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The Minnesota and Federal
Dependent Care Tax Credits

Minnesota offers a refundable dependent care income tax credit that is limited to
people under certain income levels. Minnesota’s dependent care credit is linked
to the federal dependent care credit, which is not refundable and not tied to
income. This information brief explains the purposes for each of the credits, how
they work, how people can claim the credits, and how the benefits have been
distributed. It also explains how federal legislation enacted in 2003, extended in
2010, and made permanent in 2012 expanded the federal credit.
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Overview

Minnesota and the federal government provide income tax credits for dependent care
expenses.

The federal dependent care credit equals 35 percent of qualifying dependent care expenses
for families with incomes of $15,000 or less. The credit percentage phases down to 20 percent
for families with incomes over $43,000, but all families qualify, regardless of income. The
maximum credit is $1,050 for one dependent and $2,100 for two or more. The federal credit is
nonrefundable; that is, it can only be used to offset federal income tax liability. Many low-
income families do not receive the full credit because it exceeds their income tax liability.

The Minnesota credit is linked to the federal credit, but has a lower maximum, different
income limits, and is subject to a complete phaseout. The maximum Minnesota credit is $720
for one dependent and $1,440 for two or more. In tax year 2014, the Minnesota credit begins to
phase out when income reaches $25,350, and it is not available to families with incomes over
$39,000. Unlike the federal credit, the Minnesota credit is refundable. Thus, a low-income
family can receive the maximum credit even if the family has little or no income tax liability.

In tax year 2011, 36,469 Minnesota income tax returns claimed the dependent care credit,
for total credits of $14.6 million. This represented 1.4 percent of all state returns in 2011.
Most claimants were single parents: about 80 percent of 2011 claimants were head of household
filers.'

Under half of the total amount of credits paid—$5.2 million—went to offset liability, with
the balance of $9.4 million paid as refunds. About 38 percent of recipients had no liability and
received the full credit amount as a refund; 35 percent had liability that exceeded the credit
amount for which they qualified. The remaining claimants had some liability but qualified for a
credit that resulted in a refund.

! Distribution between married and head of household filers are estimated from the 2011 sample of income tax
returns prepared by the Minnesota Department of Revenue.
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Purpose of the Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care
Credits

The Minnesota dependent care credit is targeted to low- and moderate-income families,
making it easier for them to work.

Many low- and moderate-income taxpayers pay a significant portion of their incomes for
dependent care. By directing the dependent care credit to taxpayers with incomes below a
certain amount ($39,000 in 2014), Minnesota reduces these families’ cost of working.

The authorizing statute does not assign an explicit purpose or goal to the Minnesota dependent
care credit. However, the credit may be assumed to have at least two goals:

o To recognize dependent care costs as a necessary expense of working
e To encourage low- and moderate-income individuals to work

The federal dependent care credit is available to all taxpayers, regardless of income. This
approach recognizes dependent care expenses as a necessary expense of working. Because the
federal credit is nonrefundable (i.e., it can only be used to offset income tax liability and does not
benefit those without liability), it does not provide any special assistance for low- and moderate-
income individuals to enter the workforce. Most of these individuals have little or no federal
income tax liability.

The federal and state income taxes allow taxpayers to deduct most business expenses from
taxable income. For example, a taxpayer who runs a business and has employees may deduct
the employees’ salaries. Personal or living expenses, by contrast, are not deductible. Rather,
individuals may deduct exemption amounts for the taxpayer, spouse, and dependents, reflecting
basic living expenses.” The Minnesota income tax has traditionally classified child care expenses
as nondeductible personal or living expenses.” However, in many cases, taxpayers with young
children must pay for their care in order to work. To allow some recognition of these “business
expenses,” taxpayers may claim both federal and state dependent care credits that partially offset
the cost of dependent care.*

? In addition, a standard deduction or itemized deductions for certain expenses (mortgage interest, charitable
contributions, etc.) are allowed.

