. If you catch a black,
bighead, grass, or silver carp, you must report it to the DNR within seven days. A picture
or specimen is desired when reporting your catch to the DNR.

Transporting Fish

¢ Except while on the body of water where taken, live fish may not
be transported in a quantity of water sufficient to keep them alive
unless the fish are bait minnows or the person is authorized to do
50 by the DNR.

 Transport of fish for display in a home aquarium is legal under the
following conditions:

— Game fish purchased from an authorized licensee transported
with the necessary documents (such as a sales receipt).

— Anglers 16 or under may transport legally caught largemouth
bass, smallmouth bass, yellow perch, rock bass, black
crappie, white crappie, bluegill, pumpkinseed, green sunfish,
orangespotted sunfish, and black, yellow, and brown bullhead.
No more than four of each species may be transported at any
one time, and any individual fish can be no longer than 10
inches.
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At no time may water from any lake or stream be transported. (See page 4 or DNR
Website).

e Fish prepared for transportation, shipment, or storage are defined as follows:

Undressed fish must have heads, tails, fins, and skin intact. Entrails, gills, and scales may
be removed.

Dressed fish may have heads and scales or skin removed, in addition to gills and entrails.

Fillets are fish flesh, excluding cheeks, that have been removed from a fish. Scales or skin
may be removed or intact. A fish may not be reduced to more than two fillets.

e Fish must be packaged or transported in such a way that they can be readily unwrapped,
separated, identified, and counted.

* Muskellunge, sturgeon, catfish, salmon, splake, brook trout, brown trout, and rainbow
trout, which have statewide length limits, must be transported with head and tail intact
so the fish can be measured. Northern pike and walleye may be dressed or filleted except
when on experimental, special, border waters, or other waters that differ from statewide
length limits. See Possessing Fish section on page 27.

o All dressed fish and fillets must have a 1-square-inch patch of skin with scales intact from
a portion of the body other than the belly.

e Bullhead, sunfish, and crappie may be completely filleted and skinned.

¢ Dressed and filleted sauger count as walleye unless packaged by a licensed fish packer.

e Stocking live fish or fish eggs or transferring fish or fish eggs from one body of water to
another is prohibited without a DNR permit.

Storage and shipments

e Fish can be prepared, packed, and labeled by a licensed fish packer.

¢ A person who stores fish for another must plainly mark the package, in ink, with the
name, address, and fishing license number (or DNR number or transaction number) of the
owner, and the number of fish by species in the package.

e Licensed anglers may make three shipments of fish per year. A permit issued by a
conservation officer is required for each shipment. A shipment cannot contain more than a
possession limit of one species.

Bait

¢ Except when fishing through the ice, if keeping bait, you must exchange water in bait

buckets with tap or bottled water prior to leaving any waterbody to prevent the spread of

aquatic invasive species or fish disease. Note: the exception for ice fishing does not apply

when fishing on VHS-infested waters.

Unwanted minnows and leeches cannot be disposed of in Minnesota waters.

Up to 12 dozen minnows can be transported without a commercial minnow license.

Using whole or parts of game fish, goldfish, or carp for bait is unlawful.

Suckers larger than 12" may only be transported alive in containers that are not livewells

or other parts of a boat and if bought from a licensed aquaculture facility. A person must

have valid receipt from the facility on their person.

e Live bullheads, regardless of size, may not be transported north of State Highway 210,
except under a commercial license.

¢ Up to 100 bullheads, 7-10 inches in length, may be taken and possessed for use as live
bait. Legal methods of taking include dip net, angling or minnow seines. Live bullheads
must be transported in a container with a locking lid to prevent escape. These bullheads
are considered part of the possession limits on pages 32, 58-64, and 66-67. Bullheads
less than 7 inches in length are considered minnows and fall under those regulations.

¢ Bullheads, suckers, mooneyes, goldeyes, and sheepshead (freshwater drum) may be
caught by hook and line from designated infested rivers for personal use as bait while on
that same river. The bait may not be transported live from or off the river where taken
as bait. Anglers must heed all other restrictions and requirements established for these
species.
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¢ |mported dead bait* can only be used if it is: (1) from water bodies with negative fish
health certification; or (2) preserved under a Minnesota DNR bait preservation permit. All
imported dead bait must be labeled, and the labeling must be retained on the person when
angling until the bait is gone. *Bait includes fish (examples: smelt or cisco), aquatic worms,
amphibians, invertebrates, and insects that are lawful to use for bait.

e Dead bait originating in MN harvested under a commercial minnow license (smelt, cisco,
and VHS susceptibles species** only) must also be labeled. Labeling must be retained on
the person when angling until the bait is gone. For specific regulations pertaining to Lake
Superior, see page 36. For additional information about dead bait, please contact DNR
Information Center at 651-296-6157. ** Visit www.focusonfishhealth.org to learn more
about VHS, including which species are susceptible to VHS.

e Only preserved rainbow smelt and cisco may be used as bait, unless harvested, packaged,
and labeled under a commercial license from certified VHS negative waterbody. Freezing
is not a preservation method. Preservation can only be done by permit from the DNR. All
labeling from the preserved smelt and cisco must be carried on the person when angling
until all that preserved bait is gone.

e |mporting live minnows into Minnesota for use as bait is unlawful. For additional
information about taking bait see page 76.

Other

¢ A permit is required for transplanting aquatic plants, applying chemicals, and some types
of cutting to control vegetation in any public waters. (See page 65 for more information.)

¢ Dragging boat anchors or other weights with a motor-propelled boat through aquatic
vegetation is unlawful.

e Littering of any materials, including parts of fish or other animals, and depositing
rubbish, poisonous substances, or chemicals harmful to aquatic life into public waters,
onto ice, or lake or stream shores is illegal. “Chumming” (depositing fish parts or other
material into public waters to attract fish) is unlawful. Fish line and various packaging
materials can be harmful to wildlife.

¢ Marking or tagging fish and then releasing them without a DNR permit is unlawful.

* A DNR permit is required for some fishing contests. Visit mndnr.gov/fishing/tournaments
online for more information and to get costs for a permit.

¢ A permit from the county sheriff is required for most organized events on the water or
ice, including fishing contests.

¢ Buying or selling game fish, whitefish, or cisco is unlawful. The exceptions are smelt
taken from Lake Superior and fish obtained under a commercial, private hatchery, or
aquatic farm license.

¢ Some fish spawning areas are posted to prohibit motorized boat travel. Landowners or
leaseholders adjacent to these areas may use the shortest route when traveling to and
from their property, provided they operate their boat at no more than 5 mph.

¢ Notice to fall anglers: Lakes classified as Waterfowl Feeding and Resting Areas
and Wildlife Management Areas are closed to motorboats as posted during the
fall waterfowl hunting season. Refer to the most current hunting regulations for
a complete list of these lakes. Please give resting flocks of birds and hunting
decoys a wide berth when boating and fishing.

e Some ponds and lakes are licensed for private aquaculture use. Trespassing to gain
access to these waters may be in violation of fishing laws in addition to trespassing laws.

¢ Any fish that is caught and will not be utilized must be immediately returned alive back
into the water. A person cannot wantonly waste a fish that is caught by leaving it or any
usable portion on the ice, thrown up on the bank, or intentionally killing it and returning it
back into the water unless authorized.

 Lawfully taken fish may be transferred as a gift if accompanied by a receipt containing:
name and address of the owner, name and address of recipient, date of transfer,
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description of the gift, and license number (DNR number or transaction number) under
which the fish was taken. The receipt must remain with the gift. The recipient cannot
possess more than the statewide possession limit.

e Drain plugs must be removed from bilges and livewells at the water access. Drain plugs
must be out and all other water draining devices must remain open while trailering or
transporting boats.

Lead Tackle

The tackle industry, recognizing a growing awareness and
concern about lead in the environment, has begun to

create tungsten, glass, copper, steel, tin, bismuth, or plastic
sinkers. Consider using non-lead tackle when you go fishing.

Here’s what you can do to help:

e Ask local sporting good stores to stock non-lead fishing tackle.

e Spread the word by telling other anglers about the problem.

e Dispose of old lead sinkers and jigs properly by locating a drop-off location.

SINGLE TACKLE CONFIGURATION - Example

9" maximum distance
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Seasons and Limits—/nland Waters

SEASONS AND LIMITS

Inland Waters

e All calendar dates are for 2014 unless noted otherwise.

e Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted.

¢ Most species have experimental or special regulations on some waters.
See pages 37-53.

¢ For Lake Superior, Canada, Wisconsin, lowa, South Dakota, and North Dakota
border water regulations, see pages 34-36 and 54-65.

e Different limits for Conservation License apply (see page 34 ).

SEASONS AND LIMITS — INLAND WATERS

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
WALLEYE May 10, 2014- 6* (Not more than 1 walleye
and SAUGER Feb. 22, 2015 over 20" in possession)

(either or combined)

*(Minimum size limit 15" for walleye on the inland waters of Pool 3 [dam at Hastings to
railroad tracks on the Minnesota—Wisconsin border]).

NORTHERN PIKE May 10 2014- 3 (Not more than 1 over 30"
Feb. 22, 2015 in possession)

MUSKELLUNGE June 7, 2014- 1 combined (Minimum size 48")

including HYBRID Dec. 1, 2014

MUSKELLUNGE

Exception: 1 combined Minimum size 40" on lakes listed below

CARVER CO. HENNEPIN CO. RAMSEY CO. SCOTT CO.

Eagle Bryant Gervais Cedar

Pierson Bush Island

Wasserman Calhoun Johanna WASHINGTON CO.
Cedar Phalen Clear

DAKOTA CO. Crystal Silver Elmo

Crystal Isles

Orchard Nokomis
Weaver

Northeast early season: May 10-23, north and east of
U.S. Hwy 53 from Duluth to International Falls and Pelican

LARGEMOUTH and Ash lakes in St. Louis County

BASS Statewide regular season: May 24, 2014 - Feb.22,2015 .
6 total combined

largemouth with
Northeast early season: May 10-23, north and east of smallmouth
U.S. Hwy 53 from Duluth to International Falls and Pelican

SMALLMOUTH and Ash lakes in St. Louis County

BASS Statewide regular season: May 24-Sep.7
Catch and release only: Sep. 8, 2014-Feb.22, 2015 Sﬁ‘ff?s%z{’e&ﬁ'ﬁé‘fe
CRAPPIE* Continuous 10
*(White or black
and their hybrids) continued on next page
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SEASONS AND LIMITS—INLAND WATERS continued

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
SUNFISH* Continuous 20

(either or combined)

*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)
ROCK BASS Continuous 30

WHITE BASS Continuous 30

CHANNEL and Continuous 5 (Only 1 fish over 24".
FLATHEAD CATFISH Not more than 2 can be
(either or combined) flathead.)

PERCH Continuous 20 daily and 40 in possession
BULLHEAD Continuous 100

WHITEFISH and Continuous No limit

UNDER-UTILIZED FISH
Exception: On Leech Lake Indian Reservation whitefish limit 25 and cisco limit 50.
For more information see the DNR website.

SMELT Continuous No limit
LAKE STURGEON Closed
or SHOVELNOSE

STURGEON (including Lake Superior and St. Louis River)
See pages 54, 55, 57, and 64 for other sturgeon waters and regulations.

PADDLEFISH No open season

LAKE TROUT May 10, 2014- 2
Summer, Sep. 30, 2014

statewide

Winter Jan. 18, 2014- 2
Lakes outside or March 31, 2014

partly outside the and Jan. 17, 2015-
Boundary Waters March 31, 2015

Canoe Area

wilderness (BWCAW)

Lakes entirely within Jan. 1, 2014- 2
the BWCAW March 31, 2014
Jan. 1, 2015-

March 31, 2015

¢ Cook County: Gull Lake, Sea Gull River, and Cross River from County Rd 12 to Gunflint Lake
are closed to fishing April 1-May 23, 2014.

OPENER DATES for Walleye, Bass, and Muskie

Walleye Bass Muskie
2014 May 10 May 24 June 7
2015 May 9 May 23 June 6
2016 May 14 May 28 June 4
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Seasons and Limits—Stream Trout

Stream Trout

The following regulations apply only to stream trout (splake, brook, brown, and
rainbow trout) in inland lakes and streams. They do not include /ake trout which
are listed under Inland Waters (page 32). Lake Superior tributaries (pages
34-36) and Experimental and Special Regulations (pages 37-53) are also not
covered in this section.

Calendar dates refer to 2014 unless noted otherwise.

Daily and possession limits are the same.

See page 34 for Conservation License Limits

SEASONS AND LIMITS—STREAM TROUT

STREAM TROUT OPEN SEASON  POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
STREAMS-Summer

Statewide except April 12-Sep. 30 5 combined (Not more than 1
Houston, Fillmore, over 16")

Mower, Dodge, Olmsted,
Winona, Wabasha, and

Goodhue counties
Houston, Fillmore, April 1-11 Catch-and-release only;
Mower, Doage, barbless hooks only
Olmsted, Winona, April 12-Sep. 14 5 combined (Not more than 1
Wabasha, and over 16")
Goodhue counties Sep. 15-Sep. 30 Catch-and-release only;
barbless hooks only

STREAMS-Winter Jan. 1-March 31 See listing in experimental and
Southeast winter Special Regulations section
catch-and-release season
LAKES-Summer May 10-Oct. 31 5 combined (Not more than 3
Statewide over 16")
LAKES-Winter Jan. 18, 2014- 5 combined (Not more than 3
Outside or partly March 31, 2014 over 16")
outside the Boundary and Jan. 17, 2015-
Waters Canoe Area March 31, 2015
wilderness (BWCAW)
except below
Lakes entirely within Jan. 1, 2014- 5 combined (Not more than 3
the BWCAW March 31, 2014 over 16")

Jan. 1, 2015-

March 31, 2015

Becker, Beltrami, Winter season closure on lakes in these counties.
Cass, Crow Wing, and Does not include lake trout.
Hubbard (except for

Blue Lake) counties

mndnr.gov 33



2014 Minnesota Fishing Regulations

Stream Trout Regulations

e Fishing hours for stream trout on inland waters are from one hour before
sunrise to 11 p.m.

¢ Only one line is allowed winter or summer when fishing on designated stream
trout lakes and designated trout streams.

* Possessing live minnows or using them for bait on designated stream trout
lakes is prohibited. Only dried, frozen, or pickled (brined) minnows are allowed.
Live leeches are legal to use.

e Taking of any species, including catch and release angling, in designated trout
waters during the closed trout season is prohibited.

e Taking minnows or leeches from designated trout waters, except under special
permit, is prohibited.

e All stream trout must have head, tail, fins, and skin intact when being
transported.

