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Executive Summary 

Estate, inheritance, and gift taxes are imposed on transfers of property.  They differ in the types 
of transfers to which they apply.  Estate and inheritance taxes are imposed when the property 
transfer is caused or triggered by the owner’s death.  Gift taxes are imposed when the property 
owner is still living and transfers the property. 

State estate, inheritance, and gift taxes have undergone significant changes since Congress 
repealed the federal credit for state death taxes in 2001.  That credit effectively paid a large 
portion of these taxes for states.  For deaths in 2013, 31 states do not impose these taxes.  Table 1 
and the map show the states that impose these taxes. 

Table 1 
State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Taxes 

States with Estate Taxes – 12 States and D.C. 
Connecticut Minnesota 
Delaware New York 
District of Columbia Oregon 
Hawaii Rhode Island 
Illinois Vermont 
Maine Washington 
Massachusetts  

States with Inheritance Taxes – 5 States 
Iowa Pennsylvania 
Kentucky Tennessee 
Nebraska  

States with Both Estate and Inheritance Taxes – 2 States 
Maryland New Jersey 

States with Gift Taxes – 2 States 
Connecticut Minnesota 

Tennessee prospectively repealed its inheritance tax in 2011, effective for deaths after December 
31, 2015.  The taxes in Indiana (inheritance tax), Ohio (estate tax), and North Carolina (estate 
tax) were repealed starting for deaths after December 31, 2012.  
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State Estate and Inheritance Taxes 

 

 
The exemption amounts for the state taxes are typically lower than the exemption under the 
federal estate tax ($5,250,000 for 2013 deaths).  Of the states with estate taxes, two have 
exemptions tied to the federal exemption amount, Illinois has a $3.5 million exemption (same as 
the 2009 federal amount), Vermont has a $2.75 million exemption, two have $2 million 
exemptions, and the rest $1 million or lower exemptions.  Eleven states allow state QTIP 
(qualified terminable interest property) elections that differ from the federal QTIP election.  
When a state has a lower exemption than allowed under federal law, these state-only QTIP 
elections allow married couples to defer paying state tax until the second spouse dies without 
forgoing or “wasting” part of the higher federal exemption when the first spouse dies.  The now 
portable federal exemption, however, reduces the need for these provisions.  Several states have 
recently enacted deductions or exemptions for farm and business property.  

No tax

States with Estate Taxes

States with Inheritance Taxes

States with both Estate Taxes and Inheritance Taxes
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A Taxonomy of the Taxes 
 

Estate and inheritance taxes are imposed on transfers that 
occur upon the death of the owner of the property, while gift 
taxes are imposed on gifts made during the transferor’s 
lifetime (“inter vivos” gifts). 

 Estate taxes generally apply a single rate schedule to 
the taxable value of the decedent’s total estate (bequests 
to charities and surviving spouses are typically exempt). 

 Inheritance taxes apply varying rate schedules to 
bequests made to different classes of beneficiaries.  
Bequests to surviving spouses and lineal heirs typically 
enjoy lower rates or are totally exempt, while bequests 
to more distant or unrelated heirs (collateral heirs) are 
usually taxed at higher rates. 

 Gift taxes complement estate and inheritance taxes, 
preventing property owners from avoiding tax by 
making lifetime gifts.  Some states impose tax only on 
gifts made a short time before death or “in 
contemplation of death.”  These provisions are 
administered as part of the estate or inheritance tax. 

Introduction 

State estate, inheritance, and gift 
taxes have undergone significant 
changes since Congress repealed 
the federal credit for state death 
taxes in 2001 (fully effective for 
2005 deaths).  After the credit’s 
repeal, many states allowed their 
state estate taxes to expire, while 
others repealed or reduced their 
taxes.  The Great Recession, as the 
most recent economic recession is 
being called, and its impact on state 
revenues and budgets caused three 
states to reinstate their taxes.  Since 
2011 four states have repealed their 
taxes; three of these repeals are 
effective and one (Tennessee) will 
take effect in 2016.  This brief 
surveys state estate, inheritance, and 
gift taxes in the 50 states, providing 
some detail on their exemption 
amounts, rates, and whether they 
allow QTIP elections that differ 
from the federal elections. 

Estate Taxes 

Prior to repeal of the federal credit for state death taxes, all states imposed 
pickup estate taxes 

In 2001, all 50 states imposed estate taxes to take advantage of the federal estate tax’s credit for 
state death taxes.  This credit was essentially a federal revenue-sharing provision for states, 
allowing a state to impose an estate tax at no cost to its residents.  Each dollar of state estate tax 
(up to the limits of the federal credit) reduced federal tax, dollar for dollar.  Federal tax increased 
by any amount a state’s tax was lower than the maximum federal credit.  In 2001, 38 states and 
the District of Columbia only imposed taxes equal to the federal credit.  The remaining 12 states 
imposed estate or inheritance taxes that exceeded the federal credit, although Connecticut and 
Louisiana had enacted scheduled reductions in their taxes down to the level of the federal credit. 

Congress repealed the credit in the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001 
(EGTRRA) and replaced it with a deduction for state death taxes, effective for decedents dying 
in 2005.  With the repeal of the federal credit, many states whose taxes were directly linked to 
the federal credit allowed their taxes to expire, while other states “decoupled” their taxes from 
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2010 and 2013 Federal Estate and Gift Tax Changes  
Have Implications for State Tax Policy 

Under EGTRRA’s provisions, the federal estate tax expired for decedents dying in 2010.  
The Tax Relief, Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job Creation Act of 2010 
(TRUIRJCA), enacted in December 2010, reinstated the estate tax, and made significant 
changes in it.  TRUIRJCA’s changes were temporary but in January 2013, Congress enacted 
the American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012 (ATRA), which adopted permanent federal estate 
tax parameters. 

The following four changes, enacted by the combination of TRUIRJCA and ATRA, are 
important for state transfer tax policy: 

 The federal estate tax rate (45 percent for 2009 deaths) dropped to 40 percent.  
TRUIRJCA reduced the rate to 35 percent, but ATRA increased it to 40 percent. The 
reduction in federal tax rates increases the effective cost of state estate taxes for estates 
subject to federal tax.  Since state estate and inheritance taxes are deductible in 
computing federal tax, the lower federal tax rate reduces the implicit value of the 
deduction, increasing the effective burden of state taxes.   

 The exemption amount ($3.5 million for 2009 deaths) increased to $5 million, 
indexed for inflation.  The higher exemption means more estates will be subject only to 
state taxes, raising the effective burden of the state taxes because there is no longer an 
offset for the federal deduction (but conversely these estates have more available assets 
to pay state taxes, since they won’t owe any federal tax).  In addition, the new federal 
rules create a larger “gap” between most state exemption amounts and the federal 
exemption.  As discussed below (page 13), a larger gap increases the challenges for 
planners to develop transfer techniques that minimize both federal and state taxes.  

 The federal exemption became “portable”—that is, a decedent spouse’s unused 
exemption can be passed to the surviving spouse. These new portability rules (long 
suggested as a way to simplify estate planning) may mitigate the challenge of 
reconciling differences in the federal and state exemption amounts. 