3 Between 1954 and 1976, the federal income tax allowed an itemized deduction for dependent care expenses.
As with any itemized deduction, taxpayers claiming the standard deduction were not allowed the dependent care
credit deduction. Minnesota also allowed a deduction for this purpose from 1969 to 1976. The federal and
Minnesota dependent care credits replaced these deductions.

* This “business expense” rationale apparently was the primary justification for enactment of the federal
dependant care credit. For example, the Senate Committee Report that accompanied the legislation enacting the
dependent care credit cited this as a main reason for the credit and as the justification for eliminating features of the
itemized deduction that it replaced, such as denying the deduction to those claiming the standard deduction and
limiting it to lower income individuals.

“Treating child care expenses as itemized deductions denies any beneficial tax recognition of such expenses to
taxpayers who elect the standard deduction. The committee believes such expenses should be viewed as a cost of
earning income for which all working taxpayers may make a claim . . .The committee views qualified child care
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How the Minnesota and Federal Dependent

Care Credits Work

The Minnesota dependent care
credit is tied to the federal
dependent care credit. Both of
these credits allow taxpayers to
claim a percentage of qualifying
dependent care expenses as a credit
against income tax liability. The
box to the right summarizes the
history of the federal and state
credits. The state credit is limited
to families with incomes less than
$39,000, while the federal credit is
available to all filers, regardless of
income level.

To qualify for the dependent care
credit, an individual must incur
expenses related to the care of a
dependent to have employment.
Under federal law, four basic tests
must be satisfied to qualify for the
dependent care credit. By using the
federal credit amount in calculating
its credit, Minnesota also follows
these rules.

e The taxpayer must
maintain a household that
includes a qualified
individual. In order to
maintain a home, more than
half of the cost must be
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Note: Credit and deduction maximums shown are for expenses
for care of two or more dependents; lower maximums apply for
one dependent.

History of Federal and State Credits

Federal itemized deduction for dependent care
expenses of up to $4,800 annually

Minnesota itemized deduction for dependent care
expenses of up to $900

Federal deduction replaced by nonrefundable credit of
up to $480

Minnesota deduction replaced by refundable credit of
up to $300 available to filers with incomes under
$18,000

Federal credit increased to maximum of $1,440,
phased down for those with incomes between $10,000
and $28,000

Minnesota credit increased to maximum of $800
available to filers with incomes under $31,000

Minnesota credit increased to $960; maximum income
eligible lowered to $24,000 of income

Minnesota credit increased to match federal maximum
of $1,440

Minnesota extends phaseout to $27,000 of income

Minnesota indexes phaseout floor; phaseout starts at
$13,990 and ends at $27,640

Federal credit increased to maximum of $2,100,
phases down for those with incomes between $15,000
and $43,000; increase in effect for tax years 2003 to
2010

2003 federal credit expansion extended through 2012

2003 federal credit expansion made permanent

furnished by the individual or married couple. For example, an individual who lives with
a parent and does not pay one-half or more of the costs of the home may not claim the
dependent care credit for the care of his or her children.

e Qualified individuals are dependent children under age 13 or disabled spouses or
dependents.’ To qualify, an adult dependent must be physically or mentally unable to

expenses as a cost of earning income and believes that an income ceiling on those entitled to the allowance has
minimal revenue impact, if the allowance is in the form of credit.” (Senate Rep. No. 94-938, 94™ Cong., 2d Sess.,
reprinted in 1976 USCCAN 3565-66. The House Report contained essentially identical language.)