¢ Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in
designated trout lakes or streams.

e The list of Designated Trout Lakes and Streams can be found on the DNR
website mndnr.gov/fishing/trout_lakes/index.html

How to figure your bag limit for a

: H 1 fish Catch-and-release
Conservation License 2 fish § T fish
i - i 3fish @ 1fish
o Applies to bag limits established for < 2 fioh S ohen
inland lakes, experimental and special 3 g gep & i
management waters, and border @ 6fish 5 3fish
waters. =3 8 fis.h %* 4 f!sh
« Does not apply to size restrictions, but & 123 222 = ?Of'fi's‘h
may only_ hgve up to the corre§ponq- %‘ 25 fish % 12 fish
ing bag limit. For example: 5 fish with -‘EE 30 fish =E 15fish
3 over 10 inches for a Conservation ~ &= ;‘g I!SE §‘; ;g I?SE
i . \ 58 is| =SR] is|
License would be 2 fishwithonly 2~ 38 [30hsn S 50ien

over 10 inches.

Lake Superior and Its Tributaries

The following regulations have been expanded to clarify for anglers the fishing
seasons and limits for Lake Superior and the streams and rivers flowing into it.

¢ Daily and possession limits are the same.

e All other species not named are subject to inland regulations.

e Posted upstream boundaries on Lake Superior tributaries generally correspond
to the areas accessible to anadromous trout and salmon. The upstream boundaries,
as well as fish sanctuary areas, are marked with signs. (For boundary locations,
see maps on DNR website titled “Trout Angling Opportunities in Northeastern
Minnesota.”)

34 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)
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Lake Superior Regulations

36

Two lines may be used on Lake Superior, except only one is allowed within 100
yards from where a tributary stream enters the lake. Also, only one line may be
used in tributary streams.

Anglers are restricted to a single hook or fly only—no treble hooks—on

Lake Superior tributary streams and rivers up to the posted boundaries. Exceptions
are the St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton counties) and the Pigeon River (Cook
County).

Angling hours on Lake Superior tributaries below the posted boundaries are from
one hour before sunrise to one hour after sunset. Exceptions are the St. Louis River
(St. Louis and Carlton counties) and the Pigeon River (Cook County).

Special regulations on North Shore streams include posted sanctuaries on the
French, Knife, Little Knife, Devil Track, and Kadunce rivers and on Gauthier Creek.
(See Experimental and Special Regulations, pages 37-54.)

Unclipped steelhead (rainbow trout) must be immediately released on Lake Superior
and its tributaries. A clipped adipose fin, used to identify stocked trout, must show
a healed scar (see diagram below). Marking, tagging, or finclipping fish and then
releasing them without a DNR permit is unlawful.

From the mouth of Chester Creek to the outermost portion of the northwest arm

of the Duluth ship channel is closed to fishing from boats from Oct. 6 through Nov.
30, 2014

While on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior, persons may possess only one
daily limit of fish. . . .

Trout, salmon, muskellunge and catfish must be Clipped Adipose Fin

transported with head and tail intact. /@gr;g;g)ﬂ“
Anyone fishing on the Minnesota waters of Lake . © Healed
Superior must possess a Minnesota angling license %scar
and trout and salmon stamp validation except as

listed on page 23.

A guide’s license is required to operate a charter boat for the purpose of guiding or
assisting anglers on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior and the St. Louis River
estuary.

A person cannot fish on Wisconsin waters of Lake Superior with only a Minnesota
angling license.

Smelt may be taken night or day. Artificial lights may not be used to lure or attract
smelt. There is no limit on smelt, and smelt from Lake Superior may be bought or
sold; however, live smelt may not be possessed or transported.

Dip nets may be used for taking smelt. Minnow seines not more than 25 feet

long or 4 feet deep may be used to take smelt in the St. Louis River and in Lake
Superior when more than 100 feet from the mouth of any stream.

Taking of smelt at any time is prohibited in the following Lake Superior Tributaries:
French River, Sucker River, Little Sucker River (St. Louis County); Silver Creek,
Encampment Creek, Crow Creek (Lake County).

On Lake Superior tributaries below the posted boundaries, a fish that is hooked in
any part of the body, except the mouth, must be immediately returned to the water.
No fish taken from Lake Superior or its tributaries below the posted boundaries,

or the St. Louis River downstream of the Fond du Lac dam, may be used as bait,
except cisco or smelt taken from Lake Superior can be used: 1) fresh or frozen

in Lake Superior or its tributaries below the posted boundaries; or 2) on other
waterbodies, but only after being preserved under a DNR-issued bait preservation
permit. Permit applications are available from the DNR, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul,
MN 55155-4020.



Special Regulations

SPECIAL REGULATIONS

Intensive Management Lakes

A number of lakes in Minnesota are managed under both treaties and DNR regulations.
Angling harvest on these intensive management lakes may change throughout the

year to maintain sustainable fish populations. If regulations change, information will be
posted at public boat ramps, the DNR website, and in newspapers. Different limits apply
for Conservation License, see page 34.

MILLE LACS LAKE including tributaries to posted boundaries (Aitkin, Crow Wing,
and Mille Lacs counties). No one may fish for any species or possess fishing gear on
the lake from 10 p.m.-6 a.m. starting at 10 p.m. on May 12 and ending at 12:01 a.m. on
June 9. Closed to winter spearing for all species. Fish reduced to possession may not be
culled or live-well sorted.
Northern pike; Tullibee (cisco); Walleye; and Smallmouth bass. These regulations
and any future changes will be posted at public access sites and the DNR website at
www.mndnr.gov/fishing/millelacs.html.

RED LAKE, UPPER including Shotley Brook and Tamarack River (Beltrami County).
Northern pike: all from 26-44" must be immediately released. Only one over 44"
allowed in possession. Walleye: Restrictions or changes will be posted at public access
sites and on the DNR website.

e A person’s statewide bag limit may not include more than current daily bag limit of

Red Lake walleye.

e Those portions of Red Lake located within the Red Lake Indian Reservation are
closed to non-band members except by special authorization of the tribal council.

¢ The fish carcass retention requirements for these water bodies are still in effect—see
page 27.

NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGES may have differing regulations. Please check with the
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

VOYAGEURS NATIONAL PARK In response to the threat of nonnative/AlS species
introductions, the park only allows artificial bait in the interior lakes and prohibits the
use of privately owned watercraft and the landing of float planes in these lakes. These
regulations do not apply to Rainy, Kabetogama, Namakan, Crane, and Sand Point lakes.
Contact Voyageurs National Park for more information.

SUPERIOR NATIONAL FOREST New off-highway vehicle policy.
See www.fs.usda.gov/superior for maps and details.
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Experimental and Special Regulations

These regulations differ from statewide or border water regulations for those species
identified and take precedence. Unless otherwise specifically mentioned, all

general regulations, seasons, limits, border water regulations, possession, and
transportation regulations apply to these waters. Please check regulation booklets
from other states and other sections of this booklet.

Regulations are posted at access sites. Your compliance is needed to ensure that these
regulations are successful. The regulations help improve fishing quality, protect unique
fisheries, provide additional fishing opportunities, or protect threatened species. The
DNR regularly evaluates regulations to determine their success.

Individual Waters

LAKES (Make sure to also check pages 31-33, 35-36, 49-53, 55-65)
Different limits apply for Conservation License see page 34.

A

ADA LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately
released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

AGNES LAKE (Douglas County) bass: All from 12-20" must be immediately
released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

AITKIN LAKE including area known as Aitkin Flowage (Aitkin County): see Big
Sandy Lake (page 39).

ALEXANDER LAKE (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

ALICE LAKE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 22-36" must be immediately
released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession limit nine.

ANN LAKE (Carver County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. northern
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in
possession.

ANNIE BATTLE LAKE including INLET to Molly Stark Lake and OUTLET to Blanche
Lake (Otter Tail County) Use of gas and electric motors, underwater cameras,
augers, and other electronic fish-finding devices is prohibited. sunfish:
Possession limit five. northern pike, largemouth and smallmouth bass:
Catch-and-release only. black crappie: Possession limit five.

ASH LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately
released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

B

BALM LAKE (Beltrami County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All from
12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

BALSAM LAKE (ltasca County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

BASS LAKE near Cohasset (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit five.

BASS LAKE near Burtrum (Todd County) north of Long Lake. walleye: Possession
limit two. largemouth bass: Possession limit one. northern pike: Minimum
size limit 40". Possession limit one.

BASSWOOD LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Protected slot
applies to all Minnesota waters of Basswood Lake.

BATTLE LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: possession limit 10. walleye: All from
17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.
BATTLE LAKE, WEST (Otter Tail County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

38 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)
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BEAR CREEK RESERVOIR [Chester Woods] (Olmsted County) See Rochester—
Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 46.

BELTRAMI LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

BIG BASS LAKE (Beltrami County) bass: Catch-and-release only.

BIG BIRCH (Todd and Stearns counties) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

BIG LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately
released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

BIG CARNELIAN LAKE (Washington County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

BIG FISH LAKE (Stearns County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

BIG MANTRAP (Hubbard County) crappie: Minimum size limit 10". Possession
limit five. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. Only
one over 36" allowed in possession.

BIG SAND LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: All from 20-28" must be immediately
released. One over 28" allowed in possession.

BIG SANDY LAKE and connected waters (Aitkin County): Aitkin Lake including
area known as Aitkin Flowage, Davis Lake including bay known as Steamboat
Lake, Flowage Lake, Sandy River Lake, Prairie River from confluence with
Tamarack River downstream to confluence with Big Sandy Lake, Sandy River
from State Highway 210 downstream to confluence with the Mississippi River,
and West Savanna River from County Highway 14 downstream to confluence
with the Prairie River. Sunfish: Possession limit five. Walleye: All less than 14"
or greater than 18" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in
possession.

BIG SWAN LAKE (Todd County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession limit six.

BIRCH LAKE RESERVOIR (includes the South Kawishiwi River upstream to the first
rapids north of Minnesota Highway 1 bridge). northern pike: All from 24-36"
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

BLACKDUCK LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish: possession limit five.

BLACKWATER LAKE (Cass County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12"
and larger must be immediately released.

BLACK BASS LAKE (Mille Lacs County) Use of gas or electric augers, underwater
cameras, and other electronic fish-finding devices is prohibited. largemouth
and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only. northern pike: Catch-and-
release only. sunfish: Possession limit five.

BLUEBERRY LAKE (Wadena County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

BOWSTRING LAKE including BOWSTRING RIVER downstream to County Road 35
bridge (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 22-36" must be immediately
released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession limit nine.

C

CARNELIAN LAKE (Stearns County) sunfish: Possession limit five.

CASCADE LAKE (CASCADE PONDS) (OImsted County) see Rochester-Olmsted
County Area Lakes on page 46.

CEDAR LAKE (Morrison County) walleye: Possession limit two. black crappie:
Possession limit five. northern pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit
one.

CENTER LAKE, NORTH and SOUTH (Chisago County) northern pike: All from
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.
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CHARLEY LAKE (Ramsey County) Closed to fishing.

CHILD LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately
released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

CHISAGO LAKE (Chisago County) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be
immediately released.

CHRISTINA LAKE (Douglas County) Closed to fishing.

CLEAR LAKE (Waseca County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-
release only.

CLEAR LAKE (Washington County) walleye: Minimum size limit 17". Possession
limit three.

CLITHERALL LAKE (Otter Tail County) smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only.

COON LAKE (Anoka County) walleye: Minimum size limit 17"

COON-SANDWICK LAKE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

COTTONWOOD LAKE (Grant County) sunfish: Possession limit five. walleye:
possession limit three.

CRANE LAKE including VERMILION GORGE and ECHO RIVER from mouth
upstream to County Highway 424 bridge (St. Louis County) walleye: All from
17-28" must be immediately released. One over 28" allowed in possession.
sauger/walleye: Possession limit six combined, only four may be walleye.

CRAWFORD LAKE (Wright County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only.
sunfish: Possession limit five. crappie: Possession limit five. walleye:
Possession limit two. yellow perch: Possession limit 10.

CROOKED LAKE (Anoka County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only.

CROOKED LAKE (Stearns County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All from
12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

CROW WING LAKES, 5th and 6th (Hubbard County) northern pike: All from
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

CROW WING LAKES, 8th, 9th, and 10th (Hubbard County) northern pike:
Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit one.

D

DAVIS LAKE (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 39).

DEEP LAKE (Ramsey County) Closed to fishing.

DEER LAKE (Beltrami County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-
release only. northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

DEER LAKE near Effie (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. walleye: All
from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

DEMONTREVILLE LAKE (Washington County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-
release only.

DIXON LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit five.

DYERS LAKE (Cook County) crappie: Possession limit five. sunfish: Possession
limit five.

E

ELEPHANT LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 40".
Possession limit one.

ELK LAKE (Clearwater County) muskellunge: catch-and-release only. northern
pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit one.

EUNICE LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession limit five. black crappie:
Minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five. largemouth and smalimouth
bass: All from 12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in
possession. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One
over 36" allowed in possession.
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F

FARM LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately
released. One over 36" allowed in possession. walleye: (includes the NORTH
BRANCH KAWISHIWI RIVER from Farm Lake 4.8 miles east to the long
portage) All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in
possession.

FARM ISLAND LAKE (Aitkin County) walleye: All from 16-19" must be immediately
released.

FISH LAKE RESERVOIR (St. Louis County) walleye: All less than 13" or larger than
17" must be immediately released, except one over 26" allowed in possession.
Possession limit three.

FISH TRAP LAKE (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

FLADMARK LAKE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. northern
pike, largemouth and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only. crappie:
Possession limit five.

FLOUR LAKE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

FLOWAGE LAKE (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 39).

FOSTER AREND LAKE (Olmsted County) trout: Continuous season. Possession
limit three. One over 16" allowed in possession. Sunfish, black and white
crappie, yellow perch, largemouth and smallmouth bass, see Rochester—
Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 46.

FOX LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately
released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

FRANKLIN LAKE (Otter Tail County) crappie: Minimum size limit 10". Possession
limit five.

G

GAMEHAVEN (BOY SCOUT LAKE WILLOW RESERVOIR NO. 4) (Olmsted County)
See Rochester—0Ilmsted County Area Lakes on page 46.

GARDEN LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24"-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. walleye: All from
17"-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" is allowed in possession.

GEORGE LAKE (Hubbard County) northern pike: All from 24"-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

GILBERT LAKE (Crow Wing County) crappie: Possession limit five. sunfish:
Possession limit five.

GIRL LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24"-36" must be immediately
released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

GOODRICH LAKE (Crow Wing County) crappie: Possession limit five. sunfish:
Possession limit five.

GOOSE LAKE (Chisago County) crappie: Possession limit five. walleye: Minimum
size limit 17"

GRAVE LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit five.

GREEN LAKE (Chisago County) walleye: Minimum size limit 17".

GULL LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish: Possession limit five.

GULL LAKE (Cook County) walleye: Possession limit is six. One over 19%2" allowed
in possession.

