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Anglers contribute to good
 fishing every time they 

purchase a rod, reel or most 
other manufactured fishing 
products. 

Not apparent at the 
checkout counter, 

these purchases quietly raise 
revenue through a 10 percent 
federal excise tax paid by the 
manufacturers. 

Granting these dollars to 
Minnesota and other 

states is the responsibility 
of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service through its Wildlife 
and Sports Fish Restoration 
program. 

Last year, the Minnesota 
DNR received $12.9 

Million through this program. 

Every one of these dollars 
is used to maintain and 

improve fishing, boating 
and angling access, and help 
create the next generation of 
environmentally enlightened 
anglers. 

Read more about this 
important funding 

source at http://wsfr75.com 

Spread the word, too, so 
more people know how 

manufacturers, anglers and 
natural resource agencies 
work together. 
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Alexandria 

• 

Fi~hOn! 
"'tllng Rtpo"'.Lako fam. LodllJng 

£xploreAlex.c-0m/FishingGuide 
AL~XAllORIA, MINNESOTA 

You're going to need 
a stronger stringer. 
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Trespass Law 
The trespass law applies to all outdoor rec­

reation, including but not limited to: hunting, 
boating, fishing, trapping, hiking, and camping. 
When taking part in any outdoor recreation, 
you may not enter legally posted land or agri­
cultural land without permission. 

Landowners, lessees, or authorized managers need 
only post their land once a year. The signs must be placed at intervals 
of 1,000 feet (500 feet in wooded areas) or signs may be placed at pri­
mary corners and at access points to the property. Signs must state “No 
Trespassing," or similar words, in 2-inch-high letters and have the signa­
ture or name and telephone number of the landowner, lessee, or manager. 

There can be civil or criminal penalties for violation of the trespass 
laws with maximum fines up to $3,000 and license revocation. All con­
servation officers and peace officers enforce trespass laws. 

Rules of Thumb for Water Access and Recreational Use 
These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all 

water access and recreational use situations. If you have doubts about 
whether you may be trespassing on private land, you should ask the land­
owner for permission. 

What is lawful access? 
A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or if 

public land or a public road right-of-way borders the surface of the water, 
or if you have permission to cross private land to reach the surface of the 
water. This includes walking in the water or on the ice in connection with 
such activities regardless of who owns the land beneath the surface of the 
water. 

What waters are open to recreational use? 
A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface if it 

is capable of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any water 
that will float a canoe is capable of recreational use, but other waters 
may also qualify depending upon the circumstances. 

Can I take my dog with me on an Aquatic Management Area? 
On an Easement Aquatic Management Area (AMA), a person 

must always get permission from the landowner to take a dog with them, 
unless otherwise posted. You may not enter a Restricted or General Use 
Aquatic Management Area with a dog except (1) under permit by the 
commissioner or (2) the dog is accompanied by or under control of the 
owner. Dogs must be on a leash from April 16 through July 14. 
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Definitions
 

DEFINITIONS
 
Some anglers might not be familiar with the fol low ing terms used in this regu-

lations booklet: 

Designated stream trout lakes– These waters have been listed in 
Minnesota Rule and have been stocked with trout that are native to streams: 
rainbow, brown, or brook trout. Some also have splake, a cross between a 
lake trout and a brook trout. 

Inland waters– Lakes and rivers within Min ne so ta not  bordering Canada 
or another state. 

Immediately released or returned to the water– Fish must not 
be retained longer than is needed at the site of capture to unhook, identify, 
measure, and photograph. Placing the fish in any type of container or on a 
stringer is not immediately released. Any fish not immediately released is 
considered to be “reduced to possession.” 

Daily and possession limits (bags)– For most species of fish, the daily 
and possession limit is the same. One exception would be the inland limit on 
yellow perch, which is 20 per day and 40 in possession. The daily and posses­
sion limits include fish possessed by the person at all locations including such 
places as livewell, cold storage, at home, or at a resort. Daily limit is the num­
ber of fish an angler can take in one calendar day. Eating those fish or gifting 
them away on the same day does not allow an angler to possess additional 
fish taken in the same calendar day. 

Harvest slot limit– Allows the harvest of fish from a designated size 
range. 

Maximum size limit– Prohibits the harvest of fish from some specified 
length and larger. 

Minimum size limit– Prohibits harvest of fish less than a specified length. 
Minnows– Members of the minnow family, except carp and goldfish; 

bullheads, ciscoes, lake whitefish, goldeyes, and mooneyes (not over 7 inches 
long); suckers (not over 12 inches long); mud minnows, leeches, tadpole mad-
toms and stonecats. (Note: border water regulations may vary.) 

One-over the size limit– Allows the harvest of one fish over a set size 
limit as part of the daily or possession limit. 

Protected slot limit– Prohibits harvest of fish from a designated size 
range. Fish within this size range must be immediately released. 

Rough fish– Carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, burbot, cisco (tul­
libee), gar, goldeye, and bullhead. (Note: border waters regulations may vary.) 

Under-utilized fish– Carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, burbot, 
cisco, gar, goldeye, and redhorse. 
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

NEW REGULATIONS FOR 2013
 
new New Regulations for 2013 

• New angling license options and prices (pages 5-8) 
• Some rough fish species may be taken from infested rivers and used as 


bait (page 15)
 
• New list of infested waters (pages 20-33) 
• New winter season dates for stream trout lakes inside BWCAW (page 36) 
• Gasoline powered motors allowed while bow fishing (page 76) 
• Fish house identification not required for occupied portable shelters (page 

77) 
update • Seniors 65-89 now need a spearing license ( page 77) 

New or Modified Experimental/Special Regulations 
Changes include: Annie Battle (Otter Tail Co.), modified crappie 

regulation; LaSalle Lake (Hubbard Co.), added special regulations on 
various species; North/South Ten Mile (Otter Tail Co.), modified bass 
regulation; Norway (Otter Tail Co.), dropped special bag limits on walleye 
and yellow perch, modified bass and crappie regulations; Big Swan (Todd 
Co.), modified northern pike bag limit; Square Lake (Washington Co.), 
dropped special trout regulations. 

Clarification to Synopsis 
• Exemption from angling license in state parks also applies to ice angling 

(page 11) 
• Walleye and northern pike taken from some waters may not be filleted 


prior to transport (page 14)
 
• When ice fishing, bait water does not need to be exchanged (page 16) 
• It is unlawful to chum for fish (page 16) 
• Importing live minnows into Minnesota is unlawful (page 16) 

Note: Regulations may change after this booklet goes to print. Check 
DNR Web site for additions or corrections. 

Note: The DNR is seeking to adopt updates to rules relating to 1) taking 
fish on Lake Superior and its tributaries, and 2) spearing license options for 
youth, before the start of the season. Any changes adopted after publication 
of the 2013 fisheries regulations will be posted on the DNR website. 
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Fishing Licenses
 

ANGLING LICENSES (Resident) 
License year begins March 1 and ends last day of February unless otherwise noted  

(Prices do not include additional issuing fees) 
Purchase online at mndnr.gov/buyalicense 

Duplicate licenses and stamps can be purchased from any ELS agent for $2.50 each. 

'SHI�RYQFIV�VIJIVW�XS�XLI�PMGIRWI�MHIRXM½GEXMSR�GSHI� 

YOUTH RESIDENT INDIVIDUAL AGE 16 & 17 

CODE LICENSE FEE 
NEW 138 Youth age 16 & 17 Annual 

Youth Individual Angling (exempt from trout/salmon stamp and spearing license) 
$5 

ADULT RESIDENT INDIVIDUAL AGE 18 AND OVER 

CODE LICENSE FEE 
111 Annual 

Individual Angling 
$22 

110 24-Hour 
Individual Angling (no trout stamp required) Consecutive 24-hour 

$10 

NEW 140 72-Hour 
Individual Angling (no trout stamp required) Consecutive 72-hour 

$12 

NEW 141 3-Year 
Individual Angling Consecutive 3-years, March 2013-Feb 2016 

$63 

105 1/2 Bag Limit Conservation 
Individual Angling 1/2 Bag Limits (see page 9) 

$15 

216 Sports 
Individual Angling and Small Game ($31.50 plus $6.50 surcharge “paid by hunters for the 
acquisition and development of wildlife lands”) 

$38 

ADDITIONAL OPTIONS 

CODE LICENSE FEE 
134 Walleye Stamp 

Voluntary Individual Validation (see page 9) 
$5 

135 Walleye Pictorial Stamp Mailed (see page 9) $0.75 
additional 

128 Trout & Salmon Stamp 
Individual Trout and Salmon Validation (required for designated trout waters, Lake Superior 
and to harvest trout) (see page 9) 

$10 

129 Trout Pictorial Stamp Mailed (see page 9) $0.75 
additional 

130 Sturgeon Tag 
Required to Harvest a Sturgeon 

$5 

update 

113 Spearing Annual 
Individual Dark House Spearing (angling license required)  
Under Age 18 or Over Age 89 No Spearing License is Required 

$5 

119 House or Shelter Annual 
Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if Left Unattended Overnight (license year March 1-April 
30 of following year) 

$15 

131 House or Shelter 3-Year 
Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if Left Unattended Overnight. March 1, 2013-April 30, 2016 

$42 

120 House or Shelter Rented Annual 
Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if left Unattended Overnight (license year March 1-April 
30 of following year) 

$30 

mndnr.gov 5 
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ADDITIONAL OPTIONS 

CODE LICENSE FEE 
132 House or Shelter Rented 3-Year 

Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if Left Unattended Overnight. March 1, 2013-April 30, 2016 
$87 

115 ;LMXI½WL�ERH�'MWGS 
Netting 

$10 

Recreational Turtle License 
%PWS�VIUYMVIW�XLI�TYVGLEWI�SJ�ER�ERKPMRK�PMGIRWI��YRPIWW�WTIGM½GEPP]�I\IQTXIH� 

$25 

MARRIED RESIDENT MARRIED COUPLE (Marriage must be legal as recognized by Minnesota law.) 

CODE LICENSE  FEE 
112 Combination Annual 

Married Couple Angling 
$35 

106 1/2 Bag Limit Conservation Combination 
Married Couple Angling 1/2 Bag Limits (see page 9) 

$23 

217 
 

Combination Sports 
Married Couple Two Angling and One Small Game ($45.50 plus $6.50 surcharge “paid by 
hunters for the acquisition and development of wildlife lands”) 

$52 

  LIFETIME RESIDENT INDIVIDUAL (see page 9) 
Application forms are available online or through the DNR Information Center  1-888-646-6367 

CODE LICENSE  FEE 
411 Lifetime Angling 

age 3 and under $304 

age 4 to age 15 $415 

age 16 to age 50 $508 

age 51 and over $335 

407 Lifetime Angling and Spearing 

age 3 and under $380 

age 4 to age 15 $509 

age 16 to age 50 $617 

age 51 and over $386 

413 Lifetime Sports 

age 3 and under $528 

age 4 to age 15 $728 

age 16 to age 50 $861 

age 51 and over $602 

6 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR) 



Fishing Licenses
 

License year begins March 1 and ends last day of February unless otherwise noted  
(Prices do not include additional issuing fees) 

Purchase online at mndnr.gov/buyalicense 
Duplicate licenses and stamps can be purchased from any ELS agent for $2.50 each. 

'SHI�RYQFIV�VIJIVW�XS�XLI�PMGIRWI�MHIRXM½GEXMSR�GSHI� 

YOUTH NONRESIDENT INDIVIDUAL AGE 16 & 17 

CODE LICENSE FEE 
NEW 205 Youth age 16 & 17 Annual or Youth Own Limit  

(see page 10 Nonresidents) 
Youth Individual Angling (exempt from trout/salmon stamp license) 

$5

ADULT NONRESIDENT INDIVIDUAL AGE 18 AND OVER 

CODE LICENSE FEE 
121 Annual 

Individual Angling  ($40 plus $5 surcharge) 
$45 

NEW 139 24-Hour 
Individual Angling (no Trout Stamp Required) Consecutive 24-hour 

$12 

127 72-Hour 
Individual Angling (no Trout Stamp Required) Consecutive 72-hour ($27 plus $5 surcharge) 

$32 

126 7-Day 
Individual Angling Consecutive 7-day ($33 plus $5 surcharge) 

$38 

NONRESIDENT ADDITIONAL OPTIONS 

CODE LICENSE FEE 
134 Walleye Stamp 

Voluntary Individual Validation (see page 9) 
$5 

135 
additional 

 Walleye Pictorial Stamp Mailed (see page 9) $0.75 

128 Trout & Salmon Stamp 
Individual Trout and Salmon Validation (see page 9) 

$10 

129 
 additional 

 Trout Pictorial Stamp Mailed (see page 9) $0.75 

130 Sturgeon Tag 
Required to Harvest a Sturgeon 

$5 

118 Spearing Annual 
Individual Dark House Spearing (angling license required) ($10 plus $5 surcharge) 
(Options for youth are being addressed. See note on page 4) 

$15 

116 House or Shelter Annual 
Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if Left Unattended Overnight (license year March 1-April 
30 of following year) 

$37 

117 House or Shelter 7-Day 
Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if Left Unattended Overnight 

$21 

133 House or Shelter 3-Year 
Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if Left Unattended Overnight. March 1, 2013-April 30, 2016 

$111 
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

MARRIED NONRESIDENT MARRIED COUPLE (Marriage must be legal as recognized by Minnesota law.) 

CODE LICENSE FEE 
124 Combination Annual Family 

One or Both Parents and Dependent Children under age 16 ($55 plus $5 surcharge) 
$60 

125 Combination 14-Day 
Married Couple Consecutive 14-Day Angling ($43 plus $5 surcharge) 

$48 

LIFETIME NONRESIDENT INDIVIDUAL (see page 9) 
Applications/forms are available online or through the DNR Information Center  1-888-646-6367 

CODE LICENSE FEE 
415 Lifetime Angling 

age 3 and under $726 

age 4 to age 15 $925 

age 16 to age 50 $1,054 

age 51 and over $702

SUPER SPORTS RESIDENT These Licenses are available. However, currently the prices of these licenses are 
more than if purchasing the included licenses individually. 

CODE LICENSE FEE 
NEW 142 Super Sports 

Individual Angling including Trout/Salmon Stamp, Small Game Including Pheasant and State 
;EXIVJS[P�7XEQTW��E�(IIV�8EK��EVGLIV]��½VIEVQW�SV�QY^^PIPSEHIV
���������TPYW������� 
surcharge “paid by hunters for the acquisition and development of wildlife lands”) 

$99 

NEW 143 Combination Super Sports (Married Couple as recognized by MN law) 
Combination Angling including 2 Trout/Salmon Stamps, Individual Small Game including 
4LIEWERX�ERH�7XEXI�;EXIVJS[P�7XEQTW��ER�-RHMZMHYEP�(IIV�8EK��EVGLIV]��½VIEVQW�SV�QY^^PI-
loader) ($118.50 plus $6.50 surcharge “paid by hunters for the acquisition and development 
of wildlife lands”) 

$125 

    Ask for your walleye 
stamp validation on your angling 
license every year. 

Anglers support Minnesota’s walleye
$�YDOLGDWLRQ�LV�QRW�QHHGHG�WR�FDWFK�RU�NHHS�ZDOOH\HV�EXW�ÁRZV�LQWR� 
a dedicated account to support providing walleyes in various lakes 
throughout Minnesota. 
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$5 

4055,:6;(�+,7(9;4,5;�6-�5(;<9(3�9,:6<9*,: 

Just $5 

(For an additional $0.75 a pictorial s amp can be mailed to you. Request code 135.) 
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Fishing Licenses
 

The Electronic Licensing System (ELS) issues licenses and stamp valida­
tion through 1,600 license agent locations statewide. Agents charge an issuing 
fee for each license and stamp sold. 

Instant Licenses (except lifetime) and stamp validations are also available 
online or by telephone at 1-888-665-4236. An additional convenience fee is 
added for sales via the web site or telephone (see website for details). 

Lifetime License 
First time purchase of lifetime license is only available at DNR License 
Center in St. Paul. Application forms are available online or through the DNR 
Information Center 1-888-646-6367. A lifetime license holder who is required 
by law to have a game and fish license, must authorize their participation 
by obtaining an annual license each year the lifetime license is used. These 
annual licenses are issued at no fee. 

Conservation Licenses 
• Conservation Licenses are available only to residents of Minnesota. 
• Daily and possession limits are half of what can be taken with a standard angling 


license. Fractions are rounded down to next whole number (see page 37 for list). 

People bowfishing, spearing, or using other approved harvest methods under a 

Conservation License are limited to ½ of the daily and possession limit for that 

method.
 

• Sturgeon harvest tag may not be used with a Conservation License. 

Trout and Salmon Stamp 

2013 Trout Stamp.Artist: Zillgitt 

Trout and salmon stamp validations are printed 
on the ELS license. This is the only verification 
needed to prove purchase of the trout and salmon 
stamp. Purchasers may request the actual pictorial 
stamp for an additional $0.75. 

Except as noted, anglers need a trout and salm­
on stamp validation and a fishing or sports license 
when fishing in designated trout streams, designat­
ed trout lakes, Lake Superior, or when possessing trout on waters that are not 
designated trout water. All trout and salmon in possession require a trout and 
salmon validation, unless received as a gift. Trout and salmon stamps are not 
required for persons less than 19 years old, adults who are 65 and older, peo­
ple fishing with a 24-hour or 72-hour license, or people who are exempt from 
fishing license requirements or who receive a fishing license at no charge. 

Walleye Stamp 

 2013 Walleye Stamp.Artist: Markell 

• Purchase of a walleye stamp is voluntary; it is not 

needed for fishing.
 

• Revenues from the sale of a walleye stamp will be 

used for walleye stocking and related activities.
 

• Walleye stamp validations are printed on the ELS 

license. Purchasers may request the actual pictorial 

stamp for an additional $0.75. 
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License Requirements 
All people 16 years and older need a license unless otherwise noted. 

To purchase a noncommercial game or fish license, nonresidents and 
residents must have their social security number on file with DNR or must 
provide it. 

Residents 
• To qualify as a resident, a person must maintain a legal residence in 


Minnesota for at least 60 consecutive days before purchasing a license. In 

addition, residents 21 or older must provide a current Minnesota Driver's 

License or ID card, unless exempt under the Religious Freedom Act.
 

• A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident is 

considered a resident.
 

• All residents age 15 and younger are allowed to take their own limit of fish 
without purchasing a license. 

• Residents age 16 through 64 must have a dark house spearing license and 
an angling license to spear. Residents age 65 years old and older are exempt 
from the dark house spearing license, but must have an angling license to 
spear. 

Nonresidents 
All nonresidents age 16 and older are required to have an appropriate fish­

ing license while angling. Non res i dents under age 16 do not need a license if 
the par ent or guard ian is li censed. Children of an adult who has a Min ne so ta 
nonresident family license may possess their own limit of fish. However, if the 
adult has an in di vid u al license, the child’s fish are in clud ed in the adult’s limit. 
Nonresidents under age 16 may pur chase a nonresident youth license and pos­
sess their own limit of fish. 

Nonresident Students and Military 
• A person in the U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed or training in the state 


may purchase a resident fishing license (must show proof).
 
• A nonresident that is a full-time student at an educational institution in the 


state and resides in the state during the school year may obtain a resident 

license to take fish with proof of student status.
 

• The spouse of a resident who is on active military duty may obtain a 

resident fishing license.
 

Refund Policy 
Check your license for accuracy prior to leaving the license agent location. 

All sales are final. Refunds can only be issued if: 
• the licensee dies before the opening of the licensed season; 
• the licensee is unable to participate in the licensed activity because the 

licensee is called to active military duty or military leave is cancelled during 
the entire open season of the licensed activity; 

• or the licensee purchased two licenses for the same license season in error. 

10 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR) 



  

Fishing Licenses
 

License Revocation 
Fishing privileges may be revoked for one year for two or more convictions 

of fishing violations in three years. Violations of fishing laws in other states may 
affect your ability to fish in Minnesota. 

Under the gross over-limits penalty provisions, privileges can be revoked for 
three or five years, depending on the number of fish involved in the violation. 

 new Failure to pay fines or to appear in court on a violation can result in revoca­
tion of all game and fish licenses until the fines are paid. 

Exempt from License Requirement 
• Minnesota residents in the U.S. Military who are stationed outside the state 


and home on leave (must carry leave or furlough papers).
 
• In-patients of a U.S. Veterans Administration hospital, residents of a 

Minnesota licensed nursing or boarding care home, and residents of a licensed 
board and lodging facility with written consent from the institution. 

• Residents who have served in federal active service outside the U.S. during the 
preceding 24 months and are now discharged from overseas duty. (Discharge 
papers must be in possession while fishing or transporting fish.) 

• 

new  

A resident may take fish by angling (in open water) without an angling license 
when shore fishing or wading on state-owned land within a state park. When 
angling from a boat or float or on the ice, this exemption applies only to those 
water bodies completely encompassed within the statutory boundary of the 
state park. The exemption from an angling license does not apply to waters 
where a trout stamp is required. 

• Residents 90 years and older in age. 
• Residents under age 16 may net cisco (tullibee) and whitefish for personal use. 
• Residents receiving disability benefits under the Federal Railroad Retirement 


Act or U.S. Postal Service. Person must carry proof of disability retirement 

benefits.
 

Licenses Issued without a Fee (agents may charge an issuing fee) 
• Permanent angling license will be issued to any Minnesota resident over age 


16 who is developmentally disabled or a veteran with a 100 percent service-

connected disability. Available only from the DNR License Center. 


• Annual angling and/or spearing license may be issued to Minnesota residents 
who are legally blind, receiving SSI or SSDI, receiving worker’s compensation 
for total and permanent disability, a ward of the Commissioner of Human 
Services, or a resident of a state institution that has an approved application. 
SSI or SSDI benefit verification is available online at www.socialsecurity.gov, 
by calling 1-800-772-1213 or at your local Social Security office. Must have 
current letter from Social Security stating disability or SSI benefits. 

• Foreign exchange students may receive a free annual angling license with 

proof of their foreign exchange student status. 


An unlicensed person may assist a disabled angler who has a disability license, 
provided that only the number of lawful lines are in use. 

mndnr.gov 11 



  

  

 
 

2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Note: All persons required to have a license (including stamp validations)
must have it in their possession while fishing and while traveling from an area 
where they fished. 

GEN ER AL REGULATIONS 

The following reg u la tions apply to all Minnesota waters unless noted  

otherwise in this booklet. 

Hooks, Lures and Tackle Configurations 
Single Tackle Configuration.  Anglers may use up to three single or multiple-
pronged (example - treble) hooks on a line used as a single tackle configuration 
attached to the end of a fishing line (Examples – crawler harness, quick-strike 
rig. See pictures on page 17).  Note: a single tackle configuration cannot be 
used on designated trout streams and lakes. 