 The gift tax exemption ($1 million in 2009) increased to $5 million, indexed for 
inflation. The higher (five times bigger) exemption will encourage more deathbed and 
other gifting strategies, as discussed below (page 10), to minimize tax in states without 
effective taxes on gifts. 

the federal tax and allowed them to continue, or reenacted the taxes to preserve the state 
revenues.1  Since the onset of the state budget problems associated with the Great Recession, 
Delaware, Illinois, and Hawaii have reenacted estate taxes that had expired with repeal of the 
federal credit (or in the case of Illinois, with repeal of the federal tax for 2010 deaths).  The 
Delaware reenactment was a temporary extension through June 30, 2013, but the 2013 Delaware 
legislature made the extension permanent.  Since 2011, Ohio and North Carolina have repealed 
their estate taxes; both repeals took effect for 2013 deaths. 
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Fourteen states and the District of Columbia impose estate taxes on 2012 
deaths 

For decedents dying in 2013, 14 states and the District of Columbia impose estate taxes.  The 
details of these estate taxes vary somewhat, but they tend to follow the pattern of equaling the 
amount of the old federal credit for state death taxes with varying exemption amounts.  Five 
states have estate taxes with state-defined exemption amounts and rate schedules (i.e., rate 
schedules that vary from the federal credit schedule).   

The tax base for these taxes (aside from the exemption amounts) generally parallels the federal 
estate tax or at least relies on definitions under the federal tax.  The most common exemption 
amount is $1 million (five states and the District of Columbia).  Two states (Delaware and 
Hawaii) have exemptions tied to the federal exemption amount ($5,250,000 for 2013 deaths); 
one state (Illinois), a $4 million exemption, one (Vermont), a $2.75 million exemption, and two, 
$2 million exemptions.  Tax rate schedules vary with most being based on the old federal credit.  
Top tax rates range from 12 percent (Connecticut and Maine) to 20 percent (Washington).  Table 
3 provides details on exemption amounts and top tax rates for the state estate taxes for decedents 
dying during 2013. 

Three legislatures enacted significant changes in their estate taxes in their 2013 legislative 
sessions.  The Delaware legislature made its temporary estate tax (set to expire on July 1, 2013) 
permanent. The North Carolina legislature repealed its tax, effective for deaths after December 
31, 2012.  The Washington legislature reversed a court decision holding that QTIP trusts where 
the first spouse died before the effective date of the tax (in 2005) were not subject to tax on the 
death of the second spouse. It also revamped its rate structure increasing the top rate from 19 
percent to 20 percent and indexed its exemption for inflation (beginning in 2014). 

Table 3 
State Estate Taxes Applicable to 2013 Deaths 

(as of September 30, 2013)

State Exemption Amount 
Basis for Rate 

Schedule 
Top Statutory Rate 

Connecticut2 $2 million State specific 12% 
Delaware3 $5,250,000 

(indexed for inflation, based 
on federal exemption)

Federal credit 16% 

District of Columbia4 $1 million Federal credit 16% 
Hawaii5 $5,250,000 

(indexed for inflation, based 
on federal exemption)

State specific 15.7% 

Illinois6 $4 million Federal credit 16% 
Maine7 $2 million State specific 12% 

Maryland8 $1 million Federal credit 16% 
Massachusetts9 $1 million Federal credit 16% 
Minnesota10 $1 million Federal credit 16% 
New Jersey11 $675,000 Federal credit 16% 
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Table 3 
State Estate Taxes Applicable to 2013 Deaths 

(as of September 30, 2013)

State Exemption Amount 
Basis for Rate 

Schedule 
Top Statutory Rate 

New York12 $1 million Federal credit 16% 
Oregon13 $1 million State specific 16% 
Rhode Island14 $910,725 

(indexed for inflation)
Federal credit 16% 

Vermont15 $2.75 million Federal credit 16% 
Washington16 $2 million 

(indexed for inflation)
State specific 20% 

 

States that base their taxes on the amount of the federal credit under prior 
federal law have “bubble” marginal rates on estates valued just above the 
exemption amount 

Table 4 shows the rate schedule for the federal credit for state death taxes.  For states, like 
Minnesota, that base their estate taxes on the old federal credit, this is essentially the state estate 
tax rate schedule. 

Table 4 
Federal Credit for State Death Schedule 

Taxable estate equal 
to or more than: 

Taxable estate is 
less than: 

Credit 
rate: 

$0 $100,000 0.0% 
100,000 150,000 0.8% 
150,000 200,000 1.6% 
200,000 300,000 2.4% 
300,000 500,000 3.2% 
500,000 700,000 4.0% 
700,000 900,000 4.8% 
900,000 1,100,000 5.6% 

1,100,000 1,600,000 6.4% 
1,600,000 2,100,000 7.2% 
2,100,000 2,600,000 8.0% 
2,600,000 3,100,000 8.8% 
3,100,000 3,600,000 9.6% 
3,600,000 4,100,000 10.4% 
4,100,000 5,100,000 11.2% 
5,100,000 6,100,000 12.0% 
6,100,000 7,100,000 12.8% 
7,100,000 8,100,000 13.6% 
8,100,000 9,100,000 14.4% 
9,100,000 10,100,000 15.2% 
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Table 4 
Federal Credit for State Death Schedule 

Taxable estate equal 
to or more than: 

Taxable estate is 
less than: 

Credit 
rate: 

10,100,000  16.0% 
Source:  I.R.C. § 2011 (combines credit table and definition of 
adjusted taxable estate, which is taxable value less $60,000) 

Although the Table 4 rates are essentially the rate schedule for these state taxes based on the old 
federal credit, an important qualifier applies to estates with taxable values modestly above the 
applicable state exemption amount—higher tax rates apply to a small range of values.  This 
somewhat counterintuitive result follows from the nature of the federal credit computation, 
which determines the tax liability.  The allowable federal credit equaled the lesser of: 

1. The federal credit amount (i.e., the amount calculated under Table 4’s schedule) or 

2. The amount of the federal estate tax calculated under the federal rate schedule—for most 
states, under the 2001 version of the federal estate tax. 

Factor #2 (the limitation to the amount of federal tax liability) results in higher marginal rates 
until the computation under factor #1 is larger.  Since the pre-2001 federal tax rates ranged from 
18 percent to 55 percent, higher marginal rates apply to values just over the exemption amount 
than the credit rates in Table 4.  For example, the marginal rate on taxable values between $1 
million and about $1.1 million is 41 percent for a state tax with a $1 million exemption.  The full 
amount of the federal tax above the exemption/credit amount qualified for the credit for state 
death taxes, so as estate values increase, the credit (state tax) rises at the federal tax rate, not the 
credit rate in Table 4.  This includes the credit amount on the estate value below the exemption 
amount.  As a result, the marginal tax rate for a state, like Minnesota, with a $1 million 
exemption is 41 percent on values of an estate just over $1 million until the full state death tax 
credit amount is reached for that value estate.17  For estate taxes with $2 million exemptions or 
$3.5 million exemptions, the marginal rates would be higher or lower (depending upon which 
version of federal tax computation is used for the limitation—the 2001 or the 2011), because the 
applicable federal estate tax rates for those estates differ. 