H

HENRY LAKE (Douglas County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All from 12"-
20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

HORSESHOE LAKE (Cass County) near Backus. crappie: Possession limit five.
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largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately
released. northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". Possession limit one. sunfish:
Possession limit five. walleye: Possession limit three.

HOVDE LAKE (Cass County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only.

HUBERT LAKE (Crow Wing County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12"
and larger must be immediately released.

HUNGRY JACK LAKE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All from 12-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

|

INGUADONA LAKE AND CONNECTED RICE LAKE (Cass County) sunfish:
Possession limit 10. crappie: Possession limit five.

ISLAND LAKE near Northome (ltasca County) northern pike: All from 24-36"
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.
walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed
in possession.

ITASCA LAKE (Clearwater County) crappie: Possession limit five. sunfish:
Possession limit 10.

J
JANE LAKE (Washington County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only.
JEWETT LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All from
12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed
in possession.

K

KABEKONA LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: All from 18-26" must be
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. Possession limit
four.

KABETOGAMA LAKE including SULLIVAN BAY and ASH RIVER to Ash River Falls
(St. Louis County) walleye: All from 17-28" must be immediately released. One
over 28 allowed in possession. sauger/walleye: Possession limit six combined,
only four may be walleye.

KALMAR RESERVOIR (Olmsted County) See Rochester—Olmsted County Area
Lakes on page 46.

KNIFE LAKE (Kanabec County) walleye: All from 18-24" must be immediately
released. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One
over 36" allowed in possession.

KRAUT LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies
with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter
fishing.

L

LA SALLE LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: Possession limit two. largemouth
and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only. crappie: Possession limit five.
sunfish: Possession limit five. yellow perch: Possession limit 10.

LAC QUI PARLE LAKE upstream to Marsh Lake Dam, including the Watson Sag
upstream to the diversion dam (Lac Qui Parle and Chippewa counties). walleye:
Possession limit four. One 20" or larger allowed in possession.

LAKE OF THE WOODS including the Rainy River from the mouth upstream to the
dam in International Falls, northern pike: All from 30-40" must be immediately
released. One over 40" allowed in possession. Possession limit three. walleye
and sauger: See page 56.

LEECH LAKE (Cass County) walleye: All from 20-26" must be immediately
released. One over 26" allowed in possession. Possession limit four.

(See page 32 for whitefish.)
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LESTER LAKE (Hubbard County) all species: Catch-and-release only.

LIDA LAKE SOUTH and NORTH including connecting Mud Lake (Otter Tail
County) crappie: Minimum size limit is 11". walleye: All from 17-26" must be
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

LIND LAKE (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit five.

LITTLE BOY LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession

LITTLE CASCADE LAKE (Cook County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

LITTLE CORMORANT LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession limit five. black
crappie: Minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five. walleye: Minimum size
limit 17",

LITTLE FLOYD LAKE (Becker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

LITTLE MANTRAP LAKE (Hubbard County) largemouth bass: All from 12-20"
must be immediately released. One over 20” allowed in possession.

LITTLE MCDONALD LAKE including KERBS LAKE (Otter Tail County) walleye:
All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in
possession.

LITTLE SAUK LAKE (Todd County) walleye: Possession limit two. largemouth
bass: Possession limit one. sunfish: Possession limit five. crappie: Possession
limit five. yellow perch: Possession limit 10.

LITTLE SPLITHAND LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit five.

LITTLE TOAD LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. northern
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in
possession.

LITTLE VERMILION LAKE including LOON RIVER to Loon River Falls portage
(St. Louis County). walleye: All from 17-28" must be immediately released.
One over 28" allowed in possession. sauger/walleye: Possession limit six
combined, only four may be walleye.

LITTLE WOMAN LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

LONG LAKE near Glen (Aitkin County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

LONG LAKE near Hawick (Kandiyohi County) largemouth bass: All from 14-20"
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

LONG LAKE (Stearns County near Clearwater) largemouth and smallmouth
bass: All from 12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in
possession.

LONG LAKE near Burtrum (Todd County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

LOON LAKE (Cook County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". Possession
limit one.

M

MANDALL LAKE (Chisago County) crappie: Possession limit five.
walleye: Minimum size limit 17",

MANOR WOODS POND (COUNTRY CLUB POND) (Olmsted County) See Rochester—
Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 46.

MAPLE LAKE (Douglas County) crappie: Minimum size limit 10". Possession
limit five.

MARY LAKE (Hubbard County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-
release only. crappie: Possession limit five. sunfish: Possession limit five.

MAUD LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession limit five. black crappie:

43



2014 Minnesota Fishing Regulations

Minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five. largemouth and smallmouth
bass: All from 12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in
possession. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One
over 36" allowed in possession.

MEDICINE LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

MELISSA LAKE (Becker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

MIDDLE LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth bass: All from 12-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

MILLE LACS (See page 37.)

MINK-SOMERS LAKE near Maple Lake (Wright County) sunfish: Possession limit
five. crappie: Possession limit five. walleye: Minimum size limit 17", Possession
limit three. largemouth bass: All from 12-20" must be immediately released.
One over 20" allowed in possession. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession or use of
live minnows is prohibited.

MINNEWASHTA LAKE (Carver County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only.

MINNIE BELLE LAKE (Meeker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

MISSION LAKE, LOWER and UPPER (Crow Wing County) northern pike: All from
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

MITCHELL LAKE (Crow Wing County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 40".
Possession limit one.

MOCCASIN LAKE (Cass County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only.

MOODY LAKE (Crow Wing County) Closed to fishing.

MOOSE LAKE near Deer River (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

MOOSE LAKE (Todd County) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be
immediately released.

MOVIL LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

@ MUKOODA LAKE (St. Louis County) lake trout: Catch and release only.

MULE LAKE (Cass County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger
must be immediately released. walleye: Possession limit three.

N

NAMAKAN LAKE (St. Louis County) walleye: All from 17-28" must be immediately
released. One over 28" allowed in possession. sauger/walleye: Possession
limit six combined, only four may be walleye.

NORTH SHADY LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial lures
and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed
to winter fishing.

NORTH STAR LAKE including LITTLE NORTH STAR LAKE (Itasca County)
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36"
allowed in possession.

NORTH TURTLE LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass:

All from 12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in
possession. crappie: Minimum size limit 10".

NORTH TWIN LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

NORWAY LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All from
14-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
crappie: Minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five. sunfish: Possession
limit five.
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0

OLSON LAKE (Washington County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only.

O0SAKIS and LITTLE OSAKIS LAKES (Douglas and Todd counties) walleye:
Minimum size limit 15",

OTTER TAIL LAKE (Otter Tail County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 30".
Possession limit one.

0X YOKE LAKE (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit 10.

0ZAWINDIB LAKE (Clearwater County) largemouth and smallmouth bass:
All from 12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in
possession. crappie: Minimum size limit 10".

P

PEANUT LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and
flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to
winter fishing.

PEARL LAKE (Stearns County) walleye: Minimum size limit 17".Possession limit
three. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over
36" allowed in possession.

PELICAN LAKE (St. Louis County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All from
14-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36"
allowed in possession.

PICKEREL LAKE (ltasca County) sunfish: possession limit 10. walleye: All from
17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.
PICKEREL LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All from
12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
PIERZ LAKE (Fish) (Morrison County) largemouth bass: All from 12-20" must be

immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

PIMUSHE LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish: Possession limit five.

PINE LAKE, BIG and LITTLE (Otter Tail County) walleye: All from 18-26" must be
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

PLEASANT LAKE (Ramsey County) Closed to fishing.

PLEASANT LAKE (Stearns County) sunfish: Possession limit five.

PORTAGE LAKE North of Ten Mile Lake (Cass County) largemouth and
smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only.

PRAIRIE LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 30".
Possession limit one.

Q
QUARRY HILL NATURE CENTER POND (OImsted County) See Rochester—OImsted
County Area Lakes on page 46.

R

RABBIT LAKES, BIG and EAST BIG (Crow Wing County) northern pike: All from
24 to 36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

RABOUR LAKE (Chisago County) crappie: Possession limit five. walleye: Minimum
size limit 17",

RACHEL LAKE and LITTLE RACHEL LAKE (Douglas County) northern pike:

All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in
possession.

RAINY LAKE including the Rainy River above the dam at International Falls, all of
Rainy Lake to the dam at Kettle Falls, Black Bay including Gold Portage below
the rapids, all of the Rat Root River, and Rat Root Lake (Koochiching and St.
Louis counties) walleye and sauger: Possession limit eight (not more than four
can be walleye). All walleye from 17-28" must be immediately released. One
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walleye over 28" allowed in possession.

RED LAKE (See page 37)

RED WING POTTERY POND (Goodhue County) trout: Continuous season.
Possession limit three. One over 16" allowed in possession.

RICE LAKE AND CONNECTED INGUADONA (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit
10. crappie: Possession limit five.

ROCHESTER-OLMSTED COUNTY AREA LAKES (OLMSTED COUNTY) INCLUDES:
BEAR CREEK RESERVOIR (Chester Woods), CASCADE LAKE (CASCADE
PONDS), FOSTER AREND LAKE, GAMEHAVEN LAKE (Boy Scout Lake or
Willow Reservoir No. 4), KALMAR RESERVOIR, QUARRY HILL NATURE
CENTER POND, MANOR WOODS POND (Country Club Pond), SILVER LAKE,
SILVER CREEK RESERVOIR, WILLOW CREEK RESERVOIR. The daily and
possession limits for the following species apply to the waters listed above as
a whole, that is, only one daily and possession limit may be taken from the
group of waters that comprise the Rochester—Olmsted County Area Lakes.
Sunfish, crappie, yellow perch: combined possession limit 10, and only five
may be crappie. Largemouth or smallmouth bass: possession limit of one.
Northern pike: daily and possession limit one applies collectively to a subset of
the Rochester-Olmsted County lakes: Cascade Lake, Game Haven Lake, Manor
wood, Silver Lake, Silver Creek Reservoir

ROGERS LAKE (Crow Wing County) crappie: Possession limit five. sunfish:
Possession limit five.

ROUND LAKE (Crow Wing County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 30"
Possession limit one.

ROUND LAKE near Squaw Lake including the POPPLE RIVER downstream to
State Highway Bridge 46 (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. northern pike: All
from 22-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.
Possession limit nine.

RUSH LAKE, EAST and WEST (Chisago County) northern pike: All from 24-36"
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

S

SAGANAGA LAKE (Cook County) walleye: Possession limit six. One over 19%2"
allowed in possession.

SALLIE LAKE (Becker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately
released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

SANBORN LAKE (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit 10.

SAND LAKE including connecting BIRDS EYE LAKE, LITTLE SAND LAKE,
PORTAGE LAKE, and BOWSTRING RIVER upstream to County Road 35 bridge
and downstream to mouth of Rice Lake (Itasca County) northern pike: All from
22-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.
Possession limit nine.

SAND LAKE (Lake County) sunfish: Possession limit five.

SAND POINT LAKE (St. Louis County) walleye: All from 17-28" must be
immediately released. One over 28" allowed in possession. sauger/walleye:
Possession limit six combined, only four may be walleye.

SANDY RIVER LAKE (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 39).

SEWELL LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All from
12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

SHAMINEAU LAKE (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

SILVER CREEK RESERVOIR (OImsted County) See Rochester—OImsted County Area
Lakes on page 46.
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SILVER LAKE (Olmsted County) See Rochester—Olmsted County Area Lakes on
page 46.

SISSABAGAMAH LAKE (Aitkin County) northern pike: All from 20-30" must be
immediately released. One over 30" allowed in possession.

SOUTH FARM LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. walleye: All from
17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

SOUTH LINDSTROM LAKE (Chisago County) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger
must be immediately released.

SOUTH TWIN LAKE (Beltrami County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: Catch-
and-release only.

SPIDER LAKE (Hubbard County) crappie: Minimum size limit 10".

SPIDER LAKE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

SPLITHAND LAKE (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately
released. One over 26" allowed in possession. black crappie: Possession limit
five. sunfish: possession limit five.

SQUASH LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and
flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to
winter fishing.

ST. OLAF LAKE (Waseca County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 30".
Possession limit one.

STAR LAKE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit 10.

STEIGER LAKE (Carver County) northern pike and largemouth bass: Catch-and-
release only.

STUART LAKE (Otter Tail County) black crappie: Minimum size limit 10".

STURGEON LAKE (Pine County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession

SUGAR LAKE (Wright County) crappie: Possession limit five. northern pike:

All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in
possession.

SWAN LAKE (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately
released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

SYLVAN LAKE (Cass County) near Pillager. crappie: Possession limit five. sunfish:
Possession limit five.

SYLVIA LAKE, EAST and WEST (Wright County) northern pike: All from 24-36"
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

-

TEN MILE LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

TEN MILE LAKE, NORTH and SOUTH (Otter Tail County) largemouth and
smallmouth bass: All from 14-20" must be immediately released. One over
20" allowed in possession.

THIRTEEN LAKE (Cass County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All from w
14-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

THOMPSON LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and
flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to
winter fishing.

THREE ISLAND LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

THRUSH LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and
flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to
winter fishing.
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TOMATO LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and
flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to
winter fishing.

TROUT LAKE Near Coleraine (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.

TURNIP LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and
flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to
winter fishing.

TURTLE LAKE (Itasca County) smallmouth bass: All from 12-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

TURTLE LAKE (Ramsey County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only.

TURTLE, BIG and LITTLE LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36"
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

TURTLE RIVER LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

TWENTYONE LAKE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. northern
pike, largemouth and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only. crappie:
Possession limit five.

TWO ISLAND LAKE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All from 12-20" must be
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

v

VENSTROM LAKE (Otter Tail County) crappie: Minimum size limit 11". walleye:
All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in
possession.

VERMILION LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. walleye: All from
18-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession.
Possession limit four.

W

WABEDO LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

WACONIA LAKE (Carver County) walleye: Minimum size 16".

WHITE IRON LAKE (St. Louis and Lake counties) northern pike: All from 24-36"
must be immediately released. Only one over 36" allowed in possession.
walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. Only one over 26"
allowed in possession.

WILKINSON LAKE (Anoka and Ramsey counties) Closed to fishing.

WILLOW CREEK RESERVOIR (Olmsted County) See Rochester-Olmsted County
Area Lakes on page 46.

WINNIBIGOSHISH LAKE and connected waters (Beltrami, Cass, Itasca counties):
Mississippi River to Knutson Dam, Third River Flowage to Little Dixon Lake,
Pigeon River to Pigeon Lake Dam, First River, Egg Lake through Cut Foot
Sioux Lake, Raven Flowage to Raven Lake, and Sugar Lake. walleye:

All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in
possession.

WOMAN LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately
released. One over 36" allowed in possession.
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STREAMS AND RIVERS
(Make sure to check pages 31-33, 35-36, 49-53, 55-65.)
Different limits apply for Conservation License see page 34.