-	 The total length of the single tackle configuration from the first hook to the 
last hook must be nine inches or less. 

-	 Anglers may use live, artificial, preserved, or dead bait that is lawful to use 
(see page 15). 

-	 This single tackle configuration is not considered an artificial fly or lure/ 
bait, and no additional hooks may be used. Adding a bead, blade, or 
spinner does not make it into an artificial lure/bait. 

• Artificial Lure/Bait.	 A single artificial lure/bait may contain more than one 
hook (Example - a crankbait). 
-	 An angler may have one additional single or multiple hook on a line as 

part of the artificial lure/bait as long as it is within three inches of the 
artificial lure/bait (Example - a stinger hook (often a treble hook) can be 
trailed behind a jig). 

-	 Note: An extra single or multiple hook is not allowed on artificial lures/ 
baits used on designated trout streams and lakes. 

• Artificial Fly.	 Three artificial flies may be used when angling for trout, 
crappie, sunfish, and rock bass. 

• Designated Trout Streams and Lakes.	 Other than 3 artificial flies or a 
single artificial lure/bait, a tackle configuration with more than one single 
hook is not allowed on designated trout streams and lakes. Note: See special 
tackle restrictions for Lake Superior and Its Tributaries - page 40. 

Angling Methods 
• Anglers may use only one line during the open water season and two 


through the ice (other than on designated trout lakes and streams) unless 

otherwise noted.
 

• You may not intentionally fish for any species during its closed season. 
• Angling with an unattended line, a setline, or a trotline is unlawful. 
• Using an artificial light to lure or attract fish is unlawful. Exception: While 

angling, a person may affix to the end of a fishing line a lighted artificial bait 
with hooks attached. Any battery that is used in lighted fishing lures must 
not contain mercury. 
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General Regulations
 

• A party is defined as a group of two or more persons: 
– angling from a single watercraft; or 
– if not in a watercraft, maintaining unaided visual and vocal contact with 

each other. 
• The total number of fish possessed by the party may not exceed 	the 


combined limits of the numbers of the party.
 
• Each party member may transport only an individual limit of fish. 
• The use of ex plo sives, firearms, chemicals (not in clud ing fish scents), spring 

devices, or electricity for taking fish is unlawful. 
• It is unlawful to take a fish by snagging or noodling (taking fish by hand). 

Possessing Fish 
• Daily and pos ses sion limits are the same unless otherwise noted. Fish are 


in an angler’s pos ses sion whether on hand, in cold storage, in transport, or 

elsewhere.
 

• Once a daily or possession limit of fish has been reached, no culling or live 

well sorting is allowed. No culling is allowed on Mille Lacs or Wisconsin 

border waters (see pages 41 and 72-74). 


• While on or fishing waters with size restrictions it is illegal to possess any fish 
outside legal length limits. 

• When fish are consumed on the ice or on a watercraft that is docked or moored 
to shore, the carcass of a fish with size limits (other than statewide size limits) 
must be retained in such a way that the carcass may be readily unpacked, 
unwrapped, and separated so that the carcass may be examined, measured, 
and counted to ensure compliance with size restrictions for that day. The fish 
carcasses must be retained with head, dorsal fin, and tail intact, and the carcass 
will be counted and included in a person's daily possession limit. 

• Depositing fish entrails or fish parts into public waters or onto lake or stream 

shores is prohibited.
 

• If legally taken from a connected water or having been packaged by a licensed 
fish packer, a person who is in transit and taking the most direct route back 
to their lodging or docking, and not fishing, may possess fish outside of or in 
excess of the limits for that water body. 

• When on or fishing experimental, special, border or other waters with size 

restrictions different from statewide regulations, all fish for which the size 

restriction applies must have their heads, tails, fins, and skin intact and be 

measurable except as follows:
 
(1) Fish that are legally taken on that water body may be used in the 

preparation of a meal while docked or moored to shore or while on the 
ice of that waterbody. Fish used for a meal still count towards the daily 
possession limit. Fillets may be possessed only if the person is in the act of 
preparing a meal or have been packaged by a licensed fish packer. 

(2) On the shore or ice of experimental and special management waters a 
person may prepare fish for a meal that have been packaged by a licensed 
fish packer. The total number of fish in possession may not exceed the 
statewide possession limit. 
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• Possessing or transporting white perch, ruffe, round goby, black carp, bighead 
carp, grass carp, or silver carp is unlawful, except when taking them to the 
DNR. If you catch a black, bighead, grass, or silver carp, you must report it to 
the DNR within seven days. A picture or specimen is desired when reporting 
your catch to the DNR. 

Transporting Fish 

One of the best ways 
to transport your 
fish so they can be 
counted and iden ti­
fied is in clear plastic
freezer bags. 

Fillets and dressed 
fish must show at 
least a 1-square-inch 
patch of skin with 
scales so fish species
can be identified.

• Except while on the body of water where taken, live fish 
may not be transported in a quantity of water sufficient 
to keep them alive unless the fish are bait minnows or 
the person is authorized to do so by the DNR. 

• Transport of fish for display in a home aquarium is 	
legal under the following conditions: 

– Game fish purchased from an authorized licensee 
transported with the necessary documents (such as 
a sales receipt). 

– Anglers 16 or under may transport legally caught 
largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, yellow perch, 	
rock bass, black crappie, white crappie, bluegill, 	
pumpkinseed, green sunfish, orangespotted sunfish, 
and black, yellow, and brown bullhead. No more 

 
than four of each species may be transported at any one time, and any 
individual fish can be no longer than 10 inches. At no time may water 
from any lake or stream be transported. (See page 19 or DNR Web site). 

• Fish pre pared for transportation, ship ment, or storage are defined as follows: 
Undressed fish must have heads, tails, fins, and skin intact. Entrails, gills, 

and scales may be removed. 
Dressed fish may have heads and scales or skin re moved, in addition to gills 

and entrails. 
Fillets are fish flesh, excluding cheeks, that have been re moved from a fish. 

Scales or skin may be removed or intact. A fish may not be reduced to 
more than two fillets. 

• Fish must be packaged or transported in such a way that they can be readily 
unwrapped, separated, identified, and counted. 

• 

new 

Muskellunge, sturgeon, catfish, salmon, splake, brook trout, brown trout, and 
rainbow trout, which have statewide length limits, must be transported with 
head and tail intact so the fish can be measured. Northern pike and walleye 
may be dressed or filleted except when on experimental, special, border 
waters, or other waters that differ from statewide length limits.  See Possessing 
Fish section on page 13. 

• All dressed fish and fillets must have a 1-square-inch patch of skin with scales 
intact from a portion of the body oth er than the bel ly. Bullhead, sunfish, and 
crappie may be com plete ly  filleted and skinned. 

• Dressed sauger count as walleye unless packaged by a licensed fish packer. 
• Stocking live fish or fish eggs or trans fer ring fish or fish eggs from one body of 

water to another is pro hib it ed without a DNR permit. 
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new 

Storage and shipments 
• Fish can be prepared, packed, and labeled by a licensed fish packer. 
• A person who stores fish for another must plainly mark the package, in ink, with 

the name, address, and fishing license number (or DNR number or transaction 
number) of the owner, and the number of fish by species in the package. 

• Licensed anglers may make three shipments of fish per year. A permit issued by 
a conservation officer is required for each shipment. A shipment cannot contain 
more than a possession limit of one species. 

Bait 
• Using whole or parts of game fish, goldfish, or carp for bait is unlawful. 
• Suckers larger than 12" may only be transported alive in containers that are 

not a livewell or other part of a boat and if bought from a licensed aquaculture 
facility. A person must have valid receipt from the facility on their person. 

• Live bullheads, regardless of size, may not be transported north of State 
Highway 210, except under a commercial license. 

• Up to 100 bullheads, 7-10 inches in length, may be taken and possessed for use 
as live bait. Legal methods of taking include dip net, angling or minnow seines. 
Live bullheads must be transported in a container with a locking lid to prevent 
escape. These bullheads are considered part of the possession limits on pages 
35, 68-73, and 75-76. Bullheads less than 7 inches in length are considered 
minnows and fall under those regulations. 

• Bullheads, suckers, mooneyes, goldeyes, and sheepshead (freshwater drum) 
may be caught by hook and line from designated infested rivers for personal use 
as bait while on that same river. The bait may not be transported live from or 
off the river where taken as bait.  Anglers must heed all other restrictions and 
requirements established for these species. 

• Imported dead bait* can only be used if it is: (1) from water bodies with 
negative fish health certification; or (2) preserved under a Minnesota DNR 
bait preservation permit. All imported dead bait must be labeled, and the 
labeling must be retained on the person when angling until the bait is gone. 
*Bait includes fish (examples: smelt or cisco), aquatic worms, amphibians, 
invertebrates, and insects that are lawful to use for bait. 

• Dead bait originating in MN harvested under a commercial minnow license 
(smelt, cisco, and VHS susceptibles species** only) must also be labeled. 
Labeling must be retained on the person when angling until the bait is gone. 
For specific regulations pertaining to Lake Superior, see page 41. For additional 
information about dead bait, please contact DNR Information Center at 651­
296-6157. ** Visit www.focusonfishhealth.org to learn more about VHS, 
including which species are susceptible to VHS. 

• Only preserved rainbow smelt and cisco may be used as bait, unless harvested, 
packaged, and labeled under a commercial license from certified VHS negative 
waterbody. Freezing is not a preservation method. Preservation can only be 
done by permit from the DNR. All labeling from the preserved smelt and cisco 
must be carried on the person when angling until all that preserved bait is gone. 
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• new  Except when fishing through the ice, if keeping bait, you must exchange 
water in bait buckets with tap or bottled water prior to leaving any waterbody 
to prevent the spread of aquatic invasive species or fish disease. Note: the 
exception for ice fishing does not apply when fishing on VHS-infested waters. 

• new  Importing live minnows into Minnesota for use as bait is unlawful. 	For 
additional information about taking bait see page 86. 

Other 
• A permit is required for transplanting aquatic plants, applying chemicals, and 

some types of cutting to control veg e ta tion in any public waters. (See page 74 
for more information.) 

• Dragging boat anchors or other weights with a motor-propelled boat through 
aquatic vegetation is unlawful. 

• Littering of any materials, including parts of fish or other animals, and de pos­
it ing rubbish, poisonous sub stanc es, or chemicals harmful to aquatic life 
into public waters, onto ice, or lake or stream shores is illegal. “Chumming” 

 new (depositing fish parts or other material into public waters to attract fish) is 
unlawful. Fish line and various packaging materials can be harmful to wild­
life. 

• Marking or tagging fish and then releasing them without a DNR permit is 

un law ful. 


• A DNR permit is required for some fishing contests. Visit mndnr.gov/fishing/ 
tournaments online for more information and to get costs for a permit. 

• A permit from the county sheriff is required for most organized events on the 
water or ice, including fishing contests. 

• Buying or selling game fish, whitefish, or cisco is unlawful. The  excep tions 
are smelt taken from Lake Superior and fish obtained under a commercial, 
private hatchery, or aquatic farm license. 

• Some fish spawning areas are posted to prohibit motorized boat travel. 
Landowners or leaseholders adjacent to these areas may use the shortest route 
when traveling to and from their property, provided they operate their boat at 
no more than 5 mph. 

• Notice to fall anglers: Lakes classified as Waterfowl Feeding and Resting 
Areas and Wildlife Management Areas are closed to motorboats as 
posted during the fall waterfowl hunting season. Refer to the most 
current hunt ing regulations for a complete list of these lakes. Please give 
resting flocks of birds and hunting decoys a wide berth when boating and 
fishing. 

• Some ponds and lakes are licensed for private aquaculture use. Trespassing to 
gain access to these waters may be in violation of fishing laws in addition to 
trespassing laws. 

• Any fish that is caught and will not be utilized must be immediately returned 
alive back into the water. A person cannot wantonly waste a fish that is 
caught by leaving it or any usable portion on the ice, thrown up on the 
bank, or intentionally killing it and returning it back into the water unless 
authorized. 
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• Lawfully taken fish may be transferred as a gift if accompanied by a receipt 
containing: name and address of the owner, name and address of recipient, 
date of transfer, description of the gift, and license number (DNR number or 
transaction number) under which the fish was taken. The receipt must remain 
with the gift. The recipient cannot possess more than the statewide possession 
limit. 

• Drain plugs must be removed from bilges and livewells at the water access. 
Drain plugs must be out and all other water draining devices must remain 
open while trailering or transporting boats. 

Lead Tackle 

 
The tackle industry, recognizing a growing awareness and  
concern about lead in the environment, has begun to 
create tungsten, glass, copper, steel, tin, bismuth, or plastic 
sinkers. Consider using non-lead tackle when you go fishing. 

Here’s what you can do to help: 
• Ask local sporting good stores to stock nonlead fishing tackle. 
• Spread the word by telling other anglers about the problem. 

 
• Dispose of old lead sinkers and jigs properly by locating a drop-off 

location. 

SINGLE 
9" maximum distance 

TACKLE CONFIGURATION -Example 

ARTIFICIAL LURE/BAITS -Examples 

©MNDNR 
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Aquatic invasive species are threatening Minnesota waters. These 
nonnative species harm fish populations, water quality, and water 
recreation, including fishing. The aquatic invasive species below have 
become established or have been reported in some Minnesota waters (see 
pages 20-33). 

You can help prevent the introduction and spread of invasive species 
by following both the required and recommended actions listed on 
page 19 before moving equipment, bait, and boats from one waterbody to 
another. 

Report and provide samples of aquatic invasive species to DNR 

fisheries offices or the Invasive Species Program if found in  

inland waters. 

NEW ZEALAND 

MUDSNAIL 

 

Identification: Up to 
1⁄5" long, light to dark 

brown, cone-shaped shell, 

5-6 whorls 

EUR ASIAN 

WATERMILFOIL 

 Identification: 12 to 21 

leaflet pairs per leaf 

 

ROUND GOBY 

 

 

Identification: Single 

scallop-shaped pelvic fin, 

fish is usually 3"-6" long 

RUFFE 

Identification: Spots 

between rays of dorsal fin, 

no gap between fins 
Spots 

No gap 

ZEBRA & QUAGGA 

MUSSEL 

Identification: Only 

freshwater mollusks  

that attach to 

objects 

with 

byssal 

threads 

(up to 1½") 

BIGHEAD & SILVER CARP 

Identification: Eye 

located at lower part of 

head below the mouth; 

adults can weigh 60 

pounds or more; Silver can 

jump over 10 ft. high 

 SPINY WATER FLEA 

 Identification: Long tail, white with 

black spots, looks like gelatinous globs 

on fishing line, small (up to 3⁄8") 

FAUCET SNAIL 

Identification: 

Up to ½" long, light 

brown to black, 

4-5 whorls 
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Aquatic Invasive Species
 

Required Actions — It’s the law!
 

Clean visible aquatic plants, zebra mussels, and other 
prohibited invasive species* off watercraft, trailers, 
and equipment such as fishing poles and lures before 
leaving any water access. It is illegal to transport them 
once you leave the water access. 

Drain water from boat, livewell, bilge, motor, ballast 
tank, and other boating equipment holding water 
before leaving any water access. Drain plugs must be 
removed from bilges and livewells at the water access. 
Drain plugs and all other water draining devices must 
remain open while trailering or transporting boats. 
Portable bait containers must be drained when leaving 
all waters. If you want to keep your live bait when 
leaving a lake or river, you must replace water in bait 
containers with tap or bottled water. 

Dispose of unwanted bait, including minnows, leeches 
and worms, in the trash. It is illegal to release bait 
into a waterbody, release worms on the ground, and 
to release aquatic animals from one waterbody into 
another. 

Recommended Actions — Protect our Waters 
Spray, rinse, or dry boats and recreational equipment before
 
transporting to another water body, especially after leaving zebra 

mussel and spiny waterflea infested waters. 

Do one or more of these actions:

 • rinse with very hot tap water;
 • spray with high-pressure;
 • dry for at least 5 days. 

*Prohibited Invasive Species: Several species are designated including 

silver and bighead carp, Eurasian watermilfoil, faucet snail, New Zealand 

mudsnail, round goby, ruffe and zebra mussel. A complete list of prohibited 

invasive species can be found at mndnr.gov/invasives or by calling the DNR 

information line. 
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Infested Waters 
A list of Minnesota’s designated infested waters as of March 1, 2013 is 

arranged alphabetically by the name of the waterbody, on pages 20 through 
33. Additional waters may be designated throughout the year as new infes­
tations are discovered—look for orange Invasive Species Alert signs at the 
access and check the DNR Web site for these updates. Minnesota lakes, 
rivers, and wetlands, which are designated as infested waters, contain spe­
cific invasive species that have a risk of being spread. Regulations restrict­
ing bait harvest and transport of water apply at these waters. 

DESIGNATED WATERBODY (COUNTY) AQUATIC INVASIVE SPE-
CIES 
A 
ALEXANDER (Morrison) Eurasian watermilfoil 

new  ALICE (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
ALVIN (Douglas) Zebra mussel 

new  ANDERSON’S MARSH (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
ANN (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
ARBOR NORTH located in the NW 1/4 of the SW 1/4 of S23, T119N, 

 R22W (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 
ARBOR SOUTH located in the south 1/2 of the SW 1/4 of S23, T119N, 

R22W (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
ARBOR WEST located in the SW 1/4 of S23, T119N, R22W DOW # 27­

1130 (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
ARROWHEAD (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
ASH RIVER, downstream of the northern section line of Section 8, Township 

68 North, Range 19 West (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea 
AUBURN (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
AUGUSTA (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
B 
BALD EAGLE (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 

new  BALLANTYNE (Blue Earth) Eurasian watermilfoil 
BASS (Cass) Zebra mussel 
BASS (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
BASS (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 
BASS [RAY] located in T135N, R29W, Sec 9, 10 (Cass) Zebra mussel 
BAUDETTE RIVER from Highway 11 downstream to the Rainy River (Lake 

of the Woods) Spiny waterflea 
BAVARIA (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
BAY  (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil 
BEAVER (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
BEEBE (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
BIG (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil 
BIG FORK RIVER from the public water access on Highway 11 down­

stream to the Rainy River (Koochiching) Spiny waterflea 
BIG MARINE (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
BIG SANDY  (Aitkin) Flowering rush 
BIRCH (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
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BISHOP CREEK between Round and Gull lakes located in section 35, Town­
ship 135N, Range 29W (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 

BLACK RIVER the south branch downstream of Highway 11 and the west 
branch downstream of Highway 147 (Koochiching) Spiny waterflea 

BONE (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
BOOM (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 

 new BRECKENRIDGE (Wilkin) Zebra mussel 
BROPHY (Douglas) Zebra mussel 
BROWNIE (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
BRYANT (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new BUCK (Becker) Flowering rush, Zebra mussel 
BUFFALO (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
BURANDT (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
BURNTSIDE (St. Louis) Spiny Waterflea 
BURNTSIDE RIVER, between Burntside Lake and Shagawa Lake (St. 

Louis) Spiny Waterflea 
BUSH (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
C 
CALHOUN (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CALHOUN (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new CAMP (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CAMP GALILEE (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CANNON (Rice) Flowering rush 
CANNON RIVER from Lower Sakatah to the confluence with the Straight 

River (Goodhue and Rice) Flowering rush 
CARIBOU in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area, just west of Pine Lake 

(Cook) Spiny waterflea 
 new CARLOS (Douglas) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 

CAROLINE (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CATE'S (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CEDAR (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new CEDAR (McLeod) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CEDAR (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CEDAR (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CENAIKO (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CENTERVILLE (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CHARLEY (Ramsey) Zebra mussel 
CHISAGO (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CHRISTMAS (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CHUB (Carlton) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CIRCLE (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new CLEAR (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
CLEAR (Waseca) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CLEAR (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CLEARWATER (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CLEARWATER (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CLEARWATER RIVER downstream of Clearwater Lake (Wright) Eurasian 

watermilfoil 
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CLOQUET RIVER, from Island Lake to the St. Louis River (St. Louis) 
Spiny waterflea 

COBBLESTONE (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 
COLBY (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
COON (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil 
COWDRY (Douglas) Zebra mussel 

 new COUNTY DITCHES connected to designated infested waters in Jackson 
County (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 

CRANE (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea 
CROOKED (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CROSS (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CROW WING RIVER downstream of the confluence with the Long Prairie 

River to the Mississippi River (Cass and Morrison) Zebra mussel 
CROW WING RIVER  

 
from Highway 87 in Hubbard County downstream to 

the confluence with the Mississippi River (Cass, Hubbard, Morrison, Todd, 
and Wadena) Faucet snail 

CRYSTAL (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 
CRYSTAL (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 
CURFMAN (Becker) Flowering rush 

 new CUT FOOT SIOUX (Itasca) Faucet snail, Zebra mussel 
D 
DARLING (Douglas) Zebra mussel 

 new DAYTON HOLLOW RESERVOIR (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 
DEAD RIVER (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea 
DEER (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
DEMONTREVILLE (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
DETROIT (Becker) Flowering rush 
DEVIL TRACK (Cook) Spiny waterflea 
DUTCH (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
E 
EAGLE (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
EAGLE (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
EAGLE (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil 
EARLEY (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 
EAST SYLVIA was Twin (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
EAST JEFFERSON (LeSueuer) Eurasian watermilfoil 
EAST TWIN �6W��/RXLV��6SLQ\�ZDWHUÀHD 
EDINA MILL POND (Hennepin) Zebra mussel 

 new EGG (Itasca) Faucet snail, Zebra mussel 
ELLEN (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil 
ELMO (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new EMILY (Pope) Zebra mussel 
EMMA (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
F 
FIREMEN’S (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 FIRST CROW WING (Hubbard) Faucet snail 
 new FIRST RIVER (Itasca) Faucet snail, Zebra mussel 

FISH (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil 
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FISH (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 
FISH (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
FISH (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 
FISH (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea 
FISH (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 
FLORIDA (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil 
FLOUR (Cook) Spiny waterflea 

 FOREST (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 
 FOREST (Washington) Flowering rush 