In essence, this peculiar feature of these state taxes takes away the benefit of the exemption 
amount as estate values increase for these estates.  It is worth noting that tax always continues to 
rise as the value of the estate increases.  Put another way, this “bubble” rate for certain value 
estates never causes the tax (or the average or effective rate of tax) on a lower valued estate to 
exceed that on an estate with a higher taxable value.18 

Marginal rates are important considerations in the design of an income tax, since they directly 
affect the incentive to earn (or report) income.  It is less clear that these bubble marginal rates 
under estate taxes are important as a policy matter.  These rates apply across a relatively narrow 
range of taxable value of estates.  The tax is a onetime tax and most individuals will not know 
whether their estates will fall into this narrow range of values on the (unknown) date in the future 
when they die.  Thus, these high marginal rates probably do not affect behavior much, if at all, in 
setting up estate plans, making domicile decisions, or taking similar actions.  The average or total 
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rate of tax is probably the more important effect on behavior or planning in the context of estate 
and inheritance taxes.19 

State-defined estate taxes (Connecticut, Hawaii, Maine, Oregon, and Washington for 2013 
deaths) do not have this peculiar feature.  Maryland has limited its tax so that the marginal rates 
do not exceed the top 16 percent credit rate.20  

State Inheritance Taxes 

Seven states impose inheritance taxes on 2013 deaths (two of these supplement 
estate taxes) 

In 2001, 11 states imposed inheritance or succession taxes in addition to pickup estate taxes.  
Since 2001, four of these state taxes (Connecticut, Indiana, Louisiana, and New Hampshire) have 
been repealed or expired.  In its 2012 legislative session, Tennessee repealed its inheritance tax 
for deaths after December 31, 2015.  This is done by increasing the exemption amounts each 
year, decreasing the number of bequests that are subject to tax until the tax is fully phased out in 
2016.  The 2013 Indiana legislature repealed its inheritance tax, effective for deaths after 
December 31, 2012. 

Table 5 lists the states with inheritance taxes, the exemption amount, and top rates for lineal heirs 
and collateral heirs for deaths in 2012. 

Table 5 

State Inheritance Taxes for 2013 Deaths 

State Exemption – 
lineal heirs21 

Top rate – 
lineal heirs 

Exemption –
collateral heirs22 

Top rate –
collateral heirs 

Iowa unlimited23 N.A. 024 15%25 
Kentucky unlimited26 N.A. $50027 16%28 
Maryland* unlimited29 N.A. $1,00030 10%31 
Nebraska $40,00032 1%33 $10,00034 18%35 
New Jersey* unlimited36 N.A. $50037 16%38 
Pennsylvania $3,50039 4.5%40 0 15%41 
Tennessee 

(phasing out; eliminated 
for 2016 deaths) 

$1,250,00042 9.5%43 $1,250,00044 9.5%45 

* States with estate taxes in addition to the inheritance tax 

Several observations can be made regarding the characteristics of the inheritance taxes relative to 
the state estate taxes: 

 The exemptions for surviving spouses and lineal heirs (typically parents, children, and 
grandchildren of the decedent) in four states (Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, and New 
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Jersey) eliminate tax liability altogether for what are likely the most common heirs.  
(Nebraska has a nominal rate of 1 percent on lineal heirs.)  These exemptions 
dramatically reduce the burden of the taxes.  However, two of these states (Maryland and 
New Jersey) also have estate taxes. 

 The exemptions for these taxes are typically quite a bit lower than for the estate taxes.  
Putting aside the four states with unlimited exemptions for lineal heirs, this should result 
in many more estates being subject to the taxes. 

 The tax rates on bequests to collateral heirs tend to be comparable to the rates under most 
state estate taxes. 

 Two states, Maryland and New Jersey, have both inheritance and estate taxes.  This 
seeming quirk resulted from the history of these states having an inheritance tax and a 
pickup estate tax to take advantage of the federal credit for state death taxes.  When the 
federal credit was repealed, these two states (unlike the other six states with inheritance 
taxes) chose to maintain their estate taxes.  The estate taxes, however, are reduced by the 
amount of the inheritance tax paid, so the two taxes are not additive. 

Gift Taxes 

Connecticut and Minnesota are the only states that impose true gift taxes 

Over the last decade, the few states that imposed stand-alone gift taxes have been largely 
abandoning them.  Stand-alone or true gift taxes apply regardless of when the gift is made.  
When EGTRRA was enacted in 2001, four states imposed true gift taxes.  Louisiana repealed its 
gift tax in 2007 after it repealed its inheritance tax.46  North Carolina repealed its gift tax in 
2008.47  In 2012, Tennessee repealed its gift tax.48 In 2013, Minnesota enacted a gift tax, 
reversing a decision made in 1979 to repeal its gift tax, as part of the transition to imposing only 
a pickup estate tax.49 That leaves Connecticut and Minnesota as the only states with stand-alone 
gift taxes. 

The Connecticut tax is unified with its estate tax with a top rate of 12 percent and an exemption 
of $2 million.  Since the tax is unified with the estate tax, lifetime gifts use up both the gift tax 
and estate tax exemptions.  By contrast, the new Minnesota gift tax is not unified with the estate 
tax.  The gift tax has a flat rate of 10 percent and a lifetime exemption of $1,000,000 (a $100,000 
credit against the 10 percent tax).  Both states’ taxes apply only to gifts that exceed the annual, 
per-recipient federal exemption amount ($14,000 for 2013 gifts, indexed for inflation).  The 
Minnesota gift tax exemption is separate from the $1 million estate tax exemption, potentially 
allowing a combined $2 million of exemptions under the two taxes.  But the gift tax exemption 
can be lost if the decedent dies within three years of making gifts that use the exemption, since 
the estate tax pulls gifts made within three years of death into the adjusted taxable estate.50 
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Seven states impose their estate or inheritance tax on gifts made in 
contemplation of death or shortly before death 

Seven states have provisions designed to tax gifts that are made in contemplation of death or 
within a period of time before the donor’s death.  These rules are intended to prevent the use of 
“deathbed” or similar gifts to avoid paying estate or inheritance tax on these transfers.  Most of 
the states with these rules had stand-alone inheritance or estate taxes when EGTRRA was 
enacted.  States relying exclusively on pickup taxes had little reason to maintain these rules, 
since the structure of the federal estate tax did not reward deathbed gifts with tax savings and 
state pickup taxes were essentially a feature of the federal tax. 

States with stand-alone taxes that do not make provisions for taxing gifts made shortly before or 
in contemplation of death are now subject to deathbed gift-planning strategies.51  For these states, 
a deathbed gift removes the gifted property from the taxable estate and can provide a significant 
reduction in state tax.52  The increase in the federal gift tax exemption, enacted as part of 
TRUIRJCA and made permanent by ATRA (see box on page 5), to $5.25 million (for 2013 gifts) 
increases the attractiveness of this strategy, since no federal transfer tax would be incurred to 
make the gift.  Previously, gifts over $1 million would have incurred federal gift tax.  If the 
estate was unlikely to incur federal estate tax (e.g., the taxable value was less than the federal 
exemption amount), the federal gift tax liability would have exceeded the state tax savings.  The 
$5 million exemption eliminates that barrier.   