> A nondependent child may qualify if the parent is divorced or separated, has custody, and has agreed not to
claim the child as a dependent or the noncustodial parent can claim the child as a dependent.
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perform self-care. Dependents must satisfy five conditions specified in federal law;® one
of these requires the taxpayer to provide at least one-half of the person’s support. The
Minnesota credit differs from federal law in disregarding payments under the Temporary
Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) program in determining whether the dependency
support test is met.

e The expenses must be incurred to enable the taxpayer to be gainfully employed.
Expenses must be paid to allow the taxpayer to work or look for work. For a married
couple, both spouses generally must work. However, a parent who is a full-time student
is considered to be working.

e The expenses must relate to the care of the qualified individual. In general, two types
of expenses qualify—(1) direct care expenses, such as day care or a nanny for a qualified
individual, or (2) household expenses, such as a maid or cleaning service, when
performed in conjunction with dependent care. Expenses may not exceed the earned
income of the lower earning spouse.” Generally, payments to a day care center (those
taking care of six or more children) qualify only if the center meets the requirements of
state law. The taxpayer also must report the caregiver’s taxpayer identification number
(generally a Social Security number) on the federal dependent care credit form. Credits
cannot be claimed for payments made to a spouse, parent of the child, dependents, or a
child of the taxpayer under age 19.

The maximum federal credit equals 35 percent of the first $3,000 of qualifying expenses
($6,000 for two or more dependents) or $1,050 for one dependent ($2,100 for two or more
dependents). The maximum state credit is $720 for one dependent and $1,440 for two or
more dependents.

The federal dependent care credit allows maximum qualifying expenses of $3,000 for one
dependent and $6,000 for two or more dependents, and a maximum credit rate of 35 percent.
Taxpayers with adjusted gross income under $15,000 qualify for the maximum federal credit of
$1,050 for one dependent or $2,100 for two or more dependents. Before tax year 2003, the
maximum federal qualifying expenses were $2,400 for one dependent and $4,800 for two or
more dependents, and the maximum credit rate was 30 percent. The federal Economic Growth
and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act (EGTRRA) of 2001 increased the maximum federal credit
from $720 to $1,050 for one dependent and from $1,400 to $2,100 for two or more dependents,
increased the maximum credit rate from 30 percent to 35 percent, and increased the income level

% Five conditions must be satisfied to claim a person (other than a child under age 13) as a dependent:

the person must be a member of the taxpayer’s household

the person must be a U.S. citizen or resident, or a resident of Canada or Mexico

the person may not file a married joint return

the person may not have gross income over the personal exemption amount—3$3,950 in tax year
2014—unless the person is the taxpayer’s child and is under age 19 or age 24 and is a student

o the taxpayer must provide over half of the person’s support during the calendar year

7 A full-time student with one dependent is deemed to have $250/month in earned income ($500/month for two
or more dependents).
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at which the credit begins to phase down from $10,000 to $15,000. The American Taxpayer
Relief Act (ATRA) of 2012 made the EGTRRA changes permanent.

The state dependent care credit does not explicitly set maximum qualifying expenses or a credit
rate, but rather allows families to claim a credit equal to the federal credit, but subject to a state
maximum of $720 for one dependent and $1,440 for two or more dependents. The state credit
maximum amounts are specified in statute and equal the maximum federal credits in effect prior
to enactment of EGTRRA.

The maximum qualifying expenses for the federal credit have not kept pace with inflation, even
with the increases under EGTRRA. Qualifying expenses were set at $2,400 for one dependent
and $4,800 for two or more dependents in 1982. If they had been adjusted for inflation, the
maximum would be about $5,900 for one dependent and $11,800 for two or more dependents in
2012. An annual survey of dependent care expenses in family day care homes showed a range in
2012 from about $9,600 for infants in the metro area to about $6,500 for preschoolers in the
nonmetro, both above the maximum allowable qualifying expense of $3,000 for one child.?

Dependent care expenses paid out of pretax accounts do not qualify for the credit, but do count
against the credit maximums. Many employers allow their employees to participate in pretax
accounts for dependent care expenses. Employees may set aside up to $5,000 of pretax income
in these accounts to pay dependent care expenses. People who use these accounts, however, may
only claim the dependent care credit if the amount paid through the pretax account is less than
the maximum qualifying expense allowed under the credit. For example, a taxpayer who sets
aside $2,000 in a pretax account and has actual dependent care costs of $4,000 for one child may
claim a dependent care credit for $1,000 of qualifying expenses—the difference between the
$3,000 maximum allowed under the credit and the $2,000 set-aside in the pretax account.
Because annual dependent care expenses may exceed the maximum allowed under the credit,
many taxpayers will either use a pretax account or claim the credit, but not qualify for both
programs.