FOX (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil 
FRENCH (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil 
FRENCH (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
G 
GALPIN (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
GENEVA (Douglas) Zebra mussel 
GEORGE (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil 
GEORGE (Olmstead) Eurasian watermilfoil 
GERMAN (LeSueuer) Eurasian watermilfoil 
GERVAIS (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 

new   GILBERT PIT (Ore-be-gone) (St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 
GILCHRIST (Pope) Eurasian watermilfoil 
GLEASON (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 

new GOODVIEW GRAVEL PIT (Winona) Eurasian watermilfoil 
GOOSE (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
GRANITE (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 GRAY'S BAY OUTLET WETLAND (Hennepin) Zebra mussel 
GREEN (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil 
GREEN (Isanti) Eurasian watermilfoil 
GREEN (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil 
GREEN'S (Cass) Zebra mussel 
GREENWOOD (Cook) Spiny waterflea 

new GROVERS (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
GULL (Cass) Zebra mussel 
GULL RIVER (Cass) Zebra mussel 
GUNFLINT (Cook) Spiny waterflea 
H 
HALF-MOON (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
HARRIET (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 HART (Itasca) Flowering rush 
 HIAWATHA (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 

HOLLAND (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 
HOLMAN (Itasca) Flowering rush 
HOOPER CREEK downstream of State Highway 172 (Lake of the Woods) 

Spiny waterflea 
HORSESHOE (St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil 

new HORSESHOE (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
HOWARD (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
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I 
ICE (Itasca) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new IDA (Douglas) Zebra mussel 
 new ILLINOIS (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 

INDEPENDENCE (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
 new INDIAN (Nobles) Bighead carp and silver carp 

INDIAN (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
IRENE (Douglas) Zebra mussel 
ISLAND (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
ISLAND (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea 
J 

 new JANE (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
JESSIE (Douglas) Zebra mussel 
JOHN (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
JOHNSON CREEK from the Rainy River upstream to the first road crossing 

(Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea 
 new JOSEPHINE (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
 new JUDICIAL DITCH NO. 8 between Clear Lake and Loon Lake (Jackson) 

Bighead carp and silver carp 
 new JUDICIAL DITCH NO. 35 from Sec. 14, T 102, R 36 to Rush Lake (Jack­

son) Bighead carp and silver carp 
 new JUDICIAL DITCHES connected to designated infested waters in Jackson 

County (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
K 
KABETOGAMA (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea 
KELLER (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 
KELLER (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new KERBS (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 
KIMBALL (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil 
KLEZER'S POND (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
KNIFE (Kanabec) Eurasian watermilfoil 
KOHLMANS (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
L 
LAC LA CROIX (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea 
LAC LAVON (Dakota) Brittle naiad, Eurasian watermilfoil 

 LAKE OF THE ISLES (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LAKE OF THE WOODS (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea 
LAKEWOOD CEMETERY (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LANGTON (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new LE HOMME DIEU (Douglas) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 
LEECH (Cass) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LEECH LAKE RIVER between Mud Lake and Miss. River (Cass) Faucet 

snail 
LIBBS (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 
LITTLE BIRCH (Todd) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new  LITTLE CUT FOOT (Itasca) Faucet snail, Zebra mussel 
LITTLE ELK (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LITTLE FORK RIVER from100 feet upstream of Highway 11 downstream 
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to the Rainy River (Koochiching) Spiny waterflea 
LITTLE JOHN (Cook) Spiny waterflea 
LITTLE LONG (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LITTLE MARY (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new LITTLE MCDONALD (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 
LITTLE MUD (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LITTLE PELICAN (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 
LITTLE RABBIT (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
LITTLE ROCK (Benton) Zebra mussel 
LITTLE ROCK LAKE CHANNEL (Benton) Zebra mussel 

 new  LITTLE SIOUX RIVER AND ITS TRIBUTARIES (Jackson) Bighead carp 
and silver carp 

 new LITTLE SPIRIT (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
LITTLE VERMILION (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea 

 LITTLE WAVERLY (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
 new LITTLE WINNIBIGOSHISH (Itasca) Faucet snail, Zebra mussel 

LIZZIE (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 
LOCKE (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LOEB (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LONG (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LONG (Isanti) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LONG located in S30 & 31, T30, R20 (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LONG located in S5 & 32, T29, R20 (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LONG located in S17, 20 & 21, T30, R21 (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LONG (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LONG PRAIRIE RIVER (Douglas) Zebra mussel 

 new LOON (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
LOON (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea 

 new LOON CREEK between Loon Lake to Spirit Lake (Jackson) Bighead carp 
and silver carp 

LOTTIE (Taylor) (Douglas) Zebra mussel 
LOTUS (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LOUISE MINE PIT (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LOVE (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
LOWER MISSION (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil 
LOWER PRIOR (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 
LOWER TWIN (Wadena) Faucet snail 

 LUCY (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
 LURA (Blue Earth) Eurasian watermilfoil 

M 
MADISON (Blue Earth) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 MANUELLA (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil 
MAPLE (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 MARGARET (Cass) Zebra mussel 
MARION (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 
MARSHAN (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 MARY (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
MAZASKA (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil 
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MCCARRON (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
MCCOLL (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new MCCORMACK (St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil 
MCFARLAND (Cook) Spiny waterflea 

 MCKINNEY (Itasca) Eurasian watermilfoil 
MCMAHON (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil 
MEADOWBROOK (Hennepin) Zebra mussel 
MEDICINE (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 MELISSA (Becker) Flowering rush 
MIDDLE JEFFERSON (LeSueuer) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 MILL (Becker) Flowering rush 
 new MILL POND (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 

MILLE LACS (Mille Lacs) Eurasian watermilfoil, Spiny waterflea, Zebra 
mussel 

MILLE LACS TRIBUTARIES from their mouth upstream to the first public 
road (Aitkin, Crow Wing, and Mille Lacs) Eurasian watermilfoil, Spiny 
waterflea, Zebra mussel 

MILLER (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
 
MILLER CREEK downstream of State Highway 172 (Lake of the Woods) 


Spiny waterflea 
 new MILTONA (Douglas) Zebra mussel 

MINK (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
MINNEHAHA CREEK (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Flowering rush, 

Zebra mussel 
MINNEHAHA MARSH (Hennepin) Zebra mussel 
MINNETONKA (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Flowering rush, Zebra 

mussel 
MINNEWASHTA (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new MINNEWASKA (Pope) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 
MINNIE-BELLE (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new MISSISSIPPI RIVER from Knutson Dam to the confluence with the White 
Oak Lake Branch (Cass and Itasca) Faucet snail; from the Knutson Dam 
downstream to Little Winnibigoshish Lake (Beltrami, Cass, Itasca) Zebra 
mussel 

 new MISSISSIPPI RIVER downstream of Lock and Dam 2 (Dakota, Goodhue, 
Hennepin, Houston, Wabasha, Washington, and Winona) Bighead carp and 
silver carp 

 new  MISSISSIPPI RIVER from Lock and Dam 6 to the Iowa border (Houston 
and Winona) Faucet snail 

 
MISSISSIPPI RIVER downstream of St. Anthony Falls (Dakota, Goodhue, 

Hennepin, Houston, Ramsey, Wabasha, Washington, and Winona) Eurasian 
watermilfoil 

MISSISSIPPI RIVER from the mouth of the Pine River in Crow Wing 
County to the Minnesota-Iowa border (Anoka, Benton, Crow Wing, Dakota, 
Goodhue, Hennepin, Houston, Morrison, Ramsey, Sherburne, Sterns, 
Wabasha, Washington, Winona, and Wright) Zebra mussel 

MITCHELL (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
MITCHELL (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil 
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MUD (St. Louis) Zebra mussel 
MUD (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 MUSKRAT (Becker) Flowering rush 
N 
NAMAKAN (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
 

 NICCUM’S POND located in the NW 1/4 of the SW 1/4 of S10, T117N,
 
R24W (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 

NISSWA (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
NOKOMIS (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 
NORTH CENTER (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil 
NORTH FOWL (Cook) Spiny waterflea 
NORTH LINDSTROM (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil 
NORTH TWIN (Itasca) Eurasian watermilfoil, Flowering rush 
NORTH TWIN (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
NORTH UNION (Douglas) Zebra mussel 
NORWAY (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil 
O 
O’DOWD (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil 
OGECHIE (Mille Lacs) Zebra mussel 
OLSON (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 ONAMIA (Mille Lacs) Zebra mussel 
 new ORWELL RESERVOIR (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 

OSCAR (Douglas) Eurasian watermilfoil 
OSSAWINNAMAKEE (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 
OTTER (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil 
OTTER (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new  OTTER TAIL RIVER from the confluence of the Pelican River downstream 
to the Bois De Sioux River (Otter Tail and Wilkin) Zebra mussel 

 new OUTLET CREEK from Minnewaska to Emily (Pope) Zebra mussel 
OWASSO (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
P 
PARKER’S (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 PARLEY (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
 new PAUL (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 
 new  PEARL (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 

 PEAVEY (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 
 new PELICAN (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 

PELICAN (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 
PELICAN (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
PELICAN BROOK from the source at Ossawinnamakee Lake to the Pine 

River (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
 new  PELICAN RIVER from Bucks Mill Drive downstream to the Otter Tail River 

(Becker and Otter Tail counties) 
PELICAN RIVER from Detroit Lake to Muskrat Lake (Becker) Flowering 

rush 
PELTIER (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new PEPIN (Goodhue) Bighead carp and silver carp, Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra 
mussel 
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PHALEN (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
PICKERAL (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
PIERSON (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
PIGEON RIVER downstream of South Fowl Lake (Cook) Spiny waterflea 

 new PIGEON RIVER from the Pigeon Dam Lake's dam to Lake Winnibigoshish 
(Itasca) Faucet snail, Zebra mussel 

PIKE (St. Louis) Zebra mussel 
PINE (Cook) Spiny waterflea 
PINE RIVER from the mouth of Pelican Brook to the Mississippi River 

(Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
 PLEASANT (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 

 new PLUM (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
POKEGAMA (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil 
POND SIX (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
POND THREE located in the SE 1/4 of the NE 1/4 of S4, T28N, R22W 

(Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
POWDERHORN (Hennepin) Brazillian elodea, Eurasian watermilfoil 
POWERS (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
PRAIRIE (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 
PULASKI (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
Q 

 QUARRY (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 
R 

 new RABBITS (Itasca) Faucet snail, Zebra mussel 
 RAINY (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea 

RAINY RIVER, from Rainy Lake to Lake of the Woods (Koochiching and 
Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea 

RAMSEY (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
RAPID RIVER downstream of Highway 11 to Clementson Bay of the Rainy 

River (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea 
 new RAVEN (Itasca) Faucet snail, Zebra mussel 

 new RAVENS FLOWAGE (Itasca) Faucet snail, Zebra mussel 
RAY'S (LeSueuer) Eurasian watermilfoil 
REBECCA (Dakota) Zebra mussel 
REBECCA (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
REITZ (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
RICE (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
RICE (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 RILEY (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
 RIPLEY (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 RIPPLE RIVER between Bay Lake and Tame Fish Lake (Crow Wing) Eur­
asian watermilfoil 

ROCK (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
ROSE (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 
ROUND (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
ROUND (Hennepin) Brittle naiad, Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new ROUND (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
ROUND (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
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ROUND (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
ROY (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 

 ROYAL (Cook) Spiny waterflea 
ROYAL RIVER between Little John and North Fowl (Cook) Spiny waterflea 
RUM RIVER (Anoka, Isanti, Mille Lacs, and Sherburne) Zebra mussel 

 new RUSCH (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 
RUSH (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new RUSH 32-0031 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
 new RUSH 32-0063 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 

RUTH (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil 
S 
SAGANAGA (Cook) Spiny waterflea 
SALLIE (Becker) Flowering rush 
SAND (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 SAND POINT (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea 
SARAH (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SAUK (Todd) Eurasian watermilfoil, Flowering rush 
SAUK RIVER, from Juergens Lake to Mud Lake (Todd) Flowering rush 
SCHMIDT (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SCHULTZ (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SCHUTZ (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 SECOND CROW WING (Hubbard) Faucet snail 
SENSKY CREEK downstream of State Highway 172 (Lake of the Woods) 

Spiny waterflea 
SHAKOPEE (Mille Lacs) Zebra mussel 

 new SHALLOW POND 61-0112 (Pope) Zebra mussel 
 new SHAMINEAU (Morrison) Eurasian watermilfoil 

SHELL RIVER from Lower Twin downstream to the Crow Wing River 
(Hubbard and Wadena) Faucet Snail 

SILVER (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SILVER (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SILVER CREEK downstream of Highway 11 (Lake of the Woods) Spiny 

waterflea 
 new SKUNK (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 

SNAIL (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SNAKE RIVER between Lake Pokegama and Cross Lake (Pine) Eurasian 

watermilfoil 
SNELLING (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SOUTH CENTER (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SOUTH COON (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 SOUTH FOWL (Cook) Spiny waterflea 
SOUTH LINDSTROM (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SOUTH TWIN (Itasca) Flowering rush 
SPECTACLE (Isanti) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SPIDER (Cass) Zebra mussel 

 new SPIRIT (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
SPOON CREEK between Keller and Phalen lakes (Ramsey) Eurasian 

watermilfoil 
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ST. CROIX RIVER downstream of the Chisago and Washington County Line 
(Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 

ST. CROIX RIVER downstream of the St. Croix Boomsite Recreation Area 
at river mile 25.4 (Washington) Zebra mussel 

 new ST. CROIX RIVER downstream of the dam at Taylors Falls (Chisago and 
Washington counties) Bighead carp and silver carp 

ST. LOUIS RIVER downstream of the Cloquet River (Carlton and St. Louis) 
Spiny waterflea 

ST. LOUIS RIVER downstream of the Fond du Lac dam (St. Louis) New 
Zealand mud snail, Round goby, Ruffe, VHS, White perch 

ST. LOUIS RIVER downstream of the mouth of the White Pine River in St. 
Louis County (St. Louis) Zebra mussel 

STEIGER (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
STELLA (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil 
STONE (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
STONEY (Douglas) Zebra mussel 
STURGEON (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SUCKER (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 

 new SUGAR (Itasca) Faucet snail, Zebra mussel 
SUGAR (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SUNSET (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SUNSET POND (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SUPERIOR (Cook, Lake, and St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil, New Zealand 

mud snail, Round goby, Ruffe, Spiny waterflea, VHS, White perch, Zebra 
mussel 

SUPERIOR TRIBUTARIES (Cook, Lake, and St. Louis) Round goby, 
Ruffe, VHS, White perch 

SUSAN (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SWAN located in the NW 1/4 of the NW 1/4 of S4, T117N, R23W (Hennepin) 

Eurasian watermilfoil 
SWEDE (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
SWIFT DITCH downstream of Highway 12 (Roseau) Spiny waterflea 

 SYLVIA (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil 
T 
TANAGER (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 
TETONKA (LeSueuer) Flowering rush 

 new THIRD RIVER FLOWAGE (Itasca) Faucet snail, Zebra mussel 
 new  THIRD RIVER downstream of Highway 33 (Itasca) Faucet snail, Zebra mussel 

THOLE (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil 
THOMAS (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 
TOWN LINE (Cass) Eurasian watermilfoil 
TURTLE (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
TWIN LAKES (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 
U 
UNION (Polk) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new UNNAMED CREEK between Pearl and Loon (Jackson) Bighead carp and 
silver carp 

UNNAMED CREEK between Anderson’s Marsh and Pearl (Jackson) Big­
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head carp and silver carp 
 new UNNAMED CREEK between Rush Lake and Anderson’s Marsh (Jackson) 

Bighead carp and silver carp 
UNNAMED [quarry] (Steele) Eurasian watermilfoil 
UNNAMED GRAVEL PIT located in S 1/2 of S14, T41N, R21W (Pine) 

Eurasian watermilfoil 
 new UNNAMED GRAVEL PIT located in Section 16, T108, R20W (Steele) 

Eurasian watermilfoil 
UNNAMED LAKE (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
UNNAMED LAKE (Dakota) Flowering rush 
UNNAMED LAKE in Springbrook Nature Center (Anoka) Eurasian 

watermilfoil 
 new UNNAMED LAKE 32-0027 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
 new UNNAMED LAKE 32-0042 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
 new UNNAMED LAKE 32-0055 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
 new UNNAMED LAKE 32-0061 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
 new UNNAMED LAKE 32-0062 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
 new UNNAMED LAKE 32-0093 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 
 new UNNAMED LAKE 32-0096 (Jackson) Bighead carp and silver carp 

UNNAMED POND in the NW ¼ of S14, T117, R22 (Hennepin) Zebra mussel 
 UNNAMED POND in Valley Park (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 new  UNNAMED POND located in S14 and 15, T142, R39W (Becker) Faucet snail 
 new UNNAMED POND located in S15, T142, R39W (Becker) Faucet snail 
 new UNNAMED POND located in SE ¼ of SW ¼ of S14, T142, R39W (Becker) 

Faucet snail 
 new UNNAMED POND located in the SW ¼ of SW ¼ of S14, T142N, R39W 

(Becker) Faucet snail 
 new UNNAMED POND located in SW ¼ of SE ¼ of S15, T142, R39W (Becker) 

Faucet snail 
 new UNNAMED POND located in the NE ¼ of SE¼ of S15, T142N, R39W 

(Becker) Faucet snail 
 new UNNAMED POND located in the SE ¼ of the SW ¼ of S15, T142N, R39W 

(Becker) Faucet snail 
 new UNNAMED POND located in the NW 1/4 of NE ¼ of S22, T142N, R39W 

(Becker) Faucet snail 
 new UNNAMED POND located in the NE ¼ of NW ¼ of S22, T142N, R39W 

(Becker) Faucet snail 
 new UNNAMED POND 61-0511 (Pope) Zebra mussel 
 new UNNAMED RIVER from the outlet of Irene (21-0076) to Miltona (21-0083) 

(Douglas) Zebra mussel 
 new UNNAMED RIVER from the outlet of Lake Miltona (21-0083 to Ida (21­

0123) (Douglas) Zebra mussel 
UNNAMED WETLAND located in S33, T117N, R23W (Hennepin) Eurasian 

watermilfoil 
UNNAMED WETLAND located in S20, T115N, R22W (Scott) Eurasian 

watermilfoil 
UNNAMED WETLAND known as Heine Pond (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil 

 UNNAMED WETLAND located in the NE ¼ of the NE ¼ of S33, T135, 
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R27 (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
 UNNAMED WETLAND located in the NE ¼ of the SW ¼ of S3, T135, R27 

(Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
UNNAMED WETLAND located in the NE ¼ of the NE ¼ of S33, T31N, 

R22W (Anoka) Flowering rush 
UNNAMED WETLAND located in the NE ¼ of the NE ¼ of S33, T46, R30 

(Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
UNNAMED WETLAND located in the NE ¼ of the SE ¼ of S2, T46, R30  

(Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
UNNAMED WETLAND along Clearwater River (Stearns) Eurasian 

watermilfoil 
UNNAMED WETLAND in NE ¼ of S20 T117N, R21W (Hennepin) Zebra 

mussel 
UNNAMED WETLAND in the E 1/2 of S13, T117N R22W (Hennepin) 

Zebra mussel 
UNNAMED WETLAND in the NW ¼ of S19, T117N, R21W (Hennepin) 

Zebra mussel 
UNNAMED WETLAND in the SE ¼ of S11 and NE ¼ of S14 T117N R22W 

(Hennepin) Zebra mussel 
UNNAMED WETLAND in the SW ¼ of S20, T117N, R21W (Hennepin) 

Zebra mussel 
UNNAMED WETLAND located in the NE ¼ of the SW ¼ of S2, T46, R30 

(Crow Wing) Zebra mussel 
UNNAMED WETLAND NW ¼ of S18 T117N, R21W (Hennepin) Zebra 

mussel 
 new UNNAMED WETLAND located in S2, T143, R43W (Norman) Faucet snail 
 new UNNAMED WETLAND located in S20 and 21, T124N, R39W (Pope) Zebra 

mussel 
 new UNNAMED WETLAND located in S16, T124N, R39W (Pope) Zebra mussel 
 new UNNAMED WETLAND located in S20, T124N, R39W (Pope) Zebra mussel 
 new UNNAMED WETLAND Connected to Paul Lake (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel 

 new UNNAMED WETLAND located in Section 9 and 16, T124N, R39W (Pope) 
Zebra mussel 

 UPPER GULL (Cass) Zebra mussel 
UPPER MISSION (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil 
UPPER PRIOR (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 
UPPER SAKATAH (LeSueuer) Flowering rush 
UPPER TWIN (Hubbard) Faucet snail 
V 
VADNAIS (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel 

 VICTORIA (Douglas) Zebra mussel 
VIRGINIA (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
W 
WABASSO (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
WABAICA CREEK downstream of State Highway 172 (Lake of the Woods) 

Spiny waterflea 
 WACONIA (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 

WARROAD RIVER from State Highway 11 downstream of Highway 11 
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(Roseau) Spiny waterflea 
WASHBURN (Cass) Eurasian watermilfoil 
WASHINGTON (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil 
WASSERMAN (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
WAVERLY (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 

new WEAVER (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
WEIGAND (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
WELLS (Rice) Flowering rush 

new WEST FORK LITTLE SIOUX RIVER and its tributaries (Jackson) Big­
head carp and silver carp 

WEST  SYLVIA (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil 
WEST TWIN (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea 
WHALETAIL (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
WHITE BEAR (Ramsey and Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 
WHITE PINE RIVER (St. Louis) Zebra mussel 
WILMES (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil 

new WINNIBIGOSHISH (Cass) Faucet snail, Zebra mussel 
WINONA (Winona) Eurasian watermilfoil 
WINTER ROAD RIVER, DOWNSTREAM OF STATE HIGHWAY 172 

(Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea 
WIRTH (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
WOLF (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil 
WOLFE (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil 
Z 
ZUMBRA (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil 
ZUMBRO (Olmstead) Zebra mussel 
ZUMBRO RIVER downstream of Lake Zumbro (Wabasha) Zebra mussel 

Note: Lakes are listed in the county according to the public waters lists. Some 
lakes may be located in more than one county. 

A message from your 
Conservation Officers 

"I should have gotten a warning!" 
This is a statement that our Conservation Officers are hearing all too often by 


persons who have been issued citations for transporting their watercraft with the 

plug in place, transporting aquatic macrophytes, or transporting invasive species.
 

It is critical that all boaters and anglers Clean plants and invasive species off 

watercraft, Drain water from the boat and leave the drain plug open when trans­
porting, and Dispose of unwanted bait in the trash.
 

Each of us needs to take personal responsibility to prevent the 


spread of invasive species!
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

SEASONS AND LIMITS 


Inland Waters 
• All calendar dates are for 2013 unless noted otherwise. 
• Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. 
• Most species have experimental or special regulations on some waters. 