For states with an estate tax based on the old federal credit, the calculation is slightly more 
complicated.  Taxable gifts (i.e., those above the federal, per recipient annual exemption amount) 
are not included in the typical measure of the explicit estate tax base.53  However, in some states, 
taxable gifts may be taken into account in determining whether it is necessary to file an estate tax 
return and, then, typically lifetime taxable gifts will reduce the available exemption amount 
(federal unified credit).  For example, Minnesota includes gifts made within three years of the 
date in its filing requirement and Massachusetts includes lifetime adjusted taxable gifts in its 
filing requirement.54  Because of the nature of the calculation of the tax, adjusted tax gifts (gifts 
made after December 31, 1976, when the federal tax was initially unified with the federal gift 
tax), in effect, reduce or use up the exemption (unified credit) amount, subjecting more of the 
remainder of the estate to tax.  
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Table 6 summarizes the state gift tax and gift-in-contemplation-of-death rules. 

Table 6 
Taxation of Gifts 

State Type of 
death tax 

Gift tax Top rate 
of gift tax 

Gifts-in-contemplation-of-death 
rules 

Connecticut Estate Unified with 
estate tax 

12%55 N.A. 

Iowa Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfers above the federal gift 
tax exclusion within three years 
of death, other than bona fide 
sales, are taxable56 

Kentucky Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfers of material part of 
estate made three years before 
death construed prima facie to be 
made in contemplation of death57 

Maryland Inheritance 
and estate 

N.A. N.A. Gifts made within two years of 
the date of death are taxable 
under the inheritance tax58 

Minnesota Estate Separate, 
not unified 

10%59 Gifts made within three years of 
the date of death are included in 
the taxable estate60 

Nebraska Inheritance N.A. N.A. Gifts made within three years of 
the date of death subject to 
inheritance taxation61 

New Jersey Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfers within three years of 
death deemed made in 
contemplation of death, absent 
proof to the contrary62 

Pennsylvania Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfers greater than $3,000 
made within one year of date of 
death are taxable63 
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State-Only QTIPs 

Allowing a state qualified terminable interest property (QTIP) election that 
differs from the federal election allows a married couple to defer paying state 
tax without forgoing the full federal exemption when the first spouse dies 

The exemption amounts under most state inheritance and estate taxes are lower than that allowed 
under the federal estate tax.  (For 2013 deaths, only two states, Delaware and Hawaii, with estate 
taxes allowed an exemption as large as federal estate tax’s exemption.)  The differences in the 
exemption amounts create difficult choices for married couples and their estate planners.  When 
the federal and state exemptions are the same, a standard planning strategy for married couples is 
to fund a credit shelter trust up to the federal and state exemption amount on the death of the first 
spouse with the remainder of the estate passing to the surviving spouse and qualifying for the 
marital deduction.  When the federal and state exemption amounts are equal, this approach 
avoids both federal and state tax on the first death and avoids wasting any of the first spouse’s 
exemption (which would have occurred if the whole estate simply passed to the surviving 
spouse).  If the exemption amount increases later (or tax rates are reduced), as occasionally 
occurred, these changes operate to reduce the taxes on the combined estate of the couple.  Thus, 
the choice was relatively easy. 

A state exemption amount that is lower than the 
federal exemption presents a sort of Hobson 
choice when the first spouse dies.  The executor or 
personal representative can opt to defer both 
federal and state tax by putting only the amount of 
the state exemption in the credit shelter trust.  But 
this wastes part of the federal exemption and, thus, 
potentially subjects the estate to a higher federal 
estate tax on the death of the second spouse.64  On 
the other hand, the executor could opt to fund the 
credit shelter trust at the higher federal exemption 
amount and pay the (lower) state tax to avoid this 
risk.  However, it is possible that the federal 
exemption will increase to exempt the entire 
remaining estate or the entire federal tax will be 
repealed by the time the second spouse dies.  In 
this circumstance, payment of state tax to avoid 
the possibility of a higher federal tax later would 
have been unnecessary.  Obviously, there is no 
“right” answer given the uncertainty as to: (1) 
when the second spouse will die and the value of 
the estate at that time, and (2) what the federal and 
state estate taxes will look like when that happens.  
The portability of the federal estate tax exemption, 
enacted by Congress ameliorates, but may not 

Portability of the Federal Exemption 

Under portability, when the first spouse dies, 
the surviving spouse inherits the unused 
exemption; the unused exemption is not 
“lost.”  Portability could obviate many of the 
planning challenges described in the text.  
On the death of the first spouse, the state 
exemption amount could be put in the credit 
shelter trust, relying on portability to 
preserve the unused exemption for the 
surviving spouse. 

But portability may not solve all of the 
planning problems: 

 Remarriage may eliminate some or all of 
its benefits. 

 Some may prefer to put the higher 
amount in a credit shelter trust anyway 
so that increases in its value during the 
surviving spouse’s life are shielded from 
federal estate tax. 

Nevertheless, portability should diminish the 
urgency to allow state-only QTIP elections. 
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QTIP Rules 

A primary advantage of QTIP property is 
that the full value of the property qualifies 
for the marital deduction (avoiding tax on 
the death of the first spouse), although only 
a limited income interest is left to the 
surviving spouse.  To be QTIP property, the 
following criteria must be met: 

 The property must be owned by the 
decedent 

 The surviving spouse must have a right 
to all of the income, payable at least 
annually, from the property for life 

 No one else may have a power of 
appointment over the property until the 
surviving spouse dies 

 A QTIP election must be made 

fully solve this problem.  See the discussion in the box entitled “Portability of the Federal 
Exemption.” 

To provide more flexibility to planners, many states with estate or inheritance taxes allow 
differing QTIP elections for state and federal tax purposes.  QTIP trusts are a standard estate tax 
planning tool for married couples.  See the box entitled “QTIP Rules” for the definition of the 
QTIP property.  They allow electing the amount of the trust that will qualify for the marital 
deduction.  The rest or nonelected part of the QTIP trust can be used to remove property from the 
estate of the surviving spouse for estate tax purposes, while still providing income to the 
surviving spouse and limiting to whom the property will ultimately go.  By allowing a different 
QTIP amount for state and federal tax purposes, the full exemption amounts for both taxes can 
be claimed, while also deferring tax under both taxes under the last spouse dies. 

How this works can be most easily explained with 
an example.  Assume a married couple has a 
combined estate of $4 million ($2 million owned by 
each spouse), and their estate plan includes a QTIP 
trust.  The first spouse dies in 2008, when the state 
exemption is $1 million and the federal exemption 
is $2 million.  If the QTIP election must be 
identical for federal and state purposes, the personal 
representative must choose whether to elect a 
marital deduction of zero (thereby maximizing the 
federal exemption by allowing the full $2 million to 
pass into the credit shelter trust) or $1 million 
(thereby deferring state tax, but “wasting” $1 
million of the federal exemption).  By contrast, 
allowing different QTIP elections will allow the 
personal representative to elect a marital amount of 
zero for federal purposes and $1 million for state 
purposes.  This allows deferring both taxes without 
wasting the federal exemption.65  Table 7 below 
shows the different taxable estates under the 
alternative approaches using simplifying 
assumptions:  both spouses die in 2008, there are no other deductions, and so forth.  As can be 
seen in the table, allowing differing state and federal elections allows an alternative to the 
difficult choice of whether or not to pay state tax on the first death to avoid a potentially higher 
federal tax on the second death.  Ignoring appreciation in assets or income earned between the 
two deaths and the time value of money, the state taxable amount remains the same, while the 
estate is permitted to avoid the maximum amount of federal tax.   
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Table 7 
Taxable Estates Under Alternative QTIP Election Scenarios 

 First Spouse Second Spouse Combined 
Federal State Federal State Federal MN 

Uniform election of 
federal exemption 
amount 

0 $1 million 0 $1 million 0 $2 million

Uniform election of 
state exemption 
amount 

0 0 $1 million $2 million $1 million $2 million

Differing elections* 0 0 0 $2 million 0 $2 million
*Election of state exemption amount; federal election of federal exemption. 
Assumptions: Each spouse has $2 million in property, no other deductions (beside marital deduction) apply, and 
the exemptions for 2008 apply to both deaths.