Dependent care expenses paid through the state’s Basic Sliding Fee child care program or
through Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) child care do not qualify for either the
federal or state dependent care tax credit. However, any amounts families are required to
contribute as “copayments” do qualify for both credits.

The federal credit rate phases down to a minimum 20 percent of qualifying expenses.

The federal credit percentage begins to phase down from 35 percent when income exceeds
$15,000. The credit phases down at the rate of one percentage point for each $2,000 of income
over $15,000 to a minimum credit percentage of 20 percent. Claimants with incomes of $43,000
or more are eligible for a minimum credit equal to 20 percent of qualifying expenses—$600 for
one child (20 percent of the $3,000 maximum qualifying expenses) and $1,200 for two or more
children.

¥ Minnesota Department of Human Services, Results of the 2012 Child Care Market Rate Survey: Minnesota
Child Care Provider Business Update. Rates cited are the averages of 75™ percentile rates for family child care in
metro and nonmetro Minnesota, as of 2012.
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Prior to 2003, the maximum federal credit percentage was 30 percent, maximum qualifying
expenses were $2,400 per child, and the phasedown began when income exceeded $10,000. The
credit was phased down to the minimum of $480 for one child and $960 for two or more children
when income exceeded $28,000.

Minnesota conformed to federal changes through tax year 2012, to the extent they affect
the calculation of the state credit, but has not conformed for tax year 2013 and following
years.’

Since the Minnesota credit equals the federal credit (subject to the state maximum and phaseout),
beginning in tax year 2013, taxpayers will calculate the state credit in reference to a maximum
federal credit of $2,400 for one child, and $4,800 for two or more children. This will result in
some taxpayers being eligible for a smaller state credit than they would be allowed if Minnesota
had conformed to the increased federal credit. For example, a single parent with one dependent,
$2,000 of expenses, and $13,000 of income will qualify for a state credit of $560 in 2013. The
$560 equals the pre-2003 federal credit rate for filers with $13,000 of income—28 percent—
multiplied by the $2,000 of expenses. If Minnesota had conformed to the increased federal
credit parameters, the credit rate at $13,000 of income would have been 35 percent rather than 28
percent, and that single parent would have qualified for a state credit of $700.

The Minnesota credit fully phases out; in 2014 taxpayers with incomes above about $39,000
may not claim the credit.

The Minnesota phaseout begins at a higher income level than does the federal credit and uses a
broader definition of income.' When Minnesota adopted the full amount of the federal credit as
the starting point for the state credit, the legislation started the phaseout at the same income
level—$10,000—as the federal credit. In later sessions, the Minnesota Legislature increased the
phaseout floor and indexed it for inflation, while the federal phaseout floor remained unchanged.
In tax year 2014, the Minnesota credit begins to phase out for those with incomes over $25,350.
The Minnesota credit decreases by $18 ($36 if the filer claims the credit for two dependents) for
each $350 over the income threshold, with the credit fully phased out at $39,000.

Figure 1 shows the maximum credit amounts for married couples with two dependents and head
of household filers with one dependent by income level. The figure takes into account that one
must have tax liability to qualify for the federal credit, since it is not refundable. The figure
assumes that taxpayers claim the standard deduction, the nonrefundable federal child credit,'" and

? Laws 2001, 1% spec. sess., ch. 5, art. 10, § 6; Laws 2011, 1% spec. sess., ch. 7, art. 2, § 5.

' The Minnesota dependent care credit uses a broad measure of income that includes all income subject to the
income tax plus most nontaxable cash income, such as welfare benefits, tax-exempt bond interest, workers’
compensation benefits, and so forth. The measure does not include noncash income that is not subject to tax, such
as employee fringe benefits, Medical Assistance, and food stamps.