See pages 41-62. 
• For Lake Superior, Canada, Wis con sin, Iowa, South Da ko ta, and North 

Dakota  border water reg u la tions, see pages 37-41, 63-74. 
• Different limits for conservation license apply (see page 37). 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

WALLEYE 
and SAUGER 
(either or combined) 

*(Minimum size limit 15" for walleye on the inland waters of Pool 3 [dam at Hastings 
to railroad tracks on the Minnesota–Wisconsin border]). 

May 11, 2013- 
Feb. 23, 2014 

6* (Not more than 1 walleye 
over 20" in possession) 

NORTHERN PIKE May 11 2013- 
Feb. 23, 2014  

3 (Not more than 1 over 30"  
in possession) 

MUSKELLUNGE 
including HYBRID 
MUSKELLUNGE 
Exception: 1 combined Minimum size 40" on lakes listed below 

CARVER CO. 
Eagle 
Pierson 
Wasserman 

DAKOTA CO. 
Crystal 
Orchard 

HENNEPIN CO. 
Bryant 
Bush 
Calhoun 
Cedar 
Crystal 
Isles 
Nokomis 
Weaver 

RAMSEY CO. 
Gervais 
Island 
Johanna 
Phalen 
Silver 

SCOTT CO. 
Cedar 

WASHINGTON CO. 
Clear 
Elmo 

June 1, 2013-  
Dec. 1, 2013 

1 combined (Minimum  
size 48") 

LARGEMOUTH 
and 
BASS

SMALLMOUTH 
 (either or 

combined) 

May 25, 2013-  
Feb. 23, 2014  
(May 11, 2013- 
Feb. 23, 2014, 
north and east of 
U.S. Hwy. 53 from 
Duluth to International 
Falls and Pelican and Ash 
lakes in St. Louis County.) 

6 

SMALLMOUTH BASS Sept. 9, 2013- 
Feb. 23, 2014 

Catch and Release only 
 (Statewide) 

CRAPPIE  Continuous 10 

continued on next page 

SEASONS AND LIMITS—INLAND WATERS 

34 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR) 



   

        

        

        

     
         

       

         
           

        

     

 

         

     

 

    
  

      
   

       
      
   

  

 

     
      

     
     

 

SEASONS AND LIMITS—INLAND WATERS continued 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON  POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

SUNFISH* 
(either or combined) 
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids) 

Continuous  20 

ROCK BASS Continuous 30 

WHITE BASS Continuous 30 

CHANNEL and 
FLATHEAD CATFISH 
(either or combined) 

Continuous  5 (Only 1 fish over 24". 
Not more than 2 can be 
flathead.) 

PERCH Continuous 20 daily and 40 in possession 

BULLHEAD Continuous 100 

WHITEFISH and 
UNDER-UTILIZED FISH 
Exception: On Leech Lake Indian Reservation whitefish limit 25 and cisco limit 
50. For more information see the DNR Web site. 

Continuous  No limit 

SMELT Continuous No limit 

LAKE STURGEON 
or SHOVELNOSE 
STURGEON (including Lake Superior and St. Louis River) 
See pages 63, 64, 66, and 73 for other sturgeon waters and regulations. 

Closed 

PADDLEFISH No open season 

LAKE TROUT 
Summer, 
statewide 

May 11, 2013- 
Sept. 30, 2013 

2 

Winter 
Lakes outside or 
partly outside the 
Boundary Waters 
Canoe Area 
wilderness (BWCAW) 

Jan. 12, 2013- 
March 31, 2013 
and Jan. 18, 2014­
March 31, 2014 

2 

Lakes entirely within 
the BWCAW 

Dec. 29, 2012- 
March 31, 2013 
January 1, 2014­
March 31, 2014

2 

• Cook County: Gull Lake, Sea Gull River, and Cross River from County Rd 12 to 
Gunflint Lake are closed to fishing April 1-May 24, 2013. 

OPENER DATES for Walleye, Bass, and Muskie 
Walleye Bass Muskie 

2013 May 11 May 25 June 1 

2014 May 10 May 24 June 7 

2015 May 9 May 23 June 6 

Seasons and Limits—Inland Waters
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Stream Trout 
The following regulations apply only to stream trout (splake, brook, 

brown, and rainbow trout) in inland lakes and streams. They do not 
in clude lake trout which are listed under Inland Waters (page 35). Lake 
Superior tributaries (pages 37-41) and Experimental and Special 
Regulations (pages 41-62) are also not covered in this section. 

Calendar dates refer to 2013 unless noted oth er wise. 

Daily and possession limits are the same.
 

See page 37 for Conservation License Limits 

SEASONS AND LIMITS—STREAM TROUT 

STREAM TROUT OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

  

 
 

STREAMS-Summer 
Statewide except 
Houston, Fillmore, 
Mower, Dodge, Olmsted, 
Winona, Wabasha, and 
Goodhue counties 

April 13-Sept. 30 5 combined (Not more than 1  
over 16") 

  
  

  

Houston, Fillmore, 
Mower, Dodge, 
Olmsted, Winona, 
Wabasha, and  
Goodhue counties 

April 1-12    Catch-and-release only; 
barbless hooks only 

April 13-Sept. 14 5 combined (Not more than 1 
over 16") 

Sept. 15-Sept. 30    Catch-and-release only; 
barbless hooks y onl

STREAMS-Winter 

 
Southeast winter 
catch-and-release season 

Jan. 1-March 31 See listing in experimental and  
Special Regulations section 

LAKES-Summer 
Statewide  

May 11-Oct. 31  5 combined (Not more than 3 
over 16") 

  LAKES-Winter 
    

  
   

 

Outside or partly 
outside the Boundary 
Waters Canoe Area 
wilderness (BWCAW) 
except below 

  
  

Jan. 12, 2013- 
March 31, 2013 
and Jan. 18, 2014­
March 31, 2014 

5 combined (Not more than 3 
over 16") 

new   
   

    

Lakes entirely within 
the BWCAW 

  
  

Dec. 29, 2012- 
March 31, 2013 
January 1, 2014­
March 31, 2014 

5 combined (Not more than 3 
over 16") 

 
 

Becker, Beltrami, 
Cass, Crow Wing, and 
Hubbard (except for 
Blue Lake) counties 

  Winter season closure on lakes in these counties. 
Does not include lake trout. 

36 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR) 



 

Seasons and Limits—Stream Trout
 

Stream Trout Regulations 
• Fishing hours for stream trout on inland waters are from one hour 


before sunrise to 11 p.m. 

• Only one line is allowed winter or summer when fishing on des ig nated 

stream trout lakes and des ig nat ed trout streams. 
• Possessing live minnows or using them for bait on designated stream 


trout lakes is prohibited. Only dried, frozen, or pickled (brined) 

minnows are allowed. Live leeches are legal to use.
 

• Taking of any species, including catch and release angling, in 

designated trout waters during the closed trout season is prohibited.
 

• Taking min nows or leeches from designated trout waters, except under 
special permit, is prohibited. 

• All stream trout must have head, tail, fins, and skin intact when being 
transported. 

• Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in 

designated trout lakes or streams.
 

• The list of Designated Trout Lakes and Streams can be found on the 

DNR website.
 

 How to figure your bag limit for 
a Conservation License 
• Applies to bag limits established 

for inland lakes, experimental and 
special management waters, and 
border waters. 

 
 

 

• Does not apply to size restrictions, 
but may only have up to the cor­
responding bag limit. For example: 
5 fish with 3 over 10 inches for a 
Conservation License would be 2 
fish with only 2 over 10 inches. 
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1 fish 

2 fish 

3 fish 

4 fish 

5 fish 

6 fish 

8 fish 

10 fish 

20 fish 

25 fish 

30 fish 
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Catch-and-release 

1 fish 

1 fish 

2 fish 

2 fish 

3 fish 

4 fish 

5 fish

10 fish 

12 fish 

15 fish 

20 fish 

25 fish 

50 fish 

Lake Superior and Its Tributaries 
The following regulations have been expanded to clarify for anglers 

the fishing seasons and limits for Lake Su pe ri or and the streams and riv­
ers flowing into it. 

Daily and possession limits are the same. 
All other species not named are subject to inland regulations. 
Posted upstream bound aries on Lake Superior trib u tar ies generally 

correspond to the areas accessible to anadr o mous trout and salmon. The 
boundaries, as well as fish sanc tu ary areas, are marked with signs. (For 
boundary locations, see maps on DNR website titled “Trout Angling 
Opportunities in Northeastern Minnesota.”) 

Calendar dates refer to 2013 unless noted otherwise. 
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39DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or  1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR) mndnr.gov

Lake Superior and tributaries below posted boundaries 
(including St. Louis River below the MN Highway 23 bridge) 
and Lake Superior tributaries with no posted boundaries Open Season Possession Limit Size Limit
Brook trout and Splake Sat. Apr 13 - Sept 2 1* (see note below) Minimum size limit 20"

Rainbow trout-clipped (includes steelhead) Continuous 3* (see note below) Minimum size limit 16"

Rainbow trout-unclipped (includes steelhead) Continuous catch and release only

Brown trout Continuous 5* (see note below) Minimum size limit 10"
Only 1 over 16" 

Lake trout Dec 1- Oct 6 3

Salmon (chinook, coho, pink, Atlantic) Continuous 5 combined (only 1 can be Atlantic Salmon) Minimum size limit 10"

Walleye May 11 - Mar 1 2 Minimum size limit 15"

Northern Pike May 11 - Mar 1 2

Smelt Continuous no limit

Lake Superior tributaries above posted boundaries Open Season Possession Limit Size Limit
Brook and brown trout Apr 13 - Sept 30 5 combined Not more than 1 over 16"

Rainbow trout Apr 13 - Sept 30 catch and release only

* 5 in aggregate with brook trout, splake, brown trout and rainbow trout

Seasons and Limits—Stream Trout

 SEASONS AND LIMITS — Lake Superior and Its Tributaries



 

 

 

 

2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Lake Superior Regulations 
• Two lines may be used on Lake Superior, except only one is allowed within 

100 yards from where a trib u tary stream enters the lake. Also, only one line 
may be used in trib u tary streams. 

• Anglers are re strict ed to a single hook or fly only—no treble hooks—on 

Lake Superior tributary streams and rivers up to the posted bound aries. 

Ex cep tions are the St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton counties) and the 

Pigeon River (Cook County).
 

• Angling hours on Lake Superior tributaries below the posted bound aries are 
from one hour before sunrise to one hour after sunset. Exceptions are the St. 
Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton counties) and the Pigeon River (Cook 
County). 

• Spe cial reg u la tions on North Shore streams include post ed sanc tu ar ies on the 
French River, Knife, Little Knife, Devil Track, and Kadunce Rivers and on 
Gauthier Creek. (See Ex per i men tal and Spe cial Reg u la tions, pages 41-62.) 

• Unclipped steelhead (rainbow trout) must be immediately released on Lake 

Superior and its tributaries. A clipped adipose fin, used to  identi fy stocked 

trout, must show a healed scar (see diagram below). Marking, tagging, or 

finclipping fish and then releasing them without a DNR permit is unlawful.
 

• From the mouth of Chester Creek to the outermost portion of the northwest
 
arm of the Duluth ship channel is closed to fishing from boats from Oct. 1 

through Nov. 30. 

• While on the Min ne so ta waters of Lake 
Superior, persons may possess only one daily 
limit of fish. 

• Anyone fishing on the Minnesota waters of 
Lake Superior must possess a Minnesota 
angling license and trout and salmon stamp 
validation except as listed on page 9. 

• A guide’s license is required to operate a charter boat for the purpose of 
guiding or assisting anglers on the Min ne so ta waters of Lake  Superi or and 
the St. Louis River estuary. 

• A person cannot fish on Wisconsin waters of Lake Superior with a 
Minnesota angling license. 

• Smelt may be taken night or day. Artificial lights may not be used to lure or 
attract smelt. There is no limit on smelt, and smelt from Lake Superior may 
be bought or sold; how ev er, live smelt may not be possessed or trans port ed. 

• Dip nets may be used for taking smelt. Min now seines not more than 25 feet 
long or 4 feet deep may be used to take smelt in the St. Louis River and in 
Lake Superior when more than 100 feet from the mouth of any stream. 

• Taking of smelt at any time is prohibited in the following streams tributary 
to Lake Superior: French River, Sucker River, Little Sucker River (St. Louis 
County); Silver Creek, Encampment Creek, Crow Creek (Lake County). 

• On Lake Superior tributaries below the posted boundaries, a fish that is 
hooked in any part of the body, except the mouth, must be immediately 
returned to the water. 

• No fish taken from Lake Superior or its tributaries below the posted 

Healed 
scar 

Adipose fin
(no rays) 

Clipped Adipose Fin 
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Seasons and Limits—Lake Superior and Its Tributaries
 

boundaries, or the St. Louis River downstream of the Fond du Lac dam, 
may be used as bait, except cisco or smelt taken from Lake Superior can be 
used: 1) fresh or frozen in Lake Superior or its tributaries below the posted 
boundaries; or 2) on other waterbodies, but only after being preserved under 
a DNR-issued bait preservation permit. Permit applications are available 
from the DNR, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 55155-4020. 

SPECIAL REGULATIONS
 

Intensive Management Lakes 
A number of lakes in Minnesota are managed under both treaties and DNR 

regulations. Angling harvest on these intensive management lakes may change 
throughout the year to maintain sustainable fish populations. If regulations 
change, information will be posted at public boat ramps, the DNR website, and 
in newspapers. 

Different limits apply for Conservation License see page 37. 
update MILLE LACS LAKE including tributaries to posted boundaries (Aitkin, 

Crow Wing, and Mille Lacs coun ties). No one may fish for any species or possess 
fishing gear on the lake from 10 p.m.-6 a.m. starting at 10 p.m. on May 13 and 
ending at 12:01 a.m. on June 10. Closed to winter spearing for all species. Fish 
reduced to possession may not be culled or live-well sorted. Northern pike: 
All from 27 33-40" must be immediately released. One over 40" allowed in 
possession. Possession limit of three. Tullibee (cisco): possession limit 10. Walleye: 
Restrictions or changes will be posted at public access sites and the DNR website at 
www.mndnr.gov/fishing/millelacs.html. Smallmouth bass: All from 17-20" must 
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. Possession limit of 
six. 

RED LAKE, UPPER including Shotley Brook and Tamarack River 
(Beltrami county). Northern pike: all from 26-44" must be immediately 
released. Only one over 44" allowed in possession. Walleye: Restrictions or 
changes will be posted at public access sites and on the DNR website. 
• A person’s statewide bag limit may not include more than current daily bag 


limit of Red Lake walleye.
 
• Those portions of Red Lake located within the Red Lake Indian Reservation 

are closed to non band members except by special authorization of the tribal 
council. 

• The fish carcass retention requirements for these water bodies are still in 

effect–see page 13.
 

NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGES may have differing regulations. Please 
check with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. 

VOYAGEURS NATIONAL PARK In response to the threat of nonnative/AIS 
species introductions, the park only allows artificial bait in the interior lakes and 
prohibits the use of privately owned watercraft and the landing of float planes in 
these lakes. These regulations do not apply to Rainy, Kabetogama, Namakan, Crane, 
and Sand Point Lakes. Contact Voyageurs National Park for more information. 

new 

SUPERIOR NATIONAL FOREST New off-highway vehicle policy. 
See www.fs.usda.gov/superior for maps and details. 
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Experimental and Special Regulations 
These regulations differ from statewide or border water regulations for 

those species identified and take precedence. Unless otherwise specifically 
mentioned, all general regulations, seasons, limits, border water regula-
tions, possession, and transportation apply to these waters. Please check 
regulation booklets from other states and other sections of this booklet. 

Regulations are posted at access sites. Your compliance is needed to 
ensure that these regulations are successful. The regulations help improve 
fishing quality, protect unique fisheries, provide additional fishing opportu­
nities, or protect threatened species. The DNR regularly evaluates regula­
tions to determine their success. 

Individual Waters
 

LAKES (Make sure to also check pages 34-36, 37-39, 56-62, 63-74) 

Different limits apply for Conservation License see page 37. 

A 
ADA LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
AGNES LAKE (Douglas County) bass: All from 12-20" must be 

immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
AITKIN LAKE including area known as Aitkin Flowage (Aitkin 

County): see Big Sandy Lake (page 43). 
ALEXANDER LAKE (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 

must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
ALICE LAKE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 22-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession 
limit nine. 

ANN LAKE (Carver County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. 
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 
36" allowed in possession. 

new ANNIE BATTLE LAKE including INLET to Molly Stark Lake and 
OUTLET to Blanche Lake (Otter Tail County) Use of gas and electric 
motors, aqua-views, augers, and other electronic fish-finding devices is 
prohibited. sunfish: Possession limit five. northern pike, largemouth 
and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only. black crappie: 
Possession limit five. 

ASH LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

B 
BALM LAKE (Beltrami County) bass: All from 12-20" must be 

immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
BALSAM LAKE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
BASS LAKE near Cohasset (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 

42 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR) 



 

 

 

 
  

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

Experimental/Special Regulations—Lakes
 

BASS LAKE near Burtrum (Todd County) north of Long Lake. walleye: 
Possession limit two. largemouth bass: Possession limit one. northern 
pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit one. 

BASSWOOD LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Protected 
slot applies to all Minnesota waters of Basswood Lake. 

BATTLE LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: possession limit 10. walleye: 
All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in 
possession. 

BATTLE LAKE, WEST (Otter Tail County) northern pike: All 
from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

BEAR CREEK RESERVOIR [Chester Woods] (Olmsted County) See 
Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 52. 

BELTRAMI LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

BIG BASS LAKE (Beltrami County) bass: Catch-and-release only. 
BIG BIRCH (Todd and Stearns counties) northern pike: All from 24-36" 

must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
BIG LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
BIG CARNELIAN LAKE (Washington County) northern pike: All 

from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

BIG FISH LAKE (Stearns County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

BIG MANTRAP (Hubbard County) crappie: Minimum size limit 
10". Possession limit five. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. Only one over 36" allowed in possession. 

BIG SAND LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: All from 20-28" must be 
immediately released. One over 28" allowed in possession. 

BIG SANDY LAKE and connected waters (Aitkin County): Aitkin 
Lake including area known as Aitkin Flowage, Davis Lake including 
bay known as Steamboat Lake, Flowage Lake, Sandy River Lake, 
Prairie River from confluence with Tamarack River downstream to 
confluence with Big Sandy Lake, Sandy River from State Highway 
210 downstream to confluence with the Mississippi River, and West 
Savanna River from County Highway 14 downstream to confluence 
with the Prairie River. Sunfish: Possession limit five. Walleye: All less 
than 14" or greater than 18" must be immediately released. One over 
26" allowed in possession. 
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

new BIG SWAN LAKE (Todd County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession 
limit six. 

BIRCH LAKE RESERVOIR (St. Louis and Lake counties) northern pike: 
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

BLACKDUCK LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish: possession limit five. 
BLACKWATER LAKE (Cass County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: 

All 12" and larger must be immediately released. 
BLACK BASS LAKE (Mille Lacs County) Use of gas or electric augers, 

aqua-views, and other electronic fish-finding devices is prohibited. 
largemouth and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only. northern 
pike: Catch-and-release only. sunfish: Possession limit five. 

BLUEBERRY LAKE (Wadena County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

BOWSTRING LAKE including BOWSTRING RIVER downstream to 
County Road 35 bridge (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 22-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
Possession limit nine. 

C 
CARNELIAN LAKE (Stearns County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
CASCADE LAKE (Cascade Ponds) (Olmsted County) see Rochester-

Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 52. 
CEDAR LAKE (Morrison County) walleye: Possession limit two. black 

crappie: Possession limit five. northern pike: Minimum size limit 40". 
Possession limit one. 

CENTER LAKE, NORTH and SOUTH (Chisago County) northern pike: 
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

CHARLEY LAKE (Ramsey County) Closed to fishing. 
CHILD LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
CHISAGO LAKE (Chisago County) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger 

must be immediately released. 
CHRISTINA LAKE (Douglas County) Closed to fishing. 
CLEAR LAKE (Waseca County) largemouth bass and smallmouth bass: 

Catch-and-release only. 
CLEAR LAKE (Washington County) walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 

Possession limit three. 
CLITHERALL LAKE (Otter Tail County) smallmouth bass: Catch-and­

release only. 
COON LAKE (Anoka County) walleye: Minimum size limit 17" 
COON-SANDWICK LAKE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 

24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
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Experimental/Special Regulations—Lakes
 

COTTONWOOD LAKE (Grant County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
walleye: possession limit three. 

new CRANE LAKE including VERMILION GORGE and ECHO RIVER 
from mouth upstream to county highway 424 bridge (St. Louis County) 
walleye: All from 17-28" must be immediately released. One over 28" 
allowed in possession. sauger/walleye: Possession limit 6 combined only 4 
may be walleye. 

CRAWFORD LAKE (Wright County) largemouth bass: Catch-and­
release only. sunfish: Possession limit five. crappie: Possession limit 
five. walleye: Possession limit two. perch: Possession limit 10. 

CROOKED LAKE (Anoka County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 
only. 

CROOKED LAKE (Stearns County) bass: All from 12-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 

CROW WING LAKES, 5th and 6th (Hubbard County) northern pike: 
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed 
in possession. 

CROW WING LAKES, 8th, 9th, and 10th (Hubbard County) northern 
pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit one. 

D 
DAVIS LAKE (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 43). 
DEEP LAKE (Ramsey Coun ty) Closed to fishing. 
DEER LAKE (Beltrami County) bass: Catch-and-release only. northern 

pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately released. One over 
36" allowed in possession. 

DEER LAKE near Effie (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. 

DEMONTREVILLE LAKE (Wash ing ton Coun ty) largemouth bass: 
Catch-and-release only. 

DIXON LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
DYERS LAKE (Cook County) crappie: Possession limit five. sunfish: 

Possession limit five. 
E 
ELEPHANT LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: Minimum size 

limit 40". Possession limit one. 
ELK LAKE (Clearwater County) muskellunge: catch-and-release only. 

northern pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit one. 
EUNICE LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession limit five. black 

crappie: Minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five. largemouth and 
smallmouth bass: All from 12-20" must be immediately released. One 
over 20" allowed in possession. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

F 
FARM LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. walleye: 
(includes the NORTH BRANCH KAWISHIWI RIVER from Farm 
Lake 4.8 miles east to the long portage) All from 17-26" must be 
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 

FARM ISLAND LAKE (Aitkin Coun ty) walleye: All from 16-19" must be 
immediately released. 

new FISH LAKE RESERVOIR (St. Louis County) walleye: All less than 13" 
or larger than 17" must be immediately released, except one over 26" 
allowed in possession. Possession limit three. 

FISH TRAP LAKE (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

FLADMARK LAKE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
northern pike and bass: Catch-and-release only. crappie: Possession 
limit five. 