Several states with estate or inheritance taxes allow QTIP elections that differ from the federal 
QTIP elections.  Table 8 lists the states, broken down by whether the rule is based on an 
administrative ruling or legislation. 

Table 8 
States Allowing Separate QTIP Elections 

State 

Authorized by: 

Legislation Administratively 

Illinois x66  
Hawaii  x67 
Kentucky  x68 
Maine x69  
Maryland x70  
Massachusetts  x71 
Oregon x72  
Pennsylvania x73  
Rhode Island  x74 
Tennessee x75  
Washington x76  

Connecticut and Maine have rules that allow state QTIPs that differ from the federal election, but 
only if no federal QTIP election is made.77  That provides flexibility to a planner to have 
differing federal and state exemption amounts, but only by forgoing making a federal QTIP 
election. 

New York78 allows a state QTIP election for estates that are not subject to federal estate tax. 
Minnesota79 allows a state QTIP election for estates that opted out of the federal estate tax for 
2010 deaths.  These two state-only QTIPs, however, do not address the situation in which estate 
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planners wish to use a separate state QTIP election to use the full federal exemption amount and 
avoid paying state tax on the death of the first spouse. 

Exemptions or Deductions for Farm and Small Business 
Property 

 
Some states have had longstanding exemptions, exclusions, or deductions for various types of 
farm and business properties under their estate or inheritance taxes.  Some of these were based 
on the special valuation rules under the Internal Revenue Code for farm and business real 
property.80  Several states have recently enacted new exemptions or deductions of these types—
Washington (2013), Pennsylvania (2012 and 2013), Maryland (2012), and Minnesota (2011).  
These provisions likely were enacted to respond to the frequently expressed concerns that estate 
or inheritance taxes create liquidity problems for farmers and small business owners who wish to 
maintain the business or farm in their families, but whose estates do not have sufficient liquid 
assets to pay the tax without borrowing. 
 
The provisions often require the decedent to have owned and used the property in operating a 
farm or business for a specified period of time (e.g., three or five years) immediately before the 
decedent’s death.  These restrictions are likely intended to prevent the use of passive investments 
in farm or business property, particularly investments made shortly before death, as a tax 
avoidance mechanism and to restrict the benefits to family-operated businesses.81  In addition, 
the recipient heirs are typically required to continue to own and use the assets as a farm or 
business for a period of time after decedent’s death (typically three to seven years). 
 
The following are brief descriptions of some of the recently enacted provisions: 
 

 Maryland agricultural property. A 2012 law exempts up to $5 million in “qualified 
agricultural property” from Maryland estate tax.82  In addition to the exemption, qualified 
agricultural value in excess of $5 million is taxed at a 5 percent rate with the remainder of 
the estate (in excess of the regular $1 million exemption) being taxed at the 16 percent 
top rate.  Qualified agricultural property is defined as real or personal property used 
primarily for farming purposes.83  To qualify, the property must pass to a recipient who 
agrees to use the property for farming purposes after the decedent’s death. (No 
relationship requirement applies to the recipient.)  Failure to use the property in this way 
for at least ten years results in recapture of the tax reduction. 

 Minnesota qualified farm and small business property. A 2011 law (substantially 
revised in 2013) provides a $4 million deduction from the Minnesota adjusted taxable 
estate for qualified farmland and small business property.84  To qualify, farmland must 
have been the homestead agricultural property of the decedent for three years before his 
or her death.  For small business property, the gross sales of the business must not have 
exceeded $10 million in the tax year that ended before the decedent’s death and the 
decedent or spouse must have materially participated in the business under the federal 
passive activity rules.  The decedent also must have owned the property for the three-year 
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period ending on the date of death. Cash and marketable securities do not qualify for the 
deduction.  The property must be passed to qualified family members who are required to 
use the property (or for farmland to own it as their farm homestead) for three years.85 

 Pennsylvania agricultural and business properties. Under 2012 legislation, 
Pennsylvania exempted real estate devoted to the business of agriculture, agricultural 
commodities, and forestry reserves from inheritance taxation.86  To qualify the property 
must be transferred to lineal heirs or siblings.  The heirs must use the exempted real 
estate (but not forestry reserves or agricultural property in conservation programs) for a 
seven-year period in agricultural production and generate a minimum of $2,000 per year 
in income.  The 2013 Pennsylvania legislature added an exemption for small business 
property.87  The exemption is limited to businesses with net book value of less than $5 
million and fewer than 50 full-time equivalent employees.  The business must be 
exclusively family owned (by spouses, ancestors, lineal heirs, or siblings), must not be 
principally managing investments or income producing property, and must have been in 
existence for five years before the decedent’s death.  The qualifying heirs must continue 
to own the business for seven years.  Both exemptions are subject to recapture taxes, 
including payment of interest. 

 Oregon natural resource property. A 2007 law (modified in 2008 and 2011) allows a 
credit against the Oregon estate tax for natural resource property (farm, forestry, and 
fishing business property).88  To qualify, the decedent must have used the property for 
five out of eight years before his or her death in conducting the farm, forestry, or fishing 
business and a qualifying family member must continue to use the property (or qualifying 
replacement property) for five out of eight years after the decedent’s death.  The credit 
only applies if the total estate does not exceed $15 million.  The law specifies a list of 
qualifying property, including specific types of business equipment and other property.  
Up to 15 percent of the property can be an “operating allowance” (working capital or 
cash), not just tangible property.  The credit equals the proportion of the tax paid on the 
value of natural resource property up to a $7.5 million maximum.  A recapture tax applies 
if the property is disposed before meeting the five-year (out of eight) use requirement. 

 Washington qualified family-owned business interests. 2013 legislation provided a 
$2.5 million deduction for qualified family-owned business interests from the 
Washington estate tax (in addition to the basic exemption of $2 million).89  A qualified 
business is defined by reference to federal law.90  In addition, the value of the business 
may not exceed $6 million and must comprise at least one-half of the Washington taxable 
estate.  The decedent must have owned and materially participated in the business for five 
out of the eight years before his or her death, and the qualified heir must own and operate 
the business for three years after the decedent’s death.91  A recapture tax, plus interest, 
applies if this three-year period is not met. 
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Revenues Yielded by the Taxes 

Table 9 shows the annual revenues yielded by the state taxes92 and the Minnesota estate tax for 
the 2000-2012 period.  As shown, state revenues for the nation as a whole declined by about 45 
percent over this period (from $8 billion in 2000 to $4.5 billion in 2012), as many states allowed 
their taxes to expire or reduced or repealed them with the repeal of the federal credit.93  The 
change in revenues net of the federal credit for state death taxes is even more dramatic, but in the 
opposite direction, going from a net state tax burden of $1.5 billion in 2000 to $4.5 billion in 
2012.  Minnesota’s revenues fluctuate significantly from year to year, but have grown over the 
period, reflecting the stability of its tax parameters and the general growth in asset values.  The 
contrast between Minnesota revenues (which have grown substantially) and national revenues 
(which have declined substantially) show the effects of policy changes, since Minnesota’s tax 
remained largely unchanged over the period, while most states repealed, allowed their taxes to 
expire, or reduced their transfer taxes. 