New rules for Trout Streams may take effect in 2014
Check DNR website for updates

A

ASH RIVER: See Kabetogama Lake page 42.

B

BEAVER CREEK (Wabasha and Winona counties) winter: Catch-and-release for trout
Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire stream, a 6.3-mile posted section from the mouth
to the source. All hooks must be barbless.

BEAVER CREEK, EAST (Houston County) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately
released on the entire stream (Beaver Creek Valley State Park). winter: Catch-
and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire stream (Beaver Creek Valley
State Park). All hooks must be barbless during winter season.

BEAVER CREEK, WEST (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan.
1-March 31, on a 1.9-mile posted section from the point where West Beaver Creek
joins East Beaver Creek in Beaver Creek Valley State Park upstream to the posted
boundary. All hooks must be barbless.

BEE CREEK (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31,
on a 1.6-mile posted section from the Minnesota State Line in Bee, upstream to
the posted boundary at a driveway crossing. All hooks must be barbless.

BELLE CREEK (Goodhue County) trout: Catch-and-release on a 7.3 mile posted
section from the confluence with the Cannon River upstream to Hwy 19.

BOWSTRING RIVER: See Bowstring Lake (page 39) and Sand Lake (page 46).

C

CAMP CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: catch-and-release on a 2.7-mile posted
section from 0.8 miles above the confluence with the Root River, South Branch
upstream 2.7 miles. Artificial lures and flies only. Note: On the third Saturday in
May statewide regulations apply to the posted section of the stream. winter:
catch-and-release for trout from Jan. 1-March 31, on posted section from
mouth upstream 3.5 miles. All hooks must be barbless during the winter
season.

CANFIELD CREEK (South Branch Creek) (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16"
must be immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies
only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire section
(Forestville State Park). All hooks must be barbless.

COOLRIDGE CREEK (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan.
1-March 31 on a 0.13-mile posted section from Pine Creek to the posted
boundary. All hooks must be barbless.

CROOKED CREEK (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan.
1-March 31 on a 6.4-mile posted section from the first township bridge 1
mile upstream of Freeburg to the posted boundary near the source, 1.5 miles
upstream of the uppermost Hwy. 249 bridge crossing. All hooks must be
barbless

CROOKED CREEK, SOUTH FORK (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1.5-mile posted section from the junction with
Crooked Creek to the posted boundary downstream of the reservoir. All hooks
must be barbless.
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D

DALEY CREEK (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March
31 on a 2.5-mile posted section from the Hwy. 16 crossing upstream to the
posted boundary at the fourth stream crossing. All hooks must be barbless.

DEVIL TRACK RIVER (Cook County) fish sanctuary: Mile 1.1 to Mile 1.6 open to
fishing from June 1-August 31.

DIAMOND CREEK (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan.
1-March 31 on a 5.25-mile posted section from third stream crossing upstream
of the Hwy. 16 bridge to the source of both branches. All hooks must be
barbless.

DUSCHEE CREEK (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan.
1-March 31 on the posted section from mouth upstream 5.5-miles. All hooks
must be barbless

E

EAGLE CREEK (Scott County) trout: Catch-and-release only.
ECHO RIVER (St. Louis County) see Crane Lake (page 40).

F

FERGUSON CREEK (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March
31 on a 1.25-mile posted section beginning where Ferguson Creek enters Rush
Creek and continuing upstream to the posted boundary at the spring source. All
hooks must be barbless.

FIRST RIVER: See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 48).

FORESTVILLE CREEK [North Branch Creek] (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16"
must be immediately released on the entire stream. winter: Catch-and-release
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire stream. All hooks must be barbless during
winter season.

FRENCH RIVER: (St. Louis County) Fish sanctuary: Lake Superior to State Hwy. 61 is
closed to fishing.

G

GARVIN BROOK (Winona County) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately released
from the Hwy. 14 crossing to the source. Artificial lures and flies only. winter:
Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1-mile posted section from
Farmers Park to the end of State Forest land. All hooks must be barbless.

GAUTHIER CREEK (Cook County) fish sanctuary: Entire stream open to fishing from
June 1-August 31 only.

GRIBBEN CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately released
on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for
trout Jan. 1- March 31 on a 3.8-mile posted section from the Hwy. 16 bridge to the
source. All hooks must be barbless during winter season.

H

HAY CREEK (Goodhue County) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately released on
a 4-mile posted section from 325th Street downstream. Artificial lures and flies only.
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 7.6-mile posted section,
from 325th Street bridge to the boundary of State Forest land in Section 12. All
hooks must be barbless.

HEMMINGWAY CREEK (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan.
1-March 31 on a 0.8-mile posted section from Pine Creek to the posted boundary
where the State Forest land ends. All hooks must be barbless.

K

KADUNCE RIVER (Cook County) fish sanctuary: Mile 0.2 (lower falls) to mile 0.4 open
to fishing from June 1-August 31.

KEDRON CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and-release on the entire stream.
Artificial lures and flies only.
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KNIFE RIVER (St. Louis and Lake counties) fish sanctuary: Between the signs from
the top of the second falls 100 feet downstream, and from State Highway 61 bridge
downstream to the sign below the fish trap is permanently closed to fishing.

L

LAWNDALE CREEK (Wilkin County) brook trout: Catch and release only for brook
trout on a 3.5-mile posted section within Atherton Wildlife Management Area.
Artificial lures and flies only. All hooks must be barbless.

LESTER RIVER (St. Louis County): Inmediately downstream from the Superior Street
bridge to the bottom of the first falls is closed to fishing.

LOGAN CREEK (Olmsted County) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately released
on the entire stream from the confluence with the Whitewater River, North Branch,
upstream to the source. Artificial lures and flies only.

LOON RIVER See Little Vermilion Lake (page 43).

M

MAHOODS CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately
released on the entire stream.

MISSISSIPPI RIVER VALLEY (Ramsey, Washington, Hennepin, and Dakota counties)
walleye, sauger, smallmouth bass, and largemouth bass: Catch-and-
release with a continuous season in the following stretches: a) Minnesota River
downstream from the Mendota Bridge; b) Minnehaha Creek downstream from
Minnehaha Falls; and c) Pool 2 of the Mississippi River between the Hastings Dam
and the Ford Dam, including all backwater lakes and connecting waters except
Crosby, Pickerel, Upper, Little Pigs Eye, and North Star Steel lakes.

MISSISSIPPI RIVER from Blandin Dam downstream to Coon Rapids Dam (ltasca,
Aitkin, Crow Wing, Morrison, Benton, Sherburne, Wright, Anoka, and Hennepin
counties) muskellunge: Catch-and-release only.

MISSISSIPPI RIVER (Sherburne, Stearns and Wright counties) smallmouth bass:

All from 12-20" must be immediately released from the confluence of the Crow
River upstream to the St. Cloud Dam, including tributaries to the posted boundries.
Possession limit is three, with one over 20",

MISSISSIPPI RIVER POOLS 5, 5A, AND 8 (Wabasha, Houston, and Winona counties)
MN waters only sunfish: Possession limit 10.

MISSISSIPPI RIVER See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 48).

MONEY CREEK, WEST BRANCH (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout
Jan. 1-March 31 on a 3.14-mile posted section upstream from the County Road 19
stream crossing to the source. All hooks must be barbless.

0

OTTER TAIL RIVER (Otter Tail, Becker, and Wilkin counties) smallmouth bass: Catch-
and-release from Wilkin County Road 19 crossing upstream to the Friberg Dam
including all impoundments, and from Otter Tail County Highway 51 upstream to
the Hubbel Pond Dam including Mud, Rice, and Town lakes.

P

PIGEON RIVER See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 48).

PINE CREEK (Winona County) trout: Winter catch-and-release season Jan. 1-March
31, on a 5.6-mile posted section from Rush Creek to the posted boundary where
State Forest land ends. All hooks must be barbless.

PRAIRIE RIVER (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 39).

PRAIRIE RIVER from Prairie Lake Dam downstream to Mississippi River (Itasca
County) muskellunge: Catch-and-release only.
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R

RAINY RIVER northern pike: See Lake of the Woods (page 42). walleye and sauger:
See Rainy Lake (page 45) and border water (page 56).

RAT ROOT RIVER See Rainy Lake (page 45).

RAVEN FLOWAGE See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 48).

RED LAKE TRIBUTARIES: See Red Lake (page 37).

ROOT RIVER, MIDDLE BRANCH (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and-release on the
entire stream.

ROOT RIVER, SOUTH BRANCH (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be
immediately released on a 4.8-mile posted section within Forestville State Park.
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 from the mouth to the dam in
Lanesboro, and from the historic bridge (Meighen’s Store) to the park boundary. All
hooks must be barbless during winter season.

ROOT RIVER, SOUTH FORK (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and-release on a 7.7-mile
section from County Road 12 upstream to the source. Artificial lures and flies only.
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 from Nepstad (Shattuck)
Creek to the upper boundary of the Hvoself W.M.A. All hooks must be barbless
during winter season.

RUSH CREEK (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March
31 on a 6.4-mile posted section from the southern-most County Road 25 bridge
crossing to the posted boundary. All hooks must be barbless.

S

SANDY RIVER (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 39).

SEA GULL RIVER (Cook County) walleye: Possession limit is six. One over 192"
allowed in possession.

SHOTLEY BROOK (from Hwy 72 West to Upper Red Lake): See Red Lake (page 37).

ST. CROIX RIVER (see pages 63-65).

ST. LOUIS RIVER (St. Louis County) fish sanctuary: No fishing allowed at any time
from the Fond du Lac Dam downstream to the Minnesota—Wisconsin boundary
cable. No fishing allowed from the boundary cable downstream to the Hwy. 23
bridge from March 4-May 18. muskellunge: Minimum size limit 50" on only the
Minnesota—Wisconsin border waters. sturgeon: closed

STONEY BROOK (Cass County) brook trout: All must be immediately released on the
posted section beginning at the mouth at Upper Gull Lake upstream to the road
crossing at County Road 29 (Minor’s Corner).

SPRING VALLEY CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately
released on a 6.8-mile posted section from Deer Creek upstream to Fillmore
Township Road 359.

SWEDES BOTTOM CREEK (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout
Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1-mile posted section from the township road bridge to the
source. All hooks must be barbless.

T

TAMARACK RIVER (from the Beltrami County line west to Upper Red lake). See Red
Lake (page 37).

THIRD RIVER FLOWAGE: See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 48).

TORKELSON CREEK (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan.
1-March 31 on the 2.1-mile posted section from the North Branch Root River to the
source. All hooks must be barbless.

TROUT RUN CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately
released on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only.

TROUT RUN CREEK (Winona County—Whitewater State Park) winter: Catch-and-
release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1-mile posted section from the mouth to the
end of State Park property. All hooks must be barbless.
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Experimental/Special Regulations—Streams and Rivers

TROUT VALLEY CREEK (Winona County) brook trout: Minimum size limit 12"
Possession limit one. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for
trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1.25-mile posted section from the uppermost Winona
County Road 31 bridge crossing downstream to the next Winona County Road 31
bridge. All hooks must be barbless.

v

VERMILLION GORGE See Crane Lake (page 40).

VERMILLION RIVER including all tributaries to their source (Dakota County) trout: All
must be immediately released within a 19.5-mile reach from the Highview Avenue
bridge in Eureka Township to the posted boundary 1.1 miles downstream from the
U.S. Hwy. 52 bridge. Except statewide regulations will apply on the 2-mile reach of
the main stem from Denmark Avenue to the State Hwy. 3 bridge in Farmington.

i

WATSON SAG See Lac Qui Parle (page 42).

WEST INDIAN CREEK (Wabasha County) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately
released from the upstream Wabasha County Road 4 crossing to the source.

WEST SAVANNA RIVER (Aitkin County): see Big Sandy Lake (page 39).

WHITEWATER RIVER, MAIN BRANCH (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for
trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 11.9-mile posted section from the Wabasha County line
upstream to the Middle and North branches of the Whitewater River. All hooks must
be barbless.

WHITEWATER RIVER, MIDDLE BRANCH (Winona and Olmsted counties) trout: Catch-
and-release on a 9.2-mile posted section from the group camp in Whitewater
State Park upstream to the source. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-
and-release season for trout from Jan. 1 through March 31 on a 11.2-mile posted
section from the mouth upstream to Olmsted County Road 9. All hooks must be
barbless.

WHITEWATER RIVER, NORTH BRANCH (Wabasha, Olmsted and Winona counties)
trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately released on a 12.1 mile posted section
from Township Road 29 upstream to County Road 4. Artificial lures and flies only.
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 7.7-mile posted section
from the mouth upstream to Logan Creek. All hooks must be barbless during winter
season

WHITEWATER RIVER, SOUTH BRANCH (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 3.8-mile posted section from the mouth to 1 mile
upstream of County Road 112. All hooks must be barbless.

WISEL CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately released
on the entire stream. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the
4-mile posted section from County Road 18 downstream to the South Fork of the
Root River. All hooks must be barbless.

Z

ZUMBRO RIVER, NORTH FORK (Goodhue and Wabasha counties) trout: Catch-
and-release on an 11.9 mile posted section from the Zumbro River, Main Branch
upstream to Highway 10.

ZUMBRO RIVER (Wabasha County) smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release along a
12-mile posted section from Highway 63 at Zumbro Falls upstream to the Zumbro
Lake Dam.

For Your Information - Fish diseases

Diseases, such as VHS, largemouth bass virus, and heterosporis can harm game fish populations.
These diseases can be moved from one lake to another in the water. To prevent the spread or
introduction of diseases, you are required to drain water from livewells and bilges before transporting
boats and equipment. See DNR Web site for more information.
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BORDER WATERS

Licensing

Canada-Minnesota Border Waters: Anglers who have a Minnesota resident or
nonresident license may fish only the Minnesota portion of Canada’s border waters.

Other Borders: Minnesota shares border waters with each of its bordering
states: Wisconsin, lowa, South Dakota, and North Dakota. Residents of Minnesota
or a bordering state may fish throughout the waters bordering the two states
only if they possess a valid resident license from their resident state. Nonresident
anglers who have a nonresident license from either Minnesota or the bordering
state may also fish throughout the border waters between the two states. Anglers
may launch, fish waters from shore to shore, and may transport their catch by the
most direct route to the state in which they are licensed. This includes children
who are not required to have a license. Lake Superior is not covered under this
agreement and is not considered a border water. (See pages 34-36 for Lake
Superior regulations.)

When Minnesota’s fishing regulations differ from a bordering state’s regulations,
Minnesota residents and persons fishing under a Minnesota nonresident license
must comply with the Minnesota regulations. They may only exercise the other
state’s more liberal fishing privileges in the territorial waters of that state with
that state's license. Please check other state regulation booklets and the
Experimental and Special Regulations section of this booklet (pages 37-53)
for different regulations that might apply.