FLOUR LAKE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must 
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 

FLOWAGE LAKE (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 43). 
FOSTER AREND LAKE (Olmsted County) trout: Continuous season. 

Possession limit three. One over 16" allowed in possession. Sunfish, 
black and white crappie, yellow perch, largemouth and smallmouth bass, 
see Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 52. 

FOX LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

FRANKLIN LAKE (Otter Tail County) crappie: Minimum size limit 10". 
Possession limit five. 

G 
GAMEHAVEN (Boy Scout Lake WILLOW RESERVOIR NO. 4) 

(Olmsted County) See Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes on 
page 52. 

GARDEN LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. walleye: All 
from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" is allowed in 
possession. 

GEORGE LAKE (Hubbard County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

GILBERT LAKE (Crow Wing County) crappie: Possession limit five. 
sunfish: Possession limit five. 

GIRL LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

GOODRICH LAKE (Crow Wing County) crappie: Possession limit five. 
sunfish: Possession limit five. 

GOOSE LAKE (Chisago County) crappie: Possession limit five. walleye: 
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Minimum size limit 17". 
GRAVE LAKE (Itasca Coun ty) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
GREEN LAKE (Chisago County) walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 
GULL LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
GULL LAKE (Cook County) walleye: Possession limit is six. One over 

19½" allowed in possession. 
H 
HENRY LAKE (Douglas County) bass: All from 12-20" must be 

immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
HORSESHOE LAKE (Cass County) near Backus. crappie: Possession 

limit five. largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must 
be immediately released. northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". 
Possession limit one. sunfish: Possession limit five. walleye: Possession 
limit three. 

HOVDE LAKE (Cass County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. 
HUBERT LAKE (Crow Wing County) largemouth and smallmouth 

bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately released. 
HUNGRY JACK LAKE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All from 

12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in 
possession. 

I 
INGUADONA LAKE and connected RICE LAKE (Cass County) 

sunfish: Possession limit ten. crappie: Possession limit five. 
ISLAND LAKE near Northome (Itasca County) northern pike: All 

from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One 
over 26" allowed in possession. 

ITASCA LAKE (Clearwater County) crappie: Possession limit five. 
sunfish: Possession limit 10. 

J 
JANE LAKE (Washington County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 

only. 
JEWETT LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: 

All from 12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed 
in possession. 

K 
KABEKONA LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: All from 18-26" must be 

immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. Possession 
limit four. 

KABETOGAMA LAKE including SULLIVAN BAY and ASH RIVER 
to Ash River Falls (St. Louis County) walleye: All from 17-28" must 
be immediately released. One over 28 allowed in possession. sauger/ 
walleye: Possession limit 6 combined, only 4 may be walleye. 

KALMAR RESERVOIR (Olmsted County) See Rochester–Olmsted 
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County Area Lakes on page 52. 
KNIFE LAKE (Kanabec County) walleye: All from 18-24" must 

be immediately released. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

KRAUT LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 
lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

L 
new LA SALLE LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: Possession limit two. 

largemouth and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only. crappie: 
Possession limit five. sunfish: Possession limit five. yellow perch: 
Possession limit ten. 

LAC QUI PARLE LAKE upstream to Marsh Lake Dam, including the 
Watson Sag upstream to the diversion dam (Lac Qui Parle and Chippewa 
counties). walleye: Possession limit four. One 20" or larger allowed in 
possession. 

LAKE OF THE WOODS including the Rainy River from the mouth 
upstream to the dam in International Falls, Baudette and Winter Road 
Rivers (Lake of the Woods and Koochiching counties), and Warroad 
River (Roseau County). northern pike: All from 30-40" must be 
immediately released. One over 40" allowed in possession. Possession 
limit three. walleye and sauger: See page 65. 

LEECH LAKE (Cass County) walleye: All from 18-26" must be 
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. Possession 
limit four. (See page 35 for whitefish.) 

LESTER LAKE (Hubbard County) all species: Catch-and-release only. 
LIDA LAKE SOUTH and NORTH including connecting Mud Lake 

(Otter Tail County) crappie: Minimum size limit is 11". walleye: All 
from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in 
possession. 

LIND LAKE (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
LITTLE BOY LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 

be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession 
LITTLE CASCADE LAKE (Cook County) northern pike: All from 

24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

LITTLE CORMORANT LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession 
limit five. black crappie:  Minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five. 
walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 

LITTLE FLOYD LAKE (Becker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

LITTLE MANTRAP LAKE (Hubbard County) largemouth bass: All 
from 12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20” allowed in 
possession. 
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LITTLE MCDONALD LAKE INCLUDING KERBS LAKE (Otter Tail 
County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One 
over 26" allowed in possession. 

LITTLE SAUK LAKE (Todd County) walleye: Possession limit two. 
largemouth bass: Possession limit one. sunfish: Possession limit five. 
crappie: Possession limit is five. yellow perch: Possession limit is 10. 

LITTLE SPLITHAND LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: Posession limit five. 
LITTLE TOAD LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 

northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 
36" allowed in possession. 

LITTLE VERMILION LAKE including LOON RIVER to Loon River 
Falls portage (St. Louis County). walleye: All from 17-28" must be 
immediately released. One over 28" allowed in possession. 
sauger/walleye: Possession limit 6 combined, only 4 may be walleye. 

LITTLE WOMAN LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

LONG LAKE near Glen (Aitkin County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

LONG LAKE near Hawick (Kandiyohi County) largemouth bass: All 
from 14"-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in 
possession. 

LONG LAKE (Stearns County near Clearwater) bass: All from 12"-20" 
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 

LONG LAKE near Burtrum (Todd County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

LOON LAKE (Cook County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". 
Possession limit one. 

M 
MANDALL LAKE (Chisago County) crappie: Possession limit five. 

walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 
MANOR WOODS POND (Country Club Pond) (Olmsted County) See 

Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 52. 
MAPLE LAKE (Douglas County) crappie: Minimum size limit 10". 

Possession limit five. 
MARY LAKE (Hubbard County) bass: Catch-and-release only. crappie: 

Possession limit five. sunfish: Possession limit five. 
MAUD LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession limit five. black 

crappie: Minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five. largemouth and 
smallmouth bass: All from 12-20" must be immediately released. One 
over 20" allowed in possession. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

MEDICINE LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
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MELISSA LAKE (Becker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

MIDDLE LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth bass: All from 12-20" 
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 

MILLE LACS (See page 41.) 
MINK-SOMERS LAKE near Maple Lake (Wright County) sunfish: 

Possession limit five. crappie: Possession limit five. walleye: Minimum 
size limit 17". Possession limit three. largemouth bass: All from 12-20" 
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One 
over 36" allowed in possession. Possession or use of live minnows is 
prohibited. 

MINNEWASHTA LAKE (Carver County) largemouth bass: Catch-and­
release only. 

MINNIE BELLE LAKE (Meeker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

MISSION LAKE, LOWER and UPPER (Crow Wing County) northern 
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. 

MITCHELL LAKE (Crow Wing County) northern pike: Minimum size 
limit 40". Possession limit one. 

MOCCASIN LAKE (Cass County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 
only. 

MOODY LAKE (Crow Wing County) Closed to fishing. 
MOOSE LAKE near Deer River (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" 

must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 
MOOSE LAKE (Todd County) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must 

be immediately released. 
MOVIL LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
MULE LAKE (Cass County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12" 

and larger must be immediately released. walleye: Possession limit three. 
N 
NAMAKAN LAKE (St. Louis County) walleye: All from 17-28" must be 

immediately released. One over 28" allowed in possession. 
sauger/walleye: Possession limit 6 combined, only 4 may be walleye. 

NORTH SHADY LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. 
Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of 
bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

NORTH STAR LAKE including LITTLE NORTH STAR LAKE (Itasca 
County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
One over 36" allowed in possession. 

NORTH TURTLE LAKE (Otter Tail County) bass: All from 12"-20" must 
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Experimental/Special Regulations—Lakes
 

be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. crappie: 
Minimum size limit 10". 

NORTH TWIN LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

new NORWAY LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: 
All from 14-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed 
possession. crappie: Minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five. 
sunfish: Possession limit five. 

O 
OLSON LAKE (Washington County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 

only. 
OSAKIS and LITTLE OSAKIS LAKES (Douglas and Todd counties) 

walleye: Minimum size limit 15". 
OTTER TAIL LAKE (Otter Tail County) northern pike: Minimum size 

limit 30". Possession limit one. 
OX YOKE LAKE (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
OZAWINDIB LAKE (Clearwater County) bass: All from 12"-20" must 

be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. crappie: 
Minimum size limit 10". 

P 
PEANUT LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 

lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

PEARL LAKE (Stearns County) walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 
Possession limit three. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

PELICAN LAKE (St. Louis County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: 
All from 14-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed 
in possession. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

PICKEREL LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: possession limit 10. walleye: 
All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in 
possession. 

PICKEREL LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth 
bass: All from 12"-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" 
allowed in possession. 

PIERZ LAKE (Fish) (Morrison County) largemouth bass: All from 12"­
20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 

PIMUSHE LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
PINE LAKE, BIG and LITTLE (Otter Tail County) walleye: All from 

18-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 
PLEASANT LAKE (Ramsey County) Closed to fishing. 
PLEASANT LAKE (Stearns County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
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PORTAGE LAKE North of Ten Mile Lake (Cass County) largemouth 
and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only. 

PRAIRIE LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 
30". Possession limit one. 

Q 
QUARRY HILL NATURE CENTER POND (Olmsted County) See 

Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 52. 
R 
RABBIT LAKES, BIG and EAST BIG (Crow Wing County) northern 

pike: All from 24" to 36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. 

RABOUR LAKE (Chisago County) crappie: Possession limit five. 
walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 

RACHEL LAKE and LITTLE RACHEL LAKE (Douglas County) 
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 
36" allowed in possession. 

RAINY LAKE including the Rainy River above the dam at International 
Falls, all of Rainy Lake to the dam at Kettle Falls, Black Bay including 
Gold Portage below the rapids, all of the Rat Root River, and Rat 
Root Lake (Koochiching and St. Louis counties) walleye and sauger: 
Possession limit eight (not more than four can be walleye). All walleye 
from 17-28" must be immediately released. One walleye over 28" 
allowed in possession. 

RED LAKE (See page 41) 
RED WING POTTERY POND (Goodhue County) trout: Continuous 

season. Possession limit three. One over 16" allowed in possession. 
RICE LAKE and connected INGUADONA (Cass County) sunfish: 

Possession limit ten. crappie: Possession limit five. 
ROCHESTER–OLMSTED COUNTY AREA LAKES (OLMSTED 

COUNTY) INCLUDES: BEAR CREEK RESERVOIR (Chester 
Woods), CASCADE LAKE (Cascade Ponds), FOSTER AREND 
LAKE, GAMEHAVEN LAKE (Boy Scout Lake or Willow Reservoir 
No. 4), KALMAR RESERVOIR, QUARRY HILL NATURE 
CENTER POND, MANOR WOODS POND (Country Club Pond), 
SILVER LAKE, SILVER CREEK RESERVOIR, WILLOW CREEK 
RESERVOIR. The daily and possession limits for the following species 
apply to the waters listed above as a whole, that is, only one daily and 
possession limit may be taken from the group of waters that comprise 
the Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes. Sunfish, black and white 
crappie, yellow perch: combined possession limit 10, and only 5 
may be black or white crappie. Largemouth or smallmouth bass: 
possession limit one. Northern pike: daily and possession limit one 
applies collectively to a subset of the Rochester-Olmsted County lakes: 
CASCADE LAKE, GAME HAVEN LAKE, MANOR WOOD, 
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SILVER LAKE, SILVER CREEK RESERVOIR 
ROGERS LAKE (Crow Wing County) crappie: Possession limit five. 

sunfish: Possession limit five. 
ROUND LAKE (Crow Wing County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 

30". Possession limit one. 
ROUND LAKE near Squaw Lake including the POPPLE RIVER 

downstream to State Highway Bridge 46 (Itasca County) walleye: 
All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed 
in possession. northern pike: All from 22-36" must be immediately 
released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession limit nine. 

RUSH LAKE, EAST and WEST (Chisago County) northern pike: All 
from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

S 
SAGANAGA LAKE (Cook Coun ty) walleye: Possession limit six. One 

over 19½" allowed in possession. 
SALLIE LAKE (Becker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 

be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
SANBORN LAKE (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
SAND LAKE including connecting BIRDS EYE LAKE, LITTLE 

SAND LAKE, PORTAGE LAKE, and BOWSTRING RIVER 
upstream to County Road 35 bridge and downstream to mouth of 
Rice Lake(Itasca County) northern pike: All from 22-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession 
limit nine. 

SAND LAKE (Lake County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
SAND POINT LAKE (St. Louis County) walleye: All from 17-28" must 

be immediately released. One over 28" allowed in possession. sauger/ 
walleye: Possession limit 6 combined, only 4 may be walleye. 

SANDY RIVER LAKE (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 43). 
SEWELL LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: 

All from 12"-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in 
possession. 

SHAMINEAU LAKE (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

SILVER CREEK RESERVOIR (Olmsted County) See Rochester– 
Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 52. 

SILVER LAKE (Olmsted County) See Rochester–Olmsted County Area 
Lakes on page 52. 

SISSABAGAMAH LAKE (Aitkin County) northern pike: All from 
20-30" must be immediately released. One over 30" allowed in 
possession. 

SOUTH FARM LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
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walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. 

SOUTH LINDSTROM LAKE (Chisago County) largemouth bass: All 
12" and larger must be immediately released. 

SOUTH TWIN (Beltrami County) bass: Catch-and-release only. 
SPIDER LAKE (Hubbard County) crappie: Minimum size limit 10". 
SPIDER LAKE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
SPLITHAND LAKE (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be 

immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. black crappie: 
Possession limit five. sunfish: possession limit five. 

SQUASH LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 
lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

ST. OLAF LAKE (Waseca County) northern pike: Minimum size 
limit 30". Possession limit one. 

STAR LAKE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
STEIGER LAKE (Carver County) northern pike and largemouth bass: 

Catch-and-release only. 
STONY LAKE (Cass County) largemouth bass: All from 12"-20" must be 

immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
STUART LAKE (Otter Tail County) black crappie: Minimum size limit 

10". 
STURGEON LAKE (Pine County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 

be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession 
SUGAR LAKE (Wright County) crappie: Possession limit five. northern 

pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. 

SWAN LAKE (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be 
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 

SYLVAN LAKE (Cass County) near Pillager. crappie: Possession limit five. 
sunfish: Possession limit five. 

SYLVIA LAKE, EAST AND WEST (Wright County) northern pike: 
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

T 
TEN MILE LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
new TEN MILE LAKE, NORTH and SOUTH (Otter Tail County) largemouth 

and smallmouth bass: All from 14-20" must be immediately released. 
One over 20" allowed in possession. 

THIRTEEN (Cass County) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be 
immediately released. 

THOMPSON LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. 
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Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of 
bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

THREE ISLAND LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

THRUSH LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 
lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

TOMATO LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 
lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

TROUT LAKE Near Coleraine (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" 
must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 

TURNIP LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 
lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

TURTLE LAKE (Itasca County) smallmouth bass: All from 12-20" must 
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 

TURTLE LAKE (Ramsey County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 
only. 

TURTLE, BIG and LITTLE LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: 
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

TURTLE RIVER LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

TWENTYONE LAKE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
northern pike and bass: Catch-and-release only. crappie: Possession 
limit five. 

TWO ISLAND LAKE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All from 12"-20" 
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 

V 
VENSTROM LAKE (Otter Tail County) crappie: Minimum size limit 11". 

walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. 

VERMILION LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
walleye: All from 18-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. Possession limit four. 

W 
WABEDO LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
WACONIA LAKE (Carver County) walleye: Minimum size 16". 
WHITE IRON LAKE (St. Louis and Lake counties) northern pike: All 
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from 24-36" must be immediately released. Only one over 36" allowed 
in possession. walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. 
Only one over 26" allowed in possession. 

WILKINSON LAKE (Anoka and Ramsey counties) Closed to fishing. 
WILLOW CREEK RESERVOIR (Olmsted County) See Rochester-

Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 52. 
WINNIBIGOSHISH LAKE and connected waters (Beltrami, Cass, Itasca 

counties): Mississippi River to Knutson Dam, Third River Flowage 
to Little Dixon Lake, Pigeon River to Pigeon Lake Dam, First River, 
Egg Lake through Cut Foot Sioux Lake, Raven Flowage to Raven 
Lake, and Sugar Lake. walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately 
released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 

WOMAN LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

STREAMS AND RIVERS 
(Make sure to check pages 34-36, 37-39, 41-56, 63-74.) 
Different limits apply for Conservation License see page 37. 

A 
ASH RIVER: See Kabetogama Lake page 47. 
B 
BAUDETTE RIVER See Lake of the Woods page 48. 
BEAVER CREEK (Wabasha and Winona counties) winter: Catch-and­

release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire stream, a 6.3-mile posted 
section from the mouth to the source. All hooks must be barbless. 

BEAVER CREEK, EAST (Houston County) trout: All from 12-16" must 
be immediately released on the entire stream (Beaver Creek Valley State 
Park). winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire 
stream (Beaver Creek Valley State Park). All hooks must be barbless 
during winter season. 

BEAVER CREEK, WEST (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31, on a 1.9-mile posted section from the point 
where West Beaver Creek joins East Beaver Creek in Beaver Creek Valley 
State Park upstream to the posted boundary. All hooks must be barbless. 

BEE CREEK (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout 
Jan. 1-March 31, on a 1.6-mile posted section from the Minnesota State 
Line in Bee, upstream to the posted boundary at a driveway crossing. All 
hooks must be barbless. 

BELLE CREEK (Goodhue County) trout: Catch-and-release on a 7.3 mile 
posted section from the confluence with the Cannon River upstream to 
Hwy 19. 

BOWSTRING RIVER: See Bowstring Lake (page 44) and Sand Lake 
(page 53). 
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Experimental/Special Regulations—Streams and Rivers 

C 
CAMP CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: catch-and-release on a 2.7-mile 

posted section from 0.8 miles above the confluence with the Root River, 
South Branch upstream 2.7 miles. Artificial lures and flies only. Note: 
On the third Saturday in May statewide regulations apply to the posted 
section of the stream. winter: catch-and-release for trout from Jan. 
1-March 31, on posted section from mouth upstream 3½ miles. All hooks 
must be barbless during the winter season. 

CANFIELD CREEK (South Branch Creek) (Fillmore County) trout: All 
from 12-16" must be immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial 
lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 
on the entire section (Forestville State Park). All hooks must be barbless. 

COOLRIDGE CREEK (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 0.13-mile posted section from Pine Creek to 
the posted boundary. All hooks must be barbless. 

CROOKED CREEK (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 6.4-mile posted section from the first 
township bridge 1 mile upstream of Freeburg to the posted boundary 
near the source, 1½ miles upstream of the uppermost Hwy. 249 bridge 
crossing. All hooks must be barbless 

CROOKED CREEK, SOUTH FORK (Houston County) winter: Catch­
and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1½-mile posted section from 
the junction with Crooked Creek to the posted boundary downstream of 
the reservoir. All hooks must be barbless. 

D 
DALEY CREEK (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout 

Jan. 1-March 31 on a 2½-mile posted section from the Hwy. 16 crossing 
upstream to the posted boundary at the fourth stream crossing. All hooks 
must be barbless. 

DEVIL TRACK RIVER (Cook County) fish sanctuary: Mile 1.1 to Mile 
1.6 open to fishing from June 1-August 31. 

DIAMOND CREEK (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout 
Jan. 1-March 31 on a 5.25-mile posted section from third stream crossing 
upstream of the Hwy. 16 bridge to the source of both branches. All hooks 
must be barbless. 

DUSCHEE CREEK (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout 
Jan. 1-March 31 on the posted section from mouth upstream 
5½-miles. All hooks must be barbless 

E 
EAGLE CREEK (Scott County) trout: Catch-and-release only. 
ECHO RIVER (St. Louis County) see Crane Lake (page 45). new 

F 
FERGUSON CREEK (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for 

trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1.25-mile posted section beginning where 
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Ferguson Creek enters Rush Creek and continuing upstream to the posted 
boundary at the spring source. All hooks must be barbless. 

FIRST RIVER: See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 56). 
FORESTVILLE CREEK [North Branch Creek] (Fillmore County) trout: 

All from 12-16" must be immediately released on the entire stream. 
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire stream. 
All hooks must be barbless during winter season. 

FRENCH RIVER: (St. Louis County) Fish sanctuary: Lake Superior to the 
new Hwy. 61 are closed to fishing. 

G 
GARVIN BROOK (Winona County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 

immediately released from the Hwy. 14 crossing to the source. Artificial 
lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 
on a 1-mile posted section from Farmers Park to the end of State Forest 
land. All hooks must be barbless. 

GAUTHIER CREEK (Cook County) fish sanctuary: Entire stream open 
to fishing from June 1-August 31 only. 

GRIBBEN CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only. 
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1- March 31 on a 3.8-mile 
posted section from the Hwy. 16 bridge to the source. All hooks must be 
barbless during winter season. 

H 
HAY CREEK (Goodhue County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 

immediately released on a 4-mile posted section from 325th Street 
downstream. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 7.6-mile posted section, from 325th Street 
bridge to the boundary of State Forest land in Section 12. All hooks must 
be barbless. 

HEMMINGWAY CREEK (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 0.8-mile posted from Pine Creek to the posted 
boundary where the State Forest land ends. All hooks must be barbless. 

K 
KADUNCE RIVER (Cook County) fish sanctuary: Mile 0.2 (lower falls) 

to Mile 0.4 open to fishing from June 1-August 31. 
KEDRON CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and-release on the 

entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only. 
KNIFE RIVER (St. Louis and Lake counties) fish sanctuary: River 

and tributaries upstream from Lake County Road 9 open to fishing 
from May 15-Sept. 30. The river between the cables upstream of the 
U.S. Highway 61 bridge open to fishing from June 1-August 31. U.S. 
Highway 61 bridge downstream to the cable below the fish trap is 
permanently closed to fishing. 

KNIFE RIVER, LITTLE (St. Louis County) fish sanctuary: From the 
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Experimental/Special Regulations—Streams and Rivers 

weir upstream to the source, fishing is allowed from June 1-August 31. 
L 
LAWNDALE CREEK (Wilkin County) brook trout: Catch and release 

only for brook trout on a 3.5-mile posted section within Atherton Wildlife 
Management Area. Artificial lures and flies only. All hooks must be 
barbless. 