Table 9 
State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Tax Revenues 

Fiscal Years 2000 – 2012 
(amounts in thousands)

Year 
Total state 
revenues 

% 
change

Federal credit 
for state death 

taxes 

Revenues net 
of federal 

credit 
Minnesota 
revenues 

% 
change 

2000 $7,998,210  $6,500,641 $1,497,569 $82,516  
2001 7,499,439 -6.2% 6,318,812 1,180,627 53,377 -35.3%
2002 7,384,434 -1.5% 5,751,539 1,632,895 66,291 24.2%
2003 6,685,304 -9.5% 4,745,610 1,939,694 127,687 92.6%
2004 5,731,709 -14.3% 3,178,663 2,553,046 87,022 -31.8%
2005 5,339,548 -6.8% 1,861,784 3,477,764 68,952 -20.8%
2006 4,960,948 -7.1% 261,535 4,699,413 212,881 208.7%
2007 4,923,712 -0.8% Not reported 4,923,712 107,599 -49.5%
2008 5,100,680 3.6% Not reported 5,100,680 115,523 7.4%
2009 4,669,184 -8.5% Not reported 4,669,184 129,811 12.4%
2010 3,891,364 -16.7% Not reported 3,891,364 148,422 14.3%
2011  4,488,803 15.4% Not reported 4,488,803 161,309 8.7%
2012 4,485,466 -0.1% Not reported 4,485,466 165,983 2.9%
Sources:  State revenues from U.S. Census Bureau, http://www.census.gov/govs/statetax/  
Federal credit amounts from Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income Division, 
http://www.irs.gov/taxstats/indtaxstats/article/0,,id=210646,00.html

 

For more information about estate taxes, visit the miscellaneous taxes area of our website, 
www.house.mn/hrd/. 
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Endnotes 
 

1 Some state taxes were automatically linked to changes in federal law.  For those states, repeal of the federal 
credit reduced the state tax, unless the state legislature took action to “decouple” from the federal law.  Thus, 
legislative inaction would cause the tax to expire.  Other states linked their taxes to the federal tax as it existed on a 
specific date or as it applied to decedents dying up to a specific date.  For those states, elimination of the tax would 
take positive legislative action.  Most states fell into the former category, while a few states (including Minnesota) 
were in the latter.  Some states, like Minnesota, are prohibited constitutionally from delegating to Congress the 
ability to modify their tax laws, so they cannot automatically adopt most future changes in federal law.  See, e.g., 
Wallace v. Comm’r of Taxation, 184 N.W.2d 588 (Minn. 1971). 

2 Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-391, http://www.cga.ct.gov/2013/pub/chap_217.htm  (accessed October 24, 2013). 
3 Del. Code Ann. tit. 30, ch. 15, http://delcode.delaware.gov/title30/c015/index.shtml (accessed October 24, 

2013). 
4 D.C. Code Ann. §§ 47-3701– 47-3723. 
5 Haw. Rev. Stat. ch. 236E, http://www.state.hi.us/tax/hrs/hrs_236e.pdf  (accessed October 24, 3013). 
6 35 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 405/2 (2013), http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=609&ChapterID=8 

(accessed October 24, 2013). 
7 Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 36, §§ 4103, http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/36/title36sec4103.html 

(accessed October 24, 2013). 
8 Md. Code Ann., Tax-Gen. §§ 7-301-7.309 (LexisNexis 2012). 
9 Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 65c § 2a, 

https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleIX/Chapter65C/Section2A (accessed October 24. 2013). 
10 Minn. Stat. ch. 291, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=291&view=chapter (accessed October 24, 

2013). 
11 N.J. Stat. Ann. § 54:38-1 (2013). 
12 N.Y. Tax Law §§ 951–961 (2012). 
13 Or. Rev. Stat. ch. 118 (2012), http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors118.html 

(accessed October 24, 2013). 
14 R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-22-1.1, http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE44/44-22/44-22-1.1.HTM (accessed 

October 23, 2013); indexed dollar amount of the exemption is from the Rhode Island Department of Revenue, 
Division of Taxation website, http://www.tax.ri.gov/Advisory/ADV%202012-26.pdf (accessed October 23, 2013). 

15 Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 7442a (2010), 
http://www.leg.state.vt.us/statutes/fullsection.cfm?Title=32&Chapter=190&Section=07442a (accessed October 23, 
2013). 

16 Wash. Rev. Code ch. 83.100, http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=83.100 (accessed November 5, 
2013). 

17 Thus, in a state with a $1 million exemption, a 41 percent rate would apply to the first about $95,000 of the 
estate’s value above $1 million.  At that point the additional tax for added value would be determined under the rates 
in Table 4. 

18 As a result, despite the peculiar shape of the curve resulting from plotting the marginal rates (rising and then 
falling), this computational method does not undercut the progressivity of an estate tax.  The tax burden and average 
tax rates consistently rise under these taxes as estate values rise.  Similar rising and falling effective marginal rates 
apply under the federal and some state income taxes as a result of the phaseout of exemptions, deductions, and 
credits that cause tax to rise over narrow ranges of income more rapidly than the statutory rate as income increases.  
For a discussion of these effects, see, for example, Daniel N. Shaviro, “Effective Marginal Tax Rates on Low-
Income Households,” Tax Notes 84 (1999): 1191. 

19 The bubble rates could, however, encourage the personal representatives for an estate with a value in the 
narrow range to incur higher deductible costs of administration, because these expenses would have a lower 
effective price as a result of the high estate tax rates.  Similarly, they could encourage deathbed gifts as discussed on 
page 10. 

20 Md. Code, Tax-Gen, § 7-309(b)(3)(iii) (2013), http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2014RS/Statute_Web/gtg/7-
309.pdf (accessed November 5, 2013). 

21 Lineal heirs are typically children, grandchildren, and parents.  Practices vary as to whether spouses (e.g., 
sons-in-law or daughters-in-law) are included.  
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22 Collateral heirs include cousins, aunts, uncles, and unrelated individuals. Some states have intermediate 
classes of beneficiaries—e.g., typically brothers and sisters (who in other states may be class A or C beneficiaries). 

23 Iowa Code § 450.9 (2013). 
24 Iowa Dept. of Revenue, Introduction to Iowa Inheritance Tax, http://www.iowa.gov/tax/educate/78517.html  

(accessed October 24, 3013).  No tax applies, however, if the total estate has a value of less than $25,000.  Iowa 
Code § 450.4 (2013). 

25 Iowa Code § 450.10 (2) (2013).  The top rate on bequests to a brother, sister, son-in-law, or daughter-in-law 
is 10 percent.  Iowa Code § 450.10 (1) (2013). 

26 The exemption extends to class A beneficiaries, which include brothers and sisters. Ky. Rev. Stat. §§ 
140.070; 140.080 (2012), http://www.lrc.ky.gov/statutes/statute.aspx?id=28983; and 
http://www.lrc.ky.gov/statutes/statute.aspx?id=28984 (accessed October 24, 2013). 

