MINNESOTA Management & Budget

January 15, 2014

The Honorable Richard Cohen Chair, Senate Finance Committee 121 Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable LeRoy Stumpf Chair, Senate Capital Investment Committee 122 Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 The Honorable Lyndon Carlson Chair, House Ways and Means Committee 479 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable Alice Hausman Chair, House Capital Investment Committee 453 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Members of the Minnesota Legislature:

I am pleased to present the Governor's 2014 Strategic Capital Budget. This budget makes strategic investments across the state to ensure state facilities are well maintained and to provide critical new infrastructure at both the state and local level. It completes the restoration of our state capitol, makes investments in our higher education facilities and funds programs and infrastructure that will spur economic development.

The Governor's recommendations total \$986 million in general obligation and Minnesota Housing bonds. This investment will leverage additional federal, local and private funds to provide a \$1.4 billion investment in Minnesota's capital infrastructure.

Included in the Governor's Strategic Capital Budget are all the final capital budget requests submitted by state agencies and political subdivisions for consideration during the 2014 Legislative session. Since the preliminary submittal in July, Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB) has worked with state agencies and local units of government to develop additional project information and refine cost estimates. Requests now total \$2.9 billion, including \$2 billion in state agency requests and \$838 million in requests from local units of government. These requests as well as the Governor's recommendations are posted on MMB's website at www.mmb.state.mn.us.

If you need additional information or assistance, please feel free to contact Koryn Zewers of my staff at (651) 201-8043. I look forward to working with you on the Capital Budget during the 2014 Legislative Session.

Sincerely,

James Schowalter Commissioner

Enclosures

- cc: Senator Tom Bakk Representative Paul Thissen Senator David Hann Representative Kurt Daudt Eric Naumann
- Bill Marx David Jensen Andrew Lee Tina Smith Jaime Tincher
- Erin Campbell Margaret Kelly Kristin Hanson Mike Roelofs Koryn Zewers