LOGAN CREEK (Olmsted County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on the entire stream from the confluence with the 
Whitewater River, North Branch upstream to the source. Artificial lures 
and flies only. 

LOON RIVER See Little Vermilion Lake (page 55). 
M 
MAHOODS CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 

immediately released on the entire stream. 
MISSISSIPPI RIVER VALLEY (Ramsey, Washington, Hennepin, and 

Dakota counties) walleye, sauger, smallmouth bass, and largemouth 
bass: Catch-and-release with a continuous season in the following 
stretch es: a) Minnesota River downstream from the Mendota Bridge; 
b) Minnehaha Creek downstream from Minnehaha Falls; and c) Pool 2 
of the Mississippi River between the Hastings Dam and the Ford Dam, 
in clud ing all backwater lakes and connecting waters except Crosby Lake, 
Pickerel Lake, Upper Lake, Little Pigs Eye Lake, and North Star Steel 
Lake. 

MISSISSIPPI RIVER from Blandin Dam downstream to Coon Rapids 
Dam (Itasca, Aitkin, Crow Wing, Morrison, Benton, Sherburne, Wright, 
Anoka, and Hennepin counties) muskellunge: Catch-and-release only. 

MISSISSIPPI RIVER (Sherburne, Stearns and Wright counties) 
smallmouth bass: All from 12-20" must be immediately released from 
the confluence of the Crow River upstream to the St. Cloud Dam, 
including tributaries to the posted boundries. Possession limit is three, 
with one over 20". 

MISSISSIPPI RIVER POOLS 5, 5A, AND 8 (Wabasha, Houston, and 
Winona counties) MN waters only sunfish: Possession limit 10. 

MISSISSIPPI RIVER See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 56). 
MONEY CREEK, WEST BRANCH (Winona County) winter: Catch­

and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 3.14-mile posted section 
upstream from the County Road 19 stream crossing to the source. All 
hooks must be barbless. 

O 
OTTER TAIL RIVER (Otter Tail, Becker, and Wilkin counties) 

smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release from Wilkin County Road 19 
crossing upstream to the Friberg Dam including all impoundments, and 
from Otter Tail County Highway 51 upstream to the Hubbel Pond Dam 
including Mud, Rice, and Town Lakes. 
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

P 
PIGEON RIVER See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 56). 
PINE CREEK (Winona County) trout: Winter catch-and-release season 

Jan. 1-March 31, on a 5.6-mile posted section from Rush Creek to 
the posted boundary where State Forest land ends. All hooks must be 
barbless. 

PRAIRIE RIVER (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 43). 
PRAIRIE RIVER from Prairie Lake Dam downstream to Mississippi 

River (Itasca County) muskellunge: Catch-and-release only. 
R 
RAINY RIVER northern pike: See Lake of the Woods (page 48). walleye 

and sauger: See Rainy Lake (page 52) and border water (page 63). 
RAT ROOT RIVER See Rainy Lake (page 52). 
RAVEN FLOWAGE See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 56). 
RED LAKE TRIBUTARIES: See Red Lake (page 41). 
ROOT RIVER, MIDDLE BRANCH (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and­

release on the entire stream. 
ROOT RIVER, SOUTH BRANCH (Fillmore County) trout: All from 

12-16" must be immediately released on a 4.8-mile posted section within 
Forestville State Park. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 
31 from the mouth to the dam in Lanesboro, and from the historic bridge 
(Meighen’s Store) to the park boundary. All hooks must be barbless 
during winter season. 

ROOT RIVER, SOUTH FORK (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and­
release on a 7.7-mile section from County Road 12 upstream to the 
source. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout 
Jan. 1-March 31 from Nepstad (Shattuck) Creek to the upper boundary of 
the Hvoself W.M.A. All hooks must be barbless during winter season. 

RUSH CREEK (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout 
Jan. 1-March 31 on a 6.4-mile posted section from the southern-most 
County Road 25 bridge crossing to the posted boundary. All hooks must 
be barbless. 

S 
SANDY RIVER (Aitkin County) see Big Sandy Lake (page 43). 
SEA GULL RIVER (Cook County) walleye: Possession limit is six. One 

over 19½" allowed in possession. 
SHOTLEY BROOK (from Hwy 72 West to Upper Red Lake): See Red 

Lake (page 41). 
ST. CROIX RIVER (see pages 72-74). 
ST. LOUIS RIVER (St. Louis County) fish sanctuary: No fishing allowed 

at any time from the Fond du Lac Dam downstream to the Minnesota– 
Wisconsin boundary cable. No fishing allowed from the boundary cable 
downstream to the Hwy. 23 bridge from March 4-May 18. muskellunge: 
Minimum size limit 50" on only the Minnesota–Wisconsin border waters. 
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sturgeon: closed 
STONEY BROOK (Cass County) brook trout: All must be immediately 

released on the posted section beginning at the mouth at Upper Gull Lake 
upstream to the road crossing at County Road 29 (Minor’s Corner). 

SPRING VALLEY CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" 
must be immediately released on a 6.8-mile posted section from Deer 
Creek upstream to Fillmore Township Road 359. 

SWEDES BOTTOM CREEK (Houston County) winter: Catch-and­
release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1-mile posted section from the 
township road bridge to the source. All hooks must be barbless. 

T 
TAMARACK RIVER (from the Beltrami County line west to Upper Red 

lake). See Red Lake (page 41). 
THIRD RIVER FLOWAGE: See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 56). 
TORKELSON CREEK (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release 

for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the 2.1-mile posted section from the North 
Branch Root River to the source. All hooks must be barbless. 

TROUT RUN CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only. 

TROUT RUN CREEK (Winona County—Whitewater State Park) winter: 
Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1-mile posted section 
from the mouth to the end of State Park property. All hooks must be 
barbless. 

TROUT VALLEY CREEK (Winona County) brook trout: Minimum size 
limit 12". Possession limit one. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: 
Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1.25-mile posted section 
from the uppermost Winona County Road 31 bridge crossing downstream 
to the next Winona County Road 31 bridge. All hooks must be barbless. 

V 
VERMILION GORGE See Crane Lake (page 45). 
VERMILION RIVER including all tributaries to their source (Dakota 

County) trout: All must be immediately released within a 19½-mile 
reach from the Highview Avenue bridge in Eureka Township to the 
posted boundary 1.1 miles downstream from the U.S. Hwy. 52 bridge. 
Except statewide regulations will apply on the 2-mile reach of the main 
stem from Denmark Avenue to the State Hwy. 3 bridge in Farmington. 

W 
WARROAD RIVER See Lake of the Woods (page 48). 
WATSON SAG See Lac Qui Parle (page 48). 
WEST INDIAN CREEK (Wabasha County) trout: All from 12-16" must 

be immediately released from the upstream Wabasha County Road 4 
crossing to the source. 

WEST SAVANNA RIVER (Aitkin County): see Big Sandy Lake (page 43). 
WHITEWATER RIVER, MAIN BRANCH (Winona County) winter: 
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 11.9-mile posted 
section from the Wabasha County line upstream to the Middle and North 
branches of the Whitewater River. All hooks must be barbless. 

WHITEWATER RIVER, MIDDLE BRANCH (Winona and Olmsted 
counties) trout: Catch-and-release on a 9.2-mile posted section from the 
group camp in Whitewater State Park upstream to the source. Artificial 
lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from 
Jan. 1 through March 31 on a 11.2-mile posted section from the mouth 
upstream to Olmsted County Road 9. All hooks must be barbless. 

WHITEWATER RIVER, NORTH BRANCH (Wabasha, Olmsted and 
Winona counties) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately released 
on a 12.1 mile posted section from Township Road 29 upstream to 
County Road 4. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 7.7-mile posted section from the mouth 
upstream to Logan Creek. All hooks must be barbless during winter 
season 

WHITEWATER RIVER, SOUTH BRANCH (Winona County) winter: 
Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 3.8-mile posted section 
from the mouth to 1 mile upstream of County Road 112. All hooks must 
be barbless. 

WINTER ROAD RIVER See Lake of the Woods (page 48). 
WISEL CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 

immediately released on the entire stream. winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the 4-mile posted section from County Road 
18 downstream to the South Fork of the Root River. All hooks must be 
barbless. 

Z 
ZUMBRO RIVER, NORTH FORK (Goodhue and Wabasha counties) 

trout: Catch-and-release on an 11.9 mile posted section from the Zumbro 
River, Main Branch upstream to Highway 10. 

ZUMBRO RIVER (Wabasha County) smallmouth bass: Catch-and­
release along a 12-mile posted section from Highway 63 at Zumbro Falls 
upstream to the Zumbro Lake Dam. 

For Your Information 
Fish Diseases 

Diseases, such as VHS, largemouth bass virus, and heterosporis can 
harm game fish populations.These diseases can be moved from one 
lake to another in the water.To prevent the spread or introduction 
of diseases you are required to drain water from livewells and bilges 
before transporting boats and equipment. See DNR Web site for more 
information. 
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Licensing 
Canada-Minnesota Border Waters: Anglers who have a Minnesota 

resident or nonresident license may fish only the Minnesota portion of 
Canada’s border waters. 

Other Borders: Minnesota shares border waters with each of its 
bordering states: Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota, and North Dakota. 
Residents of Minnesota or a bordering state may fish throughout the 
waters bordering the two states only if they possess a valid resident 
license from their resident state. Nonresident anglers who have a non­
resident license from either Minnesota or the bordering state may also 
fish throughout the border waters between the two states. Anglers may 
launch, fish waters from shore to shore, and may transport their catch by 
the most direct route to the state in which they are licensed. This includes 
children who are not required to have a license. Lake Superior is not 
covered under this agreement and is not considered a border water. (See 
pages 37-41 for Lake Superior regulations.) 

When Minnesota’s fishing regulations differ from a bordering state’s 
regulations, Minnesota residents and persons fishing under a Minnesota 
nonresident license must comply with the Minnesota regulations. They 
may only exercise the other state’s more liberal fishing privileges in 
the territorial waters of that state with that state's license. Please check 
other state regulation booklets and the Experimental and Special 
Regulations section of this booklet (pages 41-62) for different regula-
tions that might apply. 

Unless otherwise noted, all general regulations relating to angling 
methods, licensing, seasons, limits, possession and transportation of 
fish, apply to border waters (see pages 10-17). While on or fishing these 
waters, all fish must be within the specified length limits regardless of 
where caught. 

The bowfishing regulations on page 76 are allowed only on 
Minnesota’s portion of the border waters when they differ from those of 
the border state. If the bowfishing regulations are the same then they may 
be exercised from shore to shore. 

Lake Sturgeon Tags 
Lake sturgeon tags and mail-in registration cards are required for 

anyone* who wishes to harvest and possess a lake sturgeon. The fol­
lowing requirements apply: 
• An angler may take and possess only one lake sturgeon per calendar 


year.
 
• Lake sturgeon may not be possessed or transported without a tag. 


Validate and attach the tag immediately upon reducing the fish  

to possession. 


• Tag must be attached to the narrow portion of the body in front of the 

tail fin.
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• Tags must be attached so that they cannot be easily removed. 
• Tags are not transferable and no duplicate tags will be issued. 
• Registration cards must be completed and mailed within 48 hours 

after harvesting a fish. Send to: Regional Fisheries, 2115 Birchmont 
Beach Rd NE, Bemidji, MN 56601. 

• Lake sturgeon must be transported intact (gills and internal organs may 
be removed). 

• Members of a fishing party may not take sturgeon for other anglers' 
limits. 

Note: Catch-and-Release can be done where seasons are open with only 
a valid fishing license. 
* Including those otherwise exempt from angling license requirements. 
Dates 

All calendar dates refer to 2013 unless noted otherwise. 

CANADA–MINNESOTA 
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the Minnesota 

portions of the following waters: 
Cook County: Clove Lake, Devils Elbow Lake, North Fowl Lake, 

South Fowl Lake, Gneiss (Round) Lake, Granite Lake, Granite River, 
Gun flint Lake, Little Gunflint Lake, Lily Lake (Fan, Vaseux), Mag net ic 
Lake, Maraboeuf Lake, Moose Lake, Mountain Lake, North Lake, Little 
North Lake, Pigeon River, Pine River, Rat Lake, Rose Lake, Rove Lake, 
Saganaga Lake, South Lake, and Watap Lake. 

Koochiching and Lake of the Woods counties: Rainy River. 
Koochiching and St. Louis counties: Rainy Lake (including Black Bay). 
Lake County: Basswood Lake (except Jackfish, Pipestone, Hoist, and 

Back Bays, which are considered inland waters), Bass wood River, Birch 
Lake, Carp Lake, Cypress Lake, Knife Lake (except South Arm), Little 
Knife Lake, Knife River, Melon Lake, Seed Lake, Sucker Lake, and 
Swamp Lake. 

Lake and St. Louis counties: Crooked Lake.
 
Lake of the Woods and Roseau counties: Lake of the Woods.
 
St. Louis County: Bottle Lake, Iron Lake, Lac La Croix, Loon Lake, 


Loon River to Loon River Falls, Namakan Lake, Sand Point Lake, and 
Little Vermilion Lake. 

Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. 
See page 37 for Conservation License limits. 

Tax time is your time 
to help wildlife 
Look for the line with the loon on your Minnesota 
tax form and donate to the Nongame Wildlife Checkoff. It’s 
fast, easy, and tax deductible. Be part of a wildlife success story. 
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Border Waters 

BORDER WATERS—CANADA–MINNESOTA 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

WALLEYE 
and SAUGER 
(either or combined) 

May 12, 2012- 
April 14, 2013 
May 11, 2013- 
April 14, 2014 

6 (No size restriction.) 

 
 

 

Exceptions: 
Lake of the Woods 

May 11, 2013- 
Nov. 30, 2013  

6 (Not more than 4 can be  
walleye; only 1 walleye over  
28"; walleye 19½" through 28" 
must be immediately released.) 

Dec. 1, 2012- 
April 14, 2013 
Dec. 1, 2013- 
April 14, 2014 

 
8 (Not more than 4 can be 
walleye; only 1 walleye over  
28"; walleye 19½" through 28" 
must be immediately released.) 

March 1, 2013- 
April 14, 2013 

2 (Walleye19½" and larger 
must be immediately released.) 

Four Mile Bay 
(SE bay of Lake of 
the Woods) 

May 11, 2013- 
Nov. 30, 2013 

6 (Not more than 4 can be  
walleye; only 1 walleye over  
28"; walleye 19½" through 28" 
must be immediately released.) 

Dec. 1, 2013- 
Feb. 28, 2014  

8 (Not more than 4 can be 
walleye; only 1 walleye over  
28"; walleye 19½" through 28" 
must be immediately released.) 

  

 
 

Namakan, 
Sand Point, and  
Little Vermilion 

May 12, 2012- 
April 14, 2013 
May 11, 2013- 
April 14, 2014 

 

 

6 (Not more than 4 can be  
walleye; walleye from 17"   
through 28" must be 
immediately released; only  
1 walleye over 28".) 

 Rainy Lake 
 

May 12, 2012- 
April 14, 2013 
May 11 2013- 
April 14, 2014 

 

8 (Not more than 4 can be 
walleye; walleye from 17" to 28" 
must be immediately released; 
only 1 walleye over 28".) 

 
 
Rainy River March 1, 2013- 

April 14, 2013 
2 (Walleye 19½" and larger 
must be immediately released.) 

May 11, 2013- 
Feb. 28, 2014  

6 (Only 1 walleye over 28".) 
Not more than 4 can be 
walleye; walleye 19½"-28" 
must be immediately released. 

 
  
Saganaga Lake May 11, 2013- 

April 14, 2014  
6 (Only 1 walleye over 19½".) 
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BORDER WATERS—CANADA–MINNESOTA 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

NORTHERN PIKE Continuous  3 (Only 1 over 30".)  

Exceptions: 
Lake of the Woods, the Rainy River 
to the dam at International Falls and 
the Warroad, Baudette, and Winter Road 
Rivers (tributaries to Lake of the Woods 
and Rainy River) 

3 (Only 1 over 40"; 
all northern pike from 30" 
through 40" must be  

 immediately released.) 

Basswood Lake 
Including Jackfish 
Pipestone, Hoist, 
and Back bays. 

      May 11, 2013-Feb. 23, 2014 3 (Only 1 over 36".) All 
northern pike from 24" 
through 36" must be immediately 
released. 

MUSKELLUNGE June 15-Nov. 30 1 (Minimum size 40".) 

LARGEMOUTH and 
SMALLMOUTH BASS 
(either or combined) 

Continuous  6 

LAKE STURGEON April 24-May 7 and 
July 1-Sept. 30 

1 per calendar year. (Fish must 
be 45-50", inclusive, or 
over 75".) Immediately upon 
reducing a fish to possession, 
you must validate and attach 
your sturgeon tag. 
Harvested sturgeon must be  
registered within 48 hours. See  
page 63-64 for more details. 

May 8-May 15 and 
Oct. 1, 2013- 
April 23, 2014 

Catch-and-release only. 
(No tag needed.) 

CRAPPIE Continuous  10 

LAKE TROUT May 11, 2013- 
Sept. 30, 2013 

2 

Winter 
Lakes outside or partly outside 
the Boundary Waters Canoe 
Area Wilderness (BWCAW) 
includes all of Clearwater, East 
Bearskin, Magnetic, Saganaga, 
Seagull, and Snowbank. 

Jan 12, 2013 
March 31, 2013 
Jan. 18, 2014­
March 31, 2014 

2 

Lakes entirely within the BWCAW Dec. 29, 2012-  
March 31, 2013 
January 4, 2014­
March 31, 2014 

2 

STREAM TROUT May 4-Sept. 30  5 (Not more than 3 over 16".) 

ALL OTHER SPECIES Continuous In land limits apply 
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Border Waters
 

CANADA–MINNESOTA Regulations 
• One line per angler is allowed, except two lines may be used when ice 

fishing. 
• Saganaga Narrows is closed to fishing April 1-May 24, 2013. 
• Saganaga Falls (Granite River mouth) and the channel between Little 

Gunflint and Little North lakes are closed to fishing April 1-May 31, 2013. 
• Dark houses, fish houses, and shelters, see pages 77-80. 
• While in Minnesota, anglers may not possess more than a Minnesota 

limit of fish from Canada-Minnesota border waters. Fish from Canadian 
inland waters may be pos sessed in Min ne so ta in excess of the Min ne so ta 
limit only if the angler has proof—such as lodging receipts or verification 
through U.S. Cus toms—that the fish were taken from inland Ca na di an 
waters. 

• A person cannot possess or use a gaff while fishing on the Rainy River. 
• Dressed sauger count as walleye (see page 14). 
• Bowfishing (Minnesota’s portion of the waters only) see page 76. 

IOWA–MINNESOTA 
 The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters:

 Jackson County: Little Spirit Lake. 
Jackson and Nobles counties: Iowa Lake. 

 Martin County: Okamanpeedan (Tuttle), Iowa, and Swag lakes. 
Daily and pos ses sion limits are the same. 

See page 37, for Conservation License limits.
 

BORDER WATERS—IOWA–MINNESOTA 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

 
 
WALLEYE May 4, 2013- 

Feb. 16, 2014 
6 

  NORTHERN PIKE May 4, 2013- 
Feb. 16, 2014 

3 

  
LARGEMOUTH and 
SMALLMOUTH BASS 
(either or combined) 

May 4, 2013- 
Feb. 16, 2014  

6 

 CATFISH May 4, 2013-  
Feb. 16, 2014 

8 

SUNFISH*
(either or combined) 
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids) 

 Continuous 30 

CRAPPIE Continuous 15 

PERCH Continuous 30 
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BORDER WATERS—IOWA–MINNESOTA (continued)
 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

WHITE BASS Continuous  30 

BULLHEAD Continuous  No Limit 

UNPROTECTED FISH 
(carp, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, buffalo, burbot, bowfin, gar, and quillback) 

Continuous  No Limit 

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state 
where taken. 

IOWA–MINNESOTA Regulations 
• Anglers may use up to two lines with two hooks per line. 
• Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful. 
• Spearing or archery may be used to take carp, buffalo, sheepshead, dogfish, gar, 

or quillback from sunrise to sunset, May 1, 2013, through Feb. 16, 2014. The 
bowfishing regulations on page 76 are allowed only on Minnesota’s portion of 
the border waters when they differ from those of the border state. If the bowfish­
ing regulations are the same, then they may be exercised from shore to shore. 

• Spearing game fish is unlawful. 
• Dark house, fish house, and shelters, see pages 77-80. 

Free Fishing Weekends
 
Take A Mom Fishing Week end—May 11-12, 2013 

Minnesota resident moms fish free.
 

Take A Kid Fishing Week end—June 7-9, 2013
 
Minnesota residents 16 and older fish free with children younger than 16.
 

Take A Kid Ice Fishing Week end—2014, date to be announced
 
Minnesota residents 16 and older fish free with children younger than 16.
 

For Your Information
 
Total Length 
To determine the legal 
length of a fish, lay it flat 
on its side, squeeze the tail 
from tip to tip, and measure 
from the nose or jaw, 
whichever is longer, to the 
farthest tip of the tail when 
fully extended. 

5 
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Mouth
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push tip
1 2 3 444 6 7 8 9 10 11 122
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Border Waters
 

NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA 
Seasons and regulations apply to the Bois de Sioux River and the 

Red River of the North. Daily and pos ses sion limits are the same. 
See page 37 for Conservation License limits. 

BORDER WATERS—NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

WALLEYE and Continuous 3 
SAUGER (either or combined) 

NORTHERN PIKE Continuous 3 

SUNFISH Continuous 30 

PERCH Continuous 50 

CRAPPIE Continuous 30 

LARGEMOUTH Continuous  3 
and SMALLMOUTH BASS 

MUSKELLUNGE Continuous 1 (Minimum size 40".) 
ROCK BASS Continuous 20 
BULLHEAD Continuous 100 
CATFISH Continuous 5 (only 1 over 24".) 
STURGEON No open season 
UNPROTECTED FISH Continuous No limit 
(carp, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, buffalo, 
burbot, bowfin, gar, white bass.) 

All species not listed are covered by the inland reg u la tions of the state where 
taken. 

NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA Regulations 
• Two lines are permitted, and two hooks are permitted on each line. 
• Spearing from a fish house or a dark house is unlawful. 
• It is unlawful to possess a spear or bow and arrow on or adjacent to 

any water body where the spearing and archery season is closed. 
• Rough fish, except burbot (eelpout), may be taken between sunrise 

and sunset by spearing or archery May 1, through December 31. The 
bowfishing regulations on page 76 are allowed only on Minnesota’s 
portion of the border waters when they differ from those of the border 
state. If the bowfishing regulations are the same, then they may be 
exercised from shore to shore. 