27 The exemption for nieces and nephews is $1,000.  Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.080(1)(e) (2012), 
http://www.lrc.ky.gov/statutes/statute.aspx?id=28984 (accessed October 24, 2013). 

28 Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.070(3) (2012), http://www.lrc.ky.gov/statutes/statute.aspx?id=28983 (accessed October 
24, 2013). 

29 The exemption extends to brothers and sisters and spouses of descendants.  Md. Code, Tax-Gen. § 7-
203(b)(2) (2013), http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2014RS/Statute_Web/gtg/7-203.pdf (accessed October 24, 2013). 

30 Md. Code, Tax-Gen, § 7-203(g) (2013), http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2014RS/Statute_Web/gtg/7-203.pdf 
(accessed November 5, 2013).  In addition, to the $1,000 exemption per recipient, the tax does not apply to an estate 
with a value of less than $50,000.  Md. Code, Tax-Gen. § 7-203(h); Md. Code, Estate & Trusts, § 5-601(a) (2013).  

31 Md. Code, Tax-Gen., § 7-204(b) (2013), http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2014RS/Statute_Web/gtg/7-204.pdf 
(accessed November 5, 2013). 

32 Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-2004, http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2004 (accessed 
October 24, 2013). 

33 Id.  These reduced rates also apply to brothers and sisters. 
34 Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-2006, http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2006 (accessed 

October 24, 2013).   
35 Id.  
36 N.J. Stat. § 54:34-2a  (2013). 
37 N.J. Stat. § 54:34-1 (2013).   A variety of categorical exemptions apply, such as for life insurance, qualified 

plans, and so forth.  N.J. Stat. § 54-34-4 (2013). 
38 N.J. Stat. § 54:34-2d  (2013). 
39 This is the family exemption amount, which may not apply in all circumstances (e.g., if the recipient is not a 

member of the decedent’s household). 20 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 3121; 72 Pa. Stat. Ann. § 9127. 
40 72 Pa. Stat. § 9116(a)(1). 
41 72 Pa. Stat. § 9116(a)(2).  Transfers to siblings are taxed at a rate of 12 percent.  Pa. Stat. § 2116(a)(1.3). 
42 The exemption increases to $2 million for 2014 deaths and $5 million for 2015 deaths, and the tax is 

eliminated beginning for 2016 deaths. Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-8-316 (b) (2013).  This exemption applies to bequests 
made to all beneficiaries (i.e., it is not a per-beneficiary exemption).  This makes the Tennessee inheritance tax 
structurally like an estate tax.  The exemption amount and tax rates and brackets apply to the value of the estate and 
do not appear to vary based on the recipients of bequests or gifts. 

43 Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-8-314 (b) (2013). 
44 See note 42. 
45 Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-8-314 (b) (2013). 
46 2007 La. Act 371, http://www.legis.state.la.us/billdata/streamdocument.asp?did=451028 (accessed July 9, 

2010). 
47 2007 N.C. Sess. Laws 2008-107 § 28.18.(a), available here: 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2007/Bills/House/PDF/H2436v9.pdf (accessed July 9, 2010). 
48 Tenn. Pub. Act ch. 1057, http://www.tn.gov/sos/acts/107/pub/pc1057.pdf (accessed August 2, 2012). 
49 1979 Minn. Laws ch. 303, art. 3 § 41. 
50 A credit is allowed against the estate tax for the gift tax paid, but the gift tax itself is not pulled back into the 

estate.  Minn. Stat. § 291.03, subd. 1(a)(1) (2013 Suppl.), https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=291.03 (accessed 
October 28, 2013). 

51 These states appear to be Hawaii, Maine, Oregon, and Washington. 
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52 As states decoupled, estate planners began suggesting deathbed gift strategies as a way to minimize state 
estate taxes.  See, e.g., Andy Kremer, “New Gifting Incentives: Return of the Deathbed Transfer,” Bench & Bar of 
Minnesota 61 (September 2004); Debra L. Stetter, “Deathbed Gifts: A Savings Opportunity for Residents of 
Decoupled States,” Estate Planning 31  (2004): 270.  Because the recipient takes a carryover basis, a deathbed gift 
strategy could have adverse individual income tax consequences if appreciated property is given. Giving cash avoids 
this problem, of course.  If the donor does not have cash, it may be possible to borrow on margin to fund the gift. 

53 The typical tax base is federal adjusted taxable estate, as defined under section 2011(b)(3) of the 2001 
Internal Revenue Code.   The adjusted taxable estate does not include the value of property given away while the 
decedent was alive, except the limited provisions under section 2035 (mainly gift tax paid on gifts made within three 
years of the date of death). 

54 See Minn. Stat. § 289A.10 (2013 Suppl.), https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=289A.10 (accessed 
November 4, 2013) (filing requirement includes adjusted taxable gifts made within three years of death); and 
Massachusetts Dept. of Revenue, A Guide to Estate Taxes (Applicable to dates of death after January 1, 2003), 
http://www.mass.gov/dor/individuals/taxpayer-help-and-resources/tax-guides/estate-tax-information/estate-tax-
guide.html (accessed November 4, 2013) (filing requirement includes value of adjusted taxable gifts). 

55 The top rate applies to gifts over $10.1 million. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-642 (2012 Suppl.), 
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2012/sup/chap228c.htm (accessed November 4, 2013).  

56 Iowa Code § 450.3(2) (2013). 
57 Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.020(2) (2013), http://www.lrc.ky.gov/statutes/statute.aspx?id=28974 (accessed  

November 4, 2013).  For transfers made more than three years before death, it is a question of fact whether a gift 
was made in contemplation of death. 

58 Md. Code, Tax-Gen § 7-201(d)(1)(iii) (2013), http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2014RS/Statute_Web/gtg/7-
309.pdf (accessed November 5, 2013).  This appears to be a bright-line rule.  In addition, other transfers shown to be 
in contemplation of tax are taxable. 

59 Minn. Stat. § 292.17 (2013 Suppl.), https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=292.17 (accessed October 28, 
2013). 

60 Minn. Stat. § 291.01, subd.1(4)(ii) (2013 Suppl.), https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=291.005 (accessed 
2013). 

61 Rule applies only if a federal gift tax return is required to be filed and transfers outside of the three-year 
period are not subject to tax.  Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2002 (2), 
http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2002 (accessed November 4, 2013). 

62 N.J. Rev. Stat. § 54:34-1.c (2013). 
63 72 Pa. Stat. § 2107(c)(3). 
64 This could also result in higher state tax.  In some circumstances, the tax on the first estate would be at a 

lower rate than the value that is added to the second estate by deferral.  This potential rate differential may be offset 
by the time value of the money, depending upon when the second death occurs. 

65 It is likely that in most cases this strategy will minimize the total tax burden.  However, it is also possible to 
imagine scenarios in which it could result in higher total state taxes.  One side benefit of the approach—not 
applicable in the example used because there is no federal estate tax obligation—is that it concentrates payment of 
state estate tax in a year in which it can be used to reduce the amount of the federal taxable estate.  

66 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 405/2(b-1) (2012), http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=609&ChapterID=8 
(accessed November 5, 2013). 