" The federal child credit was initially implemented at $400 in the Tax Reform Act (TRA) of 1997, effective
in 1998, with the credit amount increased to $500 in 1999. EGTRRA set in motion a phase-up of the credit to
$1,000 in tax year 2010. The Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act (JGTRRA) of 2003 accelerated the
EGTRRA 2001 phase-up by increasing the credit to $1,000 in 2003 and 2004 only. The Working Families Tax
Relief Act (WFTRA) of 2004 kept the credit at the $1,000 level through 2010. The Tax Relief, Unemployment
Insurance Reauthorization, and Job Creation Act (TRUIRJCA) of 2010 maintained the child credit at $1,000
through 2012. ATRA made the $1,000 amount permanent.
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report the maximum allowable qualifying expenses. The figure shows that the two credits serve
distinct populations that have little overlap.

Figure 1
Federal and Minnesota Dependent Care Credits
Available to Filers with Maximum Qualifying Expenses, Tax Year 2014

Credit
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Low-income filers may claim the maximum state credit, because it is refundable. But
because the federal credit is only available to offset net tax liability after subtracting the $1,000
child credit, the married couple in the example does not receive any federal credit until their
income reaches $47,584; the head of household filer, until income reaches $27,000. In effect,
the figure shows that it is impossible for a head of household or married joint filer to qualify for
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the maximum federal credit, since the phasedown of the maximum credit begins at $15,000."
The figure also shows the Minnesota credit fully phasing out at $39,000 of income, while the
federal credit is available to all taxpayers regardless of income.

The Minnesota credit is refundable; the federal credit is not. Ifa filer is eligible for a
Minnesota dependent care credit that exceeds his or her tax liability, that filer receives any
“leftover” credit as a refund. However, filers eligible for a federal dependent care credit that
exceeds tax liability may only use the credit to offset liability; any remaining “unused” credit is
forfeited.

Many credit recipients are low income and have little or no tax liability. In 2014, the
standard deduction and exemption amounts ensure that a married couple with two dependents
had no federal liability until gross income exceeds $28,200. Their next $2,000 of federal liability
is offset by the nonrefundable $1,000 per-child tax credit, which, unlike the dependent care
credit, is not tied to any particular type of expenditure. As a result, the typical married couple
with two dependents will not receive any benefits under the federal dependent care credit until
their income reaches $47,584. A head of household filer with one dependent owes no tax until
gross income exceeds $17,000. This filer will have the next $1,000 of liability offset by the child
credit and will not benefit from the dependent care credit until income reaches $27,000. Both of
these example filers will receive a state credit, however, since the state credit is refundable.

Since tax year 1992, Minnesota has allowed parents who operate licensed family day care
homes to claim the dependent care credit for their own children. Parents who operate
licensed family day care homes and care for their own children may claim the dependent care
credit without regard to their actual out-of-pocket expenses. They may claim $2,400 of
qualifying expenses for their own children under 16 months of age. For children from 16 months
to six years of age, they may claim the amount they charge to care for children of the same age.
They may not claim the credit for their own children age six or older under this provision.

Since tax year 1994 the Minnesota dependent care credit has included a special young-child
credit. The young-child credit allows married joint filers with a child under age one to claim a
credit, regardless of whether they incurred dependent care expenses. These couples will be
deemed to have paid the maximum qualifying expenses of $2,400 for the child under one and
will calculate their credit for that child as though they had actually paid $2,400 in expenses. This
will provide a credit to families in which one parent stays at home and to those in which both
parents work but incur no out-of-pocket child care expenses. Families may not claim this credit
and the regular credit for the same child. They also may not claim more than one young-child
credit in any year, regardless of the number of children they have under age one.