• It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession. 
• Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 77-80. 
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SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA 
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters:
 
Big Stone County: Big Stone Lake. 

Lincoln County: Hendricks Lake. 

Traverse County: Lake Traverse, Mud Lake, Bois de Sioux River 


to North Dakota border, and Mustinka River from the mouth to the 
Minnesota State Highway 117 bridge. 

Daily and possession limits are the same. 
See page 37 for Conservation License limits. 

BORDER WATERS—SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

 
 
WALLEYE and SAUGER 
(either or combined) 

April 20, 2013­  
Feb. 28, 2014  

4 (only 1 walleye 20" or larger) 

NORTHERN PIKE April 20, 2013- 
Feb. 28, 2014 

6 

  
LARGEMOUTH and 
SMALLMOUTH BASS 
(either or combined) 

April 20, 2013-  
Feb. 28, 2014 

6 

 CRAPPIE  Continuous 10 

  SUNFISH* 
(either or combined) 
(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids) 

Continuous  10 

 ROCK BASS  Continuous 20 

 BULLHEAD  Continuous 100 

 PERCH Continuous  15 daily and 30 in possession 

 CATFISH Continuous 5 (Only 1 over 24") 

  STURGEON No Open Season 

  UNPROTECTED FISH 
 (carp, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, buffalo, burbot, bowfin, gar, white bass.) 

Continuous  No Limit 

  

All species not listed above are covered by the inland reg u la tions of the state 
where taken. 

SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA Regulations 

• Anglers may use two lines with up to three hooks per line. 
• Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful. 
• Unprotected fish, except white bass, may be taken by spearing from 

sunrise to sunset from April 27 through December 1. 
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•	The bowfishing regulations on page 76, are allowed only on 
Minnesota’s portion of the border waters when they differ from those 
of the border state. If the bowfishing regulations are the same, then 
they may be exercised from shore to shore.

•	 It is unlawful to possess a spear, spring gaff, or bow and arrow on or 
adjacent to any body of water where the spearing and archery season 
is closed.

•	Spearing from a fish house or dark house is unlawful. 
•	Spearing game fish is unlawful.
•	 It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession.
•	Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 77-80. 
•	The following waters in Traverse County are closed to fishing from 

March 1 to April 26: Mud Lake within 500 feet downstream of 
Reservation Dam at State Highway 117; and Bois de Sioux River 
within 500 feet downstream of White Rock Dam at State  
Highway 236.

Border Waters

FISHING ETHICS
As fishing pressure continues to grow, the DNR offers these suggestions to 
make fishing safe and enjoyable for all anglers:
•	Don’t litter monofilament fishing line, styrofoam, plastic bags, six‑pack 

holders, and other plastics (can kill fish and wildlife that eat or get tangled 
up in these products). 

•	Prepare your boat and trailer before you are on the ramp so that you can 
launch quickly.

•	Ask for permission before entering private land. 
•	Keep only the amount of fish you can use.
•	Release some medium-sized fish so they can grow larger and be caught in 

the future. 
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WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA 
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters: 
Mississippi River (downstream of the highway bridge in Prescott, 

Wisconsin and all waters between the Burlington Northern [Wisconsin] 
and Chicago Milwaukee [Minnesota] railroad tracks), Lake Pepin, St. 
Croix River, Lake St. Croix, St. Louis River, St. Louis Bay, and Su pe ri or 
Bay. 

Daily and possession limits are the same. 
See page 29 for Conservation License limits. 

BORDER WATERS—WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

WALLEYE and SAUGER (either or combined) 

  
St. Louis River May 11, 2013- 

March 2, 2014 
2 (15" min i mum size for walleye)  

  
St. Croix River May 4, 2013- 

March 2, 2014 
6 (15" minimum size for walleye)  

 
Mississippi River 
and Lake Pepin 

Continuous 6 (15" minimum size for walleye) 

 LARGEMOUTH and SMALLMOUTH BASS (either or com bined) 

 
St. Louis River May 25, 2013- 

March 2, 2014 
5 (14" minimum size) 

 

St. Croix River 
Upstream of Taylors 
Falls Dam 

May 25, 2013- 
Sept. 8, 2014 
Sept. 8 2013- 

5 (14" minimum size) 

March 2, 2014 
Catch-and-release only 

Downstream of 
Taylors Falls Dam to 
U.S. Hwy. 10 Bridge 

May 25, 2013- 
March 2, 2014 

5 (14" minimum size) 

Mississippi River  
and Lake Pepin 

Continuous 5 (14" minimum size) 

NORTHERN PIKE 

 
St. Louis River May 11, 2013- 

March 2, 2014 
2 

 
St. Croix River May 4, 2013- 

March 2, 2014 
5 

Mississippi River 
and Lake Pepin 

 Continuous  5 
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Border Waters
 

BORDER WATERS—WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

MUSKELLUNGE 

St. Louis River 50" minimum size. 

May 25, 2013- 
March 2, 2014 

1 (40" minimum size)  

PERCH Continuous  25 

CHANNEL and 
FLATHEAD CATFISH 
(either or combined) Continuous  10 

BULLHEAD Continuous  No Limit 

ROUGH FISH Continuous  No Limit 

WHITE BASS 
and YELLOW BASS 
(either or combined) 

Continuous  25 

CRAPPIE Continuous  25 

ROCK BASS Continuous  25 

SUNFISH 
(either or combined) 
(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids) 
**Except for Mississippi River Pools 5, 5A and 8: possession limit 10. MN side only. 

Continuous  25** 

PADDLEFISH No Open Season 

LAKE STURGEON 
All waters except 
those listed below Closed 

St. Croix (Taylors Falls 
Dam Downstream to 
mouth at Prescott,WI) 

Sturgeon tag needed, see page 63-64 for details. 

Sept. 7-Sept. 30 1 per calendar year  
(minimum size 60") 

Oct. 1-Oct. 15 Catch-and-release only 

SHOVELNOSE 
STUR GEON 
Downstream from Red Wing Dam only. 

Continuous 10 (No minimum size) 

All species not listed above are covered by the inland reg u la tions of the state where taken. 

WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA Regulations 
• Two lines with a single lure or bait on each are permitted. If fishing 


with one line you may use two baits.
 
• Fish hooked in any part of the body, except the mouth, must be returned 

to the water immediately. 
• Angler must be within 400 feet of their tip-ups. 
• Rough fish may be taken by spearing and dip-netting during daylight 

hours from May 4, 2013, through March 2, 2014. Dip net hoops cannot 
exceed 24 inches in diameter. 
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

• The bowfishing regulations on page 76 are allowed only on Minnesota’s 
portion of the border waters, when they differ from those of the border 
state. If the bowfishing regulations are the same, then they may be 
exercised from shore to shore. 

• Spearing game fish is prohibited. It is unlawful to have a spear on or 
adjacent to any body of water where the spearing season is closed. 

• It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession. 
• No fishing allowed within 300 feet below Mississippi River Lock and Dam 3 

(near Red Wing) and Lock and Dam 4 (Alma, WI) from March 1-April 30. 
• No fishing from Taylors Falls (St. Croix Falls on the St. Croix River) 

dam to 50 feet downstream from the pier in center of river. 
• Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 77-80. 

For Your Information 
Aquatic Plant Permit Requirements 

Water plants such as bulrushes are essential for lake ecosystems. 
They reduce wave erosion, provide fish and wildlife habitat, and 
purify water. Because lake plants can interfere with swimming and 
boating by lakeshore owners—but are also vital to lake health—the 
DNR allows removal under the following conditions. 

DNR permit not required 
For underwater plants only, you 
may cut or pull plants as long as: 
1. The area does not extend  

along more than 50 feet of  
your shoreline or one-half  
the length of your frontage, 
whichever is less; 

2. The total area is less than  
2,500 square feet (except 
for boat channels); and 

3. The plants are immediately  
and permanently disposed  
of on high ground where 
they  can’t re-enter the 
water. 

DNR permit is required to: 
1. Remove emergent plants  

(such as bulrushes, cattails, 
and wild rice). 

2. Remove plants in an area  
larger than 2,500 square 
feet  or wider than 50 feet. 

3. Use herbicides or algicides 
in Minnesota lakes. 

4. Remove water lilies (other  
than in a narrow channel  
extending to open water). 

5. Install or use an automated 
device such as the Crary  

 WeedRoller. 

A person who illegally destroys plants can be cited and made to 
pay for the restoration of those plants. 

For more information, call your regional DNR office (page 94) or 
visit our Web site at mndnr.gov. 
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SPEARING, ARCHERY,  AND DIP NETS
 
Rough fish are defined as carp, buffalo, sucker, red horse, sheep s head, 

bowfin, burbot (eelpout), cisco (tullibee), gar, mooneye, and bullhead. 
The regulations below apply to spear ing rough fish in state waters unless 
noted oth er wise in this booklet.
 •Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in 

designated trout lakes or streams. 
• Licensed anglers and children under 16 may take rough fish by 

spearing, harpooning, archery, and hand-held dip nets on all inland 
waters, except where taking fish is prohibited. All rough fish, except 
cisco (tullibee), may be bought and sold. 

• Hand-held dip nets shall not have hoops ex ceed ing 24 inches in 
diameter. (For more on smelt, see pages 15 and 40.) 

• Harpoons (spears) must have a tethered line not more than 20 feet 
long, may be discharged only when the equipment and the operator 
are entirely under the surface of the water, and may not be used within 
1,000 feet of a swimming beach. 

• A person may not release carp or buffalo taken by netting back into 

the water.
 

• It is unlawful to possess on, or near waters, a net or any device that 
can take fish. The exceptions are angling equipment and landing nets 
used for angling, seines, and traps for taking minnows for bait, and as 
otherwise specifically authorized. 

• It is unlawful to possess a spear, harpoon, dipnet, or archery 
equipment on or near any waters from March 1-April 30. 

• Speared or dead rough fish may not be returned to the water or left on 
the ice or banks of any lake or stream. 

SPEARING, HARPOONING,AND DIP NET SEASON AND 

POSSESSION LIMIT
 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT 

    BULLHEAD  

 

 

  From sunrise to sunset, 
May 1, 2013- 

Last Sunday in February. 
(See pg. 77 for dark 

house spearing laws.) 

100 

    SUCKER 50 

   REDHORSE 50 

    OTHER ROUGH FISH SPECIES  No limit 

continued on next page 
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BOWFISHING SEASON AND POSSESSION LIMIT
 

 
SPECIES BOWFISHING SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT 

    
      
 
      
 
      
 
 

BULLHEAD 

 

 

  
 

May 1, 2013- 
Last Sunday in 

February. 

100 

    SUCKER 50 

   REDHORSE 50 

 
   

OTHER ROUGH 
FISH SPECIES 

No limit 

 

• new  A bow may be transported uncased and discharged while taking rough 
fish in a boat powered by: (1) an electric motor; or (2) a gasoline­
powered motor while using a 4-stroke generator. A bow cannot 

otherwise be armed in a boat or used to take fish with a gasoline-

powered motor.
 

• Crossbows may not be used to take rough fish except by disabled 
persons who have a valid crossbow permit. Permit applications are 
available from the DNR Information Center or through the DNR 
website. 

• Arrows must be attached to the bow with a teth ered line. Broadheads 
must have barbs for bowfishing. 

• Night bowfishing total noise levels may not exceed 65 decibels on the 
“A” scale at a distance of 50 feet from the boat. 

• From sunset to sunrise, a person bowfishing with the assistance of a 
gasoline-powered motor must use a four-stroke powered generator. 

• Bowfishing can be done from open water or through the ice in a fish 
house or shelter day or night with or without lights. 

• Must take reasonable measures to retreive arrows and wounded fish. 
• Cannot discharge an arrow while bowfishing within 150 ft. of 

occupied structures or within 300 ft. of campsite from sunset to 
sunrise. 

• Possession of bows and arrows for bowfishing is subject to local 
firearms and archery ordinances. 

• Rough fish taken by bowfishing shall not be returned to the water or 
left on the banks of any water.
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 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR) 



 
 

 

 

 

 
 
  
  
      
     
  
 
 
  

Ice Angling and Spearing
 

ICE ANGLING AND SPEARING
 

General Regulations 
• Two lines may be used through the ice (other than on designated trout 

lakes and streams). 
• Ice anglers must remain within sight of their lines or within 200 feet of 

their tip-up. 

update 

DARK HOUSE SPEARING SEASON 

SPECIES SPEARING SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT 

   NORTHERN PIKE 
 

 
 

 

  

 

From sunrise  
to sunset, 

Nov. 15, 2013- 
last Sunday in 

February except 
where prohibited. 

3 (only 1 over 30") 
(unless special regulations apply) 

CATFISH 5 (only 1 over 24") 
(not more than 2 flathead)      

WHITEFISH  No limit 

     For other species see table on page 75. 

• Residents age 18 through 89 and all nonresidents must have a dark 
house spearing license and an angling license. Residents age 65 years 
old and older are exempt from the dark house spearing license, but 
must have an angling license to spear. 

• Party fishing does not apply while spearing. 
• While spearing, a person may take fish by angling in a dark house 


if only one angling line is in use and any fish caught is immediately 

released or placed on the ice. 


• Using an artificial light to see fish when spearing is unlawful. Lighted 
decoys are legal to use. Any battery that is used in lighted decoys must 
not contain mercury. 

Shelters (fish houses and dark houses) 
The following regulations apply to all shelters used on all Minnesota 

waters, unless otherwise noted elsewhere in this booklet. 
• new 
All shelters, except for occupied* portable shelters, placed on the ice 

of Minnesota waters must have either the 

(1) complete name and address, (2) driver’s license number, or (3) the 
nine-digit Minnesota DNR number on the license of the owner plainly 
and legibly displayed on the outside in letters, and figures at least 
2 inches in height. *A person using a portable shelter on the ice that 
does not display identification must remain within 200’ of the shelter. 

• A shelter may not be left unoccupied or unattended anytime between 
midnight and one hour prior to sunrise unless the shelter is licensed. 

Note: The Minnesota Dept. of Public Safety–DVS requires trailers used 
to haul fish houses or dark houses and enclosed trailers or recreational 

continued on page 80 
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trailers used for fishing to be registered. See your local Deputy Registrar 
for trailer registration. 
• A tag, fur nished with a license, must be attached to the exterior in a 


readily visible location.
 
• Shelters left on the ice overnight need to have at least 2 square inches 

of reflective material on each side of the house. 
• No person may erect a shelter within 10 feet of an existing shelter. 
• A shelter license is not required on border waters with WI, IA, ND, and SD. 
• Shelters must comply with the identification requirements of the state 

for which the angler is licensed. 
• Shelters may be used for fishing within the Boundary Waters Canoe 

Area Wilderness (BWCAW), but must be removed from the ice each 
night. The structure must be removed from the BWCAW each time the 
occupant leaves the BWCAW. 

Shelter Removal Dates 
• All shelters must be off the ice no 


later than midnight for each of the 

dates given in the following categories 

below.
 

Inland Waters 
Dates of removal are determined by an east-
west line formed by U.S. Hwy. 10, east along 
Hwy. 34 to Minnesota Hwy. 200, east along Hwy. 
200 to U.S. Hwy. 2, and east along Hwy. 2 to the 
Minnesota-Wisconsin border: 

Border Waters 
Minnesota–Iowa, Feb. 20 
Minnesota–Wisconsin, March 1 
Minnesota–North and South Dakota, March 5 
Minnesota–Canada, March 31 

• If shelters are not removed, owners will be prosecuted, and the 

structure and contents may be confiscated and removed, or destroyed 

by a conservation officer.
 

• After removal dates, shelters may remain on the ice between midnight 
and one hour before sunrise only when occupied or attended. 

• Storing or leaving shelters on a public access is prohibited. 

Inland waters 
March 18, 2013 
March 17, 2014 

Inland waters 
March 4, 2013 
March 3, 2014 
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Ice Angling and Spearing
 

Spearing Prohibited 

Winter spearing for north ern pike is pro hib it ed on the following lakes: 

Baby* (Cass County) 

Bald Eagle (Anoka, Ramsey, and 


 Wash ing ton counties) 
Beers* (Otter Tail County) 
Big* (Beltrami County) 
Big Mantrap* (Hubbard County) 
Cross and its Snake River 

Flowage* (Pine County) 
Deer* (Itasca County) 
Eagle (Hennepin County) 
Forest (Hennepin County) 
Libbs (Hennepin County) 
Lobster* (Douglas County) 
Mille Lacs (Aitkin, Crow Wing, 

and Mille Lacs counties) 

Minnetonka (Hennepin and 
Carver counties) 

Moose* (Itasca County) 
North Star* and Little 

North Star* (Itasca County) 
Owasso (Ramsey County) 
Peavey (Hennepin County) 
Rebecca (Hennepin County) 
Rush* (Chisago County) 
Spider* (Itasca County) 
Stieger (Carver County) 
Sugar* (Wright County) 
Tanager (Hennepin County) 
Wabedo* (Cass County) 
West Battle* (Otter Tail County) 

*Denotes lakes where no spearing is allowed at any time. 

mndnr.gov 81 



2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

ILLUSTRATED FISH OF MINNESOTA
 

Knowing what fish species you are catching is not only fun, but in 
many cases it’s required by law. It is partic u lar ly impor tant to know 
how to distinguish walleye from sauger, to know the difference between 
northern pike and muskellunge, and to be able to tell what species of 
trout or salmon you catch. 

Walleye and Sauger
 

Walleye 

White spot on 
bottom of tail 

Dark ar

No spots on dorsal fin 

ea at base of dorsal fin 

Maynard Reece 

Sauger 
No dark ar

Spots on dorsal fin
ea at base of dorsal fin 

Duane Raver, USFWS 

Walleye/sauger (saugeye) hybrid fillets are counted as part of a walleye possession limit during 
transportation. 

Largemouth 

Back of mouth goes way 
beyond back of eye
Back of mouth goes way 
beyond back of eye 

Duane Raver, USFWS 

Smallmouth 

 Back of mouth goes 
only to middle of eye 

Duane Raver, USFWS 

Largemouth and Smallmouth bass 
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Illustrated Fish of Minnesota
 

  

  

 

 

 

 

Clear 

Barred 

Spotted 

Paired fins having 
more pointed tips 

Coloration with vertical dark markings on a light background 
(Juvenile pattern similar to that of adults) 

Tail with 
pointed tips 

Tail with 
rounded tips 

6 or more pores on each side 

(Esox masquinongy X Esox lucius) 

Paired fins having 
rounded tips 

under jaw 

Coloration having irregular narrow vertical dark markings on a 
light background with stripes merging onto the back in an interlocking pattern 

Coloration with pattern of horizontal rows of Tail with more 

Northern Pike 
(Esox lucius) 

light round to oval spots on a dark background 

Paired fins having 
more rounded tips 

(Juvenile pattern has white, oblique bars 
which extend from the white belly) 

rounded tips 

Illustrations 
©1986 by Virg Beck 

5 or fewer pores on each 
side under jaw 

Catfish
 

Flathead Catfish 

mndnr.gov 

Northern Pike and Muskellunge
 
 Muskellunge 

Tiger (hybrid) Muskellunge 

Channel Catfish 

83 



 
 

 
 

 

 

2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Trout and Salmon
 

Rainbow trout 

Duane Raver, USFWS 

Brown trout 

Duane Raver, USFWS 

Brook trout 

Duane Raver, USFWS 

To tell a brookie 
from a splake 
from a lake trout, 
look at the tail: 

Lake trout 

Carlyn Iverson 

Steelhead 
(Rainbow Trout) 

Joseph Tomelleri 

Chinook salm on 

Joseph Tomelleri 

Coho salmon 

Tim Knepp, USFWS 

White leading 
edge on lower fins 

Brook  
trout 

Lake 
trout 

Splake 

Small black dots throughout 
the body that extend into tail 

Square 
tail 

Light, wormlike markings on 
dark upper body 

Large dark spots 
and red dots on 
brown body 

Pinkish stripe on 
silvery body 

White spots on 
grayish body 

White leading 
edge on lower fins 

Spots in top half 
of tail only 

Spots throughout 
tail 

15-17 rays in anal fin 

Inside mouth 
is dark 

Inside mouth 
is gray 

Usually a pink stripe 
on silvery body 

10 rays in anal fin 

Inside mouth 
is white 

Small spots 
throughout tail 

Forked 
tail 

Pink salmon 13-15 rays in anal fin 

Small scales 

Green and white blotches 

Some eye-sized 
spots in tail and 
on back 

Spawning male 
has hump on 
back. 

Tim Knepp, USFWS 

on spawning fish 

84 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR) 



 

 

    
   
    

   
   
   
   
      
      

 
 

  
  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

  

 
    
    
    
    
    
    
    

    

   
   
   
   
   
   

        

 

   

CRAPPIE

MUSKIE 

Illustrated Fish of Minnesota
 

Rainbow Trout-Salmon Identification Guide
 

RAINBOW TROUT
 = white mouth 

COHO SALMON AND 
CHINOOK SALMON
 = grayish to black mouth 

RAINBOW TROUT 
Tail has many small 

spots in distinct rows. 

COHO SALMON 
Tail has some large 
spots mostly on the 

upper half. 

CHINOOK SALMON 
Tail has large spots 

throughout, especially 
in the silver area at the 

base of the tail. 

The shape of the anal fin is another way to identify 
these species.This can easily be seen by depressing the 
front edge of the anal fin to its base as shown below. 

anal fin front 
edge 

base 

RAINBOW TROUT Tip falls to or beyond end of base 

COHO SALMON Tip falls slightly past middle  

CHINOOK SALMON Tip falls short of middle 

Weigh Your Fish With a Ruler 
Fish are sometimes injured when weighed. With this chart, you 

can quickly determine the approximate weight of your fish using a
ruler or tape measure. 

CRAPPIE
 
 

length 
(inches)

weight 
 (lbs.) 

8  
 

0.3 
9 0.4 

10 0.6 
11 0.8 
12 1.1 
13 1.4 
14 1.8 
15 2.2 
16 2.7 
17 3.3 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

TROUT 
length 

(inches) 
weight 
(lbs.) 

8  
 

 

0.2 
9 0.3 

10 0.4 
11 0.6 
12 0.8 
13 0.9 
14 1.1 
15 1.4 
16 1.6 
17 1.8 
18 2.3 

BASS 
length 

(inches)
weight 
 (lbs.) 

12 

 
 

1.0 
13 1.3 
14 1.7 
15 2.1 
16 2.5 
17 3.0 
18 3.6 
19 4.2 
20 5.0 
21 5.7 
22 6.6 
23 7.6 
   

WALLEYE
length 

(inches) 
 weight 

(lbs.) 