67 Dept. of Taxation, Tax Information Release No. 2010-09 (Oct. 6, 2010), http://www6.hawaii.gov/tax/tir/tir10-
09.pdf (accessed August 15, 2012).  Since Hawaii’s exemption equals the federal amount for deaths after January 
25, 2012, a separate state election is less important as a technique for deferring state tax until the death of the second 
spouse. 

68 Robert M. Arlen and David Pratt, “The New York (and Other States) Death Tax Trap,” The Florida Bar 
Journal  (October 2003): fn. 25, reports that Kentucky allows this practice.  An email response from an official at 
the Kentucky Department of Revenue confirmed that Kentucky does this, but has no formal statute or ruling on the 
issue. 

69 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit 36 § 4102(6), http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/36/title36sec4102.html 
(accessed November 5, 2013).  A state election may be made only if a federal QTIP election was not made.  The 
maximum amount is the difference between the federal estate tax exemption (unified credit) amount and the Maine 
exemption. 
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70 Md. Code, Gen-Tax § 7-309(b)(5)(ii), http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2014RS/Statute_Web/gtg/7-309.pdf 
(accessed November 5, 2013). 

71 Mass. Dept. of  Revenue, “Estate Tax Issues Arising from Decoupling the Massachusetts Estate Tax from the 
Federal Estate Tax,” DOR Directive 03-2 (February 19, 2003), http://bit.ly/9g7UWa (accessed July 11, 2010). 

72 Or. Rev. Stat. § 118.016 (special property election); 
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors118.html (accessed  November 5, 2013). 

73 72 Pa. Stat. § 9113. 
74 R.I. Div. of Taxation Declaratory Rulings, Ruling Request No. 2003-03 (April 16, 2003), 

http://www.tax.state.ri.us/declaratoryrulings/r2003-03.php (accessed July 12, 2010). 
75 Tenn. Code §§ 67-8-304 (10)(A); 67-8-315(a)(6)  (2013). 
76 Wash. Rev. Code § 83.100.047, http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=83.100.047 (accessed 

November 5, 2013).  A 2012 decision of the Washington Supreme Court held that amounts transferred into federal 
QTIP trusts prior to the effective date of the Washington estate tax were not subject to tax as part of the surviving 
spouse’s estate.  Bracken v. State, 290 P.3d 99 (Wash. 2012).  2013 legislation reversed this result retroactively, 
except for litigants who obtained final judgments prior to the effective date of the act.  2013 Wash. 2nd Spec. Sess. 
ch. 2, §§ 5, 9, 10, http://www.leg.wa.gov/CodeReviser/documents/sessionlaw/2013pam3.pdf (accessed November 5, 
2013). 

77 Conn. Dept. of Revenue Services, 2005 Legislation Repealing the Succession Tax and Amending the 
Connecticut Gift Tax and the Connecticut Estate Tax, SN 2005 (10), pp. 3-4 (10/7/2005), available at 
http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/publications/pubssn/2005/sn05-10.pdf (accessed September 25, 2012).   For Maine, 
see note 69. 

78 New York provided administrative guidance that an estate that is not subject to federal tax (either because the 
federal tax is not in effect or because the value of the estate is less than the exemption amount) could elect a New 
York QTIP amount.  N.Y. State Dept. of Taxation and Finance, “Qualified Terminal Interest Property (QTIP) 
Election for New York State Purposes When No Federal Return is Required,” (March 16, 2010), 
http://www.tax.state.ny.us/pdf/memos/estate_&_gift/m10_1m.pdf (accessed July 12, 2010). 

79 Minn. Stat. § 291.03, subd. 1b (2011 Suppl), https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=291.03 (accessed 
October 14, 2011) (allowing the election only to estates that opted out of the federal estate tax in 2010 and 
prohibiting the election from the reducing the estate below $3.5 million, which essentially prevents use of the 
provision to defer tax on all amounts over the state exemption of $1 million). 

80 I.R.C. § 2032A.  See,e.g., Md. Code Ann. § 7-218 (installment payment of Maryland inheritance tax for small 
business), http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2014RS/Statute_Web/gtg/7-218.pdf (accessed November 6, 2013); Vt. Stat. 
Ann. tit. 32, § 7443 (2012) (valuation discount for farms qualifying for federal installment payments), 
http://www.leg.state.vt.us/statutes/fullsection.cfm?Title=32&Chapter=190&Section=07443 (accessed November 6 
2013). 

81 It’s unclear to what extent late purchases of business assets would be a cost-effective avoidance technique, 
given the typically high transaction costs of acquiring farms or business assets, particularly if the investor considers 
them to be a suboptimal use of his or her funds, and the relatively modest tax rates (typically lower than 16 percent 
before taking into account the effects of any deduction against the federal tax).  In any case, state legislatures 
apparently consider them to useful to add as restrictions, if only to contain the revenue cost of the provisions and to 
address the political rhetoric that is often used to oppose estate and inheritance taxes. 

82 Md. Code, Tax-Gen. §7-309(c) (2013), http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2014RS/Statute_Web/gtg/7-309.pdf 
(accessed November  21, 2013). 

83 This is defined by reference to section 2032A(e)(5) of the Internal Revenue Code.  Md. Code, Tax-Gen. § 7-
309(c)(1)(II) (2013), http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2014RS/Statute_Web/gtg/7-309.pdf (accessed November 21, 
2013). 

84 Minn. Stat. §§ 291.005, subd. 1; 291.03, subd. 8-11 (2013 Suppl.), 
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=291.005; https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=291.03 (accessed 
November 26, 2013).  For a more detailed description of the deduction see Minn. Dept. of Rev., Qualified Small 
Business Property and Qualified Farm Property Deduction, 
http://www.revenue.state.mn.us/businesses/estate/factsheets/estate_fs2.pdf  (accessed November 27, 2013). 

85 Qualifying family members are defined by reference to section 2032A(e)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code.  
Minn. Stat. § 291.03, subd. 8, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=291.03 (accessed November 26, 2013). 
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86 Act of July 2, 2012, P.L. 751, No. 85, §§ 21.1-23, 
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/WU01/LI/LI/US/HTM/2012/0/0085..HTM (accessed November 26, 2013); for a 
description see Pennsylvania Dept. of Rev.,  Informational Notice Inheritance Tax 2012-01 (September 6, 2012).  

87 Act of July 8, 2013, P.L. 270, No. 52 § 34, 
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/li/uconsCheck.cfm?yr=2013&sessInd=0&act=52 (accessed November 26, 
2013). 

88 Or. Rev. Stat. § 118.140, https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors118.html 
(accessed November 25, 2013). 

89 Wash. Rev. Code § 83.100.046, http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=83.100.046 (accessed 
November 26, 2013). 

90 I.R.C. § 2057 (e), which effectively restricts it to heavily family-owned businesses. 
91 The qualified heir’s death can shorten this period.  The qualified heir loss of citizenship or moving the 

business out of the United States are also disqualifying events.  Wash. Rev. Code §  83.100.46(3)(a).  Material 
participation is defined by reference to section 2032A(e)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code, which relies on the 
standard under the Social Security tax on self-employment income. 

92 The amounts are limited to state taxes and do not reflect local taxes, such as the Nebraska inheritance tax, 
which is collected by counties and the revenue retained locally. 

93 When the data reflect the repeal of four state taxes (Indiana, North Carolina, Ohio, and Tennessee) that are 
now effective or pending, total collections should decline by about 10 percent. 