Unless otherwise noted, all general regulations relating to angling methods,
licensing, seasons, limits, possession and transportation of fish, apply to border
waters (see pages 24-30). While on or fishing these waters, all fish must be within
the specified length limits regardless of where caught.

The bowfishing regulations on page 67 are allowed only on Minnesota’s
portion of the border waters when they differ from those of the border state. If the
bowfishing regulations are the same, then they may be exercised from shore to
shore.

Lake Sturgeon Tags

Lake sturgeon tags and mail-in registration cards are required for anyone*
who wishes to harvest and possess a lake sturgeon.

The following requirements apply:
¢ An angler may take and possess only one lake sturgeon per calendar year.
e | ake sturgeon may not be possessed or transported without a tag.
Validate and attach the tag immediately upon reducing the fish
to possession.
Tag must be attached to the narrow portion of the body in front of the tail fin.
Tags must be attached so that they cannot be easily removed.
Tags are not transferable and no duplicate tags will be issued.
Registration cards must be completed and mailed within 48 hours after
harvesting a fish. Send to: Regional Fisheries, 2115 Birchmont Beach Rd NE,
Bemidiji, MN 56601.
Lake sturgeon must be transported intact (gills and internal organs may be
removed).
Members of a fishing party may not take sturgeon for other anglers' limits.
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Border Waters

Note: Catch-and-Release can be done where seasons are open with only a valid
fishing license.
* Including those otherwise exempt from angling license requirements.

Dates
All calendar dates refer to 2014 unless noted otherwise.

CANADA-MINNESOTA

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the Minnesota portions of the
following waters:

Cook County: Clove Lake, Devils Elbow Lake, North Fowl Lake, South Fow! Lake,
Gneiss (Round) Lake, Granite Lake, Granite River, Gunflint Lake, Little Gunflint
Lake, Lily Lake (Fan, Vaseux), Magnetic Lake, Maraboeuf Lake, Moose Lake,
Mountain Lake, North Lake, Little North Lake, Pigeon River, Pine River, Rat Lake,
Rose Lake, Rove Lake, Saganaga Lake, South Lake, and Watap Lake.
Koochiching and Lake of the Woods counties: Rainy River.

Koochiching and St. Louis counties: Rainy Lake (including Black Bay).

Lake County: Basswood Lake (except Jackfish, Pipestone, Hoist, and Back Bays,
which are considered inland waters), Basswood River, Birch Lake, Carp Lake,
Cypress Lake, Knife Lake (except South Arm), Little Knife Lake, Knife River, Melon
Lake, Seed Lake, Sucker Lake, and Swamp Lake.

Lake and St. Louis counties: Crooked Lake.

Lake of the Woods and Roseau counties: Lake of the Woods.

St. Louis County: Bottle Lake, Iron Lake, Lac La Croix, Loon Lake, Loon River to
Loon River Falls, Namakan Lake, Sand Point Lake, and Little Vermilion Lake.

Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted.
See page 34 for Conservation License limits.

CANADA-MINNESOTA Regulations

¢ One line per angler is allowed, except two lines may be used when ice fishing.

e Saganaga Narrows is closed to fishing April 1-May 23, 2014.

e Saganaga Falls (Granite River mouth) and the channel between Little Gunflint and
Little North lakes are closed to fishing April 1-May 31, 2014.

¢ Dark houses, fish houses, and shelters, see pages 68-69.

e While in Minnesota, anglers may not possess more than a Minnesota limit of fish
from Canada-Minnesota border waters. Fish from Canadian inland waters may
be possessed in Minnesota in excess of the Minnesota limit only if the angler has
proof—such as lodging receipts or verification through U.S. Customs—that the
fish were taken from inland Canadian waters.

e A person cannot possess or use a gaff while fishing on the Rainy River.

e Dressed sauger count as walleye (see page 28).

¢ Bowfishing (Minnesota’s portion of the waters only) see page 67.

Tax time is your time
to help wildlife

Look for the line with the loon on your Minnesota
tax form and donate to the Nongame Wildlife Checkoff. It's S
fast, easy, and tax deductible. Be part of a wildlife success story. ™--_
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BORDER WATERS— CANADA-MINNESOTA

SPECIES

WALLEYE
and SAUGER
(either or combined)

Exceptions:
Lake of the Woods

Four Mile Bay
(SE bay of Lake of
the Woods)

Namakan,
Sand Point, and
Little Vermilion

Rainy Lake

Rainy River

Saganaga Lake

OPEN SEASON

May 11, 2013-
April 14, 2014
May 10, 2014-
April 14, 2015
May 10, 2014-
Nov. 30, 2014

Dec. 1, 2013-
April 14, 2014
Dec. 1, 2014-
April 14, 2015

March 1, 2014-
April 14, 2014

May 10, 2014-
Nov. 30, 2014

Dec. 1, 2014-
Feb. 28, 2015

May 11, 2013-
April 14, 2014
May 10, 2014-
April 14, 2015

May 11, 2013-
April 14, 2014
May 10 2014-
April 14, 2015

March 1, 2014-
April 14, 2014

May 10, 2014-
Feb. 28, 2015

May 10, 2014-
April 14, 2015

POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

6 (No size restriction.)

6 (Not more than 4 can be
walleye; only 1 walleye over
28"; walleye 197" through 28"
must be immediately released.)

8 (Not more than 4 can be
walleye; only 1 walleye over
28"; walleye 19%" through 28"
must be immediately released.)

2 (Walleye19%2" and larger
must be immediately released.)

6 (Not more than 4 can be
walleye; only 1 walleye over
28"; walleye 197" through 28"
must be immediately released.)

8 (Not more than 4 can be
walleye; only 1 walleye over
28"; walleye 197" through 28"
must be immediately released.)

6 (Not more than 4 can be
walleye; walleye from 17"
through 28" must be
immediately released; only
1 walleye over 28".)

8 (Not more than 4 can be
walleye; walleye from 17" to 28"
must be immediately released;
only 1 walleye over 28".)

2 (Walleye 19%2" and larger
must be immediately released.)

6 (Only 1 walleye over 28".)
Not more than 4 can be
walleye; walleye 1972"-28"
must be immediately released.

6 (Only 1 walleye over 1972".)
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Border Waters

BORDER WATERS—CANADA-MINNESOTA

POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

SPECIES OPEN SEASON

NORTHERN PIKE Continuous

Exceptions: )

Lok afthe Woods and Continuous

the Rainy River to the dam

at International Falls

Basswood Lake May 10, 2014-

Including Jackfish Feb. 22, 2015

Pipestone, Hoist,

and Back bays.

MUSKELLUNGE June 21-Nov. 30

LARGEMOUTH and Continuous

SMALLMOUTH BASS

(either or combined)

LAKE STURGEON Oct. 1, 2013-
April 23, 2014

* Harvested lake April 24-May-7

sturgeon: immediately

upon reducing a fish to May 8-15

possession, you must
validate and attach your
sturgeon tag. Harvested
sturgeon must be
registered within 48
hours. See page 54-55
for more details.

CRAPPIE
LAKE TROUT

Winter

Lakes outside or partly outside
the Boundary Waters Canoe
Area Wilderness (BWCAW)
includes all of Clearwater, East
Bearskin, Magnetic, Saganaga,
Seagull, and Snowbank.

Lakes entirely within the BWCAW

STREAM TROUT
ALL OTHER SPECIES

Closed: May 16-June 30

July 1-Sep.30

Oct. 1, 2014-
April 23, 2015

Continuous

May 10, 2014-
Sept. 30, 2014

Jan 18, 2014
March 31, 2014
Jan. 17, 2015-
March 31, 2015

January 4, 2014-
March 31, 2014
January 3, 2015-
March 31, 2015

May 3-Sept. 30

Continuous

3 (Only 1 over 30").

3 (all from 30"- 40" must
be immediately release.
Only one 40" allowed in
possesion.)

3 (Only 1 over 36".) All
northern pike from 24"
through 36" must be
immediately released.

1 (Minimum size 40".)

6

Catch-and-release only.
No tag needed.

1* per calendar year, fish must
be 45-50" inclusive, or over 75".

Catch-and-release only.
No tag needed.

Closed

1* per calendar year, fish must
be 45-50" inclusive, or over 75".

Catch-and-release only.
No tag needed.
10

2

5 (Not more than 3 over 16".)

Inland limits apply
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IOWA-MINNESOTA

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters:
Jackson County: Little Spirit Lake.

Jackson and Nobles counties: lowa Lake.

Martin County: Okamanpeedan (Tuttle), lowa, and Swag lakes.

Daily and possession limits are the same.

See page 34 for Conservation License limits.

BORDER WATERS—/OWA-MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
WALLEYE May 3, 2014- 6
Feb. 15, 2015
NORTHERN PIKE May 3, 2014- 3
Feb. 15, 2015
LARGEMOUTH and May 3, 2014- 6
SMALLMOUTH BASS Feb. 15, 2015
(either or combined)
CATFISH May 3, 2014- 8
Feb. 15, 2015
SUNFISH* Continuous 30
(either or combined)
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)
CRAPPIE Continuous 15
PERCH Continuous 30
WHITE BASS Continuous 30
BULLHEAD Continuous No Limit
UNPROTECTED FISH Continuous No Limit

(carp, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, buffalo, burbot, bowfin, gar, and quillback)

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state where
taken.

IOWA-MINNESOTA Regulations

e Anglers may use up to two lines with two hooks per line.

e Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful.

e Spearing or archery may be used to take carp, buffalo, sheepshead, dogfish, gar,
or quillback from sunrise to sunset, May 1, 2014, through Feb. 15, 2015. The
bowfishing regulations on page 67 are allowed only on Minnesota’s portion of
the border waters when they differ from those of lowa. If the bowfishing
regulations are the same, then they may be exercised from shore to shore.

e Spearing game fish is unlawful.

e Dark house, fish house, and shelters, see pages 68-69.
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For Your Information

Total Length

To determine the legal length of a fish, lay it flat on its side, squeeze
the tail from tip to tip, and measure from the nose or jaw, whichever is
longer, to the farthest tip of the tail when fully extended.

Mouth
closed
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Sturgeon image by Maynard Reece
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BUY LOCAL OR
CERTIFIED WOOD.

X N

Help Prevent The Spread
Of Invasive Plants and
Animals.

IN YOUR TRACKS.
CleanGo.org
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NORTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA

Seasons and regulations apply to the Bois de Sioux River and the Red River of the
North. Daily and possession limits are the same.

See page 34 for Conservation License limits.

BORDER WATERS—NORTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON  POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
WALLEYE and Continuous 3

SAUGER (either or combined)

NORTHERN PIKE Continuous 3

SUNFISH Continuous 30

PERCH Continuous 50
CRAPPIE Continuous 30
LARGEMOUTH Continuous 3

and SMALLMOUTH BASS

MUSKELLUNGE Continuous 1 (Minimum size 40".)
ROCK BASS Continuous 20
BULLHEAD Continuous 100
CATFISH Continuous 5 (only 1 over 24"
STURGEON No open season

UNPROTECTED FISH Continuous No limit

(carp, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, buffalo,
burbot, bowfin, gar, white bass.)

All species not listed are covered by the inland regulations of the state where taken.

NORTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA Regulations

¢ Two lines are permitted, and two hooks are permitted on each line.

e Spearing from a fish house or a dark house is unlawful.

e |t is unlawful to possess a spear or bow and arrow on or adjacent to any water
body where the spearing and archery season is closed.

¢ Rough fish, except burbot (eelpout), may be taken between sunrise and sunset
by spearing or archery May 1 through December 31. The bowfishing regulations
on page 67 are allowed only on Minnesota’s portion of the border waters when
they differ from those of the border state. If the bowfishing regulations are the
same, then they may be exercised from shore to shore.

e [tis illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession.

¢ Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 68-69.

e Check North Dakota regulations regarding fishing from shore.
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Border Waters

SOUTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters:

Big Stone County: Big Stone Lake.

Lincoln County: Hendricks Lake.

Traverse County: Lake Traverse, Mud Lake, Bois de Sioux River to North Dakota
border, and Mustinka River from the mouth to the Minnesota State Highway 117
bridge.

Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted.

See page 34 for Conservation License limits.

BORDER WATERS—SOUTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
WALLEYE and SAUGER April 19, 2014- 4 (only 1 walleye 20" or larger)
(either or combined) March 1, 2015
NORTHERN PIKE April 19, 2014- 6

March 1, 2015
LARGEMOUTH and April 19, 2014- 6
SMALLMOUTH BASS March 1, 2015
(either or combined)
CRAPPIE Continuous 10
SUNFISH* Continuous 10
(either or combined)

*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)

ROCK BASS Continuous 20

BULLHEAD Continuous 100

PERCH Continuous 15 daily and 30 in possession
CATFISH Continuous 5 (only 1 over 24")
STURGEON No Open Season

UNPROTECTED FISH Continuous No Limit

(carp, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, buffalo, burbot, bowfin, gar, white bass.)

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state where taken.

SOUTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA Regulations

¢ Anglers may use two lines with up to three hooks per line.

Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful.

Unprotected fish, except white bass, may be taken by spearing from sunrise to sunset
from April 26 through November 30.

The bowfishing regulations on page 67 are allowed only on Minnesota’s portion of the
border waters when they differ from those of South Dakota. If the bowfishing regulations
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are the same, then they may be exercised from shore to shore.

It is unlawful to possess a spear, spring gaff, or bow and arrow on or adjacent to any
body of water where the spearing and archery season is closed.

Spearing from a fish house or dark house is unlawful.

Spearing game fish is unlawful.

It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession

Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 68-69.

FISHING ETHICS

As fishing pressure continues to grow, the DNR offers these suggestions to
make fishing safe and enjoyable for all anglers:

¢ Don't litter monofilament fishing line, styrofoam, plastic bags, six-pack
holders, and other plastics (can kill fish and wildlife that eat or get tangled
up in these products).

e Prepare your boat and trailer before you are on the ramp so that you can
launch quickly.

e Ask for permission before entering private land.

e Keep only the amount of fish you can use.

¢ Release some medium-sized fish so they can grow larger and be caught in
the future.

ROAD RIGHT-OF-WAY

Some road right-of-ways are not owned by a unit of government. In these
instances the landowner has granted an easement for vehicle and foot travel.
The landowner generally retains authority to restrict access for angling and
may prohibit trespass by posting the land or by verbally directing anglers to
leave the easement. It’s always best to ask permission if in doubt about the
ownership of a road ditch area. County or township offices also may be able to
help determine the ownership status of a road ditch.

Helpful examples of road right-of-way ownership and public use include:

¢ Interstate highways are normally owned by the government, but hunting

is not allowed.
o State highways are most often owned by the state, but there may be a
mix of easements and state ownership.

e County roads may be owned by the county, or there may be easements.
Roadways with easements tend to be gravel, while roads owned by
the county tend to be paved. Road surface is a visual indicator of the
ownership but is not an absolute condition.