14 

 

1.0 
15 1.2 
16 1.5 
17 1.8 
18 2.2 
19 2.5 
20 3.0 
21 3.5 
22 4.1 
23 4.7 
24 5.4 
25 6.1 
26 6.9 
27 7.8 
28 8.8 
29 9.8 

NORTHERN 
length 

(inches)
 weight
 
 (lbs.)
 

24 3.2 
25 3.6 
26 4.0 
27 4.6 
28 5.2 
29 5.8 
30 6.4 
31 7.1 
32 7.8 
33  8.6 
34  9.4 
35  10.3
36  11.2
 
37  12.2 
38  13.3
39  14.4
40  15.6
41  16.8
42  18.1

SUNFISH 
length w

 (inches) 
eight

(lbs.) 

8 

   

0.4 
9 0.6

10 0.8
11 1.1
12 1.5
13 1.9
14 2.4
15 3.0
16 3.7 

MUSKIE 
length 
(inches) 

weight
 
(lbs.)

48 

 

29
49 32 
50 34
51 36
52 39
53 41
54 44 
55  47
56 50 

  Note: These figures are rough estimates only. 
Actual weights vary slightly by lake and stream. 
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

OTHER AQUATIC SPECIES 


The following regulations apply to the taking and possession of mussels (clams), 
crayfish, frogs, minnows, leech es, and turtles for  personal or commercial use. 

Mussels (Clams): It is illegal to possess live mussels. All of Minnesota’s 
50 species of mussels are protected by law, and 20 are endangered or threatened 
species. From May 16 through the last day of February, licensed anglers and 
children under 16 may, by hand picking, take or possess up to 24 whole shells or 
48 shell halves from dead mussels of species that are not endangered or threatened. 
It is illegal to take dead mussel shells from the St. Croix River, or to possess zebra 
mussels. The mussels may not be bought or sold. 

Crayfish: From April 1-Nov. 30, from sunrise to sunset, licensed anglers and 
children under 16 may take and possess up to 25 pounds of live, whole crayfish 
for per son al use. A DNR permit* is required to import, transport, or sell crayfish. 
Crayfish may be used as bait only in the body of water where they were captured. 
The use of live crayfish as bait on the St. Croix National Scenic Riverway (north 
of the Boomsite Boat Launch) and within Voyageurs National Park, units of the 
National Park System, is prohibited. 

Frogs: From May 16 to March 31 licensed anglers and children under age 16 may 
take, use, buy, and sell an unlimited number of frogs up to 6 inches long for bait. 
A DNR license is required to take frogs for pur pos es other than bait. Bullfrogs are 
native to SE corner of MN, but are invasive and destructive elsewhere in the state. 
Do not release bullfrogs outside of Winona and Houston counties. 

Minnows and Leeches: Licensed anglers may take minnows or leeches for their 
own use with dip nets, traps, or seines. 
• Taking of wild animals for bait from designated infested waters (see pages 

20-33) is unlawful, except for: 1) minnows and leeches taken for personal use 
from waters infested SOLELY with Eurasian watermilfoil, and 2) certain rough 
fish may be taken from rivers - see page 15. At these waters, harvested bait 
may ONLY be used at the water where taken and may only be taken using a 
cylindrical trap not exceeding 16" in diameter and 32" long. Taking of bait from 
other infested waters and using them is unlawful. 

• Seines may not be over 25 feet long or more than 148 meshes deep with ¼-inch 
bar measure, or more than 197 meshes deep with 3»16-inch bar measure. 

• Traps used on waters, other than infested, may not exceed a width and length 
of 30 inches, height may not exceed 15 inches, the diameter or width of the 
opening may not exceed 1½ inches, and mesh size may not exceed ½-inch bar 
measure. Traps must have a  water proof tag bearing the name and address of the 
owner. 

• It is unlawful to use throw nets. 
• A DNR commercial minnow license* is required to possess more than 24 dozen 

minnows or leeches; to transport more than 12 dozen minnows; to sell, export 
or import; or to take minnows or leeches from designated trout waters. 

*License and permit applications are available from the DNR, 500 Lafayette 
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Information Online
 

Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4020. 
• Unwanted minnows and leeches cannot be disposed of in MN waters. 
• All streams and associated tributaries and connected waters of the 

Missouri River watershed in Lincoln, Pipestone, Murray, Rock, or Nobles 
counties that lie south of U.S. Highway 14 to the Iowa border and west of 
U.S. Highway 59 to South Dakota are closed to minnow harvest. Minnows 
may be taken by angling for personal use. 

• A permit from the DNR, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, is required to take 

madtoms and stonecats in Dodge, Freeborn, or Mower counties.
 

Turtles: Resident licensed anglers and children under 16 may take, possess, 
and transport turtles for personal use. Western painted, snapping, and 
spiny softshell turtles are the only harvestable species and may be taken. 
Harvest by explosives, drugs, poisons, lime, and other harmful substances is 
prohibited. Harvest by traps, nets, or other commercial equipment requires a 
recreational turtle license, in addition to an angling license. A DNR permit is 
required to collect turtle eggs from natural nests. Residents under age 18 may 
take, possess, rent, or sell up to 25 turtles for use in a nonprofit turtle race. 
• The snapping turtle possession limit is 3. Min i mum size limit is 12" in 


shell length. Snapping turtles may not be taken during May and June.
 
• Spiny softshell minimum size limit is 12" in shell length. Spiny softshells 

may not be taken June 1-July 15. 
• Western painted turtle maximum size limit is 5½" in shell length, except 


that those used in turtle races may be of any length greater than 4".
 

BUY LOCAL OR 
CERTIFIED WOOD. 

Help Prevent The Spread 
Of Invasive Plants and 
Animals. 
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ONLINE INFORMATION

More information on the following subjects can be found online at the 

DNR website. 
Boat and Water Safety 

Everyone on board your boat needs to have a readily accessible, U.S. 
Coast Guard-approved life vest of the proper size and type. In addition, 
if the boat is 16 feet or longer, there must also be an approved throwable 
device such as a boater’s seat cushion or ring buoy. 

Children under the age of ten must wear a life jacket on board any 
boat underway. Underway means not attached to a permanent mooring 
or tied to a dock. There are exceptions to the law for: children who are 
below the top deck, or in an enclosed cabin, or on a boat operated by a 
licensed captain, or on a boat that is anchored for the purpose of swim­
ming or diving. 

It’s always a good idea to wear your life jacket, since most fatal boat­
ing mishaps are capsizings or fall-overboard accidents that happen with­
out any warning to adults on boats 16 feet or less on calm waters, while 
traveling at slow speed or stopped. 

For a complete summary of the boating reg u la tions and safety infor­
mation, contact the DNR Information Center for a copy of the Minnesota 
Boating Guide, or find it online. For rules per tain ing to the use of mo tor-
boats within Wild life  Management Areas, refer to the Minnesota Hunting 
and Trap ping  Regulations Handbook or call DNR Information Center. 

Aquatic Management Areas 
The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife acquires land along lakes and 

streams to provide fishing opportunities and to protect critical fish habitat. 
These areas, known as Aquatic Management Areas (AMAs), are posted with 
signs to indicate allowable uses. Each sign is marked with a letter to easily 
identify permitted activities. It is always unlawful to leave personal equip­
ment, such as tree stands, unattended on AMA’s. 

Catch-and-Release 
Improved fishing technology and increasing fishing pressure have caused 

fishing quality to decline in many waters. Catch-and-release fishing offers 
anglers a way to enjoy their sport with less harm to the resource. Find more 
information online. 
• Don’t plan to release fish that have been on a stringer or in a livewell. 
• Play and land the fish quickly. 
• new Don’t angle for fish in very deep water, unless you plan to keep what you 

catch. Fizzing of fish, or the act of inserting a needle into a fish intended 
to deflate the gas bladder, caught from deep water can do more harm than 
good and is not recommended. 

• Handle the fish gently and keep it in the water as much as possible. 
• Do not hold the fish by the eye sockets or gills, but rather by the lower lip 
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State Record Fish
 

or under the gill plate and also support the belly of the fish. 
• Wet your hands before touching a fish to help prevent removal of its 


protective slime coating. 

• If a hook is deeply imbedded, cut the line so that at least an inch hangs out 

of the mouth. This helps the hook to lay flush when the fish takes in food. 
• Circle hooks may help in reducing deeply hooked fish. They are made to 


hook fish in the mouth.
 
• A fish that can be legally kept should not be released if it is bleeding 


heavily, which indicates its chance of survival is poor.
 
• You cannot practice catch-and-release for a species during its closed season. 

Managing Minnesota’s Fisheries 
The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife is responsible for man ag ing the 

state’s diverse fisheries resources (5,400 fishable lakes and 15,000 fishable 
streams). Each year, roughly 2 million people fish in Minnesota, and sport 
fishing generates ap prox i mate ly $1.9 billion in direct ex pen di tures, mak ing 
an gling one of the state’s largest industries. 

Much of Minnesota’s fisheries program is reimbursed by the Federal Aid 
in Sport Fish Restoration Program (federal excise tax), ad min is tered by the 
US Fish and Wildlife Service. 

Master Angler Program 
The Fishing Hall of Fame of Minnesota in partnership with DNR recog­

nize anglers who catch large fish of various species. Categories include adult, 
youth, and catch-and-release. 

For more information on becoming a Master Angler, visit the DNR website 
or www.fishinghalloffamemn.com. 

Sunrise/Sunset 
The daily times for sunrise/sunset vary greatly across the state. To find the 

sunrise or sunset hours on the water you fish, go to mndnr.gov/sunrise-sunset 

Conservation Partners Legacy Grant Program- 
Habitat Money Available. Funding for projects to restore, enhance, and 

protect Minnesota's fish, game, and wildlife habitat. See www.mndnr.gov/cpl 
for details. 

State Record Fish 
If you catch and keep a fish that you think could be a record, follow 

these steps: 
• Take the fish to a DNR fisheries office for positive iden ti fi ca tion and a 

state record fish application. 
• Weigh the fish on a state-certified scale (found at most bait shops and 

butcher shops), wit nessed by two ob serv ers. 
• Complete the ap pli ca tion and send it along with a clear, full-length 


photo of your fish to the address listed on the form.
 
• DNR does not keep line class records. 
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The following is a complete list of Minnesota’s state record fish and where they were 
caught. Weights given are in pounds and ounces  (example: 55–5 is 55 pounds, 5 ounces). 
No additional species or hybrids are being considered for the state record fish program. 

Bass, Largemouth: 8–15, Auburn Lake (Carver). Bass, Rock: 2–0, Osakis Lake 
(Todd); and 2–0, Lake Winnibigoshish (Cass). Bass, Smallmouth: 8–0, West 
Battle Lake (Otter Tail). Bass, White: 4-2, Mississippi River Pool 5 (Wabasha). 
Bluegill: 2–13, Alice Lake (Hubbard). Bowfin: 12–9, Mississippi River 
(Wabasha). Buffalo, Bigmouth: 41–11, Mississippi River (Goodhue). Buffalo, 
Black: 20–0, Minnesota River (Nicollet). Buffalo, Smallmouth: 20-0, Big Sandy 
(Aitkin). Bullhead, Black: 3–13, Reno Lake (Pope). Bullhead, Brown: 7–1, 
Shallow Lake (Itasca). Bullhead, Yellow: 3–10, Osakis Lake (Todd). Burbot: 
19–8, Lake of the Woods (Lake of the Woods). Carp: 55–5, Clearwater Lake 
(Wright). Carpsucker, River: 4–6, Minnesota River (Carver). Catfish, Channel: 
38–0, Mississippi River (Hennepin). Catfish, Flathead: 70–0, St. Croix River 
(Washington). Crappie, Black: 5–0, Vermilion River (Dakota). Crappie, White: 
3–15, Lake Constance (Wright). Drum, Freshwater: 35–3, Mississippi River 
(Winona). Eel, American: 6–9, St. Croix River (Washington). Gar, Longnose: 
16–12, St. Croix River (Washington). Gar, Shortnose: 4–10, Mississippi River 
(Hennepin). Goldeye: 2–13, Root River (Houston). Hogsucker, Northern: 
1–15, Sunrise River (Chisago). Mooneye: 1–15, Minnesota River (Redwood). 
Muskellunge: 54–0, Lake Winnibigoshish (Itasca). Muskellunge, Tiger: 34–12, 
Lake Elmo (Washington). Perch, Yellow: 3–4, Lake Plantaganette (Hubbard). 
Pike, Northern: 45–12, Basswood Lake (Lake). Pumpkinseed: 1–6, Leech 
Lake (Cass). Quillback: 7–5, Upper Red Lake (Beltrami). Redhorse, Golden: 
3–15, Root River (Fillmore). Redhorse, Greater: 12–11, Sauk River (Stearns). 
Redhorse, River: 12-10, Kettle River (Pine). Redhorse, Shorthead: 7–15, Rum 
River (Anoka). Redhorse, Silver: 9-15, Bigfork River (Koochiching). Salmon, 
Atlantic: 12–13, Baptism River (Lake). Salmon, Chinook: 33–4, Poplar River 
(Cook); and 33–4, Lake Superior (St. Louis). Salmon, Coho: 10–7, Lake Superior 
(Lake). Salmon, Kokanee: 2–15, Caribou Lake (Itasca). Salmon, Pink: 4–8, 
Cascade River (Cook). Sauger: 6–3, Mississippi River (Goodhue). Splake: 13–6, 
Larson Lake (Itasca). Sturgeon, Lake: 94–4, Kettle River (Pine). Sturgeon 
Shovelnose: 6–7, Mississippi River (Goodhue). Sucker, Blue: 14–3, Mississippi 
River (Wabasha). Sucker, Longnose: 3–11, Brule River (Cook). Sucker, 
White: 9–1, Big Fish Lake (Stearns). Sunfish, Green: 1–5, North Arbor Lake 
(Hennepin). Sunfish, Hybrid: 1–12, Zumbro River (Olmsted). Trout, Brook: 
6–5, Pigeon River (Cook). Trout, Brown: 16–12, Lake Superior (St. Louis). 
Trout, Lake: 43–8, Lake Superior (Cook). Trout, Rainbow (Steelhead): 16-6, 
Devil Track River (Cook). Trout, Tiger: 2–9, Mill Creek (Olmsted). Tullibee 
(Cisco): 5–12, Little Long (St. Louis). Walleye: 17–8, Seagull River (Cook). 
Walleye-Sauger Hybrid: 9–13, Mississippi River (Goodhue). Warmouth: 0–9, 
Bartlet Lake (Winona). Whitefish, Lake: 12–5, Leech Lake (Cass). Whitefish, 
Menominee: 2–8, Lake Superior (Cook). 
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Sunrise/Sunset Table
 

Sunrise/Sunset Table 
• The following table is provided primarily for trout and salmon anglers 

who need to know the sunrise and sunset times on the waters they fish. 
• Times shown are Central Daylight Saving Time beginning March 10, 

2013 through Nov. 2, 2013. Central Standard Time for all other dates. 
• The times in the table below are for the longitudinal line running north 

and south through Minneapolis/St. Paul. To find the sunrise or sunset 
hours on the water you fish, go to mndnr.gov/sunrise-sunset/ 
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

EAT FISH OFTEN? 
Most fish are healthy to eat and fish are a great way to get low-fat 
protein, but any fish (store-bought or sport-caught) could have contami­
nants such as mercury and PCBs that can harm human health—especially 
children and fetuses. 

The Minnesota Department of Health lets people know how often fish 
can be safely eaten. 

The Safe Fish Eating guidelines on the following pages are based on 
mercury measured in fish from lakes across the state. 

Guidelines for waters where fish have been tested are on the DNR Web site. 

Tips for safe fish eating 
• Eat smaller fish. Bigger fish have more contaminants. 
• Eat more panfish (sunfish, crappies) and less fish that eat other fish (walleyes, north­

ern pike, lake trout). 
• Trim skin and fat, especially belly fat. Also, eat fewer fatty fish such as carp, catfish, 

and lake trout. 

Consejos para el consumo saludable de pescado 
• Coma pescados mas pequenos. Pescados grandes pueden contener mas 

contaminantes. 
• Coma mas peces como Pomosios y Pez Sol y menos pescados que comen otros 

peces como Lucioperca, Lucio Norteño y Trucha de Lago. 
• Remueva la piel y la grasa, especialmente la grasa alrededor de la barriga. Tambien 

coma menos pescados que tienen mas grasa como Bagre, Carpa y Trucha de Lago. 

Tej yam qhia noj ntse kom txhob muaj teeb meem 
• Yuav tsum noj cov ntse me. Cov ntse loj muaj ntau yam tsis huv.Txheem rau lawv 

lub cev lawm. 
• Noj cov ntse pluav xws lis (xafiv = sunfish, kabpib = crappies) thiab yog cov ntse uas 

tom lwm yam ntse no ces noj kom tsawg xws lis (vaulais = walleyes, novtaw phaij = 
northern pike, lej rhauj = lake trout). 

• Yim cov tawv thiab roj, qhov tseem ceeb tshaj yog cov roj tawm npluag plab.Tsis tag 
lis xwb yuav tsum noj cov ntse rog kom tsawg lis tsawg tau xws lis pamnais, ntse 
tuajkub, thiab (lej rhauj = lake trout). 

 

 

• Nên ăn cá nhỏ. Cá lớn chứa nhiếu chất ô nhiễm. 
• Nên ăn loại cá nhỏ cỡ có thể chiên trong chảo như cá sunfish, sống ở hồ (lake 

trout). 
• Bỏ không nên ăn da và mỡ cá, nhất là phần mỡ ở bung cá. Mặt khác, nên ăn ít 

những loại cá có nhiều mỡ như cá chép, cá trê hoặc cá bông lau, và cá hồi sống ở 
hổ. 

For more information, call the Minnesota Department of Health at 

651.201.4911, toll-free at 800.657.3908 or visit www.health.state.mn.us/fish 

92 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR) 



Statewide Guidelines for Fish Caught in Minnesota 

For Children and Women of Child-Bearing Age: 

• Sunfish 

• Crappie	 

• Perch	 

• Bullhead 

One meal per week 
Una comida por semana 
Ib as thiv, ib pluag 
Mot tuan an mot lan

• Walleye shorter 
than 20 inches 

• Northern shorter 
than 30 inches 

• All sizes of species 
not listed 

One meal per month 
Una comida al mes 
Ib hli, ib pluag 
Mot thang an mot lan 

• Walleye longer 	
than 20 inches 

• Northern longer 	
than 30 inches 

• Muskellunge 

Do not eat 
No comer 
Tsis txhob noj hlos lis 
Khong nen an 

For Other Adults: 

• Sunfish	 

• Crappie	 

• Perch 

• Bullhead 

Unrestricted 
No tiene restricciones 
Tsis txwv hlos lis
Khong han che

• All sizes of 	
other species	 

One meal per week 
Una comida por semana 
Ib as thiv, ib pluag 
Mot tuan an mot lan 

Fish Illustrations by Carlyn Iverson 
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2013 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Addresses and Telephone Numbers 

Licenses 
DNR License Center 
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4026
Watercraft Registration: 
1-800-285-2000 
Phone License Sales: 
1-888-665-4236 
Internet Sales: mndnr.gov 

Lake Maps
Minnesota Bookstore 
660 Olive Street 
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 297-3000 or
1-800-657-3757 
www.minnesotasbookstore.com 

Conservation Officer Locator 
mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas 

Tamarack NWR 
(218) 847-2641 

US Fish and Wildlife Service 
(612) 713-5360
Boundary Waters Canoe Area 
Wilderness 
Note: Permits and reservations are 
not under DNR jurisdiction. This 
is a national forest wilderness 
area. For information, contact:
Superior Na tion al Forest 
8901 Grand Avenue Place 
Duluth, MN 55808
Information (218) 626-4300
Reservations 1-877-444-6777 
www.bwcaw.org 

Information on and Reporting 
Harmful Invasive Species
(651) 259-5100 or
1-888-646-6367 

Voyageurs National Park
(218) 283-6600 

 DNR FISHERIES OFFICES 

TDD (651) 296-5484 or MN toll free TDD 1-800-657-3929 

NORTHWEST REGION 

Bemidji Headquarters 
(218) 308-2623 
Baudette Area Office 
(218) 634-2522 
Bemidji Area Office 
(218) 308-2339 
Detroit Lakes Area Office 
(218) 846-8340 
Fergus Falls Area Office 
(218) 739-7576 ext. 238 
Glenwood Area Office 
(320) 634-4573 
Park Rapids Area Office 
(218) 732-4153 
Walker Area Office 
(218) 547-1683 

NORTHEAST REGION 

Grand Rapids Headquarters 
(218) 327-4414 
Aitkin Area Office 
(218) 927-3751 
Brainerd Area Office 
(218) 828-2550 

Duluth and Lake 
Superior Area Office 
(218) 525-0853 ext. 200 
Finland Area Office 
(218) 353-7591 
Grand Marais Area Office 
(218) 387-3056 
Grand Rapids 
Area Office 
(218) 327-4430 
In ter na tion al Falls 
Area Office 
(218) 286-5220 
Tower Area Office 
(218) 753-2580 ext. 221 

CENTRAL REGION 

Central Headquarters 
(651) 259-5831 
Hinckley Area Office 
(320) 384-7721 
Lake City Area Office 
(651) 345-3365 
Lanesboro Area Office 
(507) 467-2442 

Little Falls Area Office 
(320) 616-2450 ext. 225 
Metro East Area Office 
(651) 259-5831 
Metro West Area Office 
(952) 496-4141 
Montrose Area Office 
(763) 675-3301 

SOUTH REGION 

South Headquarters 
(507) 359-6047 
Hutchinson Area Office 
(320) 234-2550 
Ortonville Area Office 
(320) 839-2656 
Spicer Area Office 
(320) 796-2161 
Waterville Area Office 
(507) 362-4223 
Windom Area Office 
(507) 831-2900 ext. 232 

94 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or 1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR) 
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It looks like a
small problem... 

...until the relatives arrive. 

Do your part to protect our waters from aquatic 
invasive species. It’s the law! 
•	 Clean visible aquatic plants, zebra mussels, and other 

prohibited invasive species off watercraft, trailers, and 
equipment before leaving any water access. It is illegal to 
transport them. 

•	 Drain water from boat, livewell, bilge, and portable bait 
containers before leaving any water access. Drain plugs 
must be removed at the water access and remain open while 
transporting boats. 

•	 Dispose of unwanted bait—including minnows, leeches, 
and worms—in the trash. It is illegal to release live bait in a 
waterbody or to release worms on the ground. 

TUKUY�NV]
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