'2 The income at which the federal credit begins to phase down increased from $10,000 to $15,000 in 2003
under EGTRRA. However, EGTRRA also implemented a new 10 percent rate bracket and increased the
nonrefundable child credit, which is calculated before the dependent care credit. Combining these changes with the
annual adjustment for inflation of the standard deduction and the personal exemption results in a steady increase
over time in the tax threshold or income level at which a filer has liability. Increasing the income threshold for the
dependent care credit phasedown to $15,000 was not enough to catch up to the income at which most parents begin
to have liability after the child credit—$47,584 for a married family of four in 2014, and $27,000 for single parent of
one.
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The dependent care credit is an entitlement; no limit is imposed on its funding. Unlike
some direct spending programs for dependent-related expenses, such as the Basic Sliding Fee
child care program, no fixed dollar appropriation or spending limit applies to either the federal or
state dependent care credits. Filers receive the full credits to which they are entitled under the
credit formula.

How People Claim the Dependent Care Credit
People claim both the federal and state credits by filing the appropriate tax forms.

At the federal level, taxpayers must file either form 1040 (“the long form”) or form 1040A (“the
short form”) and Schedule 2441 to claim the dependent care credit. They may not file form
1040EZ if they wish to claim the credit. Taxpayers enter qualifying expenses on Schedule 2441
and then look up the credit rate in a table keyed to income. Finally, the taxpayer calculates the
credit amount by multiplying the credit rate by the qualifying expenses.

At the state level, taxpayers must file form M-1 and also complete Schedule M-1CD to claim the
Minnesota dependent care credit. They also must file a copy of federal Schedule 2441 with their
state tax return. Schedule M-1CD requires taxpayers to fill in the various income items used in
calculating the state credit phaseout. The state credit phaseout is based on a broad income
measure that includes federal adjusted gross income, nontaxable Social Security benefits,
deductible payments to retirement accounts, and welfare benefits. After adding up these income
items, the taxpayer looks up the credit amount in a table keyed to income. Taxpayers then
compare their state credit with the federal credit computed on Schedule 2441, limited to the old
maximum federal credit amounts of $2,400 and $4,800, and claim the smaller of the two as a
state credit. Special instructions are provided for taxpayers who claim the young-child credit or
who operate a licensed family day care home and are claiming the credit for their own children.

Taxpayers must keep records on the amount paid for dependent care expenses and provide
information about the caregiver. Both the federal and state tax forms require taxpayers to
report the name and taxpayer identification number of the caregiver. The federal forms also
require the caregiver’s address. Also, taxpayers should maintain records, such as receipts or
canceled checks, of how much they paid for dependent care expenses throughout the year.

People who have no state income tax liability must file a tax return to claim the dependent
care credit as a refund. Individuals with incomes below the filing thresholds generally do not
need to file tax returns. However, if they have qualifying dependent care expenses, they must
file to claim the refundable credit. Claimants must complete a Minnesota tax return and a federal
Schedule 2441, which is referenced in calculating the state credit amount.
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Distribution of the Benefits of the Dependent Care Credit

Over 36,000 filers received $14.6 million in Minnesota dependent care credits in tax year
2011. Figure 2 shows the percentage of returns in each county that claimed the credit in 2011.

Figure 2
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Statewide, 1.4 percent of all returns claimed the dependent care credit in 2011. Pennington
County filers were most likely to claim the credit (3.2 percent of returns), and the credit was least
likely to be claimed in Carver County (0.8 percent of returns). Residents of the seven-county
metro area were somewhat less likely to claim the credit (1.2 percent of returns) than were
taxpayers in the rest of the state (1.9 percent of returns), perhaps because personal income tends
to be higher in the metro area.

The availability of pretax dependent care accounts may affect the percentage of taxpayers who
claim dependent care credits, since taxpayers may either use a pretax account to pay dependent
care expenses or claim the credit, but not both. Employers are not required to offer pretax
accounts, and they are not available to the self-employed. Past employer surveys have shown that
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relatively few employers offer pretax accounts, and that larger companies are more likely than
smaller companies to offer the accounts.” Larger companies are more likely to be located in
cities than in rural areas, which may explain in part the larger share of returns claiming the credit
as shown in Figure 2.