¢ Township roads are generally easement and not owned by the township,

but some township roads are owned by the township. As is the case with
county roads, road surface can be a visual indicator of the ownership.

e The ownership or easement status can vary on any one stretch of road,

and can vary from road to road.

Visually, the road right-of-way is improved and maintained, and you will
normally notice a change in the property — including such things as ditches,
fence lines, etc. The actual distance from the center of the road that is
improved and maintained can vary under ownership or easement, and from
one location to another.



Border Waters

WISCONSIN-MINNESOTA

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters:
Mississippi River (downstream of the highway bridge in Prescott, Wisconsin

and all waters between the Burlington Northern [Wisconsin] and Canadian Pacific
[Minnesota] railroad tracks), Lake Pepin, St. Croix River, Lake St. Croix, St. Louis
River, St. Louis Bay, and Superior Bay.

Daily and possession limits are the same.

See page 34 for Conservation License limits.

BORDER WATERS—WISCONSIN-MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
WALLEYE and SAUGER (either or combined)

St. Louis River May 10, 2014- 2 (15" minimum size for walleye)
March 1, 2015

St. Croix River May 3, 2014- 6 (15" minimum size for walleye)
March 1, 2015

Mississippi River Continuous 6 (15" minimum size for walleye)
and Lake Pepin

LARGEMOUTH and SMALLMOUTH BASS (either or combined)

St. Louis River May 24, 2014- 5 (14" minimum size)
March 1, 2015

St. Croix River May 24, 2014- 5 (14" minimum size)

Upstream of Taylors Sept. 7, 2014

Falls Dam Sept. 8 2014- Catch-and-release only
March 1, 2015

Downstream of May 24, 2014- 5 (14" minimum size)

Taylors Falls Dam to March 1, 2015

U.S. Hwy. 10 Bridge

Mississippi River Continuous 5 (14" minimum size)

and Lake Pepin

NORTHERN PIKE

St. Louis River May 10, 2014- 2

March 1, 2015

St. Croix River May 3, 2014- 5
March 1, 2015

Mississippi River Continuous 5
and Lake Pepin
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BORDER WATERS—WISCONSIN-MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

MUSKELLUNGE May 24, 2014- 1 (40" minimum size)
March 1, 2015
St. Louis River 50" minimum size.

PERCH Continuous 25
CHANNEL and

FLATHEAD CATFISH

(either or combined) Continuous 10
BULLHEAD Continuous No Limit
ROUGH FISH Continuous No Limit
WHITE BASS Continuous 25

and YELLOW BASS

(either or combined)

CRAPPIE Continuous 25
ROCK BASS Continuous 25
SUNFISH Continuous 25*

(either or combined)
(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)
**Except for Mississippi River Pools 5, 5A and 8: possession limit 10. MN side only.

PADDLEFISH No Open Season

LAKE STURGEON

All waters except

those listed below Closed

St. Croix (Taylors Falls Sept. 6-Sept. 30 1 per calendar year
Dam Downstream to (minimum size 60")
mouth at Prescott, WI) Oct. 1-Oct. 15 Catch-and-release only
Sturgeon tag needed, see page 54-55 for details.

SHOVELNOSE Continuous 10 (No minimum size)
STURGEON

Downstream from Red Wing Dam only.
All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state where taken.

WISCONSIN-MINNESOTA Regulations

e Two lines with a single lure or bait on each are permitted. If fishing with one
line, you may use two baits.

e Fish hooked in any part of the body, except the mouth, must be returned to the
water immediately.

e Angler must be within 400 feet of their tip-ups.

¢ Rough fish may be taken by spearing and dip-netting during daylight hours from
May 3, 2014, through March 1, 2015. Dip net hoops cannot exceed 24 inches in
diameter.
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Border Waters

¢ The bowfishing regulations on page 67 are allowed only on Minnesota’s portion
of the border waters when they differ from those of Wisconsin. If the bowfishing
regulations are the same, then they may be exercised from shore to shore.

e Spearing game fish is prohibited. It is unlawful to have a spear on or adjacent to
any body of water where the spearing season is closed.

e ltis illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession

¢ No fishing allowed within 300 feet below Mississippi River Lock and Dam 3
(near Red Wing) and Lock and Dam 4 (Alma, WI) from March 1-April 30.

¢ No fishing from Taylors Falls (St. Croix Falls on the St. Croix River) dam to 50
feet downstream from the pier in center of river.

e Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 68-69.

For Your Information

Aquatic Plant Permit Requirements

Water plants such as bulrushes are essential for lake ecosystems.

They reduce wave erosion, provide fish and wildlife habitat, and purify
water. Because lake plants can interfere with swimming and boating by
lakeshore owners—but are also vital to lake health—the DNR allows
removal under the following conditions.

DNR permit not required DNR permit is required to:
For underwater plants only, you 1. Remove emergent plants
may cut or pull plants as long as: (such as bulrushes, cattails,
1. The area does not extend and wild rice).
along more than 50 feet of . Remove plants in an area
your shoreline or one-half larger than 2,500 square feet
the length of your frontage, or wider than 50 feet.
whichever is less; . Use herbicides or algicides in
. The total area is less than Minnesota lakes.
2,500 square feet (except for . Remove water lilies (other
boat channels); and than in a narrow channel
. The plants are immediately extending to open water).
and permanently disposed . Install or use an automated
of on high ground where they device such as the Crary
can’t re-enter the water. WeedRoller.

A person who illegally destroys plants can be cited and made to pay for
the restoration of those plants.

For more information, call your regional DNR office (page 85) or visit our
Web site at mndnr.gov.
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SPEARING, ARCHERY, AND DIP NETS

Rough fish are defined as carp, buffalo, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, bowfin,
burbot (eelpout), cisco (tullibee), gar, mooneye, and bullhead. The regulations
below apply to spearing rough fish in state waters unless noted otherwise in this
booklet.

¢ Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in designated
trout lakes or streams.

e Licensed anglers and children under 16 may take rough fish by spearing,
harpooning, archery, and hand-held dip nets on all inland waters, except where
taking fish is prohibited. All rough fish, except cisco (tullibee), may be bought
and sold.

¢ Hand-held dip nets shall not have hoops exceeding 24 inches in diameter. (For
more on smelt, see pages 29 and 36.)

¢ Harpoons (spears) must have a tethered line not more than 20 feet long, may
be discharged only when the equipment and the operator are entirely under
the surface of the water, and may not be used within 1,000 feet of a swimming
beach.

e |t is unlawful to possess on, or near waters, a net or any device that can take
fish. The exceptions are angling equipment and landing nets used for angling,
seines, and traps for taking minnows for bait, and as otherwise specifically
authorized.

e Speared or dead rough fish may not be returned to the water or left on the ice or
banks of any lake or stream.

e |t is unlawful to possess a fish trap, dip net, seine, spear or harpoon on or near
any waters during the closed season. See table below for open seasons.

SPEARING, HARPOONING, AND DIP NET SEASONS AND

POSSESSION LIMIT
Species Possession limit Seasons
FROM SUNRISE TO SUNSET
Spearing: April 26, 2014-
K> [Sucker 2 February 22, 2015
Bullhead 100 Spearing: April 26, 2014- Harpooning, dip net
February 15, 2015 and seine:
Redhorse 50 Spearing: April 26, 2014- LA S
February' 15, 20 15 February 15, 2015
Other rough  No limit Spearing: April 26, 2014-
fish species February 15, 2015

continued on next page
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Spearing, Archery, and Dip Nets

BOWFISHIING SEASONS AND POSSESSION LIMIT

Species Possession limit Seasons

Bullhead 100 @ )
2014 Early Season* - South of Highway 210 only
on lakes and on Minnesota, Mississippi, or St. Croix
Sucker 50 rivers, from boats only - Feb.24 - April 25

Redhorse 50 Regular Statewide - April 26, 2014 - Feb.22, 2015

2015 Early Season* - Feb.23 - April 24
Other rough  No limit
fish species

* During the early season, a person may bowfish only on waters south of Highway 210 and only from a
boat and only while on a lake or on the Mississippi, Minnesota, or St. Croix rivers.

¢ Bowfishing can be done from open water or through the ice in a fish house or
shelter, day or night with or without lights.

e A bow may be transported uncased and discharged while taking rough fish in a
motorized or non-motorized watercraft.

e Crosshows may not be used to take rough fish except by disabled persons who
have a valid crossbow permit. Permit applications are available from the DNR
Information Center or through the DNR website.

¢ Arrows must be attached to the bow with a tethered line.

e Must take reasonable measures to retreive arrows and wounded fish.

e Cannot discharge an arrow while bowfishing within 150 ft. of occupied
structures or within 300 ft. of campsite from sunset to sunrise.

* Night bowfishing total noise levels may not exceed 65 decibels on the “A” scale
at a distance of 50 feet from the boat.

* Possession of bows and arrows for bowfishing is subject to local firearms and
archery ordinances.

¢ Rough fish taken by bowfishing shall not be returned to the water or left on the
banks of any water or access site, or otherwise illegally disposed of.

WEAR |%

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources.
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ICE ANGLING AND SPEARING

General Regulations

¢ Two lines may be used through the ice (other than on designated trout lakes and
streams).

¢ |ce anglers must remain within sight of their lines or within 200 feet of their tip-
up.

DARK HOUSE SPEARING SEASON

SPECIES SPEARING SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT
NORTHERN PIKE 3 (only 1 over 30")
From sunrise (unless special regulations apply)
to sunset,
CATFISH Nov. 15, 2014- 5 (only 1 over 24")
February 22, 2015 (not more than 2 flathead)
except where
WHITEFISH prohibited. No limit

For other species see table on page 66.

¢ Residents age 18 through 89 and nonresidents age 18 and over must have a
dark house spearing license and an angling license.

¢ Nonresidents age 16 and 17 do not need a dark house spearing license but must
have a nonresident youth angling license.

e Party fishing does not apply while spearing.

e While spearing, a person may take fish by angling in a dark house if only one
angling line is in use and any fish caught is immediately released or placed on
the ice.

e Using an artificial light to see fish when spearing is unlawful. Lighted decoys
are legal to use. Any battery that is used in lighted decoys must not contain
mercury.

Shelters (fish houses and dark houses)

The following regulations apply to all shelters used on all Minnesota waters, unless

otherwise noted elsewhere in this booklet.

o All shelters, except for occupied* portable shelters, placed on the ice of
Minnesota waters must have either the
(1) complete name and address, (2) driver’s license number, or (3) the nine-digit
Minnesota DNR number on the license of the owner plainly
and legibly displayed on the outside in letters, and figures at least 2 inches in
height. *A person using a portable shelter on the ice that does not display
identification must remain within 200’ of the shelter.

e A shelter may not be left unoccupied or unattended anytime between midnight
and one hour prior to sunrise unless the shelter is licensed.

Note: The Minnesota Dept. of Public Safety—DVS requires trailers used to haul fish

houses or dark houses and enclosed trailers or recreational trailers used for fishing

to be registered. See your local Deputy Registrar for trailer registration.

e A tag, furnished with a license, must be attached to the exterior in a readily
visible location.

e Shelters left on the ice overnight need to have at least 2 square inches of
reflective material on each side of the house.
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Ice Angling and Spearing

No person may erect a shelter within 10 feet of an existing shelter.

A shelter license is not required on border waters with WI, IA, ND, and SD.
Shelters must comply with the identification requirements of the state for which
the angler is licensed.

Shelters may be used for fishing within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area
Wilderness (BWCAW), but must be removed from the ice each night. The
structure must be removed from the BWCAW each time the occupant leaves the
BWCAW.

Shelter Removal Dates
o All shelters must be off the ice no later than
midnight for each of the dates given in the :&l‘;?g# 1";“2%’134
following categories below. March 16, 2015
Inland Waters Rk o Dckuth
Dates of removal are determined by an east-west /
line formed by U.S. Hwy. 10, east along Hwy. 34 to Inland waters
Minnesota Hwy. 200, east along Hwy. 200 to U.S. © March 3. 2014
Hwy. 2, and east along Hwy. 2 to the March 2. 2015
Minnesota-Wisconsin border:
Border Waters

Minnesota—lowa, Feb. 20
Minnesota—Wisconsin, March 1
Minnesota—North and South Dakota, March 5
Minnesota—Canada, March 31

¢ |f shelters are not removed, owners will be prosecuted, and the structure and
contents may be confiscated and removed, or destroyed by a conservation
officer.

e After removal dates, shelters may remain on the ice between midnight and one
hour before sunrise only when occupied or attended.

e Storing or leaving shelters on a public access is prohibited.

X&> Spearing Prohibited
Winter spearing for northern pike is prohibited on the following lakes:

Baby* (Cass County)

Bald Eagle (Anoka, Ramsey, and Washington counties)
Big* (Beltrami County)

Forest (Hennepin County)

Libbs (Hennepin County)

Mille Lacs (Aitkin, Crow Wing, and Mille Lacs counties)
Minnetonka (Hennepin and Carver counties)

Peavey (Hennepin County)

Rebecca (Hennepin County)

Rush* (Chisago County)

Stieger (Carver County)

Tanager (Hennepin County

Wabedo* (Cass County)

*Denotes lakes where no spearing is allowed at any time.
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Ice Fishing - A Minnesota Tradition

= Killed by the improper use of heat-

Thousands of Minnesotans -\'
take to the ice for recreational fish-
ing every year. However, annually
sportsmen are needlessly injured or

ers in fish houses. These injuries and
deaths are often caused by carbon
monoxide from unvented or poorly
vented propane heaters, Used cor-
rectly, propane is a safe and efficient
fuel for home and recreational use,

only!

WARNING !!!

Sunflower type heaters are not recom-
mended for use in fish houses. Most are approved
for outdoor use only, and have no safety systems to
prevent carbon monoxide poisoning. Use outdoors

Keep Propane Cylinders Outside! Propane
eylinders used to heat your fish house should always
be kept outside of the fish house and connected to the
heater using approved piping and fittings.

N

use in your fish house.

+  Follow manufacturers installation recommendations.
+  Check all gas connections for leaks.
+  Keep propane cylinders OUTSIDE.

A message from the:
Minnesota Propane Association
WWW.IMNPropane.org

v
Quick Tips for Safety N
+  Use only heaters that are listed and approved for indoor

Pegmoting et racegy

Sl et quwﬁmi;uﬁm




Heating Fish Houses Safely

-

(“The following types of heater are recommended for heating fish N
houses:

*  Conventional Vent Heaters - These heaters have a vent that
goes up through the roof of a fish house and require fresh air for
combustion.

*  Direct Yent Heaters - Direct Vent (DV) heaters have a sealed
combustion chamber and vent all combustion products thru the
sidewall and use combustion air from outside the fish house,

*  Vent Free with Oxygen Depletion Sensor (ODS) - These heat-
ers usually use infrared technology for the heating element. The
ODS will shut off the heating unit if oxygen levels get low,

Vent Gasses

Fresh Air |

Conventional Vent Heater

Vent Free Heater
with QDS System Paid Advertisement

Minnesota Propane Association—Paid Advertisement
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ILLUSTRATED FISH OF MINNESOTA

Knowing what fish species you are catching is not only fun, but in many cases it’s
required by law. It is particularly important to know how to distinguish walleye from
sauger, to know the difference between northern pike and muskellunge, and to be
able to tell what species of trout or salmon you catch.

Walleye and Sauger

No spots on dorsal fin
Dark area at base of dorsal fin

Walleye

. White spot on
R bottom of tail

Maynard Reece

Spots on dorsal fin

Sauger No dark area at base of dorsal fin

) —{,g 2 e Duane Raver, USFWS
B

Walleye/sauger (saugeye) hybrid fillets are counted as part of a walleye possession limit
during transportation.

Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass

Largemouth

i Duane Raver, USFWS

- "

Back of mouth goes way
beyond back of eye

Smallmouth

= Duane Raver, L/SWS
Back of mouth goes
only to middle of eye
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Illustrated Fish of Minnesota

Northern Pike and ellunge

Muskellunge

Tail with
pointed tips

more pointed tips

6 or more pores on each side
under jaw

Spotted

Coloration with vertical dark markings on a light background
(Juvenile pattern similar to that of adults)

s A

Barred

Coloration having irregular narrow vertical dark markings on a light background Tail with

with stripes merging onto the back in an interlocking pattern rounded tips

Tiger (hybrid)
Muskellunge
(Esox masquinongy X
Esox lucius)

Paired fins having

rounded tips

. Coloration with pattern of horizontal rows of Tail with more

Northern Pike light round to oval spots on a dark background rounded tips

(Esox lucius)

5 or fewer pores on each
side under jaw

S —
g == Paired fins having
) more rounded tips

Illustrations
©1986 by Virg Beck

(Juvenile pattern has white, oblique bars
which extend from the white belly)

Flathead Catfish

Channel Catfish

S DAL b
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Trout and Salmon

Rainbow Trout

Pinkish stripe
on silvery body

Small black dots throughout
the body that extend into tail

Duane Raver, USFWS

Brown Trout

Large dark spots ?ﬁj are
and red dots on
brown body
Duane Raver, USFWS
Light, wormlike markings on dark upper body
Brook Trout To tell a brookie

from a splake from
a lake trout, look at
the tail:

White leading edge

on lower fins —_— Duane Raver, USFWS
Lake Trout

White spots on

grayish body Forked tail

White leading edge on lower fins— Carlyn verson
Usually a pink stripe on silvery body

Steelhead
(Rainbow Trout) Small spots

Inside mouth —__ throughout tail

is white s s
’ . N 10 rays in anal fin

Joseph Tomelleri

Chinook Salmon
Inside mouth Spots throughout
is dark ™~ i tail
’ \
' Josepn Tometerr~ 19-17 rays in anal fin
Coho Salmon
Inside mouth \
is gray AN Spots in top half of tail only
< — Us% 13-15 rays in anal fin
Pink Salmon '
Spawning male Small scales
has humpon =™
back. .
Some eye-sized spots
) Sz in tail and on back
Green and white blotches 3
on spawning fish 1 Tim Knepp, USFWS
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lllustrated Fish of Minnesota

RAINBOW TROUT

= white mouth

COHO SALMON AND
CHINOOK SALMON
= grayish to black mouth

RAINBOW TROUT
Tail has many small
spots in distinct rows.

COHO SALMON
Tail has some large
spots mostly on the
upper half.

CHINOOK SALMON

Rainbow Trout-Salmon Identification Guide

The shape of the anal fin is another way to identify these
species. This can easily be seen by depressing the front

Tail has large spots
throughout, especially
in the silver area at the

base of the tail.

Weigh Your Fish With a Ruler
Fish are sometimes injured when weighed. With this chart, you can quickly
determine the approximate weight of your fish using a ruler or tape measure.

CRAPPIE
length weight
(inches)(lbs.)
8 03
9 04
10 0.6
1 038
12 11
13 14
14 18
15 22
16 27
17 33
SUNFISH
length weight
(inches) (Ibs.)
8 04
9 06
10 08
I I.1
12 1.5
13 1.9
14 24
15 3.0
16 3.7

TRO

length weight

(inches)(l

9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18

ut

bs.)
0.2

oo
A w

N 1000
WO —LOooD

MUSKIE

length
(inches)

weight
(Ibs.)

edge of the anal fin to its base as shown below.

RAINBOW TROUT Tlp falls to or beyond end af base

\ 'l r
% NG |
AN "”'i;

e
COHO SALMON Tlp falls slightly past middle

CHINOOK SALMON Tip falls short of mlddle

e

— ’\/’/

BASS WALLEYE NORTHERN
length weight length weight length weight
(inches)(lbs.) (inches) (Ibs.) (inches) (Ibs.)

12 1.0 14 1.0 24 32

13 13 15 12 25 36

14 17 16 1.5 26 4.0

15 21 17 1.8 27 46

16 25 18 22 28 52

17 3.0 19 25 29 58

18 36 20 3.0 30 64

19 42 21 35 3171

20 5.0 22 41 32 78

21 57 23 47 33 86

22 6.6 24 54 34 94

7.6 25 6.1 35 103
26 6.9 36 11.2

27 18 37 122

28 838 38 133

29 98 39 144

40 156

41 16.8

42 181

Note: These figures are rough estimates
only. Actual weights vary slightly by lake
and stream.

75



2014 Minnesota Fishing Regulations

OTHER AQUATIC SPECIES

The following regulations apply to the taking and possession of mussels (clams),
crayfish, frogs, minnows, leeches, and turtles for personal or commercial use.

Mussels (Clams): It is illegal to possess live mussels. All of Minnesota’s

50 species of mussels are protected by law, and 20 are endangered or threatened

species. From May 16 through the last day of February, licensed anglers and

children under 16 may, by hand picking, take or possess up to 24 whole shells
@»m 48 shell halves from dead mussels of species that are not endangered or

threatened. It is illegal to take dead mussel shells from the St. Croix River, or to

possess zebra mussels. The mussels or mussel shells may not be bought or sold.

Crayfish: From April 1-Nov. 30, licensed anglers and children under 16 may take
and possess up to 25 pounds of live, whole crayfish for personal use.

Crayfish traps may only be tended from one hour before sunrise to one hour after
sunset.

A DNR permit* is required to import, transport, or sell crayfish. Crayfish may be
used as bait only in the body of water where they were captured. The use of live
crayfish as bait on the St. Croix National Scenic Riverway (north of the Boomsite
Boat Launch) and within Voyageurs National Park, units of the National Park
System, is prohibited.

Frogs: From May 16 to March 31 licensed anglers and children under age 16 may
take, use, buy, and sell an unlimited number of frogs up to 6 inches long for bait.

A DNR license is required to take frogs for purposes other than bait. Bullfrogs are
native to SE corner of MN, but are invasive and destructive elsewhere in the state.
Do not release bullfrogs outside of Winona and Houston counties.

Minnows and Leeches: Licensed anglers may take minnows or leeches for their

own use with dip nets, traps, or seines.

¢ Taking of wild animals for bait from designated infested waters (see pages
5-17) is unlawful, except for: 1) minnows and leeches taken for personal use
from waters infested SOLELY with Eurasian watermilfoil, and 2) certain rough
fish may be taken from rivers - see page 28. At these waters, harvested bait
may ONLY be used at the water where taken and may only be taken using a
cylindrical trap not exceeding 16" in diameter and 32" long. Taking of bait from
other infested waters and using them is unlawful.

e Seines may not be over 25 feet long or more than 148 meshes deep with ¥-inch
bar measure, or more than 197 meshes deep with °/16-inch bar measure.

¢ Traps used on waters, other than infested, may not exceed a width and length
of 30 inches, height may not exceed 15 inches, the diameter or width of the
opening may not exceed 1%z inches, and mesh size may not exceed ¥2-inch bar
measure. Traps must have a waterproof tag bearing the name and address of
the owner.

e [tis unlawful to use throw nets.

@7 ¢ A DNR commercial minnow license* is required to transport more than 12 dozen

minnows or to sell or export minnows.

e A DNR permit is needed to take minnows or leeches from designated trout
waters.

*License and permit applications are available from the DNR, 500 Lafayette Road,
St. Paul, MN 55155-4020.
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Other Aquatic Species

e Unwanted minnows and leeches cannot be disposed of in MN waters.

e All streams and associated tributaries and connected waters of the Missouri
River watershed in Lincoln, Pipestone, Murray, Rock, or Nobles counties that
lie south of U.S. Highway 14 to the lowa border and west of U.S. Highway 59 to
South Dakota are closed to minnow harvest. Minnows may be taken by angling
for personal use.

¢ A permit from the DNR, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, is required to take madtoms
and stonecats in Dodge, Freeborn, or Mower counties.

Turtles: Resident licensed anglers and children under 16 may take, possess, and

transport turtles for personal use. Western painted, snapping, and spiny softshell

turtles are the only harvestable species and may be taken. Harvest by explosives,

drugs, poisons, lime, and other harmful substances is prohibited. Harvest by traps,

nets, or other commercial equipment requires a recreational turtle license, in

addition to an angling license. A DNR permit is required to collect turtle eggs from

natural nests. Residents under age 18 may take, possess, rent, or sell up to 25

turtles for use in a nonprofit turtle race.

e The snapping turtle possession limit is 3. Minimum size limit is 12" in shell
length. Snapping turtles may not be taken during May and June.

e Spiny softshell minimum size limit is 12" in shell length. Spiny softshells may not
be taken June 1-July 15.

e Western painted turtle maximum size limit is 5%2" in shell length, except that
those used in turtle races may be of any length greater than 4".

e Turtle size is determinated by measuring the top shell length (carapace, not
including the curvature) from above the neck to above the tail.
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ONLINE INFORMATION

More information on the following subjects can be found online at the DNR
website.

Boat and Water Safety

Everyone on board your boat needs to have a readily accessible, U.S. Coast Guard-
approved life vest of the proper size and type. In addition, if the boat is 16 feet or
longer, there must also be an approved throwable device such as a boater’s seat
cushion or ring buoy.

Children under the age of ten must wear a life jacket on board any boat underway.
Underway means not attached to a permanent mooring or tied to a dock. There
are exceptions to the law for: children who are below the top deck, or in an
enclosed cabin, or on a boat operated by a licensed captain, or on a boat that is
anchored for the purpose of swimming or diving.

It's always a good idea to wear your life jacket. Most fatal boating mishaps occur
when boats capsize or people fall overboard without warning, especially on small
boats. These types of accidents can happen even on calm waters, while traveling
at slow speed or stopped.

For a complete summary of the boating regulations and safety information, contact
the DNR Information Center for a copy of the Minnesota Boating Guide, or find it
online. For rules pertaining to the use of motorboats within Wildlife Management
Areas, refer to the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook or call
DNR Information Center.

Aquatic Management Areas

The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife acquires land along lakes and streams to
provide fishing opportunities and to protect critical fish habitat. These areas,
known as Aquatic Management Areas (AMAS), are posted with signs to indicate
allowable uses. Each sign is marked with a letter to easily identify permitted
activities. It is always unlawful to leave personal equipment, such as tree stands,
unattended on AMA’s.

Catch-and-Release

Improved fishing technology and increasing fishing pressure have caused fishing
quality to decline in many waters. Catch-and-release fishing offers anglers a way
1o enjoy their sport with less harm to the resource. Find more information online.

e Don't plan to release fish that have been on a stringer or in a livewell.

e Play and land the fish quickly.

e Don't angle for fish in very deep water, unless you plan to keep what you catch.
Fizzing of fish, or the act of inserting a needle into a fish intended to deflate the
gas bladder, caught from deep water can do more harm than good and is not
recommended.

e Handle the fish gently and keep it in the water as much as possible.

¢ Do not hold the fish by the eye sockets or gills, but rather by the lower lip or
under the gill plate and also support the belly of the fish.

e Wet your hands before touching a fish to help prevent removal of its protective
slime coating.
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Online Information

e [f a hook is deeply imbedded, cut the line so that at least 1 inch hangs out of the
mouth. This helps the hook to lay flush when the fish takes in food.

e Circle hooks may help in reducing deeply hooked fish. They are made to hook
fish in the mouth.

e A fish that can be legally kept should not be released if it is bleeding heavily,
which indicates its chance of survival is poor.

* You cannot practice catch-and-release for a species during its closed season.

Managing Minnesota’s Fisheries

The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife is responsible for managing the state’s
diverse fisheries resources (5,400 fishable lakes and 15,000 miles of fishable
streams). Each year, roughly 2 million people fish in Minnesota, and sport fishing
generates approximately $2.4 billion in direct expenditures, making angling one of
the state’s largest industries.

Much of Minnesota’s fisheries program is reimbursed by the Federal Aid in Sport
Fish Restoration Program (federal excise tax), administered by the U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service.

Master Angler Program

The Fishing Hall of Fame of Minnesota in partnership with DNR recognizes anglers
who catch large fish of various species. Categories include adult, youth, and catch-
and-release.

For more information on becoming a Master Angler, visit the DNR website or
www.fishinghalloffamemn.com.

Conservation Partners Legacy Grant Program-
Habitat Money Available. Funding for projects to restore, enhance, and protect
Minnesota's fish, game, and wildlife habitat. See www.mndnr.gov/cpl for details.

Free Fishing Weekends

Take A Mom Fishing Weekend
May 10-11, 2014
Minnesota resident moms fish free.

Take A Kid Fishing Weekend
June 6-8, 2014
Minnesota residents 16 and older fish free with children younger than 16.

Take A Kid Ice Fishing Weekend
January 17-19, 2015
Minnesota residents 16 and older fish free with children younger than 16.
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State Record Fish

If you catch and keep a fish that you think could be a record, follow these steps:

¢ Take the fish to a DNR fisheries office for positive identification and a state
record fish application.

¢ Weigh the fish on a state-certified scale (found at most bait shops and butcher
shops), witnessed by two observers.

¢ Complete the application and send it along with a clear, full-length photo of your
fish to the address listed on the form.

¢ DNR does not keep line class records.

The following is a complete list of Minnesota’s state record fish and where they were caught.
Weights given are in pounds and ounces (example: 55-5 is 55 pounds, 5 ounces). No
additional species or hybrids are being considered for the state record fish program.