The average dependent care credit claimed by Minnesotans in 2011 was for $404. Figure 3
shows the average dependent care credit by county.

Figure 3
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Credit recipients throughout the state claimed about the same amount on average—3$410 in the
metro compared to $407 in the remaining 80 counties. The highest average credit claimed in
2011 was $511 in Lake of the Woods County; the lowest was $294 in Traverse County. The gap
between the average credit in the metro area and in the rest of Minnesota has narrowed

B Employee Benefits Survey, Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED) and
State Society of Human Resource Managers, Spring 2005. As of early 2014, DEED did not anticipate updating the
survey.
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considerably since 1994, when the average was $355 in the metro, compared to $255 in the rest
of the state. The difference between the two has gotten smaller, mostly due to an increase in the
average for nonmetro Minnesota. The difference in the past may have reflected higher child care
costs in the Twin Cities. The narrowing of the gap reflects increased child care costs combined
with the failure to increase the maximum allowable expenses.

Single parents claim more dependent care credits than do married parents and are more
likely to claim the credit as a refund.

An estimated 29,300 head of household filers claimed the dependent care credit in 2011,
compared to about 5,800 married couples.” Some married couples may choose to have one
spouse work outside the home while the other cares for their children, making them ineligible for
the credit. Two-earner married couples may pay for dependent care, but are also more likely to
be income-ineligible than are single parents simply by having two paychecks rather than one.
Because of this, married couples are more likely to receive the credit as an offset to tax liability
rather than a refund, while head of household filers are more likely to receive the credit as a
refund.

Just over one-third of the $14.6 million in dependent care credits paid in 2011 went to
offset tax liability—$5.2 million—with the remaining $9.4 million paid as refunds.

Figure 4 shows that of the 36,469 credits claimed in 2011, less than half were taken as full or
partial refunds of liability. About 38 percent of recipients had no liability at all and received the
full credit amounts as a refund, 27 percent had some liability but qualified for a credit that
resulted in a refund, and the remaining 35 percent had tax liability that exceeded the credit
amount for which they qualified.

" Distribution between married and head of household filers are estimated from the 2011 sample of income tax
returns prepared by the Minnesota Department of Revenue and then applied to the actual tax year 2011 count of
returns that claimed the credit.
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Figure 4
Minnesota Dependent Care Credit
Recipients by Refundability of Credit, 2011
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The Minnesota dependent care credit targets its benefits to low- and moderate-income
families.

Figure 5 shows that over a third of all Minnesota dependent care credits go to taxpayers with
adjusted gross incomes of less than $20,000, and over a third go to those with incomes between
$30,000 and $40,000." In contrast, federal credits tend to go to higher income families (e.g.,
about 75 percent of all federal credits go to those with incomes over $50,000, with over 20
percent going to those with incomes between $50,000 and $75,000). Two factors explain this
divergence. First, the federal credit is not refundable. Families whose incomes are too low for
them to owe income tax do not receive the credit. Nonrefundability explains why almost no one
with gross income under $10,000 can claim a federal credit. In contrast, about 10 percent of the
refundable Minnesota credits go to families with incomes less than $10,000. Second, the federal
credit phases down to a minimum amount, while the Minnesota credit phases out entirely. This
explains why no one with gross income above $40,000 receives a Minnesota dependent care
credit, while over 80 percent of all federal credits go to filers in this moderate-to-high income
range. Of the estimated 163,000 federal credit recipients in Minnesota, over 134,000, or about
82 percent, are income-ineligible for the state credit.

% Distribution of federal and state credits by income are estimated using the 2011 sample of income tax returns
prepared by the Minnesota Department of Revenue.
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Figure 5
Distribution of Federal and Minnesota Dependent
Care Credits by Income, 2011
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For more information about tax credits, visit the income tax area of our website,
www. house.mn/hrd/