Bass, Largemouth: 8—15, Auburn Lake (Carver). Bass, Rock: 2—0, Osakis Lake
(Todd); and 2-0, Lake Winnibigoshish (Cass). Bass, Smallmouth: 8—0, West
Battle Lake (Otter Tail). Bass, White: 4-2, Mississippi River Pool 5 (Wabasha).
Bowfin: 12-9, Mississippi River (Wabasha). Buffalo, Bigmouth: 41-11,
Mississippi River (Goodhue). Buffalo, Black: 20—0, Minnesota River (Nicollet).
Buffalo, Smallmouth: 20-0, Big Sandy (Aitkin). Bullhead, Black: 3—13, Reno
Lake (Pope). Bullhead, Brown: 7-1, Shallow Lake (Itasca). Bullhead, Yellow:
3-10, Osakis Lake (Todd). Burbot: 19-8, Lake of the Woods (Lake of the Woods).
Carp, Common: 55-5, Clearwater Lake (Wright). Carpsucker, Quillback: 74,
Upper Red Lake (Beltrami). Garpsucker, River: 4—6, Minnesota River (Carver).
Catfish, Channel: 38—0, Mississippi River (Hennepin). Gatfish, Flathead:

70-0, St. Croix River (Washington). Crappie, Black: 5—0, Vermillion River
(Dakota). Grappie, White: 3—15, Lake Constance (Wright). Drum, Freshwater
(Sheepshead): 35-3, Mississippi River (Winona). Eel, American: 6-9, St. Croix
River (Washington). Gar, Longnose: 16—12, St. Croix River (Washington). Gar,
Shortnose: 4-9, Mississippi River (Hennepin). Goldeye: 2—13, Root River
(Houston). Hogsucker, Northern: 1-15, Sunrise River (Chisago). Mooneye: 1-15,
Minnesota River (Redwood). Muskellunge: 54—0, Lake Winnibigoshish (Itasca).
Muskellunge, Tiger: 34—12, Lake Elmo (Washington). Perch, Yellow: 3—4,

Lake Plantagenet (Hubbard). Pike, Northern: 45-12, Basswood Lake (Lake).
Redhorse, Golden: 3—15, Root River (Fillmore). Redhorse, Greater: 12—11,

Sauk River (Stearns). Redhorse, River: 12-10, Kettle River (Pine). Redhorse,
Shorthead: 7-15, Rum River (Anoka). Redhorse, Silver: 9-15, Bigfork River
(Koochiching). Salmon, Atlantic: 12—13, Baptism River (Lake). Salmon, Chinook:
33-4, Poplar River (Cook); and 33—4, Lake Superior (St. Louis). Salmon,

Coho: 10-6, Lake Superior (Lake). Salmon, Kokanee: 2—15, Caribou Lake
(Itasca). Salmon, Pink: 4-8, Cascade River (Cook). Sauger: 6—2, Mississippi
River (Goodhue). Saugeye (Walleye-Sauger Hybrid): 9—13, Mississippi River
(Goodhue). Sturgeon, Lake: 94—4, Kettle River (Pine). Sturgeon Shovelnose: 6—7,
Mississippi River (Goodhue). Sucker, Blue: 14-3, Mississippi River (Wabasha).
Sucker, Longnose: 3—10, Brule River (Cook). Sucker, White: 9—1, Big Fish Lake
(Stearns). Sunfish Bluegill: 2—13, Alice Lake (Hubbard) Sunfish, Green: 1-4,
North Arbor Lake (Hennepin). Sunfish, Green Bluegill Hybrid: 1-12, Zumbro River
(Olmsted). Sunfish, Pumpkinseed: 1-5, Leech Lake (Cass). Trout, Brook: 6-5,
Pigeon River (Cook). Trout, Brown: 16—12, Lake Superior (St. Louis). Trout, Lake:
43-8, Lake Superior (Cook). Trout, Rainbow (Steelhead): 16-6, Devil Track River
(Cook). Trout, Splake: 13-5, Larson Lake (Itasca).Trout, Tiger: 2—9, Mill Creek
(Olmsted). Tullibee (Cisco): 511, Little Long (St. Louis). Walleye: 17-8, Seagull
River (Cook). Warmouth: 0-9, Bartlet Lake (Winona). Whitefish, Lake: 12—4,
Leech Lake (Cass). Whitefish, Menominee: 2—7, Lake Superior (Cook).
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Sunrise/Sunset Table
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2014 Minnesota Fishing Regulations

EAT FISH OFTEN?

Most fish are healthy to eat and fish are a great way to get low-fat protein, but
any fish (store-bought or sport-caught) could have contaminants such as mercury
and PCBs that can harm human health—especially children and fetuses.

The Minnesota Department of Health lets people know how often fish can be
safely eaten.

The Safe Fish Eating guidelines on the following pages are based on mercury mea-
sured in fish from lakes across the state.

Guidelines for waters where fish have been tested are on the DNR Web site.

TIPS FOR SAFE FISH EATING

e Eat smaller fish. Bigger fish have more contaminants.

e Eat more panfish (sunfish, crappies) and less fish that eat other fish (walleyes,
northern pike, lake trout).

e Trim skin and fat, especially belly fat. Also, eat fewer fatty fish such as carp,
catfish, and lake trout.

Consejos para el consumo saludable de pescado

¢ Coma pescados mas pequefios. Pescados grandes pueden contener mas
contaminantes.

¢ Coma mas peces como Pomosios y Pez Sol y menos pescados que comen otros
peces como Lucioperca, Lucio Nortefio y Trucha de Lago.

e Remueva la piel y la grasa, especialmente la grasa alrededor de la barriga.
También coma menos pescados que tienen mas grasa como Bagre, Carpa y
Trucha de lago.

Tej yam ghia noj ntse kom txhob muaj teeb meem

 Yuav tsum noj cov ntse me. Cov ntse loj muaj ntau yam tsis huv. Txheem rau
lawv lub cev lawm.

¢ Noj cov ntse pluav xws lis (xafiv = sunfish, kabpib = crappies) thiab yog cov
ntse uas tom lwm yam ntse no ces noj kom tsawg xws lis (vaulais = walleyes,
novtaw phaij = northern pike, lej rhauj = lake trout).

¢ Yim cov tawv thiab roj, ghov tseem ceeb tshaj yog cov roj tawm npluag plab. Tsis
tag lis xwb yuav tsum noj cov ntse rog kom tsawg lis tsawg tau xws lis pam-
nais, ntse tuajkub, thiab (lej rhauj = lake trout).

-~ 0 -~ 0 A -~ * v - /{’ -~
Vai lai nén chi y khi an ca de duoc an toan

« Nén an ca nho. Ca I6n chifa nhiéu chét 6 nhiém.

« Nén an loai ca nho ¢ cé thé chién trong chao nhu ca sunfish, séng & h6
(lake trout).

» Bdkhong nén an dava ma ca, nhat la phan m& & bung ca. Mat khac,
nén an it nhiing loai ca c6 nhiéu m& nhu ca chép, ca tré hodc ca bong
lau, va c& héi sdng & hé.

For more information, call the Minnesota Department of Health at
651-201-4911, toll-free at 800-657-3908 or visit www.health.state.mn.us/fish

82 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)



Safe Eating Guidelines

SAFE EATING GUIDELINES

Statewide Guidelines for Fish Caught in Minnesota

For Children and Women of Child-Bearing Age:

i e Sunfish

e Crappie

e Perch

e Bullhead

One meal per week
Una comida por semana
Ib as thiv, ib pluag

Mét tuan in mét lan

¢ Walleye shorter
than 20 inches

¢ Northern shorter
than 30 inches

e All sizes of species
not listed

One meal per month
Una comida por mes

Ib hli, ib pluag

Mot thang i3n moét lan

e Walleye longer
than 20 inches

¢ Northern longer
than 30 inches
e Muskellunge

Do not eat

No comer

Tsis txhob noj hlos lis
Khéng nén an

For Other Adults:
" e Sunfish Unrestricted
* Crappie No tiene restricciones
: Tsis txwv hlos lis
* Perch Khéng han ché
ﬁ‘ * Bullhead g
i -l"_'__‘-::I =
M One meal per week
! e All sizes of Una comida por semana

other species

Ib as thiv, ib pluag
Mét tuan dn mét lan

Fish Illustrations by Carlyn Iverson
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2014 Minnesota Fishing Regulations

ADDRESSES AND TELEPHONE NUMBERS

Licenses

DNR License Center

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4026
Watercraft Registration:
1-800-285-2000

Phone License Sales:
1-888-665-4236
Internet Sales: mndnr.gov

Lake Maps

Minnesota Bookstore

660 Olive Street

St. Paul, MN 55155

(651) 297-3000 or
1-800-657-3757
www.minnesotasbookstore.com

Conservation Officer Locator
mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas

Connect instantly to the
conservation officer locator
web page by scanning this

code with your smart phone.

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
(612) 713-5360

Boundary Waters Canoe Area
Wilderness

Note: Permits and reservations are
not under DNR jurisdiction. This is a
national forest wilderness area. For
information, contact:

Superior National Forest

8901 Grand Avenue Place

Duluth, MN 55808

Information (218) 626-4300
Reservations 1-877-444-6777
www.bwcaw.org

Information on and Reporting
Harmful Invasive Species
(651) 259-5100 or 1-888-646-6367

Voyageurs National Park
(218) 283-6600
Tamarack NWR

(218) 847-2641

FIND YOUR LOCAL CONSERVATION OFFICER ON THE WEB

The DNR has developed a new web page to make finding your local conservation
officer easier than ever at: www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas
For your convenience, complete this page and take it with you when you are in the

field

Officer’s name:

Telephone number:

84 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)



If you witness a violation in progress or need to contact a conservation officer
immediately, call Turn in Poachers (TIP) at 800 652-9093 or the nearest state

patrol dispatch center:

Brainerd
Detroit Lakes
Duluth

Metro East
Metro West
Mankato
Marshall
Rochester
St. Cloud
Thief River Falls
Virginia

218-828-2400
218-847-1550
218-723-4885
651-582-1509
651-582-1511

507-285-7410

507-537-6277
507-285-7410

320-255-4224
218-681-0942
218-748-2426

Turn in Poachers: 800-652-9093 24-Hour Hotline AT&T,
Midwest Wireless, Unicel and Verizon users can report

violations by typing #TIP.

DNR FISHERIES OFFICES

TDD (651) 296-5484 or MN toll free TDD 1-800-657-3929

NORTHWEST REGION
Bemidji Headquarters
(218) 308-2623
Baudette Area Office
(218) 634-2522
Bemidji Area Office
(218) 308-2339

Detroit Lakes Area Office

(218) 846-8340

Fergus Falls Area Office
(218) 739-7576 ext. 238
Glenwood Area Office
(320) 634-4573

Park Rapids Area Office
(218) 732-4153

Walker Area Office
(218) 547-1683

NORTHEAST REGION

Grand Rapids Headquarters

(218) 327-4414
Aitkin Area Office
(218) 927-3751
Brainerd Area Office
(218) 828-2550

Duluth and Lake
Superior Area Office
(218) 525-0853 ext. 200
Finland Area Office
(218) 353-7591

Grand Marais Area Office

(218) 387-3056

Grand Rapids

Area Office

(218) 327-4430
International Falls
Area Office

(218) 286-5220

Tower Area Office
(218) 753-2580 ext. 221

CENTRAL REGION
Central Headquarters
(651) 259-5831
Hinckley Area Office
(320) 384-7721

Lake City Area Office
(651) 345-3365
Lanesboro Area Office
(507) 467-2442

Little Falls Area Office
(320) 616-2450 ext. 225
Metro East Area Office
(651) 259-5831

Metro West Area Office
(952) 496-4141
Montrose Area Office
(763) 675-3301

SOUTH REGION

South Headquarters
(507) 359-6047
Hutchinson Area Office
(320) 234-2550
Ortonville Area Office
(320) 839-2656

Spicer Area Office
(320) 796-2161
Waterville Area Office
(507) 362-4223
Windom Area Office
(507) 831-2900 ext. 232
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2014 Minnesota Fishing Regulations Outreach Message

i

- GOT MOBILE

Tl

. FISH LOCAL

PURCHASE AN E-LICENSE TODAY

Minnesota fishing licenses now can be purchased electronically via
most mobile devices. No more waiting in line. No more stops on the
way to your favorite fishing spot.

Purchasing an e-license on your
smartphone or tablet means that
you don't (and won't) receive a
paper copy of your license. Instead,
you elect to receive a text message,
email or both that displays your valid
license.

Only fishing and hunting licenses that
don't require a tag can be purchased
as e-licenses. The text or email con-
firming your valid license must be pre-
sented to a conservation officer upon
request.

Scan the QR code
at left to buy your
e-license today.

86 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)



MINNESOTA’S VARIETY OF FISHING

OPPORTUNITIES IS OUR GREATEST TREASURE

Minnesota is home to a diverse landscape supporting
equally diverse fisheries resources. From the forested
northeast with its deep, cold trout lakes to the shallow fertile
lakes of the southwest to the hilly landscape in the southeast
with its abundance of trout streams, Minnesota’s wonderful
blend of cool and warm lakes and diverse streams and rivers
serve up a variety of angling opportunities that are second
to none. Minnesota has walleye, panfish, pike, bass, catfish,
muskellunge, sturgeon and trout in more than 5,400 lakes
and 15,000 miles of fishable streams and rivers. Anglers have
opportunities to keep fish for a meal or to catch that elusive
trophy. These opportunities are unmatched; that’s why the
state ranks second in resident fishing participation and is the
third most-popular inland fishing destination for non-resident
anglers in the nation.

A key challenge for fisheries managers is to maintain
this great diversity of fishing opportunities and aquatic habitats
for today’s anglers as well as future generations. No future is
certain but as it is with our professional and personal lives,
the best recipe for coping with future unknowns is to maintain
diverse resources. The primary strategy for maintaining that
natural diversity is a keen and resourceful focus to protect
and restore watersheds and aquatic habitats that form the
foundation of Minnesota’s abundant, high-quality natural
resources.

On behalf of the Minnesota DNR, have a great year on
the water, and please be safe!

mndnr.gov 87



Think Zero.

Do the right thing and follow (/

aquatic invasive species laws. With 0
your help we can get to 0.

% violation rate

needed to protect

Minnesota waters

from AIS in 2014

at DNR check stations
cited for violating
AIS laws in 2013

More people are getting the message about how to stop the spread of
aquatic invasive species (AIS). But we're still finding that nearly 1 in every 5
anglers and boaters using Minnesota’s waterways are forgetting to:

«” CLEAN aquatic plants and animals off boat and trailers
«” DRAIN all water and KEEP DRAIN PLUGS OUT while transporting
v’ DISPOSE of unwanted live bait in the trash

All you need to do is take a few simple steps to follow the laws and protect
our lakes and rivers from zebra mussels and other AlS.

7
g
7
7
7
7
7
7
% of people stopped /
7
7
7
7
7
7
7
¢
%

See page 4 for AIS laws and recommendations.
Visit mndnr.gov/AIS for more information.
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